View Full Version : Help me fine tune utorrent
suntag881
22-09-2009, 10:23 AM
Please help me fine tune utorrent for better download speed:
Global max number of connections: 500
Max Number of connected peers: 120
Number of Upload slots: 25
(SNBB 8mb)
Which figures should be adjusted for better DL speed?
Tkx.
ludacris10
22-09-2009, 10:38 AM
www.portforward.com
suntag881
22-09-2009, 10:59 AM
www.portforward.com
portforward le, no problem, there's a green tick below utorrent.
MarineX
22-09-2009, 11:22 AM
Please help me fine tune utorrent for better download speed:
Global max number of connections: 500
Max Number of connected peers: 120
Number of Upload slots: 25
(SNBB 8mb)
Which figures should be adjusted for better DL speed?
Tkx.
Global max number of connections: 5000
Max Number of connected peers: 500
Number of Upload slots: 4
mine. hahas. can your 2WIRE take that heat or not? hahas.
suntag881
22-09-2009, 11:42 AM
my 2wire will D.I.E.... :s13:
MarineX
22-09-2009, 11:52 AM
my 2wire will D.I.E.... :s13:
all along (based on what people mentioned here) i thought SNBB users requires almost near to none configurations for Torrents. so yahs...
what's wrong with it now? hahas.
albertlee
22-09-2009, 11:54 AM
Use the latest stable release (ie. 1.8.4)
Limit the max number of global connections
Limit the max number of connected peers
Limit the upload slot
Remove non-responding tracker from torrent
Turn on PE
Turn on uTP function (use value 15 or 255)
phuque99
22-09-2009, 01:38 PM
kiam siap seeders, 5 million connection also useless, kill your router nia. generous torrent seeder, 100 max global connection enuf liao.
hmyoth
22-09-2009, 06:22 PM
Bitcomet give me better download speed then utorrent.
I also dont know why. Setting same...portforwarding done for both.
shadowandy
22-09-2009, 09:09 PM
My transmissionbt and utorrent settings
max global connections: 96
max upload slots per torrent: 8
peer limit per torrent: 32
aaur4man
22-09-2009, 09:12 PM
2wire ah
Global max number of connections: 20
Max Number of connected peers: 10
Number of Upload slots: 5
i think that was the last straw before i stopped torrenting on it.
last i tried, 100 also give me problems.
liangtam
22-09-2009, 09:36 PM
u dun nid so much socket to bt at full rate with the 2wire leh...
suntag881
23-09-2009, 09:05 AM
I notice you guys use very low global max leh.
Max glob include up and down connections. If peers n seedrs give very low upload speed, if i put glob max like 100, then my download will also be very slow right?
phuque99
23-09-2009, 09:11 AM
I notice you guys use very low global max leh.
Max glob include up and down connections. If peers n seedrs give very low upload speed, if i put glob max like 100, then my download will also be very slow right?
as you have just said it, slow upload is due to kiam siap seeders, not max connection.
suntag881
23-09-2009, 09:15 AM
as you have just said it, slow upload is due to kiam siap seeders, not max connection.
But if they kiam siap, i want to connect many kiam siap seeders. :)
guykamen
23-09-2009, 10:01 AM
How to fine-tune uTorrent:
Step 1: enter your key words into the search box of your web browser, followed by the word "rapidshare", "megaupload" or "mediafire".
Step 2: you will find tons of links. Try out every one of them to see if the links work.
Step 3: download to your heart's content.
phuque99
23-09-2009, 01:38 PM
But if they kiam siap, i want to connect many kiam siap seeders. :)
kiam siap not only with bandwidth leh, upload slot also leh
Mclairs83
23-09-2009, 01:59 PM
How to fine-tune uTorrent:
Step 1: enter your key words into the search box of your web browser, followed by the word "rapidshare", "megaupload" or "mediafire".
Step 2: you will find tons of links. Try out every one of them to see if the links work.
Step 3: download to your heart's content.
correct, some things are not available on torrents.
usually i will resort to megaupload & mediafire
liangtam
23-09-2009, 02:56 PM
if the tracker returns a list of poor uploader, close the client and restart it
winterrealm
24-09-2009, 12:03 AM
fierce but selfish :D.
router can take it, for my lappy wont able to. lappy slow bcoz need to read&write on the same time.
eat way too many resources especially u try dl .mkv movie when ppl split into many files than one whole movie for u to dl :s22:
MarineX
24-09-2009, 12:08 AM
fierce.
router can take it, for my lappy wont able to. lappy slow bcoz need to read&write on the same time.
eat way too many resources especially u try dl .mkv movie when ppl split into many files than one whole movie for u to dl :s22:
torrent got spilt one ar? i am not aware. So far no issue.. be it .mkv/.iso/.abc/ or anything.
maybe cause my lappy quite powerful ba. hahahahas jk.
winterrealm
24-09-2009, 12:17 AM
torrent got spilt one ar? i am not aware. So far no issue.. be it .mkv/.iso/.abc/ or anything.
maybe cause my lappy quite powerful ba. hahahahas jk.
eh. take alook at this
http://www.mininova.org/det/2884322
this movie is under .mkv when u join hdc-gladiator-1080.r00 to .r85 , but they split becoz there's pros and cons.
pros, if ONE sector corrupted during transferring(dl/ul).. u dont have to re-dl the whole movie but one of the sector.
cons, if everyone seed the movie.. u r not really concentrating on the particular file becoz its split into many sector, hence.. eat up ur memory becoz ur cpu r writing and reading on the same time when transferring.
if u dont believe u can, (vista) alt-ctrl-del, performance, resource monitor and take alook at the disc. writing and reading on the file.
probably my lappy slow tats why i complain :D
MarineX
24-09-2009, 12:22 AM
eh. take alook at this
http://www.mininova.org/det/2884322
this movie is under .mkv when u join hdc-gladiator-1080.r00 to .r85 , but they split becoz there's pros and cons.
pros, if ONE sector corrupted during transferring(dl/ul).. u dont have to re-dl the whole movie but one of the sector.
cons, if everyone seed the movie.. u r not really concentrating on the particular file becoz its split into many sector, hence.. eat up ur memory becoz ur cpu r writing and reading on the same time when transferring.
if u dont believe u can, (vista) alt-ctrl-del, performance, resource monitor and take alook at the disc. writing and reading.
probably my lappy slow tats why i complain :D
sorry its my mistake. i am aware there is spilt files in a single torrent.. but i seldom choose those that have such files.
even if i do choose it.. there isn't really any issue. O and i've never come across torrent with bad sector files. So far thou.
you don't have to open up resource monitor to look at the disc r/w. If your PC is sluggish automatically you will know it. hahas.
Perhaps im not well-experienced like you in this field. pardon me :)
winterrealm
24-09-2009, 12:24 AM
sorry its my mistake. i am aware there is spilt files in a single torrent.. but i seldom choose those that have such files.
even i choose it.. there isn't really any issue.
:eek: l33t laptop. hardly lag haha
hmm i prefer to dl those big one leh.. cos HD lei :s22:.
MarineX
24-09-2009, 12:26 AM
:eek: l33t laptop. hardly lag haha
hmm i prefer to dl those big one leh.. cos HD lei :s22:.
for me.. D_dr_p is fine. Lol
winterrealm
24-09-2009, 12:28 AM
even if i do choose it.. there isn't really any issue. O and i've never come across torrent with bad sector files. So far thou.
you don't have to open up resource monitor to look at the disc r/w. If your PC is sluggish automatically you will know it. hahas.
Perhaps im not well-experienced like you in this field. pardon me :)
actually i also never realize so slow, i rmb tat i dl on desktop no prob becoz fast cpu ma..
then when i do it on lappy, i keep seeing tat the lappy cpu light keep blinking.. then i go take alook lo.
MarineX
24-09-2009, 12:29 AM
actually i also never realize so slow, i rmb tat i dl on desktop no prob becoz fast cpu ma..
then when i do it on lappy, i keep seeing tat the lappy cpu light keep blinking.. then i go take alook lo.
kinda... true. hahahas.
time to change... during Sitex.!!!!!! hahas
winterrealm
24-09-2009, 12:33 AM
for me.. D_dr_p is fine. Lol
eh sry bro. wats D_dr_p haha.
anyway im using bitcomet, i think m1 bb trying to save bandwidth. last time i use snbb, cant recall 3mbps or abit more which is few years back, comparing with m1 10mbps.. snbb better in bt-ing
kinda... true. hahahas.
time to change... during Sitex.!!!!!! hahas
LOL Poison la!!! haha maybe next year, ANGBAO coming! LMAO :o
liangtam
24-09-2009, 12:33 AM
The plausible reason why its broken up is because the main seed got his file from RS/MU and the likes
Bittorrent itself breaks up your big files into parts and hashes it, hence its not possible for the file to corrupt at all, it will redownload until it is right. The use of splitting before sharing is not necessary
winterrealm
24-09-2009, 12:36 AM
The plausible reason why its broken up is because the main seed got his file from RS/MU and the likes
Bittorrent itself breaks up your file parts and hashes it, hence its not possible for the file to corrupt at all, it will redownload until it is right.
oooh.
:o
i used to bt some games, which is like whole file not break into sectors. then i run the file after dl, my vulgar all come out from my mouth... dl so long then kena corrupted
MarineX
24-09-2009, 12:37 AM
Bittorrent itself breaks up your big files into parts and hashes it, hence its not possible for the file to corrupt at all, it will redownload until it is right. The use of splitting before sharing is not necessary
i am aware of this.. but lately i have been getting into too many "fights" so trying to yahs u know? lol..
stay out of the fire. lol.
agreeing to what people experience is the better bet. lol.
tennisgal
18-11-2009, 02:32 AM
Can anyone help to fine tune my utorrent?
Using 2wire (8mb) plan and currently only get speed max of 50kb/s
Even if there are thousands of seeds, only can connect to like 30 and will receive from not more than 10 peers.
max upload rate is 15kb/s
gloabl max connections is 888
Max no of connected peers is 288
number of upload slots is 10
Have enabled DHT network, peer exchange, ask tracker for scrape information and enabled local peer discovery. Protocol encryption also enabled.
Any advice will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.