PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

OreoCookies
30-11-2003, 09:42 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
u all think ronaldo will play tonite? he already played during the CL match....and fergie oso said ronaldo will onli play once a wk.......

hope to see him play today leh.....

I suspect he'll be on the bench... Fletcher could be given the nod to start, with Ronaldo kept on the sidelines until he can unleash his repertoire of trickery on the tiring legs of the Chelski players... ;)

Ch3tah_39
01-12-2003, 02:06 AM
man utd lost 1: 0...
but nvm, man utd will bounce back one lorz:D

Spock
01-12-2003, 02:06 AM
Well chelsea won,but it wasn't a great spectacle as a football match should be..Disappointed the manner in which man u lost..Not much ambition in the line up too..Roy keane and philip neville against lampard and makelele stifled each other.Just that the chelsea side had more spirit and drive on the day.Mind you this didn't happened because they bought so many players..Any team who plays Man u on their home ground will want to win against the champions.

Hope Sir alex will put more faith in his attacking players and play them more often when playing away from home

cracker
01-12-2003, 08:19 AM
SAF likes Fortune so much...tat he always wanted to play him on the left,,either as a defender or a midfield. But problem is Giggs is ineffective on the right !

ccloh
01-12-2003, 09:29 AM
well utd started off on a better side than chelski. if dont miss chances have been converted, guess story would be different. it is funny that SAF didn't field ronaldo in the startup on the right and giggs on the left to run at the defenders. fortune though has produce some fine performance recently but he is never the winger as compared to giggs and ronaldo.

well guess lost of tactic in the match. 3 losts already and still have 3 more to go. lucky arsenal didn't win so the gap wasn't that bad.

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 10:12 AM
Originally posted by cracker
SAF likes Fortune so much...tat he always wanted to play him on the left,,either as a defender or a midfield. But problem is Giggs is ineffective on the right !

fortune played quite well yesterday and yes...giggs was ineffective last nite but he oso played rite during the 1-2 over liverpool.....sometimes u got to gamble jus that we lost the gamble yesterday......

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 10:15 AM
and yes...we totally lack ideas in the middle....whenever phil got the ball....he dun know wat to do....oso tend to slow down and pass back again.....and phil is starting to show why he was a fringe players in the past.......

and yes we deserved to lost even though we got better in the 2nd half.....

RVN
01-12-2003, 11:27 AM

fortune played quite well yesterday and yes...giggs was ineffective last nite but he oso played rite during the 1-2 over liverpool.....sometimes u got to gamble jus that we lost the gamble yesterday......

Giggs should play on the left, Saf got it worng, but Ronaldo shoudl ahve start, we look more lively and threathening after he start, I think we missed Scholes like what the commentatots was saying after the match. 4 points behind chelsea now, but it can still be over-turned. SAF need to buy a striker and a playmaker in Jan. :(

Yellowfin
01-12-2003, 12:19 PM
When Kleberson come on with Ronaldo, the midfield look much better. I believe Man U should let Kleberson play more.

Man U lost because the Chelsea players were more fit willing to run and intercepted the ball than Man U players.

I was surprise that SAF play 442 instead of 451 when we are playing away game.

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 12:26 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
When Kleberson come on with Ronaldo, the midfield look much better. I believe Man U should let Kleberson play more.

Man U lost because the Chelsea players were more fit willing to run and intercepted the ball than Man U players.

fergie played 442 is becos forlan is on form....nv leave out a player who is on form eh....that why fergie started ruud and forlan together.....

Ch3tah_39
01-12-2003, 12:29 PM

442 is traditonal tatics which won man utd serveral silverwares lehz..

451 cnnt make it la. too defensive lerrr... one striker dun hav enough fire power upfront...

see when man utd played 1 striker against real last season, we totally hav no attack at all...

RVN
01-12-2003, 12:38 PM
Ronaldo should have start, and Giggs should have play on the left instead on the right, he doesn't play effective in that role, Scholes would have play behind Ruud had he been fit, Forlan would have been on the bench. But we need to add depth in our sqaud, we lack a quality striker to partner Ruud and a creative playmaker especially when Scholes isn't around. :(

Ch3tah_39
01-12-2003, 12:41 PM
jan transfer window going to open again liao lerr:)
hope got some useful and gd signing

Spock
01-12-2003, 12:41 PM
Yes we need at least one more target man if not two..Cannot always play european tactics.English games must chiong all the way to get goals.

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
jan transfer window going to open again liao lerr:)
hope got some useful and gd signing

yalor hopefully we will get some gd and reasonable price signing....

RVN
01-12-2003, 12:53 PM
we also need a speedy striker, unless fergie start bellion up front with ruud every game, the next man u - chelsea game is a sure title decider on 8th may, unless man u wrapped the title before that, we have to pick up from this defeat and play 3 games before the massive manchester derby,

Man United fixtures:

v West Brom - The Hawthorns - Carling Cup - 3/12
v Aston Villa - Old Trafford - Premiership - 6/12
v Stuttgart - Old Trafford - Champs League - 9/12
v Manchester City - Old Trafford - Premiership - 13/12

Yellowfin
01-12-2003, 01:00 PM

442 is traditonal tatics which won man utd serveral silverwares lehz..

451 cnnt make it la. too defensive lerrr... one striker dun hav enough fire power upfront...

see when man utd played 1 striker against real last season, we totally hav no attack at all...

But we are playing away to an on-form team. So a little defensive tactic will help.

Feador
01-12-2003, 01:02 PM
solsjkaer is a good partner for ruud actually...sadly hes injured along with scholes sigh...

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by Feador
solsjkaer is a good partner for ruud actually...sadly hes injured along with scholes sigh...

dun worry too much...they are coming back along w brown!! :bounce: :bounce:

RVN
01-12-2003, 01:12 PM
Scholes and Brown playing in the reserve match in mid-week, if all goes well, they will be in contention for the villa match on saturday. Solskjaer though have to wait until christmas time or early January though. :(

ccloh
01-12-2003, 01:29 PM
currently 4-5-1 is only effective for utd if and only if scholes is playing the hole behind the striker. perhaps fergie can put kleberson as scholes replacement in the hole if scholes is injuired or suspended or needed a rest. kleberson is someone who can play both defensive and attacking kind of midfielder. afterall a brazilian national player can't be that bad in term of creatively rite ?

genesis113
01-12-2003, 01:44 PM
now, papers around the world, or the so-called insiders starting to write off the chance of United on premiership.

It is funny that they made this kind of statement season after season, seems all the soccer writers are only have 3-year old kids' expertise in reporting soccer.

Anyway, with the returns of Scholes, Solskjaer as well as Brown plus those in-coming new signings, United will always bounce back to win the games.

Chelsea and Gooners, don't laugh too early

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 01:50 PM
Originally posted by genesis113
now, papers around the world, or the so-called insiders starting to write off the chance of United on premiership.

It is funny that they made this kind of statement season after season, seems all the soccer writers are only have 3-year old kids' expertise in reporting soccer.

Anyway, with the returns of Scholes, Solskjaer as well as Brown plus those in-coming new signings, United will always bounce back to win the games.

they got nothing else to write liao ma....anyway one lesson they ought to learn is.....nv write off manu even we are 11pts behind the leader....:D

RVN
01-12-2003, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by genesis113

They must be stupid and brainless to think that way, its only December, 4 points can still be over-turned. I hope United go on a winning run and prove those doubters wrong. ;)

Yellowfin
01-12-2003, 02:03 PM
All I can say is Chelsea is in the driving seat for the EPL at the moment, next come Arsenal and then Man U.

But then when March come by, we will know which of this three club will be in the driving seat. :D

Hopefully, Man U will be in the driving seat.

Ch3tah_39
01-12-2003, 02:10 PM
All I can say is Chelsea is in the driving seat for the EPL at the moment, next come Arsenal and then Man U.

But then when March come by, we will know which of this three club will be in the driving seat. :D

Hopefully, Man U will be in the driving seat.

will be close fight lorz...

darrenlee78
01-12-2003, 02:35 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo should have start, and Giggs should have play on the left instead on the right, he doesn't play effective in that role, Scholes would have play behind Ruud had he been fit, Forlan would have been on the bench. But we need to add depth in our sqaud, we lack a quality striker to partner Ruud and a creative playmaker especially when Scholes isn't around. :(

giggsy is left footed and a natural left winger mahz. play him on the right is not familiar for him.

RVN
01-12-2003, 02:56 PM
Phil Neville and Quinton Fortune are too defensive-minded, Fergie should have had a more attacking lineup with both Ronaldo and Kleberson starting.

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 03:01 PM
how funny, when we are winning....no one come out and say all this things abt giggs should not play on the rite....phil and fortune should not start......when we are lost, all this come out.....blah blah blah.....

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 03:03 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Phil Neville and Quinton Fortune are too defensive-minded, Fergie should have had a more attacking lineup with both Ronaldo and Kleberson starting.

fortune has done really well for either on the left back or midfield....remember he set up 2 goal against blackburn.....as for ronaldo, he jus 18...you wan him to kana burn out so fast? kleberson...he is obviously not match-fit at all.....

StormTrooper
01-12-2003, 03:23 PM
lost? no problem lah, we always play poorly at this time of the season. the run in is when united is at its best.

RVN
01-12-2003, 04:32 PM
Manchester United have announced a new four-year lucrative sponsorship deal with Vodafone believed to be worth £36million.
Their current £30million agreement was due to expire at the end of May next year.

The new deal will see United enter into a new business relationship with Vodafone to roll out a wide range of club content, including results, news, still and video images, ring tones and games, to wireless devices around the world.

The news is a major boost to United and could provide more funds for Old Trafford chief boss Sir Alex Ferguson to make some new signings in January.

RVN
01-12-2003, 04:52 PM
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has labelled Sepp Blatter's criticism of the Old Trafford outfit's decision to keep playing Rio Ferdinand as 'incomprehensible'.

On Saturday, Fifa president Blatter questioned the validity of the Premiership points United have gained with Ferdinand in the side since his failure to take a drugs test in September.

Blatter said Ferdinand should have been axed from the United line-up as soon as the allegation was made and should not have been re-instated until his disciplinary case was heard.

The FA are due to announce a hearing date - believed to be December 18 and 19 - within the next 48 hours but, while stressing they are willing to discuss any issues with Blatter, have emphasised that their current regulations allow Ferdinand to keep playing until such time as a punishment is handed down.

The 24-year-old Londoner turned out for his club in the 1-0 defeat at Chelsea, his ninth appearance since he failed to take a mandatory test at United's Carrington training ground, and Gill cannot understand the reasons behind Blatter's intervention.

"There have been many comments during the Rio Ferdinand case which have not been very helpful," he told BBC Breakfast News.

"We would refer Sepp Blatter to the comments of the Football Association on this issue.

"We are at liberty to keep playing Rio Ferdinand and that is what we are doing. Frankly this is an incomprehensible statement by Sepp Blatter.

"We are clearly abiding by the rules and the FA have confirmed that. If they changed the rules so he was not allowed to play we would abide by those."

It promises to be a busy few weeks for United, with Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo both due to face an FA disciplinary panel later today to answer charges of 'improper conduct' in the fracas which followed United's bad-tempered draw with Arsenal in September.

ccloh
01-12-2003, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has labelled Sepp Blatter's criticism of the Old Trafford outfit's decision to keep playing Rio Ferdinand as 'incomprehensible'.

On Saturday, Fifa president Blatter questioned the validity of the Premiership points United have gained with Ferdinand in the side since his failure to take a drugs test in September.

Blatter said Ferdinand should have been axed from the United line-up as soon as the allegation was made and should not have been re-instated until his disciplinary case was heard.

The FA are due to announce a hearing date - believed to be December 18 and 19 - within the next 48 hours but, while stressing they are willing to discuss any issues with Blatter, have emphasised that their current regulations allow Ferdinand to keep playing until such time as a punishment is handed down.

The 24-year-old Londoner turned out for his club in the 1-0 defeat at Chelsea, his ninth appearance since he failed to take a mandatory test at United's Carrington training ground, and Gill cannot understand the reasons behind Blatter's intervention.

"There have been many comments during the Rio Ferdinand case which have not been very helpful," he told BBC Breakfast News.

"We would refer Sepp Blatter to the comments of the Football Association on this issue.

"We are at liberty to keep playing Rio Ferdinand and that is what we are doing. Frankly this is an incomprehensible statement by Sepp Blatter.

"We are clearly abiding by the rules and the FA have confirmed that. If they changed the rules so he was not allowed to play we would abide by those."

It promises to be a busy few weeks for United, with Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo both due to face an FA disciplinary panel later today to answer charges of 'improper conduct' in the fracas which followed United's bad-tempered draw with Arsenal in September.

aiya that FIFA chief is always a pain in the AsS to any footballer. the previous chief (the brazilian) is still the best.

ccloh
01-12-2003, 05:08 PM
Originally posted by RVN

when u r playing away with majority of the fans cheering for ur opponent, caution in defence is always the prime objective in mind. can't blame them for playing defensive.

ccloh
01-12-2003, 05:10 PM
how funny, when we are winning....no one come out and say all this things abt giggs should not play on the rite....phil and fortune should not start......when we are lost, all this come out.....blah blah blah.....

I DONT

i always stick with fergie tactic. afterall though he made mistake sometime but who can perform better than him, definitely not me even though been watching soccer for more than 2 decades already.

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 05:29 PM
Originally posted by ccloh

I DONT

i always stick with fergie tactic. afterall though he made mistake sometime but who can perform better than him, definitely not me even though been watching soccer for more than 2 decades already.

i didnt say you why ur reaction so big....:o =p

RVN
01-12-2003, 06:43 PM

when u r playing away with majority of the fans cheering for ur opponent, caution in defence is always the prime objective in mind. can't blame them for playing defensive.

What I don't understand is, what is it with the negative tactics?

Giggs on his own in the midfield to create, if he fails to provide balls in for our strikers then there's noone else in the midfield to do so and thats exactly what happened. There was no player supplying the cross for Ruud or Diego.

Too many defensive type players and many of which were playing in the wrong position (Giggs on the right wing? Fortune on the left?) which doesn't really surprise me because Fergie is generally prone to this kind of thing.

We depend too much on a few players, if they are out then we dont have the neccessary reinforcements.

We really need a couple of decent players to boost our squad, I just hope Fergie knows that.

Ch3tah_39
01-12-2003, 06:49 PM

But we are playing away to an on-form team. So a little defensive tactic will help.

that is too defensive lerr..
the more u defence the more mistake ur be make lorz..
muz attack and defence balance...

RVN
01-12-2003, 08:24 PM
I long for the midfield/strikeforce of

Ronaldo......Keane.......Scholes.......Giggs

..........Ruud.......Bellion/Solskjaer

Ch3tah_39
01-12-2003, 08:38 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I long for the midfield/strikeforce of

Ronaldo......Keane.......Scholes.......Giggs

..........Ruud.......Bellion/Solskjaer

kleberson:confused:

RVN
01-12-2003, 08:45 PM

kleberson:confused:

I don't think he get into the starting line-up when Scholes and Ole return.

guoquanyap
01-12-2003, 10:01 PM
so this the man...hmmm....

http://www.soccernet.com/images/jb2/glazer_getty.jpg

OreoCookies
01-12-2003, 10:21 PM

Maybe the fear of losing ground on Chelski and Arsenal prompted the defensive stance... But seriously, Man Utd has always had the penchant for offensive footy, even when playing away...

The other clubs in the EPL may be getting stronger and catching up on us, but we should have confidence on our own abilities... If attacking is our natural style of play, then attacking is the way to go for us...

OreoCookies
01-12-2003, 10:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN

What I don't understand is, what is it with the negative tactics?

Giggs on his own in the midfield to create, if he fails to provide balls in for our strikers then there's noone else in the midfield to do so and thats exactly what happened. There was no player supplying the cross for Ruud or Diego.

Too many defensive type players and many of which were playing in the wrong position (Giggs on the right wing? Fortune on the left?) which doesn't really surprise me because Fergie is generally prone to this kind of thing.

We depend too much on a few players, if they are out then we dont have the neccessary reinforcements.

We really need a couple of decent players to boost our squad, I just hope Fergie knows that.

Fergie has his reasons for choosing the tactics and line-up that he did... Even if it was a mistake for the day, we should not lose faith in the gaffer... He's still the man behind so much of our success...

Giggs wasn't alone in the creating of chances last night... Fortune was also supposed to lead the charge on counter-attacks... But we relied too much on the long-ball (as usual) that we lost possession almost as soon as we moved into Chelski's half... Maybe the defensive strategy wasn't at fault... Maybe we were just not our usual lightning-fast selves while in the counter-attack... :(

I believe that the current squad we have is strong enough to match even the multi-national stars that Chelski has... The question in point is in the selection of the appropriate line-up and tactics to match the opposition... We made a wrong decision this time around, but which team doesn't make mistakes? We'll learn from these lessons and bounce back stronger than ever... ;)

OreoCookies
01-12-2003, 10:31 PM

that is too defensive lerr..
the more u defence the more mistake ur be make lorz..
muz attack and defence balance...

That's the mistake for last night... And also a valuable lesson learnt... ;)

Thankfully this lesson came early in the season... This should give us the pointers that we need to mount a serious challenge as X'mas and the New Year looms... :D

RVN
02-12-2003, 11:42 AM
Ryan Giggs and Cristiano Ronaldo have both been fined and warned as to their future conduct by the Football Association on Monday evening.
After a hearing lasting almost five hours at a Heathrow hotel, Giggs received a £7,500 penalty, while Ronaldo must fork out £4,000 as punishment for their part in the fracas which followed Manchester United's 0-0 draw with Arsenal at Old Trafford on 21 September.

Both players were found guilty of improper conduct but the relatively small fines compared to the combined nine-match bans handed down to Lauren, Martin Keown and Ray Parlour indicate that the FA felt their indiscretions were minor.

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson and club director and solicitor Maurice Watkins also attended the hearing, although Ferguson left before the verdict was announced to catch an early flight back to Manchester.

It is thought the case dragged on because Ronaldo required translation into his native Portuguese.

While TV cameras caught Giggs and Ronaldo in separate shoving matches after the final whistle, both claimed they were acting in defence of Ruud van Nistelrooy, whose last-minute penalty miss brought manic celebrations from the Arsenal players.

United have yet to comment on the verdict but given the relatively small fines and the lack of a ban, it seems unlikely they will appeal.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,728579,00.html

Well it is good that it is out of the way. All that needs to be taken care of is the Rio Ferdinand issues. When that it out of the way, then we can nuckle down and get back to business.

RVN
02-12-2003, 03:05 PM
Manchester United captain Roy Keane has urged manager Sir Alex Ferguson to buy a striker in next month's transfer window.

The champions were far less threatening than their hosts as they lost 1-0 to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Sunday.

Roman Abramovich's Londoners moved to the top of the Premiership on the back of the result and Keane fears the Russian billionaire will further strengthen his squad in January.

"The biggest disappointment is we didn't score at Chelsea and I feel maybe the manager to buy a striker in the New Year,'' Keane told The Sun.

"We are a bit short up front at the moment and if one or two are injured we could struggle.

"I am sure the manager is already taking care of that, particularly as we are looking to win the Premiership, the FA Cup and the Champions League.

"We know it's going to be tighter than ever this season.

"And who is to say Chelsea won't go out and spend even more money in January?''

genesis113
02-12-2003, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN

His nonsense Confederation Cup has taken a great footballer's life away, what else he wants now?

he's simply rubbish.

ccloh
02-12-2003, 05:26 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United captain Roy Keane has urged manager Sir Alex Ferguson to buy a striker in next month's transfer window.

The champions were far less threatening than their hosts as they lost 1-0 to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Sunday.

Roman Abramovich's Londoners moved to the top of the Premiership on the back of the result and Keane fears the Russian billionaire will further strengthen his squad in January.

"The biggest disappointment is we didn't score at Chelsea and I feel maybe the manager to buy a striker in the New Year,'' Keane told The Sun.

"We are a bit short up front at the moment and if one or two are injured we could struggle.

"I am sure the manager is already taking care of that, particularly as we are looking to win the Premiership, the FA Cup and the Champions League.

"We know it's going to be tighter than ever this season.

"And who is to say Chelsea won't go out and spend even more money in January?''

for sure utd striker dept is thin. even with ole coming back from injury, we cant be sure all 3 strikers are in superb form in the months to come.

RVN
02-12-2003, 06:49 PM

for sure utd striker dept is thin. even with ole coming back from injury, we cant be sure all 3 strikers are in superb form in the months to come.

Solskjaer will only be back In Janaury, with only Diego and Ruud upfront, Bellion still raw, its really thin. We have to buy a quality striker in January.

RVN
02-12-2003, 07:17 PM
Manchester United will launch their youth brigade on West Brom as they aim to land a Carling Cup quarter-final berth at The Hawthorns.

Kieran Richardson, Chris Eagles, Danny Pugh and David Bellion will be among the men offered a rare first-team start, while Nicky Butt and Eric Djemba-Djemba are set to be handed central midfield berths.

Rio Ferdinand, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Mikael Silvestre are among the big names set to miss out.

Manchester United (from): Carroll, Steele, G Neville, O'Shea, Fortune, Pugh, Butt, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Bellion, Ronaldo, Richardson, Kleberson, Forlan, Wood, Johnson, Eagles, Lynch, Nardiello.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,728827,00.html

OreoCookies
02-12-2003, 07:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Solskjaer will only be back In Janaury, with only Diego and Ruud upfront, Bellion still raw, its really thin. We have to buy a quality striker in January.

I'd think that our need for a creative forward surpasses that of a six-yard goal-poacher...

RVN, Ole, and Forlan have proven that they can get the goals when given the chance... What we need is backup for Giggs, Scholes, and Ronaldo... Someone who can craft out those magical chances for his partner to put away... ;)

OreoCookies
02-12-2003, 07:58 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United will launch their youth brigade on West Brom as they aim to land a Carling Cup quarter-final berth at The Hawthorns.

Kieran Richardson, Chris Eagles, Danny Pugh and David Bellion will be among the men offered a rare first-team start, while Nicky Butt and Eric Djemba-Djemba are set to be handed central midfield berths.

Rio Ferdinand, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Mikael Silvestre are among the big names set to miss out.

Manchester United (from): Carroll, Steele, G Neville, O'Shea, Fortune, Pugh, Butt, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Bellion, Ronaldo, Richardson, Kleberson, Forlan, Wood, Johnson, Eagles, Lynch, Nardiello.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,728827,00.html

Youths always bring about a refreshing breath to footy... Maybe itz becoz they just want to have fun... ;)

Let's see how the next batch coming through at OT can perform... Hopefully they can gel well and proceed on to the next round... :D

StormTrooper
02-12-2003, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by OreoCookies

I'd think that our need for a creative forward surpasses that of a six-yard goal-poacher...

RVN, Ole, and Forlan have proven that they can get the goals when given the chance... What we need is backup for Giggs, Scholes, and Ronaldo... Someone who can craft out those magical chances for his partner to put away... ;)

precisely

ccloh
03-12-2003, 09:38 AM
it would be very difficult to find a real left winger as it is rare in this world. which established left winger would want to play 2nd fiddle to giggs in OT ???

the main problem here is someone who can create chances for an out-and-out striker like scholes and can also score freely like RVN. i believe with that should fit the bill already. typically, latin player should be possible for this role but somehow these players can settle well in italy, spain, portugal, france and even germany but not in england.

rivaldo is free come jan. see whether fergie wants to take this opportunity to get him. though on the wrong side of the age-grp, rivaldo like sherringham is not renowned for his speed but for his football brain. well utd won the treble with a 30+ sherringham when everyone is laughing off what can a player near retirement contribute. maybe it is a sign here :D

OreoCookies
03-12-2003, 10:42 AM
it would be very difficult to find a real left winger as it is rare in this world. which established left winger would want to play 2nd fiddle to giggs in OT ???

the main problem here is someone who can create chances for an out-and-out striker like scholes and can also score freely like RVN. i believe with that should fit the bill already. typically, latin player should be possible for this role but somehow these players can settle well in italy, spain, portugal, france and even germany but not in england.

rivaldo is free come jan. see whether fergie wants to take this opportunity to get him. though on the wrong side of the age-grp, rivaldo like sherringham is not renowned for his speed but for his football brain. well utd won the treble with a 30+ sherringham when everyone is laughing off what can a player near retirement contribute. maybe it is a sign here :D

We do have a couple of players capable of backing-up Giggs at OT... There's the two-footed Ronaldo, there's the versatile Quinton Fortune, and there's always the up-and-coming Kieran Richardson... ;)

Agreed that we need someone who can slot into the 'hole'... Best if can also roam the flanks in a free-role... :D

Maybe the thing about South Americans and EPL is that the English play the game at a tremendous speed... Other leagues are more patient in the build-up, which seems to suit the ball-players coming from Brazil, Argentina, etc...

Rivaldo seems like a tremendous acqusition... But the main problem would perhaps be the salary issue... Pay him scalar wages to attract him to OT, and I'm sure the other players will complain up-and-down... :o

derekliu
03-12-2003, 11:26 AM

Rafel Van der Vart may be a good investment...he is young...can play as a winger or forward...he is brillant against Scotland in Euro...

OreoCookies
03-12-2003, 11:52 AM
Originally posted by derekliu

Rafel Van der Vart may be a good investment...he is young...can play as a winger or forward...he is brillant against Scotland in Euro...

Problem is, would Ajax let him go?

Spock
03-12-2003, 12:42 PM
If the player himself wants to go,the club can't keep him for much longer anyway.

ccloh
03-12-2003, 01:35 PM
Originally posted by Spock
If the player himself wants to go,the club can't keep him for much longer anyway.

true in a way but for utd it is a urgent issue to get one in the jan not one that could come in the next summer.

RVN
03-12-2003, 01:46 PM

true in a way but for utd it is a urgent issue to get one in the jan not one that could come in the next summer.

Doubt we will go after Van Der Vaart in Janaury, Fergie want to buy a player that will be available for us in CL in January, theres not a lot though, Defoe maybe.

RVN
03-12-2003, 03:57 PM
The Baggies will certainly be up for this one. They are riding high at the top of the First Division and I wonder what Fergie's team selection will be for this "not so important cup" that we seem to be doing so well in lately? Looks like youth to me?

I expect a full strength line up from WBA as this is not just another cup for them. They are playing well and they have to think that they have a good chance of causing an "upset".

Ferguson will continue to utilise his youth policy in the Carling Cup when West Brom provide the opposition in the live Sky fixture on Wednesday evening.

Chris Eagles could be handed a starting role after impressing in the previous round against Leeds United, and Phil Bardsley, son of former Watford defender David, is in line for his first team debut.

"It will be similar to the Leeds United game," Ferguson told United's official website. "All the players who haven't been playing will play.

"(Nicky) Butt, (Eric) Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, (Darren) Fletcher, (David) Bellion and young players like (Kieran) Richardson and Eagles will be involved.

"I just have to look at the defensive side.

"The reserves have been playing very well recently. Danny Pugh has been doing well and so has young Bardsley. These young lads will get their chance.

"First of all, I want to make sure we have got enough strength going into a game like this.

"Chris Eagles made his debut at Leeds and did exceptionally well. Young Kieran Richardson, Darren Fletcher, David Bellion are all yong players.

"We're very enthusiastic about their chances.

"It's the kind of game you would want them to go into. I think it could be a smashing night for them."

RuMmYtUb
03-12-2003, 05:08 PM
Wah sianz, life w/o net for the past few days damn sian...

ccloh
03-12-2003, 05:28 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Wah sianz, life w/o net for the past few days damn sian...

Wah sianz, life w/o cable tv for the past few months damn sian... :D

RuMmYtUb
03-12-2003, 06:53 PM
Man Utd getting Anelka ? (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=47204)

Is he the perfect foil to RVN ?

OreoCookies
03-12-2003, 07:26 PM
Man Utd getting Anelka ? (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=47204)

Is he the perfect foil to RVN ?

Another player known for his off-field troubles... :o

Think it may be quite hard... What's with the intense rivalry between us and Man City...

guoquanyap
03-12-2003, 11:36 PM

Wah sianz, life w/o cable tv for the past few months damn sian... :D

:laugh: so long ur area still cannot hav cable huh?

guoquanyap
03-12-2003, 11:37 PM

Another player known for his off-field troubles... :o

Think it may be quite hard... What's with the intense rivalry between us and Man City...

he tuned down quite abit liao not a bad player if we can get him for less than 10million....:D

OreoCookies
04-12-2003, 01:44 AM

he tuned down quite abit liao not a bad player if we can get him for less than 10million....:D

I wouldn't fork out anything more than 5-million pounds for him now... He is no longer the Anelka that stormed the EPL during his Arsenal days... :(

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 02:00 AM
alamalk later the match at 4.55am leh...so late...dun know whether wan to stay up and watch or not.....tml still hav to work morning.....:mad:

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 02:05 AM
Manchester United have won the race to sign Dalian Shide striker Dong Fangzhuo.

Although some reports in England suggested Newcastle United were the new favourites to land the 18-year-old Asian talent, skysports.com understands that the player will sign a contract with the Premiership champions within the next fortnight.

Sir Alex Ferguson has already confirmed his intention to bring the teenager to Old Trafford, confirming a story first broken on this site back in October, after being impressed with the youngster during a trial in the summer.

Following talks between the two clubs, it is believed United will agree to pay an overall fee close to £2 million for Dong.

The Red Devils are acutely aware of the commercial potential of signing an Asian star, although Dong is highly unlikely to be an immediate answer to Ferguson's attacking concerns.

An official announcement is expected soon, although the formalities of the deal cannot be finalised until January 1.

Dalian president Xu Ming is delighted to have secured the biggest fee in the history of Chinese football, but United are believed to have ensured an ongoing co-operation with the club with a view to players moving in both directions.

United want to continue to adopt satellite clubs in order to maximise their global appeal and allow any young signings to obtain experience if they do not qualify for a work permit to play in the United Kingdom.

"The player has outstanding quality," chief executive David Gill told Efe news agency.

"It opens innumerable possibilities for the club in the Chinese market.

"Dong has many possibilities to become one of the best young players in the world.

"This deal is sporting as much as commercial."United to announce new signing

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 08:25 AM
we lost....no chance to see younster in action anymore....:(

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 08:28 AM
anyone know when the repeat telecast?

ccloh
04-12-2003, 09:29 AM
look at the utd lineup u can see that chances of wining is not very high so not surprise at all they lost. well good thing is 1 burden off to worry but bad thing is lack of game exposure to the youngster.

derekliu
04-12-2003, 10:52 AM
Wat is the starting line up 4 Man U against West Brom

vivre
04-12-2003, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by derekliu
Wat is the starting line up 4 Man U against West Brom

West Brom: Hoult, Gregan, Gaardsoe, Gilchrist, Haas, Koumas, O'Connor, Johnson, Clement, Hulse, Dichio. Subs: Murphy, Dobie, Sakiri, J Chambers, A Chambers.

Manchester United: Carroll, Bardsley, O'Shea, Tierney, Pugh, Fletcher, Kleberson, Butt, Richardson, Ronaldo, Bellion. Subs: Williams, Eagles, Wood, Nardiello, Jones.

Referee: J Winter (Stockton-on-Tees).

RuMmYtUb
04-12-2003, 12:43 PM
Man Utd kids not enuff for Baggies.. :(

RVN
04-12-2003, 01:16 PM
2 defeats in 4 days, it make me feel sick. :(

West Brom are a good side, they are top of the 1st Divsion, we played too many youngsters and were well-beaten. :(

RVN
04-12-2003, 01:57 PM
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1113661,00.html

Manchester United have won the race to sign Dalian Shide striker Dong Fangzhuo.
Although some reports in England suggested Newcastle United were the new favourites to land the 18-year-old Asian talent, skysports.com understands that the player will sign a contract with the Premiership champions within the next fortnight.

Sir Alex Ferguson has already confirmed his intention to bring the teenager to Old Trafford, confirming a story first broken on this site back in October, after being impressed with the youngster during a trial in the summer.

Following talks between the two clubs, it is believed United will agree to pay an overall fee close to £2 million for Dong.

The Red Devils are acutely aware of the commercial potential of signing an Asian star, although Dong is highly unlikely to be an immediate answer to Ferguson's attacking concerns.

An official announcement is expected soon, although the formalities of the deal cannot be finalised until January 1.

Dalian president Xu Ming is delighted to have secured the biggest fee in the history of Chinese football, but United are believed to have ensured an ongoing co-operation with the club with a view to players moving in both directions.

United want to continue to adopt satellite clubs in order to maximise their global appeal and allow any young signings to obtain experience if they do not qualify for a work permit to play in the United Kingdom.

"The player has outstanding quality," chief executive David Gill told Efe news agency.

"It opens innumerable possibilities for the club in the Chinese market.

"Dong has many possibilities to become one of the best young players in the world.

"This deal is sporting as much as commercial."

RuMmYtUb
04-12-2003, 03:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN
2 defeats in 4 days, it make me feel sick. :(

West Brom are a good side, they are top of the 1st Divsion, we played too many youngsters and were well-beaten. :(

Today TNP said Utd next generation not as gd as arsenal's.. :mad: :mad:

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 03:24 PM

but they forgot to mention both our game are away fr home...both their game is at home.....:mad: :mad:

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 03:29 PM

how funny they quickly forgot that they drew 0-0 w a mid-table division side and we won 2-3 away to leeds.....:sarcastic :sarcastic

RVN
04-12-2003, 03:44 PM
The match statsisitc shown we have 7 shots on target to West Brom 4. But we didn't take our chances when presented to us. :(

RuMmYtUb
04-12-2003, 03:45 PM

how funny they quickly forgot that they drew 0-0 w a mid-table division side and we won 2-3 away to leeds.....:sarcastic :sarcastic

Cos they only compared results of this week...
their 5-1 thrashing to our 2-0 loss..

RVN
04-12-2003, 03:47 PM

Cos they only compared results of this week...
their 5-1 thrashing to our 2-0 loss..

who lost 5-1, oh barcelona were the one. :rolleyes:

ccloh
04-12-2003, 04:15 PM

pls lah look at arsenal strike force. kanu and wiltord. those 2 fellows can be in starting lineup of any lowly division teams. and who do utd have playing strikers against WBA. 2 untested players. how to compared ???

WBA and Wolf even though one is in EPL and the other in 1st div but the standard bet. the 2 teams are roughly the same. u need go strikers to penetrate their defence.

look like the writer for TNP doesnt have much of a logic analysis capability at all.

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 04:19 PM

look like the writer for TNP doesnt have much of a logic analysis capability at all.

:laugh: :laugh:

RVN
04-12-2003, 04:34 PM
We have Villa, Stuttgart and City coming up, Fergie does not want to play any "first teamers" against Baggies, hence the apparent ease with which they beat us. This game was purely for one reason, giving the kids experience of playing against, bigger, more experienced "bruisers".

We've rested our best players Keane, the 2 Nevilles, Giggs, Rio, Silvestre, Howard and Ruud to keep them fresh and ready for this matches. Plus, Scholes and Brown coming back into the team soon and so is Solskjaer.

RuMmYtUb
04-12-2003, 05:16 PM
Time for Utd to stand up and be counted..

guoquanyap
04-12-2003, 06:29 PM
okie guys....dun worry too much jus a gentle reminder....it's our best start in abt 7-9 yrs!!.....but oso during that yr which we hav the best start....we finish 3rd.....:o

RuMmYtUb
04-12-2003, 06:42 PM
okie guys....dun worry too much jus a gentle reminder....it's our best start in abt 7-9 yrs!!.....but oso during that yr which we hav the best start....we finish 3rd.....:o

Now we're stuck @ 3rd.. :( :mad:

OreoCookies
04-12-2003, 06:43 PM

Now must be motivated to achieve one of our best finishes to the season also... :D

OreoCookies
04-12-2003, 06:44 PM

Now we're stuck @ 3rd.. :( :mad:

Not for long, I hope... ;)

RVN
04-12-2003, 08:22 PM
Dun worry, we won last night, at least according to the bbc, just a joke though. :laugh:

http://members.lycos.co.uk/reservoirdog82/bbc.jpg

RVN
04-12-2003, 08:33 PM
Paul Scholes has delivered a stunning snub to David Beckham by insisting he was not fazed by the England captain's exit from Manchester United.
Beckham's move to Real Madrid in the summer left many at Old Trafford in a state of shock, but Scholes was typically unfazed by the departure of his international colleague.

"I wasn't too bothered to be honest," was Scholes' assessment of the transfer saga surrounding his former team-mate. "It didn't affect me or any of the other players."

It would appear Scholes had accepted that Beckham would move on a long time before he actually signed on the dotted line at Santiago Bernabeu.

"It was on the cards that Becks was going to go," Scholes told FourFourTwo.

"With the way he was, I always knew that, one day, he would want to go.

"He wasn't going to be at United forever."

Scholes appears to embrace the philosophy that no single player is bigger than the club.

"Obviously we miss his free-kicks," he added. "But we still have plenty of players who are great with dead balls, people like Ryan (Giggs) and (Cristiano) Ronaldo.

"Whatever player is on the right for United is just as good as Becks.

"Becks is gone, we are just getting on with it, we really don't care about what went on in the summer.

"All that matters is winning."

Scholes' attacking instincts have caught the eyes of continental admirers, but his commitment to The Red Devils has been unwavering and he seems determined to be a one-club man.

"I never want to leave Manchester United," Scholes insisted. "The club might want to sell me, but I will never ask to leave."

A big money offer from Chelsea would also receive short shrift.

"That doesn't interest me at all," he said. "I would never join Chelsea: they are the enemy now."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1113735,00.html

well, I salute him. :)

RVN
04-12-2003, 08:38 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that signings during the January transfer window are likely to be players who will be available for Manchester United in Europe.
The Red Devils have been consistently linked with West Ham starlet Jermain Defoe, and now with a controversial move for Leeds' Mark Viduka, both of whom are still eligible to play in Europe.

Diego Forlan's recent goalscoring exploits have taken some of the burden off the shoulders of Ruud van Nistelrooy, but Ferguson wants to bolster his attacking options.

The Scot added that the start of the New Year is not the ideal time to bring in new faces, but is not ruling out using his cheque book.

"January is never an easy month to get players," explained Sir Alex.

"We would want someone who could play in Europe, and they are not always readily available.

"If we want someone, we will try our best to get them, but it seems very unlikely we would go after anyone who couldn't play in Europe."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1113701,00.html

OreoCookies
04-12-2003, 08:52 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Dun worry, we won last night, at least according to the bbc, just a joke though. :laugh:

:laugh:

That's a good one... :D

OreoCookies
04-12-2003, 08:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
A big money offer from Chelsea would also receive short shrift.

"That doesn't interest me at all," he said. "I would never join Chelsea: they are the ENEMY now."

:laugh: :D

Steady sia... Scholes is the model professional manz... Quiet, no off-field problems, gives his best whenever he's playing... ;)

He'd be my pick to take over from Keano as the captain... :bounce:

RuMmYtUb
05-12-2003, 12:23 AM

:laugh: :D

Steady sia... Scholes is the model professional manz... Quiet, no off-field problems, gives his best whenever he's playing... ;)

He'd be my pick to take over from Keano as the captain... :bounce:

But dun forget Giggs and Ferdinand as captains too..

Ch3tah_39
05-12-2003, 12:46 AM
man utd against villa hope man utd will win lorz..
trashing perhaps

RVN
05-12-2003, 12:49 AM
man utd against villa hope man utd will win lorz..
trashing perhaps

It shouldnt be a problem, we've rested our best players and Fergie woun't make another "fulham mistake" ...if we're playing our best side, which we're able to we'll beat them.

ccloh
05-12-2003, 09:37 AM
having lost 2 games in a row is hurting. they will go all out to get a win against aston villa for sure.

hmm.. report said that utd is signing viduka, the FAT striker comes jan.

OH NO :mad:

guoquanyap
05-12-2003, 01:04 PM
jus read the news....that fat blatter is angry w English FA and DAvid gills comment on him.......look like we going to hav a hard time in the future.....

it nv gd to go against the most powerful man in soccer body......:mad: :mad:

guoquanyap
05-12-2003, 01:06 PM
having lost 2 games in a row is hurting. they will go all out to get a win against aston villa for sure.

hmm.. report said that utd is signing viduka, the FAT striker comes jan.

OH NO :mad:

viduka okie wat....big and strong meh....quite similar to ruud and oso maybe can be available at a cheap price.....can really take some load off ruud.....

guoquanyap
05-12-2003, 01:06 PM
Ferguson receives heart treatment

Ferguson will be back at United's training ground on Friday
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson received treatment on Thursday for a minor heart irregularity.

Ferguson entered a Manchester hospital for a routine procedure which took no more than a couple of hours.

The treatment is similar to that undergone by Prime Minister Tony Blair in November.

Ferguson is expected to report back to United's Carrington training ground on Friday.

A Manchester United statement said: "Sir Alex Ferguson received a treatment in hospital today following a routine check up several months ago which revealed a minor heart irregularity.

"The procedure went well and Sir Alex Ferguson is resting at home and is due in work tomorrow.

"The treatment revealed he has no underlying heart problem."

The British Heart Foundation says the condition is common. It is caused by too much coffee or anxiety and is experienced by people in highly stressful jobs.

It can cause the heart to beat between 140 and 240 beats a minute, compared with a normal resting rate of 70.

Sir Alex has a demanding schedule and has recently been involved in a legal battle over his ownership of the champion racehorse Rock of Gibraltar.

His health scare calls into question the £20m deal he is due to sign with Manchester United next week, which is expected to give him another three years in charge at the club, taking him to retirement age.

Sir Alex is the latest in a line of football bosses who have suffered heart problems.

In 2001 Gerard Houllier needed open heart surgery and Blackburn Rovers manger Graeme Souness had a bypass in 1992.

Peterborough manager Barry Fry and Wimbledon boss Joe Kinnear have also had heart problems.

wish him get well soon.....

NanDesKa
05-12-2003, 01:28 PM
i think viduka will be good.
proven premiership striker.

RVN
05-12-2003, 02:07 PM
jus read the news....that fat blatter is angry w English FA and DAvid gills comment on him.......look like we going to hav a hard time in the future.....

it nv gd to go against the most powerful man in soccer body......:mad: :mad:

Ignore that tosser, But I think Rio in deep **** liao, I think 3 to 6 months suspension for him liao. :(

RVN
05-12-2003, 02:39 PM
Thursday, December 4, 2003

John Brewin

Beckham - the right decision?

John Brewin

Two men once labelled 'father and son' have had a week of differing fortunes in their now separate lives.

Missed? Beckham celebrates after firing home a trademark free-kick against Marseille. (NigelFrench/Empics)

For Sir Alex Ferguson there's been two consecutive defeats in which his Manchester United team have never looked like scoring. For David Beckham OBE, the plaudits and gongs have flown in as he continues to play a starring role for Real Madrid.

To look at his achievements on the pitch and judging by a toe-curling mobile phone advert co-starring the Neville brothers, David Beckham does not seem to much miss Manchester United or his former boss.

The real question is how much Manchester United miss David Beckham. The United third-string XI's Carling Cup loss to West Brom may be have been no great blow, but Sunday's defeat to Chelsea was far more telling. The sight of Ryan Giggs on the right wing said it all. The champions are yet to find a replacement for the pig-tailed one.

Giggs, for his part, was United's greatest attacking threat as they struggled to create goalscoring opportunities at Stamford Bridge. But the Welshman's verve is far better suited to the left of midfield, or at least with licence to roam to the centre of the park.

On the other wing, Quinton Fortune, who has proved himself a decent performer at both left back and the centre of midfield, huffed and puffed and rarely got the better of Mario Melchiot. How United would have liked the pace of Giggs to test the Dutchman.

Since Beckham became a galactico, Ferguson has played Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Cristiano Ronaldo, Darren Fletcher, Kleberson, David Bellion, Ryan Giggs and even dear old Phil Neville on the right side of midfield. This multiple cast-list rather points to it becoming something of a problem position. Ruud van Nistelrooy's plainitive summer comment that he would miss the service that Beckham had provided is now looking like a fulfilled prophecy.

Time to examine the candidates.

In a position he has often played in for his country, Solskjaer glittered in Beckham's absence last season but struggled early this term as he succumbed to a nagging knee injury that required an operation. In addition to his obvious goal-scoring threat, the Norwegian's crossing ability and understanding with Van Nistelrooy made him a vital component of the 4-2-3-1 system now favoured by Fergie.

His expected return over the seasonal period can only come as a welcome gift to Ferguson and United.

Just 18, Ronaldo undoubtedly has the tricks and the ability to become a top international player. Two-footed as well as fleet-footed, he is often derided as a 'one-trick pony'. That trick has planted more than one international full-back on his backside and the Madeira-born spaghetti-haired starlet has run teams ragged on occasion. Yet the question of his lack of experience still hangs over him.

Kleberson: Mistaken identity? (NealSimpson/Empics)

His introduction against Chelsea added some much-needed balance to United's attack, not least because Giggs could return to his rightful position on the left. Yet the youngster has yet to live up to the star billing which comes with owning Beckham's old Number 7 shirt, despite the excitement of his debut cameo against Bolton.

Fletcher is a player who would invite the most comparison with a young Beckham. Comfortable on the ball and capable of playing long and short passes alike, the Scot showed his comfort on the big stage in a match-winning performance for Scotland's play-off first leg win over Holland. The less said about the second leg the better, though it shows Fletcher's problem as a candidate for the full-time position. At 19 and just like Ronaldo, the natural inconsistency of youth is a problem.

And like Beckham, Fletcher himself probably feels he is better suited to a central midfield position.

Rather like Solskjaer, Kleberson has had a stop-start season after a shoulder injury sustained while manning the right at Southampton. Even before his exit from St Mary's, Kleberson had failed to show that he could be the answer to a position rapidly gaining the hexed status of the Spinal Tap drummer's stool.

Indeed a spurious fanzine rumour suggests that when United scout Martin Ferguson (yes, a relation) saw the player at Atletico Paranaense he was hugely impressed by the man manning the right of midfield and thus Kleberson was bought. Problem was, goes the rumour, that Kleberson was not in fact the player that had impressed brother dear.

Whatever the truth of this tittle-tattle, since his comeback from injury Kleberson has been redeployed as a central midfielder playing off the front man. It seems he is not destined for the Beckham role, and is perhaps more a replacement for the departed Juan Sebastian Veron.

David Bellion, himself just 20, has been used in the position in question for a couple of sorties from the subs' bench yet his game would seem to be suited to that of a striker. He certainly has the pace to trouble most defences but his sometimes haphazard control on the ball hardly lends itself to the ball retention that Ferguson likes from his midfielders.

Giggs, despite a two-goal success from the flank against Liverpool, is there only as a stopgap until the return of Solskjaer, unless Fletcher or Ronaldo establish themselves in the role.

But Beckham was no ordinary right-winger, there's small matter of dead-ball delivery with which he made his name and boosted his United scoring record. While Beckham was rattling in a trademark 25-yarder against Marseille, United had a number of free-kick opportunities against Panathinaikos, none of which truly troubled the goalkeeper.

Paul Scholes: Creative fulcrum not missing his old friend. (RossKinnaird/GettyImages)

On the plus side, United's record of scoring from corners has improved - they've already exceeded the zero from which they scored last season. But though Ryan Giggs may have reasserted his dead-ball abilities with a free-kick against Bolton on the opening day, the Beckham dipper and swinger is a much-missed sight at Old Trafford this season.

And then there are the attributes of creation and drive that Beckham has brought to his new club and was known to show at Old Trafford. Having sold both Beckham and Veron, and in the absence of hernia victim Paul Scholes, United's flowing attacking style has been replaced with a grinding, attritional approach.

Once Scholes and Solskjaer return very soon, United may recover some of their usual dash and maybe Beckham can become just another ex-player. Until that happens, and should United fall short of their trophy-winning ambitions, Ferguson may have to wear the tag of the man who sold 'Goldenballs' and lost.

Paul Scholes' comment - that 'whatever player is on the right for United is just as good as Becks' - seems optimistic in the light of United's form this season.

Maybe. As Scholes put it in the same Four Four Two interview, 'the way he was' may have alienated him from his colleagues and manager. On the playing side though, Manchester United still have a void to fill.

ccloh
05-12-2003, 05:55 PM
beckham is history for utd and utd will not fail 'cos he is not ard. ppl are just stupid enough to link the 2 together.

RVN
05-12-2003, 06:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN

http://members.lycos.co.uk/reservoirdog82/bbc.jpg

LOL, our Reserves did beat West Brom 24 hours later by 2-0. :laugh:

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=75039.html

OreoCookies
05-12-2003, 07:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Ignore that tosser, But I think Rio in deep **** liao, I think 3 to 6 months suspension for him liao. :(

Offended Blatter, now dunnoe what will happen liaoz... Even if the FA let Rio off lightly, I think Blatter will step in and impose tough measures on him... :(

OreoCookies
05-12-2003, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
i think viduka will be good.
proven premiership striker.

Personal opinion here, but Viduka does seem like the sort who'll put himself above the club... Maybe I'm not seeing the full picture here, but that's what I see for now... :o

Viduka has an excellent first-touch, but he seems to lack pace... Besides, he's more of a goal-poacher... Who we really need is a creative forward to relieve the stress of creating chances from Scholesy and Giggsy...

OreoCookies
05-12-2003, 07:25 PM
beckham is history for utd and utd will not fail 'cos he is not ard. ppl are just stupid enough to link the 2 together.

Becks is gone, but his permanent replacement remains to be found... But rest assured, we'll find it somehow... :D

We lost Paul Ince, Mark Hughes, and Andrei Kanchelskis all in one end-season... We lost the hugely influential Eric Cantona... We lost the intelligent Sheringham... But hey, we're still bringing home the trophies, and we're still right up there amongst the top... ;)

So that says it all... We may fall from time to time, but we'll never falter nor fail... :cool:

RVN
05-12-2003, 07:28 PM
Ferguson has played Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Cristiano Ronaldo, Darren Fletcher, Kleberson, David Bellion, Ryan Giggs and even Phil Neville on the right side of midfield ever since Becks is gone. This multiple cast-list rather points to it becoming something of a problem position.

Well, I feel is Ronaldo despite of his tender age with Giggs on the left. Solskjaer should play as a forward with Ruud upfront.

OreoCookies
05-12-2003, 07:58 PM
If Giggs plays wide left and Ronaldo plays wide right, then it'll be back to the good old days of the two wingers system at OT... Come to think of it, we never had a true right-sided winger ever since Kanchelskis and Poborsky left... ;)

Just a note... Becks wasn't really a winger... He lacked the pace and dribbling ability to be truly qualified as one... But his crossing and long punts are still better than many a winger... :o

RVN
05-12-2003, 09:03 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has played down any fears over his health, and cited media sensationalism as the cause of the uproar.

When predictably asked about newspaper reports that he had undergone minor heart surgery, Fergie was swift to quell any fears.

He said: "I'm fine. It's just the sensationalism in newspapers and there's nothing you can do about that. Any celebrity who goes into hospital nowadays, somebody's going to inform the papers and that's what happened.

"I enjoy the work I do and I'll continue."

The Scot was in excellent spirits as he conducted his regular Friday press conference, and looked a picture of health.

United's Carrington training ground, where the press conference took place, was swarming with reporters and surrounded by satellite television vans as journalists endeavoured to find out Ferguson's condition.

Earlier in the day, Manchester United's communications department issued this statement:

"Sir Alex Ferguson received treatment in hospital following a routine check-up several months ago which revealed a minor heart irregularity.

The procedure went well and Sir Alex Ferguson and is due in work today (Friday). The treatment revealed he has no underlying heart problem."

Communications Office, Manchester United PLC
Friday 5 December 2003

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=48664&itype=466&icategoryid=120

RVN
05-12-2003, 09:04 PM
Manchester United look to bounce back from consecutive defeats when Aston Villa, a team that has never won in The Premiership at Old Trafford, come to town.

Of course, Sir Alex Ferguson will field a much stronger line-up than the one that was well beaten by First Division West Brom in the Carling Cup on Wednesday.

Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Mikael Silvestre, Phil Neville and Ruud van Nistelrooy all return, and Roy Carroll will make way for Tim Howard despite saving a Jason Koumas penalty at The Hawthorns.

One dilemma for Ferguson, who has had treatment for a heart complaint this week, is whether to recall in-form Diego Forlan, who clearly struggled in the 1-0 defeat to Chelsea.

The Uruguayan is likely to get the nod if Paul Scholes is still not fit, and Villa could be a lucky omen for the blond attacker - he finally opened his United Premiership account against the Midlands outfit in the corresponding fixture last term.

Villa have won two games on the trot, after failing to record a victory in their previous eight league fixtures, but the champions will provide a sterner test of their mettle than either Southampton or Crystal Palace.

The Midlanders traditionally struggle to find the net at Old Trafford so David O'Leary will be hoping Juan Pablo Angel started a hot streak in front of goal during the Palace success in the Carling Cup.

Mark Delaney is extremely doubtful with a knee problem, and former Red Devil Dion Dublin looks set to remain at centre back alongside Olof Mellberg.

O'Leary has praised young midfielder Peter Whittingham, who is poised for a key role on Saturday afternoon.

"Peter is there on merit," he stated. "Not because of a sympathy vote.

"At times, I'd love to leave him out and give him a breather, but he's important to us and I cannot do that."

Manchester United (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fortune, Forlan, Fletcher, P Neville, Butt, Keane, Kleberson, Ronaldo, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Bellion.

ccloh
05-12-2003, 09:37 PM
even kanchelski also not 1st time suit into the right winger role. it takes time for newcomer or players to adapt to new position.

OreoCookies
05-12-2003, 10:34 PM
even kanchelski also not 1st time suit into the right winger role. it takes time for newcomer or players to adapt to new position.

True, but looking at the current crop of players at OT, there's only Ronaldo who can dribble his way down the right... The rest are more or less restricted to simple running and crossing on the right flank...

RVN
06-12-2003, 11:34 AM
Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes is set to make his comeback from injury in the derby against Manchester City at Old Trafford.
England star Scholes is recovering from groin surgery, which has kept him out since 25 October.

But he is back in full training and should be available to face Kevin Keegan's City on 13 December.

He is expected to play in a friendly at Bristol City on Wednesday and will hope to put himself in contention for the derby.

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson said: "Paul is doing great training-wise. Maybe we will have to give him one or two days more.

"I will look at him on Monday to see whether he should go down to Bristol."

England defender Wes Brown is also lined up to figure in the game at Bristol City as he nears a first-team return after not playing since the final game of last season following knee surgery.

Striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is also approaching full fitness following a knee operation.

"Ole Gunnar is doing serious running. I expect him back at the beginning of January. They are very close now, which is great news," Ferguson added.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3294689.stm

ccloh
06-12-2003, 03:10 PM

True, but looking at the current crop of players at OT, there's only Ronaldo who can dribble his way down the right... The rest are more or less restricted to simple running and crossing on the right flank...

kanchelski also not a good dribbler just that he is speedy. i remember at that time, there was this saying that utd is a 3-man team.

peter throws the ball to kanchelski to speed in front and cross it for cantona to score. haha that was a joke at that time.

guoquanyap
06-12-2003, 03:19 PM
okie tonite we hav to put up a gd performance....villa will be quite strong....very tight....they are no pushover......but we hav to win no matter wat.....

RuMmYtUb
06-12-2003, 05:38 PM
Die Die muz get 3 points !!

OreoCookies
06-12-2003, 08:50 PM
peter throws the ball to kanchelski to speed in front and cross it for cantona to score. haha that was a joke at that time.

That's a good one... ;)

But I think Schmeichel's long throws were quite effective... Something that we seems to lack these days... :o

OreoCookies
06-12-2003, 08:51 PM
Die Die muz get 3 points !!

If we don't make the same tactical mistake as at Stamford Bridge, then I think it would be safe to say that three points in the bag is a forgone conclusion... :D

pyu
06-12-2003, 10:29 PM
Blatter is not the bloody emperor where he can step in and do what he wants. Those larger confederations that did not support his candidancy in the earlier days will go in and chop him to little pieces.

And not to mention some of his ideas are simply bizarre and his comments are sometimes outrageous.

Of course, Blatter wants to be like an emperor. Just like his predecessor Joao Havelange.

kengbeng
06-12-2003, 11:21 PM
Back to the match.

Ruud scores! Kleberson assists. ;)

And heard that Pennant (loaned from Arsenal) scored against Chelski.

guoquanyap
06-12-2003, 11:57 PM
ruud scored a great goal....and we found someone who can play scholes position....that is kleberson....he iis great tonite....play him behind ruud will be excellent .....

cracker
07-12-2003, 12:04 AM
ruud scored a great goal....and we found someone who can play scholes position....that is kleberson....he iis great tonite....play him behind ruud will be excellent .....

we said the same of ronaldo when he shone during the first game.

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 12:56 AM
Originally posted by cracker

we said the same of ronaldo when he shone during the first game.

ya and then? ronaldo did quite well wat....so wat u trying to imply?

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 12:58 AM
yes!! chelsea and arsenal draw!!!

2pts behind.....:evil:

tranze
07-12-2003, 12:59 AM
Forlan's first goal is nice!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

he scores pretty nice goal, Van the Man scores Kio sai goals but its the goals that matters!!!!

hush66
07-12-2003, 12:59 AM
And we jump to 2nd position with a +1 goal difference against Arsenal right?

RVN
07-12-2003, 01:01 AM
Originally posted by hush66
And we jump to 2nd position with a +1 goal difference against Arsenal right?

no but we are now 1 point behind them, 2 behind chelsea. :)

Alienz
07-12-2003, 01:02 AM
Originally posted by tranze

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

he scores pretty nice goal, Van the Man scores Kio sai goals but its the goals that matters!!!!
Oh yay, Forlan is on top form :) He can't be left out in a match.........

peixin
07-12-2003, 01:03 AM
Its good enuff for me considering Arsenal got screwed at the last minute.....

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 01:03 AM
Originally posted by tranze

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

wat kio sai goal?! the 2nd goal....w 3 defender breathin down his neck and he still can control so well and bought the ball down and shoot....is already world class already......

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 01:06 AM
ronaldo got a great chance...but lack the composeure to finish it.....

hush66
07-12-2003, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by RVN

no but we are now 1 point behind them, 2 behind chelsea. :)

Ah! Never mind. They're losing points and we're not. Let's hope this goes on till the end of the season. :D

Alienz
07-12-2003, 01:17 AM
Now Chelsea, Arsenal and United all got 29 goals in EPL......

Chelsea had 10 goal against
Arsenal had 11 goal against
United had 9 goal against

hehehe United had the highest goal different :D

RuMmYtUb
07-12-2003, 01:22 AM
4-0 scoreline really flattering... but who cares though... :cool: :D

OreoCookies
07-12-2003, 01:47 AM
Hmm... Seems like Fergie used the 4-5-1 tactic this time around... Seems to work much better compared to last week's 4-4-2... :o

A bit ironic... To think that we struggled with the 4-5-1 system when SAF first employed it... Now we seem to play pretty good footy using this formation... =p

Well, itz still three points in the bag... Next up, we welcome Stuttgart to Old Trafford... Hopefully we can give them a good sending off by putting a few goals into their net... :D

RVN
07-12-2003, 01:49 AM
4-0 scoreline really flattering... but who cares though... :cool: :D

We took the foot off the pedal in the second half, then suddenly Forlan came alive with 2 goals in the last few minutes. :)

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 01:59 AM
bring on stuggart!! :D

NanDesKa
07-12-2003, 02:32 AM
yippee..:D

OreoCookies
07-12-2003, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by RVN

We took the foot off the pedal in the second half, then suddenly Forlan came alive with 2 goals in the last few minutes. :)

That's a bad habit that we gotta' change ASAP... Relaxing too early in the second period... :o

OreoCookies
07-12-2003, 02:34 AM

As long as we do not adopt an overly defensive strategy, victory could very well be ours... :D

RVN
07-12-2003, 02:39 AM

channel 5 showing the match, will be watching. :D

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 02:42 AM

That's a bad habit that we gotta' change ASAP... Relaxing too early in the second period... :o

not really lah....they took off a pedal so as to preserve their energy for nx cl match.....the hard thing is to take ur pedal and still preserve the lead but that is oso the part that we are gd at.....;)

RuMmYtUb
07-12-2003, 09:46 AM

not really lah....they took off a pedal so as to preserve their energy for nx cl match.....the hard thing is to take ur pedal and still preserve the lead but that is oso the part that we are gd at.....;)

Those supporters behind O Leary left and missed the 2 goals from FORLAN !! :laugh:

Yellowfin
07-12-2003, 10:29 AM
A really good weekend result. :D

2 goals during the last 5 minute of the game, I am sure alot of those fans who leave early will kick themselves. :)

Just hope that they maintain this form until the season end .

ccloh
07-12-2003, 12:02 PM
3-pt in the bag but most impt. is with chelski and arsenal drawing, now the top 3 teams are just separated with each other by 1-pt. even more interesting is that goal diff. for the 3 teams also separated by 1 ony. utd having +20, chelski +19 and arsenal +18. should interesting season to watch

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 01:15 PM
3-pt in the bag but most impt. is with chelski and arsenal drawing, now the top 3 teams are just separated with each other by 1-pt. even more interesting is that goal diff. for the 3 teams also separated by 1 ony. utd having +20, chelski +19 and arsenal +18. should interesting season to watch

can go buy 4-d.....=p

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 01:48 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has been given a new contract by Manchester United which he could sign as early as Sunday.

The United manager is set to agree a deal to stay in the job until at least 2007.

There were suggestions the club might withdraw its offer following treatment for a minor heart condition this week.

"We have agreed the details and I think it is basically straightforward. It wasn't going to be signed last night but we are ready," said Ferguson.

The Scotsman had hospital treatment to correct an irregular heartbeat on Thursday, but the Scot said he had planned the visit for over two months.

quick sign quick quick..... :D

RVN
07-12-2003, 04:36 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson paid tribute to striker Diego Forlan tonight after his late, late brace against Aston Villa.

Forlan came off the bench in spectacular style as United completed a 4-0 victory at Old Trafford.

With Ruud van Nistelrooy scoring twice before half time it was just the result Ferguson wanted ahead of the Champions League game against Stuttgart on Tuesday.

United closed the gap at the top as Chelsea and Arsenal both drew, leaving Ferguson quietly content.

"Strikers love to score and Diego's in fine form, " he told Sky Sports.

"It wasn't easy to leave him out in view of his form over the last few weeks.

"I wanted to give Diego a part as he has played a big part in recent games and Ruud had done his job.

"We've got big games coming up on Tuesday and Manchester City next Saturday in the derby, so it is a matter of just spreading the load.

"All credit to Villa for working so hard. They put us under pressure at times and I was looking for something better in the second half."

Ferguson said he was not surprised that Chelsea and Arsenal had slipped up against Leeds and Leicester respectively.

"Maybe people expected them to win but it is a tough league. We are just happy to get a victory."

Paul Scholes had a 30-minute run-out following a six-week absence after a groin problem and Ferguson stated: "He'll play on Tuesday."

Ferguson himself had a health scare this week when he was treated for a minor heart complaint.

But he remains anxious to play the situation down. "It was a simple thing that happened," he said.

"I got it corrected on Thursday afternoon and I am back to normal."

Villa manager David O'Leary believes there is little to choose between United, Chelsea and Arsenal after playing all three teams.

"They are all good footballing sides, that's the nice thing," he said. It will be very tight.

"When we went to Chelsea, when we went to Arsenal you could say we deserved more from those games but we didn't deserve anything today.

"My players are a wonderful bunch who try to do their best on the training ground.

"They are honest but against United we weren't good enough. I couldn't ask any more from them in terms of effort.

"It is going to be a long season; it's going to be a tough season. We just don't score enough goals.

"Manchester United have their own agenda. We have a different agenda and that is to survive.

"We gave poor goals away. They were very clinical around the goal, which is typical United.

"We were poor defensively and it was disappointing to lose two goals at the end."

RuMmYtUb
07-12-2003, 05:03 PM
Good that RVN and Forlan can't stop scoring now..

guoquanyap
07-12-2003, 05:06 PM
all 4 goals yesterday were great.....

Ch3tah_39
07-12-2003, 06:39 PM
all 4 goals yesterday were great.....

ya lorz.. but forlan first goal is power...:)

RVN
07-12-2003, 07:01 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is planning to rest Roy Keane, bring back Paul Scholes and call up Roy Carroll for the Champions League clash with Stuttgart.

Both United and the Bundesliga leaders are already through to February's knock-out round.

But because many issues are still to be settled in other groups, Ferguson said: "I don't know how to approach this game to be honest."

Only Real Madrid and holders AC Milan are confirmed group winners and United will avoid them if they beat Stuttgart.

With each top team paired with a runner-up when the draw is made in Nyon next Friday, the United boss is pondering the permutations.

"You don't know who the other winners or the runners up are going to be," he added.

"You could have Besiktas, Porto, Ajax, Celtic, whose away form is terrible, they haven't won a game away from home and they are in Lyon.

"Bayern Munich should beat Anderlecht and could finish second in that group, but it's tight."

It is because things are clouded Ferguson has not finalised his plans and he said: "I will probably give Roy Carroll a game. At the end of the day we have got to beat them to win the group. They are not the kind of team that is going to bust their lungs trying to beat you, I think it is more a case of you having to beat them. "

The Northern Ireland keeper has not played a top level game since the end of last season and Fergie says he has missed the chance of taking over from Tim Howard in January.

United looked set to lose their American keeper for as many as four games because of the USA's World Cup qualifiers but the situation has changed.

"They have moved their games to June which is good news for us."

One problem solved, but another looms with Paul Scholes also likely to be available.

"I have got to assess how I use Paul and maybe bring him back and save Roy Keane for the derby game against City.

"I could put Keano on the bench. I thought I might just play him in the reserves at Bristol City if I wanted to give him a full game, but if I put him on the bench and maybe only give him 20 minutes it is maybe not enough."

OreoCookies
07-12-2003, 09:40 PM
Good that RVN and Forlan can't stop scoring now..

If they can keep up the form, then maybe we need not spend to purchase another striker come January... ;)

OreoCookies
07-12-2003, 09:43 PM

ya lorz.. but forlan first goal is power...:)

Both of Forlan's goals came from his left boot... I always thought he was right-footed though... :o

BTW, the build-up to Forlan's second was quite nice... Kleberson's back-heel pretty much fooled the Villa defence, and Forlan turned very well on-the-ball to wrong-footed the defender... :D

RVN
07-12-2003, 09:47 PM

If they can keep up the form, then maybe we need not spend to purchase another striker come January... ;)

well Fergie just said he could get a striker in Jan. :)

Ferguson has revealed he is hoping to bring in a new striker when the transfer window reopens next month. Ferguson is keen to bolster his attack for the second half of the season to help take some of the burden off Ruud van Nistelrooy.

"We don't usually buy in January because the problem is usually getting someone who hasn't played in Europe but that is something we are looking at right now," said Ferguson.

"We have always been best when we have four strikers because you can freshen things up all the time.

"And I still think we need one more."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1114031,00.html

OreoCookies
07-12-2003, 10:18 PM
If we really have to buy, I still believe that the priority would be someone who can play the role of a withdrawn striker very well... ;)

BTW, Kleberson seems to have done quite well playing in Scholes' position... Hopefully, he can be the creative backup to our gifted trio of Giggs, Scholes, and Ronaldo... :D

NanDesKa
07-12-2003, 11:40 PM
:bounce: :bounce:

RuMmYtUb
08-12-2003, 12:27 AM

But when facing big teams Forlan like lack confidence... juz look at his performance against Chelsea last week..

guoquanyap
08-12-2003, 01:30 AM
If we really have to buy, I still believe that the priority would be someone who can play the role of a withdrawn striker very well... ;)

BTW, Kleberson seems to have done quite well playing in Scholes' position... Hopefully, he can be the creative backup to our gifted trio of Giggs, Scholes, and Ronaldo... :D

ya kleberson done really well behind ruud.....maybe nx time we will see scholes And keane in the middle then kleberson jus behind ruud.....

then we will hav more creativity in the squad coming fr giggs, kleberson, etc across the pitch.......;)

Ch3tah_39
08-12-2003, 01:35 AM
kleberson is gd manz.. he rox...
passing frm man utd yesterday against villa was gd...
nice play to set up the goals....:)

guoquanyap
08-12-2003, 01:43 AM
Manchester United and Liverpool are among the clubs interested in PSV Eindhoven striker Mateja Kezman, according to the club's technical manager.

Frank Arnesen has confirmed there is a good chance the Serbo-Montenegrin international will leave the Dutch side during January's transfer window.

Kezman - who scored four goals in his side's weekend 7-0 demolition of Volendam - was signed as Ruud van Nisterlooy's replacement before the Manchester United striker's knee injury stalled his move to Old Trafford.

And, although PSV are reluctant to see him leave, they accept it might be time for the 24-year-old to move on.

'Not only Manchester United and Liverpool, also four to five other clubs are interested,' Arnesen told Canal Plus.

'If the money is good enough and if Kezman is happy with the club interested, it is very possible that he could leave in January.

'We do not want to stand in his way, he has done so much for PSV over the past four years, and he has said in the past a few times that he would like to climb up the ladder a bit.'

Kezman's new agent Chiel Dekker had discussions with Barcelona last week while the player admitted he was looking for a move.

'I know that I am ready for the step. You have seen what has happened to Ruud van Nistelrooy,' he told Voetbal International.

'At a certain point you need to do that as a player.'

saw him play before....not really the world-class striker u will wan to sign....unless it's btw 5-7million or else i dun think is worth to buy him.....

guoquanyap
08-12-2003, 01:45 AM
somemore he wont be available for the CL matches.....

guoquanyap
08-12-2003, 01:52 AM
Manchester United will travel to Aston Villa in a mouthwatering encounter......

going villa park...tough place to go man.....

orca_sea
08-12-2003, 03:19 AM

ya kleberson done really well behind ruud.....maybe nx time we will see scholes And keane in the middle then kleberson jus behind ruud.....

then we will hav more creativity in the squad coming fr giggs, kleberson, etc across the pitch.......;)

i tink Kleberson iz showing the quality tat Veron didnt possess during his time at Man U.. able to link n assist the Man U forwards n strikers

Alienz
08-12-2003, 07:15 AM
United keen on Kezman - PSV

Manchester United and Liverpool are among the clubs interested in PSV striker Mateja Kezman, according to the club's technical manager.
Frank Arnesen has confirmed there is a good chance the Serbo-Montenegrin international will leave the Dutch side during January's transfer window.

Kezman - who scored four goals in Saturday's 7-0 demolition of Volendam - was signed as Ruud van Nisterlooy's replacement before the Manchester United striker's knee injury stalled his move to Old Trafford.

And, although PSV are reluctant to see him leave, they accept it might be time for the 24-year-old to move on.

"Not only Manchester United and Liverpool, also four to five other clubs are interested," Arnesen told Canal Plus.

"If the money is good enough and if Kezman is happy with the club interested, it is very possible that he could leave in January.

"We do not want to stand in his way, he has done so much for PSV over the past four years, and he has said in the past a few times that he would like to climb up the ladder a bit."

Kezman's new agent Chiel Dekker had discussions with Barcelona last week while the player admitted he was looking for a move.

"I know that I am ready for the step. You have seen what has happened to Ruud van Nistelrooy," he said.

"At a certain point you need to do that as a player."

ccloh
08-12-2003, 09:33 AM
hmm sign him can't play in CL like never sign a player like that. not worth it.

Spock
08-12-2003, 10:32 AM
Kezman is like a carbon copy of Ruud.No kidding.He should be signed as a cover instead of as a partner.I hope they sign someone like nihat.

NanDesKa
08-12-2003, 11:22 AM
wad they waiting for?
sign viduka!

RVN
08-12-2003, 12:39 PM
Manchester United will travel to Aston Villa in a mouthwatering encounter......

going villa park...tough place to go man.....

Villa away in the FA Cup...good memories anyone?

3-2 victory couple of seasons back, hopefully more of the same this time round. Shame we wasn't at home though. :(

One thing for certian, definately Fergie will play the top players.

guoquanyap
08-12-2003, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Villa away in the FA Cup...good memories anyone?

3-2 victory couple of seasons back, hopefully more of the same this time round. Shame we wasn't at home though. :(

One thing for certian, definately Fergie will play the top players.

of cos got gd memories but villa is always not the easier place to go......and of cos i wan the league an FA cup this season.....;)

RVN
08-12-2003, 02:02 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003562588,00.html

Rio drug shock
By SHAUN CUSTIS

SUNSPORT can today reveal how Rio Ferdinand made contact with drug-testers an astonishing 25 MINUTES before they left Manchester United’s Carrington training ground.

And that has raised major questions about why the England defender was not allowed to return to his club’s coaching HQ and take a drugs test.

Ferdinand telephoned the United doctors — who were with the doping controllers at Carrington — at 2.02pm on September 23 and the testers did not sign out and leave until 2.27pm.

It is understood Ferdinand, who was in Deansgate in Manchester at the time he made the call, told club medics he would return and take the test.

However when this message was relayed to the testers, Ferdinand, 25, was told he was too late.

This new evidence is sure to be the cornerstone of his defence when he eventually goes before FA bigwigs.

But, worryingly for national coach Sven Goran Eriksson, it could complicate and drag the saga on even longer.

Swede Eriksson is on record as having said: “The Rio situation has been going on for 10 weeks now. It is too long. It is not good for the game — or the player.”

But last night the waters over the whole affair were muddied yet further. An inside source said: “It is a crucial that Rio called a full 25 minutes before the testers left.

“He was in the middle of Manchester and could have got back to the training ground before the drug-testers packed up.

“But, apparently, he was told he was too late.”

The testers are obliged to wait two hours from the time that a check is due to take place. After that, they are forced to make an official ruling that it has not been carried out.

Yet it has emerged that Ferdinand was NEVER given a start time for his test and his legal team contend that he could have complied with the regulations — had he only been given the chance.

Even Soho Square top brass have already admitted their rules are not tight enough.

FA executive director David Davies conceded regulations do not specifically cover a missed drugs test, as is the case with Ferdinand.

RIO ... boost for his defence

Davies said: “It is fair to say that the processes we have, backed by UK Sport, were not introduced with the thought of people failing to turn up for tests. Clearly that has to be put right.”

Davies compared the situation with that faced by athletics bosses over American sprint star Jon Drummond.

The 100 metres runner protested at the World Championships after being disqualified for a false start.

Davies added: “As in athletics, when the regulations they introduced never envisaged anyone staging a sit-down on the track for 25 minutes, we’d not looked at somebody failing to take a test.”

Ferdinand has been charged with ‘failure or refusal’ to comply with the testing procedure and could be banned from playing for up to TWO YEARS if found guilty.

FIFA President Sepp Blatter wants tough action taken against United’s £30million England defender and has vowed to act himself if, as he described it, the FA do not do the job properly.

However, Soho officials are not sure he has the authority to do so and chairman Geoff Thompson vowed: “The disciplinary committee will deal with the facts as they see fit and will not be influenced — by anybody.”

Blatter has also slammed United and the FA for the time it has taken to convene a hearing. It will take place in Bolton on December 18 and 19.

Had Ferdinand’s case been dealt with quickly, FIFA might barely have noticed. But, after 2½ months, it has become a massive test case for world football’s anti-drug programme.

For that, Ferdinand can partly blame the top brass at Old Trafford.

United’s attack on Blatter in which they told him, in effect, to keep his nose out has upped the stakes.

Red Devils chief executive David Gill argued it was a matter for United and the FA to sort out between them. But that has left the FIFA hierarchy in a rage. Now many fear the world’s governing body may try to put United in their place.

Eriksson has spoken to Ferdinand since the storm blew up and offered moral support.

The national boss was caught in the middle when his squad threatened to strike before the Euro 2004 qualifier against Turkey after his 33-cap star was axed by the FA. But the Swede understood their point of view.

At the weekend, Eriksson appeared to alter his stance, claiming Ferdinand should have been banned by United as well as England.

But his comments probably stem purely from his belief that the disciplinary process must be speeded up and that Ferdinand’s case should have been dealt with inside a week.

If Ferdinand escapes a ban — or is hit with a relatively short one of, say, three months — you can be sure Eriksson will have him in his squad for Euro 2004.

UK Sport, who oversee drug testing, were not available for comment last night.

I just want this to end. the article looks like there is hope for rio's case. but seriously i just want this to end. this has gone way too far and taken too long. the fa is starting to lose a bit of credibility and respect. sven made a good point about the joe cole case and how it took so long and now chelsea is being punished for it.

kiongteo
08-12-2003, 02:42 PM
Originally posted by Spock
Kezman is like a carbon copy of Ruud.No kidding.He should be signed as a cover instead of as a partner.I hope they sign someone like nihat.

but it seem like other big teams getting him also..

Alienz
08-12-2003, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by RVN

If it is so hard to win in the villa park, UTD will fight for a draw aleast then villa will come to Old Trafford :D

ccloh
08-12-2003, 04:26 PM
think DRAW is not in the equation for fergie coming to FA Cup. They have been long enough of not lifting the cup already. full strength at villa park for sure.

RuMmYtUb
08-12-2003, 05:55 PM
Transfer window opening in january rite ?

Ch3tah_39
08-12-2003, 07:56 PM
if playing wit first team, will not be a problem ma..
villa dun looks at all impressive lerr... 0win for villa so far onli won 3 games at home/ draw 3/ lose 1/

Alienz
08-12-2003, 08:56 PM
Utd won 4 from last 5 matches at Villa Park and draw once......... I think Utd will win these match :)

OreoCookies
08-12-2003, 11:59 PM
Don't brush Villa aside so easily... The FA Cup is another competition on itz own, and I guess we don't need to be reminded how well teams can play in the FA Cup when they don't normally perform well in the League... :o

That aside, as long as Man Utd keep up with the consistency in possession and attacking forays that we have shown in the last match, we should have no problems making it a double (or even a triple) over Villa this season... :D

OreoCookies
09-12-2003, 12:03 AM
Finally, after so long, I see a ray of light shining through the tunnel in Rio's drugs test case... ;)

I was beginning to worry about the state of the defence once the FA places a ban on Rio... But from the looks of the new information coming through, we may not be getting the bad end out of the situation...

Together with the news of the impending return to first-team action of Wes Brown, Solskjaer, and Scholes... Whew, that's quite a bit good news in a while... :D

RVN
09-12-2003, 01:54 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson has described Paul Scholes as "one of the best players in the game" as he welcomes the England midfielder back into his starting line-up for Tuesday's UEFA Champions League visit of Stuttgart.
Scholes came on as a substitute in the 4-0 thumping of Aston Villa and will be handed a starting berth against the Germans with Ferguson dismissing any notion that his side will deliberately play for second place in the group.

With Real Madrid virtually certain to top their group, such a plan would seem foolhardy in the extreme, in any case.

"Everyone's fit," beamed Ferguson at the press conference. "We won't use Wes (Brown) as he'll play against Bristol City (in a friendly).

"Scholes will play tomorrow. He'll start.

"He maybe found it hard in the half hour he had on Saturday, he'd had five weeks out and to come in during the middle of a game is difficult, but I expect him to be much better tomorrow night.

"It's good to have him back. He's scored over 100 goals from midfield for the club and I think that, when you've got a midfield player whose timing arriving in the penalty box is so good, he's always a goal threat.

"Look at last season - he scored 20 goals. That's outstanding from a midfield player.

"The other part is he has a clever football brain. He's two-footed, has a quick football brain and that marks him out as one of the best players in the game."

Ferguson was at pains to stress that his team will not be looking to let the capacity Old Trafford crowd down.

"I couldn't tell you who is going to get through," he conceded. "I think we would like to win this game as our home record is so good at Old Trafford and we want to maintain that.

"It's essential that the pride factor shows itself in games like this.

"You can see yourself how Stuttgart have got to this position. They have a fantastic defence.

"I think you have to admire and respect the defensive part it's built on, but there's a strong work ethic, they work ever so hard.

"What we learned in Stuttgart is we can't afford to go behind because they will be very difficult to peg back."

Both United and VfB are already ensured of a place in the knockout stages of the Champions League, but United need to win to clinch top spot in the group.

Dolphin1977
09-12-2003, 11:14 AM
Originally posted by RVN

"Scholes will play tomorrow. He'll start.

think it might not appropriate to let him play in the starting lineup.... not doubt he's the missing link between mid and RVN.... but ability to hit top gear after such a long break is a ??

RVN
09-12-2003, 02:29 PM
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=50108&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ryan Giggs believes Paul Scholes holds the key that could unlock the Stuttgart defence in tomorrow night's Champions League clash at Old Trafford.

United know victory over the Germans would send them through to the next stages of the competition as group winners, in turn allowing them to avoid the likes of Real Madrid and AC Milan in Friday's draw.

Giggs is confident United can complete the task in hand and is looking to Scholes for inspiration.

"It's great for the team to have Scholesy back," explained Giggs at the pre-match press conference. "He can open up defences and play people like myself in all the time.

"He's such a comfortable player on the ball and he gives you an extra dimension.

"We obviously knew before we played Stuttgart what a great defence they had especially this season and we knew it would be tough to create chances in the first game.

"We thought we controlled the game in the first half but like so many games in Europe, you think you're doing well and then you let a goal in. So it was always going to be difficult after that.

"But we still created chances and the most important thing tomorrow night is to make a good start.

"Winning the group would give us all a lot of confidence but in terms of the next round I don't think it really matters because every team that goes through to the next round will be quality teams.

"So in that sense it may not matter if we come top, but it definitely matters to us and to the fans and we want to maintain our good home record."

Scholes looks set to partner Roy Keane in midfield, with Ronaldo possibly making way. Kleberson looks set to continue in his role just behind Ruud van Nistelrooy after creating two of United's four goals against Aston Villa at the weekend.

Giggs believes the likes of Kleberson and Ronaldo have added to United's squad this season and he says there is a good blend of youth and experience within the team.

"I think it's a good squad and we've got a good mixture of players," said the Welshman. "The manager brought four or five new players in this season and there's now a little bit of youth together with the experience of maybe six or seven players who were there in '99.

"So it's a good mixture and it's shown through the injuries to Wes, Scholsey and Ole that we've had to deal with.

"I think good players find it easy to fit in and we've now got a lot of players in midfield who can play in different positions.

"I can play upfront, as can Scholesy, who can also play in midfield, while Kleberson has come in and done really well. So I think we're all comfortable with whatever position we play," added Giggs.

ccloh
09-12-2003, 04:57 PM
should see scholes in action tonite ??? looking forwards to man.

hope win and top the grp.

RVN
09-12-2003, 08:46 PM
England captain David Beckham has urged former Manchester United team-mate Ruud van Nistelrooy to join him at Spanish giants Real Madrid.
The Dutch striker has been linked with a move to the Bernabeu in the Spanish press, and Beckham believes Van Nistelrooy would prosper in La Liga.

"He is a great player and I would enjoy having him at Madrid," said Beckham.

"I enjoyed playing alongside him in Manchester and I can say that as well as being a marvellous companion, he is one of the best players in the world."

Real's Brazilian striker Ronaldo agreed with Beckham's judgement and added he would love to play alongside the 27-year-old.

"I think it's very good that Real Madrid want to sign him," said Ronaldo.

"If he comes here, I think we could both play. There is space for every good player here and he's one of those."

But while Van Nistelrooy would appear to be a popular acquisition among the Real dressing-room, coach Carlos Queiroz appears to be less enthusiastic.

"He is a great striker, but we are perfect as we are and very satisfied with the squad," he said.

ccloh
09-12-2003, 10:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN
England captain David Beckham has urged former Manchester United team-mate Ruud van Nistelrooy to join him at Spanish giants Real Madrid.
The Dutch striker has been linked with a move to the Bernabeu in the Spanish press, and Beckham believes Van Nistelrooy would prosper in La Liga.

"He is a great player and I would enjoy having him at Madrid," said Beckham.

"I enjoyed playing alongside him in Manchester and I can say that as well as being a marvellous companion, he is one of the best players in the world."

Real's Brazilian striker Ronaldo agreed with Beckham's judgement and added he would love to play alongside the 27-year-old.

"I think it's very good that Real Madrid want to sign him," said Ronaldo.

"If he comes here, I think we could both play. There is space for every good player here and he's one of those."

But while Van Nistelrooy would appear to be a popular acquisition among the Real dressing-room, coach Carlos Queiroz appears to be less enthusiastic.

"He is a great striker, but we are perfect as we are and very satisfied with the squad," he said.

this joker really need a beating.

RVN
09-12-2003, 10:11 PM

this joker really need a beating.

Why must becks said that, turn into an ungrateful prick here, now the media will go after people at Man Utd looking for a reply to that when they could be doing better things. Why can't Beckham just say no comment instead of always trying to get himself in the headlines.

Fergie will keep Ruud. ;)

guoquanyap
09-12-2003, 11:23 PM
well we do know wat kind a person beckham is dun we.....:sarcastic :sarcastic

RVN
10-12-2003, 12:32 AM
MANCHESTER (AFP) - England midfielder Nicky Butt says he is ready to leave Manchester United in order to get regular first-team football.

The 28-year-old has made only nine starts this season and was not even a substitute against Aston Villa last Saturday.

"My situation has looked bleak this season - I would be lying if I said otherwise," he said Tuesday.

"Nobody in their right mind would want to leave this club if they are happy but at times I have thought this could be it for me - things are pretty dire."

Butt, who won his 31st England cap against Denmark in November, knows if he fails to reclaim a regular first-team berth at United, his international place would be at risk ahead of next summer's European Championships.

"I have been playing here for 10 years and I don't want to leave," he said.

"But at my age I do need to be playing and at the moment things are pretty dire for me.

"Hopefully I have a good few years left but the last thing I want is to get to the end of my career and reflect that I wasted so much time when I wasn't playing because you can never get it back.

"When you are in this situation, you do start to think about having to play away from United. Maybe it is a bit premature to think that way.

"I keep getting told all sorts of things about clubs being interested but I won't take any notice until the manager comes and tells me."

Butt has been restricted by Phil Neville's impressive form, plus the presence of skipper Roy Keane and Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson.

The return of Paul Scholes from groin surgery, plus the anticipated January comeback of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, will increase competition for midfield places.

It has left Butt, who has made more than 350 appearances for the club, facing the prospect of following David Beckham out of the exit door.

Butt said he had had a couple of chats with Alex Ferguson about his situation and the United manager has urged him to be patient and wait for his chance.

Ch3tah_39
10-12-2003, 01:08 AM
i tink honestly butt shld leave as there is reali no space for him to play in the starting eleven... (if he reali wan first team play):(

RVN
10-12-2003, 01:14 AM
i tink honestly butt shld leave as there is reali no space for him to play in the starting eleven... (if he reali wan first team play):(

Its difficult for him to get into first-team liao, Keane, Scholes, Kleberson, Phil, Djemba Djemba and maybe even Fletcher all vying for his central midfield spot, its look bleak for him. :(

Alienz
10-12-2003, 01:15 AM
i tink honestly butt shld leave as there is reali no space for him to play in the starting eleven... (if he reali wan first team play):( Or should he wait for Keane to retire........

RVN
10-12-2003, 01:18 AM
Originally posted by Alienz
Or should he wait for Keane to retire........

wait another 2 or 3 years, don't think he has the patience to wait that long. :(

Still, I hope he stay, he is a very good player but underrated and he does not get the games he deserves due to injury and the rotation system... :(

orca_sea
10-12-2003, 01:28 AM
Originally posted by RVN

wait another 2 or 3 years, don't think he has the patience to wait that long. :(

Still, I hope he stay, he is a very good player but underrated and he does not get the games he deserves due to injury and the rotation system... :(

Agree.. i tink Keane after tiz season will revert himself in the Central Defence role more bcos of his ex injuries n age.. so i tink the defensive midfield will eventually be his.. but the way he put it seems tat itz unavoidable tat he will eventually leave to another team tat can offer him 1st team chances

RuMmYtUb
10-12-2003, 01:36 AM
There's a serious problem when our players start to voice their unhappiness, goes to show Butt might leave somehow..
compeition in the DMC department is certainly tight, Kleberson's form is not doing Butt any justice..

Alienz
10-12-2003, 01:47 AM
MANCHESTER (AFP) - England midfielder Nicky Butt says he is ready to leave Manchester United in order to get regular first-team football.

The 28-year-old has made only nine starts this season and was not even a substitute against Aston Villa last Saturday.

"My situation has looked bleak this season - I would be lying if I said otherwise," he said Tuesday.

"Nobody in their right mind would want to leave this club if they are happy but at times I have thought this could be it for me - things are pretty dire."

Butt, who won his 31st England cap against Denmark in November, knows if he fails to reclaim a regular first-team berth at United, his international place would be at risk ahead of next summer's European Championships.

"I have been playing here for 10 years and I don't want to leave," he said.

"But at my age I do need to be playing and at the moment things are pretty dire for me.

"Hopefully I have a good few years left but the last thing I want is to get to the end of my career and reflect that I wasted so much time when I wasn't playing because you can never get it back.

"When you are in this situation, you do start to think about having to play away from United. Maybe it is a bit premature to think that way.

"I keep getting told all sorts of things about clubs being interested but I won't take any notice until the manager comes and tells me."

Butt has been restricted by Phil Neville's impressive form, plus the presence of skipper Roy Keane and Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson.

The return of Paul Scholes from groin surgery, plus the anticipated January comeback of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, will increase competition for midfield places.

It has left Butt, who has made more than 350 appearances for the club, facing the prospect of following David Beckham out of the exit door.

Butt said he had had a couple of chats with Alex Ferguson about his situation and the United manager has urged him to be patient and wait for his chance.

OreoCookies
10-12-2003, 01:57 AM
Hopefully Butt can stay on... With Keano being used sparingly these days, Butt will eventually have the chance to claim a regular spot in the side... Granted that he is not getting any younger, but leaving Man Utd is no guarantee that he'll get more first-team footy at another club... :(

As the saying goes, better to work for familiar faces then to slog for strangers...

guoquanyap
10-12-2003, 02:55 AM
he is 28 already....it is time for him to get a regular spot if no regular spot he has to leave....as simple as that....he cant wait any longer.....

feel really sad for him...one of the unsung hero......

guoquanyap
10-12-2003, 03:33 AM
match starting....:D

guoquanyap
10-12-2003, 04:35 AM
Ruud equal united legend, Denis law, european goal record....impressive 28 goals......

Hail Ruud van Nistelrooy~~~

OreoCookies
10-12-2003, 05:41 AM
2-0... :D

Good performance at home... And we go through to the quarter-finals as group winners... ;)

guoquanyap
10-12-2003, 05:42 AM
2-0... :D

Good performance at home... And we go through to the quarter-finals as group winners... ;)

bring on ManCity...but i gonna miss the match becos of work....:(

ccloh
10-12-2003, 09:31 AM
ryan giggs is really something when come to CL matches. RVN's strike rate at CL matches, scored 28, played 30 :bounce:

obviously, scholes lack the match fitness, his performance is so-so only. hope to see him back to his own best soonest.

now let see who will be the next opponent. :D

ccloh
10-12-2003, 09:37 AM
well we do know wat kind a person beckham is dun we.....:sarcastic :sarcastic

i think his emotion is still unstable after being dump by fergie. he is such a useless crap. let his ugly wife rules over him. i am at any time waiting for him to fail in his soccer career :D

Spock
10-12-2003, 09:39 AM

i think his emotion is still unstable after being dump by fergie. he is such a useless crap. let his ugly wife rules over him. i am at any time waiting for him to fail in his soccer career :D

Come on,he has served man u well when he was there.Give him abit of credit for that.

RVN
10-12-2003, 12:20 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has stated that he will not comment on Nicky Butt's comments about leaving the club, but did insist that the player was not fit enough to play in Tuesday's UEFA Champions League game.
Ferguson - speaking after a fine 2-0 win against Stuttgart - said that he had not considered bringing Butt into the game.

"Nicky was not really close to playing tonight," admitted Ferguson. "It was always my intention to play Paul Scholes in the centre of midfield.

"It was important that Paul got a full game in and we can look at the games that lie ahead later."

"I don't know what you are talking about," added Ferguson when questioned about Butt's recent statements. "I can't comment on something he hasn't spoken to me about."

Ferguson was upbeat about the display - which saw Ruud van Nistlerooy score an opener that put him level with Red Devils icon Denis Law for European goals.

"Ruud has a phenomenal record but he is a phenomenal player," added Ferguson.

"I have seen the replay of his goal. It wasn't the easiest chance in the world but he completely wrong-footed the goalkeeper.

"Ruud has improved his all-round game but that had come with the time he has spent with us.

”You are seeing a more complete player than last year. He is more rounded now, which is something that started to come through at the back end of last season.

"He is getting better all the time and the great thing is he has got years ahead of him."

Stuttgart's Felix Magath was disappointed with the display but is focused on the next round.

"We conceded a goal at a bad time and I sensed at half-time the players' heads had dropped," he said.

”I played quite well but the big differences is that we don't have people like Giggs and Van Nistelrooy who can score the goals."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1114556,00.html

RVN
10-12-2003, 02:03 PM
The major problem for Nicky Butt isn't that he's not playing regular football at the moment but where he would go if he left Old Trafford?
At a club like United your turn in the sun always comes around. Injuries coupled with the amount of football they play gives everybody in the squad a look in.

Sometimes it takes longer than others.

If he doesn't want to wait, I'm sure there'd be plenty of clubs knocking on his door. But it would be hard for him to go any way other than down if he did decide to leave.

I'm sure the place he wants to be playing his football is Manchester. United are one of the biggest teams in the world and you don't leave unless it's absolutely the right thing to do.

Thus his comment that the outlook for him looks bleak seems more about letting the manager know he's unhappy rather than a move to signal he's made up his mind to go.

However emotional you are you have to get your mind straight so that you're ready to give your best when called. He's paid by Manchester United to do that.

Nicky's problems are that he's been hit by injury at the start of a season and the form of Phil Neville has been nothing short of superb. He's having his best ever year.

But it has to be said Sven Goran Eriksson wouldn't pick Phil Neville over Butt in midfield for England. In fact, Phil is closer to getting a game in defence than in that holding role.

I also don't believe that Phil is higher up the pecking order in midfield than someone like Charlton's Scott Parker, who again looked a talent against Southampton on Sunday.

That's not to say Sir Alex Ferguson has not got it right; he knows his business better than anybody else.

What Nicky has to do is sit it out. He had a good time of it at the World Cup, with the likes of Pele and everybody else praising him to the hilt.

But sometimes you have to take the rough with the smooth. And that's not so hard to do when it's at a club where the roundabout rotates faster than most.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1114523,00.html

guoquanyap
10-12-2003, 02:16 PM
fergie will surely be furious w butt outcry.....

guoquanyap
10-12-2003, 02:19 PM
somehow i really hope we can get parker....he is damn gd man...abit like scholes always go for hard tackle but oso can score goals and create chances.....

but we hav to fight it out w alot of others club.....jus hope that his prefer destiination will be manu......

RVN
10-12-2003, 02:21 PM
fergie will surely be furious w butt outcry.....

He goona have a private chat with Butt I feel. :rolleyes:

Dolphin1977
10-12-2003, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He goona have a private chat with Butt I feel. :rolleyes:

with djx2, kleberson, phil, scholes, keane all eyeing for the only 2 center midfield position... doubt butt has any chances of breaking into the 1st 11...

keane will definitely play in most of the matches, and phil in flying form right now... even on high kleberson and djx2 have to sit on the bench..

butt wasnt as gd as he is b4 the injuries... great sell to him to fund for a world class striker...

ccloh
10-12-2003, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

with djx2, kleberson, phil, scholes, keane all eyeing for the only 2 center midfield position... doubt butt has any chances of breaking into the 1st 11...

keane will definitely play in most of the matches, and phil in flying form right now... even on high kleberson and djx2 have to sit on the bench..

butt wasnt as gd as he is b4 the injuries... great sell to him to fund for a world class striker...

fergie knows keano time is coming to an end. he will only play him in important matches especially the next phase onwards of the CL matches. i believe again easier opponents he will rest keano and chances for rest of the midfielder to fight for the place. if fergie is only playing a sole striker on RVN, scholes would be the hold behind and if keano is not playing that means there will be 2 midfield roles for butt, phil neville, kleberson and eric to fight out. not so bad after all.

RVN
10-12-2003, 04:31 PM
Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy equalled the scoring record for Manchester United in European competitions with the opening goal against Stuttgart in the Champions League at Old Trafford last night.

Van Nistelrooy equalled the mark of 28 European goals set by Denis Law.

Manchester United’s European goalscorers (all competitions):

Denis Law 28, Ruud van Nistelrooy 28, Bobby Charlton 22, Paul Scholes 20, Andy Cole 19, Ryan Giggs 19, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer 19, David Beckham 15, David Herd 14, Roy Keane 14.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2003/12/10/story124977.html

Becks and Cole have already left the club, hope the likes of Scholes, Solskjaer and Giggs can catch up with Ruud as well. :D

Dolphin1977
10-12-2003, 04:32 PM

fergie knows keano time is coming to an end. he will only play him in important matches especially the next phase onwards of the CL matches. i believe again easier opponents he will rest keano and chances for rest of the midfielder to fight for the place. if fergie is only playing a sole striker on RVN, scholes would be the hold behind and if keano is not playing that means there will be 2 midfield roles for butt, phil neville, kleberson and eric to fight out. not so bad after all.

how many times have u seen keano being rested? out of 14 EPL matches keane played 13 in 1st starting line up....

Ole coming back next mth, and probably a new striker will be signed to play behind RVN....isnt the CM position too crowded?

RVN
10-12-2003, 04:36 PM

how many times have u seen keano being rested? out of 14 EPL matches keane played 13 in 1st starting line up....

Ole coming back next mth, and probably a new striker will be signed to play behind RVN....isnt the CM position too crowded?

It is quite crowded, Kleberson, Phil Neville, Keane, Eric Djemba Djemba and Paul Scholes are all fighting for the central position, tough luck on Butt, he appears to be below all those 5 above players in the pecking order. :(

Dolphin1977
10-12-2003, 04:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN

It is quite crowded, Kleberson, Phil Neville, Keane, Eric Djemba Djemba and Paul Scholes are all fighting for the central position, tough luck on Butt, he appears to be below all those 5 above players in the pecking order. :(

precisely esp when keano is almost irreplaceable and phil in top form now...

Dolphin1977
10-12-2003, 04:44 PM
Originally posted by RVN

problaby can move scholes to the left, backup for giggsy... we lacking backup there...

on the right we have fletcher, ronaldo, and ole capable of playing right...

RVN
10-12-2003, 04:55 PM

problaby can move scholes to the left, backup for giggsy... we lacking backup there...

on the right we have fletcher, ronaldo, and ole capable of playing right...

Scholes is best suited in central midfield though, Fortune can provide cover for Giggsy on the left, although saw him slip a couple of times last night.

ccloh
10-12-2003, 06:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Scholes is best suited in central midfield though, Fortune can provide cover for Giggsy on the left, although saw him slip a couple of times last night.

i sense that with a full squard,

midfield
--------
left side: giggs, fortune, ronaldo, forlan, ole
right side: ole, ronaldo, fletcher
central: keane, scholes, phil neville, butt, eric, kleberson

striker
------
rvn, ole, forlan, bellion

defence
---------
central: silves, rio, brown, keane, o'shea, gary neville
right: gary neville, o'shea, phil neville, brown
left: o'shea, phil neville, silves, fortune

can see that if rio is kanna ban, probably 3-6mth, the central defence position will be thin, chances are phil or keane will move back to the defence and this is released some room for the crowded midfield players
to get a chance. new player like eric and kleberson will not be playing
every match unless they are in superb form in fact i dont remember seeing both of them play together. so can see butt will get a chance when rio kanna ban so be patient a bit lah.

OreoCookies
10-12-2003, 07:28 PM
somehow i really hope we can get parker....he is damn gd man...abit like scholes always go for hard tackle but oso can score goals and create chances.....

but we hav to fight it out w alot of others club.....jus hope that his prefer destiination will be manu......

Yeah, agree that Parker is a good player... Maybe even one who can develop very well if he moves on to a big club... ;)

But the current situation with the midfield at OT means that Fergie won't be looking to buy him for at least a couple more seasons, and that's if he does want Parker... :o

OreoCookies
10-12-2003, 07:31 PM

Kleberson looks to be doing quite well playing behind the lone striker, and Scholes can operate from that position effectively too...

Perhaps we can save the money on a withdrawn striker, if we can play Kleberson and Scholes in that 'hole' more often? That'll also ease on the CM problem, which will bring Butt right back into the picture... ;)

RVN
10-12-2003, 07:33 PM
Hate to see Butt goes, even if he does, we still got enough cover in midfield, Scholes, Keane, Phil Neville, Kleberson, Eric Djemba Djemba, Giggs, Ronaldo, Solskjaer, Fletcher and maybe chance for Chris Eagles to made into the first-team.

OreoCookies
10-12-2003, 07:35 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Agreed... We've all seen Scholes deputise on the left before, and I guess I can safely say that his best efforts have come from the middle of the park... Fortune seems pretty okay with a left-midfield berth, but I don't expect him to perform as well as Giggsy when it comes to taking-on and beating defenders with the ball at his feet...

OreoCookies
10-12-2003, 07:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Hate to see Butt goes, even if he does, we still got enough cover in midfield, Scholes, Keane, Phil Neville, Kleberson, Eric Djemba Djemba, Giggs, Ronaldo, Solskjaer, Fletcher and maybe chance for Chris Eagles to made into the first-team.

Butt is still a valuable squad player, no matter what... Seems like playing second-fiddle is a huge obstacle to him... I guess that after all the years of service and loyalty to Man Utd, it is only right for him to expect more regular footy after all... :o

RVN
10-12-2003, 07:49 PM
Nicky Butt could be heading for clear-the-air talks following his revelations that he may have to move on to find first-team football.

Apart from injury breaks Butt has been an ever-present for England and had an outstanding World Cup last year, but the Manchester-born player seems to have lost his way at Old Trafford.

Butt has started only four Premiership games this season and has found himself edged out by the summer signing of Brazilian star Kleberson, and Cameroon international Eric Djemba-Djemba plus the emergence of teenager Darren Fletcher.

Comments to the Manchester Evening News during which Butt said he was "far from happy " with the current situation have led to him being linked to several clubs with speculation he might move on during the January transfer window.

But asked for his side of things Sir Alex Ferguson said: "I don't know what you are talking about. He's not said anything to me so I can't comment on something he hasn't spoken to me about."

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,733767,00.html

RVN
10-12-2003, 08:56 PM
Wes Brown has been named in United's reserve team squad to face Bristol City at Ashton Gate tonight.

The defender has not yet featured for United this season after rupturing his cruciate ligament for the second time in his career in the Reds' final game of last season at Everton.

Sir Alex Ferguson has been delighted with Wes's progress since his knee surgery in the summer and is hoping to have him back in the first team squad in the next few weeks.

"Wes has done everything we have asked of him and is now ready to play again," explained Sir Alex.

"He will get his chance against Bristol City and should be back in the senior squad within the next couple of weeks."

The full squad to face Bristol City is:
Ben Williams (GK)
James Jowsey (GK)
Lee Sims
Daniel Pugh
Wes Brown
Phillip Bardsley
David Jones
Chris Eagles
Paul Tierney
Neil Wood
Kenny Cooper
Daniel Nardiello
Matty Williams
Phil Picken
David Poole
Kieran Richardson

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=50165&itype=466&icategoryid=120

LiquidSilver
10-12-2003, 10:42 PM
i'm a man utd fan and was pleased with last night's result though i did find the match abit boring. you all keep saying phil neville is in top form, i really dont see how exceptional he is, he looks very ordinary to me. give me butt over phil anytime. yesterday i see the midfield lineup i feel really jialat, fortune,phil,scholes,fletcher. i know its not full strength n a test for youngsters but the lineup still looks sad to me. only scholes is a class act, lastime the midfield players are really the best of the best in their postions, keane giggs scholes beckham playing regularly together whereas now have only decent players and very hard to put up a really POWER midfield, dunno how they are gonna handle other clubs' class midfielders. think fortune n phil will be totally outplayed by real madrid's superstars so pray we only meet them in final

RVN
10-12-2003, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by LiquidSilver
i'm a man utd fan and was pleased with last night's result though i did find the match abit boring. you all keep saying phil neville is in top form, i really dont see how exceptional he is, he looks very ordinary to me. give me butt over phil anytime. yesterday i see the midfield lineup i feel really jialat, fortune,phil,scholes,fletcher. i know its not full strength n a test for youngsters but the lineup still looks sad to me. only scholes is a class act, lastime the midfield players are really the best of the best in their postions, keane giggs scholes beckham playing regularly together whereas now have only decent players and very hard to put up a really POWER midfield, dunno how they are gonna handle other clubs' class midfielders. think fortune n phil will be totally outplayed by real madrid's superstars so pray we only meet them in final

Phil protect our back 4, hes a defensive midfielder, thats why don't see him attacking much, It was for the likes of Giggs and Scholes that provide our cutting edge in attack in support for Ruud.

ccloh
10-12-2003, 11:20 PM
phil neville is never those player that could create chances for striker or even join up the attack. he is those typical defensive midfielder that pull in all those tackles in front of the back 4. in layman term doing all those dirty work aka unsung hero. that is why u don;t find player of this type of role any special and eye catching. their performance is based on how well they break up the opponent formation to an attack.

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 12:35 AM
Even amongst the Galatico of Real Madrid, there are players who are hardly noticed... Makelele and Geremi were two of them... And there's Cambiasso, Guti, Solari, and more, who're not always deemed as classy as Zidane, Raul, Ronaldo, etc... ;)

Every team needs to have a balance between the match-winners and the team-players... Reliance on flair alone won't win a match for you... Players like Phil Neville, Fortune, Butt, etc. provide the stability as a platform for Giggsy, Scholes, Ronaldo, etc. to launch those devastating attacks on the opponents...

The current midfield line-up may not seem very world-class, but give it some time, and I'm sure it'll develop into a combination that can rival - if not beat - the Giggs-Keane-Scholes-Becks variation...

Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Ronaldo... In time to come, they will prove their class and worth in the middle of the park for Man Utd... :D

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 12:36 AM
i really hate and gutted to see rio and sliv pairing breaking up....they hav prove to be rock solid so far this season.....one rio is ban...i doubt brown will pair up very well w sliv....:(

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 12:36 AM
Even amongst the Galatico of Real Madrid, there are players who are hardly noticed... Makelele and Geremi were two of them... And there's Cambiasso, Guti, Solari, and more, who're not always deemed as classy as Zidane, Raul, Ronaldo, etc... ;)

Every team needs to have a balance between the match-winners and the team-players... Reliance on flair alone won't win a match for you... Players like Phil Neville, Fortune, Butt, etc. provide the stability as a platform for Giggsy, Scholes, Ronaldo, etc. to launch those devastating attacks on the opponents...

The current midfield line-up may not seem very world-class, but give it some time, and I'm sure it'll develop into a combination that can rival - if not beat - the Giggs-Keane-Scholes-Becks variation...

Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Ronaldo... In time to come, they will prove their class and worth in the middle of the park for Man Utd... :D

:D

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 01:20 AM
i really hate and gutted to see rio and sliv pairing breaking up....they hav prove to be rock solid so far this season.....one rio is ban...i doubt brown will pair up very well w sliv....:(

Brown isn't too bad a defender... He should be able to stand-in ably for Rio if and when the need arises... ;)

BTW, do you think Fergie will stick to the Rio-Silvestre partnership when Brown returns? Coz SAF has always believed that the Rio-Brown combo would be the fulcrum of Man Utd's future backline... :o

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 01:34 AM

Brown isn't too bad a defender... He should be able to stand-in ably for Rio if and when the need arises... ;)

BTW, do you think Fergie will stick to the Rio-Silvestre partnership when Brown returns? Coz SAF has always believed that the Rio-Brown combo would be the fulcrum of Man Utd's future backline... :o

rule of the game....nv change a winning pair....rio and sliv is rock solid....those kind of understanding u need the time and the lots of time on the training ground to work it out....

Alienz
11-12-2003, 01:43 AM

rule of the game....nv change a winning pair....rio and sliv is rock solid....those kind of understanding u need the time and the lots of time on the training ground to work it out....
Yeah agree, Rio and Sliv is very solid.........

Alienz
11-12-2003, 01:45 AM

If Brown returns, I doubt Fergie will make Rio-Brown as partnership in most of the match.........

Alienz
11-12-2003, 01:47 AM
Ruud delight at joining United hall of fame

MANCHESTER (AFP) - Ruud van Nistelrooy has revealed his delight at equalling Denis Law's 34-year European goalscoring record for Manchester United.

The Dutch striker's first half header in a 2-0 win over Stuttgart was his 28th goals in 30 European matches, equalling Law's total in three games less than it took the United legend to set the record in the sixties.

"I am proud I have equalled the record of a player like Denis Law," van Nistelrooy said.

"I have a lot of respect for him, I've seen videos of him in his heyday and he was a great goalscorer. And I only have to look at his record to realise how good he was. I also hear a lot of stories of how good a striker Denis was.

"United have a great history and all those players are still heroes here and it is great to be level with him. I respect him so much and what he achieved."

Law, who is currently recovering from surgery for prostate cancer, is widely regarded as United's greatest ever striker. But Van Nistelrooy is well on his way to replacing him.

His European tally is part of a record of 95 goals in 123 games for United, including 51 in 52 in front of the Old Trafford faithful -- little wonder that Sir Alex Ferguson hailed him as "phenomenal" after Wednesday's match.

Van Nistelrooy followed up his goal by making United's second for Ryan Giggs as the English champions ensured they would win group E, and, as a result, avoid the likes of Milan and Real Madrid in Friday's draw for the first knockout round of the competition."

"I think that is a positive. That is what we wanted," van Nistelrooy added.

"We played well and it was a great performance from all the team. We have a great record at Old Trafford and we showed what we can do."

"Our play was outstanding. We created many chances and didn't give anything away. That's the way we should play and it feels good to be a part of that.

"Giggsy created one for me and I thought giving one back for him would be nice and that's what I was able to do.

"He deserved his goal. It is fantastic to play with him up front and it paid off."

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 01:50 AM
brown and sliv still can work out but u dun really wan to try this pair during the most important period of the championship.....

one way is to get a top class or gd defender to pair w sliv.....at least they will gel more faster.....

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 01:55 AM

Circumstances are not always under control... Injuries and other problems can take their toll to any winning combo... :o

Honestly, if Brown hasn't been so unfortunate with the injuries and all, I reckon it'll have been between him and Rio to guard the back for Man Utd now... Silvestre would've been appearing more at left-back instead... ;)

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 01:58 AM

If Brown returns, I doubt Fergie will make Rio-Brown as partnership in most of the match.........

Maybe not immediately, but there's still a chance of that happening... Perhaps later on in the season, or even next season...

I kinda' miss Silvestre's bursts down the left, actually... O'Shea and Fortune are still doing well in supporting the attack, but Silvestre's pace, ball-control, and natural left-foot still wins by a mile... :D

RVN
11-12-2003, 02:00 AM

Yeah agree, Rio and Sliv is very solid.........

Could be Rio last match for us after the City match, his hearing on Dec 18 and 19, Goodness know how long he be suspended. :( :mad:

Brown and Silvestre, the new central defensive pairing then, not sure if it worked. Think we need to also buy an experienced defender in Jan. ;)

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 02:00 AM
brown and sliv still can work out but u dun really wan to try this pair during the most important period of the championship.....

one way is to get a top class or gd defender to pair w sliv.....at least they will gel more faster.....

Brown should be good enough to deputise for Rio... His pace and tackling are solid enough to cope with the EPL matches...

Don't think FA ban (if any) is going to apply to Euro matches, so CL shouldn't be a problem there... :D

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 02:02 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Could be Rio last match for us after the City match, his hearing on Dec 18 and 19, Goodness know how long he be suspended. :( :mad:

Brown and Silvestre, the new central defensive pairing then, not sure if it worked. Think we need to also buy an experienced defender in Jan. ;)

If need experience and a good reader of the game, can always play Gary Neville at centre-half... He can switch with Brown if necessary... ;)