View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
genesis113
02-10-2003, 05:46 AM
Need time for the lads to gel.
Especially Ronaldo.
We relied too much on him, this made Germans more comfortable to defence.
Giggs should go to the left earlier.
It's too pity as Fletcher came in too late. He played well in the weekend.
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 05:56 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
hiaz....is black our jinx.....both times wore black both times oso lost....lost to saints now lost to sttugart......
Nahz, we won @ Charlton
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 06:32 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Nahz, we won @ Charlton
orh yahor....pai say pai say
edhorizon
02-10-2003, 06:32 AM
good display performance for the german team. slight luck on their side also. they happen to be in the right place in the right time and they close down our guys right from the start when their strikers also limit the passes for our defenders. they did very well to contain us. german leader, im impressed at the moment.
man utd had a poor performance. keep giving balls away, poor passing, poor run, poor defence as always nearly being threatened being score more. german through pass is good, and our defenders had a problem to intercept .. the german often counter and caught our defence by surprise and often 3-on-3 or 4-on-4 occassions .. just one of those night that man utd can't perform and opponent play well to take all the 3pts.
RVN score from the penalty spot. confidence back i suppose for the penalty spot.
ccloh
02-10-2003, 08:40 AM
not a good performance i supposed. well at least RVN succeed in this penalty.
looking at results from other grps also shocking. chelski lost to some minor and AC Milan draw. so get some comfort from there lah.
the return leg at OT will show utd true color :D
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 10:39 AM
Revenge muz be made at OT. But till den, hope we get 3 points against Birmingham next up...
ralliart_ray
02-10-2003, 10:48 AM
:(
Yellowfin
02-10-2003, 11:51 AM
Originally posted by edhorizon
good display performance for the german team. slight luck on their side also. they happen to be in the right place in the right time and they close down our guys right from the start when their strikers also limit the passes for our defenders. they did very well to contain us. german leader, im impressed at the moment.
man utd had a poor performance. keep giving balls away, poor passing, poor run, poor defence as always nearly being threatened being score more. german through pass is good, and our defenders had a problem to intercept .. the german often counter and caught our defence by surprise and often 3-on-3 or 4-on-4 occassions .. just one of those night that man utd can't perform and opponent play well to take all the 3pts.
RVN score from the penalty spot. confidence back i suppose for the penalty spot.
I think Man U didn't play defensively enough for away game.
I realise that the center of midfield seem to be dominate by sttuggart midfielders rather than Man U. A lot of the Man U players tend to cluster close to each other. :(
Anyway, only lost 1 away game. Need to win all the home game and draw 1 away game to have a chance to qualify for the next round.
yulee
02-10-2003, 11:53 AM
http://forums2.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon13.gif
edhorizon
02-10-2003, 11:59 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
I think Man U didn't play defensively enough for away game.
I realise that the center of midfield seem to be dominate by sttuggart midfielders rather than Man U. A lot of the Man U players tend to cluster close to each other. :(
Anyway, only lost 1 away game. Need to win all the home game and draw 1 away game to have a chance to qualify for the next round.
every fans rather hope to see their team win then lose.
maybe just one of the days that Sir Alex Ferguson did not have his tatics right and the players seems to be lost. Almost everyone or maybe everyone.
Every win gets a certain amt of $$, so i tink every game win will be nice though. long run to our transfer fund?
just pray that next match it can take all the 3pts.
We were poor tonight, didn't get anything going as an attacking force, the 2 quick goals conceded was awful and tim howard flapped at crosses although he saved us further blushes with the spot-kick saves, the next CL match against Rangers, we have to win. :o
Originally posted by genesis113
Need time for the lads to gel.
Especially Ronaldo.
We relied too much on him, this made Germans more comfortable to defence.
Giggs should go to the left earlier.
It's too pity as Fletcher came in too late. He played well in the weekend.
Don't be so hard on Ronaldo. Sure, he didn't play well, but he worked hard, which is more than can be said for Giggs. Hate to say it, but Keane may not have it to control against top European teams anymore. No silverware but January window should be used to strengthen for next year. We should engage a top German coach as No. 2 to Ferguson. They sure know how to defend.
Get Defoe, Aimar please, Fergie. :rolleyes:
yulee
02-10-2003, 02:21 PM
Next match against Rangers? :o
Originally posted by yulee
Next match against Rangers? :o
better win or else we will be ****ed up. :(
Sir Alex Ferguson spoke to Sky sports after the defeat to Stuttgart in Germany. This is what the boss had to say...
Poor defending
”It was a disappointing performance from our defenders. It put us on the back foot for most of the second half because of the penetration they [Stuttgart] got out of it. We looked troubled all the time. Maybe Ruud’s penalty will be a blessing for us.”
Root of the problem
”We started the second half badly. The first goal was absolutely unbelievable to my mind. Within two or three minutes they got right through again. In the first half there was never a semblance of that kind of threat, and you have to think it was a lack of concentration. It’s disappointing.”
Caught by surprise?
”You get that in Europe all the time. The sudden threat of European opponents is always there. And we didn’t guard against that as we should have done.”
Difficult to come back from 2-0 down
”When we got back to 2-1, if we had kept our patience and kept the ball we may have got something out of the game. But we just kept risking it.”
Penalty decisions
”I think there penalty was a bit dubious. The penalties perhaps cancelled out each other. I thought maybe Rio got the ball for their penalty but I’d have to see it again. Nonetheless, it was a fantastic save from Tim and, who knows, that could keep us in the competition.”
Current group situation
”The crucial games are the back to back matches against Rangers. For Stuttgart this maybe puts them in the driving seat, I don’t know.”
Getting a result in Glasgow
”We’ve got to be thinking of winning that game now.”
RuMmYtUb
02-10-2003, 03:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Don't be so hard on Ronaldo. Sure, he didn't play well, but he worked hard, which is more than can be said for Giggs. Hate to say it, but Keane may not have it to control against top European teams anymore. No silverware but January window should be used to strengthen for next year. We should engage a top German coach as No. 2 to Ferguson. They sure know how to defend.
Get Defoe, Aimar please, Fergie. :rolleyes:
Aimar? Surprised he will come.... he's as crucial to Valencia as Scholes as to us...
I doubt we can lift the CL this season...
ralliart_ray
02-10-2003, 04:19 PM
:rolleyes: its ok. I trust manU will pick up form
guoquanyap
02-10-2003, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
:rolleyes: its ok. I trust manU will pick up form
brimingham nx....tough team to play too....their defensive record is oso awsome.....
but i believe fergie and co will slience the crictics......;)
NanDesKa
02-10-2003, 10:08 PM
:rolleyes:
get morientes... :mad: :mad:
ccloh
03-10-2003, 12:25 AM
i'm sure after that poor performance, fergie will sure scream and yell at some of the players especially the defence. they would have wake up by then. who kn, maybe another boot flying around. keep a look out for the player will a bandage on the forehead. :D
RuMmYtUb
03-10-2003, 01:41 AM
Hair dryer treatment :mad: :mad:
NanDesKa
03-10-2003, 01:53 AM
wad if ronaldo come out from dressing room all his fancy white hair gone? :o
reload2003
03-10-2003, 02:38 AM
brimingham nx....tough team to play too....their defensive record is oso awsome.....
but i believe fergie and co will slience the crictics......;)
yES hE wiLL tRY...
edhorizon
03-10-2003, 07:38 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
wad if ronaldo come out from dressing room all his fancy white hair gone? :o
go dye pink color. =p
ccloh
03-10-2003, 09:03 AM
apparently, ppl are saying ronaldo a diver in the game. hope he doesn't mean it if not i dont think SAF can tolerate this type of play acting skills.
edhorizon
03-10-2003, 11:15 AM
Originally posted by ccloh
apparently, ppl are saying ronaldo a diver in the game. hope he doesn't mean it if not i dont think SAF can tolerate this type of play acting skills.
so far for me, he did not dive before.
ccloh
03-10-2003, 11:41 AM
the idea is not whether we believe it or not or saw or not. it is some joker manager whose player dive like crazy and he will remember this issue and later use it as an attack to or shield from utd.
i think we kn who the clown is.
guoquanyap
03-10-2003, 11:54 AM
the idea is not whether we believe it or not or saw or not. it is some joker manager whose player dive like crazy and he will remember this issue and later use it as an attack to or shield from utd.
i think we kn who the clown is.
i think fergie will address the problem......somehow i feel fergie is pushing ronaldo too hard and too fast.....ronaldo is already showing fatigue and tiredness.....
though i like to see him in action weeks in and weeks out.....i dun wan to see him kana burnt out......
guoquanyap
03-10-2003, 11:58 AM
I will axe you
ALEX FERGUSON has warned his sloppy defence their places are up for grabs after the Stuttgart horror show.
The Manchester United manager’s options may be limited, with Wes Brown still sidelined by a knee injury.
But he will not be afraid to switch things round if matters do not improve dramatically following the display in their 2-1 defeat in Germany.
Ferguson was unusually damning of his players after only their fourth Champions League defeat in 28 games.
Now Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, Mikael Silvestre and John O’Shea are all under close watch.
Fergie can switch things round by bringing Roy Keane back to the centre of defence and Phil Neville or Quinton Fortune into a full-back role.
He is also understood to be scouring Europe in a bid to grab another defender when the transfer window opens up in the New Year.
Keane backed his manager’s critical assessment of the team’s defensive display as the Battle of Britain clashes in Group E with leaders Rangers now take on a much greater significance.
Keane said: “We played poorly. We were sloppy in the second half and that gave them the incentive to put us on the back foot.
“They just soaked up any pressure we put on them and then hit us on the break.
“It would have been nice to have gone into the Rangers game with maximum points because we already knew that game was going to be tough.
“We need to bounce back from this now. But first we must analyse the performance because it was not good enough.”
On the night, Ruud van Nistelrooy pulled United back into the game when he converted his first penalty in four attempts.
But it was not enough and the spot-kick conversion clearly meant little to him after the game. He said: “I have no complaints about the game. We were in control and just gave the match away.
“The second-half performance lost us the game. Our defending gave them control of the game. But we just have to show this was a one-off.”
Ferguson was clearly fuming afterwards. He said: “It was terrible defending for their goals.
“If you defend like that in games of this nature you get what you deserve.”
The only bright spot was Tim Howard’s superb 72nd-minute penalty save that looked to have given United some hope.
Howard said: “It was important I saved it so we had a chance of getting at least a draw.
“But we were simply not as sharp as we can be and we all have to take the blame for that.
With Ferdinand struggling with a foot injury sustained in his clumsy challenge on Kevin Kuranyi for Stuttgart’s penalty, Fergie may have to change things this Saturday when United face Birmingham at home.
But it is understood the injury is not bad enough to keep Ferdinand out of England’s clash with Turkey tomorrow week.
Darren Fletcher had a double cause for celebration as the Manchester United midfielder signed a new contract with the club and was called up by Scotland for next week's Euro 2004 qualifier against Lithuania.
The promising 19-year-old has a new deal which will keep him at United until the end of the 2006-07 season.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson said: "This deal is in keeping with what we have been doing at the club in bringing young players through to the first-team squad, and we recognise Darren's progress and are delighted to get him on a new contract."
Fletcher's emergence helped convince Ferguson he could afford to take Real Madrid's money for David Beckham in the summer and the 19-year-old rewarded his faith with an assured performance in his full Premiership debut in the 4-1 win over Leicester last weekend.
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer out for three months after knee surgery, Fletcher is now set for an extended first team run as well as being on the verge of breaking into the Scotland side.
Yellowfin
03-10-2003, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Darren Fletcher had a double cause for celebration as the Manchester United midfielder signed a new contract with the club and was called up by Scotland for next week's Euro 2004 qualifier against Lithuania.
The promising 19-year-old has a new deal which will keep him at United until the end of the 2006-07 season.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson said: "This deal is in keeping with what we have been doing at the club in bringing young players through to the first-team squad, and we recognise Darren's progress and are delighted to get him on a new contract."
Fletcher's emergence helped convince Ferguson he could afford to take Real Madrid's money for David Beckham in the summer and the 19-year-old rewarded his faith with an assured performance in his full Premiership debut in the 4-1 win over Leicester last weekend.
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer out for three months after knee surgery, Fletcher is now set for an extended first team run as well as being on the verge of breaking into the Scotland side.
Good news. :)
I always like to see homegrown players break into the senior squad.
guoquanyap
03-10-2003, 01:10 PM
yeah....:bounce:
edhorizon
03-10-2003, 01:13 PM
i just :love: youth promote to 1st eleven.
ccloh
03-10-2003, 01:20 PM
I will axe you
ALEX FERGUSON has warned his sloppy defence their places are up for grabs after the Stuttgart horror show.
The Manchester United manager’s options may be limited, with Wes Brown still sidelined by a knee injury.
But he will not be afraid to switch things round if matters do not improve dramatically following the display in their 2-1 defeat in Germany.
Ferguson was unusually damning of his players after only their fourth Champions League defeat in 28 games.
Now Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, Mikael Silvestre and John O’Shea are all under close watch.
Fergie can switch things round by bringing Roy Keane back to the centre of defence and Phil Neville or Quinton Fortune into a full-back role.
He is also understood to be scouring Europe in a bid to grab another defender when the transfer window opens up in the New Year.
Keane backed his manager’s critical assessment of the team’s defensive display as the Battle of Britain clashes in Group E with leaders Rangers now take on a much greater significance.
Keane said: “We played poorly. We were sloppy in the second half and that gave them the incentive to put us on the back foot.
“They just soaked up any pressure we put on them and then hit us on the break.
“It would have been nice to have gone into the Rangers game with maximum points because we already knew that game was going to be tough.
“We need to bounce back from this now. But first we must analyse the performance because it was not good enough.”
On the night, Ruud van Nistelrooy pulled United back into the game when he converted his first penalty in four attempts.
But it was not enough and the spot-kick conversion clearly meant little to him after the game. He said: “I have no complaints about the game. We were in control and just gave the match away.
“The second-half performance lost us the game. Our defending gave them control of the game. But we just have to show this was a one-off.”
Ferguson was clearly fuming afterwards. He said: “It was terrible defending for their goals.
“If you defend like that in games of this nature you get what you deserve.”
The only bright spot was Tim Howard’s superb 72nd-minute penalty save that looked to have given United some hope.
Howard said: “It was important I saved it so we had a chance of getting at least a draw.
“But we were simply not as sharp as we can be and we all have to take the blame for that.
With Ferdinand struggling with a foot injury sustained in his clumsy challenge on Kevin Kuranyi for Stuttgart’s penalty, Fergie may have to change things this Saturday when United face Birmingham at home.
But it is understood the injury is not bad enough to keep Ferdinand out of England’s clash with Turkey tomorrow week.
we have phil neville and fortune eying at the left-back role but what abt the right-back role. i think we need some more players to challenge gary neville. it is not the 1st time he think he is unchallenged in that position already.
RuMmYtUb
03-10-2003, 01:21 PM
we have phil neville and fortune eying at the left-back role but what abt the right-back role. i think we need some more players to challenge gary neville. it is not the 1st time he think he is unchallenged in that position already.
Carles Puyol ! :love:
but too bad....
guoquanyap
03-10-2003, 01:22 PM
it's hard to get new players....we hav tried to get in quite a few right back during the pre-season, ajax right, puyol, marssile right back.......Eric can play right back too even though that is not his favour position....
guoquanyap
03-10-2003, 01:24 PM
Carles Puyol ! :love:
but too bad....
barca outprice him....we cant let them 'chop' us.....:angel:
DUBLIN Irish underage International defender Paul McShane made his Manchester United reserve team debut on Thursday evening in a 3-1 win over Birmingham city side that included "eight" first team players – two of them being Irish Internationals Clinton Morrison and Jeff Kenna.
McShane had a job to do on Thursday evening, that of the man marking of Trinidad & Tobago International and Birmingham City striker Stern John!
In his post match Interview, Paul was asked how his debut went, and what it was like to have the job of marking the 26-year-old Blues striker.
"I thought it {debut} went ok, Paul said
"They've {Birmingham} got quality player's and there was a load of Internationals on show tonight. He {Stern John} was a tough fella. He's got loads of ability, but then again their whole side has".
McShane progressed from United's U17 side to their youth side last season – the latter of the two being a combination of the U17's and U19's. Let's not forget that Paul will not turn 18 years of age until January next year.
And the Wicklow native now looks set to make the permanent switch up to reserve team football at United judging from his performance, and by the comment's from Mutv commentator Steve Bowyer and former Celtic and Manchester United legend Paddy Crerand.
"We're going to hear, and see a lot more from Paul McShane, I'm sure", Crerand said
Paul took his Irish U19 International bow on September 20th this year, when Sean McCaffrey's side ran out 10-1 winner's over San Marino, breaking the Irish international record for the number of goals scored in a single match.
United's next reserve game is on October 7th away to Everton and McShane will look certain to partner United youth team player Alan Tait in the centre of defence again.
Man Utd: Heaton; Lynch, Tierney, McShane, Tate; Jones, Eagles, Pugh, Timm; Nardiello, Johnson. Subs: Steele (GK), M Williams, Poole, Eckersley, Byrne.
First team also please do the same tomorrow. :)
Originally posted by wes
trabelsi...
How about Mexes..........:angel:
edhorizon
03-10-2003, 02:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN
How about Mexes..........:angel:
edhorizon? =p
lol, you want to play for United. :eek:
RuMmYtUb
03-10-2003, 03:16 PM
RuMmYtUb.... i dun mind playin for Utd...
as Ball Picker
edhorizon
03-10-2003, 04:05 PM
Originally posted by RVN
lol, you want to play for United. :eek:
:laugh:
ccloh
03-10-2003, 04:44 PM
maybe SAF is waiting for wes brown to recover to take over the right-back from gary neville.
Alienz
03-10-2003, 05:41 PM
'Diver' Ronaldo fooled referee - Keeper
Hildebrand said: "I had been told that Ronaldo had a reputation in England for diving and I have to say that after this game I can see why that is.
Source (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,691801,00.html)
beckz11
03-10-2003, 06:24 PM
haiz ronaldo dun hav physique to handlethe tough tackles in the game
Why such a big deal over this? If that had happened in the centre circle, it would have been a free-kick.
It was a foul, Ronaldo made sure the ref gave it. Every other player in England would have done the same, Hildebrand was the stupid one for tripping him when he was going away from goal!
Kuranyi was worse, he dived three feet in the air. Why didn't he get the spotlight then, the media picking on us. :rolleyes:
who said computer games were a bad influence on children? They were wrong, check this out (probably done the rounds before, but a good thing is woth seeing more than once)
http://www.btinternet.com/~dave_katy/shootthescousers.html
just for fun. :D
champman07
03-10-2003, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by Alienz
'Diver' Ronaldo fooled referee - Keeper
Hildebrand said: "I had been told that Ronaldo had a reputation in England for diving and I have to say that after this game I can see why that is.
Source (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,691801,00.html)
i agree. last time say ronaldo got tackled too much, now stugart game clear prove he goes down to easily, very very easy for that particular. what a diver cheat, so young already like that..:rolleyes:
Originally posted by champman07
i agree. last time say ronaldo got tackled too much, now stugart game clear prove he goes down to easily, very very easy for that particular. what a diver cheat, so young already like that..:rolleyes:
Hmm, Pires olympic dive was worse. :laugh:
genesis113
04-10-2003, 12:18 AM
The Stuttgart keeper did push Ronaldo from behind. Video replay showed that.
Anyway, I think nobody can dive better than Robert Pires, as he dived when no contacts at all from defenders, and he won the penalty to save Gooners'.....
Once again, poor Portsmouth.
I remember he dived with the similar fashion at the last minutes, when United and Gooners still locked with 2-2 at Highbury, luckily he was booked instead of awarded penalty, otherwise Gooners might champions at the end.
After all, Robert Pires is still the greatest and the most successful diver in the EPL so far. He will dive for the EPL championships if needed.
So the rest of EPL or Europe teams must very be careful.
Liverpool fans should worry now.
champman07
04-10-2003, 12:48 AM
tv replay show ronaldo "fall down" tooooooo easy. ;)
young cheat. might got good skills but his sportsmanship need upgrade.
You should ****in stop, I never said it was ok, but sometimes you just have to realise that it's commonplace in football nowadays. I'm not condoning it but it's a fact. It needs to be stamped out, but I find it hilarious that everyone comes rushing to point the finger at Ronaldo or whoever, when they know that they're own players have dived, or will dive. etc Pires and Jeffers
guoquanyap
04-10-2003, 01:26 AM
wes is too injuring prone....hopefully he can settle down fast to take over the right spot or worst come to worst....go get a world class right back.....
cal127
04-10-2003, 01:46 AM
All this talk bout Ronaldo diving easily coming from a Stuttgart keeper what did you actually expected him to say? That the penalty was well rewarded, out of fairness of the game? He was just playin to the tune that has already been heard back in England in light of all the diving incidents which some has managed to win matches for the team ( I won't even mention those). Don't you think the opponent will always grasp at any chance to undermine the enemy? And you my friends are either biased for obvious reasons or just simply gullible. The referee wouldn't have pointed to the spot if the keeper had just focus on the ball instead of any form of physical contact. If he had truly been aware that Ron was indeed a diver before the match, then he would also be a fool for doing what he did and saying Ron's a diver after the match.
genesis113
04-10-2003, 02:30 AM
Again typical Gooner who just can't stop eating their own word and slapping their own faces.
The whole world witnessed Robert Pires dived when pushed by no one, ooooh! maybe "ghost" pushed him from behind. :D
Otherwise I would like to say, he dived extremely, toooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo easy, this shameless dive will follow Gooners wherever they go.
:D
champman07
04-10-2003, 08:21 AM
:laugh: watch all the manu fan in denial! :laugh: pires dive pires dive. so what. now is ronaldo dive and he dived. :)
i say as EPL moves alone we can see more teams complaining about the "weak" "fragile" ronaldo antics. :eek:
Ch3tah_39
04-10-2003, 09:05 AM
:laugh: watch all the manu fan in denial! pires dive pires dive. so what. now is ronaldo dive and he dived.
i say as EPL moves alone we can see more teams complaining about the "weak" "fragile" ronaldo antics.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
hopeless guy...
ccloh
04-10-2003, 10:09 AM
:laugh: watch all the manu fan in denial! :laugh: pires dive pires dive. so what. now is ronaldo dive and he dived. :)
i say as EPL moves alone we can see more teams complaining about the "weak" "fragile" ronaldo antics. :eek:
apart from pires still got franics jeffers mate. he also another diver king. well if ronaldo really dives to earn a penalty and if that is a fact, we utd fan accepted gracefully and hope SAF did something to stop it not like some clown manager giving lot of excuses.
u want to replay the video to show whether ronaldo dive or not to further the argument ???
u can compared the video replay of ronaldo dive and pires dive to see the diff. unless u like that clown manager again deny using the media as a evident like the case his players playing gangster after the game and blasted that if not for the media, his players most probably would have got away with it.
**** you stupid gooners, trying to wind us up, get lost, you freak. :mad:
StormTrooper
04-10-2003, 12:04 PM
whatever.......you win........
OKK77
04-10-2003, 01:02 PM
Peace be with you, luser.
guoquanyap
04-10-2003, 02:08 PM
Originally posted by RVN
**** you stupid gooners, trying to wind us up, get lost, you freak. :mad:
u know he trying to wind you up and u still reply him.....jus irgnore him lah.....they hav their own pt of view ma.....
guoquanyap
04-10-2003, 02:09 PM
Anyway....Welcome home Bruce......;)
RuMmYtUb
04-10-2003, 02:43 PM
Anyway....Welcome home Bruce......;)
Warm welcome Bruce
StormTrooper
04-10-2003, 05:48 PM
fond memories.......bruce and pallister.......woot :D
guoquanyap
04-10-2003, 06:01 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
fond memories.......bruce and pallister.......woot :D
miss them badly....
derrace
04-10-2003, 07:50 PM
miss them badly....
and the recent Irwin.
derrace
04-10-2003, 07:55 PM
anyway, any predictions for tonight's game?
for me, Ruud to score again.
=p
finally I got live telecast!
yey!
guoquanyap
04-10-2003, 08:21 PM
Originally posted by derrace
anyway, any predictions for tonight's game?
for me, Ruud to score again.
=p
finally I got live telecast!
yey!
how come? jus subscride scv?
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 12:10 AM
hmmm....wat should i say....a rather pofessional win from fergie and co....scholes is the man again....and he scored a great goal too......;)
RuMmYtUb
05-10-2003, 12:11 AM
woot ~
Not a vintage performance but nonetheless saw what Fletcher could do...
RVN back his confidence in spot kicks
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 12:13 AM
woot ~
Not a vintage performance but nonetheless saw what Fletcher could do...
RVN back his confidence in spot kicks
fletcher show great vision and cross....great potenial and hopefully will see more of him in action.....:bounce: :bounce:
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 12:17 AM
oh ya....howard made a very gd save too fr Jamie Clapham....
RuMmYtUb
05-10-2003, 01:02 AM
sianz next wk international wk
kengbeng
05-10-2003, 01:12 AM
The players better not come back from international duty injured. :alien:
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 01:16 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
The players better not come back from international duty injured. :alien:
yalor....
derrace
05-10-2003, 01:37 AM
BCity was actually playing quite well...lucky for us their keeper got sent off.
don't u guys think that D.Flecther style similar to phil?
both played quite well in midfield today.
anyway, didnt see flecther shoot the whole match, but he made a few very good crosses.
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 01:41 AM
anyway, didnt see flecther shoot the whole match, but he made a few very good crosses.
ya Bcity played quite well and keano and co oso looks out of sort even w scholes around.....
haiz....though fletcher do looks gd....he is abt the same w beckham.....lacks pace.....hopefully he can quickly break into fergie first team, he looks confortable on the right......
RuMmYtUb
05-10-2003, 01:59 AM
Phil not quite gd today, tat's why got sub
edhorizon
05-10-2003, 02:31 AM
man utd win. :D
derrace
05-10-2003, 03:03 AM
man utd win. :D
erm, we all know that..
;)
flecther is sure hardworking..
good that we took 3pts considering that Arsenal won too.
derrace
05-10-2003, 03:04 AM
Phil not quite gd today, tat's why got sub
erm how come Butt didnt start?
not fully fit?
derrace
05-10-2003, 03:07 AM
ya Bcity played quite well and keano and co oso looks out of sort even w scholes around.....
haiz....though fletcher do looks gd....he is abt the same w beckham.....lacks pace.....hopefully he can quickly break into fergie first team, he looks confortable on the right......
most of Man U players were sloppy today.
but have to give credit to Bcity for defending well until the penalty.
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 03:22 AM
erm how come Butt didnt start?
not fully fit?
phil is definelty playing better than butt right now......
ccloh
05-10-2003, 12:09 PM
a win after a horrible display in the CL. impt to utd as show how they bounce back.
3 pt in the pocket and just behind arsenal by 1 pt.
kengbeng
05-10-2003, 12:20 PM
Fletcher was touted back then as the natural successor to Beckham, for those who don't know.
He's a creative player, so I don't think a comparison with Phil is correct. :)
guoquanyap
05-10-2003, 02:03 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Fletcher was touted back then as the natural successor to Beckham, for those who don't know.
He's a creative player, so I don't think a comparison with Phil is correct. :)
he was the understudy to beckham since he arrived in manu....and he show he has great vision and reading of the game......
but the same w thing beckham.....both of them lacks pace......
RuMmYtUb
05-10-2003, 02:45 PM
he was the understudy to beckham since he arrived in manu....and he show he has great vision and reading of the game......
but the same w thing beckham.....both of them lacks pace......
Newpaper today commented that Fletcher is more suitable for Man Utd style's of play for his direct and simple approach, compared to Ronaldo's nifty footwork... stating that Ronaldo doing too much stepovers...
Good win for us, must admit the sending-off was the turning point, once we scored the 2nd goal through Scholesy, the game was over. :)
IF Manchester United were going to put in their worst European display for some time, they could not have picked a better week.
Whiles the Reds' defence was crumbling in Stuttgart, and Ruud van Nistelrooy was looking like the loneliest striker on the planet, the champagne corks were still popping in London over the club's big profit hike.
With £39million finding its way into the United coffers before tax, the contrast between the performance on the field, and the performance off it, could not have been more stark.
Not that one poor showing, or even two, three or four, is enough to start panic buttons being pressed.
At this time last year that the gleeful doom merchants were doubting United's ability, with defeats at home to Bolton, and away to Leeds and Manchester City providing them with the evidence.
Comparison
But you do still get the feeling that, for all the quality, and for all the laudable attempts to lower the average age of the squad by bringing in the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Eric Djemba-Djemba, the Reds are still flying by the seat of their pants, even if they are flying higher than most.
A comparison of United's Champions League squad to that of holders AC Milan and favourites Real Madrid is telling.
Both those clubs have three goalkeepers registered in their 25-man squads, while the Reds have FIVE.
It is almost as if Fergie is making up the numbers by chucking Ben Williams and Luke Steele into his registered list of eligible players.
But it is when you look at defence and attack that the worry really starts.
United have eight defenders registered for Europe, including youngsters Mark Lynch and Paul McShane, two lads who will only play if the situation becomes desperate.
That means, with Wes Brown injured, the Reds have five front-line defenders - and that leaves no room for manoeuvre when players are making the kind of ricks that occurred in the Gottlieb-Daimler Stadion on Wednesday night.
It is true that Roy Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Quinton Fortune and Phil Neville can all do a job at the back, but only by weakening midfield.
But it is up front that there is greatest cause for concern. Reds fans continue to fear an injury to Ruud van Nistelrooy - and it is bound to happen at some time.
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer already out, United have NO other top-class front-runner to step in. Ryan Giggs is not suited to van Nistelrooy's role, Cristiano Ronaldo is inexperienced and Diego Forlan is showing few signs of significant improvement.
Again, a contrast with Continental rivals is telling.
Madrid have world-class strikers in Raul and Ronaldo, backed up by young sensation Javier Portillo, who has broken all of Raul's junior scoring records for the club.
Milan also have a pair who would grace any team in Andrei Shevchenko and Filippo Inzaghi, and as back-up they have Jon Dahl Tomasson, who has the experience of scoring the winner in a UEFA Cup final and was second top scorer in last year's World Cup.
Making any form of contrast with Chelsea these days is artificial, but they have four quality strikers in Adrian Mutu, Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, Hernan Crespo and Eidur Gudjohnsen, with promising Carlton Cole waiting in the wings.
Obstacles
The United board has already said that the £13m the club made on the sales of David Beckham and Seba Veron will be available for squad strengthening.
Improving a top-quality squad is a course strewn with obstacles - the players have to be available, and willing to come, and have to be capable of adding to the riches already adorning Old Trafford, both in terms of playing ability and attitude.
But money should not be one of those obstacles. If the player is right, and Fergie feels he will add to the mix, the boat should be pushed out.
Of course, United could use the disappointing performance in the same way as they bounced back from last season's derby defeat, with a long run of convincing displays and positive results.
That would only paper over the cracks, as did last season's magnificent title win.
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/ma...sp?story=450136 (http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=450136)
Frenchman Luis Fernandez last night emerged as the surprise front runner for the role of assistant manager to Sir Alex Ferguson at Manchester United. Fernandez, who has been out of work since the summer when he left Paris Saint-Germain, looks to have beaten the likes of Bryan Robson, Martin Jol and Mike Phelan to the coveted position.
Sir Alex is said to have considered numerous options before deciding on another continental No 2 to replace Carlos Queiroz, the Portuguese coach who is now manager at Real Madrid. Indeed, the Scot has made no secret of the fact that his main aim this season is to win another Champions' League medal to add to the one he collected in 1999. "A club our size must win the big one again," he said recently.
The former midfielder and French international Fernandez, who has plenty of coaching experience with two separate stints at PSG and two successful seasons with Athletic Bilbao, is seen as the perfect choice. Fernandez also won the Cup-Winners' Cup with PSG in 1996, further adding to his credentials as the right man to help lead a fresh assault on Europe.
A club spokesman refused to comment yesterday - it was a matter for the manager - but negotiations are said to be at an advanced stage for the man who was part of France's magical midfield quartet in the 1980s. Fernandez, who won 60 international caps, played alongside Michel Platini, Jean Tigana and Alain Giresse as Les Bleus won Euro 84 on home soil and then reached the semi-finals of the 1986 World Cup in Mexico.
As a manager, he has never won a championship, but has had success in cup competitions, both in France and Europe. He is also a tough disciplinarian who favours working with the back-four. This would suit the more attack-minded Sir Alex perfectly, thus leaving Fernandez to help shore up an often shaky looking defence.
RuMmYtUb
05-10-2003, 07:01 PM
Man Utd certainly needs another quality striker..
ccloh
05-10-2003, 10:28 PM
yes no doubt we do need a 2nd striker.
edhorizon
05-10-2003, 10:39 PM
yes no doubt we do need a 2nd striker.
can i mention edhorizon once again? =p
is quite hard to find a top quality striker that able to play for CL, suit man utd style, and $$ not really pose a problem, wages high for man utd.
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 12:40 AM
all the striker thing jus leave it aside as the transfer window is onli open nx Jan.....
wat i feel that we need most now is a gd assistant manager w lots of experince....it will jus give the team different ideas and tactics....
RuMmYtUb
06-10-2003, 12:59 AM
is quite hard to find a top quality striker that able to play for CL, suit man utd style, and $$ not really pose a problem, wages high for man utd.
stop advertising urself lar...
RuMmYtUb
06-10-2003, 01:00 AM
all the striker thing jus leave it aside as the transfer window is onli open nx Jan.....
wat i feel that we need most now is a gd assistant manager w lots of experince....it will jus give the team different ideas and tactics....
Yea like wad Carlos did for us last season, w/o first team players, his assistance to SAF helped us to many victories...
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 01:10 AM
Yea like wad Carlos did for us last season, w/o first team players, his assistance to SAF helped us to many victories...
and give us ideas during the european games.....hopefully we can find a suitable replacement asap....
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 01:41 AM
stop advertising urself lar...
joking only mah. why take it so serious... :D
RuMmYtUb
06-10-2003, 01:52 AM
joking only mah. why take it so serious... :D
:smoking:
derrace
06-10-2003, 01:57 AM
and give us ideas during the european games.....hopefully we can find a suitable replacement asap....
thought the already had someone in mind?
RuMmYtUb
06-10-2003, 02:17 AM
thought the already had someone in mind?
Dunno wad Fernendez, ex PSG manager
RuMmYtUb
06-10-2003, 03:55 AM
I know which striker we should buy, for those who follow the Italian Seria A, IMO, Adriano from Parma is a good buy... he's a constant goal scorer, proven in ISA.
ccloh
06-10-2003, 09:29 AM
:laugh: :laugh:
u more like suitable for the "wall" for them to practice freekick.
ralliart_ray
06-10-2003, 10:33 AM
u more like suitable for the "wall" for them to practice freekick. :laugh:
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 11:33 AM
u more like suitable for the "wall" for them to practice freekick.
:laugh: :angel:
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 02:29 PM
u more like suitable for the "wall" for them to practice freekick. :alien:
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 07:18 PM
He is also a tough disciplinarian who favours working with the back-four. This would suit the more attack-minded Sir Alex perfectly, thus leaving Fernandez to help shore up an often shaky looking defence.
Despite his midfield past, Fernandez's forte has been in building stout defences.
glad to read fr report that Fernandez's forte is training defender.....that's wat fergie need badly.....
from what i know of fernandez he's another knowledgable guy like queiroz. would be a good assistant hopefully.
RipperJack
06-10-2003, 09:07 PM
He is also a tough disciplinarian who favours working with the back-four. This would suit the more attack-minded Sir Alex perfectly, thus leaving Fernandez to help shore up an often shaky looking defence.
Despite his midfield past, Fernandez's forte has been in building stout defences.
glad to read fr report that Fernandez's forte is training defender.....that's wat fergie need badly..... bad news for the rest of the epl teams. :(
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by RipperJack
bad news for the rest of the epl teams. :(
but i tink he rule himself out of being old trafford number 2. :(
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 09:33 PM
but i tink he rule himself out of being old trafford number 2. :(
ani source? but oso most likely lah....once a manager, which manager wan to drop to pecking order to be a assitant....
Jass_02
06-10-2003, 09:35 PM
hey hi everyone :D newbie here...i'm a man u fan as well =)
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:36 PM
ani source? but oso most likely lah....once a manager, which manager wan to drop to pecking order to be a assitant....
here it goes. :)
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=166618
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:36 PM
Originally posted by Jass_02
welcome. :D
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 09:39 PM
here it goes. :)
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=166618
"This would be a big honour for me, but I do not know anything of it," said Fernandez.
looking at the statement look like he is quite interested....
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:40 PM
"This would be a big honour for me, but I do not know anything of it," said Fernandez.
looking at the statement look like he is quite interested....
but dun tink he will come over le. :(
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 09:42 PM
welcome welcome
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:46 PM
welcome welcome
u deleted one thread. :laugh:
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 09:47 PM
u deleted one thread. :laugh:
*shhhh* :D
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:48 PM
*shhhh* :D
*lolz*
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 09:50 PM
*lolz*
u think that jass_02 is gal or guy? :confused:
edhorizon
06-10-2003, 09:51 PM
no comments.
i dunno la. too lazy to figure it out also.
anyway, me going to play FT liao. :D
guoquanyap
06-10-2003, 09:52 PM
no comments.
i dunno la. too lazy to figure it out also.
anyway, me going to play FT liao. :D
then mi play WE7....:D
Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy has been left astonished by the progress made by Manchester United youngster Darren Fletcher.
The promise of the 19-year-old may also prove too tempting to Scotland coach Berti Vogts, who has called the teenager into his squad for the first-time ahead of the Euro 2004 qualifier with Lithuania at Hampden Park.
Fletcher, playing in the position so long associated with David Beckham, produced another impressive performance in the 3-0 victory over 10-man Birmingham at Old Trafford.
Van Nistelrooy said: "He had a great performance and proved again that he's a fantastic and very promising talent. He showed it at Leicester a week ago as well and it's fantastic to see such a young man play such great football."
CorosIve
06-10-2003, 11:21 PM
whoo another young talent found ...:D
RuMmYtUb
07-10-2003, 12:04 AM
Fletcher roXors
Jass_02
07-10-2003, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy has been left astonished by the progress made by Manchester United youngster Darren Fletcher.
The promise of the 19-year-old may also prove too tempting to Scotland coach Berti Vogts, who has called the teenager into his squad for the first-time ahead of the Euro 2004 qualifier with Lithuania at Hampden Park.
Fletcher, playing in the position so long associated with David Beckham, produced another impressive performance in the 3-0 victory over 10-man Birmingham at Old Trafford.
Van Nistelrooy said: "He had a great performance and proved again that he's a fantastic and very promising talent. He showed it at Leicester a week ago as well and it's fantastic to see such a young man play such great football."
i prefer fletcher much more than ronaldo...think he's a much more direct player and more suitable to man u style of playing...
ccloh
07-10-2003, 09:05 AM
i prefer fletcher much more than ronaldo...think he's a much more direct player and more suitable to man u style of playing...
after all fletcher was born on great britain soil and use to the physical style of british football perhaps since he knew how to kick a ball. on the other hand ronaldo grew up in an environment of playing skilful football like those of figo. can't really compared an apple with a orange. i guess u have to measure how much they have contributed to utd down the roads.
ccloh
07-10-2003, 09:07 AM
newcomer to the utd forum. welcome.
ccloh
07-10-2003, 09:07 AM
does that make a difference ???
NanDesKa
07-10-2003, 11:09 AM
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: =p =p
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=279741&cc=5901
ESPN reports that he failed to take the drug test after training because he was moving house and just forgot.
But he took a test within 48 hours after that and it was negative.
If he had taken anything it probably would have still been in his system, and he would have testes positive then.
Just a bunch of ****e, everyone is blowing this out of proportion. No big deal.
The F.A. just need to let this one go. :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 12:07 PM
does that make a difference ???
jus curious.....:angel:
edhorizon
07-10-2003, 12:53 PM
jus curious.....:angel: :laugh:
OreoCookies
07-10-2003, 03:44 PM
Originally posted by CorosIve
whoo another young talent found ...:D
Actually, Fletcher has been in the Man Utd set-up for quite a long while liaoz... SAF even wanted to give him his debut back when he was 16-years old, but the English FA had some kind of a rule that prevented schoolboys (16-years & under) from playing in EPL matches... ;)
But itz really great to see him come into the team so strongly now... Hope he can progress quickly and become a crucial part of many more trophy-winning teams, be it for Man Utd or for the Scots... :D
:bounce:
...have just sold their entire 9.9% stake in united. no further info yet about why, or more importantly, if it's to any one individual/company.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/031007/325/eaf7v.html
ccloh
07-10-2003, 04:00 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
Actually, Fletcher has been in the Man Utd set-up for quite a long while liaoz... SAF even wanted to give him his debut back when he was 16-years old, but the English FA had some kind of a rule that prevented schoolboys (16-years & under) from playing in EPL matches... ;)
But itz really great to see him come into the team so strongly now... Hope he can progress quickly and become a crucial part of many more trophy-winning teams, be it for Man Utd or for the Scots... :D
:bounce:
he was also sidelined for 1 whole season due to injury if not he would have emerged from the rank at the same time as john o'shea.
last season we have o'shea as a rookie of the yr for utd, this season hope to see fletcher or ronaldo doing that.
he was also sidelined for 1 whole season due to injury if not he would have emerged from the rank at the same time as john o'shea.
last season we have o'shea as a rookie of the yr for utd, this season hope to see fletcher or ronaldo doing that.
Dun forget Solskjaer either when he come back from his injury.
OreoCookies
07-10-2003, 04:12 PM
Originally posted by RVN
...have just sold their entire 9.9% stake in united. no further info yet about why, or more importantly, if it's to any one individual/company.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/031007/325/eaf7v.html
Maybe they've given-up their lofty ambitions of taking over the PLC?
OreoCookies
07-10-2003, 04:14 PM
They have the potential, but whether they will be given a consistent run in the first XI remains to be seen... ;)
OreoCookies
07-10-2003, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Dun forget Solskjaer either when he come back from his injury.
Huh? Sokskjaer for rookie of the year? :confused:
Typo bah... =p
Huh? Sokskjaer for rookie of the year? :confused:
Typo bah... =p
no lah, I mean he will also challenge ronaldo and fletcher for the right flank spot as well, although fergie might play him upfront with ruud.
Maybe they've given-up their lofty ambitions of taking over the PLC?
this is not good news because it increases the chance of one individual buying up a greater portion of the club.
all fans should visit:
www.shareholdersunited.org
and own a piece of the club they love and at the same time help prevent the club being bought up by any individual.
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 05:05 PM
Originally posted by RVN
this is not good news because it increases the chance of one individual buying up a greater portion of the club.
all fans should visit:
and own a piece of the club they love and at the same time help prevent the club being bought up by any individual.
whether it's a gd thing that a individual own manu or not.....varies fr ppl to ppl.....
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 05:07 PM
wow.....62million pound leh....who hav such ability to buy the shares?.....hmmm.....surely cannot be a millionaire....mus be a billionaire...
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 05:13 PM
to make sky to give up their share....hmmm...smell a rat....feeling that somebody is taking our manu behind the scene......
ccloh
07-10-2003, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by RVN
all fans should visit:
me member of the SEA manchester united fan club. so eligible to own a piece of the club :D
Manchester United confirms that it has received written notification that Rio Ferdinand did not attend a routine official Football Association drugs test on 23rd September 2003.
The player has not been charged with any offence, but has been asked to attend a personal interview on Monday 13 October to explain the reasons behind his non-attendance.
Rio will have had no opportunity to outline his position before this interview.
The player underwent a routine official FA drugs test 36 hours later on 25th September and this was negative.
Communications Office, Manchester United PLC
Monday 6 October 2003
I do, find it weird England left him out when they've not had the hearing and the belated test was negative.
Oh well, won't be getting an injury then, hope he doesn't get any ban, it will be ridiculous. :mad:
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 08:11 PM
Irish racehorse owners JP McManus and John Magnier now own almost a quarter of Manchester United's shares after buying BSkyB's stake in the club today.
The Cubic Expression Company - owned by the pair - were today confirmed as the buyers for Sky's 9.9% stake, paying over £62million to increase their holding in the Barclaycard Premiership champions to 23.15%.
A United statement to the Stock Exchange read: 'Manchester United has now been advised that the Cubic Expression Company Limited has, as at October 7 2003, a holding of 60,144,730 ordinary shares representing approximately 23.15% of the issued share capital of Manchester United.'
The announcement will only add to speculation that United are being lined up for a takeover.
Speculation has been rife in recent weeks that United could be the subject of a takeover after a big rise in their share price.
In the last 12 months, United's share price has risen from 100p to a high of almost 250p today, with a rise of over 6% coming today since news of Sky's decision to sell.
So it is the irsh pair who bought the share.....
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 08:16 PM
wau lau, jialet man if Rio kana ban....:mad:
bloody ****. The thing is he passed the test in the end so the fa should give him a chance. fearing for the worst. :(
edhorizon
07-10-2003, 09:54 PM
10/06/2003. Speculation in Italy suggests that Juventus may be preparing an assault to lure Ruud Van Nistelrooy towards the Turin based club.
In order to obtain his services, the Old Lady is prepared to offer to Manchester United, David Trezeguet plus an amount of money to reach Van Nistelrooy's 50 million Euros tag.
However, both the player and his current club will be difficult to convince: Van Nistelrooy is already well paid and has built a reputation of a great goal scorer in England; Manchester United have in Ruud, one of the best strikers ever to have worn the Red Devils jersey.
On the other hand, Manchester United might be tempted to get Trezeguet, seeing how his fellow French national player, Thierry Henry, exploded on to the world scene with his arrival from Juventus to Arsenal.
In fact this might be Juve's only hope for the deal to go through, but before the end of the season there will be more on going speculation regarding this possible but improbable transfer.
SA Italy
Source (http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/q5590.html)
Jass_02
07-10-2003, 10:00 PM
10/06/2003. Speculation in Italy suggests that Juventus may be preparing an assault to lure Ruud Van Nistelrooy towards the Turin based club.
In order to obtain his services, the Old Lady is prepared to offer to Manchester United, David Trezeguet plus an amount of money to reach Van Nistelrooy's 50 million Euros tag.
However, both the player and his current club will be difficult to convince: Van Nistelrooy is already well paid and has built a reputation of a great goal scorer in England; Manchester United have in Ruud, one of the best strikers ever to have worn the Red Devils jersey.
On the other hand, Manchester United might be tempted to get Trezeguet, seeing how his fellow French national player, Thierry Henry, exploded on to the world scene with his arrival from Juventus to Arsenal.
In fact this might be Juve's only hope for the deal to go through, but before the end of the season there will be more on going speculation regarding this possible but improbable transfer.
SA Italy
Source (http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/q5590.html)
50million is indeed alot of money but if RVN is gone, who'll be scoring goals for man u?
edhorizon
07-10-2003, 10:02 PM
10/07/2003. England's squad for Saturday's Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey has finally been confirmed after two delays.
Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand has been left out following the controversy over his failure to attend a routine drugs test. Read more on this story.
Liverpool striker Michael Owen is included despite being a major injury doubt after he damaged his shin in Saturday's Premiership match with Arsenal.
Sven-Goran Eriksson's squad also includes Sol Campbell, who faces an FA hearing into a charge of violent conduct on Wednesday.
Full Squad
Goalkeepers: James (West Ham), Robinson (Leeds), Walker (Leicester)
Defenders: P Neville (Man Utd), G Neville (Man Utd), A Cole (Arsenal), Bridge (Chelsea), Mills (Leeds), Campbell (Arsenal), Terry (Chelsea), Upson (B'ham City)
Midfielders: Beckham (Real Madrid), Lampard (Chelsea), J Cole (Chelsea), Hargreaves (Bayern Munich), Butt (Man Utd), Dyer (Newcastle), Gerrard (Liverpool), Scholes (Man Utd)
Forwards: Owen (Liverpool), Heskey (Liverpool), Beattie (Southampton), Rooney (Everton).
Rob Hogley
Source (http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/q5730.html)
edhorizon
07-10-2003, 10:04 PM
50million is indeed alot of money but if RVN is gone, who'll be scoring goals for man u?
David Trezeguet then.
Anyway don't think Man Utd will sell RVN, so more likely is Trezeguet coming over with Man Utd buying him over with pure cash. :D
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 10:10 PM
it's 50million euros and not pound....it's not alot at all.....if it's 50million pound then it's alot.....
Jass_02
07-10-2003, 10:16 PM
it's 50million euros and not pound....it's not alot at all.....if it's 50million pound then it's alot.....
hehe read wrongly =p
edhorizon
07-10-2003, 10:20 PM
ask them to donate to "save edhorizon from being poor fund" better la. =p
RuMmYtUb
07-10-2003, 11:06 PM
David Trezeguet then.
Anyway don't think Man Utd will sell RVN, so more likely is Trezeguet coming over with Man Utd buying him over with pure cash. :D
Dun think Fergie will buy him this season though... can't play him in CL... :(
Kiwi8
07-10-2003, 11:11 PM
Dun think Fergie will buy him this season though... can't play him in CL... :(
Can play in CL for the 2nd part of this season after the January window.
RuMmYtUb
07-10-2003, 11:17 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Oh den that'll be great.... If can't get Trezeguet, this man will be good too !
Young Striker proven in ISA (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=279701&cc=4716)
guoquanyap
07-10-2003, 11:27 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
correct mi if i am wrong....once a player play in Europe matches....he will be ineligible......
RuMmYtUb
07-10-2003, 11:33 PM
correct mi if i am wrong....once a player play in Europe matches....he will be ineligible......
That was what i thought too.. :confused:
Kiwi8
07-10-2003, 11:33 PM
U r rite... a player cannot play for 2 different clubs in the same season.
This rules out David Trezeguet, I suppose. :)
OreoCookies
08-10-2003, 01:00 AM
Nigeria have picked former England and Manchester United captain Bryan Robson as their national soccer coach ahead of next year's African Nations Cup finals in Tunisia, an official said on Tuesday.
"Bryan Robson will be Nigeria's coach," a member of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA) told Reuters, asking not to be named.
"The NFA team that interviewed him in London has confirmed he should be appointed," he said, adding that a formal announcement would be made soon.
Nigeria's Sports Minister must approve the choice before Robson, a former manager of English premier league side Middlesbrough, would be formally announced as the man to lead the Super Eagles to Tunisia in January.
Robson, 46, did not originally apply for the post for which the NFA had initially short-listed six foreigners, including Frenchmen Bruno Metsu and Alain Giresse and Polish-born Henri Kasperczak.
Details of the contract were not immediately available.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Another of the Old Trafford alumni makes it to the international scene... Who else's next? :D
ccloh
08-10-2003, 09:26 AM
dont think SAF is so senile enough to let RVN go and buy trezequet. after all RVN has already proven not just one season that he is a terffic scorer. if rope in trezeguet to add to the rank of the striker dept. make more sense to utd.
RuMmYtUb
08-10-2003, 11:07 AM
dont think SAF is so senile enough to let RVN go and buy trezequet. after all RVN has already proven not just one season that he is a terffic scorer. if rope in trezeguet to add to the rank of the striker dept. make more sense to utd.
May have to wait till next season...
Just a bunch of crap, we won't do that.
Our fans love him so much and chant his name everytime he scores a goal. Fergie won't allow that to happen.
Dun read all this tabloid ****. :mad:
Marseille striker Didier Drogba has confirmed today that his club are in talks with United over the possible tranfer of the young french Hitman to Old Trafford.
"What player does not dream of playing for Manchester United? For me, they are the worlds biggest club" he said speaking to a french newspaper.
Drogba made a huge impact in the champions league last week bagging a "Perfect Hat-trick", scoring with his left and right legs, as well as his head.
Drogba had been linked with a move to Arsenal, with Wenger rumoured to have been ready to offer frustrated striker Sylvain Wiltord in exchange. That rumour was dashed today however when Drogba made his statement.
ccloh
08-10-2003, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Marseille striker Didier Drogba has confirmed today that his club are in talks with United over the possible tranfer of the young french Hitman to Old Trafford.
"What player does not dream of playing for Manchester United? For me, they are the worlds biggest club" he said speaking to a french newspaper.
Drogba made a huge impact in the champions league last week bagging a "Perfect Hat-trick", scoring with his left and right legs, as well as his head.
Drogba had been linked with a move to Arsenal, with Wenger rumoured to have been ready to offer frustrated striker Sylvain Wiltord in exchange. That rumour was dashed today however when Drogba made his statement.
bellion also young and from france. wonder why fergie not give him chances to play upfront or just rotate bet. him and forlan to take over RVN when RVN needs to be rested for next game rather than buying again.
guoquanyap
08-10-2003, 01:30 PM
bellion also young and from france. wonder why fergie not give him chances to play upfront or just rotate bet. him and forlan to take over RVN when RVN needs to be rested for next game rather than buying again.
jus rumour lah....:bounce: :bounce:
RuMmYtUb
08-10-2003, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Who is he ?
Proven striker ?
ccloh
08-10-2003, 03:42 PM
Who is he ?
Proven striker ?
all proven strikers cant play in this season CL even if got all the $$$ to buy and the player willing to move.
he can still play in the EPL and english cup competition for us, but we should have bought him in the summer though. :(
RuMmYtUb
08-10-2003, 04:00 PM
Marseille not in CL mah i thought :confused:
they are in the CL.
guoquanyap
08-10-2003, 08:18 PM
that why fergie set his sight on defoe.....;)
guoquanyap
08-10-2003, 08:20 PM
let mi correct you....all proven striker who has or had play in European matches before will be ineligible.....;)
Ruud van Nistelrooy's agent has rubbished speculation that the Manchester United marksman will move to Juventus next summer.
Reports in the Italian media claimed the Serie A champions are plotting an audacious bid to prise the prolific striker away from Old Trafford.
The Dutch international has sporadically been linked with a move back to the continent with the likes of Spanish powerhouses Barcelona and Real Madrid mooted to be interested in his services.
United are certain to deter any suitors from even testing the water with a bid for the 27-year-old, who has established himself as the club's key performer since his £19 million arrival from PSV Eindhoven over two years ago.
But that has not prevented the Italian press from suggesting Turin titans Juventus will launch a big-money move to entice van Nistelrooy to Stadio Delle Alpi.
Van Nistelrooy's representative Roger Linse, though, has dismissed any notion that the in-form hit-man would consider quitting The Red Devils.
Linse insists he has not spoken to Juventus regarding a potential bid and revealed van Nistelrooy perceives his long term future to be with United.
"I have read these reports claiming that Juventus want him next year but I can assure you I have never spoken with any Italian club," Linse told the Italian media.
"It is logical that the press will link him to one of the most important clubs in world football because he is one of the best strikers in the game.
"But Manchester United are pleased with him and van Nistelrooy is happy to play for The Red Devils.
"After this season, he still has two more years on his contract and is waiting to see the future intentions of the club."
Christian Negouai, the Manchester City midfielder, was handed a fine of £2,000 by the Football Association at a secret hearing for missing a recent drugs test. The Frenchman's case will now be used by Rio Ferdinand's advisors to seek leniency for the England defender in the wake of his own missed test on 23 September.
The revelation about Negouai emerged yesterday after UK Sport, which oversees drugs testing in Britain, confirmed it was still waiting for official notification from the FA of the outcome of a case involving a player who was recorded as refusing a drugs test during UK Sport's accounting season of 2002-03. Neither the FA nor UK Sport would provide any specific comment on Negouai, but sources close to the case confirmed the details.
Negouai, 28, a £1.5m signing from the Belgian club Charleroi, was due to take a pre-arranged drugs test at City's training ground shortly after the end of last season. At the appointed time he went missing, later explaining that he had had to collect his mother from the airport. That was recorded as a refusal in UK Sport's record.
He said he was delayed in traffic on his return and missed the test. At the FA hearing, where it was decided that the case should be kept secret, his reason for not taking the test was considered and he was handed a £2,000 fine.
He was also told he would be subjected to "target testing" - at random and frequent intervals - until the end of this year. The Professional Footballers' Association advised Negouai throughout his case. City were relieved at the outcome, fearing a ban.
Ferdinand's advisors are preparing to claim that double standards have been used by the FA in dealing with the two cases. It seems unlikely that Ferdinand will receive a two-year ban for missing his test - the theoretical maximum for the offence - but feels he is being dealt with more harshly because of his profile. He was dropped yesterday from England's squad to face Turkey this weekend.
A source close to Ferdinand said last night: "We are looking at possible legal action against the FA. We know what happened with the Manchester City player and cannot understand why Rio's case is being handled in this way."
I think If Rio got banned, United will take the FA to court.
guoquanyap
08-10-2003, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Christian Negouai, the Manchester City midfielder, was handed a fine of £2,000 by the Football Association at a secret hearing for missing a recent drugs test. The Frenchman's case will now be used by Rio Ferdinand's advisors to seek leniency for the England defender in the wake of his own missed test on 23 September.
The revelation about Negouai emerged yesterday after UK Sport, which oversees drugs testing in Britain, confirmed it was still waiting for official notification from the FA of the outcome of a case involving a player who was recorded as refusing a drugs test during UK Sport's accounting season of 2002-03. Neither the FA nor UK Sport would provide any specific comment on Negouai, but sources close to the case confirmed the details.
Negouai, 28, a £1.5m signing from the Belgian club Charleroi, was due to take a pre-arranged drugs test at City's training ground shortly after the end of last season. At the appointed time he went missing, later explaining that he had had to collect his mother from the airport. That was recorded as a refusal in UK Sport's record.
He said he was delayed in traffic on his return and missed the test. At the FA hearing, where it was decided that the case should be kept secret, his reason for not taking the test was considered and he was handed a £2,000 fine.
He was also told he would be subjected to "target testing" - at random and frequent intervals - until the end of this year. The Professional Footballers' Association advised Negouai throughout his case. City were relieved at the outcome, fearing a ban.
Ferdinand's advisors are preparing to claim that double standards have been used by the FA in dealing with the two cases. It seems unlikely that Ferdinand will receive a two-year ban for missing his test - the theoretical maximum for the offence - but feels he is being dealt with more harshly because of his profile. He was dropped yesterday from England's squad to face Turkey this weekend.
A source close to Ferdinand said last night: "We are looking at possible legal action against the FA. We know what happened with the Manchester City player and cannot understand why Rio's case is being handled in this way."
I think If Rio got banned, United will take the FA to court.
wau really double standard man!! :mad: :mad:
same things, and the city player escaped any ban, rio should also follow suit but the fa have bottle things up for us because of his profile. :mad: :mad:
guoquanyap
08-10-2003, 09:38 PM
Originally posted by RVN
same things, and the city player escaped any ban, rio should also follow suit but the fa have bottle things up for us because of his profile. :mad: :mad:
since there is a silmilar case....Rio should be able to win the case.....
StormTrooper
08-10-2003, 10:28 PM
they're already pre-judging rio, the biggest culprits being the media. why the fa blow it all up for rio is beyond me. could have kept it secret until he is punished.
Jass_02
08-10-2003, 10:56 PM
relax...things might not be as bad as we expected ;)
guoquanyap
08-10-2003, 11:47 PM
relax...things might not be as bad as we expected ;)
if Rio kana ban for 2 yrs.....it will be very bad....:mad: :mad:
No way on earth will he get banned for two years, he'll just get a fine, like the City player, Rio's lawyers will have a field day with the FA if they ban him. :mad:
Jass_02
08-10-2003, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
No way on earth will he get banned for two years, he'll just get a fine, like the City player, Rio's lawyers will have a field day with the FA if they ban him. :mad:
ccloh
09-10-2003, 08:54 AM
not that he got tested positive for the test. if he was to be banned, i think the FA is damm stupid. the PFA will definitely blast them and who kn maybe during every matches, the fans will just jeer the FA throughout.
edhorizon
09-10-2003, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by RVN
dun tink a fine also will kanna.
well, we see then, hope the fa will be sensible and give a good verdict for rio and don't ban him. ;)
guoquanyap
09-10-2003, 08:20 PM
hmmm....every club is talking abt building new stadium.....dunno whether we hav any plan to expand our stadium or not.....:cool:
Yellowfin
09-10-2003, 09:40 PM
hmmm....every club is talking abt building new stadium.....dunno whether we hav any plan to expand our stadium or not.....:cool:
Maybe in the future but those club need to expand because their capacity is lower than Man U stadium. :D
vivre
09-10-2003, 09:43 PM
Just expanded not long ago... right?
guoquanyap
09-10-2003, 10:00 PM
Maybe in the future but those club need to expand because their capacity is lower than Man U stadium. :D
ya but they are catching up.....
edhorizon
09-10-2003, 10:03 PM
hope man utd can expand such a way is bigger then san siro and even barca stadium.
guoquanyap
09-10-2003, 10:05 PM
Originally posted by vivre
Just expanded not long ago... right?
hmmm...quite long liao lor abt 4-5 yrs liao lor....the point i trying to put across is that other club is catching up.....most ideal capacity will be 80,000 to 100,000.....:D
OreoCookies
09-10-2003, 10:08 PM
hmmm...quite long liao lor abt 4-5 yrs liao lor....the point i trying to put across is that other club is catching up.....most ideal capacity will be 80,000 to 100,000.....:D
I think Old Trafford cannot expand too much liaoz... The current capacity is almost the max, so if there's a need for it to be bigger, it might be better to build a whole new stadium... ;)
guoquanyap
09-10-2003, 10:11 PM
I think Old Trafford cannot expand too much liaoz... The current capacity is almost the max, so if there's a need for it to be bigger, it might be better to build a whole new stadium... ;)
if hav to build new stadium....than i rather not expand then....;)
OreoCookies
09-10-2003, 10:14 PM
if hav to build new stadium....than i rather not expand then....;)
True lah, but apparently the current structure has some architectural faults... I read somewhere that these faults are the reason why the OT pitch is so easily damaged by the rain and snow, and needs to be replaced so often... :(
guoquanyap
09-10-2003, 10:18 PM
True lah, but apparently the current structure has some architectural faults... I read somewhere that these faults are the reason why the OT pitch is damaged by the rain and snow, and needs to be replaced so often... :(
ya in this case it cost alot....:mad:
Rio Ferdinand will still be available to play for Manchester United even if he is charged with misconduct for missing a drugs test.
The defender will attend an interview with officials from the Football Association on Monday, after which he is expected to be charged.
If he is charged, he will have 14 days to respond and request a personal hearing during which time he will not be suspended - despite being left out of the England squad this week.
If he is to be banned at all, that suspension will only be imposed at the full FA disciplinary hearing.
It means Ferdinand should be available to play for Manchester United at his former club Leeds on 18 October, the Champions League match at Rangers on 22 October and Fulham's visit to Old Trafford on 25 October.
It is understood that both United and the FA are working on the assumption that Ferdinand will not be suspended during the time between the interview on Monday and a disciplinary hearing.
The case is certain to end in a charge as missing a drugs test is governed by 'strict liability' rules which means that excuses can only be used to lessen punishment rather than avoid a guilty finding.
United are sure to appeal against any punishment more severe than a fine, believing that the FA have already set a precedent by fining Manchester City's Christian Negouai £2,000 for missing a drugs test last season.
The FA have appointed a new chief executive since then, Mark Palios, who has underlined his determination to be tough on drugs.
However, football is not bound by the World Anti-Doping Code until August next year, and it may be the FA only fine Ferdinand too or impose a short ban and use the case as a opportunity to announce tougher new rules to players.
a fine yeah cos he deserves one ( he did miss the test after all ):(
a match ban...no ****in way...he's suffered enough ****e already from the press and the fa.
good news that he's gonna be available and all fired up. :)
ccloh
10-10-2003, 09:04 AM
it would good for utd to have a stadium with a capacity of 80,000 to 100,000. so i guess whoever want to buy over utd will possible have this agenda on his mind :D
edhorizon
10-10-2003, 10:42 AM
Reports in Spain claim that Manchester United have made a multi-million pound contract offer to Real Madrid defender Michel Salgado.
Spanish daily AS stated that the reigning Premiership champions had submitted a four-year deal to the Spanish international's agent Gines Carvajal worth a staggering €15 million (£10 million).
Salgado is in the final year of his current contract with Real and talks on a new deal continue to stall.
The 27-year-old will be free to negotiate with other clubs from January 1, 2004, and despite previously declaring his desire to remain at El Santiago Bernabeu, United's offer is believed to be around double what Real have thus far offered him.
Salgado declined to comment on the reported proposal from Old Trafford, but acknowledged he was proud to be linked with Europe's biggest clubs.
He insisted, however, that he was leaving all negotiations on his future solely in the hands of his agent.
"It's an honour as a player that the big clubs are looking at you," the former Celta Vigo full back said.
"But now I'm focusing only on the next game of the national team against Ukraine, and on Real Madrid. For the rest of the things there are representatives.
"I knew from the start there was going to be great pressure with it being the last year of my contract, but I am only concentrating on my current team."
Real have come out to admit they are desperate to retain Salgado's services, but director of sport Jorge Valdano conceded that the player could opt to leave as a free agent given that Real would not be able to match the huge sums reportedly on offer to him.
"Real Madrid do not find it strange that a player in the category of Michel Salgado should receive offers from the big European clubs," said the Argentine.
"We would like him to continue at Real Madrid and end his career here.
"When negotiations are opened we will see what the positions are and we will understand that he might leave us if he receives a 'super' offer.
"But we are ready to make an effort so that he stays."
The matter of Salgado's renewal has dragged on from last season as Real were thought to be ready to begin talks with the player in Spring, the same time negotiations were due to start with both Fernando Hierro and Vicente del Bosque.
Both the veteran defender and coach have since left the club, and the continued delay over Salgado's situation has led to the speculation that the full back could ultimately leave the club.
As well as Manchester United, Milan and Chelsea are also said to be watching developments closely, with AS stating that the Stamford Bridge outfit have also made a concrete offer to Carvajal for his client to study.
Though it still seems though Salgado would ultimately prefer to stay in Madrid, the huge offers on the table could turn his head given the fact his next contract will be the biggest of his career.
Source: http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=167088
ccloh
10-10-2003, 01:16 PM
hmmm strange urgent now is finding a striker given that ole is out till dec and only left rvn firing for utd.
guoquanyap
10-10-2003, 01:27 PM
hmmm strange urgent now is finding a striker given that ole is out till dec and only left rvn firing for utd.
no pt....still hav to wait until the Jan transfer window.....find a assistant now is oso important....
Unless Forlan step up his game and starts scoring goals which he still hasn't done so. :(
But Scholes and Giggs can also score goals too along with Ruud. :)
ralliart_ray
10-10-2003, 02:56 PM
forlan.... sighz... cant score...
RuMmYtUb
10-10-2003, 04:11 PM
forlan muz do something about his game
ccloh
10-10-2003, 04:41 PM
forlan muz do something about his game
to me it seems like fergie is deploying forlan as the same role as ole ie. not the main striker more like creating chances for RVN and distracting defenders away from RVN.
edhorizon
10-10-2003, 05:49 PM
to me it seems like fergie is deploying forlan as the same role as ole ie. not the main striker more like creating chances for RVN and distracting defenders away from RVN.
but defenders will kanna distract by him meh when they knew he doesn't really pose a thread.
Maybe bring Solskjaer back as a forward when he come back from injuries and let either Ronaldo or Fletcher take the right flank spot.
edhorizon
10-10-2003, 06:57 PM
Luis Figo has revealed he has always dreamed of pulling on the red shirt of Manchester United.
The Real Madrid winger has been linked with the reigning Premiership champions in the past, and most notably last summer.
Reports suggested that the Portuguese international would move to Old Trafford as part of David Beckham's transfer in the opposite direction to El Santiago Bernabeu.
The swap deal never materialised, and Beckham and Figo are now playing side by side in Real's star-studded first team.
However, the former Sporting Lisbon star has now admitted he has always been attracted by the prospect of playing for United, but concedes his situation makes the chances of a switch to England unlikely.
"(Playing for Manchester United) was always a dream of mine since I was young, but that does not mean it's going to become a reality," the 30-year-old told Portuguese magazine Doze.
"I think that current circumstances make it a dream that is extremely difficult to make happen.
"I have three more years of my contract with Real Madrid and my future lies here.
"I feel very good in Madrid, but as a popular saying goes: the future is in the hands of the Gods."
Figo's revelation is sure to excite Manchester United fans, but with Ferguson having opted to invest in the player's young compatriot Cristiano Ronaldo as Beckham's long-term replacement it seems unlikely that the ex-Barca star will ever grace Old Trafford.
Source: http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=167173
OreoCookies
10-10-2003, 09:31 PM
but defenders will kanna distract by him meh when they knew he doesn't really pose a thread.
Forlan may not be the most obvious threat in terms of scoring goals, but he can make those neat passes that creates a chance for others... ;)
Think of how he created Solskjaer's goal against Juve during pre-season, and how his one-touch side-foot pass helped RVN break his duck against Bolton... =p
OreoCookies
10-10-2003, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Maybe bring Solskjaer back as a forward when he come back from injuries and let either Ronaldo or Fletcher take the right flank spot.
That would be the ideal situation from a supporter's point-of-view, but I think Fergie would still prefer to play Solskjaer on the right flank, at least until Fletcher and Ronaldo can prove their consistency on a regular basis... :)
OreoCookies
10-10-2003, 09:36 PM
France goalkeeper Fabien Barthez is taking full responsibility for losing his first-team place at his English club Manchester United.
"If I lost my place, it is my fault and it will never be anybody else's fault," Barthez said in an interview with French sports daily L'Equipe on Friday.
"It's up to me to do what is required. It is not the coach who puts the ball at the forward's feet, nor the journalists who slip up, it's me," he added.
Barthez, arguably one of the world's best goalkeepers, has not even made United's substitutes' bench this season, with American Tim Howard and Northern Irishman Roy Carroll preferred by the premier league club's manager Alex Ferguson.
But he said his relationship with Ferguson was "perfect".
"The only thing is I don't play. But I know everything can happen," he said, adding that he had a good relationship with Howard, Carroll and goalkeeping coach Tony Coton.
Despite an obvious lack of match play, Barthez remains France coach Jacques Santini's first choice.
He was outstanding in Ljubljana last month when France qualified for Euro 2004 with a 2-0 win over Slovenia.
He was also impressive during France's 5-0 demolition of Cyprus and a 2-0 friendly win over Switzerland in August.
"So every day I prepare myself to play the next weekend and everytime I believe I will,' Barthez said. 'Otherwise, I would drop everything. And I don't like to lose."
OreoCookies
10-10-2003, 09:39 PM
Manchester United have denied that the fallout from the Rio Ferdinand affair could cause a permanent rift between themselves and the FA.
United issued a strong statement in the wake of the centre-back's omission from the England squad because of a missed drug test, and vowed to pursue vigorously their concerns at the FA's handling of the situation.
But it is understood Old Trafford chief executive David Gill has spoken to Soho Square chief Mark Palios to assure him that United will not be taking legal action or refusing to host England games in the future.
United communications director Paddy Harverson said: "While we have had our differences over this affair, we do look forward to working with the FA in a constructive and co-operative manner in the future in a whole number of areas."
"It's important that the club and the governing body of this country have a good working relationship."
The conversations do not mean United will drop their criticisms of the Ferdinand issue - which centre on the fact that by leaving him out of the England squad, the defender was effectively identified when his name should have remained confidential until after any disciplinary hearing.
They will continue to pursue the matter in an effort to see changes to the drug-testing policy introduced.
An FA source confirmed there had been "positive conversations'' between the governing body and the club.
RuMmYtUb
10-10-2003, 10:04 PM
Ya that's the thing, he can't draw defenders out like Ole or can't finish like RVN... :(
Kiwi8
10-10-2003, 10:15 PM
France goalkeeper Fabien Barthez is taking full responsibility for losing his first-team place at his English club Manchester United.
"If I lost my place, it is my fault and it will never be anybody else's fault," Barthez said in an interview with French sports daily L'Equipe on Friday.
"It's up to me to do what is required. It is not the coach who puts the ball at the forward's feet, nor the journalists who slip up, it's me," he added.
Barthez, arguably one of the world's best goalkeepers, has not even made United's substitutes' bench this season, with American Tim Howard and Northern Irishman Roy Carroll preferred by the premier league club's manager Alex Ferguson.
But he said his relationship with Ferguson was "perfect".
"The only thing is I don't play. But I know everything can happen," he said, adding that he had a good relationship with Howard, Carroll and goalkeeping coach Tony Coton.
Despite an obvious lack of match play, Barthez remains France coach Jacques Santini's first choice.
He was outstanding in Ljubljana last month when France qualified for Euro 2004 with a 2-0 win over Slovenia.
He was also impressive during France's 5-0 demolition of Cyprus and a 2-0 friendly win over Switzerland in August.
"So every day I prepare myself to play the next weekend and everytime I believe I will,' Barthez said. 'Otherwise, I would drop everything. And I don't like to lose."
If he can't even be on the substitutes' bench, then I feel that he should leave for a club that lets him play regular football. Otherwise why stay at Man U to jiak liao bi....
he's getting paid 70,000 a week for doing absolutely nothing. :rolleyes:
get him off our wage bill.
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1169297.jpg
Ryan Giggs is adamant nothing sinister should be read into Manchester United team-mate Rio Ferdinand's failure to take a drugs test on time, after revealing he was sampled on the same day.
Ferdinand's costly faux pas in not taking a mandatory drugs test when asked has sparked a furious storm this week after the centre half was omitted from England's Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey.
The former Leeds United defender claims he innocently forgot about the test and successfully passed a re-arranged one two days later.
The stopper must now explain his failure to take the test on time to The Football Association on Monday, with Giggs certain it was an unintentional oversight on his colleague's part.
Giggs was also selected to be tested at the same time as Ferdinand and has offered his support to his Red Devils team-mate, whose exclusion from the international set-up has unsettled England's preparations for the crunch contest in Istanbul.
"I've been upset by the problems Rio has had this week and I really feel for him," Giggs told The Western Mail.
"I haven't spoken to Rio yet but anyone who knows him also knows this is a terrible mix-up, rather than anything sinister.
"I was one of the other Manchester United players who was tested on the day that Rio missed his test.
"I really don't know the details of exactly how Rio missed his appointment but I've got no doubt it was a genuine mistake and nothing else.
"Rio is a great pro and he certainly wouldn't have knowingly left the training ground without taking his test."
leslielai
10-10-2003, 10:52 PM
Screw the FA. Handling of the matter could be better.
If Rio gets anything more than a fine and can't play for United, the club should sue their pants off.
RuMmYtUb
10-10-2003, 11:46 PM
Think Barthez can leave liao.. for the benefit of himself and Utd.
guoquanyap
11-10-2003, 02:30 AM
Think Barthez can leave liao.. for the benefit of himself and Utd.
hmmm...should he leave or should he be on loan to other club?
leslielai
11-10-2003, 02:55 AM
Too expensive to loan lah. :laugh:
guoquanyap
11-10-2003, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by leslielai
Too expensive to loan lah. :laugh:
even sell him oso cost abt 2-3milliom pound onli.....as well keep him and loan him out jus in case we need a experince to cover.....
leslielai
11-10-2003, 01:28 PM
even sell him oso cost abt 2-3milliom pound onli.....as well keep him and loan him out jus in case we need a experince to cover.....
wtf. What I meant was that it would be too costly for other clubs to loan him because of his high wages. DUH!
guoquanyap
11-10-2003, 01:30 PM
Originally posted by leslielai
wtf. What I meant was that it would be too costly for other clubs to loan him because of his high wages. DUH!
depend on him lor....see whether he wan to lower his wages in oder to play first team or not lor
Jass_02
11-10-2003, 01:43 PM
Though barthez sometimes really not very consistent but i think he changed alot last season and not as eccentric as before liao...sad to see him not even on the bench now...
guoquanyap
11-10-2003, 01:50 PM
Though barthez sometimes really not very consistent but i think he changed alot last season and not as eccentric as before liao...sad to see him not even on the bench now...
prehaps it came a little too late and fergie had some other ideas.....anyway howard had done quite well since he came to OT.....
leslielai
11-10-2003, 02:20 PM
He was never good enough, never will be.
I hope he finds a team where he can perform because he is a pretty decent keeper but certainly NOT as good as the world thinks he is.
RuMmYtUb
11-10-2003, 02:27 PM
Yup could see his improvement, but sometimes he really let us down at crucial times for eg last season away @ Madrid match..
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=280045&cc=5901
Manchester United has been tracking his progress throughout the year, which certainly excites Adu, "I've loved them ever since I was a baby.
"I would love to end up in England someday, playing for Man. U. or some team like that," he said.
OreoCookies
11-10-2003, 05:56 PM
Yup could see his improvement, but sometimes he really let us down at crucial times for eg last season away @ Madrid match..
I guess the thing about Barthez is that he doesn't suit Man Utd's style of play... And that's by no fault of his... :(
The recent years of success at Old Trafford was built upon, arguably, our most competent goalkeeper ever, Peter Schmeichel... And he plays with a big & commanding presence in the six-yard box... It was always going to be tough to replace Peter because goalies of his type are hard to get...
OreoCookies
11-10-2003, 05:59 PM
Just to add onto the above... :)
Barthez is in no way a bad goalie, just that his style is more suited for teams with a good leader in defence... He isn't the type to scream and shout at defenders, but Man Utd's attacking play means that we'll need a screaming & shouting goalie to organise the defence quickly in anticipation of counter-attacks...
Tim Howard's a good buy, and he's proven he can scream & shout if necessary... But itz still early times of his Old Trafford career, and he'll need to learn more about organising the defence, but that'll come with experience, so no worries... :)
So all in all, Barthez is still a useful addition to the squad, depending on Fergie's tatics for the day... His pay may be staggering, considering he's currently only warming the bench... Truth-be-told, he may never be the number one at OT again, but he'll still make a good deputy, at least until the day he transfers-out, quits, or retires...
OreoCookies
11-10-2003, 06:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United has been tracking his progress throughout the year, which certainly excites Adu, "I've loved them ever since I was a baby.
"I would love to end up in England someday, playing for Man. U. or some team like that," he said.
It'll be nice to see yet another promising youth talent joining the Old Trafford ranks... :)
RuMmYtUb
11-10-2003, 06:05 PM
I guess the thing about Barthez is that he doesn't suit Man Utd's style of play... And that's by no fault of his... :(
The recent years of success at Old Trafford was built upon, arguably, our most competent goalkeeper ever, Peter Schmeichel... And he plays with a big & commanding presence in the six-yard box... It was always going to be tough to replace Peter because goalies of his type are hard to get...
Howard can be in Schmeichel's mould...
Howard shouts like Schmeichel, tat will organise defence and can easily influence the defence, most important..
cos Barthez abit too quiet..
guoquanyap
11-10-2003, 09:54 PM
Howard can be in Schmeichel's mould...
Howard shouts like Schmeichel, tat will organise defence and can easily influence the defence, most important..
cos Barthez abit too quiet..
barthez oso can shout lah....but i think the defender lack in confident in him.....
RuMmYtUb
11-10-2003, 11:26 PM
barthez oso can shout lah....but i think the defender lack in confident in him.....
Ya cos he abit erratic..
cracker
11-10-2003, 11:56 PM
maybe barthez might perform better than Forlan upfront !!!:laugh: :D
guoquanyap
11-10-2003, 11:58 PM
Originally posted by cracker
:alien:
ccloh
12-10-2003, 12:11 AM
frankly speaking barthez if u compared with the great dane, he is far far away off. to think that he was a world cup and european cup winner with france, he must have been quite a good goalie. but one thing we forget is that the 4 man in front of him when he won those medals were the best defence at that time in the world.
no doubt he did perform some great display for utd during his spell as the no. 1 here but at very critical moment, he has failed. this is very bad.
given his age, selling him off is better than loan him out. at least with the $$$, we could bring in an extra defender and/or striker.
dongcute
12-10-2003, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by cracker
:o :rolleyes: :D
Jass_02
12-10-2003, 12:30 AM
abit of a pity he's gone...used to provide the match with some 'entertainment' of his =p
guoquanyap
12-10-2003, 12:47 AM
wOoT~ Fletcher score for scotland....and maybe the goal to send them into ERUOPE2004 :o
RuMmYtUb
12-10-2003, 01:51 AM
Nihat from Turkey and Real Sociedad, gd candidate for Man Utd to buy.... gd striker..
OreoCookies
12-10-2003, 03:32 AM
wOoT~ Fletcher score for scotland....and maybe the goal to send them into ERUOPE2004 :o
Nah, the Scots will have to qualify via the playoffs... Germany topped the group after their 3-0 win over Iceland... =p
Pity... Else, it would have been icing on the cake for Fletcher... :(
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.