View Full Version : When do FTTH (OpenNet) service start?
curse154
06-10-2009, 07:19 PM
I'm getting mine installed 2 weeks later and I'm curious about when can we start using this ultra fast fibre? 1Gbps is so crazy, very good for me cuz I'm a heavy downloader, always downloading stuff (absolutely no pron).
I heard some of you guys will only get installed by 2012. If OpenNet plans to rollout to everyone first before starting the service then that means my termination box will collect dust for 3 more years before using?
chunlianghere
06-10-2009, 09:37 PM
next year will start service liao...
aaur4man
06-10-2009, 10:17 PM
it will start when its ready lor
1gbit only in Sg not worldwide either
U got see 100mbit line going 20mbit to US?
albertlee
06-10-2009, 10:42 PM
Agreed with aaur4man, what's the point of having 100Mb or 1Gb when oversea bandwidth is so pathetic? And even if 1Gb is available, it would surely cost an arm or leg to subscribe.
czheyuan
06-10-2009, 11:08 PM
Yeah agree with the rest tt rarely will even reach 1GB... Anyways, it costs $121 for RSPs to sell the service to you.. So expect it to cost at least ard $180 for us consumers liao..
liangtam
06-10-2009, 11:39 PM
What for need so many overseas b/w in the first place?
Thats never the intention of NG BB of any country leh
Joelleyuan
09-10-2009, 01:29 AM
Agreed with aaur4man, what's the point of having 100Mb or 1Gb when oversea bandwidth is so pathetic? And even if 1Gb is available, it would surely cost an arm or leg to subscribe.
But inside the fibre optics handbook i received, they are saying it will let us enjoy higher speed at LOWER cost leh.....with their technology etc.... i don't quite understand.
Anyone here knows how it works?? My area also ready for sign ups for installation.
georgeleong
09-10-2009, 08:48 AM
p2p within SG will be fast lolz... probably if there's fix ip or something we can all connect to each other like LAN.
Gottaname
09-10-2009, 08:57 AM
The NGN's more likely to benefit businesses (office interconnect) and local content providers, game servers and the like.
Also, singapore overseas links are still the same, if you wanted a overseas speed increase, would have to lay a new submarine cable which can easily cost 10x more than the NGN
Shawshankredempti0n
09-10-2009, 09:18 AM
But inside the fibre optics handbook i received, they are saying it will let us enjoy higher speed at LOWER cost leh.....with their technology etc.... i don't quite understand.
Anyone here knows how it works?? My area also ready for sign ups for installation.
If 100Mbps (SH) cost $100 now (for the sake of argument lets make it an even number).
100Mbps = $100
1000Mbps (1Gbps) = $100 x10 = $1000
Give you discount 20% = $800
Wait tell u what I give you special special discount 50% = $500.
Yeah lower cost for you man! song or not? :s13:
ohmygod1986
09-10-2009, 10:52 AM
Not much local content ...
I think they say they would only start with 100Mbps plan :s13:
czheyuan
09-10-2009, 11:36 AM
It has been announced that most RSPs will start off with offering 25Mbps liao.. But price wise still in negotiations... Lols..
just a thought.....will it be Unlimited plan or capped?
ahkeong
09-10-2009, 02:18 PM
hi guys. they start installing the optic fibre cable in my building, but never install access point in my house and never come tell me anything. then how? i must wait for their plan to come out and the ISP will come and install the access point in my house?
chaicka
09-10-2009, 02:37 PM
hi guys. they start installing the optic fibre cable in my building, but never install access point in my house and never come tell me anything. then how? i must wait for their plan to come out and the ISP will come and install the access point in my house?
Ya lah... never follow news and information disseminated?
OpenNet is just the infra facilitator. The services will be from RSPs and no services will be launch until next year, 2010.
chaicka
09-10-2009, 02:40 PM
The NGN's more likely to benefit businesses (office interconnect) and local content providers, game servers and the like.
Also, singapore overseas links are still the same, if you wanted a overseas speed increase, would have to lay a new submarine cable which can easily cost 10x more than the NGN
10x more than NGNBN? Nah... easily 50-100x more.
Well, NGNBN will benefit consumers in more ways than most will think of. I will definitely be looking forward to it... means less time staying in office just to work late because VPN connection too slow to get work done.
hamstertrance
10-10-2009, 08:45 AM
from wad i heard... They might gif whole sale price. I dono if it's for ftth also anot. Tat's wad i heard last time. And if it's true, it should be alot cheaper den our own bb fee nw.
LxIxVxE
10-10-2009, 09:01 AM
wonder what will be the cheapest plan for it~ :(
idiotz
10-10-2009, 11:25 AM
actually if FTTH is in our homes, we don't benefit much from it too.. yeah there's not much content to fill the full bandwidth.. the current cable and ADSL is enough already..
supertooth
10-10-2009, 11:48 AM
Frm next yr onwards, the RSP will launch their services like internet, payTV, video conf, etc. Cost is likely to be competitive I heard. Opennet and starhub are wholesale providers providing the passive and active components of the network respectively. Opennet will continue laying the fibre till 2013 according to iDA's website. They installed my home with fibre n im happy in spite of some teething issues...as expected of being the pioneer batch.
Wah. When i first checked the installation date for my block, it was mid 2012. Yesterday received a letter from Opennet and it said that they are coming to install at my block in November 2009. :s12:
Usually where should i put the point in my hse? near scv pt, living room where TV is, near singtel phone pt or another corner of the hse? :s11:
liangtam
10-10-2009, 06:14 PM
Usually where should i put the point in my hse? near scv pt, living room where TV is, near singtel phone pt or another corner of the hse? :s11:
Dont even need to consider, its only 15m, there cant be alot of place they'd put up the tp.
supertooth
11-10-2009, 05:12 PM
put it near the tv pt n power pt...thats what i did.
mistersoh
11-10-2009, 05:43 PM
Just hope our surfing experience gets better then current. And of course affordable. :o
santaboi
11-10-2009, 11:33 PM
i think this would be similar to starhub mol they offer up to 100mbit for sites hosted in singapore. i cant think of any websites here that offers interesting content.
pcteo
12-10-2009, 12:14 AM
Yes, high speed at low cost.
But it didn't mention how high the speed is and at what low cost.
$300 can be easlly classified as low cost, base on the technology cost of the past.
1G at low cost? don think it is man for general public and so won't b cheap, at least $250+
100M at $30. is it low cost? not so likely, u may have to wait a while b4 it can happen.
general public don actual use more than 10M in day-to-day surfing.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.