View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Shingoz
20-03-2002, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Actually no..... Arsenal must be in the hat for the draw b4 u can even mention "could"!
My thinking is different oh..
You see...Man Utd is not even into the semi but i can say Man Utd could win the CPL.....
Wrong?
Devilboy
21-03-2002, 12:01 AM
Who cares who Man Utd goona face in the next round! Man Utd will beat the living hell out of the team! That the bottomline coz the Red Devils said so!!!!!!!!!!!!
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Kiwi8
21-03-2002, 06:57 AM
Originally posted by stam
:laugh:
i say could which includes arsenal COULD go in tonite... :laugh:
No need liao, Arsenal out liao.
that was be4 the match.
Shingoz
21-03-2002, 12:08 PM
They deserve to be out man......didnt even win the match.....
Saw the match..tons of misses....hendry must be banging himself now.
harryyeo
21-03-2002, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by Shingoz
They deserve to be out man......didnt even win the match.....
Saw the match..tons of misses....hendry must be banging himself now.
but also must praise the Juve gk wat... save some good shots and denied Arse many a goal...
Devilboy
22-03-2002, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by harryyeo
but also must praise the Juve gk wat... save some good shots and denied Arse many a goal...
Arsenal is just a form based team! One moment they can be playing like title contender, the next game they behave like mid table no hopers! I think they really need workhorse type of player like Roy Keane to inject in some consistency in their game!
ralliart_ray
22-03-2002, 12:35 PM
i really wish that liverpool VS ManU in the CL:D
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 02:18 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
i really wish that liverpool VS ManU in the CL:D
Ah..i rather not...their performance against Liverpool is like so sucky....and now that Houlier is back for them.
Anyway what i hope is that they meet in the finals. :D
Ah..i rather not...their performance against Liverpool is like so sucky....and now that Houlier is back for them.
Anyway what i hope is that they meet in the finals. :D
they will meet in the semis if both get thru!! :D
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 02:30 PM
they will meet in the semis if both get thru!! :D
Oh yeah huh....sucks...
Nvm...dont think so far...let's hope they can beat Deportivo first!!!
Wonder what can Fergie come up with after losing to them twice...
tranze
23-03-2002, 04:02 PM
I believe that this time we would whoop their ass
wat the hell is ManU's defence up to...keep letting in goals so early in the match...:mad: :rolleyes:
Kiwi8
23-03-2002, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by fire
wat the hell is ManU's defence up to...keep letting in goals so early in the match...:mad: :rolleyes:
Remember, Bathez the clown, Blanc the leaking hole! :rolleyes:
Div1ne
24-03-2002, 12:59 AM
lost :(
Kiwi8
24-03-2002, 01:04 AM
Originally posted by Div1ne
lost :(
:eek:
Shingoz
24-03-2002, 01:40 AM
Sighz..i think EPL seems impossible now..unless there's miracle....well fergie should not pray on that too much.
Think he should shift his attention to the CPL....
But make sure he gets a euro seat next season.
tranze
24-03-2002, 01:54 AM
sigh
no chanz liao
arsenal such red hot and liverpool plaing not bad 2...
sigh
tranze
24-03-2002, 02:44 PM
7 more games.......
Kiwi8
24-03-2002, 03:55 PM
Cham...... :laugh:
jomblo_man
24-03-2002, 05:44 PM
juz wait and see
lady fortune still with MU
:bounce: :laugh:
Shingoz
24-03-2002, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by jomblo_man
juz wait and see
lady fortune still with MU
:bounce: :laugh:
Hmm is that being sarcastic or what?
Kiwi8
24-03-2002, 06:02 PM
Hmm is that being sarcastic or what?
Well..... really, we can't dismiss Man U until the season's over. They've shown a lot of times they can come back.
ralliart_ray
26-03-2002, 08:05 PM
:(
ralliart_ray
30-03-2002, 04:39 PM
playing leeds todae...b4 playing in spain on tues;)
Iqamah
30-03-2002, 11:36 PM
Man U acrylics.
http://homex.coolconnect.com/member3/iqamah55/CaseMode/Windows/ManU1.JPG
http://homex.coolconnect.com/member3/iqamah55/CaseMode/Windows/ManU3.JPG
http://homex.coolconnect.com/member3/iqamah55/ManU.jpg
Devilboy
31-03-2002, 12:06 AM
Leeds Utd 3-4 Man Utd.
A very exciting match!
ralliart_ray
31-03-2002, 09:48 AM
Originally posted by Iqamah
Man U acrylics.
http://homex.coolconnect.com/member3/iqamah55/CaseMode/Windows/ManU1.JPG
http://homex.coolconnect.com/member3/iqamah55/CaseMode/Windows/ManU3.JPG
http://homex.coolconnect.com/member3/iqamah55/ManU.jpg nice! wat r the price like?
ralliart_ray
31-03-2002, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by Devilboy
Leeds Utd 3-4 Man Utd.
A very exciting match! yah!! exciting!
Iqamah
31-03-2002, 11:47 AM
nice! wat r the price like?
Clear acrylic - $15
Coloured acrylic - $18
Size 30 X 30cm
My contact 93804839.
Devilboy
31-03-2002, 06:17 PM
I know Man Utd title hopes are getting slimmer, but we fans have to keep our faith! Anything can happen in EPL! A win over leeds can greatly boost their morale! Remember the year they won the Treble? The EPL is tight too with Arsenal but Man Utd pulls through! Fergi hasn't throw in the white towel yet! So we Man Utd manics will not too. Miracle do happens........ Lets keep our finger cross!
kengbeng
31-03-2002, 06:32 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/hi/english/football/eng_prem/newsid_1903000/1903331.stm
Reiziger bound for Old Trafford?
Dutch international defender Michael Reiziger is reported to be on the verge of signing for Manchester United.
The 28-year-old, currently at Barcelona is quoted in the News of the World as saying the deal wil be completed "in the next few weeks."
"I have played for Ajax, AC Milan and Barcelona, three of the greatest clubs in Europe," he said.
"But now I'm going to the greatest club in the world, Manchester United. It's a matter of time."
Barcelona are said to want £6m for the right-back but Man Utd have so far only offered £5m.
"Barcelona will co-operate because they understand my problem," Reiziger said.
"It will all be okay in a few weeks and I'm sure that I will be playing next year with Ruud van Nistelrooy and I'm really looking forward to that."
The Dutchman is being kept out of the Barcelona side by Spanish international Carles Puyol.
Devilboy
31-03-2002, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/hi/english/football/eng_prem/newsid_1903000/1903331.stm
Reiziger bound for Old Trafford?
Dutch international defender Michael Reiziger is reported to be on the verge of signing for Manchester United.
The 28-year-old, currently at Barcelona is quoted in the News of the World as saying the deal wil be completed "in the next few weeks."
"I have played for Ajax, AC Milan and Barcelona, three of the greatest clubs in Europe," he said.
"But now I'm going to the greatest club in the world, Manchester United. It's a matter of time."
Barcelona are said to want £6m for the right-back but Man Utd have so far only offered £5m.
"Barcelona will co-operate because they understand my problem," Reiziger said.
"It will all be okay in a few weeks and I'm sure that I will be playing next year with Ruud van Nistelrooy and I'm really looking forward to that."
The Dutchman is being kept out of the Barcelona side by Spanish international Carles Puyol.
That maybe a good signing coz Michael Reiziger is a player with good touches and crosses, looks like Gary Neville is looking to warm the bench!
cool, united really need some good defenders
Shingoz
31-03-2002, 10:09 PM
cool, united really need some good defenders
Maybe Fergie has intention to bring Gary to the centre position. :D
o0KelviN0o
01-04-2002, 09:34 AM
Who's next? Nesta..... and.........???
Shingoz
01-04-2002, 02:01 PM
Originally posted by kl241280
Who's next? Nesta..... and.........???
Nesta's recent performance is bad.
He didnt perform in the England vs Italy match as well.
I believe if Man Utd were to buy him, it'll be very expensive.
Reiziger sounds much better($ wise).
He can always bring gary to the middle. :D
ralliart_ray
01-04-2002, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by Iqamah
Clear acrylic - $15
Coloured acrylic - $18
Size 30 X 30cm
My contact 93804839. free delivery?
Devilboy
01-04-2002, 08:25 PM
free delivery?
I got one of the Man Utd logo acrylic! Not bad man! Not bad at all! I personally find that the transparent one is nicer while the red one is a bit dark!
Devilboy
01-04-2002, 10:39 PM
Deportivo V.s Man Utd. Can Man Utd finally win this hot team?
nukeListener
02-04-2002, 12:49 PM
definitely hope so.....at least 1 - nil to Man U
Kiwi8
02-04-2002, 12:58 PM
Prediction: Deportivo 1 Manchester United 1
Devilboy
02-04-2002, 08:19 PM
My prediction is Deportivo 1-3 Man Utd. Man Utd EPL title hope is as good as over but they can still bet on the Champion League! No doubt Deportivo is a strong attcking team but Man Utd has a greater dersire to overcome them! As long as Giggs is constantly tearing down the left flank and Solksjear netting those shots and Van Nisterooy cashing in those crosses from Beckham. They are capable of destroying any team that comes in their way!
I WILL BE WATCHING TONITE!! anyone else? UNITED ROX!
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 12:03 AM
I'll be watching too.
Anyway i thought Deport is good for it's defense too?
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 03:43 AM
Super performance by man utd !!!
Bathez making great saves.....
LEading 2-0 @ half time...but keane out injured. :dead:
Devilboy
03-04-2002, 03:47 AM
Deportivo 0-2 Man Utd
David Beckham 15min
Van Nisterooy 41min
Roy Keane injured his knee on the 43min
Deportivo starts of with fast pace attacking play, quick counters. Man Utd plays excellent zonal defence and man marked Diego Tristan. 15min, David Beckham superb strike from outside penalty box left Deportivo Goalkeeper Molina stranded. Deportivo started to lose concentrations but Man Utd fails to bank in more goals. Man Utd defence suddenly turned very tight, Deportivo's lone striker Tristan had a couple of good chances to equalize but was clear off by the stubborn defence and also a very good displays of saves from Barthez. Came 41min, Silvestre sent in a low cross inside the penalty box and Van Nisterooy side steps to cash in and earn him the highest goal scorer in the Champions League campaign. But a 50-50 challenge in the 43 min saw Keane injured his knee and was carried off the field! Fortune came in and nearly get himself a goal. The match then goes into halftime.
woonbock
03-04-2002, 03:54 AM
Deportivo 0-2 Man Utd
David Beckham 15min
Van Nisterooy 41min
Roy Keane injured his knee on the 43min
Deportivo starts of with fast pace attacking play, quick counters. Man Utd plays excellent zonal defence and man marked Diego Tristan. 15min, David Beckham superb strike from outside penalty box left Deportivo Goalkeeper Molina stranded. Deportivo started to lose concentrations but Man Utd fails to bank in more goals. Man Utd defence suddenly turned very tight, Deportivo's lone striker Tristan had a couple of good chances to equalize but was clear off by the stubborn defence and also a very good displays of saves from Barthez. Came 41min, Silvestre sent in a low cross inside the penalty box and Van Nisterooy side steps to cash in and earn him the highest goal scorer in the Champions League campaign. But a 50-50 challenge in the 43 min saw Keane injured his knee and was carried off the field! Fortune came in and nearly get himself a goal. The match then goes into halftime.
well done man u! I hope u guys go on and thrash Dep!!!
vamos
03-04-2002, 04:39 AM
good holding play by united in the second half
giggs should have made it 3-0......
solid goalkeeping by barthez......
pity about keane and beckham.....
:bounce:
Devilboy
03-04-2002, 04:58 AM
Full Time:
Deportivo 0-2 Man Utd
15min Beckham
41min Van Nisterooy
43min Roy Keane injured knee
93min Beckham injured left ankle
Deportivo continue their fierce attacking play with wild shots on goals! At least 5-6 shots on the first 15 mins. But those shot were just too easy for barthez as he calmly collects thems like a garbage collector. Giggs electrifying pace has cause too much problems for the Deportivo defence, he got 2 chances to bring Man Utd closer to the semi-final but his trademark poor finishing fail him badly despites the excellent runs. Deportivo bringing in Djaminha and Makaay, a desperate attempt trying to reverse the situations but Man Utd "unusual" rough defending proves too much for Deportivo's 3 strikers. There were almost 15 shots(almost all on target) but were straight into Barthez's arms. In th 93min, Diego Tristan made a reckless tackle on Beckham left ankle, from the looks of it, Beckham may have fracured it or at least badly sprained his left ankle. He was being stretched off the field with Phil Neville coming in. Man Utd goes back to Old Trafford with 2 goals and a smiley face spotted on Alex Ferguson. But the next match in EPL is going to be tough with Keane and Beckham injured. Anyway! Glory Glory Man Utd!!!
Devilboy
03-04-2002, 05:04 AM
Glory Glory Man Utd
Pr0t0type
03-04-2002, 05:06 AM
I am really really impressed by Man Utd's performance today. Great attacking and excellent defending! One of the best form I have seen this season.
Glory Man-Utd Glory!!!
icube
03-04-2002, 05:06 AM
i wondered how the referee got his job??:mad: even all the commentator say the referee had poor decisions...
should be a penalty never give penalty...
should give free kick never give...
should not give free kick he give....
should not give yellow card he give...
should be a RED CARD give YELLOW CARD...
wtf is he doing man??!?!
Devilboy
03-04-2002, 05:10 AM
LA CORUNA, Spain, April 2 (AFP) - Manchester United's Roy Keane, stretchered off in the Champions League match against Deportivo La Coruna on Tuesday, could be out till May.
Keane hurt his hamstring in their quarter-final, first leg in Spain in a tackle with Sergio in the first half.
Log on to www.livescore.com for more info
Devilboy
03-04-2002, 05:16 AM
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 07:11 AM
Beckham's injury dont look to serious..but shld be out for a week or two.
Heard that keane pulled his hamstring...will be out for 4-6 weeks.....
cracker
03-04-2002, 07:56 AM
Beckham's injury dont look to serious..but shld be out for a week or two.
Heard that keane pulled his hamstring...will be out for 4-6 weeks.....
wat is the chance of Keane leading Utd out to face Arsenal in the last game of the season with all still to play for !!!!
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 08:04 AM
Originally posted by cracker
wat is the chance of Keane leading Utd out to face Arsenal in the last game of the season with all still to play for !!!!
Hmm he shld be ready by then i think. =/
ifiron
03-04-2002, 10:07 AM
Glory Glory, Man U !!!!
See whether Deportivo still want to talk so much rubbish before the next game ahahahah =p . Barthez was faultless last nite, so too were Blanc and Johnson.
aFTerLiF3
03-04-2002, 12:24 PM
I wonder who will play in our mid-field next week..
Veron (if he recover in time)
Butt
Giggs
Fortune/P.Neville ?
I think fergie might play 4-4-2 , no chance for 4-5-1 since we lack players in midfield..
I hope Beck's injury is not serious...
ifiron
03-04-2002, 01:37 PM
Acutally come to think of it can still play 4-4-1-1
DL - Slivestre
DC - Gary Neville
DC - Blanc
DR - Philip Neville
ML - Veron
MC - Ronny Johnson
MC - Nicky Butt
MR - Luke Chadwick
FC - Giggs
FC - Veron
kengbeng
03-04-2002, 02:47 PM
Match highlights here:
http://www.uefa.com/multimedia/type=video/index.html
ralliart_ray
03-04-2002, 08:09 PM
GREAT RESULT:D
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by ifiron
Acutally come to think of it can still play 4-4-1-1
DL - Slivestre
DC - Gary Neville
DC - Blanc
DR - Philip Neville
ML - Veron
MC - Ronny Johnson
MC - Nicky Butt
MR - Luke Chadwick
FC - Giggs
FC - Veron
Chadwick is injured. That explains why we havent seen him for a long time. I think midfield will be giggs, butt, scholes and maybe fortune if veron is still out.
ralliart_ray
04-04-2002, 06:50 PM
yep chadwick is injured =(
Devilboy
04-04-2002, 10:00 PM
Beckham out:(
Keane out:(
Veron ???:confused:
Who is gonna fill in their role this weekend???
harryyeo
04-04-2002, 10:10 PM
u? :D j/k
maybe Man U have to use their youth team players...:angel:
if so maybe can see their coming talents
Devilboy
05-04-2002, 12:26 AM
u? :D j/k
maybe Man U have to use their youth team players...:angel:
if so maybe can see their coming talents [/B][/QUOTE]
Upcoming matches are very important for Man Utd! They need to win all inorder to have an chance repeating their EPL title. Youth squad no doubt are good, but they may not be experience enough to handle stressful situations, especially crucial games coming up!
jomblo_man
05-04-2002, 03:56 AM
phoa chu kang family:laugh: :laugh:
Shingoz
05-04-2002, 09:28 AM
Let me guess.....
Midfield should be hmm...Scholes,Giggs,Butt and Fortune?
Kinda not so sure Giggs and Fortune who will play left.
Maybe he might want free role for all 4 of them. :D
ralliart_ray
05-04-2002, 01:56 PM
havent seem yorkie 4 some time~~~~~~~~
Shingoz
05-04-2002, 01:59 PM
havent seem yorkie 4 some time~~~~~~~~
Doubt u will see him play for man utd again. :D
You should know how stubborn fergie is.
harryyeo
05-04-2002, 02:27 PM
Doubt u will see him play for man utd again. :D
You should know how stubborn fergie is.
maybe one of the factor making sign a new contract is to spite him:D :D
kengbeng
06-04-2002, 09:27 PM
Manchester United wins 1-0 against Leicester City.
Solskjaer the scorer...
Bad news though, seems like Nicky Butt is injured...
Kiwi8
06-04-2002, 09:33 PM
Solskjaer the scorer...
Even worse news: Leicester had quite a couple of chances, but due to bad finishing, didn't score a goal. If Man U plays like this against Deportivo, then god bless them. :eek:
ah_kiat
06-04-2002, 10:47 PM
think they really miss keane and beckham....this is how they perform w/o them....sigh.......
Devilboy
06-04-2002, 11:16 PM
Solskjaer the scorer...
tranze
07-04-2002, 02:00 AM
lets pray for the best!
Shingoz
07-04-2002, 02:05 AM
Originally posted by ah_kiat
think they really miss keane and beckham....this is how they perform w/o them...sigh.......
I think Fergie knows what to do....he is obviously resting players for the match against Deportivo.
This is one of the worst make shift team he featured for an EPL match man. (Not inlcuding those from the bench)
I thought it would better to feature first team regulars...score afew goals in the first half then sub them all out. Anyway a win is a win, all three points.
The bad thing is.....ARSE never slip! :(
ah_kiat
07-04-2002, 02:08 AM
I think Fergie knows what to do....he is obviously resting players for the match against Deportivo.
This is one of the worst make shift team he featured for an EPL match man. (Not inlcuding those from the bench)
I thought it would better to feature first team regulars...score afew goals in the first half then sub them all out. Anyway a win is a win, all three points.
The bad thing is.....ARSE never slip! :(
ya...spurs nearly pulled them down to a draw....sigh..:(
Shingoz
07-04-2002, 02:49 AM
Originally posted by ah_kiat
ya...spurs nearly pulled them down to a draw....sigh..:(
Got this feeling the title is their's.
We would need to fight very hard for a 2nd place..most prob a 3rd. =/
kengbeng
07-04-2002, 04:40 PM
The unexpected defeats at home have costed us dearly. :(
ralliart_ray
09-04-2002, 01:35 AM
:( look 4ward to next seaon.~~
or divert ya attention to CPL
OnizUk4
09-04-2002, 10:50 PM
After Arsenal triumph over tottenham,
I got a bad feeling tt it gonna be arsenal's season.
Devilboy
10-04-2002, 05:00 AM
Hurray! Liverpool lost to Bayer Leverkusen 2-4. This paved the way for Alex Ferguson's Man Utd route to Champion League Final if they beat Deportivo tomorrow. Not to say that Bayer Leverkusen is lousy, but Man Utd will have a better chance againist them than againist Liverpool, coz Liverpool knows Man Utd too well!
KongJiaoWei
10-04-2002, 05:17 AM
liverpool failed in their part to ensure a england place in the finals, but man u will show their class against bayern laverkusen anyway :D
Devilboy
10-04-2002, 07:21 AM
Originally posted by K3nt
liverpool failed in their part to ensure a england place in the finals, but man u will show their class against bayern laverkusen anyway :D
Well said!:laugh: :laugh:
Devilboy
10-04-2002, 07:34 AM
Man Utd V.s Deportivo
Predictions please?
I think it is a 2-2 draw. Hopefully Man Utd don't end up like the Pools=p
Shingoz
10-04-2002, 08:55 PM
Man Utd V.s Deportivo
Predictions please?
Yeah hope so.....kind of scary seeing those who lost in the 1st leg all managed to fought their way back.
Fergie should be quite happy that they dont have to face Liverpool.... :D
coates
10-04-2002, 09:01 PM
Man Utd V.s Deportivo
Predictions please?
dun think so......
man utd still nids to kick bayer's butt
Devilboy
10-04-2002, 10:16 PM
I think this match 's outcome will be determine by a player(Veron) performance! Frankly speaking, those who "really" watch the way Veron plays will know how classy he is! His through passes are simply amazing, it is just that Man Utd strikers sometimes not alert enough to react!
Roy Keane, without the shadow of a doubt, is the engine of Man Utd, but if Veron performs, he is the fuel of Man Utd.
Devilboy
10-04-2002, 10:19 PM
Who is watching tonight? Let's do half time reports here!
Kiwi8
10-04-2002, 10:46 PM
I think this match 's outcome will be determine by a player(Veron) performance! Frankly speaking, those who "really" watch the way Veron plays will know how classy he is! His through passes are simply amazing, it is just that Man Utd strikers sometimes not alert enough to react!
Roy Keane, without the shadow of a doubt, is the engine of Man Utd, but if Veron performs, he is the fuel of Man Utd.
As a matter of fact, Veron's performance this season also hinges heavily on this match alone!! :rolleyes:
I dun think it depends on veron alone. So far, he turns on performances for argentine only.Only argentine players can click with him, come the world cup u will see.
Even when he is in lazio, he sometimes disappears from his game. DUn expect him too much. I believe tonight manu will comcentrate on keeping the ball more. They will rely on counterattack more. I believe ferguson shd be looking at 0-0 scoreline.
o0KelviN0o
10-04-2002, 11:40 PM
Anyone can confirm the above subject? :D
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 12:11 AM
What subject?
Devilboy
11-04-2002, 12:19 AM
Originally posted by zeq
I dun think it depends on veron alone. So far, he turns on performances for argentine only.Only argentine players can click with him, come the world cup u will see.
Even when he is in lazio, he sometimes disappears from his game. DUn expect him too much. I believe tonight manu will comcentrate on keeping the ball more. They will rely on counterattack more. I believe ferguson shd be looking at 0-0 scoreline.
Yes, I do agree with you that Veron performs much better for his country than his club. This season, critics have been harsh on him, wanting instant result from him! But please understand, when playing for Argentina, he was given a free role, meaning he can roam everywhere he likes, but in Man Utd, his role is structure and there isn't much room for him to do! But no doubt about it that his passes and touch are a class above the rest! Without Roy Keane and Paul Scholes in this match, againist Deportivo, he will more likely be able to express his capabilities! I believe in him and also Alex Ferguson judgement in purchasing him.
The difference between a superstar and a workhouse is: In soccer, superstar will bring his team forward during crucial matches and workhouse will consistantly asist the superstar in his work! In my point of View, Veron is a superstar! Tonight will be his night, I am damn sure he will perform!:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
o0KelviN0o
11-04-2002, 12:22 AM
What subject?
liewz..... the one above.... in SMALL BOLD FONTS. =p
Kiwi8
11-04-2002, 12:24 AM
Confirmed & guaranteed.
If he dun perform, i also dun mind. Hes good to watch, maybe sometimes a bit disappointing but sometimes his skills jus blow u apart. But his glaring mistakes against Boro further make his role very fragile to media. I guess, it is almost a certainty that Manu will go through. Unlike last night, i specially stayed up to watch bayer win.....
Devilboy
11-04-2002, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by zeq
If he dun perform, i also dun mind. Hes good to watch, maybe sometimes a bit disappointing but sometimes his skills jus blow u apart. But his glaring mistakes against Boro further make his role very fragile to media. I guess, it is almost a certainty that Manu will go through. Unlike last night, i specially stayed up to watch bayer win.....
Same here! I stay up last night just to see Bayer kills off Liverpool! I was celebrating with my brother! We toast and got hang over when going to work! Sounds evil to a Pools fan but what is Man Utd nickname? Red Devils!
o0KelviN0o
11-04-2002, 03:42 AM
Man Utd!!!
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 04:42 AM
Wow...looks like a nice match....man utd won 3-2 but scoring 4 goals in the process. :D
Man Utd 3 - 2 Deportivo La Coruña
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (23) Laurent Blanc (og 44)
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (56)
Ryan Giggs (69) Djalma Feitosa Djalminha (90
kengbeng
11-04-2002, 04:59 AM
But the injuries don't look good. :(
Pr0t0type
11-04-2002, 05:00 AM
OH GLORY MAN-UTD GLORY!! :bounce: :bounce:
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 05:03 AM
But the injuries don't look good. :(
Hey care to update me on them??
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 05:03 AM
Originally posted by Pr0t0type
OH GLORY MAN-UTD GLORY!! :bounce: :bounce:
You sounds like u're worshipping man utd.
puzzle
11-04-2002, 05:06 AM
juz hope beckham will be alrite.....
Fergie realli cannot expect any more injuries for his team or else no matter how commited his team or how gd his tactics are...oso useless liaoz...
Actually quite scared of leverkusen....
Think the man utd defence cannot cope leh...Ronny johnson injured and only left gray and blanc at the back as 'veterans' liaoz....
Somemore keane and mayb beckham out....make man utd look damm weak....
Hope tht veron peaks now and prove all critics wrong..
If he peaks...he can destroy any team....
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 05:09 AM
How's the injury?
I was told from another forum that he suffer a broken bone somewhere?!?!!
Latest article i got from manutd website.
United strode into the semi-finals of the European Cup with a majestic performance against Deportivo la Coruna on Wednesday night. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer grabbed a brace and Ryan Giggs scored a cracker as the Spaniards, reduced to nine men, were beaten 3-2 - 5-2 on aggregate. The only blight on the evening were first-half injuries to David Beckham and Ronny Johnsen.
Pr0t0type
11-04-2002, 05:09 AM
I heard the commentator said something about Beckham broke his foot bone.. oh no... this is bad news for both Man-Utd and England...
Hope he will recover fast..
Pr0t0type
11-04-2002, 05:11 AM
You sounds like u're worshipping man utd.
Nah, just feel happy for them.. :)
kengbeng
11-04-2002, 05:31 AM
But United's victory was again tarnished by an injury to David Beckham, with the England captain suffering a broken bone in his foot.
An estimated eight-week absence will almost certainly rule him out of the remainder of the Reds' Premiership and European campaigns, and puts his World Cup participation in jeapordy.
ralliart_ray
11-04-2002, 10:08 AM
*shucks*
Deportivo players sux, injured my manU players:laugh:
now manU is players depleted liao:mad:
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 11:42 AM
Not just deport oh..but argentine... =/
Thumper
11-04-2002, 01:49 PM
But United's victory was again tarnished by an injury to David Beckham, with the England captain suffering a broken bone in his foot.
An estimated eight-week absence will almost certainly rule him out of the remainder of the Reds' Premiership and European campaigns, and puts his World Cup participation in jeapordy.
:mad: worst team to play aginst since the ugly time against feynoord during the 96/97 season
:eek: :eek: :eek:
puzzle
11-04-2002, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by Thumper
:mad: worst team to play aginst since the ugly time against feynoord during the 96/97 season
:eek: :eek: :eek:
crap lah...realli sore losers...no sportsmanship....
Play rough and play smelly is two different thing..
The way liverpool played when they were down is rough but not smelly but deop....haiz.....
Now keane and beckham out...anymore injuries and man utd will be left with no cups this season....
Forlan not adapting well huh.....think everytime fergie field him is taking a risk...wonder when will baby face super sub be 1st team...he is realli fergie's saviour...and the fans hope when the other strikers cant score...
Devilboy
11-04-2002, 09:24 PM
Originally posted by puzzle
crap lah...realli sore losers...no sportsmanship....
Play rough and play smelly is two different thing..
The way liverpool played when they were down is rough but not smelly but deop....haiz.....
Now keane and beckham out...anymore injuries and man utd will be left with no cups this season....
Forlan not adapting well huh.....think everytime fergie field him is taking a risk...wonder when will baby face super sub be 1st team...he is realli fergie's saviour...and the fans hope when the other strikers cant score...
See on the bright side guys! Veron finally proved his worth! The "Witch" finally does his magic! One man downfall may result another man's new era! I believe Beckham will return for World Cup for England! For the rest of the season, Veron will carry Man Utd forward! Giggs will produce his wizard run on the left! Paul Scholes will carry on his new-found fine form and Solskjear & Nisterooy will continue their remarkable scoring spree! Fear not gentlemen, Man Utd always pulls through when times are bad. It is not the first time Man Utd face with injuries!
ah_kiat
11-04-2002, 09:28 PM
Fear not gentlemen, Man Utd always pulls through when times are bad. It is not the first time Man Utd face with injuries!
yeah man....
Devilboy
11-04-2002, 09:37 PM
Now that Veron is back and Beckham is out. It will be interesting to see Veron's own brand of freekicks and set pieces!
vamos
11-04-2002, 10:43 PM
would like to put in a word for butt too.........he has been quietly doing the job all season, and since keane's tragedy, he has stepped up, especially against depor for both legs........:bounce:
Shingoz
11-04-2002, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by vamos
would like to put in a word for butt too.........he has been quietly doing the job all season, and since keane's tragedy, he has stepped up, especially against depor for both legs........:bounce:
Actually he's kinda poor thing ah..always 2nd choice since his early playing days...both for club and for country....
He's stayed in man utd(bench) for most of his seasons.
Actually he's quite good, Fergie has been saying he's sometime guilty having to leave him out of matches.
Coz man utd's midfield is really too strong.
No space for him to squeeze in unless there's any injury.
Devilboy
12-04-2002, 12:02 AM
Butt is a quality player! I think he is beginning to be like Solskjear. Sits quietly, observe the game well and produce results when being field! Everyone wants to be in the first team, but sometimes being on the bench and produce surprising result when needed matters alot too! Just like Solskjear, score critical goals when needed! He has been Man Utd most important sub! Without him, Man Utd may not even progress that far! Butt too has contribute to Man Utd games but not as much flair as the 1st team midfield! He is good!
ralliart_ray
12-04-2002, 09:49 AM
i hope beck will recover in time 4 WC.
*pray*:angel:
joecan
12-04-2002, 11:17 AM
After watching the game , I think Manu should do ok with Fortune on the left, Scholes and Butt (or Veron if he decides to perform again) in the centre and Giggs part time on the right and running all over the place for the rest of the time.
Beckham can create chances for other players but I think Giggs' goal has proven that he can create chances for himself, it's going to be a different kind of problem for opposing teams....
Shingoz
12-04-2002, 01:08 PM
Originally posted by joecan
Beckham can create chances for other players but I think Giggs' goal has proven that he can create chances for himself, it's going to be a different kind of problem for opposing teams....
The problem with giggs is that i think he cant shoot.
Most of the time his shots are either too weak or out of target...
Thumper
12-04-2002, 02:51 PM
The problem with giggs is that i think he cant shoot.
Most of the time his shots are either too weak or out of target...
True True, It is a known fact that Giggs has great pace/movment but he lacks in finishing. But when he does get his shots right, there is no stopping them.
loss of Beckham and keane will prove costly in the remaining matches...:(
jomblo_man
12-04-2002, 04:35 PM
loss of Beckham and keane will prove costly in the remaining matches...:(
:( :(
Devilboy
12-04-2002, 10:20 PM
fear not! We will pull through! Last wednesday, I predicted Veron will be the key man for the match and he never failed me! For the rest of the season, Veron will make every SOB who bad-mouthed him keep their lips together! I say again! He will make every penny Man Utd paid for him worthwhile while the another teams just drool and dream on having such a player in their team! HaHaHa:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Devilboy
12-04-2002, 10:28 PM
BTW, specially for you guys, I pass by Toa Payoh centre today, on my way back home and found out something may interest you! There is a Pasar Malam selling Jerseys! Ok, I have been buying Originals Man Utd for last 7 years but today when I saw the $18 cheap replicas, I was shock, really shock! As I was wearing the original Man Utd home jersey, I compare every single detail of mine againist their $18 replicas, I have noticed that there is almost no difference! I can gurantee you this! Even the tag behind is exactly the same! Not to spoilt Man Utd business, but for those who are tight on their budget can go down and take a look! BTW the stocks are limited! There is even International jerseys! Maybe you guys would like to grab a few pieces for WC! :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
And you call yourself a Man Utd supporter :laugh:
Devilboy
12-04-2002, 10:59 PM
Originally posted by WYT
And you call yourself a Man Utd supporter :laugh:
Just FYI, I did not buy any of the replica products! I still stick to the originals! But what I am trying to do is for Man Utd Fanatics that are "NOT AS WELL TO DO AS YOU"! U definately dosen't want see people (not financially well off) to to starve themselves and save up that miserable amount of money for the originals! Just a post for the less fortunate! U can buy all sorts of things you likes coz you are rich and well off, but there some people who are not! I am supporting Man Utd for 9 years and do not question my loyalty towards my beloved club! :mad: :mad: :mad:
er...can't you tell i'm joking?
Devilboy
12-04-2002, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by WYT
er...can't you tell i'm joking?
Sorry! I get agitated when people question my loyalty to my beloved team! U may not like that too! Hopefully didn't offend you much! This thread is for Man Utd lovers, let's not make it into a war zone!!!=p =p =p
ralliart_ray
13-04-2002, 10:09 AM
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: mai argue la....
tranze
13-04-2002, 11:44 PM
have u guys seen the new MAN U jersey?
ralliart_ray
14-04-2002, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by tranze
have u guys seen the new MAN U jersey? yayaH!!the 1 with black lines...
we will we will rock the world rock the world
Devilboy
14-04-2002, 03:24 PM
Originally posted by tranze
have u guys seen the new MAN U jersey?
Dissapointed by Nike Design! Nothing special! Still prefer the Umbro one!
ralliart_ray
14-04-2002, 06:52 PM
we will we will rock the world rock the world aint u in lazio? -_-"
edwinz
14-04-2002, 08:25 PM
whree did you see the jersey???
i went to website cannot find!
Devilboy
15-04-2002, 08:22 PM
Originally posted by edwinz
whree did you see the jersey???
i went to website cannot find!
My friend who works in Queensway shown me the catalog, but the official release should be after the EPL season!
Devilboy
15-04-2002, 08:26 PM
Ruud has defy all odds and pick up the highest prestige award, PFA player of the year 2002! Looks like Man Utd players has been getting this trophy, 3 in a row! 2001 Sheringham, 2000 Roy Keane. So will 2003 be Beckham????? :)
kengbeng
16-04-2002, 07:13 PM
Oh well...another injury AGAIN...
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/020416/21/cwu4j.html
Barthez crocked in France training
Manchester United's injury curse has struck again with the news that Fabien Barthez has sustained a knee injury while training with France.
The World Cup and Euro 2000-winning keeper limped out of training clutching his right knee after a collision with full-back Bixente Lizarazu.
The French team's medical staff confirmed that Barthez has twisted the knee and is regarded as doubtful for the friendly with Russia at Stade de France tomorrow.
The news from Paris will come as another blow to United boss Sir Alex Ferguson as his team chase Arsenal in the race for the Premiership title and prepare for Saturday's crucial clash with Chelsea.
Ferguson is already without David Beckham, Juan Sebastian Veron, Ronny Johnsen and Roy Keane for the trip to Stamford Bridge and Barthez's injury will increase his fears that other players could be added to that list after tomorrow's internationals.
England skipper Beckham is almost a week into treatment on the broken bone in his foot. Johnsen has a mild hamstring problem but will return before the end of the season, as will Keane who returned to light training yesterday after his own hamstring injury.
Veron, who has withdrawn from Argentina's squad because of a sore Achilles tendon, is expected to be fit for the first leg of next week's Champions League semi-final against Bayer Leverkusen but is unlikely to be risked at Stamford Bridge.
ralliart_ray
16-04-2002, 07:47 PM
johnsen weak leh
everytime injured....
i tink should get nesta / canavaro/ hafland better
arbo get all 3...then wudi liao:D
Kiwi8
16-04-2002, 08:00 PM
johnsen weak leh
everytime injured....
There's never such a thing called "wudi". The football is round.
Remember the FA Cup Middlesbro massacre?? =p
Devilboy
16-04-2002, 10:07 PM
Barthez out is still OK! Roy Carrol can handle very well! But Veron out!:( Looks like it is up to Giggs and Scholes to push the the attack and Van Nisterooy to carry on his scoring spree with Solskjear! BTW, they are the current highest scoring pair in the EPL! Maybe even the whole EPL history if they keep on scoring!
Devilboy
16-04-2002, 10:09 PM
johnsen weak leh
everytime injured....
Saw Canavaro tackle on Batistuta! He looks like another Dusher! Reckless and senseless!
Shingoz
16-04-2002, 10:17 PM
There's never such a thing called "wudi". The football is round.
Remember the FA Cup Middlesbro massacre?? =p
Buy new defenders still have to train them to work together.
So must buy all the current 4 back of Italy squad. :D
Devilboy
16-04-2002, 10:28 PM
Buy new defenders still have to train them to work together.
So must buy all the current 4 back of Italy squad. :D
Agree! Look at Lazio and Milan, they buy lots of superstar players but still fail to shine in their Serie A!
joecan
17-04-2002, 11:52 AM
Barthez out is still OK! Roy Carrol can handle very well! But Veron out! Looks like it is up to Giggs and Scholes to push the the attack and Van Nisterooy to carry on his scoring spree with Solskjear! BTW, they are the current highest scoring pair in the EPL! Maybe even the whole EPL history if they keep on scoring!
Devilboy, I don't quite agree about Veron. I just feel that everytime Veron doesn't play, ManU's game seems to be more flowing. His presence seems to be a show stopper for the Mid Field, every ball got to go thru him, and he seems to hold on to the ball forever, yes he made a defence splitting pass to Ole in the CL, but that seems to be the only moment of brilliance that I could remember about him for the whole season. Right now ManU got no choice due to so many injuries, but I think Fortune-Scholes-Butt-Giggs mid field should do ok.
I do agree with ralliart_ray about the defenders. ManU is in need of some good defenders and the only person who don't seems to agree in Sir Alex.
I do have a feeling that ManU's defence will go thru a major revamp next season, it's becoming too preditable, just aim the ball at Gary Neville and you probably have a chance to score. with Blanc and Dennis Irwin retiring they now only have the 2 Nevilles, Johnson (part time because always injured), Silvestre, Brown and O'Shea I think another 2 will probably be signed because knowing Sir Alex style, he always have 2 full teams of ManU on standby
ralliart_ray
17-04-2002, 04:43 PM
Saw Canavaro tackle on Batistuta! He looks like another Dusher! Reckless and senseless! ..hehe...mayb u r right..but i like hardcore player
Devilboy
17-04-2002, 08:55 PM
Originally posted by joecan
Barthez out is still OK! Roy Carrol can handle very well! But Veron out! Looks like it is up to Giggs and Scholes to push the the attack and Van Nisterooy to carry on his scoring spree with Solskjear! BTW, they are the current highest scoring pair in the EPL! Maybe even the whole EPL history if they keep on scoring!
Devilboy, I don't quite agree about Veron. I just feel that everytime Veron doesn't play, ManU's game seems to be more flowing. His presence seems to be a show stopper for the Mid Field, every ball got to go thru him, and he seems to hold on to the ball forever, yes he made a defence splitting pass to Ole in the CL, but that seems to be the only moment of brilliance that I could remember about him for the whole season. Right now ManU got no choice due to so many injuries, but I think Fortune-Scholes-Butt-Giggs mid field should do ok.
I do agree with ralliart_ray about the defenders. ManU is in need of some good defenders and the only person who don't seems to agree in Sir Alex.
I do have a feeling that ManU's defence will go thru a major revamp next season, it's becoming too preditable, just aim the ball at Gary Neville and you probably have a chance to score. with Blanc and Dennis Irwin retiring they now only have the 2 Nevilles, Johnson (part time because always injured), Silvestre, Brown and O'Shea I think another 2 will probably be signed because knowing Sir Alex style, he always have 2 full teams of ManU on standby
Veron is a different type/class of player in Man Utd squad, I agree! He did not create as much hype as he is supposed to, I agree also! But he is getting it and starting to gel with the team! He do play badly throughout most of the whole season because of the way Man Utd is playing! He is the kind of Central Midfielders that attracts defenders like bees and out of a sudden, he will unleash a spectacular pass or cross to his attackers and sometimes unleash powerful shots that leaves opposition goalkeepers stranded! He played much better for Lazio and Argentina is because the team Managers allow him to play free role, a position he excels most! Saw the last match againist Deportivo? Without Keane and Beckham, he run all around the field and provide defence spilting passes that caught the Deportivo defenders off guard! He is definately a player of class and quality! Just that in Man Utd, he is very much restricted due to Keane and Beckham presence! But he is starting to play well with them, hope he stays in Man Utd, he will definately be very much better next season!
Devilboy
17-04-2002, 09:13 PM
Looks like Man Utd got a tough week ahead! Facing Cheslea this Saturday and Bayer Leverkusen 4 days later! This is the most crucial part of the season for Man Utd! They have to win both matches to keep their hopes floats!
Kiwi8
17-04-2002, 09:28 PM
Looks like Man Utd got a tough week ahead! Facing Cheslea this Saturday and Bayer Leverkusen 4 days later! This is the most crucial part of the season for Man Utd! They have to win both matches to keep their hopes floats!
Time for Veron to show what he's made of, & whether he accomplished enough for the season......
Devilboy
18-04-2002, 12:54 AM
But the problem is that Fergie may have to rest Veron for ECL, coz his ankle isn't well! This week againist Chelsea is gonna be tough!
Devilboy
18-04-2002, 12:58 AM
Starting line up for this week maybe:
Goalkeeper: Roy Carrol
Defenders: Silvestre, Blanc, Brown & Gary Neville
Midfielders: Giggs, Scholes, Butt and Fortune/Phil Neville
Strikers: Nisterooy and Solskjear
Midfield looks abit weak. But the rest is still OK! Should be able to pull a victory againist Chelsea
ralliart_ray
18-04-2002, 01:39 AM
chealsa abit scary....they in fine form recently
they playing @ old trafford?? if so..got gd chance to grab a win:D
Shingoz
18-04-2002, 01:50 AM
chealsa abit scary....they in fine form recently
they playing @ old trafford?? if so..got gd chance to grab a win:D
Yup..they're on form...
If we lose/draw can go home slp already.
Arse and Liv...althought Liv is a greater rival, i suppose Fergie would prefer Liv to win. :D
Coz he has got some "personal" rivalry with Wenger.
kengbeng
18-04-2002, 09:08 AM
http://www.manutdonline.org/videos.html
Devilboy
18-04-2002, 07:07 PM
http://www.manutdonline.org/videos.html
Goodies.............:bounce:
ralliart_ray
19-04-2002, 11:57 AM
http://www.manutdonline.org/videos.html nice!!;)
Freestylers_X
19-04-2002, 02:41 PM
after the chealsa match its gonna be over ... better to win the cpl this time .. >_< man utd record vs cheals away is play 5 lose 4
Kiwi8
19-04-2002, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by Freestylers_X
after the chealsa match its gonna be over ... better to win the cpl this time .. >_< man utd record vs cheals away is play 5 lose 4
Yeah.... if Man U can't get the 3 points from this match, it can balek kampong & go to sleep liao.
ralliart_ray
19-04-2002, 08:14 PM
manU will win hopefully:D
ralliart_ray
19-04-2002, 08:16 PM
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/mufc/keane0402_lg.jpg
Roy Keane is on course to make a shock comeback in time for the second leg of Manchester United's Champions League semi- final in Germany in 11 days.
Injured: Keane at Deportivo
The Manchester United captain was expected to struggle to be fit for the Champions League Final on May 15 after tearing a hamstring against Deportivo La Coruna little more than a fortnight ago.
But Soccernet understands that Keane is making better progress than expected in his recovery, and is increasingly confident that he could be ready if needed in an emergency when United fly to Bayer Leverkusen a week on Monday.
But Arsenal objected to the switch as it would have left Arsene Wenger's team just two days to recover from the FA Cup Final against Chelsea before visiting Old Trafford.
Ferguson, planning for the scenario in which his side overcome Bayer Leverkusen to reach the Champions League Final in Glasgow, faces the prospect of playing three games in eight days, against Arsenal, Charlton and either Real Madrid or Barcelona.
Devilboy
19-04-2002, 10:23 PM
Hurray! The inspiring Leader is back soon!!! This should lift the team spirit up!
Devilboy
19-04-2002, 10:30 PM
Anyone read the newpaper today? There is a certain column whereby they ask reader whether England needs Beckham or not! There is 3 Jackass that wrote negatively and I am for sure they are either Anti-Man Utd fans or Beckham sourgrape eater. These 3 Jackass wrote as if they can judge a player capabilities very well! See already makes my Blood boils! Beckham may not be the best in the world but he is very crucial for England progress so far! How can they say such thing, ungrateful Jackass!:mad:
ralliart_ray
20-04-2002, 03:12 AM
Anyone read the newpaper today? There is a certain column whereby they ask reader whether England needs Beckham or not! There is 3 Jackass that wrote negatively and I am for sure they are either Anti-Man Utd fans or Beckham sourgrape eater. These 3 Jackass wrote as if they can judge a player capabilities very well! See already makes my Blood boils! Beckham may not be the best in the world but he is very crucial for England progress so far! How can they say such thing, ungrateful Jackass!:mad: LoL! wat a thing to say.....if it isnt beckham who single handedly pulled england through to the WC....i bet recent friendly got no meanings
Devilboy
20-04-2002, 03:32 AM
Beckham will recover in time for WC and smash in those trademark freekicks and bring England further in the WC, best of all, let him score the match decider goals and made those Jackass who speaks bad about him eats their own words! I am praying for him everyday! Hopefully he can recover faster than expected and even score for Man Utd in the CL finals! I got a feeling Man Utd will progress into the CL finals in Scotland! God help Beckham....................
Devilboy
20-04-2002, 03:35 AM
Today meeting with Chelsea will be exciting! There will be goals flowing in. Will be a match not to be miss! My predictions: Man Utd 3-2 Chelsea!
harryyeo
20-04-2002, 04:00 AM
i'm a tad pessimistic so i'll give a 1-0 to Man U. tat is if they really do their best... if not, a 2-0 win to Chelsea...
Bad Deportivo for taking away our key players.:( :( :mad: :mad:
Devilboy
20-04-2002, 04:33 AM
Man Utd will win! Thats the bottomline!
You're too optimistic. :( :(
I think Man U is not going to fare very well against a strong Chelsea.
Unless, of course, the bookies already arranged it in Man U's favour. =p
nyleda
20-04-2002, 11:19 AM
sorri to disturb u guys discussion.............any nice urls to download man utd wallpaper or pics..................
OnizUk4
21-04-2002, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by pyu
Chelsea 0 - 3 Man Utd
U gonna eat ur words
Juz j/k
Kiwi8
21-04-2002, 12:06 AM
Originally posted by OnizUk4
Chelsea 0 - 3 Man Utd
U gonna eat ur words
Juz j/k
He said he thought, so it's just an opinion, so he dun have to eat his words.
Only for people who say things like: "Team A will definitely lose" "Team B will definitely win" then will they eat their own words from time to time.
ralliart_ray
21-04-2002, 12:19 AM
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20020420/mufcceleb_br.jpg
With a display epitomising champions whose crown will have to be wrenched from their grasp, Manchester United served notice at Stamford Bridge that they will not go down without a fight.
High fives all round as United celebrate Ole Gunnar Solsjaer's late goal
(BenRadford/Allsport)
Arsenal may yet be title favourites but Sir Alex Ferguson's side were in commanding form as they crushed Chelsea 3-0.
Commanding at the back, dominant in midfield and decisive on the break, United ruthlessly swept aside a Chelsea side which had previously suffered just two league defeats since New Year's Day.
A 30-yard drive by Paul Scholes and yet another strike from Ruud van Nistelrooy, who was only denied a hat-trick by the brilliance of Chelsea keeper Carlo Cudicini, provided only a hint of their superiority.
But when Ole Gunnar Solskjaer rounded off the scoring late on, it ensured full revenge was exacted for their 3-0 home defeat by Chelsea back in December.
:D :D :D absolute beauty
Kiwi8
21-04-2002, 12:23 AM
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20020420/mufcceleb_br.jpg
With a display epitomising champions whose crown will have to be wrenched from their grasp, Manchester United served notice at Stamford Bridge that they will not go down without a fight.
High fives all round as United celebrate Ole Gunnar Solsjaer's late goal
(BenRadford/Allsport)
Arsenal may yet be title favourites but Sir Alex Ferguson's side were in commanding form as they crushed Chelsea 3-0.
Commanding at the back, dominant in midfield and decisive on the break, United ruthlessly swept aside a Chelsea side which had previously suffered just two league defeats since New Year's Day.
A 30-yard drive by Paul Scholes and yet another strike from Ruud van Nistelrooy, who was only denied a hat-trick by the brilliance of Chelsea keeper Carlo Cudicini, provided only a hint of their superiority.
But when Ole Gunnar Solskjaer rounded off the scoring late on, it ensured full revenge was exacted for their 3-0 home defeat by Chelsea back in December.
:D :D :D absolute beauty
Weird rite, in that they both lost at home & won away to each other. :rolleyes:
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 02:52 AM
We are definately not out of the EPL championship race yet! Glory Glory Man Utd!
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 02:55 AM
Originally posted by pyu
Yo bro! Nowadays my predictions quite accurate, even my friends benefitted from me! HaHa
Shingoz
21-04-2002, 03:24 AM
Yo bro! Nowadays my predictions quite accurate, even my friends benefitted from me! HaHa
So...who will win the title? :D
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 03:35 AM
So...who will win the title? :D
Only on games basis! If I can predict the season! HaHa I will br rich!
Shingoz
21-04-2002, 04:09 AM
Only on games basis! If I can predict the season! HaHa I will br rich!
HAha...okok anyway 4-5 games left.
Not as though it's the beginning.
I have this feeling Liv will take it.
I wont want Arse to have it. =/
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 01:55 PM
HAha...okok anyway 4-5 games left.
Not as though it's the beginning.
I have this feeling Liv will take it.
I wont want Arse to have it. =/
My prediction is somehow againist Man Utd favour! Of course as a Fan, hopefully Man Utd can bring home the silverware, but on the current situations, it sounds like Arsenal is going for the glory! Liverpool got strong players alright, but the way they insists their tactics(Like againist Derby), they will not go far, what happen if Owen don't perform for just one game? Arsenal on the other hand is different, their players are extremely fit and they way they play counterattack and quick passing can leave opposition defenders grasping for air! Seldom you see Arsenal players waiting to end the game by passing! They lost Pires but Ljungberg is on form, Henry unable to bag in goals but Bergkemp is there! They are playing like 1998 double season! The only thing that can stop them form getting a throphy this season is luck now!
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 02:05 PM
Ferguson: We can repeat 1999
By Bob Cass
Sir Alex Ferguson has sounded out a warning to Manchester United's European Cup rivals by insisting: 'We're back in the 1999 mood.'
Fergie: More glory?
(BenRadford/Allsport)
The United manager is sensing the same spirit of determination and application that carried his team to their sensational last-minute final victory over Bayern Munich in Barcelona's Nou Camp Stadium three years ago.
'The players were very focused then and they are now,' he said. 'They are in a similar mood.'
And while Ferguson acknowledges the loss of injured midfield pair Roy Keane and David Beckham for both semi-final legs against Bayer Leverkusen will be a setback, he is confident United will make it to the final in his native Glasgow on May 15.
'We can cope,' he said. 'You get great reassurance from the way players like Nicky Butt have responded. He has been unbelievable. He has matured superbly and has accepted the midfield responsibility that has been thrust on him.
'It's a bit of an insult to the way Butt has been performing to suggest we'll have problems in midfield. He has come in and done well just when we need him most.'
The United dossier on the runaway Bundesliga leaders is a bulky one but there is still room for the kind of inside information which Ferguson hopes will be provided by Gerard Houllier, whose Liverpool team were beaten by Leverkusen in their two-leg quarter-final.
He will be putting a call through to the Anfield boss before Wednesday's first leg at Old Trafford to get his thoughts and advice.
'We have a great relationship,' said Ferguson. 'I am sure he will help if he can. But I know a lot about the Germans already.
'Their pattern of play is totally different to the more disciplined approach of Bayern Munich. They are a strong attacking side who will provide us with a big test.
'But I am happy with the way our defence is performing at the moment. They have developed really well in Europe this season and have shown tremendous concentration in matches.
'The lads are in great shape, mentally and physically. They are showing confidence without being over-confident.'
Houllier's input will not be the only pre-match lift for United from their fierce Merseyside rivals.
There was also a confidence-boosting forecast from three of his vanquished side, with Michael Owen, Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher giving a unanimous thumbs-up to the Old Trafford outfit.
Owen said: 'Leverkusen are a good side but I would expect Man U to win quite well at home and, if they can get a couple of goals advantage, I can't see them getting pegged back.'
Carragher said: 'Leverkusen have emerged as strong contenders this season but United have been involved in the Champions League for years and this will be a big advantage.'
And Gerrard agreed: 'United will be stronger over the two legs.'
But all three warned about the dangers of underestimating the Leverkusen side, who restricted Liverpool to one goal in the first leg and won 4-2 on their own ground.
Gerrard said: 'They showed they can score goals against the best defences and they are capable of getting them away from home as well.
'United will find playing at Leverkusen a testing experience. It is only a small stadium and the noise level is incredible and very intimidating.'
United's dressing-room optimism was reflected by Gary Neville. 'There is a massive desire for us to do well in the European Cup, especially as we feel we have under-achieved in the last two seasons,' he said.
'Our performance against Deportivo in Spain in the last round proved that, on our day, we're as good as there is... all we have to do is match that in these two games.'
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0421/20020421mufcferguson.html
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 02:12 PM
Bayer Leverkusen Vs Man Utd! Sure is exciting! We must win UCL!
Kiwi8
21-04-2002, 07:28 PM
Bayer Leverkusen Vs Man Utd! Sure is exciting! We must win ECL!
ECL???:confused:
European Champions League?
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 09:05 PM
European Champions League?
Correct! But no price for guessing it right!:laugh:
Kiwi8
21-04-2002, 09:24 PM
Correct! But no price for guessing it right!:laugh:
Wrong.... there's no such thing as ECL or European Champions League.
It's UEFA Champions League, or UCL.
Devilboy
21-04-2002, 09:45 PM
Wrong.... there's no such thing as ECL or European Champions League.
It's UEFA Champions League, or UCL.
OK! Post edited!
Devilboy
23-04-2002, 10:42 PM
plsoong
24-04-2002, 12:26 AM
yeah...the EPL is a close race to the finish...
hopefully Liverpool will trip up. but chances are that Arsenal will rise to seal the fate of this EPL....
of course being a Man Utd fan, hopefully they can do well during the UEFA CL and just that odd chance of bringing back some silverware!
Shingoz
24-04-2002, 12:31 PM
And again i say...if man utd dont win it, i would rather Liv than Arse to win! :D
Support Alex in his rivalry against Wenger. :D
harryyeo
24-04-2002, 06:09 PM
And again i say...if man utd dont win it, i would rather Liv than Arse to win! :D
Aye aye Sir!
never like Wenger anyway...:D
Devilboy
24-04-2002, 08:22 PM
Both also dun win lah! Simple as that! Man Utd emerged as Champion again!
Kiwi8
24-04-2002, 08:40 PM
Wait......
long long. :D
Shingoz
24-04-2002, 10:01 PM
Errr yup yup...next season maybe.
Devilboy
25-04-2002, 12:21 AM
Errr yup yup...next season maybe.
Let's be optimistic! Everything can happen in EPL right? Maybe Blackburn sudden form dashed Liverpool hopes? Dun forget former Man Utd Andy Cole is at Blackburn. Maybe Joe Cole is giving his performance of his lifetime, at the expense of Arsenal title challenge, to squeeze himself into the World Cup "starting eleven"? Be positive lah! When everybody has written off Man Utd, their "Luck" don't. Remember 1999? Man Utd famous Treble? Every single person think they will get nothing but they emerge Champion of 3 tournaments! Win the League by a single point and beat Bayer Munich in the injury time! Anything can happen! If you are a Man Utd fan, you should start keeping your fingers cross and start pray for lady luck shining on Man Utd. Dun even think of defeat until the last whistle is blown!:)
Devilboy
25-04-2002, 12:25 AM
OK guys, tonight Man Utd V.s Bayer Leverkusen. Who's watching? Prediction anybody?
Most probably Man Utd 3-1 Bayer Leverkusen.
Man-of-the-Match -> Veron
Pr0t0type
25-04-2002, 12:29 AM
I will be watching..
Man-Utd should not have much problems winning this match.
Devilboy
25-04-2002, 12:31 AM
I will be watching..
OK, half time report will be present on this thread then!
harryyeo
25-04-2002, 02:24 AM
OK, half time report will be present on this thread then!
hopefully the ghalf-time report not full of complains...:bounce:
Let's be optimistic! Everything can happen in EPL right? Maybe Blackburn sudden form dashed Liverpool hopes? Dun forget former Man Utd Andy Cole is at Blackburn. Maybe Joe Cole is giving his performance of his lifetime, at the expense of Arsenal title challenge, to squeeze himself into the World Cup "starting eleven"? Be positive lah! When everybody has written off Man Utd, their "Luck" don't. Remember 1999? Man Utd famous Treble? Every single person think they will get nothing but they emerge Champion of 3 tournaments! Win the League by a single point and beat Bayer Munich in the injury time! Anything can happen! If you are a Man Utd fan, you should start keeping your fingers cross and start pray for lady luck shining on Man Utd. Dun even think of defeat until the last whistle is blown!:)
yea man.. am keeping my fingers cross. hoping fer ars and liver to drop points!
Devilboy
25-04-2002, 03:41 AM
Half time report:
Man Utd 1-0 Bayer Leverkusen
Solskjear 29min (Actually is an own goal)
Man Utd play quite steady and slow. The attack of the game is somehow at a slower pace as compare to their normal gameplay. Maybe they are trying to see Bayer Leverkusen ability. Bayer Leverkusen on the other hand performs much better but misses at least 3 chances on goal! 2nd half should be more exciting, hopefully Man Utd can score more goals to secure the game or they may end up like Liverpool (Hopefully not).
Devilboy reports:D
Devilboy
25-04-2002, 04:55 AM
Full time report:
Man Utd 2-2 Bayer Leverkusen
Sad.....................Man Utd throw away a golden chance in the 70th min when the defence fail to clear the ball and allow Bayer Leverkusen sub Neuville to snarch an equalizer. Man Utd somehow in this match is abit complacent, the 2nd did not posses any form of threat to Bayer Leverkusen. But then again, Man Utd still got a chance next week to even things out! Today is not a good day for Man Utd. The gunners snatch a win over West Ham 2-0! ****................:( :(
Kiwi8
25-04-2002, 07:27 AM
I will be watching..
:sarcastic
lizarazu2000
25-04-2002, 09:08 AM
hahahaha....Man Utd can only blame themself for its arrogance.... remember?? I CAN SMELL VICTORY!!!! wow wat a word from FERGUSON.........
SIGN!!!!! No GLory Glory MAN UTD!!!! We sorry For Our Arrogance!
Anti Man Utd
Kiwi8
25-04-2002, 09:18 AM
Originally posted by lizarazu2000
hahahaha....Man Utd can only blame themself for its arrogance.... remember?? I CAN SMELL VICTORY!!!! wow wat a word from FERGUSON.........
SIGN!!!!! No GLory Glory MAN UTD!!!! We sorry For Our Arrogance!
Anti Man Utd
Yup. Bayer Leverkusen is quite an under-rated team. But with Michael Ballack & co, should not rank them as outsiders for the final.
Obviously, the lesson given to Liverpool wasn't learnt by Man U.
lizarazu2000
25-04-2002, 09:25 AM
Yup. Bayer Leverkusen is quite an under-rated team. But with Michael Ballack & co, should not rank them as outsiders for the final.
Obviously, the lesson given to Liverpool wasn't learnt by Man U.
you are right man....r you a man utd fan???
kengbeng
25-04-2002, 09:59 AM
Hope that there will be an re-enactment of the 1999 semifinal 2nd leg against Juventus.
ifiron
25-04-2002, 11:42 AM
Hope that there will be an re-enactment of the 1999 semifinal 2nd leg against Juventus.
There will be !!!!
Kiwi8
25-04-2002, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by ifiron
There will be !!!!
Dun speak too soon.
;)
ralliart_ray
25-04-2002, 03:55 PM
pray hard~;)
Devilboy
25-04-2002, 08:55 PM
We will be victorious!
Devilboy
26-04-2002, 10:56 PM
Shingoz
27-04-2002, 03:22 AM
Let's see what can keane do to help.
Anyway i think Man Utd performs better when under stress, like now.
Else....they do seems a little "complacent".
kengbeng
27-04-2002, 09:02 PM
So Liverpool lost to Spurs.
Hope Man Utd wins to secure 2nd place to avoid champions league qualifiers.
trickle_on
27-04-2002, 09:06 PM
Liverpudlians are rueing their loss.
Perfect time for the devils to strike out to at least secure second position.
Gonna be quite a nite....whoo!!!
:cool:
oOoooooooooooooooooooooooo liverpool down! :D
Devilboy
27-04-2002, 10:14 PM
The last time I say Liverpool will drop points! And Voila! Loss 0-1 to Tottemham! Next target is Arsenal! Don't write off Bolton as Youri will put his best performance of his lifetime to secure himself a place in the World Cup Finalfor France! Tonight, Man Utd will beat Ispwich and down Arsenal next week and go on to lift the trophy 4th time in a row! HaHaHaHaHa Like I always say, anything can happen in the EPL and when it comes down to the last few games, luck plays a very important part. Take a look at Liverpool, it is not that they play boring soccer and lost the match but they miss a couple of chances to score goals, those who watch the match will know that Liverpool could have beat Tottemham by at least 3 goals! But............how unlucky! HaHaHaHa :bounce: :bounce: :laugh: :laugh:
Devilboy
27-04-2002, 10:19 PM
Not to offend anyone! I have seen post in this thread that either says Man Utd will loss or will gain nothing in this season. Well, to all those negative thinkers, support your club till the last whistle is blown! Anything, anything can happen in the EPL! Once again, Glory Glory Man Utd or should I say Lucky Lucky Man Utd?:D :D :D
Kiwi8
27-04-2002, 10:19 PM
The last time I say Liverpool will drop points! And Voila! Loss 0-1 to Tottemham! Next target is Arsenal! Don't write off Bolton as Youri will put his best performance of his lifetime to secure himself a place in the World Cup Finalfor France! Tonight, Man Utd will beat Ispwich and down Arsenal next week and go on to lift the trophy 4th time in a row! HaHaHaHaHa Like I always say, anything can happen in the EPL and when it comes down to the last few games, luck plays a very important part. Take a look at Liverpool, it is not that they play boring soccer and lost the match but they miss a couple of chances to score goals, those who watch the match will know that Liverpool could have beat Tottemham by at least 3 goals! But............how unlucky! HaHaHaHa :bounce: :bounce: :laugh: :laugh:
Dun be smug. It can be a **** hole at Ipswich too. ;)
Eviltrap
27-04-2002, 10:24 PM
What we can hope is Arsenal loses to Bolton, and Man U wins Ipswich. Then beat Charlton and Arsenal at home. Then can win the Premier League.
But chances of Bolton winning Arsenal is very small...:(
Devilboy
27-04-2002, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by Eviltrap
What we can hope is Arsenal loses to Bolton, and Man U wins Ipswich. Then beat Charlton and Arsenal at home. Then can win the Premier League.
Alamak! Please be positive! Today at my workplace, two Liverpool fanatics say their team will thrash Tottemham! I told them that Tottemham will win and bet on tomoroow lunch! To my pleasure, Teddy Sheringham and bunch did Man Utd and me a flavour by dashing Liverpool title hope! Football is round and anything can happen in EPL. Arsenal was lucky against West Ham, if Kanuote goal is to stand, maybe we will be in a more comfortable position. Yes Arsenal is very very strong but Bolton has the ability to play againist big teams! Their players are hungry to get themselves into the World Cup and this game can prove crucial to Bolton players! So ..............hahahahaha I still believe Man Utd will be the last team standing! That is the bottomline!
Eviltrap
27-04-2002, 10:34 PM
Alamak! Please be positive! Today at my workplace, two Liverpool fanatics say their team will thrash Tottemham! I told them that Tottemham will win and bet on tomoroow lunch! To my pleasure, Teddy Sheringham and bunch did Man Utd and me a flavour by dashing Liverpool title hope! Football is round and anything can happen in EPL. Arsenal was lucky against West Ham, if Kanuote goal is to stand, maybe we will be in a more comfortable position. Yes Arsenal is very very strong but Bolton has the ability to play againist big teams! Their players are hungry to get themselves into the World Cup and this game can prove crucial to Bolton players! So ..............hahahahaha I still believe Man Utd will be the last team standing! That is the bottomline!
I like such optimism. ;)
Well, let Bolton put a dent in Arsenal's championship hopes. And then Man U to kill it off at Old Trafford...... :evil:
Devilboy
27-04-2002, 10:43 PM
I like such optimism. ;)
Well, let Bolton put a dent in Arsenal's championship hopes. And then Man U to kill it off at Old Trafford...... :evil:
I strongly believe if we keep our faith! Our supported team will produce the right result! Tonight! Ipswich 0-3 Man Utd.
Eviltrap
27-04-2002, 10:45 PM
I strongly believe if we keep our faith! Our supported team will produce the right result! Tonight! Ipswich 0-3 Man Utd.
That's all??
Haven't see Man U win very big already.....
hopefully 5-0.... =p
Can win happy already.
Devilboy
27-04-2002, 10:49 PM
That's all??
Haven't see Man U win very big already.....
hopefully 5-0.... =p
Can win happy already.
Trust me! The last 13 games I predicted, only 3 not accurate(based on win/loss)!
Eviltrap
27-04-2002, 10:56 PM
Trust me! The last 13 games I predicted, only 3 not accurate(based on win/loss)!
Hope you instinct is still with you.....
hey
man utd official website changed layout? no more live comm(the words one) launcher?
kengbeng
28-04-2002, 01:31 AM
hey
man utd official website changed layout? no more live comm(the words one) launcher?
Still have. But in a different format. You'll have to register too.
must pay?
vamos
28-04-2002, 03:04 AM
it's hard to see bolton beating arsenal but it isn't that hard to see them getting a draw which would mean United have to beat them at old trafford and probably win the league on goal difference!
kengbeng
28-04-2002, 08:03 AM
must pay?
No.
Devilboy
28-04-2002, 10:34 PM
Here is a great piece of news! When Man Utd set their foots on scotland for the Champion League Final, this person can make a difference!
http://www.soccernet.com/championsleague/news/2002/0428/20020428mufcbeckham.html
tranze
29-04-2002, 03:22 AM
NOw we just have to wait...
heard that BAllack would be out
Wots e date fer manu vs arsenal?
Shingoz
29-04-2002, 11:42 AM
No.
Hmm i think u'll have to be a club member to register.
kengbeng
29-04-2002, 04:33 PM
Hmm i think u'll have to be a club member to register.
You don't have to. I am not a club member myself. The registration is for you to access the live text and radio commentary.
There's another See Red service which requires payment, and allows you to view video archives of matches.
Originally posted by k4
Wots e date fer manu vs arsenal?
may 8 if i am not wrong
Mankul
30-04-2002, 05:17 AM
2-0!
"ARE YOU WATCHING,ARE U WATCHING,ARE YOU WATCHING MANCHESTER?"
:laugh: yaryar.. 2 more games. we will be watching.. u never know wots everton is up to.. lost the last 2.. we are still here.. WATCHING! :laugh: :rolleyes: this is darn crappy man! LOLOL anyway tt was a good game fer arsenal juznow.. congrat..
Shingoz
30-04-2002, 06:24 AM
Originally posted by Mankul
2-0!
-_-?
kengbeng
30-04-2002, 07:19 AM
2-0!
"ARE YOU WATCHING,ARE U WATCHING,ARE YOU WATCHING MANCHESTER?" :sarcastic
Devilboy
30-04-2002, 07:19 AM
2-0!
When did Arsene Wenger send you in to play mind games?? :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
:laugh: :laugh:
i muist admit, the title is arsenal's even they lose to united at old trafford..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.