View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
In the past, even when there's nothing left to play we still show some hunger and desire.
I don't know whether they're saving up for the FA Cup final, but if we're going to Cardiff without at least some kind of form.. we could be facing the most humiliating defeat ever.. :mad: :mad: :mad:
OKK77
02-05-2004, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
:mad: yes he miss ,he did miss..
okie, if man utd really played well, do they care abt that miss..
man utd only consisted of one man forlan arh.?? .
It was the best chance we got last night and we could have salvaged a point from it which is very crucial for the second place.
Is this worst Manchester United starting line-up for a long, long time?
Man Utd: Howard, Gary Neville, Silvestre, Brown, O'Shea, Phil Neville, Butt, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, Kleberson, Solskjaer.
There used to be a time when United's team sheet would inspire fear in the opposition. Not now. I know they were missing some players yesterday, but where has the strength in depth gone?
Yesterday's subs were David Bellion (quite why United felt they had to tap him up instead of just offering Sunderland money for sub-par player is beyond me), Darren Fletcher and Diego Forlan who must have Boro fans wetting their pants with laughter.
Nobody can say the purchases of van Nistelrooy, Saha or Ferdinand were failures, but then you don't need to be a genius to know those players would add something to your team. Young Ronaldo looks to have genuine talent, but there's a huge question mark over Sir Alex Ferguson's other recent purchases. Kleberson, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion and Forlan are way below the standard required at a club like Manchester United.
Perhaps it's time for a shake-up of the scouting at the club. Can Ferguson rely on his brother's judgement in the future? Can the United board rely on Ferguson's accumen in the transfer market when he's not spending big, big money, something that any Premiership manager could do with his eyes closed.
Some people are talking about this being the end of an era for United. Unless some quality players arrive in the summer, they may well be right.
http://www.blogfc.com/blog/archives/000200.html
Ronaldo7
02-05-2004, 03:38 PM
yes , we NEED to buy big during the summer , but i dare to say that yesterday starting 11 was not the worst . we just didn't play well . that's it
RuMmYtUb
02-05-2004, 04:38 PM
I can say yesterday's lineup was weak...
imagine 3 defensive mid... totally can't attack lor...
if they carry on this form into next season...man utd can jolly well fight for 4th place or even relegation
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
I can say yesterday's lineup was weak...
imagine 3 defensive mid... totally can't attack lor...
Playing Phil and Kleberson as winger is a joke, some of Fergie's decision is baffling me. :rolleyes:
Butt has also been a pale shodow of his usual self since the World Cup.
RuMmYtUb
02-05-2004, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Butt
SAF yesterday fielded a side like as if we've won the EPL.
Butt is a far cry from what we saw during World Cup, the so called best player from the tournament labelled by Pele.
wadeva_lah
02-05-2004, 07:32 PM
for a moment i tot man utd weren't playing any strikers yesterday!
OKK77
02-05-2004, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by Arsenal
U got 2 understand manu is a team that should win every title cause they got the cash. Just like chelsea. With that kind of money, and u dun win anything, that means u suck. Millwall is definately a much poorer team than manu. Considering they made it this far in the fa cup with a limited budget, they deserve 2 win it.
Taken from here (http://forums.tjc.edu.sg/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2638&whichpage=17).
guoquanyap
02-05-2004, 10:04 PM
i really dun understand...u all keep complainting abt the line-up yesterday....
in ur opinion...how should fergie line up his side yesterday?
ruud, keano, saha, rio, ronaldo and scholes out....flechter play 90mins for scotland......
put urself into fergie shoes b4 complaining so much.....
no matter what...we man utd fans will be behind the team!!! :)
leo_llw
02-05-2004, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
i really dun understand...u all keep complainting abt the line-up yesterday....
in ur opinion...how should fergie line up his side yesterday?
ruud, keano, saha, rio, ronaldo and scholes out....flechter play 90mins for scotland......
put urself into fergie shoes b4 complaining so much.....
tat's why some of your fellow fans are complaining about the recent acquisitions of United and also the lack of strength in depth.
If the squad is decimated by injuries to first team players, the least ManU fans expected is competent replacements.
This is minimum expected for the richest club in the club, if not one of the most successful in Britain. ;)
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson says he is concentrating on the FA Cup final after all-but conceding second place to Chelsea.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3670651.stm
So our last 2 league game is now meaingless, but at least for a bit of pride, win it just to build up confidence and morale of the team.
guoquanyap
02-05-2004, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw
tat's why some of your fellow fans are complaining about the recent acquisitions of United and also the lack of strength in depth.
If the squad is decimated by injuries to first team players, the least ManU fans expected is competent replacements.
This is minimum expected for the richest club in the club, if not one of the most successful in Britain. ;)
well let put it in this way....if henry, vieria, campbell, pries and bergkamp is injured...wat will AW do....
yes we can be richest club in the world but that doesnt mean we can spend at ease...we can be the richest club the world but cant get the players we wan so wat the use....
so stop complaining and we shall look forward to the FA cup final and nx season.....
7cantona
02-05-2004, 11:28 PM
This is what I'll do if I'm AF:
Sell - Bellion, Djemba, Kleberson, Forlan and Solskjaer.
Buy - Alan Smith, Steven Gerrard and Okocha.
Gerrard in time for replacing Roy Keane once he leaves or retired.
Alan Smith to boost up the strike force.
Okocha for replacing the long lost CANTONA and partner up with Ronaldo's trickery skills in the midfield.
Defence?!?! Dunno who should buy, really sucks in defence. Just hope that Ferdinand's return will boost up better for next season!
SIR ALEX FERGUSON will be asked to explain Manchester United's season from hell to his Old Trafford paymasters.
The United board have become increasingly concerned by reports of dressing-room rifts and player disenchantment as the Reds have stumbled from one crisis to another over the last 12 months.
That United have surrendered the Premiership to Arsenal and crashed out of the Champions League before the quarter-final stage for the first time in eight years is worrying enough.
But what has really sent shockwaves down the corridors of power at Old Trafford is suggestions that Ferguson has lost his iron grip on the United dressing room.
Ferguson will sit down with chief executive David Gill and the rest of United's football club board at the end of the season to discuss his plan of action for next term.
But first there will be a detailed investigation into what has gone wrong down Sir Matt Busby Way this season - both on and off the field.
The meeting with the board is an annual date in Fergie's diary - but the 2004 version promises to be less relaxed than those of previous years.
From the Coolmore farce that caused Ferguson grief with club bosses to the Rio Ferdinand fiasco he blames for United's faltering challenge, the Scot will be asked to give assurances that the last 12 months do not represent the end of an era. Ferguson can count on the full backing of United's directors, although it is likely that racing adversaries John Magnier and JP McManus will also demand answers in their position as the club's major shareholders.
Despite the club's very public claims to the contrary on Friday - when Ferguson presented a united front sat alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy and Roy Keane at a press conference - there have been problems between the Scot and a number of his players this season.
A dressing-room insider revealed: "There have been quite a few fall-outs between the manager and players and even between the players themselves this season - many more than usual."
The Scot, perhaps the last manager in the game able to use fear as a motivational weapon, has discovered that his most experienced players are no longer running scared of him.
Ferguson's health worries - he first underwent surgery to correct an irregular heartbeat and then had a pacemaker fitted - have not helped.
Manchester has been awash with rumours that the United manager will bring his 18-year reign to an end at the end of the current campaign. The speculation arose even though he signed a new rolling contract that will not kick in for another year while his row with Magnier and McManus over the ownership of racehorse Rock Of Gibraltar was raging.
That's why Ferguson took the step of assuring his players he will be around to bring harmony and honours back to the club.
Even an FA Cup triumph over Millwall in Cardiff this month will not paper over the cracks that have appeared at the club over the past 12 tumultuous months.
But if the United board are to back Ferguson with the kind of cash he will need in the transfer market to restore glory on the pitch, he will have to convince his bosses that this is not the beginning of the end for the most successful manager in the club's history.
The 62-year-old is one of the game's great survivors. When he was scheduled to retire two years ago, United were unable to find a man capable of following in his footsteps and were thankful when Fergie decided that body and mind were still willing.
If anything, finding the right calibre of coach to replace the Scot is now even more daunting for chief executive Gill, who refused to buckle under the pressure exerted by Coolmore earlier this year when questions were raised about some of Ferguson's business practices at Old Trafford.
Professional and personal problems have all combined over the last year to present Ferguson with perhaps the biggest challenge he has ever faced at Old Trafford.
To win it he must be able to satisfy United's board members that the peace which has broken out among the players is not a phoney one."
THE FIVE BOARD MEMBERS WHO WILL QUIZ HIM
DAVIDGILL
AFTER working closely with Peter Kenyon for six years, was promoted to chief executive when Kenyon departed to Chelsea last year. A testing first season, but refused to buckle under pressure when claims were made about Ferguson's transfer policies at United and was instrumental in awarding the Scot a new contract.
SIRBOBBYCHARLTON
UNITED legend whose relationship with the club dates back half a century. Gives the boardroom a legitimate football feel given his deeds as a player for United and England.
MAURICEWATKINS
UNITED'S solicitor, a major shareholder with a near-two per cent stake in the club despite selling £2.5m worth of shares during the past week, and also a non-executive member of the club's plc board. Watkins has always been a staunch ally of Ferguson. MICHAELEDELSON
A close friend and business partner of former Old Trafford chairman Martin Edwards, who is now president of the club. Formerly worked for sports marketing giants IMG.
LESOLIVE
FORMER club secretary who has watched United grow into the richest football club in the world during more than 50 years behind the scenes at Old Trafford.
http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14202177%26method=full%26siteid=106694%26headline=fergie%2ds%2dfacing%2da%2dgrilling-name_page.html
guoquanyap
03-05-2004, 01:25 AM
i wish smith will come over....but the possiblitly of smith going to newcastle is higher....
it take a brave man to come fr leeds somemore a diehard fan like smith...
wadeva_lah
03-05-2004, 01:29 AM
smith wud come old trafford if he had ambitions.
tianwei
03-05-2004, 02:06 AM
Originally posted by 7cantona
Okocha for replacing the long lost CANTONA and partner up with Ronaldo's trickery skills in the midfield.
Defence?!?! Dunno who should buy, really sucks in defence. Just hope that Ferdinand's return will boost up better for next season!
I would rather Solskjaer stay with the club...he has contributed to the club for years and is a good player IMHO
genesis113
03-05-2004, 03:19 AM
go bid Vicente from Valencia.
This summer is the first time this board have a chance to do something right so we should really give them the benefit of the doubt, but if Ferguson wants a player they have to do everything possible to get him. Summer is always our time to sign players so they have no excuses if they mess things up. :mad:
SebastianKae
03-05-2004, 09:00 AM
Sell - Kleberson, Forlan, Keane, Phil
Buy- Smith, Okocha, Gerrard(unrealistic though), and a DR or DC
Awaiting Liam Miller's Arrival and the uprise of Chris Eagles
Okocha is a good idea, smith will provide the fury.
Defense wise, we need someone in the pipeline to replace the ageing Gary. Brown has proven to be stable now, a partnership with Rio will be much awaited and Silvest can sit back into his left back role(Finally!~)
Please do not buy - Viduka, Owen,
Wishful thinkings - Totti, Lampard, Henry, Pires, Sol, Viera, Vieri, etc
Really hope to see - Torres
RuMmYtUb
03-05-2004, 09:24 AM
I really wanna see Torres, van der Vaart, or best Joaquin..
Alan Smith would be very very gd buy... his determined play suits Man Utd, another Keano nv-say-die attitude...
But coming over from Leeds would be a tough decision..
cracker
03-05-2004, 09:40 AM
pls dun confuse CM with the actual EPL !
it is not a question of who to buy or sell ,,,but how to ensure the current or new players can click with one another on the field and change the tactics when the situation warrants it. SAF and AW are the masters in this field,,,,with the French having the slight edge in the last 2 yrs.
RuMmYtUb
03-05-2004, 10:01 AM
Originally posted by cracker
pls dun confuse CM with the actual EPL !
it is not a question of who to buy or sell ,,,but how to ensure the current or new players can click with one another on the field and change the tactics when the situation warrants it. SAF and AW are the masters in this field,,,,with the French having the slight edge in the last 2 yrs.
But we definitely need new players, can't play that team next season no doubt..
SebastianKae
03-05-2004, 10:22 AM
he is right in a sense too.
Rummy is correct as well, we need players that can string the others together. Ever since becks left, there have been little creativity in the midfield, someone to spray the ball from left to right, and someone whom we know will have a higher chance of passing the ball to the strikers, open space up for them to score. People who think beckham wasnt important, i dont know wad to say.
leo_llw
03-05-2004, 11:10 AM
well let put it in this way....if henry, vieria, campbell, pries and bergkamp is injured...wat will AW do....
yes we can be richest club in the world but that doesnt mean we can spend at ease...we can be the richest club the world but cant get the players we wan so wat the use....
so stop complaining and we shall look forward to the FA cup final and nx season.....
AW will gamble just like SAR do.....
being the richest shouldn't be too giao chee giao lan in spending mah. If not for United haggling prices for Robbens and Ronaldinho, they would have been in OT. :(
but u r right, you guys should look at the FA Final and next season. No point crying over spilled milk. ;)
Hope we can have a battle next season again. This time there will be a third contender :(
RuMmYtUb
03-05-2004, 11:34 AM
AW will gamble just like SAR do.....
being the richest shouldn't be too giao chee giao lan in spending mah. If not for United haggling prices for Robbens and Ronaldinho, they would have been in OT. :(
but u r right, you guys should look at the FA Final and next season. No point crying over spilled milk. ;)
Hope we can have a battle next season again. This time there will be a third contender :(
I'm looking foward to pool's and newcastle's challenges as well...
pool would certainly wanna show that the might anfield reds are back..
Ch3tah_39
03-05-2004, 06:01 PM
red devils versus the blue..
hope man utd can regain their form and beat them...:D
guoquanyap
03-05-2004, 11:24 PM
red devils versus the blue..
hope man utd can regain their form and beat them...:D
doesnt really make a diff...onli regain some pride and slim chance of getting second place ( dun see chelsea draw or lose to leeds ).....
jus hope dun lose to them can liao as fergie now focus on the 22may liao....
orca_sea
03-05-2004, 11:49 PM
I tink Okocha abit old liao.. if mi i would buy Robbie Keane as i tink he can fit in the role of wat Teddy use to be in..somemore he's young n he wanted to leave Spurs liao..
7cantona
04-05-2004, 12:35 AM
Originally posted by SebastianKae
Sell - Kleberson, Forlan, Keane, Phil
Buy- Smith, Okocha, Gerrard(unrealistic though), and a DR or DC
Awaiting Liam Miller's Arrival and the uprise of Chris Eagles
Okocha is a good idea, smith will provide the fury.
Defense wise, we need someone in the pipeline to replace the ageing Gary. Brown has proven to be stable now, a partnership with Rio will be much awaited and Silvest can sit back into his left back role(Finally!~)
Please do not buy - Viduka, Owen,
Wishful thinkings - Totti, Lampard, Henry, Pires, Sol, Viera, Vieri, etc
Really hope to see - Torres
Dun think Henry or Viera will ever go to Man U... Both teams are the biggest rivals and have "deep debts" between them...
Never buy Owen, he's not that gd. Sol will be a great boost for the defence...
SebastianKae
04-05-2004, 08:43 AM
thats why i said wishful thinking. lol
DAVID BECKHAM has told Manchester United he would go back to the club if Alex Ferguson went.
The United board contacted Becks about a sensational return this summer.
And the England skipper’s advisers confirmed he is ready to say yes — but only if Fergie is not boss.
Beckham, 29, was forced out of Old Trafford after a bust-up with Ferguson last season and joined Spanish giants Real Madrid for £25million.
But Beckham is now resigned to leaving Spain this summer after a season dogged by problems in his private life.
He wants to return to England and be with his family and believes it is just a matter of choosing the right Premiership club.
Becks still has a house near Manchester and keeps in touch with pal, United full-back Gary Neville.
The Old Trafford board want to bolster their squad after losing the Premiership title and crashing out of the Champions League. But even if Ferguson quits amid growing unrest from fans, United will face stiff competition.
Becks’ camp have made contact with Chelsea with a view to discussing a deal after Euro 2004.
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger is also interested. But the champions have a fraction of the cash their London rivals can spend.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004201960,00.html
kennynaz
04-05-2004, 02:49 PM
the words abt beckham cmg back to man u is juz pure speculations. nothing will come out of it. don't think dat the man u board will offload fergie juz to bring back beckham. remember fergie's quote, "no one is bigger than the club". & i don't think dat becks will quit real madrid after 1 season. a season without throphy at dat. think he will stay at real & help them capture glory next season...
the only lost man u made was not getting ronaldinho.:( look at wat he has transform barca in only his 1st season. but then again, dat's another story....:)
Ya loh, Dun think we bring him back either, we are building a young team, so can't us bringing him back approaching his 30s plus we don't need his media circus, We've got more pressing problems than our right wing, especially with Ronaldo improving everyday. It's time to move on. ;)
OKK77
04-05-2004, 05:41 PM
The Sun is at it again.
7cantona
04-05-2004, 10:01 PM
If Beckham were to go back to England, he'll end up joining...
Chelsea - 51%
Arsenal - 30%
Man U - 19%
Wanting Beckham to go back to Man U... I'll rather Man U hunt for Ronaldhino!
orca_sea
04-05-2004, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by kennynaz
the words abt beckham cmg back to man u is juz pure speculations. nothing will come out of it. don't think dat the man u board will offload fergie juz to bring back beckham. remember fergie's quote, "no one is bigger than the club". & i don't think dat becks will quit real madrid after 1 season. a season without throphy at dat. think he will stay at real & help them capture glory next season...
the only lost man u made was not getting ronaldinho.:( look at wat he has transform barca in only his 1st season. but then again, dat's another story....:)
yes if onli Ronaldinho join Man U... haiz :(
speedstream
04-05-2004, 10:27 PM
Originally posted by orca_sea
yes if onli Ronaldinho join Man U... haiz :(
yeh , just look at the way he created the second goal against real madrid. :D
orca_sea
04-05-2004, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by speedstream
yeh , just look at the way he created the second goal against real madrid. :D
yah plus the 2 other goals he set up recently.. no look pass man :eek: :eek:
leo_llw
04-05-2004, 11:12 PM
yah plus the 2 other goals he set up recently.. no look pass man :eek: :eek:
Remind u guys of a certain No. 7 Frenchman doesn't it? :laugh:
orca_sea
04-05-2004, 11:23 PM
Remind u guys of a certain No. 7 Frenchman doesn't it? :laugh:
hahaha true true.. tink Ronaldinho can inherit tat famous No. 7 shirt if he is in tat team ;)
guoquanyap
05-05-2004, 12:02 AM
ronaldionho....haiz....jus a few million more oso dun wan to pay...wat can we say....
darrenlee78
05-05-2004, 02:39 PM
wah.. why ruud not on big $ earner list
MANCHESTER United will be first in the queue when the Leeds player sale begins.
The financially-crippled Elland Road club have been relegated from the Premiership and are ready to listen to bids for their stars in an effort to slash a wage bill of £53m-a-year that would be unsustainable in the First Division.
Sir Alex Ferguson, in need of a striker for his bid to regain the title and to progress in Europe next season, is poised to target hitmen Alan Smith and Mark Viduka, who are both certain to leave.
The Reds boss is an open admirer of the feisty 23-year-old Smith, who is still hoping to make England's Euro 2004 squad for Portugal.
And he had Viduka in mind as back-up when pursuing Louis Saha during the transfer window.
United have taken the cross-Pennine route before to snatch Gordon McQueen, Joe Jordan, Eric Cantona and Rio Ferdinand from their bitter rivals.
Smith would be a different proposition. He is a staunch Leeds fan and left the field in tears when relegation was effectively sealed at Bolton on Sunday at the Reebok.
Fond farewell
However, the Yorkshireman accepts he’s going to have to leave his idols with the board informing him they are “unable to offer him a new contract” or “guarantee his future”.
Smith said: “I’m not a First Division player. I’ve got an international career to think about and hopefully the Leeds fans understand that.
“I am a proud man and it hurts when you are relegated because it proves you have not been good enough, but I want people to know I have given it my all and no one can say I’ve not been trying. “I’ve done my best for this club and I’m proud of myself.”
Fergie’s former right-hand man, Middlesbrough boss Steve McClaren, has also expressed an interest in the Elland Road duo, but United have possibly already set the ball in motion for a move.
The Reds are expected to shake up their striker department with Diego Forlan tipped as the most likely victim.
Main man Ruud van Nistelrooy has pledged his future to Old Trafford and Ferguson is anticipating a profitable link-up with £12.8m Saha next term when the Frenchman gets over his heel problems and is no longer cup-tied.
And though Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has had a tough season following knee surgery in September his future appears to be safe, despite talk of a move to Celtic.
But Forlan’s future with the Reds appears to be in danger. The £7.5m Uruguyan does not seem to have convinced Fergie that he’s a regular first-teamer.
Stormed off
He stormed off when substituted against Leicester last month and on Saturday at Blackburn an embarrassing blunder a yard from goal summed up his hit-and-miss finishing.
A £12m joint package could land both Smith and Viduka, with a £7m fee for the young England hitman and £5m for the Aussie likely to satisfy Leeds.
Their board meets today to discuss their sale plans, as well as the future of caretaker manager Eddie Gray.
Director and former Leeds great Peter Lorimer admitted the drop out of the top flight would have far-reaching consequences.
“It may bring the situation back into Nationwide wages,” he said.
“We have a massive squad, lots of players on massive money and we can’t afford that in the Nationwide so there obviously has to be some movement of players.
“Mark Viduka is on a very, very big wage so he has probably got to go. Alan Smith has said that Nationwide is no good for his career and we do appreciate that.
“He is 23 years of age, he is a possible England player and playing in the Nationwide will not help his career so we do appreciate certain players will need to go for their own careers. It is not all one-way, this situation.
“Spurs did have an offer in for Paul Robinson last year. I think he had agreed to sign but there was a last-minute technicality. Whether that is still in place, we haven’t sorted that one out yet.
“There is no panic at Leeds, believe me, and we can afford to wait to get he best price possible for players when we do sell them. We won’t be forced to sell them on the cheap.”
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/115/115557_united_eye_a_double_discount_in_leeds_sale.html
Ronaldo7
05-05-2004, 06:56 PM
smith :evil:
Next Match : United vs Chelsea , LIVE on ESPN , Sat 725pm
United's Brazilian midfielder Kleberson has asked not to be judged on a fragmented debut season in the Premiership.
The World Cup winner has struggled to impress during his first year at United, but that was possibly to be expected of a player arriving from Brazilian football where the style of play and culture are in stark contrast to life in the English Premiership.
Kleberson admits it has been a testing year, but says fans are yet to see anywhere near his best.
"It's been really frustrating,” he said. “I played a few games at the start of the season but then got injured. I haven't had a full run but I am just looking forward to next year. Next year I want to really help Manchester United.
"You've seen a little of me but not the full me. Next season the fans will hopefully see the real Kleberson.”
Acclimatisation has been a problem for South American players in the past. Kleberson was considered by Sir Alex Ferguson as a direct replacement for Argentina playmaker Veron, who was sold to Chelsea after failing to settle into the team.
"You've seen a little of me but not the full me. Next season the fans will hopefully see the real Kleberson."
Kleberson
However, Kleberson, who became a dad for the first time in November, says he and his young family are settled in Manchester.
"I am really happy here," he said, "so is my wife and also my baby was born here. I am really happy that my baby was born here in Manchester.
"There have been no real problems. Obviously there has been some acclimatisation, but no real problems. I'm looking forward to next season when I can really show what I am worth.”
It has been a difficult season both personally for Kleberson and the team in general. Surrendering the league title to Arsenal and crashing out of Europe, coupled with plenty of off-field attention, have made it a fiery introduction to life at United for the former Atletico Paranaense player.
But, Kleberson says he feels part of a team destined for success. "Manchester United are a big club," he said. "It has been a hard year for us, but when we start to play like a team that has gelled together, then we are going to see changes and plenty of success."
The Brazilian midfielder has played on right and in the centre for United, but says he will play anywhere in the Red shirt as long as he is playing well.
"My true position is in the midfield, that is where I played before I came here and that is where I played during the World Cup. However, I don't mind if I play on the right of midfield, I can play there. I don't care where I play as long as I am performing consistently for Manchester United. "
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=59489&itype=466&icategoryid=120
guoquanyap
05-05-2004, 11:36 PM
kleberson...can he play as gd as ronaldionho......if onli he can prove himself nx season....show us some samba man....
RuMmYtUb
06-05-2004, 01:19 AM
I wanna see Alan Smith!
He rox!
uRiZEn
06-05-2004, 03:38 AM
I dun think Man u needs Viduka.He's lazy.Get Morientes better lah
leslie_lai
06-05-2004, 04:52 AM
RVN/Smith/Morientes
3-prone attack, now this is some scary **** :o
StormTrooper
06-05-2004, 07:50 AM
I wanna see Alan Smith!
He rox!
i've always said we should buy smith :)
SebastianKae
06-05-2004, 08:58 AM
Smith may not be a top class striker, but i like his fierce look. Provided with enuff ammunition, this guy can strike fear into defenders with his look and hairstyle. As for viduka, this guy has strength and power, but his weird behavior for the past 3 months really brings doubt if he can provide the much wanted results.
I think Saha_RVn_Smith should be enough for the EPL. As for the CL. But we need a creative midfielder. I now this is not CM, so i wont even mention top class players from other leagues.
Ronaldo7
06-05-2004, 10:29 AM
Atletico Madrid tells Man Utd: Torres not for sale
tribalfootball.com - May 6, 2004
Atletico Madrid are insisting whiz-kid Fernando Torres is not for sale - at any price.
Having rejected a fresh bid from Manchester United last week and knowing that AC Milan are also preparing an offer, Atletico chief Enrique Cerez declared: "They can keep knocking at the door, we won't open it.
"He will become worth even more after the European Championships, I am convinced of that. But it does not matter to us. I am going to have a calm summer because I am not going to consider offers for him.
"Even though some of them are crazy!"
Torres is out :angel:
RuMmYtUb
06-05-2004, 12:01 PM
Originally posted by leslie_lai
RVN/Smith/Morientes
3-prone attack, now this is some scary **** :o
2nd that.
i hope man utd can buy rothen to challange giggs position...
tis guy is v creative and put in v accurate cross....abit like beckham on left but he gt abit more pace den beckham...
if not,i cant think of other left wingers rite now...those quite gd ones eg vicente,or right winger joaquin,to be realistic,they wont be coming....somemore i think french had better record of adapting in EPL.....
(or mayb buy quaresma and let ronaldo play on the left)
trax06
06-05-2004, 01:11 PM
anybody seen the the new Utd jersey for next season ?? i think its red/grey.
RuMmYtUb
06-05-2004, 01:13 PM
Originally posted by wes
i hope man utd can buy rothen to challange giggs position...
tis guy is v creative and put in v accurate cross....abit like beckham on left but he gt abit more pace den beckham...
if not,i cant think of other left wingers rite now...those quite gd ones eg vicente,or right winger joaquin,to be realistic,they wont be coming....somemore i think french had better record of adapting in EPL.....
(or mayb buy quaresma and let ronaldo play on the left)
Rothen is gd, but hard to prise him away i suppose.. he's irreplaceable along with Guily.
By NEIL CUSTIS
ALEX FERGUSON is ready to rest Ruud van Nistelrooy until the FA Cup final over fresh fears about the striker’s problem knee.
Manchester United have two crucial Premiership matches to play before their Millennium Stadium showdown with First Division Millwall on May 22.
But boss Fergie is unlikely to risk the Dutch ace who is understood to be suffering from wear and tear on his right knee.
That is the same knee in which the striker tore his cruciate ligament in 2000 — delaying his £19million move to United from PSV by 12 months.
United face Chelsea at Old Trafford on Saturday in a match they must win to stay in the running to be runners-up and grab an automatic place in next season’s Champions League.
And they wind up the Premiership season with a tough trip to David O’Leary’s Aston Villa, who are also still in the hunt for a European spot.
Van Nistelrooy, 27, has hit 26 goals for United this season but played in just one of their last seven games.
The club have claimed that the Dutchman has a thigh strain but it is understood the knee is causing greater concern.
And the last thing Van Nistelrooy wants is to make the problem worse with the European Championships just around the corner.
He missed out on the last World Cup when the Dutch failed to qualify and was also ruled out of Euro 2000 in Holland thanks to his ligament injury.
United go into Saturday’s clash four points adrift of second-placed Chelsea having lost three of their last four games.
And Old Trafford has been rocked by reports of rows between Fergie, Van Nistelrooy and skipper Roy Keane.
But midfielder Phil Neville is backing the under-fire Old Trafford boss to bounce back next season despite the team’s sorry end to this Premiership campaign.
England star Neville, 27, insisted: “The United situation is not as serious as people outside the club are making it to be.
“We will be back next season as strong as ever.
“You look at the seasons when we have lost the title in the past and we’ve always bounced back bigger and better.
“We have a manager who when the chips are down comes out fighting and battling and that’s what he instils in the team.
“Apart from the FA Cup final everyone wants to get this season over with so we can come back next year and put things right.”
United’s Brazilian midfielder Kleberson is also vowing to produce the goods next season after a year dogged by injury.
Kleberson, 24, joined United for £6m after helping Brazil win the 2002 World Cup.
But he has managed just 12 starts for United and made his latest comeback after 10 weeks out with a knee injury in Saturday’s 1-0 defeat by Blackburn.
Kleberson admitted: “It’s been really frustrating. I played a few games at the start of the season but then got injured.
“I haven’t had a full run but I am just looking forward to next year. Next year I want to really help Manchester United.
“You’ve seen a little of me but not the full me. Next season the fans will see the real Kleberson.”
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004210367,00.html
-----------------------------------
I know it is from The Sun which is ever so reliable arrrr.. :rolleyes: , but there might be so truth to it.. Let's hope not . :( :( :(
OnizUk4
06-05-2004, 02:54 PM
Did you guys noticed any teams that beat man utd to proceed tend to have the mentality to reach the Champ Cup Finals.
RuMmYtUb
06-05-2004, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by OnizUk4
Did you guys noticed any teams that beat man utd to proceed tend to have the mentality to reach the Champ Cup Finals.
:laugh:
I saw that trend long ago... most that beat us will win the cup.... RM is an example... but den i hope Porto dun win cos i wish to see Morientes lifting the cup..
OnizUk4
06-05-2004, 03:11 PM
I think its the mentality of the players.
Monaco beated Real Madrid
Porto beated Man Utd.
Makes the players believed nothing is impossible.
cracker
06-05-2004, 03:16 PM
Originally posted by OnizUk4
last yr RM dumped MU out,,,but they themselves were dumped by Juventus.
OnizUk4
06-05-2004, 03:24 PM
=p
Didn't noticed.
guoquanyap
06-05-2004, 07:04 PM
Rothen is gd, but hard to prise him away i suppose.. he's irreplaceable along with Guily.
i doubt so....rothen is not any big name so at a certian right price...i believe we can get him...5million pound or less will be enough....
he certainly caught my eyes yesterday but whether he will perform match in match out is still unknown.....
Monaco got debts apparently, they may be forced to sell, I am convinced some big clubs will be after their players after what they done in the CL this season.
Ch3tah_39
06-05-2004, 11:18 PM
hope next season, will be a gd year for us..
hope kleberson will not be tie down by injuries. and show us his real potential.. hope man utd can get back their form.....:D
Ronaldo7
07-05-2004, 10:25 AM
this is a season to forget except the fa cup final :sad:
ALEX FERGUSON will be given a £40million war-chest to bring silverware back to Old Trafford.
That is the amount chief executive David Gill is ready to release this summer in a bid to strengthen Manchester United.
Concern is growing at board- room level about the gap between United and Arsenal, who have now won the title twice in the past three seasons.
It is not just the points difference that is of concern — which stands at 13 with two games to go — but the gap in form between the two sides.
That is why Gill is ready to back Ferguson all the way in his plans to put United back on top.
The last two times United have lost the title, the Old Trafford club also reacted by throwing money at the problem.
In 1998, when Arsenal won the Double, Ferguson spent £30m in the summer and went on to win the Treble the following season.
In 2002, when Arsenal landed the Premiership with victory at Old Trafford, Ferguson again spent £30m — and again wrestled the trophy back.
This time, he will be given £40m to find another top striker, an attacking midfielder and a defender.
Last summer Ferguson sold David Beckham for £25m but has since spent £36m.
Not all of the buys have come off — and he knows there is still plenty of strengthening to do.
Ferguson could be prepared to shake up the whole squad after this disappointing season.
Striker Diego Forlan will be on his way this summer, Nicky Butt had a transfer request accepted this season and Ryan Giggs is another whose future looks uncertain.
The manager has publicly stated Roy Keane and Ruud van Nistelrooy will be staying — but that will still not stop Real Madrid from making a £28m bid for the Dutch striker.
As it is, Van Nistelrooy is struggling with a knee problem and is expected to be left out of tomorrow’s match at home to Chelsea.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004211170,00.html
OKK77
07-05-2004, 12:41 PM
40 million pounds? Not so bad.
Ch3tah_39
07-05-2004, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
40 million pounds? Not so bad.
hmm.. not really bad
StormTrooper
07-05-2004, 01:30 PM
40m.........hmm.........
smith/morientes/gerrard.........;)
Yellowfin
07-05-2004, 01:41 PM
I hope SAF buy an experience defender since he has being given 40m to spend.
Originally posted by StormTrooper
40m.........hmm.........
smith/morientes/gerrard.........;)
1 striker will do, pool won't
entertain the thought of selling Gerrard to us..:rolleyes:
We should target
1) a defender
2) a left-winger to take over from Giggs
3) An attacking midfielder
4) A striker
Ch3tah_39
07-05-2004, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We should target
1) a defender
4) A striker
def is okie liao...to get striker (muz)and left winger first rather den def...
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40104000/gif/_40104599_manu-chels.gif
MANCHESTER (Reuters) - Leading scorer Ruud Van Nistelrooy has been included in the squad for Manchester United's premier league match against Chelsea on Saturday.
The Dutch international has scored 29 goals this season but has played just once since the end of March because of knee and thigh injuries.
Chelsea are four points clear of United in second place with two games to go, and Ferguson believes the second automatic qualification place for the Champions League is out of reach.
"I think the second spot is probably beyond us, but winning your last (home) game is always important, as is getting some form before the (FA Cup) final," Ferguson told reporters on Friday.
Manchester United play Aston Villa away in their final league match before facing first division Millwall in the FA Cup final at the Millennium Stadium on May 22.
"With Chelsea having Leeds United, and there will be lot of despondency over at Elland Road at the moment after they have been relegated, you would expect Chelsea to win their last game. But we want to win our last home game and that's why tomorrow's an important game," Ferguson said.
United prepare to face the losing Champions League semi-finalists having lost three of their last four games. They are 13 points behind newly-crowned champions Arsenal.
"The players, for the first time, haven't been contesting the league and they have found it difficult after beating Arsenal in the (FA Cup) semi-final," Ferguson said.
Ferguson also dismissed the latest round of media reports linking Van Nistelrooy with a move to Real Madrid, saying the striker would be staying at Old Trafford.
"I did what I had to do last week in terms of relieving the supporters' minds about the whole situation with Roy (Keane) and Ruud at the press conference (last week)," Ferguson said.
"That's exactly where the position stands. These players will be here next year."
As well as the return of Van Nistelrooy, Ferguson will also be able to select the fit-again pair of Louis Saha and Cristiano Ronaldo, while Paul Scholes has completed a three-match ban.
Roy Keane, who was recently linked with Celtic, is still out with a hamstring injury.
Team (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, P Neville, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, Butt, Kleberson, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Saha, Forlan.
http://www.reuters.co.uk/newsPackageArticle.jhtml?type=sportsNews&storyID=506599§ion=news
OKK77
07-05-2004, 11:12 PM
Will Liam Miller be the next Roy Keane? Many think so. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=59470) And hopefully, they will be proven correct. =D
Ronaldo7
07-05-2004, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40104000/gif/_40104599_manu-chels.gif
MANCHESTER (Reuters) - Leading scorer Ruud Van Nistelrooy has been included in the squad for Manchester United's premier league match against Chelsea on Saturday.
The Dutch international has scored 29 goals this season but has played just once since the end of March because of knee and thigh injuries.
Chelsea are four points clear of United in second place with two games to go, and Ferguson believes the second automatic qualification place for the Champions League is out of reach.
"I think the second spot is probably beyond us, but winning your last (home) game is always important, as is getting some form before the (FA Cup) final," Ferguson told reporters on Friday.
Manchester United play Aston Villa away in their final league match before facing first division Millwall in the FA Cup final at the Millennium Stadium on May 22.
"With Chelsea having Leeds United, and there will be lot of despondency over at Elland Road at the moment after they have been relegated, you would expect Chelsea to win their last game. But we want to win our last home game and that's why tomorrow's an important game," Ferguson said.
United prepare to face the losing Champions League semi-finalists having lost three of their last four games. They are 13 points behind newly-crowned champions Arsenal.
"The players, for the first time, haven't been contesting the league and they have found it difficult after beating Arsenal in the (FA Cup) semi-final," Ferguson said.
Ferguson also dismissed the latest round of media reports linking Van Nistelrooy with a move to Real Madrid, saying the striker would be staying at Old Trafford.
"I did what I had to do last week in terms of relieving the supporters' minds about the whole situation with Roy (Keane) and Ruud at the press conference (last week)," Ferguson said.
"That's exactly where the position stands. These players will be here next year."
As well as the return of Van Nistelrooy, Ferguson will also be able to select the fit-again pair of Louis Saha and Cristiano Ronaldo, while Paul Scholes has completed a three-match ban.
Roy Keane, who was recently linked with Celtic, is still out with a hamstring injury.
Team (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, P Neville, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, Butt, Kleberson, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Saha, Forlan.
http://www.reuters.co.uk/newsPackageArticle.jhtml?type=sportsNews&storyID=506599§ion=news
time for ruud awakening ? :evil:
genesis113
07-05-2004, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We should target
1) a defender
4) A striker
1)Lucio or Samuel or Colicini
2)Joquin/Vicente
3)Rothen
4)Morientes/Smith
;)
guoquanyap
07-05-2004, 11:59 PM
40million poound is a bit unrealsitic....20-25million will be more likely....
defence wise is enough...w rio back and wes staying in shape....
jus get one more top creative midfield and a promising striker will be enough....
Totti76
08-05-2004, 02:29 AM
I wish that SAF get a creative midfield/forward...one who can win the game for us...players like Zidane, Figo, Kaka, Aimar, Henry etc
a defender n left mid. If Forlan n butt goes....then can use the $$ to get another striker..or even gives Bellion more chance...his touch may b ave but he is fast....no need to replace butt cos we hv Miller..highly rec. hope can see more of him...
That shld b abt it...cos 40mil is not much in todays market....40 mil likely to buy 2-3 players the most...
guoquanyap
08-05-2004, 02:38 AM
aimar will be great but unlikely...so far no big name link to us...even link to us oso seem like they dun wan to join us....
Totti76
08-05-2004, 09:29 AM
aimar will be great but unlikely...so far no big name link to us...even link to us oso seem like they dun wan to join us....
True...somehow Man U has lose its attraction...:(
Think a few r scare of SAF...
MatrixFanatic
08-05-2004, 11:01 AM
Why no one talked about Van Der Vaart? He's good.:D
Ronaldo7
08-05-2004, 12:04 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic
can play on the left or just behind the striker , but we gonna face fierce competition from juventus , barcelona etc . it won't be easy and he said before that barcelona will be his first choice if he quits Ajax :rolleyes:
leslie_lai
08-05-2004, 12:33 PM
No point going after a player who isn't interested in playing for us. To hell with them I say.
MatrixFanatic
08-05-2004, 02:28 PM
Haix. The most stupid thing manutd has done is to let Robben go chelsea.:mad:
Kyubi
08-05-2004, 03:07 PM
Haix. The most stupid thing manutd has done is to let Robben go chelsea.:mad: ya true .. sigh .. anyway tonite man u will win chelsea . ! players are back ..
ienaris
08-05-2004, 03:24 PM
Dude the first post is dated somewhere about 3 or 4 years back. Why not delete all the really really old post in the football forum. Thank You. (They are redundant by now)
RuMmYtUb
08-05-2004, 04:51 PM
You nv see my earlier posts.. i mentioned him until sian.... he's damn gd lor..
Btw i hope tonite SAF fields a strong squad and achieve victory, nothing to lose, but pride to win.
darrenlee78
08-05-2004, 06:47 PM
rothen was good in the 2 games 1 saw. goes past players and good crossing. will be a good buy. should not be too expensive i think.:D
Kyubi
08-05-2004, 07:55 PM
sigh .. 1 - 0 down to chelsea
Ronaldo7
08-05-2004, 08:22 PM
ruud miss pen , great save by cudicini . come on united :bounce:
RuMmYtUb
08-05-2004, 08:23 PM
:mad:
RvN really no confidence... no goal since Feb really really affected him...
Shld've let Saha take it..
MatrixFanatic
08-05-2004, 08:24 PM
You nv see my earlier posts.. i mentioned him until sian.... he's damn gd lor..
Btw i hope tonite SAF fields a strong squad and achieve victory, nothing to lose, but pride to win.
But he like Barca la. Why Holland players like Barca!!! Robben, Kluivert, Van Der Vaart...
Ruud confidence low... can't blame him. I believe he will score!!! Real sad scholes had to come off early.. but I'd rather he play in the FA cup final.:)
Kyubi
08-05-2004, 09:08 PM
finally a goal frm rvn ... one more pls!!!
MatrixFanatic
08-05-2004, 09:24 PM
I believe in ruud and he scored. HAHA.:D
RuMmYtUb
08-05-2004, 09:30 PM
But he like Barca la. Why Holland players like Barca!!! Robben, Kluivert, Van Der Vaart...
Ruud confidence low... can't blame him. I believe he will score!!! Real sad scholes had to come off early.. but I'd rather he play in the FA cup final.:)
:confused:
Robben went chelski ler, get ur facts right...
dutch players like barca because of their history of signing dutch players...
MatrixFanatic
08-05-2004, 09:32 PM
Robben went chelski ler, get ur facts right...
dutch players like barca because of their history of signing dutch players...
I know.. but according to CM statistics.. which I believe is accurate.. he likes PSV, FC Groningen, Barca.
cracker
08-05-2004, 09:34 PM
final placing for 2004 is 3rd !
real disappointing season considering MU was leading the table up to late Dec.
the defenders seem ok after a horrible time in Feb, Mar and Apr.
the midfield lack of bites......there is no player who can make a decent cross from either flank......On the right was either gary nevile, ronaldo or Ole....and sometime even giggs..
while on the left are silvestre, o'shea, giggs or ronaldo.
Ruud is more of a finisher,,,if there is no cross he cant do anything.
SAF just used giggs as a left winger...and nothing else..
Next season should be giggs last season at OT, he no longer has the speed.
so MU need a natural left winger...let Ronaldo takes the right flank. as for the striker dept, it is up to SAF. but we do need some1 of the Veron or Beckham's calibre who can make pinpoint passes...fletcher seemed to be capable of doing it given more exposure.
Looks like our season is starting earlier this time round. Ah well on to next week and then on to the final. :)
Sian, now no win in 4 matches. :(
Ch3tah_39
08-05-2004, 11:58 PM
at least a draw.. still okie.. 3rd not that bad la..
;)
dr34mc4st3r
09-05-2004, 01:37 AM
I know.. but according to CM statistics.. which I believe is accurate.. he likes PSV, FC Groningen, Barca.
:alien: :alien: :alien:
leo_llw
09-05-2004, 02:02 AM
at least a draw.. still okie.. 3rd not that bad la..
;)
U guys sang a different tune at the start of the season. :laugh:
Kyubi
09-05-2004, 02:09 AM
sad... nvm .. still got FA Cup!
RuMmYtUb
09-05-2004, 02:21 AM
who gives a sh!t about CM stats, now it's real life soccer..
Ronaldo7
09-05-2004, 08:56 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/audio/40130000/rm/_40130511_sport_fergie.ram
fergie's view on the match
cracker
09-05-2004, 09:47 AM
some pple really mixed up virtual and reality !
RuMmYtUb
09-05-2004, 09:57 AM
May 9 - Alex Ferguson has identified Wayne Rooney as his main summer transfer target if he is unable to halt the £40 million departure of Ruud van Nistelrooy to Real Madrid.
Ferguson has been urged by United's England contingent to move for Rooney, given that Van Nistelrooy looks increasingly likely to quit Old Trafford. United's manager knows that the club will come up with the £25m which would persuade Everton to let their 18-year-old striker go.
Van Nistelrooy, who yesterday scored the equaliser after missing a penalty in the 1-1 draw with Chelsea which confirmed second spot for Claudio Ranieri's men, is an increasingly isolated figure in the dressing room after a series of arguments with teammates. It is understood he is ready to move despite signing a £20m five-year contract just four months ago.
Ferguson knows that signing Rooney has the full dressing-room endorsement of United's England players, such as Gary and Phil Neville, Rio Ferdinand and Paul Scholes, who have played with the young Merseysider at international level.
Real Madrid president Florentino Perez is committed to signing Van Nistelrooy within a month despite public assurances from Ferguson that Old Trafford's most prolific finisher will stay.
Just a year after David Beckham's defection for Madrid, the transfer of Van Nistelrooy to the Bernabeu would be difficult to justify for Ferguson and United chief executive David Gill.
Ferguson does not want to lose Van Nistelrooy but Perez, facing an election this summer for the presidency at Real Madrid, will make a £40m bid and test United's resolve.
Perez needs to shore up support for his presidency after a disappointing season, which is likely to end without a trophy for the Spanish giants. United fully appreciate they would need world-class replacements for the departing Dutchman to calm fierce public reaction, which is why Rooney is the key target.
Ferguson has made it clear within the Carrington hierarchy that, despite a £45m investment on new recruits this season, he needs another four or five players to threaten Arsenal's supremacy.
Leeds United's Alan Smith is another target to strengthen the squad, with Diego Forlan expected to leave in the summer, possibly in exchange for Atletico Madrid's emerging star Fernando Torres.
Leeds are preparing to sell Smith, 23, who has privately made it clear that he is ready for talks with Ferguson despite the intense rivalry between Leeds and United. Smith is convinced he must take the best route for developing his career, no matter how his hometown fanatics react, and his advisers are currently involved in a secret initiative which could take him to Old Trafford.
Smith, told by relegated Leeds he must be sacrificed to ease escalating debts, is less impressed with overtures from Liverpool and Newcastle. Ferguson is also on the trail of Marseille s UEFA Cup hero Didier Drogba, with his brother Martin dispatched to watch the French striker demolish Newcastle last Thursday.
KNN, RvN leaving is very likely.. i hope not.. (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=51942)
cutter
09-05-2004, 10:08 AM
hehehe... some people are 'champion manager' wat... SAF, AW, Dalglish etc can go fk spider... got new 'champion' to show them the right way... :D
orca_sea
09-05-2004, 10:09 AM
Haiz it will be veri sad if RVN were to follow Beck to go to Real :(
Ronaldo7
09-05-2004, 10:43 AM
beckham , queiroz and now rvn . knn :mad:
orca_sea
09-05-2004, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
beckham , queiroz and now rvn . knn :mad:
actually tink abt it.. Real seems to like Man U ppl alot hahahaha:laugh:
MatrixFanatic
09-05-2004, 10:49 AM
:(
.... yesterday during the match between Manu and Chelsea the commentator said Terry's fave club is also Manutd. I checked Cm stats and it's also the same.:)
Ch3tah_39
09-05-2004, 11:04 AM
U guys sang a different tune at the start of the season. :laugh:
wat tune lehz..??
3rd place veri bad mehz..??
RuMmYtUb
09-05-2004, 11:24 AM
this is a tactic, by buying our best players, real are actually weakening us... thus making us unable to perform in europe... den they have 1 less challenger...
but i think they shld eye chelski instead.. :D
orca_sea
09-05-2004, 12:07 PM
this is a tactic, by buying our best players, real are actually weakening us... thus making us unable to perform in europe... den they have 1 less challenger...
but i think they shld eye chelski instead.. :D
but i tink itz the other way ard.. they r being eye by chelski instead hahahah :laugh: :laugh: =p
May 9 - Alex Ferguson has identified Wayne Rooney as his main summer transfer target if he is unable to halt the £40 million departure of Ruud van Nistelrooy to Real Madrid.
Ferguson has been urged by United's England contingent to move for Rooney, given that Van Nistelrooy looks increasingly likely to quit Old Trafford. United's manager knows that the club will come up with the £25m which would persuade Everton to let their 18-year-old striker go.
Van Nistelrooy, who yesterday scored the equaliser after missing a penalty in the 1-1 draw with Chelsea which confirmed second spot for Claudio Ranieri's men, is an increasingly isolated figure in the dressing room after a series of arguments with teammates. It is understood he is ready to move despite signing a £20m five-year contract just four months ago.
Ferguson knows that signing Rooney has the full dressing-room endorsement of United's England players, such as Gary and Phil Neville, Rio Ferdinand and Paul Scholes, who have played with the young Merseysider at international level.
Real Madrid president Florentino Perez is committed to signing Van Nistelrooy within a month despite public assurances from Ferguson that Old Trafford's most prolific finisher will stay.
Just a year after David Beckham's defection for Madrid, the transfer of Van Nistelrooy to the Bernabeu would be difficult to justify for Ferguson and United chief executive David Gill.
Ferguson does not want to lose Van Nistelrooy but Perez, facing an election this summer for the presidency at Real Madrid, will make a £40m bid and test United's resolve.
Perez needs to shore up support for his presidency after a disappointing season, which is likely to end without a trophy for the Spanish giants. United fully appreciate they would need world-class replacements for the departing Dutchman to calm fierce public reaction, which is why Rooney is the key target.
Ferguson has made it clear within the Carrington hierarchy that, despite a £45m investment on new recruits this season, he needs another four or five players to threaten Arsenal's supremacy.
Leeds United's Alan Smith is another target to strengthen the squad, with Diego Forlan expected to leave in the summer, possibly in exchange for Atletico Madrid's emerging star Fernando Torres.
Leeds are preparing to sell Smith, 23, who has privately made it clear that he is ready for talks with Ferguson despite the intense rivalry between Leeds and United. Smith is convinced he must take the best route for developing his career, no matter how his hometown fanatics react, and his advisers are currently involved in a secret initiative which could take him to Old Trafford.
Smith, told by relegated Leeds he must be sacrificed to ease escalating debts, is less impressed with overtures from Liverpool and Newcastle. Ferguson is also on the trail of Marseille s UEFA Cup hero Didier Drogba, with his brother Martin dispatched to watch the French striker demolish Newcastle last Thursday.
KNN, RvN leaving is very likely.. i hope not.. (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=51942)
Hope its bull****.:mad:
Fergie already say Ruud will be with us next season. :rolleyes:
Kyubi
09-05-2004, 01:35 PM
wow torres coming .? sure ? lolz tats one gd sign.. but rooney .. zz .. rvn actually after half of the season like din perform very well ..
Today we been linked with 4 strikers, Drogba, Torres, Smith and Rooney.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/3697517.stm
leslie_lai
09-05-2004, 02:59 PM
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
we'll always be linked with players lah. at the end of the day we'll sign none of those on the target list.
Torres and Drogba? don't kid me man
Rooney has zero class.. forget it.
Smith will be good!
leslie_lai
09-05-2004, 03:13 PM
this isn't a transition period, its a slump!
time to pack our squad with world class players .. beginning with a central mid and an ENTIRELY new defence (minus o'shea, rio and of course howard)
Ch3tah_39
09-05-2004, 04:15 PM
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
we'll always be linked with players lah. at the end of the day we'll sign none of those on the target list.
Torres and Drogba? don't kid me man
Rooney has zero class.. forget it.
Smith will be good!
smith okie only la.. not really gd..
only veri determine player...
yulee
09-05-2004, 04:31 PM
Fergie's fretful future
Sunday May 9, 2004
The Observer
A worried Sir Alex Ferguson insisted last night that Manchester United wanted to go into the FA Cup final feeling good about themselves.
'We stand together,' he said after the 1-1 draw against Chelsea, before thanking supporters for their loyalty in a difficult season. 'I am determined we will not be going to the Cup final shredded into tiny pieces.'
Even Ferguson's sternest expression, though, cannot disguise the fact that the matter is largely out of his hands.
For the second summer in succession, Real Madrid are in the market for Old Trafford's star performer, and unlike last year with David Beckham, their pursuit of Ruud van Nistelrooy does not have the manager's tacit encouragement. Ferguson will go into the Cup final on 22 May under more pressure than at any time since his team began winning titles in 1993.
The result against Millwall is not that important. Nor is the fact that United have finished only third in the Premiership and will face the complications of qualifying for the Champions League on top of an already overcrowded pre-season programme. What matters most to Ferguson and United is their pre-eminence as a destination for major football talent: that is what will be at stake should van Nistelrooy move.
The situation is simple. Real Madrid want a striker. Thierry Henry does not want to leave Arsenal, and their second choice is van Nistelrooy, who does not enjoy the same relationship with Ferguson as Henry does with Arsène Wenger.
Van Nistelrooy did not sign up to play in FA Cup finals, but European ones. United have so far failed to fulfil that part of the unwritten contract, one that looked less difficult when he first agreed to join the then treble holders in 2000. Real Madrid are not in the European Cup final either, though over the past five years their policy of buying a galactico every season has brought a level of success to eclipse Manchester United's.
United have also been eclipsed at home by Arsenal and Chelsea. Losing their leading scorer against their wishes would send a signal of weakness around the world. It was one thing to mess up the signing of Ronaldinho to replace Beckham (blame the then chief executive, Peter Kenyon), and another to lose out to Chelsea in the race for Arjen van Robben (Kenyon, now at Chelsea, again). It would be another matter entirely were key players already at the club to leave. United would be dead in the water. And, without a new home-grown generation as good as the last one to turn to, so might Ferguson.
Last week, Ferguson, van Nistelrooy and Roy Keane appeared together on TV to dispel rumours of dissent at Old Trafford. Neither van Nistelrooy nor Ferguson was able to say categorically that there would be no move to Madrid, but they did show there was none of the seething animosity that apparently drove Beckham away. 'I did not do it for the benefit of the media, I did it so our supporters could hear first-hand that there is no dissension behind the scenes,' Ferguson said. Damage limitation, in other words.
That shows the pressure Ferguson is under. The team have fallen away from the gold standard they have set themselves over the Ferguson years. It would be ridiculous to suggest that this most motivated and successful of managers lacks ambition, but he is all too clearly struggling to invest an FA Cup final against Millwall with the requisite level of importance.
This is a manager who has had a pacemaker fitted this season, and who intended to retire two years ago. No one was saying his U-turn was a mistake last season, when United denied Arsenal the title with a display of sustained tenacity, but the team's performances this season have been far less convincing. Ferguson is already experiencing difficulty replacing Beckham, bedding in new signings, finding a way to keep Keane going and facing the reality that his golden generation of a decade ago has grown old together, without losing his main source of goals.
If van Nistelrooy goes, the rebuilding project might be so large that the club entrust it to a younger manager. Elder statesmen were all the rage a year or two ago. Not now. The ages of the two coaches involved in the Champions League final will not have gone unnoticed, and contemporaries of Ferguson - Ottmar Hitzfeld, Marcello Lippi and Sir Bobby Robson - are either stepping down or dodging questions about their successor.
In February, at the height of the Rock of Gibraltar dispute when United lost at home to Middlesbrough and away to Porto, Ferguson assured supporters that the empire was not crumbling. At the time United were actively involved in the title race and Europe. Now they have only the FA Cup, and the Coolmore threat has not gone away, just settled down for a while. There are several people who could make United's foundations shake this summer. Perhaps for the first time Ferguson is not one of them.
Because of what happened two years ago, when this era ends it will end suddenly.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still more troubles ahead? :(
genesis113
09-05-2004, 04:58 PM
why the rumours never stop against Ruud?
As the richest club in the world, if United fail to keep Ruud for a least another season, it was definitely disaster to see if Ruud incident end up as another Becks saga.
if so, we would be soon follow the step of Liverpool, suffering year after year without premiership title.
:mad:
RuMmYtUb
09-05-2004, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Hope its bull****.:mad:
Fergie already say Ruud will be with us next season. :rolleyes:
I dun believe in words they say.. juz look at Becks...:rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
09-05-2004, 05:05 PM
time to pack our squad with world class players .. beginning with a central mid and an ENTIRELY new defence (minus o'shea, rio and of course howard)
pls lar, it's not easy as clearing the whole team ... it's not like u want who, u'll get who..
Cerez: Torres going nowhere
Atletico Madrid president Enrique Cerez has insisted that striker Fernando Torres will not be moving to Premiership giants Manchester United.
The Spanish international, who has scored 17 goals in 32 Primera Liga matches this season, has been the subject of much transfer speculation after an excellent season with the Vicente Calderon outfit.
Atletico claim they have rejected a second bid from The Red Devils for the Spanish international, with reports in Italy also linking the striker with a move to Serie A champions Milan.
Cerez now claims United can keep coming to the table as many times as they want for Torres, but that the striker will be staying with Atletico.
"They can keep knocking at the door, but we will continue to refuse to open it," Cerez told The Sunday Mirror.
"Some of the money that has already been offered to us has been crazy, but Torres stays with Atletico."
Meanwhile, United captain Roy Keane believes the Old Trafford club can still compete with the likes of moneybags Chelsea for transfers this summer.
Despite the billions of Blues' Russian owner Roman Abramovich giving the Stamford Bridge club the clout to buy almost any player in world football, Keane believes United offers more than just a sizable wage packet as a player at the club.
"I think if Manchester United are interested in a player there's always a pretty good chance of them coming to Old Trafford," said Keane.
"Some players out there will look at their wage packet as their priority, and they are entitled to do that, but most players will look at the whole package.
"Our club has proven over the years that the gaffer will always give young players a chance."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=202336&cpid=8
uRiZEn
09-05-2004, 06:35 PM
Actually i would prefer SAF to sign Baraja or Gattuso over striker.
Gotta accept tat Keane is not the Ol Keano.He cant compete with the likes of Viera or Gerard anymore.
Gattuso will be the excellent signin.:D
RuMmYtUb
09-05-2004, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Actually i would prefer SAF to sign Baraja or Gattuso over striker.
Gotta accept tat Keane is not the Ol Keano.He cant compete with the likes of Viera or Gerard anymore.
Gattuso will be the excellent signin.:D
2nd that, but hard to prise him away..
I do believe that we need more players brought to spark our attack. We do have a lot of midfielders, but most are too defensive minded or just not up to it - this needs to be rectified with creative input. Ruud and Louis have looked good, but we do need another quality striker in case of injuries and to increase competition for places.
For too many games this season we have simply not provided proven goalscorers with quality ball. We have therefore not scored in alot of games. :(
Thinker
09-05-2004, 07:34 PM
Don't be a moron. Sack the entire defence?
Ruud van Nistelrooy hit the Premiership goal trail for the first time in three months at Old Trafford - then repeated his mantra that he is staying with Manchester United.
The Dutchman seized on Carlo Cudicini's late blunder to net his 27th goal of a difficult season, scarred by injury, intense speculation about his future and three misses from the penalty spot, and earn United a 1-1 draw with Chelsea.
Though the strike was not enough to prevent the Red Devils being dumped into August's Champions League qualifiers, it did allow the 27-year-old to emphasise his willingness to stay with the club who paid £18.5million to PSV Eindhoven for his services just three years ago.
'At the same time next season I will be here talking about another Premiership season because I am going nowhere,' said the striker, whose previous denials have done little to quash rumours of a big money move to Real Madrid.
'This result means we have finished third, which is not what we hoped for but we are confident we can improve next season.'
It looked like being another bleak day for van Nistelrooy when Cudicini saved his 41st minute spot-kick, bringing up an unhappy Old Trafford hat-trick following his previous penalty failures against Bolton and Arsenal.
But, without a Premiership goal since February 11, the striker reset his focus on breaking his duck and when Cudicini fumbled Mikael Silvestre's harmless cross, the Dutchman kept his cool and fired home for the 107th time in his remarkable United career.
'After the penalty, there was only one thing on my mind,' he said. 'I wanted a goal.
'The run wasn't bothering me because I have missed a few games through injury and I did score against Manchester City and Fulham in the FA Cup but it was great to get one in the end.
'The most important thing though was to get through the game without a problem.
'I needed to see how fit I was because while training is okay, you need to play matches.
'I worked hard and I felt sharp. I don't know whether I will be involved against Aston Villa next week but whatever happens, we can look forward to the FA Cup final with a bit more confidence.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=299894&cc=4716
StormTrooper
09-05-2004, 10:21 PM
chelsea did and what did they win? nothing! :cool:
leslie_lai
10-05-2004, 03:49 AM
Originally posted by StormTrooper
chelsea did and what did they win? nothing! :cool:
Chelsea reshuffled nearly the whole starting 11, I'm only referring to ONE midfielder and probably THREE defenders here. READ.
leslie_lai
10-05-2004, 03:57 AM
Originally posted by Thinker
Don't be a moron. Sack the entire defence?
Not too much of a thinker here, eh?
Gary Neville is now too old (although most defenders shld be at the top of their games at his age), his peak is long past.
Wes Brown's a 2nd rate defender who lacks vision, makes too many silly mistakes to cover for the good performances he managed to put in AND too injury prone. Each time he is about to hit top form, he injures himself and when he is back and makes tons of unpardonable mistakes, people argue that he's just returned from an injury, the cycle continues.
Silvestre, still alright when compared to the 2 above but still, there can be better choices if you expect the same quality as the treble winning squad.
O'Shea and Rio will form the pillar of our defence for many years to come, should be played in the central together when Rio returns from his ban.
Howard has been doing a great jpb, Carroll is more than good enough for a cover.
Now for the midfield, Keane is ageing and we have no idea how good Liam Miller is or can be. Kleberson, big disappointment although he shows alot of promise .. but he'll most likely be shipped out.
With the 40 million made available and the probable sale of some players, this is definitely realistic.
leslie_lai
10-05-2004, 03:59 AM
We don't really need another striker, our current ones are good enough. Have faith in them :)
StormTrooper
10-05-2004, 07:56 AM
time to pack our squad with world class players
we don't have that many world class players in the squad right now........so if you want to pack it with world class players, half the team will have to go isn't it?
cracker
10-05-2004, 08:28 AM
No point in buying "world class" players if they cant fit into the team. Utd had Veron, Chelsea had Crespo...but both didnt really shine for one reason or another.
AW bought Viera and Henry as unknown and they had been groomed into good players. Not many pple heard of Ruud when he was in Holland,,but he had done reasonably well in the last
So I think getting "world class" players is good for the club's PR and generation of more money for the shareholders in term of merchandise's sale,,,but is no sure bet for success !
SebastianKae
10-05-2004, 09:02 AM
Not too much of a thinker here, eh?
Gary Neville is now too old (although most defenders shld be at the top of their games at his age), his peak is long past.
Wes Brown's a 2nd rate defender who lacks vision, makes too many silly mistakes to cover for the good performances he managed to put in AND too injury prone. Each time he is about to hit top form, he injures himself and when he is back and makes tons of unpardonable mistakes, people argue that he's just returned from an injury, the cycle continues.
Silvestre, still alright when compared to the 2 above but still, there can be better choices if you expect the same quality as the treble winning squad.
O'Shea and Rio will form the pillar of our defence for many years to come, should be played in the central together when Rio returns from his ban.
Howard has been doing a great jpb, Carroll is more than good enough for a cover.
Now for the midfield, Keane is ageing and we have no idea how good Liam Miller is or can be. Kleberson, big disappointment although he shows alot of promise .. but he'll most likely be shipped out.
With the 40 million made available and the probable sale of some players, this is definitely realistic.
I agree with you on the Gary Neville's part, he is getting old, he is bad this season, i dont think he will get any better in the next one.
But i do not agree with the Wes Brown area. I think this guy has become more solid, we shouldnt look into the past and treat it as a viscious cycle, we should give him time, we know he can be a good defender when he reaches his top form. I think Utd should give him alittle time, a partnership with the rock solid Rio will do him and Utd good.
Oshea needs more time to develop as a defender. He like to attack, its a good thing, but he needs to learn how to put his body against the ball when opponents are attacking, replays of balls going between his legs are killing me.
Agree with you again on Keano. He should go. Way too old and too much wear-n-tear for this old man to play top flight football.
I do not like Silvest as a centre back, as a fan, i think he should return to leftback position.
Djemba Djemba looks promising, definite ball winner but also a ball loser when it comes to passing. Hes young, n he should stay on for another 2 season before we judge him.
Forlan, he should go.
Kleberson, well, i dont know, i guess i have not much comments about this guy, i guess the only problem with him is how to fit him into the squad.
Ronaldo, best player of the season for me, young, energetic, fast, talented, i think if Utd can get another steal like this boy, we definitely be a force to be reckon with in 2 seasons' time.
Ruud, if he is unhappy, he should go. He is one important player in the team, but we dont need an unhappy striker upfront, he misses beckham's passing, thats why he is under performing this season as a whole. Unless we can get someone with creativity in passing, ruud will not stay for long.
Saha, this man has a future with utd, u guys have seen how hard he worked during the chelsea match.
Phil, time to go.
Butt, this man has the potential to replace keano, not with his playing time this season though
Giggs, getting old, still active and menace to defense, but not as consistant, we need a backup replacement for gigsy.
Scholes, still in his prime, for another 2 seasons at least.
Howard, another good buy for us, will be comparable to peter next season.
Carroll, good backup, we have solved our keeper crisis that happened for the last 2 seasons.
My personal view as a soccer fan of Utd,
We need a creative midfielder to spray passes and create chance.
A backup left midfield for giggs
A backup right back
A backup centre back just in case the FA decides to replay the Riogate again.
Ronaldo7
10-05-2004, 02:45 PM
Originally posted by SebastianKae
I agree with you on the Gary Neville's part, he is getting old, he is bad this season, i dont think he will get any better in the next one.
But i do not agree with the Wes Brown area. I think this guy has become more solid, we shouldnt look into the past and treat it as a viscious cycle, we should give him time, we know he can be a good defender when he reaches his top form. I think Utd should give him alittle time, a partnership with the rock solid Rio will do him and Utd good.
Oshea needs more time to develop as a defender. He like to attack, its a good thing, but he needs to learn how to put his body against the ball when opponents are attacking, replays of balls going between his legs are killing me.
Agree with you again on Keano. He should go. Way too old and too much wear-n-tear for this old man to play top flight football.
I do not like Silvest as a centre back, as a fan, i think he should return to leftback position.
Djemba Djemba looks promising, definite ball winner but also a ball loser when it comes to passing. Hes young, n he should stay on for another 2 season before we judge him.
Forlan, he should go.
Kleberson, well, i dont know, i guess i have not much comments about this guy, i guess the only problem with him is how to fit him into the squad.
Ronaldo, best player of the season for me, young, energetic, fast, talented, i think if Utd can get another steal like this boy, we definitely be a force to be reckon with in 2 seasons' time.
Ruud, if he is unhappy, he should go. He is one important player in the team, but we dont need an unhappy striker upfront, he misses beckham's passing, thats why he is under performing this season as a whole. Unless we can get someone with creativity in passing, ruud will not stay for long.
Saha, this man has a future with utd, u guys have seen how hard he worked during the chelsea match.
Phil, time to go.
Butt, this man has the potential to replace keano, not with his playing time this season though
Giggs, getting old, still active and menace to defense, but not as consistant, we need a backup replacement for gigsy.
Scholes, still in his prime, for another 2 seasons at least.
Howard, another good buy for us, will be comparable to peter next season.
Carroll, good backup, we have solved our keeper crisis that happened for the last 2 seasons.
My personal view as a soccer fan of Utd,
We need a creative midfielder to spray passes and create chance.
A backup left midfield for giggs
A backup right back
A backup centre back just in case the FA decides to replay the Riogate again.
nice one :) but don't really agree with you that phil should go thou :rolleyes:
AhGoh
10-05-2004, 02:48 PM
phil is a better player in midfield that that lazy butt
chyehock
10-05-2004, 03:53 PM
Agreed that Phil is quite solid. If you look at the first half of the season ManU are very good. This season Arsenal look good based on 3 things. Firstly, the whole team is not change except for the keeper. Second, they got very good luck by drawing games that they are supposed to loss and winning some as well. Thirdly, if you notice, quite a few refrees are against ManU and prefer arsenal a look at the FA will do.
Originally posted by AhGoh
chyehock
10-05-2004, 04:07 PM
Agreed that Phil is quite solid. If you look at the first half of the season ManU are very good. This season Arsenal look good based on 3 things. Firstly, the whole team is not change except for the keeper. Second, they got very good luck by drawing games that they are supposed to loss and winning some as well. Thirdly, if you notice, quite a few refrees are against ManU and prefer arsenal a look at the FA will do.
Originally posted by AhGoh
we'll storm back this august ....
RuMmYtUb
11-05-2004, 01:52 AM
Adding to SebastianKae's words, striker also needed if Forlan is offloaded..
SebastianKae
11-05-2004, 08:46 AM
phil is solid as a defensive player, but to me, this guy loses the ball too often. In certain games, phil will be needed like games against arsenal, where he can tackle the hell out of pires and reyes, but for a mid-table team game, Utd's usual playing style was one-touch accurate passing, phil doesnt have this attribute in his pocket. My personal views only;)
As fans, we have to be realistic, i personally dont expect gigantic stars like Vieri, Del Piero etc etc to join Utd. The only one star we got was Veron, he came, underperformed and got criticized by the fans, which is bad. The next big star (in his prime) to join the EPL is Hernan Crespo, for the sake of the money from Roman, i still prefer to see these players in an Italian or Spanish team. Instead of hoping Utd will sign someone established, i am weirdly and quietly excited about Liam Miller's arrival, his background suits the style of Utd, young and unknown. But, to be unrealistic, i am still hoping Gerrard from LIverPOol will join Utd, hahahahaha, that will be fun.
RuMmYtUb
11-05-2004, 10:42 AM
Judas !
But i like :D
yulee
11-05-2004, 11:23 AM
Sell SAF fast! He should stick to horse breeding!:laugh:
Ronaldo7
11-05-2004, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by yulee
:alien: :alien:
RuMmYtUb
11-05-2004, 01:06 PM
Pls **** off this forum, you should stick to being a couch potato.
SebastianKae
11-05-2004, 01:09 PM
:alien: :alien: :mog:
United move okay for Smith (http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_951626.html?menu=sport.football)
Andrade eyeing United switch (http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_951625.html?menu=sport.football)
leo_llw
11-05-2004, 01:09 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
yeah right...
Arsenal draw games due to their good luck.
ManU lose games due to their bad luck.
FA helps Arsenal but baised against ManU.
same old script. anything new to add.
I dun see you guys said such things when ManU won last season.
:yawn:
SebastianKae
11-05-2004, 01:21 PM
ah ah, dont put all utd fans together as 'you guys'
like i said, utd lost this season becuz arsenal is a better team this season, they deserve to win this season. Kudos to arsenal.
But i am still a utd fan and i expect my team to put up a good show next season.
Manchester United are preparing a £17 million bid for Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard.
According to the Daily Mirror, Sir Alex Ferguson is ready to test the London club with a massive bid for the England international.
Lampard has yet to agree a new contract with Chelsea as he wants the same pay as the top earners at the club.
Juventus and Barcelona are also keen on the hard-working midfielder.
http://www.sublimefootball.com/article.php?artid=2845
yulee
11-05-2004, 03:19 PM
Smith open to Man Utd offer
Leeds striker Alan Smith has admitted for the first time he would consider moving to Manchester United.
Smith will be sold in the summer after the Elland Road club were relegated to Division One, but had previously hinted he would be looking for a club abroad.
"At this stage you can't rule out anything," Smith told BBC Five Live.
"People say that Leeds and Manchester United are big rivals but we're not even going to be in the same division so it's not even a rivalry."
He added: "I'm not saying I want to walk out of here and go to Manchester United, but they're a massive club.
"If you said the same thing to me about Valencia or Juventus, I'd tell you the same answer.
"At this stage of my career, if I want to win trophies and I want to do well, then I've got to move on.
"If I were 32 I'd stay here, it's as simple as that.
"But I'm not, I'm 23, I've got a lot of football in me and I'm an ambitious person."
Sir Alex Ferguson is known to be a big admirer of Smith's battling qualities.
And Eric Cantona's succesful Old Trafford career proved that a player can overcome the fierce rivalry between the two clubs when he joined Manchester United from Leeds in 1992.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Ronaldo7
11-05-2004, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United are preparing a £17 million bid for Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard.
According to the Daily Mirror, Sir Alex Ferguson is ready to test the London club with a massive bid for the England international.
Lampard has yet to agree a new contract with Chelsea as he wants the same pay as the top earners at the club.
lampard :eek: don't think chelsea will let him go as he has been impressive this season , but anything can happen in football thou :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
11-05-2004, 04:23 PM
yeah right...
Arsenal draw games due to their good luck.
ManU lose games due to their bad luck.
FA helps Arsenal but baised against ManU.
same old script. anything new to add.
I dun see you guys said such things when ManU won last season.
:yawn:
hello stop stereotyping Man Utd supporters...:alien:
leslie_lai
11-05-2004, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
:o :o
Manchester United today announced details of this summer's Vodafone Cup tournament at Old Trafford.
Four teams will take part in the pre-season event on Tuesday 3 and Thursday 5 August; hosts United being joined by PSV Eindhoven, Boca Juniors and Japanese outfit Urawa Red Diamonds.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=59844&itype=466&icategoryid=119
Those teams should provide a great warm up. Urawa for the confidence. Boca for the toughness (physically) and PSV for the techinical side.
leo_llw
11-05-2004, 10:46 PM
hello stop stereotyping Man Utd supporters...:alien:
my apologies...but some of your fellow fans are :rolleyes:
good luck on Lampard though but I dun see the point. Lampard and Scholes are very similar players. If both play together, who's the anchor? ;)
darrenlee78
11-05-2004, 11:10 PM
lampard is good. fit and can put in best performance during the whole match. he also like never get injured.. seen him in every chelsea game. gives an additional attacking option as he strikes the ball well from outside the box. Havent seen scholes do that lately :(
goaheadbingostan
12-05-2004, 12:13 AM
make or break season for Man Utd.
Ronaldo7
12-05-2004, 08:25 AM
Originally posted by goaheadbingostan
make or break season for Man Utd.
yulee
12-05-2004, 08:31 AM
They have never been the same since the won the Treble...
IMHO, Lampard is able to play well because of Makelele helping out in anchoring the midfield and breaking up attacks.
I think currently at Man Utd, there's no one who can do it as effectively as Makelele. No offense to Keane (he's really not that effective) or Phil Neville.
leo_llw
12-05-2004, 09:32 AM
Originally posted by darrenlee78
lampard is good. fit and can put in best performance during the whole match. he also like never get injured.. seen him in every chelsea game. gives an additional attacking option as he strikes the ball well from outside the box. Havent seen scholes do that lately :(
Scholes is an attacking mid.....with Keane mellowing, Butt, P.Neville and DJDJ not really convincing, Scholes often needs to backtrack and does things that he would not be doing when Keane is younger.
It kinda of take away some of his attacking game... hope your Miller is up to the hype :D
RuMmYtUb
12-05-2004, 10:25 AM
Would be dream come true if we get GATTUSO.. :D
FORLAN KEEN TO STAY AT OLD TRAFFORD
Manchester United striker Diego Forlan has expressed his determination to stay at Old Trafford beyond this summer.
The Uruguayan has found first-team opportunities increasingly limited over the second half of the Barclaycard Premiership season, following the acquisition of Louis Saha from Fulham and the return to fitness of Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.
His aim is to become Ruud van Nistelrooy’s regular partner in United’s attack, but much depends on whether Sir Alex Ferguson decides Forlan is an expendable asset.
Forlan said: “Van Nistelrooy is a great goal scorer and he is one of the best.
“For me it is great here and I am learning off the other players like Ruud and Ole.
“I want to play, I am ready for my opportunity and I want to win titles here.
“Ferguson is a great manager and you can see how he has influenced the players that have worked with him all the time. He wants to win and he expects that from all the players.”
The United boss bought Forlan in January 2002, when he was brought in as a replacement for Andy Cole, who had switched to Blackburn the previous month.
However he has since struggled to find the form which made him a prized asset in South America, playing for Argentinian club Independiente.
“You need to play all the games for the full 90 minutes,” said Forlan. “That makes the difference.
“When you are on the bench, you are not getting that consistency, and it affects your confidence and you are not going to be happy.
“When you play one game and don’t score and then you wonder if you are going to be in the team next week, it affects your self-belief.”
Despite starting 11 matches in the Barclaycard Premiership this season, Forlan has had no regrets about moving to United.
He was close to joining Middlesbrough before United persuaded him to join them, and the transfer to Old Trafford has yet to be the raging success he would have hoped for.
But he is confident that the experience of the past two years will serve him well.
“I always liked the idea of coming to England and I was confident that I would do well,” said Forlan, who was a top tennis player as a youngster before opting for a career in football.
“It was a hard transition but as I had lived in Argentina for four years I was used to living away from home and all the staff and players at Manchester United have been great.”
Forlan, like many observers, believes Rio Ferdinand’s eight-month ban for missing a drugs test has had an exacting effect on the United team this season.
“To lose a quality player like (Rio) Ferdinand was a big blow as he leads from the back,” said Forlan, “and we have also been unlucky with injuries this season.”
LOL thought we see the back of him.
Sbragia's Starlets Win Manchester Senior Cup
United have reclaimed the Manchester Senior Cup after a 3-1 win in the final against local rivals Manchester City.
A Kenny Cooper double and a late strike from Sylvan Ebanks-Blake were enough for Ricky Sbragia's men to ensure that the trophy comes to Old Trafford for the 26th time in its long history.
Colin Heath should have opened the scoring for United after 17 minutes, but headed Keiran Richardson's pinpoint cross past the far post.
The deadlock was broken after 25 minutes by American striker Cooper, who slid home another perfect Richardson cross from close range.
United thoroughly deserved their lead, having bossed a cagey opening to the game.
However, the visitors equalised with five minutes of the first half remaining as Bradley Wright-Phillips powered home a close-range header from a short corner.
Yet Cooper restored the Reds' lead in first-half injury time, cutting inside before firing home left footed from 15 yards following a swift break.
City came close to levelling twice early on in the second half, as Wright-Phillips hit the bar with a header and saw Carroll save well from a long-range effort.
Chances were few and far between for the Reds after the break, but Ebanks-Blake popped up in stoppage time to clinch the Cup for Ricky Sbragia's side.
United: Carroll, Lynch, Tierney, Spector, Howard, Jones, Eagles (N'Galula), Fox, Cooper (Ebanks-Blake), Heath (Poole), Richardson.
City: Ellegaard, Flood, Jordan, Whelan, McCarthy, Onuoha (Warrender), Croft, Negouai (Laird), Elliott, Wright-Phillips, Tiatto (Ireland).
Attendance: 3,484
Report by Steve Bartram.
Source: www.ManUtd.Com
Ch3tah_39
12-05-2004, 05:16 PM
i believe forlan can make it one.. hope he can stay for one more season to prove himself:(
Manchester United have unveilved plans for the Vodafone Tournament which will take place at Old Trafford at the start of August.
United will play PSV Eindhoven on the 3rd August and then Asian outfit Urawa Red Diamonds on the 5th of the month.
The full summer schedule of games is as follows:
21 July Flying to Philadelphia, US
25 July Playing Bayern Munich (Chicago)
28 July Celtic (Philadelphia)
31 July AC Milan (New York)
3 Aug PSV Eindhoven (Old Trafford)
5 Aug Urawa Red Diamonds (Old Trafford)
6 Aug Stan Ternent Testimonial
8 Aug Arsenal - Community Shield (Millennium Stadium)
11 Aug Champions League qualifier
14 Aug Premiership season starts
25 Aug Champions League qualifier
http://manutd.soccer24-7.com/general/2116
thats about 10 games in less than 30 days, ridiculous, our players going to get exhausted even before the season starts. :mad:
MatrixFanatic
12-05-2004, 05:26 PM
Ole's final farewell
Ole Solskjaer is set to say an emotional farewell to Manchester United at this month’s FA Cup final. The Norwegian forward looks likely to leave Old Trafford this summer for around £3million, with Celtic his likeliest destination. A knee operation has forced him to miss most of this season. He has started only 10 games, scoring just one goal. In the meantime, boss Alex Ferguson has bought Louis Saha, Cup-tied for the Millwall date on May 22, to partner Ruud van Nistelrooy up front. Ferguson also sees Darren Fletcher as the long-term fixture on the right flank, where Solskjaer played at the end of last season. The Scot has been preferred in two of United’s last three games.
Neil Custis, The Sun
Ole's final farewell
Ole Solskjaer is set to say an emotional farewell to Manchester United at this month’s FA Cup final. The Norwegian forward looks likely to leave Old Trafford this summer for around £3million, with Celtic his likeliest destination. A knee operation has forced him to miss most of this season. He has started only 10 games, scoring just one goal. In the meantime, boss Alex Ferguson has bought Louis Saha, Cup-tied for the Millwall date on May 22, to partner Ruud van Nistelrooy up front. Ferguson also sees Darren Fletcher as the long-term fixture on the right flank, where Solskjaer played at the end of last season. The Scot has been preferred in two of United’s last three games.
Neil Custis, The Sun
bollocks, and its Neil Custis the same person who talk about Ruud, Giggs, Rio and Keane exit too. :mad:
Ole can't go...he hasn't had an opportunity to prove himself this season, he can still do a job for us next season. ;)
MatrixFanatic
12-05-2004, 05:38 PM
I second that.:D
The least Solskjaer can do is to be a super sub again.
Yellowfin
12-05-2004, 05:58 PM
i believe forlan can make it one.. hope he can stay for one more season to prove himself:(
I believe if forlan stay out of the box and shoot from outside the 18 yard box, he could have score more goal than if he play in the box with the back facing the goalmouth or trying to tap in from close range.
Hopefully, his confident will regain from there on.
ericsoon72
12-05-2004, 06:32 PM
solskjaer shouldn't leave just because's he not in the first team. he has shown his true potential as a sub, scoring important goals with his never-say-die attitude. He will provide cover when either rvn or saha is injured or off-form
cutter
12-05-2004, 07:18 PM
ya dun believe this Neil Cuntis tok kok muckraker...notorious un UK for he 'exclusives'...bcos his paper is a pangsaizhua and not the more respectable ones like NYT or The Times of London...cannot kana sack for telling lies... he's the type of liar that everyday tell lies... so even if he tell me 1+1=2, I will take out calculator in front of him to double-check...
that said, Ole seems different after his injury, and SAF is ruthless enough to wield the axe... my feeling though is that Ole's ultra-professionalism is more valuable to SAF during training... solid soldier whose example is as useful to the young players on the training pitch as well as the matchday pitch.
leslie_lai
12-05-2004, 07:43 PM
Originally posted by cutter
ya dun believe this Neil Cuntis tok kok muckraker...notorious un UK for he 'exclusives'...bcos his paper is a pangsaizhua and not the more respectable ones like NYT or The Times of London...cannot kana sack for telling lies... he's the type of liar that everyday tell lies... so even if he tell me 1+1=2, I will take out calculator in front of him to double-check...
that said, Ole seems different after his injury, and SAF is ruthless enough to wield the axe... my feeling though is that Ole's ultra-professionalism is more valuable to SAF during training... solid soldier whose example is as useful to the young players on the training pitch as well as the matchday pitch.
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Ronaldo7
12-05-2004, 08:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United have unveilved plans for the Vodafone Tournament which will take place at Old Trafford at the start of August.
United will play PSV Eindhoven on the 3rd August and then Asian outfit Urawa Red Diamonds on the 5th of the month.
thats about 10 games in less than 30 days, ridiculous, our players going to get exhausted even before the season starts. :mad:
vodafone cup ? :rolleyes:
Ronaldo7
12-05-2004, 08:37 PM
he's the type of liar that everyday tell lies... so even if he tell me 1+1=2, I will take out calculator in front of him to double-check...
Next Match : Villa VS Man Utd , LIVE on channel 24 , SAT 955pm
Totti76
12-05-2004, 10:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN
with this fixture, SAF still want to complain Euro 04 will tired his players...
Should hv rest more....esp players who play in Euro 04...Skip the tour i say...
guoquanyap
12-05-2004, 11:03 PM
Originally posted by RVN
not to mention that most of the players will be invole in the euro2004....
RuMmYtUb
13-05-2004, 12:37 AM
exhibition match... :(
guoquanyap
13-05-2004, 12:41 AM
cancelled....show arsenal vs leicester instead....:(
Ronaldo7
13-05-2004, 07:39 AM
cancelled....show arsenal vs leicester instead....:(
sian 1/2 . guess we will have to wait for the facup final liao
jujube
13-05-2004, 12:36 PM
Community Shield? wow so sure they will win the FINAL ??!?!
Ronaldo7
13-05-2004, 02:11 PM
Giggs tells Man Utd: Sign Leeds striker Smith
tribalfootball.com - May 13, 2004
Ryan Giggs has urged his Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson to sign Leeds striker Alan Smith.
The United winger said, "There has been a lot of talk about Alan Smith saying he'd be interested in a move to Manchester United.
"Any player in the Premiership would want Alan in their team and we are no different.
"He is a very good player and we would certainly welcome him at Old Trafford. I can't pretend there isn't a huge rivalry between ourselves and Leeds and it doesn't often happen that a player moves from one to the other.
"But recently Rio Ferdinand and Eric Cantona have done it. And, in this day and age, I don't think the rivalry should affect Alan's decision.
"It must be hard for Alan because he is Leeds through and through. But he is an ambitious lad who wants to be playing at the highest level.
"He is an excellent striker who should be playing in the Premiership and, with Leeds being relegated, he needs a new challenge.
"We will have to wait and see where he ends up but I know everyone here would be very pleased if it was United."
guoquanyap
13-05-2004, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by jujube
Community Shield? wow so sure they will win the FINAL ??!?!
*opps* ya it's not for sure we gonna win the FA cup....but i am confident those guys will raise to the ocassion and show wat they hav to win the cup....
RuMmYtUb
13-05-2004, 04:49 PM
Giggs tells Man Utd: Sign Leeds striker Smith
tribalfootball.com - May 13, 2004
Ryan Giggs has urged his Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson to sign Leeds striker Alan Smith.
The United winger said, "There has been a lot of talk about Alan Smith saying he'd be interested in a move to Manchester United.
"Any player in the Premiership would want Alan in their team and we are no different.
"He is a very good player and we would certainly welcome him at Old Trafford. I can't pretend there isn't a huge rivalry between ourselves and Leeds and it doesn't often happen that a player moves from one to the other.
"But recently Rio Ferdinand and Eric Cantona have done it. And, in this day and age, I don't think the rivalry should affect Alan's decision.
"It must be hard for Alan because he is Leeds through and through. But he is an ambitious lad who wants to be playing at the highest level.
"He is an excellent striker who should be playing in the Premiership and, with Leeds being relegated, he needs a new challenge.
"We will have to wait and see where he ends up but I know everyone here would be very pleased if it was United."
I got a feeling Smithy will be with us next season.. :D
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's agent has scotched reports linking his client with a move to Celtic, but Bhoys boss Martin O'Neill has admitted he is a huge fan of the striker.
Celtic are in desperate need of a new centre forward, with Henrik Larsson due to depart in the summer, and reports have suggested O'Neill has trained his sights on Manchester United's Norwegian marksman.
O'Neill says he has not made any contact with Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson, but admits he is a huge fan of the striker.
"I have not requested anything about Ole Gunnar Solskjaer," O'Neill told TV2.
"Of course I fancy Solskjaer as a player, but there are a lot of footballers we are interested in.
"But whether we can afford them is a different matter."
Solskjaer has had a season ravaged by injury and is desperate to make strides over the summer.
It is being claimed he could be moved on as part of a clearout at Old Trafford, but his agent feels such a development is unlikely.
"It's just nonsense," Solskjaer's agent Jim Solbakken told Dagbladet about the possibility of a move to Celtic.
"We have heard nothing about it, it's just nonsense.
"I don't even want to comment on it.
"He has been linked with Celtic before. We denied it then and deny it now.
"I don't want to bother to keep talking about this any longer."
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1135050,00.html
guoquanyap
13-05-2004, 07:55 PM
i really hope caroll can play in the last match against villa and play in the FA cup final instead of howard.....
imo at this moment caroll is way better than howard.....really feel for caroll as he doesnt really get wat he deserve all this yrs in manu......
yulee
14-05-2004, 02:27 PM
Last chance for the team to salvage some pride from a disastrous season...
Ronaldo7
14-05-2004, 03:22 PM
a draw looks likely :rolleyes: btw , is man u going to change their home kit next season ? :confused:
I got a feeling Smithy will be with us next season.. :D
http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v70/JohnnyBoy/smith.bmp
RuMmYtUb
14-05-2004, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by RVN
wah knn bro u so eng ar... anyway see.. he looks gd in our jersey.. :D
leslie_lai
14-05-2004, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
MatrixFanatic
14-05-2004, 08:41 PM
Whose body is that? :rolleyes:
Totti76
14-05-2004, 11:42 PM
a draw looks likely :rolleyes: btw , is man u going to change their home kit next season ? :confused:
Supposely yes...think they now hv rules that they can only change kit every two yr. wonder wat colour n design? Hopefully the design hv collar...I prefer with collar...:D
guoquanyap
14-05-2004, 11:51 PM
can change home kit very 2 yrs....but away kit can change every season....
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1211247.jpg
Roy Keane is facing a race against time to be fit for next Saturday's FA Cup final.
Manchester's United's midfield powerhouse has been ruled out of Saturday's final Premiership game of the season against Aston Villa due to a hamstring complaint.
Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson has conceded his captain's injury has not responded as well as had been hoped and is worried he may not make the Millennium Stadium showdown with Millwall.
"Roy is not 100 percent fit at the moment and I want to ensure he is fit for the final," said the Scottish tactician.
"We have another seven days and, hopefully, we can get him on the training field and mended.
"His hamstring has not progressed the way we expected.
"We've worked him hard on the training ground in terms of running to get him fit.
"If there is any question of his fitness next Saturday, he will not play. You cannot start an FA Cup final if you have a hamstring problem."
Ferguson, though, will give the Republic of Ireland international every chance to prove his well-being.
"It will not worry me that he has not had games leading up to the final as long as he is fit," added Ferguson.
"That shows what a key figure he is for us on the big occasion. But I will not risk him if there are doubts."
Ferguson, meanwhile, is said to be planning for next season - with reports suggesting he is ready to move for Newcastle defender Jonathan Woodgate.
England international defender Woodgate is said to be disgruntled by Newcastle's failure to secure a place in the UEFA Champions League and is considering his future at St James' Park.
Ferguson has always held a high opinion of Woodgate and is said to be ready to dip into his substantial war chest and reunite the defender with his former Leeds team-mate Rio Ferdinand.
Newcastle would be loathe to sell the defender, even at a substantial profit, and manager Sir Bobby Robson is sure to fight hard to keep his defensive lynchpin at the club.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1135316,00.html
orca_sea
15-05-2004, 04:51 PM
Whose body is that? :rolleyes:
The background show the original head is wif black hair..mayb itz Gary Neville...hahaha :laugh: :laugh:
orca_sea
15-05-2004, 04:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1211247.jpg
Roy Keane is facing a race against time to be fit for next Saturday's FA Cup final.
Manchester's United's midfield powerhouse has been ruled out of Saturday's final Premiership game of the season against Aston Villa due to a hamstring complaint.
Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson has conceded his captain's injury has not responded as well as had been hoped and is worried he may not make the Millennium Stadium showdown with Millwall.
"Roy is not 100 percent fit at the moment and I want to ensure he is fit for the final," said the Scottish tactician.
"We have another seven days and, hopefully, we can get him on the training field and mended.
"His hamstring has not progressed the way we expected.
"We've worked him hard on the training ground in terms of running to get him fit.
"If there is any question of his fitness next Saturday, he will not play. You cannot start an FA Cup final if you have a hamstring problem."
Ferguson, though, will give the Republic of Ireland international every chance to prove his well-being.
"It will not worry me that he has not had games leading up to the final as long as he is fit," added Ferguson.
"That shows what a key figure he is for us on the big occasion. But I will not risk him if there are doubts."
Ferguson, meanwhile, is said to be planning for next season - with reports suggesting he is ready to move for Newcastle defender Jonathan Woodgate.
England international defender Woodgate is said to be disgruntled by Newcastle's failure to secure a place in the UEFA Champions League and is considering his future at St James' Park.
Ferguson has always held a high opinion of Woodgate and is said to be ready to dip into his substantial war chest and reunite the defender with his former Leeds team-mate Rio Ferdinand.
Newcastle would be loathe to sell the defender, even at a substantial profit, and manager Sir Bobby Robson is sure to fight hard to keep his defensive lynchpin at the club.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1135316,00.html
Realli hope we can secure woody to strengthen and add depth to our defense... pls a left attacking midfielder n a forward/striker will complete the whole team liao.. :D
apparently arsenal will also fight with us for him too, from bbc, come on dun lose out to them. :mad:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/3717023.stm
vivre
15-05-2004, 06:49 PM
Apparently Man City may be forced to sell players as their debts increase... Hope Man Utd goes for Shaun Wright-Phillips... Really like his attacking style...
Ronaldo7
15-05-2004, 08:16 PM
wright phillips got a habit of scoring against us :rolleyes: :eek:
don't think newcastle will let woodgate go thou , considering their shaky defence :rolleyes:
leslie_lai
15-05-2004, 09:29 PM
Woodgate is one of my dream signings for United.
Kyubi
15-05-2004, 10:16 PM
wow within 10mins .. man u score 2 against aston villa .. sigh .. why they r not like tat before the season ends .. :(
guoquanyap
15-05-2004, 10:25 PM
why no live!! not even replay!! :mad: :mad:
Kyubi
15-05-2004, 10:28 PM
lolz .. now showing the exciting match .. liverpool against newcastle .. newcastle win .. they will b in the CL .. lolz
cracker
15-05-2004, 10:39 PM
Originally posted by Kyubi
lolz .. now showing the exciting match .. liverpool against newcastle .. newcastle win .. they will b in the CL .. lolz
the CL qualifiers are Arsenal. Chelsea while MU and Liverpool are involved in the playoff.
if result go the way of newscastle, they will qualify for the UEFA cup.
Kyubi
15-05-2004, 10:40 PM
Originally posted by cracker
the CL qualifiers are Arsenal. Chelsea while MU and Liverpool are involved in the playoff.
if result go the way of newscastle, they will qualify for the UEFA cup. opz .. paiseh .. my mistake dude ..
greycat87
15-05-2004, 11:08 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Yucks... hope man utd can get a better striker... i dont like ah beng players
Kyubi
15-05-2004, 11:13 PM
hahah tat pic lolz .. edited :laugh:
guoquanyap
15-05-2004, 11:23 PM
jus watched the 2 goals scored against villa....
ronaldo goal is nice...:bounce: :bounce:
OKK77
15-05-2004, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by greycat87
Yucks... hope man utd can get a better striker... i dont like ah beng players
So, we should sign you?
Kyubi
15-05-2004, 11:54 PM
yeah final score 0-2 :D lets hope they will get better .. n sign better players this pre season :P
Ch3tah_39
16-05-2004, 12:01 AM
wat happened?? i see frm livescore that c.ronaldo and darren both tio send off??!!:eek:
Ronaldo and Fletcher both sent off. :mad:
But a good eprformances from the lads. :D
Kyubi
16-05-2004, 12:02 AM
too bad din show live :slant: n there will b no repeat on this m,atch rite ?
Thank you manu for beating villa
guoquanyap
16-05-2004, 12:05 AM
****...ronaldo n Fletcher going to miss the FA cup final!! :mad: :mad:
fletcher still okie....but ronaldo is one of the star to spark this season....
millwall pay villa to provoke them.....?
****...ronaldo n Fletcher going to miss the FA cup final!! :mad: :mad:
fletcher still okie....but ronaldo is one of the star to spark this season....
that fussy ref ruined the match for us. :mad:
I remember when Gary was sent off against city, he play immediately in the next match before serving his ban, so perhaps they both should be available for the final, but they both miss the 1st game of next season. :mad:
Kyubi
16-05-2004, 12:25 AM
haiz .. anyway did u all saw the full time report now .. see how ronaldo n van nistelrooy score ?? lolz .. ronaldo's one very nice sia!
guoquanyap
16-05-2004, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by RVN
that fussy ref ruined the match for us. :mad:
I remember when Gary was sent off against city, he play immediately in the next match before serving his ban, so perhaps they both should be available for the final, but they both miss the 1st game of next season. :mad:
ya both of them can play...jus read the report....
Card-happy referee Rob Styles decided to inject his own interpretation of end-of-season fun by sending off Darren Fletcher and Cristiano Ronaldo in the second half.
Both were sent off for two bookable offences. It was red cards numbers eleven and twelve for Rob Styles this season, in only 20 matches. Both players will be available for the FA Cup final.
Kyubi
16-05-2004, 12:38 AM
ya both of them can play...jus read the report....
Card-happy referee Rob Styles decided to inject his own interpretation of end-of-season fun by sending off Darren Fletcher and Cristiano Ronaldo in the second half.
Both were sent off for two bookable offences. It was red cards numbers eleven and twelve for Rob Styles this season, in only 20 matches. Both players will be available for the FA Cup final. wow .. tats gd!
Reds End Campaign With Villa Park Victory
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40157000/jpg/_40157355_ruud_pa300x245.jpg
United finished the Premiership season in an upbeat mood after defeating Aston Villa 2-0 at Villa Park on Saturday.
Early goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and Ruud van Nistelrooy put the Reds firmly in the driving seat and they proceeded to put on one of the best performances of the campaign.
But there was a down side in the second half as Darren Fletcher and Ronaldo were both given their marching orders after twice finding their way into the referee’s notebook. Neither will miss next week’s FA Cup final against Millwall in Cardiff.
The three points came as great tonic coming as it did on the back of three match run without a win.
The defeat meant that Aston Villa missed out on finishing the season in fifth place and qualification for the UEFA Cup. Newcastle’s point against Liverpool at Anfield coupled with Villa’s defeat was enough to give the Magpie’s European football next season on goal difference.
Sir Alex Ferguson said he was going to play a strong side in this final game of the Premiership, and he was true to his word.
Some fans were suggesting that the big names would be rested ahead of next week’s FA Cup final, but that most certainly wasn’t the case. Only Roy Keane (injured) and Rio Ferdinand (suspended) were missing from what most would look on as United’s strongest sixteen of the moment.
There was no Ronny Johnsen in the Villa line-up, whilst Dion Dublin, another one-time United favourite, was amongst the claret and blues’ substitutes.
The last time United visited Villa Park on the Premiership’s final day was four years ago when Teddy Sheringham claimed the points for the Reds with the game’s only goal.
United had long retained the title whilst Villa finished the season in sixth place behind, United, Arsenal, Leeds United, Liverpool and Chelsea.
Little change there then, with one notable exception!
It was a bright, pleasantly warm, afternoon in Birmingham as the game started with United defending the Witton End goal.
Villa Park was alive with noise and colour as the match got under way with the home side flooding forward in a bid to grab an early opener. Both Villa strikers, Peter Crouch and Juan Pablo Angel, showed up well in those initial forays, but it was United who were to put the first mark on the board.
The home side had been prominent from the kick-off, but in the 4th minute United broke forward to score in their first real attack. Cristiano Ronaldo, wide on the right, was allowed to advance by the Villa defence. The way just opened for the young winger and he accepted the opportunity to hit a low shot inside Thomas Sorensen’s left post.
United, and their fans, were understandably delighted with the early breakthrough, but they were just a few minutes away from even greater joy.
Six minutes later and United were two-up and looking well on their way to a third Villa Park victory of the season. Villa were again guilty of poor defending and they were punished again, this time by van Nistelrooy. Defender Liam Ridgewell did his best to prevent the ball from crossing the line but Rob Styles, the referee, consulted his assistant who signalled that Ridgewell’s efforts had indeed been in vain.
Gary Neville, who was no doubt looking to add to his recent goal tally, Paul Scholes, van Nistelrooy and Ronaldo all had goal attempts blocked as United tried to consolidate even further their splendid opening spell.
Gareth Barry’s spectacular overhead almost brought Villa back into the picture in the 28th minute but it went the wrong side of Tim Howard’s crossbar.
United ended the half in almost total control of the game, two goals to the good and playing some of their best football of the entire season.
Angel was put into a good position thanks to fine through ball from skipper Olof Mellberg, in the fourth minute of the second half, but his shot couldn’t beat Howard, who dived to save.
Ryan Giggs, the United captain, should have upped the advantage in the 52nd minute after meeting a right wing cross from van Nistelrooy, but he somehow spooned his over from right in front of the posts.
Marcus Allback, on for Crouch in the 58th minute, almost headed Villa back into the game from Ridgewell’s deep cross, but Howard collected at full stretch.
An epidemic of yellow cards was a feature of the second half which reached an unwanted peak in the 75th minute when Darren Fletcher received his second of the game and instructions to make his way to the dressing rooms.
United were forced to complete the last five minutes with nine men after Ronaldo was booked for a second time and followed Fletcher to the dressing room.
ASTON VILLA: Sorensen; De La Cruz, Mellberg, Ridgewell, Samuel; Hendrie (Whittingham, 76), McCann, Hitzlsperger, Barry (Dublin, 82); Crouch (Allback, 58), Angel.
MANCHESTER UNITED: Howard; Neville G., Brown, Silvestre, O’Shea (Djemba-Djemba, 73); Ronaldo, Fletcher, Neville P., Giggs; Scholes; van Nistelrooy (Saha, 61).
Substitutes: Carroll, Kleberson, Solskjaer.
Attendance: 42,573
Report by Cliff Butler.
http://www.manutd.com/footballnow/matchreport.sps?sNewsMonth=7&select1=458&eventid=11044
RuMmYtUb
16-05-2004, 02:18 AM
Hehe, Ronaldo is the buy of the season.. :D
Hope we have more of such young gems/wonderkids coming in.. :bounce:
Ronaldo7
16-05-2004, 08:34 AM
Ferguson hits out at ref
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson labelled referee Rob Styles' decision to send off Darren Fletcher and Cristiano Ronaldo as "bizarre".
The pair were both dismissed for second bookable offences, and Ferguson said: "You can't even comment on those decisions - it's bizarre.
"But the seriousness of it is that those players will miss the first game of next season which is disappointing.
"Otherwise, I think our performance was very good."
He added: "The victory was important confidence-wise (going into next Saturday's FA Cup Final).
"The good thing about today was that Villa had to win the game (to qualify for the Uefa Cup) and we responded well to that.
"The pace of the game was good, and our play from the back to the front was excellent.
"That was our best performance since our away win at Everton in February."
yulee
16-05-2004, 10:47 AM
United in for Woody
By NEIL CUSTIS
MANCHESTER UNITED are preparing to make a £12million swoop for Jonathan Woodgate.
The Newcastle centre-half wants a move following the Toon’s failure to qualify for the Champions League.
Woodgate, 24, has been impressive in his first full season at Newcastle and there is no way the club would want to sell.
But there will be little they can do if the player makes it clear he wishes to respond to any overtures from Old Trafford. The defender cost Toon £9m when he moved from Leeds in January last year.
A switch to United would see Woody renew his defensive partnership with former Leeds pal Rio Ferdinand.
United manager Alex Ferguson has a £40m transfer kitty earmarked for a summer spending spree.
He is desperate for a quality defender, especially as Ferdinand’s eight-month ban for missing a drug test will keep him out until September.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Press Watch: Ferguson prepared to bring Rooney to Old Trafford
According to the Mail on Sunday, Sir Alex Ferguson has identified Wayne Rooney as his main summer transfer target if he is unable to halt the £40m exit of Ruud van Nistelrooy to Real Madrid and knows Manchester United will fork out the £25mto persuade Everton to let him go.
The Sunday Express says he is planning a £30m double swoop for Rooney and Alan Smith if Van Nistelrooy goes. Smith will be a target for both United and Liverpool, the News of the World predicts. However, the People reckons Ferguson has 25-year-old Marseille striker Didier Drogba in his sights in a £14m deal. The Sunday Mirror says United had a £15m bid for 18-year-old Atletico Madrid striker Fernando Torres rejected.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Any truth?
uRiZEn
16-05-2004, 11:31 AM
Wow if really get woody then its gonna be great.
But 25million for not even a worldclass striker for Rooney is absurd.
If RVN goes to RM ask for Morientes for trade+cash.
greycat87
16-05-2004, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
So, we should sign you?
I don't mind ;)
Ch3tah_39
16-05-2004, 12:09 PM
rio and woodgate patnership.. haha looks gd lehz:cool:
leslie_lai
16-05-2004, 12:14 PM
Rooney.
cracker
16-05-2004, 12:25 PM
cant understand the logic in buying Looney de Rooney !!!
RuMmYtUb
16-05-2004, 12:45 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Wow if really get woody then its gonna be great.
But 25million for not even a worldclass striker for Rooney is absurd.
If RVN goes to RM ask for Morientes for trade+cash.
I'd like to see Morientes too.. :D
United in for Woody
By NEIL CUSTIS
MANCHESTER UNITED are preparing to make a £12million swoop for Jonathan Woodgate.
The Newcastle centre-half wants a move following the Toon’s failure to qualify for the Champions League.
Woodgate, 24, has been impressive in his first full season at Newcastle and there is no way the club would want to sell.
But there will be little they can do if the player makes it clear he wishes to respond to any overtures from Old Trafford. The defender cost Toon £9m when he moved from Leeds in January last year.
A switch to United would see Woody renew his defensive partnership with former Leeds pal Rio Ferdinand.
United manager Alex Ferguson has a £40m transfer kitty earmarked for a summer spending spree.
He is desperate for a quality defender, especially as Ferdinand’s eight-month ban for missing a drug test will keep him out until September.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Press Watch: Ferguson prepared to bring Rooney to Old Trafford
According to the Mail on Sunday, Sir Alex Ferguson has identified Wayne Rooney as his main summer transfer target if he is unable to halt the £40m exit of Ruud van Nistelrooy to Real Madrid and knows Manchester United will fork out the £25mto persuade Everton to let him go.
The Sunday Express says he is planning a £30m double swoop for Rooney and Alan Smith if Van Nistelrooy goes. Smith will be a target for both United and Liverpool, the News of the World predicts. However, the People reckons Ferguson has 25-year-old Marseille striker Didier Drogba in his sights in a £14m deal. The Sunday Mirror says United had a £15m bid for 18-year-old Atletico Madrid striker Fernando Torres rejected.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Any truth?
LMFAO, Rooney and Smith ain't a prolfic goal-scorer as Ruud.
Why the press keep insisting Ruud to leave, After that press conference where Fergie, Ruud and Keano came out to face the press and said they all stay. :mad:
Ronaldo7
16-05-2004, 01:09 PM
Roo-naldo and Ronaldo playing for Utd next season ? :eek: :rolleyes: But 25m for him is too much already . Rather Utd bid for Drogba
RuMmYtUb
16-05-2004, 03:12 PM
Roo-naldo and Ronaldo playing for Utd next season ? :eek: :rolleyes: But 25m for him is too much already . Rather Utd bid for Drogba
Drogba so gd meh ?
Just becoz he scored those 2 goals against Newcastle ??
Hmm he's like abit over-rated wor...
cutter
16-05-2004, 05:02 PM
dunno leh... saw Drogba on TV a couple of times and he looks very good... big fella with great pace, positioning, control and touch... commentators kept comparing him to Henry. Sorta remember somewhere that Drogba was nominated for African Footballer of the Year so he's been recognised at the very least as a quality player. Playing against big English or European teams is one thing... whether he can do well against the Boltons and the Portsmouths is another...
re Woodgate, compared to the 30mil splashed on his former Leeds defensive partner Rio, the 9mil spent by Newcastle looks like a great bargain... Rio has also had his long injury timout + his stupid drugs test thing... on the other hand the 'exclusive' has Neil Cuntis' name on it so sure cannot believe one... Newcstle will never sell him so quickly... they don't need the cash anyway
orca_sea
16-05-2004, 05:15 PM
I'd like to see Morientes too.. :D
i tink Morientes is definitely better than Rooney lor..
Ronaldo7
16-05-2004, 05:27 PM
FERGIE'S GERRARD ADMIRATION
Sunday 16th May 2004
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson feels Liverpool's Steven Gerrard is ready to take over from Roy Keane as the finest midfielder in The Premiership.
The Scottish tactician, who is looking to reshape his squad over the summer, feels Gerrard is probably out of reach in terms of prising him away from Anfield but has made no secret of his admiration for the England international.
Ferguson was also quick to praise Arsenal titan Patrick Vieira, but he feels Gerrard does more for the team than the French superstar.
"If you were looking for the player you would replace Keane with, it's Gerrard, without question," Ferguson told The Sunday Times. "He has become the most influential player in England, bar none.
"Not that Vieira lacks anything, but I think that Gerrard does more for his team than Vieira does.
"To me, Gerrard is Keane; he is now where Keane was when Roy came to us in 1994. I've watched him quite a lot, and everywhere the ball is, he seems to be there.
"He's got that unbelievable engine, desire, determination. Anyone would take Gerrard.
"Vieira has done that job for Arsenal for two or three years. But you can see Gerrard rising and rising."
Keane is still the driving force at Old Trafford but he is very much in the autumn of his career.
Ferguson is sure to be making plans for life without Keane, but he would face a huge battle to lure Kop favourite Gerrard away from Liverpool.
:rolleyes:
Saturday 22nd May
Kick off: 10.00pm Live on Super Sports
2004 FA Cup final: Manchester United v Millwall
http://www.teambath.com/i/resources/facup.jpg
I am going to put all the misery of this season behind... heres to a happy ending to a poor season. :D
RuMmYtUb
16-05-2004, 08:13 PM
For now... Morientes is 28 whereas Rooney's 18..
Rooney's got a long road ahead of him.... With the guidance of David Moyes, he can be a world class player..
guoquanyap
16-05-2004, 10:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Saturday 22nd May
Kick off: 10.00pm Live on Super Sports
2004 FA Cup final: Manchester United v Millwall
http://www.teambath.com/i/resources/facup.jpg
I am going to put all the misery of this season behind... heres to a happy ending to a poor season. :D
well hopefully is a happy ending instead of
major upset....watch w a open mind....
millwall should not be underestimated....
cutter
17-05-2004, 12:58 PM
cannot compare mah... one is a proven world class Champions League winning international striker at the height of his powers and experience.... while the other is still a rising star prodigy playing for a crap team, who has won nothing yet.
Morientes and Rooney are different types of forwards too... in fact can complement each other as a strike force, with their different attributes :D.... Morientes can also translate for Scouser Rooney when facing the English press :D:laugh:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.