View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
swordy84
27-10-2003, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
His touches CMI...
Somehow i think RVN starts to miss D.Beckham..
I found out that RVN has less chances after Becks left cos missed those deft crosses from the right, i doubt RVN scored a goal with his head this season as yet..
Yeah I agree. I'm not sure how many people actually realised the importance of Beckham when he was still around. Seriously there is a lack of firepower up front with no one providing crosses for RVN this season, most of the time he has to create chances for himself. But luckily, there is still Gary Neville who can provide decent crosses into the box from the right, otherwise it would be more worse. Anyway I wouldn't be surprised if RVN didn't score many goals or didn't end up as the top scorer this season.
Originally posted by NanDesKa
how come forlan is not linked to chelski? =p
what for, who will want him, lol, we should let him gone to boro in the first place had we not gone after him.
SG_Jimmy
27-10-2003, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
chelsea will not be champion for EPL. if it does, i dun post anymore forever in football forum. U better be right, i will be praying for u too =p
ralliart_ray
27-10-2003, 02:19 PM
how come forlan is not linked to chelski? =p
:laugh: :laugh: hopefully he does.
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
:laugh: :laugh: hopefully he does.
stupid joke, even free chelski won't want him. :laugh:
ralliart_ray
27-10-2003, 02:24 PM
Originally posted by RVN
stupid joke, even free chelski won't want him. :laugh:
:eek: say he until like that :eek:
I aren't arguing that Forlan should go, end of. More that we need somebody better than Forlan. True, he got a goal, but it was his first in almost a year, and another striker could have scored loads more in that period. We terribly need a back-up strker for Ruud and I'm afraid Diego's not the one. :(
COME BACK SOON OLE!!!
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 02:42 PM
Sometimes Ronaldo also abit over-do his tricks.. sometimes got opportunity nv pass..
he still young and inexperince ma....as time goes by he will become to be a world class player.....;)
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I aren't arguing that Forlan should go, end of. More that we need somebody better than Forlan. True, he got a goal, but it was his first in almost a year, and another striker could have scored loads more in that period. We terribly need a back-up strker for Ruud and I'm afraid Diego's not the one. :(
COME BACK SOON OLE!!!
he still can warm the bench lah....any new strikers still hav to wait for the Jan transfer window....tried to get one last season but fail to make any deal.....
cracker
27-10-2003, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
he still young and inexperince ma....as time goes by he will become to be a world class player.....;)
he has become predictable...always wanna "wayang" or dribble past defenders when he doesnt have the physical strength to ward off oppositions' defenders.
Maybe he should consider doing a 1-2 since he is quite speedy .
Originally posted by cracker
he has become predictable...always wanna "wayang" or dribble past defenders when he doesnt have the physical strength to ward off oppositions' defenders.
Maybe he should consider doing a 1-2 since he is quite speedy .
I think that Ronaldo is good...but he can improve. But he really hasnt shown much " team work" talent. He seems to have a big ego, and that can wreck his "on the pitch" perfomance. I hope that Fergie straigtens him out.
ccloh
27-10-2003, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by swordy84
Yeah I agree. I'm not sure how many people actually realised the importance of Beckham when he was still around. Seriously there is a lack of firepower up front with no one providing crosses for RVN this season, most of the time he has to create chances for himself. But luckily, there is still Gary Neville who can provide decent crosses into the box from the right, otherwise it would be more worse. Anyway I wouldn't be surprised if RVN didn't score many goals or didn't end up as the top scorer this season.
forget abt that david the who. man utd is not abt him. he is not bigger than the club. if u also noticed, with him ard and if he is on the field, utd has restricted a lot of attacking tactics as compared to now. his attacking method is very much predictable. given any reasonable good left defender can mark him dead and out of the match already.
Oh man this is sick, we lose and some people saying we miss becks blah blah, I appreciate what he done during his time with us but we are better off without him and certainly don't miss him. We brought five players for the money we got for him and them players DON'T think because they generate so much media hype that they are bigger than the club and any other player (hence the highest wage at the club he used to receive).
swordy84
27-10-2003, 05:11 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
forget abt that david the who. man utd is not abt him. he is not bigger than the club. if u also noticed, with him ard and if he is on the field, utd has restricted a lot of attacking tactics as compared to now. his attacking method is very much predictable. given any reasonable good left defender can mark him dead and out of the match already.
First thing first, I'm not saying that United is missing Becks, or that he is bigger than the club, since NO one is bigger than the club. What I'm trying to point out is that with him around, at least there is some one who can consistently provide crosses and create chances for RVN or others to score goals. This is what United is lacking of at the moment this season. Anyway I know it's no use talking about how good or bad Becks was, since that man had already left. I just hope United can find some one who can consistently create chances for RVN to bang in the goals. In the match against Fulham, if I didn't remembered wrongly, RVN didn't have a single goal-scoring opportunity in the match, only offsides... and he had to fight his way past the surrounding opposition players on his own to create chances for himself and for the others.
cracker
27-10-2003, 05:44 PM
First thing first, I'm not saying that United is missing Becks, or that he is bigger than the club, since NO one is bigger than the club. What I'm trying to point out is that with him around, at least there is some one who can consistently provide crosses and create chances for RVN or others to score goals. This is what United is lacking of at the moment this season. Anyway I know it's no use talking about how good or bad Becks was, since that man had already left. I just hope United can find some one who can consistently create chances for RVN to bang in the goals. In the match against Fulham, if I didn't remembered wrongly, RVN didn't have a single goal-scoring opportunity in the match, only offsides... and he had to fight his way past the surrounding opposition players on his own to create chances for himself and for the others.
consistent is the key word here ...
Utd doesnt have such a player at the moment...I am not sure if Ole is the answer though he did quite okay for a couple of matches.
When we see a left footed player on the right flank and Phil Nevile operating on the left flank.....sth is not quite right.
anyway wat we need is a good crosser,,Gary Nevile is okie on the right but he is most effective when performing the overlap runs. I think Fletcher will be groomed to take tat role but he has to learn fast. Ryan Giggs has been on the left flank for 10 yrs ! while on the right we had seen Cantona for a short period, followed by Andrei the speedy gonzales for a few explosive yrs and then it was Beckham from 96 till 03.
Let hope the new lads can pick up fast.
ccloh
27-10-2003, 06:01 PM
what utd loose out in the match against fulham is the midfield dynamo of roy keane who control the midfield. w/o some1 control the midfield, given u the best striker in the world also got problem scoring as no one provide the link to him. the midfield that day basically is invisible. u need some1 to break down fulham attack in the midfield and get organize for an attack once the defence or the midfield got hold of the ball.
giggs and scholes are players that dont really wrack the ball in the midfield from opponent and get the team organize for an attack ran. they are the link from the mastermind in the midfield to the striker. with keane ard, u can see him all over the pitch from defend to attack organizing the team. too bad currently with the midfield that we have no one has the capability as keane yet. butt is awesome in wracking the ball from opponents in midfield but he can't really organize an attack once he got hold of the ball. eric well still need time for him to train to be the next keane.
going down the history of utd. we have bryan robson last time, followed by paul ince and then keane. keane's age is catching up so need some1 fast to take over him.
for those who see bryan robson played for utd in the midfield role (well not that many occassion since he was very injuiry proned), u can see how he marshalled the midfield once he got the ball and directing players to position "correctly".
RuMmYtUb
27-10-2003, 06:06 PM
Keano is the key, he protects his back 4 well enuff the way Butt-Djemba didn't...
He's like Makelele of Utd, winning the balls and orchestrating attacks to our 'Zidane' and 'Raul'
ccloh
27-10-2003, 06:22 PM
Keano is the key, he protects his back 4 well enuff the way Butt-Djemba didn't...
He's like Makelele of Utd, winning the balls and orchestrating attacks to our 'Zidane' and 'Raul'
Makelele of real madrid lah. hmm though chelski wants him. well another 1 is edgar davids of juv.
chelski have already bought Makelele lah, Davids available on Bosman ruling, maybe we should go after him. ;)
Phil Neville is expected to be restored to the Manchester United team for the Carling Cup match against Leeds at Elland Road on Tuesday night.
The midfielder was rested at the weekend after scoring the winner in the Champions League victory over Rangers.
Sir Alex Ferguson plans to stick to his formula of fielding fringe first-team players, even though the scheme came unstuck against Fulham at the weekend.
Ferguson left Roy Keane, Phil Neville, Paul Scholes and Quinton Fortune out of his starting line-up, but the plan backfired as Fulham ran out 3-1 winners.
He could recall Neville, Scholes and Fortune for the third-round cup-tie, but skipper Keane is unlikely to feature, even though he scored the winner on United's Premiership visit 10 days ago.
Teenagers Darren Fletcher and Cristiano Ronaldo could start and the United boss has confirmed that Nicky Butt, Eric Djemba-Djemba, David Bellion, Diego Forlan and support goalkeeper Roy Carroll will all play.
It could be just before the kick off that he decides whether to make up the rest of his side with first-team regulars or call up youngsters like Kieran Richardson, Danny Pugh, Mark Lynch, Paul Tierney and Chris Eagles from his reserve side.
Mikael Silvestre looks certain to miss out as he has treatment on a knee injury picked up on Saturday, with John O'Shea set to take his place at the centre of the defence.
Manchester United (from): Carroll, Pugh, Lynch, G Neville, Tierney, O'Shea, Fortune, Fletcher, Eagles, Djemba-Djemba, Butt, P Neville, Scholes, Forlan, Ronaldo, Richardson, Bellion, Giggs, Williams.
dongcute
27-10-2003, 07:08 PM
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Makelele in MU?
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN
chelski have already bought Makelele lah, Davids available on Bosman ruling, maybe we should go after him. ;)
cannot lah...u wan him and ruud to fight again? :o anyway he too old liao....fergie is grooming eric to take over him ma....so let eric to learn his trade fr butt and keano lor....
oh yeah I forgot about that incident, dun want that to happen, eric need time to settle down. ;)
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 09:04 PM
hey guys...wat u think of tml league cup? fergie will be fielding youngster leh.....i really hope they can at least draw and not loss lor....
if loss we out of the cup....then no more matches for those youngster to play liao.....
draw? win? loss?
my predictable line-up
Carroll
Pugh
G Neville
O'Shea
Fortune
Ronaldo
Eric Djemba Djemba
Phil Neville
Giggs
Bellion
Forlan
Honestly speaking, we should try and win this match.
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 09:12 PM
dun think ronaldo will start....fergie say he will play him onli once 1 wk.....
so i think Richardson will start....
Ch3tah_39
27-10-2003, 09:12 PM
man utd shld try to win lorz..:D
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
man utd shld try to win lorz..:D
yalor....at least more matches for those youngster to play....
Ruud, Keane, Scholes, Howard, Rio will be rested I think, Silvestre got injured on Sat and won't play.
Kiwi8
27-10-2003, 09:59 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
chelsea will not be champion for EPL. if it does, i dun post anymore forever in football forum.
Better not be tua kang like Flinchy.
ccloh
27-10-2003, 11:26 PM
fergie is serving his last match ban for the league cup.
tianwei
27-10-2003, 11:37 PM
hey guys...wat u think of tml league cup? fergie will be fielding youngster leh.....i really hope they can at least draw and not loss lor....
if loss we out of the cup....then no more matches for those youngster to play liao.....
draw? win? loss?
shld be "draw? win? lose?"....:D
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 11:37 PM
great we always tend to lose when he not in the stand...that time he went for his son wedding dinner we oso lost to boro at home.....:mad: :D
guoquanyap
27-10-2003, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by tianwei
shld be "draw? win? lose?"....:D
:mad: :mad: okie okie...
ralliart_ray
28-10-2003, 12:52 AM
great we always tend to loss when he not in the stand...that time he went for his son wedding dinner we oso lost to boro at home.....:mad: :D
:laugh: i still remember
ralliart_ray
28-10-2003, 08:25 AM
from the way i see them play... we miss Solskjaer alot
ccloh
28-10-2003, 09:15 AM
as usual this league cup is of lowest priority to SAF. he will field lots of youngster. i think will see roy caroll in goal and some young defenders in the defence. phil neville and eric will marshal the midfield. bellion and forlan will have their starts and suspect ronaldo will be on the bench and ready to come on any time as a sub. fletcher will be running down the right flank. between giggs and scholes one of them will be playing and the other warm the bench.
RVN might be playing to let him score some goals to gain some confident. too bad kleberson is still out if not will see him in action too.
OreoCookies
28-10-2003, 02:02 PM
He'll back just in time for the Chelsea match-up... ;)
Somehow, I think Fergie chose not to appeal the ban precisely because his present ban applies to two somewhat 'low-key' games... I guess if he had appealed and failed, then the ban may take place during the more intense part of the league schedule, and we wouldn't want that, would we?
Shrewd yet smart move by the one and only SAF, I'd say... :D
OreoCookies
28-10-2003, 02:04 PM
Solskjaer should be back around Christmas, together with Wes Brown... Hope we don't suffer too much from their absence in the meantime... :o
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Injured Manchester United duo Wes Brown and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer should be ready to return to action by Christmas.
The news is a welcome boost for manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who saw his side beaten 3-1 at home to Fulham at the weekend.
Injury jinxed defender Brown is recovering from cruciate ligament surgery and Solskjaer is making a good recovery from knee surgery.
"Wes is doing fine. All his remedial work is good and he is probably ahead of the game a bit, but we aren't taking any chances. It will be Christmas time when he is ready to play again," Ferguson told manutd.com.
"The same applies to Ole. He will be back by Christmas. He thinks he is ready now to start doing more, but no, it is Christmas for him as well."
Meanwhile Phil Neville, who was rested against Fulham after playing in every game so far this season, is expected to be restored to the starting line-up for the Carling Cup match against Leeds at Elland Road on Tuesday.
Goalkeeper Roy Carroll will replace Tim Howard while Nicky Butt, Eric Djemba-Djemba and Diego Forlan also look set to be included in the starting line-up.
There could also be places in the squad for Kieran Richardson, Danny Pugh, Paul Tierney and Chris Eagles.
OreoCookies
28-10-2003, 02:13 PM
Leeds boss Peter Reid is hoping for another stroke of Carling Cup fortune to prevent him from going completely mad.
For Reid and his frustrated players, it was another hard luck story at Liverpool on Saturday as Leeds earned more plaudits for another plucky performance, but ultimately emerged pointless.
Reid concedes he is going crazy bemoaning his side's misfortune, even more so when he considers the decisions over the course of the season which have robbed the Whites of precious points to leave them one off the bottom in the Premier League.
At Anfield, Reid's angst was underlined as referee Jeff Winter deemed three offside players were not interfering with play when Danny Murphy scored Liverpool's second in a 3-1 victory, over-ruling his linesman.
No wonder Reid could do with the kind of luck against Manchester United in a third-round clash at Elland Road which saw Leeds eventually overcome Swindon in the previous round, even if it is not good for the manager's health.
Trailing 2-0 with 15 minutes remaining, Leeds forced extra time when goalkeeper Paul Robinson headed home an injury-time equaliser and eventually went through on penalties.
"If somebody is in the six-yard box in the middle of goal, if he's not interfering with play then my eyes are going," said Reid, as he again sifted through the wreckage of his side's latest defeat.
"I mean, am I going crackers? I've heard the argument that no one was in Robinson's eyeline, yet if they were stood behind him would they be offside?"
"It's gone now. It's history. All we're concentrating on is the Manchester United game, but if I looked back over some of the decisions then I'd drive myself mad."
"Hopefully we can get a positive result to change the way things have been going for us because we can't keep having these hard luck stories."
"It's driving me mad saying we're playing well and not getting a result. You can only say that for so long."
"Obviously, I am concerned about the results because eight points from 10 games is not good enough, so it would be tremendous if we could get a result against Manchester United."
"It would give us that bit of confidence going into a difficult league game against Arsenal on Saturday, so I will settle for a Robinson winner this time!"
Reid will rest midfielder David Batty as he is anxious the 34-year-old is fit to face the Gunners. With Jermaine Pennant cup-tied, it means there will be changes in the Leeds line-up.
Phil Neville is expected to be restored to the Manchester United team after the midfielder was rested at the weekend after scoring the winner in the Champions League victory over Rangers.
Goalkeeper Roy Carroll will replace Tim Howard while Nicky Butt, Eric Djemba-Djemba and Diego Forlan also look set to be included in the starting line-up.
There could also be places in the squad for Kieran Richardson, Danny Pugh, Paul Tierney and Chris Eagles.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, Leeds looks to be without Batty & Pennant, two of their better performers to date... That should be the cue for our youngsters to try and get a result, as well as to boost team morale... ;)
RuMmYtUb
28-10-2003, 02:15 PM
Yea pretty obvious, think he links up better wif RVN than Poorlan..
ralliart_ray
28-10-2003, 02:40 PM
Yea pretty obvious, think he links up better wif RVN than Poorlan..
Poorlan CMI =_="
derrace
28-10-2003, 04:51 PM
hey, could someone tell me what happened to jesper blomquist(??) ?
RuMmYtUb
28-10-2003, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by derrace
gone back to some swedish clubs..
cracker
28-10-2003, 05:38 PM
he was at everton for a while....believed he is still ard in English League...cos did see his name appear recently.
ralliart_ray
28-10-2003, 06:09 PM
he was a good player... same pattern as giggs but sadly...injury ruined him.
leslielai
28-10-2003, 06:25 PM
Should be at Charlton.
ccloh
28-10-2003, 07:20 PM
SAF bought him then 'cos he was at that time one of the few left winger who could run at defenders and dribble passed them and at the same time provide cover for ryan giggs (giggs was easily injuired then). unfortunately, he didn't quite make a name for himself and also injury got it onto him that ruin his career at utd.
ne3dA1wAys5
28-10-2003, 08:22 PM
can leeds win/draw?:eek: :angel:
Originally posted by ne3dA1wAys5
can leeds win/draw?:eek: :angel:
Hope United win. ;)
Paul Scholes is poised to miss Manchester United's return meeting with UEFA Champions League rivals Rangers through injury.
The influential midfielder picked up a groin strain in training on Monday and is believed to have been ruled out of action for at least a fortnight.
Scholes, who has already missed a chunk of the campaign with a hernia problem, will be a key absentee for the Premiership champions.
The England international had been rested from the starting line-up for Saturday's shock defeat to Fulham but did enter the fray as a late substitute.
However, he is now expected to be sidelined for at least the next two league fixtures against Portsmouth and old foes Liverpool.
But the 28-year-old will also be a big loss for next Tuesday's Champions League tie against Scottish titans Rangers.
Scholes played an important role in United's gritty 1-0 success at Ibrox last Wednesday and would have been a valuable pawn in manager Sir Alex Ferguson's game plan for the return tussle at Old Trafford.
Ferguson will be anxious for Scholes not to be ruled out for longer than the initial two weeks as The Red Devils seek to sustain their quest for honours both at home and abroad.
**** liao, not again. :mad:
ralliart_ray
28-10-2003, 08:42 PM
poor scholes =_=:::::
And Ronaldo will be rested today like you have said, fergie will play him once a week. maybe this could be the midfield.
Richardson or Eagles
Djemba or Phil
Butt
Fletcher or Giggs
cracker
28-10-2003, 08:52 PM
why a few United players are so injury prone ?
the few are:
wes brown; fortune, (current squad)
blomquist , dion dublin.(ex-players)
there are a few more which I cant recalled right now.:confused:
why a few United players are so injury prone ?
the few are:
wes brown; fortune, (current squad)
blomquist , dion dublin.(ex-players)
there are a few more which I cant recalled right now.:confused:
bad luck lor, so suay.
even the new arrival Kleberson also still kena injured, Solskjaer injured as well. :(
Scholes and Soskjaer injured at the same time, Giggs having a dip in form and Ronaldo not quite ready yet.
We have some problems in the creativity department.
Have faith though the gaffer will sort it. ;)
SG_Jimmy
28-10-2003, 10:07 PM
Remember we r Man Utd ! have faith !
RuMmYtUb
28-10-2003, 11:02 PM
But i still dunno why Giggs started on the right against Fulham... :mad: :confused:
NanDesKa
28-10-2003, 11:06 PM
But i still dunno why Giggs started on the right against Fulham... :mad: :confused: yeah..
one wonders..
edhorizon
28-10-2003, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Better not be tua kang like Flinchy.
i say liao, i will do it.
Jass_02
29-10-2003, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Hope United win. ;)
i'll be happy as long as the youngsters perform well during the match...
guoquanyap
29-10-2003, 01:24 AM
But i still dunno why Giggs started on the right against Fulham... :mad: :confused:
becos ronaldo seems more comfortable on the left so giggs bo pian have to start on the right lor...but during the match they oso often swtiched flanks...
guoquanyap
29-10-2003, 01:25 AM
gonna watch the match later on, hope can see more promising youngster coming thru e rank
RuMmYtUb
29-10-2003, 02:22 AM
becos ronaldo seems more comfortable on the left so giggs bo pian have to start on the right lor...but during the match they oso often swtiched flanks...
Ya but the problem is Giggs dun seem comfy on the right... very un-natural.. but lucky that day his right foot nv let him down... Think Ronaldo shld start training on the right if not we dun haf a natural right winger... :(
cracker
29-10-2003, 06:26 AM
Leeds 2 Man Utd 3...
read my report for all the details....but beri happy with the contribution of Eagles, Bellion. Fletcher and surprise surprise Forlan de Horlan. Djemba was good but on and off still need nasty boy Butt to bail him out.
Overall a good performance by Man Utd considering the number reserve team players in the starting 11.
Catch the replay.
Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes will be out of action for up to four weeks.
Scholes had an operation on Tuesday on both his groins but the condition is not a hernia as first thought.
"Paul Scholes' groin problem has re-occurred and he has had to have surgery to both groins," said an Old Trafford spokesman.
"He is likely to be out for three to four weeks."
Scholes was plagued by the problem earlier this season and thought he had got over it after the injury appeared to settle.
But it has flared up again and the 28-year-old will probably now miss England's friendly with Denmark at Old Trafford on 16 November.
That's not good news Think we need him probably more than most players just because he's class, damm. :(
ralliart_ray
29-10-2003, 09:03 AM
won leeds...wOOoooo poorlan scored.
so did Bellion and Eric Djemba Djemba. :)
vivre
29-10-2003, 09:30 AM
Wah... Forlan Man of the Match ah!!!! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
ccloh
29-10-2003, 09:35 AM
Originally posted by vivre
he is a gd player lah in general. just that in the presence of rvn, giggs, scholes, etc he was being overshadowed and perhaps affect his performance abit.
well if utd progress all the win to the final for the league cup, u can see forlan keeps scoring.
a surprise to see a winning goal from eric.
lennardseah
29-10-2003, 09:36 AM
last season forlan got a scoring streak until he got injured. hopefully he continues it until the offform nisterooy and injured ole gunner comes back
Geforce3
29-10-2003, 09:59 AM
i thought giggs used to play on the right flank b4 becks period, during the time of steve bruce, cantona and lee sharpe?
swordy84
29-10-2003, 11:00 AM
I didn't watch the match but it's nice to hear that the youngsters did well in the match. Hope that United can go as far as they can in the league cup, so that the youngsters and reserve team players can have more chance to play in competitive matches rather than reserve matches.
RuMmYtUb
29-10-2003, 11:25 AM
Dammit i fell asleep, got replay of the match ?
cracker
29-10-2003, 11:33 AM
he was totally different from last Saturday game...
though he did miss a couple of sitters but his industry won lots of fans over
ccloh
29-10-2003, 01:20 PM
Originally posted by Geforce3
i thought giggs used to play on the right flank b4 becks period, during the time of steve bruce, cantona and lee sharpe?
hmm thought that was kanchelski ??? he and paul parker marshal the right flank
ralliart_ray
29-10-2003, 02:16 PM
he is a gd player lah in general. just that in the presence of rvn, giggs, scholes, etc he was being overshadowed and perhaps affect his performance abit.
agree
guoquanyap
29-10-2003, 02:27 PM
it was a great game of football and nv boring man....nv once felt sleepy when watching......
great play by the labs yestersday and i actually found they are more excieting to watch......
guoquanyap
29-10-2003, 02:32 PM
yestersday show wat the first team are lacking at the moment.....hunger, willingness, enthusiasm and determination......woots....
the game changed when eagles was bring on and bellion to the left and fletcher in the middle.....
if we wan some sparks in the middle.....give fletcher the place....he perform so well when he play in the middle than on the right.....no wonder even keano give him his vote to play in the middle.....
cracker
29-10-2003, 03:21 PM
it was a great game of football and nv boring man....nv once felt sleepy when watching......
great play by the labs yestersday and i actually found they are more excieting to watch......
The first 45 min was a real bored !!!
things only picked up after Bellion's equaliser.
Actually I looked forward to the repeat telecast of the game...still feel tat the leeds second goal was scored in offside position but then again they were also denied a legitimate penalty..so even steven.
It was a real refreshing to watch some new faces...
where did the Eagleman land from ?...
The first 45 min was a real bored !!!
things only picked up after Bellion's equaliser.
Actually I looked forward to the repeat telecast of the game...still feel tat the leeds second goal was scored in offside position but then again they were also denied a legitimate penalty..so even steven.
It was a real refreshing to watch some new faces...
where did the Eagleman land from ?...
He was signed from Watford in a swap deal with Webber going the other way.
cracker
29-10-2003, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN
ic
tot he was the the other American tat MU signed in summer...cos Eagle is a rather unusual surname.
Manchester United have made an offer for rising Chinese star Dong Fangzhuo, according to Dalian Shide manager Lin Lefeng.
Lin revealed United tabled a bid believed to be in the region of £1 million for Dong, but Dalian will only let the talented forward go permanently if United increase their offer.
However, Lin is open to the idea of loaning the player to the Premiership giants for free, an option he believes will benefit the 18-year-old tremendously.
"What United had offered is not meant to be disclosed but I can assure you it's more than £1 million we are talking about here," said Lin.
"Dalian would not mind striking a loan deal because we see no harm in such an arrangement for the player in question.
"For the benefit of the team, as well as for the player, the club insist that the player be allowed to move on a long-term deal. As long as that is agreed upon, the price is inconsequential.
"We hope we can get Dong to England. We don't mind a three to five-year loan deal and as part of the club's sincerity, we are willing to allow letting the player go for free on loan.
"We hope the deal can be struck when the transfer window reopens in January. It is not money that we are after. We have ambitions far beyond a player transfer."
Dong first caught the eye of United's coaching staff when he impressed in a two-week trial in September and manager Sir Alex Ferguson has stepped up his interest.
He made his senior club debut for Dalian last year as a 17-year-old, scoring twice in the process, and he is earmarked to be the successor of China's legendary striker Hao Haidong.
A Forlan Hope
John Brewin
Look up. A terrible headline. Nothing better came to mind. Or more fitting either. Because Diego Forlan has little hope of being the answer to Manchester United's striking conundrum of how to take the burden off Ruud Van Nistelrooy.
Take his display on Saturday against Fulham. He may have scored his first goal since January but the rest of his display was marked by a total lack of communication with his fellow forward.
Van Nistelrooy's exasperation was most evident when Forlan, with the scores at 1-1 and United in a rare period of ascendancy at the beginning of the second half, had a golden chance to play in the Dutchman when just Edwin Van Der Saar stood in the way of a certain goal.
Forlan, needless to say, saw glory. But the ball landed in the Stretford End and with it went United's chance of gaining a foothold in a game that was slipping away from them.
The defence was certainly culpable in the 3-1 defeat but it was Forlan's selection, seemingly at the expense of Paul Scholes, perhaps United's most effective player this season, that was the subject of disquiet as fans filed out of Old Trafford on Saturday.
With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer recovering from knee surgery, United's striking options are severely limited. Any injury now to Ruud Van Nistelrooy could derail United's domestic and continental ambitions.
A failure to add experienced and proven cover in the summer looks a complete oversight, especially considering the bolstering of midfield that the signings of Kleberson, Eric Djemba Djemba and Cristiano Ronaldo provided.
Links with the likes of Patrick Kluivert, Roy Makaay and Jermain Defoe (a rumoured January transfer window target) came to naught and Van Nistelrooy began the season as he spent much of last - carrying the greater part of the team's scoring threat. Though Scholes weighed in with 20 goals last season and Solskjaer weighed in with 14, often from the wing, the Dutchman's 44 goals dwarfed anyone else's contribution.
It seems a far cry from the days when Dwight Yorke, Teddy Sheringham, Andy Cole and Solksjaer vied for a place in the Premiership's most free-scoring attack. Should Van Nistelrooy falter, and he has looked somewhat weary of late, then United have no comparable striker to call on.
What of the Uruguayan? He ended the season with nine United goals, most of those coming in a streak either side of Christmas. He had begun to look like the player that United paid £7.5m for in January 2002. But then, after an injury sustained against Juventus in February, he retreated to the bench, with Ferguson seemingly loathe to call on his services while Van Nistelrooy and Scholes, in a withdrawn striker role, made hay.
That fee looks a ridiculously high price now for an unproven talent with a questionable scoring record. And there seems little chance of him proving his worth at Old Trafford. Considering that United are widely understood to have attempted to let Forlan go in part-exchange for Real Betis' Joaquin and been heavily linked with a possible sale to Sevilla, it certainly seems that the man who matters, Sir Alex Ferguson, feels the Uruguayan is expendable.
Saturday's performance may well see Forlan slip further down the pecking order. Frenchman David Bellion, a very raw prospect indeed, came on as a late substitute and threatened far more in his brief cameo. Ferguson, expelled to the stands by the FA, cannot have failed to notice the complete lack of communication between Forlan and his attacking colleagues.
How he must rue the loss of Solksjaer, who along with his finishing, has a keen football brain and now Scholes, who has no peer in the English game in terms of footballing intelligence.
Brains seem to be the issue with Forlan. A player who operates on his instincts first and thinks second, the former tennis prodigy usually flounders when given time to think about what he's doing. At times his finishing has been incendiary - the instinctive lash that saw off Chelsea last season comes to mind. At other times he can resemble a hybrid of Andy Cole in his darkest hour at United and a newly-born foal.
Mention must be made of Cole. For it was he that the Uruguayan replaced in the transfer window of 2002, for just about the same money. Cole in his early days at United, was known as a finisher but left the club as one of the hardest-working target-men in the game ranking second in the Premiership's all-time scoring list.
It truly seems a forlorn hope that Forlan will leave Old Trafford with anything like the same status.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=281732&cc=4716
RuMmYtUb
29-10-2003, 06:52 PM
Replay starting in 5 mins, gonna catch it..
RuMmYtUb
29-10-2003, 06:55 PM
No Van Buyten ? (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=281706&cc=4716)
=============================
Comments ?
kengbeng
29-10-2003, 07:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Pardon me. I think he was from the youth squad all along.
At least that was the case in CM4. He was in the youth team already, with Webber still in the reserves.
RuMmYtUb
29-10-2003, 08:35 PM
Saw the replay, Djemba's goal damn swee... btw got 1 player's name called Eagles, he's got prospect :D
cracker
29-10-2003, 08:50 PM
Saw the replay, Djemba's goal damn swee... btw got 1 player's name called Eagles, he's got prospect :D
worthed watching,right?
RuMmYtUb
29-10-2003, 08:58 PM
worthed watching,right?
Yup :D :bounce:
No Van Buyten ? (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=281706&cc=4716)
=============================
Comments ?
they want 15m for him in order to consider sell him, thats too much, not worth it.
Manchester United have reported Chelsea to the Premier League for apparently using Peter Kenyon's services when he is still under contract to the Old Trafford club.
Kenyon is currently on `gardening leave' from United who have yet to reach an agreement with Chelsea as to when he can start working for them as chief executive.
However a report in Spain quoted Real Madrid's director of football Jorge Valdano saying he had talked with Kenyon about Chelsea signing Michel Salgado, and as a consequence United have pointed out the matter to the Premier League.
Under the terms of Kenyon's contract he has to give United a full year's notice but negotiations are continuing with Chelsea, who will have to pay compensation if they want him to start work earlier.
Fulham stun Old Trafford and Wolves amaze Molineux - watch the video round-up of the weekend's action...
A United spokesman said: "Negotiations are on-going and no agreement has been reached on settling the departure date."
United are keen to avoid a bitter dispute with Chelsea but by reporting the Salgado incident to the Premier League have ensured that it is taken into account in the negotiations over compensation.
RuMmYtUb
30-10-2003, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by RVN
they want 15m for him in order to consider sell him, thats too much, not worth it.
Agreed, 15m can buy a quality striker liao..
guoquanyap
30-10-2003, 01:40 AM
rio's verdict going to be out tmr...pray that the ban will not be very long...
RuMmYtUb
30-10-2003, 01:44 AM
rio's verdict going to be out tmr...pray that the ban will not be very long...
Finally gonna face the reality..
Jass_02
30-10-2003, 01:46 AM
FA charge Rio with misconduct
Dominic Raynor
The Football Association have charged Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand with misconduct over his failure to attend a drugs test on September 23.
The FA have been considering the case against the England centre-back ever since UK Sport inspectors visited United's Carrington training ground to conduct the test.
Ferdinand has been deemed to be in breach of rule E26, with reference to Regulation 1(c) of the FA Doping Control Regulations.
Regulation 1(c) refers to 'the failure or refusal by a player to submit to drug testing as required by a competent official'.
Ferdinand, who has always denied intentionally avoiding the initial dope test and passed a subsequent test 36 hours later, has 14 days to respond.
Having avoided the more serious charge of a 'willful failure to comply', which carries a maximum two-year ban, the response from the player is expected to be swift.
But the inclusion of the term 'refusal' in the FA charge still means that Ferdinand could face a lengthy ban if he fails to convince the panel that he innocently forget to take the test.
The FA have already interviewed the player and investigated his mobile phone records in a preliminary hearing and could have charged the 24-year-old with the lesser offence of 'failure to submit to drug testing'.
Ferdinand's club released a statement saying: 'Manchester United notes the decision by the Football Association today to charge Rio Ferdinand with misconduct for failure to attend a drugs test.
'The player will be responding to the charge and seeking a personal hearing in accordance with FA procedures.'
Players' union chief Gordon Taylor was happy to hear Ferdinand had not been charged with the maximum offence and suggested that he should therefore suffer a more lenient penalty.
However, the Professional Footballers' Association chief executive repeated his criticism of the FA for naming Ferdinand and preventing his selection for England's Euro 2004 match in Turkey.
He told Sky Sports News: 'It's not been a good news story full stop but I am pleased he hasn't been charged with a wilful refusal.
'From Rio's point of view the charges are good news, keeping things in proportion. It is certainly a lesser charge so a lesser charge should carry a lesser penalty.
'When I say a lesser penalty, it is not prejudging what is coming out of the hearing but clearly if it was a wilful refusal the penalties are much steeper.
'Rio has said he was innocent of this but he can't say he took the test because he didn't and from that point of view no-one can say he wasn't wrong, it's just a matter of context.
'There should have been no naming and no initial penalty imposed until an initial hearing.
'The FA made it clear he was going to be charged even before the initial hearing so I feel they started to prejudice the rights to a fair hearing. But that's a legal issue and it's a matter for Rio and his employer, Manchester United.'
hush66
30-10-2003, 02:19 AM
Since this thread seems to be full of latest news on what is going on with United, here's something from the ManUtd.com site:
Congratulations from everyone at Old Trafford to Mikael and Sev Silvestre who became the proud parents of a baby girl, Cleo, on Monday night.
Cleo weighed in at a very healthy 7lbs and both mother and baby are doing well.
Although he wasn’t involved in last night’s thrilling 3-2 Carling Cup victory at Leeds, Mikael should be back in first team action on Saturday against Portsmouth at Old Trafford.
:D
RuMmYtUb
30-10-2003, 03:31 AM
Heng ar Rio escaped 2 years ban, but mayB will kanna 3 months :mad:
ccloh
30-10-2003, 09:03 AM
next rnd league cup draw against WBA who knocked out newcastle last night. will see more of forlan, bellion, eric, maybe kleberson and other youngster already :)
ccloh
30-10-2003, 09:06 AM
Originally posted by RVN
aiya nowaday everybody want to chop utd for the $$$
ralliart_ray
30-10-2003, 10:02 AM
aiya nowaday everybody want to chop utd for the $$$
richest club in the world:eek: :eek:
Heng ar Rio escaped 2 years ban, but mayB will kanna 3 months :mad:
at least he escaped the more serious charge of wilfully missing the test. no ban given yet on the punishnment but 3 months like you say still a blow. :mad:
Alienz
30-10-2003, 12:21 PM
Originally posted by RVN
at least he escaped the more serious charge of wilfully missing the test. no ban given yet on the punishnment but 3 months like you say still a blow. :mad:
Hope Blown will be back soon and pls don't put Gary in the centre defence
Originally posted by Alienz
Silvestre and O'Shea in the central defence lah. ;)
Alienz
30-10-2003, 12:27 PM
Hmm never seem them play in the central defence, both been playing left central defence
Manchester United will play West Bromwich Albion away in the fourth round of the Carling Cup.
The two sides were drawn out of the hat together on Wednesday night, following Albion's surprise extra-time win at Newcastle in the third round. United won 3-1 on their last visit to The Hawthorns, in January, en route to winning the Premiership title.
Should be a good game for some of our kids, Fletcher, Eagles, Richardson and Bellion.
RuMmYtUb
30-10-2003, 12:46 PM
Let's not underestimate WBA since they knocked out Newcastle ;)
we won't underestimate them, but this is the match we know we can win. ;)
Depends which line-up Fergie picked. Might be the same as what we did against Leeds, maybe Ronaldo and Kleberson will get their chance.
Alienz
30-10-2003, 12:55 PM
Fergie don't even care much about Carling Cup. What he think is, this is just a youngsters training session...... ;)
RuMmYtUb
30-10-2003, 01:14 PM
Originally posted by RVN
we won't underestimate them, but this is the match we know we can win. ;)
Depends which line-up Fergie picked. Might be the same as what we did against Leeds, maybe Ronaldo and Kleberson will get their chance.
Gd time for Kleberson to get back his match fitness
chyehock
30-10-2003, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United will play West Bromwich Albion away in the fourth round of the Carling Cup.
The two sides were drawn out of the hat together on Wednesday night, following Albion's surprise extra-time win at Newcastle in the third round. United won 3-1 on their last visit to The Hawthorns, in January, en route to winning the Premiership title.
Should be a good game for some of our kids, Fletcher, Eagles, Richardson and Bellion.
saw eagles plays and he seems to be very impressive.
ralliart_ray
30-10-2003, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
saw eagles plays and he seems to be very impressive.
who is Eagles? from the youth acadamy? :cool:
Maybe Nardiello might also play, hes on loan to Swansea for a month, he be back on 22th of November. The league Cup tie against West Brom on Dec 1, so who knows. :rolleyes:
cracker
30-10-2003, 04:05 PM
Fergie don't even care much about Carling Cup. What he think is, this is just a youngsters training session...... ;)
last season he was beri interested.....every game he send in his first 11...but whole team screwed up in the final.
Rio Ferdinand will almost certainly be banned from football for three months after being charged with misconduct by the Football Association last night.
The Manchester United and England defender has 14 days to answer the charge which follows his failure to take a drugs test on September 23.
The case will be heard by the FA's disciplinary commission, under the chairmanship of Barry Bright. The FA, who examined Ferdinand's statements and mobile telephone records in minute detail, sent a 40-page statement to United to accompany the charge, which refers to "the failure or refusal by a player to submit to drug testing as required by a competent official."
The key word is "refusal," and the FA may well take the line that by failing to take the test he was guilty of a refusal and therefore open to a more severe punishment.
There is, however, no use of the word "wilful," which covers a second regulation for refusing to give a urine sample once a player is in the room where testers expect the sample to be given. That would have meant an automatic two-year ban.
The FA are convinced that Ferdinand could not have forgotten that he had to take the test in the relatively short time between being told his name had been drawn and his leaving the training ground.
And they are determined not to go easy on the England centre half despite the fact that a long ban could jeopardise the chances of the national side in next summer's European Championship.
A three-month ban would be considered a sharp enough reminder to the players of the seriousness of the offence, while appeasing the world governing body FIFA.
Ferdinand will miss his second England match when Denmark visit his club ground Old Trafford for a friendly on November 16, and he is unlikely to be selected for his country again until any punishment has been served.
Players' union chairman Gordon Taylor said last night that he feared Rio would be made an example of.
"There has been a lot of media attention and there has been pressure from FIFA. All of this could affect the hearing. Rio could still be facing a ban. He is a high-profile player. Whether they make an example of him remains to be seen. It's up to them," said the PFA chief.
"This hasn't been a good story from the start. The FA made it clear he would be charged from the outset. That starts to prejudice the right to a fair hearing.
Nobody said that what Rio did was not wrong. It's a matter of putting it into context."
A statement from Manchester United said: "The player will be responding to the charge and seeking a personal hearing in accordance with FA procedures."
A source close to Ferdinand said: "Rio will continue to protest his innocence. We know that he missed the test but we feel that he has given a proper account of why that happened. He does not deserve a ban and if he gets one then he will not be happy. He will fight his corner fiercely."
United will almost certainly appeal against any ban in the hope that Ferdinand's suspension can be delayed until Wes Brown is fit again to deputise for him in the centre of United's defence.
The FA know they are expected to take a strong line over drugs and are being watched by FIFA and UEFA, the European governing body, as well as by the World Anti-Doping Agency.
But United, having invested almost £30million in buying Ferdinand, will do everything within their power to achieve leniency f rom the FA disciplinary commission, although his defence will still hinge around the fact that he genuinely forgot and then did his best to go back and fulfil his duty.
United will also raise the precedent of Manchester City midfielder Christian Negouai, who was fined after missing a test in similar circumstances last January, and will also stress that Rio offered to return for a test on September 23. The FA, however, believe the Negouai case is not relevant.
Taylor, who is likely to be at Ferdinand's side when the commission meets, will bring up a number of issues in his defence, not least what he considers to be the breach of confidentiality which led to his being omitted from the England side in Turkey.
"There should be no announcement of names until the person involved has had an initial hearing. The FA set that hearing for the Monday after the Turkey game.
In leaving him out of the team, whether they admit to leaking the name or not, the fact is he was named and penalised before the initial hearing, which is in breach of WADA rules," said Taylor.
"The other aspect that worries us is that there is a code for the testers to stick with the player and if they can't be with him then he is to be given a form to say he will be with the tester within an hour.
"If the player is given that form and signs it there can be no misunderstanding because then it would be wilful refusal."
Yet, Ferdinand's main defence will still be the one he originally gave.
"Naive as it may sound to the cynics, he will say that he did forget and as soon as he was reminded of it he did his best to make himself available for testing," said Taylor.
"Nobody has ever denied he didn't take the test. But there has been a penalty already by him missing the Turkey game and he has been branded around the world, not least from FIFA."
RuMmYtUb
30-10-2003, 04:34 PM
who is Eagles? from the youth acadamy? :cool:
Yea, young prospect..
Ch3tah_39
30-10-2003, 09:14 PM
man utd next rnd against wba...
man utd shld be able to win the match....:D
Jass_02
30-10-2003, 11:20 PM
Silvestre and O'Shea in the central defence lah.
Gary showed his experience in the game against leeds...he was always there in the right place at the right time to intercept important passes and he had so far played very well in this season...
as for oshea he sometimes look clumsy when in central defence and slow to react...
think gary n silvestre will make a good pair in the central defence until rio or brown return...
guoquanyap
31-10-2003, 01:26 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Rio Ferdinand will almost certainly be banned from football for three months after being charged with misconduct by the Football Association last night.
hope rio will be ban for only 3/4 months so by then when he comes back he'll be fresh for the championship race...
SG_Jimmy
31-10-2003, 01:50 AM
hope rio will be ban for only 3/4 months so by then when he comes back he'll be fresh for the championship race... Ya loh, but better dun be ban :D
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 03:01 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02
Gary showed his experience in the game against leeds...he was always there in the right place at the right time to intercept important passes and he had so far played very well in this season...
as for oshea he sometimes look clumsy when in central defence and slow to react...
think gary n silvestre will make a good pair in the central defence until rio or brown return...
Gary is a pretty good player and leader, but he lacks the height of Ferdinand and Brown... Could prove to be a slight problem when defending against high corners and crosses... :(
Another problem... If Gary moves to the centre, then who'll relieve him of his right-back duties? :confused:
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 03:04 AM
hope rio will be ban for only 3/4 months so by then when he comes back he'll be fresh for the championship race...
Wah... 3/4 months is a long time sia... If he really kena ban, then our defence really paper-thin liaoz... :(
hush66
31-10-2003, 05:41 AM
I thought some of you might like a Man U wallpaper I did some time back. It's nothing much, just Roy, Rio and Ruud (the 3Rs!) wearing the black kit against a black background. :)
Right-click and save target on this link (http://www.geocities.com/hush66/ManU_Black_Kit_1600.jpg).
ccloh
31-10-2003, 09:06 AM
if i not wrong FIFA has made a statement that if utd goes to court to fight over the case of rio they will have to face the possibility of being ban from CL.
ralliart_ray
31-10-2003, 09:21 AM
they r waiting for rio to response to the charges right?
or awaiting for the judgement?
swordy84
31-10-2003, 10:09 AM
Gary is not the best, but certainly is a very decent player. He is usually good and reliable when he doesn't make mistakes, but somehow I don't think it suit him very well to play in the central defence. I think he can attack better than doing defending, especially with his superb long throws and decent crosses etc.
O'Shea also isn't that good playing in the central defence, I think he plays better on the left.
Hope that Wes Brown recovers soon so that he can partner Silvestre in the central defence.
David Jones, Midfielder
Squad Number: 31
Born: Southport, 4 Nov 1984
Signed 2 July 2001
David Jones, 18, is an accomplished central midfielder with good vision, equally impressive distribution and is comfortable with the ball at either foot. He excelled for Brian McClair’s youth side in a deep playmaker role in midfield, although he can play a variety of positions across the middle of the park.
The midfielder, who turns 19 next month, has taken the step up to reserve team football this season in his stride. Jones has been handed the number 31 shirt this season.
Although United’s midfield engine room is a difficult environment for a young player to thrive, Jones may see United’s progression in the Carling Cup as his opportunity to prove his potential.
Utilising reserve team football this season will be invaluable for his progression, but he will be in direct competition with fellow young midfield hopeful Kieran Richardson.
Eddie Johnson, Striker
Squad Number: 32
Born: 20 Sept 1984
Signed: 2 July 2001
Eddie Johnson’s style is very much in the form of a traditional English centre-forward. He holds the ball up well and his strong physique has
allowed him to excel at youth level.
Johnson signed for United after spending time at Crewe Alexandra's Centre of Excellence.
The 19-year-old scored the goal that secured the Youth Cup win at Old Trafford against Boro last season. The Chester-born forward will wear the number 32 shirt for United this term.
Eddie made his first team debut against Leeds in the Carling Cup on Tuesday night. Again, with Solskjaer out injured and Ruud less likely than most to add to his tally of League Cup appearances, Johnson may find chances arise in rounds to come.
But, with Daniel Nardiello out on loan with Swansea for the next month, Eddie should be given further opportunities by Ricky Sbragia in United's second string.
Chris Eagles, Midfielder
Squad Number: 33
Born: Hemel Hempstead, 19 Nov 1985
Signed: 8 July 2002
Chris Eagles, who came to United having been on Watford's books, is arguably the most exciting of three to graduate from the Reds' academy to first team football this season. At just 17 – he doesn’t turn 18 until 19 November – he made his debut in the cup fixture at Elland Road.
Coming on as a 65th-minute substitute for fellow Youth Cup-winner Kieran Richardson, Eagles showed confidence belying his years. It wasn’t explosive, but steady and assured. It wasn't spectacular, but calm and comfortable.
----------------------
These 3 players have been promoted by Fergie to the first team squad after good performances in the Reserve team! Hopefully they can emulate Butt, Scholes, Giggs and co.
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by hush66
I thought some of you might like a Man U wallpaper I did some time back. It's nothing much, just Roy, Rio and Ruud (the 3Rs!) wearing the black kit against a black background. :)
Right-click and save target on this link (http://www.geocities.com/hush66/ManU_Black_Kit_1600.jpg).
Interesting... Thanx for the effort... :D
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 12:49 PM
if i not wrong FIFA has made a statement that if utd goes to court to fight over the case of rio they will have to face the possibility of being ban from CL.
Not only the CL sia... The mentioned ban would also cover other FIFA-sanctioned competitions beyond the shores of England... :(
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 12:51 PM
they r waiting for rio to response to the charges right?
or awaiting for the judgement?
Now awaiting Rio's response to the charges lor... Standard 14 days to reply... :(
Hope everything will go well sia, else our defence really jia lat liaoz... Heck, even Beckham has stood up for Ferdinand, asking the FA not to ban him for too long... :o
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 12:54 PM
Gary is not the best, but certainly is a very decent player. He is usually good and reliable when he doesn't make mistakes, but somehow I don't think it suit him very well to play in the central defence. I think he can attack better than doing defending, especially with his superb long throws and decent crosses etc.
O'Shea also isn't that good playing in the central defence, I think he plays better on the left.
Hope that Wes Brown recovers soon so that he can partner Silvestre in the central defence.
Gary is a decent cover for the centre-half position, but I think he a bit the short to play there permanently...
O' Shea needs a bit more time if he wants to achieve his personal target of a centre-half slot... Well, even Silvestre took some time before feeling really comfortable in the centre...
Sir Alex Ferguson is confident Daniel Nardiello will return to Manchester United an improved player after his loan stint at Swansea City.
Nardiello linked up with the Third Division outfit last week on a month's loan, with Red Devils colleague Alan Tate joining him at Vetch Field.
Young striker Nardiello has struggled to establish himself in the first team squad at Old Trafford but has been a prolific scorer in the reserves.
The 21-year-old is following the well-trodden path of several United players, who have enjoyed loan stints away from the club to boost their experience.
United boss Ferguson believes it is imperative that former Wolves youth Nardiello samples competitive action, rather than continually playing for the Premiership champions' reserves.
"Daniel would have been in the squad for Leeds (in the Carling Cup) but it is important for his development that he gets more competitive football," outlined Ferguson.
"He has gone to Swansea, who are towards the top of their division, so it's the kind of challenge he really needs.
"We are trying to do this all the time, give young players the vital experience that Daniel is getting now.
"We have David Fox and Colin Heath out at Antwerp and Ben Williams has just come back from a month at Altrincham.
"Of course, Luke Chadwick and Michael Stewart are away at the moment, too. It puts them in an environment where they can learn because the Nationwide is a good league.
"It is much better for players of their age to play there than in our reserve team."
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 12:56 PM
PARIS, Oct 30 (Reuters) - FIFA has refused to allow Manchester United goalkeeper Fabien Barthez to move to Olympique Marseille on loan, a FIFA spokesman said on Thursday.
The decision by the players' committee of world soccer's ruling body was made 'on the basis of the transfer regulations which say transfers can only be registered during the transfer window' which opens again in January.
"The committee looked at the case and rejected the request," the spokesman said.
Marseille had said they wanted the nine-month loan of the France keeper to be completed by October 31 and had asked for a special dispensation from FIFA.
The French club has several important league games before January and Barthez can play only league games, and not in the Champions League, because he is still registered with United for European matches.
The spokesman said the French football federation had been informed of the decision and it would be formally announced on Friday.
"I have not been informed of anything officially by FIFA,' said Marseille president Christophe Bouchet. 'Apparently the press have been tipped off which is a bit of a strange way to communicate."
"I shall wait for an official decision before making any comment."
Marseille had asked for permission to sign Barthez, number three at United, because their reserve goalkeeper Cedric Carasso is out for several months with a knee injury.
But from the outset FIFA officials made it clear they were unwilling to make an exception for any player as it would set a precedent. The international transfer window is in only its second year of operation.
Marseille presented Barthez to the media last week and he was expected to replace Croatian Vedran Runje as number one.
OreoCookies
31-10-2003, 01:00 PM
Heh... Good to see that our youngsters are making headway in their careers... :)
A small step to take for each of them, but I'm sure it'll prove to be a huge reap for them in terms of match experience... :D
RuMmYtUb
31-10-2003, 06:29 PM
SAF back for saturday's match against Portsmouth..
tricky game, scared Teddy score ... :(
ccloh
31-10-2003, 06:38 PM
SAF back for saturday's match against Portsmouth..
tricky game, scared Teddy score ... :(
yap teddy has been doing very well for them since the transfer from spurs. oh dont forget berger also, scored one against liverpool hahaa
Another American starred for Manchester United on Thursday night as they chalked up their biggest win at reserve level this season.
Yankee youngster Kenny Cooper - a player recommended by senior goalkeeper Tim Howard - scored twice as Newcastle were hammered 4-0 on Tyneside.
The result brought Newcastle down with a bump as they went into the game looking for their seventh successive victory.
Facing a Magpies side which included four players with Premiership experience - Nikos Dabizas, Carl Cort, Jamie McClen and Michael Chopra - United's other goals came from midfielder Neil Wood and substitute striker Sylvan Ebanks-Blake.
The win was United's third in a row as they hit the goals trail without leading scorer Daniel Nardiello, who joined Swansea on loan last weekend.
Sir Alex Ferguson will have next week's Champions League date with Rangers in mind when he names his Manchester United team to face Portsmouth.
Ferguson stunned the Old Trafford faithful last Saturday by leaving four regulars out of his starting line-up as United lost 3-1 to Fulham - and he could be planning something similar with the crucial European game just three days later.
Paul Scholes is definitely missing as he recovers from a groin operation but Ferguson is likely to recall skipper Roy Keane and Phil Neville, who were rested last weekend.
Quinton Fortune is also in line for a starting place after coming from the substitutes' bench against Fulham.
Ferguson will check on the fitness of Mikael Silvestre before confirming his squad. He has had treatment on a knee injury all week, and may not be risked.
Eric Djemba-Djemba and Nicky Butt, who played in the midweek Carling Cup win over Leeds, could get another call-up, and teenagers Darren Fletcher and Cristiano Ronaldo are also in contention.
Manchester United (from): Howard, G Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O'Shea, Ronaldo, Keane, Butt, Djemba-Djemba, P Neville, Fortune, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Fletcher, Bellion, Carroll.
RuMmYtUb
31-10-2003, 08:00 PM
Pls SAF, no 2nd fiddle team ..
Keane and Phil will surely start. ;)
ALEX FERGUSON has slammed Arsenal and the FA for ‘doing a deal’ over the Battle of Old Trafford.
The Gunners were hit with fines and bans after the end-of-match fracas with Manchester United on September 21.
But the United boss believes the charges and punishments were not strong enough.
And he is incensed the Gunners have been able to wriggle out of getting much stiffer punishments. Ferguson said: “It is very remarkable. We hope we win titles without anyone’s help.
“I have read they did a deal and I think that was the suspicion throughout the country.
“They have been doing deals for years.”
Arsenal have been accused of bargaining with the FA on condition they pleaded guilty to lesser charges and therefore avoided personal hearings.
Some feel the punishments have been half of what they could have been under FA chief executive Mark Palios’ promise to take a hard line on bad behaviour.
Lauren, who got the toughest ban of four games, initially feared he would get six.
Fergie is clearly furious. He added: “They are very fortunate to have that position in the game. The charges were dropped right away and I have never heard of that before.
“I would think Arsenal were delighted with the outcome. They are very fortunate to have got off with it. But they have been doing this sort of thing for years.”
Arsenal were fined £175,000 but have decided against an appeal.
Lauren got a £40,000 fine to go with his ban, Martin Keown a three-match ban and £20,000 fine, Patrick Vieira a one-match ban and £20,000 fine, Ray Parlour a one-match ban and £10,000 fine — while Ashley Cole got a £10,000 fine.
United’s men in the dock — Cristiano Ronaldo and Ryan Giggs — still face charges but have asked for personal hearings which will be held in December.
Ferguson still finds it astonishing his own players have been charged and cannot understand how Gunners keeper Jens Lehmann escaped any rap.
He said: “Lehmann pushed the linesman and referee and got nothing.”
United will now turn their minds to bouncing back from last Saturday’s 3-1 home defeat by Fulham against Portsmouth today.
Ferguson’s gamble on team changes backfired last week.
But yesterday he was unrepentant claiming, in Roy Keane’s case at least, it had to be done so the player can get through the campaign.
Fergie believes the midfielder, 32, will still play 35 games this season in all competitions.
And the United boss insisted: “I have no regrets about resting players last week.
“Phil Neville had a hamstring strain, Paul Scholes was carrying an injury and, in Roy’s case, there will be times when we have to rest him.
“We discuss the games Roy will play in and, whichever they are, he will still have a big influence.”
But Ferguson is demanding an improvement from the ‘lazy and lethargic’ display against Fulham.
He added: “We’ll be more alive against Portsmouth.”
Ruud van Nistelrooy will go into the game on a run of five games without a goal from open play.
And Ferguson believes that is down to the striker’s bust-up with Dutch coach Dick Advocaat.
Advocaat dropped Van Nistelrooy, 27, after he kicked a water bottle and shouted at the manager following his substitution against the Czech Republic.
He is now likely to be on the bench for the Euro 2004 play-off games against Scotland.
Fergie said: “I think it is playing on his mind. The game means a lot to Ruud.”
ccloh
01-11-2003, 07:08 PM
i thought a fine of 200k pounds was quite a reasonable amt. and why ashley cole escape any punishment ??? he was one of the bad lot in the team. a sense of bias by the FA well since cole was england internationally and given that rio would possible be missing euro 2004 and dont think they want to impose any more trouble with any other england internationals so as not to jeopardize their euro 2004 hopes
RuMmYtUb
01-11-2003, 11:54 PM
Haha Forlan making me eat my words by having his scoring boots on..
Jass_02
02-11-2003, 12:18 AM
Haha Forlan making me eat my words by having his scoring boots on..
haha ya that guy scored again...but seems that RVN din go congrats him...hmmm...
Jass_02
02-11-2003, 12:40 AM
Ronaldno first goal for man u!!! :bounce: Woot :D
KEANO with the 3rd goal.:bounce:
Finally Ronaldo socres. :)
cracker
02-11-2003, 12:52 AM
Finally ROnaldo has opened his scoring acct...
djemba had a couple....so only left the Brazilian ,,,if he can locate his shoulder.
RVN really needs to shop for a pair of scoring boots !!!!
RuMmYtUb
02-11-2003, 12:53 AM
haha ya that guy scored again...but seems that RVN din go congrats him...hmmm...
Hmm what guoquanyap pointed out may be correct, relations between RVN and Forlan ain't gd... But gd 2nd half performance, great goals from Keano and Ronaldo, though RVN and Giggs should deserve a goal for their hardwork .. :D
Finally ROnaldo has opened his scoring acct...
djemba had a couple....so only left the Brazilian ,,,if he can locate his shoulder.
RVN really needs to shop for a pair of scoring boots !!!!
Kinda of worry about his drought in front of goal, unlucky didn't score in the 1st half though, hit the wood-work. Hope he starts scoring soon. ;)
RuMmYtUb
02-11-2003, 12:56 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Kinda of worry about his drought in front of goal, unlucky didn't score in the 1st half though, hit the wood-work. Hope he starts scoring soon. ;)
Today his performances shld deserve him a goal, but he ballooned that golden opportunity, thought he'll most likely slot it home...
cracker
02-11-2003, 12:57 AM
Hmm what guoquanyap pointed out may be correct, relations between RVN and Forlan ain't gd... But gd 2nd half performance, great goals from Keano and Ronaldo, though RVN and Giggs should deserve a goal for their hardwork .. :D
Just like Sheringham and Cole ?...
I think RVN takes himself too seriously...he has to take a look at Forlan...just lauff off whenever he screw up...
anyway next game...CL at home to Ranger.
Just like Sheringham and Cole ?...
I think RVN takes himself too seriously...he has to take a look at Forlan...just lauff off whenever he screw up...
anyway next game...CL at home to Ranger.
Maybe Keano and Ronaldo will start. ;)
RuMmYtUb
02-11-2003, 01:04 AM
Ruud van Nistelrooy has revealed the depth of his disenchantment with Holland manager Dick Advocaat.
Van Nistelrooy: Lashed out (MikeEgerton/Empics)
The Manchester United striker claims there has been a breakdown in trust with Advocaat who has preferred to use Barcelona forward Patrick Kluivert as his spearhead in recent matches.
The tense relations between the two men came to the fore when Van Nistelrooy threw a tantrum during the Euro 2004 qualifier with the Czech Republic when he was replaced.
Advocaat dropped him from the subsequent match with Moldova although the player has since apologised.
However, in remarks reported by L`Equipe and repeated by Algemeen Dagblad, Van Nistelrooy revealed his unhappiness.
'Considering the fact that he substitutes me systematically, I don't feel any trust in him,' Van Nistelrooy said.
He believes he has no chance of starting in the Euro 2004 play-off matches with Scotland.
He said: 'It will be [Patrick] Kluivert. I have no doubts at all, even though Advocaat hasn't said a word yet.
'I don't like to say it but I feel that it will go like this. I am on the bench against Scotland.
'But OK, the most important thing is that we qualify for Portugal.'
Ironically Kluivert has recently fallen out of favour with his boss at Barcelona, Frank Rijkaard, while Van Nistelrooy enjoys the total confidence of United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
Van Nistelrooy continued: 'During the qualifiers I have played five matches and in those games I have been substituted four times after 60 to 70 minutes.
'I have asked Advocaat: "Am I your striker or not?" He said yes but looking at the systematic substituting of me I feel no confidence from the manager.
'So I have told him: you have to give me a real chance or you must start with another player.
'I will give 100 percent in the time that I will get then.'
==========================================
Bad for Holland, good for Utd ?
Seem like a rift developed between the 2 of them, as long as he play for us, thats all that matters to me.
ccloh
02-11-2003, 01:18 AM
3-0 and with forlan and ronaldo on the score sheet. :)
RuMmYtUb
02-11-2003, 01:33 AM
Oh ya and i left out something, Rio seems to be distracted by the media, i mean of his drug test case, lost concentration in 3 crucial times... :(
Ch3tah_39
02-11-2003, 02:45 AM
3-0 and with forlan and ronaldo on the score sheet. :)
yeah, thats is 3goals in 3 matches 4 forlan....:D
yeah, finally ronaldo score....
ralliart_ray
02-11-2003, 03:06 AM
poorlan scored again.
Yellowfin
02-11-2003, 10:23 AM
Oh ya and i left out something, Rio seems to be distracted by the media, i mean of his drug test case, lost concentration in 3 crucial times... :(
Agree, I hope SAF don't play him during the CL match. Give him a rest.
lennardseah
02-11-2003, 12:35 PM
cannot leh, otherwise have to use phil neville in defense, when hes much better at midfield (he scored during the last rangers)
guoquanyap
02-11-2003, 12:47 PM
okie gd result abd 2 great goal fr ronaldo and keano.....nw for the rangers match! :)
guoquanyap
02-11-2003, 12:56 PM
it remains to be seen....it's going to be either outcome....a player will get very depressed for not getting into the national team...
OR he will be very motivatied to score more goals and prove to the national coach.....
somehow Ruud fall into the former......
guoquanyap
02-11-2003, 01:00 PM
ruud made a very bad miss yesterday and not score for 4 matches liao......
somehow that miss show he is very short of confidence now......gonna get get back to scoring ways ruud.....
tianwei
02-11-2003, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by lennardseah
cannot leh, otherwise have to use phil neville in defense, when hes much better at midfield (he scored during the last rangers)
heh...that was a freak goal i would think...anyway, phil is a defender..y put him in midfield??at most I see Gary overlapping support that's all..=)
guoquanyap
02-11-2003, 01:08 PM
Originally posted by tianwei
heh...that was a freak goal i would think...anyway, phil is a defender..y put him in midfield??at most I see Gary overlapping support that's all..=)
i dun think that's a freak goal.....freak goal is that u had no intention to put into the net but it went in.....
ronaldioho is an example at the world cup.....he wan to put it to the left side of the net but it went to the right....then it's a freak goal.....
phil had his eye on goal and he decided to shoot and he scored.....it will onli say it was a soft goal......
SG_Jimmy
02-11-2003, 03:11 PM
GG for the 3-0 win man :)
2 new strikers linked with us today, Saha and Yakubu. Fergie appear to cool his interest on Defoe.
http://www.tribalfootball.com/november/englinews3021103.html
http://www.sublimefootball.com/article.php?artid=332
guoquanyap
02-11-2003, 06:19 PM
wau lau saha 7.7million pound....wan to kana chop again huh? at most 5million pound.....
yakubu is gd....go get him......
wau lau saha 7.7million pound....wan to kana chop again huh? at most 5million pound.....
yakubu is gd....go get him......
He look a real gem, turn rio inside out, thankfully he didn't score against us last night.
This site got all the latest news on United.
http://www.newsnow.co.uk/newsfeed/?name=Manchester+United
Yellowfin
02-11-2003, 08:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
This site got all the latest news on United.
http://www.newsnow.co.uk/newsfeed/?name=Manchester+United
Thanks.
Seem like almost every players want a transfer like to link to Man U. :D
I wonder how many players can SAF sign up during the Jan. transfer window. Afterall, Man U is not like Real Madrid or Chelsea with unlimited cash.
SG_Jimmy
02-11-2003, 09:07 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
Thanks.
Seem like almost every players want a transfer like to link to Man U. :D
I wonder how many players can SAF sign up during the Jan. transfer window. Afterall, Man U is not like Real Madrid or Chelsea with unlimited cash. Well we sure do hope that we will make some good signing, dun we ? :)
RuMmYtUb
02-11-2003, 09:19 PM
Yakubu is gd !
But Saha is..... :rolleyes:
SG_Jimmy
02-11-2003, 09:26 PM
Yakubu is gd !
But Saha is..... :rolleyes: Saha only good in cm 01/02 lahz :laugh:
kengbeng
02-11-2003, 09:41 PM
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/031102/21/ecta4.html
Boss hints at Fletcher start
Sir Alex Ferguson insists he will have no qualms about pitching youngster Darren Fletcher into Champions League action against Rangers.
The United manager has hinted that could be ready to launch the Scotland teenager on the big stage.
The 19-year-old from Edinburgh has impressed Ferguson this season, with the boss acknowledging that he could be ready for the Champions League challenge.
"There is absolutely no doubt about that," he said.
Fletcher made his senior debut in the European competition against FC Basel last season, and since then has featured in several Premiership games as a wide right player, but Ferguson feels it will be in a central role that he will eventually make is mark.
"Depending on the combination in midfield. That would matter. He would enjoy it better with Roy Keane and Paul Scholes for instance, with a bit of experience around him but he is improving," he added.
"His best position is centre and there is no question about that. He is a wide right player simply because of his youth, but he is a centre midfield player. He has balance, vision and has a nice change of pace and in the long term he will play in centre midfield."
Fletcher found himself operating centrally at Elland Road in midweek when United beat Leeds 3-2 in the Carling Cup.
"He controlled the game when we moved him there. He made the difference," Ferguson concluded.
-----------------------------------------
Manchester United will be told to beware the counter attack when they face Rangers in Tuesday's Champions League game at Old Trafford.
Sir Alex Ferguson says even though his side beat the Scottish champions at Ibrox two weeks ago, Rangers are ready to hit United on the rebound.
"Rangers know they have to get a result if they want to progress in this group, we know if we win we are 80-90% certain of qualifying but in games like this you have to make sure you defend well," he said.
"The counter attack becomes an issue. We have been caught on the counter attack quite a few times in games at Old Trafford particularly early on. Monaco five minutes, Borussia Dortmund seven minutes. When we started the quarter final last year Real Madrid had not got over the halfway line and the first time they did, after 15 minutes it was in the net.
"These are instances we remember. The counterattack is an issue and we have to make sure we handle that part," he added.
Ferguson has also lowered his sights after declaring United would need 10 points to secure qualification for the early knockout stage which has been introduced this season.
"If we win we would have nine points leaving Rangers with four, and having to go to Stuttgart for their next game. You may actually qualify with nine points because Panathinaikos are not picking up points but it depends on the next two results. That decides it. If we win our next two games we are through, so a win on Tuesday means it is a big chance for us.
"Make no mistake you want to be top of this group as opposed to previous years because you will be seeded," he says.
United will be without Paul Scholes who had a hernia operation last week, but Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson will be added to the squad after recovering from a dislocated shoulder and is likely to be one of the substitutes.
Kleberson finally back then.
RuMmYtUb
02-11-2003, 10:03 PM
Fletcher maturing each game.. :D
kengbeng
02-11-2003, 10:03 PM
Somehow I feel that the injuries are not a bad thing afterall, as the young players get to play more. I can see that Fletcher is benefiting a lot from the experience.
derrace
03-11-2003, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Somehow I feel that the injuries are not a bad thing afterall, as the young players get to play more. I can see that Fletcher is benefiting a lot from the experience.
he's definitely improving..his crossing also not that bad..
ahaha, but he got a baby face like solskjar
RuMmYtUb
03-11-2003, 01:34 AM
Our new poster boy ? Darren Fletcher ? :rolleyes:
derrace
03-11-2003, 01:43 AM
wah...
cannot lah.
Jass_02
03-11-2003, 01:59 AM
hehe...i'm a fan of gary neville...rather hv him... =p anyone got any? price can negotiate :angel:
RuMmYtUb
03-11-2003, 02:35 AM
hehe...i'm a fan of gary neville...rather hv him... =p anyone got any? price can negotiate :angel:
What u mean ? Price of what ?
Jass_02
03-11-2003, 02:37 AM
What u mean ? Price of what ?
i mean a poster of him alone...if anyone willing to let go i'm willing to buy...
ccloh
03-11-2003, 09:09 AM
hope he can solve the right flank problem and restore ole back to the striker compartment once he recovers from injuired. if not our strike rate is damm low man. all depend on RVN and nowaday he likes balloon more than bull eye. :(
Ch3tah_39
03-11-2003, 10:21 AM
hope he can solve the right flank problem and restore ole back to the striker compartment once he recovers from injuired. if not our strike rate is damm low man. all depend on RVN and nowaday he likes balloon more than bull eye. :(
no worries man..
got forlan...(who is now starting to score goals):D
RuMmYtUb
03-11-2003, 12:43 PM
We need Ole back, his pairing with RVN or right flank is damn gd..
Got to wait Christmas time before Ole and also Brown come back. :(
ccloh
03-11-2003, 01:24 PM
an additional defender is definitely top of the agenda for SAF given that rio would be ban, just a matter of how long is it.
and also a striker.
A defender and a striker should be our main priority. ;)
NanDesKa
03-11-2003, 02:28 PM
do u peepz notice actually ronaldo's urgly with lotsa pimples?
Where got, why so bother about that. :eek:
Thought Chadwick was the one. :rolleyes:
NanDesKa
03-11-2003, 03:47 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Where got, why so bother about that. :eek:
Thought Chadwick was the one. :rolleyes: :laugh: :laugh:
ccloh
03-11-2003, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by RVN
and also a striker.
A defender and a striker should be our main priority. ;)
come jan when transfer window opens, ole will be avaliable. so together with RVN, forlan and bellion. we have 4 strikers already. dont think fergie wants to get a striker more than a defender.
Dun think Bellion will get much chance though, he is still raw. It would be better to get another striker.
RuMmYtUb
03-11-2003, 04:26 PM
Ronaldo ok wad, yandao
Fulham boss Chris Coleman has played down reports suggesting Manchester United will offer £7.7 million for striker Louis Saha in January.
He says that French striker Louis Saha is keen on signing a new contract with the club, and that Manchester United has not been in contact with him.
Coleman said: "We're Fulham. We're a good club but if Manchester United want to pay the money and take our players that will happen.
"But Manchester United have not been in touch and Louis has indicated he wants to sign a new contract here."
So if we contact them , they might yet agree to sell. :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
03-11-2003, 05:57 PM
haiyo who needs Saha @ 7.7m ?
Sir Alex Ferguson will check on Mikael Silvestre before naming his "strongest team" for Manchester United's Champions League date with Rangers.
The French defender has been out of action since picking up a knee injury nine days ago and unless he trains on Monday it looks as though he could miss out.
Roy Keane will return to lead United after being rested over the past 10 days and Phil Neville is also expected to make a comeback in midfield, probably at the expense of England team-mate Nicky Butt.
Should Silvestre fail to make it, John O'Shea is set to continue at centre back with Quinton Fortune on the left.
Ferguson has hinted that he is ready to involve 19-year-old Scotland international Darren Fletcher in a central midfield role alongside Keane but Eric Djemba-Djemba is also in contention, while 18-year-old Cristiano Ronaldo competes for a starting place on the right.
Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson returns to the squad after being out since the end of August with a dislocated shoulder but Paul Scholes, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Wes Brown are all missing as they recover from surgery.
Manchester United (from): Howard, G Neville, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Fortune, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Keane, P Neville, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Silvestre, Butt, Forlan, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion, Kleberson, Lynch, Carroll.
beckz11
03-11-2003, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson will check on Mikael Silvestre before naming his "strongest team" for Manchester United's Champions League date with Rangers.
The French defender has been out of action since picking up a knee injury nine days ago and unless he trains on Monday it looks as though he could miss out.
Roy Keane will return to lead United after being rested over the past 10 days and Phil Neville is also expected to make a comeback in midfield, probably at the expense of England team-mate Nicky Butt.
Should Silvestre fail to make it, John O'Shea is set to continue at centre back with Quinton Fortune on the left.
Ferguson has hinted that he is ready to involve 19-year-old Scotland international Darren Fletcher in a central midfield role alongside Keane but Eric Djemba-Djemba is also in contention, while 18-year-old Cristiano Ronaldo competes for a starting place on the right.
Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson returns to the squad after being out since the end of August with a dislocated shoulder but Paul Scholes, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Wes Brown are all missing as they recover from surgery.
Manchester United (from): Howard, G Neville, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Fortune, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Keane, P Neville, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Silvestre, Butt, Forlan, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion, Kleberson, Lynch, Carroll.
yea kleberson is back
I go for this line-up
Howard
G Neville
Rio
Silvestre (if he is fit if not O'Shea)
Fortune
Ronaldo
Keane
Phil Neville
Fletcher
Giggs
Van Nistelrooy
Subs: Carroll, O'Shea, Butt, Eric Djemba Djemba, Kleberson, Forlan, Bellion
NanDesKa
03-11-2003, 09:29 PM
will win, must win, sure win!!
vivre
03-11-2003, 09:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Dun think Bellion will get much chance though, he is still raw. It would be better to get another striker.
How about 'Out of Favour' Viduka...
He's a powerful striker and he's eligible for Champ Lge...
NanDesKa
03-11-2003, 11:13 PM
He's a powerful striker and he's eligible for Champ Lge... but he and RVN quite similar in playing style i reckon.
big big size cannot run fast that type..
think SAF wud prefer somebody run fast dribble and draw defenders away from RVN.
RuMmYtUb
04-11-2003, 12:09 AM
Samuel Eto ?
Nihat ? Adriano ?
derrace
04-11-2003, 12:40 AM
I actually havent seen Kleberson in action.
is he good?
I thought we couldnt get Ronaldhino then get him one?
Ch3tah_39
04-11-2003, 01:38 AM
is he good?
kleberson, hope he is gd...
NanDesKa
04-11-2003, 02:44 AM
my vote's with nihat. :D
cracker
04-11-2003, 07:52 AM
is he good?
saw him only a couple of time.......no impression at all.
KongJiaoWei
04-11-2003, 08:23 AM
anyone still remember a ****tard called william prunier, recommended by cantona i think, :laugh: so blardy horrible. drop after trial
think he came on as sub vs QPR
reminds me of a fake poser as weah's cousin and got his way into southampton squad :laugh:
dredd
04-11-2003, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by KongJiaoWei
anyone still remember a ****tard called william prunier, recommended by cantona i think, :laugh: so blardy horrible. drop after trial
think he came on as sub vs QPR
reminds me of a fake poser as weah's cousin and got his way into southampton squad :laugh:
hahaa...cheapo french defender
ccloh
04-11-2003, 09:16 AM
He's a powerful striker and he's eligible for Champ Lge...
oh no, not that FAT striker
ccloh
04-11-2003, 09:21 AM
saw him only a couple of time.......no impression at all.
give him sometime lah. new to epl with language barrier. a different type of game in which he usually played. cant expect instant impact mah.
only played 2 games for us, give him time lah like Eric and Ronaldo.
Ricksen out of tommorow's game (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1109726,00.html)
Kleberson and Silvestre return to the squad (http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/140004/.html)
Adu admits United desire! (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1109864,00.html) - this kid makes me feel friggin old at times ;)
United Interested in Dutch Star Pascal Bosschaart (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1109817,00.html)
Expect a Ruud awakening! (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1109835,00.html)
RuMmYtUb
04-11-2003, 12:29 PM
i have a gut feeling Ruud will score tonite :)
ccloh
04-11-2003, 01:22 PM
i have a gut feeling Ruud will score tonite :)
i think RVN himself knows he needs to score tonite to gain some scoring form and confident.
Monster34
04-11-2003, 04:25 PM
strongly MU will go out to win. Cause SAF did mentioned that 10pts will be safe, and if MU win, will get 9, then, MU can focus on league, which they are playing poorly.
for the past two games, any teams playing against MU are playing like world-beaters. MU is really struggling against them. Comparing Gooners vs Leads & MU vs Portmoth, MU took so long to get into their stride while Gooners are already 2-0 up. We really miss a midfield creating sparks in scholes, beckham & veron.
This season until Jan windows is still good for MU cause MU normally peaks after Christmas.
given that Ole, brown & scholes will be back then, let's charge and throw Chel$ea, Gooners and Looserpool behind once & for all.
We were without Scholes, Ole and Kleberson for long periods this season so our attack has generally been weakened a bit, Kleberson back now though which is good, wait for Scholes, Solskjaer and Brown to come back in December and we should rediscover our form during the 2nd half of the season and maybe some new signings in January, IMO we still lack a playmaker, I would love us to get Aimar. ;)
RuMmYtUb
04-11-2003, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We were without Scholes, Ole and Kleberson for long periods this season so our attack has generally been weakened a bit, Kleberson back now though which is good, wait for Scholes, Solskjaer and Brown to come back in December and we should rediscover our form during the 2nd half of the season and maybe some new signings in January, IMO we still lack a playmaker, I would love us to get Aimar. ;)
Wah if get Aimar is :love:
But Aimar comes what will happen to Scholes ? Continue to play behind Scholes ?
But anyways Kleberson oso not attacking player, that time his first 2 matches passing abit ... :rolleyes:
ccloh
04-11-2003, 06:13 PM
frankly speaking would like to see Ranger also qualify for the 2nd rnd but not in the expense of utd. hope they can win the remaining 2 matches.
utd do have lot of attacking players. it is just a method of how these players gel with each other and how good they can provide the services to the striker.
derrace
04-11-2003, 06:28 PM
Originally posted by Monster34
strongly MU will go out to win. Cause SAF did mentioned that 10pts will be safe, and if MU win, will get 9, then, MU can focus on league, which they are playing poorly.
for the past two games, any teams playing against MU are playing like world-beaters. MU is really struggling against them. Comparing Gooners vs Leads & MU vs Portmoth, MU took so long to get into their stride while Gooners are already 2-0 up. We really miss a midfield creating sparks in scholes, beckham & veron.
This season until Jan windows is still good for MU cause MU normally peaks after Christmas.
given that Ole, brown & scholes will be back then, let's charge and throw Chel$ea, Gooners and Looserpool behind once & for all.
wah, first post since oct 2000.
where have u been all these while?
Wah if get Aimar is :love:
But Aimar comes what will happen to Scholes ? Continue to play behind Scholes ?
But anyways Kleberson oso not attacking player, that time his first 2 matches passing abit ... :rolleyes:
Kleberson can play as an attcking player lah, he did it for his previous club in Brazil.
RuMmYtUb
04-11-2003, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Kleberson can play as an attcking player lah, he did it for his previous club in Brazil.
Hmm in CM he is defensive midfielder right n centre..:rolleyes:
Hope he inject some brazilian flair.
Woot Ronaldo starting tonite..
RuMmYtUb
04-11-2003, 07:51 PM
Guys need ur opinions..
Shld i buy the Black kit which is... this (http://www.kitbag.com/stores/kitbag_4_5/football/product_details.aspx?pid=8009&cid=580&tid=)
or the white kit with stripes (http://www.kitbag.com/stores/kitbag_4_5/football/product_details.aspx?pid=10364&cid=82&tid=)
Which one u all think nicer ?
Jass_02
05-11-2003, 01:43 AM
Guys need ur opinions..
Shld i buy the Black kit which is... this (http://www.kitbag.com/stores/kitbag_4_5/football/product_details.aspx?pid=8009&cid=580&tid=)
or the white kit with stripes (http://www.kitbag.com/stores/kitbag_4_5/football/product_details.aspx?pid=10364&cid=82&tid=)
Which one u all think nicer ?
if u r a guy, i think white would be a nicer colour....look more clean-cut...
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 04:42 AM
Wahaha i was right, RVN scored !
OreoCookies
05-11-2003, 04:44 AM
Wahaha i was right, RVN scored !
But I think the goal a bit the "kio tio" one loh... The initial effort by Forlan was quite good, then RVN happen to be at the right place to bounce the ball back in... :laugh:
But nonetheless, his first goal in quite a few games... He was really happy sia, seeing the way he celebrated... ;)
Kiwi8
05-11-2003, 04:49 AM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
But I think the goal a bit the "kio tio" one loh... The initial effort by Forlan was quite good, then RVN happen to be at the right place to bounce the ball back in... :laugh:
But nonetheless, his first goal in quite a few games... He was really happy sia, seeing the way he celebrated... ;)
It's not a bit "kio tio" but super "kio tio" plus "taiko". But well, a goal is a goal. And anyway, RVN has often been known for his scoring rate than his rare great goals.
OreoCookies
05-11-2003, 04:52 AM
It's not a bit "kio tio" but super "kio tio" plus "taiko". But well, a goal is a goal. And anyway, RVN has often been known for his scoring rate than his rare great goals.
Yup... You said it, a goal's a goal... :D
Hopefully this will signify the return RVN's goal-touch sia... ;)
reload2003
05-11-2003, 05:03 AM
yeS hE sCoREd agIn...
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 05:36 AM
Haha but RVN's 2nd goal was not any kio sai or wadeva.... 1 touch GOAL !
Bellion's ball control still... :rolleyes: :(
OreoCookies
05-11-2003, 05:42 AM
A comprehensive victory... But the scoreline could have been bigger, had the passing and shooting been better... ;)
But still good job from the under-fire defence... Though they were never really tested by the Rangers attacks, they still did pretty competently... Managed to keep a clean-sheet... :D
Keep up the good work, Man Utd... :bounce:
cracker
05-11-2003, 05:44 AM
NExt Liverpool.....one of Forlan's fav teams !
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 05:45 AM
NExt Liverpool.....one of Forlan's fav teams !
last season the score read :
Forlan 2-1 liverfool..
Kiwi8
05-11-2003, 05:46 AM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
A comprehensive victory... But the scoreline could have been bigger, had the passing and shooting been better... ;)
But still good job from the under-fire defence... Though they were never really tested by the Rangers attacks, they still did pretty competently... Managed to keep a clean-sheet... :D
Keep up the good work, Man Utd... :bounce:
Wah... 3-0 in Europe is very good liao, how many goals do u want them to score ah? :eek: :eek:
cracker
05-11-2003, 05:48 AM
wants more goals ???
try NBA or rugby.
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 05:50 AM
wants more goals ???
try NBA or rugby.
:rolleyes: :laugh:
Kiwi8
05-11-2003, 05:54 AM
wants more goals ???
try NBA or rugby.
Yah lor. Not to mention, in Europe, winning a game is the most important than any goal difference.
SG_Jimmy
05-11-2003, 05:57 AM
GG :)
OreoCookies
05-11-2003, 06:11 AM
Wah... 3-0 in Europe is very good liao, how many goals do u want them to score ah? :eek: :eek:
Bro, of course I agree that a 3-0 victory is very good liaoz... I'm just mentioning about the possibility what could have been... ;)
OreoCookies
05-11-2003, 06:12 AM
wants more goals ???
try NBA or rugby.
Basketball and rugby go by points, not goals... =p
Spock
05-11-2003, 07:58 AM
Hope dudek don't get injured for this wkend match so that forlan can kio sai again.:)
ccloh
05-11-2003, 09:43 AM
4 goals in 4 games FORLAN :bounce: :bounce:
RVN scored 2. sure can gain back some confident liao.
next stop anfield liverpool. must slaughter them regardless owen playing or not and perhaps ended GH's spell in anfield also.
vivre
05-11-2003, 10:01 AM
BBC Sport has a player rating page (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/champions_league/3241757.stm) for the Man U vs Rangers game....
however, I feel that they are a little bit stingy in giving the players credit...
These are some of my opinion on the ratings:
Howard deserved more credit for keeping alert in a quiet game for him... I think his save from Ball's freekick was good.
Silvestre definately deserved more than a 5. It's true that he made a few mistakes, but nonetheless, he defended well.
Ronaldo was worth at least a 8/10 for his tireless running. Don't forget he's still very very young and still learning. Did U guys realize he's not looking for the dive anymore, and he passes the ball more in this match.
Roy Keane should be given a 9 or 10 for his efforts in the game. He was absolutely fantastic.
Van Nistelrooy... hmm.. 1st half 4/10, but 2nd half 7/10.
Kleberson looked good as he made quite a few tackles coming into the game. Don't forget, he has missed quite a few games b4 coming into the match. He seems quite a good potential in midfield. Worth at least a 6/10.
Fletcher... For his age and experience level, his performance was very steady. With good touches and passes. Worth at least a 6/10, though I think both he and Ronaldo should bulk up.
Kiwi8
05-11-2003, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by Spock
Hope dudek don't get injured for this wkend match so that forlan can kio sai again.:)
No no... according to Forlan's current form he can score great goals liao, so he doesn't need to kio sai. :eek:
It's RVN who needs to find a way to resume his kio sai skill. :rolleyes:
Ch3tah_39
05-11-2003, 12:24 PM
next stop anfield liverpool. must slaughter them regardless owen playing or not and perhaps ended GH's spell in anfield also.
yeah forlan had found his confidence liao...
looks like he gonna score against liverpool this sunday also...
kleberson looks gd yesterday, after sub in, cre8 quite an amount of chances, onli there is no one to connect to the passes..
ronaldo fair okie lorz...
bellion still abit cmi, run fast, but the passes all....
tend to lose the ball
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 12:25 PM
BBC Sport has a player rating page (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/champions_league/3241757.stm) for the Man U vs Rangers game....
however, I feel that they are a little bit stingy in giving the players credit...
wah their rating system so low one ar ?
Rangers players' ratings all like cmi..
Ch3tah_39
05-11-2003, 12:27 PM
wah their rating system so low one ar ?
Rangers players' ratings all like cmi..
they misses easy chances in front of goal....
they never reali make howard work....
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 12:40 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
they misses easy chances in front of goal....
they never reali make howard work....
somemore i think Rangers have a larger percentage of possession in certain periods.. but their last 3/4 of the pitch let them down..
derrace
05-11-2003, 01:49 PM
quote from SAF taken from soccernet
'If you score every week you give the manager the problem of how do you leave him out? He scored in the three games before this, that's why he played, now it's four and he will play at Liverpool on Sunday.'
really got the never-say-die attitude..
can got do ads for enegizer.
Both strikers did well... Liverpool, BEWARE!:bounce:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.