PDA

View Full Version : Arsenal FC - Ashburton Grove

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231

___jeff
27-04-2004, 07:25 PM
LOL!

___jeff
27-04-2004, 08:45 PM
Gunners eye Swedish starlet
Tuesday, 27 April 2004

Players:

Rami Shaaban
Teams:

Arsenal
by Kent Hedlundh
Premiership champions Arsenal have handed a trial to Swedish goalkeeper Jonas Sandkvist.

The 23-year-old has played just 12 times for his club Landskrona - but he impressed The Gunners enough to be invited to England so they could take a closer look at him.

Sandkvist revealed that he met Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger upon his arrival at Highbury.

"Arsene Wenger came to check on me during practice, but it was just a brief meeting," revealed Sandkvist to Sportbladet.

"They wanted to see me in training and invited me over to check me up closely.

"I regard it as a good experience and most of all I have come here to give a good impression, not so much to get a contract.

"I have developed much over the last two seasons and am starting to get used to the Allsvenskan."

Sandkvist is currently first choice with Landskrona after breaking into the first team late last year.

Meanwhile, Arsenal's current Swedish shot-stopper Rami Shaaban (pictured) is confident of playing this season.

Shaaban's contract expires this summer and Wenger wants to see him in action before talking over a new deal.

"I have talked some with the boss and it is not impossible that I will get the chance soon," said Shaaban.

"Since my contract expires the last of June, Wenger has said that he wants to see me in a match before we continue with the negotiations.

"For me, it is just a matter of waiting and seeing.

___jeff
27-04-2004, 08:47 PM
Wenger has £15m to spend
By Steve Stammers, Evening Standard
27 April 1999

Arsene Wenger will have £15million to spend on strengthening his Premiership title-winning squad.

Look here too!

This is despite Arsenal's huge financial commitment to their new £400m stadium project at Ashburton Grove.

"We won't be able to go for a player who will cost mega-bucks, a £20m or £30m player," chairman Peter Hill-Wood said. "But there will be enough there for Arsene if he wants to add to his squad. If, for instance, he wants another striker, then the money will be there as long as it isn't too high. There will certainly be as much as there was this season."

Other stories:

Santini: I want Spurs job

Wenger has £15m to spend

Chelsea prepare for Kompany takeover

Forssell extends stay at Birmingham

Keane denies Man Utd quit reports

Hammers face fan probe on finances

Wasps to lose even if they win

Blackwell desperate for an England dry run

Millwall protests force FA to review ticket policy

Thorpe to defend Olympic 400m title

Meanwhile, vice-chairman David Dein again stressed the club are regularly fighting off approaches for his star manager and players Thierry Henry and Patrick Vieira.

"It hasn't been easy to fight off suitors who are after Arsene, Patrick and Thierry. We have had robust offers for all three of them in the last two seasons but we will not let them go," Dein said.

Wenger brought in five new players this season - Jens Lehmann from Borussia Dortmund for £1m, Cesc Fabregas for a £500,000 payment to Barcelona, Philippe Senderos for £500,000 from Servette of Switzerland, Gael Clichy for £250,000 to French club AS Cannes and a down payment of £6m on Jose Reyes from Sevilla.

That adds up to £8.25m although the Reyes fee could amount to around £17m over the next five years. But reinforcements will be needed with the probable departures of Sylvain Wiltord, Nwankwo Kanu and Martin Keown.

Arsenal have been unable to agree a new contract with Wiltord while Kanu will move on at the end of his deal. Keown is a West Ham target and is set to sign this summer after his testimonial on 17 May.

Wenger is already set to sign young Dutch striker Robin van Persie from Feyenoord for £3m and his other targets will be defensive cover and possibly another forward.

His budget does not compare with the millions available to Sir Alex Ferguson at Manchester United or to whoever is in charge at Chelsea.

But he prefers to use his contacts and his excellent scouting network to save the club huge outlays and takes immense satisfaction from finishing ahead of United and Chelsea despite the tens of millions of pounds laid out to assemble their squads. And while the Premiership will always be Wenger's priority, he still craves success in the Champions League where Arsenal have yet to progress beyond the last eight.

___jeff
27-04-2004, 08:48 PM
SOL CAMPBELL almost walked away from football when his father died last year ? but now Arsenal?s title victory has left him on an emotional high.

Campbell was at his lowest ebb last September when his father Sewell, 74, passed away following a stroke.

It came at one of the most difficult times of Sol?s career, having missed the FA Cup final and the title run-in the previous season because of a controversial FA suspension.

Campbell was accused of deliberately elbowing Manchester United?s Ole Solskjaer ? but staunchly protested his innocence and was left with a bitter feeling of unfairness.

He also missed England?s crucial Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey because of injury. And then the death of his father knocked him sideways.

But now winning the championship has given him a huge sense of achievement.

The defender, 29, said: ?This season has been emotional for me because I had to dig deep.

?There was a time for me when my father passed away that I was thinking ?Shall I even go back to football??

?Loads of things go through your mind when that happens. It?s a big blow and you think ?Can I really go back??

?I coped with it by just spending time with my family over the two weeks and forgetting about football.

?When I came back I played against Liverpool first game and it felt a bit strange.

?But it really taught me about life and I learned a lot. Whatever happens from now on, I can look back and say I made the right decisions in life.?

___jeff
27-04-2004, 08:58 PM
Wenger gets Arsenal war chest
From correspondents in London
April 27, 2004

ARSENAL manager Arsene Wenger has been told he will have 15 million pounds to spend on strengthening his English Premiership winning squad in the summer.

Despite Arsenal's huge financial commitment to a new 400 million pound stadium, the Londoners aim to give Wenger the funds to keep the Gunners on top.

"We won't be able to go for a player who will cost mega-bucks, a 20 million pound or 30 million pound player," chairman Peter Hill-Wood said.

"But there will be enough there for Arsene if he wants to add to his squad. If, for instance, he wants another striker, then the money will be there as long as it isn't too high."

First on the list should be Feyenoord's Robin van Persie. The 20-year-old Dutch winger is set to plump for a 3 million pound move to north London this week.

Wenger brought in five new players this season - Jens Lehmann from Borussia Dortmund for 1 million pounds, Cesc Fabregas for a 500,000 pounds payment to Barcelona, Philippe Senderos for 500,000 from Servette Geneva, Gael Clichy for 250,000 pounds to French club AS Cannes and a down payment of 6 million pounds on Jose Reyes from Sevilla.

That adds up to 8.25 million pounds although the Reyes fee could amount to around 17 million pounds over the next five years.

Reinforcements will be needed with the probable departures of French striker Sylvain Wiltord, Nigerian forward Nwankwo Kanu and defender Martin Keown.

Arsenal have been unable to agree a new contract with Wiltord while Kanu will move on at the end of his deal. Keown is a West Ham target and is set to sign this summer after his testimonial on May 17.

Arsenal's budget does not compare with the millions available to Alex Ferguson at Manchester United or the Chelsea boss - be it Claudio Ranieri or whoever is in charge next season.

wiltord signed 2 year deal recently i thought ?

But Wenger has proved a shrewd judge of talent and has used his extensive scouting network to pull off some astute buys.

Vice-chairman David Dein emphasised how hard it was keeping the squad together in the face of constant approaches for his star manager and players Thierry Henry and Patrick Vieira.

"It hasn't been easy to fight off suitors who are after Arsene, Patrick and Thierry. We have had robust offers for all three of them in the last two seasons but we will not let them go," Dein told the London Evening Standard.

fatherboard
27-04-2004, 09:02 PM
keep the 15 million pounds, and gloom the youngsters up to fill the positions. what stevie, terry and own rumours, i think all are just rumours. arsenal don't have such money to spend, so i think best is to give the youngsters a chance.

FB.
:D

Arsenal85
27-04-2004, 09:29 PM
anyone here actually see Van Persie play before ?
:confused:

___jeff
27-04-2004, 09:30 PM
heard ppl saying van persie is a player with complete flair.

deathblade
27-04-2004, 09:38 PM
Who can tell us more about Van Panties please...:(

Kiwi8
27-04-2004, 09:50 PM
Van ****y? :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

FLiNcHY
27-04-2004, 10:42 PM
Wiltord.... please stay

Kanu too

deathblade
27-04-2004, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY
Wiltord.... please stay

Kanu too
:mad:

Mankul
28-04-2004, 12:02 AM
Wiltord.... please stay

Kanu too

me too... they are some great squad players..

intermilansg
28-04-2004, 12:16 AM
Originally posted by Arsenal85
anyone here actually see Van Persie play before ?
:confused:

if u watch the eurpean football show on ch22 u might be able to catch him in action. Abit like Vander meyde but plays on the left side.more potential due to his age but however hes quite lightweight. I have a profile of him in the feb 2004 world soccer issue. the short article also mentioned something about his mood swings nad inconsistency :rolleyes:

Arsenal85
28-04-2004, 12:44 AM
actually the problem is

i have no impression of Van Persie playing even tho i catch european football show regularly

so juz maybe all of us have nvr really watch him play too
:laugh:

intermilansg
28-04-2004, 12:50 AM
actually the problem is

i have no impression of Van Persie playing even tho i catch european football show regularly

:laugh: got lah i remembered they show a feyenoord match and he was playing. :angel:

SueDE_84
28-04-2004, 02:18 AM
actually the problem is

:laugh:

yeah so far i hav nvr seen a Dutch league game b4...n even when they show it...i dun realli notice or recognise the players

trinoo
28-04-2004, 07:02 AM
Medal aim for Arsenal stars

Martin Keown, Kanu, Jose Antonio Reyes and Jeremie Aliadiere could still win Premiership title medals, the Premier League has confirmed to BBC Sport.

Players need to make 10 appearances in a season to qualify for Premiership medals, and the Arsenal quartet are all currently just short of the mark.

Reyes and Kanu have each appeared in nine Premiership games in total.

Aliadiere has featured in seven matches but Keown must appear in the four remaining games to earn his medal.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/3662645.stm

FLiNcHY
28-04-2004, 08:06 AM
It just struck me that for all of Wenger's vision in Signing players and making them into stars or making the best out of them, he has yet to sign a keeper worthy of the rest of his signings.

All the keepers he has sign has not performed quite up to standard like the rest of his signings. We haven't quite signed a "Cudicini" yet.

I still like Lehmann alot though

Arsenal85
28-04-2004, 09:22 AM
Originally posted by trinoo
Medal aim for Arsenal stars

Martin Keown, Kanu, Jose Antonio Reyes and Jeremie Aliadiere could still win Premiership title medals, the Premier League has confirmed to BBC Sport.

Players need to make 10 appearances in a season to qualify for Premiership medals, and the Arsenal quartet are all currently just short of the mark.

Reyes and Kanu have each appeared in nine Premiership games in total.

Aliadiere has featured in seven matches but Keown must appear in the four remaining games to earn his medal.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/3662645.stm

hopefully Keown can collect it
but is Gael Clichy eligable for the medal ? :confused:

Jango
28-04-2004, 09:47 AM
Does substitution appearance even for 1 minute count?

We cannot sacrifice the unbeaten record just for players to get a medal!

LiteMan
28-04-2004, 10:11 AM
Anyone going to gather at Elizabeth Pub or Chjimes and cheer Arsenal lifting the trophy?

___jeff
28-04-2004, 03:33 PM
still long :laugh:

reyes9
28-04-2004, 05:40 PM
Originally posted by LiteMan
Anyone going to gather at Elizabeth Pub or Chjimes and cheer Arsenal lifting the trophy? this weekend meh? :rolleyes:

trinoo
28-04-2004, 07:21 PM
Woot!!!!!!! :bounce:
Champions agree deal for Robin van Persie

http://www.arsenal.com/images/persie.jpg
- Robin van Persie -

Dutch Under-21 international striker Robin van Persie has today agreed to join newly-crowned Premiership champions Arsenal from Feyenoord, on a long-term contract for an undisclosed fee and subject to a medical.

Van Persie, 20, who has been a regular in the Feyenoord first team for the past two seasons, helped the Dutch side capture the UEFA Cup in 2002. Also that year, Robin was awarded the Best Young Talent accolade by the Dutch PFA.

Representing Holland at Under-16, Under-18 and currently at Under-21 level, van Persie has made over 70 appearances for the Rotterdam club, including matches in both UEFA Champions League and UEFA Cup competitions.

Van Persie's six goals in 27 league appearances this season have helped Feyenoord to third place in the Dutch Eredivisie, with the Club once again close to qualifying for European competition next season.

Arsenal manager Arsène Wenger said: "Robin is a great young talent and a fantastic signing for the Club. He has shown great potential at both club and Under-21 international level and will help strengthen our squad considerably.

"He has a great left foot and is a great passer of the ball with excellent vision. He is a versatile player and is comfortable playing as a striker or on the wing. We are all looking forward to Robin joining us for pre-season in July."

On agreeing his move to the Gunners, van Persie said: "I'm delighted to be joining a great Club like Arsenal, this is a dream come true for me.

"The squad is full of players at the top of their game, which they have proved by winning the English Premier League last Sunday. I'm looking forward to meeting all my new team mates in the summer and helping the Club to challenge for more honours."

The Club expects to officially register Robin van Persie on May 17, 2004, when the transfer window re-opens. He will then join up with his new team mates for the Club's pre-season training in early July.

http://www.arsenal.com/sportsappcontroller.jsp?command=setSelectedId&nextPage=displayheadline&type=com.sportapps.news.NewsItem&id=4527211

Mankul
28-04-2004, 07:23 PM
woot woot!! I ADORE Arsene Wenger!

deathblade
28-04-2004, 07:24 PM
aNYONE KNOWS WHAT IS OUR aRSENAL MASCOT AH?

Mankul
28-04-2004, 07:32 PM
Originally posted by deathblade
aNYONE KNOWS WHAT IS OUR aRSENAL MASCOT AH?

http://www.arsenal.com/images/juniorgunners/join_strip.jpghttp://www.btinternet.com/~barry.kerr/gunnersaurus.jpghttp://www.euro-goal.info/euro4/england/mascottes/gunnersaurus.jpghttp://website.lineone.net/~neilash/gunnersaurus.jpg

Our mascot is called Gunnersaurus :D

for a list of other EPL club mascots:
http://www.euro-goal.info/euro4/england/mascottes/mascotte.htm

trinoo
28-04-2004, 07:34 PM
WENGER DELIGHT AT ROBIN DEAL

Wednesday 28th April 2004

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1211769.jpg
Van Persie: New Arsenal signing

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has expressed his delighted at the signing of Dutch starlet Robin van Persie.

The Gunners sealed the transfer - for an undisclosed fee - on Wednesday after van Persie agreed a four-year deal to leave Feyenoord.

The move ended a long chase for Wenger, who was very happy with the transfer.

"We have been interested in him since December," said Wenger told Arsenal's official website.

"But we have completed it now because we feel there is something really interesting there. He has great potential.

"He can play on the left side of midfield, as a creative player behind the main strikers or as a target man.

"His main assets are his vision of the game and his technical quality. He is tall too and uses his body well. He is quite good in the air and that is something new for us.

"He has shown great potential at both club and Under-21 international level and will help strengthen our squad considerably.

"We are all looking forward to Robin joining us for pre-season in July."

Arsenal will officially complete van Persie's signing when the transfer window reopens at the end of the season.

The 20-year-old was understandably happy to have finally agreed his move.

"I'm delighted to be joining a great club like Arsenal, this is a dream come true for me.

"The squad is full of players at the top of their game, which they have proved by winning the English Premier League last Sunday.

"I'm looking forward to meeting all my new team-mates in the summer and helping the club to challenge for more honours."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,40-1133024,00.html

leo_llw
28-04-2004, 08:13 PM
Wenger seems to prefer beefing up the left midfield :(

rAc3rX
28-04-2004, 08:17 PM
hmm...a leftie that plays on the wing, but wenger say going to replace bergy.

wonder where wenger going to put him?

leo_llw
28-04-2004, 08:28 PM
tat's why. Now we have lefties like Reyes, Pires, Cole, Clichy, Edu, van persie, GVB, Ljungberg in the team.

At the right, we try to slot in out-of-positioned Wiltord, Gilberto, Ljungberg and Bergkamp. Parlour is also getting old.

I was praying for a Meyde or Joaquin :(

rAc3rX
28-04-2004, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw
tat's why. Now we have lefties like Reyes, Pires, Cole, Clichy, Edu, van persie, GVB, Ljungberg in the team.

At the right, we try to slot in out-of-positioned Wiltord, Gilberto, Ljungberg and Bergkamp. Parlour is also getting old.

I was praying for a Meyde or Joaquin :(

Pires and ljungberg are righties.. :D

i was praying for rafael van der vaart instead
:bounce:

Arsenal85
28-04-2004, 08:41 PM
put Van Persie on the bench to tame him

he seems rebellious
quarrel with Feyenoord manager
dun agree on contract extenstion

i hope he won't be another Anelka

fatherboard
28-04-2004, 08:52 PM
Originally posted by rAc3rX

Pires and ljungberg are righties.. :D

i was praying for rafael van der vaart instead

i also praying van der vaart, much more established than persie.
but as what expected, aw will buy the unknowns and transform them into world-class stars. :D

as for gk, i think let lehmann play one last season. he will definitely change his temper and be more responsible. if not just let him warm the bench as punishment liao...if we buy new gk, i think stuart and graham gonna play more reserve games... AND we still got shaaban (wrong spelling?)! :cool: so we are not lacking of GKs...

i think the money can keep to buy more establish defenders. let toure play on the right, get John Terry over from chelski, i think we can conquer 'three front' better. =p

FB.

Fozzyrock
28-04-2004, 09:15 PM
put Van Persie on the bench to tame him

he seems rebellious
quarrel with Feyenoord manager
dun agree on contract extenstion

i hope he won't be another Anelka

Wat's so bad about being another Anelka? :confused:

Mankul
28-04-2004, 09:18 PM
Give Lehmann some credit! (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2004-04-28-13-42-25.html)

deathblade
28-04-2004, 09:54 PM
Originally posted by Fozzyrock

Wat's so bad about being another Anelka? :confused:

Er cos he leaves the club and spoil the atmosphere in the dressing room while he's here?

Souljer
28-04-2004, 10:45 PM
Van der Vaart or Joaquin will cost half or more of the 15 million war chest given to Wenger for his team-building.

Signing of Van Persie can only meant 1 thing: bye bye Bentley :( , Wiltord :) & Kanu :).

I hope Pennant is not sold. Our right flank is seriously understrength unless Lauren goes back to right midfielder to deputise for Freddy and Hoyte takes the right-back slot.

fatherboard
28-04-2004, 11:06 PM
Originally posted by Souljer

Signing of Van Persie can only meant 1 thing: bye bye Bentley :( , Wiltord :) & Kanu :).

I hope Pennant is not sold. Our right flank is seriously understrength unless Lauren goes back to right midfielder to deputise for Freddy and Hoyte takes the right-back slot.

bentley is still in aw's plans for the future. as for now, he seriously need to play more games to gain experience like what pennant is doing. staying in arsenal, playing in reserves, lacking in 1st team action really can't improve him much.

i like kanu's attitude, he got the right attitude.
as for wiltord .... :rolleyes:

van persie got such flair in him anot huh?
at least reyes, got some video to show... persie like 'NPNT' type...

FB.

Souljer
28-04-2004, 11:30 PM
Originally posted by fatherboard

bentley is still in aw's plans for the future. as for now, he seriously need to play more games to gain experience like what pennant is doing. staying in arsenal, playing in reserves, lacking in 1st team action really can't improve him much.

i like kanu's attitude, he got the right attitude.
as for wiltord .... :rolleyes:

van persie got such flair in him anot huh?
at least reyes, got some video to show... persie like 'NPNT' type...

FB.

According to Wenger, Bentley will be loaned out next season. With the exception of Ashley, those who were loaned out are usually sold according to past records. Ali who is not that experienced wasn't loaned out at all.

Dun mind Kanu staying but he's currently behind Bergkamp, Reyes, Ali and RVP in the pecking order. Dun think he wants to be fifth choice striker for us.

Rob Van Persie's goals (http://www.wepsite.net/lsfsite/archiefgoals.htm)

Can imagine wearing a Arsenal jersey with the name 'RVP' on it and pointing both thumbs behind the back. :D

___jeff
28-04-2004, 11:43 PM
hey souljer thanks for the link of the goals

FLiNcHY
28-04-2004, 11:49 PM
Skysports.com

REYES: ZIDANE? IT'S KING HENRY
Wednesday 28th April 2004

Reyes: Henry tribute

Jose Antonio Reyes believes that Arsenal team-mate Thierry Henry edges out Zinedine Zidane as the best player in the world.

The former Sevilla star admits that when he was plying his trade in Spain he regarded Real idol Zidane as the world's finest.

However, since switching to Arsenal three months ago, the Spanish international has gained first-hand experience of Henry's ability and feels he is a superior performer.

"He (Henry) is a footballer beyond the normal," Reyes told AS.

"When I was in Spain I thought that Zidane was the best in the world. Now I am convinced that it is Henry.

"With these players, France are the big favourites for the European Championship."

Reyes went on to add that he had been left in awe by the facilities at Arsenal, and insisted that The Gunners have to be considered as the best club in world football.

"Arsenal is just incredible," the 20-year-old continued.

"It is the best club in the world, above even (Real) Madrid.

"The structure, the coaches, the directors, the journeys in private planes…

"Also (Arsene) Wenger's treatment of the players is very good.

"There is a lot of seriousness and respect in his work.

"And the players? What can I say about them?

Souljer
28-04-2004, 11:59 PM
Our very own A-TEAM

http://www.football365shop.com/store/catalog/ATeam_detail1.jpg_200.jpg

fatherboard
29-04-2004, 12:00 AM

According to Wenger, Bentley will be loaned out next season. With the exception of Ashley, those who were loaned out are usually sold according to past records. Ali who is not that experienced wasn't loaned out at all.

Rob Van Persie's goals (http://www.wepsite.net/lsfsite/archiefgoals.htm)

Can imagine wearing a Arsenal jersey with the name 'RVP' on it and pointing both thumbs behind the back. :D

haiz... hopefully this pattern won't happen or continue.

Wah...not bad what, goto dutch website and find persie's goals :eek:. so how, new arsenal jersey with persie on the back? :laugh:

his headers, reminds me some of those alan smith scored...
finally aw, getting one forward, good in headers. :rolleyes:

FB.

deathblade
29-04-2004, 12:21 AM
http://www.btinternet.com/~barry.kerr/gunnersaurus.jpghttp://www.euro-goal.info/euro4/england/mascottes/gunnersaurus.jpghttp://website.lineone.net/~neilash/gunnersaurus.jpg

Gunnersaurus Rocks!!!:laugh:

Souljer
29-04-2004, 12:24 AM
Originally posted by fatherboard

haiz... hopefully this pattern won't happen or continue.

Wah...not bad what, goto dutch website and find persie's goals :eek:. so how, new arsenal jersey with persie on the back? :laugh:

his headers, reminds me some of those alan smith scored...
finally aw, getting one forward, good in headers. :rolleyes:

FB.

Heheh..I'm not that proficient in Dutch to go and dig out Persie's goal clips. Somebody in Arsenal Mania forum posted the link. Persie is 6 feet plus and lanky, reminds me of Van Basten. If he can play with 80% of Van Basten's talent, can already. :eek: Finally Lauren and Freddy's crosses won't go to waste with RVP around. :)

SueDE_84
29-04-2004, 01:05 AM

Heheh..I'm not that proficient in Dutch to go and dig out Persie's goal clips. Somebody in Arsenal Mania forum posted the link. Persie is 6 feet plus and lanky, reminds me of Van Basten. If he can play with 80% of Van Basten's talent, can already. :eek: Finally Lauren and Freddy's crosses won't go to waste with RVP around. :)

WOW:eek: in tat way...He n Henry n Reyes will make a damn lethal partnership n for every game...it'll be raining goals!

FLiNcHY
29-04-2004, 08:33 AM
wah wenger so handsome when he was young
like pires

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004191212,00.jpg

Arsenal85
29-04-2004, 08:39 AM
Our very own A-TEAM

http://www.football365shop.com/store/catalog/ATeam_detail1.jpg_200.jpg

Viera with the mohawk hairstyle ..
street fighter Zangief :o

Souljer
29-04-2004, 09:31 AM
like pires

Why am i not surprised that the remark comes from u? :rolleyes:

Better dun make Mankul jealous.

FLiNcHY
29-04-2004, 11:55 AM
Van Persie is so talented

Robin Van Persie is a very, very talented young footballer and he is definitely one of the best players coming through in Dutch football. I think he would be a good signing for any English club.

I'd say he is more of a winger than a striker at the moment, but he could play in any of the forward positions quite comfortably. Some people say he is the next Bergkamp but I think it's unfair on the boy to have that tag. Even he would say himself that he musn't be compared with Dennis Bergkamp. But he is still someone with a lot of potential.

Robin is quick, has a nice left foot and most importantly he is an excellent crosser of the ball. He has an exciting future

Souljer
29-04-2004, 01:58 PM
Van Persie is so talented

Robin is quick, has a nice left foot and most importantly he is an excellent crosser of the ball. He has an exciting future

Cool....our very own Beckham+Ryan Giggs clone. Henry better start practising his headers.

leo_llw
29-04-2004, 07:14 PM
No link. Written by JJ_Batchelor in Sammyboy
===================================

Arsenal have won their second Premiership title in three years(or third in seven years depending on how you look at it). And they have done so without having been beaten in 34 matches. An accomplishment that would probably never be surpassed, just like United's treble (the real one) of 1999, which proved elusive for Arsenal.
United and Chelsea have been hanging on to their coattails since late February. Sitting on a comfy seven point lead and with United and Chelsea stuttering, Arsenal had it easy going into the home stretch. When United dumped them out of the FA Cup, their treble dream vanished. And when Chelsea did the same to them in the Champions League, the stage was set for another spectacular collapse of the 2002/03 variety.

With key players looking jaded and not much quality backup to call upon, the last thing they would have wanted was back to back fixtures against Liverpool and Newcastle, two teams vying for the crucial fourth place. When Sami Hyypia gave Liverpool an early lead, most people's mind would have immediately flashed back to last season when Harry Kewell scored a spectacular volley inside 5 minutes for Leeds. But history was not about to repeat itself.

Liverpool had asked questions but one man provided all the answers. The irrepressible Thierry Henry, who had been subdued in the previous 4 games, put in a masterclass to single handedly destroy a poor Liverpool defence. One of the goals he scored is a contender for goal of the season. The Frenchman, renowned for using his pace to get behind defenders, proved that he's not only about speed. With a mixture of guile and close control, he slalomed past four players before passing the ball into the net.

Arsenal came away with four points from the two games and put paid to any hopes of United or Chelsea catching them. But this article isn't about glorifying Arsenal further.

As much as Arsenal have bewildered all of us with an intoxicating mixture of speed & power, I wonder how much of it was contributed by the quality of the Premiership, whom Sky Sports have us believe is the best in Europe.

Another question should be raised:

Was the lack of a real title challenge from my beloved Manchester United, the deposed Champions, the main contributing factor in Arsenal winning the title undefeated and with four games to spare?

It's been a disastrous season for United. And like all disasters, it's only human nature to point questioning fingers at those in charge. The failure to sustain a title challenge from January and the poor performances by Manchester United can be put down to one man: Sir Alex Ferguson.

When David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron departed, United lost two players who used to provide quality service into the box. Sure, United had the prolific Ruud van Nistelrooy. But it's no secret that the Dutchman can't carve out his own goalscoring chances. He needed players around him to provide the bullets.

The Brazilian Ronaldinho, was Ferguson's number one transfer target but the United board, the same board which dished out £30 million for Rio Ferdinand, thought £20 million was too much money for a player untested in Europe. He went to F.C. Barcelona instead. Ferguson must have had many sleepless nights from watching Ronaldinho, who'll no doubt be the eventual heir to Zinedine Zidane, single handedly thrust Barcelona into Championship reckoning in Spain.

With the introduction of Roman Abramovic to the English game, United's long term targets, Joe Cole and Damien Duff joined the other glittering talents already at disposal in Stamford Bridge. To rub salts into the wounds, United CEO Peter Kenyon, the man responsible for manipulating Manchester United's huge marketing appeal, defected to West London to join the Russian Revolution. The repercussion of it was felt only recently when Arjen Robben, the player tracked by Ferguson to eventually succeed Ryan Giggs, pinched from under their noses.

With the fans losing patience over the lack of big name players joining and clubs increasingly holding United to ransom over transfer fees, they paid £12 million to Sporting Lisbon for an eighteen year old winger, Cristiano Ronaldo. Ferguson handed young Ronaldo his debut against Bolton on the opening day of the season and in an instant, the restlessness felt by United followers over the lack of any big name signings were immediately put to rest. “Who needs David Beckham?”, was the cry heard around Old Trafford, albeit prematurely. Because David Beckham HAS been missed and that feeling has been echoed by both van Nistelrooy and Mikael Silvestre. By buying Ronaldo, United had bought the long term successor for Ryan Giggs. But they had failed to purchase a replacement for David Beckham.

Boardroom conflicts, contractual disputes and legal disputes over stud rights aside, the one reason Ferguson has been guilty of is his rotational policy or 'tinkering' as it has become known to many of us.

No less than 11 players from a first team squad of 22 have started 10 games or more in midfield. United have played 24 different permutations in midfield. They have never started the same midfield for more than two games running and even that was for the first two games of the season against Arsenal in the Charity Shield and Bolton at Old Trafford. Ferguson's obligation to spreading games across the entire squad and the insistence on playing players out of position has seen it's effects.

United look a pale shadow of their former selves. Gone is the swagger. Gone is the careful approach play. Gone are the days when United chasing a game was one of footballs finest sight. All they are now is an ugly and boring football team in danger of emulating their Northern neighbours Liverpool.

With United out of the running for the Championship, Chelsea provided the most likeliest challenge but their tinkering caught up with them too. Arsenal have been in cruise control since February. Last season, their 5 point lead was wiped clean by an all conquering United team who kept winning and winning. Under immense pressure, the Gunners cracked. With United unable to string 5 passes together let alone 5 wins this term, Arsenal did not have to break sweat as they jogged to the finishing line without even bothering to take a reassuring look back. And they look capable of running all the way to next seasons finishing line too.
Of utmost concern to United must be the fading powers of inspirational skipper Roy Keane. Approaching his 33rd birthday in a couple of months, the Irish terrier is no longer the force he once was. Keane is a unique player in English football, someone who dominated the game so completely at the peak of his powers that we will probably never see a player like him again. Patrick Vieira might be the best all round midfielder in the world at the moment, but no one has driven a team on like Keane has for United. He dragged the side forward on his own at times. Remember Turin in 1999?

There's no one in the current United team who could quite replace Keane so United should buy from outside and the only player Ferguson sees as a likely replacement, the only player he covets, is impossible to recruit. The modern day version of Duncan Edwards. That player. Liverpool's Steven Gerrard.

leo_llw
29-04-2004, 07:36 PM
.... Vice-chairman David Dein also put the club’s success down to Wenger.

Dein was instrumental in luring Wenger to Highbury from Japanese football in 1996. He said: “You can look at what some of the team are worth but you cannot put a figure on Arsene — he is priceless.

“In my opinion he is the most talented manager in the world.”

Wenger’s reign has seen 110 players come and go but, financially, the Gunners remain in good shape despite committing £400m to a new stadium.

Dein added: “The deficit in transfers in all the time Arsene has been with us is less than £40m. That is absolutely nothing when you think what Thierry Henry and Patrick Vieira are worth.

“The trick for us is keeping this team together because Chelsea have very deep pockets and United are the most financially powerful club in the world.

“Arsene has engendered a tremendous spirit at the club and has worked genuine miracles. It has been a very difficult balancing act with the finances this season because we have had the pressure of sorting out the stadium.

“The first thing to do is get a winning team and the second is to have a lovely stadium. It appears we have managed to do both.”

HOW THE TOP THREE COMPARE

MANCHESTER UNITED
UNITED paid £31million to bag Kleberson, Cristiano Ronaldo and Louis Saha this season, but only have the FA Cup to play for.
OUT (since 2002-03): £70m.
IN: £42m.
NET DEBT: £28m.
SQUAD VALUE: £199m.

CHELSEA
CHELSEA’S spending has gone through the roof since Roman Abramovich’s arrival.
OUT: £121.75m.
IN: £1.1m.
NET DEBT: £120.65m.
SQUAD VALUE: £194m.

ARSENAL
ARSENE WENGER did not have to break the bank to lead Arsenal to Premiership glory this season.
The Highbury boss has spent very little in the last two years.
Spanish striker Jose Reyes is his biggest signing — a £17million buy from Seville — during that time.
OUT: £25.1m.
IN: £4.56m.
NET DEBT: £20.54m.
SQUAD VALUE: £214m.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004191356,00.html

rAc3rX
29-04-2004, 08:19 PM
like pires

hmm..what club did he played for when he was young?
i guessed he must be a attacking kind of player :D

Kiwi8
29-04-2004, 08:21 PM

hmm..what club did he played for when he was young?
i guessed he must be a attacking kind of player :D

I dunno.... but it was reported that he was mediocre as a player though....

Arsenal85
29-04-2004, 08:43 PM
AW plays for Strasbourg before
and won a ligue 1 title with them

u can get these info here
Link (http://encyclopedia.thefreedictionary.com/Arsene%20Wenger)

RSKeisuke
29-04-2004, 08:51 PM
Wenger in CMPB jersey?! :laugh:
at first glance, i tot so.. =p

swalk21
30-04-2004, 12:54 AM
This sat same place let watch our beloved team lift the trophy at home ground .6pm orchard mrt

Mankul
30-04-2004, 12:58 AM
Originally posted by swalk21
This sat same place let watch our beloved team lift the trophy at home ground .6pm orchard mrt

someone mentioned to me that the trophy would be given on the last day...

what was practiced in the pass?... cos technically.. Arsenla havent' win the EPL yet... e.g. ... Arsenal may have a BIG BRAWL at any of their last matches and cause a big hoohah... rig they're last games and then charged by the FA and kena deducted 10 points.... Chelsea then overtake and go on to wni the EPL...

anything can happen...

FLiNcHY
30-04-2004, 01:50 AM
I hope we see this again

This time with Henry:)

http://www.arseblog.com/notworthy.html

FLiNcHY
30-04-2004, 01:53 AM
The Times, online

Up the magician’s sleeve
ANDY ROXBURGH, UEFA TECHNICAL DIRECTOR
There are many great coaches, but the Arsenal manager’s unique talents are certain to keep him ahead of the pack

I’ve just come back from Romania, where I was instructing a batch of up-and-coming coaches studying for their Uefa professional licence course. The group included many from Romania’s golden generation of players, guys like Gheorghe Hagi. It takes something special to make an impact on people who have achieved so much in the game, so in my lectures I tried to share with them a selection of the insights I’ve gathered from the top minds in modern coaching. I found that many of the quotes I used came from Arsène Wenger.

He is a landmark figure in football, and his contribution to the game in England has been immense. He has helped to change people’s ideas of what a coach should be, and with every title he wins, more will pay attention to what he stands for. The culture of coaching was not widespread in England until recently. Go back 20 years, and it was a casual business, whereas in Italy, Germany, France and Spain, the training of coaches has been taken seriously since the 1970s. England is now in line with those countries. Arsène sold the idea of coaching as a profession.

He was a good player, but not a great one, a bit like Sir Alex Ferguson, although Ferguson played at a much higher level. Both men had to work at the game and think hard about it to succeed. They brought that mentality into management. The genius player sometimes makes a poor coach, because he has never had to think about the game. Arsène learnt at an early stage that football is something not to be taken for granted. Having a big name as a player helps when you go into management, that’s undeniable, but more important are those things epitomised by the Arsenal boss: intelligence, learning, hard work and passion.

Any great coach must have 10 key attributes, it reads like a top 10 of Arsène’s qualities:

1 A clear philosophy: This is perhaps the most important thing of all if you want to be a top coach. Arsène loves a passing-based, creative, attacking game, but he is also pragmatic, and insists on discipline at the back. Aspects of his Arsenal team have evolved, but in these basic principles he has never changed. If you don’t know where you’re going, you’ll end up nowhere.

Clarity of vision is what distinguishes the best from the rest. Ferguson, like Arsène, has a clear philosophy. Another who springs to mind is Marcello Lippi.

2 Ability to impart your philosophy: Arsène has the professional knowledge and coaching acumen to turn his vision into reality. It is not enough to be a thinker; you have to be able to make others perform. There are plenty willing to philosophise about football, but only a few who can get their thoughts across to players with clarity. Arsenal know exactly what Arsène wants and what they need to do to achieve it.

3 An eye for players: It sounds obvious, but there’s no point knowing what you want without having an idea of the players you need to bring it about. Arsène’s eye for players is extraordinary. We all know about the top ones he has “discovered”, such as Thierry Henry, Patrick Vieira and Robert Pires, but his ability to sign the best extends way beyond first-team level.

The two best youth players I have seen in Uefa or world championships in recent years have both ended up at Arsenal. Philippe Senderos was the outstanding footballer at the European under-17 championship in 2002, where he captained Switzerland to victory, and Arsène signed him from Servette. Francesc Fabregas was the best player in last year’s world under-17 championship, when he inspired Spain to the final, where they were beaten by Brazil. An exciting, creative talent, he is a great passer of the ball. He was affiliated to Barcelona, but hadn’t signed a contract, so Arsène enticed him away.

Arsène, as with Ferguson, builds for tomorrow. Don’t forget that Henry made his senior debut under Arsène, as a 17-year-old at Monaco.

4 Attention to detail: This is a facet all top coaches share. Arsène is obsessed by detail. He studies football. He monitors every aspect of his players’ performance and closely concentrates on even the smallest aspects of training, preparation and tactics.

5 Intelligence: Arsène is very clever. As well as intelligence, he has the conviction to express his thoughts. I have known him for more than 10 years, through his participation in Uefa’s elite coaches’ forum — the group of top European coaches who meet regularly to discuss developments in the Champions League. Although the company is pretty elevated, he has always had intelligent, strong opinions and the confidence to express them. He is also part of the Uefa technical team that produces a report on the Champions League every season.

6. Human qualities: Arsène has his own particular character, but he relates well to different people — especially millionaire footballers. He treats players as adults and secures their friendship, yet retains a gap between them and himself, which is essential when it comes to retaining authority. Henry has spoken about how much he likes playing for his manager — how Arsène “lets me live my life”.

7 Communication: Arsène is an excellent communicator. He speaks with authority to everybody — players, coaches, directors and the media. One of his favourite sayings is: “The face of the coach is a mirror to the health of his team.” That’s perceptive. Gerard Houllier believes something similar: that the most important 30 seconds of any manager’ s week are during the post-match interview, because it is watched by players, their families, directors, directors’ wives — everybody connected with the club. In the same way, Arsène understands that the way a manager projects himself sets the tone for his side.

8 Loyalty: Sir Alex is famous for his loyalty. Arsène stands no less strongly behind his players. Sometimes people criticise him for defending them in situations, but I don’t think it’s possible to be a top coach without inspiring loyalty.

He will criticise in private but defend in public. And if he doesn’t feel he can defend the player, he’ll avoid the issue and say nothing. You’ve only got to look at the top players who have stayed at Highbury despite offers from elsewhere to see how this loyalty is reciprocated.

9 Curiosity: Today’s modern coach quickly becomes tomorrow’s old coach if he is not careful. You can remain at the top only if you are curious. Arsène continues to evolve as a coach — he’s very open-minded. An example of this is his use of ProZone, the video analysis system that allows coaches to monitor every detail of a player’s physic al activity during a game and to replay games using graphics. He’s always trying to learn, and never takes his eye off the sport.

10 Class: Arsène is a man who demands your respect and admiration. Even opponents recognise this. He has a certain Gallic charm. Whenever he’s at one of our forums, he always comes out with at least one perceptive statement, that you go away remembering.

There aren’t many people who make you think the way he does. The few others who come to my mind are Ferguson, Rinus Michels, Carlos Parreira and Houllier. It takes talent to manage talent. I spoke to a group of elite coaches recently and projected those words on to a screen with Arsène’s picture above them. He has changed English football, as I have said, and is close to making a major impression on Europe as well.

Michels, who did so much to build Ajax into Europe’s best side in the early 1970s, has been saying for a couple of years now that he wouldn’t be surprised if Arsenal win the European Cup.

Let’s be honest about his side’s failures in Europe in the past two seasons. They were not down to something major — Arsenal were a very fine line away from success, particularly this year against Chelsea in the quarter-final. The potential to go on and become European champions next season is there, and with players such as Senderos and Fabregas in development, it should be there for years to come. I would hesitate to say that any one team is leading the way in football, but what you can say about Arsenal is that the style Arsène has developed is in line with where all the trends are leading in the modern game. Speed has become everything, not just the physical speed of players, but speed of moving the ball and speed of thought. This is absolutely what Arsenal are about. The counter -attack has become a key factor. The most basic and traditional counter-attack is knocking a long ball upfield when the opposing defence is out of position. Arsenal have evolved the most potent modern weapon — the collective counter-attack from midfield. A midfielder receives the ball, and suddenly two, three or four players advance together. The defenders are beaten by the sheer pace of what has happened . Only the top European teams can do this. Arsène has been invaluable to my work in developing Europe’s coaches through the example he provides. More than anything, he is an all-round figure, as a coach and as a person. He is football’s renaissance man.

Souljer
30-04-2004, 05:17 PM
No link. Written by JJ_Batchelor in Sammyboy
===================================

This Batchelor is such a blardy manu fanatic prick that his views are always in favour of his team and beloved Van Nistelrooy! U shld ask Midnite to write something as he's a true gooner.

raveness
30-04-2004, 06:31 PM

This Batchelor is such a blardy manu fanatic prick that his views are always in favour of his team and beloved Van Nistelrooy! U shld ask Midnite to write something as he's a true gooner.

WhoTF is JJ :confused:
WhyTF is a POS's view of any importance to Gooners? :rolleyes:
WatTF has this got to do with this thread? http://www.acura-tl.com/forums/images/smilies/smackhead.gif

please lah leo...post in the correct forum/thread next time leh...:P
if got nothing better to post in this thread...PLEASE DUN POST! :laugh:

raveness
30-04-2004, 07:12 PM
Argh!!! wtf is wrong with tis server/forum leh :mad:

NOOOOOoooooo!!!! :sad:
Byebye Freddie? from ARSENAL NEWS REVIEW (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2004-04-30-11-18-07.html)

...I'VE BEEN telling friends for weeks that Freddie Ljungberg was on the way out.

Some Gooners were indignant, did not believe it.

Some got upset with me. But I won't publich their emails !

Today's Sun says Arsenal are inviting bids for Freddie.

He is rated at £12 million !

When great teams improve, and move on, one or two players get left behind.It happens all the time.

Freddie has been a gutsy competitor for Arsenal and I like him a lot.

His goals in big games - two against Lazio, two against Juventus,and memorable strikes in two FA Cup Finals, will live on in the mind's eye.

Not to mention the jab over Schmeichel when he came on as a sub on his debut.

At £3.5 million he was a steal.

Freddie needs to be playing on the left, cutting in on his right foot, holding the defender off with his left hip, while he uses his stronger foot to get his shot or pass.

As I've always said here, Freddie is not great at dribbling, passing or crossing.

But he is tenacious and he can make well-timed runs off the ball and he is a nerveless finisher in pressure games.

Unfortunately, the little warrior has only scored 4 goals this season.

I wish Freddie well and hope Arsenal can get £7m.

Thanks, kid !

We have enjoyed your efforts in loads of games that Arsenal would not have won without you.

edited

SAY IT ISN"T SO!!! :~(
sigh...then again...it was reported bye The Sun :P
keeping fingers n toes crossed...

fatherboard
30-04-2004, 07:45 PM
sell Ljungberg for what? :eek:
he just like parlour, can die for the team. althought his scoring rate a bit low, but he contribute alot to the attack as well as the defence. i think the 'Sun' is rising from the west, that's why all the rumours... :D

FB.

Mankul
30-04-2004, 08:00 PM
This just shows you guys are following blind faith :laugh:

Told you guys already.... Wiltrod is better than Lungberg.... I hope Arsene will sell Lungberg and get BIG money out of him.. this will be a SMACK IN THE FACE for you guys who think lungberg is so much better than Wiltord :laugh:

I'm waiting patiently... :)

I've got foresight you know ;)

deathblade
30-04-2004, 10:19 PM
Originally posted by Mankul
This just shows you guys are following blind faith :laugh:

Told you guys already.... Wiltrod is better than Lungberg.... I hope Arsene will sell Lungberg and get BIG money out of him.. this will be a SMACK IN THE FACE for you guys who think lungberg is so much better than Wiltord :laugh:

I'm waiting patiently... :)

I've got foresight you know ;)

Yeah thats why there sre clubs who want to buy Lungberg but none for Wiltord... Sorry about OUR blind faith....duh:rolleyes:

fatherboard
30-04-2004, 10:34 PM

Yeah thats why there sre clubs who want to buy Lungberg but none for Wiltord... Sorry about OUR blind faith....duh:rolleyes:

haha... he got foresight, i think his eyes 'bark tio sai'. :laugh:
always want to prove people wrong, until himself bite his own tail.
the "list of players, wenger won't buy" is the best evidence liao...

FB.
:cool:

leo_llw
30-04-2004, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by raveness

WhoTF is JJ :confused:
WhyTF is a POS's view of any importance to Gooners? :rolleyes:
WatTF has this got to do with this thread? [IMG]
please lah leo...post in the correct forum/thread next time leh...:P
if got nothing better to post...PLEASE DUN POST! :laugh:
This JJ is a diehard Manure fan...

I cannot resist posting this article since this is probable the first time in years that he admitted his United is playing second fiddle to ARSENAL. :laugh:

Anyway it's good having JJ around in Sammyboy.....the soccer fans in HWZ forum ain't as knowledgable and cannot post a

Jango
01-05-2004, 12:10 AM
Can Van Persie be tamed by Wenger?
By Ian McGarry, Daily Mail
29 April 2004

Arsene Wenger may have just cracked the Premiership, but by signing Robin van Persie for £2.5million yesterday he has taken on a player with a free spirit no manager has been able to harness.

Unruly, indisciplined and arrogant, the 20-year-old Dutchman has been labelled Holland's Nicolas Anelka - demonised for a petulant attitude, though hugely admired for his talent. He comes with more baggage than Louis Vuitton.

Van Persie's problems with authority began when, as an eight-year-old, he played for Excelsior Rotterdam.

Rene Hessel, a coach with the side, recalls one training session particularly clearly. 'Van Persie did nothing he was told and everything he wanted,' Hessel said. 'Even when I told the kids to get changed, he just stood on the pitch and in the end I had to lift him up and carry him to the touchline.'

Twelve years on and little has changed. Van Persie may have got older, but he has not grown up.

That much was clear at the beginning of this season when he fell out spectacularly with his coach over, of all things, his warm-up.

Feyenoord were playing Fenerbahce in a Champions League qualifier and manager Bert van Marwijk took exception to Van Persie's laconic routine, which would not even have been suitable for a parks game. Van Marwijk, a strict disciplinarian, threw the youngster out of the squad before kickoff.

Van Persie did not take it lying down. Ninety minutes later, with Feyenoord having won, their dressing-room celebrations were interrupted as the banished star burst in.

He screamed abuse at his team-mates, threw his boots off in anger and had to be restrained by a physio. Van Marwijk banned him for the next four matches.

'We didn't understand his reaction,' said team-mate Kees van Wonderen. 'Robin is an individualist who sometimes seems to live in his own world.'

Van Persie's 'individualism' is the result of his upbringing.

The son of a sculptor and artist, Bob van Persie, the young Robin enjoyed a liberal childhood after his parents divorced and his mother abandoned him on his father's doorstep because she could not control him.

He was sent to a school for difficult children, but was hardly given a firm guiding hand by his father, perhaps partly because, from a very early age, Bob was convinced of Robin's footballing greatness.

Today Bob, whose fame as a sculptor increased significantly once his son began to make his name as a footballer, can claim he was right all along.

'Robin is the best young player in Holland and will one day be recognised as one of the greatest players in the world,' he said yesterday. 'He has always inspired me in my work because he is such a special talent.'

Robin's talent was recognised at an early age.

He has been with Feyenoord since he was 12, but a key part of his footballing education came on the streets of Rotterdam's Kralingen district, where he learned how to play the hard way.

'Street football' is a part of Dutch culture which has no equal in Britain and involves gangs of roaming youths challenging each other to contests in squares where the only rule is 'win at all costs'. Most games end when the police break them up.

Kralingen has a famous little square surrounded by high fences. It was nicknamed 'the Cage' and Robin was known as 'the King of the Cage'.

He made his Feyenoord debut aged 18 in early 2002, going on to make 10 league appearances before the end of the season and playing in the UEFA Cup Final victory over Borussia Dortmund.

The next season he ended with eight goals from 28 games. This campaign he has found the net six times from 32 appearances.

Among his admirers is Marco van Basten. 'Robin is perhaps the most gifted and talented player in Holland,' said the legendary former Holland striker. 'But he has to work on his physique because it seems every time he makes a play in a match he has to rest for three or four minutes afterwards.'

All of a sudden, the attraction for Wenger is apparent. 'Robin has shown great potential at both club and Under 21 international level and will help strengthen our squad considerably,' said the Arsenal manager after the signing was confirmed.

'He has a great left foot and is a great passer of the ball, with excellent vision. He's a versatile player and is comfortable as a striker or on the wing.

'He can play on the left of midfield, as a creative player behind the main strikers or as a target man.

'His main assets are his vision and his technical quality. He's tall too, uses his body well and is quite good in the air - so that's something new for us.'

For Wenger, however, the biggest problem may be keeping his new signing out of trouble. Sometimes it just seems to find him.

Two weeks ago, he played in a reserve match against Feyenoord's great rivals Ajax. As he trooped off at the end of the game, he was attacked by Ajax hooligans, who left him severely bruised on his neck and back.

===========

Sounds like this guy could have spontaneous self-combustion at anytime.:D

Arsenal85
01-05-2004, 12:44 AM
didn't know he had a pretty sad childhood :o

King_Henry
01-05-2004, 12:58 AM
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has revealed that he needs just one more player to complete his squad for next season - but it will not be David Beckham.

Wenger admits he would be interested if the England captain decided to return to London from Real Madrid this summer, but simply could not compete with the spending power of rivals like Chelsea.

'Does he interest me? Yes. Can we afford him? No,' revealed Wenger.

'He's an interesting player for any manager as he's a great footballer. He doesn't live too far away from the training ground so he wouldn't even need a helicopter - he could even come by bike!'

Wenger is nevertheless already close to finalising his plans for next season, having just added striker Robin van Persie to the January capture of forward Jose Reyes.

He is set to allow Kanu and Martin Keown to leave at the end of their contracts this summer, while Sylvain Wiltord may follow suit, while he would also like to find a buyer for Francis Jeffers.

However, he insisted: 'I am still on the market for one more player, or two at most, but basically we have finished our transfer market.

'We have gone always for stability and we have brought in who we want to bring in. I want to keep the spirit of the squad and we have good young players that I want to keep it open for.

'The players who are under contract will all stay. As for the players who are free, their cases haven't been sorted out yet.'

Dennis Bergkamp, who is one of those out of contract this summer, could still earn a final one-year deal.

'There's a good chance that Dennis will stay. He has been outstanding this year and can be a great influence on players like van Persie,' added Wenger. 'You need a balance age-wise in the squad. Sometimes, a player looks finished at 33 but then has a great season at 34.'

Keown, now 37, could also remain but only if he is willing to end a top-flight career of regular first-team football, meaning that a move to a club like West Ham or Norwich could be more tempting.

'I don't know if Martin will stay. He still has games in him, maybe for two seasons, but I'm not necessarily convinced that he has those games at Arsenal,' revealed Wenger.

'If you don't play for too long at that age, then it's difficult to bounce back. We have Philippe Senderos and Pascal Cygan, as well as Sol Campbell and Kolo Toure, so we still have four centre-backs.'

Wenger has also insisted that he has no plans to replace keeper Jens Lehmann, even though he admits that the German international must calm down when provoked by opponents.

So with his defence and strikeforce sorted, it is a midfielder that Wenger must be seeking to sign, with Giovanni van Bronckhorst presumably set to be sold to Barcelona, where he is on loan.

Not that Wenger is also looking to get rid of Fredrik Ljungberg, despite reports to the contrary.

'I don't know where this kind of information comes from, but it's not true. Of course, Freddie is staying,' he maintained.

Then there are youngsters to bring through, such as striker Jeremie Aliadiere, defenders Senderos, Gael Clichy and Justin Hoyte, as well as midfielders David Bentley and Francesc Fabregas.

However, Wenger does not believe that a radical overhaul is needed, even to find elusive success in the Champions League.

'I feel we've done well in Europe. Basically, we have lost against an English team whom we hadn't lost against before for 17 games,' he said. 'We want to be a better team for next season and 90 per cent of that job starts with every individual in the team and with me.'

Wenger's immediate priority, however, is to ensure that Arsenal continue their unbeaten league run as they look to make history by going through the entire season without Premiership defeat.

With Birmingham City visiting Highbury tomorrow, he vowed: 'Next season starts now. The players want to make history as they are winners.

'We fought so hard until now to keep that record going so that letting it slip now, just because we are not focused enough, would be stupid.'

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=298907&cc=4716

leo_llw
01-05-2004, 01:33 AM
didn't know he had a pretty sad childhood :o
well, if Wenger did not handle him properly, we might have a training bust-up between him and short-fuse Lehman soon :(

swalk21
01-05-2004, 02:41 AM

This JJ is a diehard Manure fan...

I cannot resist posting this article since this is probable the first time in years that he admitted his United is playing second fiddle to ARSENAL. :laugh:

Anyway it's good having JJ around in Sammyboy.....the soccer fans in HWZ forum ain't as knowledgable and cannot post a

so?

FLiNcHY
01-05-2004, 03:37 AM
bARCA'S financial whizzkid:

Soriano said yesterday: "There is no player who becomes available in this market whom we cannot afford to buy. Everything is achievable and I include Van Nistelrooy in that statement. The only players who will be outside our reach will be those such as Thierry Henry at Arsenal, whose club don't want to sell and who doesn't want to leave, either."

:laugh: :laugh:

raveness
01-05-2004, 08:40 AM
Originally posted by Jango

'Street football' is a part of Dutch culture which has no equal in Britain and involves gangs of roaming youths challenging each other to contests in squares where the only rule is 'win at all costs'. Most games end when the police break them up.

Kralingen has a famous little square surrounded by high fences. It was nicknamed 'the Cage' and Robin was known as
'the King of the Cage'

:eek:

how come he wasn't in the nike ad?!! :laugh:

wahlau...tis robin sure qualify as a Gunner liao leh PaiKia!!! :evil:
wahahah :P

raveness
01-05-2004, 08:51 AM
Originally posted by King_Henry

He is set to allow Kanu and Martin Keown to leave at the end of their contracts this summer, while Sylvain Wiltord may follow suit, while he would also like to find a buyer for Francis Jeffers.

Not that Wenger is also looking to get rid of Fredrik Ljungberg, despite reports to the contrary.

'I don't know where this kind of information comes from, but it's not true. Of course, Freddie is staying,' he maintained.

Phew!!! tink can uncross toes liao :laugh:
eh mankul...seems like u not on same wavelength as AW leh :rolleyes: beta give him a call yah?

Then there are youngsters to bring through, such as striker Jeremie Aliadiere, defenders Senderos, Gael Clichy and Justin Hoyte, as well as midfielders David Bentley and Francesc Fabregas.

please sir...can we see more of them...:D

swalk21
01-05-2004, 02:25 PM
Elizabeth hotel pub .Those new and going leave yr contacts to me via pm before 4pm.

We be meeting at Orchard MRT at 6.30pm .

catch arsenal make ham tonite:D

FLiNcHY
01-05-2004, 03:17 PM
Arsenal will sign beckham man.

Now the tabloids all silent, wenger also deny

Suddenly will sure hit us in the face one morning.

Sell ljungberg to madrid for 12 million and buy beckham for 20 million

Not that much difference.

Its possible!!

Jango
01-05-2004, 03:22 PM
Will be interesting to see if Wenger can pull this one off! Beckham for Ljungberg would be nice.

See u guys at the pub later!:bounce:

rAc3rX
01-05-2004, 08:29 PM
wah lau, arsenal 1st half bo xim play...
best player on the field is david dunn :eek:

deathblade
01-05-2004, 08:46 PM
Arsenal will sign beckham man.

Now the tabloids all silent, wenger also deny

Suddenly will sure hit us in the face one morning.

Superb logic... i'll rate this as high as Mankul's one that predicted that Van Persie WILL NEVER SIGN for us... :bounce: Simply brilliant!!

Last week he said Wenger never sign establish peeps now this... consistency and spectacular brilliance!!

Mankul
01-05-2004, 09:07 PM
I think viera lacks in SPURRING MOTIVATION!!!

when arsenal is not playing well IN THE GAME.. ADams will shout and spur then on with his GRIT FACE..

Vieira NEVER do that... :mad:

rAc3rX
01-05-2004, 10:10 PM

when arsenal is not playing well IN THE GAME.. ADams will shout and spur then on with his GRIT FACE..

I think AW made Vieira the captain bcos he wants him to stay in Arsenal..during the year where Real Madrid is interested in Vieira..

anyway about that game, Reyes had a terrible game! he cant play left mid :(

deathblade
01-05-2004, 11:53 PM

They are different style one la.... U ever seen Adams strip down to underwear to celebrate? Anyway won the league liao... I rather they relax then get injured.:D

RSKeisuke
02-05-2004, 01:29 AM
I say this some weeks ago.. and I'll say it now again.. though i wish i would be proven wrong..

Jose Antonio Reyes could turn out a flop.

He goes down too easily and EPL may be too physical for his style.

And unless this is another coincidence, the "Henry cannot partner Reyes" theory is true?

Just my humble opinion.. what you guys think?

trinoo
02-05-2004, 07:25 AM
Originally posted by RSKeisuke
I say this some weeks ago.. and I'll say it now again.. though i wish i would be proven wrong..

And unless this is another coincidence, the "Henry cannot partner Reyes" theory is true?

how long it took for bergkamp and henry to adapt premier league?

LiteMan
02-05-2004, 12:28 PM
Will be interesting to see if Wenger can pull this one off! Beckham for Ljungberg would be nice.

See u guys at the pub later!:bounce:

Jango, were you sitting at the sofa corner, wearing Arsenal jersey, with your wife?

LiteMan
02-05-2004, 12:34 PM

Maybe too physical...anyway his passing is not there yet...

Still I think his saving traits will be his pace and ability to shoot rocket-balls.

Did you see the one move where Bergkamp crossed friom the right and then Reyes just sent a instinctive volley wide with his side facing the Birmingham goal?

RSKeisuke
02-05-2004, 12:47 PM

how long it took for bergkamp and henry to adapt premier league?

i'll be crossing my fingers for that.. ;)

leo_llw
02-05-2004, 10:59 PM

I think AW made Vieira the captain bcos he wants him to stay in Arsenal..during the year where Real Madrid is interested in Vieira..

anyway about that game, Reyes had a terrible game! he cant play left mid :(
Similar situation to Stevie in Pool.

As for Reyes, we should reserved our judgement at least until next season. Reyes played left in Seville anyway ;)

Arsenal85
02-05-2004, 11:23 PM
give Reyes some time
although he is more of a left winger
he also needs time to adapt

let's remind each other
those goal against Chelsea should silence his critics

Jango
03-05-2004, 09:56 AM

Jango, were you sitting at the sofa corner, wearing Arsenal jersey, with your wife?

Nope but near, just next to the sofa corner along the wall (tall stool/table). I was wearing a white T. :) So where were you sitting?

Souljer
03-05-2004, 10:59 AM
ANR (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2004-05-02-23-07-31.html)

Saturday’s 0-0 against Birmingham stretched the unbeaten run to 35 games, but it was not the real thing.

It wasn’t rock & roll - it was cabaret.

Arsenal had one lousy shot on target.

They started well, with Patrick outstanding.

Bergkamp was wide right, Ljungberg was on the left with a bandage on his hand, after an operation to repair a broken bone,Reyes and Henry were up front.

No early goal,it soon became a yawn. Steve Bruce copied Koeman’s Ajax tactics. Defend deep, force them to pass it wide.

When will Reyes get a decent pass?

Henry and Reyes looked incompatible. It looked as if they can’t play together. As if Henry will not run where Reyes needs him to run.

Nothing Reyes tried came off. But the crowd love his skill, his effort, his positivity.

And when Reyes, a couple of times, was looking to Henry, to apologise for a bad pass, or needing some acknowledgement,Henry blanked him.

Is Mr Nice Guy actually a star with a massive ego hidden inside a huge cloak of modesty?

What do you think?

Freddie was poor.Can’t get away from opponents any more.Can’t outsprint them, but he keeps trying. It’s sad, embarrassing. He should try to adapt his game.

ARSENE KNOWS that champions never stand still. His team has to move forward now.

He has two goalscorers, Pires and Henry, who mostly pass to each other.

He needs a third scorer : Reyes. So he has to get Reyes and Henry to combine.

How? Maybe by getting Henry back on the left side, a patch he has virtually abandoned since his back injury.

The fox in the box that Henry said he wanted in 1991 would have been, ideally, a player who was young, fast, skilful, brave and left-footed.

Jeffers failed in that role.

Jose Reyes is 20, fast, subtle, sharp, resourceful, bold, left-footed.

He is the man Arsenal need.

But if Reyes gets no passes, he can’t score. He needs more help,urgently.

And Va-va-voom is not helping him.

SO ARSENE’S NEXT JOB is to integrate Reyes into his highly original, fast-breaking style of play.

On Saturday’s evidence, it’s quite a big job for the man David Dein calls “ a miracle-worker.”

SUMMER signings?

A right-sided midfielder, somebody sparky like Shaun Wright-Phillips or Giuly.

SWP is everything Arsene hoped Pennant would be.

Also, a right back.

Paulo Ferreira of Porto is 25 and could be in the frame.

SueDE_84
04-05-2004, 02:56 AM
ANR (http://www.anr.uk.com/articles/m-2004-05-02-23-07-31.html)

Saturday’s 0-0 against Birmingham stretched the unbeaten run to 35 games, but it was not the real thing.

It wasn’t rock & roll - it was cabaret.

Arsenal had one lousy shot on target.

They started well, with Patrick outstanding.

Bergkamp was wide right, Ljungberg was on the left with a bandage on his hand, after an operation to repair a broken bone,Reyes and Henry were up front.

No early goal,it soon became a yawn. Steve Bruce copied Koeman’s Ajax tactics. Defend deep, force them to pass it wide.

When will Reyes get a decent pass?

Henry and Reyes looked incompatible. It looked as if they can’t play together. As if Henry will not run where Reyes needs him to run.

Nothing Reyes tried came off. But the crowd love his skill, his effort, his positivity.

And when Reyes, a couple of times, was looking to Henry, to apologise for a bad pass, or needing some acknowledgement,Henry blanked him.

Is Mr Nice Guy actually a star with a massive ego hidden inside a huge cloak of modesty?

What do you think?

Freddie was poor.Can’t get away from opponents any more.Can’t outsprint them, but he keeps trying. It’s sad, embarrassing. He should try to adapt his game.

ARSENE KNOWS that champions never stand still. His team has to move forward now.

He has two goalscorers, Pires and Henry, who mostly pass to each other.

He needs a third scorer : Reyes. So he has to get Reyes and Henry to combine.

How? Maybe by getting Henry back on the left side, a patch he has virtually abandoned since his back injury.

The fox in the box that Henry said he wanted in 1991 would have been, ideally, a player who was young, fast, skilful, brave and left-footed.

Jeffers failed in that role.

Jose Reyes is 20, fast, subtle, sharp, resourceful, bold, left-footed.

He is the man Arsenal need.

But if Reyes gets no passes, he can’t score. He needs more help,urgently.

And Va-va-voom is not helping him.

SO ARSENE’S NEXT JOB is to integrate Reyes into his highly original, fast-breaking style of play.

On Saturday’s evidence, it’s quite a big job for the man David Dein calls “ a miracle-worker.”

SUMMER signings?

A right-sided midfielder, somebody sparky like Shaun Wright-Phillips or Giuly.

SWP is everything Arsene hoped Pennant would be.

Also, a right back.

Paulo Ferreira of Porto is 25 and could be in the frame.

well thanx for analysing the match against Birmingham n pointing out Arsenal's weakness...but i hav to say they ain't tat bad like wat u hav mentioned...they r worn out after a long n hard season

trinoo
04-05-2004, 08:39 AM
let's give Reyes some adaption period. it is difficult for any new recruit (especially those from foreign land) to integrate into current arsenal's team play, which they had been cultivated by being "together" for quite sometime. I believe in Reyes, next season he will unleash his full talent :D

SueDE_84
04-05-2004, 12:47 PM
let's give Reyes some adaption period. it is difficult for any new recruit (especially those from foreign land) to integrate into current arsenal's team play, which they had been cultivated by being "together" for quite sometime. I believe in Reyes, next season he will unleash his full talent :D

yeah juz giv the kid some time...n i believe he'll prove the critics wrong

Fozzyrock
04-05-2004, 02:15 PM
He's still adapting to the english game and seems to have trouble dealing with the physical aspect of the game.

Even the likes of Pires and Henry struggled when they first arrived so I suppose it'll only be fair to give him more time rather than pass a verdict on him now.

The next season will probably be a massive test for him. ;)

rAc3rX
04-05-2004, 08:21 PM
AW unleashing the young guns today. unbeaten record maybe lost

leo_llw
04-05-2004, 09:11 PM
Arsenal's women's team win the FA Cup and may win the Double....
-- Fleeting leaves Charlton flailing as Arsenal lift Cup for sixth time --
By Peter Lansley
Times Online

Arsenal 3 Charlton Athletic 0

ONE DAY, a goal against the world champions; the next, a hat-trick in the FA Cup final. No challenge, it would seem, is beyond Julie Fleeting. The Scotland and former San Diego Spirit forward, having scored against Germany on Sunday, flew down to join her team-mates on the eve of this game and was the inspiration for Arsenal to win the Cup for the first time since 2001.

Now they could also deny Charlton Athletic, the FA Nationwide Women’s Premier League national division leaders, of that title as well when they face Fulham, who are third, in what amounts to a play-off for top spot, possibly at Highbury a week on Saturday. If the match is drawn, Charlton will take the title.

Yesterday was cruel on Charlton, who lost by the same scoreline to Fulham in last year’s Cup final. But Arsenal have rediscovered their momentum at just the right time and, in Fleeting, have found a player to match their pedigree. Since joining from Ross County in January, she has scored 15 times in nine matches and filled the void that Arsenal have felt since the partnership of Marieanne Spacey and Angie Banks ended two years ago.

She does not even train with her team-mates, as her job as a PE teacher dictates that she fly down from Scotland just for matches, but until last summer she was playing professionally in the Women’s United Soccer Association before the US league collapsed. That professionalism told yesterday as, having played 90 minutes of Scotland’s 3-1 defeat in a

2005 European Championship qualifying match on Sunday, the 23-year-old played all but two minutes of stoppage time. “I always felt adrenalin would get me through,” she said. “As soon as I saw the crowd (12,244) and with it being on TV, I forgot about tired legs.”

“Verdict?” Keith Boanas, the Charlton manager, said. “Julie Fleeting. We just couldn’t deal with her. But if you’d said to me at the start of the season we would win one trophy, I’d have bitten your hand off. It’s been the toughest women’s championship for a long time.”

Vic Akers, celebrating his eighteenth trophy as Arsenal manager, said. “Julie’s given us that cutting edge.”

With rain affecting the players’ footings, Lianne Sanderson capitalised on Julie Fletcher’s slip to cross for Fleeting to open the scoring in the 23rd minute. Within two minutes, the striker had put Arsenal in control as she cut in from the right-hand side as Fletcher tumbled and cracked a shot in at the near post.

Only Pauline Cope’s athletic save denied the forward a first-half hat-trick. Charlton, unable to get Fara Williams, their England playmaker, on the ball enough, made more of a fist of things in the second half, with Ann-Marie Heatherson running her socks off.

In the 82nd minute Fleeting worked herself into the clear but unselfishly squared the ball for Ellen Maggs to shot against the post. For the next opening she created, Fleeting’s intentions were unequivocal and her shot deflected in.

This was Arsenal’s sixth FA Cup win in as many finals and Faye White, their captain, rated it as the best in her time. “All season we’ve been rated as the underdogs,” she said, “and, especially after last season, when everyone was saying maybe Arsenal have had their day, it feels excellent.”

ARSENAL (3-4-1-2): E Byrne — F White, A Asante, L Champ — K Pealling, J Ludlow, C Grant, C Wheatley — E Maggs (sub: J Lorton, 90min) — L Sanderson (sub: J Potter, 73), J Fleeting (sub: A Scott, 90). Substitutes not used: S Williams, C Harwood. Booked: Pealling, Ludlow.

CHARLTON ATHLETIC (4-4-2): P Cope — D Murphy, C Stoney, K Mills, J Fletcher (sub: E Coss, 70) — F Williams, J Smith (sub: A Hunn, 81), J Broadhurst, A-M Heatherson (sub: E Aluko, 70) — A Barr, C Walker. Substitutes not used: T Law, S Rea. Booked: Cope.

Mankul
04-05-2004, 09:45 PM
This is ABSURD... no live match today.. this is NOT ACCEPTABLE..

Kiwi8
04-05-2004, 11:28 PM
This is ABSURD... no live match today.. this is NOT ACCEPTABLE..

It's becos there's a more important match.... the UEFA Champions League semifinals 2nd leg between Deportivo and Porto.

reyes9
04-05-2004, 11:46 PM
ya man, believe in me..:D believe in our young players.. sure WIN;)

LiteMan
05-05-2004, 01:09 AM

Nope but near, just next to the sofa corner along the wall (tall stool/table). I was wearing a white T. :) So where were you sitting?

Let me see, I was sitting on the tall chairs nearer the windows facing the swimming pool, with Swalk21 and his friend...

I was wearing a bluish 3/4 quarter-length sleeve t-shirt...

Hmm, if you are at that place which you mentioned, maybe I bypassed your seat several times...since I can only get out by that way...

Souljer
05-05-2004, 01:27 AM
Wright to join Wright-Phillips for Keown game

Arsenal.com (http://www.arsenal.com/sportsappcontroller.jsp?command=selectCategoryAndNewsItem&nextPage=news_headlines_news_item&type=com.sportapps.news.NewsItem&parentId=15&id=4537427)

http://www.arsenal.com/images/wright_record.jpg

Ian Wright and his adopted son Shaun Wright-Phillips are expected to play on the same side for the first time as part of Martin Keown's testimonial.

The veteran centre back will lead Arsenal against an England XI at Highbury on Monday, May 17.

Wright senior retired in 2000 as the Club's all-time record goal-scorer but, since then, Wright-Phillips has picked up the mantle. His fine form with Manchester City was rewarded with an England call-up for the friendly against Sweden in March. Injury prevented him winning his first cap but Keown feels the 22-year-old could be a chip off the old block.

"Ian has been a great player and his son is going to be a great player," he said. "A lot of lads here voted for him in the Team of the Year."

"It is quite unique that father and son will play in the game. We would like to share that moment with them. At some point they will be coming on together."

Typically, Wright senior is champing at the bit for another run-out on familiar turf.

"I rang him up and he was wandering around the lounge with a brand new pair of boots he had just got of the box," said Keown. "He had thrown all his other ones away."

Another former England favourite, Paul Gascoigne, has also been pencilled in to play.

"It is great to see him getting his life back together," said Keown. "He is definitely one of the outstanding players I played with and I am glad to see him back."

Several England stars have agreed to appear, subject to other commitments or injury. They include Andy Cole, Wayne Rooney, Steve McManaman, Robbie Fowler, Matthew Upson, John Terry, Joe Cole, Scott Parker, Owen Hargreaves and Chris Powell.

SueDE_84
05-05-2004, 02:43 AM
finally father n adopted son can get to play 2gether liao:D

Mankul
05-05-2004, 04:28 AM
Arsenal trailing 0-1 at HT... but Reyes equalised in the 49th minute.... now arsenal bombarding portmouth all the way....

FLiNcHY
05-05-2004, 04:34 AM
Shiock ah!! Reyes power!

trinoo
05-05-2004, 04:46 AM
Reyes always like to silent his critics :angel:

GuStA13
05-05-2004, 04:47 AM
reyes finally score agianst other opponents beside cfc..

Mankul
05-05-2004, 08:50 AM
Portsmouth 1 vs Arsenal 1 Goals - EPL (http://mankul.com/goals/portarse2.wmv)

*- low quality video, I sian to do already.

==================

For continued reliable Arsenal Goals download (a possible website for Arsenal Goals), pls kindly donate some money voluntarily to POSB savings account : 065-63927-0

==================

fatherboard
05-05-2004, 11:04 AM

no motivation! :mad:
give me your pvr350, i will sacrifice and do for all. ;) :D

by the way, nowadays also sianz to see arsenal play.
all holiday mood liao.

FB.

FLiNcHY
05-05-2004, 11:55 AM
You still owe us Spurs vs Arsenal goals man
hahaha

SueDE_84
05-05-2004, 12:56 PM
the wonderkid has scored!!!finally showing some strikers instincts liao...:D

trinoo
05-05-2004, 04:26 PM
Originally posted by SueDE_84
the wonderkid has scored!!!finally showing some strikers instincts liao...:D

his long shots packed power, one thunderous effort hit woodwork :eek:

Coolsmurf
05-05-2004, 04:41 PM
the boy always got the potential. next season will be the test for him to step up.

Fozzyrock
05-05-2004, 05:48 PM
Portsmouth 1 vs Arsenal 1 Goals - EPL (http://mankul.com/goals/portarse2.wmv)

==================

For continued reliable Arsenal Goals download (a possible website for Arsenal Goals), pls kindly donate some money voluntarily to POSB savings account : 065-63927-0

==================

Thanks for the clips!

What a goal! :eek:

Arsenal85
05-05-2004, 06:17 PM
sadly
i am very disappointed with the result

2 games after winning EPL
and we are still in party mood

by right ,
this should be a stroll in the park anytime in the season

reading from match review
Pompey even think they have a chance to beat us in this match :mad:

if this continue , we may not be able to finish this season unbeaten
and go on next season to beat Forest 42 game unbeaten record

Souljer
05-05-2004, 07:07 PM
Disappointed for wat? We're champs and still unbeaten. Start countdown to party mode for our last home game.

reyes9
05-05-2004, 07:25 PM
Saturday May 15 10.00 pm, any outing to Elizabeth Pub for the celebration? :D :bounce:

Fozzyrock
05-05-2004, 08:02 PM
Source: http://www.arsenal.com/sportsappcontroller.jsp?command=setSelectedId&nextPage=displayheadline&type=com.sportapps.news.NewsItem&id=4537641

Arsenal have announced their first pre-season fixtures of the summer.

The Premiership champions will participate in the Amsterdam Tournament which is to be held at the home of AFC Ajax - the ArenA Amsterdam.

The participating teams will be Ajax, River Plate (Argentina) and Panathinaikos (Greece)

Arsenal's fixtures have been confirmed as:

ARSENAL v RIVER PLATE
ArenA Amsterdam
Friday 30 July 2004
Kick off: 1900 CET

ARSENAL v AFC AJAX
ArenA Amsterdam
Sunday 1 August 2004
Kick off: 2045 CET

Mankul
05-05-2004, 08:08 PM
Source: http://www.arsenal.com/sportsappcontroller.jsp?command=setSelectedId&nextPage=displayheadline&type=com.sportapps.news.NewsItem&id=4537641

Arsenal have announced their first pre-season fixtures of the summer.

The Premiership champions will participate in the Amsterdam Tournament which is to be held at the home of AFC Ajax - the ArenA Amsterdam.

The participating teams will be Ajax, River Plate (Argentina) and Panathinaikos (Greece)

Arsenal's fixtures have been confirmed as:

ARSENAL v RIVER PLATE
ArenA Amsterdam
Friday 30 July 2004
Kick off: 1900 CET

ARSENAL v AFC AJAX
ArenA Amsterdam
Sunday 1 August 2004
Kick off: 2045 CET

why they not coming to Singapore? :(

Jango
05-05-2004, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by reyes9
Saturday May 15 10.00 pm, any outing to Elizabeth Pub for the celebration? :D :bounce:

Most definitely!!!:bounce: :bounce:

leo_llw
05-05-2004, 11:03 PM

no fan club....maybe they thought Singapore not much fans :(

Jango
05-05-2004, 11:11 PM

Let me see, I was sitting on the tall chairs nearer the windows facing the swimming pool, with Swalk21 and his friend...

I was wearing a bluish 3/4 quarter-length sleeve t-shirt...

Hmm, if you are at that place which you mentioned, maybe I bypassed your seat several times...since I can only get out by that way...

I think I know which table liao. Its just next to the pool table rite? Btw, it was very nice of Ashok to buy the house champagne to celebrate the championship!!

FLiNcHY
06-05-2004, 01:45 AM
Go Cesc!!! Skysports.com

BIG THREE FIGHT FOR STARLET
Wednesday 5th May 2004

The race for Spanish starlet Gerard Pique Bernabeu is hotting up, with Chelsea joining Manchester United and Arsenal in the race for his signature.

The Barcelona youngster is currently in France for the European Under-17 Championship - but moves off the field are being made by a number of clubs.

The player's representative Arturo Canales has told skysports.com that offers for his client have been made - but nothing has been agreed.

"We have not closed an agreement with any club, although there are some interesting offers," said Canales.*

"Everything is in the hands of Barcelona - they must decide.

"There have been several clubs interested for a long time, we cannot deny anything - but this is serious and we are doing it in the correct way."

The grandson of former Barcelona vice-president Amador Bernabeu is one of the rising stars of Spanish football, but the young defender could be set to leave Camp Nou.

Arsenal were the first to show an interest February, with United and Chelsea joining soon after.

Chelsea appear to be offering he biggest financial package, but The Gunners have a trump card in that Pique is very good friends with Arsenal's midfield starlet Cesc - who moved to Highbury last summer.

Cesc (pictured), who was also with Barcelona, moved to Arsenal and has already made his first team debut and he is believed to have told Pique to join him in North London.

All the English clubs were believed to have been present at the Stade Georges Boulogne on Tuesday to watch Pique in Spain's 1-0 win over Turkey.

Meanwhile, Barcelona have agreed terms with Arsenal for Dutch international Giovanni van Bronckhorst.

The former Rangers star has spent the season on loan at Barca and has enjoyed a good season.

Barcelona have yet to agree personal terms, but that would appear a mere formality and they should confirm a deal within the next month.

deathblade
06-05-2004, 06:37 AM

?? Cos have Euro 2004.. If u r expecting them to still come to SG, i guess u prob want them to win nothing next season liao...At any rate, haven't we discuss this before? We'll rather have our team play proper opposition then with those lousy ass-league players and tire the players with all the travelling.. Now go back to ur room and stop pouting!

Jango
06-05-2004, 08:56 AM

?? Cos have Euro 2004.. If u r expecting them to still come to SG, i guess u prob want them to win nothing next season liao...At any rate, haven't we discuss this before? We'll rather have our team play proper opposition then with those lousy ass-league players and tire the players with all the travelling.. Now go back to ur room and stop pouting!

Arsenal85
06-05-2004, 08:59 AM
everything will change provided we are
some bloody rich
Middle East countries

but FAS is juz too stingy

juz my 2 cents :D

FLiNcHY
06-05-2004, 01:21 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004210071,00.html

Same goes to you fickle minded fans!:mad:

Those same ones that blasted Seaman. Yeah you.

Don't think i don't know:alien:

Always stand by our keepers!

Except if you're called Richard Wright of course

deathblade
06-05-2004, 02:26 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004210071,00.html

Same goes to you fickle minded fans!:mad:

Those same ones that blasted Seaman. Yeah you.

Don't think i don't know:alien:

Always stand by our keepers!

Except if you're called Richard Wright of course

I will type it real slow so u will understand.

Seaman is the best Arsenal Keeper but he should have retired earlier. We recognise his contribution. Now go back to the swimming pool and play water gay polo!!!

Mankul
06-05-2004, 04:42 PM

I will type it real slow so u will understand.

Seaman is the best Arsenal Keeper but he should have retired earlier. We recognise his contribution. Now go back to the swimming pool and play water gay polo!!!

I agree Seaman is trhe best keeper...

I also agree seaman should have retired earlier..... when he left Arsenal that is ;)

deathblade
06-05-2004, 10:45 PM

I also agree seaman should have retired earlier..... when he left Arsenal that is ;)

Do u agree with the gay water polo part?:(

Mankul
06-05-2004, 11:36 PM

Do u agree with the gay water polo part?:(

WITHOUT A DOUBT! :D

FLiNcHY
07-05-2004, 12:11 AM
Do you agree you were busy wanking off the Mardi Gras Boob Flashing pics i sent you?

Without a doubt!!!

SueDE_84
07-05-2004, 02:30 AM

hes the best n tats tat!:D

deathblade
07-05-2004, 09:23 AM
Do you agree you were busy wanking off the Mardi Gras Boob Flashing pics i sent you?

Without a doubt!!! Hey i didn't receive that!!

swalk21
07-05-2004, 12:27 PM
:rolleyes:

FLiNcHY
08-05-2004, 12:22 AM
You're not on my "gay" icq list:laugh:

___jeff
09-05-2004, 01:09 PM
up

RSKeisuke
09-05-2004, 02:03 PM
i just hope arsenal's record breaking feat will still be running after tonight's game at Fulham.

;)

fatherboard
09-05-2004, 09:26 PM
i'm selling an arsenal away jersey 03/04...
eh...who wanna buy the jersey, pls refer to here. (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=731474&forumid=18).

FB.

deathblade
09-05-2004, 11:34 PM
Reyes got another goal liao yeah!!!:bounce:

Kiwi8
10-05-2004, 12:22 AM
Reyes got another goal liao yeah!!!:bounce:

Quite a cock goal though.... but it is Van der Sar's fault.

trinoo
10-05-2004, 03:12 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

Quite a cock goal though.... but it is Van der Sar's fault.

i rather applauded Reyes for his anticipation. as usual, he was working extremely hard upfront by closing down opposition attack :)

leo_llw
10-05-2004, 05:55 AM

i rather applauded Reyes for his anticipation. as usual, he was working extremely hard upfront by closing down opposition attack :)
yeah....like his megawatts smile after the goal.

makes the Highbury chiobu knees weak :laugh:

deathblade
10-05-2004, 09:03 AM

Thats right.... even if Reyes (touch wood) doesn't fulfill his promise, the Highbury faithfuls will never get on his back (unlike Jeffers and Wiltord) cos he runs his socks off every match.

ickypoo
10-05-2004, 09:08 AM
where is this elizabeth pub? was it an arsenal pub before, or did u guys make it one?

Jango
10-05-2004, 12:06 PM
Elizabeth hotel. The owner (I think) is a gooner and hence is promoting the place as a Arsenal hunt. Discount on drinks if you wear an Arsenal jersey!

trinoo
10-05-2004, 07:52 PM
Season haven't ended yet, young DB already got targeted, can see his potential :D

Worthington admits Bentley desire

by Simon Fudge
Monday, 10 May 2004

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics_sky/england/arsenal/bentley-pray.jpg

Norwich City boss Nigel Worthington has confirmed his interest in landing Arsenal's talented youngster David Bentley on a long-term loan.

The former Blackpool manager has targeted the 19-year-old as one of his first summer signings after The Canaries completed their First Division title season with a 3-1 win over Crewe Alexandra at Gresty Road on Sunday.

The England Under-21 striker has shown some of his potential in limited appearances for The Gunners this season, having made a name for himself with a fine goal against Middlesbrough in the FA Cup.

With available places in Arsene Wenger's first team presently at a premium, Worthington is ready to compete with the likes of Bolton Wanderers to land the starlet on a season-long loan, as the East Anglian outfit prepare for their return to The Premiership following a nine-year absence.

"Technically, David Bentley is a very good player," Worthington told the Eastern Daily Press.

"He's highly thought of at Arsenal and I think he would add something to us. We've watched him and we like him.

"I have made an inquiry about bringing him here on a long-term loan."

Wenger has already admitted that Bentley will be going out on loan next season and it remains to be seen if The Canaries can win the chase to bring Bentley to Carrow Road this summer.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=202446

Mankul
10-05-2004, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by ickypoo
where is this elizabeth pub? was it an arsenal pub before, or did u guys make it one?

discount on orange juice can?

trinoo
10-05-2004, 09:53 PM
Henry makes more history

Monday May 10, 2004

http://smiley.onegreatguy.net/banana.gifhttp://image.guardian.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2003/04/28/ThierryAPbg.jpghttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/banana.gif
Thierry Henry, with an award :D

Thierry Henry has created yet more history by becoming the first player to win the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award for the second year running.

The Arsenal striker won by the largest margin for 34 years, securing almost 90% of the vote.

Chelsea's Frank Lampard was runner-up, while Henry's Highbury team-mate Patrick Vieira came third.

Henry won football's oldest individual award for the first time last year when he controversially pipped Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy to the post by a narrow margin.

Since the award was introduced in 1947-48, no-one had previously won it in successive seasons and only six other players have won it twice: Sir Stanley Matthews, Sir Tom Finney, Danny Blanchflower, Kenny Dalglish, John Barnes and Gary Lineker.

"It's a real honour to receive this award for the second year running," Henry said. "But as I always say it would not have been possible without my team-mates and of course the manager.

"When I collected this award last season I would have swapped it for a team award, but thankfully this year we won the Premiership title so I can really enjoy it this time around."

Gerry Cox, chairman of the Football Writers' Association, said: "Last year it was a close contest and a somewhat controversial outcome, but this time Thierry Henry has been the runaway winner.

"His skill, athleticism, teamwork and goals have set new standards in the Premiership, but above all that it is about the way he plays the game that has captivated people throughout the country. While it bodes well for Arsenal's future, one can only fear for England's defenders in Euro 2004."

Henry will be honoured at the FWA's Footballer of the Year dinner in London on May 20. The highest winning margin was recorded by Billy Bremner, who polled 95% of votes when he won the award in 1970.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1213317,00.html

reyes9
10-05-2004, 09:56 PM
This Saturday.. Elizabeth Pub:D :bounce:

trinoo
10-05-2004, 09:57 PM
This Saturday.. Elizabeth Pub:D :bounce:
bro...i working :(

Souljer
10-05-2004, 11:55 PM
David Beckham to grace Martin Keown's testimonial

David Beckham will play in Martin Keown's testimonial on 17 May when an Arsenal XI take on an England XI.
Beckham is the latest big name to give his support - subject to other commitments or injury - to the former England defender's Highbury match.

Wayne Rooney, John Terry, Joe Cole, Steve McManaman and Robbie Fowler are also scheduled to play.

And Paul Gascoigne, Ian Wright and Shaun Wright-Phillips are set to guest for Kevin Keegan's England team.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/3700561.stm

Hope SCV is showing it. Managed to catch the testimonial matches of Dixon and Adams in recent years. Dreary and inconsequential affairs they may be, but it sure made my day to see old favourites like Wrighty playing alongside with Bergy and Henry. :)

Mankul
11-05-2004, 12:09 AM
David Beckham to grace Martin Keown's testimonial

David Beckham will play in Martin Keown's testimonial on 17 May when an Arsenal XI take on an England XI.
Beckham is the latest big name to give his support - subject to other commitments or injury - to the former England defender's Highbury match.

Wayne Rooney, John Terry, Joe Cole, Steve McManaman and Robbie Fowler are also scheduled to play.

And Paul Gascoigne, Ian Wright and Shaun Wright-Phillips are set to guest for Kevin Keegan's England team.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/3700561.stm

Hope SCV is showing it. Managed to catch the testimonial matches of Dixon and Adams in recent years. Dreary and inconsequential affairs they may be, but it sure made my day to see old favourites like Wrighty playing alongside with Bergy and Henry. :)

I think we should call starhub to request... or at least a pay per view

reyes9
11-05-2004, 07:34 PM

bro...i working :( ai yah..:( never mind la..;)

Kiwi8
11-05-2004, 07:55 PM

I think we should call starhub to request... or at least a pay per view

wait long long....

Arsenal85
11-05-2004, 09:26 PM
interesting

Ian Wright v.s Shaun Wright-Phillips

:D

___jeff
11-05-2004, 11:18 PM
reyes if he nv go i acompany u.

reyes9
12-05-2004, 07:53 AM
Originally posted by ___jeff
reyes if he nv go i acompany u. I know you sure will go one:D

___jeff
12-05-2004, 03:26 PM
#arsenal have being discussing about forming a arsenal football team for weekly trainings and matches. ( with ppl like swalk and trinoo also included ) any 1 here interested ? pm me your position. weekend timing

Fozzyrock
12-05-2004, 03:28 PM
Need waterboy? :laugh:

reyes9
12-05-2004, 05:55 PM
#arsenal have being discussing about forming a arsenal football team for weekly trainings and matches. ( with ppl like swalk and trinoo also included ) any 1 here interested ? pm me your position. weekend timing manager?:D

Mankul
12-05-2004, 08:46 PM
I already proposed to you guys... we play football.. all wear arsenal jersey... shiok right....

but you guys never reply ..... grrr

deathblade
12-05-2004, 08:55 PM
I already proposed to you guys...

Er sorry to burst ur bubble but gay marriage aint legalised yet.

Kiwi8
12-05-2004, 09:04 PM

Er sorry to burst ur bubble but gay marriage aint legalised yet. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

FunkyMonk
12-05-2004, 09:05 PM

Er sorry to burst ur bubble but gay marriage aint legalised yet. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

leo_llw
13-05-2004, 12:34 AM

u will be the death of me :laugh:

FLiNcHY
13-05-2004, 09:24 AM
Van Persie: 'Van Basten saved my life'
11/05/04

New Arsenal signing Robin van Persie says that Dutch legend Marco van Basten literally saved his life during an attack from Ajax fans during a reserve game earlier this year.

A delegation from the Gunners was actually at the ground in Amsterdam when 250 Ajax fans invaded the pitch and headed for van Persie and his Feyenoord teammates.

Van Persie feared that he would lose his life - long before he completed his £3m move to Arsenal.

"I was genuinely worried during the game when the Ajax hooligans started to throw coins and bottles at us," said van Persie.

"But when they invaded the pitch, all hell broke lose. They blocked off my escape route to the tunnel and then beat the living daylights out of me.

"It’s no exaggeration to say I thought I was going to die. It was the most horrific experience of my life and left me totally traumatised."

Van Persie was wrestled to the ground and sustained severe head and neck injuries and bruised ribs.

Ajax youth team coach Van Basten threw himself on top of the young Dutchman and van Persie credits him with saving his life.

"I probably owe van Basten my life because he prevented me sustaining a beating that would have either ended my career or left me fighting for my life," claimed van Persie.

Van Persie was so traumatised he had to undergo treatment from a therapist to help him sleep at night.

"I was waking up in the middle of the night covered in sweat. The nightmares were terrible, I had to see someone to get over it."

Van Persie will join Arsenal this summer after a potential move in January fell through - with the Gunners opting for Jose Reyes instead.

But despite interest from PSV Eindhoven, the youngster is adamant that Arsenal were the only club he was interested in joining.

"There was only ever one team in my mind and that was Arsenal. I was almost inconsolable when the deal broke down a few months ago because Feyenoord went public with Arsenal’s interest," said van Persie.

"But unknown to other people they kept in touch and told me to sit tight until they could finalise a deal.

"I can only dream about what it will be like to pull on an Arsenal shirt and play with the type of players who will be my new team-mates.

"Arsenal are an awesome side and it makes me proud and privileged to know I will be part of that from next season."

Souljer
13-05-2004, 09:28 AM

Well, there's always Canada.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2003/06/18/world/main559147.shtml

rAc3rX
13-05-2004, 09:41 AM
I already proposed to you guys... we play football.. all wear arsenal jersey... shiok right....

but you guys never reply ..... grrr

difficult la dey, unless we play court soccer for a start.. which i think easier lor :D

trinoo
14-05-2004, 10:58 AM
let's play soccer :D

swalk21
14-05-2004, 11:09 AM
let's play soccer :D

when?:D

trinoo
14-05-2004, 11:15 AM

when?:D
anytime sunday lah, ai mai? :D

RSKeisuke
14-05-2004, 01:45 PM
i keen to play also but i'm jus an amateur.. i can play on sundays.

i pm the guys who asked for players.. but no reply from him.

which area you guys play? street soccer or field?

swalk21
14-05-2004, 06:10 PM

anytime sunday lah, ai mai? :D

onz :D

Mankul
14-05-2004, 06:17 PM
will there be any Arsenal scouts coming?

Mankul
14-05-2004, 06:18 PM

I prefer field with goalposts and lines.....

RSKeisuke
14-05-2004, 06:24 PM

forgot to add, i only got one good left foot:o

reyes9
14-05-2004, 06:59 PM
tomolo who is going? so far me and jef_... anyone else?:D

___jeff
14-05-2004, 07:52 PM
so far 12 regulars have confirmed with me .. any 1 else going ?

reyes9
14-05-2004, 08:40 PM
so far 12 regulars have confirmed with me .. any 1 else going ? wah seh.. steady la.. got reserve tables with good view?:D

___jeff
14-05-2004, 09:03 PM
u reserve lah

trinoo
14-05-2004, 11:34 PM
so far 12 regulars have confirmed with me .. any 1 else going ?

:( :(

swalk21
15-05-2004, 02:56 AM

:( :(

you cannot go right =p

reyes9
15-05-2004, 07:46 AM

trinoo
15-05-2004, 10:35 AM

you cannot go right =p

yah, help me take medal, thanks :(

swalk21
15-05-2004, 11:21 AM

yah, help me take medal, thanks :(

u haven't go for enuff games to get a medal .next season loh

Mankul
15-05-2004, 11:37 AM
Fearless is at London now.... watching the leicester game and will be at the celebrations parade :( ... And I'm still in my room :sad:

reyes9
15-05-2004, 02:30 PM
Fearless is at London now.... watching the leicester game and will be at the celebrations parade :( ... And I'm still in my room :sad: poor thang=p

swalk21
15-05-2004, 02:54 PM
Fearless is at London now.... watching the leicester game and will be at the celebrations parade :( ... And I'm still in my room :sad:

yah stay at home okie .dun come to the pub with us

reyes9
15-05-2004, 03:02 PM

yah stay at home okie .dun come to the pub with us are you guys meeting somewhere b4 going?:D

swalk21
15-05-2004, 03:16 PM
are you guys meeting somewhere b4 going?:D

gotta to ask jeff

___jeff
15-05-2004, 03:39 PM
WHO IS GOING !! liteman going ? souljer going ? suede going ?

reyes9
15-05-2004, 04:48 PM
WHO IS GOING !! liteman going ? souljer going ? suede going ? I am going.. see you at usual place around 9.15 pm?;)

reyes9
15-05-2004, 07:15 PM
wah lao eh... raining liao !!:mad:

___jeff
15-05-2004, 07:16 PM
yah lah i might not be going due to the stupid weather.

reyes9
15-05-2004, 07:44 PM
yah lah i might not be going due to the stupid weather. rain stop liao la;)

___jeff
15-05-2004, 07:45 PM
ehh reyes as u said 9.15 at same place. right side 1 , ok ?

reyes9
15-05-2004, 07:49 PM
ehh reyes as u said 9.15 at same place. right side 1 , ok ? I am going out liao now.. taken your dinner? if you want I can meet you at MRT station;)
yup, come out from orchard, left side;) 9.15 pm

___jeff
15-05-2004, 07:57 PM
EH I DUN LIKE COMMUNICATING THIS WAY. PM ME YOUR number , i lost it coz i changed my phone no.

trinoo
16-05-2004, 12:11 AM
38 PREMIER LEAGUE MATCHES UNBEATEN !!!

TVaddict
16-05-2004, 01:30 AM
we did it... :laugh:

reyes9
16-05-2004, 01:49 AM
38 PREMIER LEAGUE MATCHES UNBEATEN !!! We are IMMORTAL!!!:D

___jeff
16-05-2004, 02:02 AM
REYES GO AND GET THE PHOTO !

trinoo
16-05-2004, 02:11 AM

wat photo? prawn photo ahh? :confused:

___jeff
16-05-2004, 02:21 AM
some arsenal fans whom we do not know came to us and wanted a picture of all fans wearing arsenal jersey lol.

LiteMan
16-05-2004, 02:37 AM
We are the champions!!!

Mankul
16-05-2004, 08:51 AM

shiok sshiok you all enjoy.. btu neber share pics...

deathblade
16-05-2004, 09:57 AM
Bergkamp's pass to the second goal and the pass to Cole to get the penalty is simply breath-taking!!

___jeff
16-05-2004, 11:02 AM
ehh who can upload the picturess here. Those picture in arsenal.com is so small to set as wallpaper. BIG 1 PLEASE.

mppp
16-05-2004, 11:45 AM
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/o/p/2004-05-16/U397P6T12D886825F44DT20040516095910.jpg
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886490F44DT20040516073438.jpg
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U339P6T12D886498F44DT20040516081012.jpg

mppp
16-05-2004, 11:46 AM
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886489F44DT20040516073235.jpg
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886488F44DT20040516073107.jpg
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886487F44DT20040516072819.jpg

mppp
16-05-2004, 11:47 AM
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886478F44DT20040516072217.jpg
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/g/p/2004-05-16/U336P6T12D886261F44DT20040516023604.jpg
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886260F44DT20040516023326.jpg

Jango
16-05-2004, 11:54 AM
Congratulations gooners!!!:bounce:

We have just witness something very very special for Arsenal! Maybe the one and only in our life time!!!:bounce: :bounce:

orca_sea
16-05-2004, 12:54 PM
Congrats to ur incredible feat Cheerz..;)

rAc3rX
16-05-2004, 01:29 PM
we've done the impossible!! :bounce:

___jeff
16-05-2004, 02:41 PM
thanks

___jeff
16-05-2004, 02:47 PM
any 1 can help find the video clip after the presentation of trophy?!

Fozzyrock
16-05-2004, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by mppp
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/U336P6T12D886478F44DT20040516072217.jpg

reyes9
16-05-2004, 04:18 PM
REYES GO AND GET THE PHOTO ! that guy said give him few days time before he can send me the pics;)

reyes9
16-05-2004, 05:15 PM
some photos (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?threadid=736256&forumid=16):D

Mankul
16-05-2004, 05:24 PM
some photos (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?threadid=736256&forumid=16):D

leo_llw
16-05-2004, 07:25 PM
job done ;)

Now for the building to retain the title for next season, go for the CL and the unbeaten record 42 games of Forest :laugh:

FLiNcHY
17-05-2004, 08:07 AM
Wah Wenger's daughters damn pretty man. Next time sure become super babes one. Woot Woot!

I think only one of them is his daughter, who's seven.

But still, all chio!

Kiwi8
17-05-2004, 08:54 AM
Wah Wenger's daughters damn pretty man. Next time sure become super babes one. Woot Woot!

I think only one of them is his daughter, who's seven.

But still, all chio!

Gay still want to look at them meh?? :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Jango
17-05-2004, 09:23 AM
blardy paedophile:mad:

FLiNcHY
17-05-2004, 09:23 AM
Switched back long time ago liao

I didn't go to Mardi gras to go look at guys flash tits didn't i.:laugh:

leo_llw
17-05-2004, 11:32 AM

Gay still want to look at them meh??
hahahahahhaha :laugh:

FLiNcHY
17-05-2004, 12:04 PM
1 Arsenal http://foro.frag.cl/images/smiles/headbang.gif
2 AC Milan
3 FC Porto
4 Boca Juniors ARGENTINA
5 Valencia
6 Chelsea http://foro.frag.cl/images/smiles/lerolero.gif
7 Monaco
8 Sao Paulo BRAZIL
9 Deportivo La Coruña
10 Cruzeiro BRAZIL
11 Real Madrid
12 Lyon
13 Santos BRAZIL
14 Juventus
15 Manchester United http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/4/4_1_72.gif
16 AS Roma
17 Barcelona
18 River Plate ARGENTINA
19 Celtic
20 Werder Bremen
21 Bayern Munich
22 Stuttgart
23 Sao Caetano BRASIL
24 Inter Milan
25 Dep. Cali COLOMBIA

Mankul
17-05-2004, 03:00 PM
2 AC Milan
3 FC Porto
4 Boca Juniors ARGENTINA
5 Valencia
7 Monaco
8 Sao Paulo BRAZIL
9 Deportivo La Coruña
10 Cruzeiro BRAZIL
11 Real Madrid
12 Lyon
13 Santos BRAZIL
14 Juventus
16 AS Roma
17 Barcelona
18 River Plate ARGENTINA
19 Celtic
20 Werder Bremen
21 Bayern Munich
22 Stuttgart
23 Sao Caetano BRASIL
24 Inter Milan
25 Dep. Cali COLOMBIA

where's your blardy link?! :mad:

FLiNcHY
17-05-2004, 03:25 PM
Soccernet Espn lor

Where are the goals!!

leo_llw
17-05-2004, 04:51 PM
2 AC Milan
3 FC Porto
4 Boca Juniors ARGENTINA
5 Valencia
7 Monaco
8 Sao Paulo BRAZIL
9 Deportivo La Coruña
10 Cruzeiro BRAZIL
11 Real Madrid
12 Lyon
13 Santos BRAZIL
14 Juventus
16 AS Roma
17 Barcelona
18 River Plate ARGENTINA
19 Celtic
20 Werder Bremen
21 Bayern Munich
22 Stuttgart
23 Sao Caetano BRASIL
24 Inter Milan
25 Dep. Cali COLOMBIA
that image at 15 quite cute....hahahhahahahaha :laugh:

leo_llw
17-05-2004, 04:53 PM
Wiltord to leave Gunners on a free

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has finally confirmed that Sylvain Wiltord will be leaving Highbury this summer on a free transfer.

However, while Kanu's future remains in the balance, Arsenal's players are united in their delight at Dennis Bergkamp staying for one final season.

Wiltord, who became the club's record signing when he joined for around £13million in 2000, has been unable to agree terms on a new deal at Highbury.

While talks have taken place with Werder Bremen, he has not yet found a new club, but Wenger, with Robin van Persie and Jose Reyes both signed, insists that the French international will be leaving.

'Martin Keown and Sylvain Wiltord will certainly leave this summer,' confirmed Wenger, who was not willing to offer 30-year-old Wiltord the length of deal he was seeking.

'The rest is not decided. I haven't decided on Kanu and he hasn't decided yet. He is free to go where he wants as he is out of contract this summer and I have no final say to that.'

The likelihood is that Kanu, who has increasingly become a fringe figure, will depart, but Bergkamp is staying put for a final season.

Given the vision and touch which he showed in setting up Patrick Vieira for the winner against Leicester to complete an unbeaten league season in style, that is a relief for all at Highbury.

Thierry Henry declared: 'When you see the way that Dennis Bergkamp is playing, I would like to say a special thing about him. He's like that in training as well, even though he's 35. He always gives his best on the pitch.

'When he gave that ball against Leicester, I thought `what is he doing?' But then I saw and that's just Dennis.

'He's just a great professional on and off the pitch. He's been a great example for everyone at Arsenal. When you see what he's still doing even at 35, I'm amazed.'

Fredrik Ljungberg added: 'He's a fantastic player and he's very important for me as he looks for the runs that we make. We're all very happy that he will stay another year.'

Ljungberg insists that the key to Arsenal's success this season has been the stability and unity of the squad, with none of their key players set to depart this summer.

'We're a team that works really well together. Everyone wants to stay and keep on developing as there's a special way that we play that they don't play in many other places,' he said.

'We have a fantastic spirit and we're all friends. What I've heard from other clubs is that they're not all friends, so maybe it's different here. Of course, it helps us.'

The main goals for next season are now two-fold - to retain the title for the first time under Wenger and to finally conquer Europe.

'You always want to improve and we've been together for several years now as a squad,' added Ljungberg. 'Hopefully we can develop next season and do a bit better in Europe. We were all very disappointed at losing to Chelsea and we will think about that over the summer.'

Wenger also looks set to release reserve keeper Rami Shaaban, who has failed to make it back into first-team contention at Highbury since suffering a broken leg in December 2002.

Shaaban, who was loaned to West Ham earlier this season, does not expect to be offered a new contract and that leaves Graham Stack and the injured Stuart Taylor as back-up to Jens Lehmann.

Shaaban told Swedish newspaper Goteborgs-Posten: 'Wenger told me that, at 28 years old, I need to play regularly.'

The Arsenal boss must also resolve the futures of three other players sent out on loan this season - Giovanni van Bronckhorst, who wants to stay with Barcelona, Francis Jeffers and Jermaine Pennant.

Kiwi8
17-05-2004, 06:31 PM
2 AC Milan
3 FC Porto
4 Boca Juniors ARGENTINA
5 Valencia
7 Monaco
8 Sao Paulo BRAZIL
9 Deportivo La Coruña
10 Cruzeiro BRAZIL
11 Real Madrid
12 Lyon
13 Santos BRAZIL
14 Juventus
16 AS Roma
17 Barcelona
18 River Plate ARGENTINA
19 Celtic
20 Werder Bremen
21 Bayern Munich
22 Stuttgart
23 Sao Caetano BRASIL
24 Inter Milan
25 Dep. Cali COLOMBIA

How come u managed to find the latest list at Soccernet but the list that I found is only 2 May 2004, which shows the following? :confused:

ESPN's World Club Top 25: May 2, 2004
Club Country Points Comment

1. (2*) AC Milan Italy 319.06 Clinch 17th Serie A title

2. (1) Arsenal England 307.54 Remain unbeaten in EPL

3. (4) Chelsea England 292.38 Play Monaco in Champions Lg semis this week

4. (3) Boca Juniors Argentina 286.67 Held to 1-1 draw by Newell's

5. (6) Cruzeiro Brazil 278.22 Win 3-1 at Santos

6. (5) FC Porto Portugal 277.87 Play Deportivo in Champions Lg semis this week

7. (8) Deportivo La Coruna Spain 273.70 Defeat Real Madrid with squad of reserves

8. (7) Real Madrid Spain 266.00 Title hopes slipping with loss to Depor

9. (9) Valencia Spain 260.76 Four point lead in Spain with three weeks left

10. (10) Monaco France 257.27 Close gap on Lyon in league play to two points

11. (12) Sao Paulo Brazil 255.16 Rally for 3-2 win at Guarani

12. (11) AS Roma Italy 245.25 Lose title to Milan

13. (13) Manchester United England 243.41 Fall 1-0 to Blackburn

14. (14) Juventus Italy 241.31 Old pal Ravanelli scores winner for Perugia

15. (15) Santos Brazil 238.46 Open Libertadores 2nd round this week

16. (18) Barcelona Spain 237.58 Move within one point of Real Madrid for 2nd place

17. (16) Lyon France 236.70 Lead down to two points after tie at Bordeaux

18. (19) Bayern Munich Germany 236.20 Need victory next week to keep title hopes alive

19. (17) Celtic Scotland 233.65 Lose 2nd straight at home to Dunfermline

20. (20) Stuttgart Germany 227.09 Close to securing Champions League berth

21. (21) Werder Bremen Germany 216.58 Can wrap up Bundesliga title next weekend

22. (22) Newcastle United England 208.01 UEFA Cup semifinals this week

23. (24) PSV Netherlands 200.89 5-0 winners over Volendam

24. (23) Inter Milan Italy 199.08 Two points behind Parma for Champions Lg berth

25. (25) River Plate Argentina 198.04 Win at Rosario Central helps close gap on Boca

* - indicates previous week's ranking.
Dropped Out - None

The blardy link as requested by the blardy link police, Mankul (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=252594&cc=4716) =p

Fozzyrock
17-05-2004, 08:55 PM
Where will Wiltord end up next season?

Mankul
17-05-2004, 09:51 PM
that's the problem with this fliccha.... simply refusing to give direct link... still dare to dream working at CNN :mad:

FLiNcHY
17-05-2004, 10:14 PM
Nothing to do with working at CNN what. ANd i worked there before already. Already on my Resume.

I know you don't like no-links so i purposely don't give you links to help you display your public anger

Souljer
17-05-2004, 10:58 PM
Guess they are not showing Martin Keown's testimonial game after all.

Kiwi8
17-05-2004, 11:34 PM
Guess they are not showing Martin Keown's testimonial game after all.

Upper then?? No offence, but it's only a testimonial mah... :o :o :o :o :o

Souljer
17-05-2004, 11:42 PM

Upper then?? No offence, but it's only a testimonial mah...

Arsenal stars of old and present will be playing. It will be a nostalgic trip down the memory lane of Highbury.

Next testimonial match will be for Bergy. :(

FLiNcHY
17-05-2004, 11:50 PM
They better show Bergy's man. And the year after will be for Vieira and Wenger already!!!

Arsenal are invincible away from home!!

2 full seasons unbeaten away from home.:laugh: :laugh:

Souljer
18-05-2004, 12:38 AM
http://www.football365shop.com/store/catalog/CWAs_detail.gif_200.gif

Comical? More like prophetical. :cool:

FLiNcHY
18-05-2004, 01:23 AM
GIGGS: WE'RE STILL BETTER THAN ARSENAL

Martin Rogers

RYAN GIGGS last night insisted Manchester United are still a better team than Arsenal despite the Gunners' amazing unbeaten Premiership stroll.

Giggs believes Sir Alex Ferguson's side let themselves down this season and effectively handed Arsenal the title with their drastic inconsistency.

United eventually finished the season a massive 15 points behind Arsene Wenger's champions but Giggs was adamant that gap is not a fair reflection of the respective sides' talents.

As Arsenal paraded through the streets of north London on an open top bus, Giggs said: "I am not worried about the gap between us and Arsenal.

"Ability wise, we are just as good as them, if not better. In fact, I think we are better, but we have not proved it this season. It hurts to see them with our trophy. It does hurt but the bottom line is they deserve it. It is up to us now to produce that kind of consistency. We have got the ability and we know what we can do.

"Consistency has been the difference. Like this weekend, they have come back from a goal down and won. That is what we used to do."

Since the Premiership began United have never gone two seasons in a row without lifting the trophy.

But Giggs knows that reclaiming the crown next season will be tougher than ever before.

He added: "That is the response we need next season. It is okay saying we have done it before. That will mean nothing if we don't do it this time.

"A lot was said at Christmas time that we always do well in the New Year but it didn't happen. We know we have a lot of work to do. We played good stuff this season and it makes you wonder what might have been. I am glad the season is over, we just wanted to get the job done.

"I have got more hope for the future. The manager invested in youth last summer and we have people like Darren Fletcher coming through."

United signed off with a 2-0 victory against Aston Villa but will still have to play a qualifying match to get into next season's Champions League.

Now the Red Devils will look towards this weekend's FA Cup Final to salvage something from a desperate campaign.

Giggs said: "Beating Villa was a positive way to end the league season. That is the way to look at it. It has been disappointing but it is great to end it with a good performance and a Cup Final.

THEY HAVE YOUTH LIKE DARREN FLETCHER? WE HAVE YOUTH LIKE KOLO TOURE, PHILIPPE SENDEROS, JOSE ANTONIO REYES, ROBIN VAN PERSIE, GAEL CLICHY, ASHLEY COLE, JEREMIE ALIADIERE, CESC FEBREGAS, JUSTIN HOYTE! ALEX FUGGERSON BETTER GO GRAB HIMSELF SOMEMORE YOUTH SCOUTS MAN! WAHAHAHA

Fozzyrock
18-05-2004, 06:47 AM

Better than us?

Can't even finish above Chelsea .... :rolleyes:

leo_llw
18-05-2004, 07:50 AM
Has Ferguson cracked?
by Brian Dawes from Arsenal World
13 May 2004

So has Ferguson cracked? Has Anal Fergusmoan finally done a Georgie Graham and lost the plot big time after so many momentous years of ruling the domestic roost.

You can't help feeling that any other manager with any other track record would be searching the jobs vacant columns by now after such a bizarre and farcical series cock-ups at Old Trafford this season.

Ok so Ronaldo and Saha were good purchases, not exactly the type of bargain basement find unearthed by the mighty Wenger but good value for money for all that and tasty performers to boot. They may not have paid back their fees just yet but certainly look capable of doing so. With a decided lack of quality youths coming through United?s stunted production line, other than Fletcher where the jury is still out, Manure?s boss has gone for a number of big buys in the past couple of seasons but has been very badly burned in the transfer market. Kleberson, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion and Forlan have hardly set the world on fire in fact they have hardly been capable of setting a matchstick ablaze. Either Fergusmoan is looking to bolster his reserve side or more probably he may already have given up on these failures. Veron was a bad lose-making joke as was subsequently confirmed by Chelski. Ferdinand was over priced but was certainly a good purchase. Mind you he would have been so much more effective if United had thought to purchase his clearly optional brain cell, failing that they should have at least given the divot a personal shopping assistant.

Like many a megalomaniac once Fergie lost it he lost it big time. Selling Beckham because his Scottish ego could not handle someone at the club being so much bigger than himself has already gone down as a folly far worse than flogging Jaap Stam or indeed replacing Stam with Laurent Blanc. The Beckham saga of course stemmed from a disagreement as to whether Fergusmaon or Beckham had been made to look the biggest **** in a match that United lost at home to Arsenal, they disagreed and so Fergie put the boot in to conclude his argument. How strange that Arsenal may have been the unwitting catalysts to such an eye opening event?

After this season?s visit to Old Trafford the media claimed at the time that it was Arsenal whom had lost the plot. But just how crucial was that penalty miss by van Diver? It was the closest we?ve come to losing all season long. Since Lehmann?s bar rattled from the spot the amazing diving horse has turned into an old nag and done nothing since. Nothing that is other than upset Fergie with his ?we?re missing Beckham? comments, for which he was benched. Correct me if I?m wrong but is Fergusmoan the only person in the entire footballing world, including many of his players, who doesn?t think United have missed Beckham?

New boy Saha fell for a journalistic wind up by comparing Henry extremely favourably with van Diver to the obvious pleasure of everyone at the Library. While at the THOF Arsene, as ever, has run verbal rings around the old purple-nosed Jock. But then looking stupid has been United?s forte this season, they probably peaked in their absurdity with that ridiculous war of words with the F A over the failed drugs test. When the bombastic dictators at OT tried to get Ferdinand absolved from his stupidity they went about it the worst way possible manner. The player was dumb, the Clubs lawyers inept, the management self-righteous, the excuses pitiful and United?s general attitude was a perfect blue print of how to make a terribly silly and self-inflicted situation far worse than it need have been. How sad and foolish did they look, and how much credibility did a club of such stature lose? Not only nationally but internationally. Failing drugs a test, it seems, is an acceptable thing to do according to the gospel of ManU. Pathetic or what?

Going to war with major shareholders over disputed stud fees was possibly the entertainment wheeze of the season. Who else but Fergusmoan would be thick enough to attempt to bite the hands of the money-men who own the club who employ him? Inflated ego or what? Thankfully for our amusement his ego knew no bounds and this internal tiff was par for the course, the race course as it happens. The side joke was that disillusioned United fans seemingly thought they have some sort of say in the club, the poor disillusioned fools. They showed this by their unswerving support for the old megalomaniac against the Irish Racing Mafia. Now loyalty is always laudable, but surely they will find out just what a bit part the fans are really deemed to play when Ferguson is eventually replaced with a Plc yes man. Ferguson?s humiliation by Magnier and McManus was certainly an enjoyable interlude and it ran long enough to give us all a good laugh.

Almost as funny as when their COE Peter Kenyon, an alleged life-long fan of United, packed his bags for more money at the Russian Mafia?s bidding. Sent on gardening leave by the United he eventually returned to the limelight with stupid statements at the Bridge of Sighs. Meanwhile United?s new supremo merely stamped his feet and claimed that, despite their abject failure on the pitch, United were still the biggest club. So very well done United, if making money in the Far East is what your club is all about, you are undoubtedly world-beaters. But so ****ing what, does that impress football fans or do trophies? Anyone at OT want to bet me that your shirt sales peaked about a season or so ago and that they are now on a continuous downward spiral? Shirt sales follow a trophy haul and United dumped their top salesman in Madrid. Let?s see now ?Henry 14? or ?Cheat 10? or ?Beckham 23? who will be selling the least shirts around Europe this summer do we think?

I?ll pass on the saga of bunce for the Fergie family agents, but such skullduggery elsewhere would have seen many a Club of integrity show someone the door. With everything around him going tits upward, and no doubt because he began to feel like an outcast in his own home, Fergie finally installed another aging Jock as his deputy but absolutely nothing has improved or changed as a result. And do you wonder, as I do, quite why the turnover of assistant managers and coaches at OT has accelerated with every additional year of Fergie?s reign? No connection with the blue-nosed one loosing his marbles surely?

Yes United did knock Arsenal out of the Cup, but that was where their season peaked, and even this was a close run thing against a tired team who should perhaps have focused elsewhere. Since that match they?ve flopped down to third place and quite frankly unless Ferguson taps up some stupendous players during Euro 2004 I reckon that?s the best they can hope for next season. Will the Plc continue to allow him to throw what they obviously consider to be their money and not his down the drain? Would any Plc in their right mind continue to trust a manger who picks Philip Neville for a key role in midfield after spending millions of pounds on abject failures who should have been playing in that very position?

United?s hopes for the 2003-4 season have been whittled down to bagging a trophy they didn?t deem worthy to enter a few years back. It?s a nice day out at Cardiff but little more than that. It?s a pot to piss in alright but there was a time when the bookies would have closed the book on a win against Millwall. As it stands now the lowly no-hopers that no-one loves are quoted at a mere 5-1 to win the Famous old trophy. I suspect that many a Gooner or Blue Manc may fancy a punt at such odds. Dichio for Millwall will miss the final due to an F A ban. Scholes should also be missing the final for an obvious second yellow against Chelski - but of course he won?t. Thanks to referee Bennett pathetically kowtowed to United, as he did when he awarded a dubious penalty for the stumbling Forlan against Arsenal last September. Which suggests, if nothing else, that despite all the cracks in United?s armour they still have ?homers? working for them for 90 minutes, or however long it takes to get a result.

United are still a bigger club financially than anyone else, but so what. At one time their manager was undoubtedly the best in the world, his record may never be surpassed, but this season they?ve flirted on and off all season with being a laughing stock. Ferguson will still put out a decent team next season but with his funding they ought to be world-beaters, a domestic third place is tantamount to abject failure. They?ve wallowed in Arsene Wenger?s wake in 2003-4 and I now consider Ferguson?s continued presence at Old Trafford to be an indirect asset for Arsenal, so far is the purple-nosed has-been from his glorious former peak.

So it looks like we could be having two horse race next season as Chelski, whoever their overspending new manager might be, will certainly be having another £100 million crack at winning their 2nd. championship in 100 years. On the championship issue United still have far more class than Chelski, but they no longer have a dynamic manager and he certainly won?t survive another season as third fiddle. The in-fighting at Old Trollop could be a great spectator sport next season.

chyehock
18-05-2004, 07:57 AM
Alot of time in football it depend on luck.

Like Liverpool & Chelsea game. Arsenal seems to be losing the game but they won.

The FA cup against ManU. They look to win ManU but they lose. They are a better team in that game.

See last season a luckless Arsenal lost the lead and let ManU win the championship.

Football is like this if luck is not with u even theiry henry will miss an open goal. It is as simple as that. Remember keeper tends to scared of Nisterooly penalty but now. sigh....

Better than us?

Can't even finish above Chelsea .... :rolleyes: