View Full Version : Juventus FC Forum (Stadio Delle Alpi)
Pages :
[
1]
dreamer75
03-06-2003, 01:51 PM
Calling all Juve fans,
They just won their 27th SCUDETTO not long ago and congrats to them once again.
Anyway Juve supporters pls come in to support and post any news, comments, views and predictions.
May the Old Lady Luck always shince on them!
FORZA JUVE!
Official Juventus site
http://www.juventus.com/en/index.html
dreamer75
03-06-2003, 02:08 PM
I'll start the ball rolling..press conference with Luppi..
Lippi: “We’ll try again next year
Let’s go on holiday. Today, 30th of May, Juventus finishes his 2002/2003 season, started on the 18th of July, after having conquered the Supercoppa Italiana, the Scudetto and after having reached the Champions League final. Despite the match in Manchester, it has been then a wonderful season. Ten unforgettable months, closed with the sadness for the Final but also with a lot of desire for starting over again after the holidays.
In the last pres conference after the well deserved holiday, Marcello Lippi goes back to the English evening: “The sadness is great, you saw it on my face after the match. We’re all sad, especially the ones who has been playing with Juventus for a long time and who lived a similar experience. Reaching four Champions League Finals in man’s career is a great thing and we always had wonderful performances, always in two competitions, and three of these seasons ended with the Scudetto. Unluckily, for a reason or another, we always reached the Finals with some injured players, like Del Piero in 1997, Del Piero and Inzaghi in 1998 and this year with Nedved disqualified and Davids and Tudor who got injured during the match. Only in Rome we were at our best and in fact we won, at penalties, but after having dominated the match”.
Two days after the match played at the Old Trafford, Marcello Lippi replies to the critics addressed to him and to the team: “I want to remember to everyone that the match ended 0-0 and we didn’t lose. But only for the fact that Ac Milan won the Cup, that means that I picked up the wrong players for the match. Being without Nedved, I preferred to add quality, that’s why I put Montero and not Birindelli on the left area of the defense. I also saw that Camoranesi was in a good condition in the two weeks before the Final. The penalties? It’s not a technical thing but a psychological one: it doesn’t mean anything if a player hasn’t kicked a penalty before, it’s not easy to go and try to convert it in front of 60.000 people and millions of Tv viewers. Even Vialli preferred not to kick the penalty in the Rome’s Final. Anyway I’m not offended by the critics on my choices for the team but I am when I read false things, like that I had an argument with a player of mine”.
But, among the others, there’s a label that Lippi doesn’t really like, the one of being a “loser”. “If I am a loser? Maybe, but I’m a loser with some victories. In six years and a half I’ve been here, in each season we won something important: 5 Scudetti and one Champions League. After the match against Ac Milan I had some thoughts, even to quit, but I’m so much in love with this group, that gave me so much, that I decided at once to try again. I want my fifth Final and If I win, good, otherwise I’ll dedicate myself completely to my nephew. We’ll play another season with fighting spirit and we’ll try with all our energy to win the Champions League, without forgetting the league. All through these years we proved that the best way to obtain something is not to give up in anything. Anyway, now let’s think about the holidays, we all need some”.
http://www.juventus.com/en/cmc/champions/200322/cmc_51980.html
dreamer75
03-06-2003, 02:12 PM
some transfer rumours...
Juve is targetung Gabriel Heinze fr PSG and Udinese's David Pizarro.
demouse
04-06-2003, 12:54 PM
i think they should get a good substitute for Nedved. even if Nedved is injured or suspended, at least they still got some1 to replace him. just look at the CL final match :(
dreamer75
04-06-2003, 01:32 PM
Originally posted by demouse
i think they should get a good substitute for Nedved. even if Nedved is injured or suspended, at least they still got some1 to replace him. just look at the CL final match :(
ya lor....who do u have in mind?
Giggs? Kewell?
demouse
04-06-2003, 01:44 PM
Originally posted by dreamer75
ya lor....who do u have in mind?
Giggs? Kewell?
how about Czech midfielder Tomas Rosicky? young, not so expensive, good playmaker. somemore can ask Nevded to persuade him =p
dreamer75
04-06-2003, 01:47 PM
06/03/2003. Juventus and David Trezeguet still have to agree to terms on the new contract they have been discussing for more than six months now.
This stalemate is making the situation between the team and the player extremely tense, and it won't be a surprise to see the Frenchman move to Arsenal over the summer.
For this reason Juve are spotting players that could take over the striker role Trez could possibly leave vacant.
Reports from Italy suggest one of these is Guingamp's Didier Drogba, who scored 25 goals in the season's Championnat.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------Buffon-----------------------------
----Birindelli----Thuram-----Ferrara----Zambrotta------
----Camoranesi--------Tachinardi-------Davids--------
------------------------------Nedved---------------------------
--------------Del Piero--------------------Trezeguet-------
dreamer75
04-06-2003, 01:56 PM
how about Czech midfielder Tomas Rosicky? young, not so expensive, good playmaker. somemore can ask Nevded to persuade him =p
sure, not ex?
maybe they can try Flore or Recoba...:)
demouse
04-06-2003, 02:05 PM
sure, not ex?
maybe they can try Flore or Recoba...:)
not as expensive as like those big shots.......... hmm Recoba, Giggs, Veron (although i would love to see him return to italy)........
toyotaf1
04-06-2003, 02:38 PM
Juve only go for players that have team spirit.
dreamer75
06-06-2003, 01:22 PM
yes..Juve shld buy him to strength the defence..:)
06/05/2003. Chievo defender Nicola Legrottaglie has revealed that Juventus are ahead in the race for his signature.
"Juve, Roma, Inter, Milan and Parma are the same, I'll go in the club that will make the higher offer, but right now I believe Juve have an edge," he told La Gazzetta dello Sport. "I know that Juve and Chievo met yesterday.
"I'd love to play with Ferrara," he added. "But I absolutely want to play in the middle, and not be moved on the right like they did with Thuram."
Chievo value the player at 16 million euros but Juve have offered between 5 and 7 million plus one among from Brighi, Maresca and Sculli and two youngsters among Gastaldello, Paro and Cassani.
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/n9489.html
dreamer75
06-06-2003, 01:24 PM
Flore is gd...sign him...:D
06/05/2003. Juventus are in talks with Lazio regarding the signings of Stefano Fiore and Bernardo Corradi, according to reports.
The two clubs met yesterday in Milan to start negotiations.
It is rumoured that Juve offered Marco Di Vaio and Enzo Maresca in exchange for the duo, although the former has gone on record as saying how happy he is with the Bianconeri.
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/n9505.html
dreamer75
06-06-2003, 01:26 PM
does it mean no Legrottaglie and Flore?
06/05/2003. Juventus' general manager Luciano Moggi announced that the Bianconeri won't make any other market operations besides the return of three players formerly on loan, during the official introduction of midfielder Manuele Blasi.
"This summer you will only see three introductions" Moggi said. "Today Blasi, within a few days Miccoli and Maresca. We are a healthy club that wants to keep on paying the players' wages regularly. We have our policy, any rumor regarding purchases of other players is false".
According to Moggi, "Blasi doesn't need any introduction: he's a very good player, he's young and he has a five-year contract based on his performances. It's not the first time we do this. It's our policy, and I see that most of the other clubs are imitating us".
"Soon I'll start my experience in one of the best teams in the world" Blasi said, "and I just can't wait. Juve have many champions? I'm not scared. It's going to be tough, but I'll do everything I can in order to stay here and play as much as possible. Me the new Davids? Please be serious, I still have to grow up".
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/n9587.html
dreamer75
08-06-2003, 12:44 PM
no Juve fans here? :(
dreamer75
08-06-2003, 12:46 PM
Luppi shldn't be blamed for the defeat
Alessandro Del Piero has shielded the Juventus Coach from criticism, discussed his future and his role for the Azzurri.
“Even if we lost the Champions’ League Final,” noted the Bianconeri captain, “this has been a great season for the club.”
Del Piero was one of only two Juve players to successfully convert their penalties in the shoot-out with Milan.
“We won the Scudetto and reinforced our position on the European stage after two unimpressive campaigns. Obviously we are all still upset, but it will give us the strength to aim for the trophy next year.”
Marcello Lippi was heavily criticised in the press for his tactics during that Old Trafford Final and there were reports he offered to resign.
“Lippi will stay with us and all together we will try to get the Champions’ League back to Turin,” insisted the forward.
“The criticism was unfair. It’s too easy to use hindsight when something doesn’t go as planned, but I say Lippi did everything he could to help Juve beat Milan.”
Giovanni Trapattoni has revealed that Del Piero will be pushed out wide onto the left flank if he starts against Finland.
“I came here with the intention of playing,” he pointed out, “but this is not club level and all players must accept sitting on the bench at times. As for my position, playing out wide is not a problem.”
Juventus are currently embroiled in contract renegotiations for several star players, including David Trezeguet, Edgar Davids and Del Piero.
“You can never say never in football,” he noted, “but I really don’t think I’ll leave Juventus. There is less money circulating in the sport now and it’s tough to get a transfer if you are on high wages.”
Del Piero is one of the highest paid players in Europe, but admits he is willing to reduce his deal.
“I am not worried about my contract. It is only right that a contract is divided between steady wages and a performance-related percentage of pay.”
Director General Luciano Moggi claimed this week that there would be hardly any new buys making their way to Juventus over the summer.
“Moggi doesn’t always tell the truth,” smiled Del Piero. “I think the club will work wisely on the market without making massive changes to a successful team.”
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jun7d.html
demouse
09-06-2003, 08:51 AM
no Juve fans here? :(
got lah but now the season end lao not so many news lah :)
demouse
09-06-2003, 08:53 AM
Gianluigi Buffon claims Juventus will be more determined than ever to win the Champions’ League next season.
“Personally,” said the goalkeeper, “I have already put the Old Trafford Final behind me and am looking ahead to next year’s trophy. Apart from that defeat, this experience has been an unforgettable joy.”
Marcello Lippi was bitterly criticised in the press following the penalty shoot-out defeat to Milan and said he would resign if he failed to lift the trophy next May.
“In that case,” noted Buffon, “it is up to us to win it so that Lippi can stay on in Turin. I don’t think he really meant it anyway, it was just a way of working out the disappointment of that occasion.”
David Trezeguet added his voice to the chorus of criticism, but Buffon has leapt to Lippi’s defence.
“You cannot judge the work of a Coach by one game when he has just won two consecutive Serie A titles and reached the Final of Europe’s most prestigious competition.”
“Unfortunately,” he added, “in Italy you cannot put a foot wrong. Mind you, we cannot deny Juve played beneath their capabilities at Old Trafford.”
The squad can now begin rebuilding ahead of the new campaign and even the goalkeeper does not believe Director General Luciano Moggi’s denials.
“The foundation of the team is solid, but I certainly expect an ace in the pack to join us over the summer.”
Among the names linked with a move to Juve are Jaap Stam and Bernardo Corradi, but the headlines are ruled by Trezeguet’s possible move to Valencia.
“Stam is a great player, but it would take someone incredible to step in for Ciro Ferrara in the form he has been in this season.”
“As for Trezeguet,” concluded the ex-Parma man, “I have absolutely no idea what will happen."
"Above all I can’t understand the confusion that reigns around this situation. Unfortunately every summer there’s a story like this to fill the newspapers.”
demouse
09-06-2003, 09:44 PM
Italian starlet Fabrizio Miccoli maintains that he is ready to make an impact at Juventus in the new campaign.
"Trying to predict the future is a difficult thing to do, especially in the game of football," said the Azzurri ace.
"But I’m going to Juventus and I think they will keep me. I feel as if I’m ready for a great club side.
"I want to test myself on the biggest football stages in the world. Hopefully everything will go well for me even if we will have to wait and see what occurs."
The 23-year-old was signed by the Turin giants last summer from Serie B side Ternana.
However, the Bianconeri decided to loan the forward to Perugia where he has made an amazing impact.
He was undoubtedly the club’s player of the season as he also went on to win international honours with the Azzurri.
Miccoli is currently in the Italy squad for Wednesday’s European Championship qualifier against Finland.
dreamer75
10-06-2003, 01:54 PM
06/09/2003. Juventus are following the advice of superstar Pavel Nedved regarding two possible buys for next season's team.
23 year old Zdenek Grygera and Reggina's Martin Jiranek are the two players the Bianoneri's Czech leader has tipped the club to buy. Both are very fast defenders.
Also Udinese's Marek Jankulowski is a player the Bianconero management are tracking, but it still isn't clear whether the Friuliani's 'patron' Pozzo intends to do away with one of this year's major surprises.
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/o0264.html
blalala
14-06-2003, 10:09 AM
Join www.juventuz.com
unofficial site of Juventus.
dreamer75
16-06-2003, 01:28 PM
Edgar Davids and David Trezeguet look set to sign new improved contracts with Juventus to end transfer speculation.
The club has been in fraught negotiations for several months over deals that expire in 2004 (Davids) and 2005 (Trezeguet).
The continuing delay in a signature fuelled already existing speculation that the two players would be sold this summer.
However, it was reported over the weekend that Davids has agreed to another meeting with director general Luciano Moggi in order to discuss terms.
The Dutchman had been linked with Roma and a move to the Premiership for Arsenal or Liverpool, but could now extend his contract to end his career in Turin.
Trezeguet¡¯s situation was even more complicated, as he demanded a massive wage increase in order to pen a new deal.
Juve had rejected this request and it looked likely Valencia could take advantage with a ?35m offer for the French international.
It was today claimed in the press that the Bianconeri have agreed to double Trezeguet¡¯s wages to just over ?2m per season.
Meanwhile, Juve remain embroiled in a battle with Hellas Verona over the other half of Mauro German Camoranesi¡¯s contract.
The Argentine-born player moved to Turin in a co-ownership deal last summer, but his value has since shot up thanks to a splendid campaign and entry into the Italian national squad.
Serie B side Verona are now demanding double the original agreed figure to buy out the rest of his contract, raising the sum to ?3.5m.
Juventus must hurry negotiations along, or a blind auction would take place. Both clubs would offer a figure in a sealed envelope and the highest bidder wins.
Should the matter get to this stage, Inter would be ready with an offer to buy out Verona¡¯s share in the player.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jun15f.html
demouse
20-06-2003, 04:51 PM
Juventus have officially completed the signing of Chievo defender Nicola Legrottaglie.
The Flying Donkeys have today confirmed that the Italian international has been sold to the Turin giants.
Chievo will receive around £5m in cash plus part ownership of striker Giuseppe Sculli, who spent last season at Modena, midfielder Matteo Paro and defender Daniele Gastaldello.
The Italian champions made their move for the stopper after his proposed switch to Roma collapsed.
The 27-year-old has signed a five-year deal and will be presented to the Press on Friday.
demouse
20-06-2003, 11:22 PM
Nicola Legrottaglie has spoken for the first time as a Juventus player after his move from Chievo.
The Italian international was officially unveiled to the media on Friday after the Turin giants completed his transfer yesterday evening.
"I’m honoured to have arrived at a club like Juventus," said the defender. "It is the result of many sacrifices.
"I’m here to learn and demonstrate my worth. I’ve already spoken to boss Marcello Lippi and I will have some great teachers here.
"This is a unique environment to play in and I can’t wait. I’m keen to get the likes of Ferrara, Thuram and Montero to share their secrets."
Legrottaglie was expected to join Roma earlier this week before talks for his transfer broke down.
"I never said that I would have preferred Roma," continued the stopper. "I just wanted to join a big club and I was confident that would happen because Chievo wanted to sell."
The former Bari and Modena player has signed a five-year contract with the Delle Alpi outfit after his £5m switch.
Chievo have also secured the part ownership of Giuseppe Sculli, Matteo Paro and Daniele Gastaldello as part of the deal.
"I know that Chievo are an important and prestigious club," said Sculli, who spent last season at Modena. "While Gigi Del Neri is a great Coach. I’m very happy to be a part of their squad."
Bianconeri general director Luciano Moggi was also delighted with his latest transfer success.
"We believed that it was only right that we brought in a young defender," he said. "But that is it now for our summer campaign. All we will do now is swap a few players."
Moggi also maintained that Edgar Davids, David Trezeguet and Lilian Thuram would remain in Turin.
"Everyone wants to stay at Juventus and all of our squad can give their contribution to the cause," he concluded.
dreamer75
21-06-2003, 05:19 PM
Great signing to strengthen the defence!! :)
dreamer75
21-06-2003, 05:36 PM
The profile of Nicola Legrottaglie
http://www.juventus.com/juventus/en/images/200325/20719legrottaglie.jpg
Nicola Legrottaglie is surely one of the revelations of those last two seasons. Twenty-seven years old, the defender from Gioia del Colle (Bari) became famous at Chievo Verona and now arrives to Juventus.
Really astonishing his career. After some seasons between Serie B and C1 (Pistoiese, Prato, Chievo and Modena), in November 2001 arrives the debut in Serie A, during the Verona derby. He gathers 13 caps and 2 goals in the first year. The one over is one of his best seasons: 30 caps and 4 goals in Serie A and the debut with Italy. On 20th November 2002 he debuts in “blue” against Turkey. With Italy he has played 5 games, scoring against Switzerland.
http://www.juventus.com/en/cmc/news/200325/cmc_52865.html
dreamer75
21-06-2003, 05:39 PM
so far Juve have sign 3 players in the pre-season
Blasi (Midfielder)
Miccoli (Forward)
Nicola Legrottaglie (Defender)
dreamer75
02-07-2003, 01:46 PM
Gd signing...:)
Juve complete Appiah swoop
Stephan Appiah has completed his expected transfer from Parma to Italian champions Juventus.
The two clubs officially closed the deal on Monday evening in a move that sees the Gialloblu receive cash and two players.
The Bianconeri have initially paid Parma £1.4m with an option to complete his signing next summer by paying a further £4m.
The Tardini outfit have also received total ownership of Under-21 international defender Emiliano Moretti and the loan of Manuele Blasi.
The 22-year-old Appiah had been linked with moves to Roma and Milan after impressing on loan at Brescia last season.
"This is a great opportunity for me," the Ghanaian said earlier today. "I knew that I would join a big club but I didn’t expect to be joining one of the best in the world.
"Luckily I have played regularly over the past year and my spells at Udinese and Parma were important experiences for me.
"Now I’m ready to work under boss Marcello Lippi and run for the side. After all, I ran for Baggio last season at Brescia. I’m ready to do it for Del Piero now."
Meanwhile, Juventus have sold a half share of Max Vieri - brother of Christian - to Serie B side Napoli. The Azzurri have also signed Perugia defender Sean Sogliano.
Brescia have also been busy on Monday. They’ve brought in Alessandro Lucarelli from Palermo and Triestina goalkeeper Tiziano Ramon.
The 32-year-old could replace Matteo Sereni who is being forced to return to Ipswich Town
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jun30j.html
dreamer75
02-07-2003, 01:49 PM
NIKE is new official sponsor for Juventus!
On July it starts the adventure with NIke
From today, 1st of July, a famous brand will work with Juventus Football Club: it’s Nike, new technical sponsor that will be linked with bianconeri for the next 12 years. It’s a very important cooperation that will allow to Juventus to develop its own brand too.
Nike will take the place of Lotto, which was with juventus in the last three excellent seasons. Here’s the comment of Romy Gai, Marketing and Commercial Director of Juventus: “It’s with great pleasure that we welcome Nike in the big Juventus family. We welcome the new partner, wishing for both of us a future rich of victories, and we thank the friends of Lotto for these three years of positive and precious cooperation."
http://www.juventus.com/juventus/en/cmc/news/200327/cmc_53462.html
dreamer75
02-07-2003, 01:50 PM
New York Times: welcome!
A warm welcome to bianconeri it has arrived today from New York, where Juventus will face Ac Milan on the 3rd of August at the Giants Stadium, with this article by the “New York Times”, one of the most important newspapers in the world.
Here’s the article, written by Alex Yannis:
Giants Stadium lands the Italian Super Cup
Italy’s Serie A was the most glamorous soccer league in Europe for the more that five years ago because it attracted the best players in the world with high transfer fees and lucrative contracts. After falling behind in recent years, it is now looking to regain the prestige it lost to England’s Premier League and Spain’s Liga.
Juventus and Ac Milan, the best and most popular teams in Italy, will take another step in that direction when they travel here to play the Italian Super Cup at Giants Stadium on August 3.
The prospect of a game between Juventus, the winner of the lague last season, and AC Milan, the winner of the Italian cup, was an opportunity that was too good to pass up.
Champions World, a global consultant on international events that has its headquarters in Moonachie, N.J., teamed with the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority and worked out the deal with the Italian Clubs.
“We have this game here because we have desire to promote Italian soccer outside our country”, Romy Gai, marketing director of Juventus, said today at Giants Stadium.
Umberto Gandini, the organizing director of AC Milan, said that this would be the third Italian Super Cup game played outside Italy. “It made a lot of sense to have this game played in the United States”, he said.
Ac Milan and Torino played for the Super Cup in Washington in 1993, and Juventus and Parma played the match last year in Tripoli, Libya. All other games since the competition was started in 1988 have been played in Italy. Ac Milan captured four times and Juventus three times.
The match her has a potential to be a sellout because it is a meaningful game, not an exhibition. It is also a game involving the teams that played the Champions League title on May 28 in Manchester, England. AC Milan won on penalty kicks.
“There is much interest in this game that will be televised in 153 countries around the world”, said Charlie Stillitano, champions World’s president and founder, “It showcases two of the strongest clubs in the world in a game that means a lot”.
The teams are controlled by two of the Italy’s richest and most influential families. Silvio Berlusconi, who’s Italy is prime minister, runs AC Milan; the Agnelli family, which runs Fiat, controls Juventus.
George Zoffinger, the president and chief executive of the New Jersey sports authority, said about 15,000 tickets had already been sod for the game.
“This game accentuates the fact that Giants Stadium is the place for soccer in the East Coast and the entire country”, said Zoffinger, who pointed out that real Madrid played AS Roma in an exhibition here last year and Manchester United will play Juventus on July 31.
http://www.juventus.com/juventus/en/cmc/news/200327/cmc_53465.html
dreamer75
07-07-2003, 01:58 PM
Hope he comes to Juve!!
07/06/2003. In an interview with Italian newspaper 'Tuttosport', Ilja Kaenzig, the right arm of Bayer general manager Reiner Calmund, indicated that Brazlian defender Lucio is destined to become a Juventino.
"There are no more secrets, it's under everyone's eyes that Lucio is going to Juventus," said Kaenzig.
"The deal with Roma was just tentative, the first choice remains Juventus," he added.
On Friday it appeared Roma had gained the upper hand again after that Lucio spoke directly to Capello, but Kaenzig's words appear to indicate Roma failed in their final bid
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/o5600.html
dreamer75
07-07-2003, 02:01 PM
Who's Jerome Rothen?
Marcelo Salas is today being linked with a move to Monaco that could see Jerome Rothen join Juventus in return.
The Chilean international is on the Turin departure list and transfer guru Luciano Moggi is keen to get rid of him as soon as possible.
The usually cagey Moggi has openly admitted that the striker doesn’t figure in the club’s plans but selling him has become increasingly difficult.
The major obstacle is with the former Lazio man’s salary – of around £2.6m a year – which few clubs seem able to match.
However, Moggi is confident that his close links with the Principality outfit will see a positive conclusion to the talks.
It is understood that the Italian champions would like Rothen in return who is known as the ‘French David Beckham’ in his homeland.
The 25-year-old made his debut in the Championnat during the 1997/98 season at Cannes before he moved on to Troyes.
He signed for Monaco in the summer of 2001 where he has since caught the eye of a number of top clubs.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul6e.html
demouse
07-07-2003, 04:08 PM
Juventus wanted to get rid of Salas is no secret. High pay, injuries, no goals......
Wherelse for Salas is not a bad choice to go also. At least no more bench warming for him. I believe he regret like hell to leave Lazio...
rekooB
07-07-2003, 08:21 PM
Juventus wanted to get rid of Salas is no secret. High pay, injuries, no goals......
Wherelse for Salas is not a bad choice to go also. At least no more bench warming for him. I believe he regret like hell to leave Lazio...
salas used to be one of my favourite player during his days at lazio....he is one of the best striker in the world back then and is very loyal to lazio....a pity he is at such a state now:(
JuveZzZ
07-07-2003, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by rekooB
salas used to be one of my favourite player during his days at lazio....he is one of the best striker in the world back then and is very loyal to lazio....a pity he is at such a state now:( yeah lor like i think better get rid of him fast
dreamer75
08-07-2003, 01:19 PM
Originally posted by JuveZzZ
yeah lor like i think better get rid of him fast
If Salas go then Juve dun have much strikers left?
dreamer75
08-07-2003, 01:23 PM
Juventus have shot down the now constant speculation that they are considering the sale of Edgar Davids.
The Dutchman has been linked with a move to Chelsea for the last week but Luciano Moggi insists he will remain in Turin.
"Davids has never been on the transfer market and he never will be," stated the transfer guru on Monday.
"The Dutchman belongs to Juventus and will remain. That is what we want and what he wants.
"Therefore all the stories which are suggesting otherwise have no foundation whatsoever."
There were reports that Chelsea had made an £11m bid which was rejected by the Turin giants who want closer to £16m.
Those claims were made believable as the former Ajax man has just one year left on his current Bianconeri contract.
If the midfielder doesn’t agree a new deal then he would be available to leave the Delle Alpi next summer on a free transfer.
Davids added fuel to the fire last week when he admitted that he would be interested to play in the Premiership in the future.
Meanwhile, the Italian champions are still being linked with a move for Lazio striker Bernardo Corradi.
However, they are having difficulty in selling Marcelo Salas who has rejected offers from Spain and Portugal so far this summer.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/imgs/davids.jpg
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul7i.html
JuveZzZ
08-07-2003, 02:50 PM
If Salas go then Juve dun have much strikers left?
del perio , tezgol, milico, di valo
all top class strikers
rekooB
09-07-2003, 03:46 PM
del perio , tezgol, milico, di valo
all top class strikers
yeah..don't know they wnt corradi for what:mad:
BaggioLee
10-07-2003, 04:08 AM
i really only want to see 2 new players: totti and nesta. I know it's not possible... :(
demouse
10-07-2003, 09:21 AM
yeah..don't know they wnt corradi for what:mad:
they're looking for a substitute for tezgol coz he's always injured. di vaio doesn't meet their standard, if corradi come than di vaio will be swope to lazio.
del perio is a support striker and micoli will be a good substitute for him.
demouse
10-07-2003, 09:24 AM
Originally posted by BaggioLee
i really only want to see 2 new players: totti and nesta. I know it's not possible... :(
not possible especially for totti. do you know roma fans hate juventus more than they hate lazio!!! sensi will rather let totti join inter for free than sell him billions to juventus.
dreamer75
10-07-2003, 01:29 PM
not possible especially for totti. do you know roma fans hate juventus more than they hate lazio!!! sensi will rather let totti join inter for free than sell him billions to juventus.
tot they shld hate Lazio more?
JuveZzZ
17-07-2003, 12:00 PM
yup very true ............
but roma like interested in davids .........
Anyway the are now targeting cruz
dreamer75
18-07-2003, 02:07 PM
There are conflicting reports coming out of South America regarding Marcelo Salas’ proposed move to River Plate.
A wide variety of sources claimed that the Argentine club had agreed a loan move for the out of favour Juventus player.
The Buenos Aires club would pay the Bianconeri around £350,000 for the Chilean’s services next term.
But River chief Jose Maria Aguilar seems to have poured cold water on suggestions that a deal has been done.
"It would be great for Salas to come back here but it is very difficult, very difficult indeed," he is quoted as saying.
Juventus are having a nightmare summer in trying to offload the expensive international.
The Italian club had set up moves to Paris SG, Monaco, Sporting Lisbon and Real Betis but the player rejected all of them.
Salas has put off his return to Italy by a week as he desperately tries to find a suitable destination for the new season.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul17i.html
JuveZzZ
18-07-2003, 04:06 PM
haizzz so unless till like that
rekooB
23-07-2003, 06:02 PM
juve new away jersey:D
http://www.boomspeed.com/rekoob/pinkjuve.gif
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 12:57 AM
Mauro Camoranesi’s agent is confident that his client will remain with Italian champions Juventus.
The player’s future was cast into doubt as he angered the club after turning up late for pre-season training.
"The situation still isn’t resolved but I don’t see too many problems," noted Pastorello. "In the next few days we will look to talk to the club."
Transfer chief Luciano Moggi was so furious about the Argentine’s no show that he threatened to sell the player.
"After hearing the statements from the past few days we’re looking to find out what the club’s true intentions are," added the agent.
Another potential problem is represented by Camoranesi’s desire for a new improved contract in Turin.
"We only want what we were promised and that is a contract extension," added Pastorello. "We’ll meet up soon to iron out the situation."
Reports over the last few days had suggested that Camoranesi could move to Lazio in a swap deal with Stefano Fiore.
Stories in England are also suggesting that the Bianconeri are interested in Arsenal winger Robert Pires.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul23d.html
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 01:05 AM
Wonder will there be any telecast for the friendlies btw Juve and Barca, Man U and Milan?
An official match (The Tim SuperCup against Milan, the 3rd of August in New York), many appointment (Trofeo Berlusconi, Tim and Birra Moretti), the usual parade in Villar Perosa and a list of other matches: here is the fixture of Juventus’ summer 2003.
Summer training from the 18th to the 25th of July at Chatillon, then from the 3rd of August tournée in USA, another week in Valle d’Aosta (from the 6th to the 11th of August) and from the 15th all in Turin. The last weekend of August the Serie A starts again. These is the complete program:
18th July: meeting at Saint Vincent and summer training at Chatillon;
24th July: friendly match against Valle d'Aosta, Saint Vincent, 5.45pm
25th July: departure for the Usa;
27th July: friendly match against Barcelona in Boston, 4pm local time
31st July: friendly match against Manchester United in New York, 8pm (local time)
3rd August: Supercup Tim against Milan in New York, 2.45pm (local time) At the end of the match departure for Italy
6th August: second phase of the summer training in Chatillon;
8th August: Birra Moretti thropy with Inter and Sampdoria in Bari, 9pm
10th August: Trofeo Valle d'Aosta against Reggina at Saint Vincent, 9pm
11th August: second phase of the summer trainings ends
12th August: Trofeo Tim with Inter, Milan, Ancona, 21pm
15th August: starting of training sessions in Turin at the Sisport centre;
17th August: Trofeo Berlusconi against Milan 8.45pm
20th August: friendly against Juventus B in Villar Perosa, 17.45pm
22nd August: friendly against Napoli in Napoli at 9pm
26th August: beginning of the standard fixture at the Sisport centre
30/31 th August: Serie A begins[COLOR=blue][COLOR=purple]
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 01:11 AM
The Juventus’ shirt numbers for the season 2003/04 have been assigned. Di Vaio switches number from 18 to 20 and leaving it to newbye Appiah. 23 goes to Legrottaglie. Miccoli has 9, Maresca the 14. The 22 goes to Mirante, the new third goalie.
1 Gianluigi BUFFON
2 Ciro FERRARA
3 Alessio TACCHINARDI
4 Paolo MONTERO
5 Igor TUDOR
6 Salvatore FRESI
7 Gianluca PESSOTTO
8 Antonio CONTE
9 Fabrizio MICCOLI
10 Alessandro DEL PIERO
11 Pavel NEDVED
12 Antonio CHIMENTI
13 Mark IULIANO
14 Enzo MARESCA
15 Alessandro BIRINDELLI
16 Mauro CAMORANESI
17 David TREZEGUET
18 Stephen APPIAH
19 Gianluca ZAMBROTTA
20 Marco DI VAIO
21 Lilian THURAM
22 Antonio MIRANTE
23 Nicola LEGROTTAGLIE
25 Marcelo ZALAYETA
26 Edgar DAVIDS
http://www.juventus.com/en/cmc/news/200330/cmc_54552.html
demouse
24-07-2003, 09:11 AM
Wonder will there be any telecast for the friendlies btw Juve and Barca, Man U and Milan?
i think channel 5 will be telecast live for the match between Juve & Barca & Man U. watch out for the news.
demouse
24-07-2003, 09:11 AM
is this a joke:confused:
demouse
24-07-2003, 01:34 PM
Hurray :bounce:
26 Jul (Sat) : AC Milan vx Celtics 8am @ Ch5 LIVE
27 Jul (Sun) : Man U vs Club America 10am @ Ch5 LIVE
28 Jul (Mon) : Juve vs Barca 6am @ Ch5 LIVE
31 Jul (Thu) : Barca vs AC Milan 8am @ Ch5 LIVE
01 Aug (Fri) : Juve vs Man U 8am @ Ch5 LIVE
04 AUg (Mon) : Barca vs Man U 8am @ Ch5 LIVE
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 02:27 PM
wah!!! mai tu liao :D
Thanks man for the info!! :)
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 02:33 PM
no telecast of Juve vs Milan for the SuperCup Tim in New York?
JuveZzZ
24-07-2003, 03:56 PM
looks a bit funni
rekooB
24-07-2003, 05:16 PM
worse jersey i ever seen.....:D
toyotaf1
24-07-2003, 05:35 PM
New Away Jersey - Feminine side of Juve
I may be buying.. cannot always wear the zebra jersey :D
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 05:53 PM
hmm...strange....y they nvr publised the news on the Juventus official website?
I oni know they change sponsors alr..
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 06:06 PM
well..i think its pretty confirmed...look at this...:)
http://www.teamdirect.at/newkits.jpg
toyotaf1
24-07-2003, 06:10 PM
Will this be the 1st 11...
Buffon
Thuram, Montero, Legrottaglie
Tacchinardi
Zambrotta, Appiah, Davids
Nedved
Trezeguet, Del Piero
toyotaf1
24-07-2003, 06:12 PM
Is it here in sg?
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 06:19 PM
Originally posted by toyotaf1
Is it here in sg?
not sure..
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 06:22 PM
All the Jerseys for Juventus are here..
http://www.distrib-deportivas-elaguila.es/757.htm
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 06:33 PM
Lippi has this formation in mind:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------BUFFON----------------------------------
THURAM_____LEGGROTAGLIE______MONTERO_____ZAMBROTTA
------------------TACCHINARDI_______DAVIDS---------------------------
-----MICCOLI------------------NEDVED--------------------------DEL PIERO
------------------------------------TREZEGUET---------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 06:36 PM
"Delle Alpi stadium is finally bianconero. On the 15 of July 2003, Juventus Football Club and the City of Turin signed an agreement for the constitution of ground rights on the Stadium and on the near areas for 99 years."
I read this on the official website :)
Now we dun need to share the stadium with Torino liao...=p
demouse
24-07-2003, 08:28 PM
think the away jessey very sissy leh =p
imagine 10 macho men wearing sooooooo sweet orange jessey on the pitch :D
dreamer75
24-07-2003, 10:04 PM
think the away jessey very sissy leh =p
imagine 10 macho men wearing sooooooo sweet orange jessey on the pitch :D
heard its pink but looks orange leh?
dreamer75
25-07-2003, 08:52 AM
Juventus striker Marcelo Zalayeta will miss the Italian Super Cup final after that an MRI confirmed he has a strained right knee.
The Uruguayan tower will now have to wear a tutor for 20 days, after which he will need ten more to be completely rehabilitated.
This means Zalayeta will be back at full form for the Serie A's first round of matches.
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/o9600.html
demouse
25-07-2003, 09:07 AM
heard its pink but looks orange leh?
aiyo pink laggi sissy lah :rolleyes:
dreamer75
25-07-2003, 10:41 AM
aiyo pink laggi sissy lah :rolleyes:
think i saw they play in pink b4...ok lor..
dreamer75
25-07-2003, 10:42 AM
we won 12-0 and Di Vaio scored 4 GOALS:D
Alessandro Del Piero scored Juve’s first official goal of the season in Nicola Legrottaglie’s debut.
The reigning Italian Champions brushed aside local side Valle d’Aosta 12-0 on Thursday evening and their captain was the star of the show.
Del Piero opened the scoring on 13 minutes before converting a spot-kick soon after, but also provided assists for David Trezeguet and Edgar Davids.
Ex-Chievo man Legrottaglie made his debut in central defence alongside Mark Iuliano, while Gianluca Zambrotta was again impressive at left-back.
Despite his recent row with the club, Mauro Camoranesi started the match on the right flank.
Coach Marcello Lippi changed the entire side for the second half to give former Brescia starlet Stephan Appiah his first Juventus appearance.
Marco Di Vaio and Fabrizio Miccoli formed a stunning partnership upfront with four goals for the ex-Parma hitman and a series of assists from the tiny Italian international.
Marcelo Zalayeta did not take part as the Uruguayan forward has been ruled out for three weeks with a knee injury.
Juventus One 5-0 Valle d’Aosta
Scorers: Del Piero 13, pen 23, Davids 15, Trezeguet 31, Nedved 44
Line-up: Buffon, Birindelli, Legrottaglie, Iuliano, Zambrotta; Camoranesi, Tacchinardi, Davids; Nedved; Trezeguet, Del Piero
Juventus Two 6-0 Valle d’Aosta
Scorers: Di Vaio 7, 11, 20, 36, Conte 22, Miccoli 40, Olivera 45
Line-up: Chimenti, Ferrara, Maresca, Montero, Appiah, Fresi, Pessotto, Conte, Olivera, Di Vaio, Miccoli
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul24i.html
demouse
25-07-2003, 10:46 AM
think i saw they play in pink b4...ok lor..
where and when u saw? got pix?
i dun recall any other teams wear pink :confused:
dreamer75
25-07-2003, 11:01 AM
sorry no pic...it was an Serie A game...:)
dreamer75
25-07-2003, 11:02 AM
Juventus boss Marcello Lippi says his side have nothing to fear from Champions’ League winners Milan.
Rossoneri Vice-president Adriano Galliani recently insisted that his team were the best in Italy but the Scudetto winning Coach doesn’t agree.
"We don’t feel inferior to Milan at all," stated the Delle Alpi tactician. "When they beat us in the final of the European Cup I went over and congratulated them.
"But I also reminded them that over the past two League seasons we collected 27 more points than them. They’re probably just better than us at taking penalties."
Juventus midfielder Gianluca Zambrotta mirrored Lippi’s views. "We don’t fear them," said the international.
"We’ve won the last two Italian championships, something that is not an easy thing to do in Italy.
"We have no weak points in our side and the club have strengthened the squad in every single department this summer.
"My personal objective for the new season is to win as much as possible. After all, I’ve missed out on European Championship and European Cup success right at the death."
Zambrotta was part of the Azzurri squad that was beaten in the Euro 2000 Final by a David Trezeguet golden goal against France
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul24e.html
demouse
25-07-2003, 11:22 AM
sorry no pic...it was an Serie A game...:)
how come i never see leh :confused:
toyotaf1
25-07-2003, 12:18 PM
Lippi has this formation in mind:
--------------------------------------BUFFON----------------------------------
THURAM_____LEGGROTAGLIE______MONTERO_____ZAMBROTTA
------------------TACCHINARDI_______DAVIDS---------------------------
-----MICCOLI------------------NEDVED--------------------------DEL PIERO
------------------------------------TREZEGUET---------------------------------
Lippi or Trapattoni first deploys Zambrotta as left back?
demouse
25-07-2003, 12:39 PM
Lippi or Trapattoni first deploys Zambrotta as left back?
Lippi! than Trapattoni follow :)
toyotaf1
25-07-2003, 12:59 PM
Lippi! than Trapattoni follow :)
Zambrotta is really a versatile player. His fitness is superb.
demouse
25-07-2003, 01:32 PM
Zambrotta is really a versatile player. His fitness is superb.
yap i can never forget the CL 2nd leg match Juve vs Real in Turin. he's sooooooooo super good.
i think that's why Juventus are always so strong, they've many many good but low profile players. unlike other opera troops always claim that they've the best striker, the best free kick etc etc....... (buay hyao pei sei)
dreamer75
25-07-2003, 01:53 PM
yap i can never forget the CL 2nd leg match Juve vs Real in Turin. he's sooooooooo super good.
i think that's why Juventus are always so strong, they've many many good but low profile players. unlike other opera troops always claim that they've the best striker, the best free kick etc etc....... (buay hyao pei sei)
ya..he's v gd...esp his twist and turns...:)
hwmook
25-07-2003, 02:44 PM
he is the only player i love in juve. amazing is an understatement.
demouse
25-07-2003, 02:54 PM
Originally posted by hwmook
he is the only player i love in juve. amazing is an understatement.
look out for Micoli, he's good :eek:
demouse
26-07-2003, 07:35 PM
Kallon-Camoranesi swap touted
Juventus could solve two problems this summer by exchanging Mauro Camoranesi for Inter hitman Mohamed Kallon.
The Bianconeri are looking for a new forward after loaning Marcelo Salas to River Plate, while Marcelo Zalayeta suffered a knee injury that will keep him sidelined for three weeks.
Several options are open to the Italian title holders, including Bologna giant Julio Cruz, but Kallon has always been a favourite of Coach Marcello Lippi.
Pushed onto the bench by Christian Vieri and Hernan Crespo, Kallon would relish the opportunity for a change of scenery.
Inter would also welcome the move, as the club has been chasing Camoranesi for several months now.
Argentine-born Camoranesi (pictured), who now plays his international football for the Azzurri, is embroiled in a bitter row with Juventus over his contract status.
The ex-Verona winger claims he was promised a wage increase this summer and was publicly blasted for turning up late to Juve's pre-season training camp.
?gIf he persists in this sort of behaviour,?h warned director general Luciano Moggi, ?gCamoranesi is free to look for another club.?h
Inter were already tracking the situation carefully when Camoranesi was still half-owned by Hellas Verona, so this friction is the perfect opportunity to pounce.
------------------------------------------------
wat u guys think? happy ending?
demouse
28-07-2003, 08:42 AM
Friendlies: Miccoli shocks Barca
Fabrizio Miccoli scored one and set up another as Juventus drew 2-2 with Ronaldinho's Barcelona.
The Spaniards ?Ewho made their debut under Coach Frank Rijkaard ?Ewere leading 2-0 with four minutes left on the clock in this Boston friendly.
But the former Perugia terrier made his mark on the Blaugrana with a late flurry that surprised the supporters.
The game immediately went to penalties and it took seven spot-kicks each to give Barcelona victory.
Enzo Maresca and Gianluca Pessotto saw their efforts saved, while Luis Garcia hit the woodwork for the Spaniards.
There was an interesting tactical experiment from Marcello Lippi, as Stephan Appiah shared the midfield with Edgar Davids ?Eleaving out of favour Mauro Camoranesi on the bench.
The opener came from the spot after Javier Saviola was brought down following a defensive error from new signing Nicola Legrottaglie.
Just as Juve were increasing the pressure and testing the reflexes of Rustu Recber through Pavel Nedved and Alessandro Del Piero, Barca doubled their lead.
Gianluigi Buffon parried Andersson's header from a corner kick, but only into the path of Saviola for a tap-in.
Brazilian star Ronaldinho made his long-awaited debut in the second half, but it was substitute Luis Garcia who brought a fine save out of Buffon.
Juve made a series of substitutions on the hour mark, introducing the front pairing of Fabrizio Miccoli and Marco Di Vaio.
The effect was immediate, as a string of fine passes eventually saw goalkeeper Victor Valdes make two difficult interventions on Alessio Tacchinardi and Di Vaio.
But it was only in the final minutes that Miccoli made his presence truly felt with a late flurry of activity.
Within 60 seconds the Italian international set up Di Vaio for what seemed to be a consolation goal, then rounded the goalkeeper himself to snatch a draw.
Juventus 2-2 Barcelona (Barca win 8-7 on pens)
Scorers: Saviola pen 28, 41 (B), Di Vaio 86 (J), Miccoli 87 (J)
Juventus: Buffon; Birindelli (Fresi 76), Legrottaglie (Ferrara 76), Iuliano (Montero 77), Zambrotta (Pessotto 62); Appiah, Tacchinardi (Conte 76), Davids (Maresca 62), Nedved (Camoranesi 62); Trezeguet (Di Vaio 62), Del Piero (Miccoli 62)
Barcelona: R?Et?E(Victor Valdes 46); Puyol, Andersson, Reiziger, Óscar López; Xavi (Iniesta 74), Gerard (David Sanchez 63); Quaresma (Ros 77), Luis Enrique (Luis Garcia 46), Overmars (Dani 46); Saviola (Ronaldinho 46)
------------------------------------------------
see i said he's good huh ;)
dreamer75
28-07-2003, 01:48 PM
after watching this match, really feel Di Vaio and Micoli is a gd striking pair. :)
Juve scored 2 goals in 90 seconds :D
demouse
28-07-2003, 01:58 PM
after watching this match, really feel Di Vaio and Micoli is a gd striking pair. :)
Juve scored 2 goals in 90 seconds :D
maybe barcelona pang chance leh =p
but a bit worry for juventus leh, seems like they warm up very slow leh :confused:
dreamer75
28-07-2003, 02:03 PM
maybe barcelona pang chance leh =p
but a bit worry for juventus leh, seems like they warm up very slow leh :confused:
hmm...maybe....? maybe not?
anyway, think this is only their 2nd pre-season match.
Next, will be Man U. :)
ps : are u a Juve fan?
dreamer75
28-07-2003, 02:03 PM
Juventus are said to have spotted Udinese’s Vincenzo Iaquinta as a back-up for David Trezeguet.
The Bianconeri are on the look-out for another striker after Marcelo Zalayeta’s knee injury ruled him out for the next six weeks.
Coach Marcello Lippi maintains no replacement will be sought, but with the loan of Marcelo Salas to River Plate this looks unlikely.
Lippi’s tactics require a big man upfront and this summer they have been linked with Milan’s Jon Dahl Tomasson, Bernardo Corradi of Lazio and Bologna’s Argentine star Julio Cruz.
The more affordable alternative could well be former Under-21 international Vincenzo Iaquinta, currently rated at around £3m.
The 23-year-old is powerful, good in the air and stands at 1.87 metres tall – fitting the bill perfectly.
Iaquinta had a few problems with the Friuli fans last season, but notched up seven goals in 15 starts.
Juve could also be waving goodbye to Salvatore Fresi, as Brescia have shown interest in taking on the defender.
The Turin outfit are already looking into a replacement and are continuing negotiations for Paris Saint-Germain defender Gabriel Heinze.
The 25-year-old Argentine only recently extended his contract until 2005, but is also tracked by Barcelona.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/jul28d.html
hwmook
28-07-2003, 03:09 PM
he is a italian team fan. :D actually juve always warm up quite slowly nothing to worry about. i think juve will draw against man u. (ps i am an ac milan fan but my brother is a juve fan =p )
demouse
28-07-2003, 03:14 PM
basically i'm an azzurri fan. i support italian teams. my favorite for the teams base on the players, e.g. roma is my favorite team coz totti & montella, inter 2nd coz crespo & vieri, lazio 3rd coz lopez & mancini, milan 4th coz pippo & nesta and juventus 5th coz del piero & nedved :laugh:
juve has lost twice last season to ManU, hmm......... ManU seems very on form & juve still hasn't pick up their form leh, not surprise to lose again but hope not too big gap lor =p
wat u say?
dreamer75
28-07-2003, 04:11 PM
basically i'm an azzurri fan. i support italian teams. my favorite for the teams base on the players, e.g. roma is my favorite team coz totti & montella, inter 2nd coz crespo & vieri, lazio 3rd coz lopez & mancini, milan 4th coz pippo & nesta and juventus 5th coz del piero & nedved :laugh:
juve has lost twice last season to ManU, hmm......... ManU seems very on form & juve still hasn't pick up their form leh, not surprise to lose again but hope not too big gap lor =p
wat u say?
oh....like dat one ah...:laugh:
well...hard to say...maybe Juve will be alr warmed up in their 3rd match...:)
we will see this coming Friday...:)
demouse
28-07-2003, 04:15 PM
oh....like dat one ah...:laugh:
well...hard to say...maybe Juve will be alr warmed up in their 3rd match...:)
we will see this coming Friday...:)
other than juve who u support?
hope so lah, but still ManU has 2 more matches warm up than juve leh. shall see :)
dreamer75
28-07-2003, 04:54 PM
other than juve who u support?
hope so lah, but still ManU has 2 more matches warm up than juve leh. shall see :)
Newcastle :)
i am really interested to see how Milan will fare against Barca?
demouse
28-07-2003, 05:08 PM
Newcastle :)
i am really interested to see how Milan will fare against Barca?
Newcastle? no preference, as long as not ManU =p
it will be interesting if milan play attackingly but i doubt wif that coach :rolleyes:
barcelona has few good buy this season and i predict they're the favorite to win UEFA cup.
anyway i hope this season italian teams can be more attacking minded. lucky we still have lazio :cool:
JuveZzZ
31-07-2003, 04:14 PM
bar always fav to win this, then that but in the end won nothing ............
demouse
01-08-2003, 09:03 AM
The Scudetto Showdowns 2003-2004
Football Italia gives you a run-down of the top ties in the upcoming Serie A season including some early clashes for the title.
Scudetto holders Juventus face their first tough test as early as Week 3 when they welcome Roma to the Stadio Delle Alpi.
This is always a difficult game, particularly now that the Giallorossi are free from Champions' League commitments.
The Milanese sides are on the up and go head to head in the derby on October 5, the fifth match of the campaign.
It's a difficult month for both sides, as the Rossoneri welcome wild cards Lazio to the San Siro in Week 6 and repeat the Champions' League Final clash with Juventus fourteen days later.
Inter then take on Fabio Capello's Roma in Week 7, but fans must wait until Nov 30 for the Derby d'Italia with Juve in Turin.
The Rome derby remains one of the most heated fixtures in Europe and the Stadio Olimpico prepares for battle in Week 9.
Roberto Mancini's Lazio must juggle European commitments with some tough games during December.
The Biancocelesti will welcome Juventus on the 7th, then take on Inter just before the Christmas break.
The final big game before the halfway point of the campaign will be Roma-Milan, as Marcos Cafu returns to his old stomping ground in Week 15.
The top ties:
Week 3 (21/9, return 8/2/04): Juventus-Roma
Week 5 (5/10, return 22/2/04): Inter-Milan
Week 6 (19/10, return 29/2/04): Milan-Lazio
Week 7 (26/10, return 7/3/04): Inter-Roma
Week 8 (2/11, return 14/3/04): Milan-Juventus
Week 9 (9/11, return 21/3/04): Roma-Lazio
Week 11 (30/11, return 4/4): Juventus-Inter
Week 12 (7/12, return 10/4): Lazio-Juventus
Week 14 (21/12, return 25/4/04): Lazio-Inter
Week 15 (6/1/04, return 2/5): Roma-Milan
demouse
01-08-2003, 11:26 AM
Juventus President Chiusano has died
This afternoon the President of Juventus Football Club, Vittorio Caissotti di Chiusano has passed away. All members of the club are in a great sadness for the loss of a President that has always been very close to everybody, always, and expecially when his help was needed. Funerals will be held Saturday morning at 10 at the church os San Massimo in Turin.
http://www.juventus.com/juventus/en/images/200331/20849chiusano260103.jpg
---------------------------------------------------
b4 the friendly wif ManU and the big crash wif Milan :(
dreamer75
04-08-2003, 02:06 PM
Yes....we had our revenge this time round!! Sian, y they never telecast this match. :)
Super Cup: Juve earn shoot-out revenge
Juventus gained revenge for Old Trafford by beating Milan to the Super Cup in a penalty shoot-out.
A chaotic extra time and a series of splendid chances for both sides were not enough to separate the teams and, like the European encounter in May, it went to a penalty shoot-out.
The title winners took on the Coppa Italia holders in New York’s Giants Stadium in what was effectively a replay of the Champions’ League Final.
Pavel Nedved recovered from a knock he picked up during this week’s friendly defeat to Manchester United and was able to start the match.
Lilian Thuram, Marcelo Zalayeta, Rivaldo and Jon Dahl Tomasson were out injured, but overall the two teams could field their first choice eleven.
Juventus were out for revenge after losing the Champions’ League Final on penalties back in May, while Milan wanted to prove they deserved that trophy.
Marcos Cafu made his official debut for the Rossoneri as a right-back, while Juve fielded a very attacking formation with Fabrizio Miccoli, Alessandro Del Piero and David Trezeguet.
There were fierce early efforts from Del Piero and Manuel Rui Costa, while Pippo Inzaghi failed to make the most of crosses from Cafu and Andriy Shevchenko.
Miccoli almost opened the scoring in spectacular fashion with a low free kick that shaved the far upright.
Christian Abbiati made a surprise start in goal and performed two desperate one-handed saves on Trezeguet free headers, both created by Alessandro Birindelli.
Gianluigi Buffon was also tested by a splendid Andrea Pirlo free kick from 20 metres, but he flew across the face of goal to palm it out.
There was bad news for the Rossoneri just before the break when Gennaro Gattuso limped off with a muscular problem.
Buffon was again called to tip Inzaghi’s drive over the bar at the dawn of the second half following some excellent approach play by Kakha Kaladze and Inzaghi.
A similar move soon after was intercepted by some tricky defending as Shevchenko prepared to pounce from eight yards.
Inzaghi attempted a cheeky finish from a very tight angle, but the ball could only land on the roof of the net.
Rui Costa is yet to score a goal for Milan, but he almost netted an historic strike from 23 metres with a dipping effort that Buffon palmed over.
The Rossoneri continued to pile on the pressure, as from the resulting corner Inzaghi’s deflection clipped the crossbar.
Juve threw on Mauro Camoranesi and Marco Di Vaio for the final half-hour, and the ex-Parma player certainly made an impact.
Di Vaio went even closer soon after with a looping header that shaved an empty net, while Abbiati battled to keep him off a Camoranesi through ball.
Thirteen minutes from time Nedved cut through the Milan defence and looked ready to pull it back for Trezeguet, but his angled drive was just wide of the far post.
The final minutes were tired for both teams, but the Rossoneri threatened and forced Buffon to turn a powerful Christian Brocchi effort round the upright.
A brilliantly worked free kick by Pirlo gave Inzaghi a great chance in the final minute, but he couldn’t squeeze it between Buffon and the post.
Neither side could break the deadlock despite some fine chances and great saves, so the Final went to extra time and the Silver Goal.
Within seconds of the restart Alessandro Nesta was forced into a crucial last ditch tackle on Trezeguet.
There was controversy moments later when Juventus were inches away from scoring. Gianluca Zambrotta’s fantastic volley from the edge of the box ricocheted off the underside of the bar and out again, but replays showed the ball had not crossed the line.
Milan were also dangerous as two Pirlo efforts went just over the crossbar and Buffon flew to palm out a Serginho header with a splendid reflex save.
In the final minute of the first half of extra time referee Pierluigi Collina pointed to the spot for a very controversial penalty.
Ambrosini fell under pressure from Nicola Legrottaglie, but there was chaos in the box as the corner was floated in.
Nonetheless, Pirlo stepped up to chip the cheekiest of penalties over Buffon and spark the Milan party.
However, the Silver Goal was not enough, as ten seconds later Juventus drew level in equally chaotic circumstances.
Abbiati reacted well to a Legrottaglie header by the back post, but could do nothing on Trezeguet’s close-range follow-up.
The game went to the full 120 minutes, but unlike the Old Trafford clash, both sides have hit the back of the net.
Abbiati was again called to turn a Camoranesi drive round the near post as both teams poured forward to win.
There was further controversy when Inzaghi fell under a challenge from behind, but Collina waved play on this time.
Moments later Inzaghi tapped in a deflected effort from Serginho, but the Italian international was standing in an offside position and the goal was disallowed.
Just as with the European Cup Final, the battle between Milan and Juventus went to a penalty shoot-out.
Dida was the hero back in May, but it was Christian Abbiati who stood between the posts for Milan this time.
Substitute Christian Brocchi was the first to fail from the spot and saw his effort well saved by Buffon.
Juventus had a 100 per cent record with Ciro Ferrara’s winner and can lift the Italian Super Cup for the fourth time in their history.
Penalties:
Juve: Di Vaio (scored), Trezeguet (scored), Birindelli (scored), Camoranesi (scored), Ferrara (scored)
Milan: Pirlo (scored), Serginho (scored), Brocchi (saved), Nesta (scored)
Milan 1-1 Juventus (aet, 4-6 on pens)
Scorers: Pirlo pen 105 (M), Trezeguet 106 (J)
Milan: Abbiati; Cafu, Nesta, Maldini, Kaladze; Gattuso (Ambrosini 45), Pirlo, Rui Costa (Brocchi 81), Seedorf (Serginho 76); Shevchenko, Inzaghi
Juventus: Buffon; Birindelli, Legrottaglie, Iuliano (Ferrara 108), Zambrotta; Tacchinardi, Appiah; Miccoli (Camoranesi 54), Nedved, Del Piero (Di Vaio 66); Trezeguet
Ref: Collina
dreamer75
04-08-2003, 02:07 PM
Marcello Lippi has looked to the future rather than the past following Juve’s victory over old rivals Milan.
“Team spirit is essential and I must thank all 25 players who performed in difficult circumstances,” said the Bianconeri boss.
The Italian Super Cup arrived after a penalty shoot-out, an ironic twist, as it was in these circumstances that Juve lost the Champions’ League in May.
“Everyone did very well and I think Juventus deserved it over the 120 minutes, even though Milan had some very good chances as well.”
Lippi used all three substitutions and several different tactical options, but refused to name a man of the match.
“I liked the whole team. They suffered, battled and created a lot of goal scoring opportunities. It was positive overall.”
The Coach denied that the Italian Super Cup was a form of revenge for the Old Trafford defeat.
“This match had nothing to do with the Champions’ League Final. This is the first trophy of the 2003-04 campaign and we hope it is a good omen.”
However, Lippi did admit his goals for the new season are firmly placed on the Continent.
“I’ve won five Serie A titles in six years, so obviously if asked to choose I would pick the Champions’ League, but you cannot go around picking and choosing your trophies.”
Milan thought they had won the Super Cup when Andrea Pirlo converted a penalty at the end of the first period of extra time, but David Trezeguet rushed up the other end of the field for an immediate equaliser.
“Everything happened in the space of one minute,” confessed Carlo Ancelotti. “We lost concentration as it was in the closing stages, but these things happen.”
It was a chaotic end to extra time that also saw Pippo Inzaghi hit the crossbar and see a goal disallowed for offside.
“Had we kept our cool for a few more moments the trophy would have been ours. I have no doubts about that.”
Once again the two teams can only be separated by a penalty shoot-out, even though this time the result was in Juve’s favour.
“Both teams played good football and it was end to end stuff,” continued Ancelotti. “Milan were certainly not inferior to Juventus.”
The rivals will meet again on August 17 for the traditional Berlusconi Trophy, while they begin the campaign as Scudetto favourites.
“We tried to attack with all the players at our disposal and take control of the play. This battle with Juve is never-ending.”
demouse
04-08-2003, 03:29 PM
Yes....we had our revenge this time round!! Sian, y they never telecast this match. :)
bcoz they're afraid another 0-0 event =p
lucky this time 1-1 huh :D
dreamer75
04-08-2003, 04:37 PM
bcoz they're afraid another 0-0 event =p
lucky this time 1-1 huh :D
i doubt so, think its becos Barca vs Man U match fall on the same day in US? So Channel 5 will telecast that match naturally.
demouse
04-08-2003, 04:51 PM
i doubt so, think its becos Barca vs Man U match fall on the same day in US? So Channel 5 will telecast that match naturally.
but channel 5 dun telecast italian match 1, usually SCV. they bored them away lah =p
intermilansg
04-08-2003, 05:12 PM
a well deserve revenge over milan.
dreamer75
04-08-2003, 05:38 PM
but channel 5 dun telecast italian match 1, usually SCV. they bored them away lah =p
hmm...they oni focused on European and world Cup matches.
read the commentary...looks like an entertaining match leh...
demouse
05-08-2003, 08:45 AM
hmm...they oni focused on European and world Cup matches.
read the commentary...looks like an entertaining match leh...
i really hope these italian teams can be more attacking minded this season. they have good players and i believe they can make it ;)
demouse
05-08-2003, 08:48 AM
Davids to be sold?
There are more questions marks over the future of Juventus star Edgar Davids after he played no part in the Italian Super Cup victory.
The Dutchman didn't play a single minute in the penalty shoot-out win against Milan last night and speculation is mounting that he could be sold.
Sources close to the team suggest that the Dutchman was left out for disciplinary reasons even if those claims have been rubbished by the club.
"He didn't play because he's been struggling for form," insisted director general Luciano Moggi. "Davids is a great player and he's not been punished at all."
This latest incident has simply added more fuel to stories linking the midfielder with a move away this summer.
Juventus turned down an £8m offer from Chelsea for Davids recently but they could still cash in on him in the next few weeks.
That is because the former Ajax gem only has a year left on his current contract which would make him a free agent next summer if he decided to not sign an extension.
It is believed that the Turin giants will meet with Davids' representatives this week in order to assess the situation.
If the international's wage demands are considered too steep by the Bianconeri then he could be sold in the near future.
----------------------------------------------
i hope not, he's still very useful to juve squad. i dun think appiah is good enough to replace him yet.
dreamer75
05-08-2003, 12:00 PM
Dun think we will sell him, he's a v impt player in our squad!!
Davids Didn't Play Because He's Been Struggling For Form- Moggi
Juventus general manager Luciano Moggi has revealed why Edgar Davids played no part in the Supercoppa match against Milan yesterday.
Reports suggested he had been left out for disciplinary reasons, but Moggi said: "He didn't play because he's been struggling for form. Davids is a great player and he's not been punished at all."
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/p2494.html
demouse
06-08-2003, 09:45 PM
some matches to watch at scv :
summer friendly : inter vs juventus vs samdoria
09 aug @ 2:55am live
10 aug @ 12pm repeat
best of italian serie a 2002-2003
18 aug @ 4:30pm
23 aug @ 4pm
24 aug @ 4pm
30 aug @ 4pm
1st match of serie a 2003-2004
31 aug @ 8:55pm
dreamer75
07-08-2003, 01:56 PM
some matches to watch at scv :
summer friendly : inter vs juventus vs samdoria
09 aug @ 2:55am live
10 aug @ 12pm repeat
best of italian serie a 2002-2003
18 aug @ 4:30pm
23 aug @ 4pm
24 aug @ 4pm
30 aug @ 4pm
1st match of serie a 2003-2004
31 aug @ 8:55pm
Thanks! :)
dreamer75
07-08-2003, 01:57 PM
Thanks to sutnop for the interesting stats
http://silversmith.proboards15.com/index.cgi?board=TeamTalk&action=display&num=1060175440
As I was on vacation during the past 2 weeks I have had time to do some reading and checked up on some done some stats on players in the Juve Team:
All Data is the sum of all competetive competitions
Most Frequent Goal Scorer
1. Alessandro Del Piero 1 goal every 133min
2. David Trezeguet 1 goal every 149min
3. Di Vaio 1 goal every 210min
4. Zalayeta 1 goal every 222min
5. Nedved 1 Goal every 265.5min
We can see here that Del Piero is the winner followed closely by Trezeguet
while Di Vaio is quite ineffective for a striker being only 12min better
Then Zalayeta, Nedved is the only midfileder who comes close to our strikers
goal scoring rate
Most Frequent Assist
1. Gianluca Zambrotta 1 assist every 330min
2. Mauro Camonaresi 1 assist every 338min
3. Pavel Nedved 1 assist every 376min
4. Christian Zenoni 1 assist every 399min
5. Alessandro Del Piero 1 assist every 510min
Whats interesting here is that the top of the list for most frequent is Zambrotta followed very closesly by Camonaresi, Del Piero is the only forward to be anywhere close to the list, while Zenoni effectivness is also I nice thing to see.
Most Frequent at getting Yellow Cards/Booked
1. Alessio Tacchinardi 1 yellow card every 265min
2. Mark Iuliano 1 yellow card every 349min
3. Mauro Camonaresi 1 yellow card every 380min
4. Edgar Davids 1 yellow card every 412min
5. Gianluca Zambrotta 1 yellow card every 495min
Its clear here the Tacchi is our new 'bad boy' and whats even more surprising
is that Montero isn't even on the list, I guess he has gotten himself
diciplined .
Next I made a topic called sutnop points where every
goal = 1.5p
assist = 1p
Yellow Card = -0.5p
Red Card = -1p
Top 6 Total Sutnop Points
1. Del Piero 40p
2. Nedved 28p
3. Trezeguet 20.5p
4. Di Vaio 17.5p
5. Zalayeta 14p
6. Camonaresi 12.5p
Whats can be noted here that Del Piero is once again the outstanding winner and followed by the incredible Nedved.
Most Frequent in aquiring Sutnop Points
1. Alessandro Del Piero 1 Every 76.5min (Incredible!!)
2. David Trezeguet 1 every 94min
3. Marcello Zalayeta 1 every 127min
4. Marco Di Vaio 1 every 132min
5. Pavel Nedved 1 every 134min
Del Piero is topping the list followed by the quite so injured but when on form extremley effective Trezegol.
That is all for now will maybe make some more later
demouse
07-08-2003, 02:01 PM
Thanks to sutnop for the interesting stats
http://silversmith.proboards15.com/index.cgi?board=TeamTalk&action=display&num=1060175440
As I was on vacation during the past 2 weeks I have had time to do some reading and checked up on some done some stats on players in the Juve Team:
All Data is the sum of all competetive competitions
Most Frequent Goal Scorer
1. Alessandro Del Piero 1 goal every 133min
2. David Trezeguet 1 goal every 149min
3. Di Vaio 1 goal every 210min
4. Zalayeta 1 goal every 222min
5. Nedved 1 Goal every 265.5min
We can see here that Del Piero is the winner followed closely by Trezeguet
while Di Vaio is quite ineffective for a striker being only 12min better
Then Zalayeta, Nedved is the only midfileder who comes close to our strikers
goal scoring rate
Most Frequent Assist
1. Gianluca Zambrotta 1 assist every 330min
2. Mauro Camonaresi 1 assist every 338min
3. Pavel Nedved 1 assist every 376min
4. Christian Zenoni 1 assist every 399min
5. Alessandro Del Piero 1 assist every 510min
Whats interesting here is that the top of the list for most frequent is Zambrotta followed very closesly by Camonaresi, Del Piero is the only forward to be anywhere close to the list, while Zenoni effectivness is also I nice thing to see.
Most Frequent at getting Yellow Cards/Booked
1. Alessio Tacchinardi 1 yellow card every 265min
2. Mark Iuliano 1 yellow card every 349min
3. Mauro Camonaresi 1 yellow card every 380min
4. Edgar Davids 1 yellow card every 412min
5. Gianluca Zambrotta 1 yellow card every 495min
Its clear here the Tacchi is our new 'bad boy' and whats even more surprising
is that Montero isn't even on the list, I guess he has gotten himself
diciplined .
Next I made a topic called sutnop points where every
goal = 1.5p
assist = 1p
Yellow Card = -0.5p
Red Card = -1p
Top 6 Total Sutnop Points
1. Del Piero 40p
2. Nedved 28p
3. Trezeguet 20.5p
4. Di Vaio 17.5p
5. Zalayeta 14p
6. Camonaresi 12.5p
Whats can be noted here that Del Piero is once again the outstanding winner and followed by the incredible Nedved.
Most Frequent in aquiring Sutnop Points
1. Alessandro Del Piero 1 Every 76.5min (Incredible!!)
2. David Trezeguet 1 every 94min
3. Marcello Zalayeta 1 every 127min
4. Marco Di Vaio 1 every 132min
5. Pavel Nedved 1 every 134min
Del Piero is topping the list followed by the quite so injured but when on form extremley effective Trezegol.
That is all for now will maybe make some more later
Gianluca Zambrotta :cool:
dreamer75
07-08-2003, 04:55 PM
SEASON PREVIEW
You're all familiar with the league our beloved Juventus plays in so there's no need to do some extensive research and post it.
Now tell me, who is going to win it this year? Will Lazio get out of financial trouble? Will Sampdoria manage to stay up and start their march back to the top? Will Chievo finally fall or remain the flying donkeys?
Here's the place to talk Serie A!
http://www.juventuz.com/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=170809
demouse
07-08-2003, 05:16 PM
SEASON PREVIEW
Here's the place to talk Serie A!
http://www.juventuz.com/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=170809
i tot there can only talk about juventus?
is this singapore's forum?
dreamer75
07-08-2003, 05:29 PM
i tot there can only talk about juventus?
is this singapore's forum?
hmm...they complement each other mah :D
demouse
08-08-2003, 10:13 AM
SEASON PREVIEW
Now tell me, who is going to win it this year? Will Lazio get out of financial trouble? Will Sampdoria manage to stay up and start their march back to the top? Will Chievo finally fall or remain the flying donkeys?
whether who'll win this season depends alot on other factors such as referee =p
but definitely juventus has good chance of retain the title. besides the referee's favouritism (:p), they've very strong reserves and most important 'consistency', which i think is the most important factor for a year long competition.
but i also think roma will come back for this season. they sure have chance to fight for the scudetto provided the referee don't unfavouritism them (which is very true :mad: ). this year they're not in the race of CL and so they can concentrate more on the serie a. although they'll play in UEFA cup but i believe theie desire to play in CL next season will lead them a better result in serie a. the joined of chivu will morally boost-up their confident as defence is their weakest. wat they need is a strong tall striker which i hope morientes will join. if so then shall see ;)
other than these two teams, the usual strong contestents will be inter, milan & lazio. i think there's still last minute signing so i'll leave that to 2nd episode :)
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 02:26 PM
Referee biased against Roma?? Is it??
Favourism with Juve?? Sure??
Where did get the news fr?
I hope Sampdoria can stay in Serie A this time round :)
Heard that Lazio has solved their financial probelms, cograts to them.
No doubt i hope we can retain the Scudetto but u know Serie A is a very competitive league, anything can happen. :) Inter, Roma and Milan should be the major contenders after signing so many quality players.
hwmook
08-08-2003, 02:37 PM
i agree with demouse about the favourism juve enjoy. it has been on-going for a very long time. a lot of teams have been complaining already. roma is the worst victim last season don't know who will be worst this season.
lazio solved their problem but roma is in deep s*it. roma is registered in seria A this season only because they got a bank to provide assurance about their finanical status and the latest news is that the bank deny having provide the papers required. a fraud was discovered involving a high post bank member. now investigations are underway.
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 03:01 PM
Legrottaglie wary of Inter threat
Juventus defender Nicola Legrottaglie is looking to stop Inter’s impressive strike force in Friday’s annual Trofeo Birra Moretti.
The Italian champions will face the Nerazzurri and Sampdoria in the three-team tournament that will be staged in Bari.
"The Inter attack will be difficult to play against," said the stopper. "They have Obafemi Martins who is very fast which will make him tough to mark.
"Then of course there is Christian Vieri. I’ve played against him twice in the past and he’s scored three goals in those games."
The Italian international was signed by Juventus this summer from Chievo and he admits he’s learning some harsh lessons.
"I’ve realised that errors are paid dearly here," he said after a shaky debut against Barcelona. "I must try to stay more alert.
"Things are a lot different for me now. Juve don’t play like Chievo do and I need to adapt. Even the friendly games are tougher.
"At Chievo I made my debut against a team called San Zeno. My first game here was against Barca."
You can see all the action from the Birra Moretti trophy on British Eurosport. Coverage starts at 16.45 on Saturday.
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 03:03 PM
Juventus boss Marcello Lippi has rejected claims that there is a rift between the club and Edgar Davids.
"There is no problem with Davids," noted the tactician on Thursday. "We have more important issues to resolve."
There were more questions marks over the immediate future of Davids after he played no part in the Italian Super Cup victory.
The Dutchman didn’t play a single minute in the penalty shoot-out win against Milan on Sunday which led to speculation that he could be sold.
Sources close to the team suggest that the Dutchman was left out for disciplinary reasons even if those claims have been rubbished by the club.
That latest incident has simply added more fuel to stories linking the midfielder with a move away this summer.
Juventus turned down an £8m offer from Chelsea for Davids recently but they could still cash in on him in the next few weeks.
That is because the former Ajax gem only has a year left on his current contract which would make him a free agent next summer if he decided to not sign an extension.
Yet even if Juve do lose Davids, then Lippi believes he already has the perfect replacement in the shape of Stephen Appiah.
"He can do everything on the field of play," he said about the summer signing. "Even if he gives his best on the left side of central midfield."
The 22-year-old was signed from Parma after impressing on loan at Brescia last season
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 03:16 PM
Trofeo Birra Moretti (Official site -> http://www.birramoretti.it/)
Friday 8 August 2003 (Bari)
45-minute matches with INTER, Juventus and Sampdoria
http://www.birramoretti.it/eng/html/locandiNA.gif
History of Trofeo Birra Moretti
Year - Former winners - Best player of the tournament
1997 - Juventus - Marcio Amoroso (Udinese)
1998 - Udinese - Roberto Baggio (Inter)
1999 - Parma - Christian Vieri (Inter)
2000 - Juventus - Antonio Cassano (Bari)
2001 - Inter - Christian Vieri (Inter)
2002 - Inter - Christian Vieri (Inter)
demouse
08-08-2003, 03:20 PM
Referee biased against Roma?? Is it??
Favourism with Juve?? Sure??
Where did get the news fr?
I hope Sampdoria can stay in Serie A this time round :)
Heard that Lazio has solved their financial probelms, cograts to them.
No doubt i hope we can retain the Scudetto but u know Serie A is a very competitive league, anything can happen. :) Inter, Roma and Milan should be the major contenders after signing so many quality players.
huh, u mean u din follow last season's serie a?
yes, referee indeed favourism with Juve. this is not secret and many other teams have been complaining about this :(
and absolutely yes for referee biased against Roma. if u follow the articles, u should have read recently that italian referee association apologised to Roma for their misjudged last season :mad:
demouse
08-08-2003, 03:25 PM
Originally posted by hwmook
i agree with demouse about the favourism juve enjoy. it has been on-going for a very long time. a lot of teams have been complaining already. roma is the worst victim last season don't know who will be worst this season.
lazio solved their problem but roma is in deep s*it. roma is registered in seria A this season only because they got a bank to provide assurance about their finanical status and the latest news is that the bank deny having provide the papers required. a fraud was discovered involving a high post bank member. now investigations are underway.
i think the problem is on sensi. he has no money or not willing to inject money to Roma. he even rejected other interested investors who willing to buy over some of his shares.
he has no ability to lift up Roma but is not willing to let go! i just hope he died of stroke suddenly and let someone more capable & rich to manage Roma.
please save Roma :bounce:
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 03:36 PM
huh, u mean u din follow last season's serie a?
yes, referee indeed favourism with Juve. this is not secret and many other teams have been complaining about this :(
and absolutely yes for referee biased against Roma. if u follow the articles, u should have read recently that italian referee association apologised to Roma for their misjudged last season :mad:
well, i do read about reports saying favourosm over us. So i take back my sentence "Where did u get the news fr" :=p
So we are quite lucky huh? :D
Any reason why referees are biased against Roma? Only Roma?
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 03:38 PM
i think the problem is on sensi. he has no money or not willing to inject money to Roma. he even rejected other interested investors who willing to buy over some of his shares.
he has no ability to lift up Roma but is not willing to let go! i just hope he died of stroke suddenly and let someone more capable & rich to manage Roma.
please save Roma :bounce:
oh...then he's pretty selfish man.
maybe some1 will buy over Roma juz like that guy who bought over Chelsea in the near future? :)
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 03:54 PM
Here's the article:
Empoli, preso in prestito Olivera
Il trequartista della Juventus arriverà lunedì
EMPOLI - Il d.g. Pino Vitale si è accordato con la Juve per ottenere il prestito di Ruben Olivera, ventenne trequartista uruguaiano che, dovendo giocare sabato con la sua nazionale, arriverà a Empoli soltanto lunedi prossimo
Well, I think it was a very logic move... lets hope that he can become a great player for our future...
demouse
08-08-2003, 03:59 PM
well, i do read about reports saying favourosm over us. So i take back my sentence "Where did u get the news fr" :=p
So we are quite lucky huh? :D
Any reason why referees are biased against Roma? Only Roma?
maybe some political games among the bosses. milan & juve are alliance and Adriano Galliani (milan's vice president) who is also the chairman of italian league association. he has strong influence in italian football circle.
sensi has been critising him & moggi for the whole of last season. obviously the alliance wanted to punish sensi for his big mouth.
i think the referees biased most on Roma but also some other teams.
but anyway this won't do any good to italian football :(
demouse
08-08-2003, 04:01 PM
oh...then he's pretty selfish man.
maybe some1 will buy over Roma juz like that guy who bought over Chelsea in the near future? :)
yap.... he's old stubborn selfish man :mad:
i am praying for the suger daddy to appear :)
demouse
08-08-2003, 04:02 PM
Here's the article:
Empoli, preso in prestito Olivera
Il trequartista della Juventus arriver?Eluned?E
EMPOLI - Il d.g. Pino Vitale si ?Eaccordato con la Juve per ottenere il prestito di Ruben Olivera, ventenne trequartista uruguaiano che, dovendo giocare sabato con la sua nazionale, arriver?Ea Empoli soltanto lunedi prossimo
Well, I think it was a very logic move... lets hope that he can become a great player for our future...
you read italian?
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 04:03 PM
maybe some political games among the bosses. milan & juve are alliance and Adriano Galliani (milan's vice president) who is also the chairman of italian league association. he has strong influence in italian football circle.
sensi has been critising him & moggi for the whole of last season. obviously the alliance wanted to punish sensi for his big mouth.
i think the referees biased most on Roma but also some other teams.
but anyway this won't do any good to italian football :(
well maybe..
how abt Colina? Think he shld be the best referee in Serie A and shouldnt have any favourism. :)
hope to best for roma this season..
demouse
08-08-2003, 04:10 PM
well maybe..
how abt Colina? Think he shld be the best referee in Serie A and shouldnt have any favourism. :)
1 good referee is not enough neh....
thanks and i wish juventus all the best in CL. hope they meet man u again and beat them convincingly :)
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 04:16 PM
1 good referee is not enough neh....
thanks and i wish juventus all the best in CL. hope they meet man u again and beat them convincingly :)
i agree with u..
hehe..maybe we have better chance of beating them this season. :D
All the best to Roma in UEFA Cup and win some silverware this season. :)
dreamer75
08-08-2003, 04:52 PM
sidetracka bit....
I remember the season when Roma wonn the scudetto and the referees used to favorised them. I didnt hear the complaining..:)
demouse
08-08-2003, 05:03 PM
sidetracka bit....
I remember the season when Roma wonn the scudetto and the referees used to favorised them. I didnt hear the complaining..:)
hahaha can't answer u. they won it in 2000-2001 which is 3 years ago, can't recall
hwmook
08-08-2003, 05:53 PM
well maybe..
but colina judgement in the italian super cup is suspect. he is very fair to both sides but sometime also got bad judgement of fouls(but then he give both sides problem so quite fair :D )
dreamer75
09-08-2003, 12:38 PM
Inter and Juventus are set to battle it out on the transfer market for the services of Chievo ace Simone Perrotta.
Reports suggest that the two clubs are still keen on the international who could strengthen their respective midfields.
Inter have been long linked with a move for the player as boss Hector Cuper is a known fan of the former Bari star.
With Gigi Di Biagio moving to Brescia, Perrotta could finally be captured. Especially if Stephane Dalmat and Javier Farinos also find new clubs in the next few weeks.
The Nerazzurri are confident that the 25-year-old could quickly settle alongside Cristiano Zanetti after their excellent understanding at Azzurri level.
However, Juventus are also very keen on Perrotta as a possible replacement for Edgar Davids.
Although the club insist that the Dutchman will remain, there is a distinct possibility that the player could be sold as his contract expires next summer.
Juventus maintain that they already have an alternative in the shape of Stephan Appiah but Perrotta?s proposed arrival can?t be discounted.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug8e.html
dreamer75
09-08-2003, 12:50 PM
Yes! We won! :)
Juventus have lifted the Birra Moretti Trophy after seeing off both Inter and Sampdoria.
Marco Di Vaio’s goal doomed Inter to defeat in the opening match at the Stadio San Nicola.
Christian Vieri returned from a rest period to start alongside Hernan Crespo, but Alvaro Recoba and Emre Belozoglu were injured.
Juve had the better of the early play and broke the deadlock through Mauro Camoranesi’s close-range header on eight minutes.
The Italian international was left completely unmarked to nod in an Alessandro Del Piero free kick at the near post.
Vieri almost scored an immediate equaliser when Gianluigi Buffon was forced to punch away a fierce volley and another similar finish was disallowed for an offside position.
The row with Edgar Davids was confirmed, as the Dutchman was again left on the bench in favour of Stephan Appiah.
Inter have shown some disastrous defensive errors during the pre-season and more shambolic positioning gave Juventus their second.
Paolo Montero sprung the offside trap and cut back for Di Vaio for the easiest of finishes.
Chelsea target Vieri continued to have all Inter’s chances with a powerful low free kick that was palmed away by Buffon.
But it was Hernan Crespo who put them on the scoresheet by turning in Giovanni Pasquale’s taut cross with the outside of his right foot.
Inter’s campaign went from bad to worse with a shoot-out defeat to newly promoted Sampdoria in the next 45-minute match.
Obafemi Martins has been the undoubted star of Inter’s summer and broke the deadlock with a spectacular strike, charging on to a Vieri through ball before rifling an unstoppable left-foot drive by the near post.
But the Blucerchiati equalised thanks to another defensive error. Aimo Diana’s mis-kicked shot was swept home by the relatively unmarked Fabio Bazzani.
Samp almost took control soon after, as Fontana fingertipped a wonderful Volpi free kick on to the upright.
Cristiano Doni and Mohamed Kallon had good chances, but the game went to an American-style shoot-out.
A player starts his run from 30 metres up the field and has six seconds in which to score against the goalkeeper.
Only Samp’s Cameroon player Job converted successfully and Sampdoria went on to play the decider with Juve.
The Blucerchiati had a spectacular start to the match, albeit with a lot of help from goalkeeper Antonio Chimenti.
He fumbled a backpass to award a corner with his first touch and then failed to keep Francesco Pedone’s header out for a goal within 59 seconds of the opening whistle.
The lead did not last long, as Fabrizio Miccoli took advantage of a defensive error and cut back for Marco Di Vaio’s deflected finish.
There was controversy later on, as Miccoli’s lob was cleared by Carrozzieri perhaps after it had already crossed the line.
This match also went to a shoot-out after 45 minutes of a 1-1 draw, but the players were far more effective than in the Inter-Samp duel.
Young defender Carrozzieri’s error proved decisive and Juventus win the Trofeo Birra Moretti for 2003.
You can see all the coverage from this tournament on British Eurosport from 16.45 on Saturday
Inter 1-2 Juventus
Scorers: Camoranesi 8 (J), Di Vaio 16 (J), Crespo 37 (I)
Inter 1-1 Sampdoria (1-2 after shoot-out)
Scorers: Martins 6 (I), Bazzani 18 (S)
Juventus 1-1 Sampdoria (5-4 after shoot-out)
Scorers: Pedone 1 (S), Di Vaio 4 (J)
JuveZzZ
10-08-2003, 10:02 AM
Yes! We won! :)
Juventus have lifted the Birra Moretti Trophy after seeing off both Inter and Sampdoria.
Marco Di Vaio’s goal doomed Inter to defeat in the opening match at the Stadio San Nicola.
Christian Vieri returned from a rest period to start alongside Hernan Crespo, but Alvaro Recoba and Emre Belozoglu were injured.
Juve had the better of the early play and broke the deadlock through Mauro Camoranesi’s close-range header on eight minutes.
The Italian international was left completely unmarked to nod in an Alessandro Del Piero free kick at the near post.
Vieri almost scored an immediate equaliser when Gianluigi Buffon was forced to punch away a fierce volley and another similar finish was disallowed for an offside position.
The row with Edgar Davids was confirmed, as the Dutchman was again left on the bench in favour of Stephan Appiah.
Inter have shown some disastrous defensive errors during the pre-season and more shambolic positioning gave Juventus their second.
Paolo Montero sprung the offside trap and cut back for Di Vaio for the easiest of finishes.
Chelsea target Vieri continued to have all Inter’s chances with a powerful low free kick that was palmed away by Buffon.
But it was Hernan Crespo who put them on the scoresheet by turning in Giovanni Pasquale’s taut cross with the outside of his right foot.
Inter’s campaign went from bad to worse with a shoot-out defeat to newly promoted Sampdoria in the next 45-minute match.
Obafemi Martins has been the undoubted star of Inter’s summer and broke the deadlock with a spectacular strike, charging on to a Vieri through ball before rifling an unstoppable left-foot drive by the near post.
But the Blucerchiati equalised thanks to another defensive error. Aimo Diana’s mis-kicked shot was swept home by the relatively unmarked Fabio Bazzani.
Samp almost took control soon after, as Fontana fingertipped a wonderful Volpi free kick on to the upright.
Cristiano Doni and Mohamed Kallon had good chances, but the game went to an American-style shoot-out.
A player starts his run from 30 metres up the field and has six seconds in which to score against the goalkeeper.
Only Samp’s Cameroon player Job converted successfully and Sampdoria went on to play the decider with Juve.
The Blucerchiati had a spectacular start to the match, albeit with a lot of help from goalkeeper Antonio Chimenti.
He fumbled a backpass to award a corner with his first touch and then failed to keep Francesco Pedone’s header out for a goal within 59 seconds of the opening whistle.
The lead did not last long, as Fabrizio Miccoli took advantage of a defensive error and cut back for Marco Di Vaio’s deflected finish.
There was controversy later on, as Miccoli’s lob was cleared by Carrozzieri perhaps after it had already crossed the line.
This match also went to a shoot-out after 45 minutes of a 1-1 draw, but the players were far more effective than in the Inter-Samp duel.
Young defender Carrozzieri’s error proved decisive and Juventus win the Trofeo Birra Moretti for 2003.
You can see all the coverage from this tournament on British Eurosport from 16.45 on Saturday
Inter 1-2 Juventus
Scorers: Camoranesi 8 (J), Di Vaio 16 (J), Crespo 37 (I)
Inter 1-1 Sampdoria (1-2 after shoot-out)
Scorers: Martins 6 (I), Bazzani 18 (S)
Juventus 1-1 Sampdoria (5-4 after shoot-out)
Scorers: Pedone 1 (S), Di Vaio 4 (J)
yeah JUVE all the way
demouse
10-08-2003, 10:09 AM
yeah JUVE all the way
it's only a friendly and inter leave couple of players at home due to injury.
but seems that sampdoria quite good huh :)
dreamer75
11-08-2003, 01:43 PM
Marco Di Vaio has been on fine form pre-season and hopes he can earn a first team spot at Juventus.
“I would be more than happy to repeat the campaign I’ve just had with Juve,” he insisted. “After all, in my first year I helped this team to the title.”
The fans were relatively unimpressed with the former Parma striker’s tally of seven Serie A goals and expect more from him this season.
“The Champions’ League is certainly one of our main objectives this year, especially after our Final defeat to Milan in May.”
This summer Di Vaio has been on scintillating form and was voted the Player of the Tournament for Friday’s Moretti Trophy.
Above all, he has immediately created a solid partnership with new signing Fabrizio Miccoli.
“Miccoli has not come here in a blaze of glory,” added Di Vaio, “so he is settling in very well.”
There are reports that the ex-Perugia starlet will push Di Vaio further down the pecking order at Juventus.
“There is no rivalry between us. If anything his presence is always a bonus to strikers in the same squad.”
David Trezeguet did not take part in the Moretti Tournament against Inter and Sampdoria due to a muscular problem.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug10a.html
dreamer75
11-08-2003, 01:45 PM
Juventus beat fellow Serie A side Reggina in confident fashion, while we bring you a round-up of all the other friendly action.
Coach Marcello Lippi fielded the B-Team in the opening half of the Valle d’Aosta Trophy match and included Edgar Davids, further fuelling reports he is to be sold before the season begins.
Enzo Maresca thumped the crossbar early on, while Fabrizio Miccoli limped off with a bruised ankle before the break.
Maresca eventually broke the deadlock at the dawn of the second half, then substitute Alessandro Del Piero was brought down and converted the penalty himself.
Uruguayan youngster Ruben Olivera sealed the 3-0 scoreline late on following some good build-up play by Pavel Nedved.
In today’s other friendly outings, Brescia beat Arabian champions Al Ain 1-0 thanks to a Mark Nygaard strike. Leonardo Colucci saw his penalty saved.
Bologna and Chievo continue to struggle in their tours of Britain. The Rossoblu were hammered 3-0 by Everton with goals from Tomas Radzinski, Luke Chadwick and Pembridge.
Beppe Signori went closest for Bologna, rattling the crossbar with a trademark free kick.
Chievo, who lost to Middlesbrough earlier this week, also fell 1-0 at Blackburn with a late Thompson goal.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug10j.html
dreamer75
12-08-2003, 05:21 PM
Juventus boss Marcello Lippi is confident that his side are ready to battle for major honours again this season.
The Bianconeri are in fine pre-season form and the Coach is sure that his men will shine in Tuesday’s Trofeo TIM against Inter and Milan.
"We are a hard working side that is complete in every department," stated the five times Scudetto winner. "I also have a wide variety of alternatives at my disposal."
The Italian champions are in a rich vein of form after recent victories against Milan, Inter and Reggina but Lippi maintains winning is not what matters right now.
"There is no side in the world that always wins," he added. "The real problems develop when you pick up injuries rather than lose friendly games.
"I’m talking specifically about the one suffered by Fabrizio Miccoli last night. I hope that it doesn’t turn out to be serious."
The former Perugia man damaged his ankle but tests carried out today suggest that he should be back in training by Thursday.
One major plus point from Sunday’s 3-0 win over Reggina was the performance of Enzo Maresca in a new left-wing position.
"I played in an unusual role but I believe that I can adapt to it," said the Italian. "Am I an alternative to Pavel Nedved? I’m trying but we are very different."
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/imgs/lippinews02.jpg
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 12:25 AM
Hope we can win the TIM Cup too :)
Juve will face off against Milan and Inter in Tuesday's TIM Cup. The matches will be 45 minutes long and if the game finishes in a draw there will be a shootout. For an out-right win you get 3 points, for a shootout win you get 2 points, for a shootout loss you get 1 point and for an out-right loss you get 0 points. The team that tops the triangular table will take the TIM Cup.
intermilansg
13-08-2003, 12:28 AM
eh u watching anot??
btw wheres ur edge avatar?
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 12:29 AM
Juventus approach Chelsea about Gronkjaer, Forssell
Juventus have approached Chelsea about striker Mikael Forssell and also winger Jesper Gronkjaer.
Italian press reports suggest Juve chief Luciano Moggi has made enquiries for both Scandinavians, who are on the outer at Stamford Bridge following the club's summer spending spree.
However, talks haven't all been one way - with Chelsea asking again about Edgar Davids' situation and availability.
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by intermilansg
eh u watching anot??
btw wheres ur edge avatar?
most probably not lor...*yawn*
tomolo still gotta work...u watching?
i decided to change to a new one, this one pretty anot? :)
demouse
13-08-2003, 06:20 AM
most probably not lor...*yawn*
tomolo still gotta work...u watching?
i decided to change to a new one, this one pretty anot? :)
i missed the show leh :(
btw eh....... not so use to your new avatar leh. is the girl your gf?
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 09:03 AM
i missed the show leh :(
btw eh....... not so use to your new avatar leh. is the girl your gf?
no lah...not my gf :D
demouse
13-08-2003, 10:57 AM
no lah...not my gf :D
not ur gf huh, than can criticise lao. bo sui & bo sessy leh, go change new 1 lah =p
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 01:18 PM
not ur gf huh, than can criticise lao. bo sui & bo sessy leh, go change new 1 lah =p
serious ah??
demouse...comment leh? =p
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 01:20 PM
Oh come on Moggi, y would want to let him go?
August 13, 2003
Barcelona trainer Frank Rijkaard has made a personal bid to bring Juventus midfielder Edgar Davids to the Nou Camp.
Gazzetta dello Sport says Rijkaard called his former Ajax teammate urging him to move to Barcelona.
The Spanish giants are willing to pay cash plus send midfielder Gabri to Juve in exchange for Davids, who has only a year to run on his current contract.
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 01:22 PM
August 13, 2003
The agent of Juventus midfielder Edgar Davids insists there is no problem with the club and also rubbished reports of a move to AS Roma.
The Holland international's representative said last night to Calciomercato.com: "There are no problems between Davids and Juventus. What has been said in the last days is the inventions of the newspapers alone. He is happy at Juventus.
"It's not true that Davids has an agreement with Roma, I do not say that the operation is impossible, but for the moment there is nothing."
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 01:23 PM
Who's this youngster?
August 13, 2003
Concerns over the fitness of Juventus striker David Trezeguet has lead club chiefs to consider a move for River Plate youngster Fernando Cavenaghi.
Trezeguet has been missing from preseason games with muscular injuries, which is beginning to weigh on trainer Marcello Lippi's mind.
Lippi and Juve chief Luciano Moggi have already discussed the possibility of drafting in a replacement for the Frenchman, with Cavenaghi top of the list.
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 01:32 PM
Franzo Grande Stevens has been nominated as the new Juventus President after the death of Vittorio Chiusano.
The latter passed away last week at the age of 75 after he was taken to a private clinic with cardiac problems.
"I won¡¦t get involved in the running of the club," said the lawyer who has always been a close friend of the Agnelli family. "I will just do what is expected from me."
Stevens certainly has a lot to live up to as Chiusano won five Serie A titles and a Champions¡¦ League while at the helm
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug12g.html
demouse
13-08-2003, 01:35 PM
Oh come on Moggi, y would want to let him go?
he's asking for higher pay, maybe high up to the sky leh :D
demouse
13-08-2003, 01:36 PM
August 13, 2003
The agent of Juventus midfielder Edgar Davids insists there is no problem with the club and also rubbished reports of a move to AS Roma.
The Holland international's representative said last night to Calciomercato.com: "There are no problems between Davids and Juventus. What has been said in the last days is the inventions of the newspapers alone. He is happy at Juventus.
"It's not true that Davids has an agreement with Roma, I do not say that the operation is impossible, but for the moment there is nothing."
i want him to go Roma, imagine he & emerson pair-up in the midfield, wow :eek:
demouse
13-08-2003, 01:49 PM
Who's this youngster?
August 13, 2003
Concerns over the fitness of Juventus striker David Trezeguet has lead club chiefs to consider a move for River Plate youngster Fernando Cavenaghi.
Trezeguet has been missing from preseason games with muscular injuries, which is beginning to weigh on trainer Marcello Lippi's mind.
Lippi and Juve chief Luciano Moggi have already discussed the possibility of drafting in a replacement for the Frenchman, with Cavenaghi top of the list.
one of the best & upcoming striker from Argentina. he's good and if give him time he can replace Trezeguet. Trezeguet seems to get injury too often (another salas?), why not sell him off and get a younger striker :bounce:
demouse
13-08-2003, 02:03 PM
serious ah??
demouse...comment leh? =p
dun tell me the pix u urself leh, i go jump river lao :o
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 02:05 PM
dun tell me the pix u urself leh, i go jump river lao :o
of cuz not me lah...:laugh:
jump river....:laugh:
demouse
13-08-2003, 02:14 PM
of cuz not me lah...:laugh:
jump river....:laugh:
aiyo see so long still dun like ur avatar leh, pls go change 1 lah. if u like girl's pix go look for those japanese cute cute kawaii girls lah =p
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 02:38 PM
aiyo see so long still dun like ur avatar leh, pls go change 1 lah. if u like girl's pix go look for those japanese cute cute kawaii girls lah =p
haha...so i suppose u are more comfortable with Edge huh? =p
demouse
13-08-2003, 02:44 PM
haha...so i suppose u are more comfortable with Edge huh? =p
just not comfortable with that girl leh, not pleasant enough =p
if u dun change than i dun patronise juventus forum lao :D
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 02:50 PM
just not comfortable with that girl leh, not pleasant enough =p
if u dun change than i dun patronise juventus forum lao :D
may i know y r u not comfortable?
Anything wrongwith her?
ok..can't change now...Edge avatar at home...
maybe i change to another one =p
demouse
13-08-2003, 02:57 PM
may i know y r u not comfortable?
Anything wrongwith her?
ok..can't change now...Edge avatar at home...
maybe i change to another one =p
not comfortable coz not outstanding enough, like said b4 not pretty nor sessy look, hmm...... in the first plc y choose her leh?
heehee make sure another one will be better taste hor :D
dreamer75
13-08-2003, 03:07 PM
not comfortable coz not outstanding enough, like said b4 not pretty nor sessy look, hmm...... in the first plc y choose her leh?
heehee make sure another one will be better taste hor :D
not pretty meh??? ur standard damn high leh :D
demouse
13-08-2003, 03:10 PM
not pretty meh??? ur standard damn high leh :D
go do a survey, most of them will stand by my view :D
dreamer75
15-08-2003, 08:55 AM
By Mark Palmer
15 August 2003
Last year was about making a point to others, this time around Serie A has something to prove to itself. Twelve months ago, the Italian game was busying itself in the hunt for an antidote to five years of underachievement on the continental stage. Three Champions' League semi-finalists, including Milan who went on to lift the trophy for the sixth time, did much to restore an exacting and proud reputation.
However, if Italy's top flight is to remain upwardly mobile in Europe, the recent downward turn in domestic matters needs arresting. After years of disdainfully rebuking jibes that its product is a dour backdrop to its Premiership and La Liga cohorts, Serie A is in danger of complying with its stereotype.
Not that there's much wrong with the quality of the football. Internazionale's rip-roaring comeback to turn a 3-0 half-time deficit into a worthy point away at Lazio last December was but one instance of the extravagance which Italian natural instincts unleash sparingly but fabulously. The problem is the growing level of predictability which threatens to paralyse the upper reaches of the table. Juventus, like a cherished old sweater, continue to turn up at the top of the pile. Last year they ambled to a 27th Scudetto with a comfort considerably grander than their seven-point margin over Inter suggested.
The 2002 title, after a monumental tug of war, again with Inter, also ended up in Turin. On the back of another summer of canny tinkering from manager Marcello Lippi, they look a yet more resounding certainty to bat away the challenges of any pretenders to their throne. Nicola Legrottaglie, the nation's outstanding young centre-back, has been summoned to bolster the one area of the side which seems even remotely vulnerable: Ciro Ferrara, the Old Lady's old man, has hinted that a season which will see him turn 37 may well be his last.
Coupled with the craft of Alessandro Del Piero and the goals of David Trezeguet, it is hard to see them being prevented from moving a step closer to the 30 championships promised as the epitaph for Giovanni Agnelli, their charismatic president who died in January. Perhaps the greatest hope the other contenders may hold, forlorn as it seems, is that Lippi, known to be quietly seething at losing last season's Champions' League final, devotes disproportionate attention to landing his second win in that competition.
As usual, the Milanese sides, Milan and Inter, head the best of the rest. Having assured his place among the San Siro élite who have guided the club to European honours, manager Carlo Ancelotti must now covet the Scudetto, absent from the trophy room since 1999. Cafu, the Brazilian double World Cup winner, will roam the right flank after leaving floundering Roma, and ought to provide a reliable source of the lofted through balls Filippo Inzaghi so loves to thunder on to.
The most intriguing close season transfer dealings have been undertaken by Inter. Christian Vieri, one of a phalanx of Serie A giants supposedly waiting for the call to Stamford Bridge, has long brooded over the lack of aerial supply he receives from the Nerazzurri's wide men. Portugal's Sergio Conceicao, the last candidate to try and fail at the task, had a £50,000 per week contract ripped up and has been replaced by Chievo's Luciano. Andy Van der Meyde, a graduate ofRonald Koeman's classical education at Ajax, will complement him on the left. Vieri is said to have been hugely impressed with both of them during pre-season. Whether another wounding year for a traditionally angst ridden club can be avoided will again depend mightily upon his goals.
Down in the Eternal City, the eternal saga of Roma's persecution complex goes on. The early months of last season saw the elderly wife of president Franco Sensi lead a march through the city protesting against perceived refereeing injustices in favour of Juventus. The simple truth is that Fabio Capello's charges never looked like emulating their 2001 league win due to the whimpering lethargy that characterised their year. Francesco Totti, their totemic captain, even threatened to join Milan. The hunt goes on to find a target man to benefit from his invention.
Lazio, against all the odds, have managed to cling on to all the prize pieces of the team which served Roberto Mancini so gutsily last year and will look to the Champions' League for some much needed income.
This season's promoted crop have heart-warming tales to impart. Siena have never before graced Serie A while Sampdoria return after a four year struggle in Serie B during which time they were almost relegated again. Lecce, to be found in the heel of Italy's boot, will make the championship a real all-area competition. Italian fans can only trust that the same will be said of the title race.
THREE TO WATCH IN ITALY
FABRIZIO MICCOLI (JUVENTUS)
Known as il nano (the gnome), the 24-year-old striker made giant strides on loan at Perugia last year. His burrowing runs can wreak havoc among opposition defences, and his habit of finding the net from long range bodes well for the tough task of attempting to dislodge either Alessandro Del Piero or David Trezeguet from the starting line-up. Just breaking into the national side.
OLIVIER DACOURT (ROMA)
Took his time to settle at the Stadio Olimpico after his loan move from Leeds in January, but his return to form coincided with Roma's better moments in a disappointing season. Now the deal is permanent, he can get on with marshalling a midfield badly in need of back up for the inspirational Emerson. Well liked by the Giallorossi fans for his uncompromising style, but referees could be busy.
EMRE BELOZOGLU (INTERNAZIONALE)
Had his moments in his debut season but was injured too frequently. Inter rely on him to provide the creative spark in an effective but predictable unit, and his already well-tuned relationship with the striker Christian Vieri could give them the impetus to really challenge Juventus. Earned sympathy for his tears when Inter lost to Milan in the Champions' League semi-final.
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/european/story.jsp?story=433744
dreamer75
16-08-2003, 01:33 AM
Come on man, Davids is better than Makelele IMO :)
There are reports that Edgar Davids could be exchanged with Real Madrid rebel Claude Makelele.
Davids has refused to extend his contract, which expires in 2004, so, rather than release him as a free agent, Juventus are desperately trying to sell him this summer.
Makelele is refusing to train with the Madrid side following an offer from Chelsea and the Spaniards have threatened to report him to FIFA.
“Makelele is under contract,” snapped director general Jorge Valdano, “and we want our players to respect their deals. He had best stop this behaviour now before he risks his whole career.”
French international Makelele demands a massive wage increase or a switch to Stamford Bridge, but Real could opt to swap him with Davids instead.
That way both clubs would solve their disciplinary problems and have a ready replacement for the rebellious midfielder.
“We were meant to meet with Chelsea on Monday,” revealed Valdano, “but Makelele’s refusal to train has changed everything.”
“Real have made their position on this matter clear and are sticking to it. There will be disciplinary sanctions.”
If this deal should fall through, then Davids could nonetheless end up in the Spanish Liga this season.
The Dutchman is rumoured to be in talks with former Holland boss Frank Rijkaard at Barcelona.
JuveZzZ
16-08-2003, 12:39 PM
There are reports that Edgar Davids could be exchanged with Real Madrid rebel Claude Makelele.
Davids has refused to extend his contract, which expires in 2004, so, rather than release him as a free agent, Juventus are desperately trying to sell him this summer.
Makelele is refusing to train with the Madrid side following an offer from Chelsea and the Spaniards have threatened to report him to FIFA.
“Makelele is under contract,” snapped director general Jorge Valdano, “and we want our players to respect their deals. He had best stop this behaviour now before he risks his whole career.”
French international Makelele demands a massive wage increase or a switch to Stamford Bridge, but Real could opt to swap him with Davids instead.
That way both clubs would solve their disciplinary problems and have a ready replacement for the rebellious midfielder.
“We were meant to meet with Chelsea on Monday,” revealed Valdano, “but Makelele’s refusal to train has changed everything.”
“Real have made their position on this matter clear and are sticking to it. There will be disciplinary sanctions.”
If this deal should fall through, then Davids could nonetheless end up in the Spanish Liga this season.
The Dutchman is rumoured to be in talks with former Holland boss Frank Rijkaard at Barcelona.
yup agree but i think davids better sign a new deal else juve will be in trouble
dreamer75
17-08-2003, 05:24 PM
Juventus could bring in Italian international Simone Perrotta by including Enzo Maresca in the deal.
The Bianconeri have been tracking Perrotta for several months, but it was always thought that Inter and Parma had the upper hand.
Chievo are only willing to sell if the right price is met, but Juve have seemingly found the key to the affair.
Maresca has impressed during pre-season outings, but could leave Turin once more following his loan spell with Piacenza last season.
On the other hand, Gigi Del Neri’s side has struggled a great deal this summer since the departure of captain Eugenio Corini for Palermo.
Roberto Baronio and Stefano Morrone do not provide the quality he requires in Chievo’s midfield, so Maresca would be the ideal signing.
Inter remain interested in reuniting Perrotta with his Azzurri teammate Cristiano Zanetti.
It has been rumoured the Nerazzurri will bring Ousmane Dabo back from Lazio only to offer him in part exchange for Perrotta.
Parma can also make a new bid with the fresh funds from Adrian Mutu’s sale to Chelsea.
dreamer75
17-08-2003, 05:26 PM
Marcello Lippi believes Juventus are better prepared for the new season than ever and today trained alongside Michael Schumacher.
“We have played more friendlies than usual this summer,” he noted, “and it all helps the team to achieve match fitness quickly.”
“This means when the Champions’ League kicks off we won’t have an alibi for failing to make the grade. The team will finally be prepared for this challenge.”
The Final defeat to Milan at Old Trafford is still a thorn in Lippi’s side, but he’ll have another chance to gain revenge with Sunday’s traditional Berlusconi Trophy match against the Rossoneri.
“We are satisfied with how the pre-season programme is going so far,” continued the Coach.
“Fabrizio Miccoli has recovered from his injury and our only absent players now are Salvatore Fresi and Marcelo Zalayeta.”
The Bianconeri have already faced Milan twice this summer, winning both the Italian Super Cup (on penalties) and the recent TIM Tournament mini-encounter.
"Playing against Milan is always a pleasure," insisted the tactician, "and can never be a bore."
We will see a first team line-up against Milan at the San Siro, but there was an unusual visitor to the Turin training ground this morning.
“We are all fans of Michael Schumacher,” added Lippi, “and Juventus were happy to see him.”
“The Formula One star trained like all the other players and is a very good player.”
Both Ferrari and Juventus are owned by the Agnelli’s.
"I can hold my own as an athlete," added the German race driver, "but certainly not as a player."
"I was very honoured to train alongside these great stars and try to play football whenever I can."
dreamer75
17-08-2003, 05:27 PM
Giovanni Trapattoni has left Pippo Inzaghi out of his squad to face Germany in a friendly, but brings back Alessio Tacchinardi.
The Milan top scorer proved decisive in the Champions’ League campaign, but has fallen behind in Trap’s list of forward options with the emergence of new men Bernardo Corradi and Fabrizio Miccoli.
Another Rossoneri hero, midfielder Gennaro Gattuso, is again left out even though he is still not 100 per cent fit following a thigh problem.
Instead, the Coach has called up Juventus star Alessio Tacchinardi following a long spell outside of the international set-up.
The central midfielder had admitted he was perplexed at being passed over for so long, but his good performances with the Scudetto-winning side convinced Trap to give him a go.
The Azzurri will travel to Stuttgart with ex-Roma star Rudi Voeller’s side on August 20 in order to prepare for their upcoming Euro 2004 qualifiers.
Italy are still not certain of a place in the Portuguese competition and their next two ties with Wales and Serbia-Montenegro will be crucial.
22-man Italy squad:
Gk: Buffon, Toldo
D: Cannavaro, Ferrari, Grosso, Legrottaglie, Nesta, Oddo, Panucci
M: Ambrosini, Camoranesi, Tacchinardi, Zambrotta, Fiore, Perrotta, Zanetti
F: Corradi, Del Piero, Miccoli, Delvecchio, Totti, Vieri
dreamer75
17-08-2003, 05:44 PM
Previously a couple of years back when we got Lotto as a sponsor for I was ofcourse sad it wasn't Kappa or Diadora or any other cool brand,
but at the same time happy it wasn't Nike!
I said its good for Juve to have a small company as a sponsor so that we can control and run them
And not have Nike or Adiddas who control and run us...
:o
So now it has finally happend...
Nike is giving us problem about our sponsor Tamoil
Who they say can't be on our shirts, now either way this will be a huge loss for Juve.
Nike refuses which means
1. Juve has to find a new sponsor and negioate a new deal in very little time, Result will be that the future sponsor will probably get a cut price deal since Juve hasn't got time to negioate for better and
We will lose out on alot of the income
2. Juve has to break the sponsorship contract with Tamoil which will cost us, a huge fine or fee for contract breaking now this contract was signed last year for a couple of years so it means if we break the deal of only after one year there will be a lot of money gone here too
Naturally I think Nike should pay for any fee/fine we will get for breaking our sponsorship deal with Tamoil.
I also think Nike should be accounted to pay for the diffrence in what our new sponor will pay for CL and Coppa matches compared to our old.
Example (made up numbers)
Tamoil pays 8x a year
New Sponsor 5x a year
Then Nike Should pay Juve 3x a year to make up for the difference
A New this was going to happen
when we got the ruthless despotic expansionist called Nike as our shirt manufacutrer
but no its too late
I just hope our very skilled Directors
Stand Firm in Negioations
It is Times like this
I really miss
Giovanni Agnelli....
demouse
17-08-2003, 09:48 PM
that i agreed. somemore makelele is not any younger than davids (both 30 rite?).
do not sell davids to real, why strength their squad :(
demouse
17-08-2003, 09:55 PM
Previously a couple of years back when we got Lotto as a sponsor for I was ofcourse sad it wasn't Kappa or Diadora or any other cool brand, but at the same time happy it wasn't Nike!
I said its good for Juve to have a small company as a sponsor so that we can control and run them
And not have Nike or Adiddas who control and run us... :o
So now it has finally happend...
It is Times like this
I really miss
Giovanni Agnelli....
but i though when juve signed contract with nike they sld have forsee the problems ahead? isn't the directors of juve very smart 1?
btw what's the reason nike doesn't want the other sponsor's name printed on the shirt?
Giovanni Agnelli, he always has juve's interest in heart. he'll not compromised anything. too sad he's gone......
dreamer75
18-08-2003, 02:04 PM
woohoo!! Yes, we did it again! :)
Juventus have won the Berlusconi Trophy by beating Milan for the third time this summer, but Andrea Pirlo was stretchered off.
The Rossoneri are already without Paolo Maldini for a month and Pirlo was carried away with what appeared to be a sprained ankle.
The two clubs have now faced each other four times in three months, for the Champions’ League Final, Italian Super Cup Final, TIM Trophy and this 2-0 friendly victory.
Unfortunately for Marcello Lippi’s men, the one encounter they failed to win was for the European Cup.
This San Siro clash is played out every August and there is a curious superstition which suggests the losing side will go on to win the Scudetto that season.
The Rossoneri were without the injured Maldini, Rivaldo and Gennaro Gattuso, while Juve had Marcelo Zalayeta and Salvatore Fresi ruled out.
The fans were also entertained before kick-off, as new signing Kaka’ was in the stands following his £5.3m move from Sao Paolo.
It was announced the Brazilian creative midfielder passed a medical and will wear the Number 30 jersey.
Once again, rebel midfielder Edgar Davids was left on the bench in favour of new man Stephan Appiah.
Andriy Shevchenko had the first shot on goal within 90 seconds, causing serious problems to the Juve defence down the right flank, while Gianluigi Buffon tipped a Clarence Seedorf piledriver and another Shev effort over the bar.
But the deadlock was eventually broken just before half-time when Appiah’s fantastic threaded pass found Alessandro Del Piero in the box to drill past Dida.
The Juventus captain prepared a cool finish, but ex-Brescia star Appiah showed great vision to find him.
The Bianconeri doubled their lead in confident fashion with a well-worked team move.
Nedved and Trezeguet combined well down the left flank before cutting across for the unmarked Camoranesi to sweep home on the stroke of half-time.
Roque Junior, who replaced the injured Maldini in central defence, wasted a good opportunity at the dawn of the second half.
Ex-Lazio defender Giuseppe Pancaro then skimmed a searing angled shot past the far post.
There was more bad news for Milan, as Andrea Pirlo appeared to badly sprain his ankle following a challenge from Nicola Legrottaglie.
The midfielder was stretchered off in some evident pain and it is feared he will be out of action for several weeks.
Soon after, Massimo Ambrosini and Jon Dahl Tomasson got in each other’s way and missed an open goal, while Dida performed a tough save on substitute Marco Di Vaio.
In stoppage time Milan had their best chance when Seedorf's free kick thumped the woodwork.
However, overall the Scudetto holders looked decidedly more organised and at a more advanced level of fitness than the European Champions.
Milan 0-2 Juventus
Scorers: Del Piero 39 (J), Camoranesi 45 (J)
Milan: Dida; Cafu, Nesta, Roque Junior, Pancaro; Seedorf, Ambrosini, Pirlo (Redondo 76), Rui Costa (Brocchi 66); Inzaghi (Tomasson 62), Shevchenko (Borriello 76)
Juventus: Buffon; Thuram (Birindelli 62), Montero, Legrottaglie, Zambrotta; Camoranesi (Davids 71), Appiah (Tudor 85), Tacchinardi, Nedved; Del Piero (Miccoli 62), Trezeguet (Di Vaio 62)
Ref: Trefoloni
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug17i.html
demouse
19-08-2003, 09:38 AM
woohoo!! Yes, we did it again! :)
base on the previous record, looks like Juve not going to lift up the scudetto this season :D
dreamer75
19-08-2003, 01:28 PM
base on the previous record, looks like Juve not going to lift up the scudetto this season :D
may the best side win :)
dreamer75
19-08-2003, 01:41 PM
we can't loss them, important to us too!!!
August 19, 2003
Poor pre-season form has prompted AC Milan to consider a late dip into the transfer market, with Juventus duo Mark Iuliano and Marco Di Vaio the targets.
Milan have been beaten three times in pre-season tournaments by Juventus and once by Inter Milan, and whilst the club officially denies there are problems, reports out of Italy today suggest some late negotiations are set to take place to help boost the playing stocks.
Whilst new signing Kaka will provide the club with extra strength, the captures of Iuliano (defender) and Di Vaio (striker) would be tremendous boosts with the Serie A season only two weeks away.
Any likely deals for these two players would probably be in the form of loans.
The chase for a defender was prompted by the injury to Paolo Maldini, who is expected to miss the first five matches after suffering a leg injury in training.
dreamer75
19-08-2003, 02:09 PM
Juventus boss Marcello Lippi insists that his side can still improve despite the 2-0 win over Milan on Sunday.
The Bianconeri won the annual Trofeo Berlusconi tie in fine fashion but the tactician maintains his side can still offer much more.
"These types of victories help with morale," he stated. "We are getting better but we are not yet perfect as my squad is not fully fit."
The Italian champions beat the European Champions thanks to goals from Mauro Camoranesi and Alex Del Piero.
"I¡¦m still looking for my best form," said the latter. "My fitness levels are on the up and I hope that I will be ready for the start of the season."
Last night¡¦s triumph was Juve¡¦s third over their Italian rivals in the space of two weeks. But Milan boss Carlo Ancelotti is not overly concerned.
"We are rather tired at the minute and it shows," he noted. "Juventus caused us great problems in the first half. Especially on the counter attack."
The only good news for the San Siro giants was the presence of new signing Kaka in the stands.
"He¡¦s an attacking midfielder and he will be used in that position in order to get the best out of him," added Ancelotti.
Milan have yet to score from open play in pre-season but President Silvio Berlusconi is remaining hopeful.
"Obviously it is better to win than lose but we did play quite well at times and created some good scoring opportunities," he said.
dreamer75
20-08-2003, 01:25 PM
By Sebastian Siwek - August 20, 2003
The agent of Edgar Davids, Robert Geerlings, has revealed that the Juventus star was never interested in a move to Chelsea and instead wanted to extend his contract with the Turin giants.
Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri, had been targeting the Dutchman, but the Serie A champions were reluctant to cash-in on the 30 year-old.
"Chelsea called him but he affirmed that he was not interested in their proposal because he wants to continue playing with Juve," Geerlings told Gazzetta dello Sport.
"It's possible he could renew the agreement with the Bianconeri because this is his will."
The representatives of the former Ajax ace are set to meet the Juventus officials in the coming weeks to begin contract negotiations.
dreamer75
20-08-2003, 01:42 PM
Edgar Davids wants to extend his current contract with Italian champions Juventus, according to his agent.
The Dutchman only has a year left on his present deal in Turin but he wants to remain despite interest from Chelsea.
"It is true that the Premiership side made him an offer but he turned them down because he wants to continue at Juventus," Robert Geerlings told the Gazzetta dello Sport.
"There is a very real possibility that Edgar will renew his contract with the Bianconeri because that is his desire."
Speculation suggests that the former Ajax man will probably leave the club as talks over a new contract have stalled.
But Geerlings maintains those claims are untrue as contract negotiations have not even begun.
"Davids hasn¡¦t received an offer from Juve as of yet," he continued. "I haven¡¦t been in Turin since April and have not heard from the club since then. I am simply waiting for the call."
However, there is a distinct possibility that the Delle Alpi outfit will release the 30-year-old after the arrival of Stephan Appiah.
The Ghanaian youngster has quickly settled in Turin and has even replaced Davids in the first team so far this pre-season.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug19g.html
dreamer75
23-08-2003, 12:59 AM
Enzo Maresca has set himself the ambitious target of being a regular feature in the Juventus side this term.
"I know that it won’t be easy at all to win a first team shirt here but it is my objective to play as much as possible," he said.
The Italian has returned to the Delle Alpi this summer after excelling on loan at Piacenza last season.
"That experience was fundamental for me," he added. "Although we were relegated I have to say that I matured immensely."
There was talk that Juventus were not totally convinced of his ability but Maresca believes that is not the case.
"I’m very happy to be here," he continued. "Not that many players go out on loan and then return.
"I know that the club received four or five offers for me this summer but they turned them all down. This shows that they believe in me."
Pre-season talks suggest that boss Marcello Lippi is eager to use Maresca as an alternative to Pavel Nedved on the left hand side of midfield.
"I’m happy with how I’ve done in the last few weeks even if I know that I can improve," he added. "It will now be up to the Coach to decide where and when he will use me."
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug21b.html
dreamer75
23-08-2003, 01:02 AM
OMG...NO!
Juventus will open talks with Chelsea next week in an attempt to sell midfielder Edgar Davids, according to reports.
The Dutchman is a known target for the Stamford Bridge outfit and the Italian champions are keen to sell.
The Bianconeri want to cash in on the former Ajax man as they are running the risk of losing him for nothing next summer if he remains.
Davids only has a year left on his current deal and the club have yet to open talks over an extension.
That has led to speculation that Juve are ready to release him, especially after the arrival of Stephan Appiah this summer.
The Ghanaian has impressed in pre-season and has even replaced Davids in the Juve first team.
The Italian side did turn down an £8m Chelsea offer earlier this summer but are hoping for an increased bid before selling.
However, there is a risk that Davids could reject the move after his agent admitted that the player was looking to stay for the next 12 months.
Chelsea are after a tough tackling midfielder after they attempted to open talks with Real Madrid for Claude Makelele last week.
Meanwhile, unconfirmed reports in England suggest that Inter’s Hernan Crespo will move to Chelsea on Friday.
Talks have taken place today and an offer of £25m is believed to have been accepted by the Nerazzurri.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug21h.html
intermilansg
23-08-2003, 01:05 AM
OMG...NO!
Juventus will open talks with Chelsea next week in an attempt to sell midfielder Edgar Davids, according to reports.
The Dutchman is a known target for the Stamford Bridge outfit and the Italian champions are keen to sell.
The Bianconeri want to cash in on the former Ajax man as they are running the risk of losing him for nothing next summer if he remains.
Davids only has a year left on his current deal and the club have yet to open talks over an extension.
That has led to speculation that Juve are ready to release him, especially after the arrival of Stephan Appiah this summer.
The Ghanaian has impressed in pre-season and has even replaced Davids in the Juve first team.
The Italian side did turn down an £8m Chelsea offer earlier this summer but are hoping for an increased bid before selling.
However, there is a risk that Davids could reject the move after his agent admitted that the player was looking to stay for the next 12 months.
Chelsea are after a tough tackling midfielder after they attempted to open talks with Real Madrid for Claude Makelele last week.
Meanwhile, unconfirmed reports in England suggest that Inter’s Hernan Crespo will move to Chelsea on Friday.
Talks have taken place today and an offer of £25m is believed to have been accepted by the Nerazzurri.
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/aug21h.html
roman ki siao :rolleyes:
dreamer75
23-08-2003, 01:20 AM
roman ki siao :rolleyes:
ya lor...
intermilansg
23-08-2003, 01:31 AM
actually if davids really go juve dont really miss him cos got appiah and maresca( one of my fav players) and tachniardi . somemore davids sometimes tries to do too much himself and hes not young any more.
dreamer75
24-08-2003, 01:28 AM
actually if davids really go juve dont really miss him cos got appiah and maresca( one of my fav players) and tachniardi . somemore davids sometimes tries to do too much himself and hes not young any more.
no lah, Davids is till v impt to us.
Maresca still have a lot to learn, needs time. :)
dreamer75
24-08-2003, 01:30 AM
Miccoli is a gd buy
Fabrizio Miccoli’s brace helped Juventus to a convincing 3-1 win at Napoli’s Stadio San Paolo.
The Friday night friendly game once again highlighted the stunning pre-season form of the Scudetto holders.
Without many of their international stars, it too just 32 minutes to seal up the victory in what was once one of the Italian calendar’s greatest encounters.
Miccoli, who has been compared to Napoli’s legendary Diego Armando Maradona, set up Pavel Nedved’s opener.
The ‘pocket striker’ then went on to net a brace with an angled drive and intelligently making the most of Vittorio Tosto’s error.
One of the men on the field played alongside Maradona in the late 1980’s, but the home fans did not reserve a warm welcome for Ciro Ferrara.
Banners were unfurled before the game that claimed the Juventus defender was “an ingrate.”
Most of the fan attention was aimed at insulting Catania President Luciano Gaucci, whose legal battle has now seen Serie B expanded to 24 teams.
Napoli got on to the scoresheet in the second half with a strong team move. Montervino beat Stephan Appiah in midfield and set up Bernini’s strike, but it was not enough to halt Juve’s pre-season string of results.
Montervino saw red in the final minutes for dissent and goalkeeper Antonio Chimenti saved a David Sesa penalty.
“What you see on the field is Juventus,” insisted Coach Marcello Lippi. “The fact I couldn’t field the players who were on international duty midweek does not mean this line-up is any less important.”
“Here at Juve there is no first team and no group of reserves. We are Juventus and that is all.”
Chievo also beat La Liga outfit Athletic Bilbao on Spanish soil in a prestigious friendly win.
The Flying Donkeys were in control through Andrea Zanchetta’s spot-kick and a Giuseppe Sculli strike.
Etxeberria could only put Bilbao back in the game with a stoppage-time consolation goal.
Napoli 1-3 Juventus
Scorers: Nedved 20 (J), Miccoli 27, 32 (J), Bernini 63 (N)
Sent off: Montervino 87 (N)
dreamer75
26-08-2003, 12:41 AM
Will be great if we can get him
August 25, 2003
Juventus have been alerted to critical comments made by Christian Vieri over Inter Milan's sale of Hernan Crespo.
Vieri is openly questioning his future at Inter and has been linked with his former employers.
Juve chief Luciano Moggi still harbours a grudge against Vieri over he way he quit Turin, but with injury concerns over Fabrizio Miccoli and David Trezeguet, is still considering a bid for the Italian international.
dreamer75
26-08-2003, 06:08 PM
August 26, 2003
Juventus and AC Milan are in tentative discussions over a deal for Jon Dahl Tomasson.
The Danish international is wanted by Juve as cover for the injured David Trezeguet and a loan deal could be struck before the end of the week.
A swap involving striker Marco Di Vaio or veteran defender Mark Iuliano has also been mooted.
demouse
28-08-2003, 11:01 PM
CL draw is out. juventus to meet Galatasaray, Olympiacos & Real Sociedad. tough group, take care :)
but i think milan's group is tougher
http://web.singnet.com.sg/~gkengb/championsleaguedraw.gif
dreamer75
28-08-2003, 11:11 PM
CL draw is out. juventus to meet Galatasaray, Olympiacos & Real Sociedad. tough group, take care :)
but i think milan's group is tougher
http://web.singnet.com.sg/~gkengb/championsleaguedraw.gif
We should have no problems reaching the 2nd stage..:)
dreamer75
29-08-2003, 11:38 AM
Congrats to Buffon and Nelved!!
:)
August 29, 2003
Juventus duo Gianluigi Buffon and Pavel Nedved were last night recognised as the best positional players in Europe by UEFA.
At the Awards ceremony in Monaco, Buffon was judged to be the Best Goalkeeper in UEFA club competitions last season, whilst Nedved won the Best Midfielder award.
Buffon capped off the night by winning the overall Most Valuable Player Awards.
The Juventus duo were instrumental in leading their club to the final of the Champions League, which was lost in a penalty shootout to AC Milan.
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 02:23 PM
Group D
Juventus (Ita)
Galatasaray (Tur)
Olympiakos (Gre)
Real Sociedad (Spa)
17/9/2003
Juventus - Galatasaray
R Sociedad - Olympiakos
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 02:24 PM
Marcello Lippi claims he is happy with Juve's draw for the Champions' League as he takes one more stab at this competition.
“The Group is nice and balanced,” said the tactician. “Our three adversaries are all excellent teams and will make us work hard for every point.”
Top seeds Juventus are in Group D with Galatasaray, Olympiakos and La Liga runners-up Real Sociedad.
“Spanish, Greek and Turkish football is fast-paced and entertaining, so we should see some very good games.”
Lippi lost his third consecutive Final back in May and watched Milan lift the trophy after a penalty shoot-out.
At the time he announced that failure to win the Champions’ League this year would see him retire.
“There are no easy games at this level,” continued the Coach after yesterday’s draw. “Juventus will be ready for all of them.”
The Bianconeri took part in the now traditional friendly game against the youth team at Villar Pedrosa yesterday evening.
The senior squad ran out 6-2 winners, even if the second-string side was losing 2-1 at half-time.
Fabrizio Miccoli scored in the opening 45 minutes, but after the break David Trezeguet bagged four and captain Alessandro Del Piero completed the rout.
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 02:25 PM
Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon was voted Most Valuable Player in the UEFA awards last night.
He becomes the first ever shot-stopper to pick up this honour and is also the only Italian to win.
Buffon also accepted the Best Goalkeeper Award at the ceremony in Montecarlo on Thursday evening.
The former Parma hero earned plaudits for his performances that helped Juventus to the Champions’ League Final.
There was more glory for Serie A at the UEFA awards, as Juve’s Pavel Nedved walked away with the trophy for Best Midfielder.
Runners-up Juventus managed to pick up two out of the total five awards available, while Real Madrid’s Roberto Carlos got Best Defender and Manchester United top scorer Ruud Van Nistelrooy was voted Best Forward.
Champions’ League winners Milan were snubbed in the nominations, most notably penalty hero Dida and eleven-goal Pippo Inzaghi left out.
However, inspirational captain Paolo Maldini received a special UEFA President’s Award from Lennart Johansson.
“This trophy was in recognition of a long career at the highest level for club and country,” noted the official website, “and loyalty to the club he joined as a boy.”
Maldini made his Milan debut at the age of sixteen and grew up through the Rossoneri youth system.
Coach Carlo Ancelotti also received an award as the winning tactician of the Champions’ League.
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 02:27 PM
UEFA’s Player of the Year maintains Juventus can win both the Scudetto and Champions’ League this season.
“With the squad we have this year,” insisted Gianluigi Buffon, “Juve can go for the Grand Slam.”
The Bianconeri almost achieved that aim in May, but a penalty shoot-out defeat to Milan saw the European trophy slip from their grasp.
“The club has moved on the transfer market with great skill and acumen, bringing in quality reinforcements for all areas.”
“The new arrivals are by no means benchwarmers,” added the goalkeeper. “Every player here belongs in the first team.”
Transfer guru Luciano Moggi has certainly excelled himself this summer with Italian internationals Fabrizio Miccoli and Nicola Legrottaglie, while Stephan Appiah is one of Serie A’s most promising midfielders.
Marcello Lippi’s men have already won the Scudetto for the last two years running and retain the spine of that squad.
“Looking at the way Alessandro Del Piero and Alessio Tacchinardi have been training,” revealed Buffon, “I expect them to have a great season.”
“Watch out for Marco Di Vaio as well, as with his injury problems behind him the pressure will be off.”
Buffon has become the first goalkeeper ever to pick up UEFA’s Most Valuable Player of the Year award.
“A shot-stopper can’t make the difference to a team,” insisted the Italian Number 1. “A striker is more important overall.”
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 02:58 PM
All the signs suggests Juventus are going to win the Scudetto for a third successive season in Serie A.
Juventus are the biggest club in Italy and have avoided most of the close-season comings and goings that have dogged rivals like Inter and AC Milan. It's this sense of continuity that makes the Old Lady a sensible bet for more glory in the forthcoming season.
Lippi's crew only lost one league match at the Delle Alpi last season, and conceded less goals on their travels than any other side in Serie A, and there's nothing to suggest this domination is about to be disrupted in the near future.
The defence retains its shape from last year, and the Turin engine room remains intact in the shape of Davids and Nedved. The anchor men will be able to call upon the influence of a rapidly improving Appiah in the battles that lie ahead.
Juve's legendary fitness regime should help them negotiate the pressures of another demanding programme of domestic and Champions League engagements, but the Black and Whites are probably the only Italian side who really have the strength in depth to deal with the numerous pressures of the modern game.
Up front Del Pierro looks to have shrugged off any injury worries, and his new partner in crime Fabrizio Miccoli could be one to watch in Serie A this season - together their goals have accounted for Milan, Reggina and Napoli in pre-season friendly matches.
If the goals have flowed recently for Juve, events elsewhere have left Inter fans wondering if anyone will be rustling the onion bag regularly enough for them to reach top spot, after the frustration of finishing second and third in recent years.
Although Inter won the TIM round robin trophy against Milan and Juventus they have now allowed Hernan Crespo to go to Chelsea, upsetting the San Siro faithful, and setting the brilliant Christian Vieri up for a tough time by implying he'll be leading the line on his own.
The latest win in the Pirelli Cup against Sociedad looks like it could set the tone for the season as a whole - a lack luster 1-0 win with the supporters lamenting the disappearance of one of their favourite sons on the terraces throughout. The arrival of Kily Gonzalez is scant consolation for the unhappy Ultras.
Inter Hot shot Kallon may also depart soon, which would leave notoriously defence - minded boss Hector Cuper with a headache up front, having let Batistuta go too over the summer.
The same nagging worries about a lack of punch or depth also manifest themselves about AC Milan, which might seem a little surprising given the result in last season's Champions League final against Juve.
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 03:31 PM
Here guys, I've gathered up the results from last season and compared them to the referees we had... I was just wondering what kind of results we got with different refs.
Tiziano Pieri -
Juventus 4 - 3 Chievo
^ Won 1
Gianluca Paparesta -
Reggina 2 - 1 Juventus
Bologna 2 - 2 Juventus
Juventus 3 - 0 Inter
Juventus 2 - 1 Milan
Juventus 3 - 0 Atalanta
^ Won 3, Drew 1, Lost 1
Paolo Bertini -
Juventus 2 - 2 Perugia
Juventus 2 - 2 Roma
Juventus 1 - 0 Udinese
Juventus 1 - 1 Como
^ Won 1, Drew 3
Pierluigi Collina -
Juventus 0 - 0 Lazio
Inter 1 - 1 Juventus
^ Drew 2
Matteo Trefoloni -
Juventus 2 - 1 Brescia
Milan 2 - 1 Juventus
Juventus 5 - 0 Reggina
Piacenza 0 - 1 Juventus
^ Won 3, Lost 1
Emilio Pellegrino -
Juventus 2 - 1 Roma
Parma 1 - 2 Juventus
Atalanta 1 - 1 Juventus
Juventus 1 - 2 Lazio
^ Won 2, Drew 1, Lost 1
Massimo De Santis -
Juventus 2 - 0 Torino
Juventus 4 - 0 Torino
^ Won 2 --- is there a reason the same ref took the derby?
Emidio Morganti -
Juventus 3 - 0 Modena
^ Won 1
Luca Palanca -
Udinese 0 - 1 Juventus
Perugia 0 - 1 Juventus
^ Won 2
Antonio Dattilo -
Como 1 - 3 Juventus
^ Won 1
Marco Gabriele -
Juventus 1 - 0 Empoli
^ Won 1
Cosimo Bolognino -
Juventus 2 - 0 Piacenza
^ Won 1
Salvatore Racalbuto -
Chievo 1 - 4 Juventus
Modena 0 - 1 Juventus
Empoli 0 - 2 Juventus
^ Won 3
Stefano Farina -
Brescia 2 - 0 Juventus
Juventus 1 - 1 Bologna
^ Drew 1, Lost 1
Stefano Cassara -
Juventus 2 - 2 Parma
^ Drew 1
Now these aren't meant to prove anything or be conclusive, but I was just hoping we could see our next match referee and get some kind of feeling. Plus I was bored...maybe I should add that to the procrastination thread "gathering useless statistics"
--courtesy of gray--
demouse
30-08-2003, 03:35 PM
All the signs suggests Juventus are going to win the Scudetto for a third successive season in Serie A.
dun think so. juventus' desire to win CL is more than Scudetto and thus they'll focus more on CL.
Roma has strengthen thier squad (provided chivu & carew's deal gone thru). they're not in CL this year and thus can focus on the league.
Roma to lift Scudetto this season ;)
demouse
30-08-2003, 03:36 PM
Here guys, I've gathered up the results from last season and compared them to the referees we had... I was just wondering what kind of results we got with different refs.
wow :eek:
where u got those statistics?
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 05:06 PM
dun think so. juventus' desire to win CL is more than Scudetto and thus they'll focus more on CL.
Roma has strengthen thier squad (provided chivu & carew's deal gone thru). they're not in CL this year and thus can focus on the league.
Roma to lift Scudetto this season ;)
With les matches of CL to play for, teams can have more time to rest. Hope we can do a treble this season. :D
May the better team win :)
Btw, any Italian team ever did a treble b4?
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 05:07 PM
95/96 Juventus - Cremonese (4-1)
96/97 Reggina - Juventus (1-1)
97/98 Juventus - Lecce (2-0)
98/99 Perugia - Juventus (3-4)
99/00 Juventus - Reggina (1-1)
00/01 Napoli - Juventus (1-2)
01/02 Juventus - Venezia (4-0)
02/03 Piacenza - Juventus (0-1)
W = 6 (75%)
D = 2 (25%)
L = 0 (0%)
GF (Avg) = 2.375
GA (Avg) = 0.875
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 05:07 PM
02/08/2003 Juventus-Empoli 1-0
09/21/2002 Empoli-Juventus-0-2
04/03/1999 Empoli-Juventus-1-0
11/22/1998 Juventus--Empoli 0-0
04/19/1998 Empoli-Juventus-0-1
12/21/1997 Juventus--Empoli 5-2
01/31/1988 Juventus--Empoli 4-0
09/20/1987 Empoli-Juventus-1-0
02/08/1987 Juventus--Empoli 3-0
W = 6 (66.7%)
D = 1 (11%)
L = 2 (22.3%)
Juventus Goal Scorers vs. Empoli
Alessandro Del Piero 5
Edgar Davids 1
David Trezeguet 1
Empoli Ex-players
Marcelo Danubio Zalayeta
Alessandro Birindelli
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 05:11 PM
I'm not sure whether we'll see the 4-2-3-1 or the 4-4-2/4-3-1-2 but I have a hunch that Lippi will opt for the latter. Early in pre-season we saw Marcello try out the 4-2-3-1 but since then we've seen nothing but 4-3-1-2.
We'll either see:
Buffon
Thuram Legrottaglie Montero Zambrotta
Tacchinardi Appiah
Miccoli Nedved Del Piero
Trezeguet
or:
Buffon
Thuram Legrottaglie Montero Zambrotta
Camoranesi Tacchinardi Appiah
Nedved
Trezeguet Del Piero
No matter which formation Lippi uses, I can only see one result; a Juve victory :D
dreamer75
30-08-2003, 07:03 PM
08/30/2003. Juventus, the grand old lady of Italian football, are once again the team to beat this season as they have managed to emerge from back-to-back Scudetto triumphs looking even more formidable.
The powers that be at the Delle Alpi have succeeded in hanging on to all of their prized jewels and even managed to improve on each outfield position with the widely acclaimed additions of up-and-coming Italian defender Nicola Legrottaglie (Chievo), hugely promising Ghanaian midfielder Stephen Appiah, as well as Italy's most exciting young striking talent Fabrizio Miccoli (back on loan from Perugia).
DEFENCE
Defence has traditionally been a strong-point for Juventus but if there were a chink in the Bianconeri's armour one would feel that this would be it. Juve's highly experienced rear-guard looked lead-footed at times last year and since the combined age of their backline has risen to almost 30, in spite of the summer signing of 24-year-old centre-back Legrottaglie. Ferrara is coming off one his best seasons ever but at the advanced age of 35 he will have to keep re-proving himself each season. Montero is no spring-chicken either as he is set to turn 33, while Juliano, Pessotto, Fresi and Thuram also find themselves on the wrong side of 30. Then again, most of the aforementioned are excellent defenders in their own right and will more than likely have the great majority of opposing strikers in their back-pockets again next season. It also bears mentioning that Zambrotta turned into a world-class left-back seemingly over night last year, which bodes very well for the future of Juventus and Italy.
MIDFIELD
Depending on how you look at Marcelo Lippi's favoured 4-2-3-1 formation Juventus either play with four strikers or five midfielders. The only true midfielders in the system occupy the two holding roles in the centre, which can be fulfilled extremely competently by a combination of either Appiah, Tacchinardi, Tudor, Maresca, Conte or Davids, who many predict will no longer be a Juventino by the time next January rolls around. Added to this, the Bianconeri boast arguably the world's best midfielder in Pavel Nedved, who was just distinguished as the best in Europe at his position by Uefa (Buffon, incidentally, was named both the European keeper of the year and Most Valuable Player during the same ceremony).
ATTACK
Juve still have the perfect man for the lone-striker position in David Trezeguet but might pay the price for failing to acquire a rock-solid backup if Marcelo Zalayeta once again does not deliver on his ample promise this season. Lippi still has a luxury of riches to fill the three supporting roles in Del Piero, Di Vaio, Nedved, Camoranesi and now the hyper-talented Miccoli, who has filled the position vacated by the departure of Salas to River Plate.
HOPES FOR THE SEASON
The Scudetto has once again been stated as the Black-and-White's primary target, but after two successful conquests you could not blame the titans from Turin from secretly favouring the Champions League trophy. Considering the supremely balanced nature of their squad a historic treble is well within the realms of the imaginable.
PREDICTION
The silver lining in Juve's crushing shootout loss to AC Milan in the European final last year is that it ensured that everybody at the club remained hungry. Lippi is intent on building a bona fide dynasty and we certainly wouldn't put it past Juventus to three-peat.
Derek Wanner
dreamer75
31-08-2003, 09:29 PM
We are leading Emoli thr a goal by Alex...!!
:)
Serie A Week 1 - 31/8/03 (15.00)
Juventus - Empoli
Stadio Delle Alpi
Juventus begin their attempt at a third consecutive Serie A title and few would bet against them.
The Bianconeri convincingly took the Scudetto last season and now have arguably the strongest line-up Marcello Lippi has ever taken charge of. The introduction of internationals Fabrizio Miccoli, Stephan Appiah and Nicola Legrottaglie means the tactician could effectively field a team of reserves able to compete at the highest level.
Edgar Davids has been sacrificed throughout the summer and it would be interesting to see if the Dutchman is once again started from the bench in favour of Appiah. A new tactic could also be tested out with Miccoli on the right flank in place of Mauro Camoranesi, supporting Pavel Nedved, Alessandro Del Piero and David Trezeguet.
Empoli have a very tough test to kick-start their Serie A campaign after only narrowly avoiding the drop. However, the Tuscans proved themselves to be tricky customers for the big clubs last year and will have Azzurri star Antonio Di Natale back from injury. They perhaps still lack an out and out hitman, but Tommaso Rocchi and Francesco Tavano fan out to provide danger from all sides on counter-attacks.
Juventus (probable): Buffon; Thuram, Legrottaglie, Montero, Zambrotta; Tacchinardi, Appiah; Miccoli, Nedved, Del Piero; Trezeguet
Empoli (probable): Bucci; Belleri, Cribari, Lucchini, Cupi; Giampieretti, Grella; Busce', Rocchi, Di Natale; Tavano
Ref: Pellegrino
dreamer75
31-08-2003, 11:10 PM
31/08/2003 14:00
Juventus - Empoli 5-1 (1-0)
Final
1-0 15' Del Piero
2-0 48' Del Piero
3-0 57' Trezeguet
4-0 70' Trezeguet
5-0 81' Di Vaio [pen]
5-1 85' Di Natale
Assists:
1. Zambro -> DP
2. DP -> DP
3. Neddy -> Trez
4. Zambro -> Trez
5. Di Vaio won us the penalty
demouse
31-08-2003, 11:11 PM
31/08/2003 14:00
Juventus - Empoli 5-1 (1-0)
Final
1-0 15' Del Piero
2-0 48' Del Piero
3-0 57' Trezeguet
4-0 70' Trezeguet
5-0 81' Di Vaio [pen]
5-1 85' Di Natale
Assists:
1. Zambro -> DP
2. DP -> DP
3. Neddy -> Trez
4. Zambro -> Trez
5. Di Vaio won us the penalty
Zambrotta very good ;)
dreamer75
31-08-2003, 11:12 PM
Sounds like Zambrotta's our man of the match btw,
Juventus-Empoli 75' Zambrotta causing havoc down the left, another accurate cross for TREZEGUET, TWO TOUCHES AND HE STICKS IT AWAY!!! 4-0!! Harsh on Empoli, who contrbuted so much to the first half, but great finishing from the champions!
Juventus-Empoli 16' Zambrotta involved again on the flank; He really has developed into a great attacking force. Bends the cross in onto the head of DEL PIERO!!!!! Sails in to Bucci's left and it's ONE NIL TO THE OLD LADY!!!!!
dreamer75
31-08-2003, 11:53 PM
DP's first goal
http://www.juventus.it/juventus/en/images/features/200335/coverjuventus.jpg
dreamer75
31-08-2003, 11:58 PM
Player Analysis:
BUFFON: Made some quality saves and was desperately unlucky not to claim a clean sheet. A very good performance from Gigi, unfortunately his defence didn't back him up as well as they should have. 8
THURAM: Didn't have much to do but when he did have to do something he did it with confidence and class. Lilian never really had to break out of second gear as it was a cruise for him and most of the team. 6.5
LEGROTTAGLIE: Good when called upon and solid in the air and with the ball at his feet. The Empoli attackers got behind the defence occasionally but I think that was because of the defensive midfield cover rather than because of Legro and Monte. 6.5
MONTERO: Very solid. Montero looks in good form to me and if he had a yard or two more of pace, he would probably be one of the best defenders in the world. Good performance. 7
ZAMBROTTA: Very good going forward. Zambro's ability to attack down the left wing eases the pressure off of Del Piero and Nedved and allows them to assume a more central position. His assist for DP and Trez were very good. 7.5
TACCHINARDI: Played his normal game. Good distribution of the football and good tracking back, but I think that he needs to be a bit more aggresive. We missed Davids IMO. 6.5
APPIAH: Looked very comfortable with the ball at his feet. His passing is very good but I would like to see him get forward a little bit more because I think that he has a very good shot. Late on in the game he showed some Davids style aggresiveness and won the ball. I'd definitely like to see more of this as we lacked it at times. 7
MICCOLI: Really struggled today. He tried hard but he just couldn't get himself into the game. I hope to see better from Micco. 5
NEDVED: Started slowly but looked sharp in the second half. My dream for this season is to see the big three of Neddy, DP and Trez combining well, and they certainly did that today. 7
DEL PIERO: Showed alot of class today with his dribbling and he was easily my MOTM. His first goal was very well taken and his second was simply brilliant. Alex was unlucky not to grab his hattrick and I thought that Lippi was cruel to sub him off so early. Apparently DP agreed with me. 8
TREZEGUET: Was quiet in the first half but what I liked about him was that whenever he shot, he got it on target. Although I thought that he should've been subbed and not DP, he had a good game. Well done Trez. 7
dreamer75
01-09-2003, 12:43 AM
08/31/2003. Juve coach Marcello Lippi was enthusiastic at the end of the match that saw the Bianconeri thrash Empoli 5-1.
"A great victory, but in the first half we should have done better. In the second we played great, the team played as it needs to," said Lippi.
The former Inter boss also explained why he replaced Del Piero during the second half, a move the Juve skipper clearly demonstrated he didn't agree with.
"Del Piero was the best on the pitch, but I took him off early because we have many games ahead."
demouse
01-09-2003, 09:06 AM
MICCOLI: Really struggled today. He tried hard but he just couldn't get himself into the game. I hope to see better from Micco. 5
Miccoli goes under the knife
Juventus star Fabrizio Miccoli was rushed to hospital for surgery after a bout of appendicitis.
The former Perugia ?epocket striker?f played the first half of Juve?fs 5-1 win over Empoli this afternoon.
After the game club doctors discovered a ?gsuspected appendicitis?h and urged to keep a close eye on the situation.
The medical staff was worried enough to force Miccoli out of the Italy squad for next week?fs Euro 2004 qualifiers.
His condition deteriorated as Sunday wore on and reports emerged that the 24-year-old was in surgery at Turin?fs Fornaca clinic.
Juventus revealed the operation lasted 30 minutes and he will be kept in hospital for three days.
It is expected he will be able to resume training in a fortnight, so he'll be out of action for at least three weeks.
dreamer75
01-09-2003, 01:36 PM
Miccoli goes under the knife
Juventus star Fabrizio Miccoli was rushed to hospital for surgery after a bout of appendicitis.
The former Perugia ?epocket striker?f played the first half of Juve?fs 5-1 win over Empoli this afternoon.
After the game club doctors discovered a ?gsuspected appendicitis?h and urged to keep a close eye on the situation.
The medical staff was worried enough to force Miccoli out of the Italy squad for next week?fs Euro 2004 qualifiers.
His condition deteriorated as Sunday wore on and reports emerged that the 24-year-old was in surgery at Turin?fs Fornaca clinic.
Juventus revealed the operation lasted 30 minutes and he will be kept in hospital for three days.
It is expected he will be able to resume training in a fortnight, so he'll be out of action for at least three weeks.
OMG :(
dreamer75
01-09-2003, 01:47 PM
Serie A Week 1 - 31/8/03 (15.00)
Juventus 5 - 1 Empoli
Del Piero 16, 51 (J), Trezeguet 61, 73 (J), Di Vaio pen 85 (J), Di Natale 87 (E)
Stadio Delle Alpi
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Juve proved they remain favourites to retain their Serie A title with a stunning display from captain Alessandro Del Piero.
Juventus opened their title defence against plucky Empoli at the Stadio Delle Alpi and started with Fabrizio Miccoli in place of Mauro Camoranesi on the right flank.
It was Miccoli who had the first real chance, blazing over the bar following some splendid build-up play from Gianluca Zambrotta. Stephan Appiah took the midfield role from Edgar Davids, who was not even included in the squad.
Empoli were dangerous on the counter-attack and went close when Antonio Busce' skipped past his marker and placed an angled drive just past the far post.
Moments later Juventus took the lead through an Alessandro Del Piero header on yet another Zambrotta cross. The captain timed his jump correctly to get the ball inbetween two Empoli defenders.
It was a very open game, as Del Piero went close with an individual move before Antonio Di Natale forced a tough save out of Gianluigi Buffon.
The Tuscans increased the pressure towards the end of the first half with Busce' bringing a save out of Buffon and Stefano Lucchini turning his header over the bar.
It was an entertaining encounter and David Trezeguet stung the palms of Luca Bucci with a close-range header on Pavel Nedved's centre.
One Italian international replaced another at half-time, as Camoranesi replaced Miccoli on the right flank of Juve's attacking trident. Trezeguet gave Empoli a warning when his volley rattled the crossbar from seven yards.
But it was their captain who hit the target for the second time that day. Del Piero saw an open spot past the defensive barrier and drilled a free kick into the bottom corner.
Del Piero almost completed a hat-trick soon after with another set-piece, this time aimed at the top corner, but Bucci just managed to palm it out.
Pavel Nedved then turned a free header over the bar from a corner kick as Juve tried to seal up the points.
Trezeguet grabbed Juve's third from less than a metre out after Nedved's corner kick was touched on by an Empoli defender.
Marco Di Vaio came on for the final minutes and wreaked havoc in the Empoli defence.
However, Trezeguet snatched his second to complete the rout on 73 minutes. The Frenchman was left unmarked to chest down a cross and volley in from eight yards.
In the final minutes Di Vaio was brought down in the box by Sanchez Cribari and the ex-Parma man converted the resulting spot-kick himself.
The concentration slipped and Di Natale sprung the offside trap to drill an angled effort past Buffon, although by this stage it was mere consolation for Empoli.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Juventus: Buffon; Thuram, Legrottaglie, Montero, Zambrotta; Tacchinardi, Appiah; Miccoli (Camoranesi 46), Nedved (Maresca 80), Del Piero (Di Vaio 68); Trezeguet
Empoli: Bucci; Belleri, Cribari, Lucchini, Cupi; Busc¨¨, Giampieretti, Grella; Tavano, Rocchi, Di Natale
Ref: Pellegrino
dreamer75
01-09-2003, 01:48 PM
Juventus 5-1 Empoli
Marcello Lippi: ¡°Our balance wasn¡¯t perfect, but we saw some good things from this performance. David Trezeguet is improving after a tiring pre-season training regime. When Edgar Davids is on form he will play as well. He¡¯ll have his time, just like Gianluca Pessotto, Marcelo Zalayeta and Mark Iuliano.¡±
Daniele Baldini: ¡°I did not like the team¡¯s attitude today, but clearly this Juventus is too strong for us. We created some good chances in the first half, but just seemed to give up after the break. You certainly cannot afford to do that against Juve.¡±
dreamer75
01-09-2003, 01:58 PM
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid77/p6c486b1c087902c0326d5682f89579cc/fb38c55b.jpg
dreamer75
01-09-2003, 01:58 PM
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid77/p305b6e4d08e1d7944b88f1b7a0442de2/fb38c558.jpg
dreamer75
02-09-2003, 01:51 AM
Juventus insist that Edgar Davids hasn’t been frozen out of the squad despite being dropped for the Empoli game.
The Bianconeri demolished the Tuscan outfit 5-1 on Sunday but the Dutchman was not even among the substitutes which fuelled new rumours of a split.
"I can enlighten everybody of the truth," insisted Bianconeri transfer chief Luciano Moggi. "If you don’t want to believe me then that is your decision.
"The fact is that Davids, like Mark Iuliano and Igor Tudor, are not in great form. But fortunately we have a massive squad that Marcello Lippi can count on.
"Therefore the Coach is free to make the decisions which he feels are right for the good of the team. But the absence of Davids doesn’t mean that we won’t see him again."
However, it is also clear that not all is well between the club and the former Ajax and Milan midfielder.
Davids, the subject of a summer bid from Chelsea, only has a year left on his Delle Alpi contract and he reportedly isn’t interested in a renewal.
That has not been well received by the Bianconeri who will not be eligible to receive a transfer fee next summer for their £10m rated player.
Davids’ place in the Juve side was taken by summer signing Stephan Appiah in yesterday’s opening Serie A weekend.
dreamer75
02-09-2003, 01:52 AM
A superstitious Alessandro Del Piero believes his two goals against Empoli could result in a third successive Scudetto.
The Italian has netted a brace on the opening day of the season in the past two campaigns and they both resulted in Juventus title glory.
"When I start the season off with a double strike we go on to win the League," stated the Italian. "I do believe in these things so I hope the trend continues this year too."
Del Piero impressed in the 5-1 victory as Juve turned on the style with the help of their new 4-2-3-1 system.
"It wasn’t as easy as the result suggested," he explained. "We were up against a courageous side who created a number of problems in the first half.
"We’ll undoubtedly try the system again in the future but the most important factor was that we begun the term with a victory."
However, it wasn’t all smiles for the No 10 as he took exception to being substituted in the second half of the game.
"It is true that I did get upset," he noted. "But that is because I want to play all of the time. It just means I will have more energy for the national side."
Del Piero is in the squad for the crucial Euro 2004 qualifiers against Wales and Serbia-Montenegro next week.
With Roma’s Francesco Totti missing with injury, Del Piero may be fielded in a central attacking midfield role by boss Giovanni Trapattoni.
dreamer75
02-09-2003, 02:08 AM
Ratings:
GAZZETTA DELLO SPORT: Buffon 7, Thuram 6, Legrottaglie 7, Montero 6, Zambrotta 7.5, Tacchinardi 6, Appiah 6, Miccoli 5.5, Camoranesi 6.5, Nedved 6.5, Maresca sv, Del Piero 8, Di Vaio 6.5, Trezeguet 6.5.
CORRIERE DELLO SPORT: Buffon 7, Thuram 6.5, Legrottaglie 6.5, Montero 6, Zambrotta 6.5, Tacchinardi 6.5, Appiah 6.5, Miccoli 5.5, Camoranesi 6.5, Nedved 6.5, Maresca sv, Del Piero 7.5, Di Vaio 6, Trezeguet 7.
TUTTOSPORT: Buffon 7.5, Thuram 6, Legrottaglie 6.5, Montero 6, Zambrotta 7, Tacchinardi 6.5, Appiah 7, Miccoli 5.5, Camoranesi 6.5, Nedved 6, Maresca sv, Del Piero 7.5, Di Vaio 6, Trezeguet 7.
LA STAMPA: Buffon 7, Thuram 6, Legrottaglie 6.5, Montero 6, Zambrotta 7, Tacchinardi 6.5, Appiah 7, Miccoli 5.5, Camoranesi 6.5, Nedved 6, Maresca sv, Del Piero 7.5, Di Vaio 6.5, Trezeguet 7.
CORRIERE DELLA SERA: Buffon 7, Thuram 6.5, Legrottaglie 7, Montero 6.5, Zambrotta 6.5, Tacchinardi 7, Appiah 7, Miccoli 5.5, Camoranesi 6.5, Nedved 6, Maresca sv, Del Piero 8, Di Vaio 6, Trezeguet 7.
LA REPUBBLICA: Buffon 7.5, Thuram 6, Legrottaglie 6, Montero 6, Zambrotta 7, Tacchinardi 6, Appiah 6.5, Miccoli 5, Camoranesi 6.5, Nedved 5.5, Maresca sv, Del Piero 7.5, Di Vaio 6.5, Trezeguet 7.5.
onetailed
02-09-2003, 10:56 AM
i'm really glad to see a juventus forum on HWZ. this is my first time in this forum. i'm mostly in the pc games section.
thanks to dreamer for all the update. they are very comprehensive.
btw... where did you get all the info from?
i have 2 sites which i check in occassionally for juve new, they are:
http://www.juvefc.com/
http://www.juventuz.com/
i think the first one's quite good, as it will show clips of juve's goals during the season.
FORZA JUVE!
dreamer75
02-09-2003, 01:18 PM
Originally posted by onetailed
i'm really glad to see a juventus forum on HWZ. this is my first time in this forum. i'm mostly in the pc games section.
thanks to dreamer for all the update. they are very comprehensive.
btw... where did you get all the info from?
i have 2 sites which i check in occassionally for juve new, they are:
http://www.juvefc.com/
http://www.juventuz.com/
i think the first one's quite good, as it will show clips of juve's goals during the season.
FORZA JUVE!
Hi onetailed,
welcome!!
Thanks, i just wanna share this with all Juve fans out there. :)
I got most of the news from
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/news.html
Woo, thanks for the sites.
Do they have the video clips of the Juve vs Empoli match? Can't find leh...
FORZA JUVE!!
dreamer75
02-09-2003, 01:28 PM
I pity the Empoli GK who dived to try to save the Del Piero free kick, muz be very painful. But great dive, shows real commitment by putting his body on the line... ouch!
http://www.juventus.soccer.com.pl/multimedia/terminarz/serie_a/01_juv-emp_delpiero1.avi
dreamer75
02-09-2003, 01:34 PM
Check this out!
it's a short higlight of the match with the goals
http://www.raisport.rai.it/pub/static/31800/31080390JuventusEmpoli_1.ram
onetailed
02-09-2003, 01:58 PM
i think it will be posted on the website soon... coz i've been checking out juve's goal clips from that site since beginning of this year... they will put it up... but maybe abit late sometimes... ^^
dreamer75
05-09-2003, 01:38 PM
Moggi extend his contract leh...we dun wanna lose him..
September 5, 2003
Real Madrid trainer Carlos Queiroz has confirmed the Spanish champs will be active during the January transfer window.
"We are short in too many areas, our plan is to strengthen in December," admitted Queiroz.
The replacement of Claude Makelele is a priority for Real with Juventus ace Edgar Davids emerging as a major target.
Already, Italian press speculation suggests a £10 million offer from Real will be made for the Dutchman, whose contract runs out next June.
dreamer75
05-09-2003, 01:41 PM
No...we can't lose defenders too..
September 5, 2003
Chelsea are chasing Juventus defender Mark Iuliano.
The veteran Italian international still has two years left on his Turin contract, but Chelsea owner Roman
Abramovich plans to sign the defender during January's transfer window.
Juve have been made aware of Chelsea's interest and are already planning to open talks with Iuliano's representatives about a new contract extension.
dreamer75
05-09-2003, 01:58 PM
Juventus transfer guru Luciano Moggi has dismissed claims that Edgar Davids will be playing for Roma next season.
Capital President Franco Sensi says he will sign the 30-year-old on a free transfer next summer but Moggi isn’t so sure.
"I think it will be extremely difficult for them to get him," stated the Bianconeri official when asked about the proposed move.
However, the Olimpico chief is still confident that he will get his man despite similar claims that he made last summer.
"He turned down a move to Chelsea because he wants to join us," added Sensi. "He may be a Juventus player for now but that won’t always be the case.
"His contract expires in less than a year and we are very interested in taking him on. We’re already a great team but his arrival would complete us."
Nevertheless, Davids’ agent is also playing down stories that his client will be wearing a Giallorossi shirt next term.
"Edgar is a serious professional and he will respect his commitment to Juventus until the very end," explained Robert Geerlings
dreamer75
05-09-2003, 01:59 PM
Juventus boss Marcello Lippi will persist with his offensive 4-2-3-1 tactics once Fabrizio Miccoli is fully fit.
The tactician fielded Alex Del Piero, Pavel Nedved and Miccoli all behind David Trezeguet on Sunday with mixed results.
Although Juve beat Empoli 5-1, the game turned in the second half after Miccoli was replaced by Mauro Camoranesi.
However, it was subsequently revealed that the Italian wasn’t feeling that well and was later rushed to hospital to remove his appendix.
"I will try that formula again as soon as I can," stated the tactician. "A lot depends on the shape of Fabrizio but I want to use this system as much as possible.
"If we can organise ourselves a bit better on the field of play then we can improve our offensive capabilities.
"I must admit that our first half display against Empoli left me perplexed but then I understood that it was mainly down to player fitness."
Some critics believe that the system leaves Trezeguet too isolated at times but Lippi doesn’t agree.
"Trezeguet is now in good shape," he added after the Frenchman scored twice against the Tuscan outfit. "And when he doesn’t play then Di Vaio will replace him."
Lippi was again questioned about Edgar Davids’ future at the club after he was left out of the squad last weekend.
"He wasn’t called up for tactical reasons," maintained the former Inter boss.
dreamer75
07-09-2003, 04:41 PM
Some comments on Juve players playing for Italy's 4-0 over Wales :)
Buffon ; really had nothing to do but did make a crucial save on Giggs when it was still 0-0 , the only other thing he did worth taking about was trying to fight the entire team by himself (6)
Zambrotta; Oh my goodness whata super player he is turning out to be, imo Juve's best player(outfield) since the turn of the year and his form has been on the up and up, he is close to being one of the best allround players around (8)
Camonaresi : the more I watch him the more I am so unimpressed by his play, very slow, holds up play too much and to think there was this hulaballoo about his playing for Italy, no way would Argentina have used him at all imo, did some nice things but Id prefer him to start on the bench (6)
Delpiero ; with his match against Switzerland and Romania in wc2002 qualifiers in Romania , this has been his best performance for the azzurri, he was simply classy, played on the left very well, made a very cute shot in the secondhalf which was reminicent of the Dp of the 94-97/98 seasons, and did quite well as a playmaker much to my surprise (8)
demouse
07-09-2003, 07:43 PM
Some comments on Juve players playing for Italy's 4-0 over Wales :)
Buffon ; really had nothing to do but did make a crucial save on Giggs when it was still 0-0 , the only other thing he did worth taking about was trying to fight the entire team by himself (6)
Zambrotta; Oh my goodness whata super player he is turning out to be, imo Juve's best player(outfield) since the turn of the year and his form has been on the up and up, he is close to being one of the best allround players around (8)
Camonaresi : the more I watch him the more I am so unimpressed by his play, very slow, holds up play too much and to think there was this hulaballoo about his playing for Italy, no way would Argentina have used him at all imo, did some nice things but Id prefer him to start on the bench (6)
Delpiero ; with his match against Switzerland and Romania in wc2002 qualifiers in Romania , this has been his best performance for the azzurri, he was simply classy, played on the left very well, made a very cute shot in the secondhalf which was reminicent of the Dp of the 94-97/98 seasons, and did quite well as a playmaker much to my surprise (8)
Zambrotta is my no 1, he's damn good :eek:
as for Camonaresi, agreed wif u that he's not that impressive. i would prefer to put Fiore in place of him.
so 1 question, how's Trap going to put Vieri, Pippo, Alex & Totti in future matches?
demouse
08-09-2003, 10:49 AM
Davids takes anger out on Ruud
Edgar Davids’ frustration at the Juventus contract stalemate is showing through following a bust-up with Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The midfielder squared up to his fellow Dutchman in a tense training ground incident this morning.
“I have the best players on the continent,” explained Holland boss Dick Advocaat, “but they are not willing to accept things from each other.”
This is the latest off the field problem to have struck Davids in a disastrous season so far.
He proved a pivotal figure in Juve’s Scudetto victory at the end of the last campaign and helped take the team to the Champions’ League Final.
But his refusal to sign a new contract – and therefore leave free of charge next summer – has seen him locked in a bitter row with the club.
This weekend Juventus director general Luciano Moggi conceded there would be no further mediation to pen a new deal.
“Davids is free to go wherever he wants at the end of the season,” said the transfer guru, “but until then he is a Juventus player.”
It is reported that the Bianconeri will now discipline Davids by playing him with the youth team.
He was already left on the bench for the Italian Super Cup win over Milan and not even called up for last Sunday’s 5-1 Serie A debut against Empoli.
Having rejected a £10m switch to Chelsea and Barcelona during the summer, Juve are quite prepared to punish the former Ajax man by leaving him on the sidelines indefinitely.
definitely he's leaving juve next season
rumours he's going Roma but i dun fancy, he has attitute problem leh
dreamer75
08-09-2003, 01:40 PM
Davids takes anger out on Ruud
Edgar Davids’ frustration at the Juventus contract stalemate is showing through following a bust-up with Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The midfielder squared up to his fellow Dutchman in a tense training ground incident this morning.
“I have the best players on the continent,” explained Holland boss Dick Advocaat, “but they are not willing to accept things from each other.”
This is the latest off the field problem to have struck Davids in a disastrous season so far.
He proved a pivotal figure in Juve’s Scudetto victory at the end of the last campaign and helped take the team to the Champions’ League Final.
But his refusal to sign a new contract – and therefore leave free of charge next summer – has seen him locked in a bitter row with the club.
This weekend Juventus director general Luciano Moggi conceded there would be no further mediation to pen a new deal.
“Davids is free to go wherever he wants at the end of the season,” said the transfer guru, “but until then he is a Juventus player.”
It is reported that the Bianconeri will now discipline Davids by playing him with the youth team.
He was already left on the bench for the Italian Super Cup win over Milan and not even called up for last Sunday’s 5-1 Serie A debut against Empoli.
Having rejected a £10m switch to Chelsea and Barcelona during the summer, Juve are quite prepared to punish the former Ajax man by leaving him on the sidelines indefinitely.
definitely he's leaving juve next season
rumours he's going Roma but i dun fancy, he has attitute problem leh
Real Madrid in Jan? But of cuz i dun want him to leave. Juve always like to sell away their GOOD players!! :mad:
demouse
08-09-2003, 02:03 PM
Real Madrid in Jan? But of cuz i dun want him to leave. Juve always like to sell away their GOOD players!! :mad:
maybe juve would want to sell him to real in jan for the $ instead of letting him go for free next june. but to real? to strength their weakest part, i hope not :rolleyes:
dreamer75
09-09-2003, 12:35 AM
maybe juve would want to sell him to real in jan for the $ instead of letting him go for free next june. but to real? to strength their weakest part, i hope not :rolleyes:
i hipe not too..
dreamer75
09-09-2003, 12:36 AM
September 7, 2003
Juventus are favourites to sign Auxerre defender Philippe Mexes.
Though he has a new contract to 2006, Mexes and his representatives are believed to be angling for a release after the European championships next year.
AC Milan, Inter and Juventus are all keen to speak with the young defender, however Juve are said to be favourites for his signature.
Italian press reports suggest Mexes' French colleague, Marcel Desailly, has been critical of his time at Milan when speaking with Mexes about his future.
dreamer75
09-09-2003, 11:47 AM
yes....go Moggi go..
September 9, 2003
Juventus are planning to expand their Czech Republic influence over the next 12 months.
After the success of midfield ace Pavel Nedved, Juve are now planning to strengthen their defence with at least one of his Czech Republic teammates.
Hamburg's highly-rated centre-half Tomas Ujfalusi, who is also interesting Arsenal and Tottenham, is in Juve's sights along with Viktoria Pilsen youngster Petr Knakal.
dreamer75
09-09-2003, 01:57 PM
I'm expecting quite a few goals because over the last two seasons that is how it has been.
Season 01/02:
Juventus 3-2 Chievo
Chievo 1-3 Juventus
Season 02/03:
Chievo 1-4 Juventus
Juventus 4-3 Chievo
demouse
09-09-2003, 02:00 PM
I'm expecting quite a few goals because over the last two seasons that is how it has been.
Season 01/02:
Juventus 3-2 Chievo
Chievo 1-3 Juventus
Season 02/03:
Chievo 1-4 Juventus
Juventus 4-3 Chievo
chievo is getting weaker & weaker, they sold most of their good players. no problem to get more goals lah
juve vs roma in week 3 rite?
dreamer75
11-09-2003, 02:00 PM
chievo is getting weaker & weaker, they sold most of their good players. no problem to get more goals lah
juve vs roma in week 3 rite?
yes :)
dreamer75
11-09-2003, 02:01 PM
September 11, 2003
Chelsea are stepping up their bid for Juventus defender Mark Iuliano.
The Italy international is becoming unsettled after starting the season out of the first team picture.
A long-term target for Middlesbrough, Iuliano is also emerging as a target for Chelsea boss Claudio Ranieri.
Along with teammate Edgar Davids, Iuliano is expected to attract a serious offer from the London giants in January.
demouse
13-09-2003, 01:17 PM
Moggi bets on Davids stay
Juventus director general Luciano Moggi claims he would bet on Edgar Davids being in Turin this time next year.
“The contract depends on both us and him,” noted the transfer guru. “But I’ll bet you that next year Davids will still be here with Juve.”
The tension between the player and club has been clear for all to see for several months now.
Davids refused a move to Chelsea this summer and is reportedly prepared to join Roma as a free agent when his current deal expires in June 2004.
This strain has spilled out during international duty, as he was sent off during Holland’s 3-1 defeat in the Czech Republic and engaged in a training ground scuffle with Ruud van Nistelrooy.
When the midfielder was dropped for the Serie A debut against Empoli, it led some to speculate he would be sold in January.
“I met with Davids’ agent this week,” continued Moggi, “and explained why Edgar is not playing right now.”
“Quite simply, he isn’t on top form at the moment. That is all there is to it, and a loss of form can happen to any player.”
Signs of a breakthrough occurred this weekend, as Davids was included in the squad travelling to Chievo.
Sunday’s game could even see the Dutchman on from the start, especially as Juve must rotate the squad ahead of their Champions’ League opener against Galatasaray.
It is likely that David Trezeguet and Gianluca Zambrotta will be rested following their international exploits, giving room to Marco Di Vaio and Alessandro Birindelli.
make up his mind lah :bounce:
demouse
13-09-2003, 01:31 PM
Serie A Week 2
13 Sep, Sat @ 11:55pm - Sampdoria vs Lazio Live @ Ch 22
14 Sep, Sun @ 02:25am - Milan vs Bologna Live @ Ch 21
14 Sep, Sun @ 08:55pm - Siena vs Inter Live @ Ch 21
14 Sep, Sun @ 08:55pm - Roma vs Brescia Live @ Ch 22 (TBC)
15 Sep, Mon @ 02:25am - Chievo vs Juventus Live @ Ch 21
dreamer75
13-09-2003, 01:46 PM
Serie A Week 2 - 14/9/03 (20.30)
Chievo - Juventus
LIVE on British Eurosport (7pm UK time)
Stadio Bentegodi
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Juventus made a spectacular start to their Serie A season but Chievo will prove their first real test at the Stadio Bentegodi.
The Scudetto holders demolished Empoli 5-1 in Turin for their debut, although the final score flattered Marcello Lippi’s men following an even first half. The Coach will be forced to do without Fabrizio Miccoli for a couple of weeks as the ‘pocket striker’ underwent an emergency appendectomy just hours after leaving the field in that game.
Juve will probably revert back to the more balanced system with Mauro Camoranesi on the right and Pavel Nedved behind front two Alessandro Del Piero and David Trezeguet. Edgar Davids may again be left out as the stalemate over contracts continues.
Chievo drew 1-1 at Brescia in their seasonal debut and showed some difficulty in creating scoring opportunities. The departure of top stars such as Luciano, Eugenio Corini, Massimo Marazzina and Oliver Bierhoff over the summer has left a gap, but Coach Gigi Del Neri has always excelled in finding talent around Italy’s smaller sides.
Giuseppe Sculli has finally ended his goal drought with a brace in the Under-21 squad’s 8-1 destruction of Wales and will again partner Federico Cossato upfront.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Chievo (probable): Marchegiani; Moro, Sala, D’Anna, Lanna; Santana, Perrotta, Baronio, Franceschini; Cossato, Sculli
Juventus (probable): Buffon; Thuram, Legrottaglie, Montero, Zambrotta; Tacchinardi, Appiah, Camoranesi; Nedved; Del Piero, Trezeguet
Ref: To follow
dreamer75
13-09-2003, 02:09 PM
September 13, 2003
Alessandro del Piero is ready to pen a new contract at Juventus.
The Italian international attacker is set sign a deal which will keep him in Turin until 2008.
Del Piero has been linked with Arsenal and Manchester United over the past year, but has settled on seeing out his career with the Serie A champs.
"I have thought long and hard about my situation," said Del Piero yesterday. "It would be a very difficult decision to walk away from this club - even if it was for more money."
Juve chief Luciano Moggi has already had the contract drawn up and Del Piero is expected to ink his deal once his lawyers have given it the once over.
dreamer75
13-09-2003, 02:21 PM
Chievo-Juventus: probable formations
The probable formations of Chievo-Juventus , valid contest for 2ª the day of the championship of Series To in program Sunday to the 15 to the stage "Bentegodi" of Verona.
Chievo (4-4-2): 1 Marchegiani; 27 Moor, 14 Knows It, 10 D`Anna, 23 Lanna; 81 Santana, 8 Baronio, 20 Perrotta, 19 Franceschini; 24 Cossato, 2 Sculli.
(76 Frezzolini, 2 Mensah, 43 Barzagli, 4 Morrone, 16 De Franceschi, 11 Amauri, 7 Semioli).
All . Of The Black Ones.
Juventus (4-2-3-1): 1 Buffon; 21 Thuram, 23 Legrottaglie, 13 Iuliano, 15 Birindelli; 5 Tudor, 18 Appiah; 16 Camoranesi, 11 Nedved, 10 Of The Piero; 17 Trezeguet.
(12 Chimenti, 2 Ferrara, 4 Montero, 19 Zambrotta, 3 Tacchinardi, 16 Davids, 20 Of Vaio).
All . Lippi.
Indisponibili : Pessotto, Miccoli.
Arbitrator : Trefoloni of Siena.
dreamer75
13-09-2003, 11:42 PM
Chievo have already done more than enough in the past seasons to prove that their emergence in Serie A is no fluke, they actually defeated big teams like Roma last season (in their own backyard) and also impressed against others. However, we seem to have a perfect record against them and Lippi have always prevailed over Del Neri in all 4 Serie A matches between the two teams.
Our players seem to be in good shape as Del Piero impressed with the Azzurri (against Wales) along with Zambrotta and Camoranesi, while Trezeguet snatched some goals while on-duty for France and Nedved did well with the Czech Rep. Despite that, there is a good chance some of those big names would be rested on Sunday night to be in perfect condition when facing Galatasaray in our first Champions League match of the season (Wednesday).
Lippi hinted that players like Davids, Tudor, and Iuliano will see some action soon. Davids did rock the boat with his bust-up with Van Nistelrooy in the build-up towards the Czech Rep. Euro2004 match as well as his running contract difficulties, and some rumours even indicate that he will be fielded with the Primavera team indefinately as punishment. But Davids might take part in this match as Lippi would want to use all of his available resources. Birindelli and Di Vaio might start too to give Zambrotta and Trezeguet rest.
It would be interesting to see Legrottaglie back in the Bentigodi Stadium but as an opponent this time. Appiah saved some energy for this match as he rested during the week and would be fresh for this encounter, hopefully.
Juventus Goal Scorers vs. Chievo Verona
David Trezeguet 4
Alessandro Del Piero 2
Marcelo Danubio Zalayeta 2
Ciro Ferrara 1
Alessio Tacchinardi 1
Igor Tudor 1
Chievo Verona Goal Scorers vs. Juventus
Federico Cossato 1
Past Encounters:
05/24/2003 Juventus-Chievo Verona 4-3
01/19/2003 Chievo Verona-Juventus 1-4
01/27/2002 Chievo Verona-Juventus 1-3
09/15/2001 Juventus-Chievo Verona 3-2
Aggregate: Juventus 14 - Chievo Verona 7
dreamer75
13-09-2003, 11:43 PM
According to la Gazzetta Zambrotta and Trezeguet will be rested for this match ahead of the CL encounter with Galatasary. Here is their probable line-up:
Buffon
Thuram Legrottaglie Montero Birindelli
Tacchinardi Appiah
Camoranesi Nedved Del Piero
Di Vaio
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.