PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

trax06
07-03-2004, 02:09 AM
so how ??

orca_sea
07-03-2004, 02:25 AM
Originally posted by trax06
so how ??

How would i know?? Can onli bank on the youth development team lor if worst come to worst:(

uRiZEn
07-03-2004, 02:26 AM
There will be an after effect if chelski keep buying every man u target.Like duff who is unhappy tat robben is going to chelski.

Sooner or later the team gonna be fillled with prima donnas.

ccloh
07-03-2004, 10:43 AM
good 1 down and another one to go (porto) :D

stam
07-03-2004, 11:35 AM
man utd should just any how hamtam a list of 30 players they interested in let chelsea go n buy..:laugh:

RuMmYtUb
07-03-2004, 12:47 PM
Nice win, but not exactly vintage Utd...

but anyways, chelski wanna buy walter samuel....
i think Man Utd should line up for him... for 15million, samuel is very solid, something that our team is missing since the absence of Rio..

leo_llw
07-03-2004, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

I think it is quite difficult as Man U is a public listed company so everything must send report to the stock exchange.

Compare to chelsea and Arsenal which are private company which do not need to tell shareholders anything until the deal is done.
actually Manure dun need to reveal if they are interested in a plater. Only when a deal is done, then the details of the deal needs to be published.

SAF would have gotten Robbens if Manure had nt haggle over the price. Anyway Manure is the richest club in the world. Even if 15 million, it would have been worth it since Robbens is young and could, like Giggs, contributed at least 10 years of quality service.

Manure of Arsenal could always seek first refusal for any player they are interested...as a precaution.

of course Chelsea with their new found backing really change the transfer market. :mad:

trax06
07-03-2004, 03:38 PM
any1 visit fortune teller... ask what will happen to chelsea ??

the future looks 1/2

leslie_lai
07-03-2004, 04:58 PM
Ronaldo is becoming very very mature in his play, extremely pleased with his performance last night.

Although I do not like Fletcher, I have to say he played well last night as well.

So long as our defensive problems are solved, there should be no problem going far in both the CL and winning the FA cup. The EPL title is gone, unfortunately. Arsenal looks and are unstoppable at the moment and I believe they can keep it up till the end of the season.

RVN
07-03-2004, 04:59 PM
Now in the last 4 of the FA Cup, still got arsenal there, next up Porto, do or die mission for us , must win, can we keep a clean sheet though otherwise we have to beat them by 2 goals? :(

guoquanyap
07-03-2004, 09:32 PM
it's been a long time since we keep a clean sheet....the last clean is against newcastle at home, drew 0-0.....11jan....now is already 7mar :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

ccloh
07-03-2004, 09:35 PM
don't mind utd meets arsenal in the FA semi and throw them out of the competition just like the treble winning season when both utd and arsenal and utd are locked horn in both the epl title and FA cup and in the end :D :D

guoquanyap
07-03-2004, 09:40 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
don't mind utd meets arsenal in the FA semi and throw them out of the competition just like the treble winning season when both utd and arsenal and utd are locked horn in both the epl title and FA cup and in the end :D :D

alamak manu confirm wont meet arsenal lah....either meeting one of the four team playing today.....

trax06
07-03-2004, 10:46 PM
Chelski want Rio
Roman Abramovich wants Rio Ferdinand to join his Chelsea revolution. Ferdinand, serving an eight month ban for missing a drugs test, is seen as the ideal partner for John Terry in the heart of the Chelsea defence.
Sports staff, News Of The World

Rio and Duff set for swap
Manchester United and Chelsea could carry out a swap deal which will see Rio Ferdinand and Damien Duff changing clubs. It is understood that Ferdinand is anxious to join the Abramovich revolution at Stamford Bridge once he has completed his eight month ban.
John Richardson, Daily Star

this better dont happen.

Ronaldo7
07-03-2004, 10:58 PM
Chelski want Rio
Roman Abramovich wants Rio Ferdinand to join his Chelsea revolution. Ferdinand, serving an eight month ban for missing a drugs test, is seen as the ideal partner for John Terry in the heart of the Chelsea defence.

Manchester United and Chelsea could carry out a swap deal which will see Rio Ferdinand and Damien Duff changing clubs. It is understood that Ferdinand is anxious to join the Abramovich revolution at Stamford Bridge once he has completed his eight month ban.

this better dont happen.

chelsea :mad:

guoquanyap
08-03-2004, 12:43 AM
Chelski want Rio

this better dont happen.

think is jus rumour onli....spent 30million to sell him away meh.....if roman offer 50million pound then okie lor....

ccloh
08-03-2004, 02:05 AM
well can always place a high price tag on rio. if chelski is serious then won't mind the high selling price. with that amt of $$$ can buy a few good defenders. rio maybe gd but he somehow is a problematic fellow outside football. suspend driving license, forget to take drug test, etc.... not sure after he finishes his ban he won't make another big mistake and drag utd down again.

hmm wonder why chelski never think of buying sol campbell ???

RVN
08-03-2004, 11:43 AM
No way would I swap Rio for Duff or even anyone from the Chelsea team.. He's just too important, look how much we've miss him since he's been out Like he has showed he is class when he feels the need to prove himself. He will be fired up next season. We need another world class defender as it is.

Duff's a great player, but I believe that the Rio/Silvestre partnership is critical for success.

Chelski can buzz off stop showing-off their money. :mad:

leo_llw
08-03-2004, 01:01 PM
Fat hope :D

SebastianKae
08-03-2004, 05:32 PM
read about the swap, haha, joker chelski up at it again.
Well, i could see duffy going to utd becuz of robben's arrival. But theres noway i see ferdinand going to chelski.

RuMmYtUb
08-03-2004, 06:17 PM
well can always place a high price tag on rio. if chelski is serious then won't mind the high selling price. with that amt of $$$ can buy a few good defenders. rio maybe gd but he somehow is a problematic fellow outside football. suspend driving license, forget to take drug test, etc.... not sure after he finishes his ban he won't make another big mistake and drag utd down again.

hmm wonder why chelski never think of buying sol campbell ???

Tad too old lar..

Ch3tah_39
08-03-2004, 08:08 PM
no way man utd will let rio go....
man utd match against porto, hope man utd will go through..
hope the defence wake up..:(

stam
08-03-2004, 08:19 PM
chelsea oso interested in Man Utd target Van der Vaart!!! :mad:

StormTrooper
08-03-2004, 10:26 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw

Fat hope :D

never count chickens before they hatch :cool:

Spock
08-03-2004, 10:44 PM
Originally posted by stam
chelsea oso interested in Man Utd target Van der Vaart!!! :mad:

WAH PIANG OEI!Their scouts drink kopi with man u's isit??:mad:

ccloh
08-03-2004, 11:44 PM

50% of my wish come true :D
waiting for the remaining 50% to become true also :D

guoquanyap
09-03-2004, 12:30 AM
maybe by meeting arsenal is jus wat we need to push ourselves to saved our season....

will history repeat itself....will we win arsenal and go on to win another treble?.....:D

RuMmYtUb
09-03-2004, 09:14 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
maybe by meeting arsenal is jus wat we need to push ourselves to saved our season....

will history repeat itself....will we win arsenal and go on to win another treble?.....:D

True.. hope it acts as a motivation..

SebastianKae
09-03-2004, 09:17 AM

Well, its not impossible. As a Utd fan, no doubt i want that to happen too. But lets not sound as if its a fact that we will overtake Arsenal, we just hope Utd will try.

ccloh
09-03-2004, 09:25 AM
let not be afraid to meet arsenal. utd must have confident of themselves.

RVN
09-03-2004, 01:49 PM
Bring the gooners on, I want us to beat them.

A repeat of 1999 at Villa Park again. :D

But tonight concentrate on Porto, we must win. :bounce:

Ch3tah_39
09-03-2004, 08:53 PM
ya man utd muz concentrate on todae match and get through to the quater final...

guoquanyap
09-03-2004, 11:32 PM
the coward afraid to play us at villa park....coward!! :pissed:

guoquanyap
10-03-2004, 01:33 AM
United-Arsenal semi at Villa Park
Manchester United have won the battle over the venue for their FA Cup semi-final with Arsenal.

After a lengthy meeting, the Football Association have agreed that the fixture will be played at Villa Park on Saturday April 3, with a 12pm or 12.15pm kick-off, with Sunderland's tie against either Millwall or Tranmere scheduled for 1pm the next day at Old Trafford.

The move has been hailed as a victory for the fans after supporters from both United and Arsenal demanded to be consulted over the timing of the game, which had been the subject of intense confusion. Arsenal officials, led by manager Arsene Wenger, called for the match to be switched to the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff because of its greater capacity and easier access from London.

But having correctly assumed the game would be pulled forward a day from its scheduled Sunday berth and given a lunchtime kick-off, United dug their heels in and demanded the match be played at the original venue where the Red Devils won their famous 1999 semi-final replay against the Gunners.

They argued that their fans would be greatly inconvenienced at having to head to South Wales at such a time and pointed out their opposition to playing a semi-final at the same venue as the final.

Supporters from both clubs then waded into the debate, suggesting they were being treated as 'turnstile fodder' by the game's governing body.

Finally, after a meeting involving all relevant parties, the FA have switched the fixture back to Villa Park where the Barclaycard Premiership giants were originally told the match would be played if they were drawn together.

'Given all the realistic options, this is welcome news,' said Mark Longden, spokesman for the Independent Manchester United Supporters Association.

'Supporters of both Arsenal and Manchester United were rightly concerned that decisions were being taken without the input of the people who would be most inconvenienced by the eventual outcome.

'It is the fans who have to pay for their tickets, and they deserve to be consulted on matters of this kind.'

With both Arsenal and United hoping to be involved in Champions League action the week after the semi-final, a switch to Saturday was always likely - and the news means Villa's scheduled Premiership encounter with Manchester City will now be postponed.

Earlier, Wenger confirmed his wish to play at the Millennium Stadium but insisted he would accept whatever the FA decided.

'We've made it known that we would prefer Cardiff, because there will be a massive demand for tickets,' he said.

'But we will accept whatever the FA decide. If we have to play at Villa Park then we would still be happy.'

The timing of the game squeezes the space between the league game between the pair on March 28, which could be bad news for Sven-Goran Eriksson - given England head to Sweden for an important friendly in the middle of the following week.

Wenger has already confirmed he will be without Gilberto for the FA Cup clash because he will be required for Brazil's World Cup qualifier against Paraguay, a situation which is almost certain to apply to United midfielder Kleberson.

yes gonna play at villa park..... ;)

uRiZEn
10-03-2004, 03:33 AM
Venue makes a diff meh....keeping my fingers crossed tat our defence can hold henry and gang.

guoquanyap
10-03-2004, 03:34 AM
United team: Howard, G Neville, Brown, O'Shea, P Neville, Butt, Djemba-Djemba, Scholes, Fletcher, Giggs, van Nistelrooy...

no saha...no ronaldo.....and impt no keano.....abit **** up line-up...

uRiZEn
10-03-2004, 04:31 AM
Can see Fergie going for pure brute then flair.

Tat C. Alberto damn actor siah...:mad:

guoquanyap
10-03-2004, 04:34 AM
**** we should be 2-0 up!!! but very gd performace....full of hunger...keep it going lads....

samwise
10-03-2004, 05:41 AM
hello!

hello!

shove it down the throat!!!!

guoquanyap
10-03-2004, 05:42 AM
sadly one of our best game but let porto nick it at the last mins....

cracker
10-03-2004, 05:45 AM
only error was made throughout the night and it proved fatal....

try again next yr !

trax06
10-03-2004, 05:48 AM
costinho gets the finger.

samwise
10-03-2004, 05:51 AM
Originally posted by cracker
try again next yr !

in UEFA Cup.....

jamomatt
10-03-2004, 05:57 AM
Originally posted by samwise

in UEFA Cup.....

I think you mistook this for the Liverpool fans thread? :D

samwise
10-03-2004, 06:01 AM
Originally posted by jamomatt

I think you mistook this for the Liverpool fans thread? :D

the way that they are playing, i could almost mistaken man u for liverpool.

leo_llw
10-03-2004, 06:05 AM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Can see Fergie going for pure brute then flair.

Tat C. Alberto damn actor siah...:mad:
Actually Alberto and McCarthy have been falling down like tenpins to cheat for penalty all night. RVN was also doing that at the start of the match but at least he got more class than those 2 :)

It's an irony that Manure should go out in a night where they turn in their best defensive displays in weeks. The entire back 4 was superb.

Sad to say, the midfield cannot stamp its mark. Manure yet to find someone to replace Roy Keane.

Fletcher impress me though ...hahahaha. To have baby assassin on the bench is a mistake...he obviously isn't back to full fitness and was holding back in his tackles and runs... :eek:

The importance at Villa Park has been raised by a few notches :laugh:

King_Henry
10-03-2004, 06:05 AM
Originally posted by samwise

the way that they are playing, i could almost mistaken man u for liverpool.
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

leslie_lai
10-03-2004, 06:10 AM
I thought United played okay until the very last moment.

Some points to highlight

- Saha was totally caught out of the game, more European exposure needed.
- Gary's experience in the CL proved crucial. He showed that he still has alot to offer and to teach the rest of the defenders.
- Keano was missed, in midfield especially.
- Phil should be kept just for the domestic league
- Ruud isn't getting enough suppy from the rest of the team

Porto wasn't that good, but good enough. This season is almost a goner and I don't see any chance of landing any silverware unless they get past Arsenal in the FA cup. I'm just hoping that United learns from all the mistakes they made this season and try again the next season. Hate to say this but we really need new defenders and Rio has to be kept at all costs.

leslie_lai
10-03-2004, 06:13 AM

Actually Alberto and McCarthy have been falling down like tenpins to cheat for penalty all night. RVN was also doing that at the start of the match but at least he got more class than those 2 :)

It's an irony that Manure should go out in a night where they turn in their best defensive displays in weeks. The entire back 4 was superb.

Sad to say, the midfield cannot stamp its mark. Manure yet to find someone to replace Roy Keane.

Fletcher impress me though ...hahahaha. To have baby assassin on the bench is a mistake...he obviously isn't back to full fitness and was holding back in his tackles and runs... :eek:

The importance at Villa Park has been raised by a few notches :laugh:

Yep. The entire defence did really well tonight. The problem is they are not capable of producing such displays consistent enough and the Porto goal was partly a mistake by them for not falling back fast enough although Howard should have punched the ball further away or held on to it.

Nevertheless, good game.

leslie_lai
10-03-2004, 06:16 AM

Best for the defence but not the attack. Horrible attacking play, running aroung like headless chickens other than Paul Scholes in the first half. Ruud wasn't getting the supplies and had to work so hard to win opportunities, that isn't the way it's supposed to be.

RadEoNic
10-03-2004, 06:16 AM
darren fletcher is good
djemba commit some pretty embarassing stuff, although they did not result in goals(nearly)
ronaldo is hilarious
they need a new defender the calibre of ferdinand

PORTO DIDN'T DESERVE TO WIN

leslie_lai
10-03-2004, 06:20 AM
Originally posted by RadEoNic
darren fletcher is good
djemba commit some pretty embarassing stuff, although they did not result in goals(nearly)
ronaldo is hilarious
they need a new defender the calibre of ferdinand

PORTO DIDN'T DESERVE TO WIN

They didn't deserve to win this game, and they didn't! But they deserved to go through.

Fletcher is good, but what United needs is someone like the old Roy Keane or Markele, someone who DRIVES THROUGH the heart of midfield. Fletcher needs to work on holding up the ball.

RadEoNic
10-03-2004, 06:21 AM
Originally posted by leslie_lai

They didn't deserve to win this game, and they didn't! But they deserved to go through.

Fletcher is good, but what United needs is someone like the old Roy Keane or Markele, someone who DRIVES THROUGH the heart of midfield. Fletcher needs to work on holding up the ball. he's too skinny
but that last pullback cross from the byeline was beautiful

hwmook
10-03-2004, 06:32 AM

one of the best games? i seriously thought both team play quite poorly. i don't like the anyhow whack style. man u fail to control the game and hold onto the ball. porto have zero ideas in attack. due to the last point, i think man u deserved to win this match but ............

hwmook
10-03-2004, 06:38 AM

Best for the defence but not the attack. Horrible attacking play, running aroung like headless chickens other than Paul Scholes in the first half. Ruud wasn't getting the supplies and had to work so hard to win opportunities, that isn't the way it's supposed to be.

i agree with what u mentioned. but man u defense didn't really do well at all. its mainly porto failure to make use of the chances they had. they have so many chances to shoot just outside the box and none of them actually make it into the goal area.

genesis113
10-03-2004, 06:40 AM
no surprise. The outcome was expected.
But it's too pity to see the players worked so hard, but still conceding goal.
Although they are not in form, but they fought every inch of field wf Porto.
The linesman's decision to rule out Scholes second goal was too costly for United. It is definitely a good goal, but United just no luck.
Maybe this is just the season that United have to learn lessons so that they would come back stronger in the next season.

cracker
10-03-2004, 06:59 AM
SAF's comment, quoted from soccernet,....

Fergie: Disallowed goal the key

Sir Alex Ferguson bemoaned a disallowed goal as his Manchester United team slipped out of the Champions League.

Paul Scholes gave United a 1-0 first-half lead in their last-16 second-leg tie against Porto at Old Trafford, levelling the aggregate score at 2-2 and putting his side in line for an away-goals win.

The England midfielder thought he had doubled the lead on the stroke of half time, only for the linesman's flag to cut short his celebrations - wrongly as television replays proved.

Francisco Costinha then reacted quickest in injury-time at the end of the game when Tim Howard kept out Benni McCarthy's brilliant stoppage-time free-kick and slammed home the goal which gave Porto a 1-1 draw - and therefore a 3-2 aggregate win.

Ferguson told ITV: 'That's proved vital - the linesman didn't do his job, but it's one of those things.

'I thought we did so well. They only had one chance in the first half - but that's football.

'We looked very solid but now we have to accept it and bounce back.'
"..

quite a diplomatic comment.....problem they can only bounce back next season.

ccloh
10-03-2004, 09:46 AM
don't worry, utd is out but the players didn't played badly. brown didn't commit any mistake there. he is definitely recovering that is a gd sign.

next season utd will be back.

1 question always puzzle me, saha maybe good in epl, score goals but in his 2 match performance against porto, he is so-so only.

jamomatt
10-03-2004, 11:41 AM
don't worry, utd is out but the players didn't played badly. brown didn't commit any mistake there. he is definitely recovering that is a gd sign.

next season utd will be back.

1 question always puzzle me, saha maybe good in epl, score goals but in his 2 match performance against porto, he is so-so only.

Continental different ball game I guess. Defenders not as slow as in the EPL. Somemore only his 2nd match ever on this level. But all credit to Porto, their spoiler tactics may not be pretty but must admit they are effective:( .

guoquanyap
10-03-2004, 12:37 PM
sad sad sad....:( if scholes goal nv disallowed....big IF....haiz....

RVN
10-03-2004, 12:40 PM
While, for 89 minutes, I thought we were through, then Howard fail to hand on to the ball to the free-kick then suay let the ball fall to the porto player and score, I am going to **** that linesman, that 2nd goal for Scholes just before half-time should have stood, **** no luck. :mad: :(

trax06
10-03-2004, 12:43 PM
i missed the diallowed goal,damn

was in the kitchen

Yellowfin
10-03-2004, 12:46 PM
My worst fear before the match came true when they announce that the Russian ref and his team of lineman going to official the match.

Even though Man U defense play well compare to theother previous matches, somehow it is not the formal self of what Man U are.

Nowadays, Man U tend to play too many long ball instead of passing game.

RVN
10-03-2004, 12:52 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson was dealt a further injury blow on Tuesday night after watching his side knocked out of Europe at the hands of Porto.

United have been hampered by injuries, hindered by suspensions this season and, having learned of injuries to Mikael Silvestre, Ronaldo and Eric Djemba-Djemba, the Reds' poor run of luck shows no sign of abating.

Mikael Silvestre missed the Porto clash at Old Trafford, having aggravated the ankle injury that has seen him sidelined for the past two weeks.

The Frenchman blocked a shot in a practice match and was subsequently forced out of the crucial European tie. Sir Alex now fears Silvestre could miss up to another three weeks of football.

However, if the eventual result against Porto wasn't disappointing enough for the United boss, injury was added to insult as Eric Djemba-Djemba was forced off at half-time with a suspected broken rib, while livewire winger Cristiano Ronaldo had to be stretchered off within minutes of coming on as a substitute.

Ronaldo will have a scan on Wednesday morning to discover the full extent of the injury, but news of further casualties to a squad already dented by injury and suspension will come as little consolation to the Reds manager.

The Portuguese youngster received a hefty challenge from Porto left-back Nuno Valente. “We’re sending him for a scan tomorrow," said a concerned Ferguson, "but it looks a bad one. The defender caught him on his knee and thigh."

Meanwhile, the diagnosis for Djemba-Djemba, who impressed Ferguson during the first half, is not promising. ”Eric got elbowed in the first half and we think he has broken his rib," added Sir Alex.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=55041&itype=466&icategoryid=120

guoquanyap
10-03-2004, 01:28 PM
even ronaldo was injured haiz....hopefully his injuring not serious

RVN
10-03-2004, 01:35 PM
More injuries and suspension then.

Rio (6 more months)
Silvestre (3 more weeks)
Ronaldo (Scan today , dunno how long he be out)
Djemba (Broken rib, how long does that take?)
Keane (faces 2 more possible Euro ban)
Gary Neville (2 more domestic ban)
Scholes (faces possible 3 domestic ban)
Fortune (out for the season)

This has been pretty much screwed us really. :(

Nothing right going for us this season. :mad:

RVN
10-03-2004, 02:14 PM
United's squad needs some reshaping after this season and Fergie has to do some deep thinking and reflection,the board should back him up with money also in the summer.

We need quality players in the squad, not just potential.

leo_llw
10-03-2004, 04:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
While, for 89 minutes, I thought we were through, then Howard fail to hand on to the ball to the free-kick then suay let the ball fall to the porto player and score, I am going to **** that linesman, that 2nd goal for Scholes just before half-time should have stood, **** no luck. :mad: :(
Aiyah...as Hoddle says Karma mah...

Manu did the same to bayern on the 99 final also. bayern worse off...they lost in the final...manu also lose in the quarter..not too bad.

Anyway, luck did shone on bayern in 2000 mah....maybe manu will get some luck next year? :laugh:

ahgohgoh
10-03-2004, 05:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
More injuries and suspension then.

Rio (6 more months)
Silvestre (3 more weeks)
Ronaldo (Scan today , dunno how long he be out)
Djemba (Broken rib, how long does that take?)
Keane (faces 2 more possible Euro ban)
Gary Neville (2 more domestic ban)
Scholes (faces possible 3 domestic ban)
Fortune (out for the season)

This has been pretty much screwed us really. :(

Nothing right going for us this season. :mad:

Indeed, nothing is happening for us this season! i think arsenal will win alot this season! hopefully not the FA cup too lol...

Then as usual, wenger will declare a power shift, a crumbling united empire. OHHHH JUST WRITE US OFF!!!

This season just isn't happening! i think the team lacking influence. If we lost anything from the beckham sale, it's the winning mentality even when we're losing!

How? who should we buy?

RVN
10-03-2004, 05:10 PM
We do need another quality defender at some stage, and a left winger to replace Giggs.

I won't mind another striker either.

It a joke to think that we are the richest club in the world yet can't buy the best. :mad:

deathblade
10-03-2004, 05:28 PM

Fletcher is good, but what United needs is someone like the old Roy Keane or Markele, someone who DRIVES THROUGH the heart of midfield. Fletcher needs to work on holding up the ball.

If they didn't deserve to win this game, they definitely didn't deserve to win in the last leg where they were outplayed in much of the match..... Did't deserve to win in both legs but deserve to go through? No offence though, lust questionng his logic...:confused:

leslie_lai
10-03-2004, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by deathblade

If they didn't deserve to win this game, they definitely didn't deserve to win in the last leg where they were outplayed in much of the match..... Did't deserve to win in both legs but deserve to go through? No offence though, lust questionng his logic...:confused:

They deserved to go through because United did not outscore them, simple as that.

:(

beehive3783
10-03-2004, 07:09 PM
I recall the days when everyone had a part to play in a goal. And everyone had a chance to score then... Those were the days...

My worst fear before the match came true when they announce that the Russian ref and his team of lineman going to official the match.

Even though Man U defense play well compare to theother previous matches, somehow it is not the formal self of what Man U are.

Nowadays, Man U tend to play too many long ball instead of passing game. :(

Ronaldo7
10-03-2004, 09:04 PM
United Torres bid rebuffed
Wednesday, 10 March 2004

by Mark Kendall
Reports in Spain claim that Atletico Madrid have rejected an offer of €36 million (£24 million) plus Diego Forlan from Manchester United for teenage striking sensation Fernando Torres.
Catalan daily El Mundo Deportivo have stated that the bid was submitted by the Premiership titans 'a few days ago' but was immediately rejected by Los Rojiblancos.

Despite the acquisition of Louis Saha from Fulham, United are keen to further bolster their striking options and would appear prepared to dispense with Forlan - already linked with Valencia this year - who has struggled to make the grade since his arrival at Old Trafford in January 2002.

Torres, already a full international with three caps to his name, is regarded as the outstanding youngster in Spanish football and is enjoying a superb season domestically.

The powerful youngster has bagged 13 goals for Atletico so far this term and has been the driving force behind their push for European football.

A product of the club's youth system, Torres has become an idol for Atletico fans and recently signed a new long-term contract at El Vicente Calderon.

The deal, aimed to ward off interest from Europe's big guns, ties the hit-man to the capital club until 2008, and has set his release fee at €90 million (£60 million).

The Primera outfit are determined to retain the services of their prized asset and issued a stern hands off to Chelsea earlier in the season after it was reported that Roman Abramovich had sanctioned a multi-million pound move for the player.

It seems that United are the next big club to test Atletico's resolve but the response remains the same.

Barcelona are also reported to be preparing a summer move for the teenager but with Torres, a self-confessed Atletico fan, having already insisted that he wants to continue at the club, it seems that 'El Nino' will not be leaving the Calderon for the foreseeable future.

RVN
10-03-2004, 09:12 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has defiantly insisted that Manchester United's season is far from over despite their dramatic Champions League exit at the hands of Porto.

The Portuguese side struck an equaliser through Francisco Costinha in the 90th minute to prevent United qualifying for the tournament's quarter-finals for the first time in eight years - a failure that could cost them up to £10million in gate receipts, prize money and TV cash.

With United nine points behind unbeaten Arsenal in the Premiership and playing the Gunners in the semi-finals of the FA Cup, Ferguson's side are facing the very real possibility of a trophyless season.

But the United boss said: 'We have to ensure European football for next year but there is no reason to give up on the league - that has been proved by the manner in which we went out against Porto and I don't see how anyone could have seen what happened in the last minute.

'We are in the semi-final of the FA Cup and that will not be an easy game for either side.

'Obviously we are out of the European Cup which is disappointing having done so well and qualified for Europe so often.'

United now have injury problems to three players ahead of their must-win derby against Manchester City on Sunday. Cristiano Ronaldo was carried off injured against Porto with a knee and thigh injury, Eric Djemba-Djemba suffered a suspected broken rib and Mikael Silvestre failed to make the starting line up after suffering an ankle injury in training on Monday that could keep him out for up to three weeks.

Ronaldo will have a scan on the injury today but Ferguson is confident it is not too serious.

The United boss added that the injuries were just part of the bad luck that he believed his side had.

He said: 'You get shocked in life and I suppose you could not see that one coming. I thought that defensively we were absolutely brilliant. They had a lot of possession of the ball but I felt that we were in complete control.

'It was not a great Manchester United performance but it was laced with a lot of good play and I think we deserved to win the match.'

The United manager said he was stunned that Paul Scholes had a second goal ruled out for offside minutes after he had headed the home side in front.

Ferguson said: 'To be honest I could not believe it. You can understand it maybe if there is one defender and the linesman does not see it but when there are three playing him onside you cannot understand it. That would have put us into a very, very comfortable position at 2-0 up, but then that's football.'

Porto coach Jose Mourinho said he had buried the hatchet with Ferguson after some fiery exchanges between the pair in the build-up to the match with the Scot accusing the Portuguese players of diving and cheating.

Mourinho said: 'Sir Alex said congratulations at the end and we shook hands. That's what I like in football.

'Sometimes somebody is incorrect, I have done it before and I will do it again, and sometimes you play with words and try and put some pressure on the opposition but when the last whistle goes it's finished, you shake hands and I am happy with that.

'I was also pleased to see so many Manchester United players in our dressing room afterwards changing shirts and giving congratulations, the Neville brothers were there and some others.'

Mourinho added that it was 'an historic victory' for the Portuguese side and would give hope to the whole nation ahead of the European Championship which the country is hosting this summer.

'To play like we did was absolutely fantastic and not only for the club and the players but for the country and to the prestige of the national team. It will give them confidence that the national team can do good things in the European Championship in the summer.'

Ch3tah_39
10-03-2004, 09:40 PM
okie.. man utd can take this season as a lesson.. ;)
hope by next season they can sort out all the probs liao..
confident in man utd...:)

RVN
10-03-2004, 09:51 PM
Sei buay suay, 4 first-team defenders missing, Rio and Gary suspended, Silvestre out for 3 more weeks after aggravating his ankle in training, Fortune a long-term injury after having his operation on his knee last Friday, Ronaldo having a scan today, Djemba Djemba out with broken ribs. :( :( :(

guoquanyap
11-03-2004, 12:05 AM
look like it's really a jinx season for us....charity sheild holder and christmas champion....:alien:

guoquanyap
11-03-2004, 12:57 AM
MANCHESTER United have had a £26 million bid for striker Fernando Torres turned down, according to reports in Spain.

The Reds reportedly made the massive bid for the Atletico Madrid star earlier this week, with £24 million plus Diego Forlan apparently offered to the La Liga side.

But Spanish paper El Mundo has stated that the bid was immediately rejected, with Atletico desperate to hang on to a teenager who is already a firm favourite having fired 13 goals this season.

Torres, already a member of the Spanish national squad, is rated as one of Europe's top young stars and his acquisition would be a clear riposte to Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger who recently splashed out over £10 million on another Spanish youngster, Jose Reyes.

Despite the recent purchase of Louis Saha, United remain keen to sign another striker, though they would be willing to include Forlan, a £1 million target for Valencia, as part of the deal.

Atletico, though, will prove hugely reluctant sellers. Fired by Torres, they are hopeful of securing European football for next season and they have shown their intent to hang on to the striker by signing him up to a long term contract with a release clause set at £60 million.

Should Torres prove too pricey even for a club of United's wealth, Ferguson could shift his attention to Wayne Rooney.

Despite protestations to the contrary, Everton would have little option but to cash in on their star asset should a large enough bid be made and according to today's Daily Mirror United are ready to test their resolve with a package that, with the inclusion of Nicky Butt, would work out at almost £30 million.

orca_sea
11-03-2004, 01:55 AM
look like it's really a jinx season for us....charity sheild holder and christmas champion....:alien:

Haiz..:(

trax06
11-03-2004, 02:15 AM
whats happening...hope its not a self destruct season.

stam
11-03-2004, 02:24 AM
still got hope...:)

RVN
11-03-2004, 02:27 AM
We need established player now, not just young potential, I won't want us to pay 26m or 30m to Torres or Rooney, waste of money.:alien:

RVN
11-03-2004, 03:27 AM
whats happening...hope its not a self destruct season.

IMO the whole Rio thing is one of the biggest reasons for these problems. His suspension, self- enforced as it is (remember that he could still be playing now if he wanted to) meant Wes coming back into the team while he still wasnt match fit. This obviously led to problems as the defence started leaking goals and we started losing games we maybe should have won, easily (Wolves). This led to a loss of confidence throughout the team which, IMO, they still havent overcome. Losing Silvestre and Fortune just added to our problems in defence.

Imo the defence is improving judging by last night defensive display, but the team is still suffering from the problems of the last few weeks, seem like we get nervous when we go in front, then we sit back cos we afraid to concede another, lack of confidence. :(

I think Gary Nev said it best last night in an interview:

"Seven weeks ago there was a team in England who were clear in the Premiership and had the best defensive record in the league. That team was Manchester United. Suddenly we are a shambles"

Also I think SAF have to admit he has made mistakes this season.

Just not publicly though

cracker
11-03-2004, 07:08 AM
looking at the current team,,,

players like Gary Nevile, Paul Scholes, Nick Butt, Ryan Giggs, Ole will be abt 30 to 31; meaning should be at their prime.

Ryan Giggs' aging legs could no longer produce those dazzling runs as often as he wants to.

I tot Gary Nevile was great handling the central defence role on tuesday nite. Maybe SAF should stick to the same back 4 till season end....

But the problem for the whole season was best summed up by Ruud....there is no 1 capable of crossing balls from either flanks for him....so many players had tried from the right this season..Gary / Phil Nevile, Keane, Forlan , Fletcher, Ronaldo, Eagles (not tried on EPL yet).

Maybe SAF should use the last few matches of EPL (if they r just purely academic) to test out the youth players.

hwmook
11-03-2004, 07:24 AM

Nowadays, Man U tend to play too many long ball instead of passing game.

so true. i almost fell asleep trying to watch those long balls flying around. my friend who didn't watch the match told me he heard man u play like liverpool. the reputation of man u is going to be spoilt if nothing is done about this.

Seals
11-03-2004, 08:31 AM
got it fm soccernet..
nah mah..win liao..hao lian

McCarthy: United got what they deserved

Jubilant Porto striker Benni McCarthy has launched a scathing attack on Manchester United, accusing the Old Trafford outfit of 'lacking respect'.

McCarthy and his team-mates were intensely annoyed at the diving allegations made by Red Devils chief Sir Alex Ferguson and were further incensed when Gary Neville claimed the Porto players rolled around like girls.

The resentment felt at the comments just increased the celebrations within the Portuguese camp, with McCarthy quick to respond to the jibes.

'I wonder what they feel like being beaten by a team of girls,' said the South African striker, who followed up his two goals in the first leg by firing the last-minute free-kick that Tim Howard could only palm into Costinha's path as Porto scored their stunning 3-2 aggregate win last night.

'Fair play and sportsmanship should still exist in football but Manchester United didn't show us any respect at all and that is very sad.

'Everyone has their own opinion about certain things but you should keep them to yourself.

'You shouldn't go out in public the way they did, calling our players girls and talking about diving for free-kicks.

'They wouldn't even shake our hands in Porto and that is bad for football.

'Manchester United are the biggest side in the world and they should set the standards. Everyone looks up to them but if they don't respect the opposition how can they expect the opposition to respect them.

'What goes around comes around and in the end they got what they deserved. We are through to the next round and they are out. I hope that will be a lesson to them.'

McCarthy admitted he thought his team were bowing out of the competition when the tie entered its final minute with Porto still requiring a goal to see them through.

But the 26-year-old kept his nerve when he strode up to take the 25-yard free-kick after Phil Neville had fouled Edgar Jankauskas, and though McCarthy enjoyed some good fortune when Howard failed to turn the ball away from his own goal, he felt it was richly deserved.

'Nobody gave us any credit for the fact we had beaten Manchester United in the first place and when we went a goal behind in the first half most people would have expected us to give in,' he said.

'But we didn't. We came back and proved we could compete against one of the best sides in Europe.

'We won the UEFA Cup last season and now we have shown it wasn't just luck.'

RuMmYtUb
11-03-2004, 08:59 AM

Very true indeed :alien:

ccloh
11-03-2004, 09:18 AM
looking at the current team,,,

players like Gary Nevile, Paul Scholes, Nick Butt, Ryan Giggs, Ole will be abt 30 to 31; meaning should be at their prime.

Ryan Giggs' aging legs could no longer produce those dazzling runs as often as he wants to.

I tot Gary Nevile was great handling the central defence role on tuesday nite. Maybe SAF should stick to the same back 4 till season end....

But the problem for the whole season was best summed up by Ruud....there is no 1 capable of crossing balls from either flanks for him....so many players had tried from the right this season..Gary / Phil Nevile, Keane, Forlan , Fletcher, Ronaldo, Eagles (not tried on EPL yet).

Maybe SAF should use the last few matches of EPL (if they r just purely academic) to test out the youth players.

ole was injuried. last season ole got into the right midfield and providing those crosses for RVN to score and he and RVN has sort of established among themselves the very much need mutual understanding. this season ole was out most of the season. perhaps it is a good chance for RVN to learn to create and score himself too.

CL out doesn't means end of season, show still go on.

RuMmYtUb
11-03-2004, 09:24 AM
by Adam Marshall
Among the endless stretch of column inches that will be used up discussing the supposed demise of Manchester United, there is one point to look at in a little more detail following the sad UEFA Champions League exit at the hands of Porto.
The manner of the performance in both legs against the Portuguese side will distress even the most ardent of Red Devils fans and, bad refereeing and Tim Howard's mishandling aside, it is this that warrants Sir Alex Ferguson's urgent attention.

Phil Neville has clearly not learnt from experience. The man who conceded a last minute penalty to Arsenal in the 1999 FA Cup semi-final replay and a crucial late spot-kick against Romania in Euro 2000 was guilty of commiting a needless foul on Edgaras Jankauskas in the dying seconds to supply the free kick for Porto that would lead to their equaliser.

It was maybe a harsh decision by the referee to penalise Neville but he could see all evening that the official was happy to whistle at the first sight of physical contact. You could dissect the match and attempt to blame any number of individuals but that is not the issue being raised here.

One factor that may be overlooked during the inevitable post-mortem is the role of new boy Louis Saha.

May I stress at this point that the former Fulham forward has impressed in the red shirt and looks capable of being a genuine hit at Old Trafford, this is certainly no criticism of his undoubted ability.

Yet one must wonder over the transfer policy of 'the world's richest club' when they looked to enter the transfer market in January. Ferguson stressed that his new striker would simply have to be eligible for European competition. It was a prerequisite after United had inexplicably missed out on number one target Ronaldinho.

This, of course, ruled out the cream of the continent's attackers but saw some names bandied about who should never really be big enough stars to represent a club that demands it is a major European force.

Saha was eligible and finally ended up making his way to United for an inflated fee of around £12 million with the main purpose of making an impact in the Champions League.

The Frenchman started the 2-1 defeat in Porto but was then left on the bench on Tuesday night, supposedly carrying an injury.

Although he replaced Eric Djemba-Djemba at the interval, he spent much of the second half fruitlessly chasing the aimless long balls lumped out of defence by his team-mates during one of the worst displays of the passing game witnessed in years by the home side at Old Trafford.

Saha managed one shot, that was blocked in the 72nd minute on Tuesday, and my friends at Opta reliably inform me that he had a header over the bar in first half injury time in the first leg in Oporto. That was the sum total of his goal attempts and contribution to United's 2003-2004 Champions League campaign.

So United's decision to focus on an eligible player yielded two shots from him in Europe this term - neither of which tested the goalkeeper. Again, this is not meant to be a criticism of the player but rather a short-sighted transfer policy in the New Year which, in itself, should not have been required if the hard work had been done in the summer.

The irony is that the former Newcastle United loanee is cup-tied for the one competition where United now need him most - their only realistic hope of success lies in the FA Cup and he represented Fulham in the third round, scoring twice against Cheltenham Town. Perhaps Ferguson, with hindsight, should have added another tick-box to his criteria for a new forward by ensuring they were free to try and win England's famous trophy.

Saha is contracted to United for another four seasons and will, of course, be free to play in all competitions next term. The early signs are positive and he should continue to impress. However, what this miserable campaign should tell the club is that they need to make sure they get their main targets in the summer.

The transfer window is a major obstacle in trying to rectify any mistakes and chasing players eligible for Europe in January does limit your options severely.

It might be irrelevant in terms of the Premiership title race but Saha can be expected to plunder more goals at that level. Yet was it really necessary United paying well over the odds to snap him up in January for what amounted to 121 minutes of European action? Waiting until the summer would surely have seen him arrive for a far lower price.

Of course, hindsight is a wonderful thing and Ferguson, for all his team's shortcomings, would have expected his team to at least reach the quarter finals. But the pressure is now on the current champions making the right decisions in the transfer market in the close season and bringing some real top-class players to Manchester.

What do you think? Have your say? Should transfer policy be dictated by the competitions in which players are available? Who should United target in the summer?

Very true.. (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=190646&cpid=8)

:alien: :alien:

leo_llw
11-03-2004, 10:10 AM
Originally posted by hwmook

so true. i almost fell asleep trying to watch those long balls flying around. my friend who didn't watch the match told me he heard man u play like liverpool. the reputation of man u is going to be spoilt if nothing is done about this.
Actually if you are short of quality in the team, you should change your tactics and the way you play.

Rio the best passer of the defenders are out. In fact I consider only Scholes and Giggs are the only passer in the team.
DJDJ? Dun make me laugh :)

Thus a long ball is warranted. If you try to pass the ball thru the midfield, Porto will kill you with their ball-passing skillful midfielders. :laugh:

RVN
11-03-2004, 01:08 PM
Gary Neville took a leaf out of the Roy Keane book of diplomacy when he described his team-mates' efforts as a shambles after Manchester United's Champions League exit at the hands of Porto.

Three weeks ago Keane lambasted some of United's younger players whom he accused of 'slackening off in training'.

Like his captain, Neville is one of the game's more candid individuals and as he reflected on the defeat by the Portuguese champions, he dismissed suggestions that United have lost their place at football's top table for good.

Neville said: "Seven weeks ago there was a team at the top of the League, four points clear and with the best defensive record in the country. That team was us."

"And now all of a sudden we're a shambles everywhere. That's what happens in football."

"It's a massive blow to be out of the Champions League. We're shell-shocked. It will be difficult to forget this. It will be in our head not just for the next three or four days but the next three or four years."

"But the best is still to come from this squad because I don't think you have seen our best team much. We do have a great recovery rate of picking ourselves up and the future is still bright for this club."

Keane (hamstring) and Eric Djemba-Djemba (rib) are doubtful for Sunday's derby at Manchester City while Mikael Silvestre, Quinton Fortune and Gary Neville - who is suspended - will definitely miss out.

Ronaldo has a chance after a scan on his knee revealed no serious damage yesterday but the FA Cup is now United's only realistic chance of a trophy this season.

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=47944

damm, now Keane also injured, ****. :mad:

Ch3tah_39
11-03-2004, 05:25 PM
alamak so many injuries..:(

RuMmYtUb
11-03-2004, 06:12 PM
Sianz, i think the morale is all time low...:sad:

RVN
11-03-2004, 06:25 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson breathed a sigh of relief on Thursday as results from Cristiano Ronaldo's scan on a thigh injury revealed no break or serious damage.

The 19-year-old Portuguese winger remains a doubt for Sunday's Manchester Derby at Eastlands, but news of no long-term damage eases an ever-increasing list of casualties at Old Trafford.

Ronaldo was caught just above his right knee in a hefty challenge from Nuno Valente, minutes after coming on as a subsitute against Porto on Tuesday.

Ferguson and 65,000 United fans feared the worst as the Reds number seven was stretchered off. Fortunately, though, the injury is less severe than first feared.

Sir Alex will update us on the injury at his Friday press conference.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=55115&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ch3tah_39
11-03-2004, 07:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson breathed a sigh of relief on Thursday as results from Cristiano Ronaldo's scan on a thigh injury revealed no break or serious damage.

The 19-year-old Portuguese winger remains a doubt for Sunday's Manchester Derby at Eastlands, but news of no long-term damage eases an ever-increasing list of casualties at Old Trafford.

Ronaldo was caught just above his right knee in a hefty challenge from Nuno Valente, minutes after coming on as a subsitute against Porto on Tuesday.

Ferguson and 65,000 United fans feared the worst as the Reds number seven was stretchered off. Fortunately, though, the injury is less severe than first feared.

Sir Alex will update us on the injury at his Friday press conference.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=55115&itype=466&icategoryid=120

phew... thats a gd news:)

Ronaldo7
11-03-2004, 08:42 PM
hope utd can bounce back from yesterday match and get a good result against man city :bounce:

cracker
11-03-2004, 09:18 PM

ole was injuried. last season ole got into the right midfield and providing those crosses for RVN to score and he and RVN has sort of established among themselves the very much need mutual understanding. this season ole was out most of the season. perhaps it is a good chance for RVN to learn to create and score himself too.

CL out doesn't means end of season, show still go on.

Ole did well in only a couple of matches last season,,,yes he did provide the cross for Giggs to head in the equaliser against Arsenal at Highbury. But I dont think he is the man for the job on a permanent basis.

Base on Tuesday night performance against Porto, Utd might be able to match Arsenal......provided the former is sharper in their finishing touch.

As for the EPL.,,only a super duper stumble by the gunner will the title be gifted to Chelsea or Man Utd.

StormTrooper
11-03-2004, 09:26 PM

As for the EPL.,,only a super duper stumble by the gunner will the title be gifted to Chelsea or Man Utd.

chelsea and man utd still has to work for their points even if arsenal drop points. so please don't use the word gift.
;)

cracker
11-03-2004, 09:35 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

chelsea and man utd still has to work for their points even if arsenal drop points. so please don't use the word gift.
;)

of cos, Man Utd must win the last 11 matches which include the home game with Chelsea and away to Arsenal .......

but a second place is my best bet for utd !

StormTrooper
11-03-2004, 09:42 PM

of cos, Man Utd must win the last 11 matches which include the home game with Chelsea and away to Arsenal .......

but a second place is my best bet for utd !

i think so too. unless there's a swap of form between arsenal and united.

guoquanyap
12-03-2004, 01:02 AM
heng ronaldo nv suffer long-term injuring....hope he wont kana burnt and hinder he to fulfill his full potential.....

but i mus say he improve alot alot....he is the onli sparks left in the squad.....

stam
12-03-2004, 01:29 AM
man utd does not command the same respect from opponents anymore...:(

StormTrooper
12-03-2004, 07:31 AM
man utd does not command the same respect from opponents anymore...:(

respect has to be earned. so let us earn it! :)

ccloh
12-03-2004, 09:16 AM

respect has to be earned. so let us earn it! :)

re-earn with the next generation of the red devils for sure. this is some hunger for the youngster to fight for. no pt. evey yr always win and soon or later players will be out of hunger and no fighting spirits.

RuMmYtUb
12-03-2004, 10:20 AM

re-earn with the next generation of the red devils for sure. this is some hunger for the youngster to fight for. no pt. evey yr always win and soon or later players will be out of hunger and no fighting spirits.

Ya i hope this will kickstart our trend. The youngsters need it...
we sure need another Keano to lead them..

Ronaldo7
12-03-2004, 07:59 PM
United boss Ferguson has pace-maker fitted
Reuters
Friday March 12, 2004 11:51 AM

MANCHESTER, England, March 12 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has had a heart pacemaker fitted, the English champions said on Friday.

Ferguson said in a statement on the club website: "I want to reassure the fans that everything is okay. I feel fine. It was an option for me to get this done. The club knew about it and I feel great. It's business as usual."

The operation was carried out last week and Ferguson returned to training the following day. He had an irregular heartbeat corrected in December.

RVN
12-03-2004, 08:46 PM
Under-pressure Manchester United have been hit by a devastating double injury blow.

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who revealed today that he has had a pacemaker fitted, learned not only that skipper Roy Keane will miss Sunday's first Eastlands derby with a hamstring injury and but also Quinton Fortune has been ruled out for the rest of the season following knee surgery.

Keane's absence has thrown Ferguson's planning into chaos as, with Rio Ferdinand and Gary Neville both suspended and Mikael Silvestre out with a knee injury, he has only three senior defenders remaining in his squad.

Wes Brown and John O'Shea are almost certain to link up in central defence, with Phil Neville occupying one full-back berth, presumably the right, a move that would see 21-year-old Danny Pugh given his first Premiership start on the left.

If that wasn't enough for Ferguson to cope with, the Scot has also lost Cameroon midfielder Eric Djemba-Djemba who, after learning he had not broken a rib as feared in the midweek Champions League encounter with Porto, immediately jetted off for his country's Olympic qualifier with Congo.

Djemba-Djemba turned in an encouraging 45-minute performance on Tuesday before being forced out of the action, although he was always likely to lose his place as Ferguson looks to bring Louis Saha back into the United starting line-up.

Cristiano Ronaldo (thigh) is highly unlikely to be involved against City either, so while Ferguson can call on stand-in skipper Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Nicky Butt to occupy three of the four midfield slots, his bench could have a distinctly inexperienced look for a side looking to claw back Arsenal's nine-point lead.

Team (from): Howard, Carroll, P Neville, Brown, O'Shea, Pugh, Fletcher, Butt, Scholes, Giggs, Saha, Van Nistelrooy, Lynch, Kleberson, Solskjaer, Forlan, Bellion, Richardson.

damn it....injury curse. :( :mad:

Ch3tah_39
12-03-2004, 09:32 PM
look on the bright side..
during injury woes period, maybe can spot talented young player.
or better combination of players..=p

guoquanyap
12-03-2004, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
United boss Ferguson has pace-maker fitted
Reuters
Friday March 12, 2004 11:51 AM

MANCHESTER, England, March 12 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has had a heart pacemaker fitted, the English champions said on Friday.

Ferguson said in a statement on the club website: "I want to reassure the fans that everything is okay. I feel fine. It was an option for me to get this done. The club knew about it and I feel great. It's business as usual."

The operation was carried out last week and Ferguson returned to training the following day. He had an irregular heartbeat corrected in December.

fergie you hav to take care u cant afford to sick now....

RVN
13-03-2004, 12:09 AM

fergie you hav to take care u cant afford to sick now....

If he was sick, then he would have been in hospital, so he is all right.

Its crunch time now, either the players stand up to be counted or just hand over the title meekily to Arsenal. I hope its the former and that they put in a determined performance against City.

RuMmYtUb
13-03-2004, 12:24 AM
:mad:
all the bad luck is coming, injuries, suspensions, SAF's health... :mad:

Cursed season after winning charity shield..

Alienz
13-03-2004, 01:57 AM
Now it is Houllier turn to wishes Ferguson good health....

Houllier wishes Ferguson 'good health'

Fri 12 Mar, 4:26 PM

Gerard Houllier has wished Sir Alex Ferguson "good health" following news that the Manchester United manager had had a pacemaker fitted.

Liverpool manager Houllier has now made a full recovery from major heart surgery three years ago and believes the pacemaker will not prevent Ferguson from extending his spell at Old Trafford.

Houllier said: "I can feel for Sir Alex. I know with the job there is so much pressure and you can have heart problems.

"A pacemaker is not a major deal any more and he knows that. That is why he has reassured his fans. He said he can do the job as normal and I believe that is right.

"I can tell you that there are a lot of managers who have similar problems, even pacemakers, but the most important thing is Alex's health, and that is clearly fine.

"I am obviously supportive of him, because he was so supportive of me when I had my heart problems. I wish him good health and that he keeps doing his job.''

cracker
13-03-2004, 09:24 AM
izzn't it frightening tat Man Utd last EPL victory was back on Feb 7 when they beat Everton 4-3 at Goodison Park !

and last Saturday FA Cup against Fulham was their first victory since tat day !:rolleyes:

Kelvin Keegan will love to strike another fatal blow to Man Utd's chance of not even finishing second !

Ch3tah_39
13-03-2004, 10:59 AM
izzn't it frightening tat Man Utd last EPL victory was back on Feb 7 when they beat Everton 4-3 at Goodison Park !

and last Saturday FA Cup against Fulham was their first victory since tat day !:rolleyes:

Kelvin Keegan will love to strike another fatal blow to Man Utd's chance of not even finishing second !

hiya... tml against man city will be victory again..:cool:

ccloh
13-03-2004, 12:33 PM
utd must win at city tomorrow.

i could sense that arsenal will drop 2 pt this weekend and utd and chelski will narrow the gap to 7 pts.

all goods thing must come to an end, arsenal unbeaten record will ending soon. remember last time liverpool also go on a unbeaten run and looking to break ispwich's record of 29 but finally at the 29th game got beaten by their mersyside neighbour everton.

leo_llw
13-03-2004, 12:42 PM
Arsenal will win in Ewood...

Manure will have to wait beyond this weekend for Arsenal to slip up.

Good Luck! :laugh:

StormTrooper
13-03-2004, 12:45 PM
Arsenal will win in Edwood...

eh, if you don't post, nobody will say you're mute. go back to arsenal thread pls. :alien:

RVN
13-03-2004, 02:20 PM
Arsenal will win in Edwood...

Hmm, please go away and cut out the word manure, this thread ain't welcome for anti-manu haters like you faggots.. :mad:

flep1
13-03-2004, 05:37 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

hiya... tml against man city will be victory again..:cool:

after the victory, kevin keegan answering to the press when asked how he felt knocking and dooming ManU to third in the league.. he will probably say, i didnt notice that they are third now..

trax06
14-03-2004, 05:32 AM
we gotta win this one...1-0 also can

StormTrooper
14-03-2004, 09:29 AM
we gotta win this one...1-0 also can

please no, we need at least 2 goals to be sure. i don't want another porto.

Ronaldo7
14-03-2004, 10:01 AM
we can do it ;)

leslie_lai
14-03-2004, 10:15 AM
Whack the hell outta the City guys! Its do or die now. :mad:

redstorm
14-03-2004, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Hmm, please go away and cut out the word manure, this thread ain't welcome for anti-manu haters like you faggots.. :mad:

Precisely. I am sure the gunners don't want people to call them "Arse'.

Ch3tah_39
14-03-2004, 11:21 AM
man u will do it lor:)

StormTrooper
14-03-2004, 11:36 AM
man u will do it lor:)

go united!

RVN
14-03-2004, 12:20 PM
utd must win at city tomorrow.

i could sense that arsenal will drop 2 pt this weekend and utd and chelski will narrow the gap to 7 pts.

all goods thing must come to an end, arsenal unbeaten record will ending soon. remember last time liverpool also go on a unbeaten run and looking to break ispwich's record of 29 but finally at the 29th game got beaten by their mersyside neighbour everton.

**** it didn't happen, more pressure on us to win tonight match. :evil:

Another big game, as they all are now. Arsenal now 12 points clear, chelsea are 3 points clear. What do you think? Can we win tomorrow with the mounting injuries?

7 players out, heard Saha could be the 8th with an Achilles problem? damm injury curse. :mad: :(

Still die die must win tonight match. :bounce:

Ch3tah_39
14-03-2004, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by RVN

**** it didn't happen, more pressure on us to win tonight match. :evil:

Another big game, as they all are now. Arsenal now 12 points clear, chelsea are 3 points clear. What do you think? Can we win tomorrow with the mounting injuries?

7 players out, heard Saha could be the 8th with an Achilles problem? damm injury curse. :mad: :(

Still die die must win tonight match. :bounce:

injuries is really a major problem sial la..

RVN
14-03-2004, 12:41 PM
ya lor, very depressing, our entire backline is missing, Rio, Silvestre, G Neville, Fortune, Keane, Ronaldo and Djmeba Djemba all out injured or suspended. :(

Think this be the line-up, but who knows, fergie might spring a suprise or 2.

-----------------------Howard---------------------------

P Neville----------Brown---------O'Shea--------Pugh

Fletcher-----------Butt---------Scholes--------Giggs

-----------Saha----------Ruud---------

Subs: Carroll - Kleberson - Solskjaer - (Lynch or Bellion) - Forlan

guoquanyap
14-03-2004, 01:58 PM
a 2nd look more possible for us now....better dun finish below chelsea....:alien:

RuMmYtUb
14-03-2004, 02:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
ya lor, very depressing, our entire backline is missing, Rio, Silvestre, G Neville, Fortune, Keane, Ronaldo and Djmeba Djemba all out injured or suspended. :(

Think this be the line-up, but who knows, fergie might spring a suprise or 2.

-----------------------Howard---------------------------

P Neville----------Brown---------O'Shea--------Pugh

Fletcher-----------Butt---------Scholes--------Giggs

-----------Saha----------Ruud---------

Subs: Carroll - Kleberson - Solskjaer - (Lynch or Bellion) - Forlan

This squad is :(
I'll be happy with a win, any score line, we need the 3 points and the confidence

stam
14-03-2004, 02:58 PM
injuries mounting!! :(

leo_llw
14-03-2004, 03:24 PM
Originally posted by RVN

If you want to start personal attacks, I can join in the fun.

leo_llw
14-03-2004, 03:28 PM

eh, if you don't post, nobody will say you're mute. go back to arsenal thread pls. :alien:
thought this is a free forum?

Anyway I am reacting to a post that is featuring on Arsenal, what's wrong?

VipeR247
14-03-2004, 03:39 PM
i wld prefer solskjaer flanking the right rather than fletcher.

His experience, alongside with his assistance to rvn in the striking dept wld prove valuable.

ccloh
14-03-2004, 04:26 PM
let put it this way leo_llw is an outcasted in the arsenal forum that is why he keeps posting in this fourms. as for reason why he was outcasted, well most probably he is like another of mankul or flinchy whereby not a single club in this world wants him to the a fan over.

where got being a fan of a club become so pity that he has to keep posting in the fourms belong to another club.

ccloh
14-03-2004, 04:28 PM
Originally posted by VipeR247
i wld prefer solskjaer flanking the right rather than fletcher.

His experience, alongside with his assistance to rvn in the striking dept wld prove valuable.

another advantage is that he got a better killer instinct that fletcher. not sure how fit he is now, ever since he recovers from injury, he didn't get to play much.

Ronaldo7
14-03-2004, 07:02 PM
Man Utd prepare double raid for Spanish Liga stars
tribalfootball.com - March 14, 2004

Manchester United are planning a double raid on the Spanish Liga.

The two players in United's sights are Barcelona defender Carles Puyol and Atletico Madrid striker Fernando Torres.

United had a £24 million offer for Torres rejected by Atletico last week, while United officials have asked Barca about Puyol this season.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is determined not to see the Premiership giant's standards slip and has penciled both Spanish internationals at the top of his shopping list for the summer, says the Sunday Mirror.

Ch3tah_39
14-03-2004, 08:01 PM
since man u first team def mostly not injured are ban..
why dun play a more daring formation for man u??

3-5-2??
since man u hav overcrowding of mid...:)

cracker
14-03-2004, 08:28 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

This squad is :(
I'll be happy with a win, any score line, we need the 3 points and the confidence

yeah we need the win ,,,to catch up with Chelsea !

stam
14-03-2004, 08:42 PM
Man Utd prepare double raid for Spanish Liga stars
tribalfootball.com - March 14, 2004

Manchester United are planning a double raid on the Spanish Liga.

The two players in United's sights are Barcelona defender Carles Puyol and Atletico Madrid striker Fernando Torres.

United had a £24 million offer for Torres rejected by Atletico last week, while United officials have asked Barca about Puyol this season.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is determined not to see the Premiership giant's standards slip and has penciled both Spanish internationals at the top of his shopping list for the summer, says the Sunday Mirror.

cool to see them both come, but....highly unlikely..

Mankul
14-03-2004, 08:50 PM
let put it this way leo_llw is an outcasted in the arsenal forum that is why he keeps posting in this fourms. as for reason why he was outcasted, well most probably he is like another of mankul or flinchy whereby not a single club in this world wants him to the a fan over.

where got being a fan of a club become so pity that he has to keep posting in the fourms belong to another club.

okay my nick is being mentioned :D

but then I fail to comprehend what you have just typed :laugh: so many typos

I believe you type in haste.... can retype or rephrase it so that I can understand what you mean?

PS- one of the rare times I accidently clicked this forum :laugh: skali teo my nick! :laugh:

deathblade
14-03-2004, 09:56 PM

No he is not an outcast, neither is our cheerleader Mankul. Flinchy........................

leo_llw
14-03-2004, 10:11 PM

dunno where u pluck these ideas from. Please stop taking those hallucinating drugs...you wouldn't wan to be summon for drug tests and miss the date, would u? *oops..hit a raw nerve*

I saw someone posting "Arsenal will lose to Blackburn" in this MANCHESTER UNITED forum. And I juz reply "fat hope".

Anything wrong?

BTW, if this is Manchester United forum, please refrain from commenting other clubs like Arsenal or Chelsea.

stam
14-03-2004, 10:41 PM
2-1....:(

guoquanyap
14-03-2004, 10:54 PM
wau lau...very nice match....but too bad manu cant convert the chances....haiz....

ccloh
14-03-2004, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by Mankul

okay my nick is being mentioned :D

but then I fail to comprehend what you have just typed :laugh: so many typos

I believe you type in haste.... can retype or rephrase it so that I can understand what you mean?

PS- one of the rare times I accidently clicked this forum :laugh: skali teo my nick! :laugh:

even i re-type nicely u also don't understand 'cos u never have the intelligent to understand what other is saying.

Spock
14-03-2004, 11:01 PM
man u played well but still managed to find them behind again..I'm sure they will comeback in the second half.

Ronaldo7
14-03-2004, 11:59 PM
FT: Man City 4 Man Utd 1

what more can i say ? :(

guoquanyap
15-03-2004, 12:02 AM
:laugh: :laugh: wat a joke.....

Yellowfin
15-03-2004, 12:04 AM
Nothing goes right in the game. Oh, well.

:(

stam
15-03-2004, 12:15 AM
I CANT TAKE IT!!!

losing the derby match 4-1!!! WTF!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

no improvement!:mad:

trax06
15-03-2004, 12:48 AM
craz mofo...we been thru alot of bad times.but this is the worst.

so many times i feel like leaving but its the love tat keeps me with you.

guoquanyap
15-03-2004, 02:10 AM
it's okie guys...is time to be humble and treat it as learning experince for all the new newcomer....

the season is very very gd until the suspension of rio.....

the empire is not going to fall....

Mankul
15-03-2004, 02:12 AM

even i re-type nicely u also don't understand 'cos u never have the intelligent to understand what other is saying.

okay... after you give me this reply... I now find it offensive... and thus I find you not worth my time to reply to.

My EQ is much much higher than yours ;)

SAYONARA ;)

swalk21
15-03-2004, 02:19 AM
from today onwards , I will support manchester united as one of my fav club beside arsenal as well.:bounce: hope u guys welcome me

Yellowfin
15-03-2004, 02:28 AM

so many times i feel like leaving but its the love tat keeps me with you.

This is not the worst time I ever seen for Man U. The worst time was when they got relegated to Div 2 from Div 1.

Just hope this spate of bad luck will blow over soon.

intermilansg
15-03-2004, 02:45 AM

so many times i feel like leaving but its the love tat keeps me with you. u sure this is the worst for man u anot. I believed older fans gone thru worst esp in the 80s and late70s.

trax06
15-03-2004, 03:31 AM
well for my time is now is bad...

back then was Worst.

leo_llw
15-03-2004, 05:23 AM

This is not the worst time I ever seen for Man U. The worst time was when they got relegated to Div 2 from Div 1.

Wow...u been a fan for so long liao :) *salute*

cracker
15-03-2004, 08:29 AM
This has to be the worst slide in MU's form since I started watching them back in 77 !!

From having the best defensive record and abt 4 pts clear at the top of table in Dec....to the current state of being 12 pts behind and leaking goals at such generous rate is really astonishing !

I cant recall any top flight team suffering such lack of form since the EPL started in 92 !

the 4 goals they let in was slightly better than those 5-0 losts to Chelsea and Newscastle and the 6-3 defeat to Southampton back in late 90s.

The team certainly lack in confident at the moment....Giggs had a couple of chance wasted,,cos his right leg wasnt as effective as his left !

Ronaldo is getting better in the last couple of mths....Fletcher is combative and improving too.....can take over Butt next season.

Looks like they will be the regulars on the right and left flank for next season.

The only thing left for SAF is to hope his players can just produce a good game in the FA Cup Semi Final and try to overtake Chelsea for the second place !

Lots of team will be in the queue to get points from Utd's last 10 games..esp Liverpool who was beaten 4-0 at OT last season.

RuMmYtUb
15-03-2004, 08:57 AM
Hmm 2 arsenal a$$holes come in and ji siao... :mad:

But anyways i hope we could mount a fightback... next season we really need gd players.... sometimes the team lacks creativity play...

Wah i admire those lao jiaos in this thread, supported the team b4 i was even born! Kudos

:D

guoquanyap
15-03-2004, 10:41 AM

the bad luck dun seem to end any time now....

FLiNcHY
15-03-2004, 11:17 AM
This has to be the worst slide in MU's form since I started watching them back in 77 !!

From having the best defensive record and abt 4 pts clear at the top of table in Dec....to the current state of being 12 pts behind and leaking goals at such generous rate is really astonishing !

I cant recall any top flight team suffering such lack of form since the EPL started in 92 !

the 4 goals they let in was slightly better than those 5-0 losts to Chelsea and Newscastle and the 6-3 defeat to Southampton back in late 90s.

The team certainly lack in confident at the moment....Giggs had a couple of chance wasted,,cos his right leg wasnt as effective as his left !

Ronaldo is getting better in the last couple of mths....Fletcher is combative and improving too.....can take over Butt next season.

Looks like they will be the regulars on the right and left flank for next season.

The only thing left for SAF is to hope his players can just produce a good game in the FA Cup Semi Final and try to overtake Chelsea for the second place !

Lots of team will be in the queue to get points from Utd's last 10 games..esp Liverpool who was beaten 4-0 at OT last season.

I think the worst was still liverpool two seasons ago man. Winning all the way until mid season then lose all the way with the same record as relegation teams

cracker
15-03-2004, 11:35 AM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY

I think the worst was still liverpool two seasons ago man. Winning all the way until mid season then lose all the way with the same record as relegation teams

didnt Liverpool finish second 2 seasons ago ? or was it the year b4 tat ? I remember Houiller saying we were third in 2001, second in 2002,,," we might finish one spot higher in 2003 !"

FLiNcHY
15-03-2004, 11:50 AM
dunno but i know got one year they were on red fire, everymatch also win. Even arsenal also cannot keep up.houllier was worshipped
then for reasons unknown, started relegation battle:laugh: Then man utd and arsenal caught up

from then on, liverpool went down hill
can't remember the exact time period

RVN
15-03-2004, 12:17 PM
After watching that complete and utter debacle today, I feel it's about time everyone sat up and took notice of the trouble we're in right now. As I said elsewhere, someone this time last year said that winning the League would just be papering over the cracks. Point proven? Methinks so. Let me explain.

Nicky Butt. Not been the same player this season and no doubt he'll go in the summer. Sad to see him go, but it'll probably be for the best. Get Djemba squared in there instead.

Ronaldo. An utter diamond. This is the boy who will be Giggs's replacement. Superb today, as always.

Ruud. He needs service, he can't perform miracles. Pumping long balls up to him and expecting him to deal with them just wont work. I feel for him at the moment today.

Defences, a utter ****e at the moment, can't even do the basic things of clearing it away and making stupid error, Brown, Silvestre were very poor last night. :mad:

****ing hurts to lost last night match, but the way we are playing, lack of passion and commitment. :mad:

We need some top-class players in the summer, I wanna see players with passion, with a will to win and a desire to be the best, hopefully with a bit of talent too.

Forlan + Fletcher + Butt + Bellion + Brown = cleared them off. :mad:

Ch3tah_39
15-03-2004, 01:05 PM
Originally posted by RVN
After watching that complete and utter debacle today, I feel it's about time everyone sat up and took notice of the trouble we're in right now. As I said elsewhere, someone this time last year said that winning the League would just be papering over the cracks. Point proven? Methinks so. Let me explain.

Nicky Butt. Not been the same player this season and no doubt he'll go in the summer. Sad to see him go, but it'll probably be for the best. Get Djemba squared in there instead.

Ronaldo. An utter diamond. This is the boy who will be Giggs's replacement. Superb today, as always.

Ruud. He needs service, he can't perform miracles. Pumping long balls up to him and expecting him to deal with them just wont work. I feel for him at the moment today.

Defences, a utter ****e at the moment, can't even do the basic things of clearing it away and making stupid error, Brown, Silvestre were very poor last night. :mad:

****ing hurts to lost last night match, but the way we are playing, lack of passion and commitment. :mad:

We need some top-class players in the summer, I wanna see players with passion, with a will to win and a desire to be the best, hopefully with a bit of talent too.

Forlan + Fletcher + Butt + Bellion + Brown = cleared them off. :mad:

no u see.. the players are all not at their best.
low morale, why bellion?? hardly play, brown shld give him more time. Forlan?? Did he played alot.. he was sub in.. okie see the best now is the player muz gain back confidence. concentrate on FA cup.. even worst come to worst, still hav next season.. now personally think, gd time for saf to sort out the mess and test players also and know who to buy next season.. :)

RVN
15-03-2004, 01:35 PM

no u see.. the players are all not at their best.
low morale, why bellion?? hardly play, brown shld give him more time. Forlan?? Did he played alot.. he was sub in.. okie see the best now is the player muz gain back confidence. concentrate on FA cup.. even worst come to worst, still hav next season.. now personally think, gd time for saf to sort out the mess and test players also and know who to buy next season.. :)

the sooner the next game the better. no excuses just one reason: we are playing like a nationwide team. :mad:

We do not have a cat in hell's chance in the FA semi V Arsenal with this current form, 4-0, 5-0 comes to mind. Fergie should rip this shower of prima donna's apart now and start the rebuild for next season. I hope United prove me wrong though.

We need some class players in the summer, and definately defenders too cos it really need sorting out.

leo_llw
15-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Abt that 4-0,5-0 thing you said abt Arsenal vs Manu, i beg to differ.

It is precisely Manu have been stamping all over City for the past 2 decades coupled with City's poor form, that complacency step in. Thus the 4-1 reversal.

Against Arsenal, United no matter how poor their form is, always turn in a 5 star performances. The FA Cup game will be tough and the Manu players will be eager to prove the City game is a blip.

Some gossip news
========================================
MANYOO WANT REINFORCEMENTS
Manchester United will sign Barcelona defender Carles Puyol and Atletico Madrid striker Fernando Torres, say the Sunday Mirror and The Daily Star on Sunday in a bid to strengthen to their depleted squad. Reports from Madrid, however, say that Atletico have already turned down an offer of £24m plus Diego Forlan for Torres.

http://www.football365.com/news/transfer_gossip/index.shtml
========================================

uRiZEn
15-03-2004, 04:23 PM
Get Torres for wad.Defenders~~~~~~
Shd try get Mexes.

archkiller
15-03-2004, 06:07 PM
http://www.ananova.com/images/news/giggsPA300x524.jpg
Giggs plays sweeper in new ITV ad

Ryan Giggs dons a floral pinafore to play a cleaner in a new advertisement for ITV Digital.

yulee
15-03-2004, 06:22 PM
No wonder Manyoo is going from bad to worst - all the players are getting soft...:eek:

RuMmYtUb
15-03-2004, 06:57 PM
I agree, we need some top class players.. the more experienced players @ our side are lacking the commitment...

I hope we've got like 11 Roy Keanes or even young Ronaldo, who's excellent and nv gives up...

But currently our team is really in a SHAMBLES.

RVN
15-03-2004, 07:03 PM
Defence the real one that need sorting out, we need some tall defender, there is a severe lack of height, Rio missing badly. Again watch city players all outjump our defenders. :mad:

Bugger, we should buy Van Buyten in the summer, he marked Ruud out of the game, piss me off why we didn't go after him in Jan. :(

We can score, unlucky Ronaldo hit the woodwork twice yesterday. :(

But we duuno how to defend, SIGH. :mad:

Totti76
15-03-2004, 09:03 PM
No pt vent ur anger...thats the best we can do...YES THE BEST. and our best is not good enough..
as the lao qiaos here say...in the 60s much worse...fine. but your expectation for the team's performance NOW is the same as in the 60s?? Yes - then prepare to go down...n have empty stadium on match day.
NO - then we (fans) expect better performance...n yesterday match was not acceptable in any standard.
I am getting tired of pointing finger at players anymore...transition yrs?? yeah..take next season as our transition yr too..
if yesterday was the worset...well i cant think how much humilation we will b in when we face ars in 2 matches back to back....
After all wat i say i still love Man U....:D
cant wait to get my hands on the new jersey next season...:D

yulee
15-03-2004, 09:52 PM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has blamed former chief executive Peter Kenyon for the club's failure to sign Ronaldinho

The Brazilian was snapped up by Barcelona last summer, despite interest from the Premiership champions.

"It was disappointing not to get Ronaldinho," admitted Ferguson.

"There was a problem with his brother, who was his agent, but Peter Kenyon, who was chief executive then, didn't get the job done."

Kenyon left Old Trafford early this season to join big-spending Chelsea.

Ronaldinho has been in sparkling form for Barcelona this season, while Ferguson's summer signings have not had as big an impact at Old Trafford.

Ferguson was further frustrated when highly-rated Dutch winger Arjen Robben chose to join Chelsea over United.

The United boss admitted working for a football plc rather than a club had limited his spending power.

"We are a plc with responsibilities. It's not too restricting and we can spend, but there has to be a balance," he said.

"We are constantly in search of the player who will make a difference.

"Real Madrid are the same as us, always on that search, but they seem to be able to buy at a different level.

"I'm certain Cristiano Ronaldo will become a player who makes a difference but Real seem to be able to get them fully developed."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SAF seems keen to blame everybodyels but himself these days...his foray into Horse-racing then taking on M&M head-on didn't do Manyoo any good...:rolleyes:

RVN
15-03-2004, 09:57 PM
ROY Keane and Louis Saha have added to Manchester United’s problems after missing the derby defeat because of injury.

Captain Keane sustained a hamstring strain in the FA Cup victory against Fulham.

And boss Sir Alex Ferguson conceded Keane won’t be back for Saturday’s home fixture against Tottenham.

Keane has set his sights on returning for the league match at Arsenal on Sunday week.

New-boy Saha is struggling with an Achilles problem and the Old Trafford medical staff have decided the injury needs rest.

United will still be without Gary Neville on Saturday when he completes his four-match domestic ban.

Rio Ferdinand’s long-awaited appeal against his eight-month ban for failing to take a drugs test takes place this week.

The hearing begins on Thursday and may last two days with Ferguson calling for a more “realistic” suspension.

The central defender, who has already served two months, is hoping the sentence will be cut.

guoquanyap
15-03-2004, 11:19 PM
going to fight for second place and the fa cup....dun finish below chelsea pls....man i cant imagine that.....

haiz...dunno whether the board will allow fergie to spend during the summer or not.....

yulee
15-03-2004, 11:24 PM
United's demise could rub off on England set-up
Sunday March 14, 2004
The Observer

For a few moments late on Tuesday night, Jose Mourinho must have been the most popular man in England.
Manchester United being what they are and Schadenfreude what it is, one would hazard a guess that a majority of television viewers enjoyed the Porto coach's touchline histrionics. It takes a special panache to come to Old Trafford and out-Fergie the resident clockwatcher in the matter of expressing exasperation over the amount of added time. Mourinho's demented bird impression, all flapping arms and coat-tails, is surely destined to be remembered for longer than his capable but unexceptional team.

Shortly afterwards Mourinho made a bid to become the most popular man in Portugal, too. 'It was an historic victory for us and also for the Portuguese national side,' he explained. 'This result will add to the prestige of the national side and give them hope and confidence for the European championship in summer.'

At this point the English smirking had to stop. For if Mourinho's reasoning was sound - and he was certainly entitled to claim he had given his country a boost - then the opposite side of the argument might also be true. Manchester United are at least as emblematic of England as Porto are of Portugal. Arsenal and Chelsea may now be flying the English flag in the last eight of the Champions League, but how many players will they contribute to Sven-Göran Eriksson's starting line-ups? Only two or three between them. Sol Campbell and Ashley Cole are definites, though unless Frank Lampard manages to squeeze out Steven Gerrard only John Terry will make it from Chelsea and he would not be in the frame but for Rio Ferdinand's suspension.

Funny how everything keeps coming back to Ferdinand, is it not? Not that you could hear anyone at Old Trafford laughing. Had Ferdinand been playing against Porto there would have been four England certainties on the pitch, with Gary Neville, Paul Scholes and Nicky Butt, along with a couple of fringe candidates in Wes Brown and Phil Neville. More than any other club, Manchester United can claim to be the heart of England, even if the captain they supplied is now plying his trade in Spain.

So was Tuesday night a harbinger of summer? Will the England defence fall apart as dramatically through the non-availability of Ferdinand? For the record, Gary Neville did not describe United as a shambles, though he can understand why the idea might be gaining ground. Hating United might be a popular pastime for many football followers, yet for the moment at least they are still English champions. Some other big names departed the tournament at the pre-quarter- final stage in midweek, notably Bayern Munich and Juventus, both finalists within the last three years. So United are in good company, though the suspicion remains that Bayern or Juve would not have gone out to Porto. Especially with an away goal from the first leg and an early goal in the second, against opponents who passed the ball well but barely mustered an attempt on goal until the 90th minute. 'If we can't beat Porto over two legs we don't deserve to win the European Cup,' said Phil Neville, a couple of weeks before conceding the needless free-kick from which Costinha snatched their late winner. Quite.

The good news for Eriksson is that he has a few more options available to him than Sir Alex Ferguson. He still has David Beckham, for a start and, while England will miss Ferdinand, he has enough centre-halfs to fill in without having to play Gary Neville out of position. The bad news for English football - and therefore for Eriksson but particularly for Ferguson - is that Manchester United are a team in decline. The 1999 Treble was not the start of something big, it was the something big. The players who missed out on the Champions League final in Barcelona - Scholes, Roy Keane, Phil Neville - are ignoring the writing on the wall if they imagine they are going to get another chance.

The writing on the wall indicates all too clearly that United have been a fading European force in the past five years. Only once since Barcelona have they progressed further than the quarter-finals and then they managed to lose out to Bayer Leverkusen at the semi-final stage. Now they have failed to make the last eight.

Though United have been a model of consistency over the years, that is not the record of a European superpower. And though United were unlucky in certain aspects against Porto they could not complain about the injustice of the result. What the Porto game proved, in fact, was that United's decline has not come about solely because of temporary defensive aberrations that can be traced back to Ferdinand's foolishness. Leaking goals might have cost them dear in the Premiership, but the United back four were outstanding against Porto, even if they did seem to spend the whole of the second half knocking balls back out like it was the last minute. It was the midfield that was the problem.

A significant part of it was sitting in the stand and there is little point in Ferguson trying to nurse Keane through a season if his captain undermines the policy with self-inflicted injury. Why is Keane so consumed by a desire to play in a European Cup final? Because he was banned for the last one. His chances of reaching another with United in the few seasons he has left are slim. His chances of actually being eligible for such a game must be rated closer to non-existent.

Of the players who took the field, Eric Djemba Djemba was doing well until injury kept him off at half-time, Cristiano Ronaldo sparkled briefly in the few minutes he was allowed and Darren Fletcher looked as much at home in the Champions League as he has recently done in the Premiership. There is hope for the future there, even if none of that trio is English. The biggest let-downs were the three most experienced midfielders. Ryan Giggs can still beat a man but is way too optimistic about when to try. Against quality opponents he simply ended up surrendering possession almost every time. Butt and Scholes were guilty of the same offence, constantly attempting ambitious passes that had little chance of success when the game cried out for forward players to hold the ball up and take pressure off the defence. Just because the defence was coping well with Porto's muted attack was no reason for complacency.

Ferguson talked of being happy to surrender possession in areas of the pitch where Porto posed no threat, but United ultimately paid the price for not offering sufficient threat themselves. Ferguson had promised goals and United under-delivered. Neither Scholes nor Butt linked effectively with the strikers and the former picked up a daft booking that would have put him out of the next match.

Much more of this and the increasingly isolated Ruud van Nistelrooy will be giving the next offer from abroad more than a cursory glance. How ordinary a team would United look without him? Van Nistelrooy came to United in 2001, but would have arrived at least a year earlier but for injury. He was signed on the back of the Treble triumph, in other words when United wanted to build on success and Van Nistelrooy wanted to play for a club that appeared to have Europe at its feet. It has not worked out that way.

Manchester United were a team when they won the Treble and demonstrated their tenacity as recently as last season, now they are reverting to type as a bunch of talented individuals trading as a big name. While that might provide a rare occasion for glee in Eastlands this afternoon, one cannot help but feel the last laugh might be on England.

cracker
16-03-2004, 07:18 AM
all the calls to sell this or that players are not necessary.

does SAF need to buy more players ?

i dun really think so...ronaldo and fletcher are having their first season in EPL.

Klberson and Bellion havent being fully tested.

as for the defenders' issue,,,,,the problem is too many combinations are being tried out due to suspension and injury.

i will suggest stick with the current squad so tat they can have better understanding of each other (refering to the youngsters and new signing). SAF should using the youngster (or those promoted from the youth squad) more often instead of always relying on the old guards,,,,giggs, keane, scholes and butt should be used for the "bigger" games.

We may not win title with "babies" as what the most successful club's former captain said back in 1996.
But that is no harm trying, otherwise what is the use of having the youth academy ?

yulee
16-03-2004, 08:13 AM
Real Madrid's David Beckham has tipped Manchester United to bounce back from their recent slump in form

United are out of the Champions League and look set to be dethroned as Premiership champions following defeat to Manchester City on Sunday.

"It's a tough time for United at the moment," said Beckham, who left Old Trafford for Madrid in the summer.

"But I've worked with those players for so many years that I've got no doubt they'll come back from any defeat."

United were knocked out of the Champions League last week after a 3-2 aggregate defeat against Porto.

They then saw their hopes of challenging Arsenal for the league title virtually disappear when they were beaten 4-1 by their arch-rivals City.

United's slump has been partially attributed to the loss of England skipper Beckham, who was sold to Real by United boss Sir Alex Ferguson for £25m.
Chief executive David Gill shrugged off talk of a crisis at Old Trafford and defended the sale of Beckham.

"People can read a lot into what's happened but it is dangerous to pin it down on one thing," he said.

"We've got the quality of players there and we've got to make sure we turn around our performances and really go for the last 10 games in the league.

"We've got a massive game against Arsenal at Villa Park and 89 other teams would like to be in our position.

"Up until Christmas we were playing fantastically well and no-one was asking at that point whether we were missing David Beckham. It's too easy to pin it on one factor.

"That was the decision taken last summer and we realised some capital from the sale and invested that back into players."
Gill also defended the club's decision not to sign a defender in the transfer window to replace the banned Rio Ferdinand.

Gill said he and Ferguson had discussed the idea but the manager concluded it "wasn't necessary".

"There was no point bringing in a player as a stop-gap measure, we would have wanted someone good enough to play in the Champions League and they are few and far between," Gill said.

"Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but at the time we felt it was the right decision.

"We understand that with the support we have around the world comes pressure and it was very disappointing to go out of the Champions League.

"But if the goal [by Paul Scholes] had been given, which was patently onside, we might have gone through. But football is judged on little things like that."

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More "Hindsight"? *Sigh*

cracker
16-03-2004, 08:29 AM
Just try to win the FA Cup and the pain will be lessen...

Do take note that MU had dented the hope of 2 potential treble winners in the 70s and 80s.

in 77, MU. against the odd, beat the old Div One Champion Liverpool 2-1 in the FA Cup Final, the Kops went on to win their first European Cup 34 days later when they Borussia Monchengladbach 3-1.

In 1985, MU beat Everton 1-0 aft extra time in the final after the latter had won the league title. Earlier part of the season, Everton had actually "blue-washed" MU 5-0 at Goodison Park. Anyway Everton went on to win the Cup Winner Cup a week later.

So maybe there is still "hope".

RVN
16-03-2004, 09:04 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,791307,00.html

Fortune out for a year, damm injury curse. :mad:

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,791316,00.html

G Neville, Saha and Keane all set to miss Spurs match too.

FFS United needs a bit of luck coming their way for once!!:(

StormTrooper
16-03-2004, 10:04 PM
never say never until it is impossible. hey, we're still in the fa cup, lets get behind them! :D

stam
17-03-2004, 12:02 AM
WE WILL SURVIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:cool:

guoquanyap
17-03-2004, 12:54 AM
can really see there lots of unhappines inside the camp....dressing room which is alway happy, now mus be damn low morale....

pale
17-03-2004, 01:15 AM
Tho the season is not over yet.By our high standard after a Decade of Success...this season will be deem a failure. Will The Red Devils Bounce back next season.??

Seriously alot (Not All) of Man Utd Fans only see the good times..now the club is having a very bad patch. It's time for us to stand up and be counted.

GLORY GLORY MAN UTD!!

The club will survive this and come back stronger.

Look on the bright side..Liverpool and Spurs Fan has been suffering for so long.

=p

orca_sea
17-03-2004, 01:43 AM
WE WILL SURVIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:cool:

Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

RVN
17-03-2004, 01:23 PM
We have to spend big in the summer, all of our summer transfers haven't really proved themselves, all 5 signings still have to take time to settle down, although now Ronaldo has.

No stop gaps will do, we need proven and experienced players.

Ronaldo7
17-03-2004, 03:40 PM
Ferdinand runs risk of serving extra time

Fifa guidelines suggest a one-year sentence as Ferdinand hearing begins

Kevin McCarra
Wednesday March 17, 2004
The Guardian

Rio Ferdinand may not play again until 2005 if his appeal against an eight-month ban for his missed drugs test misfires. The hearing starts tomorrow and the Football Association will remind a three-man panel chaired by Ian Mill QC that, should it choose, there are grounds for increasing the Manchester United defender's suspension. Fifa guidelines suggest a one-year sentence.
There is also a forceful opposition to the basis of Ferdinand's appeal. His legal team will cite tests on the player's hair that suggest he had not taken drugs. Bodies such as the International Olympic Committee, however, disregard this sort of evidence and it is argued that steroid abuse does not register in hair samples.

The FA, in any case, views the topic as a distraction from the fact that Ferdinand did not undergo a test when told to do so. He failed to provide a sample on September 23 and it was only by choice that he started a suspension on January 20.

The flaws in the FA's disciplinary process were glaring. Where drug matters are concerned there can be no revamping of the present procedures until a doping policy review reports this month. Yesterday, however, the FA did reveal a new disciplinary system. FA representatives were in Zurich last week to obtain the approval of Fifa, which had been among the most vehement critics of English practices.

The FA will take on extra staff to operate an accelerated process that, from next season, will see the simplest cases disposed of within a week. A player sent off on a Saturday, Sunday or Monday will have any appeal heard by a disciplinary commission on Thursday and, if necessary, Friday. Should a suspension stand it will come into effect the weekend after his original offence. At present there is a fortnight's delay.

Certain anomalies remain. There is no right of appeal for anyone sent off for two bookings, but a player dismissed with a straight red card on a Saturday may ensure his availability for a midweek match simply by lodging an appeal that could not be considered before Thursday. The FA, however, will use fines and increase bans to punish those judged to have manipulated the system with spurious claims.

When dealing with incidents missed by a referee, the FA will issue charges on the second working day after the match and bring it before a disciplinary commission by the week's end. Appeals are only entertained where a ban exceeds three matches and will be heard within a further 10 days.

The FA also plans to act within 28 days over misdemeanours seen by the referee that lie outside his immediate jurisdiction, including post-match fights in the tunnel.

RuMmYtUb
17-03-2004, 06:56 PM
Mar 17 - Jaap Stam piled on the agony for Alex Ferguson last night by claiming Manchester United are paying the price for standing still, allowing Arsenal and Chelsea to overtake them.

Lazio defender Stam, sold by Ferguson three years ago, pointed a finger at the United boss for not rebuilding. And legend Sir Bobby Charlton, now a director, admitted he is 'hurting'.

Stam, a pillar in United's defence in their Treble-winning season of 1998-99 , suggested the nucleus of United's team has stayed together so long that rivals know exactly what to expect.

"Maybe United now realise that other clubs have caught up with them. The bulk of the side have stayed together for many years and achieved great success, but other teams know them inside out and know how to play them. Arsenal and Chelsea have gone forward quickly while United have stood still," he said.

Stam's clear hint that it is time to dismantle a creaking team follows comments made by Charlton on behalf of fans following the Champions League exit and a 4-1 defeat by Manchester City.

Charlton, speaking after presenting a list of nominees for the 2004 Laureus World Sports Awards, said: "When you're cut, you bleed. When you lose, it's a cut. As a fan, I feel like that at the moment."

Captain Roy Keane says the players are desperate to put things right and stressed the importance of the Premiership game at home to Tottenham on Saturday.

He said: "The players need to put on a performance for the fans. It won't take away the hurt from the defeat against City or to Porto but it's important to get a good win."

SAF shouldn't let him go... (Stam: Utd suffer for not rebuilding)

:( :(

Totti76
17-03-2004, 08:47 PM
Ferdinand runs risk of serving extra time

Fifa guidelines suggest a one-year sentence as Ferdinand hearing begins

Why cant SAF just accept the 8 mth ban...:mad:
No use fighting for it...he is really stubborn. Later FA angry...punish SAF by increase Rio ban.

RVN
17-03-2004, 09:02 PM
Becos we have a valid case, why is it other players that took drugs only got 5 or 6 months ban while Rio didn't yet get 8 months, If they increase his ban further, then the FA is a joke. :mad:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3514462.stm

Rio Ferdinand's appeal against the eight-month ban handed to him by the FA will be heard on Thursday.
The Manchester United and England defender was given the suspension, and a £50,000 fine, in December for missing a routine drugs test.

Ferdinand began his ban on 20 January - even though he could have played up to the appeal - as he wanted to get his spell on the sidelines other with.

The 25-year-old is hopeful that he could still play at Euro 2004.

However, the appeal panel has the right to keep the ban the same, or even increase it, as well as reduce the sentence.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has probably resigned himself to not having Ferdinand available this season.

With the Premiership season ending in May the suspension would have to be cut by more than half for Ferdinand to play any part.

But if the ban is reduced to five months Ferdinand could still play a part in the European Championship.

England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson said: "If he could have a lesser punishment, I should be happy.

"If that's fair or not, I will leave for the other people to decide."

Manchester United director Sir Bobby Charlton said United have not be able to plug the gap left by Ferdinand's ban.

"Rio's a world-class player who's been taken out of our team and we've had difficulty filling that gap," he said.

"We've been leaking goals. It would be very nice to get him back early but I'm not going to pre-ordain the appeal.

"I am hopeful though, absolutely, and it would be good for us (if Ferdinand's appeal was reduced)."

United were top of the Premiership and with the League's best defensive record when Ferdinand started his suspension.

But they have slipped to third in the Premiership and are now 12 points behind leaders Arsenal.

Totti76
17-03-2004, 09:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Becos we have a valid case, why is it other players that took drugs only got 5 or 6 months ban while Rio didn't yet get 8 months, If they increase his ban further, then the FA is a joke. :mad:

I dun care whether FA will b a joke or not...but if they really increase it...we will be the joke. I will affect us..not them. They call the shot remember...

leo_llw
18-03-2004, 03:04 AM
Originally posted by RVN

U mean the FA gives Rio 8 months just because he is from Manchester United?

Gosh, wat have they got to gain? England's Euro hope is affected by the verdict also.

If the FA is out to get MU, they might as well ban him for 5 months, just nice for Rio to turn out for England?

:yawn:

yulee
18-03-2004, 08:29 AM
Sir Alex has taken his eye off the ball
He might be the greatest manager in modern football, but Sir Alex Ferguson is losing the plot. That was the pundits' consensus after a disastrous week for Manchester United

He might be the greatest manager in modern football, but Sir Alex Ferguson is losing the plot. That was the pundits' consensus after a disastrous week for Manchester United. "There's an end-of-an-era feeling about Sir Alex and United, a feeling that a weary kind of decadence has crept over the club and the manager," reckoned Oliver Holt in the Daily Mirror.

A 4-1 loss to Manchester City left them 12 points adrift of Arsenal in the Premiership, a 1-1 draw at home to Porto saw them knocked out of the Champions League, and Rio Ferdinand - United's key defender-began his appeal against an eightmonth suspension for missing a drugs test facing the possibility that his ban might be extended to a year.

As if that were not enough, United old boy David Beckham is sitting atop the Spanish league th Real Madrid, who went through to the quarter-finals of the Champions League last week. Such is the crisis at Old Trafford, reported the Racing Post, that Sir Alex is now being tipped by the bookies to be out of a job by the end of the year. He had been, said the paper, "a rock-solid 1-14 with Stan James not to lose his job this year at the outset. Bet365 make the Scot 9-2 to be out by the start of next."

Should Sir Alex jump, or will he be pushed? "I believe he ought now to be planning his retirement from Manchester United at the end of a season that threatens to leave the club without a trophy to show for his efforts and considerable expenditure," suggested John Sadler in the Sun.

Sadler compared Sir Alex to "the boxer who insists on a fight too far", a simile also employed by the Independent's James Lawton. Like Sugar Ray Leonard, who fought until he was humiliated by boxers who could not have touched him in his prime, Sir Alex's refusal to quit is "to do with the psychology of a man who needs to win, and keep on winning, as so many of the rest of us need to breathe".

Two Times writers traced the root of United's collapse this season to the summer departure of Beckham for Spain. Oliver Kay wondered if Sir Alex regretted kicking a boot at the player in the dressing room last season.

"That 'freakish accident' destroyed what was left of his increasingly dysfunctional relationship with Beckham, making the player's summer departure to Real Madrid inevitable." Matthew Syed added that "Beckham is irreplaceable because he brings such diverse qualities to bear, including a phenomenal work rate that is often overlooked because he happens to resemble someone who spends more time in front of the mirror than on the training ground. His greatest and most inimitable quality, however, comes from deep within: an unshakable self-belief, allthe more compelling for being concealed beneath a veneer of boyish shyness."

Even Peter Schmeichel, one of the greats of United's recent past, could not quite bring himself to defend the sale. "Was Sir Alex wrong to sell Beckham?" he asked in the Sunday Times. "That's a difficult area to get into ... I don't think he felt Beckham had a good season last year.

Most managers would have given Beckham another chance, but Sir Alex was bold, and it's hard to criticise him for that." Despite the agreement that United are in crisis and Sir Alex's powers are waning, few expected him to willingly give up his job. Lawton, in the Independent, suggested he "cannot abide the idea of going out with the taste of defeat in his mouth, and for him to go finally, he must again hear the roar of the crowd and know that he has chosen to leave the arena in his own good time". Hugh McIlvanney, the ghostwriter of Sir Alex's autobiography, made a similar point in the Sunday Times: "Will the terrible competitive hunger of his spirit make it impossible for him to accept the closing of his career unless it is marked with further triumphs?"

Would no one rally to the manager's defence? Enter the Manchester Evening News. "The task facing Sir Alex is to cement his team's fragile confidence together, win the FA Cup and then look at what action needs to be taken in the summer. Now is not the time to declare that United's era of dominance is over."

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The unthinkable may be about to happen?....:eek:

RVN
18-03-2004, 01:27 PM
The papers just like to put as much ****e out their as possible to condemn us. :mad:

RVN
18-03-2004, 01:38 PM
Manchester United are set to play Celtic again as part of their summer tour to the United States.

The two sides met last year in Seattle, when United ran out convincing 4-0 winners and will face each other again at Lincoln Financial Field, home of the Philadelphia Eagles, on July 28.

United's visit to the US, their first since 1982, was a huge success as they took on Club America in Los Angeles, Juventus in New York and Barcelona in Philadelphia as well as the Bhoys, with each match played out in front of bumper crowds.

This summer, Sir Alex Ferguson's men will also meet German giants Bayern Munich at Soldier Field in Chicago on July 25 and finish their trip with a game against AC Milan at the Giants Stadium, New York on July 31 as part of the 2004 ChampionsWorld Series.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=294483&cc=4716

Ronaldo7
18-03-2004, 05:25 PM
Wales on collision course with Ferguson

Trip to Budapest beckons for winger

Paul Walker
Thursday March 18, 2004
The Guardian

Ryan Giggs has been named in Wales's squad for the friendly in Hungary on March 31, although whether he makes the trip is open to some debate.
Mark Hughes yesterday included Giggs in his squad for the game in Budapest - three days before the FA Cup semi-final with Arsenal, his club's most realistic chance of winning a trophy this season.

Whether it will be more politically correct to allow Giggs to stay with his club as they continue their preparation for the game at Villa Park on April 3 remains to be seen.

"I will always stand by Ryan, he has never been a problem for me when I have named squads," Hughes said. "As for his availability for Wales, it has never been an issue since I have been manager. He has always been available."

Giggs has played 24 of 34 games since his former team-mate took over and missed only two of the last 13 as Wales made a dramatic but unsuccessful bid to reach Euro 2004.

:rolleyes:

guoquanyap
18-03-2004, 10:25 PM
gonna get the FA cup.....or else....

wadeva_lah
19-03-2004, 12:29 AM
who thinks giggs should leave?

RVN
19-03-2004, 12:44 AM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah

No :alien:

stam
19-03-2004, 01:11 AM
i think all must stay, except maybe forlan..

samwise
19-03-2004, 07:30 AM
gonna get the FA cup.....or else....

or else what?

pls complete the sentence... chances are pretty high...

StormTrooper
19-03-2004, 08:10 AM
i'll tell you guys honestly, i'd prefer united to win nothing this year because they do not deserve to win anything going by the way they're playing now. winning the premiership/fa cup would only paper over the cracks, but what i want is for the cracks to be fully exposed so that they can be fixed once and for all.

don't be mistaken, i'll be very happy with any trophy that comes our way. but i'm more concerned about the underlying problems that have been brewing for some time now. only a barren season will bring the whole setup (management/manager/team) down to earth to really look at what's going wrong.

RVN
19-03-2004, 12:08 PM
Ferdinand ban upheld

Rio Ferdinand's eight-month ban after failing to attend a drug's test remains the same after his appeal hearing.
The decision means Ferdinand will miss the rest of the season and Euro 2004.

The Manchester United defender was originally handed the ban, which he started on 20 January, and a £50,000 fine at a hearing in December.

The appeal was heard by an independent three-man panel, with Ferdinand's counsel providing new evidence in his defence before the FA replied.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3514462.stm

Manutd.com has also confirmed its 8 months.

--------------------

Guess we were clutching at straws anyway cause the ****in FA members are all the same despite it saying the appeal will be assesed by an 'independant commity'

They wouldn't want to overule their pals.

****ers. :mad:

luei74
19-03-2004, 02:19 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ferdinand ban upheld

Rio Ferdinand's eight-month ban after failing to attend a drug's test remains the same after his appeal hearing.
The decision means Ferdinand will miss the rest of the season and Euro 2004.

The Manchester United defender was originally handed the ban, which he started on 20 January, and a £50,000 fine at a hearing in December.

The appeal was heard by an independent three-man panel, with Ferdinand's counsel providing new evidence in his defence before the FA replied.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3514462.stm

Manutd.com has also confirmed its 8 months.

--------------------

Guess we were clutching at straws anyway cause the ****in FA members are all the same despite it saying the appeal will be assesed by an 'independant commity'

They wouldn't want to overule their pals.

****ers. :mad:

Most likely they will ban him until end of the season...let him play for england on the summer eorupean cup!!!

If not I doubt that whether england can proceed to the next round of the championship...

RVN
19-03-2004, 02:39 PM
He is banned until September 20th 2004. :(

leo_llw
19-03-2004, 04:32 PM
Originally posted by RVN
wah...like tat even miss the start of next season.

a bit harsh lah....I thought at worst banned until end of season. :confused:

guoquanyap
20-03-2004, 12:16 AM
haha wat a ****ing joke...those who offically taken drug is at most banned for 6mnths.....

rio is delcared drug-free but get a heavier sentence than them.....

does it mean that rio meant as well take drug so he will get a lighter sentence? :sarcastic :sarcastic

stam
20-03-2004, 02:06 AM
haha wat a ****ing joke...those who offically taken drug is at most banned for 6mnths.....

rio is delcared drug-free but get a heavier sentence than them.....

does it mean that rio meant as well take drug so he will get a lighter sentence? :sarcastic :sarcastic

they make it heavier cos he is famous, he play for manchester united! :mad:

trax06
20-03-2004, 03:15 AM
he is made to set as an example...

Ronaldo7
20-03-2004, 09:20 AM
Ferguson looks to Spurs match to spark United recovery
Reuters
Saturday March 20, 2004 1:11 AM

By Pete Oliver

MANCHESTER, England, March 19 (Reuters) - Alex Ferguson hopes a victory against Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday will send a message to the rest of the premier league that things are back to normal at Old Trafford.

The English champions have won only two of their last eight league matches, a record that has seen them slip 12 points behind leaders Arsenal and all but out of the title race.

United have 10 league matches remaining in the season, plus an FA Cup semi-final against Arsenal and, if they get through that, the final of the world's oldest competition.

"We have got potentially 12 games left this season and we have to use these as the message that we are back in our normal position in terms of winning matches," Ferguson told a news conference on Friday.

"That's the name of the game for us and it's always going to be that way. Getting back into winning ways is always a cure for everything in the sense of bad results. It's the only thing you can do."

United suffered two major blows in the space of five days last week, being knocked out of the Champions League by Porto and then losing 4-1 to Manchester City.

"The important thing is to get our own ship in order and that is by winning football matches, and that is what we are expected to do," Ferguson said.

"I'm trying to get back to a fit squad and in the process also get the confidence of the team back up. And training helps in that respect...It's been very positive.

"You have to do that in training, reinforce the good habits they've always had, to encourage them and tell them that they are good."

Along with suspensions to defenders Gary Neville and Rio Ferdinand, Ferguson has also faced injury problems in recent weeks and there is little sign of that easing on Saturday.

South African Quinton Fortune (knee) is definitely out and there are doubts over striker Louis Saha (Achilles), captain Roy Keane (hamstring) as well as fellow midfielders Eric Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Totti76
20-03-2004, 01:15 PM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
At the moment we cant let him go..till we find a replacement. No Robben so Giggs cant go. Giggs causes most problems to opp. defenders (Ronaldo is slowly learnin the roles - run at defenders)...but Giggs still hv 2-3 good yrs left in him...so he hv to stay.

Totti76
20-03-2004, 01:26 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Come to think abt it...its not so bad. Anyway the season is almost over..( or its already over) n he will b missing the first five wks of the next season...thats abt 5-6 games. If appeal again...suddenly increase ban or FA say during appeal period, ban not included...knn..Sept 20th 2004 he will not b back...worse right.
We hv enough problems.....do drag on... LET IT GO..

7cantona
20-03-2004, 03:08 PM
Only if Cantona have stayed... Man U will not have been so bad for the past seasons... of being slack in the defence... lost at home ground... no more respects given to the Theatre of Dreams... players being physically abused (Arsenal players when Van missed the penalty)...

Man U fans... think of all these... isn't what the Red Devils deserved to get now?

Cantona is the "God" of Man U... he was even voted as the best beating Bobby and Bryan!!!

" AVOUR "

shifty22
20-03-2004, 04:19 PM
no more slip ups!

RVN
20-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Rio Ferdinand has launched a scathing attack on the Football Association for trying to have his suspension for missing a drugs test lengthened.

The England defender's European Championship dream lies in ruins after an independent three-man panel this week upheld the eight-month ban initially handed down on December 19.

They were content the Manchester United star did not avoid the test for 'drug-related' reasons, but still dismissed his challenge to the verdict and punishment.

Ferdinand admits he has been left devastated by the failure of his appeal, but is even more incensed at the FA's bid to have his sentence increased to a year.

The 25-year-old told The Sun: "I can't believe what the FA have done to me.

"I've always accepted that I missed the test. But I think most people now realise it was a genuine mistake, even those at the FA.

"So why do they find it necessary to push for such a harsh punishment?

"They know I didn't take drugs. The Appeal Board even made a point of saying so."

Ferdinand declared he has no intention of refusing to play for England again when his ban is over, but insists he will not forgive or forget how he has been shunned by some members of the national team set-up.

The centre-half added: "There are people who work for or represent the FA around the England scene who I thought were friends. And they just didn't want to know me once this whole drug-test problem started.

"They were only too pleased to have a laugh and a joke in the good times. But when it went wrong for me they hid themselves away.

"I just don't understand that. I am not going to name names but I think they know who they are.

"And if - or when - I'm picked for England again I am going to find it very hard to shake the hands of certain people when they walk along the players before the national anthems."

Ferdinand has, however, thanked Sven-Goran Eriksson for his support over the past few months.

"Sven rang me on a number of occasions to tell me he had his fingers crossed and that he hoped I would be with him at the European Championships in Portugal," said Ferdinand.

"He even provided a character reference at my hearing. He didn't have to do that but he was more than willing to support me."

trax06
20-03-2004, 06:17 PM
we must not lose...

RVN
20-03-2004, 06:22 PM
Originally posted by 7cantona
Only if Cantona have stayed... Man U will not have been so bad for the past seasons... of being slack in the defence... lost at home ground... no more respects given to the Theatre of Dreams... players being physically abused (Arsenal players when Van missed the penalty)...

Man U fans... think of all these... isn't what the Red Devils deserved to get now?

Cantona is the "God" of Man U... he was even voted as the best beating Bobby and Bryan!!!

" AVOUR "

Sure Cantona was a god at United but we move on and we managed to win the famous treble in 1999 after he left, you know.

stam
20-03-2004, 06:49 PM
i think if cantona have stayed, by now he would have been too slow for EPL/champions league actions

RuMmYtUb
20-03-2004, 07:36 PM
Keane, Saha, Ronaldo, Djemba, Kleberson, Fortune, G.Neville and Ferdinand all RULED OUT!

:mad: :mad:

guoquanyap
20-03-2004, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Keane, Saha, Ronaldo, Djemba, Kleberson, Fortune, G.Neville and Ferdinand all RULED OUT!

:mad: :mad:

well wat to do.....haiz....

guoquanyap
20-03-2004, 11:52 PM
finally a cheeky goal by giggs...but a crappy performance overall....haiz most impt is to get a win to get the morale and confidence back first.....

cracker
21-03-2004, 12:58 AM
Finally FInally a MU's EPL victory on a Saturday night !
and also the first clean sheet since a long long time ago !!!

3 great goals !!. one from old timer Giggs..second from new timer Ronaldo and the third set up by old timer giggs for new timer Bellion to bang it in ......

Just keep on winning ,,,,,who knows what will happen in May !

guoquanyap
21-03-2004, 12:59 AM
cracking goal fr ronaldo....:eek: :eek: finally a clean sheet...*pwew* *clapclap*

RVN
21-03-2004, 01:04 AM
Good game! Although we really should have killed the match in the first half, or the beginning of the second half. Excellent performance by everyone.

Chekky back-hell from Giggs, for the 1st goal, Ronaldo goal was fantastic, Bellion one not bad either, finally back to winning ways. :D

guoquanyap
21-03-2004, 01:06 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Good game! Although we really should have killed the match in the first half, or the beginning of the second half. Excellent performance by everyone.

Chekky back-hell from Giggs, for the 1st goal, Ronaldo goal was fantastic, Bellion one not bad either, finally back to winning ways. :D

and finally a clean-sheet....and ruud ah....haiz....

newbie_rulz
21-03-2004, 01:20 AM
I think Bellion's control in the box was good but Giggs's assist was even superb. Ronaldo, did not expect him to shoot frm there.. but it was a cracker of a goal.

trax06
21-03-2004, 01:34 AM
Originally posted by newbie_rulz
I think Bellion's control in the box was good but Giggs's assist was even superb. Ronaldo, did not expect him to shoot frm there.. but it was a cracker of a goal.

ronaldo should shoot more frm there....do a pires

Ch3tah_39
21-03-2004, 01:41 AM
gd a clean sheet...
and bellion :)
but ruud :(

guoquanyap
21-03-2004, 01:44 AM
Manchester United are tracking Swedish striker Fredrik Berglund as they look at prospective new signings in the summer.

The Premiership giants are set to watch Berglund in action for Esbjerg this weekend in Superliga after being alerted to his form in Denmark.

Berglund has got his career back on track at Esbjerg after a disappointing spell in Holland with Roda JC.

The 24-year-old was highly-rated after finishing top scorer in Sweden in the 2001 season with Elfsborg before things turned sour at Roda.

Esbjerg director Niels Erik Sondergaard admitted a number of clubs were interested in star duo Berglund and Jan Kristiansen and he placed a price tag of £900,000 on the Swede's head.

"Both Fredrik Berglund and Jan Kristiansen are interesting players. If we would sell Berglund, he would cost more than ten million Danish) Kronor (£900,000)," said Sondergaard.

"If Manchester United want to buy the Swede, I need to confess that we have a good deal."

Berglund admitted he was flattered by the interest from United and shocked that they were chasing him.

"United usually buy top class players like van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha. I am not on that level," Berglund told Expressen.

go fergie spot the unknown and turn them into a gem like wat u did to Ole and Peter....

RVN
21-03-2004, 01:50 AM
gd a clean sheet...
and bellion :)
but ruud :(

Think ruud a bit suay he didn't score leh :(

Doesn't matter who scores as long as we win matches.

ericsoon72
21-03-2004, 03:45 AM
Manchester United are tracking Swedish striker Fredrik Berglund as they look at prospective new signings in the summer.

The Premiership giants are set to watch Berglund in action for Esbjerg this weekend in Superliga after being alerted to his form in Denmark.

Berglund has got his career back on track at Esbjerg after a disappointing spell in Holland with Roda JC.

The 24-year-old was highly-rated after finishing top scorer in Sweden in the 2001 season with Elfsborg before things turned sour at Roda.

Esbjerg director Niels Erik Sondergaard admitted a number of clubs were interested in star duo Berglund and Jan Kristiansen and he placed a price tag of £900,000 on the Swede's head.

"Both Fredrik Berglund and Jan Kristiansen are interesting players. If we would sell Berglund, he would cost more than ten million Danish) Kronor (£900,000)," said Sondergaard.

"If Manchester United want to buy the Swede, I need to confess that we have a good deal."

Berglund admitted he was flattered by the interest from United and shocked that they were chasing him.

"United usually buy top class players like van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha. I am not on that level," Berglund told Expressen.

go fergie spot the unknown and turn them into a gem like wat u did to Ole and Peter....

i remember during the treble season we had a very good swedish winger, jesper blomqvist...replaced giggs when he was injured and did a fine job.

hope this swedish player will bring good fortune to man u!

stam
21-03-2004, 04:43 AM
yeah!! win!! and clean sheet!! :)

7cantona
21-03-2004, 05:11 AM
At least they showed that they are prepared for Arsenal...!

Ronaldo7
21-03-2004, 09:19 AM
Ferguson turns on critics

Man Utd 3-0 Tottenham
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted his legal dispute with major shareholder John Magnier has been a distraction this season.
But Ferguson said United, who beat Spurs 3-0 at Old Trafford, would bounce back from their recent set backs.

"Things have not gone our way lately and it would be foolish to pretend otherwise," said Ferguson.

"But it's not meltdown. Although we may be suffering from a bloodied nose, the empire's not crumbling."

The comprehensive win gave some respite to Ferguson who has come in for major criticism after United's Champions League exit and their 4-1 derby defeat by Manchester City.

Ferguson was full of praise for Ryan Giggs - who had been linked with a move away from Old Trafford - following the winger's inspired form against Spurs.

"On that form, Ryan is a sensational player," said Ferguson.

"He has spent 14 years running up and down that left wing and maybe we expect too much of him at times.

"You have to take into account the injuries he has had and the amount of rehabilitation he has had. It really takes it out of you, which is why I am so pleased with his performance."

Ferguson settled his dispute with Magnier over the stud rights to the racehorse Rock of Gibraltar earlier this month, but sent out a defiant message in his programme notes.

"There are people dancing on what they perceive to be our grave but I am not cracking up and neither am I feeling the pressure," he said.

"People cast around for reasons for our setbacks, which range from my supposed preoccupation with a racehorse to my transfer signings.

"We will come out of this and we look to our supporters to stand firm and help us through a rough ride."

Ferguson defended the changes he has made to his squad, allowing David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron to leave and bringing in new faces like Kleberson, Eric Djemba-Djemba and David Bellion.

"This has been a season of great change," said Ferguson.

"I have brought a group of younger players into the squad and it would be unrealistic to expect them all to make an immediate impact. You have to give them time.

"I have to plan ahead and rebuild a team that will be with us for a few years rather than just for one more season.

Seals
21-03-2004, 09:35 AM
any1 notice fourlan no mood to play... play like ****...

ruud was trying but duck leg again. was hoping 2nd half that fergie throw in ronaldo and put on rite wing and ole partner ruud.

RuMmYtUb
21-03-2004, 09:59 AM
Woot, 3 points and 3 goals....
Giggs put in a sensational performance and Scholes was also gd...

young Ronaldo came on and was very lively, his goal was gd....Bellion's goal was the icing on the cake...

Hmm disappointed Howard was dropped for his poor form..

guoquanyap
21-03-2004, 10:01 AM
Originally posted by Seals
any1 notice fourlan no mood to play... play like ****...

ruud was trying but duck leg again. was hoping 2nd half that fergie throw in ronaldo and put on rite wing and ole partner ruud.

i onli see tears in forlan eyes when he left the pitch....look like he wont be here nx season...haiz....

newbie_rulz
21-03-2004, 12:12 PM
From my observation of Forlan after many matches, i think he is not a striker ,but he is some kind of a midfield player. Usually, his goals are all long range efforts and are seldom those of RVN. I think the style Manchester United is using does not suit the likes of Forlan.
Personally, i think its not Howard's fault Man Yoo lost the game at Manchester Stadium. The defence was that night was far different of yesterdays. If Man Yoo can mantain their defensive stablity of yesterdays, i think they will not lose this season embarrasingly..

With Ronaldo at the right , and Giggs on the left, its really threathening to teams with slow right/left backs.. see how Stephen Carr suffered at the hands of Giggs..

Just my 2 cents.

RVN
21-03-2004, 12:31 PM
We should now got some injured and suspended players back now for the arsenal match, Gary has now completed his ban, hopefully Saha return from his Achillies problem.

Ronaldo7
21-03-2004, 01:00 PM
Ronie points finger at Kenyon over Man Utd deal
tribalfootball.com - March 21, 2004

Barcelona star Ronaldinho has revealed why his summer move to Manchester United collapsed.

The Brazilian ace was United's No1 target before the start of the season, but he chose Barca over Old Trafford in a decision that enraged United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

Ferguson has since blamed new Chelsea chief executive Peter Kenyon for not locking in the deal and Ronaldinho revealed to the Independent today: "I think PSG felt upset with the manner they were treated.

"Perhaps it would have made a difference if he [Kenyon] had done what Barcelona did and talked to Mr [Francis] Graille [the PSG president]."

Ronie had agreed personal terms with United and was ready to play for them, but failure to agree a fee with PSG saw him move to Barca.

"Manchester are a great club and it would have been an honour to play for them," said Ronaldinho, "but I have to admit that Barça were always my first choice. When I was younger, I used to watch my idols on TV - Romario, Ronaldo and Rivaldo - and hope that one day I, too, would be a hero of the Nou Camp."

cracker
21-03-2004, 02:01 PM
Ronie points finger at Kenyon over Man Utd deal
tribalfootball.com - March 21, 2004

Barcelona star Ronaldinho has revealed why his summer move to Manchester United collapsed.

The Brazilian ace was United's No1 target before the start of the season, but he chose Barca over Old Trafford in a decision that enraged United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

Ferguson has since blamed new Chelsea chief executive Peter Kenyon for not locking in the deal and Ronaldinho revealed to the Independent today: "I think PSG felt upset with the manner they were treated.

"Perhaps it would have made a difference if he [Kenyon] had done what Barcelona did and talked to Mr [Francis] Graille [the PSG president]."

Ronie had agreed personal terms with United and was ready to play for them, but failure to agree a fee with PSG saw him move to Barca.

"Manchester are a great club and it would have been an honour to play for them," said Ronaldinho, "but I have to admit that Barça were always my first choice. When I was younger, I used to watch my idols on TV - Romario, Ronaldo and Rivaldo - and hope that one day I, too, would be a hero of the Nou Camp."

didnt this bucktoothed claim at one stage that there is no way he will join any other club other than MU.....same as tat Ruben kid ?

pale
21-03-2004, 02:11 PM
Giggs did played his heart out for the spurs game but I felt the main difference for that game as compared with the past few games was................OLE.

He may still be short of match fitness. But his running into space and intelligent play really made a difference. First Goal was his assist and he made numerous openings with his off the ball running.

My 2 cents:)

shifty22
21-03-2004, 03:16 PM
Good game by united, dominated spurs.

Rvn could have done better, and forlan (other than his long range shot) wasn't really in the game, 'dreaming' at the far post as the commentator mentioned. Keane was superb. Too bad he can't last every game now.

And bellion who came on with 3 mins of injury time left, got a few touches and even scored; what a morale booster for him and everyone in the team.

now it's arsenal and then.. arsenal, again.

You guys think fergie will choose the strongest team for both matches? or will he be thinking of resting players for the league match just to have them fresh for the fa semis?

Seals
21-03-2004, 03:38 PM
yap..wht u say is true...fourlan goes for long range...

i would love to see them doing long range and past few seasons..most fm within the box...

RuMmYtUb
21-03-2004, 04:19 PM
I hope Forlan will be out of the team next season... he still can't perform... Bellion came on and scored.... looks like Forlan really CMI for premiership...