PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 03:03 PM
puyol will be gd lah...rio and Silvestre in the centre is gd...left O'shea right puyol....;)

RVN
13-08-2003, 03:04 PM
Maybe another option, keane can push back into defence.

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Maybe another option, keane can push back into defence.

ya his reading of the game is brilliant...;) but afterall he not a natural centre back...and when he play centre back for forest before he came to Us...forest go down to divison 1 ;)

droogie
13-08-2003, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

ya his reading of the game is brilliant...;) but afterall he not a natural centre back...and when he play centre back for forest before he came to Us...forest go down to divison 1 ;)

I agree. His reading is very excellent, but he doesn't have the physique to be a centre-half. He's a little too short, but that's what makes him a natural defensive midfielder.

Tremonti
13-08-2003, 04:06 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
is he really worth that much? 12.24million leh! veron sold off for only 15million......

Hmmz.. 7 + Ronaldo.. Maybe SAF answer to real.

ccloh
13-08-2003, 04:08 PM
make keane sit in front of the defence line. a formation of 3-1-3-1-1

NanDesKa
13-08-2003, 04:32 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
make keane sit in front of the defence line. a formation of 3-1-3-1-1 :rolleyes:

RVN
13-08-2003, 06:24 PM
Manchester United unveiled new signings Cristiano Ronaldo and Kleberson at Old Trafford on Wednesday morning with manager Sir Alex Ferguson proclaiming: 'We have signed two fantastic players.'

Ferguson revealed that he had been tracking both players 'for some considerable time' and believes they can help his quest for more European glory.

He said: 'I am delighted. In both cases it has been going on for not just a matter of weeks - it has been going for some considerable time.

'I had the framework of negotiations with Sporting Lisbon about nine months ago but there was a change when young Ronaldo showed an eagerness to join us immediately. He may have stayed at Lisbon for another year.

'We had to have conversations with Sporting Lisbon when he said that. The club were fantastic in those negotiations and we tried to get him here as quickly as possible.'

Asked about the future at United with the new players, Ferguson said: 'We have always tried to take a step forward. We have always tried to measure ourselves in terms of competition and where we want to go.

'European football is very important to us. We have done well but we have been a detail short and we want to win. That's why signings like this do encourage me.'

Asked why Ronaldo had been given David Beckham's jersey, he said: Ronaldo is young. Some famous players at this club have had the jersey - Cantona, Robson, Beckham in my time here. It wasn't a matter of who do we give the numbers even to. It was appropriate a young player like Ronaldo should take it.

Ferguson revealed that he had been tracking Kleberson for around six months - and Ronaldo for even longer.

But the move for the Portuguese forward was brought forward after his performance against United.

'Because of last Wednesday it's accelerated,' he said.

'But we've been workng on it for the last nine months.'

The addition of Ronaldo, Kleberson and Cameroon international Eric Djemba-Djemba means Ferguson has an extra option in midfield even after the departures of David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron.

'I said last year were light but we got away with it winning the title,' he said.

Kleberson revealed he had asked international team-mate Gilberto Silva - who plays for Premiership rivals Arsenal - for advice before agreeing to move to Old Trafford.

'During negotiations, Gilberto was a person I was in touch with about English football clubs and the situation here,' said the Brazilian, who needed little convincing about the charms of United.

He added: 'It is a privelege to be at club as great as this and I'm going to try and emulate players who have already been here and win the titles that they have won.'

Ferguson revealed just how highly he rates Kleberson, who won the World Cup with Brazil last year.

'I think Kleberson won the World Cup, his positioning was vital. They were so fluid but they needed someone to stabilise them. (World Cup-winning manager Phil Scolari would confirm that.

'Central midfield is so important in the World Cup finals.'

Ronaldo was at the heart of Sporting Lisbon's 3-1 victory over United last week and Ferguson added: 'We had a tough night against them!

'There's enormous talent there and he wants to play, you saw that last week against us, he wanted the ball. He's not fazed by anything, he has enormous talent.

'I don't think the (United) players knew anything about the boy but in the pre-match talk we said this was a very talented boy. They knew that at half-time.'

Ferguson added on Sky Sports: 'As with every young player, he's only 18 - we have to gauge that. It would be a big year for him to think he could go through the whole year in the first team. There will be times when you have to leave him out and rest him.'

Former United assistant manager Carlos Queiroz, who this summer took over as coach of Real Madrid, is Portuguese and Ferguson revealed it was his advice which meant the Old Trafford club had been trailing him.

'When Carlos came he said we must sign this player from Portugal, about the same time we started the alliance with Sporting.

'The thing about young people is that they learn quickly.

'I think we have enough experience... with Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Nicky Butt, Paul Scholes, Gary Neville, Quinton Fortune - it's not too young a team. I know there's some evidence that winning in Europe is about older teams but our team in 99 was a young team.

'I think players like Keane, Butt, Scholes and Giggs are important in terms of experience.

'But some players play a lifetime and never play in the World Cup finals. We have a player here [Kleberson] who has played in the World Cup final.'

Ferguson was asked if his spending had now finished.

He told Sky Sports: 'We try to prepare for the season but there is no knee-jerk reaction to things. We like to try to plan and have no plans at this moment to add to them.

'It would have been nice to have had another defender. It is something we are exploring but nothing is jumping out in front of us. Maybe we are a little bit thin there with injuries.'

On Kleberson he added: 'I think he can play wide right or the right-hand side of midfield. He can play right across the midfield, is mobile and quick.'

ccloh
13-08-2003, 06:33 PM
i always have confident in kleberson :)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 06:37 PM
i always have confident in kleberson :)

i always hav confident in fergie ;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 06:45 PM
looks good sia!

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39395000/jpg/_39395383_newboys203.jpg

OreoCookies
13-08-2003, 07:06 PM
Let's hope Cristiano goes on to become a huge success at Old Trafford... :)

I have to admit, I was a little sceptic at the price of 18.5-million pounds that RVN cost when he first came over... But he sure has proven his worth to the team... :D

I'll reserve comment on the price for now... But I sure do hope the price paid for Cristiano would be a very sound investment... ;)

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Let's hope Cristiano goes on to become a huge success at Old Trafford... :)

I have to admit, I was a little sceptic at the price of 18.5-million pounds that RVN cost when he first came over... But he sure has proven his worth to the team... :D

I'll reserve comment on the price for now... But I sure do hope the price paid for Cristiano would be a very sound investment... ;)

hopefully he will click well w Ruud and bring us lots of goals...;)

OreoCookies
13-08-2003, 07:21 PM

hopefully he will click well w Ruud and bring us lots of goals...;)

Yeah manz... :D

Come to think of it, when we had Cantona, we lacked a natural goal-scorer... Then we bought RVN, & lacked a creative forward... Now we have Cristiano Ronaldo, hopefully he & RVN can become a truly magical partnership for Man Utd... :cool:

RVN
13-08-2003, 07:25 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1158656.jpg

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1158650.jpg

http://www.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/klebersoncristianoronaldo.jpg

:) =p

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 07:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1158656.jpg

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1158650.jpg

http://www.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/klebersoncristianoronaldo.jpg

:) =p

nice~~

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 07:31 PM
ronaldo looks gd in our jerersy....maybe nx time he will be our model for new kit....think the promoting department ( who groom beckham who become so popular ) will groom him to be as popular as beckham....;)

droogie
13-08-2003, 07:32 PM
Wah... he's good looking ya? haha! :laugh:

StormTrooper
13-08-2003, 07:42 PM
can't wait for the new season to start. now nobody can say united becoming weak.

Spock
13-08-2003, 08:09 PM
kleberson looks old.:D

RVN
13-08-2003, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by Spock
kleberson looks old.:D

Nah, he is only 24. Ronaldo is 18.:)

droogie
13-08-2003, 08:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Nah, he is only 24. Ronaldo is 18.:)

He looks like he belongs in a boy band. :D

RVN
13-08-2003, 08:27 PM
http://www.manutdpics.com/cgi-bin/FFIG/urn/6122/type/preview/FFAC/WM0000016689

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 08:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://www.manutdpics.com/cgi-bin/FFIG/urn/6122/type/preview/FFAC/WM0000016689

ronaldo still havent cut his fringe eh? ;)

stam
13-08-2003, 08:39 PM
kleberson looks abit fat :laugh:

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by stam
kleberson looks abit fat :laugh:

that wat i think too but look carefully maybe becos of the t-shirt he wear inside....;)

droogie
13-08-2003, 08:53 PM
Fat doesn't mean not skillful mah... look at Maradona. :D

cracker
13-08-2003, 08:55 PM

Yeah manz... :D

Come to think of it, when we had Cantona, we lacked a natural goal-scorer... Then we bought RVN, & lacked a creative forward... Now we have Cristiano Ronaldo, hopefully he & RVN can become a truly magical partnership for Man Utd... :cool:

back then the responsibility belonged to a certain
Mr. Mark Hughes and Andy Cole.

droogie
13-08-2003, 09:16 PM
Mark Hughes was awesome. His holding up of the ball and spectacular volleys were second to none. Even now, I don't think there's a player who comes close to doing what Mark Hughes did, as well as he did.

stam
13-08-2003, 09:56 PM
very exciting season....

StormTrooper
13-08-2003, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by droogie
Mark Hughes was awesome. His holding up of the ball and spectacular volleys were second to none. Even now, I don't think there's a player who comes close to doing what Mark Hughes did, as well as he did.

imo sparky was tops as a targetman and he scored awesome goals. but he's not the kind of striker ruud is, but great complements. if ruud and sparky are to play together upfront. wa......i can only imagine what the result will be.

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 09:58 PM
very exciting season....

ya w chelsea coming up...the title wont be btw Us and Arsenal liao....:cool:

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:01 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

imo sparky was tops as a targetman and he scored awesome goals. but he's not the kind of striker ruud is, but great complements. if ruud and sparky are to play together upfront. wa......i can only imagine what the result will be.

he is doing very well as wales manager now...wales under him look very gd...

ccloh
13-08-2003, 10:08 PM
can't wait for the new season to start. now nobody can say united becoming weak.

robert pires of arsenal said that. we must make him eat back his own word

guoquanyap
13-08-2003, 10:10 PM

we made them eat back thier word last season...this season no exception ;)

StormTrooper
13-08-2003, 10:17 PM

we always had people talking big against us. remember riise? he talked so much but pool's nowhere to be seen. :rolleyes:

dredd
13-08-2003, 10:34 PM
can't wait for the new season to start leh.....

:D

RVN
13-08-2003, 10:38 PM
Tonight we got a friendly match against Stoke City but not shown on TV though.:(

NanDesKa
13-08-2003, 10:42 PM
:bounce: ronaldo gonna play in the frenly i think. :D

OreoCookies
13-08-2003, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by cracker

back then the responsibility belonged to a certain
Mr. Mark Hughes and Andy Cole.

Both Hughes & Cole were not really predators in the class of RVN & Shearer... I remember Shearer was one of Fergie's top targets, but he never really wanted to join Man Utd... :rolleyes:

I also remember Cantona saying that Cole was not that good or something like that... But to be honest, Cole was blowing hot & cold too often to really win the hearts of the Old Trafford supporters... :o

dredd
13-08-2003, 11:27 PM

Both Hughes & Cole were not really predators in the class of RVN & Shearer... I remember Shearer was one of Fergie's top targets, but he never really wanted to join Man Utd... :rolleyes:

I also remember Cantona saying that Cole was not that good or something like that... But to be honest, Cole was blowing hot & cold too often to really win the hearts of the Old Trafford supporters... :o

but he was a cool finisher when he was in Newcastle...
i was shocked when he moved to ManYoo

dredd
13-08-2003, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Tonight we got a friendly match against Stoke City but not shown on TV though.:(

too bad hor

OreoCookies
13-08-2003, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by dredd

but he was a cool finisher when he was in Newcastle...
i was shocked when he moved to ManYoo

In any case, Cole has moved on, & I guess we should too... :)

Andy did give us moments of joy (and also moments of frustration), but all that he has done for Old Trafford will be remembered & appreciated... I sure hope he can have a good season ahead together with his pal Dwight Yorke at Ewood Park... :cool:

dredd
13-08-2003, 11:41 PM

In any case, Cole has moved on, & I guess we should too... :)

Andy did give us moments of joy (and also moments of frustration), but all that he has done for Old Trafford will be remembered & appreciated... I sure hope he can have a good season ahead together with his pal Dwight Yorke at Ewood Park... :cool:

who do u think ballooned more shots? Cole or Forlan?

;)

RVN
13-08-2003, 11:43 PM

;)

huh sound a tough one, But I think Cole cos he play longer for us.

As for Forlan, the miss against Juve was shocking more than the balloned shots.:rolleyes:

RVN
13-08-2003, 11:44 PM
Just heard that both Ronaldo and Kleberson will be playing tonight.:bounce:

dredd
13-08-2003, 11:49 PM
i used to listen to live radio on the manyoo website...match tracker i think...wonder if they will be broadcastin tonite's match

droogie
14-08-2003, 12:14 AM

Agree. I think they would be something scary if they could play together...

NanDesKa
14-08-2003, 12:49 AM
:bounce:

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 12:57 AM
i used to listen to live radio on the manyoo website...match tracker i think...wonder if they will be broadcastin tonite's match

that time the CS they nv boardcast...i think today friendly they oso wont boardcast...:(

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 12:59 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Just heard that both Ronaldo and Kleberson will be playing tonight.:bounce:

really excited to see them in action...but no live and i think oso no live boardcast :(

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 01:08 AM
MUTV are screening tonight's pre-season friendly match between United and Stoke City live from the Britannia Stadium....anyone got subscride? ;)

RVN
14-08-2003, 05:38 AM
lost the match 3-1.:eek:

Heard that Barthez had a shocking game and let in a silly goal, his days numbered :confused:

Heard Forlan score a 25 yard screamer and Djemba Djemba had a good game.

It was a weak line-up, all the first-team players were all rested save for O'Shea and Silvestre.

The team from Man United.com was......

United: Barthez (Ricardo, 86); Lynch, O'Shea, Silvestre (Tate, 74) Pugh; Fletcher, Butt (Nardiello, 46), Djemba-Djemba (Wood, 86); Richardson; Bellion, Forlan (Jones, 86).

thesleeper
14-08-2003, 05:46 AM
Barthez days might be numbered

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=158887&Title=Barthez+blunders+as+United+lose

OreoCookies
14-08-2003, 05:52 AM

;)

Forlan may have some shocking misses under his belt, but Cole didn't exactly put all his point-blank chances away either... :cool:

OreoCookies
14-08-2003, 05:55 AM
Originally posted by RVN
lost the match 3-1.:eek:

Heard that Barthez had a shocking game and let in a silly goal, his days numbered :confused:

Heard Forlan score a 25 yard screamer and Djemba Djemba had a good game.

It was a weak line-up, all the first-team players were all rested save for O'Shea and Silvestre.

The team from Man United.com was......

United: Barthez (Ricardo, 86); Lynch, O'Shea, Silvestre (Tate, 74) Pugh; Fletcher, Butt (Nardiello, 46), Djemba-Djemba (Wood, 86); Richardson; Bellion, Forlan (Jones, 86).

Gosh... That's a shock defeat alright... :eek:

Even though itz not the first-choice XI playing, the least is that we could provide some serious competition to a First Division side in terms of the scoreline... :(

Well... Maybe itz just a friendly, so I hope it won't be a sign of any bad things that are to come... :o

RVN
14-08-2003, 05:56 AM
I heard Silvestre injured his ankle and is a doubt for the bolton match.:(

wow seem like whenever we play barthez, he let in more goals unlike howard.:rolleyes:

pale
14-08-2003, 06:49 AM

Gosh... That's a shock defeat alright... :eek:

Even though itz not the first-choice XI playing, the least is that we could provide some serious competition to a First Division side in terms of the scoreline... :(

Well... Maybe itz just a friendly, so I hope it won't be a sign of any bad things that are to come... :o

No worries dude. Man Utd wins when it matters :laugh:

RVN
14-08-2003, 06:51 AM
Well, the likes of Howard, Rio Ferdinand, Gary, Phil, Keane, Scholes, Giggs, Solskjaer, Ruud Van Nistelrooy and the 2 new signings Ronaldo and Kleberson didn't played, guess to keep them fit for the bolton match.

stipe
14-08-2003, 06:54 AM

defensively, man utd is abit stretched at the moment. could be their un-doing. especially when bolton has just signed mario jardel... used to be teammates with cristiano

RVN
14-08-2003, 06:57 AM
Originally posted by stipe

defensively, man utd is abit stretched at the moment. could be their un-doing. especially when bolton has just signed mario jardel... used to be teammates with cristiano

Maybe Keane could be pushed back into central defence with Rio, O'Shea on the right and Phil on the left.

StormTrooper
14-08-2003, 07:43 AM
Originally posted by stipe

well, to win a football match, just score more than your opponent does. :D

cracker
14-08-2003, 08:19 AM

But IMHO, Hughes' shot had more power than Ruud.
Having the chance to watch him played from 83 to 94 with MU, I can only say it was a real joy !

As for Cole, though he formed a great partnership with Yorke in the treble season, chances are he would be remembered as the player that failed to win the title for Utd in 1995 with his misses in the final game with West Ham. As for the Cantona-Cole row, the Frenchman thought that the English lacked pace and technical skills !

ccloh
14-08-2003, 08:26 AM

But IMHO, Hughes' shot had more power than Ruud.
Having the chance to watch him played from 83 to 94 with MU, I can only say it was a real joy !

As for Cole, though he formed a great partnership with Yorke in the treble season, chances are he would be remembered as the player that failed to win the title for Utd in 1995 with his misses in the final game with West Ham. As for the Cantona-Cole row, the Frenchman thought that the English lacked pace and technical skills !

hughes was leathel with his volley then and no one can execute any better than him then. another ability is his strength in holding up the ball while the rest of the utd strike force join in. cole on the other hand is just normal finisher which is dangerous inside the 6-yard box other than that nothing special abt it. he needed good delivery to him in order to create chance to score. though not very impressive with his ability but his scoring rate at utd was somehow impressive.

well even teddy also had a row with cole then

dredd
14-08-2003, 08:43 AM
Barthez is history..

leslielai
14-08-2003, 09:10 AM
Well well .. I've been waiting a LONG LONG time for this. Heh.

Barthez, FO.

Never liked this clown since day 1 but I couldn't figure why the fans and Fergie had so much faith in him all along despite his horrible goalkeeping record. Whenever I criticise him, there will be someone to defend him without fail, pisses me off, big time.

RuMmYtUb
14-08-2003, 09:44 AM
Originally posted by leslielai
Well well .. I've been waiting a LONG LONG time for this. Heh.

Barthez, FO.

Never liked this clown since day 1 but I couldn't figure why the fans and Fergie had so much faith in him all along despite his horrible goalkeeping record. Whenever I criticise him, there will be someone to defend him without fail, pisses me off, big time.

Last time i would defend him, but now i'm well convinced that his time @ Old Trafford is numbered, pls save all the embarrasments and defeats by playing Tim Howard as our new no. 1 GK

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 09:54 AM
lost 3-1 huh? aiyo why like that? :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 10:02 AM
forlan getting better eh, hopefully he will score more important goals nx season....;)

and to read barthez blunder, think he score an silly own goal....here

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003371928,00.html

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 10:05 AM
fergie not adding defender liao....think oso okie lah...our defend oso quite stable liao....

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=32948&seg=EPL&teamid=

ralliart_ray
14-08-2003, 10:22 AM
bye bart.

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 10:24 AM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
bye bart.

let him sit on the bench lor ( dun think anyone wan to buy him ) anyway he hav experince on his side....;)

swordy84
14-08-2003, 10:30 AM
fergie not adding defender liao....think oso okie lah...our defend oso quite stable liao....

But seems like not enough backup, with Gary and Brown injured... and now even Keane is pushed into the back four. If there's more injuries, the defence would be in trouble.

dredd
14-08-2003, 10:49 AM

let him sit on the bench lor ( dun think anyone wan to buy him ) anyway he hav experince on his side....;)

i think Mr Botak has the same mentality as a player named MacManaman....stay there n collect wages....rather rot in a good team then go anywhere else....

cracker
14-08-2003, 11:20 AM
I tot last season Barthez did ok...after making an idiot out of himself the season before when he was robbed of the ball outside the penalty box in the CL game against Deportivo and happene in a EPL game the same season.

When he is on form, he is actually beri good. However if u have been left on the bench too long,,chances are u will make mistake in a game.

Afterall do remember for all the credit tat the Great Dane had,,,he too let in 14 goals in 3 consecutive games,,,it was the season when they lost their unbeaten record in a 3-1 defeat,,(think it was Leicester), followed by a 5-0 thrashing from either Chelsea or Newscastle and then climaxed with a 6-3 defeat at SOuthampton.

so wat is the order in the goalkeeper dept ?
1) Howards
2) Barthez
3) Carroll ( he was actually very good last season, till the mistake he made in the last game against Charlton)
4) Ricardo (will be remembered for giving away and saving a penalty)

ralliart_ray
14-08-2003, 11:23 AM
if we can cash in on bart now...we should...

RuMmYtUb
14-08-2003, 12:13 PM

No more new signings ?

ccloh
14-08-2003, 12:55 PM
i dont think is the case of not signing anymore, rather the candidates he want are not avaliable. it is very obvious that the defence dept. still short of defenders unless he wants to promote a youth player like what he did with o'shea in last season.

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 01:30 PM
i dont think is the case of not signing anymore, rather the candidates he want are not avaliable. it is very obvious that the defence dept. still short of defenders unless he wants to promote a youth player like what he did with o'shea in last season.

seriously we dun hav ani gd defender coming through the rank...mark lynch and danny plug doesnt impress at all....let wait and see...there is still time and $ for another player to come in ;)

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 01:32 PM
I tot last season Barthez did ok...after making an idiot out of himself the season before when he was robbed of the ball outside the penalty box in the CL game against Deportivo and happene in a EPL game the same season.

When he is on form, he is actually beri good. However if u have been left on the bench too long,,chances are u will make mistake in a game.

Afterall do remember for all the credit tat the Great Dane had,,,he too let in 14 goals in 3 consecutive games,,,it was the season when they lost their unbeaten record in a 3-1 defeat,,(think it was Leicester), followed by a 5-0 thrashing from either Chelsea or Newscastle and then climaxed with a 6-3 defeat at SOuthampton.

so wat is the order in the goalkeeper dept ?
1) Howards
2) Barthez
3) Carroll ( he was actually very good last season, till the mistake he made in the last game against Charlton)
4) Ricardo (will be remembered for giving away and saving a penalty)

i can said barthez did quite well last season..he nv done any stupid things...and the match btw villa which we won 0-1....he saved alot of shots or else we wont won the game....

kengbeng
14-08-2003, 01:38 PM
Although Bathez is brilliant at times, he does not give his defenders a sense of security that a capable goalkeeper is behind them. We've seen many many times when Barthez plays his defenders into trouble. This is not good for the confidence of the defenders. I read that this is exactly what happened again in the Stoke City match yesterday.

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Although Bathez is brilliant at times, he does not give his defenders a sense of security that a capable goalkeeper is behind them. We've seen many many times when Barthez plays his defenders into trouble. This is not good for the confidence of the defenders. I that this is exactly what happened in the Stoke City match yesterday.

that why i didnt say he should remain as No.1....but i dont think any club will like to buy him oso....anyway having 4 gk in the club will be gd too....;)

RVN
14-08-2003, 01:45 PM
Well, I think he has dropped to third choice now behind Carroll and Howard.:rolleyes:

NanDesKa
14-08-2003, 03:05 PM
sell him and bring on luke steele.. :D

ccloh
14-08-2003, 03:47 PM
i say bring back peter to coach the keepers

RVN
14-08-2003, 03:52 PM
Chief executive Peter Kenyon has hinted he is ready to enter talks with Sir Alex Ferguson about extending his Manchester United reign further.
Ferguson has two years left remaining on the three-year deal he signed last year - which was signed just months before his planned retirement date.

However, having completed his 17th year in the Old Trafford hot-seat by leading the club to their eighth title in 11 seasons, United are anxious not to get into a similar situation to that which occurred when Ferguson announced his intention to resign at the end of the 2001-02 campaign and Old Trafford was then subjected to almost daily stories about who would succeed Britain's most successful club boss.

Having captured the title again last term and then spent the summer revamping his squad, including taking the decisions to part with big-name duo David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron, Ferguson has shown his appetite for the job remains undiminished and the United board will be keen to tie the Scot into a new contract at some stage over the next 12 months.

"We are at our best when we are planning for the future," admitted Kenyon.

"As soon as Sir Alex decided to stay with the club 18 months ago we sat down and started to look seriously at the future. You can only do that when there is longer than a year in front of you.

"It really got us looking at the youth coaching system and it is already producing major benefits.

"We will continue to look and do things here beyond the length of anybody's contract. That is what we think keep us at the forefront of our industry."

ccloh
14-08-2003, 05:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Chief executive Peter Kenyon has hinted he is ready to enter talks with Sir Alex Ferguson about extending his Manchester United reign further.
Ferguson has two years left remaining on the three-year deal he signed last year - which was signed just months before his planned retirement date.

However, having completed his 17th year in the Old Trafford hot-seat by leading the club to their eighth title in 11 seasons, United are anxious not to get into a similar situation to that which occurred when Ferguson announced his intention to resign at the end of the 2001-02 campaign and Old Trafford was then subjected to almost daily stories about who would succeed Britain's most successful club boss.

Having captured the title again last term and then spent the summer revamping his squad, including taking the decisions to part with big-name duo David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron, Ferguson has shown his appetite for the job remains undiminished and the United board will be keen to tie the Scot into a new contract at some stage over the next 12 months.

"We are at our best when we are planning for the future," admitted Kenyon.

"As soon as Sir Alex decided to stay with the club 18 months ago we sat down and started to look seriously at the future. You can only do that when there is longer than a year in front of you.

"It really got us looking at the youth coaching system and it is already producing major benefits.

"We will continue to look and do things here beyond the length of anybody's contract. That is what we think keep us at the forefront of our industry."

as long as got $$$ for fergie to spend, i dont see him walking out of utd

NanDesKa
14-08-2003, 05:58 PM
:rolleyes: get a new chairman instead

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 08:14 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
:rolleyes: get a new chairman instead

kenyon done okie lah...

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 08:15 PM
i say bring back peter to coach the keepers

yalor that what i will like to see but i think Pete wanna take a rest fr soccer and enjoy his life....maybe in the future....

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 08:36 PM
Manchester United's 2003/04 squad numbers have been announced, and still the number nine shirt remains vacant.

The absence of a number nine perhaps indicates the immense role Ruud van Nistelrooy plays for United. Ruud recently said: “The ideal striker is a combination between a number nine and a number ten; a goalscorer and a playmaker.”

Ruud’s ability to play up front on his own perhaps suggests United’s lack of desire to fill the number nine shirt, which has remained vacant since Andy Cole’s departure in December 2001.

Another notable change is that Wes Brown has taken the number six shirt - a huge confidence boost for the 23-year-old defender who looks like Rio Ferdinand's long-term partner at the heart of the defence.

Wes is currently on the sidelines in the latest in a string of desperately disappointing injury setbacks. Wes underwent knee surgery over the summer after picking up the knee ligament injury on the final day of last season at Goodison Park.

News that he will give up his number 24 shirt for the more prominent "6", worn by the likes of Gary Pallister in recent seasons Jaap Stam. United have traditionally followed the "5" and "6" central defensive partnership.

The number 24 goes to another highly-promising prospect emerging through the ranks at Old Trafford. 19-year-old Scottish midfielder Darren Fletcher takes Wes' old shirt number.

Cristiano Ronaldo, as reported first on ManUtd.com, will take up the number seven shirt, worn by the likes of George Best, Bryan Robson, Eric Cantona and the shirt's predecessor, David Beckham.

United's Squad List: 2003/04

1. Fabien Barthez
2. Gary Neville
3. Phil Neville
5. Rio Ferdinand
6. Wes Brown
7. Cristiano Ronaldo
8. Nicky Butt
10. Ruud van Nistelrooy
11. Ryan Giggs
12. David Bellion
13. Roy Carroll
14. Tim Howard
15. Kleberson
16. Roy Keane
17. Ricardo
18. Paul Scholes
19. Eric Djemba-Djemba
20. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
21. Diego Forlan
22. John O'Shea
23. Kieran Richardson
24. Darren Fletcher
25. Quinton Fortune
26. Danny Pugh
27. Mikael Silvestre
28. Mark Lynch

vivre
14-08-2003, 09:10 PM
15. Kleberson

Why didn't Kleberson get Veron's No. 4?

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 09:17 PM
Originally posted by vivre

Why didn't Kleberson get Veron's No. 4?

maybe waiting for a defender to get it....;)

vivre
14-08-2003, 09:19 PM
Although Bathez is brilliant at times, he does not give his defenders a sense of security that a capable goalkeeper is behind them. We've seen many many times when Barthez plays his defenders into trouble. This is not good for the confidence of the defenders. I read that this is exactly what happened again in the Stoke City match yesterday.

I agree that keepers will give his defenders confidence if they themselves are confident and authoritative.

Did U guys see Howard screaming at the defence during the Charity Shield Match? He reminds me of Peter Schmeichel??...... :happy:

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by vivre

I agree that keepers will give his defenders confidence if they themselves are confident and authoritative.

Did U guys see Howard screaming at the defence during the Charity Shield Match? He reminds me of Peter Schmeichel??...... :happy:

yeah hopefully he will turn out to be as great as Pete...;)

stam
14-08-2003, 09:34 PM
from the squad list.... i feel we need 1 or 2 more defenders

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 09:37 PM
from the squad list.... i feel we need 1 or 2 more defenders

still left No.4 lor...maybe puyol will get that number....;)

NanDesKa
14-08-2003, 09:48 PM
i still think ruud wud prefer a partner up front

RuMmYtUb
14-08-2003, 10:54 PM

still left No.4 lor...maybe puyol will get that number....;)

But i thought Fergie said no more signings ?

dredd
14-08-2003, 10:55 PM

maybe Crespro? ;)

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 10:58 PM

maybe Crespro? ;)

crespro is a goalscore almost the same as Ruud...they cant click...Ruud need someone to feed him ball and score...;) maybe they are seeking Ruud opinion on who he like to link up w....;)

guoquanyap
14-08-2003, 11:01 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

But i thought Fergie said no more signings ?

but not enough defender leh maybe a tactic to loosen the guard of any competitor? ;)

ccloh
14-08-2003, 11:15 PM
i suspect that fergie might want to slowly move keane to defence that why he has no action to get any defender yet. moreover, the midfield is damm crowded now and he is very impressive with eric (supposely to replace keane in the midfield in future).

i can see the transition there.

NanDesKa
14-08-2003, 11:25 PM

crespro is a goalscore almost the same as Ruud...they cant click...Ruud need someone to feed him ball and score...;) maybe they are seeking Ruud opinion on who he like to link up w....;) if both are goal scorers then good mah..

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 12:19 AM
i suspect that fergie might want to slowly move keane to defence that why he has no action to get any defender yet. moreover, the midfield is damm crowded now and he is very impressive with eric (supposely to replace keane in the midfield in future).

i can see the transition there.

seriously if temporary keano play defend then okie, i dun see him as a natural centre back at all no doubt his reading of the game is brilliant....he is lack the height and pace + he is too stiff....;)

RuMmYtUb
15-08-2003, 12:52 AM

seriously if temporary keano play defend then okie, i dun see him as a natural centre back at all no doubt his reading of the game is brilliant....he is lack the height and pace + he is too stiff....;)

Really need someone as solid as Puyol....
Did Trabelsi played for Ajax last nite ?

NanDesKa
15-08-2003, 01:06 AM

Really need someone as solid as Puyol....
Did Trabelsi played for Ajax last nite ? i think yes.. :(

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 01:17 AM
for the second season running, number nine remains unclaimed....haiz Number 9 been vacant since cole left for blackburn....will someone claim Number 9 before 31st of Aug?

;)

NanDesKa
15-08-2003, 02:02 AM
for the second season running, number nine remains unclaimed....haiz Number 9 been vacant since cole left for blackburn....will someone claim Number 9 before 31st of Aug?

;) henry!

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 10:00 AM
C.Ronaldo really that gd? REad wat the legend EUSEBIO and figo think of him......

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003372262,,00.html

Luis Figo last night backed teenage wonderkid Cristiano Ronaldo to fill David Beckham's boots and become a massive Premiership success story. Portuguese superstar Figo believes his fellow countryman has the ability to become an Old Trafford favourite and warned top- flight defences to prepare for humiliation when they face the 18-year-old. Real Madrid winger Figo said: "He is good enough to embarrass English defenders and I think he will have too much skill for a lot of them. He can do whatever he wants as a footballer."

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 11:27 AM
did u watch him play before? and i actually mean before the man utd match.. i tink alot of ppl notice him only when he play against man utd time.

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 11:34 AM
Originally posted by edhorizon
did u watch him play before? and i actually mean before the man utd match.. i tink alot of ppl notice him only when he play against man utd time.

he play for sporting lisbon...there is no TV coverage of portugal league in singapore at all so there is no chance of watching him played....i did know ( in the past ) that he is a promising talent by reading reports and playing CM4
;)

i onli saw him played during that friendly match....;)

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 11:47 AM

he play for sporting lisbon...there is no TV coverage of portugal league in singapore at all so there is no chance of watching him played....i did know ( in the past ) that he is a promising talent by reading reports and playing CM4
;)

i onli saw him played during that friendly match....;)

cm4? :laugh:
anyway tis sunday i going peninsular to buy man utd new away jersey and print his name.

StormTrooper
15-08-2003, 11:52 AM
lets break the jinx tomorrow! :evil:

too bad i won't have the away jersey, don't like the square collar and don't think i'll look good in it. :(

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 11:54 AM
lets break the jinx tomorrow! :evil:

too bad i won't have the away jersey, don't like the square collar and don't think i'll look good in it. :(

away jersey only arrive in singapore on sunday.

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 11:59 AM

cm4? :laugh:
anyway tis sunday i going peninsular to buy man utd new away jersey and print his name.

y laugh?:alien:

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 12:00 PM

y laugh?:alien:

seems like everyone know alot of player through playing CM4 and not other sources. :)

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 12:04 PM

seems like everyone know alot of player through playing CM4 and not other sources. :)

news reports consider sources?

StormTrooper
15-08-2003, 12:06 PM

i don't play cm4.

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 12:07 PM

i don't play cm4.

i@@

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 12:09 PM

i don't play cm4.

reliaze that most ppl only take note of players when they play cm4 then find the player good then take note. or like website/newspaper mentioned about them .. otherwise i suppose alot ppl never take notice of them at all.

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 12:15 PM

reliaze that most ppl only take note of players when they play cm4 then find the player good then take note. or like website/newspaper mentioned about them .. otherwise i suppose alot ppl never take notice of them at all.

then how u take note of them? suppose u live in singapore?

StormTrooper
15-08-2003, 12:18 PM

i just take them as them come, not enough time to go take note of each and every player. :cool:

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 12:20 PM

waiting for ur advice on how to take note of player if not fr website/newspaper....;)

RVN

thats where Ronaldo comes in, he can play upfront.

guoquanyap

i just take them as them come, not enough time to go take note of each and every player. :cool:

;)

pyu
15-08-2003, 12:22 PM
Why blast a footie management game? :rolleyes:

Anyway, there had been several articles on outstanding youth footballing talent published several months ago. Cristiano Ronaldo and Ricardo Quaresma (among other "CM4 wonderkids" like Diego, Fernando Torres, etc) were mentioned briefly.

If people mention CM4 - it is because the data researchers have done a good job. :D

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by pyu

Anyway, there had been several articles on outstanding youth footballing talent published several months ago. Cristiano Ronaldo and Ricardo Quaresma (among other "CM4 wonderkids" like Diego, Fernando Torres, etc) were mentioned briefly.

If people mention CM4 - it is because the data researchers have done a good job. :D

that y i feel quite offended when i mention CM4 and he laugh...they hav scout on most of the country to give the most accurate stat...;)

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 01:46 PM

that y i feel quite offended when i mention CM4 and he laugh...they hav scout on most of the country to give the most accurate stat...;)

i laugh cause as what i expected that most of the ppl here got to know players else where .. just like same as my most of my poly friendz when we often discuss about soccer. well, my tat laugh was not suppose to mean anything.

then how u take note of them? suppose u live in singapore?

i live in singapore. most of my source come from overseas soccer magainze and football tv programs(dun mean those normal EPL highlights, etc...) and go to website specially for clubs like ajax, psv, etc..

btw, i play cm4 also.

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by pyu

admit that CM4 do a good job or else will not waste my $$ on them. did u mentioned that i blast the management game? well, i dun remember i did..

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 03:48 PM
where is our number 9.....:rolleyes:

RVN
15-08-2003, 03:51 PM
where is our number 9.....:rolleyes:

still left vacant.:(

RVN
15-08-2003, 03:51 PM
Manchester United are battling to find four fit defenders to play in Saturday's Premiership opener against Bolton.
Mikael Silvestre suffered an injury scare in Wednesday's friendly against Stoke - leaving Sir Alex Ferguson with only one fully-fit defender.

Wes Brown is a long-term casualty and Gary Neville will definitely miss out with a hamstring injury.

Phil Neville suffered an injury in Sunday's Community Shield which has left him struggling to be fit.

John O'Shea was left on the bench against Arsenal in Cardiff as a precaution although he should shake off a minor knock.

Even experimental left-back Quinton Fortune is carrying an injury.

That leaves Rio Ferdinand as the only definite starter for Ferguson, who may have to move Roy Keane to the centre of his defence against Bolton.

The options are John O'Shea at right-back and Phil Neville on the left

Silvestre lasted 70 minutes of Wednesday's 3-1 defeat to Stoke in United's final pre-season outing at the Britannia Stadium and was eventually withdrawn as a precaution after taking two heavy knocks during the game.

The first one in particular needed lengthy treatment after Silvestre appeared to turn an ankle and Ferguson was left banking on his walking wounded to recover for Saturday.

"Quinton's got a niggly groin injury and Gary has a hamstring," said Ferguson.

"The options are John O'Shea at right-back and Phil Neville on the left."

Ferguson is also likely to hand a starting role to American goalkeeper Tim Howard on Saturday after Fabien Barthez failed to impress against Stoke.

Barthez was handed one last chance to salvage his first-team place after losing his spot to Roy Carroll at the end of last season.

The eccentric Frenchman made a decent one-handed save to deny Carl Asaba in the first half but was exposed when Marc Goodfellow's shot cannoned off the crossbar and into the net off the back of Barthez's head.

But Ferguson was impressed with new signing Eric Djemba-Djemba, who improved his chances of starting against Bolton with a competent performance.

"Eric did well - I thought he was our best player," Ferguson said.

"He passed with a great authority throughout the game which was good to see."

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 04:00 PM
i think if fergie nv add any new defender after 31st of aug...most likely keano will move back to pair w Rio....i think he will be up to the job...;) then maybe eric and kleberson and middle and ronaldo start w Ruud....

RVN
15-08-2003, 04:04 PM
i think if fergie nv add any new defender after 31st of aug...most likely keano will move back to pair w Rio....i think he will be up to the job...;) then maybe eric and kleberson and middle and ronaldo start w Ruud....

yep probably, let hope though our injured defenders recover soon.:)

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 04:09 PM
**** i forgot abt scholes! soori abt that ( this show our depth )...hmm...maybe scholes start then ronaldo on bench and after that then sent him on......or klerberson start w scholes in middle then ronaldo start w Ruud....;)

RVN
15-08-2003, 04:09 PM
go to http://www.manutdzone.com/playerpages/playerindex.htm

click on the players name and you will see their profile

edhorizon
15-08-2003, 05:06 PM
back 4 is o'shea, phil, rio and keane.

midfield is scholes, giggs, ronaldo, kleberson, then last spot is either Eric Djemba-Djemba or butt.

rvn as usual lone striker.

goalie obvious right?

ccloh
15-08-2003, 06:14 PM
back 4 is o'shea, phil, rio and keane.

midfield is scholes, giggs, ronaldo, kleberson, then last spot is either Eric Djemba-Djemba or butt.

rvn as usual lone striker.

goalie obvious right?

u forget ole !!!!!

RVN
15-08-2003, 07:55 PM
United are about to sign an 18 year old american striker according to planetfootball

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=159106&cpid=8&title=United+launch+fresh+American+raid&clid=1

While Ricardo is on his way to athletico on loan

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=159107&clid=1&cpid=8&title=Ricardo+linked+with+Atletico+switch

RVN
15-08-2003, 09:01 PM
FABIEN Barthez will be out in the cold when Manchester United begin the new Premiership season tomorrow.

The French World Cup star will not be included in the Reds squad for the Old Trafford opener against Bolton - with Tim Howard making his league debut between the sticks.

Roy Carroll is expected to be on the bench and that casts a huge question mark over the future of the 32-year-old Barthez.

Fergie has four front-line keepers and that is one too many.

Howard has impressed everyone at the club greatly, not just with his performances on the US tour and in the Community Shield, but with his attitude and application.

Barthez was given a run-out in the midweek friendly at Stoke, in a team largely made up of reserve players, and was widely criticised for a couple of mistakes.

Fergie said: "Fabien got another game against Stoke, making it two games he has had. But Tim has done nothing wrong and has impressed everyone, while Roy Carroll has also done nothing wrong and Ricardo has been fine.

"It is not an easy one, but it will rest between Tim Howard and Roy Carroll."

The only worry for the Reds is Quinton Fortune, who picked up a niggly groin injury in last Sunday's Community Shield and is a doubt.

"We will have to wait and see on Quinton," said Fergie, who is now seeing Fortune as a contender for the left back spot.

"We were a bit limited in our options in the States, and thought it was worth a try playing Quinton there, and he did very well. If he is fit he will probably play on Saturday."

If he is not fit, John O'Shea will step in and Phil Neville will come in as right back after shaking off the knock he took last weekend.

Fergie said recently that he would like to bring in an extra defender before the Champions League deadline on August 31, but the fact that those hopes are fading is not causing him any sleepless nights.

With a wealth of midfield options following the signings of Kleberson and Eric Djemba-Djemba, Keane is earmarked as a central defender if needed, while Djemba-Djemba is also able to play in the back four.

Kleberson and Cristiano Ronaldo were having their fitness assessed today to determine whether they can play on the bench, where they are likely to be alongside Djemba-Djemba

The 18-year-old Ronaldo is likely to be a sub - he looked fit and lively last week when he tormented the United defence in the friendly with Sporting Lisbon. But whether Kleberson plays is more uncertain.

Fergie said: "He has just arrived from Brazil, which is a long journey, and we need to find out exactly how much training he has done, although the Brazilian league is still playing at the moment, so you would assume he will be quite fit.

"You can never say how quickly the new boys will start to find their way into the first team.

"I remember Ole Gunnar Solskjaer when he came here. We thought he would be a reserve player for his first season at least, and within weeks he was established in the squad.

"Djemba-Djemba has done particularly well in pre-season, especially against Arsenal last week, which is encouraging. He should be involved."

United will be desperate to stop Bolton from making it three staright wins at old Trafford and they will be boosted by the news that Mario Jardel is some way short of full fitness and won't start.

Youri Djorkaeff is also doubtful, but the former French international could wear a protective face mask to play in.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Barthez, Carroll, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fortune, Solskjaer, Butt, Kleberson, Scholes, Keane, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Pugh, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion, Fletcher, Richardson, Forlan, Ronaldo

Ch3tah_39
15-08-2003, 09:15 PM
Man utd better win against bolton sia..
Barthez dun play. everything ok liao

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
Man utd better win against bolton sia..
Barthez dun play. everything ok liao

should be able to win....dunno whether ronaldo will make his debut or not and kleberson oso....;)

ccloh
15-08-2003, 09:50 PM
as long as barthez not playing, chances of winning is very very high :D

Spock
15-08-2003, 10:06 PM
Y u all so condemn Barthez....He did a good job for us in important matches,just that he likes to fool around or even he's just plain unlucky and made to look like a clown sometimes.....Goalkeeping is a very nerve wrecking job leh..

OreoCookies
15-08-2003, 10:10 PM
Actually, Peter Schmeichel rated Barthez very highly when he left Old Trafford for Portugal... But honestly, up until today, I'm not really sure what the 'Great Dane' saw that convinced him so about Barthez's abilities... :rolleyes:

I mean, sure, Fabien's very agile & has quick reflexes, but his inconsistency & a lack of commanding presence in the box isn't something that the Man Utd defence needs... :(

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 10:21 PM
Actually, Peter Schmeichel rated Barthez very highly when he left Old Trafford for Portugal... But honestly, up until today, I'm not really sure what the 'Great Dane' saw that convinced him so about Barthez's abilities... :rolleyes:

I mean, sure, Fabien's very agile & has quick reflexes, but his inconsistency & a lack of commanding presence in the box isn't something that the Man Utd defence needs... :(

haiz...at times he can be really gd world class, remember the save the made during liverpool vs ManU against Didi....the ball was going to the top right-hand corner and he manage to save it!@#! :eek: but really inconsistent lah....no need to sell him, let him be on the bench will be gd too....;)

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 10:26 PM
Y u all so condemn Barthez....He did a good job for us in important matches,just that he likes to fool around or even he's just plain unlucky and made to look like a clown sometimes.....Goalkeeping is a very nerve wrecking job leh..

i nv condemn him , to mi he is still a world class keeper and since the day he made his debut till now....he had changed alot ( remember he always like to come out way of the penalty box, sometimes unnesscasary ) how many times you saw him do that last season....

but seriously...he really lack the height...remember the hattrick score by ronaldo on CL....keeper w height will be able to save at least 2 of the goal.....;)

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 10:30 PM
keano said We've never been stronger...yeah i believe if all the new guys play and develop to their potenial...i believe CL will be ours again! ;)

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=273970&cc=5739

http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/mufc/Keane_LG.jpg

Spock
15-08-2003, 10:46 PM
Howard is also not very tall:D

RVN
15-08-2003, 10:56 PM

He got good reflexes and is more consistent than Barthez.

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 11:04 PM

taller than barthez....;)

Dolphin1977
15-08-2003, 11:18 PM

taller than barthez....;)

dun compare basketball player with a clown...:D

RVN
15-08-2003, 11:19 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

when did howard become a basketball player then, lol.:eek: :laugh:

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

:alien: he hav saved us quite a few times lah...dun mock him like wat others fans did lah k...;)

NanDesKa
15-08-2003, 11:35 PM
Originally posted by RVN

when did howard become a basketball player then, lol.:eek: :laugh: he used to play basketball, while barthez used to play rugby..

guoquanyap
15-08-2003, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN

when did howard become a basketball player then, lol.:eek: :laugh:

he was a former basketball player man...anyway barthez was former a rugby player....;)

RuMmYtUb
16-08-2003, 12:38 AM
Hope tmr Ronaldo scores on debut and Kleberson get his debut too...:D

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 12:41 AM

;)

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 01:00 AM

:alien: he hav saved us quite a few times lah...dun mock him like wat others fans did lah k...;)

Barthez is still a good goalie, & he did save us many times, so let's give him his due credit... But he seems to be more suited to playing in a team with a good defence, with an influential center-half who can organise the backline effectively... :rolleyes:

What the Frenchman needs to do to improve on his game is to CONCENTRATE on keeping a safe goal, & not think about venturing any further upfield than necessary... If he can't help out with the defenders, I guess the least he could do is to ensure that he does his best to protect the goalmouth at all times...

NanDesKa
16-08-2003, 01:04 AM

he was a former basketball player man...anyway barthez was former a rugby player....;) :alien:

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 01:06 AM

he was a former basketball player man...anyway barthez was former a rugby player....;)

Just a side-note... :)

Seems that many American athletes take on basketball because of the popularity of the NBA, & the French would hitch onto the rugby bandwagon because of the Five-Nations Cup & so on... :D

It must have been upsetting for Howard & Barthez to not make it in their first-choice sporting genres... No pun intended, but at least they brought their talents along to the footy world, and have gained recognition for their efforts... ;)

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 01:09 AM

Well, let's just take it easy for their first game, shall we? :)

Placing too much expectations on the new players would only add to the stress & pressure that they are facing... Let's give them some time to adapt to the culture & style of Man Utd before expecting them to begin performing... ;)

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 01:40 AM
Hmm... Another side-note here... :)

Former Man Utd captain Steve Bruce has just extended his contract with Birmingham for another five-years until 2008... I guess that shows the club's confidence in his leadership & capability... ;)

Way to go, Steve! :D

"Bruce Signs Five-Year Blues Deal" - Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=274015&cc=4716)

swalk21
16-08-2003, 01:44 AM
good luck manchester united fans, i hope this is a promising season to begin with .all the best .:)

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 01:47 AM
Hmm... Another side-note here... :)

Former Man Utd captain Steve Bruce has just extended his contract with Birmingham for another five-years until 2008... I guess that shows the club's confidence in his leadership & capability... ;)

Way to go, Steve! :D

"Bruce Signs Five-Year Blues Deal" - Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=274015&cc=4716)

he had done every well w brimingham....by not going straight down to first division is already a sucuess....not to mention their standing is 13th...;)

NanDesKa
16-08-2003, 02:04 AM
Originally posted by swalk21
good luck manchester united fans, i hope this is a promising season to begin with .all the best .:) :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 02:05 AM
cant wait for tonite 9.55pm ESPN! ;)

RuMmYtUb
16-08-2003, 02:16 AM
cant wait for tonite 9.55pm ESPN! ;)

Yea me 2 !!!
And the REDS go marching on on on....

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 02:39 AM

Yea me 2 !!!
And the REDS go marching on on on....

but bolton is still very dangerous somemore they add a quailty striker ( jardel ) and we facing defensive crisis....:alien:

NanDesKa
16-08-2003, 02:47 AM
no scv. :(

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 02:50 AM
no scv. :(

mi oso no scv but gf hse jus subscride so tml going her hse watch ;)

NanDesKa
16-08-2003, 02:53 AM

mi oso no scv but gf hse jus subscride so tml going her hse watch ;) are u the kinda guy who gives up sex for football match or the opposite? :P

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 02:54 AM
are u the kinda guy who gives up sex for football match or the opposite? :P

that for you for find out ;)

NanDesKa
16-08-2003, 02:57 AM

that for you for find out ;) :laugh: :laugh:okie dokie..
off to bed.
nitez. :)

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 03:04 AM
:laugh: :laugh:okie dokie..
off to bed.
nitez. :)

nitez

stipe
16-08-2003, 07:43 AM

but bolton is still very dangerous somemore they add a quailty striker ( jardel ) and we facing defensive crisis....:alien:

jerdel may ot be playing. still doing his medical.

jay-jay-okocha is the dangerman.

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 07:49 AM
No matter what, Bolton has been our boogie team for the past few seasons... Better to take them seriously & play for victory, than to be sorry later on in defeat... :rolleyes:

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 08:47 AM
Rio Ferdinand has warned Barclaycard Premiership champions Manchester United to guard against the threat of Bolton skipper Jay-Jay Okocha at Old Trafford.

Okocha missed last season's corresponding fixture, when a single Kevin Nolan strike gave the Trotters their second successive win at Old Trafford, as he struggled to get used to life in the Premiership.

But once the Nigerian had completed his education, he became one of the most influential players in the league and a key figure in Bolton's successful survival fight.

And, if United are to stave off an unwanted hat-trick by their Greater Manchester neighbours and launch the defence of their title with a win, Ferdinand knows Okocha will have to be repelled.

"I am surprised Jay-Jay took so long to grab people's attention in England," said Ferdinand.

"I watched him play in Germany and France and have always liked him. He has great individual ability and reminds me a lot of Joe Cole.

"He's a bit more experience than Joe, but they are both great to watch. As a defender, you have to keep your eyes open and watch where he is. You can't afford to let him get free and pick the ball up in dangerous positions.

"Towards the end of last season, he and Youri Djorkaeff were Bolton's best players and obviously they will be the ones to watch again."

While Okocha is a certain starter, Djorkaeff has yet to confirm his willingness to play.

If the veteran Frenchman does get the all clear, he will probably need to wear a protective mask after he suffered a hairline fracture of the cheekbone in pre-season.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson does not have any injuries on that scale, but Gary Neville's tender hamstring is unlikely to be risked.

Quinton Fortune returned to training on Friday after overcoming a niggly groin problem and could win the battle with John O'Shea for the left-back slot, with Phil Neville starting on the right.

The indications are that American goalkeeper Tim Howard will be the only one of Ferguson's summer recruits to start the game, although the United boss is toying with the idea of throwing Eric Djemba-Djemba into the fray.

Of this week's signings, teenage sensation Cristiano Ronaldo will probably be on the bench, while Kleberson might not play any part with Ferguson concerned over his lack of recent match practice.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looking forward to the start of the new EPL season! Hope itz going to be an exciting match to kick-off Man Utd's defence of the title... :D

edhorizon
16-08-2003, 10:14 AM

that for you for find out ;)

i come with video cam? =p
joking... :D

StormTrooper
16-08-2003, 10:27 AM
losing first match is no big deal lah, we've been losing to bolton for a few seasons liao. but i'd like then to break the jinx :D

leslielai
16-08-2003, 10:36 AM
losing first match is no big deal lah, we've been losing to bolton for a few seasons liao. but i'd like then to break the jinx :D

No big deal?

Losing is always a big deal for a club like United.

EVERY game in the league is important, there is no such thing as "no big deal lah". :rolleyes:

edhorizon
16-08-2003, 10:49 AM
rather win and secure the pts now. :)

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 10:55 AM
it's the first home game better win or even draw lah...last season WBA 1-0, last last season won fulham 3-2, first home game is gd to win.... ;)

edhorizon
16-08-2003, 10:56 AM
it's the first home game better win or even draw lah...last season WBA 1-0, last last season won fulham 3-2, first home game is gd to win.... ;)

meaning a good start for the season. :)

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 11:04 AM

meaning a good start for the season. :)

yeah....;) looking forward to tonite....feel that fergie wont field ronaldo in first 11, maybe sent him on during the second-half....

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 11:07 AM

Itz never good to be on the losing side, no matter the competition or the quality of the opponent... :rolleyes:

Defeats will come along as the season progresses, no doubt about that... The important thingy is to not dwell too much on the losses in the league & in the Cups, but to pick ourselves up & carry on fighting... :)

But still, that doesn't mean we shouldn't go all out to achieve victory in every match... Having a good start to the season by winning in our first home match can really boost the morale of the club & the supporters... ;)

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 11:10 AM

yeah....;) looking forward to tonite....feel that fergie wont field ronaldo in first 11, maybe sent him on during the second-half....

Yeah manz... Hope Cristiano can go on & become a talisman for the club, much like Cantona was... :D

edhorizon
16-08-2003, 11:14 AM

to tackle on the tiring defenders.

ccloh
16-08-2003, 11:15 AM
sigh no scv to watch. stupid scv still dont want to turn on the service at my area. damm it

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 11:17 AM

Yeah manz... Hope Cristiano can go on & become a talisman for the club, much like Cantona was... :D

ya able to click well w Ruud will be a great thing...anyway he is still 18, mus slowly draft him into first team....;)

or maybe fergie will surpise us by playing him as first 11 tonite! there is no better way to get debut goalS when you are playing at home w 68000 fans watching you.... ;)

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 11:19 AM
sigh no scv to watch. stupid scv still dont want to turn on the service at my area. damm it

go friend's hse or pub watch lor ( that wat i always do ) first home match not to be miss especially u dun know whether ronaldo will play or not...;)

RVN
16-08-2003, 11:30 AM
Hope ronaldo will make his debut and score for us too, but I read he and kleberson might be on the bench, but who knows which line-up Fergie will picked:rolleyes:

Spock
16-08-2003, 11:31 AM
think christ should start on the bench first,still young leh,must adapt first.:)

OreoCookies
16-08-2003, 11:47 AM
think christ should start on the bench first,still young leh,must adapt first.:)

Either way, from the supporters' POV, it'll be nice to see Cristiano in action for the first time in a Man Utd jersey... :D

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 11:56 AM

Either way, from the supporters' POV, it'll be nice to see Cristiano in action for the first time in a Man Utd jersey... :D

:D

stam
16-08-2003, 12:42 PM
i guess... we won't see all 5 making their debuts...

StormTrooper
16-08-2003, 02:05 PM
a good start doesn't win you the title. we have started badly before and ended up as champions.......so why so important to start well?

i'll be concerned if we lost towards the end of the season, but not the opening match. but i'm looking forward to a good performance by united tonight.

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 02:12 PM
a good start doesn't win you the title. we have started badly before and ended up as champions.......so why so important to start well?

i'll be concerned if we lost towards the end of the season, but not the opening match. but i'm looking forward to a good performance by united tonight.

aiyo dun agrue anymore lah ;) jus enjoy the match tonite, hope to see C.Ronaldo in action....going out liao wont be hme tonite

cya guys ;)

swordy84
16-08-2003, 03:47 PM

Yep... but then every point is also important mah. Who knows, we might need that 3 points to win the title. Anyway I think that it is better to get the full 3 points against lower-half table teams like Bolton, in case we drop points against the stronger teams.

StormTrooper
16-08-2003, 05:53 PM
4 hours to go! i'm getting excited already. :evil:

ccloh
16-08-2003, 06:42 PM
predict 2-0 to utd :D

scorer:

RVN + scholes
or
RVN + giggs
or
RVN + ole

RVN
16-08-2003, 06:48 PM

we were let off the hook last season due to arse late slump in form in the final few matches, I hope we start well and also end well this time round.:D

Every matches must be taken seriously.;)

I be more optimstic and say 3-0 to us against Bolton tonight.:)

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 06:49 PM
4 hours to go! i'm getting excited already. :evil:

yeah :evil:

NanDesKa
16-08-2003, 07:45 PM
man utd will win 4-0. :evil:

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 09:31 PM
30mins to kick off! :happy:

leslielai
16-08-2003, 09:32 PM
Try not to concede any goal :bounce:

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 10:52 PM
great goal! but defend still very suspect....y nolan was free??! if he jus turn and shoot w his left leg....that will be surely be a goal....:rolleyes:

RVN
16-08-2003, 10:53 PM
Someone need to shore up the defence, we wasn't playing well though maybe have to bring on Ronaldo in the 2nd half.

hacktic
16-08-2003, 10:55 PM
bad show by rio ferdy. just look at his marking when kevin davies shot over tim howard

and his poor pass when he was "attacking"

guoquanyap
16-08-2003, 11:04 PM
defend were slping...maybe most of them are carrying injures....:rolleyes:

anyway dun take credit away fr giggs...great goal....but ask him dun always slip can?;)

ccloh
16-08-2003, 11:04 PM
predict 2-0 to utd :D

scorer:

RVN + scholes
or
RVN + giggs
or
RVN + ole

half time score 1-0 and giggs scored.

half time my prediction also half correct :D

RuMmYtUb
17-08-2003, 12:00 AM
RVN made history and C.Ronaldo had a fantastic debut, Djemba was great so too was Howard..
not to mention my fav. Giggsy... Our future looks bright !

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:06 AM
great buy! rONAldo and eric! ronaldo footwork is excellent somemore he can use both foot...can play right/left/centre.....awsome! :eek:

kengbeng
17-08-2003, 12:06 AM
Cristiano Ronaldo made all the difference in the second half. He's becoming a fan favourite already.

RuMmYtUb
17-08-2003, 12:07 AM
Cristiano Ronaldo made all the difference in the second half. He's becoming a fan favourite already.

I gonna print his name liao !

RuMmYtUb
17-08-2003, 12:09 AM
Oh we Kleberson nv got his start

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:09 AM

he is really amazing...he can take some load off giggs....;)

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:11 AM
Oh we Kleberson nv got his start

yeah match...maybe will start on the right...keano and eric in centre looks good! ;)

leslielai
17-08-2003, 12:13 AM
We've got an answer for our right flank !

RuMmYtUb
17-08-2003, 12:15 AM

yeah match...maybe will start on the right...keano and eric in centre looks good! ;)

Djemba is very solid... somemore only 22

RuMmYtUb
17-08-2003, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by leslielai
We've got an answer for our right flank !

This guy will be better than Zidane

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:19 AM

This guy will be better than Zidane

hopefully so ;) but he still hav to prove it over time....;)

RuMmYtUb
17-08-2003, 12:19 AM

hopefully so ;) but he still hav to prove it over time....;)

Hehe anyway this guy's got time on his side

pale
17-08-2003, 12:25 AM
I cannot wait to see kelberson in action. Sup to be better then Djemba. Damn....Djemba alreadi looks damn good. Ronaldo is great. Skillful..got pace and can play on both flanks. Howard made a few good saves. Giggs shows that Beck's freekicks are not missed. RVN never gave up and scored. Even Forlan is showing some good vision...

BUT..defence is looking shaky man. If Bolton's striker a bit more steady. At least let in 3 goals.

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:28 AM
ya defend really make my heart jump out man!....hopefully fergie will bring in somemore class defender......going to watch the match replay later on....;)

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by pale
I cannot wait to see kelberson in action. Sup to be better then Djemba. Damn....Djemba alreadi looks damn good. Ronaldo is great. Skillful..got pace and can play on both flanks. Howard made a few good saves. Giggs shows that Beck's freekicks are not missed. RVN never gave up and scored. Even Forlan is showing some good vision...

BUT..defence is looking shaky man. If Bolton's striker a bit more steady. At least let in 3 goals.

giggs freekick was really Class....totally fool the keeper...maybe kleberson will start nx wk ahead of ole....;)

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 12:39 AM
never watch.. :sad:

dredd
17-08-2003, 12:40 AM
never watch.. :sad:

y never watch??

Ronaldo's dribblin skills quite good eh...
i think giggs got new best fren liaoz...

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:43 AM

y never watch??

ya he can take some loads off giggs....

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 12:44 AM

y never watch??

i think giggs got new best fren liaoz... no scv lehz..
anyway, if ronaldo dribbling good, then sure giggs best fren..
unlike david who?

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 12:44 AM
can imagine giggs bellion ronaldo all dribble.. :rolleyes:

pyu
17-08-2003, 12:46 AM
I think Djemba-Djemba should start ahead of Butt - his passing is certainly better and he really looks very comfortable in that holding position. OMFG, Kleberson haven't even played yet! :o

I think SAF will give Cristiano Ronaldo some breathing space. He is, after all, only 18 years old - although older than Rooney! Definitely showed composure and class on the ball today. Most excellent number seven. Guess he will become a fans' favorite after today. :)

Tim Howard! Timmy did well today. Even Lady Luck seems to be with him - the cross bar saved him too. :D

guoquanyap

bellion still need to improve....his performace after his debut had been indifferent.....;)

dredd

can imagine if they had signed Kaka?

:eek:

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:48 AM
Originally posted by pyu
I think Djemba-Djemba should start ahead of Butt - his passing is certainly better and he really looks very comfortable in that holding position. OMFG, Kleberson haven't even played yet! :o

I think SAF will give Cristiano Ronaldo some breathing space. He is, after all, only 18 years old - although older than Rooney! Definitely showed composure and class on the ball today. Most excellent number seven. Guess he will become a fans' favorite after today. :)

Tim Howard! Timmy did well today. Even Lady Luck seems to be with him - the cross bar saved him too. :D

manutd.com voted him MoM the match.....;) haiz....our defend is still a problem.....

guru
17-08-2003, 12:49 AM
actually i think that rio + oshea in centre quite steady

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 12:49 AM

can imagine if they had signed Kaka?

:eek: and diego? :eek:

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:51 AM
kaka already sign by AC milan for 7million pound onli.....:mad:

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 12:52 AM
kaka already sign by AC milan for 7million pound onli.....:mad: serious? since when?

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 12:53 AM
serious? since when?

last few wks lor...read the ACmilan forum thread

dredd
17-08-2003, 12:54 AM
serious? since when?

haven't u heard?....so sad....AC Milan really buy him cheap!!! argh!

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 12:55 AM
damn. nvm lah, ask SAF sign diego and robinho. :eek:

orca_sea
17-08-2003, 12:58 AM

y never watch??

Realli his dribbling damn good cnt imagine Beckham doin tat in the past..hahaha now the devils' attack has more flow in their attack liao.. esp if those who hav watched the 2nd half.. itz simply breathtaking :o

wes
17-08-2003, 01:04 AM
if quaresma signs for man utd i think they will be even better in a few yrs time....

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=65442.html

Why United let prodigy go

Stuart Brennan

MANCHESTER United turned down the chance to sign Portuguese wonder kid Ricardo Quaresma from Sporting Lisbon.

The flying 19-year-old winger was widely seen as a United target in the summer - and has since been snapped up by Barcelona.

And his move to the Catalan club had some United fans questioning the worth of United's agreement with Sporting.

But chief executive Peter Kenyon has revealed United DID have an option to pursue the man who, along with new Reds signing Cristiano Ronaldo, destroyed England's defence in the under-21 international between the two sides last season.

"We had the option to look at Quaresma and we decided he wasn't what we were looking for at that time," said Kenyon, who feels the signing of Cristiano Ronaldo, and the development of John O'Shea, are ample proof that United's global strategy is working.

The £12.24m signing of Ronaldo was greatly helped by the agreement with Lisbon, giving United the jump on competition that included Liverpool, Inter Milan, Barcelona and Juventus.

And Kenyon also points to the part that the agreement with Royal Antwerp has played in the development of O'Shea - he returned to Old Trafford a different player after spending a season with the Belgian club.

Productive

Said Kenyon: "The Royal Antwerp agreement has already been working extremely well for us in terms of giving some of our players a platform on which to play regular, competitive football.

"John O'Shea was over there and we saw the fruit of that when he came back.

"This signing of young Ronaldo has worked really well - so the Sporting Lisbon link has borne fruit much earlier than we thought it would."

The Sporting nursery, re-vamped by former United assistant Carlos Queiroz in the 90s, is one of the most productive in the world, throwing up established stars like Luis Figo, Rui Costa and Joao Pinto as well as the new breed of Cristiano Ronaldo, Quaresma, new Spurs signing Helder Postiga and Newcastle midfielder Hugo Viana.

And Ronaldo is seen as something special even amongst such exalted company.

Added Kenyon: "At 18 we have made an investment in him - and that is exactly what it is. We do think that he has the ability and we have the stage and the experience to bring on that sort of talent.

"No doubt about it, he is one of the best young talents in Europe, so this is a long-term investment.

"He has many years ahead of him in a United shirt and that is to the benefit of the player and of the club."

The Reds were mindful this summer of the fact that the youthful team that swept all before it in the 90s is showing signs of age - and that swayed their thinking when it came to bringing in new players this summer.

Said Kenyon: "Lowering the age of the squad is an ongoing process, and it is important that we keep the age profile of the squad in our mind.

"One of the jobs Alex and I have got is to ensure that Manchester United continue to be successful and nobody can afford, in one year, to replace the talent we have - not just in money terms but in regard to players available.

"This year we have done a great job on that front."

But players like Ronaldo, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Tim Howard and David Bellion are not just future prospects - they are straight into the reckoning for the first team, insists Kenyon.

Acid test

"Youth is never held back here. We won with kids in 1996, and anyone who the ability will get into our team," he said.

And those players also passed an acid test which was failed by Ronaldinho when the Reds were, together with Barcelona, in hot pursuit of the Brazilian superstar.

Said Kenyon: "There isn't a player that comes to us that we haven't looked in the eye to find out why he wants to come, and that was one of the issues we had with Ronaldinho.

"We weren't convinced he would go the extra mile for us, and that is what we are looking for.

"With every player we have signed this year, as in previous years, we have that commitment and this week's two new signings will add to the hunger as well as the quality we have got."

Kenyon added: "I think we are now in a really good position. We have strengthened the squad in terms of numbers, we have strengthened it in terms of quality in what we were looking for, and we have got the age profile down.

"We have also done good business from a financial point of view and no-one around here is down- trodden about where we will be this year.

"We have a great squad in place and the mood is fabulous - our friendlies have demonstrated where we are as a team."

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 01:06 AM
i prefer ronaldo over ricado....ronaldo is faster and and not as kua lan as him....;)

NanDesKa
17-08-2003, 01:09 AM
i prefer ronaldo over ricado....ronaldo is faster and and not as kua lan as him....;) that ricardo very guailan?

pyu
17-08-2003, 01:12 AM
If you watch the US tour, you would have seen Ricardo Quaresma in action ... and well, he's likes to take a tumble and moan now and then...

demon_
17-08-2003, 01:15 AM
Ronaldo is amazing!....just now at pub watch, all the ppl there just shout "WOAN~!" each time he do the stepover and twisting...

guoquanyap
17-08-2003, 01:21 AM
Originally posted by pyu
If you watch the US tour, you would have seen Ricardo Quaresma in action ... and well, he's likes to take a tumble and moan now and then...

ya seem like u took notice too....;)