View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Originally posted by shifty22
Good game by united, dominated spurs.
Rvn could have done better, and forlan (other than his long range shot) wasn't really in the game, 'dreaming' at the far post as the commentator mentioned. Keane was superb. Too bad he can't last every game now.
And bellion who came on with 3 mins of injury time left, got a few touches and even scored; what a morale booster for him and everyone in the team.
now it's arsenal and then.. arsenal, again.
You guys think fergie will choose the strongest team for both matches? or will he be thinking of resting players for the league match just to have them fresh for the fa semis?
Fergie will surely pick a strong squad in both matches.:)
Ronaldo7
21-03-2004, 07:59 PM
Van Nistelrooy's Ajax ace plea
Sunday, 21 March 2004
Ruud van Nistelrooy has compelled Manchester United to make a summer bid for his Holland team-mate Rafael van der Vaart.
The Ajax starlet is one of the most coveted talents in Europe and van Nistelrooy wants to link up with his compatriot at Old Trafford.
Van der Vaart is under contract at the Amsterdam ArenA until 2006 but can leave Ajax for the right price in the summer.
He has previously intimated that his dream is to play for Spanish giants Barcelona but he remains open regarding his next destination.
The 21-year-old schemer admits he will not make a decision on his future until the end of the season, with van Nistelrooy hoping he chooses The Red Devils.
Van Nistelrooy is a huge fan of his young international colleague and has urged United to secure his services in the summer.
The prolific striker feels van der Vaart could be the ideal player to supply him with the ammunition to continue banging in the goals on a regular basis.
"Van der Vaart is an outstanding player and I would love to see him in a Manchester United shirt," commented van Nistelrooy.
"He can operate just behind the attack and create chances."
hope utd can get him after missing out on robben
guoquanyap
22-03-2004, 12:04 AM
real doubt that Van der Vaart will come to OT....nowadays manu is pathatic in the transfer market......it appear gd players dun wan to come OT.....
We would probably want to get another defender instead, just to have enough depth in our squad to prevent this season's madness from repeating itself. Our first-choice defence is the best in England, but the loss of Rio and also suspension and injury to G Neville and Silvestre means the whole backline has to be shuffled around and the players have struggled to adapt to new positions. It's only just starting to click and three months is way too long. :(
Mar 22 - The two late goals that brought an otherwise soulless afternoon to life should help sweep away the air of self-pity that has hung over Old Trafford lately.
If they do not, a fired up Alex Ferguson certainly will. Manchester United's second and third against Tottenham were terrific goals and the fact that they came from young newcomers Cristiano Ronaldo and David Bellion will dampen the criticism that Ferguson no longer knows what he is doing in the transfer market.
If there are those in the United dressing room who believe this season is over, Ferguson will have a surprise for them in the days that precede the first of two meetings with Arsenal in which he can put a spoke in the wheel of his greatest rivals.
He will not wish to see Arsene Wenger guide his team through the season unbeaten, nor will he wish him to match United's own Treble win of 1999. On Sunday in the Premiership and then a week later, when the teams meet in the semi-final of the FA Cup, Ferguson has the chance to derail Arsenal twice.
"The next two games are the ones that Manchester United players should revel in. I am sure Arsenal will not underestimate us and we will have a few players back and a few players fitter," said Ferguson.
"We are really looking forward to it already. This club is about winning trophies. It's the name of the game. We all intend to go to Highbury and win and then win again the following week."
He believes his team to be superior to Arsenal although the league table indicates they are significantly inferior. On Sunday he has the opportunity to make a point.
"People have been criticising him but he would love the chance to stick two fingers up at them. He still has the chance to do that this season," Spurs manager David Pleat said on Saturday.
Pleat's words of support were predictable if candid. Perhaps more interesting was the fact that he claimed that Old Trafford is not quite the intimidating place to play football that it once was.
Some may say that is pretty rich coming from a man who had just seen his team lose 3-0 but the truth is that, until Ronaldo and Bellion scored, Spurs had always been in with a chance.
The difference was in the contributions of Roy Keane and Ryan Giggs. That the United captain should contribute a performance of high quality on his return from injury did not surprise anybody.
That Giggs should play so well, however, was timely. The Welshman has been worth his place this season, but rarely has he been exceptional. On Saturday he was at his wonderful best and, as Ruud van Nistelrooy continues to struggle, Giggs was by far his team's most potent attacking threat.
He opened the scoring from Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's cross in the 30th minute and supplied the pass from which Bellion was able to score three minutes into added time.
Giggs said: "We know that the pride's still there; we know the ability is still there. For whatever reason, we just haven't been doing it like we were before Christmas.
"We were low after last week and we just wanted to put on a good performance for our own fans. We are not stumbling into the Arsenal game, we are full of confidence and so we should be."
Spurs enjoyed plenty of the ball but never found the right final pass and Pleat was barracked by his supporters for resisting the temptation to play with three strikers when replacing Jermain Defoe with Fredi Kanoute for the final 10 minutes.
Wes Brown was lucky to escape a red card when he hauled down Defoe in the first half but that was a rare moment of alarm for United.
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=48600&seg=EPL&teamid=
RuMmYtUb
22-03-2004, 02:49 PM
I hope we could secure van der Vaart.
He can provide us with the ammunition, could do what Giggs do for us, as well as play like Scholes, behind RvN...
He'll be an ideal signing on top of a world class defender..
guoquanyap
22-03-2004, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
I hope we could secure van der Vaart.
He can provide us with the ammunition, could do what Giggs do for us, as well as play like Scholes, behind RvN...
He'll be an ideal signing on top of a world class defender..
imo van der vaart wont come to us....chances is very slim....very ruud cant tempt robben to united.....not to mention van der vaart
StormTrooper
23-03-2004, 07:46 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
imo van der vaart wont come to us....chances is very slim....very ruud cant tempt robben to united.....not to mention van der vaart
i don't think ruud has got anything to do with this........money is the more likely reason.
Ronaldo7
23-03-2004, 02:22 PM
Neville refuses to give up
Manchester United's Phil Neville has insisted the title race is still alive.
United travel to Highbury on Sunday to face leaders Arsenal, who are 12 points ahead of last season's champions.
Neville told MUTV: "If we win at Highbury next week you never know what might happen. Last season they slipped up towards the end.
"We know from experience the title is not over until they hand that trophy over at the end of May. Trophies are not won in March."
Neville also believes United's win over Spurs on Saturday could mark a turning point for Sir Alex Ferguson's side, who are also due to face Arsenal in the FA Cup semi-finals.
"Winning again makes everyone relax a little bit more," he said.
"Training was a lot happier because we had a good weekend. We had scored some goals and played well.
"It is nice to build up to the Arsenal game with that confidence behind us."
Neville added: "The game at Highbury and the semi-final are the games that any player wants to play in.
"At this club we are probably the one team that actually enjoys playing against Arsenal.
"We enjoy the test, we enjoy the big game. They are a fantastic side and it should be a great game on Sunday."
RuMmYtUb
23-03-2004, 06:53 PM
True, but up to the player, final decision is his...he broke my heart by declaring his desire to play for decorated mid table team barca... :mad:
shifty22
23-03-2004, 08:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Fergie will surely pick a strong squad in both matches.:)
yah but in fergie's mind any team he picks will be strong.
but when forlan plays, I dun think the team is strong leh.. :laugh:
forlan is a good striker. hes young. still got time. he will surely improve and will play an impt part for man utd (if he doesnt get "Cleared out" in the sale this summer).
but at the moment hes not sharp enough.
Louis Saha will step back for Manchester United's crucial clash with Arsenal to help the champions in a final bid to hang on to their crown.
With the Gunners 12 points ahead of United in the title race they have to end Arsenal's amazing unbeaten run to stand the slightest chance of making a late push for the top.
Even though manager Sir Alex Ferguson appears to have given up all hopes of catching the Premiership leaders, the return of Saha is seen as a major boost.
"I think the two next games are the type of games Manchester United have to revel in I am sure that Arsenal will not underestimate us and hopefully I can get a few bodies back next week," the Reds boss said. "Gary Neville will be available after suspension [Eric] Djemba-Djemba should be fit, and we will get maybe a stronger squad.
"Louis Saha had a calf injury when he joined us and it has worked its way down up his Achilles, he needed a complete rest to get rid of it and hopefully he has done that now."
Saha has been out of the frontline since scoring against former club Fulham in the 1-1 draw at Loftus Road on 28 February. He featured as a substitute against FC Porto in the Champions League, but missed the Premiership outings at Manchester City and Saturday's home win over Tottenham as he recovered.
Even if he makes Sunday's game at Highbury, Saha will be ineligible for the FA Cup semi-final return against Arsenal six days later having already played for Fulham in the competition
Ch3tah_39
23-03-2004, 08:38 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Louis Saha will step back for Manchester United's crucial clash with Arsenal to help the champions in a final bid to hang on to their crown.
With the Gunners 12 points ahead of United in the title race they have to end Arsenal's amazing unbeaten run to stand the slightest chance of making a late push for the top.
Even though manager Sir Alex Ferguson appears to have given up all hopes of catching the Premiership leaders, the return of Saha is seen as a major boost.
"I think the two next games are the type of games Manchester United have to revel in I am sure that Arsenal will not underestimate us and hopefully I can get a few bodies back next week," the Reds boss said. "Gary Neville will be available after suspension [Eric] Djemba-Djemba should be fit, and we will get maybe a stronger squad.
"Louis Saha had a calf injury when he joined us and it has worked its way down up his Achilles, he needed a complete rest to get rid of it and hopefully he has done that now."
Saha has been out of the frontline since scoring against former club Fulham in the 1-1 draw at Loftus Road on 28 February. He featured as a substitute against FC Porto in the Champions League, but missed the Premiership outings at Manchester City and Saturday's home win over Tottenham as he recovered.
Even if he makes Sunday's game at Highbury, Saha will be ineligible for the FA Cup semi-final return against Arsenal six days later having already played for Fulham in the competition
gd news to hear wor...saha is back:)
guoquanyap
23-03-2004, 11:45 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
gd news to hear wor...saha is back:)
saha still havent really strike a very gd understanding w Ruud....and RUdd rite now is missing even the chances that he will score w his eyes shut in the past.....
Ruud a bit off-form lately :(
Saha injury hasn't helped, I think they both can strike a partnership with they both settle down and picked up their form, like they did against everton. :D
guoquanyap
23-03-2004, 11:53 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ruud a bit off-form lately :(
Saha injury hasn't helped, I think they both can strike a partnership with they both settle down and picked up their form, like they did against everton. :D
ya this one i agree but that the lastest still hav to wait until nx season.....
RuMmYtUb
24-03-2004, 01:38 PM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is trying to steal a march on Arsenal by lining up a deal for French starlet Jeremy Menez.
Ferguson met with the father of Menez in Paris on Monday to discuss a possible move to Old Trafford as he looks lure to him to United.
United have been tracking the 16-year-old since last year with the powerful striker regarded as one of the best young players to come out of France in recent years.
Arsenal are also extremely keen on the French youth international and watched him in action for Sochaux reserves last weekend against Lyon.
Both United's and Arsenal's scouting network have alerted Ferguson and Arsene Wenger to Menez after catching the attention of a number of clubs with some impressive performances for club and country.
A number of clubs are set to keep any eye on Menez at this summer's European Under-17 Championships in May, but United and Arsenal are believed to be leading the chase for his signature.
Sochaux are keen to ward off the interest in the powerful striker and are ready to offer him a new long-term deal to keep him at the club.
Menez has a youth deal at Sochaux until 2005, but the French outfit are looking to secure him on a longer deal.
The youngster is aware that Sochaux are planning to hold talks about securing his future.
"It is my father who informed me," said Menez. "I see that like a reward of my work, even if I did not sign anything yet."
Sochaux president Jean-Claude Plessis also revealed the club are working hard on keeping Menez.
"One dined this morning, and worked on it," said Plessis.
The teenager is highly-regarded within the corridors of Sochaux and their French international Benoit Pedretti has talked with him to try and persuade him to stay in France.
Gunners boss Wenger will be hoping his French connections will increase his chances of landing Menez ahead of anyone else, but Ferguson has taken the first steps to try and lure him to United and will be confident that could sway his mind.
Under French league regulations Menez would not be able to to join another French side if he does not sign a new deal at Sochaux leaving the door open for a switch abroad.
Who's this man... (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,31-1128446,00.html)
Manchester United have flatly turned down Chelsea's most audacious move in the transfer market to date - an approach for Rio Ferdinand.
Under specific instructions from Sir Alex Ferguson, and with the full backing of his board, United have also rejected the first overtures from some of Europe's leading clubs for the England defender.
Carlos Queiroz, Ferguson's former assistant at Old Trafford and now the coach of Real Madrid, was among those hoping to capitalise on Ferdinand's fall from grace, but a defiant Ferguson has assured the world's most expensive defender he will still be regarded as the mainstay of United's defence when he returns from an eight-month ban in September.
Whether that will be sufficient to prevent Chelsea following up their initial attempts remains unclear, but the London club have made it clear to Ferdinand's adviser Pini Zahavi that they have the money and desire to tempt him back to the capital.
Peter Kenyon, Chelsea's chief executive, has close links with Zahavi, cultivated from his time at Old Trafford, but the Israeli agent also has strong ties with Ferguson and has reported back to Stamford Bridge that the United manager will not be budged.
Ferdinand this week declared his intention to stay at United and "repay" them for the support they have offered since his missed drug test in September.
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1176546,00.html
**** chelski again. :mad:
Ronaldo7
24-03-2004, 03:05 PM
Chelsea can have him for 50m =p
Ronaldo7
24-03-2004, 03:09 PM
Molde reveal bid for Man Utd striker Solskjaer
tribalfootball.com - March 24, 2004
Molde have made an ambition move for Manchester United striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.
Solskjaer was a loan target for his former club, but a deal couldn't be struck.
"I talked about it with his advisor Jim Solbakken. It would had been great if we had managed it and if it was something that Ole Gunnar and Manchester United wanted," Molde director Espen Silseth told VG.
"If he had been interested in match training during the spring and summer, it would have been interesting for us. But now they want him to train himself up in Manchester ahead of next season."
Why would Ole want to go back to Norway when he is enjoying playing at the top with us, cheeky of Molde to ask him back. :rolleyes:
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
Chelsea can have him for 50m =p
Doubt chelski will forked that much, but seriously I hope we don't sell him, he formed the backbone of our defence, Fergie obviously wants to keep him, even nicer to see Rio saying that he wants to "repay" United fans for the support they've given him since his missed drugs test
This means he's not going anywhere...right. :rolleyes:
trax06
24-03-2004, 07:42 PM
lets hope not...
why is that utd dont have the 'pull factor' ??
leo_llw
24-03-2004, 09:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Doubt chelski will forked that much, but seriously I hope we don't sell him, he formed the backbone of our defence, Fergie obviously wants to keep him, even nicer to see Rio saying that he wants to "repay" United fans for the support they've given him since his missed drugs test
This means he's not going anywhere...right. :rolleyes:
I heard of a similar statement in West Ham some seasons back..or did I hear wrongly :cool:
RuMmYtUb
24-03-2004, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by trax06
lets hope not...
why is that utd dont have the 'pull factor' ??
Haiz, mayB losing our shine...
guoquanyap
24-03-2004, 11:53 PM
Manchester United will wear the all black kit for Sunday's trip to Highbury to take on Arsenal in the Premiership.
For the FA Cup semi-final against the Gunners at Villa Park, United will wear white shirts, black shirts and socks.
United wore the same colour combination in the FA Cup semi-final replay of 1999 on the way to an historic Treble.
black dun really bring us luck leh....
Ronaldo7
25-03-2004, 07:33 AM
don't think the colour of the jersey is important :)
Seals
25-03-2004, 10:45 AM
somemore play on sunday... suay
guoquanyap
25-03-2004, 11:36 AM
got to win this sunday match....damn impt leh....
Originally posted by leo_llw
I heard of a similar statement in West Ham some seasons back..or did I hear wrongly :cool:
We are a bigger club than West Ham. :laugh:
Ch3tah_39
25-03-2004, 02:53 PM
we muz win arsenal manz...:)
Louis Saha is confident he will make this Sunday's Premiership clash with Arsenal at Highbury.
Saha has scored four goals in six matches since signing for United two months ago, but the Frenchman's early Reds career has been disrupted by a troublesome achilles injury.
However, speaking exclusively to us for ManUtd.com's Friday interview, Saha said: "You come to United to be involved in the big games like Manchester United vs Arsenal. I feel fine after the injury, so hopefully I’ll be 100% fit for the game on Sunday."
Saha has made vast progress since last week when Sir Alex said rest had been prescribed to avoid an operation. "It’s one of those injuries that we have to bite the bullet on. If we don’t address it now, it may mean an operation for the lad. We want to avoid that."
But Saha insists the injury has healed and he is ready, fit and desperate to play against Arsenal at Highbury.
Having Saha available for selection would give Ferguson plenty of options going into Sunday's game.
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer added guile and experience to United's right flank in the 3-0 win over Spurs, and with Saha, Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba and Roy Keane all expected to return, Sir Alex has a healthy squad to select from.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=55677&itype=466&icategoryid=120
leo_llw
25-03-2004, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We are a bigger club than West Ham. :laugh:
this is true also...
but then dun underestimate the nego skill Kenyon. :D
this is true also...
but then dun underestimate the nego skill Kenyon. :D
How about kenyon shoves that deal up him arse. he can piss off.
STAY AWAY FROM OUR PLAYERS YOU TOSSER.....:mad:
leo_llw
25-03-2004, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN
How about kenyon shoves that deal up him arse. he can piss off.
STAY AWAY FROM OUR PLAYERS YOU TOSSER.....:mad:
I finally can agree with you on something :laugh:
Ronaldo7
25-03-2004, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Louis Saha is confident he will make this Sunday's Premiership clash with Arsenal at Highbury.
Saha has scored four goals in six matches since signing for United two months ago, but the Frenchman's early Reds career has been disrupted by a troublesome achilles injury.
However, speaking exclusively to us for ManUtd.com's Friday interview, Saha said: "You come to United to be involved in the big games like Manchester United vs Arsenal. I feel fine after the injury, so hopefully I’ll be 100% fit for the game on Sunday."
Saha has made vast progress since last week when Sir Alex said rest had been prescribed to avoid an operation. "It’s one of those injuries that we have to bite the bullet on. If we don’t address it now, it may mean an operation for the lad. We want to avoid that."
But Saha insists the injury has healed and he is ready, fit and desperate to play against Arsenal at Highbury.
Having Saha available for selection would give Ferguson plenty of options going into Sunday's game.
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer added guile and experience to United's right flank in the 3-0 win over Spurs, and with Saha, Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba and Roy Keane all expected to return, Sir Alex has a healthy squad to select from.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=55677&itype=466&icategoryid=120
great to have him back . hope he can continue his impressive form against arsenal :)
guoquanyap
25-03-2004, 11:29 PM
haiz...arsenal can afford to lose a few games....12pts is still a gap to big to chase....
RuMmYtUb
26-03-2004, 12:22 AM
haiz...arsenal can afford to lose a few games....12pts is still a gap to big to chase....
:D * Keeping fingers crossed * :D
guoquanyap
26-03-2004, 12:28 AM
:D
derrace
26-03-2004, 03:21 AM
never know what might happen to Arsenal...
As long as Man U keeps winning, I believe there is a chance.
Well, they gonna play Man U twice, followed by pool and then newcastle. If Henry and Co get a few cards or break something.. Still got Chelsea match to worry. Pressure would be on them to stay unbeaten. Not for long though. ;)
It's really a good time for Arsenal to start slipping up and panick.
:D:D Heh
guoquanyap
26-03-2004, 10:08 AM
Originally posted by derrace
Well, they gonna play Man U twice, followed by pool and then newcastle. If Henry and Co get a few cards or break something.. Still got Chelsea match to worry. Pressure would be on them to stay unbeaten. Not for long though. ;)
heh....very difficult lor.....
leo_llw
26-03-2004, 11:18 AM
no need to stay unbeaten...the idea is to win the championship in the end. Guess Wenger might actually rest some player in the league match against the Mancunians.
You guys better think of overhauling Chelski first...one step at the time :D
By DEREK BROWN
and THOMAS WHITAKER
DAVID Beckham has been snubbed from the wedding of close pal Ruud Van Nistelrooy — to avoid a bust-up with Sir Alex Ferguson.
The Dutch Manchester United ace rang the 28-year-old England skipper to explain that he wants to avoid any bad feeling at his nuptials in July.
Ruud, 27, IS inviting his fiery Scots manager to the bash in the tiny Dutch village of Geffen.
He knows Becks left the Red Devils for Spain’s Real Madrid after fierce clashes with outspoken Fergie.
And he wants to be certain no awkward moments arise to overshadow his special day.
So he has left Becks and wife Victoria, 29, OFF the wedding guest list.
But the hitman has invited all his Man U team-mates to watch him marry childhood sweetheart Leontien Flaatf in the fairytale ceremony.
He and Becks became close friends while the ace was still at Old Trafford before making his controversial £23million move abroad.
A friend said last night: “It’s a tough and slightly embarrassing situation for Ruud.
“He and Leo are very good friends with the Beckhams — but Ruud has explained his decision not to invite them. He wants everything to go smoothly and doesn’t want the whole event to turn into a Fergie v Becks affair. It could have potentially become a circus.
“He is very much a family man like David and became close to him when they played together.
“But Fergie is the boss. He showed huge loyalty to Ruud while he recovered from injury at his Dutch club just as his transfer to Man United was arranged. So the gaffer has to be there.”
Ruud has already spent nearly £100,000 ensuring the southern Dutch village is safe for the wedding.
The community will be virtually sealed off for the day.
guoquanyap
26-03-2004, 01:30 PM
getting married at this time...hmmm...maybe a gd chance to wash away his bad luck and get back his scoring form...heh....
derrace
26-03-2004, 02:15 PM
no need to stay unbeaten...the idea is to win the championship in the end. Guess Wenger might actually rest some player in the league match against the Mancunians.
You guys better think of overhauling Chelski first...one step at the time :D
Cole's out for Sun's game. I know it's hard for Man U to catch up. 12 points adrift and Arsenal's form is darn good. Now all they need are a few more injuries and suspensions.. ahahha. =p
If they do win it in the end, kudos to them. They have done very well so far.
Well its a big game for us, we can ruin their chance of breaking the unbeaten record and also savour some pride for ourselves. Hope we win this one and the fa cup match too but it be tough.
Don't know much team news yet except Saha has said he expects himself to be fit. Others definately out that we know are: Rio and Fortune
I think Gary Neville will be back in the team now after his suspension, Ole seems to be back into the team as well.
From what Fergie has said it looks like Roy Carroll will play in nets instead of Tim Howard, as Tim is being rested.
Come on United!!! :D
Ch3tah_39
26-03-2004, 05:26 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Well its a big game for us, we can ruin their chance of breaking the unbeaten record and also savour some pride for ourselves. Hope we win this one and the fa cup match too but it be tough.
Don't know much team news yet except Saha has said he expects himself to be fit. Others definately out that we know are: Rio and Fortune
I think Gary Neville will be back in the team now after his suspension, Ole seems to be back into the team as well.
From what Fergie has said it looks like Roy Carroll will play in nets instead of Tim Howard, as Tim is being rested.
Come on United!!! :D
i think, roy will be playing for both the matches when utd faces arsenal
Ch3tah_39
26-03-2004, 05:29 PM
getting married at this time...hmmm...maybe a gd chance to wash away his bad luck and get back his scoring form...heh....
haha.. ruud too engross in preparing his wedding and thats why he cnnt concentrate durin matches.. so after wedding everythin will be fine :laugh:
He can concentrate lah, Ruud's wedding won't happen until July.
cutter
26-03-2004, 08:26 PM
United to tour Asia for pre-season 2005/06
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_104926.shtml
I remember their last visit in 2001 when RvN was on show as a new player and Barthez came on as midfielder to mixed chants of "We want Giggs" and "We want Greening: :D ... and Indra somehow scored a goal for Singapore :D ... still have the old ticket somewhere :D
uRiZEn
26-03-2004, 10:07 PM
Thought Fergie blamed the asia tour for the loss of the league last time.:rolleyes:
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Thought Fergie blamed the asia tour for the loss of the league last time.:rolleyes:
Can't use that as an excuse. :rolleyes:
This season we tour USA, does it mean we should blame that for our title loss, lol.
I hope they come to S'pore again. :D
Ronaldo7
26-03-2004, 10:54 PM
yeah . didn't watch them in action the last time :(
guoquanyap
26-03-2004, 11:56 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Can't use that as an excuse. :rolleyes:
This season we tour USA, does it mean we should blame that for our title loss, lol.
I hope they come to S'pore again. :D
yalor hope they will come and bring Ronaldo along!!...:D
Ch3tah_39
27-03-2004, 12:04 PM
yalor hope they will come and bring Ronaldo along!!...:D
if they come.. sure got bellion one.... ;)
RuMmYtUb
27-03-2004, 12:17 PM
:laugh:
Den this season blame USA lor...
Like that might as well dun tour, train train and train during pre-season !
guoquanyap
27-03-2004, 12:25 PM
Den this season blame USA lor...
Like that might as well dun tour, train train and train during pre-season !
cannot lah...mus come singapore lah...nx june....haiz...still some way to go....
uRiZEn
27-03-2004, 12:57 PM
Really wat.That time papers report him saying the Far East Tour excessively exhausted the players blah blah blah.And its one of the factor that lead to the loss.
2 matches coming up from our strongest rival yet... arsenal!
guess the scoreline of both matches!
1-1 league
man utd win 2-1 FA CUP
:)
guoquanyap
27-03-2004, 01:09 PM
Really wat.That time papers report him saying the Far East Tour excessively exhausted the players blah blah blah.And its one of the factor that lead to the loss.
nobody is denied it...so wat's ur pt here?
guoquanyap
27-03-2004, 01:10 PM
Originally posted by stam
2 matches coming up from our strongest rival yet... arsenal!
guess the scoreline of both matches!
1-1 league
man utd win 2-1 FA CUP
:)
wow..better not to guess...but hopefully both we can win....;) and we hav to win....
cutter
27-03-2004, 03:21 PM
cannot lah...mus come singapore lah...nx june....haiz...still some way to go....
must be odd number year mah... even number year summer always got Euro Cup or World Cup.... however, Giggsy will be free again this summer :(
Seals
27-03-2004, 03:46 PM
come never eat local food of cos lose...hehe... kidding
Ronaldo7
27-03-2004, 04:50 PM
Teddy: Van's my hitman
By PAT SHEEHAN
TEDDY SHERINGHAM rates Ruud van Nistelrooy as a better hitman than Arsenal’s Thierry Henry.
The Portsmouth skipper has seen Highbury ace Henry roar top of the English goal charts with 29 strikes, 21 in the league.
Van Nistelrooy trails with 26 goals this season, 18 in the Premiership. — but Sheri would still pick Manchester United’s flying Dutchman ahead of Henry in his Dream Team.
The two strikers go head-to-head in tomorrow’s Premiership shootout at Highbury.
Sheringham, who spent four seasons banging in goals at United, reckons it would be a tough job wedging even a cigarette paper between the two — but comes down on the side of the Dutchman . . . just!
He said: “It’s so difficult to choose who is the best, it’s so close between them — but I would probably prefer to have Van Nistelrooy in my team.
“Why do I say that? Well, Van Nistelrooy is an out and out goalscorer — he just loves hitting the target.
“Thierry does a bit of everything and I would not say he is as clinical a finisher even though he does have more goals than Ruud at the moment.
“But balance that against how Thierry creates his own chances so many times and scores unbelievable goals
Rummytub seem to predict arse to trounce us even, oh damm better not, Our players have to buck up and prove the doubters wrong.
die die must beat arse. :mad:
ARSENALhttp://members.lycos.co.uk/mufcdevil/net/machinegun.gif
Seals
27-03-2004, 07:22 PM
not bad... fans also play mind games like their team.. lolol..predict who win... who lose...
praise another team...and in 1 thread say their team wins...
RuMmYtUb
27-03-2004, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Rummytub seem to predict arse to trounce us even, oh damm better not, Our players have to buck up and prove the doubters wrong.
die die must beat arse. :mad:
ARSENALhttp://members.lycos.co.uk/mufcdevil/net/machinegun.gif
I wanna try cursing my team .. :D
renaissance_myth
27-03-2004, 08:14 PM
I wanna try cursing my team .. :D
metallica fan too? :)
regards
RuMmYtUb
27-03-2004, 09:01 PM
Originally posted by renaissance_myth
metallica fan too? :)
regards
Ya, Nirvana oso bro. :D
derrace
28-03-2004, 01:26 AM
Ya, Nirvana oso bro. :D
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
btw, what time is the match on Sun?
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
btw, what time is the match on Sun?
11pm, do or die mission now for the 2 arsenal matches, chelski just won, we need to win or else even 2nd place will be gone too. :mad: :(
derrace
28-03-2004, 01:44 AM
Originally posted by RVN
11pm, do or die mission now for the 2 arsenal matches, chelski just won, we need to win or else even 2nd place will be gone too. :mad: :(
Thanks. Ya, it's Do or Die.
btw, what's the likely lineup?
I hope Ruud scores the winner from a penalty conceded by Monkey Man.
leo_llw
28-03-2004, 09:24 AM
Thanks. Ya, it's Do or Die.
btw, what's the likely lineup?
I hope Ruud scores the winner from a penalty conceded by Monkey Man.
yeah...the only decent chance Ruud got will be from the penalty.
Judging current form, he cannot even "score" his gf :laugh:
yulee
28-03-2004, 10:54 AM
Ferguson facing symbolic Sunday
By Tom Fordyce
The thought might make Sir Alex Ferguson turn the colour of a ripe raspberry, but Manchester United's season is now all about Arsenal.
It is Arsenal who stand in the way in the FA Cup, the only trophy United can realistically still win. And only by beating Arsenal on Sunday can Ferguson take any true satisfaction from an increasingly troubled league campaign.
Sure, United still look certain to take a Champions League place. But that is small consolation for a club that have won eight of the last 11 Premiership titles.
A defeat at Highbury will confirm what Ferguson's critics have been saying for the past month - that Arsenal are now unquestionably the dominant team in English football, and that United are a spent force.
Should United win, however, suddenly Ferguson's stormy mood will improve significantly - for more than one reason.
LAST FIVE LEAGUE MEETINGS
21 Sept '03:
United 0-0 Arsenal
16 April '03:
Arsenal 2-2 United
7 Dec '02:
United 2-0 Arsenal
8 May '02:
United 0-1 Arsenal
25 Nov '01:
Arsenal 3-1 United
Should Chelsea, as expected, beat Wolves at home on Saturday, a United win would cut Arsenal's lead at the top to just six points. For the terminally optimistic, United's deficit would be cut to nine.
More importantly, Ferguson would be marching right through Arsene Wenger's party.
If Arsenal win or draw, they will set a new record for the best unbeaten start to a top-flight season. They will also match Burnley's 83-year-old record for the longest unbeaten run within a single campaign.
For United to bring to an end that run - a period which has seen Wenger's side garlanded with such rapturous critical acclaim - would provide precious comfort to Ferguson in his toughest season for 14 years.
United's manager is not used to finishing second best. If anyone is to have a nine-point lead at this stage of the season, it is United.
All of which makes this Sunday's clash very different from the recent league games between the two sides.
When Ruud van Nistelrooy's missed penalty ensured a 0-0 draw at Old Trafford back in September, the assumption was that the return match would see the two sides locked together at the top of the table.
That was the case in April last year, when United went to Highbury hot on the heels of Arsenal and came away with a 2-2 draw that had Ferguson triumphantly waving a clenched fist at the away fans.
It was the same story a year previously but in reverse. Sylvain Wiltord's goal at Old Trafford sealed the 2002 championship for Arsenal in symbolic fashion.
No-one could have dreamt that this time around Arsenal would be 12 points clear of United and apparently coasting to the title in untroubled fashion.
Rather than the epic title-deciding clash the television executives had expected, we have instead a wounded United fighting for their pride - and a rampant Arsenal seeking statistical confirmation of their footballing superiority.
The clubs' recent form could not be more contrasting. Arsenal have won 11 of their last 12 games. United have come out on top in just three of their last 10.
The odds point towards only one result. But do not expect one feisty-tempered Scot to take any notice of that.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The "Mother-of-All" Football showdown tonight! :laugh:
guoquanyap
28-03-2004, 10:55 AM
cant wait for today man....:bounce: :bounce:
leo_llw
28-03-2004, 02:11 PM
cant wait for today man....:bounce: :bounce:
Abt 8 hours onli lah....
Riot police on standby liao :D
few more hrs for the big match...
jujube
28-03-2004, 06:40 PM
I just hope for a clean and entertaining match
Totti76
28-03-2004, 08:51 PM
Few more hrs....hope it will b an entertaining match...no clothline from certain player hopefully...:D
n hopefully not a black monday for us..as the colour of our jersey that utd will wear later...:bounce:
guoquanyap
28-03-2004, 10:45 PM
oh no match starting....*praying hard*....
derrace
29-03-2004, 12:49 AM
yes! 1-1!
heng! Tot we going to lose..
GO Man U Go! Get the winner!
:bounce::bounce::bounce:
derrace
29-03-2004, 12:57 AM
FT 1-1
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 12:58 AM
ruud van misstrolory ....:mad: :mad:
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 01:01 AM
ruud missed the ball cross in by ole...and missed the header oso!!! :mad: :mad: and that stupid henry still dare be too clever and dive....and that penalty....:mad: :mad:
RuMmYtUb
29-03-2004, 01:02 AM
Actually we could've won....
penalty from Giggs and if the header from RvN gone in.... :D
OKK77
29-03-2004, 01:02 AM
We're lucky. *phew* With a little more luck, we could have been given that penalty too.
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 01:04 AM
still laugh...:mad: why no ronaldo?? :mad: :mad:
RuMmYtUb
29-03-2004, 01:08 AM
Cos we need him fully powered for the FA tie.. :evil:
Juz drop Djemba and Fletcher for goodness sake, those 2 aren't cut out...:rolleyes:
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 01:09 AM
now we fail to beat them they arse gonna to keep boasting abt their unbeaten record.....:frus: :frus:
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 01:14 AM
oh ya the defence played very gd thumb up to the defence expecially brown neville and caroll....
derrace
29-03-2004, 01:14 AM
I think 1-1's fair though I wished we w:rolleyes:n.
:rolleyes:h well.....
RuMmYtUb
29-03-2004, 01:19 AM
oh ya the defence played very gd thumb up to the defence expecially brown neville and caroll....
http://smiley.onegreatguy.net/agreed.gif
derrace
29-03-2004, 01:23 AM
now we fail to beat them they arse gonna to keep boasting abt their unbeaten record.....:frus: :frus:
I know it's annoying but to be fair, they deserved it. They kept on getting points while we kept slipping. On the bright side, our defence did pretty ok tonight. If our offence (esp Ruud) sharpen up a bit (I think we were missing Ronaldo), we can win the fa cup tie. But our goal scorer won't be available!! ARGH!
cutter
29-03-2004, 01:32 AM
Cos we need him fully powered for the FA tie.. :evil:
Juz drop Djemba and Fletcher for goodness sake, those 2 aren't cut out...:rolleyes:
DD is avg...but Fletcher is getting better as he gains experience. Not as spectacular as Giggs/Sharpe/Beckham were during their teenaged years but Fletch is decent class. He makes lots of intelligent plays and footballing vision is a rare commodity esp for a teenage player.
I know it's annoying but to be fair, they deserved it. They kept on getting points while we kept slipping. On the bright side, our defence did pretty ok tonight. If our offence (esp Ruud) sharpen up a bit (I think we were missing Ronaldo), we can win the fa cup tie. But our goal scorer won't be available!! ARGH!
True..give credit when credit is due.
Hats Off to Arsenal for breaking the unbeaten streak record.
F.A semis next!!:D
swalk21
29-03-2004, 02:57 AM
kudos to brown he have an excellent game.I think keano was awesome as well .RVN had an off day
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 03:23 AM
Originally posted by swalk21
kudos to brown he have an excellent game.I think keano was awesome as well .RVN had an off day
ruud everyday off days wan lah....:cool:
genesis113
29-03-2004, 04:09 AM
To be fair, it was United's tactic that making Ruud handed another blank sheet. Look at how United play before Saha and Ole come in. They leave Ruud to handle 4 defenders single handedly, and Scholes retrieved to the midfield to fight the ground.
When Saha and Ole come in, Ruud's pressure was ligthened, and he played some good holding and passing job, one for Ole to deliver the cross for Saha to score, another one for giggs to cross in, unfornatunately, Ruud headed too straight to Lehmen.
Good to see United played with such determination, especially, Brown and Neville as well as Giggs, he showed us his great skill in attack as well as defence.
Caroll was a surprise to me, he was my man of the match for United.
Hopefully, United can show such determinations towards the rest of the season.
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 04:13 AM
how many times u wan to post??? :o
Ah well not a win I wished for, in the end salvage a draw. :(
Henry goal was just class, nothing Carroll can do about it, We look more threatening after Solskjaer and Saha came on.
What a bloody shame Saha can't play in the FA Cup, grrr.....:mad:
cracker
29-03-2004, 08:14 AM
Originally posted by cutter
DD is avg...but Fletcher is getting better as he gains experience. Not as spectacular as Giggs/Sharpe/Beckham were during their teenaged years but Fletch is decent class. He makes lots of intelligent plays and footballing vision is a rare commodity esp for a teenage player.
only sharpe and giggs played for Utd b4 their 20th birthday !!!
Beckham only came in towards end of 95.
cracker
29-03-2004, 08:17 AM
Next week semi final crash will be the biggest game for Utd this season. Win it and they will stand a good chance to win the trophy as well.
If they lose it, they should make sure to finish at least at 3rd !
with 5 pts behind, and even if Chelsea lose at Old Trafford they will still finish second if rest of the 8 games' results are in their flavor.
heard Fergie said he was slightly injured. Probably saved him for the FA Cup tie. ;)
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by cracker
Next week semi final crash will be the biggest game for Utd this season. Win it and they will stand a good chance to win the trophy as well.
If they lose it, they should make sure to finish at least at 3rd !
with 5 pts behind, and even if Chelsea lose at Old Trafford they will still finish second if rest of the 8 games' results are in their flavor.
we got to win in order to prevent arse to hav any realistic chance of a treble.....and at least end a season w a silverware....
eh maybe if we finish 3rd....we can go on to win another treble....:D like wat happen in the season b4 our treble....we oso finish 3rd behind liverpool and arse.....;)
Yellowfin
29-03-2004, 01:42 PM
Last night, I only see a 10 mins display of determination of getting the ball from Man U players. And it all started by Roy that is when Man U was one goal down.
Oh well, at least we didn't lose the game.
leo_llw
29-03-2004, 02:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ah well not a win I wished for, in the end salvage a draw. :(
Henry goal was just class, nothing Carroll can do about it, We look more threatening after Solskjaer and Saha came on.
tat's partly because tat bald-headed arse of Cygan and Invisible Gilberto is playing at that time.
Wenger also decided to contain and protect the 1-0 lead. Anyway it backfire.1-1 should be a fair result.
Only team that benefitted is Chelsea :mad:
yulee
29-03-2004, 02:44 PM
Ferguson concedes title
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson conceded the title to Arsenal after the draw at Highbury.
"We're 12 points behind Arsenal and they'll go on and win the league, I'm sure of that," said Ferguson.
"They are playing with great determination and they should win it now with just eight games to go."
But Ferguson was proud of the way his team battled back from 1-0 down. "I think we just reminded everybody that we're not dead yet," he added.
The United manager also insisted there were a lot of positives to take from the match ahead of next week's FA Cup semi-final game with the Gunners at Villa Park.
"It will be a very close game and a difficult one to call. We showed our desire here and we'll show it next Saturday too.
"We'll take a lot out of the game. We played with great tenacity and intensity during the match. Arsenal had one or two better chances on the counter in the first half," said Ferguson.
"Once we were aware of that we dealt with it and it was going to take a special goal to get them in front - and Thierry Henry's was a special goal. It was a great hit."
Asked if he felt United should have had a penalty when Ryan Giggs was brought down by Sol Campbell in the area, Ferguson replied: "I didn't think we were going to get a penalty from referee Graham Poll.
"He was under enormous pressure. It was a very difficult game for him to get."
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Game over... *sigh* hope better luck next season...:(
RuMmYtUb
29-03-2004, 02:44 PM
ruud everyday off days wan lah....:cool:
5 games so far, off day for him... :sad:
pity the chance right at the end, should have scored from 2 yards out, instead heads it straight at Lehman.
Think Ruud is burn-out at the moment. :(
Ronaldo7
29-03-2004, 04:49 PM
can't wait for the fa cup semi final :cool:
Live on channel22 , SAT 655pm
A number of United stars have been forced to pull out of this week's friendly games after picking up knocks during the trip to Arsenal.
Welsh winger Ryan Giggs and Scotland's Darren Fletcher both have groin strains and will not be risked by Sir Alex Ferguson ahead of Saturday's FA Cup semi-final, while Roy Carroll has pulled out of Northern Ireland's squad to face Estonia.
John O'Shea has been rested for the Republic of Ireland's match with the Czech Republic, as have Gary Neville and Paul Scholes for England's game with Sweden. However, Phil Neville and Nicky Butt are both included in Sven Goran Eriksson's squad.
Ruud van Nistelrooy looks set to face Mikael Silvestre as France prepare to take on Holland, while Cristiano Ronaldo could also be in action for Portugal against Italy.
Meanwhile, Sir Alex has all but ruled Diego Forlan out of the Cup clash with Arsenal at the weekend. Forlan will be in action for Uruguay who face Venezuela and will not return to Manchester until late on Friday evening.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=55989&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Why are we letting players attend in FRIENDLIES?
And worse, why have the FA set up FA Cup games when a majority of players are away on international duty? I wonder if Arsenal will miss any on international duty... :mad:
leo_llw
29-03-2004, 07:48 PM
Henry, Freddie to miss semi-final?
Arsene Wenger is ready to deliver the ultimate snub to Manchester United by resting Thierry Henry and Freddie Ljungberg for Saturday's FA Cup semi-final at Villa Park.
Hours after watching his Arsenal side set a new English league record of 30 games without defeat from the start of a season, Wenger will wave goodbye to Arsenal's illustrious duo today after giving them permission to appear for France and Sweden against Holland and England respectively in this week's international friendlies.
Ninety minutes of telephone calls immediately after yesterday's 1-1 draw with United at Highbury were all it took for Wenger to come up with the men he can do without when the dominant English clubs of the last decade go head to head for a place at the Millennium Stadium on May 22.
For Wenger confirmed that he does not expect any Arsenal player involved in midweek to be part of his side in the repeat of the 1999 last four clash, even if it does mean two of the Gunners' best players will be missing.
'It is possible the players who go away on international duty won't play,' said Wenger, who confirmed Patrick Vieira and Robert Pires will stay in London to nurse minor injuries rather than face the Dutch in Rotterdam.
'We have a week where we can work on the recovery of our players, which is really welcome.
'That is why I will be able to rest some players if I feel they have played too much for their national sides.
'I am hoping none of them has to go through more than 45 minutes but we will check them when they get back.'
Wenger's stark admission is sure to irritate opposite number Sir Alex Ferguson, who finally conceded the title yesterday after his team failed to make any impression on the Gunners' 12-point advantage.
Ferguson simply refuses to believes Arsenal are significantly better than his own side, even though the evidence indicates otherwise.
What United are lacking in flair and finesse, they now attempt to make up for with fortitude and it was an unwillingness to buckle that saw them emerge with a creditable draw after Henry had put the hosts in front with an incredible 50th-minute strike.
'It was a missile,' said Wenger when asked to describe the 30th goal of another prolific season for his star striker.
'The keeper didn't have time to lift his hands because the ball was moving so fast. It was an unbelievable shot.'
Lesser sides would have been swept away by the avalanche of Arsenal attacking play that followed.
But, inspired by a defence in which the much-criticised Wes Brown was outstanding, United hung on and turned the game in the final quarter hour, getting their deserved equaliser through Louis Saha, who tapped home Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's low cross four minutes from time.
Though Saha is cup-tied for next weekend's encounter, his goal gave the Red Devils a significant lift and they will head to Birmingham believing victory can be achieved, particularly if Arsenal are lacking key men and also allow one eye to drift onto the Champions League return with Chelsea three days later.
'We know Saturday's game is going to be a hard one,' said Ferguson, who has already pulled Darren Fletcher out of the Scotland squad to face Romania and is considering withdrawing Ryan Giggs from the Welsh party that heads to Hungary in midweek.
'There is not a lot between the two sides. There will be an intense atmosphere and we will have plenty of fans there as well, which will help us because they offer such marvellous support.
'We played with great determination and pride yesterday and that should stand us in good stead too.
'We have done well at Aston Villa in the past and overall, we are really looking forward to it.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=295614&cc=4716
guoquanyap
29-03-2004, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
pity the chance right at the end, should have scored from 2 yards out, instead heads it straight at Lehman.
Think Ruud is burn-out at the moment. :(
when will he return to his usualself? haiz...hopefully we wont hav to wait until nx season....
Ronaldo7
30-03-2004, 01:05 PM
class is forever :)
Saha injury concern. (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1129337,00.html)
Thing he need rest now, since it is achillies problem, it could take weeks. :mad:
Uefa stop Keane appeal (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1129325,00.html)
Good to see some common sense prevail. ;)
Thierry Henry has claimed Manchester United have tried to unsettle Arsenal over suggestions he and Lauren had a fight after Sunday's game at Highbury.
The Frenchman told the Daily Mirror: "They couldn't hurt us on the pitch so they tried to spread rumours about us.
"I don't respect people who spread this kind of rumour. I don't respect them as players and now I don't respect them as men. We can't be affected by this.
"There were no punches in the tunnel. I did not hit him and he did not me."
Henry added: "That would never happen in this Arsenal team. We are too strong and too together for that.
"After we had finished our argument, we shook hands and Lauren wished me all the best for the national team and that was it."
The French striker predicted the incident would make Arsenal even more motivated for next Saturday's semi-final against United at Villa Park.
"It will give us an extra incentive for the match on Saturday. You will see that if you watch me."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/3581361.stm
OKK77
30-03-2004, 03:51 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Thierry Henry has claimed Manchester United have tried to unsettle Arsenal over suggestions he and Lauren had a fight after Sunday's game at Highbury.
The Frenchman told the Daily Mirror: "They couldn't hurt us on the pitch so they tried to spread rumours about us.
"I don't respect people who spread this kind of rumour. I don't respect them as players and now I don't respect them as men. We can't be affected by this.
Henry added: "That would never happen in this Arsenal team. We are too strong and too together for that.
"After we had finished our argument, we shook hands and Lauren wished me all the best for the national team and that was it."
The French striker predicted the incident would make Arsenal even more motivated for next Saturday's semi-final against United at Villa Park.
"It will give us an extra incentive for the match on Saturday. You will see that if you watch me."
Who started the news, anyway?
how the **** do I know, Clearly something did go on in the tunnel, and as for having a go at us about spreading rumours to try and disrupt Arsenal - how was it last season after our FA Cup defeat to Arsenal that the news of Fergie kicking the boot at Becks came out so quickly? No one at Man Utd is likely to have leaked it, so there seems to be a hint double standards on the part if Mr Henry and Arsenal. I hope we stuff them on Saturday, and make Henry eat his words!:mad:
OKK77
30-03-2004, 04:11 PM
Daily Mirror. A truckload of salt, all right?
Ronaldo7
30-03-2004, 08:30 PM
United cancel Barthez's contract
Tuesday, 30 March 2004
by Peter ORourke
Manchester United have cleared the way for Fabien Barthez to join Marseille on a permanent basis after terminating his contract.
The Old Trafford outfit have revealed that they have agreed to cancel the Frenchman's contract from June 30.
Barthez has been on loan at Marseille since January and he has impressed during his return to the Stade Velodrome helping them to reach the quarter finals of the Uefa Cup.
Marseille have been keen to turn his loan move into a permanent deal and with the player being available on a free transfer in the summer they are now expected to tie up a deal for the French international.
Barthez's long-term future at United had been in doubt since the start of the season when United boss Sir Alex Ferguson brought in American Tom Howard.
"Fabien signed a six-year deal, but we acquired Tim Howard in the summer and now he and Roy Carroll are in their 20s and so we are set fair in that area," United chief executive David Gill told Sky Sports News.
"Fabien is world class, but he felt he wanted to move and it was in both our interests that we parted on the best of terms like this."
Howard quickly established himself as number one at Old Trafford with Carroll his number two leaving Barthez well down the pecking order.
The 32-year-old was keen to leave United to safeguard his international place and he has admitted he would like to end his career at Marseille.
Ronaldo7
30-03-2004, 08:34 PM
Originally posted by RVN
he is a great player , but his attitude .. :mad:
busy day for man utd.
profits up by 32%
glazer refusing to make a bid.
and we lost our entertainer...............barthez who is released. :D
shifty22
30-03-2004, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by RVN
and we lost our entertainer...............barthez who is released. :D
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
should have kept him
can use as reserve for ryan giggs' position :laugh:
"I don't respect people who spread this kind of rumour. I don't respect them as players and now I don't respect them as men. We can't be affected by this."
Did Henry really said this?
:o
deathblade
30-03-2004, 10:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN
how the **** do I know, Clearly something did go on in the tunnel, and as for having a go at us about spreading rumours to try and disrupt Arsenal - how was it last season after our FA Cup defeat to Arsenal that the news of Fergie kicking the boot at Becks came out so quickly? No one at Man Utd is likely to have leaked it, so there seems to be a hint double standards on the part if Mr Henry and Arsenal. I hope we stuff them on Saturday, and make Henry eat his words!:mad:
Dun be a cock. The kicking incident happened inside the dressing room. U do know that ony team officials of ONE team can be allowed into it right? So how would anyone at Arsenal know. The above is a stupid baseless allegations. Think before u post.
No one at Man U would have told? How about a tu lan pretty boy who was hit and who is an attention whore and wants to go to REal Maldrid? Which is more likely? Go figure...
Read the reports. The report clearly states that Man U players were amazed to see the brawl? This may not mean anything, but dun take everything that is reported as the truth... Else Ronaldino IS alraeady in a Man U shirt. Remember he was reported to be confirm a Man U player ?
Originally posted by pale
"I don't respect people who spread this kind of rumour. I don't respect them as players and now I don't respect them as men. We can't be affected by this."
Did Henry really said this?
I think he did. :mad:
deathblade
30-03-2004, 10:11 PM
Wat is wrong with his attitude... The press needs news to sell their papers not all are accurate.... He may not have said that... If he did, he's not too wrong to belittle those who spreads the rumours... Of course we should not be that sure that the Man U players are responsible.... I think there is mutual respect between some United and Arsenal players. I doubt Man U players will stoope so low..... U guys must have seen Keane and Vieira smiling at each other...
Originally posted by deathblade
Dun be a cock. The kicking incident happened inside the dressing room. U do know that ony team officials of ONE team can be allowed into it right? So how would anyone at Arsenal know. The above is a stupid baseless allegations. Think before u post.
How you know it didn't then, funny there are arsenal officals in the tunnel too. :rolleyes:
No one at Man U would have told? How about a tu lan pretty boy who was hit and who is an attention whore and wants to go to REal Maldrid? Which is more likely? Go figure...
why would we do that and leak it to the press. :yawn:
Read the reports. The report clearly states that Man U players were amazed to see the brawl? This may not mean anything, but dun take everything that is reported as the truth... Else Ronaldino IS alraeady in a Man U shirt. Remember he was reported to be confirm a Man U player ?
awww boo ******* hoo. Its was media BS and now they're running this story and playing both sides against each other. And what about our "crisis" that you hear 24 hours a day? Did we blame Arsenal for stirring that up?
The reports also state that arse players saw the brawl too. of course it doesn't mean anything then how come Henry anyhow open his big mouth and point his fingers at us then? :mad:
guoquanyap
30-03-2004, 10:52 PM
United cancel Barthez's contract
Tuesday, 30 March 2004
by Peter ORourke
Manchester United have cleared the way for Fabien Barthez to join Marseille on a permanent basis after terminating his contract.
The Old Trafford outfit have revealed that they have agreed to cancel the Frenchman's contract from June 30.
Barthez has been on loan at Marseille since January and he has impressed during his return to the Stade Velodrome helping them to reach the quarter finals of the Uefa Cup.
Marseille have been keen to turn his loan move into a permanent deal and with the player being available on a free transfer in the summer they are now expected to tie up a deal for the French international.
Barthez's long-term future at United had been in doubt since the start of the season when United boss Sir Alex Ferguson brought in American Tom Howard.
"Fabien signed a six-year deal, but we acquired Tim Howard in the summer and now he and Roy Carroll are in their 20s and so we are set fair in that area," United chief executive David Gill told Sky Sports News.
"Fabien is world class, but he felt he wanted to move and it was in both our interests that we parted on the best of terms like this."
Howard quickly established himself as number one at Old Trafford with Carroll his number two leaving Barthez well down the pecking order.
The 32-year-old was keen to leave United to safeguard his international place and he has admitted he would like to end his career at Marseille.
haiz...he still a great gk imo...why released him leh....
With his high wages and the fact he is nearly 33, thats the reason why we released him.
beside Roy Carroll and Tim Howard are all in their mid-20s and will battle it out for our number one goalkeeping spot in the years to come. :)
guoquanyap
30-03-2004, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
With his high wages and the fact he is nearly 33, thats the reason why we released him.
beside Roy Carroll and Tim Howard are all in their mid-20s and will battle it out for our number one goalkeeping spot in the years to come. :)
somemore has to give him goldenhandshake somemore....:alien: the wages surely not the main reason....
http://www.unitedlinks.co.uk/neq.jpg
http://www.unitedlinks.co.uk/neq2.jpg
●Fill in the North East and North West quadrants of the stadium
●Increase capacity to 75,000
●Increase hospitality facilities by 3,150 sq metres
●Preliminary costs of £45 million
●Subject to technical feasibility, planning permission, financial appraisal and contract tenders
Element Start Finish
Planning & design April/May 2004 September 2004
Tender Process August 2004 October 2004
NW Quadrant March 2005 May 2006
NE Quadrant May 2005 August 2006
Further updates after planning and final Board approval
Planned availability 2006/07 season
guoquanyap
30-03-2004, 11:07 PM
onli add abt 8000 more seats onli....and it's cost 45million pound!! if wan to expand expand until 100,000 lah....if not dun expand at all....might as well use the 45million pound to buy some class players......
deathblade
30-03-2004, 11:51 PM
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by deathblade
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
How you know it didn't then, funny there are arsenal officals in the tunnel too.
You may wanna read again and try understanding my post before u start being all smug and "clever" Officials in the tunnel will know anout wats happening in the dressing room? Oh Mr RVN is not responding to wat he quoted? Very sharp of him.
quote:
why would we do that and leak it to the press.
Pretty darn obvious who i am referring to... Ok for ur sake i spell it out its Mr Beckham... or maybe his wife.. Why would they do that? Beckham paraded his scar didn't he? Now why would he wanna do that...
quote:
awww boo ******* hoo. Its was media BS and now they're running this story and playing both sides against each other. And what about our "crisis" that you hear 24 hours a day? Did we blame Arsenal for stirring that up?
The reports also state that arse players saw the brawl too. of course it doesn't mean anything then how come Henry anyhow open his big mouth and point his fingers at us then? I specifically stated that we ought to take things from the media with a pinch of salt.... duh... Anyway its up to you whether u wanna believe the rumours about Henry or anything.... BTW since i am dealing with you, i will make it obvious, i quoted and reply to ur post bcos ur inane speculation about Arsenal player spreading the "kicking" rumour. That was plain stupid and it came from your imagination only.... You dun even know about the concept of dressing room then dun talk so much period..How long have u know football?..
wadeva_lah
30-03-2004, 11:59 PM
i particularly think arsehole supporters should bring their discussion back to the arsehole thread. not flame some man utd fan in man utd thread.
You have your own opinion and I have mine, if carry on arguing now also no point. Now seriously why you keep replying in our thread, i dun see any of our supporter going to your arsenal thread, you are coming here to flame us, is it :alien:
You are really annoying. :mad:
guoquanyap
31-03-2004, 12:04 AM
Originally posted by RVN
You have your own opinion and I have mine, if carry on arguing now also no point. Now seriously why you keep replying in our thread, i dun see any of our supporter going to your arsenal thread, you are coming here to flame us, is it :alien:
why u bother to argue w him in the first place....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
tell deathblade then why he bother replying to my message then and started the argument and he call me a cock, pathetic gooner. :mad:
deathblade
31-03-2004, 12:12 AM
Originally posted by RVN
If we post something stupid about Man U that is infuriating to you, u are welcome.... Anyway we run a tight ship over there and stupid stuff likes yours that bends the truth that are not meant to be a joke are attacked whether it concerns Arsenal or not... Read our thread to find out... I flame u not bcos u are a Man U fan, but bcos u said something stupid about Arsenal. Mankul just did the same to an Arsenal fan in our thread. No biggy ...
StormTrooper
31-03-2004, 07:52 AM
rvn, no offence but you're pretty annoying too. please don't be a disgrace to man utd fans.
wadeva_lah
31-03-2004, 08:35 AM
dun see no reason why a lion's slayed a pig and another pig has to walk into the den to jack up the lion's arse?
hell, some pigs really love arseholes too much.
RuMmYtUb
31-03-2004, 09:02 AM
Hmm peace baby..
Arsenal and Man Utd fans peace pls ~
RuMmYtUb
31-03-2004, 09:07 AM
Mar 31 - Next time Louis Saha bumps into Ruud van Nistelrooy, he might have a bit of explaining to do.
Saha did not let club loyalty cloud his judgment when asked to compare his Manchester United team-mate with fellow France striker Thierry Henry.
According to Saha, the Dutchman lacks big-match experience, needs to improve his heading, never shoots from outside the penalty box and does little to support his colleagues.
He says: "Ruud is strong and uses his body well to shield the ball, but unlike Thierry he can't run 100 metres in eight seconds."
"Thierry is a tough all-round athlete. He runs fast, jumps high and has the strength needed to keep possession. He has the ideal profile for a striker."
If Van Nistelrooy and Henry line up against each other in Holland's friendly with France in Rotterdam tonight, it will be the second of three meetings in a week, sandwiched between Arsenal and United's League and FA Cup clashes.
Henry is back in the France side after missing last month's 2-0 victory over Belgium in which Saha made a goalscoring debut and the European champions extended their winning run to 14 matches.
Van Nistelrooy has gone seven Premiership and Champions League games without a goal and his struggles have contributed to the club's failure in both competitions this season.
He again looked out of sorts at Highbury on Sunday and missed an easy chance to convert the Ole Gunnar Solskjaer cross which was eventually put in at the far post by Saha in the 86th minute to cancel out Henry's wonder strike.
Saha was alarmingly blunt in his views on his new club colleague in an interview with a French newspaper. United's £12 million signing from Fulham said: "Ruud has never played in major finals, either with United or with Holland, and he needs to gain experience at the highest level."
"Thierry is far more experienced. He's played in the World Cup, Euro 2000 and Confederations Cup Finals and he is battle-hardened - he knows how to approach games like these."
"Ruud is well built and scores a lot of goals with his head, but this is not his main quality. He can still improve in this respect."
"Thierry, too, can get better, but he receives fewer chances in the air as he often takes corners and free-kicks himself."
"Ruud never scores from out-side the 18-yard area and never takes free-kicks. It is very rare to see him trying his luck from a distance."
"But Thierry sometimes gets in fantastic shots. He's worked a lot on his shooting and this has become a fearsome weapon."
"Ruud doesn't take much of a part in the team's collective play. United ask him to play with his back to goal and to win throw-ins and to be there in the box when he needs to be - his game is all about finishing."
"Thierry is different. He will often drop back to get the ball, as he needs space to make good use of his speed. He can create chances, play the final pass or score goals."
Saha talks about Ruud (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=49289&seg=EPL&teamid=)
FLiNcHY
31-03-2004, 09:22 AM
That is so true man
Finally, someone has the rational and unbiased view to admit that ruud is just not up henry's standard
I just put it more bluntly when i said that he was Andy cole version 2.0
But essentially meant the same thing.
leo_llw
31-03-2004, 10:15 AM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
rvn, no offence but you're pretty annoying too. please don't be a disgrace to man utd fans.
Wanna to say that sometime back but held out since I am an Arsenal fan.
Anyway, the threads are for discussions. A mini war here and there adds a bit spice to the neutral mah :D
Funny until now no one started a Chelski thread...I am hoping for that ;)
Kiwi8
31-03-2004, 10:20 AM
Wanna to say that sometime back but held out since I am an Arsenal fan.
Anyway, the threads are for discussions. A mini war here and there adds a bit spice to the neutral mah :D
Funny until now no one started a Chelski thread...I am hoping for that ;)
Got lah.... just that it isn't on page 1 anymore lah.
cutter
31-03-2004, 10:47 AM
aiya... IMO Barthez's attitude is very good...kana dropped still dun make the noise that Bosnich would have made...go on loan but never slag off MU or SAF... never see him being on the front page for being drunk or banging some hooker.
Barthez's problem is that he is too cool...still confident enough in himself to take risks even after cocking up with howlers. SAF obviously respects him as a professional but cannot afford his occasional antics....those like Schmikes, van der Houw, Carroll and Howard have the safer conservative temperament to be a safe GK.
gd luck to FB.
cutter
31-03-2004, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY
I just put it more bluntly when i said that he was Andy cole version 2.0
wah lau RvN how can similar to Cole? Cole is about movement and great pace. He can shoot from short and long range, can set up goals too. He was clinical as a young player but as his skill and experience grew in his later years as a MU player, tried too hard to be clever in scoring goals...3 out of 7 attempts kokup when he tries to be clever, 3 out of 7 totally bobo, score 1 in 7 attempts...but still can bag avg 20 goals/season because his movement can make his own goal-scoring positions as well as be set-up by others.
RvN is about positioning and strength. He thrives as the spearhead of a great team which feeds him chances. He is like a pro hitman in that he rarely takes risks.... he moves into point-blank range before he will open fire. By knowing his own limitations and taking advantage of his strengths, RvN is a classic target man who is more interested in raking up the score than in being too clever.
cracker
31-03-2004, 11:12 AM
Correct me, if I am wrong, but from 2002-3 up to current season; whenever Roy Carroll played, Utd didnt lost.....( I am refering to EPL only).
at least this is what I recalled from late last season when he replaced Barthez...
as for Saha's comment on Ruud, I agreed.
Ruud is more of a finishing-type of players, unlike Henry which is an all rounder,,,actually cant think of any current or older players tat can equal his capability,,maybe Maradona when he was at his peak ?....Both will take corner, freekick and can sprint when required.
Ruud can afford to "wait" in the penalty box becos he can/could on players to supply pin-point crosses from the flank,esp Beckham and Veron, Giggs, Gary Nevile and Ole ...
But at Arsenal, they dun have many players who can deliver very accurate crosses...I reckon Bergkamp and Pires are the better ones from the Gunners. Hence Henry will have to bring the ball all the way to the penalty thru sheer pace and individual skills, once there either finish it off or pass it to a colleague who is in a better position to score.
Natas7
31-03-2004, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by cracker
Correct me, if I am wrong, but from 2002-3 up to current season; whenever Roy Carroll played, Utd didnt lost.....( I am refering to EPL only).
at least this is what I recalled from late last season when he replaced Barthez...
Yes, Whenever Roy Carroll starts, Man Utd had never lost.
RuMmYtUb
31-03-2004, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by Natas7
Yes, Whenever Roy Carroll starts, Man Utd had never lost.
He's our lucky star sia...
With him at our lineup, we've nv lost b4...
Ronaldo7
31-03-2004, 02:39 PM
aiya... IMO Barthez's attitude is very good...kana dropped still dun make the noise that Bosnich would have made...go on loan but never slag off MU or SAF... never see him being on the front page for being drunk or banging some hooker.
Barthez's problem is that he is too cool...still confident enough in himself to take risks even after cocking up with howlers. SAF obviously respects him as a professional but cannot afford his occasional antics....those like Schmikes, van der Houw, Carroll and Howard have the safer conservative temperament to be a safe GK.
gd luck to FB.
i am refering to henry and not barthez
Ronaldo7
31-03-2004, 02:42 PM
Injury shocker for Man Utd's Van Nistelrooy
tribalfootball.com - March 31, 2004
Ruud van Nistelrooy has suffered an injury blow which could keep him out of Manchester United's FA Cup semi with Arsenal on Saturday.
The problem was discovered when he reported for tonight's Holland v France Euro 2004 warm-up.
And, after missing both training sessions with the Holland squad to have intensive treatment, it is feared the knock is worse than first thought. He could even be forced back to England today.
The Sun says it is rumoured fluid has built up around the area where he had an operation to repair a ruptured cruciate ligament.
Van Nistelrooy, 27, will have a last-ditch fitness assessment this morning but will definitely not start the match.
:mad:
Damm it. :mad:
Hope it isn't serious. :(
Ch3tah_39
31-03-2004, 03:03 PM
woah... hope not serious lor...
:(
RuMmYtUb
31-03-2004, 04:07 PM
wah sh!t, no Saha, no RvN..
Left with Solskjaer, Forlan and Bellion for the arse match, oh god ****. :mad:
the alternative is to play Ole in Ruud's place, with either Scholes or Giggs push as a forward. :)
Ch3tah_39
31-03-2004, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Left with Solskjaer, Forlan and Bellion for the arse match, oh god ****. :mad:
the alternative is to play Ole in Ruud's place, with either Scholes or Giggs push as a forward. :)
forlan fridae den come back frm friendly.. so he most likely will not be playin... veri tiring cause he had to travel...
so we left wit ole, scholes or bellion...
wat i think, if really ruud is out, bellion shld start
--------------Carroll-----------
G.Neville--Silvestre--Brown--O'Shea
Ronaldo--Keane-----Djemba Djemba--Giggs
---------------Scholes-----------
--------------Solskjaer-----------
Bench: Howard, Butt, Fletcher, Bellion, Phil Neville
That's the side I'd play if Ruud's out injured, Keane and Djemba can cover the back four, as well as assisting with the carge forward. Ronaldo and Giggs can cause trouble on the wings, and scholes can play in his favoured support striker role, with good chances to score, as well as play the ball to Ole who I expect to refind his scoring boots in that position.
No chance of Forlan playing I wouldn't have thought, and even if there was, I'd rather have Bellion, he's better on the ball and has much more pace, only his finishing is a bit off, but he can still create for others, I saw him start in the game against Everton on Boxing Day and also against Spurs couple of weeks ago, and I think he can be a good player, so I wouldn't mind seeing him at some point. :)
guoquanyap
31-03-2004, 04:31 PM
Injury shocker for Man Utd's Van Nistelrooy
tribalfootball.com - March 31, 2004
Ruud van Nistelrooy has suffered an injury blow which could keep him out of Manchester United's FA Cup semi with Arsenal on Saturday.
The problem was discovered when he reported for tonight's Holland v France Euro 2004 warm-up.
And, after missing both training sessions with the Holland squad to have intensive treatment, it is feared the knock is worse than first thought. He could even be forced back to England today.
The Sun says it is rumoured fluid has built up around the area where he had an operation to repair a ruptured cruciate ligament.
Van Nistelrooy, 27, will have a last-ditch fitness assessment this morning but will definitely not start the match.
:mad:
well maybe it's a blessing in disguise.....;)
Yellowfin
31-03-2004, 05:07 PM
RVN is like Geard Mueller(forget how to spell his name). In the box, both are very deadly and create a goal out of nowhere.
Only thing is RVN can dribble better than him.
If you put Henry in the box he will be kind of lost there, he is just not that type of striker that has his back face the goal most of the time.
Just my 2 peso.
RvN is about positioning and strength. He thrives as the spearhead of a great team which feeds him chances. He is like a pro hitman in that he rarely takes risks.... he moves into point-blank range before he will open fire. By knowing his own limitations and taking advantage of his strengths, RvN is a classic target man who is more interested in raking up the score than in being too clever.
Manchester United's concerns over Ruud van Nistelrooy's fitness have been allayed by the Dutch Football Association who revealed that his recovery from a knee injury has been so rapid that he could play for Holland against France later on Wednesday.
Van Nistelrooy's minor injury came to light once he joined up with the Dutch team on Monday, ahead of the friendly in Rotterdam.
The news that Holland coach Dick Advocaat is considering Van Nistelrooy as a striking option for the friendly international will be welcomed in some respects by Sir Alex Ferguson, who will be happy that his principle striker is apparently back to full fitness.
But United may not be happy to see Van Nistelrooy playing in such a game after a minor niggle and are sure to keep a close eye on whether Advocaat opts to use him, and if so, for how long.
Ahead of Saturday's FA Cup semi-final against Arsenal, to whom Ferguson has already conceded the Premiership title, United will be anxious that Van Nistelrooy is not pushed into action unnecessarily.
The Dutch FA team press officer Frank Huizinga said: "I can't say that Ruud will miss this weekend's match because we haven't made a decision about Wednesday night yet.
"He could still play., the team has not been announced yet and he might be in it."
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=international_feed/04/03/31/SOCCER_Ned-Holland_Van_Nistelrooy.html&TEAMHD=soccer
cutter
31-03-2004, 10:53 PM
aiya...another of those "Friendly Match injuries" (aka A Giggs Injury)... keng halfway to death before midweek int'l friendly but stage miracle recovery by Saturday.... IT'S A MIRACLE :D
guoquanyap
31-03-2004, 11:46 PM
aiya...another of those "Friendly Match injuries" (aka A Giggs Injury)... keng halfway to death before midweek int'l friendly but stage miracle recovery by Saturday.... IT'S A MIRACLE :D
the keng king has to be sol campbell....no one will keng better than him....
guoquanyap
31-03-2004, 11:54 PM
Gill insisted the policy was sensible given the current shortage of money in football. "In Europe last year there were only five transfers in excess of £10m if you exclude Chelsea. The market has changed."
Some analysts have suggested that Ferguson will be restricted to spending about £15m this summer, but Gill refused to comment. "We'll sit down with him," said Gill.
"It's important to note that we spent significant money in acquiring Louis Saha for £12.8m. We've acquired Liam Miller, albeit on a free transfer, but we've got his wages."
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=49283&seg=EPL&teamid=
wow sian the board becoming stingy and stingy....even grooming youngsters oso need couple of yrs...w chelsea and arsenal growing in strength, how come afford to hav so much time
Gill insisted the policy was sensible given the current shortage of money in football. "In Europe last year there were only five transfers in excess of £10m if you exclude Chelsea. The market has changed."
Some analysts have suggested that Ferguson will be restricted to spending about £15m this summer, but Gill refused to comment. "We'll sit down with him," said Gill.
"It's important to note that we spent significant money in acquiring Louis Saha for £12.8m. We've acquired Liam Miller, albeit on a free transfer, but we've got his wages."
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=49283&seg=EPL&teamid=
wow sian the board becoming stingy and stingy....even grooming youngsters oso need couple of yrs...w chelsea and arsenal growing in strength, how come afford to hav so much time
PLC again, knn. :mad:
Not only stingy but selfish want to keep their profits for themselves, not willing to spend. wtf only got 15m to spend in the summer, thats pathetic. :mad:
cutter
01-04-2004, 12:45 AM
PLC must serve shareholder first... club and supporters second mah. bo pian but at least MU is financially stable... unlike most other clubs. Chelsea money-laundering operation is one of the few sugar-daddy concerns which can still splash cash... their Russian mafia boss can afford to buy influence and international recognition with his ill-gotten gains.
leo_llw
01-04-2004, 05:24 AM
the keng king has to be sol campbell....no one will keng better than him....
Your Welsh wizard is the geng king of EPL and you still lambast other pple. Always try to siam international matches, citing injury.
His national duty participation rate is 17.6% before the Mark Hugh era. :laugh:
cracker
01-04-2004, 08:36 AM
Your Welsh wizard is the geng king of EPL and you still lambast other pple. Always try to siam international matches, citing injury.
I dont think Giggs want to miss friendly games for Wales. If it was a crucial qualifier, I am sure he will declare himself "fit".
Then again, the national manager should try to understand that there are certain games tat players will die die must play for his club, afterall, they pay his wage.
AW and SAF had always questioned the necessity of international friendlies at crucial stage of a season or when big matches are ard the corner.
guoquanyap
01-04-2004, 11:26 AM
it's clear who has a real injuring...no pt arguing...
derrace
01-04-2004, 01:58 PM
wah, how come got so many outsiders disturbing our thread?
leo_llw, would you kindly keep your comments to yourself, or perhaps post it somewhere else?
I have been wanting to say this for sometime but I thought you would just leave us alone after awhile. Your persistence in posting here is beginning to irritate me. If you want to comment on something, do it somewhere else, I don't think many of us like reading your post in this thread.
Most MU supporters just want a place to share and talk abt football. When I first join this thread, it was nice reading about the players' condition, other fellow HWZ-MU fans thoughts and view of events happening in MUFC. Recently, ever since you starting posting here, I really find it hard to read through each post without avoiding your unwanted comments. It's really annoying.
I don't see why you have to keep disturbing us here. There are so many other threads out there for you to hang out, even if there isn't, create your own. I hope you leave us alone.
derrace
tianwei
01-04-2004, 04:10 PM
imho, it's ok to post in other club's thread as long there's no flaming or personal insults...what will be good is constructive suggestions and comments...we could do the same and post suggestions and comments in the Arsenal thread...
btw leo_llw...it's Mark Hughes...:rolleyes:
derrace
01-04-2004, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by tianwei
imho, it's ok to post in other club's thread as long there's no flaming or personal insults...what will be good is constructive suggestions and comments...we could do the same and post suggestions and comments in the Arsenal thread...
btw leo_llw...it's Mark Hughes...:rolleyes:
I didnt say anything til now. It's getting quite irritating now. He can say anything he wants about MU and such, I don't really want to know. Ok, to be fair, how many of you would like him to leave us alone?
Ronaldo7
01-04-2004, 06:21 PM
Real want United striker
by Morgan Pitt
Real Madrid have told Manchester United to name their price for Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, according to the Sun.
A transfer of van Nistelrooy would cost Real about £30 million, and they would have to splash out £120,000 per week in wages on him.
United have already told Real they are not interested in selling, despite the Dutchman having a fallout with manager Sir Alex Ferguson prior to the League match against Fulham at the end of February.
:yawn:
Someone tell Real to get lost :mad:
fall-out after the fulham game, for goodness sake he was rested, the sun are pathetic. :mad:
Oh damm I hope it isn't true. :mad:
SoccerAge.com can exclusively reveal that Manchester United's Ryan Giggs will sign for Barcelona in the summer.
The Welsh international winger has spent his entire career at Old Trafford, but is to finally move on as part of Sir Alex Ferguson's end of season revamp.
The clubs have reached an undisclosed agreement for the 30-year-old, who will put pen to paper on a three-year deal.
The arrival of Giggs will be followed by Edgar Davids and David Trezeguet if Barcelona's president Joan Laporta gets his way.
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/u1932.html
Yellowfin
01-04-2004, 08:10 PM
Today is the first of April. ;)
Ronaldo7
01-04-2004, 09:01 PM
giggs for barca ?! :rolleyes:
Ruud: Henry and I are different
Apr 1 - Ruud van Nistelrooy yesterday became the second Manchester United player in as many days to enroll in the Arsenal fan club.
Following Louis Saha's submission that Arsenal striker Thierry Henry has the edge over Old Trafford team-mate Van Nistelrooy, the Dutchman had his say. He revealed his admiration for Highbury's French trio of Patrick Vieira, Robert Pires and Henry.
It appears the United strike force are indulging in the sort of mind games often used by their manager Alex Ferguson as the build-up to Saturday's FA Cup semi-final gathers pace.
Van Nistelrooy said: "Pires, Henry and Vieira are the heart of this Arsenal team. They are the three who make the difference."
"Vieira is omnipresent in midfield, a powerful leader but also a great footballer."
"Pires is the creator who makes and scores a lot of goals and Thierry is the key player, an incredible athlete. He is everywhere. He takes penalties, corners, free-kicks. He is a complete player."
Van Nistelrooy thinks comparisons with Henry are pointless, saying: "We are different types of players
tianwei
01-04-2004, 09:36 PM
I didnt say anything til now. It's getting quite irritating now. He can say anything he wants about MU and such, I don't really want to know. Ok, to be fair, how many of you would like him to leave us alone?
well...beats having Flinchy from the Arsenal thread coming here right...he can sure be a pain in the pi4 gu3...:rolleyes: but when faced with the truth..he just clams up and runs away...:laugh:
Neville has delivered an FA Cup warning to Arsenal ahead of their semi-final showdown with Manchester United at Villa Park.
The veteran full-back, who sat out England's defeat in Sweden last night in readiness for Saturday's crunch encounter, thinks the Red Devils proved at Highbury last weekend that they are still a match for the high-flying Gunners no matter what the critics might suggest.
And he believes there will be even more to come from the Red Devils as they look to preserve Sir Alex Ferguson's enviable record of never having previously lost in a domestic semi-final.
"There is a lot more to come from us," said Neville.
"Arsenal are a really good side and we respect them enormously, but we are the one team that they know can beat them.
"It wouldn't have mattered what happened last Sunday, it would have had no bearing on Saturday's game.
"When you hear people talking about Arsenal over the last couple of months, they have pushed us to the back of the queue a little bit.
"But there is such a fine dividing line between us and our matches are usually turned on a moment of brilliance or a single mistake. I am sure Saturday will be the same."
While Arsenal will still have the Barclaycard Premiership title and Champions League to aim for should they suffer their second domestic semi-final setback this weekend, United are acutely aware that their season will be over.
It would effectively mark the earliest end to their campaign since 1989, when they were dumped out of the FA Cup by Nottingham Forest at the quarter-final stage and finished 11th in the old First Division.
Having secured the release of Neville and Paul Scholes from England duty, Ferguson will embark on the usual body count today as he assesses what side to field against Arsene Wenger's men.
Of most concern will be the fitness of star striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, who missed Holland's goalless draw with France after reporting for duty with a knee injury.
There were optimistic noises coming out of the Dutch camp yesterday that van Nistelrooy, who has scored 26 goals already for United this season, would be fit for this weekend's clash and Ferguson will hope those predictions prove to be correct.
United are already without cup-tied Louis Saha, while Diego Forlan is not due back from Uruguay's stunning 3-0 World Cup home defeat to Venezuela until Friday afternoon and will only be considered in a dire emergency.
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is almost certain to be handed a starting berth but Ferguson would probably prefer to deploy the Norwegian in the right-sided midfield slot from where he provided the cross which led to Saha's late leveller last Sunday.
United's French defender Mikael Silvestre was restricted to just 33 minutes of last night's friendly in Rotterdam, so he should be fit to resume his burgeoning central defensive partnership with Wes Brown.
"You always have to be wary of Arsenal on the counter-attack because they have such great pace," said Neville.
"But we have defenders who can handle that, as we have proved in the past.
"We have shown before that we are capable of holding them going one way and hurting them going the other.
"Defensively, I thought we were excellent at Highbury last Sunday. The only thing that beat us was Thierry Henry's goal and there was nothing anyone could have done about that.
"It's not been the best of times for us recently but we still have plenty of self-belief and confidence and I'm sure Arsenal will not expect anything other than another tough game from us this weekend."
guoquanyap
01-04-2004, 11:28 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Oh damm I hope it isn't true. :mad:
SoccerAge.com can exclusively reveal that Manchester United's Ryan Giggs will sign for Barcelona in the summer.
The Welsh international winger has spent his entire career at Old Trafford, but is to finally move on as part of Sir Alex Ferguson's end of season revamp.
The clubs have reached an undisclosed agreement for the 30-year-old, who will put pen to paper on a three-year deal.
The arrival of Giggs will be followed by Edgar Davids and David Trezeguet if Barcelona's president Joan Laporta gets his way.
http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/u1932.html
giggs will end his playing days at OT....i jus cant see him going anywhere...;)
leo_llw
01-04-2004, 11:42 PM
wah, how come got so many outsiders disturbing our thread?
leo_llw, would you kindly keep your comments to yourself, or perhaps post it somewhere else?
I have been wanting to say this for sometime but I thought you would just leave us alone after awhile. Your persistence in posting here is beginning to irritate me. If you want to comment on something, do it somewhere else, I don't think many of us like reading your post in this thread.
Most MU supporters just want a place to share and talk abt football. When I first join this thread, it was nice reading about the players' condition, other fellow HWZ-MU fans thoughts and view of events happening in MUFC. Recently, ever since you starting posting here, I really find it hard to read through each post without avoiding your unwanted comments. It's really annoying.
I don't see why you have to keep disturbing us here. There are so many other threads out there for you to hang out, even if there isn't, create your own. I hope you leave us alone.
derrace
Actually I did not wan to come in and post anything. It was until certain manu fans saying unsavory comments about Arsenal players that causes me to post something.
In this case, some of you fellow fans did say something about Sol Campbell. Why the hell must you mention something bad about him when you derrace claim you just wanted to discuss MANCHESTER UNITED in this thread?
And last thing, I realised most of you so-called fans knew nuts about your own club. Like you guys are labelled Manure back in Second Division, Giggs skip Wales friendlies before Hughes took over etc.
Think it over. ;)
jujube
02-04-2004, 01:05 AM
this thread is way too long
Jass_02
02-04-2004, 01:31 AM
Actually I did not wan to come in and post anything. It was until certain manu fans saying unsavory comments about Arsenal players that causes me to post something.
In this case, some of you fellow fans did say something about Sol Campbell. Why the hell must you mention something bad about him when you derrace claim you just wanted to discuss MANCHESTER UNITED in this thread?
And last thing, I realised most of you so-called fans knew nuts about your own club. Like you guys are labelled Manure back in Second Division, Giggs skip Wales friendlies before Hughes took over etc.
Think it over. ;)
wow brother....seems like what you are mentioning took place ages ago...let's see...at that point of time maybe singapore is but a mere singapura? u must have history, u must have past to make you who you are today...so now you are digging up history telling us man u is known as manure back in second division...well then in that case i'm proud of man u to make it so far and to be known internationally now...
only with mistakes will it make us a better person....only with failures will we taste the sweetness of success
leo_llw
02-04-2004, 02:10 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02
wow brother....seems like what you are mentioning took place ages ago...let's see...at that point of time maybe singapore is but a mere singapura? u must have history, u must have past to make you who you are today...so now you are digging up history telling us man u is known as manure back in second division...well then in that case i'm proud of man u to make it so far and to be known internationally now...
only with mistakes will it make us a better person....only with failures will we taste the sweetness of success
true true....ManU must have more fans like you mah. :D
Anyway this weekend will be a tough fight once again. Actually prefer ManU and Arsenal to meet in the finals so the stakes are higher...more kick. Cheer!
RuMmYtUb
02-04-2004, 09:06 AM
Apr 2 - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson is ready to ask the Old Trafford board for the £10 million it will take to prise Dutch star Rafael van der Vaart away from Ajax this summer.
Ferguson has identified the 21-year-old goalscoring midfielder as his next major signing as he looks to make up ground on Premiership leaders Arsenal in time for next season.
The United manager sent scouts to watch Van der Vaart play in Holland's friendly international against France in Rotterdam on Wednesday and is now more convinced than ever that he is the man to bring extra creativity to United's attacking options.
Ferguson knows his transfer budget will be limited this summer but believes that Van der Vaart represents good value for money at £10m, even in the currently depressed European transfer market.
His only fear is over the length of time the United board will take to make their decision.
He has been trying desperately to keep his intentions under wraps recently because he is aware that Chelsea - and in particular former Old Trafford chief executive Peter Kenyon - are monitoring his every move in the market place.
FootballChannel understands that Ferguson will test Ajax's resolve with a formal bid in the coming weeks and expects to be successful.
Van der Vaart is rated as one of Dutch football's hottest properties and has attracted Ferguson's interest because he can play in the position behind the strikers that has been so frequently used by the Amsterdam club over the last decade.
In recent times, United's Paul Scholes has played in that position but the England player is keen to revert to a more central role in the engine room of United's midfield.
Van der Vaart's signing would have parallels with United's last major signing from Holland, Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The Holland striker was signed after serious knee surgery and Van der Vaart suffered a major trauma to his right knee during the 2001-02 season when an operation was botched. Corrective surgery was successful, however, and he has made a full recovery just as Van Nistelrooy did.
In the following pre-season, Van der Vaart was voted the best player in the prestigious Amsterdam Tournament.
Rafael van der Vaart (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=49527)
yulee
02-04-2004, 10:41 AM
A forward march can put the Gunners in retreat
United will have to attack if they are to thwart Arsenal's treble ambitions
Ron Atkinson
Friday April 2, 2004
The Guardian
I've had a fancy for Manchester United in the FA Cup from the word go this season and I stand by that. But I think there's a certain approach they'll need if they are to give themselves the best chance of beating Arsenal in tomorrow's semi-final.
I'd like to see United have a right go from the off because it will be very difficult for them if they let Arsenal hit the ground running. United brightened up at Highbury last weekend when they threw on Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Louis Saha and I feel they should stick with that positive thinking.
Saha can't play because he's cup-tied but I'd take the game to Arsenal with a 4-3-3 including a forward line of Ryan Giggs on the left, Solskjaer on the right and Van Nistelrooy up the middle. United will need Van Nistelrooy fit to win this one because they'd be coming down a few degrees in quality with Solskjaer or Diego Forlan leading the line.
I think United will be encouraged by what happened last Sunday when they went for it and got an equaliser. When you let Arsenal dictate a game they're very comfortable but, if you hurry them into mistakes and make them deal with a lot of penalty-area action, they can struggle like any other side.
The team this season that I've seen give Arsenal the most problems is probably Celta Vigo, playing in Spain, and one of the things they did was attack. They lost 3-2 but never allowed Arsenal to dominate quite as much as Arsène Wenger would have liked.
By carrying the fight with Giggs and Solskjaer out wide, United would not only create things but force Arsenal's full-backs to defend so that they can be blocked off when they try to get forward. Arsenal like to come out using their full-backs and that way you cut some of their attacking options.
Solskjaer provides a very tidy cross and is a big-match player, which you need in a semi-final. If he can give Gaël Clichy a hard time, Arsenal might be forced to move Robert Pires into a more withdrawn area to lend support defensively. Instead of Pires being in the top half of the field all the while, threatening to create things or score, he'd then be in areas where he's not anywhere near as effective.
From time to time it would be vital for Giggs and Solskjaer to go in and support Van Nistelrooy in central areas but I think they know how to get the balance right. Solskjaer learned a lesson at Manchester City last season when he played the position too narrow and City kept getting out through their left-back.
You'd expect Arsenal to create chances no matter how much you try to put them on the back foot, and United have to legislate for the fact that the Gunners can be at their most dangerous when teams attack and they can strike on the counter.
That's why it is important that United's full-backs stay at home, unless they're chasing the game, and leave it to Giggs and Solskjaer to go forward in wide areas. That way they keep a solid unit at the back and don't vacate the space that Thierry Henry likes to drift into.
Although United have had difficulties in central defence, the form of Wes Brown is encouraging. In two or three recent matches he's started to look the player everyone tells you he is. I thought he played particularly well when United were knocked out of the Champions League by Porto and impressively last week against Arsenal.
If he and Mikaël Silvestre can put up a solid wall then that augurs well for United because in the centre of the park I'd expect them to be fine. They could use two basic midfielders, Nicky Butt and Roy Keane, and have Paul Scholes filling in holes and joining the advanced party.
I think with those three they'd have plenty in there to battle with Patrick Vieira and Edu, and you'd never bet against Scholes getting a goal. I think he's better as a normal midfield player rather than a striker who drops back a bit.
Although I've got this hunch for United, there's no doubt Arsenal are the best team in the country. It means United are going to have to play as well as at any given time this season but I think they can do that. It might not mean playing well in terms of classic one- and two-touch stuff and lightning-quick football but in the sense of work ethic and an attitude of "They shall not win".
Villa Park is a happy hunting ground for United and I'm sure we're going to see the likes of Keane, Scholes and Giggs play as if there's no tomorrow. They'll summon up every last drop of adrenalin and they'd love to cock a snook at Arsenal. Nothing would give them more pleasure than thwarting Arsenal's Treble and this is now their only chance.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last chance for Manyoo to salvage something from this season...=p
OKK77
02-04-2004, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by jujube
this thread is way too long Anything wrong with that?
Ronaldo7
02-04-2004, 10:53 PM
Apr 2 - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson is ready to ask the Old Trafford board for the £10 million it will take to prise Dutch star Rafael van der Vaart away from Ajax this summer.
Ferguson has identified the 21-year-old goalscoring midfielder as his next major signing as he looks to make up ground on Premiership leaders Arsenal in time for next season.
The United manager sent scouts to watch Van der Vaart play in Holland's friendly international against France in Rotterdam on Wednesday and is now more convinced than ever that he is the man to bring extra creativity to United's attacking options.
Ferguson knows his transfer budget will be limited this summer but believes that Van der Vaart represents good value for money at £10m, even in the currently depressed European transfer market.
His only fear is over the length of time the United board will take to make their decision.
He has been trying desperately to keep his intentions under wraps recently because he is aware that Chelsea - and in particular former Old Trafford chief executive Peter Kenyon - are monitoring his every move in the market place.
FootballChannel understands that Ferguson will test Ajax's resolve with a formal bid in the coming weeks and expects to be successful.
Van der Vaart is rated as one of Dutch football's hottest properties and has attracted Ferguson's interest because he can play in the position behind the strikers that has been so frequently used by the Amsterdam club over the last decade.
In recent times, United's Paul Scholes has played in that position but the England player is keen to revert to a more central role in the engine room of United's midfield.
Van der Vaart's signing would have parallels with United's last major signing from Holland, Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The Holland striker was signed after serious knee surgery and Van der Vaart suffered a major trauma to his right knee during the 2001-02 season when an operation was botched. Corrective surgery was successful, however, and he has made a full recovery just as Van Nistelrooy did.
In the following pre-season, Van der Vaart was voted the best player in the prestigious Amsterdam Tournament.
Rafael van der Vaart (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=49527)
he is damn good :eek:
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that England duo Phil Neville and Nicky Butt will be punished for their international exertions in midweek.
The abrasive Scot wanted his midfielders to only play a half of the drab defeat in Sweden, and claims he will not consider the duo for his starting line-up on Saturday when Manchester United bid to knock Arsenal out of the FA Cup.
Ahead of the semi-final at Villa Park, Ferguson has shown no mercy when dealing with two players pushing for a place in Sven Goran Eriksson's Euro 2004 plans.
"They have ruled themselves out," stated Ferguson. "It's changed my thinking on the team so we are probably looking at the same team as last week.
"We weren't expecting them to play that long.
"We expected them to play half a game."
Ferguson has had something of a strained relationship with England managers past and present as he clearly views international friendlies as something of an irritation, particularly when they come about with his team preparing for a match that is critical to their season.
Phil Neville, who did not impress at right back, and Butt competed in the 1-0 loss on Wednesday, but Eriksson rested Gary Neville and Paul Scholes in a bid to strike some form of compromise.
Nevertheless, Ferguson is considering playing Diego Forlan on Saturday, if Ruud van Nistelrooy is ruled out with a knee injury, even though the Uruguayan was on the pitch for 72 minutes of his country's World Cup qualifier with Venezuela.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1130132,00.html
Forlan being considered, oh no. I pray Ruud make it, we need him. :(
guoquanyap
02-04-2004, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that England duo Phil Neville and Nicky Butt will be punished for their international exertions in midweek.
The abrasive Scot wanted his midfielders to only play a half of the drab defeat in Sweden, and claims he will not consider the duo for his starting line-up on Saturday when Manchester United bid to knock Arsenal out of the FA Cup.
Ahead of the semi-final at Villa Park, Ferguson has shown no mercy when dealing with two players pushing for a place in Sven Goran Eriksson's Euro 2004 plans.
"They have ruled themselves out," stated Ferguson. "It's changed my thinking on the team so we are probably looking at the same team as last week.
"We weren't expecting them to play that long.
"We expected them to play half a game."
Ferguson has had something of a strained relationship with England managers past and present as he clearly views international friendlies as something of an irritation, particularly when they come about with his team preparing for a match that is critical to their season.
Phil Neville, who did not impress at right back, and Butt competed in the 1-0 loss on Wednesday, but Eriksson rested Gary Neville and Paul Scholes in a bid to strike some form of compromise.
Nevertheless, Ferguson is considering playing Diego Forlan on Saturday, if Ruud van Nistelrooy is ruled out with a knee injury, even though the Uruguayan was on the pitch for 72 minutes of his country's World Cup qualifier with Venezuela.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1130132,00.html
Forlan being considered, oh no. I pray Ruud make it, we need him. :(
maybe if ruud nv play oso a blessing in disguise....maybe either ole or Bellion will do a better than him tml....;)
guoquanyap
02-04-2004, 11:40 PM
Rafael van der Vaart.....10million pound where got enough.....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
u all seen Rafael van der Vaart played be4?
guoquanyap
03-04-2004, 01:08 AM
onli a couple of times...why leh
leo_llw
03-04-2004, 02:59 AM
Seen him twice playing for Ajax. Supposely can play across midfield.
Once see him play on the left....damn power. The other time he was deployed one half on the right zero contribution. The moment he go back left, power liao.
Looks like a good understudy for Giggs ;)
Ronaldo7
03-04-2004, 08:40 AM
We're on the turn : Ferguson
MANCHESTER UNITED have turned a corner and are ready to derail Arsenal, according to Alex Ferguson.
United ended a four-game winless run in the Premiership by beating Tottenham last month.
Then they fought back to earn a draw at Arsenal last Sunday.
And as the pair lock horns again today, United boss Fergie insists lifting the FA Cup would make it a successful season for his club.
He said: “We say every year if we win a trophy you have to be happy.
“Since beating Tottenham in the league we have turned the corner.
“I could see a belief in my team at Highbury last week.
“I have not lost a domestic cup semi-final since I came to Manchester United and Villa Park has been a good ground for us.
“It’s going to be a very close game again.”
since u all say Rafael van der Vaart is good, then he should be a great addition to the team..since we missed out the robben kid..
leslie_lai
03-04-2004, 11:51 AM
the word "corner" irks me :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Tonight big game, whoever is in the starting line-up for us, I hope United win. ;)
RuMmYtUb
03-04-2004, 12:03 PM
Yes for Holland, he IS impressive... :D
Ronaldo7
03-04-2004, 08:57 PM
FT: Arsenal 0 Man Utd 1
we are going to cardiff ;)
Spock
03-04-2004, 08:58 PM
Not vintage Man U, but they did a very professional job without Ruud. Arsenal can't emulate our treble this season,hehehehe:D
cracker
03-04-2004, 09:01 PM
Roy Carroll was outstanding in the first half !!!!
Solid defending !!!
at least there is still sth to cheer abt on the last game of the season !
Seals
03-04-2004, 09:01 PM
arsenal deserve it..arrogant...gangsterism...
now..man utd got them out of treble...assin whinger drop launry out cos he din not respect man utd... hao lian will fall..hahaha..last season never learn...
RuMmYtUb
03-04-2004, 09:03 PM
Brown and Silvestre SOLID !
:D :D :D
uRiZEn
03-04-2004, 09:07 PM
Brown back to his best!!:D
FLiNcHY
03-04-2004, 09:08 PM
Wah so everybody loves brown again ah. Such a nice change of liking. From love to hate and love again.
Ronaldo7
03-04-2004, 09:08 PM
fletcher was excellent as well , doing well in a central midfield role
We did it without Saha and Ruud, Brown, Ronaldo and Fletcher were awesome today. Carroll first-save, thought Toure was going score, lucky didn't go in.
And Scholesy match-winner. :bounce:
Ronaldo7
03-04-2004, 09:13 PM
Ferguson hails Ronaldo
Sir Alex Ferguson paid tribute to his "ace" Cristiano Ronaldo after his Manchester United team reached the FA Cup final with a 1-0 win over Arsenal.
"We let Ronaldo be free - he didn't defend for us," Ferguson said.
"We felt that counter-attacking was always going to be through him - we felt he would be the ace for us."
Ferguson, whose team won thanks to a Paul Scholes goal, told BBC Sport: "We're very pleased - we aim to win a trophy every year."
Ferguson also felt United had luck on their side from the moment goalkeeper Roy Carroll pulled off two excellent early saves.
"I think that gave us the bit of luck we needed," he said.
"We started quite well in the first few minutes but the best chances came to them and Roy Carroll played his part well."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40000000/jpg/_40000103_scholesgoal300_afp.jpg
OKK77
03-04-2004, 09:15 PM
Damn scary to see 5 Gunners strikers on the field. \=
Originally posted by OKK77
Damn scary to see 5 Gunners strikers on the field. \=
Reyes, Bergkamp, Kanu, Aldiarere (wrong spelling), Henry, Wenger bring all his strikers in, thankfully they didn't score. :D
To be Honest....The first 10 mins gave me a Heart Attack but the players did really well after that.
SWEET VICTORY!!:D
Ch3tah_39
03-04-2004, 11:25 PM
excellent win... woot, so after all mr brown not that bad either..:D
Roy Keane has told his Manchester United team-mates their thrilling FA Cup win over Arsenal will mean nothing unless they go on to win the final.
United advanced to a May 22 meeting with either Sunderland or Millwall with the 1-0 win which ended the Gunners' Treble dream.
Paul Scholes fired home the 32nd-minute goal that sent United into their first final since 1999 and some stout defending after half-time ensured Arsenal could not find an equaliser despite the introduction of Thierry Henry.
Keane was the skipper last time the Red Devils lifted the trophy and, fitness permitting, will lead United out at the Millennium Stadium next month.
And he has already warned the ecstatic United squad they must lift the trophy for a record 11th time if today's victory is to mean anything.
"People say there is nothing worse than losing a semi-final, well I think there is, you can lose a final," said the former Irish international.
"Today was a very important match for us. At the start of every season we talk about our aims for the season.
"Unfortunately, we have come up short in Europe and we have fallen behind in the league.
"We knew this was our only chance of getting something and it still is. But we have only won the semi-final, we have another game to play yet."
The victory should get United's many critics off their backs for the remainder of the campaign.
After a dismal run since the turn of the year, the Red Devils have turned their season around with a victory over Tottenham and impressive back-to-back performances against Arsenal that have netted a Premiership draw and today's hard-earned win.
"People are entitled to their opinions and the criticism we have received has been spot on," he said.
"The players and the manager are this club's biggest critics and we have all be disappointed with our performances this year.
"Now we have given ourselves the chance to win something, which would be great for the players, manager and fans."
In reaching the final, Keane has raised the enticing prospect of facing a Sunderland side managed by Mick McCarthy, the man he dramatically walked out on days before Ireland's World Cup campaign was due to begin in Japan almost two years ago.
The antipathy between the two men is well known, although Keane played down the prospect of facing down McCarthy in Cardiff next month.
"I don't really care who we get in the final," he said.
"We will respect them whoever it is. You can't get carried away with individuals because you will come up against people over the years. This is about Manchester United."
http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/151658/.html
Ch3tah_39
04-04-2004, 12:05 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Roy Keane has told his Manchester United team-mates their thrilling FA Cup win over Arsenal will mean nothing unless they go on to win the final.
United advanced to a May 22 meeting with either Sunderland or Millwall with the 1-0 win which ended the Gunners' Treble dream.
Paul Scholes fired home the 32nd-minute goal that sent United into their first final since 1999 and some stout defending after half-time ensured Arsenal could not find an equaliser despite the introduction of Thierry Henry.
Keane was the skipper last time the Red Devils lifted the trophy and, fitness permitting, will lead United out at the Millennium Stadium next month.
And he has already warned the ecstatic United squad they must lift the trophy for a record 11th time if today's victory is to mean anything.
"People say there is nothing worse than losing a semi-final, well I think there is, you can lose a final," said the former Irish international.
"Today was a very important match for us. At the start of every season we talk about our aims for the season.
"Unfortunately, we have come up short in Europe and we have fallen behind in the league.
"We knew this was our only chance of getting something and it still is. But we have only won the semi-final, we have another game to play yet."
The victory should get United's many critics off their backs for the remainder of the campaign.
After a dismal run since the turn of the year, the Red Devils have turned their season around with a victory over Tottenham and impressive back-to-back performances against Arsenal that have netted a Premiership draw and today's hard-earned win.
"People are entitled to their opinions and the criticism we have received has been spot on," he said.
"The players and the manager are this club's biggest critics and we have all be disappointed with our performances this year.
"Now we have given ourselves the chance to win something, which would be great for the players, manager and fans."
In reaching the final, Keane has raised the enticing prospect of facing a Sunderland side managed by Mick McCarthy, the man he dramatically walked out on days before Ireland's World Cup campaign was due to begin in Japan almost two years ago.
The antipathy between the two men is well known, although Keane played down the prospect of facing down McCarthy in Cardiff next month.
"I don't really care who we get in the final," he said.
"We will respect them whoever it is. You can't get carried away with individuals because you will come up against people over the years. This is about Manchester United."
http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/151658/.html
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 12:12 AM
great win and it was sweet man!!....*woot* now we got to win the final or it will count nothing at all.....
cutter
04-04-2004, 12:42 AM
Sunderland or Millwall are ripe for a mauling. Hope that it is Millwall (with their 'nice' manager Dennis Wise)... so that one of England's most racist-supported clubs will kana a deserved hammering. :evil:
CorosIve
04-04-2004, 01:02 AM
whoo
ronaldo was a pain in the ass down both flanks
he was everywhere :laugh:
http://img43.photobucket.com/albums/v131/will_moran/ArsvManU_Scholes_L.jpg
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40000000/jpg/_40000281_fergieron203.jpg
Ronaldo7
04-04-2004, 10:27 AM
Originally posted by CorosIve
whoo
ronaldo was a pain in the ass down both flanks
he was everywhere :laugh:
yeah . he is just getting better and better :eek:
leo_llw
04-04-2004, 11:26 AM
great win and it was sweet man!!....*woot* now we got to win the final or it will count nothing at all.....
confirm win lah....
SAR will go all out to secure the Cup to salvage some pride for the season.
His job is also at stake...remember 1 yr renewable onli
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 11:26 AM
yeah . he is just getting better and better :eek:
and he's is 19....:o
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 11:28 AM
confirm win lah....
SAR will go all out to secure the Cup to salvage some pride for the season.
His job is also at stake...remember 1 yr renewable onli
well nothing is for sure....it's damn rare for a lower division to reach a cup final......so confirm either millaw or sunderland gonna play the game of their life on the final day..we cant afford to be overconfident....
kengbeng
04-04-2004, 11:47 AM
You guys know what?
Come to think of it, it's the curse of the Charity Shield again. :laugh:
Damn, if we win the FA cup, we had better not win in the Charity Shield the next time round.
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
You guys know what?
Come to think of it, it's the curse of the Charity Shield again. :laugh:
Damn, if we win the FA cup, we had better not win in the Charity Shield the next time round.
it's always there....the jinx of CS, the jinx of assistant manager and jinx of christmas champion....we had it all.....
personally i wish we can finish 3rd this season....remember we finish 3rd behind liverpool and arsenal in 1997/1998.....and wat we achived in 1998/1999??......a treble.....;) got to let them taste some bitter season b4 they wake up their ideas.....
Ch3tah_39
04-04-2004, 12:00 PM
man utd now can test player in EPL matches liao..
so next season can start off with a gd note.. hahha
kengbeng
04-04-2004, 12:01 PM
it's always there....the jinx of CS, the jinx of assistant manager and jinx of christmas champion....we had it all.....
personally i wish we can finish 3rd this season....remember we finish 3rd behind liverpool and arsenal in 1997/1998.....and wat we achived in 1998/1999??......a treble.....;) got to let them taste some bitter season b4 they wake up their ideas.....
Correction. We finished 2nd in 97/98.
The only time we finished third in the Premier League was in 01/02 and probably this season as well.
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 12:02 PM
haha ya rite...maybe we can see the likes of eagles playing some matches....and take the chance to rest ronaldo and keano....
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 12:04 PM
Correction. We finished 2nd in 97/98.
The only time we finished third in the Premier League was in 01/02 and probably this season as well.
izzit?? but i remember we hav to go through the quafiying rd to reach the cl group stages and go on to win the CL....onli 3rd and 4nd need to play quafiying matches rite....
kengbeng
04-04-2004, 12:09 PM
izzit?? but i remember we hav to go through the quafiying rd to reach the cl group stages and go on to win the CL....onli 3rd and 4nd need to play quafiying matches rite....
That time still old-format Champions League mah. Only 1st qualify automatically, 2nd place still have to play in qualifying stages to quailify.
This link should remove all doubts. :D
http://www.4thegame.com/stats/tables/1997-1998/condensed.html
http://www.4thegame.com/archive/
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 12:10 PM
That time still old-style Champions League mah. 2nd place still have to play in qualifying stages to quailify.
This link should remove all doubts. :D
http://www.4thegame.com/stats/tables/1997-1998/condensed.html
http://www.4thegame.com/archive/
orh ok i remember we hav to played quailify rd so i assume we finished 3rd....=p
RuMmYtUb
04-04-2004, 12:42 PM
IMO, Cristiano Ronaldo saved our season... i mean he was the best buy, with so many injury casualties like Solskjaer, he was there to provide the flair and unpredictabilty, luckily Giggs was also fairly fit for the entire season... :D
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 12:58 PM
IMO, Cristiano Ronaldo saved our season... i mean he was the best buy, with so many injury casualties like Solskjaer, he was there to provide the flair and unpredictabilty, luckily Giggs was also fairly fit for the entire season... :D
ya the one who provide the sparks and pull clincly away to allow giggs free to make the pass to scholes to score the winner....
but fergie did infact take a gamble on him....it's still so young and play in such a pyshical league will risk him of burning out.....
lucky ronaldo is still okie now.....time to rest him and let him nuture slowly.....
cracker
04-04-2004, 01:17 PM
whether the clubs finishing third or even second need to play in the qualifying rounds depend on the performance of that League's representatives in the competition for the last x yrs.
As for England, thx to the likes of MU (making the quarter final for 8 consecutive yrs and winning in 1999), Leeds reaching the semi final couple of yrs ago, Chelsea also making the quarter final few seasons ago and Arsenal also able to make it to Round 2 and even quarter final. Hence England were given 2 places automatically plus the third and fourth placed teams can play directly in the third qualifying rounds which Man Utd & Newscastle did in 2002-03 and Chelsea & Newscastle played in 2003-04 qualifying round. Even Scotish Champion has to play in the qualifying round.
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 02:13 PM
http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_5994.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=240&hei=169&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 02:29 PM
when is the final huh? sat or sun? gonna enlist this 21april...****....:mad: :mad:
kengbeng
04-04-2004, 02:31 PM
Final is usually on the Saturday after the end of the EPL season.
Ronaldo7
04-04-2004, 06:23 PM
United chasing Belgian starlet
by Morgan Pitt
Manchester United are being linked with a swoop for Belgian youngster Anthony vanden Borre, who currently plays for Anderlecht.
According to the Sunday People, United want to sign the starlet before their rivals can enter the race.
The 16-year-old has already made his debut for the first team and is already in the national under-21 side.
___jeff
04-04-2004, 09:32 PM
yeaaaaa lol :laugh: :laugh:
Ch3tah_39
04-04-2004, 11:33 PM
man utd will face millwall in the fa cup final...:D
beckz11
04-04-2004, 11:54 PM
man utd will face millwall in the fa cup final...:D
when is the final ?
guoquanyap
04-04-2004, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by beckz11
when is the final ?
22may....the day i still in camp....cannot watch....:mad: :mad:
guoquanyap
05-04-2004, 12:19 AM
Ajax star Rafael van der Vaart is set to snub Manchester United after reiterating his desire to play for Spanish giants Barcelona.
The Red Devils target has already revealed the time is right for a new challenge and has his heart set on a move to Frank Rijkaard's Barca squad.
Should the Holland international make the Camp Nou move he would be the second ace to snub an Old Trafford switch following Ronaldinho's transfer last summer.
Barca would be joining the mass Dutch ranks in Spain with the club already having the likes of Phillip Cocu, Michael Reiziger, Marc Overmars and Patrick Kluivert on their books.
"I have made no secret of the feeling I have for Barca," van der Vaart told the Mirror.
"They are the club I have supported all of my life for family reasons. They are the club of my mother's family.
"I do not know what the future holds, but I have played in Camp Nou for Ajax and it was a dream come true for me.
hmmm....who wan to come?? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
uRiZEn
05-04-2004, 01:39 AM
Nabei.
Hope Barca wun bid for him.:mad:
guoquanyap
05-04-2004, 11:11 AM
Nabei.
Hope Barca wun bid for him.:mad:
barca surely bid for hum wan lah....:(
wadeva_lah
05-04-2004, 12:22 PM
think we wun get van der vaart.
better set our sights on joaquin instead. :P
guoquanyap
05-04-2004, 12:26 PM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
think we wun get van der vaart.
better set our sights on joaquin instead. :P
beckz11
05-04-2004, 12:31 PM
wooo i made the reply no 9999
haha
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.