PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

Yellowfin
25-02-2004, 08:41 PM
Really good news. :D

Originally posted by redstorm

"Mikael Silvestre could be set for a quicker return than anticipated, after responding positively to treatment on the ankle injury he sustained in Manchester United's draw against Leeds.

Reliable sources in France state that the original suggestion that Silvestre would be missing for three weeks is now looking pessimistic.

In fact, the France international could return in as little as ten days, after an MRI scan revealed no damage to his ligaments or bone in the joint."

guoquanyap
26-02-2004, 12:08 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

Without our 2 solid centre backs :mad: :mad:

bo bian wat.....:mad:

guoquanyap
26-02-2004, 12:18 AM
saha will start tonite along w ruud....

this should be the line-up....

--------howard------------

G.neville--o'shea--brown--Fortune

C.ronaldo--keano--scholes--giggs

-------------Saha-------------

-------------------Ruud------------

guoquanyap
26-02-2004, 04:33 AM
1-1 at half-time still a gd result....got the away goal we wan...but performance wise....haiz...*shakehead*

guoquanyap
26-02-2004, 05:39 AM
shameful performance....but w 1 away goal...there is still lots to play for....but really disappointing performace.....

genesis113
26-02-2004, 06:02 AM
yes, we have one away goal, but can we stop conceeding away goal for Porto in the next leg, look at the defence, two centrebacks unable to stop McCarthy.

I can't see we will hv chance to advance, somemore Keane is suspended in the next match.

Again, why didn't put Ronaldo right from the start? Giggs was all alone in creating chances, it was too easy for Porto to defence.

Sigh...........................................................

cracker
26-02-2004, 06:06 AM
We have not seen a solid 90 min performance by Utd since tat Wolves game !!!!!

sad sad.

pale
26-02-2004, 06:33 AM
A tired and jaded performance. Some players were playing like they didn't want to be there. No passion .. No Flair... Nothing.

The only player that i saw showing urgeny after Man Utd went 1 goal down was Ronaldo. The rest..Sigh.

One of the worse performance I have seen from Ruud. Couldn't keep the ball...miss placed passes and he's not the only guilty one.

I also felt SAF got the tactics wrong.

well..we'll see what happens in a fortmight.

Back to the EPL. Away to Fulham.

StormTrooper
26-02-2004, 07:59 AM
well, i guess its time for us to win nothing so that the hunger will return. the new players had it good, now its their turn to put in the effort.

yulee
26-02-2004, 08:51 AM
Looks like Manyoo is going to end this season without a single trophy if their current form continues...They might end up like Liverpool...:eek:

ccloh
26-02-2004, 09:29 AM
it is only half finish in the CL match. still got the return leg. remember last season against RM, lost 3-1 and the return leg at OT utd won 4-3. so no need to throw in towel so early.

guoquanyap
26-02-2004, 09:31 AM
where is the hunger? where is the desire to win? all missing down the years...haiz...

but feel we really should show proto wat we are make of when they the visit us in 2 wks time...

RuMmYtUb
26-02-2004, 09:57 AM
I think the players need a kick in the backside...
I suppose with no silverware to show at the end of the season, we would come back stronger next season....

Really hoped that there were 11 Keanos for us playing....
The desire, passion and hunger from Captain Keane is really admirable, some of the younger players dun have that..
Dunno wad's wrong with our play... Think we need some fresh defenders for next season to inject some competition and shove up the defence.

dredd
26-02-2004, 10:41 AM
next match....Fulham...what say u?

samwise
26-02-2004, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by ccloh
it is only half finish in the CL match. still got the return leg. remember last season against RM, lost 3-1 and the return leg at OT utd won 4-3. so no need to throw in towel so early.

i dunno why you use RM to compare !!?? overall result still RM go thru.

you mean porto will lose 3-2 and advance also??

why use RM??

cracker
26-02-2004, 10:50 AM

even a repeat scoreline of 4-3 to Man Utd at OT will send them out cos Porto scores 3x times away !!!

so the only option left is to win the game with a 2-goals margin be it 3-1 or 5-3 or 6-4 !!!

ccloh
26-02-2004, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by cracker

even a repeat scoreline of 4-3 to Man Utd at OT will send them out cos Porto scores 3x times away !!!

so the only option left is to win the game with a 2-goals margin be it 3-1 or 5-3 or 6-4 !!!

aiya my intention is not utd need to score 2 goals more than porto in the returned leg but it is POSSIBLE for utd to win in OT and not like most ppl believe gameover liao

RVN
26-02-2004, 12:23 PM
What an utter crap performances, we got out-classed by Porto, watching it on TV last night piss me off, after Fortune scored, Porto just pegged us back and we never get going as an attacking force, this is very unlike us, G Neville and Wes Brown can't play in central defence, lack of height, they were both severly out-jump by Benni McCarthy for the 2nd goal, we deserved to lose, sad to say, just lucky its just 2-1. :(

Keano sending-off look harsh to me, maybe shouldn't have been sent off, but it was needless for him to stamp on Baia, but Baia reaction look bang out of order. Keane in no position to be lecturing the youngsters on temperament, when he does something like that. Now we're without him for the 2nd leg, meaning that we have little option than to perservere with Butt in the middle.

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 12:40 PM
Maybe a loss of the first choice pairing at the same time unsettled Manure but SAF should have a remedy by next week. However it should be a concern that Manure's midfield is constantly being overun.

As for the Roy Keane incident, he deserved to be sent off lah. The intent is there, the contact is there. Though Baia's reaction is opera standard, it's child play compared to RVN in the OT clash with Arse.

Remember although Viera's little swipe did not hit RVN, his reaction is definitely a role model for Baia.

What goes round comes round eventually. :)

RVN
26-02-2004, 01:03 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw
Maybe a loss of the first choice pairing at the same time unsettled Manure but SAF should have a remedy by next week. However it should be a concern that Manure's midfield is constantly being overun.

As for the Roy Keane incident, he deserved to be sent off lah. The intent is there, the contact is there. Though Baia's reaction is opera standard, it's child play compared to RVN in the OT clash with Arse.

Remember although Viera's little swipe did not hit RVN, his reaction is definitely a role model for Baia.

What goes round comes round eventually. :)

It wasn't a stamp though!

Unless anyone's suggesting the guy can defy gravity, he has to land somewhere. He tried to leap over the keeper, didn't jump high enough to get over him and caught him. It was a booking at worst

and what it with you calling us manure, another abu twat, **** off. :mad:

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 01:18 PM
hahaha.. i am a Arsenal and Forest fan, not an abu. I have my fair share of admired manure players like sparky, giggs over the years.

we all know abt Keane, dun we? If u wan to defend the indefensible, so be it. If the referee deem it necesary to send him off, who are we to dispute his decision.

mind your language though, we do not condone personal attacks here.

RVN
26-02-2004, 01:27 PM
hahaha.. i am a Arsenal and Forest fan, not an abu. I have my fair share of admired manure players like sparky, giggs over the years.

we all know abt Keane, dun we? If u wan to defend the indefensible, so be it. If the referee deem it necesary to send him off, who are we to dispute his decision.

arse fan, say it all. ;)

Obviously you are going to have a go at us. :mad:

I do not condone personal attack on my club on our thread. :alien:

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 01:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN

arse fan, say it all. ;)

Obviously you are going to have a go at us. :mad:

I do not condone personal attack on my club on our thread. :alien:

arse fan
>> the pot calling the kettle black

Obviously you are going to have a go at us
>> I have got better use of my time. If you see my post, I am pretty objective in my post.

I do not condone personal attack on my club on our thread
>> From a person calling abu "twats" and ****? *shakes head*

ccloh
26-02-2004, 01:37 PM

hmmm with a post count of so little and suddenly bump in like that. definitely sound very FISHY here. it is not that i'm a utd fan then say fishy, anybody with a logical thinking would also say that.

if u have a motive, hurry spill it out be like a man.

RVN
26-02-2004, 01:54 PM

arse fan
>> the pot calling the kettle black

Obviously you are going to have a go at us
>> I have got better use of my time. If you see my post, I am pretty objective in my post.

I do not condone personal attack on my club on our thread
>> From a person calling abu "twats" and ****? *shakes head*

Hmm, another whining gooner. Tell me what your motive in posting here. You claim your post is objective, then why called us manure then.

Now if are here trying to gloat over our loss, please go elsewhere, you ain't welcome. :alien:

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 01:56 PM
leo_llw

Bro ccloh, me no motives lah but I did join this forum for long time liao.

See no incentives to post since I am more involved in SammyBoy CoffeeShop Forums in Delphi.

See bro RVN's posts :
First he says Keane should not have stamped.
==========================
Keano sending-off look harsh to me, maybe shouldn't have been sent off, but it was needless for him to stamp on Baia, but Baia reaction look bang out of order.

Then he says Keane did not stamp
It wasn't a stamp though!

I have seen several such posts from him that prompt me to pen my virgin post :)

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 02:06 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Hmm, another whining gooner. Tell me what your motive in posting here. You claim your post is objective, then why called us manure then.

Now if are here trying to gloat over our loss, please go elsewhere, you ain't welcome. :alien:

manure? u think I started it. Way back in Man U's slide into Division1, the label manure already started. If you are a true Man U fan, you should know this FACT.

gloat? I got no time for this man. I have seen soccer long enuff to know winning and losing is just a cycle. It is only a matter of time for Man U ti start winning or Arsenal to lose their first league game.

And please, in that same intial post, I also refer Arsenal as Arse.

Haizzzz...........

lennardseah
26-02-2004, 03:16 PM
isit an coincidence that the manager and club's also have ARSE in front?

Ch3tah_39
26-02-2004, 04:21 PM
nvm got second leg mahz.. ma utd muz win....

flep1
26-02-2004, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by pale
A tired and jaded performance. Some players were playing like they didn't want to be there. No passion .. No Flair... Nothing.

The only player that i saw showing urgeny after Man Utd went 1 goal down was Ronaldo. The rest..Sigh.

One of the worse performance I have seen from Ruud. Couldn't keep the ball...miss placed passes and he's not the only guilty one.

I also felt SAF got the tactics wrong.

well..we'll see what happens in a fortmight.

Back to the EPL. Away to Fulham.

SAF is old liao. should retire

RVN
26-02-2004, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by cracker

Why don't we just kept a clean sheet to make our job easier, seem like it is hard now without Rio.

One thing for certain , we have to score in the 2nd leg and play attacking football, not defensive last night. :alien:

yulee
26-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Manyoo seems to be on a down-hill slide right now...

RVN
26-02-2004, 08:55 PM
We need an assistant. Some **** players in our team need to be get rid of, we need fresh blood and quality players.

Totti76
26-02-2004, 09:41 PM
:( Poor performance!! WAT THE **** IS GOING ON???
We really need a defender...a good defender. Please no more Brown..and Keano...WATS THAT FOR!! Say people then got a red card himself...stupid...may b its time for him to go. I think SAF make a mistake too...Y O'shea din start...n y was he in right back when we need height in the middle...when that porto tall striker came on.. :confused:
Some may say that our strikers need to do better....but i see that the mid-field is afriad to move up to assist the forward...as they hv no confident in their defense..
2nd leg??? if silvest is back then may n may got hope & of cos brown dun play....fit or unfit...he was never good enough..
:(

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 10:10 PM
well said!

Anyway, there is no need for panic button since SAF's teams have always rise in the face of crisis.

If they failed to turn around this time, it might signal the era of SAF.

wadeva_lah
26-02-2004, 10:15 PM
no sh!t. no saf who up to the job?

Ch3tah_39
26-02-2004, 10:16 PM
is the defence problem la... hiya sianz lor

Totti76
26-02-2004, 10:29 PM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
no sh!t. no saf who up to the job?
My vote for Capello.. well may b he is another SAF clone..cos of his no nosense attitude..A top class manager with a good CV. As long we dun end up like Kops.....thats fine with me...y??
Cos i dun like to hear ppl say.." U'll will never walk AGAIN":D

P.S sorry kop fans...just try to brighten up the days for our guys
One man's fun is another hell...=p

leo_llw
26-02-2004, 10:52 PM
Hahaha...if someone is to go, surely Howler should be the first. :)

As for SAR, it will be hard to dislodge him since he still command the respect of the players and the fans. If his dispute regarding the horse can solve amicably, his position should not be threatened even if this season ends up barren.

samwise
27-02-2004, 06:25 AM
hello!

when mu lose to boro:

All fans cry for brown's head and threads were flying aorund as to which top class defender should buy.....

NOW,
when mu lost to porto...

running out of excuses and could not stand seeing their side lose the lustre, they want SAF's head!

CALL YOURSELF A FAN ??!! A FAN IS SOMEONE WHO WILL SUPPORT AND PROUDLY WEAR THE CLUB'S JERSEY EVEN WHEN THE CLUB DROPS DOWN TO NATIONWIDE CONFERENCE LEAGUE!!!

NOT ONLY WHEN THE TEAM WINS!

AND NOT CRY MOTHER CRY FATHER WHEN THE TEAM LOSE!

ok, some food for thought.... cheers to all mu fans... which kind are you?

:confused:

'I understand why he is a bit emotional. He has some top players in the world and they should be doing a lot better than that.

'You would be really sad if your team gets as clearly dominated as that by an opponent who has been built on maybe 10% of the budget"

Truth hurts, doesn't it?

pale
27-02-2004, 07:07 AM
Originally posted by samwise
hello!

when mu lose to boro:

All fans cry for brown's head and threads were flying aorund as to which top class defender should buy.....

NOW,
when mu lost to porto...

running out of excuses and could not stand seeing their side lose the lustre, they want SAF's head!

CALL YOURSELF A FAN ??!! A FAN IS SOMEONE WHO WILL SUPPORT AND PROUDLY WEAR THE CLUB'S JERSEY EVEN WHEN THE CLUB DROPS DOWN TO NATIONWIDE CONFERENCE LEAGUE!!!

'I understand why he is a bit emotional. He has some top players in the world and they should be doing a lot better than that.

'You would be really sad if your team gets as clearly dominated as that by an opponent who has been built on maybe 10% of the budget"

Truth hurts, doesn't it?

Are U a Man Utd Fan?

StormTrooper
27-02-2004, 08:01 AM
hello!

when mu lose to boro:

NOW,
when mu lost to porto...

Truth hurts, doesn't it?

did you say all cried for brown's head? i certainly did not. look here, do you expect us to praise the team when they play like crap? of course some are really immature demanding brown's sacking and crying for a new defender. but i feel its fair to criticise the team when they deserve it. we bother to kpkb because we care, not because we lost money.

i believe many of us will stick with the team even if we don't win anything this summer. although i can see some already deserting united now that their title chances look slim, most of us are still here and will still continue to be. so pls don't generalise.

lastly, we don't need smart alecs telling us how to be a fan.

wadeva_lah
27-02-2004, 08:53 AM
Hahaha...if someone is to go, surely Howler should be the first. :)

As for SAR, it will be hard to dislodge him since he still command the respect of the players and the fans. If his dispute regarding the horse can solve amicably, his position should not be threatened even if this season ends up barren. howler & sar?
sheesh?

yulee
27-02-2004, 09:06 AM
United stall without the spark of Beckham
Problems go further than back four

Ron Atkinson
Friday February 27, 2004
The Guardian

Manchester United are going through a crisis by their standards and I don't think it's all down to problems with their back four. I've felt for a while they have never really replaced David Beckham and that was obvious again against Porto.

Ruud van Nistelrooy admitted this week that United miss the England captain and people might assume he was talking about Beckham's ability to deliver quality crosses, free-kicks and passes. But it's about more than that.

Beckham gave United something defensively as well as going forward. He did a lot in terms of filling in holes and getting back to help the backline. At the moment United are a bit easy to get at down the sides, particularly on their right.

Because people talked about Beckham's crossing and set pieces, his defensive work was often overlooked. He had a good little tandem going with Gary Neville, which was probably strengthened by the fact that they're friends. If one of them was in trouble the other would bust a gut to help out.

I don't see the same barrier being put up down that flank now, whoever the personnel are. Opponents are able to get more crosses into the box and that's the last thing United need at a time when their backline is weak, particularly in the air, without Rio Ferdinand.

The problem is nobody's come to the fore who knows that right-hand position inside out and can fill in holes and break out. For major matches, Cristiano Ronaldo is basically a substitute, someone who can come on and often stretch teams. He can get at people in the last third but when the ball changes hands he's not the best at the moment at offering protection.

In fairness to him, I think he'd have been signed even if Beckham hadn't gone because he'd been earmarked by Sir Alex Ferguson as one for the future. But I think Alex hoped Kleberson would play on the right a lot this season and that hasn't happened.

Kleberson's a World Cup winner and you'd imagine he would be trusted for a game like Porto but he was on the bench. He's probably better suited to playing on the right than Paul Scholes, who got the nod there, so I guess he's not developed as United had hoped.

Scholes looked wasted in that wide role. All I can think is Alex wanted maximum energy in midfield and players who knew how to defend and get round the ball. He's tried all sorts of people on the right. It says something that Scholes, Ronaldo, Kleberson, Ryan Giggs and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer have all been used there, as have David Bellion and Chris Eagles.

United could do with being strong across midfield because the defence is struggling. It's makeshift because of Ferdinand's suspension and people are being moved around. At times on Wednesday it was a bit like watching United in Madrid last season. A lot of players stood there mesmerised. They didn't have the stature you'd expect from United players.

The belief also seems low, which is unusual, and it's not a foregone conclusion that United will overturn a 2-1 deficit, particularly without Roy Keane. The thing in their favour is that Porto have a dreadful record in England.

I think United need one of those high-tempo performances which will put Porto straight on the back foot. If they let Porto bed in, it could be difficult because you can see that Porto have some very good ball manipulators and are capable of scoring.

Things should be more straightforward for Arsenal and Chelsea in their second legs. They'll have to do something badly wrong to blow one-goal leads at home.

Arsenal didn't defend at the level they're capable of at Celta Vigo but I wouldn't be over-concerned by that. I always felt they could step up a gear if they needed and only complacency can cost them a quarter-final.

They'll know they won't be able to afford anything less than absolutely top level against the likes of Milan or Madrid and they should have learned two lessons in Vigo. It ought to have given them a reawakening about the way they deal with set plays and reminded their wide midfielders to work harder defensively. They can't afford to leave flank defenders exposed the way Gaël Clichy was in the second half.

The big test for Chelsea is whether they can deal with the expectancy against Stuttgart. I'm not totally sure they have that in their locker yet, but they should come through if they play close to their best because I don't over-fancy Stuttgart after seeing them at Old Trafford.

I hope Chelsea try to put Stuttgart under the cosh straight away and try to land the knockout. Of course they have to be sensible but just trying to see the game though with their 1-0 advantage would be dangerous.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope Manyoo can stop the rot soon...

samwise
27-02-2004, 09:06 AM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

the so-called fans who called for SAF's head:
Totti76
flep1

Totti76
27-02-2004, 09:18 AM
hello!

when mu lose to boro:

NOW,
when mu lost to porto...

Truth hurts, doesn't it?

How u expect us to cheer for our team when we know they can do better. Tell me..when u play ur sunday soccer, if ur team-mate dribble too much n lost the ball or can pass a simple ball or dun help to defend...do u give him a wake up call?? I do..y?? Cos i know he can do better...tell him.."play better leh, come back n help" n he will do better. I call that "passion".
I hv a frd (liverpool fan), he dun even care how liverpool do now...n he prefer to watch man u or arsenal match. At least we still care brubber..

Yes i did ask for Brown's head..inmature? I dun think so...I just want to improve our team..."Shape up or ship out"
I know this season we may end up w/o a trophy so just...buck up n try next season..of cos improve the team 1st...i dun think most of us like to see the same team next season...a defender at least...
There r a lot of diff fans...passion, optimistic, glory seeker, betting fans. Yeah i do bet...but i never go against man u...no matter who they face...even real madrid. I follow my heart rather then my head...=p but of cos i bet small in this case lah...:D

RuMmYtUb
27-02-2004, 09:27 AM
I'm sure we did not miss becks that much..

Totti76
27-02-2004, 09:27 AM

the so-called fans who called for SAF's head:
Totti76
flep1

HEY HEY..when did i ever ask for his head??
someone post "who is takin over if SAF goes...so i give my prefer manager..Capello that i like if SAF goes...I never say i want his head!!! I say i only want browns out...
U r not a man u fan...why dun u just crawl back to ur liitle hole...
U r arrogant cos gonner is doing well...one day and it will come when they fall flat...i will add another leg in their face...
:laugh:

ccloh
27-02-2004, 09:41 AM
let face it, u have in no position to question the abilities of SAF in managing the team and his tactic. how much soccer experience u have exposed to and how much he has exposed to. even our local club coaches are not his standard yet.

i don't see why there is an outcry of the debating issue. whether utd is in a slump or not, as a fan, u will always cheers them on each match.

tell me how many of u here supported utd in the whole of 80's and/or 70's and each season u was hoping them to win trophy and yet every season ended up empty-handed and worse still seeing their rival liverpool getting all those titles. fan in those days were never give up on some slump and this is how utd history is build on.

so what's the pt. of saying it is brown's fault, it is ferige's fault, etc. just carry on and support them as each match come by.

Totti76
27-02-2004, 10:08 AM
let face it, u have in no position to question the abilities of SAF in managing the team and his tactic. how much soccer experience u have exposed to and how much he has exposed to. even our local club coaches are not his standard yet.

i don't see why there is an outcry of the debating issue. whether utd is in a slump or not, as a fan, u will always cheers them on each match.

tell me how many of u here supported utd in the whole of 80's and/or 70's and each season u was hoping them to win trophy and yet every season ended up empty-handed and worse still seeing their rival liverpool getting all those titles. fan in those days were never give up on some slump and this is how utd history is build on.

so what's the pt. of saying it is brown's fault, it is ferige's fault, etc. just carry on and support them as each match come by.

Of cos I m not in position to question abilities of SAF but as a fan we do hv our say...not only we complain in SG..all over the world...As i say b4...we can perform better...sure alot of us will carrying on supporting Utd...
Of cos u r not having any problem cos arsenal is doing well...Congratulation...i m sure u had a say last season too...Thats wat fans r 4...HEAR THEIR VOICES....

StormTrooper
27-02-2004, 11:12 AM
we all have the right to air our views, whatever we might want to say. but if fergie chooses to stick with brown, there's nothing we can do but to trust fergie on that.

King_Henry
27-02-2004, 12:01 PM
Uncommitted and shaky team put up dismal display to go down to Porto

ALARM bells are ringing, the red alert is out, and soon it might be the death knell, if everyone else but Sir Alex Ferguson is right.

The way Manchester United were punctured 1-2 by FC Porto yesterday morning (Singapore time), one might ask with valid reason: Has he lost his touch?

Apparently so.

For the first time in his 18-year United career, the most celebrated club manager in English football seems to have found no answer in filling gaps previously plugged with uncanny mastery.

Think Eric Cantona, think Jaap Stam, or think Mark Hughes, Paul Ince, Andy Cole and Peter Schmeichel. All their departures were followed by titles.

But now, having taken more than two months to admit that defender Rio Ferdinand's absence is damaging United's season - and having no public objections to striker Ruud van Nistelrooy saying David Beckham's crosses are sorely missing - the evidence at Porto's new Dragon Stadium was almost terminal.

Culminating with skipper Roy Keane getting the red card on a technicality, United's demise is now no more an inflammation of the defence.

It has spread to every department, from van Nistelrooy to Tim Howard and even to new boy Louis Saha.

The snowballing effect of a disrupted defence has reached the foothills, finally.

And so, the anonymous parade in Porto stretched from van Nistelrooy and Saha playing their own games, to Ryan Giggs wading aimlessly, Paul Scholes going through the motions, Keane holding a watching brief, and poor Gary Neville and Wes Brown, the latest central defensive concoction, as unpalatable as those before them.

How now, cash cow? As Porto coach Jose Mourinho summed up so succinctly - and sarcastically - after a tunnel showdown with Ferguson: 'You would be really sad if your team get as clearly dominated as that by an opponent built on maybe 10 per cent of the budget.'

Exactly. It was a shabby, uncommitted United who allowed Porto all the time and space to penetrate, via Dmitri Alenichev down the right, Deco Souza in the middle, Benni McCarthy in the box, and Carlos Alberto from all directions.

The 19-year-old Carlos Alberto stands as Brazil's latest discovery, unveiled in perfect timing with the first match at the new Euro 2004 venue.

True to samba football, the bargain buy of 2.5 million euros (S$5.4 million) from Fluminense last month stroked, patted and dragged the ball with such artistry that he could waltz past two, three red shirts almost at will.

As United failed to cope, South African McCarthy exploited the thin Brown-Neville bond to score twice, first swivelling round in the 29th minute to strike Alenichev's cross on the half-volley.

Then, in the 77th minute, he rose high above Brown and Neville to head home Nuno Valente's long cross.

But, while those were well-crafted goals, United took an early 1-0 lead in the 14th minute with the only option afforded - the dead ball.

That, too, with luck involved as Porto's international goalkeeper Vitor Baia somehow failed to hold Scholes' 20-metre free-kick, allowing Quinton Fortune to score off the rebound.

After that, it was downhill all the way for United as Ferguson licked the wounds of defeat when it was supposed to be his game of celebration.

On a night when he had the distinction of becoming the first manager to reach 100 Champions League games, he was left pondering if his team would have enough confidence for the return leg at Old Trafford on March 9.

All United need is a 1-0 win to squeeze into the next round. But, after 13 goals have been conceded in six games, it looks like Ferguson has to pray for a miraculous recovery in order to win Europe's supreme silverware. Wrong?

ccloh
27-02-2004, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Totti76

Of cos u r not having any problem cos arsenal is doing well...Congratulation...i m sure u had a say last season too...Thats wat fans r 4...HEAR THEIR VOICES....

b4 u continue to post in this forum, do a checkup on which club i support first and also how long i have supported this club.

Totti76
27-02-2004, 01:25 PM

b4 u continue to post in this forum, do a checkup on which club i support first and also how long i have supported this club.

Ohh...mistook u for someone else..=p
My apology:blushed:
Well we hv the right to air our views...sure u hv urs n i hv mine..
Mayb u hv been thru the 70's n 80's where utd din win much..a few FA..but now utd r below par...n i m disappointed...sure u r too..we all r...:(
may b u r right...no use pointing finger at brown or anyone else..so lets hope we do well for the rest of the season...hope then utd can prove the critics wrong.
Guess I will shut my bloody mouth till end of season n pray utd do well...:D

Ch3tah_39
27-02-2004, 05:01 PM

did you say all cried for brown's head? i certainly did not. look here, do you expect us to praise the team when they play like crap? of course some are really immature demanding brown's sacking and crying for a new defender. but i feel its fair to criticise the team when they deserve it. we bother to kpkb because we care, not because we lost money.

i believe many of us will stick with the team even if we don't win anything this summer. although i can see some already deserting united now that their title chances look slim, most of us are still here and will still continue to be. so pls don't generalise.

stam
27-02-2004, 07:17 PM
ronaldinho damn good...wonder what if man utd have signed him.. haizzz:(

yulee
27-02-2004, 07:25 PM
Cantona factor haunts Ferguson
Keane's latest transgression shows Old Trafford badly missing one of its favourite sons

Daniel Taylor
Friday February 27, 2004
The Guardian

Manchester United's season is threatening to unravel because of their habit of treating the rule book as if choosing from an à la carte menu - "this, this, not sure about that one, this, this . . . "
Of all the things that Sir Alex Ferguson had anticipated influencing their season, he could never have imagined that suspensions would play such a major part. Unless, of course, they involved Arsenal's players.

Ferguson, that famed disciplinarian, once fined a player for overtaking him on the way out of the training ground and prides himself on the sense of good order that has generally existed at Old Trafford compared to Highbury.

So he will be appalled that Roy Keane's sending-off in Wednesday's 2-1 defeat away to Porto, plus Rio Ferdinand's eight-month suspension and impending Paul Scholes and Gary Neville bans, are enticing the first comparisons with the ruinous effect that Eric Cantona's enforced absence for attacking a Crystal Palace fan had on their 1994-1995 season.

Uefa's disciplinary committee will meet on Monday to decide whether to increase the automatic one-match ban that accompanied the 11th red card of Keane's tempestuous career.

In the meantime, the Football Association's video review panel is investigating provisional dates on which Scholes will probably be suspended for three matches for lashing out at Middlesbrough's Doriva.

Gary Neville will miss the next four domestic matches for butting Manchester City's Steve McManaman, and, lurking in the background, Ferdinand's team of lawyers are preparing for his appeal with an independent FA commission on March 18 and 19.

Ferdinand leads a strange and presumably ill-at-ease existence right now, training all week then watching silently from the stands as his team-mates struggle without him. Rightly or wrongly he is more to blame than anyone for the defensive malaise that has persistently undermined United over the past month. Yet in wages and bonuses he will have collected around £2.4m by the time his suspension ends.

Does he feel guilty? Well, he did not look too troubled when the Manchester Evening News pictured him on Wednesday night climbing into his new £110,000 silver Bentley GT Sports Coupe outside one of Manchester's most genteel eateries. The more United founder the more ridiculous it seems that nobody from the higher echelons of Old Trafford has even dared criticise him for missing his now-infamous drugs test, never mind deem it a matter worthy of in-house discipline.

Keane will not be granted the same leniency and will remorsefully accept his fine of a week's wages, some £90,000. United's captain has spent so many years creating a monster out of himself that the man is often misjudged. He is never slow to speak out when he believes those around him have let themselves down but, as his own fiercest critic, he will be disgusted with himself for living up to his most popular caricature, that of the brilliant but unhinged midfielder with an addiction to controversy.

Beneath the febrile temper, the slightly threatening stare and the impenetrable aura, there is a sensitive side that only the few closest to him are allowed to see properly. He will be appalled, for instance, to learn that in the 11 years since he signed for England's biggest club his various suspensions now amounts to 30 matches - not far off a full Premiership season.

Nothing will hurt more, however, than the cold realisation that, by sinking his studs into Vitor Baia's midriff inside the Estadio do Dragao, the debilitating effect it will have on the return leg at Old Trafford on Tuesday week means a two- or three-match ban could now feasibly run into next season.

"For us it is so much better if Roy Keane is not going to be there," Benni McCarthy, the Porto striker whose two goals won the game, volunteered yesterday. "He is the most inspirational player they have. I don't think there is another player like him who talks as much and drives the team on to win and do their best. In terms of him being suspended, we have something extra positive on our side as well as leading 2-1."

Ferguson will be encouraged by news that Mikaël Silvestre could be available but, for all the attacking flair of Porto, he is finding the authorities equally robust opponents. It is reaching that stage of the season when he traditionally aims a few barbs in the direction of Arsenal, only this time he will not be able to take the moral high ground.

· Roberto Carlos will also face a disciplinary hearing next week after allegedly hitting Martin Demichelis of Bayern Munich in the face during Real Madrid's Champions League 1-1 draw on Wednesday. Demi-chelis earned a yellow card for his tackle on the Brazilian left-back, who went unpunished when he retaliated and went on to score Real's equaliser.

Suspensions

Rio Ferdinand Started eight-month suspension on January 20 after missing a drug test.

Gary Neville Suspended for the next four domestic matches after being sent off in the FA Cup tie against Manchester City.

Roy Keane Suspended for the return leg with Porto after his sending-off on Wednesday night. Ban could be increased to three matches.

Paul Scholes Charged by the FA with violent behaviour after allegedly striking the Middlesbrough midfielder Doriva. Could be given a three-match suspension

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sigh! How did it ever come to this...:(

RVN
27-02-2004, 07:37 PM
Benni is playing mind games. Porto engaged in similar tactics ahead of the UEFA Cup final if memory serves correct - but Utd are too experienced to let them have any impact.

If he think we can't survive without Keane, all the more we have to beat them by 2 goals in the 2nd leg.

Totti76
27-02-2004, 07:52 PM
Originally posted by yulee
Cantona factor haunts Ferguson

Sigh! How did it ever come to this...:(
Dun worry...utd can get pass all these problem...
Gary? - his bro can take his place..as a right back...then Butt or Kleberson can play in the middle of the park

Keano? - Easy..Butt take his place...Thank God utd din sell Butt away in Jan..

Scholes? - C. Ronaldo or Kleberson can play in his role...n Kleberson is getting better each game...if he got enough game to get used to the english game..he is gd addition to the squad..

There is no problem....dun worry...;)

RVN
27-02-2004, 07:59 PM
Silvestre being injured doesnt soften the blow either.

Its a real test of character, time for the younger ones to show thier worth.

Times for the likes of Kleberson, Ronaldo, Fortune, Brown, Phil Neville, O'Shea, Butt and others shown their true worth to cope with the loss of key players.

StormTrooper
27-02-2004, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Its a real test of character, time for the younger ones to show thier worth.

Times for the likes of Kleberson, Ronaldo, Fortune, Brown, Phil Neville, O'Shea, Butt and others shown their true worth to cope with the loss of key players.

agree......afterall, they're gonna be the future key players. now's the best time to prove their worth.

if they pass the test, they'll beat the best.

Totti76
27-02-2004, 08:25 PM
How abt the youngster?? may b give Eagles, Richardson, Djordjic and etc a chance....has been a long time since the youth squad break into the 1st team...

RVN
27-02-2004, 08:31 PM
How abt the youngster?? may b give Eagles, Richardson, Djordjic and etc a chance....has been a long time since the youth squad break into the 1st team...

They won't feature in the first-team yet, sad to say. Djordjic has already left the club, I have high hopes for Eagles and Richardson though making the grade in the first-team in the near future

RVN
27-02-2004, 08:48 PM
Wes Brown's return to form and fitness is offering Manchester United's some respite in the face of severe defensive problems, manager Alex Ferguson said on Friday.

United will be without three key members of their back four, Rio Ferdinand, Gary Neville and Mikael Silvestre, for Saturday's premier league game away to Fulham at Loftus Road in London.

Ferguson believes, however, that Brown is now ready to play a key role more than a month after returning from knee surgery.

"It's unfortunate that at the moment it's the back four that's suffering all the time," Ferguson told a news conference.

"Gary has got a suspension, which we could have done without, and of course there's Rio's suspension and Mikael's injury.

"But one of the things that does encourage me is that Wes Brown is getting better all the time. I thought his performance on Wednesday was outstanding.

"It was more of what we expect of Wes Brown and when he gets his game right, and he will get better as the weeks go on, then he is one of the best defenders in the country.

"That gives me great optimism that things are not as bad as they look at the moment."

Brown partnered Neville in central defence in United's Champions League match at Porto, which the Portuguese side won 2-1 on Wednesday.

United have kept only two clean sheets this year, one of which was at third-division Northampton Town in the FA Cup.

Neville now starts a four-match domestic ban following his sending-off against Manchester City in the FA Cup a fortnight ago, while Silvestre misses the trip to Loftus Road because of an ankle injury.

John O'Shea may, therefore, partner Brown in the centre of defence, unless captain Roy Keane is asked to fill in.

United go to Fulham trailing premier league leaders Arsenal by seven points with 13 game to go and many writing off their chances of retaining the championship.

"That has happened many times over the years, and the only thing you can do is keep on doing what you're good at and win football matches," Ferguson said.

"That's always been the criteria here and in the situation we are in at the moment it's plain and simple. We have to win the games."

Recent signing Louis Saha needs to shake off a knock sustained in mid-week to face his former club in the first of two meetings between the sides in the space of eight days, with Fulham due at Old Trafford in the FA Cup a week later.

Provisional squad: Howard, Carroll, Brown, O'Shea, Fortune, P Neville, Forlan, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Scholes, Butt, Keane, Solskjaer, Kleberson, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Saha, Bellion, Pugh

Totti76
27-02-2004, 09:05 PM
Originally posted by RVN

They won't feature in the first-team yet, sad to say. Djordjic has already left the club, I have high hopes for Eagles and Richardson though making the grade in the first-team in the near future
:o last heard Djordjic is on a yr loan to Red Star. Thanks for updating me..
Next few wks will b a real test for utd...hope utd can cope with the loss of key players...

leo_llw
27-02-2004, 09:37 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Benni is playing mind games. Porto engaged in similar tactics ahead of the UEFA Cup final if memory serves correct - but Utd are too experienced to let them have any impact.

If he think we can't survive without Keane, all the more we have to beat them by 2 goals in the 2nd leg.

Dun need 2 goals lah....a 1-0 win is enuff.

ccloh
27-02-2004, 10:54 PM
utd is in a stage of transition from the old and experience players to the young and player for the future. no transition is smooth so expect hump and bump here and there. so what's there to worry. looking at the far sight, these players after going through these rough patches will be the star of future. no pain no gain as it is always is.

so if empty-handed this season, also never mind :)

RuMmYtUb
28-02-2004, 12:46 AM
utd is in a stage of transition from the old and experience players to the young and player for the future. no transition is smooth so expect hump and bump here and there. so what's there to worry. looking at the far sight, these players after going through these rough patches will be the star of future. no pain no gain as it is always is.

The transition couldn't been worse for the loss of our most expensive centre back..
defensive problems more than transition..

wadeva_lah
28-02-2004, 02:15 AM
looking for new summer signings. :D

pale
28-02-2004, 02:31 AM

Nicely said..I have np with Man Utd having a barren year

My beef is with performance like the Porto game. Seriously..i see until damn angry.

Play with pride and passion..Lose also too bad. I juz hope it was a blip.

Let's see how they tackle the Fulham game

pct328
28-02-2004, 07:20 AM
i finally got ticket for MU game on 3/4/04.....im going to old trafford....actually got another ticket for FA cup but sell it away..:bounce:

stam
28-02-2004, 10:27 AM
Originally posted by pct328
i finally got ticket for MU game on 3/4/04.....im going to old trafford....actually got another ticket for FA cup but sell it away..:bounce:

wow!! lucky lad here!! congrats!:)

Ch3tah_39
28-02-2004, 10:54 AM
hmmmm... man utd muz win the porto manz...

yulee
28-02-2004, 11:30 AM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted his club's recent struggles have affected confidence in the camp.

"There is a lack of confidence at the moment," admitted Ferguson.

"When you are losing goals it does affect you and it's unfortunate that it's the back four which is suffering from injuries and suspension.

"We have been written off many times over the years and the only way to respond is by winning matches."

United have lost Rio Ferdinand possibly for the season, while Mikael Silvestre is injured and Gary Neville is set for a four-match ban.

But Ferguson backed young centre-half Wes Brown to come good.

"One of the things that does encourage me is that Wes Brown is getting better all the time," he said.

"His performance on Wednesday was outstanding. It was more of what we expect of him.
"He will get better as the weeks go on and when he gets his game right there is no doubt in my mind that he is one of the best defenders in the country."

Ferguson has seen his side slip seven points behind Arsenal in the race for the Premiership title and he admitted his side face a difficult task to retain their trophy.

"The situation we find ourselves in at the moment is a simple one: we need to win every game."

United striker Louis Saha returns to face the Fulham fans for the first time since a £12.8m switch from the Cottagers.

"If a player leaves a club he's going to get slaughtered the first time he goes back. It's not unusual and we can expect that," Ferguson added.

"You never know, but I think Louis can expect an unwelcome ovation."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sigh...:(

RVN
28-02-2004, 12:00 PM
Playing Scholes on the right is a waste, I dun understand this, Ronaldo should be playing there, at least not until Solskjaer is fully fit and even then we will have to see. Scholes should play in the middle, Kelberson can't play on the right either. Fletcher might be suitable on a lower div team. Bellion, hmm, a few months ago he was okay and scored a couple but dropped in form aka inconsistent. Ronaldo is our only choice and I'm very disappointed Sir Alex decided to play defensive football against Porto and just let them beat on us. :(

Totti76
28-02-2004, 01:24 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Playing Scholes on the right is a waste, I dun understand this, Ronaldo should be playing there, at least not until Solskjaer is fully fit and even then we will have to see. Scholes should play in the middle, Kelberson can't play on the right either. Fletcher might be suitable on a lower div team. Bellion, hmm, a few months ago he was okay and scored a couple but dropped in form aka inconsistent. Ronaldo is our only choice and I'm very disappointed Sir Alex decided to play defensive football against Porto and just let them beat on us. :(
Well I think he got no choice. With the defenses in this shape...SAF has to be denfensive...Ronaldo dun defend much n he dun track back...if he play utd would lost by a bigger margin.
Tonite match i think he will field the same team as well..except O'shea comin in for Gary...I dun expect much a draw n perform better than porto match....I m happy liao.. :)

RuMmYtUb
28-02-2004, 02:58 PM
Originally posted by RVN

I suppose SAF is scared that Ronaldo will be burned out...
but for now, i think we dun have much choice..
we really need the width of Giggs and Ronaldo so that our attack won't be so predictable..

RVN
28-02-2004, 08:39 PM

I suppose SAF is scared that Ronaldo will be burned out...
but for now, i think we dun have much choice..
we really need the width of Giggs and Ronaldo so that our attack won't be so predictable..

yeah, thats my point. ;)

RuMmYtUb
29-02-2004, 01:01 AM
Fark!
Another louya performance...
2nd half's attack totally no bite... defence was poor, passes going astray AGAIN !
even Scholes was sloppy at times. :mad:
well done man, we've juz presented the trophy to highbury..

Totti76
29-02-2004, 01:02 AM
Well a draw again...as I say...draw happy liao...and utd did perform better than the last match. All Utd need now is a little bit of luck...I think instead of looking infront, turn ard n look behind...Chelsea closing in...:(

Totti76
29-02-2004, 01:08 AM
:o Correction...Chelsea is infront...drop to 3rd place : (...but lucky Magpies is still far away...

King_Henry
29-02-2004, 01:17 AM
SAF has overrated himself again. He leaves world class players on the bench still thinking he can win or walk over teams which aint the case anymore. He also has too much pride and didnt swallow it with the race horse business, which IMO affected the team and Man Utd's PR. He let Becks go because of his "lifestyle and wife". He also buys unknown future talent instead of spending extra cash to buy the likes of Ronaldinho. You don't see Wenger leaving Henry or Pires on te bench often.

RVN
29-02-2004, 01:18 AM
3rd place will be pathetic, damm it. :(

Title is gone now, I dun understand fergie, left out ruud and giggs on the bench for what, FA Cup and CL our only realistic chance of silverware. We must thumped fulham next week. :mad:

Totti76
29-02-2004, 01:25 AM
Originally posted by RVN
3rd place will be pathetic, damm it. :(

Title is gone now, I dun understand fergie, left out ruud and giggs on the bench for what, FA Cup and CL our only realistic chance of silverware. We must thumped fulham next week. :mad:

Ruud look tired in porto game...guess thats y he is on the bench..Giggs:confused:
I think FA Cup is more possible...CL i dun even dare to dream abt it...sad to say...2nd leg..may b a draw will porto...:( :(

RVN
29-02-2004, 01:40 AM
HOW IS IT POSIBLE TO NOT GIVE VAN DER SAAR THE RED CARD AND UNITED A PENALTY WHEN HE DRAGGED DOWN SAHA INSIDE THE AREA AS THE LAST MAN... it's a ****ing disgrace

we still play ****ty enough to deserve the draw, blunder by Carroll as anyone paying atention would have had no problems saving that shot, why did we rest howard? he certainly doesen't need to be rested at the moment

only good thing is that Brown played well throughout the match, except from when he lost Boa Morte

we were robbed of victory, Nothing is really going our way at the moment, not an awful lot you can do about it, luck deserted us and it is with arse. :mad:

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 01:53 AM
okie at least a draw... wes picking up liao, a gd sign...
lac guyz... at least at cl match sec leg against porto, looks more likely to win lerr....=p

arcturuz
29-02-2004, 01:55 AM
Originally posted by RVN

we were robbed of victory, Nothing is really going our way at the moment, not an awful lot you can do about it, luck deserted us and it is with arse. :mad:

you said it yourself, what i feel is that man utd's league wins in recent years are purely luck

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 01:56 AM
Originally posted by King_Henry
SAF has overrated himself again. He leaves world class players on the bench still thinking he can win or walk over teams which aint the case anymore. He also has too much pride and didnt swallow it with the race horse business, which IMO affected the team and Man Utd's PR. He let Becks go because of his "lifestyle and wife". He also buys unknown future talent instead of spending extra cash to buy the likes of Ronaldinho. You don't see Wenger leaving Henry or Pires on te bench often.

:rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 01:57 AM
Originally posted by arcturuz

you said it yourself, what i feel is that man utd's league wins in recent years are purely luck

other...:rolleyes:

RVN
29-02-2004, 02:00 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson did not seem too despondent after Manchester United slipped nine points behind Arsenal in the title race and conceded second place to Chelsea, but he did have strong words of criticism for referees and Premiership observers.
The Scot feels the refereeing bodies are not doing their jobs properly after seeing Louis Saha collide with Edwin van der Sar inside the area only for referee Alan Wiley to wave away strong appeals for a penalty.

"I've seen it and I won't even dignify whether it was a penalty or not," protested Ferguson. "It's time the match observers earned their money. I don't see any result from what they are doing.

"With professional referees and match observers, we shouldn't need to say a word. They should be doing their job.

"There's this new dawning of football with professional referees but it's very questionable, they don't know what they are doing. Sometimes it happens, when you're not having a good run, you don't get the breaks either."

The Red Devils boss was pretty honest in admitting Fulham maybe deserved a draw after a spirited second half display, and admits it is an uphill task to overhaul Arsenal at the Premiership summit.

"It could've been a fair result," stated Ferguson. "It was a bit of a battle. We played really well in the first half and looked really solid but they mixed their game up, played a lot of high balls on top of us and made it an 'up and at them' game.

"We had control in the first half, our attacking play was very good and I was comfortable with that. I couldn't see us losing a goal but young Darren Fletcher got caught in possession and they caught us out. (Luis) Boa Morte's done well to beat Wes Brown in the last third and it maybe went through Roy (Carroll)'s legs, but he hit it well.

"It's retrievable, you don't expect me to say anything else, but it's an uphill struggle."

With Fulham next up for United in the FA Cup, Ferguson admitted Roy Keane could again be deployed in the centre of defence.

"We need the organisational part Roy can bring," he added. "It's worked well in the main. Roy and Gary (Neville) have great experience and they can talk, it's important with young players around.

"If we don't have (Mikael) Silvestre back, and it's looking doubtful, it's a good option."

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=188510

ya, its was a damn penalty.every pundit and match analyser on tv said that.
referees are spoiling the game.
does every ref have an anti-man utd campaign this season?:mad:
title gone liao,we must fight for 2nd place and CL and FA Cup.

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 02:02 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson did not seem too despondent after Manchester United slipped nine points behind Arsenal in the title race and conceded second place to Chelsea, but he did have strong words of criticism for referees and Premiership observers.
The Scot feels the refereeing bodies are not doing their jobs properly after seeing Louis Saha collide with Edwin van der Sar inside the area only for referee Alan Wiley to wave away strong appeals for a penalty.

"I've seen it and I won't even dignify whether it was a penalty or not," protested Ferguson. "It's time the match observers earned their money. I don't see any result from what they are doing.

"With professional referees and match observers, we shouldn't need to say a word. They should be doing their job.

"There's this new dawning of football with professional referees but it's very questionable, they don't know what they are doing. Sometimes it happens, when you're not having a good run, you don't get the breaks either."

The Red Devils boss was pretty honest in admitting Fulham maybe deserved a draw after a spirited second half display, and admits it is an uphill task to overhaul Arsenal at the Premiership summit.

"It could've been a fair result," stated Ferguson. "It was a bit of a battle. We played really well in the first half and looked really solid but they mixed their game up, played a lot of high balls on top of us and made it an 'up and at them' game.

"We had control in the first half, our attacking play was very good and I was comfortable with that. I couldn't see us losing a goal but young Darren Fletcher got caught in possession and they caught us out. (Luis) Boa Morte's done well to beat Wes Brown in the last third and it maybe went through Roy (Carroll)'s legs, but he hit it well.

"It's retrievable, you don't expect me to say anything else, but it's an uphill struggle."

With Fulham next up for United in the FA Cup, Ferguson admitted Roy Keane could again be deployed in the centre of defence.

"We need the organisational part Roy can bring," he added. "It's worked well in the main. Roy and Gary (Neville) have great experience and they can talk, it's important with young players around.

"If we don't have (Mikael) Silvestre back, and it's looking doubtful, it's a good option."

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=188510

ya, its wasa damn penalty.every pundit and match analyser on tv said that.
referees are spoiling the game.
does every ref have an anti-man utd campaign this season?:mad:
title gone liao,we must fight for 2nd palce and CL.

yes title gone liao... ya 2nd or 3 rd finish okie liao... best is concentrate CL against porto to qualify to quater final..... and fa cup also... get this two things rite first...

RuMmYtUb
29-02-2004, 02:35 AM
Seriously so what if we could advance to the semi finals of CL..
no point cos our defence so thin, go there let the likes of Real or Juve wack... :(

I think FA cup is the best chance from wad i see...
We can only win the EPL unless there's a miracle, if not, it's as gd as gonez.

cracker
29-02-2004, 08:10 AM
the performance of Man Utd in Jan and Feb is really beyond words.... many pple may point to the ban of Ferdinand....but looking at the midfield dept...only a few of them played with enthusiasm !!!! yesterday was scholes,,,,who seemed to be strolling ard....on another day it could be giggs, butt or phil nevile !!!

I only managed to watch the second half of both Porto and Fulham games.......and the passings were awful !!!!

maybe the "curse" is true

1) U dun win the title if u won the Charity Shield during the season curtain raiser
2) Utd usually returned empty handed when they dun have a assistant coach....(95 , 98, 2002,,,and now 2004)

this yr marked the 10th anniversary of Utd's first double...but chances are they will get nothing (they dun deserve anything!)...

the ability to finish second will be their best result this season !

Fergie will need to do a major cleanup during the post season....

samwise
29-02-2004, 09:03 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

yes title gone liao... ya 2nd or 3 rd finish okie liao...

noticing the way that they are playing, frankly, i do not know what your fergie is doing.

the team selection as if man utd is leading the league by 10 points.

anyway, your team may need to get ready to qualify for CL next season...

or even *touchwood* UEFA CUP! *gasp*!!!!

when was the last time man utd played in uefa cup?

Ronaldo7
29-02-2004, 09:21 AM
a season to forget . lets hope we can still win something this season and come back fighting next season

ccloh
29-02-2004, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by King_Henry

ha ha pls lah, arsenal doesn't have as big the squad as utd that is why u don't see him resting the two.

spending $$$ on unkown ??? kleberson world cup winner and highly rated by the ex-brazilian coach and u call that unknown ???

buying a player in youth age is always unknown and a risk there. u don't seem to know that also that is absolutely funny. no manager in this world including wenger and ferige DOES NOT make a wrong investment in players that is for sure.

ccloh
29-02-2004, 09:52 AM

if i were u, i won't make this remark simply 'cos if u looking back at the history of epl since it was started in the early 90's. at that time the foreign players rule of max 3 on the field (including EU players) and utd successfully blooming the local talents of giggs, scholes and co has provided the big gap in standard between them and other teams and help utd dominate.

it is when the rule was lifted then other clubs started to import EU players to narrow the standard between them and utd. after the narrowing and utd still manage to win the title on and off is not something i called LUCK. if u said pure LUCK, does it mean i could put any tom, dick or hary into the match and LUCK will win for me anyway.

just imagine arsenal w/o their EU players, can they win anything ??? look at arsenal and chelski and even liverpool, not even half the squad is local players ????

pls consolidate some convincing fact b4 u wanted to argue back.

ccloh
29-02-2004, 09:54 AM
title may be gone, still have FA and CL. even ended up empty handed also not a bad thing as each time they failed, the next season they will bounce back strongly immediately.

OKK77
29-02-2004, 10:10 AM

Do feel free to have a dig at us when our team is dropping points and making critical mistakes. (-;

leo_llw
29-02-2004, 11:20 AM
Originally posted by RVN
HOW IS IT POSIBLE TO NOT GIVE VAN DER SAAR THE RED CARD AND UNITED A PENALTY WHEN HE DRAGGED DOWN SAHA INSIDE THE AREA AS THE LAST MAN... it's a ****ing disgrace

we still play ****ty enough to deserve the draw, blunder by Carroll as anyone paying atention would have had no problems saving that shot, why did we rest howard? he certainly doesen't need to be rested at the moment

only good thing is that Brown played well throughout the match, except from when he lost Boa Morte

Aiyah....you can say luck is not with you etc.... but then luck has always been fair.

Manure have benefitted from it and so has other teams. Arsenal has their share of bad luck too, like Keown's last few minutes own goal in last year title race draw with Bolton etc.

But then in this scenario, Manure can only blame themselves. if SAF had field his first 11, I think winning should not be a problem at all.

Even against Wolves in the EPL, Arsenal even field their entire first 11, even though their shadow 11 had beaten Wolves 5-1 in an earlier FA Cup tie. The first team scrape thru 2-1.

Imagine if Wenger had field the reserves...we would have lost the game.

SAF should wake up that this is no longer in the 90s.....his team is in transition and other teams have caught up.

Man United is no longer untouchables. :cool:

redstorm
29-02-2004, 11:26 AM

That's one of the biggest jokes I have heard in my lifetime. Another case of sour grapes. If any team wins the title, give them the credit they deserved. If Arsenal or even any team wins the title this season, I would say congratulation to them. It's not easy to win the league title given the stiff competition where u need a team of top quality, skill and a very good manager to bring u to that level. Nobody can depend on pure luck to win a league title. If pure luck can bring u the treble, FA Cups and the league titles, why invest so much on top quality players. Just leave to pure luck to see you thru. Tell that to Arsenal too. If pure luck is so critical and play a very important role, so please, if u are still in school, throw away your books and pray to Lady Luck to bail you out in your exams or if u are working, don't work hard and leave everything to luck to help u climb up the corporate ladder. And finally, good luck 'cos u need plenty of it. :rolleyes:

Yellowfin
29-02-2004, 11:29 AM

That's one of the biggest jokes I have heard in my lifetime. If luck is so critical and play a very important role, so please, if u are still in school, throw away your books and pray to Lady Luck to bail you out or if u are working, don't work hard and leave everything to luck to help u climb up the corporate ladder. And finally, good luck 'cos u need plenty of it. Ciao.

:laugh: :laugh:

Yellowfin
29-02-2004, 11:32 AM
It seem like the current crop of Man U players do not like to chase for the ball or close down on opposing player that have the ball.

They tend to wait for the ball to pass to their feet. I hope this will be corrected very soon.

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 12:18 PM

noticing the way that they are playing, frankly, i do not know what your fergie is doing.

:eek: :rolleyes:

leo_llw
29-02-2004, 12:53 PM

if i were u, i won't make this remark simply 'cos if u looking back at the history of epl since it was started in the early 90's. at that time the foreign players rule of max 3 on the field (including EU players) and utd successfully blooming the local talents of giggs, scholes and co has provided the big gap in standard between them and other teams and help utd dominate.

Actually I agree that Manchester did a great job in the 80s consolidating while the Merseyside is enjoying total domination.

They established a pool of great training staffs, training facilities and youth programme. Recruitment of Peter Kenyon did wonders in creating United as a global brand, thus creating inflows of money from advertising, sponsership, merchanise sales and board listings.

The amt of cash generated allow for players acquisition, plus the class of 92(this is luck) made United dominant in the 90s....

Until of course a certain Arsene Wenger and more recently a chequebook wielding Russian came into the scene :laugh:

Lucks plays a part but hard work and management quality is the core. SAF had been brillant in the past but there will come a time when a fresh stalwart is needed at the helm.

It may be as soon as next season =p

orca_sea
29-02-2004, 01:09 PM

That's one of the biggest jokes I have heard in my lifetime. Any case of sour grapes. If any team wins the title, give them the credit they deserved. If Arsenal or even any team wins the title this season, I would say congratulation to them. It's not easy to win the league title given the stiff competition where u need a team of top quality, skill and a very good manager to bring u to that level. Nobody can depend on pure luck to win a league title. If pure luck can bring u the treble, FA Cups and the league titles, why invest so much on top quality players. Just leave to pure luck to see you thru. Tell that to Arsenal too. If pure luck is so critical and play a very important role, so please, if u are still in school, throw away your books and pray to Lady Luck to bail you out in your exams or if u are working, don't work hard and leave everything to luck to help u climb up the corporate ladder. And finally, good luck 'cos u need plenty of it. :rolleyes:

Very true ..

RVN
29-02-2004, 01:11 PM

**** you, no way will we be in the UEFA Cup. :alien:

RVN
29-02-2004, 01:15 PM

Actually I agree that Manchester did a great job in the 80s consolidating while the Merseyside is enjoying total domination.

They established a pool of great training staffs, training facilities and youth programme. Recruitment of Peter Kenyon did wonders in creating United as a global brand, thus creating inflows of money from advertising, sponsership, merchanise sales and board listings.

The amt of cash generated allow for players acquisition, plus the class of 92(this is luck) made United dominant in the 90s....

Until of course a certain Arsene Wenger and more recently a chequebook wielding Russian came into the scene :laugh:

Lucks plays a part but hard work and management quality is the core. SAF had been brillant in the past but there will come a time when a fresh stalwart is needed at the helm.

It may be as soon as next season =p

An assitant manger is the one needed, I think its basically because Fergie isnt the most tactically minded manager in the world. His real qualities lie elsewhere in the management field, like motivation etc. He's not crap at tactics but I think the likes of Carlos and Mc Claren were better, which brought an extra dimension to our game

pale
29-02-2004, 03:15 PM
Looking at the table. EPL title damn hard to Retain.

Only CL and FA left. BUT Man Utd will bounce back.:bounce:

IF end of season Man Utd ended up empty handed. I want to see Man Utd TRUE fans still stand behind them and give support.

IF Arsenal really do the Treble or even just win EPL alone. I will say well done to them coz they really played well to get it. coz Credit muz be given where credit is due.

WHAT i Do not like to see is PPL (guess who):D comng into our thread and start taking cheap shots at us.

Or starting threads that are really tasteless and pointless.

Cheers.:)

RVN
29-02-2004, 03:23 PM
Arsenal fans and other anti-united ****ers love to rub it in, leo_llw, flinchy, samwise. :mad:

go on.... laugh!
united till i die!
so what if they do not win the epl title.the fa cup and cl are still up for grabs.
and there is always a next season in football. ;)

Ronaldo7
29-02-2004, 03:27 PM
Man Utd ahead of Inter Milan, Juventus in Deco race
tribalfootball.com - February 29, 2004

Manchester United have stolen a march on Italian clubs in the race for Porto playmaker Deco.
The Portuguese international is ready to leave Porto at the end of the season and has attracted enquiries from Inter Milan and Juventus.

But United have taken advantage of their Champions League tie with Porto by opening talks over Deco. It's understood United are prepared to offer £20 million for the midfield ace.

samwise
29-02-2004, 04:00 PM
when mu play sporting lisbon, they went on to buy Ronaldo.

when they lost to fulham, they buy saha

after seeing rooney run riots during the 4-3 match, there are talks about buying him.

now, lost to porto, buying deco

hush66
29-02-2004, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Arsenal fans and other anti-united ****ers love to rub it in, leo_llw, flinchy, samwise. :mad:

Yes, and they claim that Man Utd fans are the worst lot. :sarcastic

hush66
29-02-2004, 04:38 PM

after seeing rooney run riots during the 4-3 match, there are talks about buying him.

We've lost to Arsenal before. Didn't buy any players from them. Same goes for Wolves. Did we lose to PSV before buying Ruud? :sarcastic

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 05:31 PM

who dun wan gd player

ccloh
29-02-2004, 05:56 PM
Looking at the table. EPL title damn hard to Retain.

WHAT i Do not like to see is PPL (guess who):D comng into our thread and start taking cheap shots at us.

Or starting threads that are really tasteless and pointless.

Cheers.:)

tell u what, these ppl are nothing but a role model for "WORST FAN" of any club as far as i am concern. well if u ever want to turn into a nasty fan, just join and follow them.

i don't suppose any club in the world will want them as a fan for sure.

stam
29-02-2004, 06:38 PM
DAMN! when was our last win!!! argh.....:mad:

RVN
29-02-2004, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by stam
DAMN! when was our last win!!! argh.....:mad:

last against Southampton, about 4 weeks ago, mans thats awful. :mad:

Ronaldo7
29-02-2004, 06:53 PM
Ferguson's rallying call

Sir Alex Ferguson refused to write off Manchester United's title hopes after they fell nine points behind Arsenal after a draw at Fulham.
"It's an uphill fight, no question of that," said Ferguson. "We know that and I think everybody else knows that.

"But we're capable of winning matches and could go on a run of victories, which is what we need."

Ferguson was unhappy United were not awarded a penalty and added: "It's time match officials earn their money."

The target of Ferguson's fury was Alan Wiley's decision not to punish Fulham keeper Edwin van der Sar's challenge on Louis Saha with a spot-kick.

He added: "If they're not doing their job, they shouldn't be out there, frankly.

"This is the new dawn in football with professional referees but that's very questionable.

"Managers are given no confidence that they're doing their job.

"It sometimes happens that, when you're not having a good run, you don't get the breaks. Maybe they'll come our way in a few weeks."

Ronaldo7
29-02-2004, 06:59 PM
Originally posted by RVN

last against Southampton, about 4 weeks ago, mans thats awful. :mad:

last win should be away to everton

RVN
29-02-2004, 07:03 PM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7

last win should be away to everton

oh ya, remember wrongly. =p

RVN
29-02-2004, 07:16 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1199517.jpg

Louis Saha feels he was denied a clear penalty in the Premiership clash against Fulham.
The Manchester United forward was playing against his former team-mates for the first time and managed to find the net in the first half.

However the reigning champions were unable to hang onto their early lead and had to settle for a point.

The outcome could have been different had United been awarded a penalty after Fulham keeper Edwin van der Sar appeared to bring down Saha as the striker attempted to go round him.

"It was a definite penalty," stated the Frenchman. "I couldn't chip him because he's too tall so I tried to turn him and he never touched the ball.

"I don't understand why the referee didn't take two or three seconds longer to think about it because it was such a big decision.

"It is a shame because that decision cost us two points and I think I would have taken the spot-kick which would have been a good opportunity for me to get a brace today."

Despite The Red Devils experiencing an indifferent week, the former Metz man is happy with life at Old Trafford since his move in January.

"It is a great feeling to be a Manchester United player," he enthused. "I've only been here for a short time but things are going well.

"When we play the ball on the floor we are one of the best teams in the world and it is terrific to be on the end of some of our moves."

He added: "It was great to have a good game against Fulham as well, it was a special feeling to score against them."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1125451,00.html

kengbeng
29-02-2004, 07:25 PM
Man... This blip in form came at the wrong time when we're expected to push harder for the title.

RuMmYtUb
29-02-2004, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN

go on.... laugh!
united till i die!
so what if they do not win the epl title.the fa cup and cl are still up for grabs.

Too bad, dunno why so many pple hate our club..:alien:

Ronaldo7
29-02-2004, 07:32 PM

Too bad, dunno why so many pple hate our club..:alien:

because of our success over the last 10 years ? :confused:

RVN
29-02-2004, 07:40 PM

because of our success over the last 10 years ? :confused:

Not only that, they hate fergie and keane. :rolleyes:

They are all clueless muppets that want to slag us off whenever they want. :mad:

Ch3tah_39
29-02-2004, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Not only that, they hate fergie and keane. :rolleyes:

They are all clueless muppets that want to slag us off whenever they want. :mad:

juz ignore all those faggots...:mad:

deathblade
29-02-2004, 09:21 PM

tell u what, these ppl are nothing but a role model for "WORST FAN" of any club as far as i am concern. well if u ever want to turn into a nasty fan, just join and follow them.

i don't suppose any club in the world will want them as a fan for sure.

I see liao also feel they are a diagrace....... Ta ma te... when we lost to inter in CL earlier on they dare to kao peh ...... Disgrace indeed....

leo_llw
29-02-2004, 10:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN

go on.... laugh!
united till i die!
me rub it in? I gave credit or stick when it is due.

I can't speak for others but I dare say I am pretty fair person. If you feel what I have posted abt Manure is unfair, I also welcome any logical rebuttals to my posting.

Cheers!

guoquanyap
01-03-2004, 12:03 AM
onli 2 wins in the last 7 games....damn wat kind of ****y form is this....

RVN
01-03-2004, 12:12 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
onli 2 wins in the last 7 games....damn wat kind of ****y form is this....

very pathetic. :(

guoquanyap
01-03-2004, 12:16 AM
and that should be a penalty!!! :mad: :mad:

RVN
01-03-2004, 12:27 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson has vowed Manchester United have the spirit and pedigree to defy the odds and rob Arsenal of the Premiership crown for the second season in succession.

The Red Devils, who stunned the Gunners as they came from behind to clinch the title last year, trail their London rivals by nine points after a disastrous week.

The 1-1 draws at home to Leeds and at Fulham have persuaded the bookies to slash Arsenal's title odds to 1-14 on and lengthen United's odds to 15-2.

But Ferguson, whose mind games with his Highbury counterpart Arsene Wenger have been a major feature of the managers' rivalry in recent seasons, opted for a psychological strike against Wenger today, emphasising that - despite the odds and mathematics favouring the Gunners - United simply will not give up.

Ferguson, who has just 11 games left in which to overhaul Arsenal, said: "The draw with Fulham knocked us back a bit but it's not in my nature nor in the club's nature to give up.

"Manchester United is built on bigger foundations and history than any other club in the country - so giving up is out of the question.

"It is achievable because we're capable of winning games."

However, despite Ferguson's assertion that the team he built is capable of pipping Arsenal at the post yet again, it would take a nightmare sequence of results by Wenger's side to allow United back into the title picture.

Ferguson did himself no favours at Loftus Road on Saturday, resting Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ryan Giggs and Tim Howard for one of United's most crucial fixtures of the season.

Howard's replacement, Roy Carroll, allowed Luis Boa Morte's 63rd-minute drive to slither between his legs and into the back of his net.

That equalised Louis Saha's brilliant 13th minute opener against his old club. The French forward smashed home after a lightning counterattack by the champions.

And Ferguson effectively accused referee Alan Wiley of costing his side two priceless points.

The official turned down what appeared to be a clear penalty with the scores tied at 1-1, waving away United appeals when Edwin van der Sar bundled over Saha in the box.

"Referee's are making horrendous mistakes every week," Ferguson said. "They don't give anyone in the game confidence that they're doing their job."

However, Phil Neville - who surprisingly played as United's lynchpin in front of their back four - called on his team-mates to forget their angst over the decision and take their revenge on Fulham when the sides square up at Old Trafford this Saturday in their FA Cup quarter-final clash.

Neville said: "It was a big decision and an easy decision to make - the referee didn't give it and there's no point crying over it.

"We've got to get on with it and concentrate on doing well in the cup match."

Fulham manager Chris Coleman has been in hospital since Tuesday as doctors battle to prevent his virus attacking the right leg he shattered in a car crash three years ago. The boss is expected back at work tomorrow or Tuesday.

Coleman's assistant Steve Kean has been running the show in the Welshman's absence - and he revealed the Cottagers plan to hit United with a mystery tactical battle plan as they bid to reach the FA Cup semi-finals for the second time in three seasons.

"We have a couple of tactics we were going to use at Loftus Road until we saw United's team selection," Kean said.

"So we thought we'd keep them for the cup game. The tactics depend on what team United play this time but we'll highlight the triggers where we can press the ball."

Need a real miracle to retain our title, fergie team selection not helping either. :mad:

ccloh
01-03-2004, 09:28 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson has vowed Manchester United have the spirit and pedigree to defy the odds and rob Arsenal of the Premiership crown for the second season in succession.

The Red Devils, who stunned the Gunners as they came from behind to clinch the title last year, trail their London rivals by nine points after a disastrous week.

The 1-1 draws at home to Leeds and at Fulham have persuaded the bookies to slash Arsenal's title odds to 1-14 on and lengthen United's odds to 15-2.

But Ferguson, whose mind games with his Highbury counterpart Arsene Wenger have been a major feature of the managers' rivalry in recent seasons, opted for a psychological strike against Wenger today, emphasising that - despite the odds and mathematics favouring the Gunners - United simply will not give up.

Ferguson, who has just 11 games left in which to overhaul Arsenal, said: "The draw with Fulham knocked us back a bit but it's not in my nature nor in the club's nature to give up.

"Manchester United is built on bigger foundations and history than any other club in the country - so giving up is out of the question.

"It is achievable because we're capable of winning games."

However, despite Ferguson's assertion that the team he built is capable of pipping Arsenal at the post yet again, it would take a nightmare sequence of results by Wenger's side to allow United back into the title picture.

Ferguson did himself no favours at Loftus Road on Saturday, resting Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ryan Giggs and Tim Howard for one of United's most crucial fixtures of the season.

Howard's replacement, Roy Carroll, allowed Luis Boa Morte's 63rd-minute drive to slither between his legs and into the back of his net.

That equalised Louis Saha's brilliant 13th minute opener against his old club. The French forward smashed home after a lightning counterattack by the champions.

And Ferguson effectively accused referee Alan Wiley of costing his side two priceless points.

The official turned down what appeared to be a clear penalty with the scores tied at 1-1, waving away United appeals when Edwin van der Sar bundled over Saha in the box.

"Referee's are making horrendous mistakes every week," Ferguson said. "They don't give anyone in the game confidence that they're doing their job."

However, Phil Neville - who surprisingly played as United's lynchpin in front of their back four - called on his team-mates to forget their angst over the decision and take their revenge on Fulham when the sides square up at Old Trafford this Saturday in their FA Cup quarter-final clash.

Neville said: "It was a big decision and an easy decision to make - the referee didn't give it and there's no point crying over it.

"We've got to get on with it and concentrate on doing well in the cup match."

Fulham manager Chris Coleman has been in hospital since Tuesday as doctors battle to prevent his virus attacking the right leg he shattered in a car crash three years ago. The boss is expected back at work tomorrow or Tuesday.

Coleman's assistant Steve Kean has been running the show in the Welshman's absence - and he revealed the Cottagers plan to hit United with a mystery tactical battle plan as they bid to reach the FA Cup semi-finals for the second time in three seasons.

"We have a couple of tactics we were going to use at Loftus Road until we saw United's team selection," Kean said.

"So we thought we'd keep them for the cup game. The tactics depend on what team United play this time but we'll highlight the triggers where we can press the ball."

Need a real miracle to retain our title, fergie team selection not helping either. :mad:

utd not only need fergie's to get his tactic work but also have confident in themselves. u can't have 11 players on the field and half of them thinking that oh that is game over. all 11 players must have the same frequency and determination to win the game even if they are behind.

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 02:54 PM

me rub it in? I gave credit or stick when it is due.

I can't speak for others but I dare say I am pretty fair person. If you feel what I have posted abt Manure is unfair, I also welcome any logical rebuttals to my posting.

Cheers!

where got ppl judge themself one.. u muz be damn a unfair person... serios lor.. dare to say u are a pretty fair person..
Is not for u to judge urself, is others.... :)

leo_llw
01-03-2004, 03:04 PM
hahaha...maybe. But it doesn't change the way I think about myself.

You judge an unfair person from ONE post? Ironic, isn't it. :cool:

anyway some comments from your fellow fans :

===========================================
My United In Decline?
It is with much regret and consternation that I sit here and deliberate about the fortuitous nature of Manchester United’s current standing of only being seven points behind Arsenal in the Premier League. It should be far greater than that!

Statistics prove that Arsenal are superior in defence, and attack, as well as being on a different planet in regards to being pleasant to the eye. What is happening to my beloved club? I remember not so long ago Giggs' swashbuckling runs down the left, Beckham’s pin-point accuracy on crosses and free kicks, RVN’s clinical finishing, and a period in time whereby we were never too concerned about defence as we never gave the opposition too much possession of the ball.

After watching a truly depressing performance in Porto, I really do fear for the immediate and long-term future of the club. Admittedly this kind of pessimism has risen its ugly head before, with Sir Alex completely silencing all the doubters in spectacular fashion, however on this occasion I sincerely believe such a renaissance as in previous years will not materialise.

It has been well-documented about the failure of many of Fergie’s recent signings, Sally Gunnell, Veron, Djemba (he doesn’t warrant me saying it twice) however with the fabulous wealth of the club, this is not such a significant a problem as many advocate. Untalented players can be replaced with talented players.

What particularly concerns me is the complete breakdown of the heart and soul of the team in the youth system. Sir Alex has down the years proved highly successful in the transfer market if you disregard the recent batch of signings. Cantona, Schmeichael, Kanchelskis, Keane for example.

However without any shadow of a doubt, it is the magnificent crop of youngsters that emerged in the early nineties that were the foundations for the wonderful success that has been achieved. Giggs, Beckham, Scholes, and the Neville brothers.

Without such players any club is doomed to be perennial underachievers - look at Chelsea. Which brings me back to my original point. Sir Alex has not only started buying inadequate players for our great club but he has also temporarily forgotten what his success was built on.

Swapping Beckham - who loved Manchester United to the core - and replacing him with overseas players who would take years to build such an affiliation to the club and without half Beckham's talent, will slowly over time see the collapse of our great club from Premier League favourites to the perennial under-achievers like chelsea. Pray may I be wrong.
Gary Haines

...United were lucky on Wednesday night. Flattered by the away goal. Didn't deserve it. Outplayed for the whole game.

This team is a pale imitation of the treble winning side of '99. Too many sub-standard players plugging holes where the PLC have sold off valuable assets. Our three best central midfielders, all playing for once, utterly overpowered by.... well, had you heard of any of them?

We've been woeful of late, but the really distressing thought is that we've been getting the results that our displays all season have truly deserved. The fact of the matter is that this United team needs a major overhaul.

Where was the Stam-esque composure at the back? Who was leading the back line like Schmeichel, Bruce and Pally used to? Where was Roy Keane - another lacklustre display from a player well past his best. Giggs and Scholes only function as part of an overwhelming attacking force, they're wasted amid mediocrity like this. No impact from Saha - Forlan mark two, not good enough. Cole and Yorke might not have been world class, but at least they had movement and awesome interplay, albeit for just one season. Even Ruud seems to be unable to hit a cow's arse with a banjo anymore.

Porto are lousy away from home, and will lose 2-0 or 3-0 at Old Trafford, but whoever comes next is gonna condemn us to the now routine quarter-final exit of the Champions League. And forget about the Premiership, lightening does not strike twice and the Gooners won't hand it to us two years in a row.

If it goes on much longer like this, we'll be reduced to the grovelling depths of Houllier's Liverpool, clinging to the hope of winning a second-rate competition (FA rather than UEFA Cup) in the hope of justifying a terrible season.

Whoever's in charge of MUFC PLC next year, spend some serious money on the team because most of this lot aren't fit to wear the shirt.
Kieron Osmotherly, one of those London-based United fans you all love to hate

...As a United fan it was hard to accept Dermot Keyes' piece about the lack of effort and key players in our squad - but after picking the prawns out of my teeth I realised that all Utd fans (and players) should have a look at the article - it's like being slapped in the face with a frozen salmon.

For too long we have been kidding ourselves that 'everything's OK'...'it's just a bad time'. BEHAVE and wake up! I don't like moaning about my team, that's up to the gaffer and captain, but over the last few games everyone has witnessed Utd's deplorable defence and, more importantly, our team spirit.

We can't lean on Rio too much, just like we can't lean on Giggs, Ruud and Keane - but where is the drive? Where is that desire to keep going until the final whistle?

99' European Cup final, Clive Tyldsley sums up the whole competition for Utd: "Can United score? They ALWAYS score!" Commentators don't say that unless there is a realistic chance of it happening - and my God you would never count us out back then. Why? There was drive! There was spirit! Every player in the starting 11 had proven themselves throughout the season. There were no big players and no little players...every man was a Keane, Beckham, Stam and Cole.

So why, for the last couple of seasons and especially now, do I leave the games early? Switch off the TV before injury time? Because Utd are not the team they once were - and we don't look like improving in the near future. Yes, our defence is more leaky than dear Liza's bucket. Yes, we miss DB and prominent players. Yes, Arsenal, AC and Real Madrid show the rest of the football world how to play.

It breaks my heart that I can't include Utd in that list, but at the mo, we're not even in the same galaxy as the top teams. Keyes is right - no effort. You can see it in the players' faces. They actually look like they don't want it. Half of them are too worried about how much their agents get paid, the gaffer is more concerned to know if the Rock Of G came in at the 3.30 at Newmarket and the fans are checking the stock market.

What happened to football? What happened to the buzz of a Wednesday CL game? What HAS happened to Manchester United?

The Utd team have forgotten the taste of success. More importantly, they have lost the taste for playing as a unit and putting the fear of God into any other team. I wish them all the best this season but if Gary Neville is still the only player hungry for that sweet, sweet taste at the end of the season then we can expect to see an Arsenal treble and a depleted, ugly and dejected United.

Owen Anslow

Get An Assistant, Fergie
Forget about selling Beckham, Veron, and getting Djemba, Kleberson (who I personally think will be a fixture in Man U team next season), and promoting Fletcher, I think Fergie's biggest loss and mistake in the summer was to let Carlos Queiroz leave or didn't rush to get an assistant of the same quality.

With all the off-the-field rubbish that is going on and the continued speculation about a takeover, Sir Alex started worrying about his future in my opinion, and with him also the players and both lost their concentration.

I think Man U's first priority in the summer to get an assistant for Fergie, say Philip Troussier or an established manager. Another mistake was to assume that John O'Shea to continue with the same level of performances as last season since it is natural that new players' second seasons can deliver less due to high expectations from the fans and the pressure on the player.

Wes Brown, with all his injuries, I think will be a fringe player in the team despite all his potential, one way to get him back is to loan him for next season, get him away from the crazy demands of the English season and Man Utd commitments (CL, PL, FA Cup, Carling cup), a mid-table or top-half club in Spain, France, Italy will do him good.

Current situation: Clearly RVN needs a long rest (no less than two weeks) he looks very tired, give Forlan the chance or Bellion to play with Saha, since wining title won't need RVN at the moment but Divine Intervention, if you assume Arsenal will continue their unbelievable form.

Give the new players a chance - especially Kleberson and Djemba in the centre and Ronaldo on the right. It is extremly useless to play Scholesy on the right.

Next season's buys: One or two experinced central defenders (Thuram, Ayala, whoever becomes good in Euro 2004), get another striker like Eto'o (Remember Man U won the treble with four strikers). A creative midfielder (range of passes like Veron and crosses like Beckham) - my candidate is Andres D'Allessandro of Wolfsberg - he is super. Offload Butt and give Kleberson his place.

Fajhan Al-Mutairi, Man U fan from Kuwait living in Edinburgh

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 03:27 PM
hahaha...maybe. But it doesn't change the way I think about myself.

You judge an unfair person from ONE post? Ironic, isn't it. :cool:

anyway some comments from your fellow fans :

===========================================
My United In Decline?
It is with much regret and consternation that I sit here and deliberate about the fortuitous nature of Manchester United’s current standing of only being seven points behind Arsenal in the Premier League. It should be far greater than that!

Statistics prove that Arsenal are superior in defence, and attack, as well as being on a different planet in regards to being pleasant to the eye. What is happening to my beloved club? I remember not so long ago Giggs' swashbuckling runs down the left, Beckham’s pin-point accuracy on crosses and free kicks, RVN’s clinical finishing, and a period in time whereby we were never too concerned about defence as we never gave the opposition too much possession of the ball.

After watching a truly depressing performance in Porto, I really do fear for the immediate and long-term future of the club. Admittedly this kind of pessimism has risen its ugly head before, with Sir Alex completely silencing all the doubters in spectacular fashion, however on this occasion I sincerely believe such a renaissance as in previous years will not materialise.

It has been well-documented about the failure of many of Fergie’s recent signings, Sally Gunnell, Veron, Djemba (he doesn’t warrant me saying it twice) however with the fabulous wealth of the club, this is not such a significant a problem as many advocate. Untalented players can be replaced with talented players.

What particularly concerns me is the complete breakdown of the heart and soul of the team in the youth system. Sir Alex has down the years proved highly successful in the transfer market if you disregard the recent batch of signings. Cantona, Schmeichael, Kanchelskis, Keane for example.

However without any shadow of a doubt, it is the magnificent crop of youngsters that emerged in the early nineties that were the foundations for the wonderful success that has been achieved. Giggs, Beckham, Scholes, and the Neville brothers.

Without such players any club is doomed to be perennial underachievers - look at Chelsea. Which brings me back to my original point. Sir Alex has not only started buying inadequate players for our great club but he has also temporarily forgotten what his success was built on.

Swapping Beckham - who loved Manchester United to the core - and replacing him with overseas players who would take years to build such an affiliation to the club and without half Beckham's talent, will slowly over time see the collapse of our great club from Premier League favourites to the perennial under-achievers like chelsea. Pray may I be wrong.
Gary Haines

...United were lucky on Wednesday night. Flattered by the away goal. Didn't deserve it. Outplayed for the whole game.

This team is a pale imitation of the treble winning side of '99. Too many sub-standard players plugging holes where the PLC have sold off valuable assets. Our three best central midfielders, all playing for once, utterly overpowered by.... well, had you heard of any of them?

We've been woeful of late, but the really distressing thought is that we've been getting the results that our displays all season have truly deserved. The fact of the matter is that this United team needs a major overhaul.

Where was the Stam-esque composure at the back? Who was leading the back line like Schmeichel, Bruce and Pally used to? Where was Roy Keane - another lacklustre display from a player well past his best. Giggs and Scholes only function as part of an overwhelming attacking force, they're wasted amid mediocrity like this. No impact from Saha - Forlan mark two, not good enough. Cole and Yorke might not have been world class, but at least they had movement and awesome interplay, albeit for just one season. Even Ruud seems to be unable to hit a cow's arse with a banjo anymore.

Porto are lousy away from home, and will lose 2-0 or 3-0 at Old Trafford, but whoever comes next is gonna condemn us to the now routine quarter-final exit of the Champions League. And forget about the Premiership, lightening does not strike twice and the Gooners won't hand it to us two years in a row.

If it goes on much longer like this, we'll be reduced to the grovelling depths of Houllier's Liverpool, clinging to the hope of winning a second-rate competition (FA rather than UEFA Cup) in the hope of justifying a terrible season.

Whoever's in charge of MUFC PLC next year, spend some serious money on the team because most of this lot aren't fit to wear the shirt.
Kieron Osmotherly, one of those London-based United fans you all love to hate

...As a United fan it was hard to accept Dermot Keyes' piece about the lack of effort and key players in our squad - but after picking the prawns out of my teeth I realised that all Utd fans (and players) should have a look at the article - it's like being slapped in the face with a frozen salmon.

For too long we have been kidding ourselves that 'everything's OK'...'it's just a bad time'. BEHAVE and wake up! I don't like moaning about my team, that's up to the gaffer and captain, but over the last few games everyone has witnessed Utd's deplorable defence and, more importantly, our team spirit.

We can't lean on Rio too much, just like we can't lean on Giggs, Ruud and Keane - but where is the drive? Where is that desire to keep going until the final whistle?

99' European Cup final, Clive Tyldsley sums up the whole competition for Utd: "Can United score? They ALWAYS score!" Commentators don't say that unless there is a realistic chance of it happening - and my God you would never count us out back then. Why? There was drive! There was spirit! Every player in the starting 11 had proven themselves throughout the season. There were no big players and no little players...every man was a Keane, Beckham, Stam and Cole.

So why, for the last couple of seasons and especially now, do I leave the games early? Switch off the TV before injury time? Because Utd are not the team they once were - and we don't look like improving in the near future. Yes, our defence is more leaky than dear Liza's bucket. Yes, we miss DB and prominent players. Yes, Arsenal, AC and Real Madrid show the rest of the football world how to play.

It breaks my heart that I can't include Utd in that list, but at the mo, we're not even in the same galaxy as the top teams. Keyes is right - no effort. You can see it in the players' faces. They actually look like they don't want it. Half of them are too worried about how much their agents get paid, the gaffer is more concerned to know if the Rock Of G came in at the 3.30 at Newmarket and the fans are checking the stock market.

What happened to football? What happened to the buzz of a Wednesday CL game? What HAS happened to Manchester United?

The Utd team have forgotten the taste of success. More importantly, they have lost the taste for playing as a unit and putting the fear of God into any other team. I wish them all the best this season but if Gary Neville is still the only player hungry for that sweet, sweet taste at the end of the season then we can expect to see an Arsenal treble and a depleted, ugly and dejected United.

Owen Anslow

Get An Assistant, Fergie
Forget about selling Beckham, Veron, and getting Djemba, Kleberson (who I personally think will be a fixture in Man U team next season), and promoting Fletcher, I think Fergie's biggest loss and mistake in the summer was to let Carlos Queiroz leave or didn't rush to get an assistant of the same quality.

With all the off-the-field rubbish that is going on and the continued speculation about a takeover, Sir Alex started worrying about his future in my opinion, and with him also the players and both lost their concentration.

I think Man U's first priority in the summer to get an assistant for Fergie, say Philip Troussier or an established manager. Another mistake was to assume that John O'Shea to continue with the same level of performances as last season since it is natural that new players' second seasons can deliver less due to high expectations from the fans and the pressure on the player.
]Wes Brown, with all his injuries, I think will be a fringe player in the team despite all his potential, one way to get him back is to loan him for next season, get him away from the crazy demands of the English season and Man Utd commitments (CL, PL, FA Cup, Carling cup), a mid-table or top-half club in Spain, France, Italy will do him good.

Current situation: Clearly RVN needs a long rest (no less than two weeks) he looks very tired, give Forlan the chance or Bellion to play with Saha, since wining title won't need RVN at the moment but Divine Intervention, if you assume Arsenal will continue their unbelievable form.

Give the new players a chance - especially Kleberson and Djemba in the centre and Ronaldo on the right. It is extremly useless to play Scholesy on the right.

Next season's buys: One or two experinced central defenders (Thuram, Ayala, whoever becomes good in Euro 2004), get another striker like Eto'o (Remember Man U won the treble with four strikers). A creative midfielder (range of passes like Veron and crosses like Beckham) - my candidate is Andres D'Allessandro of Wolfsberg - he is super. Offload Butt and give Kleberson his place.

Fajhan Al-Mutairi, Man U fan from Kuwait living in Edinburgh

juz frm these pts, u man utd fan?? dunno wat happening at man utd?? got watch the matches bo?? i am wondering:alien:

leo_llw
01-03-2004, 03:31 PM

juz frm these two pts, u hav been watching man utd matches?? i am wondering:alien:
???

these posts are from Manu fans all over the world. Me just cut and paste onli.

See properly. Those 2 comments are from a Kuwaiti manu fan. Go check out football365.com

Check out the facts before labelling your accusations around. What a joke!

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 03:35 PM
oic.... brown is surely getting back....
still wanna loan hiM?? man utd lack of defender, playing at cl matches all expose him well wat.. he not young lerr....
rvn need to be rested... indeed he was rested a few times....
yeah.... why offload butt? keane is old... u see...

thats my view...

beckham can forget abt him...
ronaldo can take giggs place surely...

leo_llw
01-03-2004, 03:40 PM

i think only frm one person nia.. or u paste wrongly
paste one name only Fajhan Al-Mutairi, Man U fan from Kuwait living in Edinburgh
see closely again from the top

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 03:40 PM

see closely again from the top

okie my mistake.. too long.. never read

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 03:42 PM

???

these posts are from Manu fans all over the world. Me just cut and paste onli.

See properly. Those 2 comments are from a Kuwaiti manu fan. Go check out football365.com

Check out the facts before labelling your accusations around. What a joke!

see... :) thats my view.. so i disagree wit the ppl..
i see the match, i hav my own thinking... :rolleyes:

pale
01-03-2004, 04:23 PM
Leo-llw...I seriously do not know why u wanna come in here and post stuff...seeing that u are a Arsenal Fan.

Of coz i have posted in other club's thread b4. But only to congrat them on a job well done.

But so far yr post are............

Enuff said.

ccloh
01-03-2004, 04:26 PM
pls lah the so-called comments from man utd fan is just 2 of them. they don't represent the million of fans all over the world. what's the fuss abt it.

the only thing for sure is if u r a truly utd fan, u will stick with them regardless they are winning or failing. if they fail, u will stand behind them and cheer them on and if they success u cheer along with them for what they have been achieved.

for those who can't do the above, u r just not a truly utd fan but not even worth to call urself a fan of any club in the world. i suppose even our own s-league club also don't want u to be a fan.

ccloh
01-03-2004, 04:30 PM
Leo-llw...I seriously do not know why u wanna come in here and post stuff...seeing that u are a Arsenal Fan.

Of coz i have posted in other club's thread b4. But only to congrat them on a job well done.

But so far yr post are............

Enuff said.

with that little amt of post count under him, and his frequent post in this fourm + addressing himself as arsenal fan. can't help but to suspect he got some motives and also could be an outcast in the arsenal forum as well.

one of my prime suspect is that he could be a clone of that flinchy or mankul guys. these 2 fellows certainly got some screws got loosen in their brain someway or another. to be hash abit, they are definitely a role model for the "WORST FAN" of any club. one consolation is that they are not man utd fan :)

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 04:36 PM
hiya..:(

RuMmYtUb
01-03-2004, 07:41 PM
pls lah the so-called comments from man utd fan is just 2 of them. they don't represent the million of fans all over the world. what's the fuss abt it.

the only thing for sure is if u r a truly utd fan, u will stick with them regardless they are winning or failing. if they fail, u will stand behind them and cheer them on and if they success u cheer along with them for what they have been achieved.

for those who can't do the above, u r just not a truly utd fan but not even worth to call urself a fan of any club in the world. i suppose even our own s-league club also don't want u to be a fan.

If u have made ur mind to support that club, make sure u do it with ur heart and soul..

Ronaldo7
01-03-2004, 08:28 PM

If u have made ur mind to support that club, make sure u do it with ur heart and soul..

leo_llw
01-03-2004, 10:03 PM

with that little amt of post count under him, and his frequent post in this fourm + addressing himself as arsenal fan. can't help but to suspect he got some motives and also could be an outcast in the arsenal forum as well.

one of my prime suspect is that he could be a clone of that flinchy or mankul guys. these 2 fellows certainly got some screws got loosen in their brain someway or another. to be hash abit, they are definitely a role model for the "WORST FAN" of any club. one consolation is that they are not man utd fan :)
U guys are certainly a suspicious lot aren't you? *smirk*

what motives? I can earn money izzit?
All these time, I am actively participating in Dephi forums. It is only recently that Trinoo introduce me here :)

Dun worry lah.....haizzzzzz

As for Mankul, I reserved my comments :laugh:

Ch3tah_39
01-03-2004, 10:18 PM

guoquanyap
02-03-2004, 12:10 AM
though w so many things happened....i am actually very pleased w Ronaldo performance and improvment, he show lots of maturity for a age of 19.....he will surely go on and become a world-class player if he continue to improve at this rate......

orca_sea
02-03-2004, 12:47 AM

Ya man tatz a nice one

derrace
02-03-2004, 12:56 AM
wah, so long never post got so much rubbish in here....
disheartening to see Man U conceding so many goals and dropping so many points. well, that's football. you win some, you lose some.

Have to give credit to Arsenal for the solid performance. Hate to say it, but after I watched the charlton match. I have to admit they are a lot better now.

Man U would just have to buck up and well, not give up.
Go Man U go!

RuMmYtUb
02-03-2004, 08:55 AM
Robben set for Chelsea move

Chelsea are hoping to agree a deal with Dutch side PSV Eindhoven to sign rising star Arjen Robben in the summer.

Reports in the Dutch media have linked the 20-year-old winger with a summer move to London, where he is set to sign a five-year contract at a cost to the Premiership club of 20million euros (£13.5million).

Manchester United had been chasing Robben, who had a contract with PSV until 2007 - but it appears Chelsea have beaten them to a player who visited United's Carrington training ground in January.

A United bid for the player was dismissed as being far too below the price that United and the Dutch club had originally agreed.

The Blues' official website said on Monday night: 'Chelsea can confirm that we are in negotiations with PSV Eindhoven for the purchase of their 20 year old international striker Arjen Robben, and that he is undergoing a medical with a view to signing.'

Robben, a Holland international who joined PSV from Groningen in 2002 and has been a virtual ever-present for the Eindhoven side since, told Dutch Teletext: 'I think that I can become a better player at Chelsea and that I can develop myself into a top European player.'

Source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=292971&cc=4716)

fark man, horror season... Rio banned, no silverware..... and now NO ROBBEN !!!!

I think we need van der Vaart to cover for aging Giggsy...:mad:
Our flank players getting very thin..

ccloh
02-03-2004, 09:55 AM
no confirm signing yet and if he does sign, i think his father will have to eat his own word of "over my dead body" :laugh: :laugh:

like last season utd also somehow confirm saying signing ronaldinho and now see where he ended. as long as it is not in black and white, anything can happen.

leo_llw
02-03-2004, 10:03 AM
I think Chelsea is trying to buy all the players that its rivals is interested in, even if the player does not fit into their plans.

The Red Devils lose out this time round. Wonder who will be the next victim :(

RuMmYtUb
02-03-2004, 10:08 AM
Fark man, I dunno wad the hell are the board of Man Utd thinking... letting history repeating itself..

last season we were robbed of Ronaldinho from Barca, fine nvm, though the fee of 24million is high, excusable..
but now the case of signing a highly rated left midfielder, which we desperately need as under-study for aging Giggsy..
Now it's worst off, chelski actually gets Robben for like 14.3million, it's a steal..... really dunno what's up for SAF..

But for all the money he save from missing out these fine players, i really hope we'll sign a quality centre back, or at least, get van der Vaart!

yulee
02-03-2004, 11:11 AM
For gawds sake get some good defenders! :eek: At the rate the team's haemorrhaging goals they might well end up 5th or 6th place by the end of this season!

RVN
02-03-2004, 12:41 PM
WTF is going on
We missed out on Ronaldinho and now Robben

I was f***** shocked when I saw the headline...What happened to the "No one but ManUtd" mentality that he was saying. He went for the $$$$. This just caps off our great season so far

Damm it. :mad: :mad: :mad:

leo_llw
02-03-2004, 01:37 PM
relax lah....the club haven't agree yet maybe waiting for SAR to make a counter offer.

Also, Robbens himself never express anything :) He noes by signing for Chelsea, he will be competing with Joe Cole, Duff, Geremi or even Zenden(loan to Boro). Such a prospect is not exactly mouth-watering :laugh:

RVN
02-03-2004, 01:45 PM
For gawds sake get some good defenders! :eek: At the rate the team's haemorrhaging goals they might well end up 5th or 6th place by the end of this season!

3rd at the very worst, thankfully newcastle still a long way 16 points behind in 4th, but we have to start playing better and winning our matches. :alien:

Ch3tah_39
02-03-2004, 02:12 PM
WTF... robben going chelsea??:mad: :rolleyes:

yulee
02-03-2004, 06:58 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson claims he rested Ruud van Nistelrooy at Fulham because he feared he was showing signs of burn-out.
He was criticised for only using leading scorer Van Nistelrooy as a substitute in the 1-1 draw.

Ferguson explained: "Ruud didn't feel sharp after the game against Porto. I decided on a bit of freshness up front.

"I've said before that Ruud's been carrying the burden for a long time and it's time we started to look at that."

Ferguson said: "One of the reasons I signed Louis Saha was to ease the pressure on Ruud."

Van Nistelrooy has started 25 out of United's 27 Premiership games this season and six out of seven Champions League games, scoring 24 goals.

He will return for Saturday's FA Cup quarter-final against Fulham at Old Trafford, when Saha will be cup-tied against his former club.

Saha is also being nursed by Ferguson, who said: "We are having to treat Louis quite tenderly because he came to us with a calf injury and it has moved down to his heel now.

"We will have to be careful about that."

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It never rains but pours... WTF now RVN suffering from 'burnt-out' as well? :rolleyes:

RVN
02-03-2004, 07:32 PM
He need a rest lah thats why we bought Saha, He is going through mini goal drought at the moment, need rest to regain his sharpness, he come back to his best soon. ;)

Hopefully against Fulham in the FA Cup on Sat as Saha is cup-tied.

vivre
02-03-2004, 07:34 PM
though w so many things happened....i am actually very pleased w Ronaldo performance and improvment, he show lots of maturity for a age of 19.....he will surely go on and become a world-class player if he continue to improve at this rate......

I second that... He's starting to put his dribbling skills to good use. I think he played with more conviction than any other player for the Fulham game.

yulee
02-03-2004, 08:19 PM
LONDON (AFP) - Manchester United defender Phil Neville refused Monday to concede the club's Premiership title to leaders Arsenal even though the Gunners are nine points clear of their Old Trafford rivals.
United are currently third on goal difference after last weekend's 1-1 draw against Fulham behind Chelsea but Neville said there was still hope for Sir Alex Ferguson's side.

"Nine points is a massive gap at this stage of the season but you never know, there might be a twist," said the England international.

"We'll keep fighting to the end because that's the way the manager wants us to be, it's the way the players are and it's what the fans will demand," the younger brother of United and England team-mate Gary told the club's television station, MUTV.

"We're going to give it our all to make sure we retain our crown."

Last week was a difficult time for everyone at Old Trafford, the Fulham draw following a Champions League defeat away to Porto.

United's defence, without suspended England centre-back Rio Ferdinand currently serving an eight-month ban for missing a drugs test, has been under the spotlight for conceding 'soft' goals.

And the form of Wes Brown, Ferdinand's replacement at the heart of the United defence, has come in for particular criticism.

But Neville insisted: "His (Brown's) fitness is getting a lot better and people probably harshly jumped on his back early on. He showed what a class player he is on Wednesday (against Porto).

"At the moment teams are only getting one chance and putting it away and that's the way it goes when you are going through the kind of run we are going through."

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope his optimism is well placed - they need to plug those gapping big holes in their defense and fast!

Ronaldo7
02-03-2004, 08:22 PM
Becks backs old pals

By ERIC BEAUCHAMP

DAVID BECKHAM claims Manchester United have the self-belief to shock Arsenal and retain their Premiership title.
Ex-United star Becks, 28, said: “When you play for Manchester United you have the belief you can come back from anything.

“That is what boss Alex Ferguson will be drumming into the players. You can never write them off. I know because I was a United player for so long.”

Arsenal are nine points clear of Chelsea and third-placed United with 11 games to go.

And Fergie has been criticised for resting key players Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ryan Giggs and Tim Howard in the 1-1 draw with Fulham on Saturday.

But Real Madrid midfielder Becks added: “The manager does what he feels is best for the team and what he feels is best for the players. Maybe he felt Ruud needed a rest.”

RVN
02-03-2004, 08:28 PM
Middlesbrough chairman Steve Gibson has admitted he will be powerless to stop boss Steve McClaren leaving Teesside should England, United or Chelsea come calling.

Gibson is currently basking in the glory of seeing his club win their first ever major trophy following their 2-1 Carling Cup victory over Bolton at the weekend.

But the Boro chairman is realistic enough to realise that the former United No.2 could soon become a wanted man.

"I am worried about losing Steve in the future but that is football," admitted Gibson. "Whether it is a player or a manager you never know. Steve is ambitious and the right club at the right time may or may not come in for him.

"We want to be successful but we are realistic as well. We can't compete with England and we can't compete with Manchester United.

"But beyond that and maybe Arsenal I think we can compete with anyone. Steve has only been in management three years and I am sure he will admit himself he has still got a lot to learn," he added.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=54392&itype=466&icategoryid=120

yulee
02-03-2004, 08:36 PM
Maybe he should go back to Manyoo to become SAF's No.2? Who knows he might take over SAF when he really decides to retire...

Totti76
02-03-2004, 10:18 PM
Robben Robben!!! Miss out on another player:(
Thot he will b under-study for Giggs..but come to think abt it...we got ronaldo..I think he play better on the left..so to soften the blow..Joaquin is a good option to fill the viod on the right.but he gg to cost alot..alot more..:eek:
Or may b chelsea will put Duff or J.Cole on transfer list :D

Yellowfin
02-03-2004, 10:23 PM
I don't whether we get Robben.

I think Man U better bring in an experience and reliable defender during the summer.

RVN
02-03-2004, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
I don't whether we get Robben.

I think Man U better bring in an experience and reliable defender during the summer.

we won't get him, hes already signed for chelsea, maybe Fergie has got other targets in sight. I'll go for Joaquin, van der Vaart or even Vincente now
They are all very classy players

I am happy with Ronaldo and Giggs on the wings, its isn't that bad, the new signing would probably be for cover.

Immediate concern like you say is a good solid defender, not attackers, won't mind having both though. :D

Totti76
02-03-2004, 10:37 PM
True true..a good solid defender shld b top of the list...but those players RVN mention is a good additional...we look lack of ideas when either Giggs/Ronaldo/Scholes are not playing..

Iorick
02-03-2004, 10:53 PM
Is the deal between Robben and Chelsea really finalised? SAF needs to get him at all costs. (We can always pull off the Forlan stunt hopefully=p ) If it is finalised, then United has no one to replace Giggsy who is 31 at the end of this year. (Prime of a winger is usually 26-30) Maybe can snacth Vicente but La Liga teams demand huge fees for their players. :(

Does anyone know the relationship of Mexes and SAF still going strong? (Read a few years back that SAF contacts Mexes quite frequently) Coz, United needs central defenders fast.... and hope United dont end up 3rd this year.:cool:

RVN
02-03-2004, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by Iorick
Is the deal between Robben and Chelsea really finalised? SAF needs to get him at all costs. (We can always pull off the Forlan stunt hopefully=p ) If it is finalised, then United has no one to replace Giggsy who is 31 at the end of this year. (Prime of a winger is usually 26-30) Maybe can snacth Vicente but La Liga teams demand huge fees for their players. :(

Does anyone know the relationship of Mexes and SAF still going strong? (Read a few years back that SAF contacts Mexes quite frequently) Coz, United needs central defenders fast.... and hope United dont end up 3rd this year.:cool:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/chelsea/3524213.stm

signed liao. :(

Giggs is 30, still got 3 or 4 years left in him, yep we do need a replacement for him sooner or later unless Richardson make the grade in the first-team. Right we got Ronaldo and Fletcher there.

Dunno about Mexes, haven't heard of us making a bid for him.

ccloh
02-03-2004, 10:58 PM
utd not only need an experience defender to pivot the defence and guide the young defenders as well. on top of that utd does need a mobile midfielder which can operate on the flank as well as taking scholes's role. current midfielders don't seem to have one that can really replaces scholes if he get into injury or suspension. perhaps there is which i don't kn and like scholes needed 1 whole season to get use to it.

RVN
02-03-2004, 11:01 PM
utd not only need an experience defender to pivot the defence and guide the young defenders as well. on top of that utd does need a mobile midfielder which can operate on the flank as well as taking scholes's role. current midfielders don't seem to have one that can really replaces scholes if he get into injury or suspension. perhaps there is which i don't kn and like scholes needed 1 whole season to get use to it.

I would have thought Kleberson, while he hasn't really performed good for us though, hmm maybe give Eagles the chance. :)

ccloh
02-03-2004, 11:02 PM
LONDON (AFP) - Manchester United defender Phil Neville refused Monday to concede the club's Premiership title to leaders Arsenal even though the Gunners are nine points clear of their Old Trafford rivals.
United are currently third on goal difference after last weekend's 1-1 draw against Fulham behind Chelsea but Neville said there was still hope for Sir Alex Ferguson's side.

"Nine points is a massive gap at this stage of the season but you never know, there might be a twist," said the England international.

"We'll keep fighting to the end because that's the way the manager wants us to be, it's the way the players are and it's what the fans will demand," the younger brother of United and England team-mate Gary told the club's television station, MUTV.

"We're going to give it our all to make sure we retain our crown."

Last week was a difficult time for everyone at Old Trafford, the Fulham draw following a Champions League defeat away to Porto.

United's defence, without suspended England centre-back Rio Ferdinand currently serving an eight-month ban for missing a drugs test, has been under the spotlight for conceding 'soft' goals.

And the form of Wes Brown, Ferdinand's replacement at the heart of the United defence, has come in for particular criticism.

But Neville insisted: "His (Brown's) fitness is getting a lot better and people probably harshly jumped on his back early on. He showed what a class player he is on Wednesday (against Porto).

"At the moment teams are only getting one chance and putting it away and that's the way it goes when you are going through the kind of run we are going through."

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope his optimism is well placed - they need to plug those gapping big holes in their defense and fast!

i don't think any hard core utd fan will also concede that the title is gone. for me definitely don't. it is gone when mathematically it is gone if not it is still within reach.

Ch3tah_39
02-03-2004, 11:19 PM

i don't think any hard core utd fan will also concede that the title is gone. for me definitely don't. it is gone when mathematically it is gone if not it is still within reach.

unless arsenal slip and fall badly and man utd stop drawing and losing lor... =p

Ch3tah_39
02-03-2004, 11:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/chelsea/3524213.stm

signed liao. :(

Giggs is 30, still got 3 or 4 years left in him, yep we do need a replacement for him sooner or later unless Richardson make the grade in the first-team. Right we got Ronaldo and Fletcher there.

Dunno about Mexes, haven't heard of us making a bid for him.

:( yeah man utd need a solid defender....
but man utd need someone to replace giggs lerr.. old liao mahz...:)

RuMmYtUb
02-03-2004, 11:27 PM
Irritating :mad:
I can name u all the players that SAF missed.... knn all left sided players... this shows that SAF wants cover for Giggs badly.

1. Duff... off to chelski
2. Kewell.. off to pool :mad:
3. Ronaldinho .. off to barca
4. ROBBEN.. off to chelski again ! :mad:

I really hope we can pull off someone like van der Vaart or Joaquin !

RVN
02-03-2004, 11:45 PM
Irritating :mad:
I can name u all the players that SAF missed.... knn all left sided players... this shows that SAF wants cover for Giggs badly.

1. Duff... off to chelski
2. Kewell.. off to pool :mad:
3. Ronaldinho .. off to barca
4. ROBBEN.. off to chelski again ! :mad:

I really hope we can pull off someone like van der Vaart or Joaquin !

I hope so too, but our board are very stingy. :mad:

When will our tight fisted board ever realise they cannot get the best for the least! Open your stingy and greay palms, cough up the money, and buy DECENT!!:mad:

guoquanyap
02-03-2004, 11:55 PM
expect more to come in the future....

RVN
03-03-2004, 02:56 AM
Manchester United defender Mikael Silvestre is hoping to be fit for the second leg of the club's Champions League tie against Porto.

The Frenchman missed the 2-1 first leg defeat in Portugal last Wednesday with an ankle ligament problem and was expected to be sidelined for three weeks.

But Silvestre believes he is making good progress in his recovery and is confident of making the squad for next Tuesday's clash at Old Trafford.

Silvestre told MUTV: "It is looking good and I am looking forward to training again at the end of the week.

"It will be less than three weeks. I should be fit for Porto, maybe even before. For Porto, I think I will definitely be in the squad."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/03/02/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Silvestre.html&TEAMHD=soccer

samwise
03-03-2004, 06:03 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Open your stingy and greay palms, cough up the money, and buy DECENT!!:mad:

are you saying:

carroll: £2.5million
djemba2: £3.5million
kleberson: £5.93million

are not decent?

you know what i think?

there is a HUGE millstone around your fergie's neck... and the burden is winning the treble with fergie's fledgings... everytime that fergie wants to buy big, the board will say "we won the treble with homegrown talent, no need to buy big, just groom young talents and buy one or two big signings every year"

luckily mu got ronaldo for 12mil, after stam and ruud saga caused by fergie, why would they sell robben on the cheap to mu?

pyu
03-03-2004, 07:25 AM
We can pay 12 million for Ronaldo, who hadn't even finish playing 30 games for his previous club while we cannot pay that figure for Robben, who had already established himself at PSV, a Champions League regular.

*SIGH*

ccloh
03-03-2004, 09:29 AM
perhaps we can see robben's father dead body lying somewhere soon :laugh: :laugh:

yulee
03-03-2004, 09:36 AM
Peter Kenyon striking a blow against his old masters....Seems like all the ex-employees of Manyoo are lining up to hurt it... :eek:

RVN
03-03-2004, 01:30 PM

are you saying:

carroll: £2.5million
djemba2: £3.5million
kleberson: £5.93million

are not decent?

you know what i think?

there is a HUGE millstone around your fergie's neck... and the burden is winning the treble with fergie's fledgings... everytime that fergie wants to buy big, the board will say "we won the treble with homegrown talent, no need to buy big, just groom young talents and buy one or two big signings every year"

luckily mu got ronaldo for 12mil, after stam and ruud saga caused by fergie, why would they sell robben on the cheap to mu?

I didn't meant that, but we need more quality players in the team.

yulee
03-03-2004, 07:13 PM
Stumbling Man United can afford no more slip-ups
Reuters Wednesday March 3, 2004 10:51 AM
By Bill Barclay

LONDON, March 3 (Reuters) - Troubled by strife off the pitch and a loss of momentum on it, English champions Manchester United are suddenly in danger of finishing a season empty-handed for the second time in three years.

Saturday's FA Cup quarter-final at Old Trafford against Fulham, who will have no fear having won 3-1 there in the league earlier this season, marks the start of a run of three games in eight days that could make or break United's campaign.

On Tuesday, United host Porto in the return leg of their Champions League first knockout phase tie attempting to overturn a 2-1 defeat without captain Roy Keane, sent off in the first leg last week.

The following Sunday they cross town to face rivals Manchester City, by which time their deficit to premier league leaders Arsenal, who visit Blackburn Rovers the day before, could be a gaping 12 points.

Winless in their last three matches, with Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy out of sorts and the suspensions of Keane and defenders Gary Neville and Rio Ferdinand biting hard, United's on-field problems are mounting.

The manager's row over a racehorse with United shareholder John Magnier is also rumbling on in the background and after nearly two decades in charge, Ferguson's proven ability to turn adversity to United's advantage is set to be tested severely.

By selling crowd favourite David Beckham for $40 million to Real Madrid before the season started, Ferguson made a potential rod for his own back. Judging by some of the emailed comments on United's own website this week, the patience of their fans is already wearing thin.

"We've missed Beckham massively", "Where is the killer instinct?", "United are playing the worst football I've seen in years", "What a joke? Absolutely pathetic!" were some of the comments posted following the 1-1 draw at Fulham on Saturday.

DEEP ROOTS

The fans' vitriol is surprising but it stems from deep roots.

United's late run to snatch the title from Arsenal last season masked a number of deficiencies in the squad which remain to be addressed.

Their lack of defensive cover has been exposed by Rio Ferdinand's controversial eight-month ban for a missed dope test and the poor discipline that led to the suspensions currently applying to Gary Neville and Keane.

An untimely injury to Mikael Silvestre and the uncertain form of Wes Brown following his long injury lay-off have left the heart of United's defence badly weakened just as the season builds to a climax.

Beckham was bound to be missed and new signings like David Bellion, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kleberson and Eric Djemba-Djemba were, by Ferguson's own admission, bought with United's future, not their present, in mind.

Some fans argue Ferguson also failed properly to replace his assistant Carlos Queiroz, who left for Real Madrid with Beckham.

Queiroz himself was a replacement for Steve McClaren whose highly effective partnership with Ferguson ended when he became Middlesbrough manager in June 2001.

Last Sunday McClaren inspired Middlesbrough to win the first trophy in their 128-year history by beating Bolton Wanderers in the League Cup final.

That silverware drought certainly puts United's troubles in perspective but it is a measure of the standard Ferguson has set himself that another fruitless campaign could leave his job in jeopardy.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sigh...:(

RVN
03-03-2004, 07:47 PM
I rather us ignore all those taunts by the press who are slagging us off becos they all hate us. :mad:

yulee
03-03-2004, 08:36 PM
United not in crisis, says Neville
Reuters Wednesday March 3, 2004 12:31 PM
By Pete Oliver

MANCHESTER, England, March 3 (Reuters) - There is no crisis at Old Trafford, according to Manchester United and England defender Gary Neville.

The champions are losing their grip on the premier league title after falling nine points behind leaders Arsenal, and have seen transfer target Arjen Robben choose to join Chelsea instead.

But Neville insists United can still turn their season into a successful one.

"We've got an FA Cup quarter-final at home on Saturday and we've got a European Cup game at Old Trafford on Tuesday where we have to win the match to get through to the quarter-finals," the defender said.

"There is still an awful lot to fight for this season, and I don't think it's time for people to be getting too down-hearted and to be giving up at this stage.

"It's nowhere near a crisis, but what we do have to do is to start playing to our capabilities.

"We're still there in the three competitions we want to be in. We're not where we want to be in the league at the moment, but everything is not doom and gloom."

United have won only two of their last seven league games, while Arsenal have maintained their remarkable unbeaten record to gain a firm grip on the title race.

Neville, who will miss United's next two domestic games through suspension, admits there is no more margin for error.

He added: "We have got to keep winning, but we are capable of winning every single match if you look at them on an individual basis.

"If you said can we win the next 11 matches it seems a massive shout, but if you look at each individual game and think 'can Manchester United win that game ?' Of course we can.

"It's a big ask, but it's always a big ask at this club. Arsenal haven't hit a sticky patch yet. If they don't, they deserve to win the league. If they do then we've got to be able to make sure we capitalise on it."

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope he's right...

stam
03-03-2004, 09:09 PM
lets see who will join us in the summer...

Ch3tah_39
03-03-2004, 09:45 PM

;)

Totti76
03-03-2004, 10:05 PM
:lick: my preference...a central defender (D C) n an attacking minded midfielder (AM RC)
:lick:

StormTrooper
03-03-2004, 10:27 PM

:lick: my preference...a central defender (D C) n an attacking minded midfielder (AM RC)
:lick:

my preference is for the current team to play like there's no tomorrow. new players can wait. :)

trax06
03-03-2004, 11:16 PM
i think Man Utd should secure a deal even b4 the transfer window opens...

that wuld make me better....if not league champ the least gd players in the club

Totti76
03-03-2004, 11:18 PM

my preference is for the current team to play like there's no tomorrow. new players can wait. :)
hmm...well i cant totally agree with u..u see wat happened when utd wait..Chelsea ROB Robben under utd nose
Hopefully next season I dun see any headline like "Robben rob 3 pts of Man Utd for Chelsea"
Many have state that this is our transition yr (not quite sure abt it myself) so how long or how many transition yrs do we hv to go thru. If next season we end up with nothing..is it gg to b our transition yr??
ccloh may say..SO WAT?? In 70's, 80's utd oso din win much..but that was then..n this is now..we hv raise the bar n we r expect to win trophy not to fight for 2nd 3rd place, mid table or relegation battle.
Sure this season is not over yet....I hope Utd can win all the remaining matches but it is not in our hands now.
EPL - We need Gooners to drop pts..9 pts!! now we need chelsea to drop pts too.
CL - There is hope we can get pass Porto...after that?? Madrid, Juv, AC..they will attack on our Brownies more than any of our back four
FA - That I have more confident...but then FA may not b SAF top priority = rest player :(

guoquanyap
04-03-2004, 12:19 AM
damn sad that robben sign for chelsea...he is one of the player i wan to see dauthing manu jersey.....:(

let's get back to winning ways first.....starting fr this sat fa cup clash w fulham....got to beat them this time rd after 2 fail attempt......

any ideas will the match be screen live?

guoquanyap
04-03-2004, 12:55 AM
Manchester United have named Walter Smith as assistant manager until the end of the season.

Smith, who left Everton in 2002, fills the position vacated by Carlos Queiroz when he left Old Trafford last summer to take over at Real Madrid.

"I am delighted that Walter has accepted the chance to join United," said boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

"There are few people in the game with his experience, knowledge and technical ability."

can we turn the season ard after the arrival of smith? or izzit to late? let's wait and see....not a very big name i mus said but no doubt abt smith experince in the epl

guoquanyap
04-03-2004, 12:57 AM
Manchester United have confirmed that Walter Smith has taken over as assistant to Sir Alex Ferguson until the end of the season.

A United statement reads:

Walter Smith, one of the most decorated managers in Scottish football history has joined Manchester United until the end of the current season as assistant to the manager, Sir Alex Ferguson.

His appointment fills a vacancy that has existed since Carlos Queiroz left the club last summer.

Sir Alex Ferguson said: "I am delighted that Walter has accepted the chance to join United. There are few people in the game with his experience, knowledge and technical ability. His talent and background will be major assets at such a critical time of the season.

Walter Smith said: "The chance to come to Manchester United is something I couldn’t turn down. There are few bigger challenges in football than helping a successful side sustain their achievements. I have huge admiration for what Sir Alex has achieved at United and I’m excited to be part of it."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=54492&itype=466&icategoryid=123

guoquanyap
04-03-2004, 12:58 AM
Manchester United have confirmed that Walter Smith has taken over as assistant to Sir Alex Ferguson until the end of the season.

A United statement reads:

Walter Smith, one of the most decorated managers in Scottish football history has joined Manchester United until the end of the current season as assistant to the manager, Sir Alex Ferguson.

His appointment fills a vacancy that has existed since Carlos Queiroz left the club last summer.

Sir Alex Ferguson said: "I am delighted that Walter has accepted the chance to join United. There are few people in the game with his experience, knowledge and technical ability. His talent and background will be major assets at such a critical time of the season.

Walter Smith said: "The chance to come to Manchester United is something I couldn’t turn down. There are few bigger challenges in football than helping a successful side sustain their achievements. I have huge admiration for what Sir Alex has achieved at United and I’m excited to be part of it."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=54492&itype=466&icategoryid=123

can we turn the season ard after the arrival of smith? or izzit to late? let's wait and see....not a very big name i mus said but no doubt abt smith experince in the epl

RuMmYtUb
04-03-2004, 09:04 AM

I certainly hope he can turn in some magic..

vivre
04-03-2004, 09:39 AM

Even as a Man Utd fan, I think it's too late.... :( :( :(

guoquanyap
04-03-2004, 10:12 AM
Originally posted by vivre

Even as a Man Utd fan, I think it's too late.... :( :( :(

maybe too late for epl.....but not to late for CL....:D

ccloh
04-03-2004, 11:52 AM
well with an assistant definitely will help fergie to lighten his work load, he should concentrate more on getting the tactic right and left the training managment to his assistant like before.

guoquanyap
04-03-2004, 12:11 PM
well with an assistant definitely will help fergie to lighten his work load, he should concentrate more on getting the tactic right and left the training managment to his assistant like before.

and heed some advice fr the assistance....:cool:

leo_llw
04-03-2004, 02:24 PM
actually Fergie should also leave the tactical part to Smith. ;)

Fergie is a lousy tactician abeilt a great motivator and man manager.

It is not secret his former No2s took charge of the tactical aspects prior to and during a game. :cool:

Ch3tah_39
04-03-2004, 04:54 PM

actually Fergie should also leave the tactical part to Smith. ;)

Fergie is a lousy tactician abeilt a great motivator and man manager.

It is not secret his former No2s took charge of the tactical aspects prior to and during a game. :cool:

are u serious..:laugh:

ccloh
04-03-2004, 05:12 PM

are u serious..:laugh:

well one thing for sure is leo_llw never been inside OT training ground to confirm whatever he said is TRUE. for us, manager is the one who come out with the tactic.

Ronaldo7
04-03-2004, 06:09 PM
Man Utd move for Chelsea outcast Cole
tribalfootball.com - March 4, 2004

Manchester United are set to sign Chelsea midfielder Joe Cole in the summer.
Cole is frustrated at the limited opportunities he's had at Chelsea since joining in August from West Ham.

The Daily Express says United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is ready to land the England playmaker, having followed his progress since he was 14 years old

ccloh
04-03-2004, 06:40 PM

Cole is frustrated at the limited opportunities he's had at Chelsea since joining in August from West Ham.

The Daily Express says United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is ready to land the England playmaker, having followed his progress since he was 14 years old

too much midfielder already unless he wants to axe some of them in the summer.

leo_llw
04-03-2004, 11:20 PM

well one thing for sure is leo_llw never been inside OT training ground to confirm whatever he said is TRUE. for us, manager is the one who come out with the tactic.
hehehe...quite true that I have neber been to OT but I hope I got the chance to visit one day :)

Anyway, I got this news extract from Stam's book. McClaren and Carlos Queiroz analyse the opponents, design the trainings, and revise the tactics against the next opponents.

As for SAF, maybe he just concentrate on pple management, hair blowing talks and recruiting SAS agents :laugh:

leo_llw
04-03-2004, 11:23 PM

might as well sign Duff also.....since Duff also tulan at Robben's arrival.

Stumbling block is Chelsea might not want to sell.

Ch3tah_39
04-03-2004, 11:42 PM

hehehe...quite true that I have neber been to OT but I hope I got the chance to visit one day :)

Anyway, I got this news extract from Stam's book. McClaren and Carlos Queiroz analyse the opponents, design the trainings, and revise the tactics against the next opponents.

As for SAF, maybe he just concentrate on pple management, hair blowing talks and recruiting SAS agents :laugh:

stam book... pardon my ignorance..
how come inside stam bk got this guyz, Carlos Queiroz ??

guoquanyap
05-03-2004, 12:14 AM
still very bitter that we fail to sign robben....actually very looking forward to see him play on the left and ronaldo on the right.....but now chelsea dashed my dream!! :mad: :mad:

nx 8days to save our season!!! come on!!!

RuMmYtUb
05-03-2004, 12:20 AM
still very bitter that we fail to sign robben....actually very looking forward to see him play on the left and ronaldo on the right.....but now chelsea dashed my dream!! :mad: :mad:

nx 8days to save our season!!! come on!!!

Same lor..
now only hope is van der Vaart..

trax06
05-03-2004, 02:04 AM
Man Utd seems only to buy players during the transfer window....

unlike Chelsea,they are like playing CM got money buy. cant wait till transfer window open...so once it opens the player come.

jus buy players now...play CM

ccloh
05-03-2004, 09:34 AM

stam book... pardon my ignorance..
how come inside stam bk got this guyz, Carlos Queiroz ??

either he is telling the truth as he might have read the bk or he is trying to con us :laugh: :laugh:

SebastianKae
05-03-2004, 10:09 AM
Guys,
Dont despair, at the rate Chelsea is buying their players, sooner or later there will be plenty of team problems for them, if it hasnt happen already. Buy, Buy, Buy and Buy. But never see them sell, Roman may be a rich man, but money doesnt solve the problems which arise between men. I want to see them continue buying, they will burn themselves, we just sit back and watch.

As for Utd, i think changes may be coming our way soon like the seasons before. We should not give up this season, but we should see how Utd solves their problems now.

stam
05-03-2004, 10:32 AM
FA CUP UP NEXT!! MAN UTD VS FULHAM!!! :bounce:

RuMmYtUb
05-03-2004, 11:42 AM
I wanna see this lineup..

G.Neville O Shea Keane Fortune

C.Ronaldo P.Neville Scholes Giggs

RvN & Saha

this lineup against fulham.. i really really hope no more underestimating from SAF !!! :mad:

ccloh
05-03-2004, 12:24 PM
I wanna see this lineup..

G.Neville O Shea Keane Fortune

C.Ronaldo P.Neville Scholes Giggs

RvN & Saha

this lineup against fulham.. i really really hope no more underestimating from SAF !!! :mad:

gary suspended and saha is cup-tie.

i think

brown o'shea keane fortune
ole phil/butt scholes ronaldo
rvn giggs

with ole, ronaldo and giggs all playing, there could rotate the 3 position among themselves

Ch3tah_39
05-03-2004, 01:02 PM

either he is telling the truth as he might have read the bk or he is trying to con us :laugh: :laugh:

i tot that assistance.manager onli joined us for 1 season which is last season??? :laugh:

Ch3tah_39
05-03-2004, 01:07 PM
man utd against fulham, man utd better win lor...

like to see this line up

P.Neville wes o'shea fortune

ole kleberson giggs

scholes

ruud bellion....:)

RVN
05-03-2004, 01:54 PM
Bellion won't play, Id oubt it.

I go for this line-up, I think Fergie wills tikc with error-prone Brown in defence though. :(

P Neville---------Brown---------O'Shea---------Fortune

Ronaldo--------Keane--------Butt--------Giggs

----------Scholes--------Ruud----------

RuMmYtUb
05-03-2004, 02:09 PM

gary suspended and saha is cup-tie.

i think

brown o'shea keane fortune
ole phil/butt scholes ronaldo
rvn giggs

with ole, ronaldo and giggs all playing, there could rotate the 3 position among themselves

Oh ya sh!t, 4got gary is suspended and saha is cup-tied.. :mad:

Den i think Scholes and RvN up front.. Hope no Forlan..:alien:

redstorm
05-03-2004, 05:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Bellion won't play, Id oubt it.

I go for this line-up, I think Fergie wills tikc with error-prone Brown in defence though. :(

P Neville---------Brown---------O'Shea---------Fortune

Ronaldo--------Keane--------Butt--------Giggs

----------Scholes--------Ruud----------

More headache for SAF as Fortune was injured during training at the Carrington training ground. With Silvestre still not fully recovered, it looks like Keane will be pressed into duty at central defence.

ccloh
05-03-2004, 08:59 PM
headache defence again :(

anyway like to see this formation then

o'shea ---- brown ----- keane ---- phil

ole --- butt --- scholes --- ronaldo
(kleberson)

rvn --- giggs

it is time for ole to return to solve the right hand side problem and also provide the killer instinct which was lacking.

stam
05-03-2004, 09:02 PM
dunno why arsenal play so strong when player for player..we could have matched them...:confused:

mppp
05-03-2004, 09:43 PM
headache defence again :(

anyway like to see this formation then

o'shea ---- brown ----- keane ---- phil

ole --- butt --- scholes --- ronaldo
(kleberson)

rvn --- giggs

it is time for ole to return to solve the right hand side problem and also provide the killer instinct which was lacking.

Ole doubtful...

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=54541&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ch3tah_39
05-03-2004, 10:30 PM
i hope saf let bellion play lor...:)

guoquanyap
05-03-2004, 11:26 PM
tml fa cup better won or else....:alien:

Ronaldo7
05-03-2004, 11:29 PM
hope we can beat fulham tomorrow for the first time this season :bounce:

Ch3tah_39
06-03-2004, 12:01 AM
ya lor.. better win..
not bellion also can forlan:)

guoquanyap
06-03-2004, 12:09 AM
Roy Keane will not receive an additional ban for his sending off in the first leg of Manchester United's Champions League tie with Porto.

The Irishman was dismissed for standing on Porto keeper Vitor Baia, and faced the prospect of a further two-match suspension on top of the mandatory one-game ban.

But a statement on UEFA's website confirmed that the organisation's Control and Disciplinary Body was happy for Keane to miss only the second leg at Old Trafford this week.

Unite trail the Portuguese champions 2-1 going into the return match.

Ch3tah_39
06-03-2004, 12:12 AM
Roy Keane will not receive an additional ban for his sending off in the first leg of Manchester United's Champions League tie with Porto.

The Irishman was dismissed for standing on Porto keeper Vitor Baia, and faced the prospect of a further two-match suspension on top of the mandatory one-game ban.

But a statement on UEFA's website confirmed that the organisation's Control and Disciplinary Body was happy for Keane to miss only the second leg at Old Trafford this week.

Unite trail the Portuguese champions 2-1 going into the return match.

gd:)

RVN
06-03-2004, 11:06 AM
Originally posted by mppp

Ole doubtful...

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=54541&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Huh, that for the reserve game, read it carefully, there is a chance he might eb involved today, although he probably be on the bench.

suay though Fortune kena serious injured in training. :(

RVN
06-03-2004, 11:10 AM
Manchester United are considering expanding Old Trafford by a further 7,500 seats to a 75,000-capacity.
A statement from the club said other facilities at the Premiership's biggest stadium might also be upgraded.

"A feasibility study is underway to evaluate the technical, financial and planning issues on completing the north-east and north-west quadrants.

"Any decision to proceed will be taken by the board in due course and announced thereafter."

Officials have previously resisted demands to increase the capacity, believing the club's current 67,500 stadium large enough for their needs.

The fear at United has been not filling the stadium for every game and ending up in the same embarrassing situation as some of their continental rivals by having a huge ground which is barely half full.

But every Premiership match at Old Trafford has been a sell-out since the last redevelopment was completed four years ago, giving rise to this latest announcement.

No time limit has been put on the study but the extra 7,500 seats could generate in excess of £4m over the course of a full season.

That cash could be vital at a time when Arsenal have confirmed their plans to relocate to Ashburton Grove, where the capacity is likely to be about 60,000.

Ch3tah_39
06-03-2004, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Huh, that for the reserve game, read it carefully, there is a chance he might eb involved today, although he probably be on the bench.

suay though Fortune kena serious injured in training. :(

ya lor.. fortune got injured during training:(

stam
06-03-2004, 12:06 PM
What do u all think about Philippe Mexes? is he good?:confused: man u seems interested..

Ch3tah_39
06-03-2004, 12:31 PM
that guy is gd lorz..:o

Ronaldo7
06-03-2004, 01:12 PM
Irish boss: I'd pick Man Utd skipper Keane
tribalfootball.com - March 6, 2004

Republic of Ireland coach Brian Kerr says he would select Roy Keane if he chose to come out of international retirement.
The Manchester United captain is considering returning to international football for Ireland's 2006 World Cup campaign.

"If Roy wants to make himself available in the future, I have no problems with that. But ultimately, I'll be in charge," Kerr told the Dublin Evening Herald.

"The team will be run my way. Anyone who comes into the panel will be treated exactly the same as the rest of the squad.

"Every player has to be committed and has to live within the rules of the team.

"Everybody knows how to get in touch with me if they want to come back. But anyone who wants to return has to know it's right for them.

"There is no point if a player who has retired from international football says he wants to play for us again, only to find out that his club manager does not agree."

ccloh
06-03-2004, 03:09 PM
let have utd good fortune towards the end of the season starts today with a win over fulham in the FA cup then followed a victory over porto next.

i suppose it is a do-or-die week for utd liao.

RVN
06-03-2004, 06:35 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted that he now fears being out-muscled by Chelsea every time he makes a move in the transfer market.
The Old Trafford supremo was powerless to prevent his Premiership rivals from snatching Arjen Robben from under his nose earlier in the week, months after he had first identified the Dutch wonderkid as a transfer priority.

Arjen's club PSV Eindhoven revealed that they had decided to do business with Chelsea after the West Londoners comfortably outbid United.

Ferguson is fearful that with former Old Trafford chief executive Peter Kenyon now directing business operations at Stamford Bridge, the Roman-Abramovich backed-Blues could now beat United to almost any transfer target they might have lined up.

"I can't believe that is the last one they know about," stated Ferguson in reference to Kenyon's knowledge of United's transfer strategy.

"I suppose they could buy everybody. Every club is looking and wondering about that.

"We have a good worldwide scouting network and when we identify someone we try to do it as quickly as we can.

"In the case of Robben we made an offer which PSV Eindhoven refused and which they used to jack up Chelsea's bid."

Ferguson went on to concede that the West Londoners could conceivably purchase players solely in a bid to prevent rivals from strengthening, but questioned whether Claudio Ranieri had so far managed to assemble a balanced squad.

"It's difficult to say. They have certainly bought all these midfield players. It's interesting."

Meanwhile, United midfielder Paul Scholes has requested a personal hearing to defend himself against a charge of violent conduct by the Football Association.

The England star was cited after he clashed with Middlesbrough's Brazilian midfielder Doriva during their Barclaycard Premiership encounter at Old Trafford on February 11.

Match official Paul Durkin indicated in his match report that he had not seen the incident, but it was picked up on television replays and the FA decided to act.

Ferguson has claimed there was nothing to the clash, but Scholes will be facing a three-match ban should he fail to prove his innocence.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1126358,00.html

bloody abramovic playing CM lah non-stop. :mad:

Ronaldo7
06-03-2004, 10:33 PM
FT: Man Utd 2 Fulham 1

we are in the semi final now :)

Ch3tah_39
06-03-2004, 10:39 PM
GREAT!!..:laugh:

trax06
07-03-2004, 01:30 AM
i think we shuld keep the transfer dealings quiet...
like how arse ne is doin...

suddenly he buy Reyes..if Chelsea know..he prolly be there now.

Yellowfin
07-03-2004, 01:42 AM
Originally posted by trax06
i think we shuld keep the transfer dealings quiet...
like how arse ne is doin...

suddenly he buy Reyes..if Chelsea know..he prolly be there now.

I think it is quite difficult as Man U is a public listed company so everything must send report to the stock exchange.

Compare to chelsea and Arsenal which are private company which do not need to tell shareholders anything until the deal is done.

orca_sea
07-03-2004, 01:57 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

I think it is quite difficult as Man U is a public listed company so everything must send report to the stock exchange.

Compare to chelsea and Arsenal which are private company which do not need to tell shareholders anything until the deal is done.

Yeah tatz kind of bad..:( tat damn Roman guy juz injected 500 million for Chelsea to buy players.. siao man... Chelsea cfm want to buy evry Man U target..:mad: