View Full Version : Arsenal FC - Ashburton Grove
FLiNcHY
24-09-2006, 01:23 AM
Shiok, i just downloaded Tv ANt, now can watch all the arsenal matches on live streaming already. Finally can watch some Arsenal... it's been too long.
Gallas scored that goal like a striker. sweet volley
that triangular passing by henry, fabregas and djourou almost led to a van persie goal. damn
yourmother
24-09-2006, 01:39 AM
how to make this sweeter, sister neville just handled the ball in the area and it is
reading 1 - manure 0
___jeff
24-09-2006, 03:03 AM
the result flatters us
we are still losing posession and cant consistantly do a decent pass
LittleFox
24-09-2006, 08:30 AM
how to make this sweeter, sister neville just handled the ball in the area and it is
reading 1 - manure 0
Neville...
:s13: :s13: :s13:
evolute8
24-09-2006, 09:07 AM
not bad...
3-0 yesterday
Sensational
24-09-2006, 11:04 AM
ok la the performance ytd. at least we performed better in the 2nd half, chionging n scoring goals. after the 1st goal, united have 2 chiong then scoring the 2nd n 3rd goals were easier
THREADPUNISHER
24-09-2006, 11:11 AM
Aloha Guys and Gals,
New member here... Dropping here to say "Aloha"...
Ciao
:s16:TP :s16:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"My presence here doesnt answer to any person or organisations. Spammers and nonsense replies are everywhere. I am taking things in my own hands for I am the THREADPUNISHER." :s16:TP :s16:
Wryer
24-09-2006, 11:25 AM
Agree with the changing to a 4-3-3 or 4-5-1 formation.
But somehow i think Wenger is gonna play Baptista as a midfielder than a striker. Im very impressed with him always looking goalswards when he has the ball.
xerces
24-09-2006, 01:23 PM
I think all we need is one goal after that it will just coime...Arsenal only got confidence problem only i guess....
RSKeisuke
24-09-2006, 02:30 PM
I think all we need is one goal after that it will just coime...Arsenal only got confidence problem only i guess....
actually, it's how they all are playing us.. no team will be stupid enough to play free attacking football with us.
they know that by playing disciplined defensive in the centre, they will get a point, or maybe three from us if they can nick in that odd counter-attacking goal.
we won 3-0 yesterday because after that first, their resilience just vapourised.
raveness
24-09-2006, 02:54 PM
What a header from Henry!!!
PRICELESS!!! Thats 1 for the archives! :s13:
yourmother
24-09-2006, 04:01 PM
What a header from Henry!!!
PRICELESS!!! Thats 1 for the archives! :s13:
is that his 3rd or 4th header for arsenal only? :o
swalk21
24-09-2006, 04:55 PM
Not very convincing but hack care as long 3 points is in the bag.
xerces
24-09-2006, 06:38 PM
is that his 3rd or 4th header for arsenal only? :o he nt famous for scoring wif headers ma... actually if u see ronaldinho ,he also nvr score much header what lolz... but other thing Henry very zai can ler...
tt32003
24-09-2006, 10:12 PM
See Hlee never start and we sin.
Ljungberg is still most effective on the right wing.
Henry finally getting back to his former self.
And by the rate Gallas is going, he will soon be a new cult hero at Arsenal.
deathblade
24-09-2006, 10:24 PM
Not very convincing but hack care as long 3 points is in the bag.
Thats right, let us build up our confidence and soon, we'll oevrcome defences despite our opponents packing players in their penalty boxes.
deathblade
24-09-2006, 10:28 PM
See Hlee never start and we sin.
Ljungberg is still most effective on the right wing.
Henry finally getting back to his former self.
And by the rate Gallas is going, he will soon be a new cult hero at Arsenal.
Cmon, give Helb a chance. He was brilliant for us last season in the CL. He just needs to shoot more, and he's like Rosicky already.
zhaohan
24-09-2006, 10:46 PM
henry's killing spree starts?
felagund
24-09-2006, 11:14 PM
1st half performance of Henry was terrible to say the least. He kept making mistakes and when his teammates does those, he gave them the eye eg. Adebayor. The real Henry will return but atm his sluggishness is not gonna help and whats worse is that he is the captain but hes behaving like a real prick to his taemmates.
Ljungberg is full of running but so is Hleb. Ljungberg is no longer in his early 20s and have lost a yard of pace alrdy so he can no longer beat him man unlike Hleb, lost the ball once or twice in doing that. Not dissing Ljungberg here, but Hleb is a fresher and better choice once the team starts ticking.
yourmother
24-09-2006, 11:32 PM
Beast set on Gunners stay (http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=417984&CPID=8&clid=3&lid=&title=Beast+set+on+Gunners+stay)
Brazilian international Julio Baptista is determined to turn his loan move into a permanent deal at Arsenal and show he can thrive in The Premiership.
The powerful forward moved to Emirates Stadium on transfer deadline day in a swap deal with Jose Antonio Reyes, after first turning The Gunners down a year before to move to Real Madrid.
Although Baptista has yet to start for his new club, the former Sevilla star says he is enjoying life in North London and can envisage making his loan switch a permanent arrangement.
Reyes is also acclimatising well to his new life in Madrid, and now Baptista, nicknamed 'The Beast', wants to ensure he makes a name for himself in England and on the European stage.
"I am not at Arsenal simply for the loan period," said Baptista in the News of the World.
"I feel that my future is here and I want to show that The Beast can triumph in England.
"One of my big motives in joining Arsenal was to repeat the success they had in Europe last season."
Fellow new arrival William Gallas scored his first goal for The Gunners in Saturday's 3-0 win over Sheffield United, and the former Chelsea defender is already revelling in the style with which Arsenal play the game.
"I'm enjoying being at Arsenal, it's great to be in a side which plays such an attractive game," said the versatile defender.
"Arsenal play the best football of any team in The Premiership and it's a pleasure to be here.
"I'm enjoying playing my football for this team, it's a style I enjoy, and with our last result nobody can rule us out of the title race."
The French international swapped clubs with Ashley Cole on transfer deadline day as he left Chelsea, and Gallas has now revealed that Arsene Wenger's intention to use him as a role model helped convince him Emirates Stadium was the correct destination.
"One of the reasons that Arsene brought me in here was to help guide the young players through and be a bit of a leader, I've never had that before.
"It has made me very happy, that sort of thing is a part of the job I enjoy.
"We have got a brilliant squad, one of the youngest in Europe, and lots of players with huge potential."
Next match would be Home against Porto FC.. anyway gay starhub wont be showing it live again, seems like they are always against us sheesh. Will have to look for links to use pplive and pptv again to catch the match live this tuesday night 26/9/06.
Comfortable 2-1 home win for us.
Souljer
25-09-2006, 12:08 AM
Too bad cant get a glimpse of the new Ronaldinho - Anderson who is playing for Porto. He's quite deadly. Wonder how will our twin Brazilians going to neutralise him.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEskPMbz1Ac
cadre80
25-09-2006, 12:51 AM
Next match would be Home against Porto FC.. anyway gay starhub wont be showing it live again, seems like they are always against us sheesh. Will have to look for links to use pplive and pptv again to catch the match live this tuesday night 26/9/06.
Comfortable 2-1 home win for us.
wtf... i was looking forward to the game... :(
by the way... the arsenal win might just trigger the reverse of what manU did to end the 49 match unbeaten run... hopefully this will mark the start of ManU's demise... :D
SueDE_84
25-09-2006, 02:39 AM
Yup, tt's aft 2 goals.....
though i have to admit the cross of eboue is brilliant, i think it's pretty meaningless of the 3rd goal... :o
wat do u mean by a meaningless goal? :s8: a goal is a goal...a win is a win...at least we gotten out 1st win at the Emirates Stadium...n btw we not playing at HIGHBURY liao
SueDE_84
25-09-2006, 02:44 AM
yes FINALLY our 1st win at our new home!but a rather lacklustre performance in the 1st half...realli didn't get their act 2gether...onli after Gallas' goal then we started playing the way we used to play...Henry is definitely back to his best!!!starting to kill teams liao...his header is realli brilliant...realli rare to see him score wit his head...hope we can see this kind of performances week in week out in future...now moving on to Porto
Jango
25-09-2006, 01:37 PM
An interesting interview with our wonder kid.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,278-2372132,00.html
xerces
25-09-2006, 04:40 PM
Too bad cant get a glimpse of the new Ronaldinho - Anderson who is playing for Porto. He's quite deadly. Wonder how will our twin Brazilians going to neutralise him.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEskPMbz1Ac haha Soccer is not a 1 man game think we can win la no problem....
yourmother
25-09-2006, 07:49 PM
Arsene Wenger says he is steering clear of sentiment as he approaches 10 years in charge of Arsenal, preferring instead to focus on his team's upcoming challenges.
The Frenchman has made a huge impact in North London as well as on English football as a whole since moving from Japan to Highbury in 1996, with his Gunners sides winning three Premiership titles and four FA Cups.
With a decade of service at the top level of the English game nearly completed Wenger could be forgiven for taking a moment to bask in his achievements, but the cultured boss says, in typical managerial fashion, that he is entirely focused on claiming his first home win at Emirates Stadium against Sheffield United on Saturday.
"It doesn't have any special meaning to me because what is important to me is only tomorrow's game," said Wenger.
"I have never been somebody who collects prizes or photographs so I have nothing at home at all. I must have some medals but I don't know where they are.
"The only thing that is interesting for me is the future. That's why time passes quickly.
"In my office at home you would see I am a football manager but nowhere else in my house.
"When I don't work anymore and I sit there living in the past, maybe I will try to put things together but at the moment, no.
"What is important is Sheffield United and if everyone could forget I have been here 10 years, I would be happy."
However Wenger did pick out his side's incredible unbeaten run as a special highlight of his time in charge, as 'The Invincibles' went the entire 2003/2004 season without losing, before beating Nottingham Forest's record for consecutive unbeaten games.
"I think going 49 games unbeaten is a special achievement for me," Wenger added.
"To start and finish the season without losing a game, that is when you feel close to doing a good job the most.
"There's not much room for improvement. Our job is to take the maximum out of the team.
"When you go a season unbeaten, you're not far from taking the best out of the team."
Wenger has become part of the furniture in North London and has staked a strong claim to be considered the greatest ever manager for The Gunners.
After spending a decade with the London outfit Wenger admits he has formed a strong emotional bond that would prevent him ever managing another English side, but the former Monaco boss says he will not be leading the club for another ten years.
"I feel you never make 10 years at the club without feeling, somewhere, a deep attachment to the club.
"I do not see myself now in England somewhere other than at Arsenal.
"A management story is a love story, you get love stories but they don't always finish well.
"But I know one thing, I will always feel a deep attachment to this club because it was something special in my life.
"But another 10 years? No, it is a bit too much."
LittleFox
25-09-2006, 08:37 PM
wat do u mean by a meaningless goal? :s8: a goal is a goal...a win is a win...at least we gotten out 1st win at the Emirates Stadium...n btw we not playing at HIGHBURY liao
against one of the worst defence of epl we struggled for 60mins....
felagund
25-09-2006, 09:04 PM
Porto diving team http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon8.gifhttp://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon8.gifhttp://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon8.gif
i think the blades defenced well... they even got a player to just to man mark rosicky.
i think they got their tactic spotted on.
man marking rosicky is quite an effective method to reduce his long range shooting abilities...
no other midfield that day really go for long cannon.
Wryer
25-09-2006, 10:39 PM
Sad to say almost most EPL teams don't play football when they come to Emirates. They know by playing ultra defensive football, they might nick a point. Its really hard to break down a team when they just do nothing but defend. But after scoring the first goal, things will get easier. Which is why the need to improve Arsenal's setpiece is crucial.
agree. i think rosicky's corner is quite good. anybody notices it?
Wryer
26-09-2006, 12:53 AM
Sadly, its not the delivery. Rosicky, Fabregas, RVP whips in decent corners. But the players in the box are not aggressive enough in attacking the ball. The only ones i see putting their heads in the line are Gilberto and Toure, the rest just don't attack the ball. Hopefully Gallas and Baptista will improve this.
felagund
26-09-2006, 01:04 AM
Don't need to worry, Gallas has been proven as a good finisher when it comes to corners and Baptista? Let's just say him and Beckham make quite a deadly duo. Ya, agreed that we need to improve our set piece so that we can score a goal early. Cos if we do that, teams start to attack abit to try to draw level and that's when our playing style is the best.
yourmother
26-09-2006, 04:00 AM
Tomas Rosicky Interview (http://www.sendspace.com/file/rtkm2j)
Tomas Rosicky spoke to Arsenal TV Online after the 3-0 win over Sheffield United on Saturday. Standing in the tunnel of Emirates Stadium, the Czech midfielder discussed the issues of the day:
* the importance of a first Premiership win at home
* why the win at Manchester United made all the difference
* his goal at Hamburg
* the Porto tie in the Champions League
Jermaine84
26-09-2006, 04:06 AM
imo Adebayor is getting better n better.. he might be given more epl start then Henry bar injuries or suspension.. Wenger see him as the phyical presence to fight epl's bully boy
SueDE_84
26-09-2006, 12:18 PM
yah we played badly n struggled...tat i tink underlines on our recent performances so far...but still we broke the duck...like i said a goal is a goal n a win is a win...i dun wanna start a debate here...these is juz my view of it..peace
xerces
26-09-2006, 04:12 PM
yah we played badly n struggled...tat i tink underlines on our recent performances so far...but still we broke the duck...like i said a goal is a goal n a win is a win...i dun wanna start a debate here...these is juz my view of it..peace I actually thought Arsenal played Ok as in we get alot of possesion, alot of opportunities on goal...u must think that played total defense and counter attack... so i think its really hard for Arsenal...even though they are the worst def in EPL but their GK was on Form then...
netsuAi
26-09-2006, 04:15 PM
zzz... last season's CL finalists... and 2 consecutive delayed telecasts...
Wryer
26-09-2006, 04:43 PM
I don't understand. They rather show Hamburg game than to show Arsenal vs Porto? I just don't get it.
xerces
26-09-2006, 05:08 PM
I don't understand. They rather show Hamburg game than to show Arsenal vs Porto? I just don't get it. what match are star fug showing...
Wryer
26-09-2006, 06:52 PM
Hamburg and Real games..
Anyone know of any internet feeds? Or worse comes to worse, wake up at 5am to watch delayed telecast.
yourmother
26-09-2006, 07:56 PM
what time is the match, not delay one, see if i can find a stream
2.45 AM tonight.
waitforyou
26-09-2006, 11:10 PM
what match are star fug showing...
CSKA v Hamburg @ 12.25am
Real v Kiev @ 2am
Benfica v Man Utd @ 2.30am
waitforyou
26-09-2006, 11:12 PM
I don't understand. They rather show Hamburg game than to show Arsenal vs Porto? I just don't get it.
because Hamburg game starts early at 12.25am, its really a bonus they are able to show an extra game tonite
LiteMan
27-09-2006, 12:10 AM
I actually thought Arsenal played Ok as in we get alot of possesion, alot of opportunities on goal...u must think that played total defense and counter attack... so i think its really hard for Arsenal...even though they are the worst def in EPL but their GK was on Form then...
When Arsenal fails to score, we make opposing goalkeepers look good, and jack up their price and transfer fees. So in some way, even a poor Arsenal performance is good for the economy.
*chuckles*
swalk21
27-09-2006, 12:12 AM
which channel has live feed?
Wryer
27-09-2006, 12:14 AM
because Hamburg game starts early at 12.25am, its really a bonus they are able to show an extra game tonite
Ok, my bad. Didnt notice the timing.
But still! i want my arsenal..
SueDE_84
27-09-2006, 12:57 AM
wth no Live Arsenal game again?! :s27:
Jermaine84
27-09-2006, 02:30 AM
http://arsenalclips.blogspot.com/
watching its Stream 1 at the moment veri nice..
yourmother
27-09-2006, 02:45 AM
watching its Stream 1 at the moment veri nice..
thanks for the link, trying out now
edit: very good quality, thanks again :D
cadre80
27-09-2006, 02:50 AM
yeap... very good quality...
kolo just got a goal disallowed... argh...
yourmother
27-09-2006, 02:53 AM
yeah we have been robbed.
cadre80
27-09-2006, 03:24 AM
henry 1 - 0 porto
yourmother
henry 1 - 0 porto
another header in the space of a week, who say henry can head :D
Xtnega
GOAL!!!!! HENRY HEADER AGAIN!!!
Jermaine84
27-09-2006, 03:32 AM
i got prob watching Stream #1 so got to make do with Stream #2 wide screen lol
Great cross from Eboue le ~
Xtnega
27-09-2006, 03:35 AM
wah, reyes doing well at madrid. scored another goal :)
yourmother
27-09-2006, 03:37 AM
wah, reyes doing well at madrid. scored another goal :)
guess he really is only suited for the spanish game
cadre80
27-09-2006, 03:49 AM
hleb can shoot???????
wow... 2-0 ...
WOOHOO!!!
Xtnega
27-09-2006, 03:50 AM
goal rush incoming!!
yourmother
27-09-2006, 03:53 AM
hleb can shoot???????
wow... 2-0 ...
WOOHOO!!!
for a while i though hleb forgot how to shoot too :s13:
but all the credit for that goal should go to Gallas imo.
Xtnega
27-09-2006, 04:06 AM
porto plan B. dive2win
Jermaine84
27-09-2006, 04:38 AM
anyone can tell mi how Rosicky's tackle was baniahed a yellow ?? why theres no penalty for the block on Fabregas ??
yourmother
27-09-2006, 04:42 AM
anyone can tell mi how Rosicky's tackle was baniahed a yellow ?? why theres no penalty for the block on Fabregas ??
because the ref got it all wrong
tt32003
27-09-2006, 07:09 AM
Now we may have a problem.
Gallas is out with a hamstring injury for a few weeks.
Djorou is also injured.
We may not have enough defenders for this weekend.
FLiNcHY
27-09-2006, 07:30 AM
Wenger needs to quickly scout another ivory coast left back. Hahaha. Cuz eboue is freaking awesome
That was just an insane cross!!
Two of the best defenders in the world are ivory coast defenders. Plus gallas. So we only need a left back.
I don't know how good clichy will be when he comes back.
Cuz hoyte just isn't good at the left back position.
felagund
27-09-2006, 07:53 AM
No more african guys for us. Yes, I agree that they are physically superior and at times technically better (see Eboue and Toure), but if they form the core of our squad, we will defintely be crippled during the AFCs.
eez_enegue
27-09-2006, 09:30 AM
Its really heartwarming to see the them celebrating together after scoring. This is a sign of a healthy and happy team playing.
Henry, as the captain was always quick to aknowledge the assists of his teamsmates, regardless he scored or not. .He certainly live up to his name as the King. Always leading by example. .
I now jus hope the team doesnt get into a state of complacency . .
Cheers!!
Wryer
27-09-2006, 10:21 AM
Brilliant match with brilliant win.
The positives have already been mentioned. Sorry for being a skeptic, is anyone of you starting to lose patience on RVP? I don't know cz we know how much talent he has, after scoring some amazing goals. But he just don't turn up enough.
Great win nonetheless.. blink of an eye and its 4 wins on the trot.
swalk21
27-09-2006, 03:35 PM
Good one, one more victory and we can concentrate on EPL first.
Jermaine84
27-09-2006, 04:04 PM
Brilliant match with brilliant win.
The positives have already been mentioned. Sorry for being a skeptic, is anyone of you starting to lose patience on RVP? I don't know cz we know how much talent he has, after scoring some amazing goals. But he just don't turn up enough.
Great win nonetheless.. blink of an eye and its 4 wins on the trot.
to mi he is one of the sharper finisher in Arsenal. i read TNP n the data show tat he got second highest shot on target(5) n joint top in the number of shots(10). he would score soon if he go on like tis.
Jermaine84
27-09-2006, 04:09 PM
abt the defence 'crisis' as Gallas n Djourou getting injuried.. might be solve if Senderos recover asap
http://www.arsenal-mania.com/news/3030007/Senderos-back-in-action-soon.html
tink best not get another African defender as AFC really will cripple the team..
Sensational
27-09-2006, 05:11 PM
woot. nice win man arsenal. proud of them!
evolute8
27-09-2006, 06:15 PM
UEFA Champions League
Tuesday 17/10/2006 18:45 PFC CSKA Moskva -- : -- Arsenal
Wednesday 01/11/2006 19:45 Arsenal -- : -- PFC CSKA Moskva
Tuesday 21/11/2006 19:45 Arsenal -- : -- Hamburger SV
Wednesday 06/12/2006 19:45 FC Porto -- : -- Arsenal
English Premier League
Saturday 30/9/2006 14:00 Charlton Athletic -- : -- Arsenal
Saturday 14/10/2006 14:00 Arsenal -- : -- Watford
Sunday 22/10/2006 15:00 Reading -- : -- Arsenal
Saturday 28/10/2006 14:00 Arsenal -- : -- Everton
tt32003
27-09-2006, 09:35 PM
UEFA Champions League
Tuesday 17/10/2006 18:45 PFC CSKA Moskva -- : -- Arsenal
Wednesday 01/11/2006 19:45 Arsenal -- : -- PFC CSKA Moskva
Tuesday 21/11/2006 19:45 Arsenal -- : -- Hamburger SV
Wednesday 06/12/2006 19:45 FC Porto -- : -- Arsenal
English Premier League
Saturday 30/9/2006 14:00 Charlton Athletic -- : -- Arsenal
Saturday 14/10/2006 14:00 Arsenal -- : -- Watford
Sunday 22/10/2006 15:00 Reading -- : -- Arsenal
Saturday 28/10/2006 14:00 Arsenal -- : -- Everton
Actually very good for us to go to Moscow in October before the start of winter and the pitch starts freezing up.
Don't tell me winter in Russia starts so early man. Can't be right ?
evolute8
27-09-2006, 09:46 PM
all those matches in color can buy arsenal -1½
tt32003
27-09-2006, 09:50 PM
http://www.espnstar.com/epl/epl_newsdetail_1974294.html
Cashley Cow's agent suspended for 18 months by EPL.
tt32003
27-09-2006, 09:51 PM
Prof Wenger said that Henry can be tremendous in the air.
Now that he starts scoring with his head as well, how many goals will he get this season ?
30 ?
35 ?
Mankul
27-09-2006, 10:17 PM
Eboue's cross to Henry is WORLD CLASS... thats not the first time he gave that kinda cross... against sheffield United he also gave taht kinda cross but HEnry headed it wide.. superb man Ebouce.. the BEst Right back in the world.... And Gallas is awesome.... he can power his way pass opponents goodness!!! ARsenal is formidable! ...except for the lack of another **...
Wryer
27-09-2006, 10:23 PM
Eboue cross was brilliant, he must continue to do so. This wasnt his first time, it was his second time ONLY. To be honest, his crossing and final ball was horrendous until last week. Just hope its not a fluke.
Do we need another centreback? I don't think so. Im very impressed by the Swiss duo. Both of them are gonna be the future centrebacks of Arsenal. 4 high quality centre backs we have. No team will escape crisis when they have 3 centrebacks injured. We do need cover and possibly replacement for Gilberto tho. Song just don't cut it. But hell, the transfer window is months away..
Im still waiting to see Baptista unleash his full power.
xerces
27-09-2006, 11:14 PM
yea the gunners had a great game... but i think we are still improving...lolz
yourmother
27-09-2006, 11:31 PM
Eboue cross was brilliant, he must continue to do so. This wasnt his first time, it was his second time ONLY. To be honest, his crossing and final ball was horrendous until last week. Just hope its not a fluke.
Do we need another centreback? I don't think so. Im very impressed by the Swiss duo. Both of them are gonna be the future centrebacks of Arsenal. 4 high quality centre backs we have. No team will escape crisis when they have 3 centrebacks injured. We do need cover and possibly replacement for Gilberto tho. Song just don't cut it. But hell, the transfer window is months away..
Im still waiting to see Baptista unleash his full power.
lol yeah everytime you will see eboue go on a brilliant run, getting past players with his pace and whip in a cross....... to row Z. :s13:
Now his final ball has improve a lot a lot.
Sensational
28-09-2006, 05:07 PM
how can lauren get his place back man!!!!
Wryer
28-09-2006, 05:44 PM
When Clichy, Senderos, Lauren, Diaby returns. We really have immense depth in the squad. Throw in the Bendters, Velas, Meridas, Barazites, our future is looking real good. I love what they say abt Arsenal. Its evergreen.
xerces
28-09-2006, 05:58 PM
Eboue's cross to Henry is WORLD CLASS... thats not the first time he gave that kinda cross... against sheffield United he also gave taht kinda cross but HEnry headed it wide.. superb man Ebouce.. the BEst Right back in the world.... And Gallas is awesome.... he can power his way pass opponents goodness!!! ARsenal is formidable! ...except for the lack of another **... I really cant help but feel irritated by ur 2pid pic in ur sig.... that 4-2 result was so yesterday... and beside why dun you put the 1-0 win at old trafford instead....=.=
xerces
28-09-2006, 06:04 PM
YEa Lets win it for Wenger!!!
Midfielder Freddie Ljungberg believes winning the Champions League would be a fitting way to celebrate Arsène Wenger's ten years at the club.
Ljungberg himself has been at the club for most of Wenger's reign and has seen the style and ethos of the club tranform and move forward.
With Wenger's ten year anniversary at the helm this year, Ljungberg believes the club is better placed than ever to challenge for Europe's top prize.
"It would be dream come true and an amazing feeling for the manager if we could win it this season," Ljungberg said.
"The best way to describe him is that he is a great coach and has brought a lot of success to the club.
"When he arrived, Arsenal were not doing that great and were not at the top of the table. But in his first full season in charge they won the title, so he turned things around quite quickly.
"He has brought a lot of trophies to the club. Maybe it is the way we play, which is a very technical way of playing and our fans enjoy watching it – even the neutrals enjoy it. Maybe that will be one of the biggest things that people will remember about him.
Ljungberg points to last season's loss in the Champions League final as proof that Arsenal can be a dominant force this season.
"We are still disappointed that we could not win the Champions League last year and still feel disappointed by the equaliser that Barcelona scored in the final. But when you come so close, a lot of people say you are even more determined.
"I don't feel we have got a point to prove because we played really well in the final. We were not happy with the outcome, but if we can win this time then it will be a great feeling."
Jermaine84
28-09-2006, 06:07 PM
Lauren can get his place back during AFC lo..
yourmother
28-09-2006, 06:14 PM
I really cant help but feel irritated by ur 2pid pic in ur sig.... that 4-2 result was so yesterday... and beside why dun you put the 1-0 win at old trafford instead....=.=
and he only appear when we are going on a winning streak :s8:
Jermaine84
28-09-2006, 06:25 PM
yo. Wryer, whose tis Barazites guy ??
waitforyou
28-09-2006, 07:12 PM
Lauren can get his place back during AFC lo..
he's not playing for Cameroon anymore?
Jermaine84
28-09-2006, 07:20 PM
he's not playing for Cameroon anymore?
he retire from intertaional yrs ago thou i not sure the reason or when he retire.
xerces
28-09-2006, 07:31 PM
and he only appear when we are going on a winning streak :s8: ya lor.... cant help but agreed wif deathblade liao lolz....
xerces
28-09-2006, 07:33 PM
Lauren can get his place back during AFC lo.. i doubt so... he out for too long ler...i think eboue can really take his place....he just need more games... but i really hope senderos and clichy come back soon...
LittleFox
28-09-2006, 08:49 PM
Job Well Done.... :D
Wryer
28-09-2006, 08:51 PM
yo. Wryer, whose tis Barazites guy ??
Nacer Barazite. A newbie to Arsenal. But is very promising so far. Dutch CM.
http://www.arsenal.com/player.asp?plid=65600&clid=4436
Looks like a young Rosicky.
xerces
28-09-2006, 09:01 PM
haha its Wenger 10 yr in charge...actually if not for wenger i don't think i will support Arsenal... maybe i go for liverpool...he change Arsenal game of play and together with bergkamp i really like to watch haha... Cheers
yea he deserved Arsenal job for Life...
Arsenal vice chairman David Dein has offered Arsene Wenger a job for life as he celebrates his 10th anniversary as manager of the London club.
http://soccernet-att.espn.go.com/design05/DJ/20051019/wenger_bongarts.jpg
Bongarts/GettyImages
Wenger: The early years.
'We want him for the rest of his career,' said Dein. 'If he wanted to give up the tracksuit he'd be invaluable in the boardroom in a technical role.' Since Wenger's arrival from J-league side Nagoya Grampus Eight in 1996 the Frenchman has won three Premiership titles and four FA Cups to help him become one of the most respected figures in football. Despite all he has accomplished during his decade at Highbury the 57-year-old former AS Monaco coach has no thoughts of retiring. 'We have a young team and want to continue developing,' Wenger said. 'Reaching the Champions League final last season gave us belief.' The Frenchman has had a number of run ins with Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson during his time in England but former Red Devils skipper Roy Keane, now manager at Sunderland, has immense respect for his mentor's long-time foe. Keane said: 'He has done a brilliant job at Arsenal. I watched them last week against United and they were outstanding. 'The way they play the game, the way he leads himself - I have to say, the way he keeps his head or he seems to keep his head, even at the start of the season when people were starting to doubt Arsenal - maybe myself being one of them - I thought United would beat them. 'A manager at any top club like an Arsenal, a Liverpool, a United, has obviously got special talent. 'I read something about him the other day and a thing he said about football: he said some people live off football and some people live for football. 'He clearly lives for the game, I will give him that, and all credit to him. I wish him well
tt32003
28-09-2006, 09:28 PM
Hey guys.
Lets have some congratulatory messasages on Prof Wenger's 10th anniversary at Arsenal.
3 EPL titles.
4 FA cup titles.
2 double.
One unbeaten season
One Spanking new stadium with 60000 capacity
And 15 minutes away from winning the CL with 10 men.
Well done and thank you.
deathblade
28-09-2006, 09:35 PM
and he only appear when we are going on a winning streak :s8:
Yes. Spot on. You have an eye for the glory hunters.
yourmother
28-09-2006, 09:41 PM
Yes. Spot on. You have an eye for the glory hunters.
is that a praise? :s39:
chekseng80
28-09-2006, 10:42 PM
hi fellow gunners, i am gunner from malaysia! just came to work at singapore 2 months ago. Where you guys watch arsenal match together? any official fans club? would like to join u all!
AW's 10th anniversary with arsenal! the kind of revolution he brought to arsenal and english football as a whole deserved a chapter in football history. Highbury alwiz the best pitch of the year, colney is one of the best if not da best training ground in the world. Arsene made it! Hopefully "Wengerball" style of play will become a tradition for Arsenal FC!
We are getting our way back to the best form. Gallas's hamstring could be a serious interruption to our great form. We have yet to see baptista who i think will be a huge player for us and offers us something we do not have at the moment. AW alwiz give new player 6 months to adapt, watch out baptista after new year!
Not sure u guys notice our reserve team or not. Merida can be an even better player than cesc! He is physically stronger than cesc at 16. He can take long shoots and his dribbling is amazing.
dle4e_2005
28-09-2006, 10:44 PM
Too bad cant see the CL match on t.v to check out Walcott..
Cant wait to see his 1st goal for Arsenal's first team...
Wryer
28-09-2006, 11:52 PM
Wenger revolutionized not only Arsenal, but EPL too. He showed that you can win with style and swagger. And showed everyone that money isnt everything in football. Ensuring a constant flow of young talents will always be beneficial for a team. How sweet.
Souljer
29-09-2006, 12:06 AM
hi fellow gunners, i am gunner from malaysia! just came to work at singapore 2 months ago. Where you guys watch arsenal match together? any official fans club? would like to join u all!
AW's 10th anniversary with arsenal! the kind of revolution he brought to arsenal and english football as a whole deserved a chapter in football history. Highbury alwiz the best pitch of the year, colney is one of the best if not da best training ground in the world. Arsene made it! Hopefully "Wengerball" style of play will become a tradition for Arsenal FC!
We are getting our way back to the best form. Gallas's hamstring could be a serious interruption to our great form. We have yet to see baptista who i think will be a huge player for us and offers us something we do not have at the moment. AW alwiz give new player 6 months to adapt, watch out baptista after new year!
Not sure u guys notice our reserve team or not. Merida can be an even better player than cesc! He is physically stronger than cesc at 16. He can take long shoots and his dribbling is amazing.
Welcome. The Gooners of Singapore gathered at The Liz, a pub located at the Elizabeth Hotel besides York Hotel along Mt Elizabeth.
http://www.streetdirectory.com/genmapphp.cgi?x=28268.2359&y=32281.7469&iconlist=star1,28268.2359,32281.7469;&level=6&sizex=430&sizey=
felagund
29-09-2006, 12:47 AM
The future's bright, the future's Red and White.
felagund
29-09-2006, 12:51 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/5382632.stm
I half expected him to have leather patches on the elbows of his jacket.
Traditionally full-backs were the worst-paid players in a football team - and we were no exception. [ Look Cashley ]
But Arsene looked at what we were getting paid and said "that's not right" and we were given immediate wage rises.
He also changed the way we prepared for games. In my book, there's nobody better at preparing a player for a match than Arsene Wenger.
When he arrived at the club I was 32 and the rest of the "famous back four" of Tony Adams, Martin Keown and Nigel Winterburn were over 30 as well.
Yet we were all pretty open to Arsene's new ideas. We were at an age when you begin to get a few niggles and start thinking that retirement isn't too far away.
Arsene told us he could extend our careers if we followed his advice, so we listened.
I played six years under him before I retired, so his methods can't be too bad.
George Graham had taught me the art of defending, both as an individual and as part of a unit, and I've got a lot to thank him for.
He laid the foundations for me to become the player I eventually turned into, but Arsene released the shackles.
I was allowed to venture forward more and told not to worry about making mistakes
Sensational
29-09-2006, 03:49 PM
cool man. wenger rox!!!!!!!!!
Sensational
29-09-2006, 03:50 PM
he was the one tt made mi support arsenal lo. i liked their attacking flair
xerces
29-09-2006, 08:57 PM
Wenger revolutionized not only Arsenal, but EPL too. He showed that you can win with style and swagger. And showed everyone that money isnt everything in football. Ensuring a constant flow of young talents will always be beneficial for a team. How sweet. If u haven know it was wenger who introduce diet to footballers.... befor ethat Arsenal was plague with acholic problem e.g Tony Adam... he supported Adam and help him quit drinking.
evolute8
29-09-2006, 09:01 PM
is there any arsenal cafe/club in singapore ?
LittleFox
29-09-2006, 09:07 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/5382632.stm
I half expected him to have leather patches on the elbows of his jacket.
Traditionally full-backs were the worst-paid players in a football team - and we were no exception. [ Look Cashley ]
But Arsene looked at what we were getting paid and said "that's not right" and we were given immediate wage rises.
He also changed the way we prepared for games. In my book, there's nobody better at preparing a player for a match than Arsene Wenger.
When he arrived at the club I was 32 and the rest of the "famous back four" of Tony Adams, Martin Keown and Nigel Winterburn were over 30 as well.
Yet we were all pretty open to Arsene's new ideas. We were at an age when you begin to get a few niggles and start thinking that retirement isn't too far away.
Arsene told us he could extend our careers if we followed his advice, so we listened.
I played six years under him before I retired, so his methods can't be too bad.
George Graham had taught me the art of defending, both as an individual and as part of a unit, and I've got a lot to thank him for.
He laid the foundations for me to become the player I eventually turned into, but Arsene released the shackles.
I was allowed to venture forward more and told not to worry about making mistakes
i believe this is by lee dixon.... :D
xerces
29-09-2006, 09:42 PM
is tere any arsenal cafe/club in singapore ? Elizabeth Hotel lo... one of this day will go but currently everytime watch wif my fren at my house
deathblade
30-09-2006, 12:15 AM
is that a praise? :s39:
Hello.. Can try not to read everything under a microscope? I mean what I have posted. No hidden meaning. That guy is a turd.
yourmother
30-09-2006, 01:49 AM
Hello.. Can try not to read everything under a microscope? I mean what I have posted. No hidden meaning. That guy is a turd.
noted with thanks
Kiwi8
30-09-2006, 01:54 AM
lin lao bu... u are too sensitive liao... hence the misunderstanding. :D :D :D :D
Mankul
30-09-2006, 10:49 AM
Ooooooh! Aaaaahh!!! ooooo laaa laaaa!!! Gooooooooooooooooooooo Arsenal!
evolute8
30-09-2006, 11:44 AM
Elizabeth Hotel lo... one of this day will go but currently everytime watch wif my fren at my house
where is elizabeth hotel ?
the bar in it ?
BadCompany
30-09-2006, 12:25 PM
where is elizabeth hotel ?
the bar in it ?
See your private mail.
FLiNcHY
30-09-2006, 12:49 PM
Arsenal charlton at 10pm. So early..... i must wake up at 10am
Jermaine84
30-09-2006, 02:29 PM
Arsenal charlton at 10pm. So early..... i must wake up at 10ameither try to slp when got free time.. or drink some coffine ba..
mi got Adebayor, Fabregas, Ljungberg, Rosicky n Eboue in my Fantasy league le !!!
xerces
30-09-2006, 03:05 PM
either try to slp when got free time.. or drink some coffine ba..
mi got Adebayor, Fabregas, Ljungberg, Rosicky n Eboue in my Fantasy league le !!! can buy so many meh? i wanna add henry but no money only got Fabregas , lehmann and Hleb tot 3 is maximuim
zhaohan
30-09-2006, 04:07 PM
either try to slp when got free time.. or drink some coffine ba..
mi got Adebayor, Fabregas, Ljungberg, Rosicky n Eboue in my Fantasy league le !!!
you playing yahoo?
Sensational
30-09-2006, 07:27 PM
3 is max wad. i oni gt henry n fabregas lo.
Mormegil
01-10-2006, 12:04 AM
van persie is on fire!!! wat kind of outrageous volley is that! haha
with chelsea, liverpool dropping pts, perfect week for the gunners it has been.
Wryer
01-10-2006, 12:06 AM
What madness shot is that.
I don't have to see the rest of the season, thats one of the top 3 strikes we are gonna see this season.
xerces
01-10-2006, 12:07 AM
Orite gd game by Arsenal!!!Hleb is outstanding today couple wif Van Persie Volley great nite!
sugarkittyx
01-10-2006, 12:08 AM
i thought charlton had been threatening our lead just now, while watching i was so afraid that they'll equalise and start defending all the way, thankfully hasselbaink had missed chance after chance, i thought he was a major threat from charlton.
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 12:09 AM
dunnoe wat to say abt RVP, one moment he is like God, the next, he missed from 1 yard out :(
Wryer
01-10-2006, 12:11 AM
I hate to see this, But the dream Toure-Gallas partnership don't look impressive. Neither of them have the aerial ability to clear the ball first time like Senderos or Djourou. I think keeping Gallas at the left with Senderos or Djourou partnering Toure. This back 4 will look much more balanced. Hoyte is not good enough.
cadre80
01-10-2006, 12:11 AM
If Arsenal win their game in hand, they'll be within 2 pts of Chelsea... nicceee...
RVP with a candidate for the goal of the season...
they should've won 8 or 9-1 though... :D
cadre80
01-10-2006, 12:12 AM
Orite gd game by Arsenal!!!Hleb is outstanding today couple wif Van Persie Volley great nite!
yeap!!!
hleb looks to me... like the old ljungberg... hmm...
cadre80
01-10-2006, 12:13 AM
What madness shot is that.
I don't have to see the rest of the season, thats one of the top 3 strikes we are gonna see this season.
top 3 strikes and top 3 misses in one game ALL by one player... :s13:
now THAT's an entertaining game...
Mankul
01-10-2006, 12:17 AM
wah super cross from Eboue ... this Ebouse dunno got how many assist cross already.... he's SUPER!
Wryer
01-10-2006, 12:19 AM
Im really impressed by Hleb. He is extremely skilful and gets out of tight situations better than any player in Arsenal. He provides a lot of penetration alongside with Eboue. Our legendary "left side" has now shifted to "right side". Not only he is a threat offensively, his tracking back and willingness to stick to players and get back the ball is amazing, thats hussle play at its best!
On the other hand, i can really say Ljungberg's place is under threat. Not that he will be sold (Wenger is very loyal to his old guards, as they are to him), but he will now be squad player. Hleb, Rosicky, RVP are better choices at wing positions than him, for now. He only earns freekicks and his trademark runs are few and far between.
xerces
01-10-2006, 12:50 AM
dunnoe wat to say abt RVP, one moment he is like God, the next, he missed from 1 yard out :( Tats what Henry did in the past rmb? :)
xerces
01-10-2006, 12:52 AM
yeap!!!
hleb looks to me... like the old ljungberg... hmm... nahhh.... Ljunberg at his best is is penetrating run and deadly accuracy at finishing think got 1 season he score 12-17 goals. Hleb have good feet at dribbling and can pick out player better.
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 01:02 AM
I hate to see this, But the dream Toure-Gallas partnership don't look impressive. Neither of them have the aerial ability to clear the ball first time like Senderos or Djourou. I think keeping Gallas at the left with Senderos or Djourou partnering Toure. This back 4 will look much more balanced. Hoyte is not good enough.
Gallas was not 100% fit... :(
earthyblue
01-10-2006, 01:51 AM
Im really impressed by Hleb. He is extremely skilful and gets out of tight situations better than any player in Arsenal. He provides a lot of penetration alongside with Eboue. Our legendary "left side" has now shifted to "right side". Not only he is a threat offensively, his tracking back and willingness to stick to players and get back the ball is amazing, thats hussle play at its best!
On the other hand, i can really say Ljungberg's place is under threat. Not that he will be sold (Wenger is very loyal to his old guards, as they are to him), but he will now be squad player. Hleb, Rosicky, RVP are better choices at wing positions than him, for now. He only earns freekicks and his trademark runs are few and far between.
Hleb and Eboue connection is very telepathic. Ljungberg is more of cheonging his way through thus in terms of his telepathy with Eboue, its not as gd as Hleb with Eboue.
Thats also why Wenger preferred putting Hleb on right and Ljungberg on left. Rosicky still new and finding his foot in EPL. With more and more matches coming up, Arsenal need all players because Wingers get tired more easily.
Ljungberg place will never be under threat because he is in a class of his own. The way u see him play, u will see the fire and passion in his eyes and Henry's. Nowadays we don't see so much of such kind of players.
Wenger picked out Ljungberg from Halmstads and I remembered his 1st season was mostly as sub. But after 2 seasons, he starts to change his play and its his play which makes his a deadly winger.
FLiNcHY
01-10-2006, 07:38 AM
A new classic Wenger quote to go into his collection
Later, the home side were aghast when Hasselbaink's bicycle kick caught Gallas on the arm and the referee refused them a penalty.
Asked for his opinion, Wenger simply smiled and replied: "I think with the 10 years, my sight doesn't get better."
FLiNcHY
01-10-2006, 07:43 AM
Later, the home side were aghast when Hasselbaink's bicycle kick caught Gallas on the arm and the referee refused them a penalty.
Asked for his opinion, Wenger simply smiled and replied: "I think with the 10 years, my sight doesn't get better."
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 08:26 AM
Typical AW reply.... :s13:
deathblade
01-10-2006, 08:44 AM
Yes.... Finally RVP scored!!
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 09:00 AM
no Doubt, the Man Of the Moment is RVP :D
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20061001/Img245623977.jpg
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20060930/Img245623517.jpg
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20060930/Img245623514.jpg
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 09:02 AM
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20060930/Img245623521.jpg
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20060930/Img245623523.jpg
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 09:02 AM
CSEC
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20061001/Img245623983.jpg
Gallas
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20061001/Img245623979.jpg
tt32003
01-10-2006, 10:35 AM
RVP scored two wonder goals.
But we missed three sitters : RVP miss to tap in, Henry shot to keeper from close range and Cesc header .
We also have no one at the 6 yard box when on a few occasions just need someone there to tap in.
Hoyte is getting better but he was the one who more or less played Jimmy on site.
After that both Gallas and Toure seemed to concentrate on the left side and leave the right side exposed. That's when Jimmy got his golden chance which luckily he missed.
And Gallas seemed a bit slow last night probably becos of his injury.
Henry is still not at his best yet. Some great touches and passes but sometimes gave the ball away too easily.
Sensational
01-10-2006, 11:02 AM
the score shld have been more man
evolute8
01-10-2006, 11:13 AM
who bought 3goals ?
deathblade
01-10-2006, 11:27 AM
Seems like we have managed to counter the "pack in the middle" defense system deployed but some EPl with crosses from the flanks, esp the right (thanks Mr Eboue). 2 headers and 2 shots from passes from the flanks.
When Pires and Cole are around, we got some ground passes back from the left flanks that resulted in shots and goals. Should Clichy be back and fit for prolonged periods, we should get such ground passes or cut in from the left flanks. These, with Eboue's crosses and cut backs will make our offense very diff to live with. Ade, Bap and RVP, esp the former 2 must learn to make the best of such unprecedented opportunities at Arsenal and plunder the goals...
RVP, he's has better vision and can operate at the right. So Helb and Lungberg should look out.
evolute8
01-10-2006, 11:28 AM
where to view the goals ?
tt32003
01-10-2006, 12:17 PM
RVP yesterday reminds me of Berkemp.
The wonder goals and easy misses.
And a tinge of madness sometimes in commiting unnecessary fouls.
So is Adebayour the new Kanu ?
FLiNcHY
01-10-2006, 12:24 PM
Adebayour is not kanu
he doesn't have the genius of kanu or size 15 feet to hold the ball at the corner flag/
He is 2 times faster than kanu
Kanu is a very cheeky and subtle player. Adebayour is so dynamic.
totally contrasting comparisons.
Compared just cuz both of them are dark skinned africans. Sheesh
Jermaine84
01-10-2006, 12:29 PM
Ade nv played n Rosicky onli come in as sub.. anyway mi playing Yahoo Fantasy football premiership so shd be diff as i can select quite alot from the same team..
i still feel tat Toure n Gallas have prob dealing with aerial thread.. Senderos parther Toure with Gallas on left would be ideal but dun tink will happen once Clichy is back..
theres really a lot of occasion when the back go past an empty net with no Arsenal players near it.. Ade hopefully can solve tis prob..
Wryer
01-10-2006, 12:47 PM
Adebayor is a actually a more than decent player. He brings a lot of running and hussle play. He is a nuisance to defenders. As a striker, part of the job is to make defenders uncomfortable with your presence. Henry and RVP most of the time will let the defenders stroke the ball around. I would play Adebayor more in EPL games compared to RVP. RVP is more suited for the European games granted his superior techinical ability. The EPL is just a little robust for him, and his fuse is really short. Had he got sent off last night, Wenger and the fans won't forgive him. Its a moment of petulant madness.
I want to see Baptista as a very attacking CM, or a very deep lying strker, depending how you see it. 4-5-1 with him would be useful. 4-4-2 may be a little too restrictive for us, cz of the wealth of midfielders we have.
RipperJack
01-10-2006, 01:08 PM
:s13: :s13:
RipperJack
01-10-2006, 01:11 PM
no Doubt, the Man Of the Moment is RVP
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20061001/Img245623977.jpg
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20060930/Img245623517.jpg
http://photocdn.sohu.com/20060930/Img245623514.jpg
van Pus5ie's 2nd goal is simply god-like :D
a1v1n_
01-10-2006, 01:34 PM
vps 2nd goal
http://www.sendspace.com/file/ntgovj
http://i9.tinypic.com/2jdi7oi.jpg
FLiNcHY
01-10-2006, 01:40 PM
So the question here is:
Did Eboue cross, knowing that Van persie was going to run into the box? Or was he just going to cross just for the sake of crossing. Since no one was even close to being in the box.
netsuAi
01-10-2006, 01:42 PM
my MOTM is hleb.
not v.persie only bcoz of his yellow card incident. You could see a reckless tackle coming from him like, 10 secs earlier as he came running back...
netsuAi
01-10-2006, 01:55 PM
i believe he looked up before crossing... usually he balloons the cross into the stands or much nearer to the 6yard box..
So the question here is:
Did Eboue cross, knowing that Van persie was going to run into the box? Or was he just going to cross just for the sake of crossing. Since no one was even close to being in the box.
Wryer
01-10-2006, 02:21 PM
Eboue probably was crossing to RVP, cz he was the only guy near the penalty area. Lo and behold, RVP did something out of nothing. The goal was nothing much abt Eboue's cross, it was pure sheer techique and timing of RVP to pull off such a volley.
FLiNcHY
01-10-2006, 02:26 PM
How eboue know that van persie was running into the box.
Even wenger didn't know anyone was going into the box.
I think he just anyhow whack. Tyco van persie pop up from no where to volley it in.
Arsenal85
01-10-2006, 03:14 PM
after this superb goal
I dun think I will call him van p u s s y anymore :s13:
Sensational
01-10-2006, 04:39 PM
lol. he can score so fantastic goal, 1 yard out 2 beat keeper also ms. lol
tt32003
01-10-2006, 06:10 PM
my MOTM is hleb.
not v.persie only bcoz of his yellow card incident. You could see a reckless tackle coming from him like, 10 secs earlier as he came running back...
Actually MOTM probably should be the Charlton keeper.
If not for him we could have scored a few more.
Sensational
01-10-2006, 07:53 PM
yea scott carson was darn gd
felagund
01-10-2006, 08:09 PM
Imo, I would compare Ade to Dogbag as their style of play is very similar. Hussle non stop and play to their physical advantage. Both are fast, strong, able to hold the ball and pose a serious ariel threat to the opposition.
Hleb has always been this impressive, it was only a matter of when the strikers are going to take advantage of his passes. A little negative thought though, maybe Gallas and Toure are not confident of our left side thats why our defence is more lopsided, but they shouldn't place too much trust in Eboue's defending yet, his positioning sense is poor. Now that he has got his crossing fixed( I really hope ), once he manages to perfect his defending, his only gonna be one of the best right back in the world.
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 08:46 PM
my First Choice Defence is
RWB : E.Eboue
RCB : K.Toure
LCB : P.Senderos
LB : W.Gallas
Confirm chop solid boh bee bee :o
LittleFox
01-10-2006, 08:49 PM
True....he was brillaint last night....
xerces
01-10-2006, 08:56 PM
after this superb goal
I dun think I will call him van p u s s y anymore :s13: but Van Pu S s Y is cute what lolz
xerces
01-10-2006, 09:01 PM
True....he was brillaint last night.... yea but lehmann also saved 3 world class save i think...
Wryer
01-10-2006, 09:34 PM
my First Choice Defence is
RWB : E.Eboue
RCB : K.Toure
LCB : P.Senderos
LB : W.Gallas
Confirm chop solid boh bee bee :o
Mine too. Djorou is a strong contender too. He is extremely fast and athletic. Reads the game well. If his aerial ability is better than Senderos, he is the man for me. Tough pick btw the 2 of them. Senderos has superior aerial prowess, but is prone to occasional error. Djourou does not haven games to showcase his true talent, and i doubt he is as gd as Senderos in the air.
Gallas at LB is a must for me. Unless Clichy proves to be the able man to replace cashley. To be honest Gallas has never said he does not wanna play LB, just that he does not like to be shifted time and and time across the back 4.
tt32003
01-10-2006, 09:59 PM
Mine too. Djorou is a strong contender too. He is extremely fast and athletic. Reads the game well. If his aerial ability is better than Senderos, he is the man for me. Tough pick btw the 2 of them. Senderos has superior aerial prowess, but is prone to occasional error. Djourou does not haven games to showcase his true talent, and i doubt he is as gd as Senderos in the air.
Gallas at LB is a must for me. Unless Clichy proves to be the able man to replace cashley. To be honest Gallas has never said he does not wanna play LB, just that he does not like to be shifted time and and time across the back 4.
Actually Senderos sometimes quite unsteady.
Remember how he kena pawned by Drogba so many times last season ?
And if you watch Switzerland's matches during the world cup. he was not very steady also.
Djorou looks very good so far this season.
tt32003
01-10-2006, 09:59 PM
yea but lehmann also saved 3 world class save i think...
Lehman made one save but also spilled the ball once.
FLiNcHY
01-10-2006, 10:51 PM
True....he was brillaint last night....
All goalkeepers become supermen when they play arsenal.
No use giving man of the match to them
to be a goalkeeper at the top level, i think having superb reflexes is a minimum requirement. If not, they won't even be playing in the premiership first team in the first place.
To be a top top goalkeeper requires so much more than just lightning relfexes.
Alex Manninger and Stuart Taylor had excellent reflexes. They just didn't hold down their places.
Maybe you need to be a really strong commanding figure with a stout character as well.
Wryer
01-10-2006, 11:02 PM
Lehmann probably isnt the best in shot stopping in EPL, Given should win that category handsdown. He has amazing reflex, and with the defence in front of him, he surely has lots of match practise. Cech does not even come close to Given in terms of agility and shot stopping. Cech and Lehmann are keepers who have good defence in front of them, and their key role is to be the 2nd pair of eyes for the defenders and position them correctly. Lehmann is solid when it comes to crosses. He makes up his mind very quickly and seldom misses the ball.
cadre80
01-10-2006, 11:17 PM
after this superb goal
I dun think I will call him van p u s s y anymore :s13:
THAT's the exact reason why i didn't put his name on my jersey... :s13:
yourmother
01-10-2006, 11:51 PM
i always loved van persie celebration, pure happiness, pure wildness, pure passion, pure love for the club.
Jermaine84
02-10-2006, 12:44 AM
Thomas Sorenson also not bad imo..
bigass
02-10-2006, 01:44 AM
Actually Senderos sometimes quite unsteady.
Remember how he kena pawned by Drogba so many times last season ?
And if you watch Switzerland's matches during the world cup. he was not very steady also.
Djorou looks very good so far this season.
Djorou need exposure and i mean alot. I rem woching swiss vs ukraine when he was sub out after w/standing andry scheve for 30 mins and he throw the towel. he is young and got a bright future ahead.
being a arsenal fan can get heart attack too.. seriously patient sometimes don't give them chances and times.
Souljer
02-10-2006, 12:14 PM
Can some kind soul make an animated gif of RVP's superduper goal.
xerces
02-10-2006, 01:15 PM
All goalkeepers become supermen when they play arsenal.
No use giving man of the match to them
to be a goalkeeper at the top level, i think having superb reflexes is a minimum requirement. If not, they won't even be playing in the premiership first team in the first place.
To be a top top goalkeeper requires so much more than just lightning relfexes.
Alex Manninger and Stuart Taylor had excellent reflexes. They just didn't hold down their places.
Maybe you need to be a really strong commanding figure with a stout character as well. cant help but agreed... all GK become super star when they play against Arsenal. but i think only in the EPL...lolz
Sensational
02-10-2006, 03:27 PM
lol.............. imba keepers
tt32003
02-10-2006, 10:23 PM
Before we get carried away, here are some comments form football365 winners and loses section.
By the way, these were put under winners :
Robin Van Persie
Thank the BBC for taking football so seriously. Otherwise, there would have been time for Match of the Day to show a repeat of Robin Van Persie's off-the-ball hack at Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink. Fortunately, they opted instead to ask Stuart Pearce for the second successive week about some poxy cuddly toy.
While the Dutchman's booking was an acceptable punishment, a dismissal wouldn't have been harsh either. As Charlton boss Iain Dowie said with a complaint carefully edited out of his MoTD interview, "Clearly, if you kick someone on the field of play off the ball it's a sending-off." Arsene Wenger admitted he contemplated subbing his notoriously hot-headed forward. If the striker had been dismissed then not only would his two goals have remained the stuff of dreams but his Arsenal career may never have recovered.
Despite his goals, Van Persie's week was unconvincing. On Tuesday, he produced a contender for miss of the season against Porto. On Saturday, he missed a simple opportunity to complete a hat-trick at the Valley. While it may be harsh to criticise a player who scored the "goal of a lifetime", the point remains, as it did pre-season, that as Arsenal already possess a striker capable of scoring great goals, they require regular evidence from Van Persie that he can become a great goalscorer.
Emmanuel Eboue
Bucking a ten-year tradition, Arsenal have begun crossing the ball and the young Arsenal full-back has claimed an assist in each of the Gunners' last three outings.
The Ivorian is, however, a liability in Arsenal's defence, particularly when tested aerially. During the Gunners' visit three weeks ago, ManYoo's best opportunity to score occurred when Eboue jumped under the ball. This weekend, the Gunners were fortunate to leave Charlton with three points after Eboue ran away from the ball to leave Hasselbaink with a free header six yards from goal in the 85th minute. It is a weakness which will not have gone unnoticed elsewhere in the league.
Souljer
04-10-2006, 03:39 PM
Bah, u just cant please everybody. No such thing as a perfect player.
Souljer
04-10-2006, 06:34 PM
BARCA TO HAVE FIRST PIORITY FOR YOUNG PLAYERS AT ARSENAL
Barcelona sporting director Txiki Beguiristain is confident the recent agreement with Argentinian outfit Arsenal will pay dividends for the European champions in the long term.
The Catalan giants have struck a deal - which came into effect last month - to oversee the youth-football structure at the Buenos Aires club.
The agreement runs for five years with the option for five more, and gives Barca priority over other potential suitors should they wish to sign any Arsenal players.
Beguiristain told Ole newspaper: "We chose Arsenal because we want to focus on a club with no financial problems, with the total focus on the club's players."
In addition, the Primera Liga leaders will set up their new FC Barcelona Foundation centre in Arroyo Seco, birthplace of Barca and Argentina star Lionel Messi.
"It's an honour for us to set up this centre in a place near where Leo Messi was born," said Barca president Joan Laporta.
"To invest in youth is to invest in a better society."
Sensational
04-10-2006, 07:15 PM
chey i tot arsenal the england club
xerces
04-10-2006, 07:57 PM
Barcelona sporting director Txiki Beguiristain is confident the recent agreement with Argentinian outfit Arsenal will pay dividends for the European champions in the long term.
The Catalan giants have struck a deal - which came into effect last month - to oversee the youth-football structure at the Buenos Aires club.
The agreement runs for five years with the option for five more, and gives Barca priority over other potential suitors should they wish to sign any Arsenal players.
Beguiristain told Ole newspaper: "We chose Arsenal because we want to focus on a club with no financial problems, with the total focus on the club's players."
In addition, the Primera Liga leaders will set up their new FC Barcelona Foundation centre in Arroyo Seco, birthplace of Barca and Argentina star Lionel Messi.
"It's an honour for us to set up this centre in a place near where Leo Messi was born," said Barca president Joan Laporta.
"To invest in youth is to invest in a better society." haha off topic!!!!!lolz jking...
xerces
04-10-2006, 09:00 PM
During a webchat session on the club's official website, Arsenal manager Arsène Wenger talked about how his feud with Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has calmed, and how he missed out on certain players.
The Frenchman also criticised Wayne Rooney's statement that the Manchester United forward was "too honest to dive", by saying that he dived for the penalty which allowed Manchester United to score and break Arsenal's 49-game unbeaten run.
Wenger said: "I feel the penalty awarded by [referee Mike] Riley in our 50th game was a completely invented penalty.
"That is a decision which I regret.
"Rooney dived on that occasion. It was on a day when we did not deserve to lose."
On his feud with Ferguson, Wenger said: "There is less aggression than there was before because we have both calmed down, and our relationship has become in a much more normal way.
"I hope we can continue at that level."
The Arsenal manager also revealed how he missed out players during his transfer dealings, players who have been successful for their current clubs.
Wenger added: "Claude Makelele was close to signing for us, Samuel Eto'o too, and I missed a few.
"I have been offered many players, like [Petr] Cech, who could have done well for us.
"Makelele was straight after Vieira came [August 1996], it was very early when he was still in Nantes, and Eto'o, just before he joined Barcelona [August 2004], it was between us and Barcelona."
Yes it was really a kelong match where Arsenal dun deserve to losed and of cos refereed by Mike Riley a referee who gave the highest number of penalty in Old trafford. As for the players that we nearly missed i guess there isn't much we can do lolz....
LittleFox
04-10-2006, 09:16 PM
"To invest in youth is to invest in a better society."
wah kaoz....make me stunt tio :s13:
felagund
04-10-2006, 09:22 PM
A Cesc pictorial..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_B_WlMF3cc
do take note of the lyrics, its fun..
xerces
05-10-2006, 01:31 AM
Senderos and Clichy come back liao jus played for reserve . Hosei Liao....
yourmother
05-10-2006, 05:58 AM
Eto, Makelele.. both very costly slip away, both had a hand in our exit from Europe.
yourmother
05-10-2006, 06:27 AM
the interview in full
Can you see yourself staying 10 more years?
Well that would look a bit pretentious but I will try as hard as I can and try to be honest enough to see the day when I am not good enough anymore. You have to give everything and to feel as if it will be for your life, but also that it can stop any day. That is what I want to continue to do.
What do you do to unwind and take your mind off football?
I rarely do that because it's almost impossible, football is always on my mind. You think about the next game, the next team you will play, the next training session, how the players are. It's very difficult to switch off but then a big part of the job is to handle that stress.
What is the pinnacle of your time at Arsenal?
It is difficult to say but maybe my best performance was to play through the whole season unbeaten. It became pure happiness just to watch the team. There is not much room to do better. But you always want to be even closer to your best again. When the desire to win is inside you, it never stops. You just want to win again. You have done something great and you want to do it again and repeat it. That is motivation for your whole life - to always do better.
How has your experience in Japan affected the way you manage Arsenal?
Because you are isolated and far from all your connections it makes you stronger. It's a strong experience to be isolated and having to motivate everyone around you, and somewhere I felt it gave me the strength of character to resist the pressure and deal with the frustrations you can get in this job.
How do you know when it's the right time to let a good player go?
There are a few reasons. Sometimes you see that a player needs a change because does not get enough games, sometimes you feel he wants another challenge and sometimes there is someone behind him [in the squad] who cannot come out into the first team because he is in front of him. It is part of my job to make these kinds of decisions.
Who could be the future captain of Arsenal and why?
Well we have a young captain now, Henry is only 29. At the moment we have three experienced leaders - Henry, Gilberto, Lehmann. In the generation behind we have Gallas, who is a leader type, and Kolo can be too. After that you have Fabregas, certainly in a few years. Senderos as well, you forget a few because you have so many. A big team is made of many leaders and a good captain is somebody who is respected by his partners, someone who can lead the way, sets an example and wants to win every game. A captain is judged on what he delivers for the team, not just his own performance.
Can you describe a typical matchday?
Usually, I get up at 6.30am and go for a run, after that I come back and have breakfast and then prepare the team meeting. At 10.30 we meet with the players, have a walk, a stretch, and then a meeting where we sometimes watch what was good or bad in the last game. At 11 we have lunch, then most of the time we go back to our [hotel] rooms again. At 12.45 we go to the stadium... Afterwards I watch all kinds of matches, through the night until three or four o'clock I watch European football. I go to bed when I am dead tired, for managers it takes time to recover from a game and sometimes you don't sleep at all.
How have you set up such an effective scouting system?
By having scouts in every country which has good potential to develop football players of top quality and by being in touch with them always, having a lot of assessments and working very hard. Our scouts are highly motivated, there are a lot of people inside the clubs who don't get the praise but our scouting team is absolutely fantastic. We choose quality people all over Europe and all over the world. I wanted that system and put it together as soon as I arrived, with [Chief Scout] Steve Rowley because I felt that the continuity inside the club depends on the level you have with your young players.
Name one player who you would love to have signed but didn't.
Well there was [Claude] Makelele who was close to signing, [Samuel] Eto'o too, they are two who would have done well here. I have missed a few, I was offered [Petr] Cech, another player who could have done well. Makele was [available] straight after Vieira arrived when he was still in Nantes. Eto'o was when he joined Barcelona, it was between us and Barcelona.
You are portrayed as a football fanatic, but do you have outside interests away from football?
Yes, I am interested in all kinds of politics, international politics, but most of the time I spend my time in the game.
Would you be prepared to win the title by playing 'ugly' football?
I personally believe you cannot be in a big club and have an ambition to play 'ugly' football. Football has changed but people who watch football have changed as well. They have different standards from 20 years ago because they have a choice of two or three games on some occasions. We have a responsibility as a big club to play with style and have a certain ambition in the way we play.
Is there any player you wish you had not sold?
Well, I felt that for us to lose Vieira and Edu in the same year [2005] was one player too many. That was not really planned. They were two fantastic players and losing them at the same time when Cesc was still very young and I could not give him a breather, maybe that was one too many.
Who is the best pure finisher you've ever had at Arsenal?
I think Anelka was a quick finisher with a short backlift but I think the purest finisher was Ian Wright. He was obssessed with finishing. For example, Anelka would never have pushed a partner away but I think Wright was ready to kick someone in his own team to get into a position to score! Wright was an unbelievably clinical finisher with both feet and his head, he had that burning desire to score.
If you could pick any player from the last 30 years to play in one of your teams, who would it be?
I would say Pele, he would fit perfectly in our team. I would play him up front - we could maybe play with a three! It would be interesting to see if he was as good as everyone says he was. Would he adapt to the modern game? There are all sorts of questions, but he looked to be an athlete before football became as athletic as it is today.
Who is the biggest 'find' of your Arsenal career?
Maybe my biggest find was Anelka. When Henry came here he was already in the World Cup squad but Anelka gave me the credibility to do some more got me the trust from people because he was a big success. Vieira as well, he was the first player who nobody knew but he made a huge impact in the Club. He stayed for nine years and nobody could imagine the Club could continue without him. He had a big impact.
If you could reverse one decision, what would it be?
I have made many wrong decisions and I will give you one example. When Robert Pires got injured in 2002 on the left flank he was the best player in the world. That week I had decided not to play Pires against Newcastle but the closer we got to the game the more I thought I would play him because if we won that game we would nearly be there [in the FA Cup]. I changed my mind 24 hours before the game and then he got injured. I went home and thought I was stupid because I should have done what I had planned... He missed the World Cup and I feel afterwards it was a bad decision. It is not fate because I was convinced it was time for him to be rested because he had shown signs of fatigue, so your coordination drops and then you get injured. Deep down I knew I was right not to play him but I was weak when it came to pushing the decision through.
If you could reverse one refereeing decision, what would it be?
I feel the penalty awarded by [Mike] Riley at Manchester United in our 50th game [after 49 unbeaten] was a completely invented penalty. That is a decision which I regret. [Wayne] Rooney dived on that occasion. It was on a day when we did not deserve to lose.
Do you keep in touch with your ex-players?
Yes, whenever I can. I was interviewed by Patrick Vieira, Emmanuel Petit and Remi Garde yesterday in France. I was on the phone to Robert Pires today. I was asked some difficult questions yesterday, Patrick asked me about our nine years together!
Which manager do you get along with best in the Premiership?
Well basically I have very little relationship with other managers. I respect everybody but we don't see each other - never. So there is no real relationship with other people. [With Sir Alex Ferguson] there is less aggression than there was before because we have both calmed down, and our relationship has become in a much more normal way now. I hope we can keep it at that level.
Wryer
05-10-2006, 02:41 PM
haha, im luffing my heads off. Just when ppl say Dein is off the FA boards, Dein is now in the board of G14.
What say you Mourinho?
Sensational
05-10-2006, 02:42 PM
wah seh. cech cld be ours, yet he is at chelsea. zzz, imagine eto'o n henry. omfg, the strike partnership is gay
FLiNcHY
05-10-2006, 02:54 PM
Does wenger have a family? It seems like he is completely consumed by managing arsenal and watching soccer. I don't think he ever spends time with his family.
that's quite sad if u think about it.
Its amazing though. He's so entirely consumed by his passion for the game. One tracked and focused.
I wonder what his credentials were like in Japan. Why didn't he unearth some hot young japanese superstars.
oh, that is a bad news
Nicklas Bendtner, who is currently on loan to Birmingham City from Arsenal, has said that he would rather stay on at the Blues rather than return to Arsenal.
The Danish international has taken the Midlands club by storm, scoring five goals, but cannot seem to even get on the bench for Arsenal.
Birmingham are anxious for the 18-year-old not to return to North London, and Bendtner himself doesn't want to return to play for the reserves.
Bendtner said: "It's Arsenal who decide.
"But I know that they will not call me back unless they have at least got a place for me in the A squad.
"I will not go back to play for the reserves.
"The least that I should get is a place on the bench."
Wryer
05-10-2006, 05:09 PM
That sounds like great ambitions but sucky attitude, You don't decide which place you get in the first team. You prove yourself to the coach. The coach decides. What makes him think he deserve a place ahead of players like Lupoli, Hoyte, Djourou? And mind you, there are a lot of pretty gd players on his back.
felagund
05-10-2006, 07:38 PM
Does wenger have a family? It seems like he is completely consumed by managing arsenal and watching soccer. I don't think he ever spends time with his family.
Its amazing though. He's so entirely consumed by his passion for the game. One tracked and focused.
I wonder what his credentials were like in Japan. Why didn't he unearth some hot young japanese superstars.
He has a wife and a daughter. If he is too consumed in it, he has said that he would take a breather, a walk or play with his daughter.
http://www.premierleague.com/fapl.rac?command=setSelectedId&nextPage=enNewsLatest&id=1445776&type=com.fapl.website.news.NewsItem&categoryCode=News
xerces
05-10-2006, 09:52 PM
I wonder what his credentials were like in Japan. Why didn't he unearth some hot young japanese superstars. Well Sir Alex himself already said he spend more times in the club than with his family and child.
As for the japanese connection i think during his stint at gampa...he won the league sorry if i spell wrongly....he did draw out inamoto and a new striker in Arsenal squad u can check arsenal.com if u dun know...
tt32003
05-10-2006, 10:51 PM
oh, that is a bad news
Nicklas Bendtner, who is currently on loan to Birmingham City from Arsenal, has said that he would rather stay on at the Blues rather than return to Arsenal.
The Danish international has taken the Midlands club by storm, scoring five goals, but cannot seem to even get on the bench for Arsenal.
Birmingham are anxious for the 18-year-old not to return to North London, and Bendtner himself doesn't want to return to play for the reserves.
Bendtner said: "It's Arsenal who decide.
"But I know that they will not call me back unless they have at least got a place for me in the A squad.
"I will not go back to play for the reserves.
"The least that I should get is a place on the bench."
Don't see how he can start or even get a place on the bench yet.
Think even Walcott and Allediare are ranked higher than him in the packing order.
tt32003
05-10-2006, 10:53 PM
David Dein has been elected chairman of G14 for one year.
He will be the chief figure in the Club vs Contry row.
He already sided with Newcastle and said fully supporting them in getting compensation from the FA for Owen's injury.
cadre80
05-10-2006, 11:41 PM
wah seh. cech cld be ours, yet he is at chelsea. zzz, imagine eto'o n henry. omfg, the strike partnership is gay
i think the cech issue was not wenger's fault... he couldn't get a work permit back then...
yourmother
06-10-2006, 12:03 AM
He has a wife and a daughter. If he is too consumed in it, he has said that he would take a breather, a walk or play with his daughter.
http://www.premierleague.com/fapl.rac?command=setSelectedId&nextPage=enNewsLatest&id=1445776&type=com.fapl.website.news.NewsItem&categoryCode=News
he wasnt formally marry with his 'wife' right?
they are just like marriage couple thou, short of a formal marriage cert.
Jermaine84
06-10-2006, 01:38 PM
he wasnt formally marry with his 'wife' right?
they are just like marriage couple thou, short of a formal marriage cert.
OT abit. imo if hes responsible, w or w/o the cert also no diff.. if he lack responsibility, even got cert he also can divore(sp).
tink his wife ahd know better tat Wenger is wat type of person then marry him one :)
xerces
06-10-2006, 05:29 PM
Don't see how he can start or even get a place on the bench yet.
Think even Walcott and Allediare are ranked higher than him in the packing order. yea no chance in hell for bendtner
Sensational
06-10-2006, 05:32 PM
but he is a great talent lo
LiteMan
06-10-2006, 06:23 PM
great talent, poor attitude ---> we don't want.
Jermaine84
06-10-2006, 08:18 PM
great talent, poor attitude ---> we don't want.
great talent, poor attitude ---> A.Cole ---> we don't want
LittleFox
06-10-2006, 08:58 PM
I dun think Allediare is better than bendter, however, i do believe Bendtner will need another season or 2 to be in the First Team.... :o
ventin
06-10-2006, 10:43 PM
great talent, poor attitude ---> A.Cole ---> we don't want
Why not? buy cheap sell high mah :s13:
xerces
06-10-2006, 11:03 PM
I dun think Allediare is better than bendter, however, i do believe Bendtner will need another season or 2 to be in the First Team.... :o yea and he keep scoring goals in the reserve, just hope he dun get injured. i dun understand these youngster they keep thinking they are so gd enough to play in the first team that they demand it...pple like Cesc is rare... so he got first team action but i dun understand why people like bendtner who never make any achievement keep kpkb...Pennant is also 1 great example...si ah beng... go liverfool better...
yourmother
07-10-2006, 02:02 AM
I dun think Allediare is better than bendter, however, i do believe Bendtner will need another season or 2 to be in the First Team.... :o
Aliediare is no where below Bendter.. if you have been watching the reseve match, Aliediare has been top class
LittleFox
07-10-2006, 09:44 AM
Gunners option on Ribery
http://images.skysports.com/images/playerpics06_07/France/Marseille/ribery_train.jpg
Arsenal are believed to have negotiated a preliminary agreement with Marseille for midfielder Franck Ribery.
The 23-year-old French international has been linked with a host of clubs since impressing at the World Cup for Les Bleus.
Arsene Wenger's side have made no secret of their admiration for the former Galatasaray attacker and are thought to be prepared to offer €26 million (£17.5 million) for his services in the summer.
Gunners captain Thierry Henry has struck up a strong friendship with the diminutive player and the North Londoners are now understood to have secured the first option on his sale.
Ribery remains under contract at the Stade Velodrome until 2010, while Bayern Munich and Real Madrid are also keeping a close eye on the situation.
SOURCE (http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=420550&CPID=8&clid=3&lid=2&title=Gunners+get+first+option+on+Ribery)
Wryer
07-10-2006, 10:37 AM
Exciting player. But that will definitely signal the end of Ljungberg sadly.
xerces
07-10-2006, 11:29 AM
Gunners option on Ribery
http://images.skysports.com/images/playerpics06_07/France/Marseille/ribery_train.jpg
Arsenal are believed to have negotiated a preliminary agreement with Marseille for midfielder Franck Ribery.
The 23-year-old French international has been linked with a host of clubs since impressing at the World Cup for Les Bleus.
Arsene Wenger's side have made no secret of their admiration for the former Galatasaray attacker and are thought to be prepared to offer €26 million (£17.5 million) for his services in the summer.
Gunners captain Thierry Henry has struck up a strong friendship with the diminutive player and the North Londoners are now understood to have secured the first option on his sale.
Ribery remains under contract at the Stade Velodrome until 2010, while Bayern Munich and Real Madrid are also keeping a close eye on the situation.
SOURCE (http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=420550&CPID=8&clid=3&lid=2&title=Gunners+get+first+option+on+Ribery) Wu Nia bo....... lolz..... wenger nt the type to spend alot unless he feel he is really that great... but i think our mid field abit over crowded if baptista have to sit in bench it says a lot ler....
dle4e_2005
07-10-2006, 11:42 AM
Wu Nia bo....... lolz..... wenger nt the type to spend alot unless he feel he is really that great... but i think our mid field abit over crowded if baptista have to sit in bench it says a lot ler....
Overcrowding does not happen in our Defence..
We have too much attacking and midfield player now unlike our defence
Wryer
07-10-2006, 01:20 PM
Very soon our defence will be overcrowded when Senderos, Clichy, Lauren returns. That like another fresh back 4. Add that to the current crop, Eboue - Toure - Djourou - Gallas and Hoyte. Pretty gd depth.
Baptista is a really special piece of jigsaw, put it right and will see the entire beautful picture.
xerces
07-10-2006, 01:48 PM
Very soon our defence will be overcrowded when Senderos, Clichy, Lauren returns. That like another fresh back 4. Add that to the current crop, Eboue - Toure - Djourou - Gallas and Hoyte. Pretty gd depth.
Baptista is a really special piece of jigsaw, put it right and will see the entire beautful picture. lets not get our hope up high first... cos we dun even know if he is in wenger plan.... he doesn't seem to get to start much....
Jermaine84
07-10-2006, 03:36 PM
lets not get our hope up high first... cos we dun even know if he is in wenger plan.... he doesn't seem to get to start much....
imo its better to start player from another league on the bench, then give them 15-20 min per game to let them time to adjust.. somemore Arsenal got enough player at the moment to not start him..
watched Walcott's appearance in the u21 jus now.. hes like short of match fitness but the touches are there.. if Arsenal bring in Ribery at such high price.. then dun tink walcott will get his chance..
Sensational
07-10-2006, 06:03 PM
muz let baptista adapt mah. in fm 2007 demo, he is god-like in my team.
Sensational
07-10-2006, 06:04 PM
2nd top scorer in my team after henry lo. so he carn be tt bad. wenger letting him c the style of plae?
felagund
07-10-2006, 08:31 PM
i gave up that fm07 demo.. im only in my 3rd game and i meet chelsea AT MY HOME!!! and i lost... zzz...
deffo not my tactics nor my players that cheating ballack keeps popping one long shot in and i have dcm floating around in front of the backline to try to stop midfielders from having a go from range.. grrrrrrr
yourmother
07-10-2006, 10:46 PM
i cant see wenger paying more than 8 million for him.
Sensational
07-10-2006, 11:56 PM
i gave up that fm07 demo.. im only in my 3rd game and i meet chelsea AT MY HOME!!! and i lost... zzz...
deffo not my tactics nor my players that cheating ballack keeps popping one long shot in and i have dcm floating around in front of the backline to try to stop midfielders from having a go from range.. grrrrrrr
sumthing wrng wif ur tactics? i gt 16 match unbeaten streak leh. 1st in the league n went 2 knockout stages of CL wif lyon in my grp. then the demo ended. sumthing wrng wif ur tactics la
discoburg
08-10-2006, 12:32 AM
Need to ask the gunners fans here. Any idea where can i buy the Nike Arsenal polo tee?
felagund
08-10-2006, 01:19 AM
hmm.. i play 4 4(diamond) 2... henry wif bap in front. cesc as acm and flanked by rosicky hleb and giberto covering a v defensive backline. wignbacks provides crosses from deep. i play a super fast tempo short passing game wif lots of width.
United_Treble
08-10-2006, 03:04 AM
Need to ask the gunners fans here. Any idea where can i buy the Nike Arsenal polo tee?dun u think its foolish to spend ur own money and at the same time telling people you are Arsenal fan, and in fact advertise for them?
United_Treble
08-10-2006, 03:05 AM
Exciting player. But that will definitely signal the end of Ljungberg sadly.both diff positions la
felagund
08-10-2006, 03:48 AM
Ljungberg is mostly deployed on the wings for us and so will Ribery be, if he really is signed, though I doubt it. It's only the playing style that is different between the both of them. Ljungberg is more of the runner and hustler while providing width and penetration with his off the ball runs. Ribery is more of a playmaking forward that we already have alot.
LittleFox
08-10-2006, 08:09 AM
Need to ask the gunners fans here. Any idea where can i buy the Nike Arsenal polo tee?
I think u can try ya luck @ queensway shopping center :o
AndreFLo
08-10-2006, 08:52 AM
Saw it at Marina Square retail outlet...
tt32003
08-10-2006, 09:58 AM
Ljungberg is mostly deployed on the wings for us and so will Ribery be, if he really is signed, though I doubt it. It's only the playing style that is different between the both of them. Ljungberg is more of the runner and hustler while providing width and penetration with his off the ball runs. Ribery is more of a playmaking forward that we already have alot.
Ljungberg will be 30 this year.
Time for replacement plan.
But then now with Rosicky and Hlebb, plus Walcott and sometimes RVP, how to accomodate Ribery ?
tt32003
08-10-2006, 10:01 AM
RVP hero for Holland again last night.
Nowadays he likes to play hero.
Sensational
08-10-2006, 10:03 AM
wah cool. he plae hero gd 4 us lor
LittleFox
08-10-2006, 01:38 PM
RVP hero for Holland again last night.
Nowadays he likes to play hero.
that only can be good news....we signed him for ard 2mill only right~? :D
felagund
08-10-2006, 04:35 PM
RVP FTW!!!!!!!
Hopes he maintains this form for both club and country. Dont blow hot and cold plz..
And back to Ljungberg, he is still a hero to many of the Gooners in the world, sad to see him like this now.
Jermaine84
08-10-2006, 05:02 PM
RVP FTW!!!!!!!
Hopes he maintains this form for both club and country. Dont blow hot and cold plz..
And back to Ljungberg, he is still a hero to many of the Gooners in the world, sad to see him like this now.
mi still one of his fan.. btw his recent performence imo quite ok ma.. i agree tat his passing n crossing not really up to standard but tats not wat he is famous for anyway.. his lack of goal or none at all the moment might b the reason he is critize but i believe he can still deliever. his movement on n off the ball help to create space for others.. n imo he is the most fouled player in Arsenal.. earning lotsa free kick.. his mentality veri important as well..
Jermaine84
08-10-2006, 05:04 PM
peninsula second floor got a shop sellin soccer products can try your luck there.. queenway n those nike shop also can try.. other then tat i got no idea..
Jermaine84
08-10-2006, 06:41 PM
Top 50 Sky One's Premiership's Greatest Foreign Players
50. Georgiou Kinkladze
49. Mark Viduka
48. Gianluca Vialli
47. Edwin Van Der Sar
46. Robbie Keane
45. Steed Malbranque
44. Didier Drogba
43. Andrei Kanchelskis
42. Tony Yeboah
41. Patrik Berger
40. Cristiano Ronaldo
39. Jon Arne Riise
38. Roberto Di Matteo
37. Brad Friedel
36. Nolberto Solano
35. Dwight Yorke
34. Freddie Ljungberg
33. Shay Given
32. Xabi Alonso
31. Gus Poyet
30. Nicolas Anelka
29. Jaap Stam
28. Dietmar Hamann
27. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
26. Eidur Gudjohnsen
25. Emmanuel Petit
24. Harry Kewell
23. Petr Cech
22. Marc Overmars
21. Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink
20. Jay Jay Okocha
19. Sami Hyypia
18. Marcel Desailly
17. Robert Pires
16. Denis Irwin
15. Lucas Radebe
14. Jurgen Klinsmann
13. Youri Djorkaeff
12. Juninho
11. Ruud van Nistelrooy
----------
Top 10 Foreign Players
(1500kbps - Sky One Coverage - English)
10. Paolo Di Canio
09. Claude Makelele
08. David Ginola
07. Patrick Vieira
06. Dennis Bergkamp
05. Roy Keane
04. Peter Schmeichel
03. Gianfranco Zola
02. Eric Cantona
01. Thierry Henry
Credit by footyfanatic
xinping
08-10-2006, 06:58 PM
i rate peter schmeichel best foreign keeper!
my all time idol!
Wryer
08-10-2006, 07:00 PM
i think Henry vs Cantona is very hotly competed. Both are really equally great and infuential. I would actually pick Cantona over Henry actually. But perhaps that will change if Henry does something historic over the next 2-3 years.
Anyway, i really dun understand how Makelele can be ahead of people like Irwin, Poyet. And, where is Ryan Giggs?
Jermaine84
08-10-2006, 07:12 PM
i think Henry vs Cantona is very hotly competed. Both are really equally great and infuential. I would actually pick Cantona over Henry actually. But perhaps that will change if Henry does something historic over the next 2-3 years.
Anyway, i really dun understand how Makelele can be ahead of people like Irwin, Poyet. And, where is Ryan Giggs?
imo they might see Makelele as the key to Chelsea's double EPL win.. n i m quite surprise Giggs not in too.. he shd be at least top 10..
Wryer
08-10-2006, 07:29 PM
Well, Irwin won countless trophies with Man U. As for Makelele, to be honest he was already reaching the end of his career when he came. He's gd no doubt, but not ahead of players like Irwin. They probably just miss out Giggs.
tt32003
08-10-2006, 08:31 PM
Giggs is from wales so he is not considerd as foreign cause it is past of Britain. Anyway Giggs was born in England and played for England schoolboy but chose to play for Wales for senior squad.
People like Keane, Irwin and Given who are Irish are considered as foreigner.
felagund
09-10-2006, 02:48 AM
mi still one of his fan.. btw his recent performence imo quite ok ma.. i agree tat his passing n crossing not really up to standard but tats not wat he is famous for anyway.. his lack of goal or none at all the moment might b the reason he is critize but i believe he can still deliever. his movement on n off the ball help to create space for others.. n imo he is the most fouled player in Arsenal.. earning lotsa free kick.. his mentality veri important as well..i agree absolutely. His off the ball movement is really top class, he is able to ghost in behind the defence late in the box after a long diagonal run to collect a through pass( the bergy and ljungberg combo was best) and score. His understanding of his teammates is really very good and esp since we are a very passing team. His workrate is also very good. You can see his never-say-die attitude everytime he plays and thats a very good model for the young arsenalings.
yourmother
09-10-2006, 05:49 AM
i agree absolutely. His off the ball movement is really top class, he is able to ghost in behind the defence late in the box after a long diagonal run to collect a through pass( the bergy and ljungberg combo was best) and score. His understanding of his teammates is really very good and esp since we are a very passing team. His workrate is also very good. You can see his never-say-die attitude everytime he plays and thats a very good model for the young arsenalings.
Agree, but without Bergkamp, Ljungberg is half the player he used to be. He feeds on Bergkamp vision and thru pass.
But imo he is still a very important part of Arsenal, without him, there's no one to get angry and stuck in when needed.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.