PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

StormTrooper
17-01-2004, 10:24 AM
Originally posted by leslielai

you have a better candidate? :rolleyes:

smith!

Alienz
17-01-2004, 10:40 AM
Sir Alex To Swoop For Dindane

Sir Alex Ferguson is set to swoop for Anderlecht's Aruna Dindane if Fulham remain stubborn and refuse his final offer to sign Fulham Louis Saha.
Dindane, 22, is currently playing for Belgian club Anderlecht, but has admitted that Sir Alex Ferguson inquired about him in the summer and hasn't yet made a bid for him yet.

"I am still dreaming about playing in England - and if Manchester United are already interested in me, I don't see why I can't have this dream." said the forward.

"I hope Anderlecht would not block a big move if it came up." he added.

Dindane is a flat-out striker who has played over 15 times for his native Ivory Coast. He has been playing for Anderlecht for 4 years now after joining them from ASEC Mimosas.

The powerhouse has played over 20 champions league games for the Belgian champions and has once scored a stunning goal against Real Madrid.

Ch3tah_39
17-01-2004, 12:11 PM
man utd shld stop going for saha lerr... no piont sial la.. drag drag.. later cnnt get

RuMmYtUb
17-01-2004, 12:24 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

smith!

I like! :D

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 12:52 PM

smith! \

leeds wont sell him....now they are not really in need of $$.....

imo...we should go for defoe....

StormTrooper
17-01-2004, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
\

leeds wont sell him....now they are not really in need of $$.....

imo...we should go for defoe....

i thought leeds put their star players on sale? :confused:

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 01:03 PM

i thought leeds put their star players on sale? :confused:

read some report saying that......Sheikh Abdulrahman Bin Mubarak Al Khalifa raised 35million pound to invest in them......

RVN
17-01-2004, 06:43 PM
Manchester United have released the following statement regarding Rio Ferdinand's appeal decision on his eight-month FA ban:

Manchester United announced today that Rio Ferdinand has decided to begin his suspension from January 20th following the findings of the FA’s Disciplinary Commission last month. The decision follows discussions between the Club, the player and his lawyers.

Whilst Rio Ferdinand accepts that he missed an unannounced drugs test, and publicly apologises for that, he continues to maintain that he did not miss the test deliberately and that he did not have any reason to avoid it.

He therefore intends to appeal against the findings and sanctions imposed by the FA’s Disciplinary Commission last month. Accordingly, the 30 page Notice of Appeal is being finalised and will be lodged with the FA on Monday. The Club respects his decision and will continue to support his appeal.

Both Manchester United and Rio Ferdinand reiterate their strong condemnation of the use of drugs in any sport.

The Club and the player both play active parts in anti-drugs campaigns. Rio Ferdinand will both during and following any period of suspension continue his work in the communities in the north-west and in his home district in south east London to combat the abuse of drugs amongst youngsters.

David Gill, Chief Executive of Manchester United, said: “There are lessons to be learned for all of us from this episode. Rio recognises that he has made a serious mistake, which is why he will begin the suspension immediately rather than wait for the outcome of the appeals procedure. However, after studying the detailed verdict from the Commission, we are convinced the player has a strong case to challenge both the verdict and the ban given the player’s full explanation to the Commission of the circumstances surrounding his failure to take the drugs test. We recognise our own responsibilities in this matter and our important role in fighting the abuse of drugs in football and society at large.”

Rio Ferdinand said: “I would like to apologise for my oversight in missing my drugs test. I have previously made it clear that I condemn the use of drugs in any circumstances but especially in sport and I intend to continue helping to spread this message during and after any period of suspension that I have to serve. I do feel strongly that I have given an honest account of the circumstances which led to my mistake and I believe that the verdict and the ban are wrong. I want to get back playing for Manchester United and England as soon as possible and if starting the suspension now will help then I am prepared to suffer it. I would like to thank all those people who have offered me their support during the last few months.”

Communications Department
Friday 16 January, 2004

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=51667&itype=466&icategoryid=123

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 07:05 PM
today is the last match we will see rio in action till 8months later....:(

read that they went to dubai for hoilday....so today everybody will be very fresh....hope to see ronaldo in action.....:D

wolves wont be push-over too.....let's see whether they are sheeps in wolf-clothing...or they are real wolves......:D

RVN
17-01-2004, 07:08 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is looking forward to United's first Premiership match at Molineux as the Reds boss prepares his squad for the trip to Wolves.

This is what the boss had to say at his Friday press conference:

Youth Player In Car Crash
”It took an edge of the youth cup win over City because both boys were involved in that game. But, fortunately, it’s not any more serious than a fractured leg, broken bone in Phil’s arm and facial lacerations. That’s bad enough in itself, but it could have been much, worse.”

Nicky Butt
”It’s frustrating from both sides. I know what a servant Nicky has been to me and this club; he’s been fantastic. He was the first [of the Class of ‘92] to break into the squad. That’s been an issue with Nicky coming to this decision, it’s not something he wants to do. He’s very frustrated because he’s not getting a regular game but, Phil Neville has come in this season and been fabulous – it’s a situation we can do nothing about.

Interest From Other Clubs
”There’s been plenty of interest. I’m not saying which clubs have phoned us up, that’s their department. Some clubs like to give out that information, some don’t. There have been enquiries though.

Saha saga
”There’s nothing to report other than what you read in the papers! I’m quite amused at some of things I’ve read in the newspapers. We’ve done everything by the book. We wrote a letter to them some weeks, they responded; that’s the way the matter is at the moment.”

Wolves team news
”I’m taking a full squad down. Hopefully, Gary and Ryan will have improved and got over their injuries. I’m taking my strongest squad, so hopefully I will be able to play the team I want, and get the result I want.”

Ronaldo Returns
”He’s back and has trained all week. He’s looking fine and fresh. He comes into consideration.”

Molineux for the first time?
”No, I’ve been to Molineux once in a pre-season friendly a few years back. It’s not the real thing but, it’s a long time since United played in the league down there – you’d have to go back to the early eighties when it was a turbulent time for Wolves. They remodelled their old ground. Jack Hayward has rebuilt the stadium, it’s a lovely stadium and a club with great history and tradition. I genuinely hope that they manage to stay up. It will be difficult; other clubs have found that coming up to the Premier Division – it’s a tough league.”

Wolves Fight For Premiership Survival
”There are a group of teams in the relegation fight. A club can win two games and it shoots you up the table. If you lose two, you can be back in the mire again. It really is about winning games, but that isn’t easy when you’re down there at this stage of the season.

Denis Irwin: perfect role-model
”I’ve read this is going to be his final season. What a fantastic player he has been. He’s 38 now. And that just tells any young player that wants to look for a role-model in terms of a footballer, Denis Irwin would be the perfect role-model. His training was always to a high standard - that gave him the fitness to carry on to the age he has done. It’s been a great career.”

Taking A Break In Dubai
”We’re having a few days off next week, just to get a little break. We don’t have a game until the Sunday afterwards, so it’s a good time to do it. We’ll come back fresh for the Northampton game.”

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=51642&itype=466&icategoryid=122

Ch3tah_39
17-01-2004, 07:08 PM
today is the last match we will see rio in action till 8months later....:(

read that they went to dubai for hoilday....so today everybody will be very fresh....hope to see ronaldo in action.....:D

wolves wont be push-over too.....let's see whether they are sheeps in wolf-clothing...or they are real wolves......:D

do u guys notice... some teams looks lousy against other team.
but when the time comes against man utd.. sure some ppl on form one... example.. fulham(van der sarrrrrrr) last year man city(carol nash)

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 07:12 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

do u guys notice... some teams looks lousy against other team.
but when the time comes against man utd.. sure some ppl on form one... example.. fulham(van der sarrrrrrr) last year man city(carol nash)

it had been always like this....one every gd explaination is.....

everyone wan to beat the best team and the champion, though they?..... that why mor piang lor....

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 09:32 PM
Brazilian star sent home for rest

KLEBERSON is the latest young Manchester United player to benefit from a rest - he has returned to Brazil to be with his wife and their newborn baby.

The World Cup winner jetted out shortly after Cristiano Ronaldo returned early from a scheduled 19-day sunshine break at his parents' home in Portugal.

Fergie allowed Kleberson to skip today's match at Wolves, but he will be back in the reckoning for next week's FA Cup trip to Northampton.

Said Fergie: "His young lady has just had her baby so it's a good time to do it. He will be back before the Northampton game but whether he plays depends on what kind of training he has done - we will have to review that."

Kleberson has started just ten games this season, and played as a substitute twice, but the arrival of his first child forced the timing of his break.

Ronaldo, itching to fight his way back into the first team, came back after just two weeks away, to the delight of manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

He went straight into the squad for today's game at Wolves and is likely to start at Northampton next week.

"He came back early and has trained all week - it was nice to see him back. He could have had a few more days," said the Reds boss. "Some players only need a few days' rest, and he got the break he needed.

"It's his first season at the club, and that's the main reason he was allowed this break."

Fergie has used mid-winter breaks to give players a break in the past, usually overworked stalwarts like Roy Keane and David Beckham.

But that softly, softly approach has now been extended to young players - Ronaldo had only started 11 games and been a sub in eight when he was handed his plane tickets.

"It could become a regular thing, but we will view it again next year - he may need a break next year, but that depends on how many games he has played and how he has matured over the summer," said Fergie.

Meanwhile, Fergie is taking the rest of the first-team squad for a five-day training break to Dubai, making the most of a free week in the fixture schedule.

The party was due to travel to Heathrow after today's game at Wolves and arrive in the Middle East early tomorrow, for a trip that has been planned for weeks.

Said Fergie: "We knew it was a 12.30 game with Wolves anyway, and felt that if we got through to the fourth round of the Cup it would be on telly on the Sunday,

"It gave us time to get to Dubai on the Saturday, right after the game. We can come back on the Friday morning for two days of training to make sure everything is right for Northampton.

"The training facilities out there are very good anyway, and the climate is fantastic. It's seven and a bit hours to get out there and five hours back. The players all preferred to go to Dubai than anywhere else."

Ole Solskjaer will resume training at United's Carrington complex next week rather than join the rest of his team-mates on their break in Dubai.

However, it seems unlikely he will play any part in Thursday's second string clash with Everton and it could be the end of the month before he eventually returns.

"We think Ole did a little bit too much in one day a couple of weeks ago," revealed Fergie.

kleberson go home oso.... :o

RVN
17-01-2004, 10:20 PM
jialat sie bei jialat, we are lsoing 1-0, we don't like scoring an equaliser too. :( :mad:

RuMmYtUb
17-01-2004, 10:27 PM
title gonez liao :mad: :angel:

RVN
17-01-2004, 10:29 PM
wtf lost to a bottom-club, thats embrassing and a pathetic display. :mad: :(

Ronaldo7
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

have faith in them . just look at last season

guoquanyap

why leh...like that title gone liao meh....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

we will come back stronger....hav faith.....

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN
wtf lost to a bottom-club, thats embrassing and a pathetic display. :mad: :(

not really pathetic display lah...not bad performace lah...jus nv score goal....

RVN
17-01-2004, 10:32 PM

not really pathetic display lah...not bad performace lah...jus nv score goal....

Things is if you don't score goals, you don't win matches, Get the money for a striker Fergie , oh yeah, and a new defender too!!!! Now can only pray pray arse lose to villa tomorrow.

we need a winger that can cross the ****in ball as well. :mad:

genesis113
17-01-2004, 10:32 PM

This is the day that United lost everything.
This is the worst day since I become a United supporter.

When rivals like Gooners and Chelski beaten Wolves without a sweat. We lost.
The whole united team should dig a hole, and squeeze in it.

This is not only the shocker of the season, but laughing stuff of the season.

:(

leslielai
17-01-2004, 10:33 PM
the entire attacking play was PATHETIC. absolutely NO firepower AT ALL.

this is why we need Saha so badly.

StormTrooper
17-01-2004, 10:34 PM
its a really farked up display. midfield was pathetic, and no variation in tactics. crosses were going everywhere except to a red shirt. yes they worked hard, but they were lousy.

but i trust the team to come back stronger.

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 10:35 PM
really pathetic meh....not too bad performance lah, oakes made a few fantastic saved fr bellion scholes.....

credit to wolves....really show they are real wolves, so sly...

StormTrooper
17-01-2004, 10:37 PM
really pathetic meh....not too bad performance lah, oakes made a few fantastic saved fr bellion scholes.....

only foxes are sly........=p

if you compare the amount of possession we had and the number of shots on goal..........its not pretty.

Feador
17-01-2004, 10:39 PM
its either wolves is the jinx of man utd or we are just plain suay against them

genesis113
17-01-2004, 10:43 PM

How can a full-strength United can lost to a team that even Gooners B team can put 5 past them?

cracker
17-01-2004, 10:43 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Feador
its either wolves is the jinx of man utd or we are just plain suay against them [/QUOT

MU was totally impotent in their crosses.....
irwin at 38 taught ronaldo at 18 not to wayang with him !!!

Ince showed Scholes tat he can still shoot better than him !!

anyway Wolves deserved the 3 pts ...took their only chance well...but then again no thx to Mr. Brown's slip at the crucial stage. Do recall tat he deflected a shot into his goal with his first game couple of weeks ago.

RVN
17-01-2004, 11:06 PM
This investment in youg players is just not helping us at the moment, we need players with experience.

We just need someone to get the job done, someone that know how to defend and put the ball into the back of the net.

Clearly going to miss Rio more than I thought, but it's worrying how few good chances we had. Must be disheartening for players like van Nistelrooy, Giggs and Scholes when you see crap players like Forlan and Bellion coming off the bench.

Ch3tah_39
17-01-2004, 11:19 PM
kao eh... ccb lost liao..:(

RVN
17-01-2004, 11:21 PM
one good news, Fergie wants to hold on to Butt. ;)

UNITED are hoping they can hang on to Nicky Butt - despite admitting there has been considerable interest in the England midfielder.

Reds boss Sir Alex Ferguson is in no rush to release Butt, who requested a transfer earlier this week due to frustration at his lack of first-team opportunities.

But with Eric Djemba-Djemba on international duty with Cameroon and Kleberson on paternity leave back in Brazil, Fergie is concerned that his midfield resources are a little stretched at the moment.

Both United and Newcastle have rubbished talk of Butt joining the north-east club, the Geordies pointing out that they already have seven midfielders and do not need any more.

Middlebrough have also distanced themselves, with a striker top of their shopping list.

Boro boss Steve McClaren has expresed his interest, but said: "Nicky is a player everybody knows I admire and if it was possible I would love him to be here - but we have other priorities."

And, unless another top club comes in with a deal that would suit United and the player, Butt is going nowhere.

He was with the United party which travelled down to Wolves yesterday for today's Premiership clash, and Fergie still sees him as a valued member of his first-team squad.

Said the United chief: "I don't think Nicky will leave immediately - and he may not leave at all. I had a good chat with the lad and understand his frustrations."

With the registration deadline for the next phase of the Champions League falling on the same day as the closure of the transfer window, Fergie faces some late decisions.

Ideally, he would like to include Butt, who has over nine years' of European experience, in his 25-man squad for the Champions League, and if no suitable bids come in, the United boss will have no hesitation in doing so.

"I can understand Nicky's situation," he said. "And it's not an easy one considering the service he has given this club.

"He has been fairly regular in the team over the years but Phil Neville's form has been absolutely marvellous.

"It's difficult to handle that part when one player has emerged as well as Phil has, and another has given you the service Nicky has given you.

"Phil's form has been a help in allowing me to rest Roy Keane, but there have been other options anyway. Quinton Fortune and Nicky Butt are two of those. It's the beauty of having the collection of midfield players we have got.

"At the moment it's difficult to say whether we have the cover for Roy without Nicky. We have Eric Djemba-Djemba not back until February 24, and I have given Kleberson a little break back in Brazil for a week."

The speculation surrounding Louis Saha continues, but United continue to play a waiting game.

Fergie maintains that nothing has changed since the Reds put in an £8m bid for the French striker, despite claims that a fresh bid of £9.8m had been sent to the Londoners.

"There is nothing new at all," said Fergie. "We sent a letter to Fulham and have heard nothing new at all."

One player the Reds have signed during the transfer window is teenage Chinese striker Dong Fangzhuo - and the manager denied talk that he has only been signed in a cynical commercial exercise to increase the Reds' standing in China.

He said: "We had him over in the summer and he did really well. He's a very, very powerful lad, very, very quick, and he's only 18. For such a young lad, he's fantastically built."

Dong will join United's associated club Royal Antwerp, initially until he either qualifies for a Belgian passport or has played enough internationals to obtain a work permit.

pyu
17-01-2004, 11:27 PM
We played poorly, but kudos to Wolves, they did what they set out to do and got a good goal on the break.

Without Giggs, the team really looks poor. Is this burn out? Or something else?

*SIGH*

RVN
17-01-2004, 11:33 PM
We should have a penalty in the first half, maybe bad luck curse us when shearer didn't get one at OT last week. :mad:

guoquanyap
17-01-2004, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by pyu
We played poorly, but kudos to Wolves, they did what they set out to do and got a good goal on the break.

Without Giggs, the team really looks poor. Is this burn out? Or something else?

*SIGH*

not really burn out....we hav 70% for most of the match....abt 17 shot at goal....though onli abt 5 on target....:cool:

they had onli abt 4-5 chances.....this kind of matches always very tricky.....

they will put 11 behind ball....and play on counter....

today jus not our day....if rio nv injured, we could go on to win the game.....

football is a funny game.....;)

RVN
18-01-2004, 12:21 AM
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=51725&itype=466&icategoryid=122

Sir Alex Ferguson spoke to Sky Sports after watching his side defeated by Wolves at Molineux on Saturday. This is what the boss had to say...

Not Taking Chances
”I think we controlled the match. Particularly in the first half, we played some excellent football. I think the criticism I would have is that we were wasteful with our chances. The amount of really good positions we got into, and we didn’t finish them off. But that’s the nature of football. Goals change games, and once Wolves got the goal, they were very difficult to peg back.”

Wolves Up For The Fight
”You expect Wolves to be up for these games. Don’t forget, this is a team that is fighting for it’s life in the Premier Division. Their whole history is about football in the top division. They’ve languished for a few years, certainly. But, now Wolves are back in the Premiership, they showed today they are determined to stay in it.”

Poor Performance?
”I don’t think it was a poor performance, not at all. I think we played some excellent football. I just think we got frustrated after Wolves scored. That’s a natural reaction in any game of football. In the main, I’m not disappointed with the performance, I’m frustrated we didn’t take our chances.

Lacking strike-power
”The games where we have dropped points this season are games where we haven’t scored. It’s unusual that. But we’re looking into that.”

Fletcher Deserved A Penalty
”I’d need to see the replay. Every has told me it was a penalty kick. Andy D’Urso is an inexperienced referee and he probably sided with the home side a little bit there. I’d have to see the incident again though.”

Rio injury
”He got a bad shin knock in the first half. It was up like an egg at half time. He struggled in the second half. Once he’d cooled down at half time he found it difficult. That’s why we brought on Wes Brown. Unfortunately, Wes was only on a few minutes and he slipped to allow the boy in to score. It was a bad moment for the lad because he deserves a break.”

Rio Hearing
”I’d imagine the hearing will be very soon; within the next week to ten days, I would think. In which case, we’re ready for that.”

Title race
”We’ve always reacted well to disappointing defeats and that’s what we expect to do again.”

cracker
18-01-2004, 12:25 AM
SAF..

Just accept the defeat and move on.

RuMmYtUb
18-01-2004, 12:28 AM
last season we sucked at early stages not so bad... this period after new yr is crucial...somemore no Ferdinand...:mad:

guoquanyap
18-01-2004, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by cracker
SAF..

Just accept the defeat and move on.

wat make u think so he didnt accept defeat......:rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
18-01-2004, 01:33 AM

wat make u think so he didnt accept defeat......:rolleyes:

in his dream.. title not gone yet.... still got chance lorz.. :)

FLiNcHY
18-01-2004, 02:23 AM
Write so much crap for what? It's just a defeat. Everytime man utd loses, you ALWAYS complain about this not good enough, that not good enough.

So when man utd was winning, everything was good?

If Arsenal can beat wolves with a youth team, i don't see why you should whine about SAF not buying enough players. Because man utd can beat wolves as easily as Arsenal can on any given day with the players they got

SO STOP WHINING, YOU PRICK

RVN
18-01-2004, 02:28 AM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY
Write so much crap for what? It's just a defeat. Everytime man utd loses, you ALWAYS complain about this not good enough, that not good enough.

So when man utd was winning, everything was good?

If Arsenal can beat wolves with a youth team, i don't see why you should whine about SAF not buying enough players. Because man utd can beat wolves as easily as Arsenal can on any given day with the players they got

SO STOP WHINING, YOU PRICK

Oooh, you know freedom of speech, BTW I ain't a prick. Oh yeah, I bet you whine too when your team lose too, dun need you to rub salts into our wound. :mad:

FLiNcHY
18-01-2004, 02:55 AM
You ever see me whining whenever arsenal loses?

Oh yeah, they haven't lost yet
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

But in europe when they lost, i didn't start bitchin about needing new players

I only bitched about how the arsenal players did not perform to the standard that they are capable of. Because that is the only problem you should be bitchin about

You don't spend 18 million pounds on ronaldo and start bitching about missing beckham whenever man utd loses (which is once in a blue moon)

pyu
18-01-2004, 07:27 AM

not really burn out....we hav 70% for most of the match....abt 17 shot at goal....though onli abt 5 on target....:cool:

they had onli abt 4-5 chances.....this kind of matches always very tricky.....

they will put 11 behind ball....and play on counter....

today jus not our day....if rio nv injured, we could go on to win the game.....

football is a funny game.....;)

I don't know about that. Even with Ferdinand and Brown did not come on, we might have just drawn with Wolves.

The team was quite poor in getting that final cross in. Cristiano Ronaldo's crosses went all over the place and despite his efforts, Fletcher was also doing equally poor on the right hand side.

And even when we manage to penetrate, it was well judged and cleared by the Wolves defence.

Of course, Wolves packed their defence, but SAF should have known this.

Brown made the crucial slip... *sigh*.

Worlds of difference between Ferdinand and Brown... hopefully, Brown can rise to the occasion since Rio is starting his ban.

Ch3tah_39
18-01-2004, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY
You ever see me whining whenever arsenal loses?

Oh yeah, they haven't lost yet
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

But in europe when they lost, i didn't start bitchin about needing new players

I only bitched about how the arsenal players did not perform to the standard that they are capable of. Because that is the only problem you should be bitchin about

You don't spend 18 million pounds on ronaldo and start bitching about missing beckham whenever man utd loses (which is once in a blue moon)

yeah arsenal indeed haven lose yet... see lorz.. season ain't over yet

FLiNcHY
18-01-2004, 11:34 AM
That's not the point.

My Man utd friend was talking to me yesterday and even had the audacity to tell me phil neville is better than patrick vieira this season.

You can't say phil neville sucks when he has performed excellently throughout the season as defensive midfielder and only screwed up this rare once

RVN
18-01-2004, 01:15 PM
Just been watching Manchester United DVD of last season and the one thing we got last season was natural crossers from both the right and left hand sides.

If you look at fletcher, he is no way ready yet for the first team imho. Ronaldo he does too many tricks and in games we are 0-0 and need a goal he should just get a cross in instead of dancing around.

They have to learn and why the hell is kleberson given a break?

The players we have are not ready for the first team and will need more than a season or two before we can rely on them. Crossing today was atrocious at best and we have no answers to packed defences. :mad: :(

ccloh
18-01-2004, 02:53 PM
it is a bad result for utd this wk as well as last wk. accept the fact and the most impt. thing is players themselves know the mistake and not comit it again.

staying undefeat like arsenal did doesn't mean gd. u can stay unbeaten whole season but ended up not winning the title. so which u prefer, unbeaten whole season but in the end doesn't win the title or can get defeated occassion and eventually at the final day snatch the title from under the nose of ur nearest rivals.

RuMmYtUb
18-01-2004, 05:41 PM
Hope we can start a new winning run like last season, after the derby defeat.. =p
anyway /ignore flinchy

hush66
18-01-2004, 05:58 PM
Honestly, I think Wes Brown is a joke and should be sold off. I've never liked him. He isn't consistent and isn't always reliable. A few seasons ago, he was an own goal king. And I believe that if he didn't slip at the crucial moment, Miller would not have had that much space to make the shot, and might not have scored. We really need to buy another defender.

Spock
18-01-2004, 06:07 PM
Fletcher needs to build up his physique more and learn to cross much better under pressure.sometimes he takes too much time to control the ball then pass it ..

RVN
18-01-2004, 07:07 PM
MANCHESTER UNITED are to step up their search for a striker after their 1-0 defeat at Wolves yesterday. “It’s the area we’re looking at,” said Sir Alex Ferguson after a result that left his team without a goal in nearly four hours of Premiership football.

United flew out to Dubai last night for a sunshine break before their FA Cup tie against Northampton next weekend, but Ferguson will use the time to pursue his interest in Fulham’s Louis Saha, Jermain Defoe of West Ham and Leeds United’s Mark Viduka, all of whom are under consideration as the stuttering League leaders seek more productive support for Ruud van Nistelrooy in attack.

NI_MPU('middle');Beaten at Molineux yesterday and held to a goalless draw by Newcastle last week, United have not scored for 231 minutes, since Van Nistelrooy’s 39th-minute winner at Bolton on January 7. Ferguson admitted last night that the situation “frustrated” him. He said: “We have now lost three games 1-0 this season, and it has been the same story in all of them. When you fail to score goals, you put yourselves under pressure.

“We made one mistake, when Wes Brown slipped (to let in Kenny Miller for the winner and paid for it, but I shouldn’t be talking about one goal Wolves scored, I should be talking about how many we got. I’m not, and that’s frustrating.

“We have dropped points in games through not scoring, and that’s the area I’m looking at.”

Without the injured Ole-Gunnar Solskjaer and Ryan Giggs, who can operate as a striker, Ferguson started with Paul Scholes as Van Nistelrooy’s partner yesterday, and brought on David Bellion and Diego Forlan in the second half, to no effect.

He blamed the shock result on their collective shortcomings, saying: “We controlled the match, but were wasteful with our chances.” He was astounded that Van Nistelrooy, his principal striker, had headed over from two yards.

There was grudging praise from the United manager for the opposition. “Wolves are a team fighting for their lives. Now that they are back in the Premiership, they are showing the appetite to stay there,” he said. “Once they had scored, they were difficult to peg back.”

Ferguson claimed, however, that United should have had a penalty when the Wolves goalkeeper, Michael Oakes, floored Darren Fletcher in the act of regaining lost possession.

“The referee [Andy D’Urso] probably sided with the home team a little bit there,” said Ferguson.

Rio Ferdinand injured a shin and was substituted after 50 minutes on what could be his last appearance for eight months.

Ferguson said that the England defender’s appeal against his suspension for failing to take a drugs test had been “a club decision”.

Dave Jones, the Wolves manager, hailed the result as their best of the season and “a massive psychological boost for everyone associated with the club.”

He said: “Sometimes you get what you fight for, and to pick up points against Manchester United is a big bonus — a draw would have been a fantastic achievement. But now we’ve got to make sure we keep picking up points.”

Wolves’ matchwinner, Miller, had not scored previously in the Premiership, although he had found the net twice in midweek to edge Wolves past Kidderminster Harriers in their FA Cup third-round replay. “Kenny has had to adapt to the pace of the Premiership but he got a couple of goals against Kidderminster and that’s just given him the confidence he needed,” said Jones. “The keeper [Tim Howard] has just let it go through him and Kenny’s got his goal. That’s what you need sometimes, that bit of luck. We’ve been playing some good football and not turned draws into wins but our luck turned round today.”

RuMmYtUb
18-01-2004, 08:17 PM
Problem 1: Wes Brown certainly not as match fit as Rio
Problem 2: Fletcher's crosses CMI...:mad:

RVN
18-01-2004, 08:49 PM
BUTT OUT BECKHAM – WHAT’S IT TO YOU?

DB07 says that United are wrong to sell Nicky Butt. Perhaps he has overlooked the fact that St Nick of Gorton actually asked for a transfer

“Nicky is a great player and he's been a great servant to United.

"He's a player that can play at the highest level. If he comes to Spain, of course he'd fit in. He would strengthen any midfield in the world.

"I think United are wrong to let him go because he's homegrown talent and that's hard to come by.

"I'm sure anyone in Nicky's position would like first-team football and to play all the time because he's a fantastic player.

"But it's up to him to make that decision. I'm sure he would make the Real first team. He'd get a chance in any team."

He may not go anyway according to SAF:

"I don't think Nicky will leave immediately - and he may not leave at all. I had a good chat with the lad and understand his frustrations.

"I can understand Nicky's situation," he said. "And it's not an easy one considering the service he has given this club.

"He has been fairly regular in the team over the years but Phil Neville's form has been absolutely marvellous.

"It's difficult to handle that part when one player has emerged as well as Phil has, and another has given you the service Nicky has given you.

"Phil's form has been a help in allowing me to rest Roy Keane, but there have been other options anyway. Quinton Fortune and Nicky Butt are two of those. It's the beauty of having the collection of midfield players we have got.

"At the moment it's difficult to say whether we have the cover for Roy without Nicky. We have Eric Djemba-Djemba not back until February 24, and I have given Kleberson a little break back in Brazil for a week."

ccloh
18-01-2004, 09:47 PM
Originally posted by hush66
Honestly, I think Wes Brown is a joke and should be sold off. I've never liked him. He isn't consistent and isn't always reliable. A few seasons ago, he was an own goal king. And I believe that if he didn't slip at the crucial moment, Miller would not have had that much space to make the shot, and might not have scored. We really need to buy another defender.

then u can include gary neville. he can only talk loud but his football is S.U.C.K

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 12:42 AM
Originally posted by ccloh

then u can include gary neville. he can only talk loud but his football is S.U.C.K

on this point...i do hav to strongly disagreed w you.....

hush66
19-01-2004, 01:33 AM
Ya, I too feel that Gary Neville has been quite a good player overall. Of course, there have been occasions in which he has been at fault ffor conceding goals (I remember once he unnecessarily used his arms to trap the ball, leading to a free-kick that was converted to a goal), but as a whole his performance has been excellent.

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 03:44 AM
United agree Saha deal

By SUNSPORT REPORTER

MANCHESTER UNITED have agreed a fee with Fulham for Louis Saha.

The French striker will complete the move later this week as long as he passes a medical and can work out personal terms.

It ends the long-running saga which saw Saha fall out with boss Chris Coleman when it looked like a transfer would be blocked.

United chief Sir Alex Ferguson had an £8million bid turned down last week.

Saha, 25, has scored 15 goals this season.

A United statement said: “Manchester United can confirm that they have reached agreement in principle with Fulham Football Club for the transfer of registration of Louis Saha, but this is subject to a number of conditions.

“Manchester United expects these conditions to be resolved within the next week and will make a further announcement on completion.”

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

SebastianKae
19-01-2004, 08:59 AM
Guys, what went wrong?!

My bet. Midfield too uncreative.
Over-reliance on scholes to make chances, he is operating as an attacking midfield behind RVN and has been heavily guarded during the whole match.

Phil made little contribution during offensive moves, even when he tries, he isnt trained to do it.

Fletcher's performance was of no significance. Poor crosses. Little attempts to make slicing passing into the penalty box, keeps on back passing, and losing the ball.

In simple words, Manutd not only need Giggs, they need another striker, a playmaker and also an additional defender so that silvestre can go back to leftback.

Flame me if you want, these are my own views and opinions.:laugh:

pyu
19-01-2004, 09:45 AM
Well, unless some tycoon come in and take over the club ala Chelsea, I don't see SAF going out on a spending spree.

10 million pounds for Saha seems too much - we're not even sure if that 15 goals this season is a one season wonder. And his behaviour - *SIGH*

ccloh
19-01-2004, 09:45 AM
Originally posted by SebastianKae
Guys, what went wrong?!

My bet. Midfield too uncreative.
Over-reliance on scholes to make chances, he is operating as an attacking midfield behind RVN and has been heavily guarded during the whole match.

Phil made little contribution during offensive moves, even when he tries, he isnt trained to do it.

Fletcher's performance was of no significance. Poor crosses. Little attempts to make slicing passing into the penalty box, keeps on back passing, and losing the ball.

In simple words, Manutd not only need Giggs, they need another striker, a playmaker and also an additional defender so that silvestre can go back to leftback.

Flame me if you want, these are my own views and opinions.:laugh:

no individual to blame for the loss. all 'cos of they are too pressurising in getting the goals against the worst club in epl, a club where arsenal B team can thrash it. they lack the patient to slowly build up then score it like in any other match.

SebastianKae
19-01-2004, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by pyu
Well, unless some tycoon come in and take over the club ala Chelsea, I don't see SAF going out on a spending spree.

10 million pounds for Saha seems too much - we're not even sure if that 15 goals this season is a one season wonder. And his behaviour - *SIGH*

i agree with you. But how many tycoons can take over manutd and still be willing to use more money to spend on world class players. Manutd itself is very expensive already.

Also agree with you with the saha rumour. I dont really think he can have an impact as big as RVN did when he came over from PSV. I will be glad to be proven wrong by saha.

leslielai
19-01-2004, 10:01 AM
Its impossible find a tycoon rich enough to take over United entirely lah. It was valued at close to a billion GBP at peak and maybe half of that now. Who will be sane and rich enough to come up with that amount?

NanDesKa
19-01-2004, 10:05 AM
dun think the amt of money abramovich have spent on chelsea and players so far can equal to the cost of man utd.

SebastianKae
19-01-2004, 10:35 AM
Its impossible find a tycoon rich enough to take over United entirely lah. It was valued at close to a billion GBP at peak and maybe half of that now. Who will be sane and rich enough to come up with that amount?

the fellow much be RICH and INSANE to buy manutd and be willing to spend another fortune on players.:laugh:

RVN
19-01-2004, 12:15 PM
Manchester United's Official Website

Manchester United can confirm that it has reached agreement in principle with Fulham Football Club for the transfer of registration of Louis Saha, but this is subject to a number of conditions.

Manchester United expects these conditions to be resolved within the next week and will make a further announcement on completion.

Communications Office, Manchester United PLC
Sunday 18 January 2004

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=51796&itype=466&icategoryid=123

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 12:34 PM
woot~~...finally agree fee....

Coolsmurf
19-01-2004, 12:41 PM
saha did well, actually he at fulham also playing 1-man show there, come to man u, can also do the same thing or even pair up with rvn..good buy...

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 01:10 PM
though he is abit overprice.....but we should believe in fergie , he mus see some potenial talent in him......another plus point is that saha is available for CL matches......

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 01:10 PM
still prefer defoe.....:cool:

RVN
19-01-2004, 01:30 PM
Fulham striker Louis Saha feared he would never get his dream move to Manchester United.

The move has not been finalised yet but with the only conditions thought to be a medical and the agreement of personal terms with Saha, the 13-goal striker is expected to be a Red Devil by the end of the week.

And the 25-year-old Frenchman is desperate to prove himself at one of the biggest clubs in the world.

“I am so happy. This is my dream come true,” Saha told the Daily Mirror.

“I thought this move would never happen but I am so pleased it has.

“Old Trafford is a lucky ground for me. It’s where I started in the Premiership and scored two goals.

“Fulham was a fantastic place for me but I cannot wait for the challenge of proving myself at the biggest club in the world.”

http://sport.scotsman.com/latest.cfm?id=2425011

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 01:36 PM
i always like manu to sign someone who is really fan of manu....then he will be commited and determinte to fight for the club....look like saha is one of them.....

ccloh
19-01-2004, 01:48 PM
price is set, transfer most likely to go through, now let see the how questions ???

how much immediate impact he can produce
how well can he gel with the team
how long for him to take to score his 1st goal
how fast can he settle down
last but not least
how will he prove himself to worth that kind of price.

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 01:50 PM
price is set, transfer most likely to go through, now let see the how questions ???

how much immediate impact he can produce
how well can he gel with the team
how long for him to take to score his 1st goal
how fast can he settle down
last but not least
how will he prove himself to worth that kind of price.

all the question u ask.....need some time before it can be answer.....

RVN
19-01-2004, 01:58 PM
Think we should go after a defender next leh especially now with Rio suspended rather than depending on error-prone Brown. :(

Coolsmurf
19-01-2004, 02:09 PM
yah..rio departure leaves a void in the middle. prehaps o'shea can move infield

RVN
19-01-2004, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by Coolsmurf
yah..rio departure leaves a void in the middle. prehaps o'shea can move infield

Thats a good suggestion

G Neville---------O'Shea---------Silvestre------Fortune

P Neville, Keane and Brown as cover

Yellowfin
19-01-2004, 03:17 PM
i always like manu to sign someone who is really fan of manu....then he will be commited and determinte to fight for the club....look like saha is one of them.....

This one of the quality of every Man U player. If one is not committed to play for Man U through thick and thin then he will most likely be shift out soon.(hint. Veron sound familar)

We got a bad weekend and that is football. The season havent end yet, so the top three team still got a chance to take the title.

leslielai
19-01-2004, 07:46 PM
I still think we should convert to a 3-5-2 formation esp with Rio's departure. O'shea has been nothing short of top class at left back so Fergie should just leave him there. Silvestre looks out of sort in central but I think he should be able to cope well. Right back would of course have to be taken by our loyal servant for the past decade.

Roy Keane would be holding up the ball in defensive midfield while Kleberson and Scholes would be charging forward together with our 2 strikers (RVN and Saha of course). Imagine that :o

Bellion should be the permanent right winger. Fletcher is CRAP, nothing short. All you Fletcher fans might be offended but you have already seen for yourself how he truly is like. No class, no skills, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

RVN
19-01-2004, 08:43 PM
I still think we should convert to a 3-5-2 formation esp with Rio's departure. O'shea has been nothing short of top class at left back so Fergie should just leave him there. Silvestre looks out of sort in central but I think he should be able to cope well. Right back would of course have to be taken by our loyal servant for the past decade.

Roy Keane would be holding up the ball in defensive midfield while Kleberson and Scholes would be charging forward together with our 2 strikers (RVN and Saha of course). Imagine that :o

Bellion should be the permanent right winger. Fletcher is CRAP, nothing short. All you Fletcher fans might be offended but you have already seen for yourself how he truly is like. No class, no skills, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

How about Solskjaer, I play him on the right ahead of both Ronaldo and Fletcher when he comes back into the team. ;)

leslielai
19-01-2004, 08:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN

How about Solskjaer, I play him on the right ahead of both Ronaldo and Fletcher when he comes back into the team. ;)

oops .. how could I forget about him?! yea he has been really effective on the right .. he can be a replacement for either of the first 2 strikers if the need arises and Bellion can be recalled for the right.

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 10:29 PM
somehow i miss Solskjaer :(

NanDesKa
19-01-2004, 10:57 PM
somehow i miss Solskjaer :( somehow i miss cantona. :(

guoquanyap
19-01-2004, 11:08 PM
IRISH racehorse owners JP McManus and John Magnier again upped their stake in Manchester United, and now own over 25 per cent of the Premiership champions.

Through their investment company Cubic Expressions, the pair spent £8m on 3.25 million more shares, taking their stake from 24.25 per cent to 25.9 per cent.

It is now likely that the mega-rich pair, dubbed the Coolmore Mafia, will seek a place on Manchester United's plc board.

The intrigue over the pair intentions has been further enhanced amid a growing, and highly embarrassing row between team manager Sir Alex Ferguson and John Magnier.

The former friends have fallen out over stud fees for the now retired champion race horse Rock of Gibraltar, and the dispute is heading for the Irish court later this year.

Shares in the club rose on today's news, climbing 3p or 1.18 per cent to 256.5p.

RuMmYtUb
20-01-2004, 12:40 AM
Originally posted by NanDesKa
somehow i miss cantona. :(

I miss Bobby Charlton n George Best.. :crazy:

orca_sea
20-01-2004, 12:55 AM
Hey guyz Brighten up! although we didnt win the recent 2 games it doesnt mean we will lose out in the title race - The future iz still veri bright!!! 3 Cheerz for Man U!!

guoquanyap
20-01-2004, 01:00 AM

:alien: :alien:

genesis113
20-01-2004, 01:10 AM
yeah, 3-5-2 will be good but a bit risky as our defence still not that convincing without Rio, especially Brown, he looked like two season ago, he could be splendid in the whole match, but always his one and only mistake would cost United the game.

Howard
G Neville Silvestre O'Shea
P Neville
Solskjaer Scholes Keane Giggs
Saha Ruud

Sub: Kleberson, Fortune, Brown, Ronaldo, Caroll.

guoquanyap
20-01-2004, 01:11 AM
u all think wat number will saha will take? 9?

trax06
20-01-2004, 01:32 AM
yeah probably he would take that no.

y not arjen robben haiz.

guoquanyap
20-01-2004, 01:33 AM
haiz...dun wan saha to take 9 leh....

ccloh
20-01-2004, 05:56 AM

not to mention denis law also :D

RuMmYtUb
20-01-2004, 09:12 AM
haiz...dun wan saha to take 9 leh....

Hmm i think most likely he will take 9...
but why u dun want him to take 9 ?

vivre
20-01-2004, 09:52 AM

Hmm i think most likely he will take 9...
but why u dun want him to take 9 ?

I feel that he's not proven himself enough to take a Man Utd no. 9... likewise no. 7 for Ronaldo... Haiz.....

RVN
20-01-2004, 12:53 PM
Our fans need to do everything they can to keep this disgraceful pair of cunts away from our club, its bad enought that they stabbed Fergie in the back, will be a disgrace if they become part of our PLC board. :mad:

Manchester United fans have vowed to fight any takeover of the club's plc after horseracing tycoons John Magnier and JP McManus increased their share in the Premiership champions to over a quarter.

The pair's Cubic Expression company announced to the Stock Exchange this afternoon that they have bought another 3,256,944 shares, which takes their holding over 66.5million and above the 25% mark.

Takeover speculation has persisted since Cubic Expression began to increase their holding and with the pair now owning 25.49% of the club that is unlikely to subside.

Malcolm Glazer, owner of NFL gridiron team Tampa Bay Buccaneers, has also bought into the Barclaycard Premiership champions recently and he owns 14.31% of the club.

But Shareholders United, a group of several thousand from over 50 countries who also own stakes in the club, are determined to discourage any thoughts of a takeover.

SU were formed to resist BSkyB's attempted takeover of United five years ago and they have warned they will stand in the way of any bid.

Spokesman Oliver Houston said: "All fans' groups and fans at our club are united in not wanting a takeover.

"A single owner or block of owners in control of our club would not be healthy - the opportunity for scrutiny and accountability would be lost and fans would have little chance of ever having a say in how their club is run.

"United is a 125-year old community asset and should not be treated like a stock market placing. Media moguls, currency speculators, oil tycoons and the rest should take note; our club is not for sale.

"Fans who care about United's independence must join SU now and help build a blocking stake to prevent hostile or unwanted bids and we very much hope that the club will aid us in this endeavour."

ccloh
20-01-2004, 04:41 PM
all these started 'cos of the joker martin edwards who sell off his shares sigh....hopefully all these off-fields stuff doesn't affect utd hunt for trophies.

RVN
20-01-2004, 04:50 PM
Those Irish gits, they want to takeover the club and kicked Fergie out. :( :mad:

RACING tycoons John Magnier and JP McManus were last night close to a £650million takeover bid for Manchester United.

The pair increased their stake in United to more than 25 per cent yesterday and now aim to seize overall control of Old Trafford and could make a move in the next 48 hours.

The revelation is the worst possible news for United manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who is involved in a bitter multi-million legal dispute with Magnier over stud rights to the racehorse Rock Of Gibraltar.

The takeover will put Fergie's reign at United in serious doubt and cause panic among the Old Trafford board, who have long feared a takeover from the Irish duo.

Magnier and McManus had always claimed their stake in United was purely an investment.

But after buying another 3,256,944 shares for around £8m yesterday, taking their total to 66,543,837, they are ready to increase their stake to 30 per cent and take over the world's biggest club.

And with speculation mounting that another major United shareholder, American billionaire Malcolm Glazer wants to buy the club, Magnier and McManus are ready to act.

"They've got to go for it, they've got no choice now," said a United insider. "The club is theirs for the taking and something could even happen in the next 48 hours.

"They don't want the spotlight on them. But getting your hands on the world's richest club is an exciting prospect."

Under Stock Market rules, Magnier and McManus would be required to make an offer to all other shareholders to buy them out once their share reaches 30 per cent.

Glazer is their biggest rival with 14.31 per cent, but the pair are confident they can secure a big enough shareholding to secure overall control.

But Shareholders United, a pressure group run by fans, insisted they would fight any takeover.

"United is a community asset and should not be treated like a Stock Market commodity. Media moguls, oil tycoons and the rest should take note - our club is not for sale," said spokesman Oliver Houston.

A spokesman for Magnier and McManus's investment firm Cubic Expression refused to comment on whether a bid was imminent.

United spokesman Paddy Harverson said: "It's not for us to comment on the prospect of a takeover."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport

Ch3tah_39
20-01-2004, 06:54 PM
man utd landed saha for 12mil?

RVN
20-01-2004, 07:32 PM

He is set to join us today. ;)

Louis Saha will complete his transfer to Manchester United in the next 24 hours even though manager Sir Alex Ferguson is out of the country.

Ferguson and the first-team squad are currently in Dubai enjoying a sunshine break ahead of Sunday's FA Cup trip to Northampton.

The United boss has left chief executive David Gill and legal representative Maurice Watkins back home to iron out the finer details of Saha's £10.5m move from Fulham.

Before flying out to the Middle East, Ferguson said he never expected to be involved at this stage of negotiations: "My job is to identify the players we want and I leave the rest to David."

Saha is undergoing a medical at Old Trafford and agreeing personal terms, with the clubs now expected to reach final agreement on the fee and any supplementary payments on Tuesday.

When the deal is completed, United seem unlikely to stage a press conference during Ferguson's absence.

This could take place on Friday - but is more likely to be left until early next week.

StormTrooper
20-01-2004, 07:32 PM

i don't give a damn........saha is overrated......unless he can convince me otherwise,.

leslielai
20-01-2004, 07:33 PM
yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeha! Saha will make good, believe me. :)

StormTrooper
20-01-2004, 07:34 PM
yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeha! Saha will make good, believe me. :)

i hope so too

RVN
20-01-2004, 07:39 PM

i don't give a damn........saha is overrated......unless he can convince me otherwise,.

give the lad a chance before giving your opinion on him.

StormTrooper
20-01-2004, 07:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN

give the lad a chance before giving your opinion on him.

i AM waiting to see what he's made of since they're gonna sign him.

Yellowfin
20-01-2004, 08:28 PM

i AM waiting to see what he's made of since they're gonna sign him.

Don't we all. :)

At least, Man U back to having four striker. I hope one more defender join Man U before the transfer market close.

RVN
20-01-2004, 08:37 PM
Ole out for another 3 months, now know why Fergie wanted to get Saha now. :(

OLE Gunnar Solskjaer could face three more months on the sidelines after his comeback was put on hold.

The Norwegian striker was due to make a reserve team comeback last week, but injury and the postponement of that match combined to postpone his chances of a return.

And although he was then pencilled in to play in the reserves at the end of the month, his personal manager Jim Solbakken believes that it could be the end of the season before Solskjaer is back to full fitness.

Patience

"It's a very, very serious injury and he needs to be patient," Solbakken told the newspaper VG.

"The knee injury has many similarities with the one that ended Alf Inge Haaland's career. It could take another three months to heal."

Solskjaer has made just six appearances this term and has not played since his goalscoring contribution to United's 5-0 Champions League win over Panathinaikos at Old Trafford on September 16.

His absence has led to an unhealthy burden falling on Ruud van Nistelrooy and though Louis Saha is set to sign to add another attacking option, Sir Alex Ferguson will be desperate for a player who has a strike rate better than a goal every other start to make a speedy return.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=78761.html

leslielai
20-01-2004, 08:39 PM
hope Solskjaer gets well soon.

guoquanyap
20-01-2004, 09:45 PM
i hate the idea of take-over man.....especiallyu to fergie rival....hopefully the fans can stop him......

stipe
20-01-2004, 09:50 PM
saha for 12mil... alan smith for 3mil...

the price to pay for being a rich club....

Alan Smith for 3mil (http://www.tribalfootball.com/january/englisnews5200104.html)

Ch3tah_39
21-01-2004, 12:54 AM
Originally posted by stipe
saha for 12mil... alan smith for 3mil...

the price to pay for being a rich club....

Alan Smith for 3mil (http://www.tribalfootball.com/january/englisnews5200104.html)

ya lorz... why saha... he reali that gd mehz...
smith is alot cheaper... maibe man utd can snatch him for 7mil??

guoquanyap
21-01-2004, 01:01 AM

ya lorz... why saha... he reali that gd mehz...
smith is alot cheaper... maibe man utd can snatch him for 7mil??

fulham wan to buy keane for 7million pound.....keane is better and younger leh....so funny everytime kana 'chop' leh.....

guoquanyap
21-01-2004, 01:14 AM
Fulham striker Louis Saha is expected to join Manchester United on Friday after undergong his medical.

BBC Sport understands Saha passed the two-day medical without problem.

Saha will formally sign when United boss Sir Alex Ferguson returns from the team's mid-season break in Dubai.

Fulham and Man Utd agreed a fee - believed to be about £12m - on Sunday and the player was left out of Fulham's 3-1 defeat at Newcastle on Monday.

With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer still some way from fitness, Ferguson has been keen to bolseter his strikeforce.

Saha will not be eligible to play for United in their FA Cup tie against Northampton, but will be able to play for the Old Trafford club in this season's remaining Champions League fixtures.

Coleman was keen to keep the 15-goal forward at the club and hit out at the way the move has been conducted.

"From a football point of view, I didn't want Louis Saha to go for the obvious reasons," said Coleman.

We'll draw a line under it and we'll move on
Chris Coleman

"I'm the manager of the team, he's a quality player, he's banging goals in and, especially in January, why would I want him to go?

"There was a lot of pressure on Louis from outside influences, i.e. his agent and a lot of people surrounding him, a lot of negativity coming out of that camp, and that started to get a bit worrying and started to get a bit out of hand.

"Personally, I would have still held on to the player, but the people upstairs thought it was the right decision for the club and they've made that decision.

"We'll all stand behind that, we'll draw a line under it and we'll move on.

Have your say on 606
Who should replace Saha?

"Our chairman has pumped a hell of a lot of his own money into the club and if he thinks that's the right decision, I'll stand right behind him.

"We're going back to the Cottage and that's going to cost money, of course, so if that's the decision, I'll stand behind that."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3412371.stm

guoquanyap
21-01-2004, 01:19 AM
Gunners chase £5m Persie

By SUNSPORT REPORTER

ARSENAL have been told to up their offer for Dutch striker Robin van Persie.

Feyenoord confirmed the Gunners' first bid tonight - but want nearer £5million.

Club spokesman Fred Blankemeijer said: "We have rejected a bid and are waiting for Arsenal to come back to us.

"We are waiting for written confirmation of a second bid from them."

Van Persie, an under-21 international, has hit five goals in 13 club games this term, playing down the left.

But the Gunners' interest has taken many by surprise.

Arsene Wenger's main targets were thought to be West Ham’s Jermain Defoe and Aston Villa’s Juan Pablo Angel.

Van Persie fired eight goals last season and has warned Feyenoord he will not sign an extension when his contract runs out in 2005.

Former Chelsea chief Ruud Gullit, who takes over as manager in the summer, said: "I hope that van Persie will stay, but I won’t beg anyone, not even Robin van Persie.

"He can take it or leave it, stay at Feyenoord if he wants. I only want to work with those players who want to play for this club.

Van Persie's exit would scarcely be a shock given Feyenoord's policy of selling top players in the past year.

Out have gone Pierre van Hooijdonk, Paul Bosvelt and Blackburn ace Brett Emerton.

And the Rotterdam club have admitted that van Persie has his "heart set on a transfer".

He is rated alongside Ajax's Rafael van der Vaart and PSV starlet Arjen Robben as the brightest member of Holland's new generation.

Van Persie’s agent, Erwin Boonacker, said: "English football is a dream for Robin and if Feyenoord and Arsenal can come to an agreement we will start negotiations."

Arsenal's worrying reliance on Thierry Henry for goals will be highlighted in the summer when the contracts of fellow hitmen Sylvain Wiltord, Dennis Bergkamp and Kanu run out.

And Feyenoord are expecting a new Gunners' bid within days.

General manager Jan D Swart said: "Feyenoord chairman Jorien van den Herik has reacted to a reasonable first offer by Arsenal, which forms the basis for further talks between the two parties.

"I expect this to happen this week."

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004031340,00.html

guoquanyap
21-01-2004, 01:33 AM
Ryan Giggs' wonder goal against Arsenal in the Semi-Final Replay at Villa Park in 1999 has been crowned the FA Cup's Greatest Moment by the historic cup competition's official partner, Nationwide Building Society.

Over 10,000 football fans responded to Nationwide Building Society's survey to find the most memorable moment during the competition's 132-year history.

Giggs returned to the scene of that goal earlier this month for Manchester United's FA Cup Third Round fixture against Aston Villa.

Commenting on this accolade, Ryan Giggs said: "I am absolutely delighted with this award. It's a goal that I get asked a lot about and one of my most treasured memeories at Old Trafford.

"For that goal to be voted as the best FA Cup moment of all time is a great honour from football fans everywhere and Nationwide."

Giggs celebrates scoring against Arsenal

Nationwide's Chris Hull said: "As an official partner of the FA Cup, Nationwide was delighted to host this fascinating debate.

"It is a survey which has stimulated many discussions around the country at matches, at home and in bars.

"We decided that we wanted to give every football fan in the country the opportunity to vote for their most treasured moment in the World's most famous domestic cup competition and Ryan's amazing goal is a worthy winner."

"Ryan's amazing goal is a worthy winner and a truly defining moment in the FA Cup's history."

http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_5227.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=220&hei=194&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg

http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_5230.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=220&hei=151&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg

Ch3tah_39
21-01-2004, 01:58 AM
Ryan Giggs' wonder goal against Arsenal in the Semi-Final Replay at Villa Park in 1999 has been crowned the FA Cup's Greatest Moment by the historic cup competition's official partner, Nationwide Building Society.

Over 10,000 football fans responded to Nationwide Building Society's survey to find the most memorable moment during the competition's 132-year history.

Giggs returned to the scene of that goal earlier this month for Manchester United's FA Cup Third Round fixture against Aston Villa.

Commenting on this accolade, Ryan Giggs said: "I am absolutely delighted with this award. It's a goal that I get asked a lot about and one of my most treasured memeories at Old Trafford.

"For that goal to be voted as the best FA Cup moment of all time is a great honour from football fans everywhere and Nationwide."

Nationwide's Chris Hull said: "As an official partner of the FA Cup, Nationwide was delighted to host this fascinating debate.

"It is a survey which has stimulated many discussions around the country at matches, at home and in bars.

"We decided that we wanted to give every football fan in the country the opportunity to vote for their most treasured moment in the World's most famous domestic cup competition and Ryan's amazing goal is a worthy winner."

"Ryan's amazing goal is a worthy winner and a truly defining moment in the FA Cup's history."

http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_5227.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=220&hei=194&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg

http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_5230.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=220&hei=151&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg

leslielai
21-01-2004, 07:20 AM
Gunners chase £5m Persie

By SUNSPORT REPORTER

ARSENAL have been told to up their offer for Dutch striker Robin van Persie.

Feyenoord confirmed the Gunners' first bid tonight - but want nearer £5million.

Club spokesman Fred Blankemeijer said: "We have rejected a bid and are waiting for Arsenal to come back to us.

"We are waiting for written confirmation of a second bid from them."

Van Persie, an under-21 international, has hit five goals in 13 club games this term, playing down the left.

But the Gunners' interest has taken many by surprise.

Arsene Wenger's main targets were thought to be West Ham’s Jermain Defoe and Aston Villa’s Juan Pablo Angel.

Van Persie fired eight goals last season and has warned Feyenoord he will not sign an extension when his contract runs out in 2005.

Former Chelsea chief Ruud Gullit, who takes over as manager in the summer, said: "I hope that van Persie will stay, but I won’t beg anyone, not even Robin van Persie.

"He can take it or leave it, stay at Feyenoord if he wants. I only want to work with those players who want to play for this club.

Van Persie's exit would scarcely be a shock given Feyenoord's policy of selling top players in the past year.

Out have gone Pierre van Hooijdonk, Paul Bosvelt and Blackburn ace Brett Emerton.

And the Rotterdam club have admitted that van Persie has his "heart set on a transfer".

He is rated alongside Ajax's Rafael van der Vaart and PSV starlet Arjen Robben as the brightest member of Holland's new generation.

Van Persie’s agent, Erwin Boonacker, said: "English football is a dream for Robin and if Feyenoord and Arsenal can come to an agreement we will start negotiations."

Arsenal's worrying reliance on Thierry Henry for goals will be highlighted in the summer when the contracts of fellow hitmen Sylvain Wiltord, Dennis Bergkamp and Kanu run out.

And Feyenoord are expecting a new Gunners' bid within days.

General manager Jan D Swart said: "Feyenoord chairman Jorien van den Herik has reacted to a reasonable first offer by Arsenal, which forms the basis for further talks between the two parties.

"I expect this to happen this week."

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004031340,00.html

Can this guy play on the left? If so .. hehehehee. Fergie has quite abit more to spend. This guy plus a central defender should conclude our summer shopping trip.

leslielai
21-01-2004, 07:22 AM

Hail Giggsy!

This has to be my fav goal in recent times.

arcturuz
21-01-2004, 07:27 AM
http://home.graffiti.net/engorgement:graffiti.net/oh_snap.gif

RVN
21-01-2004, 10:12 AM

Can this guy play on the left? If so .. hehehehee. Fergie has quite abit more to spend. This guy plus a central defender should conclude our summer shopping trip.

Dun think so, Fergie is after Robben. ;)

RVN
21-01-2004, 10:28 AM
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer says "everything is ok" in his recovery from a knee operation after false reports suggested the Reds striker could face a further three months on the sidelines.

Ole has been out for four months after undergoing knee surgery back on 23 September. However, following a set-back in training earlier this month, Solskjaer was told by Sir Alex Ferguson to take a week's break.

Solskjaer told ManUtd.com: "I trained with the first team last week and had planned to play against Birmingham for the reserves. But, Sir Alex advised me to recharge my batteries and take a week's holiday.

"It's important for me to follow the advice of the medical staff and I must be patient and not too eager.

"It's important for me to follow the advice of the medical staff. I must be patient and not too eager. However, everything is ok."
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

"With the team doing so well at the moment, there is no need for me to rush my recovery plan. However, everything is ok."

Ole's personal manager Jim Solbakken had been wrongly quoted in Norwegian newspaper VG as saying the injury could take a further three months to heal.

Sir Alex had confirmed to us last week: ”We think he did a little bit too much one day a week ago. We’re just giving him a rest this week and then he’ll be back training next week."

Although a deal to sign Fulham striker Louis Saha has been agreed in principle, Ole would make a welcome return - either to further bolster United's attack or, as he did last season, provide much needed ammunition to Ruud from a wide right position.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=51881&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Yellowfin
21-01-2004, 12:04 PM
Good News indeed.

Originally posted by RVN
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer says "everything is ok" in his recovery from a knee operation after false reports suggested the Reds striker could face a further three months on the sidelines.

Ole has been out for four months after undergoing knee surgery back on 23 September. However, following a set-back in training earlier this month, Solskjaer was told by Sir Alex Ferguson to take a week's break.

Solskjaer told ManUtd.com: "I trained with the first team last week and had planned to play against Birmingham for the reserves. But, Sir Alex advised me to recharge my batteries and take a week's holiday.

"It's important for me to follow the advice of the medical staff and I must be patient and not too eager.

"It's important for me to follow the advice of the medical staff. I must be patient and not too eager. However, everything is ok."
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

"With the team doing so well at the moment, there is no need for me to rush my recovery plan. However, everything is ok."

Ole's personal manager Jim Solbakken had been wrongly quoted in Norwegian newspaper VG as saying the injury could take a further three months to heal.

Sir Alex had confirmed to us last week: ”We think he did a little bit too much one day a week ago. We’re just giving him a rest this week and then he’ll be back training next week."

Although a deal to sign Fulham striker Louis Saha has been agreed in principle, Ole would make a welcome return - either to further bolster United's attack or, as he did last season, provide much needed ammunition to Ruud from a wide right position.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=51881&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ch3tah_39
21-01-2004, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

gd news indeed

stam
21-01-2004, 03:14 PM
saha worth 12million!?? :mad:

Ch3tah_39
21-01-2004, 03:16 PM
Originally posted by stam
saha worth 12million!?? :mad:

see lorz.. if he can perform why not..

Ronaldo7
21-01-2004, 08:21 PM
time will prove everything ;)

orca_sea
21-01-2004, 08:23 PM
hope Solskjaer gets well soon.

yeah :(

RuMmYtUb
21-01-2004, 09:27 PM
Louis Saha was today putting the final touches to his controversial move to Manchester United after undergoing a medical.

United agreed a deal in principle with Fulham - thought to be worth around £12million - for the French striker on Sunday, but the transfer will not be sewn up until manager Sir Alex Ferguson returns with the squad after a break in Dubai tomorrow and the results of Saha's medical examinations are known.

But if, as expected, the 25-year-old is given the all clear and can agree personal terms, Saha will not be eligible for Sunday's FA Cup tie against Northampton after playing - and scoring twice - in round three for the Cottagers.

With Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's return apparently some way off, Ferguson was anxious to get someone in before the transfer window closes at the end of the month.

Saha, who has scored 15 goals this season, fits the bill in as much as he is experienced and eligible to play in the Champions League.

Meanwhile, the Football Association have revealed details of the 121-page Rio Ferdinand appeal document they received from United on Monday.

An FA statement read: 'Following various media reports, the FA wish to clarify the nature of the appeal documents relating to Rio Ferdinand received on Monday.

'The 121 pages are made up of 96 pages of appendices; 24 pages are the notice of appeal itself; one page consists of a covering letter.

'Every single document will be studied in detail over the coming days. Manchester United's appeal was received at the end of the 14 days they had had to respond to the Disciplinary Commission's decision and reasons.'

The FA have 21 days from Monday to respond to the appeal. Ferdinand, who appealed against both the guilty verdict and length of the punishment after failing to take a drug test at United's training ground on September 23, officially started his eight-month ban for missing a drugs test yesterday.

But it seems a conclusion to the long-running saga is still some way off, even though the 25-year-old England defender agreed to start his ban on January 20.

Despite beginning his suspension as planned, the 25-year-old and his legal team hope a reduction in his punishment on appeal would allow him to play in this summer's European Championships.

However, any hope that the case, whose length has already attracted the ire of FIFA president Sepp Blatter, will be concluded swiftly appears well wide of the mark.

In all likelihood, the FA will require the full three weeks just to analyse the counter-claims United have made and with a suitable hearing date then to be agreed between both sides' legal teams and the non-FA aligned QC who will chair the new panel, it could be the end of February before Ferdinand learns his fate.

Source... (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=289067&cc=4716)

ccloh
21-01-2004, 10:41 PM
it is for sure that ole is badly missed in the strike force as well as the right flank. let hope he can play soonest possible and score some important goals for utd during the run-in

RVN
22-01-2004, 12:19 AM
LOUIS Saha and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer have handed Sir Alex Ferguson a double striker boost.

Saha is poised to complete his protracted £12m move to Manchester United from Fulham after undergoing a medical in the city yesterday.

And Solskjaer, out of action for four months, has refuted his agent's suggestions that he could be absent for another three and told the Reds boss "everything is OK" in his recovery from a knee operation.

Saha passed his check-up at Manchester Royal Infirmary and will tie up personal terms before officially signing and being presented to the media when Sir Alex returns from Dubai with United squad tomorrow.

It is expected the Frenchman will be handed the Reds' number nine shirt that has been vacant for two years since Andy Cole left for two Blackburn Rovers in January 2002.

He will be ineligible for Sunday's FA Cup tie against Northampton after playing - and scoring twice - in round three for the Cottagers.

Denial

But the 25-year-old, who has scored 15 goals this season, will be available when the Champions League campaign resumes agaist Porto at the end of next month.

Solskjaer, meanwhile, is on track for a Reds return after reports suggested his spell on the sidelines could drag on.

His agent, Jim Solbakken, claimed yesterday that Solskjaer's injury was as serious as the one that ended Alf Inge Haaland's career, saying: "It's a very, very serious injury and he needs to be patient.

"It could take another three months to heal."

However, Solskjaer, who underwent surgery on September 23, has given a far more positive prognosis, claiming: "I trained with the first team last week and had planned to play against Birmingham for the reserves.

"But, Sir Alex advised me to recharge my batteries and take a week's holiday. It's important for me to follow the advice of the medical staff and I must be patient and not too eager.

"With the team doing so well at the moment, there is no need for me to rush my recovery plan. Everything is ok."

And Ferguson added that the agent's thoughts were wide of the mark.

"We're just giving him a rest this week and then he'll be back training next week," the United boss said.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=78845.html

StormTrooper
22-01-2004, 01:44 AM
yup yup........ole needs to take it slow.......and come back stronger. i don't want him to get another injury.

Ronaldo7
22-01-2004, 08:42 AM
:alien:

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 10:32 AM
To all United fans:

Let's all not be bothered with some flaming troll in this thread. I suggest we ignore all those posts even though we don't like them.

RVN
22-01-2004, 12:40 PM
someone tell the adminstrator to ban this stupid and sickening cunt. :mad: :alien:

RVN
22-01-2004, 02:32 PM
oh you mum and dad must be ashamed to give birth to a shameless brat like you, piss off, you faggot. :mad: :alien:

orca_sea
22-01-2004, 02:36 PM
Must b some plain loser who bet on Man U during the match against the wolves wan.. if i nt wrong there iz someone earlier on b4 tat match tell ppl to mortgage hse lar..car lar.. n sell gf lar.. to bet on Man U.. i wonder if itz the same person..hahahaa Get lost man u plain LOSER :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

swalk21
22-01-2004, 02:39 PM
that is not me ;) first day of cny i won't quarrel with you .i like to find out who are the clones as well;)

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 03:18 PM
Calling all manu fan to put the e person ir ur igrone list.....we dun wan this thread to be close.....

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 03:21 PM
hopefully the mod will ban the person who created the din instead of choosing to close this thread....

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 03:27 PM
Calling all manu fan to put the e person ir ur igrone list.....we dun wan this thread to be close.....
That's right. Don't fall into the clone's trap. ;)

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 03:31 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng

That's right. Don't fall into the clone's trap. ;)

ya put into igrone list will solve everything......

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 03:37 PM
Click this link here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/member2.php?s=&action=addlist&userlist=ignore&userid=147152).

RuMmYtUb
22-01-2004, 03:43 PM
Click this link here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/member2.php?s=&action=addlist&userlist=ignore&userid=147152).

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 03:50 PM
New Link (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/member2.php?s=&action=addlist&userlist=ignore&userid=147167).

And the old one (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/member2.php?s=&action=addlist&userlist=ignore&userid=147152).

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 04:41 PM
look like saha is going to take the jersery number 9.....finally someone take up the responsiblity of jersery 9.......;)

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 06:45 PM
Good work by the mods for deleting the offending posts.

RVN
22-01-2004, 06:57 PM
Birmingham after Butt (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/b/birmingham_city/3419157.stm)

Chelski want to fight with us for Robben (http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=international_feed/04/01/22/SOCCER_Ned-PSV_Eindhoven_Robben.html&TEAMHD=soccer) :mad:

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 07:31 PM
:yawn:
Click here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/member2.php?s=&action=addlist&userlist=ignore&userid=147181).

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 07:56 PM
to the clone here...do u know that i actually can call the police and sue u for slander.....better dun test the patient w us......

or i make sure all this post will be seen by the police.....

do try me.....

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 08:01 PM
Chelsea are ready to rival Manchester United for the signing of PSV Eindhoven starlet Arjen Robben, according to the Dutch club.

The big-spending Blues have made an enquiry for highly-rated forward and could be ready to pip United to his signature.

PSV chairman Harry van Raaij revealed he had spoken to Chelsea officials about many things including the availability of Robben.

"We spoke about several business, but indeed Chelsea also asked about Robben," van Raaij told Dutch daily De Telegraaf.

"Chelsea for example wanted to know how the negotiations with Manchester United were.

"I have told them we are waiting for a continuation appointment."

United appeared to be in pole position for the 19-year-old after holding preliminary talks with the player and inviting him to look around Old Trafford.

The Premiership champions were expected to tie up a deal for the Dutch ace in the summer, but news of Chelsea's interest could spark a bidding war

their scouts 'eat snake'?? why cant they go find players themselves...keep targeting our target..... :mad:

RVN
22-01-2004, 08:05 PM
Did the same with Ronaldo this summer, Saha and now Robben. :mad: :(

Chelsea are just copycats and cant spot talent by themselves, they can **** off. I still feel Robben will chose us just like what his father had said, beside he has a good impression on us after visting OT.

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 08:10 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Did the same with Ronaldo this summer, Saha and now Robben. :mad: :(

Chelsea are just copycats and cant spot talent by themselves, they can **** off. I still feel Robben will chose us just like what his father had said, beside he has a good impression on us after visting OT.

nv be too sure man....money is the root of trouble....psv can accept their offer instead of us...and chelsea can offer robben lots of $$$....

RuMmYtUb
22-01-2004, 08:11 PM
stupid chelski, wanna be another barca and cre8 another ronaldinho saga... :(

kengbeng
22-01-2004, 08:13 PM
Maybe we should pretend to have an interest in Heskey, then Chelski can go ahead and sign him. :laugh:

RVN
22-01-2004, 08:13 PM

nv be too sure man....money is the root of trouble....psv can accept their offer instead of us...and chelsea can offer robben lots of $$$....

bugger, **** chelski.:mad: :alien:

not everyone is persuade by money.

RVN
22-01-2004, 08:43 PM
LOUIS Saha is hoping to share in the success enjoyed by famous former holders of the number nine shirt at Old Trafford.

But the striker he wants to emulate most isn't Ruud van Nistelrooy, but fellow countryman Thierry Henry.

Saha, who should complete his £10m switch from Fulham tomorrow, is expected to take the coveted number nine shirt last used by Andy Cole, and worn with great distinction by Red luminaries such as Bobby Charlton and Brian McClair.

Saha told the Mirror: "It's a fanatastic honour to wear the shirt and I hope I can be a success like those who have worn it in the past."

And the Frenchman is certain that playing with the likes of Roy Keane and Ruud van Nistelrooy is certain to improve him as a player.

"I'm always trying to become a better player and I believe I can improve so much more playing at United."

But the striker Saha rates as the world's leading marksman isn't his new Dutch strike partner but Arsenal's Thierry Henry, a player whose impact at Highbury Saha would love to emulate.

"The player I admire the most and want to emulate is Thierry Henry.

"He is the most complete striker in the wolrd right now and has all the qualities a striker needs to be the best. "

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=78986.html

guoquanyap
22-01-2004, 08:46 PM
haiz...number 9 has been vancant for more than 2yrs since cole left....hopefully he will be worthy to wear the jersery number, 9......

RuMmYtUb
22-01-2004, 09:01 PM
hope he can be our new goalscoring machine alongside RvN...

Spock
22-01-2004, 09:41 PM
Maybe we should pretend to have an interest in Heskey, then Chelski can go ahead and sign him. :laugh:

Lol i hope so:D

ccloh
22-01-2004, 10:44 PM
it is very obvious that chelski strategy is to either snatch up its competitor's target or go into the bidding war so that its rival pay a high price for the player. as for whether they actually need the player or not is a different story. funny how come they never go into the bidding war with arsenal's latest interest. after all they have not won arsenal for quite some times liao.

RVN
23-01-2004, 12:57 AM
Chelsea are assholes first saha now robben......they should piss off and go do their own scouting. They wouldnt have known about robben fo ryears to come if it wasnt for man united. Robbens agent says its either man utd or sign a new contract with psv or just walk out and join man utd. So i dont know where chelsea comes into the equation. Chelsea want to buy all the star players so they can no competition and win teh premier ship with ease. That is a losers strategy. If Robben goes hes gonna be on the bench and start at most 18 games a season till he proves himself. At man utd its a done deal he will have lots of chances to prove himself like what howard had. Chelsea should scout their own players. Its wont help the relationship between the clubs.
chelsea are a disgust buying new players and dumping others.what would robben do in a house full chelsea squad?

newbie_rulz
23-01-2004, 01:55 AM
I prefer Chelsea help save Liverpool some cash by buying Heskey.. :D

stipe
23-01-2004, 09:20 AM
The player I admire the most and want to emulate is Thierry Henry.

He is the most complete striker in the wolrd right now and has all the qualities a striker needs to be the best.

did saha just lose the favour of most of the man utd teammates with his words???

Saha's view (http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=78986.html)

kengbeng
23-01-2004, 09:39 AM

He is the most complete striker in the wolrd right now and has all the qualities a striker needs to be the best.

did saha just lose the favour of most of the man utd teammates with his words???

Saha's view (http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=78986.html)
Nope. I don't think so.

guoquanyap
23-01-2004, 09:47 AM

come on all of them are model professional....u think they will be so petty and angry w saha jus becos of this? stop being narrow-minded.....

RuMmYtUb
23-01-2004, 10:37 AM

come on all of them are model professional....u think they will be so petty and angry w saha jus becos of this? stop being narrow-minded.....

Ya lor... anyway we have the best striker in Europe.. =p

ccloh
23-01-2004, 10:39 AM

this is a professional comment. if utd fan 'cos of this somehow unwelcome saha i think he better quit to become a utd fan better still.

RVN
23-01-2004, 12:55 PM

Pleash lah , what the big fuss in saying that, He use Henry as an example becos he wants to be like him too at United, I also see Vieira praise Scholes and Keane too. Dun be sensitive. :rolleyes:

RVN
23-01-2004, 01:12 PM
Butt may fight for Old Trafford place

Nicky Butt is torn between fighting for his place in the starting line-up at Manchester United and a £5m move to Birmingham City.

The England midfielder was on the verge of leaving Old Trafford after requesting a transfer because of his lack of first-team chances so far this season. However, he is now considering a late change of action after his team-mates and friends urged him to stay at the club he has been at since he was a boy.

Butt has spoken to his colleagues, including his captain, Roy Keane, who have told him to stay at United or to wait for a "bigger club" to come in with an offer. The mutual respect between Keane and Butt may prevent Butt from leaving.

However, Butt's advisers met with Birmingham to discuss terms on the deal and the price has already been agreed between Steve Bruce, the manager of City, and Sir Alex Ferguson, his counterpart at United. He also needs first-team football to protect his place in the England team with the European Championships looming.

Birmingham, who have £10m available to spend, will offer Butt wages of around £2m-a-year, a record for the club. Butt has never had to think about leaving United before * or even work with agents * and he will take a couple of days to weigh up his options.

Birmingham are also trying to sign the centre-half Martin Taylor from Blackburn Rovers for £2m. They would also like to tie up a permanent deal with Chelsea for the £5m striker Mikael Forssell, who is on loan.

Discussing his available funds, Bruce yesterday said: "Things are ongoing. If good players become available, that can benefit the squad, then we are looking at all areas of the pitch. It would be nice to bring in a defender, midfielder and striker. But if the right players don't become available, then I'll wait until the summer."

As regards Forssell, Bruce said: "Nothing has gone any further, but if Chelsea give us the green light about Mikael being for sale, then we will act."

The midfielder, Darren Carter, is finally set to resolve his future with a new three-and-a-half year contract at the club.

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/birmingham/story.jsp?story=483805

Ch3tah_39
23-01-2004, 01:46 PM
gd the offensive post was deleated..:)

orca_sea
23-01-2004, 01:53 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Butt may fight for Old Trafford place

Nicky Butt is torn between fighting for his place in the starting line-up at Manchester United and a £5m move to Birmingham City.

The England midfielder was on the verge of leaving Old Trafford after requesting a transfer because of his lack of first-team chances so far this season. However, he is now considering a late change of action after his team-mates and friends urged him to stay at the club he has been at since he was a boy.

Butt has spoken to his colleagues, including his captain, Roy Keane, who have told him to stay at United or to wait for a "bigger club" to come in with an offer. The mutual respect between Keane and Butt may prevent Butt from leaving.

However, Butt's advisers met with Birmingham to discuss terms on the deal and the price has already been agreed between Steve Bruce, the manager of City, and Sir Alex Ferguson, his counterpart at United. He also needs first-team football to protect his place in the England team with the European Championships looming.

Birmingham, who have £10m available to spend, will offer Butt wages of around £2m-a-year, a record for the club. Butt has never had to think about leaving United before * or even work with agents * and he will take a couple of days to weigh up his options.

Birmingham are also trying to sign the centre-half Martin Taylor from Blackburn Rovers for £2m. They would also like to tie up a permanent deal with Chelsea for the £5m striker Mikael Forssell, who is on loan.

Discussing his available funds, Bruce yesterday said: "Things are ongoing. If good players become available, that can benefit the squad, then we are looking at all areas of the pitch. It would be nice to bring in a defender, midfielder and striker. But if the right players don't become available, then I'll wait until the summer."

As regards Forssell, Bruce said: "Nothing has gone any further, but if Chelsea give us the green light about Mikael being for sale, then we will act."

The midfielder, Darren Carter, is finally set to resolve his future with a new three-and-a-half year contract at the club.

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/birmingham/story.jsp?story=483805

Hope tat Butt wont go lor... i tink he will surely get more chance one.. esp as Keane iz getting old liao..

RVN
23-01-2004, 09:34 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is expected to make changes from last weekend's defeat at Wolves for when Manchester United travel to take on Northampton.

With Rio Ferdinand definitely out after starting his eight-month ban earlier this week, the United manager will decide between Wes Brown and John O'Shea to fill the central defensive vacancy alongside Mikael Silvestre.

Ferguson is contemplating other changes with teenager Darren Fletcher likely to come into the side along with Ryan Giggs, who missed last weekend's 1-0 defeat at Molineux because of a back injury while transfer-listed Nicky Butt could be given a rare start but Phil Neville is suspended after picking up a booking at Wolves

Gary Neville is also due to step back with striker Diego Forlan also likely to come into contention - although Ferguson says he has no plans of fielding a 'fringe' line up against the Third Division opposition.

Manchester United (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Silvestre, Brown, O’Shea, Fortune, Forlan, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Scholes, Butt, Keane, Kleberson, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Bellion, Eagles.

RuMmYtUb
23-01-2004, 10:11 PM
A win is a must after 2 matches w/o goals for the Red Devils...

RVN
23-01-2004, 10:14 PM
on the
dotted line for a 5 and a half years, deal completed,and we have a New Number 9

Welcome to the club, Louis. ;)

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1120460,00.html

guoquanyap
23-01-2004, 11:24 PM
why no pic of him holding the number 9 jersery...hmmm...anyway it's 12.85 millions....damn expensive, hope he will prove his worth......:cool:

guoquanyap
23-01-2004, 11:39 PM
http://www.kitbag.com/product_images/large/184948-666-saha.jpg

guoquanyap
23-01-2004, 11:41 PM
Manchester United have denied rumours linking them with a move for James Milner.

The club's press officer told ManUtd.com: "Contrary to reports in today's newspapers, Manchester United are not interested in signing James Milner from Leeds United."

United are, however, expected to unveil the signing of Louis Saha in a press conference at Old Trafford at 2pm today. The move will signal the end of the club's January spending, which has seen Liam Miller sign a pre-contract agreement and the arrival of Dong Fangzhou from Dalian Shide.

no defender?? :(

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=52074

cracker
24-01-2004, 10:33 AM
http://www.kitbag.com/product_images/large/184948-666-saha.jpg

Hope wont be another "sala" move by Fergie.

Ronaldo7
24-01-2004, 11:16 AM
why no pic of him holding the number 9 jersery...hmmm...anyway it's 12.85 millions....damn expensive, hope he will prove his worth......:cool:

http://www.premierleague.com/en/images/news_premier_league/sahanew184.jpg

StormTrooper
24-01-2004, 11:42 AM
until saha proves his worth, i'll stick to my impression of saha being overrated and overpriced. but i'd be glad if saha make me eat my words.

RVN
24-01-2004, 01:11 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is confident £12.8million new signing Louis Saha can forge as effective a striking partnership with Ruud van Nistelrooy as the Champions League-winning combination between Dwight Yorke and Andy Cole.

Saha finally completed his acrimonious move from Fulham this afternoon, signing a five-and-a-half year deal to become the fourth most expensive player in Manchester United's history.

And Ferguson quickly quashed any suggestion that the 25-year-old Frenchman has been brought in purely as back-up for van Nistelrooy, insisting he sees Saha as the perfect partner for his free-scoring Dutchman.

"We are going to work with them as a partnership and see how they respond to the challenge of playing with each other," said Ferguson.

"The last really effective combination we had was the one between Dwight Yorke and Andy Cole that was so integral to winning the European Cup in 1999. Hopefully this one will be equally as successful.

"Louis has different types of qualities to Ruud and I think they will do well together."

Ferguson revealed that his interest in Saha dated back to an FA Cup encounter with Fulham at Craven Cottage in 2001 when the Londoners were still in the First Division.

He backed off when Fulham were promoted in the same season, even though Saha scored twice at Old Trafford in the first game of the following campaign.

However, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's longer-than-anticipated recovery from knee surgery prompted Ferguson to make another move when the transfer window opened at the beginning of the month.

"Our original offer was rejected but it started the negotiations that have ended as we would have wanted," he said.

The deal would not have gone through though without Saha's dramatic intervention.

Having seen United's first bid turned down, the 15-goal former Newcastle loan signing feared the move was about to collapse, so he warned Fulham unless he was allowed to leave immediately, he would eventually go for nothing at the end of his contract.

His outburst caused a huge storm and wrecked his relationship with the Fulham fans who once adored him but Saha remains unrepentant.

"Fulham gave me an opportunity to play in the Premiership and I am grateful for that," he said.

"But I also helped them get out of the First Division, so I didn't do a bad job for them either.

"I knew this was a fabulous opportunity for me and when it looked as though the deal was struggling, I decided to step forward.

"Maybe I shocked a few people but sometimes you have to be selfish. Now I am taking a big step forward into a big new world."

Anxious to avoid the kind of negative publicity that has recently emerged over their summer transfer dealings, United revealed they had paid £750,000 in agents fees without confirming which agents have been involved in the deal.

It has also been made clear it is the last purchase United expect to make during the transfer window, dismissing out of hand suggestions that they could be ready to launch a £5million bid for Leeds youngster James Milner.

Saha will be handed a watching brief for the FA Cup tie at Northampton on Sunday, as he has already played in the competition.

With Rio Ferdinand and Phil Neville suspended and Ryan Giggs a major doubt with a back strain, Ferguson will be forced to make changes to the side surprisingly beaten at Wolves last weekend.

Wes Brown is an automatic choice to partner Mikael Silvestre in central defence, while transfer-listed Nicky Butt could be in line for a rare start alongside skipper Roy Keane.

Ferguson was giving nothing away over Butt's future today, despite the #5.5million offer Birmingham lodged yesterday and there are strong rumours circulating that the England midfielder will opt to stay at least until the end of the season.

Those concerns will be put on the backburner as United make their first visit to Northampton since George Best scored his famous double hat-trick in the 8-2 romp 34 years ago.

It is the first time Ferguson has taken his side to such humble surroundings since they stopped off at Hereford on their way to winning the competition in 1990.

"All the headline writers are waiting for a shock and that is understandable," he said.

"The players and the fans will be buoyed up, the tackles will be flying in and depending on the referee, it could be a real barnstorming cup-tie.

"We have to be aware of what could happen. We cannot afford to get wrapped up in the cup-tie atmosphere."

http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/146258/.html

wadeva_lah
24-01-2004, 01:42 PM
eh?
wad was the issue with the clone?
wad he said?

RVN
24-01-2004, 02:12 PM
If Saha and Ruud play together upfront, then we should drop Phil and play Scholes with Keane in midfield, the old 4-4-2 that used to destroy teams i say. :)

orca_sea
24-01-2004, 02:22 PM
Originally posted by RVN
If Saha and Ruud play together upfront, then we should drop Phil and play Scholes with Keane in midfield, the old 4-4-2 that used to destroy teams i say. :)

tat would b cool man :cool: but i tink for the right wing - as in the players playing in tat position aka Darren Fletcher or Klerberson must improved in their crossing man..

leslielai
24-01-2004, 02:24 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Phil can be moved back to defence. hehehehehehe

Strikers: Saha & Ruud
Midfielders: Giggs, Keane, Scholes & Solskjaer/Ronaldo
Defenders: O'Shea, Silvestre, Brown and Gary/Phil

Central and right defence is VERY worrying. Brown always plays for the opposing yeam while Silvestre isn't very effective in the central role. Gary is a joke these days. O'shea is the second Dennis Irwin and there should be no problems on his side.

Maybe Silvestre should be moved to where he came from and O'Shea will swap places with him.

leslielai
24-01-2004, 02:25 PM
Originally posted by orca_sea

tat would b cool man :cool: but i tink for the right wing - as in the players playing in tat position aka Darren Fletcher or Klerberson must improved in their crossing man..

Darren Fletcher is not needed here. Kleberson isn't the type of player who deliver crosses, so what seems to be the problem?

RVN
24-01-2004, 02:28 PM

Darren Fletcher is not needed here. Kleberson isn't the type of player who deliver crosses, so what seems to be the problem?

Solskjaer play on the right when he comes back. :cool:

leslielai
24-01-2004, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Can't wait for that! :cool:

orca_sea
24-01-2004, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Ya tatz the onli best option IMO.. hope he wont kenna another serious injury:D

RVN
24-01-2004, 02:42 PM
Manchester United have denied rumours linking them with a move for James Milner.

The club's press officer told ManUtd.com: "Contrary to reports in today's newspapers, Manchester United are not interested in signing James Milner from Leeds United."

United are, however, expected to unveil the signing of Louis Saha in a press conference at Old Trafford at 2pm today. The move will signal the end of the club's January spending, which has seen Liam Miller sign a pre-contract agreement and the arrival of Dong Fangzhou from Dalian Shide.

no defender?? :(

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=52074

end of january spending spree too, look like Saha is our last signing, maybe Fergie will put Keane and Phil as cover in the defence and also Fortune too.

O'Shea---------Brown----------Silvestre--------G Neville

RVN
24-01-2004, 03:59 PM
http://www.ananova.com/images/web/82070.jpg
http://www.lexicon.net/mufc/saha/01.jpg
http://www.lexicon.net/mufc/saha/02.jpg
http://www.lexicon.net/mufc/saha/04.jpg
http://www.lexicon.net/mufc/saha/05.jpg

Ch3tah_39
24-01-2004, 05:47 PM
hope saha will do the job well..:)

stam
24-01-2004, 05:58 PM
welcome SAHA!!

ccloh
24-01-2004, 06:13 PM
we don't expect saha to be another henry but we do expect him to score goals especially when RVN, scholes, giggs and co. can't find the net.

leslielai
24-01-2004, 06:47 PM
Welcome to the Theatre of Dreams!

RuMmYtUb
25-01-2004, 12:39 AM
we don't expect saha to be another henry but we do expect him to score goals especially when RVN, scholes, giggs and co. can't find the net.

Agree.

orca_sea
25-01-2004, 03:01 AM
Welcome to the Theatre of Dreams!

Yah man.. fulfill ur destiny here.. n dun destroy it ;)

guoquanyap
25-01-2004, 10:34 AM
today shall destory northampton....:evil:

most impt avoid an upset.....:o

Spock
25-01-2004, 01:19 PM
Can saha play tonight?

stam
25-01-2004, 01:24 PM
Originally posted by Spock
Can saha play tonight?

hes cup-tied.

cracker
25-01-2004, 02:05 PM
So is Fergie sticking to his 4-3-1-1 formation or revert to 4-4-2 with Saha partnering Ruud on the front ?

He was defending the 4-3-1-1 system during last season so will be interesting to see if he will keep it.

the midfield will most likely, if it is going to be a 4-4-2 format, be
contested by:
left ....Giggs, Ronaldo, Fortune
central....keane, scholes. phil nevile, Butt, kleberson,djemba
Right..... Ole (when he is fit). Fletcher, (Ronaldo). (Giggs)

Suddenly the midfield dept looks "crowded" again.

Ronaldo7
25-01-2004, 04:46 PM
Ferguson 'close to new contract'

Manchester United chief executive David Gill has insisted that Sir Alex Ferguson is on the verge of signing a new contract with the club.
Gill said: "We are very close; the final details are with the lawyers."

Ferguson has been in negotiations with United for months but is still to sign an extension to his present deal.

And he is embroiled in legal action against horse racing magnate John Magnier, who has increased his shared stake in the club to 25.49%.

Ferguson has this week expressed his concern about the dealy in securing a new deal.

"I understand the fans are concerned, and quite rightly," said Ferguson.

We'd like to put the situation to bed and sign the contract straight away

And Gill admitted the constant rumours swirling about Ferguson's future were unsettling.

"All the speculation has not been helpful, as Sir Alex and myself appreciate 100%," Gill said.

Ferguson's ongoing dispute with Magnier - over the stud rights to star racehorse Rock of Gibraltar - has prompted speculation that the Scot's new deal could be in jeopardy.

Magnier - together with business partner JP McManus - has slowly built up a large stake in the plc, prompting speculation over a possible takeover bid,

"The publicity over the matter does us no good," admitted Ferguson.

"There are a couple of little things on the contract that we went through on Thursday and Friday.

"We'd like to put the situation to bed and sign the contract straight away.

"That's my perspective and the club's perspective."

Under Takeover Panel regulations, an investor who takes up a 30% equity stake in a British company is required to make an offer to all other shareholders.

ccloh
25-01-2004, 05:24 PM
can't see utd loosing tonite. after a good week break in dubai, the players should be fresh enough.

StormTrooper
25-01-2004, 05:48 PM
can't see utd loosing tonite. after a good week break in dubai, the players should be fresh enough.

i couldn't see united losing to wolves too.......but they did =p

guoquanyap
26-01-2004, 02:30 AM
woot~~ through to 5th round w most of the first-team rested......

now looking forward to see saha putting on the manu shirt.....:D

stipe
26-01-2004, 08:39 AM
overall a good result for the team, especially after fielding a weakened side to break the 2 matches without any goals.

but i have a few points...

i feel the team lacks incisiveness, forlan and bellion looks lost, probably still shocked that they are the target man now.

the way man utd used to counter-attack incisively is lost. maybe they do not need that anymore....

ronaldo is the bright spark, scary to think that the 18-yr old is alreadyone of the few seniors in the team.

richardson looks good for the few minutes that he played. banged a shot which was destined to nestle at the back of the net until the cobblers goalie pushed it onto the bar

i feel sad to watch forlan play. he is lost. despite the numerous chances that fergie allowed him... i do not see fergie keeping him longer...

bellion looks fast, but his first touch needs to really improve

to all fletcher fans, no matter how much you love him, i will still say this.... the scotsman is pretty average, cannot dribble, keep losing the balls.... cannot cross...

leslielai
26-01-2004, 08:46 AM
Richardson impressed for the minimal time he was on last night. Probably we'll see him on our left flank in a couple of seasons' time.

As for Fletcher, well, all you will get from the "Man United fans" here will be that he is STILL YOUNG and that you THINK you can be a manager just by watching football on tv if you were to launch honest criticisms on him. Keep him for a season or two before exporting him, can't fetch a good price now anyway.

leslielai
26-01-2004, 08:47 AM
So much for being hailed the next DB. :sarcastic :laugh:

RVN
26-01-2004, 10:48 AM
It was a weakened line-up, what to expect.:rolleyes:

anyway through to the 5th round is all that matters.

guoquanyap
26-01-2004, 11:41 AM
leslielai are u really a manu fan? or u jus a gay who love beckham so much? imo Fletcher played not bad last nite....he was the main man when scholes left the field last nite.....

wat are u thinking man? :sarcastic

RVN
26-01-2004, 12:07 PM
Manchester United have begun the search for a high- profile mediator to broker talks to end the damaging row between Sir Alex Ferguson and the club's major shareholder, John Magnier, but they have refused to back down over their manager's contract and are confident he will sign a new deal this week.

The leaking of two letters from Magnier to United plc chairman Sir Roy Gardner to a Sunday newspaper have caused the club's board great dismay, but this week they will defy their major shareholder and agree a deal with Ferguson.

The threat to Ferguson's position at the club has become increasingly serious as pressure from Magnier and J P McManus has intensified following Ferguson's decision to take Magnier to court for a half share of the stud fees for the champion racehorse, Rock Of Gibraltar. However, sources at United indicated last night that chief executive David Gill would back the 62-year-old with a new contract.

The letters, which called for an investigation into the club's transfers, represented the first direct evidence that the club's major shareholders, Cubic Expression, which Magnier owns with McManus, are prepared to take a central role in the running of the club. They demanded an investigation into, among other things, allegations that a commission of £139,000 was paid to a business associate of Ferguson's agent son, Jason, over the transfer of American goalkeeper Tim Howard.

The Daily Telegraph understands that Gill was working hard behind the scenes yesterday to establish a meeting with Magnier and McManus, who own 25.49 per cent of the club, and that he will use a third party to mediate talks.

United hope the go-between, who would have to possess excellent business contacts as well as be able to convince both sides of his neutrality, would engage Magnier and McManus in negotiations to prevent any more embarrassing disclosures such as yesterday's leaked letters.

Tony Blair's former official spokesman, Alastair Campbell, has been one name mentioned as a possible intermediary in the row but with Lord Hutton's report into the death of Government scientist Dr David Kelly due on Wednesday, he has been ruled out.

Another possible name is retail billionaire Philip Green who, it emerged yesterday, was crucial in bringing together Gill and Fulham chairman Mohamed Fayed in order for the two clubs to conclude the £12 million transfer of striker Louis Saha.

The letters leaked to the press reveal that, after Gardner first replied to the two Irish multi- millionaires that there was nothing to investigate in the club's transfers, they told him "we reserve all our rights as shareholders to take such action as we may be advised".

The United plc board are desperate to avoid the worse case scenario which would involve Magnier and McManus calling an extraordinary meeting of the club's shareholders which would put pressure on Gill and Ferguson.

The two men have more than double the 10 per cent of the shares needed to call an EGM, but they would have to do so for a single specific meeting which, on the evidence of the letters leaked yesterday, would probably centre around the activities of Jason Ferguson.

After calling an EGM, the plc board would have 21 days to give notice to shareholders but, unlike an annual meeting, there would be no scope for discussion of topics beyond the single reason for the meeting being called.

Although Magnier and McManus have the backing of their considerable fortunes, and alliances with multi-millionaire Celtic chairman Dermot Desmond, Ferguson has the support of United's legions of fans who saw off the threat of a Rupert Murdoch takeover in 1998.

A spokesman for Shareholders United, a collective of fans with small holdings in the club, said: "Sir Alex is undoubtedly one of the club's and the company's best assets. It would be a disgrace if personal score-settling, bullying and dirty tricks were allowed to win the day. What we've witnessed these last few weeks is simply mud slinging as part of a blatant and shoddy character assassination plot."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?view=DETAILS&grid=D&xml=%2Fsport%2F2004%2F01%2F26%2Fsfnman26.xml

Magnier want to humilate Fergie and kicked him out really, thats a disgrace. :mad:

stam
26-01-2004, 12:16 PM
i thought Fletcher was scotland's best young player when he was 15? after his long term injury, now cannot make it liao??:confused:

ccloh
26-01-2004, 12:21 PM
forget abt beckham, he is history and he is no longer a "professional footballer" rather a frame chaser. he is out of utd way for sure.

fletcher hasn't even play a full season for utd and ppl are putting axe on him now. u sure this is the correct way to treat youngster ???

guoquanyap
26-01-2004, 12:23 PM
i thought Fletcher was scotland's best young player when he was 15? after his long term injury, now cannot make it liao??:confused:

wow biang....this is onli his first season...how well u wan him to play? score at least 10goals?

u all sound like a gloy-seeker rather than one who support the club.....

RVN
26-01-2004, 12:37 PM
seem like some of them are becks-fanatic, I hate it when people keep on saying we miss becks and we can't do without him, United are not a one-man team. :( :mad:

Yellowfin
26-01-2004, 12:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN
United are not a one-man team.

Agreed. There are so many great players before the David the who.......:D

Most important is the players play their heart out for Man U and have the never-say die attitude even with a goal down during a match.

I wonder how many Man U fans here will be Man U fan if they are relegated to Div One. (Touch wood)

Ch3tah_39
26-01-2004, 02:52 PM
So much for being hailed the next DB. :sarcastic :laugh:

he is the one hailed the next db mehz??
tot he played better in center position??
not c.eagle said to be like the next beckz ehz

RuMmYtUb
26-01-2004, 05:28 PM
who cares about beckham... we have DARREN FLETCHER, though he got much stick for his poor crossing but i still rate him as a hot prospect, SAF will surely bring out the full potential in him...

We have a wonder team, balanced age, likes of Class of 92' mixed with youngsters of Ronaldo, Fletcher, Bellion etc...

Bellion's really pacey, if he sharpens his shooting, dribbling n first touches, he can be a 2nd 'Henry'..

stam
26-01-2004, 06:14 PM
really interesting to see a new team being built...but still dunno who can replace keane.....

RVN
26-01-2004, 06:22 PM
really interesting to see a new team being built...but still dunno who can replace keane.....

I would have thought Butt is the ideal choice.I hate to see him go. :(

Phil now look the likely one, theres still Eric, Kleberson and Liam Miller, but they all need time before they can truely replace Keane.

RuMmYtUb
26-01-2004, 06:28 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I would have thought Butt is the ideal choice.I hate to see him go. :(

Phil now look the likely one, theres still Eric, Kleberson and Liam Miller, but they all need time before they can truely replace Keane.

I thought Butt too, he could immediately slot in w/o any problems..:(

RVN
26-01-2004, 06:37 PM
saw moyes on sky this morning confirming everton had made enquiries and that he would like to see if butt would like to move there. he said he thought it was highly unlikely anything would happen until summer though. fergie said he be disappointed if he goes and wants to persuade Butt to stay.

I can understand nicky butt wanting first team football, but my problems are:

1) he can still get that with us. keano can't play every game, and phil neville, despite his performances, is NOT unmovable from the team.

2) first team football in a lesser team does not guarantee and england spot in the summer. andy cole moved for the same reasons and it backfired. andy cole would've been a great asset to us that season. he could perhaps have been the difference too. i'd hate to see nicky butt go to birmingham, not get into the ingerlund squad, and us to lose out at the end of the season when we have to play eric-jemba djmeba or kleberson in the middle because keano's injured.

butt's been getting in the england squad for years without ever being truly first choice for us for an extended period of time. i think his best course of action would be to stick with us for the rest of the season, and then re-assess the situation in the summer.

I would also accept that with miller incoming in the summer, there will have to be a midfield departure, then its probably Butt, but for now I wished Butt stick with us.

leslielai
26-01-2004, 07:21 PM
leslielai are u really a manu fan? or u jus a gay who love beckham so much? imo Fletcher played not bad last nite....he was the main man when scholes left the field last nite.....

wat are u thinking man? :sarcastic

Obviously you need more English classes. :sarcastic

Try this name calling again and you'll get it from me.

leslielai
26-01-2004, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

Agreed. There are so many great players before the David the who.......:D

Most important is the players play their heart out for Man U and have the never-say die attitude even with a goal down during a match.

I wonder how many Man U fans here will be Man U fan if they are relegated to Div One. (Touch wood)

The "never-say-die" attitude is the basic requirement of EVERY Man United player. That is what keeps the team going and what won us all the silverware we have.

For the last bit, heh. I can see a few in here already. :rolleyes:

leslielai
26-01-2004, 07:25 PM
Alright all ya Fletcher fans can continue to live in delusion. He is NEVER gonna make it big.

kengbeng
26-01-2004, 07:29 PM
No Chelsea move for Robben - Agent

PSV Eindhoven striker Arjen Robben will not snub Premiership champions Manchester United in favour of a move to Chelsea.

Robben's father Hans - also his agent - has insisted there is no chance the 19-year-old will move to Stamford Bridge.

He told the Sunday Mirror: "My son will not go to Chelsea. Over my dead body will he go there.

"They have an owner who has no philosophy or structure at the club. Chelsea just buy expensive players all over Europe and think it will make them a great team.

"But my son has been to see Sir Alex Ferguson and nobody knows better why organisation and a good structure at a top club is so important. Old Trafford is the only place he wants to play and if he can't play there he would rather stay at PSV.

"In fact he would rather play in their reserves than go to Chelsea. It's as simple as that."

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040125/21/ekb24.html

leslielai
26-01-2004, 07:31 PM
No Chelsea move for Robben - Agent

PSV Eindhoven striker Arjen Robben will not snub Premiership champions Manchester United in favour of a move to Chelsea.

Robben's father Hans - also his agent - has insisted there is no chance the 19-year-old will move to Stamford Bridge.

He told the Sunday Mirror: "My son will not go to Chelsea. Over my dead body will he go there.

"They have an owner who has no philosophy or structure at the club. Chelsea just buy expensive players all over Europe and think it will make them a great team.

"But my son has been to see Sir Alex Ferguson and nobody knows better why organisation and a good structure at a top club is so important. Old Trafford is the only place he wants to play and if he can't play there he would rather stay at PSV.

"In fact he would rather play in their reserves than go to Chelsea. It's as simple as that."

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040125/21/ekb24.html

Yeeeeha! Another exciting prospect on the way!

kengbeng
26-01-2004, 07:36 PM
Alright all ya Fletcher fans can continue to live in delusion. He is NEVER gonna make it big.
Now now, everyone is entitled to their own opinions.
There's no need to impose your thinking on others no matter how lousy you think that player is. Time will tell how good the player will finally be. ;)

Peace.

RuMmYtUb
26-01-2004, 07:36 PM

He's still a home grown talent, make it or not, can u have some support and faith like u do to Man Utd ?

leslielai
26-01-2004, 07:39 PM

Now now, everyone is entitled to their own opinions.
There's no need to impose your thinking on others no matter how lousy you think that player is. Time will tell how good the player will finally be. ;)

Peace.

Finally a sensible post in this thread.

Yea everyone is entitled to their own opinions but defending their stands BLINDLY isn't somethin very tolerable. I merely stated my stand and the people with blind faith will come lashing at me. Not just once or twice.

Some even had to resort to name calling. :sarcastic :laugh:

leslielai
26-01-2004, 07:40 PM

He's still a home grown talent, make it or not, can u have some support and faith like u do to Man Utd ?

He might drag down the overall gameplay of the team and that was exactly what happened the couple of times he was on. Last night was excusable, the entire team played like crap.

ccloh
26-01-2004, 10:23 PM

Finally a sensible post in this thread.

Yea everyone is entitled to their own opinions but defending their stands BLINDLY isn't somethin very tolerable. I merely stated my stand and the people with blind faith will come lashing at me. Not just once or twice.

Some even had to resort to name calling. :sarcastic :laugh:

u have to give him time b4 any judgement is made. he not even finish 1 full season with utd. not every player can have immediate effect when they play for the team. it is like ur 1st day to work and u happen to make a silly mistake then ur boss condemn u already. that is not the way. it is true that each and every 1 have their own right to what they comment but ur comment does not come at the right time. u say sometime abt forlan then is undestood as he has been with the club for long and his performance hasn't be good as compared to last season. as for fletcher and the rest of the new signings it is TOO TOO early to embark on any comment at the moment.

ccloh
26-01-2004, 10:35 PM

not that i got anything against u or am a fletcher's fan which u called. this kind of statement u dare to make. don't u remember alan hansen had to eat back his own word in front of public tv when he claimed utd can't win any thing with a bunch of kids when they sell off huges, ince and cantona retired. also andy cole's 7 million pounds transfer from newcastle has made many utd supporter claiming fergie is wasting $$ as andy cole doesn't worth that much and now u look back at cole's goal ratio for utd, every cents also worth back already.

kengbeng
26-01-2004, 10:48 PM

u have to give him time b4 any judgement is made. he not even finish 1 full season with utd. not every player can have immediate effect when they play for the team. it is like ur 1st day to work and u happen to make a silly mistake then ur boss condemn u already. that is not the way. it is true that each and every 1 have their own right to what they comment but ur comment does not come at the right time. u say sometime abt forlan then is undestood as he has been with the club for long and his performance hasn't be good as compared to last season. as for fletcher and the rest of the new signings it is TOO TOO early to embark on any comment at the moment.
not that i got anything against u or am a fletcher's fan which u called. this kind of statement u dare to make. don't u remember alan hansen had to eat back his own word in front of public tv when he claimed utd can't win any thing with a bunch of kids when they sell off huges, ince and cantona retired. also andy cole's 7 million pounds transfer from newcastle has made many utd supporter claiming fergie is wasting $$ as andy cole doesn't worth that much and now u look back at cole's goal ratio for utd, every cents also worth back already.
My sentiments exactly. Silvestre himself wasn't exactly fantastic when he started his first season at United (I thought he was the weakest link back then), but look where he is now. ;)

So let us reserve our judgment till the time it is due. Remember, the lad's only 19 now; he's got years in front of him.

guoquanyap
26-01-2004, 11:19 PM
alright right now i am more conern abt fergie position in the club....hopefully the board is fully behind him......

orca_sea
27-01-2004, 01:53 AM

I believe he got the potential to make it Big lor.. so we shall see haha :D

RVN
27-01-2004, 08:57 AM
alright right now i am more conern abt fergie position in the club....hopefully the board is fully behind him......

At this moment, no one on this planet is ready to replace Fergie, He lives, eats and breathes the club. He'll get the contract he wants and deserves or the 2 Irish cunts can go and **** themselves, they have no interest in football and are using United as an attack on Fergie. :mad:

guoquanyap
27-01-2004, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by RVN

At this moment, no one on this planet is ready to replace Fergie, He lives, eats and breathes the club. He'll get the contract he wants and deserves or the 2 Irish cunts can go and **** themselves, they have no interest in football and are using United as an attack on Fergie. :mad:

jus hope that someone more powerful than them buy over their share.....or the board fully behind him....

ccloh
27-01-2004, 11:53 AM
my concern is not internal problem but rather if some facts really reflect the ugly truth abt the transfer, will FIFA (aka the stupid old man blatter) step in or not.

SebastianKae
27-01-2004, 12:50 PM
haha, if ferguson has any involvment in what the magnate says, then saf must be gill's clone or something. SAF though powerful, is just a manager of the club, he simply manages the players.
Is it just a plan to kick saf out of utd because of a dumb stallion?

leslielai
27-01-2004, 01:48 PM
Buzz off Magnier :mad:

leslielai
27-01-2004, 01:48 PM
haha, if ferguson has any involvment in what the magnate says, then saf must be gill's clone or something. SAF though powerful, is just a manager of the club, he simply manages the players.
Is it just a plan to kick saf out of utd because of a dumb stallion?

Well it certainly appears so.

SebastianKae
27-01-2004, 02:22 PM
looks like our great saf has met his match in the form of his former good friend. Manutd and SAF will have my support nomatter what happens, but if saf is not offered a contract, we may see his former assistant out of job too to give way.

RVN
27-01-2004, 02:44 PM
Manchester United fans have warned John Magnier and JP McManus to put up or shut up as the row with Sir Alex Ferguson intensifies.

Despite confirmation yesterday that the Old Trafford club were to launch a “thorough internal review” into all their recent transfer dealings, it does not appear it will be enough to ease the concerns of the Irish business tycoons, who between them own over a quarter of the club.

United supporters have been astonished at the letters leaked to the Sunday Times last weekend which called on chairman Sir Roy Gardner to suspend negotiations over Sir Alex Ferguson’s new contract until their grievances were investigated.

The fans who travelled to Northampton on Sunday left no doubt as to where their loyalties on the matter lie, and the influential Independent Manchester United Supporters Association have now added their voice to the row.

“We keep hearing that John Magnier and JP McManus are powerful businessmen who are not to be trifled with,” said IMUSA chairman Jules Spencer.

“We may ‘only’ be supporters but, as Rupert Murdoch found out when he tried to buy our club, we will not be messed about either.

“We have a powerful voice and it should not be ignored.

“United fans made their feelings clear at Northampton on Sunday and will continue to do so until this matter is resolved.

“When we want questions answering we ask them. All we are getting at the moment is a personal vendetta and a dirty tricks campaign whose sole purpose appears to be dragging the names of Manchester United and Sir Alex Ferguson through the mud. It is not acceptable.

“If Magnier or McManus have issues they want to raise, they should be brave enough to raise them in public, not through the media. Otherwise, they should leave our club alone.

“As far as we are aware, neither man has any real connection to United and the longer this situation drags on, the more fans will want to ensure they have nothing to do with our club.

“Our message to them, or indeed any potential suitors, is ‘United are not for sale’.”

In addition to the review from which any improvements to their structures will be implemented during the summer, the Old Trafford hierarchy also confirmed their intention to follow the precedent set at Louis Saha’s unveiling on Friday by declaring all sums paid out to agents – in that instance £750,000 – in all subsequent transfers.

By also stating their intention to ask the Premier League to implement “new guidelines in respect of dealing with agents”, United feel they are being transparent and have defended themselves against numerous allegations made in recent weeks over the arrivals of Tim Howard, Kleberson, David Bellion and Cristiano Ronaldo.

However, the Press Association understands it does not answer the specific complaints of Magnier and McManus as revealed in letters leaked to the Sunday Times.

The Irish horse-racing tycoons are yet to determine their exact response, although it will not affect the new rolling one-year contract manager Sir Alex Ferguson is due to sign in the coming days.

The Ferguson contract saga has become something of a red herring in the row that has engulfed the club.

All parties – including the manager himself – believe a rolling contract is the best way forward as it will prevent a repeat of the endless discussion over Ferguson’s retirement that affected United’s performances in what was supposed to be the final season of his reign in 2001-02.

However, Magnier and McManus still reserve the right to take one of three options; either reporting their concerns to the Financial Services Authority, demand a seat on the United board, or force a potentially embarrassing emergency general meeting.

It only fuels the feeling the Irishmen are now applying pressure to the United board as the ongoing dispute between Ferguson and Magnier over the stud rights to record-breaking stallion Rock of Gibraltar intensifies.

So far, there has been no sign that Ferguson is willing to back down from his claim for half a share in the horse, which could earn him in excess of £100million, even though there is apparently no written evidence to back him up.

For Gardner and chief executive David Gill, the whole episode is turning into a nightmare of monumental proportions and unless a resolution is found to that dispute, it is difficult to see how United can be restored to a stable footing.

In announcing their internal review, the club hoped to buy themselves a few precious months in which they could broker a deal between Ferguson and Magnier.

Instead, they will anxiously await Magnier and McManus’ next move as the club threatens to rip itself apart.

http://sport.scotsman.com/latest.cfm?id=2456321

Magnier, I hope you get lost and don't stepped into our club again. :mad:

wadeva_lah
27-01-2004, 03:33 PM
Is it just a plan to kick saf out of utd because of a dumb stallion? that dumb stallion is worth millions of pounds in stud fees duhz. :sarcastic

ccloh
27-01-2004, 04:28 PM
wonder how much football those 2 irish jokers know abt. hopefully they dont come from the same hometown as roy keane if not it will be interesting to see things happening there.

RVN
27-01-2004, 05:28 PM
SIR ALEX FERGUSON last night accepted a 12-month extension to his Manchester United deal after losing out in the power struggle with Irish tycoon John Magnier.

Fergie had been holding out for a new three-year offer but the Old Trafford board caved in to Magnier's demand that he only be offered a 12-month rolling contract, saving shareholders up to £20million.

The pressure intensified on Ferguson yesterday when United announced they would hold a "thorough internal review" of all their recent transfer deals.

A United source said: "It's all a bloody mess. No one comes out of this very well."

Magnier and JP McManus, who through their Cubic Expression company own in excess of 25 per cent of the club, have expressed concern over the huge sums paid to agents involved in deals.

And the dispute between the Irish pair and Fergie over the stud rights to champion racehorse Rock Of Gibraltar remains unresolved.

It means that although Fergie is likely to sign his new £4million-a-year contract tomorrow, the wrangling is far from over.

Magnier believes he has scored the first significant victory in the bitter row by keeping Fergie's

huge personal demands down to a level acceptable to the City.

The billionaire tycoon maintains Fergie's reduced terms will save United as much as £20m. The United boss had wanted his new £4m-a-year pay packet back-dated, which would have cost the club millions more.

The crisis that has engulfed the world's biggest club intensified with United's revelation of the internal review into all their recent transfer dealings. Magnier expressed his anger at allegations of hidden payments to agents in United transfers and the alleged continued involvement of Fergie's son Jason in deals.

Magnier also complained bitterly about the amount of money paid by United to agents, and demanded an enquiry to ensure any wrongdoing was exposed.

As a result, Magnier called for independent auditors to examine the deals which brought Tim Howard, David Bellion, Kleberson and Cristiano Ronaldo to Old Trafford over the summer. The potential for conflict of interest with Jason Ferguson involved infuriated Magnier, who used his 25.49 per cent stake in United and the power that wields to force the board to launch the review.

A statement from United said: "Manchester United believes its processes and policies are among the most rigorous in football.

"However, the board will conduct a thorough review of all the recent transfer dealings." The board moved quickly to distance Fergie from any involvement in transfer dealings, insisting his only role was to identify and recommend potential targets.

And United insisted all payments to agents were above board and paid through the Football Association and Premier League, under existing regulations. The club said it would seek support from the Premier League for new guidelines on dealing with agents.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/content_objectid=13860555_method=full_siteid=50143_headline=-MANCHESTER%2DUNITED%2DARE%2DIN%2D%2DA%2DBLOODY%2DMESS%2D-name_page.html

Instead of 3 year deal, its only a year which will only keep Fergie until 2006. He deserves better than this for all he has given us.:mad: :(

This is disgraceful treatment of a man who will be rembered in time by all fans not just us as the best football manager of all time. That ****ing Magnier has the brass neck to question Fergie's dealings, while he makes out he's some saviour to the board by saving them over £20 million. :alien:

stam
27-01-2004, 06:17 PM
terrible, internal conflicts.....

RVN
27-01-2004, 07:40 PM
Manager Sir Alex Ferguson says he is "excited" at the way Manchester United have moved on since his decision to stay with the club.

Ferguson is ready to put pen to paper and end months of speculation about his future and when he does the Stock Exchange will be the first to know.

Rules demand the club announces its decision to the City rather than via the usual press handout.

Ferguson's contract has been on the table for more than a month with his legal representatives handed his copy early in December. It seemed set to go through at that time until a string of events led to delays tying up the final details.

The Rio Ferdinand drugs test case and preparations for the pending appeal, business meetings abroad for chief executive David Gill, the Christmas and New Year holiday period and United's trip to Dubai last week, led to growing rumours there were problems as the contract remained unsigned.

With majority shareholders Cubic Expression causing ripples in the background, the United board is eager to push the new deal through and an announcement could come as soon as Wednesday morning.

Ferguson could be offered a 'rolling' one year deal, but he appears to have his eyes set on a longer agreement.

"The length of the contract is open to discussion," he said. "That is one of the areas we are discussing. How long should I stay on. It is a difficult one. I would probably think until I am 65 years old.

"I think that is a nice time to say, 'do I want to go now'. Time is important. If you have got time you can plan.

"Not everybody is in that luxurious position in management I'm afraid and I've been lucky in that way.

"I have been excited about how we have progressed as a club since I decided not to retire. I think it was self-delusion when I said I was looking forward to retiring," he added.

Ferguson was on the verge of quitting football in the summer of 2002 but had a change of heart.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,761845,00.html

leslielai
27-01-2004, 07:51 PM
Let him stay for life!

RVN
27-01-2004, 07:56 PM
Middlesbrough have said they are still in the race to sign Nicky Butt, despite manager Steve McClaren saying his priorities lay elsewhere.
Boro face stiff competition from Everton and Birmingham, who have already made enquiries about signing the £5m-rated player.

But Middlesbrough chairman Steve Gibson said: "If we could make it happen, we would like to make it happen.

"He's a fantastic player and he'd be fantastic for this club."

Despite revealing a renewed interest, Gibson admitted the club were not close to signing the player.

He said: "Whether it can happen, whether it's realistic, time will tell. If it's right for us, if it's right for the player and it's right for the selling club, there's a possibility that it could happen."

McClaren has a host of talented midfielders in his squad, but has made signing a striker his priority because of the club's poor scoring record of late.

Everton boss David Moyes, meanwhile, is among those in the battle to lure Butt from Manchester.

He said: "We have made an enquiry about Nicky. I'm always on the lookout for good players.

"Hopefully he'll want to come to Everton but I'm not sure whether it will happen this month."

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted he would be disappointed to see Butt leave Old Trafford.

The 28-year-old has been a loyal servant at United, where he has spent his whole professional career.

Butt captained United in the 3-0 FA Cup win against Northampton on Sunday in one of his few starts for the Premiership champions this season.

But the England midfielder is keen to gain regular first-team football ahead of Euro 2004 in Portugal.

"I know he is frustrated and I know it is difficult for him because he has the European Championships coming up for England in the summer," said Ferguson.

"I understand all these things but it will still be disappointing if he does go."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3429367.stm

guoquanyap
27-01-2004, 09:14 PM
MANCHESTER UNITED face a player revolt if Alex Ferguson comes under any more pressure at the club.

Senior stars — including Roy Keane and Gary Neville — are not prepared to stand by and watch Fergie forced out.

To date, the players have kept out of the row currently enveloping Old Trafford and just focused on their football.

But if major shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus turn up the heat further on the gaffer they will step in.

One footballer’s agent said: “The players believe that, so far, there’s just a lot of mud-slinging going on.

“They are used to it, being at Manchester United.

“And right now they are happy to support the boss just by playing their football.

“But if Fergie comes under threat you can guarantee the senior players will stand by him. There is no doubt about that.

“Do you really think they are going to stand back and let him be forced out?”

If Ferguson DOES go, a number of players could easily go with him. A potential strike could also be on the cards.

Irishman Keane, 32, is Ferguson’s closest confidant, while defender Neville, 28, has already proved with England that he will stand up for his principles.

Neville was a major player in the threatened strike ahead of the England versus Turkey game, when Rio Ferdinand was banned by the FA from playing.

While Keane is club captain, Neville is very much the players’ spokesman on many off-field issues and negotiations.

Ruud van Nistelrooy is another who will not stand by and see Ferguson pushed aside.

The Dutchman is arguably the most prolific striker in Europe right now.

And he has not forgotten how Ferguson stood by him when he was out of action for a year due to injury.

A cruciate knee problem halted Van Nistelrooy’s move to Old Trafford but Ferguson raced to his hospital bedside and assured him the deal would be back on when he was fit again.

Van Nistelrooy did eventually sign in July 2001 and would repay that loyalty by refusing to sign the new contract on offer to him if Fergie’s future at the club comes under threat.

MAGNIER ... determined

And there would be plenty of interested sides ready to chase his signature, with Spanish giants Real Madrid leading the bidding. The Manchester United fans have already made it crystal-clear where their support lies in this battle.

During the Red Devils’ 3-0 FA Cup fourth-round victory over Northampton on Sunday they were chanting ‘F*** O**, Magnier’.

United legend Lou Macari can see the twin-pronged support of players and fans becoming a major factor in the feud that is threatening to rip Manchester United apart.

The former Scotland midfield star, 54, was a key member of the United side for a decade from 1973.

He said: “There is no doubt that the players and the fans want Fergie to stay.

“Right now, I do not believe the players are interested in the argument.

“But they <B>WILL</B> become very interested if it starts to affect who is running their football team — because they will support Fergie all the way.

“Everyone knows the impact this man has had on United and the players.”

Ferguson, 62, who has won 26 trophies — including eight Premierships and one European Cup — is getting plenty of support from within football.

And last night the League Managers’ Association backed him in his battle. LMA vice-chairman Frank Clark promised: “If Alex needs any help we will offer it.

“We do not like to see one of our own members being the victim of mud-slinging.

“There is always concern within our association if one of our members is getting this sort of treatment.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004040656,,00.html