View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Yellowfin
24-09-2003, 10:19 PM
FA charge six Gunners, two Reds
FA charge 8 players.
Arsenal and six of their players, as well as two Manchester United players, were today charged by the Football Association following the ill-tempered goalless draw at Old Trafford.
Arsenal are accused of failing to control their players, while Patrick Vieira, Martin Keown, Ashley Cole, Lauren, Ray Parlour and Jens Lehmann all face individual charges that could lead to suspensions.
Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo have also been charged by the FA, who reviewed video evidence of last Sunday's game following the ugly scenes which followed both Vieira's red card and Ruud van Nistelrooy's penalty miss.
Phil Neville has also been warned over his future conduct.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=278295&cc=4716
Hmm, Ronaldo and Gigg also involved. I think I miss this two.
guoquanyap
24-09-2003, 10:19 PM
anyone know wat's wrong w giggs? think ronaldo push ppl but giggs leh? wat's wrong?
FA charge six Gunners, two Reds
Arsenal and six of their players, as well as two Manchester United players, were today charged by the Football Association following the ill-tempered goalless draw at Old Trafford.
Arsenal are accused of failing to control their players, while Patrick Vieira, Martin Keown, Ashley Cole, Lauren, Ray Parlour and Jens Lehmann all face individual charges that could lead to suspensions.
Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo have also been charged by the FA, who reviewed video evidence of last Sunday's game following the ugly scenes which followed both Vieira's red card and Ruud van Nistelrooy's penalty miss.
Phil Neville has also been warned over his future conduct.
Yellowfin
24-09-2003, 10:26 PM
Here is the link to the charges.
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=164844&cpid=8&title=FA+CHARGE+BOTH+SIDES
OreoCookies
24-09-2003, 10:33 PM
Ladies and Gentlemen of the jury, in a few moments time I will outline the case for the prosecution.
But first, may I bring to your attention a crucial piece of evidence which should not be overlooked - arguably the worst case of selective myopia in medical history.
The man in question is French and has been known between friends as Monsieur Magoo.
However, the vision of Arsene Wenger suddenly appears to have acquired a crystal clarity.
The issue we need to address is how the defendant managed to see Ruud van Nistelrooy attempt to stamp on Patrick Vieira - despite none of the other 67,000 spectators, and millions of TV viewers, managing to witness this apparent act.
I bring this mitigating factor to your attention early on in my deliberations, merely for your information, and will refer to it again later on.
May I say though, it may not be a contributory factor in your verdict, as it would appear Mr Wenger's new-found vision once again deserted within ten minutes.
Nevertheless, we move on to the behaviour of his football team which, to put it mildly ladies and gentlemen, was a disgrace.
If the goading, taunting, hitting and shoving that five of his players were responsible for had occurred in the street, it would constitute an assault.
Along with Wenger, I put it you that Martin Keown, Ashley Cole, Lauren, Kolo Toure and Ray Parlour today stand accused of yobbish behaviour which Wenger simply has to take some responsibility for, however unwilling he may seem too.
Once again Wenger's side completely lost their composure and continue to set the wrong examples.
If ever proof of this fact was needed, we simply turn to the extenuating evidence provided by former Arsenal players and, indeed, the club chairman who have condemned the men in question for their actions - something which they could not have enjoyed doing.
Yes, Ian Wright was the exception to the rule, but we should expect no more from a player who once stamped on a Manchester United opponent and tried to portray his innocence, just like some of the class of 2003.
Arsenal will complain they are being victimised, but their argument is weak.
There is no FA or media conspiracy.
The facts of the case lie before you.
At this point in proceedings may I interject to offer some interesting and invaluable statistics.
It has been made common knowledge these past few days that 52 players no less have been dismissed in Wenger's seven years at Highbury.
Twenty of those cards have been issued in the last two seasons alone, compared to just two for Manchester United.
It is clear in this country, that many football supporters detest the champions of England.
But on the occasion in January 2000 when United's players chased official Andy D'Urso after he awarded a penalty against the home team at Old Trafford, Sir Alex Ferguson warned his players there could be no repeat.
The problem was dealt with.
I put it you that Wenger could take a leaf out of his great rival's book and impose discipline. Of course, he has a much more serious problem. Arsenal's actions are far worse than what occurred at Old Trafford nearly four years ago.
His players have brought shame on the club and, shockingly, have missed 148 games to suspension since 1996. Wenger, it would appear, is inexplicably blind to the evidence before him.
As one national newspaper columnist quite rightly pointed out, it should also be said that Sir Alex Ferguson would never condone gloating in the face of a fellow professional.
May I now refer to a player by the name of Ruud van Nistelrooy who was correctly booked for a foul on Patrick Vieira during the match in question.
Since then, Ferguson has had to defend his players' conduct against totally unfounded accusations that the Dutchman cheated.
Van Nistelrooy is not a cheat and, does not, as Vieira puts it, destroy the game with his theatrics.
Some fans may say he goes down easily in the penalty area, but tell me one striker in this country who doesn't.
Certainly, there wasn't an Englishman who was complaining when Michael Owen won England a match-winning penalty against Argentina in last summer's World Cup!
Van Nistelrooy's reaction to Vieira kicking out at him may have been over-exaggerated but he made sure that referee Steve Bennett was aware the Arsenal skipper had aimed a kick in his direction - and who can blame him.
Connection or not, the issue is the intent and - just as David Beckham was dismissed for his petulant flick at Diego Simeone four years ago - Vieira deserved to go.
There would have been no issue at all if Vieira had shown the tremendous restraint van Nistelrooy had to show amidst the ugly scenes that followed.
Yet, somehow, Wenger and Vieira are trying to identify van Nistelrooy as the culprit in all this.
Despite having only himself to blame for his club's latest red card shame, Vieira wants Steve Bennett to voluntarily reconsider the second booking. Reconsider?!
Vieira was extremely lucky not to receive a straight red card for his actions and fails to grasp the fact that, just because he did not make contact with van Nistelrooy, his crime is no less.
Vieira also appears to have contracted his manager's sight problems after also trying to convince himself that van Nistelrooy stamped on him.
Of course, it would appear to be not just double standards with Arsenal Football Club, but treble standards.
Wenger remarked that van Nistrelrooy was a diver but, members of the jury, may I suggest he's been struck down with selective myopia again.
Despite thinking he saw what happened between van Nistelrooy and Vieira from 70 yards away, Wenger still can't recall seeing Robert Pires dive against Portsmouth from just 30 yards a little over than a week ago.
Finally, it is alleged that Vieira had to be held back from confronting van Nistelrooy in the tunnel after the match.
The Arsenal skipper apparently waited to talk to the Dutchman who headed straight to the dressing room.
When he agreed to speak to Vieira some 25 minutes later, Vieira refused prompting van Nistelrooy to question the Frenchman's class - ironic considering it was Vieira who instigated the move.
Ladies and gentlemen, now I turn to the case for the defence.
There is no defence. You cannot defend the inexcusable.
The Football Association have to act and impose a punishment which would act as a deterrent. Not by docking the club points - Wenger would only use it as an excuse in his side's title bid. Not by imposing fines on a group of wealthy young men.
But by suspending the players in questions for a minimum of three matches each.
Your honour, the evidence is conclusive.
There can only be one outcome.
KongJiaoWei
24-09-2003, 10:33 PM
lauren heads the chart with 4 accounts :laugh:
OreoCookies
24-09-2003, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
anyone know wat's wrong w giggs? think ronaldo push ppl but giggs leh? wat's wrong?
I don't think Giggsy & Ronaldo will end-up suffering as much as their Gunners' counterparts... But I sure hope this will serve as a lesson for them to practice as much restrain as RVN did... :(
But honestly, I don't think we can truly fault anyone here, be it a Red or a Gunner... In football, emotions can get pretty high... That's what makes the sport so exciting, and yet also very frustrating (especially when tempers boil over)... :o
RuMmYtUb
24-09-2003, 10:57 PM
next match for arsenal, hands down for those who dare to put their money and ASS on ARSEnal when they come head to head against the magpies
edhorizon
24-09-2003, 11:09 PM
as for giggs, i think that the TV did not catch that part.
OreoCookies where u got tat? i love that article.
KongJiaoWei
24-09-2003, 11:25 PM
sheer injustice, giggs and ronaldo went to stop the 5 monkeys shoving rvn, in any sense what do u expect these two to do? smile and cheer?
KongJiaoWei
24-09-2003, 11:28 PM
Le buck must stop with you, Mr Wenger
BY Martin Samuel, Sportswriter of the year
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,277-828365,00.html
NOW, we could waste a lot of time with lawyers, witnesses and reels of videotape working out who pushed who and who was provoked, who conned the referee and who was really in the wrong. We could get bogged down in legal argument, factor in mitigating circumstances and take previous behaviour into consideration. Or, as Patrick Vieira and Arsène Wenger step through the door for their disciplinary hearing at Soho Square, we could get two burly men to jump out from behind a plant pot and try to kick them in the sweetbreads, see in which direction their backsides went, then ask if they still think Ruud van Nistelrooy cheated at Old Trafford on Sunday.
Sometimes you just have to use common sense.
The accent clouds the issue. As a nation, we simply cannot believe that a man as cultured, urbane, well-mannered and intelligent as Wenger can marshal the mewling bunch of juveniles that frequently masquerade as his first team at Arsenal. We see the man and we like him. We study his dark side — 52 red cards in seven years — and cannot equate the two.
Wenger’s captain, Vieira, is the worst-behaved player in Premiership history, his team are beyond control and Robert Pires is a big cheat whose behaviour against Portsmouth 11 days ago was an affront to all definitions of sporting decency. Yet because the Arsenal manager has the pleasing demeanour of a sophisticate, we fawn over him like the embassy guests in the Ferrero Rocher advert as the cheapo chocolates are handed round. “Oh, Ambassador, you are spoiling us.”
It’s embarrassing.
Wenger is treated with a reverence that would not be afforded a British national with the same record in the same role. Were the manager of Arsenal plain old ’Arry Walker, minus the glasses and Gallic charm, plus a few dropped aitches and the odd explosion of Anglo-Saxon English when he didn’t realise the microphones were on, would he be indulged through £250,000 in collective fines for indiscipline? Of course not, and rightly so.
Yet Wenger’s reputation survives for the same reason that Eric Cantona was considered a philosopher and Sven-Göran Eriksson is now bringing peace on earth. We are suckers for the falsehood of continental savoir-faire. Had Claudio Ranieri been able to perfect gnomic silence and a knowing smile rather than his trademark hysterical cackle and stream of consciousness, he would be sitting pretty at Stamford Bridge by now. You can preside over malevolence, bullying, childish self-pity and intimidation; just be sure to speak French to us while you do, mon chéri.
When Sir Alex Ferguson loses his cool, his regional tongue and industrial language see him lampooned mercilessly. Spitting Image would have had a field day. Who can forget the “youse are all idiots” headlines after his defence of Juan Sebastián Verón? Yet Ferguson properly recognised the indiscipline in his team in the aftermath of the hounding of Andy D’Urso, the referee who awarded a penalty to Middlesbrough in a match at Old Trafford in January 2000, and dealt with it. He may lose his cool from time to time, but his team don’t any more.
Wenger is his opposite. While he projects an air of personal responsibility, he has shown little interest in nurturing the same quality in his players. Neither manager criticises in public, but Wenger alone must be equally forgiving in private, too. There is no other explanation for Arsenal’s dismal disciplinary record.
In all other areas, Wenger has been given the freedom to influence and control. He has a training centre built to his specifications, he decides everything from the way his team play to the food they eat. On one European trip, the entire shipment of aircraft meals had to be altered because it did not fit Wenger’s nutritional requirements. So, if he wanted to address Arsenal’s disorderliness, he could do so in an instant.
The evidence suggests that he chooses not to.
Instead he has apparently tolerated an arrogance and petulance that, at full force, is startling. This is Vieira talking about the late penalty award for a foul on Diego Forlán by Martin Keown on Sunday: “How can you whistle for a penalty in injury time when two players are battling for the ball? To give such an important penalty the referee has to be sure of himself.” But he was, Patrick. That’s why he gave it. Yet you can almost hear the disbelief, the incredulity in his voice. How dare he do this to Arsenal? Doesn’t he know who we are?
This is the attitude that Wenger has seemed to allow to go unchecked. It is the difference between confidence and entitlement. Arsenal are not a violent team but they are a stroppy, often unpleasant one. They lose their cool; they defy the referee; they snap, they snarl, they cheat, they whinge. If they were a child, you’d take their Gameboy away. But Wenger is the soft parent who has let them have their own way for too long.
The immediate aftermath of Sunday’s match was telling. Wenger’s first reaction, having witnessed his players round on an opponent like a bunch of nightclub louts spoiling for a row, was to call Van Nistelrooy a cheat for not wishing to be gelded mid-game by Vieira. This, in turn, gave his players carte blanche to justify their behaviour, an area in which they have never needed encouragement.
Then, 24 hours later, Peter Hill-Wood, the chairman, was wheeled out to present the acceptable face of Arsenal Football Club; the Old Etonian, all traditional values and striped tie, appalled by the behaviour of his senior players. Except Hill-Wood’s stake gives him about as much influence over what goes on at Highbury these days as Bill Nicholson’s did over the dismissal of Glenn Hoddle at Tottenham Hotspur.
The real voice of modern Arsenal, David Dein, the vice-chairman, has been silent throughout (although he may well be having plenty to say at his other seat of power, the Football Association, where he is also vice-chairman). For Hill-Wood read hill of beans. The true decision-makers at Arsenal are the management and newer board members and they have not shown interest in truly addressing the disciplinary problems at the club since October 23, 1990.
Back then, Arsenal did not have to wait to be charged with failing to control their players by the FA; they passed sentence on themselves. Just three days after the 21-man brawl with Manchester United that ultimately cost them two points, Arsenal fined George Graham, the manager, and five players two weeks’ wages. It is a fact not widely remembered, probably because in the modern game acceptance of blame seems so improbable. We can’t believe it happened and it plainly wouldn’t now.
In 1990, the buck actually stopped somewhere. Now all Arsenal offer is excuses and the empty condemnation of a marginalised man in a suit. Maybe Hill-Wood would still like to call Wenger to account for the continuing unruliness of the players in his charge, but he has no chance of doing so. Arsenal are a club utterly in hock to their manager and their directors will do anything to keep him happy.
They know that without him they will lose key players. They know that the club is his vision. So they will continue to tiptoe around him even through the FA fines and suspensions that are sure to follow this latest descent into chaos.
Wenger has improved on the success under Graham and has certainly done wonders for the football. Other statistics are damning — 20 sendings-off from the beginning of season 2001-02 to the present day, compared with two at Manchester United (both for Roy Keane), a total of 148 matches lost to suspension by Wenger’s players in seven years — but within the marble halls, they are willing to trade. That’s what you have to love about good old Arsenal.
They’re all class.
OreoCookies
24-09-2003, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
as for giggs, i think that the TV did not catch that part.
OreoCookies where u got tat? i love that article.
Eh, actually, the article was from Soccernet.com... :o
For the web-link, click HERE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=278281&cc=4716)...
OreoCookies
24-09-2003, 11:31 PM
Hmm... The article posted by KongJiaoWei is pretty interesting too... ;)
KongJiaoWei
24-09-2003, 11:35 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Hmm... The article posted by KongJiaoWei is pretty interesting too... ;)
its by martin samuel, awward winning journalist, not ur everyday trash writer like jeffery low :laugh:
OreoCookies
24-09-2003, 11:42 PM
Originally posted by KongJiaoWei
its by martin samuel, awward winning journalist, not ur everyday trash writer like jeffery low :laugh:
:laugh:
Jeff Low is okay lah... Improved quite a bit since moving over to ST from TNP... ;)
KongJiaoWei
24-09-2003, 11:45 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Jeff Low is okay lah... Improved quite a bit since moving over to ST from TNP... ;)
haha true think he wrote a touching article on the slapping incident http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/sports/story/0,4386,211186,00.html?
so when is wenger slapping keown?:laugh:
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 01:11 AM
Arsenal 6, United 2
;)
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 02:01 AM
Manchester United have released the following statement regarding the FA's charges of improper conduct for Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo:
“We have received the details of the charges from the FA and we are currently reviewing them internally with our lawyers, the manager and the players involved. Until that review is completed, the Club will be making no further comment.”
edhorizon
25-09-2003, 03:05 AM
Arsenal 6, United 2
;)
ccloh
25-09-2003, 09:07 AM
dont think arsenal will ever change after this round of punishment. it is the mental problem that arsene wenger has imparted to his players that cause this type of behaviour. to get rid of the problem, kill the main cause. SACK ARSENE WENGER and BAN him from entering england soil :D
ralliart_ray
25-09-2003, 09:11 AM
Originally posted by ccloh
dont think arsenal will ever change after this round of punishment. it is the mental problem that arsene wenger has imparted to his players that cause this type of behaviour. to get rid of the problem, kill the main cause. SACK ARSENE WENGER and BAN him from entering england soil :D
cruel leh :laugh:
Alienz
25-09-2003, 09:12 AM
Agree......... AW is the main problem for Arsenal bad behaviour.....
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:31 AM
agree, like wat i say...he is the onw who created a denial state of meantality in his players.....
Why is Giggs and Ronaldo been charged as well?:mad:
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Why is Giggs and Ronaldo been charged as well?:mad:
giggs and ronaldo wre involed in the incident....but not very serious think at most 1match ban or fine....;)
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:39 AM
The FA are also writing to manager Arsene Wenger asking for his comments about a Sky TV interview in which he implied United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy was ‘a cheat’.
hope that will stop his MOANING!!!! :mad:
giggs and ronaldo wre involed in the incident....but not very serious think at most 1match ban or fine....;)
Nah, they were both just protecting Ruud,a fine will do but I hope is not a ban. :(
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:42 AM
RYAN GIGGS
CHARGED with improper conduct over his involvement in a confrontation with Lauren after the match had ended.
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003440814,00.jpg
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003440815,00.jpg
CRISTIANO RONALDO
CHARGED with improper conduct for confronting Martin Keown at the conclusion of the match.
StormTrooper
25-09-2003, 10:54 AM
The FA are also writing to manager Arsene Wenger asking for his comments about a Sky TV interview in which he implied United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy was ‘a cheat’.
hope that will stop his MOANING!!!! :mad:
i also blame the reporter. she put the question "did you think he was a cheat?".......knowing aw, he had to say yes. :rolleyes:
so the media also plays a part in the war of words.
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
i also blame the reporter. she put the question "did you think he was a cheat?".......knowing aw, he had to say yes. :rolleyes:
so the media also plays a part in the war of words.
if someone who has a clear mind....he will not say that....i think even if the reporter didnt ask....he will say it himself....
StormTrooper
25-09-2003, 10:59 AM
if someone who has a clear mind....he will not say that....i think even if the reporter didnt ask....he will say it himself....
but the reporter did ask in a way that is trying to get the kind of response the media wants to print. no controvesy, nothing to print liao. :cool:
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 11:02 AM
but the reporter did ask in a way that is trying to get the kind of response the media wants to print. no controvesy, nothing to print liao. :cool:
well, he can respone by saying no...vieira is right to be sent off it's his second yellow.....
or jus replied 'i didnt see it'......;)
i think the media oso ask him abt the diving incident by pires.....but he didnt say anything right?.....so he is clear on wat he wan to say....;)
StormTrooper
25-09-2003, 11:05 AM
well, he can respone by saying no...vieira is right to be sent off it's his second yellow.....
or jus replied 'i didnt see it'......;)
i think the media oso ask him abt the diving incident by pires.....but he didnt say anything right?.....so he is clear on wat he wan to say....;)
then let him say what he wants......we just get on with our football :cool:
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 11:08 AM
then let him say what he wants......we just get on with our football :cool:
and he get on w his WWF and MAXTRIX.....;)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=7948061
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 11:23 AM
Originally posted by RVN
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=7948061
Invalid attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the webmaster
Hmm, well, should be valid now. ;)
yenyenpark
25-09-2003, 12:26 PM
so... Man U vs Leicester this weekend hur???
viera brought himself into tat kind of situation... can't really blame ref... although should it be a yellow card or not is very subjective... ;)
Arsenal 6, United 2
;)
UNITED 6, ARSENAL 1
2001 Premier League vs Arsenal
http://www.manutdzone.com/greatgames/greatgame22.html
:laugh: :) :cool:
ccloh
25-09-2003, 01:27 PM
dont think giggs and ronaldo will get any more serious punishment than the arsenal gangs. afterall they are not the initiator to those uncalled for behaviour.
suspension and fines wont get into arsene wenger and co head. should dock their pt and make them remember that and wont repeat again.
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 01:30 PM
dont think giggs and ronaldo will get any more serious punishment than the arsenal gangs. afterall they are not the initiator to those uncalled for behaviour.
suspension and fines wont get into arsene wenger and co head. should dock their pt and make them remember that and wont repeat again.
okie lah...but they did earn their draw so dock pt abit unfair....so bo pian...hope that the FA chief will say all no personal hearing.....all suspend at the same match.....then they surely *pengz*.....;)
edhorizon
25-09-2003, 01:36 PM
okie lah...but they did earn their draw so dock pt abit unfair....so bo pian...hope that the FA chief will say all no personal hearing.....all suspend at the same match.....then they surely *pengz*.....;)
sure will have personal hearing one.
suspend all same match maybe.. but chances i dun tink high...
cause some player drag abit here some end faster so all dun serve their suspension together.
dun tink deduct pt possible as they mentioned refrain from deduct pts again.
yulee
25-09-2003, 01:48 PM
New T-Shirt designs for ManU fans! :laugh:
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/16303.jpg
Furious Manchester United will launch a vigorous defence of under-fire duo Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo.
The pair were both charged by the Football Association today for their part in Sunday's Old Trafford fracas which overshadowed the 0-0 draw with Arsenal.
While some may argue United have been treated leniently compared to the Gunners, who have six players facing a possible total 21-match ban, club officials do not believe any of their players has a case to answer.
They have already notified their intention to take legal advice and will also involve manager Sir Alex Ferguson in discussions before determining what action to take next.
Like the Arsenal players, Giggs and Ronaldo have 14 days in which to respond to the charges, which both allege improper conduct, in Giggs' case for `a confrontation with Lauren after the final whistle', in Ronaldo's for `confronting Martin Keown at the conclusion of the match'.
In addition, England international Phil Neville has been warned about his future conduct.
"We have received the details of the charges from the FA and we are currently reviewing them internally with out lawyers, the manager and the players involved," said a United statement.
"Until that review is completed, the club will be making no further comment."
Ironically, Giggs finds himself in the dock just 24 hours after branding Arsenal skipper Patrick Vieira `stupid' for getting himself sent off in the incident which sparked all the trouble.
The Welshman believes referee Steve Bennett had little alternative other than to brandish the red card after Vieira aimed a kick at van Nistelrooy even though he did not touch the Dutchman.
It was van Nistelrooy's dramatic reaction to that incident, then his injury-time penalty miss, which led to Arsenal's over-the-top reaction to their 0-0 draw, which Giggs admitted will completely overshadow the game.
"It is a shame that over the next week or so, no-one will be talking about the game, just what happened at the end," he told MUTV.
"Obviously there is a rivalry between the teams but there is respect between the players as well because of what both sides have achieved.
"Unfortunately, no matter how much skill was on show, people will only focus on the last 10 minutes."
Neither Giggs nor Ronaldo is looking at the lengthy bans which could be imposed on Lauren and Martin Keown, who are facing six charges between them, but Ferguson will be eager to ensure both men escape penalty and do not worsen a growing injury crisis.
United today confirmed that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is facing three months on the sidelines after having surgery to correct articular cartilage damage in his right knee.
The Norwegian struggled with the injury throughout pre-season and, following the pattern of last season, Ferguson decided to send him for surgery in the hope he would be back in action for the second half of the campaign.
"We've adopted the same policy as last season, where anything that needs to be done this early we get it done," Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News.
"It is a blow for us and now the transfer window has closed, there is nothing I can do about it.
"But I do feel we have a good enough squad to cope. We have alternatives like Ronaldo, Diego Forlan and Darren Fletcher. We'll just get on with it."
Ferguson is already without Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson, who dislocated his shoulder at Newcastle last month, while Paul Scholes is taking tentative steps towards his comeback with a return to training this week.
How the England star comes through his exertions will determine whether he makes the Champions League trip to Stuttgart next week.
If there is no reaction, Scholes will fly to Germany as United look to build on their encouraging 5-0 win over Panathinaikos.
The alternative is a third operation on the problem area, which would rule the 29-year-old out for two months, a period including England's vital Euro 2004 qualifier with Turkey in Istanbul.
"He has done some training this week but if he feels it again we are going to have to make a decision," said Ferguson.
"There would be no point in him carrying on, but if he comes through, then we'll get him into the team right away.
"We have Stuttgart coming along and it would be a great time for him to come back."
Yellowfin
25-09-2003, 01:52 PM
Originally posted by yulee
New T-Shirt designs for ManU fans! :laugh:
I just ponder, if 1 Utd fan wear the Wenger T-shirt and then meet another Arsenal fan that wear Ruud T-shirt.
Will they start to argue or fight over it. :D
RuMmYtUb
25-09-2003, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
I just ponder, if 1 Utd fan wear the Wenger T-shirt and then meet another Arsenal fan that wear Ruud T-shirt.
Will they start to argue or fight over it. :D
most prob
edhorizon
25-09-2003, 02:33 PM
they will just stare at each other then laugh it off la.
with they fight then must be some childish kids liao.
yulee
25-09-2003, 02:42 PM
One more for the ManU fans! :laugh:
http://www.football365shop.com/store/images/dm.gif
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
demon_
25-09-2003, 04:06 PM
:laugh: L
ccloh
25-09-2003, 04:55 PM
i definitely want to see that. wait till their whole 1st choice defence and 1/2 of 1st choice midfield kanna suspend and played against wolves, making henry central defender with berkemp and pires as left back. kanna thrashs by wolves 5-0, arsene wenger did a GH thing on the touchline :laugh: :laugh:
Wes Brown has told ManUtd.com he is on course for a return to first team football by the New Year.
Wes has been sidelined since the final day of last season when he injured his cruciate knee ligament against Everton on the day United lifted the title.
The treatment table has played an all-too-prominent part in Wes’ career to date. But despite the latest in a string of injury set-backs, Wes remains upbeat.
”The recovery is going fine,” he told ManUtd.com. “I’ve starting running now, which is a good sign. We’re just looking at it on a day-by-day basis. If I have a good day then I can maybe push myself a little more the next. But everything seems to be going well at the moment.”
With training going according to plan, Brown maintains the target of a New Year comeback is very much a possibility.
Wes told us: ”We’ve always said late December to early January, and realistically that is still the case. That still seems like a long way off. But like I said, if it goes well, you never know. Up to now, though, I think I’m on course.”
Last season Wes looked as if he had finally gotten over the injuries that starved United of his presence as a promising youngster. Thrown back in the deep end against West Ham mid-November having played only an hour’s reserve team football following a broken ankle, Wes won a regular place. The Manchester-born defender made 33 starts in United’s remaining 41 games, and it looked as though Wes had turned the corner.
But in the 33rd of those starts, bad luck struck again. An innocuous challenge just before half-time left Wes facing up to another spell on the sidelines. However, on that day, the memories are of winning the title, not of the injury.
Ice-pack ditched, crutches dangling from his arms, Wes joined in the “We’ve got our trophy back” sing-a-long, jumping up and down – the completely opposite demeanour of someone who’d been dealt such a devastatingly blow.
Wes recalled with a grin: ”I’d already done it by then so it didn’t cause any further damage - and I wasn’t going to let that stop me from celebrating winning the title! You can walk on it still, but it just needs replacing basically. There was no way I was going to miss out though.”
And it's that same team spirit that spurs Wes on through the day-to-day grind of rehabilitating his knee. ”I can have a good laugh with all the lads in the changing rooms in the morning, everyone is still the same towards me.”
And at least only momentarily, Wes can busy himself with substituting first team football for the terraces.
”Sometimes it’s hard watching from the stands but I’m still there as a fan, cheering the team on. I still go and support the lads.”
Come the New Year, however, and Wes will be intent on trading back the terrace chants for a permanent place in United’s back four.
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:34 PM
i definitely want to see that. wait till their whole 1st choice defence and 1/2 of 1st choice midfield kanna suspend and played against wolves, making henry central defender with berkemp and pires as left back. kanna thrashs by wolves 5-0, arsene wenger did a GH thing on the touchline :laugh: :laugh:
that's bad.....:laugh:
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:34 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Wes Brown has told ManUtd.com he is on course for a return to first team football by the New Year.
Wes has been sidelined since the final day of last season when he injured his cruciate knee ligament against Everton on the day United lifted the title.
The treatment table has played an all-too-prominent part in Wes’ career to date. But despite the latest in a string of injury set-backs, Wes remains upbeat.
”The recovery is going fine,” he told ManUtd.com. “I’ve starting running now, which is a good sign. We’re just looking at it on a day-by-day basis. If I have a good day then I can maybe push myself a little more the next. But everything seems to be going well at the moment.”
With training going according to plan, Brown maintains the target of a New Year comeback is very much a possibility.
Wes told us: ”We’ve always said late December to early January, and realistically that is still the case. That still seems like a long way off. But like I said, if it goes well, you never know. Up to now, though, I think I’m on course.”
Last season Wes looked as if he had finally gotten over the injuries that starved United of his presence as a promising youngster. Thrown back in the deep end against West Ham mid-November having played only an hour’s reserve team football following a broken ankle, Wes won a regular place. The Manchester-born defender made 33 starts in United’s remaining 41 games, and it looked as though Wes had turned the corner.
But in the 33rd of those starts, bad luck struck again. An innocuous challenge just before half-time left Wes facing up to another spell on the sidelines. However, on that day, the memories are of winning the title, not of the injury.
Ice-pack ditched, crutches dangling from his arms, Wes joined in the “We’ve got our trophy back” sing-a-long, jumping up and down – the completely opposite demeanour of someone who’d been dealt such a devastatingly blow.
Wes recalled with a grin: ”I’d already done it by then so it didn’t cause any further damage - and I wasn’t going to let that stop me from celebrating winning the title! You can walk on it still, but it just needs replacing basically. There was no way I was going to miss out though.”
And it's that same team spirit that spurs Wes on through the day-to-day grind of rehabilitating his knee. ”I can have a good laugh with all the lads in the changing rooms in the morning, everyone is still the same towards me.”
And at least only momentarily, Wes can busy himself with substituting first team football for the terraces.
”Sometimes it’s hard watching from the stands but I’m still there as a fan, cheering the team on. I still go and support the lads.”
Come the New Year, however, and Wes will be intent on trading back the terrace chants for a permanent place in United’s back four.
haiz....he so injuring prone...when will he settle down....hope he get well soon...;)
guoquanyap
25-09-2003, 10:40 PM
a mircale happen today!! somebody say sorry for THE FIRST TIME!! ( maybe in his lifetime ) go check it out....;)
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=278411&cc=5739
Doesnt really sound like a sincere apology though.
More like he is cos Hill-Wood told him to before FA ban Arsenal for being so unrepentant!! Prob tellin gthe guys in the changing room, 'now i am gonna hafta say something but ill temporize as much as possible and basically make it look as if i am not sorry while saying i am...........and next time punch them properly!! :rolleyes:
demon_
26-09-2003, 03:22 AM
his "i'm sorry" sounds like some1 pointing gun @ his head like tat.... :pissed:
edhorizon
26-09-2003, 04:20 AM
Originally posted by demon_
his "i'm sorry" sounds like some1 pointing gun @ his head like tat.... :pissed:
think he is somehow pressurize to make tat statement.
ccloh
26-09-2003, 08:56 AM
u cant expect ppl like arense wenger to apologise unconditionally even though the fault lies in him. else the sun will rise from the west and set from the east liao.
edhorizon
26-09-2003, 10:39 AM
u cant expect ppl like arense wenger to apologise unconditionally even though the fault lies in him. else the sun will rise from the west and set from the east liao. :laugh:
guoquanyap
26-09-2003, 11:01 AM
u cant expect ppl like arense wenger to apologise unconditionally even though the fault lies in him. else the sun will rise from the west and set from the east liao.
:eek: ;)
guoquanyap
26-09-2003, 11:02 AM
nv offend the media man....think the media dun like him liao...he going to hav a hard time in the future.....;)
RuMmYtUb
26-09-2003, 11:36 AM
Tmr away to Leicester.... hopefully we can get 3 points to erase disappointments of last wk's draw
edhorizon
26-09-2003, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Tmr away to Leicester.... hopefully we can get 3 points to erase disappointments of last wk's draw
i tink 3 pts should be easy.
guoquanyap
26-09-2003, 12:07 PM
maybe can win by 2 goals....;)
edhorizon
26-09-2003, 12:07 PM
maybe can win by 2 goals....;)
overcome the AH most importantly.
NanDesKa
26-09-2003, 01:23 PM
u cant expect ppl like arense wenger to apologise unconditionally even though the fault lies in him. else the sun will rise from the west and set from the east liao. :laugh:
ccloh
26-09-2003, 01:28 PM
they thrashed leeds 4-0 remember. better not take them so easy.
all i wish is RVN find the net perhaps scored from penalty to regain his confident. also forlan to net his 1st epl goal :)
swordy84
26-09-2003, 01:42 PM
Yeah, never underestimate the opposition team, anything can happen in football. Anyway I think United should be able to grab 3 points if they do their best.
Fergie will play a strong side. I think this could be the line-up
Howard
G Neville Rio Silvestre O'Shea
Ronaldo Keane Butt Giggs
Forlan Ruud
Subs: Carroll, Phil Neville, Eric Djemba x2, Fletcher, Fortune, Bellion
Leicester work ethic is every good, we have to be our guard but 3 points should be coming our way,our record against city away is quite good off recent times. I predict a 2-0 win for us. :)
Yellowfin
26-09-2003, 02:34 PM
Keane might not be playing in this game. I think SAF want to play Keane only on important game.
Originally posted by Yellowfin
Keane might not be playing in this game. I think SAF want to play Keane only on important game.
Ah well, maybe either Eric or Phil will replace him then.
guoquanyap
26-09-2003, 03:07 PM
they thrashed leeds 4-0 remember. better not take them so easy.
all i wish is RVN find the net perhaps scored from penalty to regain his confident. also forlan to net his 1st epl goal :)
anyone keep replaying the penalty miss by ruud during the arsenal match?
when he go up and place the ball, he is damn nervous....hope he gain back his confident asap......;)
Yellowfin
26-09-2003, 03:36 PM
US billionaire up his stake on Man Utd shares.
Malcolm Glazer, owner of the Super Bowl champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers, has upped his stake in Manchester United to just over three percent, the soccer club says.
Unquote.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/030926/325/e9h0s.html
Leicester on Saturday is a whole new proposition to Arsenal last weekend.
While victory on Saturday would be likely to invoke the kind of celebrations that Arsenal chose to flaunt after the 0-0 draw with United at Old Trafford, these are the bread and butter Premiership fixtures that United must win.
Rio said ahead of the game: “These are the sort of matches where we are expected to go there and win, and hopefully we won’t disappoint,” Rio told ManUtd.com.
”If you don’t win these games, you’re not going to win the league. Whether it’s Arsenal, Liverpool or Leicester, you’ve got to win all your matches. That’s the way you have got to look at it, you have to win every game."
It may have come direct from the Footballer’s Guide to Clichés, but that must be United’s attitude going into these games.
Leicester are not Real Madrid or AC Milan. They’re not Arsenal or Chelsea. But you get the same number of league points for beating Leicester as you do for defeating the Gunners.
It’s always dangerous to go into games expecting to win, but anything other than victory at the Walkers Stadium simply won’t do.
Micky Adams will have his jumble sale squad ready for this game, mentally and physically. United are unlikely to face a fitter side in the Premiership this season.
The spirit, determination and fitness instilled by Martin O’Neill, scrapped by Peter Taylor and then regained current boss Adams are the Midlanders’ biggest assets.
United, with only four points in the last three games, need to get back on the winning trail. Chelsea and Arsenal are likely to steamroller through the next few months, and United, like the experienced long-distance runner need to stay poised in the wings.
Fergie’s side have five matches – Leicester, Brimingham, Leeds, Fulham and Portsmouth – before Liverpool and Chelsea, two tougher nuts to crack, come in quick succession in November. 15 points are attainable in those five matches, and Ferguson knows the importance of winning games in the time Chelsea face Arsenal, where points will inevitably be dropped by one major rival.
It will be the first time United have played in the new 32500 Walkers Stadium, but the Reds’ record over Leicester in recent seasons is exemplary. United have won their last eight against the Foxes scoring 20 goals.
United will obviously be without Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (knee) Scholes (hernia) and long-term injury victim Wes Brown (knee). But the likes of Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba and Tim Howard may use this game to further integrate themselves into the United side – all three are likely to play at least some part, and it wouldn’t be surprising if the manager started the trio.
Adams was without Gerry Taggart (calf), Craig Hignett (hamstring), Keith Gillespie (ankle), Matt Elliott (foot), Ben Thatcher (flu), Les Ferdinand (knee), Callum Davidson (abdominal), Alan Rogers (suspended), Matthew Jones (back) and Marcus Bent (cup-tied) for the visit of Crewe Alexandra on Tuesday night.
Adams informed Leicester City's website: “James Scowcroft remains doubtful for the game, while Alan Rogers comes back from suspension which is good news. Ben Thatcher missed the cup game against Crewe but has trained leading up to the weekend. I am going to leave it until the last minute before kick off to make my assessment on him. Paul Dickov has had a heavy cold but looks fine while Marcus Bent returns after being cup-tied."
Leicester boss Adams is determined to start racking up the points. He said: "Whatever team I put out there I expect them to give it there best. But sooner rather than later we have got to start putting points on the board."
“The Premiership champions are coming to our stadium and it should be a magnificent occasion. There is not a spare seat in the house to be bought. But that is what we strove so hard for last season – to play in games like this," Adams added.
What Leicester lack in skill, they make up for in effort. So, what United have in ability, they will have to match in determination.
Probable teams:
United: Howard; G Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O’Shea; Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba, Butt (or Phil Neville), Fortune, Giggs, van Nistelrooy.
Leicester: City: Walker; Curtis, Sinclair, Taggart, Thatcher; Hignett, Nalis, Izzet, Scowcroft; Bent, Dickov.
ccloh
26-09-2003, 05:53 PM
kind of worry who will score the goal given that scholes and ole are both out.
edhorizon
26-09-2003, 06:12 PM
kind of worry who will score the goal given that scholes and ole are both out.
have trust in him
RVN
StormTrooper
26-09-2003, 06:12 PM
rvn will be more hungry than ever........
Ch3tah_39
26-09-2003, 07:33 PM
Rvn starting season alwez abit prob la..
last season also like this, later on, he keep scoring again lerrr...
so no sweat man, gonna trust ruud man..:D
spykid
26-09-2003, 09:02 PM
sorry guys...
i still cannot forget sunday's incident... i juz want to say arsenal and it's players are a pile of smelly rubbish... behaving like a pile of bloody barbarians... esp f*cking martin keown and lauren... see liao also bui song KNN... F*ck off lah arsenal! PUI!!!
As somebody mentioned before, long live manchester united... long live ruud van nistelrooy, ryan giggs and cristiano ronaldo... You all did nothing wrong and always have my die-hard support...
lastly 3 points against leicester would be nice! :)
Paul Scholes has been called into Manchester United's squad after recovering from his hernia problem.
The England midfielder had feared he may need surgery on a hernia problem but he came through training this week without any problems and manager Sir Alex Ferguson is happy to include him again.
He said: "He came through training this week. He's not suffered any reaction. He is a player we cannot replay and it is no risk to play him."
Kleberson (dislocated shoulder) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (knee) are still absent however.
Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, P Neville, Silvestre, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Scholes, Fortune, Butt, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Fletcher, Richardson.
NanDesKa
27-09-2003, 12:05 AM
go man utd!! :bounce:
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 12:10 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
Rvn starting season alwez abit prob la..
last season also like this, later on, he keep scoring again lerrr...
so no sweat man, gonna trust ruud man..:D
yeah...no sweat....;)
OreoCookies
27-09-2003, 01:43 AM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson insists he is not taking a risk by playing Paul Scholes against Leicester at the Walkers Stadium.
The England midfielder returns to the United squad for the first time since the end of August after coming through a week's intensive training without any reaction from his long-standing hernia problem.
Ferguson believed Scholes aggravated the injury on international duty against Croatia at the start of the season and there were fears that the 29-year-old would be forced to have a third operation on the injury, which could have kept him out for two months.
However, the decision to delay surgery has proved to be the correct one, with Scholes now fit enough to regain his place as one of the most important members of the Red Devils' line-up.
"There is no risk," confirmed Ferguson.
"We couldn't afford to do that anyway because it might have put him out of the game for even longer.
"If he had not come through this week's training, the subject of the operation would have had to come up again.
"But he has trained hard all week, is ready for the game and will bring us some freshness."
However, Kleberson (dislocated shoulder) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (knee) are still absent for the Red Devils.
Leicester boss Micky Adams, meanwhile, is hoping Paul Dickov will recover from flu in time to face United.
Alan Rogers returns from suspension but Brian Deane, Craig Hignett and Keith Gillespie are sidelined by injuries.
Adams will make late selection decisions on James Scowcroft, who has been troubled by a hip injury, and Ben Thatcher, who has also been affected by flu.
Marcus Bent is set to renew his promising partnership with Dickov after being cup-tied for the Carling Cup win over Crewe, and the loan signing from Ipswich hopes his new side can spring a surprise.
He said: "We're always going to be the underdogs against teams like this but hopefully we can get a surprise win."
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Let's hope for a comfortable victory to erase the memory of last weekend's fracas... ;)
derrace
27-09-2003, 01:44 AM
so scholes playing?
anyway, I hope they win BIG...
a hatrick for rvn to "Vent his anger".
ahahha..
and hope the blind, arrogant and dirty ah seng's team lose to Newcastle.
RuMmYtUb
27-09-2003, 02:09 AM
I hope we get a penalty and RVN will convert it...
Really need to see him get back to his penalty taking swagger..
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 02:36 AM
Originally posted by derrace
so scholes playing?
anyway, I hope they win BIG...
a hatrick for rvn to "Vent his anger".
ahahha..
and hope the blind, arrogant and dirty ah seng's team lose to Newcastle.
maybe not playing....let's not risk him....;)
Alienz
27-09-2003, 02:54 AM
Yeah I don't think is good to risk him
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 03:02 AM
`He will take the next penalty - and he will score,' Ferguson predicted.
RuMmYtUb
27-09-2003, 04:05 AM
I think most of the Man Utd supporters share the same sentiments that RVN will be back!
:bounce:
edhorizon
27-09-2003, 09:45 AM
I think most of the Man Utd supporters share the same sentiments that RVN will be back!
he shall score not only from the penalty spot but also from open play.
Ch3tah_39
27-09-2003, 10:06 AM
he shall score not only from the penalty spot but also from open play.
yeah correct...:D
edhorizon
27-09-2003, 10:12 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
yeah correct...:D
hattrick?
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 11:19 AM
hattrick?
4 goals call wat? :D
ccloh
27-09-2003, 02:07 PM
arsenal got a narrow win over newcastle so utd must win in order to get up.
go utd show them that we not only can behave properly and also win any game any time we like :D
arsenal got a narrow win over newcastle so utd must win in order to get up.
go utd show them that we not only can behave properly and also win any game any time we like :D
wish it ended 2-2 until jenas conceded that late penalty. :( Heard they have 4 players injured in that match, orbi good. :laugh:
Oh we need 3 points against leicester tonight. :)
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by RVN
wish it ended 2-2 until jenas conceded that late penalty. :( Heard they have 4 players injured in that match, orbi good. :laugh:
Oh we need 3 points against leicester tonight. :)
they are going to kana suspend anyway....:rolleyes:
NanDesKa
27-09-2003, 03:08 PM
FORMER Manchester United star Denis Irwin has branded Arsene Wenger's defence of his Arsenal players "an insult to people's intelligence" following their Old Trafford mayhem.
And United boss Sir Alex Ferguson yesterday insisted if anyone had a right to be aggrieved at the end of Sunday's ill-tempered 0-0 draw it was his side, not Arsenal's vengeful players.
Irwin was involved in the infamous 21-man fight at Old Trafford in 1990 which saw Arsenal docked two points and United one after one of the ugliest on-field brawls in English football history.
And the former United full-back was astounded at Wenger's decision to blame everybody else but his players for their disgraceful behaviour at the final whistle last Sunday.
"What Arsene Wenger said was an insult to people's intelligence," said Irwin. "Martin Keown, Ray Parlour and Lauren should be banned for three to four games each, no question.
"And the other Arsenal players who were involved should get big fines.
"Manchester United and Arsenal are the two best teams in the country and the match was played in front of a worldwide audience. When something like that happens, the Football Association has got to be seen to be doing something about it.
"Arsenal overstepped the mark with their reaction to Ruud van Nistelrooy's initial challenge on Patrick Vieira. And while a manager looks to protect his players, you can end up over-protecting them.
"There should have been a statement from the Arsenal camp straight away, admitting that their players had over-reacted."
While Irwin launched a furious attack on Arsenal and Wenger's conduct, Fergie was determined to keep his counsel before United view FA videos of Sunday's ill-tempered end to the game.
The FA have compiled 31 different videotape angles of the fracas and, while United are expected to mount a vigorous defence of Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo, they will view the tapes before going public with their decision.
Senior United figures are known to be stunned with the charges levelled at Giggs and Ronaldo, and are also said to be "amazed" that more Arsenal players had not found themselves in the dock. "That situation will take care of itself once we see the videos from the FA," said Fergie. "We expect them to arrive on Monday or Tuesday, then we'll see what happens.
"Obviously, as I said after the game, we welcome the FA investigation. It's important the FA investigate what happened, because no-one can have enjoyed watching what went on.
"But it's not my job to talk about Arsenal's disciplinary record. I can only defend Ruud van Nistelrooy, whose behaviour in getting out of the way at the final whistle was incredible. And if anyone had a right to be disappointed at the outcome of the game, it was us. We missed a penalty in injury time and felt we should have won.
"So we were the ones entitled to feel disappointed at the end, but we made sure we didn't show it. That's why I believe my players behaved so well."
Van Nistelrooy's penalty miss against Arsenal was his third in succession but Fergie insisted there was no way the Dutchman would be relieved of spot-kick duties.
The Dutchman banged in 18 successive penalties before his two misses against Arsenal and one against Bolton. But Fergie has backed his leading striker to score from the spot if United win a penalty during this afternoon's trip to Leicester.
"Ruud will continue taking the penalties and he'll definitely score the next one," said Fergie. "He smacked it so hard against the bar last Sunday, which at least showed he wasn't suffering from nerves. I'd far rather that than he try to roll it softly into one of the corners."
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer out for three months following knee surgery, Ronaldo is likely to feature again on the right of midfield today, with Paul Scholes returning in the centre after a month out.
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by RVN
FORMER Manchester United star Denis Irwin has branded Arsene Wenger's defence of his Arsenal players "an insult to people's intelligence" following their Old Trafford mayhem.
And United boss Sir Alex Ferguson yesterday insisted if anyone had a right to be aggrieved at the end of Sunday's ill-tempered 0-0 draw it was his side, not Arsenal's vengeful players.
Irwin was involved in the infamous 21-man fight at Old Trafford in 1990 which saw Arsenal docked two points and United one after one of the ugliest on-field brawls in English football history.
And the former United full-back was astounded at Wenger's decision to blame everybody else but his players for their disgraceful behaviour at the final whistle last Sunday.
"What Arsene Wenger said was an insult to people's intelligence," said Irwin. "Martin Keown, Ray Parlour and Lauren should be banned for three to four games each, no question.
"And the other Arsenal players who were involved should get big fines.
"Manchester United and Arsenal are the two best teams in the country and the match was played in front of a worldwide audience. When something like that happens, the Football Association has got to be seen to be doing something about it.
"Arsenal overstepped the mark with their reaction to Ruud van Nistelrooy's initial challenge on Patrick Vieira. And while a manager looks to protect his players, you can end up over-protecting them.
"There should have been a statement from the Arsenal camp straight away, admitting that their players had over-reacted."
While Irwin launched a furious attack on Arsenal and Wenger's conduct, Fergie was determined to keep his counsel before United view FA videos of Sunday's ill-tempered end to the game.
The FA have compiled 31 different videotape angles of the fracas and, while United are expected to mount a vigorous defence of Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo, they will view the tapes before going public with their decision.
Senior United figures are known to be stunned with the charges levelled at Giggs and Ronaldo, and are also said to be "amazed" that more Arsenal players had not found themselves in the dock. "That situation will take care of itself once we see the videos from the FA," said Fergie. "We expect them to arrive on Monday or Tuesday, then we'll see what happens.
"Obviously, as I said after the game, we welcome the FA investigation. It's important the FA investigate what happened, because no-one can have enjoyed watching what went on.
"But it's not my job to talk about Arsenal's disciplinary record. I can only defend Ruud van Nistelrooy, whose behaviour in getting out of the way at the final whistle was incredible. And if anyone had a right to be disappointed at the outcome of the game, it was us. We missed a penalty in injury time and felt we should have won.
"So we were the ones entitled to feel disappointed at the end, but we made sure we didn't show it. That's why I believe my players behaved so well."
Van Nistelrooy's penalty miss against Arsenal was his third in succession but Fergie insisted there was no way the Dutchman would be relieved of spot-kick duties.
The Dutchman banged in 18 successive penalties before his two misses against Arsenal and one against Bolton. But Fergie has backed his leading striker to score from the spot if United win a penalty during this afternoon's trip to Leicester.
"Ruud will continue taking the penalties and he'll definitely score the next one," said Fergie. "He smacked it so hard against the bar last Sunday, which at least showed he wasn't suffering from nerves. I'd far rather that than he try to roll it softly into one of the corners."
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer out for three months following knee surgery, Ronaldo is likely to feature again on the right of midfield today, with Paul Scholes returning in the centre after a month out.
the legend speaks.....;)
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 06:10 PM
leslielai
27-09-2003, 06:19 PM
Aye brudders, the age limit for Devil's Bar is 21?
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 06:43 PM
Originally posted by leslielai
Aye brudders, the age limit for Devil's Bar is 21?
should be...anyway devil's bar dun hav gd reputation....;)
leslielai
27-09-2003, 06:51 PM
Then any nice places you'd recommend to watch live games? Age limit is important of course.
I'm only 18 :(
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 06:54 PM
Then any nice places you'd recommend to watch live games? Age limit is important of course.
I'm only 18 :(
jus jio some friends then go to a pub lor.....chimes, bugis area etc....
or better still, subscribe scv....;)
leslielai
27-09-2003, 06:57 PM
I have SCV actually. :D
Just wanna get out and watch a game LIVE somewhere. hehe.
Any particular ones you'd recommend?
ccloh
27-09-2003, 08:30 PM
as usual for me, listen to BBC for the match :(
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 08:38 PM
as usual for me, listen to BBC for the match :(
ur area still cannot hav scv huh? go pub or kopitiam watch lah....;)
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 08:39 PM
I have SCV actually. :D
Just wanna get out and watch a game LIVE somewhere. hehe.
Any particular ones you'd recommend?
u go chimjes lor...u know rite? or try bugis, there is one pub call casears....along the small alley....jus order 1 jug of beer and enjoy the penunt and beer.....;)
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 11:00 PM
HaiL Ruud and scholes!! :bounce:
guoquanyap
27-09-2003, 11:09 PM
Hail RuuD!!!
RuMmYtUb
28-09-2003, 12:08 AM
Hail RuuD!!!
Happy to see him grab a hattrick, best way to answer critics!
Scholes play, MU wins !
Fletcher had a gd game at the right, disappointed at Forlan's displays though.... haiz when can he ever get his goal....
ccloh
28-09-2003, 12:26 AM
look like utd cant do w/o scholes. great to see RVN finds the net not once but thrice :D
derrace
28-09-2003, 01:33 AM
kudos to Man Utd and RVN.
haha, a hattrick just like I predicted...
go Man U go!
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 02:00 AM
look like utd cant do w/o scholes. great to see RVN finds the net not once but thrice :D
scholes is the catalyst of the team.....;) not forgetting captain keano who seem as fit as ever......
swordy84
28-09-2003, 02:26 AM
Yeah... Scholes proves to be very important to United. He can make a big difference to the team. Well.. he was involved in the first two goals and was outstanding as usual. Also nice to see Keane score one and ... not forgetting RVN scoring a hattrick. I believe it has been a bad week for him so at least this is something for him to be happy about. :)
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 02:46 AM
Originally posted by swordy84
Yeah... Scholes proves to be very important to United. He can make a big difference to the team. Well.. he was involved in the first two goals and was outstanding as usual. Also nice to see Keane score one and ... not forgetting RVN scoring a hattrick. I believe it has been a bad week for him so at least this is something for him to be happy about. :)
when he scored the first goal...he was damn happy....:laugh:
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 02:57 AM
very bad defending fr set-pieces....all the 3 goals conceeded were header.....shearer header.....beattie header...today sinlar hearder.....:mad:
got to work on this area....we still show some very sloppy defending......
genesis113
28-09-2003, 03:26 AM
very bad defending fr set-pieces....all the 3 goals conceeded were header.....shearer header.....beattie header...today sinlar hearder.....:mad:
Yeah,
we are weak in handling the aerial balls.
and O'Shea looked shaky and slow to react in the central defence role. He played badly as well in this position during the US tour.
However, Ferdinand now getting better. But still lack of accuracies in coping the aerial.
Good to see Scholes' return, his creativity is what United needed. His return makes Ruud and Giggs play more comfortable in attack.
It is right time for Ruud to get his hatrick.
It's not an easy game but really a good win for United.
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 03:42 AM
Aimar....:love:
darrenlee78
28-09-2003, 04:21 AM
when are they showing the match again?
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 04:27 AM
going to face leeds away for th eleague cup....tricky match.....:bounce:
cracker
28-09-2003, 10:06 AM
why do the nevilles celebrate the goals by pushing or shoving Ruud ?????
Yellowfin
28-09-2003, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by cracker
Do make a statement. :D
Yellowfin
28-09-2003, 10:21 AM
I feel that Fortune have a very good game last nite. I think he will be one of the regular if he continue to play like this.
Defence against cross and corner are the weak point for the present defender. Hope they get it sort out before Dec.
ccloh
28-09-2003, 11:28 AM
try to emulate what arsenal players did to him mah. :D
darrenlee78
28-09-2003, 12:33 PM
try to emulate what arsenal players did to him mah. :D
train him so that he will be tougher against challenges by thugs.
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 12:57 PM
yalor then he go on to hug him until so tight....:o
going to face leeds away for th eleague cup....tricky match.....:bounce:
hopefully we win, will we put a strong side or a reserve side again.
Next match against Stuttgart away in CL, going to be tough, they are top of the bundesliga and still haven't conceded a goal after 7 matches. :eek:
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Next match against Stuttgart away in CL, going to be tough, they are top of the bundesliga and still haven't conceded a goal after 7 matches. :eek:
will scv show this match live? cos channel 5 is shoving arsenal match.....anyone know? :confused:
RuMmYtUb
28-09-2003, 01:53 PM
Even the newpaper already highlighted Howard is not gd @ handling crosses coming into his box..
cracker
28-09-2003, 02:04 PM
will scv show this match live? cos channel 5 is shoving arsenal match.....anyone know? :confused:
it will be live !
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 02:06 PM
it will be live !
scv will show live?? really?
I think he is refering to the arsenal match shown live on ch 5. :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 02:11 PM
it will be live !
which match u refering to? ManU match? or arsenal match?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39387000/jpg/_39387234_keane_emp.jpg
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39387000/jpg/_39387264_ruud_celebget.jpg
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson hailed Ruud van Nistelrooy's hat-trick against Leicester as the mark of a world-class striker rather than someone with a point to prove.
Van Nistelrooy was at the centre of the storm between Man Utd and Arsenal but the Dutch striker let his football do the talking in the 4-1 demolition of Leicester at the Walkers Stadium.
And Ferguson dismissed the notion that Van Nistelrooy's heroics were linked to the events at Old Tafford last Sunday.
"I don't think the previous week's episode was any kind of motivation for Ruud," Ferguson told MUTV.
"His motivation has always been that he is a world-class footballer who loves scoring."
Roy Keane was United's other scorer, while Frank Sinclair headed a late consolation goal for the home side.
But Ferguson was delighted with his team's performance as a whole.
"I think today's performance was probably one of the best of the season. The movement and passing was outstanding," he said.
"We also defended well. We had watched Leicester on video and knew they would be a threat from set-pieces and crosses if we did not defend well and for 80 minutes we did that.
"I am very pleased that Roy Keane got on the scoresheet. I was astonished when someone told me it was 41 games since he last scored."
The Reds boss was also encouraged by the return of Paul Scholes, after a month sidelined by a hernia problem.
"It is important that other players score for us and Paul Scholes was back in the side and is always someone likely to get on the scoresheet," said Ferguson.
"That hopefully will not place such a burden on Ruud to always score."
Leicester manager Micky Adams was disappointed with his side's poor defending as they lost at home for the first time since Boxing Day.
He said: "We talked about concentrating at all times against this mob. If you don't, they punish you - and we were punished.
"Scholes caused problems. If you defend deep then he will find little pockets to play in and he showed what a world class player he is.
"I think this was also the first time that United have not had two games in a week and they had time to prepare, get the episode at Old Trafford out of their mind and get on with football.
"I felt that there might be some kind of backlash - and that's the way to do it."
NanDesKa
28-09-2003, 09:55 PM
great to see van the man scoring again.
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 10:31 PM
tues CL will be tough away to VfB Stuttgart, currently Bundesliga league leader who hav not conceed any goal in 7 matches!!
Gd opponnet to play against with.....looking forward....;)
guoquanyap
28-09-2003, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
great to see van the man scoring again.
and captain keano first goal since 41matches......:)
OreoCookies
28-09-2003, 10:57 PM
tues CL will be tough away to VfB Stuttgart, currently Bundesliga league leader who hav not conceed any goal in 7 matches!!
Gd opponnet to play against with.....looking forward....;)
Rangers managed to beat them 2-1 at Ibrox... :)
I mean, we may not be playing them at Old Trafford, but if the players can perform well, then there's every chance that we can come away from it with the full three points... :D
RuMmYtUb
28-09-2003, 11:54 PM
I think we can get 3 points from Germany, though through some hardwork
cal127
29-09-2003, 02:45 AM
me thinks there will lots of defensive play in struttgart, but with the boys track record in CL, i have confidence we will win. did any who watch the leicester game? i missed it and onli saw it in the news but i think RVN was excellent in that game. hope thats a new start for him
StormTrooper
29-09-2003, 07:44 AM
german teams are tough to play against, no matter which german team. but i'm confident they'll just nick it.
ccloh
29-09-2003, 09:03 AM
the CL match got live on ch5 or not ???
edhorizon
29-09-2003, 10:53 AM
Germany 1-5 England?
will it be the same for CL? :D
guoquanyap
29-09-2003, 11:06 AM
the CL match got live on ch5 or not ???
no they are showing REal match.....:(
guoquanyap
29-09-2003, 11:07 AM
Germany 1-5 England?
will it be the same for CL? :D
:D
Geforce3
29-09-2003, 11:16 AM
Even the newpaper already highlighted Howard is not gd @ handling crosses coming into his box.. other than the beatie one i dun think he has gone up and flapped :D the rest of them were purely bad marking :D
guoquanyap
29-09-2003, 11:40 AM
Originally posted by Geforce3
other than the beatie one i dun think he has gone up and flapped :D the rest of them were purely bad marking :D
against charlton he came out to catch a cross but in the end crash w Rio and injured himself.....lucky Di canio missed or else he kana blast again :angel:
guoquanyap
29-09-2003, 11:59 AM
Leicester's Frank Sinclair said: "He showed what he was good at against Arsenal and I didn't see him do a lot wrong. I've no experience of him trying to wind me up and I think he's quite a gentleman.
"I admire the way he has kept his cool. He's not said anything about it and has been the total professional. From what I saw he looked like the victim in a major incident."
;)
RuMmYtUb
29-09-2003, 04:17 PM
up Next, away to germany vs Stuggart... You all think Man Utd can knick 3 points away !?
Hope so, but it will be hard to break stuttgart defence down, hopefully Scholes play like what he did on Sat and ripped their defence apart. ;)
Kiwi8
29-09-2003, 04:32 PM
Hey guys.... for away games dun ask so much. As long as u win your home games and draw your away games, u'll still be top of the table!
edhorizon
29-09-2003, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Hey guys.... for away games dun ask so much. As long as u win your home games and draw your away games, u'll still be top of the table!
for a club like man utd, nothing but a 3pts will satisfy the fans.
I feel we are depending a lot on Ruud though, seem like he is the one finding the net most of the time for us though.
In these days when teams like Chelsea have a choice of Crespo, Mutu, Hasselbaink and Gudjonsen upfront it reminds of the days when we had Cole, Yorke, Teddy and Ole all as potential first-choice strikers we arguably had the strongest bench in football. These days, we are a long way off that. :(
We only have Ruud as a proven goal-scorer, Ole, (hes injured but can be count upon), Forlan (took ages to score for us) and Bellion (still not ready for first-team action). We could do with another quality striker. :(
edhorizon
29-09-2003, 04:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I feel we are depending a lot on Ruud though, seem like he is the one finding the net most of the time for us though.
In these days when teams like Chelsea have a choice of Crespo, Mutu, Hasselbaink and Gudjonsen upfront it reminds of the days when we had Cole, Yorke, Teddy and Ole all as potential first-choice strikers we arguably had the strongest bench in football. These days, we are a long way off that. :(
We only have Ruud as a proven goal-scorer, Ole, (hes injured but can be count upon), Forlan (took ages to score for us) and Bellion (still not ready for first-team action). We could do with another quality striker. :(
i agree. is just like owen for liverpool and henry for arsenal. then the clubs w/o them out due to suspension or injuries does play a factor for the championship.
some will argue that football is 11 players but how many clubs really w/o 1-3 can really stay on top?
Kiwi8
29-09-2003, 04:52 PM
for a club like man utd, nothing but a 3pts will satisfy the fans.
That will only be for fair weather fans.
For true fans, even if the club loses but displays good football, they'll still applaude their team.
For Champions League, as long as they finish top, I'm sure no one will mind how they got there. :bounce:
ccloh
29-09-2003, 04:52 PM
well if u want to play lone striker and a hole behind the striker, the main contribution of goals have to come from the lone striker. however scholes did pretty well in the hole not only creating chances for RVN but also managed to drop some bombs in. we can see that w/o scholes playing, the goals like very dry and whenever scholes plays, u can expect a high scoring game.
actually the nice thing abt utd or rather abt united since the 1st day i supported them is that almost any1 of the player can score a goal that is why it takes ages for any single player to score more than 30 goals per season since brian mcclair did that for utd. not even andy cole, mark huge, dwright yorke, eric cantona can reach that mark. well RVN can :D
guoquanyap
29-09-2003, 04:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN
we try to bring in some strikers during the pre-season but it dun work out so we hav to make do w wat we hav now.....and i feel we are doing jus fine.....;)
edhorizon
29-09-2003, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
That will only be for fair weather fans.
For true fans, even if the club loses but displays good football, they'll still applaude their team.
For Champions League, as long as they finish top, I'm sure no one will mind how they got there. :bounce:
lose but good performace will kanna applaude but all fans rather their fav clubs win right...
i suppose the club also rather win all the matches as win matches = $$ in CL
darrenlee78
29-09-2003, 06:11 PM
we try to bring in some strikers during the pre-season but it dun work out so we hav to make do w wat we hav now.....and i feel we are doing jus fine.....;)
but another good striker and we would be complete:D
guoquanyap
29-09-2003, 06:51 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=165566&cpid=5&title=Fergie+pinpoints+danger+man
Manchester United will show they are still a financial force to be reckoned with, despite David Beckham's move to Real Madrid and Chelsea's new found wealth, when they unveil their annual results on Tuesday.
The English Premier League champions, who sold Beckham to Real in June for around £25 million, are expected to announce a healthy rise in profits and turnover for the year to July 31.
'They will be an excellent set of results,' said one analyst.
'This is a football club with a ground that's complete, a squad that continues to grow and deliver and there is no debt... that puts them head and shoulders above all the others.'
The club, boosted by last season's league success, a quarter-final finish in the Champions League and their staging of the final at Old Trafford, is forecast to make pre-tax profits of around £43 million, according to analysts.
The figure, which compares to £33 million last year, also includes some of the profit from the Beckham sale.
Analysts were unconcerned about the impact of Beckham's departure on the club's future brand value. The England captain's iconic global status had been a key factor in selling the United brand, especially in areas such as Asia, where both the club and player have an immense following.
But United have always insisted that no player is bigger than the club and the likely confirmation that negotiations have begun over a new improved deal with sponsors Vodafone would add weight to this.
Their current £30-million, four-year deal with the mobile phone giant expires in June next year.
'The future looks good post-Beckham. Another star will emerge - it happened with George Best, Bobby Charlton and Denis Law. Everybody comes, they go and another one replaces them,' said another analyst.
'He was quite big and he's a loss but there'll be another star.'
The departure of Beckham as well as Argentine midfielder Juan Sebastian Veron and the retirement of Laurent Blanc will also have brought down the wage bill, the overriding expense for most soccer clubs.
David Gill, who earlier this month replaced Peter Kenyon as chief executive after Kenyon jumped ship to join the wealthy ranks of Chelsea, is likely to be quizzed once more over the endless takeover speculation surrounding United.
SOARING SHAREPRICE
United's shares have soared this year as investors upped their stakes in the club, while speculation has been rife that another billionaire like Chelsea's Roman Abramovic is set to come in.
Since Russian oil-tycoon Abramovic bought Chelsea in July and subsequently spent over £110 million on new players, many believe it is only a matter of time before another top club falls prey to a rich backer.
United, worth around £500 million on the stock market, have dismissed reports of approaches from Russia, Europe and the Middle East, but there is no doubt that one of the most popular and successful clubs in the world would be an attractive proposition.
Irish racehorse magnates John Paul McManus and John Magnier, close associates of manager Alex Ferguson, hold the biggest stake in United through their Cubic Expression company with 11.4 per cent.
Other high-profile investors include Dutch media tycoon John de Mol, who is behind the "Big Brother" reality television series, and Malcolm Glazier, owner of Super Bowl champions Tampa Bay Buccaneers.
MANCHESTER United want to improve their goal back-up for ace marksman Ruud van Nistelrooy.
Captain Roy Keane showed the way at Leicester City by opening the scoring at the Walkers Stadium and giving hat-trick hero van Nistelrooy the platform to run riot.
The Dutchman's seven Premiership strikes this term have accounted for over half of the champions' goals.
Keane's first league goal since January 2002 made him only the fourth United player, along with Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and John O'Shea, other than van Nistelrooy to bag a Premiership goal so far.
But Reds' boss Sir Alex Ferguson could still add to the firepower in the January transfer window.
United have been linked again with West Ham's Jermain Defoe. A possible £12m fee is being reported as the sum that will secure his services, but the England Under-21 star will then be loaned back to the First division club until the end of the season.
However, with Defoe not playing European football he would still be eligible for United's Champions League campaign if they get through their opening group.
It would seem unlikely for the Reds to shell out such a huge amount and then not have him available for the Euro push.
In the meantime, Keane and Ryan Giggs are hoping they'll aid van Nistelrooy.
"It has been a while since I scored," says the United captain.
"It is nice to score and I probably should get a little bit more goals. But we have enough players getting forward and I do sit a bit in midfield.
"I think when Phil Neville or Nicky Butt play I seem to get forward a bit more. But usually it is me and Scholesy and he's the one that gets forward. It works well for us.
"However, my goal contribution is something I have been disappointed with. But the priority is for the team to get victories and win trophies, and we have been doing that over the years.
"Ruud, though, did what he does best and that is putting the ball in the back of the net. It was good for him. He's got his match ball signed and it was well deserved."
Ryan Giggs scored a couple in the opening Premiership match of the season against Bolton but hasn't been on the scoresheet since.
"You can't just rely on the likes of Ruud all the players have to contribute," he says.
"Ruud came in at half-time thinking he could have had a couple more. He was a bit disappointed. You just have to put the ball in the right place and Ruud will finish them off."
Fergie thought his quartet of `big' stars gave United the push for victory at the Walkers Stadium.
"It was a fantastic performance by us particularly in the first hour before we started making changes," he said.
"Our big players were fantastic today Keane, Scholes, Giggs and van Nistelrooy. I think it was some of the best football we'd played this season at times."
RuMmYtUb
30-09-2003, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Agreed.... Forlan is still :rolleyes: , Bellion is not getting games and not proven, Ole is injured.... Ronaldo more of a winger..... Dammit i think we need a striker..
Actually Gudjohnsen will be gd since he's surplus to requirements :evil:
Btw when's the next opening of the transfer window ?
RuMmYtUb
30-09-2003, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by darrenlee78
but another good striker and we would be complete:D
And a solid right back ?
trax06
30-09-2003, 12:59 AM
When will Kleberson be ok ??
be along time since we saw him.
guoquanyap
30-09-2003, 01:46 AM
Originally posted by trax06
When will Kleberson be ok ??
be along time since we saw him.
abt 4wk-6wk.....
RuMmYtUb
30-09-2003, 03:22 AM
Hope he dun become another south american flop...
think Man Utd no luck with south americans... :(
ccloh
30-09-2003, 08:59 AM
Hope he dun become another south american flop...
think Man Utd no luck with south americans... :(
give him some time. we all kn how physical the english games required and south american in general dont play physical game. furthermore the language will be also another factor for them to adapte to the game.
NanDesKa
30-09-2003, 11:42 AM
tot man utd bringing in defoe?
hurhur
leslielai
30-09-2003, 11:59 AM
Bring in a top class, proven attacker lah. :rolleyes:
edhorizon
30-09-2003, 12:04 PM
ya. agree that defoe maybe for the future but not for at least this 2 seasons.
Alienz
30-09-2003, 01:43 PM
Barthez targeted by PSG
PSG president Francis Graille is keen to bring the French World Cup winner to Paris, although he concedes Barthez would have to accept a cut in salary.
Source (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3150874.stm)
edhorizon
30-09-2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by Alienz
Barthez targeted by PSG
PSG president Francis Graille is keen to bring the French World Cup winner to Paris, although he concedes Barthez would have to accept a cut in salary.
Source (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3150874.stm)
hope man utd can reclaim sme $$ back.
extort more cash from then just like they did with us for Ronaldinho. :mad:
edhorizon
30-09-2003, 01:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN
extort more cash from then just like they did with us for Ronaldinho. :mad:
25 millions.
But I still say keep him though just for cover, what happen if Howard got injured, still good to have extra cover.
edhorizon
30-09-2003, 02:01 PM
Originally posted by RVN
But I still say keep him though just for cover, what happen if Howard got injured, still good to have extra cover.
Sir Alex Ferguson know whats best.
ALEX FERGUSON’S transfer kitty will be given a massive boost today — paving the way for a renewed £12million bid for West Ham’s Jermain Defoe.
Manchester United are set to announce record pre-tax profits of around £38m, up 10 per cent on last year. The news will aid Fergie’s plans to add to his side’s firepower in January.
And his cash pool could be bolstered further after Paris St Germain revealed they are interested in keeper Fabien Barthez.
Ferguson is a long-time admirer of England Under-21 striker Defoe and is anxious to bring in back-up for the prolific Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The fact Defoe will be eligible to play in the latter stages of the Champions League has helped push the youngster to the top of Ferguson’s shopping list.
The Hammers striker, 20, has made an explosive start to the season, matching Van Nistelrooy’s return of seven goals.
United’s reliance on Dutch star Van Nistelrooy has increased since the recent injury to Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.
Paris St Germain hardly endeared themselves to United in the summer when they allowed Ronaldinho to join Barcelona ahead of Old Trafford. But chief executive Peter Kenyon has since quit United for Chelsea — and PSG say the clubs can now do business.
President Francis Graille said: “It’s true we have made contact over Barthez. It would be fantastic to have a world champion back at PSG.
“There are a lot of things to be sorted out before it can happen. Salaries in the Premiership are much higher than in our top division.”
Barthez, 32, will be glad of a move having lost his first-team place to American signing Tim Howard.
French national coach Jacques Santini recently warned Barthez his place was in jeopardy if he did not play regularly. Santini said: “Fabien is asking himself questions just like I am. Perhaps Ferguson has a strategy but I don’t know what it is.
“They are like a couple going through a divorce. Fabien must not spend six months in the reserves.”
Luke Chadwick has a new look — and hopes he can join United’s Premiership campaign next season after impressing on loan at Burnley.
Turf Moor boss Stan Ternent revealed: “The blond bombshell — that’s what Sir Alex calls him. He’s rung me up and said he thinks he’s had some colour put in there.”
Meanwhile, defender Mikael Silvestre has been passed fit for tomorrow’s Champions League clash with vfb Stuttgart after recovering from a knee problem.
Ferguson said: “Mikael was able to train with us yesterday.”
Mikael Silvestre is set to return in Manchester United's Champions League clash in Stuttgart on Wednesday, so Darren Fletcher should drop out.
Silvestre is expected to return from a knee injury sustained in the Arsenal game as United face a tough test in the Gottlieb-Daimler Stadion in Germany.
The France international defender missed Saturday's 4-1 Premiership win at Leicester but looks set to partner Rio Ferdinand again, with John O'Shea moving across to the left-back berth.
Sir Alex Ferguson, looking to maintain the momentum gained by the 5-0 win over Panathinaikos, said: "Mikael was able to train with us on Tuesday and was running so he should be fit."
Fletcher should therefore step down for the clash with the Bundesliga leaders with Quinton Fortune (who played at left-back against the Foxes), Nicky Butt, Eric Djemba-Djemba and Cristiano Ronaldo all in contention for a starting place.
Fabien Barthez has flown out with the squad despite speculation linking him with a move to Paris Saint-Germain.
The French keeper has been frozen out of the first-team so far this season and has not even appeared on the bench as Tim Howard has held off the challenge of Roy Carroll to his starting place.
Long-term casualties Kleberson (dislocated shoulder), Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (knee) and Wes Brown (knee) are all still missing.
Manchester United (from): Howard, Carroll, Barthez, G Neville, P Neville, Silvestre, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Fortune, Butt, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Scholes, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Fletcher, Richardson, Bellion.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39395000/jpg/_39395590_ferguson203.jpg
Sir Alex Ferguson has opened talks with Manchester United over an extension to his current contract.
The 61-year-old is contracted to stay at Old Trafford until the end of next season having reneged on his decision to retire in 2002.
And on Tuesday, United chief executive David Gill revealed the club were keen to agree fresh terms with Ferguson.
Gill said: "We would like Sir Alex to continue and Sir Alex would like to continue so we are holding discussions and I'm sure they will come to a positive conclusion."
Ferguson has won eight league titles and the 1999 European Cup during his time at the club.
United's announcement over fresh contract negotiations came on the day they revealed profits of £39.3m, a 22% rise.
guoquanyap
30-09-2003, 08:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39395000/jpg/_39395590_ferguson203.jpg
Sir Alex Ferguson has opened talks with Manchester United over an extension to his current contract.
The 61-year-old is contracted to stay at Old Trafford until the end of next season having reneged on his decision to retire in 2002.
And on Tuesday, United chief executive David Gill revealed the club were keen to agree fresh terms with Ferguson.
Gill said: "We would like Sir Alex to continue and Sir Alex would like to continue so we are holding discussions and I'm sure they will come to a positive conclusion."
Ferguson has won eight league titles and the 1999 European Cup during his time at the club.
United's announcement over fresh contract negotiations came on the day they revealed profits of £39.3m, a 22% rise.
lets him stay in ManU for life.....;)
guoquanyap
30-09-2003, 08:30 PM
Van Nistelrooy thanks teammates
MANCHESTER, England, Sept 30 (Reuters) - Ruud van Nistelrooy has thanked his Manchester United teammates for helping him recover from his penalty miss against Arsenal at Old Trafford.
The Dutch striker bounced back from the injury-time miss in the goalless draw on September 21 to score his fifth premier league hat-trick in United's 4-1 win at Leicester City on Saturday.
'The players reacted so fantastically after Arsenal, after the penalty miss,' Van Nistelrooy told MUTV. 'I was so disappointed in the dressing room. Of course everyone was, but me especially.
'They were brilliant and helped me to get over it and move on, which I did, and it was great to see as a team that we were so good (at Leicester).'
The Old Trafford match ended in a brawl, which led to the Football Association charging six Arsenal and two United players with misconduct.
Van Nistelrooy said the spirit in the United dressing room helped the players cope with the constant attention on the English champions.
'It's not only last week, it's been there all the time. As a United player you are always in the spotlight.
'As a team we are as well, but we are all there for each other and we all try to help each other. We can trust each other, that's the most important thing, and you can see that.'
Van Nistelrooy has missed three spot-kicks this season -- against Bolton Wanderers in the league as well as another against Arsenal in the Community Shield -- but remains joint top scorer in the premier league with seven goals and will continue to take United's penalties.
'It's been good so far. Obviously the penalties, which everyone knows about, haven't been going the way I wanted.
'I haven't been hitting them as well as I did before. But the next time there is another chance for me to show what I can do, and I'm looking forward to that.'
United now turn their attention back to the Champions League with Van Nistelrooy looking for a second Group E win in Stuttgart on Wednesday to further hopes of making a serious attempt to repeat their 1999 tournament success.
'It's a great competition. We've been to the semi-final two years ago and then to the quarter-final last year and we are very motivated and very focused on this year's Champions League because we all want to do well because it's a big stage,' he said.
http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/ruud0927_lg.jpg
leslielai
30-09-2003, 08:30 PM
He can stay for as long as he wants!
guoquanyap
30-09-2003, 08:38 PM
DEfoe really that gd? seem like fergie has chase him for a long time liao.....
ALEX FERGUSON’S transfer kitty has been given a massive boost — paving the way for a renewed £12million bid for West Ham’s Jermain Defoe.
£12m is quite expensive though, he is a good striker well lets see what happen come Janaury but we also pay the same amount for Ronaldo.
NanDesKa
30-09-2003, 08:54 PM
Bring in a top class, proven attacker lah. :rolleyes: like who?
kluivert?
i think man utd shud bring in morientes..
i reckon as one of the good strikers arnd but not given the chance.
leslielai
30-09-2003, 08:59 PM
like who?
kluivert?
That's one great option.
My prediction of the line-up for Stuttgart game. ;)
Howard
G Neville Rio Silvestre O'Shea
Ronaldo Keane Butt Giggs
Scholes
Ruud
Subs: Carroll, P Neville, Eric Djemba Djemba, Fletcher, Fortune, Forlan, Bellion
guoquanyap
30-09-2003, 09:04 PM
like who?
kluivert?
i will say morientes doesnt really go well w Ruud, he oso like ruud a goal poacher.....
we need someone w pace and can play along side w Ruud and create chances for him....
i will say morientes doesnt really go well w Ruud, he oso like ruud a goal poacher.....
we need someone w pace and can play along side w Ruud and create chances for him....
Defoe, Eto'o etc.
RuMmYtUb
30-09-2003, 10:30 PM
Actually do u guys think Kanoute gd enuff ? If u wanna talk about pace and i reckon he's got bags of skills
NanDesKa
30-09-2003, 10:51 PM
we need someone w pace and can play along side w Ruud and create chances for him.... we have got lotsa pace mah..
giggs, bellion, ronaldo..
i suppose two goal poachers would do well..
southampton have done quite well with beattie and philips eh?
both not very well known for pace but more of goal scoring..
hur hur.
NanDesKa
30-09-2003, 10:53 PM
Actually do u guys think Kanoute gd enuff ? If u wanna talk about pace and i reckon he's got bags of skills i guess he is proven premiership quality..
but europe still remains to be seen..
:P
whereas morientes have played in europe and primera liga now playing in french first division..
though not proven in epl, i believe he is good enuf for it.. =p
RuMmYtUb
30-09-2003, 11:15 PM
i guess he is proven premiership quality..
but europe still remains to be seen..
:P
whereas morientes have played in europe and primera liga now playing in french first division..
though not proven in epl, i believe he is good enuf for it.. =p
Morientes cfm a no-no, his wages will be :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
edhorizon
30-09-2003, 11:53 PM
del piero or Nedved is enough.. RVN be lone striker also can.
NanDesKa
01-10-2003, 12:40 AM
Morientes cfm a no-no, his wages will be :rolleyes: :rolleyes: very high mehz?
i doubt so.
NanDesKa
01-10-2003, 12:40 AM
del piero or Nedved is enough.. RVN be lone striker also can. yar..
but their transfer fees will be astronomical..
cal127
01-10-2003, 01:03 AM
I highly rate Nadved as the one who can help us win the CL but I seriously doubt Juventus will sell him for any price. Even so there's chelsea looming somewhere ready to highjack :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
01-10-2003, 01:31 AM
Originally posted by cal127
I highly rate Nadved as the one who can help us win the CL but I seriously doubt Juventus will sell him for any price. Even so there's chelsea looming somewhere ready to highjack :rolleyes:
Nedved is too old...:bounce: :bounce:
NanDesKa
01-10-2003, 01:32 AM
Nedved is too old...:bounce: :bounce: yar..
30 already
ccloh
01-10-2003, 09:02 AM
Nedved is too old...:bounce: :bounce:
sherringham also old when he helped utd to win the treble remember.
edhorizon
01-10-2003, 10:06 AM
yar..
but their transfer fees will be astronomical..
but man utd can afford.
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 10:40 AM
wah i love Nedved, he's a world class performer and look @ Juve, he was a more than adequate replacement for Zidane... Nedved is one who can shoot and has bags of skills n flair.... but too bad i dun think Fergie would want him becoz he's already 30...
Fergie is looking to building a whole new empire with the likes of Ronaldo, Djemba, Kleberson etc...
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 10:41 AM
very high mehz?
i doubt so.
Not high oso no use, he's already banging in the goals @ Monaco... ;)
NanDesKa
01-10-2003, 11:02 AM
Not high oso no use, he's already banging in the goals @ Monaco... ;) he's only on loan.
man utd can still buy..
hur hur..
though he cannot play in europe.
edhorizon
01-10-2003, 11:06 AM
dun tink his wages is tat high.
PSG also say tat french league salary cannot compare to EPL liao.
but i think he want 1st team football in a respectable club tats all. provided the salary also not bad la.
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 11:25 AM
he's only on loan.
man utd can still buy..
hur hur..
though he cannot play in europe.
ya i noe he's on loan, tat's why i think Fergie will not get a player who can't play in Europe
edhorizon
01-10-2003, 12:14 PM
ya i noe he's on loan, tat's why i think Fergie will not get a player who can't play in Europe
but i still think defoe not good enough for man utd.
darrenlee78
01-10-2003, 12:21 PM
but man utd can afford.
the are a PL lehz... have to justify etc etc
edhorizon
01-10-2003, 12:35 PM
Originally posted by darrenlee78
the are a PL lehz... have to justify etc etc
can afford and buy is 2 different thing.
if sir alex ferguson really want them, u think man utd can't afford?
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 12:44 PM
But i think at least he's got a better touch than Bellion..
edhorizon
01-10-2003, 12:59 PM
But i think at least he's got a better touch than Bellion..
i think should let bellion come out more often like when we are leading comfortably.
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 01:10 PM
i think should let bellion come out more often like when we are leading comfortably.
Ya if not he's an unearthed potential..
ccloh
01-10-2003, 01:17 PM
the few matches apart from his 1st debut in US tour, he didn't quite impress me ley. maybe he will have to play in the reserve for this whole b4 can making any impact.
wah i love Nedved, he's a world class performer and look @ Juve, he was a more than adequate replacement for Zidane... Nedved is one who can shoot and has bags of skills n flair.... but too bad i dun think Fergie would want him becoz he's already 30...
Fergie is looking to building a whole new empire with the likes of Ronaldo, Djemba, Kleberson etc...
Fletcher, Bellion and Howard also. We will reward Fletcher with a new contract. :)
United reward Fletcher
DARREN Fletcher is to be rewarded with a new long-term Manchester United contract.
The 19-year-old Scotsman has become an established member of Sir Alex Ferguson's senior squad in the last year and the Reds are tying up the loose ends of a new deal.
The Edinburgh-born midfielder will sign up within the next week to cap an impressive spell which saw him win the first Premiership start of his career at Leicester City last weekend.
Fletcher, who was on European duty with United today as the Reds flew to Germany to face Stuttgart, has been in Fergie's Champions League squad for around 12 months after overcoming a couple of years of injuries.
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer out of action for three months, Ferguson is priming Fletcher for a run in the right wide berth.
(News story from www.manchesteronline.co.uk)
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=165886&cpid=8&title=Fergie+offered+new+United+deal
i rather they buy eto'o den defoe..
there is another impressive czech player..quite young oso - tomas rosicky ;)
Alienz
01-10-2003, 04:40 PM
Here's a quiz question to start your day: what does Gary Neville have in common with Raul?
No smart answers from the back. And it doesn't involve being mates with David Beckham.
View Answer (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/champions_league/3151368.stm)
edhorizon
01-10-2003, 05:21 PM
Here's a quiz question to start your day: what does Gary Neville have in common with Raul?
No smart answers from the back. And it doesn't involve being mates with David Beckham.
View Answer (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/champions_league/3151368.stm)
They have played more Champions League matches than any other players - 79 each
Raul has played 462 matches for Real Madrid, Neville 402 for Manchester United. Raul has 60 Spain caps, Neville one fewer for England.
Both men have been constants in their ever-changing club sides since their debuts, permanent fixtures in successive European campaigns that have seen lesser players dispensed with in the hunt for Champions League honours.
And both players have been class acts, albeit in very different roles.
What you might not want to hear if you're a United-hater is that, just as Raul has been the consistently the best forward in Spain in the last eight years, so Neville has been the best right-back in Britain.
That's not a personal opinion. It's the view of Terry Venables, Glenn Hoddle, Kevin Keegan, Sven-Goran Eriksson and anyone else who has been in charge of the England team since 1995.
Neville is the most-capped right back in the national side's history. And you just don't win 59 caps if you're a bad player.
Neville, like Raul up front, is a model of consistency. He does everything a coach would want him to do, week in, week out, with a minimum of fuss.
Ashley Cole might give you more going forward. But as a defender, Neville beats him on almost every count except out-and-out pace.
Then there are those characteristics that make him so disliked by fans of other clubs - his competitiveness and willingness to fight for the United cause - which perversely make him so valuable to Ferguson.
Neville might never beat three men before volleying a spectacular goal from 25 yards. Then again, Raul won't drive his team on from the back and frustrate the hell out the opposition strikers.
Appreciate them both, just as their mutual friend Beckham does.
guoquanyap
01-10-2003, 06:06 PM
defoe is a gem i supposed and maybe that's the reason why fergie is chasing him for so long.....
defoe is fast and young and pull defenders away fr him and give more spaces for Ruud.......;)
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 06:44 PM
nice ! :D
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 06:45 PM
Originally posted by wes
there is another impressive czech player..quite young oso - tomas rosicky ;)
oh yea, tat guy's great.... hope he'll be a Red Devil in the future..
RuMmYtUb
01-10-2003, 06:46 PM
defoe is a gem i supposed and maybe that's the reason why fergie is chasing him for so long.....
defoe is fast and young and pull defenders away fr him and give more spaces for Ruud.......;)
Hmm oh ya, no wonder Fergie always say he won't go wrong on choosing players :)
NanDesKa
01-10-2003, 10:59 PM
rosicky is good..
budden he went to dortmund for a then record fee if i not wrong..
dun see why they should sell him?
guoquanyap
01-10-2003, 11:57 PM
Dutch drop Ruud
RUUD van Nistelrooy has been dropped by the Dutch national side for their next Euro 2004 qualifying game on disciplinary grounds.
Holland are set to play a Group Three qualifying game against Moldova on October 11, and they’ve dropped Nistelrooy as a disciplinary measure despite the striker being in red hot form for the Reds.
The punishment meted out by national coach Dick Advocaat comes in response to Nistelrooy’s reaction after being substituted in last month’s defeat to group leaders, the Czech Republic, in Prague.
The Reds hitman spat on the ground and booted a water bottle after being withdrawn.
It is believed Nistelroooy has already apologised to Advocaat for his behaviour and will face no further punishment besides being dropped for Holland’s final group game, which is rendered largely meaningless as they are already assured of the group’s play-off spot.
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 01:45 AM
Dutch drop Ruud
RUUD van Nistelrooy has been dropped by the Dutch national side for their next Euro 2004 qualifying game on disciplinary grounds.
Holland are set to play a Group Three qualifying game against Moldova on October 11, and they’ve dropped Nistelrooy as a disciplinary measure despite the striker being in red hot form for the Reds.
The punishment meted out by national coach Dick Advocaat comes in response to Nistelrooy’s reaction after being substituted in last month’s defeat to group leaders, the Czech Republic, in Prague.
The Reds hitman spat on the ground and booted a water bottle after being withdrawn.
It is believed Nistelroooy has already apologised to Advocaat for his behaviour and will face no further punishment besides being dropped for Holland’s final group game, which is rendered largely meaningless as they are already assured of the group’s play-off spot.
Loss for Holland, gain for Utd.
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 02:05 AM
hmmm...wonder ronaldo will start today or not.....:bounce: :bounce:
Well Well...this is rare. Somebody actually speaking up for Gary.:D
The Nevilles have been serving Man Utd for a good number of years. never Complaining ..Juz getting on with their work. Sure..their not superstars. Sure..Both Gary and Phil have made some gaffers.
But I respect them for their commitment.
Good on ya..boys.
hmmm...wonder ronaldo will start today or not.....:bounce: :bounce:
Doubt so. Might come in as SUb if Man Utd goes behind or if really cannot break through defence.
The way I see it. Winning is great but more important is dun lose.
I sweating for my bet liao=p
:D :D
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 02:41 AM
Fingers crossed ~ =p :o
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 03:39 AM
look like our keano and co seem out of sort and very tired sia......:mad:
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 03:40 AM
look like our keano and co seem out of sort and very tired sia......:mad:
ronaldo too easily shackled
OKK77
02-10-2003, 03:41 AM
ronaldo too easily shackled
He loses the possession too many a times.
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 03:42 AM
Originally posted by OKK77
He loses the possession too many a times.
Inexperienced in europe :(
OKK77
02-10-2003, 03:48 AM
Inexperienced in europe :(
Man U needs another Cantona in times like these.
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 04:37 AM
Denis Law is very right, Ruud needs a strike partner!!!
Disappointing performance, Ronaldo did nothing rite too....Sad.
Forlan really CMI...:mad:
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 04:39 AM
Denis Law is very right, Ruud needs a strike partner!!!
Disappointing performance, Ronaldo did nothing rite too....Sad.
Forlan really CMI...:mad:
he's onli 18yr old, give him a break at least he run for 90mins and earn a penatly.....
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 04:42 AM
overall quite a bad performace.....no ideas, no running, no set pieces.....and worst of all, we show our naive defending in europe again.....
ONE GD THING.....rangers draw w panan.....or else they will hav 6pts....
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 04:45 AM
oh ya...Ruud converted the penalty.....:D
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 04:56 AM
Forlan need matches, if not his touches are gettin poorer
overall quite a bad performace.....no ideas, no running, no set pieces.....and worst of all, we show our naive defending in europe again.....
Bad thing is it has been like that since the start of EPL and will continue till the end of the season. 2 players who have the ideas are gone. I don't think I have to mention who they are. The rest are left to wonder what they should do with the ball......................................
Fergie brought in promising kids but it will be at least 2-3yrs b4 we could see the fruits.
Frankly, I am not betting on Man U to win any silverware this season. If CL can reach quarter finals very good liao. EPL get 2nd or 3rd is good liao. FA and WC, Err.........nevermind.
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 04:57 AM
hiaz....is black our jinx.....both times wore black both times oso lost....lost to saints now lost to sttugart......
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 05:01 AM
Originally posted by ISS
Bad thing is it has been like that since the start of EPL and will continue till the end of the season. 2 players who have the ideas are gone. I don't think I have to mention who they are. The rest are left to wonder what they should do with the ball......................................
Fergie brought in promising kids but it will be at least 2-3yrs b4 we could see the fruits.
Frankly, I am not betting on Man U to win any silverware this season. If CL can reach quarter finals very good liao. EPL get 2nd or 3rd is good liao. FA and WC, Err.........nevermind.
well, i am not as pestimistic as you.....and i think there is no pt to say who we miss watever....they fact is they are gone and they are gone.....
it's jus one of the off day and credit to suttgart who played very well.....
jus lost one match and you are saying all this thing.....:rolleyes:
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 05:04 AM
Originally posted by ISS
if they need 2-3yrs to see the fruit, and let's wait lah it's not as if we are buying succus.....
if those ppl who jus cant wait.....then go support those club who buy sucuss lah.....
:rolleyes:
trax06
02-10-2003, 05:05 AM
Whens Kleberson coming back ??
Been a long time since he played n also no news abt him.
Sigh....Typical. I praise Gary and he gives me a farked up performance.:D
Well...back to the drawing board ...SAF
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.