PDA

View Full Version : Starhub Bittorrent throttling stopped?

reno77
15-09-2009, 08:41 PM
I'm getting a combined 400+kbs download speed on BT now. Used to be around 50+kbs usually at this time. I'm on the basic express plan only.

aaur4man
15-09-2009, 09:40 PM
buy a beer~

zacchie
15-09-2009, 09:41 PM
yes i notice that as well time to celebrate!!!

starhub finally wake up

AS1
15-09-2009, 09:48 PM
very simple reason....less users on those plans as people are shifting to mobile broadband.

rogerfederer
15-09-2009, 10:27 PM
Maybe many people jumped ship to the red and orange camp, so the green pipe got more breathing space :s13:

Enishi
15-09-2009, 11:06 PM
there's always this cycle when ppl jump ship when contract ends

SimonLam
16-09-2009, 01:32 AM
No improvement. Still have this on Maxonline Premium

http://www.speedtest.net/result/565963425.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

MarineX
16-09-2009, 11:18 AM
No improvement. Still have this on Maxonline Premium

http://www.speedtest.net/result/565963425.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ya lor.. mine have been like this for centuries...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/566364290.png

MOL Premium too.

was hoping for free upgrade to 40mb instead.

rolling_stones
16-09-2009, 11:24 AM
no way ...the throttling continues...

rather I can see some new developments from yesterday and one of the reason i came back to this forum..

Whenever i am using BT and have 2-3 downloads at a time, my connection is getting disconnected .... yeah u heard it right..no internet connection..

no bit torrent and its fine...clearly they are capping data..especially if u r using bittorrent...

i called up cust service..same old BS they gave me...check ur router...its a router issue..:s8::s8:i told them that even with direct connection its same and router issue will not even allow u to connect to internet..but u know the same old bookish response...SG does not have too many options...starhub, m1, singtel..so where do u go to experience an unlimited throttling free experience..8 mbps connection is a joke :s27::s27:

albertlee
16-09-2009, 12:27 PM
Still the same lah. SH already stated in their website that traffic shaping is carry out throughout the day, just more throttling on p2p traffic during the peak hour (3pm to 3am).

Source: http://www.starhub.com/support/broadband/facts/networkmanagement.html

rolling_stones
16-09-2009, 12:50 PM
@albertlee :
" SH already stated in their website that traffic shaping is carry out throughout the day, just more throttling on p2p traffic during the peak hour (3pm to 3am).
"
Their website actually claims the following too...

"It is important to note that traffic shaping, as deployed in our network, identifies the type of traffic (such as http, ftp, SMTP, P2P etc). The traffic shaping function ensures the amount of P2P traffic is kept between 10-40% of the total traffic ." :s27::s27:

Funny thing is that I was using p2p apps after 7 am in the morning today and was using "udp trackers "... still after a few minutes I got disconnected from the internet.Not just throttling...but they have now resorted to stop traffic alltogether now if ur on BT.

albertlee
16-09-2009, 01:06 PM
@rolling_stones, when you said "disconnected", does it mean no other internet application work? Have you try connecting directly to the cable modem? What's your average speed obtain from using SH network utilities?

phuque99
16-09-2009, 05:20 PM
I'm running network application and scripts that creates multiple concurrent TCP connection. I have discovered that Starhub has QoS implmentation for TCP connection exceeding 400 sockets or more (especially during peak hours and at locations where residential density could be high). The QoS system does not limit the number of concurrent TCP sockets per IP, but they will result with a lot of re-transmission due to packets being dropped.

The QoS affects all kinds of port and does not discriminates torrent traffic (a stupid myth and religion in this forum). It is just a limitation on concurrent TCP sockets, regardless of port used. So for folks that kee siao with high connection limit, the side effect is what the religion believe "throttled" torrent because of packet drops.

As long as you have non kiam siap seeders (meaning non kiam siap piracy) torrent will be fast as long as you don't boh liao set thousands of connection.

RVS_SK
16-09-2009, 05:27 PM
now they also make the ping to other website very high (>3000ms) when you are downloading from megaupload and mediafire too

phuque99
16-09-2009, 05:42 PM
now they also make the ping to other website very high (>3000ms) when you are downloading from megaupload and mediafire too

Actually as a sysadmin, it is actually much more fun to frustrated your users, especially when they are doing something illegal. Since their activity will cause network congestion and all and they are law-breaking activity, frustrating users are much more fun to laugh off at all the kau peh kau bu in the forums compared to enforcing and blocking :s13:

yusoffb01
16-09-2009, 05:43 PM
If wan to BT should use singnet la. for anything else when its not capping speed, use starhub cos they offer better maximum speed compared to singnet. Hope singnet dont throttle. I did try BT on my uncle's SH only max 15kb which is strange cause the there were over 1000 seeders.

phuque99
16-09-2009, 05:45 PM
If wan to BT should use singnet la. for anything else when its not capping speed, use starhub!

later get odexed how ah? :D

liangtam
16-09-2009, 05:50 PM
Actually as a sysadmin, it is actually much more fun to frustrated your users, especially when they are doing something illegal. Since their activity will cause network congestion and all and they are law-breaking activity, frustrating users are much more fun to laugh off at all the kau peh kau bu in the forums compared to enforcing and blocking :s13:

sho ebil :s31:

suntag881
16-09-2009, 05:54 PM
If wan to BT should use singnet la.

same issue, same issue..
capping is very heavy for snbb also.
i use snbb, i know..

rolling_stones
16-09-2009, 06:11 PM
@albertlee ...

sorry for the late response... yes completely disconnected from the internet when using BT...not immediately but after a while ( 15 mins, 30 mins et al ..).

Hence no sites to open...cross mark on network connections...if no BT utilities used then its fine...hence i presume some serious throttling happening here...

for direct connection to modem ...will try it when i get back home tonite...not at my system now !!!

JT2008
16-09-2009, 06:40 PM
Using SH Express 8Mbit plan. After upgrading to uTorrent v1.8/v2.0, my average dl speed is somewhere around 200++ kb after 12 am. At one rare occasion, the dl speed can even touched 900++ kb.

rolling_stones
16-09-2009, 07:20 PM
" Originally Posted by phuque99
Actually as a sysadmin, it is actually much more fun to frustrated your users, especially when they are doing something illegal. Since their activity will cause network congestion and all and they are law-breaking activity, frustrating users are much more fun to laugh off at all the kau peh kau bu in the forums compared to enforcing and blocking "
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ha ha ...lets not get into the right and wrong thing here...tell me something honestly here...why do u need a 8 Mbps, 12 Mbps or for that matter 100 Mbps connections which these isp's are glad to sell us at a premium price every month ?
... don't tell me with such high speed u would like to chat in msn messenger with ur girlfriend or upload that cool pic u took last summer at phuket in flickr or check the latest tweet in tweeter...give me a break ! For that 512 kbps is good enough ..right ?
even u are a youtube junkie even then u would not need something more than 1 or 2 Mbps...
BT as a technology is not illegal, neither is all the stuff which is uploaded for sharing..take for e.g. all linux apps and open source s/wares or jamendo project music...hence even if i d/l those i will still be throttled as data capping or p2p throttling is automated at ISP end..The fact that ISP' advertise insane 'download ' speeed , charge us lots of money and bind us to 1-2 yrs contract and then throttles expecting user to surf msn, chat on yahoo messenger and check his hotmail email account is total BS !!!
I just hope i get some concrete solution here or similar experience is shared so that i can be tough on the SB tech help guy who reads out a script everyitme someone calls and keeps blaming user's router for all evil !!!

phuque99
16-09-2009, 07:28 PM
" Originally Posted by phuque99
Actually as a sysadmin, it is actually much more fun to frustrated your users, especially when they are doing something illegal. Since their activity will cause network congestion and all and they are law-breaking activity, frustrating users are much more fun to laugh off at all the kau peh kau bu in the forums compared to enforcing and blocking "
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ha ha ...lets not get into the right and wrong thing here...tell me something honestly here...why do u need a 8 Mbps, 12 Mbps or for that matter 100 Mbps connections which these isp's are glad to sell us at a premium price every month ?
... don't tell me with such high speed u would like to chat in msn messenger with ur girlfriend or upload that cool pic u took last summer at phuket in flickr or check the latest tweet in tweeter...give me a break ! For that 512 kbps is good enough ..right ?
even u are a youtube junkie even then u would not need something more than 1 or 2 Mbps...
BT as a technology is not illegal, neither is all the stuff which is uploaded for sharing..take for e.g. all linux apps and open source s/wares or jamendo project music...hence even if i d/l those i will still be throttled as data capping or p2p throttling is automated at ISP end..The fact that ISP' advertise insane 'download ' speeed , charge us lots of money and bind us to 1-2 yrs contract and then throttles expecting user to surf msn, chat on yahoo messenger and check his hotmail email account is total BS !!!
I just hope i get some concrete solution here or similar experience is shared so that i can be tough on the SB tech help guy who reads out a script everyitme someone calls and keeps blaming user's router for all evil !!!

Its called "marketing" for ISP to make money, and to make boys epeen feel sibei song when Mbps number is tua kee. I know as consumer you expect 8Mbps use until steam steam 24x7 sibeisong full speed but commercial lines are more than 20 times the price for that same speed. There must be a reason right? :s13:

reno77
16-09-2009, 08:29 PM
Dang today speed drop back to usual.. getting about 25kbs for BT now. Looks like got to leave the PC on thru the night as usual to complete dloading.

santaboi
17-09-2009, 12:36 AM
i gave up on bittorrent a long time ago my speed never exceeds 50kb/s.

Nichi
17-09-2009, 03:41 AM
@albertlee ...

sorry for the late response... yes completely disconnected from the internet when using BT...not immediately but after a while ( 15 mins, 30 mins et al ..).

Hence no sites to open...cross mark on network connections...if no BT utilities used then its fine...hence i presume some serious throttling happening here...

for direct connection to modem ...will try it when i get back home tonite...not at my system now !!!
yr case i tink its hardware/settings problem on yr side...

Nichi
17-09-2009, 03:46 AM
yr case i tink its hardware/settings problem on yr side...
dunno abt u all but i dont have much of a problem with my mol premium connection...

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z179/Nich84/Aug.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z179/Nich84/Year.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z179/Nich84/AugBT.jpg

liangtam
17-09-2009, 12:48 PM
wa, wat seafood & prawns u dl?

ohmygod1986
17-09-2009, 01:42 PM
dunno abt u all but i dont have much of a problem with my mol premium connection...

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z179/Nich84/Aug.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z179/Nich84/Year.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z179/Nich84/AugBT.jpg

My one more than u a bit :s13::s13::s13:

LemonT
17-09-2009, 02:06 PM
If you have read how cable modem infrastructure works, a good reason why you have good speed today and bad tomorrow can also be due to your bandwidth leeching neighbours not at home to hog the bandwidth. :D

liangtam
17-09-2009, 02:07 PM
b/w leeching neighbours ish will on 24/7 de.. :(

LemonT
17-09-2009, 02:09 PM

You better pray your SH subscribing neighbours dun on 24/7..:s13::D

liangtam
17-09-2009, 03:16 PM
You better pray your SH subscribing neighbours dun on 24/7..:s13::D

Moi onli use starfug surf velocity sites huans:crazy:

Nichi
17-09-2009, 06:06 PM
sorry :s13:

yusoffb01
17-09-2009, 06:34 PM
Im on singnet 3mbps (dont believe need higher speed and marketing BS!) and torrent download and upload at maximum possible speed on my plan! about 330kBps = 2640kbps for torrent alone. its not the fastest plan but enough for my needs!

Starhub markets high speed but do end users need it? Some website cap download speed and how many windows will you open and load simultaneously? not a lot. Even on high speed plan, youtube may download slow because of high server load when other people using at the same time.

In the end, what the point of high speed plans? Cheap ones will suffice

ohmygod1986
17-09-2009, 07:15 PM
Im on singnet 3mbps (dont believe need higher speed and marketing BS!) and torrent download and upload at maximum possible speed on my plan! about 330kBps = 2640kbps for torrent alone. its not the fastest plan but enough for my needs!

Starhub markets high speed but do end users need it? Some website cap download speed and how many windows will you open and load simultaneously? not a lot. Even on high speed plan, youtube may download slow because of high server load when other people using at the same time.

I guess u single user right ...

Some is heavy dler or course faster is better for them :s13:

phuque99
17-09-2009, 07:32 PM

8Mbps torrent speeds are usually 1000kbps leh :eek:

Nichi
17-09-2009, 07:38 PM
u mean 1000kBps

kevinlaikf
18-09-2009, 11:22 AM
I had already minimised my use of BT, it is now XunLei all the way for me.. many resource in chinese websites, even non-chinese stuffs.

yusoffb01
18-09-2009, 05:52 PM

of course lah 8mbps= 8000kbps = 1000kBps
makes sense..

lemontree5544
22-09-2009, 06:21 PM
speeds are so bad i want to cry.