PDA

View Full Version : Those who are signing up Mio Voice, Beware of the Bottomless pit!

takumi78
22-09-2009, 11:17 AM
This is my piece of advice for those who are thinking of getting the Mio voice itself or Mio plan that has bundled with mio voice. 2 years ago , when I signed up Mio plan, Singtel told me the installation charges for installing this digital voice was waived off. Now , when my contract expired , I did not want the mio voice anymore. I had to pay extra $80 so tat they can convert back my homeline to analogue signal (normal fixed line). My family and I have been loyal singtel customers a very long time.I am still using the same telco company , yet they still want to charge me for this ? :frus:

It makes me feel mad and their customer service are like ai lai mai tai attitude. So I decided to switch over to starhub since they gave their cabletv subscribers free digital voice. I wanted to retain my original number and I called up Singtel to request for the porting the number over to starhub. Then they told me ,in order to port over the number, I still had to pay the bloody $80 to convert the signal to analogue first.:s27: That means no matter what, I still had to pay them if I want to retain my original number by continuing their "services" or switching over to starhub.

From their mio website, they only give u information abt converting to mio voice but never told u the consequences of unreversing it!!!

liangtam
22-09-2009, 12:06 PM
Get starhub to arrange porting instead

takumi78
22-09-2009, 12:24 PM
Get starhub to arrange porting instead

Yup, I intend to. After calculations, it is still worthy to switch over to starhub.

takumi78
22-09-2009, 12:58 PM
Now ST told me converting to analogue is $50 , as if this will going to change my mind jumping ship :s8:

liangtam
22-09-2009, 02:00 PM
Porting is supposed to be $0

takumi78
22-09-2009, 02:03 PM
Porting is supposed to be $0

This is not the porting issue. In order to port the number from ST to star hub, the line has to be an analogue line , cost goes to converting my mio voice to analogue line.

hmyoth
22-09-2009, 03:02 PM
I did calll up and ask abt the mio voice plan.
When I asked him if i subscribe to mio plan and after contract over...
I dont want...any charges.??? He told me $80 to convert the line back to analog.
Straightaway I said thks you and put down the phone.

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:14 PM
I did calll up and ask abt the mio voice plan.
When I asked him if i subscribe to mio plan and after contract over...
I dont want...any charges.??? He told me $80 to convert the line back to analog.
Straightaway I said thks you and put down the phone.

Haha, tats why I say they will never put up any info abt changing the line back to analog. :s13:

ngbc
22-09-2009, 03:17 PM
TS, thanks for alerting !!! didn't know about this hidden cost, no where in the T&C too... Did you brought this up to IDA ?

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:22 PM
TS, thanks for alerting !!! didn't know about this hidden cost, no where in the T&C too... Did you brought this up to IDA ?

To IDA ? I think if one person complain , no use one. I think most pple subscribe to mio voice juz stick to it and they din realize this lor. At least , now ST told me the cost is $50 instead of $80 lor.

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:28 PM
ST terms n conditions

7. Removal or Relocation

7.1 The Customer shall procure that any Line and Modem installed by SingTel at the Stipulated Premises is not removed or relocated (whether within or outside the Stipulated Premises) without SingTel's prior written consent.

7.2 SingTel shall not be obliged to remove and reinstall the Line and Modem to any other premises unless it has agreed to do so and the Customer has agreed to pay such charges as may be imposed by SingTel.

7.3 The Customer shall indemnify SingTel against all costs and expenses incurred in removing and/or relocating the Installation of the Line, Modem or any cable or posts used for the Service in the event any owner or occupier of any property through, under, over across, in or upon which such Line, Modem or cable or posts are placed, requests such removal or relocation.

8 Suspension and Termination

8.1 SingTel shall be entitled to terminate the Service at any time if:

the Stipulated Premises is declared to be unsafe by the relevant governmental authority; or in the opinion of SingTel, the Customer intends to cease or has ceased using or occupying the Stipulated Premises.

8.2 If SingTel shall at any time be unable to obtain or maintain any license, permission, or easement necessary for the provision or maintenance of the Service, SingTel may, by notice in writing to the Customer, terminate the Service as from the date of such notice.

8.3 Either SingTel or the Customer may terminate the Service at any time by giving to the other not less than thirty (30) days' prior written notice of such intention to terminate.

ngbc
22-09-2009, 03:30 PM
To IDA ? I think if one person complain , no use one. I think most pple subscribe to mio voice juz stick to it and they din realize this lor. At least , now ST told me the cost is $50 instead of $80 lor.

No harm complaining to IDA, just shoot an email... everybody think likewise: no point alerting IDA, then this type of hidden cost will keep coming... ehn when someone post in ST forum, IDA will say nobody complain leh ...

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:30 PM
ST's FAQ for mio voice

Charges
Is there any additional charges if I retain my current number as SingTel Fixed Line?

No. There are no additional charges if you port your current number to mio Voice.
Yah, but no mention of if u want to port back from mio voice to homeline.:s8:

Why are the charges different for SingTel Fixed Line & mio Voice?

The charges are different as they are two different services. mio Voice is a digital voice service which works via mio Box over broadband and offers you unlimited local calls at a fixed monthly subscription, whereas the SingTel Fixed Line is a traditional analogue voice service that works independently without the need of any modems or power supply.

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:34 PM
No harm complaining to IDA, just shoot an email... everybody think likewise: no point alerting IDA, then this type of hidden cost will keep coming... ehn when someone post in ST forum, IDA will say nobody complain leh ...

Bro, I never encounter such thing b4 .Tats why I am complaining in this forum and alerting fellow members for this. How do u go abt doing this ? IDA email addressing to who and what's the issue ? I tot should complain to CASE instead bcos ST did not disclose this hidden cost to consumer when they are signing the contract.

Dr_ARCHer
22-09-2009, 03:36 PM
I think this issue deserves a letter to the Forum page.

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Pls enlighten me on this too. Seriously I am still a newbie to this forum. But I believe this forum has the power to create awareness for end-users abt the rights they deserve.

I am really very angry and mad abt how ST is handling this matter. Despite I have mentioned to them I want to stay put in their company yet with their policies and customer services , they have "push" me away to another telco company. Farewell, ST.

ngbc
22-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Haha, business in SG always have such unscrupulous practise of 'broad' or unspecific T&C touching on general terms like 'cost' without the exact charges... even though LL, still good to log your displeasure... That's meant resales flat buyer got another thing to check men!

czheyuan
22-09-2009, 03:43 PM
Singtel is "renowned" for having many mysteriously hidden T&Cs here and there, everywhere. Lols..

Probably can get CASE to help you in this matter?

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:44 PM
Haha, business in SG always have such unscrupulous practise of 'broad' or unspecific T&C touching on general terms like 'cost' without the exact charges... even though LL, still good to log your displeasure... That's meant resales flat buyer got another thing to check men!

huh ? wat has resale flat buyer got to do with this ? Oic , u mean if the previous owner has mio voice and the resale owner wants it analog, who's gonna pay for this ? Izzit ?:s11:

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:48 PM
Singtel is "renowned" for having many mysteriously hidden T&Cs here and there, everywhere. Lols..

Probably can get CASE to help you in this matter?

Take note of the hint ah !

Who is the chairman of CASE now ??? And which party is he in now ?
Who is the CEO of ST ?
What is the opposite of Men in Black ?

Do u think I got a chance in this raising to CASE ? =:p

ngbc
22-09-2009, 03:49 PM
huh ? wat has resale flat buyer got to do with this ? Oic , u mean if the previous owner has mio voice and the resale owner wants it analog, who's gonna pay for this ? Izzit ?:s11:

ya. that's what I meant.

liangtam
22-09-2009, 03:49 PM

Who is the CEO of ST ?

That aside, even sim lim retailers case is like no case also mah

ngbc
22-09-2009, 03:51 PM

Who is the CEO of ST ?

CASE will asked you to pay $25 to be their member first before they will act on your behalf ... don't know got other charge or not...

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:51 PM
ya. that's what I meant.

Then tat's a grey area. But I dun think resale buyers look at this forum. Should I oso post this at the HDB website ? =:p

liangtam
22-09-2009, 03:52 PM

ya. that's what I meant.

Phone service are of the respective subscribers mah, when you relocate, you will either carry with you, or terminate the number. Unless there is a transfer of ownership lor, but this happens when both buyer and seller knows each other.

As in, you wan an unknown user to use ur previous number immediately where ur friends and relative knew of for a long time?

This will not be a concern in the first place. Unless you are talking about the cost of relocation and transfer of ownership.

ngbc
22-09-2009, 03:55 PM
Then tat's a grey area. But I dun think resale buyers look at this forum. Should I oso post this at the HDB website ? =:p
If you're so pissed, then go ahead ;) Anyway, even though read it, it may not stick into people's mind until it happened to themselve...

takumi78
22-09-2009, 03:57 PM
If you're so pissed, then go ahead ;) Anyway, even though read it, it may not stick into people's mind until it happened to them...

U might as well ask me to go spam all the forums :s13:

ngbc
22-09-2009, 04:01 PM
U might as well ask me to go spam all the forums :s13:
Hahaha.... that's NOT my intention OK :D

ngbc
22-09-2009, 04:09 PM
Phone service are of the respective subscribers mah, when you relocate, you will either carry with you, or terminate the number. Unless there is a transfer of ownership lor, but this happens when both buyer and seller knows each other.

As in, you wan an unknown user to use ur previous number immediately where ur friends and relative knew of for a long time?

This will not be a concern in the first place. Unless you are talking about the cost of relocation and transfer of ownership.

If a person don't want to pay, most likely he already jump ship to other Telco with new number and carry with him. When the new owner moved in and port over his number or ask for new one., Singtel most likely will asked him to pay that $80 or $50 charge since the line is still in "mioVoice condition.

liangtam
22-09-2009, 04:19 PM
If a person don't want to pay, most likely he already jump ship to other Telco with new number and carry with him. When the new owner moved in and port over his number or ask for new one., Singtel most likely will asked him to pay that $80 or $50 charge since the line is still in "mioVoice condition.

Obviously not.
Remember, mio Voice is just a VoIP service.

If he don't pay, and whether if the service is terminated or not, the fixed line is still lying there un-provisioned.

There are no subscription running thru the half-dead line, but relocation or signing up new service does cost $50+

takumi78
22-09-2009, 04:27 PM
Oh I forgot to mention, when I called up ST and told them I want to change to analog, they told me it is $50 instead of $80 due to the survey and feedback from their customers. I wonder whether their survey got include their customer service feedback or not. Frankly speaking, if the CSO are more friendly and professional, I wouldnt be so pissed in paying the $50 bucks to them. Paying them for their heck care attitude. ( But actually that $50 goes to the contractor who went to rectify the line lah =:p)

kun1he2
23-09-2009, 12:39 AM
How come port over to Starhub Digital Voice must first convert the line back to analog?
Starhub won't even use the line... the signal comes through your cable point.

takumi78
23-09-2009, 07:36 AM
How come port over to Starhub Digital Voice must first convert the line back to analog?
Starhub won't even use the line... the signal comes through your cable point.

Bcos I want to retain my original number. Singtel told me porting over to Starhub requires the line to be analog. I feel it's quite stupid in a sense that from digital signal switch to analog then switch to Starhub digital voice . At first, I tot digital to digital will do. I guess the technology is not tat advanced yet :s8:

Techno Pride
23-09-2009, 10:07 AM
erm, u havent used the voice modem yet?

takumi78
23-09-2009, 10:08 AM
erm, u havent used the voice modem yet?

voice modem from starhub or singtel ? oh , sorry i forgotten i got the modem from u :D No chance yet leh. I need to port over the number first b4 i can use it .

liangtam
23-09-2009, 03:11 PM
insist not paying lor, even if switch back analogue is still done on their side.

takumi78
23-09-2009, 03:38 PM
insist not paying lor, even if switch back analogue is still done on their side.

Eh Friend, u ever paid a singtel bill b4 ? U think u can insist not paying one meh ? U dun pay up, they send u reminders, dun pay again, they fined u with late payment charges, if still dun pay, they cut off the line and die die dun pay , they might even send u a lawyer letter.

aaur4man
23-09-2009, 03:43 PM
insist dont pay up and dont pay up are not really the same.

takumi78
23-09-2009, 03:47 PM
insist dont pay up and dont pay up are not really the same.

I never done tat b4, u teach me how to "insist " not to pay lor. =:p Ask the ST technician to come down my house to change to analog signal, they will juz issue u a work order, no need to pay. At the end of the day, that $50 still added to the total bill.

aaur4man
23-09-2009, 03:49 PM
now that depends on the gift of the gab.

then again, YMMV.

i have not met with this particular issue as i use mio home.

i was billed for some service with kicks in after a few mths and got it waived.

i got fast technical support which came down and redid abit of wiring outside my house, and changed their server equipment due to a botched installation which i was able to describe.

otherwise, surely u wont get anything like it.

takumi78
23-09-2009, 04:02 PM
now that depends on the gift of the gab.

then again, YMMV.

i have not met with this particular issue as i use mio home.

i was billed for some service with kicks in after a few mths and got it waived.

i got fast technical support which came down and redid abit of wiring outside my house, and changed their server equipment due to a botched installation which i was able to describe.

otherwise, surely u wont get anything like it.

I guess I dun have tat kind of talent.

For ur case is simple, bcos u are still using their mio home, the one they are trying very hard to sell on the market now, there's no so call downgrading and it is a technical issue tat was caused due to their equipment.

For mine is clear cut, I juz want to convert back to analog signal and it's their policy that I have to pay for tat. There is no need for me to "describe" to them abt my issue.

t258jgn
23-09-2009, 04:27 PM
Heng ar........ I subscribed to Mio packaged plan last Dec but retained the old analog voice service. I knew digital voice can only be used as secondary phone line. Primary phone line die die must be an analog one.

liangtam
23-09-2009, 04:53 PM
Primary phone line die die must be an analog one.
Of cos! :)

takumi78
23-09-2009, 04:57 PM
Of cos! :)

:s8: Yah, tell me abt it

Sp1der
24-09-2009, 12:18 AM
good piece of advise.
Since the launch of starhub voice and singtel mio until today, I still prefer analog line.

I suggest to go for starhub or m1 if you want quality service. Singtel when you dont mind pay more.

takumi78
24-09-2009, 03:50 PM
I suggest to go for starhub or m1 if you want quality service. Singtel when you dont mind pay more.

Haha, thats a good one. Paymore to Singtel and yet without the quality service =:p

aaur4man
24-09-2009, 04:32 PM
notch really rehs

i wasnt from singnet all along.

kena back stab after terminate some more.

takumi78
24-09-2009, 04:38 PM
Like some bro have suggested, I have posted this in ST Forum. It was posted 2day. Singtel people called me up and told me that I could port the number over to Starhub without the need to convert to analog. And they are asking me if I still want to remain as their customer and should I want to convert my mio vioce back to analog, there wont be any charges.

I can only feel why they want to remedy this only when it was published on ST forum?

And also, bcos of this post in ST forum, got some pple gave me this kind of comments making me sound like a cheapo. :mad: Wah liew !

So you want everything free in life? Dont want to pay for anything? What a golden heart you have..
Posted by: madlhouse at Thu Sep 24 11:05:49 SGT 2009
Obviously this person pays everything lor, never gets free stuff in his entire life or must be bloody rich lor. :s8:

Singtel is a business company, not a charity. Nothing is for free. If you can give so many free things, please open a telephone/mobile company and I will be your first customer. Then I will see how many free things you can give me.
Posted by ooptimizer at Thu Sep 24 08:26 am

This one must have received many freebies from Singtel to "suan" me lor. I am merely asking them to be more flexible and am not asking them to give me the analog line FOC lifetime. So wat's wrong with this ? :eek:

aaur4man
24-09-2009, 04:42 PM
always take comments with a pinch of salt.

everyone tends to be more bold behind the keyboard, hence keyboard warriors.

its always a struggle between virtual and reality.

see i can imagine myself as a death god also ma

takumi78
24-09-2009, 04:43 PM
My post in ST Forum

SingTel needs to be flexible on its contract terms

DURING the recent Comex show, many people flocked to sign deals with major telephone companies as well as Internet service providers (ISPs). I was among those who decided to switch to another ISP as my contract for SingTel's mio plan was about to expire.

The mio plan was bundled with a digital voice home line (mio voice), mobile line and fixed broadband. Since I had signed up for a new fixed broadband and mobile line with another service provider, I decided not to keep the mio voice as the subscription for this service is much higher than that for a typical analog fixed landline.

I called SingTel and asked for my mio voice to be converted back to what it was previously - an analog phone line. To my surprise, I was told I had to pay a fee of $50 so SingTel could arrange for its contractor to visit my home to make the changes. I was told the charge could not be waived.

I then decided to transfer my fixed landline to another service provider, while retaining my original number. However, I was told I would still have to pay the $50 so the digital line could be converted back to a normal analog line before the other service provider could take over the number from SingTel.

When I signed up for the mio plan two years ago, I was not told about the charges I would have to bear if I decided to switch back from a digital line to an analog one. I was told only about the benefits of using this digital voice service and that the installation for this service would be free.

Under the terms and conditions for removal or relocation, it was merely stated that under clause 7.2, 'SingTel shall not be obliged to remove and reinstall the line and modem to any other premises unless it has agreed to do so and the customer has agreed to pay such charges as may be imposed by SingTel'.

First, the amount of charges was not specified, and since 'charges may be imposed by SingTel', why can it not waive the charge for someone who is still using its analog home fixed line?

Second, should I decide to continue using this digital voice service until I sell my home, does the new home owner have to bear the cost of converting the line back to an analog line? Is that fair to the new owner?

takumi78
24-09-2009, 04:44 PM
always take comments with a pinch of salt.

everyone tends to be more bold behind the keyboard, hence keyboard warriors.

its always a struggle between virtual and reality.

I guess so . There maybe more offensive ones and not shown juz bcos this forum is being monitored.

aaur4man
24-09-2009, 04:45 PM
luckily u didnt put in stomp.

else after reading the comments u can reincarnate 3 times

takumi78
24-09-2009, 04:49 PM
luckily u didnt put in stomp.

else after reading the comments u can reincarnate 3 times

hahaha , lucky me . :s13: I dun read stomp so often so I dunno the extend of their comments. But I would like to thank ngbc for suggesting me to post to ST forum. Otherwise, only hwz forum members know abt this =:p

liangtam
24-09-2009, 05:04 PM
Your last point is not valid leh

The line cost is tied to your number. For a new owner of a resale flat, he/she does not need to pay your mio Voice termination or conversion(because the truth is, technically there is nothing at ur side to 'convert'). Although they's still have to pay money grabbing SingTel similar amounts for a new or relocation fee.

Due to the above, it make sense to insist not paying mah, afterall you can write such long sentences

pwongkk
24-09-2009, 05:08 PM
i believe the conversion of digital to analog line requires just some disconnection of cables at the termination point at your level/block. ST can't be laying 1 dedicated digital cable all the way to the exchange for each home.
Our telephone cables comes with 2 pairs of cables, 1 used for analog telephone service. Suspect the other pair is for these digital services.

liangtam
24-09-2009, 05:10 PM
2nd pair is unused.

tromba
24-09-2009, 05:59 PM
i dun rem that the line in the house is digital anyway
the line i analog all the way till their exchange where there is a switch for them to set it to digital or analog.

but anyway
ST will neber offer salvage till they are offically cornered.

takumi78
24-09-2009, 10:36 PM
Your last point is not valid leh

The line cost is tied to your number. For a new owner of a resale flat, he/she does not need to pay your mio Voice termination or conversion(because the truth is, technically there is nothing at ur side to 'convert'). Although they's still have to pay money grabbing SingTel similar amounts for a new or relocation fee.

Due to the above, it make sense to insist not paying mah, afterall you can write such long sentences

I am posting a question/query for that statement.

ngbc
25-09-2009, 11:29 AM
Like some bro have suggested, I have posted this in ST Forum. It was posted 2day. Singtel people called me up and told me that I could port the number over to Starhub without the need to convert to analog. And they are asking me if I still want to remain as their customer and should I want to convert my mio vioce back to analog, there wont be any charges.

I can only feel why they want to remedy this only when it was published on ST forum?

And also, bcos of this post in ST forum, got some pple gave me this kind of comments making me sound like a cheapo. :mad: Wah liew !

So you want everything free in life? Dont want to pay for anything? What a golden heart you have..
Posted by: madlhouse at Thu Sep 24 11:05:49 SGT 2009
Obviously this person pays everything lor, never gets free stuff in his entire life or must be bloody rich lor. :s8:

Singtel is a business company, not a charity. Nothing is for free. If you can give so many free things, please open a telephone/mobile company and I will be your first customer. Then I will see how many free things you can give me.
Posted by ooptimizer at Thu Sep 24 08:26 am

This one must have received many freebies from Singtel to "suan" me lor. I am merely asking them to be more flexible and am not asking them to give me the analog line FOC lifetime. So wat's wrong with this ? :eek:

Glad that Singtel has relented and your problem is resolved.

Just ignored (don't even bother to reply back) those peoples giving sarcastic or harsh comments, it has yet to happened to them so they won't feel the pain and anger. May be they are just kids whom everything still being paid by parents or simply being brain-washed to Pay And Pay without questioning Why Pay ...:s8:

takumi78
25-09-2009, 07:28 PM
Glad that Singtel has relented and your problem is resolved.

Just ignored (don't even bother to reply back) those peoples giving sarcastic or harsh comments, it has yet to happened to them so they won't feel the pain and anger. May be they are just kids whom everything still being paid by parents or simply being brain-washed to Pay And Pay without questioning Why Pay ...:s8:

Thanks bro. Anyway, they responded back to me but I still feel I dun want to subscribe their service anymore. But i guess after this incident and this post in ST forum, at least other subscribers who are having the same scenario as me will be able to have the waiver off and no problem in getting back the analog line. :)

pwongkk
26-09-2009, 09:10 AM
2nd pair is unused.

Based on the reply in today's Straits Times Online forum, it's true that the 2nd pair is used.

The frequency in the phone cables are too low to carry both voice and data together using 1 pair alone.

Mio should be using the 2nd pair mainly for data.

wiwi86
26-09-2009, 12:18 PM
i also didnt know abt this hidden cost. 2yrs later then say. i juz recontracted to mio voice :(

liangtam
26-09-2009, 01:10 PM
Based on the reply in today's Straits Times Online forum, it's true that the 2nd pair is used.

The frequency in the phone cables are too low to carry both voice and data together using 1 pair alone.

Mio should be using the 2nd pair mainly for data.

:s11: :s11:
You mean you don't really know pre-hand when you wrote the other post?
(BTW, the article is here (http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Online%2BStory/STIStory_434409.html). There are no reference about the line)

The 2nd pair may indeed be utilized, but most practices prefer an individual second line(or utp cable) due to possible xtalk, especially based on the standard phone wiring being straight.

Where a contractor actually does this cost cutting as when you subscribed for a second phone number, no doubt problem arises

And besides, mio Voice being a VoIP, is a data service carried through the internet. If you're talking about analogue voice, you can see spectrum utilization chart to know why phone needs something called microfilter connected when dsl service is running

commach
26-09-2009, 01:49 PM
Thanks takumi78 for alerting me, though i am not a ST customer ATM.

takumi78
26-09-2009, 10:46 PM
This is the Singtel official reply posted 2day :

A $50 fee is applicable when a customer changes from a digital telephone line to a fixed analog telephone line and vice versa as an installation team needs to be on site to reconfigure the wiring and settings.

Customers on digital lines do not need to convert them back to analog before porting out their telephone numbers or when they move to a new address.

Pls take note for those Mio voice subscribers, u still need to pay $50 to convert back to analog!!
Solution: U may want to consider taking up the digital home voice from Starhub and it is free for SCV or Maxonline subscriber till dec 2010.

aaur4man
27-09-2009, 02:20 AM
should have told all customers before they signed up for Mio Plan.

luckily i never took it.

takumi78
27-09-2009, 06:42 AM
should have told all customers before they signed up for Mio Plan.

luckily i never took it.

If they did, u see how many potential customers will have 2nd thoughts again signing up this plan. :eek:

Do be careful with Mio TV as well. Although recent promo saying tat they are giving "free" trial on Mio TV for the soccer match, I think there's a hidden cost that has not yet been raised up.(Or maybe I am wrong bcos I din try this Mio TV)

For example, like this one http://home.singtel.com/hotdeals/#link?page=mioTV
mentioned that "No contract, No Obligation! For a limited time only. For more info on how to enjoy free trial , pls call 1800 555 6000 now!"

1. Is this "no obligation" thingy for a limited time only?? They din mention.
2. Free trial needs to contact the CSO for info, it will entirely deps on ur luck on which cso u get. If that cso is not helpful or that day "buay song" type, u think u will get all the info needed or know any hidden cost b4 the trial ?? :s8:

takumi78
29-09-2009, 03:36 PM
Wah liew, juz received the Singtel bill dated 25th Sept, still charged me for the Mio plan. I already called them up before 20th to terminate broadband and to debundle everything when my contract expires and my mobile line was ported to M1 officially on 22nd already. Then I called them up again to enquire abt my bill, they told me they printed the bill on 22nd and the billing system was not updated (but my bill was dated 25th !!!) Seems like a stupid excuse to me. Then they told me next mth bill, the amt will be pro-rated and credited back to my account.

I am really glad I am not staying put with Singtel :s8:

tlkchew
01-10-2009, 05:24 PM
waait wait wait,, why cant the line be kept as digital line?
just get a digital phone cannot meh?

takumi78
01-10-2009, 06:05 PM
waait wait wait,, why cant the line be kept as digital line?
just get a digital phone cannot meh?

:s11: Dun understand ur question.

itchybear
01-10-2009, 06:12 PM
i signed up for the 15mbps plan but i told the guy i just wan the internet. wadever mio stuff they have i dont wan. after installing the modem. i'm gettin spds like random 3 6 4 mbps. never will it go above 10. asked the technician to come down. he spent so much time trying to gt to the root of the problem but to no avail. Guys, if i were to buy my own modem. will it help in the speed?

liangtam
01-10-2009, 06:15 PM
billing system is like that, when u terminate with ur next provider will see it waived after a mth also

takumi78
01-10-2009, 06:40 PM
i signed up for the 15mbps plan but i told the guy i just wan the internet. wadever mio stuff they have i dont wan. after installing the modem. i'm gettin spds like random 3 6 4 mbps. never will it go above 10. asked the technician to come down. he spent so much time trying to gt to the root of the problem but to no avail. Guys, if i were to buy my own modem. will it help in the speed?

All I know you juz be careful when the technician blames it is the telephone line's fault . He will throw the ball over to the telephone line dept and u have to call the residential telephone line dept to complain abt this. Then this dept will either send someone over to ur place to check ur line (which may incur some charges ) and if the line is faulty , they will suggest u let their contractor to repair it ( charges again). Sometimes they "tao jia" and do it not under Singtel name and yet using company's equipment, they will charge u lesser. If u happen to be lucky , have the line fixed and u will get the speed u want. If u very sway, not only u have to pay for those on-site charges, u waste time calling them up and got thrown like a ball :s12: between the broadband dept and residential telephone line dept plus not getting the speed u want. Good luck to u.

U may think I am being paranoid but trust me , the above was my experience !!
I oso had connection problem and got to send Singtel technician to come my house to check . They want to charge me $200 plus for changing the copper telephone line which has corroded in my place. And will charge ard $100 something if they do it privately. Lucky my dad knows someone who can fix this, so we juz paid his friend for the lines less than $50 bucks. Afterthat, my connection went smoothly.

Thats why I am quite fed up with this so called biggest telco comp in Sg.

itchybear
01-10-2009, 09:26 PM
All I know you juz be careful when the technician blames it is the telephone line's fault . He will throw the ball over to the telephone line dept and u have to call the residential telephone line dept to complain abt this. Then this dept will either send someone over to ur place to check ur line (which may incur some charges ) and if the line is faulty , they will suggest u let their contractor to repair it ( charges again). Sometimes they "tao jia" and do it not under Singtel name and yet using company's equipment, they will charge u lesser. If u happen to be lucky , have the line fixed and u will get the speed u want. If u very sway, not only u have to pay for those on-site charges, u waste time calling them up and got thrown like a ball :s12: between the broadband dept and residential telephone line dept plus not getting the speed u want. Good luck to u.

U may think I am being paranoid but trust me , the above was my experience !!
I oso had connection problem and got to send Singtel technician to come my house to check . They want to charge me $200 plus for changing the copper telephone line which has corroded in my place. And will charge ard $100 something if they do it privately. Lucky my dad knows someone who can fix this, so we juz paid his friend for the lines less than $50 bucks. Afterthat, my connection went smoothly.

Thats why I am quite fed up with this so called biggest telco comp in Sg.

but when he connects to his and my laptop. it reached the desired speed.

Techno Pride
02-10-2009, 08:30 PM
Hi, is everything settled over at Starhub side?

Sorry for the trouble caused.

commonjunk
02-10-2009, 08:58 PM
but when he connects to his and my laptop. it reached the desired speed.
So you are saying it was your router or personal computer issue?
Any as my contract will finish i will ask them to convert my line to analog and keep my internet connection independent. And no more MIO for me please, every time try to watch MIO jerk jerk jerk till headache.

takumi78
03-10-2009, 12:34 AM
Hi, is everything settled over at Starhub side?

Sorry for the trouble caused.

Hi, thank you for the call. Still not sure if everything is ok by now bcos the sales person who is handling my account is not in office 2day. Anyway, sorry got to trouble you to call up starhub. Thanks once again.:)

Techno Pride
03-10-2009, 12:52 PM
Hi, thank you for the call. Still not sure if everything is ok by now bcos the sales person who is handling my account is not in office 2day. Anyway, sorry got to trouble you to call up starhub. Thanks once again.:)

I've called 1633 again. The CSO said it's not tied to any account at the moment. Should be ok now.

Feel free to let me know should you require any assistance.

Freakerzz
07-10-2009, 02:55 AM
Any as my contract will finish i will ask them to convert my line to analog and keep my internet connection independent. And no more MIO for me please, every time try to watch MIO jerk jerk jerk till headache.

jerk issues arises might due to
1)ur line specs got issues,phone socket corroded or line corroded,line got short circuit
2)ur using the home plug for wireless connections frm snbb to miotv,plug into extension adapter..not enuff power for the conversion
3)microfilter in every phone socket regardless whther its has a phone plug in?and plug in to the correct holes in the microfilter?

line specs for 10mb plus miotv wud be abt 21998kbps worst case scenario 19888>17888kbps
line specs for 8/10mb standalone wud be 13999kbps
uncancelled echo min -15..-5 quite alrite..if positive..confirm theres sumthin wrong sumware along ur line connections

Freakerzz
07-10-2009, 03:03 AM
:s11: :s11:
You mean you don't really know pre-hand when you wrote the other post?
(BTW, the article is here (http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Online%2BStory/STIStory_434409.html). There are no reference about the line)

The 2nd pair may indeed be utilized, but most practices prefer an individual second line(or utp cable) due to possible xtalk, especially based on the standard phone wiring being straight.

Where a contractor actually does this cost cutting as when you subscribed for a second phone number, no doubt problem arises

And besides, mio Voice being a VoIP, is a data service carried through the internet. If you're talking about analogue voice, you can see spectrum utilization chart to know why phone needs something called microfilter connected when dsl service is running

agreed wif liangtam

the best scenario wud be a 6-8way(3-4pair)..usual standard HDB 2pair...1 pair in used 2nd pair standby..but depends on ownership..if its direct frm riser to a distribution point in ur hse or 1st socket(usually living room socket)..sumtimes renovations works..jialat...riser to ur hse different..along the way contractor patch or reconnect differently hide in false ceiling or cornices..den home owner prepare to A)break hidden panels for fault finding B)run new line...

Francis85
07-10-2009, 06:59 AM
agreed wif liangtam

the best scenario wud be a 6-8way(3-4pair)..usual standard HDB 2pair...1 pair in used 2nd pair standby..but depends on ownership..if its direct frm riser to a distribution point in ur hse or 1st socket(usually living room socket)..sumtimes renovations works..jialat...riser to ur hse different..along the way contractor patch or reconnect differently hide in false ceiling or cornices..den home owner prepare to A)break hidden panels for fault finding B)run new line...

Hm......... Looks to me like we got a field tech here liao....... who knows about ADSL also.......

liangtam
07-10-2009, 08:18 AM
Hm......... Looks to me like we got a field tech here liao....... who knows about ADSL also.......

Errm,

Yay?

Another SingTel(/related) personnel in forum.:look:

Francis85
07-10-2009, 10:03 AM
agreed wif liangtam

Looks to me like you working for Singnet ar.......=:p=:p

Freakerzz
07-10-2009, 09:25 PM
Looks to me like you working for Singnet ar.......=:p=:p

lol...quite spot on

not perm staff but contractor...

hard work to get where i am but newbie less than 1yr in the field...still got alot to learn frm the uncles/pakcik who is doin line laying whos experience frm kampung days...everyday is a new learning curve/experience..there some bad apples/sin chiao who noe nuts whats going in someone house..in regard of the basic aspect of line laying and line distribution..this kind of ppl spoilt the name of installer..its all abt common sense lo...

juz observing n contributing whenever i can...and also updating the peeps on the latest updates if its permittted

NUMBer
13-10-2009, 04:19 PM
This is my piece of advice for those who are thinking of getting the Mio voice itself or Mio plan that has bundled with mio voice. 2 years ago , when I signed up Mio plan, Singtel told me the installation charges for installing this digital voice was waived off. Now , when my contract expired , I did not want the mio voice anymore. I had to pay extra $80 so tat they can convert back my homeline to analogue signal (normal fixed line). My family and I have been loyal singtel customers a very long time.I am still using the same telco company , yet they still want to charge me for this ? :frus:

It makes me feel mad and their customer service are like ai lai mai tai attitude. So I decided to switch over to starhub since they gave their cabletv subscribers free digital voice. I wanted to retain my original number and I called up Singtel to request for the porting the number over to starhub. Then they told me ,in order to port over the number, I still had to pay the bloody $80 to convert the signal to analogue first.:s27: That means no matter what, I still had to pay them if I want to retain my original number by continuing their "services" or switching over to starhub.

From their mio website, they only give u information abt converting to mio voice but never told u the consequences of unreversing it!!!

Hi there,I dunno if u are still active here but I also in the same plan as u ..erm yes...have to pay the eighty dollars...cool...and erm ya...ocal calls made wld be charged accordingly..

takumi78
13-10-2009, 11:27 PM
Hi there,I dunno if u are still active here but I also in the same plan as u ..erm yes...have to pay the eighty dollars...cool...and erm ya...ocal calls made wld be charged accordingly..

It is $50 not $80. Today i am completely off my mio plan now.

lohmh72
14-10-2009, 03:41 PM

FYI ur info, I experience the same jerk jerk issue with starhub digital cable TV before also. Call up their CSO and don't know what they did, it get ok for a while before it happen back the same thing again.

takumi78
14-10-2009, 03:52 PM
FYI ur info, I experience the same jerk jerk issue with starhub digital cable TV before also. Call up their CSO and don't know what they did, it get ok for a while before it happen back the same thing again.

I am also using starhub digital cable tv, also experience same problem. Called up starhub and they send someone down to check and later replace the digital box to solve this problem. Maybe u can try tat too.

SwatchLu
14-10-2009, 04:33 PM
hi Takumi,

I faced the same problem. My Mio Voice plan just expired and when I decide to change from Mio voice line back to Analog, I have to pay $80. And I told them I want to continue to have broadband service only. Singtel insist I must pay $80 before can convert the line back to analog. I didnt know there is a $80 hidden cost to just convert the line before I sign up thire Mio package 2 years back.

On top of that, they told me my 3MB plan will cost $35 just to continue the broadband without contract and no discount. Interestingly, $35.90 is advertised for 6MB on their website for 2 year contract.

SwatchLu
14-10-2009, 04:38 PM
I continue to sign the 6MB 2 year broadband @ $35.90/mth. As for the analog home line, singtel waive off the quaterly charge ($27.50) for 2 years, but the usage charge apply, only IF I take on the broadband service. I still need to pay the $80 to convert to analog line.

takumi78
14-10-2009, 05:45 PM
hi Takumi,

I faced the same problem. My Mio Voice plan just expired and when I decide to change from Mio voice line back to Analog, I have to pay $80. And I told them I want to continue to have broadband service only. Singtel insist I must pay $80 before can convert the line back to analog. I didnt know there is a $80 hidden cost to just convert the line before I sign up thire Mio package 2 years back.

On top of that, they told me my 3MB plan will cost $35 just to continue the broadband without contract and no discount. Interestingly, $35.90 is advertised for 6MB on their website for 2 year contract.

That charge is meant for the contractors to go to ur place to adjust the digital signal back to analog. Thats why I swop to Starhub free digital home vioce to avoid this charge. Maybe u can consider switching to other ISPs like I did , since Sitex is coming, I am sure there's going to be broadband promotion again. Will help u ask the singtel person for ur situation. I think 6 mbps for $35.90 is when u sign their 2 yr contract, otherwise no contract will cost more.

touchme
23-10-2009, 01:24 AM
I terminated my mio plan (voice+mobile+bb), stick to analogue and switch to Starhub, back in Mar 2009. there was no such charge. But I had some cross-line problems and few complaints with miovoice during the 2 years. Looks like this $80 thingy is just implemented. Better avoid miovoice.

takumi78
23-10-2009, 09:51 AM
I terminated my mio plan (voice+mobile+bb), stick to analogue and switch to Starhub, back in Mar 2009. there was no such charge. But I had some cross-line problems and few complaints with miovoice during the 2 years. Looks like this $80 thingy is just implemented. Better avoid miovoice.

If that's the case, seems like there's no fixed policy abt this issue. Why cant they notify their subscribers on this charge ? Why do they have to wait till the subscriber wants to terminate the mio vioce then tell them tat they need to pay the $80?

cscs3
23-10-2009, 10:32 AM

You never read term and condition at the thime you sign up?
You actually has a option to keep your original analog line (in case you need to use fax machine etc). Is the same price as MIO plan except you do not enjoy call up FOC as original analog line is still time base.

cscs3
23-10-2009, 10:35 AM
That charge is meant for the contractors to go to ur place to adjust the digital signal back to analog. Thats why I swop to Starhub free digital home vioce to avoid this charge. Maybe u can consider switching to other ISPs like I did , since Sitex is coming, I am sure there's going to be broadband promotion again. Will help u ask the singtel person for ur situation. I think 6 mbps for $35.90 is when u sign their 2 yr contract, otherwise no contract will cost more.

To me. Starhub digital is quite a problem. Sometime people call you but your phone actually did not ring. Another problem is it does not work with modem and fax machine well.

newcell
23-10-2009, 10:45 AM
O noe, yesterday call up ST to hav mine convert to digital. :s31:

takumi78
23-10-2009, 08:13 PM
You actually has a option to keep your original analog line (in case you need to use fax machine etc). Is the same price as MIO plan except you do not enjoy call up FOC as original analog line is still time base.

I did read the terms n conditions but there was no mention of the $80 converting back to analog.

PeachGal
23-10-2009, 10:12 PM
I guess this is one more reason not to use adsl. Save alot of troubles from the beginning.

ngbc
23-10-2009, 11:27 PM

May be you could show us (NPNT) where in the T&C stated that converting back to analog is chargeable at $80 ?

liangtam
23-10-2009, 11:44 PM
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/telephony_n_paging/price_plans/overview_overview.asp
There is an activation charge for sure though.

The other $20+ must ask TS is about what cost le

arcaninx
24-10-2009, 09:08 PM
SH is using your cable connection to provide digital voice service. Therefore, there isn't a need to convert your telephone port.