PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

demon_
18-09-2003, 04:44 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
fergie can buy Cannavaro?? ;)

next season? but we need a right back now....

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 04:45 AM
fergie can buy Cannavaro?? ;)

dun think we need him, i rather Fergie buy someone as gd as Thuram or Puyol

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 04:46 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

dun think we need him, i rather Fergie buy someone as gd as Thuram or Puyol

dun need him??....:eek:

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 04:50 AM
koonz liao...nitez....*zzzzz*

demon_
18-09-2003, 04:52 AM

u gonna make this thread into EDMW ar...zzzz ;)

StormTrooper
18-09-2003, 07:35 AM
Nvm, happy to see them lose, anyways hope Fergie can learn from inter, close arsenal players down fast enuff and denying them any space, pires will become ineffective like today, we'll den haf a gd chance

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 09:00 AM
buy any 2 of the 3 defenders then we no problem with defence liao even hit with injury among defence or midfield...

ccloh
18-09-2003, 09:03 AM
we need a better defender to replace gary neville.

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 09:34 AM
Originally posted by ccloh
we need a better defender to replace gary neville.

sell Gary but dun tink fergie will cause Phil also will .... :(
but both of them can be sub

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 11:44 AM
ROY KEANE could be out for SIX WEEKS with an ankle problem.

Manchester United’s skipper WILL face Arsenal in a Premiership showdown on Sunday at Old Trafford but is then expected to undergo an operation on the ankle he injured last Saturday at Charlton.

Boss Alex Ferguson left Keane, 32, on the bench for Tuesday’s 5-0 Champions League victory over Panathinaikos to protect him ahead of Sunday’s clash with their bitter title rivals.

How his ankle reacts to that match will finally determine whether he has the operation. But the signs are not good.

Keane has been plagued by injury problems — mainly to his knees and hip — over the last five years.

He needed a hip operation last season and it was feared his best days were behind him.

Yet the Irishman has recovered his best form — just as he predicted he would — only to now suffer another setback.

Keane will cross his fingers that he can get through the Arsenal game, proving an operation is not necessary.

Right now the diagnosis is not promising.

Jus when Keano is playing well, he kana injured :mad:

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 12:40 PM

I mean we dun need Cannavaro, anyway dun thikn Inter will sell

ccloh
18-09-2003, 01:28 PM
ROY KEANE could be out for SIX WEEKS with an ankle problem.

Manchester United’s skipper WILL face Arsenal in a Premiership showdown on Sunday at Old Trafford but is then expected to undergo an operation on the ankle he injured last Saturday at Charlton.

Boss Alex Ferguson left Keane, 32, on the bench for Tuesday’s 5-0 Champions League victory over Panathinaikos to protect him ahead of Sunday’s clash with their bitter title rivals.

How his ankle reacts to that match will finally determine whether he has the operation. But the signs are not good.

Keane has been plagued by injury problems — mainly to his knees and hip — over the last five years.

He needed a hip operation last season and it was feared his best days were behind him.

Yet the Irishman has recovered his best form — just as he predicted he would — only to now suffer another setback.

Keane will cross his fingers that he can get through the Arsenal game, proving an operation is not necessary.

Right now the diagnosis is not promising.

Jus when Keano is playing well, he kana injured :mad:

quite a bad news. guess will be phil neville in the holding role with butt against arsenal like last season. hmmm a sense of deja vu :bounce:

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 01:32 PM

quite a bad news. guess will be phil neville in the holding role with butt against arsenal like last season. hmmm a sense of deja vu :bounce:

phil did excellent against vieira last season when we won 2-0.....;)

RVN
18-09-2003, 02:00 PM
bloody hell, another injuries again, oh ****, this is ridiculous. :mad:

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by RVN
bloody hell, another injuries again, oh ****, this is ridiculous. :mad:

wat to do....that why we bought Eric....;)

RVN
18-09-2003, 02:42 PM

wat to do....that why we bought Eric....;)

Yep, not only Eric, Phil and Butt can also play in the holding role to replace Keane.

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Yep, not only Eric, Phil and Butt can also play in the holding role to replace Keane.

Phil plays better in the holding role than his wing back roles..

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 03:00 PM

Phil plays better in the holding role than his wing back roles..

he once said that he love playing in midfield....maybe that why he is playing so well now....;)

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 03:05 PM

he once said that he love playing in midfield....maybe that why he is playing so well now....;)

man, i think he's better than gary

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 03:30 PM
but i still prefer butt to take over keane for defensive mid.

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 03:32 PM
Bellion is a disappointment.... he's got pace but his control abit CMI...
if he can develop well, he can be like henry... the way he plays very similar

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 03:33 PM
he still young, give him more time.

RVN
18-09-2003, 04:01 PM
Does Keane and Scholes need an operation, cos Fergie seem unsure though, if they need it, dun drag it any longer. :(

wish they would make their minds up!!!!!!!!

this past week we have heard

scholes needs hernia op
next day no he doesnt need one
Scholes needs hernia op
couple of days later - no he doesnt need one

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Does Keane and Schoels need an operation, cos Fergie seem unsure though, if they need it, dun drag it any longer. :(

scholes injures look to hav settle down....so no need operation as now....but the sign for keano doesnt looks gd....though we will miss his leadership, but we hav enough capable ppl to cover....;)

RVN
18-09-2003, 04:13 PM

scholes injures look to hav settle down....so no need operation as now....but the sign for keano doesnt looks gd....though we will miss his leadership, but we hav enough capable ppl to cover....;)

Must pray Keane injury also settle down, thus no need an operation, still question mark whether he will play against arsenal. :(

cal127
18-09-2003, 04:22 PM
It will be a real blow to miss both scoles and keane in midfield at the same time. Hope scoles will be back soon.

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Must pray Keane injury also settle down, thus no need an operation, still question mark whether he will play against arsenal. :(

keano most likely not playing....:(

RVN
18-09-2003, 04:34 PM

keano most likely not playing....:(

someone metioned this on another forum.

he said that Keane's ankle was in a bad way and he could be out until early November.

Roy's performance in the Newcastle game was incredible and he was back to being fully fit, a great shame if he is out for 6 weeks, at his age injuries are more likely and harder to recover from, with other young players in the squad trying to adjust to the premier league we really could have done with Roy being there.

Pessemistic maybe but I don't think it bodes well for his future. :(

Yellowfin
18-09-2003, 04:43 PM
This saturday match going to be interesting.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=277549&cc=4716

Hope Man U defence don't make any silly mistake this weekend.

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 05:51 PM
buay tahan arsene 'moaning' wenger's whining have gotten into the heads of their fans....

guoquanyap u shld get wad i mean
;)

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 06:14 PM
buay tahan arsene 'moaning' wenger's whining have gotten into the heads of their fans....

guoquanyap u shld get wad i mean
;) :laugh:

RVN
18-09-2003, 06:35 PM
Say all he like, hope they don't bounce back and we inflict more misery on gooners come sunday.:laugh:

Spock
18-09-2003, 06:39 PM
First time i have seen managers saying that "their will vent their frustration" instead of "we will bounce back" after losing a game.Arrogrance......

ccloh
18-09-2003, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
but i still prefer butt to take over keane for defensive mid.

u need both butt and phil neville doing the hard tackling job to contain arsenal midfield. even keane alone is not enough nowaday.

that is why fergie is willing to let veron go as he is not very suitable for the holding and hard tackling role.

ccloh
18-09-2003, 06:44 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
This saturday match going to be interesting.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=277549&cc=4716

Hope Man U defence don't make any silly mistake this weekend.

if we defeat them with a big margin then i can imagine arsene wenger doing a GH (collapse on the touchline) haha

that is fun. i want that to happen :evil: :evil: :evil:

RVN
18-09-2003, 06:49 PM
I hope so, that wenger seem to think we are an easy meat for them with all **** dished out at us, he is losing his cool and plot too. we must be on our guard though but I hope we beat them to make him eat his own words. =p

RuMmYtUb
18-09-2003, 06:56 PM

if we defeat them with a big margin then i can imagine arsene wenger doing a GH (collapse on the touchline) haha

that is fun. i want that to happen :evil: :evil: :evil:

man that'll be great
:evil:

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 09:40 PM
RVN shall hat trick and shut Henry once and for all.

guoquanyap
18-09-2003, 09:55 PM

that is fun. i want that to happen :evil:

:laugh: that's bad :evil:

okie guys, dun get carry away....somehow i do worry abt arsenal backlash.....we cant be overconfident abt this tie....a wounded lion is always dangerous.....;)

Let's fergie and co put it their best performance and be on top of the table at the end of the match....;)

genesis113
18-09-2003, 11:39 PM
According to AW, Arsenal's defence is ok, the reason they conceded goals vs Inter is because Sol Campbell's father is suffering from stroke, so Sol Campbell not 100% in concentration. So they want to thrash United to prove they are "juara kampung" or local king.

Anyway, watch out Gooners' backclash. United have to tighten up the defence. Howard might be our key man.
The player who vs Vieira is vital.

Beware of any dirty tricks for getting United players to be sent-off.

Beware of Dennis Bergkamp, who is master in fouling people w/o getting cautions.

Last but not least, beware of the super diver Robert Pires.

edhorizon
18-09-2003, 11:43 PM
Originally posted by genesis113
According to AW, Arsenal's defence is ok, the reason they conceded goals vs Inter is because Sol Campbell's father is suffering from stroke, so Sol Campbell not 100% in concentration. So they want to thrash United to prove they are "juara kampung" or local king.

Anyway, watch out Gooners' backclash. United have to tighten up the defence. Howard might be our key man.

Beware of Dennis Bergkamp, who is master in fouling people w/o getting cautions.

last but not least, man utd will show them wat is call Championship quality... by doing the same to them few seasons back. half time 5-0 or 5-1.

Kiwi8
18-09-2003, 11:55 PM

last but not least, man utd will show them wat is call Championship quality... by doing the same to them few seasons back. half time 5-0 or 5-1.

Tan ku ku lah..... Arsenal is not like Panathinaikos leh..... :confused:

kengbeng
19-09-2003, 12:06 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

Tan ku ku lah..... Arsenal is not like Panathinaikos leh..... :confused:
Aiyoh... He's referring to 3 seasons ago, Mr. Kiwi. And it really happened fyi.

OreoCookies
19-09-2003, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng

The Arsenal of the past is very different from the Arsenal of today... It'll be a potentially explosive encounter come this weekend, and a victory in our favour is very possible... But to win by such a big margin (i.e. 5-0) is going to be very tough... :(

kengbeng
19-09-2003, 12:22 AM
I'm not saying it will happen. That result is a one-off kinda thing. And I agree with the consensus it will be a tough match as always against the Gunners.

OreoCookies
19-09-2003, 12:26 AM
Maybe not 5-0... But with the Highbury side's defence at its weakest in so many seasons, this may be a good time to put one-over Wenger & his men...

It'll be a good morale booster if we can claim victory over the Gunners, with the all the negative things that's happened since the end of last season... ;)

Kiwi8
19-09-2003, 12:31 AM

Yes I know it happened. But it's not very possible for that result to happen on this Sun, unless Arsenal really fark themselves up. :)

RuMmYtUb
19-09-2003, 12:46 AM
Campbell certainly not at his best

guoquanyap
19-09-2003, 01:14 AM

Yes I know it happened. But it's not very possible for that result to happen on this Sat, unless Arsenal really fark themselves up. :)

well, anything is possibe and can be happen.....;)

derrace
19-09-2003, 02:27 AM
http://www.soccernet.com/poll/images/poll963_0.gif

think AW, henry and co so cocky even after they lose...

if they play like the did in the last match...confirm Man U can slaughter them.

I hope they pair campbell with toure..
hhahaha

guoquanyap
19-09-2003, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by derrace
http://www.soccernet.com/poll/images/poll963_0.gif

think AW, henry and co so cocky even after they lose...

if they play like the did in the last match...confirm Man U can slaughter them.

I hope they pair campbell with toure..
hhahaha

well they nv learn their lesson but who's know....the best way to get back their confident is by beating us....so fergie and co jus hav to be careful.....;)

Spock
19-09-2003, 07:39 AM
Too bad their defence not Stepanov and Toure:laugh:

StormTrooper
19-09-2003, 07:53 AM

well they nv learn their lesson but who's know....the best way to get back their confident is by beating us....so fergie and co jus hav to be careful.....;)

yeah, epl teams have a habit of raising their game everytime they play united, so we better not underestimate anyone.

ccloh
19-09-2003, 08:50 AM
Originally posted by genesis113

how gd ur defence is is not by one person if not why u need 4 defenders and 1 goalie. if u r out of form due to personal reason, why then u r on the pitch rather then giving some1 who is more concentrated and focus on the match. this type of lame excuse also comes out what a jerk they are.

also beware of martin keown. he is nothing but trying to get any1 in to trouble. remember his incident with rvn and also some leeds player i think

ccloh
19-09-2003, 08:52 AM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

yeah, epl teams have a habit of raising their game everytime they play united, so we better not underestimate anyone.

since in the beginning of the season, fergie has already identified arsenal as yet again the closet rival to challenge for the title. they will play with extra-caution against them regardless of what happen to inter-arsenal match. one thing concerning me is if arsenal cant get into the game, they might jsut play "dirty" tackling any1 instead of playing football. we do have some injury problems and we do not want to add in another one 'cos of some spolit brat team playing some nonsense football.

guoquanyap
19-09-2003, 08:58 AM

how gd ur defence is is not by one person if not why u need 4 defenders and 1 goalie. if u r out of form due to personal reason, why then u r on the pitch rather then giving some1 who is more concentrated and focus on the match. this type of lame excuse also comes out what a jerk they are.

also beware of martin keown. he is nothing but trying to get any1 in to trouble. remember his incident with rvn and also some leeds player i think

it's is so unprofessional as a manager and a person to said that he ( the team ) will vent his anger on someone.....vent his anger.....vent his anger?? y vent anger? damn corcky man.....cant he jus said that we will bounce back etc ?? :sarcastic :sarcastic

edhorizon
19-09-2003, 10:19 AM
think let the action do the talking..
monday then we shall see how thing goes lor ..
sunday nite also can liao but me in chalet le

RVN
19-09-2003, 11:58 AM
MANCHESTER UNITED have moved to deny press reports on Thursday suggesting that Roy Keane was set for an ankle operation.

Media sources had claimed that the Old Trafford skipper would go into hospital for surgery after Sunday's top-of-the-table Premiership clash with Arsenal.

It was stated that the former Republic of Ireland international could be sidelined for up to six weeks following the operation.

However, the Premiership champions have now come out to categorically deny reports, and have told their official club website that there is no truth in the story.

United have insisted that the stories in Thursday's newspapers regarding Roy Keane is not correct.

The Sun claimed that Roy would go into hospital for an operation on his ankle following Sunday's top-of-the-Premiership clash with Arsenal, and would be out for six weeks.

However, the club have told ManUtd.com that the reports are not true, stating that Roy is not set to go under the knife.

www.manutd.com

Keane damaged his ankle joint in last weekend's league fixture at Charlton and was subsequently rested for Tuesday night's Champions League opener with Panathinaikos.

Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed the 32-year-old is a doubt for Sunday's showdown with Arsenal, but it now seems that worries over his long-term fitness are unfounded.

www.planetfootball.com

guoquanyap
19-09-2003, 12:59 PM
If keano is not 100% fit....i rather he not play.....let's not risk him....;)

ccloh
19-09-2003, 01:15 PM
If keano is not 100% fit....i rather he not play.....let's not risk him....;)

let phil neville takes his role. not that phil neville is in the class of keane but he is enjoying playing in that roles and this is a rare chance for him. with this opportunity he will put in more than 100% effort to rewards fergie. this is the basic man management skills.

guoquanyap
19-09-2003, 01:18 PM

let phil neville takes his role. not that phil neville is in the class of keane but he is enjoying playing in that roles and this is a rare chance for him. with this opportunity he will put in more than 100% effort to rewards fergie. this is the basic man management skills.

like wat he did during last season....;)

RVN
19-09-2003, 02:06 PM

like wat he did during last season....;)

against Vieira, yep , he did a great job, hopefully more of the same on Sunday. =p

RVN
19-09-2003, 05:03 PM
Arsene Wenger has painful memories of Arsenal's last league visit to Old Trafford.

It was a brutal and mesmerising performance which knocked Arsenal out of their stride.

When Wenger recalled the match this week you could see it in his eyes, the result still hurts.

"We were the dominant team for 20 minutes, gave away a goal and then they wanted it more,'' the Arsenal manager said of last December's 2-0 Premiership defeat.

"That is very unusual for us and that game was a worry for me for the whole season.

''It was a big game and I would say it was a worry to give away a game like that when we were top of the league.

"On the day, they won the fight. They won't do it again. You need to be present in the big games and win your fights."

There were suggestions Arsenal folded under United's aggression, which bordered on intimidation at times.

Asked if his team were "muscled out of it" at Old Trafford, Wenger replied: "Yes, that's true but it won't happen again."

The Frenchman is sure his team will not rise to the bait on Sunday when hostilities are renewed between the two teams.

He added: "We have learned to cope with that now and we master it better. We are much better when we don't respond to provocation.

"It is always a big game, always an intense battle with Manchester United."

The clubs go into the match after very different midweek Champions League results. United beat Panathinaikos by five goals at Old Trafford, while Arsenal were embarrassed 3-0 by Internazionale at Highbury.

And yet rather than shy away from Sunday's match, Arsenal are insistent it could provide the perfect antidote to Wednesday's defeat.

There have been managers who, after a heavy home defeat, would insist on extra training and inquests into what went wrong.

Wenger, though, gave his blessing to the pre-arranged day off for the vast majority of his first-team squad.

When it was pointed out plans can be changed and little argument can be offered on the back of a performance such as Wednesday's, Wenger said: "I can change plans but I think to slaughter just gets your frustration out.

"It doesn't improve things. I know my players. They will be hurt, don't worry. As for the game on Sunday, the good thing is that after a disappointment like Wednesday night we have a big game in front of us and something to focus on. They will respond, I am sure of that.

"We want to go up there and show how strong we are. There's not only points at stake, but as well how strong we are mentally and how strong our togetherness is."

Instead, a group analysis on why Inter left Highbury with three points is on the agenda.

And a mass shake up of the team is not necessarily the inevitable outcome. "What we have to sort out first is what didn't work against Inter and why we were punished," Wenger said.

"When the players have a bad result everyone slaughters them so the important thing is to lift the confidence and keep going.

"There are certainly points we can improve on because we gave cheap goals away.

"But don't forget - the game was not as dreadful as everybody says. The result was not a reflection of the game but you cannot deny we conceded three goals."

As for Sir Alex Ferguson's team, the faces may have changed, with David Beckham's departure to Real Madrid and Juan Sebastian Veron's to Chelsea.

But little seems to have changed in terms of results following the arrivals of Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo, Cameroon midfielder Eric Djemba-Djemba and Brazil World Cup winner Kleberson.

The one to have made the most impact is the 18-year-old Ronaldo, a player who Wenger admitted he would have liked to bring to Highbury but whose £12 million price tag put him out of Arsenal's reach. "He is a great player for the future," Wenger said.

"He can play in three positions - up front, central and wide. He has very good pace and co-ordination and he is tricky.

"Djemba-Djemba is young and strong and I have known Kleberson for a long time, although he is injured at the moment."

And the departures of Beckham and Veron?

"I am not surprised Beckham left, he looked as though he would be going. But I was surprised about Veron because his move came so late and he had said he was staying."

Wenger will decide on Arsenal's team for Sunday once he has fully digested the events of Wednesday night.

Martin Keown, Dennis Bergkamp, Edu and Ray Parlour will come into contention, but Wenger is wary of knee-jerk reactions and will will not make wholesale changes.

"Of course those players are in my thoughts, all the squad is. You are always in a position where you can change players or you can renew the confidence of the players who have just had a big disappointment."

One almost certain starter is Robert Pires, whose performance will come under close scrutiny following the diving allegations levelled at him following last Saturday's 1- 1 draw against Portsmouth at Highbury, when he earned a debatable penalty.

"Look, Robert is not a cheat. Maybe he goes down because he is still careful about his knee surgery but he is not a cheat," Wenger said.

"Yes, it is easy to get a reputation and hard to lose it, but that is true in every country.

"Robert is a great player who tries to play football. He never tries to kick anybody, never tries to intimidate anybody - he always tries to do something intelligent with the ball. He is creative.

"Nobody in England can say he is a cheat because he gives a lot of entertainment to a lot of people who come to watch good football.

"If people really think about who Robert really is then they will realise he is an honest, genuine player."

ccloh
19-09-2003, 05:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Arsene Wenger has painful memories of Arsenal's last league visit to Old Trafford.

It was a brutal and mesmerising performance which knocked Arsenal out of their stride.

When Wenger recalled the match this week you could see it in his eyes, the result still hurts.

"We were the dominant team for 20 minutes, gave away a goal and then they wanted it more,'' the Arsenal manager said of last December's 2-0 Premiership defeat.

"That is very unusual for us and that game was a worry for me for the whole season.

''It was a big game and I would say it was a worry to give away a game like that when we were top of the league.

"On the day, they won the fight. They won't do it again. You need to be present in the big games and win your fights."

There were suggestions Arsenal folded under United's aggression, which bordered on intimidation at times.

Asked if his team were "muscled out of it" at Old Trafford, Wenger replied: "Yes, that's true but it won't happen again."

The Frenchman is sure his team will not rise to the bait on Sunday when hostilities are renewed between the two teams.

He added: "We have learned to cope with that now and we master it better. We are much better when we don't respond to provocation.

"It is always a big game, always an intense battle with Manchester United."

The clubs go into the match after very different midweek Champions League results. United beat Panathinaikos by five goals at Old Trafford, while Arsenal were embarrassed 3-0 by Internazionale at Highbury.

And yet rather than shy away from Sunday's match, Arsenal are insistent it could provide the perfect antidote to Wednesday's defeat.

There have been managers who, after a heavy home defeat, would insist on extra training and inquests into what went wrong.

Wenger, though, gave his blessing to the pre-arranged day off for the vast majority of his first-team squad.

When it was pointed out plans can be changed and little argument can be offered on the back of a performance such as Wednesday's, Wenger said: "I can change plans but I think to slaughter just gets your frustration out.

"It doesn't improve things. I know my players. They will be hurt, don't worry. As for the game on Sunday, the good thing is that after a disappointment like Wednesday night we have a big game in front of us and something to focus on. They will respond, I am sure of that.

"We want to go up there and show how strong we are. There's not only points at stake, but as well how strong we are mentally and how strong our togetherness is."

Instead, a group analysis on why Inter left Highbury with three points is on the agenda.

And a mass shake up of the team is not necessarily the inevitable outcome. "What we have to sort out first is what didn't work against Inter and why we were punished," Wenger said.

"When the players have a bad result everyone slaughters them so the important thing is to lift the confidence and keep going.

"There are certainly points we can improve on because we gave cheap goals away.

"But don't forget - the game was not as dreadful as everybody says. The result was not a reflection of the game but you cannot deny we conceded three goals."

As for Sir Alex Ferguson's team, the faces may have changed, with David Beckham's departure to Real Madrid and Juan Sebastian Veron's to Chelsea.

But little seems to have changed in terms of results following the arrivals of Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo, Cameroon midfielder Eric Djemba-Djemba and Brazil World Cup winner Kleberson.

The one to have made the most impact is the 18-year-old Ronaldo, a player who Wenger admitted he would have liked to bring to Highbury but whose £12 million price tag put him out of Arsenal's reach. "He is a great player for the future," Wenger said.

"He can play in three positions - up front, central and wide. He has very good pace and co-ordination and he is tricky.

"Djemba-Djemba is young and strong and I have known Kleberson for a long time, although he is injured at the moment."

And the departures of Beckham and Veron?

"I am not surprised Beckham left, he looked as though he would be going. But I was surprised about Veron because his move came so late and he had said he was staying."

Wenger will decide on Arsenal's team for Sunday once he has fully digested the events of Wednesday night.

Martin Keown, Dennis Bergkamp, Edu and Ray Parlour will come into contention, but Wenger is wary of knee-jerk reactions and will will not make wholesale changes.

"Of course those players are in my thoughts, all the squad is. You are always in a position where you can change players or you can renew the confidence of the players who have just had a big disappointment."

One almost certain starter is Robert Pires, whose performance will come under close scrutiny following the diving allegations levelled at him following last Saturday's 1- 1 draw against Portsmouth at Highbury, when he earned a debatable penalty.

"Look, Robert is not a cheat. Maybe he goes down because he is still careful about his knee surgery but he is not a cheat," Wenger said.

"Yes, it is easy to get a reputation and hard to lose it, but that is true in every country.

"Robert is a great player who tries to play football. He never tries to kick anybody, never tries to intimidate anybody - he always tries to do something intelligent with the ball. He is creative.

"Nobody in England can say he is a cheat because he gives a lot of entertainment to a lot of people who come to watch good football.

"If people really think about who Robert really is then they will realise he is an honest, genuine player."

a remark to cover up his backside if his team failed in OT. :D

edhorizon
19-09-2003, 06:15 PM

i just love the way he phrase the last few sentances.

NanDesKa
19-09-2003, 06:44 PM
make ashley cole and lauren emergency centre halves lah.. =p

RVN
19-09-2003, 06:48 PM
Robert is a great player who tries to play football. He never tries to kick anybody, never tries to intimidate anybody - he always tries to do something intelligent with the ball. He is creative.

entertainment, the olympic dive against pompey.:laugh:

RVN
19-09-2003, 07:37 PM
now it looks like sol campbell's out so that gives us even more reason to attack them hard. if their defence is cole, keown, toure & lauren, then only one of them (keown) is really a good defender. cole & lauren are better attacking than defending, and toure seems like a pointless player to have in their side. and keown's slow now too. they'll be up against it.

last time they had a defence that badly patched up against us at OT the result was very favourable

plus it's about time keown got sent off for his constant elbowing of ruud in every game they play. the cunt.

RuMmYtUb
19-09-2003, 08:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN
now it looks like sol campbell's out so that gives us even more reason to attack them hard. if their defence is cole, keown, toure & lauren, then only one of them (keown) is really a good defender. cole & lauren are better attacking than defending, and toure seems like a pointless player to have in their side. and keown's slow now too. they'll be up against it.

last time they had a defence that badly patched up against us at OT the result was very favourable

plus it's about time keown got sent off for his constant elbowing of ruud in every game they play. the cunt.

fu*k that keown *******, really hate him, somemore dun like his bloody monkey face.
hope Ronaldo can give him a hell of a time

OreoCookies
19-09-2003, 08:42 PM
Sunderland will learn next month how much compensation they will receive from Manchester United for Frenchman David Bellion.

The 20-year-old left the Stadium of Light for Old Trafford during the summer after his contract expired, but because he is aged under 23, the Black Cats are entitled to compensation.

The Football League Appeals Committee will meet on October 16 in London to agree a figure.

Bellion joined Sunderland from AS Cannes in August 2001, but started just eight games in his two years on Wearside.

RVN
19-09-2003, 08:58 PM
Skipper Roy Keane is set to return from an ankle injury for Sunday's crucial Barclaycard Premiership showdown with Arsenal.

The Irishman was an unused substitute on Tuesday as United romped to their 5-0 Champions League win over Panathinaikos but, having scotched rumours the midfielder requires surgery, Sir Alex Ferguson seems certain to plunge Keane into the white-hot atmosphere even though he is less than 100% fit.

Phil Neville, Quinton Fortune and John O'Shea know their places are most at risk from Keane's return, with Ferguson to stick largely with the side which comprehensively dismissed the Greeks, although Cristiano Ronaldo has an outside chance of a start.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, P Neville, Silvestre, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Fortune, Butt, Solskjaer, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Fletcher, Richardson.

RVN
19-09-2003, 10:27 PM
MANCHESTER, England, Sept 19 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson is not expecting Arsenal to pose a greater threat as a result of their opening Champions League defeat when the arch-rivals clash at Old Trafford on Sunday.

While United launched their European campaign by cruising to a 5-0 win over Panathinaikos, Arsenal crashed to a 3-0 home defeat by Inter Milan.

But Ferguson believes Arsenal, who lead the premier league table by a point from United, need no extra incentive to beat the champions in a bid to steal an early march in the title race.

"You don't expect Arsenal to lose that way, but they were chasing it a bit once they lost the two goals and it was always going to be difficult for them," Ferguson told a news conference on Friday.

"Inter Milan are a very determined team. But that doesn't make any difference to Sunday's game.

"They are saying they'll be more determined coming into Old Trafford, but we expected that. We expect an Arsenal team to be determined. They were determined on Wednesday.

"I don't expect Arsenal to be any different in that respect. There's only so much effort you can put into a football match and I think Arsenal do it all the time."

Last season United beat Arsenal 2-0 at home and drew at Highbury in April before clinching their eighth premier league title in 11 seasons, and Ferguson is happy with his side's start to the new campaign.

"Our form has been very good," Ferguson said. "There is a great atmosphere among the players and they are all keen to do well again this season.

"For us it's an important game. It's not a crucial game, as some may point to because there is so much time to go.

"It's only September and you don't get the cup now and you don't get the medals now.

"But we hope by getting a result now it will be significant by the end of the season."

United will again be without Paul Scholes, Kleberson and Wes Brown but could have defender John O'Shea, striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and midfielder Nicky Butt available after minor knocks.

Captain Roy Keane could also return, with United playing down reports of a serious ankle injury.

"Nothing needs to be done to his ankle," Ferguson said. "His ankle is fine. All we need to do is decide is whether he is ready for Sunday."

Keane missed the corresponding game last season as he recovered from hip surgery and, in his absence, the versatile Phil Neville earned the plaudits for a dominant performance in central midfield.

"Phil's form this year has been outstanding," said Ferguson. "There's been a great turnaround in fortunes for Phil.

"He's back in the England squad, which I think has been great for him, and he is getting recognition from a lot of the critics who were killing him a couple of years back and I think that helps.

"I think you're seeing with Phil a maturing player who's doing a great job for us."

OreoCookies
19-09-2003, 11:12 PM
Well, let's bring Arsenal on then... :)

The pressure's on the Highbury outfit to prove that they can bounce back from their 'midweek madness' against Inter Milan... So as long as our defence can contain Arsenal's attacking threat, we should have more than enough quality going forward, to exploit the holes in their weakened defence... =p

OreoCookies
19-09-2003, 11:18 PM
BTW, you guys reckon they'll have a minute's silence this Sunday before the match starts, in rememberence of Sol's father?

The very least they could do at Old Trafford, I guess... Could go a long way towards portraying the humane side of the world of professional soccer...

RuMmYtUb
20-09-2003, 12:47 AM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
BTW, you guys reckon they'll have a minute's silence this Sunday before the match starts, in rememberence of Sol's father?

The very least they could do at Old Trafford, I guess... Could go a long way towards portraying the humane side of the world of professional soccer...

Mayb, on one hand he's sol's father, but on the other, mayB not cos he's not soccer player.. ;)

edhorizon
20-09-2003, 02:04 AM
well, i dun tink there will be the 1 min silence...

StormTrooper
20-09-2003, 09:47 AM
no, i've never seen 1 min silence for death of relatives of football people.

RVN
20-09-2003, 12:01 PM
Dun give a ****, all I can say is condolences to Sol and his family, but come Sunday I hope we win and go top of the table. :)

ccloh
20-09-2003, 12:50 PM
if the whole arsenal team is based on sol campbell. i think they better forget abt playing football. football is abt the whole 11 ppl on the pitch and if u r not focus, there should be some1 in the queue to take over so as not to jeopardize the rest of the teammates due to ur less than 100% effort.

arsenal is damm lame is giving out all those nonsense excuses. psychologically they are scared to loose and have to come out 1000 and 1 reason to cover up their failure if they do failed. and if they do sucess in OT, that will make them in particular those french more arrorgant, very typical of french. no offence to french but this is the way ppl see them.

british are renowned for snubbish and french being arrorgant.

still the same thing for me, hope arsenal lost the big with a big margin, got player sent-off and injuired. to them i no need to be an angel. i rather be an devil. :evil: :evil: :evil:

demon_
20-09-2003, 12:59 PM
well, i dun tink there will be the 1 min silence...

doubt some hardcore fans will keep quiet for tat min...

RVN
20-09-2003, 01:37 PM
Paul Scholes is facing a make or break week which will determine whether he will make England's vital Euro 2004 qualifier with Turkey next month.

Scholes has been plagued by a hernia problem since the start of the season, and has not started a game for Manchester United since scoring the winner at Newcastle last month.

Sir Alex Ferguson claimed the injury was aggravated while the 28-year-old was on international duty for the friendly with Croatia last month and has since been desperately hoping he would not need to send the player for a third operation.

Ferguson knows he could write Scholes out for virtually two months should he have to undergo surgery and was encouraged earlier this week with the first signs that the injury was starting to ease.

England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson is taking an equally keen interest in Scholes' fitness, given his importance to the national team's chances of reaching next year's European Championships.

And Eriksson will now wait anxiously by his phone next week for news of how the Oldham-born player comes through the next major step in his fight for fitness.

Ferguson revealed: "We are hoping to get Paul back into training next week.

"That will be crucial in determining the next step. If he comes through it without a problem, it means we can look at getting him back into the team."

Although Scholes has already been ruled out of Sunday's crunch Barclaycard Premiership encounter with Arsenal, if he avoids the operating theatre, he would be available for the Champions League double-header with Rangers, plus league visits to Leeds, Liverpool and Chelsea over the next few weeks which will shape United's season.

Among those club demands come England's trip to Istanbul and also the Euro 2004 play-offs if Eriksson's side fail to get the draw they require against Turkey to gain automatic entry into next year's finals in Portugal.

RuMmYtUb
20-09-2003, 01:40 PM
Only Scholes, Brown n Kleberson out for the arsenal clash rite ?

RVN
20-09-2003, 01:46 PM
Only Scholes, Brown n Kleberson out for the arsenal clash rite ?

I think so, Keane should be fit. Not sure if Ronaldo will start though. ;)

RVN
20-09-2003, 02:53 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Sunderland will learn next month how much compensation they will receive from Manchester United for Frenchman David Bellion.

The 20-year-old left the Stadium of Light for Old Trafford during the summer after his contract expired, but because he is aged under 23, the Black Cats are entitled to compensation.

The Football League Appeals Committee will meet on October 16 in London to agree a figure.

Bellion joined Sunderland from AS Cannes in August 2001, but started just eight games in his two years on Wearside.

Sunderland have got a bloody nerve asking for anything! They would not give him a place in the starting lineup - United offered them bundles for him last February, and were turned down, then he becomes available on a free and walked off to OT. I suggest that United tell Sunderland to go get stuffed! :mad:

Ch3tah_39
20-09-2003, 03:15 PM
:D :D :D
relac lerr

guoquanyap
20-09-2003, 05:42 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Sunderland have got a bloody nerve asking for anything! They would not give him a place in the starting lineup - United offered them bundles for him last February, and were turned down, then he becomes available on a free and walked off to OT. I suggest that United tell Sunderland to go get stuffed! :mad:

seriously i doubt he will cost that much lah....at most 100-200K pound onli......so if hav to give....then give lor....;)

guoquanyap
20-09-2003, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I think so, Keane should be fit. Not sure if Ronaldo will start though. ;)

i am oso wondering whether ronaldo will start.....firstly his pace and trickly will do alot of trouble to arsenal defend,

on the other hand, i dun him to kana burnt out so fast especially arsenal where he surely will kana hack like hell by keown and cole......

Maybe come in as Sub since fergie rested him during last match.....;)

RVN
20-09-2003, 06:43 PM
I hope Ronaldo start, would be nice seeing him fooling Cole with his step-overs. Giggs and RVN up front, Keane in midfield with Butt, Djemba and Ronaldo, Rio, Micky, G Nev and O Shea.

Phil, Fortune, Djemba Djemba, Forlan, Carroll, on bench I think.

My Team is
4-2-3-1

-----------------------------Howard-------------------------
G.Neville-----Ferdinand-------------Silvestre-------O'Shea
---------------------Keane----------Butt---------------------
Solskjaer---------------C.Ronaldo------------------Giggs
----------------------Ruud van Nistelrooij---------------

RuMmYtUb
20-09-2003, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I hope Ronaldo start, would be nice seeing him fooling Cole with his step-overs. Giggs and RVN up front, Keane in midfield with Butt, Djemba and Ronaldo, Rio, Micky, G Nev and O Shea.

Phil, Fortune, Djemba Djemba, Forlan, Carroll, on bench I think.

My Team is
4-2-3-1

-----------------------------Howard-------------------------
G.Neville-----Ferdinand-------------Silvestre-------O'Shea
---------------------Keane----------Butt---------------------
Solskjaer---------------C.Ronaldo------------------Giggs
----------------------Ruud van Nistelrooij---------------

I like this lineup, same sentiments.
If keane not starting shld be p.neville wif butt....
somemore we still got Djemba n p.Neville.

guoquanyap
20-09-2003, 07:48 PM
hmmm....if ronaldo got to play....think he hav to play on the rite....w cole temper.....he surely will hack ronaldo, then he will kana red card.....;)

reload2003
20-09-2003, 08:13 PM
hmmm....if ronaldo got to play....think he hav to play on the rite....w cole temper.....he surely will hack ronaldo, then he will kana red card.....;)

s0 iS iT a gD oR bAd thInG?

guoquanyap
20-09-2003, 08:21 PM
Originally posted by reload2003

s0 iS iT a gD oR bAd thInG?

gd for us bad for arsenal....;)

RVN
20-09-2003, 08:32 PM
I have a feeling that this could prove to be one of the most important matches of the season, Arsenal are still reeling from their last two games, and I think that a loss by a few goals at Old Trafford could prove to be the straw that broke the camels back.

I think the team ought to make the most of this opportunity. ;)

guoquanyap
20-09-2003, 08:49 PM
Keane's set to take the lead

ROY Keane is set to play his 400th game for Manchester United - by leading the Reds into battle against arch-rivals Arsenal tomorrow.

The United skipper has been suffering with an ankle problem, and after training yesterday, manager Sir Alex Ferguson claimed he had "a reasonable chance" of being fit for the game.

But with top spot at stake, Keane is almost certain to play - he would have come off the bench against Panathinaikos on Tuesday if needed, a clear indication that his injury is not too bad.

Fergie rubbished claims that Keane will require surgery next week, and praised his skipper's impending career landmark, saying: "It's fantastic, especially when you consider he has had a cruciate knee ligament injury and his hip injury."

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is more of a doubt. He limped off in the 5-0 win over the Greeks and is one of five United worries - along with Keane, Nicky Butt, John O'Shea and Mikael Silvestre. Cristiano Ronaldo stands by for a fiery introduction to life at the top of the Premiership.

There was more good news for United, with Paul Scholes due to resume training on Monday - and if he suffers no more problems, the idea of a hernia operation will be shelved.

The hero of last year's corresponding fixture, Phil Neville, is pushing for a place alongside Keane in midfield, but he feels United's much-improved defence could be the key to victory.

He said: "We have one of the quickest back fours in English football, so all our defenders will be pretty confident.

"It's just all about concentration because you can keep Thierry Henry quiet for 89 minutes and then in one split-second he can score. hat's the type of quality player we are up against tomorrow.

"We defended well last season - and we needed to. Mikael Silvestre and Rio Ferdinand seem to have a good understanding and Gary and John O'Shea have also done well, so there is quite a bit of continuity."

RVN
20-09-2003, 08:55 PM
Keano a True United Legend, hopefully the injured players should be fine for the match.

derrace
21-09-2003, 02:38 AM
Originally posted by RVN

"Look, Robert is not a cheat. Maybe he goes down because he is still careful about his knee surgery but he is not a cheat," Whinner said.

might as well say "maybe the wind too strong, make him off balance".

DUH.

derrace
21-09-2003, 03:03 AM
Seriously, I sense at least a 2 goal margin for Man Utd.
I don't see how Arsernal can defend against such a attacking side with the tattered and torn paper defence..
now no more campbel lagi best. Lehman has to be in super duper form man..

I feel ronaldo shouldnt start. Let Keown and co leg wear out a bit, then unleash him..

did you guys see how much trouble martin(from Inter) gave toure? It was only in the second half when ah-seng asked campbell to mark him instead that martin became quieter. Ronaldo isn't as fast..but he's sure quick. giggs also...I wonder how arsenal's going to contain both of them

I believe eric can handle viera though keane/phil would be fergie's choice.

only threat would probabaly come from be Thierry and ljumburg(or something).
Pires eh, can ask him go fly kite if he is to "entertain" us at Old Trafford.

just my two cents
;)

OreoCookies
21-09-2003, 03:21 AM
Arsenal and Manchester United go head to head at Old Trafford on Sunday in a match which could set the tone for the rest of the Barclaycard Premiership season.

Arsene Wenger's side are seeking revenge after they let slip an eight-point lead last season which allowed Manchester United to win the title and will also be looking to atone for a 3-0 defeat at home to Inter Milan in their opening Champions League match of the season in midweek.

Wenger has admitted that spirits are still low at the club's training ground after their heavy midweek Champions League defeat, and the recent death of Sol Campbell's father.

Wenger nevertheless believes that such an important game will not only focus the minds of his squad on the task ahead, but also prove the strong team spirit at the club.

"I think the players are still disappointed and down, but we have two days to prepare and this is a chance to bounce back and show our mental strength," declared Wenger.

"When you go into a season, you know that you will have these kind of disappointments. Any club will. It is how you respond to them that will decide the season.

"If we lose to Manchester United, then you can really slaughter us even more! People will say `the season is over, go home'. But there will still be 32 games to play and we are in a marathon. Don't forget that."

Meanwhile Campbell will decide himself whether he is able to play at Old Trafford.

"At the moment, he looks unlikely to play," added Wenger.

"Some things are bigger than football but you never know how people will react on these occasions.

If Campbell rules himself out, Martin Keown would be expected to partner Kolo Toure in central defence but, either way, Toure is set to keep his place.

The Arsenal boss revealed: "I have no obvious reason to rest Kolo.

"I think he has done extremely well. Even on Wednesday night, in my opinion he was a lion."

Meanwhile Sir Alex Ferguson has doubts over Roy Keane, John O'Shea, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Mikael Silvestre and Nicky Butt, while Paul Scholes has already been ruled out as he tries to recover from the hernia problem which has already kept him out of the champions' last three Barclaycard Premiership outings.

However Scholes is expected to return to training next week.

Striker Ruud van Nistelrooy is a definite starter though, and the 28-year-old paid a glowing tribute to Gunners forward Thierry Henry.

"Thierry Henry is one of the best, not just in England, not just in Europe, but in the whole world," claimed the former PSV striker.

"People compare us as strikers and goalscorers but we are very different in our approach to the game.

"Thierry has speed, vision and technique. Everyone knows about his pace and it's something we have to be aware of tomorrow.

"We have handled him well over the past few games but he is a great player and we will have to be at our very best to stop him again."

yulee
21-09-2003, 10:31 AM
I hope the Ref keep a careful eye out and not get conned by Robert "The Diver" Pires! :rolleyes:

JusTice
21-09-2003, 10:48 AM
Arsenal and Boro

My analysis - http://www.geocities.com/sportseasia/analysis.html

ccloh
21-09-2003, 11:30 AM
well since jeffers has being loan out to everton. there need to have some1 to take over him as the diver of arsenal. guess pires has nominated himself already. :)

ccloh
21-09-2003, 11:35 AM
one thing for sure if utd beats arsenal, we as a fan should not be get too carried away. if not as usual some jokers will just post here post there to build a mountain out of a mould.

Yellowfin
21-09-2003, 11:47 AM
one thing for sure if utd beats arsenal, we as a fan should not be get too carried away. if not as usual some jokers will just post here post there to build a mountain out of a mould.

We will drink a few more beers than normal to celebrate. :D

Kiwi8
21-09-2003, 12:10 PM

It's very hard....

Just like what happened after the Man U vs Panathinaikos game, some jokers came up with "We might as well give the Champions Trophy to Man U..." threads.

I can almost guarantee that in the event Man U beats Arsenal convincingly, we can expect to see a thread of "We might as well give the EPL trophy to Man U...".

RuMmYtUb
21-09-2003, 03:11 PM

It's very hard....

Just like what happened after the Man U vs Panathinaikos game, some jokers came up with "We might as well give the Champions Trophy to Man U..." threads.

I can almost guarantee that in the event Man U beats Arsenal convincingly, we can expect to see a thread of "We might as well give the EPL trophy to Man U...".

those pple nv use their brains to think, panathinaikos is in a different calibre with clubs like inter, ac, real etc..

ccloh
21-09-2003, 03:51 PM

It's very hard....

well those are not utd supportes for sure. we cant stop those jokers from posting but we can stop those kind of threads expanding but ignore it.

RVN
21-09-2003, 04:03 PM
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has warned Manchester United that they could suffer this season from selling David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron.

When it was put to Wenger that Sir Alex Ferguson had insisted it is up to managers to stop their players diving, the Arsenal boss stressed that this should not apply to Robert Pires.

The Frenchman has come under renewed fire after it was revealed that referee Alan Wiley is set to rescind the yellow card awarded to Dejan Stefanovic last weekend at Highbury for bringing down Pires in the penalty area.

After he was told that Ferguson had entered the debate, Wenger responded: "Of course, you don't want your players to dive.

"But when your player tells you he didn't dive, you can't tell him not to dive and I saw much bigger dives in other games last weekend.

"I have always influenced my players not to cheat, dive or kick anybody. I hate that. I think you have to respect the spirit of the game and not cheat in any way."

Wenger seemed reluctant to be drawn into yet another war of words with Ferguson ahead of Sunday's showdown at Old Trafford, although a spark of controversy is never too far away.

Indeed, while the Arsenal boss believes that Kleberson, Eric Djemba-Djemba and Cristiano Ronaldo will adequately replace Beckham and Veron in time, he made it clear that he does not feel it will happen immediately.

"They have lost two players with a high technical level and a lot of experience. They have replaced them with young talents who are coming in," he observed.

"So at the moment, you could say immediately they have lost two players used to playing in big games in England. But in the future, Ronaldo, Kleberson and Djemba-Djemba will compensate for that."

Asked if he would have sold Beckham, Wenger, who attempted to buy Ronaldo himself, responded: "It's very difficult as I don't know what kind of decision was made there.

"Was it a financial decision because he was 28 or was it a relationship decision with Sir Alex Ferguson? Only the manager can really make that kind of decision.

"Beckham has played for 10 or 12 years and maybe he wanted a change. I don't really know what happened and I don't think this is really the right moment to speak about it."

what a wanker, stay out of our business, you poof, we don't need your advice.:mad:

ralliart_ray
21-09-2003, 04:30 PM
Where to go to watch this match? Anywhere got large screen n gd atmosphere?

RuMmYtUb
21-09-2003, 05:34 PM
ignore ah-seng whiner's words man, they are juz to unsettle the nerves of our players

RVN
21-09-2003, 07:47 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1150412.jpg

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has promised to rest his skipper Roy Keane on a regular basis this season, in a bid to ensure he gets the best from the midfielder.

Keane has been struggling with an ankle injury, but will play at Old Trafford in the top-of-the-table showdown with Arsenal today.

The United talisman had to be nursed through much of last season after a complicated hip operation, and Ferguson has decided he will protect the player even more this term to ensure he is available for the crunch games.

"Roy Keane will be fit and will definitely play, but there is no chance of him playing in every game this season - even when he is 100 per cent," Ferguson said.

"I will be resting and leaving him out of a lot of games because it is so important to have him in the team for the matches that really matter. That's why I have built the squad the way I have.

"It won't be a question of asking Roy whether he minds being rested, he will just have to accept it when I make the decision.

"There will be no halfway house at this club. I won't be going to Roy to get a verdict from him about whether he plays or not. I will make that decision and he will have to accept it because it is for his benefit."

ccloh
21-09-2003, 10:26 PM
well that is the nature of arsene wenger. if one day he does **** up his mouth or come to sense that he stop talking nonsense then most probably arsenal is doing well both in home and europe front. well could that happen, i think u, me, he, she, they all kn the answer. :)

ccloh
21-09-2003, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
Where to go to watch this match? Anywhere got large screen n gd atmosphere?

for me will be listening to BBC radio if they do broadcast it

NanDesKa
21-09-2003, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has warned Manchester United that they could suffer this season from selling David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron.

When it was put to Wenger that Sir Alex Ferguson had insisted it is up to managers to stop their players diving, the Arsenal boss stressed that this should not apply to Robert Pires.

The Frenchman has come under renewed fire after it was revealed that referee Alan Wiley is set to rescind the yellow card awarded to Dejan Stefanovic last weekend at Highbury for bringing down Pires in the penalty area.

After he was told that Ferguson had entered the debate, Wenger responded: "Of course, you don't want your players to dive.

"But when your player tells you he didn't dive, you can't tell him not to dive and I saw much bigger dives in other games last weekend.

"I have always influenced my players not to cheat, dive or kick anybody. I hate that. I think you have to respect the spirit of the game and not cheat in any way."

Wenger seemed reluctant to be drawn into yet another war of words with Ferguson ahead of Sunday's showdown at Old Trafford, although a spark of controversy is never too far away.

Indeed, while the Arsenal boss believes that Kleberson, Eric Djemba-Djemba and Cristiano Ronaldo will adequately replace Beckham and Veron in time, he made it clear that he does not feel it will happen immediately.

"They have lost two players with a high technical level and a lot of experience. They have replaced them with young talents who are coming in," he observed.

"So at the moment, you could say immediately they have lost two players used to playing in big games in England. But in the future, Ronaldo, Kleberson and Djemba-Djemba will compensate for that."

Asked if he would have sold Beckham, Wenger, who attempted to buy Ronaldo himself, responded: "It's very difficult as I don't know what kind of decision was made there.

"Was it a financial decision because he was 28 or was it a relationship decision with Sir Alex Ferguson? Only the manager can really make that kind of decision.

"Beckham has played for 10 or 12 years and maybe he wanted a change. I don't really know what happened and I don't think this is really the right moment to speak about it."

what a wanker, stay out of our business, you poof, we don't need your advice.:mad: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

cal127
21-09-2003, 10:57 PM
Playin mind games already ay? Old wily going down! DOWN! I say!!!:cool:

StormTrooper
21-09-2003, 11:06 PM
talk is cheap, lets see real action on the field, kickoff is mins away :bounce:

kengbeng
21-09-2003, 11:25 PM

for me will be listening to BBC radio if they do broadcast it
Go yo http://videoloungetv.manutd.com/ for live radio webcast. ;)

RuMmYtUb
22-09-2003, 01:04 AM
sianz RVN missed penalty for 3 times liao....
is he having a low in confidence ?

ccloh
22-09-2003, 01:06 AM
omg, rvn missed the penalty and cost utd a victory against arsenal. he already missed one during the charity shield and now again. sigh.....

tak
22-09-2003, 01:07 AM
Fxxk Van C-C-B, Man Utd all cheater and actors, veria hardly touch him

RuMmYtUb
22-09-2003, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by tak
Fxxk Van C-C-B, Man Utd all cheater and actors, veria hardly touch him

hey FARK u, i said FARK u
Man Utd all cheaters ? vieira that black ass retaliated ok !? u got see or not one ?
RVN oso got yellow carded liao

tak
22-09-2003, 01:10 AM
u ****ing racist c-b

ryanseah
22-09-2003, 01:15 AM
Aiyah ignore this loser lah...he obviously can't read, this is a Manchester United thread, but he still insists on coming in here and barking like a rabid dog...isn't that right tak the dog? Woof woof? Maybe you understand that? :laugh:

Hope the FA charge all those dirty Arsenal players

tak
22-09-2003, 01:16 AM
Originally posted by ryanseah
Aiyah ignore this loser lah...he obviously can't read, this is a Manchester United thread, but he still insists on coming in here and barking like a rabid dog...isn't that right tak the dog? Woof woof? Maybe you understand that? :laugh:

Hope the FA charge all those dirty Arsenal players

u just a racist dog okie ,

pyu
22-09-2003, 01:17 AM
*Shrug*. I guess this match will add more bad blood between Man Utd and Arsenal. It was surprising to see Arsenal players losing their cool after the match though - guess the ending minutes were too intense for their liking.

All I can say Arsenal wouldn't be called cheaters (i.e. Robert Pires) after the incident with Ruud - personally, I thought he did make a meal of it, though Patrick Vieira started it himself... why did he stick that leg out? Stupid...

kengbeng
22-09-2003, 01:18 AM
Please get your personal arguments out of this thread.

tak
22-09-2003, 01:18 AM
i withdrew my remarks sorrie..

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 01:47 AM
seriously i think overall performance is gd consider that howard doesnt need to save once at all.....but up front still lack abit of creatitvity.....

quite sad Ruud miss the penatly but everyone hav their off day....let's move on.....

as for the incident involved Ruud and the arsenal players.....hopefully the Ref will refer to the video panel and they come to the conculsion....;)

NanDesKa
22-09-2003, 01:51 AM
Please get your personal arguments out of this thread. ;)

MSP
22-09-2003, 01:52 AM
Originally posted by tak
i withdrew my remarks sorrie..

looks like we have a dickhead in our mist. :laugh:

NanDesKa
22-09-2003, 01:52 AM
Originally posted by MSP

looks like we have a dickhead in our mist. :laugh: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

wes
22-09-2003, 02:00 AM
anyway....not RVN's nite...
first half got one header head over....
2nd half ronaldo through ball he miscontrol it...and got one he at penalty box shot straight to keeper....
and den lastly penalty miss plus kena hit by those arsenal players....

another gd performance by roNaldo

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 02:03 AM
Originally posted by wes
anyway....not RVN's nite...
first half got one header head over....
2nd half ronaldo through ball he miscontrol it...and got one he at penalty box shot straight to keeper....
and den lastly penalty miss plus kena hit by those arsenal players....

another gd performance by roNaldo

Ronaldo give a fastastic throught pass to Ruud...but his first touch let him down....haiz.....Ronaldo did really well....he intercepted in the penalty box!....that mean he willing to run back and helped in defence oso....thumb up for him.....;)

cal127
22-09-2003, 02:06 AM
I hope SAF work on him. He needs to redeem himself and get back to his scoring ways.:bounce:

RuMmYtUb
22-09-2003, 02:08 AM
RVN needs to get his confidence back..
especially in penalties, he missed 3 on the trot now..
:(

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 02:09 AM
Originally posted by cal127
I hope SAF work on him. He needs to redeem himself and get back to his scoring ways.:bounce:

fergie should be blasting him liao....hopefully he will get back to his scoring ways ASAP.......;)

RuMmYtUb
22-09-2003, 02:10 AM

fergie should be blasting him liao....hopefully he will get back to his scoring ways ASAP.......;)

Hair dryer treatment :rolleyes:

wes
he will bounce back... :)
glad that he had keep its cool and did not fight back...
let those ignorant pple say he hum ji or watever....at least he did not fightback and will not be suspended....

guoquanyap
RVN needs to get his confidence back..
especially in penalties, he missed 3 on the trot now..
:(

when going to take the penalty, i really hav a bad feeling abt him missing....hiaz....

wes
22-09-2003, 02:11 AM

when going to take the penalty, i really hav a bad feeling abt him missing....hiaz....

yea...me too....haiz....

RuMmYtUb
22-09-2003, 02:13 AM

actually i had a feeling he would miss today.... damn
thought it gone in since lehman went the wrong direction, wtf hit post... think retribution

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 02:13 AM
Originally posted by wes
let those ignorant pple say he hum ji or watever....at least he did not fightback and will not be suspended....

hopefully the video panel will review it.....really disguested by some of them behaviour especially keown.....:mad:

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 02:16 AM

thought it gone in since lehman went the wrong direction, wtf hit post... think retribution

think he wan to go to the top left hand corner.....he take it well....but the crossbar denied him......jus not his day.....

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 02:19 AM
like wat i said earlier.....overall performance is gd consider that howard doesnt need to save once at all.....but up front still lack abit of creatitvity.....

but arsenal come w the intention of getting a draw....and strike us on the counter....so credit to them for their defending and keep to their strategy......;)

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 02:44 AM
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20030920/ruud332_sb.jpg

:pissed:

genesis113
22-09-2003, 03:26 AM
Originally posted by wes

I think he'll bounce back. He also regained from losing form in the earlier of last season.

hush66
22-09-2003, 03:30 AM
I didn't get the chance to watch the game. Just heard it over the MU Radio. When Ruud was suppose to take the penalty in the 92nd minute, my heart was pounding like mad. Then he missed. What a disappointment. 2 points lost.

Then I went to Soccernet, and saw the picture (posted above) of Keown. What a disgrace!

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 04:07 AM
Originally posted by hush66
I didn't get the chance to watch the game. Just heard it over the MU Radio. When Ruud was suppose to take the penalty in the 92nd minute, my heart was pounding like mad. Then he missed. What a disappointment. 2 points lost.

Then I went to Soccernet, and saw the picture (posted above) of Keown. What a disgrace!

u should watch the match....and see how arsenal players reacted.....;)

pale
22-09-2003, 08:53 AM

u should watch the match....and see how arsenal players reacted.....;)

Yeah Man...I was damn shocked at the footage. To me..that's clear assault. If anyone ever touch me like that. Confirm I report police.

ccloh
22-09-2003, 09:06 AM
what kweon and rest of the arsenal players did were totally unacceptable and ought to be punished by the FA.

however what arsene wenger's commnet on rvn i find that he is no longer a professional already. view too narrowed.

ur player (pires) can dive and u said nothing wrong, ppl not even dive and u start to brand ppl as a diver, a cheat. further look at how ur players behave after the match. it is not the 1st time arsenal players misbehave after the match and after so many caution by FA they still leave it a deaf yr. should punish them not just a fine but deduction of pt. --- 6 pts will do.

if arsene wenger still contiune to be manager of arsenal, i can also see arsenal being a club going from good to rotton reputation only.

yulee
22-09-2003, 09:25 AM
I guess that'll be the best punishment for Arsenal - a club of thugs - they are their own worst enemy...

Kiwi8
22-09-2003, 10:13 AM

It hit the crossbar... not the post.

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:18 PM
what kweon and rest of the arsenal players did were totally unacceptable and ought to be punished by the FA.

however what arsene wenger's commnet on rvn i find that he is no longer a professional already. view too narrowed.

ur player (pires) can dive and u said nothing wrong, ppl not even dive and u start to brand ppl as a diver, a cheat. further look at how ur players behave after the match. it is not the 1st time arsenal players misbehave after the match and after so many caution by FA they still leave it a deaf yr. should punish them not just a fine but deduction of pt. --- 6 pts will do.

if arsene wenger still contiune to be manager of arsenal, i can also see arsenal being a club going from good to rotton reputation only.

u still dun understand wat he trying to do meh? he was jus trying to distract the ppl attention and mislead those ABU and those arsenal fans into believeing that they are the victim and Ruud is the cheat

so far he had suceed as u saw so many senseless ppl posting those thread saying Ruud is a cheat......;)

RVN
22-09-2003, 12:18 PM
Absolutely disgusting the way the Arsenal players reacted after the final whistle and in my opinion, it deserves a docking of points. Unfortunate that Ruud missed that penalty. I would suggest letting others take a few penalties (Rio and Scholes maybe) but we all know what he's like when he's on fire. He just needs to get some cofidence (obviously he'll be feeling down about missing three pens already this season) back and he'll be back on full cylinders

I think that the team played well today, especially in the first half. Some seemed to fade in and out of the game in the second half, particularly Ronaldo but I guess that can be expected, the lad's only 18. Showed some nice touches though in the first half and that cross that was about 2 inches from Nistelrooy's head was a beaut. Cole didn't know whether he was coming or going

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:26 PM
this was a better pic......

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003440039,00.jpg

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:27 PM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003440040,00.jpg

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 12:28 PM
the season just started not long, just hope that man utd will start picking up pts whereas their challangers dropping off pts.

no pt arguring whether is RVN a cheat nor arsenal players are 'gangsters,etc..." no matter how much we argue we cannot change their pt of view nor they can change ours as each one of us insists that we are correct whereas they are in the wrong.

unconstructive and unfavourable comments in others threads that will tarnished HWZ man utd fans reputation maybe should be minimized and maybe avoid. let them say whatever they want, as we can't stop them.

just my 2cents. :)

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 12:29 PM
this was a better pic......

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003440039,00.jpg

disgrace.

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:29 PM
seriously if i am Ruud....i 1 punch give him liao.....NB i missed penatly u still celebrated in front of mi......

thumb up for Ruud for keeping his composure and being professional......;)

Yellowfin
22-09-2003, 12:30 PM
the season just started not long, just hope that man utd will start picking up pts whereas their challangers dropping off pts.

no pt arguring whether is RVN a cheat nor arsenal players are 'gangsters,etc..." no matter how much we argue we cannot change their pt of view nor they can change ours as each one of us insists that we are correct whereas they are in the wrong.

unconstructive and unfavourable comments in others threads that will tarnished HWZ man utd fans reputation maybe should be minimized and maybe avoid. let them say whatever they want, as we can't stop them.

just my 2cents. :)

Agree.

ScudMissile
22-09-2003, 12:33 PM

Keown: I love you ...Roy!! :love:

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:34 PM
Originally posted by ScudMissile

Keown: I love you ...Roy!! :love:

:alien:

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 12:35 PM
seriously if i am Ruud....i 1 punch give him liao.....NB i missed penatly u still celebrated in front of mi......

thumb up for Ruud for keeping his composure and being professional......;)

well, i suppose he did use his brain and think what if he fights back.. he will kanna from FA also...

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:37 PM

well, i suppose he did use his brain and think what if he fights back.. he will kanna from FA also...

that why thumb up for Ruud for keeping his composure and being professional......;)

anyway wat u all think how the FA will deal w them? fine? ban? warning?

windowsXP
22-09-2003, 12:38 PM

give all 3 points to Man Utd =p =p

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by windowsXP

dun think so lah.....anyway their vice-chairman hold quite a high postion in the English FA.........they surely close one eye or jus fine 10,000 pound which is peanut......:rolleyes:

RVN
22-09-2003, 12:43 PM

Doubt so, deduct arsenal points tally in the premiership and ban that money-face cunt. :mad:

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 12:45 PM

that why thumb up for Ruud for keeping his composure and being professional......;)

not sure for which country that if discipline is too off off the limit, pts will be deducted.

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 12:46 PM

gonna be kidding right. :laugh:

Yellowfin
22-09-2003, 12:47 PM
Many years ago, Arsenal and Man U got their points deducted during a match.

Not sure whether this time will the FA apply the same ruling.

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:48 PM

like i say their vice-chairman hold quite a high postion in the English FA.....surely there wont be any heavy punishment.....:rolleyes:

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 12:56 PM

The scenes yesterday, of course, bring obvious comparisons with the infamous 1990 brawl, of which I was a part. After that, Arsenal were docked two points and United the one.

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 01:06 PM

like i say their vice-chairman hold quite a high postion in the English FA.....surely there wont be any heavy punishment.....:rolleyes:

if all the positions in the FA can only restrict to parties not involved in any of the EPL club will be nice. :)

ccloh
22-09-2003, 01:21 PM

well if that is the case, they should have a heavier punishment if not ppl will say there is some unfairness ard.

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 01:23 PM

well if that is the case, they should have a heavier punishment if not ppl will say there is some unfairness ard.

well....we hav to wait for the verdict to be out to see how their vice-chairman will react....;)

KongJiaoWei
22-09-2003, 01:26 PM
its getting very weary for FA indeed. only 6 matches old with so many cases to review

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by KongJiaoWei
its getting very weary for FA indeed. only 6 matches old with so many cases to review

unless they give out a clear sign to all the shameful club by giving out heavy punishment instead of jus fine.....there will be more to come....;)

windowsXP
22-09-2003, 01:31 PM
Sir Alex the Newcastle match which he scold vulgarity at the official oso not settled yet... Sol Campbell's sending off at the Charity Shield oso not settled yet...so many cases..hahhahah

aFTerLiF3
22-09-2003, 01:36 PM
for those f*ckers who said that Ruud was play-acting from the kick...

Have you ever involved in some kind of fight back in your child hood ? Did you ever jump back a few feet when you opponent just raise his fist slightly ? What Ruud has done is just a natural instinct(reflex) of his body trying to protect himself.

I'm so pissed off right now :mad:

Thumbs up for Ruud for keeping his cool.

RVN
22-09-2003, 01:38 PM
dirty arsenal, they never learn their lesson, do they, whenever their player get sent off, they blame others and not themselves. :mad:

aFTerLiF3
22-09-2003, 01:39 PM
Arsenal will always be thugs unless Wenger do something about it.

Remember several seasons ago where Keane and co charge a referee after he gave Boro a last minute penalty kick ? FA charged Man Utd. Fergie apologize, Keane also apologize and so far we never see this incident occuring again.

Arsene " I DIDN'T ZEEE IT" wenger better start to do something about his team.

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by aFTerLiF3
for those f*ckers who said that Ruud was play-acting from the kick...

Have you ever involved in some kind of fight back in your child hood ? Did you ever jump back a few feet when you opponent just raise his fist slightly ? What Ruud has done is just a natural instinct(reflex) of his body trying to protect himself.

I'm so pissed off right now :mad:

Thumbs up for Ruud for keeping his cool.

aiya....jus ignore them lor....no matter how to twist here twist there, in the end is our fault wan lah....onli those sensible ppl and arsenal fans are giving rational comments.....the rest jus living in their own denial state of life......;)

windowsXP
22-09-2003, 01:41 PM
Manchester United cannot afford to have Misstelrooy sent off and miss 3 matches...thats wad I have to say...

RVN
22-09-2003, 01:42 PM
Manchester United cannot afford to have Misstelrooy sent off and miss 3 matches...thats wad I have to say...

he won't, he already got a yellow card.

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 01:46 PM
*chaoz*

RVN
22-09-2003, 03:07 PM
I have a lot to get off my chest today so bare with me
First of all the game, fair result 0-0, none of the teams deserved to win the game. Arsenal went to Old Trafford looking for a draw and United handed it to them. That's the way I feel. I'm more worried about our attacking play against a depleted Arsenal side than I am about the Vieira and Ruud incident.
First of all I'd like to say again how much I feel United are missing Paul Scholes. Yesterday the lads created NOTHING, and it had nothing to do with Arsenal being good, coz they were'nt IMO.
I feel the 4-5-1 formation only works with Scholes on the pitch. For the last time, LEAVE GIGGSY ON THE LEFT FERGIE. Giggs will never be a Scholes, he cannot play behind Ruud, he is totally lost in that position. When Scholes is out I would opt for the 4-4-2 formation with Forlan or Ole playing alongside Ruud.
Ruud got so frustrated yesterday b'cause he's all alone up there with 4 arsenal defenders around him, he CLEARLY needs help up there.

And now back to the main talking point of the game....
here's my view of it all:
Vieira shud never have got his first yellow card, it was not a bookable offence IMO. And the incident with Ruud was a fair yellow card for both of them. Ruud clearly fouled Vieira and Vieira clearly kicked out at Ruud after ruud went over to see if he was OK.
I have to say this, even though it might anger some of my fellow United fans: Ruud looked like he had seen a ghost when Vieira kicked out at him, even so, it was a bookable offence. IMO Vieira should never have been sent off b'cause of the first wrongly dealt yellow.
The penalty was fair enough, Keown is a ****ING CHEATING CUNT, IMO, and he clearly pulled Diego down to the ground.

But the most disgraceful incidents did'nt come before the final whistle went. What a disgusting display by the Arsenal players, you have to question Wengers discipline when you see things like that.
Not one, not two, not three but four Arsenal players taking turns in pushing, spitting, cursing, hitting and kicking Ruud V.N. It's an outrage, which I'm sure the FA will look into.
All praise to RVN for keeping his cool and acting like a true professional, we now all know that all the Asenal players are NOT professionals. Disgraceful.
Wenger needs to concentrate on his own players more and concentrate on Uniteds players less. What about the cheating CUNT PIRES????? He's got the nerve to say that Ruud dived????(did anybody see RVN dive in the game????) and clearly forgot about his own player against Pompey.

And for my last point....I would love it if thet sonofabitch *******cunt KEOWN would accidentally get hit by a BUS on his way to practice on monday

LONG LIVE UNITED, LONG LIVE RUUD VAN NISTELROOY, DEATH TO THE GOONERS.... :)

Kiwi8
22-09-2003, 03:12 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I have a lot to get off my chest today so bare with me
First of all the game, fair result 0-0, none of the teams deserved to win the game. Arsenal went to Old Trafford looking for a draw and United handed it to them. That's the way I feel. I'm more worried about our attacking play against a depleted Arsenal side than I am about the Vieira and Ruud incident.
First of all I'd like to say again how much I feel United are missing Paul Scholes. Yesterday the lads created NOTHING, and it had nothing to do with Arsenal being good, coz they were'nt IMO.
I feel the 4-5-1 formation only works with Scholes on the pitch. For the last time, LEAVE GIGGSY ON THE LEFT FERGIE. Giggs will never be a Scholes, he cannot play behind Ruud, he is totally lost in that position. When Scholes is out I would opt for the 4-4-2 formation with Forlan or Ole playing alongside Ruud.
Ruud got so frustrated yesterday b'cause he's all alone up there with 4 arsenal defenders around him, he CLEARLY needs help up there.

And now back to the main talking point of the game....
here's my view of it all:
Vieira shud never have got his first yellow card, it was not a bookable offence IMO. And the incident with Ruud was a fair yellow card for both of them. Ruud clearly fouled Vieira and Vieira clearly kicked out at Ruud after ruud went over to see if he was OK.
I have to say this, even though it might anger some of my fellow United fans: Ruud looked like he had seen a ghost when Vieira kicked out at him, even so, it was a bookable offence. IMO Vieira should never have been sent off b'cause of the first wrongly dealt yellow.
The penalty was fair enough, Keown is a ****ING CHEATING CUNT, IMO, and he clearly pulled Diego down to the ground.

But the most disgraceful incidents did'nt come before the final whistle went. What a disgusting display by the Arsenal players, you have to question Wengers discipline when you see things like that.
Not one, not two, not three but four Arsenal players taking turns in pushing, spitting, cursing, hitting and kicking Ruud V.N. It's an outrage, which I'm sure the FA will look into.
All praise to RVN for keeping his cool and acting like a true professional, we now all know that all the Asenal players are NOT professionals. Disgraceful.
Wenger needs to concentrate on his own players more and concentrate on Uniteds players less. What about the cheating CUNT PIRES????? He's got the nerve to say that Ruud dived????(did anybody see RVN dive in the game????) and clearly forgot about his own player against Pompey.

And for my last point....I would love it if thet sonofabitch *******cunt KEOWN would accidentally get hit by a BUS on his way to practice on monday

LONG LIVE UNITED, LONG LIVE RUUD VAN NISTELROOY, DEATH TO THE GOONERS.... :)

Wah.... your words very poisonous sia.... :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

RVN
22-09-2003, 03:15 PM

sorry frustrated lah. :alien:

edhorizon
22-09-2003, 03:46 PM
Vieira first yellow card was because the ref blew the whistle for several times then he actually went over. So it deserve a yellow card and not the foul on fortune.

So he only can blame himself for deserving that first yellow card which lead to his sent off.

RVN
22-09-2003, 08:35 PM
Full marks to Ruud for keeping his cool and walking away after being assulted by these thugs, without a hint of retalliation.

If that sort of attack had happened on the streets the old bill would have locked those thugs up without a second thought. :mad:

aFTerLiF3
22-09-2003, 08:40 PM
strange huh, in 98 when Beckham was showed red card. Almost the whole english blame him and not Deigo Simiione. Now all those irrational fans blame RVN and claimed that he is diving (which in fact he is not).

ABU in the work :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
22-09-2003, 09:04 PM
Originally posted by aFTerLiF3
strange huh, in 98 when Beckham was showed red card. Almost the whole english blame him and not Deigo Simiione. Now all those irrational fans blame RVN and claimed that he is diving (which in fact he is not).

ABU in the work :rolleyes:

like wat u say....it's not easy to be a MAnU fans....or should i say be a very sucussful club fans.....when u are at the top....alot of ppl will find all the ways and means to degrade the club.....

Even if we are the victim....those ppl will twist the facts here and there to make it look as if we are the Devil......

wat can can do is jus to ignore there senseless comment and control ourselves.....no pt argueing w them unless is necesssary.....;)

derrace
22-09-2003, 09:40 PM

sent the pictures to soccernet..hope they put it up..

esp the last 2 you sent..

hope they(keown and co) get banned for serveral matches..

tak
22-09-2003, 10:18 PM

well ASK him knocked to death by a bus better, curse people die.. what a good family upbringing this moron have...

ryanseah
22-09-2003, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by tak

well ASK him knocked to death by a bus better, curse people die.. what a good family upbringing this moron have...

Can you say...EXTRA? Too much free time? Come into our team's thread to bark again? :rolleyes:

NanDesKa
23-09-2003, 12:00 AM
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

ccloh
23-09-2003, 12:22 AM
well the FA has put this incident as a urgent investigation. who is right or who is wrong, i guess everyone kn.

no ppl will said they are wrong even if they actually did it, that is why we have so many court rooms drama.

the case is pretty straight forwards here. what RVN did on the jump on vieria is wrong and deserved the yellow which he get. what vieria did eventhough the kick didn't actually contact was wrong as he has the intention to do it just that he didn't manage to make the final contact. that jolly well deserved a caution too. his sending off is due to 2 yellows and not a direct red. this is a very fair treatment to him.

however there are always some joker who like to twist things ard, looking the world from an upside down view. well arsene wenger and most of his team are part of those ppl. he has branded RVN as a cheat and diver. in the whole match i didn't see RVN dives and the only recent diving incident that i know off is none other than his own player pires (well of course arsene wenger chose to view it from another view another). a man with his achievement and status can make such a irresponsible remarks, this is something unprofessional already.

post-match incidents. very clear cut who is the in the wrongs and heavy punishment has to be enforeced.

for the FA to really wants to control this type of event from happening again, fining and banning the jokers ain't working anymore. it has to go to the team punishment method of docking pts, suspension and fine already.

cal127
23-09-2003, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by tak

Hey you, yeah you glory hunter! you wanna revel in attention you might try crawling out from under the rock you came from, trust me it helps. try comprehending that making mindless irrelevant posts such as these will get you nowhere or anything deserving respect or, let me guess, have you expleted your allocated brain cells for the day which could explain your restricted vocabulary in bridling. nothing else better to do? try surf some kiddie porn fool. but in case you did manage to process half what was said, try again but this time something constructive would be nice. but don't strain yourself and more importantly remember, y o u r...m i n d...n e e d s...r e s t.

cal127
23-09-2003, 12:42 AM
well the FA has put this incident as a urgent investigation. who is right or who is wrong, i guess everyone kn.

no ppl will said they are wrong even if they actually did it, that is why we have so many court rooms drama.

the case is pretty straight forwards here. what RVN did on the jump on vieria is wrong and deserved the yellow which he get. what vieria did eventhough the kick didn't actually contact was wrong as he has the intention to do it just that he didn't manage to make the final contact. that jolly well deserved a caution too. his sending off is due to 2 yellows and not a direct red. this is a very fair treatment to him.

however there are always some joker who like to twist things ard, looking the world from an upside down view. well arsene wenger and most of his team are part of those ppl. he has branded RVN as a cheat and diver. in the whole match i didn't see RVN dives and the only recent diving incident that i know off is none other than his own player pires (well of course arsene wenger chose to view it from another view another). a man with his achievement and status can make such a irresponsible remarks, this is something unprofessional already.

post-match incidents. very clear cut who is the in the wrongs and heavy punishment has to be enforeced.

for the FA to really wants to control this type of event from happening again, fining and banning the jokers ain't working anymore. it has to go to the team punishment method of docking pts, suspension and fine already.

dosen't take a man u, arsenal, or chelsea fan to distinguish right from wrong and its up to the FA to send a strong signal cos i have a feeling AW will never change. if its up to me docking of points will clearly be in the books. its time to put an end to it or at least curb it to some extent. i don't wanna watch another english game in disrepute, i wanna see a scoreline goddammit.

tak
23-09-2003, 12:50 AM
i am never a glory hunter, just that some people just dont have a good upbringing, Cursing people knock down by bus....

tak
23-09-2003, 12:51 AM
Originally posted by cal127

dosen't take a man u, arsenal, or chelsea fan to distinguish right from wrong and its up to the FA to send a strong signal cos i have a feeling AW will never change. if its up to me docking of points will clearly be in the books. its time to put an end to it or at least curb it to some extent. i don't wanna watch another english game in disrepute, i wanna see a scoreline goddammit.

cal127, i agreed with u we need is a good match, not a WWF match. BUt i am dangry with people cursing other to be knocked down by bus, i do not think that is so serious u want some people to die right? anyway if there anything i said that indirectly offend u, then i said sorry.

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 01:35 AM

the verdict should be be out within these 2 days....if all finf guality and suspend....arsenal are in deep **** man....their entire defence will be gone....cole, keown, toro, laruan and vieria all kana suspend.....:angel:

on the other hand....i think FA wont dock their pt....the FA will give thier vice-chairman some face......:sarcastic

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 11:23 AM
:bounce: :bounce:

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 11:28 AM
I read from Man U forum that Ole is out for 2 months. But I can't find any news about it.

Seem like the repeat of last season where alot of players got injure in the beginning of the season. :(

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 11:31 AM
I read from Man U forum that Ole is out for 2 months. But I can't find any news about it.

Seem like the repeat of last season where alot of players got injure in the beginning of the season. :(

Sep 23 - Manchester United striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will have exploratory surgery on his right knee today and could be out for up to three months.

The injury forced Solskjaer, 30, missed Sunday's clash with Arsenal and although the extent of the damage is not known, manager Alex Ferguson is bracing himself for bad news.

Ferguson is already deprived of Paul Scholes, Wes Brown and Brazilian signing Kleberson. He may now have to abandon plans to ease 18-year-old Cristiano Ronaldo into first-team action and instead give him an extended run in the right wing berth left vacant by Solskjaer.

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=36123&seg=EPL&teamid=

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 11:35 AM

hmmm....maybe the gd thing is that ronaldo will be throw straight into first team action sooner that expected.....

the bad thing thing is we dun wan him to kana burnt out.....

that leave to fergie to take the desision how to prevent him of kana burnt out.....;)

phil oso can play right....maybe ronaldo and phil will take turn lor....;)

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 11:36 AM

Thanks. :)

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 11:38 AM

hmmm....maybe the gd thing is that ronaldo will be throw straight into first team action sooner that expected.....

the bad thing thing is we dun wan him to kana burnt out.....

that leave to fergie to take the desision how to prevent him of kana burnt out.....;)

phil oso can play right....maybe ronaldo and phil will take turn lor....;)

I thought there are a few young players eg. fletcher that can play in the right midfield position.

Yes, it going to be a problem if ronaldo got seriously injure or burn out for playing too many games at one go.

ccloh
23-09-2003, 11:38 AM

wah lack of firepower liao. given that RVN cant really find the net recently and scholes is not ard. forlan yet to find the net.

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 11:41 AM

I thought there are a few young players eg. fletcher that can play in the right midfield position.

Yes, it going to be a problem if ronaldo got seriously injure or burn out for playing too many games at one go.

watch fletcher a few times during the pre-season....i think he not ready for first team yet.....but who's know maybe fergie decide to field and he will make a instant impact.....;)

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 11:41 AM

wah lack of firepower liao. given that RVN cant really find the net recently and scholes is not ard. forlan yet to find the net.

Yah lor, I put the blame on the PLC boy during the transfer market period.

If there is not a need for balancing the book in the short term, maybe SAF will sign a striker.

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 11:43 AM

really lack of power......wat we worry during the close season came true.....when one of the striker injured.....we are doom to lack of firepower.....

hopefully scholes will be back and no need op.....

RVN
23-09-2003, 01:36 PM

Sep 23 - Manchester United striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will have exploratory surgery on his right knee today and could be out for up to three months.

The injury forced Solskjaer, 30, missed Sunday's clash with Arsenal and although the extent of the damage is not known, manager Alex Ferguson is bracing himself for bad news.

Ferguson is already deprived of Paul Scholes, Wes Brown and Brazilian signing Kleberson. He may now have to abandon plans to ease 18-year-old Cristiano Ronaldo into first-team action and instead give him an extended run in the right wing berth left vacant by Solskjaer.

3 months, oh ****, guess Ronaldo will now have a permanent place in the team, we need Scholes back soon.:(

RVN
23-09-2003, 03:26 PM
ARSENAL FC — for failing to control their player. Obviously!

ARSENE WENGER — for calling Van Nistelrooy a cheat. Slanderous remarks.

MARTIN KEOWN — for cracking Van Nistelrooy on the head. Definitely.

PATRICK VIEIRA — for creating mayhem after his red card. No. Not his fault what followed but he did have a punch up in the tunnel.

LAUREN — for threatening behaviour. Is that what attempted murder is now called?

ASHLEY COLE — for thumping Cristiano Ronaldo. Yep.

RAY PARLOUR — for digging Van Nistelrooy in the ribs. "diggin'!!! Thought he was trying to reach Ruud's back, from the front!!!

JENS LEHMANN — for pushing a linesman. Yes!

GARY NEVILLE — for a punch. "Did not see - Arsene Whinger" quote

7 been charged. :rolleyes:

KongJiaoWei
23-09-2003, 03:34 PM
some light relief from sammyboy

Wenger and Fergie squares off

Wenger: "I have tolerated you for 8 years! Take that!" *Biff!*
Fergie: "I hear you are quite blind. You don't see a lot of things. Here, maybe this punch will open your eyes!" *Pow!*
Wenger: "This is for Ian Wright, who was victimised by Schmechiel years ago." *Kapow!*
Fergie: "And this is for van Nistelrooy. You Arsenal thugs!" *Bam!*

RVN
23-09-2003, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by KongJiaoWei
some light relief from sammyboy

Wenger and Fergie squares off

Wenger: "I have tolerated you for 8 years! Take that!" *Biff!*
Fergie: "I hear you are quite blind. You don't see a lot of things. Here, maybe this punch will open your eyes!" *Pow!*
Wenger: "This is for Ian Wright, who was victimised by Schmechiel years ago." *Kapow!*
Fergie: "And this is for van Nistelrooy. You Arsenal thugs!" *Bam!*

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

RVN
23-09-2003, 04:48 PM
Manchester United are set to sign two of Africa's brightest prospects Jon Mikel and Promise Isaac.

The two Nigerians impressed United scouts at the World Youth Championships and were impressive during trials at Carrington, so Sir Alex Ferguson offered them contracts.

It is understood that when they sign, they would both go out on loan to Belgian feeder club Royal Antwerp to give them first-team experience.

Isaac, 16 and Mikel, 17 have been tipped as the finest footballers to come out of Africa.

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 09:21 PM
Manchester United legend Paddy Crerand has praised the restraint shown by Ruud van Nistelrooy during the after-match fracas at Old Trafford on Sunday.

The Football Association are expected to charge up to five Arsenal players for their part in the incident, which followed the final whistle of the goalless draw that saw van Nistelrooy miss an injury-time penalty.

Martin Keown, Ashley Cole, Ray Parlour and Lauren were all caught on TV jostling the Dutch front-man, who they believe played a major role in the controversial dismissal of Gunners skipper Patrick Vieira.

Van Nistelrooy refused to react, although there have been reports he squared up to Vieira in the players' tunnel half an hour after the game had finished.

Crerard admitted that faced with such provocation, he would not have been so calm, but claimed any retaliation could have led to a full-scale riot.

'I would have weighed straight back in, there is no danger of that,' the Scot told MUTV.

'If that had happened on Sunday, everybody would have got involved, so under the circumstances Ruud's behaviour was tremendous.

'Really, you have to say the Arsenal players were a disgrace and something needs to be done.

'For some reason, from 30 yards, Arsene Wenger couldn't see Robert Pires cheating when he dived for the penalty at Portsmouth, but he could see what happened between van Nistelrooy and Vieira from 70 yards away.'

Wenger questioned van Nistelrooy's behaviour and Vieira alleged the Dutchman tried to stamp on him when the pair clashed 10 minutes from the end of Sunday's draw.

Vieira kicked out as he laid on the ground, and believed his opponent's exaggerated reaction, largely contributed to his dismissal.

In addition to the four men who jostled van Nistelrooy, keeper Jens Lehmann is likely to face an FA sanction for shoving an assistant referee as the row ensued, while the Arsenal club are set to face a charge of failing to keep control of their players.

United could face a similar accusation, but defender Gary Neville is the only player expected to find himself in trouble.

Meanwhile, Sir Alex Ferguson, who still has an FA charge pending following his four-letter tirade at Newcastle last month, is set to be without Ole Gunnar Solskjaer until the middle of December.

The Norwegian has failed to recover from a knee injury which has been bothering him for much of the campaign and Ferguson has decided to send him for an operation.

With Paul Scholes' recovery from a hernia problem still in the balance and Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson battling to overcome a broken shoulder, it means Ferguson may be forced to plunge teenage winger Cristiano Ronaldo into regular first-team action far quicker than he would have liked.

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 09:27 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=164620&Title=Fletcher+to+get+United+chance

http://www.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics03_04/england/manutd/fletcher_darren.jpg

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 09:42 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=164620&Title=Fletcher+to+get+United+chance

http://www.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics03_04/england/manutd/fletcher_darren.jpg

Hope he break thru to the first team. It is always good to see homegrown player break thru to the first team. :D

Geforce3
23-09-2003, 09:48 PM
he is quite good imho

NanDesKa
23-09-2003, 10:05 PM
'For some reason, from 30 yards, Arsene Wenger couldn't see Robert Pires cheating when he dived for the penalty at Portsmouth, but he could see what happened between van Nistelrooy and Vieira from 70 yards away.'

LMAO :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

StormTrooper
23-09-2003, 10:13 PM
enough of it already pls, look forward to coming weekend. lets get on with the football. :cool:

kengbeng
23-09-2003, 10:16 PM
A good chance for Fletcher to make an impression, with all the injuries we have. Hope he will not let this opportunity slip away.

RVN
23-09-2003, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa

LMAO :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Wenger is biased, thats why, shown what a knobhead he is. :rolleyes:

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 10:36 PM
This weekend Man U away at leciester city.

I think we can get 3 points. Wonder how the lineup will be.

ccloh
23-09-2003, 10:41 PM
no scholes, no ole, no kleberson. most likely ronaldo will be in the starting lineup. most worried me is can RVN find the net and when will forlan net his 1st epl goal this season.

RVN
23-09-2003, 11:09 PM
Most likely line-up for Leicester game

Howard

G Neville (unless he kena ban), Rio, Silvestre, O'Shea

Ronaldo, Butt, Keane, Giggs

Forlan, Ruud

Subs: Carroll, Phil, Fortune, Fletcher, Eric Djemba x2, Bellion.

guoquanyap
23-09-2003, 11:15 PM
A good chance for Fletcher to make an impression, with all the injuries we have. Hope he will not let this opportunity slip away.

it's time for youngsters to show wat they can do to fergie....bellion, fletcher, ronaldo and Richardson.....;)

Yellowfin
23-09-2003, 11:17 PM
My prefer line-up

Howard

G Neville, Rio, Silvestre, O'Shea

Butt, Phil
Rolando(or Fletcher) Fortune

Giggs

Rudd

Subs: Carroll, Phil, keane, Fletcher, Djemba x2, Bellion

RVN
23-09-2003, 11:25 PM
West Brom 2 Manchester United 4

UNITED Reserves recorded their first league win of the season at The Hawthorns last night.

David Jones put the Reds in front after three minutes, and, despite being pegged back by Kyle Patterson's strike five minutes later, they rarely looked in danger of failing to claim their initial success at the sixth attempt.

Jones restored the lead in the 17th minute after the Albion defence had cleared David Bellion's corner, and Darren Fletcher increased the lead with a terrific finish early in second-half.

Albion hit back through Simon Brown, but United remained on top, and, in the 63rd minute, Daniel Nardiello grabbed the fourth goal from the penalty spot.

UNITED: Steele, Lynch, Pugh, Tierney, Tate, Jones, Bellion (Eagles), Fletcher, Nardiello (Ebanks-Blake), Timm (M Williams), Richardson. Subs: Heaton, Eckersley.

demon_
24-09-2003, 02:30 AM

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=278175&cc=4716

:sarcastic

edhorizon
24-09-2003, 08:57 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa

ralliart_ray
24-09-2003, 10:44 AM
they like to contradict themselves.........:D

NanDesKa
24-09-2003, 11:01 AM
come on, blood in the youngsters..
heh

RuMmYtUb
24-09-2003, 12:44 PM
I hope Ronaldo 2nd half den come in, really scared he burn out..

RuMmYtUb
24-09-2003, 01:36 PM
Arsenal set to lose entire defence

http://www.footballchannel.com/imx/article/small/awenger6.jpg

Orbi, lose first team back 4 (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=36215&seg=EPL&teamid=)

edhorizon
24-09-2003, 01:42 PM

Orbi, lose first team back 4 (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=36215&seg=EPL&teamid=)

deserve for the actions.

Kiwi8
24-09-2003, 01:58 PM

Orbi, lose first team back 4 (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=36215&seg=EPL&teamid=) :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

RVN
24-09-2003, 02:08 PM

http://members.lycos.co.uk/mufcdevil/net/roflanim.gif

Alienz
24-09-2003, 02:13 PM

:cool:

WJY
24-09-2003, 02:29 PM

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

Ch3tah_39
24-09-2003, 02:52 PM
yesh, gd arsenal deserve the punishment lorz..
act like wat after ruud miss the penalty...

edhorizon
24-09-2003, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
yesh, gd arsenal deserve the punishment lorz..
act like wat after ruud miss the penalty...

hooligan fight finish and win a turf.

RVN
24-09-2003, 05:24 PM

hooligan fight finish and win a turf.

http://invisionfree.com:54/66/172/upload/p2539.jpg

guoquanyap
24-09-2003, 05:28 PM

and their captain who is still in his denial state and begging the Ref.....;)

guoquanyap
24-09-2003, 05:31 PM
one thing though....they can drag the ban all the way until this dec if all request personal hearing......:mad:

guoquanyap
24-09-2003, 08:38 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will be out of the game for three months as he recovers from knee surgery.

The Norwegian striker has been struggling with the problem since pre-season and it was decided to follow the pattern of last term and send him for an operation quickly to ensure he will return for the vital second half of the campaign.

Ferguson admitted it was a blow to lose the 30-year-old, who has done an impressive job on the right-hand side of midfield following the departure of David Beckham to Real Madrid.

However, he believes his squad has the depth to cope with Solskjaer's absence, even if it puts even more emphasis on the fitness of playmaker Paul Scholes.

'We've adopted the same policy as last season, where anything that needs to be done this early we get it done,' Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News.

'It is a blow for us and now the transfer window has closed, there is nothing I can do about it.

'But I do feel we have a good enough squad to cope. We have alternatives like Cristiano Ronaldo, Diego Forlan and Darren Fletcher so we'll just get on with it.'

Ferguson is now sweating on Scholes coming through his first week's training without a problem after finally showing signs of recovery from a long-standing hernia complaint.

The United boss is hoping to take Scholes on the Champions League trip to Stuttgart next week, even though he has not been involved in the first-team squad since the win over Wolves at the end of last month.

It has already been decided that if Scholes does suffer a setback, he will be forced to undergo a third operation, which would rule him out for a couple of months, a period which includes England's vital Euro 2004 qualifier with Turkey in Istanbul.

http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/solskjaer2022_**.jpg

ccloh
24-09-2003, 10:12 PM

they ask for it themselves. who can u blame that on.

ccloh
24-09-2003, 10:13 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will be out of the game for three months as he recovers from knee surgery.

The Norwegian striker has been struggling with the problem since pre-season and it was decided to follow the pattern of last term and send him for an operation quickly to ensure he will return for the vital second half of the campaign.

Ferguson admitted it was a blow to lose the 30-year-old, who has done an impressive job on the right-hand side of midfield following the departure of David Beckham to Real Madrid.

However, he believes his squad has the depth to cope with Solskjaer's absence, even if it puts even more emphasis on the fitness of playmaker Paul Scholes.

'We've adopted the same policy as last season, where anything that needs to be done this early we get it done,' Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News.

'It is a blow for us and now the transfer window has closed, there is nothing I can do about it.

'But I do feel we have a good enough squad to cope. We have alternatives like Cristiano Ronaldo, Diego Forlan and Darren Fletcher so we'll just get on with it.'

Ferguson is now sweating on Scholes coming through his first week's training without a problem after finally showing signs of recovery from a long-standing hernia complaint.

The United boss is hoping to take Scholes on the Champions League trip to Stuttgart next week, even though he has not been involved in the first-team squad since the win over Wolves at the end of last month.

It has already been decided that if Scholes does suffer a setback, he will be forced to undergo a third operation, which would rule him out for a couple of months, a period which includes England's vital Euro 2004 qualifier with Turkey in Istanbul.

http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/solskjaer2022_**.jpg

better pray hard that scholes is ok during the period whereby ole is unavaliable.

ccloh
24-09-2003, 10:17 PM
one thing though....they can drag the ban all the way until this dec if all request personal hearing......:mad:

just hope that the whjole 1st team defence kanna ban and up against wolves, they kanna thrashed 5-0. worst still, henry played central defender with pires as the left wing-back :laugh: