PDA

View Full Version : lousy 2wire modem

nicekit
10-10-2009, 12:09 PM
The modem that comes with the singnet subscribe is horrible.in terms of reliability

I have been with singnet for couple of years now
Those modem never fails to break down nearing a year of usage or after a year of usage when the warranty is out

And what's frustrated me the most is that they only open monday to friday and ezpext u to take half a day off to do this

Hello it is a service center at an ulu place (no bus go into that road) and no mrt around and odd timing.

I am so switching
Very fedup with this service and the wonders that singnet still choose malifax with thse kind of service

nicekit
10-10-2009, 12:27 PM
It seems like the power adapter goes bonker again

It always the power adapter

ohmygod1986
10-10-2009, 12:35 PM
U on 24/7 right :s22:

tungsten2
10-10-2009, 12:38 PM
Yes, kindly pls switch ASAP !!! and don't turn back if possible !!!! hahah.....
The pasture is always greener at the other side.
The power adapter is already a known issue wat.

aaur4man
10-10-2009, 01:07 PM
nicekit just buy a non 2wire and ur good to go.

liangtam
10-10-2009, 06:19 PM
Then u buy another power adapter from sim lim etc lor, sho simple.

Techno Pride
10-10-2009, 06:25 PM
Strange. If I sell something that breaks down months down the road, I'll get my ass kicked. Why is there no anger over the power adaptors that fail? Am I living in a different world from the rest of you?

krazyman
10-10-2009, 06:52 PM
Strange. If I sell something that breaks down months down the road, I'll get my ass kicked. Why is there no anger over the power adaptors that fail? Am I living in a different world from the rest of you?

Fan boys' opinions are bias maybe? :s13:

mexuswch
10-10-2009, 08:37 PM
Then u buy another power adapter from sim lim etc lor, sho simple.
How much is the adapter?
Which shop in sim lim selling it?

aaur4man
10-10-2009, 09:35 PM
anything from cheap to ex. its sim lim after all.

nicekit
10-10-2009, 10:47 PM
How much is the adapter?
Which shop in sim lim selling it?

I also want to know but they always do this

Suggest something that u dunno where to search

thiamhui
10-10-2009, 11:04 PM
:sad: The AC Adapter of my modem just died a moment ago.

Want to go hunting at Sim Lim together? =:p

evilster
10-10-2009, 11:08 PM
The modem that comes with the singnet subscribe is horrible.in terms of reliability

I have been with singnet for couple of years now
Those modem never fails to break down nearing a year of usage or after a year of usage when the warranty is out

And what's frustrated me the most is that they only open monday to friday and ezpext u to take half a day off to do this

Hello it is a service center at an ulu place (no bus go into that road) and no mrt around and odd timing.

I am so switching
Very fedup with this service and the wonders that singnet still choose malifax with thse kind of service

got new mrt by circle line lah nxt year no more transport problems

liangtam
10-10-2009, 11:37 PM
aiyo, jus go tower walk walk can already what. Or square backlane oso can.
As for price, see how u haggle lor

luv_boa
10-10-2009, 11:40 PM
wat modem? 2701 ? mai scare me sia . mine coming soon sia :eek::eek:

mexuswch
10-10-2009, 11:43 PM
aiyo, jus go tower walk walk can already what. Or square backlane oso can.
As for price, see how u haggle lor
Whats a reasonable price for the power adapter for 2wire 2700HGV?

liangtam
10-10-2009, 11:54 PM
Onli 2700 so far.
2701 bigger brick still got the cheap mic look tho.
Whats a reasonable price for the power adapter for 2wire 2700HGV?

3A one less common, wont be cheap tho(even if the manufacture cost is). I onli know low current multivoltage can get for $6 tho.

nicekit
11-10-2009, 12:30 AM

Yeah
I had the old 2701 also adapter died
This one is the white one 2701 HGV
Also died
Less than a year lor

nicekit
11-10-2009, 12:32 AM
Onli 2700 so far.
2701 bigger brick still got the cheap mic look tho.

3A one less common, wont be cheap tho(even if the manufacture cost is). I onli know low current multivoltage can get for $6 tho.

Oh 6 dollar? Cheaper than cab fare lor

nicekit
11-10-2009, 12:35 AM
:sad: The AC Adapter of my modem just died a moment ago.

Want to go hunting at Sim Lim together? =:p

Sure I will be at bugis area tomolo around 130 b4 I go to gym. PM me if u want to hunt together

junkai21
11-10-2009, 12:50 AM
2wire sarks loh ... keeps breaking down. Lucky i changed to another cheap one, Shiro, cheap and works great after 1.5 years . Not even once break down
!

liangtam
11-10-2009, 12:56 AM
Oh 6 dollar? Cheaper than cab fare lor

No, onli low current ones.
Yours is need high current, will cost few times more

missotah
11-10-2009, 09:52 AM
go sim lim tower instead of sim lim square to get power adapter. cheaper.

tungsten2
11-10-2009, 10:17 AM
Fan boys' opinions are bias maybe? :s13:

You ought to give yourself 2 tight slap on your face, krazyman.

You just shown yourself to be a despicable opinionated crazy pig, trying to set a flame here.

If you don't have something concret to say down here, shut up and don't open that big fat mouth of yours.

It just show how shallow, or hollow a person you are without depth and bearings.

All the Bros down here are trying to give something concret to TS EXCEPT you.

TS has already mentioned the lousy 2wire power adapter have reliability issue and broken down within months of using. So what is the next logical step ? To continue to get the lousy 2wire and get frustrated or get something more reliable then the lousy 2wire.

Ans :None. TS is thirsting for a switch.

Some 60 months ago, I was a Green camper user, I made a switch to the Red Camp and have since never turn back. I realise that the pasture is really greener and was glad that my hard earned money was well spent.

So TS, if you really want to switch, you have my blessings to switch.
If you don't switch you will never experience 1st hand whether the other side is pasture is really greener. Be it Green camp or Orange Camp or whatever Camp.

My words may sound harsh but that is my personal experience.
NOT LIKE SOME EMPTY VESSELS THAT MAKE A LOT OF NOISE !!!!:s13:

aaur4man
11-10-2009, 10:41 AM
if adapter more than $30, can consider buy a new 3rd party adsl router.

it should be around $25 years ago. but damn big and obviously MIC

nicekit
11-10-2009, 12:56 PM

You just shown yourself to be a despicable opinionated crazy pig, trying to set a flame here.

If you don't have something concret to say down here, shut up and don't open that big fat mouth of yours.

It just show how shallow, or hollow a person you are without depth and bearings.

TS has already mentioned the lousy 2wire power adapter have reliability issue and broken down within months of using. So what is the next logical step ? To continue to get the lousy 2wire and get frustrated or get something more reliable then the lousy 2wire.

Some 60 months ago, I was a Green camper user, I made a switch to the Red Camp and have since never turn back. I realise that the pasture is really greener and was glad that my hard earned money was well spent.

If you don't switch you will never experience 1st hand whether the other side is pasture is really greener. Be it Green camp or Orange Camp or whatever Camp.

Thanks for the comment

I would like to highlight

That my frustration is on the 2wire which is unreliable and the service centre only open from monday to friday

The only problem is the lousy adapter

What do u use?

nicekit
11-10-2009, 12:59 PM
2wire sarks loh ... keeps breaking down. Lucky i changed to another cheap one, Shiro, cheap and works great after 1.5 years . Not even once break down
!

Is it a wireless adsl router?

How much is it?

lankileong
11-10-2009, 04:01 PM
nicekit. u really have to blame yourself.

The adapters would only be faulty if you switch on your mio modem for 24hrs a day.
as for me, i have no problems with the adaptor. Been using the 2700/2 for mere 2yrs and the 2701/E for a year also no problem, it because i switch off power when i am out/not using.

i noe the adapter is expensive, but could u imagine, if user want to switch on long, u will have to bear the costs. dun blame the modem/adapter.

use your brain and think, if you function something for a day, things will fail as it is warm.
Electronics are all like that one, u can't expect something to work equally well all the time.
adapters also has a spanlife mahx...

u need to think, bank also dun operate 24hrs a day, 7 days a week, same goes to svc ctr.
u can't expect ppl to accomodate u, think!!

ulu?? is u dun borther to check the map b4 u go down.
i used to have a no brand mp3, faulty, i also go and repair, someplace in kallang ind park.
by the way, i think i noe what company u refering to.

its at the main road of upp paya lebar n macp. many bus pass them. burdoos!!

krazyman
11-10-2009, 06:15 PM

LOL

So big reaction, must have hit the nail on its head.:s22::s13:

nicekit
11-10-2009, 06:38 PM

The adapters would only be faulty if you switch on your mio modem for 24hrs a day.
as for me, i have no problems with the adaptor. Been using the 2700/2 for mere 2yrs and the 2701/E for a year also no problem, it because i switch off power when i am out/not using.

i noe the adapter is expensive, but could u imagine, if user want to switch on long, u will have to bear the costs. dun blame the modem/adapter.

use your brain and think, if you function something for a day, things will fail as it is warm.
Electronics are all like that one, u can't expect something to work equally well all the time.

u need to think, bank also dun operate 24hrs a day, 7 days a week, same goes to svc ctr.

i used to have a no brand mp3, faulty, i also go and repair, someplace in kallang ind park.

let's compare....

Starhub cable modem ...
who switch off? anybody?
now Singtel..
anybody actually switch off their ADSL modem?? anybody??

btw this is a router modem..
is it a dialup modem? which era do u live in?

and yes bank do not operate 24/7
my downstairs have a bank...
have 24hours atm ...
and is any of the bank located at ulu place?

main road?
please correct me if i am wrong
the bus actually stop at MAIN ROAD..
then u walk all the way into fairplay road..
u mean it stop in front of LHK? i dont think so... stop misleading ppl
i have been to the place.. so i know.. this is not the first time the adapter break down..

nicekit
11-10-2009, 06:41 PM
anyway went to search for a power adapter
12v with 2.2A is not found anywhere.. :O

and the adapter will cost like 30-40 if available
so..
i just get a TP-LINK for 69 dollar..

up and running now..

aaur4man
11-10-2009, 07:33 PM
u can find a higher A one ma.

i have a 12v but think is 3A. just that the plug has been mod to accomodate other port.

have to buy the standard size to mod it back .

yea standalone power adapters arent cheap.

thiamhui
11-10-2009, 08:38 PM
I managed to find a 5V 3A adapter. Cost me S$18. See how long it can last.

mexuswch
11-10-2009, 08:56 PM
I managed to get a 2nd hand 2wire 2700HGV-2 (full package) for $15 two months ago. So getting a $18 power adapter is rather expensive.

aaur4man
11-10-2009, 09:23 PM
thats cheap, sold that for $50 lol.

nicekit
11-10-2009, 11:01 PM
I managed to get a 2nd hand 2wire 2700HGV-2 (full package) for $15 two months ago. So getting a $18 power adapter is rather expensive.

that's very cheap lor :P

nicekit
11-10-2009, 11:01 PM
I managed to find a 5V 3A adapter. Cost me S$18. See how long it can last.

how come urs is 5V 3A one?

mine is 12V 2.2A one leh

luv_boa
12-10-2009, 12:00 AM
Yeah
I had the old 2701 also adapter died
This one is the white one 2701 HGV
Also died
Less than a year lor

both is also 2701???

my 2700 no prob, but i dun on 24hrs thou

lankileong
12-10-2009, 12:39 AM
let's compare....

Starhub cable modem ...
who switch off? anybody?
now Singtel..
anybody actually switch off their ADSL modem?? anybody??

btw this is a router modem..
is it a dialup modem? which era do u live in?

and yes bank do not operate 24/7
my downstairs have a bank...
have 24hours atm ...
and is any of the bank located at ulu place?

main road?
please correct me if i am wrong
the bus actually stop at MAIN ROAD..
then u walk all the way into fairplay road..
u mean it stop in front of LHK? i dont think so... stop misleading ppl
i have been to the place.. so i know.. this is not the first time the adapter break down..

i may sound harsh, but this is my views to it.
if u think what they sell is ex, might as well go compare in sim lim/funan.
not happy with modem, can change unless u dun use mio tv/voice. thre are so many good brands out there: linksys, prolink, aztech, thomson, siemens...
or might as well switch telco.
maybe it greener over the other side.

it is at upp paya lebar, nearest bustop is about 300m away.

liangtam
12-10-2009, 10:56 AM

unfortunately, your explanation wont cut it.
the adapters are supposed to function 24/7. Many other alternative brand's supplied ones has done it

Why not just admit that 2Wire supplies your company cheapo MIC power adapter

seeyourhead_jiejie
12-10-2009, 11:02 AM

my 2700 running 24/7 for around 2 years liao cos i am using mio voice, cannot off it.
no problem at all so far.

aaur4man
12-10-2009, 05:14 PM
supposed to 24/7 what. dont tell me ur mio voice only function during office hours.

but idea leh at night sleep can switch off if dont want disturbance.

seeyourhead_jiejie
12-10-2009, 05:16 PM
supposed to 24/7 what. dont tell me ur mio voice only function during office hours.

but idea leh at night sleep can switch off if dont want disturbance.
ya la.. tats y i say no problem with me ma..
not like whaat lankileong said..
"The adapters would only be faulty if you switch on your mio modem for 24hrs a da"

mexuswch
12-10-2009, 05:20 PM
Actually, the 2wire router/modem is quite ok lah. I've one which I used for more than four years without any problems, but recently power adapter spoil because I dropped it accidentally. That's why I got a 2nd hand one as a replacement.

max007007
12-10-2009, 09:00 PM
anyway went to search for a power adapter
12v with 2.2A is not found anywhere.. :O

and the adapter will cost like 30-40 if available
so..
i just get a TP-LINK for 69 dollar..

up and running now..
OT~ hows the TP-Link one caompared to the 2wire?
I thought of switching my 2wire to other brand but dunno which one is good

nicekit
14-10-2009, 01:31 AM
OT~ hows the TP-Link one caompared to the 2wire?
I thought of switching my 2wire to other brand but dunno which one is good

well up and running in 5 mins
the setup and the firewall setting so simple.. even i never seen the interface

i choose this brand cuz it is once of the cheapest

the come second brand that i might choose is linksys
there's another brand.. but it slip my mind at the moment
and d-link is like triple the price at 160+ :O