View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
kengbeng
29-07-2003, 03:57 PM
I've confidence that Veron will still come good this coming season, now that Beckham is gone.
ralliart_ray
29-07-2003, 05:31 PM
veron is a very good player
StormTrooper
29-07-2003, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
i've always had faith in him. he'll be a key player in the coming season. :cool:
guoquanyap
29-07-2003, 08:01 PM
the problem is whether he wan to stay or not?
OreoCookies
29-07-2003, 09:06 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
the problem is whether he wan to stay or not?
Well... If you were Veron, would you join Chelsea? I wouldn't... :rolleyes:
If competition for places is a factor, the first-team at Chelsea is as difficult to break into as at Old Trafford... If itz about trophies, nothing beats staying with Fergie... If itz about money, I believe Man Utd is paying him a fortune now... :o
So there... Is there any reason why it'd be better to move over to Stamford Bridge? I think not... So the verdict is that Veron would want to stay on... :cool:
guoquanyap
29-07-2003, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Well... If you were Veron, would you join Chelsea? I wouldn't... :rolleyes:
If competition for places is a factor, the first-team at Chelsea is as difficult to break into as at Old Trafford... If itz about trophies, nothing beats staying with Fergie... If itz about money, I believe Man Utd is paying him a fortune now... :o
So there... Is there any reason why it'd be better to move over to Stamford Bridge? I think not... So the verdict is that Veron would want to stay on... :cool:
:laugh: well there is some point but we are not veron, we nv know how ppl think man... ;)
OreoCookies
29-07-2003, 09:55 PM
:laugh: well there is some point but we are not veron, we nv know how ppl think man... ;)
True... We'll never know thoroughly how Veron would feel or think... But I can't seem to find reason enough for Veron to want to cross-over to Ranieri's side... :rolleyes:
ALEX FERGUSON is making another bid to sign Spanish star Joaquin Sanchez from Real Betis.
Manchester United have already had one offer of money plus Diego Forlan turned down for the £14million-rated winger, 22.
Now chief executive Peter Kenyon has sent representatives to find out how much Betis want in a straight cash deal.
Kenyon is currently in America on United’s pre-season tour but he may even fly to Seville to try and push the move through.
Boss Fergie’s chances of landing Joaquin as a replacement for David Beckham looked to have gone after an initial offer was knocked back.
And the player also seemed to have blown any hopes of moving to Old Trafford when he was reported to be keen on staying in La Liga.
But he is still locked in a contract dispute with Betis and United have never given up hope of signing Joaquin.
JUAN SEBASTIÁN VERÓN has finally recognised that he may be forced to accept a transfer to Chelsea, but said that his preference would be to stay at Manchester United.
The Argentina midfield player claims that he has turned down offers from several clubs this summer, but, with United willing to sell him, and his agent due in London this week to discuss a £15 million move to Stamford Bridge, he has acknowledged that he may have little say in the matter.
“By no means do I plan to leave,” Verón said after helping United to a 3-1 victory over Club América in the second match of their US tour in Los Angeles on Sunday. “I feel comfortable and happy with United. But if the club is planning to transfer me, that’s another matter.”
An informal offer from Chelsea — for little more than half the £28.1 million that United paid Lazio for him in July 2001 — was accepted by the club two weeks ago and the proposal remains open. Fernando Hidalgo, the player’s agent, is due to meet representatives of the London club this week to discuss the move.
Joining another English club would not be Verón’s preferred option, given his struggle to adapt to the physical rigours of the Premiership during the past two seasons, but, with neither Barcelona nor Juventus having followed up their long-term interest with a firm offer, he is said to be increasingly amenable to a move to Chelsea.
ccloh
30-07-2003, 12:18 PM
i dont see a reason why veron needs to leave utd for a better football season in chelsea ???
I hope he`ll stay with us for one more season at least. It`d be a mistake to sell him now, as we haven`t even found a replacement for Beckham yet. Allowing two of our best midfielders to leave would leave us in a right f*cking mess! :mad:
Come on Fergie, keep him.:rolleyes:
Spock
30-07-2003, 12:41 PM
I still dunno what position bellion plays in...I thought he played as a striker at sunderland?Is he a midfielder??
RuMmYtUb
30-07-2003, 02:04 PM
I dun think the pasture is greener for veron @ chelski...
I still dunno what position bellion plays in...I thought he played as a striker at sunderland?Is he a midfielder??
Anyway that kid is a versatile player, can play striker or right wing...
kengbeng
30-07-2003, 02:46 PM
If the board is negotiating a move for Veron, I think the only reason is because there is a high possibility he has no intention of renewing the contract, and thus returning to Serie A on free transfer.
ccloh
30-07-2003, 03:51 PM
bellion did not have an impressive outing as a right winger when played against club america that day.
OreoCookies
30-07-2003, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
If the board is negotiating a move for Veron, I think the only reason is because there is a high possibility he has no intention of renewing the contract, and thus returning to Serie A on free transfer.
There's truth in your statement, but it'll be a waste to just let Veron go like that, in a half-price deal... :rolleyes:
I'd rather Veron stay on... That way, there's a chance that Fergie might build the team around him, and then maybe convince him to sign a contract extension from there...
Besides... If Veron does indeed cross-over to Stamford Bridge, that'll leave us pretty short of a truly creative match-winner... :(
OreoCookies
30-07-2003, 07:26 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
bellion did not have an impressive outing as a right winger when played against club america that day.
Give the boy some time... He's just made his debut, and should be given the right encouragement to facilitate him gelling with the players & Man Utd's style of play... :)
guoquanyap
30-07-2003, 07:47 PM
$15 million? gd price? haiz...see whether he wan to go or not lor...
NanDesKa
30-07-2003, 09:32 PM
Why would he want to go the chelsea when obviously Man Utd's still the biggest and currently the most powerful club arnd no?
guoquanyap
30-07-2003, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
Why would he want to go the chelsea when obviously Man Utd's still the biggest and currently the most powerful club arnd no?
dunz....
kengbeng
30-07-2003, 09:58 PM
Possibly because no one at OT is making an effort to keep him. I'm sure that if Sir Alex says that he wants Veron to stay, he will stay. But at the moment, what Sir Alex is saying is that he is leaving it up to the player. It indirectly means that the player is not in his plans. Veron might be discouraged at the lack of support for him from the manager, that's why he's considering the move.
OreoCookies
30-07-2003, 10:07 PM
Possibly because no one at OT is making an effort to keep him. I'm sure that if Sir Alex says that he wants Veron to stay, he will stay. But at the moment, what Sir Alex is saying is that he is leaving it up to the player. It indirectly means that the player is not in his plans. Veron might be discouraged at the lack of support for him from the manager.
But SAF has never publicly criticised Veron before... Even when the media were chipping in with all sorts of negative comments, Fergie has always jumped to Veron's defence...
I believe Veron should stay on & repay Fergie's belief & loyalty... That's the least that he can do, I guess... There's always a chance for Seba to prove himself, like how Phil Neville fought back into the first-team with his displays in the midfield holding role... :cool:
Besides, Sir Alex never promised anyone a guaranteed place in the first-XI... So Seba shouldn't be so worried about not featuring in the immediate future... There's always a place for talented players at Old Trafford... :D
NanDesKa
30-07-2003, 10:22 PM
Whole team only Roy Keane is spared the rod.
:o
guoquanyap
31-07-2003, 02:28 AM
well some news for the time being....at least fergie wan veron to stay ;)
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=272503&cc=5739http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/mufc/veron_lg_getty.jpg
Its his agent thats trying to finalise the move, and Hidalogo should **** off.:mad:
ccloh
31-07-2003, 11:08 AM
i think it is very clear in OT how players come and go. all depend on fergie. if he wants u to go even if u dont want to go, u better off go rather then stay back like the case of ince, beckham, etc.
however if he wants u to stay and the board wants to sell the player off to get $$$, the player will stay for sure like the case of ole when spurs trying to move in on him some seasons ago but fergie wanted him to stay and so here he is now (kicked beckham out of the right midfield role :D )
i think it is very clear in OT how players come and go. all depend on fergie. if he wants u to go even if u dont want to go, u better off go rather then stay back like the case of ince, beckham, etc.
however if he wants u to stay and the board wants to sell the player off to get $$$, the player will stay for sure like the case of ole when spurs trying to move in on him some seasons ago but fergie wanted him to stay and so here he is now (kicked beckham out of the right midfield role :D )
Becks was sold becos Fergie don't want him, but Fergie wants Veron to stay and I hope he will.
Sir Alex Ferguson and Juan Sebastian Veron's agent have both insisted the midfielder could stay at Manchester United.
The Argentine's agent was due to meet Chelsea officials on Wednesday to discuss a £16m transfer to Stamford Bridge.
"If Seba is very happy with what Chelsea offer, then we will close the contract with Manchester United," agent Fernando Hildago had previously said.
But now Hildago has said his client would be content to remain at Old Trafford, and Ferguson also maintains he wants to keep the player he signed for £28.1m two years ago.
"Chelsea recently made an offer to Manchester United and when it was put to us we were willing to accept it, providing the personal terms were what we requested," said Hildago.
"Manchester United still have the last word and both clubs still have to agree to the transfer but Seba would be equally happy to remain in Manchester."
Meanwhile Ferguson, who will include Veron in his team to play Juventus in New York on Thursday, said: "Seba is a terrific player and I want him to stay."
The Man Utd boss added: "I don't know anything about the speculation. Agents talk to a lot of people, they have a lot of power and sometimes they can think different things to the player.
"But Seba is a mature man. He is very experienced and he knows what he wants.
"If there was a situation arising I'm sure he would talk to me. He hasn't done so and I'm quite happy about that."
Ferguson admitted last week that Veron had turned down an initial approach from Chelsea.
And he remains confident the 28-year-old will still be at the club when United begin the defence of their Premiership title against Bolton on 16 August.
"My impression was that he had settled down, everything had gone quiet and there was no problem," Ferguson added.
"Seba is a marvellous player and he is contracted to us. It is going to be difficult for a deal to be done tomorrow. He will be playing for us."
Chelsea are reported to be willing to offer the Argentine £90,000 a week.
OreoCookies
31-07-2003, 08:06 PM
Veron wants to stay, & Fergie wants Veron to stay too... So there, the problem is solved... :D
I sure hope that this isn't just a temporary joy though... It'll hurt if Veron really left OT... He may not be indispensible, but I believe that if his remarkable talents are to be put to good use, then where else to use them but at Man Utd? :)
guoquanyap
01-08-2003, 09:11 AM
ohhh.....cracker by giggs!....so long nv socre by freekick liao ;)
guoquanyap
01-08-2003, 10:19 AM
great football today man...all the great goals and oso show that tim howard got some potenial there....guys u all watching?
Juan Sebastien Veron is set to complete his move from Premiership champions Manchester United to Chelsea this weekend, Sky Sports News understands.
The £15 million move will go ahead despite United manager Sir Alex Ferguson saying he wants to keep the Argentina international at Old Trafford.
Veron's representatives have been in discussions with Chelsea for the past two days after the Stamford Bridge club had a renewed bid accepted by United.
Ferguson confirmed he will pick Veron for United's prestigious pre-season friendly against Juventus as their American tour continues. But the United boss revealed that Veron has not discussed his proposed move with his manager.
"Seba is a terrific player and I want him to stay," said the United boss.
"He is a mature man, very experienced and he knows what he wants. If there was a situation arising I'm sure he would talk to me but my impression was that he had settled down, everything had gone quiet and there was no problem.
"Seba is a marvellous player and he is contracted to us. It is going to be difficult for a deal to be done today. He will be playing for us."
Bloody, I hope it is not ****ing true, I hope he stay
guoquanyap
01-08-2003, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Juan Sebastien Veron is set to complete his move from Premiership champions Manchester United to Chelsea this weekend, Sky Sports News understands.
The £15 million move will go ahead despite United manager Sir Alex Ferguson saying he wants to keep the Argentina international at Old Trafford.
Veron's representatives have been in discussions with Chelsea for the past two days after the Stamford Bridge club had a renewed bid accepted by United.
Ferguson confirmed he will pick Veron for United's prestigious pre-season friendly against Juventus as their American tour continues. But the United boss revealed that Veron has not discussed his proposed move with his manager.
"Seba is a terrific player and I want him to stay," said the United boss.
"He is a mature man, very experienced and he knows what he wants. If there was a situation arising I'm sure he would talk to me but my impression was that he had settled down, everything had gone quiet and there was no problem.
"Seba is a marvellous player and he is contracted to us. It is going to be difficult for a deal to be done today. He will be playing for us."
Bloody, I hope it is not ****ing true, I hope he stay
still dun think is true ;) he made a excellent pass to Ruud today ;)
yulee
01-08-2003, 12:06 PM
'Cowardly' United accused of ducking American clubs
Daniel Taylor in New York
Friday August 1, 2003
The Guardian
http://image.guardian.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2003/07/31/chick.jpg
United accused of being chicken
Manchester United's attempt to win American hearts suffered a considerable setback last night when Major League Soccer, the country's main league, criticised the club for not playing a match against one of its leading teams.
Sections of the American media have also questioned why United arranged matches against Juventus, Celtic, Barcelona and Club America of Mexico but opted against a showpiece event involving a team such as New York/New Jersey MetroStars or Columbus Crew.
With the media coverage that would have been guaranteed, MLS believes that the men in power at Old Trafford have missed a valuable opportunity to spread the club's name across the United States.
"We're disappointed because we would have liked to be involved in some capacity," said Mark Noonan, the MLS executive vice-president. "It would have been of great benefit to us for one of our sides to play against one of the world's leading clubs, and equally it would have been of benefit to them.
"The American people would have loved to see a game like this. Plus, the league has access to network television and we could have brought that to the programme."
United were paid a reputed £2m for playing four games organised by Champions World, the tour's promoter.
"I don't want to sound arrogant but the MLS has helped to create the market they are seeking to exploit," added Noonan.
"We would have welcomed the opportunity to be involved but they made a deal with the promoter. It was a business transaction."
Although United have generally received a warm response from the press, the feeling is that they would have featured more prominently in the American media if there had been some local interest.
In one particularly vitriolic column, USA Today told its two million readers: "Manchester United - wimps, cowards, pretty boys taking the easy road like a champion boxer ducking the top contender.
"Can you imagine the headlines if they made a Beatles-style landing in New York and then lost to the MetroStars? Perhaps they figure it'll be easier to explain a loss to a mysterious Mexican team (United actually won 3-1) than - gasp - a bunch of Americans. And so they duck.
"Ruud van Nistelrooy knows he can't put any shots past Kevin Hartman and Adin Brown. These aren't the second-rate Scandinavian goalkeepers he faces in England, where the only star is the former MLS player Brad Friedel. And the Neville brothers would rather shank the ball into the third row 20 times a game than try to contain Carlos Ruiz or Taylor Twellman."
United might laugh that off but the MLS's grievances will be of more concern during a tour in which, despite the impressive crowds at their matches, it has become apparent that establishing the club as a household name throughout the US will not be feasible in one visit.
Talks are already under way about a second visit and Sir Alex Ferguson revealed that the club would probably tour the Far East in 2005 before returning to the US in 2007.
guoquanyap
01-08-2003, 12:09 PM
Originally posted by yulee
'Cowardly' United accused of ducking American clubs
Daniel Taylor in New York
Friday August 1, 2003
The Guardian
http://image.guardian.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2003/07/31/chick.jpg
United accused of being chicken
Manchester United's attempt to win American hearts suffered a considerable setback last night when Major League Soccer, the country's main league, criticised the club for not playing a match against one of its leading teams.
Sections of the American media have also questioned why United arranged matches against Juventus, Celtic, Barcelona and Club America of Mexico but opted against a showpiece event involving a team such as New York/New Jersey MetroStars or Columbus Crew.
With the media coverage that would have been guaranteed, MLS believes that the men in power at Old Trafford have missed a valuable opportunity to spread the club's name across the United States.
"We're disappointed because we would have liked to be involved in some capacity," said Mark Noonan, the MLS executive vice-president. "It would have been of great benefit to us for one of our sides to play against one of the world's leading clubs, and equally it would have been of benefit to them.
"The American people would have loved to see a game like this. Plus, the league has access to network television and we could have brought that to the programme."
United were paid a reputed £2m for playing four games organised by Champions World, the tour's promoter.
"I don't want to sound arrogant but the MLS has helped to create the market they are seeking to exploit," added Noonan.
"We would have welcomed the opportunity to be involved but they made a deal with the promoter. It was a business transaction."
Although United have generally received a warm response from the press, the feeling is that they would have featured more prominently in the American media if there had been some local interest.
In one particularly vitriolic column, USA Today told its two million readers: "Manchester United - wimps, cowards, pretty boys taking the easy road like a champion boxer ducking the top contender.
"Can you imagine the headlines if they made a Beatles-style landing in New York and then lost to the MetroStars? Perhaps they figure it'll be easier to explain a loss to a mysterious Mexican team (United actually won 3-1) than - gasp - a bunch of Americans. And so they duck.
"Ruud van Nistelrooy knows he can't put any shots past Kevin Hartman and Adin Brown. These aren't the second-rate Scandinavian goalkeepers he faces in England, where the only star is the former MLS player Brad Friedel. And the Neville brothers would rather shank the ball into the third row 20 times a game than try to contain Carlos Ruiz or Taylor Twellman."
United might laugh that off but the MLS's grievances will be of more concern during a tour in which, despite the impressive crowds at their matches, it has become apparent that establishing the club as a household name throughout the US will not be feasible in one visit.
Talks are already under way about a second visit and Sir Alex Ferguson revealed that the club would probably tour the Far East in 2005 before returning to the US in 2007.
:eek: they sound as if their team is way way better than Juventus and Barca....:eek:
ccloh
01-08-2003, 12:20 PM
a very impressive performance by utd today. veron - rvn goal SUPERB :bounce:
tim howard got an impressive debut also.
ans forlan, dont kn want to laugh or cry at him. miss an open goal :mad:
well cant wait to see them take on barcelona next
yulee
01-08-2003, 01:53 PM
Interesting to see how Ronny performs against Manyoo! :laugh:
hope we shut him out and beat them.;)
ccloh
01-08-2003, 05:19 PM
he got quite an impressive performance against ac milan that day apart from that deflected goal. i wont be surprised that man utd cant contain him in the coming match not 'cos he is damm good but the defence of man utd in this us tour is running thin. silvestre not in the squard, gary neville was sent home after the injury against club of america, wes brown wasn't in the squard too and now they have to let fortune to play the left defender. somehow phil neville and fortune both picked up a minor injury this morning also.
what the ****, so suay so many injuries to our defender.:mad:
O'Shea and Rio are only our 2 defender left then, maybe Keane will slot back into the defence then.
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2003, 05:48 PM
Haiz Barca 2-0 AC Milan.... scorers Quaresma and Ronaldinho..... so sad both Utd targets were missed out by Fergie and now flourishing in Barca especially Quaresma, excelled down the flanks, very impressive for a 20 year old, left Nesta and Maldini flat footed.... I guess he would be an adequate replacment for Becks if we signed him....
orca_sea
01-08-2003, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Haiz Barca 2-0 AC Milan.... scorers Quaresma and Ronaldinho..... so sad both Utd targets were missed out by Fergie and now flourishing in Barca especially Quaresma, excelled down the flanks, very impressive for a 20 year old, left Nesta and Maldini flat footed.... I guess he would be an adequate replacment for Becks if we signed him....
true..sad he cnt come to Man U... or else he surely can mk it big there!
kengbeng
01-08-2003, 08:35 PM
Missed the match this morning, but I had the match taped and watched just now. :)
My afterthoughts:
1. Giggs' free-kick proves that there are other players capable of set-pieces other than Becks. Enough said.
2. Veron's delicate chip with the outside of his foot was fantastic! Even more fantastic was how Ruud finished off the move! The chest, the turn and the volley into the roof of the net. Classic stuff!
3. Forlan just undid the MOM performance the previous match. :( Those 2 misses were just so awful. But methinks he could have an alternate (and better) role as a winger instead of a striker. He has great energy in his movement, and should be used in a more creative role.
4. Last but not least, Tim Howard put in a confident performance. Made a couple of saves with his quick reflexes, but tends to punch the ball too much. Let's hope that he makes an improvement in this part of the game. He can look no further than his compatriot Brad Friedel who also punches quite a lot in his early career, but has since tuned his game very well, punching when necessary and powerfully..
One advantage I feel, that Tim has over the other keepers is that he communicates a lot with his defenders, rather than keeping quiet. This helps to keep the defenders on their toes and at the same time make them more confident.
knave
01-08-2003, 09:23 PM
haiz, those Americans and their egos... ManU probably spared their blushes if they did matched up... I wonder what would be the score... 10-0???
Howard looks impressive thou, fast and quick. I too agree that Forlan should be used as a winger instead. Just look at the way he went past so many opponents.. he's quick and pacey too... First touch is also better than that Bellion, who keeps hiding on the sideline.
Forlan created that excellent crossfield ball to Ole for his goal, and he also sent another similar crossfield ball to Richardson. It goes to show that he does have some vision. Maybe his vision does not include the goal net.
From the 3 matches I've seen of Darren Fletcher, I dun think he's good enuff for 1st team yet. He's totally non-existant. Kinda disappointed in him.
Ch3tah_39
01-08-2003, 10:05 PM
Originally posted by knave
haiz, those Americans and their egos... ManU probably spared their blushes if they did matched up... I wonder what would be the score... 10-0???
Howard looks impressive thou, fast and quick. I too agree that Forlan should be used as a winger instead. Just look at the way he went past so many opponents.. he's quick and pacey too... First touch is also better than that Bellion, who keeps hiding on the sideline.
Forlan created that excellent crossfield ball to Ole for his goal, and he also sent another similar crossfield ball to Richardson. It goes to show that he does have some vision. Maybe his vision does not include the goal net.
From the 3 matches I've seen of Darren Fletcher, I dun think he's good enuff for 1st team yet. He's totally non-existant. Kinda disappointed in him.
Fletcher still young la.. more to llearn for him..
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2003, 10:26 PM
Ya lor, muz give him time... Really disappointed how the hell did forlan missed that sitter on 89th minute... what a waste.... would be 5-1 !!!
knave
01-08-2003, 10:58 PM
me and my friends couldn't stop laughing at that miss... we were also commenting on that Juve clown of a keeper, who looks more like an elderly santa claus than a keeper. lol.
ccloh
01-08-2003, 11:25 PM
Becks Real deal a 'mistake' - Clemente
Buying David Beckham was a 'mistake' and he could become a disruptive influence at Real Madrid, according to former Spain boss Javier Clemente.
Clemente fears Madrid paid over the odds to land the England captain, whose transfer could end up costing the Primera Liga champions £25million.
But the veteran coach, now in charge of Espanyol in Barcelona, believes the greater problem could be disharmony in the Madrid squad, with the risk of jealousy among the club's established stars.
'I think that the decision to buy Beckham is a mistake as he is very expensive and Real Madrid don't need him as they already have Figo,' Clemente said.
'Beckham is a very good player, but he has a lot of other things going on in his life and these could cause problems.'
The 28-year-old quit Manchester United this summer to sign for Madrid in a move he hopes will improve him as a player.
Madrid hope it will raise their profile even further, and on their tour of the Far East they have been stunned by the popularity Beckham boasts in the region.
That is an untapped market for Madrid and one they are keen to exploit.
Beckham has it cornered, having earned millions of pounds on a whistle-stop tour in the close-season.
But regardless of his sponsorship and marketing deals, Madrid will want to see him justify his reputation as a world-class footballer.
Increasingly, Spanish clubs are depending on foreign signings like Beckham to bolster their squads and Clemente reckons the trend to buy from abroad is having a detrimental impact of the national game, with money meaning everything.
'The league is very strong, but you need to look at how many foreign players there are,' he said.
'Look at Real Madrid - Zidane, Figo, Ronaldo, Makelele ...... there's a lot of money in Spanish football which is very important to its success.'
Beckham is currently on Real Madrid's pre-season tour of the Far East and he is due to make his debut for them against a 'Dragon XI' in Beijing tomorrow.
------------------------------------------------------------------
finally some1 agreed with me that real madrid is damm stupid to buy beckham in term of football sense.
ccloh
01-08-2003, 11:26 PM
me and my friends couldn't stop laughing at that miss... we were also commenting on that Juve clown of a keeper, who looks more like an elderly santa claus than a keeper. lol.
more like dont kn whether want to laugh or cry when forlan miss the goal and his reaction of covering up his face with his shirt damm funny :D
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 02:29 AM
more like dont kn whether want to laugh or cry when forlan miss the goal and his reaction of covering up his face with his shirt damm funny :D
can laugh lah cause leading 4-1 imagine we are chasing the game i gonna cry out loud man~ ;)
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 02:31 AM
Becks Real deal a 'mistake' - Clemente
Buying David Beckham was a 'mistake' and he could become a disruptive influence at Real Madrid, according to former Spain boss Javier Clemente.
Clemente fears Madrid paid over the odds to land the England captain, whose transfer could end up costing the Primera Liga champions £25million.
But the veteran coach, now in charge of Espanyol in Barcelona, believes the greater problem could be disharmony in the Madrid squad, with the risk of jealousy among the club's established stars.
'I think that the decision to buy Beckham is a mistake as he is very expensive and Real Madrid don't need him as they already have Figo,' Clemente said.
'Beckham is a very good player, but he has a lot of other things going on in his life and these could cause problems.'
The 28-year-old quit Manchester United this summer to sign for Madrid in a move he hopes will improve him as a player.
Madrid hope it will raise their profile even further, and on their tour of the Far East they have been stunned by the popularity Beckham boasts in the region.
That is an untapped market for Madrid and one they are keen to exploit.
Beckham has it cornered, having earned millions of pounds on a whistle-stop tour in the close-season.
But regardless of his sponsorship and marketing deals, Madrid will want to see him justify his reputation as a world-class footballer.
Increasingly, Spanish clubs are depending on foreign signings like Beckham to bolster their squads and Clemente reckons the trend to buy from abroad is having a detrimental impact of the national game, with money meaning everything.
'The league is very strong, but you need to look at how many foreign players there are,' he said.
'Look at Real Madrid - Zidane, Figo, Ronaldo, Makelele ...... there's a lot of money in Spanish football which is very important to its success.'
Beckham is currently on Real Madrid's pre-season tour of the Far East and he is due to make his debut for them against a 'Dragon XI' in Beijing tomorrow.
------------------------------------------------------------------
finally some1 agreed with me that real madrid is damm stupid to buy beckham in term of football sense.
ya continue to distract them okie! better still they internal power struggle! :laugh: :laugh:
leslielai
02-08-2003, 09:55 AM
heh.
Did you guys read how the Americans called Man United simply because United isn't playing any of the MLS clubs?
They really think they are anywhere near the standards of Juve and Barca? Probably not even comparable to Celtic man. ROFL.
Just find a timeslot to fit one of the MLS teams into the tour schedule lah .. show them what they are and what United is capable of.
:D
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 10:43 AM
Originally posted by leslielai
heh.
Did you guys read how the Americans called Man United simply because United isn't playing any of the MLS clubs?
They really think they are anywhere near the standards of Juve and Barca? Probably not even comparable to Celtic man. ROFL.
Just find a timeslot to fit one of the MLS teams into the tour schedule lah .. show them what they are and what United is capable of.
:D
yalah that y i say they sound as if their team is way way better than juventus or Barca :rolleyes: but actually we oso should play ani one of their team lah like that at least more amercia will take notice...;)
cracker
02-08-2003, 11:17 AM
any chance of watching Utd friendlies game goals over the net ? had missed the replay of the juve match !!!
leslielai
02-08-2003, 11:24 AM
Originally posted by cracker
any chance of watching Utd friendlies game goals over the net ? had missed the replay of the juve match !!!
Doubt so.
The RVN goal was .. soooooo ****in cool! Really good setup by Veron too.
Giggs made the FK look too easy.
Great game. The replay wasn't a full length one leh .. lasted for an hour only.
kengbeng
02-08-2003, 11:27 AM
I've recorded a clip of it. 29.3MB :D
Spock
02-08-2003, 11:28 AM
can send me through icq or something,kengbeng?
kengbeng
02-08-2003, 11:31 AM
Find me over icq 170743372.
leslielai
02-08-2003, 11:32 AM
I want it too! :D
ccloh
02-08-2003, 12:13 PM
wah lau how can miss the replay ???? after watching fair game (cindy crawford babe) then it is the reply liao.
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 12:22 PM
yeah mus download and watch the Giggs and Ruud goals man! and oso mus see how forlan miss!!@ poor boy dunno got kana scold by fergie or not.... ;)
NanDesKa
02-08-2003, 12:49 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
the goal was indeed the best i have seen..
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 01:21 PM
Let's hope that there's gonna' be more quality goals from the Manchester lads, come the match versus Barcelona on Monday... :)
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 01:24 PM
Let's hope that there's gonna' be more quality goals from the Manchester lads, come the match versus Barcelona on Monday... :)
and kick ronaldinho ass!!@# ;)
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 01:49 PM
giggsy said that this pre-season is the best ever....and i agree w him from the match against celtic till now....blow mi away sia....great football and great goals all the way.....;)
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=40361
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 01:54 PM
and kick ronaldinho ass!!@# ;)
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 01:56 PM
giggsy said that this pre-season is the best ever....and i agree w him from the match against celtic till now....blow mi away sia....great football and great goals all the way.....;)
Yeah manz... :)
But honestly, pre-season is all about preparations, tinkering with the formation, etc... :rolleyes:
My hope is that Man Utd are able to carry through with the form, ability, & potential that the team has shown so far in the States... :D
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 02:02 PM
Yeah manz... :)
But honestly, pre-season is all about preparations, tinkering with the formation, etc... :rolleyes:
My hope is that Man Utd are able to carry through with the form, ability, & potential that the team has shown so far in the States... :D
and getting fittness and confident ( especially forlan ) okie last match to go!! thrash barca and seem like ronaldinho and Keano hav something to settle.....;)
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003350794,00.html
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003350786,00.jpg
guoquanyap
02-08-2003, 02:03 PM
and getting fittness and confident ( especially forlan ) okie last match to go!! thrash barca and seem like ronaldinho and Keano hav something to settle.....;)
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003350794,00.html
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003350786,00.jpg
he so ugly!!@#$@:mad:
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 02:18 PM
he so ugly!!@#$@:mad:
Wah... Personal attack ah... :laugh:
Dolphin1977
02-08-2003, 02:48 PM
wah lau how can miss the replay ???? after watching fair game (cindy crawford babe) then it is the reply liao.
can download it here
http://www.nartz.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4471 :)
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 04:10 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977
can download it here
Whoa... Thanx for the clips manz! :D
:bounce: to you...
Juan Sebastian Veron's Manchester United team-mates have pleaded with the Argentine to stay at Old Trafford.
Veron is still being linked with a £16m move to Chelsea, despite firm denials from Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
And his colleagues have delivered a unanimous appeal for him to stay after his brilliant performance in the 4-1 win against Juventus in New Jersey.
Veron created two goals, including a strike from Ruud van Nistelrooy that he created with a brilliant pass.
Van Nistelrooy said: "Seba was the best player on the pitch, He didn't lose the ball once, all his passes came off and the assist for my goal was absolutely brilliant.
"When he got the ball in the build-up to my goal I knew he was going to pass to me because he can play passes like that with the outside of his foot.
"There aren't many players capable of lifting the ball the way he did. Probably nobody expected it but me."
Van Nistelrooy's praise was echoed by Phil Neville, who said: "That pass was out of this world.
"I think winning the league last season has really helped Seba. He has been one of our best players on tour and that bodes well for the future."
Veron's agent Fernando Hildago has cast doubt on Ferguson's claims that he knows nothing of the proposed Chelsea deal, adding that United only referred the proposition to his client after accepting a bid from the Stamford Bridge club.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Seba should stay especially with his team-mates and Fergie backing him up, his agent should **** off.
ccloh
02-08-2003, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Juan Sebastian Veron's Manchester United team-mates have pleaded with the Argentine to stay at Old Trafford.
Veron is still being linked with a £16m move to Chelsea, despite firm denials from Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
And his colleagues have delivered a unanimous appeal for him to stay after his brilliant performance in the 4-1 win against Juventus in New Jersey.
Veron created two goals, including a strike from Ruud van Nistelrooy that he created with a brilliant pass.
Van Nistelrooy said: "Seba was the best player on the pitch, He didn't lose the ball once, all his passes came off and the assist for my goal was absolutely brilliant.
"When he got the ball in the build-up to my goal I knew he was going to pass to me because he can play passes like that with the outside of his foot.
"There aren't many players capable of lifting the ball the way he did. Probably nobody expected it but me."
Van Nistelrooy's praise was echoed by Phil Neville, who said: "That pass was out of this world.
"I think winning the league last season has really helped Seba. He has been one of our best players on tour and that bodes well for the future."
Veron's agent Fernando Hildago has cast doubt on Ferguson's claims that he knows nothing of the proposed Chelsea deal, adding that United only referred the proposition to his client after accepting a bid from the Stamford Bridge club.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Seba should stay especially with his team-mates and Fergie backing him up, his agent should **** off.
all these transfers cos of agent want to earn big bucks. how much soccer does these agents kn ???
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 09:44 PM
Well, these agents are after all still chosen representatives of the players... In other words, they are something like employees of the soccer stars... :rolleyes:
No matter what, the agents are still responsible to their clients for getting the best possible deal out of any situation... We can't put the blame totally on them, coz they are just doing their job, albeit it being a dirty job... :o
cracker
02-08-2003, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977
can download it here
thx for the link,,,but why I cant see visual,,but only have audio signal? I am using media playe ver 9.0
kengbeng
02-08-2003, 10:19 PM
thx for the link,,,but why I cant see visual,,but only have audio signal? I am using media playe ver 9.0
I guess you'll need DivX codec.
www.divx.com
OreoCookies
02-08-2003, 10:36 PM
Yeap... Confirmed, just as kengbeng said, you'll need to download & install the DivX codec in order to view the videos... :D
Woo....~!!! Veron's chip is simply superb manz... And I must say, Giggs' goal from the freekick should ensure that Becks' departure is of little negative impact to Man Utd's ability at set-pieces... :)
NanDesKa
03-08-2003, 12:14 AM
truly the best goal i have seen. :D
i finally saw the forlan's miss...
haiyoz...really unbelievable....
http://mrwood95.valuehost.co.uk/Forlan-miss-Juventus-p.mpg
Spock
03-08-2003, 08:42 AM
Originally posted by wes
i finally saw the forlan's miss...
haiyoz...really unbelievable....
http://mrwood95.valuehost.co.uk/Forlan-miss-Juventus-p.mpg
OMG:o he paiseh isit?Last time kio dudek's blunder,now dun wan liao.....:alien:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 08:59 AM
Well, I guess Forlan's still human after all... He makes mistakes, he gets embarrassed, etc, etc... :rolleyes:
Sure, he missed a golden chance to get on the score-sheet, but he still created the goal for Solskjaer with his cross-field pass... So let's give him credit where he is due... ;)
What he needs is to improve on his finishing, that's all... His all-round game ain't that bad... :cool:
alex666
03-08-2003, 10:15 AM
Nice review of 2002-2003 season.
Also included all the premiership summary since 1992 (2nd DVD).
http://images-eu.amazon.com/images/P/B000096KG7.02.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
Spock
03-08-2003, 10:15 AM
yeah his off the ball running is also superb..Think he should convert to attacking midfielder
kengbeng
03-08-2003, 10:47 AM
Originally posted by alex666
Nice review of 2002-2003 season.
Also included all the premiership summary since 1992 (2nd DVD).
http://images-eu.amazon.com/images/P/B000096KG7.02.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
Can't find the DVD versions of the season reviews in SG. Can only get the VCD versions. :(
BTW, is the VCD version of this in SG yet? Cos I already have the other reviews in VCD, might as well continue the collection in VCD format.
cracker
03-08-2003, 11:38 AM
I guess you'll need DivX codec.
www.divx.com
thx for the help
finally saw the much talkabout goal by Ruud...
it was a great goal, no doubt, the pass from Veron was immaculate.
However I wont rank it among his best...
Ruud did a similar thing against Charlton last season at Old Trafford where with his back facing the goal, he just turned and whacked the ball in !
His goal against basle where he took on a few defenders and still managed to curve the ball into the net from almost the bar-line has to be ranked among his best.
The last time I recalled seeing Giggs scoring from a freekick was the last match in 1993 where MU played the last game at Old Trafford before lifting the Premier League for the first time in 25 yrs. On that night it was Blackburn and the final score was 3-1 !
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 11:45 AM
ya it is a long time since giggs score fr a freekick...maybe beck is there so he no confident and his freekick that night is great! hope to see more freekick fr him and veron ;)
cracker
03-08-2003, 11:48 AM
ya it is a long time since giggs score fr a freekick...maybe beck is there so he no confident and his freekick that night is great! hope to see more freekick fr him and veron ;)
b4 beckham,,utd free kick takers were Cantona and Irwin with Giggs having some in between.
NanDesKa
03-08-2003, 12:19 PM
how come the story regarding joaquin die le? :sad:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 12:22 PM
how come the story regarding joaquin die le? :sad:
No updates so far mah... As Fergie has said, they are currently lying low in regards to the transfer market... Take a break before analysing the available options again... :)
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 12:25 PM
Excerpt taken from Soccernet... :D
Ferguson also confirmed there were no talks on-going about new faces moving to Old Trafford, even though he has been linked with possible moves for Patrick Vieira and Kieron Dyer should Veron eventually depart.
'We have taken a break,' he said. 'There is absolutely nothing happening at the moment.'
Read more at the link below... :cool:
"Sir Alex: No Agreement Over Veron" (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=272774&cc=4716)
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 01:22 PM
ya we really to take a break or it is jus a tatic not to let our rival who we are going to buy ;) hopefully maybe there is some deal doing behind the scene....;)
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 01:26 PM
b4 beckham,,utd free kick takers were Cantona and Irwin with Giggs having some in between.
ya
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 01:49 PM
Fergie to Roman: Forget the title
Aug 3 - Alex Ferguson last night wrote off Chelsea's chances of snatching his side's Premiership crown this season as Manchester United finally agreed to let Juan Sebastian Veron join the London club on a £100,000-a-week deal.
United boss Ferguson has repeatedly vowed to keep Argentina midfielder Veron in his squad. But Chelsea are desperate to sign the Argentina midfielder before Thursday's Champions League transfer deadline. Despite Veron's failure to make an impact at Old Trafford, Chelsea have agreed staggering personal terms of £5million a year.
Although Veron will become the latest recruit in the £50m Russian revolution of new Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, Ferguson said: "Maybe you can buy the title with the purchase of good players and sound judgment, but I don't think they will do it right away. I think they have made some good, long-term buys but I doubt it's going to happen in their first season. You need experience in the championship."
United, who play Barcelona tonight in the final game of their American tour, have reluctantly allowed Veron to leave for close to half the £28.1m they paid Lazio two summers ago.
Old Trafford chief executive Peter Kenyon said last night: "There has now been an official offer from Chelsea for Veron and it is under review. We should be delivering a reply to the bid by Wednesday."
But the move is understood to be on the brink of completion, leaving Veron to line up alongside Chelsea's other big-money recruits Damien Duff, Geremi, Glen Johnson and Wayne Bridge.
-------------------------------------------
Fergie ask Roman to forget abt the title while letting go Veron ? Very contradicting ler...
:confused: :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 02:14 PM
www.planetfootball.com
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 02:15 PM
Where you get the news from? :confused:
I don't believe this... Veron please don't go!!! :(
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3120081.stm
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 02:17 PM
Wah lau, if even Veron go, i'll be damn sad.... our best set piece personnel and one of the most creative midfielders both to rival clubs.....:alien:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 02:18 PM
No leh... Soccernet & ManUtd.com never report anything leh... :rolleyes:
Can the source be trusted? :o
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 02:20 PM
Old Trafford chief executive Peter Kenyon said last night: "There has now been an official offer from Chelsea for Veron and it is under review. We should be delivering a reply to the bid by Wednesday."
I hope the reply will be a firm & resounding "NO"... :mad:
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 02:20 PM
No leh... Soccernet & ManUtd.com never report anything leh... :rolleyes:
Can the source be trusted? :o
I'm scared of the source from www.footballchannel.com
cos that time they were the first to report that Barca set to sign Ronnie, i didn't believed it until it became offcial.... *fingers crossed*
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 02:24 PM
y worry so much? i dun think fergie wan to sell veron....
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 02:26 PM
Aiya tat time oso no news of Becks sale, den suddenly Barca and Real came knocking and off he went to Spain....
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 02:26 PM
Well, I guess itz only human for us to worry... :(
But I sure hope that we're worrying for nothing...
alex666
03-08-2003, 02:31 PM
Can't find the DVD versions of the season reviews in SG. Can only get the VCD versions. :(
BTW, is the VCD version of this in SG yet? Cos I already have the other reviews in VCD, might as well continue the collection in VCD format.
VCD should be out soon.
I saw the DVDs @ HMV but very expensive and limited.
There is a DVD boxset available in the UK with all the seasons review since 92.
http://www.streetsonline.co.uk/MEDIA/CustomProductCatalog/20/18/92/20189218-1IMGSH_20189218-1IMGSH.jpg
haiz..those newspaper always try to unsettle players..
http://www.speedis.org/images/356152.gif
ccloh
03-08-2003, 03:37 PM
Aiya tat time oso no news of Becks sale, den suddenly Barca and Real came knocking and off he went to Spain....
when fergie doesnt want the player to go, that player will not go no matter what those old men up the boards in doing
ccloh
03-08-2003, 03:42 PM
Well, I guess Forlan's still human after all... He makes mistakes, he gets embarrassed, etc, etc... :rolleyes:
Sure, he missed a golden chance to get on the score-sheet, but he still created the goal for Solskjaer with his cross-field pass... So let's give him credit where he is due... ;)
What he needs is to improve on his finishing, that's all... His all-round game ain't that bad... :cool:
giggs also missed a sitter against arsenal in last season FA cup remember. that result is even more costly than this forlan miss. well as long as forlan dont make these types of stupid mistake in critical matches, it is fine with the supporters i guess
if veron goes...mayb is becos he offended fergie?
(few mths ago he reveal's fergie's secret in the dressing room....)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?forumid=20&threadid=504552
ccloh
03-08-2003, 03:47 PM
Fergie to Roman: Forget the title
Aug 3 - Alex Ferguson last night wrote off Chelsea's chances of snatching his side's Premiership crown this season as Manchester United finally agreed to let Juan Sebastian Veron join the London club on a £100,000-a-week deal.
United boss Ferguson has repeatedly vowed to keep Argentina midfielder Veron in his squad. But Chelsea are desperate to sign the Argentina midfielder before Thursday's Champions League transfer deadline. Despite Veron's failure to make an impact at Old Trafford, Chelsea have agreed staggering personal terms of £5million a year.
Although Veron will become the latest recruit in the £50m Russian revolution of new Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, Ferguson said: "Maybe you can buy the title with the purchase of good players and sound judgment, but I don't think they will do it right away. I think they have made some good, long-term buys but I doubt it's going to happen in their first season. You need experience in the championship."
United, who play Barcelona tonight in the final game of their American tour, have reluctantly allowed Veron to leave for close to half the £28.1m they paid Lazio two summers ago.
But the move is understood to be on the brink of completion, leaving Veron to line up alongside Chelsea's other big-money recruits Damien Duff, Geremi, Glen Johnson and Wayne Bridge.
-------------------------------------------
well though chelsea signed a couple of players to enforce their squard, it is impossible for them to win either the epl title or cl title this coming season. the players (both new and old) need time to gel together. i believe even the the chelsea coach also said to the fan that u cant expect winning title within these 2 seasons.
for me, i just want to see how much gap chelsea has managed to close down after these signings. u knowing chasing newcastle, arsenal and finally man utd. oops.. liverpool is out ofthe equation :D. well cant blame that as long as GH is liverpool manager, they are just a normally ordinally team that all.
ccloh
03-08-2003, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by wes
if veron goes...mayb is becos he offended fergie?
(few mths ago he reveal's fergie's secret in the dressing room....)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?forumid=20&threadid=504552
i think if u compared his case with that of jaap stam, for jaap stam case, fergie never in public said a word abt not selling jaap and then out of a sudden he is gone. but for veron, he has come out to rebuff the claiming of OT wants to sell veron away. after so many yrs in seeing players come and go, u can roughly see whether that players will leave or not depend on fergie's words to the public.
VERON WILL OUTSHRINE RONNIE TOMORROW :bounce: :bounce:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 04:02 PM
giggs also missed a sitter against arsenal in last season FA cup remember. that result is even more costly than this forlan miss. well as long as forlan dont make these types of stupid mistake in critical matches, it is fine with the supporters i guess
Giggs' miss was never a problem with me... :)
All humans make mistakes... Don't forget how Giggsy scored that wonder goal against Arsenal on the way to the treble... :D
So I guess it all works out... The onus is on us, the supporters, to be less fickle-minded, but instead to place more trust & support for the team... :cool:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 04:06 PM
VERON WILL OUTSHRINE RONNIE TOMORROW :bounce: :bounce:
That's if Ronaldino is playing... Read somewhere that Ronnie may be rested for the match tomorrow... :rolleyes:
The one I think Fergie should look out for is Quaresma... Barca sure hit the jackpot when they secured his services... I'm still wondering how - after all the speculation - Fergie missed out on signing the wonderkid from Lisbon... :(
Still, as long as Veron plays & performs well again, then I believe all those rumours about him joining Chelsea will be crushed once & for all... :)
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 04:09 PM
That's if Ronaldino is playing... Read somewhere that Ronnie may be rested for the match tomorrow... :rolleyes:
The one I think Fergie should look out for is Queresma... Barca sure hit the jackpot when they secured his services... I'm still wondering how - after all the speculation - Fergie missed out on signing the wonderkid from Lisbon... :(
Still, as long as Veron plays & performs well again, then I believe all those rumours about him joining Chelsea will be crushed once & for all... :)
Ya lar tat's y, lost Ronnie nvm, but should've secured Quaresma.... dunno wad the heck was Fergie thinking
:confused:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 04:18 PM
Ya lar tat's y, lost Ronnie nvm, but should've secured Quaresma.... dunno wad the heck was Fergie thinking
Well, no point crying over spilt milk... Just hope that he won't terrorise Man Utd too much in Euro competitions over the next few years... :rolleyes:
Well, hopefully Man Utd can sign him the next time around, if & when he becomes available... :D
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 04:21 PM
Well, no point crying over spilt milk... Just hope that he won't terrorise Man Utd too much in Euro competitions over the next few years... :rolleyes:
Well, hopefully Man Utd can sign him the next time around, if & when he becomes available... :D
No Kewell, Ronnie, Quaresma, Duff.......no Becks.... who's left ?
Hope Man Utd can get prodigy Joaquin in the future.....
Liverpool oso kio sai, gettin kewell on a cheap....
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 04:23 PM
No Kewell, Ronnie, Quaresma, Duff.......no Becks.... who's left ?
Hope Man Utd can get prodigy Joaquin in the future.....
Liverpool oso kio sai, gettin kewell on a cheap....
Fret not... We still got our own Fletcher & Richardson coming up through the ranks... :D
There's still hope for a better future! :bounce:
Manchester United will take their time considering Chelsea's official offer for Juan Sebastian Veron.
United chief executive Peter Kenyon revealed that Chelsea have now substantiated their interest in Veron with a formal bid.
Kenyon also believes Veron's agent has already agreed terms with the London club, even though the player has yet to decide whether he definitely wants to leave.
Manager Sir Alex Ferguson has always insisted his £28.1m signing will stay - but has now admitted for the first time that "things may change".
If the deal does go through it is likely to be completed by Thursday, which is the deadline for registering players for the Champions League.
United are also hopeful of concluding the purchase of Brazilian midfielder Kleberson as they look to conclude their summer dealings.
"It is not right that we have agreed a deal with Chelsea," said Kenyon.
"I want him to stay. He is a great player and has not said anything to me.
"There has been an offer made by Chelsea but, at this stage, it has not been accepted, it is under review.
"We won't rush at it, but equally we don't want to let speculation continue.
"We should be delivering a reply to the bid by Wednesday."
"Veron's agent has been having meetings, it would appear they have reached agreement on personal terms, but they have not spoken to Seba," Kenyon told the News of the World newspaper.
Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted that he does not know what will happen.
"We would like him to stay but things may change," said the United boss.
Veron, 28, cost United £28.1m from Lazio two years ago, but has struggled to establish himself at Old Trafford.
He was in top form in his most recent outing for United as Ferguson's side crushed Juventus 4-1 in a pre-season friendly in New York
Veron collected the man of the match honours with two outstanding assists which led to goals for Paul Scholes and Ruud van Nistelrooy.
Meanwhile, Ferguson has dismissed Chelsea's chances of winning the Premiership this season.
"Maybe you can buy the title with the purchase of good players and sound judgment, but I don't think they will do it right away," Ferguson told the Mail On Sunday.
"I think they have made some good, long-term buys but I doubt it's going to happen in their first season. You need experience in the championship."
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
****er, why must we consider it, reject it.:mad:
leslielai
03-08-2003, 05:14 PM
WTF.
Fans are already unhappy that there're no big signings this time round (and being such whimps on the transfer market) and they're actually considering an offer for Veron?
:mad:
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 05:38 PM
Ji tao reject lar, still consider a puny $15million....
Pls keep VERON !!!
Manchester United expect the arrival of Kleberson to be rubber-stamped on 11 August.
That is when the Old Trafford club think the work permit for the Brazilian will arrive.
World Cup winner Kleberson is set to be the final purchase of the summer for United, although Juan Sebsatian Veron could soon complete his strongly mooted move to Chelsea.
And boss Sir Alex Ferguson believes that once £5.5m midfielder Kleberson is officially on board his team will have the quality necessary to retain their Premiership title.
"I won't be bringing anyone else into the midfield," said Ferguson.
"We're getting a proven player in Kleberson and one I think could develop into someone truly versatile. I can see him performing in a number of positions for us.
"He's played in a World Cup final, so I don't anticipate any permit problems."
Ferguson has already started working out how he will handle Kleberson once he formally arrives at the club.
"He can't speak English, so we will address that as soon as he arrives. We've interpreters who'll be coming to the training ground.
"We'll also need to look at how much football he's played, as the League in Brazil is stil going on," Ferguson told the Sunday Express newspaper.
The 24-year-old has been playing in Brazil for his club side Atletico Paranaense and Ferguson is aware of the fact that he may need a break at some point during the season.
Kleberson is excited by the prospect of linking up with his new team-mates.
"It's a dream for me to play in England. I believe I'm ready for this challenge," the player told United's official website.
"Gilberto Silva of Arsenal talks of how well contested the matches are in the Premiership."
Kleberson, who has 20 caps and scored two international goals, was one of Brazil's better players during their disappointing Confederations Cup campaign in France last June.
Leeds were favourites to sign Kleberson until Manchester United declared their interest in signing him.
Ji tao reject lar, still consider a puny $15million....
Pls keep VERON !!!
well they have a duty to the share holders to consider every offer, so if it meets their valuation of the player then they'll leave it up to fergie and the player. i think seba wants to stay enough for it not to matter though.
http://www.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=157422
orca_sea
03-08-2003, 06:06 PM
Fret not... We still got our own Fletcher & Richardson coming up through the ranks... :D
There's still hope for a better future! :bounce:
Ya man Fletcher iz the nxt DB..he's the rightful replacement on the right midfield if Ole iz down :D
ccloh
03-08-2003, 06:27 PM
i think fergie was over-confident in getting ronnie and barcelona snatched up quaresma b4 really going forward for ronnie. barcelona is like playing CM go bid for any potential players and hope one or 2 will hit the jackpot whereas man utd is very focus on their target. i guess another reason for failing to get quaresma might be 'cos carlos already left for real madrid and no one keep reminding fergie.
DIEGO FORLAN apologised to his Manchester team-mates after committing what will go down as one of the worst misses in football history.
The Uruguyan missed an open goal from less than six yards after a defensive mix-up from Juventus left him with the easiest chance he will ever have in his career.
All Forlan had to do was walk the ball into the net but somehow the 24-year-old, who took 27 games to score his first goal for United, screwed his shot into the side netting.
Afterwards, the £7.5million striker tried to play down the embarrassing 89th minute miss, but admitted he had no idea why he had mana__d to mess up such a certain chance to score.
"I have to try to treat it as just another missed chance," said Forlan. "I have to say to myself 'So what?' and then move on.
"You can't afford to get down about these things. All strikers miss chances, and I'm no different.
RuMmYtUb
03-08-2003, 07:02 PM
i think fergie was over-confident in getting ronnie and barcelona snatched up quaresma b4 really going forward for ronnie. barcelona is like playing CM go bid for any potential players and hope one or 2 will hit the jackpot whereas man utd is very focus on their target. i guess another reason for failing to get quaresma might be 'cos carlos already left for real madrid and no one keep reminding fergie.
Haiz now even chelski oso playing CM....
only Man Utd selling, not even buying world class players...
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 09:39 PM
actually i am very impressed w the pre-season result....all round play was very gd even though we didnt add ani 'big' player.....
as for the transfer thing...from the start i think fergie already want to sell beckham but this time for veron, i dun think fergie wan to let him go.....frankly speaking...we already lack player liao still selling....how can that be?!
;) anyway is the D-Day liao...jus wait and see lor....
ccloh
03-08-2003, 10:18 PM
actually i am very impressed w the pre-season result....all round play was very gd even though we didnt add ani 'big' player.....
as for the transfer thing...from the start i think fergie already want to sell beckham but this time for veron, i dun think fergie wan to let him go.....frankly speaking...we already lack player liao still selling....how can that be?!
i guess fergie will have to convince veron that with the arrival of kleberson (if work permit is approved), veron is still very much impt. to the team.
just wonder why will kleberson be playing ??? central midfield or right side ???
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN
well they have a duty to the share holders to consider every offer, so if it meets their valuation of the player then they'll leave it up to fergie and the player. i think seba wants to stay enough for it not to matter though.
Kenyon should know better than to sell Veron for 15-million pounds... That's a loss of about half the total investment... :rolleyes:
The shareholders should know better - when the stock price falls, the first instinct is not to sell at a loss, but to hold onto it in hopes of breaking-even, if not a profit... :o
But in any case, the reports have mentioned that itz Veron's agent who is brokering the whole deal, and not the player himself... I sure hope Kenyon & Veron will both say a firm "NO"... :)
Last of all, I think itz time Veron asks his agent to pack-up & ship-out... :D
leslielai
03-08-2003, 10:21 PM
MANCHESTER UNITED have been linked with a surprise move for Ajax's Tunisian international defender Hatem Trabelsi.
The North African right back has been linked with a number of clubs in England and Spain recently, with Premiership sides Manchester City and Arsenal having already been linked with the player.
City boss Kevin Keegan has shown a particular interest in bringing Trabelsi to the City of Manchester Stadium, though it now looks like arch-rivals United have joined the race for the defender.
Valencia have also been linked with the African ace but reports in England are now suggesting that Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson has had discussions with Amsterdam ArenA outfit over a transfer fee for the player.
The Dutch giants will likely ask a hefty fee for the African ace, who has been rated at around €8 million, and the club have already been in talks with the player over a new and improved contract.
The 26-year-old has already stated that he is '50-50' to leave Ajax this summer, stating that a club that is bigger than the Amsterdam giants would only interest him in making a move away from his current outfit.
It remains to seen if the Old Trafford club's supposed interest would attract the Tunisian defender into leaving Ajax for the new season, with United seemingly showing interest as well in another Ajax player - midfielder Steven Pienaar.
The South African youngster is signed to the Dutch giants until 2006 and has already attracted the interest of Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger.
However, Ajax are seemingly reluctant to let the 20-year-old leave the Amsterdam ArenA just yet, believing the time is not right for Pienaar to move on.
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 10:23 PM
Originally posted by orca_sea
Ya man Fletcher iz the nxt DB..he's the rightful replacement on the right midfield if Ole iz down :D
Remember to give the kid some time to settle in though... Don't expect him to go out & perform like DB would immediately in his first few games... :)
He's still quite a raw diamond... But with a little EPL & CL experience to polish him up, he'll become one of the crown jewels of Old Trafford in no time... :cool:
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 10:30 PM
Well, Ronaldino's history, so let's not dwell upon the topic too much... I wasn't really for him arriving at Old Trafford anyway, so whatever he does is his own business, I guess... :rolleyes:
IMHO, Quaresma would be the "one that got away"... But I believe there'll still be another chance to sign him in the future, so hopefully he'll want to come to Man Utd then... :)
Anyway, I think Fergie's transfer strategy is pretty okay... Itz better to focus on the few players that you really need, rather then placing bids all over the place & hope that they get accepted one way or another...
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 10:35 PM
Yeah, Man Utd's style seems to be more fluid now, with Becks' departure... I guess the current squad is really very good liaoz... So even without any big-name signings, I think we still have a good chance of retaining the EPL crown (& hopefully snatch the CL trophy from the San Siro too)... :)
As for Veron, we'll wait for Kenyon's answer then... But I sure hope the reply will be FO... Or something similiar... :D
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 10:39 PM
seriously i think we really hav to act fast ( i dun koe whether they hav ani deal going behind ) if we wan player for the champion league. Once a player register and play for the club in ani european matches, he will be cup-tied liao....so quick! ;)
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 10:42 PM
i guess fergie will have to convince veron that with the arrival of kleberson (if work permit is approved), veron is still very much impt. to the team.
just wonder why will kleberson be playing ??? central midfield or right side ???
Veron is important to the team... He's about the only truly creative playmaker left in the team... :rolleyes:
Kleberson gives me the impression as more of a ball-winner as well as a utility-man... Something like Phil Neville...
Maybe the strategy is to use Veron in the big games & in Europe, where he can turn-on his magic, & then use Kleberson when there is a need for steel & aggression in midfield... :)
leslielai
03-08-2003, 10:50 PM
Veron is important to the team... He's about the only truly creative playmaker left in the team... :rolleyes:
Kleberson gives me the impression as more of a ball-winner as well as a utility-man... Something like Phil Neville...
Maybe the strategy is to use Veron in the big games & in Europe, where he can turn-on his magic, & then use Kleberson when there is a need for steel & aggression in midfield... :)
Yea ..
Kleberson .. Phil isn't really an appropriate example to compare him with .. perhaps Markelele minus the aggression in going forward? :D
guoquanyap
03-08-2003, 10:59 PM
phil done a great job whether he come in, that match against juventus he was great and not forget the match btw Us and Arsenal which we won 2-0 ;)
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 11:36 PM
Yea ..
Kleberson .. Phil isn't really an appropriate example to compare him with .. perhaps Markelele minus the aggression in going forward? :D
I wasn't comparing Kleberson to Phil... I just trying to explain that the Brazilian is as versatile as Phil is... :)
Anyway, Phil isn't bad either... His midfield performances last season really won him many thumbs up from fellow professionals & supporters alike... :D
OreoCookies
03-08-2003, 11:37 PM
phil done a great job whether he come in, that match against juventus he was great and not forget the match btw Us and Arsenal which we won 2-0 ;)
Yeah manz... :D
Keep up the good work, Philly! :bounce:
ccloh
04-08-2003, 12:25 AM
phil neville is a much better player then his brother gary imo. however ppl in uk thinks otherwise as they are thinking that gary neville as the future leader of england football.
i remember one season when fergie would put phil neville in his 1st 11 and gary as a sub given that gary is in the england squard but not phil. the commentator was joking then that "gary neville is good enough for england but not good enough for united" :D
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 01:39 AM
gray is at risk of losing his first-team....;) but he is loyal servant for Us....;)
NanDesKa
04-08-2003, 02:12 AM
gary is juz a normal rb.
nothing special..
there are many better ones arnd.
demon_
04-08-2003, 03:25 AM
I've recorded a clip of it. 29.3MB :D
can send it to me too??
or sent it to me in irc @ #gameaxis or #hwz or #edmw
i set auto acccept in irc~
demon_
04-08-2003, 03:28 AM
Yeah, Man Utd's style seems to be more fluid now, with Becks' departure... I guess the current squad is really very good liaoz... So even without any big-name signings, I think we still have a good chance of retaining the EPL crown (& hopefully snatch the CL trophy from the San Siro too)... :)
As for Veron, we'll wait for Kenyon's answer then... But I sure hope the reply will be FO... Or something similiar... :D
fully agreed..
WHO NEEDS BECKHAM?! no~ =p
gary is juz a normal rb.
nothing special..
there are many better ones arnd.
Man Utd is link wif a tunisia rightback....Hatem Trabelsi...
juz watch the ajax vs inter game....
i think he will be a gd signing....he is fast....solid....tackles well....like thuram....juz dat he is younger
anyway read from other forum martin ferguson is at the inter vs ajax game....
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 09:10 AM
Originally posted by wes
Man Utd is link wif a tunisia rightback....Hatem Trabelsi...
juz watch the ajax vs inter game....
i think he will be a gd signing....he is fast....solid....tackles well....like thuram....juz dat he is younger
anyway read from other forum martin ferguson is at the inter vs ajax game....
that gd? hmmm....let see how its develop....;)
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:11 AM
Manchester United 3 - 1 Barcelona
final match to round up the world championship.....
Man Utd very impressive with 4 straight wins, hauling 14 goals, conceding 4....
Who Needs Ronaldinho ?
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:13 AM
lucky sub out at half-time or else keano surely kick his butt.....;)
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:15 AM
lucky sub out at half-time or else keano surely kick his butt.....;)
HAha agree :D
KungfuKid
04-08-2003, 10:17 AM
Manchester United 3 - 1 Barcelona
final match to round up the world championship.....
Man Utd very impressive with 4 straight wins, hauling 14 goals, conceding 4....
Who Needs Ronaldinho ?
ppl always eat sour grapes..
no offence though...if mu has successfully signed ronaldinho....mu fans will nt b saying this
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by KungfuKid
no offence though...if mu has successfully signed ronaldinho....mu fans will nt b saying this
well he had done well w the assist...but other than that assist...we kept him out thoughout the first-half....and lucky we didnt sign the Ques***....he seem very 'kua lan' got attitude problem man!
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:20 AM
ronaldinho is pretty quite throughout the game. initially was surprised to see man utd w/o rvn, ole and veron in the starting 11. thought fergie is playin juv game.
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by KungfuKid
Sour grapes ? nahz i always know he won't come to man utd, ronaldinho's heart was nv determined to come, unlike players like Van Nistelrooy......
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:22 AM
Pple, dun forget we have Tim Howard at the back..... man that 24 year old looked damn solid, saved a free kick that i doubt Barthez could...
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:23 AM
fergie trying to pack the midfield w keano and butt....as they play 4-3-3 forlan maybe becos of that miss so fergie wan him to go out and prove himself and he done that!
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:24 AM
Pple, dun forget we have Tim Howard at the back..... man that 24 year old looked damn solid, saved a free kick that i doubt Barthez could...
and the certain goal fr kluverit...he was free but think he too over-confident....;)
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:25 AM
Originally posted by demon_
fully agreed..
WHO NEEDS BECKHAM?! no~ =p
who is beckham ???? is he a utd player or was he a utd player b4 ???
this name sound like a porn star actor to me :D
ralliart_ray
i wonder how ronaldinho gonna adapt to manU if he really comes... he speaks no english=p
RuMmYtUb
fergie trying to pack the midfield w keano and butt....as they play 4-3-3 forlan maybe becos of that miss so fergie wan him to go out and prove himself and he done that!
Fergie still master tactician !
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:26 AM
i wonder how ronaldinho gonna adapt to manU if he really comes... he speaks no english=p
end up like veron lor. got talent cant show it :D
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:28 AM
UNITED BROKE MY HEART - RONALDINHO
Ronaldinho claims he was left with a "broken heart" when his move to Manchester United failed to materialise.
The Brazilian striker was the subject of a transfer saga which ended with him joining Barcelona from Paris St Germain after United had at one stage looked favourites to sign him. Ronaldinho has now admitted a move to Old Trafford would have been his first choice but claims that Barca showed more interest in concluding a deal.
He told the News of the World: "United were definitely my first choice. Originally they were very polite but they left a lot of questions unanswered. I was left with a broken heart. I met great people in Manchester and I hope the door is open for the future."
He added: "What really disappoints me is I was ready and extremely close to being the first Brazilian to play for them.
"Throughout the negotiations, the United people showed a certain distance while Barcelona pushed for me and presented a more personal touch.
"Things took too long and Barcelona arrived at the table. I had to make a decision because United weren't contacting me. My physical condition was starting to get questionable and, at the stage I am at professionally, I cannot afford that to happen."
United manager Sir Alex Ferguson laid the blame for the failure to agree a transfer on Ronaldinho's brother and agent Roberto Assis.
"The only frustration we had was with his brother. We never even got the chance to sit down with the boy (Ronaldinho)," said Ferguson.
"I know he doesn't speak English anyway, but we never got to know whether he wanted to come or not. In the end we withdrew. We wanted an answer there and then. We gave them a deadline and we walked away. So he was left with Barcelona."
"He rejected us only in the sense he didn't tell us: `I want to join Manchester United'."
==============================
A piece of news to ponder about from www.football365.com
Dunno wtf is ronaldinho thinkin, one point say wanna be first brazilian in MU, 2nd said that barca always his choice, now said heartbroken.....
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:30 AM
who is beckham ???? is he a utd player or was he a utd player b4 ???
this name sound like a porn star actor to me :D
:shocked: u watch b4? :laugh:
frankly speaking lah, watched the match btw China and Real....his cross fr half field are still very deadly...created alot of scoring chances maybe we will miss that...;)
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:32 AM
:shocked: u watch b4? :laugh:
frankly speaking lah, watched the match btw China and Real....his cross fr half field are still very deadly...created alot of scoring chances maybe we will miss that...;)
Real still a benchmark to beat.... Zidane really dancing....
but still i dun like them.
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:33 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
[B]UNITED BROKE MY HEART - RONALDINHO
Ronaldinho claims he was left with a "broken heart" when his move to Manchester United failed to materialise.
The Brazilian striker was the subject of a transfer saga which ended with him joining Barcelona from Paris St Germain after United had at one stage looked favourites to sign him. Ronaldinho has now admitted a move to Old Trafford would have been his first choice but claims that Barca showed more interest in concluding a deal.
He told the News of the World: "United were definitely my first choice. Originally they were very polite but they left a lot of questions unanswered. I was left with a broken heart. I met great people in Manchester and I hope the door is open for the future."
He added: "What really disappoints me is I was ready and extremely close to being the first Brazilian to play for them.
"Throughout the negotiations, the United people showed a certain distance while Barcelona pushed for me and presented a more personal touch.
"Things took too long and Barcelona arrived at the table. I had to make a decision because United weren't contacting me. My physical condition was starting to get questionable and, at the stage I am at professionally, I cannot afford that to happen."
United manager Sir Alex Ferguson laid the blame for the failure to agree a transfer on Ronaldinho's brother and agent Roberto Assis.
"The only frustration we had was with his brother. We never even got the chance to sit down with the boy (Ronaldinho)," said Ferguson.
"I know he doesn't speak English anyway, but we never got to know whether he wanted to come or not. In the end we withdrew. We wanted an answer there and then. We gave them a deadline and we walked away. So he was left with Barcelona."
"He rejected us only in the sense he didn't tell us: `I want to join Manchester United'."
ask him f*** off lah....here another report.....
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003350908,00.html
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:35 AM
UNITED BROKE MY HEART - RONALDINHO
A piece of news to ponder about from www.football365.com
Dunno wtf is ronaldinho thinkin, one point say wanna be first brazilian in MU, 2nd said that barca always his choice, now said heartbroken.....
as keane said, he sure need some head examination. funny at one pt said this and now said that. how can man utd not approach him when psg claimed that man utd didn't go according to the bk in getting the transfer done (as man utd approached the player 1st rather then the team). well if he wants to blame, blame psg as psg doesnt want to sell him to utd.
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:36 AM
Crap **** lar this type of player, dun join straight away snub Man Utd lar, dun need to say heart follow who... nv join Man Utd oso good, he join liao i suppose he will be off to Real or something in 2 years...
this kind of player, just want more money, and he isn't commited to playing for us,.:rolleyes:
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:38 AM
and his nite life suck!!
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:39 AM
Veron ready to opt for Chelsea
Aug 4 - Alex Ferguson looks to have lost his battle to keep Juan Sebastian Veron, with Chelsea convinced they will complete his £15million move to Stamford Bridge when he returns from Manchester United's pre-season tour.
The Argentina midfielder's departure will put more pressure on Ferguson, who admitted here last night that he fears he might be short of defenders for the assault on domestic and European honours this season.
Ferguson's move to capture Arab full back Hatem Trabelsi from Ajax for £6million has only served to underline that fear. But any deal for the 26-year- old right back, who played in all Tunisia's World Cup games in Japan, is unlikely to progress until the player can discuss personal terms with United after they return from Portugal next week.
Meanwhile, the United players are trying to pressurise Veron not to leave Old Trafford, although Ferguson is the only man who could persuade him to stay. To do that, he would need to change the team's style to allow Veron to play as ringmaster, which even Veron himself knows would be virtually impossible. It is understood the deal will be done within the next few days.
A source close to the player said: "Veron has made up his mind. He doesn't believe that the public in England really appreciate his talent. He feels that at Chelsea he would have the opportunity to play exactly the way that brings the best out of him.
"He is the best player of his type in the world, but at United there are so many other big players that he is part of the jigsaw. If he could have the freedom to play in the League and European Cup that he has been given in the games on United's U.S. tour then it might be different.
"But he doesn't believe that will be the case. At Chelsea he will be surrounded by younger players. He will be the conductor of the orchestra and that is what appeals to him."
Ferguson said: "We had an offer from Chelsea and we put it to the lad because we had the feeling that they had been talking to his people anyway. I have put it to Seba to see if he wanted to go and so far he has not given me an answer. I want him to stay because he is a great player and that's the way it stays at the moment."
However, it is believed Veron has already made up his mind and will tell United so when he feels the time is right. That could be when the team arrive in Portugal tomorrow for their final warm-up match against Sporting Lisbon, before next Sunday's Community Shield game against Arsenal.
Ferguson was honest enough to confess yesterday that, while he has a surplus of midfield players and only one real concern in attack, he could face potential problems at the back.
"I am a bit concerned about the defence. We couldn't afford another injury. I do have certain options and alternatives. Eric Djemba Djemba can play right back and we have seen that Roy Keane can play at centre back.
"I can also play Mikael Silvestre left back or centre back and John O'Shea anywhere along the back four, but an extra player would be a better safety valve," he said.
The loss through injury of Wes Brown, probably until the New Year and the latest hamstring problem for Gary Neville has only heightened Ferguson's worries. For this reason, he admits he is having to regard Phil Neville, who performed to such eye-opening effect in midfield in big matches last season, as a defender for the time being.
"At the moment we are looking to use Phil as a defender, though he was brilliant in midfield at the end of last season. In fairness to him, I think he was starting to enjoy playing central midfield last year, which gives me a massive problem when I come to pick a team," said Ferguson.
Ferguson is anxious to hit the ground running after an American tour that has proved a great success and which he admits has been the club's most productive for years.
He also knows that he can ill-afford an injury to his Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, who now promises to become an idol on a par with Eric Cantona as far as the fans are concerned. For, while Fergie has any number of permutations among his forwards, there is no-one who could take Van Nistelrooy's role at the sharp end of the attack.
"If we were to get another striker it would need to be someone like Van Nistelrooy who can play up there on his own and I don't see any of them around. His form last season was much much better than the previous season and he only wants to improve, said Ferguson.
Ferguson hopes Van Nistelrooy can repeat his marvellous performance of last campaign, when he scored 46 goals.
================================
Source from www.footballchannel.com
Haiz no VERON !!!?????
Veron ready to opt for Chelsea
Aug 4 - Alex Ferguson looks to have lost his battle to keep Juan Sebastian Veron, with Chelsea convinced they will complete his £15million move to Stamford Bridge when he returns from Manchester United's pre-season tour.
The Argentina midfielder's departure will put more pressure on Ferguson, who admitted here last night that he fears he might be short of defenders for the assault on domestic and European honours this season.
Ferguson's move to capture Arab full back Hatem Trabelsi from Ajax for £6million has only served to underline that fear. But any deal for the 26-year- old right back, who played in all Tunisia's World Cup games in Japan, is unlikely to progress until the player can discuss personal terms with United after they return from Portugal next week.
Meanwhile, the United players are trying to pressurise Veron not to leave Old Trafford, although Ferguson is the only man who could persuade him to stay. To do that, he would need to change the team's style to allow Veron to play as ringmaster, which even Veron himself knows would be virtually impossible. It is understood the deal will be done within the next few days.
A source close to the player said: "Veron has made up his mind. He doesn't believe that the public in England really appreciate his talent. He feels that at Chelsea he would have the opportunity to play exactly the way that brings the best out of him.
"He is the best player of his type in the world, but at United there are so many other big players that he is part of the jigsaw. If he could have the freedom to play in the League and European Cup that he has been given in the games on United's U.S. tour then it might be different.
"But he doesn't believe that will be the case. At Chelsea he will be surrounded by younger players. He will be the conductor of the orchestra and that is what appeals to him."
Ferguson said: "We had an offer from Chelsea and we put it to the lad because we had the feeling that they had been talking to his people anyway. I have put it to Seba to see if he wanted to go and so far he has not given me an answer. I want him to stay because he is a great player and that's the way it stays at the moment."
However, it is believed Veron has already made up his mind and will tell United so when he feels the time is right. That could be when the team arrive in Portugal tomorrow for their final warm-up match against Sporting Lisbon, before next Sunday's Community Shield game against Arsenal.
Ferguson was honest enough to confess yesterday that, while he has a surplus of midfield players and only one real concern in attack, he could face potential problems at the back.
"I am a bit concerned about the defence. We couldn't afford another injury. I do have certain options and alternatives. Eric Djemba Djemba can play right back and we have seen that Roy Keane can play at centre back.
"I can also play Mikael Silvestre left back or centre back and John O'Shea anywhere along the back four, but an extra player would be a better safety valve," he said.
The loss through injury of Wes Brown, probably until the New Year and the latest hamstring problem for Gary Neville has only heightened Ferguson's worries. For this reason, he admits he is having to regard Phil Neville, who performed to such eye-opening effect in midfield in big matches last season, as a defender for the time being.
"At the moment we are looking to use Phil as a defender, though he was brilliant in midfield at the end of last season. In fairness to him, I think he was starting to enjoy playing central midfield last year, which gives me a massive problem when I come to pick a team," said Ferguson.
Ferguson is anxious to hit the ground running after an American tour that has proved a great success and which he admits has been the club's most productive for years.
He also knows that he can ill-afford an injury to his Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, who now promises to become an idol on a par with Eric Cantona as far as the fans are concerned. For, while Fergie has any number of permutations among his forwards, there is no-one who could take Van Nistelrooy's role at the sharp end of the attack.
"If we were to get another striker it would need to be someone like Van Nistelrooy who can play up there on his own and I don't see any of them around. His form last season was much much better than the previous season and he only wants to improve, said Ferguson.
Ferguson hopes Van Nistelrooy can repeat his marvellous performance of last campaign, when he scored 46 goals.
================================
Source from www.footballchannel.com
Haiz no VERON !!!?????
****, please no lah, I don't want us to sell Veron.:mad:
ANd yeah we need some cover for defence and a striker for Ruud.;)
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:41 AM
and his nite life suck!!
which gals would like to hand ard with him given his appearance (not personal attack here but just stating the fact)
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 10:42 AM
starting to worry liao...veron nv play today....Why??
question we hav to ask ourselve.....:(
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:43 AM
which gals would like to hand ard with him given his appearance (not personal attack here but just stating the fact)
:laugh:
But i dun think so, u juz look @ Dwight Yorke... his gf's boobs are........:bounce:
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:45 AM
:laugh:
But i dun think so, u juz look @ Dwight Yorke... his gf's boobs are........:bounce:
dwight yorke more handsome than ronnie for sure
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:47 AM
maybe fergie worried that the transfer saga cant make him concentrate on the pitch.
yeah:( , but we have to wait and see, I hope he chose to stay contrary to what those reports said.;)
rumours are saying we will get Jermain Defoe.;)
MANCHESTER UNITED will land Jermain Defoe in a £10million deal this week.
United have been watching the West Ham striker for a year.
And boss Alex Ferguson has decided now is the time to take the plunge and bring in the Hammers star to strengthen his Old Trafford attack.
Defoe, 20, is understood to have already bought a house in Manchester in preparation for the move, which United hope to complete when they return from their successful pre-season tour of the United States.
Ferguson also hopes this week to complete the £6m signing of Ajax full-back Hatem Trebelsi.
That means, in one week, he will have significantly improved the two areas that have troubled him most.
Ferguson wants to employ a new system this season but knows he has no cover for Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy, his only out-and-out striker.
The boss admitted: “Maybe another striker will be an advantage to us, but it is always difficult to do something.”
Defoe will be a huge loss to the Hammers. But the England Under-21 striker made his intentions clear when he handed in a transfer demand the day the Hammers were relegated.
Right-back Trebelsi is a Tunisia international and the Arabian player of the year.
Ferguson had been left desperately short in defence. Wes Brown is out until the New Year with a knee problem and Gary Neville is sidelined for three weeks with a hamstring injury.
The manager said: “I do have a bit of concern about the defence and I certainly could not afford another injury there.
“I can play Phil Neville at full-back and Roy Keane in the centre. But really I need another safety valve.”
Meanwhile, the on-off £14m Juan Veron move to Chelsea is likely to be decided one way or the other on Wednesday.
Ferguson has left the final decision up to the Argentinian, but neither of them appears to want it to go through.
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by RVN
rumours are saying we will get Jermain Defoe.;)
MANCHESTER UNITED will land Jermain Defoe in a £10million deal this week.
United have been watching the West Ham striker for a year.
And boss Alex Ferguson has decided now is the time to take the plunge and bring in the Hammers star to strengthen his Old Trafford attack.
Defoe, 20, is understood to have already bought a house in Manchester in preparation for the move, which United hope to complete when they return from their successful pre-season tour of the United States.
Ferguson also hopes this week to complete the £6m signing of Ajax full-back Hatem Trebelsi.
That means, in one week, he will have significantly improved the two areas that have troubled him most.
Ferguson wants to employ a new system this season but knows he has no cover for Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy, his only out-and-out striker.
The boss admitted: “Maybe another striker will be an advantage to us, but it is always difficult to do something.”
Defoe will be a huge loss to the Hammers. But the England Under-21 striker made his intentions clear when he handed in a transfer demand the day the Hammers were relegated.
Right-back Trebelsi is a Tunisia international and the Arabian player of the year.
Ferguson had been left desperately short in defence. Wes Brown is out until the New Year with a knee problem and Gary Neville is sidelined for three weeks with a hamstring injury.
The manager said: “I do have a bit of concern about the defence and I certainly could not afford another injury there.
“I can play Phil Neville at full-back and Roy Keane in the centre. But really I need another safety valve.”
Meanwhile, the on-off £14m Juan Veron move to Chelsea is likely to be decided one way or the other on Wednesday.
Ferguson has left the final decision up to the Argentinian, but neither of them appears to want it to go through.
Source from where ?
http://images.thesun.co.uk
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 11:00 AM
That webby reliable ??
10m for Defoe abit ex.... considering he's juz 20, though he packs a bag of skills....
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 11:00 AM
saw it 2...but dun take it too seriously...;) they oso reported we got ronaldionho for 9million pound.... :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
04-08-2003, 11:01 AM
saw it 2...but dun take it too seriously...;) they oso reported we got ronaldionho for 9million pound.... :rolleyes:
Ok den mayB it's all a pile of bull..
guoquanyap
04-08-2003, 11:21 AM
gtg guys great pre-season!! gonna send my computer for repair so wont be posting in this few days....:(
Take Carez~!~ ;)
NanDesKa
04-08-2003, 12:12 PM
defoe is good!
ya...dun believe the sun news.....they always bull****...
spykid
04-08-2003, 01:20 PM
haha... anyway for me, defoe at 10m is abit expensive... 6m juz nice :D though he's one for the future... don't really mind him coming over to OT...
Yellowfin
04-08-2003, 03:56 PM
Seem like veron is thinking of going to Chelsea.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=272860&cc=4716
ccloh
04-08-2003, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
Seem like veron is thinking of going to Chelsea.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=272860&cc=4716
seems like for veron case, fergie is taking a laid back attitude of "if he stays it is good but if he leaves, i have some alternative". to me, seem like the signing of kleberson has somehow allow both veron and kleberson to play the same role. the only diff. is kleberson can tackle but not veron.
ralliart_ray
04-08-2003, 05:32 PM
should sign jcole n defoe up ;)
OreoCookies
04-08-2003, 07:36 PM
gtg guys great pre-season!! gonna send my computer for repair so wont be posting in this few days....:(
Take Carez~!~ ;)
Cya soonz, bro... :)
OreoCookies
04-08-2003, 07:39 PM
Originally posted by spykid
haha... anyway for me, defoe at 10m is abit expensive... 6m juz nice :D though he's one for the future... don't really mind him coming over to OT...
10-million pounds is kinda' expensive for Defoe... But if he does move to Old Trafford, & can become a huge success (aka Thiery Henry), then I think it may be a worthwhile investment... :)
But still, Defoe can only serve to solve the problem of a shortage of strikers... It'll still take quite a while for him to reach the class & quality of RVN... :rolleyes:
OreoCookies
04-08-2003, 07:42 PM
seems like for veron case, fergie is taking a laid back attitude of "if he stays it is good but if he leaves, i have some alternative". to me, seem like the signing of kleberson has somehow allow both veron and kleberson to play the same role. the only diff. is kleberson can tackle but not veron.
But Kleberson doesn't give me the impression that he is a playmaker sort of player... He seems hardworking & aggressive enough, but I doubt he'll be able to put through the final ball for RVN, the way that Veron can... :rolleyes:
OreoCookies
04-08-2003, 07:45 PM
should sign jcole n defoe up ;)
Hmm... Sell Veron & then buy Joe Cole as replacement? That's an alternative...
But IMHO, Cole still needs a bit of development to become the finished article... Veron, on the other hand, is the magician in the current Man Utd squad... What he can do for Fergie & the team is really beyond the reach of most players... :rolleyes:
How about ear-marking Cole as Veron's replacement in the future, but still keep Veron? That's a good way to sort things out, if possible... :)
MANCHESTER United have told Chelsea that their opening bid for Seba Veron is not good enough.
The cash-laden Stamford Bridge club tabled an offer in midweek that is believed to be £15m.
But the Reds, who bought the Argentinian for £29m two years ago, won't be doing any business for the midfielder unless Chelsea return with a substantial increase.
The Veron transfer remains in the pending tray at Old Trafford. It still appears that United would encourage talks at the right price but don't want to leave their squad numbers for the new season short.
If Chelsea want the 28-year-old South American in Claudio Ranieri's squad for the start of the Champions League campaign then they'll have to act quickly because Wednesday is the deadline day for the qualifying round.
United manager Sir Alex Ferguson's stance on Veron has weakened during the Reds' tour of the USA.
At the outset he was predicting that the player would still be at Old Trafford at the start of the Premiership season.
That altered to, "We would like him to stay but things may change."
Last night Fergie said after United's 3-1 final match success against Barcelona when asked if Veron would be staying at the club, "I can't answer that."
However, he poured cold water on Veron's absence from United's starting line up against the Spaniards.
"You can't read anything into that," he said in Philadelphia.
"We have a quota of midfield players who need a number of games. It was Roy Keane's second full game, Paul Scholes has played two, Seba has had two and now Nicky Butt has had two matches.
"I wanted to spread the load around and that is why I played the team I did. There is absolutely nothing whatsoever concerning Seba Veron in terms of him being left out of the team."
Veron's future could still ultimately be decided by United moving into the transfer market.
The player looked set to move when United thought they were going to be successful in their pursuit of Ronaldinho and the arrival of another midfielder would push Veron closer to the exit door.
OreoCookies
04-08-2003, 09:40 PM
So far so good... Hope Kenyon rejects any under-valued bids sia... Veron is definitely worth more than the 15-million pounds that Chelsea have offered... :rolleyes:
Really hope they can keep Veron... But somehow, I think sooner or later they will sell him... Kinda' sad & frustrating to think about it, but what to do? Sianz... :(
kengbeng
04-08-2003, 10:06 PM
I think the PLC has a big dilemma here.
We do not want to lose a world-class player here. Yet, we may still end up losing him in 2 years time, for no money at all! It is already well-documented that Veron will love to return to Italy. At the end of his contract, he can leave for free, which is a situation the PLC will like to avoid. And this is why they may end up selling Veron, while he still has value.
OreoCookies
04-08-2003, 10:11 PM
I think the PLC has a big dilemma here.
We do not want to lose a world-class player here. Yet, we may still end up losing him in 2 years time, for no money at all! It is already well-documented that Veron will love to return to Italy. At the end of his contract, he can leave for free, which is a situation the PLC will like to avoid. And this is why they may end up selling Veron, while he still has value.
Headache sia... This cannot, that cannot... :o
Itz a tough life being a supporter... :(
NanDesKa
04-08-2003, 10:39 PM
offer him better contract. :D
Ch3tah_39
04-08-2003, 10:44 PM
Forlan on form liao..
Scored 2 against barca...;)
ccloh
04-08-2003, 10:50 PM
chelsea can afford to up the bid and the transfer might go through somehow. sad thing man
Ch3tah_39
04-08-2003, 11:06 PM
chelsea can afford to up the bid and the transfer might go through somehow. sad thing man
hope it will not lorz..
:( :( :(
Kiwi8
05-08-2003, 03:49 AM
What is PLC? :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
genesis113
05-08-2003, 07:11 AM
That's the difference btw United and Real as well as Milan.
Real bought Figo, Zidane, Ronaldo and keep Carlos and Raul.
but United's PLC always thinking money first.
maybe it's only United can do this for selling in-form players to their bitter rivals.
Maybe United is the richest club in the world in terms of money, but they are poorer than Real and Milan in terms of soccer.
Hopefully, they can keep Veron, let him try one more season.
:(
leslielai
05-08-2003, 09:37 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
What is PLC? :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
Public Listed Company.
leslielai
05-08-2003, 10:09 AM
http://www.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics03_04/holland/kezman_champagne.jpg
PSV EINDHOVEN star Mateja Kezman has issued a "come and get me" plea to Manchester United.
The temperamental Serbia-Montenegrin has made it clear that he would love to play for The Red Devils, the team he supported as a youngster.
After rejecting any prospect of a move to Tottenham, the gifted 24-year-old would love the opportunity to link up with fellow former PSV colleague Ruud van Nistelrooy.
"Manchester United were my favourite club as a kid," he declared.
"Also, I am great friends with van Nistelrooy, and he invited me to watch him at Old Trafford during last season.
"It was a great experience, I can tell you. An unforgettable day at a club with such a tradition.
"At the moment, there is no chance for me to join Manchester, but I would love to play one day again together with Ruud.
"I hope that he thinks the same.
"Who knows? Maybe one day."
The Belgrade-born forward has proved his worth considerably in De Eredivisie, after a disastrous Euro 2000, and believes his best goal for PSV came against United in the Champions League.
35 strikes last season is further testament to his ability, he was second to Deportivo La Coruna's Roy Makaay in the Golden Shoe standings, and only Estonia's Andrei Krolov and Armenian league hot-shot Arman Karamian netted more goals in top class football across Europe.
Sir Alex Ferguson is searching for a player who can operate behind van Nistelrooy, and it could certainly be worth the Scot considering Dutch Player of the Year Kezman's merits.
ccloh
05-08-2003, 11:28 AM
hmm dutch power sia :bounce:
kengbeng
05-08-2003, 11:36 AM
How about Rafael Van Der Vaart?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/3122765.stm
Premier giants eye Ajax ace
Exclusive by Phil McNulty
Chief football writer
Manchester United and Liverpool will lead the £15m transfer chase for Ajax's Rafael van der Vaart if he quits Holland.
Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier is a long-time admirer of the 20-year-old forward, who was outstanding for Ajax as they won the Amsterdam tournament.
Houllier sang the young Dutchman's praises after his performance in the goalless draw against Liverpool on Friday - and his name is still on Anfield's shopping list.
Liverpool were interested in a deal for Van der Vaart in the summer of 2002, but decided against an immediate move.
Houllier will renew his interest if Ajax relax their current hard-line stance that Van der Vaart is not for sale at any price.
But BBC Sport understands Manchester United have now also made their interest known and will make every attempt to pair him with fellow countryman Ruud van Nistelrooy at Old Trafford.
United had spies in Amsterdam on Sunday to watch Ajax defender Hatem Trabelsi - but they were also running the rule over the impressive Van der Vaart.
****er lah, I hope we don't sell him.:(
Manchester United are confident of signing the defender Hatem Trabelsi before Thursday's Champions League deadline after Ajax said they would not stand in his way and the 2002 Arab footballer of the year made it clear he wanted to move to Old Trafford.
Trabelsi, 26, added: "I would be really interested to play for Manchester United. No one could turn down the chance to play for a club that big."
United are now preparing an official bid for the Tunisian international, although they do not want to pay the £6m that was originally mooted. If they can agree a price, Trabelsi will become Sir Alex Ferguson's fifth signing in a hectic summer of transfer activity that should see Juan Sebastian Veron follow David Beckham out of the club within the next 48 hours. How far the arrival of a relatively unknown right-back will go towards placating the United fans alarmed about the sale of the two best passers of the ball at Old Trafford remains to be seen but Ferguson believes he is close to sign ing one of the most competent defenders in Europe. "Hatem is a fantastic right-back who can play right across the defence and I can see why people compare him to Lilian Thuram," said Ronald Koeman, the Ajax coach. "He's been fantastic for us in the two years he's been here and I wouldn't want to see him leave. But it is possible because we cannot compare with clubs like Manchester United."
The situation with Veron has also become clearer over the last 24 hours. United informed Chelsea last night they are unhappy with the terms of their £15m offer but, with Ferguson's consent, the club will continue negotiating today with a view to finalising a deal before Thursday. Chelsea will be encouraged by the noises emanating from United's travelling party as they flew from Philadelphia into Portugal for tomorrow's friendly against Sporting Lisbon. Kenyon has made it clear the difference between the club"s valuation and Chelsea's offer is marginal and Ferguson's public assertion that he is opposed to the move is very different from what he is telling his directors in private. A deal, therefore, should be concluded before Thursday given that Roman Abramovich, Chelsea's new owner, has the money available to increase the club's bid and, just as importantly, to tweak the structure of the payments more to United"s liking.
Veron's stance has not changed, namely that he would prefer to stay at Old Trafford. However, the Argentinian is realistic enough to have instructed his agent Fernando Hildago to discuss a preliminary pay package with the men in power at Stamford Bridge. The terms have been agreed in advance for a salary that would slightly improve his present £90,000-a-week deal, making him the highest-paid player in Chelsea's history.
His omission from United's 3-1 defeat of Barcelona here yesterday was a clear indication that United want to avoid him picking up an injury that could jeopardise the deal. Ferguson denied that suggestion but there has been a noticeable shift in the manager's attitude. Whereas he had previously insisted he wanted Veron to stay, he was visibly uncomfortable when asked if the midfielder would start the season as a United player. "I can't answer that," he replied. The match attracted a crowd of 68,396 to the Lincoln Financial Field, home of the Philadelphia Eagles. More than 270,000 people have watched United"s four exhibition matches and, even if it was unreasonable to expect Ferguson"s team to succeed where Best, Pele and Beckenbauer failed and establish football in the US alongside baseball, basketball and the NFL, the club are entitled to reflect on a successful tour.
With 14 goals scored and only three conceded, Ferguson will also feel that his players have immediately picked up the form with which they finished last season.
Patrick Kluivert gave Barcelona the lead with an early header after an assist from Ronaldinho, with whom Ferguson exchanged a friendly handshake after the match. But, with Tim Howard hugely impressive in goal, United then took control with two goals from Diego Forlan and a classy third from the substitute Ruud van Nistelrooy, taking both strikers to four goals in as many games.
NanDesKa
05-08-2003, 12:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN
With 14 goals scored and only three conceded, Ferguson will also feel that his players have immediately picked up the form with which they finished last season.
Patrick Kluivert gave Barcelona the lead with an early header after an assist from Ronaldinho, with whom Ferguson exchanged a friendly handshake after the match. But, with Tim Howard hugely impressive in goal, United then took control with two goals from Diego Forlan and a classy third from the substitute Ruud van Nistelrooy, taking both strikers to four goals in as many games. :bounce: :bounce:
ralliart_ray
05-08-2003, 12:59 PM
hopefully manU can maintain this kinda form n hunger.
NanDesKa
05-08-2003, 01:00 PM
hopefully manU can maintain this kinda form n hunger. and go unbeaten thru the season? :P
ralliart_ray
05-08-2003, 04:53 PM
and go unbeaten thru the season? :P
wont that be great? ...eh... dream on...
ccloh
05-08-2003, 05:35 PM
oh we dont wan fergie to be wenger :D
don't do a wenger or beckham saying that kind of things.:rolleyes:
Juan Sebastian Veron will decide in the next 24 hours whether his future lies with Manchester United or Chelsea.
The Argentinian star has been at the centre of speculation for the last three weeks, with his agent saying he will move to Stamford Bridge, despite constant claims from Sir Alex Ferguson that he wants him to stay at Old Trafford.
With United back in Europe following their successful pre-season tour to America, mystery still surrounds the Veron situation.
As they prepare for Wednesday's friendly against Sporting Lisbon in Portugal, chief executive Peter Kenyon has confirmed an official offer from Chelsea has been received, but there is no indication United are ready to accept it.
With the Champions League transfer window for the qualifying stages closing on Wednesday, Ferguson said: "It could be up to Seba to decide whether he wants to stay on with us, or move on. I would have no problems if he says he wants to carry on playing for us."
Veron starred in United's win over Juventus in New York last week, after also featuring in wins over Celtic and Team America.
But because he remained on the bench as Barcelona were beaten on Sunday, rumours he was heading out of the club began to circulate again.
Whether he goes or stays, Ferguson has made it clear he has no plans to move for another midfielder before the other transfer deadlines come into force at the end of the month.
With David Beckham gone, Veron possibly going and Ronaldinho slipping through his fingers the United boss remains happy with summer signings made for that department which seems to have ruled out possible moves for West Ham's Joe Cole, and recent rumours he might make an audacious bid for Patrick Vieira.
Summer signings Kleberson and Eric Djemba-Djemba are set to link up with their team-mates this week after taking their summer break, and Fergie added: "I won't be bringing anyone else into the midfield.
"We're getting a proven player in Kleberson and one I think could develop into someone truly versatile. I can see him performing in a number of positions for us."
StormTrooper
05-08-2003, 08:07 PM
why can't they just refuse to sell veron? guess its coz of the money men.
OreoCookies
05-08-2003, 08:13 PM
Wenger said that, & look at how Arsenal ended-up with the shame & the loss of their title... :rolleyes:
I would think that Fergie is realistic enough to know that his players are still human after all... :)
OreoCookies
05-08-2003, 08:17 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
why can't they just refuse to sell veron? guess its coz of the money men.
There seems to be a hidden reason behind all this speculation with Veron...
Somehow or rather, Fergie seems to be taking the whole situation pretty easy... And given the type of person that he is, I believe SAF will not allow the PLC to force him into making a decision that he does not want to... :rolleyes:
But it seems that Fergie wouldn't mind if Veron eventually chooses to leave the club... So does he have some plan up his sleeve or something? :confused:
NanDesKa
05-08-2003, 08:25 PM
of veron does go, man utd sure bid for somebody damn ex one.. :rolleyes: some creative midfielder.. :P
There seems to be a hidden reason behind all this speculation with Veron...
Somehow or rather, Fergie seems to be taking the whole situation pretty easy... And given the type of person that he is, I believe SAF will not allow the PLC to force him into making a decision that he does not want to... :rolleyes:
But it seems that Fergie wouldn't mind if Veron eventually chooses to leave the club... So does he have some plan up his sleeve or something? :confused:
Yep, but i thought he said he want Veron to stay, seem like he won't be very upset though even if Veron leaves, I think its our PLC board that want to sell or could Fergie got something up his sleeves on someone else:rolleyes:
OreoCookies
05-08-2003, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Yep, but i thought he said he want Veron to stay, seem like he won't be very upset though even if Veron leaves, I think its our PLC board that want to sell or could Fergie got something up his sleeves on someone else:rolleyes:
Perhaps this could be due to the overload of midfield players that we have... And they are quality players indeed, everyone of them...
But that isn't reason enough to let Veron go... Seba is the one outstanding playmaker in the talented squad that graces Old Trafford week-in, week-out...
Please Fergie... Don't let Veron go... Not unless you're absolutely sure of what you're doing... :(
ccloh
05-08-2003, 09:38 PM
got live or delay telecast of the man utd and sporting match ??? cant wait to see eric and kleberson in action :D
I don't know why can't the club be more certain about the whole Veron thingy and come out and declare that Veron can leave. :mad:
Why make the fans sweat? Especially after than fantastic performance from Veron against Juventus?
OreoCookies
05-08-2003, 09:57 PM
Originally posted by pyu
I don't know why can't the club be more certain about the whole Veron thingy and come out and declare that Veron can leave. :mad:
Why make the fans sweat? Especially after than fantastic performance from Veron against Juventus?
Yeah manz... :(
I'll rather they be direct straight & upfront about the dealings & all... At least we won't be feeling so upset & uncertain & all...
Itz like being with a woman sometimes... It makes you really frustrated when they seem to go about in circles all the time... :mad:
kengbeng
05-08-2003, 10:05 PM
Originally posted by pyu
Well, they've learnt their lesson over the Ronaldinho and Beckham fiasco.
Doing business this way might drive Veron's price up.
got live or delay telecast of the man utd and sporting match ??? cant wait to see eric and kleberson in action :D
channel I will show the match on thursday morning at 4.30am.
kengbeng
05-08-2003, 10:06 PM
Live on Channel i, Thursday 4.30am.
Don't think Kleberson will be involved because he hasn't gotten his work permit.
Well, they've learnt their lesson over the Ronaldinho and Beckham fiasco.
Doing business this way might drive Veron's price up.
Probably that the case, But I don't think we need to sell again before we can buy, its not as if we are in desperate need of cash unlike a certain leeds team.
NanDesKa
05-08-2003, 10:19 PM
bid for zidane @ 50 million pounds? :D
Nah, we won't spend so much on one player again. Beside Zidane is retiring in 2 years time.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson promised an end to the Juan Sebastian Veron saga when he told a Lisbon press conference: "We should know the real story soon".
Veron was the subject of intense speculation linking him with a move to Chelsea throughout United's US tour.
And although Ferguson initially insisted that Veron was staying at Old Trafford, towards the end of the tour he admitted the Argentinian's future was unclear.
After arriving in Lisbon ahead of the friendly against Sporting Lisbon, Ferguson said: "So many things have happened while we've been away on tour, and things have been quite muddied. We should get the real story soon."
Ferguson, despite having recruited Tim Howard from MetroStars for £2.3million, claimed he was keeping his goalkeeping options open during the coming season and predicted that Fabien Barthez would recover from his end-of-season "blip".
"Fabien Barthez is a character, an experienced goalkeeper and will rise to the challenge, I'm confident of that," said Ferguson.
"Fabien had a little blip for us at the end of the season, but Roy Carroll came in and did very well. Ricardo's an experienced goalkeeper and so is Tim Howard - he's been excellent.
"I've got an open mind on the goalkeeping situation."
Ferguson revealed that youngsters Mark Lynch and Danny Pugh will play against Sporting, as will Mikael Silvestre and Eric Djemba-Djemba.
ccloh
05-08-2003, 11:31 PM
hmm no fletcher, bellion, richardson for the lisbon match ???
NanDesKa
05-08-2003, 11:33 PM
tot fergie wanted kaka and diego? :P
kengbeng
06-08-2003, 12:17 AM
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/030805/323/e5nra.html
New rumours, this time about Joe Cole...
Fergie promises end to Veron saga as Cole speculation mounts
LONDON (AFP) - Speculation that Juan Sebastian Veron's anticipated departure from Manchester United could trigger a bid for Joe Cole mounted as West Ham hinted they are ready to sell the England midfielder.
Cole wants to move to a club that can provide him with Champions League football and Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson is a long-standing admirer of the prodigiously talented playmaker.
After being relegated last season, West Ham have already been forced to sell Glen Johnson, Frederic Kanoute and Trevor Sinclair.
But club director Trevor Brooking said one more sale would ensure the club was in a financially stable position.
"I think one more significant sale would mean that between now and the close of the transfer window at the end of the month you would see more incomings than outgoings," Brooking told the Evening Standard.
Ferguson meanwhile promised that Veron's fate would be resolved soon. United have told Chelsea to increase an offer of 15 million pounds to secure the Argentinian midfielder.
"So many things have happened (on Veron) and it has been quite muddied," Ferguson said in Lisbon. "But we should get the real story soon."
Chelsea are also reportedly interested in Cole although it is unlikely that they would attempt to sign both him and Veron given their similarities.
Ch3tah_39
06-08-2003, 12:23 AM
If man utd can get joe cole, den gd liao:D
NanDesKa
06-08-2003, 12:29 AM
i see joe cole play before, but not impressed lehz. :D
kengbeng
06-08-2003, 01:50 AM
Hmm... Looks like it's Chelski who are going to get Joe Cole. So Veron might not be going anywhere afterall.
ccloh
06-08-2003, 02:14 AM
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/030805/323/e5nra.html
New rumours, this time about Joe Cole...
Fergie promises end to Veron saga as Cole speculation mounts
LONDON (AFP) - Speculation that Juan Sebastian Veron's anticipated departure from Manchester United could trigger a bid for Joe Cole mounted as West Ham hinted they are ready to sell the England midfielder.
Cole wants to move to a club that can provide him with Champions League football and Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson is a long-standing admirer of the prodigiously talented playmaker.
After being relegated last season, West Ham have already been forced to sell Glen Johnson, Frederic Kanoute and Trevor Sinclair.
But club director Trevor Brooking said one more sale would ensure the club was in a financially stable position.
"I think one more significant sale would mean that between now and the close of the transfer window at the end of the month you would see more incomings than outgoings," Brooking told the Evening Standard.
Ferguson meanwhile promised that Veron's fate would be resolved soon. United have told Chelsea to increase an offer of 15 million pounds to secure the Argentinian midfielder.
"So many things have happened (on Veron) and it has been quite muddied," Ferguson said in Lisbon. "But we should get the real story soon."
Chelsea are also reportedly interested in Cole although it is unlikely that they would attempt to sign both him and Veron given their similarities.
chelski is really playing CM man.
dont really fancy man utd getting joe cole. perhaps joe cole is good for the epl games but against other european clubs, he is still an untested player.
RuMmYtUb
06-08-2003, 09:35 AM
Chelsea signs Joe Cole
Aug 6 - Chelsea will unveil Joe Cole as their latest signing today as Claudio Ranieri prepares to take his summer spending spree to £58.6million.
The Stamford Bridge manager, who has already invested £37m of Roman Abramovich's money in new talent this summer, will bring Cole from West Ham for £6.6m and then attempt to secure the services of Manchester United's Juan Sebastian Veron before tomorrow's Champions League deadline.
Cole said: "It was a difficult decision, but I feel now is the time to make a break from West Ham. More than 18 months ago I was asked by West Ham to sign an extension of my contract.
"The club had just finished seventh in the Premier League but I felt that to further my international career, I would need to move on to a club that was playing regularly in Europe. For all my belief in West Ham I could not honestly see them competing at that level."
When news emerged of Chelsea's sudden move for Cole yesterday, it was initially thought that the young West Ham skipper's arrival was an indication that the Londoners were not prepared to meet United's £15million valuation for Veron.
But Ranieri has been given the authorisation to buy both players, even though he has already strengthened his midfield with Damien Duff and Geremi. It was understood last night that a fee for Veron had been agreed between the clubs and that he may leave Lisbon this morning for London, ahead of the United party who play a friendly against Sporting in the Portuguese capital tonight.
Quite how Ranieri will accommodate four new midfielders as well as Frank Lampard, Emmanuel Petit and Jesper Gronkjaer remains to be seen. And for all the talent available to him, the Italian is still short of a defensive holding player in the Roy Keane mould. His interest in Roma's Emerson and Real Madrid's Claude Makelele remains strong.
Cole's departure has caused more anxiety at Upton Park, particularly among the club's more prominent players. England goalkeeper David James had said he would remain loyal to the relegated club if the team stayed together, but Cole follows Lee Bowyer, Trevor Sinclair, Glen Johnson, Freddie Kanoute, Gary Breen and Paolo Di Canio out of West Ham with Jermain Defoe and Michael Carrick expected to follow.
West Ham first put feelers out to sell Cole towards the end of last season when they knew that, with only a year left on his contract, he could leave for only a small fee to be decided by a tribunal for young players - if he stayed until the end of his contract.
Spanish clubs were alerted, including Deportivo La Coruna, Celta Vigo and Barcelona because West Ham preferred to sell Cole abroad. None of the clubs came up with the fee West Ham wanted and they have been forced to accept any deal they could get.
Last night Sinclair, now at Manchester City, spelled out the depressing reality for West Ham supporters.
He said: "If they could have kept all the best players they could have definitely come back up, but now it is going to be very difficult."
Indeed it will be, especially when Alex Ferguson appears determined to recruit their most promising young striker. This has been a frustrating summer for the United manager in the transfer market but talks designed to bring England Under 21 star Defoe to Old Trafford are thought to be imminent.
===========================
Really playing CM sia...
wow ****er lah, chelski want to buy everyone at the rate they are going.:rolleyes:
ccloh
06-08-2003, 11:26 AM
kn they got joe cole, do they really need veron ???
wah...i think chelski's owner is to addicted to CM liao wanted to turn game into reality. too bad u can save b4 a game and replay the game if the result is at the wrong end haha
leslielai
06-08-2003, 11:28 AM
We've lost Cole :(
ccloh
06-08-2003, 11:31 AM
We've lost Cole :(
nay, dont think joe cole is really that good that we must get him. nothing to be sad of
hmm wonder has fergie ever think of getting michael balleck :D
hope we go after defoe.;)
Maybe its not likely anymore, but I still hope Veron stay.:(
leslielai
06-08-2003, 11:40 AM
nay, dont think joe cole is really that good that we must get him. nothing to be sad of
hmm wonder has fergie ever think of getting michael balleck :D
He's got the potential.
Ballack? Nah.
leslielai
06-08-2003, 11:40 AM
Lets hope Forlan finds the net frequent enough this coming season.
cracker
06-08-2003, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by RVN
wow ****er lah, chelski want to buy everyone at the rate they are going.:rolleyes:
the issue is can they buy success ?
ralliart_ray
06-08-2003, 12:16 PM
jcole comes in handy if fergie decided to cash in on scholes
wtf why must we cash in on scholes, utter bollocks.:eek:
beside j cole is going to chelski now.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.