PDA

View Full Version : WZR-HP-G300NH or DIR-655 or WRT310N?

aaur4man
24-08-2009, 10:26 PM
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30889/96/1/5/

If you need lifetime* warranty, dont think and go for DIR 655.

If you need very good wireless coverage, integrated NAS + BT, dont think and go for WZR-HP-G300NH.

If you dont need both, you dont need to think at all. You dont even need wireless.

richneo
24-08-2009, 10:52 PM
you can forget about the so called good wireless coverage and etc in singapore

this is because the ida requirement is all wireless peak transmission power should not exceed 20mw in Singapore.

Unless WZR-HP-G300NH breaks the law and sell with 29.28 dbm (~1000mw) else, the router would have been capped at maximum 200mw only

so the wireless coverage in singapore should be the same in my views between buffalo and dir-655

aaur4man
24-08-2009, 11:04 PM
oic.

still hard choice between added features and lifetime warranty. price shouldnt be too much of a difference during the upcoming show.

richneo
24-08-2009, 11:18 PM
chances are the nas function and BT features on the integrated router are slow because it is accessing using usb port

if the router has built in 2.5" or 3.5" for harddisk connected directly then the beformance might be better

in summary:
high power for better coverage should not be applicable in Singapore unless the vendor break the law
you judge for yourself to see if you require a slow performing nas feature using externally connected storage

porcu
24-08-2009, 11:27 PM
Managed to get my buffalo to work after setting it up with NAS. Quite good for that kind of price.

liangtam
25-08-2009, 12:25 AM
iDA limit is 200mW. An amplifier on low output is wasted because signal does not really distort much on short range without one.

Also, BT router by itself has memory limitation(32mb for the buffalo), even before considering any file share. With the exception of utorrent, there are no alternative packaged and well written client. All this incl data transfer will mean poor performance if you BT. Hence BT routers are never popular, unless used sparingly.

Dr_ARCHer
25-08-2009, 02:36 PM
Is the IDA limit implemented at the hardware level or softwarre (firmware) level? WZR-HP-G300NH is reported to have a maximum peak power of 847.614 mW (for Channel 6). Buffalo's firmware doesn't seem to have an option of controlling the power, but if the limit is at the firmware level, then having say US firmware may give a larger power limit. Anyway, even with a 200 mW, this is higher than the DIR 655 (Version A4), which has a maximum power of 97.302 mW. Both are based on 20 MHz OFDM.

liangtam
25-08-2009, 02:57 PM
Software. But knowing this, does not mean you can exceed the limit willfully.
Actually, if you look at the performance rate further down, the amplifier by itself is hardly any useful despite increasing output few-fold.

You're better off implementing a 2nd AP if speed is what you're looking for.

aaur4man
25-08-2009, 05:16 PM
hokays donch fight bros~

we are all here to get ze best walue :o

betta all save pok-kat marnie fur ze upcoming Comex

any promoter for D-Link and Buffalo gotch special deal preese lemme noes~

Anyway , if u want dual band, think WRT320N quite cheap oso.

richneo
25-08-2009, 05:47 PM
hokays donch fight bros~

WRT320N is a switchable dual band and not concurrent band

liangtam
25-08-2009, 06:35 PM
:s11: :s11:

Moi thot chiu ish bought riao

aaur4man
25-08-2009, 06:39 PM
its ok, never thought abt linksys anyway lol.

but still cheap gigabit and can select band.

aaur4man
25-08-2009, 06:41 PM
:s11: :s11:

Moi thot chiu ish bought riao

chiu mean moi?

nope ish still tahan fur Comex

but Courts mega raya sale buffalo same price as sls, sho tempted to buy ~

will rook rook see see thou 80% ish water cow

richneo
25-08-2009, 10:19 PM
chiu mean moi?

nope ish still tahan fur Comex

but Courts mega raya sale buffalo same price as sls, sho tempted to buy ~

will rook rook see see thou 80% ish water cow
wait for comet baz

maybe aztech or netgear launch something jaw dropping which cannot resist leh

aaur4man
25-08-2009, 10:24 PM
aztech ah.......

netgear i don mind their DGN2000.

pker88
26-08-2009, 02:09 AM
aztech ah.......

netgear i don mind their DGN2000.

netghear good meh
my last netgear router heat too fast and DC alot
need to on and off

got bad expereince with netgear

liangtam
26-08-2009, 11:27 AM
Drill a big hole, install a DC fan lor

Quite a number of Soc/1 chip router are hot.