You working for d-link or the distros?

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 01:00 PM
gotch free router to test bo?

if notch got 2740B / 655 special deal?

richneo
26-08-2009, 01:05 PM
TS you working for d-link?

any posibility for you to loan us buy dir-825 or 685 to play bo?

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 01:25 PM
queue up rehs keke

liangtam
26-08-2009, 02:54 PM
queue up rehs keke

yay, moi pcw~ first

i can hasz cheezburgar 685, 825 first :D

MarineX
26-08-2009, 02:58 PM
http://i32.tinypic.com/28s8zlf.png

u xtracted this from today's straits times yahs? :)

Francis85
26-08-2009, 03:56 PM
Then like this what's going to happen to my DIR 655 liao......

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 03:58 PM
gib me lors

i promise i will take good care of it, wax it everyday

liangtam
26-08-2009, 03:59 PM
Then like this what's going to happen to my DIR 655 liao......

Time to upgrade
855, 825, 685 all rooks fun =:p

mrkiasu
26-08-2009, 04:23 PM
sure bo? as if like you need it.

TS you working for d-link?

any posibility for you to loan us buy dir-825 or 685 to play bo?

richneo
26-08-2009, 04:43 PM
sure bo? as if like you need it.
why not

im always open to test new device

MarineX
26-08-2009, 05:08 PM
why not

im always open to test new device

me too!! currently on DIR-855.. nothing really seems fun to play with. hahas.

orbvius
26-08-2009, 08:45 PM
Didn't expect 825 to be selling.
Was using it all along :s34:.

liangtam
26-08-2009, 08:47 PM
Didn't expect 825 to be selling.
Was using it all along :s34:.

si meh?
pikature of chiur setup reh?

orbvius
26-08-2009, 09:00 PM
si meh?
pikature of chiur setup reh?

Look like the one in the website lor. :s34:

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 09:20 PM
dunch bruff chewren

MarineX
26-08-2009, 09:36 PM
Look like the one in the website lor. :s34:

picture? any ?

zhehao
26-08-2009, 10:12 PM
Hmmm..
Wonder if got any price drop for 655.:s13:

orbvius
26-08-2009, 10:22 PM
picture? any ?

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/2425/p10102852.jpg
blur picture :x

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 10:43 PM
http://www.hdtvuk.tv/assets_c/2009/04/d-link-DIR-825-quadband-router-thumb-430x333-88245.jpg

richneo
26-08-2009, 10:44 PM
wah

where u get it from?

u seem to be using it for some time from the layer of dust on top of the router hehe

u buy from usa ah

how come the picture different one

orbvius
26-08-2009, 10:45 PM
wah

where u get it from?

u seem to be using it for some time from the layer of dust on top of the router hehe

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=681
Buy from US lor since that time same price as DIR655.
Picture different cos older model I guess.
But US only 2 years warranty. Good to buy D-Link products back home as most of them are lifetime warranty. (Stupid switch is 1 year iirc)

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 10:46 PM
well much cheaper ma.

orbvius
26-08-2009, 10:58 PM
I don't think the price difference will be that much. DIR855 is selling at the same price.
US hardware in stores are kind of expensive and hard to find. Gotta say I'm kind of lucky.

Best is buy online if you are in US.

liangtam
26-08-2009, 11:01 PM
buy sho earli.. no local wrty.
unmanaged switch lifetime

orbvius
26-08-2009, 11:02 PM
Give and take lor.
If not will be using 655 now. :o

tidus792
26-08-2009, 11:04 PM
uhh I'm not advertising for dlink, it's just that I'm sure a lot of people were thinking of upgrading from 655 and were put off by 855 price, thus PA for 825

Citiguy
26-08-2009, 11:05 PM
Any new modem + wireless router combo from D-Link?

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 11:07 PM
Dsl - 2740b

liangtam
26-08-2009, 11:08 PM
Actually, 685 more fun. LCD screen to display pikature, slot hdd and ralink chipset :D
uhh I'm not advertising for dlink, it's just that I'm sure a lot of people were thinking of upgrading from 655 and were put off by 855 price, thus PA for 825

Moi brand new 855 cant sell at bnp even reh...
Any new modem + wireless router combo from D-Link?
No habe bah. 2740B ror

orbvius
26-08-2009, 11:12 PM
http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/r22709513-DIR825-Rev-B1-anyone-know-whats-changed

http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=530&page=6

Wow. Guess the Singapore version should be Rev B.
Hmm...

liangtam
26-08-2009, 11:17 PM
http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/r22709513-DIR825-Rev-B1-anyone-know-whats-changed

Wow. Guess the Singapore version should be Rev B.
Probably can see it running DD-WRT. :o

At the current point in this, there are actually quite a number of products from few brands with the GPLv2 paper thrown inside the packaging. You need ppl to port it over oso ah..

Tho, going with default f/w is definitely less troubles depending on 3rd party source :)

defn
27-08-2009, 10:17 AM
Finally a worthy alternative to the Airport Extreme! Wait for the price first. :D

liangtam
27-08-2009, 10:21 AM
Finally a worthy alternative to the Airport Extreme! Wait for the price first. :D

:s11::s11:
Long ago got better alternative to the airport what.

tidus792
27-08-2009, 11:15 AM
Actually, 685 more fun. LCD screen to display pikature, slot hdd and ralink chipset :D

Moi brand new 855 cant sell at bnp even reh...

No habe bah. 2740B ror
What price did you sell your 855 at? I got it at 240.

liangtam
27-08-2009, 11:25 AM
What price did you sell your 855 at? I got it at 240.

:(

defn
27-08-2009, 04:16 PM
:s11::s11:
Long ago got better alternative to the airport what.
Like? DIR-855? I'm not paying >50 bucks more for a gimmicky screen. :s13:

liangtam
27-08-2009, 04:38 PM
You can always opt for a Linksys mah
Besides, visual indication allows you to skip visiting UI from time

richneo
27-08-2009, 05:04 PM
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=681
Buy from US lor since that time same price as DIR655.
Picture different cos older model I guess.
But US only 2 years warranty. Good to buy D-Link products back home as most of them are lifetime warranty. (Stupid switch is 1 year iirc)
switch is also lifetime leh

defn
27-08-2009, 05:11 PM
You can always opt for a Linksys mah
Besides, visual indication allows you to skip visiting UI from time
Linksys doesn't have any simultaneous dual band routers afaik. Did I
miss out any models?

liangtam
27-08-2009, 05:13 PM
miss out any models?

/facepalm

richneo
27-08-2009, 05:21 PM
miss out any models?
wrt-610n

not many people buying.. so i dun penalise u for not knowing this model although it has been selling for quite a while

defn
27-08-2009, 06:00 PM
Oops. Huge oversight on my part. Paiseh. Actually I've been looking at this model for quite a while, but no where on the box did it say simultaneous. :d

defn
27-08-2009, 07:36 PM
I take back my paiseh. Lousy reviews and still higher price than the Airport Extreme? I would hardly consider that better.

Hopefully the DIR-825's price will be in the sub 200s. :D

aaur4man
27-08-2009, 08:43 PM
why set airport extreme as benchmark?

liangtam
27-08-2009, 11:02 PM
I take back my paiseh. Lousy reviews and still higher price than the Airport Extreme? I would hardly consider that better.

Hopefully the DIR-825's price will be in the sub 200s. :D

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30530/96/
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30188/96/

You mean the opposite instead?

defn
28-08-2009, 11:24 AM

Why did you give a link to the old Airport Extreme review?

defn
28-08-2009, 11:32 AM
why set airport extreme as benchmark?
It's $238, has simultaneous dual band and a USB 2.0 port which can be used as a print server. Not to mention the extra features like guest networking etc.

However, I have not gotten it yet because installing a drive on the USB port requires Apple Bonjour to be installed on non macs and you know you get this idea that you're paying Apple Tax for it (you can already see the stigma against it in this thread, Apple products = overpriced and useless for some people). But so far got no better cheaper alternatives leh. Surprisingly.

defn
28-08-2009, 11:33 AM

Anyway, besides being unable to be used as a print server, the USB port on the WRT610N is only a USB1 port, max throughput 4mbps. Betcha didn't know that huh?

liangtam
28-08-2009, 12:44 PM
Anyway, besides being unable to be used as a print server, the USB port on the WRT610N is only a USB1 port, max throughput 4mbps. Betcha didn't know that huh?
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N
The WRT610N is the current top-of-the-line consumer device from Linksys with the following features:
Dual-radio (two BCM4322) allows to operate 2.4 Ghz B/G/N and 5 Ghz A/N simultaneously
4+1 port Gigabit switch (BCM53115)
300 Mhz CPU (BCM4785)
USB 2.0 host port
64 MByte RAM, 8 MByte Flash
Nowadays where got ppl even wan implement USB1.1? ...
/facepalm

Well, the article is relevant for earlier dual-band offerings, so i took both the reviews out lor.

Anyway, paying for the fanciful OLED on 855 is still better, esp price has been going low in garage sales

goodspeeds
30-08-2009, 05:38 AM
So when is this new router coming into market to sell?

MarineX
30-08-2009, 09:59 AM
So when is this new router coming into market to sell?

soooooon? Comex perhaps? hahas. Maybe early bird special again. Hahahas

HeeroYuy84
30-08-2009, 03:20 PM
what is so special about their new routers?

tidus792
09-09-2009, 07:31 PM
http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/3967/dlink1.th.png (http://img178.imageshack.us/i/dlink1.png/)

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/5318/dlink2.th.png (http://img142.imageshack.us/i/dlink2.png/)

At least the 855 still has some value...

richneo
09-09-2009, 09:47 PM
http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_img/banner_sgcomex.jpg

http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_promo/sg/comex09.pdf

robinloh4
10-09-2009, 03:23 AM
can i use these routers instead of the 2wire issued by singnet?

tidus792
10-09-2009, 04:30 AM
Yes and no.
Your 2wire has 2 functions, first as a modem to connect to the internet, second as a router to share that internet connection with all the computers.

You still need to use the 2wire as a modem to connect to the internet.

However you can use these routers to perform the routing function. There will be faster transfer speeds between computers, not to the Internet.

liangtam
10-09-2009, 09:19 AM
At least the 855 still has some value...

855 is the top of line mah
With the exception of DIR-685 hidden ability.

abyang
10-09-2009, 09:51 AM
So which one is better to get 685, 825 or 855? :crazy:

liangtam
10-09-2009, 10:02 AM
Of cos is 685 la
But that is if you're willing to open up the wallet of yours.

richneo
10-09-2009, 10:10 AM
One thing to note too. Buy dir-685 may need to buy another hard disk. Else the nas feature you cannot utilise.

MarineX
10-09-2009, 10:23 AM
One thing to note too. Buy dir-685 may need to buy another hard disk. Else the nas feature you cannot utilise.

DIR-685 For the Win!

but is single band.

abyang
10-09-2009, 10:30 AM
I won't be needing a storage router. Was thinking of 825 or 855.
Other than price consideration. Anyone can advise pros and cons?

MarineX
10-09-2009, 10:34 AM
I won't be needing a storage router. Was thinking of 825 or 855.
Other than price consideration. Anyone can advise pros and cons?

3 antenna against 2.

lcd screen display against none

richneo
10-09-2009, 10:42 AM
The review in smallnetbuilder show that all three are good.

MarineX
10-09-2009, 10:47 AM
The review in smallnetbuilder show that all three are good.

like that also can. hahas.

richneo
10-09-2009, 10:59 AM
You lah now make me itchy. . .

MarineX
10-09-2009, 11:04 AM
You lah now make me itchy. . .

pour more itchy powder to you. hahas.

robinloh4
10-09-2009, 04:29 PM
Yes and no.
Your 2wire has 2 functions, first as a modem to connect to the internet, second as a router to share that internet connection with all the computers.

You still need to use the 2wire as a modem to connect to the internet.

However you can use these routers to perform the routing function. There will be faster transfer speeds between computers, not to the Internet.

so which modem + router would you all recommand me to get? for singnet.

MarineX
10-09-2009, 09:17 PM
so which modem + router would you all recommand me to get? for singnet.

stand alone modem 1 device? router another ? or All-in-one?

zhehao
10-09-2009, 10:28 PM
Hi bros,
I planning to get the DIR-855 at comex tomorrow.
Do you think worth to get DIR-855 rather then getting the DIR-655?
Dont care the price cause i try to get the 199price for 855

liangtam
10-09-2009, 10:38 PM
Hi bros,

of cos
dir-855 has more functionality than dir-655.

MarineX
10-09-2009, 10:51 PM
Hi bros,

yeah yeah.. go get it and be a family of us :) hahas.

zhehao
10-09-2009, 10:52 PM
Thanks for the reply liangtam.
Cause i was concerned with some of the comments ppl made from the net.

They said DIR-855 got some probs i think.
The wireless range of DIR-855 and 655 same right?

zhehao
10-09-2009, 10:56 PM

But i not as hardcore as you guys.:s13:
16 this year nia.

aaur4man
11-09-2009, 12:07 AM
tml ish going down after lunch time ~

BUFFALO

MarineX
11-09-2009, 12:24 AM
Thanks for the reply liangtam.
Cause i was concerned with some of the comments ppl made from the net.

They said DIR-855 got some probs i think.
The wireless range of DIR-855 and 655 same right?

hmm.. i have tried them both and believed that DIR-855 is slightly better.

sevensomerset
11-09-2009, 12:12 PM
bros,
using DIR-825,
for desktop if wan2 use wireless,
is use PCI card btter or USB good enuf?
seems not a lot of review around for those wireless dongle...
is DWA-547,556 or DWA-140,160?

zhehao
11-09-2009, 05:39 PM
I just back from comex.
Never buy the DIR-855 and the 655.
Gonna wait till Sitex which is after my o level.:D

liangtam
11-09-2009, 06:27 PM
I just back from comex.
Never buy the DIR-855 and the 655.
Gonna wait till Sitex which is after my o level.:D

Didnt manage to get in queue?

zhehao
11-09-2009, 07:04 PM
I see the queue a lot ppl waiting for 1pm.
I never buy cause i was thinking i am not gonna enjoy the DIR-855 at least until my O level finish so why not just wait till comex.

Or not like my EVGA GTX275 like that...
buy in june pc show..now rotting at home cause i dont want to use it..

stop
14-09-2009, 08:47 AM
Am selling my BNIB DIR685. Still shrink wrapped.

Please refer to link below:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=40258971&posted=1#post40258971
:)

vital_84
18-11-2009, 01:36 PM
Cant wait for the sitex for a DIR685, getting @ distributor price with 30days term =p

HeeroYuy84
25-11-2009, 01:40 PM
685 is good, lacking of adsl and snmp, if not i sure hoot

MarineX
25-11-2009, 01:50 PM
685 is good, lacking of adsl and snmp, if not i sure hoot

earlybird special is out at today's DL.

seeyourhead_jiejie
25-11-2009, 01:58 PM
earlybird special is out at today's DL.
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/4305/dlinksitex091.jpg
*from vr-zone

HeeroYuy84
25-11-2009, 05:25 PM
i need a nas+router, the last nas i bought tmd kaput and i lose a huge amount of data

HeeroYuy84
25-11-2009, 05:27 PM
how i wish the 825 is adsl2 integrated, so customer has a choice of wan port or adsl. kind of stupid now to router -> router before accessing internet

liangtam
25-11-2009, 05:54 PM
if it comes integrated, alot ppl wouldn't want to buy.
just get it separated

PS: Theres 2740B from dlink, belkin n1 integrated, aztech dsl 605/1015 etc available

chercm
28-11-2009, 11:23 AM
Dlink 825 is excellent and it is very fast

SWQ1621
28-11-2009, 11:34 AM
Dlink 825 is excellent and it is very fast
wad is the diff between dlink 825 and dlink 855?

Revenent
01-12-2009, 08:39 AM
I feel the dlink DIR-825 range and speed is decent in the 2.4Ghz but on the 5Ghz range and signal is really crappy. I only get less then 80% signal whilst standing next to the router. In addition it disconnects intermittently. I think the dual band functionality thing is overrated. Buyer beware.

BizMinor
01-12-2009, 08:51 AM
I feel the dlink DIR-825 range and speed is decent in the 2.4Ghz but on the 5Ghz range and signal is really crappy. I only get less then 80% signal whilst standing next to the router. In addition it disconnects intermittently. I think the dual band functionality thing is overrated. Buyer beware.
i do like the dual radio functions for all routers

for example in my case, im using wndr3700 from netgear

my brother is using wireless g laptop connected in the 2.4ghz and i suffer performance hit on the 2.4ghz spectrum

my laptop is using intel 4965abgn and i switched to using 5ghz mode while my brother remains on 2.4, im able to get 300mbps connection and throughput of about 100mbps