PDA

View Full Version : Wat is the maximum length of LAN cable available in the market?

derekliu
14-09-2009, 10:47 PM
Wanna connect my router to my comp using LAN cable aka wired connection, as im getting fed up with the speed of wireless and the unstablity.

Problem is my router could only be situated in the living room as my starhub cable point is in the living room, and my comp is in my masterbed room. So to wired it from living room to masterbed room nicely, i rekconed the LAN cable would be more than 6m (or perhaps more!)

Would like to install a new cable point in my room but rejected by my mum who thinks that the contractor would do a lousy job by anyhow routing the wires. (This part i cant convinced her!)

Anybody pls help!

cnt
14-09-2009, 10:51 PM
u can go slt/sls ask them make cat5e cable up to 90m :s42:

trichard
14-09-2009, 10:56 PM
Wanna connect my router to my comp using LAN cable aka wired connection, as im getting fed up with the speed of wireless and the unstablity.

Problem is my router could only be situated in the living room as my starhub cable point is in the living room, and my comp is in my masterbed room. So to wired it from living room to masterbed room nicely, i rekconed the LAN cable would be more than 6m (or perhaps more!)

Would like to install a new cable point in my room but rejected by my mum who thinks that the contractor would do a lousy job by anyhow routing the wires. (This part i cant convinced her!)

Anybody pls help!
Just convine your mother..... it is the best solution .

Router is always good to be next to comp .... one loook neater ... and also easlier to lok at status ...

derekliu
14-09-2009, 10:58 PM
u can go slt/sls ask them make cat5e cable up to 90m :s42:

90m! :eek:

wats cat5e ar :s11: is it same as LAN cable?

Ask them make means more ex is it?

derekliu
14-09-2009, 10:59 PM
Just convine your mother..... it is the best solution .

Router is always good to be next to comp .... one loook neater ... and also easlier to lok at status ...

I juz moved my chair abit, i can see the status of my router in the living room from my room le :s13: My house very small only la 3-room flat.

Its hard to convince my mum la seriously :s22:

cnt
14-09-2009, 11:02 PM
i tink they charge abt 50c to $1 per m ba. rj45 connector abt 20c each ba. actually very simple to make. few mins gao dim :s42:

cnt
14-09-2009, 11:03 PM
type of cable is called cat5-e. try to get belden brand if not too ex :s42:

mike911
14-09-2009, 11:22 PM
max cat5 is 100m, but that is theory..

neomages
14-09-2009, 11:27 PM
point to point is 100m.. if ur making a wall point than 90m cos got 10m allowance for u to plug ur lan cable to ur com or router.. so total add up =<100 should b safe liao..

fatworm
14-09-2009, 11:30 PM
2 year ago i renov my house 4 room flat run with cat5 lan cable. 3 room with connector point one at living room. my rounter and modem at my bedroom..

Mythmaker
14-09-2009, 11:30 PM
there is a thing called homeplug.

http://www.homeplugs.co.uk/acatalog/dig2homeplug_with_ADSL_Router.jpg

HeeroYuy84
14-09-2009, 11:32 PM
use powerline adapters la... you cant reach the limit using broadband though

neomages
14-09-2009, 11:33 PM
there is a thing called homeplug.

http://www.homeplugs.co.uk/acatalog/dig2homeplug_with_ADSL_Router.jpg

ooo tats cool.. dint noe theres such thing...

fatworm
14-09-2009, 11:33 PM
this homeplug also good but abit expensvie only

Mythmaker
14-09-2009, 11:35 PM
$100 and you saved yourself all the hassle of covering up the wires.

cnt
14-09-2009, 11:43 PM
if $100 den worth it :s42:

junkai21
14-09-2009, 11:54 PM
type of cable is called cat5-e. try to get belden brand if not too ex :s42:

CNT, i always want to ask u. Why u always end with a :s42:

cnt
15-09-2009, 12:07 AM
CNT, i always want to ask u. Why u always end with a :s42:
i'm a chimney :s42:

ly1968
15-09-2009, 12:56 AM
Tis is cnt style i guess lol

ly1968
15-09-2009, 12:57 AM
TS i did try with a 10m lan cable without any issue

neomages
15-09-2009, 01:13 AM
100 bucks for 1 homeplug? or 1 pair? if 1 nia ex sia...

lamerokz
15-09-2009, 02:15 AM
100 for a pair

ugeneleow
15-09-2009, 03:40 AM
I bought my 25m wire from Chamoxa.

Homeplugs would be the best option since there would not be any messy wires dangling about. The $50+ per plug kind generally has no A/C pass-through, while those $100+ per pair usually does. Therefore, you might want to take this into consideration before buying one.

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:8Grb_tNoRzK-zM:[url]http://img.alibaba.com/photo/11735369/Home_plug_200mbps_Ethernet_Bridge_Vk_200hp_.jpg

http://www.aztech.com/images/products/HL109EP.gif

Mythmaker
15-09-2009, 03:49 AM
homeplug ftw lol.

My house is either homeplug or wireless... tv, printer, desktop are all connected via homeplug.

Fr3ziX
15-09-2009, 05:14 AM
Any idea where to get? Apparently i'm in the same situation as TS :s13:

ugeneleow
15-09-2009, 06:11 AM
Do you mean homeplugs? Video-Pro and Bell has it.

Fr3ziX
15-09-2009, 09:41 AM
Do you mean homeplugs? Video-Pro and Bell has it.

ok thanks! :D

Kiwi8
15-09-2009, 10:44 AM
I think the TS doesn't mind connecting via LAN cable, hence he does not really need the homeplugs.

So while being able to route the cables nicely, he also just need to pay initial cost for LAN cable and does not need to pay extra electricity for the homeplug usage too.

the_guardian
15-09-2009, 11:00 AM
I used to have a 20m+ LAN cable, now at my aunt's place, she's using it to do some 'creative' cable routing, route the LAN cable outside her window LOL

100m is max theory. I think above 25-30m need to setup a repeater to boost the signal else signal maybe faint due to cable resistance.

But my 20m+ LAN cable works well without any delays/packet losses, etc. so i can testify that 20m LAN cable is good for use without hiccups ;)

mike911
15-09-2009, 12:12 PM
100 for a pair

pain pain for the pocket.

only_lonely
15-09-2009, 12:17 PM
got 305meter from 3M..saw at sls...around $200...

DarkBlue
15-09-2009, 02:00 PM
Homeplug is your best bet...

IcyWombat
15-09-2009, 02:32 PM
I have ran CAT5e in my office building for 5 flrs (w/false ceiling and raised floor), connecting to switch and router, no problem at all. No repeater needed.

Homeplug better, if you are going to run it in your own home. Even running through false ceiling is a pain.

derekliu
15-09-2009, 07:30 PM
Homeplug muz be plugged into a main power source is it?

Cos room and house power point is running out, and I wonder if homeplug can be shared with multi-plug anot?

phuque99
15-09-2009, 07:34 PM
can, will be dem slow.

mike911
15-09-2009, 08:19 PM
Homeplug muz be plugged into a main power source is it?

Cos room and house power point is running out, and I wonder if homeplug can be shared with multi-plug anot?

should be able too. i guess.

zeroex
15-09-2009, 09:34 PM
Why dun just use wirelessN router and go wireless leh
WirelessG not so good, but the recent N products shd be better, esp those with high gain or multi antenna ones.

Anyway I got route a 25M cable from 1 room to another, no problem, just damn ugly.

nobodyhere
16-09-2009, 12:02 AM
hello all,

Just a few comments from nobodyhere.

1) MAX length of LAN cables actually depends on a few things.
i) what applications are u running ? if 10/100/1000, max distance is 100m, including 5meters of patchcord at both ends for CAT5e and CAT6. This effectively means that the "hidden" cables in the false ceiling, partition etc can be max of 90m. Most cable runs do not exceed 90m, common average is about 55meters.

ii) If 10G Ethernet is required, you can only use CAT6a and above to support the full 100meters, CAT6 can be used but the max distance ranges from 37m to 55m, depending on the site conditions.

iii) To be honest, some applications will still work if you exceed 100meters ... it's just that no manufacturer is going to tell you for sure that the link will work as advertised, it's your risk to take. It was reported that someone ran 10Base-T over barb-wire ....at 300meters. My take is that anything above 110m (tester readings!) should just use fiber.

2) For small/medium HDBs
When you first get your HDB, best to plan for at least 2 nodes in each room. The beauty of structured cabling is that it can be used with most applications. i.e If you are using a analog phone today, you can switch to IP phones easily when they become economically viable.

3) Why not I just use wireless then ?
Wireless is nice if you are just doing light surfing, read emails, surf forums etc ... but if you need reliable connections, then u will need wires. (good network equipment counts too!) For wired connections, you will *almost* never get the full adverstised speed i.e 100megabits per second, or 1000megabits per second due to design. Do you think wireless can offer you the full bandwith as well?

4) Get a cabling preofessional to do the job for you ... they should be able to do it nice for you and if they don't, they can always redo until u are satisfied :s13:

derekliu
16-09-2009, 08:49 PM
Thanks guys for all ur suggestions! I think Homeplug is a very good solution for me!!

And I browse thru Aztech products, they had this model HL109EP

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v488/derekliu/hl109ep.gif

Turn your electrical wire into LAN
- "Simple Connect" security pairing for multiple adaptors
- Built-in AC pass through with noise filter and circuit breaker
- Dedicated Quality of Service (QoS) for triple play applications
- Speed up to 200Mbps - perfect for streaming HD IPTV, VOD and VoIP

http://www.aztech.com/sg/homeplug_hl109ep.html

I think this is a very good product with extra socket for my usage! Anyone knows the retailing price and whether i can get from Videopro/Bell as wat ugeneleow had mentioned?

Kiwi8
16-09-2009, 08:56 PM
Thanks guys for all ur suggestions! I think Homeplug is a very good solution for me!!

I think this is a very good product with extra socket for my usage! Anyone knows the retailing price and whether i can get from Videopro/Bell as wat ugeneleow had mentioned?

At last Comex, it is $95 per piece. So to get 2, it will cost u $190.

derekliu
17-09-2009, 06:04 PM
juz another question, the way the router/modem is connected to the Homeplug, and Homplug connected to the PC, all are by ethernet cable right?

Sp1der
18-09-2009, 10:18 PM
to TS:

I am building my cat6 home lan at the moment. The reason i switch from wireless to wire is to have a fast speed lan network between my HTPC, personal desktop & laptop. Wireless G crawl when i transfer stuff here and there.

If your concern is just surfing net, you can go for any others be it powerline adapter/wirelessN or cable solution.

If you want speed to link home systems like me, cable is the way.
Your budget is greatly factor on option you can have.

For my case it cost me over $100~$150 to link up 4 network point.
As I need to buy 100m of cat6 cable, keystone, faceplate, mountbox, cable trunking.
Not forgetting lots of time spend in planning how to route the cables, drilling wiring. I also have false ceiling in the living room.

Enjoy~

Sp1der
18-09-2009, 10:23 PM

not to disappoint you, but do take note on this point '- Speed up to 200Mbps - perfect for streaming HD IPTV, VOD and VoIP'.
Check out reviews on such powerline device. Hardly achieve 50mbps in any case.

mun_hoe
18-09-2009, 10:26 PM
just wanna ask TS which router are you using? if not i suggest why not invest in a good performance wireless router?

derekliu
18-09-2009, 10:57 PM
just wanna ask TS which router are you using? if not i suggest why not invest in a good performance wireless router?

Im using Linksys G router. I dunno much abt router so I got a simple one with USB adapter to receive the wifi.

This is the one im using now.

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/APAC/en/products/WRT54G2

Its not good enuff?
Im using Maxonline Express plan, shld be 8mbps one.

derekliu
18-09-2009, 10:59 PM
to TS:

I am building my cat6 home lan at the moment. The reason i switch from wireless to wire is to have a fast speed lan network between my HTPC, personal desktop & laptop. Wireless G crawl when i transfer stuff here and there.

If your concern is just surfing net, you can go for any others be it powerline adapter/wirelessN or cable solution.

If you want speed to link home systems like me, cable is the way.
Your budget is greatly factor on option you can have.

For my case it cost me over $100~$150 to link up 4 network point.
As I need to buy 100m of cat6 cable, keystone, faceplate, mountbox, cable trunking.
Not forgetting lots of time spend in planning how to route the cables, drilling wiring. I also have false ceiling in the living room.

Enjoy~

Powerline adapter not really that good? This not considered wired ar? I played online game heavily and also has downloads, so im quite a heavy internet user.

mun_hoe
19-09-2009, 12:37 AM
Im using Linksys G router. I dunno much abt router so I got a simple one with USB adapter to receive the wifi.

This is the one im using now.

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/APAC/en/products/WRT54G2

Its not good enuff?
Im using Maxonline Express plan, shld be 8mbps one.

well......the recommended routers that forumers here use are Dlink N routers.....search in the forums for DIR-615 and DIR-655

these routers have very stable routing processors which they term it as QOS (Quality Of Service)

or check out the G router for gaming DGL-4300 which also has this QOS function....this is one of the long lasting routers still in production by Dlink :s12:

ludacris10
19-09-2009, 05:48 AM
get a homeplug enuff what...

Sp1der
19-09-2009, 07:09 PM
Powerline adapter not really that good? This not considered wired ar? I played online game heavily and also has downloads, so im quite a heavy internet user.

not as gd as self claim.
i opted Cable > Wireless N > Powerline

unless your house really big and wireless n signal is far for reach then powerline is consider a better choice

derekliu
19-09-2009, 09:09 PM
not as gd as self claim.
i opted Cable > Wireless N > Powerline

unless your house really big and wireless n signal is far for reach then powerline is consider a better choice

Mine is a 3 room flat. A N-router still practical? Cos I thought N routers are for those very big house where signal might have diffculty in reaching thus they use N routers more.

liangtam
19-09-2009, 09:13 PM
Ppl don't buy N just because its a N leh.

Sp1der
20-09-2009, 03:51 PM
Mine is a 3 room flat. A N-router still practical? Cos I thought N routers are for those very big house where signal might have diffculty in reaching thus they use N routers more.

Go for N is for more future proof. You never know when you need more distance/speed coverage.
No point fall back for Wireless G, wirelessN is going mainstream now.

N for big house? Not totally true. More depend on the location of the router and the receiver (pc/laptop)

For a 3 room,if there is no concrete wall directly blocking your signal, wirelessG is as gd.

Why not draw out a diagram/floorplan of your house if you are really worry. This is also helpful for everyone to contribute more ideas :)

clhh12
22-09-2009, 05:00 PM
wat exactly is homeplug ah? A wall socket can use it for internet/lan meh? No need any lan port? Wat infrastructure does it runs on?
How much electricity does it consume each month? Electricity bills chor ah?

Sorry but i'm not familiar with homeplug at all...

nmemonic
22-09-2009, 05:32 PM
i believe its not really "electrical" per-se, but rather uses the electrical circuitry in your house to transmit data. basic setup is one powerline connect to ur router/switch etc..and the other end is connected to a 3 pin "adapter" of sorts which is connected into ur 3 pin power point(your wall). then you plug another 3 pin adapter wherever u need connectivity in the house and connect it to your pc or lan client using cat5 cable.

feel free to correct if i gave wrong info.