View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
ccloh
08-09-2003, 01:22 PM
forlan did well in pre-season games and also for his country but somehow in epl so far his performance is not that wonderful ley. wonder why :confused:
guoquanyap
08-09-2003, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
forlan did well in pre-season games and also for his country but somehow in epl so far his performance is not that wonderful ley. wonder why :confused:
i feel that he is trying too hard to prove himself and get a goal....maybe there is some problem between Ruud and him.....when watching them played, got the feeling that they dun wan to work together....
1 gd thing fr forlan is that he is showing more on the ball, more willing to take the ball and run and taking shots.....but he jus cant play w himself....he jus hav to do more than that by creating chances for Ruud or jus pass the ball to others when he is on the edge of the penatly box or inside the penatly box.......
John O'Shea is the latest to join Manchester United's walking wounded with the defender likely to miss this weekend's trip to Charlton.
O'Shea damaged ankle ligaments during the Republic of Ireland's 1-1 draw with Russia on Saturday and has already been ruled out of Tuesday night's friendly against Turkey at Lansdowne Road.
He joins back-four colleagues Wes Brown - who is out of action until New Year - Rio Ferdinand, Mikael Silvestre and Gary Neville, who have all been on the injured list this season, but has his fingers crossed he will make it in time for United's opening Champions League game against Panathinaikos on Tuesday week.
O'Shea says: "I twisted my ankle when I stood on the ball early in the game.
"I thought I would be able to run it off, but it is the ligaments and I think I will be out for about 10 days."
There could be some better news for Sir Alex Ferguson with Ferdinand fit again after a kidney infection and Gary Neville getting another full 90 minutes under his belt during England's win in Macedonia on Saturday.
OreoCookies
08-09-2003, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162326&plid=&clid=&cpid=219&title=OShea+out+for+Irish
bloody hell, Ole also injured, I am getting ripped off with players coming back from international duties picking up injuries.:mad:
I guess that's the very motive for the small tussle between Fergie & Eriksson over Scholesy a week or two ago...
But honestly, itz tough on the players these days to have to juggle between their bread-and-butter as well as national loyalty... Put too much emphasis on either path, and they'll end-up with a whole lot of unnecessary flak... :(
OreoCookies
08-09-2003, 07:16 PM
Hmm... Maybe itz the language? He hasn't been in England for very long, at most a year... He could still be trying to cope with speaking in a new tongue... :(
Besides, South American footy is usually played at a much slower pace, with the emphasis on patient build-up... Man Utd plays their game at a really speedy pace, and perhaps this could also prove to be a problem for Forlan? :confused:
vivre
08-09-2003, 08:08 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Hmm... Maybe itz the language? He hasn't been in England for very long, at most a year... He could still be trying to cope with speaking in a new tongue... :(
He speaks perfect English. Saw him giving an interview in English at the airport when he snubbed boro and moved to Man U.
ccloh
08-09-2003, 08:09 PM
wa the injury list is getting longer and longer. i guess it is the time for the 2nd stringer to prove that in the absence of the 1st team player, utd still can rely on them.
funny last season, utd also faced with a lengthly injury list during the 1st half of the season.
RuMmYtUb
08-09-2003, 08:47 PM
wa the injury list is getting longer and longer. i guess it is the time for the 2nd stringer to prove that in the absence of the 1st team player, utd still can rely on them.
funny last season, utd also faced with a lengthly injury list during the 1st half of the season.
last season 2nd stringers were awesome !
guoquanyap
08-09-2003, 11:14 PM
haiz...injury here injury there.....:mad: new signing havent gel yet, got so much injury liao.....
Mr_Gringo
09-09-2003, 12:27 AM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162494&cpid=8&title=BLUE+PETER
Peter Kenyon set to become Chelsea's chief executive.
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 12:35 AM
haiz.....wat happen? :sad:
Originally posted by guoquanyap
haiz...injury here injury there.....:mad: new signing havent gel yet, got so much injury liao.....
Butt and Rio also injured, this is sickening and kenyon going to chelsea.:(
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 02:04 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Butt and Rio also injured, this is sickening and kenyon going to chelsea.:(
:sad: who is our debuty CEO huh?
Originally posted by vivre
He speaks perfect English. Saw him giving an interview in English at the airport when he snubbed boro and moved to Man U.
ya..b4 he sign for man utd he already noe how to speak eng liao...
Forlan inspires Uruguay Victory....he scored for Uruguay and created some goals.....everytimes played so gd for his country.....but not for Us.....:mad:
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162374&plid=12273&cpid=88&Title=Forlan+inspires+Uruguay&clid=1
i watched the first half of the match...
forlan plays v well...his control,his passing....
hope he gains confident and play well against charlton..
mayb south american juz dun suit EPL...
veron oso do well in euro but in epl sux...
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 02:13 AM
Originally posted by wes
i watched the first half of the match...
forlan plays v well...his control,his passing....
hope he gains confident and play well against charlton..
didnt watch the match...but somehow i know he is capable of something.....jus hope he can find the form for country and use it on Us.....;)
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 02:17 AM
Managing director David Gill would be best-placed to replace Kenyon at Old Trafford, either in the short-term or for a longer period......
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39314000/jpg/_39314066_peter_kenyon_chesl2_203.jpg :mad: :mad: :pissed:
PAUL Scholes is set to delight Manchester United fans by returning to action in time for the Premiership crunch with Arsenal on September 21.
The midfielder was withdrawn for the England squad for Saturday's Euro 2004 qualifier in Macedonia and for Wednesday's Old Trafford meeting with Liechtenstein.
United medical staff were concerned that a stomach problem might require Scholes to have a hernia operation - which would be the third such surgery of his career.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson left Scholes out of United's two last games, against Wolves and Southampton - and the Reds missed him badly as they misfired in midfield, scraping a win against the Premiership new boys and then losing to Saints.
Fergie intended to give the player a period of rest to see how the injury responded to treatment, and the initial assessment was that Scholes would be out for six weeks if an op was needed, or for three if it were not.
But further investigation has revealed that the problem is a muscle tear rather than a hernia - and he could be back in less than two weeks.
England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson will also welcome the news, as Scholes had faced the prospect of missing the Euro 2004 qualifier in Turkey on October 11.
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 02:23 AM
Originally posted by RVN
PAUL Scholes is set to delight Manchester United fans by returning to action in time for the Premiership crunch with Arsenal on September 21.
The midfielder was withdrawn for the England squad for Saturday's Euro 2004 qualifier in Macedonia and for Wednesday's Old Trafford meeting with Liechtenstein.
United medical staff were concerned that a stomach problem might require Scholes to have a hernia operation - which would be the third such surgery of his career.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson left Scholes out of United's two last games, against Wolves and Southampton - and the Reds missed him badly as they misfired in midfield, scraping a win against the Premiership new boys and then losing to Saints.
Fergie intended to give the player a period of rest to see how the injury responded to treatment, and the initial assessment was that Scholes would be out for six weeks if an op was needed, or for three if it were not.
But further investigation has revealed that the problem is a muscle tear rather than a hernia - and he could be back in less than two weeks.
England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson will also welcome the news, as Scholes had faced the prospect of missing the Euro 2004 qualifier in Turkey on October 11.
this news is not enough to overshadow the news o kenyon leaving....:sad:
Makes me wonder about his motivation during the summer with the transfers, was it PK who screwed the ronnie deal up?
was it his decision on sebas price?
Kenyon a traitor. Red my arse. Any Red would not leave a position of chief exec of the team you love and support and **** off to someone else, especially Chelsea. Only thing that bothers me now though (if it's true, still no official confirmation) is who the ****'s going to take over the post? And the possibility of this being the signs of a take-over looming and the implications that would have. :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 02:44 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Makes me wonder about his motivation during the summer with the transfers, was it PK who screwed the ronnie deal up?
Kenyon a traitor.:mad:
every questions on ManU fans...:pissed:
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 02:45 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Kenyon a traitor. Red my arse. Any Red would not leave a position of chief exec of the team you love and support and **** off to someone else, especially Chelsea. Only thing that bothers me now though (if it's true, still no official confirmation) is who the ****'s going to take over the post? And the possibility of this being the signs of a take-over looming and the implications that would have. :rolleyes:
Managing director David Gill would be best-placed to replace Kenyon at Old Trafford, either in the short-term or for a longer period......
OreoCookies
09-09-2003, 05:51 AM
We seem to have started this season on a really bad footing... :(
Losing two of our biggest players, and then now the CEO... What's up with Kenyon anyway, what's he actually thinking about? :mad:
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 07:25 AM
We seem to have started this season on a really bad footing... :(
Losing two of our biggest players, and then now the CEO... What's up with Kenyon anyway, what's he actually thinking about? :mad:
firstly he will hav alot of $ given by the russian guy.....secondly he wont hav the pressure to satify the shareholder when in chelsea as they hav so much $.......
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 07:31 AM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162535&cpid=8&title=Gill+fills+Kenyon+gap
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 07:34 AM
Manchester United released the following statement on Monday evening:
"The Board of Manchester United PLC is delighted to announce the appointment of David Gill as its new chief executive with immediate effect, to replace Peter Kenyon who has resigned today. Mr Kenyon will now go on ‘garden leave’ in accordance with the terms of his contract."
Manchester United PLC Chairman, Sir Roy Gardner, commented:
“We would like to thank Peter for his significant contribution to the success of Manchester United on and off the pitch in the last six years. David, as Managing Director, has also played a major role in that success, and we are delighted that his appointment will bring both experience and continuity to this position.”
Communications Department, 8 September 2003.
Peter Kenyon profile
Peter Kenyon, 49, is native of Manchester. He began his professional career in the finance field where he specialised in management accounting and built up his experience by gaining employment with some of England's top textile companies.
From 1976-1979, he worked for Burton's Retailing and, as the company began to shift its emphasis to off-shore and ready-to-wear clothing from tailor-made, he entered the company's management program.
He joined Coutaulds, the largest Textile Company in England in 1979, where he was Divisional Executive in charge of two designs. Following a move to Reliance Hosiery, a vertical knitwear manufacturer, Kenyon subsequently assumed the role of Chief Executive of this company upon its acquisition by Corah PLC, a major supplier of Marks and Spencer PLC.
In 1986, Kenyon joined Umbro UK in Manchester as Operations Director, responsible for sourcing, manufacturing and distribution. In 1988 he was appointed Managing Director, during which time he fully reorganised the UK business as started to focus the Umbro brand around the single sport of Football. At that time, he was appointed to the Board of Umbro's parent company, Humpreys Bros. Ltd, and also to the Board of its International Joint Venture.
1990 saw Kenyon becoming responsible for Umbro's European activities whilst still running the Umbro UK business.
In 1992, he handled the sale of Umbro UK to Stone Manufacturing of Greenville, South Carolina, bringing the company under American ownership. Kenyon was then appointed Chief Executive of Umbro Europe and two years later, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of Umbro International world-wide.
In May 1997, he joined Manchester United PLC as Deputy Chief Executive, a newly created position with prime responsibility on building the brand internationally.
On 1 August 2000, he became Chief Executive of Manchester United Football Club.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=42813
cracker
09-09-2003, 08:11 AM
basically he is just the CEO of Man Utd PLC; his number aim is the final P/L ratio in order to be accountable to the sharesholder, of cos along the way he has to make sure the club win some throphy.
as Chelsea is still not a PLC (are they ?),,so big spending wont be an issue for now.
ccloh
09-09-2003, 08:48 AM
well kenyon was a better CEO than martin edwards, let just hope david gill can perform better than kenyon will do. in particular in the area of player transfer.
ralliart_ray
09-09-2003, 09:27 AM
:bounce:
RuMmYtUb
09-09-2003, 10:49 AM
Who is David Gill previously ?
One of the executives ?
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 12:21 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Who is David Gill previously ?
One of the executives ?
he is managing director but is debuty CEO oso....
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 01:04 PM
Kenyon quit United yesterday to become Chelsea’s new chief executive on a five-year, £5million contract.
United forced him to sign a secrecy covenant before leaving, banning him from revealing any of the club’s business practices.
But Kenyon is the man who signed £120m in transfer cheques and helped negotiate every intimate detail of every contract signed by the United players.
That means he knows exactly how much it will take to lure away the cream of the Old Trafford squad — including Dutch superstar Van Nistelrooy.
Kenyon also had a close relationship with David Beckham, bringing the mouthwatering prospect of a return to the Premiership for the England captain should his move to Real Madrid ever turn sour.
Van Nistelrooy earns less than many of his Old Trafford team-mates having not yet been offered a new deal.
His five-year contract is worth only around half the £92,000-a-week earned by United skipper Roy Keane.
Kenyon’s move could persuade United to move quickly and ensure Van Nistelrooy signs a new deal.
The man who will have to thrash that out is current managing director David Gill, who has been appointed United’s chief executive.
damn scary!!.....i really hope we can hold on.....:sad:
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 01:05 PM
Will fergie oso kana lure away??......:(
ccloh
09-09-2003, 01:22 PM
hmm last time there was only 1 man utd fc. seems like now in epl there are 2 man utd fc :D
well looking at another way, the man utd alumini has increased one more member. :D
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 01:27 PM
u do reAlly look things on the bright side eh......but things are not so bright.....
fergie now damn stress....no assistant, hav to do everything by himself now a capable CEO left somemore he know so much abt Us.....who know what will Peter kenyon do....lure Ruud away? :(
**** off Kenyon, Ruud not going and neither is Fergie. I'm not so much worried about the departure of Peter Kenyon. I'm sure he's done a "fair enough" job here at OT, but money talks and bull**** walks. People are saying he's a BIG United fan but I can't find myself to believe that. If you are a big United fan and Chief Excecutive of your favourite club you just don't leave b'cause some filthy rich russian opens his moneypurse for you. That's my opinion anywho.
David Gill will take over from now I think. He's been working alongside Kenyon and he knows the job in and out. I think we'll do just fine from now on
swordy84
09-09-2003, 04:33 PM
Although I don't think that RVN will leave United, but I still hope that he will sign a new contract soon, just to be safe... if not then he might really be lured away by Kenyon, if money matters a lot to him.
As for Fergie, there is no chance in hell that he will leave United, the day when he leaves United is the day he retires.
ccloh
09-09-2003, 05:06 PM
fergie has total control in utd. if he leaves utd, can he find another fc that is like the current situation.
as long as fergie wants to spend and the ceo let him spend, guess whoever is the ceo is not a problem. i guess any1 is still better than martin edwards lol
ccloh
09-09-2003, 05:07 PM
i dont mind peter kenyon brings gray neville along with him to chelski :D
Nah he won't and he isn't going to get any of our players.;)
RuMmYtUb
09-09-2003, 05:35 PM
Muz haf faith... see wad's up for David Gill...
Hope our star players dun leave...or rather any of our players..
Muz haf faith... see wad's up for David Gill...
Hope our star players dun leave...or rather any of our players..
We dun have to sell anyone, we are financially secure and on the contrary, we should buy players to strengthen our squad.
swordy84
09-09-2003, 05:49 PM
United needs defenders at the moment... not getting rid of defenders, but then I don't mind if he brings Barthez along with him. :D =p
Bloody hell, **** those international games. :mad:
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,676902,00.html
Manchester United look set to pay a high price following the international break with five players doubtful for Saturday's trip to Charlton.
Rio Ferdinand and Nicky Butt have joined John O'Shea on the injured list after pulling out of England's Euro 2004 qualifier against Liechtenstein at Old Trafford on Wednesday night, and with Paul Scholes and Diego Forlan also doubtful, Sir Alex Ferguson faces major selection problems.
Ferdinand has not fully recovered from the kidney infection which ruled him out of United's 1-0 defeat at Southampton, and Scholes is being forced to rest while a stomach muscle tear heals.
O'Shea twisted an ankle during the Republic of Ireland's 1-1 draw with Russia in Dublin on Saturday, and will undergo treatment all week to see if he can be included, while Butt suffered a similar fate during England's win in Macedonia.
His injury is less serious than O'Shea's and the midfielder may make it, but back up striker Forlan seems unlikely to feature.
He completes a 16,000-mile round trip to Montevideo and Paraguay with the Uruguayan squad on Friday and could be ruled out of Ferguson's plans for the weekend because of tiredness.
StormTrooper
09-09-2003, 06:19 PM
its now or never for the 2nd stringers to shine.
Its been a bad few months for us. :(
we've played with a lack of passion over the last couple of matches?
- High profile missing out on Ronaldinho
- Beckham going to Real
- Veron off to Chelsea
-Carlos off to Real
- Beck's slags of Fergie in the national press
- Kenyon leaves for Chelsea (ok that wouldn't have affected the displays)
I in no way doubt the capabilities of the players that are at the club, nor their desire to win (which has been proven over many years), but if good news gives you confidence, so much bad news must get you down.
We need a few big pluses over the next few weeks to get the spirit going again.
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=162593&cpid=8&title=United+win+race+to+sign+Finn
RuMmYtUb
09-09-2003, 08:45 PM
we need a winning streak !!!!
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 09:35 PM
i dont quite worry abt gill as CEO but i am very worry abt PK, he is a great bussiese man and the most important thing is that he know everything abt ManU at his fingertip!
as the chinese saying says......know your enemy inside out, u can win the war!
So what, I doubt any Man Utd players would leave just coz Kenyon left. It's Fergie that's pulling the strings in the dressing room, not Kenyon.
Besides, Kenyon's never come across as the type of executive that has a close relationship with the players.
The players won't be bothered by the CE leaving, he is not involved with them much. Its Fergie they love, not Kenyon.
Kiwi8
09-09-2003, 10:35 PM
U all think Kenyon's departure wun affect Man U ah....
True that it wun affect the players much, but it will affect Man U's business ability liao....
guoquanyap
09-09-2003, 10:39 PM
Originally posted by RVN
So what, I doubt any Man Utd players would leave just coz Kenyon left. It's Fergie that's pulling the strings in the dressing room, not Kenyon.
Besides, Kenyon's never come across as the type of executive that has a close relationship with the players.
The players won't be bothered by the CE leaving, he is not involved with them much. Its Fergie they love, not Kenyon.
that's where u are wrong.....
RuMmYtUb
09-09-2003, 11:31 PM
Aiya he's already gone... no point talking... juz hope for the best and that David Gill muz do a decent job
NanDesKa
10-09-2003, 12:03 AM
Ruud will never go.
Alienz
10-09-2003, 12:37 AM
Chelsea next targeted.....
http://www.fansfc.com/images/player/O'SheaResized.jpg
News (http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=124971)
Oh man, Chelsea is targeting Man U :mad:
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 12:42 AM
Originally posted by Alienz
Chelsea next targeted.....
http://www.fansfc.com/images/player/O'SheaResized.jpg
News (http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=124971)
Oh man, Chelsea is targeting Man U :mad:
PK will surely know how to attack our wage structre and transfer fee....
it will going to be a very very tough road ahead.....:(
Alienz
10-09-2003, 12:51 AM
PK will surely know how to attack our wage structre and transfer fee....
it will going to be a very very tough road ahead.....:(
Yeah agree with you. He know alot of United secrets.
derrace
10-09-2003, 01:10 AM
sianz...
oh well...I am sure PK would get his desserts for leaving MU...sooner or LATER...
:mad:
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 01:24 AM
Originally posted by derrace
sianz...
oh well...I am sure PK would get his desserts for leaving MU...sooner or LATER...
:mad:
well hopefully we can hold on until that day come.....somehow i cant see that day is coming.....the russian guy seem to stay at chelsea for quite long....:mad:
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 01:37 AM
Manchester United's new number seven Cristiano Ronaldo has been named in the Portugal U21 squad to face England on September 9.
David Platt's side face Portugal at Goodison Park on September 9, a match which promises plenty of quality and excitement.
The match kicks off at 8pm, with tickets costing £10 for adults and £5 concessions. They can be purchased in advance on 0870 73837866.
Portugal squad:
Bosingwa (FC Porto)
Bruno Vale (FC Porto)
Bruno Alves (Vitória SC)
Cândido Costa (Derby County)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Danny (CS Marítimo)
Helder Postiga (Tottenham Hotspur)
Hugo Luz (Gil Vicente FC)
Hugo Viana (Newcastle United)
João Paulo (UD Leiria)
Luís Lourenço (Sporting CP)
Makukula (Real Valladolid)
Mário Sérgio (Sporting CP)
Moreira (SL Benfica)
Pedro Neves (Alverca)
Raul Meireles (Boavista)
Ricardo Costa (FC Porto)
Ricardo Quaresma (FC Barcelona)
Santamaria (Sporting CP)
Tiago (SL Benfica)
RuMmYtUb
10-09-2003, 01:44 AM
Wtf target O Shea.... pui
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 01:48 AM
lalalalalala :rolleyes:
ccloh
10-09-2003, 08:52 AM
well go chelski must fight for starting places or even a place to warm the bench. in utd u hv to fight for ur place too but then again the diff is utd can win thing but not chelski at the moment. i guess if the player is smart enough they would kn what to do.
Kiwi8
10-09-2003, 09:05 AM
well hopefully we can hold on until that day come.....somehow i cant see that day is coming.....the russian guy seem to stay at chelsea for quite long....:mad:
Duh.... would u leave a place where u have dumped a lot of your money in, so soon? :confused:
NanDesKa
10-09-2003, 10:02 AM
This are just rumours to unsettle the Manchurian camp lah..
Dun believe. =p
MANCHESTER UNITED have given Peter Kenyon a firm ‘hands off’ message when it comes to their star players.
United’s lawyers want to stop Kenyon from taking up his new post as chief executive of Chelsea until after the new year transfer window closes at the end of January.
The Old Trafford board fear Kenyon could use his knowledge of United contracts to entice players away with bigger money deals.
And they want to block his path to Stamford Bridge for four months.
Striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, an obvious target, earns half that of top-paid player Roy Keane’s £92,000 a week.
yeah **** you kenyon, you betrayer. Go and **** chelsea up instead. :laugh:
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 03:41 PM
alamak warn him where got use.....think he will listen meh....jus hope we can keep him taking up the chelsea until the end of Jan....which is when the transfer window close.....
JusTice
10-09-2003, 03:55 PM
Here to share some of my views - http://www.geocities.com/sportseasia/soccer.html
RuMmYtUb
10-09-2003, 06:21 PM
EPL resumes this wk ~
ccloh
10-09-2003, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN
MANCHESTER UNITED have given Peter Kenyon a firm ‘hands off’ message when it comes to their star players.
United’s lawyers want to stop Kenyon from taking up his new post as chief executive of Chelsea until after the new year transfer window closes at the end of January.
The Old Trafford board fear Kenyon could use his knowledge of United contracts to entice players away with bigger money deals.
And they want to block his path to Stamford Bridge for four months.
Striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, an obvious target, earns half that of top-paid player Roy Keane’s £92,000 a week.
yeah **** you kenyon, you betrayer. Go and **** chelsea up instead. :laugh:
well that depend on whether he has the profession ethnic with him or not.
All I can say is that he better stay away from our lads becuase if he lures any one like Ruud or others away or else he will be facing a riot which will make Tienamen Square look like a oicnic.
NanDesKa
10-09-2003, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN
All I can say is that he better stay away from our lads becuase if he lures any one like Ruud or others away or else he will be facing a riot which will make Tienamen Square look like a oicnic. he will be shot.
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 10:08 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson rejected an approach by Chelsea during the summer, it was revealed today.
It is understood Ferguson was approached shortly after Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich's takeover at Chelsea, but the United boss insists it would take something 'catastrophic' to make him leave Old Trafford.
The news has leaked out just two days after Peter Kenyon left his role as United chief executive to take up the same post at Stamford Bridge.
Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News: 'I am manager of Manchester United and it would be something absolutely catastrophic for me to leave the club. My whole life is Manchester United.
'When you become manager of this club you get woven into the fabric of the place.'
Chelsea declined to comment on the claim concerning Ferguson.
It has been a period of high drama at Stamford Bridge this summer. Since Abramovich's takeover Chelsea have spent over £100million on new players.
The club were known to be in financial trouble before the Russian wiped out all the debts and set about adding to Claudio Ranieri's squad.
The Blues recruited three of England's finest rising stars in Glen Johnson, Wayne Bridge and Joe Cole for a combined £19.6million.
The club then signed Damien Duff from Blackburn for £17million, while Geremi, Juan Sebastian Veron, Adrian Mutu, Alexei Smertin, Hernan Crespo and Claude Makelele were recruited from overseas.
Kenyon's defection to west London is an indication that Chelsea are now keen to get their house in top order off the pitch.
An approach for Ferguson - by far the most successful manager in the Premier League's short history - would arguably have been Abramovich's most amazing coup so far.
he's the man!!
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 10:10 PM
I am manager of Manchester United and it would be something absolutely catastrophic for me to leave the club. My whole life is Manchester United.
at least fergie came out and assure the fans......;)
yulee
10-09-2003, 10:24 PM
The Ruski probably didn't offer him enough :laugh:
guoquanyap
10-09-2003, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by yulee
The Ruski probably didn't offer him enough :laugh:
i really think ur thinking is damn shallow man....u think that the russian guy is so damn rich.....he cant offer fergie the amount of $ he wan meh?
wake up ur ideas lah.....:pissed:
NanDesKa
11-09-2003, 12:24 AM
i think fergie asked for one oil field in russia..
kena rejected. :laugh:
RuMmYtUb
11-09-2003, 02:19 AM
I am manager of Manchester United and it would be something absolutely catastrophic for me to leave the club. My whole life is Manchester United.
at least fergie came out and assure the fans......;)
Heng he's loyal
genesis113
11-09-2003, 02:24 AM
Wth the departure of Kenyon, whole United including the players and even the fans might be a bit demoralised and facing some uncertainties.
But what Sir Alex did, has lifted up the spirit of United.
Well done, Fergie.
StormTrooper
11-09-2003, 07:40 AM
roman might as well take over man utd.......am sure he is targeting rvn/scholes/giggs also. :rolleyes:
dongcute
11-09-2003, 08:14 AM
i really think ur thinking is damn shallow man....u think that the russian guy is so damn rich.....he cant offer fergie the amount of $ he wan meh?
wake up ur ideas lah.....:pissed:
Everyone has a price;)
ccloh
11-09-2003, 08:51 AM
Originally posted by genesis113
Wth the departure of Kenyon, whole United including the players and even the fans might be a bit demoralised and facing some uncertainties.
But what Sir Alex did, has lifted up the spirit of United.
Well done, Fergie.
it is fergie and the boys who did all the dirty work to get utd the result and not kenyon. as long as the main core of the team and fergie still ard, dont think that affect much on the team
Kiwi8
11-09-2003, 10:56 AM
it is fergie and the boys who did all the dirty work to get utd the result and not kenyon. as long as the main core of the team and fergie still ard, dont think that affect much on the team
Wrong.... while Fergie and the boys did all the dirty work on the field, Kenyon is the one that did all the dirty work off the field to get Man U the money they need. Each one is important and indispensible.
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Wrong.... while Fergie and the boys did all the dirty work on the field, Kenyon is the one that did all the dirty work off the field to get Man U the money they need. Each one is important and indispensible.
ya that's rite...he has prove quite sucussful off the field w all the $ he bring in and the deal he made w Nike etc....but on the buying of ppl and transfer fees.....he is still not there yet......
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:18 AM
Originally posted by dongcute
Everyone has a price;)
i dun think you know wat i am trying to say......:sarcastic :sarcastic
RuMmYtUb
11-09-2003, 12:12 PM
Hope David Gill will be better
ccloh
11-09-2003, 01:25 PM
come think of it, chelski intention of getting kenyon over is more or less to help him promote chelski worldwide. interestng, we have utd as the leading force in promoting worldwide, followed by real madrid who after buying "david the who???" to help in the promotion and now chelski is getting the marketing guy to do the job.
NanDesKa
11-09-2003, 03:34 PM
ask united go get jorge valdano as chairman.. :P
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 07:42 PM
come think of it, chelski intention of getting kenyon over is more or less to help him promote chelski worldwide. interestng, we have utd as the leading force in promoting worldwide, followed by real madrid who after buying "david the who???" to help in the promotion and now chelski is getting the marketing guy to do the job.
Man Utd is a global marketing power partly because of the on-pitch performances too... Imagine, if we were not playing good football to begin with, would the Man Utd brand name be so marketable at all?
True, Kenyon was responsible for many exciting tie-ups & business deals, but he's gone, so let's face it... :(
We have quite a number of marketable names within the squad itself, so I guess losing Becks wasn't too big of a problem... As for Kenyon, he may be a great negotiator & businessman, but his qualities are not irreplaceable... I'm sure we'll come across someone who can fill his shoes sooner or later... ;)
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 07:44 PM
Hope David Gill will be better
I hope so too... :)
Anyway, from Managing Director go to CEO... Is that a promotion or a demotion ah? :confused:
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
ask united go get jorge valdano as chairman.. :P
He'll end-up selling the Carrington training complex to the City Council... That's if the Council is willing to buy it to begin with... :laugh:
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 07:50 PM
Football agent Pini Zahavi has denied any knowledge of Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich's reported approach to Sir Alex Ferguson.
It was claimed on Wednesday that the Manchester United manager was approached to become Chelsea's new boss shortly after Abramovich bought the London club.
But Zahavi, who helped Abramovich buy Chelsea, claims he is unaware of any move to lure Ferguson.
He told The Sun: 'As far as I know the story is not at all true. There is not a lot more I can say about it.'
The Manchester Evening News had reported that Chelsea where in for Ferguson after chief executive Peter Kenyon swapped Old Trafford for Stamford Bridge on Monday.
But Ferguson said: 'I am manager of Manchester United and it would be something absolutely catastrophic for me to leave the club.
'My whole life is Manchester United.
'When you become manager of this club you get woven into the fabric of the place.'
Meanwhile Kenyon's successor David Gill is to continue with plans to offer Ferguson a new contract. 'We are very pleased to have Alex as manager and we want it to continue. It is early days regarding the manager's contract.
'All I will say, as Peter had said and he was speaking on behalf of the board, we are positive about it and we won't get into a situation like last time. That will move ahead soon.'
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hope Fergie can stay on for as long as possible... Maybe move on to become a director with the club after he retires as manager... :)
But seriously... I think itz also a good time now to start short-listing SAF's successor... Who better than Ferguson himself to select & groom the next manager of Man Utd? :D
Sir Alex Ferguson began his head count on Thursday knowing it will be another 24 hours before he can finalise plans for the trip to Charlton.
The United manager had virtually his entire senior squad away on international duty and has to wait until they have all checked in at the club's Carrington training complex to find out if there are any new injury worries.
Injured England trio of Paul Scholes, Rio Ferdinand and Nicky Butt go under the microscope to see if any of them is fit enough for the Premiership game at The Valley, with Ferdinand appearing to have the best chance even though he was ruled out of the European Championship qualifiers against Macedonia and Liechtenstein with a kidney infection.
He is back in training, while Butt has had extensive treatment on an ankle injury.
Scholes was withdrawn from the internationals because of a stomach muscle tear and may be given more rest before returning.
John O'Shea has already been ruled out after injuring ankle ligaments during Ireland's game against Russia last Saturday, and Uruguay's Diego Forlan is doubtful after making a 16,000-mile round trip to South America.
Forlan is not due back until Friday while of the others who were away, Fabien Barthez and Mikael Silvestre fly in from France's trip to Slovenia on Thursday, while Ole Gunnar Solskjaer returns from Oslo and Norway's friendly against Portugal, and Ruud van Nistelrooy jets back from Holland's game in Prague.
England's Phil and Gary Neville were able to report for training as normal after Wednesday's game at Old Trafford together with new-boy Ronaldo who was on Under-21 duty with Portugal.
It was a similar story for Ryan Giggs who played for Wales in their 1-1 draw with Finland in Cardiff.
Chief executive David Gill has wished Peter Kenyon well at Chelsea despite warning him against poaching any of Manchester United's staff.
Gill was appointed as Reds chief executive following Kenyon's switch to Chelsea earlier this week.
Part of the severance package agreed between the clubs upon Kenyon's move was to insist that he does not return to Old Trafford to poach any of their players of board.
Gill said: "Peter is an able businessman and I am sure he will have ideas to take Chelsea forward but we have 54million fans around the globe. We have 11million in the UK and these fans are with us from cradle to grave.
"With all due respect to Chelsea they won't change. Some are fickle and some youngsters might choose Chelsea if they are much, much more successful but the majority are here for life.
"I am sure Peter will do a very good job at Chelsea. I am sure they will be competitive on and off the field but we have so many strengths they can't replicate.
"Peter is precluded from his contract against deliberate or blatant poaching. But knowing the man as I do I don't think there will be a lot of that."
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 09:18 PM
David Gill does sound pretty confident about the club's future... :)
I sure hope he can take Man Utd further by building upon Kenyon's work, while adding some new ideas of his own... ;)
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 09:52 PM
David Gill does sound pretty confident about the club's future... :)
I sure hope he can take Man Utd further by building upon Kenyon's work, while adding some new ideas of his own... ;)
David gill way of doing things is more like martin edward, very firm and nv always give in to fergie, somemore they are very gd friend.....doubt he will really allow fergie to spend alot.....
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:04 PM
Manchester United are on the verge of signing 16-year-old FC Espoo striker Jami Puustinen, who will become the first Finnish player to join the Reds.
Jami, pictured left with Reds coach Dave Bushell, visited Manchester United’s training camp in July and made a great impression on the club's coaches.
Puustinen and Manchester United have agreed that Jami can still take part in the European Under-16’s Championships qualification games in Kajaani and Iisalmi during September. He will move to Manchester at the end of September.
Jami and his father have always been United supporters, leading him to choose the Reds ahead of Blackburn and Southampton, with whom he also trained.
ManUtd.com's Finnish representative caught up with Jami for an exclusive chat after he put pen to paper:
Why did you choose Manchester United?
United was clearly the best option for me. The atmosphere was fantastic and the change United offered was magnificent. Also Manchester United is in my blood and has always been my favourite team. My father probably dressed me in a United shirt when I was born. United has also been my big dream for long time now I have wished, that someday I could put in the Manchester United shirt. United also offers me a good change, to develop into good player, and I believe I'll do well with my eagerness and I will train very hard. I'm emotionally ready for this challenge.
And the facilities in Carrington were great?
Yes, absolutely splendid. There were huge training areas for every team. And then there were a big indoor hall; Canteen, dressing rooms, everything was in good shape. Everything was really amazing. You must be a special player if you don't like the facilities there.
Did you meet Sir Alex while you were in Manchester?
Yes. In last day I met Ferguson at his office. He told me that the five coaches who will make the decision whether to buy me or not, had all said good things about me. He asked me that if I had the chance, would I sign for Manchester United. I said yes.
What about the players?
I met Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ryan Giggs, whose picture I asked to autograph, Paul Scholes, Phil Neville. Well, I actually saw them all there, because they trained in the same area.
Who's your favourite player in Manchester United?
Ruud van Nistelrooy. He can score from anywhere!
Can you describe your playing style?
I'm a direct striker, technically skilful, like the coach Dave Bushell said, good in one-against-one situations and a good finisher. Just like Ruud van Nistelrooy!
Jami Petteri Puustinen
Born: 9.1.1987 (Espoo, Finland)
Height: 189 cm
Weight: 80 kg
Clubs: FC Kasiysi (1995-2000) and FC Espoo (2000-2003)
34 caps for Finland’s boys teams – 16 goals
During last two seasons he has taken 84 penalties and hasn’t missed one.
http://picsrv.altdc3.va.twimm.net/fif=/manu/img_10_4112.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=135&hei=135&rgn=0.3191,0.2519,0.5274,0.3959&cvt=jpeg
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 11:27 PM
That's a piece of good news... :)
Hope that lifts all the gloom that has been surrounding the club in recent times... :bounce:
Ch3tah_39
11-09-2003, 11:29 PM
Hope man utd get the finnish guy lerr..
buy youngster, few season later, power lerr:D
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
Hope man utd get the finnish guy lerr..
buy youngster, few season later, power lerr:D
I just hope he really gets the chance to make it to the first team... :rolleyes:
Don't afterwards become another Erik Nevland... All the promise, but never made the first-XI in his time at Old Trafford... :(
Ch3tah_39
11-09-2003, 11:35 PM
I just hope he really gets the chance to make it to the first team... :rolleyes:
Don't afterwards become another Erik Nevland... All the promise, but never made the first-XI in his time at Old Trafford... :(
hope so lorz;)
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
hope so lorz;)
Only time can tell, I guess... :)
But still, that's one more for the future on our books... :bounce:
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:38 PM
he did score some goals....;)
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 11:39 PM
he did score some goals....;)
Yeah, but he never got any of them at first-team level... :(
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:41 PM
Yeah, but he never got any of them at first-team level... :(
:laugh: it's okie lah ppl come and go....very few ppl fr the youth rank can break into first team....they jus hav to make full use of the chance when given to them....
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 11:43 PM
:laugh: it's okie lah ppl come and go....very few ppl fr the youth rank can break into first team....they jus hav to make full use of the chance when given to them....
Hope the Finnish kid can go one better loh... :)
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:46 PM
Hope the Finnish kid can go one better loh... :)
we hav quite a number of promising youth in our rank....mostly are out on loan to our feeder club....read fr report....they hav done well so far.....wonder how chakwick now......
OreoCookies
11-09-2003, 11:49 PM
we hav quite a number of promising youth in our rank....mostly are out on loan to our feeder club....read fr report....they hav done well so far.....wonder how chakwick now......
With Kenyon gone, I wonder if our programme of establishing more feeder clubs will go downhill...
After all, it was the former CEO who negotiated most of the tie-ups with the other foreign clubs... :(
guoquanyap
11-09-2003, 11:55 PM
With Kenyon gone, I wonder if our programme of establishing more feeder clubs will go downhill...
After all, it was the former CEO who negotiated most of the tie-ups with the other foreign clubs... :(
from wat i think.....the programme prove to be a sucuss....doubt it will go downhill......
afterall....PK cant possible donw all the thing himself without any help fr anybody?!.....David Gil had done his part andl is the one who had been assisting him all this while......so there wont be any problem w this.....;)
guoquanyap
12-09-2003, 01:33 AM
lalalalalala.....~~
RuMmYtUb
12-09-2003, 02:18 AM
from wat i think.....the programme prove to be a sucuss....doubt it will go downhill......
afterall....PK cant possible donw all the thing himself without any help fr anybody?!.....David Gil had done his part andl is the one who had been assisting him all this while......so there wont be any problem w this.....;)
Hope David Gill can improve on it...
OreoCookies
12-09-2003, 05:57 AM
I sure hope Gill will keep-up with the programme, and maybe expand it if possible... Itz been a very benefitting initiative for us... :)
Here's saying a big thanks to Peter Kenyon... Kinda' upset that he's gone, but I guess that's life... :(
OreoCookies
12-09-2003, 05:58 AM
lalalalalala.....~~
:laugh:
:bounce:
OreoCookies
12-09-2003, 05:59 AM
Hope David Gill can improve on it...
Yeah manz... :)
Let's see how Gill can respond to the challenge now... Hope he leads Man Utd to further & greater success on the business & transfer fronts... :D
Feador
12-09-2003, 10:52 AM
alright lets hope man utd win tml, then a win against panathinakos too!
guoquanyap
12-09-2003, 11:51 AM
Yeah manz... :)
Let's see how Gill can respond to the challenge now... Hope he leads Man Utd to further & greater success on the business & transfer fronts... :D
i am not quite woory abt him doing a gd job.....i am worry abt PK....he know too much bt Us.....he can easily caught us off guard on any business deal and transfer deal......:(
ccloh
12-09-2003, 01:23 PM
if i'm not wrong, utd is getting a lawyer to settle issue regarding possibility of kenyon trying to get the utd players over to chelski.
Yeah ****, then kenyon got to honour that contract, if he dare to breach it, take him to court.:rolleyes:
News from Old Trafford yesterday is that Nicky Butt and John O'Shea have both recovered from their respective injuries, and will be ready for selection for Saturday afternoons all important game with Charlton at the Valley.
Uruguayan Diego Forlan however will probably miss the game only arriving in England 24hrs before kick off on Sat. he will be on the bench at best.
All United fans, including myself will be delighted at the news of Butt and O'Shea's quick recovery. Sir Alex will now have a strong squad ready for selection on Saturday.
Hopefully we'll see both Scholes and Ferdinand back from injuries next week as United take on Panathinaikos in the CL and the Gooners in the league.
Let's cross our fingers for Saturday and look forward to the BIG game next week :)
ccloh
12-09-2003, 06:32 PM
LET SLAUGHTER CHARLTON :evil: :evil:
cracker
12-09-2003, 08:55 PM
let just play better football and get the 3 pts...
StormTrooper
12-09-2003, 09:49 PM
LET SLAUGHTER CHARLTON :evil: :evil:
i'll be happy to just win, 1-0 will do.
guoquanyap
12-09-2003, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
i'll be happy to just win, 1-0 will do.
sad to say win 0-1 will not be gd to recover their confidence especially to Ruud....he had a terrible wk to his national team, Holland...somemore he had not score to 2 matches liao......
OreoCookies
12-09-2003, 10:56 PM
sad to say win 0-1 will not be gd to recover their confidence especially to Ruud....he had a terrible wk to his national team, Holland...somemore he had not score to 2 matches liao......
Hmm... How about a 1-0 victory with RVN scoring a wonder solo goal, with a run all the way from defence? :D
That should go some way to restoring Ruud's confidence... ;)
Champions Manchester United could be without seven senior players through injury in Saturday's premier league match at Charlton Athletic after international duty took its toll on their squad.
United's bid to bounce back from their 1-0 defeat at Southampton has been hampered by fresh injuries to Nicky Butt, Mikael Silvestre, John O'Shea and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.
With midfielders Paul Scholes (hernia) and Kleberson (shoulder) and defender Rio Ferdinand (kidney infection) already out, manager Alex Ferguson's squad will be stretched to the limit at The Valley.
"The injury situation is unclear at the moment," Ferguson told a news conference on Friday.
"Paul Scholes is obviously out. We're just monitoring that one at the moment. There's no real progress there.
"Nicky Butt has come back with an injury, Mikael Silvestre's come back with an injury and John O'Shea and (striker) Ole Solskjaer have come back with injuries.
"They have done a little bit of light training and some are getting treatment. We are taking 20 players down to London, which we have to do in this situation because we're unclear of the fitness of the players."
Ferdinand has also been told by the club's medical staff that he still cannot play as a result of the kidney infection that forced him to miss England's games against Macedonia and Liechtenstein in the past week.
Midfielder Butt collected an ankle injury in Macedonia and Ireland defender O'Shea looks set to be ruled out with ankle problem.
With Wes Brown a long-term absentee due to a knee injury, United could find their defensive resources stretched, particularly if French international Silvestre does not recover in time.
Captain Roy Keane may again be forced into service in the back four but Ferguson believes that his squad has the versatility to cope with their current problems.
He said: "We have got players who can adapt and apply themselves in different ways.
"Quinton Fortune and Phil Neville can play in different positions, Roy Keane could go into the back four and Gary Neville could play centre back.
"We've got cover in that respect. You've got to have a nucleus of players who can play positions in the modern game. We'll be okay."
United go to Charlton on the back of two indifferent performances against Wolves and then Southampton.
Ferguson does not under-estimate the threat posed by the London side, particularly after their signing of Italian Paolo Di Canio who interested the Old Trafford boss two seasons ago.
But he is expecting his side to bounce back to form in a bid to catch up with leaders Arsenal who have a three-point lead at the top.
Ferguson said: "Charlton have added one or two players, Matty Holland, (Hermann) Hreidarsson from Ipswich and Paolo Di Canio.
"That's an amazing signing because I bet almost every manager thought about that one.
"He's a fantastically talented man, so we can expect a difficult game."
NanDesKa
13-09-2003, 12:35 AM
:bounce: :bounce:
RuMmYtUb
13-09-2003, 12:55 AM
Vieira may become a Devil ? (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=276871&cc=4716)
:evil:
guoquanyap
13-09-2003, 01:35 AM
Vieira may become a Devil ? (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=276871&cc=4716)
nah....Eric can do the job.....;)
guoquanyap
13-09-2003, 01:36 AM
Hmm... How about a 1-0 victory with RVN scoring a wonder solo goal, with a run all the way from defence? :D
That should go some way to restoring Ruud's confidence... ;)
that will be nice :D but a gd performace and 0-2 or 0-3 scoreline will be gd....;)
OreoCookies
13-09-2003, 03:09 AM
nah....Eric can do the job.....;)
Eric's still got quite some way to go to become the finished article, but I agree that he's got raw talent... Definitely one to build great things upon... ;)
OreoCookies
13-09-2003, 03:12 AM
that will be nice :D but a gd performace and 0-2 or 0-3 scoreline will be gd....;)
Either way, I believe a victory is still of the utmost importance... It'll definitely be a morale-booster, regardless of the winning scoreline... :)
OreoCookies
13-09-2003, 08:32 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson faces one-time transfer target Paolo di Canio still believing the veteran Italian would have been on most Barclaycard Premiership managers' summer shopping lists.
Ferguson's own attempts to take di Canio to Old Trafford were scuppered two years ago when Dwight Yorke rejected the transfer to Middlesbrough which was intended to create a vacancy for the maverick front man.
The Manchester United boss was so annoyed by Yorke's stance he barely selected the Caribbean-born striker again.
Now 35, di Canio is set to make his full Charlton debut against an injury-hit United side at The Valley after joining Alan Curbishley's men on a free transfer from relegated West Ham.
Despite his age, the mere mention of his name is enough to bring a glint to Ferguson's eye.
"I bet almost every manager thought about signing him," said Ferguson. "He is a very talented player and from what I know about him, and what other people have told me, he is a fantastic trainer who loves the game.
"I wouldn't have looked upon him as a challenge. You can't have that many problems when people are as committed to the game as that."
Ferguson takes his team to the capital looking for a return to winning form following their surprise defeat at Southampton at the end of last month.
The United camp blamed a combination of a dry pitch and long grass for their first reverse of the new campaign, which came after the champions recorded a 100% start from their opening three games of the season.
However, the Red Devils' cause has not been helped by injuries that will force Ferguson to delve deep into his vast squad just to turn out a team.
Definitely out are Rio Ferdinand, who can still only take part in light training sessions as he continues his slow recovery from a kidney infection, and long-term casualties Paul Scholes and Kleberson.
Nicky Butt missed England's midweek win over Liechtenstein with an ankle injury, while John O'Shea limped out of Ireland's friendly draw with Turkey on Tuesday with a similar problem.
Mikael Silvestre and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer are also on the treatment table after picking up knee knocks on international duty.
Phil Neville looks set to occupy the midfield berth he filled as an England substitute at Old Trafford on Wednesday, while Quinton Fortune will fill in at left-back after signalling his return from a thigh strain with two recent reserve team outings.
Charlton manager Alan Curbishley has yet to decide whether to pitch di Canio in for his full debut.
The Italian has been sidelined since bruising his knee when he made his first appearance as a substitute against Wolves last month.
Fellow striker Carlton Cole is out with a hip injury, the full extent of which will only be known in a week's time. Centre-back Mark Fish serves a one-match suspension against the Premiership champions.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Okie... Let's hope the Reds can get all three points from this match, hopefully by producing a good performance & getting a few goals to top it all off... :D
ccloh
13-09-2003, 09:36 AM
by then he will be at the wrong side of the age group liao. not the worthly. so vieira it is either now or never :D
ralliart_ray
13-09-2003, 11:47 AM
wat time manU vs charlton huh? n wat channel? feel like going to pub to watch.........
StormTrooper
13-09-2003, 11:54 AM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
wat time manU vs charlton huh? n wat channel? feel like going to pub to watch.........
ch24 9.55pm
NanDesKa
13-09-2003, 12:07 PM
vieira either come not or never..
4 years later he will be 30 plus le..
edhorizon
13-09-2003, 12:09 PM
im at MS Bar there. come over find me la.
ralliart_ray
13-09-2003, 12:30 PM
I going Cosy Bay i guess :D
cracker
13-09-2003, 12:39 PM
vieira either come not or never..
4 years later he will be 30 plus le..
it is just an escape clause for himself if Arsenal fail to make an impact in Champion League this season..
Players always said such thing,,,started off with Terry Sherringham complaining of lack of success at Spur and made the switch to Man Utd in 97, Sol Campbell did likewise,,Owen had already sounded a warning to Liverpool etc etc..
NanDesKa
13-09-2003, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by cracker
it is just an escape clause for himself if Arsenal fail to make an impact in Champion League this season..
Players always said such thing,,,started off with Terry Sherringham complaining of lack of success at Spur and made the switch to Man Utd in 97, Sol Campbell did likewise,,Owen had already sounded a warning to Liverpool etc etc.. then hopefully arsenal becomes a flop this year. :P
NanDesKa
13-09-2003, 01:24 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
im at MS Bar there. come over find me la. bo jio.
StormTrooper
13-09-2003, 06:27 PM
then hopefully arsenal becomes a flop this year. :P
and chelski too :D
guoquanyap
13-09-2003, 06:41 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
and chelski too :D
:D
Confirmed starting line-up, not too bad, some of the injured players recovered.
Man Utd: Howard, Gary Neville, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Phil Neville, Ronaldo, Butt, Keane, Fortune, Van Nistelrooy, Giggs
Subs: Carroll, Djemba-Djemba, Solskjaer, Forlan, Silvestre.
NanDesKa
13-09-2003, 11:01 PM
ronaldo stepover so fast... :eek:
leslielai
13-09-2003, 11:10 PM
Ronaldo needs some beefing up and more match experience.
StormTrooper
13-09-2003, 11:58 PM
Originally posted by leslielai
yeah, but he's only 18...........
RuMmYtUb
14-09-2003, 12:13 AM
Man Utd 2-0 Charlton
Gd 2nd half performance, Ronaldo wif a sleek performance, great team performance and RVN back to his scoring touch.... on comes Panathinaikos and ARSEnal !!!
Hope Scholesy will be back ASAP ! :bounce:
he had a very good game today leh....
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 12:22 AM
he played very well today...actually created two goals but didn't convert by giggs and ole...and played a part in creating e second goal for ruud...
looks like he's settling down well in e squad... :D
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 12:23 AM
he played very well today...actually created two goals but didn't convert by giggs and ole...and played a part in creating e second goal for ruud...
looks like he's settling down well in e squad...
created 2 chances i mean.....;)
ccloh
14-09-2003, 12:38 AM
with 2-0 win (RVN scoring both), 3 pts in the pocket and arsenal drawing at home to prompy. not a bad weekend for the red devils. :D
bad news though Keane got injured.:(
Yellowfin
14-09-2003, 12:55 AM
The charlton defender give Ronaldo four times late and hard tackle then the ref flash the yellow card on the defender.:mad:
Ch3tah_39
14-09-2003, 01:15 AM
gd game lerr...
3pts... yeah...:D
derrace
14-09-2003, 01:37 AM
good result...
wah, seems like a lot of the strikers scored two goals today leh...
Ruud, Shearer, Mutu, Kanoute, Owen and Beattie
woot...
seems like Mutu quite power leh...Ruud must jia you!
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 01:39 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
The charlton defender give Ronaldo four times late and hard tackle then the ref flash the yellow card on the defender.:mad:
if u notice....ronaldo kana mark by 2 or more defender.....and if one of them foul him and kana warn by the Ref....they switch defender to foul him.....:sarcastic
anyway, ronaldo hav 2 chances to score his first ever goal today....but well saved by the keeper.....
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 01:43 AM
Finally, at last something turn out gd for Ruud after a dismay wk w national team and last 2 matches......see he so happy after open the scoring....;)
Yellowfin
14-09-2003, 01:45 AM
if u notice....ronaldo kana mark by 2 or more defender.....and if one of them foul him and kana warn by the Ref....they switch defender to foul him.....:sarcastic
anyway, ronaldo hav 2 chances to score his first ever goal today....but well saved by the keeper.....
But I keep hearing the commentator keep saying the same name for the charlton defender that committed the foul on Ronaldo.
Yes, Charlton did use 2 defenders to guard him but somehow he still manage to get past them . :D
But the overall passing is not that good compare to last season or pre-season. A lot of pass went a stray or the player reluctant to chase after the ball.
leslielai
14-09-2003, 01:45 AM
looks like he's settling down well in e squad... :D
Yep. But he gets felled too often :laugh:
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 01:50 AM
Yep. But he gets felled too often :laugh:
ppl tend to forget he's onli a 18yr old kid.....of cos his physcial and build is still not there yet....
and ya sometimes he did fell too much which is not gd to the ref as it will build up his reputation as someone who fall easily thus sometimes desision will go against him...... ;)
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 01:53 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
But I keep hearing the commentator keep saying the same name for the charlton defender that committed the foul on Ronaldo.
Yes, Charlton did use 2 defenders to guard him but somehow he still manage to get past them . :D
But the overall passing is not that good compare to last season or pre-season. A lot of pass went a stray or the player reluctant to chase after the ball.
in the begining it's NUmber 2,Radostin Kishishev who mark him and when ronaldo goes past him....FOUL him.....then he kana warn liao so NUmber 4, Graham Stuart took over to Foul him....
but in the end Kishishev still get the Yellow card....;)
swordy84
14-09-2003, 02:45 AM
Although it was a win for United but I thought it wasn't a very convincing performance for most of the match. 2 goals scored and created from the results of 2 freekicks, it still seemed not enough creativity up front, with only Ronaldo doing most of the creative job today. Anyway glad to see RVN score 2 goals today. :D
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 03:00 AM
Originally posted by swordy84
Although it was a win for United but I thought it wasn't a very convincing performance for most of the match. 2 goals scored and created from the results of 2 freekicks, it still seemed not enough creativity up front, with only Ronaldo doing most of the creative job today. Anyway glad to see RVN score 2 goals today. :D
ya....charlton made us work really hard....gd performance fr them anyway we always dun do as well in the begining of the season....and this season was actually one of our best starting to the season w 3 straight wins.....:eek: ;) ......
in the begining it's NUmber 2,Radostin Kishishev who mark him and when ronaldo goes past him....FOUL him.....then he kana warn liao so NUmber 4, Graham Stuart took over to Foul him....
but in the end Kishishev still get the Yellow card....;)
he deserve the red more then the other player...
foul ronaldo too many time sia
Originally posted by swordy84
yea..hes the only one who is creative...
giggs has a quiet game....
at first i tot will be one of those frustrating days...
although not convincing...man utd create more chance and deserve the win...
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 07:01 AM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=163211&cpid=8&title=Jol+claims+United+talks
uRiZEn
14-09-2003, 10:55 AM
Finally...hope he will help lessen some more Fergie's burden.
ccloh
14-09-2003, 11:42 AM
well though not a great performance by utd. but we must take note that several of the players went on international duties just few days ago and need time for them to recover. moreover, this is utd, their performance in the 1st half of the season is so-so and till dec, then they start to turn on their gear.
for me, from now till dec, as long as they win get 3-pt and keep within dist of the leader. it is fine with me
3 more points at least...:)
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 12:51 PM
ya 3pts in the bag and a gd performance fr Ronaldo and Ruud....;)
RuMmYtUb
14-09-2003, 02:17 PM
new tactics available.... Ronaldo to be a perfect decoy for RVN, the former do the dribbling and distracting defenders, the latter grab the goals !
edhorizon
14-09-2003, 02:32 PM
new tactics available.... Ronaldo to be a perfect decoy for RVN, the former do the dribbling and distracting defenders, the latter grab the goals !
man utd then will do the treble once again. =p
OreoCookies
14-09-2003, 02:57 PM
man utd then will do the treble once again. =p
That would be nice, especially because of all the things that's been plaguing us from the pre-season period... :)
It would really show that the club's strength, determination, & talent can overcome the odds that's stacked against us... :cool:
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 03:24 PM
That would be nice, especially because of all the things that's been plaguing us from the pre-season period... :)
It would really show that the club's strength, determination, & talent can overcome the odds that's stacked against us... :cool:
treble wont be that easy at all...this squad need at least few yr b4 they really build up the link play and spirit....provided that the sqaud remain intact ( or add new players ) through the yrs to come....;)
Scholes will most probably have an opertaion on Monday, goona be out for a month then. :(
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/england/3107022.stm
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Scholes will most probably have an opertaion on Monday, goona be out for a month then. :(
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/england/3107022.stm
we miss him quite badly in midfield yesterday....but the bright side is the ronaldo is settling well....hopefully he will provide the sparks and link play....
RuMmYtUb
14-09-2003, 04:38 PM
Investors plan £550m Utd takeover (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=35425)
Good or bad news ?
You decide
=p
RuMmYtUb
14-09-2003, 04:45 PM
Ruud faces the sack from Holland (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=35408&seg=EPL&teamid=)
Ruud bad boy ?
NanDesKa
14-09-2003, 05:27 PM
sack lah..
let him perform for united instead.
any team who gives ruud up loses badly.
guoquanyap
14-09-2003, 05:59 PM
Ruud faces the sack from Holland (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=35408&seg=EPL&teamid=)
Ruud bad boy ?
sad to say...it's not rite for Ruud to react that way but may be forgiven under his suitation.....maybe he's jus mad at himself...hopefully at least wat he can do is to say sorry to the holland coach....;)
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson paid tribute to striker Ruud van Nistelrooy after his goals earned them a battling 2-0 win at Charlton.
United bounced back from the Southampton defeat, although it was not all good news with Roy Keane being ruled out of the midweek Champions League game against Panathinaikos.
The Premiership champions were made to work for the three points against a Charlton side reduced to 10 men following Jason Euell's dismissal and were rescued by two second-half goals from a relentless Van Nistelrooy.
"All we need to do with Ruud is get the ball in the box," Ferguson said on MUTV. "He's a predator and he's always moving in the box."
Ferguson was also pleased with young winger Cristiano Ronaldo, who shrugged off some heavy challenges from the home side.
"There were a few tackles on him but he just got up and got on with it," said the manager.
"Once he got his treatment, he wanted to get the ball again - he's got that courage."
Van Nistelrooy scrambled home the opener in the 62nd minute and Charlton's chances were hampered when Euell was sent off when he earned his second yellow card for clattering into Gary Neville.
The home side battled on but another close-range effort from the Dutchman in the 81st minute ensured the points left with United.
"When you come to Charlton you know you have to work hard and at times we had to dig in but I think we had the better quality," added Ferguson.
"Charlton are very energetic. When they went down to 10 men, their players were chasing everywhere so it was a good result for us."
Keane was taken off midway through the second half and joins Paul Scholes and Kleberson on the sidelines.
ccloh
15-09-2003, 08:57 AM
Ruud bad boy ?
we have seen some similar incidents in the past. players fall out with coach and got the axe but later when the coach was changed, he is back again in the squard. recent case was roy keane walked out of ireland b4 the world cup and after mick mccathy was sacked the new coach wanted keane back back keane chooses to retire from international snese.
well if holland did badly in euro 2004 (if they do qualify after the playoff), u can expect the head of the coach being chopped and the next coach will bring RVN back to the squard again. meanwhile rvn absence from the international scene is a gd news to utd :D
guoquanyap
15-09-2003, 09:24 AM
we have seen some similar incidents in the past. players fall out with coach and got the axe but later when the coach was changed, he is back again in the squard. recent case was roy keane walked out of ireland b4 the world cup and after mick mccathy was sacked the new coach wanted keane back back keane chooses to retire from international snese.
well if holland did badly in euro 2004 (if they do qualify after the playoff), u can expect the head of the coach being chopped and the next coach will bring RVN back to the squard again. meanwhile rvn absence from the international scene is a gd news to utd :D
i think the holland coach will axe him as for a few matches for even jus a fine lor....nothing too much serious....;)
guoquanyap
15-09-2003, 09:35 AM
Sep 15 - Alex Ferguson will ration the appearances of his new jewel Cristiano Ronaldo like a man who brings his Rolex out of the safe on strictly limited occasions.
Nobody knows how to handle young players quite like Fergie. He has schooled enough through Old Trafford to qualify as a headmaster and knowing when to put them in the team is one of his fortes.
Ferguson admitted: "We have to be careful with him and give him a rest at the right time. We felt this was a right game for him."
No doubt the United manager was aware of Charlton's defensive injury crisis when he asked Ronaldo to terrorise emergency right back Radostin Kishishev, who must have felt he had spent the afternoon in a tumble dryer. Chris Perry, the Charlton defender on loan from Spurs, was close enough to make a judgment.
"He has lots of skills and he is going to get past you. Kish was twisted up a bit but he kept at it," he said.
Ronaldo spends a lot of time on his backside and he angered the south-east London fans who felt, on more than one occasion, that he fell over voluntarily. But when you are running at defenders at pace, balance is easily disturbed.
"One or two times he went down it was legitimate, but he was down five or six times and he was not caught on every occasion. Other foreign players have started like that and tend to get out of it and hopefully that is what will happen with him when the fans and the Press get on to him," Perry said.
He might anger opposition supporters, but Ronaldo is destined to entertain with his repertoire of tricks and feints, quick feet and direct running. Tall and upright, he is a proper athlete.
"He is quick with the ball but not quite as quick as Thierry Henry, who is the quickest I have played against with the ball. But he is still growing and he will get stronger. He can only improve," Perry said.
"You can't really have a game-plan. You have to go out and just do the best you can. He has so many tricks, you can't prepare yourself for one or two because he'll have three or four others you haven't seen.
"A lot seemed to come down their left side and he got to the by-line a few times in the second half and put in good crosses. That is when United looked most like scoring."
When you pay over £12million for an 18-year-old, you are entitled to expect something special. But the fact Perry speaks of Ronaldo in the same breath as Henry shows United have a star in the making.
Alan Curbishley, the Charlton manager, said: "Like Wayne Rooney, he is new on the scene and nobody has seen him, so he is going to get a bit of respect because defenders won't know who they are up against.
"When he gets into the final third and is running at people, he is going to hurt them. He went over a few times, but I didn't see too much in that. Next season players will know what they are up against, but he has the qualities of pace and directness to be damaging."
Luiz Felipe Scolari, the man who led Brazil - and another Ronaldo - to World Cup glory, has already bowed to pressure and played the United winger in his Portugal national side. Now Ferguson must weigh up whether he is ready for Champions League football.
While United look forward to meatier things this week, Charlton wrestle with other problems, not least keeping 11 men on the pitch.
"That is the third time in five days we have gone down to 10 men. You can't cope in this League if that keeps on happening," said Alan Curbishley after the sending-off of Jason Euell for two yellow cards.
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=35453&seg=EPL&teamid=
guoquanyap
15-09-2003, 09:38 AM
Sep 15 - Chelsea are heading for another confrontation with Manchester United this week over the appointment of Peter Kenyon as chief executive at Stamford Bridge.
Kenyon walked out on his £625,000-a-year job at Old Trafford last week to more than double his money at Chelsea and collect a £3million "golden hello."
United immediately placed him on gardening leave until the transfer window closes next January instead of working his notice. But yesterday it emerged that Chelsea were planning to get round the delay in their new chief executive's arrival in the wake of Trevor Birch's departure on Saturday.
They aim to appoint "a Kenyon man" as temporary chief executive to carry out his wishes - a move likely to infuriate United. To add insult to injury, it emerged that United were also likely to be beaten by Chelsea in the £3million race for Freddy Adu, the 14-year-old star of United States soccer who has represented his country at Under 17 level at the World Youth Cup.
United midfielder Paul Scholes visits a specialist today facing the prospect of a third hernia operation. Two weeks of rest have failed to improve a problem which United boss Alex Ferguson believes was exacerbated during England's friendly win over Croatia last month.
If surgery is needed, Scholes will miss next month's vital Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey and any November play-off England may face. Ferguson already thinks Scholes will miss United's Champions League games against Rangers next month.
The club have played down reports that they are a target for a £600m takeover. A spokesman dismissed the claims as "pure speculation," while shareholders promised a "bloody nose" for any potential buyer.
ccloh
15-09-2003, 01:16 PM
Sep 15 - Chelsea are heading for another confrontation with Manchester United this week over the appointment of Peter Kenyon as chief executive at Stamford Bridge.
Kenyon walked out on his £625,000-a-year job at Old Trafford last week to more than double his money at Chelsea and collect a £3million "golden hello."
United immediately placed him on gardening leave until the transfer window closes next January instead of working his notice. But yesterday it emerged that Chelsea were planning to get round the delay in their new chief executive's arrival in the wake of Trevor Birch's departure on Saturday.
They aim to appoint "a Kenyon man" as temporary chief executive to carry out his wishes - a move likely to infuriate United. To add insult to injury, it emerged that United were also likely to be beaten by Chelsea in the £3million race for Freddy Adu, the 14-year-old star of United States soccer who has represented his country at Under 17 level at the World Youth Cup.
United midfielder Paul Scholes visits a specialist today facing the prospect of a third hernia operation. Two weeks of rest have failed to improve a problem which United boss Alex Ferguson believes was exacerbated during England's friendly win over Croatia last month.
If surgery is needed, Scholes will miss next month's vital Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey and any November play-off England may face. Ferguson already thinks Scholes will miss United's Champions League games against Rangers next month.
The club have played down reports that they are a target for a £600m takeover. A spokesman dismissed the claims as "pure speculation," while shareholders promised a "bloody nose" for any potential buyer.
look like utd has to deal with arsenal on the pitch and chelski off the pitch.
Kiwi8
15-09-2003, 01:19 PM
look like utd has to deal with arsenal on the pitch and chelski off the pitch.
Man U has to deal with Chelski both on and off the pitch. :rolleyes:
edhorizon
15-09-2003, 03:52 PM
chelsea will not last long. dun have the experience to hold on top of the league table if even they can also.
Kiwi8
15-09-2003, 03:56 PM
chelsea will not last long. dun have the experience to hold on top of the league table if even they can also.
We can only know at the end of the season. :rolleyes:
ccloh
15-09-2003, 05:51 PM
We can only know at the end of the season. :rolleyes:
consistency is the key word to chelski success whether they have all-star teams or not.
OreoCookies
15-09-2003, 07:32 PM
consistency is the key word to chelski success whether they have all-star teams or not.
So far, Chelsea's periodic lack-of-concentration has not been fully punished by the opposition... They seem to be able to create enough opportunities to cover-up their one weakness... Just look at the way they've come from behind, in the past few matches against Blackburn, Tottenham, etc... :(
Consistency is key, but there's always a fear that they possess too much talent to be beaten, even on a bad day...
I sure hope the bigger teams like Arsenal & Man Utd (yeah!) can take advantage of Chelsea's weakness & provide some serious competition to them... :)
guoquanyap
15-09-2003, 08:36 PM
So far, Chelsea's periodic lack-of-concentration has not been fully punished by the opposition... They seem to be able to create enough opportunities to cover-up their one weakness... Just look at the way they've come from behind, in the past few matches against Blackburn, Tottenham, etc... :(
Consistency is key, but there's always a fear that they possess too much talent to be beaten, even on a bad day...
I sure hope the bigger teams like Arsenal & Man Utd (yeah!) can take advantage of Chelsea's weakness & provide some serious competition to them... :)
mutu is really a class act and playing in the Seria A certainly help him alot when come to scoring and dealing w defender.....
like wat i say b4...it will be a very very tough road ahead if we wan to retain the title....;)
guoquanyap
15-09-2003, 08:37 PM
w PK onboard....we really hav to deal them OFF and ON the pitch.....;)
guoquanyap
15-09-2003, 10:48 PM
Manchester United captain Roy Keane is set to miss tomorrow's Champions League opener against Panathinaikos at Old Trafford.
The Irishman limped out of Saturday's win at Charlton with an ankle injury and Sir Alex Ferguson, looking ahead to Sunday's match with Arsenal, may opt to give Keane more time to recover.
Paul Scholes (hernia) and Kleberson (dislocated shoulder) are also sidelined, while teenager midfielder Cristiano Ronaldo is expected to make his European debut for United.
But Ronaldo is likely to make his European Debut..... .....or will he not as fergie will likely to rest him......;)
NanDesKa
16-09-2003, 01:12 AM
Manchester United captain Roy Keane is set to miss tomorrow's Champions League opener against Panathinaikos at Old Trafford.
The Irishman limped out of Saturday's win at Charlton with an ankle injury and Sir Alex Ferguson, looking ahead to Sunday's match with Arsenal, may opt to give Keane more time to recover.
Paul Scholes (hernia) and Kleberson (dislocated shoulder) are also sidelined, while teenager midfielder Cristiano Ronaldo is expected to make his European debut for United.
But Ronaldo is likely to make his European Debut..... .....or will he not as fergie will likely to rest him......;) let ronaldo at them.. :evil:
RuMmYtUb
16-09-2003, 01:14 AM
let ronaldo at them.. :evil:
Great.
I'll be staying up tmr nite to root for them !
guoquanyap
16-09-2003, 01:15 AM
Great.
I'll be staying up tmr nite to root for them !
should i say more....it's a mus to stay up and watch.....;)
NanDesKa
16-09-2003, 01:17 AM
scarli some dumb defender break ronaldo's leg.. :rolleyes:
then roy keane go break his head oso, and fergie go kick a boot into his face.. :eek:
guoquanyap
16-09-2003, 01:18 AM
quite worry abt Ronaldo kana burn out but with the number of injures we hav.....doubt fergie will hav a choice but to start him....;)
NanDesKa
16-09-2003, 02:34 AM
quite worry abt Ronaldo kana burn out but with the number of injures we hav.....doubt fergie will hav a choice but to start him....;) perhaps to experiment how he performs in europe bah..
ccloh
16-09-2003, 08:51 AM
finally can watch my 1st live utd matches already :D
guoquanyap
16-09-2003, 09:11 AM
finally can watch my 1st live utd matches already :D
and watch Ronaldo making his first European Debut for Us.....;)
ralliart_ray
16-09-2003, 09:31 AM
:D yeah.. tonite 2.35am right?
guoquanyap
16-09-2003, 09:43 AM
:D yeah.. tonite 2.35am right?
ya on scv 2.35....channel 5 2.55am....;)
ralliart_ray
16-09-2003, 10:14 AM
ya on scv 2.35....channel 5 2.55am....;)
i smells goalsssssssssss
ccloh
16-09-2003, 11:15 AM
let hope the match is an exciting one. me getting old already cant really 'tong' the wee hr match.
so formation = 4-5-1?
howard
gaz neville- rio- oshea- fortune
ole-butt-phil nev /djemba djemba - ronaldo
giggs
ruud
Keane injury is not serious but Fergie dun want him to risk him and want him to be fit for the arse match.
RuMmYtUb
16-09-2003, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by RVN
so formation = 4-5-1?
howard
gaz neville- rio- oshea- fortune
ole-butt-phil nev /djemba djemba - ronaldo
giggs
ruud
Keane injury is not serious but Fergie dun want him to risk him and want him to be fit for the arse match.
Euro games i think shld be confirmed 4-5-1 or rather 4-2-3-1.
2 holding midfielders, 3 attackin mid supporting RVN
Euro games i think shld be confirmed 4-5-1 or rather 4-2-3-1.
2 holding midfielders, 3 attackin mid supporting RVN
Butt and Phil will be the holding midfielders, Giggs, Ronaldo and Ole will be the attacking midfielders.
RuMmYtUb
16-09-2003, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Butt and Phil will be the holding midfielders, Giggs, Ronaldo and Ole will be the attacking midfielders.
wad abt djema^2 ?
He is another holding midfielder but I reckon he probably be on the bench for tonight match.
guoquanyap
16-09-2003, 05:58 PM
Originally posted by RVN
phil is a very funny guy man.....he play really well in the holding role....last match against charlton, he took over keano and i notice he play really well....
if phil play well again...if not i will prefer Eric over him....;)
Shares in Manchester United surged today despite a statement from the
football club that it had not received any takeover bids.
Manchester United issued its denial in a statement to the London stock
exchange following a report in the Observer, which said that three overseas
billionaires were poised to launch bids for the world's richest club.
"The board of Manchester United Plc notes weekend press reports about
potential bidders for the company," the club said. "The board wishes to make
it clear that it has had no approaches from any parties and therefore
regards the reports as pure speculation."
But the statement did little to dampen the speculation as shares in
Manchester United jumped 8.5p to 176.5p in morning trading. The takeover
buzz over Manchester United has reached new heights following the defection
of its chief executive, Peter Kenyon, to Chelsea, recently bought by Russian
billionaire Roman Abramovich.
Mr Abromovich bought Chelsea for £120m in July and since then has lavished
funds on the club for new players in a spending spree that has left rivals
flabbergasted. But an offer for Manchester United, the world's most powerful
football brand, could cost as much as £600m.
Despite the high price tag, the Observer reported that a trio of potential
suitors, said to be as rich if not richer than Mr Abromovich, have each
sought City advice about how much the club would cost and whether the
shareholders would sell.
An influential United supporters group has already warned prospective buyers
to stay away, expressing their determination not to give up their stake in
the club without a fight.
Oliver Houston, a spokesman for Shareholders United, said his organisation
opposed any step that would turn control of the club over to an individual.
"Manchester United is not the plaything of wealthy individuals or
international corporations," Mr Houston said. "It is a 125-year-old
community asset that should be run in the interests of its supporters."
On their own, the members of Shareholders United do not have significant
financial clout. But as an organisation they have had their victories in the
past, notably when they played a key role in foiling a takeover by BSkyB,
the satellite broadcaster owned by Rupert Murdoch.
"Anyone ignoring the 15%, or so, of the shares held by fans is going to wind
up with a bloody nose," Mr Houston said. "SU, IMUSA (Independent Manchester
United Supporters Association) and the fanzines are united in the belief
that no one, other than the Supporters' Trust, should control 50% or more of
the club."
Several clubs are already in foreign hands. In addition to Chelsea, Fulham
is owned by Mohamed al-Fayed, the Egyptian-born owner of Harrods, while
Portsmouth is owned by Milan Mandaric, a Serb entrepreneur. But Manchester
United would be a prize dwarfing those trophies for a foreign buyer.
You know what to do... www.shareholdersunited.org. ;)
ccloh
16-09-2003, 11:15 PM
phil is a very funny guy man.....he play really well in the holding role....last match against charlton, he took over keano and i notice he play really well....
if phil play well again...if not i will prefer Eric over him....;)
well at least he is a better player than his bro.
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 12:14 AM
well at least he is a better player than his bro.
;)
NanDesKa
17-09-2003, 12:18 AM
whether gary is good or not, we cannot deny the fact that he is currently one of the longest serving player at OT, and he does not give much trouble and oso dun complain much..
very much like denis irwin. :)
RuMmYtUb
17-09-2003, 12:58 AM
whether gary is good or not, we cannot deny the fact that he is currently one of the longest serving player at OT, and he does not give much trouble and oso dun complain much..
very much like denis irwin. :)
But sorry i still prefer Irwin, a class above, well-respected professional.
a.k.a Mr Reliable, nv got a tackle wrong and was very solid... think most Man Utd supporters will agree with me...
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 01:12 AM
But sorry i still prefer Irwin, a class above, well-respected professional.
a.k.a Mr Reliable, nv got a tackle wrong and was very solid... think most Man Utd supporters will agree with me...
think Nadeska is refering to that he is one of the longest serving player and nv give trouble or complaint off the pitch....
RuMmYtUb
17-09-2003, 02:31 AM
think Nadeska is refering to that he is one of the longest serving player and nv give trouble or complaint off the pitch....
Oh ok... anyways Denis Irwin ROX :D
OreoCookies
17-09-2003, 03:39 AM
HT Score : 4 - 0 to Man Utd... :D
Amazing manz... But sianz, I woke-up too late to catch the goals 'LIVE'... =p
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 03:39 AM
HT Score : 4 - 0 to Man Utd... :D
Amazing manz... But sianz, I woke-up too late to catch the goals 'LIVE'... =p
Gd morning then! ;)
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 03:42 AM
now for the halftime report....to say the truth....they didnt really play that well as the scorelinge suggest....
passes cant really string together....and not much creativity play....
it's is jus that Panathinaikos really play until like ****.....
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 03:43 AM
BUT not to take credit away fr us....phil and butt control the midfield and all the goals are well-taken!! ;)
OreoCookies
17-09-2003, 04:04 AM
Gd morning then! ;)
:D
Bonjour to you too, bro... :D
OreoCookies
17-09-2003, 04:05 AM
now for the halftime report....to say the truth....they didnt really play that well as the scorelinge suggest....
passes cant really string together....and not much creativity play....
it's is jus that Panathinaikos really play until like ****.....
Well, let's see how they perform in the second-half then... But I really surprised sia, score 4 goals so fast... :D
Hope they can get more in the next 45 mins... Good start to the CL campaign... ;)
cracker
17-09-2003, 04:36 AM
Utd cruised to an easy 3 pts after going 4-0 up in the first half.
The Greek never provided any problem and it was a one-sided game.
Final score 5-0 with ruud not on the scoresheet.
next will be Arsenal....always an incident-pack game.
RuMmYtUb
17-09-2003, 04:41 AM
Comprehensive victory, sad to see RVN not on the score sheet, though he deserved one for his efforts.
Whole team played well, i was particulary impressed with P.Neville as holding midfielder, he improves faster as a DMC rather than a defender.
New boy Djemba Djemba on the score sheet !!
Bring on Gooners.. !!
OreoCookies
17-09-2003, 04:43 AM
It was an easy game for Man Utd, no doubt... The Greeks never seemed to come close enought to threaten Tim Howard, and they looked pretty sloppy in defence... :rolleyes:
Good start to the CL campaign though... Hope we don't lose the fire after such an encouraging beginning... :D
Arsenal's up next... Explosive's gonna' be the word, if both teams play to their potential... Exciting times, eh? ;)
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 04:54 AM
It was an easy game for Man Utd, no doubt... The Greeks never seemed to come close enought to threaten Tim Howard, and they looked pretty sloppy in defence... :rolleyes:
Good start to the CL campaign though... Hope we don't lose the fire after such an encouraging beginning... :D
Arsenal's up next... Explosive's gonna' be the word, if both teams play to their potential... Exciting times, eh? ;)
w fergie resting Ronaldo today....is fergie going to prepare him for the arsenal match? ;)
great start and great teamwork all around w 5 different ppl on the scoresheet....
Exciting times ahead....;)
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 04:55 AM
Comprehensive victory, sad to see RVN not on the score sheet, though he deserved one for his efforts.
Whole team played well, i was particulary impressed with P.Neville as holding midfielder, he improves faster as a DMC rather than a defender.
New boy Djemba Djemba on the score sheet !!
Bring on Gooners.. !!
ya like i say...phil play really well as holding midfield....he does progress alot....;)
ccloh
17-09-2003, 08:33 AM
ya like i say...phil play really well as holding midfield....he does progress alot....;)
he enjoyed playing that role. remember last season he played that role and totally shut vieria out in the utd - arsenal game and also played for england in that role and impress sven too. unfortunately utd is too crowded with this type of players, most probably he will given another chance when all the big guns are unavaliable.
a very typical utd match as that after their 4-0 in the 1st half, 2nd half was rather boring in term of scoring. a pity didnt see ronaldo played at all but happy for eric to score his 1st goal for utd in front of the home crowd somemore :D
ralliart_ray
17-09-2003, 09:38 AM
:eek: 5 goals galore
RuMmYtUb
17-09-2003, 10:06 AM
:eek: 5 goals galore
Would be great if this feat was repeated this week end!
:eek: :D
edhorizon
17-09-2003, 11:49 AM
yeah.
ralliart_ray
17-09-2003, 11:57 AM
happy to see manU winning 3-2 in a thrilling encounter with arsenal can liao
The 5-0 win achieved without 4 star midfielders. Scholes, Keane, Ronaldo and Kleberson. Great first-half performances and we were solid at the back too. :)
Kiwi8
17-09-2003, 01:34 PM
Dun be complacent, guys....
Man U played like fark at the back.... and it's mainly due to the virtual non-existence of the Panathinaikos' defence that 5 goals were scored.
There were a few scares at Man U's back but the Panathinaikos' attack wasn't that good.
However, credit must still be given to them for putting 5 past the Greek champions (leaders of its current league too).
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39346000/jpg/_39346016_scholes203.jpg
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3114966.stm
ccloh
17-09-2003, 06:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN
that a gd sign for utd :D
i beg sven must be banging his head against the wall with this news. :D
NanDesKa
17-09-2003, 09:12 PM
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 09:21 PM
that a gd sign for utd :D
i beg sven must be banging his head against the wall with this news. :D
:laugh: dun think so lah cos scholes is really injured ma....think he mus be damn happy instead as scholes no need to go for opearation for that mean he will be fit for the turkey match.....;)
guoquanyap
17-09-2003, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
this a damn gd new ahead of the clash w arsenal, hopefully keano will be okie too....;)
RuMmYtUb
17-09-2003, 11:39 PM
Man, we need Scholesy for his creative edge
guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 02:04 AM
lalalalala~~~ :bounce: :bounce:
demon_
18-09-2003, 03:41 AM
lalalalala~~~ :bounce: :bounce:
bo zzz enough or arsenal down 3-0 with inter :laugh:
guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 03:44 AM
Originally posted by demon_
bo zzz enough or arsenal down 3-0 with inter :laugh:
hmmm....even if they lost oso not gd...they will be fire up when playing against us.....:mad:
RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 04:38 AM
Nvm, happy to see them lose, anyways hope Fergie can learn from inter, close arsenal players down fast enuff and denying them any space, pires will become ineffective like today, we'll den haf a gd chance
guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 04:41 AM
fergie can buy Cannavaro?? ;)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.