PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

guoquanyap
29-08-2003, 01:04 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
something very interesting, the time when utd won the treble, the CL also dont hv the 2nd grp stage and it is just pure knockout from 2nd phase onwards, now they are reverting back to the old format.

is that a sign that it is utd yr again ??? :bounce: :bounce:

but that yr we lost the CS to arsenal 3-0....but this yr we won.....;)

Dolphin1977
29-08-2003, 01:04 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

Yeah. :bounce: :bounce:

MU bought a new striker dwight yorke that yr when they won the treble...
this year they bgt ronaldo.... too much coincidence huh?:D

Dolphin1977
29-08-2003, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

but that yr we lost the CS to arsenal 3-0....but this yr we won.....;)

this mean we are more determine to conquer all the competition mah...

guoquanyap
29-08-2003, 01:10 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

this mean we are more determine to conquer all the competition mah...

well hopefully we can conquer Europe again....;)

ccloh
29-08-2003, 01:28 PM
Europe the RED DEVILS is HERE :evil:

Yellowfin
29-08-2003, 01:35 PM
As fans we can be complacent but I hope that the players don't be too complacent in the CL.

I remember one time, Man U is the favorite in the semi-final and we end up losing it. Then the team that beat us go on to the final and win in the final.

RVN
29-08-2003, 01:45 PM
Lets hope this is a good omen for us, ah well, lets not get carried away though, one match at a time.

guoquanyap
29-08-2003, 01:45 PM
As fans we can be complacent but I hope that the players don't be too complacent in the CL.

I remember one time, Man U is the favorite in the semi-final and we end up losing it. Then the team that beat us go on to the final and win in the final.

i think u are refering to Borussia Dortmund....i still remeber Cantona miss a very gd chance.....:(

guoquanyap
29-08-2003, 01:47 PM
anyway.....Ruud was named as the best striker in Europe by UEFA.....

http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20030823/rvnceleb_nsimpson.jpg

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=275400&cc=5739

RVN
29-08-2003, 01:51 PM
congratualation Ruud.:)

ccloh
29-08-2003, 04:47 PM
anyway.....Ruud was named as the best striker in Europe by UEFA.....

http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20030823/rvnceleb_nsimpson.jpg

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=275400&cc=5739

yap good for utd and hope he can equal or better his performance this season

RVN
29-08-2003, 05:17 PM
Paul Scholes is set to be included in the Manchester United squad to face Southampton at St Mary's on Sunday, even though he requires a hernia operation.

Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed the midfielder will need surgery and is likely to enter hospital next week in an attempt to ensure he is fit for the Champions League double-header with Rangers.

Rio Ferdinand (virus), Mikael Silvestre (groin) and Ryan Giggs (tight hamstring) all hope to return after failing to start the midweek win over Wolves, although neither Nicky Butt (ankle) nor Quinton Fortune (thigh) are expected to play.

ccloh
29-08-2003, 06:06 PM
really hope to see the 3 new signing involved again to prove their worth. a mixture of old and new players will be nice. think roy keane will be at the back of the defence again.

StormTrooper
29-08-2003, 06:10 PM
really hope to see the 3 new signing involved again to prove their worth. a mixture of old and new players will be nice. think roy keane will be at the back of the defence again.

i rather see keano in midfield where his presence is needed. :cool:

ccloh
29-08-2003, 06:24 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

i rather see keano in midfield where his presence is needed. :cool:

looking at the status of our defenders, not much choice we hv right :(

RVN
29-08-2003, 06:38 PM

Rio and Silvestre will play at the back, should recover from their minor injuries, Keane should play in central midfield, this will be scholesy last game before he has his hernia operation.:(

StormTrooper
29-08-2003, 07:56 PM

looking at the status of our defenders, not much choice we hv right :(

i thought gary neville is coming back? imo, the most important area is midfield, not the defense. if you dominate the midfield, the defenders won't be under so much pressure so won't make so many mistakes.

RVN
29-08-2003, 09:46 PM

i thought gary neville is coming back? imo, the most important area is midfield, not the defense. if you dominate the midfield, the defenders won't be under so much pressure so won't make so many mistakes.

Gary has already recoved, he play against Wolves in mid-week.

RuMmYtUb
29-08-2003, 10:17 PM

Our wingers cannot drift too wide like the match against wolves if not there'll be a shortage of cover for Keano/Kleberson and Djemba

RVN
29-08-2003, 10:26 PM
much improved team southampton, should be a tough battle. I think Fergie should bring back all the key players back to the side that either didn't start the wolves games or were injured. Keane should go back playing in central midfield. Its Scholesy last game before his 2 months absence. :(

stks311
29-08-2003, 11:22 PM
Wth the absence of Scholes, who play behind Ruud?
I'll pick Giggs. Ronaldo left wing. If Ronaldo fail to do well, Forlan behind Ruud, Giggs play left.

What do you think?

guoquanyap
30-08-2003, 12:47 AM
scholes is such important to us...he is the link between midfield and Ruud....unless Ronaldo show the form he show during bolton, giggs will hav alot to do during scholes absence......

kleberson still hav alot to catch up and adapt to english football whereas Eric has done very well along side Keano.....

RVN
30-08-2003, 12:52 AM
How about Bellion, are we only buying him to keep him on the bench.:confused:

guoquanyap
30-08-2003, 12:55 AM
Originally posted by RVN
How about Bellion, are we only buying him to keep him on the bench.:confused:

he onli 20yr old leh...he's one for the future....put him on the sub bench and sub him in during second half to gain some experince.....;)

RVN
30-08-2003, 01:00 AM
scholes is such important to us...he is the link between midfield and Ruud....unless Ronaldo show the form he show during bolton, giggs will hav alot to do during scholes absence......

kleberson still hav alot to catch up and adapt to english football whereas Eric has done very well along side Keano.....

Giggs will have to take Scholes position and be the link-up man for Ruud then. I think Ronaldo might also get his chance to play on the left and Ole on the right.

guoquanyap
30-08-2003, 01:28 AM
http://www.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics03_04/england/manutd/ronaldo_jump.jpg

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=161087&Title=Parma+reveal+Ronaldo+bid

derrace
30-08-2003, 01:44 AM
when's the next match?

:angel:

guoquanyap
30-08-2003, 01:47 AM
Originally posted by derrace
when's the next match?

:angel:

this sunday 8.55pm ESPN away to Saints....St Mary Stadium.....Stay tune....;)

cracker
30-08-2003, 08:37 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Paul Scholes is set to be included in the Manchester United squad to face Southampton at St Mary's on Sunday, even though he requires a hernia operation.

Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed the midfielder will need surgery and is likely to enter hospital next week in an attempt to ensure he is fit for the Champions League double-header with Rangers.

Rio Ferdinand (virus), Mikael Silvestre (groin) and Ryan Giggs (tight hamstring) all hope to return after failing to start the midweek win over Wolves, although neither Nicky Butt (ankle) nor Quinton Fortune (thigh) are expected to play.

Scholes will play this weekend, afterwhich he will have his operation thus ruling him out of England's Euro Champ qualifier next week.

guoquanyap
30-08-2003, 08:42 AM
Originally posted by cracker

Scholes will play this weekend, afterwhich he will have his operation thus ruling him out of England's Euro Champ qualifier next week.

tricky match away to st mary.....the new strikeforce of kevin and bettie very dangerous.....

ccloh
30-08-2003, 01:36 PM

tricky match away to st mary.....the new strikeforce of kevin and bettie very dangerous.....

i think it is the saints that should be worried. i think we kn that whenever man utd played poorly in 1 match, their next match will like basically doing a slaughtering of their opponent. they did poorly against wolves and kn they will feel the need to slaughter the saints.

RVN
30-08-2003, 06:05 PM
ALEX FERGUSON is to begin talks with Manchester United on a new four-year contract worth £20million.

The Old Trafford boss and club chief executive Peter Kenyon have already held discussions over a new deal.

Now the details will be pieced together over the next few months in time for Fergie to put pen to paper ahead of the second half of this season.

He is the top-paid manager in England on £3.5m a year.

But the package will rise by £1.5m a year taking in wages and bonuses.

United are keen to get the deal sorted out before the summer when he will only have one year on his present contract left.

Ferguson is also determined not to go into the final year of his present deal with any doubts over his future.

Despite having spent 17 years as boss, the board are aware that there are plenty of clubs who will want him if they do not sort out a new contract.

They know Real Madrid tried to sound him out through a third party last season.

Ferguson, 61, is ready to stay at Old Trafford despite having initially planned to retire at the end of last season.

His family, plus a chat with Newcastle boss Bobby Robson, persuaded him he was fit and strong enough to carry on at Old Trafford for many years to come.

That decision proved right when last season the club regained the title after a stunning comeback to overhaul Arsenal.

The biggest signal Fergie was ready to stay on came this summer when he started to buy in a new breed of young players to construct another team at Old Trafford.

United face Southampton looking for a fourth win on the trot having had their best start to a Premiership campaign.

And Fergie will have to decide what blend of youth and experience he uses at St Mary’s.

He almost came unstuck on Wednesday night in the 1-0 home win over Wolves when he put all his summer signings on show.

But England star Gary Neville insists the new young breed coming through can be as successful as the class of 92 which won the FA Youth Cup and went on to become the backbone of the team.

Neville said: “This new group will strike up a friendship. They have come in young to a new club in the same way we had to bond from growing up at Old Trafford.

“The new players have lifted the dressing-room and lifted training.”

kengbeng
30-08-2003, 06:10 PM
Make no mistake. Southampton are no pushovers, and we can see what happened in the midweek game against Wolves when the team is complacent.

Hope we nick a good away win to continue our streak. :)

RVN
30-08-2003, 06:11 PM
Of course it never easy against saints, we have to play to our strength and ability to beat them.

stam
30-08-2003, 06:19 PM
tonite arsenal playing???

Kiwi8
30-08-2003, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by stam

Arsenal playing tomorrow.

RVN
30-08-2003, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by stam

tomorrow against city. ;)

OreoCookies
30-08-2003, 10:50 PM
Latest scorelines from EPL matches - 30 August 2003 @ 1050hrs... :)

Aston Villa 3-0 Leicester
Bolton 0-0 Charlton
Chelsea 0-1 Blackburn :eek: :eek: :eek:
Middlesbrough 0-1 Leeds
Newcastle 0-0 Birmingham
Tottenham 0-1 Fulham
Wolverhampton 0-0 Portsmouth

kengbeng
30-08-2003, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies

Chelsea 0-1 Blackburn :eek: :eek: :eek:

Courtesy of our former goal king Cole. :cool:

OreoCookies
30-08-2003, 10:53 PM
HT update...

Adrian Mutu scores the second goal of his Chelsea career to level against Blackburn... :(

HT Aston Villa 3-0 Leicester
HT Bolton 0-0 Charlton
HT Chelsea 1-1 Blackburn
HT Middlesbrough 0-1 Leeds
HT Newcastle 0-0 Birmingham
HT Tottenham 0-1 Fulham
HT Wolverhampton 0-0 Portsmouth

leslielai
30-08-2003, 10:53 PM
Adrian Mutu looks good :(

OreoCookies
30-08-2003, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by leslielai
Adrian Mutu looks good :(

Yeah manz... He could become the next Cantona of the EPL with his skills & vision... Too bad he playing for one of our rivals... :(

kengbeng
30-08-2003, 11:22 PM
Andy Cole 2 Chelski 1 :D

yaoxing
30-08-2003, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng

2-2 liao.... Hasselbaink score penalty

kengbeng
30-08-2003, 11:23 PM
Now back to 2-2. :mad:

StormTrooper
30-08-2003, 11:26 PM
i'm sure more goals are coming.

OreoCookies
30-08-2003, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng

Whoa... :eek:

Andy Cole revival for Blackburn sia... Good to know one of our alumni is doing well... :D

RuMmYtUb
31-08-2003, 12:01 AM

Whoa... :eek:

Andy Cole revival for Blackburn sia... Good to know one of our alumni is doing well... :D

Actually he and Yorke are gd.. juz that SAF wanna reduce the average of the squad was part of the reason why they were sold...

OreoCookies
31-08-2003, 12:04 AM
Full-Time scores for Saturday's matches are as listed below... :)

FT Aston Villa 3-1 Leicester
FT Bolton 0-0 Charlton
FT Chelsea 2-2 Blackburn
FT Middlesbrough 2-3 Leeds
FT Newcastle 0-1 Birmingham
FT Tottenham 0-3 Fulham
FT Wolverhampton 0-0 Portsmouth

Credit to Blackburn for holding Chelsea to a thrilling draw... :D

Fulham really stunned Glenn Hoddle with three goals at White Hart Lane... :rolleyes:

And Wolves finally get their first EPL point of this season at home against Portsmouth... :bounce:

OreoCookies
31-08-2003, 12:08 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

Actually he and Yorke are gd.. juz that SAF wanna reduce the average of the squad was part of the reason why they were sold...

Cole was quite inconsistent actually... Compared to RVN, he's still a little prone to mistakes... :(

As for Yorke, I reckon he was sold because of his wild nightlife... More personal than professional, a la David Beckham... :rolleyes:

ccloh
31-08-2003, 08:53 AM

Cole was quite inconsistent actually... Compared to RVN, he's still a little prone to mistakes... :(

As for Yorke, I reckon he was sold because of his wild nightlife... More personal than professional, a la David Beckham... :rolleyes:

cole took too many chances to turn into goals to

OreoCookies
31-08-2003, 10:12 AM
Some updates on the Man Utd alumni... :D

Becks scores the very first La Liga goal of the new season on his Spanish league debut, side-footing home a pass after a beautiful one-two between Raul & Ronaldo... Real eventually won the match 2-1 against Real Betis... :)

Becks Make Dream La Liga Start - Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=275700&cc=4716)

leslielai
31-08-2003, 10:27 AM
He's winning the favor of the Real fans .. good to know that.

OreoCookies
31-08-2003, 10:32 AM
Former Manchester United star Gordon Strachan takes on old adversary Sir Alex Ferguson at St Mary's Stadium believing his Southampton side have rediscovered the hunger which took them to the FA Cup final and eighth place in the Premiership.

Strachan's Southampton have begun the season with three draws, two goalless, but their determined performance at Leeds in midweek has lifted the spirits of the Saints boss.

Strachan said: "We were more like our old selves at Leeds . We adopted a more high tempo approach and were hard to beat again.

"We were much more hungry and we will get even better. It was more like the Southampton of old.

"We worked hard and had more desire and we are going to need that against Manchester United because we are playing They can beat the best on their day.

"This is a fantastic test for us but we always feel like we can give them a good game at any time.

"All we can do is wok extremely hard and hope for a bit of luck but our fans must realise that we have a lot of new players in the team and it takes time for them to settle."

Strachan added: "There is a whole new left side and then of course Kevin Phillips has come into the squad. A big chunk of the team is new.

"I am still not decided what is my best midfield and there is a difficult decision to make about the goalkeeper. But I have been in that position before.

"As for Manchester United, I don't know whether I am excited or apprehensive. I know I will be excited if we win."

Goalkeeper Antti Niemi and midfielder Chris Marsden are in contention to make their first appearances this season as Southampton prepare for the visit of Barclaycard Premiership champions Manchester United on Sunday.

Niemi and Marsden both missed pre-season with knee injuries but made successful comebacks for the reserves against West Ham in midweek.

Swedish international Anders Svensson is expected to be recalled in midfield with Rory Delap out for a fortnight with a damaged ankle.

Paul Scholes is set to be included in the Manchester United squad even though he requires a hernia operation.

Nicky Butt (ankle) and Quinton Fortune (thigh) are hoping to play after recovering sufficiently from injury to return to training. Mikael Silvestre will be fit after overcoming a groin problem and Rio Ferdinand, despite being unable to train all week due to a virus, and Ryan Giggs (tight hamstring) also hope to return.

RuMmYtUb
31-08-2003, 02:34 PM
Hope Man Utd wins !

RVN
31-08-2003, 04:16 PM
United will be without two key first team figures for the clash with Southampton at St Mary’s on Sunday.
Paul Scholes and Rio Ferdinand have both been forced out of United’s fourth Premiership fixture of the season due to injury.
Scholes has been troubled by a hernia problem in recent weeks and with the prospect of surgery looming large, Reds boss Sir Alex Ferguson has decided to rest the player in a last ditch attempt to avoid losing Scholes for anything up to a month.
Should surgery be required, United would be without Scholes for the opening Champions League fixture with Panathinaikos on 16 September and the crunch match against Arsenal in the Premiership five days later.
ManUtd.com can confirm that Sir Alex Ferguson would like to use the next week to give Paul time to rest up and hopefully avoid surgery and a subsequent month-long lay-off.
Rio Ferdinand is another absentee from the squad to take on Gordon Strachan’s Southampton as United attempt to make it four wins out of four, and claim top spot before Arsenal take on Manchester City in the Sunday evening slot.
Ferdinand has not trained all week due to sickness. And having missed United’s 1-0 midweek win over Wolves at Old Trafford, Rio will again miss out against the Saints

Thats bad news. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
31-08-2003, 05:21 PM
Wah sianz no Scholesy is already a big blow... now no Rio...... zzzzzz

RipperJack
31-08-2003, 05:26 PM
Wah sianz no Scholesy is already a big blow... now no Rio...... zzzzzz didn't man u always perform better when the key players were out? ;)

RVN
31-08-2003, 06:14 PM
Wah sianz no Scholesy is already a big blow... now no Rio...... zzzzzz

O'Shea and Silvestre will play in the central defence then with Gary on the right, Phil on the left.

ccloh
31-08-2003, 06:20 PM
Originally posted by RipperJack
didn't man u always perform better when the key players were out? ;)

last season when key players like keane, rio, etc all out due to injuries scholes played in those matches and perform superbly

RVN
31-08-2003, 06:24 PM

last season when key players like keane, rio, etc all out due to injuries scholes played in those matches and perform superbly

Its now up to the likes of Keane and Giggs to do that now, maybe the new kid Ronaldo will get his chance to shine for us too.

RuMmYtUb
31-08-2003, 10:58 PM
Sianz lost 1-0 to Saints.... really lacked cutting edge of Scholes of Solskjaer :(

genesis113
31-08-2003, 11:05 PM
Nothing more to say.
The Saints deserved the victory.
Again, United exposed the problem in handling the setpieces, especially the aerial section. They usually lost in the battle of the high crosses in the penalty area.

Sigh.......

Yellowfin
31-08-2003, 11:15 PM
Oh well, we lost at an away game. :(

I feel that the new players and the existing players need to work hard on understanding each other in the game and the Southhampton players really work very hard to close down RVN and around the penalty area.

StormTrooper
31-08-2003, 11:16 PM
what to do, we gotta pick up from here. i'm sure we'll do better next time.

ccloh
31-08-2003, 11:16 PM
sigh lost the 1st match of the season. cant believe they lost

cracker
31-08-2003, 11:24 PM

based on this morning performance plus the number of walking injuries as mentioned in soccernet.....Utd needs to produce real magic to earn another 3 pts.

no magic,,,thoroughly deserved to be beaten by a hardworking southampton.

OreoCookies
31-08-2003, 11:28 PM
Kudos to Strachan & his Saints... Well, at least someone related to Man Utd did end-up on a winning high... :(

I guess all the expectations placed on the team after their successful USA tour - together with the promise provided by the new signings - placed a lot of undue pressure on them... Hopefully they can recover from this defeat & bounce back stronger than ever sia...

hacktic
31-08-2003, 11:32 PM
who's the unlucky team to face the manU backlash :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

kengbeng
31-08-2003, 11:38 PM
No worries guys. Still early in the season. I think cracker is somewhat right in saying that it is better to lose early than later.

cracker
31-08-2003, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by hacktic
who's the unlucky team to face the manU backlash :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

next game should be charlton followed by arsenal//

a backlash ?....doubt so..utd always go into a a period of slump b4 waking up in autumn..

hacktic
31-08-2003, 11:49 PM

a backlash ?....doubt so..utd always go into a a period of slump b4 waking up in autumn.. charlton looks like a whipping team =p

kengbeng
31-08-2003, 11:49 PM

a backlash ?....doubt so..utd always go into a a period of slump b4 waking up in autumn..
Yah. Better to slump earlier than later in the season.
Hope this slump won't be for long though.

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 12:10 AM
Perhaps itz important that we check our own words too though... I mean, itz good to be confident about the team, but to predict a huge scoreline in favour of Man Utd shouldn't be the right thing to do... :rolleyes:

The quality of the EPL is improving... Even the mid-table teams can attract quality players such as Geremi, Mendieta, Dino Baggio (even if itz only on-loan)... So no match is a certain walk-over for any team now... :(

dredd
01-09-2003, 12:11 AM
funny that some teams really play damn well when they are playing against manyoo.....

:rolleyes:

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by dredd
funny that some teams really play damn well when they are playing against manyoo.....

Yeah manz... I was pretty confident of a victory against Southampton actually... 1-0, 2-0, it didn't matter, as long as we get the victory... :(

Seems like I thought too soon... I almost forgot how teams can really react when they play us... :o

cracker
01-09-2003, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by dredd

to some teams,,,beating utd is the next best alternative to winning the title....ask those at merseyside and at Man City.

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 12:40 AM

to some teams,,,beating utd is the next best alternative to winning the title....ask those at merseyside and at Man City.

:laugh:

Well, we're after all the current incumbents of the EPL... :)

But there's always Arsenal, & the new-look Chelsea as well, that we have to contend with... :rolleyes:

ralliart_ray
01-09-2003, 12:46 AM
:(

RuMmYtUb
01-09-2003, 02:27 AM

Yeah manz... I was pretty confident of a victory against Southampton actually... 1-0, 2-0, it didn't matter, as long as we get the victory... :(

Seems like I thought too soon... I almost forgot how teams can really react when they play us... :o

Wonder why they aren't so motivated when they're playing against ARSEnal.....

RuMmYtUb
01-09-2003, 02:29 AM
The new players are showing that they're not really settling well.... Djemba still give ball away during crucial part of the field, and Kleberson looks lost and not natural at right wing at St Mary's.
Think Fergie need a quality defender and a natural right winger, no natural width at the right compared to Giggs on the left... :(

pyu
01-09-2003, 06:56 AM
Giggs wasn't playing well either... haiz...

ccloh
01-09-2003, 09:02 AM
there is always a tomorrow and it is not the 1st time utd is facing this kind of situation. with fergie still very much hungry for success and title, there bound to be some "talkings" from him to the players. perhaps an assistant manager would be gd to add in to assist him in managing and coaching the team

Yellowfin
01-09-2003, 09:31 AM
As long as we don't lose more than 4 games in the whole season, we still have a chance to win the EPL title.

Hopefully, Arsenal lose more game than us this season. :D

RuMmYtUb
01-09-2003, 10:14 AM
As long as we don't lose more than 4 games in the whole season, we still have a chance to win the EPL title.

Hopefully, Arsenal lose more game than us this season. :D

but they're winning..

Yellowfin
01-09-2003, 10:19 AM

but they're winning..

You mean they will not lose a single game the whole season. If it so, then they deserve to win the EPL title. :D

swordy84
01-09-2003, 10:38 AM
United really have to do something about the up front, now with the absence of Scholes, something is really missing up front... no one seems reliable enough to create chances. RVN only had like one goal attempt last night if I didn't remember wrongly.

vivre
01-09-2003, 11:01 AM
..utd always go into a a period of slump b4 waking up in autumn..

Erm... Only 1 loss.. Not considered slump, right? ;)

cracker
01-09-2003, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by vivre

Erm... Only 1 loss.. Not considered slump, right? ;)

at their rate they are going,,,,it will definitely be slump.

Dumb_Terminal
01-09-2003, 12:49 PM
Originally posted by swordy84
United really have to do something about the up front, now with the absence of Scholes, something is really missing up front... no one seems reliable enough to create chances.

RVN only had like one goal attempt last night if I didn't remember wrongly. Dunno why He Seems Out of Shape & Really Our Of Place.... :wobble:.

ccloh
01-09-2003, 01:07 PM
Originally posted by Dumb_Terminal
Dunno why He Seems Out of Shape & Really Our Of Place.... :wobble:.[/COLOR]

at the start of last season, he also out of form and took him quite some match later then start to go on scoring form. give him some time. it is just only 4 matches old for this season.

RVN
01-09-2003, 01:13 PM

at their rate they are going,,,,it will definitely be slump.

No, it isn't, it still early in the season, but the performances against saints were bad though. :(

RVN
01-09-2003, 01:14 PM
Manchester United's Brazilian midfielder Kleberson has dislocated his shoulder, ManUtd.com can confirm.

Kleberson fell awkwardly under a challenge against Southampton on Sunday and was forced off early in the second half, to be replaced by Cristiano Ronaldo.

The midfielder was then taken to hospital for an X-ray, where it was revealed the £5.93million signing had suffered a dislocation of his right shoulder.

The news is desperately disappointing for Kleberson who was making only his second Premiership start for United.

From the evidence of his first two displays for United, it appeared the World Cup winner may take slightly longer to settle in English football than his fellow summer arrivals. But Kleberson would have proved a valuable member of the squad considering that Paul Scholes is facing time on the sidelines with a hernia problem. Now Kleberson too will be unavailable for selection in the near future.

wow ****, so unlucky, no Scholes and now no Kleberson. :mad:

nardd
01-09-2003, 01:57 PM
guys. http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?threadid=549455

lamer down there

Yellowfin
01-09-2003, 02:00 PM
Ignore him lah. The more people reply to the thread the more attention he will get. And the more crap post he will post.

A true blue football fans will not post crap post, they enjoy watching good football especially if their fav team win. :D

nardd
01-09-2003, 02:03 PM
but i hate ungentlemanly ppl like him
i dun like man utd, but i certainly dun dislike them either.
im more of a pool fan. dun flame me!

RVN
01-09-2003, 02:08 PM
Originally posted by nardd

So pool also hasn't exactly made a great start either, so just 1 loss and now **** abuse dished out at us. Just show disgracful and pathetic low-life lamers are here. :mad:

NanDesKa
01-09-2003, 02:19 PM
w00t.
dateline over.

RVN
01-09-2003, 03:52 PM
It was a very bad game indeed, no doubt about that. I was shaking my head due to various reasons. However, so far, this is one lost game and not a 'problem'.

It's evident, and has been for quite some time, that Scholes is very important when we're attacking. We'll miss him a great deal, but hopefully the new players will start to gel. I seriously believe it's very inappropiate for us to sign players as late as we've done - for whatever reason. They didn't have much time to play with the regular first team, but hopefully it'll all get better.
I sincerely hope our new players will be able to make a difference, but it's hard and will be hard. They're rather young players and are bought to make for a future team rather than have an immediate impact. We all know that, but we're accustomed to great play by United.

the fact that it took a needlessly given away corner and a soft goal to beat us that probly wouldn't be conceeded with rio back there, in a game where we were very sluggish means its not all bad, djemba2's passing touch will come once he's settled in and same goes for kleberson, the guy's a world cup winner for ****s sake so he deserves a few games to get used to english football.

cracker
01-09-2003, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by RVN
It was a very bad game indeed, no doubt about that. I was shaking my head due to various reasons. However, so far, this is one lost game and not a 'problem'.

It's evident, and has been for quite some time, that Scholes is very important when we're attacking. We'll miss him a great deal, but hopefully the new players will start to gel. I seriously believe it's very inappropiate for us to sign players as late as we've done - for whatever reason. They didn't have much time to play with the regular first team, but hopefully it'll all get better.
I sincerely hope our new players will be able to make a difference, but it's hard and will be hard. They're rather young players and are bought to make for a future team rather than have an immediate impact. We all know that, but we're accustomed to great play by United.

the fact that it took a needlessly given away corner and a soft goal to beat us that probly wouldn't be conceeded with rio back there, in a game where we were very sluggish means its not all bad, djemba2's passing touch will come once he's settled in and same goes for kleberson, the guy's a world cup winner for ****s sake so he deserves a few games to get used to english football.

actually man utd had 2 bad games in a row,,,not sure if it is due to the absence of paul scholes ...
Ruud was running everywhere to get the ball..cos he wasnt receiving any ..

they were also lacked of idea in the game against wolves..kept trying to go via the centre path....there was no evidence of using the flanks cos there was no crosser available !!!

I hope kleberson will not be a veron or forlan..having a world cup winner medal count for nothing if u cant click with the rest of the team mates. His contribution in the 2 games werent felt at all.

The last time I had seen MU in such state was in the games with Man City last season.

Hopefully the one week break will do them good.

Cos Charlton and Arsenal are waiting,,not forgetting the starting of Champion League. !

ccloh
01-09-2003, 05:13 PM

it is lucky that they win over everton, their meryside rival if not GH's head sure roll. this is the passion of english football. u can loose the title but u cant loose to ur deby rival

dredd
01-09-2003, 05:46 PM

:cool:

RVN
01-09-2003, 05:53 PM
Bad bad performance...The passing was horrible, Djemba Djemba played like s***, same for Phil Neville. Forlan except for the 2 shots was bad. The only bright spot was Tim Howard. But credit to Southampton for bringing the game to United and for playing so hard. United didn't deserve the win and Southampton did, I would have accepted a draw galdly.

Scholes was sorely missed for this game,unless someone steps up to take that role, United will have hard times ahead when Scholesy goes for his hernia operation. The link between midfield and the front-line was totally absent, Forlan tried to provide the link but he is not as good in doing that as Scholes.Maybe Cristiano Ronaldo can fit into that position to link the midfield to the strikers.

No matter what, Fergie have to solve this fast before its too late.:mad:

ccloh
01-09-2003, 06:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Bad bad performance...The passing was horrible, Djemba Djemba played like s***, same for Phil Neville. Forlan except for the 2 shots was bad. The only bright spot was Tim Howard. But credit to Southampton for bringing the game to United and for playing so hard. United didn't deserve the win and Southampton did, I would have accepted a draw galdly.

Scholes was sorely missed for this game,unless someone steps up to take that role, United will have hard times ahead when Scholesy goes for his hernia operation. The link between midfield and the front-line was totally absent, Forlan tried to provide the link but he is not as good in doing that as Scholes.Maybe Cristiano Ronaldo can fit into that position to link the midfield to the strikers.

No matter what, Fergie have to solve this fast before its too late.:mad:

giggs can fill scholes role but who will fill giggs role ???

well it takes time to train some1 to fill scholes role. even scholes himself take 1 whole season to adapt to that role. hopefully SAF can resolve that b4 CL starts.

RVN
01-09-2003, 06:24 PM

giggs can fill scholes role but who will fill giggs role ???

well it takes time to train some1 to fill scholes role. even scholes himself take 1 whole season to adapt to that role. hopefully SAF can resolve that b4 CL starts.

ronaldo and I think he shouldn't be on the bench.

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 06:27 PM
Seems like the players are not really clicking into the new system in the post-Beckham era yet... :rolleyes:

Well, better the poor performances now against the weaker sides than later on against the bigger teams in the EPL & CL... :)

Have faith in the gaffer & the team guys... We've ridden through so many storms in the past, but we've always come out of it better-off, haven't we? ;)

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Hmm... Ronaldo is good at taking-on players with his mazy foot-work... But I'm not so sure about his ability to score or to put in that final pass yet... :(

He still needs some time to finalise his full repertoire of skills, so let's not rush him into the first-team so quickly... :cool:

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:29 PM
y are some of you blasting Eric?? i think he was one of the best perfomer among the new signing.....at most i think he jus gave ball away 1 time during Saint match.....

Well wat can i say....i dun think we really did that poorly but it was jus Saint played really well.....

We lacked the cutting edge and the creavitiy.....there was no service to Ruud at all....

haiz...it's okie we lost to a better team last nite on the pitch......we will can get over the dissapointment.....;)

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN

i think otherwise....i think he should remain on the bench.....;)

kengbeng
01-09-2003, 06:31 PM
y are some of you blasting Eric?? i think he was one of the best perfomer among the new signing.....at most i think he jus gave ball away 1 time during Saint match.....

Well wat can i say....i dun think we really did that poorly but it was jus Saint played really well.....

We lacked the cutting edge and the creavitiy.....there was no service to Ruud at all....

haiz...it's okie we lost to a better team last nite on the pitch......we will can get over the dissapointment.....;)
Yup. I agree.

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 06:32 PM
I think the team did badly last night more because of a lack of understanding & communication... :(

Itz still a new system that Fergie is trying out, and the players - new or old alike - will need time to sort it all out...

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:33 PM
howard did really well....he not really tested during the last 3 matches.....finally saw what he is capable......but there is still room for improvement....;)

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:34 PM
we look really great w the Black jersey!.....but we lost when we wore it....izzit a ill-omen? :D

RVN
01-09-2003, 06:34 PM

i think otherwise....i think he should remain on the bench.....;)

While, maybe But I reckon he mighh play better if he get the starting line-up. With Scholes and also Kleberson out, this might be his chance.

RVN
01-09-2003, 06:37 PM
we look really great w the Black jersey!.....but we lost when we wore it....izzit a ill-omen? :D

bad omen, black shirt on a black day for us, maybe change it to white.:)

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN

bad omen, black shirt on a black day for us, maybe change it to white.:)

Hmm... Real won the CL final against Valencia back in 2000, whilst wearing their black jersey... :rolleyes:

I don't think itz the jersey... Itz just another one of those days where things seem to go wrong from the start, that's all... :(

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:42 PM

Hmm... Real won the CL final against Valencia back in 2000, whilst wearing their black jersey... :rolleyes:

I don't think itz the jersey... Itz just another one of those days where things seem to go wrong from the start, that's all... :(

jus trying to find excuse....:blushed:

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 06:45 PM

jus trying to find excuse....:blushed:

I don't think the team needs excuses... If we played poorly bad, then we played poorly... I guess humility is the best way to go here... :o

Well, things are not going too smoothly for now... But the light beckons at the end of the dark tunnel, we'll just have to be patient & endure through the darkness for now... :)

As the saying goes, "...every dog will have its day..." ;)

RVN
01-09-2003, 06:49 PM
Rio Ferdinand is expected to join up with Sven-Goran Eriksson's England squad even though he is still being troubled by a kidney infection.

Ferdinand missed Manchester United's defeat at Southampton after failing to recover from the illness and Sir Alex Ferguson said he was due to see a specialist about the problem on Wednesday.

However, with the England party setting up a training base in Manchester ahead of their Euro 2004 double-header with Macedonia and Liechtenstein, Ferdinand has apparently been given permission to report for international duty.

The 24-year-old's United team-mate Nicky Butt should also be there even though he made only a brief substitute appearance at St Mary's Stadium as the midfielder returned from the ankle injury he sustained in England's friendly win over Croatia last month.

However, Paul Scholes has already been ruled out with a hernia problem and Eriksson knows he will also lose one of his most influential players for the crunch clash with Turkey in Istanbul next month if, as expected, Ferguson decides to send the player for surgery at the end of this week.

`There have been conversations between the Manchester United medical staff and those of the Football Association in recent days, as well as between Sven and Sir Alex Ferguson,' confirmed an FA spokesman.

`Although they were primarily about Paul Scholes, the fitness of Rio Ferdinand and Nicky Butt will also have been mentioned.'

Meanwhile, United have yet to decide whether Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson will require surgery on the shoulder he dislocated in the first half of yesterday's defeat.

The £6 million summer arrival from South America had to be helped off midway through the second half of only his second United start and is now facing at least a month on the sidelines.

In addition, Ferguson also has a looming problem with Diego Forlan, who is required by Uruguay for two World Cup qualifiers over the next 10 days, which is likely to mean he will only return to England a day before United's next league game at Charlton on September 13.

The long-term picture is looking no better for United either, with injury-plagued central defender Wes Brown scotching rumours that he could be back in action faster than expected following his second cruciate knee ligament operation.

There had been speculation that Brown could return well before the December deadline which was initially suggested after the surgery which accompanied an injury the England defender suffered at Everton on the final day of last season.

However, the 23-year-old has claimed the reports are inaccurate and, while his progress so far has been smooth, he is still in the early stages of recovery.

`The specialist said late December or early January,' he told the Manchester Evening News. `I will keep that target in my head but there is no guarantee it will be then.

`I have just moved onto running but I am not even kicking a ball yet.'

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:52 PM
haiz....everytimes injured here injured there.....:angel:

RVN
01-09-2003, 06:54 PM
**** liao, Scholes and Kleberon out for a month, Rio still troubled by a kidney infection. Now what are we goona do?:(

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN
**** liao, Scholes and Kleberon out for a month, Rio still troubled by a kidney infection. Now what are we goona do?:(

trust fergie to find the prefect solution.....;)

RVN
01-09-2003, 07:00 PM
Gary Neville insists it was not the real Manchester United that 30,000 fans and a massive audience of armchair viewers saw at Southampton crash to their first Barclaycard Premiership defeat since Boxing Day.

But manager Sir Alex Ferguson knows he will need all his famed powers of managerial magic to lift his champions' spirits and form after James Beattie's 88th-minute decider for Saints - and to prove his judgement in the transfer market has not gone suddenly pear-shaped.

Football's grizzled knight choked on defeat at St Mary's and must have felt it was just not his week after being sent off at Newcastle and savaged in former Reds star David Beckham's book.

The narrowest of victories over Wolves in midweek was barely consolation apart from the three points collected. And the deficiencies which surfaced in that game were repeated yesterday on the south coast.

United were without England pair Paul Scholes, who has now been ruled out for a month to have the third hernia operation of his career, Rio Ferdinand, who is suffering from a kidney complaint, and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer through a knee injury.

Worse still, new £6million Brazilian signing Kleberson - playing in Beckham's old right wing role - picked up the England captain's recent injury jinx and was taken off to hospital with a dislocated shoulder in the second half.

But Gary Neville, who came back to action at right back in the Wolves game after missing the start of the season with his own injury problems, said: "We know we can do much better than that - and we will.

"We have certainly got to pass it better, especially in the last third of the field but we are having to change the team around because of injuries and new faces and it is bound to take a little time.

"But of course we are confident we will bounce back from this. It is what Manchester United are famous for doing."

Ferguson was predictably bullish, too. He said: "Nobody wins or loses a title through a result at this time of the year. We are a team that takes its defeats on the chin and gets back on with the job. And we will do that again."

Yet even Ferguson had to admit: "There was nothing very inspirational out there. Southampton worked hard for the win but maybe a draw might have been a fairer result.

"When somebody scores against you at that time in the game, it is very difficult to come back and put it right."

In truth, though, Saints thoroughly deserved their success and Beattie - rewarded with a place in the watching Sven-Goran Eriksson's England squad to face Euro 2004 rivals Macedonia in Skopje on Saturday - was the most deserving of match-winners.

Only 14 minutes before his goal, it took all the athleticism of United's new American goalkeeper Tim Howard to divert Beattie's close-range header over the bar. Howard had also saved excellently from Kevin Phillips a few minutes before that.

But he was undoubtedly culpable for the vital late strike, failing to collect a Graeme Le Saux corner and letting Beattie despatch into an empty net from inside the six-yard box.

Beattie who hit 24 goals last season was never going to pass up that sort of opportunity.

Fergie did not sound too convincing when he tried to defend Howard. The manager said: "We think he took a little shove as the ball came over."

Ferguson will be more concerned, though, with the lack of fire in his midfield and, consequently, the shortage of end-product up front where last season's 44-goal man Ruud van Nistelrooy had the rare experience of finishing goalless for a second consecutive game.

Diego Forlan had the best two chances and drew impressive saves from Paul Jones both times, but Roy Keane's performance gave the impression that time and injuries might be finally catching up with him.

The alarming factor, though, was that he still looked better than new boys Kleberson and Eric Djemba-Djemba, neither of whom achieved much at all before being substituted in the second half. United fans bombarded the airwaves of radio phone-in shows after the game to slate the poor contributions of new arrivals.

Saints reproduced the performance they gave in beating Arsenal 3-2 at St Mary's last season and maybe this latest effort could be just as significant in the title race after the Gunners pulled three points clear with victory at Manchester City.

Is this the spark to set Southampton on the way to an even better season than last? Boss Gordon Strachan, Ferguson's former pupil at Aberdeen and Old Trafford but not necessarily a devotee of his fellow Scot, will not predict as much yet.

But he is is clearly hopeful after such a splendid performance.

He said: "I am delighted with how hard we worked. The more you work the luckier you get. James had maybe a bit of luck with his goal but he deserved it for all the work he put in.

"And we defended so well as a team. It wasn't panic defending. It was ordered and disciplined. I am delighted with the performance and the result. It means the season has finally started for us. And it makes the three draws we had in the first three games look half decent."

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 07:01 PM
Silvestre and O'shea did well in the centre ma...so unless they injure so it's okie.....ole not injure rite....so he still play on the right flank lor.....ronaldo/giggs left flank.....forlan/ronaldo/giggs support Ruud lor.....;)

jus 3 injury onli....not as bad as last season during NOv and Dec.....:angel:

RVN
01-09-2003, 07:04 PM
Ole got a knee injury picked up just before the match, so he didn't play, but it only a minor one, he should be okay.

I hope Rio be back for the charlton match. We still got Butt, Djemba Djemba, Ronaldo, Fortune, Ole, Keane, Giggs to replace Scholes and Kleberson. But we will have to step up a gear in our next match and need some cutting edge in our attack.

I hope Kleberson and Scholes recover soon. :)

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 07:10 PM
Hey guys, the situation isn't really that bleak... :)

On our day, we can play really, really well... That's no matter who is on the pitch & who's off it, cause what matters is that the team will never give-up... :D

Anyway, there's always hope to any difficulty, so that's something we can cling onto... ;)

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 07:14 PM
Hey guys, the situation isn't really that bleak... :)

On our day, we can play really, really well... That's no matter who is on the pitch & who's off it, cause what matters is that the team will never give-up... :D

Anyway, there's always hope to any difficulty, so that's something we can cling onto... ;)

that why i am not worry....;)

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 07:15 PM

that why i am not worry....;)

:D

Keep up with the optimism... By the looks of it, we'll need lots' of it around here... ;)

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 07:25 PM

:D

Keep up with the optimism... By the looks of it, we'll need lots' of it around here... ;)

jus quite sad that it's onli 4 matches into the new season and we hav lost....:( but right fr the start i know st mary is a very difficult place to go( arsenal lost 3-2 there too ) credit to the crowd....they were fantastic.....;)

Yellowfin
01-09-2003, 07:26 PM
Just 1 game we lost, don't have to be that down.

I have been thru Man U whole season playing in 2nd division after being relegated from 1st division.

Ch3tah_39
01-09-2003, 07:28 PM
1 game nia...
more to come..
hope man utd will get back their winning form....

By the way, Forlan had improve alot ma........:D

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
1 game nia...
more to come..
hope man utd will get back their winning form....

ya he has improve alot....but he is way too selfish!@!@ :mad:

i bet Ruud mus be scolding him all the way inside him....:mad:

he is there to pair up w Ruud but there is totally no understanding and chemsity between them....and i suspect not even friendship between them......:(

Ch3tah_39
01-09-2003, 07:34 PM

he is there to pair up w Ruud but there is totally no understanding and chemsity between them....and i suspect not even friendship between them......:(

hope they will improve lorz..;)

RVN
01-09-2003, 08:16 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

Sorry, but I dun think so, I give him credit for still making efforts at goal, but it's the lack of quality in his all-round game, especially his first touch when receiving passes and his movement off the ball, keep losing the ball far too easily, that leaves me wondering why and how. :(

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 08:26 PM

I sure hope RVN & Forlan don't end-up being constantly at loggerheads, like Sheringham & Andy Cole... :(

After all, what they do is all for the benefit of the team... Perhaps Forlan is just too eager to prove himself...

cracker
01-09-2003, 08:30 PM
Just 1 game we lost, don't have to be that down.

I have been thru Man U whole season playing in 2nd division after being relegated from 1st division.

that was almost 30 yrs ago !!!
my first match in seeing MU was the 1977 fa cup semi final.

OreoCookies
01-09-2003, 08:37 PM

that was almost 30 yrs ago !!!
my first match in seeing MU was the 1977 fa cup semi final.

Wah... All the lao jiaos all come out liaoz... :D

Hmm... I've only supported Man Utd since 1994 nia... Difference of nearly twenty years sia... :o

RVN
01-09-2003, 08:43 PM
me in 1992, that was when I started to see the likes of Cantona, Bruce, Hughes, Giggsy playing for us.

guoquanyap
01-09-2003, 10:02 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=161519&cpid=22&title=United+fail+with+Metzelder+bid

http://www.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics03_04/germany/metzelder.jpg

RVN
01-09-2003, 10:24 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=161500&Title=United+pursue+teenage+striker

cracker
01-09-2003, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by RVN
me in 1992, that was when I started to see the likes of Cantona, Bruce, Hughes, Giggsy playing for us.

too bad,,,u missed seeing Ipswich putting 6 past Man Utd in 78-79......though the latter did revenged with a 9-0 win in the 95 season

ccloh
02-09-2003, 08:56 AM

too bad,,,u missed seeing Ipswich putting 6 past Man Utd in 78-79......though the latter did revenged with a 9-0 win in the 95 season

me started watching epl abt that time also :D

but must admit was a liverpool then (kenny dalgish and co. were just fanatastic to watch) later switch to utd as found them though not achieving much then but play wonderful football. still remember the no. 11 jesper olsen with the jersey tuck out taking corner :D

and not to forget how robbo marshel the midfield wonderfully in utd outfit

Kenneth_Maldini
02-09-2003, 09:19 AM
wat a betraying glory hunter!!!

pale
02-09-2003, 09:52 AM
Originally posted by Kenneth_Maldini
wat a betraying glory hunter!!!

Wah...nowdays a lot of troll.

swordy84
02-09-2003, 11:33 AM
Wah all so old liao. :D I only started supporting United in around 94 or 95 when I was about 10, when Cantona, Pallister, Bruce, McClair, Ince, Kanchelskis, Hughes were still around.

RuMmYtUb
02-09-2003, 11:51 AM
Originally posted by swordy84
Wah all so old liao. :D I only started supporting United in around 94 or 95 when I was about 10, when Cantona, Pallister, Bruce, McClair, Ince, Kanchelskis, Hughes were still around.

Same.

ralliart_ray
02-09-2003, 12:05 PM
manU vs who next match har?

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
manU vs who next match har?

away to Charlton....:evil:

ccloh
02-09-2003, 01:03 PM

away to Charlton....:evil:

let make charlton the target for slaughtering :evil:

RVN
02-09-2003, 01:44 PM

let make charlton the target for slaughtering :evil:

somehow I don't think we will be able to do that, I be happy if we get 3 points from that match.;)

pale
02-09-2003, 01:44 PM
Well...Fergie got 2 weeks to iron out his midfield.

RVN get no service from Midfield..he will start going deeper then attack lose edge.

RVN
02-09-2003, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by pale
Well...Fergie got 2 weeks to iron out his midfield.

RVN get no service from Midfield..he will start going deeper then attack lose edge.

----------------ruud-------------

giggs--<-->--ronaldo-<-->--ole

-------keano----------eric------

RipperJack
02-09-2003, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by RVN

-------keano----------eric------ i think ole and ronaldo switch better

ole fundamentally still a striker, ya? ;)

pale
02-09-2003, 02:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN

A bit DIfficult to play Ronaldo there. It's too early for him. He might have problem catching the runs of RVN and Giggs. Give him a few more week to develop the direct side of his game. Now he still playing like he play in Portugal where players dun press that hard. PLaying in England muz 'direct' a bit:laugh:

RVN
02-09-2003, 02:21 PM
IMHO - the best United formation would be something like this had we stay injury-free. :(

GK - Howard
D - O'Shea, Silvestre, Ferdinand, G Neville
M - Giggs, Keane, Butt, Ole
F/M - Scholes
F - RvN

I actually like the idea of Scholes playing just behind RvN - he has the flexibility to push forward or drop back. The problem is that Ronaldo is only 18 and isn't fully acclimated to the EPL. Djemba-Djemba is still finding his feet as well. Kleberson also too.

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 03:54 PM
it's very hard to stay injury free throughtout the season so the best solution is to hav capable back-up.....ronaldo looks capable but he is jus 18 and havent abapt to english football yet....jus give time for the new signing to gel.....;)

guys no need to worry too much...we lost 2 matches in a row early during last season too.....;)

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 03:56 PM
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39471000/jpg/_39471097_barthez203.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3199863.stm

RVN
02-09-2003, 03:58 PM
basically translates to "Barthez happy on huge wages and beign onyl a squad player"

What a surprise. :eek:

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 04:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN
basically translates to "Barthez happy on huge wages and beign onyl a squad player"

What a surprise. :eek:

y surprise?? it's important for a big club to hav quality player on the bench and it's not easy to keep a player happy on a bench somemore he a World Cup, European Cup winner.....

RVN
02-09-2003, 04:22 PM
I just dont understand what Fergie was thinking. We are all aware he was looking at other offensive players such as Jaoquin, Duff and Kewell (although not nearly as much as others), but in the end, he only got an inexperienced young talent and brought in DMs instead. And of course, when losing two creative players in the squad and not really replacing them, this so-called spark was always going to be a problem.

However, Man utd's starting line up is still creative as players such as Giggs and Scholes still take on the responsilities. The concern there is that before, with veron and becks in the same line up, they got to share it around a lot more than they do now. And of course, with giggs and scholes having no direct replacement, when injuries occur, i.e. Scholes, the team does struggle in this department.

I believe that Ronaldo has to start, even if he isnt playing as well as everyone would like him to. Facts are that he needs experience, and the only way he'll get experience is if you play him week in week out. And at this stage of the season, its the right time. Not much pressure in terms of having to win and most of all, the CL isnt starting as yet. You are not going to buy another player now, so you have to make do with what you have.

Ole is an out and out striker so he should be upfront with RVN. to me, i dont think he is a good support striker for RVN. he doesnt have enough creativeness in his game to play that role. And for that matter, this might have to exclude him from the right as well.

so, what formation does that leave if not a 4-4-2. i say go for a 4-2-3-1 formation. RVN is used to playing the free role upfront and to be honest, i think he along with Vieri are able to play that role the best.

with this formation, it allows you to have three players supporting RVN, and those three players should be Giggs, Scholes and Ronaldo. playing Ronaldo in such a formation allows him to create and doesnt put the pressure of him having to score as he would if he played upfront. This also allows Keane and another player, either Kleberson, Djemba Djemba or Butt to play the roles of DMs.

In addition, this formation relies on your full backs heavily as they have to attack and support the wings a lot more than usual. but with O'Shea and one of Neville or Silvestre, i think you have the cover needed.

i believe this will help give you more creativeness in the team and it will help support RVN more and give Ronaldo the experience he needs without putting to much pressure on him.

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 05:11 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I just dont understand what Fergie was thinking. We are all aware he was looking at other offensive players such as Jaoquin, Duff and Kewell (although not nearly as much as others), but in the end, he only got an inexperienced young talent and brought in DMs instead. And of course, when losing two creative players in the squad and not really replacing them, this so-called spark was always going to be a problem.

However, Man utd's starting line up is still creative as players such as Giggs and Scholes still take on the responsilities. The concern there is that before, with veron and becks in the same line up, they got to share it around a lot more than they do now. And of course, with giggs and scholes having no direct replacement, when injuries occur, i.e. Scholes, the team does struggle in this department.

I believe that Ronaldo has to start, even if he isnt playing as well as everyone would like him to. Facts are that he needs experience, and the only way he'll get experience is if you play him week in week out. And at this stage of the season, its the right time. Not much pressure in terms of having to win and most of all, the CL isnt starting as yet. You are not going to buy another player now, so you have to make do with what you have.

Ole is an out and out striker so he should be upfront with RVN. to me, i dont think he is a good support striker for RVN. he doesnt have enough creativeness in his game to play that role. And for that matter, this might have to exclude him from the right as well.

so, what formation does that leave if not a 4-4-2. i say go for a 4-2-3-1 formation. RVN is used to playing the free role upfront and to be honest, i think he along with Vieri are able to play that role the best.

with this formation, it allows you to have three players supporting RVN, and those three players should be Giggs, Scholes and Ronaldo. playing Ronaldo in such a formation allows him to create and doesnt put the pressure of him having to score as he would if he played upfront. This also allows Keane and another player, either Kleberson, Djemba Djemba or Butt to play the roles of DMs.

In addition, this formation relies on your full backs heavily as they have to attack and support the wings a lot more than usual. but with O'Shea and one of Neville or Silvestre, i think you have the cover needed.

i believe this will help give you more creativeness in the team and it will help support RVN more and give Ronaldo the experience he needs without putting to much pressure on him.

fan's point of view? source?

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 05:16 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=275933&cc=5739

http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20030507/qfortune_cm_g.jpg

ccloh
02-09-2003, 05:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN

if scholes is missed, playing giggs behind RVN is more appropriate and ole still stick to the right flank (he can score from playing that position no issue) but who can fill the left flank ??? maybe ronaldo can or ask phil neville to do a bull dozer in the left flank also can

midfield general is keane and phil neville (he played quite well in the central midfield role) eric and kleberson still need some time to adapt that position.

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 08:34 PM
Manchester United have been acknowledged for their part in the Premiership's most exciting match of season 2002/03.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side's rampant 6-2 thrashing of Newcastle at St James Park in April 2003 has been voted by football fans from around the world as Match of the Season.

Scholes grabbed a wonderful hat-trick that day to accompany Ryan Giggs, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Ruud van Nistelrooy strikes to complete the Tyneside rout.

And the FA Premier League has announced that "tens of thousands" of fans have voted the game as the most entertaining match last season as part of their Annual Awards.

The result was crucial to United's title triumph and was the middle fixture of a trio of title tests toward the climax of last season. United had already beaten Liverpool 4-0, before travelling to St James' to hammer Newcastle 6-2, followed by a valuable point at Highbury in a 2-2 draw.

The Reds' performance that day was prolific to say the least. Despite going 0-1 down to a Jermaine Jenas goal, that was the closest Sir Bobby Robson's men got to United for the rest of the afternoon.

Sir Alex Ferguson said of the result after the game: "It was awesome - Newcastle scored first but that only seemed to urge us into more impressive form, with Paul Scholes man of the match with a superb hat-trick. I was expecting to see a few goals, but I hardly thought it would end up being a 6-2 thriller."

But that is exactly how it turned out. Solskjaer started the scoring on 32 minutes and after a blistering 26-minute spell, which produced six goals for United, it was party time for the travelling Reds lucky enough to have obtained tickets for the Tyneside clash.

The Match of the Season award is evidence enough that the game was as entertaining to watch for the neutrals as it was for Reds fans around the world.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=42414

RVN
02-09-2003, 08:40 PM
A hat-trick from Daniel Nardiello swept a young Manchester United reserve side to a thrilling 4-3 victory over Oldham on Monday night.
United's second string were taking on Latics in the first round of the Manchester Senior Cup.

And United made an impressive start to the round-robin reserve-team tournament when Nardiello scored after eight minutes, and added a second before half time after the home side had equalised.

Danny Pugh got United's third on the hour only for Oldham to stage a late fight back and pull level once again before Nardiello hit the winner.

United: Williams, Lynch, Pugh, Bardsley, Tierney, Jones, Byrne, Wood, Nardiello, Timm, Eckersley.

Subs: Johnson, Jowsey, Tate, Poole, Sims.

Why is he not given a chance in the first team then. I would replace Forlan with him.

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by RVN
A hat-trick from Daniel Nardiello swept a young Manchester United reserve side to a thrilling 4-3 victory over Oldham on Monday night.
United's second string were taking on Latics in the first round of the Manchester Senior Cup.

And United made an impressive start to the round-robin reserve-team tournament when Nardiello scored after eight minutes, and added a second before half time after the home side had equalised.

Danny Pugh got United's third on the hour only for Oldham to stage a late fight back and pull level once again before Nardiello hit the winner.

United: Williams, Lynch, Pugh, Bardsley, Tierney, Jones, Byrne, Wood, Nardiello, Timm, Eckersley.

Subs: Johnson, Jowsey, Tate, Poole, Sims.

Why is he not given a chance in the first team then. I would replace Forlan with him.

u saw him play b4? :confused:

RVN
02-09-2003, 08:45 PM

u saw him play b4? :confused:

Dun, but he look more impressive than Forlan, he creates chances and score goals unlike what Forlan is doing, just can't seem to score. :(

RuMmYtUb
02-09-2003, 10:06 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Dun, but he look more impressive than Forlan, he creates chances and score goals unlike what Forlan is doing, just can't seem to score. :(

MayB time to try Nardiello

ccloh
02-09-2003, 10:47 PM

MayB time to try Nardiello

time to promote him to senior squad ????

well he did quite well in my CM4 though :D

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 11:07 PM

time to promote him to senior squad ????

well he did quite well in my CM4 though :D

he had did well in the reserve squad recent yrs though....but alot of players had done well but was released in the end....it's up to fergie to see whether he is up to it or not....;)

anyway time is not his side anymore....20yr make it or not this season or nx.....or else he will be release too.....;)

leslielai
02-09-2003, 11:18 PM
Nardiello's my secret weapon in CM!

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

He wasn't in the first team but managed to bang in 19 goals in his debut season! :eek:

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 11:21 PM
Nardiello's my secret weapon in CM!

:laugh:

He wasn't in the first team but managed to bang in 19 goals in his debut season! :eek:

:eek: :eek: it's in the CM afterall....think he not yet ready or fit to play in EPL....or else fergie will give him more chances....;)

leslielai
02-09-2003, 11:30 PM
Yea. Probably he's a late bloomer but I doubt he can make it into the United first team.

Those who are still playing CM, play him in Scholes' position, AMC (move him up, right behind the 2 hitmen).

Watch the goals flow :D

guoquanyap
02-09-2003, 11:36 PM
Yea. Probably he's a late bloomer but I doubt he can make it into the United first team.

Those who are still playing CM, play him in Scholes' position, AMC (move him up, right behind the 2 hitmen).

Watch the goals flow :D

not playing CM anymore....playing WE7 now.....:D

RuMmYtUb
03-09-2003, 01:05 AM
I think our squad needs another creative playmaker.... someone like Aimar or Deco would be gd... play behind V. Nistelrooy

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 01:13 AM
I think our squad needs another creative playmaker.... someone like Aimar or Deco would be gd... play behind V. Nistelrooy

that why fergie wan to bring in ronaldinho....but the deal nv go through....the onli person now is Ronaldo....wat we hav to do is be patient w him and slowly nuture him instead of jus throw him into the action.....

be prepare for a long and hard season.....and maybe an empty handed season.....;)

RuMmYtUb
03-09-2003, 03:34 AM

that why fergie wan to bring in ronaldinho....but the deal nv go through....the onli person now is Ronaldo....wat we hav to do is be patient w him and slowly nuture him instead of jus throw him into the action.....

be prepare for a long and hard season.....and maybe an empty handed season.....;)

At the rate they're going, it won't be surprising of an empty-handed season.... but do keep faith

ccloh
03-09-2003, 08:44 AM

At the rate they're going, it won't be surprising of an empty-handed season.... but do keep faith

if at start already "confirm" title no kick leh. going through all the rough patches and in the end lift the title more challenge mah. like last season behind arsenal for 1st half of the season and then slowly crawl urself back and snatched the title from their nose. 100 pt for that man

ccloh
03-09-2003, 08:48 AM

chances of getting one is not there for fergie. scholes injury is not long term and if do get a 1st class player in with similar role as scholes then he will have too many choices to make when scholes is fit again.

for me it is the defence and striker that need additional headcount as those 2 areas utd are rather thin in backup.

pale
03-09-2003, 09:51 AM

if at start already "confirm" title no kick leh. going through all the rough patches and in the end lift the title more challenge mah. like last season behind arsenal for 1st half of the season and then slowly crawl urself back and snatched the title from their nose. 100 pt for that man

Yeah man...come from behind when everybody thought no hope liao. That feeling is damn shiok.

It's still too early now. After X,mas then u can see the picture clearer. Empty handed or not. Man Utd is still the team I support.

leslielai
03-09-2003, 09:57 AM

Empty handed or not. Man Utd is still the team I support.

Same here.

Hope they really recover from the defeat to Southampton and crush the rest of the teams for the remaining games of the season. :evil:

Yellowfin
03-09-2003, 10:01 AM

Yeah man...come from behind when everybody thought no hope liao. That feeling is damn shiok.

It's still too early now. After X,mas then u can see the picture clearer. Empty handed or not. Man Utd is still the team I support.

How true. Shiok only. :D

Same here.

RipperJack
03-09-2003, 10:01 AM
man u -----> pah buay see!

that's why never discount them until matematically impossible. ;)

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by RipperJack
man u -----> pah buay see!

that's why never discount them until matematically impossible. ;)

"Never Say Die!!' ;)

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 11:34 AM

Same here.

Hope they really recover from the defeat to Southampton and crush the rest of the teams for the remaining games of the season. :evil:

another 30matches unbeaten run.....:evil:

NanDesKa
03-09-2003, 12:28 PM
haiz..
i still tot it wud be better for fergie to bring in deco at that time..

RVN
03-09-2003, 12:31 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
haiz..
i still tot it wud be better for fergie to bring in deco at that time..

cannot liao, the transfer market is now closed.:(

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by RVN

cannot liao, the transfer market is now closed.:(

in jan window lor or nx season.....;)

RuMmYtUb
03-09-2003, 01:55 PM

in jan window lor or nx season.....;)

Highly possible !

RuMmYtUb
03-09-2003, 01:56 PM

"Never Say Die!!' ;)

Man Utd players are well known for their determination and team spirit

demon_
03-09-2003, 04:17 PM

y surprise?? it's important for a big club to hav quality player on the bench and it's not easy to keep a player happy on a bench somemore he a World Cup, European Cup winner.....

and a CL winner with Oliympic Marseill (spelling?)

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 04:19 PM
haiz....got $ but no where to spend :(

Manchester United have reached agreement with Real Madrid to receive £11million of the transfer fee for David Beckham in a lump sum.

United were originally due to receive a £12m payment in equal instalments over four years but will now receive the money up front.

The club have already received £5m of the £25m fee with the rest being subject to Real's performances in the Champions League.

Under the deal, the club will collect £860,000 each time Real qualify for the Champions League over the next four seasons.

The same amount is also payable if the Spanish club go on to reach the quarter-finals of the competition in those seasons.

United and Real reached agreement over the sale of England captain Beckham in June.

The new terms will see United receive £1m less but allow them to bank the money immediately.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=276013&cc=5739

demon_
03-09-2003, 04:22 PM
haiz....got $ but no where to spend :(

Manchester United have reached agreement with Real Madrid to receive £11million of the transfer fee for David Beckham in a lump sum.

United were originally due to receive a £12m payment in equal instalments over four years but will now receive the money up front.

The club have already received £5m of the £25m fee with the rest being subject to Real's performances in the Champions League.

Under the deal, the club will collect £860,000 each time Real qualify for the Champions League over the next four seasons.

The same amount is also payable if the Spanish club go on to reach the quarter-finals of the competition in those seasons.

United and Real reached agreement over the sale of England captain Beckham in June.

The new terms will see United receive £1m less but allow them to bank the money immediately.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=276013&cc=5739

with kenyon up there..hard to spend much....

Yellowfin
03-09-2003, 04:32 PM
Even if we had the money before the transfer window close.

The PLC boys will not allow SAF to anyhow spend the money because Man U is a public company. There are lot people they have to answer to.

Unless Man U become a private company and have a rich sugar daddy to finance the club spending. :D

Just my 2 peso.

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 04:37 PM
Even if we had the money before the transfer window close.

The PLC boys will not allow SAF to anyhow spend the money because Man U is a public company. There are lot people they have to answer to.

Unless Man U become a private company and have a rich sugar daddy to finance the club spending. :D

Just my 2 peso.

doubt anyway one will buy ManU...cost around 600-800million pound.....;)

RuMmYtUb
03-09-2003, 05:15 PM

doubt anyway one will buy ManU...cost around 600-800million pound.....;)

Man Utd fans calling for Billy Gates.....

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 05:25 PM

why need a sugardaddy??!! we will win w our own capablity and need not any external help.....;)

NanDesKa
03-09-2003, 05:40 PM

why need a sugardaddy??!! we will win w our own capablity and need not any external help.....;) a sugar daddy wud make the club better.

ccloh
03-09-2003, 06:21 PM

oh please no billy gate lah. later he make utd into what ms windows is of today --- the most hated os in the world whereby ppl purposely write virus to attack it

pale
03-09-2003, 06:46 PM

oh please no billy gate lah. later he make utd into what ms windows is of today --- the most hated os in the world whereby ppl purposely write virus to attack it

Actually no diff=p Man Utd is alreadi hated by alot of ABU's.

:laugh: :laugh:

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 07:14 PM

;)

RVN
03-09-2003, 08:29 PM

cos they are bitter twats and don't want us to succeed. We want to prove them wrong.;)

RVN
03-09-2003, 08:33 PM
here's the official plc statement:

Following an agreement between Manchester United PLC and the Royal Bank of
Scotland with the consent of Real Madrid, the 17.5m Euro unconditional
receivable from Real Madrid following the transfer of the registration of David
Beckham will be received by Manchester United in one single instalment on 3
September 2003, rather than in four equal annual payments to July 2007.

The agreement reflects the time value of money and as a result Manchester United
will receive 16.1m Euro on 3 September 2003 rather than 17.5m Euro over four
years.

The further payments totaling 10m Euro remain conditional upon Real Madrid's
performances in the UEFA Champions League. Under the deal, 1.25m Euro is
payable in each of the next four seasons conditional on Real Madrid qualifying
for the Champions League, and a further 1.25m Euro is payable each season
conditional on Real Madrid reaching the quarter-finals of the UEFA Champions
League over the same period.

guoquanyap
03-09-2003, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN
here's the official plc statement:

[B]

purposely paid us after the transfer window.....:mad:

NanDesKa
04-09-2003, 02:27 AM

purposely paid us after the transfer window.....:mad: :rolleyes:

ccloh
04-09-2003, 08:55 AM
well we just hv to beat real madrid this season in the CL and give them a "xia ma wei" :evil:

guoquanyap
04-09-2003, 11:30 AM
well we just hv to beat real madrid this season in the CL and give them a "xia ma wei" :evil:

last yr return leg to OT was a gd chance....if defend is gd we could won 4-0 and advance......but we got to move on........

try harder this yr!!.......;)

guoquanyap
05-09-2003, 01:56 AM
Fabien Barthez claims there is no tension between him and Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson and insists he respects the decision to sideline him.

The France goalkeeper remains number one choice for his country despite losing out to new Old Trafford arrival Tim Howard so far this season.

'For me, there are no problems with my club,' Barthez said ahead of France's Euro 2004 qualifier against Cyprus on Saturday. 'I have had no explanation from Ferguson, we haven't spoken about anything and I don't feel I need to have any conversation with him.

'People say that we don`t get on well but that is absolutely wrong. We get on very well.'

He went on: 'I'm 32, I still want to play football, but that is the way it is.

'My current situation is that I play for a great club, I respect my coach 200 per cent, he trusted me and protected me.

'What do you want me to do? To shout? I actually don`t feel any injustice or frustration.

'I don`t have to ask him why I am sidelined. If I don`t play it is because he has his own reasons.

'He makes his decisions. I have nothing to say, he is the boss.

'I am on excellent terms with him and the rest of the staff at United.

``You know, in a football player`s career there are ups and downs. Not playing is not a catastrophe for me. A catastrophe would be to have health problems or a broken leg.'

Barthez, who became a father for the first time at the end of June, insists his experience as a footballer allows him to stand back and realise that there are more important things in life.

'I have been experiencing fantastic things with football in the past 10 years and maybe it is better to let go sometimes,' he added.

'If this had happened to me 10 years ago I would have probably reacted a different way. I would have probably blamed the coach.

'This current situation confirms what I have been told for so many years, that once you are at the top, there is never any guarantee that you will stay at the top.

'I have nothing to blame myself for. And I keep working, the same way I have been training for the past 15 years.'

NanDesKa
05-09-2003, 03:58 AM
i think its better for barthez to move on.
i think its quite clear he will never regain number 1 again..
he's in his prime, shud find a club which can give him first team..
cant possibly wait till he's near 40 then move to the other club in manchester eh? :P

jasonz85
05-09-2003, 04:16 AM
can rest and get wages.. not bad also.. ;)

ralliart_ray
05-09-2003, 08:37 AM
bye bart :D

ccloh
05-09-2003, 08:53 AM
given his current form which top european clubs would want to sign him. most probably the club that wants to sign him is those minor club and cant afford the wage he is getting at OT now. if i were him given at the age of 32, i also let the stay in man utd playing minor role and getting wages for nothing. hahaha

edhorizon
05-09-2003, 10:52 AM
isn't it good to have one more player then less one player instead? anyway his wages is not a problem at all to man utd. 2 of man utd biggest wagers had left the club. maybe all the new signing adds together not even reach beckham salary in man utd. at least if howard is injured, there is still bathez to cover and caroll to be on thw sub bench instead. barthez does make mistakes but he is still a good goalie.

guoquanyap
05-09-2003, 11:35 AM
CARLOS QUEIROZ insists he will never betray Alex Ferguson with revelations about his time at Manchester United.

Fergie has come under attack from David Beckham in his book My Side, serialised in The Sun,which lifts the lid on the rows Becks claims forced him out of Old Trafford.

Queiroz was Fergie’s No 2 last season and saw what went on between the pair in the feud which preceded the England skipper’s £25million move to Real Madrid.

But Real chief Queiroz promised to remain loyal to close pal Fergie — and has vowed to stay silent about what he witnessed.

Queiroz said: “I said the day I left England that what happened at United I will carry with me until my last days.

“I will keep everything in my heart, especially Alex Ferguson.”

But Queiroz refuses to allow his close friendship with Ferguson to affect his new relationship with Becks, 28, now they are both at the Bernabeu.

And he refused to take sides when asked about the now infamous incident where furious Fergie kicked a boot into Beckham’s face after last season’s 2-0 FA Cup defeat by Arsenal.

Queiroz added: “I will not get involved in other moments in his life.

“I think both our times at United were so great and the people who made history with the team deserve credit for that, like David and Alex.

“What is important is the present and I don’t think I should comment. I only want to talk about Real Madrid.”

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003410451,00.jpg

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003410836,00.html

RVN
05-09-2003, 12:31 PM
BRYAN Robson believes United still have the artists to create a successful picture for the Reds this season.

Critics and some fans have begun to get into manager Sir Alex Ferguson's ribs over the creative element of the midfield.

Fergie sold David Beckham and Seba Veron during the summer and with it shipped out a huge chunk of United's engine room invention.

The argument forming is that United's replacements for the £40m departures don't have the ingenuity to provide the Reds with a spark. Injury to Paul Scholes, sidelined for a month with hernia trouble, has added to the concern.

A dull Old Trafford slender win against Wolves and a defeat at Southampton that both lacked inspiration has changed the mood after the Reds' opening two wins against Bolton and Newcastle.

However, midfield legend Robson defends United's new boys and also calls for others to fill the void.

"I don't think there is a problem in midfield anyway," he told M.E.N. Sport.

"Nobody was moaning when United beat Bolton 4-0 on the opening day and nobody was talking about problems with United's creativity when they beat Newcastle at St James' Park.

"Of course, Paul Scholes will be missed because he's a top class player but there is still plenty of invention in United's first team to make up for that.

"And United didn't rely totally on David Beckham and Seba Veron to create all their goals anyway. I agree that maybe Eric Djemba Djemba isn't in the mould of an inventive midfielder. He provides something different. He's a get it, give and go midfielder. Eric keeps it simple and doesn't complicate things.

"But Kleberson has certainly got a decent pass in him. He's a World Cup winner and has proved on the highest stage that while he can get stuck in he can also be a provider.

"And then there's Cristiano Ronaldo. You can't tell me he's not inventive! You can't judge him totally on the brilliant 30 minutes against Bolton but you have to say he was absolutely terrific.

"I am sure that more and more of that will come out given the time.

"I know Sir Alex has great faith in him and will want to nurture him because he's only 18 but sometimes situation dictate that you have to abandon plans a bit.

"People might be going on about a supposed lack of creativity in the last couple of games but when we come to judge the new boys at the end of the season I think you might be looking at a different viewpoint entirely."

NanDesKa
05-09-2003, 01:05 PM
:bounce: :bounce:

ccloh
05-09-2003, 01:23 PM
yap man, we have to have faith in fergie. without him, where would utd be today

RuMmYtUb
05-09-2003, 02:52 PM
CARLOS QUEIROZ rox !
respectable man

guoquanyap
05-09-2003, 03:02 PM
CARLOS QUEIROZ rox !
respectable man

fergie has to earn his respect first rite......;)

edhorizon
05-09-2003, 03:12 PM
both of them are just wonderful.

guoquanyap
05-09-2003, 03:14 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
both of them are just wonderful.

too bad they are separated.....:(

edhorizon
05-09-2003, 03:17 PM

too bad they are separated.....:(

i think sir alex ferguson waiting for RM to kick him out then accept him back as assistant manager. =p

guoquanyap
05-09-2003, 03:22 PM

i think sir alex ferguson waiting for RM to kick him out then accept him back as assistant manager. =p

that's bad.......

but i'm waiting!!!!

Yellowfin
05-09-2003, 03:30 PM

I am not surprise with due respect to Queiroz. The coach before him also get kick even though he lead RM to a few trophy during his time there.

dongcute
05-09-2003, 04:15 PM

fergie has to earn his respect first rite......;)

I think he just scare of trouble and don't wanna get in between beck and saf;)

RuMmYtUb
06-09-2003, 02:15 AM
Man Utd Rules !

RVN
06-09-2003, 03:26 PM
Quinton Fortune has put himself in line for a Manchester United recall by completing the full 90 minutes in Thursday's reserve team draw with Sunderland.
Fortune has managed one substitutes' appearance since aggravating a thigh injury during the opening-day win over Bolton.

The South African, who was operating in central midfield, came through the 2-2 draw without a problem and is pushing for a place in United's side to tackle Charlton on 13 September.

Daniel Nardiello and Mark Lynch scored United's goals as they twice came from behind.

The game also featured Sunderland's Jason McAteer, who is finally back on the comeback trail following a hamstring injury.

With Black Cats boss Mick McCarthy among the interested spectators, McAteer floated over the second-half corner which Alan Tate nodded into his own net to put the visitors in front for the second time.

McAteer should be in contention to face Crystal Palace at the Stadium of Light next weekend.

MAN UTD: B Williams, Lynch, Pugh, Tierney, Tate, Wood, Byrne (Eagles), Fortune, Johnson, Nardiello, Eckersley (Jones).

ccloh
06-09-2003, 05:29 PM
with the available of fortune, fergie can ease some pressure on the defence :D

RVN
06-09-2003, 06:59 PM
Exactly, he can play at right-back, O'Shea can play in central defence, so does Mickey together with Rio.

RVN
06-09-2003, 07:06 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has expressed his pleasure at the ease with which his new recruits have settled in at Manchester United and claims his squad is stronger than last season despite the departures of David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron.

The Manchester United manager, who would not respond to claims made about him in serialisations of Beckham's autobiography last week, believes the balance of the squad is better.

Speaking after a UEFA elite coaches forum in Nyon, Switzerland, Ferguson said: "We are stronger than last year simply because we have brought in some young players who will develop well.

"Kleberson will take time, he's learning the language, and we will give (Cristiano) Ronaldo time simply because he's so young.

"But Eric Djemba-Djemba has settled in very well - he speaks English very fluently now, he has worked very hard on it and that's not a problem for him.

"As for the goalkeeper Tim Howard, he has been outstanding, an absolute revelation.

"I am happy with the balance and though we may have a weakness in the defence, we have players who can adapt and apply themselves in defensive roles."

Meanwhile, Ferguson says Manchester United are reaping the dividends this season from Roy Keane's retirement from international football.

The former Republic of Ireland skipper has begun the new campaign in sparkling form - in contrast to some tired-looking performances last season which had some observers questioning whether he was past his best.

Ferguson said: "Taking away his international duties has given Roy Keane an opportunity when he can get a break. We have sent him away this week, given him four or five days off, so he can rest and get ready for our next game against Charlton.

"He has already shown the benefits of rest. He had a good summer, prepared himself really well, kept his training regime going and kept himself fresh. We have seen the results of that and hopefully he's back to being Roy Keane.

"Last year Alan Shearer had what was perhaps one of his best seasons and it's no coincidence that he doesn't have the strain and pressure of international football any more, does not have to spend all that time away from home and looks far more relaxed."

Unfortunately the new guys has yet to proved their worth for us though, I hope they come good in the end for us.

guoquanyap
07-09-2003, 12:44 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Exactly, he can play at right-back, O'Shea can play in central defence, so does Mickey together with Rio.

fortune play at left-back....;)

ccloh
07-09-2003, 12:48 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson has expressed his pleasure at the ease with which his new recruits have settled in at Manchester United and claims his squad is stronger than last season despite the departures of David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron.

The Manchester United manager, who would not respond to claims made about him in serialisations of Beckham's autobiography last week, believes the balance of the squad is better.

Speaking after a UEFA elite coaches forum in Nyon, Switzerland, Ferguson said: "We are stronger than last year simply because we have brought in some young players who will develop well.

"Kleberson will take time, he's learning the language, and we will give (Cristiano) Ronaldo time simply because he's so young.

"But Eric Djemba-Djemba has settled in very well - he speaks English very fluently now, he has worked very hard on it and that's not a problem for him.

"As for the goalkeeper Tim Howard, he has been outstanding, an absolute revelation.

"I am happy with the balance and though we may have a weakness in the defence, we have players who can adapt and apply themselves in defensive roles."

Meanwhile, Ferguson says Manchester United are reaping the dividends this season from Roy Keane's retirement from international football.

The former Republic of Ireland skipper has begun the new campaign in sparkling form - in contrast to some tired-looking performances last season which had some observers questioning whether he was past his best.

Ferguson said: "Taking away his international duties has given Roy Keane an opportunity when he can get a break. We have sent him away this week, given him four or five days off, so he can rest and get ready for our next game against Charlton.

"He has already shown the benefits of rest. He had a good summer, prepared himself really well, kept his training regime going and kept himself fresh. We have seen the results of that and hopefully he's back to being Roy Keane.

"Last year Alan Shearer had what was perhaps one of his best seasons and it's no coincidence that he doesn't have the strain and pressure of international football any more, does not have to spend all that time away from home and looks far more relaxed."

Unfortunately the new guys has yet to proved their worth for us though, I hope they come good in the end for us.

this season just 4 matches old be patient with the new signings.

OreoCookies
07-09-2003, 12:48 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Well, give the new boys some time... :)

They are all good players to begin with, so no problems there... All they need is to get used to the style of English football, Man Utd's system of play, & the language... They should become household names in no time once they get accustomed to life @ Old Trafford... :D

OreoCookies
07-09-2003, 12:51 AM

fortune play at left-back....;)

I still think that Fortune performs at his best when playing as a left-sided or central midfielder... ;)

But of course, his versatility is always a plus to the team... :D

guoquanyap
07-09-2003, 01:02 AM

I still think that Fortune performs at this best when playing as a left-sided or central midfielder... ;)

of course his natural postion is midfielder but he had done very well playing left back during the pre-season.....ya a person versatility is always to plus to a team....;)

OreoCookies
07-09-2003, 01:24 AM

of course his natural postion is midfielder but he had done very well playing left back during the pre-season.....ya a person versatility is always to plus to a team....;)

Whatever it is, I hope his injury problems don't come back to haunt him from now on... :(

Fortune - being injury-free - can certainly help out with the team's current defensive problems, as well as provide an alternative in midfield should the need arise... ;)

ccloh
07-09-2003, 11:26 AM

I still think that Fortune performs at his best when playing as a left-sided or central midfielder... ;)

initially fergie bought him in as a left-sided midfield but last season due to injuries to lot of big name, he was installed to play in the central and perform reasonably well. during this season usa tour, he was asked to play at left-back due to insufficient defenders at that time and he performed reasonably well too. i think he has started to develop into the like of phil neville --- Mr. Versitile. well it is good to have one or two players ard the squards.

hmm...unless fergie is trying to emulate "total football" whereby any1 can play in any position :D

RVN
07-09-2003, 01:24 PM
Last thing we need is another injury, piss me off, hope it won't be too bad. :mad:

OreoCookies
07-09-2003, 01:33 PM
Shucks... :eek: :mad:

Next match against Charlton, maybe still not too bad... Hope he recovers in time to contest in the Arsenal match-up... :(

RVN
07-09-2003, 01:38 PM
Maybe he might recover in time for the charlton match, if not the mid-week CL game against panathinaikos. See how his recovery goes. ;)

OreoCookies
07-09-2003, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Maybe he might recover in time for the charlton match, if not the mid-week CL game against panathinaikos. See how his recovery goes. ;)

Must pray hard sia... :(

RuMmYtUb
07-09-2003, 03:46 PM
Hope we can start our winning streak at The Valley

guoquanyap
07-09-2003, 09:06 PM
Shucks... :eek: :mad:

Next match against Charlton, maybe still not too bad... Hope he recovers in time to contest in the Arsenal match-up... :(

wat the!.....@#$@ knee injuring damn serious wan leh....where u got the source?

OreoCookies
07-09-2003, 11:16 PM

wat the!.....@#$@ knee injuring damn serious wan leh....where u got the source?

First posted by RVN... I believe reports are now out @ Soccernet.com & various other news sources... :(

guoquanyap
08-09-2003, 01:37 AM

First posted by RVN... I believe reports are now out @ Soccernet.com & various other news sources... :(

ccloh
08-09-2003, 09:00 AM
well hope can recover in time for the charlton match.

edhorizon
08-09-2003, 10:36 AM
think charlton should be not much of a problem to win . hopefully by CL he is 100% fit instead of letting him play but not 100%...

guoquanyap
08-09-2003, 11:40 AM
Forlan inspires Uruguay Victory....he scored for Uruguay and created some goals.....everytimes played so gd for his country.....but not for Us.....:mad:

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162374&plid=12273&cpid=88&Title=Forlan+inspires+Uruguay&clid=1

RuMmYtUb
08-09-2003, 01:05 PM
Forlan inspires Uruguay Victory....he scored for Uruguay and created some goals.....everytimes played so gd for his country.....but not for Us.....:mad:

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162374&plid=12273&cpid=88&Title=Forlan+inspires+Uruguay&clid=1

agree, dunno wad's wrong wif him..

RVN
08-09-2003, 01:20 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162326&plid=&clid=&cpid=219&title=O’Shea+out+for+Irish

bloody hell, Ole also injured, I am getting ripped off with players coming back from international duties picking up injuries.:mad: