View Full Version : Is the speed normal?
halocast
21-09-2009, 06:34 PM
Hi need some help!
i am on
- gigabit onboard mobo
- Dlink 655 router
- DNS 323
- using cat 5e cables
i tried transfering a 5gb file and i'm getting like 11mb/s speed..
is that normal?
and one more thing.. is that in the local area connection under windows 7 .. i am seeing a 100mbps connection instead of 1gb? Is it suppose to be like that?
:( thanks in advance
liangtam
21-09-2009, 06:42 PM
11mb or mB/s?
Means ur 'gb' nic is not a true gigabit nic or has bad drivers lor
Pathfinder
21-09-2009, 06:42 PM
11mb/s is normal...
Hi need some help!
i am on
- gigabit onboard mobo
- Dlink 655 router
- DNS 323
- using cat 5e cables
i tried transfering a 5gb file and i'm getting like 11mb/s speed..
is that normal?
and one more thing.. is that in the local area connection under windows 7 .. i am seeing a 100mbps connection instead of 1gb? Is it suppose to be like that?
:( thanks in advance
transferred what to where?
if say from pc to external hdd (via NAS/NAS itself)...may want to check if got USB1 or USB2 issue. a simple experiment is take out an external hdd you know for sure is usb2 and direct connect to your pc USB2 port and then copy the same file over. If much faster then possible there is a bottleneck in the network.
halocast
21-09-2009, 07:08 PM
transferred what to where?
if say from pc to external hdd (via NAS/NAS itself)...may want to check if got USB1 or USB2 issue. a simple experiment is take out an external hdd you know for sure is usb2 and direct connect to your pc USB2 port and then copy the same file over. If much faster then possible there is a bottleneck in the network.
transfer from pc to nas
:(
halocast
21-09-2009, 07:09 PM
11mb or mB/s?
Means ur 'gb' nic is not a true gigabit nic or has bad drivers lor
11MB/ second according to windows 7 :(
install latest driver for my
Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
transfer from pc to nas
:(
have try from pc to external hdd?
halocast
21-09-2009, 07:13 PM
have try from pc to external hdd?
u mean connect straight PC to the NAS ah? skip the router? is that possible? cause my nas only got gbit connector.. no usb one :s11:
never try before
there is no usb involved in this
u mean connect straight PC to the NAS ah? skip the router? is that possible? cause my nas only got gbit connector.. no usb one :s11:
never try before
there is no usb involved in this
no no no....what i mean is if you have another external hdd, can connect to the pc and test if got transfer speed difference.
Thumbdrives would not be fair as they are flash based.
liangtam
21-09-2009, 07:21 PM
11MB/ second according to windows 7 :(
install latest driver for my
Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
11x8=88Mbps.
Therefore for a FE connection, the rate is ok
The problems come in if you want try to achieve better rate, because your GB nic is not sync at faster rates.
halocast
21-09-2009, 07:27 PM
no no no....what i mean is if you have another external hdd, can connect to the pc and test if got transfer speed difference.
Thumbdrives would not be fair as they are flash based.
external hdd?
but usb 2 and gigabit transfer is diff what..no? u want me to test what? hdd issue? :s11:
halocast
21-09-2009, 07:30 PM
11x8=88Mbps.
Therefore for a FE connection, the rate is ok
The problems come in if you want try to achieve better rate, because your GB nic is not sync at faster rates.
what's a "FE connection"?
the issue is here.. am i realli on a GIGABIT network?
i tot a simple 10/100 network can achieve my speed le.. if so.. why my network so slow? :(
liangtam
21-09-2009, 07:33 PM
what's a "FE connection"?
the issue is here.. am i realli on a GIGABIT network?
i tot a simple 10/100 network can achieve my speed le.. if so.. why my network so slow? :(
Fast Ethernet(100Mbps)
The DNS-323 and SATA hdd performance is not slower than a FE leh...
As such, the bottleneck is hence at ur FE connection to the router
halocast
21-09-2009, 07:44 PM
Fast Ethernet(100Mbps)
The DNS-323 and SATA hdd performance is not slower than a FE leh...
As such, the bottleneck is hence at ur FE connection to the router
bottleneck at my FE connection?
but i'm not on fast ethernet?
i'm on gigabit ethernet..
my network is fully switch to it..:s11:
my mobo uses this
•Marvell 88E8053 PCIE Gigabit LAN controller
•Fully compliant to IEEE 802.3 (10BASE-T), 802.3u (100BASE-TX) and 802.3ab (1000BASE-T) standards
in which i connect it to my DIR-655 which is gbit lan... using cat5e cable... which is connect to my dns 323 which also is gbit lan
so what's the bottleneck? any ideas?
realli thanks for yr help! appreciate it!
liangtam
21-09-2009, 07:48 PM
Go look at your Local area connection again and tell me what is the sync rate.
my mobo uses this
•Marvell 88E8053 PCIE Gigabit LAN controller
•Fully compliant to IEEE 802.3 (10BASE-T), 802.3u (100BASE-TX) and 802.3ab (1000BASE-T) standards
liangtam already explained the whole thing.
To keep things as simple as possible, somewhere in your network got problem. he highlighted possible is connection from pc to router is actually 10/100 rather then 10/100/1000.
You are also using windows 7 (not final version i take it) which i dont know if the gigabit lan drivers can work. In which case the drivers use back the generic 10/100 drivers in the OS.
what i am asking to check is if the transfer speed using usb2 is faster then sending thru NAS.
For benefit of XP users, can go to Task Manager click on Networking and at the base will show the connection and max Link speed.
halocast
21-09-2009, 08:00 PM
Go look at your Local area connection again and tell me what is the sync rate.
how to see my sync rate? :s11::o
halocast
21-09-2009, 08:05 PM
liangtam already explained the whole thing.
To keep things as simple as possible, somewhere in your network got problem. he highlighted possible is connection from pc to router is actually 10/100 rather then 10/100/1000.
You are also using windows 7 (not final version i take it) which i dont know if the gigabit lan drivers can work. In which case the drivers use back the generic 10/100 drivers in the OS.
what i am asking to check is if the transfer speed using usb2 is faster then sending thru NAS.
For benefit of XP users, can go to Task Manager click on Networking and at the base will show the connection and max Link speed.
i using windows 7 drivers..
and yes... that;s the problem realli..
why issit working at 100 then 1000...
i'm not sending thru the NAS.. i am sending to it! :(
alvin316
21-09-2009, 08:12 PM
Have you check whether your Marvell 88E8053 PCIE Gigabit LAN controller is under auto-negotiation / 1000 mbps full duplex under speed & duplex?
halocast
21-09-2009, 08:16 PM
Have you check whether your Marvell 88E8053 PCIE Gigabit LAN controller is under auto-negotiation / 1000 mbps full duplex under speed & duplex?
its set to auto negotiate.. however if i change too 1000mbps full duplex .. it doesn't connect. :(
was wondering if could be wire issues? like.. say.. the ends dun match?
alvin316
21-09-2009, 09:32 PM
Try connecting the nas to the Marvell 88E8053 PCIE Gigabit LAN controller directly see whether it detects 100mbps or 1gbps?
halocast
21-09-2009, 10:00 PM
It does not even detect it..cannot connect.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.