PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

leslielai
09-08-2003, 01:03 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
I reckon Morientes or Cristiano Ronaldo will don the number 9 shirt, pairing up wif current Golden Boy RVN !!

:D

Morientes? I certainly hope so too!

But heh .. we gotta face realities.

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 01:36 PM
chelsea so strong man!! :mad:

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 01:37 PM
Originally posted by stipe

looks like cristiano ronaldo is smitten by chelski's advances....

"Now the two most wealthy clubs in England are set to clash again over Portugal Under 21 international Cristiano Ronaldo. United believed that they were close to securing the services of the teenage striker, who impressed during Sporting Lisbon's 3-1 win over Ferguson's men during the week after the two clubs agreed a fee.

But the Roman Abramovich revolution appears to have swayed the 18-year-old, who told his close advisers last night that he wants to move to Stamford Bridge and not Old Trafford."

Looks like Abramovich's millions is winning the transfer war this close season... I sure hope Fergie can convince Cristiano about our own mini-revolution over at Old Trafford... :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 01:38 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies

Looks like Abramovich's millions is winning the transfer war this close season... I sure hope Fergie can convince Cristiano about our own mini-revolution over at Old Trafford... :rolleyes:

$ talks....hopefully he will bankkupt ;)

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 01:44 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

$ talks....hopefully he will bankkupt ;)

:laugh:

I don't think he'll go bankrupt so easily... But if Chelsea don't perform, then the situation at Stamford Bridge will really be a sight to see...

guoquanyap
09-08-2003, 01:50 PM

I don't think he'll go bankrupt so easily... But if Chelsea don't perform, then the situation at Stamford Bridge will really be a sight to see...

when u look at their line-up, sometimes i really wonder how can they not perform?? all are class player they surely know how to adpat to each other...i cant see them fail...:mad:

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 01:55 PM

when u look at their line-up, sometimes i really wonder how can they not perform?? all are class player they surely know how to adpat to each other...i cant see them fail...:mad:

Arsenal & Man Utd are classy sides too... What matters is the course of a whole season - the stamina, the mental strength, the experience - that seperates the champs from the also-rans... :)

Itz a fair fight for next season, the way I see it... Eventually, it can only be good for improving the standard of the EPL, & it will surely help to keep Fergie's team on their toes... :D

stam
09-08-2003, 02:12 PM
chelsea monsters....:mad:

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2003, 03:52 PM
Roman Abramovich's Chel$ki is destroying the transfer market

StormTrooper
09-08-2003, 04:21 PM

real madrid failed to win CL...........

ccloh
09-08-2003, 04:27 PM

"Now the two most wealthy clubs in England are set to clash again over Portugal Under 21 international Cristiano Ronaldo. United believed that they were close to securing the services of the teenage striker, who impressed during Sporting Lisbon's 3-1 win over Ferguson's men during the week after the two clubs agreed a fee.

But the Roman Abramovich revolution appears to have swayed the 18-year-old, who told his close advisers last night that he wants to move to Stamford Bridge and not Old Trafford."

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=32652&seg=EPL&teamid=

with the mna utd - sporting lisbon linkup, utd has the 1st choice to sign any player if sporting is selling so chelski will hv to take a queue no. even he got the $$$

ccloh
09-08-2003, 04:29 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

real madrid failed to win CL...........

u need some luck also to win CL too.

RVN
09-08-2003, 05:17 PM

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=32652&seg=EPL&teamid=

****er lah, cheski don't need him with the amount of midfielders they have, lets hope we snap him up instead. At this moment, it all the media frenzy so you wonder the source of this story is true or not.:rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2003, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN

****er lah, cheski don't need him with the amount of midfielders they have, lets hope we snap him up instead. At this moment, it all the media frenzy so you wonder the source of this story is true or not.:rolleyes:

Of cos we hope it's true !

StormTrooper
09-08-2003, 07:06 PM
Originally posted by ccloh

u need some luck also to win CL too.

yeah........thats why, even with chelski's lineup, success is not guaranteed.

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 09:47 PM
Wow... Next season will be really challenging sia, with about three or four teams trying to dethrone Man Utd... :rolleyes:

Man Utd (always in the hunt... :D), Arsenal (as usual), Chelsea (with the millions spent), Newcastle (brimming with youthful talent), & Liverpool (never rule them out, no matter what)... All potential challengers for the EPL title...

Itz exciting times ahead sia, for never has the EPL title been so hotly contested for by so many strong teams... Can get ready to enjoy 10 months of top-quality football liaoz... :)

yulee
09-08-2003, 10:24 PM
Ferguson: Last season is history

Sir Alex Ferguson has called on his Manchester United players to put last season's title triumph out of their minds when they square up to Arsenal in tomorrow's FA Community Shield.

Ferguson saw his team memorably claw back an eight-point deficit on the Gunners in the final two months of the campaign and eventually cruise to their eighth Premier League championship with a game to spare.

The red rivals renew hostilities at the Millennium Stadium with their domestic duopoly threatened by big-spending Chelsea.

And Ferguson knows if there is any sign of his team resting on past glories, their supremacy will be in severe danger.

'Last season was great for this club,' he told MUTV.

'The run from December onwards was absolutely fantastic. I think we deserved the championship purely on our own form.

'But that counts for nothing now. Yesterday is yesterday and tomorrow is very important.'

It is a saying which captures Ferguson's entire footballing ethos, and which has made him the most successful manager Britain has ever seen.

It is why he has shown the ruthlessness to rid his squad of both David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron this summer, adding relative unknowns David Bellion, Eric Djemba Djemba and Tim Howard, with the promise of more to come.

Brazilian World Cup winner Klebersen will not be available tomorrow as his work permit application is not due to be heard until Monday, while Ferguson has admitted a new striker and a defender are still on his shopping list before the August 31 Champions League transfer deadline.

West Ham's Jermain Defoe, Ajax's Tunisian full-back Hatem Trabelsi and Barcelona centre-half Carlos Puyol have all been mentioned as potential United targets, although the Old Trafford chief hinted there may be a surprise or two.

'We are targeting one or two areas in terms of bringing players in, but not necessarily the ones who have been mentioned,' he said.

'You have to dismiss all that. We know what we are after.'

If pre-season results are any guide, Ferguson need not be in too much of a rush.

His side returned from their high-profile US tour with a 100% record and while Sporting Lisbon deservedly ended that run in Portugal on Wednesday, there were mitigating circumstances.

'It was one game too far,' admitted the United chief.

'We only arrived on Monday evening and some of the lads were waking up at 3am because of the jet lag. The heat was unbelievable as well and that showed in our performance.

'It didn't spoil what went before though because we couldn't have asked for any more from the American trip.

'Everything was first-class and we have our sharpness back now which will hopefully help us at the start of the season.'

Ferguson is vowing to treat tomorrow's game more seriously than he has done in the past and most of his side selects itself.

The major dilemmas concern the goalkeeping spot - with Howard, Roy Carroll and Fabien Barthez all in contention - and who will play alongside Roy Keane in central midfield.

Nicky Butt is marginal favourite to win that battle, although Djemba Djemba impressed on his debut in Lisbon and looks to be an astute summer arrival from Nantes.

The opposition should also get the juices flowing and Ferguson again locks horns with Arsene Wenger, who despite making only two close-season signings because of the cash restrictions imposed on him by Arsenal's impending move to Ashburton Grove, the United boss expects to be steering another title drive.

'I'm sure they would like to have bought, but they are lacking in funds at the moment because they have bought this new stadium,' observed Ferguson.

'It has put tremendous pressure on their club, although I still think they will be one of our biggest challengers.

'Tomorrow's game might tell you much about who will eventually win it, but I'm sure it will be competitive - Manchester United matches against Arsenal usually are.'

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's hope they learn from the past...:rolleyes:

ccloh
09-08-2003, 10:24 PM
report from soccernet that utd player jimmy davis was killed in a car crash

RVN
09-08-2003, 10:26 PM
Watford have postponed their First Division clash with Coventry because it is believed striker Jimmy Davis was killed in a car crash earlier this morning.

The 20-year-old had joined the Hornets on a year's loan from Manchester United this summer.

A statement from Watford read: 'Watford Football Club wishes to clarify the reason for the postponement of today's game against Coventry City.

'The club was advised by the police that a road traffic accident occurred on the M40 this morning arising from which a person was killed. The police have informed the club that they suspect it to be 21-year-old Jimmy Davis.

'The reason for our delay in this further announcement was on police advice - in order for Jimmy's next of kin to be informed.'

RIP
:( :( :(
Thats terrible, no justice, should be a mins silence at all games, and as you say, black armbands tomorrow.

Promising player he was, i think there were 6 clubs after him on loan this summer....jesus christ.

rest in peace.

leslielai
09-08-2003, 10:31 PM
omg. this is sad.

RIP, Jim. :(

Spock
09-08-2003, 10:32 PM
When will god stop taking innocent lives.......:( This year really is a sad one......

StormTrooper
09-08-2003, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by Spock
When will god stop taking innocent lives.......:( This year really is a sad one......

death comes to all, not a matter of innocent or not.

i'll ask instead.......when will people stop killing each other?

Spock
09-08-2003, 11:15 PM
People's will i dun wan to comment...........

kengbeng
09-08-2003, 11:30 PM
Oh dear.... :(

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 11:30 PM
Oh gosh... Not another death... With news of the loss of former Blackburn manager Ray Harford to cancer, that's two for the footy world today... :(

My condolences to the family & close friends of both Ray Harford & Jimmy Davis...

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 11:32 PM

Ermm, I don't think we should put God into the discussion here... No offence, I just don't think itz appropriate, considering the circumstances... :o

OreoCookies
09-08-2003, 11:49 PM
Ermm... Just a thought here... For all the millions that Man Utd still have left-over in the transfer kitty, I wonder if Kenyon & gang would be kind enough to donate a portion towards the family of Jimmy Davis? :confused:

This would be a very, very nice gesture by the club in this time of sadness & frustration at the loss of a valuable life... :o

KongJiaoWei
09-08-2003, 11:52 PM
Ermm... Just a thought here... For all the millions that Man Utd still have left-over in the transfer kitty, I wonder if Kenyon & gang would be kind enough to donate a portion towards the family of Jimmy Davis? :confused:

This would be a very, very nice gesture by the club in this time of sadness & frustration at the loss of a valuable life... :o

u sounded as if the money are in their hands, they are a plc after all, not sure if they have a hardship fund.
I'm sure players themselves will come out and pass the hat around:)

o0KelviN0o
09-08-2003, 11:54 PM
:sad:

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by KongJiaoWei

u sounded as if the money are in their hands, they are a plc after all, not sure if they have a hardship fund.
I'm sure players themselves will come out and pass the hat around:)

Well, the money is in their hands, ain't it? The PLC trusts them to spend it wisely, so what better way then to put aside a sensible amount to help Davis' family tide over this tough period? :(

Spock
10-08-2003, 12:13 AM
ya charity wise,think they will be willing to put aside some money..

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 10:48 AM
Ermm... Sad news of Jimmy Davis' death aside... :(

Well, Abramovich has got Mutu too... That's another boost to their attacking flair & power... :rolleyes:

I wonder if Fergie is still gonna' make any moves for new players...

stam
10-08-2003, 12:59 PM
chelsea is getting more n more powerful everyday...

NanDesKa
10-08-2003, 02:05 PM
its actually sven eriksson playing cm for chealsea it seems. :P

guoquanyap
10-08-2003, 09:22 PM
GoAl!!!!!!!!!!~~~~~~!!!!!!!!!!!! keano the creater!!

guoquanyap
10-08-2003, 09:23 PM
Silvestre the score!!! w his head!!!!!!

ccloh
10-08-2003, 09:25 PM
1-0 to utd yeah :bounce:

sigh no cable tv to watch damm stupid starhub donno do what still dont want to turn on the cable services in my area.

pyu
10-08-2003, 09:27 PM
1 - 1

spectacular free-kick from Thierry Henry. Howard must be kicking himself.

stipe
10-08-2003, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by pyu
1 - 1

spectacular free-kick from Thierry Henry. Howard must be kicking himself.

did not quite prepare his wall. anyway, he looks confident.

one observation: man utd playing long ballz to RVN.

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 09:35 PM
Wow, you guys all on cable? :rolleyes:

I like very sad leh... Gotta' depend on Soccernet's streaming commentary... :(

Hope Man Utd has a good game sia... ;)

Dolphin1977
10-08-2003, 09:46 PM
Wow, you guys all on cable? :rolleyes:

I like very sad leh... Gotta' depend on Soccernet's streaming commentary... :(

Hope Man Utd has a good game sia... ;)

dun be sad..
look here....
http://www.nartz.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=201551#post201551

Kiwi8
10-08-2003, 09:48 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

dun be sad..
look here....

Wah..... u kin chiu kin kah sia.... :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Anyway, thanks for the efforts.... they're appreciated.

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 09:50 PM

dun be sad..
look here....

Whoa, thanx for the effort in capturing the videos sia... Still have those clips that you took off the match against Juve... :)

:bounce: to you!

NanDesKa
:bounce:

kengbeng

dun be sad..
look here....
Thank you dolphin1977. :)

Damn the 'live' radio commentary at manutd.com is not working. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
10-08-2003, 09:56 PM
Sianz halftime 1-1

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 09:57 PM
Half-time... :)

From the commentary so far, Giggsy has effectively taken-over as the set-piece specialist after the departure of Becks & Veron...

Also, both team's new goalies have put in credible performances so far, it seems... :D

stipe
10-08-2003, 09:57 PM
dolphin! you're the MAN!!!

ht: 1-1

howard looks good catching balls from corner kicks.... like a basketball player getting defensive rebounds... :laugh:

solskjaer needs to get past the defender.. seems abit slow... maybe its the 35deg temp on the pitch

keane looks buay kan liao..... buay cheong...

scholes is surprisingly playing deep.... silvestre is looking even more assured than rio.

man utd is either playing balls to the right side to solskjaer or a long ball to RVN. left side buay kan.

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 10:01 PM
dolphin! you're the MAN!!!

ht: 1-1

howard looks good catching balls from corner kicks.... like a basketball player getting defensive rebounds... :laugh:

Hmm... Tim Howard WAS a basketball player before he made the crossover to soccer... :D

I guess his prior training has helped in his new career... :)

kengbeng
10-08-2003, 10:12 PM
:alien: The official website is sooooo slowww....

Keep getting javascript errors here and there. They ought to keep it neat and simple. The current layout sucks too much bandwidth.

Dolphin1977
10-08-2003, 10:13 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
:alien: The official website is sooooo slowww....

Keep getting javascript errors here and there. They ought to keep it neat and simple. The current layout sucks too much bandwidth.

like hwz also mah....
wants u to
pay and pay

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 10:14 PM
Going into the second-half... :)

Wenger has chosen to make a couple of substitutions, with Parlour & goal-scorer Henry coming-off the pitch for Pires & Wiltord respectively...

Man Utd has decided to retain the same line-up for now... :D

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 10:15 PM

like hwz also mah....
wants u to
pay and pay

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

The evil that is commercialisation... ;)

stipe
10-08-2003, 10:22 PM

Man Utd has decided to retain the same line-up for now... :D

wonder if djemba will make his english debut.... so much news about him, wanna see him against arsenal

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 10:25 PM

wonder if djemba will make his english debut.... so much news about him, wanna see him against arsenal

There's a chance... Maybe Fergie would have Keano or Butt come-off for Djemba-Djemba in the closing stages of the game... :)

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 10:32 PM

There's a chance... Maybe Fergie would have Keano or Butt come-off for Djemba-Djemba in the closing stages of the game... :)

As per expectations... Fergie has given Djemba-Djemba his first taste of English soccer, giving him a run in the team at the expense of Nicky Butt... :)

kengbeng
10-08-2003, 10:41 PM
Looking at the text commentary, seems like our debutants are doing fine in their first game. :)

stipe
10-08-2003, 10:44 PM
Looking at the text commentary, seems like our debutants are doing fine in their first game. :)

in all truth.... djemba-djemba looks very promising....

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 11:00 PM

in all truth.... djemba-djemba looks very promising....

Young & has the potential to go far... Could prove to be a shrewd buy... :D

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 11:01 PM
And the match goes into penalties... :rolleyes:

Quite surprising... I was expecting a conclusion in normal time...

Dolphin1977
10-08-2003, 11:02 PM
let see how howard perform liao...
if he perform well...
tomolow he's the man for headline liao..

stipe
10-08-2003, 11:03 PM
man utd looked abit jaded... probably needs SAF to kick a few bottles to wake up their idea...

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 11:07 PM
man utd looked abit jaded... probably needs SAF to kick a few bottles to wake up their idea...

I think they reserve power for the new season that is starting later this month... :)

They still got another one or two friendlies coming up before the season opener, so must 'relak' a bit first mah... Besides, the weather seems quite draining, the way it has been described... :rolleyes:

Dolphin1977
10-08-2003, 11:16 PM
oh....sh*t
we won the curse shield!!...
jialat liao are we going to lose the league?

kengbeng
10-08-2003, 11:19 PM
Hey, 2 of our teams (out of the 5 in history) won both the league and CS. So it's still possible to break the jinx.

stipe
10-08-2003, 11:19 PM
oh....sh*t
we won the curse shield!!...
jialat liao are we going to lose the league?

all arsenal fans must be jumping for joy! wenger did look relieved!

Dolphin1977
10-08-2003, 11:22 PM

all arsenal fans must be jumping for joy! wenger did look relieved!

whhaah..
are they going to have mcdonald happy meal as medal? :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
10-08-2003, 11:24 PM
FT 4:3 on penalties, Djemba Djemba and Tim Howard is gd !!!!

NanDesKa
10-08-2003, 11:25 PM
:rolleyes:

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 11:25 PM
Well, that's another trophy into the cabinet... :)

No time to dwell upon it... Time to move on & get more trophies! EPL & ECL, here we come! :D

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

kengbeng
10-08-2003, 11:26 PM
I think Tim looks set to be the new number 1.

NYC
10-08-2003, 11:29 PM
Congrat Man U
Champion of the Community Shield :)

leslielai
10-08-2003, 11:29 PM
Barthez just lost his place. lol.

Yea another silverware for the cabinet .. hope this is a good start for the season.

stipe
10-08-2003, 11:32 PM
Well, that's another trophy into the cabinet... :)

No time to dwell upon it... Time to move on & get more trophies! EPL & ECL, here we come! :D

bolton next saturday.

klebersen issue to confirm by monday.

cristiano ronaldo news for the entire week.

barca dangling puyol in front of fergie for the entire week too.

pyu
10-08-2003, 11:33 PM
Watched the whole match. Thought both defences did pretty well, and the game was pretty even. Djemba-Djemba was doing pretty well, going into tackles and unsettling Campbell! :D :D

Go Go Tim Howard! Looks like he has fast become a fan favorite.. :D

Phil Neville played very well -> seems a totally different player from two seasons before. :)

kengbeng
10-08-2003, 11:37 PM
Poor Barthez. =p I don't think he'll be in the starting eleven for a long long time.

RuMmYtUb
10-08-2003, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by pyu
Watched the whole match. Thought both defences did pretty well, and the game was pretty even. Djemba-Djemba was doing pretty well, going into tackles and unsettling Campbell! :D :D

Go Go Tim Howard! Looks like he has fast become a fan favorite.. :D

Phil Neville played very well -> seems a totally different player from two seasons before. :)

Totally agree with what u say !!

Tim Howard is the new Schemeichel

OreoCookies
10-08-2003, 11:38 PM

bolton next saturday.

Bolton the boogie team... Hope we beat them through & through... :D

Kleberson the new addition... Hope he can become another success story at Old Trafford... :)

Cristiano Ronaldo the target... Sign quickly, sign early... Help Man Utd win EPL & ECL! ;)

Puyol the Barca man... This, I'll pass... :laugh:

kengbeng
10-08-2003, 11:40 PM
Ok, sidetrack a bit, we'll soon be overtaking the Arsenal thread in replies soon. =p

:o yah yah, this is lame. :laugh:

NanDesKa
10-08-2003, 11:50 PM
no doubting fergie's decisions to sell veron and beckham? :P

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 12:37 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
no doubting fergie's decisions to sell veron and beckham? :P

nv...;)

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 12:38 AM
well the CS is a jinx but now for us! we always break the jinx! ;)

jeffer and campell.....:pissed:

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 12:41 AM
haha so cute

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39385000/jpg/_39385125_howard_hero.jpg

knave
11-08-2003, 12:55 AM
haha so cute

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39385000/jpg/_39385125_howard_hero.jpg

from this pic, his smile reminds me of Nicolas Cage. ;)

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 12:58 AM
Originally posted by knave

from this pic, his smile reminds me of Nicolas Cage. ;)

:o ya abit lookalike...

NanDesKa
11-08-2003, 01:01 AM
howard's won his first trophy with us.
many more to come!

wes
11-08-2003, 01:02 AM
i think he look abit like the ROck...lolx..

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 01:06 AM
howard's won his first trophy with us.
many more to come!

hopefully we can break the jinx...see all the arsenal fans celebrating...:sarcastic :sarcastic

NanDesKa
11-08-2003, 01:51 AM

hopefully we can break the jinx...see all the arsenal fans celebrating...:sarcastic :sarcastic they are juz sour grapes lar.

swalk21
11-08-2003, 02:44 AM
they are juz sour grapes lar.

;) gratz on yr charity shield man utd .i am so happy my club lost thou the stupid bookie narrow escape .RVN why u never score the sitter:mad:

NanDesKa
11-08-2003, 03:14 AM
Originally posted by swalk21

;) gratz on yr charity shield man utd .i am so happy my club lost thou the stupid bookie narrow escape .RVN why u never score the sitter:mad: :rolleyes:

ccloh
11-08-2003, 06:30 AM
well everything have a 1st time. 1st time RVN missed a penalty with utd. 1st time tim howard won a trophy with utd in the 1st season.

now looking forwards for kleberson in action

swordy84
11-08-2003, 09:25 AM
well everything have a 1st time. 1st time RVN missed a penalty with utd. 1st time tim howard won a trophy with utd in the 1st season.

now looking forwards for kleberson in action

I think it's not the first time RVN missed a penalty with United, he missed it once last season I think... but can't remember which match was it though.

kengbeng
11-08-2003, 09:41 AM
Originally posted by swordy84

I think it's not the first time RVN missed a penalty with United, he missed it once last season I think... but can't remember which match was it though.
Not in EPL, but in Champions League though. Against Olympiakos.

Anyway, not so bad that he misses one now. He won't miss the next 10 penalties after this. :D

swordy84
11-08-2003, 10:24 AM

Anyway, not so bad that he misses one now. He won't miss the next 10 penalties after this. :D

cracker
11-08-2003, 10:57 AM
Utd really need to focus on a good crosser......yesterday match,,,there werent many decent cross from either right or left.......one area tat Fergie definitely needs to work on from now.

RVN
11-08-2003, 12:24 PM

bolton next saturday.

Lets hope we can beat bolton third time lucky.

Hopefully kleberson work permit to be approved today.

Would love to get Ronaldo.

I rather have Trabelsi than Puyol, more cheaper and better option.

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 12:30 PM

;)

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 12:33 PM
heard the puyol hav a 14million release clause...so maybe this deal will be easier we bid 14million they hav to accept....

u all favour a takeover? takeover will be gd provided thay person is damn rich a soccer lover.....

i really worry abt chelsea man...

RVN
11-08-2003, 02:54 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39384000/jpg/_39384749_silverstre2_pa.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39385000/jpg/_39385153_howard_save.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39385000/jpg/_39385195_keane_get.jpg

Goalkeeper Tim Howard was Manchester United's hero as his double penalty save secured a Community Shield shoot-out win in Cardiff.

Howard saved from Giovanni Van Bronckhorst and Robert Pires to secure the season's first silverware - and erase his earlier error.

The American appeared at fault for Thierry Henry's 35-yard free-kick, which had cancelled out Mikael Silvestre's opener for United.

The result showed that title favourites United and Arsenal will be as hard as ever to separate when the new Premiership season begins.

And any questions over whether they were committed to what is effectively a pre-season friendly were answered within the opening 90 seconds.

Phil Neville was booked for a crunching tackle on Patrick Vieira with just 27 seconds on the clock.

A minute later, Arsenal's Ashley Cole followed him into referee Steve Bennett's notebook for upending Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

And the competitiveness spilled over late on when Arsenal substitute Francis Jeffers was sent off for kicking out at Phil Neville.

There was still more than a little flair in the Community, with both sides keen to lay down their title credentials.

But it was Arsenal's defensive frailties that were once again highlighted by United's opener.

Arsene Wenger's brittle back line ultimately cost Arsenal the title last season - and a new look rearguard showed a familiar fragility.

Kolo Toure, employed by Wenger as a makeshift centre-back alongside Sol Campbell, was handed an early lesson in the art of man-marking.

The Ivory Coast international left Silvestre completely unmarked from a Ryan Giggs corner and when Roy Keane flicked on the Frenchman could hardly fail with a free header.

The central defender, who delivered an outstanding performance, had started the move which led to his goal with a perfectly-weighted pass for Solskjaer to win the crucial corner.

He also tracked every run Thierry Henry made on a blisteringly hot afternoon at the Millennium Stadium.

But there was nothing Silvestre could do to prevent his French international team-mate from equalising on 20 minutes.

Nicky Butt was harshly adjudged to have fouled Vieira, and Henry greedily accepted the free-kick to fire home beyond the groping Howard.

Henry's finish blighted Howard's first competitive start for United.

He failed to line up his wall properly and then looking flat-footed when the kick was taken.

Yet glory ultimately belonged to the goalkeeper, though Arsenal substitute Pires and United's Eric Djemba-Djemba both went close in normal time.

Jeffers was dismissed for a petulant kick at Neville late on and Campbell was lucky not to follow when he kicked Djemba-Djemba as the game retained a competitive edge throughout.

But that was quickly forgotten - as was a rare missed penalty by Ruud Van Nistelrooy in the decisive shoot-out.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Manchester United: Howard, Phil Neville, Ferdinand, Keane, Silvestre, Solskjaer, Butt, Fortune, Giggs, Scholes, van Nistelrooy. Subs: Carroll, Bellion, Djemba-Djemba, Forlan, O'Shea, Richardson, Fletcher.
Arsenal: Lehmann, Lauren, Cole, Campbell, Toure, Parlour, Ljungberg, Silva, Vieira, Henry, Bergkamp. Subs: Taylor, Pires, Wiltord, van Bronckhorst, Edu, Cygan, Jeffers.

Referee: S Bennett (Kent)

NanDesKa
11-08-2003, 02:56 PM

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 03:08 PM

dun come here increase post count :mad:

NanDesKa
11-08-2003, 03:47 PM

dun come here increase post count :ma: juz a show that i have read the contents

Spock
11-08-2003, 06:47 PM
why last time when murdoch took over,the fans revolt ah?

BTW,not a bad shield after all.:D

RVN
11-08-2003, 07:06 PM
TEENAGE Portuguese sensation Cristiano Ronaldo has been targetted for a £7.7m move to Manchester United.

The Sporting Lisbon striker, who impressed in last week's 3-1 friendly win over the Reds, is said to be ready to sign this week.

He is already in England, having travelled with his teammates for yesterday's goalless draw with Spurs.

The 18-year-old was left out of the starting line-up, fuelling speculation that he would stay behind and meet United officials while Sporting flew back to Portugal today.

United face late challenges from Real Madrid and Chelsea but Ronaldo is said to be keen to join the Reds.
If he signs, he will be the first fruit of the co-operation agreement between the two clubs that was sealed in May.

Admiration

The Reds have been long-time admirers of the youngster, who has also been closely watched by Juventus, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Atletico Madrid, and Liverpool.

United are keeping quiet on the speculation but it is believed that the player is just one of several names in the frame as the August 31 Champions League deadline approaches.

Barcelona defender Carlos Puyol is another being strongly linked to Old Trafford, along with Ajax's Hatem Trebelsi.

The Reds were also due to hear today whether Brazilian midfield star Kleberson has been cleared to complete a £5.5m move from Atletico Paranaense.

The deal hit a snag because Kleberson did not meet the usual Department of Employment criteria for non-EU players, not having been a regular member of the Brazilian squad for the last two years.

But with the evidence overwhelming that he is now an established international, United were hopeful they could force his work permit through on appeal.

If the appeal is successful, the transfer should be completed in time for Kleberson to be available for the opening Premiership clash with Bolton on Saturday.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=64982.html

OreoCookies
11-08-2003, 07:42 PM
Ajax manager Ronald Koeman is considering putting an end to the speculation surrouding Hatem Trabelsi's future by picking the Manchester United target in a Champions League qualifier.

Koeman's side face Albanian outfit Grazer AK and if the Tunisia international plays, he will be ineligible to play for any other club in Europe this season.

And Koeman believes that if he picks Trabelsi, he will be able to keep the right back in the Netherlands for another year.

The former Barcelona sweeper clearly does not expect Sir Alex Ferguson to buy Trabelsi if he is cup-tied in Europe.

'If Trabelsi plays against Grazer AK tomorrow night the stream of rumours will stop definitively,' Koeman said.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not very sportsman-like, IMO... :mad:

Don't want to sell then just say not selling lah... Don't need to go public & say until so like that mah...

yulee
11-08-2003, 07:58 PM
SAF and Manyoo having alot of trouble buying new players this year! :rolleyes: Compared to Arsenal which doesn't have any money to spend on buying new players, SAF has 30 Million but nobody seems to want it! Must be his flying-boot incident scaring off the players!:laugh:

OreoCookies
11-08-2003, 08:07 PM
I think itz their indecision that is getting in the way of things... They don't seem to be following-up strongly on their interest in transfer targets, ending up in frustration for everyone... :(

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 08:24 PM
why last time when murdoch took over,the fans revolt ah?

BTW,not a bad shield after all.:D

the supporter feel that the club should belong to the fans, the ppl and not onli one person...;)

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 08:25 PM
Originally posted by RVN
TEENAGE Portuguese sensation Cristiano Ronaldo has been targetted for a £7.7m move to Manchester United.

The Sporting Lisbon striker, who impressed in last week's 3-1 friendly win over the Reds, is said to be ready to sign this week.

He is already in England, having travelled with his teammates for yesterday's goalless draw with Spurs.

The 18-year-old was left out of the starting line-up, fuelling speculation that he would stay behind and meet United officials while Sporting flew back to Portugal today.

United face late challenges from Real Madrid and Chelsea but Ronaldo is said to be keen to join the Reds.
If he signs, he will be the first fruit of the co-operation agreement between the two clubs that was sealed in May.

Admiration

The Reds have been long-time admirers of the youngster, who has also been closely watched by Juventus, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Atletico Madrid, and Liverpool.

United are keeping quiet on the speculation but it is believed that the player is just one of several names in the frame as the August 31 Champions League deadline approaches.

Barcelona defender Carlos Puyol is another being strongly linked to Old Trafford, along with Ajax's Hatem Trebelsi.

The Reds were also due to hear today whether Brazilian midfield star Kleberson has been cleared to complete a £5.5m move from Atletico Paranaense.

The deal hit a snag because Kleberson did not meet the usual Department of Employment criteria for non-EU players, not having been a regular member of the Brazilian squad for the last two years.

But with the evidence overwhelming that he is now an established international, United were hopeful they could force his work permit through on appeal.

If the appeal is successful, the transfer should be completed in time for Kleberson to be available for the opening Premiership clash with Bolton on Saturday.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=64982.html

so expensive 7.7 million?? :rolleyes:

cracker
11-08-2003, 08:27 PM
in today market...anything below 10 million seem to be a bargain,,,

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by cracker
in today market...anything below 10 million seem to be a bargain,,,

agree w u to a certain extent...but for a 18 yr kid 7.7 million is way too much...liverpools got kewll for 5million then that is a real bargain....joe cole for 6.6million is oso a bargain but 7.7 million for a 18yr old i dun think is a bargain...;)

cracker
11-08-2003, 08:39 PM

agree w u to a certain extent...but for a 18 yr kid 7.7 million is way too much...liverpools got kewll for 5million then that is a real bargain....joe cole for 6.6million is oso a bargain but 7.7 million for a 18yr old i dun think is a bargain...;)

however after seeing the way this 18 yr old kid turned and danced ard the utd defence in tat friendly game....
doubt cole is anywhere close to it...as for kewell,,,frankly speaking not much impression of him...

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 08:41 PM

however after seeing the way this 18 yr old kid turned and danced ard the utd defence in tat friendly game....
doubt cole is anywhere close to it...as for kewell,,,frankly speaking not much impression of him...

well u hav ur own point of view....;)

RuMmYtUb
11-08-2003, 08:41 PM
If kewell can perform for liverpool day-in day-out wif those performances like that of his against arsenal on the last gunner's home match, 5 million is really a bargain...

cracker
11-08-2003, 08:43 PM
If kewell can perform for liverpool day-in day-out wif those performances like that of his against arsenal on the last gunner's home match, 5 million is really a bargain...

if he does tat,,,leeds wont be struggling last yr !

hope he wont be the next "heskey".

RuMmYtUb
11-08-2003, 08:45 PM

if he does tat,,,leeds wont be struggling last yr !

hope he wont be the next "heskey".

Nahz, Kewell is a much skillful player than hesky, but they have similarities, both have frequent off days, when form comes, they're unstoppable...

OreoCookies
11-08-2003, 08:48 PM
Hmm... Cristiano Ronaldo may seem a tad expensive @ 7.7-million pounds... But honestly, I'd rather we get him now than not... :rolleyes:

With his skills, he could prove to be a catalyst to Man Utd's future successes, & his value can only rise from now on... :)

cracker
11-08-2003, 08:49 PM
Just hope there are a couple of players coming in b4 end of the mths....too much speculations are meaningless.

RuMmYtUb
11-08-2003, 08:49 PM
Hmm... Cristiano Ronaldo may seem a tad expensive @ 7.7-million pounds... But honestly, I'd rather we get him now than not... :rolleyes:

With his skills, he could prove to be a catalyst to Man Utd's future successes, & his value can only rise from now on... :)

7.7m muz buy liao, if not it will be like Ronnie's deal, negotiate too high den end up nowhere...

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 08:54 PM

ya that wat i think too, too expensive liao but he can improve! if he repay us w another Treble and the 7.7million worth it liao :D

kengbeng
11-08-2003, 09:14 PM
But knowing Peter Kenyon, he'll first bid low, then up paying a much higher price.

OreoCookies
11-08-2003, 09:28 PM

7.7m muz buy liao, if not it will be like Ronnie's deal, negotiate too high den end up nowhere...

The Ronaldinho deal was slightly different... As PSG had to pay quite a huge sum of the transfer fee to a few external parties, they had to sell him on a high in order to stand any chance of getting any return-on-investment on the Brazilian... :rolleyes:

Even though the quoted selling price was 9-million pounds or so at the beginning of all the rumours, I believe there was never any way the French club would have let Ronnie go at that price... =p

OreoCookies
11-08-2003, 09:30 PM

ya that wat i think too, too expensive liao but he can improve! if he repay us w another Treble and the 7.7million worth it liao :D

Yeah manz... That's what I hope for too... :)

But at the very least, Cristiano should bring some much-needed flair to the Man Utd frontline, so as to help-out RVN in the attacking burden... :D

RuMmYtUb
11-08-2003, 10:34 PM

Yeah manz... That's what I hope for too... :)

But at the very least, Cristiano should bring some much-needed flair to the Man Utd frontline, so as to help-out RVN in the attacking burden... :D

Ya if RVN off day, injured, or totally marked out, Ronaldo will have some tricks up his sleeves and give defenders new problems..

ccloh
11-08-2003, 11:14 PM

7.7m pounds sound ok for a promising youth player. if u think it is exp. and waited next season and happen that he shrines in the coming season then u most probably will hv to pay double for him liao.

i dont think u can compared with the price tag of jole cole and kewell. kewell's issue we all kn what happen (real pity leeds utd, kewell will be my BOO boy for this coming season) and west ham needed the crash after relegated.

guoquanyap
11-08-2003, 11:21 PM

7.7m pounds sound ok for a promising youth player. if u think it is exp. and waited next season and happen that he shrines in the coming season then u most probably will hv to pay double for him liao.

i dont think u can compared with the price tag of jole cole and kewell. kewell's issue we all kn what happen (real pity leeds utd, kewell will be my BOO boy for this coming season) and west ham needed the crash after relegated.

okie i know fr that match we can see he is a promising young player but who knows how he will develop? i think 7.7 million is the gamble fergie hav to take then...if he really GROW ppl will say fergie hav an eye for talent etc, if he flop ppl will say fergie real stupid to pay so much for someone so young and unproven......

overall, i feel it is a gamble to take and let's hope he really come over.....;)

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 02:48 AM
yes! keblerson rcv the work permit liao!! :bounce:

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 02:52 AM
okie if nothing go wrong...we will finish the deal tml....Welcome Aboard kleberson! All The Best! ;)

OreoCookies
12-08-2003, 05:43 AM
yes! keblerson rcv the work permit liao!! :bounce:

Woot! Confirm liaoz issit? That's great manz... Finally can see him in action liaoz! :D

OreoCookies
12-08-2003, 05:47 AM
Kleberson should become the first Brazilian to play for Manchester United over the next 24 hours after his work permit application was given the green light this evening.

Only the last loose ends need to be completed on the £6million deal which will take the World Cup winner from Sao Paulo outfit Atletico Paranaense, and there is an outside chance the World Cup winner could be involved in the final pre-season friendly at Stoke on Wednesday.

'We can confirm that a work permit for Kleberson has been granted,' said a United spokesman this evening. 'We now hope to conclude the deal in the next day or so.'

Old Trafford chief Sir Alex Ferguson attended today's hearing in an effort to add weight to the application, which did not meet strict government criteria because Kleberson has not played in 75 per cent of his country's internationals over the past two years.

However, he has been earmarked as the latest Brazilian superstar in the making, and Ferguson was always confident the permit would be granted.

United first moved for Kleberson when Chelsea initiated their interest in Juan Sebastian Veron, who eventually completed his £15million move to Stamford Bridge last week.

The Red Devils' interest was enough to snuff out Leeds' chances of signing the player, even though Peter Reid had earmarked the 24-year-old as his main summer target.

'He is young and we certainly think he is one of the most progressive players in Brazil at the moment,' said Ferguson on his club's recent United States tour.

'He is athletic, creative and quick.'

Providing there are no last-minute hitches to the deal, Kleberson will provide extra competition to a midfield which shrugged off the high-profile departures of Veron and David Beckham to clinch the Community Shield for the first time since 1997 in Cardiff yesterday.

Yeah! Finally confirm liaoz! :D

Presenting the first Brazilian to make Old Trafford his second home... :bounce:

AndreFLo
12-08-2003, 05:59 AM
Man U look set to complete transfer of Ronaldo from Sporting (http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=158578&cpid=8&title=United+agree+Ronaldo+terms"/>) ...

OreoCookies
12-08-2003, 06:06 AM
Juan Sebastian Veron has accused Sir Alex Ferguson of misleading him about his future at Manchester United.

The Argentina international has ended his two-year stay at Old Trafford by joining Chelsea for £15 million.

But he claimed Ferguson had assured him earlier in the summer that he was not for sale and that his future was at Old Trafford.

'I would say he (Ferguson) wasn't sincere with me,' Veron told the Evening Standard.

'Two months ago a couple of clubs expressed an interest and he said I wasn't for sale. He gave me the impression that I was wanted.'

Veron believes he was sold when Ferguson received a higher offer than he expected.

'But when there was more money on the table his conversation changed. That's a hard one for me. Two months ago it was a different situation it was very clear that he wanted me,' he added.

'But when I spoke recently with Ferguson, he said nothing, he just told me I was sold and that was it.'

And Veron said Ferguson was evasive when the Argentinian asked the manager if he wanted him to stay.

Veron said: 'The story was running and running and nobody in Manchester was denying it so I asked Ferguson: 'Do you want me in the squad?'

'He gave me a rather convoluted explanation about the tactics of his midfield, saying in a very roundabout way that he would find it difficult to play me from the start if this and that and the other happened.

'So eventually I just confronted him and said: 'I'm not asking you if I will start every game, I am asking do you want me in your squad?'

'Then he came out with the line about Chelsea's offer being very good, financially interesting, tempting.'

Well, I guess itz only right that he feels upset... I wish Fergie had been more convinced to keep Veron at Old Trafford, then it would all have been alright... :rolleyes:

OreoCookies
12-08-2003, 06:08 AM
Sporting Lisbon striker Cristiano Ronaldo will be presented as a new Manchester United player this week, Portuguese TV reported this evening.

RTP reported that the youngster's agent Jorge Mendes met United officials tonight and struck a deal to bring the 18-year-old to Old Trafford.

The reports say that the player could be formally presented as early as tomorrow and that he will get a five-year contract while the deal is said to be worth £8.5million to the Portuguese outfit.

Sporting Lisbon president Antonio Dias de Cunha will not confirm or deny the reports while United also declined to comment.

United and Sporting had earlier this year agreed a partnership deal.

Looks like the transfer fee rose again, just because itz Man Utd involved in the deal... :rolleyes:

AndreFLo
12-08-2003, 06:31 AM
Kaoz £8.5million is alrite for a promising player who is only 18 yrs old wat

leslielai
12-08-2003, 08:11 AM
Kleberson and Ronaldo captured!

Joaquin, Puyol and Trabelsi, we're waiting for your nods :cool:

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:22 AM
Finally man...after saga of Ronaldioho, kwell ( which we fail we capture ) and all the selling....Finally there is some gd news! *pwew* ;)

RVN
12-08-2003, 11:30 AM
Kleberson deal should be completed, either today or tomorrow, Hope Ronaldo will also signed soon.:)

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 11:35 AM
You all realised that this pre-season's transfer activities and news (including rumours) are dominated by Man Utd and Chelski? :laugh:

RVN
12-08-2003, 11:39 AM
Its is also said after we capture those 2, we will go back for Jermain Defoe.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003370798,00.html

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:46 AM
You all realised that this pre-season's transfer activities and news (including rumours) are dominated by Man Utd and Chelski? :laugh:

but seriously so far we onli made 3 signing which add up to less than 10million....how to fight w chelsea leh. Hopefully got billionaire or zillionaire come to take over man! then w millions of transfer $ for fergie....he surely can create a 'Dream Team'.....;)

stipe
12-08-2003, 12:34 PM

actually hor, i think man city also made a few shrewd buys that will improve their position. Antoine Siberski, Trevor Sinclair, David Se(a)men, Paul Bosvelt, Michael Tarnat. And maybe Reizeiger.

stipe
12-08-2003, 12:37 PM
Originally posted by AndreFLo
Kaoz £8.5million is alrite for a promising player who is only 18 yrs old wat

;) agree fully. anything below 10mil is peanuts in the english transfer market.... joe cole was bought at 6.6mil

what i cannot stand is why duff was bought at 17mil and veron only 15mil. cannot be veron lousier mah.... kenyon corck up ar?

stipe
12-08-2003, 12:38 PM
Finally man...after saga of Ronaldioho, kwell ( which we fail we capture ) and all the selling....Finally there is some gd news! *pwew* ;)

FULLY AGREE!!:D :D :D

ccloh
12-08-2003, 01:09 PM
3 cheers to kleberson and ronaldo (slim ver) :D

leslielai
12-08-2003, 01:31 PM
I think if we manage to sign Defoe, Joaquin, Trabelsi and Puyol, we will have a really strong squad together with the addition of Howard, Djemba and Ronaldo.

:eek: :eek: :eek:

dredd
12-08-2003, 01:35 PM
it ain't over till i see him wear the ManYoo jersey...

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 02:17 PM
seriously i still think the fee is way too high...maybe 6million is to pay first then 2.5million depend on performance....like maybe he has to score 10 league goals or make certain number of assist....then it is more worth it....;)

Dolphin1977
12-08-2003, 02:34 PM
seriously i still think the fee is way too high...maybe 6million is to pay first then 2.5million depend on performance....like maybe he has to score 10 league goals or make certain number of assist....then it is more worth it....;)

hope he wont become another floplan..

gd to see ferguson buying more low price players than investing all the $$ in 1 player this season...

cracker
12-08-2003, 02:39 PM

but seriously so far we onli made 3 signing which add up to less than 10million....how to fight w chelsea leh. Hopefully got billionaire or zillionaire come to take over man! then w millions of transfer $ for fergie....he surely can create a 'Dream Team'.....;)

u dun need star players to fight with chelsea,,,wat you will need is great teamwork and a good leader,,like Keane and Vierra.

Chelsea will probably need to spend quarter of the season to see which will be the first 11....They might do well in Cup competition instead.

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 02:47 PM
For all the many many signings Chelski made, remember they can only play 11 players on the field.

yulee
12-08-2003, 03:37 PM
But they can pick and choose which players they want to play and which to rest:)

RVN
12-08-2003, 03:54 PM
Kleberson has admitted that Sir Alex Ferguson was the reason he is joining Manchester United.

The Brazil midfielder is expected to seal a £6million move to Old Trafford today after being granted a work permit to play in the Premiership.

And while Harry Kewell turned down United because of Fergie's abrasive style and Juan Sebastian Veron claims the United boss stabbed him in the back, Kleberson says the Glaswegian is the main reason behind his move from Atletico Parmanese.

"Alex Ferguson has been the key to my signing," said the World Cup winner.

"When I heard of his interest I thought it was a joke - but I appreciate it now and I don't want to fail him. What I promise the fans is to give my all from the outset.

ccloh
12-08-2003, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by yulee
But they can pick and choose which players they want to play and which to rest:)

then u need more time to get the players to gel together lor.

StormTrooper
12-08-2003, 03:58 PM
For all the many many signings Chelski made, remember they can only play 11 players on the field.

the season is long, you need a big squad to cope with injuries and suspensions, not to mention fatigue.

RVN
12-08-2003, 04:17 PM
Manchester United are poised complete the signing of Portuguese wonderkid Cristiano Ronaldo today.

Negotiations with the 18-year-old are said to be at an advanced staged after United agreed a £7million fee with Sporting Lisbon.

Moneybags Chelsea and Real Madrid are also understood to have launched late bids to land the winger, but United have a tie-up with Sporting and were always likely to win the race for one of Europe's hottest properties.

Ronaldo is reported to have flown into Manchester on Monday and will be unveiled within the next 48 hours after agreeing a five-year deal and undergoing a medical.

Sir Alex Ferguson, who will also secure the services of Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson, has refused to comment on the Ronaldo deal, but admits he is still short of an attacking player following failed bids for Damien Duff and Ronaldinho.

"We do need two players, possibly up front, but we do need a defender," he told the club's website. "That's something we are looking at."

ccloh
12-08-2003, 04:18 PM
now need a promising defender. in fact i should say need 2, one to replace gary neville.

RVN
12-08-2003, 04:22 PM
now need a promising defender. in fact i should say need 2, one to replace gary neville.

Trabelsi, Puyol, how about Mexes from Auxerre:confused:

demon_
12-08-2003, 04:23 PM
woohh... c.ronaldo and kleberson.....now we need tat tunisa def... his cross is gd man...he played very well against liverpool @ the Ajax Tournament...

demon_
12-08-2003, 04:28 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Trabelsi, Puyol, how about Mexes from Auxerre:confused:

mexes is gd....young too...but man yoo centre back is packed imo...

NanDesKa
12-08-2003, 04:37 PM
man utd defenders alot of versatile ones imho..
look at silvestre, o'shea and wes brown..
l/r/c all can play.. :X

Dolphin1977
12-08-2003, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by demon_

mexes is gd....young too...but man yoo centre back is packed imo...

they need a right back.....
the clowns bro suckz..

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 05:38 PM
Originally posted by demon_
woohh... c.ronaldo and kleberson.....now we need tat tunisa def... his cross is gd man...he played very well against liverpool @ the Ajax Tournament...

dun think that tunisa def is coming over, once today he play in the Champion league, fergie will drop the interest liao....mexes is courted by alot of big club i feel arsenal are most likely to land him becos of the french contingent there....

demon_
12-08-2003, 05:46 PM

they need a right back.....
the clowns bro suckz..

as long phi is playing dm..i dunt mind...but when he playing defence..i'm worried....

ccloh
12-08-2003, 05:48 PM

dun think that tunisa def is coming over, once today he play in the Champion league, fergie will drop the interest liao....mexes is courted by alot of big club i feel arsenal are most likely to land him becos of the french contingent there....

this season not possible, perhaps next season since he is still young. let him get more experience with ajax 1st. :D

demon_
12-08-2003, 05:57 PM

this season not possible, perhaps next season since he is still young. let him get more experience with ajax 1st. :D

26 liaoz..not tat young..CL exp not enough though..

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 06:06 PM
i am waiting for the offical news that we hav complete the deal of kleberson and ronaldo.....*waiting waiting* ;)

ccloh
12-08-2003, 06:20 PM
i am waiting for the offical news that we hav complete the deal of kleberson and ronaldo.....*waiting waiting* ;)

kleberson's deal is 99.9% confirm done as work permit granted. maybe now settling some minor personal conditions. as for ronaldo (slim ver), report says that by end of this wk, the deal should be done.

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 07:11 PM
Well, Cristiano Ronaldo's agent has confirmed the move.
Cristiano Ronaldo's agent has confirmed that the striker will be joining Manchester United, and he is set to be unveiled by the club this week.

Sporting Lisbon are said to have accepted a bid of £8.5million for the 18-year-old Portuguese star, who will sign a five-year deal.

The news broke last night when a TV station in Portugal reported that the youngster's agent, Jorge Mendes, met United officials and struck a deal to bring the player to Old Trafford.

Reports say that the player could even be formally presented as early as today and that he will get a five-year contract.

Sporting Lisbon president Antonio Dias de Cunha will not confirm or deny the reports while United also declined to comment.

From Soccernet

vivre
12-08-2003, 07:22 PM
From BBC Sport (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3142959.stm)

Man Utd 'agree Ronaldo deal'

http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/cris0615_tm.jpg

Sporting Lisbon's Under-21 international Cristiano Ronaldo has reportedly agreed to join Manchester United in a £8.5m deal.

And, according to Portuguese television reports, he has already signed a five-year contract.

The player's agent, Jorge Mendes, is said to have met United representatives on Monday.

The 18-year old striker, who was linked with Liverpool earlier this year, is the product of Sporting's impressive youth academy.

Ronaldo was inspirational in last Wednesday's 3-1 friendly win over Manchester United - creating two of the goals - at the inauguration of the Portuguese team's new stadium.

He is set to be unveiled by the Premiership champions on Wednesday, alongside £6m Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson.

The Atletico Paranaense star was granted a work permit on Monday and will become the first Brazilian to play for the Old Trafford club.

The players will join Eric Djemba-Djemba, David Bellion and goalkeeper Tim Howard as the club's summer transfer-window buys.

http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/cris0615_tm2.jpg

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 07:27 PM
nice~! let say kleberson cost 6million and ronaldo cost 8.5million...after selling beckham and veron 15+25.....40-14.5.....we still left 25.5million + some of our own transfer $, 25.5+20million....we still hav 45.5million left

think we still hav abt 25million left ( cant possibly spend all ) can at least bring in either one World-class striker, midfielder or defender....;)

NanDesKa
12-08-2003, 07:29 PM
spring up a surprise man SAF..
shevchenko, crespo, trezeguet, del piero or totti.. :eek:
hehe..

vivre
12-08-2003, 07:29 PM
Will Ronaldo be Man U's new number 7 and Kleberson be given Shirt Number 4?

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 07:31 PM
Originally posted by vivre

heehee...maybe! ;) hopefully that ronaldo dun get the number 7...hopefully fergie will sign a world-class player and give the 7 to him....;)

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 07:35 PM
yes! manutd.com hav announce liao....think it's offical liao! *pwew* welcome aboard ronaldo!

hmm....dunno will loan him back to sporting for 1yr or not leh....hope not ;)

dredd
12-08-2003, 07:36 PM
spring up a surprise man SAF..
shevchenko, crespo, trezeguet, del piero or totti.. :eek:
hehe..

Shevchenko would be good....

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 07:36 PM
first brazilian now first Portuguese....who next?!

First singaporean?? :D

dredd
12-08-2003, 07:37 PM
yes! manutd.com hav announce liao....think it's offical liao! *pwew* welcome aboard ronaldo!

hmm....dunno will loan him back to sporting for 1yr or not leh....hope not ;)

spend so much $$ just to loan him back to sporting?? hahaa....cannot be lah!

Forlan would be warmin the bench

dredd
12-08-2003, 07:38 PM
first brazilian now first Portuguese....who next?!

First singaporean?? :D

Daniel Bennet?
hjehehahahahaha

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 07:38 PM
13million?! that is way high than i expected :rolleyes:
hopefully he will prove his worth....

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 07:47 PM
13million for a 18yr old.....18yr old and he is our biggest sigining so far during this off season.....:rolleyes:

wes
12-08-2003, 07:53 PM
i will not be surprise if they announce kleberson's transfer fee will be more den 7 million pounds....

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 08:04 PM
Originally posted by wes
i will not be surprise if they announce kleberson's transfer fee will be more den 7 million pounds....

dun think so and hopefully not ;)

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 08:06 PM
I believe that price includes performance bonuses. Like how many goals he scores, how many games he has played and whether Man Utd win any trophy.

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 08:07 PM
I believe that price includes performance-related bonuses. Like how many goals he scores, how many games he has played and whether Man Utd win any trophy.

hwmook
12-08-2003, 08:08 PM
Originally posted by dredd

Shevchenko would be good....

last year got a team known as real madrid offer ac milan 50 mil pounds to sign him. and he is still at milan out of man u budget lah. :D

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 08:10 PM

I believe that price includes performance-related bonuses. Like how many goals he scores, how many games he has played and whether Man Utd win any trophy.

ya...that better, anyway...stars in making.....;)

Dolphin1977
12-08-2003, 08:20 PM
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=41069

this one from Manutd.com 100% confirmed the signing liao

vivre
12-08-2003, 08:35 PM

heehee...maybe! ;) hopefully that ronaldo dun get the number 7...hopefully fergie will sign a world-class player and give the 7 to him....;)

Isn't number 9 free as well?

RVN
12-08-2003, 08:37 PM
13million for a 18yr old.....18yr old and he is our biggest sigining so far during this off season.....:rolleyes:

no its 1m less, 12m, still quite expensive for a teenager.

RVN
12-08-2003, 08:38 PM

Isn't number 9 free as well?

Bellion hold that number.:rolleyes:

stam
12-08-2003, 08:38 PM
lets hope the new signings live up to their names! :)

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 08:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Bellion hold that number.:rolleyes:

u sure? i think bellion got 12 leh...he wear 9 during the usa tour but think 12 is his offical number correct mi if i am wrong ;)

RVN
12-08-2003, 08:51 PM

u sure? i think bellion got 12 leh...he wear 9 during the usa tour but think 12 is his offical number correct mi if i am wrong ;)

huh I am not sure if 12 is his real number, but I did saw him wear 9 in the pre-season friendly matches.

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN

huh I am not sure if 12 is his real number, but I did saw him wear 9 in the pre-season friendly matches.

i think 12 is his number ;) 9 is waiting for a world-class striker to pair up w Ruud ;)

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 09:11 PM
actually i am quite pleased w the signing as chelsea come in late...at least we hav won this war over chelsea...think chelsea bided very high so we bo bian hav to increase the offer....think sporting is our 'sister' oso help us....;)

RVN
12-08-2003, 09:15 PM
actually i am quite pleased w the signing as chelsea come in late...at least we hav won this war over chelsea...think chelsea bided very high so we bo bian hav to increase the offer....think sporting is our 'sister' oso help us....;)

damm bloody chelsea, fight with us for ronnie, grab veron and tried to sign ronaldo thus we have to increase the price.:mad:

Glad we got him in the end.:)

stipe
12-08-2003, 09:18 PM
does ronaldo takes number 7!?

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=273616&cc=4716

he wears the number 7 for his country

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 11:04 PM
Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson has signed for Manchester United.

Kleberson, who will become the first Brazilian to play for the Premiership champions, was granted a work permit on Monday enabling the £6m deal to be completed.

The Atletico Paranaense star, who is being brought in to fill the gap left by left by Juan Sebastian Veron's departure to Chelsea, becomes United's fifth signing of the summer.

More at: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3142903.stm

ccloh
12-08-2003, 11:05 PM
with the signing of c.ronaldo, utd striker compartment is now quite cramp also.

RVN, ole, forlan, bellion and c. ronaldo

from what i see c.ronaldo can play in scholes's role (behind the striker), as a main striker (if rvn injuired/off-form) and who kn maybe can play as a winger too.

now i do wonder where does bellion come into picture ???

sometime i got a feeling that fergie is trying to mold bellion into the next henry

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:07 PM

Kleberson, who will become the first Brazilian to play for the Premiership champions, was granted a work permit on Monday enabling the £6m deal to be completed.

The Atletico Paranaense star, who is being brought in to fill the gap left by left by Juan Sebastian Veron's departure to Chelsea, becomes United's fifth signing of the summer.

yeah! ;)

ccloh
12-08-2003, 11:07 PM

all the way kleberson. i hv faith in u

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:08 PM

all the way kleberson. i hv faith in u

:bounce: :bounce:

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:09 PM
:o we spend 19million in 1 day :o spend more spend more! :D

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:11 PM
t's been a good day for the Reds!! Things are starting to look real good and we've some very versatile players now, especially in midfield. Can't wait for the season to start!

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 11:18 PM
t's been a good day for the Reds!! Things are starting to look real good and we've some very versatile players now, especially in midfield. Can't wait for the season to start!
Yup. Fergie seems to prefer versatile players.
Most of the squad can play in 2 or more positions. Even Quinton Fortune is converted into left-back now!

guoquanyap
12-08-2003, 11:23 PM
Kleberson, the first brazilian ever to play for us! Hope he can do his best....All The Way! :bounce: :bounce:

kengbeng
12-08-2003, 11:29 PM
Incidentally, our first Brazilian could have been someone else -- a defender named something Silva (forgot his name), But the move failed because of work permit problems. Eventually, we went on to sign Jaap Stam.

yulee
12-08-2003, 11:32 PM
With
http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/cris0615_tm.jpg

Who needs ?
http://www.football365.com/mediastore/Story_Images/Homepage/Lookalike/ronnyjarjar.jpg

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Spock
12-08-2003, 11:42 PM
bellion can play in right mid,see if can better henry in that aspect.:)

dredd
12-08-2003, 11:44 PM
let the fat lady sing!!

now is to sign a defender....hope that Ronald Koeman dun be so KL.... :)

vivre
12-08-2003, 11:54 PM
Does anyone have Man Utd's squad number list? I can't find it anywhere on the net.......

Spock
13-08-2003, 12:00 AM
Originally posted by dredd
let the fat lady sing!!

now is to sign a defender....hope that Ronald Koeman dun be so KL.... :)

Heard that he wants to select trabelsi for their cl qualifier so that if ferguson buys him after that,cannot select him for european competitions..:mad:

leslielai
13-08-2003, 12:11 AM

Heard that he wants to select trabelsi for their cl qualifier so that if ferguson buys him after that,cannot select him for european competitions..:mad:

What an ass. :mad:

dredd
13-08-2003, 12:12 AM

well...bopian also....

NanDesKa
13-08-2003, 12:24 AM
bellion can play in right mid,see if can better henry in that aspect.:) he got youth on his side..
depends on whether he can get the best out of giggs and company in terms of skills..
as in, learn from them

dredd
13-08-2003, 12:40 AM
United fans will have a new number seven to worship this season as Ronaldo pulls on the jersey vacated by David Beckham.

----

hohohoo....got a new No. 7 liaoz!!!

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=273616&cc=4716

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 01:11 AM
hopefully he live up to wear the Number 7 ;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 01:13 AM

let wait and see lor if he got selected or not...actually i prefer puyol...he is rock solid. ;)

NanDesKa
13-08-2003, 01:14 AM
yet again, pressure will be on the youngsters..

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 01:17 AM
yet again, pressure will be on the youngsters..

i dun worry...there is balance of youth and experince man! that wat we need...we lost alot of 'engine' in the midfield last season when keane was injured and beckham bo chap, dun wan to run....now got Eric and kleberson...our 'engine' will be very powerful liao ;)

think fergie notice the problem last season...so out went veron and kleberson and Eric come in....;)

NanDesKa
13-08-2003, 01:20 AM

i dun worry...there is balance of youth and experince man! that wat we need...we lost alot of 'engine' in the midfield last season when keane was injured and beckham bo chap, dun wan to run....now got Eric and kleberson...our 'engine' will be very powerful liao ;)

think fergie notice the problem last season...so out went veron and kleberson and Eric come in....;) ;) i think it goes to show fergie's tactical soundness superiority over wenger. :)

swordy84
13-08-2003, 01:29 AM
Now the midfield and striking area have been reinforced with quality players, so the next thing would be to sign a new defender. Hope that we can get Puyol. :)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 01:32 AM
Originally posted by swordy84
Now the midfield and striking area have been reinforced with quality players, so the next thing would be to sign a new defender. Hope that we can get Puyol. :)

i still find having one more striker will be gd...anyway ronaldo not really a goal scorer...;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 02:00 AM
well truth was out too....http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=273618&cc=5739

His agent was still talking to Chelsea down in London and the day before we were due to leave for America, Seba came and took all his stuff away from the training ground. We had to telephone him and tell him he was still a Manchester United player

idiot!! havent confirm leaving go pack stuff liao! ask him go eat **** lah!

stipe
13-08-2003, 06:25 AM

trabelsi played. so he is out of running?

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=115573&cc=4716

Spock
13-08-2003, 07:50 AM

trabelsi played. so he is out of running?

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=115573&cc=4716

think so...:(

kengbeng
13-08-2003, 08:11 AM
Fergie must be having such high confidence in Ronaldo that he gave him the number 7 shirt, considering the more illustrious names who wore that number before. :)

ccloh
13-08-2003, 08:38 AM
Fergie must be having such high confidence in Ronaldo that he gave him the number 7 shirt, considering the more illustrious names who wore that number before. :)

hmm perhaps ferige wants him to play as right winger :D and released ole as ole strike's instinct is very dangerous.

anyway seems like fergie is allowing most of its player (except RVN and keeper) to be able to play in different role.

scholes either behind RVN or left midfield
giggs either left midfield or behind RVN
ole either right midfield or RVN strike's partner or left midfield
forlan's case same as ole

this is interesting as will cause confusion to opponents.

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:01 AM

hmm perhaps ferige wants him to play as right winger :D and released ole as ole strike's instinct is very dangerous.

anyway seems like fergie is allowing most of its player (except RVN and keeper) to be able to play in different role.

scholes either behind RVN or left midfield
giggs either left midfield or behind RVN
ole either right midfield or RVN strike's partner or left midfield
forlan's case same as ole

this is interesting as will cause confusion to opponents.

ya quite interesting...in this way our opponent wont know our line-up ;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:04 AM
The £12.24million fee for Ronaldo is the highest a British club has paid for a teenager....hopefully he will repay fergie faith in him....;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:06 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003370533,00.jpg

look like he had cut his fringe huh? or he gel it up? :laugh:

ralliart_ray
13-08-2003, 10:18 AM
is he really worth that much? 12.24million leh! veron sold off for only 15million......

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:26 AM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
is he really worth that much? 12.24million leh! veron sold off for only 15million......

Manchester United were forced to pay almost double the initial asking price of £6.6m for Cristiano Ronaldo because Chelsea's interest pushed the price up. (The Times)

fergie rush through the deal loso becos he rcv a tip-off that Chelsea and Real Madrid were on the trail.

so i think bo bian hav to pay so much, at least we won the 'war' against chelsea lor....

ralliart_ray
13-08-2003, 10:39 AM
if thats the case...wont that be very stupid ;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
if thats the case...wont that be very stupid ;)

wat to do? i rather we pay more than to let chelsea or Real get him....at least now we got some $ to spend ;)

RVN
13-08-2003, 10:50 AM

yep, ronaldo will wear the number 7 shirt. Kleberson, I am not sure yet

RVN
13-08-2003, 11:02 AM
Originally posted by wes

None, Kleberson fee was 5.93 million pounds.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=39439

ccloh
13-08-2003, 11:13 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003370533,00.jpg

look like he had cut his fringe huh? or he gel it up? :laugh:

he sure better looking than david the who huh (cant remember that think himself handsome fellow name already and of course his ugly wife who think she is damm pretty of course)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 11:19 AM

he sure better looking than david the who huh (cant remember that think himself handsome fellow name already and of course his ugly wife who think she is damm pretty of course)

ccloh
13-08-2003, 11:21 AM
and not the mention that the david the who speaks like a sissy.

RVN
13-08-2003, 11:24 AM

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 11:33 AM

not onli that...his voice suck man! ;)

cracker
13-08-2003, 11:38 AM
He "who is more of a fashion icon than footballer" had already left the english soil..So let the matter rest.

the season is abt to start liao !=p

RuMmYtUb
13-08-2003, 11:45 AM
I think Cristiano Ronaldo quite yandao, got attitude face..

yulee
13-08-2003, 12:06 PM
Hail the new "Beckham"! With the number to go as well! :bounce:

guru
13-08-2003, 01:10 PM
Now all we need is a world class defender!

droogie
13-08-2003, 01:12 PM
Originally posted by guru
Now all we need is a world class defender!

But you guys have Rio Ferdinand mah... :D

ccloh
13-08-2003, 01:20 PM
Originally posted by droogie

But you guys have Rio Ferdinand mah... :D

according to fergie, a defender wont be a world class until he is in the late 20's. rio still got some way to go. u can see the age of nesta, maldini, etc their peak were either when they were late 20's or early 30's.

well blanc was at his peak when france won the world cup in 98 and he was in his early 30's then

NanDesKa
13-08-2003, 01:42 PM
so sign who next..
haiz..