PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

wes
18-07-2003, 03:51 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He said that many times, his words can't be trusted. I reckon its nearing the time we just pull the plug on the whole deal. Its getting beyond a joke, each day longer we stay interested, the more we have to pay.

precisely...
not too long ago i am looking forward to seeing ronnie sign for us...but after considering certain factors i feel it will be a risk to sign a unproven,bad discipline player for 20 million pound....

yulee
18-07-2003, 03:54 PM
Sir Alex must be getting senile in his old age... perhaps he should stick to buying property and racing horses intsead! :laugh:

stam
18-07-2003, 04:48 PM
:mad: :mad:

kengbeng
18-07-2003, 05:42 PM
I guess I won't be alone in saying that I hope the Ronnie deal willl collapse.

The bugger is using United as a stepping stone towards (guess who?) Real Madrid. His desire to play for United is highly questionable.

United should now perhaps take a look a Duff. I'll bet he'll jump at the chance to play for MU than Chelski.

kengbeng
18-07-2003, 05:54 PM
Apart from hoping that SAF will wake up and sign Duff instead, I'm also hoping that Fletcher will make his breakthrough this season. I think nothing delights a MU fan more than a homegrown player coming through the ranks.
Fletcher keen to stake a claim

Darren Fletcher, the player being tipped to become the next David Beckham, is hoping his big chance will come this season.

Teenager Fletcher broke into the Manchester United senior side last season but found his way to the top blocked by the England skipper, because he played the same wide-right role.

Now Beckham has joined Real Madrid, 19-year-old Fletcher may well get more first-team opportunities and says if that happens it will be a dream come true.

"I decided to join United when the manager [Sir Alex Ferguson] told me that the policy at the club was, if you are good enough, you would get your chance of first-team football. That was enough for me and all I wanted to hear," said the Scotland Under-21 international.

Fletcher impressed in his two senior outings last season, which included his debut in the Champions League game against FC Basel at Old Trafford, when Beckham found himself on the bench.

"The manager and a few of the players told me I did well, but I think I can do a lot better given the chance," he added in the latest edition of United's official magazine.

RVN
18-07-2003, 06:45 PM
Manchester United are making a final attempt to sign Brazilian midfielder Ronaldinho from French club Paris St Germain.

It is understood that United have decided they want the issue settled one way or the other by the end of the day. If their efforts fail then they will accept defeat and turn their attention elsewhere.

The Premiership champions have been linked with a move for Damien Duff if the Blackburn winger decides against Chelsea, but Ronaldinho remains Sir Alex Ferguson's first choice.

Barcelona are their main rivals, having bid £21 million, more than United's offer, but remarks by PSG chairman Francis Graille claiming the English side have breached FIFA regulations - by negotiating directly with the player - suggest the Brazilian would prefer Old Trafford to the Nou Camp.

United have dismissed Graille's latest outburst, viewing it as merely another attempt by the PSG president to increase the fee for his club.

Meanwhile, Kleberson, who plays alongside Ronaldinho in midfield for Brazil, was undergoing a medical in Manchester with terms and a transfer fee agreed. If the tests are satisfactory United will first seek a work permit for the player before announcing the signing - and that could take at least a week.

leslielai
18-07-2003, 06:47 PM
GET DUFF AND KLERBERSON!!!

Forget Ronaldinho, sign someone else instead... :pissed:

Hope the Kleberson deal goes through soon .. looking forward to some samba football!

RVN
18-07-2003, 06:49 PM
I heard Barca had pulled out of the deal, I bet they are also fed up as well.

Ch3tah_39
18-07-2003, 07:30 PM
Toooooo long liao la...
later both man utd and barca dun wan to buy liao..
wahahaha... gd for psg

yulee
18-07-2003, 07:39 PM
Maybe that was their Real game-plan all along - keep Ronny in PSG! :laugh:

guoquanyap
18-07-2003, 08:48 PM
finally...take it or leave it! :mad:

RVN
19-07-2003, 02:51 AM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=155226&cpid=24&title=Graille+calls+Ronnie+%26#34;truce%2634;

Make your minds up.:rolleyes:

orca_sea
19-07-2003, 03:06 AM
damn PSG :mad:

yulee
19-07-2003, 09:36 AM
http://image.guardian.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/gallery/2003/07/03/rron25.gif

http://www.dairymilk.co.uk/choc_enc/brands/images/timeout.gif

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Spock
19-07-2003, 11:22 AM
yeah maybe ronnie has some problems with his looks if he comes to manchester

RVN
19-07-2003, 11:27 AM
Its his ability on the football pitch that count, not his looks.:rolleyes:

ccloh
19-07-2003, 11:29 AM
personally would like to see ronnie dons the utd No. 7 jesery but see the way PSG is playing the transfer game, sian liao. think might as well forget it and chase for duff. afterall duff has proven himself in epl whereas ronnie though talented but cant be sure he is suitable in playing epl like the case of veron.

if fergie insists of getting a south american to the team, i believe their are dozens of rare talents in brazil and argentina waiting for ppl to unearth them. maybe fergie should go there do a search and the signing fee will definitely be cheaper.

RVN
19-07-2003, 11:29 AM
ALEX FERGUSON will find out on Monday whether he has landed Brazil World Cup winner Ronaldinho.

The summer’s longest-running transfer saga will finally end when Ronaldinho decides whether his destination is Manchester United or Barcelona.

Old Trafford boss Fergie flew out with his squad this morning for their 16-day pre-season tour of America with his patience at breaking point after failing to seal the deal for his top target.

But any thoughts of ditching the transfer were shelved when United were given a guarantee that the issue would be resolved after the weekend.

United and Barcelona are locked in a battle for 23-year-old Ronaldinho after both tabling £21million bids.

United matched the offer of the Catalan giants when Fergie and chief executive Peter Kenyon met Paris St Germain president Francis Graille for showdown talks in the French capital.

Graille, who angrily claimed that United had faxed a lower bid after verbally agreeing to pay £21m, will spend the next 48 hours considering the two offers.

The reason the transfer has taken so long is because of the financial requirements of PSG.

They have stubbornly refused to lower their valuation because of what they have to shell out from selling the player.

When Ronaldinho goes, the French club will have to pay £13.5m to the company that owns his image rights, 15 per cent of the fee to the player and another four per cent due to his old club in Brazil, Gremio.

Ronaldinho is in Brazil and has no intention of flying to Europe until a deal is struck.

kengbeng
19-07-2003, 12:58 PM
Originally posted by RVN
When Ronaldinho goes, the French club will have to pay £13.5m to the company that owns his image rights, 15 per cent of the fee to the player and another four per cent due to his old club in Brazil, Gremio.

Ronaldinho is in Brazil and has no intention of flying to Europe until a deal is struck.
Greedy agents. Ill-disciplined player. Come on, ditch the deal before it's too late!

RVN
19-07-2003, 05:47 PM
Manchester United will end their interest in Ronaldinho unless a deal for the World Cup winner can be agreed today.

United have told Ronaldinho's brother and agent Roberto Assis and Paris St Germain that they will withdraw their interest in the £20 million-rated star unless a transfer is arranged today.

The 23-year-old is also wanted by Barcelona, who have reportedly offered £21 million for the former Gremio man.

And PSG chairman Francois Graille has said that the Catalan club's bid is "superior", though Ronaldinho himself has said he would prefer to move to Old Trafford.

Sir Alex Ferguson is expected to switch his attentions to Damien Duff if the bid for Ronaldinho fails.

After weeks of intense negotiations, United chief executive Peter Kenyon finally appears to have lost patience with the French side, who they believe have been dragging the talks out in an effort to secure a higher fee.

"Negotiations between Manchester United and Paris St Germain and representatives of Ronaldinho have been ongoing for several weeks," said a United statement.

"In order to bring talks to a conclusion the club has spoken again to Paris St Germain and the players' representatives and following our final written offer submitted on Friday morning, we have notified all parties that unless an agreement is reached by 7pm Central European time today, Manchester United will
withdraw from the process."

OreoCookies
19-07-2003, 05:50 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng

Greedy agents. Ill-disciplined player. Come on, ditch the deal before it's too late!

Agreed... There are some quality youngsters under Brian McClair that Fergie can tap into... Fletcher would do well to gain the first team experience of playing in the EPL & Champs League... :)

RVN
19-07-2003, 06:04 PM
Juan Sebastian Veron was one of 20 United players who boarded the flight from Manchester to the USA on Saturday morning.

The Argentine star's future has been the subject of intense speculation for the past week or so, but his inclusion on the four-match tour of America should now end all the transfer talk.

There is only one new face among the twenty travelling from England, striker David Bellion, but another summer signing, goalkeeper Tim Howard, will join the party when they arrive in his native USA.

Eric Djemba-Djemba, meanwhile, is one of three players ordered to rest by Sir Alex Ferguson following their involvement in the Confederations Cup. The other two are Fabien Barthez and Mikael Silvestre. All three will link up with the rest of the Manchester United squad next month in Lisbon, their next port of call after the USA Tour.

The 20 players who flew out of Manchester airport on Saturday are:

David Bellion
Nicky Butt
Roy Carroll
Rio Ferdinand
Darren Fletcher
Diego Forlan
Quinton Fortune
Gary Neville
Ryan Giggs
Roy Keane
Mark Lynch
John O'Shea
Phil Neville
Danny Pugh
Ricardo
Kieran Richardson
Paul Scholes
Ole Solskjaer
Juan Veron
Ruud van Nistelrooy

Spock
19-07-2003, 06:06 PM
Can't wait to see bellion in action for man u, is this tour shown on tv?

RVN
19-07-2003, 06:36 PM
PSG given 6PM deadline over Ronnie deal
United have officially given a deadline of 6PM saturday evening for the transfer of Ronaldinho from PSG.

Its 1am in S'pore time.:)

RuMmYtUb
19-07-2003, 07:58 PM
Why Tim Howard nv go for the tour ?

kengbeng
19-07-2003, 08:15 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Why Tim Howard nv go for the tour ?
He's supposed to join up later. SAF gave him time to rest since he just joined midway through the MLS season.

kengbeng
19-07-2003, 08:17 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/3079815.stm
Barcelona 'to sign' Ronaldinho
Ronaldinho is now Barca-bound

Manchester United look set to miss out on the transfer of Ronaldinho with Barcelona now favourites to sign him.

Barcelona revealed they had been in advanced negotiations with Ronaldinho's brother and agent, Roberto Assis, and had reached agreement to sign him.

They hope to clinch the deal on Saturday, with Ronaldinho expected to fly to Spain from Brazil for a medical.

The announcement came after Manchester United set an 1800 BST Saturday deadline with Ronaldinho's current club, Paris St Germain, to strike a deal for the player.

Barcelona press spokesman Juanho Castillo said: "We are finally in agreement. We are expecting the player to fly in later on Saturday.

"There will be a medical on Sunday and then the presentation on Monday or Tuesday.

"His negotiators are very tough. but we are optimistic we'll have him here. Just two days ago we thought our chances had gone."
Good news, in my opinion. I hope now they will make a move for Duff, who is more deserving of wearing the United Red than Ronaldinho.

ccloh
19-07-2003, 08:23 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/3079815.stm

Good news, in my opinion. I hope now they will make a move for Duff, who is more deserving of wearing the United Red than Ronaldinho.

i think i must see ronnie holding up a barcelona shirt with the president at nou camp then i believe report to be true. these reports one day saying this another day saying that it is like watching a drama serial like that

yulee
19-07-2003, 08:28 PM
Reds set Roni deadline
19/7/03 11:01 AM

Manchester United issued the following statement today (Saturday) regarding the club's bid for Paris Saint Germain player Ronaldinho:

Negotiations between Manchester United and Paris Saint Germain and representatives of Ronaldinho have been ongoing for several weeks.

In order to bring the talks to a conclusion the club have spoken again with both PSG and the player's representatives, and following our final written offer submitted on Friday morning, we have notified all parties that unless an agreement is reached by 19:00 Central European Time* today (Saturday), Manchester United will withdraw from the process.

Communications Department, Manchester United
Saturday 19 July.

*18:00 British Summer Time

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now time to go for Duff! :bounce:

kengbeng
19-07-2003, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by ccloh

i think i must see ronnie holding up a barcelona shirt with the president at nou camp then i believe report to be true. these reports one day saying this another day saying that it is like watching a drama serial like that
Surely now the saga has to be concluded. United have already issued the ultimatum over the dealings and press reports are now slowly swaying Barcelona's way.

Great news. I do not want Ron to be signed.

leslielai
19-07-2003, 08:54 PM

Surely now the saga has to be concluded. United have already issued the ultimatum over the dealings and press reports are now slowly swaying Barcelona's way.

Great news. I do not want Ron to be signed.

And why not?

He's an exciting player, just perfect for Man United.

Plus the fact that so much time has been wasted on this transfer, it'll be a big disappointment if we do not land him.

kengbeng
19-07-2003, 09:15 PM
He may seem perfect. Who knows? He might prove to be a dud like Veron. It has been proven time and again that individual flair alone do not make a Man Utd player. Besides, I don't think he will make an immediate impact even if he signed. There are too many barriers to overcome playing in Manchester -- the language, the culture and the weather. I'll bet that if Real come in for him after a season in Manchester, he'll jump ship straightaway. And also, I can forsee that his well-documented night-life will certainly not go well with Sir Alex in the future.

There are a lot of risks in signing this type of player. If I were the United board, I will not want to waste money like what was done on Veron.

MSP
19-07-2003, 09:54 PM
looks like man utd lost the race liao.

click here! (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=271840&cc=4716)

good riddance PSG ;)

izux
19-07-2003, 10:34 PM
He may seem perfect. Who knows? He might prove to be a dud like Veron. It has been proven time and again that individual flair alone do not make a Man Utd player. Besides, I don't think he will make an immediate impact even if he signed. There are too many barriers to overcome playing in Manchester -- the language, the culture and the weather. I'll bet that if Real come in for him after a season in Manchester, he'll jump ship straightaway. And also, I can forsee that his well-documented night-life will certainly not go well with Sir Alex in the future.

There are a lot of risks in signing this type of player. If I were the United board, I will not want to waste money like what was done on Veron.

I fully concur with you.

yulee
19-07-2003, 10:43 PM
Barcelona set to capture Ronaldinho

Manchester United appear to have lost out in the race to sign Ronaldinho.

Barcelona were today locked in negotiations with the Brazilian's agent and brother Roberto Assis and have claimed they will unveil Ronaldinho, 23, as their new signing early next week.

Juanho Castillo, press secretary to Barca vice-president Sandro Rosell, told Sky Sports News: 'Today we will close the contract with Ronaldinho's brother.

'The player will then arrive at 6pm this evening (5pm BST) and after that probably tomorrow we will go through the medical test and decide if he is in good health, and then on Monday or Tuesday we will have the official presentation of the player.'

The news comes after United set a 6pm deadline for Ronaldinho's current club Paris St Germain to agree or reject their final offer.

Barca revealed on their website that president Joan Laporta, vice-presidents Rosell and Ferran Soriano and director-general Xavier Perez Farguell had been locked in talks with Assis since 9.30am BST this morning.

Castillo believed the thought of playing for Barcelona appealed more to the Brazilian than a move to Old Trafford.

He added: 'In many ways I think the player would prefer to come to Barcelona for the weather and other factors. It's closer in culture to the Brazilian way of life.

'We have been very careful in our dealings with Barcelona to make every step in the process with a lot of sensitivity.'

Rosell will, according to Castillo, make an announcement this afternoon with the exact fee and breakdown of the transfer should negotiations conclude positively.

Barca can only offer UEFA Cup football this season but Castillo believes the challenge of returning the Spanish giants to the big stage of the Champions League would also appeal to Ronaldinho, who would undoubtedly become the new icon of the Nou Camp if he signs.

'Sometimes when you get involved with new projects, that can give players a new challenge. We know we are not in the Champions League this year but we are very hopeful to play in it next year. Barcelona has to recover its place in the top rank of teams in Europe.

'We know the entrance of Ronaldinho will make Barcelona the focus in the world's media again. It's very important to the radio and television stations in Barcelona, who are very excited, it's very important for selling merchandise and also for the football team.'

The latest development could mean United step up their rumoured interest in Damien Duff, who is in talks with Chelsea over a move to the west London club.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is keen to bring in some top-quality players following David Beckham's departure to Real Madrid - ironically after Laporta had based his election campaign around the promise to buy the England captain - and will not want to miss out on Ronaldinho and Duff.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:rolleyes:

guoquanyap
19-07-2003, 11:35 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Juan Sebastian Veron was one of 20 United players who boarded the flight from Manchester to the USA on Saturday morning.

The Argentine star's future has been the subject of intense speculation for the past week or so, but his inclusion on the four-match tour of America should now end all the transfer talk.

There is only one new face among the twenty travelling from England, striker David Bellion, but another summer signing, goalkeeper Tim Howard, will join the party when they arrive in his native USA.

Eric Djemba-Djemba, meanwhile, is one of three players ordered to rest by Sir Alex Ferguson following their involvement in the Confederations Cup. The other two are Fabien Barthez and Mikael Silvestre. All three will link up with the rest of the Manchester United squad next month in Lisbon, their next port of call after the USA Tour.

The 20 players who flew out of Manchester airport on Saturday are:

David Bellion
Nicky Butt
Roy Carroll
Rio Ferdinand
Darren Fletcher
Diego Forlan
Quinton Fortune
Gary Neville
Ryan Giggs
Roy Keane
Mark Lynch
John O'Shea
Phil Neville
Danny Pugh
Ricardo
Kieran Richardson
Paul Scholes
Ole Solskjaer
Juan Veron
Ruud van Nistelrooy

gd at least veron is on the plane dun wish to see him go though....;)

RuMmYtUb
20-07-2003, 01:49 AM
Oh man we've lost Ronnie.... no Kewell.... who's next ? Quaresma already off to Barca..... hope Duff dun go to Chelski ..... but we need a capable right winger to fill Becks boots.... hmm why man utd dun wanna buy joe cole !?

RVN
20-07-2003, 10:56 AM
Kleberson almost certainly will join, He has passed his medical on Friday and even though there is no offical announcement cos United want to get his work permit and that could take at least a week.

yulee
20-07-2003, 11:09 AM
Ronny Barca-bound as PSG accept bid

Manchester United's summer-long pursuit of Ronaldinho today officially came to an end when Paris St Germain agreed to sell the Brazilian World Cup-winner to Barcelona.

And, in an intriguing twist to the saga, it emerged that United offered goalkeeper Fabien Barthez in their original offer for the 23-year-old playmaker.

Barthez, who joined United three years ago for £7.8million from Monaco, was dropped by manager Sir Alex Ferguson towards the end of last season and his career at Old Trafford has been marred by a series of gaffes.

United subsequently increased their bid for Ronaldinho as they attempted to fill the void left by the departure of England captain David Beckham to Real Madrid.

But they had become frustrated at their inability to wrap up the signing and had set a 6pm BST deadline for PSG to accept their latest bid today.

However, United's bid hit the rocks when Barcelona revealed earlier today they were in negotiations with Ronaldinho's brother, Roberto Assis, who is also his agent.

PSG president Francis Graille told PA: 'We accepted the Barcelona offer because it was a better offer, including financially.'

Asked about the initial bid from United which included Barthez, he added: 'I don't wish to betray the details of the negotiations.'

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Manu U tried to offload Barthez to PSG! :rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
20-07-2003, 11:13 AM
kleberson...gd gd gd...:D

Yellowfin
20-07-2003, 11:25 AM
Ronny say he had chosen for the best.......

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=155300&cpid=23&title=Ronaldinho+-+I%27ve+gone+for+the+best

RVN
20-07-2003, 11:27 AM
More like his preference for spanish football and the weather, best nope, they ain't in the CL.:laugh:

yulee
20-07-2003, 11:33 AM
Yeah - better life at Bacelona. Late night partying, smuggle girls into the dorm at night, no Sir Alex to breathe down his neck making sure he turns in early and train hard... :laugh:

Yellowfin
20-07-2003, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by yulee
Yeah - better life at Bacelona. Late night partying, smuggle girls into the dorm at night

I will encourage him to do that more often in Barca. :D :laugh:

MSP
20-07-2003, 11:48 AM
good riddance. ;)

RVN
20-07-2003, 11:49 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

I will encourage him to do that more often in Barca. :D :laugh:

Yeah, he will do that.:laugh:

MSP
20-07-2003, 11:50 AM
seriously i think this is a blessing in disguise.

duff is much better and is a hardworking player ;)

guoquanyap
20-07-2003, 12:44 PM
okie lah maybe really a blessing in disguise but it is a fact that we lost out in a bidding war again....:(

RVN
20-07-2003, 01:13 PM
Just heard channel 5 will be showing Man United vs Celtic match on Wednesday morning at 11am live.

yulee
20-07-2003, 02:48 PM
United make low-key arrival for U.S. tour
Reuters
Sunday July 20, 2003 7:36 AM

By Stephen Wood

PORTLAND, Oregon, July 19 (Reuters) - Manchester United arrived on Saturday for their pre-season tour of north America -- a trip described as the English club's bid to conquer the "final frontier" of soccer.

United, premier league champions for eight of the last 11 seasons, have an estimated 53 million fans worldwide but are anything but a household name in the U.S.

The club's board of directors, led by chief executive Peter Kenyon, hope the four-game, 16-day tour will help establish the United 'brand' in the most mouth-watering of markets.

But early signs suggest the behemoth that is Manchester United marketing may have met its match in the notoriously soccer-wary States.

Waiting for the array of multi-million pound talent at Portland airport on Saturday were 12 fans and one American television reporter.

The distinct lack of hysteria -- in contrast to their previous forays into the Far East -- made a mockery of the club's decision to secretly whisk the players direct from the plane to their downtown hotel.

When they do emerge they may notice the current issue of Men's Journal magazine on American newsstands -- bearing the face of erstwhile United midfielder David Beckham on the cover.

NEW AUDIENCE

The magazine introduced Beckham to their readers as "the most famous athlete in the world". Indeed, now the England captain has been transferred to Real Madrid, United will have to work extra hard to captivate a new audience.

On Saturday, the people of Portland were more consumed with a weekend of Highland Scottish Games and, although traffic was stopped in the city centre, it was for a parade of soldiers returning from war in Iraq.

Kenyon, however, has said the tour was never planned around an "individual player" -- Beckham -- and is confident United can make inroads into the American psyche.

He points to the fact that three of the four games, against Celtic in Seattle on Tuesday, against Juventus in New Jersey on July 31 and against Barcelona in Philadelphia on August 3, sold out within two days.

The crowd for their other match, against Club America in Los Angeles on July 27, could also top 60,000.

"The tour was planned on the basis it would sell out but to do it so quickly was a surprise and an indication we had got the planning right," Kenyon said recently.

The inclusion of new signing Tim Howard should turn heads. Howard, the U.S. goalkeeper, moved to United from Major League Soccer side New York/New Jersey MetroStars this month, although he will not join up with the squad until their arrival in New York on July 28.

With other new recruit Eric Djemba-Djemba also absent after being given time to rest following his exertions for Cameroon in the Confederations Cup, the only new face in the 20-man squad to touch down in Portland was Frenchman David Bellion.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Tail-between-their-legs" after the Ronny fiasco? :laugh:

ccloh
20-07-2003, 02:55 PM
so fergie, ronnie is history who is next on ur line to replace the right midfield void ????

stam
20-07-2003, 03:38 PM
i would suggest the spainsh boy...

SheNgyOng
20-07-2003, 04:50 PM
Originally posted by Bossman
man u got stars meh....where ?

there's not even a golden boot winner,european player or fifa world player of the year winner...

where's the stars ?:confused:
even no stars players..they also can be veri powerful!!

kengbeng
20-07-2003, 06:54 PM
Darren Fletcher

RVN
20-07-2003, 07:34 PM
Originally posted by SheNgyOng

Just becos Becks gone, we have no stars, what loads of crap, Ruud, Giggs, Ole, Scholes, Keane, Veron to name a few.:rolleyes:

kengbeng
20-07-2003, 07:42 PM
Originally posted by SheNgyOng

Why quote a post so long ago by the ever-infamous Bossman? :confused: :laugh:

guoquanyap
21-07-2003, 03:56 AM
okie we will not be going after duff afterall....:mad:

http://adsintl.starwave.com/html.ng/site=soccernet.espn.go.com&cc=eu&sec=england&pt=headlinenews&lg=eng.1&cl=manutd&adsize=120x600&transactionID=19209766049204103

kengbeng
21-07-2003, 10:43 AM
:mad:
So disappointed they are not going for Duff.

On the other hand, it may be a smokescreen this time round after the previous hoo-ha.

RVN
21-07-2003, 11:25 AM
Shame, they don't have any interest in Duff, who will we buy though as our next target:confused:

kengbeng
21-07-2003, 11:42 AM
Well, if Mr Kenyon thinks Duff is not good enough for United, then who else is? The 3 other signings we had?

RVN
21-07-2003, 11:46 AM
Manchester United chief executive Peter Kenyon has ruled out a bid for Damien Duff following the collapse of Ronaldinho's £20million move from Paris St Germain.

Kenyon is fuming at the fall-out from the Brazilian's decision, angrily attacking PSG president Francis Graille, who labelled United 'arrogant'.

However, he insisted it will not prompt a last-ditch attempt to prise Duff from Chelsea's clutches, even though the Republic of Ireland international would probably prefer to stay in the north-west if he eventually opts to leave Blackburn.

'Let's kill the Damien Duff story straightaway,' said Kenyon.

'We are not in for him. There has been no approach to the club and no approach to the player and there won't be. He is due to sign for Chelsea.'

Having learned of Ronaldinho's decision when he stepped off the charter flight which touched down last night in Portland, United's early training base for their high-profile four-match tour of America, Kenyon spent the evening digesting the rejection, which was followed up by Graille's tirade.

He claimed Old Trafford officials had become increasingly conscious over the last few days that Ronaldinho was intent on performing an about-turn on previous statements suggesting he wanted to join United and it was that which prompted the imposition of a 6pm deadline yesterday for completion of the deal.

The Brazilian promptly signed a five-year contract with Barcelona, becoming the second player this summer - after Harry Kewell - to turn down a Red Devils switch in favour of a rival who did not even have the lure of Champions League combat to offer as bait.

'You have got to be a special player to play for Manchester United,' he said.

'We offer a major stage, Champions League opportunities, a huge success factor in terms of picking up medals and financial guarantees.

'The regime is strict but it produces what most players want - a winning formula. Mentally you have to be tough enough to stand it.

'Players have to balance that against what is on offer at other places. You have to ask the question why they want to go somewhere else and you can take that how you want.'

The insinuation was clearly that both Ronaldinho and Kewell lacked sufficient ambition to join a club of United's standing, although in PSG's eyes anyway that is not particularly high.

Throughout the negotiating process, Graille has lambasted Kenyon and his team, claiming they did not show the French club any respect, went round their back trying to conclude a deal and failed to back up verbal offers with written ones.

In addition, Graille last night said United also offered keeper Fabien Barthez as a makeweight during early talks over Ronaldinho's future.

Kenyon though refuted all these accusations and was clearly annoyed they have been made public.

'I am highly disappointed at the comments, particularly as they come from a fellow member of G14,' he said.

'We are not arrogant and I am amazed at the insinuation that Fabien Barthez was offered in any deal because that is not the way we do them.'

'If we want to buy a player we go for it and if we want to sell them we do that but you can't confuse the two. Fabien is a Manchester United player and will remain so.

'I completely refute the suggestion we made one offer verbally and went back with a much lower offer in writing. We have an absolute paper trail. We don't conduct our business like that and we have enough standing with major European clubs for other people to recognise that.

'Where we finished up was not a derisory offer and could not be construed as insulting. If the player had wanted to come to Manchester United he would have done so.'

It is not the first time United's transfer policy has been questioned. Rennes were furious 12 months ago at alleged behind-the-scenes attempts to lure away full-back Julien Escude, who has since signed for Ajax, while Sunderland chairman Bob Murray branded the Old Trafford outfit 'bullies' for trying to snap up David Bellion during the January transfer window.

That deal also fell through, although Ferguson did make the young Frenchman his first signing of the close summer once Bellion's Black Cats contract had expired.

'We have checked our processes regarding transfers and we are happy with them,' said Kenyon.

'There are three components to doing a deal - club to club and the player's representatives - and we always go through the club.

'In this instance, the first time we were approached was by Ronaldinho's agent and a representative of PSG in March.'

Kenyon confirmed he had received no formal offers for Juan Sebastian Veron, who now looks set to stay at United after intense speculation last week that he was bound for Chelsea, and the club would be applying for a work permit for Kleberson once they return to England at the beginning of next month.

That good news though has not been enough to lift a tour which was supposed to show highlight the very best of United traditions, although Kenyon has dismissed suggestions that, with the departure of David Beckham thrown in, there is currently an air of uncertainty surrounding the Barclaycard Premiership champions.

'I am satisfied the club is as strong as it was last season,' he said.

'That is not to say there will not be any more activity because the deadline for Champions League signings doesn't expire until August 31.

'We have already signed David Bellion, Eric Djemba Djemba and Tim Howard and potentially Kleberson as well, so the group age of the squad is good and I believe we are in good shape.'

yulee
21-07-2003, 12:01 PM
Kenyon believes Roni blow could be a blessing

Peter Kenyon believes Ronaldinho's decision to join Barcelona could prove to be a blessing in disguise for Manchester United.

The club's chief executive admitted to MUTV that he was frustrated and disappointed after spending so much time on the transfer negotiations with Paris St Germain and Ronaldinho's brother Roberto Assis. But Kenyon closed the interview on a more positive note, telling MUTV's Steve Bower to "watch this space" as regards other possible transfers.

"When I spoke to Peter Kenyon last night, his feelings were those of frustration and disappointment," says Steve.

"The club had tracked Ronaldinho for a long time and had spent a lot of time on the deal. But I think the bottom line as far as Peter Kenyon is concerned is that Manchester United are the biggest club in the world in his eyes and that he only wants players who are 100 per cent committed to Manchester United.

"As the club went further down the line with the transfer negotiations, there were signs that Ronaldinho didn't feel that way. They were not convinced that Ronaldino wanted to play for Manchester United.

"So it may be a blessing in disguise and as Peter Kenyon said to me, it's better to find that out now than later when you've spent a lot of money on him.

"And as for other transfers, he did say to me, watch this space!"

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sour Grapes! :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
21-07-2003, 12:09 PM
I wonder Mr Kenyon will still be looking for a next "BIG" transfer target.... It seems we lack an attacking player to fill Beck's boots..

RVN
21-07-2003, 12:27 PM
Sour Grapes! :laugh:

No, it becos PSG is a greedy twat. :evil:

Virus
21-07-2003, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN

No, it becos PSG is a greedy twat. :evil:
Will you say that Ronaldino is a terrific signing if he had sign for Man U ?

RVN
21-07-2003, 01:02 PM
Originally posted by Virus

Will you say that Ronaldino is a terrific signing if he had sign for Man U ?

thing is he didn't, so what the use of saying that now.:rolleyes:

RVN
21-07-2003, 01:03 PM
Peter Kenyon has stressed that Fabien Barthez has a role to play at Manchester United, while claiming new faces could be brought to the club before the transfer window closes.

The Old Trafford chief executive has categorially dismissed suggestions from Paris St Germain that Barthez was used as a bargaining chip in their bid to land Ronaldinho.

The capture of Tim Howard heaped pressure on Barthez, and his position as United number one was cast into further doubt when PSG said they were offered the keeper in part-exchange.

Kenyon, though claims the club are not looking to sell the flamboyant Frenchman.

Refuting suggestions made by PSG president Francis Graille about United's failure bid for Ronaldinho, Kenyon said:" If we want to buy a player we go for it and if we want to sell them we do that but you can't confuse the two.

"Fabien is a Manchester United player and will remain so.

"I completely refute the suggestion we made one offer verbally and went back with a much lower offer in writing. We have an absolute paper trail. We don't conduct our business like that and we have enough standing with major European clubs for other people to recognise that.

"Where we finished up was not a derisory offer and could not be construed as insulting. If the player had wanted to come to Manchester United he would have done so.'

Many United have been left frustrated by the club's failure to beat Barcelona to the capture of Ronaldinho, but Kenyon claims they are in a strong position and hinted new players could still arrive.

Kenyon confirmed he had received no formal offers for Juan Sebastian Veron, who now looks set to stay at United after intense speculation last week that he was bound for Chelsea, and the club would be applying for a work permit for Kleberson once they return to England at the beginning of next month.

That good news though has not been enough to lift a tour which was supposed to show highlight the very best of United traditions, although Kenyon has dismissed suggestions that, with the departure of David Beckham thrown in, there is currently an air of uncertainty surrounding the Barclaycard Premiership champions.

"I am satisfied the club is as strong as it was last season," he said.

"That is not to say there will not be any more activity because the deadline for Champions League signings doesn't expire until August 31.

"We have already signed David Bellion, Eric Djemba Djemba and Tim Howard and potentially Kleberson as well, so the group age of the squad is good and I believe we are in good shape.'

"We have checked our processes regarding transfers and we are happy with them."

ralliart_ray
21-07-2003, 01:26 PM
sign dyer
hes gd.

yulee
21-07-2003, 01:29 PM
Blues boss hot on Veron
Mark Kendall*-*20 Jul 2003 11:22

AGENT Pini Zahavi has claimed that Juan Sebastian Veron remains a transfer priority for Chelsea.
The Manchester United midfielder has been repeatedly linked with a move to Stamford Bridge, and Zahavi has declared that Blues boss Clauidio Ranieri has insisted upon the capture of the Argentine.
"Roman (Abramovich) wants Veron very much," Zahavi told the News of the World. "But the man who is insisting on having him is Ranieri.
"He wants to make him the King of Chelsea."
Veron endured a disappointing first season in England last term and with Ronaldinho expected to arrive at Old Trafford had seemed likely to leave the Premiership champions despite his statements to the contrary.
However, the Brazilian's decision to opt for Barcelona over United could mean that Sir Alex Ferguson decides to retain the former Lazio playmaker.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Veron's turn now?:rolleyes:

hush66
21-07-2003, 04:36 PM
It's possible that Man U is already in the process of signing another big name. But they have chosen to keep mum about it for fear that it will become another PSG deal, where everything is revealed to the press and thus allowing the asking price to be greatly escalated.

ccloh
21-07-2003, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Peter Kenyon has stressed that Fabien Barthez has a role to play at Manchester United, while claiming new faces could be brought to the club before the transfer window closes.

The Old Trafford chief executive has categorially dismissed suggestions from Paris St Germain that Barthez was used as a bargaining chip in their bid to land Ronaldinho.

The capture of Tim Howard heaped pressure on Barthez, and his position as United number one was cast into further doubt when PSG said they were offered the keeper in part-exchange.

Kenyon, though claims the club are not looking to sell the flamboyant Frenchman.

Refuting suggestions made by PSG president Francis Graille about United's failure bid for Ronaldinho, Kenyon said:" If we want to buy a player we go for it and if we want to sell them we do that but you can't confuse the two.

"Fabien is a Manchester United player and will remain so.

"I completely refute the suggestion we made one offer verbally and went back with a much lower offer in writing. We have an absolute paper trail. We don't conduct our business like that and we have enough standing with major European clubs for other people to recognise that.

"Where we finished up was not a derisory offer and could not be construed as insulting. If the player had wanted to come to Manchester United he would have done so.'

Many United have been left frustrated by the club's failure to beat Barcelona to the capture of Ronaldinho, but Kenyon claims they are in a strong position and hinted new players could still arrive.

"I am satisfied the club is as strong as it was last season," he said.

"That is not to say there will not be any more activity because the deadline for Champions League signings doesn't expire until August 31.

"We have already signed David Bellion, Eric Djemba Djemba and Tim Howard and potentially Kleberson as well, so the group age of the squad is good and I believe we are in good shape.'

"We have checked our processes regarding transfers and we are happy with them."

he also dismissed talk abt signing duff too

stam
21-07-2003, 04:58 PM
nvm, we on the way signing another brazillian...

i think midfielders/goalkeepers over estab liao leh, so many, should buy a striker or defender...

yulee
21-07-2003, 05:01 PM
No panic buys now, insists Kenyon

Manchester United chief executive Peter Kenyon has ruled out making any panic buys after the move for Ronaldinho fell through.

Kenyon has already ruled out joining Chelsea in the chase for Blackburn winger Damien Duff after the Brazilian opted for Barcelona instead of United.

Kenyon and manager Sir Alex Ferguson put on a united front as they attempted to brush aside their disappointment at the collapse of a deal which has been pieced together over the past five months.

While Ferguson was insistent his team's trophy chances would not be affected by the Brazilian's decision, Kenyon defended United's policy of pursuing transfer targets, which has aroused suspicion more than once in recent times.

And, as he blasted back at PSG president Francis Graille's verbal assault on the club, Kenyon also stated no-one was ready to start pushing the panic button in the hunt for new recruits.

`We are not depressed about the situation because we believe we are in good shape,' said Kenyon.

`What we won't do is buy just for the sake of it - it is not what the fans want to see.

`There has been no approach for Damien Duff and there won't be. He is due to sign for Chelsea and we are not in for him.

`We feel let down by Ronaldinho but we have to move on. There was a growing concern about whether he wanted to play for Manchester United and no matter how much ability they have, unless the player is committed to the team it is a bad signing.

`The Champions League transfer deadline doesn't kick in until August 31, so we will be sitting down during this trip and assessing where we are.

`If we start the season with what we have got, nobody would be disappointed.'

Ferguson claimed that the breakdown of the deal was not a major worry for hiom.

`I am disappointed but not overly so,' said the United boss, who also laughed off suggestions that a move for Newcastle's Kieren Dyer was now imminent.

`I didn't know what the boy was thinking because we only had one discussion and he doesn't speak very good English.

`We got to the point where we wondered if he wanted to play for us or not and we have proved when we missed players in the past that it never stops us.'

While some may argue United allowed the transfer talks to drag on too long, Kenyon has been angered by accusations of arrogance from PSG president Francis Graille, who also claimed Barthez was offered to the French side as a makeweight in a potential deal.

`We are not arrogant and I am amazed at the insinuation that Fabien Barthez was offered in any deal because that is not the way we do them,' he said.

``I completely refute the suggestion we made one offer verbally and went back with a much lower offer in writing. We don't conduct our business like that and we have enough standing with major European clubs for other people to recognise that.

`Where we finished up was not a derisory offer and could not be construed as insulting. If the player had wanted to come to Manchester United he would have done so.'

Instead, the 23-year-old opted for Barca, becoming the second player this summer - after Harry Kewell - to turn down a Red Devils switch in favour of a rival who didn't even have the lure of Champions League combat to offer as bait.

`You have got to be a special player to play for Manchester United,' said Kenyon.

`What we offer is a major stage, Champions League opportunities, a huge success factor in terms of picking up medals and financial guarantees.

`The regime is strict but it produces what most players want - a winning formula. Mentally you have to be tough enough to stand it.

`You have to ask the question why they wanted to go somewhere else and you can take that how you want.'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Spin? :laugh:

ralliart_ray
21-07-2003, 09:42 PM
y panic...everything is under control...

RVN
21-07-2003, 10:20 PM
Why shall we need to buy just for the sake of buying, unlike chelski are doing, we only want players that are commited to playing for us.

RuMmYtUb
21-07-2003, 11:33 PM
But the problem now is who can fill Becks right wing place ?

kengbeng
22-07-2003, 09:44 AM
I'm hopeful one or two of the youngsters will come good this coming season. High hopes for Fletcher and Richardson.

ralliart_ray
22-07-2003, 10:39 AM
But the problem now is who can fill Becks right wing place ?

solakjear is doing well in that position...

yulee
22-07-2003, 11:18 AM
ROY IS KEANE TO GO ON AND ON
Monday July 21 2003

Manchester United skipper Roy Keane wants to silence his doubters by playing on for three more years at Old Trafford.

Fears have been raised over the 31-year-old midfielder's ability to continue to compete at the highest level as he battles to regain his best form following hip and knee surgery last season.

But, as with so many other critical points in his career, Keane is determined the critics will be proved wrong. He insisted: "I have not played as well as I can but I am not playing as badly as some are suggesting. I am more than confident I will be as good as ever and playing at the top level for another three years."

He continued: "People are saying I'm not the player I was and I'm finished with football. I've been a professional for 13 years and had a lot of pats on the back but this is the worst criticism I have had in my career.

"You have to try not to get too carried away with the success and try not to get too down with all the negative stuff. Please God, I have three years left at Manchester United but if not I still think I will be playing at the top level somewhere."

Keane has admitted he would like to move into management when he retires as a player and United boss Sir Alex Ferguson insists the Irishman has the potential to make the transition. He said: "Absolutely no doubt about that. If he wants to do it he'll be an absolutely brilliant manager."

Keane has revealed he has taken the first tentative steps towards becoming a coach, even though he stresses he wants to play on for three more years. He has spoken to Steve McClaren - now Middlesbrough's manager after a spell as assistant at Old Trafford - about the coaching road he needs to take.

He admitted: "Being 32 in August you start to think of these things. If you had asked me two years ago about management, I would have told you it wasn't even on my mind.

"Now as I have got a bit older, I have spoken to Steve McClaren and one or two other people and started to think along those lines about getting my coaching badges and being a manager some day. It is a road I think I would like to go down but again it is dangerous thinking too far ahead."

But the thirst for action still burns within Keane. He added: I am doing everything to make sure I can carry on as long as I can at United. Not a day goes by when I am not looking to do something that could prolong my career."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

They can't sign any Real world class players at the moment - so they just recycle the old ones! :laugh:

RVN
22-07-2003, 11:32 AM
They can't sign any Real world class players at the moment - so they just recycle the old ones! :laugh:

You are talking ****.:eek:

RVN
22-07-2003, 12:17 PM
Manchester United's quest to strengthen their squad remains a top priority after the collapse of their Ronaldinho bid, chief executive Peter Kenyon said on Monday.

United missed out on the Brazilian forward when he chose to join Barcelona on Saturday, and the English premier league champions then revealed they had no interest in hijacking Damien Duff's move from Blackburn Rovers to Chelsea.

Kenyon and manager Alex Ferguson are trying to devote their energies to the start of United's pre-season tour of the United States, but Kenyon says the 16-day trip will not interfere with the wider agenda of success in the transfer market.

"Just because you are away from home doesn't mean business stops," he told Reuters.

Ferguson covets at least one major signing before the Champions League transfer deadline of August 31, but Kenyon is eager to play down the pressure on his manager.

"We've tried to bring players in for this season -- Ronaldinho didn't work but we have made additions already," he said.

"They will add something to the squad, which we are happy with ... it is a strong squad."

United have signed midfielders David Bellion and Eric Djemba-Djemba and goalkeeper Tim Howard, with Brazilian midfielder Kleberson set to complete his transfer to Old Trafford once the U.S. tour ends.

Bellion could make his United debut on Tuesday as they face Celtic at Seahawks Stadium in Seattle in their first pre-season game.

British media have often suggested that Celtic manager Martin O'Neill could succeed Ferguson as manager at Old Trafford, but O'Neill diplomatically side-stepped the issue at their pre-match news conference on Monday.

"Following Alex Ferguson will be daunting for anybody," O'Neill said.

"The job has never been offered (to me). I don't see any other top quality managers, like Ottmar Hitzfeld or Fabio Capello, rushing to the job.

"I have the utmost respect for Ferguson. What he has done at United belies belief."

kiply
22-07-2003, 12:20 PM
Keane as manager?!! Half his players will end up in hospital after kena hantam by him if underperform! :laugh:
Once a thug, always a thug.

yulee
22-07-2003, 01:27 PM
I'm sure his "Flying-boot" will be more lethal than sir Alex's ! :laugh:

RVN
22-07-2003, 01:39 PM
Originally posted by kiply
Keane as manager?!! Half his players will end up in hospital after kena hantam by him if underperform! :laugh:

Then Bowyer is the racist thug.:laugh:

ccloh
22-07-2003, 02:18 PM
ROY IS KEANE TO GO ON AND ON
Monday July 21 2003

Manchester United skipper Roy Keane wants to silence his doubters by playing on for three more years at Old Trafford.

Fears have been raised over the 31-year-old midfielder's ability to continue to compete at the highest level as he battles to regain his best form following hip and knee surgery last season.

But, as with so many other critical points in his career, Keane is determined the critics will be proved wrong. He insisted: "I have not played as well as I can but I am not playing as badly as some are suggesting. I am more than confident I will be as good as ever and playing at the top level for another three years."

He continued: "People are saying I'm not the player I was and I'm finished with football. I've been a professional for 13 years and had a lot of pats on the back but this is the worst criticism I have had in my career.

"You have to try not to get too carried away with the success and try not to get too down with all the negative stuff. Please God, I have three years left at Manchester United but if not I still think I will be playing at the top level somewhere."

Keane has admitted he would like to move into management when he retires as a player and United boss Sir Alex Ferguson insists the Irishman has the potential to make the transition. He said: "Absolutely no doubt about that. If he wants to do it he'll be an absolutely brilliant manager."

Keane has revealed he has taken the first tentative steps towards becoming a coach, even though he stresses he wants to play on for three more years. He has spoken to Steve McClaren - now Middlesbrough's manager after a spell as assistant at Old Trafford - about the coaching road he needs to take.

He admitted: "Being 32 in August you start to think of these things. If you had asked me two years ago about management, I would have told you it wasn't even on my mind.

"Now as I have got a bit older, I have spoken to Steve McClaren and one or two other people and started to think along those lines about getting my coaching badges and being a manager some day. It is a road I think I would like to go down but again it is dangerous thinking too far ahead."

But the thirst for action still burns within Keane. He added: I am doing everything to make sure I can carry on as long as I can at United. Not a day goes by when I am not looking to do something that could prolong my career."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

keane is still good enough for epl man.

yulee
22-07-2003, 03:43 PM
I think it's time for Roy Keane to move on - maybe as Sir Alex's assistant (or "Enforcer") :laugh:

RVN
22-07-2003, 03:48 PM
I think it's time for Roy Keane to move on - maybe as Sir Alex's assistant (or "Enforcer") :laugh:

None, he is still good enough to play football for a few more years before he retires.

yulee
22-07-2003, 07:09 PM
Ron blast at United

Ronaldinho fired a fierce broadside at Manchester United last night insisting: “I’ve got nothing to prove to you.” The Brazilian infuriated United when he opted to join Barcelona from Paris St Germain for £21million instead of moving to Old Trafford. United managing director Peter Kenyon, in America with the club on a pre-season tour, labelled Ronaldinho “a bottler.” The Reds’ official website rubbed it in with a Kenyon quote that read: “You have to be a special player, a big-game player, to play for United.” But Ronaldinho claimed if he had joined United it would have been simply for money, because the Spanish League was the best in the world. Ronaldinho, 23, said after his medical in Barcelona yesterday: “I haven’t got anything to prove to the English. My first option was always to play in Spain. There were a lot of reasons but the most important one is that it is where the best championship in the world is. If it had just been about money I would have gone to United, for sure, especially as they were playing in the Champions League.” But Ronaldinho admitted he was not sure he had made the right decision. He added: “I’m grateful Alex Ferguson was so interested in me but in life you have to make a lot of important decisions. I've opted for Barca and I hope I haven't made a mistake."
Shaun Custis, The Sun

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The incident seemed to have left a bad after-taste in alot of people's mouths...=p

reload2003
22-07-2003, 07:23 PM

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
22-07-2003, 08:30 PM

from this statement it really show that u are really shallow....:pissed:

Yellowfin
22-07-2003, 09:56 PM
Lucky Man U didn't sign Ronny.

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=155578&cpid=23&title=Ronnie:+Barca+were+my+first+choice

He say Barca is his first choice.

yulee
22-07-2003, 10:21 PM
After claiming he wanted to be the first Brazillian to put on a ManU shirt he's back-paddling real fast right now! :rolleyes:

kiply
23-07-2003, 08:26 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

from this statement it really show that u are really shallow....:pissed:

I've never liked him since his prawn sandwich remarks. And to trivialise another player's injury so as to sensationalise his book, I find that disgusting.

guoquanyap
23-07-2003, 09:41 AM

I've never liked him since his prawn sandwich remarks. And to trivialise another player's injury so as to sensationalise his book, I find that disgusting.

well seem like most of man u fan dun hate him....;)

guoquanyap
23-07-2003, 09:47 AM
heard that david bellion will make his debut today! wow so excited...going to catch at 11am later ;)

kiply
23-07-2003, 11:01 AM

well seem like most of man u fan dun hate him....;)

To each his own mate. Cheers! :)

guoquanyap
23-07-2003, 01:16 PM
bellion is quick but gonna improve on his touches....manu hav exciting young propect....;)

Kieran Richardson, Darren Fletcher show gd touch and as usually forlan miss three chances :mad:

RVN
23-07-2003, 01:18 PM
bellion is quick but gonna improve on his touches....manu hav exciting young propect....;)

Kieran Richardson, Darren Fletcher show gd touch and as usually forlan miss three chances :mad:

At least one though Forlan should have score with an open goal and free header.:(

kengbeng
23-07-2003, 01:23 PM
I thought the powerful diving header from Veron's cross was great. But *sigh*, he's as unlucky as ever, the keeper saved it.

RVN
23-07-2003, 04:26 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson watched his side enter the post-David Beckham era with a handsome 4-0 drubbing of Celtic then said it was time to 'draw breath' in the transfer race.

Having missed out on Harry Kewell and seen the protracted Ronaldinho saga end with the Brazilian signing for Barcelona, United are now re-assessing their situation ahead of the start of the Premiership season on August 16.

The absence of a big-name arrival did not hinder them too much in Seattle as they contemptuously swept Celtic aside in front of the biggest football crowd ever to attend a game in the area.

However, Ferguson admitted there could be at least one more deal done before the August 31 Champions League deadline - but it will not be in the next few days.

'We need to draw breath,' said Ferguson. 'The problem for our club is that as soon as someone wants to sell a player, they attach our name to it.

'We are not doing any business at the moment and are analysing the situation.

'There are probably two or three players we will be interested in over the next few weeks but we are not going to rush out after what has happened over the last few months. We want a break from it.

'The media will keep speculating but they will be wrong.'

Predictably, Ruud van Nistelrooy led the United charge, grabbing the opening goal after just seven minutes, then setting up Ryan Giggs for the second after Alan Thompson had missed a penalty for the Bhoys.

With 44 goals in all competitions last season, van Nistelrooy's abilities are well known, but of more importance to Ferguson at the Seahawks Stadium was the performance of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

The Norwegian has been asked to fill the void left by Beckham and if this display is anything to go by, the England skipper will hardly be missed.

Solskjaer's energy ensured he was an active performer in defence and attack, and he capped a fine overall display by scoring United's third after Gary Neville had set him free inside the box.

Ferguson has not mentioned the Beckham word since the #25million deal with Real Madrid was pushed through last month.

He is not about to break that habit, but was more than happy to praise Solskjaer's contribution.

'We never regarded him as a natural wide player because when players score goals like he can, and have the eye for goal and two quick feet, you tend to say his best position is striker,' said Ferguson.

'But he has proved he has the adaptability to play in both wide positions.

'Maybe that is an example of the experience he has gained at the club. You are seeing a far more rounded mature player now.

'When he came to the club he was always treated as a substitute and I admit I looked upon him in that way.

'But over the last two seasons he has got more consistency, more strength and greater experience.

'In the games that really mattered last season he was a revelation.'

Debutant David Bellion added a fourth late on to complete a miserable night for Celtic, who now travel to Cleveland for an encounter with Boca Juniors on Friday ahead of an expected Champions League tussle with Lithuanian unknowns Kaunas.

The standard of that opposition might not be particularly high, but Hoops boss Martin O'Neill knows he has plenty of work to do if Celtic are to reach United's standard.

'Manchester are vying with Real Madrid to be the best team in Europe,' he said.

'Their finishing was absolutely clinical but we didn't help ourselves with some very sloppy defending.

'It is only pre-season but we have been working for two weeks and clearly we still have plenty to do.

'If we had scored the penalty it would have gone to 1-1 and given us drive and enthusiasm to keep going but within a couple of minutes they had made it 2-0 and it was a long old battle after that.

'United have been competing in the Champions League for quite a few years and they have learned quite a bit from that sort of experience.

'We are improving and trying to get there but Manchester United are the benchmark.'

ccloh
23-07-2003, 04:58 PM
not a bad game for man utd given that this is that 1st competitive game for the pre-season. a few players can be spotted lack of match fitness. initially was surprised to see the starting lineup of midfield with butt, keane, fortune and no scholes and veron.

for veron, i would say that if beckham can make wonderful cross so can he and the difference is beckham deliver accuracy crosses but he delivered crosses with vision. for sure the crosses by beckham is definitely not missed here.

a pity that forlan didnt scored as would be happy to see all the strikers put their name on the scoresheet. bellion is definitely working hard to impress SAF.

one flaw abt the match is the commentary is SUCK

RVN
23-07-2003, 05:02 PM
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/mufc/Giggs_LG.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39311000/jpg/_39311737_bellion_pa200x245.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39311000/jpg/_39311753_solksjaer300x300_pa.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39311000/jpg/_39311741_daivd_who_pa200x245.jpg

EdwinTeoh
23-07-2003, 05:04 PM
Are the matches shown live? Which channel?

kengbeng
23-07-2003, 05:34 PM
Originally posted by EdwinTeoh
Are the matches shown live? Which channel?
It was shown live on Channel 5 at 11am this morning. Repeat telecast at 11pm tonight.

RuMmYtUb
23-07-2003, 05:40 PM
Glory Glory Man Utd !
Too bad Tim Howard and Djemba Djemba's not on the tour....

Yellowfin
23-07-2003, 05:57 PM
I think Man U executive are wishing that they have such a big stadium with such large crowd for every home match. :D

I think the capacity is 100,000 or more, correct me if I am wrong.

ccloh
23-07-2003, 06:12 PM
Glory Glory Man Utd !
Too bad Tim Howard and Djemba Djemba's not on the tour....

tim howard is joining up later the wk. most probably the next game u might see him in action.

just cant to wait to see man utd vs barcelona and with ronaldinho playing. ha ha that will be interesting.

kengbeng
23-07-2003, 06:21 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
I think Man U executive are wishing that they have such a big stadium with such large crowd for every home match. :D

I think the capacity is 100,000 or more, correct me if I am wrong.
Nope. In fact the commentators said the crowd of 66000++ is a record. That's just slightly less than Old Trafford.

But the stadium does look tall with the 2-tier stands. I'm sure there's a pretty good view from every seat in the stadium.

EdwinTeoh
23-07-2003, 06:36 PM

It was shown live on Channel 5 at 11am this morning. Repeat telecast at 11pm tonight.

Arrgghh... in KL now. Hope ASTRO here got something on it. :mad:

Yellowfin
23-07-2003, 06:41 PM

Nope. In fact the commentators said the crowd of 66000++ is a record. That's just slightly less than Old Trafford.

But the stadium does look tall with the 2-tier stands. I'm sure there's a pretty good view from every seat in the stadium.

On TV it look really huge, I guess it is optical illusion. :laugh:

orca_sea
23-07-2003, 06:53 PM

tim howard is joining up later the wk. most probably the next game u might see him in action.

just cant to wait to see man utd vs barcelona and with ronaldinho playing. ha ha that will be interesting.

Whack tat damn Barca n let Ronnie wake up his idea n know his mistake for nt joining the Red Devils!!! :mad:

Yellowfin
23-07-2003, 07:19 PM
I think Ruud is taking the free kick for Man U on the Celtic match.

I wonder will he be one of the regular free-kick kicker.

RuMmYtUb
23-07-2003, 08:32 PM
Whack tat damn Barca n let Ronnie wake up his idea n know his mistake for nt joining the Red Devils!!!

Wahaha yea man ! Hope Bellion score hattrick !

I wonder will he be one of the regular free-kick kicker.

Hmm his free kick not bad wor... But i prefer Veron to take..

OreoCookies
23-07-2003, 08:44 PM

Hmm his free kick not bad wor... But i prefer Veron to take..

Veron or Giggsy... They're my preferred set-piece takers... :)

One's got a whole lot of tricks, the other's got a sweet left foot... Good combination at almost every free-kick situation... :D

ralliart_ray
24-07-2003, 09:40 AM
veron will b manU number1 set piece taker. =p

guoquanyap
24-07-2003, 10:14 AM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
veron will b manU number1 set piece taker. =p

ya if no player so capable of set piece come in....most probably is veron taking freekick...his freekick oso gd sia the freekick goal he scored last season is superd man! ;)

ccloh
24-07-2003, 11:23 AM

ya if no player so capable of set piece come in....most probably is veron taking freekick...his freekick oso gd sia the freekick goal he scored last season is superd man! ;)

he sure got all the those skills in set-pieces but i think he must improve on his success rate. not that david beckham is damm good but his success rate is something i think veron should look up to.

sometime i do wonder can veron plays in the "hole" behind the striker rather than paul scholes ???? it seems to me that he like eric cantona, teddy sheringham is not a quick player but a player with a gd football brain and vision and shouldn't be a problem filling in that role. this will somehow reduces his task of doing defensive work. paul scholes can do a better defensive work than him for sure and paul scholes can always again pop up from nowhere during attack.

guoquanyap
24-07-2003, 11:32 AM

he sure got all the those skills in set-pieces but i think he must improve on his success rate. not that david beckham is damm good but his success rate is something i think veron should look up to.

sometime i do wonder can veron plays in the "hole" behind the striker rather than paul scholes ???? it seems to me that he like eric cantona, teddy sheringham is not a quick player but a player with a gd football brain and vision and shouldn't be a problem filling in that role. this will somehow reduces his task of doing defensive work. paul scholes can do a better defensive work than him for sure and paul scholes can always again pop up from nowhere during attack.

actually veron is know for his long acurrate pass across the field....40yard 30yard oso no problem...he not really the person to play behind striker...if u really notice, his long pass across the field really very zhun.....scholes is the one to play behind striker....;)

fergie wan to ronaldinho to fill the role of playing behind striker...but that transfer doesnt work out ;)

RVN
24-07-2003, 11:46 AM
Juan Sebastian Veron wants to remain at Man Utd despite reported interest from Chelsea.

The Argentine international has said he is willing to fight for his place at the Old Trafford club.

Man Utd have said they are willing to listen to offers for Veron and the 28-year-old has been linked with a £14m move to Chelsea.

Veron was signed from Lazio for £28.1m two years ago, but has struggled to command a regular place in the starting line-up. He said: "It has never been my intention to leave Manchester United.

"I want to stay and I have made my intentions clear.

"But I do not know what the club want to do."

Veron replaced Roy Keane at half-time in their 4-0 friendly win over Celtic in Seattle and could soon be competing for a place with Brazilian international Kleberson.

chyehock
24-07-2003, 04:52 PM
If you look at the game against Celtics, Paul Scholes is really very skillful. He seems to be the next zidane.

EdwinTeoh
24-07-2003, 05:12 PM
To me Scholes has been and still is the most important but underated player in MU.

His box to box play, late runs into the box, long shots, tackling, passing, ...overall complete player man.
Only problem is his profile damn low.

Now that Keane's role and style has changed, you need Scholes on the field man.

You guys might not agree but I just feel that in the last 5-6 years or so Scholes has been my man.

RVN
24-07-2003, 05:14 PM
Anothe one is Ole, he also has been under-rated.

ccloh
24-07-2003, 05:38 PM
now that man utd midfield is overloaded, wonder how fergie going to field his formation ???? personally would like to see keane taking a more defensive role sitting infront of the back 4 and let veron, scholes, giggs, ole, rvn do all the attacks (of course plus the 2 full-back). then again where does eric, kleberson and fortune come into picture ???

wes
24-07-2003, 05:42 PM
now that man utd midfield is overloaded, wonder how fergie going to field his formation ???? personally would like to see keane taking a more defensive role sitting infront of the back 4 and let veron, scholes, giggs, ole, rvn do all the attacks (of course plus the 2 full-back). then again where does eric, kleberson and fortune come into picture ???

kleberson can play at the right side....
fortune is juz a sub....
butt and djemba djemba will definitely get a chance to play as keane is abit injury prone

OreoCookies
24-07-2003, 07:33 PM
Whatever formation Fergie chooses to play, it will still be hard-work trying to fit in enough games for four non-EU players... :rolleyes:

Nonetheless, itz good to have strength in depth... Seems that Man Utd is now adopting a more mobile & fluid attacking force in the post-Becks era...

Most of the players can move about & play in their secondary positions, while still sticking to their primary duties... This will surely confuse the opponents & enhance our forays forward... :D

kengbeng
24-07-2003, 07:59 PM
What worries me is that we may be too over-reliant on Ruud for his presence upfront and scoring. When he suffers a injury or two, there will be a lack of cover for Ruud.

OreoCookies
24-07-2003, 08:17 PM
What worries me is that we may be too over-reliant on Ruud for his presence upfront and scoring. When he suffers a injury or two, there will be a lack of cover for Ruud.

IMO, Solskjaer is a more-than competent cover for RVN... :)

There's also still Forlan & Bellion... Not as steady as RVN, but still viable options in their own right... With the amount of chances that the midfield can create, there's bound to be a shot or two that can turn into a goal... :D

OreoCookies
24-07-2003, 08:23 PM
Forgot to add one more thing... There's also Scholesy... =p

Don't forget that he was an out-and-out forward back in his first days at Old Trafford... And he was apparently chosen ahead of Michael Owen during their time in the England youth squads... :D

guoquanyap
24-07-2003, 08:31 PM
that y i think fergie hav to buy one more proven striker lor or else can play bellion upfront w ole if Ruud is injure

Ch3tah_39
24-07-2003, 09:25 PM
bellion scored against celtic..
woot..

RVN
24-07-2003, 09:28 PM

I think there loads of cover, we got Giggs, Ole, Bellion, Forlan Scholes who can all play as forward. We got depth in the midfield and striking department, just worried about the lack of cover in defence.

Ch3tah_39
24-07-2003, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I think there loads of cover, we got Giggs, Ole, Bellion, Forlan Scholes who can all play as forward. We got depth in the midfield and striking department, just worried about the lack of cover in defence.

defence alwez the prob lorz..
But alot better this season lorz..

guoquanyap
24-07-2003, 09:47 PM
defence quite stable liao....dunno who fergie will bring in....attack is the problem leh mus buy one more striker leh....

wes
24-07-2003, 09:49 PM
that y i think fergie hav to buy one more proven striker lor or else can play bellion upfront w ole if Ruud is injure

the problem is those proven striker noe that man utd is gonna play wif 1 striker in the new formation...
most would not wan to come here and sit on bench

stam
24-07-2003, 11:06 PM
whats man utd next match??? :confused:

leslielai
24-07-2003, 11:29 PM
defence quite stable liao....dunno who fergie will bring in....attack is the problem leh mus buy one more striker leh....

Stable? I doubt so.

United needs a marshal in the heart of the defence. If you look around now, there isn't one.

First, we've got a half-**** bald clown for a goalkeeper with virtually zero command of the defenders. Next, look at the average age of the entire defence .. its SO young! Even the best soldiers cannot win a war w/o a good or at least proper commander.

Although United has quite a decent defensive record last season, you should really have taken a closer look at the way they concede goals, even I feel ashamed at SOME of the goals conceded, really made them look worse than a buncha high school soccer players, plus the keeper is nearly non existent. THAT is worrying.

knave
24-07-2003, 11:55 PM
keeper wise, dun worry lah... Tim Howard's syndrome will make him scold the defenders upside down!

guoquanyap
25-07-2003, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by leslielai

Stable? I doubt so.

United needs a marshal in the heart of the defence. If you look around now, there isn't one.

First, we've got a half-**** bald clown for a goalkeeper with virtually zero command of the defenders. Next, look at the average age of the entire defence .. its SO young! Even the best soldiers cannot win a war w/o a good or at least proper commander.

Although United has quite a decent defensive record last season, you should really have taken a closer look at the way they concede goals, even I feel ashamed at SOME of the goals conceded, really made them look worse than a buncha high school soccer players, plus the keeper is nearly non existent. THAT is worrying.

well u hav ur point but i dun think fergie will buy anymore defender i think he hav faith in his defence....

NanDesKa
25-07-2003, 01:38 AM
why they dun grab milito?

yulee
25-07-2003, 09:21 AM
FORTUNE: BECKS EXIT SHOWS UTD STRENGTH

Quinton Fortune believes the abrupt departure of David Beckham from Manchester United has reinforced an unwritten Old Trafford rule - if you do not perform, you are out.

In saying his farewells, Beckham joins a long list of talents who have become surplus to Sir Alex Ferguson's requirements, starting right back with Norman Whiteside, through to Paul Ince, Andrei Kanchelskis and latterly Dwight Yorke and Andy Cole.

Fortune is one of the players who will be asked to fill the void this season, and while the South African does not have a negative word to say about Beckham, he does acknowledge Ferguson's ruthless team selection, saying: "If you don't perform you are not going to play, it's as simple as that."

He added: "No matter what the circumstances, the manager will put the best 11 players out on the pitch. If you play well you will get the job."

Having previously played in the city Beckham now calls home, albeit with Madrid's second club Atletico, Fortune is well placed to assess the likely impact his former team-mate.

And Fortune is convinced he will make it, and could even return to England a better player.

"David is a good player already and he could get even better at Real," he said.

"He is playing for the best club in Spain without a doubt and will have so many world class players around him.

"But it's not just about how David will benefit, it's good for Real they have got him."

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who's next? Veron / Forlan ?:rolleyes:

yenyenpark
25-07-2003, 10:03 AM
Man U needs someone who is proven of his quality before buying him... and this is a tough thing to do...

Man U still has the strongest force in England... but in EPL or any league, anything can happen... so backup players are as important as first team players... especially when Man U is aiming for CL...

i think the biggest advantage of Man U is to have RVN, a scoring machine... but i think this is also its biggest problem... yupe, "wat if" he is injured or not in form like Owen?? then how?? though a lot of strikers in Man U but they are not consistent enough...

RVN
25-07-2003, 11:34 AM
Who's next? Veron / Forlan ?:rolleyes:

None, both would stay.;)

RVN
25-07-2003, 11:39 AM
The door has apparently opened for Manchester United to make a move for Real Betis midfielder Joaquin Sanchez with his agent insisting that the Spanish international would listen to an offer from them.

Since being rebuffed by Ronaldinho and Harry Kewell, Joaquin has become one of United boss Sir Alex Ferguson’s potential targets, with the player currently in a contract dispute with his club.

Joaquin is looking for an improved deal from the one he has had since being elevated to the first team. It has three years to run, but he has yet to receive a positive response from the club.

However, until now Joaquin, along with his father and advisor Aurelio Sanchez, have played down the issue, saying he wanted to remain with Betis and was not attracted by the Old Trafford side.

A bid of 17million euros plus Diego Forlan has been turned down by Betis, according to the Spanish press but they also report that Betis president Manuel Ruiz de Lopera is prepared to meet United chief executive Peter Kenyon.

Joaquin’s agent Gonzalo Arguiñano says that he does not know of any offer made by United but claimed that if the Premiership champions did approach the player then he would definitely consider it.

“No offers have been made to Betis that I am aware of,” said Arguiñano.

“If Manchester were to get in contact with the club, then Joaquin would be open to listen to any offer made.

“However, until that time, he is very happy to be at the club.

“Manchester is a good team, and if they made an offer, Joaquin would listen to it.”

Arguiñano explained that Joaquin was no further in agreeing a deal with Lopera and that contact had broken down.

“No new contract has been signed with the club and they are not in negotiations to renew his present deal,” he said.

“Joaquin has not had any contact with Lopera in regards to a new deal.”
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seem like he is changing his tune again.:rolleyes:

toyotaf1
25-07-2003, 11:53 AM
Originally posted by RVN
The door has apparently opened for Manchester United to make a move for Real Betis midfielder Joaquin Sanchez with his agent insisting that the Spanish international would listen to an offer from them.

Since being rebuffed by Ronaldinho and Harry Kewell, Joaquin has become one of United boss Sir Alex Ferguson’s potential targets, with the player currently in a contract dispute with his club.

Joaquin is looking for an improved deal from the one he has had since being elevated to the first team. It has three years to run, but he has yet to receive a positive response from the club.

However, until now Joaquin, along with his father and advisor Aurelio Sanchez, have played down the issue, saying he wanted to remain with Betis and was not attracted by the Old Trafford side.

A bid of 17million euros plus Diego Forlan has been turned down by Betis, according to the Spanish press but they also report that Betis president Manuel Ruiz de Lopera is prepared to meet United chief executive Peter Kenyon.

Joaquin’s agent Gonzalo Arguiñano says that he does not know of any offer made by United but claimed that if the Premiership champions did approach the player then he would definitely consider it.

“No offers have been made to Betis that I am aware of,” said Arguiñano.

“If Manchester were to get in contact with the club, then Joaquin would be open to listen to any offer made.

“However, until that time, he is very happy to be at the club.

“Manchester is a good team, and if they made an offer, Joaquin would listen to it.”

Arguiñano explained that Joaquin was no further in agreeing a deal with Lopera and that contact had broken down.

“No new contract has been signed with the club and they are not in negotiations to renew his present deal,” he said.

“Joaquin has not had any contact with Lopera in regards to a new deal.”
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seem like he is changing his tune again.:rolleyes:

Joaquin is a very good player.

RVN
25-07-2003, 03:54 PM
He is a great verstaille player, he got pace and trickery skill, a bit like Giggs, would be a great signing if we were to buy him.

chyehock
25-07-2003, 03:59 PM
Originally posted by RVN
He is a great verstaille player, he got pace and trickery skill, a bit like Giggs, would be a great signing if we were to buy him.

Have not seen him play yet.

kiply
25-07-2003, 03:59 PM
Originally posted by yenyenpark
i think the biggest advantage of Man U is to have RVN, a scoring machine... but i think this is also its biggest problem... yupe, "wat if" he is injured or not in form like Owen?? then how?? though a lot of strikers in Man U but they are not consistent enough...

i would like to rephrase that - wat if he's not in form like diego forlan (who's forever not in form) :laugh:

RVN
25-07-2003, 04:36 PM
REAL BETIS president Manuel Ruiz de Lopera has stated that he would not even meet with Manchester United about the prospect of selling his prized asset Joaquin.

The 21-year-old is continually being linked with a move to Old Trafford, despite denials form all parties at the Spanish end over the last month.

Joaquin's father and agent distanced his son from the reports earlier this month, and then the player himself stated he did not want a move to Manchester, and after that coach Roger Fernandez highlighted his importance to the team just this week.

Now de Lopera has moved to finally quash any suggestion that Joaquin would be on his way to England. United are tabled a bid earlier this month which included Diego Forlan, but that did not interest the Verdiblanco.

On the English champions' interest, the Betis supremo said: "There may have been an attempt to meet me, but I will not sit with these gentlemen.

"He [Joaquin] has three years left on his contract, not three months.

"In that time many things can happen, he could renew, he could go free to another club, he could get injured and he may even given up football or die in an aeroplane accident."

Joaquin is currently is in talks over a new contract, but a deal has not yet been agreed.

Some source claimed the player was angry over the stalemate - however de Lopera thinks a deal is close.

"I have offered him a million euros, he wants two million euros and so we are not so far apart," he added.

www.planetfootball.com

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok so we've got a highly rated young player who may or may not like to join us depending on who you listen to, an agent who's a relative of his and likes gobbing off in the press, and a chariman that seems to talk like PSG President Graille's long lost brother.

Get ready for a 3 month transfer saga, updated twice daily, but which will ultimately end in nothing like the roonie saga. :mad:

ccloh
25-07-2003, 06:26 PM
even if the player wants to move and the club refuse to sell him, man utd still cant get him since he still have 3 yrs of his contract to run out. unless like that joker said if the contract is 3 more mths to go then different story.

OreoCookies
25-07-2003, 07:49 PM
Joaquin is a right-sided midfielder, but that position is well-covered what's with Kleberson set to complete his transfer, & the emergence of Darren Fletcher...

I don't think there'll be many places left in the first-team that's up-for-grabs, so making a move for Joaquin may not be such a wise choice after all... :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
25-07-2003, 09:20 PM
well hope he will come over....;)

guoquanyap
25-07-2003, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Joaquin is a right-sided midfielder, but that position is well-covered what's with Kleberson set to complete his transfer, & the emergence of Darren Fletcher...

I don't think there'll be many places left in the first-team that's up-for-grabs, so making a move for Joaquin may not be such a wise choice after all... :rolleyes:

well kleberson is not a natural ring winger and fletcher is hav some way to go b4 he is really ready for first team...joaquin is gd very pacey....;)

OreoCookies
25-07-2003, 10:22 PM

well kleberson is not a natural ring winger and fletcher is hav some way to go b4 he is really ready for first team...joaquin is gd very pacey....;)

And very pricey... :(

I'd rather the 17-million Euros be saved... There's always a better way to spend that money, given that there are so many options already available @ Old Trafford, no?

Fletcher will grow... Becks was also thrown raw into the first-team back when Kanchelskis was out of favour... If he can do it, so can Fletcher... :)

RVN
26-07-2003, 09:46 PM
Diego Forlan insists he is "totally happy" at Manchester United and believes the club 'would tell him' if they were planning to offload him.
The popular Uruguayan has been linked with a summer move to Real Betis after failing to hold down a regular first-team berth since his £7m move from Independiente 18 months ago.

Almost two-thirds of Forlan's 62 appearances for the Red Devils have been from the substitutes' bench and it was rumoured the 24-year-old could be offered as a makeweight in a possible deal for Real's precocious winger Joaquin.

News filtering out from Spain that an Old Trafford move would appeal to the youngster is bound to revive speculation that Forlan's stay with United could be cut short.

However, as he prepared to try and impress Sir Alex Ferguson in Sunday's friendly with Mexican outfit Club America, the nine-goal frontman insisted his focus remains fully on his current club.

"People told me about what was in the papers, but I didn't let it affect my holiday," he said.

"I have a contract with Manchester United and I am totally happy here.

"If something was going to happen, I'm sure the club would talk to me first and they haven't, so I feel quite calm about the situation and fully focused on preparations for the new season."

While Ruud van Nistelrooy's position in the side is certain, there still remains a striking vacancy at the club. And the blond-haired South American does not have too far to look for an example of a team-mate who has cast off the tag of super-sub to become an integral part of Sir Alex Ferguson's side.

"I am a different player to Ole Gunnar Solskjaer but I guess the situation is very similar," said Forlan.

"When you come on as a substitute it might only be for 10 minutes, but it might also be the most important part of the game.

"It's not easy because you only have a limited time to make an impression but you have to try and stay relaxed and do your best."

Ch3tah_39
26-07-2003, 09:54 PM
Forlan go go go...

Forlan is gd la... see his passes.. okie lorz...
see the goal he scored... all quite nice ma...
example, the one against the saint and aston villa...;)

leslielai
26-07-2003, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
Forlan go go go...

Forlan is gd la... see his passes.. okie lorz...
see the goal he scored... all quite nice ma...
example, the one against the saint and aston villa...;)

But he is REAL slow.

Ch3tah_39
26-07-2003, 10:09 PM

But he is REAL slow.

can say that lorz..

OreoCookies
26-07-2003, 10:37 PM
Hey, at least Forlan represents a true goal-scoring option... Man Utd has enough midfielders liaoz, so getting Joaquin is a luxury that might not work out well... :rolleyes:

As an out-and-out striker, Forlan can at least provide a supporting role in the event that RVN & Solskjaer get injured, or when Fergie rotates the team & formation around... :)

OreoCookies
26-07-2003, 10:42 PM

But he is REAL slow.

:laugh:

Ironically, it was his pace that caught the eye of the Fergie brothers, when they first saw him in action back in the Argentine league... :D

ccloh
26-07-2003, 10:48 PM
see the way he played in world cup, u can sense that he does have something up in his sleeves but again, epl is not a famous ground for south american players so if he cant integrate into man utd it is not 'cos he is no gd. it is like the case of veron. who can deny that veron is a skilful player but unfortunately his style just doesnt seems to integrate well into it.

Ch3tah_39
26-07-2003, 11:04 PM

Ironically, it was his pace that caught the eye of the Fergie brothers, when they first saw him in action back in the Argentine league... :D

His reaction is damm slow..
u see the game he play... aiyo..

wes
27-07-2003, 01:21 AM

they did mention b4 he is quick...
but i watch the games he play i think he is not dat quick...has poor ball control and keep giving away possession...
but he scores important goals for man utd last season...hope tis season he can improve..

swordy84
27-07-2003, 02:00 AM
Originally posted by wes

they did mention b4 he is quick...
but i watch the games he play i think he is not dat quick...has poor ball control and keep giving away possession...
but he scores important goals for man utd last season...hope tis season he can improve..

I think that is because he doesn't play enough, so he becomes sort of rusty. If a player don't play enough, how does he improve or keep his skills?

orca_sea
27-07-2003, 02:07 AM
Hav faith in him(Forlan) lah guyz i'm sure he's a gd luck charm to Man U

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 02:22 AM
Originally posted by orca_sea
Hav faith in him(Forlan) lah guyz i'm sure he's a gd luck charm to Man U

Not sure about that, but I believe he can improve given time & match experience... :)

He's still quite raw, but there's the potential of becoming a diamond in him... :D

guoquanyap
27-07-2003, 09:11 AM
anyone awake?! match starting in 49mins ;) hopefully can see tim howard in action ;)

cracker
27-07-2003, 09:24 AM
anyone awake?! match starting in 49mins ;) hopefully can see tim howard in action ;)

thx 4 the reminder:)

kengbeng
27-07-2003, 10:01 AM
Tough luck. It has been rescheduled according to the ticker on Channel 5.

kengbeng
27-07-2003, 10:04 AM
Rescheduled to Monday 8am (delayed telecast). :slant:

Spock
27-07-2003, 10:08 AM
Damn IT!:mad:

leslielai
27-07-2003, 10:13 AM
WTF :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 10:13 AM
Ah well... That's free-to-air TV for you... :(

Spock
27-07-2003, 10:14 AM
delayed telecast or the match postpone?

leslielai
27-07-2003, 10:16 AM
DAMN IT!

I was looking forward to this live telecast so so so much.

For the Celtic game I was at school, so I couldn't watch and was so glad to know that there'd be a live broadcast for this game today.

Can't even catch the replay now _|_

:mad:

RuMmYtUb
Dammit, Club America vs Man Utd rescheduled to 28th July 8am, delayed telecast somemore...

That means tmr den they play ball...

kengbeng
It states 'delayed telecast' on Channel 5 website.

Actual match going on now.

Spock
27-07-2003, 10:17 AM
Guys good news.Its not delayed telecast.The match is on 27th july 4pm PST.That means 28th july singapore time:)

cracker
27-07-2003, 10:17 AM
i think it is supposed to be played on Sunday evening (USA time) instead of a Saturday.

Just checked MU website...the game is actually scheduled on 27th July 1600 local time (LA time) which abt 13 ~ 15 hrs behind Spore...So 0800 Monday is the correct time..just like those NBA live telecast.

Dun think TCS is tat senile to do delay telecast at 0800 AM on a Monday !

leslielai
27-07-2003, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by Spock
Guys good news.Its not deleyed telecast.The match is on 27th july 4pm PST.That means 28th july singapore time:)

But I still won't be able to catch the game :(

RuMmYtUb
27-07-2003, 10:19 AM
Har today 4pm ?

ccloh
27-07-2003, 10:20 AM
yap confirm it is not delay as it stated resheduled. sigh purposely wait up early to watch and then now :(

RuMmYtUb
27-07-2003, 10:21 AM
Guys good news.Its not delayed telecast.The match is on 27th july 4pm PST.That means 28th july singapore time

So it's today 4pm or tomorrow morning ?

RuMmYtUb
27-07-2003, 10:24 AM
US Pre-Season Tour: 8Manchester United0 vs Club America (Kick Off on 28/8 @ 7am, Delay Telecast on the same date @ 8am on Channel 5)

Spock
27-07-2003, 10:24 AM
Singapore time 8am monday morning.

Spock
27-07-2003, 10:26 AM
US Pre-Season Tour: 8Manchester United0 vs Club America (Kick Off on 28/8 @ 7am, Delay Telecast on the same date @ 8am on Channel 5)

Zhun bo kick off 7am?Pst is gmt -8hrs.Singapore time is gmt +8hrs.

4pm Pst +8 +8 = 8am Singapore time mah

RuMmYtUb
27-07-2003, 10:27 AM
Aiya to put it simply, the actual match tmr kick off 7am SG timing.... but channel 5 will telecast it at 8am (thus delayed)

ccloh
27-07-2003, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by Spock

Zhun bo kick off 7am?Pst is gmt -8hrs.Singapore time is gmt +8hrs.

4pm Pst +8 +8 = 8am Singapore time mah

now summer, the time different is gmt -7hrs and singapore time is gmt +7hrs

Spock
27-07-2003, 10:34 AM

I see.Where you get that info?

RVN
27-07-2003, 10:52 AM
Are you sure its delayed?:eek:

I rather it be live.:(

But I can still watch the match at 8am.=p

cracker
27-07-2003, 11:41 AM

tat why EPL games from Aug till Nov and from Apr till May will kickoff at 2200 (Spore time)

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 11:58 AM
Hey... Look at this... :rolleyes:
Keano has hit out at Ronaldino for turning his back on Old Trafford...

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Roy Keane has attacked Ronaldinho's decision to snub a big-money move to Old Trafford this summer and claimed: 'Anyone who doesn't want to come to Manchester United needs their head examining.'

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was left fuming last weekend when the Brazilian striker brought months of tense negotiations to a climax by opting to join Barcelona from Paris St Germain.

Ferguson had made Ronaldinho his major summer transfer target and Red Devils chief executive Peter Kenyon hinted the 23-year-old had given assurances that would sign before eventually turning his back on the £20million deal.

While respecting Ronaldinho's standing as one of the most exciting players in the world, Keane cannot understand his logic.

Over a decade ago, the combative Irishman had the choice of every club in the country when he confirmed his intention to leave Nottingham Forest.

But once he saw Old Trafford, Keane knew he would find nowhere better, a view he still holds today.

'I don't want to be disrespectful to anyone but any player who doesn't really want to come to Manchester United needs their head examining,' Keane told MUTV.

'Obviously there are agents and other people involved but to me Manchester United is the only choice, and that's above any other club in the world.'

Source: SoccerNet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=272248&cc=4716)

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 12:01 PM
And this too...
Seems like Keano is preparing for the worst liaoz sia... :(

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Manchester United skipper Roy Keane has admitted he may have to hang up his boots well before the end of his three-year contract at Old Trafford.

The midfielder, who will be 32 next month, was dogged by a hip injury last season and fears a recurrence of that problem could even force him to quit at the end of the forthcoming campaign.

Keane told the News of the World: 'Things come to and. I will see how the season goes, but the next two or three...I am not so sure.

'The old Roy Keane has gone, the one that charged all over the pitch. I hope that doesn't mean the end of my career, but time is going fast.

'I have three years left on my contract. But then, what do contracts mean?'

Keane has always set high standards for those who play alongside him and insists he will use the same criteria when judging whether to carry on.

He added: 'How long do I have left? I don't know. But I have to be an influence on the team and if I'm not then that is when I will have to look at things.

'You need the desire but you can't play on memories, you have to be clever.

'I will have to speak to the manager because I don't want to play for the memories. No way do I want to go down the road of the sympathy vote.'

Source: SoccerNet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=272258&cc=4716)

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 12:03 PM
Could Keano become the new assistant that Fergie is looking out for? :confused:

guoquanyap
27-07-2003, 12:10 PM
are u sure is delayed telecast? i thought is live? anyway i think fergie gonna bring someone in fr outside w new idea and tatics will be gd for the team....;)

think cos AC milan pull out of the tour so the match postphone to tml....anyway gonna catch it tml! ;)

RVN
27-07-2003, 01:21 PM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted Juan Sebastian Veron turned down the chance to leave Old Trafford this summer.

The Argentine midfielder has been heavily linked with a move to Chelsea, with Claudio Ranieri ready to pay £18million for the 26-year-old.

There had been talk of a deal being done before the United party headed out to the USA on their current tour, and speculation over a move has persisted even though Veron is part of the Red Devils' 20-man squad preparing for their game against Club America.

The latest story is that a deal has been done for Veron to move to Stamford Bridge.

However, Ferguson, who had previously admitted only that there had been a tentative enquiry for the player, revealed Veron had turned down a move and that he remained an integral part of his squad.

"There is no change as far as Veron is concerned," said Ferguson.

"He is part of our squad and a very important member of it. You can't dismiss the class of the boy, the work-rate, the desire to play. They are all great.

"Earlier on, a situation arose where there was a chance for Juan to go to another club, it was maybe a good thing he didn't go. I have always been happy with him."

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 02:33 PM
Veron don't go!!! :super:

Veron should become the main creative lynchpin of the Man Utd midfield for the coming season... With Becks gone, he can finally be the one to dictate the passes & the flow of Utd's game... :)

RVN
27-07-2003, 02:37 PM
Yep we should keep him.

**** off chelski.:bounce:

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 02:53 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Yep we should keep him.

**** off chelski.:bounce:

:bounce:

I'm really looking forward to next season sia... Dunno how well the new line-up is gonna' gel, but if the game against Celtic was anything to go by, then we should have a very successful season ahead of us... :D

ccloh
27-07-2003, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by cracker

tat why EPL games from Aug till Nov and from Apr till May will kickoff at 2200 (Spore time)

the adjustment of the time diff is normally the 3rd wk of oct and 3rd wk of march. this is to cater for the daylight saving of those 4 seasons countries.

ccloh
27-07-2003, 05:05 PM
well all man utd players cant move except david beckham which is not really part of the integrated team fergie trying to build :D

RVN
27-07-2003, 08:12 PM
Earlier in the year, the United manager got wind of Carlos Eduardo de Castro Lourenco, a 16-year-old Brazilian prodigy.

Now he is a United player and has been placed at São Paulo, where he will remain until he is 18, when the plan is to send him on to finishing school at Sporting Lisbon, where he can get used to European football.

United's explosion of activity at youth level has seen them, in recent months, sign Markus Neumayr, a teenage German playmaker, from Eintracht Frankfurt, Jonathan Spector, a 16-year-old centre-back, from Chicago Sockers, and Floribert Ngalula, also 16, a Congolese prodigy developed by Anderlecht.

Already at Royal Antwerp they have placed Abdulrahman Hussain and Arthur Gomez, prospects from Qatar and Gambia, respectively. But Ferguson does not want United to lose their essential historical character as a club with English bones and Celtic flesh.

Regarding Livingston, Peter Kenyon, United's chief executive, said: Scotland has always been a great feeder for us. If you look at the number of Scottish players we've had at the club in our history it has been quite phenomenal and we have been looking at ways of re-establishing that tie so that we can get the top guys to come down here and play in England.

We've got several relationships throughout Europe. Royal Antwerp has been the most successful and when we have sent players out there, and brought players in, particularly from outside Europe, to develop, it has worked incredibly well for the club.

What we're looking for with Livingston is a similar sort of success. They are well placed geographically (almost equidistant between Glasgow and Edinburgh) and have a strong catchment area.

The youngster who Ferguson regards as his club's best prospect but would have been missed out because of geography. Even before Fletcher made his debut for Scotland Under-16 as a 14-year-old, United were courting him but, given that he was still living and going to school in Dalkeith in Lothian, summer training camps at Carrington were all they could provide.

Rangers and Celtic, both little more than 40 miles away, offered regular coaching and only the fact that Fletcher, like the young Beckham, was United-daft, made him stick with the Old Trafford club.

Ferguson can send the next Fletcher to Livingston, just as the next Mark Hughes can be schooled at Newport and any new Edwards placed at Walsall.

Ferguson's feeder clubs, on top of getting access to the country's top young talent, can look forward to playing regular friendlies against United XIs and receiving first-team fringe players on loan.

It is even mooted that Newport will get as much as £100,000 from the Old Trafford coffers to improve facilities.

While United's Under-19s have just won the FA Youth Cup, and their Under-17s are making strides under Filho, the club's need to improve at school-age level was underlined by their performance last week in Portland in Nike's Premier Cup.

In a competition that involved a total of 20 Under-15 teams drawn from all over the world, United's side played games against teams from South Africa, Germany, Colombia and Japan and lost the lot.

guoquanyap
27-07-2003, 08:13 PM
well all man utd players cant move except david beckham which is not really part of the integrated team fergie trying to build :D

gd that veron turn down the chance at there is still some loyalty fr him....cant wait to catch the match tml morning! ;)

YewBoon
27-07-2003, 10:50 PM
hu won the match this morning SG time ah???

RVN
27-07-2003, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by YewBoon
hu won the match this morning SG time ah???

NO lah, it will be played tomorrow morning at 8am.

YewBoon
27-07-2003, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN

NO lah, it will be played tomorrow morning at 8am.

btw ManU & Club America ?:)

RVN
27-07-2003, 10:59 PM
Originally posted by YewBoon

btw ManU & Club America ?:)

yup.;)

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 11:01 PM
Wow... Itz good to know that Fergie & Kenyon have successfully implemented just a wide network of co-operations with so many clubs... :)

This would mean that the quality of the next generation of players at Old Trafford is kinda' guaranteed liaoz... :D

Scotland, Belgium, Portugal... I wonder which club from which nation will be the next to ally with Utd? :bounce:

RVN
27-07-2003, 11:05 PM
Wow... Itz good to know that Fergie & Kenyon have successfully implemented just a wide network of co-operations with so many clubs... :)

This would mean that the quality of the next generation of players at Old Trafford is kinda' guaranteed liaoz... :D

Scotland, Belgium, Portugal... I wonder which club from which nation will be the next to ally with Utd? :bounce:

Wales and Brazil also. :bounce:

leslielai
27-07-2003, 11:24 PM
United should eye the South American clubs .. and I personally think an ally with one African and one American club would do good too.

As for Asia .. don't think its worth an investment. They can set up a new club here however. There's money to be made and influence of the club should increase by leaps and bounds.

:D

OreoCookies
27-07-2003, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Wales and Brazil also. :bounce:

I think France also right? With Nantes? I think the discussions were held about the time they bid for Djemba-Djemba... :rolleyes:

Next stop... Germany, Italy, Holland... And more! :D

NanDesKa
28-07-2003, 12:05 AM
when they gonna link with home united or saffc? :D

Ch3tah_39
28-07-2003, 12:10 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
when they gonna link with home united or saffc? :D

1000years later also veri hard lorz

NanDesKa
28-07-2003, 12:11 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

1000years later also veri hard lorz :o

guoquanyap
28-07-2003, 09:51 AM
nice forlan scored 2 goals ;)

Spock
28-07-2003, 09:52 AM
Forlan MOM:)

RuMmYtUb
28-07-2003, 09:54 AM
Woo great performance from the south americans from Man Utd.. Veron showed his class...
Couldn't deny that Club America deserved a goal for their gutsy display...

guoquanyap
28-07-2003, 09:57 AM
ya afterall they are fiver times mexico champion kana sad that we didnt keep a clean sheet ;)

watch juventus match this morning....very gd will be expecting a thrilling match when we meet them....;)

RuMmYtUb
28-07-2003, 10:02 AM
Hmm barcelona back to it's best ?
Did Ricardo Quaresma play ?

RVN
28-07-2003, 10:13 AM
Hmm barcelona back to it's best ?
Did Ricardo Quaresma play ?

Yes he did, he looked quite impressive.

RuMmYtUb
28-07-2003, 10:23 AM
Yes he did, he looked quite impressive.

Haiz sad lor.... why did man utd missed out on the 'new' figo !?
Worse lose ronaldinho to barca oso !

RuMmYtUb
28-07-2003, 10:31 AM
Guys is this true !? WTF man....

Chelsea to confirm Veron signing

Jul 28 - Juan Sebastian Veron will be unveiled as Chelsea's latest signing this week, but the club's recruitment drive elsewhere has hit the buffers after Roma threatened to report them over an illegal approach for Emerson.

Despite Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson's claim that Veron had rejected Chelsea's approaches, FootballChannel understands a deal has been agreed between the clubs and the Argentina midfielder will be persuaded that his future lies in London.

Veron initially turned down the deal, reported to be worth £14million, but has had a change of heart after learning that he is unlikely to be a first-team regular at Old Trafford.

Veron, 26, will remain in America with United on their pre-season tour and will play no part in the negotiations. But he has instructed his agent, Fernando Hidalgo, to fly from Argentina to speak with Chelsea this week.

Ferguson tried to quash the speculation yesterday, saying: "There was an opportunity for Veron to go to another club. It's probably as well that he didn't go. He is a very important member of our squad."

Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri also played it straight when questioned about Veron.

He said: "I'm supposed to already have Raul (the Real Madrid striker), so what would I want with him?"

Chelsea's continuing plans to add Brazil midfielder Emerson to their squad ran into trouble after Roma threatened to report Roman Abramovich's club to FIFA, world football's governing body. The Italian club believe moves have been made directly to the player about the riches on offer, should he wish to move to England.

Chelsea are alleged to have told Emerson's representatives that they are ready to pay him more than £60,000 a week. However, manager Ranieri played down the rumpus in Kuala Lumpur yesterday following his side's penalty shoot-out victory over Newcastle in the Asia Cup Final, saying: "I know nothing about this."

But Roma, who have turned down an £18m offer for the Brazilian, are trying to keep their star man with the promise of a long-term deal.

Last night, Roma's sporting director, Franco Baldini, said: "It's true we have received important offers for Emerson - and not just from Chelsea. The answer is the same for everyone: no. This year Emerson will not leave Roma.

"Chelsea will not get Emerson, even if they come back with a bigger offer. The most annoying thing is when the player finds himself contacted personally and not through his club.

"We don't want to arrive at the unpleasant point where we have to resort to bringing in FIFA, but this incorrect behaviour has to stop. We know how to resist offers, even those so big they scream at you, and we have already fixed a meeting with the player's agent before the start of our championship in order to try to extend his contract with Roma."

However, Emerson is said to be tempted by the massive money on offer at Chelsea, which would increase his wages by up to 40 per cent with bonuses.

Source from www.planetfootball.com
=============================

Who can confirm this !??

RVN
28-07-2003, 10:34 AM
Bloody not again, I am getting fed up by this, there has been no words form United so it ain't confirmed but please I hope Veron stay.

guoquanyap
28-07-2003, 10:53 AM
read fr thesun.co.uk too but dun think is true, doesnt quite believe u all dun believe it either ;)

yulee
28-07-2003, 10:59 AM
Juan Sebastian Veron is considering a second invitation to join Chelsea and is beginning to lean towards a move to Stamford Bridge. Having turned down their initial approach, the Argentinian has indicated he will entertain the idea after it was made clear to him that Manchester United no longer want him.
Although Sir Alex Ferguson indicated yesterday that Veron was still "a valuable squad member", the United manager is also aware that behind the scenes his chief executive Peter Kenyon is trying to resurrect a £15m deal with Chelsea which had appeared to collapse at the end of last week.

Failing that, intermediaries have also been circulating Veron's name to prospective buyers in Spain and Italy. Barcelona had regarded him as a back-up option if their bid for Ronaldinho failed, and Juventus are among the clubs who have declared an interest.

Although Chelsea would not be Veron's first choice of employers, he is thinking about the move seriously enough for his agent Fernando Hidalgo to schedule a flight to London this week. If the midfielder can be convinced he will follow Geremi, Glen Johnson, Damien Duff and Wayne Bridge as Chelsea's fifth signing since Roman Abramovich took over, and will take Chelsea's spending spree to some £52m.

The player's representatives have been led to believe that United are willing to sell Veron for roughly half the £28.1m they paid Lazio two years ago because they want money for a major new signing, something that will fuel speculation linking the club with Kieron Dyer.

So unequivocal were Newcastle's denials here last night, however, that the only thing that should disconcert the club's fans is that senior officials at Old Trafford said the same things about Beckham in the days and weeks before he was sold to Real Madrid.

What neither Freddy Shepherd, the Newcastle chairman, nor the club's owner Douglas Hall could offer was a reasonable explanation as to why, without warning, they should break off from the team's pre-season trip to Kuala Lumpur to fly into the city where Manchester United are staying, citing a "major business dealing".

Fuelling the speculation even further, Shepherd and Hall were to be guests of the United chief executive Peter Kenyon for United's match against the Mexican club America at the LA Coliseum in the early hours of this morning.

It is inconceivable that the subject of Dyer was not brought up, but the Newcastle delegation were at pains to echo Kenyon's claim that their coming together in one of the world's least football-orientated cities was merely a coincidence.

"We're just here to see the game because we're good friends with Peter Kenyon and Manchester United," said Shepherd. "There's absolutely no chance that Kieron Dyer, Craig Bellamy or anyone is for sale - no way. We aren't here to do any business with Manchester United because our players are not for sale."

Veron, meanwhile, seems determined to use this trip to underline why he feels so hard done by. Last Friday he earned a round of applause from his team-mates for a breathtaking goal in training, controlling an awkward cross from Ole Gunnar Solskjaer on his chest and, despite the close proximity of several defenders, firing the dropping ball towards goal - from behind his standing leg. From 20 yards out, the ball flew into the top corner of Ricardo's net as though guided by a computer.

Ferguson later told his coaching staff it was the best goal he had seen in more than 40 years in the game but, pri vately, the manager has such strong reservations that he knows it might have been one of the Argentinian's last acts as a United player.

Raul's agent Gines Carvajal has rubbished stories linking the Real Madrid captain to Manchester United. "Raul's been what? Raul has not been offered to anyone, including Manchester United. Raul isn't going anywhere."

Kenyon, meanwhile, has confirmed that United are on the verge of confirming the Scottish Premier League team Livingston as their latest feeder club.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hmm, looks like his days are numbered...:eek:

RVN
28-07-2003, 11:26 AM
I don't trust this source of the story from guardian or whatever ****ing tabloids, he just said he want to stay so how can he change his mind so quickly. Unless United confirm this, I don't believe it.

NanDesKa
28-07-2003, 12:06 PM
veron to go?
zZz...
he's supposed to be one of the most creative players at man utd now lehz

StormTrooper
28-07-2003, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I don't trust this source of the story from guardian or whatever ****ing tabloids, he just said he want to stay so how can he change his mind so quickly. Unless United confirm this, I don't believe it.

yeah, veron said on manutd.com he wanted to stay, and nothing's been confirmed so far.

RVN
28-07-2003, 12:16 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

yeah, veron said on manutd.com he wanted to stay, and nothing's been confirmed so far.

Hope it stay that way, those tabloids just won't leave him alone linking him to chelski, its sickening.:mad:

ccloh
28-07-2003, 12:16 PM
dont really think utd is selling veron. unlike the case of beckham where fergie never said a word during the transfer saga, this time fergie saids something.

RVN
28-07-2003, 06:42 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed Chelsea did try to sign Juan Sebastian Veron.

In two seasons at Old Trafford since his £28.1million move from Lazio, the Argentinian international has been an enigmatic presence in Ferguson's side.

The Manchester United manager told Sky Sports News: "Yes, there was a situation where Chelsea tried to buy him.

"I left it to him and he wants to stay and that's good."

Although Ferguson admitted cash-rich Chelsea did make a concerted bid to sign the midfielder, United chief executive Peter Kenyon claimed yesterday he had received nothing from the Stamford Bridge outfit in the way of a formal offer.

And he once again repeated his belief that Juan Sebastian Veron will be going nowhere despite renewed speculation linking him with a move to Chelsea.

"I think Seba will be with us next year," said the United boss.

"He is an excellent footballer, as he showed today, and there is not a problem between us."

yulee
28-07-2003, 07:39 PM
FORLAN KEEN TO PROVE A POINT
Monday July 28 2003

Diego Forlan is hoping his second-half double in Manchester United's 3-1 win over Mexican outfit Club America will finally persuade Sir Alex Ferguson he is worth a regular place in the Red Devils' starting line-up.

The popular Uruguayan recovered from a 27-game barren streak following his £7million move from Independiente 18 months ago to grab nine crucial goals in United's surge to the Premiership title last term.

But after hitting his brace against the Mexicans, Forlan insisted: "I have been a substitute many times since I have been with United but all you can do is wait for your chance and then take it. Hopefully that is what I have done."

In the LA Coliseum, the 24-year-old gained his reward for a performance packed with endeavour and commitment by grabbing the brace which maintained United's 100% tour record after Ruud van Nistelrooy had opened the scoring with his customary goal 60 seconds after the break.

"You can't afford to let your confidence drop just because you miss a chance," said Forlan, who had failed with a couple of first-half efforts before meeting Quinton Fortune's cross with a firm header to double United's lead three minutes after Van Nistelrooy's strike.

"I kept working hard as I always try to do but the goals give you a better feeling."

However, Ferguson insisted he has never lost faith in Forlan despite overlooking him so often. The Scot said: "Diego scored some really important goals for us last season and made a major contribution to winning the title. The problem was that in the run-in to the championship Ruud hit a vein of form which was incredible.

"Playing Ruud up front, with either Ryan or Paul just behind, proved beneficial for us. I didn't want to change it so Diego suffered for the form of the team. But he is only 24 and will improve."

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nervous times at Manyoo - who's going next? :laugh:

RVN
28-07-2003, 08:13 PM
Nervous times at Manyoo - who's going next? :laugh:

Hopefully no one else, instead some new arrivals instead.:rolleyes:

RVN
28-07-2003, 08:20 PM
it's all bollocks - the sooner the premiership season starts the better!

Do you not think Abramovich is playing "Championship Manager 03-04" with Chelsea.... It's exactly what i'd do - bid for everyone and hope that one of the deals comes off!

I hope all this rumours die down, its so annoying.:mad:

CorosIve
28-07-2003, 09:25 PM
wats man utd next match ?

Ch3tah_39
28-07-2003, 10:48 PM
Forlan scored finally.. yeahz..:D

Ch3tah_39
28-07-2003, 10:48 PM
Originally posted by CorosIve
wats man utd next match ?

juventus....;)

ccloh
28-07-2003, 11:10 PM
was looking more towards the man utd vs barcelona game. would like to see how ronnie handles the game

Ch3tah_39
28-07-2003, 11:13 PM
was looking more towards the man utd vs barcelona game. would like to see how ronnie handles the game

ya lorz

OreoCookies
28-07-2003, 11:37 PM
What can I say? Bring on Juve & Barca manz! :D

No disrespect to Celtic & Club America, but they are not in the same class as the Italians & the Spainards... Let's hope Fergie's men can win the next two matches to prove that losing out on Ronaldino has not weakened as at all... :bounce:

cal127
29-07-2003, 12:46 AM
Yeah Roy Keane should hit Ronin in the back of his head while the ref is not looking (he did say Ronin needs his head examine) :D

guoquanyap
29-07-2003, 01:11 AM
yeah juventus will be a stronger opponent which it more intresting to see how we perform and we shall beat Barca and kick that ronadinho! ;)

NanDesKa
29-07-2003, 02:10 AM
scarli keano go tackle ronnie and end his career..
then after that announce retirement and become assistant manager..
LOL

ralliart_ray
29-07-2003, 09:12 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
scarli keano go tackle ronnie and end his career..
then after that announce retirement and become assistant manager..
LOL :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

yulee
29-07-2003, 10:02 AM
United are big on the pitch but small time in Tinseltown
Daniel Taylor in Los Angeles
Tuesday July 29, 2003
The Guardian

Perhaps the best indication of how Manchester United are regarded in Los Angeles can be gauged by visiting Wilshire Boulevard. Among the designer boutiques, where the movie stars do their shopping, the Nike Town shop will tell you a story that the men in suits at Old Trafford do not want to hear: they have only one small rack selling the club's replica jerseys.
Behind the blank smiles of the have-a-nice-day shop assistants, there is an innocent ignorance about the world's most profitable sports club." Manchester? And they're a soccer team, right?"

Nine days into their United States tour, nobody at Old Trafford can have any delusions that cracking this country is feasible in one visit. In terms of celebrity status, David Beckham is still very much D-list, and Ryan Giggs could probably walk down Rodeo Drive without a single autograph request.

To most Americans, football - sorry, soccer - remains a strange foreign pastime. United's directors need only have looked out of their plane windows at the baseball diamonds as they flew out of Los Angeles and into New York last night, or see the blanket coverage of Kobe Bryant's arrest for alleged sexual assault, to realise exactly where England's national sport registers in the average American household.

But even the most cynical observer would have to be impressed by the manner in which Sir Alex Ferguson's players have impressed the 100,000-plus fans who have witnessed their first two games, even if the bonhomie accompanying their 3 -1 win over the Mexican club America at the LA Coliseum in the early hours of yesterday was tempered by some hooliganism.

Of all the events held in this stadium - two Olympics, a couple of Super Bowls, a World Series, political rallies by JFK - it is a safe bet officers of the LAPD south-west division have never had to run across Figueroa Street and from one end of the stadium to the other to prevent a riot.

On this occasion, the English contingent could not be blamed. In a stadium with no crowd segregation, some Mexicans fans were aggrieved to see Ruud van Nistelrooy and Diego Forlan score second-half goals and began throwing bottles, flares and other missiles at some United fans. After an uneasy stand-off, a few Mancunians retaliated before the police calmed things down.

Forlan showed he might have established the difference between a barn door and a set of goalposts, David Bellion impressed on his full debut and Van Nistelrooy emphasised why he is now the team's biggest draw.

Van Nistelrooy dedicated his goal to Dr Richard Steadman, who repaired his knee after a training mishap with PSV Eindhoven in 2000. "I will never stop thanking him because if it hadn't been for him, I wouldn't be here now," Van Nistelrooy said.

Nicky Butt must have run Forlan close for Most Valuable Player while Juan Sebastian Veron gave Ferguson a reminder as to why he is so aggrieved that they are trying to sell him.

Veron confirmed talks were ongoing between United and Chelsea, and also revealed he had turned down informal offers from two European clubs, one of whom is definitely Juventus and the other is thought to be Barcelona.

Ronaldinho is expected to line up for Barcelona when they clash with Manchester United in Philadelphia on Sunday.

Guess Manyoo still has alot of work to do in America! =p

ccloh
29-07-2003, 10:43 AM
barcelona is on a team revamp with new coach, new players, how much those players have gel together nobody kn and from the way that they can concede 2 late goals to juv in the barcelona - juv match, u can see that barcelona is just not quite the team they used to be.

juv should be a better test for fergie to test out its depth and strength of its 1st 11.

just wonder, does ronnie dare to look eye to eye with fergie when the 2 teams meet. :D

most probably after the match when they do a handshake, keane will go to ronnie and pass him a namecard of a brain surgeon :D

RuMmYtUb
29-07-2003, 11:10 AM
most probably after the match when they do a handshake, keane will go to ronnie and pass him a namecard of a brain surgeon

:laugh: :laugh:

That boy certainly needs some head examination.. !

RVN
29-07-2003, 02:06 PM

:laugh: :laugh:

That boy certainly needs some head examination.. !

to ronnie.:laugh:

RVN
29-07-2003, 02:25 PM
SIR Alex Ferguson seems convinced that Seba Veron's future is at Manchester United.

The champions have apparently not received any official offer from Chelsea, although the Russian multi-billionaire funded club have made an enquiry.

Veron, on the United American tour, has reiterated his desire to stay at Old Trafford but weekend reports suggested that Chelsea were planning to make a bid for the the Argentinian midfielder within the next 24 hours.

However, Ferguson said after playing Veron for 90 minutes in Los Angeles: "I think Seba will be with us next year. He is an excellent footballer, as you have seen today. There is not a problem.

"Nothing changes with Seba. He is one of our squad. He is a very important player. You can't dismiss the class of the boy. The situation that arose earlier on was that there was an opportunity for him to go to a club. Maybe it is a good thing he didn't go."

Veron may have found himself surplus to requirements if United had been successful in their bid to land Ronaldinho from Paris St Germain.

But the Brazilian's snub in favour of Barcelona as United set out for their American tour 10 days has altered the situation. United can ill afford to lose the 28-year-old's off-the-cuff talent in a midfield that has already lost David Beckham this summer.

Despite the talents on offer from new faces Eric Djemba Djemba and Brazilian Kleberson, when his work permit is granted, neither offers the match-turning skill of Veron. With United marking time on their pursuit of a new import in place of Ronaldinho, Veron's future appears secure for the time being.

ccloh
29-07-2003, 03:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
SIR Alex Ferguson seems convinced that Seba Veron's future is at Manchester United.

The champions have apparently not received any official offer from Chelsea, although the Russian multi-billionaire funded club have made an enquiry.

Veron, on the United American tour, has reiterated his desire to stay at Old Trafford but weekend reports suggested that Chelsea were planning to make a bid for the the Argentinian midfielder within the next 24 hours.

However, Ferguson said after playing Veron for 90 minutes in Los Angeles: "I think Seba will be with us next year. He is an excellent footballer, as you have seen today. There is not a problem.

"Nothing changes with Seba. He is one of our squad. He is a very important player. You can't dismiss the class of the boy. The situation that arose earlier on was that there was an opportunity for him to go to a club. Maybe it is a good thing he didn't go."

Veron may have found himself surplus to requirements if United had been successful in their bid to land Ronaldinho from Paris St Germain.

But the Brazilian's snub in favour of Barcelona as United set out for their American tour 10 days has altered the situation. United can ill afford to lose the 28-year-old's off-the-cuff talent in a midfield that has already lost David Beckham this summer.

Despite the talents on offer from new faces Eric Djemba Djemba and Brazilian Kleberson, when his work permit is granted, neither offers the match-turning skill of Veron. With United marking time on their pursuit of a new import in place of Ronaldinho, Veron's future appears secure for the time being.

that a gd piece of new for man utd supporter for sure :)

Ch3tah_39
29-07-2003, 03:47 PM

that a gd piece of new for man utd supporter for sure :)

;)