View Full Version : Arsenal FC - Ashburton Grove
deathblade
04-06-2001, 10:50 AM
The headline making striker from Brazil ( Washington) could be making his way to Arsenal............... Meanwhile Duckfooted Wiltord could be on his way out juz after one season........with francis Jeffers also rumoured to be in...........:)
sianz
04-06-2001, 11:18 AM
sigh..that's so sad, jeffers leaving everton. :(
fatherboard
04-06-2001, 01:08 PM
well just dun make arsenal into a samba squad, is alright.
for Wahington, it seems like ok only.
as for Wiltord, please leave, his performance is not the best this season.
let's see if Sol Campbell is coming in, and Jeffers will certainly be another Nicholas Anelka in making. Talking about GK, it seems that Dudek is not coming, Feynoord keeps delaying the 10million pounds deal. While Gunners continue to search for a new GK, and being reported that Juve's Van Der Sar is being targetted for 6.5million.
while let's hope for some serious BIG signings this season for the gunners.
Wonder if Beckham or Anderton will comes too.....
thetruthisoutthere
04-06-2001, 01:25 PM
Originally posted by fatherboard
well just dun make arsenal into a samba squad, is alright.
for Wahington, it seems like ok only.
as for Wiltord, please leave, his performance is not the best this season.
let's see if Sol Campbell is coming in, and Jeffers will certainly be another Nicholas Anelka in making. Talking about GK, it seems that Dudek is not coming, Feynoord keeps delaying the 10million pounds deal. While Gunners continue to search for a new GK, and being reported that Juve's Van Der Sar is being targetted for 6.5million.
while let's hope for some serious BIG signings this season for the gunners.
Wonder if Beckham or Anderton will comes too.....
yes i believe they have table a bid for edwin at 6.5 million pounds
and they have oso made inquires on the availablities of alpay...
hope they can get better central defenders to cover for the aging
defenders... anyway i believe they need the right defender badly
cos as a wing back you need speed to counter the attacking wing
and dixon is just too old for that (as we can see in the FA cup
finals)....
raveness
04-06-2001, 01:30 PM
EH!!! all the old threads gone ah??? :~~~(
killu4ever
04-06-2001, 01:36 PM
yeah man everything is gone so tt bossman can post more crap hehehe :D
I heard that Arsenal is getting a new stadium?? Is that true??:)
Anyway, wat's so bad about this bossman??
Arsene_Wenger
05-06-2001, 01:52 AM
i think it is expanding their stadium..but it is good..
yellowsubmarine
05-06-2001, 02:13 AM
They should use Wembley, then Wembley no need to be demolished liao.
raveness
05-06-2001, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by yellowsubmarine
They should use Wembley, then Wembley no need to be demolished liao.
YAHLOR!!! was soo hoping tat they would just move in to wembly :(
but hor...they kept losing there leh...:P haha
Talking about GK, it seems that Dudek is not coming, Feynoord keeps delaying the 10million pounds deal. While Gunners continue to search for a new GK, and being reported that Juve's Van Der Sar is being targetted for 6.5million.
I believe Feynoord is not delaying the deal rather it is Arsenal who is refusing to pay the amt of 10million pound for Dudek...
deathblade
05-06-2001, 03:36 PM
Originally posted by fire
I believe Feynoord is not delaying the deal rather it is Arsenal who is refusing to pay the amt of 10million pound for Dudek...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Actually it was rumoured that Dudek is a bit hesitant for he wants to play first team football to improve his chance in the international arena....... Anyway, 10 million for Dudek IS a bit steep...... Can't remember how much MU paid for Barthez......... Still think Wenger should go for Italian keeper, Toldo. Wenger is now trying to go after Nakata again......
JirQUEST
05-06-2001, 04:39 PM
man utd paid 7++ million pounds i think....
infllation. price goes up.
also dudek's team wants that much money for him. if arsenal dun buy him, its not their loss as they want to keep him anyway...
deathblade
06-06-2001, 10:15 AM
Bloody hell reports of Viera wanting to leave surfaced again..... somemore freddie lungberg also......... personally i think they won't... Pray.....
rumoured that if veira leaves.....pires will go too
he seems to think that veira is the key to arsenal's success...and besides he's got an offer from valencia which he is seriously considering
get rid of wiltord for goodness sakes...he's useless...cramming pires and henry out of the game...running all over the place...plus he looks like a duck
deathblade
07-06-2001, 10:04 PM
Totally agree that Wiltord does not work wif Henry and Pires. But without Henry he's not bad like in the confederation cup now. But anyone will take Henry than wiltord.
bizkit86
07-06-2001, 10:12 PM
beckham, imo, will -never- go to arsenal :D
Souljer
07-06-2001, 11:16 PM
Did anyone see how Vieira shimmy his way from 3 brazilians to the penalty box during the second half? Too bad he was finally
tackled before he could score. But it was truly world-class. Pires'
volley was also awesome and did anyone notice he was playing in central midfield for France this time? Wonder Wenger will partner him with Vieria when EpL starts?
thetruthisoutthere
08-06-2001, 08:15 AM
Originally posted by bizkit86
beckham, imo, will -never- go to arsenal :D
who wants beckham any way???? :confused:
thetruthisoutthere
08-06-2001, 08:26 AM
Originally posted by Phatboy
Did anyone see how Vieira shimmy his way from 3 brazilians to the penalty box during the second half? Too bad he was finally
tackled before he could score. But it was truly world-class. Pires'
volley was also awesome and did anyone notice he was playing in central midfield for France this time? Wonder Wenger will partner him with Vieria when EpL starts?
stefan effenberg.... with nakata just in front of them and henry as
the lone striker.... robert pires on the left and ljunberg on right
with ray palour and bergkam as back ups... now we just need a
couple more defenders to take us to the top of every championship.....
deathblade
15-06-2001, 02:15 PM
Francis Jeffers has signed a 5 year deal with Arsenal. Confirmed liao. Next target............ To sell whinning Kanu or Duckfooted Wiltord. Whoa if Nakata join lagi best.
Souljer
15-06-2001, 05:41 PM
Next target.....Campbell! Hopefully.
Arsene_Wenger
16-06-2001, 05:13 PM
I think Nataka should come in and Kanu should go and Wiltord should stay!
deathblade
17-06-2001, 03:50 PM
Frankly i dun know wat to make about Campbell's possible move to Arsenal. We need defenders, but do we need an above average but not very good Central defender that will destroy Arsenal's wage structure............... So at the end of the day, no to campbell if al the reports about him asking for 100000........... pounds reports are true. Reasons
1. He is not that good.
2. Arsenal is not as rich as Man U
3. See what happen at Man u after they gave Keane a raise.........now everyone wants a raise............. probably haha even Silvestre, the Nevilles and Butt.
4. If Viera and Henry also want a raise????? They world cup winners leh how to argue they dun deserve the pay is cambell does????????????
5. They are cheaper alternatives to Campbell..........eg if we dun buy him , wenger may be forced to look at the Arseanl youth squad for a change................. Scarlly another ashley Cole???????????????
Souljer
17-06-2001, 04:00 PM
The reason why we had to consider Campbell is because he is the finest English defender in terms of experience and strength.
We need a English backbone who are already adapted to the vigours and toughness of the EPL. There are no finer English defenders other than Campbell. Stepanovs just doesn't cut it for me as he is inexperiened and needs some time to get adapted. See how he fumbled during the match against manu. I think Gio VB will be a greater possibilty of joining us than Nakata.
if roma wins the serie a, dun think they will want to sell nakata...
deathblade
17-06-2001, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by Souljer
The reason why we had to consider Campbell is because he is the finest English defender in terms of experience and strength.
We need a English backbone who are already adapted to the vigours and toughness of the EPL. There are no finer English defenders other than Campbell. Stepanovs just doesn't cut it for me as he is inexperiened and needs some time to get adapted. See how he fumbled during the match against manu. I think Gio VB will be a greater possibilty of joining us than Nakata.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I agree that Campbell is the finest young Central Defenfer in England and of course i also know that arsenal needs someone like him................... But if he is asking to be paid higher than people like Del Piero, Batistuta.............. dun u think he is pushing it?:(
raveness
18-06-2001, 10:28 AM
Yippee!!! :D
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/afc/vieira_rosskinnaird_150x200.jpg
from soccernet:
Vieira: I've no reason to leave Arsenal
By Andy Hooper
France midfielder Patrick Vieira looks to have ended the speculation over his future by pledging his loyalty to Arsenal.
Vieira: Gunners pledge
(RossKinnaird/Allsport)
The Premiership player of the year has been the subject of transfer talk linking him with a host of top European clubs - including Manchester United, Juventus, Inter Milan and Barcelona - but has now vowed to remain with the Gunners.
'There's no reason for me to leave,' Vieira told the Sunday newspaper News of the World.
'It's irrelevant to talk about leaving I feel great here. We don't reach every goal but the motivation and spirit are there.'
Arsenal's 2000/01 season ended in bitter disappointment with a distant runners-up finish in the Premiership behind Manchester United, an away-goals defeat to Valencia in the last eight of the Champions League - and a disastrous late collapse in the FA Cup Final against Liverpool.
But, after a week in which the Highbury club reinforced its attacking strength with the £8million signing of striker Francis Jeffers from Everton, the news of Vieira's intention to remain in North London will come as a further boost to manager Arsene Wenger.
And the midfielder paid tribute to his countryman boss by adding: 'We all want to give our best. We should all be grateful to Arsene Wenger - he has certainly done a lot for my game.'
deathblade
18-06-2001, 06:27 PM
Great news defintely! Now if Rires can carry his confederation Cup form to the next season, Kanu and Bergkamp back to their magical form they had.................. Henry and Viera again improving plus Jeffers proving his worth................ Ashley and others from the Arsenal youth squad replacing the old defenders and the import of Nakata , Gio and maybe campbell............. we can mount a serious challenge to anything. Oh i forgot please sack wiltord!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Souljer
18-06-2001, 07:14 PM
Its either Gio or Nakata. Dun u guys realise we have too many midfielders now? Lauren, Parlour, Pires, Ljungberg, Vieria, Grimandi and not to mention Pennant who might be given a run on the senior team due to his strong performance in wining the FA Youth Cup this year.
deathblade
20-06-2001, 07:58 AM
It's official Arsenal has signed Dutch International VanBrhronst From Ranger.........................
Souljer
20-06-2001, 10:29 AM
Hope he can fill Petit's boots. And that means Nakata should be staying in Roma. Midfield and attack settled liao, now for the defence and goalkeeper.
Theychosenone
20-06-2001, 02:56 PM
That means he'll probably play on the left side of midfield or in the centre. It'll allow Pires to play on the right, which is better as Pires is dominantly right footed(but his left foot isn't bad at all too). Good signing by Arsenal. Now to get a decent long term replacement for Adams or Keown..
raveness
20-06-2001, 03:44 PM
keown?? noooo!!! he stil has a few good years left wat! :(
tink must getting backup for Dixon more impt lah...sigh dun wan to say bad bout him also lah
Theychosenone
20-06-2001, 05:38 PM
True lah Keown still doing well..he Adams and Dixon have served the club well, but they really need some back-up centrebacks and rightbacks, as those guys can't go on forever! The current reserve defenders like Stepanovs and Grimandi aren't really doing well (needs more time) , Arsenal needs a quick fix solution if they are to do well next season. Campbell is good but with 200K offered a week to him by Barcelona surely he'll be flying off to Spain..
Souljer
20-06-2001, 06:24 PM
Arsenal's very own Van The Man.
http://www.icons.com/images/news/b/bronckhorst1.jpg
deathblade
20-06-2001, 06:52 PM
I still think Nakata will leave Roma........ Whre i dun know but i think we should give Pires a go at central Mid. After his sterling performance on that position in the Conferderation Cup.
C1ndere11a
21-06-2001, 08:41 AM
Is it true 5 million pounds for richard wright.........??
Can feel it man, Wenger taking proactive steps..........now for some defenders and we are there!!
deathblade
21-06-2001, 10:36 AM
It is offcial Richard wright has signed for Arsenal............... HAHA ...................... 1 more right back, preferably another Ashley Cole( From youth squad ) & 2 more central back.............. Then power!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Richard Wright would be earning 50,000 pounds a week... and he's not even an established international yet. :p
Theychosenone
21-06-2001, 01:47 PM
I think Richard Wright's signing is not official yet, it's not written on Arsenal's website. But I have to agree that Arsenal is getting very strong for next season..
paladin
21-06-2001, 10:36 PM
Originally posted by dsi
rumoured that if veira leaves.....pires will go too
he seems to think that veira is the key to arsenal's success...and besides he's got an offer from valencia which he is seriously considering
get rid of wiltord for goodness sakes...he's useless...cramming pires and henry out of the game...running all over the place...plus he looks like a duck
Pires wouldn't go Valancia, cos Valancia lost its Champions league place.
Arsenal is signing Richard Wright from Ipswich Town. End of Alex Manniger, full-stop
Arsenal also released Stefan Malz liao to FC Kaiserslautern
paladin
21-06-2001, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by deathblade
I still think Nakata will leave Roma........ Whre i dun know but i think we should give Pires a go at central Mid. After his sterling performance on that position in the Conferderation Cup.
Pires...er..hehe..not combative enuff..
deathblade
23-06-2001, 03:45 PM
F U C King Cantona non of his freaking business be comes and ask Viera to leave Arsenal!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Go to hell cantona!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Souljer
23-06-2001, 09:09 PM
I'm not surprised that Cantona has been asked by manu to persuade Vieira to join them. Especially since manu supporters have been demanding their club to sign a world-class player to boast their European campaign's chances. With Veron, Thuram and Zidane staying in Italy, their shopping list of world-class players looked to be getting shorter and shorter. It's no wonder they would cast an envious eye on our paddy by getting their French connection(Cantona) to test or shall i say unsettle the waters first before casting their nets.
deathblade
24-06-2001, 11:32 AM
I'm not surprised that Cantona has been asked by manu to persuade Vieira to join them. Especially since manu supporters have been demanding their club to sign a world-class player to boast their European campaign's chances. With Veron, Thuram and Zidane staying in Italy, their shopping list of world-class players looked to be getting shorter and shorter. It's no wonder they would cast an envious eye on our paddy by getting their French connection(Cantona) to test or shall i say unsettle the waters first before casting their nets.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Whoa the rumours are coming fast and furious about King Viera's future with Arsenal............ Now his agent has proclaimed that Viera had told Dean and Wenger about his desire to leave............. Me becoming really sad.......................
dexterkid
24-06-2001, 11:38 AM
HAHhaX ArSenAl SuckS to thE CoRe!!! MAnchestEr UniETd Rulez!!!
deathblade
24-06-2001, 11:43 AM
sTupid kid go start ur own Manyooooooo thread dun kajiao us okay siam a side.
fatherboard
24-06-2001, 04:38 PM
if Vieira gonna leave Gunners,
i really have serious doubts over next season challenge against Man U and Liverpool. Well if talking about the truth, Veiria should leave Arsenal, simply Gunners are not strong enough for trophies next season. Sol Campbell insist of high wages and Wenger seems not too interested in getting campbell anymore......
i guess Jeffers will have to take time to settle in London, as well as Gio. As for Richard Wright, he's a good GK, but Wenger seems like he's aiming for Dudek all the way.
If Vieira gonna leave Gunners for italy, i can say we lost a midfield general. Gio is still new to english football, althought he has been playing in Scotland for years..... As for Grimandi and Pires, one is totally defensive, one is really fanciful...which none has the character and leadership of Vieira.
We should get Petit back, and hope for a midfield like; Gio on the left, Vieira, Petit in the centre, and Pires on the right, that will be a fearsome midfield.
Even the most loyal Arsenal Fan gonna say, it's a difficult task next season.
Victoria Concordia Crescit
FB.
raveness
25-06-2001, 02:19 AM
NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!! :sad:
wahlau...just last week...Vieira: I've no reason to leave Arsenal (http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2001/0617/20010617afcvieira.html)
now!! wahlau...dam stoopid leh sigh dunno wat to say also :(
is it a agent's ploy to get more $$$?
or was it tat ** Cantona!!! :mad: wahlau...wan to win by making their closest rival weaker grrrrr :P heehee
aiyah IF its true and he really wanna go...let him go lah...i dun wanna support a player that so fickle n unloyal anyway! :P wahaha
Comeon!!! VIEIRA!!! say it isn't so...:sad: ...n sack tat agent of yours wahahah :D
deathblade
25-06-2001, 09:33 AM
Guess wat that i think is the same agent who pried Anelka from Arsenal.............. Patrick is always a favorite of the Gunners fans and now he is demanding to leave............... Soccernet, Zoomsoccer and football 365 all had reports......... Cmon pat dun let us down. If u have to leave, give Wenger another year to find a replacement....... More challenge.....????????? Champs league, EPL league, Fa Cup not enough challenge?????????? Juz one more year.
fatherboard
25-06-2001, 10:17 AM
it's rather confirm that Vieira has ask for a transfer.
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/afc/vieirashirt_br.jpg
it seems like Gunners Boss and Wenger are unable to keep Vieira for another season.....
well the greatest mistake is to take away Petit and Overmars....
and that resulted in poor performance, we have lost two cup finals in two years.....
Any top-class player would like to be in a winning team.
guess it's another new start of arsenal.
FB.
Souljer
25-06-2001, 11:24 AM
More bad news.....it seems that those @&*$$@# devils
are trying to lure Petit to OT. Seems like they want to re-create
the Vieira / Petit partnership at OT.
deathblade
25-06-2001, 06:23 PM
Pissed off liao........... If Viera goes that's the end of this wonderful era at Arsenal...........
123kidy
25-06-2001, 07:27 PM
- From Soccernet -
Vieira: Arsenal are not good enough
The war of words between Patrick Vieira and Arsenal Football Club is getting more extreme by the day.
Vieira: Wants to go
(RossKinnaird/Allsport)
The player's latest comments reported in The Sun newspaper on Monday are the most scathing so far, as he takes on his team-mates and the club in general. The club's board are meeting today to determine a response.
The French international appears determined to leave Highbury at any cost - and he will do anything it takes to make remaining there impossible.
'I need to leave because I want to win more trophies and I just cannot see that happening at Arsenal. Certainly not over the next few years, anyway,' The Sun reports him as saying.
'Comparing Arsenal to the big clubs in Europe this season is going to be quite ridiculous.
'I do not honestly see Arsenal finishing in the top five in the league - and you can forget the Champions League.'
--------------
wow this guy really wants to leave
deathblade
26-06-2001, 10:16 AM
Dutch winger Marc Overmars, who demanded a move from Arsenal to Barcelona last summer and could now be set to link up with Vieira again at the Nou Camp, told his icons site: "Patrick's ambition has made him feel he wants to see if he can get success elsewhere. That's totally understandable and even though he's a massive favourite at Highbury, people just need to accept and respect his feelings. He's done so well for them there, they can't begrudge him ambition."
Overmars also revealed that he has no regrets over his own move from Arsenal despite difficulty in securing the transfer: "They don't let you move easily at Highbury. They didn't want me to move when I left but I was quite determined that I wanted to test myself somewhere new. I'm glad I made that move."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This guy is really a F U C K Er !!!!!!!!!! if he leaves then leave . But he always have some smart alec remarks to mede ......... Go and Die ASSHOl;ES............ I still dun believe that Viera has said what the papers had written.
paladin
26-06-2001, 02:12 PM
all I can say is...haiz!!!!
All so gian rui!!!
yellowsubmarine
26-06-2001, 03:00 PM
If Veira wanna leave then let him leave lor. Hope Arsenal can rebuild their squad around some other players instead.
What for having a player in your squad whose heart says "I dont wanna play for Arsenal anymore".
But then if Viera leaves, Wenger/Pires/Henry may leave too right?
assaltus
26-06-2001, 03:31 PM
But then if Viera leaves, Wenger/Pires/Henry may leave too right?
That is precisely why Wenger is trying so hard to keep Veira. It will affect the entire squad.
deathblade
26-06-2001, 07:45 PM
VIERA PLEASE DUN GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :( :( :( :(
assaltus
27-06-2001, 10:07 AM
No point keep him if his heart not with Highbury...even if we can keep him for this coming season, he will threaten to leave again on the next if Arsenal didn't win any trophies...
I personally believe Pires/Grimandi/Henry and especially Wenger must have tried their best to persaude him to stay....Football is a team game, Arsenal will not die just because of one player. GO GUNNERS!
Arsene_Wenger
28-06-2001, 09:50 PM
yup..i DUN see there is any need for Arsenal to stop veira from leaving since he wnt to go...
I WILL SUPPORT ARSENAL FOREVER EVEN WITHOUT HIM!! but i will still ADMIRE him but not supporting the club he is going
Souljer
29-06-2001, 12:00 AM
He may be a world class footballer but as a human being he is a scum in a cesspool, an ingrate who bites the hand that feed him.
assaltus
29-06-2001, 09:55 AM
Pity Wenger to always end up with ungrateful players - Anelka, Petite, Overmars...and now Viera. Groomed into star players and now see how they bad-mouth Arsenal, especially Overmars :frus:
fatherboard
29-06-2001, 10:21 AM
Brett Emerton.
http://www.soccernet.com/images/global/australia/emerton_nm.jpg
Arsenal are considering a move for Feyenoord's £6million-rated midfielder Brett Emerton after front-runners Leeds cooled on the idea of signing the 22-year-old Aussie.
For more Details [click here] (http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2001/0629/20010629afcemerton.html)
well it seems that Wenger is getting himself a right-midfielder. Which possiblilities that Pires and Gio are playing centre, while Ljungberg playing on the left. We have to see how it goes....
FB.
Jorgensen
29-06-2001, 02:00 PM
Originally posted by assaltus
Pity Wenger to always end up with ungrateful players - Anelka, Petite, Overmars...and now Viera. Groomed into star players and now see how they bad-mouth Arsenal, especially Overmars :frus:
Guess there's no such thing as grateful and ungrateful in modern soccer.What happen if Aresene Wenger leave Aresenal one day?Are u branding him as ungrateful?No way.If the team can gel together,that's fine.Otherwise it break as easy as that.No right and no wrong IMHO.
deathblade
29-06-2001, 06:58 PM
Guys!!!!! Relax!!!!!! U People Are Jumping the Gun here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Did u see a recorded telecast of Viera saying what the Tabloits had written???????????????????????????????? No rite......... Any reports from Juve , Man U, or Real that they had secured Viera through the idiot Marc Roger........... No rite............ If we r to believe all that the tabloits had said then Fowler is already training in Arsenal liao........ Remember he was linked to us extensively last year............ So why r u people condeming Viera liao........................
Let's look at the facts................ He worked like a dog as a Gunner for the past 5 years............. He has always said he love the fans.......... these are facts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What has the reporters at the papers done to earn ur trust???????????????
See if Viera really said those stuff then he should be dammed............ However let's wait before we pass the verdit kay.........
I still very "Tian Zhen". Viera will wear the silly Golden new gunner away strip at Old Trafford and avenge the 6-1 defeat we had suffered...............
assaltus
30-06-2001, 02:04 AM
Originally posted by stavridis10
Guess there's no such thing as grateful and ungrateful in modern soccer.What happen if Aresene Wenger leave Aresenal one day?Are u branding him as ungrateful?No way.If the team can gel together,that's fine.Otherwise it break as easy as that.No right and no wrong IMHO.
I think the key is leave in goodwill. But look at Overmars, he seems to be telling everyone not to join Arsenal b'cos it sucks. That's biting the hand that feeds IMHO. He was a relatively unknown player who was injured and almost out of play for 1 year before Wenger took him...
deathblade
04-07-2001, 10:42 AM
Alright, now that campbell has signed for Arsenal and Petit's statement about his loyalty to Arsenal supporters.........( He coose not to join Spurs) ............. The mood is slightly better........... Now with Grimandi and Wenger both insisting that Viera did not say what was reported........ With Viera with Gio, Lungberg, Henry, Bergkamp, Campbell, Adams, Cole, Kanu, Keown, Parlour, Dixson, Seaman, maybe Wright.......... Silvino...................... The team looks good and if they gel, Man U and Pool beware...........
assaltus
04-07-2001, 11:56 AM
Can Wenger spend 1 mil to hire an assasin and finish off that agent?:mad:
If Viera stays, will he put in 100% :confused:
fatherboard
04-07-2001, 03:06 PM
the pic we all gunners fan are waiting:
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/afc/solwenger_jm.jpg
right now with campbell joining us, our defence are much or less ready for battle. With GK problem being solved by signing Richard Wright, and strikers, we have Henry and Jeffers. Only part is that the midfield is rather not orgnaise.
Even with Vieira in the middle, we still lacks the bite, that Petit has given us. Gio is still new, while pires is too much a fancy player.
As for Grimandi, i think he's best as a sub, rather to work with Vieira.
So what's next, gunners?
it seems like next season will be a fiery one.......
FB.
Souljer
04-07-2001, 05:51 PM
Dun write off Gio straight away. From what i gathered, he's quite used to the roughness of Brit football having played in SPL. He's also quite good at long-shots and having played at leftback for Holland, I think he can tackle back as well as Petit. As for going forward, that's something we have to watch and see. Does anyone find him quite Asian looking?
deathblade
04-07-2001, 09:50 PM
The important thing is midfield. Parlour, Lungberg and if Gio is also hardmanish then good....... Cos par;our IMo doesn't have the proper touches..... so if Gio has that and with Pires and hopefully Viera, the midfield will be superb............... Frontline with Henry, Bergkamp(creator), and Jeffers if he is really good......................backline.......... Cole or Silvino, Adams or Keown and Campbell, notice still no replacement for Dixson and Wright.............. A good team on paper.
LiteMan
04-07-2001, 10:48 PM
Wah, I didn't realise that there were so many Arsenal fans here...
raveness
06-07-2001, 10:28 AM
hmmm i wonder wat vow viera made leh...
taken from soccernet...
`...The signing of Campbell came on the day that boss Arsene Wenger claimed he had a 'vow' from Vieira over his future. Exactly what that means is open to interpretation, but there is every chance that he has now decided to stay. '
raveness
06-07-2001, 08:04 PM
Inamoto looks set to join Arsenal
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger is looking to tie up a £4million deal to bring Japan's Junichi Inamoto to the club.
The 21-year-old midfielder impressed Wenger when the Frenchman was in Japan last month working as a television analyst during the Confederations Cup.
Wenger said: 'We are very close to agreeing a deal with J League club Gamba Osaka to sign Inamoto. He has been a target for some time. We had a very good squad last year but were short in some areas and I'm very confident the players we've signed will strengthen it.'
Inamoto, whose goal against Yugoslavia this week sealed the Kirin Cup for Japan, said: 'If I get the chance to play for Arsenal I'll be delighted and we are working out the final details.'
Wenger, who yesterday completed the signing of goalkeeper Richard Wright and agreed extensions for Lee Dixon and David Seaman, has already spent £25m this summer.
yellowsubmarine
06-07-2001, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by raveness
Inamoto looks set to join Arsenal
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger is looking to tie up a £4million deal to bring Japan's Junichi Inamoto to the club.
The 21-year-old midfielder impressed Wenger when the Frenchman was in Japan last month working as a television analyst during the Confederations Cup.
Wenger said: 'We are very close to agreeing a deal with J League club Gamba Osaka to sign Inamoto. He has been a target for some time. We had a very good squad last year but were short in some areas and I'm very confident the players we've signed will strengthen it.'
Inamoto, whose goal against Yugoslavia this week sealed the Kirin Cup for Japan, said: 'If I get the chance to play for Arsenal I'll be delighted and we are working out the final details.'
Wenger, who yesterday completed the signing of goalkeeper Richard Wright and agreed extensions for Lee Dixon and David Seaman, has already spent £25m this summer.
Woah Japanese player sia!! Now Japan supporters not only support Parma but also Arsenal liao.
guoxian
07-07-2001, 12:50 AM
If Inamoto really signs, then there is a potential of huge income from Japan. I haven't seen him play b4. BTW, is he adored in Japan?
So many signings may pose a problem if integration to the team is not adequate. However, I still harvest hope that next season is a fruitful one.
123kidy
07-07-2001, 11:07 AM
just my opinon (not attacking arsenal ok?)
arsenal have way too many strikers. i'm sure wenger will play Henry as his 1st choice..leaving wiltord,bergkamp,kanu and jeffers to fight for one place? dat's crazy considering howfustrated wiltord,bergkamp n kanu r last season..not getting regular football
midfield - only real class player is viera (n he isnt happy), girmandi can forget it , GIO ? from Scottish league- possiblly lousiest league u can ever find. enough said. pplayers like lauren, edu arent excalty gona challenge the midfield of manutd's. parlour hardworking without being outstanding.pires never had the impact overmars had. n japanese player??? he wont make it ..he will never be 1st chioce i'm sure of dat. buy him waste money like edu
manutd buy veron..they buy who?players like GIO n jap player...
they buy van nisterlrooy..they buy who? waste money buy jeffers
u seriously think jeffers better den bergkamp n kanu? NAH
u buy players only if they r better or can improve the current squad
nisterlrooy is definitely better den the crappy strikers manutd have
veron better den any of the midfield...he will improve them
defence old n aging ..
buy sol campbell
reported 200,000pounds a week
all i can say is stupid pple play dat kind of stupid wages
he's not DAT outstanding anyway
so many other good defenders ..montero,nesta, cannavaro,thuram n they dun get DAT MUCH!!!
shows how desperate arsenal is
buy wright for when seaman is still England's 1st choice under eriksson
so who is wenger gonaa play?
i think seaman will play ..with wright understudy.
there u go ..buy keeper n rot him ..wasting money
raveness
07-07-2001, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by 123kidy
(not attacking arsenal ok?)
...sure looks like it :P
arsenal have way too many strikers...
...so how many is enuf? 2?
ever hear of rotation? burnout? loss of form
midfield - only real class player is viera......
...leave it to wenger to `polish' them up :P its not your bluddy problem...
manutd buy veron..they buy who?players like GIO n jap player......
wats wrong with jap players? never heard of nagata ah?
ars not as `rich' (n stoopid) to get exp players wat...wan to tok bout wastin $$$....
stupid pple play dat kind of stupid wages
yupyup stoopid...stoopid to get him FREE...with the amt we saved we can easily pay his wages :P
really wonder wat your attention span is leh...on one hand say stupid to page high wages...on the other tok bout montero,nesta, cannavaro,thuram...u mean they would ask for LESS???
buy wright for when seaman is still England's 1st choice under eriksson
u yorself say he is gonna understudy seaman...is tat consider rotting? wright made the RIGHT choice...all he has to do is learn wat he can from the master n b ready to take over next year both for team N country :P
lastly...obviously u are not an ars fan...so why dun u just stop being a hyprocrite n `not attacking arsenal ok?' in tis thread...
tank u wwf fan...:P
123kidy
07-07-2001, 12:18 PM
wow y u so sound so offended
wwf fan?
wat does it got to do with wwf?
oh my nick? attacking me huh
hey i just type wat i feel..isnt this wat this forum is for?
i'm not anti arsenal k, sounds like to u ..isnt always is. i find them a pretty decent team. i mean which team can finish second 3 yrs running..not many ok..hehe
anyway i just find dat their signings r questionable.
n no, wat i am saying is players like nesta r earning lesser den 200,000k a week.
do u seriously think a player deserves 200,000k a week even if he is free?
so he made the right choice in moving to Arsenal?
staying in the reserves n ruin his chances of making to the wc2002...
ic ic
hehe
Bossman
07-07-2001, 03:10 PM
no .....a big no.
in this EPL forum, you cannot write anything against the epl players or team coz you will get BANNED.
even the admin are against anti-epl......so watch your back.:D
Souljer
07-07-2001, 11:39 PM
just my opinon (not attacking arsenal ok?)
arsenal have way too many strikers. i'm sure wenger will play Henry as his 1st choice..leaving wiltord,bergkamp,kanu and jeffers to fight for one place? dat's crazy considering howfustrated wiltord,bergkamp n kanu r last season..not getting regular football
No, Wenger will definitely sell one of the strikers. Whether it is Kanu or Withord, one will go definitely.
midfield - only real class player is viera (n he isnt happy), girmandi can forget it , GIO ? from Scottish league- possiblly lousiest league u can ever find. enough said. pplayers like lauren, edu arent excalty gona challenge the midfield of manutd's. parlour hardworking without being outstanding.pires never had the impact overmars had. n japanese player??? he wont make it ..he will never be 1st chioce i'm sure of dat. buy him waste money like edu
Wenger like to work with unpolished players and crafted them into classy players. Case in point: petit, former leftback for Monaco
but with wenger's touch, became the best midfield pairing with Vieira in Epl. Henry, former Juventus and Monaco winger, now leading France's attack. As for pires, did u ever see his performances for France at Conferderation Cup? As for Grimandi,
well u are rite about that. Lauren: give him some time will ya. Jap player? No comments.
manutd buy veron..they buy who?players like GIO n jap player...
they buy van nisterlrooy..they buy who? waste money buy jeffers
u seriously think jeffers better den bergkamp n kanu? NAH
Jeffers will provide us the directness in attack that 'creative' players like Kanu and Bergkamp lack. After all these 2 will provide
and Jeffers will add in the finishing touch.
u buy players only if they r better or can improve the current squad
nisterlrooy is definitely better den the crappy strikers manutd have
veron better den any of the midfield...he will improve them
No, we dun have the financial resources to compete with manu in terms of signing players. After all, we are only a 'small' club with the smallest stadium in epl. So how can we sign soccer superstars like Thuram and Zidane? That's why Vieira wants to leave us for richer pastures, remember?
fatherboard
08-07-2001, 03:37 AM
there's no need for comments about arsenal current squad.
anything, we have to see the performance of it, to comments.
have you seen Giovanni Van Bronckhorst play before?
scottish league maybe one of the "lousy" leagues, but Viduka came from there too, and is targetted by MILAN.
well Arsenal signings too have some questionable points, just like 4 years ago, Wenger signs Petit, Overmars....one is not establish, one just return from injury, and yet both prove they are able to make an serious impact, and win the championship.
we are not anti-Seria A, we are not basketballers turn to footballer. we are just supporting what we love, and that doesn't mean u like to eat chicken rice, means you must know the history of chicken rice. bossman, you get what i mean?
as for sol campbell, we can only comments after he play. Right now, who had seen him play in an Arsenal shirt? As for the japanese, i don't know about that guy seriously. But same go to Vieira, who knows him 5 years ago....
FB.
Arsene_Wenger
08-07-2001, 06:55 PM
scottish league maybe one of the "lousy" leagues, but Viduka came from there too, and is targetted by MILAN.
well Arsenal signings too have some questionable points, just like 4 years ago, Wenger signs Petit, Overmars....one is not establish, one just return from injury, and yet both prove they are able to make an serious impact, and win the championship.
we are not anti-Seria A, we are not basketballers turn to footballer. we are just supporting what we love, and that doesn't mean u like to eat chicken rice, means you must know the history of chicken rice. bossman, you get what i mean?
as for sol campbell, we can only comments after he play. Right now, who had seen him play in an Arsenal shirt? As for the japanese, i don't know about that guy seriously. But same go to Vieira, who knows him 5 years ago....
FB.
Bravo!!
Bossman
08-07-2001, 07:30 PM
well...fatherboard, you are right that if you eat chicken rice you do not need to know the history of it.BUT THIS FOOTBALL my fren!!!
you do not claim yourself as a fan if you do not know the clubs history and its rise to cult status coz if you do you are the typical epl fair weather fan!!
look at me..i stopped supporting liverpool coz i know its history.the history which is started by Bob Paisley.he started the one touch football for british football and thats the reason why liverpool is a success under him.but i feel cheated when graeme souness abandon that playing style.they can be ultra popular but i do not care if they abondon their famous one touch play.when is the last time you see a liverpool team always come back from a goal down.last time when you play liverpool , it is never over till the last whistle.
and please henry is still lousy,petit is lousy,pires is lousy.why ? lool at petit, he plays so well at arsenal but when play with the big boys, what happen ?
pires plays well at the confederation cup ? yeah right..look at the players on display..there is no rivaldo,no carlos,no zidane,no emerson and other big names....of coz he will shine!!! playing with second string mexico,the jap and a reserve brazil is nothing to shout about.!!!!!
wake up!!!
deathblade
08-07-2001, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by Bossman
no .....a big no.
in this EPL forum, you cannot write anything against the epl players or team coz you will get BANNED.
even the admin are against anti-epl......so watch your back.:D
Somebody is whinning about the banning incident again...............
Aiyah, stop whinning lah my poor little girl..........If u have a spine leave this forum else quit whinning..........
ENOUGH SAID
deathblade
08-07-2001, 08:06 PM
and please henry is still lousy,petit is lousy,pires is lousy.why ? lool at petit, he plays so well at arsenal but when play with the big boys, what happen ?
I hate to say this but i agree with u about Petit........ Pires i'll say give him another year............ Anyway the Brazil squad is the no. 1 choice of the sacked coach............ Too bad.................. About ur history crap hor.............. Forget it ur Ronaldo will never be a better striker than Henry after his injury.........
Bossman
08-07-2001, 09:07 PM
Originally posted by deathblade
Forget it ur Ronaldo will never be a better striker than Henry after his injury.........
he is already better than Henry now.
First he won the Fifa world player twice while Henry has none.
Second he is still surviving at Serie A while Henry has left Serie A for a lower league.
Third he has his own customed made boots by Nike while Henry has none.
Fourth , he is great enough to be Inter Milan shareholder while Henry is just a player.
Henry can ever hold a candle to Ronaldo -R9.
frankly, i hope Ronaldo can recover. :angel:
123kidy
09-07-2001, 12:16 PM
1st of all, i dun think viduka is not as good as pple say
ok so he scored how many?18 last season?
apart from the 4 goals he scored against pool..which means he only scored 14 in like 50+ games? now dat's Lousy
Gio, if he's good ..he wont be playing in the scottish league
as for campbell, i'm sure he will turn out good for arsenal. i'm just saying he dun deserve 200,000 a week. nobody does
n the jap player? wat can i say! he's asian! how many asians can be regular in a english club
div 1 or 2? got or not? let alone Arsenal
FB.
fatherboard
09-07-2001, 12:39 PM
1st of all, i dun think viduka is not as good as pple say
ok so he scored how many?18 last season?
apart from the 4 goals he scored against pool..which means he only scored 14 in like 50+ games? now dat's Lousy
Gio, if he's good ..he wont be playing in the scottish league
as for campbell, i'm sure he will turn out good for arsenal. i'm just saying he dun deserve 200,000 a week. nobody does
n the jap player? wat can i say! he's asian! how many asians can be regular in a english club
div 1 or 2? got or not? let alone Arsenal
anyway,
this thread is for arsenal news and updates, anything more, i dun wish to comment. if you need to argued or debate certain points or question certain players, please go and create another thread.
Viduka's main purpose is not just scoring, he's not Ian Rush or Gary Lineker. His pressence in the penalty box is fearsome, and he create space for fellow team-mates. That's Leeds' football, i dun care.
As for Giovanni Van Bronckhorst, if he's not good, he won't be in the national squad.
And for Campbell, he deserve the money or not, has he play yet? nope, so wait till he plays or score own goals, maybe you can come and mock at us or jeer at us, right now, nothing to prove your point.
As for the jap player, he have to prove his trade, and only when he had play, i'll comments.
right now, i just want to tell you, anything you want to qestion about, post another thread. We will debate there, here is for arsenal news and updates, for all arsenal fans to see and look.
FB.
fatherboard
09-07-2001, 12:58 PM
well...fatherboard, you are right that if you eat chicken rice you do not need to know the history of it.BUT THIS FOOTBALL my fren!!!
you do not claim yourself as a fan if you do not know the clubs history and its rise to cult status coz if you do you are the typical epl fair weather fan!!
look at me..i stopped supporting liverpool coz i know its history.the history which is started by Bob Paisley.he started the one touch football for british football and thats the reason why liverpool is a success under him.but i feel cheated when graeme souness abandon that playing style.they can be ultra popular but i do not care if they abondon their famous one touch play.when is the last time you see a liverpool team always come back from a goal down.last time when you play liverpool , it is never over till the last whistle.
Yes, good.
you understand what i meant. i know liverpool history, that doesn't mean i'm a liverpool fan. You are just another Sol Campbell in making, if you are a loyal LFC supporter, would you jump ship? yes, Bob Paisley's football has been thrown away, but after him, a succession of European winning team from LFC has emerged too. You are not supporting LFC because of Graeme Souness, and that explained you are not a loyal supporter.
a Die-hard fan, supports the club, even it's a third division or a relegated club, he will wait for the club to be better again, stronger once more, that will bring back the golden years once again.
You are right in certain ways that many Man U supporters are just supporting man u because of beckham, giggys......But not forgeting you might hurt many REAL MUFC supporters in the process. Those who supports MUFC long enough, they love the football, they love the club, just like we are. They are really MUFC die-hards, ppl i seen like; inix, jirquest......all die-hard fans.
a bunch of young kids supporting man u, and you say they are just looking for idols, well you are one of them before, bossman.
when you are supporting LFC, there are lots of Anti-LFC clubs too.
but people dun labelled you as one, and now you labelled EPL supporters as basketballers? In many ways, good football in italy or Spain doesn't means you have to diehard supports them.
I loved italian football, and i just enjoy and see it. i dun abandon Arsenal, just because they play craps, because Arsenal is once i adore and admired, the club spirits lives within me.
bad play or lousy footballers, i dun care. it's the club we supports.
sad to say, i hate Grimandi, but that doesn't meant i dun support Arsenal.
FB.
Bossman
09-07-2001, 01:36 PM
fatherboard and the rest..you guys dun get do you ? cannot even understand simple english...
why i supported liverpool. reason is because of their slick passing football that similar to brazil.no epl team at that time plays that kind of football.that is what keeps liverpool apart from the rest.but when graeme souness comes, he plays the traditional english style that is not only ugly it is a disgrace to football.yes, you can still win things playing that way but a true football fan do not abandon what he beliefs in for glory.
look at brazil at the wc 1994.they won the world cup but they still get bashed for playing defensive football.ppl in brazil is attached to the beautiful game.winning in style is everything.look at epl teams esp liverpool vs barca game.barca is trying to play flowing footbal but liverpool deploy the ugly method.yup liverpool win but its an injustice to football.11 men behind the ball ? my god ...bo lampa i guess....
look at traditionaal giants germany and italy.they still play to their traditional football.one is efficiency whereas the other defensive counter attacking football at its very best.
football is not al about glory.its about what you believe in.why i support ac milan ? coz no team has a better defence system than them till now.....
fatherboard
09-07-2001, 02:06 PM
bossman.
it's not that we dun understand engish.
it's just different thinking, you got your ways of "die-hard", we got ours. You search for perfection in football, but we support the team, since our childhood days.
what influence us, is what we seen from our young days. In the 80s, arsenal is not strong, neither it's playing beautiful football or entertaining football. We support what we loved, and it's the way we go on, and that's what we call: Die-hard fan.
In your thinking, you are sadden by the tactics used by LFC or EPL clubs, well indeed it's sad to see LFC playing those kinda lousy football. But in football there's nothing such as play beautifully and winning it. there's no perfection, italian football plays counter attacking style, defending nuts. and they still got thought to the final of euro2000. Germany has been playing the sweeper formation for years, right now it has changed too.
Football is forever changing, and it's up to you to accept the fact and move on.
Arsenal playing style, seriously it's neither good nor effective. But 1 say this once and for all, a die-hard supporters will supports the club even it play lousily, even it's not the best.
we can loved italian football, like me, have been watching roma since the days, totti is just collecting balls. I love italian football, but i love arsenal passion, and inside my heart, forever i'm an Arsenal Fan.
You can labelled me as stupid, not appreciating good football and supports lousy non-dribbling footballers, but it's the club i supported since the days where adams is just a newbie.
FB.
Bossman
09-07-2001, 02:18 PM
bossman.
it's not that we dun understand engish.
it's just different thinking, you got your ways of "die-hard", we got ours. You search for perfection in football, but we support the team, since our childhood days.
what influence us, is what we seen from our young days. In the 80s, arsenal is not strong, neither it's playing beautiful football or entertaining football. We support what we loved, and it's the way we go on, and that's what we call: Die-hard fan.
In your thinking, you are sadden by the tactics used by LFC or EPL clubs, well indeed it's sad to see LFC playing those kinda lousy football. But in football there's nothing such as play beautifully and winning it. there's no perfection, italian football plays counter attacking style, defending nuts. and they still got thought to the final of euro2000. Germany has been playing the sweeper formation for years, right now it has changed too.
Football is forever changing, and it's up to you to accept the fact and move on.
Arsenal playing style, seriously it's neither good nor effective. But 1 say this once and for all, a die-hard supporters will supports the club even it play lousily, even it's not the best.
we can loved italian football, like me, have been watching roma since the days, totti is just collecting balls. I love italian football, but i love arsenal passion, and inside my heart, forever i'm an Arsenal Fan.
You can labelled me as stupid, not appreciating good football and supports lousy non-dribbling footballers, but it's the club i supported since the days where adams is just a newbie.
FB.
well ..fatherboard, if you support football since your child hood days then thats good.i got nothing against you.
its just that i despice fans who knows nothing about football years ago and playing basketball all of a sudden support newcastle then blackburn then leeds and liverpool then man u.and then they claim they know everything and is a die hard fan.
yeah right!!!
they cease supporting a club that is no longer famous or anything their ah lian girls cannot relate to.only recently i saw an ah beng kia wearing a Roma jersey..pui!!!!
and the main culprit here are yellowsub,zipzilla.
typical losers.
yellowsubmarine
09-07-2001, 03:38 PM
well ..fatherboard, if you support football since your child hood days then thats good.i got nothing against you.
its just that i despice fans who knows nothing about football years ago and playing basketball all of a sudden support newcastle then blackburn then leeds and liverpool then man u.and then they claim they know everything and is a die hard fan.
yeah right!!!
they cease supporting a club that is no longer famous or anything their ah lian girls cannot relate to.only recently i saw an ah beng kia wearing a Roma jersey..pui!!!!
typical losers.
dear friend here.....
yes its true i only start supporting Blackburn in 93/94 but since then have i say in any threads in FFF that i no longer support ROVers and start supporting pool or manutd???
i'll always be a Blackburn fan.
u find me THAT thread ! :D
I've been playing soccer since i was P5, though i admit my soccer skills is not as good as the HWZ people here. But Rovers was the only club i supported so far, mind you. And sorry hor uncle, i've never really like basketball.
get your facts right before you made those comments..
i dont go around like some people support one english club then suddenly support an italian club...who knows next, Spainish club?
pathetic loser....shame on you..someone who watch soccer for so long making such comments...nus grad somemore...
raveness
09-07-2001, 03:41 PM
fatherboard and the rest..you guys dun get do you ? cannot even understand simple english...
anyway,
this thread is for arsenal news and updates, anything more, i dun wish to comment. if you need to argued or debate certain points or question certain players, please go and create another thread.
right now, i just want to tell you, anything you want to qestion about, post another thread. We will debate there, here is for arsenal news and updates, for all arsenal fans to see and look.
FB.
sigh...wonder whos the one who doesn't understand english...
as FB has already said...tis thread is for ARS Fans...i am not really interested in y u wan to watch seria A or Y u tink EPL sux or Y u dun support Pool anymore...so dun have to post here....u have to ask yorself tis...
is your life tat empty...or seria A tat boring tat u have to come to a thread for arsenal fans and start yapping...y cant u find your own group of seria fans n dissuss watever u wan...
pleaseplease...i beg of u...leave us pathatic epl fans to our own little world...if not...i might have to start watching WWF :P
lastly...when I say enuf said...i mean it...
hehehe
09-07-2001, 03:45 PM
yeah right!!!
typical losers.
so wat if there are basketball fans turned football fans? can't they have a switch of interest? not happy? ban them lor.
raveness
09-07-2001, 03:49 PM
...heres hoping for the best :D
Dein: Vieira will be with us for kick-off
By Joe Melling
EXCLUSIVE: David Dein prides himself on being a smart-suited manipulator, operating quietly behind the scenes both at Highbury and within the FA hierarchy.
Vieira: Still a Gunner?
(PhilCole/Allsport)
The need for public pronouncements is anathema to the Arsenal vice-chairman, a multi-millionaire who sweetly made his fortune in the sugar market.
But Dein has become a man with a mission. And the issue he says he has made his 'personal crusade' is centred on the Arsenal future of their brilliant midfield giant, Patrick Vieira.
On that highly combustible topic, Dein has been driven to raise his head above the parapet with an unconditional assurance for Arsenal fans that, should he be proved wrong, will surely cost him dearly in terms of personal credibility.
Vieira, insists Dein, will definitely be in Arsenal's team to begin the new Premiership season at Middlesbrough next month - and not only that. By then, he adds, Arsene Wenger will also have signed on as manager for at least a further two seasons.
The two matters are, of course, inextricably linked.
Should Vieira be allowed to leave Arsenal, despite three years remaining on his agreement, Wenger would undoubtedly high-tail it out of Highbury the moment his current contract expires next summer.
But Dein, asked about the speculation linking the hugely marketable Vieira with any number of world football's big spenders, has a simple response.
'Turn up on August 18 and see if Vieira is wearing the Arsenal shirt. He will be,' he insisted. 'Otherwise Arsene Wenger, the other members of the Arsenal board and myself will be wasting our time.'
Dein's certainty, however, is more than just a reassuring message for the Arsenal faithful. The real target is Manchester United.
Should the chance arise, Old Trafford would welcome both of these richly talented Frenchmen with an open chequebook as well as open arms - Vieira as just the latest multi-million pound addition to a squad who need to challenge seriously for European honours, and Wenger as a celebrated successor to the retiring Sir Alex Ferguson after the manager's final season in charge.
Dein is also aware that, where Vieira is concerned, there is a need, as he puts it, 'to take a stand on behalf of all clubs up and down the country'.
His stance is a direct result of the torment Arsenal endured over another Frenchman, Nicolas Anelka. Dein said: 'Certain things have happened with Vieira which we regard as unsavoury.
'Contracts have to be respected. Arsene tells me he has spoken to Vieira and words have been attributed to him which did not actually come from his mouth. I have been on a personal crusade about this sort of thing since the Anelka saga a couple of years ago. We will not give in on this one. We will not go down that path again.
'I don't want to say any more on the subject except that Vieira is an Arsenal player and he is not for sale at any price. I am very optimistic about the future of Arsene at Arsenal. Of all the people I have met in football there is noone more honourable. It is his intention to sign an extension to his contract.
'But his priority has been to try to ensure we have a successful team and there has been adequate proof of that through the signings we have made. We have brought in players on long contracts and we want him to extend his.'
With Wenger appeased on the Vieira issue and poised this week to complete his fifth signing of a hectic summer in the form of the Japanese midfielder Junichi Inamoto, the Arsenal boss admits he is now clear to sit down and talk about his own future.
'It will all be sorted out before the start of the season,' said Wenger. 'I respect the contracts I sign so I have the right to sit down and discuss the terms of my agreement with my board of directors and get satisfaction.
'But even if I had been offered two or three times more money to move elsewhere during my current agreement, which runs until the summer of 2002, I would not have been prepared to discuss it.'
The fact that Arsenal will have sunk close on £30million into the bid to close the Premiership chasm between themselves and United is likely to confirm Wenger's continued presence at the helm.
And he, too, is adamant that Vieira will remain a similarly massive influence at Highbury.
Wenger said: 'I have spoken to Patrick and I am completely, totally confident he will be with us at the start. I believe he will show his commitment to the club and that we will have a successful season.'
raveness
09-07-2001, 03:59 PM
wooah a few interesting items in tis article...
arsene might leave??? NOOOO!!!! :sad:
steve macca coming??? :P
inamoto more or less confirmed?
SILVINO N KANU OUT??? :sad:
Boss keeps Arsenal in a sweat on new deal
By Martin Lipton
Boss keeps Arsenal in a sweat on new deal
By Martin Lipton
Arsene Wenger condemned Highbury fans to another five weeks of nail-biting tension on Friday night when he refused to commit himself to signing a new Arsenal contract.
Arsene Wenger with one of his summer signings, defender Sol Campbell
(JamieMcDonald/Allsport)
In May, two days after the FA Cup Final defeat by Liverpool, the Highbury manager attempted to lift spirits at the club by promising he would put pen to paper on a two-year extension after 'a maximum of two meetings' with vice-chairman David Dein.
As recently as Tuesday, Wenger maintained the contract talks were on track. But, when pressed by Soccernet to give an assurance that he would stay beyond the end of the new season, the Frenchman was equivocal.
Wenger, ready to make Gamba Osaka's Junichi Inamoto his fifth capture of the summer and still weighing up a possible approach to Real Madrid for Steve McManaman, said: 'I've had no time at all to discuss my contract because I've been busy with the contracts of the players.
'A decision will have to be made before the season starts and I hope to sign before then.'
Dein remained determined not to lose the manager. He said: 'There's no plan B. Personally, I'd rue the day we were without Arsene. He has another year to go on his current contract but has given the board his assurance that he has the will to commit himself.
'These things take time and let me just say I'd be extremely disappointed if he did not extend his stay here. I expect him to sign.
'We're very ambitious and Arsene is very ambitious. It was a big disappointment to fall behind Manchester United and I'm sure he wouldn't have made all these signings if he didn't intend to stay around and see them through.'
...Brazil defender Silvinho - targeted by Valencia, Barcelona and Parma - and Nigeria striker Kanu are likely to leave in the coming weeks, but Wenger believes his summer transfer dealings will give him a genuine chance to challenge United.
He said: 'I felt we had a very good squad last year but maybe there were one or two areas in which we were a bit short. I'm very confident this year but the truth will come out on August 18 at Middlesbrough.'
shmily
09-07-2001, 04:10 PM
yeah right!!!
typical losers.
so what exactly are you trying to say??? u despice fair weather fans. well and good. but does it give u the right to put down the clubs, then the league and finally the country??? so now u see ah beng wearing roma jersey, and for that matter i too saw one yesterday. so can i now say all roma fans sucks, roma sucks, serie a sucks and italy sucks. use your brain and think.
like what fb said, football is an evolving game. no teams play similar style throughout. look at brazil and compare it with the brazilian of the 70's. look at ac milan and compare it with the era of the 3 dutch musketeers. the playing style of a team is a direct relation to the players on hand and the coach/manager style. so do you keep changing alliance whenever any of these changes?
the bottomline is... if u are not happy with those fair weather fans, by all means target them. by just shooting anyhow and stepping onto all others' toes will not do u any good.
shmily
09-07-2001, 04:21 PM
yeah right!!!
typical losers.
everyone started watching footballing/supporting a club for some reasons. everyone has their own unique stories behind. some bcos of their parents' influence, some attended a football match at national stadium one fine day and started to fall in love with the game, some went to pub with friends and got hook to the tv which was showing some football games, etc. i give as much respect to the former and the later. i despice those who think that they have watched football for much longer and look down and everyone else, much more than those fair weather fans.
bossman has his own opinions. but i agree he is a stubborn fool who probably failed all his human resource management modules in NUS if he ever took them.
yellowsubmarine
10-07-2001, 12:18 AM
Originally posted by shmily
the bottomline is... if u are not happy with those fair weather fans, by all means target them. by just shooting anyhow and stepping onto all others' toes will not do u any good.
ya..thats right. not anyone here is a fair-weather epl fan like what he thinks. Just becoz i support Blackburn means i'm a fair-weather fan? pui...
deathblade
10-07-2001, 07:53 AM
he is already better than Henry now.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
HAHAHAHAHAHA in having a gay relationship with the Physio?????????????????????
haha he juz recovered leh ask him to prove it in a match..........................
First he won the Fifa world player twice while Henry has none.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That was last time.......... He was really good then but after the injury??????? Oi girl, We talking about Ronaldo not Zidane......In that case u can say Pele at his age is better than Ronaldo Now cos............. NUS grads cannot differentiate time?
Oh, how many World Cup did ronaldo win with him playing?????
Henry 1, Ronaldo 0........ HAHA Henry started for quite a no. of games .....................
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Second he is still surviving at Serie A while Henry has left Serie A for a lower league.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ur Serie A juz had Vorn gone to MAN U, ZiDane to Malrid ........ HAHA...... and hey so..................
Third he has his own customed made boots by Nike while Henry has none.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHJAHAHAHAH stupid! childish! Sooooooooooooo That means Beckham is better then FiGo cos he has Brycream sponsorship ????????????? HAHAHA
Fourth , he is great enough to be Inter Milan shareholder while Henry is just a player.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HAHAHAHAHA stupid! childish! Spastic!!!! No connection !!!!!!!!
Henry can ever hold a candle to Ronaldo -R9.
Souljer
10-07-2001, 06:25 PM
From the official press release:
" Arsenal FC are to release their first ever DVD on July 23rd with ARSENAL END OF SEASON 2000 - 2001. The PT Video DVD release will feature the entire end of season programme, which has been released on video, cataloguing the club's successful season, but also boasts a host of additional material.
All the season highlights are included in this release; the defeats of both Chelsea and the auld enemy, Tottenham, on the way to the Cardiff Cup Final, Thierry Henry's goal of the season contender against Manchester United, the team's progress through Europe and their battle for the Premiership title - it is all here.
With interviews from Tony Adams, Thierry Henry, Arsene Wenger, and rising star, Ashley Cole, as well as highlights of the Ladies amazing treble and the FA Cup success of the youth squad, this is the definitive history of Arsenal's first season of the new Millennium.
The DVD will also include an entire additional 60-minute programme as a bonus feature, Highbury Highs, which was released on video last year, along with player profiles and a complete record of last season's statistics from the season.
Arsenal: The Official End of Season Review DVD will be available, priced £19.99, at all major DVD and video retailers from 23rd July. "
Can any sane Gooner bear to watch the 6-1 thrashing and the FA Cup final all over again?
Bossman
10-07-2001, 08:57 PM
From the official press release:
" Arsenal FC are to release their first ever DVD on July 23rd with ARSENAL END OF SEASON 2000 - 2001. The PT Video DVD release will feature the entire end of season programme, which has been released on video, cataloguing the club's successful season, but also boasts a host of additional material.
All the season highlights are included in this release; the defeats of both Chelsea and the auld enemy, Tottenham, on the way to the Cardiff Cup Final, Thierry Henry's goal of the season contender against Manchester United, the team's progress through Europe and their battle for the Premiership title - it is all here.
With interviews from Tony Adams, Thierry Henry, Arsene Wenger, and rising star, Ashley Cole, as well as highlights of the Ladies amazing treble and the FA Cup success of the youth squad, this is the definitive history of Arsenal's first season of the new Millennium.
The DVD will also include an entire additional 60-minute programme as a bonus feature, Highbury Highs, which was released on video last year, along with player profiles and a complete record of last season's statistics from the season.
Arsenal: The Official End of Season Review DVD will be available, priced £19.99, at all major DVD and video retailers from 23rd July. "
Can any sane Gooner bear to watch the 6-1 thrashing and the FA Cup final all over again?
another way of making $$$.......:p
Who will buy?Better to watch the new season
rainydae
10-07-2001, 11:01 PM
Got Vcd or not ah?
:D
assaltus
11-07-2001, 04:37 PM
Hai...what is Wenger and gang up to? No news so far about Viera...
rainydae
11-07-2001, 09:42 PM
i think vieira will stay for at least one season lohz...
so what do you think will be arsene lineup for the opening match?
prolly no place for freddy?
Theychosenone
11-07-2001, 10:07 PM
I guess it'll be
3-5-2 to accomodate Campbell Keown and Adams
Seaman
Campbell Keown Adams
Pires Parlour Vieira Van Bronckhorst Cole
Henry Wiltord (Jeffers may not be playing so soon yet)
Originally posted by Theychosenone
I guess it'll be
3-5-2 to accomodate Campbell Keown and Adams
Seaman
Campbell Keown Adams
Pires Parlour Vieira Van Bronckhorst Cole
Henry Wiltord (Jeffers may not be playing so soon yet)
er...... get rid of that Wiltord!!!!!
rainydae
12-07-2001, 12:55 AM
i would still prefer kanu or bergy...
rather than wiltord...
hopefully like what he stated...he wanna explode with the club...
but then explode is like a short while only lehz..after that are all those ashes...
maybe we should give him some time?
yellowsubmarine
12-07-2001, 02:56 AM
Originally posted by rainydae
i would still prefer kanu or bergy...
rather than wiltord...
hopefully like what he stated...he wanna explode with the club...
but then explode is like a short while only lehz..after that are all those ashes...
maybe we should give him some time?
wahliewa..arsenal got so many stars still not happy...haha
my blackburn want also dont have.....anyway agree willtord aint such a good signing..his control not very good..aiming also not good.. :D
certainly not anywhere near ian wright...yet....
Souljer
12-07-2001, 09:26 AM
YellowSub, I really love your signature! Bravo! *CLAP*CLAP*CLAP*
Bossman
12-07-2001, 10:03 AM
wahliewa..arsenal got so many stars still not happy...haha
my blackburn want also dont have.....anyway agree willtord aint such a good signing..his control not very good..aiming also not good.. :D
certainly not anywhere near ian wright...yet....
hhahahah..i almost fall of my seat looking at your sig....damn funny though sarcastic......kakakka
a nice reflection though..Good job.Seriously:D
assaltus
12-07-2001, 11:51 AM
lolz...well done Yellowsub! I like the sarong! haha...
Souljer
12-07-2001, 12:24 PM
YelloSub, u forgot to add in the songkut.
Theychosenone
12-07-2001, 12:37 PM
I agree Wiltord's not as good as he's supposed to be, but I doubt Wenger will get rid of him so soon.. probably if he still sucks in the new season then he'll go.
Btw nice signature pic Yellowsub..hahha Can see the artistic flair and creativity in you. That deserves a CAP score of 5.0 in my humble opinion.
yellowsubmarine
12-07-2001, 03:10 PM
hhahahah..i almost fall of my seat looking at your sig....damn funny though sarcastic......kakakka
a nice reflection though..Good job.Seriously:D
i've never seen you before. whenever i see your bossman post, that face come to my mind directly.
raveness
12-07-2001, 11:03 PM
...any of u guys watch the footabor channel showing `best' of ars games???
wahlau...watch also geksim ah...dunno wat kind of `best' they mean...just now show the 2-2 draw with sunderland :sad:
rainydae
13-07-2001, 12:29 AM
hopefully they dun play that 6-1 loss to man u...
best of losses?
:o
raveness
19-07-2001, 11:41 AM
Vieira back for Gunners training
By Chris Borg
Patrick Vieira has joined Arsenal's pre-season training at Colney despite summer reports that he had demanded a move from Highbury.
Vieira: In training
(Alexlivesey/Allsport)
French international Vieira had been quoted as criticising some of manager Arsene Wenger's summer signings and insisting that he needed a new challenge.
The player, who joined the club from AC Milan in a £3.5million 1996 deal, has been linked with moves to Real Madrid - whose world record signing Zinedine Zidane has recommended him to club bosses - Juventus and Liverpool.
He was quoted as saying: 'I need to leave because I want to win more trophies and I just cannot see that happening at Arsenal.
'Comparing Arsenal to the big clubs in Europe this season is going to be quite ridiculous.'
But Arsenal have insisted that Vieira will not leave the club, and Wenger remains confident that he can persuade him to stay.
The player was frustrated as the Gunners finished trophyless again last season, losing in the FA Cup final and finishing a distant second to Manchester United in the Premiership.
But he later said: 'I am a professional and would not let you or the club down. I will report for training.'
Arsenal will ask shareholders to approve plans to form a new company to oversee their proposed 60,000-capacity stadium.
The holding company, called Arsenal Holdings plc, would oversee the Gunners' plans to relocate to the state of the art 60,000-seat stadium just a short distance from their current Highbury home.
But a Gunners spokesman denied that the proposed restructuring is designed to pave the way for the club to be floated on the stock market later this year.
Souljer
19-07-2001, 02:07 PM
I heard Arsenal is playing Roma in a friendly on the 1st of Aug.
Dunno whether SCV will be showing it.
Souljer
23-07-2001, 05:50 PM
:laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:
Can anyone figures out what's wrong with the picture below?
http://www.arsenal-world.net/reportpics0102/210701_2s.jpg
assaltus
23-07-2001, 06:07 PM
er....there's more than one ball at play? :D:D:D
adamgoi
23-07-2001, 08:37 PM
The latest news is that Arsenal has just confirmed the signature of Junichi Inamoto as their fifth major signing of the summer.
yellowsubmarine
24-07-2001, 01:13 AM
:laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:
Can anyone figures out what's wrong with the picture below?
http://www.arsenal-world.net/reportpics0102/210701_2s.jpg
haha...hmm..thats big...
Souljer
24-07-2001, 09:56 AM
At least he got the balls where else i can't say the same for some bapok here who chickened out of a match.
rainydae
24-07-2001, 10:30 PM
Silvinho quitting Gunners
Arsenal have revealed that Brazilian full-back Silvinho is leaving Highbury and is being tipped to join Barcelona in a £6million deal.
Silvinho, who joined The Gunners from Corinthians for £4million in June 1999, was in and out of Arsenal side last season after failing to hold off strong competition from Ashley Cole.
Silvinho, who has kept Real Madrid's Roberto Carlos out of his national side in the past, fears that the competition with The Gunners' home-grown ace could wreck his long-term international prospects and has vowed to move on.
The Brazilian defender is a highly popular member of the Highbury squad and, while the club will be sorry to see him leave, the emergence of Cole - who won full England recognition in his debut season in the Arsenal first team - has left Silvinho, in his mind, with no other choice.
Arsenal vice-chairman David Dein confirmed the imminent departure of Silvinho at yesterday's London Colney press conference, where the club unveiled the arrival of Japanese international midfielder Junichi Inamoto.
The club had hinted at a surprise development when they announced the Inamoto press conference but the news of Silvinho's impending departure did not emerge until this morning.
Dein, however, refused to confirm which club, if any, had come in for Silvinho, although Spanish giants Barcelona are known long-term admirers of the left-back, who was initially brought to Highbury as Nigel Winterburn's successor.
The news that Silvinho is quitting Highbury will come as no real surprise to Gunners supporters, and although the player recently pledged to fight for his Arsenal shirt with Cole, the chance to claw back part of their cash outlays after a major summer of investment at Highbury will no doubt suit all parties concerned.
assaltus
25-07-2001, 10:59 AM
What is Wenger up to again? Selling Silvinho? We need someone young and skillful keep the defence strong. Maybe train Cole to take over Dickson on the right flank who is getting old.....Bad news for Arsenal if he really goes.... :(
rainydae
25-07-2001, 07:15 PM
Dickson? :confused:
Dixon lahz...;)
adamgoi
25-07-2001, 11:25 PM
Maybe he's trying to balance the books before he spends again...got rumours he's interested in the Danish Striker Marc Nygaard from Roda JC...even say that Kanu may be leaving soon
Arsenal need a long term replacement for Dixon...how old is he? 35, 36? Unless Wenger has identified a potential 'right sided Ashley Cole' from the youth setup?;)
Souljer
26-07-2001, 09:00 AM
I think Wenger has again proved to be a astute businessman
as clubs are willing to buy Silvinho for 10-12 million pounds. Considering that Silvinho was bought for 4 million pounds, that's
a very good deal! As for filling in for Dixion, there's a German youth fullback by the name of Moritz Volz who is considered a
good prospect.
I think Wenger has again proved to be a astute businessman
as clubs are willing to buy Silvinho for 10-12 million pounds. Considering that Silvinho was bought for 4 million pounds, that's
a very good deal! As for filling in for Dixion, there's a German youth fullback by the name of Moritz Volz who is considered a
good prospect.
Silvinho for 12 million pounds is a bit rich, don't you think? Considering he's at best only an average player. A decent player at best. I highly doubt any non foreign non-English clubs is stupid to buy him at that price except those in the EPL.
assaltus
26-07-2001, 10:21 AM
Dickson? :confused:
Dixon lahz...;)
oops...:o
Arsene_Wenger
26-07-2001, 11:02 AM
Originally posted by jmi
Silvinho for 12 million pounds is a bit rich, don't you think? Considering he's at best only an average player. A decent player at best. I highly doubt any non foreign non-English clubs is stupid to buy him at that price except those in the EPL.
Of course there is some clubs who r damn rich and they r willing to pay that much!
raveness
26-07-2001, 01:31 PM
WOOHOO!!! :D
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/afc/solpat_sb.jpg
Yes, Vieira's back in an Arsenal shirt
By John Grechan
Patrick Vieira ended a summer of uncertainty by finally pulling on an Arsenal shirt last night.
Vieira (right) shares a giggle with Sol Campbell in Austria
(ShaunBotterill/Allsport)
The France midfielder, 25, who said he wanted leave Highbury because he doubted their ability to match Manchester United, came on at half-time in the 4-1 defeat against Turkish unknowns Kocaelispor.
Vieira had not played since the final match of the season at Southampton, and many felt that would be his last appearance for Arsenal.
But manager Arsene Wenger and executive vice chairman David Dein stood firm in the face of player power, persuading their most valuable asset to stay for at least another 12 months - though Vieira has yet to publicly voice his views.
Wenger said last night: 'Patrick back? He was never away in my mind. For me it was obvious as soon as he came to our training camp. When players don't come back to training, that's when there is a problem.
'But it's good for the supporters to see him playing for us again. He looked a little tired, but he has been working hard.'
Vieira, booked for a foul on Aleks Yordunov in the 64th minute, didn't appear to be hugely affected by his eventful close season as he took his place in midfield next to new signing Giovanni van Bronckhorst.
Sven Goran Eriksson continued his drive to overtake Michael Palin as the world record holder for air miles by appearing at the Alpenstadion in Wattens, confirming that he intended to take in all three of Arsenal's friendlies in Austria.
The England coach spent 15 minutes chatting with Wenger, before engaging both Sol Campbell and Richard Wright in conversation.
Arsenal fans will have to wait until Monday's match with Real Mallorca to see former Tottenham captain Campbell consummate his contentious move across north London, the ankle injury sustained against the Gunners in last season's FA Cup semi-final still not quite right. Wright and Francis Jeffers were also missing, though Junichi Inamoto started in central midfield - watched by five Japanese TV crews.
The danger of fielding patchwork line-ups just to give everyone a run was illustrated with only four minutes gone when Oleg Luzhny dithered and Bulgarian Zdravko Lazarov slid the first goal past David Seaman. A similar mix-up allowed Lazarov to net his second.
Ray Parlour replied but after Wenger brought on every available substitute at half-time, Nuri Colak and Serdar Topraktepe made it 4-1.
There was further bad news at home, where Arsenal's hopes of signing Crewe's teenage striker Dean Ashton appear to have disappeared.
Arsenal's £1m bid, before Ashton had even made his Crewe debut, was rejected and after reports that the Gunners had doubled their bid, Crewe chairman John Bowler said: 'We have not had an offer for Dean and nor would we entertain one.'
Souljer
26-07-2001, 01:35 PM
It's kinda of funny and weird to see Campbell in a Arsenal shirt!
Arsene_Wenger
26-07-2001, 02:08 PM
It's kinda of funny and weird to see Campbell in a Arsenal shirt!
ahaha...get used to it!!
rainydae
27-07-2001, 12:21 AM
FULL TIME REPORT
ARSENAL vs Kocaelispor
1 - 4
Attendance : TBA
Patrick Vieira returned to the Arsenal side to a heroes reception in the tiny Alpen Stadion but it was to be the only bright spot in a disappointing defeat at the hands of Turkish side Kocaelispor.
Patrick came on a second-half substitute, and took no time to get back into the groove as he was booked after just 19 minutes for a heavy challenge on the Turks' Aleks Yordunov.
By that stage Arsenal were already two-one down after a flurry of goals in the first quarter of an hour. The first came after just five minutes when Kocaelispor took advantage of a mistimed offside trap, with Zdravko Lazarov racing through and finishing past Seaman.
The second, seven minutes later, was also down to generous defending. Matthew Upson, playing at left-back, was beaten down the line by Cem Sinan Vergul who crossed for Lazarov to net his second.
England manager Sven Goran Eriksson was at the game but will have to wait a little longer for Sol Campbell's first appearance in an Arsenal shirt. Our new signing sat this one out, but could make his debut as early as next week either against Real Mallorca or Roma.
Ray Parlour pulled one back on 15 minutes, smashing in a half-cleared Pires cross but following wholesale changes to the Arsenal side in the second half the hard-working Turks added further goals through Nuri Colak and Serdar Topraktepe.
Despite the defeat new signing Junichi Inamoto made a promising debut and Giovanni Van Bronckhorst also showed the skills that will have Arsenal fans licking their lips for the new season.
Manager Arsene Wenger said "We were exposed on the counter attacks because we were pushing too far up the field.
"But I saw some combinations that might work next season and it's good that no-one got injured and that everyone got a game."
With top Spanish side Real Mallorca and Italian Champions AS Roma up next week, Wenger and the team know that there is still room for improvement.
raveness
27-07-2001, 01:27 PM
WTF :sad: holiday footbor??? :(
Arsene_Wenger
27-07-2001, 11:14 PM
Dun worry ..just pre season match!
rainydae
31-07-2001, 11:01 AM
It was a night for debuts in Austria as Giovanni van Bronckhorst scored his first goal and Sol Campbell and Richard Wright made their first appearances.
The Gunners dominated much of this surprisingly physical game against Spanish team Real Mallorca, who finished third in the Primera Liga last season.
The opening ten minutes saw neither team gain a real advantage, although Luque was unlucky to see his left-footed volley go wide.
New goalkeeper Richard Wright had little to do until almost 15 minutes in, when he came out well to punch clear a corner kick from Ibagaza.
Challenges were coming in thick and fast from both teams and the game suffered as the referee blew his whistle frequently to calm it down, but eventually the Gunners began to gain the upper hand.
Thierry Henry had the best shot of the first half, rocketing in a shot from the right of midfield which goalkeeper Leo Franco did well to tip over the bar.
With almost half an hour on the clock the deadlock was broken. Pires made a run from deep in the Arsenal half and passed to Vieira, who knocked the ball square into Dennis Bergkamp's path.
Bergkamp bore down on goal with two defenders closing him down and, before he could release a shot, defender Fatih Akyel knocked the ball under Franco and into the goal.
The rest of the half saw only bad news for Arsenal, as first Matthew Upson and then Martin Keown were both taken off injured.
Wholesale substitutions at half time saw the Gunners, now with a completely new team, regain dominance once more.
They kept the ball well and played it around nicely, although there were still plenty of hard tackles flying in from both sides - resulting in a few yellow cards apiece.
Arsenal extended their lead in the 72nd minute when Giovanni van Bronckhorst capitalised on some goalmouth confusion to open his scoring account.
Pennant whipped in a cross from the right flank and Jeffers was there to take a shot. Substitute 'keeper Carlos Roa blocked it, but before Mallorca's defence could clear the ball van Bronckhorst rolled it into the bottom right corner of the goal.
Tempers began to simmer after that, with all the players involved in a brief altercation after 75 minutes of play.
But that was overshadowed when Sol Campbell pulled on an Arsenal shirt for the first time and entered the field to great applause from the travelling Arsenal fans.
With only ten minutes to play Campbell did not have much time to make an impact on the game, but at least it shows his fitness is returning and he may make a longer appearance in the game against AS Roma on Wednesday.
When the final whistle blew it was clear that the Gunners had deserved their victory, having dominated large periods of the game. But Real Mallorca's determined defending stopped it from becoming a rout, and full credit to them.
rainydae
31-07-2001, 11:03 AM
Seem like Wenger trying to convert Lauren into right back.
2 matches liao and the substitution is always lauren replacing dixon and vice versa..
raveness
31-07-2001, 11:26 PM
woohooo finally win heehee
but :sad: keown injured...
assaltus
01-08-2001, 04:11 PM
With the pending 3 game ban on him, he won't be able to play either....just hope that Campbell can recover by 18 Aug...
rainydae
02-08-2001, 10:39 AM
Arsenal lost by a solitary goal in this tight, taut, game against Italian champions AS Roma, but came away with some healthy indications of the season to come.
A goal in the final seconds of the first half by Vincenzo Montella gave victory to the Italians, but the Gunners were far from outplayed for much of the game.
Freddie Ljungberg almost put Arsenal ahead after just over five minutes when released by a lovely short pass from Patrick Vieira. But the onrushing Swede put his shot across the face of the goal and wide of the right-hand post.
Thierry Henry fired in a cracking shot just over a minute later, which came from the left of the box and through Roma's defence only to be well saved by young 'keeper Ivan Pelizolli.
Roma soon grew into the game with dangerman Francesco Totti, a thorn in the Gunners' side until his substitution at half time, having the first shot at goal. David Seaman shepherded the ball wide, however.
Argentinian superstar Gabriel Batistuta was the next to have a go, with his shot straight into Seaman's arms, then Tomassi capitalised on a nice passing build-up but fired his shot over the bar.
Roma were running the game for long spells in the first half, but Giovanni van Bronckhorst showed off his cracking left foot with a free kick which Pelizolli managed to keep out with a great reaction save.
The Italians were next with a chance on the half hour when a super-fast break saw Totti outpace Sol Campbell, only for Seaman to get a fingertip to the ball and push it wide. Within seconds Roma were on the attack again, with Montella getting onto the end of a cross but managing to head the ball onto the crossbar.
Sol Campbell almost headed the ball in and Ljungberg put a shot wide, but it seemed as if the half would end goal-less.
But with almost the last kick of the half Batistuta chipped the ball over the advancing Seaman and watched it bounce towards goal. Tony Adams charged back to hook the ball away on the line, but it only went as far as Montella who poked it home to give Roma the lead.
A spate of substitutions at half time and Arsenal entered the second half as the stronger team. Lauren, impressive in the rightback position, forced a save from Pelizolli with a long range effort and Ljungberg, busy throughout, also made the U21 goalkeeper work for his money with a quick turn and shot.
But there were few shots on target from either team for the rest of the game as both defences showed how solid they could be.
Ashley Cole had Arsenal's best effort of the half with eight minutes to go when he latched onto the end of a corner and headed it goalwards, but once again Pelizolli managed an excellent save.
So a loss, but no reason to feel bad about it. This was great practice for both teams as they go towards the Champions League next season and a valuable pre-season workout.
~ taken from www.arsenal.com ~
rainydae
02-08-2001, 10:42 AM
TEAM LINE UP against Roma:
Seamman
Lauren
Adams
Campbell
Cole
Pires
Vieira
Van Bronckhorst
Ljungberg
Wiltord
Henry
SUBSTITUTES:
Luzhy (for Campbell, 46)
Grimandi (for Ljungberg, 70)
Jeffers (for van Bronckhorst, 70)
Inamoto (for Lauren, 78)
Pennant (for Wiltord, 78)
Arsene_Wenger
02-08-2001, 10:50 AM
wah lau Arsenal lose leh!
assaltus
02-08-2001, 10:55 AM
Anyone knows if the game will be telecast on TV?
Souljer
02-08-2001, 11:43 AM
Dun think so.
The sale of gold jerseys will be delayed till 18th Aug. Who's getting one. Is La Vanita accepting pre-orders.
raveness
03-08-2001, 06:02 PM
gold??? huh...wats tis about???
ooo 1-0 loss to Roma? hmm but they played well rite? wished i watched the match...shud have been a goot one...
Souljer
03-08-2001, 06:27 PM
I'm toking about the new away jersey.
raveness
03-08-2001, 06:30 PM
wahlau...:sad: prefer yellow leh...
gold?? hmm like wat manure wore in thailand ah? :P heehee
Kueitutu
04-08-2001, 12:14 AM
aiyah.. its ok lah.. only 1-0 to Italian champion...
Man U lost 4-3 to Celtic leh... full strength somemore with Veron and Ruud Van Nis*****roy...
rainydae
05-08-2001, 03:03 PM
Arsenal Vs Real Mallorca
Match highlights
A match which Arsenal won 2-0
http://www.arsenal.com/afctv_mallorca.htm
:cool:
rainydae
08-08-2001, 10:20 PM
Arsenal's French Connection were in full effect tonight as a brace from Sylvain Wiltord and one from Patrick Vieira, as well as a coup-de-grace from Francis Jeffers, were enough to put down a lively Norwich City side.
Wiltord opened the scoring with only six minutes on the clock, with a goal made in France. Robert Pires skipped down the left flank and passed to Vieira, who controlled the pass and pushed it along to Wiltord.
The French striker received the ball and struck it low and to the right of Norwich 'keeper Robert Green.
But the home side stayed in the game and equalised on 38 minutes, Darel Russell latching onto the end of a Zema Abbey cross and heading home from close range.
An inspired 13 minute spell from the Gunners in the second half, however, put the result beyond doubt.
First Pires linked up with Wiltord again, who received the ball at his feet, turned, pivoted and forced it home.
Just three minutes later it was 3-1 to the Arsenal, and once again it was Pires the provider. This time his corner sailed into the box and Vieira, wearing the captain's armband, rose up and headed home.
After a number of substitutions the Gunners put the result beyond all doubt. Giovanni van Bronckhorst fed a pass into Kanu, fresh from helping his team into the World Cup finals and making his first pre-season appearance.
The Nigerian striker displayed some of his trademark ball-control magic and somehow got the ball to new boy Jeffers, who lived up to his goal-poacher reputation by knocking home from six yards.
Norwich pulled a goal back seven minutes later when Clint Easton's corner fell nicely for Paul Hayes, brother of former Gunner Martin, who fired the ball home from a difficult angle.
The game ended with a convincing win for Arsenal and a good run-out for both teams - and Arsenal fans will be heartened by the fact that Summer signings Richard Wright and Sol Campbell played the full 90 minutes
rainydae
08-08-2001, 10:22 PM
TEAM LINE UP :
WRIGHT
LUZHNY
CAMPBELL
KEOWN
COLE
PARLOUR
VIEIRA
VAN BRONCKHORST
PIRES
WILTORD
HENRY
SUBSTITUTES:
BERGKAMP (for Pires, 62)
JEFFERS (for Wiltord, 62)
KANU (for Henry, 62)
GRIMANDI (for Cole, 64)
LJUNGBERG (for Parlour, 64)
SCORERS:
WILTORD (7, 58)
VIEIRA (61)
JEFFERS (71)
Souljer
09-08-2001, 07:28 PM
Super Sports channel 22 showing Arsenal against Real Mallorca match at 9pm tonite. The match they won 2-0.
rainydae
12-08-2001, 05:37 PM
Arsenal hit Barnet for six at Underhill and have put themselves in the perfect frame of mind for the big kick-off next week.
The Gunners dominated from the kick-off and grabbed the goals that their attacking play and territorial advantage deserved.
It took almost half an hour to break down the Conference side but the first goal seemed to open the floodgates.
Fredrik Ljungberg scored our first. He ran through the Bees midfield and swapped passes with Ray Parlour before striking across the keeper and into the bottom corner.
The impressive Ashley Cole made it 2-0 just six minutes later when his surging run from his left back position culminated in a powerful right foot shot that gave the keeper no chance.
Lauren was unlucky not to increase the scoreline when he saw his shot cannon off the post into the path of Dennis Bergkamp who's shot was blocked.
And on the stroke of half time Dennis Bergkamp did make it three following a one-two with new signing Francis Jeffers. The Dutchman dispatched his goal with typical clinicism.
Barnet had the ball in the net early on but the 'goal' was ruled out by the referee because of an infingement.
Arsene Wenger replaced goal-scorer Ashley Cole with Oleg Luzhny at the break but the goals kept coming.
Barnet had their moment in the opening skirmishes of the second half. Seaman could only parry a powerful header into the path of Barnet's Neil Midgeley who finished well.
Arsenal restored their three goal advantage following a flurry of eight substitutions by Arsene Wenger.
Thierry Henry, who replaced Francis Jeffers, latched on to a perfect through ball from Patrick Vieira and slipped the ball into the net.
Patrick Vieira then turned goal-scorer when he smashed in Van Bronckhorst's corner from inside the area.
And Sylvain Wiltord mad it six late on with a competant finish from another Vieira through-ball.
All in all a good run out for the entire squad, but Wenger knows the real test comes next week.
rainydae
12-08-2001, 05:38 PM
TEAM LINE UP :
Seaman
Lauren
Adams
Campbell
Cole
Parlour
Kanu
Grimandi
Ljungberg
Jeffers
Bergkamp
SUBSTITUTES:
Luzhny (for Cole HT)
Wright (for Seaman 62)
Keown (for Adams 62)
Vieira (for Kanu 62)
Pires (for Ljungberg 62)
Van Bronckhorst (for Grimandi 62)
Wiltord (for Bergkamp 62)
Inamoto (for Parlour 62)
Henry (for Jeffers 62)
Pennant (for Lauren 70)
Stepanovs (for Campbell 70)
SCORERS:
Bergkamp 42
Ljungberg 27
Wiltord 83
Cole 33
Henry 68
Vieira 76
rainydae
12-08-2001, 05:40 PM
Patrick Vieira has confirmed he is happy to stay at Arsenal and is in talks over a new long-term contract.
The 25-year-old French international has revealed he did contemplate joining Manchester United during the summer and claims his agent spoke to the Old Trafford club.
But Vieira, who was quoted in a national newspaper in June as saying: "I do not honestly see Arsenal finishing in the top five in the league - and you can forget about the Champions League", now says he is "happy to stay" after the Highbury board convinced him the Gunners remain an ambitious club.
"Yes, it was possible that I would leave in the summer," he told the News of the World. "It is possible for me to leave at the end of next season.
"In football - like life - anything can happen. It is also possible for me to stay here for the next 10 years.
"The crucial thing is that no-one will ever get me to do what I don't want to do."
He warned: "If I see at any time that Arsenal don't do everything to try to win trophies, that their ambitions no longer match mine, then that's it.
"I have three years left on my contract but we are already talking about a new deal which could be for five or six more years.
"If everything is right I will have no problem signing for so long - if we keep winning trophies and competing with the biggest clubs in Europe, there's no reason for me to leave the club."
United have claimed that their only contact with Arsenal about Vieira was when chief executive Peter Kenyon spoke to Arsenal vice-chairman David Dein.
The Premiership champions subsequently signed Juan Sebastian Veron from Lazio for £28.1million.
But Vieira revealed: "It is true that these clubs contacted my agents and that I was thinking about it.
"Why not Manchester United? In football anything is possible. It's not that I was thinking to leave but my agent came to me and said people were interested in me.
"And when it is a big club like Manchester United or Real Madrid, then you have to be interested.
"There were talks, although I never personally met anyone from Manchester United, Real Madrid or Juventus. But my agent did. That's his job.
"They knew that I was talking about leaving so, of course, I had to discuss the whole issue with them - the manager, Mr Dein, the board.
"I wanted to know from them what their ambitions were for the next two to three years.
"And they convinced me that they want to be just like Real Madrid and Juventus. They are determined to become one of their biggest clubs in Europe.
"That's what I wanted to hear, and I believe them and trust them - so I'm happy to stay."
As for his new contract, Vieira added: "I want more years, more money.
"Then it won't be a problem for me to sign. If I can get what I want, what I deserve, I will open my arms and take it because this is my job - football is my job not my hobby.
"Everyone in the game is making money. The clubs are making money so why not the players?
"If soon Manchester United decide to give David Beckham £100,000 a week then it is because he is worth it."
raveness
14-08-2001, 01:18 PM
guys! who wans to see the team `mascot'? haha
she has the jersey painted on!!! woohoo :D
canot post lah...wait kena complain heehee
who wans please send proof of age n email add k
Souljer
14-08-2001, 04:30 PM
Is it the Sun's promotion ad for their Fantasy League? Got Manu and Liverpool rite?
raveness
14-08-2001, 04:46 PM
not sure...got it from email :D
got ars n pooll mascot only ars one nicer wahaha
u got the webby?
Souljer
14-08-2001, 05:34 PM
No...can pm me? Thanks
raveness
14-08-2001, 05:49 PM
No...can pm me? Thanks
i dun have the webby...but check your pm ;)
Souljer
14-08-2001, 05:49 PM
*SLURP* That was delicious, Rave. Thanks!
raveness
14-08-2001, 06:19 PM
haha u are welcome :D
by your slurp...do u wish that the paint was edible/lickable? wahahah :laugh:
leonghui
14-08-2001, 11:13 PM
Honestly and rationally, I think Arsenal is doing a great job this offseason.
I thought Dein and Wenger handled the Viera situation very well, and the new additions looked super on paper.
Still however, there might be a gap in creativity arising from the gradual decline of Berkamp. Perhaps Von Brockhorst can fill gap left behind by Petit and also have some vision from midfield?
I saw him play with Rangers before in Glasgow, he simply was head and shoulders above the rest of the field. He has the strength, aggression, vision and passing required of a modern footballer.
Despite being a Liverpool fan, I am eager to see him in action in the EPL and is rather optimistic about him.
Souljer
15-08-2001, 03:35 PM
My main worry is whether Jeffers can lived up to the tag of "The Fox In The Hole." Not too concerned about midfield and defence though. They have been sorted out adequately.
Arsene_Wenger
15-08-2001, 03:38 PM
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2001/0814/20010814ffcafckanu.html
Very interesting..Fulham want to use 10 million to buy Kanu!:laugh:
raveness
15-08-2001, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by Arsene_Wenger
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2001/0814/20010814ffcafckanu.html
Very interesting..Fulham want to use 10 million to buy Kanu!:laugh:
no lah...ars wans 10mil for him...prepared to lower asking price!
dam :sad: sure gonna miss him...will always rem his goal against chelsea :D
kennkenn
15-08-2001, 04:48 PM
no lah...ars wans 10mil for him...prepared to lower asking price!
dam :sad: sure gonna miss him...will always rem his goal against chelsea :D
wonderful hat trick. Wont forget it as well :D
Souljer
15-08-2001, 05:39 PM
What about Kanu's cheeky backheel goal from outside the penalty box against Boro? That was superb.
raveness
15-08-2001, 05:43 PM
What about Kanu's cheeky backheel goal from outside the penalty box against Boro? That was superb.
:eek: dam how did i missed tat??? :sad:
outside the box?? wahlau...
leoch037
15-08-2001, 06:53 PM
It's inside the box lah! He placed the ball perfectly into the bottom left hand corner of the goal. I think Arsenal won the match 6-1.
Btw, Arsenal's opening fixture is against Middlesbrough at the Riverside Stadium. Hope Arsenal won like what they did 2 years ago: 6-1
raveness
15-08-2001, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by leoch037
It's inside the box lah! He placed the ball perfectly into the bottom left hand corner of the goal. I think Arsenal won the match 6-1.
Btw, Arsenal's opening fixture is against Middlesbrough at the Riverside Stadium. Hope Arsenal won like what they did 2 years ago: 6-1
grrr i wan vengence for them ruining our home record last season :P heehee
leonghui
15-08-2001, 08:04 PM
Actually, I saw Junichi Inamoto play several times. Once was in Japan during the J-league with his old club Gamba Osaka vs Tokyo Verdy.
Then I saw him play a friendly with Korea. He seemed reasonably impressive. Actually, I think he has a bit of mean streak about him. He doesn't shirk from tackles and does have a bit of temper, which is uncommon amongst the usually courteous Japanese players.
He is hardworking, is stronger than he looks, and is tough in the tackle. He did help Japan and his club win the midfield battle both times that I saw him. He might have to work on his first touch and passing though. All in all, I am eager to see him play too. (what the heck! I'm a Liverpool fan, oh well :)
One interesting note, is that besides Nakata, and maybe Nakamura, Inamoto is the most popular football player there is. Arsenal will make millions from Inamoto alone.
Hope this helps, Gunners fans.
deathblade
15-08-2001, 08:45 PM
Juzt as i had always believe.... When everyone was cursing paddy.... I believe in him..... What a relief........ Anyway it is good that this is resolved.
Souljer
16-08-2001, 09:14 PM
Arsenal locked in a fight to collect Real money
By Mihir Bose
ARSENAL are facing a battle to collect money they are owed by Real Madrid after the Spanish club failed to pay £4 million due on the transfer of Nicolas Anelka two years ago.
Thorn in their side: The transfer of Nicholas Anelka to Real Madrid is still causing Arsenal problems
In what will be a huge embarrassment for the Spanish club, the Arsenal hierachy have revealed that Real have defaulted on the £4 million annual instalment due on the £22 million deal which took Anelka from north London to Madrid.
The money should have been paid last season as part of Real's agreement to pay the transfer fee over several seasons. Real, though, failed to meet their commitment and Arsenal have disclosed this to shareholders.
Note 12 of their annual report reads: "Real Madrid FC have not paid in accordance with the terms of the agreement with them and if they continue not to conform, this will cause £8 million of the debt to be recovered in more than one year."
At the time of the transfer, Arsenal made much of the fact that the deal was secured by bank guarantees, which they will be able to call on if Real continue "not to conform to the agreement".
However, the fact that Arsenal feel it necessary to disclose Real's failure to pay - even though the disclosure is tucked away in a note on page 37 of the accounts - shows the concern in the Highbury club.
It is unprecedented for two such big European clubs to disclose publicly their differences over transfer payments.
There has been much comment about Real's finances and how, despite their large debt, they have spent heavily in the transfer market. Within a year of buying Anelka, they sold him to Paris St Germain for a similar amount. Then, in successive years, they paid £37 million for Luis Figo and £45 million for Zinedine Zidane.
Real, though, were also reported to have eased their financial problems earlier this year by selling their training ground in the heart of Madrid for more than £180 million.
But it seems that, like the Anelka deal, this sale may also have been in instalments, which has affected Real's cash flow and prevented them from meeting Arsenal's bill.
Arsenal have also disclosed to shareholders that they have paid £32.2 million to acquire land in Ashburton Grove, the site of their proposed new stadium, the cost of which is estimated at £268 million.
HA! No wonder Real Madrid lowered themselves by agreeing to play in a friendly with a Middle Eastern club few weeks ago. Money talks with all levels of life. Not even a "mighty club" is spared! Guess they dun have any loose change after buying Zidane.
raveness
17-08-2001, 12:19 AM
...need to get pig head...`owe $$$ pay $$$!!!' :laugh:
Souljer
17-08-2001, 09:49 AM
The time has come.
Arse Vs Boro live at 10pm on Star Sports Channel 24 this Sat.
Arsene_Wenger
18-08-2001, 12:23 AM
The time has come.
No SCV leh !! :(
LiteMan
18-08-2001, 12:50 AM
The time has come.
Here's to Arsenal drawing first blood against Boro! May the Gunners triumph this year, and next year and next year and forever!
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Souljer
18-08-2001, 10:55 AM
No SCV leh !! :(
Get one lah or else it's gonna be BBC for u this season.
Souljer
18-08-2001, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by LiteMan
Here's to Arsenal drawing first blood against Boro! May the Gunners triumph this year, and next year and next year and forever!
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
I drink to that. Cheers!
leoch037
19-08-2001, 01:14 AM
Great start to the new season, 4-0 away win, goal, goal, goal, ...
adamgoi
19-08-2001, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by leoch037
Great start to the new season, 4-0 away win, goal, goal, goal, ...
Yeah...although it's a lackluster performance except the last segment where boro just gave up...let's hope they've warmed up and live up to our expectations soon! ;)
Mankul
19-08-2001, 09:55 AM
POWER!!!! I'll wear ARSENAL jersey to school on Monday hehe
deathblade
19-08-2001, 10:00 AM
me wear gunner's jersy to school too!!!
Arsene_Wenger
19-08-2001, 12:12 PM
hahaha!!! FOUR GOALS What a great start!!
Souljer
19-08-2001, 04:42 PM
Alamak guys! You all wear Arsenal jerseys just because they won.
U should wear them regardless of their form and support them thru thick and thin no matter what happen mah. By the way, is the gold jersey (not bad) in Singapore yet?
deathblade
19-08-2001, 11:15 PM
No lah i wear the jersy all the time.... But first victory of the season so must wear it lah....... Anyway i personally think the gold strip sucks big time!!!! No way will i buy that.....
leoch037
20-08-2001, 01:40 AM
Arsenal's 1st real challenge comes on tues when they takes on Leeds at Highbury. First home game of the season, go all out and get a win, go Gunners.
raveness
20-08-2001, 11:48 AM
BERKY!!! :D woohoo
the last 10mins were the best heehee 86,87,88!!! when we were down to 10men somemore!!! wahaha
Henry's volley was solid but i loved it when Berky scored his second n he gave his `blur' look made me tink the goal was disallowed at first!!! haha :laugh: dam farnie
but dam...yellow fever start liao...that parlour also sigh...:sad:
Souljer
20-08-2001, 01:23 PM
Hope to see more of the new players in action this Wed.
assaltus
20-08-2001, 01:29 PM
I'm glad we won 4-0 on the opening game. Frankly I was a bit worried about the game before Henry's goal....Arsenal was not exactly having an easy time...bad passing, reckless tackles from Adam, Viera etc. And Ehiogu's send off was too harsh IMO. A penalty kick was enuf to punish him for the mistake. So the additional last 2 goals were a bonus, thanks to the ref. Nonetheless, I'm really thrilled to see that Bergkamp has regained that sharpness in finishing which was missing for the last season. Juz hope he'll maintain that form. Campbell and Cole played very well too.
This Wednesday's match will be the real test for the Gunners, especially for Campbell. Leeds is deadly with Viduka and Smith at the front. Man...life has returned with the start of the season! :)
Keep it up Gooners!
Souljer
20-08-2001, 01:40 PM
*SHOCKER*
"Two goal hero Dennis Bergkamp was almost sold to Fulham this summer. The clubs had agreed on a GBP 2 million fee for the 32-year-old, but it was all cancelled when Bergkamp refused to move across London.
Fulham manager Jean Tigana had made the Dutchman his no. 1 summer target, according to the Sunday Mirror. Fulham made moves for Kanu and West Ham's Frederic Kanoute when he failed to capture Bergkamp.
The former Dutch international, who joined Arsenal under former manager Bruce Rioch in 1995, has recently signed a new two-year deal. He's understood to be less than pleased with Arsenal's attempts to sell him."
3 words to sum it up: WTF?!!!
Arsene_Wenger
21-08-2001, 09:59 AM
ahah...today Arsenal VS Leeds...
Hope they can win them!!
assaltus
23-08-2001, 12:50 PM
Consolation for the Gunners, ManU drew Rovers. ManU's defence certainly looks horribly shaky. Good news for the league contenders.
I'm sure we'll do well this weekend against LeisterCity. So far have not really seen Jeffers in action (other than the dieing minutes in the Leeds game). Also hope to see Inamoto and more of Bronkhosrt....
As a side note, I think Wenger has finally found a good successor for Lee Dixon - Lauren has been playing well.
silklee
23-08-2001, 12:54 PM
Consolation for the Gunners, ManU drew Rovers. ManU's defence certainly looks horribly shaky. Good news for the league contenders.
I'm sure we'll do well this weekend against LeisterCity. So far have not really seen Jeffers in action (other than the dieing minutes in the Leeds game). Also hope to see Inamoto and more of Bronkhosrt....
As a side note, I think Wenger has finally found a good successor for Lee Dixon - Lauren has been playing well.
personally i find Lauren is not consistent enuff. he tends to make mistakes sometimes.
assaltus
23-08-2001, 04:19 PM
He's only been playing in the EPL for 1 year....give him some time.
assaltus
23-08-2001, 10:02 PM
Hello Arsenal supporters,
I hope you are looking forward to the prospect of another exciting season, one that started
positively with an excellent win up at Middlesbrough. Unfortunately, we were brought crashing
back to earth with the defeat against Leeds.
The result was very disappointing because I think we shouldn't have lost the game. It was
particularly frustrating, firstly because we played well and had a great first half, played at a good
pace and secondly, if you look at the number of shots Leeds had on goal, and the way we
conceded the two goals, it's really difficult to accept the defeat.
But, I want as well to be positive, because the team showed great potential during the first 45
minutes. Both teams dropped a little bit in the second half, we started a little slowly and then we
conceded the goal. Basically, we lost the points and we have to accept it, but we still must remain
positive. I believe that the first goal was a result of confusion about the rules, you can't build up a
wall and then let the guy just shoot, it is unacceptable to concede goals like this at this level. Also,
the way we conceded the second goal was not good enough for us, but these things do happen,
and we went close to scoring two or three times after that. The referee gave a few yellow cards in
the first half and maybe one or two were a little bit harsh, but I think, generally, the first half was
quite good.
In the second-half, I believe the overall level dropped too much, it became very hectic, with many
fouls, some over-reactions and players staying down - it's just not football that people like to see.
I think, for Mills, it looked like provocation that cost him a second yellow card and for Bowyer, I
think he was a little bit late - he went for the ball and it was a little bit harsh. It's a top-level game
and you expect that kind of aggression.
Leeds are a good team, they defended well and they were aggressive, but I would like to
concentrate on my team. As I have said, for the first 45 minutes we were very positive and we
have to keep working on that. If you can maintain that kind of pace, no matter how Leeds played
last night, we would have won the game. We dropped our tempo early in the second-half -
however we are at the start of the season and with two games in only three days, it was bound to
be a little difficult.
The result was very frustrating and difficult to accept, I believe if you want to win the game, first
you have to keep a clean sheet, and that is what we could not do last night. We can hopefully put
the disappointments of Leeds behind us by producing a good performance and getting the right
result against Leicester this Saturday.
Thanks for your support.
Arsene Wenger
Please remember that I can't reply personally to your e-mails, but you can post your messages
on the discussion boards at www.arsenal.com.
deathblade
25-08-2001, 11:37 PM
Half-time: Arsenal 2 - 0 Leicester City
Soccernet.com
Arsenal piled on the agony for injury-hit Leicester with Fredrik Ljungberg and Sylvain Wiltord putting the London side two goals ahead before the half-hour mark and the game threatening to result in a rout.
Time and again the defence-obsessed visitors were cut open by incisive attacks and only the aerial prowess of Ade Akinbiyi offered any slim hope of reprisal.
City were almost a goal down in the opening minute when van Bronckhorst robbed Dennis Wise to set up Bergkamp who sidestepped a challenge and curled his shot inches wide from the edge of the area.
It was not long before Patrick Vieira and Robert Pires began dominating the midfield for Arsenal and after Frank Sinclair was harshly booked for the slightest touch on Fredrik Ljungberg,, Sol Campbell just failed to force home a header at the far post from Bergkamp's ninth minute free-kick.
Another contentious free-kick, when Bergkamp went down just outside the area from a challenge by Wise, resulted in van Bronckhorst's effort deflecting for a corner off the Leicester wall.
It needed Sinclair's brave block to prevent Sylvain Wiltord driving in at the far post from the flicked-on flag kick.
Sinclair also headed over his own crossbar to get Leicester out of another sticky spot but the resulting corner led to Arsenal's opening goal in the 17th minute.
Tony Adams stretched to keep Vieira's header from running out of play and surprised the massed Leicester defence with his success. So much so that when he turned the ball back to Wiltord, the visitors were caught flat-footed as Pires laid on an easy chance for Ljungberg to tuck away from close range.
Leicester were almost back in it three minutes later when Akinbiyi just failed to direct a header on target from a free-kick with the Arsenal defence sleeping but their attempted revival was interrupted by a crude challenge by Robbie Savage on van Bronckhorst which brought him a deserved yellow card.
And Leicester's defence was undone again for Arsenal's second goal after 28 minutes. Pires found Bergkamp who returned the ball to him with a delightful first-time back-heel and a precise low cross from the right left Wiltord with a tap-in from six yards.
Bergkamp should have had a third for Arsenal after 33 minutes when he clipped the ball across keeper Tim Flowers but wide of the far post after Vieira's lobbed through-ball released him in the area.
But it was only temporary relief for Leicester who, by then, had lost the injured Muzzy Izzet. He was replaced by Damien Delaney.
Pires, Bergkamp and Wiltord just would not let the visitors rest, continually clawing and probing at a desperate-looking rearguard and Flowers did well to grab Wiltord's dangerous cross off van Bronckhorst's head.
There would have been even greater damage if Arsenal's strikers penetrated the box with more ambition but two searing crosses by Ashley Cole went begging quick succession.
There were more problems for Leicester when Gary Rowett had to limp off in the 40th minute, giving way to Lee Marshall.
Battling Akinbiyi again outjumped Adams to put a header wide two minutes later but by now Arsenal were in cruise control.
As if to emphasie the point, Vieira left three challengers on their backsides with a brilliant piece of ball-juggling and picked out Wiltord whose cross was swept wide by Bergkamp.
adamgoi
26-08-2001, 08:27 AM
Full-time score 4-0, yeah! ;)
Arsene_Wenger
26-08-2001, 03:06 PM
wah lau ....vieria got send offf!!!:(
raveness
28-08-2001, 08:20 PM
:laugh:
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/lcfc/wisevieira_stuforster_150x2.jpg
can u belief tat short fark! amazing he still allowed to play footabor with his kind of `killkillkill' attitude haha :P
shawnwong
28-08-2001, 09:28 PM
:laugh:
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/lcfc/wisevieira_stuforster_150x2.jpg
can u belief tat short fark! amazing he still allowed to play footabor with his kind of `killkillkill' attitude haha :P
Hahaha, I wonder how come players like to head butt one another to express their anger? Is it that they watch too much wrestling or they use their legs and heads too much that they forget to use their hands in fighting? :D
raveness
28-08-2001, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by shawnwong
Hahaha, I wonder how come players like to head butt one another to express their anger? Is it that they watch too much wrestling or they use their legs and heads too much that they forget to use their hands in fighting? :D
tink they watch too much Discovery Channel liao lah wahaha :D
i wish deniswise would follow vinnyjones lead n take up actiing :laugh:
Arsene_Wenger
28-08-2001, 11:00 PM
**** man!!
fulham is getting stronger and stronger...money is not a problem to them!!
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2001/0827/20010828ffcmarletdone.html
raveness
29-08-2001, 12:33 AM
wooohooo!!!
watched the highlights of the match against lester...
dam nice goals ;) nice and simple with great passing 1st n 2nd almost identical. Pires the man!!! :laugh:
looking good.....:D
oi! aw...y u post fulham's news here? :confused: :laugh:
assaltus
29-08-2001, 04:47 PM
If there's a season for Arsenal to top the table, this is it... ManU is having problem replacing Stam while Liverpool has problems with Fowler and Westerveld...
I'm impressed with Fulham too...the club has superbly strong financial backing too....but having said that, they lack experience at the top league...perhaps 1 or 2 more season they will be a force to be reckon with...
paladin
29-08-2001, 05:16 PM
If there's a season for Arsenal to top the table, this is it... ManU is having problem replacing Stam while Liverpool has problems with Fowler and Westerveld...
I'm impressed with Fulham too...the club has superbly strong financial backing too....but having said that, they lack experience at the top league...perhaps 1 or 2 more season they will be a force to be reckon with...
Fulham towkay is the Egyptian Al Fayed, the Harrold's department towkay and Harrold's is the biggest department store in UK, if not the world.....his son Doed(?) Fayed messed ard with Princess Diana and died with her that time....anyway, just one word, rich ma nwith an ambition...think Fulham will be like Chesea soon, many gd players, just the prob of a gd manager and teamwork now...
Arsene_Wenger
29-08-2001, 05:47 PM
wooohooo!!!
watched the highlights of the match against lester...
dam nice goals ;) nice and simple with great passing 1st n 2nd almost identical. Pires the man!!! :laugh:
looking good.....:D
oi! aw...y u post fulham's news here? :confused: :laugh:
of course it is related lah!!
fulham is getting stronger and stronger !! which mean a threat to Arsenal!!
Souljer
29-08-2001, 06:17 PM
Any strong EPL team is a threat to Arsenal, not just Fulham.
raveness
30-08-2001, 10:43 AM
of course it is related lah!!
fulham is getting stronger and stronger !! which mean a threat to Arsenal!!
:laugh: okok guess its ok in tat case haha
aiyah actually its not as impt to me if arsenal win the title or not...as long as they are above the devils i happy liao wahaha :evil: :P
i tink both fulham n avilla will do well simply becos of their great keepers! :D
hope seaman will have a great season to rem him by n wright continues to b impressive!!! rem how maniger more or less helped us to the double last time...sigh...good times ;)
rainydae
30-08-2001, 02:01 PM
Beckham's London link
By Harry Harris
Few would have believed less than a month ago that Manchester United would be entering Sir Alex Ferguson's final assault on the Champions League without Jaap Stam.
Even fewer thought Sol Campbell would one day wear an Arsenal shirt after so many years at Spurs.
Now the transfer grapevine is beginning to beat to the rumour that Arsenal are the club David Beckham's wife Victoria feels would be ideal for him.
It's the worse kept secret that Posh wants to spend more time with her family in the south of England. The Beckhams already have a mansion in Hertfordshire as well as their pad in Manchester. Guess which abode Posh prefers?
Of course, the Beckhams have said that one day they might want to live abroad. And Barcelona and Milan have expressed their desire to recruit Beckham.
But if the England captain wanted an alternative to going to the continent then he could be faced with the same decision that confronted Campbell. And it all points to Arsenal.
I checked out the rumour that tentative, unofficial, highly sensitive and strictly confidential talks had already taken place between one of Beckham's handful of personal advisers and a high-ranking Arsenal official. You wouldn't have expected anything other than an outright denial.
However, Sir Alex Ferguson had no compunction in taking calls from Patrick Vieira's agent. Marc Roger.
Arsene Wenger has himself conceded that like all the other managers in the game he too receives calls, faxes and communiques from a variety of middle men insisting that certain players are available.
Could the name of Beckham have landed on Wenger's desk?
Clearly, the longer Beckham goes without renewing his contract at Old Trafford, the greater the intensity of the rumours concerning his future.
The Old Trafford board have a strict policy of wanting players with two years left on their contracts to commit themselves longer term.
That has happened with all the big names inside Old Trafford - apart from one. Beckham has started this season without renewing his contract and talks have been put on hold until Christmas at the earliest because "he's too busy".
Hardly a reason for postponing talks designed to determine his immediate future in the game.
It may well be Christmas is a busy time too and those talks are again put on hold. Seems to be a familiar scenario to that of Sir Alan Sugar's elongated negotiations with Campbell.
Realistically, it makes little sense for any player these days to sign a new deal with just one more full season left, as a Bosman free transfer looms.
There have been three rounds of contract talks between Beckham, his advisers, Manchester United and their legal team.
When the first meaningful round took place the day before the FA Cup final at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium Manchester United should have asked Beckham to sign there and then when his camp asked for £3million a year as a player and £2m a year for his image rights.
A £5m-a-year package now looks cheap. Come the end of next season it will be ridiculously low.
If Campbell can be offered £10 million a year by Barcelona, Real Madrid and Inter Milan then what price Beckham? Can Arsenal compete financially? Well, of course they can't. They couldn't compete on those terms yet they still landed Campbell.
So Beckham for Arsenal may not be that far fetched.
raveness
30-08-2001, 04:45 PM
Beckham's London link
.... So Beckham for Arsenal may not be that far fetched.
:frus: grrrrr go ask tat Gstring wearing wussy to play elsewhere!!! wahaha :laugh:
erm...i doubt so lah...dun tink ars could/would pay his wages :P
assaltus
30-08-2001, 04:48 PM
nah...Arsenal already have many good midfielders...Pires, Bronkhorst, Viera, Lunjberg....unless Wenger wants a free-kick specialists. Otherwise I would rather spend the money of getting a good defender to replace Kweon...
Souljer
31-08-2001, 01:34 PM
I dun think Arse has even a single player who could timed his run into the penalty box to meet Beckcum's cross. How many headers have we successfully converted to goals last season?!!
paladin
31-08-2001, 01:56 PM
I dun think Arse has even a single player who could timed his run into the penalty box to meet Beckcum's cross. How many headers have we successfully converted to goals last season?!!
runner, Lunjberg loh,
headers~~hmm...Adams scored one from a corner....Vieira scored one....the rest cannot remember liao
Arsene_Wenger
01-09-2001, 05:27 PM
nah...Arsenal already have many good midfielders...Pires, Bronkhorst, Viera, Lunjberg....unless Wenger wants a free-kick specialists. Otherwise I would rather spend the money of getting a good defender to replace Kweon...
That is 101% correct!!...dun point buying another mid...it will cause alot of conflicts....shld buy defenders to replace the current defenders...
raveness
01-09-2001, 07:07 PM
from soccernet :D
hope the senior team does well too heehee ;)
Last-gasp Jeffers wins it for U-21s
By John Curtis
Germany U-21 1-2 England U-21
Jeffers: Former Everton player grabbed late winner
(MichaelSteele/Allsport)
Arsenal's £10million summer signing Frances Jeffers scored a dramatic injury time winner to boost England's hopes of qualifying for the 2002 European Championship finals.
Jeffers drilled home a low shot with only seconds remaining to silence the home crowd after he had run onto a pass from Fulham's Sean Davis.
Only seconds earlier it had been England's turn to be stunned when German defender Christoph Metzelder had cancelled out Joe Cole's earlier effort.
But then came Jeffers' last-ditch strike and there was only time for Germany to kick-off before the final whistle blew barely 15 seconds later.
It means that England are now only two points behind the Germans in the qualifying group, from which the top two go into a play-off, and they have a priceless game in hand.
But the real hero for England was goalkeeper Stuart Taylor, who pulled off a string of splendid saves in the face of constant German pressure for long periods of the game.
The Arsenal player was in superb form as his side struggled to stay on level terms in the first period and then to hold onto their lead in a frantic finale after Cole's opener.
Tim Borowski caused all sorts of problems for England through midfield, while Christian Rahn exposed acres of space down the left flank.
England struggled to click in the centre of the park in the opening 45 minutes, but the performance of Taylor, some last-ditch defending and Lady Luck meant they were always in the hunt.
This will also be an invaluable learning experience for new coach David Platt's side, which is still taking shape and only two players were in the starting line-up from the previous qualifying game in Greece in June.
A crowd of 18,000 - the highest for an under-21 match in Germany - saw England come close to taking the lead in the ninth minute.
Joe Cole found David Prutton in space and his powerful, low shot was parried at full stretch by Timo Hillderband.
Cole also extended the German keeper after he had turned back inside the challenge of Borowski.
But the Germans gradually gained the ascendancy with Borowski causing problems with his runs from central midfield and Rahn having acres of space on the left flank.
Taylor needed two attempts to hold onto a free-kick from Tobias Willi, but he made a string of fine saves as the Germans tried to turn the screw.
He held onto a header from Borowski and fingertipped over a fierce driven effort from Rahn.
Then on the stoke of half-time he got down well to his left to hold onto a side-footed effort from Borowski whom England were struggling to contain.
But the same player was forced to limp out of the action in the second period after injuring himself when going close yet again and then Cole gave England the lead with an excellent goal.
He exchanged passes with Davis, went past the challenge of Zepek before placing the ball wide of Hillderband into the corner of the net.
That stunned the home crowd but the Germans again rallied and Bruns should have done better with a close-range header after a threatening cross from Willi.
Bruns then shot wide from eight yards out after a free-kick from Rahn had deflected off the England defensive wall into his path.
Taylor continued to perform heroics as the Germans searched frantically for a equaliser and he fingertipped over an effort from substitute Paul Freier
raveness
01-09-2001, 07:12 PM
sigh...bit sad tat he is going...:sad:
thanks silvi....
Silvinho signs for Celta Vigo
LONDON, Aug 31 (Reuters) - Arsenal's out-of-favour Brazilian defender Silvinho has been transferred to Spanish side Celta Vigo for an undisclosed fee, the Premiership club said on Friday.
Silvinho: Has made switch to Spainish outfit Celta Vigo
(Picture/Allsport)
Arsenal announced the deal on their official website, ending weeks of speculation about the Brazilian.
The London team tried to sell Silvinho in the close-season to his former team Corinthians, but he was unable to agree personal terms with the Brazilian club.
Celta Vigo completed the deal just in time to beat the deadline to register him for their UEFA Cup campaign.
While Arsenal registered Silvinho on the basis of his Portuguese passport, Celta Vigo have since classified him as a Brazilian.
'An Arsenal spokesman said: ;Arsenal have acted appropriately at all times with regard to this matter and liaised closely with the Home Office over Silvinho's registration in this country.'
Silvinho lost his first-team place at Arsenal to England international Ashley Cole in the middle of last season.
raveness
01-09-2001, 07:21 PM
automatic 1st choice ah? :laugh:
well done cole!!! :D
Cole facing toughest test to date
By Steve Curry
It is taken for granted now that when Sven Goran Eriksson pencils in the names for each England international, that of Ashley Cole comes second only to David Beckham.
Cole: Tough challenge
(BenRadford/Allsport)
The young Arsenal defender has enjoyed a meteoric rise on to the international stage to win his fifth consecutive England cap against Germany.
It will be his toughest test to date, and in the past fortnight he has discovered just how perilous international waters can be.
His performances in the World Cup qualifiers against Albania in Tirana and Greece in Athens indicated that there is nothing wrong with his temperament.
But his defending in the 2-0 defeat by Holland in the friendly at White Hart Lane, when he was given a roasting by Chelsea's Boudewijn Zenden, left something to be desired.
It is ironic, however, that Cole should wear the same shirt for Arsenal that Kenny Sansom adorned with such great distinction and, given an injury free run, he will surely challenge the record of his predecessor.
Lest we forget, Sansom ran up a mammoth 86 caps for England, 37 of them won consecutively.
Like Sansom before him, Cole goes about his work with what might be called dignified efficiency, though he might have been getting the hard stare this week from the three Leeds United players in the squad.
The 20-year-old has courted controversy by being involved in the sendings off this season of Ugo Ehiogu, Lee Bowyer and Danny Mills, which angered not only David O'Leary and the Leeds players, but FIFA referee's assessor Keith Cooper.
Cooper said: 'He spent so much time on the ground that I wondered when his funeral was going to be held.
'That young man will have to be very careful or he will earn himself a reputation.'
But his manager, Arsene Wenger, defends him vigorously against the diving charges.
'What Keith Cooper was suggesting was that Ashley is a cheat and that is certainly not the case. He plays the game with tremendous spirit. It is not in his nature to get another player in trouble and he was the player who was tackled after all.
'The fact he was involved in the incidents that saw three players sent off is just a coincidence.'
There is no doubt the incident will be set aside by Rio Ferdinand when the two defenders play alongside each other against Germany.
The furore has certainly not detracted from Eriksson's admiration of him and he appears now to have left Manchester United's Neville brothers fighting for one full-back position on the right.
It seems remarkable that when England played their home World Cup qualifier last October, Cole was really still an Arsenal reserve with around five senior appearances and it was Graeme Le Saux who occupied the left berth.
But as Wenger points out: 'Ashley is short of experience but he is a good player technically and he had some Champions League experience with us last season, including a match against Bayern Munich.'
Eriksson and his trusted assistant Tord Grip, both have complete faith in Cole's development and the player's own targets have been realigned.
Now a trip to Japan and Korea that was just a teenager's dream so recently, is much more of a reality.
ralliart_ray
01-09-2001, 08:17 PM
assaltus
02-09-2001, 12:38 AM
Ashley Cole fully deserves first-team both in Arsenal and England. He is only 21 and already brilliant - both defensive and offensive. Arsene is quick to recognise this talented young player. With a couple more years of experience, he'll be another Sol Campbell maybe even bigger.
Well done Francis Jeffers! The news will certainly bring extra confidence to the Gunners in the league game....
raveness
05-09-2001, 01:25 PM
sigh...chelsea next...petit...:sad: how i wish he wearing red n not blue...
how do u guys call it? tink its away game rite? derbys are dam tricky but i hope it will b a good match no matter who wins :D
best of all...no denis(notso)wise!!! wahaha :laugh:
assaltus
05-09-2001, 02:21 PM
Petit...he must have really regret leaving Arsenal. Who noes what he could be now if he hasn't....Anyway, Arsenal should be able to get the 3 points from the next game....Chelsea always look formidable...on paper :D
paladin
05-09-2001, 03:13 PM
Francis Jeffers kept England on track for a place in next year's European Under-21 Championship Finals.
The Arsenal striker, who hit a late winner against Germany Under-21s in Freiburg on Friday, scored a hat-trick, two of his goals in front of the late-arriving Sven Goran Eriksson, to keep group leaders Greece in England's sights.
David Platt's youngsters meet the Greeks in the group's decisive game at Blackburn on October 5.
The euphoria from England's 5-1 win in Munich had obviously reached the parts even the most optimistic FA employee cannot have expected.
Hundreds of young fans were still pouring into Middlesbrough's Riverside Stadium by the time Jeffers had put England ahead.
Although the stand behind England goalkeeper Stuart Taylor remained empty - bar 96 Albanian fans, 17 stewards, four police officers and a handful of ballboys and cameramen - the ground was substantially fuller than the last time the Under-21s were in town a year ago.
Eriksson, it seems, can do no wrong, although his protege Platt adopted a more flexible system than the 4-4-2 the Swedish coach prefers and it allowed Luke Chadwick, Wayne Bridge, Jonathan Greening and Stephen Wright to attack from all areas.
Their purpose was to supply strikers Jermain Defoe and Jeffers and from the opening minutes, the pair had chances to bury their weaker opposition.
Jeffers, in fact, should have given England the lead after six minutes when he rose to meet Greening's corner, but somehow he misdirected his header completely to miss the target.
Chadwick, an assured left-footed midfielder who confidently switched from a wide position to take up some thrusting runs through the middle, was the man Albania struggled to contain the most.
His sprint past two markers and low effort from the edge of the box brought a good save from Arjon Mustafa.
The Albanian goalkeeper had a busy night and made other excellent stops to deny Gareth Barry, Sean Davis and Bridge but he was helpless in the 17th minute when £10million man Jeffers scored.
The sprightly Defoe supplied him with a neat pass into the Albanian area which the striker chased and, ignoring Chadwick to his left, he cleverly touched the ball beyond Mustafa.
Eriksson arrived to oversee proceedings at half-time and saw Jeffers link with strike partner Defoe for the second time in the game before he calmly sidefooted the ball first time under Mustafa to claim his sixth goal in nine games for the Under-21s.
England should have added to their lead before that but Parker, Jeffers and Defoe were off target.
Albania did briefly threaten once when England were leading by the single goal but Migen Memelli failed to trouble Taylor.
The outstanding Scott Parker ensured Defoe scored the third, his delightful reverse pass putting Defoe in to slot home.
Albania's misery continued as Wilson and Greening combined for Greening to add the fourth in the 89th minute before Jeffers completed his hat-trick in the closing moments.
The striker said: 'I have enjoyed the last few days. The service I got, especially from Defoe, was absolutely brilliant. It was first-class.
'It's always great to score goals because it does a lot for your confidence and we all have the belief that we can go one better now and win the group with a victory over Greece.'
That was echoed by Platt, who said: 'I have always had the confidence that we can go through and I don't see any difference now. There is a real belief we can do it. We need to win our final game and it's in our hands.'
assaltus
05-09-2001, 05:58 PM
Kudos to Arsene for spotting the talent before other managers snapped him up! :)
raveness
07-09-2001, 10:32 PM
:sad:
miss the `pornstar'
dam tat overmars :P why must he drag petit together to barca...
Chelsea v Arsenal at Stamford Bridge, 3pm BST
Emmanuel Petit is an emotional character and makes no apology for that. He cried, for instance, when he went into the Arsenal dressing room at the Ajax tournament a month after his transfer from Highbury to Barcelona.
Chelsea's Emmanuel Petit
(BenRadford/Allsport)
Similarly, before the kick-off in every game involving world champions France, Petit and Patrick Vieira give each other a huge hug of encouragement.
Chelsea's Petit and Arsenal's Vieira, the central midfield axis of France, fashioned their bond in three years as a powerful tandem at Highbury. However, the pair will not be reunited when the Gunners visit Stamford Bridge tomorrow as Vieira is suspended.
Billericay referee Andy D'Urso denied us the prospect of an intriguing head-to-head midfield clash when he showed Vieira a second yellow card for another kind of tete-a-tete, with Leicester's Dennis Wise, during Arsenal's 4-0 Premiership win two weeks ago.
Petit is relieved. He admitted: 'It would have been difficult to play against Patrick because he is a very good player as well as a very good friend. It is always difficult to play against a good friend.
'I played against Arsenal for Barcelona in Amsterdam but that was not a real competitive game. Patrick and myself were laughing all the time on the pitch. This time it would have been different.
'Of course, when the whistle blows you have to forget everything and be professional but that wouldn't be easy if I was facing Patrick. Not when we have shared so many great moments with Arsenal and with France. I am a professional but I am also human.'
He added: 'It will still be a special match. It is going to be strange to play against my former team-mates, so many of them who I know well. And together we were all very successful. That makes it difficult - but it's going to be even harder because Arsenal have a very strong team.
'It will be an emotional day but I left Arsenal on good terms and I have kept a good relationship with the club and the players.
'But all that is forgotten on Saturday. Now I am with Chelsea and I will do everything I can to start another chapter in my career with the club and the fans.'
Petit's boss at Chelsea, Claudio Ranieri is delighted to have the World Cup winner at Stamford Bridge. 'Petit is a good man, a good player. It's normal that at the moment he may play well one match and then not so good the next, because he is new to the team.
'But he doesn't need my advice. He is a strong character and doesn't need my help. Champions help themselves on the field and that is what he will do. He knows that I believe in him and that is very important.î
It is obvious that Petit is at home in the environment of the English Premiership and the dressing room atmosphere of an English club. His time in Spain did not provide Petit with the most memorable year of his career.
He said: 'Sometimes you have to experience disappointment to really appreciate the good things that have happened and hopefully will happen in the future.
'I learned a lot in that year. It was very rich for me in terms of experience. I learned a lot about human beings, about sport and about life.'
He continued: 'And I am happy to be back in England and at Chelsea. I love the dressing room atmosphere at an English club, I really do. It reminds me of the spirit we have with France. We have a joke and we do what we want within the rules. We are adults, not kids, and we always keep respect for each other. That is what it is like at Chelsea and that is how it should be.'
Petit also finds another comparison with the all-powerful French team - the current crop of English players that has exploded on to the international scene under Sven-Goran Eriksson.
The 5-1 victory over the Germans last Saturday was followed by a less than convincing win against a limited Albania team on Wednesday, but Petit was impressed.
'It was the same with France before the last World Cup,' he said. 'No-one was confident about us before the tournament but we were confident in ourselves. That is what I see in England now. I thought they could win in Germany so I was not surprised. But the scoreline shows you the quality of the performance. England have a very strong team, no-one can question that.'
What may be questioned by the Arsenal section of the Stamford Bridge crowd is Petit's tolerance. A group of fans made his life miserable in Amsterdam when he turned out for Barcelona, but Petit is not anticipating any vitriolic treatment from the supporters who once adored him.
'There were one or two in Amsterdam, but that was nothing really,' he said.
'They were not typical. Sometimes it is normal when someone you love leaves you that you have that kind of feeling. I have met many Arsenal supporters since I came back and they have always been very nice to me.
'I also received so many letters from Arsenal fans who said it didn't matter which team I was playing for, they will support me because of what I did for their club.'
Petit is realistic enough to know that for 90 minutes tomorrow such reflected loyalty will be pushed aside. But even if there is the occasional spot of abuse, nothing will compare to the misery and frustration he suffered at Barcelona. He is happy to be back in England - and it shows.
raveness
08-09-2001, 07:45 PM
C'MON GUNNERS!!! :D
show the Blues the blues wahaha :laugh:
hope they have a goot match later heehee ;)
UP THE ARSE!!!! wahaha :P
oops low on beer...better go buy some n stock up heehee
assaltus
09-09-2001, 03:09 PM
A draw :( Anyway not that bad since its a Chelsea away game...although Arsenal nearly stole the 3 points...
At the moment, the club's most urgent issue is Arsene's contract which he still refuses to sign...whats wrong wit him?!:mad:
rAc3rX
09-09-2001, 05:27 PM
A draw :( Anyway not that bad since its a Chelsea away game...although Arsenal nearly stole the 3 points...
At the moment, the club's most urgent issue is Arsene's contract which he still refuses to sign...whats wrong wit him?!:mad:
Maybe his tired of managing Arsenal and considering other options?? but i certainly hope that he will not leave Arsenal....
assaltus
10-09-2001, 09:15 AM
I'm getting disgusted by Kweon's rough play and play-acting....from one of the camera angles, it was plain to see that Hasselbaink did not elbow him full face to inflict such agony and pain.....He made enemies with Leeds and now Chelsea.:mad: Its giving the club a bad reputation...
Arsene_Wenger
10-09-2001, 01:00 PM
I'm getting disgusted by Kweon's rough play and play-acting....from one of the camera angles, it was plain to see that Hasselbaink did not elbow him full face to inflict such agony and pain.....He made enemies with Leeds and now Chelsea.:mad: Its giving the club a bad reputation...
yo man...it is funny to read yr post!!
did u watch that game??? i watch that game and i'm sure hasselbaink did elbow him !!
even if hass did not elbow ...i dun think Kewon's rough ply and play-acting got any problems....every players do that!!
It is part of soccer!!!!
assaltus
10-09-2001, 01:13 PM
yah I did watch leh...and that incident was shown many times from different angles...there was one angle which showed very clearly Jimmy only shrugged his shoulder and Kweon falls to the ground grasping his face....And after the red card Kweon like "cured" immediately...sigh..
Moderate play-acting is ok but this one is too much lah...some more so close to the bench! Although I support Arsenal, must be objective abit lah..heh..;)
raveness
10-09-2001, 01:31 PM
keown was definately elbowed...it wasn't the first one that felled him...if u watch the replay again jimmy was already trying to `shrug' keown off with his elbows prior to the whistle being blown...keown even looked up to the ref b4 that `give me space cos i m goot' retaliated...bear in mind ANY retaliation be it elbow or shoulder or watever body part u wan to name IS a sending off offence...wheter keown was play acting is a different matter. wanna tok bout acting? how bout that jimmy pathatic acting `me? me? me?' innocent? PUI...:P
rAc3rX
10-09-2001, 06:10 PM
aiya EPL is like that 1 lar.... theres a lot of play acting going on the field...
raveness
15-09-2001, 04:16 PM
from soccernet...
Boa Morte gives a Gunner Vieira call of thanks
By Ivan Speck
Fulham striker Luis Boa Morte can thank the wisdom of a former Arsenal team-mate for helping him deal with the demons that provoked a rash act on the pitch last season and a subsequent delay to his Premiership campaign.
Luis Boa Morte: Thanks Vieira for his good guidance
(AlexLivesey/Allsport)
Boa Morte, who spent two seasons at Highbury and lines up against his former side at Craven Cottage today, turned to troubled Arsenal midfielder Patrick Vieira after the Portuguese's red card for spitting at Bolton's Robbie Elliott last March.
Vieira is no stranger to such an experience, having been suspended for spitting in the face of West Ham defender Neil Ruddock two years earlier.
Boa Morte said: 'We talked a bit about it and Patrick helped me. He gave me a little advice and it helped me come to terms with what happened. I've still got some very good friends at Arsenal and I speak to Patrick often.'
A goal in each of Fulham's last two games are further signs that Boa Morte is learning. Making up for lost time has become a familiar theme in his young career after two years at Arsenal when he appeared to go backwards.
But Boa Morte says he has nothing to prove to his former manager Arsene Wenger today.
He said: 'I'm a different player from when I was at Arsenal because I grew up and I'm older now. Every season you learn a bit more as a player. When I was at Arsenal I was 20 years old. Now I'm 24.
'But when I play against them now I don't try to prove anything to anybody. I just play my own game the way I know it. I was just really proud to have been in Arsene Wenger's squad because he was the person who brought me into English football
patrick n wenger...such nice pple :D
wahlau...they not showing tis match? :sad:
hope they do well...COMEON GUNNERS!!! ;)
raveness
15-09-2001, 04:17 PM
Originally posted by itdoesntmatter
aiya EPL is like that 1 lar.... theres a lot of play acting going on the field...
haha your sig reminds me of Khatib camp! :D
raveness
15-09-2001, 04:22 PM
wahlau...sad leh :sad: too many games too much stress? sigh...
grr tat oleary also another one...ex gunner somemore sadsad...
Stressed Cole hits out at critics
By Dale Johnson
England left-back Ashley Cole has hit out at his critics following the first sending off of his career, claiming he is now feeling the mental strain.
Cole gets his marching orders against Mallorca this week
(LaurenceGriffiths/Allsport)
Cole received his marching orders on Tuesday night as Arsenal crashed 1-0 to Real Mallorca in the Champions League.
The Arsenal defender has also been singled out by Leeds United manager David O'Leary for playacting during last month's Premiership encounter at Highbury when Danny Mills saw red.
The 20-year-old revealed: 'Physically, I'm not tired. But if anything I'm suffering a bit with the mental strain of everything that's gone on in the recent past. It's a lot to take in.'
Cole said he has been hurt by the 'cheat' accusations. 'I'm absolutely amazed by what's been said and the criticism. It upsets me.'
Less than a year ago Cole was not even in the Arsenal first team and he has now experienced both sides of the rollercoaster life of a top-flight footballer. 'One day everyone reckons I'm great and they want me to become the England left-back,' he said.
'The next I'm rubbish and don't deserve a place in the squad at all. It's unbelievable. I was a bit disappointed at what David O'Leary said about me. I don't know why he did.
'I'm not a diver and always play to the rules. I was on the floor when the ball was kicked at me, how could I have dived?'
raveness
15-09-2001, 04:24 PM
eh wats the name of the new homeground ah? anyone?
new highbury? :P
`...With Arsenal at present trying to finance a new £250million home at Ashburton Grove, the Highbury board might have preferred Wenger to have stuck to his original plans'
Ashburton???
kenalim
15-09-2001, 05:57 PM
eh wats the name of the new homeground ah? anyone?
new highbury? :P
`...With Arsenal at present trying to finance a new £250million home at Ashburton Grove, the Highbury board might have preferred Wenger to have stuck to his original plans'
Ashburton???
the name itself Ashburton sux... sounds like ash burning :laugh:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.