View Full Version : Install electrical trunking for ethernet cable
dameos
28-08-2009, 11:15 AM
Currently my modem is pretty far from my computer. I have a long RJ45 cable connecting it right now which spread across my room. (Initially was wireless but I find wireless pretty unreliable).
Now my wife is complaining on the ugly cable. Intend to install electrical cables trunking to beautify it. But I have no idea how to do so.
1. Anyone here can refer or teach me how to do so?
2. Can recommend a robust RJ45 cable since it will be permenantly there?
Thanks.
liangtam
28-08-2009, 12:53 PM
1) You need a hammer, some nails, and PVC trunking available from DIY shops. Well, i think you know what to do next right? :)
2) The PVC is already protecting it. And besides, the cable are not thin glass fibres.
pclum
28-08-2009, 03:26 PM
buy the right type of hammer ( is a bit small )and nail. Tell the DIY shop what is that for and they will give u the right one.
phuque99
28-08-2009, 03:50 PM
doesn't sound like your have experience doing such diy, so very likely you will not get "beautified" trunking first time. paying a handyman or regular contractor is better.
liangtam
28-08-2009, 04:20 PM
you mean the 'beautiful' fingers kenna hammered instead of the pvc and nails?
phuque99
28-08-2009, 04:42 PM
you mean the 'beautiful' fingers kenna hammered instead of the pvc and nails?
get married and you'll know what you wife means when she says beautify :s7:
dameos
28-08-2009, 05:31 PM
I thought use glue to stick the trunking.... still need hammer ah.
phuque99
28-08-2009, 05:37 PM
I thought use glue to stick the trunking.... still need hammer ah.
lol, you really never seen how trunking were laid out eh? the trunking are flexible wan, glue will not hold the flexible tension and may also rip out the paint along the way. trust me lah, you never do before, better get handyman, see live demo or record for youtube. otherwise if your diy trunking gave way along with wall paint, more wifey noise :D
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
28-08-2009, 05:53 PM
lol, you really never seen how trunking were laid out eh? the trunking are flexible wan, glue will not hold the flexible tension and may also rip out the paint along the way. trust me lah, you never do before, better get handyman, see live demo or record for youtube. otherwise if your diy trunking gave way along with wall paint, more wifey noise :D
i did use double side to stick my trunking
for more then 3yrs liao still there
but not much cable inside..
3x CAT5e + 1 cable for tv..
liangtam
28-08-2009, 06:16 PM
Got inflexible pvc trunking mah. Use glue is errm, ...
quekky
29-08-2009, 12:01 AM
buy those type come with double side tape, then just stick on your wall
Sp1der
29-08-2009, 12:16 AM
buy those type come with double side tape, then just stick on your wall
those double tape not lasting, it came off after sometime happen for my case.
to TS: hammer is to nail the trunking
jittery
29-08-2009, 12:05 PM
buy the industrial grade 3M Mounting tape, should be able to hold..
ideatalk
29-08-2009, 12:10 PM
recently i saw this cat6 flat cable which looks very neat. if possible buy the flat cable and use mounting tape to tape directly, no need for nail.
liangtam
29-08-2009, 01:55 PM
Flat cables introduces unwanted signals from power cables
kennyg1969
29-08-2009, 05:49 PM
why not use hot glue gun?
nobodyhere
30-08-2009, 11:36 AM
Trunking not very difficult to install. All you need is some concrete nails and a hammer to secure the trunking to the wall.
U can choose to mount the trunking either near the top of the ceiling or at near the bottom of the floor. The troublesome part is to move the existing furniture so that you can have some working room.
Also, install a slightly bigger sized trunking than you need so that you don't have to rip off the old one when you exceed the # of cables.
Depending on the # of points to install, CAT5e UTP (cable + trunking + quality labour/worksmanship + termination at both ends) usually costs about $40 ~ $50 per point. Electrical contractors can lay the trunking and cable for you @ probably $30 per point, then u do your own termination. If you have just a few nodes to lay, might as well DIY cos not cost effective to get professional to come do it for you.
If u have many nodes to install; get the pros to come in and do the job. You won't want to spend half the day trouble shooting why this link or that link is not working etc etc. HDB flats usually no problems if you use quality cables/connectors. Remember, what you paid is what you get.
icon_mihiro
30-08-2009, 11:39 AM
how bout using cable wrap??
HeeroYuy84
30-08-2009, 03:23 PM
buy the home plus la bro if you got money
http://www.aztech.com/sg/images/Banner_HL109E_Trade-In.jpg
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.