PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 12:37 PM
Ranieri's going to be feeling the heat if his team doesn't perform.

chyehock
06-08-2003, 12:58 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Ranieri's going to be feeling the heat if his team doesn't perform.

that is true. if they start the epl with draws and losses then......

NanDesKa
06-08-2003, 01:19 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
jcole comes in handy if fergie decided to cash in on scholes scholes? why?

chyehock
06-08-2003, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
scholes? why?

yeah lor, why? imho scholes is getting more and more skillful and is getting more and more like zidane,

RVN
06-08-2003, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by chyehock

yeah lor, why? imho scholes is getting more and more skillful and is getting more and more like zidane,

scholesy is a faithful red and will stay.;)

ccloh
06-08-2003, 01:32 PM
yap scholes and giggs are loyal to man utd. unless the club dont want them else they will most probably play for 1 club only throughout their football career. :D

RVN
06-08-2003, 02:22 PM
Manchester United have confirmed the £15m sale of Juan Sebastian Veron to Chelsea.

The Stock Exchange broke the news of the Argentine midfielder's move shortly after 0700 BST on Wednesday.

Veron cost United £28.1m from Lazio two years ago.

The Argentine international is set for personal talks at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday, when the deal is set to be formally announced.

£2.5m of the fee is dependant on Chelsea's results over the next four seasons.

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United have confirmed the £15m sale of Juan Sebastian Veron to Chelsea.

The Stock Exchange broke the news of the Argentine midfielder's move shortly after 0700 BST on Wednesday.

Veron cost United £28.1m from Lazio two years ago.

The Argentine international is set for personal talks at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday, when the deal is set to be formally announced.

£2.5m of the fee is dependant on Chelsea's results over the next four seasons.
:mad: :alien: sucks.

hush66
06-08-2003, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN

:(

RVN
06-08-2003, 03:41 PM
I am gutted.

Why oh why are we selling both Beckham and Veron.
Oh wait, 'SAF has other plans', i.e. to bring in Ronaldinho (oh, didn't happen) and who'll replace Veron? Wankers.

They lose £13-15m on selling Veron and would further have to buy a replacement. What he's showed when injury free last season and during pre-season this summer is nothing short of greatness, why are we selling him when he starts to blossom?

Its all those bloody PLC board again.:mad:

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 03:46 PM
wat happen this few days when i am away....:( veron gone??!

hmmmm....still believe in fergie maybe he has somethings up his sleeve.....
;)

RVN
06-08-2003, 03:49 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
wat happen this few days when i am away....:( veron gone??!

hmmmm....still believe in fergie maybe he has somethings up his sleeve.....
;)

Joaquin, Defoe, Trabelsi.;)

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Joaquin, Defoe, Trabelsi.;)

that will be gd....hopefully...i am fully behind fergie ;)

NanDesKa
06-08-2003, 03:51 PM
Originally posted by chyehock

yeah lor, why? imho scholes is getting more and more skillful and is getting more and more like zidane, :eek: i beg to differ.
both are in different classes...
zidane real good with his ball skills and such..
scholes more of dimunitive striker role..

RVN
06-08-2003, 03:55 PM
we still got loads of cover in midfield depsite Veron and Becks sold.

Giggs, Keane, Butt, Scholes, Ole, Fortune, Phil Neville, Bellion, Djemba Djemba, Kleberson, still got Fletcher and Richardson coming through the youth ranks.

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 04:03 PM
2 established midfielders out, two up-and-coming midfielders in. Sort of evens out somehow, but not quite because those 2 incoming have not proven their worth yet.

I really hope that SAF and the board really have something up their sleeves. :slant:

RVN
06-08-2003, 04:29 PM
the middle two "hanging back" will consist of keane & butt first choice. djemba djemba and kleberson will challenge these two for their places.

the right sided forward will be ole, the left giggs, the middle scholes. it's these three positions where we're too light in the ranks IMO, and that's backed up by the only transfer targets we've failed to secure this year - kewell and ronaldinho.

diego could maybe play in any one of those 3, but questions do remain over how good an all round player he can be.

can fletcher do a job on the right? likewise richardson on the left?

if they can, then we may be ok.

however with seba departed as well as beckham, I think it's fair to say that we need one truly world class player to lift the squad, in terms of morale and overall quality.

I for one am pretty sure that there will be at least one more inward move now before august 31st, probably two because there'll be a defender too.

ccloh
06-08-2003, 05:00 PM
hmm wonder what's in fergie mind. though the initial 15m pounds was rejected 'cos to low and ask chelski to up the bid and now just let the transfer goes through.

:mad:

alex666
06-08-2003, 05:03 PM
I though the CL transfer deadline is Thursday? Kleberson paper not done yet so cannot play until 2nd phase, now where got time to sign "world class player"?
MU always like to make things difficult for themselves, maybe that's the challenge?

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN
can fletcher do a job on the right? likewise richardson on the left?

if they can, then we may be ok.

If no more midfielders are coming in, then we can be sure that these 2 are being groomed for more first team appearances, which may not be a bad thing afterall.

And you forgot Bellion who I think will also play often on the wing.

Of all the players, I think Ruud is the most indispensible. If he gets one injury or two, our attack will be extremely lightweight, unless Forlan gets his scoring act together.

RVN
06-08-2003, 05:20 PM
Originally posted by alex666
I though the CL transfer deadline is Thursday? Kleberson paper not done yet so cannot play until 2nd phase, now where got time to sign "world class player"?
MU always like to make things difficult for themselves, maybe that's the challenge?

Thursday is the deadline for Chelsea and Newcastle. For us and Arsenal it's when the transfer window closes at the end of August. So we still got time but we got to act fast.;)

AhGoh
06-08-2003, 06:45 PM
waited for so long for Becks to leave....finally got to see Veron play freely w/o him. And now they want to sell him? Hope i wun see Veron play well and punish ManUtd for this mistake

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 07:58 PM
somehow i feel that veron will fullfill his potenial under the chelsea manager......:mad:

ccloh
06-08-2003, 08:00 PM
if veron decides not to leave, the transfer still cant go through so now left to veron liao. hopefully he wants to stay at OT (well last hope already :( )

Kiwi8
06-08-2003, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
if veron decides not to leave, the transfer still cant go through so now left to veron liao. hopefully he wants to stay at OT (well last hope already :( )

If Veron is smart, he'll know that the club (including Sir Alex Ferguson) does not want him anymore, so there would be no point staying at Old Trafford.

Spock
06-08-2003, 08:07 PM
You sure or not??Ferguson don't want him...I dont think so leh..Hes been superb in midfield since beckham's departure.Think Ferguson will give him a few games from the start then decide

Originally posted by Kiwi8

If Veron is smart, he'll know that the club (including Sir Alex Ferguson) does not want him anymore, so there would be no point staying at Old Trafford.

Kiwi8
06-08-2003, 08:11 PM
Originally posted by Spock
You sure or not??Ferguson don't want him...I dont think so leh..Hes been superb in midfield since beckham's departure.Think Ferguson will give him a few games from the start then decide

Ok... but since Man U has already agreed terms with Chelsea, it must have been that SAF has been resigned to losing him liao.

RuMmYtUb
06-08-2003, 08:33 PM
Veron 'proud' to join Chelsea - agent

Juan Sebastian Veron is ready to sign for Chelsea following Manchester United's acceptance of a £15million transfer bid for the Argentinian midfielder.

Veron: Played his last game for Utd? (LaurenceGrifftihs/GettyImages)

Veron's agent Fernando Hidalgo confirmed his client is preparing to sign a four-year contract in a deal set to cost United in the region of £13million on the price they originally paid for the player.

United signed Veron for £28.1million in July 2001 from Lazio but announced via the Stock Exchange this morning that they are now prepared to let him go for a little over half that sum.

Hidalgo said: 'The player will arrive in London at midday. He's going to take his medical tests and he will sign a four-year contract.

'He is happy. It has been a club [United] decision, and he has accepted it. He is ready to do the best he can with this new opportunity at Chelsea.'

The club added: 'A fee of £6.6million has been agreed with West Ham for the purchase of Joe Cole. He too has to agree terms and undergo a medical.'

Veron's move appears set to go through, despite protestations from Old Trafford manager Sir Alex Ferguson last week that he did not want Veron to leave.

Alluding to those initial doubts, Hidalgo added: 'When decisions are made, everyone has to follow the consequences.

'Seba [Veron] is proud to join Chelsea - but it was not his intention to leave the club [United].'

================================
It seems he is proud to leave Utd !?

RVN
06-08-2003, 08:37 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
It seems he is proud to leave Utd !?

He will struggle to get into the first-team there, Lampard, Petit, Cole all play in the same posiiton as him.

RuMmYtUb
06-08-2003, 08:38 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He will struggle to get into the first-team there, Lampard, Petit, Cole all play in the same posiiton as him.

Den he is dumb to leave MAN YOO

ZhiQiang
06-08-2003, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He will struggle to get into the first-team there, Lampard, Petit, Cole all play in the same posiiton as him. i think petit is leaving...

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 09:05 PM
seriously i dun see veron flop at chelsea, i believe Claudio Ranieri will bring out the best of veron.

do u find some link w Sven Goran Eriksson?? eriksson sign veron twice b4....maybe he give the names to chelsea to sign....;)

RVN
06-08-2003, 09:54 PM
Manchester United fans reacted angrily to the news that the English Premiership champions have sold Argentina midfielder Juan Sebastien Veron to rivals Chelsea.

Despite protestations from Old Trafford manager Sir Alex Ferguson last week on the sale, United announced Wednesday they had accepted a 15 million pound (24 million dollar) bid for Veron.

But the move, following hot on the heels of David Beckham's sale to Real Madrid, has caused consternation among United supporters worldwide, who innondated the club's website asking what Ferguson was playing at.

"So what is going on with United? For the first time that I can remember United have weakened their squad," said one irate fan from London.

"Fergie has stated that United need more creativity and guile to win the Champions League - how does selling Beckham and Veron fit in with his analysis of being perplexed by Real last season? Bringing in (David) Bellion, (Eric) Djemba-Djemba and (Tim) Howard is hardly adding to the creativity, not to mention Champions League experience."

One fan from Australia also vented his anger via email.

"United can't let a quality player like Veron go, he is such a top class player! I can't see why they would want to let him go, especially to Chelsea.

"Maybe his form has been a tad inconsistent over the last couple of seasons, but he is a fantastic player, and I hope he stays with United; it'd be a big mistake for a player of his quality to leave the biggest club in the world."

Having lost their two best passers of the ball, there are doubts about the English champions ability to sustain the quality of service to their strikers which enabled Ruud van Nistelrooy to plunder 44 goals last season.

To date the only outfield players to arrive at Old Trafford this summer have been the young French winger Bellion from Sunderland and Djemba-Djemba, a defensive midfielder acquired from Nantes.

The summer sales do however mean that Ferguson has in excess of 30 million pounds to spend between now and the end of August -- the deadline for players to be eligible for the group phase of the Champions League.

Spock
06-08-2003, 10:01 PM
wah lao wait one day the midfield all out defensive...Djemba,Keane,Butt,Kleberson

RVN
06-08-2003, 10:08 PM
wah lao wait one day the midfield all out defensive...Djemba,Keane,Butt,Kleberson

****er, that will be mad we don't need to sell anyone anymore now with the £40m we have from the sale of becks and veron.

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 10:14 PM
let hope fergie give us something to cheer abt....;)

tranze
06-08-2003, 10:15 PM
sigh
lets hope we buy joaqin!

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 10:21 PM
now i think even joquion not enough lor...no creative midefield at all!! who to provide the links? :mad: buy aimar lah! ;)

dredd
06-08-2003, 10:27 PM
i sincerely hope that ManYoo sign some big names....otherwise....CL dream will have to wait.....

Ch3tah_39
06-08-2003, 10:38 PM
Knn... Sell sell sell..
:mad: :mad: :mad:

Now so much $$$, sign so little player:mad:

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 10:44 PM
let hope fergie give us something to cheer abt....;)

Itz very frustrating that they're letting Veron go, but I don't think we have much of a choice... We're like half-a-million miles away from Old Trafford, there's nothing we can do at all... Let's really hope that both Kenyon & Fergie have something special up their sleeves to prove that they are still dedicated to the footballing side of the club, & not just answering all the time to the PLC... :mad:

dredd
06-08-2003, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies

Itz very frustrating that they're letting Veron go, but I don't think we have much of a choice... We're like half-a-million miles away from Old Trafford, there's nothing we can do at all... Let's really hope that both Kenyon & Fergie have something special up their sleeves to prove that they are still dedicated to the footballing side of the club, & not just answering all the time to the PLC... :mad:

this has been a rather frustrating pre-season for all ManYoo fans

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 10:46 PM
Hey guys, just a thought... Any chance that Man Utd could make a last-minute offer for Joe Cole deal, just as they did with Kleberson? :confused:

Joe Cole could be a suitable replacement, if they do sell Veron to Chelsea... And to get another Chelsea target from under their noses would be sweet revenge... :evil:

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 10:47 PM
Maybe, but more likely is that Joe Cole will like to stay in London.

dredd
06-08-2003, 10:47 PM
Hey guys, just a thought... Any chance that Man Utd could make a last-minute offer for Joe Cole deal, just as they did with Kleberson? :confused:

Joe Cole could be a suitable replacement, if they do sell Veron to Chelsea... And to get another Chelsea target from under their noses would be sweet revenge... :evil:

i hope Joe Cole would change his mind abt goin to Chelsea

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by dredd

this has been a rather frustrating pre-season for all ManYoo fans

Yeah... My mind is going bonkers just thinking of the messy transfer situation that is going on at Old Trafford... :rolleyes:

RVN
06-08-2003, 10:52 PM
We need a big-name playmaker, a striker and a defender. full-stop if we wanna have any chance of winning the CL. We got to act fast now.

dredd
06-08-2003, 10:54 PM
sian man! US tour play until so terror.....when EPL start...no solid midfield....first game lose to Bolton then paiseh siah!

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 10:55 PM
Maybe, but more likely is that Joe Cole will like to stay in London.

Maybe Fergie could ask Rio Ferdinand to give a call to Cole? That could work... ;)

But honestly, after all these years of interest in Joe Cole (Fergie was following his development even when he was still in the West Ham youth academy), I'm thoroughly surprised that Fergie isn't the first to try & strike a genuine deal to take the youngster away from the Hammers... :rolleyes:

RVN
sian man! US tour play until so terror.....when EPL start...no solid midfield....first game lose to Bolton then paiseh siah!

****er, we better beat bolton.;)

Let not press the panic button yet, I hope Fergie is now looking at other players.

dredd

Maybe Fergie could ask Rio Ferdinand to give a call to Cole? That could work... ;)

But honestly, after all these years of interest in Joe Cole (Fergie was following his development even when he was still in the West Ham youth academy), I'm thoroughly surprised that Fergie isn't the first to try & strike a genuine deal to take the youngster away from the Hammers... :rolleyes:

told u...he has gone bonkers....he wants to save the $$

dredd
06-08-2003, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN

****er, we better beat bolton.;)

Let not press the panic button yet, I hope Fergie is now looking at other players.

well..the CL deadline is when?? this thursday right?? it's certainly time to panic!

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 10:57 PM

You forgot, his good pal Frank Lampard is at Chelski.

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 10:57 PM

i hope Joe Cole would change his mind abt goin to Chelsea

I sure hope Fergie's persuasive powers can be put to good effect again... :D

C'mon Man Utd... If we're gonna' sell Veron, then at least get someone to replace him... And I believe Joe Cole would fit that bill alright...

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 10:58 PM

Yeah... Considering that Bolton has been our boogie team over the last couple of seasons... :(

RVN
06-08-2003, 10:59 PM

well..the CL deadline is when?? this thursday right?? it's certainly time to panic!

no lah, its 31st fo August.;)

guoquanyap
dun so fast blame fergie...we still got a months to go...if fergie still doesnt do anything to strengthen the squad....then we blast him....;)

OreoCookies

That's the deadline for the first few rounds of the CL competition, involving mainly teams that finished third in their respective leagues & so on... Man Utd goes direct into the Group Stages, so we're safe for now... :o

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 11:01 PM
Don't need to fret.

Last time, Ince, Hughes and Kanchelskis also left, and we still did well.

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:03 PM
hmmmmm....after Bolton it'll be Newcastle....gulp....

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:03 PM

You forgot, his good pal Frank Lampard is at Chelski.

That's bad... That's really bad... I was hoping Rio could make a difference...

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 11:04 PM
Don't need to fret.

yup! ;) ;)

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:06 PM
dun so fast blame fergie...we still got a months to go...if fergie still doesnt do anything to strengthen the squad....then we blast him....;)

I don't think Fergie is at fault here... I'm more upset with Kenyon & the PLC & all that crap... :(

Is money all they care about? If it is, then why splash so much on Veron in the first place? Aren't they making a huge loss now? :mad:

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:07 PM

I don't think Fergie is at fault here... I'm more upset with Kenyon & the PLC & all that crap... :(

Is money all they care about? If it is, then why splash so much on Veron in the first place? Aren't they making a huge loss now? :mad:

how abt the 7million pounds Forlan?

RVN
06-08-2003, 11:07 PM

**** off Kenyon, **** OFF THOSE PLC BOARD.:mad:

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:08 PM
Don't need to fret.

That time, we had Eric "The King" Cantona... :o

Now... Who do we have that we can claim is truly creative & masterful with the ball? :confused:

*SIGH*

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 11:08 PM

Think their idea is that it is better to lose 13 million pounds now than to lose 28 million pounds in 2 years time.

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:10 PM

how abt the 7million pounds Forlan?

Well, he DID score those goals against Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal, & more during the championship run-in last season... So let's give credit where credit is due... :o

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 11:11 PM

Think their idea is that it is better to lose 13 million pounds now than to lose 28 million pounds in 2 years time.

hopefully veron wont come back and hauted ( spelling ) us....

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:13 PM

If Veron does stay the length of his contract, I believe there is still a very strong possibility that Fergie can convince him to extend his stay...

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:13 PM

Well, he DID score those goals against Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal, & more during the championship run-in last season... So let's give credit where credit is due... :o

well...he ballooned more than he actually scored...heehee

RVN
06-08-2003, 11:14 PM

Get defoe lah, go and raid west ham.=p

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:15 PM

most football stars...after leaving ManYoo....never do well....i suppose this myth would end....cause Beckham n Veron would certainly do well in their respective clubs....n our dear KenYon would biting his nails

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by RVN

haiz...this is another transfer speculation that i wish it will happen.....

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:16 PM

Haunt, you mean... :)

Bro, sorry to have to say this... But I'm sure there is every chance that Veron can & will make Man Utd regret the decision to sell him on... :(

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 11:17 PM

well he did give us a lot of important point last season....;)

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 11:19 PM

Haunt, you mean... :)

Bro, sorry to have to say this... But I'm sure there is every chance that Veron can & will make Man Utd regret the decision to sell him on... :(

that why i am hoping...;)

dredd

heeheee....most prob he'll feature more in the first-team now that there are not many players left in the ManYoo squad...

RVN

not forgetting his winner against chelski, 2 against those scouser.

OreoCookies
Originally posted by RVN

If Defoe joins Man Utd, then I think Roeder can really say goodbye to any hopes of bouncing back into the Premiership next season... :o

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 11:20 PM
Ok guys.... Here's some good news after all that bad news.

This thread has overtaken the Liverpool thread to become 2nd longest thread in Football forum. Only a couple hundred more, we'll beat Arsenal.

:laugh:

Ok, this is kinda lame. :angel:

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:20 PM

heeheee....most prob he'll feature more in the first-team now that there are not many players left in the ManYoo squad...

He'll get better... That's the only direction he can go now, after all those howlers... :D

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:21 PM

This thread has overtaken the Liverpool thread to become 2nd longest thread in Football forum. Only a couple hundred more, we'll beat Arsenal.

hohohohoh....

guoquanyap
06-08-2003, 11:21 PM

forlan had improve alot when i watched him play in the US tour...he can be a important player nx season...;) ;)

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:22 PM

He'll get better... That's the only direction he can go now, after all those howlers... :D

maybe he should change boots....he sponsored by who har? maybe he should take firing lessons from RVN

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:23 PM

A brief respite... But the lingering pain at Man Utd's indecision & incompetence in the transfer market still remains... :(

RVN
06-08-2003, 11:24 PM

A brief respite... But the lingering pain at Man Utd's indecision & incompetence in the transfer market still remains... :(

signing of Djemba Djemba, Bellion, Howard and possibly Kleberson ain't really good enough.:(

Aimar, Joaquin, Defoe has to be one of our transfer targets

NanDesKa
06-08-2003, 11:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN

signing of Djemba Djemba, Bellion, Howard and possibly Kleberson ain't really good enough.:(

Aimar, Joaquin, Defoe has to be one of our transfer targets :D

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Aimar, Joaquin, Defoe has to be one of our transfer targets

The signings so far aren't bad... Just that none of them can be compared to Veron... :o

kengbeng
06-08-2003, 11:28 PM
What's gone, has gone. Time to look to the future.
Perhaps it is a good chance to blood all the promising youngsters that have been so highly touted but have no chance to play.

NanDesKa
06-08-2003, 11:30 PM
hmm, one thing to note, i think too many people here play CM so often that they really think veron is too good to be sold..
yes he is no doubt good, but there are many in this world who can be equal or even better.
zidane and figo are..
prob man utd should launch an audacious bid for both shevchenko and nedved.

RVN
06-08-2003, 11:30 PM
bad news, we ain't really in a rush for new players at all.:(

MANCHESTER United insist they will not rush into the transfer market to buy a replacement for Seba Veron.

Instead the Reds are putting their faith in Brazilian Kleberson to provide a new South American slant on the champions' midfield make-up.

Veron today left United's camp in Portugal where the Reds play Sporting Lisbon tonight in a friendly.

The on-off saga was played out in America where United were on a four-match tour with manager Sir Alex Ferguson's mood on the Veron question seesawing.

However, the Reds' boss had clearly decided that the player for whom he paid £29m just two summers ago from Lazio hasn't made enough of an impact to refuse a £15m bid, of which £2.5m depends on Chelsea's success over the next four years.

Veron's style never fully fitted into United's game plan.

In his first season in England he often looked off the pace in the heavyweight matches against the likes of Arsenal and Liverpool but his inconsistency frustrated with some breathtaking performances.

But eventually his undeniable class shone through last season on the Champions League stage where he looked most comfortable in a slower paced game.

However, significantly, Veron was out injured for United's last nine matches of last season's title success when they made their powerful push for the championship that was to overhaul Arsenal. But Fergie has decided inconsistency can no longer be tolerated and he's looking for a more solid influence in that role

The capture of Brazilian Kleberson from Atletico Paranaense is Fergie's answer to the problem.

The 23-year-old World Cup winner combines Brazilian qualities with more English steel than Veron.

United will know the outcome of their application for a work permit for Kleberson on August 11 although no problems are anticipated as the midfielder has been a regular international for Brazil.

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:31 PM
What's gone, has gone. Time to look to the future.
Perhaps it is a good chance to blood all the promising youngsters that have been so highly touted but have no chance to play.

That's what I would have hoped for... But if this was the plan, then Chadwick, Stewart, & Nardiello would have been plying their trade amongst the first-team liaoz, instead of being sent on-loan or still in the youth & reserves... :(

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:33 PM
hmm, one thing to note, i think too many people here play CM so often that they really think veron is too good to be sold..
yes he is no doubt good, but there are many in this world who can be equal or even better.
zidane and figo are..

i think to sign Edgar Davids would be cool...

RVN
06-08-2003, 11:34 PM
Manchester United have no plans to rush in a replacement for Chelsea-bound Juan Sebastian Veron.

Veron left the squad in Portugal and headed to London for a medical after his agent confirmed the Argentina midfielder had agreed a £15million four-year contract.

He would be the second creative player to leave Old Trafford this summer following David Beckham's move to Real Madrid.

However, Kleberson is due to link up with the United squad next week providing his work permit application is granted on Monday.

United believe with the arrival of the Brazil World Cup winner they have the resources at the moment to cope with Veron's imminent departure.

"It was a footballing decision. We got an offer and the price eventually was acceptable," chief executive Peter Kenyon told the Manchester Evening News.

"It is all part and parcel of restructuring the team and ultimately balancing what we think we need for next season.

"In light of other players we have got we felt we should take the offer from Chelsea and do other things with the team.

"We've got Kleberson coming, subject to a work permit, who'll fill in that role.

"If everything goes to plan the work permit will be granted on Monday and he will join us on Tuesday.

"We do think bringing in Kleberson will be acceptable."

Kenyon stressed that Veron was not put up for sale.

"The transfer was started by an approach from Chelsea," said Kenyon.

"As I intimated the first offer was not acceptable and now the club have come back and we have accepted it.

"The sentiment here is that it is a just decision with the football side and value being right. There is no suggestion there is any other rationale."

more of your lame excuses, kenyon.:mad:

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:35 PM
zidane and figo are..

True, Veron is not the best footballer in the world, and there are many comparable to him...

But in the current context, no one else can come close to his services for Man Utd... Figo & Zidane moving to Old Trafford is logically out of the question, & both Shevchenko & Nedved are happy to stay with their respective CL finalists... :rolleyes:

In this situation, wouldn't selling Veron make the situation even worse? :(

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:36 PM
well...i hate to say this but...they are just a bunch of cmmercial b**t*rds!!!

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:37 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United have no plans to rush in a replacement for Chelsea-bound Juan Sebastian Veron.

Veron left the squad in Portugal and headed to London for a medical after his agent confirmed the Argentina midfielder had agreed a £15million four-year contract.

He would be the second creative player to leave Old Trafford this summer following David Beckham's move to Real Madrid.

However, Kleberson is due to link up with the United squad next week providing his work permit application is granted on Monday.

United believe with the arrival of the Brazil World Cup winner they have the resources at the moment to cope with Veron's imminent departure.

"It was a footballing decision. We got an offer and the price eventually was acceptable," chief executive Peter Kenyon told the Manchester Evening News.

"It is all part and parcel of restructuring the team and ultimately balancing what we think we need for next season.

"In light of other players we have got we felt we should take the offer from Chelsea and do other things with the team.

"We've got Kleberson coming, subject to a work permit, who'll fill in that role.

"If everything goes to plan the work permit will be granted on Monday and he will join us on Tuesday.

"We do think bringing in Kleberson will be acceptable."

Kenyon stressed that Veron was not put up for sale.

"The transfer was started by an approach from Chelsea," said Kenyon.

"As I intimated the first offer was not acceptable and now the club have come back and we have accepted it.

"The sentiment here is that it is a just decision with the football side and value being right. There is no suggestion there is any other rationale."

more of your lame excuses, kenyon.:mad:

Bringing in Kleberson IS acceptable... But losing Veron could be a huge mistake... :(

C'mon Kenyon... Don't be foolish! Turn back before itz too late... :mad:

NanDesKa
06-08-2003, 11:38 PM
there are many players in these world who are virtually unknown till they signed for a big club.
take pires for instance, did we think much of him before he went to arsenal, but i can safely say that his contribution to arsenal is in the same league as vieira and henry.
perhaps we should allow SAF to hunt for these players. :D

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:40 PM
btw..anyone here waking up later to watch the match?
sian leh...No Veron...#@#%!!

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:41 PM
there are many players in these world who are virtually unknown till they signed for a big club.
take pires for instance, did we think much of him before he went to arsenal, but i can safely say that his contribution to arsenal is in the same league as vieira and henry.
perhaps we should allow SAF to hunt for these players. :D

Pires was well-known enough even before his time at Highbury... He became even bigger at Arsenal, but he sure was a famous-enough hot-shot while he was still playing in the French league...

My view is that SAF should secure the services of the talented-yet-unknown players, before he sells on the prized assests at Old Trafford... :o

RVN
06-08-2003, 11:44 PM
there's £40 million there to spend. if there are worthy targets then i'm sure it will be spent.

kenyon is on record as saying any money brought in by sales is available to fergie to spend.

fergie's not going to go and blow it though just for the sake of it.

i'm sure that the squad will strengthened, in the correct areas, and in good time.

remember they've been away, and that's bound to have affected negotiations for incoming players.

in 2 days fergie will be back at carrington, able to sit down with his squad and his £40million pot, and he'll plot 2 weeks of action i'm sure.

dredd
06-08-2003, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by RVN
there's £40 million there to spend. if there are worthy targets then i'm sure it will be spent.

kenyon is on record as saying any money brought in by sales is available to fergie to spend.

i'm sure that the squad will strengthened, in the correct areas, and in good time.

remember they've been away, and that's bound to have affected negotiations for incoming players.

in 2 days fergie will be back at carrington, able to sit down with his squad and his £40million pot, and he'll plot 2 weeks of action i'm sure.

i seriously hope he'll do something good with that 40million pounds

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I sure hope that the sale of Veron wouldn't affect the team too much... :rolleyes:

Honestly speaking, I'm not looking forward to Veron playing against us in the near-future... It'll hurt... :(

genesis113
06-08-2003, 11:49 PM
I just afraid that Kleberson will become another Gilberto Silva, who make only little impact for Arsenal.

it had been really a sad day for the Man U fans.

OreoCookies
06-08-2003, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by genesis113
I just afraid that Kleberson will become another Gilberto Silva, who make only little impact for Arsenal.

There's still hope... That's about the only thing we can lay claim over now...

I don't think we'll ever fathom the entire situation on our own... We can only hope for an explanation & a solution from the guys over at Manchester, I guess... :(

genesis113
06-08-2003, 11:57 PM

I sure hope that the sale of Veron wouldn't affect the team too much... :rolleyes:

Honestly speaking, I'm not looking forward to Veron playing against us in the near-future... It'll hurt... :(

problem is the PLC sell a player wth humiliating way.

Stam wanted to stay, they sold him
Becks wanted to stay, they sold him
Veron wanted to stay, they sold him
They offered PSG money plus Barthez for Ronaldinho
They offered Betis money plus Forlan for Joarquin.

these are humiliation for a player who declared loyalty to the team.

No one will come after seeing all these incidents.
40m will attract no one if the situation not changed.

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 12:47 AM

ya wat u said is true....:( let see how eveything progress then...

BERSERK1980
07-08-2003, 01:00 AM

wes
07-08-2003, 01:25 AM
i dun mind they sell veron...
he is not consistent enuff....not fast enuff.....

but wat i disappointed is until now they still havent buy a defender or striker...
link wif van der vaart and trabelsi.....ajax rejects...
link wif puyol.....barcelona dun wan sell...
link wif defoe....west ham dun wan sell

dam.n sian....so difficult to buy players...

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 01:34 AM
anyone staying up to watch the match later on? see how giggs they all respone after selling veron....:(

swordy84
07-08-2003, 01:44 AM
Sigh... what the hell happened... selling player after player. I guess the chance of doing well in the CL this season is slim. Just hope that Fergie will make some good signings soon and also hope that United can retain the EPL title this season.

NanDesKa
07-08-2003, 01:48 AM
man utd linked with puyol before? :o

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 01:52 AM
man utd linked with puyol before? :o

now lor...dunno buy so many defender for wat....

RuMmYtUb
07-08-2003, 02:16 AM

Kleberson work permit granted liao ar ?

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 02:18 AM
not yet read there is some problem....

RuMmYtUb
07-08-2003, 02:22 AM
Sianz... no high profiles signings, and yet 2 high profiles sales..... WTF is Kenyon thinking ?
Reducing the depth of the squad.... haiz.....:mad:

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 02:25 AM
Sianz... no high profiles signings, and yet 2 high profiles sales..... WTF is Kenyon thinking ?
Reducing the depth of the squad.... haiz.....:mad:

i wish to know too....;)

genesis113
07-08-2003, 02:38 AM
maybe only those who have conflict wth his current club will choose United now.

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 02:42 AM
Fergie finally explain y he sell veron.....;)

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=273065&cc=5739

genesis113
07-08-2003, 02:52 AM
Fergie finally explain y he sell veron.....;)

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=273065&cc=5739

It's was him who make the congested midfield.

Let's see what United can achieve if they face Chelsea or Real madrid this season.
Maybe for him, creativity is never important to Man U.
The team only need hard-working bulls. And predictable attacking format.
That's why United always looked struggling when facing Real.

Sigh....................................................................

demon_
07-08-2003, 02:57 AM

It's was him who make the congested midfield.

Let's see what United can achieve if they face Chelsea or Real madrid this season.
Maybe for him, creativity is never important to Man U.
The team only need hard-working bulls. And predictable attacking format.
That's why United always looked struggling when facing Real.

Sigh....................................................................

now is chelski midfield tat's congested with midfield players.... lampard, jole cole,duff,gronjaek<--? spelling?,veron!!!:mad: ,zenden .... all too gd to be bench...

demon_
07-08-2003, 02:58 AM
anyone staying up to watch the match later on? see how giggs they all respone after selling veron....:(

i'm watching~~

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 02:59 AM
y always compare w Real?? u know how much $ they hav in their bank meh?! seriously Real already bought ( almost ) all the creative player liao...i think the onli way to stop them is w all those hard-working player lor...fergie know wat he's doing man... ;)

genesis113
07-08-2003, 03:12 AM
y always compare w Real?? u know how much $ they hav in their bank meh?! seriously Real already bought ( almost ) all the creative player liao...i think the onli way to stop them is w all those hard-working player lor...fergie know wat he's doing man... ;)

I don't know how much $ in Real's bank.
But I know United have 40m pound now wth all the targeted talents snubbing them.

Last season, we saw our hard-working players struggling in robbing the ball from Real.
Fergie always know what's he doing. Maybe yes in EPL. But he always looked witless in CL since 1999's treble.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :(

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 03:34 AM
wat are 40million? at most can buy 2 world-class player....u all take epl for granted? give credit to fergie given arsenal such a strong competitor...in CL i think we are jus second to Real...if we can beat Real, we can beat ani team. But we still hav someway to catch up w Real....given their unlimited amount of money....:rolleyes:

Yueming
07-08-2003, 04:00 AM
its not only 40mil

they had a 30 mil budget....howard djemba and kleberson will at most use up 10 mil...max 12 mil

that means like almost 70mil transfer budget which might not be used at all cos SAF always like to test system until winter break then do something drastic to improve the team....

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:27 AM
off to watch match cya guys ;)

kengbeng
07-08-2003, 06:20 AM
The players looked really drained in this match. The after-effects of the sale. :(

dredd
07-08-2003, 06:55 AM
3-1 the final score, and it was a shame to end such a successful tour on a losing note. Fatigue and jet-lag coupled with a poor playing surface combined to end the 100% record, but maybe it's best to remind ourselves that we're not invincible. For now, anyway.

missed the match becos alarm cloack didn't ring......
did i miss anything else?

cracker
07-08-2003, 06:56 AM
the Utd team looked almost unrecognizable in the match !!! all seemed to be suffereing either jet lag or all the off-the-field news....

me only watched the second half..the only comment is Fergie better hope his new boys learn fast...else he has no backup if his regulars are injured. The midfield dept was totally not functioning....cant keep ball,,or release ball at the right timing.

the sporting guy with 28 shirt was beri impressive,,heard he is only 18 ?,,, he was giving nightmare to all utd defenders on both the left and right flank !

Spock
07-08-2003, 07:17 AM
Ronaldo?:D

RVN
07-08-2003, 07:24 AM
Poor match, poor display.:(

RVN
07-08-2003, 07:48 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed he agreed to sell Juan Sebastian Veron to Chelsea because Manchester United had too many midfielders.

United announced on Wednesday morning they had agreed a £15m fee with Chelsea for the Argentina international.

Ferguson claimed the decision to cash in on Veron came after United signed Klebersen - a move which depends on a work permit.

The Scot felt he had more than enough talent in midfield, even with David Beckham's departure, and admitted he feared upsetting some of his players if he had not trimmed his squad.

Ferguson said: "It's always difficult to let good players go.

"When the first opportunity concerning Juan Sebastian Veron and Chelsea came up I initiated the interest in Klebersen because I felt Klebersen was one for the future and in the long term was good for Manchester United.

"The initial response from Chelsea was that they didn't come back and we carried on with the Klebersen deal.

"The situation was we had a choice of central midfield players and then when another offer came in for Seba we decided to take it.

"I think there would have been problems ahead with the players in midfield," he told MUTV.

"If there'd been an italian club in for him we'd have preferred him to go there, but there was only chelsea"

"I dont think we needed that (money). it was the number of midfielders we have. we had a collection which made my life difficult"

"we've added three players but we do need two players possibly up front and a defender, thats something we're looking at"
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kleberson look like a done deal by Monday, with 40m to spend, he better find his other targets soon.

RVN
07-08-2003, 07:54 AM
MANCHESTER UNITED last night made their move for Jermain Defoe — just 24 hours after West Ham sold Joe Cole to Chelsea.

The champions offered the Hammers £7million for striker Defoe but it was immediately turned down.

SunSport exclusively revealed on Monday that Alex Ferguson hoped to sign Defoe, 20, within the week.

Now the United boss is set to up his offer to £10m, though he may have to go to £12m to get his man.

West Ham have sold £19.1m worth of talent this summer but do not now have to sell another of their crown jewels as they are financially stable.

They must also give 15 per cent of any fee over £1.4m to Defoe’s previous club Charlton. West Ham have waved goodbye to 16 players this summer, saving around £16m in wages.

Hammers boss Glenn Roeder claims he is determined to keep Defoe. But after selling key stars such as Cole, Trevor Sinclair and Glen Johnson, he faces a tough task to convince David James and Michael Carrick to stay.

United are confident of landing Defoe, who wanted out just 24 hours after the club were relegated before withdrawing it.

cracker
07-08-2003, 08:21 AM
Ronaldo?:D

o really ?

he is definitely much bettre looking than THE OTHER one.

dredd
07-08-2003, 08:36 AM
now bid for Defoe? now that the football world knows that ManYoo got cash to spare....will surely up the price....

ralliart_ray
07-08-2003, 09:56 AM
bye veron...but i hate the excuse fergie gave...saying the CM is over-crowded..thats y veron had to go ....

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 09:58 AM
Originally posted by cracker

o really ?

he is definitely much bettre looking than THE OTHER one.

:laugh: dunz.....

kengbeng
07-08-2003, 10:24 AM
now bid for Defoe? now that the football world knows that ManYoo got cash to spare....will surely up the price....
Always like that. Everyone wants to rip us off.

droogie
07-08-2003, 10:40 AM

Always like that. Everyone wants to rip us off.

That's the way the world goes round mah... just like those SLS electronic goods shop rip off the "tourists". :laugh:

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 10:44 AM
feel that fergie had grow wiser as not to let other club rip us off liao...like the ronaldinho incident....;)

droogie
07-08-2003, 10:49 AM
Or maybe he just kena potong jalan... :laugh:

yulee
07-08-2003, 11:24 AM
They are already ripping off themselves!

David Beckham sold for miserly 24 million ( Real to pay in installments and only if they perform well );:rolleyes:

Veron for 15 Million ( compared to the original price of 28 million they bought him for ):rolleyes:

If I were a manyoo shareholder - I'll be extremely upset! :rolleyes:

ccloh
07-08-2003, 12:05 PM
i think we miss out a pt here. according to the ex-brazil national coach kleberson can play both offensive and defensive midfield role. no doubt he might not have the skills and vision of veron but how can a national brazilian squard player be any worse. u can see from world cup, all brazilian players sure have a bit of skills which u cant find in any english player. i believe that is the reason why fergie is so open-minded in letting veron go

ccloh
07-08-2003, 12:08 PM
looking at current squard, man utd definitely needed a defender and a striker instead of packing the midfield. btw saw bellion played yesterday, really disappointed with him. after showing impressive debut against celtic, his performance in subsequence appearence including yesterday against lisbon was damm disappointing. worse off then forlan. anyway guess we'll give him a season to prove himself.

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 12:30 PM
ya his performance quite disappointing but dun judge him so soon...he still young let him grow....;)

main prioty....a class striker and defender! defoe gd cover for Ruud? joquin will be gd addition....let see count down 24 days to go for the dealine...;)

kengbeng
07-08-2003, 12:32 PM
I think that Kleberson is a box-to-box midfield player, not an outright defensive midfielder. Somewhat like Paul Scholes, perhaps.

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 12:35 PM
I think that Kleberson is a box-to-box midfield player, not an outright defensive midfielder. Somewhat like Paul Scholes, perhaps.

but is creativty therE? we are really lacking in this area.....oh ya ole look real tired yestersday, play very poorly

dreamer75
07-08-2003, 01:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed he agreed to sell Juan Sebastian Veron to Chelsea because Manchester United had too many midfielders.

United announced on Wednesday morning they had agreed a £15m fee with Chelsea for the Argentina international.

Ferguson claimed the decision to cash in on Veron came after United signed Klebersen - a move which depends on a work permit.

The Scot felt he had more than enough talent in midfield, even with David Beckham's departure, and admitted he feared upsetting some of his players if he had not trimmed his squad.

Ferguson said: "It's always difficult to let good players go.

"When the first opportunity concerning Juan Sebastian Veron and Chelsea came up I initiated the interest in Klebersen because I felt Klebersen was one for the future and in the long term was good for Manchester United.

"The initial response from Chelsea was that they didn't come back and we carried on with the Klebersen deal.

"The situation was we had a choice of central midfield players and then when another offer came in for Seba we decided to take it.

"I think there would have been problems ahead with the players in midfield," he told MUTV.

"If there'd been an italian club in for him we'd have preferred him to go there, but there was only chelsea"

"I dont think we needed that (money). it was the number of midfielders we have. we had a collection which made my life difficult"

"we've added three players but we do need two players possibly up front and a defender, thats something we're looking at"
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kleberson look like a done deal by Monday, with 40m to spend, he better find his other targets soon.

What is Klebersen's work permit kenna rejected?
Then wat will SAF do?

dreamer75
07-08-2003, 01:35 PM
SAF claims that he feared upsetting some of his players if he did not trim his squad so he sells Veron, do u belif?

Q_QQ_Q
07-08-2003, 01:43 PM
Originally posted by dreamer75
SAF claims that he feared upsetting some of his players if he did not trim his squad so he sells Veron, do u belif?

lame excuse but I still thinks he knows how to make the best out of what he have now on hand...............

ManU!!! ManU!!!:D

ralliart_ray
07-08-2003, 03:32 PM
:mad: :mad: :mad:

RVN
07-08-2003, 03:33 PM

bollock, it means now we lacked a creative playmaker in the team, I don't think Kleberson can replace him.:mad:

RuMmYtUb
07-08-2003, 03:56 PM
What's worse is if Kleberson's work permit denied....

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by RVN

bollock, it means now we lacked a creative playmaker in the team, I don't think Kleberson can replace him.:mad:

u saw kleberson play b4? dun so fast judge a player lah, veron is already gone...we shall look ahead of us....stop dwelling on it and move on ;)

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:26 PM

ya i believe w eric, keano scholes, butt, phil...abit overload....since someone wan to buy veron at a ok price....then let him go lor....he command 90,000pound/wk and left 2 yr that makes ard 9million pounds....so let him go really save alot of money...;)

RVN
07-08-2003, 04:27 PM

u saw kleberson play b4? dun so fast judge a player lah, veron is already gone...we shall look ahead of us....stop dwelling on it and move on ;)

sorry for being pessmistic, I didn't want us to sell veron and see no reason to do that too, now I hope we go after Aimar to replace him, Kleberson is more of a defensive midfielder.

RVN
07-08-2003, 04:30 PM

what Fergie said about being spoilt for choice in the middle of the park, I think that is crap because all the players are basically the same type of midfielder.
You need a ball winner and a creative player (like Veron) in the middle and speed and skill on the wings. If you dont have that mix which we haven't......you definitely need a Ronaldinho type midfielder cum forward which, what a surprise, we haven't got!!:mad:

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN

what Fergie said about being spoilt for choice in the middle of the park, I think that is crap because all the players are basically the same type of midfielder.
You need a ball winner and a creative player (like Veron) in the middle and speed and skill on the wings. If you dont have that mix which we haven't......you definitely need a Ronaldinho type midfielder cum forward which, what a surprise, we haven't got!!:mad:

we hav scholes~!~ and we still hav 24 days to go...who knows who we are going to bring in in this 24 days ;)

Yellowfin
07-08-2003, 04:34 PM
I think only at the end of the season then we will know whether SAF make the right choice in the transfer market. :D

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:37 PM
Originally posted by RVN

ya wat u said is right...when i play cm i always put one creative midfielder and a ballwinner in middle....but in real life we can oso put 2 defensive midfielder in the middle! scholes jus behind Ruud....that will provide lots steel to the squad plus scholes is oso a strong ballwinner too....;) that is how fergie always works and maybe the way to break Real...;) and we still dun know w 40million pound, who fergie is going to bring in.....let wait and see....

ccloh
07-08-2003, 04:37 PM
i beg to diff in the case of kleberson. i remembered i read an article by the ex-brazilian national coach that in brazil midfielder is basically classified under defensive or offensive but for the case of kleberson he is a bit the unique as he can play both defensive and offensive. for us, the only time we saw him in action is during last yr world cup hence we cant really judge how good he is but fergie's scout have watched him played and fergie must kn his capability. the worried thing is can he adapt to the english game if not he will end up like veron, a class player but cant perform well.

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:40 PM
i beg to diff in the case of kleberson. i remembered i read an article by the ex-brazilian national coach that in brazil midfielder is basically classified under defensive or offensive but for the case of kleberson he is a bit the unique as he can play both defensive and offensive. for us, the only time we saw him in action is during last yr world cup hence we cant really judge how good he is but fergie's scout have watched him played and fergie must kn his capability. the worried thing is can he adapt to the english game if not he will end up like veron, a class player but cant perform well.

kleberson sort of belong to those pyshical game...hard tackle but for veron he came fr italian league which mostly is abt tactical....so i believe kleberson can asapt to english game....i cant really judge him as i onli saw him play in WC2002 which i feel that he is better than silva fr arsenal...lets watch him play then we judge him and fergie k guys...;)

RVN
07-08-2003, 04:41 PM

I hope he settle down well with us quickly, not ended up taking a long time like veron to settle. :)

RVN
07-08-2003, 04:45 PM
aye, we do need a creative player in the midfield - but we have Scholes? Is that enough?

then we might need a good enough winger - could Fletcher and/or Ole do the job?

Giggs, Scholes and Ole/Fletcher being offensive
Djemba Djemba/Butt and Keane being defensive.

Is Kleberson offensive or defensive:confused:

We'd be quite hurt though, if e.g. Ruud and Scholes are out, and Giggs probably can't do another season without resting.

thats why we need a the likes of Joaquin or Aimar to come in to provide the width in our attack and cover too.

We'll see, most surely will be an interesting season - hopefully with a lot of players who can show us just what we're about, I hope Fergie make a move in the transfer market soon.

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 04:48 PM
ya jus having scholes is not enough that why i say we still hav 24days...;)

ccloh
07-08-2003, 05:05 PM
giggs can play the hole behind rvn in case scholes injuired and to replace him in the left, ole, forlan, fortune and phil neville can fill the void.

if u try a few combinations, u can really see what fergie means that the midfield dept. is too congested and sometime have to left out big name for the game.

veron case it is sad to see him go but let face the fact in epl matches, his impact is not there, there is no pt. every wk paid him high salary but not playing him. epl game unlike cl games, is very physical and need 2 ballwinners in the midfield (that why arsenal so gd last season, vieria & giberto are hard tackler ball winner). if we played veron together with keane in midfield it cant work as keane (no longer the usual keane) cant fight the battle alone given that veron tackling is perhaps same or slightly better than beckham only.

RVN
07-08-2003, 05:06 PM
As Sporting are supposed to be our feeder club, we should quickly sign their young Ronaldo. Looked an excellent player last night.:rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
07-08-2003, 05:07 PM
F***, veron off liao...
Who man utd bringing in lehz??

ccloh
07-08-2003, 05:19 PM
Originally posted by RVN
As Sporting are supposed to be our feeder club, we should quickly sign their young Ronaldo. Looked an excellent player last night.:rolleyes:

cant get the older and fatter ronaldo, get the younger and slimmer one not bad :D

ralliart_ray
07-08-2003, 05:36 PM
cant get ronaldiho?
veron went off?

Get Aimar!

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 05:44 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
cant get ronaldiho?
veron went off?

Get Aimar!

dun think valencia wan and will sell him...if really wan to sell...he will cost at least 20million pound...:rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
07-08-2003, 07:01 PM
Ya Cristiano Ronaldo is gd.....

stam
07-08-2003, 07:27 PM
WE SHALL SURVIVE!!!! :)

guoquanyap
07-08-2003, 07:34 PM
Originally posted by stam

;)

RVN
07-08-2003, 08:15 PM

http://manutdchat.com/forums/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif

stipe
07-08-2003, 09:42 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
F***, veron off liao...
Who man utd bringing in lehz??

jermaine defoe.....

stam
07-08-2003, 09:56 PM
At least 1 defender and 1 striker!! :)

StormTrooper
07-08-2003, 09:57 PM
it was similar to that time when ince, kenchelskis, and cantona went.........we never know until the time comes. only time will tell.....hope they can surprise us.

Ch3tah_39
07-08-2003, 11:01 PM

:D :D :D

NanDesKa
07-08-2003, 11:10 PM
yeah, when ince, kanchelski and cantona went, fergie blooded in the youngsters and created such a wonderful team consisting of giggs, scholes, butt, beckham and neville bros..
i believe, when players like oshea, brown, ferdinand, richardson, fletcher, bjordic, chadwick all start breaking into the first team, we will become as strong, possibly even stronger..
taking a blue pot shot, who says money can buy success? :D

RVN
07-08-2003, 11:11 PM
yeah, when ince, kanchelski and cantona went, fergie blooded in the youngsters and created such a wonderful team consisting of giggs, scholes, butt, beckham and neville bros..
i believe, when players like oshea, brown, ferdinand, richardson, fletcher, bjordic, chadwick all start breaking into the first team, we will become as strong, possibly even stronger..
taking a blue pot shot, who says money can buy success? :D

:D :laugh:

NanDesKa
07-08-2003, 11:15 PM
have faith the team we support will carry on from strength to strength. :)

yulee
08-08-2003, 10:07 AM
Puyol says transfer to United will help Barça
By Gordon Tynan
08 August 2003

The Barcelona defender Carles Puyol said yesterday that he would reluctantly be prepared to leave if the club needed to raise new funds to improve its financial situation.

The Spanish international's comments were prompted by reports that Manchester United were preparing a €20m (£14m) bid for the player.

Barcelona had announced yesterday that they were due to report losses of around $186m (£115.5m) for last season.

"At the moment they are nothing more than rumours because neither myself, Barcelona nor Manchester United have said anything about a move," the 25-year-old right back said.

"I don't think of myself as a saviour, but I have to be aware that if an offer does arrive that interests the club, then I will do my best to help them.

The Fulham midfielder Sean Davis has submitted a written transfer request. The England Under-21 international is being trailed by Everton, who have offered £3.5m for him; Tottenham; and now Middlesbrough.

The 22-year-old felt he had little alternative if he is to stand a chance of making the full England squad for next summer's Euro 2004 finals.

"I've been at Fulham a long time and now I think it is time I moved on," he said. "It is not a decision I have taken lightly and I hope the fans understand, but I am a very ambitious player and I don't think Fulham have the necessary ambition any more since they sold Steve Finnan [to Liverpool]."

guoquanyap
08-08-2003, 11:08 AM
Originally posted by yulee
By Gordon Tynan
08 August 2003

The Barcelona defender Carles Puyol said yesterday that he would reluctantly be prepared to leave if the club needed to raise new funds to improve its financial situation.

The Spanish international's comments were prompted by reports that Manchester United were preparing a €20m (£14m) bid for the player.

Barcelona had announced yesterday that they were due to report losses of around $186m (£115.5m) for last season.

"At the moment they are nothing more than rumours because neither myself, Barcelona nor Manchester United have said anything about a move," the 25-year-old right back said.

"I don't think of myself as a saviour, but I have to be aware that if an offer does arrive that interests the club, then I will do my best to help them.

The Fulham midfielder Sean Davis has submitted a written transfer request. The England Under-21 international is being trailed by Everton, who have offered £3.5m for him; Tottenham; and now Middlesbrough.

The 22-year-old felt he had little alternative if he is to stand a chance of making the full England squad for next summer's Euro 2004 finals.

"I've been at Fulham a long time and now I think it is time I moved on," he said. "It is not a decision I have taken lightly and I hope the fans understand, but I am a very ambitious player and I don't think Fulham have the necessary ambition any more since they sold Steve Finnan [to Liverpool]."

wat an excuse to join Us ;) he worth 20million pound?!

ccloh
08-08-2003, 11:38 AM
By Gordon Tynan
08 August 2003

the lad sure needs a head examination like ronaldinho :D

ccloh
08-08-2003, 11:41 AM
i suggest go for a dutch defender and striker :D

apparently the dutch seems to do very well in soccer as an individual

ccloh
08-08-2003, 11:43 AM
btw i have confident in kleberson to be better off in performance in both epl and cl than veron.

brazilians are the best footballer on earth :)

guoquanyap
08-08-2003, 12:07 PM
btw i have confident in kleberson to be better off in performance in both epl and cl than veron.

brazilians are the best footballer on earth :)

puyol is gd...hope kleberson wont fade away like siva at arsenal now....hav a great debut but in the end fade away....;)

Dolphin1977
08-08-2003, 01:56 PM

dun think valencia wan and will sell him...if really wan to sell...he will cost at least 20million pound...:rolleyes:

imho he worth at least 35 million pound

stam
08-08-2003, 02:22 PM
puyol for 20m?? i hope we dun get bullied in the transfer dealings again......:alien:

RVN
08-08-2003, 02:26 PM
puyol for 20m?? i hope we dun get bullied in the transfer dealings again......:alien:

Trabelsi will be the better option, cost cheaper and he got pace too.;)

swordy84
08-08-2003, 03:15 PM

"The Spanish international's comments were prompted by reports that Manchester United were preparing a €20m (£14m) bid for the player."

It is 14 million pounds, so I think it is quite alright for a spanish international like him. Although Puyol is good but he ain't worth 20 million pounds IMO.

NanDesKa
08-08-2003, 03:56 PM
sign van der vaart and joaquin for 40 million pounds.
not bad eh? :P
or better still blow 55 million pounds on both of them plus denilson..
oopz... too much cm le. :sad:

NanDesKa
08-08-2003, 04:06 PM
oso, how abt a cocky snap up of viduka..
:D
send leeds fans to their graves. :X

edhorizon
08-08-2003, 04:08 PM
somehow all the while i dun really like black players for man utd .. maybe racist? but i dun mind players like edgar davids...

NanDesKa
08-08-2003, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
somehow all the while i dun really like black players for man utd .. maybe racist? but i dun mind players like edgar davids... :rolleyes:

edhorizon
08-08-2003, 04:23 PM
:rolleyes:

how come in football forum u only? :rolleyes: :eek: or others? but EDMW so much comments?

ccloh
08-08-2003, 04:41 PM

oh no to that FAT striker. :D

we got a FAT bosnich last time and it is a flop and we dont need a FAT viduka now

edhorizon
08-08-2003, 04:45 PM

oh no to that FAT striker. :D

we got a FAT bosnich last time and it is a flop and we dont need a FAT viduka now

:laugh: :laugh:

ralliart_ray
08-08-2003, 05:13 PM

:laugh: :eek: :laugh:

dreamer75
08-08-2003, 05:26 PM
Quoted from THE SUN..

"MANCHESTER UNITED flogged Juan Veron because he is too old"

Wat a reason!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003362891,00.html

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2003, 05:29 PM
Why Man Utd nv consider Viduka and Morientes ? Both have excellent goal ratios....:confused:

dreamer75
08-08-2003, 05:35 PM
Why Man Utd nv consider Viduka and Morientes ? Both have excellent goal ratios....:confused:

and Viduka wants to leave Leeds..hmm..

ccloh
08-08-2003, 05:39 PM

morientes maybe a gd choice since he has difficult in getting into real 1st 11. as for viduka, leeds see him as a vital player to help them rebuild the club and at this time he like his countryman (kewell) chooses to jump ship dont think he is worth to be in utd squard.

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2003, 05:44 PM

morientes maybe a gd choice since he has difficult in getting into real 1st 11. as for viduka, leeds see him as a vital player to help them rebuild the club and at this time he like his countryman (kewell) chooses to jump ship dont think he is worth to be in utd squard.

haha leeds cmi le, rebuild simi sai.... and as for morientes, i 4got which club (think spurs) approached but they could not afford his wages..... MayB Man Utd can offer what Morientes wants... But wif Kenyon around, haiz always say balance books.... Den Real like dun need to balance books like tat...

ccloh
08-08-2003, 05:51 PM

haha leeds cmi le, rebuild simi sai.... and as for morientes, i 4got which club (think spurs) approached but they could not afford his wages..... MayB Man Utd can offer what Morientes wants... But wif Kenyon around, haiz always say balance books.... Den Real like dun need to balance books like tat...

kenyon is definitely better then martin edwards at least he is more willing to spend.

i do agree that real not need to balance bk like that. u see those spanish and italian clubs report no profit and yet still got $$$ to go in to buy. real madrid wanted to buy a big star for each season. in no way that any organisation which depends on their profit to survive can do that.

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2003, 05:53 PM
PUYOL - I'D JOIN UNITED TO HELP BARCA

Friday August 08 2003

Advertisement

Barcelona defender Carles Puyol has admitted that he would be happy to move to Manchester United if it would help his current club in their battle against debt.

Rumours have surfaced in the Spanish media recently of an imminent £14million bid from Old Trafford for the services of the 25-year-old full-back.

And, with Barcelona having just announced debts of £116million, the pressure may be on the Catalan club to cash in on popular Puyol.

Barca vice-president Sandro Rosell attempted to quash the transfer rumours on Wednesday by saying the club would not sell Puyol cheaply.

Furthermore, Puyol insisted he had heard nothing official about a bid and claimed he was keen to stay at the Nou Camp.

But that did not stop him from lavishing praise on the Premiership champions and their manager Sir Alex Ferguson, as well as suggesting he would fall in line if Barca felt the need to sell.

He told Barca's official website: "Manchester United are one of the best clubs in the world and any footballer would be happy to play there.

"They've got a good team and a great manager, but I want to stay here and win things with Barca.

"I've still not won a title here and I wouldn't want to leave without doing so, I think I owe that to the fans. If it's for the good of the club, I'll help out, but for myself I'm happy here and this is home for me.

"Right now, they're just rumours floating around and nobody from the club or Manchester has spoken to me about it."

===============================================

I think 15million for puyol would be good...

guoquanyap
08-08-2003, 05:58 PM
ya 10-15million will be reasonable but not more then that!! :mad: :mad:

ryanseah
08-08-2003, 06:18 PM

Well you must remember that United is a PLC and thus are accountable to shareholders for every cent that they spend, so it's not exactly the easiest thing in the world for them to splash out the big bucks for anyone they feel like signing. Real on the other hand, are massively government funded, so even if they themselves are in the red, there is always the Spanish people's money to back them up :o

ccloh
08-08-2003, 06:28 PM
----------------------------------------
The Boss, aka former Reds manager Wilf McGuinness has asked United's fans to back Sir Alex Ferguson over Veron's sale. Seba's departure has been met with mixed reaction from Reds fans. But, according to Wilf, Fergie's past success is reason enough to stick with the manager's judgements...

The fans are split over this, that’s for sure. Everyone is entitled to their opinions but, in the end, it’s about Manchester United and Sir Alex Ferguson’s decisions - that's what counts. We’ve had a lot of success over the years by going his way and we have to trust his judgement.

The newspapers have it that fans are sending they’re season tickets back to Old Trafford. But if they are doing that, I’d be in the queue right away taking the tickets off them - quite gladly. Don’t send them back, just send them to me! There’s lots of my friends that would love to come and watch United.

That stupidity in the newspapers has been proved untrue, because not one season ticket has been returned as yet. That's not to say some supporters aren't disappointed. I’ve listened to the phone-ins and some fans are angry about it.

The way I look at the Seba situation is simple. In the late 1990’s I saw Veron playing for Argentina and I thought what a great class act. But I didn’t see that class act at Old Trafford often enough.

In the two years Veron was here he had his highs and lows, but was never really consistent. You can’t question his passing, because it was exquisite at times. However some of the lads – like Keane or Scholes – play simpler passes, but to the same effect. I think we should back the club on the sale of Veron – let’s just wait and see who the manager brings in.

Sir Alex has strengthened the midfield that much this summer that it would be difficult to find a place for everybody in the team. We would perhaps have been carrying Veron, paying a hell of a lot of money in wages for him not to play that many games.

Veron was top-rate at creating, but he wasn’t top rate at defending. If you have a player that can do both, you have a great midfield player. With player like Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson – they are all-round players. We still have a good mix, with creative players like Scholes and Giggs and young Fletcher coming through, and also Ole on the right side. And that is countered by our engine room where we have, Keane, Butt, Djemba-Djemba and hopefully Kleberson. We have taken out a classy act and will probably replace him with an all-rounder.

Whether it is right or wrong, we will have to wait and see. But let’s not start falling out about this. Let’s get behind the team, and not listen to stupid statements like fans sending season tickets back, which is blatantly untrue. Sir Alex Ferguson will be disappointed in not signing Ronaldinho, and isappointed in not getting some of the other players he had targeted, but there is still until the end of August to sort that out. We are still the team everyone wants to talk about, even if Chelsea have a golden goose as an owner.

------------------------------------------------------

extract from utd official website

yulee
08-08-2003, 07:17 PM
Too many midfielders, says Fergie. So what do you do? Get rid of your best midfielder. Why not get rid of Nicky Butt? Ferguson has lost his head. Man United will have the most dissappointing season ever. They just sold the most gifted midfielder I have ever seen.

Gary, Canada

Every Utd fan knows that following Wes Brown's injury (and the expected retirement of Blanc) and given our over-reliance on Ruud up front, the two priorities for the transfer season were to buy another defender - it took Fergie three months and an injury to Gary Neville to realize this? - and a proven, established striker or no. 10 player.

We lost the race to land Ronaldinho and had no back-up plan. Meanwhile, one of the best strikers in the world (Makaay) just signed for Bayern (I am sure that if we had chased him he would have preferred us to them). We also have four international goalkeepers which is obviously not a sustainable situation.

Lucas Black

Manchester United have made 40 million pounds out of the sale of Beckham and Veron. Who has profited? Has the football club been replaced by a financial institution?

Gordon Lampitt

Seba Veron would not only be an extra man for the midfield pool, but a source of inspiration or a spark of genious that we need should Scholes be playing forward or Giggs is injured, now that Beckham has departed. Can any other player match Veron's passing ability and ball control?

I hope Kleberson and Djemba Djemba progress well and are successful at United - I am glad we have some new faces - but the fact that Seba is going to Chelsea makes me annoyed. He could go to Italy and fit in sooner with the style of game he was used to at Lazio. That would justify him moving.

Too many midfielders? Maybe. Future problems if nobody sold? Maybe. Too much experience and class? Definitely not.

Tom Ternent, Manchester, England

First Beckham, now Veron...Who is next? United have four players that every supporter would agree were priceless. These are Beckham, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy and Veron. Two of these players have been sold without players of equivalent ability being brought in.

Kenyon should get out now, before any more damage is done and let Alex do his job with the quality players he wants. United need to be more like Real Madrid. The driving force of Madrid is success on the pitch, and then finances. The board need to take a leaf out of their book instead of selling our best players to them.

Simarjot Judge, London

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Manyoo fans are getting restless....:eek:

guoquanyap
08-08-2003, 07:18 PM

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Manyoo fans are getting restless....:eek:

i am not ;)

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2003, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by ryanseah

Well you must remember that United is a PLC and thus are accountable to shareholders for every cent that they spend, so it's not exactly the easiest thing in the world for them to splash out the big bucks for anyone they feel like signing. Real on the other hand, are massively government funded, so even if they themselves are in the red, there is always the Spanish people's money to back them up :o

Then it's hard to challenge Real Madrid unless another Roman Abramovich takes over Man Utd..

stipe
08-08-2003, 09:50 PM

Then it's hard to challenge Real Madrid unless another Roman Abramovich takes over Man Utd..

agree... kenyon seems to be a deek-head when it comes to buying players.

with puyol making statements on wanting to go to manyoo, trabelsi stating that he is willing to walk to old trafford to play for them, it seems weird that kenyon is still doing nothing. all seems quiet on the transfer front. maybe it will be the same as ronaldhino, escude,

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=32632&seg=EPL&teamid=

http://www.rednews.co.uk/

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2003, 10:25 PM
Man Utd fans are getting tired by now, with all those rumours and players linked to the club, but mostly nv materialise.... Damn sad...:mad:

ccloh
08-08-2003, 10:38 PM
if u dont trust fergie, where do all the silverwares so far that have achieved come from.

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 12:04 AM
if u dont trust fergie, where do all the silverwares so far that have achieved come from.

always remember this...without fergie, there wont be the United now....;)

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 01:26 AM
Well, SAF is experienced enough in the footballing circles to know what he is doing... Even though I'm sad to see Veron go, I'm sure Fergie has a plan up his sleeves, & we should keep faith with that plan... :)

Here's wishing Veron the best in the future... Except when playing against Man Utd, that is... :D

droogie
09-08-2003, 01:29 AM
Here's wishing Veron the best in the future... Except when playing against Man Utd, that is... :D

:laugh: :bounce:

RVN
09-08-2003, 03:18 AM
Man Utd fans are getting tired by now, with all those rumours and players linked to the club, but mostly nv materialise.... Damn sad...:mad:

yep, I am fed up with it, enough talks, just splash out the cash and made bid for the players we want now.

yulee
09-08-2003, 07:15 AM
NO FLAIR AND NO TIME FOR FERGUSON
Friday August 08 2003
By Pete Gill

Here’s a daunting thought for you: Manchester United have sold the England captain, off-loaded the second most expensive player in English football history, have endured a summer of high-profile failures in the transfer market…and they’re still overwhelming favourites with the bookies to lift the Premiership in eight months’ time.

Oh and they’ve still got £30m in their transfer kitty.

While Chelsea have been spending Roman’s spare change and hogging the headlines, United have been quietly (by their standards) going about their business – with business being the operative word with the sale of their £28m substitute Juan Veron and pre-season jaunt to the U.S. of A.

For the neutrals, it’s a shame that Sunday’s curtain-raiser match isn’t between United - the champions as well as the favourites - and the up-and-soon-to-be-coming upstarts from west London.

While Arsenal’s right to be in Cardiff is undisputable – any team that wins at both Old Trafford and Stamford Bridge, as they did last spring, deserves to win the FA Cup – it is Chelsea who have provided the spark in the summer. They are the team to which all eyes will turn once the season begins.

Every Arsenal-ManYoo match since the late 90s has carried the tagline of ‘the clash of the best teams in the country’, yet, while that remains the case, there is little to be learnt from Sunday’s match that we don’t already know.

Neither club has bought heavily, and it’s only between the sticks that we are likely to see a new face or two. Viewers could be forgiven for thinking they are suffering from a severe case of déjà vu.

Not that Arsenal will be complaining if they maintain their status quo by persuading Patrick Vieira and Robert Pires to lengthen their stay in the English capital. For United, on the other hand, this summer has so far been profitable only in the sense that pleases plc board members.

For all Roy Keane’s bluster and Alex Ferguson’s reminders of what happened to Paul Gascoigne after he rejected United’s overtures, missing out on Ronaldinho has hurt Ferguson - and will hurt United in the coming months.

At the heart of the decision to sell David Beckham was the plan to change formation to a more fluid 4-2-3-1. Beckham had no place in such a formation; Ronaldinho and one other new face, ideally Harry Kewell, would be at its heart.

Instead, United missed out on both, and now they must pay the price (metaphorically at least).

In a beguiling interview in last week’s Sunday Times, Ferguson not only acknowledged that the change of formation will have to be shelved, but also that success on the European stage may be beyond them for another year – a damning admission by the manager of the second richest club on the planet.

“We want to win the Champions League again and that’s where Ronaldinho came into the equation. I felt if we’d got him we’d have had a big chance in Europe,” Ferguson said. “Without him we can’t really do anything different [in style of play] to be honest with you.”

After the departures of Veron and Beckham, coupled with the failure to secure either Kewell or Ronaldinho, United have suddenly found themselves short of flair. His future uncertain barely eight months ago, Ryan Giggs is now second only to Ruud van Nistelrooy in the value stakes at Old Trafford. Another injury and United could be struggling. Isn’t he due a proper hamstring strain (as opposed to those he suffers on international week) soon?

Midfield replacements have been brought in, and Ferguson may have claimed to be “very, very well off in that department” as he justified the sale of Veron, but the suspicion is that United’s midfield is suddenly short on players capable of hurting opposing teams rather than just their opponents' ankles.

The contrast with Chelsea, listing into the Thames with an abundance of attacking midfielders, is obvious.

Nevertheless, the Scot has said signing a new defender and striker is his priority. A long-term injury to Wes Brown, on top of Laurent Blanc’s retirement, means United are short-staffed at the back, and the danger of an over-reliance on Ruud van Nistelrooy is obvious.

Yet the clock is ticking and Ferguson has less than a month before the Champions League transfer deadline.

Perhaps the most pertinent question of all, especially when baring in mind that United were guilty of leaving their move for Kewell until the day after he agreed to join Liverpool, and only realised too late that PSG were not bluffing about Barcelona’s interest in Ronaldinho, is why it’s only now – a week before the new season begins - that the Manchester United manager is preparing to address some of the flaws in his team, let alone his squad. After all, Brown was injured on the final day of last season and United’s dependence on Van Nistelrooy has been apparent for almost two years.

It’s just as well that he has money in his pocket for Ferguson has plenty of shopping still to do – and little time to do it in.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's hope SAF and Peter Keyon proves everybody wrong! :rolleyes:

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 07:33 AM
Let's hope SAF and Peter Keyon proves everybody wrong! :rolleyes:

The hustle & bustle of the EPL should be no problem with the current squad at Old Trafford, & we should still be safe in the Champs League up to the group stages... Even without Becks & Veron as we are now, Man Utd is still a force to be reckoned with, both at home & in Europe... :)

That'll give us at least some more time to consider any transfer options that might strengthen the squad... Let's hope Fergie & Kenyon can thoroughly assess the squad in the meantime & get the right kind of quality players to boost our areas of weakness... :D

yulee
09-08-2003, 09:00 AM
United dogged by lack of care in Community
Ferguson and his team may have other things on their mind when they face Arsenal

Kevin McCarra
Saturday August 9, 2003
The Guardian

Sir Alex Ferguson's thirst for honours turns out not to be utterly unquenchable. He has barely sipped at the FA Community Shield recently, having seen Manchester United defeated on their last four appearances in a match that gives seething rivals a rare opportunity to be amiable towards one another.
"We're probably at our sharpest at this stage for a while," the manager maintains. However, it is precisely because of the exertions made during the prestige friendlies in the United States that the players might have a warm-down in Cardiff instead of getting themselves fired-up.

Ferguson, by contrast, cannot be ready to relax. He has so far signed Tim Howard, Eric Djemba-Djemba and David Bellion, but even with Kleberson's arrival imminent it still feels as if wealthy United have been window-shoppers in the transfer market.

It has been a staid period and it is timely that the captain Roy Keane, in the updated version of his autobiography, should remind everyone that the familiarity of the Old Trafford scene is an asset so long as Ferguson is among the same old faces.

Keane reflects on the inspirational tirade that followed the defeat by Manchester City last season.

"It is interesting to wonder why the words spoken by Alex Ferguson on this occasion had such an effect," he writes. "The answer is that when he talks about character, hunger and pride, about courage and loyalty as well, you know that he is the embodiment of those values himself. He had the character, and courage, to defy conventional wisdom and sell David Beckham."

The appeal to the faithful is particularly appropriate now that Beckham's departure has been followed by the peculiar transfer of Juan Sebastian Veron. On this occasion, the main effect of Ferguson's psychological subtleties has been to baffle the public.

What advantage did he glean by virtually denying that the Argentinian was about to be sold even when everyone else was confident that the midfielder's move was in process? Having championed Veron strongly and even angrily, the manager may not have wanted to be closely associated with a deal that saw the player's value almost halved.

"Seba did not want to go," said Ferguson yesterday, with a phrase that epitomised the hesitations and enigmas of the transaction. "He knew what was happening all right. As a manager you like to keep every player but you just can't do that in the modern game. We took a long-term view and it was too good a package to turn down."

Ferguson also conceded that Veron had sometimes "found the Premiership very difficult", no matter how much the midfielder flourished in the Champions League. The parting discomfits a manager who had invested such faith and money in Veron, but Ferguson has always been a believer in perpetual revolution and the real concern for him may lie in the lack of alterations at Old Trafford.

"I'm not necessarily looking to change the team," he said guardedly, citing wins at Anfield and St James' Park achieved without either Veron or Beckham. He does indeed have an admirable squad, but there is no disguising the fact that United are still living in the aftershock of the failure to buy Ronaldinho.

If there was a predictability about the focus on Beckham's long crosses, the advent of the Brazilian might have introduced an enhanced elusiveness. Having seen Ronaldinho join Barcelona, United were left to agonise and reflect.

Would the energetic Carles Puyol be worth £15m from Barcelona? Might it be too soon to take the 18-year-old Cristiano Ronaldo from Sporting Lisbon, even assuming he is available? There have been rumours that Juventus hold an option on the teenager.

No matter the names, Ferguson will surely be relieved if he can diminish the dependence on Ruud van Nistelrooy. A recurrence of the Dutchman's hamstring problems would more than cramp United's style. The manager is certainly doing nothing to dispel speculation about a bid for West Ham's Jermain Defoe.

"It's never wise to come out and say you are looking at a specific player because you are dealing with another club who, quite rightly, could be annoyed if you publicly declare an interest," he commented.

The Community Shield will engage Ferguson for a while tomorrow, but his concentration on the August 31 transfer deadline will not be broken by a pleasant match at the Millennium Stadium.

How relevant is the Shield?

Man United 1-1 Arsenal (United won 5-4 on penalties)
League Man United 1-0 Arsenal, Arsenal 2-2 Man United
Final league position Man United 1st, Arsenal 4th

Man United 2-0 Blackburn
League Blackburn 2-4 Man United, Man United 1-0 Blackburn
Final league position Blackburn 1st, Man United 2nd

Everton 1-0 Blackburn
League Everton 1-0 Blackburn, Blackburn 0-3 Everton
Final league position Everton 6th, Blackburn 7th

Man United 4-0 Newcastle
League Newcastle 5-0 Man United, Man United 0-0 Newcastle
Final league position Man United 1st, Newcastle 2nd

Man United 1-1 Chelsea
League Man United 2-2 Chelsea, Chelsea 0-1 Man United
Final league position Man United 2nd, Chelsea 4th

Arsenal 3-0 Man United
League Arsenal 3-0 Man United, Man United 1-1 Arsenal
Final league position Man United 1st, Arsenal 2nd

Arsenal 2-1Man United
League Arsenal 1-2 Man United, Man United 1-1 Arsenal
Final league position Man United 1st, Arsenal 2nd

Chelsea 2-0 Man United
League Man United 3-3 Chelsea, Chelsea 1-1 Man United
Final league position Man United 1st, Chelsea 6th

Liverpool 2-1 Man United
League Liverpool 3-1 Man United, Man United 0-1 Liverpool
Final league positionLiverpool 2nd, Man United 3rd

Arsenal 1-0 Liverpool
League Arsenal 1-1 Liverpool, Liverpool 2-2 Arsenal
Final league position Arsenal 2nd, Liverpool 5th

pyu
09-08-2003, 09:19 AM
Does anyone have a list of new squad numbers for the Devils?

Been trying to google for it but no luck so far... :(

yulee
09-08-2003, 09:27 AM
You buying TOTO or 4D ah? :laugh:

pyu
09-08-2003, 09:29 AM
Nah, trying to update my CM4 before starting a new game.

Not bad, with all the players sold, I can buy and sell the players I want. :o

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 10:58 AM
Originally posted by pyu
Nah, trying to update my CM4 before starting a new game.

Not bad, with all the players sold, I can buy and sell the players I want. :o

Maybe you can use the CM engine to source for good players that wouldn't cost a bomb, then e-mail Kenyon & ask him to go conclude a deal... :laugh:

leslielai
09-08-2003, 11:01 AM

Maybe you can use the CM engine to source for good players that wouldn't cost a bomb, then e-mail Kenyon & ask him to go conclude a deal... :laugh:

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

yulee
09-08-2003, 11:03 AM
Peter Keyon will probably still fail to sign the player even if you presented the player to him on a sliver platter wrapped up in ribbons! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

ccloh
09-08-2003, 11:28 AM
Peter Keyon will probably still fail to sign the player even if you presented the player to him on a sliver platter wrapped up in ribbons! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

dont think u really kn the transfer strategy of man utd

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 11:45 AM

dont think u really kn the transfer strategy of man utd

To be honest, I think many Man Utd supporters are pretty puzzled about their transfer strategy recently... I for one do not know what Kenyon is thinking about, but I sure do trust SAF that he knows what he is doing with the team...

There must be a reason the Fergie-Kenyon partnership is thinking & doing things the way as it is... Let's hope all turns out fine in the time that is to come... :)

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 11:49 AM

To be honest, I think many Man Utd supporters are pretty puzzled about their transfer strategy recently... I for one do not know what Kenyon is thinking about, but I sure do trust SAF that he knows what he is doing with the team...

There must be a reason the Fergie-Kenyon partnership is thinking & doing things the way as it is... Let's hope all turns out fine in the time that is to come... :)

like wat fergie said, he claims the duo’s departure will make little difference as neither player took part in the key games that won United the Premiership last season.

He said: “The team that won at Newcastle, drew at Arsenal and beat Liverpool is still here. And I am not necessarily looking to change that team, either.

but we still need to add some class player to add depth to the squad....

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 11:50 AM

w 40+million to spend...let see how fergie will use it...;) 23days to go...

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2003, 11:54 AM

w 40+million to spend...let see how fergie will use it...;) 23days to go...

Die die muz spend on some classy player with flair IMO, if not our CL adventure can kiss gd bye to the likes of Real and Bayern...

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 11:57 AM

Die die muz spend on some classy player with flair IMO, if not our CL adventure can kiss gd bye to the likes of Real and Bayern...

seriously i dun think we can in the CL nx season....when fergie rebuild the squad last time, with the likes of giggs, beckham etc....it took 5 yr for them to won the CL....i think we hav to be patient and wait for them to grow.....;)

kengbeng
09-08-2003, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by pyu
Does anyone have a list of new squad numbers for the Devils?

Been trying to google for it but no luck so far... :(
Most should be retaining their own numbers. Think Djemba-Djemba is getting 17. Rio Ferdinand could be taking over 4 or 5. Think O'Shea and Silvestre could be having their numbers upgraded to reflect their position in the first team. Also feel that numbers 7 and 9 will be left vacant for a while.

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 12:01 PM

like wat fergie said, he claims the duo’s departure will make little difference as neither player took part in the key games that won United the Premiership last season.

He said: “The team that won at Newcastle, drew at Arsenal and beat Liverpool is still here. And I am not necessarily looking to change that team, either.

but we still need to add some class player to add depth to the squad....

For the EPL, the current squad is strong enough... But the style of the CL is very different, and that is where Becks & Veron can really perform...

Examples of their contributions to Man Utd's European forays last season are the matches against Juve, where Veron totally dominated midfield play, & against Real, where Becks' two goals ensured a 4-3 victory (although it was eventually an insignificant result due to Ronaldo's goals)...

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 12:01 PM

Most should be retaining their own numbers. Think Djemba-Djemba is getting 17. Rio Ferdinand could be taking over 4 or 5. Think O'Shea and Silvestre could be having their numbers upgraded to reflect their position in the first team. Also feel that numbers 7 and 9 will be left vacant for a while.

bellion took 9 during the pre-season dunno whether 9 will be his offical or not leh....hopefully not sia...a class striker is coming in this 23 days and will take the number 9! :D

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 12:04 PM

For the EPL, the current squad is strong enough... But the style of the CL is very different, and that is where Becks & Veron can really perform...

Examples of their contributions to Man Utd's European forays last season are the matches against Juve, where Veron totally dominated midfield play, & against Real, where Becks' two goals ensured a 4-3 victory (although it was eventually an insignificant result due to Ronaldo's goals)...

ya veron really fly in european games....

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 12:05 PM

seriously i dun think we can in the CL nx season....when fergie rebuild the squad last time, with the likes of giggs, beckham etc....it took 5 yr for them to won the CL....i think we hav to be patient and wait for them to grow.....;)

CL is now the benchmark for Man Utd... Having proven their class in England, I think itz time we try to get further than just the quarter-finals or semi-finals stage... :rolleyes:

I'm not confident about the CL either, but who knows? Maybe there'll be a surprise... After all, the mighty Real Madrid faltered last season when everyone expected them to be champs again... :D

droogie
09-08-2003, 12:06 PM

ya veron really fly in european games....

Agree. I think this is where MU will miss him most next season. Veron was disappointing during domestic games, but he really turned it on during Eurpoean travels.

Better hope Kleberson can shine in Europe.

kengbeng
09-08-2003, 12:07 PM

bellion took 9 during the pre-season dunno whether 9 will be his offical or not leh....hopefully not sia...a class striker is coming in this 23 days and will take the number 9! :D
I don't think he'll be given number 9. Fletcher also took 7. They are not established yet in the first team to be holding to such numbers.

I don't think the pre-season numbers mean anything at all.

leslielai
09-08-2003, 12:09 PM
For christ's sake, sign 2 world class players pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?

Really pissed with the United board and whoever is involved in the transfers negotiations.

Bet other clubs are finding it easy to lure players away from United.

Fergie is made to look REAL BAD this time round, had to speak out about not letting the players go but eventually Veron and Becks left.

Whimps, are what should be used to term the people in charge of bidding for the players Fergie wants.

Take Ronaldinho for example, after so a LONG period of negotiations and so much hopes pinned, they lost him. Why? That FEW millions of dollars. I can't believe we lost Ronaldinho just because they refused to up that miserably few million (considering the club's financial situation) I mean COME'ON! This is Man United .. helooo???????? We can spend 28 million for Veron and 30 for Rio .. WHAT is that few million considering the amount of negotiations and time wasted?

For Beckham .. I still am pissed at the amount of money they let him go for. 25 million (and note, this depends on Real's performances in the coming seaons .. wtf) for a player of his stature and marketing capabilities? Do they not realise how much Beckham is able to bring in for them each year? He's probably worth about 20 million as a player but 5 million in compensation for the potentially huge sums of revenue he will bring for the club? Oh god ..

Instead of improving the squad depth of United .. they SOLD 2 of our best players and signed 3 other players who might not even make the first team. Now, they're TRYING to cover up for the loss of Veron and Becks (not that there are no one capable of playing in their position, its just the value of them, as players, that contributes to the squad depth). It just doesn't balance at the end of the day .. it just won't. Unless they can sign someone like Zidane of course.

Sell Barthez, earn some cash and beef up the defence. The goalkeeping squad is good enough IMO, Barthez is just a surplus. I've got zero faith in him since day 1 btw.

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 12:27 PM
first for beckham...fergie are really determinted to sell beckham and get him out of the club and we prove that we dun miss him at all during the pre-season....ya i agree we sell him at a cheap but we wan to sell to barca for 30million but beckham dun wan to go....anyway i feel he think he is bigger than the club.....

secondly i believe that is abt 5million different we offer 20million barca offer 25...and i dun think he is worth 25million at all...yes he is a gd player but dun worth that much....

as for veron, lets face it fergie jus cant bring out the best of him or he jus cant adpat to the english game....the package is gd oso! his wages is 90000/wk that make 9million in 2 yrs ( as his contract left 2 yr onli ) so 13 + 9 =22million, another 2million depend on performance....

let us dun dwell on it anymore and dun judge fergie until the deadline or even Until the nx season.....;)

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2003, 12:28 PM
I reckon Morientes or Cristiano Ronaldo will don the number 9 shirt, pairing up wif current Golden Boy RVN !!

stipe
09-08-2003, 12:51 PM
I reckon Morientes or Cristiano Ronaldo will don the number 9 shirt, pairing up wif current Golden Boy RVN !!

morientes? cristiano ? with kenyon in charge, i really do not think they are on their way to old trafford. looks like JERMAINE DEFOE is wearing number 9! :eek:

Magic Number SEVEN : Robson -> Cantona -> Beckham -> Fletcher?

stipe
09-08-2003, 12:54 PM

looks like cristiano ronaldo is smitten by chelski's advances....

"Now the two most wealthy clubs in England are set to clash again over Portugal Under 21 international Cristiano Ronaldo. United believed that they were close to securing the services of the teenage striker, who impressed during Sporting Lisbon's 3-1 win over Ferguson's men during the week after the two clubs agreed a fee.

But the Roman Abramovich revolution appears to have swayed the 18-year-old, who told his close advisers last night that he wants to move to Stamford Bridge and not Old Trafford."

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=32652&seg=EPL&teamid=

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2003, 12:56 PM
Originally posted by stipe

looks like cristiano ronaldo is smitten by chelski's advances....

"Now the two most wealthy clubs in England are set to clash again over Portugal Under 21 international Cristiano Ronaldo. United believed that they were close to securing the services of the teenage striker, who impressed during Sporting Lisbon's 3-1 win over Ferguson's men during the week after the two clubs agreed a fee.

But the Roman Abramovich revolution appears to have swayed the 18-year-old, who told his close advisers last night that he wants to move to Stamford Bridge and not Old Trafford."

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=32652&seg=EPL&teamid=

Sianz, just sit tight and *fingers crossed*