PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

RVN
11-12-2003, 02:09 AM
SIR Alex Ferguson has the one thing Manchester City fans fear most going into Saturday’s derby – a full strength squad to pick from.

The Reds boss has the luxury of being able to pick his strongest side, with only Ole Solskjaer and Wes Brown, players who in any case would have been unlikely to start, missing from action.

And that means that United are sure to go all out for the win that will not only boost their own title hopes, but also win back local pride following last season’s paltry return of a solitary point from the two games.

Much of Ferguson’s side will pick itself, with Tim Howard in goal; Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand and Mikael Silvestre taking three of the defensive positions and Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs and Ruud van Nistelrooy certs further forward.

Paul Scholes made a welcome return to the starting XI in midweek and is almost certain to start against City, possibly at the expense of Phil Neville in the centre, though he could also play further upfield as a partner for van Nistelrooy.

The right wing position is up for grabs with Darren Fletcher, Ronaldo and Kleberson all in contention, while the left wing position will go to either Giggs or Quinton Fortune. Should Fortune play in midfield, Giggs will start in attack meaning that Diego Forlan will have to settle for a place on the bench.

Ferguson’s final decision will be who to play at left back. John O’Shea is the obvious choice, but Fortune has also impressed in defence, while Phil Neville could find himself moving back to fullback despite earning rave reviews in midfield.

With the Champions League winter break kicking in, Ferguson will use the game to field what he regards as his strongest line-up, so it will be interesting to see who makes the starting line-up.

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 02:09 AM
Originally posted by OreoCookies

Don't think FA ban (if any) is going to apply to Euro matches, so CL shouldn't be a problem there... :D

u forgot abt that fat blatter.....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 02:28 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

u forgot abt that fat blatter.....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Blatter comes more into play at the international level... Unless he can pressure UEFA into submission... :o

UEFA should be strong enough to stand their own ground... The president (Lennart Johansson) is not exactly on the best-of-terms with Blatter after all...

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 02:30 AM
Okay... Last year's derby defeat at the hands of City woke us up, just in time to end the season on a high... Hopefully this weekend's match will spur us on to an even better run... :D

:bounce:

RVN
11-12-2003, 02:33 AM
The FA have tell Blatter not to mess around with rio punishnment and told him not to interfere.

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 02:41 AM
Okay... Last year's derby defeat at the hands of City woke us up, just in time to end the season on a high... Hopefully this weekend's match will spur us on to an even better run... :D

:bounce:

cant watch the match this wkend.....:sad: :sad: ArGHHHHH

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 02:43 AM
Originally posted by RVN
The FA have tell Blatter not to mess around with rio punishnment and told him not to interfere.

That's only at the domestic level... Beyond that is not within the FA's control liaoz... :(

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 02:44 AM

cant watch the match this wkend.....:sad: :sad: ArGHHHHH

He he... I also... But mine is a lame reason... Coz I got no cable TV... :laugh:

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 02:46 AM

He he... I also... But mine is a lame reason... Coz I got no cable TV... :laugh:

got work this sat....i hate to miss a match especially a derby.....:mad:

RVN
11-12-2003, 02:52 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson is ready to offer Manchester United's teenage winger Cristiano Ronaldo a three-week winter break.

However, the Portuguese youngster may have to wait until after Christmas for his holiday.

Ronaldo burst onto the Premiership scene with a memorable debut against Bolton in August and is viewed as an exciting prospect for the future by the United boss.

Ferguson is keen to limit Ronaldo's appearances this term and opted to leave him out of Tuesday night's Champions League encounter with Stuttgart despite his hefty £12.24m transfer fee.

The 18-year-old will probably be back in the Red Devils squad for Saturday's Manchester derby at Old Trafford and with the busy festive period looming, Ferguson admitted he needs as many of his men on hand as possible as United look to enhance their Premier League title prospects.

However, the long-term intention is to give Ronaldo some time off in an effort to ensure he is fresh again for the season's end.

"He is only 18 and we have to be careful how we use him,'' said Ferguson.

"The secret will be giving him a good long rest, maybe for about three weeks, which will allow him to come on again later in the season.

"You are never quite sure about how players of his age are going to develop physically but we need everyone available at the moment because this is such a hectic month.''

Could it be when Solskjaer returns, he will have his break. :rolleyes:

RVN
11-12-2003, 06:12 AM
CL opponent in the last 16, draw take place on Friday.

Bayern
Lokomotive
Deportivo
Real Sociedad
Porto
Celta Vigo
Sparta Prague.

no really easy ties there. Probably Prague or Lokomotiv for me would seem the better one for us.

mOOnfish
11-12-2003, 06:38 AM
whahahaha~~ got this weird feeling that it is gonna be Bayern again~~

RVN
11-12-2003, 06:42 AM
Originally posted by mOOnfish
whahahaha~~ got this weird feeling that it is gonna be Bayern again~~

Grrr, hope not, pray we can have the luck of the draw. ;)

RVN
11-12-2003, 08:05 AM
The returns for Ruud van Nistelrooy on the 28 goals he has scored for Manchester United in the Champions League look set to stretch far beyond a share of the club record with Denis Law and earn the Dutch striker a new contract that will make him one of the highest earners at Old Trafford.

The 27-year-old is reaching the halfway point in a deal signed in the summer of 2001 and the player's agent, Rodger Linse, will be in Manchester over the weekend in the expectation that negotiations will begin soon on a new contract.

The hints from Real Madrid that they have identified the Dutchman as their next high-profile signing will only strengthen United's resolve to reward their top goalscorer.

Van Nistelrooy will seek the kind of deal that will reflect his status as the club's most indispensable player after he signed for United 2.5 years ago for relatively modest wages, believed to be about £35,000 a week. The deal was almost identical to the contract Linse had negotiated the previous year, before Van Nistelrooy suffered a damaged cruciate knee ligament.

Having spent a year having the knee rebuilt, Van Nistelrooy, sold by PSV Eindhoven for £19.5 million, still represented a risk for United, who got the player for less than half the wage their top earner, Roy Keane, commands.

The United captain is understood to earn more than £100,000 a week and though Van Nistelrooy might not attain that level in his next contract, he would certainly be on course to become the club's top earner.

United went through a busy period up to the signing of Rio Ferdinand in the summer of last year when former chief executive Peter Kenyon and his successor renegotiated deals for nine of United's senior players, including David Beckham, to make sure none of them was eligible for a Bosman free transfer. While they have secured the older generation of players, it is the younger recruits such as Van Nistelrooy, Rio Ferdinand and Mikael Silvestre who will be the next challenge.

Meanwhile, Van Nistelrooy said after the Stuttgart game that United had shown the kind of attacking menace lacking in their visit to Germany in October. "I think it showed that we are better than our performance in Stuttgart," Van Nistelrooy said. "It was a good goal, our play was outstanding to create as many chances and not give anything away. I think that's the way we have to play in Europe.

"I'm proud that I equalled Denis Law's record, especially a player like him, that's fantastic. I have a lot of respect for him. I only have to look at his record, that tells me enough. I have heard a lot of stories about how good he was. There is a great history to this club and all those players are still heroes here.

"Giggsy created one goal for me and I felt that doing something back would be nice - he deserved it. He's a fantastic player. Our partnership paid off.

"The good thing is that we can't draw Juventus, AC Milan or Madrid. That's what we wanted and we are happy with that."

United have also come close to finalising the terms of Kenyon's departure to Chelsea in a deal that should enable him to start work at Stamford Bridge in the new year. The United plc board have been keen to ensure that Kenyon is not working for Chelsea before the end of the transfer window next month.

Sources at United have confirmed that the new agreement struck between the clubs is not likely to involve any compensation for the Premiership champions, but will mean that Chelsea cover Kenyon's salary and bonuses - believed to be about £500,000 - for the period he has been on gardening leave.

The relations between the two clubs have been strained since Kenyon's departure in September. United have made an official complaint to the Premier League that they believe Kenyon was poached illegally, amid fears that he breached the terms of his gardening leave by attempting to negotiate a deal for Real Madrid's Michel Salgado.

http://sport.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2003/12/11/sfnman11.xml&sSheet=/sport/2003/12/11/ixfooty.html

Nocturne
11-12-2003, 09:10 AM
Hi all, Man Utd fan here as well. Did not realised that there is a post dedicated for Man Utd. Hope to discuss Man Utd topics with you guys here in future. :)

Also, I will be watching the Manchester derby at Old Trafford this Saturday. :)

Cheers.

ccloh
11-12-2003, 09:36 AM

me too :(

ccloh
11-12-2003, 09:40 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Bayern
Lokomotive
Deportivo
Real Sociedad
Porto
Celta Vigo
Sparta Prague.

no really easy ties there. Probably Prague or Lokomotiv for me would seem the better one for us.

hmm i thought there next opponent could only be either porto, sparta prague or celta vigo. thought they divide into 2 half for it. that my impression for it.

kengbeng
11-12-2003, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by Nocturne
Hi all, Man Utd fan here as well. Did not realised that there is a post dedicated for Man Utd. Hope to discuss Man Utd topics with you guys here in future. :)

Cheers.
You're welcome here. :)

Just hope that you're not a clone.

RuMmYtUb
11-12-2003, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Bayern
Lokomotive
Deportivo
Real Sociedad
Porto
Celta Vigo
Sparta Prague.

Actually all ok with me, dun give us Bayern can liao!!!

cracker
11-12-2003, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

There is a high chance Bayern Munich might be paired with Real again !!!...cos teams from same country arent supposed to be drawn together.

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by Nocturne

Cheers.

Welcome, Bro... ;)

So you're flying all the way to England for the match? Hope you have an enjoyable time there then... :D

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 12:00 PM
Originally posted by ccloh

me too :(

Heh... There's still the pub option... Or else as a last resort, read Soccernet.com score update lor... :o

:laugh:

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 12:02 PM

Maybe we'll get Spanish opposition? We seem to be pretty okay when it comes to playing Spainards do far (with the exception of Real :( )...

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 01:10 PM
bryan doesnt look that strong this yr.....i think okie to draw w them.....:D

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 01:24 PM

They are still a team that is capable of rising to the occassion as and when necessary... Still have to be cautious if we're to draw them... ;)

OKK77
11-12-2003, 01:37 PM

Bryan Chung, you mean? *laughs*

guoquanyap
11-12-2003, 01:42 PM
Originally posted by OKK77

Bryan Chung, you mean? *laughs*

*opps*.....:laugh: :laugh: Bayern i mean....

RVN
11-12-2003, 04:05 PM
Manchester United are planning to offer Ruud van Nistelrooy a five-year deal which could double his wages.
The Dutch striker is midway through a five-year deal at Old Trafford, with reported wages of £40,000 per week.

But reported interest from Real Madrid has prompted Sir Alex Ferguson to table a bid worth about £80,000 per week, according to reports.

The 27-year-old has scored 95 goals in 123 United games and Ferguson said: "We are progressing with his contract."

Real's interest in the Dutch striker has prompted Manchester United to make Van Nistelrooy's contract a priority.

Former United midfielder David Beckham has admitted he would like to play alongside Van Nistelrooy again and Ronaldo has also declared his admiration for the striker.

But any new Old Trafford deal would elevate Van Nistelrooy alongside the likes of Roy Keane and Rio Ferdinand.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3309263.stm

QUICK SIGN THE NEW DEAL, THAT WILL SHUT BECKHAM AND HIS TEAM-MATE RONALDO UP.:bounce:

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 04:42 PM
I would think that RVN is loyal and committed enough to resist any move away from Old Trafford... He's a star in his own right, there's no need to move to Real to prove that you can be the best in your role & position... ;)

ccloh
11-12-2003, 04:45 PM
Remebered that fergie wanted to sign him but later on hold 'cos of his almost career threatening injury and after 1 yr, ferige still have faith in him and sign him up. don;t think he is that ungrateful enough to leave just like that.

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 04:53 PM
Remebered that fergie wanted to sign him but later on hold 'cos of his almost career threatening injury and after 1 yr, ferige still have faith in him and sign him up. don;t think he is that ungrateful enough to leave just like that.

:D

The wise uncle speaketh... :laugh:

Besides, Fergie has always kept faith with RVN, playing him regularly in the first XI even when he was off-form... ;)

RVN
11-12-2003, 04:56 PM
Whatever, Ruud won't be leaving hes already stated his happinese with us, hopefully he sign the new deal soon.

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/031211/323/egsxm.html

RuMmYtUb
11-12-2003, 06:05 PM

:laugh: :rolleyes: :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
11-12-2003, 06:08 PM
Do u all think SAF will let go Nicky Butt if Sir Bobby tables a 7m bid ?
He's known to have interest in Butt for very long time..

Yellowfin
11-12-2003, 06:15 PM
Do u all think SAF will let go Nicky Butt if Sir Bobby tables a 7m bid ?
He's known to have interest in Butt for very long time..

Maybe. I hope Butt will stay to fight for his place. In fact, his form really dip this year as compare to his form before being injured.

Maybe by changing to a new club will help him regain his form.

RuMmYtUb
11-12-2003, 06:21 PM
Butt fight with Ronaldo (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=41790&seg=EPL&teamid=)

:( :(

RVN
11-12-2003, 06:42 PM
Butt fight with Ronaldo (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=41790&seg=EPL&teamid=)

Oh no, he is risking the wrath of Fergie by doing this. :(

RVN
11-12-2003, 07:24 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson is understood to be angry with Real Madrid's alleged interest in star striker Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The fiery Scot has told Real that there is not going to be a repeat of the situation with David Beckham last season, when the whispering campaign that began in the Madrid media, eventually led to fever-pitch speculation that the midfielder was on his way to El Santiago Bernabeu.

Of course, that was the case in the summer, but the speculation seemed to influence matters somewhat with the England captain left out of the second leg with Real at Old Trafford, only to enter the fray too late even for his two goals to have the desired effect of turning the tie around.

With van Nistelrooy in sizzling form in the UEFA Champions League, equalling Denis Law's European scoring record for the club, Ferguson is determined that the Dutchman will not be subjected to a similar frenzy regarding his future.

"We are progressing well with his contract," commented Ferguson, who is likely to clarify his feelings on Real's alleged interest in the former PSV Eindhoven striker in the near future.

A new deal is reportedly on offer for van Nistelrooy, which could double his wages, as United are understandably desperate to keep their attacking spearhead.

Madrid daily Marca, which has extremely good contacts with insiders at Real, claims the 27-year-old is president Florentino Perez's chief target for 2004.

The Spanish champions have promised to sign another 'Galactico' in the summer, and van Nistelrooy certainly falls into that category.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1114825,00.html

RVN
11-12-2003, 07:46 PM
quinton fortune and eric djemba djemba will both be off for a month for the african nations cup. couple that with keano playing only one game a week and i think butt's got a decent role to play.

he's actually had more appearances this season than you'd think if you look at the stats, he's just not been in the first choice team at any stage.

I do hope he's not falling for the same thing andy cole fell for - leave united and you'll get in the england squad for the finals. didn't work for cole and I don't think staying with us would harm butt's england chances at all.

So butty, please stay. :( ;)

LiquidSilver
11-12-2003, 08:08 PM

wah players are paid match appearance in addition to their weekly wage:eek:

cracker
11-12-2003, 08:26 PM

Woah,,,,Butt is literally fighting for his place !:D

yellow_submarine
11-12-2003, 08:48 PM
Butt will go.SAF will never accept Butt's complaint to the press. I think we will lose Butt. If Butt has the patience to wait for his turn like Fortune he will get his chance and show his hunger like a tiger unleashed.
Phil was a fringe player too.He patiently waited and played in any postion that SAF throws at him.

Too bad Butt is not getting any younger and he doesn't have the time to wait.So the possibilty of him leaving is very high.
Too many youngsters like Fletcher,Djemba, Klerberson and Ronaldo are also waiting too.

RVN
11-12-2003, 10:18 PM
Wes Brown made his return for United's Reserves on Wednesday night at Ashton Gate in a 3-3 friendly draw against Bristol City's second-string.

Goals from Daniel Nardiello, Kenny Cooper and a 90th-minute Matty Williams equaliser gave Ricky Sbragia's a draw, but it was the return of Wes Brown that United will feel most pleased about.

The 24-year-old central defender, making his first appearance since injuring knee ligaments against Everton seven months ago, played an hour before making way for Paul McShane.

The good news is Wes appeared to suffer no ill-affects, putting in plenty of challenges, moving freely and making an assured comeback. Wes says he is now ready for a first team return.

"I am ready any time now for a return. I just need match practice," said the defender. "I have had no immediate reaction. I came off after an hour as planned."

It is unlikely to expect Wes to play against City on Saturday, but he should play for the reserves against Middlesbrough on Wednesday (17 Dec) next week, and could be in involved with the first team for Spurs away (20 Dec) or Everton at Old Trafford on Boxing Day.

Daniel Nardiello got United off to a good start with a simple tap in on 18 minutes following good work in the area from Matty Williams.

But, right on half time, Leroy Lita set-up Ryan Harley to bring the scores level at 1-1. Lita then gave Bristol City the lead after 51 minutes. But United's American forward Kenny Cooper made it 2-2 five minutes later.

Paul McShane had only been on the field five minutes when he brought down 18-year-old Lita in the box. The Congo-born forward made no mistake from the spot to give the home side the lead and what looked like a win.

But, in the 90th-minute Matty Williams latched on to substitute David Jones' through-ball and finished neatly to give United a last-gasp draw.

United: B.Williams (Jowsey 46); Sims, Bardsley (Picken 57), Brown (McShane 60), Pugh; Eagles, Jones, Wood, Richardson (Poole 57); Nardiello (Cooper 53), M.Williams.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=50200&itype=466&icategoryid=120

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 10:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Oh no, he is risking the wrath of Fergie by doing this. :(

Hmm... The incident seems to have happened at least a week or two ago... Hopefully the situation is calmer now... :(

Butt's frustration is understandable, but having been at OT for so long, he should have developed a very good understanding of Fergie's ways by now...

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 10:42 PM
Wes Brown is coming back! :D

That should provide some much-needed cover for our defence, going into the holiday season... ;)

Nocturne
11-12-2003, 11:34 PM

Welcome, Bro... ;)

So you're flying all the way to England for the match? Hope you have an enjoyable time there then... :D

Thanks for the welcome. :)

I am actually a student in England. Had been living in England for over 2 years and counting (not in Manchester though).

BTW, what is the "clone" KengBeng referring to? :confused:

OreoCookies
11-12-2003, 11:34 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I read in the paper yesterday that he found his position at United "dire". If hes unhappy at the club, will he really be able to get back onto the team with such a negative mentality? Only he can answer that, I guess, but I would personally find it hard to work your arse off somewhere where youre not happy...Fergie won't want that kind of player to be in the team. :(

It really depends on how Butt allows this negative mentality to manifest... He can choose between proving Fergie wrong for leaving him out of the first XI for so long, or he can choose to let the unhappiness affect his on-field performance... :o

I don't think it'll take Fergie long to comprehend Butt's response... I just hope Butt won't make too big a meal out of the entire situation, and that he'll put all the negative emotions to some positive use...

Nocturne
11-12-2003, 11:37 PM
I am quite sad when Beckham left.
I will be equally sad if Butt is going as well.
Both are great players for the club.

RuMmYtUb
12-12-2003, 12:32 AM
I have a feeling we'll lose Butt sooner or later juz as how Becks was @ Real..

RVN
12-12-2003, 12:36 AM
he'd be daft to leave in january. he should give it until the end of the season. if he's still behind keano, phil, kleb, fortune and djemba at that stage then i think it would be in everyones best interest for him to move on.

my belief is if he's here for the whole of this season he'll get the chance he needs. Keano rested, Eric and Fortune going to african nation cup duty in Jan. there is still hope for Butty to win his place back, I rather he stay with us.

Ch3tah_39
12-12-2003, 01:01 AM
hope he stay on lorz:)

orca_sea
12-12-2003, 01:35 AM

It really depends on how Butt allows this negative mentality to manifest... He can choose between proving Fergie wrong for leaving him out of the first XI for so long, or he can choose to let the unhappiness affect his on-field performance... :o

I don't think it'll take Fergie long to comprehend Butt's response... I just hope Butt won't make too big a meal out of the entire situation, and that he'll put all the negative emotions to some positive use...

I tink itz quite understandable bcos i tink he wants to play for England veri much for the nxt yr Euro.. bcos it may his last chance to represent England in such big competition so he wants to play more in the first team so as to convince Sven Eriksson tat he's the man to be in England 1st XI .. on the other hand he must hav taken ref on wat happened to Fabien Bathez where he virtually lose his No. 1 place in the France National team ever since he has been dropped in pecking order... Haiz can onli say tat Luck n time iz nt on his side...:( But realli i hope things could turn out well n he will stand bcos i believe nxt season he will hav more chances bcos Keano may reverted to more of the Central Defence role like wat iz Hierro to RM 2 seasons ago...

ccloh
12-12-2003, 09:42 AM
i supposed instead of complaining, he should train hard and impress fergie more like the case of ole. remember ole was once a target for spurs while he was playing 2nd fiddle to andy cole and dwright yroke and after the talk with fergie, he decided to stay back and now u can see the patient paid off for him. well ole wasn't any younger at that pt of time and there was once a signal from the norway coach that if he didn't get enough 1st choice appearance, his place inthe national team would be jepoardise too.

butt in my opinion is a decent player. in fact he broke into utd 1st team even before the like of beckham, neville and scholes well just after giggs and he was once tipped to take over the governer job in the midfield from keane just like keane took over from paul ince and ince took over from bryan robson. however he was never the quality as those players in commanding the midfield but got quite a decent performance not to be leave out also.

RuMmYtUb
12-12-2003, 10:40 AM
Actually Butt should be patient because Keano won't be running in every game, Fergie will preserve Keane for crucial matches, so if i were Butt, i think there's still space and chance to shine..

RVN
12-12-2003, 11:26 AM
EXCLUSIVE
Jorge Valdano has told skysports.com that Ruud van Nistelrooy would get into any team in the world, but refused to be drawn on speculation that Real Madrid were preparing a move for the Dutchman.
Reports in the Spanish media claim that the reigning Spanish champions have identified van Nistelrooy as their next superstar signing, and will move for him at the end of the season.

The speculation has led Sir Alex Ferguson to launch a strong denial that Manchester United would consider selling the former PSV Eindhoven star, but Valdano has refused to rule out a move for the hit-man.

However, playing down the story, Valdano told skysports.com: "In this case we can only talk and wouldn't be able to work on anything.

"It is still too soon to talk about reinforcements for next season when we are still in the first part of this one.

"However, a player like van Nistelrooy would have a place in any team in the world, including Real Madrid.

"I ask you: Who would not want to sign the Dutchman?"

Some sources in Spain have even suggested that Real have already contacted the player's agent to sound him out over a possible move to El Santiago Bernabeu.

Valdano's comments are only likely to heighten speculation that Real are preparing to try and lure another of Manchester United's stars to Spain, as they did with David Beckham in the summer.

leslielai
12-12-2003, 11:29 AM
No way they're gonna get Ruud. Not even for 80 million pounds.

RVN
12-12-2003, 11:31 AM
He is signing a new deal with us soon, Real can **** off. :mad:

Fergie is also annoyed with this as well. :mad:

guoquanyap
12-12-2003, 03:02 PM
butt is going soon....no one has 'survived' when they decided to go to the media and voice their unhappiness......

RVN
12-12-2003, 03:52 PM
butt is going soon....no one has 'survived' when they decided to go to the media and voice their unhappiness......

wait and see what happen first. :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
12-12-2003, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN

wait and see what happen first. :rolleyes:

but if butt really go....manu will lose a damn valuable player and and gain to whichever club who buy him......

RVN
12-12-2003, 04:07 PM

but if butt really go....manu will lose a damn valuable player and and gain to whichever club who buy him......

Thats why I like to see him stay at OT and fight for his place, It would be a big shame for him to leave, Its not that hes a bad player or anything, just that the competition for midfield in the team is so intense, Phil Neville, Keane, Scholes, Fortune, Kleberson and Djemba Djemba are all fighting to be in the starting line-up. it does look bleak for Butt. :(

Dolphin1977
12-12-2003, 04:36 PM

he is a piece of crap! Doubt he can wear the white shirt again if he leave MU....

damm lazy attitude...... complaining and complaining
if he is gd enuff, u think SAF dun want to play him meh?
look at the way fortune, ole and phil comes through...

We should see how he going to rot in other team.... ahem..

Alienz
12-12-2003, 06:32 PM
Power-hungry Ferguson faces boardroom revolt

LONDON (AFP) - Alex Ferguson's future as Manchester United manager is reportedly being challenged by a group of Old Trafford directors who claim he is power-hungry.

The 62-year-old Ferguson expected to be offered a three-year extension to his current contract which would keep him at the club until 2007.

But The Daily Mirror reported Friday that rebel shareholders want to offer the Scot a one-year rolling contract when his deal runs out in 18 months' time.

Ferguson's legal dispute with Irish racing tycoon John Magnier, the club's biggest shareholder, is at the centre of the dispute that could divide directors at a board meeting on Friday.

Ferguson will be stunned to hear that the 15 million pound deal is being questioned.

Only last week he said: "The contract is with the lawyers. We will go through it, but I think it is all straightforward. It won't be signed just yet but we have agreed the details."

But one director told the Mirror: "We're being held to ransom. Alex wants everything his own way, but who is running United?"

Ferguson did not win anything for the first six years at Old Trafford but he has piled up the trophies since then with eight Premierships, four FA Cups and one European Cup.

Ferguson had been insisting his annual pay is upped to 5 million pounds a year from January 2004.

And he staggered the board by insisting his new pay package is backdated to the beginning of 2003.

They have expressed concern about Ferguson's health after his recent heart scare but the Mirror says he has refused to appoint an assistant and future successor, and will not sign a clause stipulating he would step down if any of his on-going court battles prove an embarrassment to the club.

One boardroom director, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said: "This is crazy. We're being held to ransom.

"Alex wants everything all his own way. But you've got to ask who is running Manchester United?

"This is one of the biggest clubs in the world, it's a huge business, and were being held to ransom. Something has got to give."

Sir Alex has been told that he cannot be given the lengthy contract he wants because it would upset City backers who say it is bad business practice.

"Nobody has signed anything yet. There are still discussions and negotiations going on," a source said.

"Alex has made it clear he wants a long-term deal, but some are convinced that may not be in the best interests of the club or its shareholders.

"We're a global business concern and can't be held to ransom by one rather bullying and menacing man - no matter how successful the team have been, or will be, in future, on the pitch.

"Alex is not bigger than Manchester United though I'm not too sure he would necessarily agree with that statement."

Ferguson is suing Magnier over ownership of champion racehorse Rock of Gibraltar and its potential 100 million pound stud fees.

Magnier, who has a 24 per cent share in United in tandem with partner JP McManus, is said to be "spitting blood" that his old friend Sir Alex is challenging his word over what he considered to be an innocent gift.

It has emerged that Sir Alex rejected a 200,000 pound olive branch from Magnier to settle the row.

Sir Alex was offered two shares in the colt's northern hemisphere breeding rights each year, plus two in the Australian mating season.

This is despite Sir Alex not paying a penny towards the upkeep of the horse or its training - and believing that the Rock running in his colours meant he was entitled to half it was worth.

One City expert, who asked not to be named, said: "It's a real dilemma what they do with Fergie. He's not your average manager.

"It's easy to see why some people might be resisting giving him a three-year contract.

"You've got the legal action he's started against the Irish connection and the Irish connection's shareholding in the club. Then there is his age and the recent health scare.

"There's also the possibility of a takeover bid for the club.

"Depending on where that came from, the new owners might not want Fergie. If he had a three-year contract they'd have to give him a big fat cheque to go away.

"There's a big difference between him and players who get long contracts.

"You can always transfer a player, but you can't really transfer a manager. So if they didn't want him they'd be legally bound to pay him off."

But another analyst close to the club said it could cause more panic if the United board only give Fergie an extra one-year deal.

"He's been the manager for so long. He was the manager before the club was launched on the stock market and has been ever since.

"There is still no obvious successor and the thing the City hates most is uncertainty. So to give him a short-term contract could cause more panic."

RVN
12-12-2003, 06:56 PM
Well accoding to this story, he is going to signed the new deal. ;)

Manchester United look ready to announce Sir Alex Ferguson's new contract ahead of Saturday's derby clash with Manchester City at Old Trafford.

Announcing the deal ahead of the lunchtime game would be seen as a major PR coup, and the perfect boost for the fans before United face their rivals.

The United manager has been offered a contract extension which will keep him at the club until the summer of 2007 and is already hinting he may stay on beyond that date.

The 61-year-old - the most successful manager in the club's history - was handed the contract last week but has delayed signing it.

Ferguson said: "There are no problems, and there is no rush. We have agreed the details and I think it is basically straightforward."

He added: "I just look at the black bit at the bottom which gives the figures!"

Ferguson had planned to retire in the summer of 2002 but agreed a new three-year deal in February that year and has since shelved all plans of stepping down.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,734837,00.html

RVN
12-12-2003, 07:00 PM
Roy Keane and Tim Howard will return for Manchester United as they face neighbours City in Saturday's lunchtime derby at Old Trafford.

Sir Alex Ferguson turns to his full strength line-up after deciding to rest his skipper and first-choice keeper for Tuesday's Champions League victory over Stuttgart.

The United boss is also set to make other changes to the line-up which started against the Bundesliga leaders with Portuguese youngster Cristiano Ronaldo and Brazilian World Cup winner Kleberson in contention at the expense of John O'Shea and Darren Fletcher.

Quinton Fortune looks favourite for the left full-back position after switching to midfield in midweek with Paul Scholes ready to start his first Premiership game since October.

There is an outside chance Wes Brown could also be added to the squad after recovering from cruciate ligament surgery.

United go into the game looking for their first win over City in three years. Their last victory came at Maine Road in November 2000 when David Beckham scored the only goal of the game from a free-kick.

Since then the rivals have met just three times drawing twice at Old Trafford either side of City's 3-1 win at Maine Road last season.

Squad: Howard, G.Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Fortune, Kleberson, Keane, P.Neville, Giggs, Scholes, van Nistelrooy, Ronaldo, Forlan, O'Shea, Fletcher, Butt, Brown, Carroll.

RVN
12-12-2003, 07:53 PM
decent draw, but they are uefa cup winners, goona be trickery one for us, Ronaldo return home to his homeland. :D

OreoCookies
12-12-2003, 08:19 PM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

he is a piece of crap! Doubt he can wear the white shirt again if he leave MU....

damm lazy attitude...... complaining and complaining
if he is gd enuff, u think SAF dun want to play him meh?
look at the way fortune, ole and phil comes through...

We should see how he going to rot in other team.... ahem..

Butt isn't necessarily lazy... He's just upset at the lack of first team starts this season... And that's understandable considering how he is often overlooked in favour of the new boys like Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson... :o

In a way, things are very much better for Fortune, Solskjaer, and Phil becoz of their versatility... Fortune's conversion to play at left-back, Solskjaer's switch to take over Beckham's right-flank spot, and Phil's performances in the holding midfield role... In contrast, Butt is more specialised in his role in midfield, so we can't really compare his chances with that of Fortune, Ole, Phil... :(

RuMmYtUb
12-12-2003, 08:22 PM
Think we can edge Porto..

OreoCookies
12-12-2003, 08:22 PM
Don't think it matters whether if Fergie signs the new contract before the derby match or not... Coz the fact remains that many of the club's normal shareholders and supporters would want him to be there for a while more... A foregone conclusion, so to speak... :D

Maybe the more pressing problem is to find the appropriate right-hand man... Fergie could do well with an assistant sooner rather than later... :o

OreoCookies
12-12-2003, 08:24 PM

Agreed... So long as we maintain an attacking attitude and not sit-back too much... ;)

ccloh
12-12-2003, 10:10 PM
if utd can get at least a scored draw at porto in the 1st leg, then will have a better chance of advancing already. ronaldo should have a clearer picture of what porto is capable of. furthermore the all time deadly striker for porto jardel is no longer there.

StormTrooper
12-12-2003, 10:12 PM

i have faith in united's ability......its only a matter of performing on the night.

RuMmYtUb
12-12-2003, 10:24 PM
if utd can get at least a scored draw at porto in the 1st leg, then will have a better chance of advancing already. ronaldo should have a clearer picture of what porto is capable of. furthermore the all time deadly striker for porto jardel is no longer there.

And Heldar 'Flop' Postiga oso not there.. :D

cracker
12-12-2003, 10:43 PM

And Heldar 'Flop' Postiga oso not there.. :D

yrs ago....utd thrashed porto 4-0 at old trafford during a CL game.

guoquanyap
12-12-2003, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by cracker

yrs ago....utd thrashed porto 4-0 at old trafford during a CL game.

that time we are the underdog.....:D buy they remain dangerous w deco inside :o

tricky ties i will say.....they are no push over....

guoquanyap
12-12-2003, 11:22 PM
arsenal had a easy draw....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

RVN
13-12-2003, 12:49 AM
Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has dismissed as "nonsense" claims that the Old Trafford board is split over his new contract.

A newspaper report on Friday said the negotiations over Ferguson's new deal had run into problems.

"I spoke to (communications director) Paddy (Harverson) and (chief executive) David Gill about that and of course it's absolute rubbish," Ferguson told a news conference on Friday. "It's apparently emanating out of Ireland. I don't know why, but it's nonsense.

"David assured me of that this morning. There is no split in the board and things are going along fine."

United later released a statement that also quashed the claims.

"There is no division within the board on the manager's contract," the statement said.

"We would like to point out that no-one from the board of Manchester United spoke to The (Daily) Mirror.

"Discussions over terms and conditions of the deal are progressing well and no problems are foreseen."

Ferguson remains confident that a new long-term contract will be signed shortly and is concentrating his efforts on winning Saturday's Manchester derby.

Victory over Manchester City would take United back to the top of the premier league, for a few hours at least.

United are red-hot favourites but Ferguson is not reading too much into the fact that City, who have failed to win at Old Trafford since 1974, have not won in seven league and cup games.

"Last year they lost to Wigan before they beat us, so we're taking nothing for granted," he said.

"The important thing for us is to make sure our form is good enough to win the match.

GREAT CLUBS

"I know what it means to our fans and I know what it means to Manchester City. This the real stuff of what history is made of, two great clubs from the one city coming against each other.

"I have always said over the years that Liverpool has been our most important fixture, historically, and I don't change that. But the Manchester City derby is a special day."

Captain Roy Keane and goalkeeper Tim Howard are set to return after missing Tuesday's Champions League win over VfB Stuttgart and Ferguson admits that with only striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer unavailable he faces a tough job to select his side.

"I don't relish the job picking the team for tomorrow," he said. "I could play six different teams and different formations in midfield and up front. I just hope I pick the right one."

Meanwhile, Ferguson believes United face a difficult last-16 Champions League tie after being paired with UEFA Cup winners Porto in Friday's draw.

"I think it could be one of the more difficult draws," he said. "They are a good side. Their home record is very impressive.

"It won't be an easy one but if you want to progress in this cup you've got to beat the best teams, and I think they are one of the best teams."

http://www.reuters.com/locales/newsArticle.jsp?type=sportsNews&locale=en_IN&storyID=3984626

NanDesKa
13-12-2003, 01:09 AM
arsenal had a easy draw....:rolleyes: :rolleyes: celta vigo not easy lehz.
arsenal lost to them before if i aint wrong.

guoquanyap
13-12-2003, 01:12 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003570855,00.jpg

OreoCookies
13-12-2003, 02:40 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
celta vigo not easy lehz.
arsenal lost to them before if i aint wrong.

The Celta Vigo at this present point in time seems a little weaker than before... :o

Provided Arsenal doesn't self-destruct like they often do in Europe, they should make it through to the semis for the first time ever... :(

OreoCookies
13-12-2003, 02:41 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003570855,00.jpg

He sure looks pretty lean... Needs to build himself up more to reach the size (and stature) of his famous 'papa'... :D

guoquanyap
13-12-2003, 02:56 AM

He sure looks pretty lean... Needs to build himself up more to reach the size (and stature) of his famous 'papa'... :D

he do look like his father....another great dane in making man.....

StormTrooper
13-12-2003, 07:56 AM
what is fergie waiting for? get him! :evil:

RuMmYtUb
13-12-2003, 08:57 AM

The Celta Vigo at this present point in time seems a little weaker than before... :o

Provided Arsenal doesn't self-destruct like they often do in Europe, they should make it through to the semis for the first time ever... :(

Agree, today's Celta is not like b4...
Arsenal's ex player Silvinho still in Celta ?

Spock
13-12-2003, 12:03 PM

Agree, today's Celta is not like b4...
Arsenal's ex player Silvinho still in Celta ?

yeah,still there

OreoCookies
13-12-2003, 02:37 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

It won't be that easy sia... Also, it won't be right to subject a young player to the intense rivalry between the two clubs... :o

ccloh
13-12-2003, 03:15 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

let him train up in city for a couple of years say 5-10 and then snap him over to replace tim howards (abt time he retired then)

StormTrooper
13-12-2003, 04:28 PM

let him train up in city for a couple of years say 5-10 and then snap him over to replace tim howards (abt time he retired then)

haha, joking lah, we haven't even seen him in action yet, but i wish him the best......for tonight

RuMmYtUb
13-12-2003, 07:05 PM
http://www.footballchannel.com/imx/article/small/kleberson3.jpg

Dec 13 - While some goals send Old Trafford into raptures, others send women into labour. Jose Kleberson Pereira made such an impact against Blackburn recently, transforming the Theatre of Dreams into the Theatre of Screams.

Even the celebration that followed his sweetly-struck, first-time shot proved prophetic. Flanked by Ruud van Nistelrooy, Rio Ferdinand and Mikael Silvestre, the Brazil midfielder ran to the corner flag and marked his first goal for Manchester United with a gesture made famous by his compatriot Bebeto during the 1994 World Cup.

Kleberson cradled his arms and swung them in a rocking motion. His team-mates followed suit. But little did they realise just how profound an effect the goal had already had on Kleberson's wife, Dayane. She was not due to give birth for another few days.

"I score my first goal for United and eight hours later I find myself holding my beautiful baby boy,' said Kleberson, his smile as wide as the Stretford End.

"Dayane should not really have come to the game, but when she realised I was playing she insisted. She was sitting there up in the stand. I score. She jumps up. Oh, oh (Kleberson leans forward, clutching his stomach). Her contractions started right then, that second.

"When I came off the field she was standing there. Quick, quick, we need to go to hospital. 'Wah?' I said. 'Oh, oh. We go, we go.' I scored my goal 38 minutes into the game. At 11.38 that night my son was born at Wythenshawe Hospital. I've only been here a few months and already we have a Mancunian in the family. Beautiful, beautiful. I love my wife and my son very much."

Christmas with the Klebersons is geared heavily towards children, as a dozen gnome-size Santas that dance on the front lawn of his home in Bramhall demonstrate.

"I got them for my nephews and nieces. You like them?" quried Kleberson, whose apparent passion for fairy lights will also make him popular with his electricity supplier.

It is the house that once belonged to Jaap Stam. Through the window one can see the kitchen that was delivered the day after the Dutchman suddenly discovered he had been sold by Alex Ferguson to Lazio.

Parked in the driveway is a huge Lincoln off-roader almost identical to the model that belongs to David Beckham. It is the only car on view but its owner is immensely proud: "It's a great car."

With Kleberson everything is "great," "beautiful," "fantastic." His English is improving. When he first arrived in Manchester during the summer his grasp of the language was limited to "hello" and "the book is on the table."

He appears to be learning fast, turning to an interpreter or a dictionary only when he needs to. A photograph from his wedding day dominates the large, open hallway. In it he is kissing his wife in the back of a limousine. I point to his blond hair.

"Maybe I'll do that again some time," he said, at which moment his lawyer and friend interrupts and urges him not to. Kleberson is bent double, so intense is the laughter.

Through the electric gates, past the dancing Santas and inside the house are a series of spacious but simply furnished rooms. Christmas decorations hang from the walls and Christmas trees stand proudly in corners, as do Santas of varying shapes and sizes. There are people everywhere, too, in every room - his mother and his two sisters, Dayane's parents, aunts, uncles, nephews and nieces.

"Our families have flown over for Christmas. Dayane's mother and father came over when Kleberson (nicknamed Klebinho) was born, and now my family are here as well," explained Kleberson.

There is also a cook, a real character called Tico. He and Kleberson are old friends, and he has come to Manchester to help him settle in and serve up the Brazilian specialities the World Cup winner so enjoys. Coxinha, a meat and potato dish his English lawyer Chris Farnell insists is "wonderful," is among them.

"I have steak imported directly from Brazil. But my best friend in the Brazil squad is Gilberto (of Arsenal) and he sends up food for us. Buying Brazilian food is difficult in Manchester, but there are places in London and Gilberto has been very helpful. We shared a room during the World Cup," said Kleberson.

They also shared midfield duties after Luiz Felipe Scolari dropped Juninho and selected the relatively unknown 22-year-old from Atletico Paranaense in his starting line-up for the quarter-final against England last year. Ferguson considers it a decision that "won the World Cup." It certainly proved successful.

"I was so happy to be picked, because Juninho is a very good player. There was a big sensation about me playing against England. People thought Scolari was crazy because it was going to be my first start in the tournament, in a game we had no guarantee of winning," recalled Kleberson, now sitting comfortably at his dining table.

"In Brazil everyone thought the winner of that match would go on to win the tournament. I remained calm, though, even with the pressure that was on me. It went well for us. England were very good. Paul Scholes, very clever. I see that in training now. But we also played well, and we won."

Kleberson kept his place for the semi-final that followed against Turkey, and the final against Germany. His family were not there to see him lift the World Cup, but he remembers phoning home. His father, Paulo Olimpio, was unable to speak. "He just started crying," says Kleberson.

He has his winner's medal, his boots, socks, shorts and shirt safely locked away in his house in Brazil but said: "I have given one of my other shirts to my father, and that takes pride of place in my parents' home."

Paulo Olimpio Pereira was also a footballer. He played at right back as an amateur for a second division side called Urai.

"Like Gary Neville. He says I am good, but he was very good. It was always his dream to play for Brazil, but he never had the opportunity. When Scolari first called me into the squad, he was very proud of me," said Kleberson.

"I was at the Atletico Paranaense training ground that day. I remember everyone who was watching suddenly getting very excited. As I walked towards the dressing room they shouted over to me: 'Kleberson! You are in the national team.' I couldn't believe it."

Kleberson is from Curitiba in south- east Brazil. His father, now coaching the under 15s at Atletico Paranaense, worked as a cobbler and also as a sports masseur at Urai.

"As soon as I could walk he was training me to be a footballer. I became a mascot for Urai and I was soon playing in the under eights and under nines. It was then that my father realised I had a chance of becoming a professional player," said Kleberson.

He rose steadily through the ranks, playing for a semi-pro team called PSTC before joining Atletico Paranaense at 18. Within two years he had helped guide them to the Brazilian championship. Scolari then came calling, and during the World Cup his reputation spread to Europe.

There was talk of a move to either Leeds or Newcastle, but in the end he had to wait until the following summer. One day he was back at Atletico Paranaense's CT Caju complex when the club president informed him that United had made contact.

"That night I went home, and Dayane and I logged on to the internet and read all we could about Manchester. I was very excited, particularly when I read how good a coach Mr Ferguson was," he said.

Within weeks he was at United's Carrington training ground, first to meet Ferguson and then his new colleagues.

"I met a few of the players and then Roy Keane took me into the canteen and introduced me to everyone else. I like Keano. Manchester United is in his heart. He cares so much, and he shouts and shouts. He's just like Dunga once was for Brazil," he said.

His progress at United was interrupted by a shoulder injury, but Kleberson's neat touch and intelligent running is starting to impress Ferguson. He hopes to be involved today, in the Manchester derby.

"Playing for Manchester United and Brazil is quite similar. I am surrounded by great players, and it is all about one-touch passing, pass and move. It's the kind of football I like to play, because I'm not a very physical player. I like to move the ball on before the opponent gets to me. I try to play to my strengths."

His only concern is the cold.

"In Brazil, it's 35 degrees,' he said, pretending to shiver.

"That's why I keep the house so warm, to try to make it feel like home. I'd like it to snow, though. None of us have ever seen that."

It would certainly suit the dancing Santas.

RuMmYtUb
13-12-2003, 07:06 PM
Viana loaned out to make way for Butt ? (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=41950&seg=EPL&teamid=)

================================

:confused:

RVN
13-12-2003, 07:24 PM
Viana loaned out to make way for Butt ? (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=41950&seg=EPL&teamid=)

================================

:confused:

Fergie on Nicky Butt speculation
”Well, Nicky’s never said anything to me. So, until he says something, nothing has happened.”

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=50248&itype=466&icategoryid=122

RuMmYtUb
13-12-2003, 09:23 PM
Manchester derby, 2-0 HT..
Scholes and RvN scorers so far.... can we keep up the pace... stay tuned to Channel 23. :D

ccloh
13-12-2003, 09:35 PM
glad to see kleberson settling in fast. :)

ccloh
13-12-2003, 09:37 PM
great to see scholes. after mths of laid off, this should surely gain him so confident in returning to his best.

cracker
13-12-2003, 09:41 PM
City scores !!!

great individual skill by Sean Wright Philips !!!

now we have a real cracker @:D

RVN
13-12-2003, 10:17 PM
Scholes again 3-1. :D :bounce:

RuMmYtUb
13-12-2003, 10:21 PM
3 headed goals ! :D :cool:

ccloh
13-12-2003, 10:24 PM
3-pt in the bag now pressure on chelski and arsenal. either one slip, there would be a change of order in the top 3 position this weekend.

RVN
13-12-2003, 10:26 PM
Tricky tricky game
This was a veeery tricky game. Man Utd weren't at peak form, yet we still managed to hang on for a result. It was just one of those games where the opposing team had few chances, yet those chances were almost always looking like it could go in. But thanks to the best keeper in the prem, and a goaline clearance from the Ginger head Scholesy, we held em off.

Wright Phillips' goal was brilliant, and it gave city some belief. That's when the luck started to swing in City's favor, so I must admit I started to get a little nervous. Especially with us giving away the ball a lot. But we hung on, so in my opinion, the quality of Man Utd is what won the game today.

Men Of the Match

Scholes: What more can I say, he scores, he defends, best in his position in the country.

Howard: There's no other keeper like him in the prem. No other. He didn't lose his concentration for a moment, and that allowed him to make brilliant saves. He's only second to Buffon in my opinion.

Let the good times roll...:bounce:

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 01:08 AM
on top on the table for the time being.....:D

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 01:42 AM
nv see kasper in action today.....:( :D

tranze
14-12-2003, 01:57 AM
Glad that we won!!
we must keep up with the momentum!!

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 02:24 AM
on top on the table for the time being.....:D

Hopefully we'll still be there after the Arsenal match tomorrow... :D

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 02:27 AM
nv see kasper in action today.....:( :D

Don't think it was ever in Keegan's mind to throw him into the fray for the match... He's still a raw diamond that needs to be polished with patience and care... ;)

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by tranze
Glad that we won!!
we must keep up with the momentum!!

Christmas coming liaoz... Traditionally, we tend to peak from this period of time onwards... ;)

If we can maintain our position amongst the top in the EPL, and remain consistent in Europe and the FA Cup, we stand a very good chance with the trophies come next May/June... :D

RuMmYtUb
14-12-2003, 02:30 AM
chelski dropped 3 points @ home! :D :cool:

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 02:57 AM
chelski dropped 3 points @ home! :D :cool:

Hope Wenger's man are also in the Christmas mood of sharing and giving... Give away three points, that is... :D

Nocturne
14-12-2003, 03:42 AM
A great match. Very entertaining.
Good goals scored by Scholes and Ruud.:)

I think Keane is very impressive on the pitch. He was all over the pitch, in attack and in defence. Seldom give the ball away. When under pressure, was able to cope well. Passing very accurate. Especially when Man City attack, he was always there to get the ball out of Man Utd penalty box.

He recieved the loudest cheer after the final whistle.
"Keano, Keano, Keano..."

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 09:04 AM
Captain Keano is the team's inspiration manz... That's why he's almost always present in the starting line-up... ;)

Nocturne
14-12-2003, 09:54 AM
Yap, defintely a class player and my favourite.
In the matchday programme, there is a very good and long article about Keane. About how people wrote him off after his performance last season. Especially after his operation. And how he come back strongly this season to defied those critics. They also show a comparision of him and other players for this season.

03/04 League stats:
Pass accuracy Keane 87% Vieira 82%
Shooting accuracy Keane 63% Edgar Davids 33%
Tackles won: Keane 72% S. Gerrard 62%

Over here, he was also shortlisted for Goal of the Month (Nov) for his goal against Portsmouth. But he did not win. That honour goes to Heskey for his goal against Birmingham.

leslielai
14-12-2003, 10:39 AM
Keano will be Keano.

Hope Arsenal drops points tonight.

kengbeng
14-12-2003, 10:56 AM
Our neighbour Bolton did us a favour last night, hope our other neighbour Blackburn do us the same favour tonight by beating Arsenal. :D

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 11:05 AM
Blackburn need the points to climb up the table themselves... Hopefully that is inspiration enough for them to produce a stunning performance against the Gunners... :D

Ch3tah_39
14-12-2003, 11:17 AM
Blackburn need the points to climb up the table themselves... Hopefully that is inspiration enough for them to produce a stunning performance against the Gunners... :D

hope so lorz:D

ccloh
14-12-2003, 11:30 AM
3-pt in the bag, with chelski slipping and see tonite what happen to arsenal. anyway regardless of result tonite, utd confirm at least 2nd position this weekend.

scholes is BACK for sure !!!!

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 11:37 AM

:D :D

RuMmYtUb
14-12-2003, 01:07 PM
http://www.footballchannel.com/imx/article/small/rferdinand2.jpg

Dec 14 - Manchester United are prepared to accept Rio Ferdinand being banned for three months for failing to take a drug test.

But they are likely to fight on if the England defender receives a stiffer sentence when he finally faces an FA disciplinary hearing this week. Sources at United have indicated that they are expecting Ferdinand to be banned for missing a mandatory drugs test on September 23, but they will not appeal unless the punishment is draconian.

In October, club director Sir Bobby Charlton indicated the way he believed United's thinking should go when he said of Ferdinand's likely suspension: "We shall accept it whatever happens."

Now, it appears, United are willing to go some of the way in backing Sir Bobby's view. If Ferdinand receives a three-month ban he would be available for the crucial run-in for the Premiership title and for the Champion League quarter-finals, should United get past Porto in the next round. That appears to be a worthwhile compromise for the club hierarchy.

The FA and United have been heavily criticised for the length of time it has taken to discipline Ferdinand by FIFA president Sepp Blatter and World Anti-Doping Agency chief Dick Pound. Both have said that they expect Ferdinand to receive a significant punishment.

Manchester City's Eyal Berkovic, a friend of Ferdinand, will be a key witness at Thursday's hearing, which will pass judgment on Ferdinand after he left United's training ground without completing his test.

Berkovic was with Ferdinand during the crucial two-hour period when the England defender says that he forgot about the test. Ferdinand's lawyers are expected to argue that he was willing to return and take the test, having telephoned the club shortly after 2pm on the day in question.

However, the test had been scheduled for 12 noon and it was regarded as a "refusal" by drug testers after they had waited for an hour.

=======================

Source : http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=41975

RVN
14-12-2003, 01:13 PM
Wait for the FA hearing first, why did Rio miss the drug test in the first place, sianz. :(

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 02:13 PM
I wonder what will be the interim measures that SAF is contemplating in anticipation of Rio's ban... Whatever the case, it may not be that easy to replace our club-record signing, given his good form at the moment... :(

RVN
14-12-2003, 02:16 PM
I wonder what will be the interim measures that SAF is contemplating in anticipation of Rio's ban... Whatever the case, it may not be that easy to replace our club-record signing, given his good form at the moment... :(

O'Shea or Gary can switch to centre-back to partner Silvestre in defence if necessarry. There also Brown returning. At most, we signed another centre-back in Jan.

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 02:19 PM

i think fergie wat to do as he purposely delay the rio hearing until brown is back fr injury.....now brown is back....at least we will hav some gd cover....or like wat rvn said....we get a class defender nx Jan.....althought i feel we need a class striker more than a defender now.....;)

RVN
14-12-2003, 02:23 PM

i think fergie wat to do as he purposely delay the rio hearing until brown is back fr injury.....now brown is back....at least we will hav some gd cover....or like wat rvn said....we get a class defender nx Jan.....althought i feel we need a class striker more than a defender now.....;)

Might as well get both. ;)

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN

That'll incur a huge amount of investment... Honestly, I'd like to see some youngsters promoted to fill the void... :D

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 02:59 PM
Originally posted by RVN

where got $$ :alien: :alien:

trax06
14-12-2003, 03:21 PM
they got 62 mil to spend....

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 03:31 PM
Originally posted by trax06

u mean those stupid board member will allow fergie to spend so much.....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

OreoCookies
14-12-2003, 03:54 PM

The United board won't allow Fergie to spend that much money at one go... Besides, I think that's the club profit for the past year, not the actual transfer kitty allocated to David Gill and SAF... :(

trax06
14-12-2003, 04:01 PM
i tot the 62 mil come from a new contract with sponser vondafone...

guoquanyap
14-12-2003, 04:06 PM
i tot the 62 mil come from a new contract with sponser vondafone...

that is onli 34million pound....

ccloh
14-12-2003, 04:47 PM
spend all the $$$, even if allow also dont else either another club trying to chop u a high price for the player or ended up buying too many and left players unhappy. pick the essential and right one will do.

for me getting rivaldo might be a good bargain. he is free and since kleberson is settling in well, can help rivaldo to settling in too. moreoever, fergie is always an admirer of him.

RuMmYtUb
14-12-2003, 06:38 PM
But seriously i think a classy defender is easier and much more available in the market den a potent striker... :(

RVN
14-12-2003, 10:03 PM
The Barclaycard Premiership title race has not even reached its halfway stage and already the mind games have begun.

On Saturday lunchtime Manchester United did not just stamp their authority on their own city, they also sent a message to London, delivered in a clinical manner by Paul Scholes. When they opened it, Chelsea crumbled.

The unanimous verdict of every English football observer is this season's championship will be won by United, Chelsea or Arsenal.

The individual merits of the trio will be debated long and hard but the capital challengers can be certain they face a tough challenge if they are to beat United in a battle of wills.

"These early kick-offs are good when you win," said full-back Gary Neville. "It was very important for us to beat City, not just because it was a derby, but because we have to keep applying pressure to our rivals.

"We fell a few points behind when we lost at Chelsea a couple of weeks ago but we have got ourselves back into a good position again and we have to keep it up."

The United camp will have noted with some amusement Chelsea's home defeat by Bolton, a team who have left Old Trafford with maximum points twice in the last three seasons.

Neville preferred to concentrate on matters closer to home, reserving particular praise for Scholes, who returned after two months out with a groin injury.

"He is the best player I know at judging when to arrive in the box," added Neville.

"He can do anything on a football pitch and there is no doubting what an important player he is for us."

Kevin Keegan is another huge admirer of Scholes and his side could not shackle the England midfielder.

He was given space to nod home Neville's seventh-minute cross to put United in front and ghosted into the box to finished off Kleberson's lofted pass after the interval.

More alarmingly for City, Scholes was given room to move virtually every time he picked up possession, especially in a first half United dominated.

Shaun Wright-Phillips' solo strike offered City a lifeline and having taken two-goal leads in their previous home games against Blackburn and Aston Villa then staggered through the second half, United looked set for a struggle until Scholes' second.

"We seem to have a problem winning games at Old Trafford," admitted Neville.

"We get 2-0 up and then switch off in the first 20 minutes of the second-half. We have done it constantly over the years.

"I don't know what it is. Maybe we can be accused of becoming complacent. The manager thinks it's because we like to make him suffer."

At the start of a week during which Rio Ferdinand will face the music over his failure to take a drugs test, it was the result required to put a smile on the red half of the city.

In contrast it brought on a depression for City who have slipped into the bottom half of the table with a run of eight matches without a victory.

After the exultation of taking four points off United last season, Keegan's men have been taken down a notch. After their brief stay at the top of the league, Chelsea know exactly how they feel.

OreoCookies
15-12-2003, 12:32 AM
spend all the $$$, even if allow also dont else either another club trying to chop u a high price for the player or ended up buying too many and left players unhappy. pick the essential and right one will do.

for me getting rivaldo might be a good bargain. he is free and since kleberson is settling in well, can help rivaldo to settling in too. moreoever, fergie is always an admirer of him.

Rivaldo's wages will be a huge problem sia... His contract at Milan was more than even our top-earner (Keano), and Man Utd wouldn't want to break the bank just to sign him... So unless he's willing to take a pay-cut, else a deal is most likely impossible... :o

OreoCookies
15-12-2003, 12:33 AM
But seriously i think a classy defender is easier and much more available in the market den a potent striker... :(

Be it a deal for a striker or a defender, I sure hope that any new face(s) due to arrive in January would be bargain buys... Solskjaer and Ronny Johnsen didn't cost too much when they arrived at Old Trafford, and then went on to perform superbly for us...

OreoCookies
15-12-2003, 12:36 AM
Arsenal are back on-top after a one-nil victory at home against Rovers... :(

The mercurial Denis Bergkemp scored the only goal of the match in the 10th minute, to extend the Gunners' unbeaten run this season to 16 games...

guoquanyap
15-12-2003, 02:35 AM

The mercurial Denis Bergkemp scored the only goal of the match in the 10th minute, to extend the Gunners' unbeaten run this season to 16 games...

it's okie....peak now and slip later is their forte....;)

guoquanyap
15-12-2003, 02:41 AM
PSV Eindhoven defender Kevin Hofland has confirmed he is seeking a move away from the Eredivisie and is looking to join an English club.

The Dutch defender had been a highly sought-after commodity, however an injury ravaged last couple of seasons have meant he has stayed at the Philips Stadion longer than expected.

Hofland has returned to full fitness, but has been snubbed by coach Gus Hiddink, who has preferred Wilfried Bouma.

"England is my first-choice destination," confirmed Hofland.

"It is a shame I can't play for PSV, but I have now decided to look at other options."

Premiership giants Arsenal, Manchester United and Newcastle were all admirers of the stopper before he encountered his injury problems.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=177094&cpid=9

once a top defender who we are targeting....but read some report said that he made lots of stupid during a CL w psv which made MAnu lost interest in him.....

RuMmYtUb
15-12-2003, 09:18 AM
Either Hofland or Philipe Mexes would be good..:D
For striking department i dun mind seeing Alan Smith or Jermaine Defoe..
Better still someone like Diego Tristan.. :)

ccloh
15-12-2003, 09:32 AM

Rivaldo's wages will be a huge problem sia... His contract at Milan was more than even our top-earner (Keano), and Man Utd wouldn't want to break the bank just to sign him... So unless he's willing to take a pay-cut, else a deal is most likely impossible... :o

given that he hasn't been in the game for quite sometime, his salary will have to drop if he wants to join a team and start playing again. to him, he isn't young anymore. if this time no club want him, he will have to retire early. think he is sensible enough to think this out

ccloh
15-12-2003, 09:34 AM

u never know, they might break record this season for as a unbeaten club the whole season but fail to win the title in the end. dont think any other top clubs in europe or even south america has achieved that. so should be a proud record for the gunners to keep. :D

guoquanyap
15-12-2003, 10:53 AM

u never know, they might break record this season for as a unbeaten club the whole season but fail to win the title in the end. dont think any other top clubs in europe or even south america has achieved that. so should be a proud record for the gunners to keep. :D

:laugh: :laugh: so indirect of you.....:laugh:

OreoCookies
15-12-2003, 11:10 AM

it's okie....peak now and slip later is their forte....;)

Arsenal does finish strongly too... They were a little late to achieve that last season, but their overall consistency could be a key obstacle to our championship hopes... :(

OreoCookies
15-12-2003, 11:13 AM
Either Hofland or Philipe Mexes would be good..:D
For striking department i dun mind seeing Alan Smith or Jermaine Defoe..
Better still someone like Diego Tristan.. :)

Don't think they will come cheap though... :(

There's also the problem of having to adapt to a new club in the middle of the season...

OreoCookies
15-12-2003, 11:14 AM

RuMmYtUb
15-12-2003, 06:02 PM

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

derrace
15-12-2003, 06:10 PM

lol

Alienz
16-12-2003, 04:17 AM
Scholes key to United success says Neville

LONDON (AFP) - Manchester United defender Gary Neville said the fitness of England teammate Paul Scholes was vital to the Old Trafford club's hopes of retaining their English Premiership title.

The England midfielder has been troubled by groin and hernia problems this season, starting just 10 games for Sir Alex Ferguson's side.

Scholes netted twice thanks to two headers in United's 3-2 derby win over Manchester City on Saturday in his first Premiership start since October.

"I wouldn't swop Paul Scholes for anybody. He is one of the most complete footballers I have ever played with," Neville said.

"He can run, tackle or shoot and both his long and short passing are absolutely brilliant.

"We have many different types of player at Manchester United but some are more important than others.

"And while it is a squad game now, if you take away a world class player like him, you are bound to miss them.

"He is unique - not just at out club but in the whole game. Without him we find it difficult to penetrate teams.

"We saw that at Chelsea, where we had a lot of great possession in the second half. We couldn't have played any better but we lacked the cutting edge in the final third. He is someone who could have opened them up."

United are currently second in the table, a point behind leaders Arsenal.

RuMmYtUb
16-12-2003, 08:45 AM
Paul Scholes is our Zidane..:D

Spock
16-12-2003, 10:40 AM
Scholes score more goals,prefer him anytime

ccloh
16-12-2003, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by Spock
Scholes score more goals,prefer him anytime

different class lah. cant really compared. zidane is definitely proven at world stage, world cup, euro cup and european championship. as for scholes, still got a bit more to achieve to be in line with zidane.

funny utd seems never produce a lot of any individual players with awards capability like european player of the year, world player of the year etc. i guess utd is more a team than collection of good individual.

RVN
16-12-2003, 12:41 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1104624.jpg

Spanish international goalkeeper Ricardo says that he still wants to return to Manchester United and prove himself once his loan spell at Racing Santander expires.
The 31-year-old was forced to return to Spain on loan after limited opportunities to don the gloves for United.

Ricardo still has a year left on his current Old Trafford contract and he wants to return and prove himself once his loan stint at Racing expires at the end of the season.

Tim Howard has established himself as the first choice and seen-off Fabien Barthez, but Ricardo is still aiming to challenge for the number one slot once he returns.

"I am very happy here in Spain but also I was very happy in Manchester," said Ricardo.

"I have come back to Spain because I wasn't having many first team chances with the four goalkeepers and it is better for me to play a good season here and then go back to Manchester, as I need to play regular football.

"It is my dream to play in goal for Manchester United and I have one year left on my contract with them.

"I am trying to have a good season here so that I can be in good form when I return and make the most of my chance.

"I am a little disappointed by my chances last season with only five games in the first team but it is Manchester United and now I am working hard.

"I was really happy there and I feel that the fans really love me and I remember the way they applauded me after the Blackburn game.

"I like Manchester very much and my family and children were very happy there, it is good for them to experience a different culture but the lack of opportunity made me come back for the time being."

Ricardo has seen former United team-mate David Beckham in Spain, and says the England captain has settled in well to life in La Liga.

"I said when David Beckham came to Spain that the best players do not need time to adapt and David Beckham is a great player and has shown that in the games he has played so far.

"The people love him here. He is a very good person, last month when I played against Real Madrid, he waited for me at the end of the game.

"I spoke with him and he told me that he is very happy in Madrid and when I asked him how was his Spanish he said, 'muy bien' (very good)."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1115490,00.html

Oh god just give up mate, you hardly played and when u did u were ****e.:alien:

RuMmYtUb
16-12-2003, 04:50 PM

different class lah. cant really compared. zidane is definitely proven at world stage, world cup, euro cup and european championship. as for scholes, still got a bit more to achieve to be in line with zidane.

funny utd seems never produce a lot of any individual players with awards capability like european player of the year, world player of the year etc. i guess utd is more a team than collection of good individual.

That's wad a team is for, collective team effort and strength, though we have some brilliant individuals in Ryan Giggs, George Best etc..

RVN
16-12-2003, 08:48 PM
Ruud van Nistelrooy will end his career at Manchester United if he signs a new contract with the club.
Real Madrid are reportedly interested in signing Van Nistelrooy but negotiations have opened on a new five-year deal at Old Trafford.

"What is certain is that if I sign a new contract with Manchester, this will mean I will finish my career there," Van Nistelrooy said on Dutch TV.

"We are in negotiations, but at the moment I have not signed anything."

The Dutch striker is midway through a five-year deal at Old Trafford, with reported wages of £40,000 per week.

But Van Nistelrooy admitted he was aware of the speculation linking him with a move to Madrid.

"Of course I have heard it," added Van Nistelrooy.

"What do you want me to say? You know that in football everything is possible."

The 27-year-old has scored 96 goals in 124 United games and Sir Alex Ferguson is keen to commit his future to United.

"We are progressing with his contract," said the United manager.

Real's interest in the Dutch striker has prompted Manchester United to make Van Nistelrooy's contract a priority.

But any new Old Trafford deal would elevate Van Nistelrooy alongside the likes of Roy Keane and Rio Ferdinand.

He doesnt sound very sure about anything really does he?? too many ifs floating about. :(

get it signed, please. ;)

cracker
16-12-2003, 09:36 PM
nowaday pple will still leave after signing contract..

beckham did it,,,,steven gerrad is already hinting ....:(

RVN
16-12-2003, 09:41 PM
Becks was out becos Fergie wanted to get rid of him, can't see Ruud leaving though, he's always said he wants to be a united legend. if he signs a new deal to keep him with us till, say, he's 32, then i think that status will be pretty much assured.

StormTrooper
16-12-2003, 10:02 PM
Originally posted by cracker
nowaday pple will still leave after signing contract..

beckham did it,,,,steven gerrad is already hinting ....:(

becks was SOLD

RVN
16-12-2003, 11:03 PM
MANCHESTER United will get a striker boost during the transfer window - with the return of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

The Norwegian's recovery from a knee operation in September has dragged on as the 30-year-old has battled to build up the muscle on his injured leg.

But now the goalscorer is a month away from match action.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has pencilled Solskjaer in for a reserve outing away to Birmingham City on January 15.

It's good news for the Reds as Fergie weighs up his potential transfer options during next month's four-week long window.

The United manager has already outlined the problems of finding a new mid-term addition to his strike force, with more than 4,500 players ineligible for United's Champions League knockout campaign that begins in February against Porto in the last 16.

So a successful return for Solskjaer is vital for the Reds' second half of the season efforts.

Solskjaer, besides adding to Fergie's scoring firepower to back up Ruud van Nistelrooy and Diego Forlan, will also strengthen United's wing options.

The Norwegian's success last term on the right flank helped convince the United boss he could allow David Beckham to leave.

"Ole is a great alternative as a striker, but his performances as an outside right last season were very, very good," says Sir Alex. "He was outstanding in that position. It was something we maybe didn't expect of him. We have always regarded him as an out-and-out finisher. But he has such good intelligence of the game that you could see him developing as a footballer in terms of playing other positions.

"It was a real bonus for us his performance playing on the right."

RuMmYtUb
16-12-2003, 11:52 PM
Ruud van Nistelrooy has revealed he is in negotiations over a new contract which would keep him at Manchester United for the rest of his career.

The 27-year-old Dutch international last week equalled Denis Law's club record of 28 European Cup goals and insists that he wants to remain at Old Trafford despite speculation linking him with Real Madrid.

'We are in negotiations, but at the moment I have not signed anything,' van Nistelrooy told Dutch television channel RTL5.

However, the player adds he is aware of the interest from Spain.

'Of course I have heard it. What do you want me to say?' Van Nistelrooy continued.

'You know that in football everything is possible.'

But if a deal is reached with United, the Dutchman insists he will honour the agreement.

'What is certain is that if I sign a new contract with Manchester, this will mean I will finish my career there,' he said.

=========================

RvN pls stay, you know we love you.... RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUD !!!

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 02:29 AM

Guess this has a lot to do with the club's culture and the manager too... ;)

For one, the city of Manchester is more or less industrial-based, so that explains the collective hard-working culture... Another note is that SAF has always been one who appreciates players who can incorporate industry with flair in their play...

Anywayz, Man Utd are doing well playing the way we've always played... So itz still not a bad thing after all... :D

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Becks was out becos Fergie wanted to get rid of him, can't see Ruud leaving though, he's always said he wants to be a united legend. if he signs a new deal to keep him with us till, say, he's 32, then i think that status will be pretty much assured.

At the rate he's performing, he'd be a legend long before he reaches the age of 32... :laugh:

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 02:32 AM
Two pieces of good news for us, with Ole recovering well and RVN looking odds-on to stay at OT... That should provide the team with the fire-power and enthusiasm to begin the New Year in style... :D

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 02:33 AM
Manchester United have appointed Philip Townsend as their new director of communications to replace Paddy Harverson, who is leaving the club to work for the Prince of Wales.

Townsend, who will take up the post in February, is currently press secretary to the Minister for Sport, Richard Caborn, and head of sports communications at the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

United chief executive David Gill said: 'We are delighted to have secured Phil's services.

'His experience of working in a high-profile Government department and handling major sports issues and stories with the domestic and international media means he is ideally suited to join us as director of communications.'

Townsend, 34, was born in Oldham and is a lifelong United supporter.

knee_JerK
17-12-2003, 07:26 AM
i am actually quite disappointed with RVN's reply....

i think he deliberately leave a gap open to have a chance to become a galatico in near future now.....

i would appreciate him standing firm like what henry did....:mad:

RuMmYtUb
17-12-2003, 08:39 AM
Originally posted by knee_JerK

i think he deliberately leave a gap open to have a chance to become a galatico in near future now.....

:( :mad: :mad:

Ch3tah_39
17-12-2003, 09:35 AM

ya lorz..:(

ccloh
17-12-2003, 09:39 AM
Ruud van Nistelrooy has revealed he is in negotiations over a new contract which would keep him at Manchester United for the rest of his career.

The 27-year-old Dutch international last week equalled Denis Law's club record of 28 European Cup goals and insists that he wants to remain at Old Trafford despite speculation linking him with Real Madrid.

'We are in negotiations, but at the moment I have not signed anything,' van Nistelrooy told Dutch television channel RTL5.

However, the player adds he is aware of the interest from Spain.

'Of course I have heard it. What do you want me to say?' Van Nistelrooy continued.

But if a deal is reached with United, the Dutchman insists he will honour the agreement.

'What is certain is that if I sign a new contract with Manchester, this will mean I will finish my career there,' he said.

=========================

RvN pls stay, you know we love you.... RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUD !!!

a dipolmat reply. can't just jump into the bandwagon and say go ahead and later discover the contract wasn't that pretty at all. based on his performance, he should be getting ard keano, giggs, etc level liao.

RVN
17-12-2003, 12:42 PM

a dipolmat reply. can't just jump into the bandwagon and say go ahead and later discover the contract wasn't that pretty at all. based on his performance, he should be getting ard keano, giggs, etc level liao.

He just want the new deal that is suitable to his liking, as soon as that is finalished, he signed. ;)

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 01:05 PM

I guess he just doesn't want to be responsible for anything that might happen in the future... It'll hurt the club and itz supporters more if he said he'll stay permanently, but then something happens and he goes off to another club... That'll make him look really ugly... :(

RVN
17-12-2003, 01:19 PM

But he also said What is certain is that if I sign a new contract with Manchester, this will mean I will finish my career there."

Just pray he signed it soon, the board sort it out soon with him and Fergie's contract.

RVN
17-12-2003, 03:02 PM
ALEX FERGUSON is determined to keep his Manchester United stars guessing over the terms of his new contract.

SunSport understands Fergie will commit himself to just TWO years for definite and then have a one-year rolling deal after that.

Fergie aims finally to sign the deal this week.

The agreement has been delayed because of wrangles over its structure and length.

United’s plc board would probably prefer more certainty as to how long he will stay.

But the Old Trafford boss is determined not to make the same mistakes as when he announced his retirement.

In his ‘final’ season two years ago the players’ form suffered and some even started to take liberties.

This time he wants to keep his departure date a secret so the deal will be back-dated to the start of this season.

Fergie’s wages will shoot up from £3.5million a year to £5m and will stay at that for every season he wants to keep the job after next season.

His aim is to do four years and complete a total of 21 in the United hot-seat by 2007.

But the terms of his contract mean that is not certain so the players will be kept guessing over when the Scot will go.

United idol Ruud van Nistelrooy is ready to stay at the club for life — as revealed in Saturday’s SunSport.

A new £25million, five-year contract is waiting for the Dutchman, 27, to sign.

The striker knows Real Madrid are keen on him and will make sure everything in the new deal is to his liking.

Asked about the interest from Spain, Van Nistelrooy said: “I have heard about it. You know that in football everything is possible.

“What is certain is if I sign a new contract with United, it will mean I finish my career here.”

Strike partner Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, 30, will be back in action for United in the New Year after recovering from knee surgery.

Fergie said: “It may have been an enforced rest for Ole but he will be refreshed for the second half of the season.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003581144,00.html

ccloh
17-12-2003, 05:57 PM
it is a good rest for ole for sure. really to fire up all the cylinders to ram in all those goals needed liao :D

RVN
17-12-2003, 06:41 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39615000/jpg/_39615075_butt203.jpg

Nicky Butt insists he hopes to stay at Manchester United - despite claims he wanted to quit Old Trafford.
England midfield man Butt revealed his frustration at a lack of senior action and admitted he feared for his future.

But the 28-year-old told MUTV: "I want to stay. People have been saying I want to leave, which is not true.

"I said I am not happy when I'm not playing, which would be the same for any player at any club, and it has been blown out of all proportion."

Butt is worried he may be frozen out of England's Euro 2004 squad after starting only nine games for Manchester United this season.

He has been pushed into the shadows by the good form of Phil Neville and the arrival of Brazil World Cup winner Kleberson at Old Trafford.

But he said: "There have been no rows with the manager. I am not arrogant enough to say I want this or that.

"The manager might decide I am not good enough and sell me, so I would never demand anything.

"I am not naive. I know I can't expect to be in the England squad next summer if I don't play all season.

"But it is a long campaign and I have to keep digging away. Hopefully I will get my chance."

Butt added that he had not been affected about the speculation over his future and was concentrating all his energies on impressing Ferguson in training.

RVN
17-12-2003, 07:10 PM
Chelsea have revealed that they would be prepared to spend £60million on Ruud van Nistelrooy if the Dutchman became available - and up to £100million on a single player if the need arose.

However, the Blues have still made it abundantly clear that despite Roman Abramovich's incredible financial resources, they will not be ripped off when the transfer window opens next month.

Chelsea's acting chief executive, Paul Smith, revealed that a central defender and a midfielder are the club's main priorities in the new year sales.

However, Chelsea would also clearly be interested if the right world-class striker became available. After all, it was only last week that they enquired for the second time in six months about the availability of Thierry Henry.

Abramovich seems to have reluctantly concluded that Arsenal striker Henry is not for sale, even for £50million, but Smith does not discount the possibility of the Blues setting a new world transfer record if a player of the calibre of van Nistelrooy became available.

The Manchester United striker is currently in negotiations with his club about a new contract designed to keep him out of the clutches of Real Madrid.

However, it would seem that United could face another rival for his services if van Nistelrooy ever indicates any desire to leave Old Trafford.

While the Holland international insisted in a recent interview that he "loves it" at Old Trafford, he also stated - when asked about Real's interest - that "everything is possible" in football.

Smith declared: "If Pele was on the market today for £100million then we'd maybe go for him, but we won't pay £30million for Joe Nobody.

"If Ruud van Nistelrooy was priced at £60million and we considered it a good investment, then we would probably pay that.

"It's not about the fee but about getting good value. We want the right quality and the right value."

peixin
17-12-2003, 08:04 PM
$50million for Thiery Henry and $60million for Ruud Van Nistelrooy.... Should be seen as a compliment to Man Utd....

RuMmYtUb
17-12-2003, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by peixin
$50million for Thiery Henry and $60million for Ruud Van Nistelrooy.... Should be seen as a compliment to Man Utd....

:cool: :laugh:

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 08:27 PM
it is a good rest for ole for sure. really to fire up all the cylinders to ram in all those goals needed liao :D

With Solskjaer returning, and RVN and Forlan both in good form, our goal-scoring department is pretty much covered... The job now is to work on the creative aspects of our attacking play... :D

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 08:29 PM
Itz good that Butt has declared his intention to stay and slog it out for a place in the first team... Hopefully he'll get his chance to impress sooner rather than later... ;)

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by peixin

Itz a huge compliment to RVN himself too... Puts him at the advantage when it comes to the war of the EPL's top striker... :D

RVN
17-12-2003, 08:34 PM
http://pinkfootball.com/pinkfootball/news-detail.asp?ID=1479

:eek: :eek: :eek:

Spock
17-12-2003, 09:11 PM

With Solskjaer returning, and RVN and Forlan both in good form, our goal-scoring department is pretty much covered... The job now is to work on the creative aspects of our attacking play... :D

i still think need at least one more striker if want to cover fa cup,cl and the league.

RVN
17-12-2003, 09:17 PM
He won't join another english club, Get Ruud contract sorted out as soon as possible to get rid of foreign interest like madrid.

OreoCookies
17-12-2003, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by Spock

i still think need at least one more striker if want to cover fa cup,cl and the league.

It really depends... If we're going to stick to our one-striker policy (RVN as the main target-man and Forlan/Solskjaer as backup), then we're still pretty okay... The problem will only arise if Solskjaer is to play on the right-flank regularly, or if any of the three strikers get any major injuries...

IMHO, Ole should be deployed more often as a striker than as a right-midfielder... There's always Fletcher, Kleberson, and Ronaldo (when he returns from his X'mas break) to deputise on the right... ;)

RVN
18-12-2003, 01:14 AM
Never heard of, who is he:confused:

Manchester United have completed the signing of highly-rated Wimbledon youngster Lee Martin.
The Red Devils have paid £200,000 up front for the midfield man but further installments, depending upon his progress, could see the fee rise to as much as £1 million.

Chelsea and Arsenal were also believed to be hotly pursuing the 16-year-old, who has impressed for The Dons' Under-17 and Under-19 teams.

"We spoke to Stuart Murdoch and the management about Lee," administrator Nick Wood told skysports.com. "And we agreed to let him go.

"We would ideally have liked to keep him ourselves and brought him on, and possibly sold him on for a bigger fee than what we have received.

"But we needed the money and it is just too good to turn down."

Martin only signed an Academy contract with Wimbledon in the summer but had already featured for the Milton Keynes-based club's reserves.

United agreed a fee with the First Division club to avoid heading for a tribunal.

The teenager recently gave some indication that he would not head for Arsenal or Chelsea because of the number of foreign players based at the London aristocrats.

"Take a look at Chelsea," he opined. "They've got more foreign players than I've had hot dinners.
"Even their 18-year-olds are imports."
Of course, Martin is the namesake of a famous name in United's history - the full back who was the surprise matchwinner in the 1990 FA Cup final replay against Crystal Palace.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=177655

RVN
18-12-2003, 01:53 AM
Some papers are on a run of stories deliberately aimed at destabilising our club at the moment, (Butt and Ruud leaving, Fergie board revolt, Rio a druggie) etc and there's no real evidence that this story is anything besides idle speculation by some ignorant pricks. :mad:

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 02:15 AM
Hmm... Looks like yet another signing for the future... Wonder what mould of a midfielder is this Lee Martin in... The Keano type, the Scholesy type, or the Giggsy type? :D

Honestly, I do hope these promising youngsters that we have at OT can go on and make it big, and not just join the club for a few years, and then depart for another team... :o

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 02:19 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Some papers are on a run of stories deliberately aimed at destabilising our club at the moment, (Butt and Ruud leaving, Fergie board revolt, Rio a druggie) etc and there's no real evidence that this story is anything besides idle speculation by some ignorant pricks. :mad:

That's the press for you... They need to generate the rumours in order to stay in business... :(

Leave and let them be... Let the football action speak out louder than their voiceless news-prints... ;)

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 02:22 AM
Patrick Vieira has admitted he was 'annoyed' and 'disappointed' at the part he believes Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy played in his sending off in the infamous clash at Old Trafford in September.

The Arsenal skipper was dismissed following an altercation with the Dutchman towards the end of the fiery match after the pair had jumped for a high ball on the edge of the box.

Vieira went down as he landed, van Nistelrooy took evasive action as he thought he was going to trample on his marker, then the Frenchman appeared to kick out.

'I was annoyed at the way I feel he was acting,' Vieira said in the Daily Mail. 'That's what disappointed me because I have a big respect for him because he is a tremendous player.

'But I was disappointed in the way he acted. Maybe because I have so much respect for him that's what made it worse for me, as well as the reaction after the game.'

He added: 'We need to find a balance between people who are diving or pretending they are hurt and those who get involved.'

Vieira also paid tribute to United skipper Roy Keane's role in the powderkeg incident.

'He said `Appeal, Patrick'. He was trying to help me. He saw I was really upset and he kept me out of trouble.

'He knew straight away that I didn't deserve it. He told that it was finished and I should go off. It's done, over.

'I was pleased it was him. I don't think any other Manchester United player could have done it. That's the bond between us. It's a bond of respect.'

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 02:29 AM
Rio Ferdinand heads to Bolton for the biggest battle of his career on Thursday with players' chief Gordon Taylor believing the verdict has already been delivered against Manchester United's record signing.

Not since Eric Cantona launched himself into the crowd at Selhurst Park nine years ago has any disciplinary question captured attention as Ferdinand did when he failed to appear for a random drugs test at United's Carrington training ground in September.

Cantona eventually received a nine-month ban for his misdemeanour, a sentence which pales alongside the two-year suspension Ferdinand faces if a three-man disciplinary panel decides to inflict the largest punishment available to them.

That verdict may - or may not - be delivered late on Friday evening by panel chairman Barry Bright, who banned Roy Keane for eight games last year, before which Ferdinand and his legal team will spend two long days trying to wriggle free.

Their case will be fairly straightforward - Ferdinand forgot to take the test, offered to come back 90 minutes later and was turned down - and Taylor is convinced of the argument.

But such publicity has been generated and so many influential members of the sporting fraternity have expressed an opinion, he does not believe Ferdinand has any chance of justice.

'Any opportunity to deal with the matter objectively has been lost,'' the Professional Footballers' Association chief executive said. 'The whole thing is a complete mess and the FA have put themselves into a very difficult position.

'On one hand you have Sepp Blatter trying to make Rio out to be public enemy number one, on the other you have the feeling of the FA trying to stand up to Manchester United.

'I don't want to pre-judge the hearing but it appears the FA feel they have to put a marker down. I believe they will look to make Rio a scapegoat. If that happens, it would be extremely unfair.''

Taylor is concentrating his energies on maintaining Ferdinand's reputation.

With the eyes of the country on them, the three-man independent panel must steer a middle course between handing down a ban that would have been automatic in virtually any other sport and the fine Manchester City's Christian Negouai received.

Negouai also missed giving a sample, but he had been delayed picking his mother up from the airport on his way to the test - circumstances Ferdinand cannot state in his defence.

The situation has not been made easier by FIFA president Sepp Blatter's interventions.

Despite United and the FA dismissing his claims Ferdinand should have been instantly suspended, Blatter has maintained his offensive and again hinted he may refuse to sanction any punishment if he deems it not to be severe enough.

'If we condemn a player who has either refused or miraculously forgotten to take a drugs test it is not FIFA that is at fault,'' he said.

'But those directly responsible for this inexcusable omission and its aftermath, that is the individual himself, his club, and the FA, which has not swiftly enforced the laws on the suspension of players that ought to be applied.

'If FIFA sees this sort of thing happening, it is its duty to intervene.''

Since criticising Blatter's stance, United chief executive David Gill has kept a low profile on the issue, as have the rest of the Old Trafford hierarchy.

Privately though they reject any notion that a deal has been struck for Ferdinand not to appeal if he receives a three-month ban.

Claiming their player is guilty of nothing more than absent-mindedness, United are convinced Ferdinand should only receive a fine in proportion to Negouai's.

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 02:34 AM
Sepp Blatter believes it is FIFA's 'duty to intervene' in cases where world football's governing body believes due process has not been correctly followed.

Blatter came under fire recently for his comments on the Rio Ferdinand case, in which he suggested Manchester United should be docked points won while they fielded the England defender in their team following his misconduct charge for missing a drugs test in September.

Blatter infuriated the Old Trafford club when he said last month: 'How can now settle this case when he has played and what do you do with the results after that?'

United chief executive David Gill described Blatter's comments as 'incomprehensible'.

But the FIFA chief told the Financial Times today: 'I want to make clear why I spoke out and in particular to underline my words were not the result of some autocratic whim, but of considered analysis.'

He added: 'My comments on the Rio Ferdinand case - when I suggested that the player should be suspended pending his hearing and his club docked the points won in matches he has taken part in since his drug test - have also proved controversial.

'But surely, if we condemn a player who has either refused or miraculously forgotten to take a drug test it is not FIFA that is at fault, but those directly responsible for this inexcusable omission and its aftermath; that is the individual himself, his club, and the FA, which has not swiftly enforced the laws on the suspension of players that ought to be applied.

'If FIFA sees this sort of thing happening, it is its duty to intervene. It is the only way to make sure that the law is the same for everyone, rich and poor.

'FIFA cannot accept different strokes for different folks.'

Blatter's comments will increase the pressure on the Football Association to take strong action against Ferdinand, whose disciplinary hearing takes place over the next two days in Bolton.

Meanwhile, the FIFA chief also promised to come down even harder on players found guilty of actually taking drugs, and their clubs.

'If this type of behaviour persists we may well consider promulgating a law to impose a lifetime ban on any player caught taking performance-enhancing drugs and relegation on his club. If clubs can't control their players, who can?'

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, enough already, Blatter! This is just like placing a death sentence on a person who hasn't even been convicted of shop-lifting! :mad:

There're many other things for FIFA to worry about... Why don't you put more energy and enthusiasm into improving the conditions and quality of footy in developing countries instead? :(

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 02:38 AM
Rio Ferdinand will face one of the toughest battles of his footballing career on Thursday when he appears at Bolton's Reebok Stadium.

Ferdinand must answer a Football Association misconduct charge into his failure to take a drugs test at Manchester United's Carrington training ground on September 23.

The case is expected to last two days, with the verdict being delivered by Barry Bright, chairman of the three-man disciplinary committee.

According to the FA, this is how the process will work.

1 - The hearing commences at 1100GMT at Bolton's Reebok Stadium on Thursday, December 18.

2 - The independent three-man commission will be headed by Barry Bright, Kent FA representative on the FA Council. None of the commission are employed by the FA and none have been involved in the gathering of evidence which forms the case against Ferdinand.

3 - The FA's case against Ferdinand will be presented first. It has been prepared by Steve Barrow, head of the FA's compliance unit, and will be submitted by Mark Gay.

4 - Ferdinand's legal team, led by Ronald Thwaites, will then make the case for the defence.

5 - The hearing can continue as late on Thursday and Friday as the commission chooses.

6 - When the three men have heard the cases for both prosecution and defence they will retire to consider their verdict.

7 - When this is announced to the parties, Ferdinand's team then has 14 days to appeal against any punishment.

The hearing begins tomorrow @ 7pm sharp (SG time)... Hopefully Rio can get out of the entire fracas in one-piece, with a minimal sentence or fine... :(

RuMmYtUb
18-12-2003, 08:49 AM
Patrick Vieira has admitted he was 'annoyed' and 'disappointed' at the part he believes Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy played in his sending off in the infamous clash at Old Trafford in September.

The Arsenal skipper was dismissed following an altercation with the Dutchman towards the end of the fiery match after the pair had jumped for a high ball on the edge of the box.

Vieira went down as he landed, van Nistelrooy took evasive action as he thought he was going to trample on his marker, then the Frenchman appeared to kick out.

'I was annoyed at the way I feel he was acting,' Vieira said in the Daily Mail. 'That's what disappointed me because I have a big respect for him because he is a tremendous player.

'But I was disappointed in the way he acted. Maybe because I have so much respect for him that's what made it worse for me, as well as the reaction after the game.'

He added: 'We need to find a balance between people who are diving or pretending they are hurt and those who get involved.'

Vieira also paid tribute to United skipper Roy Keane's role in the powderkeg incident.

'He said `Appeal, Patrick'. He was trying to help me. He saw I was really upset and he kept me out of trouble.

'He knew straight away that I didn't deserve it. He told that it was finished and I should go off. It's done, over.

'I was pleased it was him. I don't think any other Manchester United player could have done it. That's the bond between us. It's a bond of respect.'

:mad: :mad: :mad:

ccloh
18-12-2003, 09:32 AM
seems like vieria is indeed a very narrow minded frenchman. a typical frenchman with very high pride and once struck can't get over it for a long long time. hmm just like the person we always know of ---- ARSENE WENGER. oh yeah the master taught the padawan well, the dark side i mean :D

martinweng
18-12-2003, 10:42 AM
Rio Ferdinand will face one of the toughest battles of his footballing career on Thursday when he appears at Bolton's Reebok Stadium.

Ferdinand must answer a Football Association misconduct charge into his failure to take a drugs test at Manchester United's Carrington training ground on September 23.

The case is expected to last two days, with the verdict being delivered by Barry Bright, chairman of the three-man disciplinary committee.

According to the FA, this is how the process will work.

1 - The hearing commences at 1100GMT at Bolton's Reebok Stadium on Thursday, December 18.

2 - The independent three-man commission will be headed by Barry Bright, Kent FA representative on the FA Council. None of the commission are employed by the FA and none have been involved in the gathering of evidence which forms the case against Ferdinand.

3 - The FA's case against Ferdinand will be presented first. It has been prepared by Steve Barrow, head of the FA's compliance unit, and will be submitted by Mark Gay.

4 - Ferdinand's legal team, led by Ronald Thwaites, will then make the case for the defence.

5 - The hearing can continue as late on Thursday and Friday as the commission chooses.

6 - When the three men have heard the cases for both prosecution and defence they will retire to consider their verdict.

7 - When this is announced to the parties, Ferdinand's team then has 14 days to appeal against any punishment.

The hearing begins tomorrow @ 7pm sharp (SG time)... Hopefully Rio can get out of the entire fracas in one-piece, with a minimal sentence or fine... :(

er...y @ reebok's stadium? not the place but, y a stadium?

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 12:37 PM
seems like vieria is indeed a very narrow minded frenchman. a typical frenchman with very high pride and once struck can't get over it for a long long time. hmm just like the person we always know of ---- ARSENE WENGER. oh yeah the master taught the padawan well, the dark side i mean :D

Somehow, I feel that Viera's comments about Roy Keane (at the end of the article) seems pretty interesting... I'd have thought that he'd blast Keano, along with the whole Man Utd team as well... :o

Hmm... I guess age and retirement from international footy seems to have made Keano more mature as well... ;)

OreoCookies
18-12-2003, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by martinweng

er...y @ reebok's stadium? not the place but, y a stadium?

Good question... This got to ask the FA liaoz... :o

The only reason I can think of is that maybe the location of the stadium is equally accessible from both London (where the FA is) and from Manchester? And maybe also on neutral grounds (instead of at the FA HQ)... :confused:

RuMmYtUb
18-12-2003, 06:30 PM
http://www.footballchannel.com/imx/article/small/rferdinand6.jpg

Dec 18 - The Football Association will push for Rio Ferdinand to be banned for between six months and a year if he is found guilty of refusing to take a drugs test, FootballChannel Sport can reveal.

Sources close to the case have revealed that the FA's stance presses for a tough suspension even though it will force Sven-Goran Eriksson, who is giving a character reference for the player, to revamp his defence for next summer's Euro 2004 finals in Portugal.

Any punishment is a decision for the independent disciplinary commission hearing the case. But the FA and its chief executive Mark Palios appear determined to prove they are hard on drug offenders, especially since the handling of the high-profile case has been heavily criticised by FIFA and world anti-drugs supremo Dick Pound.

Such a ban would controversially rule the £30million Manchester United defender out of next year's Champions League knockout stages, the Euro 2004 finals and possibly the first few months of next season.

The details of Ferdinand's failure to attend a test at United's training ground on September 23 were today due to be put before the FA's independent disciplinary commission at Bolton's Reebok Stadium at a hearing scheduled to start at 11am.

The panel is not expected to come to a final ruling until tomorrow. Ferdinand faces a charge of failure and/or refusal to attend a test. The second part of the charge implies deliberate avoidance, the more serious offence. The maximum penalty for this is a two-year ban.

United and the player will not dispute that he failed to take the test. They contend, however, that he accidentally forgot because he was distracted by a house move. FootballChannel can also reveal that Ferdinand's defence will question the efficiency of UK Sport's drug testers and whether they informed the player properly that he had to provide a urine sample.

Ronald Thwaites QC, one of the country's foremost barristers, will look for holes in the drug-testing procedures and in mitigation will also stress that Ferdinand has a previously good disciplinary record.

The FA and the drug testers will tell the hearing that they conducted everything within the FA's rules. United will almost certainly appeal against a long ban. A year suspension could also have implications for the club's financial results since Ferdinand is a huge asset as far as the club's accounts are concerned.

The case appears to have claimed its first victim already, though. It is being reported today that Michele Verroken, the country's senior drugs expert and the woman whose organisation oversaw the Ferdinand test, has been forced to resign.

Verroken, always an outspoken critic of drug- testing issues, has been heavily criticised by Gordon Taylor, the chief executive of the Professional Footballers' Association, in the past. There has been a radical reshuffle at UK Sport, who Verroken works for, and she is now reported to be on paid leave.

Wtf 12 months can die ar !!!

RVN
18-12-2003, 07:06 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1169836.jpg

Rio Ferdinand's day of reckoning is finally here.

The England and Manchester United defender appears before the FA at Bolton's Reebok Stadium at 11am, to defend a charge of missing a drugs test.

PFA chief Gordon Taylor fears Ferdinand is walking into a disciplinary nightmare when he fights his corner over his missed drugs test at the Reebok Stadium from 11am(7pm S'pore time), but former FA chief executive Graham Kelly has vouched for the FA's integrity.
In what is the most high-profile disciplinary case in years, Manchester United, the FA, the PFA and FIFA have been at loggerheads since the England centre-half missed a drugs test at United's Carrington training ground on September 23.

The controversy has been far reaching and Sepp Blatter has called for drugs cheats to be banned for life.

Even Sven Goran Eriksson has been involved. The England coach, like United and the PFA, is firmly behind Rio but the reputation of the FA - and Mark Palios in particular - stands on a stiff Ferdinand rebuke.

Taylor suspects it is a situation that will inevitably lead to Ferdinand being treated harshly, but Kelly, a man who understands the FA machine, believes the three-man panel sitting on the commission in Bolton will ensure it is fair and just.

Kelly told Sky Sports News: "To a certain degree everybody has had their say already, but now it's time for the three who count.

"The PFA's chief executive Gordon Taylor fears it won't be an independent hearing. The three men are members of the FA council and are FA people, but they are at pains to get it right.

"Nobody at the FA is allowed to complain about the decision reached. The decision is sacrosanct and nobody is allowed to chip away at it. It is, of course, subject to appeal if Rio or Manchester United don't like the decision."

The three-man panel is made up of FA disciplinary committee members Barry Bright, Roger Burden and Frank Pattison, an experienced trio who have been specially chosen for the high-profile Ferdinand case.

"I know two of them reasonably well," said Kelly, "and I'm sure they are honest people. They've been in football a long time, albeit not within the professional game.

"They will be unknown to the vast majority of football fans. I'm sure their hearts and minds are in the right place. They will bring honesty and integrity to the judgment of the case."

FIFA are also watching events closely and have threatened to top up any punishment perceived as insufficient, but Kelly expects the world governing body knows it will have to keep its nose out.

"It's really not an issue for FIFA. They should understand it is clearly under the rules of the FA. They say: a player who does not attend or turn up for a dope test is prima facie in breach of FA rules. So it is clearly for them to deal with.

"The difficulty the face is that they have had a similar case in the Premiership where a Manchester City player, Christian Negouai, didn't attend and he was given a fairly light penalty.

"If they want to deal more harshly with Rio they would have to prove why they want to do that. That's the difficulty they find with case."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1115802,00.html

leslielai
18-12-2003, 07:16 PM
You guys might wanna see this. :laugh:

RVN
18-12-2003, 07:26 PM
ALEX FERGUSON is keeping tabs on Leeds whizkid James Milner.

And Manchester United’s manager is guaranteed regular form updates because the teenager’s agent is . . . . Fergie’s son, Jason!

Ferguson is being linked with a move for Milner’s £10million-rated Elland Road strike partner Mark Viduka when the transfer window opens next month.

But the Old Trafford boss clearly sees Milner as one for the future.

Any move for the Leeds-born starlet will depend on events at the cash-strapped Yorkshire club.

If Leeds, £83m in debt, fail to find a new buyer by January 19 and are forced into administration, Fergie could well swoop immediately.

But if, as expected, they are saved by one of the four consortia battling for power, then Ferguson will almost certainly hold fire until the summer.

By then, Leeds will know whether or not they have won their fight for Premiership survival.

Milner, 18 on January 4, has been one of the stars of a revival under caretaker boss Eddie Gray.

It has seen United take seven points from their last three games and move off the foot of the table.

The youngster has figured in his side’s last nine matches, since returning from a successful loan spell at Second Division Swindon.

He first sprang to prominence by becoming the youngest Premiership player to find the net when he scored against Sunderland last Boxing Day, aged 16 years 356 days.

That beat, by four days, the previous record notched up by Wayne Rooney two months earlier.

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003580807,00.jpgON WATCH .... Alex Ferguson is keeping tabs

United bid to extend their unbeaten run at Manchester City on Monday night.

But Gray, so impressive in masterminding the turnaround in fortunes since taking over as caretaker-boss from sacked Peter Reid, will miss the showdown. His daughter Natalie, 31, is getting married.

The wedding date was set after Gray had been sacked as United’s assistant-manager last summer as part of a cost-cutting exercise.

Gray said last night: “Ironically, Natalie initially wanted to be married on Christmas Eve.

“But me and my wife Linda said to her ‘How on earth do you expect people to get transport home from a wedding on that day of the year?’ So we changed it to the Monday.

“I’m very disappointed to have to miss the game in Manchester.

“But I will be going to our training ground on Monday morning, before Natalie gets wed, to let the lads know what I expect of them.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003581989,00.html

leslielai
18-12-2003, 07:32 PM
VERY INTERESTING.

guoquanyap
18-12-2003, 10:00 PM
wOoT~....so many things happening sia...:D

RVN
18-12-2003, 10:16 PM
Ruud van Nistelrooy insists he will 'never, ever' play for another English club - shattering Chelsea hopes that they could prise him away from Old Trafford.

Chelsea chief executive Paul Smith says that they would pay £60m for the Dutchman if he became available but he is defiant in saying he is only interested in playing for Manchester United in the Premiership.

Van Nistelrooy also quashed rumours of a move to Real Madrid by insisting that he wants to sign a new contract at United before returning to Holland to end his career with PSV Eindhoven.

"My current contract comes to an end on my 30th birthday, the 1st July 2006. I am happy to sign a new contract though. I will never, ever play for another English club. Once you have played for United, the rest don’t count anymore," insists Van Nistelrooy.

"All I want to do is spend as much time of my career at United as possible before I eventually return home and bring the curtain down on my career at PSV. I have already brought a house back in the area because I know I will eventually end up back home."

Van Nistelrooy's words will comfort United fans worried that he could be tempted away by the lure of money from Chelsea or Real Madrid - as will his insistence that he wants to become part of the history of the club.

"I am not just here to pull a shirt on, I am here because I want to be part of this great club even when I have eventually walked away," he says.

"I have never just wanted to be here, score goals and look at my bank account. I wanted to have a warm feeling for the club. I can’t just be cold and just think about the football business. If you want to become part of the history then you have to embrace history from the past.

"When I came to United I made a point of knowing everything about the club. I felt it was important not to be ignorant and when people talked to me about past greats I knew who they were.

"When I came here I grabbed every book and video I could get my hands on and made sure I knew my stuff. To be a legend, to be part of history, you must know about the past. And to achieve success you must learn to love the club you're with.

"You can only love a club if you know everything there is to know about that club. Yes, I have done my homework and I have talked to the many people that matter."

And that should be enough to convince anyone that the Dutchman means to stay at the club beyond his current contract.

http://itv-football.co.uk/Teams/Manchester_United/story_94045.shtml

guoquanyap
18-12-2003, 10:50 PM
no use of talking so much......:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
18-12-2003, 10:52 PM
Ferdinand hearing under way

How Thursday's hearing will work
The hearing into Rio Ferdinand's missed drugs test has begun in front of an independent disciplinary commission at Bolton's Reebok Stadium.

Ferdinand faces a Football Association misconduct charge for "failure or refusal" to take a test in September.

The Manchester United defender could be banned for up to two years if he is found guilty at the two-day hearing.

Ferdinand, who passed a drugs test 36 hours after missing his appointment, has not been picked for England since.

But he has continued to play for his club, sparking a controversy that has even got Fifa president Sepp Blatter involved.

Blatter has suggested that Ferdinand should be suspended until a decision is made, and that United should be docked points for the matches they have won with Ferdinand in the team since his missed drugs test.

"Surely, if we condemn a player who has either refused or miraculously forgotten to take a drug test it is not Fifa that is at fault, but those directly responsible for this inexcusable omission and its aftermath.

"That is the individual himself, his club, and the FA, which has not swiftly enforced the laws on the suspension of players that ought to be applied.

"If Fifa sees this sort of thing happening, it is its duty to intervene. It is the only way to make sure that the law is the same for everyone, rich and poor.

"Fifa cannot accept different strokes for different folks."

I believe the FA will look to make Rio a scapegoat
PFA chief Gordon Taylor

Professional Footballers' Association chief executive Gordon Taylor believes there is little chance of a fair hearing for Ferdinand after so much press scrutiny.

"Any opportunity to deal with the matter objectively has been lost," said Taylor.

"The whole thing is a complete mess and the FA has put itself into a very difficult position.

"On one hand you have Sepp Blatter trying to make Rio out to be public enemy number one, on the other you have the FA trying to stand up to Manchester United.

"I don't want to pre-judge the hearing but it appears the FA feels it has to put a marker down.

"I believe it will look to make Rio a scapegoat. If that happens, it would be extremely unfair."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/3323751.stm

it had began......

OreoCookies
19-12-2003, 01:41 AM
Rio Ferdinand will be available for Manchester United's Christmas programme even if he is banned over his failure to take a drugs test.

Ferdinand is due at Bolton's Reebok Stadium today for the start of a two-day Football Association misconduct hearing at which he is likely to argue that his offer to return to United's Carrington training ground to take the test on September 23 was rejected by UK Sport doping officials.

The 25-year-old central defender is set to claim he merely 'forgot' to take the test and was on a shopping trip in central Manchester with former West Ham team-mate Eyal Berkovic when he received a call from United doctor Mike Stone asking where he was.

Under FA regulations, Ferdinand faces a maximum two-year suspension from the game, although most observers believe a three-month ban will eventually be imposed by Barry Bright, who will chair the three-man disciplinary panel.

However, any suspension would not begin until after the 14-day period Ferdinand will have to lodge an appeal, clearing him to face Tottenham at White Hart Lane on Sunday, plus the following league games against Everton and Middlesbrough.

Such a scenario would almost certainly bring another stinging attack from FIFA president Sepp Blatter, who has already criticised the FA's disciplinary procedures which have allowed Ferdinand to continue playing despite the threat of action hanging over him.

England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson is among those expected to offer a character witness statement on Ferdinand's behalf, while Berkovic and United boss Sir Alex Ferguson are both expected to give evidence at the hearing.

The FA confirmed yesterday that their case would be conducted by leading sports lawyer Mark Gay, while Ronald Thwaites and United's own legal guru Maurice Watkins will represent Ferdinand.

Given the hearing into Roy Keane's controversial comments about Alfie Haaland in his autobiography - also headed by Bright - took seven hours at the same venue last year, a verdict on Ferdinand's case is not expected until late on Friday evening, with the unpleasant possibility of the case being extended even further.

Worryingly for Ferdinand though, Professional Footballers Association chief executive Gordon Taylor believes the player is going to be made a scapegoat.

'Rio forgot to take the test, it is not exactly a criminal offence,' he said. 'He offered to return to take the test on the same day, but was denied and wasn't allowed to for reasons which have not been adequately explained.

'It has gone on for three months since then and all the opportunity to deal with the matter objectively has been lost. Now the whole thing is a complete mess.

'On one hand you have Sepp Blatter trying to make Rio out to be public enemy number one, on the other you have the feeling of the FA trying to stand up to Manchester United.

'I don't want to pre-judge the hearing, but it appears the FA feel they have to put a marker down. I believe they will look to make Rio a scapegoat. If that happens, it would be extremely unfair.'

With all eyes on them, Bright and the rest of his panel must somehow steer a middle course between handing down a ban which would have been automatic in virtually any other sport and the relatively minor fine Manchester City's Christian Negouai received when he committed the same offence earlier in the year.

To an outsider, the task looks impossible. Execute the first action and Ferdinand will claim he is being made an example of, take the second option and the wrath of the sporting world cascades down on your head.

Contrary to popular theory, United have not tried to plea bargain with the FA and have no power to appeal against any sentence imposed as only Ferdinand is in the dock.

United officials are convinced the player should receive no more than a fine, but if he does receive a three-month ban, Ferdinand knows any appeal could threaten his participation in next summer's European Championships.

Open justice it is not, but the arguments from both sides are likely to be fierce before 'judge' Barry Bright - who will head the three-man FA disciplinary committee - delivers his verdict, which is expected late tomorrow.

The FA's legal team will he headed by leading sports lawyer Mark Gay, a partner in London-based law firm Denton Wilde Sapte.

In Ferdinand's corner will be Ronald Thwaites QC, one of the country's foremost barristers, and Maurice Watkins, a Manchester United director and solicitor, who is also heavily involved in political work for UEFA and the Premier League.

The FA's prosecution will rely almost exclusively on the UK Sport drug testers, who attended United's Carrington training ground on September 23 and left without Ferdinand giving a sample. They will be asked to explain why they refused the England defender's offer to return and provide the sample after he claimed to forget to take the test.

In defence, Ferdinand will bring forward an extensive list of witnesses, including Manchester City midfielder Eyal Berkovic, who is believed to have been with his former West Ham team-mate when he made the call offering to return to Carrington.

A character statement from England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson is also expected to be presented, while it is believed his club boss Sir Alex Ferguson and Gordon Taylor, chief executive of the Professional Footballers' Association, will also speak on the player's behalf.

Most importantly of all, United's club doctor Mike Stone will provide a detailed chronology of how the day unfolded. Stone is the man who tried to contact Ferdinand when it became evident he was late for the test and he is also believed to be the man the defender spoke to when he made his offer to return.

Read somewhere that the FA are pushing for a ban of between six months to a year for Rio... :(

That's ridiculous man... Itz not like his urine sample tested positive or anything... A ban like this can ruin the season for the player, the club, and the country... :mad:

ccloh
19-12-2003, 09:29 AM
'cos rio is player playing in epl and represent england in international football that is why so much spotlight on it and i believe the FA is under pressure from FIFA to give heavy ban. if he was just an ordinary player playing in the nationwide league, who would give a damm abt it. even just a fine also nobody know abt it. a scapegoat to be precise.

guoquanyap
19-12-2003, 11:39 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003581142,00.jpg

ALEX FERGUSON has landed the ultimate footballer — David Beckham, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Roy Keane rolled into one.

That is the glowing tribute given to 16-year-old Lee Martin by Wimbledon’s Academy Director Martin Heather.

The young midfielder was snapped up by Manchester United this week from struggling First Division Dons in a deal that could top £1million.

The South Londoner is yet to make a senior appearance and signed his first professional contract only four months ago. But Heather knows how to spot a young superstar in the making.

He coached England skipper Beckham for Essex Schoolboys and, after watching Martin from the age of 12, Heather reckons United have bagged another gem.

Heather said: “Lee has the tenacity of Keane, the trickery of Giggs, the goals of Scholes and, most importantly, the focus and determination of Beckham.

“There are plenty of comparisons between him and Becks at this age — especially an amazing desire to reach the top.

“David was the best passer and striker of a ball I have ever seen but when he was younger he was unable to dominate a game physically.

“Lee is more developed and able to impose himself more.

“Both share a determination and a focus to succeed. Football is the most important thing and nothing will come before it.

“Lee has great potential and has done really well since being with us.

“Of course we didn’t want to lose him but in these situations you have to do what is best for the player and Lee felt it was the right move.

“He is good with either foot, is strong and has plenty of goals in him.

“Some great United players have come through the ranks — and Lee is a mix of them all.”

Dons boss Stuart Murdoch added: “He is an exciting prospect and, although he plays wide, he does like moving into the middle.

“He is a great crosser with both feet and you could say he reminds me of a United player who recently moved to Spain!

“We wanted to keep him because we think he has great ability and it is just a shame he couldn’t have stayed with us.

“But when you see the figures United wanted to pay us, it is clear just how highly they think of him.”

Martin, who was also chased by Arsenal, Spurs and Liverpool, only featured for Wimbledon’s reserves for the first time in October.

Last month, he played 52 minutes for the England Under-17s in the 1-1 draw against Switzerland at Bristol City’s Ashton Gate ground.

ccloh
19-12-2003, 12:00 PM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003581142,00.jpg

ALEX FERGUSON has landed the ultimate footballer — David Beckham, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Roy Keane rolled into one.

That is the glowing tribute given to 16-year-old Lee Martin by Wimbledon’s Academy Director Martin Heather.

The young midfielder was snapped up by Manchester United this week from struggling First Division Dons in a deal that could top £1million.

The South Londoner is yet to make a senior appearance and signed his first professional contract only four months ago. But Heather knows how to spot a young superstar in the making.

He coached England skipper Beckham for Essex Schoolboys and, after watching Martin from the age of 12, Heather reckons United have bagged another gem.

Heather said: “Lee has the tenacity of Keane, the trickery of Giggs, the goals of Scholes and, most importantly, the focus and determination of Beckham.

“There are plenty of comparisons between him and Becks at this age — especially an amazing desire to reach the top.

“David was the best passer and striker of a ball I have ever seen but when he was younger he was unable to dominate a game physically.

“Lee is more developed and able to impose himself more.

“Both share a determination and a focus to succeed. Football is the most important thing and nothing will come before it.

“Lee has great potential and has done really well since being with us.

“Of course we didn’t want to lose him but in these situations you have to do what is best for the player and Lee felt it was the right move.

“He is good with either foot, is strong and has plenty of goals in him.

“Some great United players have come through the ranks — and Lee is a mix of them all.”

Dons boss Stuart Murdoch added: “He is an exciting prospect and, although he plays wide, he does like moving into the middle.

“He is a great crosser with both feet and you could say he reminds me of a United player who recently moved to Spain!

“We wanted to keep him because we think he has great ability and it is just a shame he couldn’t have stayed with us.

“But when you see the figures United wanted to pay us, it is clear just how highly they think of him.”

Martin, who was also chased by Arsenal, Spurs and Liverpool, only featured for Wimbledon’s reserves for the first time in October.

Last month, he played 52 minutes for the England Under-17s in the 1-1 draw against Switzerland at Bristol City’s Ashton Gate ground.

dont think he will be feature in this season. perhaps next season can see him in action. :)

OreoCookies
19-12-2003, 12:12 PM
'cos rio is player playing in epl and represent england in international football that is why so much spotlight on it and i believe the FA is under pressure from FIFA to give heavy ban. if he was just an ordinary player playing in the nationwide league, who would give a damm abt it. even just a fine also nobody know abt it. a scapegoat to be precise.

So much for the "almighty" (pun intended) Blatter's claim about not having "different strokes for different folks"... :mad:

OreoCookies
19-12-2003, 12:15 PM
Whoa... That's a huge comparison (with Keano and gang) to put Lee Martin into... Good to know that he has huge potential, but not so good to put him under such pressure at such a young age... :o

OreoCookies
19-12-2003, 12:16 PM
The first day of Rio Ferdinand's disciplinary hearing ended in a wall of silence at Bolton's Reebok Stadium on Thursday night.

After seven hours of deliberations into Ferdinand's failure to take a drugs test at Manchester United's Carrington training ground on September 23, Football Association representatives refused to offer any comment on proceedings and said there would be no guidance issued until the entire case was concluded.

It leaves the case - which could land the 25-year-old a maximum two-year suspension - shrouded in mystery, although it was not believed Ferdinand has yet started to mount his defence against the charge.

That is expected to start when the case, the most controversial the FA have had to deal with since Eric Cantona leapt into the crowd at Selhurst Park eight years ago, resumes at 9am tomorrow morning, with the FA desperately hoping it will have reached a conclusion later in the afternoon.

Flanked by United director and legal expert Maurice Watkins, Ferdinand arrived an hour early for his hearing and looked pensive as he sat in a hotel adjoining the stadium finalising his case.

Earlier, the three-man FA disciplinary commission - Barry Bright, the man who suspended Roy Keane for a record eight games last season, Peter Herd and Frank Pattison had travelled to United's Carrington training ground to see where the test should have taken place, before heading up the M61 to open the hearing.

PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor, who has been so critical of the FA's handling of Ferdinand's case, was also in attendance as an observer, sitting at the back of a room which contained three tables, one for each side with the commission in the middle.

Mark Gay opened the first two-hour session, outlining the case against Ferdinand, whose defence was being presented by Ronald Thwaites QC, assisted by Watkins.

While admitting that he forgot to take the test, Ferdinand was thought to have argued that within 90 minutes of leaving the training ground, he offered to return to Carrington and provide a sample.

The offer is believed to have been rejected because only one UK Sport official remained at the site and the temporary testing centre had been closed.

Ferdinand, who has never tested positive for any banned substance, eventually provided a sample on September 25, which proved to be negative.

The FA have been widely criticised for letting the case drag on for almost three months from the day Ferdinand failed to show for this test until the start of his hearing.

FIFA chief executive Sepp Blatter has been among those to condemn the FA most vigorously and has hinted he would be prepared to increase the eventual punishment should he deem it not to be severe enough.

Blatter's stance has placed the FA in a very uncomfortable position as United are also expected to point to the decision to fine Manchester City midfielder Christian Negouai for a similar offence earlier this year as precedent.

Negouai's case only came to light in the wake of the storm which erupted over Ferdinand's failed test, which became public knowledge when he was ditched from England's Euro 2004 squad to face Turkey in October.

That move came despite fierce opposition from national team boss Sven-Goran Eriksson, who is among those to have provided written character references for the player.

Old Trafford boss Sir Alex Ferguson and Ferdinand's former West Ham team-mate Eyal Berkovic, who was believed to have been with the player in central Manchester when he was informed of his failure to take the test, are expected to give evidence tomorrow.

The FA are hoping the case will be wrapped up by tomorrow evening, although the possibility exists that it could over-run.

If that were to happen, it is almost certain the case could not resume until Monday as Bolton entertain Arsenal in the Premiership on Saturday.

guoquanyap
19-12-2003, 12:25 PM
Whoa... That's a huge comparison (with Keano and gang) to put Lee Martin into... Good to know that he has huge potential, but not so good to put him under such pressure at such a young age... :o

and keano wan fergie to buy celtic Liam Miller....

United target new Keane

By NEIL CUSTIS

MANCHESTER UNITED want Celtic midfielder Liam Miller as a long-term replacement for Roy Keane.

Irishman Miller, 22, is out of contract next summer and could arrive for £3million during the January transfer window.

Alex Ferguson knows Keane, 32, probably has only two years left and wants time to groom Miller.

The Irish Under-21 star has started 14 games for Celtic this season and made 11 more appearances as sub, scoring five goals.

Meanwhile, Ruud van Nistelrooy has maintained he WILL sign a new contract at United — if Fergie stays.

He said: “I will never play for another English club. Once you have played for United, the rest don’t count.

“My contract ends on July 1 2006, my 30th birthday. I am happy to sign a new one.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003582461,00.html

edhorizon
19-12-2003, 04:26 PM
seriously i dunno what SAF thinking...
so many defensive mid for what?

Phil Neville
Eric Djemba-Djemba
Jose Kleberson
Nicky Butt
Roy Keane

we got more then enough to cover.. if want future prospect then got Eric Djemba-Djemba and Jose Kleberson. rubbish man!

ccloh
19-12-2003, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon

Phil Neville
Eric Djemba-Djemba
Jose Kleberson
Nicky Butt
Roy Keane

we got more then enough to cover.. if want future prospect then got Eric Djemba-Djemba and Jose Kleberson. rubbish man!

i would place kleberson as a player who can play as attacking midfielder also not really defensive type and given roy keane would have perhaps 2 more yrs to run by so u can see it is time to get in those defensive midfielders and let them train under the feather of keano so that next time can hand over w/o any glitches.

RVN
19-12-2003, 06:45 PM

Phil Neville
Eric Djemba-Djemba
Jose Kleberson
Nicky Butt
Roy Keane

You calling SAF rubbish :mad: :mad: :mad:

8 titles in 11 years. ;)

RVN
19-12-2003, 07:39 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39629000/gif/_39629807_2012_tot_mutd.gif

Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand will play against Tottenham Hotspur on Sunday regardless of the outcome of his disciplinary hearing with the FA, manager Alex Ferguson has confirmed.

Ferdinand is facing a commission, set up by the FA, to answer charges of misconduct for "failing or refusing" to take a drugs test in September and was presenting his defence on Friday.

A verdict is expected by Friday evening, but even if it goes against Ferdinand, United will have 14 days to appeal and the England international would be permitted to play on until any outcome of an appeal.

"I'm pencilling him in to play on Sunday," Ferguson, who will speak as part of Ferdinand's defence later today, told a news conference on Friday morning.

"It's not ideal preparation but hopefully he's got the temperament to handle it.

"He will have a training session tomorrow. He's not had any training today or yesterday. That's the only concern but he will have a good session tomorrow and hopefully he's okay for Sunday."

While Ferdinand is expected to face Spurs, Ferguson confirmed that he will rotate his squad to cope with a three-game spell against David Pleat's side, Everton and Middlesbrough in the space of eight days.

"There's no question about that. We will make changes in each game," he said.

Wes Brown is close to a return to first-team action for the first time this season and could figure at some point over the holiday period.

The defender will not travel to London this weekend but will play in another reserve-team game United are hoping to arrange next week.

Ferguson is now looking forward to having the 24-year-old England international back following a second knee operation.

He added: "There's not a player in my time at Manchester United who's got more sympathy and particularly more desire from everyone that he gets a trouble-free run now.

"If he gets that he will be an absolutely magnificent player."

United currently trail premier league leaders Arsenal by one point and Ferguson will be happy to be as close to the top of the table by the turn of the year given his side's traditional improvement in the second half of the season.

"New Year time is a good barometer. We always hope we are in the frame at the top, one or two points either for you or behind the leading pack and we would be delighted at that," he said.

Man Utd (from): Howard, G Neville, Silvestre, Ferdinand, O'Shea, Fortune, Ronaldo, Kleberson, Fletcher, P Neville, Keane, Butt, Giggs, Scholes, van Nistelrooy, Forlan, Bellion, Carroll, Djemba-Djemba.

RuMmYtUb
19-12-2003, 08:32 PM

Phil Neville
Eric Djemba-Djemba
Jose Kleberson
Nicky Butt
Roy Keane

U are the rubbish.

RVN
19-12-2003, 09:01 PM
in relevance to our match against spurs,
this season, we have not won a match that kicked-off on a sunday, kind of jinx for us :(,hope that will all change. :)

festive period might not be easy

Everton home on boxing day
Boro away on 28th
Villa away (FA Cup)
Bolton away on 7th
Newcastle home on 10th

and Villa are our opponents on the last matchday of the season.

OreoCookies
19-12-2003, 10:26 PM

Phil Neville
Eric Djemba-Djemba
Jose Kleberson
Nicky Butt
Roy Keane

SAF has always liked midfielders who can slog it out and make themselves felt physically... ;)

In any case, I think the Gaffer is on the lookout for someone who can dominate midfield play with his presence and spirit... There doesn't seem to be a suitable replacement in the Keano mould as yet... The players in the list do their job well enough, but are still far from matching the tenacity and strength-of-mind that Keane has... :o

OreoCookies
19-12-2003, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by RVN
in relevance to our match against spurs,
this season, we have not won a match that kicked-off on a sunday, kind of jinx for us :(,hope that will all change. :)

festive period might not be easy

Everton home on boxing day
Boro away on 28th
Villa away (FA Cup)
Bolton away on 7th
Newcastle home on 10th

and Villa are our opponents on the last matchday of the season.

Three away matches out of five... If we make it out of this period with good results, we should be set for our annual rock-n-roll until the end of the season... :D

guoquanyap
19-12-2003, 11:51 PM

Three away matches out of five... If we make it out of this period with good results, we should be set for our annual rock-n-roll until the end of the season... :D

if win all, best!....:D

OreoCookies
20-12-2003, 12:26 AM

if win all, best!....:D

Not impossible... ;)

McClaren will want to prove something when we visit Boro... FA Cup tie at Villa Park will also be a tricky match... Bolton at Reebok Stadium is always going to be tough... Then there's the matter of dispatching the visiting Toon Army... :o

Not impossible... Let's see what SAF has up his sleeve then... :D

guoquanyap
20-12-2003, 12:29 AM

Not impossible... ;)

McClaren will want to prove something when we visit Boro... FA Cup tie at Villa Park will also be a tricky match... Bolton at Reebok Stadium is always going to be tough... Then there's the matter of dispatching the visiting Toon Army... :o

Not impossible... Let's see what SAF has up his sleeve then... :D

that why i said best mah....:D even this sun visit to white hart lane is tricky enough.....

genesis113
20-12-2003, 06:31 AM
Rio is banned for 8 months. Big blow to England and United, especially United. This has affected our getting established defence. Appeal might not help, as the player's career-ending maniac Blatter is keep pressing the incompetent FA.

Not sure Brown can comeback in form, as we have crucial Champions League matches vs Porto in Feb and crucial second half of EPL.

Buying a "big" defender who still can play in the Europe, is very difficult now.

United must show tremendous characters like they did in last season.

OreoCookies
20-12-2003, 08:06 AM
Rio Ferdinand will appeal against an eight-month ban - branded 'savage and unprecedented' by his club - for failing to take a drugs test.

The world's costliest defender has been rocked by the sentence, which rules him out of the remainder of Manchester United's club campaign, the first month of the next Premiership season - due to commence on August 14 - next summer's European Championships and almost certainly the first two World Cup qualifiers.

Ferdinand has also been handed a £50,000 fine, although the cash pales into insignificance alongside the massive suspension, just a month short of the ban Eric Cantona received when he launched himself into the crowd at Selhurst Park in 1996.

The player stood in shock alongside United director Maurice Watkins who said an appeal was 'inevitable'.

However, unless it is successful, the 25-year-old, who cost £29.3million when he signed from Leeds 18 months ago, knows his United and England careers will have suffered a major setback.

'We are extremely disappointed by the result of this case,' said Watkins. 'In particular by the savage and unprecedented sentence which makes an appeal inevitable.

'I can confirm Rio has the full support of Manchester United and the Professional Footballers' Association.'

After 18 hours' deliberations over two days, the independent three-man panel, headed by Barry Bright, remained unmoved over Ferdinand's argument, despite supporting evidence given by Sir Alex Ferguson, Nicky Butt and Eyal Berkovic.

'The disciplinary commission has unanimously found the charge was proved against Rio Ferdinand,' said Nick Barron, spokesman for the three-man commission.

'It was further decided that he will be suspended for a period of eight months with effect from Monday, January 12 2004 and be fined the sum of £50,000.

'Having requested a personal hearing he was ordered to pay the full costs of the hearing. Such decisions are subject to the right of appeal.'

Ferdinand has until January 5 to lodge an appeal.

Following the panels guilty verdict Manchester United director and solicitor Maurice Watkins issued a brief statement that read: 'We are extremely disappointed by the result in this case. It is a particularly savage and unprecedented sentence which makes an appeal inevitable.

'We can confirm that Rio has the full support of Manchester United and the FA and there will be no further comment at this stage.'

Pending the appeal Ferdinand can play on for United up to and including their Premiership match at home to Newcastle on Sunday, January 11.

Ferguson has already confirmed his intention to play the England central defender against Tottenham on Sunday, although there has to be a doubt over his mental capacity to play in the game after suffering such an unexpected setback.

The decision will also be greeted with acute dismay by England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson, who provided a written character statement for the player.

The Swede argued against Ferdinand being forced out of the vital qualifier with Turkey when the controversy first erupted over the defender's failure to take the test on September 23.

Ferdinand claimed to have merely forgotten to take the test and is believed to have provided evidence that he offered to return to Carrington to provide the necessary sample within two hours.

He is believed to have provided evidence that at least one tester remained on site when he made his offer, which was rejected.

Bright and his panel apparently dismissed the argument out of hand, even though Ferdinand provided a negative urine sample within two days and has never previously tested positive in his entire career.

Neither were they swayed by Ferdinand's claim that a precedent for such cases had been set by their treatment of Manchester City's Christian Negouai, who only received a £2,000 for a similar indiscretion earlier in the year.

Of more influence may have been the warnings of FIFA president Sepp Blatter and the rest of the sporting world, who were demanding a heavy punishment.

Ferdinand could have received a maximum two-year suspension for the offence but even this afternoon United were anticipating nothing more than a fine.

Ferguson appeared jovial as he left the Reebok Stadium, 90 minutes after his arrival, and had earlier lambasted Blatter for his frequent interventions.

There can be little doubt no-one at Old Trafford will be happy with the conclusion Bright and his panel reached on Friday night. Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand has been banned for eight months, starting from Monday, January 12, for missing a drugs test.

An independent tribunal found the England player guilty of misconduct after he failed to take a test on September 23 despite being selected to give a sample to UK Sport doping officials at the club's Carrington training ground.

The 25-year-old can play on for now, as he has 16 days in which United must lodge their appeal against his punishment.

But an eight-month ban would mean Ferdinand missing the remainder of Manchester United's season and the Euro 2004 finals with England.

The FA's independent commission spokesman Nick Baron confirmed: 'The commission unanimously found that the charge was proved against Rio Ferdinand.

'It was further decided that he be suspended for eight months from January 12 2004 and fined a sum of £50,000.

'Having requested a personal hearing, he is subject to pay the costs of the hearing.

'Such decisions are subject to the right of appeal.'

The Football Association later released a statement that simply stated: 'The FA has received today the decision of the Independent Disciplinary Commission into the case of Rio Ferdinand.

'Clearly the commission regarded not taking a drugs test as a very serious matter and have taken their action accordingly. The FA have no further comment to make.'

This sux big time manz... :(

OreoCookies
20-12-2003, 08:07 AM
Rio Ferdinand's eight-month suspension for failing to take a drugs test is either 'very draconian' or very light - depending on which expert observer you listen to.

Professional Footballers' Association chief executive Gordon Taylor was beside himself at the severity of the punishment tonight when he felt Ferdinand could easily have been given the 'benefit of the doubt'.

But Dick Pound, president of the World Anti-Doping Agency, considered Ferdinand - also fined £50,000 - had 'dodged the bullet' and ought to be very wary of Manchester United's avowed intention to appeal on his behalf, in case their England defender ends up with an even longer ban.

As things stand Ferdinand is effectively ruled out of the remainder of the domestic season as well as next summer's Euro 2004 campaign, thanks to the decision by an independent commission under the auspices of Football Association.

But the ruling of the three-man panel was greeted with dismay by footballers' union boss Taylor.

He said: 'We knew there would have to be a penalty.

'But an eight-month ban and £50,000 fine is, I feel, very draconian.

'I felt there was every opportunity for the FA to give him the benefit of the doubt.

'There had to be a penalty, bearing in mind the world pressure. But he has not been given the benefit of the doubt, quite clearly.'

United director and solicitor Maurice Watkins immediately announced the club will appeal against what they describe as a 'savage and unprecedented' punishment for Ferdinand, who failed to take the drugs test on September 23.

But anti-doping boss Pound warns that may be a dangerous course of action.

Pound told BBC News 24 he believes Ferdinand got off lightly, questioning the reasoning of the tribunal - given that the penalty in other sports would most likely have been a two-year ban.

'They (must) have heard something which mitigates the penalty,' he said.

'I think he's done very well. Getting only a third of what you might be liable for is not bad.

'I don't know who was advising him - but they should be careful about an appeal against the sentence, because it could be increased.'

The WADA chief also said: 'He has dodged the bullet in some respects.

'The sentence is a third of the theoretical maximum he could have got, so he's done pretty well from his perspective.

'The problem with a lot of the drugs that can be taken is that a lot can happen between the time you are designated to provide a sample and the time that you actually do take the test.'

Following tonight's announcement, the FA released their own short statement which noted only: 'Clearly the commission regarded not taking a drugs test as a very serious matter and have taken their action accordingly.'

John Scott, the man currently in charge of doping issues at testing agency UK Sport, backed the FA's handling of the matter.

He said: 'It's the responsibility of the FA to set the penalty - and while the recommended ban for this sort of offence is two years, they have obviously taken account of the circumstances.

'Our main concern with any doping offence is that the governing body follows the rules and regulations, and we are very satisfied that the FA has gone through a proper process and a proper hearing.'

OreoCookies
20-12-2003, 08:21 AM
Originally posted by genesis113
Rio is banned for 8 months. Big blow to England and United, especially United. This has affected our getting established defence. Appeal might not help, as the player's career-ending maniac Blatter is keep pressing the incompetent FA.

Not sure Brown can comeback in form, as we have crucial Champions League matches vs Porto in Feb and crucial second half of EPL.

Buying a "big" defender who still can play in the Europe, is very difficult now.

United must show tremendous characters like they did in last season.

I do wonder... Is it so that so many people hate Man Utd? I mean, if this case involved another player from another club, I would believe that the matter wouldn't have been blown to such proportions right at the beginning... :mad:

I'm more worried for Ferdinand... Brown may not be fully match-fit yet, but there's still people around who can help cover the hole in defence... But Ferdinand will have to face the prospect of sitting out of the game for more than half-a-year... This will surely afflict his footy career manz... :(

An appeal seems the right response, but the danger of having a even longer ban seems very dangerous... This whole situation simply sux...

guoquanyap
20-12-2003, 08:30 AM

I do wonder... Is it so that so many people hate Man Utd? I mean, if this case involved another player from another club, I would believe that the matter wouldn't have been blown to such proportions right at the beginning... :mad:

becos rio is a high profile personnel....they are trying to make a example out of him to show the world that they are serious in this matter.....

if it's other 'small' players.....they surely will get away w it.....

guoquanyap
20-12-2003, 08:31 AM
jus felt sad for him that he gonna miss the Euro2004.....it mus be a big big blow for him.....hope englang go out in the first round.....:mad:

RuMmYtUb
20-12-2003, 09:18 AM
Wah lau paid so much for him to get ban.. :mad:

pyu
20-12-2003, 09:26 AM
Though he did miss the test, he never failed it when he made up for it.

Too bad he's a high profile player for such a big club. I agree that the English FA simply wants to make a show for the benefit for FIFA and that World Anti-Doping Agency to show that they are serious about drug-related cases.

RVN
20-12-2003, 12:14 PM
With Ferdinand gone from January 12th - September 12th.

We'll have at least 2 weeks to sign someone during January, before the ban comes in-affect or we can also chose to buy during the start the Jan.

Any bets? :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
20-12-2003, 04:45 PM
Wah lau paid so much for him to get ban.. :mad:

not as if he wan ma.....Cantona come fr leeds oso kana ban....now rio come fr leeds oso kana ban......but when rio come back will he do wat cantona did w us......lead us to a higher level?.....wait to be seen.....;)

Kiwi8
20-12-2003, 05:05 PM
Originally posted by pyu
Though he did miss the test, he never failed it when he made up for it.

Too bad he's a high profile player for such a big club. I agree that the English FA simply wants to make a show for the benefit for FIFA and that World Anti-Doping Agency to show that they are serious about drug-related cases.

Failing to take the test b4 any drugs taken to improve a game's performance, is as almost as good as taking the test and testing positive, since there is nothing to prove the footballer's innocence, regardless of whether he had taken any drugs or not.

RVN
20-12-2003, 07:07 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39659000/jpg/_39659441_rio203.jpg

Manchester United are planning an appeal against Rio Ferdinand's eight-month ban for missing a drugs test.
The defender's ban is due to start on 12 January, and United have until 5 January to lodge their appeal.

But Dick Pound, chairman of the World Anti-Doping Agency, warned: "He should be careful about his appeal as his sentence could be increased."

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has insisted Ferdinand will play against Spurs in the Premiership on Sunday.

Ferdinand's ban for missing a routine drugs test on 23 September means he will miss Euro 2004, the first month of next season and the opening round of qualifiers for the 2006 World Cup.

Realistically, an appeal is likely to be heard in mid-February, and could significantly delay the start of the ban.

United director Maurice Watkins described the eight-month ban as "savage and unprecedented".

The club is angry that Manchester City defender Christian Negouai was only handed a £2,000 fine when he committed a similar offence last year.

And Ferguson attacked Fifa president Sepp Blatter and FA chief executive Mark Palios for insisting on a lengthy ban for his star defender.

The FA is setting up a think-tank to examine its doping procedure in the wake of the Ferdinand affair.

Former Olympic champion Lord Coe will be one of its members.

"I will have to look at the whole situation simply to make sensible observation about the way the FA conducts its doping tests in the future," he said.

He added that Ferdinand deserved to receive his ban.

"It is a punishment that, on balance, is proportionate and it's certainly a punishment that will not leave people thinking the FA has gone soft on drugs."

England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson, who submitted a character reference for Ferdinand at Bolton's Reebok Stadium on Friday, will have to start preparing for life without his most influential player at last summer's World Cup finals.

England keeper David James, writing in The Times newspaper, said: "We saw from the last World Cup that no side can afford to lose its key squad members and, assuming that he does not overturn the decision, Rio's absence will be regarded as a big blow,"

Despite Ferdinand's testing week, he is expected to play against Spurs at White Hart Lane on Sunday.

"He has a good temperament. It hasn't been an easy time for him but I am banking on that temperament helping him on Sunday," Ferguson said.

"Rio knows that when he comes here he is in a good environment and protective situation."

But he added he was concerned at the toll the affair had taken on the centre-half.

"In terms of handling football matches, Rio has been as laid back as he appears to be but, like every other human being, he is not unbreakable."

ccloh
20-12-2003, 10:44 PM
well the fact is a ban is expected since day 1 the incident revealed to the public. the issue now is the length of the ban is it justify ??? there are definitely lot of doubts in having that lengthly ban. first of all i read headline is that he "gets 8-months ban for MISSING a drug test". well a drug test means testing for illegal drugs and if the result is negative, obviously you are innocent but can the term MISSING also carried the same meaning as gulity of taking drugs ??? i really find it unbelievable in linking the 2 things together.

for me a 3-mth ban was what i expected. one thing for sure is the hash punishment is all 'cos that blatter joker coming in.

RVN
20-12-2003, 10:48 PM
thing is,how come Bosnich gets 9 months for using coke.

stam and davids get less than rio for using performance enhancing drugs.

Yep, all thanks to Blatter and also Dick Pound for the 8-month ban. :mad:

WE'LL SEE YOU IN COURT FA ;)

http://207.44.246.95/66/172/upload/p3751.jpg

delinux14
20-12-2003, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

Failing to take the test b4 any drugs taken to improve a game's performance, is as almost as good as taking the test and testing positive, since there is nothing to prove the footballer's innocence, regardless of whether he had taken any drugs or not.

And there is also nothing to prove he is guilty.

Lest you forget, if you do not have enough evidence, you do not have a case.

Kiwi8
21-12-2003, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by delinux14

And there is also nothing to prove he is guilty.

Lest you forget, if you do not have enough evidence, you do not have a case.

If an example is not made to make "Missing a doping test" to be equal to "Testing positive for a doping test", footballers who take drugs may try to cheat the system by refusing to go for doping tests, getting lesser punishment in the process.

Alienz
21-12-2003, 01:06 AM

If an example is not made to make "Missing a doping test" to be equal to "Testing positive for a doping test", footballers who take drugs may try to cheat the system by refusing to go for doping tests, getting lesser punishment in the process.
Agree....... I think the ban is fair enough....... if Rio is not to be ban then everyone will take this for granted..... it is very serious matters...........

OreoCookies
21-12-2003, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by RVN
With Ferdinand gone from January 12th - September 12th.

We'll have at least 2 weeks to sign someone during January, before the ban comes in-affect or we can also chose to buy during the start the Jan.

Any bets? :rolleyes:

Hmm... Since itz confirmed that Rio and Man Utd will be appealing the ban, will it still come into effect on 12th Jan after the appeal is submitted? :confused:

OreoCookies
21-12-2003, 01:39 AM

not as if he wan ma.....Cantona come fr leeds oso kana ban....now rio come fr leeds oso kana ban......but when rio come back will he do wat cantona did w us......lead us to a higher level?.....wait to be seen.....;)

Rio can definitely help improve the quality of the team with time... But I'd rather he does that without the ban in the way... :o

guoquanyap
21-12-2003, 01:40 AM
heh arsenal drop pts again....:evil:

RVN
21-12-2003, 01:41 AM

Hmm... Since itz confirmed that Rio and Man Utd will be appealing the ban, will it still come into effect on 12th Jan after the appeal is submitted? :confused:

dunno, not sure leh, if he continues to play after Jan 12, Blatter going to start more flaming at us. :mad:

I don't think he be allowed to do that regardless of the appeal. :(

OreoCookies
21-12-2003, 01:44 AM
well the fact is a ban is expected since day 1 the incident revealed to the public. the issue now is the length of the ban is it justify ??? there are definitely lot of doubts in having that lengthly ban. first of all i read headline is that he "gets 8-months ban for MISSING a drug test". well a drug test means testing for illegal drugs and if the result is negative, obviously you are innocent but can the term MISSING also carried the same meaning as gulity of taking drugs ??? i really find it unbelievable in linking the 2 things together.

for me a 3-mth ban was what i expected. one thing for sure is the hash punishment is all 'cos that blatter joker coming in.

The English FA also has to play a big part in the matter... For sure, Blatter and the press wouldn't have helped to blow-up the matter if the FA had not revealed Ferdinand's case to the public in the first place... :(

In addition, the FA also has to do something big in order to cover-up for their own administrative oversight in regards to the matter... Itz a shame they actually resorted to sacrificing a promising and loyal Englishman in an attempt to make themselves look better than they actually are... :mad:

OreoCookies
21-12-2003, 01:49 AM

Trying to cheat the system is not really that easy... At least Rio provided a sample within 48-hours of missing his first test... Some drugs will take longer than 48-hours to flush out of the player's system, and it is only fair if the FA takes this into serious consideration...

OreoCookies
21-12-2003, 01:52 AM
Originally posted by Alienz

Agree....... I think the ban is fair enough....... if Rio is not to be ban then everyone will take this for granted..... it is very serious matters...........

A ban could be considered fair, if it was for three-months or so... A light punishment for a small negligence, to make it sound positive...

But to ban a player for more than half a year for missing a drugs test - which he subsequently passed a short while later - makes little sense to the very word spelt J-U-S-T-I-C-E... :(

OreoCookies
21-12-2003, 01:53 AM
heh arsenal drop pts again....:evil:

But they're still on an unbeaten roll... 17 matches now... :(

RVN
21-12-2003, 01:57 AM

so, let them draw all the way then, if we win our matches, we gain 2 points over them. :)

guoquanyap
21-12-2003, 01:58 AM

they can remain unbeaten till the end.....jus let them draw them all.....;)