PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

guoquanyap
18-04-2004, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
We muz give liverpool the backlash..

can win can liao....:alien:

Ronaldo7
19-04-2004, 06:27 PM
Celtic cool on Keane move

Martin O'Neill believes it is unlikely Manchester United skipper Roy Keane will sign for Celtic in the summer.
O'Neill is a big fan of Keane, who was again linked with a move to Glasgow by Sunday newspapers, but the Celtic boss thinks he will stay in Manchester.

The Celtic manager told BBC Sport: "The opportunity is pretty remote.

"I'm not so sure Roy Keane would want to leave Man United when next year will be a big one for them in trying to win the English title back from Arsenal."

Unnamed friends of Keane were quoted in newspapers as saying the Republic of Ireland international midfielder thought that, at 33, time was running out on his chances of ever playing for the team he supported as a boy.

"It all comes about because Roy Keane has said that he would like to play for Celtic before the end of his career," explained O'Neill.

Jay-Jay Okocha is another being linked with Celtic, but O'Neill reckons that the Nigeria midfielder is destined to sign a new contract with Bolton Wanderers.

guoquanyap
19-04-2004, 11:13 PM
Paul Scholes will miss Manchester United's next three games after admitting a charge of violent conduct in the Premiership clash with Middlesbrough on February 11.

Paul Scholes: Three-match ban. (AlexLivesey/GettyImages)
At a hearing in Manchester on Monday the England midfielder was handed a three-match suspension for striking Boro midfielder Doriva in an incident which was not seen by match official Paul Durkin.

Scholes requested a personal hearing but, after receiving the verdict, has chosen not to appeal and will therefore sit out Tuesday night's Premiership encounter with Charlton, the home game with Liverpool on Saturday and the trip to Blackburn on May 1.

He will however be free to play in the crucial Premiership showdown with Chelsea on May 8 as well as the FA Cup final against Millwall a fortnight later.

Scholes' guilt was indicated by TV replays of the incident, although that did not stop Sir Alex Ferguson suggesting the 29-year-old star, who has scored 14 goals this season, was unlikely to receive a favourable hearing.

'You know the FA and Manchester United,' he said last Friday.

'There is a scenario for every club in the country and another one for us.

'We expect Paul to have a difficult hearing. Put it this way, I don't think he will get the same hearing as other players get.'

Scholes did have the option of an appeal but dragging the case out even further with little chance of success would only have put his Cup final place in jeopardy.

well kinda expected...wat can i say.... :rolleyes:

leo_llw
20-04-2004, 06:24 AM
Damn! I got him as captain for my fantasy league team. :mad:

Ronaldo7
20-04-2004, 11:36 AM
Ferguson reunites duo

Sir Alex Ferguson welcomed the return of star striker Ruud van Nistelrooy for Tuesday's match with Charlton.
The Manchester United boss confirmed on Monday the Dutchman would return after a four-game absence with a knee injury.

"His partnership with Louis Saha started promisingly until Louis, then Ruud, got injured," Ferguson said.

"They've not played with each other for five or six weeks, so it's a welcome comeback. With that partnership you always feel you will get a goal."

Van Nistelrooy, who has scored 26 goals this season, shared six with Saha in their first two games together following the Frenchman's signing from Fulham in January.

An Achilles injury to Saha and van Nistelrooy's knee problem have limited their appearances together since.

A victory for Charlton would move them to fourth, ahead of Liverpool and Newcastle in the race for the final Champions League spot.

"There's quite a few with their eye on that fourth spot, but I don't think any of them want it," Ferguson said.

"They are all capable of getting that fourth spot, but they keep dropping points."

time for ruud awakening ? :o

RVN
20-04-2004, 12:00 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
well kinda expected...wat can i say.... :rolleyes:

Some old FA pricks, clearly against us. :rolleyes: :mad:

RVN
20-04-2004, 02:24 PM
Paul Scholes misses Manchester United's Premiership clash with Charlton at Old Trafford after being handed a three-match ban by the Football Association.

The England midfielder was hit with the suspension at a disciplinary hearing in Manchester for striking Middlesbrough's Doriva in the Premiership meeting at Old Trafford on February 11, an incident not seen by referee Paul Durkin.

Scholes has chosen not to appeal and the ban starts with the visit of the Addicks followed by Premiership games at home to Liverpool on Saturday and away to Blackburn on May 1.

Ruud van Nistelrooy is set to return after a four-match absence caused by a knee injury and will partner Louis Saha up front.

Roy Keane (hamstring), Phil Neville (ankle) and Kleberson (knee) also trained and could be available as Sir Alex Ferguson's side look to bounce back from Saturday's disappointing defeat at Portsmouth.

Charlton boss Alan Curbishley has been boosted by the return of midfielder Graham Stuart for the daunting trip to Old Trafford.

Stuart has recovered from a back problem to rejoin Curbishley's squad and now the manager must decide whether to pitch him in from the start or - or more likely - leave him on the bench.

Long-term casualties Mark Fish (chest), Kevin Lisbie (back), Richard Rufus and Gary Rowett (both knee) are all still out.

Teams

Manchester United (from): Carroll, Howard, G Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, Solskjaer, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, Saha, Ronaldo, van Nistelrooy, Keane, P Neville, Kleberson, Butt, Pugh, Fletcher.

Charlton (from): Kiely, Fortune, Perry, Hreidarsson, Powell, Young, Holland, Jensen, Stuart, Konchesky, Kishishev, Johansson, Bartlett, di Canio, Euell, Cole, Royce.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/04/19/manual_110349.html

RuMmYtUb
20-04-2004, 03:15 PM
I hope Giggs-Ronaldo-Saha-RvN will kick some serious butts..

Yellowfin
20-04-2004, 03:44 PM
http://www.reuters.co.uk/newsPackageArticle.jhtml;jsessionid=UH0LEGD5J1RHGCRBAEOCFFA?type=topNews&storyID=495985&section=news

LONDON (Reuters) - Police foiled a series of suicide bomb attacks at a Manchester United match with the arrest of 10 people in anti-terror raids on Monday, the Sun has reported.

Tuesday's paper quoted an unnamed police source as saying the suspects had bought tickets for seats around the club's 67,000-capacity stadium for their premier league match against Liverpool on Saturday.

"The plot involved several individual bombers in separate parts of the stadium," the source told the paper. "If successful, any such attack would have caused absolute carnage."

Ten people were held under anti-terror laws in a series of dawn raids involving 400 police across northern England on Monday.

Police and the Home Office declined to comment on the Sun's report.

"We cannot get into a running commentary on the intelligence and information behind police and security service operations," a Home Office spokeswoman said.

Assistant Chief Constable Dave Whatton, of Greater Manchester Police, said he was aware of "extensive speculation about possible targets".

"As with any counter-terrorist operation, we will not confirm or deny any targets," he said in a statement.

The Sun said the arrests were made after months of eavesdropping on mobile telephone calls and surveillance by British and American authorities.

Anyone planning an attack at Manchester United's Old Trafford stadium would have risked being frisked by security guards or police on their way into the ground.

An attack during the match -- one of the biggest games in the English soccer calendar -- would have been broadcast live around the world. The clubs are third and fourth in the premier league.

Britain is on high alert for attacks after the Madrid train bombings which killed 191 people on March 11.

London police chief Sir John Stevens has repeatedly said an attack, most likely a suicide bombing, is inevitable.

Police arrested eight men and seized half a tonne of fertiliser often used in bomb-making in raids across southern England on March 30.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Even football are target of terror attack. I believe there will be more to come.

RVN
20-04-2004, 04:43 PM
Its fooked up. There are bomb scares everywhere now, Nobody is safe and thank god they were caught. :eek:

United spokesman have deny the bomb attack at OT. :rolleyes:

Manchester United have denied that Old Trafford has been identified as a target for terrorism.

Reports following the arrest of six men and a woman in the Greater Manchester area claimed that the stadium was the subject of a suicide bomb plot for this Saturday's Barclaycard Premiership match against Liverpool.

However, a United spokesman told PA Sport they had been talking to the police but only with regard to normal arrangements for the match.

He added: "We have not been told that Old Trafford is a target for a terrorist attack."

Suicide bombers may have been planning to attack Old Trafford and the City of Manchester football grounds, according to reports.

However, police and the Home Office have refused to comment on possible targets.

Six men and a woman were arrested in Greater Manchester yesterday. Three other men were arrested in Staffordshire, South Yorkshire and the West Midlands.

All 10, described by police as North African and Iraqi Kurdish in origin, were held on suspicion of the commission, preparation or instigation of acts of terrorism.

Assistant Chief Constable Dave Whatton, of Greater Manchester Police, said the raids were part of an "ongoing operation related to the threat of terrorism".

He added: "It is part of an ongoing operation that has been under way for some time and will continue in the future.

"This is the first action that the public have become aware of as it is overt, but nothing should be read into that.

"At this time we have nine men and one woman in custody.

"Our inquiries lead us to believe they are of Iraqi Kurd and North African origin.

"They are in police custody and will be interviewed as part of the ongoing inquiry.

"I am aware there is extensive speculation about possible targets. As with any counter-terrorist operation we will not confirm or deny any targets."

The Home Office refused to comment on reports that Old Trafford and the City of Manchester football stadiums may have been potential targets for an attack.

The Sun reported that a suicide bomb plot was planned for Old Trafford for the Manchester United home game with rivals Liverpool on Saturday.

The newspaper said intelligence chiefs believed al Qaida fanatics planned to blow themselves up among the expected 67,000 fans and had already bought tickets.

The Times reported that Old Trafford, Manchester City's new ground - the City of Manchester Stadium - or a major shopping centre in the city were possible targets.

The suspects can be held for questioning for 14 days without charge.

http://www.4thegame.com/club.d/mufc/news/152870/

cutter
20-04-2004, 08:09 PM
ya lor... last year Champions League... the Bernabeu aso kana carbomb outside before Real Madrid home match...dunno how heng heng nobody nearby so zero casualties... if any fans really kana killed, those vermin dunno how a hooligan backlash is like...even the organised terrprists will find them and lynch them.

Some of the Palestinian terror leadership are Man U fans... Osmama is of course a well known Arsenal fan who even attended some Highbury matches (I think he usually sat at the Clock End stand)...

Any fool who targets a football match has no idea the size of a hooligan retaliation....:mad: :eek:

guoquanyap
21-04-2004, 02:14 AM
got to win today man....or else we can kiss the 2nd gdbye...:bounce: :bounce:

wadeva_lah
21-04-2004, 05:12 AM
2-0. good win.

GuStA13
21-04-2004, 05:14 AM
dun tink cfc shld deserve to be 2nd with the way they play today!!

wadeva_lah
21-04-2004, 05:20 AM
Originally posted by GuStA13
dun tink cfc shld deserve to be 2nd with the way they play today!! the deciding factor was ambrosio. slow italian crap with short hands.
though morientes goal quite nice, it still cud have been saved if he react faster. third goal, needless to say, a joke.

Ronaldo7
21-04-2004, 07:47 AM
saha's impressive record continues .. sat vs liverpool , live on ESPN 955pm :bounce:

guoquanyap
21-04-2004, 09:55 AM
gary neville score again!!!! :o

RuMmYtUb
21-04-2004, 10:00 AM
Hmm fug, we could've been @ 2nd spot if not for the pompey loss..

but anyways gd 2-0 win, Saha ROX !

RVN
21-04-2004, 12:00 PM
Ya lor, very frustrating, if only we won at pompey. :(

Wow, G Neville 2 goals in his last 3 games. :eek: :D

guoquanyap
21-04-2004, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN

both score when he was the CAptain....:o nvm lah look on the birght side...if chelsea win everton...we will be 3pts behind instead of 1pts liao....

RVN
21-04-2004, 08:07 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson believes Louis Saha and Ruud Van Nistelrooy can rival some of the great strikeforces he has had down the years.

Saha was the star of an above average United display in Tuesday night's 2-0 win against Charlton.

The £12.8million signing from Fulham might have netted before being presented with his best chance by David Bellion's neat pass just before the half hour mark, which he finished by belting under Dean Kiely's body.

It was his seventh goal in 11 appearances since moving north and there is the promise of plenty more to come from the Frenchman.

"Because they have both had injuries, they have only had five games together," said Ferguson.

"That is eight goals now, which shows what a goal threat they are."

http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/152976/.html

leo_llw
21-04-2004, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN

maybe he wun be scoring again for the next 3 years :D

rethel
21-04-2004, 10:22 PM
**** man u. when i bet man u win against portsmouth they lost when i bet they lose against chalton they win. i shall not support u all anymore

cutter
21-04-2004, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by rethel
**** man u. when i bet man u win against portsmouth they lost when i bet they lose against chalton they win. i shall not support u all anymore

wah u good...punter tend to favour home team but u diedie wager on away team...

LiquidSilver
21-04-2004, 11:37 PM
If fergie puts forlan n g.neville up front, who'll have a better strike rate:o

Seals
21-04-2004, 11:39 PM
maybe he need $$$ to pao ang bao for ruud's wedding in june or july???

guoquanyap
21-04-2004, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by LiquidSilver
If fergie puts forlan n g.neville up front, who'll have a better strike rate:o

:alien: :alien:

wadeva_lah
22-04-2004, 12:30 AM
its abt time man utd got another striker aint it?

tianwei
22-04-2004, 12:34 AM

only love Man Utd coz help you earn money....fark off!We don't need fans like you!!:mad:

Ch3tah_39
22-04-2004, 12:51 AM

:rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
22-04-2004, 12:55 AM
this sat against liverpool...impt.. cnnt lose or even

cutter
22-04-2004, 10:11 AM
Stupid idiot... the comments were broadcast to Arab viewers some more.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1200319,00.html

Race slur costs Ron Atkinson job

Ian Prior
Thursday April 22, 2004
The Guardian

Ron Atkinson, the ITV football pundit, yesterday resigned after racist comments about the Chelsea player Marcel Desailly were broadcast around the world.
The remarks, made when viewers in Britain were watching post-match analysis of the Monaco v Chelsea champions league semi-final first leg match, were broadcast in several places in the Middle East, including Dubai and Egypt.

Referring to the underwhelming performance of the French defender, Atkinson said: "He's what is known in some schools as a ****ing lazy thick nigger." Atkinson's conversation was picked up by microphones that should have been switched off once the broadcast from the stadium had concluded.

Atkinson, 65, had made a successful career as a media commentator, having been manager of a number of clubs, most famously Manchester United, West Bromwich Albion and Atletico Madrid. While at Old Trafford he won two FA Cups.

An ITV spokesman said: "We don't in any way condone the comments in question, which were not broadcast as part of ITV's coverage but were made in an off-air conversation after the game. It was a regrettable lapse by a respected and experienced broadcaster.

"We have discussed the situation with Ron Atkinson who is devastated and very sorry for any offence caused. He immediately offered his resignation which we have accepted."

Atkinson also has a weekly column and tactical chalkboard in the Guardian. A spokesman for the Guardian said last night: "We take this matter extremely seriously and will be talking to Ron Atkinson at the earliest opportunity."

Atkinson said last night: "I made a stupid mistake which I regret. It left me no option but to resign. At the moment I can't believe I did it. If you look at my track record as a manager, I was one of the first managers in the game to give black players a chance."

leo_llw
22-04-2004, 12:54 PM
Apologize no use lah.

Bloody racist. :(

RVN
22-04-2004, 01:51 PM
I heard it!

After Chelsea lost the commentators put their mics down but you could still hear them talking to each other because the live feed stays on for a while over here. Anyway there was a conversation between him and the pundit and this is what was said by them.

"Why the f**k did he bring on f**king Veron!" - Ron
"Hes gonna get slaughtered in the press tomorow" - ?
"And rightly so!" - Ron
"The Desailly is a dirty f**king cheater too. What a lazy git. He is what is known in some schools as a lazy, big N***er." - Ron

Oh dear Ron, should have kept your mouth shut. :alien:

uRiZEn
22-04-2004, 11:39 PM
Brazil defender Lucio wants to leave Bundesliga club Bayer Leverkusen at the end of the season.

The 25-year-old has a contract with the 2002 Champions League finalists until 2007 but said he felt it was time for a new challenge.

'I want to make the next step in my career and I think it's better for me to leave Leverkusen as soon as possible,' Lucio told Thursday's issue of German soccer magazine Kicker.

Lucio, who has been at Leverkusen since 2001, said he would be interested in playing for Manchester United, AC Milan, Juventus, Real Madrid or Barcelona. He said he would also consider a move to Bayern Munich, who have a defence problem and have expressed an interest.

A reliable central defender with technical skills and a set-piece expert, Lucio was a member of Brazil's 2002 World Cup-winning squad.

If he come Man u shiok siah.

stam
23-04-2004, 12:21 AM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Brazil defender Lucio wants to leave Bundesliga club Bayer Leverkusen at the end of the season.

The 25-year-old has a contract with the 2002 Champions League finalists until 2007 but said he felt it was time for a new challenge.

'I want to make the next step in my career and I think it's better for me to leave Leverkusen as soon as possible,' Lucio told Thursday's issue of German soccer magazine Kicker.

Lucio, who has been at Leverkusen since 2001, said he would be interested in playing for Manchester United, AC Milan, Juventus, Real Madrid or Barcelona. He said he would also consider a move to Bayern Munich, who have a defence problem and have expressed an interest.

A reliable central defender with technical skills and a set-piece expert, Lucio was a member of Brazil's 2002 World Cup-winning squad.

yeah...partner rio!!

guoquanyap
23-04-2004, 12:37 AM

yeah lucio will be great!! but chances are very very slim.....:(

OKK77
23-04-2004, 01:03 AM

I'm sorry we have made you look like a retard. (-;

RuMmYtUb
23-04-2004, 09:13 AM
Rio-Lucio pair up song song gao jurong!

leo_llw
23-04-2004, 10:53 AM
Rio-Lucio pair up song song gao jurong!
U guys might have "song" to the EPL title this year if you guys have not get rid of STAM.

Imagine STAM and Rio :D

RVN
23-04-2004, 12:31 PM
Manchester United have dismissed suggestions that Roy Keane and Rio Ferdinand will leave Old Trafford this summer as ``absolute nonsense''.

There has been speculation that the two players could be set to move on, with various reports linking Keane with a move to boyhood heroes Celtic, while Ferdinand is a supposed transfer target for Chelsea.

Keane's previously close relationship with Sir Alex Ferguson has recently come under question following the veteran midfielder's return to the Irish international scene, although the United boss has said publicly that he is `100%' behind the move.

However, both players are still under contract at United, and Keane's representative Michael Kennedy this week suggested his client would see out the remaining two years of his deal.

Ferdinand is not eligible to play anyway until September 20 after being handed an eight-month ban for failing to take a random drugs test at United's Carrington training ground last season.

And United, who normally refuse to comment on any transfer rumours surrounding their players, have on this occasion moved quickly to reject the story.

``The club has read today's newspaper reports and it is absolute nonsense,'' said a statement on their official website.

``Manchester United continues to concentrate on finishing the league and preparing and looking forward to the FA Cup final.''

HANDS OFF FROM OUR LADS! :alien:

chyehock
23-04-2004, 12:46 PM
If got stam i don't think they will buy rio

Originally posted by leo_llw

U guys might have "song" to the EPL title this year if you guys have not get rid of STAM.

RVN
23-04-2004, 12:53 PM
Eagles Inspires Reserve Victory

United Reserves 2
Newcastle Reserves 1
From Moss Lane

United’s reserves finished the season in winning style with a 2-1 win over Newcastle on Wednesday, completing a sixteen-match unbeaten run.

It took United’s second-string and promising young midfielder Chris Eagles just 30 seconds to take the lead at Moss Lane.

In the first attack of the game, Ben Collett’s ball forward found David Poole, who’s delightful flicked pass fell neatly into the path of 18-year-old Eagles. The United youngster coolly slotted the ball past Adam Bartlett in goal for the Magpies.

Eagles, one of the finest prospects emerging from United’s current crop of young players, almost extended the Reds’ lead with a superb passing move moments later.

Eagles and reserve debutantes Floribert N’Galula and Ritchie Jones, both 17, played some delightful one-touch football in the midfield before Eagles broke through on goal.

The Hemel Hempstead-born midfielder’s volley skimmed the crossbar. It wouldn’t have counted as the linesman’s flag was raised, but the good football was a promising sign of things to come from a talented group of teenagers.

Newcastle weren't without chances of their own. Substitute Richard Offiong went close for the visitors, volleying wide early in the second half.

But, it was United who made the next contribution to the scoreline. Reds sub Ramon Calliste was brought down in the area by Magpies defender Peter Ramage.

Captain for the night Chris Eagles stepped up to blast in his second of the night on the 70-minute mark.

Despite a late scare from Newcastle - Andy Ferrell skipped through the home side's defence to make it 2-1 – United held firm to end the season on a high.

The Reds were defeated only once in 16 matches during a fantastic end-of-season run of results.

United line-up: Heaton; Picken, Howard, Spector, Hogg; Jones, N’Galula, Eagles, Collett; Poole, Cooper.
Subs from: Blake, Jowsey, Calliste, Neumayr, Simpson.

Report by Ben Hibbs.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=58694&itype=466&icategoryid=120

uRiZEn
23-04-2004, 03:31 PM
Wow...hope Fergie will promote Eagles to the senior team asap.

RuMmYtUb
23-04-2004, 06:15 PM
*RuMmYtUb's curse mode on*

Tmr i pick liverpool to win :D

*RuMmYtUb's curse mode off*

Ch3tah_39
23-04-2004, 06:52 PM
C.Eagles is gd.. i think man utd mid abit crowded wor.....
i dun think eagles will hav chance to play in first team for the time being....:)

StormTrooper
23-04-2004, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
C.Eagles is gd.. i think man utd mid abit crowded wor.....
i dun think eagles will hav chance to play in first team for the time being....:)

just get rid of some ineffective midfielder can liao.........

RVN
23-04-2004, 07:22 PM
Originally posted by StormTrooper

just get rid of some ineffective midfielder can liao.........

Butt maybe, tough really for Eagles, too many central midfielder in our team.

Keane
Kleberson
Phil Neville
Fletcher
Scholes
Butt
Djemba Djemba
Liam Miller

No space for Eagles? :(

uRiZEn
23-04-2004, 08:16 PM
Mabbe he can play right side.
In CM his position is attackin mid center/right.

stam
23-04-2004, 08:18 PM

STAM ...me ah? :laugh:

OKK77
23-04-2004, 09:32 PM
Mabbe he can play right side.
In CM his position is attackin mid center/right.

Eagles is supposed to be on the right actually. Fletcher should be in the middle.

RuMmYtUb
23-04-2004, 10:06 PM
Fletcher's more effective in central, he's playing style more Scholes-like, all about vision and accurate passing, no pace and not very gd crossing...

Eagles is a flank player, hope to see him prosper..

RVN
23-04-2004, 10:28 PM
MANCHESTER, England, April 23 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson expects Arsenal to wrap up the title this weekend but still considers Saturday's match against Liverpool hugely important.

Arsenal will depose United as champions if they beat against Tottenham Hotspur and Chelsea fail to win at Newcastle United so Ferguson's team will effectively be playing for second place.

Third-placed United trail Chelsea by a point with four games to play, one of them a home fixture against the Londoners, and so could still finish runners-up behind Arsenal and claim an automatic entry into the Champions League.

"Liverpool, to my mind, are our fiercest rivals, it's one of the most intense games in the calendar and for the request for tickets it's my worst day," Ferguson said on Friday.

"If we win games there is going to be a big chance for us. People keep pointing to the Chelsea game as the decider for second place.

"But if we lose the previous games it doesn't become the decider, so winning against Liverpool and Blackburn next week is very important to us."

United also have the FA Cup final against first division Millwall to look forward to, but defender John O'Shea said finishing second was still their priority.

"It's of massive importance," he said. "You want to show if you're not the best team in the league you're the second best team, and for Manchester United that's very important.

"(The Cup final) is in the back of your mind because everyone is hoping to play in it, but we know it's such an importance to get the second spot for us, because we don't want to have the ... qualifier for the Champions League."

Liverpool also have Champions League aspirations, but following a poor season can only make it by finishing fourth in the table. Ferguson thinks their manager Gerard Houllier has been unfairly criticised.

"I think Gerard has had too many injuries this season," the Scot said. "When you get that it's unrealistic to assess it really properly. I think if all his players were fit, Liverpool would be in a better position."

United have a near clean bill of health for Saturday's game, with only Diego Forlan (Achilles) and Quinton Fortune (knee) absent.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, P Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fletcher, Butt, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, Saha, Van Nistelrooy, Kleberson, Solskjaer, , Bellion.

OKK77
23-04-2004, 10:37 PM
Take a look at this (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=manchester+united) if you can take it with some sense of humour. It will make your blood boil otherwise.

RVN
23-04-2004, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
Take a look at this (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=manchester+united) if you can take it with some sense of humour. It will make your blood boil otherwise.

knn, that really pathetic and childish remarks at us. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
23-04-2004, 10:58 PM

Stoopid losers!

OKK77
23-04-2004, 11:27 PM
Ah, cool down, dudes. Every great team is bound to be hated anyway.

And this (http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_6189.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=1024&hei=768&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg) is something that pool fans will be fuming at.

guoquanyap
23-04-2004, 11:52 PM
Referee Graham Poll misses Manchester United's game against Liverpool with injury after angering Sir Alex Ferguson with claims about players' diving.

Poll mentioned United defender Gary Neville when discussing problems of players trying to con referees.

But referees' manager Keith Hackett insists the two are not linked.

He said: "United have never asked for Graham to be replaced and nor would I have expected them to. He explained he has a thigh muscle problem."

Hackett also issued an apology to Ferguson, who was fuming about Poll's remarks.

He said: "If Alex has been offended by any comments then he has my personal apology.

"I had no concerns about Graham taking control of the game. He is a world-class referee.

"Graham, unfortunately, has just said something in a way that has been taken out of context."

Poll misses Man Utd clash

RVN
24-04-2004, 02:07 AM
Ah, cool down, dudes. Every great team is bound to be hated anyway.

And this (http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_6189.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=1024&hei=768&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg) is something that pool fans will be fuming at.

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

wadeva_lah
24-04-2004, 05:25 AM
let butt go for goodness sake. :rolleyes:
dun ruin his career like that...

Ronaldo7
24-04-2004, 02:24 PM
sad to see him go , but man utd really got quite a number of players fighting for the 2 central spots liao . lets see how miller perform next season :)

Ronaldo7
24-04-2004, 02:28 PM
United offer banned Ferdinand a pay rise to head off Chelsea

Manchester United have offered a new contract to Rio Ferdinand to fight off growing interest from Chelsea which is likely to manifest itself with an official bid from Stamford Bridge at the end of the season, possibly with Damien Duff used as bait in a player-plus-cash exchange.
Chelsea have made enquires already about Ferdinand's rumoured willingness to return to London, via his agent Pini Zahavi, but United have scorned their advances and now want the suspended central defender to commit himself to improved terms, with a weekly salary of around £90,000, until 2009.

The irony will not be lost on United's supporters at the end of a season in which Ferdinand's missed drugs test and subsequent eight-month ban has contributed so much to their imminent surrender of the Premiership title, but Sir Alex Ferguson said last night that the England defender deserves his pay rise.

"We've been discussing it with his agent," said Ferguson, a close ally of Zahavi's. "He's only 24 and he could realistically play for us at the highest level for another 12 to 14 years. I think his form has been magnificent. You don't realise just how good a player he is until he's not there. To me, he's been terrific."

Ferguson's willingness to secure Ferdinand's future stems from knowledge that Zahavi also has close ties with Roman Abramovich at Chelsea as well as the London club's chief executive Peter Kenyon, and that, along with Real Madrid, they are probably the only club in Europe with the riches to prise him away from Old Trafford.

With Marcel Desailly likely to be moved on this summer, a centre-half is high on Chelsea's list of priorities, and it has been made clear to Ferdinand's advisers that he has admirers at Stamford Bridge.

Duff 's potential availability would almost certainly interest Ferguson, who was priced out of bidding for the Irishman when he moved from Blackburn to Chelsea for £17m last summer, but United's manager described the idea that he would be tempted to sell Ferdinand as "the biggest load of rubbish I have ever heard".

He went on to praise Ferdinand for the manner in which he has handled the stigma of being banned from playing until September 20.

"He's done really well because it's not been easy at all for him," said Ferguson. "He's had a week's holiday but apart from that he has been training every day and doing a lot of charity work. The way I've tried to approach it with him is to pretend he's injured."

guoquanyap
24-04-2004, 02:38 PM
bring on liverpool!! :bounce: :bounce: going to overtake chelsea today to get the 2nd spot!... 4-0 scoreline again? :D

Ronaldo7
24-04-2004, 02:40 PM
unlikely . a win will be good enough ;)

RVN
24-04-2004, 03:37 PM
Alex Ferguson is planning an extraordinary shake-up at Manchester United and is ready to make Rio Ferdinand club captain in place of Roy Keane.

The United manager wants to give his team fresh impetus after a disappointing season and has told colleagues he has identified the promotion of Ferdinand, 25, as his best option.

The move is bound to be controversial because Ferdinand is serving a suspension for failing to provide a sample for a routine drugs test. But the England defender proved himself an inspirational skipper at Leeds and West Ham and Ferguson has now recognised those qualities.

How Keane will respond remains to be seen and might raise further questions about his Old Trafford future. At this stage there are no plans for Keane to leave this summer.

A club statement dismissed reports to the contrary as "nonsense" this week and sources close to Keane, 32, said he is determined to fulfil the remaining two years of a contract that has established him as the club's best-paid player on £100,000-a-week.

Suggestions that Ferguson and Keane had a bitter dispute over the Irishman's decision to come out of international retirement are also inaccurate. They discussed the issue at length and he received his manager's reluctant blessing.

Keane has conceded he will eventually need a hip replacement but believes he can cope with the added playing demands, while Ferguson has simply decided to let Keane discover for himself that he will struggle.

The fact remains that Keane already needs opportunities to rest and bringing in a younger captain should ensure more continuity. Ferguson took a similar decision when he replaced Bryan Robson with Steve Bruce.

Making Ferdinand skipper should also guarantee that his £29m defender remains committed to United when there is persistent talk of a move to Chelsea. Negotiations have begun to extend his contract until 2009 and Ferdinand said this week: "United have supported me through the missed drug test problem. Playing for them is better than I imagined and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else."

Ferdinand cannot return until his ban ends on September 20, but Ferguson is aware of his value. Prior to his suspension United had the Premiership's best defensive record. In his absence, the season has been a relative disaster.

Ferguson will want Keane to stay because he remains an inspirational figure - a player unafraid to speak his mind. Only recently, it is understood, he tore into Ruud van Nistelrooy because he felt the Dutch striker was not doing himself justice.

At the same time, Ferguson realises he needs to start searching for a successor to Keane in central midfield. Liam Miller, the youngster signed from Celtic, is seen as one for the future, while Ferguson fears it will prove impossible to buy the player he really wants to take over from Keane: Liverpool's Steven Gerrard.

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=51111&seg=EPL&teamid=

Dun think Keane will be happy with that, hes getting old though, a matter of time before he retires from football. :(

RVN
24-04-2004, 04:06 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1210164.jpg

The agent of Manchester United star Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has dismissed media speculation that the Norwegian could be heading for Celtic during the summer.
Press reports had suggested that the SPL champions were considering a swoop for the Norwegian international as a replacement for departing Swede Henrik Larsson.

However, Jim Solbakken denied the speculation, claiming it was merely mischief-making on behalf of the media.

"That is just nonsense. Ole Gunnar is going nowhere, he is a Manchester United player and will always be so," said Solbakken.

"I have spoken with a lot of people, but there is nothing concrete. There's no truth in it at all."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1132498,00.html

guoquanyap
24-04-2004, 04:08 PM
rio or gary neville will be my prefernce captain....either one will do...

cutter
24-04-2004, 04:18 PM
wah lau. 'Eagles' here 'Eagles' there... remind me of 'Hotel California' :D .... if Chris Eagles makes it to the big time as a first teamer, I won't be surprised if the Stretford Enders come up with an Eagles-themed song for him :D

Ronaldo7
24-04-2004, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Alex Ferguson is planning an extraordinary shake-up at Manchester United and is ready to make Rio Ferdinand club captain in place of Roy Keane.

The United manager wants to give his team fresh impetus after a disappointing season and has told colleagues he has identified the promotion of Ferdinand, 25, as his best option.

The move is bound to be controversial because Ferdinand is serving a suspension for failing to provide a sample for a routine drugs test. But the England defender proved himself an inspirational skipper at Leeds and West Ham and Ferguson has now recognised those qualities.

How Keane will respond remains to be seen and might raise further questions about his Old Trafford future. At this stage there are no plans for Keane to leave this summer.

A club statement dismissed reports to the contrary as "nonsense" this week and sources close to Keane, 32, said he is determined to fulfil the remaining two years of a contract that has established him as the club's best-paid player on £100,000-a-week.

Suggestions that Ferguson and Keane had a bitter dispute over the Irishman's decision to come out of international retirement are also inaccurate. They discussed the issue at length and he received his manager's reluctant blessing.

Keane has conceded he will eventually need a hip replacement but believes he can cope with the added playing demands, while Ferguson has simply decided to let Keane discover for himself that he will struggle.

The fact remains that Keane already needs opportunities to rest and bringing in a younger captain should ensure more continuity. Ferguson took a similar decision when he replaced Bryan Robson with Steve Bruce.

Making Ferdinand skipper should also guarantee that his £29m defender remains committed to United when there is persistent talk of a move to Chelsea. Negotiations have begun to extend his contract until 2009 and Ferdinand said this week: "United have supported me through the missed drug test problem. Playing for them is better than I imagined and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else."

Ferdinand cannot return until his ban ends on September 20, but Ferguson is aware of his value. Prior to his suspension United had the Premiership's best defensive record. In his absence, the season has been a relative disaster.

Ferguson will want Keane to stay because he remains an inspirational figure - a player unafraid to speak his mind. Only recently, it is understood, he tore into Ruud van Nistelrooy because he felt the Dutch striker was not doing himself justice.

At the same time, Ferguson realises he needs to start searching for a successor to Keane in central midfield. Liam Miller, the youngster signed from Celtic, is seen as one for the future, while Ferguson fears it will prove impossible to buy the player he really wants to take over from Keane: Liverpool's Steven Gerrard.

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=51111&seg=EPL&teamid=

Dun think Keane will be happy with that, hes getting old though, a matter of time before he retires from football. :(

pool did the same thing by replacing hyypia with gerrard . think the main reason is fergie want to keep rio at the club imo :rolleyes:

cracker
24-04-2004, 08:43 PM
in 1995, SAF's reaction to the "double second" blow (runner up to Blackburn in EPL and Everton in FA Cup)...was to sell off Mark Hughes, Paul Ince and Andrei Kanchelski and start off the 96 season with players promoted from the youth team.

rethel
24-04-2004, 09:06 PM
i think darren fletcher got the potential to be captain next season.

OKK77
24-04-2004, 11:55 PM
Played like crap. Lost like crap.

RuMmYtUb
24-04-2004, 11:57 PM
Really missing the penetration from Scholes...

RVN
25-04-2004, 12:01 AM
****kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
there goes the 2nd place, everytime we seem to have a chance to take 2nd spot, we go and lost instead,
damn i don even care about that
i am just upset over losin to ****in scousers

:mad: :mad: :mad:

Ronaldo7
25-04-2004, 12:05 AM
Really missing the penetration from Scholes...

and ruud too . murphy is our jinx :mad:

guoquanyap
25-04-2004, 12:06 AM
when wat can i say...hit the post twice....jus not our day.....

RVN
25-04-2004, 12:12 AM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7

and ruud too . murphy is our jinx :mad:

3 time in a row now I hate the sight of him, Gary knn, from hero to villian. :mad: :mad: :mad:

But this could be a good result in many ways. Gives us a kick up the arse and just confirms we need to sign more quality players in the summer.

RuMmYtUb
25-04-2004, 12:16 AM
Originally posted by RVN

3 time in a row now I hate the sight of him, Gary knn, from hero to villian. :mad: :mad: :mad:

But this could be a good result in many ways. Gives us a kick up the arse and just confirms we need to sign more quality players in the summer.

We've already been kicked up the arse many times this season.. :(

Hope SAF has something on his mind..
current players really CMI..

leslie_lai
25-04-2004, 12:17 AM
Time for a clearout! WoooooooooooHoOoOO!

Ronaldo7
25-04-2004, 12:18 AM
really need another striker to replace the outgoing Forlan and another attacking mid IMO . Away to Blackburn next :(

Ch3tah_39
25-04-2004, 12:21 AM

We've already been kicked up the arse many times this season.. :(

Hope SAF has something on his mind..
current players really CMI..

current player cMI??:eek:
they jus not doing well this season, dun expect them to perform everytime, u expect them to...

who say they cannot make it:mad:
starting of the season, i dun see ppl saying that..

soccer4fc
25-04-2004, 02:05 AM
It's really unbelieveble to see that Man Utd - the richest club of the world - has such an average team. Defensively it's just a disaster and offensively there is no creativity at all. And the team that played today just doesn't have any worldclass players. :rolleyes:

Howard - G.Neville - Brown - Silvestre - O'Shea - Fletcher - Keane - P.Neville - Ronaldo - Saha - Giggs

I don't see any worldclass players Keane and Giggs used to be worldclass, but they're past it, they don't have the impact they used to have. Silvestre is a good player, Saha is a good player. Ronaldo is good too, but very ineffective. One trick is nice, but know where to stop.. In the end he practically always loses the ball, he barely gives a cross and the crosses he does give are hardly arrive where they should. But United just doesn't have any worldclass players. Ruud van Nistelrooy and Scholes weren't playing, that would make the team better offensively, but even with them the team hardly looks impressive.

The richest club of the world should be able to do better

Its a ****ign joke, wtf are the united board not willing to splash out cash on big-name player like madrid and chelsea did. really pathetic. :mad:

guoquanyap
25-04-2004, 08:01 AM
8th lost of the season...losses inculed wolves portmouth and 2 lost at home......:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
25-04-2004, 01:32 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

current player cMI??:eek:
they jus not doing well this season, dun expect them to perform everytime, u expect them to...

who say they cannot make it:mad:
starting of the season, i dun see ppl saying that..

Hmm let's juz say, there's no hunger in them... hope we really can win the FA cup to salvage something..

dredd
25-04-2004, 02:52 PM
well...just hope that Manyoo will come back stronger next season...hope their stingy board start planning and giving SAF a proper 'war chest' for next season....

stam
25-04-2004, 03:45 PM
hope for some clearing up in the summer..:mad:

cutter
25-04-2004, 04:49 PM
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_107890.shtml

Ronaldo: I'll stick with Beckham
Sunday April 25 2004

Brazilian striker Ronaldo has vowed to follow David Beckham from club to club.

England captain Beckham, who has been linked with a move to Chelsea, has made a huge impression on Ronaldo since teaming up with him at Real Madrid.

"It is my dream to play in the Premiership and it would be perfect if it was with David. If that place is Chelsea - very good," Ronaldo told the News of the World. "I will ask for David's opinion. I can't think of anybody who knows more about football in England than him."

He added: "I can assure you that David and I will play together in the same side for many years to come. I will go wherever he goes."

<wah Becks so charming.... all the charbo fall for his charms...now the Buck-Toothed Phenom aso tio his charms... vow to follow in sickness and in health.... till death do they part :D >

RVN
25-04-2004, 04:52 PM
Manchester United are preparing a £7million bid for Leeds striker Alan Smith, The People claims.

Alex Ferguson has made Smith his top summer target and will make his move if Leeds are relegated.

The Manchester United boss admits it will be battle to convince Smith to leave his boyhood club for their biggest rivals, the paper says.

http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_932939.html?menu=sport.football

RVN
25-04-2004, 04:58 PM
8th lost of the season...losses inculed wolves portmouth and 2 lost at home......:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Too many **** losses to lowly team this season. :mad:

Wolves, City, Pompey, Saints, Fulham, even dropped points at home to Leeds too. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
25-04-2004, 05:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United are preparing a £7million bid for Leeds striker Alan Smith, The People claims.

Alex Ferguson has made Smith his top summer target and will make his move if Leeds are relegated.

The Manchester United boss admits it will be battle to convince Smith to leave his boyhood club for their biggest rivals, the paper says.

http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_932939.html?menu=sport.football

Shiok, clear Poorlan, in comes Smith...

RvN, Smith, Saha, Ole.... no more striking fears..

but now we need more creative midfielders and a strong centre back..

cutter
25-04-2004, 05:28 PM
aiya... want to chance on a possible bargain can move during May to sign pre-contract or in early close season... wait till Euro 2004 starts, the star performers will add 50% to their price tag esp. if their team goes all the way.

On the other hand... it is safer to wait until after the tournament... you may end up with a 10mil+ pounds El-Hadji Diouf by rushing too quickly :D

RVN
25-04-2004, 05:32 PM
Its not all doom and gloom.

We've made quite a few changes this season- selling Becks and Veron, loaning Barthez, adding 5 players, 7 if you include Fletcher and Saha.
Thats 3 experienced players out and 7 new players in, quite a change to the squad. Next seaon they should be more settled.

Sir Alex definately wants to add some creativity to the sqaud, we failed on Ronaldinho, enquired after Joaquin, and then moved early for Ronaldo and maybe even Kleberson was an alternative after missing out on Ronnie.
I'd expect us to try for another creative player this Summer. VDV would offer plenty of invention and unpredictability. Heard Juuve are after him, w ehave to make a bid for him soon lah.

I don't see a true heir to Keano in the current ranks, that is an issue. And the team is getting younger, especially midfield; Ronaldo, Fletcher, Djemba, Kleberson, Miller, Eagles so that's something to watch for, as Keano plays less we'll need a strong, Experienced general to lead the midfield.

stam
25-04-2004, 05:56 PM
not buying Ronaldinho is the regret of the season..

i thin peter kenyon already know he going chelsea so he purposely dun help man utd buy him!! :mad:

RVN
25-04-2004, 07:31 PM

Shiok, clear Poorlan, in comes Smith...

RvN, Smith, Saha, Ole.... no more striking fears..

but now we need more creative midfielders and a strong centre back..

We need quality, think we need to be aiming a little bit higher then Alan bloody Smith. :rolleyes:

Someone like Torres, Morenties, Van Der Vaart etc.....

Ronaldo7
25-04-2004, 08:46 PM
don't really agree with you . smith is good , just that he doesn't get the service he needed in a leeds team fighting relegation . his workrate and attitude is really excellent :)

genesis113
25-04-2004, 08:54 PM
maybe follow becks, he can get to know more charbos.
:D

Originally posted by cutter
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_107890.shtml

Ronaldo: I'll stick with Beckham
Sunday April 25 2004

Brazilian striker Ronaldo has vowed to follow David Beckham from club to club.

England captain Beckham, who has been linked with a move to Chelsea, has made a huge impression on Ronaldo since teaming up with him at Real Madrid.

"It is my dream to play in the Premiership and it would be perfect if it was with David. If that place is Chelsea - very good," Ronaldo told the News of the World. "I will ask for David's opinion. I can't think of anybody who knows more about football in England than him."

He added: "I can assure you that David and I will play together in the same side for many years to come. I will go wherever he goes."

<wah Becks so charming.... all the charbo fall for his charms...now the Buck-Toothed Phenom aso tio his charms... vow to follow in sickness and in health.... till death do they part :D >

genesis113
25-04-2004, 08:56 PM
yes, he is superb hard-working and talented player. And he already a premiership player, unlike the newly imported players, he need no time to adapt the pace of EPL.
will be a good buy:)

don't really agree with you . smith is good , just that he doesn't get the service he needed in a leeds team fighting relegation . his workrate and attitude is really excellent :)

leslie_lai
25-04-2004, 08:58 PM
Time for another major reshuffle. :o

G.Neville, Wes Brown, Nicky Butt, Darren Fletcher to go.

Bring in top class substitutes for the above outgoing players.

Right winger, central midfielder(s), central and right defenders should be brought in.

leslie_lai
25-04-2004, 08:58 PM
Forlan is good lah. Just give him more time to prove himself.

leslie_lai
25-04-2004, 09:00 PM
Alan Smith will NOT be a good buy.

What United needs are not hardworking players but players with an attitude and possess that X-factor which is lacking in most of the recent signings except for Christiano Ronaldo.

We need players who are good and play like gangsters!

RVN
25-04-2004, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by leslie_lai
Forlan is good lah. Just give him more time to prove himself.

Let him go lah, nowday we don't even seem him on the bench. ;)

leslie_lai
25-04-2004, 09:03 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Let him go lah, nowday we don't even seem him on the bench. ;)

Just don't sell him to another Premiership club. He'll be back to haunt United. :(

leslie_lai
25-04-2004, 09:06 PM
Nicky Butt will do good elsewhere and he still has ALOT to offer at the highest level. He's been a loyal servant together with Gary Neville but its time to let them go. Gary is no longer the player he once was and Nicky is wasting his career away at United where he isn't even given sufficient appearances.

Ronaldo7
25-04-2004, 11:04 PM
still 1 pt behind chelsea for the 2nd spot :bounce:

RVN
25-04-2004, 11:05 PM
we are once again given a chance for 2nd spot thanks to toon win...please dont throw it away again...we gotta win all our 3 remaining games.

Bugger not throw it away next week again..........:mad:

OKK77
25-04-2004, 11:15 PM
Next game has really become the decider, I guess.

We must not screw up.
We must not screw up. AGAIN!

RuMmYtUb
25-04-2004, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by RVN

We need quality, think we need to be aiming a little bit higher then Alan bloody Smith. :rolleyes:

Someone like Torres, Morenties, Van Der Vaart etc.....

Realistically speaking, players like Torres and van der Vaart wanna play for Man Utd or not ?

Nowadays Man Utd are not like before, it seems like their star attraction is growing dimmer... players tend to opt for chelski.. :mad:

RVN
25-04-2004, 11:52 PM
Why not, but its ****ing hell depend on our board to fork out the cash. They can't be stingy. :mad:

guoquanyap
26-04-2004, 12:07 AM

Realistically speaking, players like Torres and van der Vaart wanna play for Man Utd or not ?

Nowadays Man Utd are not like before, it seems like their star attraction is growing dimmer... players tend to opt for chelski.. :mad:

van der vaart wan to go barca cos of the the dutch connection over there....the dutch connection is very strong....

everyone wan to go chelsea cos they are rich....and when u are rich u can buy anyone, they wan to be in the dream team....

guoquanyap
26-04-2004, 12:10 AM
Next game has really become the decider, I guess.

We must not screw up.
We must not screw up. AGAIN!

8th may will be the day to decide who get the 2nd spot....better not screw up that day especially at home at front of 67000 crowd

Seals
26-04-2004, 08:29 AM
lucky cheesea choke up 3 times together with us. if we won against ports and poohs...6 points liao..

Originally posted by RVN
we are once again given a chance for 2nd spot thanks to toon win...please dont throw it away again...we gotta win all our 3 remaining games.

Bugger not throw it away next week again..........:mad:

RuMmYtUb
26-04-2004, 08:49 AM

8th may will be the day to decide who get the 2nd spot....better not screw up that day especially at home at front of 67000 crowd

8th May my graduation day.. :D
Hope Man Utd can do me proud..

leo_llw
26-04-2004, 09:13 AM

Saw abt 5 games of Torres, including the one Espayol vs A.Madrid. He looks ordinary and I dun think he will be contributing more than Saha though. ;)

RVN
26-04-2004, 03:26 PM
Ruud had a bust-up with Bellion

****ing hell what is happening??...squabble between our own players, get it ****ing sorted out. :mad:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004191062,,00.html

yulee
26-04-2004, 03:33 PM
Time to sell RVN! :D

RVN
26-04-2004, 03:34 PM
Originally posted by yulee
Time to sell RVN! :D

Hope not. :alien:

RuMmYtUb
26-04-2004, 03:59 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ruud had a bust-up with Bellion

****ing hell what is happening??...squabble between our own players, get it ****ing sorted out. :mad:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004191062,,00.html

:(

RVN
26-04-2004, 04:22 PM
I don't believe he leave, I really hope it doesn't end up like bekcs one last season. :(

He say the paper can write whatever things about him leaving whatever nonsense, he is not bothered by it.

http://www.manchesterutd-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=156207

Ronaldo7
26-04-2004, 05:44 PM
seems to me that ruud is frustrated by his recent poor form ? :confused:

RuMmYtUb
26-04-2004, 06:13 PM
If RvN leave Man Utd i won't support this club anymore...

Just kidding.. =p

guoquanyap
27-04-2004, 12:06 AM
seems to me that ruud is frustrated by his recent poor form ? :confused:

well he should be....9 games and 2 goals.....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

OKK77
27-04-2004, 12:21 AM
What do big red words shouting out THE SUN tell us?

Well, yeah, don't f**king buy assumptions, duh! Quarrels happen everywhere.

Souljer
27-04-2004, 12:28 AM
All top strikers will occasionally throw tantrums and get into minor quarrels with their team-mates. Rvn/Bellion & Henry/Lauren. Part and parcel lah.

guoquanyap
27-04-2004, 12:16 PM

8th May my graduation day.. :D
Hope Man Utd can do me proud..

i am away to bali on that day...going to miss that match....:(

tianwei
27-04-2004, 01:00 PM

i am away to bali on that day...going to miss that match....:(

sigh...i wanna go bali after my exams...but haven't book tix,hotels yet....how much per person?

guoquanyap
27-04-2004, 01:15 PM
Originally posted by tianwei

sigh...i wanna go bali after my exams...but haven't book tix,hotels yet....how much per person?

i going 5days 4night $500/per

RVN
27-04-2004, 01:51 PM
What do big red words shouting out THE SUN tell us?

Well, yeah, don't f**king buy assumptions, duh! Quarrels happen everywhere.

Shouldn't have buy it , now they are saying a fall-out between Fergie and Keane and that he is set to join Celtic. :mad:

I suspect a lot of media **** stirring to be honest, Raneiri saga has been and gone, Beckham's affair on both front and back pages also been and pretty much gone, new story needed, can't have anything wrong with saintly arsenal so lets pick a big name and a possible squabble at utd and blow it all out of proportion . :mad: :mad: :mad:

tianwei
27-04-2004, 03:08 PM

i going 5days 4night $500/per

staying where and gg by which airline ar??:D got any travel agencies to reccomend to make bookings?

guoquanyap
27-04-2004, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Shouldn't have buy it , now they are saying a fall-out between Fergie and Keane and that he is set to join Celtic. :mad:

I suspect a lot of media **** stirring to be honest, Raneiri saga has been and gone, Beckham's affair on both front and back pages also been and pretty much gone, new story needed, can't have anything wrong with saintly arsenal so lets pick a big name and a possible squabble at utd and blow it all out of proportion . :mad: :mad: :mad:

well that how earn $$ wah....anyway sometimes their story oso very jucicy.....:D

___jeff
27-04-2004, 08:51 PM
UNITED TRACKING 'THE NEW ZIDANE'
Tuesday 27th April 2004

Ferguson: Ben Arfa interest

Manchester United are one of a number of clubs investigating the possibility of signing Hatem Ben Arfa, a prodigy inevitably being dubbed 'The new Zinedine Zidane'.

The Lyon youngster has attracted attention from a host of top European sides with his stellar displays in an attacking midfield role for the French champions' youth teams.

The 17-year-old trained with the Stade Gerland senior squad at the end of March and spoke of his delight at taking the step up in class.

"What pride," he told l'OL's official website. "This is the goal of an athlete to be a professional one day.

"I always have a lot to learn. I continue to work to progress again and again.

"I am not a future Zidane. I am my own person, simply Hatem.

"I hope to be a good player, to do beautiful things in soccer. Zidane, he is a football legend, this is a level almost unobtainable."

French sources claim Ben Arfa, whose father is Tunisian, has finished his trainee contract with Lyon, and the club are determined to sign him to his first professional deal, although they are fully aware of the rival interest in the teenager.

14 clubs were left disappointed when Ben Arfa chose to join l'OL at 15, and the youngster was annoyed at the time with the way he was viewed by some of his suitors.

"There are clubs that want me for their own interest," he said. "That annoys me."

Ben Arfa is described as a different type of player to the likes of Thierry Henry and Nicolas Anelka. The precocious starlet is small in stature with sensational dribbling ability and a fine footballing brain.

Sir Alex Ferguson is understood to be well aware of Ben Arfa's talents and is monitoring developments closely.

RVN
27-04-2004, 08:51 PM
says it all. :D

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=58986&itype=466&icategoryid=120

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,817570,00.html

Hmm, read the last part linking us with Roberto Carlos. :eek:

guoquanyap
27-04-2004, 08:54 PM
wat so exciting abt carlos....:rolleyes: :rolleyes: so old liao and even o'shea can do a better defending job than him....

RVN
27-04-2004, 09:04 PM
wat so exciting abt carlos....:rolleyes: :rolleyes: so old liao and even o'shea can do a better defending job than him....

might not be true anyway about carlos, at least I think we should sign some well-know players, not just some kids though that need time to groom, a creative midfielder badly needed IMO.

RuMmYtUb
28-04-2004, 09:04 AM
Originally posted by RVN

might not be true anyway about carlos, at least I think we should sign some well-know players, not just some kids though that need time to groom, a creative midfielder badly needed IMO.

Agreed... we need some well-known players and mixed with our home bred ones...
Can't be playing with kids (except for the class of 92)..
next season Giggs and co. are not getting any younger.. :(

RVN
28-04-2004, 10:02 AM
ALEX FERGUSON is set to make an audacious £20m swoop for Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard.

SunSport revealed yesterday Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger had his eye on Gerrard as part of a double transfer move to get him and Chelsea’s John Terry.

But Ferguson will fight to hijack the signature of Gerrard, a player he hugely admires and who can reignite Manchester United’s midfield.

If he gets any inkling the England international is ready to leave, he will use United’s financial might to outbid the Gunners and offer bigger wages for the player.

He knows Gerrard could be the long-term successor to Roy Keane, whose United future is hanging in the balance.

And nothing would delight him more than to thwart Wenger’s plans to add Gerrard to his title-winners.

Ferguson knows the big stumbling block is whether a Liverpool captain would dare move to that club’s most hated rivals.

Gerrard, 23, would risk being forever damned by Kop fans in much the same way Sol Campbell has been by Spurs fans since moving to Arsenal.

But that will not stop Fergie from testing the water and the United board is prepared to back him in one big summer swoop.

United chief executive David Gill knows that they will have to do some strengthening to close the gap on Arsenal.

Gerrard has the perfect blend of youth and experience that appeals to Ferguson.

He has been a Liverpool first-team player for six seasons now and will be a key figure in the England team for this summer’s European Championships.

Wenger yesterday admitted he is looking for the “real gem” who can add sparkle to his riches at Arsenal next season. Gerrard fits that bill.

The Highbury boss said: “The injection of new blood has already started with the arrival of Reyes. But if I can find a real gem, I will make an effort.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004192067,00.html

Hmm.....Most likely it's crap, but we'll see. :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
28-04-2004, 10:49 AM
it will take a brave man to go to a rival club....not to say liverpool to manu....:rolleyes:

but he is gd will be great if we get him....

RuMmYtUb
28-04-2004, 10:57 AM
Apr 28 - Alan Smith paved the way for his reluctant Leeds exit by pleading for understanding from Elland Road fans.

Smith and his advisers held talks with managing director David Richmond yesterday over the England striker's inevitable summer move.

Smith, a long-time Newcastle and Manchester United target, admitted: "I hope everyone understands if I have to leave."

Leeds are privately resigned to losing striker Mark Viduka and goalkeeper Paul Robinson as well as Smith, who may still tempt Birmingham despite Chelsea's decision to let Mikael Forssell stay at St Andrews.

Richmond, likely to be the only board member to remain if millionaire fan Steve Parkin installs a new £20 million regime, said the meeting with Smith was routine.

He said: "Lots of meetings like this take place at this time. There's nothing sinister. It's a chat about what's happening, what Alan wants, and where the club is going."

Newcastle targeted Smith, 23, in the January transfer window, as FootballChannel revealed, and chairman Gerald Krasner has since confirmed that his £40,000-a-week wages will be unsustainable.

Director Peter Lorimer said: "I'm sure the board will do everything in their power to keep Alan. But he has his England career to consider and aspires to win trophies."

Fans have accepted for months that Smith, Leeds' top performer in a miserable season, will leave, though they would prefer him not to go to their arch-rivals at Old Trafford.

Alan Smith (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=51344&seg=EPL&teamid=)

guoquanyap
28-04-2004, 11:07 AM
smith is gd...but dun break the bank for him....

RVN
28-04-2004, 12:42 PM
Manchester United skipper Roy Keane has blamed the loss of the Barclaycard Premiership title to Arsenal on his side's blunders against the division's weaker sides.

United drew both their league games against the runaway champions and famously hammered the first nail into the coffin of their Treble bid when they dumped them out of the FA Cup at the semi-final stage.

However, Sir Alex Ferguson's men have seen Fulham and Middlesbrough win at Old Trafford and have left Southampton, Wolves, Portsmouth and, perhaps most spectacularly, neighbours Manchester City, with nothing to show for their efforts.

"It's no good at all to compete with Arsenal but lose to the smaller teams," admitted Keane in a frank assessment of his club's season. "That is what we have done.

"That's the way it was in the old days. It was the case years ago when United were beating Liverpool but not winning championships - winning the odd FA Cup was seen as a high for the season.

"We don't want to go back to those days. Now, with the way things have changed for us over the last decade, people are talking about it as a consolation prize.

"The players deserve credit for how much we've improved over the last 10 or 15 years, but, it's about being consistent, and you only have to look at the games we have lost."

Rio Ferdinand's ban for failing to present himself for a drugs test has been a major factor in a season in which United still have much for which to play, but Keane is making no excuses.

"It's easy to make excuses, but there has been a lot of negative stuff around the club," he said. "There was the thing with Rio, one or two injuries and suspensions.

"But I don't want to be using that because before the start of every season, you know you are going to have these situations to deal with.

"Fair enough, the Rio situation was a one-off, but you have to adapt to those problems.

"The fact is, the players that have been going out on to the pitch have been good enough, but for one reason or another, we haven't performed consistently.

"What hurts more was the European disappointment, going out to Porto when we fancied our chances. We've got a lot of experience in Europe and yet we just let it slip. Obviously with my sending-off, I should've known better."

United currently lie third in the Premiership table, 11 points adrift of the Gunners, but only one behind Chelsea which means automatic qualification for the Champions League, as well as the FA Cup glory, is within their grasp.

The season could yet end with a bang, although Keane acknowledges that the levels to which the club has raised expectations in recent years mean that even that would not see them escape criticism.

"The biggest positives are that we have battled well this season and one or two of the young lads are coming through," he said.

"Hopefully this season will prove to be a good learning curve for a lot of players here.

"They have learned what it takes to win at United, and that is being consistent week in, week out.

"But, possibly another positive is if we finish second and that is considered a disappointment. If we can finish second and win the FA Cup, it's a great place to be if you look at that as a disappointment.

"You get one or two ex-players looking to criticise when not long ago they were winning the odd FA Cup it was like they had won the World Cup.

"Things have changed, expectations have been raised at this club, all for the good. It's a great thing to have.

"If we can win the FA Cup, people would look at that as a disappointing season. That's the point the club has reached, that is how far the manager, the players and the staff have taken Manchester United.

"Standards have been raised and when we're not doing well, it's a major disaster. That is a healthy attitude.

"You can't be losing games and thinking 'not to worry'. You've got to hurt, you've got to be disappointed. The fans have shown that, and rightly so."

Keane's hunger for success remains undimmed, and after insisting that he is happier than he has ever been to be playing for "the biggest club in the world", he made no bones about his ambitions during the remaining two years of his existing contract despite reports of a rift with Ferguson and interest from Celtic.

"To win as many trophies as possible," he told the cub's official website.

"As a player, I am greedy and selfish in that way.

"As you get older, the seasons seem to go by that bit quicker, so I just want to win as many trophies as I can and stay injury-free, if that's possible.

"To me, it is all about the European Cup and the Premiership. That is what the fans demand and it's a great responsibility for all the players because that is what we are paid to provide.

"When we disappoint, we all suffer, and we've disappointed too many times this season."

http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/153476/.html

leslie_lai
28-04-2004, 02:52 PM
Gerrard! :o:o:o

wadeva_lah
28-04-2004, 03:12 PM
gerrard and smith.
roxor.

Ronaldo7
28-04-2004, 04:22 PM
it will take a brave man to go to a rival club....not to say liverpool to manu....:rolleyes:

but he is gd will be great if we get him....

true . btw , anyone got see Miller in action for Celtic before ? :confused:

Ch3tah_39
28-04-2004, 04:45 PM
smith is gd...but dun break the bank for him....

ya..;)

RVN
28-04-2004, 04:56 PM
Barcelona have warned Manchester United that they have the financial muscle to lure Ruud van Nistelrooy away from Old Trafford in the summer.
Despite the Dutchman's affirmation that he is fully committed to representing the FA Cup finalists, after signing a new contract recently, there have been rumblings in the media that all is not well with the former PSV Eindhoven hot-shot.

Although he appeared in the win over Charlton Athletic, van Nistelrooy then sat out the dreadful performance against Liverpol at the weekend, as concerns continue over his fitness.

The Holland hit-man was seen as 'untouchable' at United but the sale of key man David Beckham last summer has seemingly given hope to both Barca and Real Madrid that they could tempt Sir Alex Ferguson to off-load one of his most important performers.

"The club will be able to invest €50 to €60 million in acquisitions," Barcelona's financial vice-president Ferran Soriano told COM Radio.

"All is possible, even van Nistelrooy.

"There is not any player who is out of our market, only ones that their clubs will not sell, such as (Thierry) Henry, the same as we will not sell Ronaldinho.

"There is a list for three names for each position."

Van Nistelrooy's agent Roger Linse met with Real president Florentino Perez recently, and United fans will be hoping the team do not even consider selling their talismanic striker in the summer.

Meanwhile, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has moved to rubbish speculation that van Nistelrooy had a training ground fight with David Bellion.

The Norwegian feels there is a media campaign designed to attack The Red Devils.

"That is just nonsense," Solskjaer told VG. "Nothing happened and I was also at that training session.

"Somebody seems to be after us."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1132975,00.html

Get lost Barca. :alien:

Ronaldo7
28-04-2004, 08:39 PM
"There is not any player who is out of our market, only ones that their clubs will not sell, such as (Thierry) Henry, the same as we will not sell Ronaldinho.

same for ruud . utd won't sell him =p

RVN
28-04-2004, 09:06 PM
Seem like Barca or Madrid dun derstand he is not for sale either. This is just Spanish paper talk trying to ruffle Man Utd.

If approach did come, tell them to **** off elsewhere. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
28-04-2004, 10:31 PM
Barcelona, we've got something for you :D

http://usuarios.lycos.es/aperot/mayo/peq/****.jpg

Ronaldo7
28-04-2004, 11:42 PM
Ronaldo given Euro warning

Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari has threatened to exclude Cristiano Ronaldo from his European Championship squad.
Scolari is angry after Ronaldo pulled out of training for Wednesday's friendly against Sweden due to injury.

He said: "Cristiano Ronaldo is an unknown for me. I've seen him play more for Manchester United than here.

"I want players who are as keen to play for their country as their club. If you can play with a knock for your club, you can do it for your country."

Scolari said he already had 26 names in his head for a squad of 23 he will announce in mid-May.

guoquanyap
29-04-2004, 12:17 AM

Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari has threatened to exclude Cristiano Ronaldo from his European Championship squad.
Scolari is angry after Ronaldo pulled out of training for Wednesday's friendly against Sweden due to injury.

He said: "Cristiano Ronaldo is an unknown for me. I've seen him play more for Manchester United than here.

"I want players who are as keen to play for their country as their club. If you can play with a knock for your club, you can do it for your country."

Scolari said he already had 26 names in his head for a squad of 23 he will announce in mid-May.

alamak dun exclue him leh....it is a gd experince for him to go euro2004.....

yulee
29-04-2004, 09:55 AM
Duo line up Van Nistelrooy
Manchester United's Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy could leave Old Trafford in the summer to join either Real Madrid or Barcelona in a £30m deal.

Reports suggest the clubs are lining up a move for the 27-year-old and believe United will sell at the right price.

Madrid-based newspaper Marca believes Real have agreed "in principle" with Van Nistelrooy for the transfer.

Barca financial vice-president Ferran Soriano has said it would be possible for them to buy the striker as well.

He revealed: The club will be able to spend £33-40m on acquisitions. All is possible, even Van Nistelrooy."

Van Nistelrooy has previously stated he is not interested in a move away from United, despite the club's disappointing Premiership season.

He signed a new four-year contract in January but has only scored two goals in his last nine United games.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Sigh* :(

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 09:57 AM
I seriously doubt RvN will leave us.
;)

Ronaldo7
29-04-2004, 10:26 AM
barca and real can seriously forget about getting ruud lah . he is NOT for sale , unless ruud got a release clause in his contract which i read from the net which i hope it's not true :)

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 10:54 AM
Reports say Ruud's relationship with Man Utd is strained... after the row with Bellion, and exchanged harsh words with Mike Phielan... :(

OKK77
29-04-2004, 01:23 PM
Reports say Ruud's relationship with Man Utd is strained... after the row with Bellion, and exchanged harsh words with Mike Phielan... :(

Ole rubbished that report lah!

RVN
29-04-2004, 01:31 PM
I wonde why the press keep on saying Ruud to leave us, seem like they are the one that want him to leave, how many time must he said he is going nowhere, Like what Ole has said, someone is out to get us. :mad:

Ch3tah_39
29-04-2004, 01:50 PM

better not exclude him lor.. i hav to agree, will be a great experience for C.ronaldo

cutter
29-04-2004, 01:54 PM
agent play punk mah... the more their clients move around, the more commission they can scoop up. Like Christian Vieri, Anelka and JFH used to jump ship in their earlier years like every year for huge $$$$... their agent hoover up 7-10% of the transfer fee while the players themselves scoop up huge sign-on fees... agents spread rumours and drop hints, the poh sai zua like News of the World and Sun also happy to print... also increase their circulation... everyone earned big $$$ for spreading gossip, and the many of the fans also happy to pay to read aunty gossip... like old women....

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 02:15 PM
Plans for next season, who do u wanna see ?

Striker: Torres/Smith
Midfield: van der Vaart
Defender: Kompany/Lucio/Walter Samuel..

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 02:29 PM
van der vaart, torres, STEVEN GERRARD, walter samuel and jordy reneerkens.

i would not like to see
Forlan, Gary neville, silvestre, roy keane and ryan giggs

hard to swallow? its a fact, these people has to go.
giggs is inconsistant now, utd diehards will say hes too good to miss, i say hes past his prime. Same goes for keano, too old, too injured, too slow. Silvestre, better as a left back, sucks as a centre. Bad decision making when it comes to passing. Gary, getting old, bad decisions, although hardworking, but not enuff spark left in this guy. Forlan, should have be gone for long, its not him, its the manager, doesnt play him much, plus this guy is not like the old ole, who can come out from bench and be effective. Maybe he shd jus cut his hair like crespo, and he'll see the goal better.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 02:36 PM
Originally posted by SebastianKae
STEVEN GERRARD

Very unlikely, but who dun mind seeing him :D

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 02:39 PM
yea, i dont mind seeing him at Utd, then all that talk of Judas, lol

RVN
29-04-2004, 02:41 PM
Out: Forlan, Butt, Fortune to leave

I sincerly hope Keane, Giggs and Ruud don't join them though. :(

In
defender: Trabelsi, Lucio
creative midfielder: Van Der Vaart
striker: Torres

Ronaldo7
29-04-2004, 03:05 PM
Plans for next season, who do u wanna see ?

Striker: Torres/Smith
Midfield: van der Vaart
Defender: Kompany/Lucio/Walter Samuel..

smith , van der vaart & kompany . young and excellent :eek:

but utd gonna face competition from ..

newcastle / liverpool - smith

juventus / barcelona - van der vaart

chelsea - kompany

hope we won't face another ronaldinho transfer saga like last season . :mad:

cracker
29-04-2004, 03:11 PM
I cant recall any Liverpool player joinning MU....

But from other clubs, we have the following

Arsenal ......Frank Stapleton
Leeds.........Gordon Strachan, Gordon McQueen, Eric Cantona & Rio Ferdinand
Man City.....Peter Barnes
Ipswich......Alan Brazil.

The above left their previous at their prime except for Peter Barnes and Alan Brazil.

RVN
29-04-2004, 03:13 PM
Our board have to react quickly to seal up the deal for the targets we are after, at least we did got Ronaldo and Saha when there was a bidding war.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 03:20 PM
Hmm seems like u all also like Torres.. :D

If he comes, shiok, Torres vs Reyes.

Both the brightest talens from Spain..

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 03:26 PM
i like the current situation now, minimal linkups with players, even when some surface, they disappear as fast. THis is crucial if we were to sign any players of quality becuz our dear peter-roman tag team is playing the tag game with utd when it comes to buying players.

RVN
29-04-2004, 03:34 PM
I hate to imagine this but if the worst case scenario happens and Ruud does leave, all I can say is....PLEASE let us have someone lined up AND signed before we let him go. The last thing I want is another Ronaldinho saga, where after letting a world class player go, we don't sign our top target and end up only with squad players and players for the future.

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 03:38 PM
i agree. we dont need a world class replacement, ruud was practically unknown when he came to utd, we need that sort of replacement.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 03:52 PM
Yes, i love the situation now too... Ronaldo came and it was all quiet b4...

Quieter the better, den suddenly we swop for TORRES and van der VAART ! :D

But anyways RvN was to leave, i hope someone worthy to replace him... RvN was not plucked from obsecurity.. he was a potential player back den, anyways now he's not yet a finished article, the best of him is yet to come next season.. :evil:

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 04:03 PM
they shd hire hardcore cm players like us to be their transfer advisors. players like van der vaart, van persie, carlos tevez and robben were all scouted by us too before they even come to the limelight. like i said, this player, jordy reneerkens from roda fc will be the next big thing after robben and van der vaart. alex ferguson, if u see this, i expect u to thank me if u manage to sign this gem.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 04:14 PM
:laugh: :laugh:

Yaya, i got to know all those potential gems from CM too..
Like Saviola and Aimar years back, now they're :eek:

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 04:20 PM
lol, yea, figo too. i was still so young when i put figo as my irc nick and people in the channel ask who the hell is he.
there are somemore, Bengul-henrique-dombaxe. long name sia. ah, arsene wenger, i expect to see at least an ashburton grove game in the future.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 04:28 PM
Apr 29 - Ruud van Nistelrooy was today strongly linked with a £30 million summer move to either Real Madrid or Barcelona.

According to reports in Spain, the Dutch striker's representative, Roger Linse, has met with Real president Florentino Perez in the Spanish capital in the last fortnight to discuss a move to the Bernabeu.

Senior Real sources claim van Nistelrooy has confirmed his interest and a move has been agreed "in principle".

The meeting took place two days after it was confirmed that Linse had discussed his client with Barcelona president Joan Laporta.

Disconcertingly for United, it appears that their prize asset is being used as a pawn in the Real presidential elections to be held in the summer, when Perez will bid to hold on to his position.

David Beckham's transfer to Madrid last summer was triggered by the Barcelona presidential election, which Laporta won largely on the back of a conditional agreement with United to sign the England captain.

The revelation of the meeting between Linse and Perez will concern United, who have insisted van Nistelrooy is happy at United.

In the two-hour meeting last week, Perez is said to have declared "van Nistelrooy will be our player" before concluding the detailed talks with Linse over a £100,000-a-week deal.

Real's sporting director Jorge Valdano made no secret of their interest in the Dutchman last week when he said: "I ask you - who would not want to sign him?"

Barcelona's financial vice-president Ferran Soriano said: "We will be able to spend £33-40m on acquisitions. All is possible, even van Nistelrooy."

The 27-year-old has scored 106 goals in 142 games for United and signed a new, five-year deal worth £80,000 a week in January.

But he has not scored a Premiership goal since 11 February and there have been a series of off-the-field incidents.

He angered Sir Alex Ferguson by claiming the side missed Beckham's influence and was promptly dropped for the next game, against Fulham. There have also been been reported clashes with teammates Roy Keane and David Bellion.

I hope it's crap (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=51508&seg=EPL&teamid=)

RVN
29-04-2004, 04:41 PM
It sure is crap. when can barca, madrid or the annoying press ge this into their head that he is not for sale.:mad:

Manchester United have reiterated their stance that Ruud van Nistelrooy is not for sale.

Despite repeated denials from both the club and the player, there has been a fresh round of speculation linking the 27-year-old striker with a move away from Old Trafford.

Amid rumours of rows with Sir Alex Ferguson, Roy Keane and David Bellion, Spanish giants Barcelona and Real Madrid are both reported to have met Van Nistelrooy's agent Rodger Linse to discuss a possible summer transfer.

Yet twice within the last week, the Dutchman has stated he is going nowhere and United officials have been exasperated at the latest speculation, once again insisting the £18.5million signing from PSV Eindhoven will not be moving on.

"Ruud is not for sale," said a United spokesman. "We have said this consistently, so I don't know what more we can do.

"He signed a new contract in January and has said himself over the last few days that he wants to stay with the club."

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 04:43 PM
have this sneaky feeling that either figo or a striker from real will be in a exhcnage for ruud.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by SebastianKae
have this sneaky feeling that either figo or a striker from real will be in a exhcnage for ruud.

ask Figo to F off man, if it was like 4 years ago still can..
anyway, if it's Solari + Ronaldo or Solari + Morientes.. i dun mind.. :love:

SebastianKae
29-04-2004, 04:56 PM
that will be the best arrangement. lol solari+ronaldo for ruud.

leo_llw
29-04-2004, 07:14 PM
No link. Written by JJ_Batchelor in Sammyboy
===================================

Arsenal have won their second Premiership title in three years(or third in seven years depending on how you look at it). And they have done so without having been beaten in 34 matches. An accomplishment that would probably never be surpassed, just like United's treble (the real one) of 1999, which proved elusive for Arsenal.
United and Chelsea have been hanging on to their coattails since late February. Sitting on a comfy seven point lead and with United and Chelsea stuttering, Arsenal had it easy going into the home stretch. When United dumped them out of the FA Cup, their treble dream vanished. And when Chelsea did the same to them in the Champions League, the stage was set for another spectacular collapse of the 2002/03 variety.

With key players looking jaded and not much quality backup to call upon, the last thing they would have wanted was back to back fixtures against Liverpool and Newcastle, two teams vying for the crucial fourth place. When Sami Hyypia gave Liverpool an early lead, most people's mind would have immediately flashed back to last season when Harry Kewell scored a spectacular volley inside 5 minutes for Leeds. But history was not about to repeat itself.

Liverpool had asked questions but one man provided all the answers. The irrepressible Thierry Henry, who had been subdued in the previous 4 games, put in a masterclass to single handedly destroy a poor Liverpool defence. One of the goals he scored is a contender for goal of the season. The Frenchman, renowned for using his pace to get behind defenders, proved that he's not only about speed. With a mixture of guile and close control, he slalomed past four players before passing the ball into the net.

Arsenal came away with four points from the two games and put paid to any hopes of United or Chelsea catching them. But this article isn't about glorifying Arsenal further.

As much as Arsenal have bewildered all of us with an intoxicating mixture of speed & power, I wonder how much of it was contributed by the quality of the Premiership, whom Sky Sports have us believe is the best in Europe.

Another question should be raised:

Was the lack of a real title challenge from my beloved Manchester United, the deposed Champions, the main contributing factor in Arsenal winning the title undefeated and with four games to spare?

It's been a disastrous season for United. And like all disasters, it's only human nature to point questioning fingers at those in charge. The failure to sustain a title challenge from January and the poor performances by Manchester United can be put down to one man: Sir Alex Ferguson.

When David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron departed, United lost two players who used to provide quality service into the box. Sure, United had the prolific Ruud van Nistelrooy. But it's no secret that the Dutchman can't carve out his own goalscoring chances. He needed players around him to provide the bullets.

The Brazilian Ronaldinho, was Ferguson's number one transfer target but the United board, the same board which dished out £30 million for Rio Ferdinand, thought £20 million was too much money for a player untested in Europe. He went to F.C. Barcelona instead. Ferguson must have had many sleepless nights from watching Ronaldinho, who'll no doubt be the eventual heir to Zinedine Zidane, single handedly thrust Barcelona into Championship reckoning in Spain.

With the introduction of Roman Abramovic to the English game, United's long term targets, Joe Cole and Damien Duff joined the other glittering talents already at disposal in Stamford Bridge. To rub salts into the wounds, United CEO Peter Kenyon, the man responsible for manipulating Manchester United's huge marketing appeal, defected to West London to join the Russian Revolution. The repercussion of it was felt only recently when Arjen Robben, the player tracked by Ferguson to eventually succeed Ryan Giggs, pinched from under their noses.

With the fans losing patience over the lack of big name players joining and clubs increasingly holding United to ransom over transfer fees, they paid £12 million to Sporting Lisbon for an eighteen year old winger, Cristiano Ronaldo. Ferguson handed young Ronaldo his debut against Bolton on the opening day of the season and in an instant, the restlessness felt by United followers over the lack of any big name signings were immediately put to rest. “Who needs David Beckham?”, was the cry heard around Old Trafford, albeit prematurely. Because David Beckham HAS been missed and that feeling has been echoed by both van Nistelrooy and Mikael Silvestre. By buying Ronaldo, United had bought the long term successor for Ryan Giggs. But they had failed to purchase a replacement for David Beckham.

Boardroom conflicts, contractual disputes and legal disputes over stud rights aside, the one reason Ferguson has been guilty of is his rotational policy or 'tinkering' as it has become known to many of us.

No less than 11 players from a first team squad of 22 have started 10 games or more in midfield. United have played 24 different permutations in midfield. They have never started the same midfield for more than two games running and even that was for the first two games of the season against Arsenal in the Charity Shield and Bolton at Old Trafford. Ferguson's obligation to spreading games across the entire squad and the insistence on playing players out of position has seen it's effects.

United look a pale shadow of their former selves. Gone is the swagger. Gone is the careful approach play. Gone are the days when United chasing a game was one of footballs finest sight. All they are now is an ugly and boring football team in danger of emulating their Northern neighbours Liverpool.

With United out of the running for the Championship, Chelsea provided the most likeliest challenge but their tinkering caught up with them too. Arsenal have been in cruise control since February. Last season, their 5 point lead was wiped clean by an all conquering United team who kept winning and winning. Under immense pressure, the Gunners cracked. With United unable to string 5 passes together let alone 5 wins this term, Arsenal did not have to break sweat as they jogged to the finishing line without even bothering to take a reassuring look back. And they look capable of running all the way to next seasons finishing line too.
Of utmost concern to United must be the fading powers of inspirational skipper Roy Keane. Approaching his 33rd birthday in a couple of months, the Irish terrier is no longer the force he once was. Keane is a unique player in English football, someone who dominated the game so completely at the peak of his powers that we will probably never see a player like him again. Patrick Vieira might be the best all round midfielder in the world at the moment, but no one has driven a team on like Keane has for United. He dragged the side forward on his own at times. Remember Turin in 1999?

There's no one in the current United team who could quite replace Keane so United should buy from outside and the only player Ferguson sees as a likely replacement, the only player he covets, is impossible to recruit. The modern day version of Duncan Edwards. That player. Liverpool's Steven Gerrard.

RuMmYtUb
29-04-2004, 07:30 PM
Actually i guess most of us won't blame SAF.. he definitely got his reasons of shipping players out, he knows that he needs to re-build his team, he wouldn't wanna end up with some old schools being wacked by others.... instead, now he's building on a growing side to try and challenge for the future, but sure do i hope he signs a few quality/proven/influential players
:D

Yellowfin
29-04-2004, 08:29 PM
Even if Man U didn't sell Veron, this season he won't be of much help too.

He have been injured or unfit since joining Chelsea.

I think the biggest lost is the assistant manager Carlos Queiroz that went to RM.

And the board afraid to pay too much in transfer fees after the Rio transfer saga.

Just my 2 peso.

RVN
29-04-2004, 09:49 PM
Nobody is perfect and neither is Fergie. He has made tactical blunders, selection blunders, positional blunders and transfer blunders but who would you rather have at the helm of the for us - Houllier perhaps, Keegan, Wenger maybe?:eek:

But never mind all that. we've still got the FA cup final and 2nd place to worry about. ;)

guoquanyap
29-04-2004, 11:33 PM
it's nv easy to being a manager of a PLC club like manu....whenever u wan to buy a player...u hav to tell the whole world that who u wan to buy and how much u bid....

not like some club who can buy player sneakly and can even dun disclose the transfer fee in order not to et pressure fr the media....

leo_llw
30-04-2004, 12:15 AM
it's nv easy to being a manager of a PLC club like manu....whenever u wan to buy a player...u hav to tell the whole world that who u wan to buy and how much u bid....

not like some club who can buy player sneakly and can even dun disclose the transfer fee in order not to et pressure fr the medi....
can understand your frustrations and your sacarsm :D

but we cares as long as we get our man... ARSENAL rulez ;)

RuMmYtUb
30-04-2004, 01:23 AM

can understand your frustrations and your sacarsm :D

but we cares as long as we get our man... ARSENAL rulez ;)

tmd :alien: :alien:

:laugh:

guoquanyap
30-04-2004, 01:55 AM
who u think will be the 'Sir Matt Busby Player Of The Year'.....

C.ronaldo has a great chance of winning this yr as he been the fan favourtie since start of the season....that will cap a amazing season for a 19yr old kid....

03 Ruud Van Nistelrooy
• 02 Ruud Van Nistelrooy
• 01 Teddy Sheringham
• 00 Roy Keane
• 99 Roy Keane
• 98 Ryan Giggs
• 97 David Beckham
• 96 Eric Cantona
• 95 Andrei Kanchelskis
• 94 Eric Cantona
• 93 Paul Ince
• 92 Brian McClair
• 91 Mark Hughes
• 90 Gary Pallister
• 89 Bryan Robson

RuMmYtUb
30-04-2004, 02:07 AM
Tim Howard.. :blushed:

Ronaldo7
30-04-2004, 09:30 AM
scholes for me ;)

RVN
30-04-2004, 01:55 PM
Roy Keane, a living legend. :cool:

United target young spanish defender

By Alan Nixon
30 April 2004

The Manchester United manager, Sir Alex Ferguson, has made Barcelona's skilful young defender Gerard Piqué Bernabeu his first unexpected signing target for next season.

The outstanding teenager, known as Piqué, is captain of the national youth side but has yet to make his first-team debut for Barça, who are offering him a big deal to stay with them rather than go to England.

Ferguson is desperate to snap up the best youngsters in Europe and his agents are working on rapidly closing the deal for Piqué. United would have to pay Barcelona compensation, possibly as much as £3m, but it is a fraction of what the player would be worth once he is an established player.

Ferguson is keen to compete with Arsenal and Chelsea for the best young talent after losing out on several young players recently. The United manager knows Arsenal also want Piqué after taking Cesc Fabregas from Barcelona in a controversial deal a few months ago.

Chelsea took Arjen Robben out of their grasp and are also due to sign Anderlecht's Vincent Kompany, while Arsenal signed Robin van Persie this week. Piqué and the Belgian youngster Anthony van den Borre are the two young players Ferguson has set his sights on as players to build a team around for a decade to come.

Van den Borre is already in the full Belgian international squad at the age of 16 and with only a handful of first-team games under his belt. But United know if they wait too long for these players they will go elsewhere because of the competition at that level.

Chelsea have already done a deal to sign Kompany from Anderlecht in 2005. The 17-year-old centre-half was on United's list for months before they were outbid. The United manager knows his squad is growing older and he needs an influx of new talent. Piqué's signing could be the first of many significant buys for the future.

Meanwhile, United's chief executive, David Gill, said he has written to both Barcelona and Real Madrid to inform them that Ruud van Nistelrooy will not be sold, despite recent speculation. "We want to make it very clear to them what the position is and make sure the message gets through," he said. "We can't be any more specific. We've been categorical about this."

SebastianKae
30-04-2004, 02:19 PM
oh wow, a young boy. i will be old man when he starts playing first team.

RuMmYtUb
30-04-2004, 06:13 PM
I wanna see Vincent Kompany!!!

RVN
30-04-2004, 08:49 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson and Ruud van Nistelrooy faced the Press at United's Carrington training ground today, categorically denying persistent rumours linking the Reds striker with a move away from Old Trafford.

Real Madrid and Barcelona have both been linked with multi-million pound moves for the prolific striker in recent weeks, but the player and his manager made the move to "put the speculation to bed".

"The situation is that me and Ruud haven't spoken to each other in five months," joked the manager, "according to the press that is."

"Things have become silly and dangerous in the last two weeks with a lo of malicious gossip and tittle tattle. Really there is no foundation to it.

"Therefore, at times like this, it is important that you get it straight from everyone involved, whether Ruud is going to Barcelona, Real Madrid or whether he is happy here or not. We want to clarify that, and we are clear in our minds about it all."

"It's been an increasing crescendo of speculation. It comes to the point where you wonder if they are trying to dismantle our spirit. Whatever the reasons, we're putting this to bed."
Sir Alex Ferguson

Sir Alex puts the speculation down to the sheer size of the club and the interest likely to be shown in a world-renowned team.

"I can only go on experience of years gone by," opines the United boss. "I remember when I first came down here 17 years ago, the Sunday People speculated on me signing 112 players. So, I think you have got to take it as the type of news that Manchester United can create; whether it's front or back page.

"What does annoy you, though, is that it has been an increasing crescendo of speculation in the last two weeks. It comes to the point where you wonder if they are trying to dismantle the spirit at the club, or unbalance us before the FA Cup final. Whatever the reasons, we should be putting it to bed.

Ruud van Nistelrooy was equally as adamant, saying: "I've signed the new contract and I have said it in the past, I am going nowhere.

"I want to be part of this club for the next four years that my contract has to run. I will keep reminding everybody that that is the case. Today is a good day to come out together and show the fans and everybody else what the real situation is."

Roy Keane also joined the manager and van Nistelrooy, to deny recent speculation of bust-ups between Sir Alex and the United skipper, and rumours that he would join Celtic in the summer.

Fergie said: "It's the same with Roy; talk of him going to Celtic and that he's had a massive bust-up with me and that the Irish situation has been a problem. It has not been a problem. It is important for us to clear that up."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=59195&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ronaldo7
30-04-2004, 09:31 PM
"The situation is that me and Ruud haven't spoken to each other in five months,"

:eek: :laugh:

Utd VS Blackburn tomorrow , LIVE on channel 24 , 955pm

btw , anyone knows where to get nice man u wallpapers ?

RuMmYtUb
30-04-2004, 10:16 PM

:eek: :laugh:

Utd VS Blackburn tomorrow , LIVE on channel 24 , 955pm

btw , anyone knows where to get nice man u wallpapers ?

nice RvN and Ronaldo from www.nikefootball.com

guoquanyap
01-05-2004, 12:07 AM
I wanna see Vincent Kompany!!!

well it's not possible at all w chelsea ard unless he's a fan of manu.....:cool:

RuMmYtUb
01-05-2004, 03:43 AM

well it's not possible at all w chelsea ard unless he's a fan of manu.....:cool:

Fan also no use.. :(
Juz look at Ronaldinho.. talk so much in the end :angel:

RVN
01-05-2004, 03:47 AM
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will not be spending his summer holidays sat by the pool relaxing.

Instead, United’s Norwegian striker, troubled so much by a knee injury this season, intends to put the hours in on the training field building up his fitness for next season.

The fragmented part Solskjaer has played since making his comeback as a substitute in the 1-1 draw with Leeds in February is a clear sign that he is still on the road to recovery. A season of disruption for the 31-year-old forward has not been easy to take.

"It’s not easy," Ole told us. "But I am positive and looking forward. I take every minute I can get on the pitch as a bonus. I played 45 minutes for Norway during the week and I feel better every time I play.

"I am positive about next season. I am going to work really hard during the six weeks we have off during the summer. I’m not going to be sitting back having a drink to relax, I’m going to work hard this summer to get back for next season.

”I am still getting my match fitness. I am doing everything I can every day on medical advice. I don’t think anything is going to stop me from playing any more.

”It’s been hard because we’ve had games Wednesday, Saturday, Wednesday, Saturday. You can’t prepare as well as you would like for games sometimes. I am looking forward to this pre-season to get back to how I was before the injury.”

Despite the toil of a disappointing season both personally, due to injury, and as part of a team that has underperformed, Ole says he won’t necessarily be glad to see the back of season 2003/04.

Solskjaer, in his eighth season with the Reds, says each of United’s remaining four matches is a chance for the players to prove they are worthy of a place in Sir Alex Ferguson’s team.

”You’re never glad when a season is over,” reasoned Ole. “You want to improve, you don’t think ‘this season is finished let’s move on to the next one’, because every minute here is a chance to prove to the manager that you are still capable playing for the club.”

In the last week the club has been unsettled by rumours of big-name departures and the fact that Arsenal claimed the Premiership title.

However, the recent speculation linking the likes of van Nistelrooy, Keane and Ferdinand with moves away from the club – denied on Friday by Sir Alex, Ruud and Roy – hasn’t infected the United dressing room spirit.

”Some players read the newspapers, but we know the truth and know exactly what is happening at the club," says Ole reassuringly. "There is a very good team spirit here so I don’t think it will affect anyone."

With the departure of David Beckham last summer, Sir Alex had earmarked Ole to continue his impressive performances on the right wing for United. His knee operation soon curtailed that; perhaps one of the most crucial turning points on the field for the Reds this season.

United lost five league matches during Solskjaer’s absence, a figure that increased to eight last week against Liverpool. And therein lies the problem.

”I’m surprised at that,” said Ole of United’s eight league losses, “and, of course, disappointed. We are a better team than that. But, Arsenal have won the league by playing good football every week. All that is history now and we must look forward.

”The mood is good, good for winning again. The last couple of games have been disappointing. So, we need to secure second place and that is our aim. We need three wins and all our remaining matches are winnable.”

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=59211&itype=466&icategoryid=120

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Instead of having a break, Ole will be training hard during the summer, I love his commitment. :)

RVN
01-05-2004, 03:51 AM
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40076000/gif/_40076847_black_manutd_150.gif

Ewood Park
Saturday, 1 May
Kick-off: 1500 BST
Referee: Mike Dean (Wirral)

Blackburn defender Lorenzo Amoruso is expected to miss the rest of the season after suffering a hamstring injury.

Andy Todd returns to the squad after being dropped for refusing to be a substitute against Leeds but Nils-Eric Johansson is set to start at the back.

Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy is expected to play after recovering from his thigh strain.

Roy Keane hopes to be fit after pulling out of the Republic of Ireland's squad for Poland with a hamstring injury.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blackburn (from): Friedel, Enckelman, Neill, Babbel, Todd, Short, Johansson, Gresko, Gray, Flitcroft, Yorke, Jansen, Emerton, Gallagher, Reid, Andresen, Tugay, Douglas, Cole, Stead.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, P Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fletcher, Butt, Scholes, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, Saha, Van Nistelrooy, Kleberson, Solskjaer, Forlan, Bellion.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3655249.stm

leslie_lai
01-05-2004, 09:40 AM
Just field all the youngsters man! Why are we so focused on qualifying for CL automatically when we jolly well know we stand ZERO chance of winning it?

Ronaldo7
01-05-2004, 10:00 AM
just take a look at this season CL . Maybe we will get to see Monaco VS Porto in the final ? :eek: Nothing is impossible

RVN
01-05-2004, 12:07 PM
Originally posted by leslie_lai
Just field all the youngsters man! Why are we so focused on qualifying for CL automatically when we jolly well know we stand ZERO chance of winning it?

Beocs we don't want to go through the qualifying round, zero chances, it not over till its over, 1 point behind chel$ki with 3 games to go, we still have a chance. ;)

Ronaldo7
01-05-2004, 04:09 PM
Atletico Madrid turn down new Man Utd Torres bid
tribalfootball.com - May 1, 2004

Manchester United have made a new move for Atletico Madrid whiz-kid Fernando Torres.
The youngster scored in midweek for Spain and United have reportedly tabled an official £25 million bid for the 20 year-old striker.

Atletico have again turned the offer down, insisting Torres is not for sale.

United are also moving in the Spanish transfer market for Barcelona youngster Gerard Pique and hope to snap up the U17 international for £3 million.

time to turn our attention to Smith ?

RuMmYtUb
01-05-2004, 04:16 PM
nb 25m still can't get Torres!
:mad:
time for van der Vaart...

Ronaldo7
01-05-2004, 04:31 PM
read that smith is available at 10m . since we can offer 25m for torres , why not offer 10m for smith and 15m for van der vaart ?

leslie_lai
01-05-2004, 05:28 PM
Anyone read the ST today?

Here are some of the players available on the transfer market

Mark Van Bommel - FREE
Edgar Davids - FREE
Christian Vieri - FREE
Pavel Nedved - 8 million
Rafael Van Der Vart - 8 million
Pablo Aimar - 10 million

These are those that I feel United should sign although Vieri and Nedved should be expecting wages on the high side. All these for 26 million, way cool.

Probably another 10 million for a defender and title chances and European glory are in sight!

RVN
01-05-2004, 05:40 PM
They are joking. Van Der Vaart and Aimar would surely cost more than 8- 10m though. Their club won't sold them on the cheap. :(

leslie_lai
01-05-2004, 05:44 PM
At least get Van Bommel!

pale
01-05-2004, 06:00 PM
After hearing rumours about Ruud is gonna leave Man Utd and BEcks Leaving Real Madrid. I Finally know what's going on!!:D

SAF sell Becks to RM on purpose..he use Becks to lure Roberto Carlos and Ronaldo over. Now SAF is going to use Ruud in the same way and sell him to Barcalona and lure Ronaldino and Puyol over.=p

That's it..YOU ALL HEARD IT HERE FIRST:cool:

Maybe I can sell this story to the New Paper:laugh:

RVN
01-05-2004, 06:22 PM
Ruud van Nistelrooy has insisted he can achieve all his career ambitions at Manchester United.

The prolific Dutch striker faced the media alongside Roy Keane and Sir Alex Ferguson to confirm his intention to stay at Old Trafford following frenzied speculation that he was heading for Barcelona or Real Madrid this summer.

Despite scoring an incredible 106 goals in less than three seasons since his £18.5million move from PSV Eindhoven, van Nistelrooy has only a single Premiership winners' medal to show for his efforts and with Arsenal reclaiming the title last weekend, the FA Cup now represents the Red Devils' only chance of silverware this term.

However, the relative barren run of trophies has done nothing to dissuade van Nistelrooy's opinion that he is at a club that can fulfil his lofty aims for the future.

The Dutch international only signed a new five-year contract in January and nothing that has happened since has caused him to doubt that decision.

"I can fulfil all my ambitions at Manchester United," he said.

"That is why I committed myself to the club for so long. I want to be part of this team, this club, for the next four years.

"Before I signed my new contract I spoke with the manager and the club about their plans for the future.

"I know where the club is going and I want to be part of it because they are good plans.

"I don't have a clause in my contract - I don't need one because I want to be here."

It is thought United chief executive David Gill gave his backing to yesterday's unprecedented move in an effort to halt what Ferguson described as the 'dangerous and malicious gossip' that both van Nistelrooy and Keane will be quitting at the end of the season.

Similar stringent denials surrounding David Beckham 12 months ago have led both fans and pundits to adopt a sceptical approach but Red Devils officials have been keen to stress then chief executive Peter Kenyon has now moved on, as has former director of communications Paddy Harverson.

For his part, Keane confirmed he expects to spend the rest of his career at Old Trafford and is convinced the club will bounce back from their failure to retain the championship this season.

"We have had one or two disappointments this season but you have to be humble and give credit to the other teams," said the Irishman, who also claimed there had been no fall-out with Ferguson over his international retirement U-turn.

"The best team wins the league - no-one at this club is denying that and the simple truth is we have lost too many games.

"But sometimes you have to take a step back and now we are looking to finish with three important league games, plus the FA Cup, and re-group in pre-season.

"That's what we have always done, that's what this club is all about.

"We are looking to come back stronger than ever. We have done it before when we have lost championships and I am sure we will again."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/05/01/SOCCER_Man_Utd.html&TEAMHD=soccer

Ronaldo7
01-05-2004, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by pale
After hearing rumours about Ruud is gonna leave Man Utd and BEcks Leaving Real Madrid. I Finally know what's going on!!:D

SAF sell Becks to RM on purpose..he use Becks to lure Roberto Carlos and Ronaldo over. Now SAF is going to use Ruud in the same way and sell him to Barcalona and lure Ronaldino and Puyol over.=p

That's it..YOU ALL HEARD IT HERE FIRST:cool:

Maybe I can sell this story to the New Paper:laugh:

zun bo ? :rolleyes:

genesis113
01-05-2004, 10:00 PM
no saha, no ruud, no keane, no ronaldo
can we beat Blackburn?????????:confused:

I think SAF had even given up the second spot. Now full focus on May 22.

Kyubi
01-05-2004, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by genesis113
no saha, no ruud, no keane, no ronaldo
can we beat Blackburn?????????:confused:

I think SAF had even given up the second spot. Now full focus on May 22. hmmm think on the bright side :D but i tink they will b sub out..

guoquanyap
01-05-2004, 10:55 PM
2 defensive midfielder in the midfield....that how pathetic man....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

cracker
01-05-2004, 11:12 PM
did u guys see SAF scolding the players !!!!

it was certainly my first !

Kyubi
01-05-2004, 11:22 PM
sigh man u man u ... :(

cracker
01-05-2004, 11:29 PM
There is no flow in MU's game.....Chelsea is leading Southampton by 1-0.

Sigh:(

lennardseah
01-05-2004, 11:35 PM
send on forlan lah

Kyubi
01-05-2004, 11:36 PM
gonna 80 mins.. no goals yet.. sigh

cracker
01-05-2004, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by lennardseah
send on forlan lah

forlan is out liao !!!

currently strike force are :

Bellion,,, Ole and Forlan

Chelsea has scored their second goal !

Now SAF is bringing in Fletcher.

lennardseah
01-05-2004, 11:42 PM
GOGO forlan - if you score then we consider retaining you in the reserves next yr

cracker
01-05-2004, 11:44 PM
GOal !!!!

finally a goal arrived courtesy of Blackburn !!!!

5 min to go.... cant believe the type of football being turned by Utd !!!!

Kyubi
01-05-2004, 11:46 PM
really disappointed sia.. sigh..

Spock
01-05-2004, 11:52 PM
There are going to be HUGE changes for next season. The PLC better fork out more money...

OKK77
01-05-2004, 11:55 PM
Forlan managed to balloon from one yard out.

Kyubi
01-05-2004, 11:55 PM
damn it.. forlan mistake! zz i thought it was a goal sigh

ISS
01-05-2004, 11:58 PM
Forlan managed to balloon from one yard out.

He isn't called Forlan for nothing.

Kyubi
01-05-2004, 11:58 PM
Originally posted by ISS

He isn't called Forlan for nothing. i tink i noe wat u mean liao lolz

guoquanyap
01-05-2004, 11:59 PM
we got to beat chelsea home and villa away and hope chelsea lose to LEEDS....which is damn impossible....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
01-05-2004, 11:59 PM
sian . another defeat for us :( no creativity at all . Chelsea is next

cutter
02-05-2004, 12:00 AM
Fking gutless performance… how many losses by 0-1 to bottom-half teams?? This squad is weak. Period. When the squad players come in for the “lesser matches”… Man Utd is Div 1 standard. C-rap. Time to rip it apart and upgrade (ie. finance new acquisitions by clearing out the old rubbish) the back-up squad members to anything approaching Man Utd back-up standard. Need a new on-pitch leader… without Keane, there isn’t an inspirational or cajoling character to urge everyone on.

trax06
02-05-2004, 12:02 AM
wheres ruud ?? injured ??

keane?? injured ??

scholes still suspended?? till when ??

Kyubi
02-05-2004, 12:02 AM
i got a feeling we will end at third position.. sigh.. tis is bad

guoquanyap
02-05-2004, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by trax06
wheres ruud ?? injured ??

keane?? injured ??

scholes still suspended?? till when ??

i can only ans ur last Q....scholes is suspened for 3 matches....miss liverpool, blackburn and chelsea match....

stam
02-05-2004, 12:03 AM
sums up man utd's dissappointing season.. :mad:

OKK77
02-05-2004, 12:04 AM
Originally posted by ISS

Really "lan"!

lennardseah
02-05-2004, 12:05 AM
FORLAN YOU F***er

genesis113
02-05-2004, 12:07 AM
that's the result that United and SAF deserved. We certainly no worth to be second spot.

And I never have the feeling like today's that hoping United get thrashed by Blackburn, so that to wake them up, make them more hunger next time.

Last week, we lost to liverpool in similar fashion.
I really can't figure out why the players only stepped up some gear when falling behind.

Why??????????????????????????????

Why no ronaldo, keane, ruud and saha when Scholes already suspended?
I hope SAF can give us one good explanation.

Ronaldo7
02-05-2004, 12:10 AM
think keane and ruud is out with injury lah . not sure for ronaldo & saha thou :rolleyes:

RVN
02-05-2004, 12:16 AM
Let get Torres or some other quality striker.

what a disappointing display! we dont deserve the freakin 2nd spot. just give it to chelsea and get over it!

and forlan seriously needs to go after missing that open chance.

I had enough of all this **** performances, Fergie has thinker with the side too much. :mad:

guoquanyap
02-05-2004, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Let get Torres or some other quality striker.

what a disappointing display! we dont deserve the freakin 2nd spot. just give it to chelsea and get over it!

and forlan seriously needs to go after missing that open chance.

I had enough of all this **** performances, Fergie has thinker with the side too much. :mad:

thinker? wat choices fergie has man...scholes, keano, ruud, saha, rio, ronaldo out....

we has all the possession and blackburn did wat liverpool porthmouth wolves....absob the pressure and hit us on the counter.....

RuMmYtUb
02-05-2004, 12:32 AM
knn another lacklustre performance, we do not deserve the 2nd spot!

No creativity, only possession and no goals.. :mad:

We really need Torres and van der Vaart, sad to say Forlan's time is up... he really CMI...

Ch3tah_39
02-05-2004, 12:32 AM
:mad: yes he miss ,he did miss..
okie, if man utd really played well, do they care abt that miss..
man utd only consisted of one man forlan arh.?? .

Whitelion
02-05-2004, 12:33 AM
Originally posted by ISS

Fergie will still Die-go For-lan as a striker:laugh:

guoquanyap
02-05-2004, 12:33 AM
ruud oso miss a clear header when we played against wolves....so how?

give forlan a break lah....

RVN
02-05-2004, 12:34 AM

thinker? wat choices fergie has man...scholes, keano, ruud, saha, rio, ronaldo out....

we has all the possession and blackburn did wat liverpool porthmouth wolves....absob the pressure and hit us on the counter.....

I am sick of this losses by 1-0 to all the lowly teams.:mad:

Lets get Fernando Torres and get rid of Forlan, how many sitter he already miss. :mad:

guoquanyap
02-05-2004, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Lets get Fernando Torres and get rid of Forlan, how many sitter he already miss. :mad:

come on let's face it...we jus dun hav the attraction to those stars anymore....torres? even we willing to fork out he wont even wan to come....

RVN
02-05-2004, 12:37 AM
We lack motivation AND quality. We need the brightest and best this summer. Players of the calibur of Van der Vaart, Joaquin, Torres, Evra, Andrade, Vicente etc. Serious competition for each place.

RuMmYtUb
02-05-2004, 12:46 AM
Sian, i dun wanna see we end up like the red half of merseyside!

RVN
02-05-2004, 01:13 AM
Fergie gives up on second
Saturday, 01 May 2004

by Mark Buckingham

Sir Alex Ferguson has virtually given up on catching Chelsea for the second automatic UEFA Champions League berth.
Manchester United's 1-0 defeat at Blackburn Rovers, coupled with Chelsea's 4-0 thrashing of Southampton, sent The Blues four points clear in second spot.

Though Chelsea have to visit Old Trafford next week, Ferguson does not anticipate his team to overhaul their rivals with just two games to play.

"With Chelsea winning it makes it impossible really," said Ferguson.

"If we win next week, and then they lose their last game, maybe there's a chance but with two games to go and four points behind it's very difficult.

"Chelsea are in a fine position and only need to draw at Old Trafford. Their record is very good there.

"We want to galvanise ourselves and make sure our form is better going into the cup final."

United produced an abject display in the defeat at Ewood Park, with the team lacking the attacking instincts of Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha, Cristiano Ronaldo and Paul Scholes.

The former three were injured, while Scholes was completing a three-match suspension, and Ferguson acknowledged his side does not carry a similar goal threat without that quartet.

He added: "I didn't make changes for the sake of making changes, I had to.

"Saha got a knee injury last week, Ruud and Roy (Keane) are still not fit and Cristiano got injured in a friendly for Portugal while Scholes is still suspended.

"I think that tells the tale in the goalscoring part. We had all the possession but only made two or three chances.

"With that amount of possession, you need to do better and need your top strikers playing."

OnizUk4
02-05-2004, 02:03 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Got to agree with u
The miss is too glaring
On this occassion, its harder to miss than to get a goal.