PDA

View Full Version : cna - National captain Noh Alam Shah slams local football

Preacher1010
10-09-2009, 11:13 PM
National captain Noh Alam Shah slams local football
By Patwant Singh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 10 September 2009 1951 hrs

SINGAPORE : Singapore football captain Noh Alam Shah has slammed Singapore football, saying it is stagnant.

His remarks came ahead of his departure to Indonesia club Arema Malang where he has signed a one-year contract.

Alam Shah has been a household name, not only for his goal scoring but also his volatile temper.

Not new to controversy, the 29 year old said he has had enough of Singapore football, citing a lack of motivation due to poor attendances at S.League matches.

Several Singapore players are also contemplating a move to Indonesia clubs, which promise better salaries and capacity crowds.

Another grouse, Alam Shah thinks good players have been left out of the league because of the Football Association of Singapore's insistence on them passing the beep or fitness test.

He feels he is also being singled out by referees for past encounters.

"The referee standards has also gone down a bit, maybe me and most of the referees got history. I think they treat me (based) on (what happened in) the past and not the present. That is wrong and that's one of the reasons I am leaving," said Alam Shah, who plays for the Singapore National Team.

Alam Shah will play his last match for club Tampines Rovers against Sengkang Punggol on Friday. - CNA /ls

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/imagegallery/store/php9tzUAZ.jpg

good frakking riddance to this mudderfrakker void-deck-attitude player!

bigass
10-09-2009, 11:39 PM
National captain Noh Alam Shah slams local football
By Patwant Singh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 10 September 2009 1951 hrs

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/imagegallery/store/php9tzUAZ.jpg

good frakking riddance to this mudderfrakker void-deck-attitude player!Honestly what he say is 50% true and 50% untrue. Indeed Singapore is facing a poor attendence weekly for every matches. Perhaps this is due to the current economic downturn plus facing the lately re-start of European domestic leagues and those WC qualifier. As our Cable are increasing their cost yearly, how would we ever consider catching a S-League game even we have a few bucks to spare? 2nd of which, I believe our FAS is given a very tight budget on attracting foreign stars, keeping homegrown players, emphasizing on youth players, marketing the league & etc, let alone a 50K pack stadiums around the island unlike Indonesia.

Let's be fair when we compare this with other countries. Honestly I can't say how rich or how much Indonesia is emphasizing on their football business but I'd rather believe that if I am a SG player who is in demand, I wouldn't think twice if both the money and prospect is good. Given for a footballer's life, there isn't much prospect after retirement unless one would still remain to be a coach.

IMO, Alam Shah's comment shld give the committee of FAS, Govt and etc to give a thought to. We've always hear that we plan to go into WC and etc but little we've seen that the local league progresses. Yes, we exited from the M-league in 94 and seek independence and created a league of our own, but definitely I agree that our local league has stagnent in some point. No doubt we excel in the region as a National Team by winning the Tiger Cup, but if we continue to ignore this problem in our homesoil, I believe countries like Malaysia and Indonesia will one day resume their position ahead of us.

However I do really wish our players to go abroad, not only for income sake but definitely to gain better experience and contribute even more for SG in the international games. Just rem this is your HOME eventually and contribute when you've to.

ferocity
11-09-2009, 01:25 AM
Its dumb to attribute a lack of motivation due to poor crowd attendances. The players are certainly not playing in empty stadiums and even so, is he implying that he cant be bothered to move his legs jus becuz there are insufficient fans in the stands to his liking?

His 29 years old n its thoroughly understandable if he wanna leave for a team whos willing to pay him more. But its just cheap to turn around n bite the hand that fed him for so many years down the road. If he is that disillusioned with the local soccer scene, then he might as well retire from international soccer too. Give the chance to young local lads who are more properly motivated. Obviously, he still has a grudge against FAS for the suspension he received. Nobody can deny he has the talent to make it big overseas, but this parting shot will no doubt leave a bad taste in the mouth of both his supporters n detractors alike.

abutan
11-09-2009, 08:17 AM
For the foreigners part, I have to agree, S League used to attract the likes of Mohd Khakpour, Hamidreza Estili who went on to play for Iran in the World Cup in 1998.

With due respect to the foreign players plying their trade now, I think the standard of foreign players has dropped.

raullim7
11-09-2009, 08:39 AM
this guy is really an idiot.. just what was raddy thinking when he made this idiot the captain against liverpool with daniel bennett in the team???

no doubt he is a great talent, local standard!, but his attitude is damn damn lousy.. just look at how he knee his national team teammate and wanna had a go at the latter again before being pull back.. the worldwide ban he had is just just too light as he wasnt remorseful at all.. he signed for malaysian side polis fc and i saw on sportscenter his interview.. he said "it's a great opportunity to play overseas and i am HAPPY to be here".. thanks god, he was told that the ban was worldwide a few days later!

he can talk about how referees don't like him, how disappointing the crowd capacity is, but i just hope he don't be a disgrace in indonesia.. that is not his territory and he might have trouble coming home if he did a similar stunt (in the cup final against bennett) in our neighbouring country..

sgparlay
11-09-2009, 09:09 AM
my views:

1. too few pro teams in sg (no relegation even if you are the last team)

2. maybe sg can consider a format like brazil.. where there are state championships and the national level ones... of cos, we are too small for that, but can consider having the top 4-5 teams from sg, m'sia and indonesia to compete in a regional championship (m'sia and indonesia leagues have to agree of cos)

jerichoo
11-09-2009, 10:09 AM
If he leaves for BPL or even J league then he got a right to kp.

Dey, he going to indo league and talking like fandi as though he is comparable to him. I think he should wake up instead.

Where on earth is Malang?? no need to go there la, just go any third world country they will treat u as billionaires.

Joker, give him another 3 yrs and he will retire and we won't need to hear his BS anymore.

KNS, speaking as though he is too big for the league where he is not even top scorer. And did it occur to him that maybe he was the reason why attendances are down?

A player criticizing his own league where he himself plays in, shooting himself.

Pure Genius.

vasilli07
11-09-2009, 10:22 AM
IMO, Alam Shah's comment shld give the committee of FAS, Govt and etc to give a thought to. We've always hear that we plan to go into WC and etc but little we've seen that the local league progresses. Yes, we exited from the M-league in 94 and seek independence and created a league of our own, but definitely I agree that our local league has stagnent in some point. No doubt we excel in the region as a National Team by winning the Tiger Cup, but if we continue to ignore this problem in our homesoil, I believe countries like Malaysia and Indonesia will one day resume their position ahead of us.

We are already the 1 of top 10 leagues in asia(on par with the likes of Qatar, Uzbek league), the champion gets to play in the ACL qualifiers. M-league is at 18th spot. If that's not progress from the M-league, I don't know what is. :s8:

The only thing we can learn from m-league now is to create a highlights show...after more than 10 years, we still don't have a s-league highlights show...:s7:

zeethering
11-09-2009, 11:02 AM
Since when this all brawn no brain player became Singapore team Captain?

christian2004
11-09-2009, 11:24 AM
hes an idiot by putting the blame at crowd attendance... if he/sleague can play up to an acceptable standard sure will hv more fans... he reali should leave...

R Hess
11-09-2009, 11:48 AM
Com'on don't live in denial S-league is dying.

One of the reasons for it was to develop our own more 'professional' league was to reach the goal 2010.Can you honestly say we are nearer that target? Singapore will NEVER qualify for World cup proper.

Fact our rivals are developing at a faster rate than us.

Remember we beat Japan and the mid-east national teams easily in the 70-80's now they are way in front of us in quality.e.g Laos and Brunei can get a result against Singapore these days!

I dare say the old league with the likes of Farrer Park united,Farrer Pk Dynamos,Geylang international,Jubilee was more exciting then S-League.

Let face it, in terms of intrest,excitment and quality Malaysia Cup was had it all FOR 100 years!

As a taxi driver once famously exclaimed and reported in the press: ''don't care if Singapore win World cup, must beat Selangor!''

SpikyOyster
11-09-2009, 12:53 PM
Look at the current state of S League, it is no point to be too defensive about his comments. Take it as constructive critiscism and try to improve S League further.

To be defensive and think everything is ok is likely to be the begining of the decline.

R Hess
11-09-2009, 01:32 PM
It cannot be improved anymore.Singapore too small.

So much money has been thrown at it over the years to no avail.

Bottom line -not enough local talent to generate intrest.No more Fandis and Sundrams anymore.And foreign teams not the answer.

And S league will never be a replacement for top level televised sports on TV. e.g when no football on TV fans rather watch tennis than S-League.Dosen't the say enough?

rECKleSSfElla
11-09-2009, 01:33 PM
Look at the current state of S League, it is no point to be too defensive about his comments. Take it as constructive critiscism and try to improve S League further.

To be defensive and think everything is ok is likely to be the begining of the decline.

Its not a matter of retorting him just becuz we are defensive, but u gotta suspect his actual motives for moving abroad n taking this parting shot. If u are moving for the money, just admit it becuz nobody here will grudge you for doing it. But to then make up a whole lot of unjustified cock n bull excuses and then try to package it as some of of rallying or wakeup call to the local soccer fraternity, maybe he has overestimated his own value to the league.

nam314
11-09-2009, 01:42 PM
Its not a matter of retorting him just becuz we are defensive, but u gotta suspect his actual motives for moving abroad n taking this parting shot. If u are moving for the money, just admit it becuz nobody here will grudge you for doing it. But to then make up a whole lot of unjustified cock n bull excuses and then try to package it as some of of rallying or wakeup call to the local soccer fraternity, maybe he has overestimated his own value to the league.

actually he take a pay cut to move to indo clubs. Over here empty stadium, poor refereeing, who still have the passion to continue.

rECKleSSfElla
11-09-2009, 02:37 PM
actually he take a pay cut to move to indo clubs. Over here empty stadium, poor refereeing, who still have the passion to continue.

CNA says that the indon league promises a bigger paycheque n here u are saying he is getting paid less. Does it even make sense to uproot n leave for the indon league if u are indeed getting paid less? And as a player, your club pays u to play football regardless if the stadiums have only 1 spectator or 1 million spectators. If you simply cant give your best becuz there arnt enough spectators, then you simply are a liability to the league n a letdown to fans who paid good money to see you in action. As a star player, its your responsiblity to help draw in the crowds, not lament how the league has gone downhill n what not. Poor refereeing? I certainly hope the "standards" of refereeing in indo league are better so the refs wont sent him off for kicking n puching out at other players.

vasilli07
11-09-2009, 02:49 PM

please go and check your facts before you comment, a Indonesian superstar called Bambang Pamungkas is paid $11800 per month while NAS is only paid $8000 here. Why would he move to a league that paid less? If he is taking a pay cut, might as well move to the laotian or cambodian league. :s13:

And do you know that the budget for an indo club is about 2.5 to 3 times of an s-league club? SAFFC budget is 1.8 million per year while an indo club is 4.3 million per year. Pay cut to move there? :s8:

Empty stadium? Come on lah...Barcelona has 1 of the biggest stadium in the world, so if they are playing away at a smaller stadium, does that make them less motivated? English clubs too play at smaller stadiums in domestic club competitions, does it give them an excuse not to perform?

Poor refereeing? Please lah...who created his bad boy image? The ref?

raullim7
11-09-2009, 03:55 PM
please go and check your facts before you comment, a Indonesian superstar called Bambang Pamungkas is paid $11800 per month while NAS is only paid $8000 here. Why would he move to a league that paid less? If he is taking a pay cut, might as well move to the laotian or cambodian league. :s13:

And do you know that the budget for an indo club is about 2.5 to 3 times of an s-league club? SAFFC budget is 1.8 million per year while an indo club is 4.3 million per year. Pay cut to move there? :s8:

Empty stadium? Come on lah...Barcelona has 1 of the biggest stadium in the world, so if they are playing away at a smaller stadium, does that make them less motivated? English clubs too play at smaller stadiums in domestic club competitions, does it give them an excuse not to perform?

i read from straits times and the idiot himself claimed that he took a PAY CUT to play there because the immigration ppl there can recognize him immeditately without checking his passport and the fans makes him feel like a millionaires.. stupidity!! he even claimed that he knows what he said (all the negative things on local football) might means that he had played his last game for s'pore but he wanna said it out for the sake of other players...

although i admit the beep test is nothing but stupid, but still giving such comments, he is more stupid than the beep test system..

btw, from another post, he was made the captain of the national side, as indra shadan no longer is a regular 1st 11..

if this chap is a joke, what about the dumb precious??? i think the indo club who signed him must be on a curse or what man!! for someone who turns slower than a 60yr old, i wonder what makes than sign him.. i remember few years back where he had an interview with the newpaper, he was asked why he took up citizenship in singapore? his reply: "i want to tell people that i am an international player"... OMG

silent_espy
11-09-2009, 04:58 PM
seriously i dont know what is so talented abt him? :s13: all he does is use his strength and bulldoze his way around and his heading is better than most singaporean players. his ball skils and dribbling are crap.

silent_espy
11-09-2009, 05:08 PM
i read from straits times and the idiot himself claimed that he took a PAY CUT to play there because the immigration ppl there can recognize him immeditately without checking his passport and the fans makes him feel like a millionaires.. stupidity!! he even claimed that he knows what he said (all the negative things on local football) might means that he had played his last game for s'pore but he wanna said it out for the sake of other players...

although i admit the beep test is nothing but stupid, but still giving such comments, he is more stupid than the beep test system..

btw, from another post, he was made the captain of the national side, as indra shadan no longer is a regular 1st 11..

if this chap is a joke, what about the dumb precious??? i think the indo club who signed him must be on a curse or what man!! for someone who turns slower than a 60yr old, i wonder what makes than sign him.. i remember few years back where he had an interview with the newpaper, he was asked why he took up citizenship in singapore? his reply: "i want to tell people that i am an international player"... OMG

who can trust an idiot like him when he attacks his own international team mate and when he attacks a foreign player (mascherano) he says he's protecting his own team mate when it doesnt even concern him at all. if he was so protective abt his international team mates he wouldnt attack singapore football now. he's just a liar protecting his own interests and actions.

raullim7
11-09-2009, 05:34 PM
who can trust an idiot like him when he attacks his own international team mate and when he attacks a foreign player (mascherano) he says he's protecting his own team mate when it doesnt even concern him at all. if he was so protective abt his international team mates he wouldnt attack singapore football now. he's just a liar protecting his own interests and actions.

i strongly believe it boils down to the fact that he was unhappy that he was given a lengthy world wide ban...

don't think he can blame the referee at all.. i mean in football, sometimes you get it sometimes you don't.. provided, he is always so ARROGANT.. i am waiting for the day he crawl back to s'pore!!

abutan
11-09-2009, 05:46 PM
alam shah should be reading this thread to realise how dumb he is.

bigass
11-09-2009, 08:38 PM
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20081214/36a.jpgwill you be given a house like Fandi for coaching a S-league club?please go and check your facts before you comment, a Indonesian superstar called Bambang Pamungkas is paid $11800 per month while NAS is only paid $8000 here. Why would he move to a league that paid less? If he is taking a pay cut, might as well move to the laotian or cambodian league. :s13:

vasilli07
11-09-2009, 08:42 PM
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20081214/36a.jpgwill you be given a house like Fandi for coaching a S-league club?

no 1 is blaming NAS for leaving for $$$ but just be honest instead of crapping...

if s-league truly sucks, then he should have quitted long ago...

jerichoo
11-09-2009, 09:17 PM
alam shah should be reading this thread to realise how dumb he is.

I got a feeling he don't even know how to log in to the internet.

relax guys let him enjoy 3 yrs. when he is back I see wat job he gonna take up..:s13:

spykid
11-09-2009, 10:26 PM
Blasted in a hat-trick moments ago to bid 'farewell'. Honestly he's now one of the best strikers Singapore ever produced. Not the most gifted, i remember he was quite rubbish in his early twenties, but made it through hard work. I hope he succeeds there actually, and i predict he will come back after 2 years and play here again to retire :s13:

Deunamist
11-09-2009, 10:39 PM
I got a feeling he don't even know how to log in to the internet.

relax guys let him enjoy 3 yrs. when he is back I see wat job he gonna take up..:s13:

i have him as a friend on facebook. what do u think? ;)

he can still get his job as a Komoco Motors agent.

web.designer
12-09-2009, 01:27 AM
All of you are a disgrace to HWZ. Everyone here are supposed to be against Singapore football! :mad:

rECKleSSfElla
12-09-2009, 01:29 AM
Blasted in a hat-trick moments ago to bid 'farewell'. Honestly he's now one of the best strikers Singapore ever produced. Not the most gifted, i remember he was quite rubbish in his early twenties, but made it through hard work. I hope he succeeds there actually, and i predict he will come back after 2 years and play here again to retire :s13:

go read his interview posted in sleague.com. He explicitly states he hopes to stay beyond the current 1 yr contract he was offered by the indon club becuz he doesnt want to return to singapore anytime soon. For such a person who no longer feels motivated to give his best to local soccer, i truely thinks he should be excluded from the national team hereafter.

vasilli07
12-09-2009, 07:50 AM
All of you are a disgrace to HWZ. Everyone here are supposed to be against Singapore football! :mad:

Still better than a crapper like you...:s8:

mahjong saint
12-09-2009, 01:41 PM

u r the fvcking disgraceful one :s27:

biogenie87
13-09-2009, 06:36 PM
I won be stupid and fall for your nonsense comments web.designer.. If you wanna get flamed you can jolly well go to the low lifes at other forums!

Over here at least we are honest and mindful about what we write, not some nonsensical outburst that is deemed for dim wits. Oh yeah, maybe you are not even intellectually incline to understand me~

doodledo
14-09-2009, 04:22 AM
To each his own, he has courted some controversy over e yrs for off e ball incidents n to deliver a parting shot does'nt reflect v.well on him as a person for all his player's worth

raullim7
14-09-2009, 09:57 AM
2-3yrs for his return?? aide iskander and ahmad latiff came home from johor in less than a year!! i seriously don't think he will last for so long there.. unless we are saying that the standard there is similar to the sleague...

he said that local crowd the most only about 3,000 while in indo, he will be playing in front of more than 30,000... maybe he should understand the population of the respective countries before making such a stupid comment... i mean we can build a nou camp capacity stadium in s'pore but what is the chances of people filling every single seat in the stadium? have to be realistic lah, each week, how many sleague matches are there??? singapore as a whole is already smaller than a single state in indo!!

zachary_l
14-09-2009, 11:07 AM
2-3yrs for his return?? aide iskander and ahmad latiff came home from johor in less than a year!! i seriously don't think he will last for so long there.. unless we are saying that the standard there is similar to the sleague...

he said that local crowd the most only about 3,000 while in indo, he will be playing in front of more than 30,000... maybe he should understand the population of the respective countries before making such a stupid comment... i mean we can build a nou camp capacity stadium in s'pore but what is the chances of people filling every single seat in the stadium? have to be realistic lah, each week, how many sleague matches are there??? singapore as a whole is already smaller than a single state in indo!!

Haha.. its not uncommon to heard people talking about BPL single match attendance > whole of sleague.

mentality = same same

R Hess
14-09-2009, 11:57 AM
if there was a really talented player ala Fandi or A new Sumdram there capacity at every match will be 30000.It boils down to fans raw talent.

raullim7
14-09-2009, 04:32 PM
if there was a really talented player ala Fandi or A new Sumdram there capacity at every match will be 30000.It boils down to fans raw talent.

absolutely.. last time malaysia cup days, tickets selling like hot cakes.. simply because of the passion of the players and the excitment the fans were enjoying in each and single match..

frankly speaking, even if you wan pay people to watch sleague now, you can only attract those retirees uncles and aunties... i mean malaysia cup, you know each and single players' background, style of play, etc in the starting lineup.. sleague? you don't even know who that guy is at right back.. what for?

he can't simply push it to the fans.. we got to BUY ticket to watch them play and does the quality reflect the amount of money we pay? just like you buy a PC, of course you want the best hard and software in it for the amount of money you paid.. isn't it?

R Hess
14-09-2009, 05:27 PM
we use to get 30000 fan to watch a league (long before S league)match.Tiong Bahru vs Geylang.That's even more than BPL teams!
No marketing,sponsors,promotions etc just pure fan passion.

raullim7
14-09-2009, 05:34 PM
we use to get 30000 fan to watch a league (long before S league)match.Tiong Bahru vs Geylang.That's even more than BPL teams!
No marketing,sponsors,promotions etc just pure fan passion.

Well, i don't think the then EPL and other european league football telecast was in such an advance stage, like now, back then.. now when you have more choices, of course you will go for the better one isnt it?

Boi_racer
15-09-2009, 07:02 AM
So many local players jumping ship... :s31:

nam314
15-09-2009, 09:41 AM
So many local players jumping ship... :s31:

ya, in fact almost the entire 1st eleven team, or half of the national team players are link to Indonesian club :s22::s22:

fishfishfish81
15-09-2009, 09:45 AM
seriously,if anyone here who dun tink spore footie is in shambles,then u must be someone blind

1.our foreign players are crap.
2.we haven had a local star in dunno hw ,any decades
3.crowds have dwindled
4.wc qualifying objective was just a joke
5. FAS under mah bow tan went into a rubbish state
6.i cant be bothered abt singapore footie anymore

raullim7
15-09-2009, 09:52 AM
seriously,if anyone here who dun tink spore footie is in shambles,then u must be someone blind

1.our foreign players are crap.
2.we haven had a local star in dunno hw ,any decades
3.crowds have dwindled
4.wc qualifying objective was just a joke
5. FAS under mah bow tan went into a rubbish state
6.i cant be bothered abt singapore footie anymore

couldnt agree more.. first there was this GOAL2020 then they forward it to 2012.. can't even qualify for the Asia Cup, and you are hopping to dislodge the likes of japan and south korea for a place in the world cup finals?? go get a SEA games gold FIRST should be the objective.. they even dare to say that the world cup qualifying campaign this time round improved drastically.. but hey, were there so many meaningless rounds in the past?

imagine a 38yr old duric as your first choice striker in the national team??????? not that he is not good enough but look at his age!! i thought the thailand coach was spot on when he said his thai team was playing against an 'internationals" team back in the 2007 asean cup.. halve of the 1st eleven is not local!! i mean if we fill all local players in the final and lost to a thai team with 5-6 foreign imports in their team, what will be the reaction back then??

croc1977
15-09-2009, 12:36 PM
absolutely.. last time malaysia cup days, tickets selling like hot cakes.. simply because of the passion of the players and the excitment the fans were enjoying in each and single match..

frankly speaking, even if you wan pay people to watch sleague now, you can only attract those retirees uncles and aunties... i mean malaysia cup, you know each and single players' background, style of play, etc in the starting lineup.. sleague? you don't even know who that guy is at right back.. what for?

he can't simply push it to the fans.. we got to BUY ticket to watch them play and does the quality reflect the amount of money we pay? just like you buy a PC, of course you want the best hard and software in it for the amount of money you paid.. isn't it?
yes i agree with chiu...

i even know lee man hon or rafi play what position that time...

now see the s-league...i don't even know who are they...

it's the exposure...even our beloved new paper don't talk about the games liao...unless got ple whack refree

fishfishfish81
15-09-2009, 02:00 PM
couldnt agree more.. first there was this GOAL2020 then they forward it to 2012.. can't even qualify for the Asia Cup, and you are hopping to dislodge the likes of japan and south korea for a place in the world cup finals?? go get a SEA games gold FIRST should be the objective.. they even dare to say that the world cup qualifying campaign this time round improved drastically.. but hey, were there so many meaningless rounds in the past?

imagine a 38yr old duric as your first choice striker in the national team??????? not that he is not good enough but look at his age!! i thought the thailand coach was spot on when he said his thai team was playing against an 'internationals" team back in the 2007 asean cup.. halve of the 1st eleven is not local!! i mean if we fill all local players in the final and lost to a thai team with 5-6 foreign imports in their team, what will be the reaction back then??

lets put it this way,if i was NAS i would be farking pissed...u choose a blardy 38 yr old hag over me,a true blue singaporean.

the one thing i like abt NAS and u can see it is that he has this that so many of our foreigners dun have :PASSION FOR THE GAME..and its only who are passionate and love the game and country is daring enough to come forward and risk his international career to say this. BUT look at what happened, WE ARE DISCUSSING SINGAPORE FOOTBALL IN THIS THREAD..and this thread is already so long. that shows that he has done the effect he wanted.

i say kudos to him and i thank him for his words for pple like him,we need more of such chaps to come forward and wake up the god damned FAS who still tinks that they are the god sent angels of singapore football with their puny tiger cup...

u knw what pisses me off. its that we signed all this foreigners and the only thing they can show of it is the tiger cup WHICH BY THE WAY WE WON UNDER BARRY WHITBREAD WITH NO FARKING FOREIGNERS.

I hope more people like NAS comes forward.

kopitian
15-09-2009, 02:03 PM
SINGAPORE POPULATION AND INTEREST IN ACTUAL PLAYING OF FOOTBALL IS TOOO SMALL.

Its that simple people. Its that simple..thats why they're encouraging sports all of a sudden..

raullim7
15-09-2009, 02:18 PM
yes i agree with chiu...

i even know lee man hon or rafi play what position that time...

now see the s-league...i don't even know who are they...

it's the exposure...even our beloved new paper don't talk about the games liao...unless got ple whack refree

ya lor.. unless kelong, refree kena threaten.. etc.. all for the wrong reason...

dinosaur2776
15-09-2009, 02:20 PM

Its that simple people. Its that simple..thats why they're encouraging sports all of a sudden..

some countries that made it to the WC have population similar to singapore...dun get me started on listing them down

raullim7
15-09-2009, 02:23 PM

too small? go check out 1992 euorpean championship winner, denmark, population.. it's the interest, how long can you sustain as a footballer? by the time you finish school, it's probably too late to kick start your career as a footballer and there are better paid jobs out there.. it's more on culture..

R Hess
15-09-2009, 02:52 PM
Don't compare diff countries it's all down to DNA and genes not size if so then China should be World champs. we east asians just aren't built to play contact sports.You need good genes like Fandi!

Shadow04
15-09-2009, 04:17 PM
before any one go about comparing ourselves with other similarly sized country who qualified for the world cup, how many here would actually encourage their son(s) to pick up soccer as a career? i know i wont, and i am willing to bet 7 out of 10 wont either.. dont go all high and mighty and say if it is their interest i will let them.. the simple truth is, in other countries, the pay they get being a footballer will ensure he has a comparatively higher standard of living as compared to other jobs hence most encourage their sons to take up soccer, but in Singapore, an average citizen is better off finishing his studies then start climbing the corporate ladder than to start a career in football.. it just doesnt pay to start a career playing soccer..

raullim7
15-09-2009, 04:35 PM
before any one go about comparing ourselves with other similarly sized country who qualified for the world cup, how many here would actually encourage their son(s) to pick up soccer as a career? i know i wont, and i am willing to bet 7 out of 10 wont either.. dont go all high and mighty and say if it is their interest i will let them.. the simple truth is, in other countries, the pay they get being a footballer will ensure he has a comparatively higher standard of living as compared to other jobs hence most encourage their sons to take up soccer, but in Singapore, an average citizen is better off finishing his studies then start climbing the corporate ladder than to start a career in football.. it just doesnt pay to start a career playing soccer..

yup.. it's the culture.. alot of players in the sleague are actually part timers who holds a full time non-footballing job outside...

nam314
16-09-2009, 09:42 AM

ya spot on...

small population is one thing, i like football either to play or watch them but that's doesn't mean i will like to be a professional footballers.

Ask ppl around you or yourself, will you allow your son to be a professional footballers?

So we can't blame our govt for bringing in more FTs to our national team

raullim7
16-09-2009, 04:48 PM
ya spot on...

small population is one thing, i like football either to play or watch them but that's doesn't mean i will like to be a professional footballers.

Ask ppl around you or yourself, will you allow your son to be a professional footballers?

So we can't blame our govt for bringing in more FTs to our national team

i definitely agree with you that parents will think many many times before deciding if they allow their son to be a pro footballer..

but cant blame our govt? well, parents wun allow is because they know that being a footballer, you wun be able to sustain long and what do you do after u hang up your boots or retire prematurely due to critical injuries... it's the culture of the society that we are living in.. they are brining in more FTs not just in terms of sports, but many many areas too...

nam314
17-09-2009, 09:37 AM
i definitely agree with you that parents will think many many times before deciding if they allow their son to be a pro footballer..

but cant blame our govt? well, parents wun allow is because they know that being a footballer, you wun be able to sustain long and what do you do after u hang up your boots or retire prematurely due to critical injuries... it's the culture of the society that we are living in.. they are brining in more FTs not just in terms of sports, but many many areas too...

footballers have short career, most probably they will retire around 35yo. tat why NAS did highlight this issue to FAS as he say that local footballers did not get enough support after they retired.

for example in UK they have a player association to help these players but over here we only have FAS and they are not doing enough.

vasilli07
17-09-2009, 09:42 AM
I think players need to help themselves too...just look at lim tong hai, aide iskandar, sundram...they took up coaching courses and they are now coaches of S-league clubs...I believe FAS too play a part by getting them into coaching courses...surely FAS cannot help them in getting jobs outside the football world...

raullim7
17-09-2009, 09:57 AM
I think players need to help themselves too...just look at lim tong hai, aide iskandar, sundram...they took up coaching courses and they are now coaches of S-league clubs...I believe FAS too play a part by getting them into coaching courses...surely FAS cannot help them in getting jobs outside the football world...

ya lor.. have to self upgrade.. like nazir nasir who is now the GM of tampines... but again, how many prof clubs are there here and how many coaches and GM does a single team needs?? the most critical part is whether they are able to accept a pay cut to take up a football related work after they hang up their boots..

Kennedy
17-09-2009, 12:55 PM
No jobs are forever.

We have seen peoples switching to different fields of work throughout their 20s, 30s or 40s - technical to sales to service and they start all over again from scratch.

I don't know what's the big deal with footballers unable to find a proper job after retirement.

If they are complaining, they are really living in their own delusional world.

raullim7
17-09-2009, 02:03 PM
No jobs are forever.

We have seen peoples switching to different fields of work throughout their 20s, 30s or 40s - technical to sales to service and they start all over again from scratch.

I don't know what's the big deal with footballers unable to find a proper job after retirement.

it's not a case of unable to find a proper job after retiring from football but are they willing to take a pay cut?? high chance they will not be able find a job that pays as well as a footballer... u might be surprise how much they earn each month!!

also, if u are a prof footballer, u are doing a job you love.. unlike working outside under people looking at other ppl face... so it's not really like switching from technical to sales that easy... as NAS himself said, "i felt like a millionaire with the way the crowds in indo treat me".. if you switch line, you won't have the millionaire feeling anymore.. more of an EGO issue.. similar to those retired army officer.. you think they can accept a low management job outside?

Shadow04
17-09-2009, 02:34 PM
No jobs are forever.

you speak as if jobs fall from the skies.. now companies think thrice even to hire someone who is 40 year old and have a wealth of prior experience in the field, what makes you think they are going to hire some 36 year old ex footballer who have no experience whatsoever?

people can switch to other field of work cause they have previous working experience and have already build a certain reputation in the working industry or at the very least know how the industry work.. whats the footballer going to put in his resume? they haven't the slightest idea how the business world work and i'm willing to bet few company is willing to take under its wings a 36 year old 'new bird' who needs to learn everything all over again..

raullim7
17-09-2009, 03:56 PM
you speak as if jobs fall from the skies.. now companies think thrice even to hire someone who is 40 year old and have a wealth of prior experience in the field, what makes you think they are going to hire some 36 year old ex footballer who have no experience whatsoever?

people can switch to other field of work cause they have previous working experience and have already build a certain reputation in the working industry or at the very least know how the industry work.. whats the footballer going to put in his resume? they haven't the slightest idea how the business world work and i'm willing to bet few company is willing to take under its wings a 36 year old 'new bird' who needs to learn everything all over again..

absolutely.. starting afresh is one thing, their willingless to take on the job with entry level starting pay is another...

even if you are the capt of a top sleague side for the past decade, it doesn't mean anything when you go for a job interview that is of no relevant to football..

Kennedy
18-09-2009, 03:46 AM

read my earlier post before rebutting for the sake of it.

I meant. no jobs are forever. peoples have to switch fields of work due to circumstances and start all over again. footballers have to do the same too.

jobs fall from the skies - you say one :)

rVn_mUfC
18-09-2009, 04:46 AM
at this moment obviously, football isnt an attractive career option for the mass population in our country. but whose job is it to make football more attractive to the mass, not FAS? Have they done anything yet? Not anything that i can see of.

raullim7
18-09-2009, 09:45 AM
at this moment obviously, football isnt an attractive career option for the mass population in our country. but whose job is it to make football more attractive to the mass, not FAS? Have they done anything yet? Not anything that i can see of.

they can't do much too.. to improve the quality of local sleague, they allow 5 foreign players in each team at the beginning.. don't know if this remains the same till today.. this drastically reduce the amount of playing time for locals.. especially when you compare the bench of saf fc and teams like balestier in the past..

after few years, they noticed that there is no improvement in standard yet so they recruited more and more foreign talents... it's not just the FAS's fault.. just like the goal 2022.. you set this target, does it mean surely you will reach it? best part is a few years later, they reduced the target to 2010... it's really a stupid and unrealistic target..

Shadow04
18-09-2009, 03:47 PM
read my earlier post before rebutting for the sake of it.

I meant. no jobs are forever. peoples have to switch fields of work due to circumstances and start all over again. footballers have to do the same too.

jobs fall from the skies - you say one :)
i'm not rebutting for the sake of rebutting, i suggest u re-read mine too, all my points are valid.. those points are why ex-footballers are finding it hard to find a job after their footballing career is over.. it isnt that they dont want to, circumstances certainly doesnt make it easy for them.. simply put, if you are the one hiring, would you hire a 36 year old ex-footballer or a 36 year old who has been in the industry for 20 odd years?

RobbieFowler
20-09-2009, 06:37 PM
If I have a son, I would definately would not want him to be a full time footballer in SG.

How much can you make as a footballer?
How long can you earn?
After retire from football?

There is no way SG can be successful in the S-League.

raullim7
23-09-2009, 08:25 AM
that idiot claimed that local football lacks media/press exposure.. poor crowd attendance... i would like to ask if he is willing to take a 25% pay cut where the money will go to media and press organization... with increase in publicity, it may attract more crowd.. but the question is, IS HE WILLING TO TAKE A PAY CUT?? he can't simply push everything away and blame this and that.. if he talks about speaking up for his fellow footballers, is he willing to take a pay cut to improve the quality for the future???

nam314
23-09-2009, 10:22 AM
that idiot claimed that local football lacks media/press exposure.. poor crowd attendance... i would like to ask if he is willing to take a 25% pay cut where the money will go to media and press organization... with increase in publicity, it may attract more crowd.. but the question is, IS HE WILLING TO TAKE A PAY CUT?? he can't simply push everything away and blame this and that.. if he talks about speaking up for his fellow footballers, is he willing to take a pay cut to improve the quality for the future???

Actually what he saying is right. i watch local football and i understand what is the problem our country facing. So i gonna support what he's saying.

Those who watch and understand local football screen will no doubt say he is right and i guess you dun watch any local games or read up any news at all so it is not fair you slam him.:mad:

Why link it to pay cut, it is two different story.

raullim7
23-09-2009, 11:13 AM
Actually what he saying is right. i watch local football and i understand what is the problem our country facing. So i gonna support what he's saying.

Those who watch and understand local football screen will no doubt say he is right and i guess you dun watch any local games or read up any news at all so it is not fair you slam him.:mad:

Why link it to pay cut, it is two different story.

i also agree with portion of what he said but not all.. i don't watch the local games but i do read up on their news from the sleague website.. in the national team, i do know the clubs that these players come from but not to extended details, unlike like bpl teams, i know how old they are, their nationality and their previous club etc..

how can he claimed that the referee is not fair to him.. i mean if you are a repeated offender, you can't tell the referee you mistimed your tackle or whatever reason you can come up with.. for you info, he bashed up his opponent on more than one occasions.. the beep test one i totally agree with him..

pay cut certainly got linked.. money is the evil of almost everything.. you know how much those television copyright, media news release can generate for a club in europe?? where on earth is local media like newpaper going to find the money?? sleague is runned based on a budget.. if a huge amount of money is to be reserved for salaries.. then what's left to do the other things??

like what being discussed in this thread.. we can built a 30,000 capacity stadium for all the clubs but is this realistic?? the population difference between indonesia and singapore is so huge that you can't complain you don't get much crowd in s'pore.. if you want to talk about malaysia cup days where you can easily attract capacity 60,000 for each match, then you have to understand that the whole nation is behind singapore during those days while now in club football, you don't expect 30,000 tampines residents to fill the stadium each week..

nam314
23-09-2009, 12:06 PM
I think NAS as a player, he just pointed out some fact that what as player really want. There nothing much a player can do, if FAS, SSC & Sponsor dun give full support. A successfull league dun just depend on players, it need all rounds of support to make it work den fans will start to come in.

credmax
23-09-2009, 01:43 PM
Actually i find that is gd for the players to play overseas, regardless to watever reasons the players wana gv. It actually provides more chances for the National fringe players to play & prove their worth.

raullim7
23-09-2009, 04:06 PM
Actually i find that is gd for the players to play overseas, regardless to watever reasons the players wana gv. It actually provides more chances for the National fringe players to play & prove their worth.

it's true that its a exposure and opportunity for them to ply their trade overseas but for national selection wise.. same players will still be selected regardless the form that they are in..

rVn_mUfC
23-09-2009, 07:38 PM
why dun the clubs here promote themselves more to the community? so much complaints saying that no fans turn up to watch a match, but how many residents actually know that there is a football club in their area? are the league and club doing enough to make presence felt among the residents in their community? i felt this is the least that they should do and yet i dun think they had done enough of it.

lets face it, sleague is facing a real difficult task to attract hardcore BPL fans, so why not turn their attention to others in the community, and make the others felt attached to the club in one way or another.

raullim7
24-09-2009, 01:32 PM
why dun the clubs here promote themselves more to the community? so much complaints saying that no fans turn up to watch a match, but how many residents actually know that there is a football club in their area? are the league and club doing enough to make presence felt among the residents in their community? i felt this is the least that they should do and yet i dun think they had done enough of it.

lets face it, sleague is facing a real difficult task to attract hardcore BPL fans, so why not turn their attention to others in the community, and make the others felt attached to the club in one way or another.

that's y i mentioned pay cut for the top earners... use the money for promotion purpose,etc.. but NAS will tell you that he is leaving because local football is not 'sincere' enough..

but others in the community? which group are you refering to? It's is tough to find a soccer fan not following the BPL.. even if you don't watch it, you can get all the info from the newspapers.. you can't blame the press too, if you focus 60% of the sports section on the s-league and the rest on BPL, la liga, etc, chances are that people will rather check the news online than to buy it....

chances certainly need to be implement to the management of the league but don't expect things to improve immediately... you got to give a few years to see the improvement, but end conclusion is that are the management willing to chance?

the direction, that they are taking in my point of view, is to win as many throphies as possible in the quickest time, that is why they going for so many foreign talents.. quantity, rather than quality is their top priority..

origin05
24-09-2009, 04:11 PM
some years back someone targeted singapore for world cup 2010...

well i'll give room for consolation ... we'll see if we can make it by 2100 ! :s8:

origin05
24-09-2009, 04:19 PM
I did went to their office and one thing i must comment is that those people at FAS look very stuck up ... they are really proud of the minor things they've done lol ...

well sg soccer can never improved. first somehow or rather our country is not short of footballers, if can tan jia i believe those hardcore soccer players wannabe would want to take up the job but it's otherwise here ...

the other lacking area in SG soccer is - I feel that clubs are biased. they have so little chinese players. well I won't comment much on this, you guys see for yaself.

well singapore 2100 for world cup? I won't bet on it! :s16:

raullim7
25-09-2009, 08:07 AM
I did went to their office and one thing i must comment is that those people at FAS look very stuck up ... they are really proud of the minor things they've done lol ...

well sg soccer can never improved. first somehow or rather our country is not short of footballers, if can tan jia i believe those hardcore soccer players wannabe would want to take up the job but it's otherwise here ...

the other lacking area in SG soccer is - I feel that clubs are biased. they have so little chinese players. well I won't comment much on this, you guys see for yaself.

well singapore 2100 for world cup? I won't bet on it! :s16:

ya man... not just clubs, the national team too..

songapore for the world cup?? not even 3100.. unless they co-host with either indonesia or malaysia..

nam314
25-09-2009, 09:23 AM
ya man... not just clubs, the national team too..

songapore for the world cup?? not even 3100.. unless they co-host with either indonesia or malaysia..

maybe FAS shd join OFC zone...as we beaten the NZ team b4, maybe den we stand a 1/2 chance to qualify :s22:

fishfishfish81
25-09-2009, 09:43 AM
come on lah,

if countries with lesser population can make it to the WC why cant we?
its plain mis-organisation by the FAS

and guess what, now they asking NAS to write a explanation letter for his words. WTF,they tink this is some secondary school punishment is it?

in any sports, the head organisation is critical in the development of the sports...NOTHING ELSE

they are critical in ensuring the players succeed and also make sure they retire well..

if money is an issue, then explain to me what happens to all those betting moolah that is handled by Singapore Pools..

u know guys, i give u a perfect example of how our explayers are treated..

i remembered the Tiger Cup finals was going to be played where we ahd to face Indonesia..and everyone was lining up for tickets...and guess who i saw lining up behind me? the legendary DAVID LEE...thats how our explayers are treated..they cant even get free tix to matches...

Im not expecting our explayers to be treated like kings with free condo or anything but i tink the least FAS could do was ensuring that they are the forefront of the promotion of football..nw we only see david lee in MCDONALDS ADVERT...WTF< Mcdonalds promote soccer better than our goondo FAS...

I dun see promotion of soccer aggressively at primary school level..i dun see our soccer players being hyped as role models...

i understand NAS frustration. he speaks similar to tons of singapore fans. fans who are frusttrated that our supposed FTs playing int he team are thrash and our locals are not rising up the ranks..

The FAS was going up the ranks undr ibrahim othman and abdullah tarmugi...when it came under mah bow tan,tings took a downturn with all the FT tok and empty promises.MBT have done nothing to singapore football except set up a half fak league

rVn_mUfC
25-09-2009, 06:44 PM
that's y i mentioned pay cut for the top earners... use the money for promotion purpose,etc.. but NAS will tell you that he is leaving because local football is not 'sincere' enough..

but others in the community? which group are you refering to? It's is tough to find a soccer fan not following the BPL.. even if you don't watch it, you can get all the info from the newspapers.. you can't blame the press too, if you focus 60% of the sports section on the s-league and the rest on BPL, la liga, etc, chances are that people will rather check the news online than to buy it....

chances certainly need to be implement to the management of the league but don't expect things to improve immediately... you got to give a few years to see the improvement, but end conclusion is that are the management willing to chance?

the direction, that they are taking in my point of view, is to win as many throphies as possible in the quickest time, that is why they going for so many foreign talents.. quantity, rather than quality is their top priority..

by asking the top earner to get a paycut, doesn't it make it even make it a worse career prospect than it is now? this will also not attract good quality foreigners to the S-League which is one of the key reason why the league is often dull, as foreigners who came in recent years does not add quality to the league at all.

And by this i do not mean integrating these foreigners to the national tean, this is something i m always against. Having good foreigners in the league is healthy as it adds quality to the league, but having half of the national team starting lineup consisting of foreigners is disgraceful to say the least.

raullim7
28-09-2009, 08:50 AM
by asking the top earner to get a paycut, doesn't it make it even make it a worse career prospect than it is now? this will also not attract good quality foreigners to the S-League which is one of the key reason why the league is often dull, as foreigners who came in recent years does not add quality to the league at all.

And by this i do not mean integrating these foreigners to the national tean, this is something i m always against. Having good foreigners in the league is healthy as it adds quality to the league, but having half of the national team starting lineup consisting of foreigners is disgraceful to say the least.

true but with that amount of money, how good can this particular foreign be? let's be frank, how many outstanding foreigners are there since 1996? i don't think it's a case of "there is too many to mention"...

just take a look at tanjong pagar (previously tiong bahru) in 1998 (or 1997 cant remember liao) when they signed former cameroon world cup star emile mbouh mbouh.. he played in italia 90 and usa 94 for cameroon as a regular first 11.. tiong bahru even got bmw to sponsor his pay as there was this pay cap... but he prove to be a useless player...

just look at how much indonesia is paying to our local lads.. do you really think the quality, the crowd, the passion and the benefits is going to attract quality foreigners to s'pore? why waste money on them?? i remember last time after we left the m-league, fam implemented a no foreigners ruling in their league and malaysia really improved since then..

hondacity1977
09-10-2009, 05:27 PM
S-league should continue. So that unemployment rate will not go up due to footballers not able to find another job. But seriously, S-league is hopeless as Singapore is too small to have a pro league. It is extremely difficult to garner any die hard fans for the area that the football club represent. The only football rivary is between SAF and home united and that
is because they are different uniform groups. Media coverage doesn't help either as interest is no longer there. I feel Noh Alam Shah is right to slam local football. S-league will only get worst. If not for the legal football betting, this league wouldn't survive because it generate no income from gate receipt due to small crowd. Every decent singapore footballer should start looking at opportunity to play in other country, they are not going to achieve anything playing in S-league.

Another thing on the Singapore team. It is really pathetic that so many are FT. I wonder when the day will come that the minorities are real Singaporeans. My guess is it won't be far away as those FAS big shot only chance of holding on to their job is to make sure that the Singapore team win trophy in the Tiger cup or SEA games. They are only looking after themself and not for the real good of Singapore football.