PDA

View Full Version : Arsenal FC - Ashburton Grove

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231

Mankul
01-12-2003, 01:05 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

I take offense everytime you qoute me. :alien:

FLiNcHY
01-12-2003, 01:48 AM
Fark!!! I missed the match and overslept!!

Look what happened!!
GOALESS DRAW!!
Now chelsea will be first!

swalk21
01-12-2003, 02:00 AM
yr fault

Mankul
01-12-2003, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY
Fark!!! I missed the match and overslept!!

Look what happened!!
GOALESS DRAW!!
Now chelsea will be first!

oh shuddup.

FLiNcHY
01-12-2003, 02:29 AM
Originally posted by swalk21
yr fault

Why thank you:laugh:

swalk21
01-12-2003, 09:03 AM

Why thank you:laugh:

:mad:

deathblade
01-12-2003, 09:27 AM
drop pts liao still laugh!!:mad:

Souljer
01-12-2003, 10:05 AM
Volz should reali improve his defending and endurance. Dunno how many times he kena turned inside out by the combined trickery and speed of Pires, Henry and Cole. The commentator remarked that Volz's legs had turned to jelly as if he had jus ran a marathon.

Cole's 50m crossfield pass to Bergy was superb! :eek: Definitely worth a second look. Shades of Frank De Boer's pass to Bergy during WC98. Too bad Bergy couldn't converted the pass. :(

Cheers guyz, at least Manyoo suffered another defeat. No prob in beating Chelski away. When it comes to the one and only REAL pride of london, we're the real deal. ;)

Jango
01-12-2003, 10:07 AM
knn:mad: let down by poor finishing:mad: I don't think EvS was outstanding. Most shots either went straight to him or lack power. And almost kanna sucker punch near the end.:mad:

Souljer
01-12-2003, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by Jango
knn:mad: let down by poor finishing:mad: I don't think EvS was outstanding. Most shots either went straight to him or lack power. And almost kanna sucker punch near the end.:mad:

Agreed. We were like taking potshots at EVS. See the goalmouth and whacked the ball irregardless of the gk's positioning.

Jango
01-12-2003, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by Souljer
Cole's 50m crossfield pass to Bergy was superb! :eek: Definitely worth a second look. Shades of Frank De Boer's pass to Bergy during WC98. Too bad Bergy couldn't converted the pass. :(

It only proved Fulham has weak fullbacks. Against teams of higher quality, all those long passes would have been cut out completely. I can't believe the number of successfully long passes we had especially on the left. Even Campbell's long pass to Henry went through.

Jango
01-12-2003, 10:19 AM

Agreed. We were like taking potshots at EVS. See the goalmouth and whacked the ball irregardless of the gk's positioning.

yeah...thats a problem when we completely dominate games. It gives the team false impression that the goal is just a matter of time. End up lacking sharpness and sloppy finishing. The complete domination also resulted in over-elaborate setup due to over-complacency. Hope the team learns the lesson.

Consolation last night was seeing SAF farking grim face after losing to Chelski!:D

FLiNcHY
01-12-2003, 10:57 AM
Don't you see that this is good for us?

Teams that lead in December never end up winning the premiership.

So chelsea can hold the lead while they can now. They'll be crying in May:laugh:

And we're still Undefeated!!

I'm silently hoping it stays that way till May, then Wenger can come out and say," I never Tua Kang this time"

deathblade
01-12-2003, 11:23 AM
Don't you see that this is good for us?

Teams that lead in December never end up winning the premiership.

So chelsea can hold the lead while they can now. They'll be crying in May:laugh:

And we're still Undefeated!!

I'm silently hoping it stays that way till May, then Wenger can come out and say," I never Tua Kang this time"

The Nike commercial..... that one wif the song " always look on the bright side of life..... whistle whistle one..." Dun need all the clips of the athletes... just put ur face can liao....=p

FLiNcHY
01-12-2003, 11:54 AM
Of course!

While Man utd got thrashed 3-1 at home, we drew 0-0
While Chelsea beat Man utd 1-0, we beat them 2-1

We are the best!!

Jango
01-12-2003, 12:00 PM
hopeless lah u...:rolleyes:

:laugh:

deathblade
01-12-2003, 12:59 PM
Gay amd hopeless....

FLiNcHY
01-12-2003, 01:16 PM
amd is a processor, sorry:alien:

ralph
01-12-2003, 05:27 PM

noticed his follow-up after the pass..he hit the ball with so muc swerve and bend!!
easily the pass of the game..

imo..such long diagonal passes with tt kind of accuracy is almost impossible to defend, bear in mind its not those "up n under" pass tt you see at S-league etc.

you hv seen those during WC.
only problem is delivering them consistently.

Gunners attacks was so overwhelming...
the match in a nutshell...brilliant passing+bad finishing. sigh.

Souljer
01-12-2003, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by ralph

noticed his follow-up after the pass..he hit the ball with so muc swerve and bend!!
easily the pass of the game..

imo..such long diagonal passes with tt kind of accuracy is almost impossible to defend, bear in mind its not those "up n under" pass tt you see at S-league etc.

you hv seen those during WC.
only problem is delivering them consistently.

Gunners attacks was so overwhelming...
the match in a nutshell...brilliant passing+bad finishing. sigh.

Hope that Cole can deliver such crosses consistently. We need more good crossers as we tend to dribble and pass our way into the penalty box.

FLiNcHY
03-12-2003, 07:07 AM
We destroyed wolves!!
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=131567&cc=5901

Aliadiere scored twice, the second a superb goal!

Vieira played the full match and bossed midfield

The arsenal engine is gearing into full force

RUMBLE RUMBLE, Chelsea will tumble!

FLiNcHY
03-12-2003, 07:09 AM
Wenger on Aliadiere:

...on Jeremie Aliadiere
"He scored an Henry goal tonight. He has been injured for two years but since August 1 he has made steps forward. He has a lot of movement and is sharp. He put in a lot of hard work tonight."

swalk21
03-12-2003, 10:06 AM
yah another win in the league cup .the best new is paddy is back:bounce:

deathblade
03-12-2003, 10:33 AM
Yeah.. when Vieira is back, Henry's load will be lightened considerable... he is like the leadership figure now... Mr Arsenal... taken over Ian Wright and Adams

Kiwi8
03-12-2003, 11:27 AM
Wow..... the reserves romp! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Souljer
03-12-2003, 11:49 AM
Wolves are as good as Inter or shld i say Inter is as bad as Wolves. =p

FLiNcHY
03-12-2003, 12:00 PM
Am i the only one dreaming of a Henry-Aliadiere striking partnership?

That kid is like 10 times better than francis jeffers=p

Mankul
03-12-2003, 01:30 PM
Aliadiere haven't impress me when I watch him play...

Mankul
03-12-2003, 01:38 PM
http://www.arsenal.com/images/reserves/fabregas.jpg

Francesc Fabregas Soler became the youngest Arsenal player to feature in a first-team match when, aged 16 years 177 days, he started the Carling Cup tie against Rotherham at Highbury on October 28, 2003. It broke the record held by Jermaine Pennant, who made his debut aged 16 years 319 days in the same competition nearly four years earlier.

Fabregas, who is also known as Cesc, is a midfield playmaker who signed from Barcelona in October after helping Spain reach the final of the Under-18 World Cup. He was selected as the Player of the Tournament and also won the Golden Boot as top scorer with six strikes.

Name: Francesc Fabregas
Position: Midfield
Born: Vilessoc de Mar, Spain, May 4 1987
Joined Arsenal: October 2003

Sylvain Wiltord and Cesc Fabregas completed the rout for Arsene Wenger's youth-packed side - seven of tonight's starting line-up numbered only 13 first-team appearances between them - with Fabregas becoming the Gunners' youngest ever goalscorer.

Hey.. this guy could be BIG... look at his credentials :eek:

FLiNcHY
03-12-2003, 02:46 PM
No use pinning your hopes on him

He'll run back to spain sooner or later

The motherland calls

deathblade
03-12-2003, 07:39 PM
Dude wat happened to ur optimism?

RipperJack
03-12-2003, 07:51 PM
Originally posted by Mankul
http://www.arsenal.com/images/reserves/fabregas.jpg

Francesc Fabregas Soler became the youngest Arsenal player to feature in a first-team match when, aged 16 years 177 days, he started the Carling Cup tie against Rotherham at Highbury on October 28, 2003. It broke the record held by Jermaine Pennant, who made his debut aged 16 years 319 days in the same competition nearly four years earlier.

Fabregas, who is also known as Cesc, is a midfield playmaker who signed from Barcelona in October after helping Spain reach the final of the Under-18 World Cup. He was selected as the Player of the Tournament and also won the Golden Boot as top scorer with six strikes.

Name: Francesc Fabregas
Position: Midfield
Born: Vilessoc de Mar, Spain, May 4 1987
Joined Arsenal: October 2003

Hey.. this guy could be BIG... look at his credentials :eek: i'm pinning high hopes on the boy too :D

FLiNcHY
04-12-2003, 12:07 AM
Originally posted by deathblade
Dude wat happened to ur optimism? My optimism lies with aliadiere

just back from injury, thus taking time to hit top form

Wenger's giving him more games to play, he'll show us what he can do

deathblade
04-12-2003, 01:03 AM
Ya he's coring too.... that will build up his confidence..... haha Jeffers totally zo bo lan in Everton......

Mankul
04-12-2003, 01:23 AM
My optimism lies with aliadiere

just back from injury, thus taking time to hit top form

Wenger's giving him more games to play, he'll show us what he can do

I only heard from people that he's good... I have yet to see him play well with my eyes... maybe he only play well when I'm not watching...

FLiNcHY
04-12-2003, 04:16 AM
Well he outsprinted intermilan's defender, out muscled him, dribbled all the way to toldo and calmly slotted it unselfishly to pires to score

Any young striker would have tried to score for personal glory already

That's the potential right there

His second goal against wolves was a sprint from the half way line:rolleyes: That's a henry goal right there

Mankul
04-12-2003, 04:21 AM
Well he outsprinted intermilan's defender, out muscled him, dribbled all the way to toldo and calmly slotted it unselfishly to pires to score

Any young striker would have tried to score for personal glory already

That's the potential right there

His second goal against wolves was a sprint from the half way line:rolleyes: That's a henry goal right there

the Milan goal wasn't impressive...

the league cup goal... yo usaw it on tele? where?!?!??! I didn't see it... WHERE?!?!??!??!?! I want the clip.

FLiNcHY
04-12-2003, 05:27 AM
No but everyone is writing it out to be damn power

Go read the BBC forums and the british blokes there are suddenly raving about him because of that goal

Jango
06-12-2003, 05:41 PM
To let this thread reach 3rd page is a sin.

:bounce:

NO LIVE TELECAST TONIGHT.:mad: :mad: :mad:

FLiNcHY
07-12-2003, 01:20 AM
Friggin last kick of the game:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

cracker
07-12-2003, 01:23 AM
Cole's challenge was uncalled for !!!

deserved the red card.s

Alienz
07-12-2003, 01:24 AM
Originally posted by cracker
Cole's challenge was uncalled for !!!

deserved the red card.s
Lets wait and see what Wenger had to say......

cracker
07-12-2003, 01:25 AM
Originally posted by Alienz

he mumbled sth during the post match review....the std ans.." the referee must have his own reason in doing so...."

Alienz
07-12-2003, 01:44 AM
Originally posted by cracker

he mumbled sth during the post match review....the std ans.." the referee must have his own reason in doing so...." :eek:

leoch037
07-12-2003, 02:13 AM
i feel that cole deserved the red card, it was a dangerous tackle afterall

not another late late goal conceded, i still can't forget that goal conceded at the reebok stadium against bolton that virtually ended our title hopes last season

FLiNcHY
07-12-2003, 02:23 AM
Relax,top 3 only 2 points apart

Now is not the time to make a title charge

Come new year, watch arsenal surge:)

Kiwi8
07-12-2003, 02:50 AM

Wenger never fails to have very interesting things to say. ;)

Alienz
07-12-2003, 03:13 AM
Arsenal's manager Arsene Wenger argues with Kolo Toure at the final whistle :eek:

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/xp/empics/20031206/18/1878946273.jpg

Souljer
07-12-2003, 03:26 AM
I heard Pennant's goal for Leeds was damn solid. Anyone saw it and can describle?

swalk21
07-12-2003, 08:23 AM
bad news . henry might not even make in on wed vital clash :(

stupid cole ,i think he really hate that spur whore very much to launch a two footed tackle :bounce: i support him.

haiz , slipping at the last min .well :rolleyes: at least we extend our unbeatable run again.;)

Mankul
07-12-2003, 11:02 PM
ok I just came back from KL over the weekend... what happened ah?

Mankul
07-12-2003, 11:10 PM
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/afc/Henry_SB.jpg

Henry: 'Arsenal is my paradise'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=285429&cc=4716

Arsenal striker Thierry Henry has claimed he would never leave Highbury for another Premiership club and has no intention of moving abroad.

The Gunners' French star has been the subject of rumours linking him with Real Madrid but he is happy in London and wants to stay.

Henry, once mentioned as a possible Chelsea target, also insists that Arsenal are the only English club he is interested in playing for.

He told the News of the World: 'I have heard the rumours linking me with Real Madrid but I take no notice.

'I prefer building something with Arsenal, winning the Champions League for the first time with the Gunners would mean making history.

'It's impossible that I could ever wear a Manchester United, Liverpool or Chelsea shirt, or anyone else's. And that's not just talk.

'I can't see myself coming back to Highbury with any other team because Arsenal is my paradise.'

Kiwi8
07-12-2003, 11:11 PM
ok I just came back from KL over the weekend... what happened ah?

Basically Leicester managed to hold Arsenal to a 1-1 draw. Ashley Cole got himself sent off in a two footed tackle.

Souljer
08-12-2003, 11:03 AM
Keeping my fingers crossed for Henry to recover in time for our vital clash against Lokomotiv. :(

Alienz
08-12-2003, 07:10 PM
Howey slams 'Coward' Cole

Leicester defender Steve Howey has hit out at Ashley Cole over the horror tackle which saw the Arsenal full-back sent off at the Walkers Stadium on Saturday.

Cole was dismissed after a two-footed lunge left Foxes star Ben Thatcher writhing in agony and then took a couple of minutes to leave the field as heated exchanges broke out.

Howey told The Sun: 'He's done it a few times. It's a coward's challenge.

'I went across to him, to ask `What's the need for that?' He just mouthed off - which I really wasn't happy about.'

Cole is now set to miss games against Bolton on December 20, Wolves on Boxing Day and Southampton on December 29 if referee Rob Styles confirms that his dismissal was for `serious foul play'.

Gunners boss Arsene Wenger has also pledged to investigate the incident further to see if any internal punishment is warranted.

'We all know two-footed tackles are dangerous and we don't encourage our players to do them,' said Wenger.

'I will have to look at the incident again and decide what we do about it.

'If he wanted to hurt the opponent then that is completely wrong, but it's difficult to say and I will review the tackle on television. My reaction will depend on the intent of the player.'

Cole issued an apology for the reckless challenge, which saw him become the fourth Arsenal player to be dismissed this season and the 53rd under Wenger.

However, his remorse appeared to be more directed at his Arsenal colleagues than the damage he could have done to former Spurs full-back Thatcher.

Cole admitted: 'The tackle was in the heat of the moment. I didn't go over the ball and I didn't mean to hurt Ben Thatcher.

'That being said, however, I did deserve to be sent off and I have apologised to my team-mates and the boss.'

Cole's red card followed previous dismissals for Francis Jeffers, Sol Campbell and Patrick Vieira earlier this season, as well as the melee at Old Trafford in which the full-back was involved.

Arsenal were duly punished for Cole's rash tackle when substitute Craig Hignett struck an equaliser in the third minute of added time to cancel out Gilberto Silva's 61st-minute header.

leoch037
08-12-2003, 11:51 PM
:mad:

if cole is coward, then leicester is wat??? 10 men defense

deathblade
08-12-2003, 11:53 PM
suddenly got people i dunno posting here....... hope they come in peace.........

leoch037
09-12-2003, 12:12 AM
suddenly got people i dunno posting here....... hope they come in peace.........

me arsenal fan since 1989, been reading this thread since the day it was formed, never miss a single post in here, just that i dun post much

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=297&perpage=15&pagenumber=13

p.s. saw the stadium on my avatar, it's not any stadium, it's the stadium that we hoping for, it's the stadium where we r going to win all the honours on, it's Ashburton Grove. (picture taken from arsenal.com)

Mankul
09-12-2003, 12:55 AM
Originally posted by leoch037

me arsenal fan since 1989, been reading this thread since the day it was formed, never miss a single post in here, just that i dun post much

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=297&perpage=15&pagenumber=13

p.s. saw the stadium on my avatar, it's not any stadium, it's the stadium that we hoping for, it's the stadium where we r going to win all the honours on, it's Ashburton Grove. (picture taken from arsenal.com)

contribute to the thread la... be proud to be a gunner.... just don't take Flinchy as an example :D

FLiNcHY
09-12-2003, 02:18 AM
Follow me!Slam all the man utd fans in this board. Save for a few, all of them are whores!!

Alienz
09-12-2003, 02:19 AM
Follow me!Slam all the man utd fans in this board. Save for a few, all of them are whores!! :confused:

deathblade
09-12-2003, 09:38 AM

contribute to the thread la... be proud to be a gunner.... just don't take Flinchy as an example :D

Wahahaha Ouchhhhh....

Er sexual inclination lagi cannot follow...

deathblade
09-12-2003, 09:39 AM
:confused:

Translation for Flinchy's post: " I am gay and i wanna sodomise Man U fans who says nasty stuff about Arsenal.... Be gay like me..."

Hohohohohoho

Jango
09-12-2003, 10:21 AM
Looks like we are going to lose him next season. What a bloody FAN GUAT ZAI.:mad: He's clearly forgotten who trained him to where he is now.

deathblade
09-12-2003, 10:28 AM
Why are we gonna lose him le? Sources?

Alienz
09-12-2003, 11:00 AM
Pennant future up in the air

Jermaine Pennant is waiting to discover whether he will be a Leeds or Arsenal player when the sides meet in the FA Cup third round next month.
Pennant, who scored a wonder goal in Leeds' 1-1 draw with Chelsea on Saturday, is due to end his loan spell from Arsenal on 19 December, but the hope is that the Gunners will again agree to an extension.

However, it is extremely unlikely that he would be allowed to play in the FA Cup.

Pennant was cup-tied for the Carling Cup and although Arsenal allowed him to play against them in the Premiership at Elland Road last month, their charity is not expected to extend to the FA Cup.

Pennant wants to stay at Leeds for as long as possible as they are able to give him the regular first-team football he lacked at Highbury.

He said: "The loan spell keeps getting extended and the more that happens the happier I am going to be because I am playing week in, week out.

"I am giving it my best shot and hopefully I can help Leeds out of the dumps. I have definitely enjoyed my time at Leeds and after taking four points from our last two games we are on a high.

"The more times we play like we did against Charlton and Chelsea the more chance we have of climbing the table.

"We are all like a big family and although I am on loan the things that affect the other players affect me too."

Pennant has scored four goals in his career - three for Arsenal and one for Leeds - and he rates Saturday's goal against Chelsea as the best and most important.

"Eddie Gray said before the game that I should be scoring goals and it was nice to get one against Chelsea," said Pennant.

"I know most of the Chelsea boys, so it was extra special to score against them and the point we took off them helped Arsenal as well. Scoring against Chelsea looks good on your CV."

deathblade
09-12-2003, 09:08 PM
Erm........ he just wanna be given chances to play... to be fair we haven't been giving the yoooung ones enough opportunities........

I hope Clincy will play left back when Cole gets uspended and do well... this will keep Cole on his toes and maybe stop doing stupid stuff........

Usually when we are leading 2 or 3 nil against a weak side wif 20 minutes to go, i wonder why Wenger doesn't sub Aliadiere for Henry... this will rest Henry and expose the young striker....:confused:

Souljer
10-12-2003, 12:41 AM
Let Pennant extend his loan at leeds then. The more playing experience he can accumlate, the better for his future at Arsenal. Wenger is the type who would rather put experience as his main criteria when it comes to the first 11. He'll rather have Wiltord, Parlour and Bergkamp playing as a right-winger if Pires and Ljungberg are out.

More bad news for us....
The FA may consider charging Cole for his two-footed lunge even though the lad has been sent off and banned for 3 matches. Issn't that punishment enuff??!! This seems to be a great injustice when considering that Steven Gerrard will not be punished for his two-footed tackle on Nolberto Solano during Liverpool's 1-1 draw with Newcastle on Saturday however. Where's the bloody consistency?! :mad:

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1102570,00.html

Kiwi8
10-12-2003, 12:54 AM
Pennant future up in the air

Jermaine Pennant is waiting to discover whether he will be a Leeds or Arsenal player when the sides meet in the FA Cup third round next month.
Pennant, who scored a wonder goal in Leeds' 1-1 draw with Chelsea on Saturday, is due to end his loan spell from Arsenal on 19 December, but the hope is that the Gunners will again agree to an extension.

However, it is extremely unlikely that he would be allowed to play in the FA Cup.

Pennant was cup-tied for the Carling Cup and although Arsenal allowed him to play against them in the Premiership at Elland Road last month, their charity is not expected to extend to the FA Cup.

Pennant wants to stay at Leeds for as long as possible as they are able to give him the regular first-team football he lacked at Highbury.

He said: "The loan spell keeps getting extended and the more that happens the happier I am going to be because I am playing week in, week out.

"I am giving it my best shot and hopefully I can help Leeds out of the dumps. I have definitely enjoyed my time at Leeds and after taking four points from our last two games we are on a high.

"The more times we play like we did against Charlton and Chelsea the more chance we have of climbing the table.

"We are all like a big family and although I am on loan the things that affect the other players affect me too."

Pennant has scored four goals in his career - three for Arsenal and one for Leeds - and he rates Saturday's goal against Chelsea as the best and most important.

"Eddie Gray said before the game that I should be scoring goals and it was nice to get one against Chelsea," said Pennant.

"I know most of the Chelsea boys, so it was extra special to score against them and the point we took off them helped Arsenal as well. Scoring against Chelsea looks good on your CV."

Pennant is doing well at Leeds, and it is good for him to remain there if that means he will get to play regular first team football. I can see that by the time he comes back to Arsenal with well-honed skills from Leeds, he will be devastating against other teams! :eek:

Kiwi8
10-12-2003, 12:55 AM
Let Pennant extend his loan at leeds then. The more playing experience he can accumlate, the better for his future at Arsenal. Wenger is the type who would rather put experience as his main criteria when it comes to the first 11. He'll rather have Wiltord, Parlour and Bergkamp playing as a right-winger if Pires and Ljungberg are out.

More bad news for us....
The FA may consider charging Cole for his two-footed lunge even though the lad has been sent off and banned for 3 matches. Issn't that punishment enuff??!! This seems to be a great injustice when considering that Steven Gerrard will not be punished for his two-footed tackle on Nolberto Solano during Liverpool's 1-1 draw with Newcastle on Saturday however. Where's the bloody consistency?! :mad:

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1102570,00.html

I guess the hooligan behavior at Old Trafford is still very much in the FA officials' minds, which is why they may want to make an example of Cole.

deathblade
10-12-2003, 12:56 AM
Even if he insist to leave, his presence at Leeds will be a form of promotional advert.... this will jack up his price.....

Alienz
10-12-2003, 01:14 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

Pennant is doing well at Leeds, and it is good for him to remain there if that means he will get to play regular first team football. I can see that by the time he comes back to Arsenal with well-honed skills from Leeds, he will be devastating against other teams! :eek: Agree...... Arsenal should extend the loan so that he can play regular.... he is been doing well in Leeds

Mankul
10-12-2003, 04:55 AM
http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2003-12-09-16-30-22.html

This article makes a lot of sense.... and I fully agree that we should sign Rivaldo if we want to win the Champions League.....

but I dunno whether Rivaldo is cup-tied for the competition... can anyone check?

If he's not... then I really think we should sign him....

Mankul
10-12-2003, 04:58 AM
I havne't seen pennant's goal.. anyone have the clip?

Souljer
10-12-2003, 11:58 AM
http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2003-12-09-16-30-22.html

This article makes a lot of sense.... and I fully agree that we should sign Rivaldo if we want to win the Champions League.....

but I dunno whether Rivaldo is cup-tied for the competition... can anyone check?

If he's not... then I really think we should sign him....

Good for CL, but for Premier League; might be a different story. Dunno whether he can take the strain of playing in the hustle and bustle style of EPL.

One thing for sure if we sign Rivaldo: we will *LOL* have the best Oscar-winning bunch of thespians/players in the league. :D

Mankul
10-12-2003, 03:11 PM

Good for CL, but for Premier League; might be a different story. Dunno whether he can take the strain of playing in the hustle and bustle style of EPL.

One thing for sure if we sign Rivaldo: we will *LOL* have the best Oscar-winning bunch of thespians/players in the league. :D

oscar performances is an exageration to me... it part of the game... only people who watch it find it absurd.... I've got no problems with it...

Souljer
10-12-2003, 03:40 PM

oscar performances is an exageration to me... it part of the game... only people who watch it find it absurd.... I've got no problems with it...

Relax dude....I was just having a indirect dig at those outsiders' remarks about us being a cheating team. Anyway, u got to admit Rivaldo's theatrics at WC2002 is too extreme. If he ever tries that again in the EPL with us, I dun think I can support him no matter how good his skills are. :cool:

Kiwi8
10-12-2003, 03:56 PM

I have a problem with oscar performances. If Arsenal players do it, I'll condemn the Arsenal players. If Man U players do it, I'll condemn the Man U players. If Chelsea players do it, I'll condemn the Chelsea players too!

:bounce:

RipperJack
10-12-2003, 04:05 PM

Relax dude....I was just having a indirect dig at those outsiders' remarks about us being a cheating team. Anyway, u got to admit Rivaldo's theatrics at WC2002 is too extreme. If he ever tries that again in the EPL with us, I dun think I can support him no matter how good his skills are. :cool: another rivaldo-hater in the making..... i hope he'll never joing EPL :mad:

Jango
10-12-2003, 04:10 PM
I will support him if he can get RVN sent off.:mad: :mad: :mad:

Bite me.:mad:

Mankul
10-12-2003, 04:37 PM
actually... if you really notice... 80% of people who come down at EPL... are already oscar winning performances... better than Rivaldo... so much better that you think its real.... Rivaldo's Performance... can't win an Oscar.... why?... cos its too obvious... it can't convince you that it looks real... get it?

Mankul
10-12-2003, 11:45 PM
Eh... tonight's match what time?... btw... post match happenings here later. :D

Kiwi8
10-12-2003, 11:58 PM
Eh... tonight's match what time?... btw... post match happenings here later. :D

It'll be shown at 3.30AM later. (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=624269)

Mankul
11-12-2003, 03:44 AM
wah!!!! full streaght power la!!! GO ARSENAL!!!

Mankul
11-12-2003, 03:46 AM
vieiraaaaaa oooh oooh oohh ohhh!!!

Mankul
11-12-2003, 03:58 AM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HENRY ASSIST AGAIN!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

Pires scores!!!

Mankul
11-12-2003, 05:37 AM
lungberg scored.. Henry asists... Henry is incredible...

FLiNcHY
11-12-2003, 07:15 AM
His first assist was good, his second was insane

a measured volley into the onrushing ljungberg's pass

I think he and Bergkamp have been gaying it out in training man!

deathblade
11-12-2003, 08:21 AM
hehe qualified liao........ woohoo

FLiNcHY
11-12-2003, 08:39 AM
hehe qualified liao........ woohoo

I got both the clips thanks to Mankul

He provided live commentary on icq too

better than soccernet man!!
two minutes after he told me ljunberg scored the second, then soccernet live commentary write it down:laugh: :laugh:

swalk21
11-12-2003, 09:02 AM
MIRACLE :laugh: we done a houdini

swalk21
11-12-2003, 09:06 AM
just can't be bother to reply to other threads .totally crappy stuff from non arsenal fans.:rolleyes:

Jango
11-12-2003, 10:14 AM
This is the first time the boys displayed the same level of confidence in Champs League like in the EPL. Somehow the 1-5 mauling of Inter cured the mental block that has plagued the team for so long! A very good sign of things to come.

The team seems to be peaking right now at every dept. Pires and Ljunberg are reaching the form when we won the double two seasons ago. Lehmann and Toure is getting better with every game.

Rumour has it that AW is trying to sign a new striker in Jan. I was hoping we get a defender instead. We seriously lack cover. Aliadiere should fit in perfectly as Henry's strike partner.

deathblade
11-12-2003, 04:25 PM

I got both the clips thanks to Mankul

He provided live commentary on icq too

better than soccernet man!!
two minutes after he told me ljunberg scored the second, then soccernet live commentary write it down:laugh: :laugh:

U never watched? No wonder we won....:D

deathblade
11-12-2003, 04:27 PM
Now to get our premiership quest back on line....

Mankul
11-12-2003, 04:51 PM
Toure can shoot! (http://www.mankul.purehub.com/dk2.mpg) :eek:

but he can't finish (http://mankul.purehub.com/dk3.mpg) .... :(

trinoo
12-12-2003, 12:50 AM
Arsenal 2-0 Lokomotiv Moscow - Player Ratings
Posted by Jonathan Creedy | 11 Dec 2003

Lehmann - The energetic German keeper had very little to do in the first half but in the second, he was tested by a few free-kicks and he coped well. He saved easily when Winston Parks went through on goal, and his distribution was of a good standard. 7/10

Toure - He looked comfortable throughout the game, defending well as usual and getting forward enthusiastically from time to time. He maybe should have scored early in the second half, but sliced his shot high and wide. Nevertheless, this was another solid performance from the powerful youngster, which leaves us fans with the question: will Lauren regain his place? 7.5/10

Cygan - The French centre-back enjoyed another assured game. His distribution, as I have said before, is sublime, and he is equally commanding in the air. He has now rid himself of the dangerous habit of ball-watching and seems to have adapted to the English game. Having said that, he was barely troubled by a negative performance from Lokomotiv but is likely to retain his place for Sunday’s game against Blackburn. 7/10

Campbell - This was an easy game for the England international. He was strong in the tackle, using his body-weight to his own advantage on several occasions. Fortunately, he was not called upon to pass the ball long out of defence and always had enough time to just keep it simple. 7/10

Cole - The young left-back bounced back after his nightmare on the weekend, playing with composure and flair. He got forward well down the left, crossing dangerously once or twice. However, like the whole defence, he had very little to do defensively last night. 7.5/10

Vieira - The world-class midfielder showed the Highbury faithful that he is well on the way to recovery. He did look slightly rusty as this was only his second game since a long-term injury, but he was still among our best performers on the night. He made numerous important tackles and interceptions, his passing was accurate and he looked good on the ball. He also did well to maintain his discipline having been booked in the 14th minute. He did not drive forward at pace when there was space in front of him and his work-rate was maybe not up to his usual standard, but he will surely soon be back to his very best. 8/10

Gilberto - As you might have guessed from my previous reports, I am not Gilberto’s biggest fan. In this game though, he played very well. His passing was fine and his tackling was more committed and successful than usual. I think the game suited his style as Lokomotiv hardly pressured the Arsenal midfield at all, and he had all the time in the world to pass it around. I am still yet to be convinced that he is better than either Edu or Parlour, but last night’s game was impressive. 7.5/10

Pires - This was another good game for the mercurial French midfielder, who is beginning to show more consistency in his performances. He turned and ran at the Lokomotiv defence many times and they seemed to fear his skill and pace. The defensive side of his game is certainly improving also and he made one uncharacteristic sliding tackle in front of the East Stand. His first touch to set up the goal was excellent and his near-post finish was ruthless. 7.5/10

Ljungberg - Our SuperSwede capped a brilliant performance with a well-taken goal. Freddie, as the song goes, was everywhere last night, winning back possession and setting up countless Arsenal attacks. His runs from deep are becoming more frequent nowadays, and he is definitely benefiting from Bergkamp’s presence on the team sheet. 8.5/10

Bergkamp - Dennis looked sharp last night but didn’t get the chance to punish the Lokomotiv defence. He was quite effective with his back to goal, laying the ball off well to our midfield on numerous occasions with consummate ease. He curled one long distance shot wide, and was involved in the build-up to the second goal, but, apart from that, was not all that noticeable. 7/10

Henry - Titi showed the hunger and will to win of a true Gooner last night. He was always closing down the opposition when they had possession and created the first goal because of this. When people praise Henry, his work-rate and the fact that he is a team player often gets overlooked; last night he was superb in that respect. His pass for the second goal was absolutely inspired. 8/10

Subs:

Kanu - He replaced Bergkamp with 15 minutes to go but did nothing of note. He seems to have jumped ahead of Wiltord in the pecking order. 6/10

for more Arsenal latest news click here (http://www.newsnow.co.uk/newsfeed/?name=Arsenal)

trinoo
12-12-2003, 10:55 PM
Dein: We knew they would be Spanish
Friday, 12 December 2003

David Dein says he knew it was pretty likely Arsenal would play a Spanish side after The Gunners drew Celta Vigo in the second round of the UEFA Champions League.
The Highbury outfit do not have the best of records against Spanish opposition and were knocked out of last season's competition at the hands of Valencia.

But after coming back from the depths of despair to win their group, Dein says he hopes the side's spirit and determination will see them advance.

Dein told Sky Sports News after the draw in Switzerland: "I think it was always going to be a Spanish side that we played.

"What with four of them being one of the sides we could face it was always on the cards.

"We know Celta well after we sold Silvinho to them a few seasons ago.

"They finished fourth last year and they are a good team. It will be an interesting game."

Arsenal's indifferent Champions League form, both home and away, will be put to the test by the Spanish side despite them barely finishing second in their group.

Celta were indebted to Milan, who fielded what was deemed a weakened side in their final game, which the Spaniards won to clinch a place in the last 16.

Arsenal must travel to Estadio Balaidos on Tuesday February 24 before entertaining the Spaniards at Highbury on Wednesday March 10.

Speaking on playing the first leg away from home, Dein added: "I'm not sure if there is a lot of difference.

"We lost to Inter 3-0 at Highbury but then went to Milan and beat them 5-1 so I'm not sure there is much difference where you play first.

"Our spirit and determination is exemplary and I'm sure it will be a good game."

deathblade
12-12-2003, 11:20 PM
Oh no... i just realised our opponents this weekend is Blackburn!! Man ... they have been our jinx team for a while.... hope we win...

trinoo
12-12-2003, 11:27 PM
the more we should win. it's pay back time

LiteMan
13-12-2003, 12:56 PM
I think the match was played at a pace not so punishing to the Gunners.

But now we meet Celta Vigo and they are fourth last in the Spanish League...

Wonder will Celta Vigo be that weak? Looks like we can qualify for last 8 teams.

deathblade
13-12-2003, 01:28 PM
We will when we believe....:D

leoch037
13-12-2003, 07:15 PM
i believe we will go unbeaten in the league! opps....

AndreFLo
13-12-2003, 07:19 PM
Originally posted by leoch037
i believe we will go unbeaten in the league! opps....

Pride often comes b4 a fall...can't be too overconfident :D

trinoo
13-12-2003, 07:28 PM
Concentrate on next coming match, one at a time :)

FLiNcHY
14-12-2003, 01:54 AM
Alright boys, its blackburn time and i'm back in Singapore to watch it

When me and my friend watch a match together at my place, arsenal has NEVER lost a game. Because we're always on the floor jumping up and down whenever arsenal scores

And tomorrow is gonna be no exception:laugh:

palartoo
14-12-2003, 01:59 AM
now got chance to be at top of the table...:)

deathblade
14-12-2003, 08:57 AM
1-0 win enuff liao..

Mankul
14-12-2003, 11:11 AM
Guys, are there any ARSENAL place that we can watch the match? ....... I want to go where the Arsenal fans gather and shout like crazy like in the NAtional Stadium in the Msia Cup days and Jump like crazy when Arsenal Scores.... pubs are out... :rolleyes:

FLiNcHY
14-12-2003, 01:25 PM
Jump together and hug like gays?:laugh: :laugh:

Kopitiam lah!
Just sit at the table and ask the uncle to tune to channe 23

Must have scv first

deathblade
14-12-2003, 03:51 PM
Jump together and hug like gays?:laugh: :laugh:

Kopitiam lah!
Just sit at the table and ask the uncle to tune to channe 23

Must have scv first

As long as he is in Singapore i will watch Arsenal in the safety of mt own home... wait i kanna ass raped....=p

swalk21
15-12-2003, 12:11 AM
:bounce: we won

deathblade
15-12-2003, 01:17 AM
Back to the top where we belong!

FLiNcHY
15-12-2003, 02:46 AM
Yeah!
The charm continues. Haha
Henry wasn't that good but wasn't that bad either
Toure was awesome on the right
lauren could never dribble down the right and outmuscle defenders to assist anyone

Lehmann was fantastic. Super steady hands. Vieira still abit rusty.

Bergkamp is super hardworking!!He's everywhere!

16 games unbeaten. 3 more to make it half a season
awesome!

deathblade
15-12-2003, 08:50 AM
Simi charm?

Coolsmurf
15-12-2003, 09:20 AM
i think henry was trying too hard last night, mainly because of him being favourite to get the world player of the year and arsenal chairman revealing that he had rejected a 50 million bid from chelsea...he was trying to justify that and that got to him...hopefully everything will die down soon..

trinoo
15-12-2003, 11:48 AM
The defence was excellent yesterday, lehmann looks every bit like a German GK, steady and assured

Coolsmurf
15-12-2003, 11:54 AM
he wasn't really tested by any shots...but he dealt well with crosses and tame passes...

deathblade
15-12-2003, 12:31 PM
But he is better la... last season with Seaman, no offence to Flinchy, everytime a cross comes, i get a heart attack...

trinoo
15-12-2003, 02:13 PM
lucky arsene changed GK just in time, if not i wonder which position would we be now :D

Jango
15-12-2003, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by trinoo
lucky arsene changed GK on time, if not i wonder which position would we be now :D

We're not going to start this debate again:D...but well it was quite obvious Seaman has passed his prime.

Lehmann was MOM for me yesterday. Dealt with all those dangerous crosses superbly. And what kind of super training did AW put Cygan through? He's been a revelation so far!

Souljer
15-12-2003, 02:58 PM

And what kind of super training did AW put Cygan through? He's been a revelation so far!

It's called Shape Up or Ship Out training.

deathblade
15-12-2003, 05:54 PM
Wrong.... its called wat Wenger did for Pires and never did for Wiltord training...

Mankul
15-12-2003, 08:41 PM
crap la you all....

deathblade
15-12-2003, 09:53 PM
Oh u drink some shuddup juice...we are discussing important stuff!

Alienz
16-12-2003, 01:07 AM
The dark side of Wenger

LONDON - Arsene Wenger, recognised as one of the more unflappable managers in the English Premiership, has spoken revealingly about how he has to keep control of his fierce temper.

In a rare personal insight, the Arsenal manager told BBC Five Live: 'I have learned over the years to hide my feelings and deal with it. When I react it can be outrageous.'

Wenger, who admitted to sitting up and watching football on television until late into the night, added: 'I have always been aware of how much damage I can do if I lose my temper.

'That is why I have made a big effort to calm down and keep control of myself. That is not very healthy because what goes on inside is sometimes terrible. But I have learned to hide it.'

The Frenchman conceded that he can get tense during the season and when he drives to work, he tries to work out whether he is in a good or bad humour.

'I decide to be careful because you can make a silly mistake that day,' he said.

'It is something you learn over the years to control.'

On his Saturday night viewing habits Wenger revealed: 'I watch football from 8pm until midnight. You can see a French version of match of the day, then a Spanish match and then our Match of the Day.

'Then I may watch a film because it is hard to sleep.'

Mankul
16-12-2003, 01:35 AM
Oh u drink some shuddup juice...we are discussing important stuff!

damn... I lost the link to that yawning smiley.... someone can post on my behalf?

Mankul
16-12-2003, 01:37 AM
The dark side of Wenger

LONDON - Arsene Wenger, recognised as one of the more unflappable managers in the English Premiership, has spoken revealingly about how he has to keep control of his fierce temper.

In a rare personal insight, the Arsenal manager told BBC Five Live: 'I have learned over the years to hide my feelings and deal with it. When I react it can be outrageous.'

Wenger, who admitted to sitting up and watching football on television until late into the night, added: 'I have always been aware of how much damage I can do if I lose my temper.

'That is why I have made a big effort to calm down and keep control of myself. That is not very healthy because what goes on inside is sometimes terrible. But I have learned to hide it.'

The Frenchman conceded that he can get tense during the season and when he drives to work, he tries to work out whether he is in a good or bad humour.

'I decide to be careful because you can make a silly mistake that day,' he said.

On his Saturday night viewing habits Wenger revealed: 'I watch football from 8pm until midnight. You can see a French version of match of the day, then a Spanish match and then our Match of the Day.

He really need a beautiful blonde wife ... :D

FLiNcHY
16-12-2003, 01:42 AM
He needs you to gay him up a little:hearts:

Mankul
16-12-2003, 02:35 AM

if you don't want your girls... you can pass me some of yours :laugh:

Souljer
16-12-2003, 09:01 AM

He really need a beautiful blonde wife ... :D

Football is already his wife lah. :rolleyes:

Jango
16-12-2003, 09:02 AM
The dark side of Wenger

I think most of us has witnessed that before. Can't recall which match, but the team wasn't playing well at all. Wenger was sitting there straight faced, and crushing his water bottle flat. Scary.

deathblade
16-12-2003, 10:11 AM

damn... I lost the link to that yawning smiley.... someone can post on my behalf?

Dun wan....

deathblade
16-12-2003, 10:13 AM

There is only one gay Arsenal fan in hardwarezone..... he like to call other whores.... and hes not Mankul..... btw... Wenger is married with children liao la..

swalk21
16-12-2003, 11:42 AM

I think most of us has witnessed that before. Can't recall which match, but the team wasn't playing well at all. Wenger was sitting there straight faced, and crushing his water bottle flat. Scary.

not as scary as the scot with the flying boot and hairdryer mouth:laugh:

Jango
16-12-2003, 04:57 PM
Woohoo..Carling Cup West Brom vs Arsenal on Ch22 tonight! 3:55am.

Chance to see the youngsters in action!:bounce:

vtlimit
16-12-2003, 07:14 PM
Yaya Touré: Arsenal's Next Superstar (http://www.arsenal-mania.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1071552364&archive=&start_from=&ucat=2&)

deathblade
16-12-2003, 10:40 PM
By Thierry Henry...... Something even Vieira never said...

Henry said: "As long as people are happy with me at Arsenal, I want to stay there."

He added: "Arsenal gave me a hand when I was down and if I am among the last three players alongside Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane for the FIFA World Player of the Year award, it is thanks to them.

"I want to feel priceless for them and them to be proud of me.

"I don't really know what is happening in the background with the transfers and money, but I know what I want, and both me and Arsenal are on the same line."

deathblade
16-12-2003, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by vtlimit
Yaya Touré: Arsenal's Next Superstar (http://www.arsenal-mania.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1071552364&archive=&start_from=&ucat=2&)

If he is as good as his brother, we have a find liao... woohoo...

Alienz
17-12-2003, 03:01 AM
Pennant to play on for Leeds

Arsenal have confirmed that they have agreed to allow winger Jermaine Pennant to remain on loan at Leeds for a fifth month.
The 20-year-old joined the Elland Road club in mid-August and has so far proved a tremendous success, finally scoring his first goal for the Whites in the recent 1-1 home draw with Chelsea.

Although Pennant played for Leeds against the Gunners in the 4-1 defeat at the start of November, he will not be allowed to face his employers in the FA Cup third-round tie at Elland Road on 4 January.

Leeds caretaker manager Eddie Gray said: "The boy has been terrific. He is bubbly in training and is the type of player that can get at defenders, put them under pressure and take people on.

"He has been an asset to us."

Mankul
17-12-2003, 03:26 AM

If he is as good as his brother, we have a find liao... woohoo...

kolo admitted he's better than him :eek:

Mankul
17-12-2003, 04:07 AM
Woohoo..Carling Cup West Brom vs Arsenal on Ch22 tonight! 3:55am.

Chance to see the youngsters in action!:bounce:

Woot!!! I watching it now!!! I to see how good aliadiere and Bentley is... so I'm sacrificing my sleep to watch them.....

so where is that Flincha.... the self proclaim true arsenal fan... :laugh:

Jango
17-12-2003, 05:18 AM
wahah...2nd half KO delayed due to asst referee injured!?!:laugh:

deathblade
17-12-2003, 09:05 AM
HAHA NEXT TEAM!!! :laugh:

FLiNcHY
17-12-2003, 11:31 AM

Woot!!! I watching it now!!! I to see how good aliadiere and Bentley is... so I'm sacrificing my sleep to watch them.....

so where is that Flincha.... the self proclaim true arsenal fan... :laugh:

At least i didn't sleep throught Intermilans 5-1 thrashing:laugh: :laugh:

deathblade
17-12-2003, 11:42 AM
who are we meeting next ah? Anyone knows?

Mankul
17-12-2003, 01:41 PM
wahah...2nd half KO delayed due to asst referee injured!?!:laugh:

after that....the ref got cramps! ask the team bench to message him ! :eek:

should have asked Arsenal team to msg him! :mad: our med staff better !

dalividna99
17-12-2003, 01:58 PM
any ideas which web site shows the current ranking, like

1) Arsenal
2) Man U
3) Chelsea
4) ..
5)..

is Man U at the second position now, or Chelsea, which website will show ??

Mankul
17-12-2003, 02:06 PM
Originally posted by dalividna99
any ideas which web site shows the current ranking, like

1) Arsenal
2) Man U
3) Chelsea
4) ..
5)..

is Man U at the second position now, or Chelsea, which website will show ??

you're referring to the premiership table?

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/tables?league=ENG.1&cc=4716

dalividna99
17-12-2003, 02:09 PM
yes, thanks.

Kiwi8
17-12-2003, 08:26 PM

It's still subject to a draw.

deathblade
17-12-2003, 08:48 PM

after that....the ref got cramps! ask the team bench to message him ! :eek:

should have asked Arsenal team to msg him! :mad: our med staff better !

Should have asked Flincha to massage him... he loves to gives guys some rubbing....:laugh:

Jango
17-12-2003, 11:35 PM

Should have asked Flincha to massage him... he loves to gives guys some rubbing....:laugh:

ay u seem to be very concerned with Flinchy's sexual inclination...don't tell you are also....:D

Jango
17-12-2003, 11:44 PM

Two other quarterfinal games tonight. Hope Chelsea gets a shock boot out.:D

The emerging 4 teams will draw on Wed on the fixture.

It would be interesting to see who AW puts in the teamsheet for the semi.

deathblade
18-12-2003, 01:06 AM

ay u seem to be very concerned with Flinchy's sexual inclination...don't tell you are also....:D

Dun u worry about me dude... U go back and be busy wif ur indian gf....:D

Jango
18-12-2003, 11:45 AM

Two other quarterfinal games tonight. Hope Chelsea gets a shock boot out.:D

WAHAHAHAH!!!!!! Chelski is OUT!!!!:bounce: :bounce: :D

FLiNcHY
18-12-2003, 12:58 PM
next game against boro
hahahaha quite sure we'll win

aliadiere will score again man
and fabregas will tear boro to shreds

SueDE_84
18-12-2003, 03:25 PM
The headline making striker from Brazil ( Washington) could be making his way to Arsenal............... Meanwhile Duckfooted Wiltord could be on his way out juz after one season........with francis Jeffers also rumoured to be in...........:)

guys i wuld juz like to add...dun u tink tat Henry shld get the FIFA World Player of the Year award...Y the hell Zidane win it man....

Mankul
18-12-2003, 04:31 PM
Originally posted by SueDE_84

guys i wuld juz like to add...dun u tink tat Henry shld get the FIFA World Player of the Year award...Y the hell Zidane win it man....

eerrr .... you a bit wols leh....

SueDE_84
18-12-2003, 04:36 PM

eerrr .... you a bit wols leh....

???

Mankul
18-12-2003, 07:15 PM
no point talking about that award now... everything have been discussed and said.

SueDE_84
18-12-2003, 07:19 PM
no point talking about that award now... everything have been discussed and said.

yah i know...but as a die-hard Arsenal fan...i m veri veri disappointed...i mean look at wat impact has Henry made in the footballing world these past 12 mnths...n look at wat Zidane has done...i tink nuthing from Zidane loh...anyway...:(

Souljer
18-12-2003, 11:30 PM

yah i know...but as a die-hard Arsenal fan...i m veri veri disappointed...i mean look at wat impact has Henry made in the footballing world these past 12 mnths...n look at wat Zidane has done...i tink nuthing from Zidane loh...anyway...:(

It's just an individual award. It means ****e (nothing) to Arsenal if we can't win the League Double and do well in CL this year, even if Henry is the Galaxy Player of the Year. As Platini said, Arsenal's lack of European credentials is the stumbling block for Henry's chances. Do well in Europe and Henry will get his chance soon. Afterall he's still young and plenty of room for improvement. Btw, welcome to the Arsenal forum :)

SueDE_84
18-12-2003, 11:53 PM

It's just an individual award. It means ****e (nothing) to Arsenal if we can't win the League Double and do well in CL this year, even if Henry is the Galaxy Player of the Year. As Platini said, Arsenal's lack of European credentials is the stumbling block for Henry's chances. Do well in Europe and Henry will get his chance soon. Afterall he's still young and plenty of room for improvement. Btw, welcome to the Arsenal forum :)

yah u got a point there Souljer...but i mean i m veri veri disappointed tat Henry didn't win it...sobz...but i'll hope he'll do even better in future n steer Arsenal to the road of glory...

bobby_11
19-12-2003, 12:00 AM

yah u got a point there Souljer...but i mean i m veri veri disappointed tat Henry didn't win it...sobz...but i'll hope he'll do even better in future n steer Arsenal to the road of glory...

:laugh: u are jus sad that henry didnt won becos u cant 'hao lian' rite.....:laugh:

FLiNcHY
19-12-2003, 12:24 AM
WTF is a pool fan doing here?
screw off, cunt slut:mad:

SueDE_84
19-12-2003, 01:21 AM
Originally posted by bobby_11

:laugh: u are jus sad that henry didnt won becos u cant 'hao lian' rite.....:laugh:

wat 'hao lian'...seriously i m realli disappointed tat Henry didn't win it...cos i tink he did realli made a huge impact in these past 12 mnths...dunno y giv to Zidane man...if u tink i 'hao lian'...then let it be loh...true football fans who support the players or clubs dun 'hao lian'...not like some ppl...

bobby_11
19-12-2003, 01:32 AM

wat 'hao lian'...seriously i m realli disappointed tat Henry didn't win it...cos i tink he did realli made a huge impact in these past 12 mnths...dunno y giv to Zidane man...if u tink i 'hao lian'...then let it be loh...true football fans who support the players or clubs dun 'hao lian'...not like some ppl...

:laugh: u can said all u can.....:laugh:

SueDE_84
19-12-2003, 10:33 AM
Originally posted by bobby_11

:laugh: u can said all u can.....:laugh:

:laugh: u oso can say all u can

trinoo
20-12-2003, 02:41 PM
don't have to be sad, actually. Henry is doing Arsenal proud, just see who are those players he has overcame to clinch second place. . btw, where is owen??? =p

3. Ronaldo (Brazil/Real Madrid) 176

4. Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic/Juventus) 158

5. Roberto Carlos (Brazil/Real Madrid) 105

6. Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands/Manchester United) 86

7. David Beckham (England/Real Madrid) 74

8. Raul (Spain/Real Madrid) 39

9. Paolo Maldini (Italy/AC Milan) 37

10. Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine/AC Milan) 26

Arsenal85
21-12-2003, 03:11 AM
arghh..we dun play well against bolton..
we let okacha hit post..
and cygan kinda head and knock down the ball to pedersen..
:( :( :(

swalk21
21-12-2003, 01:27 PM
well .dun depend too much on spurs .they are having a bad run .if spurs win man u tonite ,i put on the spurs jersey my friend bought for me for the whole end of the year

FLiNcHY
21-12-2003, 07:34 PM
Arsenal didn't play well at all yesterday. I watched the match in Malaysia, Kuantan

Could be because it was raining heavily and the ball was really hard to control

Henry has kinda been low key by his standards since the announcement of his Fifa world player of the year.

We have drawn 3 and won 1 since then

But dropping a few points here and there isn't a big deal anyway. Its so darn tight at the top anyway

swalk21
22-12-2003, 04:05 AM
I watched the match in Malaysia, Kuantan

:mad: see what i say abt u watching our match .:mad:

FLiNcHY
22-12-2003, 04:14 AM
Its Malaysia!! Its not me:mad: :mad:

Jango
22-12-2003, 09:43 AM
Stick to the live commentary on the net! Don't watch!:mad: :mad: :mad: All your fault.:mad:

SueDE_84
22-12-2003, 10:05 AM
Juz hope tat Man U will start dropping points when Rio gets suspended...wahahahahaha...n oso to Chelsea...

http://www.arsenal.com/images/ground_bolton.jpg

Mankul
22-12-2003, 01:42 PM
Arsenal didn't play well at all yesterday. I watched the match in Malaysia, Kuantan

oi... I was in Cherating leh.... very near Kuantan leh..... but I didn't see the game leh.... maybe its because I didn't watch the game =p

FLiNcHY
22-12-2003, 01:57 PM

oi... I was in Cherating leh.... very near Kuantan leh..... but I didn't see the game leh.... maybe its because I didn't watch the game =p

I watched on Astro
haha

wah you whole day go malaysia one ah

Matland

:laugh: :laugh:

Mankul
22-12-2003, 02:08 PM

I watched on Astro
haha

wah you whole day go malaysia one ah

Matland

whole weekend :D

Sun Sand n the Sea :cool:

RipperJack
22-12-2003, 02:18 PM
i worry for arsenal.....

henry looks jaded in the bolton match. anyone feels the same? :(

SueDE_84
22-12-2003, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by RipperJack
i worry for arsenal.....

henry looks jaded in the bolton match. anyone feels the same? :(

tink tat they r juz tired...

FLiNcHY
22-12-2003, 02:36 PM

whole weekend :D

Sun Sand n the Sea :cool:

wah lau never take pics of bikini babes:laugh:

deathblade
22-12-2003, 09:26 PM
I went KL never watch then this happen haizzz..:(

Mankul
22-12-2003, 11:03 PM

wah lau never take pics of bikini babes:laugh:

:rolleyes:

Souljer
22-12-2003, 11:12 PM
I went KL never watch then this happen haizzz..:(

Yo Deathblade, I'm also going to KL on 1st Jan. Any places to recommend for shopping and eating. Muz be cheap and good hor, value for money!

Mankul
23-12-2003, 12:05 AM

Yo Deathblade, I'm also going to KL on 1st Jan. Any places to recommend for shopping and eating. Muz be cheap and good hor, value for money!

eating?... go bangsa....

shopping? go Sungei Wang area there

deathblade
23-12-2003, 09:38 AM

Eating? try the Seafood resturant behind Hotel Dorsett Regency... Shopping... try the Sungei Wang Area... avoid the Time Square though... its not fully opened... Dun remind me i shopped with my gf from 10am to 930 on sunday... very horifying experience....:(

Souljer
23-12-2003, 09:43 AM

eating?... go bangsa....

shopping? go Sungei Wang area there

Noted. What abt Jln Alnor?

How's the amusement park at Times Square? Fun or not? How much is the tix per person?

raveness
26-12-2003, 05:12 PM
WTF?! :mad: how come this thread page 3?!!

u guys holiday mood is it?!! :laugh:

anyhoo...great piece By Myles Palmer on ANR (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2003-12-23-18-04-35.html)

ARSENAL NEWS REVIEW
Merry Christmas, Arsene !
By Myles Palmer

I’LL RAISE a glass to Arsene Wenger on Christmas Day.

And I shall raise another to him on New Year’s Eve.

Because he is the smartest and most ambitious manager in Arsenal’s history.

This guy came to the club in 1996 and has taken two titles off Manchester United Megastore PLC, and missed a third by one point, and has won three FA Cups, and finished in the top two for six years in a row, and he has beaten Valencia 2-1 at Highbury, and beaten Roma away 3-1, and beaten Inter in Milan by 5-1, and he’s also hammered a fine Juventus team 3-1.

His ideas and his players have taken Arsenal to new heights, new places,new horizons.

For the last seven years, his teams have played fabulous football, attacking football, winning football.

Sure, Arsenal have lost some games they could have won, and drawn plenty of games they should have won, BUT THEY HAVE RARELY BEEN OUTPLAYED, except by Dynamo Kiev, by Deportivo, by Man United a few times, by Bolton last Saturday

BUT THERE’S MORE.

Arsene Wenger wanted to do more than beat Man United and Liverpool and, occasionally, Valencia.

He wanted to turn a medium-sized club into a big club.

Think about that for a minute.

Think how hard it is to create a big club out of an outfit that has been punching above its weight since George Graham made it successful in 1989 and 1991.

This team is now so popular that Arsenal could double ticket prices and still sell out every game.

But Arsenal has tried harder than other clubs to treat their fans decently,so they did not do that.

Instead, they are building Ashburton Grove, a bigger stadium. A complex project with a hundred delays and a thousand headaches.

I’ve always believed that Ashburton Grove will be built. Always believed that Arsenal could borrow £260 million and pay it back over 17 years .

On one level, Arsene’s job is daunting enough : to keep winning games in style, to keep trophies rolling in, and to keep believing that his team can win the big one, the holy grail.

Clearly, he does not to have the budget to afford a good player in every position. But he buys good players and useful players and blends them and he plays beautifully fast football that millions of people admire.

When the club moves to Ashburton Grove he will be able to afford a good player in every position, and then he should be able to beat Bayern and Valencia, and win the Champions League, and make Arsenal FC a global brand that commands the biggest deals and can sign the next Ronaldo and the next Shevchenko.

So - let’s be be clear on this - what Arsene Wenger is trying to do is something on a scale that is almost mythical. To pick up a football club and put it on your back and carry it 600 metres down the road and put it into a shiny new super-stadium is a Herculean task.

Hercules, as you know, is a figure from Greek mythology who performed hugely heroic feats for 12 years. He killed a lion, captured a bull, killed a centaur with poisoned arrows, stuff like that.

He also conquered Spain.

History tells us that Arsenal have never won in Spain.

But it’s coming. History will be re-written and it might be quite soon : Celta Vigo v Arsenal is on Tuesday 24th February.

I reckon Arsene Wenger has been waiting for Real Madrid all his life. He has been building up to Real Madrid all his life. Not to manage them, but to beat them.

Arsenal might beat Real Madrid at Highbury or they might have to wait and beat them at Ashburton Grove.

I don’t know which it will be. I have no crystal ball. Just a glass of champagne.

CHEERS, ARSENE - thanks for everything.

Thanks for the stylish power football, thanks for the excitement, thanks for all those wonder goals, thanks for the droll jokes, thanks for the golden memories.

Among so many memories, one day might stand out for me.

My friend Gassan phones one morning and says, “Come with me to Sopwell House.”

So Gassan picks me up and we zoom up to the St Albans hotel that Arsenal used before the training ground was built.

It’s summer, end of July, a warm afternoon, and Arsene is due to give a pre-season press conference, and because it’s such a nice day we sit round a table on the lawn outside.

It’s intimate, informal, just the manager and seven journalists.

I can’t remember what Arsene said that day, but he was very relaxed and he seemed to be, already, one of us, an adopted Englishman, one of those upper class gentleman-adventurers, an aristocrat chatting in his back garden, a youngish sporting explorer ready to face any challenge that the new season could bring, even though he knew that every season is an open-ended expedition, an adventure that has a starting date, but you don’t know where it will take you.

In the future, when I have long forgotten how Arsene was after winning and losing his biggest games, I will remember that sublime summer moment on the lawn at Sopwell House.

After talking to the boss, we felt good. He had made us remember what football is all about.

Merry Xmas, Arsene !

23rd December 2003

hope you guys had a merry 1 as well and a happy NY (esp in Mar i hope heehee) ;)

let get ready for Wolves tonite! ARWOOO! :D

UP THE ARSE!!!
wahaha :P

Souljer
26-12-2003, 05:43 PM
Originally posted by raveness
WTF?! how come this thread page 3?!!

u guys holiday mood is it?!!

hope you guys had a merry 1 as well and a happy NY (esp in Mar i hope heehee) ;)

let get ready for Wolves tonite! ARWOOO! :D

Wah lau....where have u been man??!! MIA for so long and still have the cheek to question us?!!! :mad: Nebermind, come in and contribute lah. Nowadays....this thread is mostly about Flinchy and his erm....'alternative' lifestyle. :rolleyes:

deathblade
26-12-2003, 05:51 PM
.... LOL..... no la... there is a lamer out there who has been hardselling Man U... so many useless threads... so naturally....

raveness
26-12-2003, 05:51 PM
sigh...yahlor...i mia...this thread also mia (almost!) :P

wahlau that flincy ah...:laugh: even if i was around also cannot contribute much on this kind of lifestyle choice lah...haha

oh watched the previous game and everytime i see tat Clichy then reminded of flincy haha n everytime see him anyhow distribute the ball to bolton players! i curse and swear!! :mad:

hope toure teach him a thing or 2 and he perform better tonite! :D

raveness
26-12-2003, 06:01 PM
.... LOL..... no la... there is a lamer out there who has been hardselling Man U... so many useless threads... so naturally....

eh...tell me honestly lah...the unwiser guy must be 1 of you guys clone rite? :X haha where got so tupid 1...until even other manu fans also whack him :laugh:

swalk21
26-12-2003, 06:26 PM

deathblade
26-12-2003, 07:04 PM
Originally posted by raveness

eh...tell me honestly lah...the unwiser guy must be 1 of you guys clone rite? :X haha where got so tupid 1...until even other manu fans also whack him :laugh:

I dunno le.... definitely not me... I went Kl for a trip ... where got time...=) we are not that lame.... Maybe Flinchy la... Mankul and the rest ??? I dun think they are so lame...

LOL must ne Flinchy la....:laugh:

deathblade
26-12-2003, 07:05 PM
Noticed that Flichy never go out and call him whore?

swalk21
26-12-2003, 07:06 PM
Noticed that Flichy never go out and call him whore?

:eek:

trinoo
26-12-2003, 10:29 PM
HENRY HELPS TO HAMMER WOLVES
Friday 26th December 2003

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1186118.jpg

Henry: Second goal

Arsenal 3-0 Wolves

Mark Buckingham reports

Arsenal ruthlessly demonstrated the gulf between the top and bottom of The Premiership as Thierry Henry inspired The Gunners to a clinical 3-0 success over struggling Wolves.

Henry poached a brace after Jody Craddock had earlier put the ball into his own net to give Arsene Wenger's troops a decisive victory at Highbury, which merely highlighted the mountain Wolves have to climb to secure their top-flight status.

The Gunners signalled their intent to punish Wolves early in the game when Robert Pires' chipped pass sent Henry scampering into the penalty area but his well-struck volley was pushed over the bar by Michael Oakes.

It was only a matter of time before the hosts would score and the breakthrough arrived on 13 minutes after Henry's free kick was turned away for a corner by the busy Oakes.

Henry whipped in the resulting set piece, evading the near post, before the ball diverted into the net off the luckless Craddock after Patrick Vieira failed to connect cleanly.

Craddock was also at fault for the second goal on 20 minutes when he dwelt in possession to be robbed by Vieira, who ran into the box before laying the ball into the path of Henry to slide home.

Arsenal never ceased to threaten the Wolves goal and a Henry free kick took a wicked deflection before crashing off the base of the post although the visitors did create a great opportunity of their own on 33 minutes.

Colin Cameron's long pass sliced open the Arsenal rearguard, setting Kenny Miller free, but the Scottish striker's shot was smartly saved by Jens Lehmann.

Oakes was then called into action twice in the space of a minute, firstly to deny Ray Parlour from distance and, secondly, to save a Dennis Bergkamp effort low at the near post.

In the closing moments of the first half, Craddock had a chance to make amends but he fired wide after Henri Camara's skewed shot fell to the former Sunderland defender.

After the break, Wolves unconvincingly contained the menace from Arsenal as Bergkamp curled a shot wide and Sol Campbell scuffed an effort over the bar from a corner.

In the closing ten minutes, Oakes again had to be alert to preserve Wolves' respectability after turning away a Bergkamp shot following excellent work from Henry and substitute Jeremie Aliadiere.

Arsenal put the gloss on a comfortable day's work in the latter stages when Henry steered a low, left foot shot into the corner of the net after collecting Edu's pass.

Arsenal Wolves
Possession % 61% 39%
Goals 3 0
Shots on target 8 1
Shots off target 5 6
Blocked shots 2 0
Corners 14 3
Fouls 15 17
Offsides 4 3
Yellow cards 3 5
Red cards 0 0

Mankul
26-12-2003, 11:46 PM
trinoo... just a polite reminder... standard practice to post the source link with any article ;)

Mankul
26-12-2003, 11:49 PM

I dunno le.... definitely not me... I went Kl for a trip ... where got time...=) we are not that lame.... Maybe Flinchy la... Mankul and the rest ??? I dun think they are so lame...

LOL must ne Flinchy la....:laugh:

You think I got so much time for all these nonsense ah.... don't even have time to post... =p

deathblade
29-12-2003, 08:33 AM
Ooooh 2nd page.... better post something wait people complain...=p

To nite must win!!

FLiNcHY
29-12-2003, 11:06 AM
Noticed that Flichy never go out and call him whore? Because he is so jialat until i cannot be bothered already?

deathblade
29-12-2003, 11:29 AM
Where u went? No post from u ? Why ?

swalk21
29-12-2003, 12:24 PM
saints:rolleyes:

FLiNcHY
30-12-2003, 01:24 AM
Where u went? No post from u ? Why ?

I don't fly 23 hours back to Singapore to post on hardwarezone forums every hour man

I'm out almost 24 hours a day meeting up with friends, eating singapore food and watching movies

I realise singaporeans only have 3 pastimes

Shopping, watching movies and eating

There is nothing else a singaporean can do when he is free:laugh: :laugh:

I watched more movies these few days than in the 7 months i spent in the US

Oh yah, i also went down to NUS to play waterpolo against RJC today

RJC is in quite a bad shape:laugh:

Hwa chong will win this year's national schools confirm

ACJC got no goalie at all. ACS(I)'s goalie betrayed acjc and went to Hwa chong:mad:

Mankul
30-12-2003, 01:35 AM

I don't fly 23 hours back to Singapore to post on hardwarezone forums every hour man

I'm out almost 24 hours a day meeting up with friends, eating singapore food and watching movies

I realise singaporeans only have 3 pastimes

Shopping, watching movies and eating

There is nothing else a singaporean can do when he is free:laugh: :laugh:

I watched more movies these few days than in the 7 months i spent in the US

Oh yah, i also went down to NUS to play waterpolo against RJC today

RJC is in quite a bad shape:laugh:

Hwa chong will win this year's national schools confirm

ACJC got no goalie at all. ACS(I)'s goalie betrayed acjc and went to Hwa chong:mad:

so.you.champion.water.polo.is.it?

so.US.past.time.is.what?

FLiNcHY
30-12-2003, 02:31 AM
Yah lor
6 years Gold in a row with ACS and ACJC

win until sian already:laugh: :laugh:

US, go backpacking, mountain biking, go on road trips to other states, go up to the nearby mountains to look at the beautiful views, go to nearby gardens to admire to scenery, go drive to the lake and wakeboard using my friend's boat, go watch the Atlanta Braves, falcons or hawks get thrashed :laugh: :laugh:

So many things to do rather than just lead this stupid materialistic lifestyle of ours

Whole day shop shop shop, as if brands matter a big deal like that

Mankul
30-12-2003, 02:44 AM
Yah lor
6 years Gold in a row with ACS and ACJC

win until sian already:laugh: :laugh:

US, go backpacking, mountain biking, go on road trips to other states, go up to the nearby mountains to look at the beautiful views, go to nearby gardens to admire to scenery, go drive to the lake and wakeboard using my friend's boat, go watch the Atlanta Braves, falcons or hawks get thrashed :laugh: :laugh:

So many things to do rather than just lead this stupid materialistic lifestyle of ours

Whole day shop shop shop, as if brands matter a big deal like that

ok..... I'm getting out of this country! :mad:

Mankul
30-12-2003, 03:58 AM
Fclinchy! you're starting in the game!!! :eek:

Mankul
30-12-2003, 04:39 AM
GGGGOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLL!!! 1-0 to Arsenal!!! PIRES!!!!!!

no prizes for guessing whos the provider :D :laugh: :cool:

reload2003
30-12-2003, 04:42 AM
GGGGOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLL!!! 1-0 to Arsenal!!! PIRES!!!!!!

no prizes for guessing whos the provider :D :laugh: :cool:

yA...:bounce: :bounce:

Mankul
30-12-2003, 04:47 AM
this post not for reload:

You guys sleeping is it!!! :mad: wake up!!!!

reload2003
30-12-2003, 05:26 AM
this post not for reload:

You guys sleeping is it!!! :mad: wake up!!!!

wAteVEr...:smoking:

FLiNcHY
30-12-2003, 06:05 AM
Power lah!!
Henry super pass as usual

Vieira was COLOSSAL!!!!
SUPER AWESOME

Clichy is still raw and not linking well down the left at all, but who cares, he's so fast he can cover back anytime

Toure is awesome man

I think just stick to him at rightback and stick cygan as centreback since he's playing quite well also

AssClown
30-12-2003, 06:21 AM
Power lah!!
Henry super pass as usual

Vieira was COLOSSAL!!!!
SUPER AWESOME

Clichy is still raw and not linking well down the left at all, but who cares, he's so fast he can cover back anytime

Toure is awesome man

I think just stick to him at rightback and stick cygan as centreback since he's playing quite well also

the only disappointment is Ice Berg ...

deathblade
30-12-2003, 08:42 AM
He he i never atch but its the results that matters...=p

Jango
30-12-2003, 10:01 AM
Originally posted by AssClown

the only disappointment is Ice Berg ...

I thought he did quite well. DB10 made the crucial and difficult pass from touchline to Henry which led to the goal.

He could have done better with that header though.

swalk21
30-12-2003, 02:41 PM
:bounce: yah a 1-0 win .the scoreline should be more

Mankul
30-12-2003, 03:06 PM
Someone had broadview so great..... he said Toure will be PLAYER OF THE SEASON IN EPL .... :D

Kiwi8
30-12-2003, 09:49 PM
Source: Soccernet.com

Lehmann reported to FA

Arsenal goalkeeper Jens Lehmann can expect to feel the Football Association's wrath after throwing the ball at Southampton striker Kevin Phillips after his side's victory at St Mary's.

Lehmann: Reported to FA (MatthewAshton/Empics)

France midfielder Robert Pires pounced in the 35th minute to give the Gunners a victory they richly deserved given their domination of a one-sided match.

Arsenal preserved their proud unbeaten record which has now seen them go 19 league matches without tasting defeat but the win was marred by an unseemly incident between Lehmann and Phillips after the final whistle.

Lehmann objected to a challenge from Phillips and threw the ball at the former Saints striker, prompting the duo to square-up before the intervention of referee Steve Dunn and several other players cooled matters.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger said: 'Jens should not have thrown the ball like that - it was done out of frustration. It wasn't that huge a reaction from him and there is not much in the incident.'

The game's laws prevented Dunn from showing either player a yellow card - bookings can not be made after the final whistle - but he revealed that the scuffle will feature in the match report which he must submit to the FA.

Wenger revealed that the Gunners used last season's 3-2 defeat at St Mary's as motivation for securing a comfortable triumph which slashed Manchester United's lead at the top of the Barclaycard Premiership to a single point.

'This was an important win. We were conscious that we lost here last year. It was an important result in the context of the championship, especially as we didn't win our last two away games,' he said.

Southampton boss Gordon Strachan admitted his side were 'in fear' of Arsenal.

Apart from a lively finish by Saints, Wenger's team were in full control throughout with the only surprise being their failure to register a more emphatic scoreline.

Strachan was happy to acknowledge Arsenal's superiority but felt the respect his side showed the FA Cup holders was the main reason for their downfall.

'We have blown the Champions League spot,' quipped the little Scott, referring to Saints' recent climb up the Premiership table and their pre-Christmas occupation of fourth place.

'You could smell the fear in my players in the first 45 minutes - I have never seen that before, no matter who we have played. We have always had the stomach for the fight but that was not there.

'I had to bring Leandre Griffit off in the second half to protect the youngster - he was playing well but the people around him were playing with fear.

'Arsenal's tactics were excellent. We had a plan to play against them but because of the negative thinking we could not put it into action.

'You can't live life with fear like that, never mind football. We were far braver in last season's FA Cup final than we were last night.'

FLiNcHY
31-12-2003, 03:32 AM
That's right, fear arsenal:)

trinoo
31-12-2003, 10:16 PM
Let’s watch what Arsene does with Toure
By Myles Palmer

PATRICK VIEIRA looked 90% fit in the 3-0 win over Wolves, when Henry scored twice.

Gilberto had flu, so Parlour came in.

The big question was whether Cygan would keep his place against Southampton. James Beattie had terrorised him in the 3-2 win in November 2002, so Keown might have been brought back.

Or Lauren could have been restored at right back.

But Arsene picked the same eleven and Pires scored the only gal from Henry’s pass.

Toure started the move with a throw to Henry, who headed on to Bergkamp, whose return pass was less than perfect.

But Henry won the ball and spurted forward and played Pires in for a killer shot close to Niemi’s body.

Perfect pass, deadly finish : 35 minutes.

Sadly, Dennis had one of those nights when nothing worked. Every pass, every flick, went wrong.

And Freddie was well below his best.

Parlour was good and Pires was very good.

THE FACT that Toure is still at right back might be a clue to Arsene’s thinking about the boy wonder’s long-term future.

If a manager thinks holistically, and thinks long-term, there comes a point where he wants his team to be strong on the right side as well as strong on the left side.

If we watch closely what Arsene does with Toure, we may get clues about his team-building intentions.

Regular readers will know that I did NOT want to see Toure moved from centreback.

Obviously, Arsenal need two Kolo Toures.

For now, we have every reason to believe that the manager is happy with Toure at right back.

And we know that Toure is a smashing lad who is willing to play anywhere the manager asks him to play.

Unfortunately, he does not link well with Ljungberg, who is a misfit on the right touchline.

Freddie only comes alive in the middle or in the box.

FRANKLY, ARSENAL won as comfortably at St Mary’s as Man United had won at Middlesbrough the day before.

Vieira, playing one-twos and cruising away from opponents with his inimitable gear change, looked near his best.

When Pat gets the ball with three men round him, and flicks it over their heads, and glides away, you know he is himself again. And you think, “We will need that in February”

Arsenal should have killed the game in the second half. A second goal would have made the points safe.

But the second goal didn’t come, partly because this Arsenal attack has nobody who can score from Toure’s crosses.

They do not play that way. That way is the Manchester United way.

Scholes and van Nistelrooy could score a lot of goals from Toure’s crosses.

Arsenal could develop that, of course. They could work on it.

But if Toure is switching back to centreback, there would be no point.

BOTTOM LINE for the top two?

Two 1-0s, two walkovers.

A COMPARISON of Arsenal’s two title seasons with the current season is illuminating.

Let’s look at the first half of each season.

After 19 games in the 1998 season, Arsenal had only 33 points.

After 19 games in 2002, they had 36 points.

After 19 games of 2003-4, Arsenal have 45 points.

In 1998 they lost four games and drew six.

In 2002 they lost three games and drew six.

Now they are unbeaten, with 6 draws.

Man United are one point above Arsenal, after three defeats.

What does that tell us?

That this Arsenal team has improved and achieved the consistency that all managers crave.

It also tells us that the Premiership is a piss-poor league compared to 1998 and 2002.

But we knew that anyway.

31st December 2003.

link (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2003-12-31-11-24-19.html)

FLiNcHY
01-01-2004, 01:27 AM
Another superb read

http://www.arsenal-mania.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1072892274&archive=&start_from=&ucat=2&

I fully agree on what he has to say about cygan

As i've always maintained, his passing is totally awesome. Its just that his speed and concentration always let him down last season

But this season, he has managed to concentrate entirely throughout matches and not put a foot wrong at all

Maybe he'll do a "pires" for us this season

I think Lauren will be on the bench for some time

Mankul
01-01-2004, 04:17 AM
Originally posted by trinoo

link (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2003-12-31-11-24-19.html)

you cut off the last part about Xmas..... I was pleasantly surprised about this comment:

'We know that the Arsenal diaspora is global, but not all ANR readers are Christian.

If you were celebrating, hope you had lots of hugs and kisses and handshakes.'

That's a very thoughtful statement from him. :)

trinoo
01-01-2004, 06:36 AM

you cut off the last part about Xmas..... I was pleasantly surprised about this comment:

'We know that the Arsenal diaspora is global, but not all ANR readers are Christian.

If you were celebrating, hope you had lots of hugs and kisses and handshakes.'

That's a very thoughtful statement from him. :)

the last part has got nothing to do about football :D

Mankul
02-01-2004, 05:48 PM
UNBEATEN UNBEATEN UNBEATEN!!!!! :D

deathblade
02-01-2004, 11:45 PM
i have a strong feeling that Ah Seng Wenger will be buying someone......:D

swalk21
03-01-2004, 02:04 AM
i have a strong feeling that Ah Seng Wenger will be buying someone......:D

mankul?

orca_sea
03-01-2004, 02:34 AM

mankul?

Mankul fr Barca? hahahaha :laugh: :laugh:

Mankul
03-01-2004, 02:46 AM
yea yeah yeah!!! who wanna bet?

orca_sea
03-01-2004, 02:53 AM
yea yeah yeah!!! who wanna bet?

:o :o so u r Patrick Mankul! :o

Kiwi8
03-01-2004, 03:08 AM
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Alienz
03-01-2004, 04:50 AM
Wenger: Gunners can make cup history

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has set his sights on making history by reaching a fourth successive FA Cup final.
The Gunners were last beaten in the FA Cup at any stage other than the final back in 2000 against Leicester in the fourth round.

Since then, they have lost to Liverpool in the 2001 final, before defeating first Chelsea and then Southampton in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium.

Wenger is expecting a tough challenge at Leeds on Sunday, but would take great pride in becoming the first side to reach four consecutive finals and in matching the feat of Blackburn and Wanderers in the 19th century in winning the cup three times on the trot.

After all, the FA Cup is a competition he first fell in love with when he watched it on television as a child in France during the early 1960s.

"It's a competition linked with my childhood as it was one of the few games which I could watch on television back then," he recalled.

"It was very prestigious and I remember what a special meaning the games at Wembley had. I love the fact that you have to be up for it on the day."

Wenger therefore told his players: "Let's go for it. We would love to make history and we could have done it already.

"The final we really deserved to win was the Liverpool one, more so than against Chelsea or Southampton.

"But we just want to get through a tricky game against Leeds. We will try to do our best and will not neglect the competition."

Then again, Wenger is still considering whether to rest a handful of first-team players, just as he left out even Thierry Henry in the early rounds last season.

"We weren't playing Leeds last season in the third and fourth rounds, we were facing Oxford and Farnborough," said Wenger, although Henry was also left out at Old Trafford in the fifth round.

"Thierry will need a breather at some stage this season, but I don't know when yet."

deathblade
03-01-2004, 04:00 PM

mankul?

talking about player not ball boy...:laugh:

deathblade
03-01-2004, 04:06 PM
http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/77/039_69361.jpg

6th sense boy: I sense a signing......
deathblade: How often?
6th sense boy:" All the time..... Can u make them go away?"
deathblade:" F uck u understand... we haven't had a decent signing for so long.... wat go away? Nabei u go and have some fun with Micheal Jackson and Flinchy!"

orca_sea
03-01-2004, 04:22 PM

deathblade:" F uck u understand... we haven't had a decent signing for so long.... wat go away? Nabei u go and have some fun with Micheal Jackson and Flinchy!"

hahahahaha :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

RipperJack
03-01-2004, 04:38 PM

deathblade:" F uck u understand... we haven't had a decent signing for so long.... wat go away? Nabei u go and have some fun with Micheal Jackson and Flinchy!" :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

orca_sea
03-01-2004, 05:12 PM

add on..

6th sense boy: I will..but b4 that.. I like to tell u smthing..we can't hav a decent signing bcos of the NEW HSE(stadium)!

Alienz
03-01-2004, 05:53 PM

trinoo
03-01-2004, 09:42 PM

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

FLiNcHY
04-01-2004, 07:51 AM
Somehow, i don't get it

Mankul
04-01-2004, 07:55 AM
Somehow, i don't get it

Singapore jokes... where got you understand one...

Mankul
04-01-2004, 10:55 PM
WHY YOU ALL SO QUIET?!!?!?!

FA CUP in 1 hours time!!!! make some noise!!! :D

deathblade
04-01-2004, 11:17 PM
Someone posted an Eto thread ... about us having almost signed him... i hope its true...

swalk21
05-01-2004, 12:42 AM
what happened they sign mankul?:D

deathblade
05-01-2004, 12:45 AM
........ now we are leading 2-1:bounce:

Jango
05-01-2004, 01:03 AM
Damn Bakke and Smith. They should be send off!!!:mad: :mad:

trinoo
05-01-2004, 02:15 AM
Leeds 1 (Viduka) Arsenal 4 (Thierry Henry, Edu, Robert Pires, Kolo Toure )

hohoho !!!

trinoo
05-01-2004, 02:20 AM
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/17217.jpg
Henry and Pires: At their deadliest

Masterful Gunners cruise past Leeds into next round

Goals from Thierry Henry, Edu, Robert Pires and Kolo Toure handed holders Arsenal a 4-1 victory over Leeds in the FA Cup third round.

The Gunners overcame the early setback of a Mark Viduka goal to produce a dominant performance which left relegation-threatened Leeds chasing shadows for the majority of the match.

The match started at a rapid pace, but it was a goalkeeping blunder of high proportions that handed the Whites the lead when Jens Lehmann took too long to clear a back pass and the ball was charged down into the goal by Australian striker Viduka.

Leeds could have scored a second when James Milner cut inside on the left and Lehmann held the shot, before Viduka tried his luck with a half-volley from 20 yards which flew just wide.

However, the Gunners scored a fine equaliser when Kanu picked out Freddie Ljungberg on the right and his pinpoint cross was smashed home on the volley by Henry from 12 yards.

Arsene Wenger's side then proved why they remain unbeaten domestically when they scored a stunning second when a one-touch passing move resulted in Henry picking out Edu who slid in to poke the ball past Paul Robinson.

The half-time interval did nothing to shake the Gunners out of their stride and the holders set about the task of adding to their lead and reaching a fourth successive final almost immediately.

Chances came and went for Edu - his shot cleared off the line by Matthew Kilgallon - Henry and Kanu, before Pires made it 3-1 with a masterful finish at the end of another flowing move.

And there was still time for Arsenal to add a fourth - and chalk up their third successive 4-1 win at Elland Road - when Toure volleyed home Pires' pinpoint cross with almost the last kick of the game.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,748140,00.html