20-11-2003, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
forlan scored 2 sialz.. :eek:
why so shocked? :eek: :eek: =p
guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 11:42 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I think Cole is suspended.
I read in the Sun that Yorke is gonna play.
Any thoughts for this saturday bearing in mind they have no Duff or Dunn this season and their form this season has been rather patchy to say the least.
Wonder if Fergie will rest Forlan, Giggsy, Fletcher and Ruud after last night's matches.I think Giggs and Ruud should start upfront. Ronaldo to take over from Fletcher.
Nice to get back to what I think should be quite a long run without any international games.
think giggs will be rested becos of the knock he got fr the russian.....and to let him settle down mentally after the lost......
forlan ruud ronaldo start lor.....all hav great game for their national team....
guoquanyap
20-11-2003, 11:44 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies
I think Giggs chose Wales because of some personal family reason... His mum's Welsh, and his dad's English... I think his dad left the family or something like that, so Giggs chose to play for Wales (his mum's nationality) instead loh... :(
BTW, Giggs is his mum's surname... I guess he must really hate his dad or something...
u are right.....:(
Kiwi8
20-11-2003, 11:59 PM
forlan scored 2 sialz.. :eek:
It seems like rite now Forlan can taiko taiko score goals liao, & that's a good sign for a striker! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 12:12 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
It seems like rite now Forlan can taiko taiko score goals liao, & that's a good sign for a striker! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
Forlan has always performed well for his national team... Hopefully his form for Man Utd can also be as good from now on... ;)
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by RVN
I think Cole is suspended.
I read in the Sun that Yorke is gonna play.
Any thoughts for this saturday bearing in mind they have no Duff or Dunn this season and their form this season has been rather patchy to say the least.
Wonder if Fergie will rest Forlan, Giggsy, Fletcher and Ruud after last night's matches.I think Giggs and Ruud should start upfront. Ronaldo to take over from Fletcher.
Nice to get back to what I think should be quite a long run without any international games.
David Thompson is also out due to injury... Seems like Blackburn will be quite weak this time around...
Still, they've always put up a good fight when playing against us, so we cannot afford to be complacent...
RuMmYtUb
21-11-2003, 02:05 AM
I think Giggs chose Wales because of some personal family reason... His mum's Welsh, and his dad's English... I think his dad left the family or something like that, so Giggs chose to play for Wales (his mum's nationality) instead loh... :(
BTW, Giggs is his mum's surname... I guess he must really hate his dad or something...
Ya what u said is totally correct, Giggs followed his mom's surname, if not he won't be called Ryan Giggs, would be Ryan dunno what, forgot..
If he chose to play for England, i might support England, would've solved that problematic left slot, provide England with a natural left width.. and he won't be left out for big stages.. :(
kengbeng
21-11-2003, 07:10 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Ya what u said is totally correct, Giggs followed his mom's surname, if not he won't be called Ryan Giggs, would be Ryan dunno what, forgot..
If he chose to play for England, i might support England, would've solved that problematic left slot, provide England with a natural left width.. and he won't be left out for big stages.. :(
Otherwise he'll be Ryan Wilson, playing for England.
Anyway, Giggs has said all the time that he was born in Wales and will only play for Wales. He wouldn't consider England even if he had qualified to play for them.
ccloh
21-11-2003, 09:46 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed Manchester United may lose Quinton Fortune for three weeks in the New Year.
The 26-year-old, who has developed into a key member of the United side this season, is likely to be on international duty with South Africa in the African Nations Cup from January 24 to February 14.
Fortune, who has played at both left-back and midfield, could miss four of United matches in the Premiership and FA Cup.
Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News: 'Quinton will have to be available for South Africa if they want him. There is nothing we can do about that, but it can also be a good thing for him.
"He has been brilliant for us this season. He is one of these players who has just got better the longer he has been with us."
"I think signing a new contract last season has settled him down a lot. It took away the uncertainty for him. He wanted to stay at Old Trafford and to be honest I was worried that he was going to go."
Source - Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=283741&cc=4716)
he is doing well at the left-back role. what a pity. utd this season is really thin in defence given that rio is going to face his ban soon.
guoquanyap
21-11-2003, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by ccloh
he is doing well at the left-back role. what a pity. utd this season is really thin in defence given that rio is going to face his ban soon.
that why we need new defender....:evil: anyway brown going to be back soon....hope no more injuring liao or else really thin man.....
kengbeng
21-11-2003, 12:15 PM
All the best to the Law-man.
United legend Law in cancer battle
Manchester United legend Denis Law is recovering in hospital after being treated for prostate cancer.
The former Scotland striker, who is 63, underwent surgery on Tuesday.
United released a statement saying the operation went well and that Law was in 'good spirits'.
The statement read: 'Everyone at Manchester United - players, staff and fans - would like to wish Denis Law all the best as he recovers from surgery for prostate cancer.
'Medical staff have confirmed that Tuesday's operation went well. The United legend is now recuperating in hospital and is said to be in very good spirits.'
Law, originally from Aberdeen, also played for Huddersfield, Manchester City and Torino. Named European Footballer of the Year in 1965, he scored 227 goals in 481 league matches and 30 goals in 55 internationals.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=283755&cc=4716
Originally posted by guoquanyap
think giggs will be rested becos of the knock he got fr the russian.....and to let him settle down mentally after the lost......
forlan ruud ronaldo start lor.....all hav great game for their national team....
Ruud came off early last night which will have helped him be ready for saturday.
forlan's trip back from south america will probably limit him to the bench.
ronaldo will probably be good to play after doing well for portugals u-21's.
fletcher's had 2 90 minute games in 5 days against one of the best teams in the world - probably needs a rest.
giggsy may be tired, dun think the knock on saturday will affect him too much since he also played the 2nd leg but we can't really afford to rest him and i think with his experience he's the least likely to be affected. also probably wants nothing more than to get straight back in to playing football after his disappointment.
Forlan and Fletcher more likely on the bench. We'll see.
that why we need new defender....:evil: anyway brown going to be back soon....hope no more injuring liao or else really thin man.....
not only Fortune, Howard could also be called up by US for their World Cup qualifer in Jan plus dunno how long Rio kena banned, this is bad for us. :mad:
Left with O'Shea, Silvestre, Gary, Phil and Brown in defence, lack of cover. :(
Carroll would probably replace Howard.
NanDesKa
21-11-2003, 04:06 PM
not barthez take place mehz?
or by then he will be at marseille le? =p
ccloh
21-11-2003, 04:37 PM
roy carroll is definitely more stable than botah at the moment. keeper is not so much of worrying but rather defenders. i think keane would have to play in defence if we really short change of defenders. well we have lot of midfielders though.
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 05:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ruud came off early last night which will have helped him be ready for saturday.
forlan's trip back from south america will probably limit him to the bench.
ronaldo will probably be good to play after doing well for portugals u-21's.
fletcher's had 2 90 minute games in 5 days against one of the best teams in the world - probably needs a rest.
giggsy may be tired, dun think the knock on saturday will affect him too much since he also played the 2nd leg but we can't really afford to rest him and i think with his experience he's the least likely to be affected. also probably wants nothing more than to get straight back in to playing football after his disappointment.
Forlan and Fletcher more likely on the bench. We'll see.
I think SAF may start with RVN and Forlan up-front... Both of them are in excellent form in-front of goal at the moment, so baring any hiccups, they should be in the starting line-up to face Blackburn...
Agreed that Giggs will most likely start... He's our main creative force in the absence of Scholes, and his experience of top-level footy means he'll get over the Euro 2004 upset by helping Man Utd beat Blackburn... ;)
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 05:36 PM
not barthez take place mehz?
or by then he will be at marseille le? =p
I reckon Marseille will want to wrap-up the transfer (or at least a loan deal) as soon as the transfer window re-opens... So that may leave us short on experienced goalie cover for Roy Carroll, if and when Tim Howard leaves for the USA's WC qualifiers... :(
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 05:40 PM
roy carroll is definitely more stable than botah at the moment. keeper is not so much of worrying but rather defenders. i think keane would have to play in defence if we really short change of defenders. well we have lot of midfielders though.
Keano helping out in defence means Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson can take his place in midfield... But still, hope Rio will not be banned loh... Maybe the FA will consider a hefty fine and end at that... =p
Else, we may see a few other new faces at OT come January... Either that or a few youngsters being promoted... ;)
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 11:31 PM
I think SAF may start with RVN and Forlan up-front... Both of them are in excellent form in-front of goal at the moment, so baring any hiccups, they should be in the starting line-up to face Blackburn...
Sorry Bros... Guess I'm wrong on this count... Seems like Forlan may not make it against Blackburn after all... :(
------------------------------------------------------------------------
In-Form Forlan Facing The Bench - Soccernet.com
Diego Forlan may lose his place in the Manchester United starting line-up after five consecutive matches after only being able to return from international duty in South America today.
The striker scored twice for Uruguay during their 3-3 draw in a World Cup qualifier against Brazil in Curitiba but was not due to make it back to training with United until lunchtime on Friday.
After a long flight and with United playing Blackburn in an early kick-off tomorrow, Sir Alex Ferguson may decide to give the in-form striker a rest and leave him on the bench.
If that is the case he could play Ryan Giggs in attack with Ruud van Nistelrooy and use both Darren Fletcher and Cristiano Ronaldo on the flanks.
OreoCookies
21-11-2003, 11:34 PM
Manchester United have confirmed the death of former plc chairman Sir Roland Smith.
Smith, 75, passed away yesterday after a short illness.
He held the post of chairman for 10 years following the club's flotation on the Stock Market in 1991.
United will wear black armbands tomorrow's game against Blackburn at Old Trafford as a mark of respect.
Source - Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=283816&cc=4716)
It wasn't that long ago when he was still serving on the Man Utd board... My condolences to the family of Sir Roland Smith... :(
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 01:47 AM
think most of the south america players going to be rest becos of the jet lag.....
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 01:51 AM
think most of the south america players going to be rest becos of the jet lag.....
Was hoping to see if Forlan could continue his scoring... Looks like gotta' wait until mid-week CL liaoz... Hopefully he don't lose his touch by then... ;)
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 01:54 AM
Was hoping to see if Forlan could continue his scoring... Looks like gotta' wait until mid-week CL liaoz... Hopefully he don't lose his touch by then... ;)
hope to see Ruud run riot again....:D
RuMmYtUb
22-11-2003, 01:55 AM
Might as well say, both Forlan and Ruud score hattricks.. :D :D
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 01:57 AM
Might as well say, both Forlan and Ruud score hattricks.. :D :D
but forlan not playing....:sad:
Ch3tah_39
22-11-2003, 02:03 AM
ruud on formz liao ma...
hope he carry on his form when against holland lorz:)
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 02:06 AM
"I wasn't happy with what Ruud did against Scotland, so I told him to train on his own," smiled Ferguson.
"In fact, I have put him on the transfer list and he will never play for us again!
"In all seriousness, Ruud was so delighted he could have played another game. Those goals certainly won't have done him any harm. He is flying now and hopefully that will continue."
:D :D
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 02:14 AM
If our midfield can gain dominance against Rovers, then I think RVN should have no probs thriving on the constant supply of chances... ;)
Rovers' defence not that strong... But the midfield can be quite tenacious, so we can't be too confident...
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 02:17 AM
yorke is still playing very well w his silky skill and headers.....dangerous player lucky cole not playing.....
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 02:20 AM
yorke is still playing very well w his silky skill and headers.....dangerous player lucky cole not playing.....
Agreed... Yorkie's still as good as ever... Too bad his off-field antics was to SAF's ire, else we wouldn't be having problems in the striker department liaoz...
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 02:23 AM
RUUD van Nistelrooy has been slapped on the transfer list by furious Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson!
The Dutchman suffered the ultimate reprisal from an irate Fergie after scoring a hat trick for Holland against the Reds' manager's beloved Scotland in the Euro 2004 play off.
Van Nistelrooy hit his treble in Amsterdam to help his country overturn Scotland's 1-0 first-leg lead and win 6-1 on aggregate, ending Fergie's hopes of Scotland making the Portugal finals next summer.
The United hit man returned to the Reds' Carrington training HQ to discover his stunning fate.
Listed
"Never mind `Will he be dropped tomorrow as a punishment?' I have put him on the transfer list," Fergie insisted.
"I am serious. He is on the list and he'll never play for us again."
But before Real Madrid, AC Milan and Chelsea bombard Fergie with phone calls and offers for the £19m striker, who has scored 91 goals in his two and a half seasons at Old Trafford, the United boss soon dropped his mock annoyance to reveal it was one huge joke.
Ferguson believes United can benefit from Ruud's hat-trick.
Van Nistelrooy has had an emotionally draining spell with Holland. He clashed with Edgar Davids in training and then lashed out in anger at a water bottle when Dutch coach Dick Advocaat substituted him in the Euro 2004 qualifying defeat against the Czechs.
Advocaat suspended him for the match against Moldova and then declared he was breaking up the van Nistelrooy-Patrick Kluivert strike ticket for lack of chemistry.
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 02:32 AM
:laugh:
Laughs aside, here we clearly see the two sides of Sir Alex... He can be jokeable and loyal to the hardworking & honest players, but his ruthlessness is also well-known to those who think they're bigger than the club...
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 02:35 AM
Laughs aside, here we clearly see the two sides of Sir Alex... He can be jokeable and loyal to the hardworking & honest players, but his ruthlessness is also well-known to those who think they're bigger than the club...
of cos....he is the man behind the sucecss....
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 02:40 AM
of cos....he is the man behind the sucecss....
What we need now is an assistant to Fergie who's got an acute tactical sense... That'll really ensure that our success can be ensured for many more seasons to come... :D
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 09:50 AM
Rovers landed a top-six berth last term, and Ferguson admitted he is surprised at Blackburn's struggles this time round, although he pointed to the 2-1 win over Everton before the international break, which hauled Graeme Souness' side out of the relegation zone, as evidence that their fortunes could be about to change.
"Graeme has built a great football side at Ewood Park and everyone has been surprised by their results this season," he said."
"But when you get a few injuries and have to make a few changes, even the top sides can get affected."
"Those setbacks are bound to unbalance you but their victory against Everton was very important."
"It helped stabilise the situation, moved them up a few places and means they will come to Old Trafford with that bit more confidence."
Gary Neville remains United's main doubt after aggravating an Achilles tendon injury before last Sunday's England friendly against Denmark.
Neville played only 15 minutes before making a precautionary early exit and has been under treatment all week. His younger brother Phil is on stand-by to switch to right-back should Gary not make the early kick-off at Old Trafford.
Eric Djemba-Djemba, Nicky Butt and Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson are in contention for Phil's place in midfield.
Andy Cole and Lucas Neill are both suspended for Blackburn, while David Thompson is likely to be out for the rest of the season with a knee injury.
Italian striker Corrado Grabbi has returned to his homeland for treatment on a foot injury.
RUUD van Nistelrooy has been slapped on the transfer list by furious Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson!
The Dutchman suffered the ultimate reprisal from an irate Fergie after scoring a hat trick for Holland against the Reds' manager's beloved Scotland in the Euro 2004 play off.
Van Nistelrooy hit his treble in Amsterdam to help his country overturn Scotland's 1-0 first-leg lead and win 6-1 on aggregate, ending Fergie's hopes of Scotland making the Portugal finals next summer.
The United hit man returned to the Reds' Carrington training HQ to discover his stunning fate.
Listed
"Never mind `Will he be dropped tomorrow as a punishment?' I have put him on the transfer list," Fergie insisted.
"I am serious. He is on the list and he'll never play for us again."
But before Real Madrid, AC Milan and Chelsea bombard Fergie with phone calls and offers for the £19m striker, who has scored 91 goals in his two and a half seasons at Old Trafford, the United boss soon dropped his mock annoyance to reveal it was one huge joke.
Ferguson believes United can benefit from Ruud's hat-trick.
Van Nistelrooy has had an emotionally draining spell with Holland. He clashed with Edgar Davids in training and then lashed out in anger at a water bottle when Dutch coach Dick Advocaat substituted him in the Euro 2004 qualifying defeat against the Czechs.
Advocaat suspended him for the match against Moldova and then declared he was breaking up the van Nistelrooy-Patrick Kluivert strike ticket for lack of chemistry.
SAF was just joking lah, maybe he is sad Ruud knock his native Scotland out.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson hopes to field Diego Forlan against Blackburn at Old Trafford tomorrow even though the Uruguayan striker is not due back in the country until later this afternoon.
Forlan scored twice against Brazil in midweek and is a certain member of the Red Devils squad to face Graeme Souness' men providing he reports no ill effects from his return trip from South America.
Gary Neville has shaken off a hamstring strain and Ryan Giggs has also recovered from a minor knee injury he picked up in the heartbreaking Euro 2004 play-off defeat to Russia on Wednesday, so both are expected to play.
Provisional squad: Howard, Carroll, G Neville, O'Shea, Fortune, Silvestre, Ferdinand, Fletcher, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, P Neville, Butt, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Bellion.
Ferguson had good news to report on the England midfielder's recovery from his recent groin operation.
Although Scholes has not yet started to kick a ball, he has been running without a problem and has been pencilled in for a return to first-team action in the Manchester derby on December 13.
"Paul is probably only a couple of weeks away," confirmed the United chief.
"His remedial work has been good and he has been running without a problem, so it is just a question of getting him to kick a ball again."
Ferguson confirmed that central defender Wes Brown could be back even sooner as he completes the final stages of his return from a second cruciate knee ligament operation, which could be vital if Rio Ferdinand eventually receives an FA ban over his failure to attend a drugs test.
guoquanyap
22-11-2003, 02:13 PM
wow not gd to play forlan leh....imagine i jus touch down fr the airplane then hav to play straight away.....
RuMmYtUb
22-11-2003, 03:26 PM
SAF is someone i respect, got his biography "Managing My Life" yesterday.. w00t :D
OreoCookies
22-11-2003, 10:38 PM
Hoo... ;)
2-1 victory against Blackburn @ OT, and we're top of the table... At least for now... :D
RVN and Kleberson putting us 2-0 up in the first-half, and Aussie Brett Emerton pulling one back in the 62nd minute...
Three points in the bag, but a tricky mid-week trip to Greece awaits, as well as the mouth-watering visit to Stamford Bridge next weekend... =p
Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes is set to return to first-team action in time for next month's Premiership match against Aston Villa.
The England star has been missing for the last month after undergoing surgery on his groin following the 3-1 defeat against Fulham a month ago.
But United boss Sir Alex Ferguson says the 29-year-old is making good progress and should be fit to face Villa on 6 December.
"Paul has done his rehabilitation work now and is doing some training," said Ferguson.
"He is getting stuck into gym work. He has been playing basketball and hockey in the gym as part of his programme and is looking good.
"He's coming along great. The good thing about Paul is that he is a quick healer so it won't be too long now before he is back for us.
"I expect him to be ready again in a fortnight."
RuMmYtUb
23-11-2003, 12:00 AM
wah Kleberson put on some gd performance tonite after his injury comeback... looked lively :D
ccloh
23-11-2003, 12:05 AM
3-pt in the bag and kleberson scored !!!!
except for bellion all the new signings have scored in the epl already. yeah....:bounce:
3 pts all that matters, the likes of Giggs, Forlan and Ronaldo who didn't start and Fletcher who was rested might play in mid-week in Athens.
OreoCookies
23-11-2003, 12:13 AM
except for bellion all the new signings have scored in the epl already. yeah....:bounce:
Hopefully there'll be many more good performances to come for the Brazilian... :D
Quite an irony for Bellion... Considering that he's the first of all the new signings to score for Man Utd (while on pre-season tour of the USA)...
OreoCookies
23-11-2003, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by RVN
3 pts all that matters, the likes of Giggs, Forlan and Ronaldo who didn't start and Fletcher who was rested might play in mid-week in Athens.
I guess Fergie's resting the key players ahead of the two tricky away games in Greece and in London next week... Even RVN was withdrawn with everything still to play for against Rovers just now...
LiquidSilver
23-11-2003, 12:39 AM
howard got score meh?=p
OreoCookies
23-11-2003, 01:10 AM
Looks like we're back in third place... Arsenal beat Birmingham 3-0 at St. Andrews, while Chelski edged past the Saints with a narrow 1-0 victory... :(
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by LiquidSilver
howard got score meh?=p
:alien: :alien:
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 01:38 AM
bellion played very well improve alot since the last epl match he came on.....oh ya kleberson cleanly show his lack of fittness but he managed to get a goal.....=p
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 01:40 AM
oh ya not forgeeting fortune, who unselfish help w 2 assist....thumb up to him.....
reload2003
23-11-2003, 03:05 AM
howard got score meh?=p
hMMM....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
23-11-2003, 03:05 AM
Looks like we're back in third place... Arsenal beat Birmingham 3-0 at St. Andrews, while Chelski edged past the Saints with a narrow 1-0 victory... :(
Getting bored with chelski, always edging 1-0....:mad: :mad:
edhorizon
23-11-2003, 05:10 AM
kleberson go for so many unnecessary long shots. waste too much chances.
yes we got the 3pts but should have kill off the game earlier, not wasting time for kleberson trying all the damn long shots. he could have pass instead or hold on and wait for support. man utd not everytime so fortunate to hold on to their lead and let the other party to attack them and not getting a result.
OreoCookies
23-11-2003, 08:47 AM
Getting bored with chelski, always edging 1-0....:mad: :mad:
Seems like their good fortune is set to last for quite a while... :(
Hopefully our own good fortune can last us too...
Kiwi8
23-11-2003, 09:24 AM
howard got score meh?=p :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson united with skipper Roy Keane to deliver a stern "must do better" verdict on an unconvincing 2-1 win over Blackburn.
After taking a two-goal lead through Ruud van Nistelrooy and Kleberson, United eased off and Brett Emerton's goal gave Blackburn hope right up to the final whistle.
"We got careless and nearly had our backsides kicked," was Ferguson's unforgiving conclusion.
"For the first hour, everything we did was superb but then we got slack and tried to put too much icing on the cake.
"We ended up scrambling over the line when we shouldn't have done. Blackburn pushed us all the way and we only have ourselves to blame."
In the end, van Nistelrooy's 12th goal of the campaign and Kleberson's first since joining the Red Devils in the summer were sufficient to secure the three points.
But that did not stop Keane from slamming the performance.
"We took our foot off the gas which is unacceptable," the Irishman said.
"After that second-half performance, we are clearly a long way from top form."
The result was however vindication of Ferguson's surprise selection policy, which saw Kleberson and David Bellion given starting spots as Ryan Giggs and Diego Forlan remained on the bench.
Van Nistelrooy was largely left up front on his own and worked hard for little reward until midway through the opening period when he exchanged passes with the impressive Quinton Fortune and rifled home his first league goal in open play for almost two months.
It was also his fourth in four days after a hat-trick for Holland in their 6-0- win over Scotland on Wednesday.
"All we have to do with Ruud is make chances and he will take them," said Ferguson.
"We haven't been doing it often enough lately but he got a good ball from Quinton and finished it exceptionally well."
Ferguson also had plenty of praise for Kleberson, who had been sidelined since August after dislocating a shoulder.
"Kleberson has been doing really well in training and this game was an ideal opportunity for him," Ferguson said.
"It was an excellent performance and he showed what a wonderful footballer he is."
Blackburn boss Graeme Souness said things may have been differently if Dwight Yorke had not had a goal ruled out for offside early in the second half.
"On another day, at another ground, or even at the other end it would probably have been allowed to stand," Souness said.
"I know how the game works. I have been at big clubs and have benefited from situations like that.
"Nothing will change. All you can do is go home and scream - at least it makes you feel a bit better."
The defeat leaves Blackburn locked in a relegation dogfight, although the bright performance of youngster Paul Gallagher provided a bright spot on an otherwise gloomy afternoon.
"I am encouraged by the second half today but Manchester United are hard enough to play against when it is 0-0, let alone when you are two goals behind," Souness said.
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 01:20 PM
Nov 23 - Manchester United and Chelsea, who meet next Sunday at Stamford Bridge, are also rivals for the player billed as the next Zinedine Zidane.
Luis Jimenez, a 19-year-old Chilean-born attacking midfielder playing for Ternana in Italy's Serie B, is attracting attention from all over Europe.
Chelsea and United have had him watched four times in the last six weeks. Juventus, Lazio and Inter Milan are also tailing him.
Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, has the cash to outbid anyone, but for the time being he will have to be content with flying 200 friends over from Russia for next week's game.
look like we are going to hav a tough time in the transfer market in the future..... :mad:
OreoCookies
23-11-2003, 02:22 PM
look like we are going to hav a tough time in the transfer market in the future..... :mad: [/B]
Well, we did get Ronaldo, didn't we? :D
Actually, we've always had it tough when it comes to transfers... Jacked-up prices, interest from other clubs, etc...
What matters most is to be able to get players who really want to play for us... I think that's the most important factor these days... ;)
RuMmYtUb
23-11-2003, 03:29 PM
Actually, we've always had it tough when it comes to transfers... Jacked-up prices, interest from other clubs, etc...
What matters most is to be able to get players who really want to play for us... I think that's the most important factor these days... ;)
thinking of tat ugly brazilian with sublime skills make my blood boil...:mad: :mad:
who are you refering to , Kleberson. :eek:
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson plans to give more game-time to exciting midfielder Chris Eagles in the coming weeks.
Likened to former United star David Beckham, 17 year-old Eagles is rated a better natural athlete than the England skipper and possesses greater acceleration.
Eagles is expected to play against Panathinaikos this week and will certainly be involved against Stuttgart next month.
RuMmYtUb
23-11-2003, 05:05 PM
Originally posted by RVN
who are you refering to , Kleberson. :eek:
No i meant RONALDINHO.. :mad:
ooh sorry, misunderstanding. :D
Sir Alex Ferguson may have sold £40m worth of midfield talent during the summer but the Manchester United boss still has a major headache every time he names his side.
Eyebrows were raised when David Beckham was sold to Real Madrid then Juan Sebastian Veron joined Chelsea, but Sir Alex says their departure made his job no easier he puts most of it down to one player...Phil Neville.
The defender who bridged the gap when United were without regular midfielders Beckham, Roy Keane and Nicky Butt last season has taken such a grip on the position Sir Alex finds it impossible to wrench it from him.
"Who would have thought Phil Neville would have had the season he has had ? He has been fantastic. There is no way you can leave him out and he has kept his place because his performances have demanded that.
"It's just a matter of timing, Phil got in and did a job and remained.
"That is keeping out Djemba-Djemba, keeping out Darren Fletcher, it's keeping out Kleberson and that isn't easy, " says Sir Alex.
Another who has been edged out is Nicky Butt-England's star in last year's World Cup finals and still a regular in the international line up. The United boss feels it is a situation he can do little about.
"I don't know how I answer it other than by saying I am fortunate to have so many good centre midfield players who will all make a contribution. The only thing you justify it by, is you are hoping that they feel they have made a contribution by the end of the season.
"It is the only way you can look at it. It isn't easy."
Sir Alex has given some hope to those left out of the starting line-up:
"When you look at he games coming up in December there is no way Phil Neville and Roy Keane are going to play all of them, absolutely no way.
Even though he has been forced to leave out some players he says he has had no complaints:
"They understand how we operate it here and they know there is fairness. Three years ago Phil Neville would have been thinking the same as Nicky Butt is at the moment," he says.
Things are unlikely to get any easier for Sir Alex with Paul Scholes ready to return in the next fortnight after hernia surgery.
"He's on good remedial work. He's doing all the running and he could make the Stuttgart game at Old Trafford on December 9, " says Sir Alex. "I would certainly have him in for the Manchester City game on December 13. He could certainly be ready for that. "
United's other long term absentees are also progressing. Wes Brown is expected to play again in two weeks after cruciate ligament surgery and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will be back in the squad early in January after also having knee surgery.
RuMmYtUb
23-11-2003, 07:39 PM
Nov 23 - Manchester United and Chelsea, who meet next Sunday at Stamford Bridge, are also rivals for the player billed as the next Zinedine Zidane.
Luis Jimenez, a 19-year-old Chilean-born attacking midfielder playing for Ternana in Italy's Serie B, is attracting attention from all over Europe.
Chelsea and United have had him watched four times in the last six weeks. Juventus, Lazio and Inter Milan are also tailing him.
Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, has the cash to outbid anyone, but for the time being he will have to be content with flying 200 friends over from Russia for next week's game.
===============================
www.footballchannel.com
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 08:39 PM
===============================
www.footballchannel.com
i posted liao u post again.....:alien: :D
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 08:41 PM
one of the reason is the sporting is our feeder club and actually we can get ronaldo for onli half of 12.6million pound.....
but becos of chelsea we hav to double it and cause ronaldo so much pressure to being the most expensive teenager......:mad:
one of the reason is the sporting is our feeder club and actually we can get ronaldo for onli half of 12.6million pound.....
but becos of chelsea we hav to double it and cause ronaldo so much pressure to being the most expensive teenager......:mad:
Blame cheski. :mad:
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson plans to give more game-time to exciting midfielder Chris Eagles in the coming weeks.
Likened to former United star David Beckham, 17 year-old Eagles is rated a better natural athlete than the England skipper and possesses greater acceleration.
Eagles is expected to play against Panathinaikos this week and will certainly be involved against Stuttgart next month.
that is interesting....wow he playing against panathinaikos huh....wow it is always so excieting to see home breed youngster playing.....:D
Would be really good for Eagles to experience in the CL.
OreoCookies
23-11-2003, 11:26 PM
Finally get to see more youngsters coming through the ranks... ;)
We haven't had too many youths coming up in the past few seasons... Brown, O' Shea, maybe Michael Stewart and Luke Chadwick... Most were sold after a few apperances in the first-team... :o
Itz a pleasant surprise to see so many of the younger players making their presence felt this season... Fletcher, Richardson, Eagles... Hopefully they can stay on at OT to form the core of the next generation of players... :D
guoquanyap
23-11-2003, 11:30 PM
waiting for chadwick to come back w his new looks!......:deg:
RuMmYtUb
23-11-2003, 11:59 PM
waiting for chadwick to come back w his new looks!......:deg:
Forgotten him liao... cos we have Fletcher... more yandao w/o surgery :D
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 12:03 AM
Chadwick can provide an alternative approach down the flanks... He's faster and more agile than Fletcher, so that makes him better at taking on and beating defenders... ;)
NanDesKa
24-11-2003, 12:30 AM
once again, i shud say, fletcher's really kinda slow.
guoquanyap
24-11-2003, 12:43 AM
not really that slow lah...jus that he not very fast average pace lor....but wat gd abt him is that he has great vision and reading of the game!......and very direct and send in gd cross....w all this qualites....very fast pace is not really needed.....
guoquanyap
24-11-2003, 12:47 AM
Chadwick can provide an alternative approach down the flanks... He's faster and more agile than Fletcher, so that makes him better at taking on and beating defenders... ;)
that rite....
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 12:50 AM
not really that slow lah...jus that he not very fast average pace lor....but wat gd abt him is that he has great vision and reading of the game!......and very direct and send in gd cross....w all this qualites....very fast pace is not really needed.....
Fletcher is more suited to play in the middle... His passing and vision is more suited in a playmaker role in the heart of the midfield engine... ;)
There may not be enough space to play him in the center right now, but his qualities are still appreciated from the right-side... :D
Hope he don't end-up like Becks loh... Have to leave Man Utd before getting to play regularly in the center... :o
Ch3tah_39
24-11-2003, 01:22 AM
Fletcher is more suited to play in the middle... His passing and vision is more suited in a playmaker role in the heart of the midfield engine... ;)
There may not be enough space to play him in the center right now, but his qualities are still appreciated from the right-side... :D
Hope he don't end-up like Becks loh... Have to leave Man Utd before getting to play regularly in the center... :o
dun tink he will leave lorz..=p
NanDesKa
24-11-2003, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
dun tink he will leave lorz..=p who tot beckham wud leave when he juz broke into the first team?
Ch3tah_39
24-11-2003, 01:39 AM
who tot beckham wud leave when he juz broke into the first team?
:confused: :confused: :confused:
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 01:42 AM
dun tink he will leave lorz..=p
I was referring more to him playing in the center rather than leaving... ;)
As long as Fergie's still in-charge @ OT, I don't think he'll let Fletcher go either... As the saying goes, Scots at the same club play footy together... :laugh:
guoquanyap
24-11-2003, 03:05 AM
I was referring more to him playing in the center rather than leaving... ;)
As long as Fergie's still in-charge @ OT, I don't think he'll let Fletcher go either... As the saying goes, Scots at the same club play footy together... :laugh:
be to honest i am very worry abt fergie....suing the largest shareholer of the club, or the "boss'......
damn worry his days are number.....if his days are number....manchester united dominance will going to end......
leslielai
24-11-2003, 04:02 AM
The midfield is completed by Quinton Fortune who occupied the left wing for Manchester United in the absence of Ryan Giggs, another to have suffered play-off heartbreak in midweek. Proving more than a worthy understudy, the Frenchman played a one-two with van Nistlerooy for United's first goal and was a constant source of menace for the Rovers rearguard.
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
knee_JerK
24-11-2003, 07:13 AM
be to honest i am very worry abt fergie....suing the largest shareholer of the club, or the "boss'......
damn worry his days are number.....if his days are number....manchester united dominance will going to end......
maybe magnier will get houllier in to replace fergie!:eek:
ccloh
24-11-2003, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by leslielai
The midfield is completed by Quinton Fortune who occupied the left wing for Manchester United in the absence of Ryan Giggs, another to have suffered play-off heartbreak in midweek. Proving more than a worthy understudy, the Frenchman played a one-two with van Nistlerooy for United's first goal and was a constant source of menace for the Rovers rearguard.
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
think they only know frenchman is the best in soccer. damm a stupid mistake. say typo error well frenchman and south african is so far apart.
cracker
24-11-2003, 11:32 AM
think they only know frenchman is the best in soccer. damm a stupid mistake. say typo error well frenchman and south african is so far apart.
maybe they pronounced Fortune as For-tu- neh !!
I think Fergie will eventually signed the new deal. ;)
http://www.people.co.uk/homepage/sport/page.cfm?objectid=13652316&method=thepeople_full&siteid=79490
Originally posted by knee_JerK
maybe magnier will get houllier in to replace fergie!:eek:
No thank, dun want him. :rolleyes:
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 03:42 PM
Magnier may be a major shareholder, but he isn't the PLC chairman or anything like that, so he won't have the power to kick Fergie out, at least not under broad daylight... ;)
Besides, the club also has to answer to ALL shareholders in regards to the issue, and I do not think the Man Utd board will want to risk the fury of the other shareholders and the fans by sacking Fergie...
So there... Magnier should pose no threat for now... But honestly, it is time to start grooming SAF's successor liaoz... How long more can he stay in the game? There must be a time for him to eventually take the back-seat... :o
Tough place to play in Athens, I hope Fergie doesn't take it for granted and put out a lesser lineup (ie: Wolves) but I'm confident we'll know exactly what we need and play accordingly.
I hope Kleberson gets rewarded for his performance against Blackburn with another start, and my guess would be Phil and Keano in the centre. I think Giggsy will probably start too, Forlan and Ruud upfront maybe, but you never know with the chelsea match to come on Sunday. Should be a good match though.
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 04:43 PM
A draw in Greece and we're through to the quarters... :D
I don't think Fergie will risk it by fielding an under-strength side though... With Sttugart looming, SAF will want to secure a confirmed spot in the last 16 ASAP by winning in Athens, so as to make it easier when playing the Germans... ;)
We can't afford to play a B-team. We need to win, just to make sure we'll end up 1st in the group. We still have to play Stuttgart at home, and that will be a tough game. I'd like to see ManUtd with their strongest line-up, scoring goals, securing the win in the first 70 minutes. Then substitute some key players, to make sure they're fresh to play Chelsea the weekend afterwards.
ccloh
24-11-2003, 05:18 PM
well it is true that a draw will see them through to next rnd. but i believe SAF wants a top spot in the grp phase so as to avoid the big gun in the next rnd. what i can see is if utd goes into half-way with a commanding lead then i can see a B-team in the 2nd half so as to rest its top guns for the chelski game. if not they will have to battle the full 90-min.
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 05:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We can't afford to play a B-team. We need to win, just to make sure we'll end up 1st in the group. We still have to play Stuttgart at home, and that will be a tough game. I'd like to see ManUtd with their strongest line-up, scoring goals, securing the win in the first 70 minutes. Then substitute some key players, to make sure they're fresh to play Chelsea the weekend afterwards.
Same thinking here, Bro... ;)
But Panathinaikos will be much tougher to beat @ their own home as compared to the last match at OT... It may be quite difficult to secure a victory within 70 minutes... :o
I sure hope I'm wrong though... =p
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 05:23 PM
Former England captain Bryan Robson has returned to management with First Division strugglers Bradford.
Robson has been out of football since he was sacked by Middlesbrough three years ago but he ended that exile today when he was confirmed as successor to Nicky Law at Valley Parade.
Robson will be unveiled by the Bantams - who are second from bottom in Division One - at a 1.15pm press conference today.
Robson yesterday announced he expected to take charge of City and set out his intention to keep the club in Division One.
He said: 'Our aim will be quite simple - survival in the First Division. The club is in relegation trouble but there's a long way to go this season and I'm excited about the challenge.'
Former Bolton manager Colin Todd has also been confirmed as Robson's assistant.
Another ex-United player being handed a management job... Hope he can perform as well as he did in his early days @ Boro... ;)
RuMmYtUb
24-11-2003, 05:42 PM
Who needs speed if one has skill and gd reading ?
Remember Blanc and Teddy ? :D
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 05:49 PM
Who needs speed if one has skill and gd reading ?
Remember Blanc and Teddy ? :D
Having speed will definitely provide an alternative tactical option on the field... ;)
Besides, if Blanc and Teddy had lotsa' speed, they would have been even greater players sia... :D
ccloh
24-11-2003, 06:26 PM
Having speed will definitely provide an alternative tactical option on the field... ;)
Besides, if Blanc and Teddy had lotsa' speed, they would have been even greater players sia... :D
a lot of great players do not have speed. maradona dont and yet he can create all sort of troubles for the opposition defence.
Sir Alex Ferguson insists his row with Manchester United's top shareholder will not scupper his chances of signing a new deal at Old Trafford.
The Premiership's most successful manager says he is ready to put pen to paper on a contract which will keep him in the job until after his 65th birthday and his pending court battle with racing magnate John Magnier has nothing to do with the club.
Ferguson dismissed reports that the legal wrangle might end his hopes of working on beyond 2007, insisting: "That is absolute nonsense. I have been used to legal proceedings while I have been at this club and this doesn't change anything, it is just that it is more high profile and that is all."
The much-publicised rift between Ferguson and Magnier - his one-time close friend - is over the ownership and stud rights of the champion racehorse Rock of Gibraltar.
Magnier is a director of Cubic Expression the Irish based company with a 23% stake in United, but Ferguson says even the club's biggest shareholder has no influence over what happens inside Old Trafford.
"How could they possibly have a say in the running of the club?
"The club is run successfully. We had a change in [chief executive] Peter Kenyon leaving, and everybody thought that would be the end of the world, but they always do when somebody leaves this club. The board have never even mentioned it," he added.
Ferguson insists his new deal with the club is close to being signed.
"We are not far away. The unfortunate thing is that I was away in America two weeks ago, and [chief executive] David Gill has been abroad this week, but we are not far away," he concluded.
ccloh
24-11-2003, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson insists his row with Manchester United's top shareholder will not scupper his chances of signing a new deal at Old Trafford.
The Premiership's most successful manager says he is ready to put pen to paper on a contract which will keep him in the job until after his 65th birthday and his pending court battle with racing magnate John Magnier has nothing to do with the club.
Ferguson dismissed reports that the legal wrangle might end his hopes of working on beyond 2007, insisting: "That is absolute nonsense. I have been used to legal proceedings while I have been at this club and this doesn't change anything, it is just that it is more high profile and that is all."
The much-publicised rift between Ferguson and Magnier - his one-time close friend - is over the ownership and stud rights of the champion racehorse Rock of Gibraltar.
Magnier is a director of Cubic Expression the Irish based company with a 23% stake in United, but Ferguson says even the club's biggest shareholder has no influence over what happens inside Old Trafford.
"How could they possibly have a say in the running of the club?
"The club is run successfully. We had a change in [chief executive] Peter Kenyon leaving, and everybody thought that would be the end of the world, but they always do when somebody leaves this club. The board have never even mentioned it," he added.
Ferguson insists his new deal with the club is close to being signed.
"We are not far away. The unfortunate thing is that I was away in America two weeks ago, and [chief executive] David Gill has been abroad this week, but we are not far away," he concluded.
the top shareholder would be stupid enough to mingle the 2 items together. if he does it, how will the million of fans react and how will he answer to them. afterall SAF is a proven winning manager. kick him out, who can u replace it
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 10:34 PM
a lot of great players do not have speed. maradona dont and yet he can create all sort of troubles for the opposition defence.
But wouldn't you agree that if Maradona had speed, he'd have been a even greater player? ;)
OreoCookies
24-11-2003, 10:36 PM
Looking forward to more successes under Fergie... :D
guoquanyap
24-11-2003, 11:28 PM
Looking forward to more successes under Fergie... :D
well hope fergie will the deal soon....;)
OKK77
25-11-2003, 12:18 AM
Ferguson did say that Fletcher's position will be in the middle. So perhaps in the future, we will see Ronaldo on left, Fletcher in the centre and Eagles on the right.
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 01:09 AM
Milan confirm interest in Brazilians
Monday, 24 November 2003
Milan chief Ariedo Braida has confirmed that the club are interested in Brazilian stars Luis Fabiano and Alex.
The Samba pair are two of the most sought after players in their country and Milan have been monitoring the two for some time.
Sao Paulo star Fabiano (pictured) has also been linked with a move to Manchester United, but the English champions look set to turn down the chance of signing him - letting Milan have a clear path to him.
Alex, who plays for Santos, is an elegant central defender who - like Fabiano - has attracted a great deal of attention in recent months.
Braida - Milan's director general - was in Brazil only last week as he took the chance to eye a number of talents.
Milan have always looked to South America for potential new signings and their most recent capture - Kaka - has been a revelation since his move to Italy from Sao Paulo earlier this year.
Braida has now returned to Italy after his trip and highlighted Alex and Fabiano as their two prime targets.
"We are keeping a very close eye on two Brazilians," he told Controcampo.
"The first is Sao Paulo striker Luis Fabiano and the other is Alex, a central defender who plays for Santos.
"Fabiano is a tall target man, similar in style to Christian Vieri, but I want to see a bit more of him first."
Milan seem to be in the market for a new striker, with Rivaldo set to leave and question marks remaining over Dane Jon Dahl Tomasson.
Stuttgart star Kevin Kuranyi and Fernando Torres of Atletico Madrid have also been linked, and Braida confirmed he liked both.
"The German is very fashionable at the moment," he said.
"As for Torres, he is too expensive.
"The past has also shown that Spaniards don't tend to do that well away from their own country."
RuMmYtUb
25-11-2003, 02:29 AM
Zlatan Ibrahimovic would be a gd signing :evil: :D
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 11:39 AM
Nov 25 - Nicky Butt is at the crossroads of his Manchester United career after taking his Old Trafford grievances into a showdown meeting with manager Sir Alex Ferguson.
The long-serving Manchester-born midfielder has become increasingly dismayed at the disparity in his standing for club and country after establishing himself as an integral part of England coach Sven Goran Eriksson's plans while slipping to the fringes of Ferguson's starting line-up.
FootballChannel can reveal that Butt has confronted the United boss over his fall from favour at Old Trafford and sought assurances over his future.
While he accepts he cannot quibble with Phil Neville's right to the holding role that was once his, it is understood that his continuing absence has placed a strain on his relationship with Ferguson.
Butt's public stance is that he will stay and fight for a recall alongside skipper Roy Keane, but, privately, he is beginning to question his long-term prospects under Ferguson and agonise over severing ties with his home club that go back a decade.
Newcastle, with 34-year old Gary Speed often filling the midfield anchor role, would surely lead any scramble for his signature, while Manchester City cannot be discounted, despite their limited finances and the obvious difficulties caused by inter-city rivalry.
A likely £6 million asking price may prove beyond City's budget, but Kevin Keegan will be heartened by a belief that he is one of few managers with the charisma and motivational powers to tempt the England midfielder away from United.
Butt, 29 in January, received a sympathetic hearing from Ferguson but was told that Neville's consistency in his unfamiliar guise as a midfield ball-winner left little scope for change.
While acknowledging that Neville has made the most of his opportunity, the blunt message that he must carry on playing second fiddle to a makeshift midfielder converted from full back has done little to improve Butt's mood.
His spirits sank still further when he once more found himself on the bench, against arch-rivals Liverpool at Anfield a fortnight ago, and was overlooked by Ferguson when he sent on 19-year- old Darren Fletcher in a midfield change near the end.
Though Butt can expect to partner Eric Djemba Djemba in a new-look Champions League midfield against Panathinaikos in Athens tomorrow, there is a lack of cordiality between player and manager that has raised eyebrows within Old Trafford.
Keane, a kindred spirit off the pitch as well as on it, has attempted to rekindle Butt's old enthusiasm with a few words of encouragement, but has failed to elicit the required response.
As he reflected on his mounting frustration under Ferguson, Butt confirmed he was finding it hard to take, and admitted: 'I would be lying if I said I hadn't been gutted about not playing sometimes and wondered what was going to happen.
"In some ways, it is better that I come from Manchester because my friends and family are on the doorstep, and I can speak to them when I get upset. The manager has never told me about anyone coming in, so I wouldn't know if anyone has. But I've always been happy here, even though I've been in this situation quite often at United.
"I'm experienced enough to know that, over the course of every season, players get injured or suspended. I will bide my time, work hard in training and try to make sure that when I do get an opportunity, I take it. If I don't, I will look at myself in the mirror and know it is my fault."
Ferguson still seems certain to turn to Butt as he looks to rest Neville, with Sunday's trip to Chelsea in mind, and continue a policy of using Keane sparingly.
If he does, there will be no complaints from Keane after the veteran United skipper assessed his high- octane push for more domestic honours and put it down to international retirement and shrewd decision-making by his Old Trafford boss.
The 32-year old has resisted all calls, even from his club and country team-mate John O'Shea, to reconsider his withdrawal from the Republic of Ireland squad that came in the aftermath of his World Cup walk-out last summer.
If ever he were to waver, he insists that a brief recap of his stirring deeds for United this season would be enough to bring him to his senses and remind him that he could not have maintained such a level of intensity amid the extra demands of international football.
Keane is enjoying a new lease of life, after being plagued by hip problems last season, and credits Ferguson's meticulous approach to safeguarding his fitness by care-fully picking and choosing his appearances.
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=40768&seg=EPL&teamid=
haiz one of the unsung hero....dun really wish to see him go.....
RuMmYtUb
25-11-2003, 02:41 PM
Bye Butt, Buy Van Bommel ! :D
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 02:42 PM
:alien: :alien:
leslielai
25-11-2003, 03:02 PM
I really do not wish to see Butt go but at the same time I think that he should not waste his time @ United. He is good enough for ANY top clubs in Europe.
NanDesKa
25-11-2003, 03:25 PM
butt is good.
but he's at his peak le... shud be wanting to play regularly.
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
Ferguson did say that Fletcher's position will be in the middle. So perhaps in the future, we will see Ronaldo on left, Fletcher in the centre and Eagles on the right.
Drool sia... :D
Looks like a promising line-up for the next generation @ OT... ;)
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 04:17 PM
Don't think Butt will go, unless he personally hands in a transfer request...
Buying Van Bommel would only crowd the midfield even further... Better to let the youngsters come through and prove their worth... ;)
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by leslielai
I really do not wish to see Butt go but at the same time I think that he should not waste his time @ United. He is good enough for ANY top clubs in Europe.
butt is good.
but he's at his peak le... shud be wanting to play regularly.
Butt is still an integral part of the team and also the family at OT... Letting him go would be a very hard thing to do for Fergie, the players, the management, and the fans...
But then again, asking him to sit on the bench most of the time is also a waste of his talents... :(
I sure hope that the club can find a solution to this tricky situation... :o
RuMmYtUb
25-11-2003, 05:28 PM
Don't think Butt will go, unless he personally hands in a transfer request...
Buying Van Bommel would only crowd the midfield even further... Better to let the youngsters come through and prove their worth... ;)
But i mean if Butt goes, Van Bommel is a damn gd replacement.. :D
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 05:41 PM
But i mean if Butt goes, Van Bommel is a damn gd replacement.. :D
The reason why Butt is not happy is because Phil Neville is taking up his slot in midfield... Even if Van Bommel comes, he'll face the same level of competition too...
True, he's a good player, no doubt... But the necessity to buy him is not really there... Can't buy a player of his quality just to play reserve team footy week-in week-out... :laugh:
RuMmYtUb
25-11-2003, 05:48 PM
The reason why Butt is not happy is because Phil Neville is taking up his slot in midfield... Even if Van Bommel comes, he'll face the same level of competition too...
True, he's a good player, no doubt... But the necessity to buy him is not really there... Can't buy a player of his quality just to play reserve team footy week-in week-out... :laugh:
so i think Butt gotta keep quiet like Ole for the previous seasons, got the chance den perform.. like that's the best, no point voicing out cos player's existence is only seen at the performances on the pitch..
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 05:54 PM
Still hope that whatever unhappiness can be resolved ASAP loh... Not good to drag the issue too long, else emotions will tend to spill over into something bigger... :(
Considering that the tough part of the season is coming up soonz, hope everthing can be fine and we can go on a very good run again, as we always do around Christmas/New Year onwards... :D
stipe
25-11-2003, 07:55 PM
ya, hopefully, they can sort out the problem... i dun wanna see man utd go down because of domestic problems....
RuMmYtUb
25-11-2003, 08:03 PM
Hope Man Utd starts to steam roll teams come Christmas.. :evil:
stipe
25-11-2003, 08:20 PM
Channel 8 got Man Utd Old Trafford NOW!!!!!!
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 09:42 PM
Originally posted by stipe
ya, hopefully, they can sort out the problem... i dun wanna see man utd go down because of domestic problems....
We won't go down so easily one... Just hope no internal conflict to spoil eveyone's concentration and mood only... ;)
OreoCookies
25-11-2003, 09:43 PM
We always do, don't we? :D
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 11:38 PM
so i think Butt gotta keep quiet like Ole for the previous seasons, got the chance den perform.. like that's the best, no point voicing out cos player's existence is only seen at the performances on the pitch..
seriously there not much time for butt liao lor...29 this yr...but he got a real chance this season to be regular....keano not going to play every matches......so phil and butt will the middle pair in the nx few seasons.....
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 11:39 PM
then we will be unstoppable.....:evil:
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 11:39 PM
We always do, don't we? :D
:evil:
guoquanyap
25-11-2003, 11:57 PM
Skipper Roy Keane was a notable absentee from the Manchester United squad which headed out to Athens for tomorrow night's Champions League encounter with Panathinaikos.
Having already informed the Irishman that he would be rested at times this season, manager Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed this morning that Keane would be spared the four-hour flight in order to rest a minor hamstring strain.
The injury is not expected to keep Keane out of the crucial Premiership clash with Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Sunday.
England midfielder Nicky Butt is expected to take Keane's place in the United starting line-up, amid allegations he held showdown talks with his manager over a lack of recent first-time opportunities.
Butt this weekend admitted he had, at times, been upset at being left out for key games, although publicly the England international insisted he had never thought about leaving his only professional club.
Other than a safety-first policy with Keane, Ferguson was taking no chances, with all his other big stars making the journey to south-east Europe.
United require just a single point to ensure qualification for next year's knock-out phase, although they do have the safety net of a home tie with German league leaders Stuttgart to come in a fortnight's time.
However, goalkeeper Tim Howard was adamant United wanted to complete the job in the Greek capital, home to next summer's Olympic Games.
'We don't want it to go to the last match,'' said the American. 'We want to take care of business tomorrow. I am enjoying my Champions League experiences so far. It is a little bit different to the Premiership and hopefully we will carry on in the competition for a bit longer yet.'
We need him for the chelsea match.... :evil:
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 12:05 AM
seriously there not much time for butt liao lor...29 this yr...but he got a real chance this season to be regular....keano not going to play every matches......so phil and butt will the middle pair in the nx few seasons.....
Butt can definitely play more often this season due to Keano's situation, but he'll have to watch out for Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson... Competition for central midfield slots is tight sia...
Expect Phil to be shifted between defence and midfield... Just like what Fortune is doing now... And especially if elder bro Gary is called into centre-half in case Rio gets suspended... :(
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 12:06 AM
then we will be unstoppable.....:evil:
:super:
tanjhj
26-11-2003, 12:57 AM
wat man utd need most now is a good central defender to partner to replace the 30 million flop rio. italian make good defender....... nesta?
guoquanyap
26-11-2003, 01:04 AM
Originally posted by tanjhj
wat man utd need most now is a good central defender to partner to replace the 30 million flop rio. italian make good defender....... nesta?
oh come on...wat do u mean by flop? a first team england international defender and a defender w a club w the best defensive record in the league.....a flop?
all i can say MAYBE he dun worth that much but he is certainly not a flop....he show wat he can do w his brillant display recently.....and he is still so young....he will improve and justified the 30million tag.....
tanjhj
26-11-2003, 01:11 AM
cant stand patrick kluivert when he say he would have done better if he is alone upfront..... i saw the game which holland lost to scotland. he wasted 3 good chances and was invisible in that game. he is like andy cole. need tons of chances to score goal... cant even create goal for other player...
one word... he is a has been striker
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 01:18 AM
oh come on...wat do u mean by flop? a first team england international defender and a defender w a club w the best defensive record in the league.....a flop?
all i can say MAYBE he dun worth that much but he is certainly not a flop....he show wat he can do w his brillant display recently.....and he is still so young....he will improve and justified the 30million tag.....
Hopefully he can be our new Laurent Blanc of tomorrow loh... But got to work on his reading of the game... And also his concentration... ;)
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 01:21 AM
cant stand patrick kluivert when he say he would have done better if he is alone upfront..... i saw the game which holland lost to scotland. he wasted 3 good chances and was invisible in that game. he is like andy cole. need tons of chances to score goal... cant even create goal for other player...
one word... he is a has been striker
No matter what, Kluivert is still the current top goal-poacher for Holland... And the statistics don't lie... ;)
Good news for us is, RVN is fast catching up for Holland though... :D
Maybe what Kluivert and RVN need is more games and more time to really gel together up-front... Kluivert seems more technically gifted, while RVN is always a threat when put in clear sight of goal...
RuMmYtUb
26-11-2003, 01:48 AM
Rio is not a flop lar pls...
stop dreaming of an italian defender.... italian players won't leave their homeland... wad more i doubt they can easily adapt EPL style of football...
RuMmYtUb
26-11-2003, 01:49 AM
No matter what, Kluivert is still the current top goal-poacher for Holland... And the statistics don't lie... ;)
Good news for us is, RVN is fast catching up for Holland though... :D
Maybe what Kluivert and RVN need is more games and more time to really gel together up-front... Kluivert seems more technically gifted, while RVN is always a threat when put in clear sight of goal...
I still prefer RVN cos he's really a devastating goal scoring machine.. :D
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 01:59 AM
I still prefer RVN cos he's really a devastating goal scoring machine.. :D
Yup, he sure is... :D
But I don't see why he and Kluivert can't play alongside each other in the same team... ;)
guoquanyap
26-11-2003, 02:03 AM
But I don't see why he and Kluivert can't play alongside each other in the same team... ;)
maybe they arel too similar in style liao lor....and off the pitch they not really the best of friend....
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 02:25 AM
maybe they arel too similar in style liao lor....and off the pitch they not really the best of friend....
I feel that they can take turns at holding up the ball and supporting the other, so that both can lay off the chances as well as mop up the goals... That'll make them an unpredictable strike-force that can confuse opposing defenders... ;)
What they need is some time to develop the telepathy, as well as the humility to work together for the good of the team...
stipe
26-11-2003, 07:23 AM
ego?
stipe
26-11-2003, 07:25 AM
agree that he is not a flop but only over-priced (when compared to what newcastle paid for woodgate )
but can someone tell him to stop crossing the ball across his own defensive line!!!!!!!!! make me heart attack!!!!! always kena intercepted !!!!
StormTrooper
26-11-2003, 08:08 AM
i don't consider anyone playing for manchester united week in week out a flop. did we really concede that many goals? and how do you define a flop? even forlan, who doesn't score as much as we like him to, is not a flop imo, as he scores important goals.
each player has a role to play so please drop the flop mentality.
ccloh
26-11-2003, 09:31 AM
well rio is not a very bad defender but sometime he looses concentration quite easily. can see last season CL matches a few times he was caught sleepy and let opponent's strikers took the better of him. in epl maybe u could do that but in CL matches, it is a different story.
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by stipe
ego?
Hmm... The whole Dutch teams seems to be full of it, according to the media reports... :(
If they can change their mentality, they'd be up there challenging for the honours all the time manz...
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 10:17 AM
Everyone makes mistakes... Rio did and still will, the other players will also make mistakes at times... Even RVN is guilty of losing the ball sometimes while holding possession...
Rio deserves credit for his better performances too... So let's not focus too much on his mistakes, but take a look at his contributions to the team... ;)
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 10:19 AM
Panathinaikos will host United without central defender Nassif Morris after the South African picked up a knee injury in Saturday's 1-1 draw away to Olympiakos.
Coach Itzhak Shum is expected to switch from a 5-3-2 to a four-man defence, and add Romanian Lucian Sanmartean to the midfield, as they look for a win that would revive hopes of third place and a UEFA Cup berth.
United captain Roy Keane did not travel to Greece and manager Alex Ferguson said the midfielder had a slight hamstring strain. However, Keane is expected to be fit for Sunday's crunch premier league game against championship rivals Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
Ferguson has no other fresh injury worries and may recall winger Ryan Giggs to his starting line-up after the Wales international was used only as a substitute in last Saturday's league win over Blackburn.
Nicky Butt could replace Keane, with Ferguson also adding youngsters Neil Wood, Danny Pugh and Paul Tierney to his squad.
kengbeng
26-11-2003, 10:35 AM
Everyone makes mistakes... Rio did and still will, the other players will also make mistakes at times... Even RVN is guilty of losing the ball sometimes while holding possession...
Rio deserves credit for his better performances too... So let's not focus too much on his mistakes, but take a look at his contributions to the team... ;)
Well I actually think Rio and the defence are actually doing quite a good job. People tend to look at their mistakes and criticise them just because they are playing for this particular team which comes under scrutiny for every game they play. But don't forget that we've conceded the least in the EPL so far, and only AC Milan has conceded less goals than us in the Champions League.
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 10:49 AM
Our defence seems unsteady at times, but it is nonetheless still an effective unit when it matters most...
Everyone seems to focus on individual brilliance in attack, but there are times of heroics by the individuals in our own backline too... ;)
Think of Silvestre vs Danny Murphy... And Rio vs Pongolle... :D
Ch3tah_39
26-11-2003, 12:06 PM
man utd defence is not reali steady at time lorz...
rio seems to lose concentration sometimes...
Nov 25 - Nicky Butt is at the crossroads of his Manchester United career after taking his Old Trafford grievances into a showdown meeting with manager Sir Alex Ferguson.
The long-serving Manchester-born midfielder has become increasingly dismayed at the disparity in his standing for club and country after establishing himself as an integral part of England coach Sven Goran Eriksson's plans while slipping to the fringes of Ferguson's starting line-up.
FootballChannel can reveal that Butt has confronted the United boss over his fall from favour at Old Trafford and sought assurances over his future.
While he accepts he cannot quibble with Phil Neville's right to the holding role that was once his, it is understood that his continuing absence has placed a strain on his relationship with Ferguson.
Butt's public stance is that he will stay and fight for a recall alongside skipper Roy Keane, but, privately, he is beginning to question his long-term prospects under Ferguson and agonise over severing ties with his home club that go back a decade.
Newcastle, with 34-year old Gary Speed often filling the midfield anchor role, would surely lead any scramble for his signature, while Manchester City cannot be discounted, despite their limited finances and the obvious difficulties caused by inter-city rivalry.
A likely £6 million asking price may prove beyond City's budget, but Kevin Keegan will be heartened by a belief that he is one of few managers with the charisma and motivational powers to tempt the England midfielder away from United.
Butt, 29 in January, received a sympathetic hearing from Ferguson but was told that Neville's consistency in his unfamiliar guise as a midfield ball-winner left little scope for change.
While acknowledging that Neville has made the most of his opportunity, the blunt message that he must carry on playing second fiddle to a makeshift midfielder converted from full back has done little to improve Butt's mood.
His spirits sank still further when he once more found himself on the bench, against arch-rivals Liverpool at Anfield a fortnight ago, and was overlooked by Ferguson when he sent on 19-year- old Darren Fletcher in a midfield change near the end.
Though Butt can expect to partner Eric Djemba Djemba in a new-look Champions League midfield against Panathinaikos in Athens tomorrow, there is a lack of cordiality between player and manager that has raised eyebrows within Old Trafford.
Keane, a kindred spirit off the pitch as well as on it, has attempted to rekindle Butt's old enthusiasm with a few words of encouragement, but has failed to elicit the required response.
As he reflected on his mounting frustration under Ferguson, Butt confirmed he was finding it hard to take, and admitted: 'I would be lying if I said I hadn't been gutted about not playing sometimes and wondered what was going to happen.
"In some ways, it is better that I come from Manchester because my friends and family are on the doorstep, and I can speak to them when I get upset. The manager has never told me about anyone coming in, so I wouldn't know if anyone has. But I've always been happy here, even though I've been in this situation quite often at United.
"I'm experienced enough to know that, over the course of every season, players get injured or suspended. I will bide my time, work hard in training and try to make sure that when I do get an opportunity, I take it. If I don't, I will look at myself in the mirror and know it is my fault."
Ferguson still seems certain to turn to Butt as he looks to rest Neville, with Sunday's trip to Chelsea in mind, and continue a policy of using Keane sparingly.
If he does, there will be no complaints from Keane after the veteran United skipper assessed his high- octane push for more domestic honours and put it down to international retirement and shrewd decision-making by his Old Trafford boss.
The 32-year old has resisted all calls, even from his club and country team-mate John O'Shea, to reconsider his withdrawal from the Republic of Ireland squad that came in the aftermath of his World Cup walk-out last summer.
If ever he were to waver, he insists that a brief recap of his stirring deeds for United this season would be enough to bring him to his senses and remind him that he could not have maintained such a level of intensity amid the extra demands of international football.
Keane is enjoying a new lease of life, after being plagued by hip problems last season, and credits Ferguson's meticulous approach to safeguarding his fitness by care-fully picking and choosing his appearances.
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=40768&seg=EPL&teamid=
haiz one of the unsung hero....dun really wish to see him go.....
I doubt this story, he had said he is prepared to fight for his place. Words taken out of context. :mad:
JUAN VERON will miss his big chance to get revenge on Alex Ferguson.
The £15million Chelsea star could be out for a month with a back injury.
That kills his hopes of facing title rivals and former club Manchester United in Sunday’s Stamford Bridge crunch.
Boss Claudio Ranieri said: “It’s hard to say exactly how long he will be out. But for now he is not available.”
Midfielder Veron, currently believed to be having extensive treatment in Italy, got the elbow from Fergie during the summer after failing to make the grade in two seasons at Old Trafford.
Veron, 28, has helped the Londoners to second in the Premiership, one place above United.
This weekend’s crunch date would have been the £100,000-a-week former Lazio hero’s first opportunity to show Fergie what he is missing.
The South American is still angry with Fergie for changing his mind and deciding to sell him at a £13.1m loss.
Any idea of getting his own back, though, has been sunk thanks to the Argentina ace picking up a knock while playing for his country in last week’s World Cup qualifier against Colombia.
Chelsea take on Sparta Prague tonight, knowing victory will equal their best-ever record of eight straight wins and guarantee them a place in the last 16 of the Champions League.
Veron will be joined on the injured list for the Group G clash by France’s midfield hardman Claude Makelele. He has a neck problem.
The recent deadly terrorist attacks on Istanbul have prompted UEFA to announce that Chelsea’s scheduled visit to Besiktas will now be played at a neutral venue and not in Turkey.
But where the game will go ahead, and whether it will still be on December 9, was not revealed by UEFA’s emergency panel in Brussels.
UEFA chief executive Gerhard Aigner said: “The panel has had to evaluate all the available evidence.”
Roy Keane will miss the trip due to a hamstring injury, so is Eric Djemba Djemba because his mun is ill. Butt is most likely to take his spot.
R Carroll, T Howard, G Neville, P Neville, R Ferdinand, J O’Shea, Q Fortune, M Silvestre, N Butt, Kleberson, C Ronaldo, R Giggs, D Fletcher, R van Nistelrooy, D Forlan, D Pugh, N Wood, P Tierney, D Bellion.
The team flying to Athens.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=46987&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Manchester United are believed to be close to signing Marseille's Daniel van Buyten in a daring £12 million move in January.
The Premiership Champions are favourites to sign the Belgian international, who turned down Juventus earlier in the summer as he didn't feel he was ready to play in Serie A yet.
United view van Buyten as the perfect replacement for Rio Ferdinand who looks set to be given a lengthy ban after failing to take a random drugs test earlier in the season.
Marseille are looking at Marko Basa as a possible replacement should van Buyten leave the club.
£12m, quite expensive. :(
REDS striker Daniel Nardiello has rejected the chance to stay on loan at Swansea City.
The young prospect returned to Old Trafford yesterday after spending a month at the Vetch Field.
And the striker revealed that he decided to return to the Reds after failing to nail down a first-team spot with the Swans.
“If I’m honest, I’d rather go back to United and play for the reserves than sit on the substitutes’ bench at Swansea,” Nardiello told The Western Mail.
“Don’t get me wrong, I had a good time at Swansea and I’m grateful for Brian Flynn for giving me the chance to play first-team football.”
“But I made the decision not to stay for another month based on the fact that Brian couldn’t promise that I would be playing.”
Failed to impress
Nardiello, who made only 3 league starts at The Swans, and failed to find the net, admitted that Swansea fans didn’t see the best of him.
“I don’t think the fans saw the best of me,” he added.
“It’s disappointing because it was my first time in the football league - Sir Alex had never let me go out on loan before.
“But I’ve learned a lot from my time at Swansea and, who knows, perhaps I’ll get the chance to go back one day.”
However, Nardiello’s reserve team-mate Alan Tate will be staying for another month at the Swans, having proved himself an indispensable member of Flynn’s first-team.
But Sir Alex has insisted that will be Tate’s final month on loan, with the player set to return to Old Trafford at the end of his second month.
StormTrooper
26-11-2003, 01:58 PM
man utd defence is not reali steady at time lorz...
rio seems to lose concentration sometimes...
they're not the best, but they're not the worst either :cool:
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 04:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United are believed to be close to signing Marseille's Daniel van Buyten in a daring £12 million move in January.
The Premiership Champions are favourites to sign the Belgian international, who turned down Juventus earlier in the summer as he didn't feel he was ready to play in Serie A yet.
United view van Buyten as the perfect replacement for Rio Ferdinand who looks set to be given a lengthy ban after failing to take a random drugs test earlier in the season.
Marseille are looking at Marko Basa as a possible replacement should van Buyten leave the club.
£12m, quite expensive. :(
Agreed that £12m is quite a lot for van Buyten... But if that's what Fergie thinks that we need, he might very well be at OT in the new year...
Honestly, I'd rather he look to the reserves though... I'm sure there must be another youngster capable enough of making the step up to the first team... ;)
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
they're not the best, but they're not the worst either :cool:
What matters is that they are serving us well... We've been okay so far, haven't we? :D
Just hope they can grow in stature and maturity as the season progresses... Hopefully just in time for our annual post-Christmas run of good results... ;)
ccloh
26-11-2003, 06:41 PM
Agreed that £12m is quite a lot for van Buyten... But if that's what Fergie thinks that we need, he might very well be at OT in the new year...
Honestly, I'd rather he look to the reserves though... I'm sure there must be another youngster capable enough of making the step up to the first team... ;)
whenever utd wants to buy, the price is always over-priced. 12m pounds to utd i think is consider cheap already.
Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo will appear before a Football Association disciplinary panel in Heathrow on Monday to answer charges of improper conduct.
The allegations relate to the stormy Barclaycard Premiership encounter with Arsenal at Old Trafford on September 21, which saw Martin Keown, Ray Parlour and Edu all pick up bans for the post-match fracas on Ruud van Nistelrooy.
Both Giggs and Ronaldo have requested personal hearings to contest the charges for their involvement in the melee and are likely to claim they were merely acting in defence of van Nistelrooy, who missed a last-minute penalty which would have given United a 1-0 win.
However, even if found guilty, it seems unlikely either man would receive a suspension - a heavy fine being the predicted outcome.
It will mark the start of a busy week for Giggs on the disciplinary front as he also faces a UEFA inquiry on December 4 into his conduct during Wales' Euro 2004 play-off clash with Russia in Moscow on November 15.
Giggs appeared to elbow Russia's Vadim Evseev during the stormy first-leg encounter, when the Welshman seemed to be targeted for extreme physical pressure.
Please not a ban, a fine will do. ;)
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 08:04 PM
whenever utd wants to buy, the price is always over-priced. 12m pounds to utd i think is consider cheap already.
We can easily afford 12m pounds, no doubt... But I'd rather we keep the cash and promote 'the next big thing' from the youths or the reserves... :D
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Don't think there'll be bans for Giggsy or Ronaldo, if the Arsenal players' conduct and punishment is anything to go by... What the Londoners' did was far worse compared to Ryan and Cristiano... ;)
Alienz
26-11-2003, 08:59 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Both Giggs and Ronaldo have requested personal hearings to contest the charges for their involvement in the melee and are likely to claim they were merely acting in defence of van Nistelrooy, who missed a last-minute penalty which would have given United a 1-0 win.
However, even if found guilty, it seems unlikely either man would receive a suspension - a heavy fine being the predicted outcome.
:)
OreoCookies
26-11-2003, 09:20 PM
Hope nothing happens to our two wing wonders... :D
Alienz
26-11-2003, 09:32 PM
Hope nothing happens to our two wing wonders... :D
Yeah.... fine would be more than enough ;)
guoquanyap
27-11-2003, 12:29 AM
We can easily afford 12m pounds, no doubt... But I'd rather we keep the cash and promote 'the next big thing' from the youths or the reserves... :D
talk until we damn rich like that....:alien:
guoquanyap
27-11-2003, 12:31 AM
okie it no time for sloppiness.....1pt is all we need but we certainly dun wan to be 2nd place in the group.....so go out there and play!! :D
guoquanyap
27-11-2003, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by RVN
JUAN VERON will miss his big chance to get revenge on Alex Ferguson.
The £15million Chelsea star could be out for a month with a back injury.
That kills his hopes of facing title rivals and former club Manchester United in Sunday’s Stamford Bridge crunch.
Boss Claudio Ranieri said: “It’s hard to say exactly how long he will be out. But for now he is not available.”
Midfielder Veron, currently believed to be having extensive treatment in Italy, got the elbow from Fergie during the summer after failing to make the grade in two seasons at Old Trafford.
Veron, 28, has helped the Londoners to second in the Premiership, one place above United.
This weekend’s crunch date would have been the £100,000-a-week former Lazio hero’s first opportunity to show Fergie what he is missing.
The South American is still angry with Fergie for changing his mind and deciding to sell him at a £13.1m loss.
Any idea of getting his own back, though, has been sunk thanks to the Argentina ace picking up a knock while playing for his country in last week’s World Cup qualifier against Colombia.
Chelsea take on Sparta Prague tonight, knowing victory will equal their best-ever record of eight straight wins and guarantee them a place in the last 16 of the Champions League.
Veron will be joined on the injured list for the Group G clash by France’s midfield hardman Claude Makelele. He has a neck problem.
The recent deadly terrorist attacks on Istanbul have prompted UEFA to announce that Chelsea’s scheduled visit to Besiktas will now be played at a neutral venue and not in Turkey.
But where the game will go ahead, and whether it will still be on December 9, was not revealed by UEFA’s emergency panel in Brussels.
UEFA chief executive Gerhard Aigner said: “The panel has had to evaluate all the available evidence.” oh so sad.... :sarcastic :sarcastic
OreoCookies
27-11-2003, 12:50 AM
talk until we damn rich like that....:alien:
We are poor commoners, but Man Utd as a club is pretty rich, no? :D
A club valued at over 600-million pounds... We can buy van Buyten 10-times over with that kind of juice... =p
Still, being pretty affluent doesn't mean we should just spend the cash anyhow...
OreoCookies
27-11-2003, 12:52 AM
oh so sad.... :sarcastic :sarcastic
He'll get his chance, no hurry... ;)
But rest assured... Fergie and gang will all be ready then to give him a good welcome on his return to OT... As well as hand Chelski another defeat, I hope... :D
vivre
27-11-2003, 08:20 AM
Forlan scores his 5th goal and 6 starts... Not a bad strike rate.... :D
ccloh
27-11-2003, 09:37 AM
forlan sure on form man. wait till next mth ole back from injury then we have 3 deadly strikers liao. hmm wonder will fergie plays 3 up-front and run down opponent 10-0 :D
Ruud van Nistelrooy, Phil Neville, Gary Neville were left on the bench but didn't played, Keano didn't travel for this match, expect all 4 to be back for the chelsea match on Sunday. :)
OreoCookies
27-11-2003, 12:56 PM
With Forlan and RVN on-form and Solskjaer coming back soon, our striker problem shouldn't be too much on a worry liaoz... :D
Next up, Stamford Bridge... Firecracker of a match, I'd say... Definitely to be better than last night's game... ;)
Sir Alex Ferguson believes Diego Forlan can go on to become as big a star as Manchester United legend Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.
Like Solskjaer, Forlan was plucked from relative obscurity to bolster United’s strike force two years ago.
And although the South American has taken longer to adapt to life in the Premiership than his Old Trafford team-mate, he is now starting to show why Ferguson snatched him from under Middlesbrough’s noses with a £7million swoop in 2001.
Forlan’s 85th-minute Champions League winner against Panathinaikos last night was his fifth goal in six starts, ensured United will advance into the first knock-out stage of the competition and handed Ferguson a selection dilemma ahead of Sunday’s title showdown with Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
“We bought Ole Gunnar Solskjaer at 24 and he has developed fantastically well. I’m confident Diego will do the same,” claimed the United chief.
“What has helped him is having the chance to play regularly.
“He is improving all the time and that is five goals now this season, which is a good return from the games he has played.
“Whenever you buy a young player, you know you are not getting the finished article. What you have is potential.
“When we signed Diego we had just lost Dwight Yorke, Andy Cole and Teddy Sheringham and we were looking for a young striker.
“He has established himself now. Sometimes, tactically we prefer to play one man behind a central striker but the form he has shown recently, it is difficult to leave him out.”
Despite Ferguson’s warm words, and his impressive contribution to the Red Devils’ cause this season, it is difficult to see Forlan being handed a starting berth at Stamford Bridge.
Bad back permitting, prolific Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy is certain to earn a recall after spending last night’s game on the bench, while the Neville brothers – also unused substitutes in Athens – and skipper Roy Keane, left at home to nurse his strained hamstring, are also bound to be involved.
Those four sets of fresh legs could be vital against the Londoners and the fact United scrambled to a win last night justified Ferguson’s decision to rest his key men.
Though their performance was workmanlike at best, the way Group E has panned out, with the final leadership to be determined by United’s encounter with Stuttgart in a fortnight no matter what the outcome of the penultimate games, offered Ferguson the chance to experiment.
Of his youngest trio, Darren Fletcher came through his central midfield outing on the credit side, Cristiano Ronaldo was the game’s most potent attacking force on the right wing, while David Bellion marked his 75th-minute introduction by setting up Forlan’s late winner.
“I wanted to see how some of our young players would cope in a European away game,” revealed Ferguson.
“Central midfield will be Darren Fletcher’s best position and the experience of playing this game will only help him in future games.
“Cristiano Ronaldo is the same. We seem to forget sometimes that he is only 18 and we have to pick and choose when we are going to use him.
“Near the end I felt we had to go for the victory, which was why I put David Bellion on and he was the one who changed the game for us.”
Ferguson confirmed that none of his missing stars, plus defensive duo Rio Ferdinand and Mikael Silvestre who picked up second-half knocks, were in danger of missing Sunday’s encounter.
And, looking further ahead, the United chief declared his intention to go all-out to win the group by beating Stuttgart on December 9, thus avoiding the likes of AC Milan and Real Madrid when the tournament resumes in the New Year.
“Some of the groups are so open you don’t quite know how things will eventually end up but psychologically it would be better for us to win the group and that is what we will be trying to do,” said Ferguson.
Sir Alex Ferguson made it clear where his priorities lie by leaving key players out of Wednesday's Champions League game in Greece.
Roy Keane, Ruud van Nistelrooy, and Gary and Phil Neville were all missing as United strode to the knock-out stages of Europe's top competition beating Panathinaikos 1-0, but it is a safe bet all will be back for Sunday's Stamford Bridge showdown against Chelsea.
Keane did not even make the trip to Athens, staying behind to have treatment on a slight hamstring problem. The former Republic of Ireland star is expected to be given the all clear on Friday morning as the United manager finalises his plans for the top three clash.
Gary Neville was not risked against the Greeks after recovering from a sore Achilles heel last week, while his brother Phil - who has featured in all but one of United's games this season -was rested along with leading scorer van Nistelrooy. All three were on the bench.
With the big four set to return, John O'Shea, Darren Fletcher, Nicky Butt and Kleberson are most likely to stand down.
guoquanyap
27-11-2003, 11:58 PM
jus watch the post match interview w Claudio Ranieri, when asked abt the upcoming match w manu....he got a cheeky smile....looked like he very confident.....
OreoCookies
28-11-2003, 09:32 AM
jus watch the post match interview w Claudio Ranieri, when asked abt the upcoming match w manu....he got a cheeky smile....looked like he very confident.....
I guess he should be... Chelsea seemed to have overcome most of their big-name opponents this season (exception of Arsenal), and the team seems to be starting to gel together liaoz... :(
Whatever the case, we should be feeling confident too... Chelsea may seem strong, but we're definitely not weak either... ;)
Got to watch out for Duff and Mutu... Potential match-winners... :o
ccloh
28-11-2003, 09:32 AM
aiya he got so many stars as his disposal. if ferige were him, he also smile lah. chelski though good at the midfield and striker department but their defence is still a bit the leaky. think should get ronaldo and giggs to run at the defence more.
edhorizon
28-11-2003, 10:47 AM
just have faith in our team is enough.
of course every manager should have confidence in their team too.
OreoCookies
28-11-2003, 11:51 AM
aiya he got so many stars as his disposal. if ferige were him, he also smile lah. chelski though good at the midfield and striker department but their defence is still a bit the leaky. think should get ronaldo and giggs to run at the defence more.
I think Fergie would rather have his own custom-crafted team of home-grown youths and talented imports, rather than a team of foreign stars... For a top-class manager, nothing beats building a team to your own tastes... ;)
Chelski defence is weak, but the important thing we must do is to keep the ball for as long as possible... And not give it away so easily! We have the habit of losing the ball with the long balls... If we can prevent Chelski from seeing too much of the ball, then we can run all we want at the defence... :D
kengbeng
28-11-2003, 12:09 PM
Very promising batch of youngsters coming through. Fingers crossed that they will be as good as the class of '92. :D
OreoCookies
28-11-2003, 01:00 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Very promising batch of youngsters coming through. Fingers crossed that they will be as good as the class of '92. :D
With Fergie watching over their development, they should easily become the core of the next generation at OT... :D
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=284386&cc=4716
Heard Scholes might played according to this article, though he will most probably spend most of the game on the bench. Forlan could play with Ruud upfront on Sunday. This is how I think they will line up:
Howard
Gary Neville Rio Ferdinand Mikael Silvestre John O'Shea
Keane Phil Neville
Ronaldo Giggs
Forlan van Nistelrooy
And happy birthday to Giggsy, who turns 30 today. :)
Yellowfin
28-11-2003, 02:58 PM
This weekend match against Chelsea, Man U better win or draw. We can't afford a lost if we are to stay on course for the EPL title. :)
RuMmYtUb
28-11-2003, 02:59 PM
Hi guys ! i'm back from my operation, w00t glad to see Forlan scoring again, though tat match abit boring..
ccloh
28-11-2003, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=284386&cc=4716
Heard Scholes might played according to this article, though he will most probably spend most of the game on the bench. Forlan could play with Ruud upfront on Sunday. This is how I think they will line up:
Howard
Gary Neville Rio Ferdinand Mikael Silvestre John O'Shea
Keane Phil Neville
Ronaldo Giggs
Forlan van Nistelrooy
And happy birthday to Giggsy, who turns 30 today. :)
giggs turns 30 today !!!! still younger than me :D
ccloh
28-11-2003, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
This weekend match against Chelsea, Man U better win or draw. We can't afford a lost if we are to stay on course for the EPL title. :)
given that arsenal should be winning again, anything less than a win will be bad for us in this match. rightfully, a draw would be a fair result to both teams but as a utd fan, ought to be selfish a bit here :D
edhorizon
28-11-2003, 04:51 PM
Hi guys ! i'm back from my operation, w00t glad to see Forlan scoring again, though tat match abit boring..
operation? what happened?
ccloh u so old ah.... lao ah pek siah... :laugh:
anyway as man utd fans, i also hope man utd will clinch 3 pts. nothing less then a win.
RuMmYtUb
28-11-2003, 05:35 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
operation? what happened?
ccloh u so old ah.... lao ah pek siah... :laugh:
anyway as man utd fans, i also hope man utd will clinch 3 pts. nothing less then a win.
ccloh uncle sia..
ligament operation..
ccloh
28-11-2003, 06:07 PM
ccloh uncle sia..
ligament operation..
been ard watching english league since the days of bryan robson at his best for utd, jesper olsen as the no. 11 for utd but not to the old sense that can watch george best, dennis law and bobby chalton playing for utd :D
Manchester United are facing fresh takeover speculation after a German banker purchased 6 per cent of the club's shareholding.
The Guardian says the deal is worth £30 million and was brokered by Mehmet Dalman, the London head of the Germany's Commerzbank, who is known to have been trawling the City for a sizable stake in his favourite club.
Dalman is a big sports fan, with interests in horseracing and American football and his stake is believed to have been acquired from a variety of shareholders who were keen to sell at historically high levels for the shares.
Speculation in the City yesterday was questioning whether Cyprus-born Dalman was acting alone, on behalf of the German bank or in conjunction with one of the existing investors in Manchester United.
United and England star Paul Scholes is crossing off the days as his comeback gets closer - but says he has no intention of rushing things.
Scholes has been out of action since having hernia surgery exactly a month ago and could be playing again within the next fortnight.
"I've been doing a bit of running and some gym work and everything seems to be going all right at the moment.
"I am not putting a target on it, I just want to get into full training and take it from there.
"The operation has probably been quite a step back fitness wise, I will just have to wait and see when I do get back in and how I feel when I start playing again.
"It hasn't been a massive amount of time, it has only been four weeks and I have been doing a lot of work in the last two or three. "
Scholes has been a reluctant spectator since he last played for United in the game against Fulham at Old Trafford on 25 October, three days before he had his operation.
"It's no fun watching the games you want to be out there and be involved and it's not nice when the weekend comes around and you aren't playing, " he says.
United's other long-term injured players are also making steady progress.
Wes Brown says he expects to be playing again within the next 10 days and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer should make his comeback early in the New Year.
Both have been out following knee operations.
edhorizon
28-11-2003, 06:58 PM
how come will kanna that injury? too much soccer?
i start watching and supporting cause 1st match is man utd dunno against who but eric cantona playing and support him till he left, then beckham.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson expects to have Roy Keane available for Sunday's title showdown with Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
Keane missed the midweek Champions League win over Panathinaikos with a minor hamstring strain but was due to train on Friday and providing he suffers no reaction, will make the trip south.
Ruud van Nistelrooy and the Neville brothers, Gary and Phil, should also play after sitting on the bench in Athens, while Rio Ferdinand and Mikael Silvestre are set to recover from minor knocks.
Teams
Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, O'Shea, Fortune, Silvestre, Ferdinand, Fletcher, Keane, Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, P Neville, Butt, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Bellion.
kengbeng
28-11-2003, 09:12 PM
30 faboulous facts about Giggsy (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sportacademy/hi/sa/football/features/newsid_3239000/3239969.stm), courtesy of the BBC. :)
guoquanyap
29-11-2003, 12:32 AM
30 faboulous facts about Giggsy (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sportacademy/hi/sa/football/features/newsid_3239000/3239969.stm), courtesy of the BBC. :)
nice~~......:)
OreoCookies
29-11-2003, 01:57 AM
This weekend's match at Stamford Bridge is sure to be mouth-watering... :D
The team must keep possession of the ball and not let Chelski get it sia... As long as we can stop them from playing their usual game, we can work at breaking down their defence liaoz... ;)
Must win sia... Then can keep-up the pace as we peak during X'mas/New Year period...
Spock
29-11-2003, 02:55 AM
must keep track of damien duff...
OreoCookies
29-11-2003, 03:25 AM
Originally posted by Spock
must keep track of damien duff...
He's Chelski's most consistent force in attack... Gary Neville will have a handful keeping him in check... :o
RuMmYtUb
29-11-2003, 09:41 AM
Hope Keano and P.Neville can neutralise their midfield..
Ch3tah_39
29-11-2003, 12:16 PM
against chelski's team, man utd muz be on alert alwez and keep it real tight..hahaz..
that can mantain, shld not be a problem liao.
BIG game on Sunday, luckily I think we have the experience for this sort of game, and hopefully that will show.
We usually pull our fingers out for these sorts of games, and hopefully we can get the russian to choke on his full time vodka.. :laugh:
ALEX FERGUSON will get a £40million cash boost following tomorrow’s crunch game with Chelsea which he believes could decide who wins the Premiership.
The Manchester United boss will be at Claridge’s in London on Monday to announce a massive new four-year sponsorship deal with Vodafone.
United have renewed their agreement with the mobile telephone company that was worth £30m over the last four years.
The early Christmas present will give Fergie some clout in the January sales transfer window.
Before that is the small matter of Chelsea and Ferguson said: “The three teams at the top are not making many mistakes.
“You have to think that the games against each other could be deciders now. Right now I cannot see anyone else breaking into this top three.”
Just two points cover the leading three teams with fourth-placed Charlton a further nine points adrift. United have enjoyed their best start to a Premiership season ever and have needed it to keep pace with leaders Arsenal and Chelsea. The Blues have splashed out £110million on players.
Ferguson said: “People are saying all this big spending is bad for the game. Well, it is good for Chelsea. Everyone has the right to progress even if it leaves others behind.
“Normally I would say you cannot buy the title but I’m sure Chelsea will be up there at the end of the season.”
Fergie admits that boss Claudio Ranieri has done well to blend in all the new stars at Stamford Bridge. He said: “It is not easy when you have so many players you are trying to keep happy.
“Stars like Hernan Crespo, Juan Veron and Claude Makelele are all used to winning things with other clubs.”
The main threat will be Damien Duff. Neutralise him on the left flank... but with whom?? :o
OreoCookies
29-11-2003, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by RVN
BIG game on Sunday, luckily I think we have the experience for this sort of game, and hopefully that will show.
We usually pull our fingers out for these sorts of games, and hopefully we can get the russian to choke on his full time vodka.. :laugh:
Then we can take out our full-time caviar and enjoy... :D
OreoCookies
29-11-2003, 10:19 PM
Originally posted by pyu
The main threat will be Damien Duff. Neutralise him on the left flank... but with whom?? :o
I would like to say Gary, as he is experienced enough to cope with the situation... But he lacks pace... :o
Think it'll have to take a team effot loh... Cut out the supply of balls to Duff, and not give him space to run at the defence... =p
Sky Sports News has exclusively revealed that Manchester United chief executive David Gill has flown to Florida for a meeting with American tycoon Malcolm Glazer.
United confirmed that Glazer, who owns Superbowl champions Tampa Bay Buccaneers and is already the club's second largest shareholder, enjoyed a 'productive meeting' with Gill amid growing speculation of a takeover.
His increased involvement would provide a new ally for manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who is currently involved in a legal battle with John Magnier, the most powerful shareholder in the club in partnership with JP McManus, over the stud rights of his horse Rock of Gibralter.
If Glazer chooses to increase his holding in the club it would be another financial boost with a major sponsorship deal expected next week.
United's share price hit a new three-year high this week after the team secured their place in the knockout stages of the UEFA Champions League.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1113107,00.html
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 12:05 AM
Originally posted by RVN
ALEX FERGUSON will get a £40million cash boost following tomorrow’s crunch game with Chelsea which he believes could decide who wins the Premiership.
The Manchester United boss will be at Claridge’s in London on Monday to announce a massive new four-year sponsorship deal with Vodafone.
United have renewed their agreement with the mobile telephone company that was worth £30m over the last four years.
The early Christmas present will give Fergie some clout in the January sales transfer window.
Before that is the small matter of Chelsea and Ferguson said: “The three teams at the top are not making many mistakes.
“You have to think that the games against each other could be deciders now. Right now I cannot see anyone else breaking into this top three.”
Just two points cover the leading three teams with fourth-placed Charlton a further nine points adrift. United have enjoyed their best start to a Premiership season ever and have needed it to keep pace with leaders Arsenal and Chelsea. The Blues have splashed out £110million on players.
Ferguson said: “People are saying all this big spending is bad for the game. Well, it is good for Chelsea. Everyone has the right to progress even if it leaves others behind.
“Normally I would say you cannot buy the title but I’m sure Chelsea will be up there at the end of the season.”
Fergie admits that boss Claudio Ranieri has done well to blend in all the new stars at Stamford Bridge. He said: “It is not easy when you have so many players you are trying to keep happy.
“Stars like Hernan Crespo, Juan Veron and Claude Makelele are all used to winning things with other clubs.”
40million pound....:eek: :eek:
kengbeng
30-11-2003, 12:17 AM
However large the transfer budget, I won't announce it out to the whole world. It just gives the opportunity to those clubs to try and leach us. :alien:
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 12:20 AM
However large the transfer budget, I won't announce it out to the whole world. It just gives the opportunity to those clubs to try and leach us. :alien:
haha correct to a certain extent.....when everyone know how rich chelsea is during tghe pre-season....no club actually 'chop' them at all.....see their record transfer is still duff which is at 17million pound....ours? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
maybe the person behind the transfer for manu is not doing his job well.....
NanDesKa
30-11-2003, 12:25 AM
man utd shud launch a 35million pound bid for shevie. :P
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 01:11 AM
The new deal with Vodafone has to be made public somehow... They're into sponsorship coz they need mileage for the brand, and since they are hitching onto Man Utd's popularity for the sponsorship money, details of the deal (inclusive of the cash injection) is bound to leak through... :o
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 01:14 AM
haha correct to a certain extent.....when everyone know how rich chelsea is during tghe pre-season....no club actually 'chop' them at all.....see their record transfer is still duff which is at 17million pound....ours? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
maybe the person behind the transfer for manu is not doing his job well.....
The man responsible is gone now... Ironically, he's headed for Stamford Bridge... :laugh:
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 01:16 AM
Trying to prise Shevchenko from AC Milan is like others trying to lure RVN away from Old Trafford... :o
Tough man... Leather tough... :(
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 01:34 AM
where got enough eh....somemore they oso dun need $....i think smith will be a gd buy and oso will get a cut-down price.....
RuMmYtUb
30-11-2003, 01:38 AM
where got enough eh....somemore they oso dun need $....i think smith will be a gd buy and oso will get a cut-down price.....
U mean Alan Smith ?
I like him, hardworking player..
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 01:59 AM
U mean Alan Smith ?
I like him, hardworking player..
But a potential source of off-field troubles... :(
Another consideration is whether he can accept the iron-fist man-management employed by SAF... :o
NanDesKa
30-11-2003, 02:06 AM
doubt SAF can tahan his crap off the field.(smith)
if SAF can tahan he wud have brought in bowyer the other time.
really wish to see morientes come OT lehz.
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 11:00 AM
Hmm... Spainards don't seem to settle well in the EPL... Albert Ferrer went to Chelsea and left, Ricardo didn't manage to get many games under his belt for us... If Morientes came, itz not a certainity that he'll be a hit at OT... :o
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 11:03 AM
This week's 'Super Sunday' certainly lives up to that emphatic tag. A case of old money against nouveau riche, an all-powerful plc against the deepest individual pockets in football, the champions against the new pretenders, Manchester United's trip to Chelsea is the biggest game of the season so far.
Wednesday saw both negotiate their way through the Champions League group stage in rather uninteresting fashion. Chelsea huffed and puffed through a pot-boiler with Sparta Prague while Sir Alex Ferguson tested out his pool of players in the away win at Panathinaikos.
While Ranieri fielded a largely first-choice line up against the Czechs, Ferguson seems to have kept his powder dry for Stamford Bridge - even choosing to rest players against Blackburn last Saturday and give the likes of Kleberson and David Bellion a run-out. Both may have shown flashes of becoming useful squad members but it's a given that Ferguson will turn to his tried and tested line-up for the trip to London.
Roy Keane has been increasingly protected against injury by Ferguson and sat out the midweek action. In fact, he sat it out in Glasgow watching Celtic's draw with Bayern Munich but it was all with his manager's blessing. Meanwhile, Paul Scholes has recovered from his hernia operation and may play a part from United's bench.
And it seems that by virtue of being rested in Greece that Phil Neville will man the engine-room alongside Keane having enjoyed a critical renaissance this season. Neville junior's no-nonsense tackling and distribution fits well into Ferguson's 4-2-3-1 formation in providing a ballast for creators like Giggs and Scholes.
And Ruud Van Nistelrooy's burying of his Dutch national team ghost may well give rise to a revival of the type of free-scoring run we have all become accustomed to. Diego Forlan has discovered a scoring touch that seemed lost forever earlier this season and he may yet, in the absence of Scholes, be given a chance against a team who he made hay against last season.
Forlan's winner in March against Chelsea at Old Trafford was set up by one Juan Sebastian Veron. But the Argentine will not get the chance to prove himself against the manager who sold him at a £13m loss. A back injury sustained while playing for his country saw him miss the Sparta game and so revenge may have to wait until later in the season.
Just like at United, Veron's reputation as one of the leading talents in the game is being questioned by some at Chelsea.
Ranieri is yet to find a true role for him and many would not include him in Chelsea's chosen midfield four. The form of Frank Lampard has given him a central role alongside Claude Makelele and Ranieri usually chooses to play with paired strikers thus removing the option of a free role behind a single front man.
All of Ranieri's strikeforce, Crespo, Mutu, Hasselbaink and Gudjohnsen, have shown flashes of goalscoring form this season but Ranieri is still unsure of his best pair. Adrian Mutu especially glittered early on in the season and seems to have won a place as the creative forward but Hasselbaink's goal-scoring has made him a genuine rival to Hernan Crespo as target man.
The Argentinian's finishing varies from thunderous to comedic and there have even been calls for Roman Abramovitch to further wield his cheque-book and buy another striker. Having suffered years of financial worry, it seems that some Chelsea fans have already become rather too used to buying as a solution to problems.
United too seem to lack a bit of firepower, what with Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's absence through injury. But with the transfer window not beginning until January both managers will have to make do with their hardly paltry current resources.
With three teams in Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester United streaking into the distance in the Premiership this game already seems like a six-pointer. With slip-ups so far in short supply, losing to a rival could already be a mortal blow.
Source - ESPN Soccernet.com (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=284386&cc=4716)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mouth-watering clash coming up tonight... :D
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 11:08 AM
FIFA president Sepp Blatter has questioned the validity of Manchester United's results since discovering Rio Ferdinand was playing on despite being charged for missing a drugs test.
"He cannot play until the case is settled. The case is not settled," Blatter said on Saturday.
"How can you now settle this case when he has played and... will (perhaps) be declared guilty by a commission or any tribunal in sports, in football?" Blatter told Sky Sports News in an interview in Dubai.
"And what do you do with the results after that?" Blatter asked.
"I will write a very strong letter to the FA (English Football Association) to ask for some explanations because otherwise we will lose our credibility, especially in (the case of) doping."
Ferdinand was charged by the FA last month with 'failure or refusal' to take a drugs test after missing one at United's training ground in September.
The 24-year-old England defender has denied a misconduct charge and asked for a hearing, due next month.
Ferdinand was dropped by England over the missed drugs test before their October 11 Euro 2004 decider in Turkey but he has since played for United eight times in domestic and European competition, five times after he was charged on October 29.
He is in the United squad for their top-of-the-table match away to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Sunday.
C'mon, Blatter! Itz not as if Rio is guilty of USING drugs... Itz just a missed drugs test, which he subsequently passed a short while later... :mad:
ccloh
30-11-2003, 11:18 AM
aiya that stupid FIFA boss is always a problem ever since he took also. if not for the success in world cup 2002, he would have been booted out liao. anyway in soccer world he is king but in other aspect, he is just a nobody so why bother abt him,
ccloh
30-11-2003, 11:24 AM
got a feeling the key figure to tonite match is not keano, giggs or rvn but phil neville. he would have to hold off frank lampard and the other midfield (depend who chelski is fielding) and let keano advance forwards. giggs and ronaldo will be running down both flank creating troubles for the leaky chelski defence and perhaps can see forlan playing along side rvn to provide enough fire power up front.
hope the defence can concentrate the full 90-min + any extra add-on time. the lapse of concentration just a split sec. is fatal since chelski got a very powerful firing power upfront in crespo and mutu.
Spock
30-11-2003, 11:32 AM
I hope they put silvestre as centre back.
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 12:06 PM
aiya that stupid FIFA boss is always a problem ever since he took also. if not for the success in world cup 2002, he would have been booted out liao. anyway in soccer world he is king but in other aspect, he is just a nobody so why bother abt him,
Well, no matter what, he's still the FIFA boss and tops in the soccer world, so he still has a reasonable amount of influence in his hands... :(
Itz just like the USA... When their president speaks about something, the world listens, even if itz not really our business... :o
Still, I hope the English FA has the courage to stand by one of their country's players, and not just give-in to everything Blatter demands... =p
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 12:09 PM
got a feeling the key figure to tonite match is not keano, giggs or rvn but phil neville. he would have to hold off frank lampard and the other midfield (depend who chelski is fielding) and let keano advance forwards. giggs and ronaldo will be running down both flank creating troubles for the leaky chelski defence and perhaps can see forlan playing along side rvn to provide enough fire power up front.
hope the defence can concentrate the full 90-min + any extra add-on time. the lapse of concentration just a split sec. is fatal since chelski got a very powerful firing power upfront in crespo and mutu.
Yup, agreed that Phil will be crucial in protecting the defence when Keano goes on his rampaging runs... ;)
Crucial game plan will be to keep the ball and not play too many stray passes... Chelski got more ball-players than ball-winners... So long as we maintain possession throughout, the match should be as good as ours... :D
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by Spock
I hope they put silvestre as centre back.
Given his recent heroics at centre-half, the position is more or less his to keep for tonight... ;)
C'mon, Blatter! Itz not as if Rio is guilty of USING drugs... Itz just a missed drugs test, which he subsequently passed a short while later... :mad:
Who the hell does Blatter think he is, a one man world football judge? On one hand we have FIFA stating that the case in purely in the hands of the FA (incompetents though they undoubtedly are) and now we have their boss stating that Rio should be sidelined whilst we await the eternal progress of the FA to a matter that should have been sorted weeks ago.
Blatter, like all of us, is entitled to his opinion but the legal processes of this country clearly state that a person is innocent until PROVEN otherwise. Now, we all know what Rio did, but he has not been brought to task over it so therefore, he is still innocent. If Blatter, or anyone else for that matter, wants to butt in and discuss it, they should put it in writing to be used AT the tribunal, not aired over the media beforehand. :mad:
Rio has neither been arrested nor formally heard yet, so he remains innocent until such findings as the FA hand out is determined. The same goes for any player wanting for the FA version of justice.
NanDesKa
30-11-2003, 02:56 PM
Hmm... Spainards don't seem to settle well in the EPL... Albert Ferrer went to Chelsea and left, Ricardo didn't manage to get many games under his belt for us... If Morientes came, itz not a certainity that he'll be a hit at OT... :o people oso said englishmen go other leagues oso wun perform.
becks' been a revelation at madrid.
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 03:04 PM
ok...today is the day!! :D
NanDesKa
30-11-2003, 03:26 PM
ok...today is the day!! :D then day the russian get a real taste of the champion. :)
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 03:32 PM
frankly speaking....i do worry abt today match....there is quite a high possiblityl that we will lose tonite.....
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 03:37 PM
Roman pals join the party
Roman Abramovich will show off his Chelsea investment to a few mates tomorrow...400 of them to be precise. That is how many 'close friends' and business associates the billionaire owner is flying in from Moscow to watch Chelsea take on champions Manchester United at Stamford Bridge in the biggest Premiership match of the season.
Martin Lipton, Daily Mirror......
so many billionaire coming...maybe one will take fancy of Us and take over manu.... =p
NanDesKa
30-11-2003, 03:44 PM
Roman pals join the party
Roman Abramovich will show off his Chelsea investment to a few mates tomorrow...400 of them to be precise. That is how many 'close friends' and business associates the billionaire owner is flying in from Moscow to watch Chelsea take on champions Manchester United at Stamford Bridge in the biggest Premiership match of the season.
Martin Lipton, Daily Mirror......
so many billionaire coming...maybe one will take fancy of Us and take over manu.... =p there's oredi talk of an american taking over us aint it?
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 04:14 PM
there's oredi talk of an american taking over us aint it?
that amercian is jus a millionaire....not enough $ to take over....rumour saying it is actually a russian taking over behind the screen.....
Jeffy
30-11-2003, 04:19 PM
advisable to buy Man U +1.5?
Paul Scholes is ready to make his return for Manchester United next week after a month on the sidelines following surgery.
The Manchester United midfielder is nearing full fitness and manager Sir Alex Ferguson is read to welcome the England star back into the fold in a few days' time.
Scholes should be ready for the Champions League slash with Stuttgart on Tuesday week and the Manchester derby when Manchester City visit Old Trafford on 13 December.
Scholes is likely to take part in a midweek reserve game along with Wes Brown who is also ready to return after being out since the end of last season. Brown has recovered from the second cruciate ligament of his career while Scholes had a third hernia operation on 28 October.
Scholes admits to being a reluctant spectator during the past month, commenting: "It's not enjoyable watching the games. It's all right because we are winning but you want to be out there playing and be involved and it's not nice when weekend comes around and you aren't playing."
Scholes and Brown coming back next week. :bounce:
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 06:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Paul Scholes is ready to make his return for Manchester United next week after a month on the sidelines following surgery.
The Manchester United midfielder is nearing full fitness and manager Sir Alex Ferguson is read to welcome the England star back into the fold in a few days' time.
Scholes should be ready for the Champions League slash with Stuttgart on Tuesday week and the Manchester derby when Manchester City visit Old Trafford on 13 December.
Scholes is likely to take part in a midweek reserve game along with Wes Brown who is also ready to return after being out since the end of last season. Brown has recovered from the second cruciate ligament of his career while Scholes had a third hernia operation on 28 October.
Scholes admits to being a reluctant spectator during the past month, commenting: "It's not enjoyable watching the games. It's all right because we are winning but you want to be out there playing and be involved and it's not nice when weekend comes around and you aren't playing."
great!
Kiwi8
30-11-2003, 06:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
ccloh
30-11-2003, 06:58 PM
Itz just like the USA... When their president speaks about something, the world listens, even if itz not really our business... :o
well i dont give a shlt abt united states president at all. i dont understand why singapore government has to block the road off when he visited singapore. i dont see other countries' leaders having the same treatment.
ralliart_ray
30-11-2003, 07:04 PM
wat time the match?
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
wat time the match?
12.00am tonight
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 08:44 PM
people oso said englishmen go other leagues oso wun perform.
becks' been a revelation at madrid.
I think there's another Englishman in Italy... Playing for Perugia, I think... Seems like he's doing quite okay too... :D
In any case, I'll be wary to take Morientes onto the team... No offence, just feel that he isn't really the one to make a difference for us... :o
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 08:48 PM
well i dont give a shlt abt united states president at all. i dont understand why singapore government has to block the road off when he visited singapore. i dont see other countries' leaders having the same treatment.
Heh heh... The USA president thingy was just a comparison, that's all... No hidden meaning or anything... ;)
In the same vein, hopefully the English FA will not give a hoot about Blatter's comments on Rio... :o
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 08:58 PM
In the same vein, hopefully the English FA will not give a hoot about Blatter's comments on Rio... :o
aiya...he know how to talk big onli....__||__ to him.....
OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 09:29 PM
The Football Association has insisted Manchester United are "perfectly entitled" to play Rio Ferdinand even though he is subject to disciplinary proceedings.
FIFA president Sepp Blatter on Saturday questioned the validity of United's recent results because Ferdinand has been playing on despite being charged over missing a drugs test.
"He cannot play until the case is settled. The case is not settled," Blatter told Sky Sports News. British media suggested the champions might even be docked points.
FA spokesman Adrian Bevington refused to speculate but told BBC Radio Five Live: "I would make clear... that under the current procedures, and I believe this is commonplace, certainly around Europe, that a player can continue playing for his club until a case is concluded."
"That's the procedure in place, if the procedures have got to be changed under FIFA regulations then we'd have to give serious consideration to it."
He added: "I think it is perfectly valid to point out that, as everyone is aware, the disciplinary procedures in this country are under serious review at the moment."
"The key to it here, to circumnavigate any further problems of this kind, is to ensure that the system is speeded up."
Ferdinand was charged by the FA a month ago with 'failure or refusal' to take a drugs test after missing one at United's training ground in September.
The 24-year-old England defender has denied a misconduct charge and asked for a hearing, due next month.
Ferdinand was dropped by England over the missed drugs test before their October 11 Euro 2004 decider in Turkey but he has since played for United eight times in domestic and European competition, five times after he was charged on October 29.
Blatter says he is writing "a very strong letter" to the FA.
Thank God that common sense has prevailed here... ;)
guoquanyap
30-11-2003, 09:32 PM
u all think ronaldo will play tonite? he already played during the CL match....and fergie oso said ronaldo will onli play once a wk.......
hope to see him play today leh.....
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.