PDA

View Full Version : 3G Mobile BroadBand Modem

chuachongchee
29-08-2009, 08:27 AM
Hi All,

Using my Samsung Z800 with Singtel BBom For close to 2 years now.. the modem has gone cranky for me... sometimes out of nowhere dc, and cannot detect.. then twist abit abit can work.. rofl..

Anyone knows where can i get decent 3g bb modem?? How much should i be expecting to pay?? So far as i understand... modems only go with sign ups..

Innocast
29-08-2009, 08:32 AM
Hi All,

Using my Samsung Z800 with Singtel BBom For close to 2 years now.. the modem has gone cranky for me... sometimes out of nowhere dc, and cannot detect.. then twist abit abit can work.. rofl..

Anyone knows where can i get decent 3g bb modem?? How much should i be expecting to pay?? So far as i understand... modems only go with sign ups..

this modem sucks big time.........huawei ftw..........

chuachongchee
29-08-2009, 08:36 AM
this modem sucks big time.........huawei ftw..........

For the record, it has served me well with no problems or whatsoever at all for the past 2 years...

And, i'm looking to buy a modem, not about its good or bad?? Thanks alot anyways

Innocast
29-08-2009, 08:44 AM

For the record, it has served me well with no problems or whatsoever at all for the past 2 years...

And, i'm looking to buy a modem, not about its good or bad?? Thanks alot anyways

nah...always cannot detect in the system.....................
:s27::s27::s27:

chuachongchee
29-08-2009, 09:29 AM
Anyone knows where i can get and expected pricings??

baka_giraffe
29-08-2009, 10:17 AM
since u @ singnet bbom... can check with singtel hello shop? i thk they got sell.. but suer 100+ de...

liangtam
29-08-2009, 01:59 PM
Buy prepaid bundle package and you will get one liao mah

chuachongchee
29-08-2009, 03:28 PM
called up a sintel retailer close to my home.. was qouted 148...

Innocast
29-08-2009, 03:56 PM
called up a sintel retailer close to my home.. was qouted 148...
What model of the modem is it? Is it huawei one or not?

chuachongchee
29-08-2009, 04:19 PM
huawei e1762

apengrg
29-08-2009, 05:01 PM
Ive one samsung usb z800. hardly used cos prefer to use phone as modem. pm me.

Innocast
29-08-2009, 05:44 PM
huawei e1762

not bad le...this modem with the price is quite worth it..........:D:D:D:D

chuachongchee
30-08-2009, 11:36 AM
How about ProLink?? Saw teh 3g BBoM modems in some computer shops... 135... anyone using em??

Innocast
30-08-2009, 12:02 PM
How about ProLink?? Saw teh 3g BBoM modems in some computer shops... 135... anyone using em??

advise u not.....singtel or starhub prepaid package is better.....

if u dun mind a modem that can only support 2mbps speed + 384kbps upload only u can buy starhub prepaid $99 only got prepaid sim card inside the bundle also....

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3327/3555871913_087bea3508_b.jpg

Innocast
30-08-2009, 12:03 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3337/3554694611_c83689c138_o.png

tchye
30-08-2009, 03:48 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3337/3554694611_c83689c138_o.png

Is this promo still on? Didnt see it on the current promo

ahmad0410
30-08-2009, 03:51 PM
Is this promo still on? Didnt see it on the current promo
most probably no. since its not there. best to call them and ask. I just subscribed to starhub maxmobile surflite. love it. almost signed up for singtels but theirs arent unlimited plans.

Innocast
30-08-2009, 03:52 PM
most probably no. since its not there. best to call them and ask. I just subscribed to starhub maxmobile surflite. love it. almost signed up for singtels but theirs arent unlimited plans.

just go to the shop and buy can liao.................:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:

WestGuy
30-08-2009, 06:56 PM
Does anyone know whether Starhub's E1750 or Singtel's E1762 is better?

The larger the model number the better?:s13:

chuachongchee
30-08-2009, 09:10 PM
Hi All... Jus got the E1762... 148 w.o gts.. total was 158..

Tested it jus now.. looks quite good.. 1mbps up/down...

Innocast
30-08-2009, 09:13 PM

Tested it jus now.. looks quite good.. 1mbps up/down...max upload speed 2mbps only while starhub the $149 package one 5.6mbps upload speed.

genghiskt
30-08-2009, 11:44 PM
Bro,

You guys interested in Huawei B970? Is a hspa modem with buildin wifi router. Currently offer in starhub business.

Is a plug n play modem very easy to setup and use.

Innocast
30-08-2009, 11:48 PM

Tested it jus now.. looks quite good.. 1mbps up/down...

E1750 is better....can upload faster............:D:D:D

http://www.starhub.com/content/support/broadband/devicesuserguides/approveddevicesformobilebroadband/_jcr_content/par/textimage_6/image.img.png

Mobile Broadband E1750 USB Stick Specifications:
Retail Price: $298

Lightweight & compact
Dimensions: 70.15mm x 25.64mm x 11.60mm
HSDPA/UMTS/EDGE/GPRS/GSM
HSDPA downlink 7.2Mbps & HSUPA uplink 2Mbps (5.76Mbps ready)
Supports SMS
Plug & Play convenience
Supports Windows® 2000, Windows® XP, Windows® Vista and Mac Operating Systems
Supports MicroSD card slot

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 12:15 AM
ish same la... e1762 is both HSDPA n HSUPA oso... is pretty much dependant on signal strength too..

Innocast
31-08-2009, 12:19 AM
ish same la... e1762 is both HSDPA n HSUPA oso... is pretty much dependant on signal strength too..

not really....max supported speed is diff...

one is 2mbps only and one is 5.xxmbps for upload...........;);););)

genghiskt
31-08-2009, 01:18 AM
Isn't it depend on the plan you sign up? I have B970 which is 7.2mps upload 2mps but my plan is those 1.2mps and 512kps upload I still get 1.2 and 512 onli.

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 07:56 AM
Hi, the specs are the same.... Both manual and specs confirm HSDPA (7.2mbps) and HSUPA (5.76mbps)..

It does not matter anyways... these speeds are always max achieveable speeds... never hit in actual user usage..

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 07:57 AM
Isn't it depend on the plan you sign up? I have B970 which is 7.2mps upload 2mps but my plan is those 1.2mps and 512kps upload I still get 1.2 and 512 onli.
right on! 10 chars

Innocast
31-08-2009, 08:11 AM
Hi, the specs are the same.... Both manual and specs confirm HSDPA (7.2mbps) and HSUPA (5.76mbps)..

It does not matter anyways... these speeds are always max achieveable speeds... never hit in actual user usage..

for ur modem, does it show different colors when in different network, it looks like the indicator is red on picture only.............;);););)

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 08:25 AM
for ur modem, does it show different colors when in different network, it looks like the indicator is red on picture only.............;);););)
ha. the red is the plastic near the cap... indicator is on the main modem unit iself.. like normal huawei ones... green blue etc etc...

Innocast
31-08-2009, 08:28 AM
ha. the red is the plastic near the cap... indicator is on the main modem unit iself.. like normal huawei ones... green blue etc etc...

the LED is exposed clearly on the case or it is just a light inside????;);););)

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 12:14 PM
the LED is exposed clearly on the case or it is just a light inside????;);););)
I dont think the led does matter in this case... be it hsdpa or hsupa or watever... and the led is in the modem unit self.. not exposed of sorts...

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 12:16 PM
hi all.. one more quick update... usiing the e1762 seems like faster... i find the surf net/download email etc is much smoother and faster...

used to like pause and continue at times...

one more very apprant thing is that the modem is not hot/warm!.. samsung used to be freaking warm after 10mins or soo... e1762 has been on for me for past 2 hours odd... its only marginally warm... even my laptop more warm than it.. ;)

Innocast
31-08-2009, 12:17 PM
I dont think the led does matter in this case... be it hsdpa or hsupa or watever... and the led is in the modem unit self.. not exposed of sorts...i am asking not becos of what hsdpa or hsupa....i just compare the design only.........i prefer those got dedicated LED one..........;);););)

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 12:35 PM
i am asking not becos of what hsdpa or hsupa....i just compare the design only.........i prefer those got dedicated LED one..........;);););)
Theres only one led inside the modem.. that turns green/blue etc etc...

tekster
31-08-2009, 01:18 PM
maybe u should try to download continuously for 5 hrs then see if it's warm or not.

justluna
31-08-2009, 01:23 PM
Bro,

You guys interested in Huawei B970? Is a hspa modem with buildin wifi router. Currently offer in starhub business.

Is a plug n play modem very easy to setup and use.

Built-in wifi router? So I can use this at home with other people? Like a normal router? How much is it?

WestGuy
31-08-2009, 01:37 PM
I noticed that the E1762 supports Write/Send/Receive MMS, which the E1750 is not capable of

chuachongchee
31-08-2009, 05:57 PM
maybe u should try to download continuously for 5 hrs then see if it's warm or not.
does not matter.. samsung z800 after 30mins already very warm... much warmer than my laptop.. even in aircon room..

E1762 is still relatively cool... somwhat cooller than my laptop still...

Innocast
31-08-2009, 06:58 PM
Theres only one led inside the modem.. that turns green/blue etc etc...

is it like this e156G got indicator at the side one?

http://www.starhub.com/content/support/broadband/devicesuserguides/approveddevicesformobilebroadband/_jcr_content/par/textimage_0/image.img.png

komatineni
01-09-2009, 08:42 AM
In my case the samsung z800 broke quite fast. Using with my phone but planning to get a modem. any idea what is the model with SH 99 plan

genghiskt
01-09-2009, 12:55 PM
Built-in wifi router? So I can use this at home with other people? Like a normal router? How much is it?

Hi bro,

Yes, you can share the network just like any router. What you do is insert the sim card into it and connect the power supply. That it. you can secure the network too just like you setup any router. Best, you can bring it anywhere.

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb260/genghiskt/IMG_1936.jpg

I PM you.