PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

RVN
05-11-2003, 02:28 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

somemore i think Rangers have a larger percentage of possession in certain periods.. but their last 3/4 of the pitch let them down..

They lack ideas in the final third and didn't really trouble our defence at all apart from the free-kick by Ball.

NanDesKa
05-11-2003, 02:51 PM
if forlan scores winning goal against liverpool yet again on sat, he's soon gonna be a regular starter.

KongJiaoWei
05-11-2003, 04:06 PM
Originally posted by vivre
BBC Sport has a player rating page (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/champions_league/3241757.stm) for the Man U vs Rangers game....

Silvestre definately deserved more than a 5. It's true that he made a few mistakes, but nonetheless, he defended well.

silvestre face look damn shag b4 the start, like he havent slept for 40hrs :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
if forlan scores winning goal against liverpool yet again on sat, he's soon gonna be a regular starter.

If that happens, Fergie will think twice in using 4-5-1.. mayB in European matches..

cracker
05-11-2003, 08:29 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies

Basketball and rugby go by points, not goals... =p

wat is a definition of a goal ?

In chn paper, pt is sometime used to describe a goal.

anyway no need to go thru such issue again.

RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 08:56 PM
Next match away to anfield...
think probable lineup will be:

Howard

G.Neville Rio Ferdinand M.Silvestre O Shea/Fortune

Ronaldo P.Neville Keane(c) Giggs

RVN Diego Forlan

ccloh
05-11-2003, 09:24 PM

Howard

RVN Diego Forlan

think fletcher will replace ronaldo on the right for this starting. Fergie will be protecting his youngster so as not to over exposed them and also give each of them a fair share of the playing.

Ch3tah_39
05-11-2003, 09:29 PM

Howard

RVN Diego Forlan

ronaldo will not start again, most probably..
kleberson may get to start:confused:

if not, fletcher will start on the rite

RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 10:27 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

Hmm.. oh ya time to rest Ronaldo..

RVN
05-11-2003, 10:48 PM

Should be Fletcher, dun think Kleberson will start.

I go for this line-up on Sunday

Howard

G Neville Rio Silvestre Fortune

Fletcher Keane Phil Neville Giggs

Forlan van Nistelrooy

RuMmYtUb
05-11-2003, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Should be Fletcher, dun think Kleberson will start.

I go for this line-up on Sunday

Howard

G Neville Rio Silvestre Fortune

Fletcher Keane Phil Neville Giggs

Forlan van Nistelrooy

O shea no more liao ar ?

RuMmYtUb
06-11-2003, 03:14 AM
Good relationship afterall ? (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=282514&cc=4716)

NanDesKa
06-11-2003, 03:17 AM
hmm, still think defoe wud be a good addition lehz.

RuMmYtUb
06-11-2003, 01:18 PM
20m for new striker and mayB a defender.. (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=39485)

RVN
06-11-2003, 01:42 PM

O shea no more liao ar ?

Maybe when Rio kena banned :(, O'Shea will move to central defence. ;)

I thinK Fortune has played well, hard to drop him leh.

NanDesKa
06-11-2003, 03:06 PM
20 million but not much options lehz..
who to buy? :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
06-11-2003, 03:52 PM
20 million but not much options lehz..
who to buy? :rolleyes:

I like Tristan or Morientes :D

NanDesKa
06-11-2003, 04:23 PM
i wan nihat or ahmad latiff.. :D

derrace
06-11-2003, 04:45 PM

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
06-11-2003, 06:42 PM

Latiff..:rolleyes:

ccloh
07-11-2003, 09:19 AM
liverpool got a draw in an away game in the UEFA cup. and now they will be returning to anfield to play host to utd this coming weekend. given that liverpool has less time to recover from the game, utd must win to get the 3-pt. anything less than 3-pt is damm shame for utd. but again, liverpool is such a weird team. against utd, they can suddenly become superteam. all players suddenly wake up and play like a football team.

Red Devils MUST slay the Reds :bounce: :bounce:

tianwei
07-11-2003, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by ccloh
liverpool got a draw in an away game in the UEFA cup. and now they will be returning to anfield to play host to utd this coming weekend. given that liverpool has less time to recover from the game, utd must win to get the 3-pt. anything less than 3-pt is damm shame for utd. but again, liverpool is such a weird team. against utd, they can suddenly become superteam. all players suddenly wake up and play like a football team.

Red Devils MUST slay the Reds :bounce: :bounce:

oh come on...losing/winning or drawing is part of the soccer game...what shame can it be losing to a team if it rises to the occasion?

RuMmYtUb
07-11-2003, 11:44 AM
I agree with ccloh ~

Monster34
07-11-2003, 01:36 PM
hi,frankly, other than Crespo, every other south americans coming into EPL, struggles. Cause one thing, the pace is too fast, and also, players more physical. Imagine, SAF has to sell veron at half-price cause he simply can't perform. In Serie A, he is king cause he got all the time on the ball, but in EPL, players will come flying in and counter attack is so fast.

Aimar a good player, but heard that Inter is trading 2 players to get him. www.tribalfootball.com., an Oz's site.

Well, I am not here cause I just subscribe to see what good deals I can get for IT, did not know that there is a soccer forum.. Nice to meet all of you.

I am a MUFC fan since I am 10years ago when Gary Bailey was goalkeeper. So I am quite an old man already. :D

Monster34
07-11-2003, 01:44 PM
In a way, I agree with TianWei.

Losing to an in-form team is no shame. MUFC has lost to Saints & Fulham, two teams, who MUFC unfortunaely meet when they are on form.

But then in order to win the EPL, there is a max of 3-5 games, that a team can lose and MUFC has already got 2 loses, Chelsea has only one while Gooners has none.

we need to put our faith in SAF and hopes that he can guide us though this minefield (anfield), for it will be tough game, we did the double over them last season, and all pool's fans will be grinding their teeth for a win against MUFC which our in form striker, FORLAN will say different.

Hopefully, we can hit the same patch of form soon.

RVN
07-11-2003, 02:04 PM
looking forward to this one, hopefully something like last season... we've got a better squad this time IMO but they'll certainly be out for revenge, it's gonna be a tough match which might "fall" either ways,

If the scousers get their early goal we might get a re-run of the worthless cup final when they defended for 90minutes, but hopefully they won't get that lucky again...Ruud had a brilliant second half and I would love for him to put in a few on sunday

some uncertanties in the line-up, Fortune has been doing a great job, but I bellieve o'shea may be prefered as he's still more secure defensively... I'm hoping ronaldo'll start on the right side, but as Fergie said he'd only play him one match a week, fletcher could be picked... other than that, Phils probably gonna play alongside Keane in midfield, while I doubt Fergie will leave Forlan out after scoring 4 goals in 4 matches.

Monster34
07-11-2003, 02:34 PM
hi vivre,
you seems to have missed out Riggs.
Personally, BBC ratings are quite a good gauge.

Let me give my ratings and we compare:-

Tim Howard is good, but I would have him take that save from Ball's free kick, rather than just palm it softly for MS to clear. Too dangerous. If an Owen, or Shearer around, will be one goal down. I would give him a 6/10.

For Gary Neville, he now has to do two jobs, defend, and attack. In the game, he did okie, but rangers main threat was coming from the left, not right. So he had had a peaceful game. 6.4/10

For RioF, my only criticism is that sometimes, he thinks he is riggs and try to bring the ball front, and most times, he would lose it at midfield, and would have to hurry back to fill the big gap just behind him. Also, he is not sticking it in the set plays. When you last seen a goal or attempt by him during corners. I am seeing more of OShea & MS. Suprisingly, RioF, seems to score more at leeds. For this game, with Rangers playing a 4-5-1, he had had an easy game with Mlos. 6.5/10.

MS, for me, is still an one-legged defender, who is using his pace to cover for his right leg. Give a shearer (an old horse) or Raul, who knows how to exploit that, and MS will be in trouble. Given that he is facing Rangers, he did a good account 7/10.

Fortune has been a relevation at left-back. Besides deploy there, he seems to wander up to join in the attack, and yet packs enough pace to get back when in trouble unlike OShea. To me, he is a mini-Carlos. But not with the power of course. But he did well to null the rangers' attack. 6.7/10.

Riggs has been the most disappointing for me for this night. Why did RVN or Forlan get such poor ratings is due to Riggs. Anyone watching the first half would have seen the many mis-communicated passes or crosses from his famed left feet. We are talking about a CL & EPL's veteran, not some 18year old with flashy boots.
He is definitely awesome in full flight, but his end products, awesomely poor. 4/10

There is only one Keano. Nothing much to say expect one word, Majestic. He is the engine behind MUFC, and SAF to wrap him in Cotton wool before this game definitely helped him. Keane is old and his injuries does play a factor. by quitting international soccer ,has helped him many times over. For this night, he got a MOM, 8/10.

Phil Neville has progressed so much, he even displaced Butt when Scholes is not around. Butt - best player in last world cup by Pele is finding it hard to get a place when this pocket dynamo is playing his game well. Disruptive and full of running. He needs to get his passing game going, and he can be the new Keane. For this night, 6.7/10

Ronaldo, the lighting fast feet, has been the marvel of this team. Promising much, but delivering so little. But question is time, he is still young, at 18, with two years under SAF, he will blossom into the new Figo. Finger-crossed. At least, he is not falling over so easy and the times he did, the ref gave a free-kick. However, his step-over and pace set him apart, but he tends to have a heavy foot when he crosses, often to the far post when either Forlan or RVN can attack. So unlike Beckham, where it is pinpoint delivered to your head or feet. For him, with right exposure, and game, will mature into a fanastic player, but not just yet. He gets a 6/10.

RVN has been marvellous since he joined MUFC. The way, he did not react when Gooners went at him after the penalty miss was a reflection of a cool striker. Was lucky to score the first, but fanastic for the second. 8/10

Forlan, the forgotten man. 4 goals in 4 games. Will have the whole of MUFC fans chanting his name if he can get 5/5. Previously, a strike from him would have been a rugby conversion, but with confidence pumping in his veins, he turned into the goal of the week. Simply awesome. His linkup play has always been good, but he is not yet the finished article that MUFC paid 7.5M for. Will need to hit double digits in goals to pacify many. 7.5/10.

Kleberson came at a time, when MUFC has already put their foot out the pedal, so unable to gauge him accurately. But given his WC's experience, and with his favourite position at DM, hopefully, he can perform as per in the WC.

DB is like a misguided firecracker, full of pace, explosive, but not yet know how to gel with the full team yet. Needs to see tons of Henry's games to learn the finer points of using his pace.

Espirit de corp - 11/10. The way, the players celebrate after scoring.. must have made EJJ drooling..

That's my evaluation, feel free to share with me.

knave
07-11-2003, 05:43 PM
well, its Giggs, not Riggs. :rolleyes:

derrace
07-11-2003, 06:45 PM
Originally posted by knave
well, its Giggs, not Riggs. :rolleyes:

Gyan Riggs!
=p

ccloh
07-11-2003, 06:58 PM
utd new signing Riggs :confused:

edhorizon
07-11-2003, 10:30 PM
you all.. BTH siah...

RuMmYtUb
07-11-2003, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
you all.. BTH siah...

:confused:

derrace
08-11-2003, 12:06 AM

:confused:

think BTH == buay tahan.

looks like owen fit to face us...oh well, pool vs MU games always exciting..

Kiwi8
08-11-2003, 12:06 AM
Gyan Riggs..... new left winger to complement Ryan Giggs. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

derrace
08-11-2003, 12:39 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Gyan Riggs..... new left winger to complement Ryan Giggs. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

he should be right legged.
opposite mah.

Kiwi8
08-11-2003, 01:57 AM
Originally posted by derrace

he should be right legged.
opposite mah.

Oh yah.... let me say it again:
Gyan Riggs.... the new right-legged winger to complement the left-legged winger, Ryan Giggs. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
08-11-2003, 02:27 AM
:laugh: :laugh:

edhorizon
08-11-2003, 09:41 AM
u guys very bad le..

concentrate on sunday match la...

RVN
08-11-2003, 11:36 AM
mai bo liao lah. :rolleyes:

RVN
08-11-2003, 11:57 AM
Manchester United travel down the East Lancs Road with Diego Forlan set to be given the nod to torment Liverpool again in the live Sky showdown.
Last season, the much-maligned Uruguayan grabbed both goals - one courtesy of an horrific howler by Jerzy Dudek - to clinch a 2-1 victory at Anfield.

Forlan heads to Merseyside this time around in fantastic form after scoring in his last four appearances.

With Paul Scholes and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer still injured, Forlan is expected to retain his place alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy in attack.

Sir Alex Ferguson must also decide whether to shuffle his side after Tuesday's comprehensive UEFA Champions League win over Rangers but any changes are likely to be minimal.

United also have the benefit of an extra two days' rest following Liverpool's Uefa Cup tie in Romania on Thursday, on a quagmire of a pitch.

Man Utd (from): Howard, G Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Fortune, P Neville, Keane, O'Shea, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Butt, Djemba-Djemba, Carroll, Ronaldo, Bellion, Forlan, Fletcher, Kleberson.

RuMmYtUb
08-11-2003, 06:07 PM
Muz win sunday

StormTrooper
08-11-2003, 10:54 PM
Muz win sunday

steady.......bring on the scousers!!! :D

keano will rule the middle, so owen won't get his supply.

Ch3tah_39
09-11-2003, 01:53 AM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

steady.......bring on the scousers!!! :D

keano will rule the middle, so owen won't get his supply.

defence dun cock up, shld be no prob liao

RuMmYtUb
09-11-2003, 02:38 AM

Hmm agreed... provided muz have a beefier midfield..

StormTrooper
09-11-2003, 09:21 AM

if the midfield is strong, then defence won't be under so much pressure, then they won't cock up. ;)

spykid
09-11-2003, 10:09 AM
stop steven gerrard and u'll stop liverpool from playing... he's the one who controls their game for them... hope phil and keano can jaga him... i hope ronaldo starts too! ;)

ccloh
09-11-2003, 10:58 AM
the only advantage utd has over liverpool is that utd players have more time to recover from mid-week games then liverpools. utd must turn this advantage to winning tactic for sure.

eyes will be on keano vs gerrad is the midfield and forlan vs dudek. well dont think forlan will score for this match as thing usually happen that the more attention u put to it, the more it won't happen. just hope RVN dont forget to put on his shooting boot and grab a few goals for utd that will do.

come think of it, the midfield battle between keane and gerrad seems like the one eventually shrines is phil neville, the usual unsung hero.

RuMmYtUb
09-11-2003, 03:03 PM
Hope P.neville can stand out

RVN
09-11-2003, 03:07 PM
Forlan is riding a hot hand at the moment plus he hit for two in last years match at Anfield. We do need the three points just so we can keep Liverpool further down the standings. :D

RVN
09-11-2003, 04:02 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is close to extending his contract with Manchester United and says he wants to stay at Old Trafford until at least 2007.

Modern football's most successful manager, who scrapped retirement plans last year, is set to agree a new deal to stay beyond his 65th birthday and at present has no plans to give up the game when he reaches that milestone.

Ferguson, who has just celebrated 17 years at the helm of the Premiership champions, said:

"We have had good discussions and we are not far away. It could be done in the next week. The length of the contract is open to discussion.

"That is one of the areas we are discussing. How long should I stay on? It is a difficult one. I would probably think until I am 65 years old. That is a nice time to say 'Do I want to go now?' I have made the point of saying that I am enjoying it and I have my health, and I think that is the way of looking at it."

Ferguson will reach his 65th birthday on 31 December 2006 and says if his appetite for the job remains as it is now he could work on.

He said: "I would stay on. If I felt that way, I would stay, but it is a long way ahead."

Sir Alex plans to prevent a repeat of the situation which occurred when he made his original retirement plans public. At that time he announced that he would quit at the end of the 2001-02 season and blamed that for a drop in form.

He added: "That is one of the issues we are discussing at the moment, rather than putting a date on something. Time is important. If you have got time you can plan. Not everybody is in that luxurious position in management I'm afraid, but I've been lucky in that way."

RuMmYtUb
09-11-2003, 04:35 PM
SAF rox..

RuMmYtUb
09-11-2003, 04:49 PM
Daniel van Buyten (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=39663&seg=EPL&teamid=)

Abit bo hua ler, @ 12.5m.. expensive rite?

RuMmYtUb
09-11-2003, 11:42 PM
Utd edge pool at anfield, great win.... my heart was coming out when kewell scored 1...:D

cracker
09-11-2003, 11:47 PM
Forlan though didnt score,,,but did provide the cross for Giggs' second goal.

RVN
09-11-2003, 11:49 PM
Damm, my heart pumping when Heskey has that free shot, thankfully he missed. 3 points in the bag though. :)

kengbeng
09-11-2003, 11:49 PM
Well done, United. 3 vital away points in the bag. :)

leslielai
09-11-2003, 11:50 PM
I think Liverpool did well. Nice game.

Geforce3
09-11-2003, 11:54 PM
whew almost got heart attack :laugh:

RVN
10-11-2003, 12:02 AM
Weird game in the end. I thought we owned Liverpool for most in the second half. Scoring two good goals. After that it looked like we were cruising, but because of some disputable diciscions by the -apart from that excellent- referee, the atmosphere at Anfield and the arrogance of ManUtd's players Liverpool launched a blistering attack. Scoring a good goal, and squandering at least two good opportunities, becasue ManUtd's defence suddenly seemed nowhere. So based on that Liverpool perhaps deserved a draw. But on the other hand, we controlled in the first half without being dangerous, and in the second half we scored two good goals.

Anyway good result for us, now a win over Chelsea and we have done well playing our main contenders.

pyu
10-11-2003, 12:08 AM
3 points in the bag - though for a while there, the defence was no where in sight, if Liverpool had scored, wouldn't have mind since they would have deserved it.

Then again, I guess Heskey's miss is typical of ... Heskey...

RVN
10-11-2003, 12:16 AM
A win is a win, thats what that count, look like a 3-horse race. We play blackburn next at home in 2 weeks time, Panathinaikos away and Chelsea away another big match. :o

ccloh
10-11-2003, 12:22 AM
see i told u forlan wont score for this match. lucky giggs scored if not dont kn where the goals will come from.

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 12:41 AM
Hmm dun care who gets the goals, as long we get 3 points

Ch3tah_39
10-11-2003, 01:33 AM
see i told u forlan wont score for this match. lucky giggs scored if not dont kn where the goals will come from.

forlan neber score so wat..
who score also nvm... jus win will do...

By the way, not everybody can score in every match..
so nothing to be proud of...=p

ralliart_ray
10-11-2003, 01:43 AM
3 pts collected.

tianwei
10-11-2003, 01:46 AM
Originally posted by pyu
3 points in the bag - though for a while there, the defence was no where in sight, if Liverpool had scored, wouldn't have mind since they would have deserved it.

Then again, I guess Heskey's miss is typical of ... Heskey...

yeah....man utd's defence seems to be nowhere for the past 2 weeks...always have to count on the opposition to miss or on the dependable tim howard..

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 02:28 AM
Originally posted by tianwei

yeah....man utd's defence seems to be nowhere for the past 2 weeks...always have to count on the opposition to miss or on the dependable tim howard..

But Howard's real dependable, a rock in the final line of defense :D

Jass_02
10-11-2003, 02:34 AM

The table dun lie...we have the best defensive unit.... 2-0 up at anfield and kewell scored at the 75th min with the passionate anfield crowd behind them and we are still able to get a win...this shows our defence and their mental strength...

liverpool only had one real missed chance by heskey and the rest are mostly intercepted by silvestre or ferdinand...also think liverpool kept on attacking at oshea but oshea did well...tim howard is good but i feel that he did not have a good game today...

derrace
10-11-2003, 03:55 AM
Gyan Biggs playing on the right flank scored.

=p

derrace
10-11-2003, 04:01 AM
wah, really lucky Hesky miss..

Chelsea 5 Newcastle 0

Btw, when do Man U play them?

genesis113
10-11-2003, 04:37 AM
yes, we were lucky. But Graham Poll denied the penalty claim from Liverpool was absolutely right, Sinama fell by himself from the video replay, just like what he did when his legs trapped wth each other and won the penalty vs Blackburn in the League Cup. Heskey's miss was crucial.

We really need the luck to keep in closest range wth Gooners and Chelsea. Look at Gooners who won the match wth luck when vs Chelsea, Newcastle and Spurs.
And how Chelsea survived against Villa wth the misses from Angel.

So We need to score, and defend well and last but not least, we need the luck too.

Ch3tah_39
10-11-2003, 08:29 AM
Originally posted by genesis113
yes, we were lucky. But Graham Poll denied the penalty claim from Liverpool was absolutely right, Sinama fell by himself from the video replay, just like what he did when his legs trapped wth each other and won the penalty vs Blackburn in the League Cup. Heskey's miss was crucial.

We really need the luck to keep in closest range wth Gooners and Chelsea. Look at Gooners who won the match wth luck when vs Chelsea, Newcastle and Spurs.
And how Chelsea survived against Villa wth the misses from Angel.

So We need to score, and defend well and last but not least, we need the luck too.

gunners alwez starting season damn power...
coming till end they will cock up abit one.. wahahahah(hope so)

man utd defence the same against pool, while against chelsea, sure gone one...

ccloh
10-11-2003, 09:23 AM
chelski thrashed newcastle, wonder how they loose to arsenal :confused:
not a very good time to play against chelski nowaday. seems like certain of their players already gel together and potentially can be very dangerous. mutu and crespo seem to be taking turn to score in every match. pretty dangerous for utd to play them given that rio might be ban when utd played them and utd are really thin in defence. attack wise, scholes and ole still out and all depend of rvn, forlan and giggs already.

Monster34
10-11-2003, 11:18 AM
hi CCloh,
have you wonder if MU were to win against Chel$ea, and then beat Gooners at their small stadium, we will be crown champions. Simple as that.

If we can't beat Chel$ea this season, we will lose the championship race.

We already have two loses, Gooners have none, Chel$ea has only one.

To all real MU fans:-
"if you believe don't ask.
if you don't no explanation needed."

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 11:48 AM
chelski thrashed newcastle, wonder how they loose to arsenal :confused:
not a very good time to play against chelski nowaday. seems like certain of their players already gel together and potentially can be very dangerous. mutu and crespo seem to be taking turn to score in every match. pretty dangerous for utd to play them given that rio might be ban when utd played them and utd are really thin in defence. attack wise, scholes and ole still out and all depend of rvn, forlan and giggs already.

arsenal was lucky to face chelsea early cos that time chelsea haven really gel..

edhorizon
10-11-2003, 11:49 AM
anytime the season is not even half way there so dun worry.. when the team gels, things will also start to surface...

anyway im just glad that man utd collect 3 pts.. and most importantly i also win $$. :D

Monster34
10-11-2003, 12:06 PM
That'll do nicely. Fergie opted for a more cautious approach than in
the Rangers game with Ronaldo out and the ever-improving John O'Shea
in. Giggsy was out right (and also outstanding). More superlative
displays from Keano and Phil Nev, but some heart-stopping farting-
around on occasion from the centre-backs, especially Mikky, meant we
were never comfortable against a mediocre Liverpool.

It was a dismal first half from both sides. We were defending too
deep and had to keep resorting to the tried and tested hoof 'n hope
long balls out of defence to relieve some pressure. This resulted, as
it always does, in supplying Ruud with head-height balls he could do
nothing with. Invariably, it just set up another Liverpool attack.
But there wasn't much alternative to the hoof as the scousers kept
closing us down deep in our own half.

The one unpleasant moment of the half was when Ruud handled the ball
in Liverpool's area and the scouse gits, especially "Spit" Diouf, got
him booked. This wasn't to be the first time Mr Poll, the Tring
Dingaling, chickened out but, to his credit, he also resisted a
strong penalty appeal from the vermin late on which many refs would
have given. (Replays suggest he made the correct decision.)

But the second half was very different. Fergie must have told the
lads to get further up the field, close Liverpool down in their own
half, and pass the ball around a bit more accurately. Our first
scoring chance came from a miskicked clearance from Dud, our
favourite goalkeeper: he sent the ball straight to Giggsy whose first-
time volley (yes, volley) was blasted straight back toward goal. Dud
was lucky he hadn't cut his fingernails for a few weeks as the tips
of his grasping claws just managed to make contact on the ball.

The first goal came on 59 minutes. Giggsy sent in a nice curling
cross, a bit higher than the one Ruud got on the end of against
Rangers. It zipped past Ruud, Diego and a couple of rats and went
straight into the net. Dud was nowhere near. This led to a nice 10
mins of United pressure and ended with Poll chickening out of giving
Spit Diouf a second yellow card for leaving a deep bloody gash on
JohnO's shin. Five minutes later and it was 2-0. A nice United move
led to Diego sending in a great cross from the left that eluded
everyone. It came to Giggsy and he blasted it past Dudman, who gave
it a helping hand into the net.

At this point, the game looked over. The scouse rabble in the stands
were, as always, deadly quiet and it was easy for United. In fact,
too easy. We took the foot off the pedal, and started farting around
and getting a bit careless. Liverpool took advantage. Their goal came
from their best player, Kewell. Soon after, came the shout for a
penalty but replays showed Rio had not touched the Liverpool player
(Florrence Cinema Pongo?). But I can imagine 2 out of 3 refs giving
that especially with 5000 yobs at that end waving their stanley
knives in the general direction of Mr Poll's throat.

We spent the last 10 minutes trying to hang on to what we'd got.
Mikky, who'd dithered around a bit during the preceding 80 minutes
made a fantastic challenge on the little runt, Murphy, taking the
ball off his toe just as he was winding up to blast the ball at point-
blank range.

In injury time, Fletcher cocked up a cross to Ruud, and the scousers
ran down the other end. The ball was slipped through into the penalty
area, it looked like a certain goal, but the Liverpool player slipped
and saw the ball bobble out harmlessly. Say, who was that masked
stranger? It was Imbecile Heskey. Thank God. Anybody else would have
put the chance away.

To come to Anfield and win is a great achievement in any season, and
it is a promising sign for the future when we can soak up the
pressure and still come out on top. And now, you'll have to excuse
me. The scouse-baiting season has just opened and I must away to do
what comes naturally.

Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, I hear the Bitters
are 0-3 down to Leicester over at the Boo Camp. My cup runneth over.

Copyright Terry
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MUFC

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 12:18 PM
Lucky Silvestre intercept murphy's 1 v 1..

Yellowfin
10-11-2003, 01:39 PM
I think Man Utd really need a very experience defender. Somehow, when the defence is under pressure, they tend to make silly mistake.:(

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 01:50 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
I think Man Utd really need a very experience defender. Somehow, when the defence is under pressure, they tend to make silly mistake.:(

Ya agreed, they like tend to buckle under pressure and lapse of concentration..
Ayala ?

RVN
10-11-2003, 01:55 PM
Some of the pics from the game

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39548000/jpg/_39548693_smicer_ferdinand.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39548000/jpg/_39548879_dudek_emp.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39548000/jpg/_39548881_giggssecond.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39548000/jpg/_39548967_giggsceleb.jpg

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 02:05 PM
Smicer looked dangerous in the first half.

Ch3tah_39
10-11-2003, 08:13 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

ya.. they need gd def..
retired blanc is experience enough, but sad to say, his speed too slow..

RVN
10-11-2003, 08:28 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson says history could repeat itself at Manchester United as a whole new batch of talented youngsters bid to make the grade.
The United boss says he is not far away from launching another batch of young players which could have the same impact as his famous Class of 92 when he became the envy of many rivals as virtually the whole of the club's FA Youth Cup winning side made the grade.

Ryan Giggs, Lee Sharpe, David Beckham, Paul Scholes, Gary Neville and Nicky Butt emerged from the ranks as others like Robbie Savage, Keith Gillespie, Ben Thornley, John O'Kane, Kevin Pilkington and Terry Cooke went on to play top level football with other clubs.

Rarely do so many players make a breakthrough but Ferguson says it could happen at Old Trafford once again: "It is definitely possible from what I have seen. Definitely.

"We have some terrific young players coming through the club together with those we have brought in like Cristiano Ronaldo and David Bellion. There is Darren Fletcher, Chris Eagles and the boy from Belgium, Floribert N'Galula, who is 17 and an excellent player.

"Hopefully they can mature together and develop together in the way the players who came through with Ryan Giggs did."

RVN
10-11-2003, 08:29 PM

ya.. they need gd def..
retired blanc is experience enough, but sad to say, his speed too slow..

Yeah, we do need a experienced defender badly, Ayala would be my prefered choice. Maybe Van Buyten.

StormTrooper
10-11-2003, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson says history could repeat itself at Manchester United as a whole new batch of talented youngsters bid to make the grade.
The United boss says he is not far away from launching another batch of young players which could have the same impact as his famous Class of 92 when he became the envy of many rivals as virtually the whole of the club's FA Youth Cup winning side made the grade.

Ryan Giggs, Lee Sharpe, David Beckham, Paul Scholes, Gary Neville and Nicky Butt emerged from the ranks as others like Robbie Savage, Keith Gillespie, Ben Thornley, John O'Kane, Kevin Pilkington and Terry Cooke went on to play top level football with other clubs.

Rarely do so many players make a breakthrough but Ferguson says it could happen at Old Trafford once again: "It is definitely possible from what I have seen. Definitely.

"We have some terrific young players coming through the club together with those we have brought in like Cristiano Ronaldo and David Bellion. There is Darren Fletcher, Chris Eagles and the boy from Belgium, Floribert N'Galula, who is 17 and an excellent player.

"Hopefully they can mature together and develop together in the way the players who came through with Ryan Giggs did."

nice to see united's youth program going strong

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 09:31 PM
I'm EAGER to see Eagles coming up :D

kengbeng
10-11-2003, 09:33 PM
Wahaha.... Fletcher, Eagles and Richardson, my CM4 prodigies. =p

RVN
10-11-2003, 09:43 PM
Manchester United defender Wes Brown is on course to return to action before the end of November after resuming full training on Monday.
The England defender checked in for full training for the first time since May, with manager Sir Alex Ferguson expecting him to be playing again within the next two or three weeks.

Brown ruptured cruciate knee ligaments at Everton on 11 May, shortly before United were presented with the Premiership trophy.

For the second time in five years, the 24-year-old faced a lengthy lay-off as he again had surgery on what was once regarded as a career-threatening injury.

However, after Brown made a training return, Ferguson said: "The main thing is he is looking terrific.

"He is completely over the injury, his work in the gym has been great, his strength is there and he is now in that really important part of getting back into the games.

"Wes is training with the first team on Monday. He has trained with the younger players all last week and now he will come in with us. Then after two or three weeks we will look for a reserve game for him."

Ferguson has pencilled in the Carling Cup tie at West Brom on 2 December as a possible comeback date but says there is no pressure on Brown to rush back.

"If he gets a game or two behind him he could maybe play in the League Cup tie," the Reds boss added. "That is a possibility and a target for the lad. I am not saying it is a definite target, but it is something for him."

Brown missed the whole of the 1999-2000 season when he had his first cruciate ligament operation after being injured in pre-season training.

Last season he was out for three months after breaking an ankle during the Champions League qualifier against Hungarian side Zalaegerszeg a week before the Premiership season began.

Ch3tah_39
10-11-2003, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United defender Wes Brown is on course to return to action before the end of November after resuming full training on Monday.
The England defender checked in for full training for the first time since May, with manager Sir Alex Ferguson expecting him to be playing again within the next two or three weeks.

Brown ruptured cruciate knee ligaments at Everton on 11 May, shortly before United were presented with the Premiership trophy.

For the second time in five years, the 24-year-old faced a lengthy lay-off as he again had surgery on what was once regarded as a career-threatening injury.

However, after Brown made a training return, Ferguson said: "The main thing is he is looking terrific.

"He is completely over the injury, his work in the gym has been great, his strength is there and he is now in that really important part of getting back into the games.

"Wes is training with the first team on Monday. He has trained with the younger players all last week and now he will come in with us. Then after two or three weeks we will look for a reserve game for him."

Ferguson has pencilled in the Carling Cup tie at West Brom on 2 December as a possible comeback date but says there is no pressure on Brown to rush back.

"If he gets a game or two behind him he could maybe play in the League Cup tie," the Reds boss added. "That is a possibility and a target for the lad. I am not saying it is a definite target, but it is something for him."

Brown missed the whole of the 1999-2000 season when he had his first cruciate ligament operation after being injured in pre-season training.

Last season he was out for three months after breaking an ankle during the Champions League qualifier against Hungarian side Zalaegerszeg a week before the Premiership season began.

gd to hear that...:D

RuMmYtUb
10-11-2003, 10:48 PM
Hope to see Brown back soon... Fergie didn't give him the no. 6 shirt for nothing :)

Alienz
11-11-2003, 02:06 AM
Hope to see Brown back soon... Fergie didn't give him the no. 6 shirt for nothing :)
Hope to see him in action soon ;)

Jasonleong
11-11-2003, 02:36 AM
in some ways, brown more steady than rio ferdinand.

derrace
11-11-2003, 02:42 AM
Originally posted by Jasonleong

a lot cheaper also.

RuMmYtUb
11-11-2003, 03:15 AM

Brown sometimes oso error prone, but i think he has fewer concentration lapses than Rio..

ralliart_ray
11-11-2003, 06:37 AM
Rio solid in the air...

Alienz
11-11-2003, 07:07 AM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
Rio solid in the air...
Agree.... he is good in the air........

swordy84
11-11-2003, 09:40 AM

Yeah I agree but then... both are good in their own ways. I think Brown can defend better most of the time, he can tackle better than Ferdinand. As for Ferdinand, he has some nice ball controlling skills which he can usually get the ball to safety even after being pressured by the opposing players. Also like you guys said, he is good in the air. :D

edhorizon
11-11-2003, 11:40 AM
if brown not injury prone, SAF dun even need to buy rio in the 1st place. brown actually is one of the brightest talent for england in the defence la... if he is not injury prone, rio or campbell will be fighting who be partnering him for the 1st 11 in england squad.

RVN
11-11-2003, 12:02 PM
Find this rather funny, wonder what Kewell got to say now. :laugh:

http://www.manutd.com/pix/players/homepage/harrys_comment.gif

RVN
11-11-2003, 01:16 PM
http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/push.gif

http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/slip.gif

2nd one made me laugh. :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Spock
11-11-2003, 02:36 PM
rio more composed,crucial for european games.Brown more aggressive,crucial for english games.

leslielai
11-11-2003, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by Spock
rio more composed,crucial for european games.Brown more aggressive,crucial for english games.

Right on.

RuMmYtUb
12-11-2003, 01:26 AM
Originally posted by RVN

http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/slip.gif

:eek: :laugh:

cracker
12-11-2003, 08:23 AM

:eek: :laugh:

the same thing might happen to any of Utd players during the return leg at Old Trafford.
Remember Giggs' balloon during the FA Cup clash with Arsenal at OT ?:alien:

Kiwi8
12-11-2003, 08:52 AM
Rightly said. What goes around comes around. :bounce:

RuMmYtUb
12-11-2003, 12:41 PM
Pablo Aimar (Argentina - Valencia)
Michael Ballack (Germany - Bayern Munich)
David Beckham (England - Real Madrid)
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy - Juventus)
Sol Campbell (England - Arsenal)
Iker Casillas (Spain - Real Madrid)
Christian Chivu (Romania - Roma)
Deco (Portugal - FC Porto)
Alessandro Del Piero (Italy - Juventus)
Dida (Brazil - Milan)
Giovane Elber (Brazil - Lyon)
Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon - Mallorca)
Luis Figo (Portugal - Real Madrid)
Ludovic Giuly (France - Monaco)
Thierry Henry (France - Arsenal)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden - Ajax)
Filippo Inzaghi (Italy - Milan)
Oliver Kahn (Germany - Bayern Munich)
Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands - Barcelona)
Jan Koller (Czech Republic - Borussia Dortmund)
Darko Kovacevic (Serbia & Montenegro - Real Sociedad)
Henrik Larsson (Sweden - Celtic)
Roy Makaay (Netherlands - Bayern Munich)
Claude Makelele (France - Chelsea)
Paolo Maldini (Italy - Milan)
Adrian Mutu (Romania - Chelsea)
Pavel Nedved (Czech Rep - Juventus)
Alessandro Nesta (Italy - Milan)
Nihat Kahveci (Turkey - Real Sociedad)
Michael Owen (England - Liverpool)
Pedro Miguel Pauleta (Portugal - Paris Saint-Germain)
Robert Pires (France - Arsenal)
Raul (Spain - Real Madrid)
Roberto Carlos (Brazil - Real Madrid)
Ronaldinho (Brazil - Barcelona)
Ronaldo (Brazil - Real Madrid)
Michel Salgado (Spain - Real Madrid)
Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine - Milan)
Paul Scholes (England - Manchester United)
Lilian Thuram (France - Juventus)
Francesco Toldo (Italy - Inter)
Francesco Totti (Italy - Roma)
Hatem Trabelsi (Tunisia - Ajax)
David Trezeguet (France - Juventus)
Ruud Van Nistelrooy (Netherlands - Manchester United)
Patrick Vieira (France - Arsenal)
Christian Vieri (Italy - Inter)
Sylvain Wiltord (France - Arsenal)
Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy - Juventus)
Zinedine Zidane (France - Real Madrid)

http://www.soccerage.com/en/00/52484a.jpg

http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20020827/rvnceleb_br.jpg

Why no Giggs !? and what the fark is WILTORD doing inside !???

RVN
12-11-2003, 01:39 PM
Manchester United have confirmed they will return to the USA for three pre-season games next summer as part of the ChampionsWorld series.

United will play three leading continental sides - likely to include Real Madrid and David Beckham - in Chicago, New York and another venue to be confirmed.

David Gill, Manchester United's chief executive, said at a news conference in New York: "We are thrilled to be returning to the United States for such significant matches next year.

"The passion for football and the enthusiasm for Manchester United that greeted us last summer during our visit to the USA was simply overwhelming, and we are keen to experience the American warmth and sports atmosphere once again. And the chance to play three top teams just adds spice to the adventure."

Exact dates have yet to be revealed but the matches are expected to take place in late July and early August.

The venue in Chicago is Soldier Field, the newly renovated American football stadium beside Lake Michigan. United will also play another game in New York at the Giants Stadium where this summer a crowd of 79,000 watched them play Juventus. The other three teams taking part will be announced in the next few weeks but it is understood no other English teams will be participating.

Play against Real will be interesting

Alienz
12-11-2003, 01:55 PM
Yay, can't wait to watch the match between United and Real ;)

leslielai
12-11-2003, 06:48 PM

Why no Giggs !? and what the fark is WILTORD doing inside !???

Alot are wondering too. :laugh:

RVN
12-11-2003, 08:17 PM
The deadline for Rio Ferdinand to respond to the Football Association charge over a missed drugs test runs out on Thursday at 1700 GMT.

The FA announced the action they were planning to take against the 25-year-old Manchester United defender on 29 October.

But, because their letter outlining the charges did not arrive at Old Trafford until the 30th, Ferdinand's 14 days to reply run until Thursday - not Wednesday, as previously thought.

Ferdinand asked for a personal hearing and can reply to the FA's charge of "failure or refusal to submit to drug testing."

He claims he simply forgot to take the test. But the FA could find him guilty of deliberately avoiding the test which carries a maximum two-year ban.

Since missing the test on 23 September Ferdinand has played for United in both the Premiership and the Champions League.

However, he is not eligible to be selected to play for England, and he missed the Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey.

The FA has been criticised by Fifa for their slow-handling of Ferdinand's case.

action about to be taken soon

Zeroplus1
12-11-2003, 09:51 PM
omg

Ch3tah_39
12-11-2003, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by Alienz
Yay, can't wait to watch the match between United and Real ;)

ya lorz..
hope that day, c.ronaldo sink real man...wahahahaa

JOGK
12-11-2003, 11:23 PM

ya lorz..
hope that day, c.ronaldo sink real man...wahahahaa

honestly
man u got no class to match real madrid
if you are experience in soccer you should know

RVN
12-11-2003, 11:31 PM
Originally posted by JOGK

honestly

got no class, we beat them 4-3, true real are a great side, but they ain't unbeatable.

RuMmYtUb
12-11-2003, 11:37 PM

honestly

Hmm they spent so much $$ every year to get the globe's best players of cos class lar... but i think we stand a chance against them... no team is unbeatable...
even sevilla can thrash them 4-1...

JOGK
12-11-2003, 11:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN

got no class, we beat them 4-3, true real are a great side, but they ain't unbeatable.

even they lost
their class is still above them
and thats a fact
i am not a real madrid supporter
i just speak my mind

4-3 is the 2nd leg right?
because they already beaten man u
3-1 in the first leg
if you watch the first leg you can see how
man u kenna lan lan

Ch3tah_39
13-11-2003, 12:22 AM

even they lost
and thats a fact
i just speak my mind

3-1 in the first leg
man u kenna lan lan

i dun think so..
man utd shld hav won 4:0 over madrid that time..
barthez was to blame..
by the way, man utd during first leg, they played too denfensive liao, furthermore onli ruud attacking..

Alienz
13-11-2003, 01:34 AM

i dun think so..
man utd shld hav won 4:0 over madrid that time..
barthez was to blame..
by the way, man utd during first leg, they played too denfensive liao, furthermore onli ruud attacking..
Agree..... Man u play so bad in the 1st leg......
Even if real madrid had the class, there still can lose 4 - 1 to FC Sevilla and I can't see why man u can't win them.......

pyu
13-11-2003, 09:02 AM
Real Madrid may have big name players in their side, but their team is woefully unbalanced. Look at that 4-1 trashing given to them by Sevilla.

If you place your opponents on a pedestal and believe them to be a class above you, you have already lost half of the battle.

ccloh
13-11-2003, 09:22 AM
how u define "class" from a team. they are teams from different countries and each play differently in soccer. the british are renowned for physical game whereas teams from spanish, portugal, italian are rather emphasis on individual skills. can't really compared apple with orange.

well if u said they got all the big names mean "class" then chelski is also a "classy" team then.

RVN
13-11-2003, 12:14 PM

even they lost
and thats a fact
i just speak my mind

3-1 in the first leg
man u kenna lan lan

talk cock lah you, how come Juve beat them in the semi-final, Sevilla, Valencia had beaten Real this season, they way you are talking imply that you are a real madrid fan.

Alienz
13-11-2003, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by RVN

they way you are talking imply that you are a real madrid fan.
Other words is Anti Man U :D

RVN
13-11-2003, 12:49 PM
Manchester United's popularity in the far east is about to escalate to unprecedented heights when the club sign their first Chinese player. Sir Alex Ferguson revealed last night that a deal is being finalised for Dong Fangzhou, an 18-year-old striker who will cost about £1.5m.
In a move that will delight United's corporate backers, Fangzhou will complete the formalities when the transfer window reopens in January. It follows a trial at Old Trafford in September when the club, mindful of the impact it would have if they were to sign one of China's leading young players, invited the country's top six clubs to send over their most promising teenagers.

Fangzhou plays for the Chinese champions Dalian Shide, the club where Manchester City's Sun Jihai began his career. His move to Old Trafford will immediately make him a superstar in China. United are to tour China next year and are bound to face accusations of exploiting the market, but Fangzhou has a growing reputation and impressed so much during his trial at Old Trafford that Ferguson asked him to extend the week-long spell to a month. As well as outsprinting the United team, Fangzhou scored in a reserves match.

"It will be a dream to join United," he said. "I learned such a lot during my time at the club. My positioning and running into the box have become sharper and my heading has definitely improved."

He dedicated the move to his father, who died in a car accident 10 years ago. "He would never have dreamt of me playing professionally overseas."

NanDesKa
13-11-2003, 01:06 PM

Why no Giggs !? and what the fark is WILTORD doing inside !??? :laugh: :laugh:

ccloh
13-11-2003, 01:28 PM
Why no Giggs !? and what the fark is WILTORD doing inside !??? [/B]

alamak isn't the answer so obvious, to warm the bench mah.

RVN
13-11-2003, 01:32 PM
Wiltord extra lah, he is there to made up the number, and this from the french magazine, it biased since Wiltord is also french. :rolleyes:

Yellowfin
13-11-2003, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United's popularity in the far east is about to escalate to unprecedented heights when the club sign their first Chinese player. Sir Alex Ferguson revealed last night that a deal is being finalised for Dong Fangzhou, an 18-year-old striker who will cost about £1.5m.
In a move that will delight United's corporate backers, Fangzhou will complete the formalities when the transfer window reopens in January. It follows a trial at Old Trafford in September when the club, mindful of the impact it would have if they were to sign one of China's leading young players, invited the country's top six clubs to send over their most promising teenagers.

Fangzhou plays for the Chinese champions Dalian Shide, the club where Manchester City's Sun Jihai began his career. His move to Old Trafford will immediately make him a superstar in China. United are to tour China next year and are bound to face accusations of exploiting the market, but Fangzhou has a growing reputation and impressed so much during his trial at Old Trafford that Ferguson asked him to extend the week-long spell to a month. As well as outsprinting the United team, Fangzhou scored in a reserves match.

"It will be a dream to join United," he said. "I learned such a lot during my time at the club. My positioning and running into the box have become sharper and my heading has definitely improved."

He dedicated the move to his father, who died in a car accident 10 years ago. "He would never have dreamt of me playing professionally overseas."

I think it will benefit both party. For China to improve their future chance in the world club by having young talented players sent to Europe or England to ply their trade.

I hope the Man U PLC don't be over optimisted by the sale of its product that generated in China if you know what I mean. ;)

RVN
13-11-2003, 02:13 PM
Ronaldo: I'm settling into Manchester life. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=46469)
Tim Howard says his defenders have been excellent this season. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=46461)
De Boer says Ruud must start versus Scotland. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=46448)

RuMmYtUb
13-11-2003, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo: I'm settling into Manchester life. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=46469)
Tim Howard says his defenders have been excellent this season. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=46461)
De Boer says Ruud must start versus Scotland. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=46448)

ccloh
13-11-2003, 06:16 PM
scotland is always a team i believe can do better than england in major competition. btw scotland qualified more times to world cup than england does but just that they dont excel as much as england in major competition. would like to see scotland in euro 2004 and also holland but can only have 1 team in it. sian man.

RadeonAMD
13-11-2003, 08:33 PM
man utd wan to buy chinese startlet

RVN
13-11-2003, 08:36 PM
Originally posted by RadeonAMD
man utd wan to buy chinese startlet

just saw it on sky.

UNITED CONFIRM CHINESE RAID (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1111147,00.html)

Geforce3
13-11-2003, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by RVN

just saw it on sky.

UNITED CONFIRM CHINESE RAID (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1111147,00.html) well if alex has an interest in him, then he must have something special :D

NanDesKa
14-11-2003, 12:46 AM
Originally posted by Geforce3
well if alex has an interest in him, then he must have something special :D yup yup...
but never heard of him lehz..
1.5 mill pounds..
hmmz/

RuMmYtUb
14-11-2003, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by Geforce3
well if alex has an interest in him, then he must have something special :D

:laugh:
SAF will never go wrong for his judgement of players... except for some cases... :D

vivre
14-11-2003, 09:00 AM

SAF will never go wrong for his judgement of players... except for some cases... :D

:confused: Contradicting Statement :confused:

ccloh
14-11-2003, 09:11 AM
according to paper, this dong fellow seems to be the star striker of china in the future. not sure what is the exact rationale behind the signing. could be part of comerical value and part of talent there.

kengbeng
14-11-2003, 09:35 AM
Either way, both player and club will benefit. United can break into China market, and at the same time the player can get only get better by training with top-class professionals. Who knows? He might turn out to be a useful addition to the team in the future.

knave
14-11-2003, 11:37 AM
I wonder who the next age of Fergie's Fledglings will be. Maybe the first 11 will be this:-

------------- Nardeillo------- Dong FangZhuo/Bellion---------

----------------------Freddy Adu/Fletcher-------------------
Ronaldo--------------------------------------------------Eagles/Chadwick
--------------------------Djemba Djemba-----------------------

O'shea--------Silvestre-------------Brown/Ferdinand-----Gary/Brown

--------------------------Howard------------------------------

lol...

kengbeng
14-11-2003, 11:52 AM
Fergie's Fledglings, the sequel. :o

RVN
14-11-2003, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by knave
I wonder who the next age of Fergie's Fledglings will be. Maybe the first 11 will be this:-

------------- Nardeillo------- Dong FangZhuo/Bellion---------

----------------------Freddy Adu/Fletcher-------------------
Ronaldo--------------------------------------------------Eagles/Chadwick
--------------------------Djemba Djemba-----------------------

O'shea--------Silvestre-------------Brown/Ferdinand-----Gary/Brown

--------------------------Howard------------------------------

lol...

Hope Adu join us first, Hope Nardiello, Eagles break through, oh don't forget Kleberson too, defence is still the same, could do with some new talents.

cracker
14-11-2003, 12:27 PM

let see who are these exception case.....

Kevin Probosky...
Neil Webb
Jesper Blomquivst
Dion Dublin
Masmo Taibi
Mark Bosnich
Fabien Barthez
Andrei the Speedy Gonzales....

the first 4 spent more time recovering than on playing football....while the 3 keepers all had indifferent forms !
and the last guy let success got to his head.

ccloh
14-11-2003, 01:24 PM
u missed out jodi cryuff also

RVN
14-11-2003, 01:27 PM
Oh and also Seba Veron. :rolleyes:

RVN
14-11-2003, 02:21 PM
MANCHESTER United are not planning a multi-million transfer blitz when the January window opens in the New Year.

The Reds will tomorrow present their £39.3m profit, a 22 per cent increase, to shareholders at the plc's AGM at Old Trafford.

Reports have suggested that £20m of that will be sanctioned for a mid-season war chest for Sir Alex Ferguson.

But United chief executive David Gill, who'll be at the AGM in his new capacity as Old Trafford's top man following the shock departure to Chelsea of Peter Kenyon, is warning speculators that an `if it ain't broke don't fix it' policy is likely to prevail when the post-Christmas transfer scramble gets underway.

"I don't think we will be going into the transfer market in a big way in January," he told M.E.N. Sport. "We have had some discussions about it and it is all still being reviewed by Sir Alex Ferguson, his staff and myself.

"I think whatever we do in January will be consistent with previous years.

"The manager doesn't normally do major transfer work in mid-season even before we had the window. It is premature to reach any conclusions as to what we will be doing."

Once again a top-grade front man to bolster the champions three-man senior strike force of Ruud van Nistelrooy, Diego Forlan and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is seen as a priority by fans and critics alike if the Reds are going to push on with their Premiership and Champions League challenges.

Fergie's only two mid-term purchases during the last decade of success have been forwards.

In January 1995 Andy Cole was bought for a then British record of £7m from Newcastle and two years ago Diego Forlan was captured from Independiente for £7.5m.

But talk of a £20m kitty for Ferguson to plunder for new faces is wide of the mark.

"I don't think we are going to need ridiculous amounts of money in January. Alex Ferguson won't ask for that because there is nothing major to be fixed," insisted Gill.

"We developed the squad in the summer so we'd be challenging for all the honours and we are challenging so why would we want to make big changes in January?"

disagree, I feel we need another top-quality striker and a defender. :(

stipe
14-11-2003, 02:38 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Oh and also Seba Veron. :rolleyes:

veron is world class! just did not click with the rest of the players... me still thinks he world class...

stipe
14-11-2003, 02:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN

"We developed the squad in the summer so we'd be challenging for all the honours and we are challenging so why would we want to make big changes in January?"

disagree, I feel we need another top-quality striker and a defender. :(

ManU needs to finish a season without any trophies before they plunder the market for players. sigh... PLC...

RVN
14-11-2003, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by stipe

ManU needs to finish a season without any trophies before they plunder the market for players. sigh... PLC...

Maybe Fergie think with Solskjaer, Scholes and Brown coming back oh and maybe Forlan come good, There will be depth in the squad. :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
14-11-2003, 03:31 PM

veron is world class! just did not click with the rest of the players... me still thinks he world class...

Hmm agree, juz that EPL is not his cup of tea...
Italian Seria A and the CL is his big stage..

cracker
14-11-2003, 03:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Maybe Fergie think with Solskjaer, Scholes and Brown coming back oh and maybe Forlan come good, There will be depth in the squad. :rolleyes:

maybe they will be injured again too :D

RVN
14-11-2003, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by cracker

maybe they will be injured again too :D

hope not. :(

cracker
14-11-2003, 03:39 PM
u missed out jodi cryuff also

i remembered cryuff also spent more time recovering from injury than playing football...

as for veron, for some reason he always excel in CL.

stipe
14-11-2003, 04:56 PM

i remembered cryuff also spent more time recovering from injury than playing football...

as for veron, for some reason he always excel in CL.

tat's what fergie bought him for right? dunno why he sell veron away.... when man utd bought veron, i thought that finally man utd is starting to buy established super-stars... haiz.. they now back to buying potential stars again....

i miss veron... i like his air of style, exuding confidence and when his pass damn steady....

RuMmYtUb
14-11-2003, 05:50 PM

tat's what fergie bought him for right? dunno why he sell veron away.... when man utd bought veron, i thought that finally man utd is starting to buy established super-stars... haiz.. they now back to buying potential stars again....

i miss veron... i like his air of style, exuding confidence and when his pass damn steady....

Cannot afford to pay someone who excels only in the CL and not week in week out in the EPL...:(

RVN
14-11-2003, 06:04 PM
I would like to see another big name arrive at OT. I think that for the last decade we have happily merged upcoming young player with established "stars".

RuMmYtUb
14-11-2003, 10:06 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I would like to see another big name arrive at OT. I think that for the last decade we have happily merged upcoming young player with established "stars".

Yup that's SAF's trademark, though overpaid some of the established stars.. :(

RVN
14-11-2003, 10:22 PM
Manchester United fans want Sir Alex Ferguson to buy another striker - even though the club say there will be no big-money moves in mid season.

A poll run by the Manchester Evening News has resulted in fans putting forward the names of the players they feel Fergie should chase and they range from Fulham's Luis Saha to Leeds United's Alan Smith as well as the lesser-known Aruna Dindane from Anderlecht.

Sir Alex watched Aruna when he took in Celtic's European match against Anderlecht at Parkhead, but it is unlikely the United boss would make a move for the 22-year-old, who has already played in the Champions League.

Others tagged to Old Trafford are Southampton striker James Beattie, Didier Drogba of Marseille, Andrei Shevchenko from AC Milan, and West Ham's Jermain Defoe.

That said it all:rolleyes:

NanDesKa
15-11-2003, 12:02 AM
shevchenko.. :eek:

RVN
15-11-2003, 12:32 AM
MANCHESTER (Reuters) - Manchester United are not seeking and do not need a billionaire backer like Roman Abramovich, chief executive David Gill says.

"We don't need a sugar daddy," Gill told Reuters at the premier league champions' annual meeting of shareholders. "We have a well thought out strategic system in place producing results."

Russian billionaire Abramovich bought Chelsea in July and has spent more than 110 million pounds on new players as well as hiring Manchester United's former chief executive Peter Kenyon.

"Our turnover is 173 million pounds and we have 29 million cash currently in the bank," said Gill. "We also have a strategy in place to increase our revenue and the future is positive.

"The investment resources are now there for players because spending on assets such as the ground and training ground is now finished."

Gill told the meeting on Friday that the club had tried to sign Damien Duff, who moved to Chelsea in the summer, and intended to sell goalkeeper Fabien Barthez at the end of the season.

"We were interested in Damien Duff and assessed the value of the player," he said. "We knew his personal terms and were in discussions with his agent and discussed that with the manager (Alex Ferguson).

"The assessment of the manager and the executives was that Damien wasn't worth that money. We had sufficient cover and other possibilities to chase at the time."

BARTHEZ DEAL

He defended Ferguson's decision to buy Barthez for 7.8 million pounds in June 2000.

"We have a manager who has proved over 16 years he has an eye for talented players," he said.

"But we have discussed with Marseille putting Fabien on loan until the end of the season at which point we would hope to conclude a transfer."

Gill said United have so far failed in their attempts to arrange a meeting with Malcolm Glazier, who has bought 8.94 percent of the club, but intend to sit down with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers owner soon.

Rumours have swept the financial world that Glazier or Irish racehorse owners JP McManus and John Magnier, who through their company Cubic Expression control 23.15 percent of the club, are on the verge of mounting a takeover bid.

Gill said United's summer transfer dealings, which saw the exit of England captain David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron, has left the club in a healthier position.

"We replaced David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron with five players and the addition of two players from the youth team. And we are not spending more money on wages now than we did before," he said.

RuMmYtUb
15-11-2003, 01:43 AM
I like Alan Smith...he's hardworking, can fit in MU :D

edhorizon
15-11-2003, 03:30 AM
I like Alan Smith...he's hardworking, can fit in MU :D

i also like him. the desire to win but abit too hot temper.

RuMmYtUb
15-11-2003, 03:43 AM

i also like him. the desire to win but abit too hot temper.

Always get his ass into troubles.. :mad:

stipe
15-11-2003, 07:27 AM

remember cantona? also from leeds. also always get his arse into trouble.

but then again, cantona was established.

OreoCookies
15-11-2003, 12:11 PM

Getting onto trouble on the field is still acceptable to a certain degree... Heck, even Keano gets sent-off once in a while for his zealous and passionate play...

The thing with Smith is his off-field troubles... And Fergie is one who doesn't have much tolerance for bad off-field behaviour...

RVN
15-11-2003, 02:19 PM
2 goals tonight for england under-20's on his debut. great strong striker's performance with two nice finishes. keeps getting more promising this lad

I wonder why he and Nardiello hasn't been given the chance in the first team. :(

RuMmYtUb
15-11-2003, 02:33 PM

Getting onto trouble on the field is still acceptable to a certain degree... Heck, even Keano gets sent-off once in a while for his zealous and passionate play...

The thing with Smith is his off-field troubles... And Fergie is one who doesn't have much tolerance for bad off-field behaviour...

Hmm yup, at least Keano no off-field troubles..

remember cantona? also from leeds. also always get his arse into trouble.

but then again, cantona was established.

Den again no off-field troubles..

lennardseah
15-11-2003, 06:21 PM
clone ryan giggs and give him a right foot gene

OreoCookies
16-11-2003, 02:45 PM
Originally posted by lennardseah
clone ryan giggs and give him a right foot gene

No need lah... We've got Darren Fletcher now... :D

Good performance for the Scots by Fletcher... Now to take the EPL and Europe by storm! ;)

RuMmYtUb
16-11-2003, 02:51 PM

No need lah... We've got Darren Fletcher now... :D

Good performance for the Scots by Fletcher... Now to take the EPL and Europe by storm! ;)

Yesterday he MOM !
Mai siao siao :o

kengbeng
16-11-2003, 05:34 PM
Told you all last time that he is good liao. :D

I rate him much higher than Chadwick.

RuMmYtUb
16-11-2003, 06:15 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Told you all last time that he is good liao. :D

I rate him much higher than Chadwick.

He ROX !
yea much better than Chadwick..
groom him into our right winger, den in the future Ronaldo can take over Giggs once he retires :D

NanDesKa
16-11-2003, 10:31 PM
=p =p

Ch3tah_39
16-11-2003, 11:24 PM

He ROX !
groom him into our right winger, den in the future Ronaldo can take over Giggs once he retires :D

they both are gd la...
CHADWICK better in some attribute while he better in another lorz... where got much better??

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 12:37 AM

they both are gd la...
CHADWICK better in some attribute while he better in another lorz... where got much better??

Agreed... :)

Somehow, I think Chadwick can dribble better... He seems better at taking-on defenders compared to Fletcher...

Fletcher is more of the playmaker type, where passing and deft flicks are his specialty... Just think of his assist for McFadden... :D

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 12:41 AM

He ROX !

Hmm... Is it just me, coz I've been observing that Ronaldo prefers to use his right foot more than his left? :confused:

I understand that he's strong with either foot... But if he's naturally right-footed, than playing on the left flank may make him feel awkward, at least in the beginning...

I'd prefer to see him given the free-role... That way, he can choose whichever avenue suits him best at any point in the game... ;)

RuMmYtUb
17-11-2003, 12:50 AM

Hmm... Is it just me, coz I've been observing that Ronaldo prefers to use his right foot more than his left? :confused:

I understand that he's strong with either foot... But if he's naturally right-footed, than playing on the left flank may make him feel awkward, at least in the beginning...

I'd prefer to see him given the free-role... That way, he can choose whichever avenue suits him best at any point in the game... ;)

Get Rafael van der Vaart !

NanDesKa
17-11-2003, 01:02 AM
chadwick fast.
fletcher is abit on the slow side if ur notice..

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 01:25 AM

Get Rafael van der Vaart !

Good prospect... But our midfield over-crowded liaoz sia...

cracker
17-11-2003, 08:27 AM
was recalling how Ronaldo likes to shift between his left and right leg on the ball while trying to dribble past a defender. His action reminds me of one of Stephen Chow's team mate in the movie " Shaolin Soccer" when tat guy also likes to "gelek" but end up falling on his bum instead.:D

Ch3tah_39
17-11-2003, 11:07 AM
was recalling how Ronaldo likes to shift between his left and right leg on the ball while trying to dribble past a defender. His action reminds me of one of Stephen Chow's team mate in the movie " Shaolin Soccer" when tat guy also likes to "gelek" but end up falling on his bum instead.:D

diff la... c.ronaldo that one he was doing much faster...
def will get confuse or trick more often... but easy to lose balance also ma...=p

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 12:14 PM

def will get confuse or trick more often... but easy to lose balance also ma...=p

VERY easy to lose balance... Just think of the number of times Ronaldo slips and falls in a match... :laugh:

RVN
17-11-2003, 12:35 PM
Manchester United have tied down another of their FA Youth Cup winning team to a long-term deal. Midfielder David Jones, who has been likened to club skipper Roy Keane, has signed a new four-year contract.

Must be a good player to get given such a long contract...how long before he's given his chance in the first team then? Makes ya wonder why we bought players like Kleberson and Djemba when we have these central midfielders with great potential coming through now.

Ch3tah_39
17-11-2003, 12:40 PM

VERY easy to lose balance... Just think of the number of times Ronaldo slips and falls in a match... :laugh:

saw once nia...
against rangers...

RVN
17-11-2003, 02:07 PM
Alex Ferguson was last night given the green light to hit the January sales with a £30million transfer kitty. The Manchester United board have told their manager he has the keys to their sizeable treasure chest and the authority to replace Rio Ferdinand IF he is banned for missing a drugs test. United chief executive David Gill said: "Historically, we have never spent big in January but we are in a position that we could if we wanted to."

Manchester United are expected to buy cover for Rio Ferdinand in the January transfer window in anticipation of any lengthy ban the FA may give the defender.

Ferdinand, charged with "refusing or failing" to take a drugs test, looks likely to receive a ban of at least three months when he faces an FA disciplinary hearing.

United chief executive David Gill said: "Like any business, we have to react to situations. It would be stupid for us to say nothing would happen, because we would assess it at the time."

The beauty of Manchester United is that we do have the financial resources and strength to ensure that we can make appropriate decisions when things hit us from left-field.

United showed a group operating profit of £50 million this year. Manager Alex Ferguson, despite reports suggesting funds are limited, wants to add a striker to support Ruud van Nistelrooy and has thought about moving for Leeds' Mark Viduka. He was also looking for a defender even before Ferdinand's drug test drama.

RuMmYtUb
17-11-2003, 02:45 PM
Wah lau, though Mark Viduka is an excellent striker but his playing style same as RVN ler...:rolleyes:

cracker
17-11-2003, 03:06 PM

fast but not accurate also no use....

Must learn from Lauren Blanc......the old man just need to stick out his leg at the right time to dispose Michael Owen of the ball..

edhorizon
17-11-2003, 05:28 PM
$30 million for a striker and defender..
should be quite okz right.

ccloh
17-11-2003, 05:37 PM
$30 million for a striker and defender..
should be quite okz right.

30million pounds or 30million US. make a lot of difference though.

not sure which other established striker and defender SAF can buy after the transfer window is opened in jan so that both can play in CL. real difficult to find one.

RVN
17-11-2003, 07:00 PM

30million pounds or 30million US. make a lot of difference though.

not sure which other established striker and defender SAF can buy after the transfer window is opened in jan so that both can play in CL. real difficult to find one.

£30m pound in british sum. Exactly the same amount we paid for Rio. one striker, one defender. if they're available and worth it then we'll move for them. if they're not we'll soldier on and not waste any money.

viduka? no thanks. ;)

edhorizon
17-11-2003, 10:42 PM
best bathez also go off so our wages also save alot...

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 11:36 PM

saw once nia...
against rangers...

No leh... I remember he fell like five or six times in that match alone... :laugh:

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 11:38 PM
Wah lau, though Mark Viduka is an excellent striker but his playing style same as RVN ler...:rolleyes:

I think Viduka has better ball-control... He can actually dribble quite well, for a striker of his size... RVN is much faster though... ;)

OreoCookies
17-11-2003, 11:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN

£30m pound in british sum. Exactly the same amount we paid for Rio. one striker, one defender. if they're available and worth it then we'll move for them. if they're not we'll soldier on and not waste any money.

viduka? no thanks. ;)

I'd rather we soldier on... There's always the promising youngsters waiting in the wings... Nardiello, Johnsen, Eagles... Exciting times ahead... :D

ccloh
18-11-2003, 09:21 AM
giggs is having trouble with the russian during the euro 2004 playoff. might be ban if uefa after studied the video found giggs is gulity. really hope to see giggs play at euro 2004 next yr. it is time for player with his calibre to enjoy some big stage football already.

kengbeng
18-11-2003, 09:25 AM
giggs is having trouble with the russian during the euro 2004 playoff. might be ban if uefa after studied the video found giggs is gulity. really hope to see giggs play at euro 2004 next yr. it is time for player with his calibre to enjoy some big stage football already.
He tried to maim Giggs. The russian should be banned instead! :mad:

Hope to see Wales pull through.

guoquanyap
18-11-2003, 10:11 AM
I am BacK!! look like i missed out quite alot here......:D

ccloh
18-11-2003, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
I am BacK!! look like i missed out quite alot here......:D

back from where ??? come think of it, ya hor, never seen u post for quite some time liao

RVN
18-11-2003, 01:45 PM

Those ****ing russian players tried to wind Giggs up and the horrrendous tackle thankfully didn't break Giggs leg. I hope Wales qualify for the Euro 2004 final too.

guoquanyap
18-11-2003, 07:13 PM

back from where ??? come think of it, ya hor, never seen u post for quite some time liao

u nv noticed my absence.....:sad:

guoquanyap
18-11-2003, 07:15 PM
Ferguson suing United shareholder
LONDON, Nov 18 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has issued legal proceedings against the club's biggest shareholder in a row over the ownership of the racehorse Rock of Gibraltar, British newspapers reported on Tuesday.
)
Ferguson's solicitors have issued legal proceedings against Irish racehorse owners JP McManus and John Magnier, who through their company Cubic Expression control 23.15 percent of United, claiming half-ownership of Group One record-breaker Rock of Gibraltar.

A statement from Coolmore Stud said: 'Coolmore Stud has today (Monday) been advised that legal proceedings have been issued against Mr John Magnier by Alex Ferguson alleging certain ownership rights for the stallion Rock of Gibraltar.

'Coolmore Stud and John Magnier consider the action to be without merit and it will be vigorously defended. As this is a legal matter, no further comment will be made.'

Ferguson alleges he was given a half-share of Rock of Gibraltar as a gift by Magnier and wants half the stud fees, which could be worth between £50million and £150million, said the Daily Mail and Daily Mirror newspapers.

Rock of Gibraltar, trained by Irishman Aidan O'Brien, was retired to stud last year after winning seven successive Group One races, breaking the record of six set by Mill Reef in the 1970s.

tianwei
18-11-2003, 07:39 PM

u nv noticed my absence.....:sad:

what for??he's gay meh??:rolleyes: =p

guoquanyap
18-11-2003, 07:44 PM

what for??he's gay meh??:rolleyes: =p

:alien: :alien:

guoquanyap
18-11-2003, 10:04 PM
WES BROWN is ready to shock Manchester United - by returning within two weeks.

The injury-plagued England defender - out since May with damaged knee ligaments - has started light training.

And his return would offset the possible loss of Rio Ferdinand, who faces a ban if found guilty of failing to turn up for a drugs test.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson said: "He is making quicker progress than we expected.

"Wes started doing bits of training with the young players last week.

"We anticipated it would be the new year before we could think about a comeback - but now we hope we can bring that forward.

"I think we will now be looking for a reserve match for him at the beginning of the next month.

"If all goes well I could have him in the first-team squad for the festive period. "It is smashing news, and we are all pleased because he’s had a tough time."

Hope to see him in action again.....

Ch3tah_39
18-11-2003, 11:58 PM

The injury-plagued England defender - out since May with damaged knee ligaments - has started light training.

And his return would offset the possible loss of Rio Ferdinand, who faces a ban if found guilty of failing to turn up for a drugs test.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson said: "He is making quicker progress than we expected.

"We anticipated it would be the new year before we could think about a comeback - but now we hope we can bring that forward.

"I think we will now be looking for a reserve match for him at the beginning of the next month.

"If all goes well I could have him in the first-team squad for the festive period. "It is smashing news, and we are all pleased because he’s had a tough time."

power, ya hope see him in action soon

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 01:34 AM

A case of pot calling the kettle black... Looks like the Russians lack faith in their ability to qualify via their own efforts... Have to resort to such underhand methods... :mad:

Yeah... Wales beings in Euro 2004 would really be a huge boost to the players and fans... Mark Hughes has really brought remarkable improvement to the national squad... :D

Hope Giggs can shine in Portugal... Imagine having to wait until you're 30-years old before playing in your first major international tournament... Hope Wales can beat Russia at Cardiff in front of their own fans... ;)

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 01:36 AM

Hopefully, when Brown does make it back into the squad, he won't have to suffer the misfortune of another long-term injury... It really sux to have a bad injury and a long layoff every now and then...

guoquanyap
19-11-2003, 01:41 AM

Hopefully, when Brown does make it back into the squad, he won't have to suffer the misfortune of another long-term injury... It really sux to have a bad injury and a long layoff every now and then...

Giggs cleared to play against Russia
Ryan Giggs is free to play in Wales' Euro 2004 qualifying play-off second leg against Russia on Wednesday despite a UEFA charge.

The Manchester United winger has been charged with improper conduct after appearing to elbow Vadim Evseev in the goalless first-leg draw in Moscow, which prompted the Russian football association to call for an immediate ban.

But a UEFA spokesman said: 'Ryan Giggs will be able to play in tomorrow's match but he'll have to answer a subsequent disciplinary charge of improper conduct.'

The FAW will appeal against the decision to charge Giggs with the lesser offence of improper conduct, which is due to be heard at a UEFA hearing on December 4.

'We will obviously appeal on Ryan's behalf,' said FAW international secretary Mark Evan. 'We are clearly not happy that the decision seems to have been made on e-mail evidence.

'We would want UEFA to look at the whole match, certainly the incidents leading up to the clash with the Russian player.

'We would want UEFA to view the tackle on Giggs beforehand, as well as other incidents in the match.'

Russia have also not escaped UEFA's disciplinary chiefs and have been charged over the use of firecrackers and flares during the first leg.

more bad news....giggs been charged by UEFA....looked like UEFA blow under pressure fr Russia......bt heng he not suspend for the second-leg.......:D

guoquanyap
19-11-2003, 01:44 AM

ya he damn injuring prone.....but at his age his pyshical should be setting down....if he still not setting down...his career will nv going to take off.....

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 01:57 AM

more bad news....giggs been charged by UEFA....looked like UEFA blow under pressure fr Russia......bt heng he not suspend for the second-leg.......:D

Best way for Giggs and the Welsh to respond to Russia is by beating them at Cardiff and qualify for Portugal in style... :D

Hopefully can see Wales perform like that did in the victory against Italy... :bounce:

ccloh
19-11-2003, 09:38 AM

it is definitely a gd news given that rio is going to face a 8-mth ban or 8-match ban.

guoquanyap
19-11-2003, 10:28 AM
Ronaldo scored in yesterday Euro 2004 (Under 21) - Play-Off (qualifiers) against france.......:)

RVN
19-11-2003, 11:39 AM
Ferguson suing United shareholder
LONDON, Nov 18 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has issued legal proceedings against the club's biggest shareholder in a row over the ownership of the racehorse Rock of Gibraltar, British newspapers reported on Tuesday.
)
Ferguson's solicitors have issued legal proceedings against Irish racehorse owners JP McManus and John Magnier, who through their company Cubic Expression control 23.15 percent of United, claiming half-ownership of Group One record-breaker Rock of Gibraltar.

A statement from Coolmore Stud said: 'Coolmore Stud has today (Monday) been advised that legal proceedings have been issued against Mr John Magnier by Alex Ferguson alleging certain ownership rights for the stallion Rock of Gibraltar.

'Coolmore Stud and John Magnier consider the action to be without merit and it will be vigorously defended. As this is a legal matter, no further comment will be made.'

Ferguson alleges he was given a half-share of Rock of Gibraltar as a gift by Magnier and wants half the stud fees, which could be worth between £50million and £150million, said the Daily Mail and Daily Mirror newspapers.

Rock of Gibraltar, trained by Irishman Aidan O'Brien, was retired to stud last year after winning seven successive Group One races, breaking the record of six set by Mill Reef in the 1970s.

It may not be beneficial to united, but I can't see it being too detrimental either.

I think the rest of the shareholders would be completely united against any moves by magnier to use his shareholding to in any way get at fergie.

the fact is that if magnier does anything to undermine fergie, shareholders will see that as a VERY bad thing for the club. the share price would plummet and magnier would potentially lose a LOT of money.

so it's in magniers best financial interests to make sure that the disagreement between the two has NO detrimental effect on the club.

also these guys have always been purely financial investors in our shares, never having stepped foot near the club or shown any interest in the running of the club.

it would therefore stink a lot more if they suddenly waded in with their opinions now, and i think they'd find too many people opposed to it to make it worth their while.

wouldnt' surprise me if the middle ground is found and an out of court settlement made, perhaps even before the case begins.

RVN
19-11-2003, 11:51 AM
Ronaldo scored in yesterday Euro 2004 (Under 21) - Play-Off (qualifiers) against france.......:)

He played awesome, scored the 1st goal, hit he post, and scored his pk too!! he played a big role today putting France away of the U21 EURO!

guoquanyap
19-11-2003, 12:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He played awesome, scored the 1st goal, hit he post, and scored his pk too!! he played a big role today putting France away of the U21 EURO!

ya....getting better eh.....:D

RuMmYtUb
19-11-2003, 02:01 PM

it is definitely a gd news given that rio is going to face a 8-mth ban or 8-match ban.

8 match ban way better than 8mth

kengbeng
19-11-2003, 02:09 PM
Does anyone here know if the official Season Review 2002/03 VCD/DVD is out in Singapore yet?
http://www.zoommovie.com/idroom.asp?productID=4576&title=Manchester+United+-+Season+Review+2002-2003
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000AZVDH/ref=cm_wl_ovu-pg.1-pos.14/002-7433554-3276827?v=glance&coliid=IRGCBPL6N6QKD&me=ATVPDKIKX0DER
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0000AZVDH.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I wonder when he's gonna' make it to the senior squad for good... He may excel for the U21s, but the place to really improve on his skills is in the big 'A' internationals... ;)

vivre
19-11-2003, 03:35 PM

I wonder when he's gonna' make it to the senior squad for good... He may excel for the U21s, but the place to really improve on his skills is in the big 'A' internationals... ;)

Don't forget he's still very young.... Lots of time to improve.

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 04:01 PM

Don't forget he's still very young.... Lots of time to improve.

Yeah, acknowledged... But I wonder if he can be as successful at a young age for Portugal, as Rooney has been for England... :D

ccloh
19-11-2003, 04:08 PM

Yeah, acknowledged... But I wonder if he can be as successful at a young age for Portugal, as Rooney has been for England... :D

hmm don't find rooney that impressive as what the british tips him to be.

vivre
19-11-2003, 04:43 PM

Rooney is overhyped....

Whatsmore, the reason Rooney can break into the full Eng squad is due to the fact that england does not have sufficient players of quality, except a few like Beckham and Owen, to make their place on the national squad their own.

The reason why Ronaldo should be given time to break into the national squad is becos Portugal already has a number of established midfielders on their team whom no one can dislodge barring injuries and retirement (eg. Figo, Rui Costa, Conceição).

Who else is there in England who can say that they have the ability to hold down the striker position in the england squad except Owen? As such, Sven can only pick the best among the ordinary to fill the striking position.

Just my 2 cents....

kengbeng
19-11-2003, 04:51 PM
Does anyone here know if the official Season Review 2002/03 VCD/DVD is out in Singapore yet?
http://www.zoommovie.com/idroom.asp?productID=4576&title=Manchester+United+-+Season+Review+2002-2003
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000AZVDH/ref=cm_wl_ovu-pg.1-pos.14/002-7433554-3276827?v=glance&coliid=IRGCBPL6N6QKD&me=ATVPDKIKX0DER
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0000AZVDH.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
You all don't buy these ah? :(

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 10:57 PM

Rooney is overhyped....

Whatsmore, the reason Rooney can break into the full Eng squad is due to the fact that england does not have sufficient players of quality, except a few like Beckham and Owen, to make their place on the national squad their own.

The reason why Ronaldo should be given time to break into the national squad is becos Portugal already has a number of established midfielders on their team whom no one can dislodge barring injuries and retirement (eg. Figo, Rui Costa, Conceição).

Who else is there in England who can say that they have the ability to hold down the striker position in the england squad except Owen? As such, Sven can only pick the best among the ordinary to fill the striking position.

Just my 2 cents....

Well, Rooney did deliver the goods in the past few matches... A goal here and another there, so I guess he's still doing okay for England there... ;)

As for Ronaldo, it'll just be nice for him to make the senior squad more regularly loh... It'll be a good experience for him, which can only help Man Utd when he returns to Old Trafford from international duty... :D

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 11:04 PM

You all don't buy these ah? :(

No offence, but I'd rather be looking at the season review for the 1999-2000 treble season instead... That was something really special... Last season was quite the usual that we've come to expect from Man Utd IMHO... ;)

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 11:45 PM
American starlet Freddy Adu cannot wait to begin his MLS career next year.

The Ghana-born starlet has penned a lengthy deal with the American league, that will see him remain in the US until he is at least 18.

The 14-year-old will play for DC United in MLS and should feature next season, and in so doing he would become the youngest player in its history - beating the previous best set by Santino Quaranta at 16.

The likes of Manchester United and Chelsea are believed to have missed out on Adu, although that interest is only likely to have been put on the back-burner until later in his career.

Despite the interest in him, Adu was only too happy to agree his first professional deal with MLS.

"I am excited to begin my professional career in MLS," said Adu, who will now be able to remain in his hometown of Potomac, Maryland.

"I grew up watching MLS and I look forward to the challenge. This league will help me develop as a player and I hope I can leave my mark as soon as possible."

It seems that proximity to his mother Emelia and younger brother Fredua played a large part in the youngster's choice and while money (between his contract with MLS and his sponsorship deal with Nike) will not be a problem, the Adu family seemingly made this decision based on his immediate career.

"We wanted to allow Freddy to pursue his dreams and develop his God-given talents," said Emelia.

"As he makes this next step at the age of 14 it was best for Freddy to stay in America and sign with MLS.

"Having the opportunity to stay at home in the US and at the same time play at a high level was the top priority in the decision making process."

The signing is a major feather in the cap of the league, and MLS commissioner Don Garber is understandably proud at Adu's capture.

"Major League Soccer and fans across the country are thrilled that Freddy and his family chose MLS," said Garber.

"He is widely considered the best young soccer player in the world and we believe that playing in his home country in MLS will further develop him as a player and most importantly as a person.

"The fact that the majority of up-and-coming American soccer stars continue to make MLS their preference over international clubs is evidence that the competitive level of our League ranks with the best in the world."

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, guess we'll have to wait for quite a while more if we're to lure Adu to Old Trafford... :(

OreoCookies
19-11-2003, 11:48 PM
Norwich City striker Alex Notman has been forced to retire after suffering a freak injury back in 2002.

The Scot tried to block a venomous free kick by Mark Venus during the East Anglian derby with Ipswich Town.

Initially, it looked like the sort of problem that raises laughs within football stadiums as he had bravely charged down the shot, but Notman sustained a serious ankle injury.

The 23-year-old, who cost £250,000 from Manchester United, has made only one appearance since.

"I have loved my time at Norwich," he told City's official website.

"It is a great club with a great manager and great players."

"I came from a family club in Manchester United and I was lucky enough to come to another family club in Norwich."

"I will miss all the lads and the manager and will follow the club's fortunes in the future as a keen supporter."

kengbeng
20-11-2003, 12:09 AM

No offence, but I'd rather be looking at the season review for the 1999-2000 treble season instead... That was something really special... Last season was quite the usual that we've come to expect from Man Utd IMHO... ;)
I have that too. I collect all the season reviews. Just asking whether you all have seen it around.

guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 12:25 AM

I have that too. I collect all the season reviews. Just asking whether you all have seen it around.

i think it's still not out in SG yet, go into manU shop few wk ago....still not here yet.....

if possible go grab Peter and Cantona edition.....best! :D

guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 12:27 AM
Norwich City striker Alex Notman has been forced to retire after suffering a freak injury back in 2002.

The Scot tried to block a venomous free kick by Mark Venus during the East Anglian derby with Ipswich Town.

Initially, it looked like the sort of problem that raises laughs within football stadiums as he had bravely charged down the shot, but Notman sustained a serious ankle injury.

The 23-year-old, who cost £250,000 from Manchester United, has made only one appearance since.

"I have loved my time at Norwich," he told City's official website.

"It is a great club with a great manager and great players."

"I came from a family club in Manchester United and I was lucky enough to come to another family club in Norwich."

"I will miss all the lads and the manager and will follow the club's fortunes in the future as a keen supporter."

still remember Notman is one of the striker to look out for during that time......:(

NanDesKa
20-11-2003, 03:06 AM
wtf
retire at 23.

RuMmYtUb
20-11-2003, 04:24 AM

still remember Notman is one of the striker to look out for during that time......:(

Ya Notman was the one with potential, i liked him in CM too..:D

guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 05:31 AM
WoOts Ruud scored a hattrick!! but giggs wales kana knocked out.....:(

RuMmYtUb
20-11-2003, 06:42 AM
Hope SAF can sign van der Vaart... damn quality wonderkid... perfect pair up with our RVN :D

kengbeng
20-11-2003, 08:17 AM
Sad for Giggs. :(

ccloh
20-11-2003, 09:22 AM
sad to see yet again to deny giggs on the big stage of soccer. :(

guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 10:40 AM
Hope SAF can sign van der Vaart... damn quality wonderkid... perfect pair up with our RVN :D

ya! :D

guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 11:11 AM

very very sad......i expect them to win yesterday leh.....haiz......:(

RVN
20-11-2003, 12:20 PM
Hard luck on Giggs, he struck the post in the 1st half. :(

RVN
20-11-2003, 12:23 PM
Forlan scores twice for Uruguay in a 3-3 draw with Brazil. :eek:

RadeonAMD
20-11-2003, 12:59 PM
forlan on form

RVN
20-11-2003, 01:21 PM
Manchester United have cut through the red tape and added a third American to their playing staff, central defender Jonathan Spector.

After landing goalkeeper Tim Howard in the summer, Sir Alex Ferguson also took Baltimore-born teenage striker Kenny Cooper on board and the youngster became an instant hit in the reserve side.

Now the United manager has made it three Yanks in a row with 17-year-old Spector on Tuesday being cleared to play in England, but only after weeks of negotiations.

Spector was expected to join United from Chicago Sockers at the start of the season but the move was put on hold while he played for the USA in the World Youth Championships in Finland.

Then it was discovered Fifa had introduced a new rule preventing youngsters under 18 from playing for clubs outside their own nation, even though the youngster holds an EU passport.

United appealed and learned this week that Spector can at last start his career.

OreoCookies
20-11-2003, 03:36 PM

How about ordering online? Man Utd online shop should have, no? :)

OreoCookies
20-11-2003, 03:39 PM

Ya Notman was the one with potential, i liked him in CM too..:D

Yeah, Notman was one of the better youth players in CM... I remember his technique always 20... :laugh:

A bit the sad he gotta' retire so early... He could have a good, long career ahead of him... Maybe even make it to the Scotland squad...

OreoCookies
20-11-2003, 03:46 PM

Giggs must be feeling really bad sia... 30-years old liaoz and still not a taste of a big international tournament... :(

If Wales don't make it for the 2006 WC, then itz really hard luck on Giggs... A startling career for club, but naught for country...

ccloh
20-11-2003, 04:14 PM

Giggs must be feeling really bad sia... 30-years old liaoz and still not a taste of a big international tournament... :(

If Wales don't make it for the 2006 WC, then itz really hard luck on Giggs... A startling career for club, but naught for country...

well if he has chosen to represent england rather than wales the story might be different liao. apparently he got a choice to choose from but he in the end opt for wales.

well guess that is why never hear giggs name alongside those superstars despite of his talents. lack of international result to show. whereas some joker called "david the who" get all the attention in the wrong way.

OreoCookies
20-11-2003, 04:35 PM
I think Giggs chose Wales because of some personal family reason... His mum's Welsh, and his dad's English... I think his dad left the family or something like that, so Giggs chose to play for Wales (his mum's nationality) instead loh... :(

BTW, Giggs is his mum's surname... I guess he must really hate his dad or something...

RVN
20-11-2003, 05:35 PM
I think Cole is suspended.

I read in the Sun that Yorke is gonna play.

Any thoughts for this saturday bearing in mind they have no Duff or Dunn this season and their form this season has been rather patchy to say the least.

Wonder if Fergie will rest Forlan, Giggsy, Fletcher and Ruud after last night's matches.I think Giggs and Ruud should start upfront. Ronaldo to take over from Fletcher.

Nice to get back to what I think should be quite a long run without any international games.

OreoCookies
20-11-2003, 11:23 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed Manchester United may lose Quinton Fortune for three weeks in the New Year.

The 26-year-old, who has developed into a key member of the United side this season, is likely to be on international duty with South Africa in the African Nations Cup from January 24 to February 14.

Fortune, who has played at both left-back and midfield, could miss four of United matches in the Premiership and FA Cup.

Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News: 'Quinton will have to be available for South Africa if they want him. There is nothing we can do about that, but it can also be a good thing for him.

"He has been brilliant for us this season. He is one of these players who has just got better the longer he has been with us."

"I think signing a new contract last season has settled him down a lot. It took away the uncertainty for him. He wanted to stay at Old Trafford and to be honest I was worried that he was going to go."

Source - Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=283741&cc=4716)

NanDesKa
20-11-2003, 11:27 PM
forlan scored 2 sialz.. :eek: