PDA

View Full Version : Arsenal FC - Ashburton Grove

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 [77] 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232

RipperJack
13-09-2006, 07:17 PM
wah liew...i didn't notice mah...veri funny meh? :(
http://smiley.onegreatguy.net/moon2.gif

mamboberg
13-09-2006, 07:17 PM
waste time lah, support a team that cannot shoot. :s8:

:s31: i smell some rival fans

RipperJack
13-09-2006, 07:20 PM
:s31: i smell some rival fans
just ignore him rah~ :D

Arsenal85
13-09-2006, 07:26 PM
waste time lah, support a team that cannot shoot. :s8:

you never fail to amuse me with ur posts

juz go ahead and continue ranting if you are shameless enough :s13:

AndreFLo
13-09-2006, 07:30 PM
you never fail to amuse me with ur posts

juz go ahead and continue ranting if you are shameless enough :s13:

Can't blame him, he got no one to entertain him in chelsea thread :s8:

xerces
13-09-2006, 07:34 PM
waste time lah, support a team that cannot shoot. :s8: better than supporting a team who's manager only know how to whine and moan....dun come here kpkb la:s27:...why? chelski post, no one is it? come here disturb? U , Mourinho and Cashley cole all the same.... only know how to yap like dogs....

xerces
13-09-2006, 07:45 PM
TO ALL ARSENAL FANS THIS IS A GREAT SITE!!!
http://arsenalclips.blogspot.com/

Jermaine84
13-09-2006, 07:54 PM
TO ALL ARSENAL FANS THIS IS A GREAT SITE!!!
http://arsenalclips.blogspot.com/
tink got ppl post b4 liao but thx :)

xerces
13-09-2006, 08:05 PM
tink got ppl post b4 liao but thx :) is it ? never seen before in my 1 yr in this forum lolz.... anyway Fran Merida Looks great 1 assist 1 goal...

Jermaine84
13-09-2006, 08:30 PM
is it ? never seen before in my 1 yr in this forum lolz.... anyway Fran Merida Looks great 1 assist 1 goal...
its ok.. the poster's post might not be clear.. anyway hopefully the link the website provided got show tonights hamburg match..

Swat
13-09-2006, 09:01 PM
its ok.. the poster's post might not be clear.. anyway hopefully the link the website provided got show tonights hamburg match..

What time is the match in SG time you know? Sorry.

Xtnega
13-09-2006, 09:07 PM
2:45am ............

xerces
13-09-2006, 10:15 PM
its ok.. the poster's post might not be clear.. anyway hopefully the link the website provided got show tonights hamburg match.. got la... dun worry... but will lag as usual...

Jermaine84
13-09-2006, 11:07 PM
got la... dun worry... but will lag as usual...
thx thx :)

noelnoel
14-09-2006, 01:09 AM
ahhh dunno to watch a not
tmr work

noelnoel
14-09-2006, 02:02 AM
djourou starting 11 again..

Swat
14-09-2006, 02:25 AM
djourou starting 11 again..

Your watching? Which channel is it?

rainydae
14-09-2006, 02:50 AM
http://www.livefooty.doctor-serv.com/wed13.9/Hamburger_Arsenal.html

Jermaine84
14-09-2006, 02:53 AM

Swat
14-09-2006, 03:07 AM

Not working for me.

yourmother
14-09-2006, 03:11 AM
Not working for me.
http://stb.net.ru/tv/chanel/74

yourmother
14-09-2006, 03:12 AM
PS: Rosicky is god.

yourmother
14-09-2006, 03:14 AM
Toure is off injure

yourmother
14-09-2006, 03:19 AM
Ade is a superb defender.

yourmother
14-09-2006, 03:37 AM
Half time: Been poor, we are playing against 10 men from the 9th min onwards but still no clear cut chances at all, maybe except one wrongly flag offside on RVP.

Lehmann save us twice already.

Jermaine84
14-09-2006, 03:42 AM
Djourou having a decent game at the moment.. hopefully Hoyte dun screw his chance at left back agin.. btw hor who tioo sent off n why ??

waitforyou
14-09-2006, 03:47 AM
Djourou having a decent game at the moment.. hopefully Hoyte dun screw his chance at left back agin.. btw hor who tioo sent off n why ??

The Hamburg gk, Sascha Kirschstein. brought down RVP when he's through on goal. he's the last man so have to go.

Swat
14-09-2006, 03:48 AM
Was the penalty a dive? I didnt see it, was trying to get soccer to work lol.

Jermaine84
14-09-2006, 03:51 AM
no.. thou minimal but theres still contact.. n RVP is going for goal liao some more the ball is still under RVP's control..

Swat
14-09-2006, 03:58 AM
WHAT THE FARK WAS THAT BY ROSICKY LOL.!!!!!

Jermaine84
14-09-2006, 03:59 AM
WAT A GOAL !!!!!!!!!

yourmother
14-09-2006, 03:59 AM
ROSICKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He is indeed god in disguse :o farking screamer he score.

Jermaine84
14-09-2006, 04:23 AM
wat a miss !!!

free header !!!

but nvm.. good job Gilberto today !!!!

xerces
14-09-2006, 04:23 AM
haha great goal....

yourmother
14-09-2006, 04:35 AM
they pull one back

Jermaine84
14-09-2006, 04:45 AM
def veri shaky.. ball watching at times.. Hoyte still cmi.. let the player cut in nv track still stand there look at the open player who collected the cut back to stab the ball into open goal.. both Hoyte n Djourou had average game.. decent at times but laps in concentration cost Arsenal need less panick..

tink Arsenal player like Fabregas n Rosicky need to spend some times with Baptista.. their pass to him force him to run which pace is not his strength.. Baptista is not Henry..

imo Ade had a Great game.. willing runner n hold the ball well.. bringing team into play..

hopefully Toure's injury not tat serious lo..

MrWeiWei
14-09-2006, 05:40 AM
a fabulous goal by rosicky......think arsenal tends to shoot more when henry not in squad?

Arsenal85
14-09-2006, 09:59 AM
is there any link where to watch Rosicky goal against Hamburg?

SueDE_84
14-09-2006, 11:48 AM
knn dunno y Starhub nvr broadcast live...anyway realli a good result for us after our winless streak in EPL...hope tat it will boost our morale for this Sunday's game against Man U...hope Toure's injury isn't serious...n any links to watch the highlights of the match?

netsuAi
14-09-2006, 12:09 PM
is there any link where to watch Rosicky goal against Hamburg?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CavvsyEOYCs

xerces
14-09-2006, 02:13 PM
a fabulous goal by rosicky......think arsenal tends to shoot more when henry not in squad? yea correct... the team rely on Henry too much...tats why in recent match all pass to henry to shoot, henry dun shoot nobody shoot lolz...hope sunday can win again

RipperJack
14-09-2006, 03:34 PM
yea correct... the team rely on Henry too much...tats why in recent match all pass to henry to shoot, henry dun shoot nobody shoot lolz...hope sunday can win again
maybe they scared if they anyhow shoot instead of passing to henry, they will kena scolded by their captain :crazy:

waitforyou
14-09-2006, 04:02 PM

something like his strike at World Cup, power!

MrWeiWei
14-09-2006, 04:36 PM
maybe they scared if they anyhow shoot instead of passing to henry, they will kena scolded by their captain :crazy:
hope they continue to be scared of henry on sunday :crazy: :D

MrWeiWei
14-09-2006, 04:36 PM
something like his strike at World Cup, power!
i feel this 1 is better than his goal in the WC....

Mankul
14-09-2006, 04:55 PM
this rosicky missile like better than lampard missile :D

Wryer
14-09-2006, 05:07 PM
Luckily i was right that Arsenal plays better w/o henry.

I hope Wenger does something special on Sunday. I wanna see Adebayor and Baptista up front. RVP and Henry to start from bench. Or Adebayor alone up front, with Baptista raging from the midfield.
-------Baptista--------
Rosicky-Fabregas-Hleb
------Gilberto--------

This is the quintet i wanna see in midfield.

yourmother
14-09-2006, 05:20 PM
3 min: Gallas, who is not Ashley Cole (pictured right), fires a sort of shot-cum-cross into the Hamburg box. It's too deep but Van Persie nearly gets on the end of it. Sadly for Arsenal, he can only help it out for a goal kick.

6 min: Some good pressure from Hamburg, as the home side pass it round outside Arsenal's box for a while, before Lljuboja latches onto a square pass and welts a daisycutter just wide of Lehmann's right-hand post. Not sure the keeper would have got to that had it been on target.

9 min: Penalty to Arsenal! Van Persie is found all alone in the Hamburg penalty area after a fantastic pass from Adebayor, and has only Kirschstein to beat. He shifts the ball right and nips past the keeper; the angle suddenly looks too tight but no matter, because Kirschstein grabs his ankles. He's off, and that's a penalty.

11 min: GOAL! Hamburg 0 - 1 Arsenal. There's been quite a wait, not that Arsenal captain Gilberto Silva gives one. He belabours a Ballackesque penalty into the top-left corner of the net past new keeper Wachter, who came on for... er... I'll get back to you about this. Perhaps.

14 min: Nice work down the left from Sonogo, who jinks past three challenges. But with no support he only wins a throw, and the momentum is lost forever. "Where did you source the pic of Ashley sprinting towards his pay packet?" asks Shane.

16 min: It's all Arsenal, this, as you'd expect with Hamburg rocking. Rosicky feeds Eboue, who finds Hleb, who slips it to Eboue, who nicks it to van Persie, who flicks it to Fabregas, who passes to Hleb. It looks lovely, it's all in the centre circle, and it goes absolutely nowhere. Classic Arsenal.

19 min: After another fantastic passing movement from Arsenal, the ball is lost and Trochowski sets Sanogo free with a fantastic pass. The big Ivory Coast striker is heading goalwards, but there's a late offside decision. Not sure about that at all. This is a great game so far. “Perhaps Ashers will feel for me too?” wonders Graham Hill. “No one sang my name at the successful conclusion of our last partially successful local government research project. I have to admit, I did nearly storm out shouting 'it's not the going back on the extra £1.17 per hour plus overtime bonus that bothers me, but the fact that the SHDC chief executive did not mention me by name at the annual dinner and dance!'.”

Ashley Cole: he's gonna sexx ya up!
He's gonna sexx ya up!
21 min: Van Persie should have made it two. Gallas, who is not Ashley Cole (pictured right), plays a beautiful little reverse pass to free Rosicky in the left-hand side of the box; the Czech pulls it back to RVP on the six-yard line, but his soft sidefoot is easily snaffled by Wachter.

24 min: De Jong takes a wild swipe at the ball from 30 yards out. It goes 40 yards wide and 50 yards over. Paul Chipperton is another Arsenal fan ready to make a gesture of conciliation towards young Ashley: “When Chelsea visit Ashburton Grove, would the 60,000 Henry-lovers please pull out the spare 8p each that would have cumulatively saved Ashley from having to leave? Throwing it at him when he comes trundling by would amount to being as classless as he is, but if we put it all in a large sack and someone hands him a huge jangling bag marked Selfish Swag when we are all calling Henry’s name, I think that would be a nice touch.” Hmm, I thought you were going to cosh him upside the head with a coin-filled sock. I’m a bit disappointed now.

27 min: This should have been one-all, as Kompany meets a wicked Hamburg corner from the right with his head four yards out, but doesn't connect properly and the ball squirms past the left-hand post.

28 min: I forgot to tell you that Toure has been limping around gingerly for a couple of minutes. Well, it's all got too much for him. He's replaced by Hoyte.

30 min: Despite being a man up, Arsenal aren't having this all their own way. A powerful run from Sanogo down the right channel is only snubbed out at the last by a fantastic last-ditch challenge from Adebayor, of all people. It ends in a corner, which Hamburg take in the Liverpool style.

33 min: Hamburg are a shambles at the back. Hoyte (who's moved in at left-back with Gallas going to centre-back) links up with Rosicky and wins a corner. The resulting kick bounces about six times across the home box without anyone touching it. Dear me. Arsenal can't take advantage this time, mind you. Meanwhile this from top literary critic Greg Rose: “Until Ashley put these stirring emotions into that eloquently worded literary masterpiece, I honestly didn’t fink he were bovvered! Innit?” Isn't anyone going to be nice to him?

36 min: Trochowski lifts a lovely little ball in from the left, which beats Arsenal's back line and is only inches from the advancing head of Sanogo. Lehmann comes out to claim with a grateful look upon his face.

39 min: A brilliant one-two exchange involving Gilberto and Rosicky eventually sends Hoyte free down the left, but with van Persie waiting alone in the box for a quick goal-on-a-plate, Hoyte decides to use his favoured right foot... and plays it 30 yards backwards. Jesus wept. “Besides falling over at the slightest touch, having one good game against Cristiano Ronaldo a few years ago, and being absent for much of Arsenal's march to the Champions League final - oh, and I did I mention having his ankles broken (in basketball terminology) by Ronaldinho in the World Cup - what did he really do to deserve all that praise?” asks Jamil Jadallah. Could this be a rhetorical question, do you think? “Silvinho was better. Winterburn was better.” Just in case you weren't sure.

42 min: It's all Arsenal now. Pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, misplaced pass, tackle, pass, pass, pass, pass, misplaced pass, tackle, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, misplaced pass, tackle, pass, pass, etc., and so on. Beautiful. Of course it's still going nowhere.

44 min: And Arsenal nearly pay the price as Demel twists and turns down the right and fires over a fantastic cross which Lehmann fists away at full stretch with Sanogo ready to head home.

45 min: And now Lljuboja breaks free down the left and welts the ball goalwards; Lehmann has to parry in panic mode. This ain't over yet.

45 min +1: Jesus, Arsenal, what on earth are you doing? After an easy first half, they concede a third chance in as many minutes, Sonoko winning a header on the edge of the box and laying off to Trochowski, whose low shot is dragged wide left.

Half time: Hamburg 0 - 1 Arsenal. Peep peep peepity peep!

yourmother
14-09-2006, 05:20 PM
And we're off again! The ref gets pelters from the home crowd as he wanders back on. It doesn't stop him parping on his whistle and getting the game going again - and nor should it!

47 min: Demel and Lljuboja combine nicely down the right to win a throw-in. And then another. It's all go here. Then Sanogo receives the ball in the Arsenal box with his back to goal and... what amazing skill! He flicks it up about six times, turns on a sixpence and loops a perfect cross towards Lljuboja, who sadly sidefoots wildly over. That's the best close control I've seen in a penalty area since Eddie Gray took Burnley to pieces in the early 70s.

50 min: There's been a couple of minutes stoppage for a couple of injuries. You've missed nowt.

52 min: A bit of head tennis going on in the middle. This is a proper lull.

53 min: GOAL! Hamburg 0 - 2 Arsenal. Dear me, what a goal, and it came from nowhere. Arsenal were passing it around to no effect whatsoever. Then Rosicky takes a nothing ball about 25 yards out on the left, shifts it to his best peg, cocks back his foot, and unleashes an unstoppable looping shot past Wachter and into the top left corner of the net.

Punditry which descends into abuse dept. "Has anybody but me noticed Van Persie missed the goalkeeper's hand
completely as he tried to trip over it, but still went down like
Ashley Cole pleading for an extra £20 a week?" asks Charles Day.

56 min: Van Persie lands heavily on the pitch; he's off getting treatment. Think he'll be OK though. Hamburg sub Mahdavikia (who is on for... er... not having a good day here) swings a lovely low curling cross in from the right which Lehmann does well to smother.

60 min: A lovely flowing move from Arsenal, with Hleb, Rosicky and van Persie stroking it upfield at walking pace. It all ends with Fabregas taking powerful aim at Wachter from 20 yards; it's well saved. “It simply turns my stomach that Ashley Cole would quit his job for a better paying employer!” writes Mike Davis, eyebrows arching like billy-o. “When will these stars understand that there’s more to a job than the money? I, and no doubt the hundreds of outraged fans, have all remained with the same employer since leaving school, despite better opportunities arising elsewhere. I know when I’m no longer able to fulfil my role at work, my employer will keep me on anyway, in recognition of my loyalty and service. Shame on you, Ashley!” This here is what you call satire.

62 min: Eboue has a dig from outside the area; it's deflected for the corner. There's a bit of bad defending, the ball's finally hacked outside the area, but it suddenly bounces out of another melee and towards Gallas - who's free on goal! But before the -£5m defender can send the net billowing, the ref blows up for a frankly generous obstruction decision.

64 min: Arsenal pass it around the front of the Hamburg area for a while. Something eventually snaps in De Jong's head and he charges out to kick van Persie up in the air. Free kick! It's taken by the foulee (that's not a word, is it) and blasted towards the top-left corner, but just too close to Wachter, who parries and collects.

68 min: Subs by Arsenal. Van Persie and Hleb do one, while Baptista and Flamini wander on. Speaking of substitutions, Mahdavikia is on for Demel, according to Eirik Helleve. And who am I to question him? “Is that former Arsenal youngster Guy Demel?” It is indeed, Eirik; the very lad who asked to leave Highbury because he was “cracking up”.

71 min: Arsenal pass it around for a bit. The game's gone pretty quiet all of a sudden. “As I've got to work at home here in Berlin on my computer and the game's not on normal telly,” writes Dan Smith, “I'm forced to listen to the commentary on German radio while trying not to look at pictures of poor old Cashley ‘so poorly paid he might as well have been on the Dole’ Cole on your commentary.” This isn’t going to be complimentary, is it. “I wonder if our former woefully uncelebrated best-left-back-in-the-world (but not quite as good as Thierry Henry) ever suffered the additional indignity of having his name mispronounced by foreign radio commentators? That’s what’s happening over here to Justin Hoyte who is constantly being referred to as Justin Hoyty. See Cashley, it could be worse.”

74 min: Pass pass passity pass.

76 min: Flamini takes an Arsenal corner from the right. And what a chance for Gilberto! It's a combination of fantastic delivery, the ball swinging out just beyond the keeper's reach, and dreadful defending, as the Arsenal captain finds himself diving head first towards the ball six yards out with nobody near him. Somehow, with the goal at his mercy, he heads wide. Dear Jesus. “All these Ca$hley haters are spot on,” writes Guyon H Knight. “How dare he put money ahead of loyalty in this professional sport. That's why good Arsenal lads like Fabregas play in north London: loyalty to the club that nurtured them from boyhood!” Gah! This little Ashley-bashing scheme of mine is unravelling before my very eyes.

78 min: Baptista has had about three chances to scamper free and go one-on-one with Wachter, but has rocked back on his heels when presented with all of them. The first two I ignored, but this is becoming a preposterous pattern. Get stuck in, man! Aren't you supposed to be a beast in a tank?

81 min: Guerrero replaces Lljuboja for Hamburg. S'gone quiet, this.

83 min: Company does his level best to set Baptista then Adebayor clear with an impromptu spot of ball-juggling while alone in his own half. He gets away with it by making a fantastic last-ditch sliding tackle, but really, was there any need for it?

84 min: Guerrero cuts inside from the left and tries to curl the ball round Lehmann and into the right-hand corner. It goes out for a throw, much to the amusement of the simple Sky commentary team, who are probably also fascinated by the concept of shiny.

88 min: GOAL! HOLD ON, NO IT'S NOT! From 25 yards out left, Trochowski absolutely hammers the ball past Lehmann and onto the crossbar. The rebound falls to Mahdavikia; he immediately sidefoots back into the box towards Sanogo, who stoops and guides the ball past Arsenal's keeper and home. Sadly it isn't going to count; Sanogo's offside. Hamburg deserved to score, though.

90 min: GOAL! Hamburg 1 - 2 Arsenal But this one does count. Jarolim breaks free down the right-hand side of Arsenal's box, Lehmann races out to intercept, but the Hamburg captain gets there first and cuts the ball back towards Sanogo, who slots into an empty net.

Full-time: Hamburg 1 - 2 Arsenal. Hamburg have another half-chance through Sanogo during the three minutes of injury time - Mahdavikia's deep cross is just too far behind the big striker, who can't get any power or direction on the header - and that's that. Peepity peeeeep peeeeep peeeeeeeeeeeep!

Sensational
14-09-2006, 05:50 PM
wah cool. heard tt rosicky goal was a wonder goal, gonna watch the clips lo. we can beat man utd man!

Mankul
14-09-2006, 07:46 PM
the kinda goal rosicky scored is the kinda goal that was not seen from arsenal for the last 2... or probabaly 3 seasons... he's so small, yet his missiles... goodness!

xerces
14-09-2006, 08:30 PM
42 min: It's all Arsenal now. Pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, misplaced pass, tackle, pass, pass, pass, pass, misplaced pass, tackle, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, misplaced pass, tackle, pass, pass, etc., and so on. Beautiful. Of course it's still going nowhere.

HAHAHA TATS IS WHY I FELL IN LOVE WIF ARSENAL but not the going no where part. Last time is Ljunberg pass to viera, viera pass to pireshe cross to bergkamp and bergkamp square to Henry and ITS A GOAL.... hope we can see something like this on sunday :D

LittleFox
14-09-2006, 08:43 PM
Fantastic Strike from the Little Mozart.... :s12:

earthyblue
14-09-2006, 11:42 PM
HAHAHA TATS IS WHY I FELL IN LOVE WIF ARSENAL but not the going no where part. Last time is Ljunberg pass to viera, viera pass to pireshe cross to bergkamp and bergkamp square to Henry and ITS A GOAL.... hope we can see something like this on sunday
A lot of fans for other clubs have to agree, Arsenal plays one of the most beautiful football in EPL or even on the planet, that is what makes it so nice to watch them play.

However the scoring part is a slight blemish to their game now. :o

If they can convert their passing game to winning games, then it will be perfect. =:p

earthyblue
14-09-2006, 11:49 PM
Passing is one of the best ways to keep possession.

Because only by possessing the ball and keeping the defenders busy drawing them out, then they can get openings to score.

By being physical, commiting fouls, disrupting play is one of the most common ways to deal with Arsenal.

Reyes is sold because after 2 years in Arsenal, he couldn't handle how teams commit fouls on him.

And does anyone realise that 2 of the most fouled Arsenal players are the wingers in Ljungberg and Hleb. Reyes is in a different mould because mentally he is finished when he gets a few fouls from opponents and held back.

Previously when Vieira was around, he was the most fouled.
I seriously think Wenger wants Baptista to change him into Gilberto's Defensive Midfielder position to partner Fabregas.

Arsenal's future is in Senderos, Eboue, Flamini, Fabregas, Baptista, Van Persie, Walcott

Arsenal have a very very good team for the next 6 years at least.

yourmother
14-09-2006, 11:51 PM
Queen to officially open Emirates Stadium

Arsenal Football Club is honoured to announce that Her Majesty The Queen will be officially opening the Club’s new Emirates Stadium on Thursday October 26 2006.

The Duke of Edinburgh will join The Queen at the event which will be a truly momentous day in the Club’s history and an extremely special moment for all involved in the Emirates Stadium project.

Arsenal Chairman, Peter Hill-Wood, enthused: “We are absolutely delighted that Her Majesty is to officially open Emirates Stadium. It is a true honour and we are immensely looking forward to welcoming Her Majesty and The Duke of Edinburgh to our new stadium next month. In 1932, the West Stand at Highbury was officially opened by the HRH The Prince of Wales, so we are again extremely honoured to have Royalty mark the start of the next chapter in the history of Arsenal Football Club."

WOOOOOOOOOOOO! Queen is a gooner!!!

yourmother
14-09-2006, 11:53 PM
now the bad news, henry and RVP is doubtful for the man u match.

United_Treble
14-09-2006, 11:56 PM
HAHAHA TATS IS WHY I FELL IN LOVE WIF ARSENAL but not the going no where part. Last time is Ljunberg pass to viera, viera pass to pireshe cross to bergkamp and bergkamp square to Henry and ITS A GOAL.... hope we can see something like this on sunday :Du noe who ur opponent this sun??

rx8
14-09-2006, 11:59 PM
Passing is one of the best ways to keep possession.

Because only by possessing the ball and keeping the defenders busy drawing them out, then they can get openings to score.

By being physical, commiting fouls, disrupting play is one of the most common ways to deal with Arsenal.

Reyes is sold because after 2 years in Arsenal, he couldn't handle how teams commit fouls on him.

And does anyone realise that 2 of the most fouled Arsenal players are the wingers in Ljungberg and Hleb. Reyes is in a different mould because mentally he is finished when he gets a few fouls from opponents and held back.

Previously when Vieira was around, he was the most fouled.
I seriously think Wenger wants Baptista to change him into Gilberto's Defensive Midfielder position to partner Fabregas.

Arsenal's future is in Senderos, Eboue, Flamini, Fabregas, Baptista, Van Persie, Walcott

Arsenal have a very very good team for the next 6 years at least.

caught the second half. gilberto was awesome. baptista n van persie had some great movement.

i would say that in european games, the opponent are not as physical as players in epl and the referee protects the player better, thus arsenal can maintain their tempo in the passing game.

rosicky goal and passing was top notch. hopefully hleb be on selfish at times to go for goals instead....

hamburg played well even thou with 10 men. they got good movement as well as technical abilities. glad that we got an away win!

noelnoel
15-09-2006, 12:28 AM
we need more shots like rosicky's :P

Wryer
15-09-2006, 10:36 AM
Me thinks Arsene need to play 4-5-1 to flood the United midfield and stop Scholes. Furthermore, we have RVP and Henry who are doubtful..

Swat
15-09-2006, 03:05 PM
u noe who ur opponent this sun??

So what if its man-u? Like we care.

swalk21
15-09-2006, 03:59 PM

does it matters? ****to.

evolute8
15-09-2006, 04:32 PM
who gonna buy arsenal on sunday ?

xerces
15-09-2006, 04:51 PM
u noe who ur opponent this sun?? Man Utd lo... i tot u Arsenal Fan turn ur back again ar? LOLZ....i dun care who la... still 11 men still got balls and didi... they are only humans....

Sensational
15-09-2006, 05:28 PM
the oppenent doesn't matter. wad matters is we plae our best

AndreFLo
15-09-2006, 09:08 PM
Somehow I got a feeling we won't return from OT empty handed...

Arsenal85
15-09-2006, 09:20 PM

We will give u more pizzas
you want ? :s13:

LittleFox
15-09-2006, 10:32 PM
Queen to officially open Emirates Stadium

Arsenal Football Club is honoured to announce that Her Majesty The Queen will be officially opening the Club’s new Emirates Stadium on Thursday October 26 2006.

The Duke of Edinburgh will join The Queen at the event which will be a truly momentous day in the Club’s history and an extremely special moment for all involved in the Emirates Stadium project.

Arsenal Chairman, Peter Hill-Wood, enthused: “We are absolutely delighted that Her Majesty is to officially open Emirates Stadium. It is a true honour and we are immensely looking forward to welcoming Her Majesty and The Duke of Edinburgh to our new stadium next month. In 1932, the West Stand at Highbury was officially opened by the HRH The Prince of Wales, so we are again extremely honoured to have Royalty mark the start of the next chapter in the history of Arsenal Football Club."

WOOOOOOOOOOOO! Queen is a gooner!!!

yup , her majesty is the no.1 gooner in this world
:D

evolute8
15-09-2006, 10:48 PM
i thot the stadum open long time ago ?

xerces
15-09-2006, 10:49 PM
dun think she is gooner fan but an honour to haf her for opening ceremony hope this will make Emirate Stadium a Lucky ground

Swat
15-09-2006, 10:52 PM
We will give u more pizzas
you want ? :s13:

Haha no worries, there wont be any more pizzas anymore because we will win on sunday, unless they decide to throw at us :s22:

yourmother
16-09-2006, 04:12 AM
Jose Antonio Reyes has accused former Arsenal team-mate Ashley Cole of looking to cause problems.

New Chelsea signing Cole has hogged a lot of the headlines over the summer as the candid opinions in his autobiography have come into the public domain.

And Reyes believes that most of Cole's comments have been deliberately designed to break down relationships at Arsenal.

"He is just trying to cause trouble," said the Spaniard. "There was a good atmosphere in the Arsenal dressing room no matter what he says."

Reyes has yet to start a game for Real Madrid since joining them on loan for the season, and could do little to prevent the Spanish giants losing to Lyon in the UEFA Champions League in midweek.

Sensational
16-09-2006, 09:52 AM
Jose Antonio Reyes has accused former Arsenal team-mate Ashley Cole of looking to cause problems.

New Chelsea signing Cole has hogged a lot of the headlines over the summer as the candid opinions in his autobiography have come into the public domain.

And Reyes believes that most of Cole's comments have been deliberately designed to break down relationships at Arsenal.

"He is just trying to cause trouble," said the Spaniard. "There was a good atmosphere in the Arsenal dressing room no matter what he says."

Reyes has yet to start a game for Real Madrid since joining them on loan for the season, and could do little to prevent the Spanish giants losing to Lyon in the UEFA Champions League in midweek.

at least reyes sae sumthing sensible at last.

xerces
16-09-2006, 10:16 AM

Reyes has yet to start a game for Real Madrid since joining them on loan for the season, and could do little to prevent the Spanish giants losing to Lyon in the UEFA Champions League in midweek. Finally something sensible...........I believe now all Arsenal fans really hate Cole for what he did...The things Arsenal did for him and what he did in return is really uncalled for... what 5k difference in wages only... and he actually have the cheek to compare to the great Henry when he make so many mistake last time and score a few own goal... KNN... Cashley PUI!!!!

MrWeiWei
16-09-2006, 10:57 AM
i think reyes preparing for his return to arsenal..... lol..... so must plp abit ...... he no future in RM 1 la.....loan deal rite he?

xerces
16-09-2006, 11:34 AM
No la he won't come back la he just guilty consious that what he did to go to real is bad :P

MrWeiWei
16-09-2006, 11:43 AM
No la he won't come back la he just guilty consious that what he did to go to real is bad :P
he scared RM after 1yr loan reject him back to arsenal.....tats y cannot burn all bridges yet ....hehe :D

Jermaine84
16-09-2006, 03:42 PM
least he is tinking.. wat goes ard come ard.. n i dun tink he got any prob with Arsenal either he jus not used to english game..

Wryer
17-09-2006, 11:46 AM
LOL, looks like Arsenal fans are not really relishing this battle aye?

Haha.. C'mon guys. Chin up!

xerces
17-09-2006, 12:18 PM
the odds looks really good at SGpool.... at 4.0 for arsenal win looks great :D

Jermaine84
17-09-2006, 12:18 PM
LOL, looks like Arsenal fans are not really relishing this battle aye?

Haha.. C'mon guys. Chin up!
at least not aginst a defensive team who pack their penatly box with 10 men lol

win or lose shd be an entertaining night !!!

ps: wouldnt mind Arsenal wining it by a goal or two thou..

Wryer
17-09-2006, 12:30 PM
Yeah, we are seriously the underdogs this time round. Hope Arsenal can hang in there and at least get a draw.

Im expecting Wenger to come up with a totally unpredictable lineup.

Baptista and Walcott? Haha.

RipperJack
17-09-2006, 01:47 PM
got a feeling that the use of Walcott will be critical :o

Xtnega
17-09-2006, 03:04 PM
don't think wenger will use walcott in this match, or at the most use as a 2nd half sub. Coz he said something abt not wanting to get walcott injured b4 he's fully developed, and this match against manU should be rather "physical"

Arsenal85
17-09-2006, 04:13 PM
The result is not important as long as we can have a entertaining game
However I think a draw will be enough to cheer us up :D

Jermaine84
17-09-2006, 05:14 PM
The result is not important as long as we can have a entertaining game
However I think a draw will be enough to cheer us up :D
jus a question.. wat would u want to see ??

1) Arsenal dominated ManU, deserve something from the game but unluckyly lose by a cheap goal

2)Arsenal draw or win but play badly n dun deserve it..

3)Arsenal trash ManU

we all know option 3 is the most unlikely.. so which of option 1 or 2 u guys prefer ??

AndreFLo
17-09-2006, 07:09 PM

1) Arsenal dominated ManU, deserve something from the game but unluckyly lose by a cheap goal

3)Arsenal trash ManU

we all know option 3 is the most unlikely.. so which of option 1 or 2 u guys prefer ??

Arsenal played well and deserved to win the game :D

Swat
17-09-2006, 07:12 PM
Arsenal played well and deserved to win the game :D

Been a long time since that happened :s13: Hope tonight is the game that will turn our form around :s22:

xerces
17-09-2006, 07:13 PM

3)Arsenal trash ManU

we all know option 3 is the most unlikely.. so which of option 1 or 2 u guys prefer ?? i dun care i wan 3

Wryer
17-09-2006, 09:36 PM
Haha.. Seriously when was the last time Gunner fans are so nonchalant to a Man U game..

OMG! We are gonna be in serious relegation fight this season.. LOL!

=P

Sensational
17-09-2006, 09:51 PM
gogogo arsenal. i staying up juz 2 watch arsenal beat man utd la. BEAT THEM

xaiver0510
17-09-2006, 11:03 PM
hope arsneal will win!

noelnoel
17-09-2006, 11:11 PM
whats with the yellow carD?

AndreFLo
17-09-2006, 11:17 PM
We missed a penalty!! :(

yourmother
17-09-2006, 11:56 PM
how did we not go ahead in the first half....

Wryer
17-09-2006, 11:58 PM
Unlucky penalty. Gilberto slipped. What are we using a def mid for a penalty? Rosicky is there, adebayor is there, hleb is there, even gallas is there.

But the first half was awesome. Rosicky is shooting on sight, Hleb is playing prolly his best half in this season, Gilberto is solid, ljungberg is there most prob of his experience with manu, fabregas is bossing the midfield. adebayor is working really hard and doing well to hold the ball.

I just don't understand why can't we play 4-5-1 instead? we have so many 'drifters' players like hleb, rosicky, ljungberg. They are best suited for a floating 4-5-1. Henry can be the 'left winger' so to say. Adebayor has the frame and tenacity to play with his back facing the goal.

The only worry i have is Eboue and Lehmann, jens look like he is gonna explode any moment. Eboue's defending has been shocking at times.

But hey, this is only the first half. If we can maintain what we do, it will be brilliant. Have a feeling baptista may come on for hleb in the second half.

Wryer
18-09-2006, 12:01 AM
im only worried the misses will haunt us when we wake up tml.

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 12:02 AM
Unlucky penalty. Gilberto slipped. What are we using a def mid for a penalty? Rosicky is there, adebayor is there, hleb is there, even gallas is there.

But the first half was awesome. Rosicky is shooting on sight, Hleb is playing prolly his best half in this season, Gilberto is solid, ljungberg is there most prob of his experience with manu, fabregas is bossing the midfield. adebayor is working really hard and doing well to hold the ball.

I just don't understand why can't we play 4-5-1 instead? we have so many 'drifters' players like hleb, rosicky, ljungberg. They are best suited for a floating 4-5-1. Henry can be the 'left winger' so to say. Adebayor has the frame and tenacity to play with his back facing the goal.

The only worry i have is Eboue and Lehmann, jens look like he is gonna explode any moment. Eboue's defending has been shocking at times.

But hey, this is only the first half. If we can maintain what we do, it will be brilliant. Have a feeling baptista may come on for hleb in the second half.
agree eboue is horrid today.
Lehmnan on a yellow, so worried for him!!!!

midfield is ocntrolling well and we just need a good goal to stir thigns up

xaiver0510
im only worried the misses will haunt us when we wake up tml.
will be staying for the hour!!

yourmother
sorry but fabregas is crap so far.

iMbEst
18-09-2006, 12:06 AM
so win lose or draw? better draw lah, my $688.....

noelnoel
18-09-2006, 12:20 AM
still shooting let us down

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 12:29 AM
selfish adebayor.. he could have played thru!!

iMbEst
18-09-2006, 12:45 AM
hohohoe......merry christmas!

evolute8
18-09-2006, 12:46 AM
so win lose or draw? better draw lah, my $688.....
remember our meals tomorrow hor

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 12:50 AM
adebayor score!
assist by fab!

noelnoel
18-09-2006, 12:51 AM
can i join in?

iMbEst
18-09-2006, 12:52 AM

sigh, free meal gone, I even created a thread for it......tio self-pwn3d.... :(

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 12:52 AM
flamini for adebayor..
defensive play.

Ronaldo_7
18-09-2006, 12:54 AM
arsenal deserves the win... good game..

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 12:56 AM
finally a game arsenal played well...
lehman good job today!

iMbEst
18-09-2006, 12:57 AM
my $688 :(

ISS
18-09-2006, 12:57 AM
Well done Arsenal! You really deserve a win today. Man U's performance is a total shame.

Mankul
18-09-2006, 12:59 AM
power power power....

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 12:59 AM
Well done Arsenal! You really deserve a win today. Man U's performance is a total shame.
cannot blame man u. they had a good game.
their counter attacks really stress me out and they have 2 decent chances after a goal down.

xerces
18-09-2006, 01:01 AM
GAME SET.... cheers for Arsenal First Win!!!

Xtnega
WOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

yourmother
ADEBAYOOOORRRRRRRRRR......................

Every miss earlier is forgive :)

I'm gona milk this while i can, CAN YOU ****ING DIG THIS MANURE!!!

:D :D :D

LittleFox
YEs...worth for me to stay up so late for the match...1st victory of the new season...:s12:

btw....4-5-1 really works.... :D

ISS
18-09-2006, 01:02 AM
cannot blame man u. they had a good game.
their counter attacks really stress me out and they have 2 decent chances after a goal down.

Nay. They also start to work after they are a goal down. Thats not the way to play.

cadre80
18-09-2006, 01:02 AM
should've been 3-1 or 4-1...

... but i bet nobody cares abt the score lah... what's important is that the arse has managed to hold in the manure long enough...

... now they can go to the loo liao... :D

ISS
18-09-2006, 01:04 AM
Btw, I also have to point out that Arsenal isn't playing exactly well. I believe its due to lack of Van Persie and Henry.

mppp
18-09-2006, 01:04 AM
lehman's save after arsenal goal is really superb... and toure is really a warrior in the last few min... what a game!

LittleFox
18-09-2006, 01:05 AM
We had numerous chances compare to man u....we didnt take it....:(

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 01:06 AM
admit too late for man u to start producing chances.
stilla decent game. their midfield really suffers!

but what the heck, arsenal won!!! yeah!!!

great morale boost! esp first victory is away and at OT somemore!

Kiwi8
18-09-2006, 01:06 AM
I never expected an Arsenal win, though I think a draw was highly possible. But I guess Arsenal was the hungrier side for the win.

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 01:07 AM
We had numerous chances compare to man u....we didnt take it....:(
yap

it can be a more convincing win but we take it from here and fight our way back up!

sugarkittyx
18-09-2006, 01:07 AM
i thought arsenal was obviously the better team in the second half.

xaiver0510
18-09-2006, 01:09 AM
i thought arsenal was obviously the better team in the second half.
actually both halves

Swat
18-09-2006, 01:09 AM
This is the turning point for arsenal's season!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :s13: :s13: :s22:

yourmother
18-09-2006, 01:12 AM
Mad Jens is my MOM.

ER
18-09-2006, 01:12 AM
The last time arsenal won at old trafford was when they lift the title, can they do it again?

Wryer
18-09-2006, 01:13 AM
amazing!

Haha.. really pleased.

What a way for manu to get their first lost, and what a way to get arsenal's first win. Hope this starts a winning streak.

A simple analysis. (ok, i admit, i love to do this when we win).

Lehmann was mad minus the super save. He was beginning to lose it and go mad. But the save. My goodness. Not sure if u guys watched the top ten saves of EPL, but this really belongs to the top 5. Extraordinary save.

The defence was real solid. Esp the central defence. Toure and Djourou didnt have a lot of mention by the commentator, and that is a real compliment. Toure was colossal. Eboue was was quite poor to be honest. Perhaps the 4-5-1 restricted him. But the positioning is appalling, and thats a sin in fullback. You need to be positiionally correct. Gallas was superb, his experience showed. Didnt do anything fanciful, but nothing went pass him.

The midfield was the category of the match. Fabregas was SUPER. He was my MOM. He controlled the midfield. He sprayed passes, he danced pass the manu midfield, and he CREATED the goal. Hleb was pretty good, very penetrative but he gotta develop the vision. Gilberto, actually to be honest, was quite poor. Apart from his penalty miss, his distribution was piss poor. He tracked back well, but whenever he tries to thread a ball, i knows whats gonna happen. Ljungberg was very hard working, Rosicky was trying his best.

Adebayor worked his ass and dick off. He held the ball superbly. A typical 4-5-1 striker. Really admired his fighting spirit. Baptista, did you guys see how big and powerful he is? He strode past the manu players a few times, and just shrugged them aside. He has the directness and skills to boast too. Willing to take shots...

What a game.

LittleFox
18-09-2006, 01:14 AM
I never expected an Arsenal win, though I think a draw was highly possible. But I guess Arsenal was the hungrier side for the win.

Today we see the real Arsenal, the flow passing side which once douted as the 'invincible'....this is mainly due to man united, coz they didnt just sit back and try to hold on for a draw....so it's a more open game compare to last 2 home games we had...

however with so many chances wasted and lotz of final ball miss placed, I'm still quite worryfor our title credential this season...

ceLsius
18-09-2006, 01:15 AM
The last time arsenal won at old trafford was when they lift the title, can they do it again?

You gotta be kidding. :D

BroadBear
18-09-2006, 01:16 AM
LOL IMO Fabregas was superb, shielding off e challenges of 3 Man U players to provide e thru pass for Adebayor tt created e goal, tt was e defining moment of e match
Hleb had a good game too, in fact I think he was Arsenal best midfield player other than fabregas, he ran @ e Man U defences wif his skill n trickery to create chances for hs teammates
Adebayor was pacy n hold e ball up well, but was @ times clumsy wif e ball
Wad do u guys tink of Gallas performance??

deathan9el
18-09-2006, 01:16 AM
congratz e gunners fr a well deserved victory.

juz one of those days agn fr e devils in red.

Kakashi82
18-09-2006, 01:17 AM
Arsenal deserves the win... Congrats....

Kiwi8
18-09-2006, 01:18 AM
Today we see the real Arsenal, the flow passing side which once douted as the 'invincible'....this is mainly due to man united, coz they didnt just sit back and try to hold on for a draw....so it's a more open game compare to last 2 home games we had...

however with so many chances wasted and lotz of final ball miss placed, I'm still quite worryfor our title credential this season...
Yes... Arsenal need to put in more of such performances.

LittleFox
18-09-2006, 01:18 AM
LOL IMO Fabregas was superb, shielding off e challenges of 3 Man U players to provide e thru pass for Adebayor tt created e goal, tt was e defining moment of e match
Hleb had a good game too, in fact I think he was Arsenal best midfield player other than fabregas, he ran @ e Man U defences wif his skill n trickery to create chances for hs teammates
Adebayor was pacy n hold e ball up well, but was @ times clumsy wif e ball
Wad do u guys tink of Gallas performance??
one word solid....

LittleFox
18-09-2006, 01:21 AM
W.Gallas was a great buy, he gives djourou confident, which let Toure concentrate on his game...
I do think Gallas somehow made the defence gelled up pretty well tonight....

cadre80
18-09-2006, 01:21 AM
amazing!

Haha.. really pleased.

What a way for manu to get their first lost, and what a way to get arsenal's first win. Hope this starts a winning streak.

A simple analysis. (ok, i admit, i love to do this when we win).

Lehmann was mad minus the super save. He was beginning to lose it and go mad. But the save. My goodness. Not sure if u guys watched the top ten saves of EPL, but this really belongs to the top 5. Extraordinary save.

The defence was real solid. Esp the central defence. Toure and Djourou didnt have a lot of mention by the commentator, and that is a real compliment. Toure was colossal. Eboue was was quite poor to be honest. Perhaps the 4-5-1 restricted him. But the positioning is appalling, and thats a sin in fullback. You need to be positiionally correct. Gallas was superb, his experience showed. Didnt do anything fanciful, but nothing went pass him.

The midfield was the category of the match. Fabregas was SUPER. He was my MOM. He controlled the midfield. He sprayed passes, he danced pass the manu midfield, and he CREATED the goal. Hleb was pretty good, very penetrative but he gotta develop the vision. Gilberto, actually to be honest, was quite poor. Apart from his penalty miss, his distribution was piss poor. He tracked back well, but whenever he tries to thread a ball, i knows whats gonna happen. Ljungberg was very hard working, Rosicky was trying his best.

Adebayor worked his ass and dick off. He held the ball superbly. A typical 4-5-1 striker. Really admired his fighting spirit. Baptista, did you guys see how big and powerful he is? He strode past the manu players a few times, and just shrugged them aside. He has the directness and skills to boast too. Willing to take shots...

What a game.
yeah... even ronaldo moved to the left wing to avoid him... :D

Wryer
18-09-2006, 01:22 AM
Im really looking forward to see Gallas and Toure pair up. This will really firm up the defence.

LittleFox
18-09-2006, 01:23 AM
Btw...i think bapista ish really very musclar...just look@ his jersey.... :D

ventin
18-09-2006, 01:26 AM
Baptista shot is power sia... too bad it din end up in goal... great job gunners!

Wryer
18-09-2006, 01:27 AM
Yup. He was super big. I think the other player that can match his physique is.. Diop of fulham.

Baptista is still trying to find his feet. Not yet adjusted to the speed of play. But his willingness to take players on one on one is encouraging. He may be the missing jigsaw piece in a 4-5-1, as a AMC.

Wryer
18-09-2006, 01:27 AM
Anyway guys, time to slp! Slp with a smile on your face!

Ohh..so so sweet...

yourmother
18-09-2006, 01:28 AM
The manure defence scare like sh|t when the beast run at them and attack.

RipperJack
18-09-2006, 01:37 AM
Actually I was worried after the first 10 mins as Arsenal looked very subdued while Man U played with fire under their belly, closing down the Arsenal players with much vigour. But after Adebayor earned the penalty, confidence grew and the players slowly started to show more authority. Adebayor is the key player tonight for this, not just because he scored the solitary goal. :o

Our 'Little Mozart' impressed as well. Another screamer on target which was saved by the goalkeeper. More importantly, defence splitting passes to Adebayor on a few occasions which were not capitalised by our striker. Consistent Fabregas had another good game, spraying accurate passes and willing to dig in and win the ball back. Two good playmakers on the field at the same time. :D

Giberto looked abit shaky on a number of occasions tonight, but had a good game overall while Ljungberg and Hleb had an average game.

Eboue always look menacing when going forward, rarely see him losing the ball when running down the flanks with it. Maybe he should start playing as a winger instead when Lauren is back. :s13:

Not surprisingly, Toure is steady as rock again and Gallas is water-tight. Maybe that rubbed off Djourou who had a good game, playing between two world-class defenders. :D

Worrying sign for me though is Julio Baptista. Showed good touches and willingness to shoot but didn't make as many off-the-ball runs as compared to the other players who have been on the field from the start despite being fresh legs brought on in the second half. Not used to Arsenal's style of play yet, or.....? Hope he gelled with the team soon because I noticed he seemed like a lonely figure on the pitch, without much interaction with his team-mates.

RipperJack
18-09-2006, 01:46 AM

I have to disagree. It was a good game tonight, but no way near the fast-paced one-touch passing game we were playing back then yet. The link-play between Henry, Bergkamp, Pires and Vieira back then was telepathic. We are still lacking that right now. :o

Hopefully, the team can build on tonight's results and improve to the frightening level which we used to play at. :D

LiteMan
18-09-2006, 02:00 AM
I think we just need time to gel as a unit. Rosicky looks good to play as one of the first 11. Gallas is experienced enough to slot in at centre or left. Baptista may require a bit more effort to blend in.

earthyblue
18-09-2006, 02:05 AM
Eboue always look menacing when going forward, rarely see him losing the ball when running down the flanks with it. Maybe he should start playing as a winger instead when Lauren is back. :s13:

Not surprisingly, Toure is steady as rock again and Gallas is water-tight. Maybe that rubbed off Djourou who had a good game, playing between two world-class defenders. :D

Worrying sign for me though is Julio Baptista. Showed good touches and willingness to shoot but didn't make as many off-the-ball runs as compared to the other players who have been on the field from the start despite being fresh legs brought on in the second half. Not used to Arsenal's style of play yet, or.....? Hope he gelled with the team soon because I noticed he seemed like a lonely figure on the pitch, without much interaction with his team-mates.

Lauren will lose his place to Eboue. Definite. If comparing both full backs, I would say it is a blessing in disguise that Lauren got injured and Eboue was there to cover and proved to be a very very good replacement if not better.

Baptista needs time to blend in. It is not easy for Spanish league players to make a switch over to EPl without any difficulty. =:p

Anyway, we should enjoy the 1 nil victory as of now till the next game :D

earthyblue
18-09-2006, 02:13 AM
YEs...worth for me to stay up so late for the match...1st victory of the new season...:s12:

btw....4-5-1 really works.... :D

The problem is Arsene don't play 4-5-1 every match except for impt games with big clubs where he added in extra midfielder to outwin the opponent's midfield.

Arsenal play 4-5-1 against RM, VILLAREAL, JUVE, and against BARCA(almost till Lehmann got sent off) the performance is normally low scoring.

Arsene loves the beautiful passing game in 4-4-1-1. I think most of us too when ARSENAL still had Bergkamp.
:o

AndreFLo
18-09-2006, 07:10 AM

No lar...the last time we won the title was 2003/04...and we drew at OT tat season :D

Damn I already had a feeling Arsenal wun lose this match liao...too bad din bet on them :sad:

tt32003
18-09-2006, 07:16 AM

No the last 2 times that Arsenal won 1-0 at Old Trafford, we won the double !!!

tt32003
18-09-2006, 07:25 AM
Lehman was great. Unlucky for the yellow card. Lucky for the point blank shot from Ronaldo that hit his face. Superb for the supersave in the end. And made several real solid catches after we took the lead.
Defence was good except for Eboue who didn't defend that well. 4-5-1 restricted his movements forward. By the way he is doing now, Djorou will come before Senderos in the packing order now.
Fab was fabulous. Hope his 8 year deal is signed and sealed in concrete and we will have a great future with that. Gilberto was in his element, defending well but distribution like sh*t. Ljungberg was very hardworking. Rosicky did well and showed eveyone how to shoot. And again Hlebb cbl. We only socred after he went out for the beast. Wenger did a master strake and subbed Hlebb instead of Adebayor.
Adebayor really worled his ass off. Won a penalty, scored a winning goal,but could have been more menacing. He looked quite disappointed when he was subbed in the last 2 minutes.
Very good win, a bit of deja vu felling of the Michael Thomas goal long time ago.

deathblade
18-09-2006, 07:27 AM
Me? I'm just happy. =)

xerces
18-09-2006, 09:06 AM
the odds looks really good at SGpool.... at 4.0 for arsenal win looks great :D yea too bad didn't buy....

Arsenal85
18-09-2006, 09:35 AM
asianhandicap of 1/2 ball is much more safer and attractive :s13:

xerces
18-09-2006, 11:01 AM
dunno la to me, the only time best to bet at SG pool is when everyone buy a favourite team like Man utd, when underdog like Arsenal is really overlooked... the rate can go sky rocket... maybe Arsenal end with a rate of 4.5 who knows...

MrWeiWei
18-09-2006, 11:10 AM
see? told u all liao...... drop henry la hehe... no henry the other players got balls to shoot at will ... congrats to your win ...... see u at emirates ! :D

PrinCe_iL
18-09-2006, 01:10 PM
Great passing game from Arsenal. Controlled the game throughout, a very open & exciting game. IMO, I feel that Tomas Rosicky and Lehmann should be the MOM. Delicious saves from Lehmann, and great passing & penetration from Tomas Rosicky.

I actually thought that Tomas Rosicky can pass much better than Fabregas, but just my humble views. I feel that Rosicky is the new and younger Pires, can pass, run with ball, create openings and pass with greater accuracy than Fabgregas. Adebayor really works his socks off, credits to him for scoring the most important goal for Arsenal, at this pt of season.

Congrats to Arsenal for winning the game with attractive & attacking soccer.

mppp
18-09-2006, 05:36 PM
absolutely priceless... :s13:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v314/yoinkster/saved.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v314/yoinkster/denied.jpg

yourmother
18-09-2006, 05:55 PM

Right after Lehmann super save! Priceless indeed :s13:

Sensational
18-09-2006, 05:58 PM
n1 man arsenal!!!!!!!! i stayed up n it was worth it!

LittleFox
18-09-2006, 09:13 PM

I nearly Heart Attack....

tt32003
18-09-2006, 10:10 PM
Do you guys realised that yesterday's Adebayor's goal was scored at the same end of Old Trafford as the goald scored by Overmars and Wiltord previously in our last 2 Old Trafford win ?
Coincidence ? karma ?

Oh by the way in the Hamburg match the wordings on our Jersy was Dubai. Is it just for away games in the CL or for all Cl games it will be Dubai instead of Fly Emirates ?
If like that the Jersey collectors will have to buy at least 4 Jerseys for this season alone.

SueDE_84
18-09-2006, 10:21 PM
YEAH GREAT WIN FOR ARSENAL!!!wat a way n wat a place to get our 1st win!IMO every1 played well...esp Lehmann...great saves n realli kept us in the game...Toure as always solid at the back...Gallas man marking almost every1 n stopping all those attacks launched by United...Djourou quite solid...rarely made mistakes...Rosicky whacking almost from everywhere n distributing the ball well...Ljungberg as usual 'nvr-say-die' attitude...Hleb making his run ins n cut ins to confuse the United players...Fabregas realli owned the midfield...dominating in almost every aspect n covering when neccessary...Gilberto played as usual...covering here n there...stringing the passes 2gether...Adebayor holding the ball quite well...playing pretty well as a lone striker but clumsy at times n missed chances

well Eboue certainly didn't realli shine in the game...maybe the formation restricted his runs...he made some silly mistakes but still 4giveable

wat a feeling to pick up our 1st win at OT...n the last 2 times we won 1-0 at OT...we won the double!wonder whether history will repeat itself :D

damn dui man...last nite i was wondering whether to buy 0-0 or 1-0 to Arsenal for Pick The Score...or buy both combinations...cos i got feeling Arsenal wun lose...then i bought 0-0...then last 5 mins Adebayor scored...well got mixed feelings...damn angry tat i didn't buy 1-0...cos odds for 1-0 is an incredible 10.00!

anyways great win for Arsenal n hope our season turns around from here

SueDE_84
18-09-2006, 10:26 PM
Do you guys realised that yesterday's Adebayor's goal was scored at the same end of Old Trafford as the goald scored by Overmars and Wiltord previously in our last 2 Old Trafford win ?
Coincidence ? karma ?

Oh by the way in the Hamburg match the wordings on our Jersy was Dubai. Is it just for away games in the CL or for all Cl games it will be Dubai instead of Fly Emirates ?
If like that the Jersey collectors will have to buy at least 4 Jerseys for this season alone.

oh yeah man juz realised its the veri same end scored by Overmars n Wiltord! :s31: maybe its a sign of who the title will end up wit come end of the season

Arsenal put Dubai on their jerseys against Hamburg bcos Hamburg's sponsors r oso Fly Emirates...n according to the rules of UEFA...2 teams playing against each other cannot hav the same sponsor's name on both oppositions jerseys...so tats y Arsenal put Dubai on their jersey...when Hamburg come to Emirates Stadium...their shirt will oso have the 'Dubai' word on it...anyway other away CL games for Arsenal...they will still wear their jerseys wit 'Fly Emirates' on it...so dun worry...u dun hav to buy 4 jerseys for this season :D

Souljer
18-09-2006, 10:34 PM
Those devils were lucky not to be beaten by more than 2 goals. Granted our Lehman saved two certain goals from them, but it could be argued that if not for Schoales's goal line clearance, Baptista's weak finishing, Gilberto's penalty slip, Ade's earlier woeful finishing and Rosicky's long ranged shot which was palmed away, it would be a 5-2 score in favor of us.

Not bad for ‘a team in transition’ eh?

tt32003
18-09-2006, 10:35 PM
oh yeah man juz realised its the veri same end scored by Overmars n Wiltord! :s31: maybe its a sign of who the title will end up wit come end of the season

Arsenal put Dubai on their jerseys against Hamburg bcos Hamburg's sponsors r oso Fly Emirates...n according to the rules of UEFA...2 teams playing against each other cannot hav the same sponsor's name on both oppositions jerseys...so tats y Arsenal put Dubai on their jersey...when Hamburg come to Emirates Stadium...their shirt will oso have the 'Dubai' word on it...anyway other away CL games for Arsenal...they will still wear their jerseys wit 'Fly Emirates' on it...so dun worry...u dun hav to buy 4 jerseys for this season :D

So the shirt with Dubai words is not for sale ?

tt32003
18-09-2006, 10:39 PM
Those devils were lucky not to be beaten by more than 2 goals. Granted our Lehman saved two certain goals from them, but it could be argued that if not for Schoales's goal line clearance, Baptista's weak finishing, Gilberto's penalty slip, Ade's earlier woeful finishing and Rosicky's long ranged shot which was palmed away, it would be a 5-2 score in favor of us.

Not bad for ‘a team in transition’ eh?

Also a team without king Henry.
Anyway why is GIlberto the penalty taker ?
Why can't the forwards or other attacking players be the penalty taker ?
The commentator said Gilbeto hit to his right for the Hamburg one and true enough he hit fight again. Even if he had not slipped, the keeper may have saved it.
Previously our penalty tahing orders was Henry, Pires, Laure,
Now Gilgerto seems to be no 2 in the order.
Surely some others with better scoring ability can step up.

tt32003
18-09-2006, 10:42 PM
Why can't we stick to this 4-5-1 formation ?
If it is said that this formatioin is not exciting enough for our team , then how you descrobe the team's performance ?
Granted some players may have to be sacrifice for this mainly Adebayour and RVP but as long as it works why not ?

Wryer
18-09-2006, 11:04 PM
Why can't we stick to this 4-5-1 formation ?
If it is said that this formatioin is not exciting enough for our team , then how you descrobe the team's performance ?
Granted some players may have to be sacrifice for this mainly Adebayour and RVP but as long as it works why not ?

Im with 4-5-1. But how to accomodate Henry in this formation? He doesn't really play well as a lone striker, esp against EPL teams. Then again, 4-5-1 is the best formation for a team with loads of ACM like Arsenal.

tt32003
18-09-2006, 11:08 PM
Im with 4-5-1. But how to accomodate Henry in this formation? He doesn't really play well as a lone striker, esp against EPL teams. Then again, 4-5-1 is the best formation for a team with loads of ACM like Arsenal.

But he did well against Juve and Real last season in 4-5-1.

Jermaine84
18-09-2006, 11:10 PM
ManU played 4-4-2 iirc.. reason why arsenal played 4-5-1 is to use more midfielder to counter ManU's midfield.. the previous 3 epl games whr opponent 4-5-1 if we use 4-5-1 also will be veri pack in midfield.. i dare to say Arsenal's poor results in the 1st 3 epl games is cost Arsenal didnt tk their chances then instead concede unnessary.. if Arsenal is to score first.. opponent would come out n play lo.. Arsenal will then shoot in somemore trash them..

Wryer
18-09-2006, 11:17 PM
But he did well against Juve and Real last season in 4-5-1.

Yup, i mentioned that he will struggle against EPL teams. EPL defenders are very quick in crowding out the lone striker, and Henry isnt the sort who plays with his back to goal.

earthyblue
19-09-2006, 12:24 AM
I nearly Heart Attack....

Arsenal's semifinal game vs Villareal then was giving Heart Attack in the last minute.

Too much these kind of games no good for health

earthyblue
19-09-2006, 12:27 AM

4-5-1 cannot be used against teams which sit back and defend just like prev EPL games that Arsenal faced.

Also Emirates Stadium though is Home Gnd of Arsenal but Arsenal has not played there more than 10 times in front of full capacity crowd. It's like playing AWAY. SO I guessed Arsenal might be playing 38 AWAY games this season for EPL, instead of 19. :s22:

RipperJack
19-09-2006, 12:31 AM

Really have to take my hat off to Solskjaer.

Old is gold. It was a great strike from him. Still so zhun after being out for so long :o

rx8
19-09-2006, 12:31 AM
Arsenal's semifinal game vs Villareal then was giving Heart Attack in the last minute.

Too much these kind of games no good for health

i think that match vs villareal, we were lucky.... one of the strikers from villareal bascially wasted all the chances. its just not his day... and im glad.

rx8
19-09-2006, 12:34 AM
Really have to take my hat off to Solskjaer.

Old is gold. It was a great strike from him. Still so zhun after being out for so long :o

same tots. he is one very loyal player.
he could be in any team's first eleven if he move to another club IMO. so versatile and sharp.

noelnoel
19-09-2006, 12:45 AM
YEAH GREAT WIN FOR ARSENAL!!!wat a way n wat a place to get our 1st win!IMO every1 played well...esp Lehmann...great saves n realli kept us in the game...Toure as always solid at the back...Gallas man marking almost every1 n stopping all those attacks launched by United...Djourou quite solid...rarely made mistakes...Rosicky whacking almost from everywhere n distributing the ball well...Ljungberg as usual 'nvr-say-die' attitude...Hleb making his run ins n cut ins to confuse the United players...Fabregas realli owned the midfield...dominating in almost every aspect n covering when neccessary...Gilberto played as usual...covering here n there...stringing the passes 2gether...Adebayor holding the ball quite well...playing pretty well as a lone striker but clumsy at times n missed chances

well Eboue certainly didn't realli shine in the game...maybe the formation restricted his runs...he made some silly mistakes but still 4giveable

wat a feeling to pick up our 1st win at OT...n the last 2 times we won 1-0 at OT...we won the double!wonder whether history will repeat itself :D

damn dui man...last nite i was wondering whether to buy 0-0 or 1-0 to Arsenal for Pick The Score...or buy both combinations...cos i got feeling Arsenal wun lose...then i bought 0-0...then last 5 mins Adebayor scored...well got mixed feelings...damn angry tat i didn't buy 1-0...cos odds for 1-0 is an incredible 10.00!

anyways great win for Arsenal n hope our season turns around from here
hey guys i asked this question before.. u all tink eboue will up his level of play?
after yesterday game i really scared he stopped there orelly leh

LiteMan
19-09-2006, 12:46 AM
nay, Arsenal has to rely on a wide variety of attacks, whether it be 4-4-2 or the 4-5-1. Wenger's style is a fluid system that can change to accomodate the situation.

He has to have players who are versatile in more than one position, in order to achieve the fluid system. And these players must be goal-scoring type of players

We are getting a bit too predictable recently, with only Henry as the main goal threat, hence opposing players just mark him out. And King Henry isn't helped by the fact that every single one of his teammates HAS to pass the ball to himm instead of taking pot shots themselves.

Hleb is a good dribbler and makes good runs, but he sometimes over-dribbles and end up being squeezed out. Eboue is also one dangerous overlapping fullback, with his jinking runs actually causing panic and making defenders give away penalties.

But seldom they attempt a shot at goal.

Fabregras tries to pass, create and shoot. But let's face it, at his young age and his physqiue, he is not the power shooter like Lampard or Gerrard. I will be happy with his defence-splitting passes, though.

Ljungberg runs incisively and cuts in well, but I guess he misses the vision of Bergkamp and the delivery skilss of Pires.

Gilberto? Oh, just let him do the marking and tackling...no shooting, please.

Van Persie? He is one who tries to be as creative as Bergkamp. He's got sharp shooting skills, but we are not seeing enough of him (injury and such)

With Rosicky, I see that we got one midfield guy who dares to shoot from afar...now I can see why we Gunners fans are so excited about him.

Baptista didn't make much of an impression but I guess he is going to be a "juggernaut" or "tank"...such power and strength. It remains to see how his shots at goal will be like.

noelnoel
19-09-2006, 12:50 AM
RVP, Baptista and Rosicky are our best finishers
guess more goals will come from them than king henry

ER
19-09-2006, 01:14 AM
This season, Arsenal really has a lot of attack options upfront. Cant wait to see the next match.

Jermaine84
19-09-2006, 01:37 AM
is Gallas natural right footed ??

LiteMan
19-09-2006, 09:46 AM
right footed, left footed, does not matter. What matters he can play well there.

yourmother
19-09-2006, 01:05 PM
i really hope baptista can adpot and do well in epl, i like wad i see in the last 5 min of the match, he just use his sheer power and force his way in the box before unleasing a shot that was block and win us a corner.

ER
19-09-2006, 01:54 PM
Hope can see more of Theo Wallcott's appearence.

yourmother
19-09-2006, 02:37 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpH9VNdrBFc

check that out, a whole bunch of gooners chanting adebayor :s13:

netsuAi
19-09-2006, 02:38 PM
rosicky's shooting is accurate man... n powerful especially for those shots at the edge of penalty area.. seems like he doesnt sky too many of them.

eez_enegue
19-09-2006, 04:08 PM
Domenech 'can't believe' Chelsea sold Gallas

France coach Raymond Domenech has revealed his surprise at Chelsea's willingness to allow William Gallas to join Premiership rivals Arsenal.

Gallas, the 29-year-old France defender, was seeking a move from Stamford Bridge and eventually signed for the Gunners on transfer deadline day, with Ashley Cole moving in the opposite direction.

Domenech is quoted in the Daily Express to have said: 'I can't believe what Chelsea have done. I can't believe they let Gallas go. For a coach, he's the best defender in the world.

'Look at the positions he can play - anywhere along the back line, all with exactly the same ability.

'If I had been (coach) Jose Mourinho I would never have done it. Any club lucky enough to have William should never allow him to leave.

'Since I've been French coach, we've lost only one game, against Slovakia this year - and that was the only one in which he didn't play.'

:D

Wryer
19-09-2006, 05:42 PM
Gallas is a victim of his own versatility. When we talk abt Gallas' versatility vs say, O' Shea versatility, its totally DIFFERENT. Gallas plays at world class level at every position he plays. Basically he is a 4-man player. He can cover any position with ease and skill. Not a stop gap player.

Rosicky's addition is very important, his ability to strike those long range missiles will draw out defenders, that will leave space for Henry to latch on. That was Pires' strength as well, drawing out defenders. W/o Rosicky or Pires, defenders simply stay tight and close and close down any through balls.

BroadBear
19-09-2006, 08:00 PM

anyways great win for Arsenal n hope our season turns around from hereBro u call urself a die-hard Arsenal fan?? betting against e team for e sake of winning some quick bucks??

dle4e_2005
19-09-2006, 08:30 PM
Bro u call urself a die-hard Arsenal fan?? betting against e team for e sake of winning some quick bucks??

Are you trying to say that if you support a club you comfirm need to buy them win??
When it come to betting you need to use your brain also...

Anyway GOOD job in winning ManU...

LittleFox
19-09-2006, 08:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpH9VNdrBFc

check that out, a whole bunch of gooners chanting adebayor :s13:

Sibei Cute ah....:D

Jermaine84
19-09-2006, 08:47 PM
Bro u call urself a die-hard Arsenal fan?? betting against e team for e sake of winning some quick bucks??
tis is the so call 'cushioning-bet'.. the quick bucks can soften the heart pain of one's fave team losing.. funny thing is if fave team win will get mix feeling lol

Jermaine84
19-09-2006, 08:51 PM
Are you trying to say that if you support a club you comfirm need to buy them win??

relax la.. imo best is not to cash in on the fall of one's fave team even if 99.9% one's fave team will lose..

xerces
19-09-2006, 09:35 PM
relax la.. imo best is not to cash in on the fall of one's fave team even if 99.9% one's fave team will lose.. aiya no point being silly wif money over ur fav club... see la... if sure win then buy lo..........

Arsenal85
19-09-2006, 09:43 PM
不赌就是赢

:s13: :s13: :s13:

Kiwi8
19-09-2006, 09:49 PM
But hor,

有钱不赌, 对不起父母. :D :D :D :D

LittleFox
19-09-2006, 09:55 PM
Gambling and supporting ya fav is 2 diff issues...nvr mix them...it will be dangerous...

fireburn999
19-09-2006, 10:14 PM
i always place bet only on matches against Man U & hell o yeah!!

Jermaine84
20-09-2006, 02:31 PM
Arsenal goalkeeper Jens Lehmann faces a police probe after he was accused of kicking a water bottle at Manchester United fans.

The German international was accused of booting the bottle into the East Stand during Sunday's Premiership match at Old Trafford.

A police spokesman said: 'Greater Manchester Police have received one complaint in relation to an allegation that a water bottle was kicked into the crowd during the Manchester United v Arsenal match on Sunday 17 September.

'It is alleged the bottle was kicked from the pitch into the East Stand.

'Officers are investigating the allegation and inquiries are ongoing.'

The high-tension match finished 1-0 to Arsenal after a late goal from striker Emmanuel Adebayor.

Earlier, Lehmann was hit in the face from close range by a shot from United winger Cristiano Ronaldo.

He was knocked down and took several minutes to recover, before making an impressive save at the end to retain Arsenal's lead.

The rivalry between the clubs has led to aggression both on and off the pitch in recent years.

In 2004 slices of pizza were thrown in the players' tunnel after Arsenal lost 2-0 at Old Trafford. The incident became known as the 'Battle of the Buffet'.

Arsenal defender Martin Keown was fined £5,000 after his spat with United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy during Arsenal's 2-0 defeat in December 2002.

~ seems like theres always no short of controversy in Arsenal v ManU

Arsenal85
20-09-2006, 03:48 PM
A police spokesman said: 'Greater Manchester Police have received one complaint in relation to an allegation that a water bottle was kicked into the crowd during the Manchester United v Arsenal match on Sunday 17 September.

~ seems like theres always no short of controversy in Arsenal v ManU

Is the reporter a manyoo fan ?

How come the police force in Manchester is called Greater Manchester Police

:s13: :s13: :s13:

LiteMan
20-09-2006, 05:52 PM
In brief, Manchester is a metropolitan, bigger than a normal city, hence the structure of its police forces have some special divisions.

waitforyou
20-09-2006, 06:37 PM
various districts come together and form Greater Manchester, so the police of that area is GMP.

xerces
20-09-2006, 09:06 PM
Who cares bout man utd...hope Arsenal can follow up thier winning way at OT...buy alot of Arsenal players for fantasy league haha

BroadBear
21-09-2006, 01:00 AM

ya but if u r a die-hard fan u need nt place any bets in ur team matches let alone bet against them! Cos if u bet againse them u r hoping for them to lose or draw n u call tt support?? I would say tt is superficial support

United_Treble
21-09-2006, 01:20 AM
ya but if u r a die-hard fan u need nt place any bets in ur team matches let alone bet against them! Cos if u bet againse them u r hoping for them to lose or draw n u call tt support?? I would say tt is superficial support
some kind of match i aready noe who might not win, so it not hoping ur team not winning

Money is always important then whatever loyalty in u towards the club

Since u noe ur team cant make it, so be it, at the same time u noe opponent got chance winning, so why not place the bet, doesnt mean if u nv bet against ur team, ur team will win

United_Treble
21-09-2006, 01:23 AM
不赌就是赢

:s13: :s13: :s13:then there will be no casino, spools whatsoever, use ur brain leh

United_Treble
21-09-2006, 01:24 AM
aiya no point being silly wif money over ur fav club... see la... if sure win then buy lo..........sure win, we all work so hard for what, use ur brain can

RipperJack
21-09-2006, 02:05 AM
so how? relegate them to 2nd class supporters? :s11:

what's with the holier-than-thou attitude?

Jermaine84
21-09-2006, 02:19 AM
jus wanna comment on Ade's goal aginst ManU.. its wat i called 'stabbing' it in.. i notice its the way he score 2 goals in pre-season friendies.. tk note tat Henry n RVP dun do tis.. its almost the same as tappin it in like RVN.. notice tat during Arsenal's games there lotsa tis chance but no one tk.. hopefully Ade can start 'stabbing' more in !!!

yourmother
21-09-2006, 03:07 AM
so how? relegate them to 2nd class supporters? :s11:

what's with the holier-than-thou attitude?
wad BB said make sense, sometimes you know the odd is against arsenal, but i know i would not cash in on this, i can live without that money

RipperJack
21-09-2006, 09:24 AM
wad BB said make sense, sometimes you know the odd is against arsenal, but i know i would not cash in on this, i can live without that money
if you can live without that money, good for you. personally, i dun bet on football matches at all, so i can live without any of those money too, but i digress.

the thing is, arsenal is a football club, not a religion, so dun become a zealot. dun make it sound like a sin against God if you bet against them and condemn fellow supporters who bet against them.

a wager is a wager, it adds spice and excitement to the game. for some fans, betting against arsenal eases the pain when they lose.

dun get started with the i'm a better fan, u r a lousier fan sort of sh!t that kills good will ok? :s27:

MrWeiWei
21-09-2006, 09:31 AM
Who cares bout man utd...hope Arsenal can follow up thier winning way at OT...buy alot of Arsenal players for fantasy league haha
i thought fantasy league only can 3 players per club?

leo_llw
21-09-2006, 11:24 AM
Wednesday September 20, 2006
Guardian Unlimited

Arsenal managing director Keith Edelman today insisted the club are very much "cash-rich" despite an increase in their overall debt to £262.1m.

The cost of the Gunners' move to their new Emirates Stadium impacted on the figures released today by the club's parent company, with overall net debt increased from £153.3m in 2005, a jump of £108.8m. However, with the repayments of the debt now restructured over a longer term and match-day revenues set to rise significantly over the coming seasons, Edelman insists Arsenal are in good financial health.

Article continues

"It is like an individual buying a new bigger house into which you have put more equity - you will have a bigger mortgage, but overall be in a stronger financial position," said Edelman. "The two things are completely separate and you do not say 'you have no money to spend because you have a mortgage'. A mortgage is something you pay off every month, X amount over a number of years then you look how much cash you have in your pocket to spend. Well, we ended the year with £36m of cash in the bank, in our pocket to spend now, so we are very cash-rich, although we have got high debts, which relate effectively to the mortgage on our stadium."

Edelman revealed how the club have been able to restructure their long-term debt. "It is like a mortgage on your house - if you have got to pay it back over 10 years or 25 years, you pay a lot less over 25 years," he added. "Previously we had a 14-year repayment schedule, on which the interest rate was quite high. Because we sold the stadium out and it was being delivered on time and on budget, we were able to go into the financial markets and get a deal which was very attractive for the club which moves the debt out to 25 years and reduces the interest rate by about 2%.

"So we have lowered our debt repayments substantially every year. It is a good deal for the club and it means we have more money to invest in players and team development."

The figures also showed that Arsenal's operating profits before player trading and exceptional items was £11.3m, which was down from £32.6m the previous year. Their group retained profits were £7.9m, £400,000 down from 2005, while the level of pre-tax profits from the sale of players was up to £19.2m. Arsenal's run to the Champions League final meant their football business increased turnover to £132.1m.

Construction on the redevelopment of Highbury into 711 residential units - the majority of which have been pre-sold - is under way, with a £125m bank facility in place to fund the works. "The Highbury redevelopment is a three-year project and we have sold very well," said Edelman. "In 2009-10 when the development is finished, we will get more profit out of that development which pays back some of our debts."

FLiNcHY
21-09-2006, 01:46 PM
i just watched arsenal's 2005/2006 season review dvd. Adebayour scored like 5 goals and dunno how many superb assists in less than half a season.

Is that awesome or what.

I think he just needs to improve on his ball control and finishing like what henry did when he first came to Arsenal. he will be an immense player for arsenal.

yourmother
21-09-2006, 04:29 PM
if you can live without that money, good for you. personally, i dun bet on football matches at all, so i can live without any of those money too, but i digress.

the thing is, arsenal is a football club, not a religion, so dun become a zealot. dun make it sound like a sin against God if you bet against them and condemn fellow supporters who bet against them.

a wager is a wager, it adds spice and excitement to the game. for some fans, betting against arsenal eases the pain when they lose.

dun get started with the i'm a better fan, u r a lousier fan sort of sh!t that kills good will ok? :s27:
nobody is starting the im-a-better-fan-then-you pal, chill, it all in your head. read our replies again.

RipperJack
21-09-2006, 06:18 PM
nobody is starting the im-a-better-fan-then-you pal, chill, it all in your head. read our replies again.
same la. 'your support is superficial, my support more sincere', isn't it the same? :s22:

xerces
21-09-2006, 08:16 PM
i thought fantasy league only can 3 players per club? ya la 3 players i bought against Sheffield Utd.... lolz

deathblade
21-09-2006, 08:28 PM
i just watched arsenal's 2005/2006 season review dvd. Adebayour scored like 5 goals and dunno how many superb assists in less than half a season.

Is that awesome or what.

I think he just needs to improve on his ball control and finishing like what henry did when he first came to Arsenal. he will be an immense player for arsenal.

Issit? Frankly, I havent been giving him too much attention.. haha.. must start giving him more attention.

Wryer
21-09-2006, 08:57 PM
Adebayor did pretty damn well, really. He ran his socks off. But can he do that week in week out? Esp when Henry returns. Really wanna see Baptista, whether in midfield or forward (i prefer to see him as a withdrawn forward, or attacking mid). He hasnt seem to have get to terms with the pace of EPL from the less than 45mins he has had so far.

Arsenal85
21-09-2006, 09:33 PM
不赌就是赢
then there will be no casino, spools whatsoever, use ur brain leh

It is SGPOOLS and not SPOOLS

Please learn to spell before u comment.

Btw I quoted 不赌就是赢 , did I mention anything about casino and sgpools ?

It is fine if you don't use your brain , but please use your eyes !!!

aiya no point being silly wif money over ur fav club... see la... if sure win then buy lo..........
sure win, we all work so hard for what, use ur brain can

You keep on using "use ur brain , use ur brain"
But it seems like you are the one who is not using.

LiteMan
21-09-2006, 11:58 PM
I think we should keep our support of our club based on purely football interests.

If you bet on your favourite club and win money, its a bonus...but we don't have to take it so seriously...right, dudes?

yourmother
22-09-2006, 01:02 AM
same la. 'your support is superficial, my support more sincere', isn't it the same? :s22:
maybe, to some people football is much more than that, it a way of life, a religion like you say.

that why there will always be some who accept it and some who dont.

RipperJack
22-09-2006, 08:28 AM
maybe, to some people football is much more than that, it a way of life, a religion like you say.

that why there will always be some who accept it and some who dont.
well, if one wants to treat football as his religion, so be it, but that's his own business. dun impose his 'lofty' standards on others, unless one day dein appoint the person as Pope of Arsenal =:p

RipperJack
22-09-2006, 08:40 AM
I think we should keep our support of our club based on purely football interests.

If you bet on your favourite club and win money, its a bonus...but we don't have to take it so seriously...right, dudes?
right, dude.

we band together for a common interest, as fans of arsenal fc. just dun start telling others how to live their lives i.e. betting against arsenal is a 'crime' or makes u a less worthy supporter. ridiculous :s22:

xerces
22-09-2006, 06:45 PM
Can we win Sheffield This sat???????

sugarkittyx
22-09-2006, 07:56 PM
of course we can, its just a matter of whether we will.

:)

Sensational
22-09-2006, 08:45 PM
sure 1 la. the confidence sky high now. SURE WIN

Xtnega
22-09-2006, 08:59 PM
if we can't win sheffield united at emirates, can we shift back to highbury? :P

Arsenal85
22-09-2006, 10:29 PM
I can foresee a winning streak in the EPL for us

our fixtures for EPL until October are
Sheffield United, Charlton Athletic, Watford, Reading, and Everton

I hope we dont slip against such weak opponents although Everton is on fire :D

the fixtures can always be check here
http://www.arsenal.com/fixtures.asp?thisNav=fixtures&Title=Arsenal+First+Team+Fixtures

LittleFox
22-09-2006, 10:50 PM
I can foresee a winning streak in the EPL for us

our fixtures for EPL until October are
Sheffield United, Charlton Athletic, Watford, Reading, and Everton

I hope we dont slip against such weak opponents although Everton is on fire :D

the fixtures can always be check here
http://www.arsenal.com/fixtures.asp?thisNav=fixtures&Title=Arsenal+First+Team+Fixtures

wow..against the supposely weaker teams in epl....:)

Souljer
23-09-2006, 12:54 AM
if we can't win sheffield united at emirates, can we shift back to highbury? :P

How to? U tell me... :s31:

http://arseblog.com/images/highbury2006.jpg

yourmother
23-09-2006, 12:59 AM
http://arseblog.com/images/highbury2006.jpg

Sensational
23-09-2006, 09:59 AM
gogogo. beat sheffield untied n rise 2 the top of the table!

RSKeisuke
23-09-2006, 09:55 PM
song man!!! Spurs got crushed 3-0 at Anfield!!

ER
24-09-2006, 12:04 AM
King Henry scored at home...

LittleFox
24-09-2006, 12:05 AM
once again, another frustrating 60mins for the emirates faithful, including myself, the players lack of idea and leader, on top of that, every player is making school boy errors, highlighted by Djourou's dangerous dribbling inside his own penalty box, which the ball ends up under opponent's feet.

Nowadays every single team who visit highbury will play defensive counter, becoz from what i see so far this season, arsenal seems toothless against this type of dull tactics, and which will affect the players phsychologically, like wat we have seen in the past few home games

i hoe wenger can figure a way out as soon as possible

btw, why we are asking Gilberto to play pretty or even flair football?~

sugarkittyx
24-09-2006, 12:07 AM

song man!!! blades got crushed 3-0 at the emirates stadium!!

:s22:

LittleFox
24-09-2006, 12:08 AM
King Henry scored at home...

Yup, tt's aft 2 goals.....

though i have to admit the cross of eboue is brilliant, i think it's pretty meaningless of the 3rd goal... :o

LittleFox
24-09-2006, 12:09 AM
song man!!! blades got crushed 3-0 at the emirates stadium!!

:s22:

beating a team which is bottom of the epl by 3 goals :s22:

cadre80
24-09-2006, 12:32 AM
they have taken over arsenal's place... 4th from bottom... :D

Arsenal85
24-09-2006, 01:05 AM
a 3-0 win over sheffield utd is better than nothing

anyway speaking of spurs
Martin Jol can up lorry liao :s13:

RipperJack
24-09-2006, 01:12 AM
Henry should not play in the centre :crazy:

Only when he started to drift to the left and take on defenders, he seems lethal again. Can practically see the Sheff defenders wetting their pants when Henry started to do more of that in the second half. Whereas they kept Henry pretty quiet by marking him out in the centre in the first half.

Go on, play 4-5-1 more often, Wenger~! :D

-------------Baptista/Adebayor-------------

Henry/Ljunberg-------------------RVP/Hleb

----------Fabregas--------Rosicky----------

-------------------Gilberto-------------------

Gallas------Djourou------Toure------Eboue

------------------Lehmann------------------

xerces
24-09-2006, 01:17 AM
they have taken over arsenal's place... 4th from bottom... :D Haha i dunno what happen to our most wretched rivals... they bout so many players of established rank jus to play like that and i was reminded that they were building a team wif many english player... see what happen when u buy too many inept english player la... Wenger see this long ago :P