PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of static IP?

ludacris10
17-09-2009, 12:59 AM
Whats the benefit of setting up your own static ip and dns ip ar? Coz last time i did my static ip just fo torrenting. A couple of days back i keep getting unstable connection hence decided to go dynamic for now.

liangtam
17-09-2009, 01:14 AM
Static or static DHCP?

ludacris10
17-09-2009, 03:30 AM
Hmm i'm guessing static DHCP? For consumers we dont really have static address for our line do we? Correct me if i'm wrong.

(Mine is where we input our own IPs at the router/modem config and TCP/IP properties).

aaur4man
17-09-2009, 08:59 AM
static DHCP.

hmm good thing is u forward the ports for that dhcp ip.

the router will usually reserve the same ip for the mac address.

ludacris10
17-09-2009, 09:32 AM
Hmm icic but what are the significant benefits?

phuque99
17-09-2009, 09:40 AM
Hmm icic but what are the significant benefits?

got answer below liao mah, if those not *significant* to you, then what kinda answer you like to hear, so maybe can share more?

Kiwi8
17-09-2009, 11:22 AM
Whats the benefit of setting up your own static ip and dns ip ar? Coz last time i did my static ip just fo torrenting. A couple of days back i keep getting unstable connection hence decided to go dynamic for now.

Are u sure u got unstable connection because of the usage of static IP and it went back to normal once u switched to dynamic IP? I think the problem is not with the static nor dynamic IP usage.

Anyway, as for the usage of static IPs, the main purpose for most consumers is to be able to use the static IP to configure their QOS, port forwarding, and file sharing links.

In any case, a better way to use static IPs is to use static DHCP. This means that u do not configure the IP addresses on the individual machine. Instead, set all of them to obtain IP address from the router. Then in your router settings, u set the IP address that u want to be associated by any machine (identified by the MAC address of the machine's LAN adapter).

liangtam
17-09-2009, 12:44 PM
TS didnt fell confused to my post. lol

Static or static DHCP aside, the allocation of IP in both ways will not affect your connection(unstability) in anyway.

krazyman
17-09-2009, 12:51 PM
unstability...lol

:D:s12::D

veri ebil

liangtam
17-09-2009, 12:57 PM
unstability...lol

:D:s12::D

veri ebil

huat ish our unkle koh driving at :s11: :s11:

Kiwi8
17-09-2009, 01:45 PM
:s11: :s11: :s11: :s11: :s11: :s11: :s11: :s11:

krazyman
17-09-2009, 04:57 PM
huat ish our unkle koh driving at :s11: :s11:

unkle wants to teach ang mo.....:D

Kiwi8
17-09-2009, 05:18 PM
Oh yah.

unstable

instability

:)

ludacris10
17-09-2009, 06:59 PM
Are u sure u got unstable connection because of the usage of static IP and it went back to normal once u switched to dynamic IP? I think the problem is not with the static nor dynamic IP usage.

Anyway, as for the usage of static IPs, the main purpose for most consumers is to be able to use the static IP to configure their QOS, port forwarding, and file sharing links.

In any case, a better way to use static IPs is to use static DHCP. This means that u do not configure the IP addresses on the individual machine. Instead, set all of them to obtain IP address from the router. Then in your router settings, u set the IP address that u want to be associated by any machine (identified by the MAC address of the machine's LAN adapter).

I was getting really bad connection (Like 10seconds worth of uptime) till i switched back to dynamic. Dont thoroughly understand how this problems surface haha. Maybe it was my modem/router?
Hmm so static IP is only good for those who need to port forward and share files (Ftp server?) and QoS. So when i set an static DHCP address i only need to set it at router settings? I dont need to configure the TCP/IP properties?

TS didnt fell confused to my post. lol

Static or static DHCP aside, the allocation of IP in both ways will not affect your connection(unstability) in anyway.

hmm really? Coz after i went from static back to dynamic i can suddenly connect to the internet with no frequent disconnects. The singtel guy told me it was a filter fault tho. I'm not rly an expert with IPs :o.