View Full Version : Arsenal FC - Ashburton Grove
SueDE_84
04-09-2006, 12:16 PM
No issues with that. He may like Robben. So what?
dun bother abt them lah...dun argue wit ppl who r shallow minded
RipperJack
04-09-2006, 12:48 PM
erm i dun surf the forums alot but WTF u have a chelsea player avater :s8: :s8:
otaku alert~! :s13:
qinzheng
04-09-2006, 02:11 PM
dont bother about stupid comments...:) :)
Sensational
04-09-2006, 02:39 PM
zzz. tis is arsenal forum la. all arsenal fans r welcome
___jeff
04-09-2006, 04:31 PM
THE TIMES ARTICLE
Wenger has last word
JONATHAN NORTHCROFT
Ashley Cole grabbed the headlines, but the Arsenal manager had the last laugh when the transfer window closed
Even before the main business was concluded on transfer deadline day, it was clear that Arsenal had come out best. It was a coup more spectacular than if West Ham had signed Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano, then Lionel Messi to boot. The Gunners got rid of Pascal Cygan. Even more extraordinary, they persuaded someone — Villarreal — to give them money (£2m!) for him.
Arsenal may not always win the Premiership, but they are usually top of the acumen league, and even by the standards of Arsène Wenger and David Dein, Thursday was a shrewd old day. William Gallas plus £5m for Ashley Cole, Julio Baptista plus £3m for Jose Reyes, the £3.4m signing of the Brazilian Denilson, Cygan gone.
So much attention was focused on the controversies of Cole and Chelsea’s mutual courtship that few people examined the actual transaction. Chelsea needed a convincing left-back and got a player with claims to be Europe’s best in that position. But full-backs don’t win cups and championships, centre-backs do. Strip away the hype for England players such as John Terry and Rio Ferdinand, and there is no better central defender than Gallas in the Premiership.
Since the start of Sol Campbell’s decline two seasons ago, Wenger has yearned for the right partner for Kolo Toure. Gallas — fast, versatile, intelligent, French — is his photofit Arsenal footballer. Even if he had received the £30m that Dein initially demanded for Cole, it is not certain that Wenger could have used the money to make a more suitable signing. The capture even has the secondary effect of weakening a rival. Jose Mourinho was desperate not to lose Gallas, but because he is 29 and had a year left on his contract, Chelsea valued him at just £9m. To Arsenal he is priceless.
Baptista for Reyes, in a loan exchange with Real Madrid that is likely to become permanent, also looks nice business. Wenger has long coveted Baptista and made four bids for him in 2005 when he was still a Sevilla player, the last worth £14m. Versatility — that quality again — is the Brazilian’s key attribute. He is young, scores goals, plays defensive or attacking midfield and even second striker, and his nickname (The Beast) indicates why he was originally identified as Patrick Vieira’s successor. The £3m that Real also paid Arsenal represented the difference between their £14m purchase price of Baptista and the £17m that the Gunners spent on Reyes. But given that £6.9m of the latter was dependent on future success and appearances, and will not now have to be paid in full, the cash adjustment in Arsenal’s favour is greater.
Cole and Reyes have football ability that would make any manager loath to lose them. However, their future usefulness to Wenger was uncertain, given Reyes’s problems in adjusting to the English game and Cole’s irreparable fallout with Dein and the rest of Arsenal’s board. He wanted to leave so badly that the consequences of denying him a move might have been self-defeating.
Wenger completed his deadline day dealings by landing Denilson, a cultured 18-year-old midfielder and captain of Brazil’s under-19 team, from Sao Paolo for a fee that could rise to £3.4m. He could prove another triumph for Arsenal’s youth scouting. In the Under-17 World Cup in Peru last year, Denilson was outstanding, captaining Brazil to the final. Wenger already has his hands on the leading scorer from the side that beat Brazil there, Mexico’s Carlos Vela.
Wenger’s shrewd history in the transfer market hardly needs rehearsing. Reyes’s departure leaves as his most expensive player Thierry Henry, who, costing £10.5m from Juventus seven seasons ago, may just about have been value for money. Over the past eight transfer windows Arsenal’s spend has been £63.9m, while Chelsea have paid out £325.7m, Manchester United £117.7m and Liverpool £95.6m. It’s easy to get swept away by the thrill of the purchase. Any shopper knows it’s only when you return home and open up the bags that you see what you have actually got. Some clubs may have felt pangs of regret the moment the deadline passed on Thursday night. At the Emirates stadium they couldn’t believe their luck.
Arsenal finished the day with £6.6m in their pockets, the best defender in the Premiership in their squad, both “the Brazilian Steven Gerrard” and Brazil’s youth captain arriving, and two underperforming players and a malcontent off their books. If they ever remake The Sting, Wenger and Dein should get the Robert Redford and Paul Newman parts.
Gallas’s future is likely to be at centre-back, but he may begin by filling the berth vacated by Cole. How Baptista fares will be intriguing. Six feet tall, direct and as hard of shot as he is in the tackle, he scored 38 goals in 63 games for Sevilla and has the potential to be the dynamic midfield all-rounder who fares best in the English game. At Real, where he played wide or up front, never in his favoured position, he still got eight goals last season.
He was called The Beast because of his strength and physique even before he arrived in Spain, but there the sobriquet was embraced and Baptista became La Bestia. When assessed at the Copa America two years ago, he was so strapping, Brazil’s doctors warned him his muscle tissue was growing too quickly. “I’ve never been one of those guys that are in the gym all day to try to beef myself up. Although I must say there are not a lot of players about with such a strong and powerful physique as mine,” Baptista said.
Wenger hopes he proves well worth the weights.
NICE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
___jeff
04-09-2006, 04:36 PM
baptista is here on a permanent deal
yourmother
04-09-2006, 04:53 PM
baptista is here on a permanent deal
got link?
10 char
yourmother
04-09-2006, 04:59 PM
some damn funny quotes on Baptista found on AM forum,
"When the Boogeyman goes to sleep every night, he checks his closet for Julio Baptista"
"Julio Baptista was actually conceived by his father...He is way too masculine to come out of a woman!"
"Julio Baptista's penis played the role of the snake in 'Anaconda'."
"Julio Baptista once visited the Virgin Islands. They are now The Islands."
"Julio Baptista can speak braille."
"All of Julio Baptista's genes are dominant."
"Julio Baptista can slam revolving doors."
"Julio Baptista invented the hammer when he was tired of using his forehead to slam nails into wood."
"Julio Baptista once walked down the street with a massive erection. There were no survivors."
"Julio Baptista can build a snowman out of rain."
"Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Give Julio Baptista a fish and he'll stuff it up your ass and skull-f**k your daughter."
"Bill Gates lives in constant fear that Julio Baptista's PC will crash."
those bold one are the funnier one to me, the bill gate and boogeyman one is killing me !!!!
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
yourmother
04-09-2006, 05:00 PM
one more!!!
Apparently aliens actually do exist. They are just waiting for Julio Baptista to die before they invade.
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
Sensational
04-09-2006, 05:37 PM
Arsenal boss Wenger rejected Tevez, Mascherano
tribalfooball.com - September 04, 2006
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger turned down new West Ham pair Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano, it has been revealed.
The Sunday Mirror says the duo were originally supposed to go to Juventus for a combined fee of �30m.
That deal collapsed with the relegation of Juventus after the Italian match-fixing scandal. The pair were offered to Arsenal but Wenger wasn't interested. In May Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho went to see Tevez play for Corinthians in the Copa Libertadores but wasn't impressed.
The transfers of the duo are permanent and suggest that MSI believe their top men will be running West Ham during the coming season.
so we rejected them.......
yourmother
04-09-2006, 05:41 PM
Baptista reveals four-year deal
By Duncan White
(Filed: 04/09/2006)
In pics: Premiership summer moves
Your View: Fans' forum
Arsenal's new Brazilian international striker, Julio Baptista, has vowed to repay Arsene Wenger's faith in him and make a permanent switch to the Emirates Stadium.
"I am very humbled that Arsene Wenger has made such an effort to bring me to Arsenal," Baptista said. "I want to prove to him that he has made a good choice."
Baptista, 24, arrived on transfer deadline day from Real Madrid, with Jose Antonio Reyes moving in the opposite direction, and initial reports suggested that both deals were one-year loans. It has now emerged that Baptista has agreed to a four-year contract with the club, subject to Arsenal wishing to follow through with the deal at the end of the season. "Yes, it is like a four-year contract," he said. "After the first year Arsenal need to talk to Real Madrid, and if they can come to an agreement then I will be really happy to stay here."
Baptista made his first appearance at the Emirates Stadium yesterday, as a substitute in Brazil's 3-0 win over Argentina, coming on to a standing ovation from Arsenal fans in the crowd. "I was delighted to be made so welcome in my first game at my new home ground," Baptista said. "I hope it will be the same when I play here in the Premiership. Arsenal is a famous and traditional club and last season reached the Champions League final. I hope we can do that again."
Wryer
04-09-2006, 06:25 PM
Very encouraged to see the Beast saying all these. It sure is assuring.
Its even better to see Gallas absolutely blasting Chelsea and Mourinho now.
Wonder what cashley has got to say, when he clearly is in the wrong.
cadre80
04-09-2006, 06:44 PM
so wats ur problem here?i like Robben as a HOLLAND player not a CHELSEA player :s8: does it mean tat i put Robben as my avatar means i support CHELSEA?at least i m better than some whiners over here :s8:
but robben the player once had the opportunity to join arsenal, but he opted for chelsea instead... heh... but i'm referring to the man in the avatar... :s13:
Sooooooooooooooooooooo?
Sensational
04-09-2006, 06:55 PM
hu cares, we gt adequate replacement man. it is robben's mistake in nt joining arsenal.moreover, i dun tink he is as gd as he was during his 1st few seasons
Wryer
04-09-2006, 07:17 PM
Yep, he sure has dropped in his level of performance.
The one that really impressed me was Ronaldo, a diving twat he maybe is, but he has improved his game in a lot of ways.
Sensational
04-09-2006, 07:49 PM
Yep, he sure has dropped in his level of performance.
The one that really impressed me was Ronaldo, a diving twat he maybe is, but he has improved his game in a lot of ways.
lesser tricks lo. did u c robinho, omfg, he realli damn zhai now, wasted sia how come we din get him last season
LittleFox
04-09-2006, 08:22 PM
I like the J.Bapista jokes...lol..made my day....
:s13: :s13: :s13:
Arsenal85
04-09-2006, 08:22 PM
Arsenal boss Wenger rejected Tevez, Mascherano
tribalfooball.com - September 04, 2006
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger turned down new West Ham pair Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano, it has been revealed.
The Sunday Mirror says the duo were originally supposed to go to Juventus for a combined fee of �30m.
That deal collapsed with the relegation of Juventus after the Italian match-fixing scandal. The pair were offered to Arsenal but Wenger wasn't interested. In May Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho went to see Tevez play for Corinthians in the Copa Libertadores but wasn't impressed.
The transfers of the duo are permanent and suggest that MSI believe their top men will be running West Ham during the coming season.
so we rejected them.......
I dun trust tribalfooball.com at all.
Even though we are not professionals
It is still quite obvious Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano will be a great signing for any club.
I dun belive AW will reject them , we are also not that poor in terms of finance
None of our forward except Henry can match Tevez goal ratio
and Javier Mascherano is easily one of the best holding midfielder now
I still think their move to West Ham is a conspiracy :s13: :s13: :s13:
deathblade
04-09-2006, 08:37 PM
dun bother abt them lah...dun argue wit ppl who r shallow minded
Relax la bro.. u are actually bothered about noob's opinion about you? Esp an opinion formed by your choice od avatar? They'll know where your loyalty lies in time...
;)
___jeff
04-09-2006, 08:49 PM
seriously tevez and javier hasnt being impressive
have u guys actually watch their recent games ?
xerces
04-09-2006, 09:22 PM
Did you know that Gallas was born in the same hospital as Henry, Went to the same school, lived on the same street and went to the same football academy..
and was born on the exact same day and same year
17 aug 1977
talk about freaky. :s31: i do know that they have the same bday but the above haha so heng meh... gd la got telepathy , no wonder henry cant perform last time when he at chelski and why mourinho so scared when gallas go Arsenal...ho sei liao lol... jking...But i still Like henry more :D
xerces
04-09-2006, 09:23 PM
hu cares, we gt adequate replacement man. it is robben's mistake in nt joining arsenal.moreover, i dun tink he is as gd as he was during his 1st few seasons he got chance to join Arsenal meh? i tot man utd onli
sugarkittyx
04-09-2006, 09:45 PM
but according to wikipedia they were not born at the same place?
tt32003
04-09-2006, 10:04 PM
I dun trust tribalfooball.com at all.
Even though we are not professionals
It is still quite obvious Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano will be a great signing for any club.
I dun belive AW will reject them , we are also not that poor in terms of finance
None of our forward except Henry can match Tevez goal ratio
and Javier Mascherano is easily one of the best holding midfielder now
I still think their move to West Ham is a conspiracy :s13: :s13: :s13:
Go read today's straitstiems.
They were offered to every big clubs on the following terms :
No buying money but must pay half their salary.
They must play in first team whenever they are fit.
The owner of the players can decide to sell them away anytime. If you want to stop it, pay 60 millions pounds. And when the players are sold, you get nothing.
Man U rejected this straight away.
In the end they offerd them to Portsmorth and West Ham and Portsmourth says no.
tt32003
04-09-2006, 10:08 PM
Did you know that Gallas was born in the same hospital as Henry, Went to the same school, lived on the same street and went to the same football academy..
and was born on the exact same day and same year
17 aug 1977
talk about freaky. :s31:
Thought Henry was born in the West Indies ?
Or his parents come from West Indies ?
Is Gallas born French or an immigrant ?
tt32003
04-09-2006, 10:09 PM
I have been following up for the past few days on the transfer saga between Arsenal & Chelski. At the end of the saga, I have to admit Arsenal really got a GOD DAM SUPER deal in Gallas! This particular defender is gonna stablise Arsenal's defence at least for the next 3 yrs. Gallas is a powerful defender, who is fast, can head well and can read the game as good as John Terry. He has few injuries and do not miss a lot of matches unlike (Campbell). A powerful defender, and with an eye for a goal as well! Wonderful player. I rate him with the very best in the EPL, Rio Ferdinand & Terry and a much faster Hyppia.
Congrats to you guys for having a delicious player in Gallas, and with a huge presence in Bastista in midfield (Arsenal really lack a "huge" presence after the departure of Vieira), I feel that Arsenal's season is gonna get better.
From a Liverpool Fan.
The main thing now is Chelski only has 2 Centre Back and a new Rb/centreback.
If Terry or Carvalio got injured good luck to them.
The owner of the players can decide to sell them away anytime. If you want to stop it, pay 60 millions pounds. And when the players are sold, you get nothing.
What a fked up criteria to get two overrated world class youngsters :s8: Wouldnt the club be at the beck and call of MSI.. what a joke. Seriously wondering how West Ham are going to accomodate these two players.
The main thing now is Chelski only has 2 Centre Back and a new Rb/centreback.
If Terry or Carvalio got injured good luck to them.
Yup their squad is very thin now.
LittleFox
04-09-2006, 10:30 PM
No wonder...looks like west ham became a training grd.... :s13:
Wryer
04-09-2006, 10:31 PM
It doesnt make business or football sense to agree to MSI's terms. Its a mad condition.
As for chelsea, they are still the team to beat. Boularouz is pretty solid from the game i watched. The Centreback area is a little weak with only Terry and Carvarlho. And to be honest, Carvalho is a glorified defender. He is slow and often need Terry to save his ass. No more Gallas. I always remember Gallas stopping Henry time and time again.
zhaohan
04-09-2006, 10:38 PM
It doesnt make business or football sense to agree to MSI's terms. Its a mad condition.
As for chelsea, they are still the team to beat. Boularouz is pretty solid from the game i watched. The Centreback area is a little weak with only Terry and Carvarlho. And to be honest, Carvalho is a glorified defender. He is slow and often need Terry to save his ass. No more Gallas. I always remember Gallas stopping Henry time and time again.
i think central defense is one huge loophole
Sensational
04-09-2006, 10:43 PM
now toure and gallas will pwn terry
Kiwi8
04-09-2006, 11:02 PM
Football-wise, this might not be a good thing since the manager will lose his flexibility in team selection.
But business-wise, it seems to be a good deal, since there is no transfer fee or signing on fee, and the club just need to pay half the wages.
xerces
04-09-2006, 11:13 PM
Chelsea is becoming like Real Madrid... too many inbalance in squad... maybe a zidane and a pavon situation will hit them soon.
LiteMan
04-09-2006, 11:22 PM
Seems that this West Ham situation is like a "loan on demand" kind of deal?..,something like "TV on demand"???
BroadBear
04-09-2006, 11:23 PM
ya chelsea dun seem to have any quality cover for terry & Carvalho, furthermore e proposed partnership of toure n gallas is much more formidable than the Terry-carvalho partnetship....Think abt it, both of them r world class n pacy & @ e age of 29 Gallas certainly has e experience to lead e Arsenal defence, Arsenal had indeed gt themselves an excellent acquisition, all thanks to AW foresight n shrewdness in e transfer market
Terry & Carvalho?Both arent pacy n will thus will have probs coping wif speedy attackers like ronaldinho, henry or samuel e`to
William gallas & kolo toure have an edge over them in terms of speed n agility, wif e promising senderos standing in for them..
Sensational
04-09-2006, 11:30 PM
ya chelsea dun seem to have any quality cover for terry & Carvalho, furthermore e proposed partnership of toure n gallas is much more formidable than the Terry-carvalho partnetship....Think abt it, both of them r world class n pacy & @ e age of 29 Gallas certainly has e experience to lead e Arsenal defence, Arsenal had indeed gt themselves an excellent acquisition, all thanks to AW foresight n shrewdness in e transfer market
Terry & Carvalho?Both arent pacy n will thus will have probs coping wif speedy attackers like ronaldinho, henry or samuel e`to
William gallas & kolo toure have an edge over them in terms of speed n agility, wif e promising senderos standing in for them..
yea. i hope so. but chelsea has a blank money book, so when jan transfer window come, their sugar daddy will fork out money 4 them 2 buy players
SueDE_84
04-09-2006, 11:47 PM
Relax la bro.. u are actually bothered about noob's opinion about you? Esp an opinion formed by your choice od avatar? They'll know where your loyalty lies in time...
;)
it juz bothers me to see shallow minded ppl around here like anyhow shouting their mouths off which realli pisses me off...anyway i like Robben...then i cannot put him as my avatar meh?nnb :s8:
SueDE_84
04-09-2006, 11:50 PM
IMO i tink tat Terry's the backbone of the Chelsea defence...i tink witout him...Chelsea r kinda gone liao...u can't simply depend on Carvalho to do the job...hes a so so player to me onli...hasn't realli impressed much...now wit Gallas gone...their defence looks quite shaky...hope tat Gallas can provide us wit some strength at the back...realli can't wait to see Gallas n Baptista in action man :)
yourmother
05-09-2006, 12:00 AM
Arsenal set for the next 5 seasons
During the World Cup, I proclaimed that Touré was the best central defender in the world until Cannavaro changed my mind a day later. In the France v Italy final I remembered watching Thuram and thinking of what he legend he was and how amazing that Arsenal had got past Cannavaro and Thuram at Highbury.
However, Thuram had not had a great season but he looked good in the World Cup. I realised then that Gallas was contributing a whole lot to making Thuram and the French defence look good. In fact, watch John Terry with other partners in Chelsea and at the World Cup, you realise just what a player Gallas is.
William Gallas is 29 and is still faster than most 23-year-olds. He scores goals too, from headers and shots. He is vastly experienced, versatile and has at least 3 years at the very top level left in him.
Gallas also has character. He is the first player to voluntarily leave Chelsea with a guaranteed first team spot (as far as I know). He's a mature player and a mature man who will easily make friends with Touré who has the same disposition. The two of them could be formidable together. I cannot think of another defensive pairing that looks better on paper anywhere in the world right now, let alone the Premiership.
Chelsea have taken a great player from Arsenal from a non-vital position. But luckily it is a player for whom Arsenal have a ready made replacement, a replacement that has been in the club for a few years and plays almost exactly like Cole and could be as good as Cole soon.
Arsenal have taken a great player from Chelsea from a vital position. Chelsea don't have a replacement for Gallas and we have taken a player from a very, very important position from our rivals and left them with a problem while solving our long standing problem in that area. Carvalho is only a decent defender who is the king of professional fouling and if referees paid enough attention, Carvalho will give away one penalty per game. Terry and Carvalho are inferior to Touré and Gallas.
Chelsea bought their replacement for Gallas a week or more ago since they knew he wanted to go. Arsenal, however, could not do any business until they knew what was happening with Cole. The fact that Arsène effectively had no shopping hours left when the Cole deal went through makes me wonder whether Arsène would have done something different had the Cole deal been sorted out two weeks ago. We did well under the circumstances anyway.
Baptista skipped Arsenal last season because he wanted a Spanish passport and wanted to play alongside Brazilians to increase his chance of the going to the World Cup. He will get his passport but he failed to make the team for the World Cup.
Now Real have made him dispensable. He's young and has to get back to the glory he had at Seville – he has to get back on track. Let's hope he does it here. It is clear that Baptista didn't really want to come to Arsenal but his attitude seems good enough to accept the challenge and make good of it.
I have no idea what Wenger is going to do with him along with Ljungberg, Hleb, Rosicky, Fabregas, etc. I keep telling people that since last season, Arsène doesn't know his first team for the first time in 10 years and that things will really click when he has his first team.
But I think Arsène may have changed in this last season since he has bought several players in the same position at the same age. Before Arsène had his first team players and a young protégé but last season was full of injuries and vulnerability may have changed him a little. We now have a team full of players who have to fight for their place – great news!
Watching Rosicky in the national team convinces anyone that he needs to be in the middle a bit more. I also still firmly believe that Arsenal must not play Fabregas in a four man midfield away from home.
I watched Freddie against Latvia and he is also far more dangerous coming centrally from the sides than running on the wings. Hleb is also the same, he's got better as winger but his runs coming up through the middle are more dangerous and direct. Arsenal lack width because we don't have real wingers anymore.
With Baptista, Arsenal can have a four man midfield that turns into five men in defensive situations and two strikers in attacking situations away from home.
I know Fabregas can dynamically move to the wings while Rosicky comes into the middle. Cesc has played on the right before. I know Baptista has functioned on the left at Real and can move there dynamically while Hleb comes in.
We know Baptista can score as a half striker like he did in Seville and we know he can cover midfield if Cesc goes forward. I don't know what Wenger is planning but if we have a fluid and dymanic midfield with these 4 players moving around while Gilberto stays back, then we can demolish teams and attack with full backs since we don't have natural wingers.
We could finish games in the first half once again.
This is bad news for van Persie and Adebayor but I am sure Henry will not play an injury free season. Also with Gallas, it is not as bad for Senderos as it seems because Touré and Gallas will not play an injury free season after the World Cup and Champions League and almost two seasons without injury. The loser is Djourou but he's only 19 and the Carling Cup team will be strong enough to give him many games.
I was making noises about Bendtner here in 2005. I recommend that you watch the next Birmingham match to check him out yourself.
The future is Walcott and Bendtner. With these two, Denilson, Clichy, Flamini, Kerrea Gilbert, Muamba, Larsson, Lupoli, Vela, Djourou, Hoyte, Clichy and then Senderos, Fabregas and van Persie, Arsenal have the next 5 years all sorted out.
You could even put out the above team now and be competitive!
haha i like the bold part.
yourmother
05-09-2006, 12:02 AM
Thierry Henry has lavished praise onto new signing and old friend William Gallas.
The Gunners skipper has hailed his new team-mate as the best centre-back in the world.
"I have known William for a long time," said Henry. "I've played with him and against him.
"In my opinion he's the best centre back in the world, so he's a vital signing."
Gallas' quality was none too obvious in games for his former club Chelsea against Arsenal, when he would hardly ever give Henry a sniff.
yay.. at least Gallas will stop owning Henry now. :o
yourmother
05-09-2006, 01:34 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Yapks5OLphQ
the best of Robin Van Persie.. damn nice especially the last 10 second..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwSvlRLWupM&NR
a henry comp.. also very nice.. again the last 10 sec..
must watch for both..
btw don you just think the both of them also so similar..
cadre80
05-09-2006, 02:35 AM
Sooooooooooooooooooooo?
sigh...
i was playing on the fact that he's an arsenal fan... and it's pretty ironic that robben turned down arsenal to join chelsea.
wahlao... this kind of thing also must spell out ... :( .
it was meant as a joke... not an insult...
(no offence ... just wanna answer your looooong soooooo...)
suede_84: don't worry... i'm a fan of robben too... and shevchenko...
tt32003
05-09-2006, 07:03 AM
http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?thisNav=news&article=364115&cpid=703&title=2006/2007+official+first-team+squad+wallpaper
Official club wallpaper but has people like Cygan inside and not include Gallas and Baptista.
dle4e_2005
05-09-2006, 09:38 AM
http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?thisNav=news&article=364115&cpid=703&title=2006/2007+official+first-team+squad+wallpaper
Official club wallpaper but has people like Cygan inside and not include Gallas and Baptista.
Reyes is also inside........
Yup.. it was taken a few weeks before the transfer deadline.. at that time cole was not present also.
SueDE_84
05-09-2006, 11:11 AM
sigh...
i was playing on the fact that he's an arsenal fan... and it's pretty ironic that robben turned down arsenal to join chelsea.
wahlao... this kind of thing also must spell out ... :( .
it was meant as a joke... not an insult...
(no offence ... just wanna answer your looooong soooooo...)
suede_84: don't worry... i'm a fan of robben too... and shevchenko...
yeah i know...no hard feelings
MrWeiWei
05-09-2006, 11:32 AM
Thierry Henry has lavished praise onto new signing and old friend William Gallas.
The Gunners skipper has hailed his new team-mate as the best centre-back in the world.
"I have known William for a long time," said Henry. "I've played with him and against him.
"In my opinion he's the best centre back in the world, so he's a vital signing."
Gallas' quality was none too obvious in games for his former club Chelsea against Arsenal, when he would hardly ever give Henry a sniff.
yay.. at least Gallas will stop owning Henry now. :o
in training he will own him again haha :D
Sensational
05-09-2006, 12:47 PM
gallas shld own ppl lyk rooney, shev. drogba etc
MrWeiWei
05-09-2006, 12:57 PM
gallas shld own ppl lyk rooney, shev. drogba etccant u take a joke? :D
i just quoting what he say ma haha
on a sidenote...... at least the 3 are worth ur mention lol....
cant u take a joke? :D
i just quoting what he say ma haha
on a sidenote...... at least the 3 are worth ur mention lol....
Cant u understand what hes saying? Hes just saying that players from other clubs will now be owned by gallas. Not that difficult to grasp.
MrWeiWei
05-09-2006, 02:46 PM
Cant u understand what hes saying? Hes just saying that players from other clubs will now be owned by gallas. Not that difficult to grasp.
pardon me for my lousy england :sad:
Sensational
05-09-2006, 03:11 PM
lol. nvm la, relax!
MrWeiWei
05-09-2006, 03:13 PM
lol. nvm la, relax!
haha ya la.... no point fans of different clubs quarrelling with each other......we should live in peace and harmony !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Its A Beautiful Game ~
yourmother
05-09-2006, 03:45 PM
nvm, nobody can see.. :o
Sensational
05-09-2006, 07:07 PM
hmm. carn wait 4 sat man. the hype abt gallas n baptista is interesting, n i wan 2 c 4 myself
Wryer
05-09-2006, 07:41 PM
Very true.
And all the press releases seem to point that Chelsea are very sore about losing Gallas, while Arsenal are more than happy to lose Cole. We got one over them.
Putting things into perspective, like someone mentioned over at Arsenal Mania, for the first time in 10 seasons, Wenger do not have a first 11 that he will use week after week. Good or bad? your take?
Im very sure Baptista will adjust to the league quickly. He is a Brazilian built for the EPL. Immensely powerful. Harewood, Darren Bent and Hasselbaink are not as powerful as him. The closest player i can think of is Drogba. But Baptista has an extra weapon, his long range shooting. Will be interesting to see where Wenger plays him. I think its gonna be a striker.
Gallas and Toure is definitely brilliant on paper, we probably has the fastest CD pairing. Both are super athletic, the only thing i worry is the aerial component. Gallas is much better than Toure in the air.
Sensational
05-09-2006, 08:00 PM
Very true.
And all the press releases seem to point that Chelsea are very sore about losing Gallas, while Arsenal are more than happy to lose Cole. We got one over them.
Putting things into perspective, like someone mentioned over at Arsenal Mania, for the first time in 10 seasons, Wenger do not have a first 11 that he will use week after week. Good or bad? your take?
Im very sure Baptista will adjust to the league quickly. He is a Brazilian built for the EPL. Immensely powerful. Harewood, Darren Bent and Hasselbaink are not as powerful as him. The closest player i can think of is Drogba. But Baptista has an extra weapon, his long range shooting. Will be interesting to see where Wenger plays him. I think its gonna be a striker.
Gallas and Toure is definitely brilliant on paper, we probably has the fastest CD pairing. Both are super athletic, the only thing i worry is the aerial component. Gallas is much better than Toure in the air.
hmm. they can cover each other mah. gallas n toure indeed complement each other. now is awaiting the return of clichy, then our defence will b quite complete. in midfield, it is the 1st time wenger is spoilt 4 choice lo! striker position 1 is henry liao, the other is up 2 adebayor n RVP or even baptista will plae there. INTERESTING
noelnoel
05-09-2006, 08:07 PM
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/6087/thebeastyk3.jpg
yourmother
05-09-2006, 08:32 PM
Very true.
i think he will play in midfield
xerces
05-09-2006, 09:20 PM
Arsenal Best 11?
------------------Henry---------RVP/Walcott?lolz-----------------
-----Rosicky-------Fabregas-----------Baptista-----------Hleb--------
----Clichy--------Toure--------Gallas--------Eboue/Lauren-------
---------------------------Lehmann/Buffon in the future --------
:P
Wryer
05-09-2006, 09:29 PM
4-3-3 with Baptista looks very menacing actually.
Lehmann
Lauren - Toure - Gallas - Clichy
Fabregas - Gilberto - Rosicky
RVP - Baptista - Henry
tt32003
05-09-2006, 09:39 PM
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?HLID=414257&CPID=8&title=Almunia
Is our fried dreaming ?
Is he really that good ?
But we may end up with an extra English player you know.
Sensational
05-09-2006, 09:53 PM
lol. heck abt alumnia nia
Wryer
05-09-2006, 10:06 PM
Haha.. sorry but he aint good enough.
Arsenal Best 11?
Nah not our best 11. Baptista is not best when utilised as a DM, all his other attributes are nullified if played as a DM. Hes better as a ACM in a 4-5-1/4-3-3 formation for us or as a support striker in 4-4-2, just imo. I would definitely include Gilberto in our best 11, as we need a specialised DM for our attacking play.
Currently with the current crop of players that we have, im not sure if 4-4-2 will truly utilise the diversity and strength of our team.
I do feel that we will have to play a new formation if we wish to use rosicky and hleb on the wings, as they not effective in a 4-4-2 with their habits of cutting into the centre of the pitch. As said many times, our width mostly comes with our WBs now, but thats pretty one dimensional as far as im concern as we have fewer penetration options.
In highbury where the pitch was smaller, the cutting in by Hleb and Ljungberg were not that much of an effect to our playstyle, but now with a bigger pitch at Emirates, its pretty obvious that they are so used to playing centrally that it affects the whole game play of the team as our width is totally reduced. So im not too sure about 4-4-2 being our best ATM, but we'll just have to see what Wenger comes up with.
Souljer
06-09-2006, 01:34 AM
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/6087/thebeastyk3.jpg
Wrong choice of mutant for Baptista...this should be the correct Beast.
http://the-wild-hunt.org/x-men/beast.gif
yourmother
06-09-2006, 01:46 AM
Arsenal Best 11?
where gilberto?! :mad:
yourmother
06-09-2006, 01:58 AM
Gallas shirt number has been change to 10.. or so it seems on arsenal.com
i know Gallas is great, but aint we suppose to retire the shirt in honour of bergkamp for a few seasons..
felagund
06-09-2006, 02:50 AM
Lol. Maybe its Wenger's way of helping Gallas one up Moanrinho. Rmb Moanrinho gave Gallas supposed replacement a number 9 shirt after giving Ballack or Sheva his number 13?
felagund
06-09-2006, 02:55 AM
---------------Henry---------------------------
----------------------------Baptista-----------
Rosicky ----------------------------------Hleb
----------------------Cecs---------------------
--------------------Gilberto-------------------
Clichy-------Gallas-------Toure-----Lauren
--------------------Lehmann------------------
With a back four as strong as this and being covered by Gilberto, the whole team can attack for all they are worth.
LittleFox
06-09-2006, 06:49 PM
Gallas shirt number has been change to 10.. or so it seems on arsenal.com
i know Gallas is great, but aint we suppose to retire the shirt in honour of bergkamp for a few seasons..
omg...dunnoe watz going on here.... :s22:
LittleFox
06-09-2006, 06:49 PM
how can a defender wear no.10~!!!~
Wryer
06-09-2006, 06:58 PM
Well, read the article on Arsenal mania. I believe its a good decision. And c'mon, does it really matter?
waitforyou
06-09-2006, 07:12 PM
Dennis Bergkamp or any great players are remembered for their achievement on & off the field and not the number on his back.
Sensational
06-09-2006, 07:36 PM
hmm. the article on arsenal-mania realli shows wenger lyk gallas a lot
tomicaguy
06-09-2006, 10:20 PM
If Baptista plays alongside Henry as the main striker, I think sooner or latter, one of this fellas, RVP, Adebayor or Walcott will be unhappy and want to leave.
Wryer
06-09-2006, 10:42 PM
Like many have mentioned, Wenger may convert RVP to a goal scoring winger. He plays best when he faces the goal, and not back to the goal. Walcott is still young, Adebayor sadly, is a great player, but from the 70th minute. His endeavour, willingness to run and physical size will be great to throw in in a dead locked match.
So, no one is forgotten.
Sensational
06-09-2006, 11:47 PM
Like many have mentioned, Wenger may convert RVP to a goal scoring winger. He plays best when he faces the goal, and not back to the goal. Walcott is still young, Adebayor sadly, is a great player, but from the 70th minute. His endeavour, willingness to run and physical size will be great to throw in in a dead locked match.
So, no one is forgotten.
we have lots of options in fact
tt32003
06-09-2006, 11:53 PM
So, no one is forgotten.
Actually Adebayor is still very young right ?
Think only 21 or 22.
Maybe still can improve.
Sensational
06-09-2006, 11:58 PM
adebayor was bought in the 1st place 2 help plae against teams lyk bolton when they r damn physical, so he can hold up the ball etc.. sumthing liddat
felagund
07-09-2006, 12:13 AM
RVP was a winger. A left one and a very good one at that while he was Feyenoord. Think he got some award in the Dutch League while competing against Robben playing in that same position
yourmother
07-09-2006, 12:30 AM
Well, read the article on Arsenal mania. I believe its a good decision. And c'mon, does it really matter?
ya it matter to me.
tt32003
07-09-2006, 07:12 AM
Henry finally socred against Italy. It will help to boost his confidence and sharpness.
RVP also scored twice against Belarus and this will also be good for his form.
But looks like Hlebb is still struggling or else his team will not lose so badly.
Sensational
07-09-2006, 11:04 AM
Henry finally socred against Italy. It will help to boost his confidence and sharpness.
But looks like Hlebb is still struggling or else his team will not lose so badly.
get them on form n the goals will come man
Sensational
07-09-2006, 11:06 AM
wtf??? german thrash san marino 13-0!!!!!!!!!!! WTF
SueDE_84
07-09-2006, 12:04 PM
hope tat both of them play like tat everytime for Arsenal...n oso i somehow notice tat Van Persie plays exceptionally well for Holland...but not tat well for Arsenal...dunno y...i m not saying he plays damn bad for Arsenal...but he can't repeat his Holland kind of performances for Arsenal...as for Henry tink hes still exhausted from the World Cup...hope he'll start scoring soon
Sensational
07-09-2006, 01:34 PM
nt realli. coz RVP is alwaes plaeing up front wif henry, but 4 holland, he plae midfield leh
yourmother
07-09-2006, 03:27 PM
hope tat both of them play like tat everytime for Arsenal...n oso i somehow notice tat Van Persie plays exceptionally well for Holland...but not tat well for Arsenal...dunno y...i m not saying he plays damn bad for Arsenal...but he can't repeat his Holland kind of performances for Arsenal...as for Henry tink hes still exhausted from the World Cup...hope he'll start scoring soon
they are playing different roles, maybe wenger can try RVP there too
Sensational
07-09-2006, 04:04 PM
Chelsea are chasing Arsenal's young Danish striker Niklas Bendtner.
The Mirror says Chelsea sporting director Frank Arnesen is on the trail of Arsenal's 18-year-old Danish striker Bendtner who is the hottest prospect in Scandinavia.
The move comes less than a week after Chelsea signed Ashley Cole from the Gunners in a �20m player-plus-cash deal that also involved Frenchman William Gallas.
Bendtner is regarded as one of Denmark's most exciting prospects and has already broken into the full national team, scoring on his debut.
Arsenal have loaned him out to Birmingham this season but Chelsea believe he is destined for bigger things and are ready to make a serious attempt to sign him to boost their youth set-up.
Chelsea's Danish scout Benny Nielsen said: "Frank told the club about Nicklas a long time ago and I have also told them it is important to keep a close eye on him in the coming years.
"Bendtner is the only player from the Danish national team who is good enough to play for Chelsea."
i dun tink wenger will sell him la. he is quite a gd scorer, replacement n backup lo.
swalk21
07-09-2006, 04:44 PM
The Mirror says Chelsea sporting director Frank Arnesen is on the trail of Arsenal's 18-year-old Danish striker Bendtner who is the hottest prospect in Scandinavia.
The move comes less than a week after Chelsea signed Ashley Cole from the Gunners in a ?20m player-plus-cash deal that also involved Frenchman William Gallas.
Bendtner is regarded as one of Denmark's most exciting prospects and has already broken into the full national team, scoring on his debut.
Arsenal have loaned him out to Birmingham this season but Chelsea believe he is destined for bigger things and are ready to make a serious attempt to sign him to boost their youth set-up.
Chelsea's Danish scout Benny Nielsen said: "Frank told the club about Nicklas a long time ago and I have also told them it is important to keep a close eye on him in the coming years.
"Bendtner is the only player from the Danish national team who is good enough to play for Chelsea."
i dun tink wenger will sell him la. he is quite a gd scorer, replacement n backup lo.
go chelsea to collect $ and rot?
Sensational
07-09-2006, 05:53 PM
go chelsea to collect $ and rot?
dun tink bendtner so stupid lo. bright future ahead, y ruin it?
LittleFox
07-09-2006, 06:55 PM
I was the first one who spotted Bendtner's talent in this forum... :D
AndreFLo
07-09-2006, 07:26 PM
Bendtner is gd...hope Lupoli and him got chance to prove themselves in the first team.
Jermaine84
07-09-2006, 08:09 PM
imo both Lupoli n Bendtner will have a hard time breakin into first team.. they will end up loan out every season ba.. recently Wenger still aim one Japanese Striker.. then theres young Antony Stokes.. there too mani young promising striker in Arsenal..
xerces
07-09-2006, 08:11 PM
where gilberto?! :mad: ehhh... spoilt for choice?
Wryer
07-09-2006, 08:49 PM
Gilberto must be there. He is, for now, the best DCM Wenger has to offer. The rest just don't cut it.
Sensational
07-09-2006, 09:01 PM
hmm.. stil gt diaby after his injury, he is a promising lad lo
Wryer
07-09-2006, 09:14 PM
Diaby is not a DM.
He is a typical 'all action' midfielder. His tackling is not polished enough.
By DM, i mean players like Gilberto, Makelele, Mascherano, Jagielka. These are ultra defensive midfielders who are extremely disciplined and are expert man markers. Some may argue players like that are rare and often not required. But for a team like Arsenal, where the rest of the midfield, Cesc, Hleb, Rosicky doesnt do expert defending, we need a player like Gilberto.
felagund
07-09-2006, 09:22 PM
we have a new brazilian dmc in denilson. His still raw but he might be something in the near future.
tt32003
07-09-2006, 09:29 PM
The move comes less than a week after Chelsea signed Ashley Cole from the Gunners in a �20m player-plus-cash deal that also involved Frenchman William Gallas.
Tappng, Tapping.
Report them to FA.
Deduct points plus make their previous suspended points deduction for Cashley Cow count.
Jermaine84
07-09-2006, 11:33 PM
Tappng, Tapping.
Report them to FA.
Deduct points plus make their previous suspended points deduction for Cashley Cow count.
imo the player's education n upbringing is vital to determine if the player can resist the money.. if tat certain Cole is loyal then wouldnt talk to Chelsea ppl at all..
RipperJack
08-09-2006, 11:07 AM
wootz! 1 more day to seeing the new faces on the pitch. hope wenger will throw them in, but i have a feeling he wun :(
ripper's dreams coming true liao :D
Gallas and Baptista in already
now wait for Jan window, rope in Buffon and Torres and we'll be purrfect :D
SueDE_84
08-09-2006, 12:03 PM
wootz! 1 more day to seeing the new faces on the pitch. hope wenger will throw them in, but i have a feeling he wun :(
my dreams oso coming true liaoz :s34:
AndreFLo
08-09-2006, 12:21 PM
Hmm....Buffon would do for me....we already have enough strikers IMO....Henry, Adebayor, Van Persie....not to mention Lupoli n Bendtner who are impressing at youth level and the latter in internationals as well as at Birmingham rite now...
noelnoel
08-09-2006, 12:24 PM
you guys think eboue is able to bring his game up a level?
RipperJack
08-09-2006, 01:03 PM
Hmm....Buffon would do for me....we already have enough strikers IMO....Henry, Adebayor, Van Persie....not to mention Lupoli n Bendtner who are impressing at youth level and the latter in internationals as well as at Birmingham rite now...
Torres is the long-term replacement for Henry. Fast, strong, dribble well and even better, good aerial abilities. And he's still so young! :love:
van Persie is going to be top drawer, but it will take a season or two more. But I always thought he performs better while playing in the wings. Think Wenger is pushing him to the centre because of his physical prowess. Look at the team, wingers are all small and nifty type. =:p
Abedayor? I don't rate him. Really. Got potential, but definitely not going to be a world class striker. He's not the type that can carry the team on his shoulders.
Lupoli and Bendtner? Tantalising prospects. :D
They will get the chance once they are really good enough. No worries. Trust Wenger.
Dj_kArl
08-09-2006, 04:50 PM
Torres is the long-term replacement for Henry. Fast, strong, dribble well and even better, good aerial abilities. And he's still so young! :love:
van Persie is going to be top drawer, but it will take a season or two more. But I always thought he performs better while playing in the wings. Think Wenger is pushing him to the centre because of his physical prowess. Look at the team, wingers are all small and nifty type. =:p
Abedayor? I don't rate him. Really. Got potential, but definitely not going to be a world class striker. He's not the type that can carry the team on his shoulders.
Lupoli and Bendtner? Tantalising prospects. :D
They will get the chance once they are really good enough. No worries. Trust Wenger.ripper! i din know u watch soccer. :)
dle4e_2005
08-09-2006, 04:59 PM
José Antonio Reyes has revealed his delight at having secured a move to Real Madrid.
Reyes is on a season-long loan move at the Bernabeu, in a deal that saw Brazillian Julio Baptista move in the other direction to North London.
Reyes said: "I have said thousands of times that I wanted to play for Real Madrid and now I am here.
"My team-mates have all welcomed me and I am grateful to all of them.
"I have been going crazy waiting for this moment and to wear the Real Madrid shirt. I truly feel like a Madrid player."
Reyes also revealed his admiration for Madrid coach Fabio Capello, after he was criticised for their opening league game draw against Villareal.
Reyes added: "He is a great coach and we have talked a bit and it was good.
"Let us hope that this season we have the luck that has been missing in the last few seasons.
"I have come here to do as well as I can and work hard in training. Then it will be up to the coach as to whether I play.
"It will be easy to play alongside players such as Raul and Ronaldo.
"The sensation is the same whether you are on loan or have moved permanently. The motivation is the same and when I go out I always give everything."
http://arsenal-mania.com/news/2904961/Reyes-happy-in-Madrid.html
So.... Reyes is on-loan or sold????
José Antonio Reyes has revealed his delight at having secured a move to Real Madrid.
Reyes is on a season-long loan move at the Bernabeu, in a deal that saw Brazillian Julio Baptista move in the other direction to North London.
Reyes said: "I have said thousands of times that I wanted to play for Real Madrid and now I am here.
"I have been going crazy waiting for this moment and to wear the Real Madrid shirt. I truly feel like a Madrid player."
Reyes also revealed his admiration for Madrid coach Fabio Capello, after he was criticised for their opening league game draw against Villareal.
"Let us hope that this season we have the luck that has been missing in the last few seasons.
"I have come here to do as well as I can and work hard in training. Then it will be up to the coach as to whether I play.
"The sensation is the same whether you are on loan or have moved permanently. The motivation is the same and when I go out I always give everything."
Both him and Baptista are on a 1 year loan at each respective clubs.. but the way the players say is that they are pretty sure the deal will become permanant at both sides.
Anyway Reyes is a gay crybaby. What a loser. Cry and cry when he cant get what he wants. Super childish.
felagund
08-09-2006, 06:16 PM
Torres wastes too much chances.. notice how many times he misses before he gets a goal.
RipperJack
08-09-2006, 06:37 PM
ripper! i din know u watch soccer. :)
Sorry, but does ripper know you? :s11:
Sensational
08-09-2006, 07:06 PM
Torres wastes too much chances.. notice how many times he misses before he gets a goal.
torres abit over-hyped. i tink arsenal shldn't spend such unnecessary money coz we gt quality replacement in the youth system. but hope tt they do nt become lyk the ungrateful cashley cole, saeing he go CHELSEA 2 WIN TROPHIES. WOW
xerces
08-09-2006, 07:57 PM
you guys think eboue is able to bring his game up a level? Can la... we all know he can create chances and run down and shoot only problem is cant finish...
xerces
08-09-2006, 07:59 PM
torres abit over-hyped. i tink arsenal shldn't spend such unnecessary money coz we gt quality replacement in the youth system. but hope tt they do nt become lyk the ungrateful cashley cole, saeing he go CHELSEA 2 WIN TROPHIES. WOW:s27:
the guy a mutha fuka la....yea i believe in the striker wenger bought for the future... got Walcott and Lupoli, maybe Bendtner due to his great height advantage..
Wryer
08-09-2006, 08:28 PM
I do agree that Eboue's standard has dropped alarmingly. His tackling and tracking back especially. He is still making those forward runs, but the doesnt track back enough, or rather, not quick enough. Gilberto always has to commit those fouls to save his arse. And one thing i hate about him is, he DIVES. Judging from his current performance, i want my Lauren back. Solid and stable.
Hope to see Gallas partner Toure this saturday. Flamini at left back. Baptista will probably start from the bench.
Sensational
08-09-2006, 08:45 PM
I do agree that Eboue's standard has dropped alarmingly. His tackling and tracking back especially. He is still making those forward runs, but the doesnt track back enough, or rather, not quick enough. Gilberto always has to commit those fouls to save his arse. And one thing i hate about him is, he DIVES. Judging from his current performance, i want my Lauren back. Solid and stable.
Hope to see Gallas partner Toure this saturday. Flamini at left back. Baptista will probably start from the bench.
dunnoe leh. heard tt gallas will start at left back lo
deathblade
08-09-2006, 10:15 PM
My opinion of Reyes just goes lower and lower.. KNN.. Pui
Wryer
08-09-2006, 10:24 PM
Gallas at left back is fine by me too. He is extremely versatile defender and thats his strength. Wenger should nvr be threatened by a player who whines at being played out of position. Furthermore, its only a temporary measure.
waitforyou
09-09-2006, 01:24 AM
Gallas at left back should be temp? since being played out of position is one of his biggest issue at Chelsea.
yourmother
09-09-2006, 02:08 AM
van Persie believes Arsenal can win title
Robin van Persie believes that Arsenal can win the Premiership title this season, despite experiencing their worst start to a season for 10 years.
The Dutch international also says that he is more than willing to step up and accept responsibility for his actions, and hopes that his new-found maturity will result in better performances on the pitch for the club.
van Persie said: "This season I want to be more consistent and to develop myself.
"Every game I play I have to stand out.
"I don't want to be satisfied with a supporting role and a goal now and again.
|I have to give my colleagues the feeling I can be decisive for them.
"There are three or four teams this year chasing for the title and we are one of them.
"Of course I believe it is possible to be champions. Last season we were happy we qualified on the last day for the Champions League but that is not the aim for this year.
"We are aiming for the highest and the team is strong enough to do it.
"We strengthened or squad in a good way, especially with Tomas Rosicky. He can be one of the revelations of the season, what I have seen of him on the training ground is unbelievable."
van Persie: I am a changed man
Robin van Persie has revealed that he has put behind the off-field problems that have dogged him since he joined Arsenal, and is now aiming for a quieter life so that he can concentrate on achieving success with Arsenal.
The Dutch international scored two sublime goals for Holland in their international Euro 2008 qualifier, and was voted man of the match.
van Persie said: "I have progressed a lot in all kinds of areas - personally, football-wise and mentally.
"I have become stronger, more in balance and I know how to separate main issues from side issues.
"When I look at a 17-year-old Robin van Persie and the 23-year-old Robin van Persie I see a world of difference.
"Sometimes it is funny when I see new young kids arriving at the club with the same attitude I used to have, I recognise that immediately.
"Sometimes they are a little too busy and spend too much unnecessary energy on side issues. That is what I used to do well.
"From experience I know it is totally useless to talk to them. The process of growing up is unexplainable.
"That was the case with me and that would not be different with them.
"You have to go through it, you have to find out what is good and what is wrong and you figure it out only when you've been through certain situations. That is what happened with me.
"Recently I saw myself on TV and I thought, 'Well, well, well Robin you have a nasty swagger.'
"A little less would be better, but that attitude says nothing about my personality but more about my image. I don't blame anybody who thinks I am arrogant because I think it also myself."
Dutch coach Marco van Basten also agrees that va nPersie has to control his temper and frustration as he was repeatedly being targetted by opposition players and fans.
van Basten said: "I told him to control his emotions.
"He received a booking for a foul caused by frustration and kept arguing.
"I told him that he is too important to the team and that he has to think about that."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i love van persie !!!! he and senderos must be a fan's favourite, at least to me :D
tt32003
09-09-2006, 07:15 AM
Gallas at left back is fine by me too. He is extremely versatile defender and thats his strength. Wenger should nvr be threatened by a player who whines at being played out of position. Furthermore, its only a temporary measure.
Now he said the reason for his movve is becos he was dropped for the CL final last year.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/sport.html?in_article_id=404279&in_page_id=1771
But even if he had played, he would have to make way for the replacement keeper in less than 20 minutes anyway.
RipperJack
09-09-2006, 09:07 AM
van Persie believes Arsenal can win title
Robin van Persie believes that Arsenal can win the Premiership title this season, despite experiencing their worst start to a season for 10 years.
The Dutch international also says that he is more than willing to step up and accept responsibility for his actions, and hopes that his new-found maturity will result in better performances on the pitch for the club.
van Persie said: "This season I want to be more consistent and to develop myself.
|I have to give my colleagues the feeling I can be decisive for them.
"There are three or four teams this year chasing for the title and we are one of them.
"Of course I believe it is possible to be champions. Last season we were happy we qualified on the last day for the Champions League but that is not the aim for this year.
"We are aiming for the highest and the team is strong enough to do it.
"We strengthened or squad in a good way, especially with Tomas Rosicky. He can be one of the revelations of the season, what I have seen of him on the training ground is unbelievable."
van Persie: I am a changed man
Robin van Persie has revealed that he has put behind the off-field problems that have dogged him since he joined Arsenal, and is now aiming for a quieter life so that he can concentrate on achieving success with Arsenal.
The Dutch international scored two sublime goals for Holland in their international Euro 2008 qualifier, and was voted man of the match.
van Persie said: "I have progressed a lot in all kinds of areas - personally, football-wise and mentally.
"I have become stronger, more in balance and I know how to separate main issues from side issues.
"When I look at a 17-year-old Robin van Persie and the 23-year-old Robin van Persie I see a world of difference.
"Sometimes it is funny when I see new young kids arriving at the club with the same attitude I used to have, I recognise that immediately.
"Sometimes they are a little too busy and spend too much unnecessary energy on side issues. That is what I used to do well.
"From experience I know it is totally useless to talk to them. The process of growing up is unexplainable.
"That was the case with me and that would not be different with them.
"You have to go through it, you have to find out what is good and what is wrong and you figure it out only when you've been through certain situations. That is what happened with me.
"Recently I saw myself on TV and I thought, 'Well, well, well Robin you have a nasty swagger.'
"A little less would be better, but that attitude says nothing about my personality but more about my image. I don't blame anybody who thinks I am arrogant because I think it also myself."
Dutch coach Marco van Basten also agrees that va nPersie has to control his temper and frustration as he was repeatedly being targetted by opposition players and fans.
van Basten said: "I told him to control his emotions.
"He received a booking for a foul caused by frustration and kept arguing.
"I told him that he is too important to the team and that he has to think about that."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i love van persie !!!! he and senderos must be a fan's favourite, at least to me :D
an intelligent player who knows how to reflect and improve himself. omg i love him more and more :D
RSKeisuke
09-09-2006, 09:24 AM
"I have to give my colleagues the feeling I can be decisive for them"
i may be reading it from a different light..
i fear if wenger don't play him regularly this season, reyes pt 2...
:s16:
dle4e_2005
09-09-2006, 10:59 AM
Wenger reveals his plan for versatile Baptista
Holding midfielder? Attacking midfielder? Centre forward? Winger? Much has been made of Julio Baptista's versatility since his move to Emirates Stadium, but where will the Brazilian star actually play?
Arsène Wenger is no stranger to recruiting players who can operate in a number of roles, and he outlined his plans for Baptista at his pre-match press conference on Friday afternoon.
"Where will he play? That is a good question," Wenger admitted before revealing his intentions. "He will play either behind the striker or in midfield. I think he can be a great defensive midfielder.
"He has the sense of getting into the box, the timing. All the big teams have players who can come from deep into the box.
"Here we had Pires, now Ljungberg, at Manchester United there is Scholes, and there is Lampard at Chelsea. You need in every team a player who can come from nowhere at the right moment, and Baptista has that."
waitforyou
09-09-2006, 11:11 AM
Wenger's moves are alway very bold. Who would have thought of playing him as defensive midfielder?
Wryer
09-09-2006, 11:20 AM
His physical prowess and ball distributions are good attributes to a gd DCM. But from the reports i read, he is best played behind the strikers. Theoratically belonging to a midfield, but essentially a attacking midfield/3rd striker.
But we'll have to see how he adapts to Arsenal play, then allocate a place that is best suited for the game. My guess is that he will be a midfielder.
xerces
09-09-2006, 11:37 AM
Wenger's moves are alway very bold. Who would have thought of playing him as defensive midfielder? ehhh... i tot before thats why i put the best Arsenal Formation...leaving out Gilberto....sacrifice is for the better :(
Sensational
09-09-2006, 12:16 PM
wah seh. realli wan 2 watch the boro match man
Wryer
09-09-2006, 12:19 PM
There can only be 2 results i think. Boro stepping up and hold us to yet another draw, or if we can score in first 5 mins, it will be a real drubbing.
LiteMan
09-09-2006, 12:22 PM
We need the psychological games now...what's the result?
Sensational
09-09-2006, 02:16 PM
There can only be 2 results i think. Boro stepping up and hold us to yet another draw, or if we can score in first 5 mins, it will be a real drubbing.
i tink we r able to win lo, with henry starting 2 get his form n wif the new players. summore at home leh, shldn't lose la
yourmother
09-09-2006, 03:42 PM
"I have to give my colleagues the feeling I can be decisive for them"
i may be reading it from a different light..
i fear if wenger don't play him regularly this season, reyes pt 2...
:s16:
nah.. he said every game i play i want to stand out, he know he may not be playing or starting every game hence he will to make the most of his chance.
that should be the attitude for all the players.
LittleFox
09-09-2006, 09:44 PM
Gallas @ LB tonight....
AndreFLo
09-09-2006, 10:31 PM
We are trailing... :(
Sensational
09-09-2006, 10:51 PM
fk la. but at least we played better then the last 2 games, eboue n hleb running at defence, fabregas n henry shooting. we shld get the equaliser n win it man
ViLLaRox
09-09-2006, 10:53 PM
well if u are looking at the live table aresenal are lying at the bottom.. they really look to have run out of ideas when they play trying to out pass their opponents. lots of possesions but no goals. i know its still early in the season but things dun look good for u guys... guess the 49 games unbeaten arsenal are long gone...
Sensational
09-09-2006, 10:56 PM
haiz. i seriously dunnoe wad is wrng wif arsenal. the free flowing passing tt is so exciting 2 watch, getting goals as easily as abc, all gone liao
ViLLaRox
09-09-2006, 11:01 PM
it was. but their opponents got smarter now to pack the defence and they cant pass so much and they are clueless at what to do... there's no plan b
RSKeisuke
09-09-2006, 11:02 PM
we are becoming the one-trick-pony of the EPL..
we keep attacking the same way, the opponent keep packing their centre defence..
:s11:
LittleFox
09-09-2006, 11:03 PM
I should blame on wenger,
he put djourou in ** instead of Gallas and Gallas on left back in stead of Flamini, wat is he thinking~?
well done, Djourou didnt do as much as he could to block the first goal, and he looked panic @ times,
MR. Professor got his tactics wrong today....:(
deathblade
09-09-2006, 11:27 PM
I'm speechless.. 1 shot 1 goal for opposition.. we have so many shots.. 0 goals..
RipperJack
09-09-2006, 11:29 PM
eboue is the most dangerous-looking player on the pitch for arsenal. this doesn't bode well right? :(
deathblade
09-09-2006, 11:34 PM
Walcott leh?
deathblade
09-09-2006, 11:34 PM
Why today no Walcott?
Sensational
09-09-2006, 11:58 PM
Why today no Walcott?
he gt u-21 match so wenger rest him. haiz, we seriously need 2 get back on form fast, or nt we r dropping too much n we carn catch up leh
LittleFox
09-09-2006, 11:59 PM
2 points from 3 games....:(
sugarkittyx
10-09-2006, 12:02 AM
2 points from 3 games....:(
my thought now and my emotion same as yours man..
ViLLaRox
10-09-2006, 12:03 AM
arsenal got lucky to even get the point. tough match against man u next week and a tough season if the form remains...
Wryer
10-09-2006, 12:03 AM
Static. The entire team was static. The inclusion of Adebayor was pivotal. He added an extra dimension. Was surprised Wenger brought off Gilberto, and had to play Baptista in a defensive midfield role. I would rather he take off Cesc, and let Henry, Ade, and Bap play up front.
Sucky.
Sensational
10-09-2006, 12:04 AM
how abt the match against man utd? they unbeaten leh, wtf, i dunnoe wad 2 expect
Ronaldo_7
10-09-2006, 12:12 AM
i cant believe Gallas was given Dennis "The Flying Dutchman" Bergkamp's no 10.. kinda surprising to me...
cutter
10-09-2006, 12:20 AM
Highbury was a fortress for Arsenal with its narrow pitch and atmosphere... looks like other teams will have a better chance in the Emirates from now on...
tt32003
10-09-2006, 12:23 AM
Worse player of the match : Hlebb.
He has been sh*t in the last 3 matches and never got subbed at all.
Wonder what was Wenger thinking. He was totally useless in the 2nd half.
Wenger should have taken a risk and played RVP on right wing and took Hlebb off.
We will ot improve as long as Hlebb plays on the right wing.
Totally useless.
yourmother
10-09-2006, 01:26 AM
came back from work, switch on com, arsenal.com.. gunner 1 - boro 1.
totally.. smack a WTF in my face.
yourmother
10-09-2006, 01:27 AM
we play man u next week, i can see a field day for them
LiteMan
10-09-2006, 01:43 AM
What? Man Utd next week?
I think our midfield will be swamped.
But we will win.
Jermaine84
10-09-2006, 02:58 AM
imo the 3 games we played the opponent used 4-5-1 then hit on counter then KO arsenal.. once they got their goal they will pack def arsenal then GG liao.. aginst ManU dun tink they will pack def n might push up their def to play off side trap.. Arsenal might jus win LoL
yourmother
10-09-2006, 03:04 AM
WENGER WORRIED BY GUNNERS' START
By Jim van Wijk, PA Sport
Arsene Wenger struggled to hide his concern after Arsenal's stuttering start to the campaign continued with a 1-1 draw against 10-man Middlesbrough at the Emirates Stadium.
The Gunners find themselves fourth from bottom of the Premiership with just two points from their first three league matches.
In each of those, Wenger's men have gone behind.
The home side trailed here to James Morrison's neat finish on 22 minutes, which was just about Boro's only clear-cut chance in front of goal.
Eventually Arsenal drew level through Thierry Henry's second-half penalty, which came five minutes after Boro skipper George Boateng has been sent off for picking up two quick yellow cards.
Wenger knows it is a trait his team must quickly erase from their game.
"I cannot say that I am unconcerned by our start to the season," the Arsenal boss said.
"When we fail to win a game we have dominated, it is always worrying and I am now aware that this is our worst ever start in the Premiership.
"It was one of those games when we had all the ball, and the chances against a side that refused to come out and play, but we got ourselves into trouble by falling behind and gave ourselves a mountain to climb.
"We lacked sharpness because half of the team has been away."
However, Wenger said: "On the other hand I have never had a feeling that so much potential is in the team to do so much better."
"I still feel we are playing better in every game, we just cannot finish off teams.
"The main reason is a bit physical, also the fact we give others confidence by going 1-0 down, and the third is that we are not yet fully using the pitch.
"When we won the ball at Highbury, we were closer to goal. Now we have longer to go and that sometimes gives the opposition a chance to get back.
"But we will do it."
Arsenal have a midweek Champions League tie before they head to Old Trafford next Sunday.
Wenger said: "Now the Manchester United game becomes very important for us.
"We have to win our European match in Hamburg so we can go there in good condition."
William Gallas made his debut for Arsenal following his controversial move from Chelsea on transfer deadline day.
The Frenchman was asked to fill-in at left-back and produced a competent display, if at times showing he still lacked match sharpness having not played for the Blues this season.
"He did well," said Wenger. "Sometimes when he was in trouble he used his experience. He is not completely ready to play in this position. William lacks games a bit, but overall it was a good performance."
Chelsea have in today's match programme notes repeated the attack on their former player, whom they claimed threatened to score an own goal if selected during his dispute with the Premiership champions.
Wenger, though, was keen to draw a line under the whole saga.
He said: "Forget that story and let Chelsea get on with it.
"William has defended himself, I have defended him and cannot do too much more."
Boro boss Gareth Southgate was delighted to have seen his side produce a battling display to earn a share of the spoils.
However, the former England defender was less than happy with the background which lead to referee Rob Styles showing his captain two swift yellow cards.
The Dutchman protested a quickly-taken free-kick and, along with Jason Euell, was cautioned for dissent.
Boateng then clattered into Freddie Ljungberg in front of the dugouts, an offence which was swiftly punished by another caution and a subsequent red card.
Southgate said: "Only the people on the field know what happened with the free-kick.
"We asked for the whistle, and the players feel they were told he would blow the whistle.
"Then there was obviously a conversation between the referee and Thierry Henry.
"It is very difficult to get to the bottom of."
Southgate continued: "But I am not going to sit here and have a go because that detracts from the performance of my players.
"The character and resilience they showed was fantastic. We will need that for the rest of the season and I could not have asked more from any of them.
"We knew we had to do a job defensively, and we had one quality attacking moment, which was fantastic."
Southgate handed a debut to Jonathan Woodgate, signed on loan from Real Madrid. The injury-prone former England defender's last appearance had been against the Gunners in the Champions League on February 21.
Southgate declared: "Jonathan's composure helped the defence to settle and it was an incredible performance when you think it was his first competitive game for so long.
"He showed the class he has got and it was a good start for him."
Boateng had to be helped down the tunnel after he was sent off on 65 minutes.
Southgate said: "He is limping quite badly.
"He will miss the next game, but hopefully after that he will be fit."
Alpha_Hippo
10-09-2006, 03:43 AM
eboue is the most dangerous-looking player on the pitch for arsenal. this doesn't bode well right? :(
it is always dangerous when the defender had to show the striker what is call bringing in the ball and shooting.
RepulsE
10-09-2006, 07:51 AM
Arsenal better improve..it wil be a real shock if we get relegated..
tt32003
10-09-2006, 08:46 AM
The ground factor also counts.
Now thes stadium is like a neutral venue cos our players are as unfamiliar with it as visiting players.
Arsenal85
10-09-2006, 09:48 AM
It is disappointing not to get 3 points when we dominate the game
Every team has a turning point
hopefully we can get a result against man utd next game
then we might be on our way back to our old form
xerces
10-09-2006, 10:27 AM
haizz.... dunno how to win title like tat haven face the big 4 yet....
Sensational
10-09-2006, 11:43 AM
there is alwaes 1 turning pt de la. lyk everton liddat, last season they were losing lyk siao, then suddenly they beat chelsea then fate started 2 change, they kp winning liao. hope we beat hamburg, get sum confidence, then beat man utd and bring our season to a flying start. but at least man utd r nt lyk those teams hu pack their defence when they lead or lose the ball, these teams r juz plaeing 4 a draw instead of winning, but against man utd, we may be able to break their winnning streak and get the confidence tt is so lacking in the team
Wryer
10-09-2006, 12:05 PM
We need to get back the winning mentality.
This rot started from last season. Its darn disappointing.
We only need a win to get things back. The confidence and swagger. Perhaps its time Wenger reverts to a 4-3-3 or 4-5-1. Just look at the number of bodies they put behind the ball whenver we have the ball. And they are amazingly compact. Because they know we are going to pick those passes. And most of them got easily intercepted. We now need to pull wide and put in those crosses.
Thats why we need aerial men to be there.
Henry--Adebayor
---Baptista---
Rosicky--Fabregas--RVP
----Gilberto----
In this front 6, we will have plenty or aerial power and size. With willing crossers like Rosicky and RVP. Hleb and Ljungberg just don't cross the ball. Esp Hleb, he is a ACM that prefers threading balls.
noelnoel
10-09-2006, 12:50 PM
they like playing without self belief leh
and definitely a change of tactic is needed
LittleFox
10-09-2006, 02:25 PM
why djourou not gallas in center of defence~!!
WHY WHY WHY
for fvck we put the best center back in epl as LB~?!!?
the goal was Djourou's fault~!!
he just let morrison run past him like nothing....
:mad: :mad: :mad:
Sensational
10-09-2006, 02:39 PM
WHY WHY WHY
haiz. i also dunnoe, c wad tactics wenger use against hamburg n man utd lor
tt32003
10-09-2006, 04:19 PM
WHY WHY WHY
No point blaming the defence cos they only let in one goal.
The problem is with the attack where we should have scored much more.
There are people who just tried to run with the ball, lose it, can't hold on to it.
Not bother to pass properly or pass at all.
And the worst thing : No balls to shoot when it's time to shoot !
LittleFox
10-09-2006, 05:44 PM
No point blaming the defence cos they only let in one goal.
The problem is with the attack where we should have scored much more.
There are people who just tried to run with the ball, lose it, can't hold on to it.
Not bother to pass properly or pass at all.
And the worst thing : No balls to shoot when it's time to shoot !
Arsenal was playing ok until tt part when boro got 1 goal, the approach of the game has changed totally, coz boro defend all the way from tt point onwards.... :s27:
Wryer
10-09-2006, 05:47 PM
I disagree.
The defence was caught totally SQUARE from the boro goal. It was totally amatuer football. The entire backline was static and in line. Djourou was really poor this match. Basically the entire team was poor.
I hate to say, but the width and size of Emirates done us in. One touch football is very hard on a pitch of such size. The players were not used to the size of the pitch.
Lets go 4-5-1, Wenger..
Sensational
10-09-2006, 06:01 PM
i tink wenger will oni go 4-5-1 in europe lo
Xtnega
10-09-2006, 07:33 PM
there is alwaes 1 turning pt de la. lyk everton liddat, last season they were losing lyk siao, then suddenly they beat chelsea then fate started 2 change, they kp winning liao. hope we beat hamburg, get sum confidence, then beat man utd and bring our season to a flying start. but at least man utd r nt lyk those teams hu pack their defence when they lead or lose the ball, these teams r juz plaeing 4 a draw instead of winning, but against man utd, we may be able to break their winnning streak and get the confidence tt is so lacking in the team
same sentiments!! they purposely set up lidat one so more things more drama!
Sensational
10-09-2006, 07:39 PM
same sentiments!! they purposely set up lidat one so more things more drama!
ahaha. hope so lo
:)
xerces
10-09-2006, 08:03 PM
ahaha. hope so lo
:) ya hope so :D
freedom22
10-09-2006, 08:43 PM
Hmmmmz.... So sad for Arsenal fans out there.... The defence is so bloody weak man....
BroadBear
10-09-2006, 10:55 PM
Hmmmmz.... So sad for Arsenal fans out there.... The defence is so bloody weak man....Weak! We just had to get everything right in defence, Gallas shld be playing @ centerback instead of e vastly inexperienced Djourou n Mathieu flamini shld be palying @ LB, e position where he excelled in last season in e champions lg, helping arsenal to keep 10 straight clean sheets, instead of leaving him on e bench underutilised!!! I dun really know wad e He** Wenger is thinking, buy gallas n put him @ LB where he know tt tt is nt his favoured position n oso e cause of his unhappiness @ chelsea
BroadBear
10-09-2006, 11:03 PM
IMO tis is e system tt Arsenal shld play wif e current crop of layers tt they have right now
Henry--Baptista
Rosicky--Gilberto--Fabregas--RVP
Flamini--Gallas--Toure--Eboue
Tis system would definitely work wif rosicky n RVP adding more width to e attack, RVP shld have no prob adapting to tis position since he excelled for Holland playing @ as a right wnger.Gilberto as the anchorman n fabregas as e playmaker. Baptista shld be played as a striker despite his versatility since he is e type tt love to shoot on target instead of playing the one-two passing in midfield.
yourmother
10-09-2006, 11:13 PM
^and when clichy come back we are gonna have a complete defence.
BroadBear
10-09-2006, 11:24 PM
IMO i tink e reason y Wenger fielded Djourou or Justin Hoyte in their past few games is becos he wanna give his young players chance to prove themselves n proabaly expose them to top lvl football n gain invaluable experience, if nt how do u think gems like fabregas, toure n eboue r unearthed?? Wenger had continually delve into his youth system n unearth talented, promising youngsters n transform them into future superstars. However tis is e premiership where experience counts & a single mistake could be the defining moment of a game. He cant ust throw in those youngsters n expect them to deliver e results, maybe he cant do tt in e less significant matches like e carling cup where mostly 2nd strings sides r fielded but in e fast-paced n physical premiership experience counts a lot
yourmother
11-09-2006, 12:13 AM
something to cheer us up.. for now ):
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/3145/newcoleoh4.jpg
United_Treble
11-09-2006, 01:36 AM
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/3145/newcoleoh4.jpgA S S HOLE
IMO tis is e system tt Arsenal shld play wif e current crop of layers tt they have right now
Henry--Baptista
Tis system would definitely work wif rosicky n RVP adding more width to e attack, RVP shld have no prob adapting to tis position since he excelled for Holland playing @ as a right wnger.Gilberto as the anchorman n fabregas as e playmaker. Baptista shld be played as a striker despite his versatility since he is e type tt love to shoot on target instead of playing the one-two passing in midfield.
i would love to see wat rosicky can do in the middle in fact.
tt32003
11-09-2006, 07:18 AM
Henry--Baptista
I fully agreed.
No crap Hlebb and let poor Ljungberg rest to regain his best.
Henry--Baptista
Nonsense. A right midfielder is not the same as a right wing field in the dutch 4-3-3 system, so stop expecting him to play as a midfielder. Wenger already says flamini is not suited to play as a LB, so in the long run you guys can stop expecting flamini to play there please.
For me, Djourou had a solid game, its just one moment of mistake that cost the entire game for him and for the team. Even senderos made several mistakes in the past that costs us the game as well. Give him some time.
BroadBear
11-09-2006, 01:14 PM
LOL since there is no quality cover @ LB we might as well play a 3-5-2 formation
Here it goes
Henry--Adebayor
Baptista
Rosicky--fabregas--RVP
Gilberto
Gallas--Toure--Eboue
Rosicky & RVP would add more width to the attack wif eboue n Gallas supporting them frm e back wif their pacy, overlapping runs
Glberto as the anchorman protecting the back three
& put Baptista in the hole behind the 2 strikers n let him create havoc there wif his powerful shots n physical presence, in fact his physical presence would prove intimidating to most premiership defenders n act as a distracting decoy to draw defenders away frm henry n Adebayor, like wad Rooney did @ Man U
However tis system had its cons too for the defence will be cruelly exposed if gallas n Eboue doesnt track back fast enuff
But i doubt Wenger would employ tis system, since all along he had been employing a conventional 4-4-2 system in his 10 yr reign @ Arsenal
Wad do u guys think??
xerces
11-09-2006, 02:11 PM
Hmmmmz.... So sad for Arsenal fans out there.... The defence is so bloody weak man.... Where got weak knn....if u said strike force weak i understand cos we jus cant seem to kill our opponent off...
xerces
11-09-2006, 02:12 PM
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/3145/newcoleoh4.jpg ya la @ss hole gemok.....
Sensational
11-09-2006, 04:15 PM
the players juz have no form. last time henry can juz kill teams off wif a moment of brillance, budden now lyk cmi liddat
Wryer
11-09-2006, 05:56 PM
3-5-2 is an extremely old system, that always favours a team with lotsa attackers. The key in the this formation lies in the maestro, in your case, Gilberto. He has to be full of energy with great vision and tackling ability. Think Maldini, Think Lothar Mattheus. Im not sure if Gilberto is that player. Furthermore, with that formation, normally 3 centre backs are employed, and that sacrifices a lot of width. And with EPL teams love playing aerial assaults, its suicidal to play that formation.
I think 4-5-1 is the way to go.
Ljungberg-Fabregas-Gilberto-Rosicky-RVP
I think this is a very interesting quintet. Actually im very tempted to drop Fabregas for Baptista, he has been very very poor this few games. Fatigue maybe.
But the problem is, Wenger is very very stubborn when it comes to lineups and formations. He is not like Mourinho, Benitez or even Ferguson who always change tactics to suit the game.
Will he ever play 4-5-1 in EPL? I don't know.
yourmother
11-09-2006, 06:09 PM
he will play 451 against team like man u and the big 4.
MrWeiWei
11-09-2006, 06:18 PM
he will play 451 against team like man u and the big 4.
brudder, arsenal is among the big 4 :D
xerces
11-09-2006, 07:21 PM
Bloody Cole dunno what he talking about he just sign a contract of course Arsenal dun gif him dinner and stuff like tat la.... Henry contract expiring what....
England full-back Ashley Cole has revealed how Arsenal's favourable treatment of Thierry Henry was one of the reasons why he wanted to leave the club for Premiership champions Chelsea.
Henry, Arsenal's captain and talisman, eventually agreed to stay at the club but Cole felt like the 'invisible man' as he had not been treated in the same way by Gunners officials or fans.
The 25-year-old left-back also revealed how he `haggled' over £5,000 after Arsenal had dropped from their original weekly salary offer, and had his loyalty questioned by the club's backroom staff.
However, in an extract from his book serialised in The Times, the difference in how he was treated compared to Henry appeared to be one of the main reasons for him to seek a transfer.
He said: 'The club made Thierry feel wanted and special, wooing him, wining and dining him, speaking in public about how much they want him to stay, going on a deliberate charm offensive.
'But me? I didn't have one dinner, one meeting or one phone call from anyone. That's not sour grapes, it's just a sad truth. The truth is that the Gunners had done nothing all season to hold on to me.'
He added: My worst fears were confirmed when, as Thierry and I sat in the centre circle after the final whistle, his name was sung from the rooftops while my contribution was recognised by a deafening silence.
'As his chants faded away we waited for mine. And we waited. And there was nothing. `They're not bothered about me', I said, resigned to the fact. It was like I was the invisible man.'
Cole was offered a new £60,000-a-week deal in 2004 but when negotiations opened, the figure had dropped by £5,000, with the defender adding: 'At a board meeting held two days before our 1-0 away defeat at Bolton in January, it was decided the maximum offer should be £55,000 a week.
'I don't believe the board gave a damn about keeping me. It preferred to haggle over a difference of £5,000.'
Cole's relationship with the club deteriorated to the point of fitness coach Tony Colbert questioned whether he was telling the truth about a thigh injury.
He added: 'That's when he said it, `what do you expect me to do, Ash, when you tell me you're okay and then come in here like you've just been shot? Be honest with me, are you just making out that it's worse than it actually is because you've got an eye on the World Cup?'
'That was it. I blew my lid. `What!' I shouted, barely able to keep a lid on it, `I need to play for Arsenal to go to the World Cup, so why would I hold back? The more I hold back, the less chance I've got of going to Germany! And you are insulting me'.'
'For me it was one more person at the club doubting my loyalty. And it was the final straw.'
deathblade
11-09-2006, 07:29 PM
Cole is just such an idiot. He is stupid and thats the end of the story. He had talked to Chelsea behind the club's back and yet expect to be courted like Henry- who had been very transparent that his decision whether to stay or not depends on the club's ambition and not how much he is offered.
LittleFox
11-09-2006, 07:38 PM
Football can really spoil your weekend!
Marcelo Lippi once remarked that Wenger was the only coach that had the luxury of buying only players that fit into his philosophy and system.
He said for most managers, club sports directors would go out and sign talented players first before worrying about how they would play. As Arsenal fans, we are all thankful for this luxury because we then play a philosophy based football that is attractive.
This philosophy is based on pace, movement and skill. Wenger has said this many times. Pace and movement are the most important of the trio. The skill part is having the capability to do the first two.
In the first three games of this season, the movement (and tempo) is the worst I have seen since Wenger came to Arsenal. A cornerstone of the philosophy is not working. If it's is not working and we have a whole team and tactic built on that, then there is no point in even turning up – the team can't execute what they are supposed to do and they are not set-up to do anything else!
If you read my previous article and the previous articles after the Villa and Man City games, you will get a good background of why the movement part is so important to Arsenal's game.
In summary, Arsenal are set up to create the goals they score rather than simply grab goals. Chelsea and Manchester United are not that pure. They have a variation in the many ways they can score. But Arsenal create theirs generally through open play. For that to happen you need to open up the defence. For you to open up the defence you need movement, great movement.
Arsenal have been static since the beginning of the season. Henry doesn't make runs, Robin van Persie runs but into crowds, Freddie Ljungberg gets stuck because he cannot get past people on the wing and doesn't have someone to play 'pass and run' with – which is the only alternative to dribbling. Alexander Hleb can get past people but when he does everybody is standing instead of making runs. The worst way to receive the ball in football is from a standing start.
Yes, the chemistry between William Gallas and Freddie Ljungberg was non-existent – first game and all. But that wasn't the cause of the problem. The problem was not van Persie and the problem was certainly not Hleb – in fact I have been very annoyed reading criticism of Hleb whom I thought had a better game than Henry and was the only player running with the ball.
The problem was that everyone becomes useless if their team members don't make runs for them. Francesc Fabregas especially becomes redundant. Fabregas is all about picking out sweet passes and making the game tick. Without movement, 80% of what Fabregas is about is wasted. Basically, without movement, we have 1.2 players in central midfield instead of 2.
It occurred to me yesterday that Henry stops, moves to the side and passes these days where he used to take defenders on. van Persie was trying desperately yesterday but he always found himself in a crowd – he has to work on that. Hleb and Eboue were the only players really moving but again, when you are on the wings, you need someone to make themselves available else all you can do is try and win a corner.
Hleb doesn't like shooting and I don't begrudge him for that. If Henry and van Persie made better runs, he would give them the ball to shoot. It's not Hleb's fault, he should ideally not find himself with the ball in the penalty box. A winger should ideally release the ball to a runner before he gets into the box and get into the box for rebound or to hit if necessary. Hleb didn't have any runners and ended up keeping the ball right into the box.
Tomas Rosicky and Emmanuel Adebayor (who has also been wrongly criticized) changed the game by doing two simple things. Rosicky was willing to move with the ball at pace. That made defenders move. Forget the shooting outside the box, the first and primary contribution was that he was willing to accelerate and move around, making defenders panic.
Adebayor did well by moving without the ball. He ran in front of defenders, distracting and taking some with him to open up the game. Adebayor allowed Rosicky to become more dangerous by creating a second source of concern. Defenders cannot pay attention to two things happening at the same time at high pace. They eventually choose one to concentrate on or simply lose both.
Maybe Wenger can tell the team to start the game as if there were only 10 minutess left in a game they were losing by 1 goal. Arsenal seems to finish games exactly as they should start it. They are applying a Champions League pace to the Premiership. Even Division Two defenders can defend against a goal-creating team who don't make them move and don't score from set-pieces.
Arsenal have a simple problem – it's not players, we have enough good players to beat any team in the Premiership and indeed any in Europe. We actually have better choices this year with players that can shoot and head balls. Our problem is that we play football based on a philosophy that we are failing to execute at a basic level. Movement and dynamism are missing.
Here's a question, Arsenal have played 270 minutes of football in the Premiership so far.
Can you remember any pace or powerful counter-attacks in those 270 minutes? I can't.
Arsenal used to score the majority of their goals in 11 seconds or less from winning the ball!
I kinda agree with him, Henry become lazy these days....:(
xerces
11-09-2006, 07:58 PM
I kinda agree with him, Henry become lazy these days....:( Sad to say but i believe my hero Henry slack alot these days since his transfer has been in doubt...
sugarkittyx
11-09-2006, 08:29 PM
is the hamburg vs arsenal match going to be on cable? i cant seem to find it on the programme guide. TIA!
tt32003
11-09-2006, 09:17 PM
Cole is just such an idiot. He is stupid and thats the end of the story. He had talked to Chelsea behind the club's back and yet expect to be courted like Henry- who had been very transparent that his decision whether to stay or not depends on the club's ambition and not how much he is offered.
So he thinks that Arsenal treasures Henry over him.
This is just the fact that a striker is much more valuable than a left back.
Let's see at Chelski now he is ranked behind Ballack, Shevchenko, Lampard, Robben, makelele, Terry, Cech, Joe Cole, Esseism Drogra in terms of improtance anyway.
Heck, at the moment, Jose may even rank Bridge above him.
BroadBear
11-09-2006, 09:34 PM
Sad to say but i believe my hero Henry slack alot these days since his transfer has been in doubt...
Well i tink Henry shld nt be blamed for i tink his indifferent form is due to fatigue after returning from a month-long WC n furthermore he was involved in e euro2008 qualifiers.....e addition of club football had physically stretched him to e limit n under circumstances players lose their form
Wenger shld be blamed for nt resting Henry to allow him to recover n return to his best....anyway there is no pt. resting Henry since Arsenal lack depth in e striking department n wif e retirement of Bergkamp u cant rely on e inconsistent Adebayor to deliver e goods
Arsenal85
11-09-2006, 09:35 PM
juz leave the Cashley Cole story behind and move on
It is too draggy
I am sick and tired of seeing them appearing on soccernet & goal.com :s13:
Jermaine84
11-09-2006, 09:45 PM
anyone know which channel in SopCast will show the CL match aginst Hamburg ??
Sensational
11-09-2006, 09:48 PM
hamburg shldn't be a prob lo
BroadBear
11-09-2006, 10:17 PM
3-5-2 is an extremely old system, that always favours a team with lotsa attackers. The key in the this formation lies in the maestro, in your case, Gilberto. He has to be full of energy with great vision and tackling ability. Think Maldini, Think Lothar Mattheus. Im not sure if Gilberto is that player. Furthermore, with that formation, normally 3 centre backs are employed, and that sacrifices a lot of width. And with EPL teams love playing aerial assaults, its suicidal to play that formation.
I think 4-5-1 is the way to go.
Ljungberg-Fabregas-Gilberto-Rosicky-RVP
I think this is a very interesting quintet. Actually im very tempted to drop Fabregas for Baptista, he has been very very poor this few games. Fatigue maybe.
But the problem is, Wenger is very very stubborn when it comes to lineups and formations. He is not like Mourinho, Benitez or even Ferguson who always change tactics to suit the game.
Will he ever play 4-5-1 in EPL? I don't know.Well 4-5-1 is a possible formation but Henry cant be e lone striker since he nt a target man like drogba or Van Nistelrooy, well maybe can put Baptista up front alone for he is more of a targetman, & play Henry as an attacking midfielder or winger since he is e type tt loves to drift frm out of e penalty box to create scoring chances for his teammates
In tis case, e formation shld then be
Baptista
Rosicky
Henry--Gilberto--Fabregas--RVP
Flamini/Hoyte-- Gallas-- Toure--Eboue
IMO Rosicky shld nt be played as a winger for i see him as more of a creative playmaker in e mould of Zidane n Ronaldinho n thus he shld be played in e "hole" Behind lone striker Baptista
N ya perhaps we can employ henry as a left winger since he loves to drift out wide n looks dangerous attacking down e left..Henry shld have no prob adapting to tt position since he is a complete player who has polished every dimensions of his game (Crossing, dribbling e.t.c)...( then e is back to his initial position on e wings @ Juventus :D)
SueDE_84
12-09-2006, 12:25 AM
hamburg shldn't be a prob lo
dun say too early n dun be cocky as well...no hard feelings...we can't even beat Man City, Boro n Villa...wat makes u tink Hamburg is easy meat?
SueDE_84
12-09-2006, 12:32 AM
Well 4-5-1 is a possible formation but Henry cant be e lone striker since he nt a target man like drogba or Van Nistelrooy, well maybe can put Baptista up front alone for he is more of a targetman, & play Henry as an attacking midfielder or winger since he is e type tt loves to drift frm out of e penalty box to create scoring chances for his teammates
In tis case, e formation shld then be
Baptista
Rosicky
Henry--Gilberto--Fabregas--RVP
Flamini/Hoyte-- Gallas-- Toure--Eboue
IMO Rosicky shld nt be played as a winger for i see him as more of a creative playmaker in e mould of Zidane n Ronaldinho n thus he shld be played in e "hole" Behind lone striker Baptista
N ya perhaps we can employ henry as a left winger since he loves to drift out wide n looks dangerous attacking down e left..Henry shld have no prob adapting to tt position since he is a complete player who has polished every dimensions of his game (Crossing, dribbling e.t.c)...( then e is back to his initial position on e wings @ Juventus :D)
kinda agree wit u...maybe Wenger should revert to this formation...somehow i feel baptista doesn't realli excel in the DM role...central pairing shld always be Fabregas n Gilberto...Rosicky can't play along the flanks tat well oso...hes more of a playmaker...shld put him in the centre...dunno y he keeps running to the flanks(maybe Wenger told him to do so?)RVP i tink would do well in the wings like wat he did for Holland...n oso hope Wenger will buy another decent left back when the transfer window opens again since Gallas stated tat he wans to play centre back...maybe shld juz try pairing up wif Henry n Baptista n see how it works...anyway this is my formation tat i wanna realli see working:
Henry--------------Baptista
------------Rosicky------------
RVP/Ljungberg----------Gilberto----------Fabregas----------Hleb/Ljungberg
Flamini/Gallas----------Gallas/Senderos----------Toure----------Eboue
Lehmann
BroadBear
12-09-2006, 01:25 AM
kinda agree wit u...maybe Wenger should revert to this formation...somehow i feel baptista doesn't realli excel in the DM role...central pairing shld always be Fabregas n Gilberto...Rosicky can't play along the flanks tat well oso...hes more of a playmaker...shld put him in the centre...dunno y he keeps running to the flanks(maybe Wenger told him to do so?)RVP i tink would do well in the wings like wat he did for Holland...n oso hope Wenger will buy another decent left back when the transfer window opens again since Gallas stated tat he wans to play centre back...maybe shld juz try pairing up wif Henry n Baptista n see how it works...anyway this is my formation tat i wanna realli see working:
Lehmann
Hey bro ur formation have 12 men instead of 11 leh lol :D
leoch037
12-09-2006, 01:29 AM
maybe can take out lehmann, he got nothing much to do anyway :s13:
freedom22
12-09-2006, 04:03 AM
Buhahahaha... I will go for...
RVP Henry
Ljungberg Rosicky Baptista Hleb
Flamini Gallas Toure Eboue
Lehmann
RipperJack
12-09-2006, 08:27 AM
Lehmann
wah! sure win! :s13:
Kiwi8
12-09-2006, 08:31 AM
Lehmann
Wah... 4-4-1-2 ah? Total 12 players including goalkeeper. New game? :s13:
Shingoz
12-09-2006, 08:36 AM
Poor Cole? Or just another one sided story....
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=378880&cc=4716
Wryer
12-09-2006, 04:59 PM
maybe can take out lehmann, he got nothing much to do anyway :s13:
Its sad to think of it. Lehmann really had nothing to do for the 3 EPL games, but 3 sucker punch took us away from victory.
freedom22
12-09-2006, 05:27 PM
Sadly Lehmann didn't retire during his prime last season... But faults dun always lie on that poor GK...
yourmother
12-09-2006, 05:28 PM
Betrayed by club I loved
By Ashley Cole
In the first of a three-part serialisation of the most sensational sports book of the year, the England defender reveals how a broken promise and one phone call led to his bitter exit from Arsenal
MY HEART AND SOUL WAS TIED TO Arsenal with a fisherman’s knot. I don’t think even Houdini could have unravelled it. Not for one minute did I see myself leaving. There was only ever one club in England, let alone London, and that was the Arsenal. That was before the 2004–05 season. That was before something precious was smashed into tiny pieces.
It all started while I was sitting in the sunshine at Sopwell House, the hotel in Hertfordshire used by England before we flew out to Portugal for Euro 2004, when an eager voice called out, “Ashley!” Mr Dein was stood there. He told me I wasn’t earning enough and my salary was going to be increased. My face- cracking smile told him all he needed to know. I was buzzing, really buzzing. His tone soon wiped the smile from my face. I felt his attitude suggested he was doing me a favour, like I was a 17-year-old trainee.
The deal he offered was a £10,000-a-week increase to £35,000. A hell of a lot of money. But, when taken in the context of football wages and his own estimated value of me of £20 million, and when placed next to those other Arsenal wages of between £80,000 and £100,000 a week, his offer was a piss-take. It was a slap in the face, not a pat on the back.
By the time José Mourinho and Roman Abramovich came to Highbury for a thrilling 2-2 draw in December 2004, I’d already told my agents what I wanted in terms of a new deal. They thought I’d lost my marbles. But I loved Arsenal, couldn’t imagine playing for another club and wanted to stay. “So get me £60,000 a week and I’ll be happy with that,” I said.
The next thing I know, on December 20, Jonathan (Barnett) is on the phone with good news: “Ash, I’ve just met David Dein for breakfast at Claridge’s; we’ve shaken on £60,000 a week.” As it turned out, the Arsenal board had other ideas about rubber-stamping Mr Dein’s recommendation. At a board meeting held two days before our 1–0 away defeat at Bolton in January, it was decided the maximum offer should be £55,000 a week. I don’t believe the board gave a damn about keeping me. It preferred to haggle over a difference of £5,000.
IT WAS A GOOD JOB I WAS WELL AWAY from it all, driving to Mum’s house in Chigwell as agent and vice-chairman locked horns in an office in Central London later that month. Somewhere along the A406 North Circular Road, one telephone call changed everything about how I viewed and felt about Arsenal.
“Ash! Are you listening?” said a virtually hyperventilating Jonathan. “I’m here in the office and David Dein is saying they aren’t going to give you £60k a week. They’ve agreed £55k and this is their best and final offer. Are you happy with that?”
When I heard Jonathan repeat the figure of £55k, I nearly swerved off the road. “He is taking the piss, Jonathan!” I yelled down the phone. I was so incensed. I was trembling with anger. I couldn’t believe what I’d heard. I suppose it all started to fall apart for me from then on. I’d trusted Mr Dein to push the deal through.
The next month I met Mr Dein at his house, set back off a dark, leafy road on the outskirts of North London, about 15 minutes’ drive from me. He tried turning the screw on the salary. I told him that I thought someone on the board had it in for me, didn’t like me or wanted to see me go. How else could he explain the squabble over £5k?
I just laid it on the line. “I feel betrayed and let down by a club I’ve given my heart and soul to.” I told him I had wanted to re-sign for Arsenal, but the whole thing had left me feeling upset and confused.
One week later, I got a call on the mobile from Jonathan. “Did you tell David Dein that you wanted to re-sign for Arsenal?” I’d said I had wanted to re-sign for Arsenal, “had” being the operative word, and the vice-chairman had somehow twisted my words.
It seemed to me he was letting me down at every turn. And if he thought relations had soured because of the infamous Chelsea incident at the Royal Park Hotel in January he was mistaken. Relations had soured the moment that he went back on a verbal agreement in December.
yourmother
12-09-2006, 05:28 PM
TWO DAYS BEFORE I WAS OFFICIALLY interviewed, on tape, by the FAPL investigators, Arsenal played Bolton at the Reebok on Saturday, March 12, in the sixth round of the FA Cup. I was relegated to the bench. This felt like a punishment dressed up as fatigue and that’s what pissed me off.
The last person I wanted to see after the match was Mr Dein, who was going to the dressing-room as he did after every game. “You OK, Ashley?” he said. “No, I’m f***ing not OK, Mr Dein! Does it look like I’m OK?” The look on Stu Taylor’s face when he saw me let rip at the vice-chairman like that! I’ll shake Mr Dein’s hand if he reaches out to shake mine, but our days of friendly conversation are over. Given the choice between saying ten words or one to him, I’ll go for the one.
It was while I was on holiday in the summer that a deal was done to keep me at Arsenal, brokered by my agent and Mr Dein. It was a compromise. We agreed that I’d stay for one more year, extending my contract until June 2008, and the club finally paid me the £60,000 a week I’d asked for in the first place. I’d gone from “for ever” to “day by day”.
To make matters worse I was out for most of last season with injuries and was surprised when my comeback was pencilled in for the home match versus Middlesbrough on January 14, 2006. I could hardly run, let alone kick the ball, and was out of action with a thigh strain for another five weeks. It was that injury that led to a bizarre conversation that proved to be a turning point regarding my future with Arsenal.
I’D JUST COME IN FROM TRAINING AND fitness coach Tony Colbert was stood near the doors as I walked inside to go to the changing-rooms. “You OK, Ash? Feeling OK?” he asked. “Yeah, yeah, yeah. Feeling good,” I said, because I was. But one minute this thigh sensation would be there, the next it would be gone. In the physio room, these twinges came back. I turned to Gary Lewin (the first-team physio) and winced. “I’m feeling it a bit now,” I said.
At that minute Tony walked in and heard my groaning. “So why didn’t you tell me that outside? You said you were fine a few minutes ago,” and looked at me like a kid looking to get out of class by throwing a sickie.
That’s when he said it. “What do you expect me to do, Ash, when you tell me you’re OK and then come in here like you’ve just been shot? Be honest with me, are you just making out that it’s worse than it actually is because you’ve got an eye on the World Cup?”
That was it. I blew my lid. “What!” I shouted, barely able to keep a lid on it, “I need to play for Arsenal to go to the World Cup, so why the f*** would I hold back . . . The more I hold back, the less chance I’ve got of going to Germany! And you are insulting me.”
For me it was one more person at the club doubting my loyalty. And it was the final straw. I’d had a vice-chairman and board who had thrown my loyalty back in my face, fans who’d questioned my faith for a year, a dressing-room I didn’t recognise any more and now someone seemingly doubting my professionalism. “Why am I even bothering? What future have I got at a place like this?” I moaned to my agent and family that evening.
yourmother
12-09-2006, 05:29 PM
Arsenal’s final game at Highbury on May 7 was an emotional day for everyone, but even more so for me. “I can’t believe this is going to be my last game in England wearing an Arsenal shirt,” I thought as our coach pulled into the famous marble halls. There was no future left for me at the club any more. I knew that. Cheryl (Tweedy, his wife) knew that. Mum knew that.
MY WORST FEARS WERE CONFIRMED when, as Thierry (Henry) and I sat in the centre circle after the final whistle, his name was sung from the rooftops while my contribution was recognised by a deafening silence. As his chants faded away we waited for mine. And we waited. And there was nothing. “They’re not bothered about me,” I said, resigned to the fact. It was like I was the invisible man.
That night I went out and got hammered at the Embassy nightclub but, unlike other years, no other Arsenal player joined me. Instead, I found myself at the end-of-season Premiership bash with John Terry, Joe Cole, Carlton Cole, Damien Duff and a few of the other Chelsea lads. The champions were out on the town, celebrating and sticking together; the kind of camaraderie that used to bind Arsenal together.
Thierry signed a new four-year contract two days after the Champions League final, but our situations were different. The club made Thierry feel wanted and special, wooing him, wining and dining him, speaking in public about how much they want him to stay, going on a deliberate charm offensive to win their man. But me? I didn’t have one dinner, one meeting or one phone call from anyone. No one took time out to discuss the club’s ambition and vision with me. That’s not sour grapes, it’s just a sad truth. My love for Arsenal was soured by what I see as neglect and resentment. Even after the Thierry deal had been sorted, Arsenal still didn’t approach me. The truth is I felt that the Gunners had done jack-**** all season to hold on to me.
On May 26 I found myself sat at London Colney with the boss. He deserved an explanation, even if the board didn’t. “Look, boss, I’d like to keep playing for you,” I said as I choked up. “I just can’t see myself playing for this club — they’ve ruined it for me. Thanks to the board, my own fans still hammer me. I don’t want to be at a club where I get booed, where everyone thinks I’m greedy, where everyone doubts my loyalty. I want to play football and enjoy my football and I’ve become miserable here. I’ve not even made up my mind where I’m going to go, but I know, in my heart of hearts, that I can’t keep playing for Arsenal.”
He listened like no one had listened since February 2005 and he took in every single word. Both sides reached a reluctant understanding. “It’s hard, Ashley — it’s like a divorce, I suppose,” he said. Just like with his team talks, the boss found the right words to sum it all up.
I never for a minute expected to return to Arsenal’s training ground for the 2006–07 season as I’d made it clear to the boss I’d be leaving, but nothing had been sorted when I returned home from my honeymoon. Back at our meeting in May, the boss had asked if I’d thought of a club I wanted to join. He floated some names: Real Madrid? Barcelona? Chelsea? Yes, he mentioned Chelsea. So we spoke about those clubs and that’s when he said Chelsea shouldn’t be ruled out. As much as he didn’t want me to join them, if they paid the right money and I wanted to go, he said “the club wouldn’t stand in my way”. Those very words would become important later on.
When I got back it became clear that Arsenal were late to open up negotiations, Madrid were nowhere and all the paper talk was about Chelsea. Peter Kenyon made a £16 million offer but David Dein wanted £30 million; the same man who had told the FAPL inquiry that my value was between £15 and £20 million.
I FELT LIKE A BARGAINING CHIP, with the stakes too high. It felt to me that Arsenal had done nothing to keep me and now it seemed obstacles were piling up at the exit door. Arsenal did not want me to write this book, too, withdrawing permission for me to use official club photographs which did nothing more than capture great memories from my time at Highbury. Their behaviour puzzled me, to be honest. It felt like Arsenal were toying with Chelsea, toying with my future. It got to the stage where I wanted to phone Mr Abramovich myself and tell him how much I wanted to leave.
yourmother
12-09-2006, 05:30 PM
My frustration came to a head when I met Mr Dein on Monday, July 31. I wanted him to know that I wasn’t happy with the handling of negotiations with Chelsea. “You’re asking too much, you know they’re not going to pay it,” I said, knowing the boss had earlier said the club wouldn’t stand in my way. “You’re taking the piss by asking for £30 million because I thought you only rated me at £20 million.”
“Well, Chelsea have to pay more,” he said, and went on to explain that Arsenal were losing one of their best players, one of their best assets and, as a result, were making Chelsea better. I said: “Well, whose fault is it that you’re losing me? It’s not my fault, it’s your fault.” He disagreed — again — and said Chelsea will pay. “What happens if they don’t, Mr Dein?’ I asked, and that’s when he said that I’d have to stay at Arsenal and see out the two years left on my contract. I decided to spell it out for him. “I’ve told you I don’t want to play here no more. It’s not fair on anyone if I stay — not me, not the manager, not the players, not the fans.”
He made it clear that he’d sell me quicker than he could click his fingers if it was Real Madrid or Barcelona. “But I don’t want to go abroad any more,” I told him. What he didn’t realise was that me and Cheryl had spoken a lot on our honeymoon about a life in Madrid. We’d also discussed Chelsea after the boss told me not to rule them out. Somehow, while lazing in the sun in the Indian Ocean, the switch from north to west London didn’t seem so bad.
“I’ll get hammered if I go there, the Arsenal fans will never forgive me,” I said to Cheryl one evening. It took her to point out the blinding obvious: “They’ve hammered you anyway and they’ve never forgiven you for the past 18 months . . . so what’s the difference?”
Mrs Cole had a point. She said it was like the jealous husband who forever falsely accused the wife of cheating. In the end, so fed up with the accusations, she just goes and does it anyway because the grief couldn’t get any worse. I couldn’t have put it better myself. That’s what we’d discussed and that’s what I explained to Mr Dein. I also needed to remind him why we were here in the first place. “Regardless of whether it was you or someone else on the board, one of you didn’t want me to re-sign for Arsenal. I didn’t ask for 90 grand a week. I didn’t even ask for the same wages as other players. I asked for 60 grand!”
It was clear there was no future for me at the club, but by mid-August the scary thought crept into my mind that I’d have to walk back across a broken bridge and stay at Arsenal. The thought depressed me and it probably didn’t do much for Arsène Wenger, either. As every day passed without progress, I felt chained to Arsenal. It seemed like the personal nightmare was going to continue, but just before training with England on August 31, my mobile rang. Finally, both clubs had reached an agreement.
The deal was a straight swap with William Gallas plus £5 million. By the time all the paperwork had been completed in London, the deal was done with minutes to spare before the transfer deadline shut. Talk about cutting it fine!
Of course, I’ll get absolutely caned by the Arsenal fans and that’s something I’ve got to deal with, in the same professional manner that Sol Campbell dealt with his move from Tottenham to Arsenal. The Arsenal fans will think I’m disloyal, but it’s my life and I wasn’t happy there any more. I’d given it a year to see if the situation improved and it hadn’t. It was a miserable, forgettable year for me — apart from the Champions League final.
I never thought I’d see the day when I’d actually leave Arsenal. I just hope the fans understand where I’ve come from, the reasons for leaving and the reasons for doing this book.
I’m not asking for sympathy — just an awareness of what’s gone on, how I didn’t want to leave and how I feel the board messed things up. Not me. This situation couldn’t have just been my fault. I’m not disloyal. I’m a loyal and honest person and I’ve got principles. I can wake up in the morning and look at myself in the mirror knowing that I’ve done no wrong. I tried to be fair. I tried to be decent. I wonder if the Arsenal board could say the same?
© Ashley Cole 2006. Extracted from Ashley Cole: My Defence, to be published by Headline on September 21 at £18.99
EVEN DAVID DEIN CAN AFFORD IT!
My Defence, by Ashley Cole, is available at the Times Books First price of £16.99 (including p&p) on 0870 160 8080, or you can order online
evolute8
12-09-2006, 05:51 PM
can arsenal win man u on sunday ?
tt32003
12-09-2006, 06:28 PM
Poor Cole? Or just another one sided story....
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=378880&cc=4716
Not just an envious, jealous, ungreatful , deluded foot who thinks that a left back is the most important player in a team.
Hope he tells that to Jose and get brought back to earch.
BroadBear
12-09-2006, 06:29 PM
can arsenal win man u on sunday ?
Sure y nt? They had the quality to beat man u but wenger had to change the team tactics n formation ht e best out of his players
prob is....he is too stubborn, insisiting on sticking to his beautiful passing game tt had become increasingly ineffective against premiership teams
We need a direct approach n more width n variation in attack
Sensational
12-09-2006, 07:03 PM
Sure y nt? They had the quality to beat man u but wenger had to change the team tactics n formation ht e best out of his players
prob is....he is too stubborn, insisiting on sticking to his beautiful passing game tt had become increasingly ineffective against premiership teams
We need a direct approach n more width n variation in attack
we can definitely defeat man utd if the right tactics were used to bring out the past in the players. we have quality in our squad, but it is up 2 wenger to show tt true potential
AndreFLo
12-09-2006, 07:28 PM
IF, and I mean IF, we lose to Man Utd this weekend....I tink we can really kiss our title hopes goodbye...
Sensational
12-09-2006, 08:03 PM
haiz........... be optimistic arsenal fans! we will b the team 2 end their run of winning games
xerces
12-09-2006, 08:04 PM
hope so.... record wif man yoo ny so gd in recent yrs....
noelnoel
12-09-2006, 08:07 PM
this will be the turning point
Wryer
12-09-2006, 09:09 PM
Henry's injury may be a blessing in disguise. Crossing my fingers to hope im right.
Sensational
12-09-2006, 09:45 PM
hmm. WE CAN BEAT MAN UTD
RipperJack
13-09-2006, 12:49 AM
IF, and I mean IF, we lose to Man Utd this weekend....I tink we can really kiss our title hopes goodbye...
4 matches niah, no hope liaos ah? :s13:
United_Treble
13-09-2006, 12:55 AM
The chances of man u winning by at least 2 goals is higher than Arsenal to draw this matchno Offences
Jermaine84
13-09-2006, 12:59 AM
if Chelsea maintain last season's form.. n by lookin at ManU's form now.. the points we lost till now might jus be the point diff by the end of the season..
yourmother
13-09-2006, 01:03 AM
you go check up the stats, it means a lot a lot.
RipperJack
13-09-2006, 01:13 AM
it seems like the fans are fast losing faith with the team, and rightfully so i must say.
if the team can find their feet soon, i wouldn't rule them out as contenders.
well, continue to support :D
dun make the pressure worse than it already is =:p
Jermaine84
13-09-2006, 02:32 AM
it seems like the fans are fast losing faith with the team, and rightfully so i must say.
dun get mi wrong.. thou i might feel tat Arsenal's chance of winnin title tis season is slim.. but i will still support them :)
felagund
13-09-2006, 04:40 AM
Gooner till I die.
Anyway, in these kinds of matches, form gets thrown out of the window so let's hope the next match is our first win.
deathblade
13-09-2006, 08:10 AM
Well said..
Arsenal85
13-09-2006, 09:41 AM
Fabregas a Gunner for 8 more years
Cesc Fabregas is set to commit his long-term future to Arsenal.
The Spanish midfielder, 19, has gone from strength to strength since being brought into the first team during 2003 to become the Gunners' youngest player.
With more than 100 appearances under his belt, Fabregas is now an integral part of manager Arsene Wenger's long-term plans with the club ready to tie up the midfielder on an eight-year deal.
The Arsenal boss revealed: 'He will sign a new contract yes.
'Cesc [recently] signed a [new] contract that was agreed before with his initial contract.
'The real new contract is now.'
Wenger noted: 'Nineteen plus eight is 27. There are not many [longer contracts] - but when you are 19-years-old and are already a regular player in the team, I do not have a problem.
'It is a wonderful commitment from him and it is a reward for us because we brought him over at 16 years of age.'
Wenger quipped: 'It shows you can give them the culture of the club and there is no book involved.'
Fabregas told Radio Marca: 'Everything with my new contract is agreed and next week I will sign it.
'Seeing how much they have improved it shows how well they think I am progressing and it gives me the confidence to continue working under Arsene Wenger.
'He is one of the most important people I have come across in my career.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=379099&cc=4716
Finally something to cheer after the Cole saga
Kudos to Fabregas :D
ceLsius
13-09-2006, 10:03 AM
Contracts are meaningless. No one can predict. what will happen.
waitforyou
13-09-2006, 10:24 AM
Arsenal will have a different name on their shirts on Wednesday night.
Hamburg have the same sponsor as Arsène Wenger’s side — Emirates — and regulations insist one side must change. As the away side the visitors will alter their kit, Hamburg will do likewise when they visit London later in the group.
Kit manager Vic Akers has printed up special yellow shirts with “Dubai” in black writing on the front.
It is thought to be the first time this issue has arisen.
Ya lor in chelsea contracts are meaningless.. only money is everything. So sad sia.. too bad in arsenal theres meaning in our contracts.
:s22:
Does anyone know which channel on pplive or pptv will the CL match against hamburg be shown tonight? :)
Seems like starhub wont be broadcasting it.
SueDE_84
13-09-2006, 02:26 PM
oops...didn't notice it :s13: k heres my edited 1
Henry----------Baptista
----------Rosicky----------
RVP/Ljungberg----------Gilberto----------Fabregas---------Hleb
----------Gallas----------Toure----------Eboue
---------------Lehmann---------------
maybe Wenger can try juz putting 3 in defence n maybe pack the midfield...n giv Rosicky more freedom
SueDE_84
13-09-2006, 02:30 PM
wah! sure win! :s13:
wah liew...i didn't notice mah...veri funny meh? :(
Arsenal85
13-09-2006, 03:24 PM
I guess the same theory applies to Chelski having a suger daddy.
ceLsius
13-09-2006, 03:52 PM
Let's hope Hamburg will teach Arsenal how to shoot tonight. ;)
deathblade
13-09-2006, 04:59 PM
Not as meaningless as your posts.
felagund
13-09-2006, 06:56 PM
hmmm without wingbacks.. teams will be eaten by opponents in the epl
mamboberg
13-09-2006, 07:07 PM
Arsenal TV broadcasting the game between hamburg and arsenal live on arsenal TV! subscribe now at 3.99 pounds! support our gunners! :D
ceLsius
13-09-2006, 07:10 PM
Arsenal TV broadcasting the game between hamburg and arsenal live on arsenal TV! subscribe now at 3.99 pounds! support our gunners! :D
waste time lah, support a team that cannot shoot. :s8:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.