View Full Version : Starhub Hubstation's internet access has horrible speed during peak hours
Reborn
19-09-2009, 11:00 PM
Hubstation's internet is really slow during peak hours. From other threads in this forum, some even encounter the same problems with Maxonline paid plans? Even basic surfing is slow.
Tried to access the same websites using Singnet (not my account) but has no slowdown.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/569421952.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
LocalGod
20-09-2009, 12:11 AM
free stuff cannot complain much
askh52
20-09-2009, 01:15 AM
hahah so funny... my hubstation is faster then my 2mbps surflite...
Reborn
20-09-2009, 02:43 AM
it's not exactly free. you either have to pay for a cabletv subscription or bought the hubstation during the days when it was available for purchase which happened to be quite expensive then. Some were even tied down to a 2 year cabletv contract. Those who bought it probably have the set nearly or already broken down due to the heat problem.
Anyway, the speed plunges to almost unusable speed during peak hours which I find not acceptable even though it's suppose to be so called "free" . I mean why have something "free" but not usable.
free stuff cannot complain much
Reborn
20-09-2009, 02:46 AM
you're probably one of the rare luckier ones. If you do a search in this forum, many are getting speeds of around 17kb or so. During peak hours of course.
hahah so funny... my hubstation is faster then my 2mbps surflite...
Reborn
20-09-2009, 02:59 AM
not exactly fast during off peak either.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/569600394.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
zanlar
20-09-2009, 03:52 AM
i also encounter the same problem, it used to be alright when i got it in april. think starhub capped it during peak hour to give more bandwidth to the paid broadband user. :(
yusoffb01
20-09-2009, 06:37 AM
tell us something we dont know
Its been like this for quite a while
Reborn
20-09-2009, 10:12 AM
i think even paid ones are encountering the same probs. Maybe at around 0.8 for some.
speed for now quite good. Will be horrible later in tne evening :)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/569815701.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i also encounter the same problem, it used to be alright when i got it in april. think starhub capped it during peak hour to give more bandwidth to the paid broadband user. :(
ah_cheng1882
20-09-2009, 10:24 AM
its a well-known issue with Starhub. Happen to know some staff working there...they will acknowledge the problem...but the official reply is that their pipes are big enough
The reality from the ground is that their official stand is BS.
xKazeolus
20-09-2009, 11:48 AM
hey guys, izzit me or izzit starhub's fault again. i just keep on having the feeling my internet slowed down again and my msn keep on sign in and out! zzzzzzz....
Reborn
20-09-2009, 10:30 PM
surfing very slow now
http://www.speedtest.net/result/570135865.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
megaweb
20-09-2009, 10:41 PM
My hubstation speed
http://www.speedtest.net/result/570142122.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
surfing is still ok for me :)
Asylia
20-09-2009, 10:57 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/570137327.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Reborn
21-09-2009, 10:41 PM
still very slow. even to local websites and servers. It wasn't this bad a few month ago. Starhub really throttling bandwidth?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/570901001.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MarineX
22-09-2009, 09:54 AM
still very slow. even to local websites and servers. It wasn't this bad a few month ago. Starhub really throttling bandwidth?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/570901001.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
yup faster change.
aaronlow
22-09-2009, 11:05 AM
Beggars Can't Be Chooser
niefeng87
22-09-2009, 10:32 PM
Eh... I'm using HubStation, but I am also paying for my internet fees. And I'm still lagging during peak hours? So what's the problem here now? lol -.-
chesterqw
23-09-2009, 12:52 AM
very slow now for me :/
Goblin85
23-09-2009, 10:42 AM
anyone experience the lag? my plan is 8Mbps, but now i only got..
http://www.speedtest.net/result/572354157.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MarineX
23-09-2009, 10:54 AM
ya i expect 40mbps for my MaxOnline Premium
http://www.speedtest.net/result/572362714.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/572363671.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/572363989.png
MarineX
23-09-2009, 11:05 AM
pls stop posting fake test results
look at your lag, obviously you unplugged your modem during the test
even on a 56k modem you won't get a 3 second lag
wah! best. lol
Reborn
24-09-2009, 11:03 PM
the speed I get today
http://www.speedtest.net/result/573683660.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Reborn
24-09-2009, 11:04 PM
I know it can get bad. But really can get this bad? LOL :)
Reborn
26-09-2009, 08:49 PM
suprisingly quite good now.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/575349489.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
askh52
26-09-2009, 09:02 PM
you're probably one of the rare luckier ones. If you do a search in this forum, many are getting speeds of around 17kb or so. During peak hours of course.
si bei funny... hubstation no matter wat time always full speed ( i use to torrent somemore lor)
my surflite can't get full speed.. (max 170KB) and upload worst....
dunno.. my hubstation is new? (within half year)... but I happy with hubstation, dulan with maxonline :s16:
Reborn
26-09-2009, 09:33 PM
maybe your area not so many people so can get the max of around 125kb for your hubstation? Anyway, the speed drop again. luckily i can still borrow a singnet mobile bb as a backup.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/575378951.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
si bei funny... hubstation no matter wat time always full speed ( i use to torrent somemore lor)
my surflite can't get full speed.. (max 170KB) and upload worst....
dunno.. my hubstation is new? (within half year)... but I happy with hubstation, dulan with maxonline :s16:
MarineX
26-09-2009, 11:25 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/575459788.png
MOL Premium - damn starhub. reduced my bandwidth to half.
MarineX
26-09-2009, 11:34 PM
o forget to add on.. previously i am always getting 40Mb/s instead. :)
wil1986
27-09-2009, 12:47 PM
i guess the only soln for u guys with slow hub speeds, is to jump ship like me, 2yrs ago.
cannot stand starhub at peak hours, damn ridiculous speeds.
as fast as my 56k modem man.
orbvius
27-09-2009, 03:25 PM
o forget to add on.. previously i am always getting 40Mb/s instead. :)
MaxOnline Premium offers you high speed Internet broadband with download speeds of up to 12Mbps and upload speeds of up to 1.2Mbps
How come your download so fast? Using the 100mb modem?
MarineX
27-09-2009, 05:04 PM
MaxOnline Premium offers you high speed Internet broadband with download speeds of up to 12Mbps and upload speeds of up to 1.2Mbps
How come your download so fast? Using the 100mb modem?
Don't ask me. Ask Starhub. LoL.
and it isn't fast... it used to be faster :)
that is why i never complained about my speed.. is always so fast. what is there to complain? LoL. I migrated from SNBB to MaxOnline.
Due to the constant dc issue that i am facing with them (for months w/o a proper solution from them - even when I've engaged them so many times.)
and the never knowing when the connection will be down. And the stupid method of logging into it. MOL never requires you to login as its done automatically by the MAC address of the modem...
so far my MOL never once DC before by its own (the only time it dc was when i switched it off)... ever since I've subscribed to it. For like erm.. 3-4 years?
askh52
28-09-2009, 09:35 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/576929050.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i suppose this is peak hours now... should be ok
rogerfederer
28-09-2009, 10:12 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/576955143.png
Mine....quite okay cos dling at the same time and speed is not too affected.
MarineX
28-09-2009, 10:31 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/576929050.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i suppose this is peak hours now... should be ok
http://www.speedtest.net/result/576955143.png
Mine....quite okay cos dling at the same time and speed is not too affected.
so slow!!!!! change! :)
askh52
28-09-2009, 11:27 PM
so slow!!!!! change! :)
wat talking u? hubstation leh.. 1mbps onli what u expect?
MarineX
29-09-2009, 03:17 AM
wat talking u? hubstation leh.. 1mbps onli what u expect?
more of course!
justforspree
29-09-2009, 03:29 AM
My maxonline is ok la. bearable lor. at least doesnt load vr slowly la.
but sometimes really dulan. one stupid youtube vid takes forever to load!!!
there was a period of time when it took forever to load.
i sian liao la. close one eye. everytime complain, they not sian i also sian.
mobile complain, mol also complain.
MarineX
29-09-2009, 03:38 AM
My maxonline is ok la. bearable lor. at least doesnt load vr slowly la.
but sometimes really dulan. one stupid youtube vid takes forever to load!!!
there was a period of time when it took forever to load.
i sian liao la. close one eye. everytime complain, they not sian i also sian.
mobile complain, mol also complain.
cause you pay for it. thus the complain.
we complain because we want them to improve. Without complaints they will never improve.
thus we complain. hahas.
askh52
29-09-2009, 01:44 PM
do you notice that some youtube videos are slow while others are super fast?
i can load 1 video that crawls but when i open another, it plays instantly and even finishes before the 1st video is 1/4th done
anybody else notice this?
no.. open 10+ windows all same slow speed =:p
watch utube @ 2am lor.. quite fast..
Reborn
03-10-2009, 10:39 PM
trying a new speedtest webbie
http://www.qostest.com/img-summary.php?id=1525 (http://www.qostest.com/viewresult.php?id=1525)
santaboi
03-10-2009, 11:26 PM
i usually watch after work around 8pm - 10pm
when is the peak period?
weekdays
peak period is from 3pm to 3am
non peak from 3am to 3pm.
weekend
peak period 12 noon to 3am.
u can try downloading stuffs from megaupload at 10am and again at 10pm u will see a difference in the download speed
Tracing route to megaupload.com [69.5.88.229]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 29 ms 12 ms 13 ms cm1.kappa196.maxonline.com.sg [58.182.196.1]
2 17 ms 16 ms 12 ms 172.20.52.1
3 20 ms 23 ms 22 ms 172.26.52.1
4 16 ms 15 ms 16 ms 172.20.7.26
5 13 ms 20 ms 29 ms 172.20.7.50
6 667 ms 52 ms 30 ms 203.117.34.101
7 41 ms 35 ms 17 ms 203.117.34.6
8 646 ms 228 ms 229 ms paix-sj.1-2.r1.sj.hwng.net [198.32.176.76]
9 316 ms 377 ms 316 ms 1-1.r2.dc.hwng.net [209.197.1.150]
10 1255 ms 481 ms 447 ms carpathia-1.dc.hwng.net [209.197.1.114]
11 355 ms 311 ms 291 ms hosted.by.cirn.net [69.5.88.229]
Trace complete.
win_man
23-10-2009, 09:03 PM
i wanted to try the hubstation internet.. but it needs a username and password via Connexon. Anyone know wat is this?
padre
23-10-2009, 10:18 PM
It supposed to 1mbps?
ussr_1991
23-10-2009, 11:13 PM
It supposed to 1mbps?
If I nvr remember wrongly, if u just get pure CableTV with Hubstation, they give u MOL free as well, but 1Mbps only la. (If 2 Mbps, then the SurfLite can dulan liao who pays $29 + every month)
What is the cost 4 this then nt sure.
greentea2005
03-11-2009, 03:54 PM
I got 2 Hubstations at home. One is facing slow response too. I tried pinging the gateway and realised high ping packet lost. It's not happening in the past. Logged case with Starhub but they said signal is fine. Sigh. Only can use the other unit one nowadays.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.