PDA

View Full Version : MICHAEL BALLACK insists the Premier League is already a two-horse title race

ShaqONeal
22-09-2009, 05:51 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2648642/Michael-Ballack-Its-Chelsea-v-United-for-title.html

MICHAEL BALLACK insists the Premier League is already a two-horse title race - after just six games of the season.

The thoroughbreds of Chelsea and Manchester United emerged from Sunday's derby madness at the top of the pile.
No surprise there but it seems talk of a new order in English football after the bright start made by Manchester City and Tottenham was premature.
Carlo Ancelotti's Blues have made a perfect start in the league while United have now beaten Arsenal, Spurs and City to stay on their tail.
Ballack scored the crucial second goal at Stamford Bridge on Sunday and he admitted the championship is taking a very familiar look.
The German midfielder said: "It looks a little bit like a two-horse race but we don't underestimate anybody. Man City have started well while Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool are all teams that can have a good run at any time of the season."
United scored their winning goal in time added-on in Sunday's Manchester derby while Chelsea have scored late winners in two of their six wins.
Ballack, 32, sees that ability to keep fighting to the end as one of the reasons Chelsea and United have won the league between them in the last five years.
He added: "United have a lot of good years behind them with the Champions League win and three Premier League title wins which will give them a lot of confidence.
"That helps them in the tight games like you saw on Sunday and they always come back."
Chelsea stretched their Premier League winning streak to 11 - a new club record - with their 3-0 victory over Spurs.
Ballack insisted: "You can feel the spirit here now. The Champions League final and the semi-final last year when we went out has kept the team together. That spirit is what you can feel now."
Chelsea hope Didier Drogba will be fit to play at Wigan on Saturday.
The striker suffered severe cramp against Spurs and had a precautionary scan yesterday.
Boss Ancelotti will play his reserves against QPR in the Carling Cup tomorrow and Drogba is expected to be fit by the weekend.

ahgohgoh
22-09-2009, 06:02 PM
only 6 matches... and he claims a 2 horse race...........

Jian19
22-09-2009, 06:15 PM
as usual by Mr runner up :(

bwaysaibi
22-09-2009, 07:05 PM
only 6 matches... and he claims a 2 horse race...........

OT abit
even thou i dun like ur team
i like ur abatar... lol tongue in cheek :s13::s13::s13:

MatrixFanatic
22-09-2009, 07:09 PM
OT abit
even thou i dun like ur team
i like ur abatar... lol tongue in cheek :s13::s13::s13:

I rike your abatar too.:love:

cj4_elmo
22-09-2009, 09:28 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2648642/Michael-Ballack-Its-Chelsea-v-United-for-title.html

MICHAEL BALLACK insists the Premier League is already a two-horse title race - after just six games of the season.

The thoroughbreds of Chelsea and Manchester United emerged from Sunday's derby madness at the top of the pile.
No surprise there but it seems talk of a new order in English football after the bright start made by Manchester City and Tottenham was premature.
Carlo Ancelotti's Blues have made a perfect start in the league while United have now beaten Arsenal, Spurs and City to stay on their tail.
Ballack scored the crucial second goal at Stamford Bridge on Sunday and he admitted the championship is taking a very familiar look.
The German midfielder said: "It looks a little bit like a two-horse race but we don't underestimate anybody. Man City have started well while Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool are all teams that can have a good run at any time of the season."
United scored their winning goal in time added-on in Sunday's Manchester derby while Chelsea have scored late winners in two of their six wins.
Ballack, 32, sees that ability to keep fighting to the end as one of the reasons Chelsea and United have won the league between them in the last five years.
He added: "United have a lot of good years behind them with the Champions League win and three Premier League title wins which will give them a lot of confidence.
"That helps them in the tight games like you saw on Sunday and they always come back."
Chelsea stretched their Premier League winning streak to 11 - a new club record - with their 3-0 victory over Spurs.
Ballack insisted: "You can feel the spirit here now. The Champions League final and the semi-final last year when we went out has kept the team together. That spirit is what you can feel now."
Chelsea hope Didier Drogba will be fit to play at Wigan on Saturday.
The striker suffered severe cramp against Spurs and had a precautionary scan yesterday.
Boss Ancelotti will play his reserves against QPR in the Carling Cup tomorrow and Drogba is expected to be fit by the weekend.

This from a team who has have a relatively easy start to the season.:s8: Let's not get to carried away and wait till at least the first half of the season.

hiei02
22-09-2009, 10:46 PM
wait till the essien calculator comes out. loL

sCuzzZy
22-09-2009, 11:23 PM
forgetting the african nation's cup are we? lol. still too early to say. WAYYY too early.

yagami8
23-09-2009, 01:07 AM
Though i'm a Blues Fan, i will nv write off Man Utd. They can produce something out of nothinf and most impt of all, Fergie is 2 experienced to noe wat is essential 2 win a title. I miself feels Ballack's comment is way 2 early.

jordanskywalker
23-09-2009, 01:16 AM
forgetting the african nation's cup are we? lol. still too early to say. WAYYY too early.

well, it's always good to have dreams. Which sets of players/manager/fans dont wanna they club to win??

conquerorsutd
23-09-2009, 08:30 AM
4 sum1 who look like horse... :D

oohman
23-09-2009, 08:36 AM
Man utd have won all their tough matches compared to Chelsea who have had relativley simple fixture.
Man utd is def the fav now.

othniel80
23-09-2009, 09:10 AM
a bit tad early to say that, isn't it?
ji tao see pool, gunners and city no up.
:s13: :s13:

ShaqONeal
23-09-2009, 09:24 AM
Psychology war??

anyway, it's ok to see Man City no up, until they won the Champs. ppl see Chelsea no up until they won 2 titles recently. :)

conquerorsutd
23-09-2009, 09:32 AM
Psychology war??

anyway, it's ok to see Man City no up, until they won the Champs. ppl see Chelsea no up until they won 2 titles recently. :)

...but theyll nv win 3 in a row! :s13:

SeK1SKerOiQ

daylight
23-09-2009, 10:03 AM
he forget that his team cannot sign new players in the jan transfer market.
but red devils is still the team to beat.

StarSeeker
23-09-2009, 10:24 AM
Why the surprise, didn't some of fans here already think & some even saying its essentually a 2 horse race already.

Time will tell.

jokerpoker81
23-09-2009, 10:42 AM
Though i'm a Blues Fan, i will nv write off Man Utd. They can produce something out of nothinf and most impt of all, Fergie is 2 experienced to noe wat is essential 2 win a title. I miself feels Ballack's comment is way 2 early.

coz Fergie always got "extra" time from referees wat...

as for ballack.....cant he wait till season nearly end then say its a 2 horse race ( or nt ) ?

InsaneClownPosse
23-09-2009, 10:56 AM
arsenal will slowly and killing them slowly

oohman
23-09-2009, 02:45 PM
arsenal will slowly and killing them slowly

For Arsenal , the biggest flaw is tt they self -destruct like when they fight Man Utd. So Arsenal , I doubt are title challengers.. I think Arsene wud be happy if they can get top 4 places...

Swordsman
23-09-2009, 02:51 PM
is ballack dumb or what, he think Liverpool and Arsenal are "dead. and also don't rule out spurs, villa and Man city.

StarSeeker
23-09-2009, 04:04 PM
For Arsenal , the biggest flaw is tt they self -destruct like when they fight Man Utd. So Arsenal , I doubt are title challengers.. I think Arsene wud be happy if they can get top 4 places...

So here we go guys,

Thats what I mean in my original post. Ballack isn't the only one already condamning other clubs out of the race.

After thinking, I do agree with you that Wenger should be more than happy with top 4 places. Of course that would be top 4 prizes of Carling cup, FA cup, BPL cap & CL CUp. :D

anfielder
23-09-2009, 08:27 PM
is ballack dumb or what, he think Liverpool and Arsenal are "dead. and also don't rule out spurs, villa and Man city.

if you read the article, he didn't rule out these teams. once again, the tabloids have succeeded in distorting what he actually did say.

"It looks a little bit like a two-horse race but we don't underestimate anybody. Man City have started well while Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool are all teams that can have a good run at any time of the season."

oohman
25-09-2009, 05:25 PM
Spain is confirm TWO HORSE RACE...

-Strike-
26-09-2009, 02:40 AM
Spain is confirm TWO HORSE RACE...

same goes to italy
juventus and inter milan.

ac milan have gone down to the class of roma, fiorentina, genoa, lazio.

pa9797
26-09-2009, 06:48 AM
u need a big squad to go all the way to the end

Atheist2912
26-09-2009, 09:35 AM
just 2 matches nia he can judge liao ah..

R34
26-09-2009, 10:25 AM
they should just let their football do the talking.

meridian
26-09-2009, 11:13 AM
...but theyll nv win 3 in a row! :s13:

SeK1SKerOiQ

wat were they singing?
chelsea's success is wat?

conquerorsutd
26-09-2009, 11:49 AM
wat were they singing?
chelsea's success is wat?

... fukking hollow!

GetFuzzy
26-09-2009, 12:01 PM
We shall see...

Kennedy
26-09-2009, 12:16 PM
Ballack was absolutely wrong.

I hate to say it but

the Premier League has been a one-horse title race for the last three years.

sCuzzZy
26-09-2009, 12:42 PM

I hate to say it but

chelsea does look like a more proper outfit this time around. thats how i feel though.

acidjuice13
27-09-2009, 05:48 AM
.... and then they lost to WIGAN . :s13:

Boi_racer
27-09-2009, 06:41 AM
I think this season, it will be more then a two horse race.....

daylight
27-09-2009, 08:58 AM
did chelsea expect to lose to wigan last nite ??

starlike
27-09-2009, 12:35 PM
maybe he can shut up now

oohman
28-09-2009, 12:34 AM

I hate to say it but

Yeah u are absolutely spot on. :evil: :evil: :evil:

Boi_racer
28-09-2009, 01:53 AM

I hate to say it but

Last season Liverpool push United all the way to the end, and the previous two seasons it was Chelsea fighting it with United.....unless we are watching a different BPL :s13:

Kennedy
28-09-2009, 02:08 AM
Last season Liverpool push United all the way to the end, and the previous two seasons it was Chelsea fighting it with United.....unless we are watching a different BPL :s13:

But what is the end result in the end?

You can have team A challenging team B all the way for ten years but every year team B won narrowly.

the history books will read

Team B 10 titles
Team A 0 titles

Asakura
28-09-2009, 02:48 AM
it depends on how you read the words "two horse race"
are you looking at the end product only,
or are you referring to the challenge.

web.designer
28-09-2009, 02:54 AM
This season looks close. Still early to say.

Boi_racer
28-09-2009, 06:51 AM
But what is the end result in the end?

You can have team A challenging team B all the way for ten years but every year team B won narrowly.

the history books will read

Team B 10 titles
Team A 0 titles
Cannot like tat say de mah, if like that every year also is one horse race liao, cos there is always gonna be only one winner in the end, be it Arsenal, Chelsea, United or any other teams so to speak :o

We are talking about the race not the result ma :o

Kennedy
28-09-2009, 10:05 AM
Cannot like tat say de mah, if like that every year also is one horse race liao, cos there is always gonna be only one winner in the end, be it Arsenal, Chelsea, United or any other teams so to speak :o

because Man Utd have won it for 3 successive years, that's why it's a one horse race for 3 years despite the challenges.

In the late 80s to mid 90s. Glasgow Rangers won the SPL for 10 successive years? Celtic pushed them close on a few occasions and usually finish 2nd.
Was the title race in Scotland a two horse race? IMO It's a total one horse race.

petshopboys
28-09-2009, 10:18 AM

maybe to him, race = to result.......;)

But to majority, it might not be true......at least to u and me:s7:

lyfeforce
28-09-2009, 11:07 AM
A mere 3 points separate the top 4 sides, not to mention Arsenal (5th), Man City (6th) and Villa (7th) are with 12 pts and have games in hand (1, 2 and 1 respectively).

It's far from over. It has just begun.

Cumzilla
28-09-2009, 11:26 AM
because Man Utd have won it for 3 successive years, that's why it's a one horse race for 3 years despite the challenges.

In the late 80s to mid 90s. Glasgow Rangers won the SPL for 10 successive years? Celtic pushed them close on a few occasions and usually finish 2nd.
Was the title race in Scotland a two horse race? IMO It's a total one horse race.

no offense, maybe u r the only person to look at the meaning of horse-race in such a way :s13:

horse·race or horse race

A closely fought contest or competition: "The election appears now to be a horse race"

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/horse+race

Kennedy
28-09-2009, 11:39 AM
no offense, maybe u r the only person to look at the meaning of horse-race in such a way :s13:

horse·race or horse race

A closely fought contest or competition: "The election appears now to be a horse race"

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/horse+race

one-horse race
a race or competition which only one of the competitors has a real chance of winning

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/define.asp?dict=CALD&key=55426

We like to think every year the title race is close but who has been winning for 3 successive years already.

conquerorsutd
28-09-2009, 11:50 AM
in sg, horse race = betting?? :s8:

Kenshin79
28-09-2009, 12:07 PM
the good thing this season so far is tons of goals... looks like every team is trying to attack instead of parking buses!

Asakura
28-09-2009, 12:30 PM
one-horse race
a race or competition which only one of the competitors has a real chance of winning

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/define.asp?dict=CALD&key=55426

We like to think every year the title race is close but who has been winning for 3 successive years already.

so only united had this so-called "real chance of winning" for the past 3 years?

faruk55
28-09-2009, 01:10 PM
wouldn't it be for one-horse race more suitable for a 2 or 3 ppl race?

oohman
28-09-2009, 02:08 PM
Actually, Chelsea wud die cock standing during the African nations cup...
For Liverpool, there's no consistency and Arsenal (nothing to say much bout them)...

I cant see Man Utd NOT winning the title this season.... But I expect Liverpool and Chelsea to give us a good run for our $$$$.. But the end result, seems pretty obvious....

guardsmen
28-09-2009, 10:57 PM
so only united had this so-called "real chance of winning" for the past 3 years?

But in the beginning of the 2nd and the 3rd triump, we were in the relegation zone,media all around wrote us off in the 1st 4 matches :)

Kennedy
28-09-2009, 11:28 PM
still think a Ronaldo less Man Utd is def weakened although they have started the season very well.

Man Utd have won 3 successive titles, Ronaldo gone and if the other big 3 can't snatch the title from Man Utd this season. I would be very disappointed at the Big 3 standards.

If Man Utd win again
Sure, the EPL is very competitive with one team winning the title year after year. really say so much about EPL unpredictability.

and if 4 successive titles, it's truly a one-horse race for the EPL every year.

anfielder
29-09-2009, 12:01 AM
For Liverpool, there's no consistency and Arsenal (nothing to say much bout them)...

I cant see Man Utd NOT winning the title this season.... But I expect Liverpool and Chelsea to give us a good run for our $$$$.. But the end result, seems pretty obvious....

if the media were to write an article about this, it would be headlined

"OOHMAN insists the Premier League is already a one-horse title race" =:p

Boi_racer
29-09-2009, 12:43 AM
the good thing this season so far is tons of goals... looks like every team is trying to attack instead of parking buses!
Have to agree this season we are seeing many goals :)

Good for fans like us, but for the manager I dun think they will like it, cos defence win you titles :)

Mayhem69
30-09-2009, 09:21 PM
Of cos its a one horse race when Refs make favourable decisions to MU, Refs and SAF smiling at each other

Jian19
30-09-2009, 09:37 PM
mai lose liao find all pattern lar :(

acidjuice13
01-10-2009, 12:27 AM

wah .. this kind of talking really deserve one up the ass if i ever hear it face-on

web.designer
01-10-2009, 12:37 AM
Of cos its a one horse race when Refs make favourable decisions to MU, Refs and SAF smiling at each other

Ahh a rival fan! =:p

Boi_racer
01-10-2009, 03:37 AM
So close between the top seven sides....

Definitely not a two horse race, at least at the moment it aint....:o

bangc0ng
07-10-2009, 02:57 PM
No. The Gunners Will Be There !

YouYongku
17-10-2009, 09:53 AM
verdict so fast meh :s39:

conquerorsutd
17-10-2009, 07:42 PM
where?? :s13:

Keverus
17-10-2009, 08:03 PM
somethings you know i know can liao wad!

dummydam
23-10-2009, 01:26 AM
and he is damn right about that......its already two horse race...

Mayhem69
25-10-2009, 11:21 AM
2 horse now still early... see first

thongs
25-10-2009, 03:39 PM
rofl, cock max

Boi_racer
26-10-2009, 07:01 AM
After a quarter of season passed....still there is only 7 points separating the top seven sides...three of the teams even hav games in hand....

It shows the competitiveness of this year competition....

oohman
26-10-2009, 02:08 PM
Dun worry.. we will still win by April...

daylight
26-10-2009, 02:53 PM
the difference bet the big 4 n other teams r very small this season. It all depends on the players on the field when they play against each other. 80 pt may be enough to win the title.

faruk55
29-10-2009, 04:41 PM
this will make x'mas period more interesting.. Chelsea is still tops..

petshopboys
29-10-2009, 05:52 PM
Dun worry.. we will still win by April...
wanna change to
Dun worry.. we will DEFINITELY win by April:o:s22:

faruk55
29-10-2009, 05:58 PM
you mean..

Dun worry.. we WON!