View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
ccloh
27-01-2004, 09:43 PM
those 2 irish jerks really don't kn who they are dealing with. not every things can be settle by $$$$.
one day if the 2 jokers got robbed off their life, i guess none of the utd supporter would shed a single tear for them.
guoquanyap
28-01-2004, 12:57 AM
arsenal sign reyes for jus 20million....haiz why cant we jus do biz like wat they does? so quiet and secertly?
if we do biz like them....we should land ronaldohino long ago....:(
Souljer
28-01-2004, 01:32 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
arsenal sign reyes for jus 20million....haiz why cant we jus do biz like wat they does? so quiet and secertly?
if we do biz like them....we should land ronaldohino long ago....:(
It's okay, u still got Ronaldo wat. Looking forward to pitting our Reyes against him. By the way, can u tell G.Neville to wear extra underwear when u play against us the next time, okay? ;)
May the best winger win!
trax06
28-01-2004, 01:33 AM
what are we wating for get Joaquin from Betis...
guoquanyap
28-01-2004, 01:35 AM
Originally posted by Souljer
It's okay, u still got Ronaldo wat. Looking forward to pitting our Reyes against him. By the way, can u tell G.Neville to wear extra underwear when u play against us the next time, okay? ;)
May the best winger win!
well dun think ur comment is welcome here....and u mus be a fool to believe that gary will loss out to him....
guoquanyap
28-01-2004, 01:35 AM
haiz...plc plc....
Jass_02
28-01-2004, 01:47 AM
May the best winger win!
haha...oh an arsenal fan telling G.Neville to wear extra underwear...at first still thought what it meant then finally realise i can't stood that low to his level of mentality...hmmmm
Ronaldo7
28-01-2004, 07:29 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02
haha...oh an arsenal fan telling G.Neville to wear extra underwear...at first still thought what it meant then finally realise i can't stood that low to his level of mentality...hmmmm
Next Match : Man Utd vs Saints , ESPN SAT 825pm :)
wadeva_lah
28-01-2004, 08:22 AM
May the best winger win! we have got saha and ruud now..
so next time we play against u tell lame-man to wear triple layer diapers k?
SebastianKae
28-01-2004, 08:48 AM
May the best winger win!
hanah hanah, wadeva la:laugh:
May the best winger win!
hahahaha, bring it on, Reyes might be talented, but he's also a big gamble for arsenal. :laugh:
Originally posted by ccloh
those 2 irish jerks really don't kn who they are dealing with. not every things can be settle by $$$$.
one day if the 2 jokers got robbed off their life, i guess none of the utd supporter would shed a single tear for them.
Now those coolmore mafia wankers , are asking why Rio is still being paid while he sevres an eight month ban.
For ****s sake banned or not he is still contracted to us
Can some one get these cunts killed, I wish they get lost and stop interfering with our club business. :mad: :alien:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39786000/jpg/_39786721_fergie_203x152em.jpg
Manchester United fans want the club's major shareholders to face the public amid their feud with Sir Alex Ferguson.
John Magnier and JP McManus have threatened to call an extraordinary general meeting if he is offered more than a one-year contract extension.
And the pair have requested an inquiry into transfer dealings at Old Trafford, which has since been launched.
But vice-chairman for Supporters' United, Sean Bones, told BBC Radio Five Live: "Fans would welcome an EGM."
Magnier and McManus own a 25% share of the club compared with the 17% share by Supporters' United.
"There is a massive turnout of rank and field United supporters [in the wake of this]. It's as if Liverpool, Manchester City and Leeds were playing here," said Bones.
"Manchester United fans are absolutely livid about what is occurring. And John Magnier could find himself in an untenable position and may have to lose his shares in the long-term.
"If you own a company and all your customers loathe you, you haven't got a future."
Magnier and McManus own a 25% stake in United and sent a letter to United's board asking 63 questions about how the club is run.
But Supporters' United, which successfully opposed BSkyB's attempted takeover in recent years, is adamant it can win this time around.
Supporters' United accountant Duncan Drasgo said: "We don't want them [Magnier and McManus] involved in our football club. The best ownership is some sort of supporters' ownership.
"There's been concern about this issue for some time. This was exactly the trigger we were expecting to really kick it off.
"Our manager has been put under threat by people whose interest is not a football club but possibly a private argument over a race horse."
Ferguson is also involved in legal action with Magnier over stud rights to the racehorse Rock of Gibraltar.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3436431.stm
RuMmYtUb
28-01-2004, 05:29 PM
So.... no more players comin in ? and SAF's battle with Irish owners... :rolleyes:
haiz chaotic...
ccloh
28-01-2004, 06:24 PM
well it is now 2 person vs million of ppl. each supporter spat once at them, they will find themselves drown in silava in no time.
Originally posted by RVN
hahahaha, bring it on, Reyes might be talented, but he's also a big gamble for arsenal. :laugh:
Actually...I saw Reyes play a few times. Have to say AW made a good signing if Reyes can play the way he play in Spain. His style also suit Arsenal. Speedy with Dribbling skill.
Arsenal seems to be beating teams by using pace and speedy passing.
Even as a Man Utd Fan. I appricate their pace and power game. I may not like their character but I admit that they are good to watch going forward.
And truth be told. Man Utd looks a bit jaded after that wolves loss. I truly hope the Famous Man Utd 2nd Half of season form Kicks in soon.
RuMmYtUb
28-01-2004, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by pale
Actually...I saw Reyes play a few times. Have to say AW made a good signing if Reyes can play the way he play in Spain. His style also suit Arsenal. Speedy with Dribbling skill.
Even as a Man Utd Fan. I appricate their pace and power game. I may not like their character but I admit that they are good to watch going forward.
And truth be told. Man Utd looks a bit jaded after that wolves loss. I truly hope the Famous Man Utd 2nd Half of season form Kicks in soon.
Ya i agree... though i dun like the attitude of arsenal players but they're an exciting team to watch.. very pacey and gd dribbling techniques...
Fergie set to sign his new deal today (http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/01/28/SOCCER_Ferguson.html&TEAMHD=soccer)
Saha set for Saints debut on Saturday (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,762257,00.html)
United pay Leeds £1.5m but saves £1.75m on Rio (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,762249,00.html)
orca_sea
28-01-2004, 07:21 PM
Ya man.. i totally agree ;)
RuMmYtUb
28-01-2004, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Fergie set to sign his new deal today (http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/01/28/SOCCER_Ferguson.html&TEAMHD=soccer)
Saha set for Saints debut on Saturday (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,762257,00.html)
United pay Leeds £1.5m but saves £1.75m on Rio (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,762249,00.html)
Saha !!! Hope he and RvN can destroy Saints.. :D
SIR Alex Ferguson today secured a lucrative new United deal that will make him £1.5m-a-year richer.
The most successful manager in Old Trafford history has signed a one-year rolling contract that will start when his current agreement runs out in the summer of 2005.
But the 62-year-old Scot is to get his pay rise immediately, putting him on an annual salary of more than £3.5m.
The arrangement does, however, not mean that United have caved into the demands of the club's largest shareholders, John Magnier and JP McManus, who are locked in a bitter battle with the club and manager.
It had been reported that the Irish racing magnates were pressurising United into the rolling deal rather than a fixed-term contract.
But - as revealed in M.E.N. Sport yesterday - the flexible contract was always the one favoured by both the United hierarchy and Ferguson, and that has formed the basis of discussions for months.
Ferguson wanted the one-year rolling deal to avoid the scenario they suffered in 2002, when United lost their focus and the title after he announced he was going to retire.
Delight
Shareholders United are delighted that Ferguson's future has been secured.
"We are pleased that Sir Alex has signed," said spokesman Sean Bones.
"We feel he deserved a three-year deal but if the manager has got the contract and he's happy then so are we.
"We just need to stand together and keep the amazing momentum going."
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/stories/Detail_LinkStory=79516.html
guoquanyap
28-01-2004, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Saha !!! Hope he and RvN can destroy Saints.. :D
this sat.....:evil: but still very heartpain to see reyes go to arsenal....:mad:
RuMmYtUb
29-01-2004, 01:06 AM
this sat.....:evil: but still very heartpain to see reyes go to arsenal....:mad:
Haiz, actually the pain could be eased IF Ronaldinho came to Old Trafford... :(
fr3kaz0iD
29-01-2004, 01:20 AM
Haiz, actually the pain could be eased IF Ronaldinho came to Old Trafford... :(
Hmm.. might not be true..
cos if Fergie signed him.. Ronaldo will not be here if im not wrong..
n my opinion is .. ronaldo has the potential to be a better player than him
guoquanyap
29-01-2004, 01:25 AM
Originally posted by fr3kaz0iD
Hmm.. might not be true..
cos if Fergie signed him.. Ronaldo will not be here if im not wrong..
n my opinion is .. ronaldo has the potential to be a better player than him
not really lah cos that period of time we had our eyes on ronaldo already.....it's becos ronaldohino din come over so we sign ronaldo.....
if not i believe we will sign ronaldhino first...after that then we sign ronaldo.....then really power man......but now....:(
I still have my doubt that Ronaldohino would have been a suitable signing. His performance for PSG and Brazil dun seem that impressive to me. But then..That's juz me=p
Saha seems dogdy to me too. Maybe be coz the few times i see him play. His first touch like damn Jialat:) .
Hope he can prove me wrong and play well for Man Utd.
RuMmYtUb
29-01-2004, 08:36 AM
not really lah cos that period of time we had our eyes on ronaldo already.....it's becos ronaldohino din come over so we sign ronaldo.....
if not i believe we will sign ronaldhino first...after that then we sign ronaldo.....then really power man......but now....:(
But den again, i think if we gotten Ronaldinho... SAF wouldn't go for C.Ronaldo.
ccloh
29-01-2004, 09:49 AM
aiya it is too early to judge on reyes lah. afterall he might like veron can't settle in england and ended up a flop. a talent in one country doesn't mean that too in another. let just sit back and observe lor.
funny wenger paid 20m pounds for him and i remembered he at times attack fergie on paying high price on player and claim he will never do it. hmm...btw where they got the $$$ from, thought they are cash-tight in building the new stadium ???
RUUD VAN NISTELROOY will follow Alex Ferguson by signing a new deal next week.
The Dutch striker was waiting for Manchester United boss Fergie to confirm his new contract.
Fergie did just that yesterday — as SunSport told you he would.
And now we can reveal that Van Nistelrooy last night told Old Trafford chiefs he will put pen to paper on a five-year deal that will earn him £23.5MILLION — £90,000 a week.
The news, coupled with Ferguson’s signing, is a massive double boost for United’s board.
They have shown major shareholder John Magnier they are the ones still running the football club.
The contract will make Van Nistelrooy, 27, the best-paid player at the club, alongside skipper Roy Keane.
The deal will also effectively keep the hitman at Old Trafford for the rest of his career.
Ferguson, 62, was last night celebrating signing his new contract, which ties him to Old Trafford until at least the summer of 2006.
The deal will cover this season and next and then will become a one-year rolling contract. It is worth £5m a year.
Wayward reports have suggested that the rolling contract is a triumph for Magnier, who is at war with Fergie over the ownership of wonder-horse Rock of Gibraltar.
In fact it was exactly what Ferguson wanted — and had been discussing with Old Trafford chief executive David Gill.
Ferguson said: “I’m very happy with the new contractual arrangements.”
OLE SOLSKJAER will end his five-month injury misery with a reserve team run-out against Aston Villa next week.
Solskjaer, 31, had knee surgery in September.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004041819,00.html
guoquanyap
29-01-2004, 12:34 PM
aiya it is too early to judge on reyes lah. afterall he might like veron can't settle in england and ended up a flop. a talent in one country doesn't mean that too in another. let just sit back and observe lor.
funny wenger paid 20m pounds for him and i remembered he at times attack fergie on paying high price on player and claim he will never do it. hmm...btw where they got the $$$ from, thought they are cash-tight in building the new stadium ???
they onli paid abt 7.5million-10.5 pound intially....which the $$ come fr the CL matches....the rest jus pay by installment lor....
RuMmYtUb
29-01-2004, 01:59 PM
Eh guys, tmr Saha gonna debut against Saints rite ?
Spock
29-01-2004, 02:04 PM
Woohoo Ole Gunnar is back!!BANG BANG!
Sir Alex Ferguson retains the "100% support" of Manchester United's board despite the recent alleged smear campaign against him.
Old Trafford chief executive David Gill insists his club have total confidence in Ferguson, who finally signed his one-year rolling contract extension on Wednesday.
The six-week delay between the deal originally being handed to Ferguson's legal team and completion has been filled with rabid speculation that the Scot could be forced out of his position by major shareholder John Magnier.
The pair are embroiled in a bitter legal dispute over record-breaking stallion Rock of Gibraltar, and senior members of the United board have suggested the dispute is the major reason behind the stream of negative publicity which has affected the club in recent weeks.
While Ferguson's new £4.5million-a-year deal - which will take effect from 2005 - will not halt the Irish duo's demand for an independent investigation into the club's recent transfers, it at least allowed Gill to confirm how highly the long-serving manager is valued inside Old Trafford.
"Sir Alex's fantastic record with Manchester United speaks for itself," he said.
"His appetite for the game and his desire to build a new generation of world players at Old Trafford is undiminished.
"He has the board's 100% support, and we believe the contract reflects our total confidence in the manager."
Both Ferguson and United are happy with the rolling nature of the deal, because it will prevent the 'retirement talk' which undermined the club's pursuit of silverware two seasons ago.
Despite celebrating his 62nd birthday on New Year's Eve, Ferguson remains as enthusiastic for the challenge of managing the world's richest club as he did when he first arrived from Aberdeen in 1986.
Although the summer signings of Tim Howard, Kleberson, Cristiano Ronaldo and David Bellion have all attracted adverse publicity in recent weeks for the way they were carried out, their arrivals were a sign of Ferguson building for the future.
The age profile of the United squad has decreased markedly in the last six months - and the process of planning for a future without Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes is well under way.
"I believe we have a very strong squad with a nucleus of young and talented players as well as excellent prospects in our own Academy - and that will give us an excellent foundation for success over future years," said Ferguson, who is bidding for his ninth Premiership title this season, a fifth FA Cup and - of most importance - a second European Cup.
"The board, and in particular David Gill, have demonstrated their confidence in me and support for my decision-making at every level," he added.
"I am enjoying the job more than ever before and I hope I can reward that confidence on the pitch.
"The new contractual arrangements will give me a strong focus on the short-term challenges in the new season ahead as well as the long-term freedom to look to improve our current squad and to win trophies both domestically and in Europe."
While Magnier and McManus are likely to remain unmoved by Wednesday's developments, they have been welcomed by United supporters.
"All Manchester United fans will be delighted with the news," said Jules Spencer, chairman of the Independent Manchester United Supporters Association.
"The esteem that Sir Alex is held in goes without saying. As long as he wants the job, as long as he remains hungry for success, United fans will be happy to see him stay."
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/01/29/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Ferguson.html&TEAMHD=soccer
ccloh
29-01-2004, 03:30 PM
when u talk abt running a football club, it is all abt football, how to win titles, how to get the best man to do the job. can't see there isn't much support for fergie over this issue.
yulee
29-01-2004, 07:08 PM
United's future rides on a horse
Michael Hann
Thursday January 29, 2004
The Guardian
The Irish tycoon John Magnier won a skirmish in the battle of Manchester United this week. Sir Alex Ferguson, the club's manager, signed the one-year rolling contract that Magnier, who jointly owns more than a quarter of the club's shares, had been demanding. Ferguson had reportedly wanted a four-year deal.
The bitter fighting at the heart of the club stems from a row over a horse. Ferguson is suing Magnier for the rights to stud fees from the record-breaking racehorse Rock of Gibraltar, claiming he is entitled to them because Magnier made him a gift of a half-share in the Rock while the horse was still racing. Magnier disputes that and his demands for investigations into Ferguson's transfer dealings at Manchester United are widely believed to be a response to the lawsuit. Stud fees from the Rock could run to £250m over the next decade, predicted the Independent.
The United faithful had no difficulty choosing sides. The Manchester Evening News reported that they had "a simple message" for Magnier and his business partner JP McManus: "If you are not happy with the way the club is being run, sell up and ship out." The paper said fans at the team's game at Northampton on Sunday "chanted their support for Ferguson and told Magnier exactly where to go". The Daily Telegraph's Henry Winter said the Irishmen had picked on the wrong target. "M and M can outspend Ferguson in their spat over Rock of Gibraltar but they cannot outshout 60,000 diehards," he said. "Imagine that: investing tens of millions in a business whose customers all loathe you."
However, said Charles Sale in the Daily Mail, Magnier and McManus "will keep up their war on Manchester United and ... Ferguson after the club refused their demand for an independent inquiry into Old Trafford's transfer deals". Instead the club is to conduct an internal investigation.
Winter did not believe the investigation would uncover damaging evidence that Ferguson had colluded with agents - including his son - to fatten transfer deals. "Viewed from a United fan's perspective," he said, "any smoking gun points first and foremost at the club's directors. The expected outcome is for the board to warn Ferguson again to keep his agent son, Jason, out of United business. Embarrassing, but hardly P45 time."
As for the row over the length of Ferguson's new contract, Martin Dickson had a message for Magnier and McManus in the Lombard column of the Financial Times. "The two say a contract of more than 12 months would be in breach of the combined corporate governance code. But their appeals to the rule book are hardly relevant: the combined code applies to company directors, and Ferguson is neither a director of Manchester United PLC nor the football club." Dickson argued that the point was that Ferguson was the most successful manager in English football history, and that "the board will want to keep him highly motivated. Still, a one-year rolling contract might just suit both sides, avoiding cliffhanger negotiations like the current one."
Why, though, did Magnier make the disputed gift of half rights in the Rock? The Sun reckoned it was because "Magnier realised the publicity Ferguson would attract would bring in other wealthy owner- breeders" to his Coolmore stud. "What he never bargained for was Rock of Gibraltar's incredible ability."
The Sunday Times's Insight team, however, believed it was the result of Magnier's anger at "York's blue-blooded racing fraternity", who prevented Ferguson giving the acceptance speech after one of Magnier's horses won the Gimcrack Stakes at the racecourse in 1999. So when Rock of Gibraltar looked like he might win the Stakes in 2001, Magnier ceded Ferguson half-ownership so he could make the owner's speech. Magnier's "enjoyable joke" at the expense of the York racing fraternity was, however, "lost on Ferguson, who was convinced he owned half of the Rock".
What next for United? The Irish edition of the Daily Mirror offered stern words for both parties. "The time has come for Fergie and Magnier to grow up," it said. "A mediator should be appointed to sort out the whole sorry mess ... Sir Matt Busby must be turning in his grave."
guoquanyap
29-01-2004, 10:44 PM
Eh guys, tmr Saha gonna debut against Saints rite ?
if nothing goes wrong...he should be making his home debut along side ruud.....:D excited man....our new number 9....hope fergie give saha his debut at home......:bounce: :bounce:
wadeva_lah
29-01-2004, 10:53 PM
hopefully saha scores a brace. :D
guoquanyap
29-01-2004, 10:58 PM
saha video clip when he score 2 against us at OT....
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=52461&itype=466&icategoryid=120
guoquanyap
30-01-2004, 01:36 AM
Manchester United is delighted to announce that the club has agreed terms with Ruud van Nistelrooy on a new extended contract.
The deal will see Ruud stay at the club until 30th June 2008.
Sir Alex Ferguson said, “We are delighted to get Ruud’s signature on a new contract. It shows the ambition of the club to keep the best. Ruud has broken every record since he has been here.
"His improvement and continual commitment to the club is an asset. Ruud has proved to be a fantastic signing and his contract extension is great news for the club and the fans.”
Ruud van Nistelrooy Factfile
Ruud van Nistelrooy said, “I am delighted to commit my future to the club. I have grown very fond of Manchester United, the fans are amazing.
"I have had some great moments here but I want to continue to give the club my best, and I am looking forward to new challenges on the pitch.”
David Gill, Chief Executive of Manchester United PLC, said, “This is great news for the club and the fans. Ruud has been outstanding, he is an integral part of Manchester United and the success we have achieved on the pitch.”
Born: Oss, Holland
Signed: (From PSV) 1 July 2001
United Debut: 12 August 2001
(vs. Liverpool, Charity Shield
Season 03/04: 26 apps 18 gls
Season 02/03: 52 apps 44 gls
Season 01/02: 48 apps 35 gls
orca_sea
30-01-2004, 01:42 AM
Manchester United is delighted to announce that the club has agreed terms with Ruud van Nistelrooy on a new extended contract.
Sir Alex Ferguson said, “We are delighted to get Ruud’s signature on a new contract. It shows the ambition of the club to keep the best. Ruud has broken every record since he has been here.
"His improvement and continual commitment to the club is an asset. Ruud has proved to be a fantastic signing and his contract extension is great news for the club and the fans.”
Ruud van Nistelrooy said, “I am delighted to commit my future to the club. I have grown very fond of Manchester United, the fans are amazing.
"I have had some great moments here but I want to continue to give the club my best, and I am looking forward to new challenges on the pitch.”
David Gill, Chief Executive of Manchester United PLC, said, “This is great news for the club and the fans. Ruud has been outstanding, he is an integral part of Manchester United and the success we have achieved on the pitch.”
Cheerz! :D
RuMmYtUb
30-01-2004, 02:18 AM
More goals galore from big man RuuD :D
SebastianKae
30-01-2004, 08:35 AM
From FootballChannel.com
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=44993
I am disgusted at these 2. Can we write a Singaporean ManUtd Fan letter to support the Fans over there in England?
:mad:
Buzz off, Fergie will not be forced out, he has the board and the fans 100% support, If Magnier will to try anything funny, we fight with him. :mad:
But this dispute need sorting out soon, we want peace, not feud.
After Manchester United accepted a bid from Blues for £5.5m for midfielder Nicky Butt, the player has met Steve Bruce to discuss personal terms. Butt has now asked to think about the proposed move over the weekend. Although a number of other Premiership Clubs have expressed an interest in the player, only Blues have made a firm offer. The transfer window ends on Monday. :(
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1121332,00.html
spykid
30-01-2004, 02:03 PM
kinda excited saha's making his debut for us tomolo... hope he starts well and of cos score on his debut... :D :D
Ryan Giggs is confident Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha can form a prolific strike partnership for United.
Saha signed from Fulham last week in a deal worth £12.285m, and is considered a timely capture by Giggs.
"I've always rated him very highly and I think he'll turn out to be a superb signing," Giggs told his Icons.com website. "Louis always seemed to do brilliantly against us and I thought he was sensational at Old Trafford earlier this season, so we are glad that he's now going to be on our side."
Since Saha's arrival, the question of where he will fit in to the team has been a prominent one.
The immediate reason for signing another striker is undoubtedly to protect Ruud van Nistelrooy, to give Sir Alex Ferguson the opportunity to rest the Dutchman before key European and Premiership ties.
But, although Giggs acknowledges this was Ferguson's primary concern, he also believes Saha will be employed as a strike-partner to van Nistelrooy.
"His partnership with Ruud will be a great success," says Giggs confidently. "They are both natural goalscorers but Louis can adapt to different attacking roles too. He can play up front on his own, as part of a pair, or even out wide so I think he'll be a really versatile asset for the manager.
"Louis' arrival takes a lot of pressure off Ruud, who plays almost every match for us. It will be good for him to have a rest from time to time if the gaffer wants to try Saha with Forlan, Scholesy, Kleberson or even myself.
"His acquisition has given the manager one more option up front and that can only be a good thing with so many big matches coming up between now and the end of the season."
Saha In Form
Saha joins United in a rich vein of form - he has fifteen goals this season. With van Nistelrooy already on 18 goals this season, United now possess an abundance of goalscoring ability.
"He is probably in the best form of his life," Giggs says of Saha. "We have certainly signed him at a time when he is very much on top of his game and that should help him settle in quickly at Old Trafford."
And the 25-year-old French striker has already made an impact on the squad, settling in quickly to life as a United player. Giggs said: "Louis travelled down to Northampton on Sunday where he mixed well with the rest of the squad. I don't think he'll have any problems adapting to life as a United. He has looked sharp in training and looks like he's enjoying himself. I'm sure Louis will love it here."
guoquanyap
30-01-2004, 03:20 PM
Originally posted by spykid
kinda excited saha's making his debut for us tomolo... hope he starts well and of cos score on his debut... :D :D
a hattick on his debut? :D i am hoping for ruud to score 2 more goals to reach his century of goals...that make him 2nd player behind law to do that
ccloh
30-01-2004, 04:41 PM
a hattick on his debut? :D i am hoping for ruud to score 2 more goals to reach his century of goals...that make him 2nd player behind law to do that
RVN would then displace alan shearer as the fastest striker to hit 100 goals within the shortest period of matches played liao.
hmm if both saha and rvn start, wonder who will give way to them ??? don't think fergie is leaving scholes out. very likely phil neville, then scholes will partner keane in the midfield. giggs as usual on the left, who on the right ??? ole won't be back so soon (wow if ole does start, 3 strikers man).
for defence i guess will be brown and silves in the centre. gary on the right and o'shea on the left.
RVN would then displace alan shearer as the fastest striker to hit 100 goals within the shortest period of matches played liao.
hmm if both saha and rvn start, wonder who will give way to them ??? don't think fergie is leaving scholes out. very likely phil neville, then scholes will partner keane in the midfield. giggs as usual on the left, who on the right ??? ole won't be back so soon (wow if ole does start, 3 strikers man).
for defence i guess will be brown and silves in the centre. gary on the right and o'shea on the left.
This be the line-up then.
----------------------Howard---------------------------
Gary---------Wes--------------Silvestre-----O'Shea
-----------------------Keane----------------------------
Ronaldo------------Scholes--------------------Giggs
--------------Ruud----------------Saha----------------
Hope to see Saha make his debut for United this Saturday
Ruud hopefully will reach his 100 goal tally after signing a new contract.
I want a lot of goals after 2 epl games we didn't score, dunno if it will come though. =p
RuMmYtUb
30-01-2004, 06:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN
This be the line-up then.
----------------------Howard---------------------------
Gary---------Wes--------------Silvestre-----O'Shea
-----------------------Keane----------------------------
Ronaldo------------Scholes--------------------Giggs
--------------Ruud----------------Saha----------------
Hope to see Saha make his debut for United this Saturday
Ruud hopefully will reach his 100 goal tally after signing a new contract.
I want a lot of goals after 2 epl games we didn't score, dunno if it will come though. =p
Yes i want to see this lineup too !! :D
Ch3tah_39
30-01-2004, 06:16 PM
saha and ruud.. woot looking forward for GOALSSSSS:)
guoquanyap
31-01-2004, 01:10 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
saha and ruud.. woot looking forward for GOALSSSSS:)
goalsssss....:D
spykid
31-01-2004, 01:43 PM
don't think roanaldo will start(thou i love him to)... giggsy too is a major doubt... probably scholes may replace giggs on the left and phil keeps his place... kleberson on the right... saha and ruud upfront yumyum :D :D...
i'm confident we'll win big... maybe 3-0 4-0...
Sir Alex Ferguson was in fine form for his Friday press conference, despite a week of mixed emotions at Old Trafford. The boss looks ahead to Southampton, talks about speculation concerning transfers at United and his own new contract with the club...
New Contract Signed
”We’ve had a few derailments along the way. The Rio Ferdinand situation meant that Maurice Watkins was very busy. But, also, the important thing was the details of the contract. When Peter [Kenyon] first raised the subject in America, the thing that concerned me most was if we announce a one-contract, people would wonder if that was my retirement date. I wanted to get rid of that. The rolling contract was the best way to do that.
Fergie's Future
"It means then that I am in control of the situation. If I feel after one year ‘that’s it’, we can go. There are lots of things to consider when you get to your sixties. One is health, and one is enjoyment. And that’s the thing at the moment, I very much enjoy the game and my health is good. Therefore, there is no problem in that way. But, you never know in two or three years’ time. We are all subject to that. The roll-on contract suits me fine.”
Distressing Week
”I’ve found it distressing, really. My son has had a terrible time. They’ve stolen his mail, gone through his bin bags, hiding in bushes. He’s had to call the police in. That’s not nice. It’s all the result of what we read about this transfer stuff. It’s incomprehensible that I would abuse my position at "the club. I’ve been here 17-and-a-half years and nobody has ever raised a doubt about it. All of a sudden because of a private matter regarding a racehorse, all this has come out. It’s not easy to take.”
Fans' Support Means A Lot
”Manchester United is a fantastic football club. It’s run well and the supporters and myself have had a great bond for years now. I’ve depended on them – at times like this you do depend on them. It’s a great club, and that is why the fans are reacting.”
Ruud’s Contract
”It gives us the long-term view; the signing of Louis Saha on a five-year contract, and Ruud will be here for the next few years. All the ages of players in the squad are good. So, the long-term view is terrific. We are all delighted because there is this concern when you read the newspapers: this and that club are interested in Ruud. That puts all that to bed now.”
Ruud and Louis Partnership
”I think there is potential there, there is no question about that. We are going to work on it. The good thing is that Louis has had a full week with us. He’s done well.”
Louis To Play On Saturday
”Put your mortgage on it!”
Assessing Southampton
”They are persistent. Over the years the Southampton games have always been entertaining. There have only been two draws in the last 20 games. So, I think they will keep to their pattern of having a go. It will be an open match. There always seems to be goals in these games, it should be an interesting match.”
Surprise At Strachan Stepping Down
”I was surprised but, I’ve read his reasons and I think you have to respect them. He promised his family he would leave after two and a half years – I think you have to respect that. He obviously feels it’s very important to his family.”
Injury Concerns
”Giggs and Neville are still doubtful. I won’t be risking them unless they are 100%. Gary in particular has done a decent bit of training this week, Ryan not so much. I could put them on the bench but it’s unlikely.”
Nicky Butt’s Future
”There are only two days left [in the transfer window]. I had a chat with the lad yesterday. I know his concerns and his frustrations. I share them, actually. It’s not easy with the service he has given us. He’s been here since he was a 13-year-old lad. His service has been fantastic. He’s been one of these great warriors you get now and again at a club. If he’s here next week, I think everyone at the club would be happy.”
Winter Break A Good Idea
”Well, it’s only 29 years I’ve been talking about it! I think the FA must have known that the 30 years coming up, that they didn’t wanted to get to that. It would have been a landmark! But, I’m delighted. It’s the right thing, no question about it. Not just for the players but for the coaches also. It will add that bit of freshness because December in our country is quite an exhausting month; the number of games, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day fixtures. The games are always cramped together. I think a two-week break will do the players and the coaches the power of good.”
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=52523&itype=466&icategoryid=122
wadeva_lah
31-01-2004, 04:03 PM
man utd to win 3-1. ;)
CorosIve
31-01-2004, 06:34 PM
dim manu 100@spool win
dim manu 100@bookie give 1.5
:D
huat ah
RuMmYtUb
31-01-2004, 10:27 PM
FT : Man Utd 3-2 Saints :D
Today Brown and Silvestre were crap ! :mad:
especially Brown, passes went astray and lacked concentration..
but Tim Howard ROX !!!
Saha gettin his hands on the first 2 goals.. :D
kengbeng
31-01-2004, 10:39 PM
Damn. We're starting to miss Ferdinand already.
ROFL @ the linesman......... I dunno could be just me but that guy resembles a peeping tom. Never mind he looks like a creep, but the way he peeps from the line is just hilarious. Maybe he needs glasses or something. I fail to see how he can ever be a full-time professional.
Ruud was robbed of a penalty, Howard made some great great saves and I sort of agree Fortune doesn't belong at leftback, but he is still a very good player. Maybe if the defence was more solid he could play as an attacking fullback. Ronaldo injury doesn't look too bad, his knee looks scratched but nothing serious. Philip Neville is one big question mark for me... why Fergie chose him over Butt and Kleberson is beyond me... and as for the defence.......
Phil Neville, Fortune, Brown and even today Silvestre were absolutely crap. :mad: :alien:
LiquidSilver
31-01-2004, 10:47 PM
agree, i always believed phil to be a good versatile squad player who occasionally have one match wonders but certainly not a first team player as he doesnt really have true quality to be consistently good. i much prefer butt too
guoquanyap
01-02-2004, 12:36 AM
come on look at the bright side...i found that our attacking has improve w saha arrive....but our defend miss rio very very badly....:mad: .......
fergie got to work w brown on the training pitch....
saha and ruud partnership look very promising.....:D
guoquanyap
01-02-2004, 12:40 AM
one more goal for ruud to reach his century of goals.....:D
Ch3tah_39
01-02-2004, 12:51 AM
woot man utd won!! haha and saha scored:)
RuMmYtUb
01-02-2004, 01:31 AM
come on look at the bright side...i found that our attacking has improve w saha arrive....but our defend miss rio very very badly....:mad: .......
fergie got to work w brown on the training pitch....
saha and ruud partnership look very promising.....:D
Yes i agree with u, very sad that we miss Rio so fast... Brown really needs his fitness and match sharpness..
but bright side is, Saha is better than Bellion and Forlan combined !! :D
Ch3tah_39
01-02-2004, 01:36 AM
Yes i agree with u, very sad that we miss Rio so fast... Brown really needs his fitness and match sharpness..
but bright side is, Saha is better than Bellion and Forlan combined !! :D
forlan not that bad la.. comon..
trax06
01-02-2004, 01:47 AM
now ManCity got van Buyten..once Man Utd target..haiz.
summore on loan..culd haf got him on loan as well
RuMmYtUb
01-02-2004, 02:50 AM
Originally posted by trax06
now ManCity got van Buyten..once Man Utd target..haiz.
summore on loan..culd haf got him on loan as well
Ya i think he'll be better than Brown now..
Ch3tah_39
01-02-2004, 03:01 AM
hmmm... why man utd neber get a defender??
juz a striker and thats it...:(
guoquanyap
01-02-2004, 03:02 AM
maybe fergie is distracted by the ongoing feud w those sicko.....look wat arsenal and mancity did......
RuMmYtUb
01-02-2004, 03:42 AM
hmmm... why man utd neber get a defender??
juz a striker and thats it...:(
van Buyten went to Man Citeh on loan !!!
why didn't we get him !? :mad:
Ronaldo7
01-02-2004, 09:35 AM
howard is :eek:
hope the ruud-saha partnership can be as good , if not better than the cole-yorke partnership :)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39806000/jpg/_39806105_fansg33.jpg :mad: :laugh:
leslielai
01-02-2004, 01:53 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39806000/jpg/_39806105_fansg33.jpg :mad: :laugh:
:laugh:
leslielai
01-02-2004, 01:55 PM
Very sloppy match last night but Saha was EXCELLENT!
This is the formation I would want, changes need to be make in the defence as well after last night defensive blunders. Fortune and Brown need to be dropped IMO.
Howard
G Neville------------O'Shea------------Silvestre------------Phil Neville
Solskjaer-------------Keane---------Scholes--------------Giggs
-------------Saha------------Ruud
Butt can also take Keane place whenever he needs a rest. ;)
hope saha not 1 match wonder..
ccloh
01-02-2004, 04:36 PM
a day when the strikers save the defence for utd. the defence, sigh.....with CL matches returning, if brown still couldn't get it right then will be another sorry season for utd in CL already. strikers in CL not like day-in-day-out strikers in epl. one stupid mistake or lost of concentration, even u have 3 RVN playing upfront also no use.
RuMmYtUb
01-02-2004, 05:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN
This is the formation I would want, changes need to be make in the defence as well after last night defensive blunders. Fortune and Brown need to be dropped IMO.
Howard
G Neville------------O'Shea------------Silvestre------------Phil Neville
Butt can also take Keane place whenever he needs a rest. ;)
Hmm but P.Neville is not very convincing at left back.. :(
No other option, Fortune not tracking back to cover, Play Brown would be a disaster. Just a bloody shame Rio is suspended. :(
Unless we promote some youth defenders into the first-team, there might be option, but doesn't look like happening though. :(
Ch3tah_39
01-02-2004, 05:29 PM
Howard
brown------------G Neville------------Silvestre------------Phil Neville
wat abt this?? tot brown did well as right back??
we got loads of attacking options which is a plus:D: Ronaldo, Solskjaer, Kleberson, Giggs, Scholes, Ruud, Saha, Forlan, Bellion
Just shame why we didn't bought any defenders to strengthen our back-line. :(
Ch3tah_39
01-02-2004, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
we got loads of attacking options which is a plus:D: Ronaldo, Solskjaer, Kleberson, Giggs, Scholes, Ruud, Saha, Forlan, Bellion
Just shame why we didn't bought any defenders to strengthen our back-line. :(
ya lorz...
leslielai
01-02-2004, 07:29 PM
With the kinda defenders we have now, we should not field 4 of them in a game.
Like I said, a 3-5-2 would be a better option for the current squad because we've got so many attacking players at disposal. Sticking with a conservative style of play at the back is like stabbing ourselves right in the face.
Come on, 4-4-2 is no longer feasible for Man Utd!
leslielai
01-02-2004, 07:34 PM
GK: Howard
DL: Silvestre
DC: O'Shea
DR: G.Neville
ML: Giggs/Ronaldo
MC: Scholes
DMC: Keane
MC: Butt/Ronaldo/Kleberson
MR: Solskjaer/Ronaldo
FC: Saha
FC: Van Nistelrooy
Our midfield is over-stacked, 12 in all. :eek:
Scholes
Keane
Giggs
Eric Djemba Djemba
P Neville
Keane
Butt (not sure if he stay or goes in the summer)
Ronaldo
Kleberson
Solskjaer
Fletcher
Liam Miller (will join us next season)
we need defenders!!!! :bounce:
StormTrooper
01-02-2004, 08:54 PM
Originally posted by stam
we need defenders!!!! :bounce:
no.......we need steady defenders! :o
Two of Manchester United's biggest prospects have put pen-to-paper and signed long term deals with the Red Devils.
Mads Timm and Chris Eagles are the pair that have committed their future to Manchester United and have signed the 4-year deals.
Danish midfielder/striker Mads Timm, 19, is a common member in the Danish U21 squad and has appeared many times in a United jersey mainly making late substitute appearances in the Champions League.
Hemel Hempstead born Eagles has appeared twice in the first team for United this season. He recently appeared for United in the Crling Cup against Leeds and many regard him as the biggest prospect at Old Trafford.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s237/st44946.htm
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1166013.jpg
Manchester United's Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has welcomed the arrival of Louis Saha and does not have any problems with the increased competition.
The Norwegian is on the comeback trail after a long-term knee problem, but he will play for United's second string next week.
"I am just looking forward to playing football again," Solskjaer told Dagbladet.
"I hope that it will happen again on Thursday for the reserves. I am planning on playing one half for them.
"My knee is getting better and better for every day. There will be a lot of challenges further on."
On Saha he added: "I don't feel that there will be a higher competition despite the fact we have signed a new striker.
"In this club there will always come new and good players. I like that challenge."
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1121712,00.html
guoquanyap
01-02-2004, 11:49 PM
woot~~ ole is back....miss his finishing man....:bounce: :bounce:
guoquanyap
02-02-2004, 12:00 AM
Reds fans take fight to Magnier
FERGIE: Fan's backing
MANCHESTER United fans are set to take direct action in their battle with the club’s major shareholders John Magnier and J.P. McManus.
The Independent Manchester United Supporters Association (IMUSA) is behind a campaign aimed at taking the fight to the Irish racing tycoons - by targeting racecourses where they, or their horses, appear.
They want fans to picket the courses, taking the fight back to Magnier and McManus.
And, as the fight between the “Coolmore Mafia” and Sir Alex Ferguson over stud rights for the horse Rock of Gibraltar gets dirty, United fans have made it plain they are ready to get muck under their own fingernails.
In a leaflet distributed to Reds arriving at yesterday’s home game with Southampton, IMUSA also printed the email addresses of Magnier’s two stud farms in Ireland and those in the USA and Australia.
They want fans to let Magnier and his employees know about the strength of their feeling over the issue.
Said IMUSA chairman Jules Spencer: “Magnier and McManus are money-grabbing speculators who have no interest in Manchester United, are not supporters of United, do not attend games, and do not have the club’s best interests at heart.
“We do not want them in control of our club. United fans are the only people who hav e the long-term interests of the club and its fans at heart.
“We hope as many of them as possible will back our campaign to safeguard Manchester United from these two, and any other rich businessmen who see the club only as a cash cow.”
IMUSA and Shareholders United both lobbied fans at yesterday’s game and called for vocal support to express the depth of feeling on the issue.
Fans responded with sporadic chanting of obscenities about Magnier and a declaration of love for Fergie - but the whole affair was decidedly low key.
Perhaps it was a combination of the early kick-off - always an atmosphere-killer - and the inoffensiveness of the opposition, but there was a flat feeling in the stadium.
A couple of obscene banners were also unfurled, but were quickly confiscated by stewards and security officials.
But the highlight of the show of support came 15 minutes into the game with a chant of “Stand up if you love Fergie” echoing around the ground, and bringing an almost unanimous response.
That is the problem the fans’ groups face. While there is a nucleus of dedicated fans who will campaign hard, plot well and publicise with style, the vast mass of United fans remain passive.
Shareholders United, whose own campaign has focussed on getting fans to buy up shares as a show of opposition, have added thousands to their membership lists since the Magnier row escalated.
And when they staged a symbolic barricade of the Old Trafford directors’ entrance before the game, passers-by showed vocal support.
The two groups are set to step up the campaign in the coming weeks - he problem they face is to turn that passive support into something more active.
soccer4fc
02-02-2004, 02:38 AM
How come United is playing so sluggishly lately? Especiall against Wolves...
Even in the match against Soton they made loads of mistakes (I mean the defence)...
Ch3tah_39
02-02-2004, 10:26 AM
woot~~ ole is back....miss his finishing man....:bounce: :bounce:
yeah... goot news
ccloh
02-02-2004, 11:27 AM
brown is better off playing on the right back than at the central. gary neville can take the central place; a place where he claims to be eager to play in but his height is a major disadvantage there especially when dealing with striker like alan shearer, can outjump him anytime any moment.
somehow o'shea performance this season is a bit the lacking than last season, if not he can partner silves at the central during rio absence.
fortune is not a nature left back, so i dont really put a blame on him for this match. after irwin, i don;t remember utd has any decent left back since silves is shifted to the central role.
i suppose there will be a major re-shuffle of the backline next season. now it is impossible so have to do with a makeshift defence. remember last season we also have a makeshift defence for most of the season and ended up we will the title eventually.
leslielai
02-02-2004, 11:43 AM
brown is better off playing on the right back than at the central. gary neville can take the central place; a place where he claims to be eager to play in but his height is a major disadvantage there especially when dealing with striker like alan shearer, can outjump him anytime any moment.
somehow o'shea performance this season is a bit the lacking than last season, if not he can partner silves at the central during rio absence.
fortune is not a nature left back, so i dont really put a blame on him for this match. after irwin, i don;t remember utd has any decent left back since silves is shifted to the central role.
i suppose there will be a major re-shuffle of the backline next season. now it is impossible so have to do with a makeshift defence. remember last season we also have a makeshift defence for most of the season and ended up we will the title eventually.
With the always-occuring lapse of concentration of Gary Neville, he should NOT be placed in the heart of defence. He has been like this for as long as I can remember, all the crap came last season and even DB had to do backruns to cover his sorry ass.
Irwin is not replaceable but O'Shea is quite capable of doing filling up the role. I miss him.
We'd have to bring in 2 defenders if the defence were to be performing like they have recently.
guoquanyap
02-02-2004, 01:54 PM
our defence really cant make it after rio banned....i agree g.neville can try at the center-back but his height is always a problem.....
as for o'shea wat he did in his first season is excellent but this season i find him doing jus as fine.....
w this sat defence....epl title is still reachable but for the major prize of all, Champion league, will be very hard.....
It was obvious in the summer we needed another defender at the club to allow us to take someone out if they were struggling or tired. As it is we are forced to persist with O'Shea in his dodgy second year and could well damage his confidence long term, while Brown needs to be eased back following such a serious injury, but is instead having big demands placed upon him.
ALEX FERGUSON is ready to end his feud with John Magnier.
The Manchester United boss discussed a peace plan with chief executive David Gill last week after signing his new contract.
The Old Trafford board have left Ferguson in no doubt that they want a conclusion to the fight with United’s largest shareholder over the stud rights to champion racehorse Rock of Gibraltar.
Magnier has been forced to hire bodyguards to protect his family after chilling threats from United fans.
Gill believes he and Ferguson have a plan to bring the matter to a close and they are now seeking a meeting with Magnier.
Fergie will be looking for a one-off payment from Magnier rather than regular payments of stud profits from Rock of Gibraltar. The United boss simply wants to cut all ties with Magnier.
He had been chasing half the stud profits that could eventually make him £100million. It is now possible that a one-off payment of around £8m- £10m could bring the matter to a close.
Embattled Ferguson yesterday made an urgent visit to Ireland to discuss the case with his legal firm LK Shields in Dublin.
He was spotted at the plush Four Seasons Hotel in Ballsbridge and is thought to have flown home yesterday afternoon.
United’s board feared that Fergie would shelve the peace plan after revealing how his son Jason had been targeted.
Ferguson had been left furious after Jason had mail stolen, his bins searched and found snoopers in his garden.
Meanwhile, Irish businessman Magnier has become increasingly concerned following threats from United fans via post, telephone and e-mail.
Magnier and his partner JP McManus control 25.49 per cent of United’s shares through their jointly-owned company Cubic Expressions.
They have raised questions about transfers and called for a full investigation by the club.
But friends close to Magnier says he has ordered extra protection not only for himself but his wife, three sons and two daughters.
That also extends to his brother, David, who lives in Fermoy, Cork. Last week, his house was daubed with expletives.
On the front wall of his Grange Stud, vandals painted "F**k you Magnier".
Magnier, 55, believes this is the work of United fans.
The club’s fans, who backed Ferguson vocally during Saturday’s 3-2 win over Southampton, plan to cause mischief.
Andy Walsh, former chairman of the Independent Supporters’ Association, said: "There will be a rolling programme of activities designed to disrupt Magnier’s interests."
Fans wore T-shirts on Saturday with the horse owner and breeder’s head superimposed on a target.
Magnier’s blueprint for ending the feud includes giving the United boss annual stud payments of up to £200,000, dropping his demand for a public apology from the United boss and both sides paying their own legal costs.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004050981,,00.html
orca_sea
02-02-2004, 08:08 PM
our defence really cant make it after rio banned....i agree g.neville can try at the center-back but his height is always a problem.....
as for o'shea wat he did in his first season is excellent but this season i find him doing jus as fine.....
w this sat defence....epl title is still reachable but for the major prize of all, Champion league, will be very hard.....
Ya veri true.. all mi frienz who support Real Madrid all mock at mi saying tat if Man U are to mit up with RM in CL again.. we would gonna hav another trashing again..:(
Dong Fangzhou was at Old Trafford on Saturday to see his new team-mates secure a vital 3-2 win over Southampton.
The 18-year old Chinese star made his first visit to the ground as a Manchester United player after completing his move to the champions last month.
A goal from debutante Louis Saha, plus strikes from Paul Scholes and Ruud van Nistelrooy were enough to see off the Saints who put up a brave fight in the second half.
Fangzhou is due to fly over to Belgium within the next week or so where he will start his United career on loan to Royal Antwerp.
Fact File
Name: Dong Fangzhou
Date of Birth: 23/01/1985
Position: Striker
Height: 1.85m
Weight: 74kg
Previous Clubs
December 1996 - May 2000: Dalian Yiteng Liantie FC Youth Team
May 2000 - December 2001: Dalian Shide FC Youth Team
January 2002 - January 2003: Dalian Sidelong FC
January 2003 - Present: Dalian Shide FC
Career Highlights
2000 - Helped Dalian Shide to win an Under-17s tournament and was voted player of the tournament.
2002 - Played for Dalian Sidelong FC and helped them to finish runners-up in the Chinese B League.
2002 - Selected for the U-23 National Team.
2003 - Transferred to Dalian Shide FC, arguably the most famous football club in China. He has played for Shide in the Chinese Football League, the Chinese FA Cup and in Asia's equivalent of the Champions League.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=52683&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Originally posted by orca_sea
Ya veri true.. all mi frienz who support Real Madrid all mock at mi saying tat if Man U are to mit up with RM in CL again.. we would gonna hav another trashing again..:(
Don't know what everyone else thought about our defence now that we're missing Rio, looks a little light to me underlined by our performance on Saturday against Southampton, still Brown will still be trying to get match fitness and need games to build an understanding with Silvestre so it's probably too early to go panic buying defenders.
Mankul
02-02-2004, 09:46 PM
Any Man U agents here? Interested to buy Wiltord?
http://forums2.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=9289686#post9289686
;)
kengbeng
02-02-2004, 09:56 PM
Originally posted by Mankul
;)
:laugh:
guoquanyap
03-02-2004, 01:11 AM
haiz...even defoe went to spurs....there goes our tagert again....
guoquanyap
03-02-2004, 01:18 AM
Manchester United's presence at Porto's recent fixtures has led to speculation in the local media that the Premiership champions are following the progress of promising full back Paulo Ferreira.
The Red Devils have been scouting their UEFA Champions League opponents ahead of the two-legged tie with last season's Uefa Cup winners, but some sources are claiming the Old Trafford representatives have been particularly impressed with Ferreira's form.
Indeed, one report has claimed that United are compiling a dossier on the right-sided defender ahead of their next review of transfer purchase options in the summer.
Sir Alex Ferguson has been credited with an interest in other right backs over the past year, including Ajax's Hatem Trabelsi, but the Tunisian international has also attracted attention from Arsenal and Chelsea.
Gary Neville is firmly established as first choice for club and country in that position, but Ferguson is always looking at ways of increasing his options in defence with Neville, John O'Shea, Wes Brown and Mikael Silvestre all capable of playing either in the middle or at full back.
Ferreira, formerly with Estoril Praia, has made dramatic progress in his career since arriving at Porto for a fee of €2 million.
The 25-year-old was a regular for the Portuguese Under-21 side before making his full debut against England in 2002.
After being voted in Uefa's team of the first round of this season's Champions League, his stock is very high and The Dragons would be reluctant to lose a player who is still under contract until 2006.
Jose Mourinho's side are believed to have slapped a €6 million price-tag on Ferreira when several top European clubs scouted him last year.
should sign him during the jan transfer window mah....
RuMmYtUb
03-02-2004, 02:29 AM
;)
Buzz off.. :mad:
ccloh
03-02-2004, 09:55 AM
;)
arsenal can keep him for themselves, after all it is arsene wenger who brought him to epl and he seldom made wrong decision in spotting "talent" so arsenal can keep him forever.
haiz...even defoe went to spurs....there goes our tagert again....
Becos we opted for Saha, beside now we have 4 recognised strikers now in the team.
Ruud, Saha, Solskjaer, Forlan
Manchester United's presence at Porto's recent fixtures has led to speculation in the local media that the Premiership champions are following the progress of promising full back Paulo Ferreira.
The Red Devils have been scouting their UEFA Champions League opponents ahead of the two-legged tie with last season's Uefa Cup winners, but some sources are claiming the Old Trafford representatives have been particularly impressed with Ferreira's form.
Indeed, one report has claimed that United are compiling a dossier on the right-sided defender ahead of their next review of transfer purchase options in the summer.
Sir Alex Ferguson has been credited with an interest in other right backs over the past year, including Ajax's Hatem Trabelsi, but the Tunisian international has also attracted attention from Arsenal and Chelsea.
Gary Neville is firmly established as first choice for club and country in that position, but Ferguson is always looking at ways of increasing his options in defence with Neville, John O'Shea, Wes Brown and Mikael Silvestre all capable of playing either in the middle or at full back.
Ferreira, formerly with Estoril Praia, has made dramatic progress in his career since arriving at Porto for a fee of €2 million.
The 25-year-old was a regular for the Portuguese Under-21 side before making his full debut against England in 2002.
After being voted in Uefa's team of the first round of this season's Champions League, his stock is very high and The Dragons would be reluctant to lose a player who is still under contract until 2006.
Jose Mourinho's side are believed to have slapped a €6 million price-tag on Ferreira when several top European clubs scouted him last year.
should sign him during the jan transfer window mah....
He be cup-tied anyway also no use becos the transfer window is now closed. :mad: :(
ccloh
03-02-2004, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by RVN
He be cup-tied anyway also no use becos the transfer window is now closed. :mad: :(
for future. very likely there will be a revamp of the defence line next season.
RuMmYtUb
03-02-2004, 06:48 PM
Bellion still very raw... his touches and passing no gd !! :mad:
orca_sea
03-02-2004, 07:18 PM
I believe he can improve one.. given more match experiences..:cool:
guoquanyap
03-02-2004, 11:33 PM
I believe he can improve one.. given more match experiences..:cool:
he very is fast man....give him more time to grow...though sometimes i do get piss off w his touches.....:D
vivre
04-02-2004, 12:04 AM
Actually I find that Wes Brown's is worse!!!
(I'm a Man Utd fan)
RuMmYtUb
04-02-2004, 12:55 AM
Originally posted by vivre
Actually I find that Wes Brown's is worse!!!
(I'm a Man Utd fan)
But Brown forgive-able lar.. cos he came back from damaged cruciate ligament injury...
RuMmYtUb
04-02-2004, 12:56 AM
Louis Saha may have finished top of the strops but the Frenchman's public demand to join Manchester United earned appreciation inside the Old Trafford dressing room.
When the transfer window closed last night, the major focus of attention was on the way Saha, Scott Parker and Jermain Defoe levered their way out of clubs who did not want to sell them after receiving big-money offers to go elsewhere.
Saha was the most outspoken of all and told Fulham he would eventually let his contract wind down and leave for nothing if he was not allowed to join United.
While his comments may have brought widespread disapproval from the wider football world, new striker partner Ruud van Nistelrooy admitted they went down well with the Red Devils.
'Louis showed a lot of guts to leave Fulham,' the Dutchman told MUTV. 'It can't have been easy because Fulham had been good for him but he wanted to come to Manchester United and everyone could see that.
'All the fans appreciated it and all the players did as well.'
Sir Alex Ferguson believes the pair can rekindle memories of the 1999 Treble-winning efforts of Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke and new partnership could not have had a better start as both found the net in Saturday's 3-2 win over Southampton.
Van Nistelrooy can see elements of Yorke in Saha's play and revealed there has been an instant bond between them.
'Right from the first couple of training sessions I felt we were going to do well together,' he said.
'From what I have seen of Louis so far, he reminds me of Yorke. Like Dwight, Louis is strong in his upper body.
'He has great strength, turns sharply and is difficult for defences to contain.
'The encouraging aspect is that we don't do the same things, which is important at the start of a new partnership.
'When you have different movements and different qualities, it means you can change things and I feel we are going to be a lot more dangerous now.
'Saturday didn't feel like the first time we had played together. Louis brings a new dimension and once he settles in and get used to playing for United he will only get better.'
Saha's man-of-the-match performance against Southampton should at least alleviate fears over United's reliance on van Nistelrooy for goals.
With Solskjaer set to make a reserve return against Aston Villa on Thursday and Diego Forlan remaining at the club despite speculation he would leave before the transfer window closed, Ferguson now has more flexibility.
Hope they become our next deadly pair since Yorke-Cole era.. (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=290306&cc=4716)
SebastianKae
04-02-2004, 09:34 AM
I personally felt that this season's buys are all quite good and will be matured in one or two seasons. Ronaldo will get better with maturity, so does bellion. Djemba needs the exposure and kleberson needs more time to adjust his style. Saha is a ready made striker, may not be top class now, but with some adjustments, he will be a true Utd player in no time. Manutd like Arsenal, do not need to buy topclass players from other leagues to get stronger. So far, the strongest squads in both teams have not yet bought any ready made top players like Crespo and Carlos to be Champions. Most of them are cultured from young. Apart from Veron, most players bought by the two teams are either promising youngsters or near-prime hardworking players.
Whoever said they knew Ruud and Henry as top class strikers must be very capable scouts or the next AW/SAF.
vivre
04-02-2004, 10:57 AM
But Brown forgive-able lar.. cos he came back from damaged cruciate ligament injury...
Erm... Even b4 he had his injury he's already like that... Dunno why he's rated so highly... Maybe becos of his tackling skills only.
wadeva_lah
04-02-2004, 11:46 AM
hmmz, shud take note that our baby face assasin is near retirement age liaoz..
guoquanyap
04-02-2004, 11:53 AM
Originally posted by vivre
Erm... Even b4 he had his injury he's already like that... Dunno why he's rated so highly... Maybe becos of his tackling skills only.
he was playing very gd during the last part season....until the injury destory his season....
SebastianKae
04-02-2004, 11:59 AM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
hmmz, shud take note that our baby face assasin is near retirement age liaoz..
poor guy, waited so many seasons to be in first 11, now already so old liao. Maybe another teddy sheringham.
ccloh
04-02-2004, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by SebastianKae
poor guy, waited so many seasons to be in first 11, now already so old liao. Maybe another teddy sheringham.
30 only still got 4-5 yrs to go. he is not a speedy player by nature hence like teddy, career could be lengthen as compared to players who depend on their speed.
mark huge and brian mcclair also played for utd until mid-30's before parting or retire.
vivre
04-02-2004, 12:24 PM
Extracted from The Independent (http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=487536)
United offer £450,000 to keep hold of Timm
04 February 2004
Manchester United have handed the Danish striker Mads Timm a new £450,000-a-year contract, even though the 19-year-old is not yet a regular for their reserve side. The new deal was agreed amid fears that the highly-rated teenager would leave the club unless he was given a large pay rise.
Timm has made progress at United since signing from Odense in 2002 but has yet to feature much beyond the youth sides. However a recent set of players being moved out on loan may give him a game in the reserves.
Seems like Man Utd really wants to build a firm foundation for the future with all the new and existing signings!!!!
Manchester United's rebel shareholders John Magnier and J. P. McManus will recruit Celtic manager Martin O'Neill if they take control at Old Trafford, claim reports.
The duo appear determined to remove Sir Alex as manager of the club following the row relating to the stud rights of the champion racehorse, 'Rock Of Gibraltar' and it is claimed that the Irishman is high on their agenda to replace Fergie if they pull off a take-over.
O'Neill has been linked with a possible switch to Anfield or White Hart Lane in the summer.
******* you 2 irish gits, get lost. :mad:
SebastianKae
04-02-2004, 01:57 PM
30 only still got 4-5 yrs to go. he is not a speedy player by nature hence like teddy, career could be lengthen as compared to players who depend on their speed.
mark huge and brian mcclair also played for utd until mid-30's before parting or retire.
many Utd oldies can play for at least3-5 years post prime. Dennis, Paul, Gary, Steve. Eric Cantona could have played a few more years at least if he wanted after he retire.
spykid
04-02-2004, 02:00 PM
hmm... our next game against everton? tough one at goodison man... i'll be happy to take a 1-0 win anytime... :D :D
Originally posted by spykid
hmm... our next game against everton? tough one at goodison man... i'll be happy to take a 1-0 win anytime... :D :D
tough game, they gave us a tough match at OT just about month or so ago. I would really want us to keep a clean sheet to defy the critics on our defence but it be difficult. :(
guoquanyap
04-02-2004, 05:05 PM
awaiting saha to make his second debut start.....:D but our defence better pull their sock up this time rd.....
SebastianKae
04-02-2004, 05:33 PM
Utd needs a steady centre. Silvestre shd go back to left-back. Neville has to come back. Brown needs more games. Was quite disappointed when i know Utd didnt get Van Buyten
Ronaldo7
04-02-2004, 05:44 PM
Ferguson faces new legal attack
Magnier and McManus ponder suing for defamation
Daniel Taylor
Wednesday February 4, 2004
The Guardian
Sir Alex Ferguson will today find himself facing the ordeal of a second legal dispute with John Magnier and JP McManus when Manchester United's rebel shareholders inform the club they are investigating the possibility of a claim for defamation.
In their most aggressive move to date, legal representatives of Magnier and McManus are writing to United's board to demand the tapes and written transcripts of Ferguson's various interviews with newspaper, television and radio journalists at the club's training ground at Carrington last Friday.
It follows Ferguson's disclosure - repeated almost verbatim in every interview - that his son Jason had called in the police at the end of a "distressing" period in which "people have been stealing his mail and his bin-bags and hiding in bushes outside his house". Magnier and McManus believe he may have been unjustly referring to them.
Ferguson, who is suing Magnier over the disputed rights to stud fees for the former racehorse Rock Of Gibraltar, now faces the possibility of his detractors lodging a high court claim for defamation.
From their winter retreat in the Caribbean, Magnier and McManus, who have admitted hiring private investigators to examine business activities at Old Trafford, have instructed solicitors working on behalf of their company Cubic Expression - largest shareholder in United with a 25.49% stake - to investigate whether there are grounds to make an official complaint. Their legal team has collected a dossier of newspaper cuttings and may request recordings from Sky, the BBC and the club's own subscription channel MUTV.
The threat of legal action will be made clear in a letter marked for the attention of United's plc chairman Sir Roy Gardner and the club's chief executive David Gill. Maurice Watkins, the non-executive director who doubles as the club's solicitor, will almost certainly have to get involved and the board of directors will need to ascertain from Ferguson exactly what he meant, before drafting a response.
Whether they can stave off another potentially damaging legal case may depend largely on what Ferguson has to say. The club's hierarchy had been hoping Ferguson and Magnier were moving closer to an out-of-court settlement but events since the weekend have made it clear that, if anything, the two sides are more bitterly divided than ever.
By threatening a writ of their own, Magnier and McManus seem to be continuing a strategy aimed at undermining Ferguson.
The Irishmen are entitled to believe they have moved into a position of strength. In particular, they know they are making life difficult for the 62-year-old at a time when he is under intense pressure to withdraw his claim for joint ownership of Rock Of Gibraltar's breeding rights or open talks for an out-of-court settlement that would see him drastically reduce his demands.
Last night Ferguson's legal team provided written documentation to Magnier detailing the reasons behind his claim, as demanded by the high court in Dublin.
Tomorrow, when the letter from Cubic Expression lands on their desks, Gardner and Gill hope to be in a position to send their official response to the earlier correspondence from Magnier and McManus in which they raised 99 questions about transfer dealings and other business activities at the club.
:mad:
*******, those 2 irish pricks just want to attack Fergie.:mad:
Sir Alex Ferguson's son Jason has insisted both he and the Manchester United boss will stand firm in the wake of the current crisis rocking Old Trafford.
Ferguson is at loggerheads with major shareholder John Magnier over ownership rights to racehorse stallion Rock Of Gibraltar and that feud has spilled over into their football relationship.
Magnier and business partner JP McManus have questioned the way in which transfer deals have been carried out by United during Ferguson's reign.
Jason Ferguson has played a part in several of those moves via his Elite Sports Agency and he too has been dragged into the squabbling. Ferguson revealed last week that his son has been subjected to "people stealing his mail and his bin-bags and hiding in bushes outside his house".
However, Jason is adamant there will be no backing off by the Ferguson family and has vowed to carry on as normal with his own business matters through Elite.
He told The Sun: "I am very proud of what my father has achieved and I am proud of the way he has done it. He has sweated blood to put Manchester United where it is but I am disappointed to say blood is now being spilt over what is a private matter. What has been said about me I know is part of a wider campaign to discredit my dad but I will not let that happen."
guoquanyap
05-02-2004, 12:50 AM
haiz....fergie in hot soup man....:(
ccloh
05-02-2004, 09:46 AM
the 2 irish jerk are definitely trying to build their own empire on old trafford by getting rid of those they don't like. i think they a little look down on the power of the man utd fan club.
wadeva_lah
05-02-2004, 10:27 AM
internal affairs.. :sarcastic
Manchester United have finally delivered their response to the 99 corporate governance questions posed by major shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus.
Neither side in the dispute were commenting on the matter this evening, but understood that a substantive document was faxed to Ireland by United today almost two weeks after the original letter was sent to Old Trafford chairman Roy Gardner.
Magnier and McManus, who through their Cubic Expression Group own 25.5% of the club, and their legal advisors will now study the reply in detail before deciding on their next course of action.
Gardner and chief executive David Gill will spend an anxious few days awaiting further developments, knowing their future with the club could hinge on the eventual outcome.
If the response is not satisfactory, it is thought the Irish duo will pursue the option of either calling for an emergency general meeting, demanding a seat on the United board or reporting their concerns to the Financial Services Authority.
The central component of Magnier and McManus' original letter was to highlight areas where they felt United's conduct fell 'short of best practice'.
Of major concern was the amount of money paid out to agents involved in transfer deals, specifically the 15 of the most recent set out in the 12-page letter to Gardner, dating back to Jaap Stam's arrival from PSV Eindhoven in 1999.
Not mentioned in the letter, but of equal significance, was why United authorised £750,000 in agents fees during the deal that saw Louis Saha arrive from Fulham during last month's transfer window when the French striker had publicly declared his intention to join the Red Devils.
United only revealed they had paid out the sum because of the pressure being applied from across the Irish Sea and Gill has also sanctioned a "thorough internal review" of the club's financial structures in response to Magnier and McManus' demands for an independent audit, a move which met with a stony response from the horse-racing tycoons.
When reports of the 99-question dossier first erupted almost a fortnight ago, the United board felt it was inextricably linked to Magnier's own dispute with manager Alex Ferguson over the stud rights to record-breaking stallion Rock of Gibraltar.
It is clear now that no matter what the eventual outcome over 'The Rock's' case, the Old Trafford hierarchy will be forced into reforms or face the very real prospect of losing their jobs.
Damm it, the only way to save ourselves(probably) is to get a russian oil tycoon or whatzisname to do something like abramovich, seriously, i am backing sir alex and i hope those 2 irish scum **** off...:mad:
RuMmYtUb
05-02-2004, 03:24 PM
So up till now wad's the situation like liao? anyone can summarise ?
Ronaldo7
05-02-2004, 06:09 PM
Real Madrid coach: Valladolid's Vazquez perfect for Man Utd
tribalfootball.com - February 5, 2004
Real Madrid trainer Carlos Queiroz is convinced Valladolid coach Fernando Vazquez would be successful at Old Trafford.
Vazquez is being considered by United boss Sir Alex Ferguson as his potential assistant and Queiroz said, "He (Vasquez) is a great coach, and he would be an excellent number two for Manchester."
Queiroz enjoyed a successful season as Sir Alex Ferguson's number two before accepting the manager's position at Real Madrid over the summer.
:rolleyes:
Silvestre: United Row won't Affect Players
Mikael Silvestre has insisted Manchester United’s players will not be deflected from the Barclaycard Premiership title drive by the off-field headlines that have swamped the club over the past fortnight.
United’s board of directors are waiting for the response of major shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus after they replied yesterday to a series of corporate governance issues raised by the Irish duo a fortnight ago.
The reaction of Magnier and McManus, who between them own over 25% of the club, is bound to have far reaching consequences for United’s future.
But Silvestre confirmed that while the United squad were aware of the arguments rumbling round the club, they are concentrating solely on getting three points from Saturday’s trip to Everton.
“Obviously we have all been watching the TV and reading the papers so we are aware of what is happening on the outside but we have to stay focussed on our job, which is winning football matches,” the France international told MUTV.
“We have Everton on Saturday and Middlesbrough the following Wednesday so we don’t have time to think about the other stuff.”
Silvestre has been a virtual ever-present this season and for the first time is now recognised as an automatic selection in his preferred position at centre-half.
However, after cementing a bond with Rio Ferdinand during the first half of the season, the 26-year-old is now getting used to playing alongside Wes Brown.
The uncharacteristic hestitation that was evident in United’s defensive display against Southampton last weekend was a sign that Brown was still rusty from his six-month cruciate knee ligament lay-off.
Ferdinand is due to hear from the Football Association over the next few days about the latest stage of the appeal against his eight-month ban for a missed drugs test.
But Brown is likely to be Silvestre’s central defensive partner for the forseeable future and the former Inter Milan player is confident there will be no lasting problems.
“I thought it went okay with Wes on Saturday,” he said.
“We played a couple of big games together last season and we are capable of playing well together.
“It is just a matter of adjusting, making sure we are back to our best at the back and keep things solid.
“Wes is a young player with a lot of quality. He is an international and we do not need to be worried about him.”
http://sport.scotsman.com/latest.cfm?id=2494046
No Mikael, Wes need to be consistent and stop making silly error. :mad:
wadeva_lah
06-02-2004, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
Real Madrid coach: Valladolid's Vazquez perfect for Man Utd
tribalfootball.com - February 5, 2004
Real Madrid trainer Carlos Queiroz is convinced Valladolid coach Fernando Vazquez would be successful at Old Trafford.
Vazquez is being considered by United boss Sir Alex Ferguson as his potential assistant and Queiroz said, "He (Vasquez) is a great coach, and he would be an excellent number two for Manchester."
Queiroz enjoyed a successful season as Sir Alex Ferguson's number two before accepting the manager's position at Real Madrid over the summer.
:rolleyes: duh.
like how wud he know? sheesh.
juz promoting man utd's name.
FA Premier Reserve League
United Reserves 3 Aston Villa Reserves 0
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer made his long-awaited return to action as United's reserves beat Aston Villa's second-string 3-0 on Thursday night.
The Norwegian striker has been sidelined by a knee injury for the majority of the season, and hasn't featured for the first team since scoring against Panathinaikos on September 16 last year. But he's now poised for a recall against Everton on Saturday, following a successful 61-minute work-out against Villa Reserves.
Solskjaer didn't score in the entertaining match at Moss Lane, Altrincham, but he did fire a couple of excellent shots just over the bar. Playing predominantly on the right flank, he cut inside to threaten the Villa goal on a few occasions.
Kieran Richardson opened the scoring from David Bellion's cross in the 14th minute, but the Reds had to wait until seven minutes from time to grab their second goal; substitute Chris Eagles was on target. Villa's Jonathan Bewers then made it 3-0 to United with his injury time owngoal.
United: Roy Carroll; Mark Lynch, Adam Eckersley, Mark Howard, Danny Pugh, David Fox, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Kleberson, David Bellion, Mads Timm, Kieran Richardson. Subs: Chris Eagles, Tommy Lee, Colin Heath, Kenny Cooper, David Poole.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=52868&itype=466&icategoryid=120
guoquanyap
06-02-2004, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by RVN
FA Premier Reserve League
United Reserves 3 Aston Villa Reserves 0
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer made his long-awaited return to action as United's reserves beat Aston Villa's second-string 3-0 on Thursday night.
The Norwegian striker has been sidelined by a knee injury for the majority of the season, and hasn't featured for the first team since scoring against Panathinaikos on September 16 last year. But he's now poised for a recall against Everton on Saturday, following a successful 61-minute work-out against Villa Reserves.
Solskjaer didn't score in the entertaining match at Moss Lane, Altrincham, but he did fire a couple of excellent shots just over the bar. Playing predominantly on the right flank, he cut inside to threaten the Villa goal on a few occasions.
Kieran Richardson opened the scoring from David Bellion's cross in the 14th minute, but the Reds had to wait until seven minutes from time to grab their second goal; substitute Chris Eagles was on target. Villa's Jonathan Bewers then made it 3-0 to United with his injury time owngoal.
United: Roy Carroll; Mark Lynch, Adam Eckersley, Mark Howard, Danny Pugh, David Fox, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Kleberson, David Bellion, Mads Timm, Kieran Richardson. Subs: Chris Eagles, Tommy Lee, Colin Heath, Kenny Cooper, David Poole.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=52868&itype=466&icategoryid=120
great to see him back....we need for the final push to the treble....:D
Ch3tah_39
06-02-2004, 02:47 PM
great to see him back....we need for the final push to the treble....:D
hmmm gd to see him back lorz...
ccloh
06-02-2004, 04:35 PM
will ole starting against eventon this weekend ???
Ch3tah_39
06-02-2004, 05:01 PM
will ole starting against eventon this weekend ???
looks likely will..
Might be on the bench, don't think he start though. ;)
Ryan Giggs and Gary Neville are set to return to the Manchester United line-up at Goodison Park tomorrow.
The long-serving pair have missed the last three matches with back and thigh problems respectively but have been cleared to face Everton after coming through a week's training with no problems.
Brazilian midfielder Kleberson is also in contention for a place in Sir Alex Ferguson's side after a 45 minute outing for the reserve team against Aston Villa last night.
However, the game is likely to come too soon for Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, who also turned out for the Red Devils' second string after four months on the sidelines following knee surgery.
United boast an impressive record against the Toffeemen, recording 15 wins and two draws in 17 encounters since the 1995 FA Cup Final.
Provisional squad: Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Silvestre, Brown, O'Shea, Fortune, P Neville, Forlan, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Scholes, Butt, Keane, Kleberson, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Saha, Bellion.
RuMmYtUb
06-02-2004, 07:16 PM
Hope Ole will feature in the 2nd half or something.. :D
wadeva_lah
06-02-2004, 07:38 PM
really doubt ole will start.
maybe still aint match fit.
orca_sea
07-02-2004, 11:02 AM
really doubt ole will start.
maybe still aint match fit.
I tink itz better to rest him to his full recovery before using him lor.. bcos he is veri much needed in bigger matches ahead
guoquanyap
07-02-2004, 12:34 PM
I tink itz better to rest him to his full recovery before using him lor.. bcos he is veri much needed in bigger matches ahead
let him come on during the last mins when we are leading +2 will be gd for his fitness....but i see a hard fight match coming along tonite.....hope keano and co will be firing.....
Ronaldo7
07-02-2004, 12:36 PM
Man utd vs Everton tonight , LIVE on channel 24 1055pm :bounce:
Sir Alex Ferguson's right-hand man Mike Phelan met the press ahead of United's trip to Goodison Park to face Everton on Saturday.
Phelan spoke about Ole's return from injury and tells of how the manager has coped with the off-field media speculation...
Injury situation
”The injury situation is good. We’ve a clean bill of health. Everybody is fit and looking forward to the game.”
Giggs and Neville missed
”We could say they’ve been missed, but we have been OK without them. Sometimes and injury is quite timely because it gives other players opportunities, but it also gives the player time to rest. Now they are all back we’re looking forward to the team the manager picks!”
Ole’s Comeback
”Ole’s got an hour’s reserve team football under his belt. He played very well and probably surprised himself a little bit. We’re hoping now that it’s the green light for him to be included. He possibly needs minutes under his belt, but I am sure he will be a member of the squad and is ready to play.”
Assessing Everton
”Everton are a very hard team to play. They play to their strengths. It’s difficult to get any rhythm to your game when you play them. But, we’ve played against them enough times to understand the way they play. We need to play our football and play to our ability and hopefully that will give Everton problems.”
Wayne Rooney
”As a young player Wayne Rooney has the potential to do whatever Wayne Rooney wants to do. He’s done well this season. Bigger people than me have talked about his potential but it’s just a matter of when that potential begins to come through.”
Defensive frailties against Southampton
”The defenders possibly weren’t allowed to play the game they wanted to play. They’ll learn from that. It was a reshuffled defence without Rio Ferdinand being involved. If anything, it’s probably helped them having a game like that. Hopefully they’ll have learned the lesson and will be more focused on Everton.”
Off-the-field stories
”We have a job to do. We work for the football club and the players are here to play football and entertain the supporters. That’s a job and that’s what we do.
Manager coping with media attention
”The manager has been terrific. He’s been very focused on the job and very focused in training. He’s been quite jovial along the way. He reads the papers like everybody else but he’s done very well. We’re all hoping everything is resolved quickly.”
Getting Behind Sir Alex
”There is a good unity at the club anyway. Every day we have ups and downs with things being said about Manchester United. It’s nothing new. It’s just something the players are always having to deal with and they just get on with it."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=52919&itype=466&icategoryid=122
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1186163.jpg
Cristiano Ronaldo is hoping to cap his first season in England with a Premiership and Champions League medal, as well as a place in Portugal's Euro 2004 squad.
The Portuguese protégé has just turned 19 and now looks to be coming to terms with English football after struggling in the first few months following his move from Sporting Lisbon last summer.
"I feel more of an adult now, I feel like this is the happiest I have ever been," Ronaldo told Portuguese daily Record.
"I want to be happy and be in good health - professionally I have several desires.
"For Portugal I want to be present at Euro 2004, and in Manchester I dream that I will be English champion and will also take the Champions League.
"These are my main desires at the moment. It will not be easy to conquer these, but I will give my everything to make sure this happens."
Ronaldo's transfer from Sporting has been mentioned as one which may be investigated over payments to agents.
However, the young forward refuses to even think about any off the field problems.
"I am not going to worry about that," he said.
"A lot of things have been spoken about that, but that is not something that concerns me.
"My role is to play soccer and help the team."
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1122453,00.html
RuMmYtUb
07-02-2004, 03:16 PM
Ronaldo pls dazzle tonite and make Rooney a fool again.. :evil:
guoquanyap
07-02-2004, 05:06 PM
Ronaldo pls dazzle tonite and make Rooney a fool again.. :evil:
think ronaldo most likely not playing tonite......
ccloh
07-02-2004, 10:27 PM
think ronaldo most likely not playing tonite......
giggs is back and not the mention ole also. if utd can have some comfortable lead in the hr mark, maybe he will come off the bench if he is not starting.
P Neville is left out, Ronaldo left on the bench.
Man Utd
Howard , G Neville , Brown , Silvestre , O'Shea , Fletcher , Keane , Scholes , Giggs , Saha , Nistelrooy
Subs: Ronaldo , Butt , Carroll , Kleberson , Fortune
ccloh
07-02-2004, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by RVN
P Neville is left out, Ronaldo left on the bench.
Man Utd
Howard , G Neville , Brown , Silvestre , O'Shea , Fletcher , Keane , Scholes , Giggs , Saha , Nistelrooy
Subs: Ronaldo , Butt , Carroll , Kleberson , Fortune
no ole, not even on the bench :(
well to play saha and rvn together and with keane and scholes are 1st choice, no place for phil. have to put butt on the bench to make him please abit :)
OKK77
08-02-2004, 12:57 AM
Precious 3 points. From 0 - 3 to 3 - 3 to 3 - 4! What a game!
RuMmYtUb
08-02-2004, 12:58 AM
Our defence was crap at the 2nd half !! :mad:
everton very lively and terrorised our defence... Brown really CMI !!!! :mad:
Lucky RvN saved some blushes..
5 GOALS CONCEDED!!!! IN TWO GAMES, WHAT BLOODY HELL IS THE DEFENCE DOING?!!!!????!:mad: :mad: :mad:
stipe
08-02-2004, 01:01 AM
7-goal thriller.
man utd thought they got it by halftime, nobody could have thought that they will concede 3 goals to everton only to trusty nistelrooy to save them again (remember aston villa in fa cup 02/03?)
my thoughts for the game:
1) ferdinand is terribly missed
2) fletcher lacks nerves of steel; KEEPS LOSING THE BLOODY BALL
3)saha is proving to be a shrewd buy (ok, i admit i was too quick to put him down)
4) man utd has to thank Howard for keeping them in the game
5) a certain boy called Rooney is really exciting. and since man utd always buy chaps who caused them trouble, i hope to see rooney in a man utd jersey (moyes: OVER MY DEAD BODY!!!)
Defence..what defence?? I only see Tim Howard defending. The rest of the defence might as well stay home
Ch3tah_39
08-02-2004, 01:06 AM
man utd attack prob is solved...
but defence abit problem lorz.... :(
stipe
08-02-2004, 01:10 AM
man utd attack prob is solved...
but defence abit problem lorz.... :(
hmmm... sounds like kevin keegan's newcastle of the past....
i prefer the old solid-as-steel defence (someone go and clone steve bruce and pallister....)
maybe its the weather... got hail you know? wes brown was probably concerned.
Xiaofu
08-02-2004, 01:12 AM
MAN U SUCKS!!!! I WANNA BEAT UP THAT ALEX!!!! MAN U IS A KELONG TEAM!!!!!!
Spock
08-02-2004, 01:14 AM
All three goals conceded were through set pieces which united have trouble defending even when ferdinand was around..
Originally posted by Xiaofu
Lost $$?? :laugh:
No lah, at least we can score, but pathetic at defending. :mad:
Everton 3-4 Man Utd
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39833000/jpg/_39833347_vantheman203.jpg
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39833000/jpg/_39833371_lsaha270.jpg
Ruud van Nistelrooy scored his 100th and 101st goals for Manchester United, who survived a superb Everton comeback.
Trailing 3-0 at half time courtesy of two goals by Louis Saha and Van Nistelrooy's strike, Everton took the game to United after the break.
David Unsworth headed the hosts' first, John O'Shea scored an own-goal and Kevin Kilbane blazed in the equaliser.
But a glancing header by Van Nistelrooy from Ronaldo's cross in the dying minutes gave United all three points.
KEY MOMENTS
9 mins: Saha fires Man Utd into the lead
24 mins: Van Nistelrooy fires in United's second
29 mins: Saha nets United's third
49 mins: Unsworth heads home Everton's first
65 mins: O'Shea own-goal gives Everton hope
75 mins: Kilbane grabs the equaliser for Everton
89 mins: Van Nistelrooy grabs the winner for United
United signalled their intent from the outset, attacking the Everton defence with vigour.
Paul Scholes was buzzing around the midfield and drove forward with purpose to almost give United the lead.
The England international's unleashed a powerful shot from 20 yards that crashed off the post.
Van Nistelrooy was well placed to bang home the rebound, but the Dutchman somehow contrived to balloon the ball over the bar.
That was a lucky escape for Everton, who looked sluggish despite the changes manager David Moyes had made to his side.
Duncan Ferguson and Francis Jeffers were brought into the attack, with Wayne Rooney left on the bench.
But it was the hosts' defence that was giving cause for concern as they failed to cut out Darren Fletcher's crosses from the right.
Saha should have done better moments after Scholes' effort, but the Frenchman could not direct his header on target.
Yet Saha was given the chance to make it two goals in two starts for United when he ran onto Mikael Silvestre's through-ball and thumped home the opener from 18 yards out.
Everton's defence had been caught completely square and could do nothing to prevent Saha's superb start to his United career.
But just as Everton were getting back into the game, United doubled their lead through Van Nistelrooy.
Everton were again undone by poor defending, leaving Van Nistelrooy to run into the area and clinically despatch, from six yards out, his 100th goal for United.
There was not let-up for the hosts and the magnificent Scholes set up Saha for his second of the afternoon.
Saha and Van Nistelrooy were simply breathtaking, and the pair certainly look as though they will strike up a formidable partnership.
Both had chances to add to their tallies, but fluffed their lines at the crucial moment.
Such was the poverty of Everton's first-half performance, that United would not have been flattered by a 7-0 scoreline.
Rooney, Tomasz Radzinski and Gary Naysmith were introduced after the interval as Everton looked to restore some pride.
And Unsworth reduced the deficit by steaming in at the far post to head home Naysmith's corner.
The presence of Naysmith and the prodigious Rooney lifted Everton, and he forced the corner which led to a scrambled second, the ball bouncing off O'Shea for an own-goal.
Ferguson went agonisingly close to heading an equaliser, but Everton were not to be deterred.
The home side launched attack after attack and they were rewarded for their endeavour when Kilbane struck the equaliser from Thomas Gravesen's free-kick.
The in-form Nigel Martyn made a superb save to deny Scholes in the dying stages, but he could do nothing to stop Van Nistelrooy's glancing header.
Rooney then missed a glorious chance to level the game once more in what would have been a fitting finish to a breathtaking encounter.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Everton: Martyn, Hibbert, Stubbs, Unsworth, Pistone (Naysmith 45), Watson (Rooney 45), Gravesen, Carsley, Kilbane, Ferguson, Jeffers (Radzinski 45).
Subs Not Used: Simonsen, Linderoth.
Booked: Gravesen.
Man Utd: Howard, Gary Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fletcher (Ronaldo 80), Keane, Scholes, Giggs, Saha (Fortune 73), van Nistelrooy.
Subs Not Used: Butt, Carroll, Kleberson.
Attendance: 40,190.
Referee: N Barry (N Lincolnshire).
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3447465.stm
klhlasnp_reborn
08-02-2004, 01:46 AM
hmm... interesting...:D
orca_sea
08-02-2004, 04:43 AM
Originally posted by RVN
5 GOALS CONCEDED!!!! IN TWO GAMES, WHAT BLOODY HELL IS THE DEFENCE DOING?!!!!????!:mad: :mad: :mad:
Veri true... esp Wes Brown..who iz totally off form in the 2nd half... i tink Fergie oso make a wrong substitution of Saha for Fortune.. i lessen the attacking pressure on Everton.. n Ronaldo shld hav come in earlier oso..in tiz way we would hav contain Everton in their half most of the 2nd half liao..
Ch3tah_39
08-02-2004, 08:58 AM
man utd need to sort this defence thing up sial la..
too risky liao.. frm 3 goals up to 3 all that abit kua zhang....
spykid
08-02-2004, 11:41 AM
please lah, dun put the blame entirely on brown... o'shea looks shaky as well... imh, he's now not the same player who did very well last season... o'shea conceded an unnecessary corner for everton's 1st goal... 2nd goal loop via his head... haizz, whatever, the whole defence looks terrible... they just couldn't deal with the set-pieces... to be honest, if everton had played rooney and radzinski alongside bid dunc from the start... wonder everton can score how many goals...
nonetheless we are just happy to take the 3 points at the end :) :)
guoquanyap
08-02-2004, 11:53 AM
hiaz....5goals conceeded in 2 games.....:mad: we should be 5-0 or 6-0 up in the first half....ruud and saha missed 2 open chances each.....if they scored...the match will be finish by first-half.....
RuMmYtUb
08-02-2004, 12:32 PM
Veri true... esp Wes Brown..who iz totally off form in the 2nd half... i tink Fergie oso make a wrong substitution of Saha for Fortune.. i lessen the attacking pressure on Everton.. n Ronaldo shld hav come in earlier oso..in tiz way we would hav contain Everton in their half most of the 2nd half liao..
Ronaldo should've came on earlier for Fletcher.... he conceded another stupid goal, gave the ball at the crucial area... :mad:
RuMmYtUb
08-02-2004, 12:33 PM
Feb 8 - Some welcome news for Alex Ferguson. Under attack from the Coolmore Mafia, John Magnier and JP McManus, and pressure from his board, he can be sure someone still loves him.
PSV Eindhoven striker Arjen Robben has become the most wanted teenager in Europe since his talks at Old Trafford.
His father Hans, also his agent, said: "My boy won't sign for anyone else, not even Real Madrid or Chelsea. They've all made enquiries, but Arjen is not interested in them."
Robben (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=45510&seg=EPL&teamid=)
But i think now we need a defender first! Attacking solved liao now defence is the problem :mad:
Coolsmurf
08-02-2004, 12:38 PM
fletcher i guess is just another failed youth product as it clearly shown
die....defence so lousy...:(
genesis113
08-02-2004, 01:43 PM
yes. Ronaldo should come out earlier. Anyway, thanks to his beckham-like cross, we won the thriller.
His presence could restrict the freedom of Rooney, like in the first game on Boxing day. He drove Rooney crazy.
Fletcher totally no confidence at all, he always leave the crossing to G Neville, even there was big space in front of him. I really can't figure out what it's going on in his mind.
Luckily Ole is back. Hopefully he back in form ASAP.
Wes Brown, still looked rusty and not match fit. If this continues, Mikael and Tim will suffer a lot more to cover his loopholes.
Totti76
08-02-2004, 01:48 PM
:( How to retain the title like tat?? Man u just cant sit back n defend thinking they had 3 pts in the bag...one day sure kana slap in the face..esp in euro..:mad:
Get a defender
:o n get rid of Brown...release him if no one want him:mad:
kengbeng
08-02-2004, 02:08 PM
Sure got people want Brown lah, Boro always waiting to pounce on our leftovers. :laugh:
Kiwi8
08-02-2004, 02:10 PM
Fergie didn't make a wrong substitution. With the score 3-2, Fergie got scared and knew he had to strengthen the midfield, that's why he took Saha out and put Fortune in.
ccloh
08-02-2004, 05:01 PM
sigh, every week produce this kind of scare, sooner or later some1 will die of heart attack. at this moment of time with arsenal still leading 2 pts and chelski hot on the heel, can't play like that.
well i think give brown until end of this mth to see him improve after all out for 8-mth of competitive matches and fitness, can't expect him to pick up immediately.
orca_sea
08-02-2004, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Fergie didn't make a wrong substitution. With the score 3-2, Fergie got scared and knew he had to strengthen the midfield, that's why he took Saha out and put Fortune in.
If for mi wise i would believe Attack iz the best form of defense..using the 3 way attack like the first half to contain them in everton's half
we get Brown out of that defence and get Keane back in it again...
Howard
Gary Neville - Keane - Silvestre - O'Shea
Solskjaer - Butt - Scholes - Giggs
Saha - Ruud
= SORTED!!
Just the bloody defence - I think the only option now is to move Keane to the centre of defence for Europe and key Premiership matches - he's got to be better than Brown atm anyway. If Fergie really does see the Champions League as the priority, he really should have gone and found a tough, mean, top class defender from somewhere, during the transfer window. :(
RuMmYtUb
08-02-2004, 05:43 PM
ya at least get Brown a few reserve games first...
Spock
08-02-2004, 06:14 PM
Fletcher is just too light-weight and hesistant for premiership football.I have tried to downplay his weaknesses for the last few matches,but he is just not good enough.
Sure beckham didn't have a good body frame too.But he was tenacious and willing to give a good fight whenever the odds are stacked against he or the team.
Kiwi8
08-02-2004, 06:57 PM
If for mi wise i would believe Attack iz the best form of defense..using the 3 way attack like the first half to contain them in everton's half
Attack? :eek:
Man U were still attacking at the moment when Fergie substituted Saha with Fortune. So it went to show that despite attacking, Man U conceded 2 goals! That was why Fergie wanted to tighten things up a bit by substituting Fortune in! :eek:
man utd kids nowadays need much improvement. hope eagles, richardson etc can do well...
RuMmYtUb
08-02-2004, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by Spock
Fletcher is just too light-weight and hesistant for premiership football.I have tried to downplay his weaknesses for the last few matches,but he is just not good enough.
Sure beckham didn't have a good body frame too.But he was tenacious and willing to give a good fight whenever the odds are stacked against he or the team.
Agree, at least Becks was aggressive and did not lose the ball so easily..
OKK77
08-02-2004, 08:26 PM
Originally posted by RVN
he really should have gone and found a tough, mean, top class defender from somewhere, during the transfer window.
Reminds me of Jaap Stam.
stipe
08-02-2004, 08:29 PM
brown just came back from a long term lay off.
lets give him a few more games to sort out his agility, fitness and instinct.
lets hope man utd dun lose points because of him. so far, so good (3-2 and 4-3 results)
Xiaofu
08-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Lost $$?? :laugh:
I do NOT bet one!!!!
It's just that I hate MAN U!!!!!!!WHAT A ****ERS TEAM!!!!!
I do NOT bet one!!!!
BUZZ OFF. :mad:
Kiwi8
08-02-2004, 08:46 PM
Originally posted by stipe
brown just came back from a long term lay off.
lets give him a few more games to sort out his agility, fitness and instinct.
lets hope man utd dun lose points because of him. so far, so good (3-2 and 4-3 results)
If Man U does not plug up its defence soon, it'll die cock stand in the Champions League and the latter stages of the EPL! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
Originally posted by Kiwi8
If Man U does not plug up its defence soon, it'll die cock stand in the Champions League and the latter stages of the EPL! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
set pieces= goal , none of our defenders seems able to clear the ball.... we've got decent defenders, but we lack a leader type to take charge and controle the back four, o'shea will do a better job at this than brown or silvestre imo, but pushing him into the centre will leave us wounerable at left back as silvestre should be playing central defender, maybe put Keano in the central defence.
RuMmYtUb
08-02-2004, 08:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN
set pieces= goal , none of our defenders seems able to clear the ball.... we've got decent defenders, but we lack a leader type to take charge and controle the back four, o'shea will do a better job at this than brown or silvestre imo, but pushing him into the centre will leave us wounerable at left back as silvestre should be playing central defender, maybe put Keano in the central defence.
all 3 goals conceded by set pieces.. atrocious !! :mad:
The Football Association may look into allegations that Manchester United players verbally abused Everton fans in Saturday's game at Goodison Park.
Groups of supporters filed statements to police after the game.
"Everton fans have complained to the club about the behaviour of the United players as they celebrated the winner," said Toffees spokesman Ian Ross.
An FA spokesman said: "Nothing has yet been brought to our attention but if it is, then we would look into it."
Ruud van Nistelrooy's late header secured a 4-3 win in a highly-charged contest that had seen Everton peg back United's three-goal half-time lead.
It is alleged United trio Roy Keane, Gary Neville and Cristiano Ronaldo made offensive gestures and swore at sections of the home support as they celebrated the winning goal.
Scores of disgusted fans stayed on after the final whistle to file statements to the police.
In a separate incident, an Everton supporter attempted to attack Ronaldo after he was brought down close to the far touchline shortly before he set up the visitors' winner.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3469991.stm
wtf, ****IN FA!! Its just football against Manchester United. :mad: :mad: :mad:
Kiwi8
08-02-2004, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Yeah.... the presence of Rio Ferdinand is sorely missed.
P Neville/Fortune----------O'Shea/Keane----------Silvestre----------G Neville
and we'll introduce Wes Brown slowly into the first-team. I don't think height is that big a problem, most teams would struggle to deal with Duncan Ferguson in aerial battles. But Brown's reading of the game was awful and he showed little composure in the back line, he never seems to have enough time on or off the ball. No doubt he's capable of better, so maybe we should slowly re-introduce him to action and give him some time to bed in rather than throw him in the deep end. Keane can also play in the central defence too. Phil can also play at left-back. I don't think Phil can play in central midfield now that we are playing 4-4-2 with Scholes taking his place.
Xiaofu
08-02-2004, 09:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN
BUZZ OFF. :mad:
I WILL NOT BUZZ OFF!!!! I WILL KEEP ON SLAMING MAN U!!!!!!
WHAT A LAN JIAO TEAM!!!
StormTrooper
08-02-2004, 09:38 PM
I WILL NOT BUZZ OFF!!!! I WILL KEEP ON SLAMING MAN U!!!!!!
WHAT A LAN JIAO TEAM!!!
go on..........keep doing that. i've already reported you to the mods.
Good, tell the mods to ban this idiot from sprouting foul language on our thread. :mad:
also delete his post too.
Spock
08-02-2004, 09:54 PM
Brown just needs a new pair of boots,he always seems to slip at the crucial moment..Dunno want to laugh or get angry..:laugh: :mad:
guoquanyap
09-02-2004, 12:27 AM
3 set-piece= 3 headers goal.....:cool: gonna buck up defence.....
I do NOT bet one!!!!
U are damn joker. Dun bet give ppl tips for betting???:o
99% can.....
I got some HOT tips...... see you guys believe me anot....
Geylang FC 1 East Bengal 1
Home United 3 Happy Valley 1
SebastianKae
09-02-2004, 08:30 AM
Gosh man, the defense. Gosh man. When Everton scored their first goal, the game just seemed to be fated to be Everton win or a draw. Darren Fletcher, gosh man. Thank goodness Ronaldo was substituted in.
ccloh
09-02-2004, 09:51 AM
let just give wews brown till end of the mth b4 we decide to put an axe on his head. to be fair to him, after laid off for so long and with rio kanna ban, he has no choice to polish up his fitness b4 he was been called into action. moreover, he need sometime to gel up with silves and howards. let say the deadline is end of the mth. fair and sqaure. :)
SebastianKae
09-02-2004, 10:14 AM
Wes Brown needs time. He is a capable centre-back, but plague with injuries that could end his career one after another. He needs more playing time i guess. But one thing about Utd's defense is the lack of composure which was ever present when Blanc was around. To be fair, they are trying their best, but i would like to see Silvest play in the left-back position instead of the recent centre-back.
Anyone seen Van Buyten's performance yesterday? If only the team he is in is Utd and not City.
Xiaofu
09-02-2004, 12:40 PM
I did NOT say I can't give HOT TIPS.... right??? You Big Fool!!!
I gives HOT tips.... doesn't mean I bet!!! You Moron!!
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
ccloh
09-02-2004, 01:43 PM
Wes Brown needs time. He is a capable centre-back, but plague with injuries that could end his career one after another. He needs more playing time i guess. But one thing about Utd's defense is the lack of composure which was ever present when Blanc was around. To be fair, they are trying their best, but i would like to see Silvest play in the left-back position instead of the recent centre-back.
Anyone seen Van Buyten's performance yesterday? If only the team he is in is Utd and not City.
not only the defence is young in experience but also lack a commanding figure like that of the great dane. chances are keane will be pull back to defence to enforce the commanding status is possible. afterall who else can yell and scream at the rest of the teammates nowaday after the great dane.
SebastianKae
09-02-2004, 01:45 PM
not only the defence is young in experience but also lack a commanding figure like that of the great dane. chances are keane will be pull back to defence to enforce the commanding status is possible. afterall who else can yell and scream at the rest of the teammates nowaday after the great dane.
the American BullDog seems to be shouting abit more nowadays. Maybe in frustration.
hush66
09-02-2004, 05:02 PM
As you might know from my previous posts, I'm no fan of Brown. I've never liked him even before his injury. Remember last season when he was our "own goal king"? I see lots of people blaming his recent injury for his lack of form. In my opinion, that's not true. He's a joke even before his injury. :frus:
Yellowfin
09-02-2004, 05:14 PM
Even though the match between Everton and Man U was really nail biting to watch.
Now, I am worry about the champion league chance when Man U going to meet much sharper strike force.
I really hope during the summer transfer season, we really need to buy one or two experience defender.
RuMmYtUb
09-02-2004, 05:42 PM
I'd be thankful if Utd can even qualify to the semi-final of the CL with that kind of defence...
we'll be severely punished by teams with free flowing attack like Real...
Xiaofu
09-02-2004, 07:48 PM
I'd be thankful if Utd can even qualify to the semi-final of the CL with that kind of defence...
LOLz!!! WHAT A BIG JOKE!!! MAN U WILL NOT EVEN PASS THE QUARTER-FINALS!!! DON'T SAY ABOUT SEMI LAH!!!
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
hwmook
09-02-2004, 08:02 PM
i am not an man u fan and i hated man u because of a lot of arrogant fans and alex ferguson. but the man u fans posting in this forums have change my views on the arrogant fans part. seem like there are quite a number of sensible man u fans. hope u all can continue with the sensible way of posting instead of some crocky no brain arsenal fans are doing here. :D
wadeva_lah
09-02-2004, 09:47 PM
wes brown is good enuf i suppose.
juz need to get his form back.
if he wasnt good, fergie wud have shipped him out juz like ronnie wallwork.
guoquanyap
10-02-2004, 12:19 AM
haiz....should at least bring defenders on loan mah....now so jialet.....
heygal
10-02-2004, 12:23 AM
Originally posted by hwmook
i am not an man u fan and i hated man u because of a lot of arrogant fans and alex ferguson. but the man u fans posting in this forums have change my views on the arrogant fans part. seem like there are quite a number of sensible man u fans. hope u all can continue with the sensible way of posting instead of some crocky no brain arsenal fans are doing here. :D
I agree with on the part that most man u fans i this forum are sensible who comment objectively but with the likes of rummytub they will spoil the image of other man u fans, they are the blacksheeps.
guoquanyap
10-02-2004, 12:26 AM
this coming wed nite against boro no live rite?
orca_sea
10-02-2004, 02:12 AM
Originally posted by hwmook
Thx u for ur kind understanding..:D
SebastianKae
10-02-2004, 08:33 AM
wes brown is good enuf i suppose.
juz need to get his form back.
if he wasnt good, fergie wud have shipped him out juz like ronnie wallwork.
I support Manutd, but Arsenal is the better team this season, they deserve to win this year's title. Utd has alot to improve especially after the departure of Beckham. Lets just hope Utd can gel better and get some decent defender and playmaker to regain the title.
Oh yes, anti UTD people, please stay far away from Utd threads, you are not welcomed to insult Utd here. Get a life.
RuMmYtUb
10-02-2004, 09:28 AM
Originally posted by heygal
I agree with on the part that most man u fans i this forum are sensible who comment objectively but with the likes of rummytub they will spoil the image of other man u fans, they are the blacksheeps.
buzz off :mad:
RuMmYtUb
10-02-2004, 09:30 AM
I support Manutd, but Arsenal is the better team this season, they deserve to win this year's title. Utd has alot to improve especially after the departure of Beckham. Lets just hope Utd can gel better and get some decent defender and playmaker to regain the title.
Oh yes, anti UTD people, please stay far away from Utd threads, you are not welcomed to insult Utd here. Get a life.
Becks loss was not as bad as having a poor defence, or rather Rio's ban !
Yellowfin
10-02-2004, 09:32 AM
The Championship is not over yet. Yes, so far, Arsenal have not lost a single game yet.
Man U does not weaken due to Beckham departure but rather a influx of new and young player.
Any team that is rebuilding will tend to take some time to adjust.
Just my 2 peso.
SebastianKae
10-02-2004, 09:34 AM
Analyze first. All these 3 have an impact to Utd. Dont be affected by the media, and speak from your heart. Dont tell me you dont miss the the long passes and crosses from beckham? Utd has never been the same ever since he moved to Real.
RuMmYtUb
10-02-2004, 09:35 AM
Analyze first. All these 3 have an impact to Utd. Dont be affected by the media, and speak from your heart. Dont tell me you dont miss the the long passes and crosses from beckham? Utd has never been the same ever since he moved to Real.
All i can say is RvN is the one missing those crosses, he's scoring less goals with his head..
SebastianKae
10-02-2004, 09:36 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
The Championship is not over yet. Yes, so far, Arsenal have not lost a single game yet.
Man U does not weaken due to Beckham departure but rather a influx of new and young player.
Any team that is rebuilding will tend to take some time to adjust.
Just my 2 peso.
I agree with on these. Too many new and young signings this season, they need time to gel. But still, my two pesos is telling me that Beckham's departure did have an impact, big or small, for different individuals to decide. Well, lets hope for a better performance in th next match.;)
RuMmYtUb
10-02-2004, 09:49 AM
AaB's Danish keeper Kenneth Stenild is hopeful of winning a move to either Arsenal or Manchester United in the summer, after impressing in recent trial spells in England.
The 16-year-old has earned rave reviews throughout his fledgling career with the Danish side, prompting clubs from all over Europe to sit up and take note.
At least eight Premiership teams expressed interest in having a look at the club, but AaB opted to accede to requests from Arsenal and Manchester United.
Stenild has had trial spells at both Highbury and Old Trafford, receiving positive feedback from both clubs.
"The training facilities at the London club are impressive," he told BT. "But that is also the case at Manchester United, who I also have visited twice.
"I am under contract with AaB until 2006. But should either Arsenal or Manchester United offer me an apprentice contract, I am ready to move from home."
The teenager could well land contract offers from the Premiership giants, but the acid test will come in the summer.
He added: "The leaders at both Arsenal and Manchester United said they were very pleased with my displays over there and they want to see me in action for the Denmark Under-17 side in Turkey and the European Championship in Germany in two months.
"My parents would undoubtedly miss me, but I have the stamina to be a professional abroad.
"Football has been everything since I started at AaB," Stenild, who has been compared to Red Devils legend Peter Schmeichel, commented.
If he does move to England, the keeper will look to find some home comforts.
"So as not to feel lonely in the first couple of years, I would look for a host family," he concluded.
Hot prospect from Denmark (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,31-1122682,00.html)
ccloh
10-02-2004, 09:51 AM
with the inclusion of beckham, he can provide the cross + taking freekick apart from that what else can he contribute ??? get a decent left-back to mark him dead, he is out of the game and utd is like playing with 10-man only.
without beckham, there is a lot of variation of attack from utd. both flanks can have "winger" class players to run at defenders. from central keane and scholes can organize attack from centre.
a real class striker will not just depend on those crosses by beckham to score for sure.
england for long is renounce for playing long ball tactic in international level and at one time, norway international team copied their style and ended up playing better than them. in europe matches, long ball crosses won't win u titles. it is the flank play that makes the difference. to have 2 efficient "wingers" is definitely better than only 1. if u have noticed in CL matches, when most of the opposition would single out giggs is the key player for utd and not beckham. go ask roberto carlos how to mark dead beckham, most probably he can write a book to tell u how. don't compare the performance of backham with real madrid now as to the days when he was with utd. they played different position. if not u will just ended like mukal (did i get his nickname correct ??) asking question on CAN/CAN'T just making a clown out of himself in this forum only.
RuMmYtUb
10-02-2004, 09:54 AM
Mankul u mean ! :laugh: :laugh:
SebastianKae
10-02-2004, 10:08 AM
with the inclusion of beckham, he can provide the cross + taking freekick apart from that what else can he contribute ??? get a decent left-back to mark him dead, he is out of the game and utd is like playing with 10-man only.
without beckham, there is a lot of variation of attack from utd. both flanks can have "winger" class players to run at defenders. from central keane and scholes can organize attack from centre.
a real class striker will not just depend on those crosses by beckham to score for sure.
england for long is renounce for playing long ball tactic in international level and at one time, norway international team copied their style and ended up playing better than them. in europe matches, long ball crosses won't win u titles. it is the flank play that makes the difference. to have 2 efficient "wingers" is definitely better than only 1. if u have noticed in CL matches, when most of the opposition would single out giggs is the key player for utd and not beckham. go ask roberto carlos how to mark dead beckham, most probably he can write a book to tell u how. don't compare the performance of backham with real madrid now as to the days when he was with utd. they played different position. if not u will just ended like mukal (did i get his nickname correct ??) asking question on CAN/CAN'T just making a clown out of himself in this forum only.
i did not ask a question on CAN or CAN't dammit. This is my personal opinion. I have no questions on whether RVN CAN/CAN't score like Henry etc. And i did not compare Becks in Real to Becks in Marid. Please read properly man. I respect your posts as well, but dont ever link me with that mankul fellow, thats the worse insult u can ever give to a person. :laugh:
Roy Keane believes United must learn a defensive lesson from Saturday's narrow 4-3 victory over Everton after the Reds threw away a three-goal lead.
The skipper says the team showed great character to go on and win the game, but insists they cannot afford to keep losing so many goals.
"Last week we were a bit fortunate against Southampton and we got away with it on Saturday again," Keane told MUTV. "It is a worry but we showed great character to come back having thrown away a three-goal lead.
"We have to learn from that because we can't keep conceding goals especially against some of the top opposition in Europe.
"As we saw with City and Tottenham last week you just never know what will happen in football. I remember being involved in a similar game when I was at Nottingham Forest when we came back from four goals down against Coventry.
"Like Saturday it was a very strange game but that's football and we were just happy to get the result at the end of it," added Keane.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=53193&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Manchester United's Eric Djemba-Djemba will be back in training at Carrington in the next couple of days after Cameroon were eliminated from the African Cup of Nations at the quarter-final stage against Nigeria.
Cameroon were favourites to lift the trophy for a third successive tournament, but the Super Eagles caused a minor upset spurred on by Bolton Wanderers playmaker Jay-Jay Okocha.
The holders went down 2-1 despite taking the lead through Samuel Eto'o. Nigeria got on level terms through a stunning free-kick from Okocha, and then John Utaka hit the winner 17 minutes from time to send his country into the semi-finals of the illustrious trophy.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s237/st45528.htm
ccloh
10-02-2004, 01:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United's Eric Djemba-Djemba will be back in training at Carrington in the next couple of days after Cameroon were eliminated from the African Cup of Nations at the quarter-final stage against Nigeria.
Cameroon were favourites to lift the trophy for a third successive tournament, but the Super Eagles caused a minor upset spurred on by Bolton Wanderers playmaker Jay-Jay Okocha.
The holders went down 2-1 despite taking the lead through Samuel Eto'o. Nigeria got on level terms through a stunning free-kick from Okocha, and then John Utaka hit the winner 17 minutes from time to send his country into the semi-finals of the illustrious trophy.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s237/st45528.htm
guess he will get a wk or 2 of rest b4 returning back to action.
Manchester United's bid to sign PSV Eindhoven forward Arjen Robben has stalled, even though the player was willing to make financial sacrifices in order to join Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
The Dutch prospect has already visited Old Trafford and was believed to be close to sealing a dream switch to the Premiership champions, with the deal being completed in the summer.
However, The Red Devils' offer for the 20-year-old is below PSV's valuation of their hot property, who has also attracted attention from big-spending Chelsea.
"At the moment, both clubs didn't work it out," Hans Robben, the player's father and agent, told De Telegraaf.
"He even offered to cut a part of his wage.
"He really wanted to go to United."
RTL 5 television programme Voetbal Insite claims United's bid is in the region of €7 million, which is insufficient for PSV as they paid Groningen a hefty €5 million for his services in 2001.
United are fully aware of PSV's financial situation and will hope economic pressures help force the Eredivisie club to sell, but Robben is now scheduled to talk to his club about a new, improved contract in the summer.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1122769,00.html
stipe
10-02-2004, 07:52 PM
Originally posted by RVN
"He even offered to cut a part of his wage.
"He really wanted to go to United."
COMMON!!! 12mil for saha, similar amt for ronaldo, we should at least pay a bit more for robben!
sighs.... another ronaldinho saga and damien duff?
His dad say PSV want 10m and he want to join us. :(
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,770330,00.html
stipe
10-02-2004, 08:18 PM
already quite sad to see players linked to man utd raise some much hope in joining, then last minute join rival clubs.
imagine what COULD have happened if ronaldinho played against man utd.
well, can't get everyone though, kinda pissed off by this :mad:, but we did get Ronaldo and Saha. ;)
RuMmYtUb
10-02-2004, 10:24 PM
Haiz, why can't we deal discreetly like arsenal?
suddenly one jose reyes come out...
Becos United are a PLC unlike arsenal and are a high-profile club, press always want to write about us all the time. :( :alien:
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer returns to the Manchester United squad for the first time since September as the Red Devils look to maintain their title drive against Middlesbrough at Old Trafford.
Solskjaer made a 60-minute appearance for the reserves on Thursday following his long absence after knee surgery and could earn a spot on the bench.
Phil Neville, left out on compassionate grounds at Everton following the premature birth of his second child, is also available.
Squad: Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Silvestre, Brown, O'Shea, Fortune, P Neville, Forlan, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Scholes, Butt, Keane, Solskjaer, Kleberson, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Saha, Bellion.
LKY156
10-02-2004, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by stipe
already quite sad to see players linked to man utd raise some much hope in joining, then last minute join rival clubs.
imagine what COULD have happened if ronaldinho played against man utd.
It's simple. If the players badly wanna join Man Utd, MU will have a strong bargaining power and force/haggle the price down. This is always te first question that AF asks. It works well on Yorke, Saha, Van Nistelrooy, Keane etc.
That's why players than Ronaldinho, Alan Shearer, Duff will never join Man Utd. United was only slightly interesting to them. But any clubs are fine to them really ... as long as they get their pay thank you.
It's a good policy. Unwillingly players will become unsettled soon. No point signing them.
guoquanyap
11-02-2004, 12:02 AM
Haiz, why can't we deal discreetly like arsenal?
suddenly one jose reyes come out...
cos we are a plc mah....:alien:
orca_sea
11-02-2004, 01:11 AM
cos we are a plc mah....:alien:
yah...:(
guoquanyap
11-02-2004, 01:20 AM
Feb 10 - Roy Keane has launched a withering attack on his Manchester United team-mates by warning they will soon pay the price for their defensive jitters.
The Old Trafford skipper is still reeling from United's second-half collapse at Everton on Saturday which saw them lose a 3-0 half-time lead before Ruud van Nistelrooy's late winner.
The Premiership champions have looked shaky at the back since Rio Ferdinand limped out of the 1-0 defeat at Wolves last month to start his eight-month ban for missing a drugs test.
Wes Brown, Ferdinand's replacement, has struggled to adjust to life back in the first team after nine months out with a cruciate ligament injury.
Everton's goal spree at the weekend came just a week after Southampton managed to score twice at Old Trafford.
With United set to resume their Champions League campaign against FC Porto later this month, Keane fears that the club's defensive frailties could wreck their European ambitions as well as their title chances.
He said: "It is a worry because we can't keep doing that for the rest of the season. We got away with it at Everton and against Southampton last week, but against tougher opposition in the Premiership and in Europe we certainly won't."
"We keep getting these lessons, but we can't keep giving teams the chances that we have been giving away in the last couple of matches."
"We were a bit fortunate in the second half at Everton, but eventually you are going to come unstuck. It's not like us to give a 3-0 lead away and we even said at half-time: "Let's not give them any encouragement," because we knew if we did their fans would get behind them."
Despite problems with the Brown-Mikael Silvestre central defensive partnership, Keane insists that the whole team must share responsibility as United prepare to host Middlesbrough tomorrow and Manchester City in Saturday's FA Cup fifth round.
Keane said: "People look at the defence, but it is a team game. When we win it's great for the team, but when we lose we have got to look at each other."
"I wouldn't be too critical of the defence alone. I think the whole team has been at fault. We have to work hard on the training ground this week and try to eradicate the mistakes."
"The good thing that came out of the Everton game was that at least we showed great character to get the result. After throwing away a 3-0 lead, most teams would settle for a point, but we went after the winner and got it."
they better wake up man or else we will be empty-handed this yr....
guoquanyap
11-02-2004, 01:42 AM
PSV Eindhoven president Harry van Raaij has hit out at Manchester United for halving their offer for young striker Arjen Robben.
Van Raaij claimed he had agreed a £10million deal `in principle' with former Red Devils chief executive Peter Kenyon for 20-year-old Robben to join United in the summer.
But when the formal offer came in earlier this month it was for half the figure that had been previously discussed.
The development has almost certainly scuppered any chance of the deal going through and has left Robben, who turned up with his family at United's Carrington training ground last month, distraught.
'Of course Arjen will be disappointed,' said Van Raaij.
'He had already visited Manchester United and I had agreed a deal in principle with Peter Kenyon for him to join them in the summer.
'What I don't understand is the reason why their approach changed so much because when the offer came in it was about half of what we had spoken about.
'Given the difference between the two offers I do not see any way Arjen will join them in time for next season.'
Van Raaij revealed he was not given a precise reason behind the collapse of the deal but suggested Kenyon's departure for Chelsea and the on-going row between the club and major shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus could have been factors.
'Everything changed,' he said. 'I read in the newspapers that there are some problems at the club.
'Maybe that was part of it or maybe it's because Peter Kenyon left and David Gill came in, but I don't know for sure.
'I have dealt with Manchester United over the transfers of Jaap Stam and Ruud van Nistelrooy but the way they have handled this is very different to the way they have done it in the past.
'At least there is no question mark over Arjen's talent and I'm sure other great clubs will be in for him as well.'
wau lau get him at all cost lah... :mad:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.