PDA

View Full Version : Low data transfer rate even wifi signal strength is excellent

ks2005
19-09-2009, 11:14 AM

I have upgraded to 7DBi Antenna from build in 3dbi antenna for Aztech HW-550 3g router, in the hope that to boost the data trasfer rate in my kitchen. But I still get low (500kbps, speedtest.net with singnet ADSL 1mbps) data transfer rate even the wifi signal strength is excellent (5 green bar) in the kitchen, some time it get disconnected. In the living room I can get 1000kbps and no disconnection issue.

Before upgrade, the 3 dbi also show signal strength is excellent and low data trasfer rate of 500kbps.

Any reason why this is the case ?
Any suggestion on how to fix this will be appreciated.

Thanks

aaur4man
19-09-2009, 03:36 PM
it means the problem lies with the client.

I believe this is N router, if your client is G it might be affected due to the number of concrete walls.

Just finished a big job trying to send signal one floor down in HDB flat. took 1hr + to get the damn sweet spot.

N wireless adapter gets a mere 27mbps while G-inbuilt on laptop gets dirt.

ks2005
19-09-2009, 04:27 PM
it means the problem lies with the client.

I believe this is N router, if your client is G it might be affected due to the number of concrete walls.

Just finished a big job trying to send signal one floor down in HDB flat. took 1hr + to get the damn sweet spot.

N wireless adapter gets a mere 27mbps while G-inbuilt on laptop gets dirt.

The laptop is b/g, on the Aztech HW550 end, I have set it manually to b. It does not help. I also manually set the HW550 end to g also does not help.

alex22
19-09-2009, 05:29 PM
what is the laptop chipset? any other device to test with, like a pda or mobile?

aaur4man
19-09-2009, 06:30 PM
what is the transmission rate when ur at the affected area. 54mbps or lower

ks2005
19-09-2009, 07:06 PM
what is the transmission rate when ur at the affected area. 54mbps or lower drop down to 11 or less some time at 5.5mbps. I have set the Aztech HW550 to 11mbps.

ks2005
19-09-2009, 07:10 PM
what is the laptop chipset? any other device to test with, like a pda or mobile?
no additional device to test :-( . laptop chipset is Super AG Atheros AR5006X

liangtam
19-09-2009, 07:29 PM
You should set it to the default instead. It is suppose to help you optimise connection rate unless you have dc issues.

kamsau
19-09-2009, 08:21 PM
try changing wireless signal channel.....check for any inteference signal that is similiar to your network

ks2005
20-09-2009, 12:29 AM

I have upgraded to 7DBi Antenna from build in 3dbi antenna for Aztech HW-550 3g router, in the hope that to boost the data trasfer rate in my kitchen. But I still get low (500kbps, speedtest.net with singnet ADSL 1mbps) data transfer rate even the wifi signal strength is excellent (5 green bar) in the kitchen, some time it get disconnected. In the living room I can get 1000kbps and no disconnection issue.

Before upgrade, the 3 dbi also show signal strength is excellent and low data trasfer rate of 500kbps.

Any reason why this is the case ?
Any suggestion on how to fix this will be appreciated.

Thanks
problem solved:
Bought an Aztech WL552USB wireless-N USB adapter (member $25 from Challenger). Plug into the notebook, the signal strength is excellent.
Transfer rate is 1000kbps which is as good as in the living room.
I believe the problem might be due to the wifi in my notebook.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

ks2005
20-09-2009, 12:57 PM
problem solved:
Bought an Aztech WL552USB wireless-N USB adapter (member $25 from Challenger). Plug into the notebook, the signal strength is excellent.
Transfer rate is 1000kbps which is as good as in the living room.
I believe the problem might be due to the wifi in my notebook.

Thanks for all the suggestions.
I have switched back to the original 3dbi antenna for the Aztech HW550 and using the it together with Aztech WL552USB wireless-N USB adapter. The performance of download rate is about the same as the 7DBi antenna, the signal strength is almost as good as 7DBi. Look like I don't really need the 7DBi antenna.

alex22
20-09-2009, 05:24 PM
but cant be that the atheros not compatible by so much, maybe need change some parameters in the device properties.

leave the +7dbi in use, dun waste.

kinda wierd ur problem

aaur4man
20-09-2009, 07:52 PM
thats why N is out ma

liangtam
20-09-2009, 08:17 PM
but cant be that the atheros not compatible by so much, maybe need change some parameters in the device properties.

leave the +7dbi in use, dun waste.

kinda wierd ur problem

Means either the hardware or the software/driver in the laptop has a problem lor.
7dBi is negligible.