PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

cutter
17-05-2004, 01:02 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

well hopefully is a happy ending instead of
major upset....watch w a open mind....

millwall should not be underestimated....

hope the Cardiff FC supporters turn up in force to boo the Millwall side (Cardiff and Millwall buay gam each other and their hooligans always fight each other one) :evil:

Kiwi8
17-05-2004, 01:17 PM
Originally posted by cutter

cannot compare mah... one is a proven world class Champions League winning international striker at the height of his powers and experience.... while the other is still a rising star prodigy playing for a crap team, who has won nothing yet.

Morientes and Rooney are different types of forwards too... in fact can complement each other as a strike force, with their different attributes :D.... Morientes can also translate for Scouser Rooney when facing the English press :D:laugh:

I thought Rooney knows how to speak English? :confused: :confused:

Ronaldo7
17-05-2004, 01:21 PM

hope the Cardiff FC supporters turn up in force to boo the Millwall side (Cardiff and Millwall buay gam each other and their hooligans always fight each other one) :evil:

wah .. evil

but i support :evil:

cutter
17-05-2004, 01:35 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

I thought Rooney knows how to speak English?

you ever heard him in a TV interview? with his thick mumbling Scouser accent aso dunno he kong similan :laugh: ... Morientes aso a lot more yan dao (Ashton Kutcher lookalike :D ) than Rooney (who looks like a scouse punk who will slash your tyres if you park too long in Liverpool :D )...TV screen won't crack if got visual balance :laugh:

RVN
17-05-2004, 06:21 PM
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has denied transfer speculation that he will leave Manchester United this summer.

The Norwegian striker sees his limited appearances this season, following knee surgery in September, as a stepping stone for season 2004/05.

"I have not played well, but that does not mean that I am looking for a new club," Solskjaer told the M.E.N.

"When you have had a bad season, as Manchester United have as a club, there is always going to be speculation around every player.

"There has been a lot said about Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs and Ruud van Nistelrooy. It is just the way when you are at this club."

Ole told ManUtd.com a week ago that he plans to work on his fitness throughout the summer.

"My goal next season is to be good enough to play. I am only looking forward.

"I know that on my best days I am good enough to play for Manchester United," he added.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=61770&itype=466&icategoryid=120

wadeva_lah
18-05-2004, 12:40 AM
i say man utd shud go for heskey...
he will be good enough a sub rather than forlan...

jujube
18-05-2004, 12:43 AM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah

nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

guoquanyap
18-05-2004, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah

heskey okie lah...but he's not the name we should bring in to challeage the title and euro....

cutter
18-05-2004, 01:17 AM
aiya u nebber follow news ah? heskey signed for Birmingham for 3.5mil liao. If want a good and cheap striker with solid attitude should go for Forsell...but he also agreed to stay at Birmingham for another year's loan liao. There is also that Italian U-21 star striker Gilardino (23 goals in Serie A this season, second top scorer just a goal behind Shevchenko)... plays for Parma, and we know Parma pok liao and need serious cash...=p

leo_llw
18-05-2004, 07:59 AM
for the devils

http://redarmy.212cafe.com/video/eric_cantona.zip

Ronaldo7
18-05-2004, 08:28 AM
Man Utd to splash out on Lille fullback Abidal
tribalfootball.com - May 17, 2004

Manchester United are chasing Lille fullback Eric Abidal.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is keen to add a versatile defender to his squad and scouts have identified 24-year-old Abidal as the prime target after another outstanding season in French football.

The Lyon-born star would cost around £5million and while United would have no trouble meeting the fee or his wage demands, Fergie knows both Milan clubs are also chasing Abidal.

Ronaldo7
18-05-2004, 08:59 AM
Smith to sign for United in £6m deal
By Glenn Moore
18 May 2004

Alan Smith is poised to join Manchester United in a move that will further infuriate Leeds United's disillusioned supporters. The England striker, who was yesterday put on stand-by for the European Championship finals, spent the day in Manchester talking with United representatives.

As a lifelong Leeds United fan Smith is well-aware of the trans-Pennine antipathy, a rivalry which will not have been dimmed by Leeds' relegation. He will have seen at close hand the abuse that Rio Ferdinand and Eric Cantona received from Leeds fans following their transfers to Manchester United.

However, last week Smith refused to rule out a move to Old Trafford. He argued that with Leeds heading for the Nationwide League, Manchester United were no longer rivals. "I'm not ruling anything out," he said.

With Sir Alex Ferguson a long-time admirer of the 23-year-old striker, that was all the encouragement the deposed champions needed. Smith was contacted and quickly decided United were his first choice. Assuming he is able to agree terms, his move will disappoint several Premiership clubs including Newcastle United, Middlesbrough and Birmingham City. There was also foreign interest in Smith, notably from Juventus and Valencia.

The two Uniteds are yet to agree a fee but Leeds have little bargaining power. Though Smith is under contract, their financial crisis means they must remove him from the wage bill. If Smith insists it he is only interested in Manchester United they could offer a derisory fee, as Liverpool did last year to secure Harry Kewell for £5m, £2m of which went to his agent. However, with Smith insisting he still loves Leeds, and wants to come back to play for them, a more reasonable price, perhaps £6m, may be agreed

:eek: :eek:

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=522350

uRiZEn
18-05-2004, 09:40 AM
Oh no not him.....:(

yulee
18-05-2004, 10:03 AM
Time to spend some money on some defenders - no use being able to score goals infront and haemorrhaging goals at the back!:laugh:

rethel
18-05-2004, 11:00 AM
aiya u all buy this buy that also will smell butt in the end of season lah. scally next season kana regalated also dunnoe LOL.

talk about luck ? why not say ur parents give birth to u as a guy is a sorta luck ? u know who i mean asshole.

Ronaldo7
18-05-2004, 11:12 AM
Originally posted by rethel
aiya u all buy this buy that also will smell butt in the end of season lah. scally next season kana regalated also dunnoe LOL.

chelsea fan :laugh:

yulee
18-05-2004, 11:37 AM
I wonder which team's been on a shopping spree the last season - must be nice smelling Russian butt :laugh:

RVN
18-05-2004, 12:26 PM
ALAN SMITH is on the verge of becoming a Manchester United player.

Preliminary talks have already taken place between the Leeds striker and the Old Trafford club.

And Smith, 23, is keen on the move, with a deal set to be finalised by next week.

United will see off interest from Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Birmingham to get him on the cheap for around £4million.

It means Smith will tread the same path as Rio Ferdinand in quitting Elland Road to join their fierce rivals.

And as revealed in SunSport, United boss Alex Ferguson is keen on landing Leeds old boy Jonathan Woodgate, who is now a centre-back with Newcastle.

Smith’s arrival could also spell the end of Old Trafford careers for Diego Forlan and Ole Solskjaer.

Leeds have to get Smith off their payroll and they are desperate for transfer cash.

The England hitman, who has been left out of the Euro 2004 squad, made the heartbreaking decision to leave his hometown club after they suffered the drop.

He received stick from a section of Leeds fans in the 1-0 defeat at Chelsea on Saturday after it emerged he could be going to United.

Angry Smith furiously told supporters to ‘f*** off’ after they had singled him out with chants of ‘Sign for the Scum, you won’t be back’. But Elland Road caretaker-boss Kevin Blackwell urged bitter fans not to end their love affair with Smith.

Blackwell said: “We all know Manchester United and Leeds are not the best of friends.

“But the fans have to understand that Smith has got to move on.

“The lad doesn’t deserve any criticism after all he’s done for this club.

“Alan has given his all for Leeds. But he is a professional footballer and the supporters must respect what he has to do.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004230125,00.html

leslie_lai
18-05-2004, 12:29 PM
CAN'T WAIT FOR HIM TO DON THE UNITED JERSEY.. OMG OMG!

4 million would be a STEAL for a player of Smith's calibre! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

RuMmYtUb
18-05-2004, 12:37 PM
May 18 - Leeds United striker Alan Smith is in talks with Manchester United over a £5million move to Old Trafford.

United manager Alex Ferguson, who is hoping to sign the 23-year-old forward in a cut-price deal following Leeds' relegation to Division One, opened talks with Smith and his representatives last night.

Ferguson sees the England international, left on stand-by by Sven Goran Eriksson for Euro 2004 yesterday, as the first part of his summer rebuilding exercise after finishing third in the Premiership.

With United and Ferguson expecting a mouth-watering £40m bid from Real Madrid for Ruud van Nistelrooy in the coming months, the Old Trafford manager knows a proven Premiership and European striker is the priority.

Although he added Fulham's Louis Saha in a £12m deal in January, Ferguson's other attacking options are Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, who could be heading to Celtic after a season plagued by injury, and £6m Uruguayan Diego Forlan.

Smith has interested Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Birmingham but has made United his No. 1 choice, despite expected opposition from Leeds fans still smarting from Rio Ferdinand's move across the Pennines.

Leeds, £50m in debt, continue to leak cash at an alarming rate. Supporters are bracing themselves for a summer clear-out, with James Milner favourite to follow Smith to Old Trafford.

Even as haulage magnate and Leeds fan Steve Parkin, 43, inspects the books with a view to a £25m takeover, Leeds' current regime are heading towards financial meltdown unless more top players are moved out.

The £1.5m fee Tottenham paid up front for England goalkeeper Paul Robinson last week will be eaten up by a £1.75m interest payment due on June 1 on the £15m loan Leeds took out in March.

A wage bill that needs to be slashed from £38m a year to nearer £10m has actually risen with the return of the unwanted Danny Mills and Michael Bridges.

Striker Bridges, who has been on loan at Newcastle, will leave at the end of next month when his £22,000-a-week contract expires. But former England right back Mills could be around for some time.

Mills, who spent the season at Middlesbrough after a row with then manager Peter Reid, is a target for Birmingham, Boro and Newcastle, and has been formally handed a free transfer.

But with four years left on a contract worth up to £2m a year, 27-year-old Mills is in no hurry to accept an inevitable wage-cut elsewhere.

Alan Smith ROX! (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=52502)

RVN
18-05-2004, 05:49 PM
SIR ALEX FERGUSON is ready to hand FA Cup Final places to Cristiano Ronaldo and Darren Fletcher - meaning heartbreak for England duo Nicky Butt and Phil Neville.

Fergie has been so impressed with rising stars Ronaldo and Fletcher recently he has no qualms about them starting against Millwall on Saturday.

And that means Butt and Neville, both named yesterday in Sven Goran Eriksson's squad for Euro 2004, face being relegated to the bench at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium.

But while Fergie is sure of Ronaldo and Fletcher, there is a serious doubt over skipper Roy Keane.

Keane's Cup Final destiny will be decided today, with Fergie desperate for his inspirational leader to recover in time from a hamstring injury.

Despite Ronaldo and Fletcher being sent off in United's 2-0 win over Aston Villa on the final day of the season, Fergie has no doubts over their ability to handle the big occasion.

He said: "We were never going to rush those two players because we see fantastic potential there - we are talking top Manchester United players. Both of them, in any era.

"I'm as sure about those two as any players who have come to United. They are absolute certainties.

"Temperament, personality, character, determination - everything is there with those two players.

"It's even more pronounced in Ronaldo, simply because he is Portuguese. He shows more emotion, whereas Fletcher is very calm and has this cold determination about him.

"For me, he was man-of-the-match when we beat Arsenal in the FA Cup semi-final. We've been playing him out on the right of midfield, which you can do when a player is young.

"But he is, and will be, a central midfielder."

Keane will learn today whether he can play any part in the final, having undergone extensive treatment.

The United skipper has not played since last month's Premiership clash with Liverpool and Fergie said: "We'll have to get Roy football training by Tuesday in order to give us a good run before we would contemplate putting him in for the final.

"He trained well last week, running-wise, but has a swelling at the base of his hamstring."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=14250448%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=my%2dnew%2dera-name_page.html

leslie_lai
18-05-2004, 06:35 PM
.....Fletcher, damn.

Ch3tah_39
18-05-2004, 06:55 PM
gd wat.. let the youngsters play.. :D

MatrixFanatic
18-05-2004, 07:15 PM
I thought he played quite well against aston villa.:confused:

RVN
18-05-2004, 07:16 PM
Saha and Silvestre in France squad for Euro 2004.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/05/18/story148132.html

Butt, the 2 Nevilles and Scholes in England squad, Brown was omitted.

Ruud in Holland squad obviously

RuMmYtUb
18-05-2004, 09:21 PM
yea man, unleash Ronaldo at the finals... it's a must.. :evil:

RVN
18-05-2004, 09:53 PM
Pai seh forgot about Ronaldo. :D

Should pick him too but I ain't sure whether Portugal coach will pick him though. :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
18-05-2004, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
yea man, unleash Ronaldo at the finals... it's a must.. :evil:

it's gd for ronaldo to get some experince in the highest level of football but better dun overburn him as he need the rest during the summer.....not to say we got we start our season so early.....

guoquanyap
19-05-2004, 01:18 AM
yup our ronaldo is going to euro2004 w portgual.....

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, England), Helder Postiga (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Luis Figo (Real Madrid, Spain), Nuno Gomes (Benfica), Simao Sabrosa (Benfica), Pauleta Resendes (Paris St Germain, France)

derrace
19-05-2004, 02:24 AM
Leeds have flatly rejected two offers from Manchester United for star striker Alan Smith.
The Red Devils initially made a derisory bid of £3.5million for Smith, and after that was turned down, the Old Trafford board returned with an improved bid of £5.5million.

That has also been thrown out as relegated Leeds value the forward at closer to the £10million mark, and it is understood Liverpool are now prepared to step in.

A Leeds spokesman confirmed to the Press Association: 'The offers by Manchester United substantially undervalue Alan Smith's position as a top Premiership player.

'He is worth far more than what Manchester United are prepared to pay for him. Both offers were rejected immediately.'

taken from soccernet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301057&cc=3436)

Looks like we won't be getting him for cheap unless Smith wants a move to MU. :bounce:

derrace
19-05-2004, 02:31 AM
Manchester United appear to be at the centre of transfer subterfuge surrounding Leeds striker Alan Smith.
United have been contacted by someone claiming to be a representative of Leeds to see if they would be interested in signing the 23-year-old.

It is known Leeds recently employed agent Philip Morrison to sound out any suitors for the players the Whites are looking to sell, and since then virtually every Premier League club has been contacted and given a circular detailing those available.

Chairman Gerald Krasner confirmed: 'We are not discussing specific deals until they have been concluded, but we are talking to lots of people about lots of deals.'

However, a spokesman for Leeds insists no club official has been in touch with anyone from Manchester United in specific relation to a deal for Smith.

'As far as Leeds are concerned, we have not made any approach to Manchester United, or indeed any other club for that matter, with regard to Alan Smith,' stated the spokesman.

To further muddy the waters, the spokesman added: 'We understand there is a story circulating that a specific approach has been made [from Leeds to Manchester United] and if this is the case, it is by somebody currently not in control of Leeds United.'

Smith, put on standby for Euro 2004 by England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson yesterday, recently angered Whites fans by conceding he is tempted by the lure of Old Trafford.

United chief executive David Gill and manager Sir Alex Ferguson are not due to outline their summer plans until after Saturday's FA Cup Final encounter with Millwall, although it is understood they have agreed Smith would be a welcome addition to the squad.

soccernet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301029&cc=3436)

Ronaldo7
19-05-2004, 07:18 AM
:rolleyes:

cutter
19-05-2004, 09:20 AM
caught in a rock and hard place... the mu board is being kiam again, trying to take advantage of Leeds' situation to wrangle a bargain... on the other hand, they know they have to pay over the mkt price in recent years once it is known that MU is bidding for a proven player... eg Ruud, Veron (his former Lazio playmaker/midfielder Neved cost 7mil less to Juve...and is the reigning Euro Footballer of the Year vs Veron's 13.5mil transfer fee loss to MU), Rio (Woodgate cost 9mil vs Rio's 30mil), Saha, Forlan (proven in S.America).. even Cristiano was overpriced (the other Portuguese whizkid Ricardo Quaresma was sold for only a fraction of Cristiano's fee)...

(for those not aware of this) Leeds is also reminded all the time of how they somehow sold Cantona for only 1mil from a situation when they were asking to buy Dennis Irwin... cheeky Fergie said not for sale and responded by asking for Cantona... got his man for peanuts :D...MU fans have been ramming it down Leeds' throat during every match they've played since...one reason why Rio cost so much more than mkt rate

Alan Smith may also turn c-rap like Bowyer post-Leeds and take over from Forlan as the club's expensive flop...

IMO, the Heskey contract is better than the Rio one... less $$$ upfront but fee can close to double (+70 to 80%) based on the player's performances and appearances... while Rio's upfront fee was massive, the additional appearance/performance payments were relatively small (+ 5%)

This season, MU lost a few million from reduced TV, prize $$$ for not winning another Treble :D + the loss of Becks' merchandise sales... if Smith is too ex, I'd rather they look for someone else who is not so openly anti-MU at heart... he has been telling everyone that he is only considering MU for the sake of his own career

Ronaldo7
19-05-2004, 02:16 PM
if Smith is too ex, I'd rather they look for someone else who is not so openly anti-MU at heart... he has been telling everyone that he is only considering MU for the sake of his own career

you got a point here :angel: don't think smith is worth more than 10m IMO

RVN
19-05-2004, 02:27 PM
10m for Smith is a rip-off, even more than Heskey. :mad:

If he comes here next year we will be ending quite a few matches with 10 players. He also gets too many ****ing red cards. I don't want our team to be recognised as a dirty team. We already have Fletcher who gets the cards. His goal-scoring ratio is also poor.

Kyubi
19-05-2004, 02:28 PM
hey .. that aston villa v man u match is on espn now .. damn it .. i dunno they got show repeat .. -.-

guoquanyap
19-05-2004, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by Kyubi
hey .. that aston villa v man u match is on espn now .. damn it .. i dunno they got show repeat .. -.-

pls dun watch or else u really will feel like bashing up te ref....:cool:

guoquanyap
19-05-2004, 11:39 PM
like wat i said....smith will be a good addition to the squad but jus dun break the bank for him.....

still wondering how much the board will allow fergie to spend this summer....better dun be kia sum on those player who worth
the money.....

leslie_lai
19-05-2004, 11:53 PM
like wat i said....smith will be a good addition to the squad but jus dun break the bank for him.....

still wondering how much the board will allow fergie to spend this summer....better dun be kia sum on those player who worth
the money.....

40 million.

Seriously 10 million .. just top up a little more for Morientes.

Would love to see him playing for United and really don't want him to end up at ARSEnal or Chelsea.

guoquanyap
20-05-2004, 12:00 AM
Originally posted by leslie_lai

40 million.

Seriously 10 million .. just top up a little more for Morientes.

Would love to see him playing for United and really don't want him to end up at ARSEnal or Chelsea.

morientes is already 28 going 29....17million pound?? worth it?? dun think so....

RuMmYtUb
20-05-2004, 12:18 AM
But i think 15m for Morientes still worth it, considering his goal scoring prowess... but anything more than that can forget it...

Anyway there aren't any gd strikers available on the market these days, who would wanna sell their best players...

Why dun we get Trezeguet ?? :D

guoquanyap
20-05-2004, 12:23 AM
But i think 15m for Morientes still worth it, considering his goal scoring prowess... but anything more than that can forget it...

Anyway there aren't any gd strikers available on the market these days, who would wanna sell their best players...

Why dun we get Trezeguet ?? :D

trezeguet is jus like a targat man like ruud too similar in style no pt getting him....

heard alot of gd thing abt parma player , Alberto Gilardino....maybe we can take a gamble on him....10million will be enough on cash strap parma....

Kyubi
20-05-2004, 12:32 AM

pls dun watch or else u really will feel like bashing up te ref....:cool: i watched le lor .. damn tat ref .. give red card like print money like tat lolz .. anyway tinking of morientes to join man u lolz

RuMmYtUb
20-05-2004, 01:29 AM

trezeguet is jus like a targat man like ruud too similar in style no pt getting him....

heard alot of gd thing abt parma player , Alberto Gilardino....maybe we can take a gamble on him....10million will be enough on cash strap parma....

talkin about parma, might as well get Adriano.. :evil:

pale
20-05-2004, 01:59 AM

talkin about parma, might as well get Adriano.. :evil:

Isn't he with Inter liao??

Kyubi
20-05-2004, 02:01 AM
hmm i got a question here .. how come ferguson play kleberson n djemba so little ?? they have work permits dun they ?

RuMmYtUb
20-05-2004, 02:35 AM
hmm i got a question here .. how come ferguson play kleberson n djemba so little ?? they have work permits dun they ?

No choice lar, cos there's Keane, Butt and P. Neville... all of them more effective than the 2 new players.

Kyubi
20-05-2004, 02:36 AM

No choice lar, cos there's Keane, Butt and P. Neville... all of them more effective than the 2 new players. true oso .. sigh.. still tinking whu will b man u's nxt target ..

Ronaldo7
20-05-2004, 03:45 AM
Originally posted by pale

Isn't he with Inter liao??

yup . he move during the transfer window . Alberto Gilardino should be the one MU is looking at . Just 1 goal behind Shevchenko in the scoring chart this season . Very impressive . :evil:

leo_llw
20-05-2004, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7

yup . he move during the transfer window . Alberto Gilardino should be the one MU is looking at . Just 1 goal behind Shevchenko in the scoring chart this season . Very impressive . :evil:
remember tis is the first season Gilardino has shone. a bit of a risk to buy him.

2 seasons before he did not impressed when playing aside the likes of Mutu and Adriano.

He is best used when playing upfront alone. maybe he suits Fergie's favored 4-4-1-1 formation ;)

pyu
20-05-2004, 11:04 AM
*SIGH* The board better not spend more than 7 million for Smith. If they do, I seriously wonder why in the world did they let Robben slip out of their fingers.

yulee
20-05-2004, 11:38 AM
THE FEAR of humiliation will drive on Manchester United in the FA Cup final.

Phil Neville believes that if United were to lose to Millwall on Saturday, it would rank alongside Liverpool’s humbling by Wimbledon in 1988.

Millwall boss Dennis Wise was part of that Crazy Gang glory.

And Neville knows player-manager Wise will have his Lions team roaring for more big-time blood.

Neville said: “You only have to look at the Wimbledon final to realise what can happen. It would be the same as that.

“We do not want to go down in history as the Manchester United team who were the victims of such a giant-killing. The fear of that is driving us on.

“I always used to watch the final but in 1988 I didn’t watch it as intensely because I knew it would be a walkover. That’s what people will be thinking about this final, too.

“We are third in the Premiership and they are in the First Division.

“And everyone tells us there is a big gulf between the Premiership and First Division.”

Wimbledon used all sorts of ploys on and off the field to out-psych Liverpool. And Neville is expecting Wise, 37, to do the same and try to muscle United out the game.

He said: “Dennis Wise will remember that final when he was an underdog and came out on top.

“He will be aiming to do exactly that again. He will be niggling at us on the pitch and I expect his whole team to do the same.

“They will be in our face. It will be high intensity because that was how he plays.”

Neville believes United feel under more pressure going into this game than they were in the semi-final.

He said: “If anything we were the underdogs against Arsenal so there is probably more pressure on us going into this final.

“Millwall have done superbly well to get to the final but we will not be sucked into believing they will just be happy with that.”

Neville, 27, is one of those players sweating on his place in the team.

It will be between him and Darren Fletcher, 20, for the central midfield berth alongside Roy Keane.

Neville said: “At the moment I have no worries because I have played virtually all season.”

Manager Alex Ferguson will also be hammering home the message that United cannot underestimate Millwall.

Fergie said: “You hope complacency does not surface but I trust the players in that respect. There is a great romance between the Cup and this club.

“We have been in more finals than anyone else and it is an important trophy to us.”

Ferguson believes victory will help to make up for an otherwise disappointing season.

He said: “You cannot be disappointed if you win an FA Cup final. Even if it is not our No 1 priority it is always one of the three trophies we want to win.”

Neville will be hoping he does not get a dreaded tap on the shoulder on Saturday morning.

Ferguson said: “I will always speak to players individually. I’m not the sort who just pins the team up at 2.10pm and runs away.”

One player who will definitely be involved is Keane, 32.

As revealed in SunSport on Tuesday, Keane’s hamstring has recovered and will be fit to lead the team in Cardiff.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How times have changed. There was a time that SAF wasn't even interested in the FA Cup :rolleyes:
If manyoo loose to Millwall it'll really be the final nail in the coffin :rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
20-05-2004, 01:09 PM
no doubt winning the fa cup can't be compare to winning the league . but at least we still got a chance of getting a trophy this season

Kyubi
20-05-2004, 01:12 PM
no doubt winning the fa cup can't be compare to winning the league . but at least we still got a chance of getting a trophy this season winning a trophy than getting none tis season for them :D

RVN
20-05-2004, 01:54 PM
http://www.thefa.com/NR/rdonlyres/94EF9C34-A441-473F-B6B3-D7293E60E9A2/31484/FACupFinal_MatchInfo1.gif

Make it 11 on Saturday. :evil:

MatrixFanatic
20-05-2004, 03:25 PM

I don't think Djemba has a work permit. He is a french as well as a cameronian.

Seals
20-05-2004, 03:50 PM
jeff winters again....

greycat87
20-05-2004, 04:15 PM
Adriano :love:

Ronaldo7
20-05-2004, 08:18 PM
Originally posted by greycat87

don't think Inter will let him go since they just sign him during mid season :rolleyes: & Morientes is on his way to chelsea :angel:

RVN
20-05-2004, 08:26 PM
Leeds have confirmed they have received a £7million bid from Everton for Alan Smith, but the player's agent says Smith has his sights set on a move to Manchester United.

Smith is coveted by a number of clubs, of which Manchester United and Liverpool are said to be among the favourites for his signature.

Leeds confirmed earlier this week that they have rejected two bids, of £3.5million and £5.5million, for the England striker. The Yorkshire club indicated that both bids had come from Old Trafford.

"We've had lots of bids for Alan," said Leeds director Peter Lorimer today, "the latest being around £7million from Everton."

Leeds consider the bid to be an undervaluation for a player they value at closer to £10m.

"We want to get the best offer possible for the club, while Alan's agent has stressed that he wants to go to Old Trafford."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=63212&itype=466&icategoryid=120

yulee
20-05-2004, 08:34 PM
*Sigh* Another bidding war about to start? :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
20-05-2004, 08:42 PM
Alan Smith would be @ Old Trafford next season, trust me.. :D

yulee
20-05-2004, 08:48 PM
That's what everybody said about Ronaldinho! :laugh:

RVN
20-05-2004, 08:51 PM
Originally posted by yulee

who was it, lol not everyone.

beside it was Kenyon that screw up the deal. but he is gone liao. :mad:

greycat87
20-05-2004, 08:53 PM

Thats why i was thining too... :laugh:

last season around this time, i was thinking of getting a man utd jersey with ronaldinho 7 on the back :laugh:

yulee
20-05-2004, 09:10 PM

Thats why i was thining too... :laugh:

last season around this time, i was thinking of getting a man utd jersey with ronaldinho 7 on the back :laugh:

Just remember not to rush down to your local Pasar Malam to buy that Alan Smith ManU Jersey this time round! :laugh:

RVN
20-05-2004, 09:14 PM
simple lah, dun count the chicken before they hatch, never believe anthing until you see the new player wearing our shirt at press conference.

Thats why i was thining too...

last season around this time, i was thinking of getting a man utd jersey with ronaldinho 7 on the back

You should bought ronaldo shirt then. :laugh:

guoquanyap
20-05-2004, 11:19 PM

watch him played b4...doesnt really impress mi....onli thing that make mi remember mi is that he purposely elbow a player and got away w it....

anyway he is south america in future sure will hav lots of problem....

yulee
21-05-2004, 08:54 AM
United get £6m Smith
By SHAUN CUSTIS
ALAN SMITH is on the verge of a £6million move to Manchester United.

The Old Trafford giants look certain to land the Leeds striker — despite refusing to get involved in a bidding war.

Everton yesterday joined the chase for Smith, 23, by offering £7m.

Liverpool are understood to have raised their £5.5m offer by £2m and Middlesbrough also entered the fray at £7m.

But United boss Alex Ferguson, who had offers of £3.5m and £5.5m rejected, is sitting tight because he knows Smith wants to go to Old Trafford.

A United insider told SunSport: “United made a fair offer and know the player wants to join.

“Leeds have to sell him and presumably he will only go where he wants to go, otherwise he will stay at Elland Road.”

The Leeds board are under pressure to raise as much cash as possible from the sale of Smith so they can repay a £15m loan to property magnate Jack Petchey.

Everton are outsiders in the race. But boss David Moyes will try to sell the deal to Smith on the basis he and England striker Wayne Rooney could form the most devastating double-act in the Premiership.

Leeds director Peter Lorimer confirmed: “We have received a bid from Everton for Alan, and it is a substantial one.

“We hear about the boy wanting to join Manchester United, but we want the best price for him and we are determined to get it.

“We cannot afford to be waylaid because Alan says he wants to hold out for a move to Old Trafford.”

However, Smith holds the cards. He has not asked for a transfer and, with three years left on his contract, does not have to leave unless he is goes where he wishes.

Leeds have rejected a bid by Galatasaray to take Mark Viduka on loan for 12 months.

The cash-strapped Turks cannot afford Viduka’s £6m price tag but offered to take over the Aussie’s £60,000 a week pay packet and pay a £1.5m arrangement fee.

Leeds turned them down flat, opening the way for Middlesbrough to step in.

Boro boss Steve McClaren put in a £4m bid during the transfer window last January.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From The Sun - truth?

Ronaldo7
21-05-2004, 08:58 AM
the sun ah ? can't really be trusted sometimes :rolleyes:

jujube
21-05-2004, 09:01 AM
United get £6m Smith
By SHAUN CUSTIS
ALAN SMITH is on the verge of a £6million move to Manchester United.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From The Sun - truth?

THE SUN always publish bull****e news

yulee
21-05-2004, 09:20 AM
United prepared to wait for Smith
Waiting game begins for latest Old Trafford target
Staff and agencies
Thursday May 20, 2004

Manchester United are prepared to sit and wait for Leeds to crack as the battle to land Alan Smith hots up.
Everton today became the latest club to make their interest known in Smith, submitting a £7million offer for the 23-year-old - although due to their financial situation the cash is not all up front, and is dependent on appearances and international caps.

Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Liverpool are also in the hunt for the England forward, but Smith's apparent desire to move to Old Trafford seemingly leaves financially crippled Leeds in a position of weakness.

"Smith's agent [Alex Black] has indicated Alan's preferred choice is Manchester United," said Leeds director Peter Lorimer.

It means that, despite having two bids of £3.5m and £5.5m rejected on Tuesday, the Old Trafford club are effectively in the driving seat, and know that sooner or later Leeds will have to accept a figure substantially lower than their £10m valuation.

Unlike Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Everton, United can offer Smith Champions League football next season, even if they do have to go through a qualifying round prior to the more lucrative group stages.

With Leeds also desperate for the money - rumours are again circulating they could go into administration this summer unless a takeover deal with Steve Parkin is concluded - the Red Devils can pay any transfer fee in one instalment.

Chief executive David Gill is prepared to bide his time and wait until after Saturday's FA Cup final against Millwall at the Millennium Stadium, unless Leeds approach United with an indication of what they are prepared to accept for Smith.

Gill and manager Sir Alex Ferguson have already been in this situation: in January they eventually landed Louis Saha following a protracted wrangle with Fulham.

France international striker Saha publicly voiced his desire to join United, against the wishes of Cottagers boss Chris Coleman, who was adamant his player was going nowhere.

But United played a waiting game before eventually landing Saha for £12.8million, a fee far below that suggested by Coleman. A similar scenario appears likely to unfold with Leeds.

United fans, meanwhile, are already making it clear they do not want Smith - a poll has been set up enquiring 'How much is too much for Alan Smith?', with 38% saying if one pound was paid that would be too much.

But Lorimer insists United "will have to up their bid," and that any deal has to be right for all parties.

"It's obviously a problem going to Manchester United with Alan being a Leeds player," said Lorimer. "But if we were to sell him under market value, I don't think the supporters would like us too much.

"It is obviously his say as to where he wants to go. If he wants to go to Manchester United, and he is happy with that, then that's fine.

"If Manchester United are happy they want him, then that's fine, but they have to make us happy too by making us a better offer. If they do that then everybody is happy."

"We can't let him go for less than the highest offer we have received and there has been interest from two other Premiership clubs in Newcastle and Middlesbrough as well."

It means United need to make an improved third offer of around £7.5m-£8m for Leeds to finally cave in.

Everton, who narrowly avoided relegation this season, can forget landing Smith, with the club's bid perhaps nothing more than posturing for the benefit of their fans.

It was believed Moyes' transfer kitty was a mere £1.5million this summer, but the Scot and deputy chairman Bill Kenwright have made public their interest in Smith.

"I can confirm we are making a substantial offer for Alan Smith," Moyes said on the club's website. "My hope is to partner Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney in my Everton side next season." That now appears increasingly unlikely.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hmm.. ManU thinks Smith die-die must come to Old Trafford - hope they don't make the same mistake as when they were bidding for Ronaldinho :rolleyes:

jujube
21-05-2004, 09:49 AM
Man Utd dun really need Smith so its logical they are playing it cool.

actually i rather not have him

cutter
21-05-2004, 10:23 AM
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_110634.shtml

Carroll still dreaming of number one
Thursday May 20 2004

Roy Carroll has vowed to see out the final year of his Manchester United contract in an effort to grab the Old Trafford number one slot.

The burly Northern Irishman is bracing himself for FA Cup final heartbreak on Saturday as Tim Howard seems certain to retain the goalkeeping jersey for the Millennium Stadium clash with Millwall. Despite a couple of decent runs in the side, including a six-match streak this term that encompassed the Premiership draw at Highbury and the FA Cup semi-final win over Arsenal the following week and the removal of Fabien Barthez and Ricardo from United's goalkeeping roster, Carroll has never really established himself as a first choice. The likeable Enniskillen-born player admitted the situation had got him down on occasion but is refusing to accept defeat just yet.

"I am only human and I do get down about it," he said. "There would be something wrong if I didn't. You want to play, not sit on the bench every week. Sometimes it does cross my mind that I am not going to make it here but I try to remain positive and every day when I come into training, I try to prove to the manager that I can do it."

"I played the final three games of last season and six in a row this year. I was hungry for more but unfortunately it didn't happen. I have a year left on my contract and I will continue to fight until it is finished to push even harder to try and force my way in."

[wah forgot that Carroll's contract is nearly up... sacully he decides that he is too good to stay on the bench and wants to move on... Luke Steele is still a young GK and hasn't proven himself as a top-class backup like Carroll has...]

Ronaldo7
21-05-2004, 11:34 AM
no need to worry . ricardo will be back from loan next season =p

RVN
21-05-2004, 01:04 PM
Hmm.. ManU thinks Smith die-die must come to Old Trafford - hope they don't make the same mistake as when they were bidding for Ronaldinho :rolleyes:

Loads of team are trying to rip us off becos we have the money. :mad: I won't cry over spill milk even if we don't get Smith becos I see him as only back-up to Saha and Ruud.

yulee
21-05-2004, 02:24 PM
Smith close to Man Utd move

England striker Alan Smith looks to be on the verge of an £8m transfer from Leeds United to Manchester United.

Leeds director Peter Lorimer told BBC Five Live a deal with the Old Trafford club was close to being completed.

Bids of £3.5m and £5.5m from Manchester United were turned down by the Elland Road side, who valued Smith at £10m.

Confirmed interest has been shown from Newcastle and Middlesbrough while Everton made a reported £7m offer for the 24-year-old forward.

Toffees boss David Moyes confirmed the Merseysiders had made a "substantial offer" for Smith, despite their apparent tight finances.

Moyes said: "My hope is to partner Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney in my Everton team next season."
The club's chairman Bill Kenwright underlined their enthusiasm to bring Smith to Goodison Park.

Kenwright told Everton's website on Thursday: "David and I have been discussing Alan Smith's situation at Leeds for two weeks.

"I can confirm that in the last 24 hours we have had contact with those involved in the hope that Alan Smith might be an Everton player next season."

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope he finally becomes a ManU player! :bounce:

Ronaldo7
21-05-2004, 02:35 PM

England striker Alan Smith looks to be on the verge of an £8m transfer from Leeds United to Manchester United.

Leeds director Peter Lorimer told BBC Five Live a deal with the Old Trafford club was close to being completed.

bbc .. hope it's true then ;)

goaheadbingostan
21-05-2004, 02:39 PM
we have inside sources quoted as saying that Man Utd PLC has accepted a 28 million pound bid for rudd.

hope it is not true.

yulee
21-05-2004, 02:53 PM
Sure or not? I haven't seen any reports regarding the sale of RVN - I thought he came out a few weeks ago to say he was staying at ManU?

RVN
21-05-2004, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by goaheadbingostan
we have inside sources quoted as saying that Man Utd PLC has accepted a 28 million pound bid for rudd.

hope it is not true.

bull****. you actually believe this person was saying. :mad:

http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=48142

RVN
21-05-2004, 03:07 PM
Cristiano Ronaldo reckons the Manchester United fans can provide the inspiration for even more devastating exploits next season.

The brilliant Portuguese youngster is likely to be unleashed on an unsuspecting Millwall defence in the FA Cup Final, presenting the Lions with a test they are unlikely to have experienced too often in the First Division.

After exploding onto the United scene with an outstanding debut off the bench against Bolton, the £12million summer recruit from Sporting Lisbon took time to settle in England but finished the campaign in blistering fashion and capped a succession of man-of-the-match displays by ripping the Aston Villa defence apart in the final game of the Red Devils' disappointing Premiership campaign last Saturday.

Sir Alex Ferguson has vowed to handle his supremely talented 19-year-old with care and clearly there is plenty more to come, particularly if Ronaldo continues to draw inspiration from United's army of supporters.

"I am so pleased the crowd like the way I play," said Ronaldo, who has been named in the hosts' squad for Euro 2004 this summer.

"I came here to try and show my worth, so it gives me a real thrill when I get the ball at my feet and the fans start to cheer. It gives me so much confidence and helps me play much better.

"Overall, I am quite happy with my first season here. I have settled into a new city quite well and have adapted well within the squad.

"All the young players feel as though they have been evolving by working with the experienced ones and naturally, I feel like I am improving too."

Signed by Ferguson on the recommendation of his own players after a mesmerising performance against them in a pre-season friendly last summer, all Ronaldo needs now is a winner's medal as tangible reward for his debut campaign.

The FA Cup may not have made too much impression on him as he grew up in Madeira but he is starting to learn what a special place the final holds in the English soccer calendar.

And while he accepts United have missed out on the major prizes by failing to retain their Premiership title or making the impact expected of them in Europe, victory at the Millennium Stadium would at least allow them to salvage something from the season.

"This is such a big club, you are almost obliged to win every game," he said.

"The fans expect you to win everything and while we have not managed to win the league, we do still have the FA Cup to play for.

"It is important we beat Millwall because we don't want the ghost of not winning a trophy hanging over us this summer.

"I have never seen an FA Cup final before, so I am really looking forward to the experience."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/05/21/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Ronaldo.html&TEAMHD=soccer

goaheadbingostan
21-05-2004, 03:09 PM
i don't want to believe it is true either. but his previous news of jaap stam's transfer has come true.

RVN
21-05-2004, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by goaheadbingostan
i don't want to believe it is true. but his previous news of jaap stam's transfer come true.

sorry, nothing confirmed, surely it has to be annouce to the stock exchange as we are a PLC had we accept the offer, But I do not believe that United will let Ruud go after what Fergie and Ruud both said he is going nowhere, Real can **** off. :mad:

goaheadbingostan
21-05-2004, 04:55 PM
sorry. grammar error.

RVN
21-05-2004, 05:25 PM
dunno true or not leh. :rolleyes:

MANCHESTER UNITED boss Sir Alex Ferguson has clinched a £6million deal for Argentina defender Gabriel Heinze.

The Paris St Germain centre-back is a no-nonsense hard-man in the style of Jaap Stam and is the surprise solution to United's problems in defence. The 26-year-old, who has just broken into his national team but also has a German passport, is expected to complete the move within days.

He is likely to find Alan Smith among his new team-mates at Old Trafford, despite a £7m bid from Everton for the Leeds striker.

United have struggled to find a replacement for Stam since he was dramatically sold after his claims in The Mirror that he was "tapped up" by Ferguson before he signed.

Heinze, who plays on the left side of central defence, is seen as an ideal partner for Rio Ferdinand, with Mikael Silvestre returning to left back.

United fans may be surprised at the capture, but Heinze - who has also played for Valladolid in Spain and Portugal's Sporting Lisbon - is highly-rated. He has been chased before by English clubs, but was rated too expensive.

However, his price is dropping as his contract runs out in two years' time. He could arrive at the same time as Smith.

Despite Everton's interest, Leeds had further talks with United yesterday and their board meets today to discuss bids for the forward.

Chairman Gerald Krasner said: "There are offers from all around the place for Alan Smith, and not just from Manchester United."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=14260864%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=fergie%2dsignz%2dheinz-name_page.html

Yellowfin
21-05-2004, 06:01 PM
Good news, at least, we have a new defender in the next season. :)

Originally posted by RVN
dunno true or not leh. :rolleyes:

MANCHESTER UNITED boss Sir Alex Ferguson has clinched a £6million deal for Argentina defender Gabriel Heinze.

The Paris St Germain centre-back is a no-nonsense hard-man in the style of Jaap Stam and is the surprise solution to United's problems in defence. The 26-year-old, who has just broken into his national team but also has a German passport, is expected to complete the move within days.

He is likely to find Alan Smith among his new team-mates at Old Trafford, despite a £7m bid from Everton for the Leeds striker.

United have struggled to find a replacement for Stam since he was dramatically sold after his claims in The Mirror that he was "tapped up" by Ferguson before he signed.

Heinze, who plays on the left side of central defence, is seen as an ideal partner for Rio Ferdinand, with Mikael Silvestre returning to left back.

United fans may be surprised at the capture, but Heinze - who has also played for Valladolid in Spain and Portugal's Sporting Lisbon - is highly-rated. He has been chased before by English clubs, but was rated too expensive.

However, his price is dropping as his contract runs out in two years' time. He could arrive at the same time as Smith.

Despite Everton's interest, Leeds had further talks with United yesterday and their board meets today to discuss bids for the forward.

Chairman Gerald Krasner said: "There are offers from all around the place for Alan Smith, and not just from Manchester United."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=14260864%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=fergie%2dsignz%2dheinz-name_page.html

guoquanyap
21-05-2004, 06:20 PM
Gabriel Heinze hmmm....26yr old cost 6millionpound....not the big name u expected to bring in to challenge for title......

guoquanyap
21-05-2004, 06:32 PM
better dun pay over 6-7million pound for smith.....:alien:

vivre
21-05-2004, 06:34 PM
Gabriel Heinze's Profile (http://www.sports.fr/fr/football/joueurs/6/gabriel_heinze_1886.html)... in French....

trax06
21-05-2004, 06:54 PM
translator

http://world.altavista.com/

Ch3tah_39
21-05-2004, 06:55 PM
Gabriel Heinze hmmm....26yr old cost 6millionpound....not the big name u expected to bring in to challenge for title......

big name or not big name nvm one..
can perform well can liao... :D

Ch3tah_39
21-05-2004, 06:56 PM
better dun pay over 6-7million pound for smith.....:alien:

agree:)

kengbeng
21-05-2004, 08:01 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/l/leeds_united/3723993.stm

"Without giving away too many secrets, we are not that far away," he said. "We are just hoping to get to the next stage now and something can happen."

Everton have made a reported £7m offer, while Newcastle and Middlesbrough are also interested in the 24-year-old.

But Smith is believed to favour a move to Old Trafford, with the prospect of Champions League football next season.

United have already had bids of £3.5m and £5.5m turned down by Leeds, who value Smith at £10m.

Ronaldo7
21-05-2004, 08:47 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

big name or not big name nvm one..
can perform well can liao... :D

agree . and he is inside the argentina squad . should be quite steady :)

vivre
21-05-2004, 08:54 PM

Erm.... So is Veron....... :p

RVN
21-05-2004, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by vivre

Erm.... So is Veron....... :p

err, give him a chance first before judging him instead of thinking he be a flop like veron. :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
21-05-2004, 11:42 PM

he is jus a fringe player in the squad....well i believe below 5million pound is the amt we should spash to gamble on a him.....

trax06
22-05-2004, 04:42 AM
lets hope he can make it in the epl.

Ronaldo7
22-05-2004, 07:26 AM
Man Utd v Millwall

Manchester United skipper Roy Keane is fit to lead his side after he recovered from a hamstring injury.

Darren Fletcher or Phil Neville will make way, while Tim Howard gets the nod ahead of Roy Carroll in goal and Louis Saha is Cup-tied.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, G Neville, P Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fletcher, Butt, Scholes, Ronaldo, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, Van Nistelrooy, Kleberson, Solskjaer, Forlan, Bellion.

beckz11
22-05-2004, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Loads of team are trying to rip us off becos we have the money. :mad: I won't cry over spill milk even if we don't get Smith becos I see him as only back-up to Saha and Ruud.

have it ever encounter to u tt smith may be a replacement for RVN ??

leslie_lai
22-05-2004, 03:37 PM
Originally posted by beckz11

Smith to replace Ruud?

Are you in your right frame of mind?

That will easily transform us to a mid-table club.

RVN
22-05-2004, 03:38 PM

thats if you chose to believe what the press wrote. :rolleyes:

Smith to replace Ruud, thats ridiculous, tell me what his goal ratio like about 10 goals for Leeds compare to Ruud 31 for us so far. SMith ain't a prolic goal-scorer as Ruud. I see no reason why must we sell Ruud, we ain't in debts or something, if arse can keep henry, why can't we do the same to Ruud.

RVN
22-05-2004, 03:57 PM
May 22 - Wes Brown's disappointment at missing out on the England squad for Euro 2004 will be softened this summer by the offer of a four-year contract at Manchester United.

Brown will play in his first FA Cup Final this afternoon as United face First Division Millwall at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium. Having missed the first half of the season with a serious knee injury, the 24-year-old has not played enough football to make it into Sven Goran Eriksson's squad for Portugal.

But his club are thought to be ready to talk about a new contract to replace his current deal that has only one year left to run.

Brown said last night: "That would be great as I really have no desire to leave the club. It is different for people who are not from the area. If you came from Newcastle, you might say it would be OK to leave. But I'm a local lad and I don't want to go anywhere."

Brown has been playing first-team football at Old Trafford since 1999, but in that short time has suffered two cruciate knee injuries and a broken ankle. It is this injury record that has curtailed his progress and cost him his place in the England squad.

Once described by Alex Ferguson as the most naturally gifted defender he had ever worked with, Brown was omitted from Eriksson's squad at the request of his manager.

"I didn't expect to be in the squad. I am not playing consistently and at the beginning I wasn't playing well at all. Also, I've only been playing for three months and that is nowhere near the fitness required for such a big tournament.

"But for me to make it to an FA Cup Final is a great way to end the season. It would be even better if I collected a winner's medal. I was in the squad for the final when we won the treble in 1999 but I didn't get on the subs' bench.

"So Saturday will be my first FA Cup Final - and it's something I wouldn't even have thought about a month ago."

Brown has clear memories of United's previous FA Cup Final victories, especially the 1996 game against Liverpool that was settled by an Eric Cantona goal. At that time Brown was charged with cleaning the Frenchman's boots every morning.

"I remember the first time I walked into the first-team dressing room, I was terrified. I used to clean Eric's boots. I would have been 16 or 17 and would have a chat with him now and again.

"It wouldn't be a long one but it would keep you going. He had incredible presence. He is really intense, such a legend, and I was still a fan, like everyone else.

"I never used to speak to him unless I was spoken to. Then, suddenly, you are there in the first team. You don't say anything and then slowly you find your way around."

Having damaged his knee in the final game of last season, Brown did not play until January - and then only because of Rio Ferdinand's ban for missing a drugs test.

A giant performance in the FA Cup semi-final defeat of Arsenal marked his return to prominence and he has subsequently shown signs that his best years may indeed be ahead of him.

"It took me nearly a year to get back from the first injury. I was 19. This one has been seven months. When I came back it didn't go too well. I came on against Wolves in January when Rio came off and I immediately slipped for their goal. For a good four or five games, I didn't perform as I'd like. But slowly it came back. You just have to play through it. You have no choice."

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=52798

leslie_lai
22-05-2004, 04:10 PM
Good. Sign and transfer list.

beckz11
22-05-2004, 04:17 PM
Originally posted by RVN

thats if you chose to believe what the press wrote. :rolleyes:

Smith to replace Ruud, thats ridiculous, tell me what his goal ratio like about 10 goals for Leeds compare to Ruud 31 for us so far. SMith ain't a prolic goal-scorer as Ruud. I see no reason why must we sell Ruud, we ain't in debts or something, if arse can keep henry, why can't we do the same to Ruud.

well i din believe when they say becks or stam is leaving...

MatrixFanatic
22-05-2004, 04:46 PM
Good. Sign and transfer list.

Why? You feel Brown's not good enough?:confused:

chyehock
22-05-2004, 04:46 PM
ManU bought Alan Smith from Leeds at 6millon pounds. Hooray!!! Imagine that we got 2 set of strikers
=> Nisterooly & Saha
=> Sojesar (don't know how to spell) & smith

leslie_lai
22-05-2004, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic

Why? You feel Brown's not good enough?:confused:

Yup. Personal preference.

He CAN be damn good. But he's what I call a jinxed player.

Either injured, scoring own goals or making costly errors. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

RVN
22-05-2004, 04:49 PM
Hope it dosen't result in Ruud leaving, hope the UTD PLC board reject whatever offer Real put, if they accept it, then siao liao I be fuming mad. :mad:

leslie_lai
22-05-2004, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
ManU bought Alan Smith from Leeds at 6millon pounds. Hooray!!! Imagine that we got 2 set of strikers
=> Nisterooly & Saha

Solskjaer. I'd prefer him permanently on the right flank.

Don't know why Fergie chooses to field that useless Fletcher instead. :rolleyes:

Maybe we can afford to play 3 strikers now \o/

RVN
22-05-2004, 04:54 PM

Don't know why Fergie chooses to field that useless Fletcher instead. :rolleyes:

Maybe becos Fletcher is a Scottish, same as Fergie. :rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
22-05-2004, 05:03 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
=> Nisterooly & Saha

lets wait for more comfirmation of the signing . don't really trust footballchannel :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
22-05-2004, 05:14 PM

lets wait for more comfirmation of the signing . don't really trust footballchannel :rolleyes:

footballchannel quite zhun.....in this case 80-90% done liao.....

guoquanyap
22-05-2004, 05:15 PM

i do suspect b4 but after watching Rudd scored against Villa and run all the way to the touchline and hi-5 w fergie.....that change my mind.....i am more or less confirm ruud will be staying.....;)

RVN
22-05-2004, 05:17 PM

i do suspect b4 but after watching Rudd scored against Villa and run all the way to the touchline and hi-5 w fergie.....that change my mind.....i am more or less confirm ruud will be staying.....;)

Hope that is the case. ;)

swalk21
22-05-2004, 06:04 PM
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/9315/2004_0417TV0003.JPG Lucky underwear courtesy of vampiresg from AB forum:D

RVN
22-05-2004, 06:39 PM
Originally posted by swalk21
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/9315/2004_0417TV0003.JPG Lucky underwear courtesy of vampiresg from AB forum:D

arrr, you pervert or what, **** off, you gooner.:mad:

RVN
22-05-2004, 06:50 PM

footballchannel quite zhun.....in this case 80-90% done liao.....

bo zun, deal not done yet. :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
22-05-2004, 07:05 PM
Originally posted by RVN

bo zun, deal not done yet. :rolleyes:

k lah....said 80-90% done liao ma.....

tianwei
22-05-2004, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by RVN

who knows it might be himself in undies!!!gee....he damn bo liao siah...:rolleyes:

derrace
22-05-2004, 07:17 PM
YUCKS, what with that picture?

Please lah, it's disgusting. :mad: :mad: :mad:

derrace
22-05-2004, 07:19 PM

k lah....said 80-90% done liao ma.....

later see if we can find Smith in the audience lor..
hahaha.

MatrixFanatic
22-05-2004, 09:00 PM

Yup. Personal preference.

He CAN be damn good. But he's what I call a jinxed player.

Either injured, scoring own goals or making costly errors. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Yeah you are right. Still remember him scoring an own goal against Valencia. :laugh:

MatrixFanatic
22-05-2004, 09:04 PM

Then Ronaldo play where:confused:
Anyway, I don't really see Fletcher as a right-midfielder. His crossing really lame ass-type. Weak and low. I see him as the Scholes type of player except his shooting is also the same as his crosses.:laugh:

kengbeng
22-05-2004, 09:17 PM
I think Alan Smith will be a good Scholes-type player. Combative, arriving into the penalty box late to score goals.

guoquanyap
22-05-2004, 09:37 PM
oh no 30mins to kick-off FA cup final!!! so excited....keano and co better dun cork up later on.....:bounce: :bounce:

swalk21
22-05-2004, 10:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN

u all need it .:laugh:

guoquanyap
22-05-2004, 10:52 PM
great goal by ronaldo....*pwew* that Ref go eat **** lah.....so soft... ****ing Wise.....

cracker
22-05-2004, 11:57 PM
Great game by Millwall...but they were always outplayed by Utd

so MU had managed to win 2 trophy this season !!!!.....the unwanted Charity Shield and now the FA Cup !!!

not bad lar....:D

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 12:21 AM
record FA winner....11th FA cup win!

great play everybody and nice gesture by fergie to send on caroll, ole and butt.....

let's enjoy the win and look forward to the summer buys.....:D

Ronaldo7
23-05-2004, 12:21 AM
ronaldo & giggs :eek: nice to see them paying tribute to davis . MOM goes to RVN :)

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 12:23 AM
JImmy davis No.36....the FA Cup is for you :( ......Ronaldo is my MoM.....;)

RuMmYtUb
23-05-2004, 12:25 AM
JImmy davis No.36....the FA Cup is for you :( ......Ronaldo is my MoM.....;)

beckz11
23-05-2004, 01:17 AM
my MoM..Giggs for setting up both goals for RVN

Ch3tah_39
23-05-2004, 01:26 AM
WOOT... YEAH CHAMPION FOR FA CUP.....:D

uRiZEn
23-05-2004, 01:44 AM
Gd job ronaldo.

Go eat mud Wise.
I frickin detest him.

tianwei
23-05-2004, 02:05 AM
heh...think next time Arsenal plays, we also send Swalk21 some undies pic...=P anyway, saw the match and Man Utd dun seem to have any motivation to play...even when celebrating they look so sian...think they rather win the title and the CL..:)

pale
23-05-2004, 02:33 AM
I think some of u guys that is whacking Fletcher should relax abit. My personally think he is playing well. He is Youth talent that needs to be nurtured. He will get better.:D

RVN
23-05-2004, 02:51 AM
fletcher looks magnificant in the centre ..really looking forward to seeing him in that role next year..ronaldo was brilliant so was giggs .....KEANO the devil himself split eyebrow bleeding not a single wince from the guy carry on playing....unbelievable. :)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40185000/jpg/_40185089_team300.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40185000/jpg/_40185091_scorers300.jpg

:D :bounce:

tianwei
23-05-2004, 03:15 AM
Originally posted by RVN
fletcher looks magnificant in the centre ..really looking forward to seeing him in that role next year..ronaldo was brilliant so was giggs .....KEANO the devil himself split eyebrow bleeding not a single wince from the guy carry on playing....unbelievable. :)

:D :bounce:

not forgetting that Brown had a cut on his bald pate too!!:D

leo_llw
23-05-2004, 06:17 AM
congrats man! :D

cracker
23-05-2004, 08:18 AM
I think some of u guys that is whacking Fletcher should relax abit. My personally think he is playing well. He is Youth talent that needs to be nurtured. He will get better.:D

only one guy in this thread kept condeming fletcher..:rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
23-05-2004, 10:41 AM
Players remember Davis

Gary Neville said Manchester United's tribute to tragic former team-mate Jimmy Davis was more important than winning the FA Cup on Saturday.
The United squad changed into shirts bearing the name and squad number of Davis, killed in a road accident last August, for the cup presentation.

"Nine months ago, we had a team-mate. We still think about him and we mention him regularly," said Neville.

"Hopefully, what we did today will make Jimmy's parents smile for a moment."

United skipper Roy Keane instigated the move, which Sir Alex Ferguson and the rest of the Red Devils camp were fully behind.

"It shows our respect for a terrific lad," said Ferguson.

"Jimmy was a smashing kid. His family have found it very difficult so we hope they know we still remember him."

Keane said the all the players supported the tribute.

"It is important we remember how lucky we are," he said

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40185000/jpg/_40185359_davis203.jpg

vivre
23-05-2004, 11:02 AM
Players remember Davis

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif

vivre
23-05-2004, 11:14 AM
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40185000/jpg/_40185275_cristiano203.jpg

My Man-Of-The-Match!!!!!

RVN
23-05-2004, 11:41 AM
May 23 - Alex Ferguson wants to rebuild Manchester United around Ruud van Nistelrooy and Steven Gerrard.

The Holland striker has told his closest friend in the game he will resist the lure of Real Madrid so he can win the big trophies with Ferguson, who wants to begin a third golden era at Old Trafford by signing Liverpool midfielder Gerrard.

Van Nistelrooy met Dutch pal Johan Derksen in Manchester and told him how much he wants to repay the faith Ferguson has shown in him.

Derksen, editor of Voetball International magazine in Holland, said: "When I was in Manchester with Ruud we met Alex Ferguson and I could see the enormous mutual respect they have.

"Ruud feels at home at United. Last year he was considering going back to PSV Eindhoven when his contract expired. But he has decided to stay with United for life, which is 2008 and then quit football.

"Ferguson wants to create a championship team for the third time in his reign at United. He wants to create a team with Ruud van Nistelrooy and Steven Gerrard as the new leaders. Ferguson is crazy about Gerrard. He thinks he is better than Vieira."

Meanwhile, United players paid a moving tribute to their former winger Jimmy Davis, who died in a car crash on the M40 last August. The entire United team swapped their match shirts at the end for ones bearing the name DAVIS and his old squad number 36 on the back, before going up to collect their winners' medals from England coach Sven Goran Eriksson.

United and England midfielder Paul Scholes said: "We all played with Jimmy and knew him well. We hope that this was a nice tribute to him and his family."

Ryan Giggs added: "I think it was Roy Keane who came up with the idea and approached the manager and asked if it was OK. We still talk about Jimmy a lot and we thought it was a special tribute. We have a good team spirit here and Jimmy was part of that and we wanted to remember him."

The 21-year-old Davis, who had played for England at every level up to Under 21, died on the opening day of the season when his BMW car was in collision with a lorry in Oxfordshire in the early hours of the morning.

He had been en route to Watford, where he had been on loan, to watch their opening First Division fixture against Coventry, having been ruled out of the match due to injury.

He had left his home in Redditch, Worcestershire, to drive to Hertfordshire through the night in order to receive treatment for his injury before watching his Watford team-mates.

As a result of his death the match was postponed as a mark of respect. An inquest later revealed that Davis was over the legal alcohol limit at the time of his death.

His funeral in Redditch prompted an incredible response from the football world for a youngster who was yet to make it to the big time. But Davis was hugely popular with an off-the-field attitude that endeared him to everyone at Old Trafford. He was known as a joker and was one of the few people to address United manager Sir Alex Ferguson as "Fergie" to his face and get away with it.

More than 500 mourners at the funeral included the United first team plus David Beckham, who had signed for Spanish giants Real Madrid. That was where Beckham met Ferguson for the first time since leaving for Spain, and they exchanged the briefest of courtesies.

Also in attendance were players from Watford, Swindon, where Davis had also been on loan, members of various England teams of differing levels plus Football Association representatives.

Ferguson said at the time of his death: "Jimmy was a great lad who we all miss. We had sent him out on loan to gain more experience and we had high hopes for him."

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=52806&seg=EPL&teamid=

leslie_lai
23-05-2004, 12:06 PM
Originally posted by cracker

only one guy in this thread kept condeming fletcher..:rolleyes:

:deg: :cool:

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 12:53 PM

:deg: :cool:

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

leslie_lai
23-05-2004, 12:58 PM

roll ki lan

read this

<--

orca_sea
23-05-2004, 01:38 PM
Woah never know that Jimmy Davis did call SAF Fergie when he's still alive n got away wif it..sad tat he's in the other whole liao.. God Bless..:angel:

orca_sea
23-05-2004, 01:40 PM
Players remember Davis

This is the United that we wan to see.. the team spirit

RuMmYtUb
23-05-2004, 02:07 PM
Players remember Davis

Yea this is what i call fantastic team spirit.. :D

Jimmy Davis, RIP. :(

wadeva_lah
23-05-2004, 03:25 PM
wonder who else calls the gaffer by fergie.. :laugh:
and gets away with it of course.

stam
23-05-2004, 03:37 PM
now, to euro2004 and new summer signings for next season!!! :)

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by stam
now, to euro2004 and new summer signings for next season!!! :)

hopefully this coming summer new signings wont be as disappointing as last summer.....:cool:

RVN
23-05-2004, 06:11 PM
ALAN SMITH will become a Manchester United player tomorrow.

The Leeds striker is to agree a five-year deal at Old Trafford - plunging him into a battle with Louis Saha and Ruud van Nistelrooy for a starting place.

In a move first reported in the SP weeks ago, England reject Smith represents Sir Alex Ferguson's first summer swoop.

A fee has been agreed between the clubs and personal terms "were not a problem", said a signing source.

"We were keen to get him and the player was keen to come," the United insider added.

"Alan is very passionate about what he sees as a chance to play for a massive club.

"If only every deal was so easy."

Birmingham, Everton, Middlesbrough and Newcastle had all asked about Smith, but he wanted to go to Manchester United.

A cut-price £6million fee is less than Leeds would have received from other clubs - another bizarre financial twist for the cash-crippled Yorkshire outfit.

Relegated Leeds have already sold Paul Robinson and now Smith is player No2 to go. Mark Viduka and Danny Mills will follow.

As a result of the transfer, Leeds fans are set to withhold Smith's player of the year award in protest.

They did the same two years ago when Rio Ferdinand was transferred from Elland Road to Old Trafford.

Leeds fans have also branded Smith 'Judas' and warned him not to return to Elland Road if he joined 'The Scum'.

It is a marked contrast to the scenes of his final home game when he was carried shoulder high after a 3-3 draw with Charlton.

http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14266900%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=fergie%2dto%2dseal%2dhis%2dswoop%2dfor%2dsmith-name_page.html

Ronaldo7
23-05-2004, 06:53 PM
hope so :)

RuMmYtUb
23-05-2004, 07:49 PM
Why soccernet always so slow... and isit true we signed the Gabriele Heinz from PSG ?

stam
23-05-2004, 07:54 PM

hopefully this coming summer new signings wont be as disappointing as last summer.....:cool:

at least we got ronaldo! :D

Ronaldo7
23-05-2004, 08:54 PM
Why soccernet always so slow... and isit true we signed the Gabriele Heinz from PSG ?

don't think it's comfirm yet :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 10:10 PM
keep a look-out for monday ( uk time ) paper....widely say smith deal going to complete on monday....

if really sign smith.....really glad that fergie going start his signing early into the summer.....

hopefully milner will come togerther w smith....:D abit greedy.....:D

stam
23-05-2004, 10:30 PM
shopping list : 1 defender, 1 left winger(understudy giggs), 1 playermaker(understudy scholes) and smith.

leslie_lai
23-05-2004, 10:37 PM
shopping list : 1 defender, 1 left winger(understudy giggs), 1 playermaker(understudy scholes) and smith.

Ronaldo should fit in comfortably on the left I think.

Playmaker .. understudy to Keano - Liam Miller

We need TWO defenders.

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 10:51 PM

We need TWO defenders.

ronaldo prefer foot will be right....so it will be more expolsive if we play him on the right....

guoquanyap
23-05-2004, 11:06 PM

fergie tracking Norwegian international winger Morten Gamst Pedersen...natural left winger....value at onli 3million pound

haiz how i wish we can get robben....but maybe we can find some unpolish gem in the summer....:D

RVN
23-05-2004, 11:36 PM
Rooney rumour dismissed.

Everton's deputy chairman Bill Kenwright has laughed off reports that the Merseysiders have agreed a deal to sell Wayne Rooney to Manchester United.
Reports on Sunday had suggested that Everton had accepted a £40 million offer for their teenage England international.

United will undoubtedly move to revamp their strike-force this summer with Diego Forlan and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer both tipped to be depart Old Trafford.

Leeds hit-man Alan Smith has been linked with a move to the recently-crowned FA Cup winners, but Kenwright insists there is no chance of Rooney leaving Goodison Park.

"It is always difficult to respond to rubbish," Kenwright told Everton's official website.

"David Moyes and myself have discussed a combined response and it is - the article is laughable.

"No deal has ever been discussed, set up or agreed with Manchester United or, indeed, any other football club on the planet."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1136459,00.html

£40m for a youngster, the press are kidding. :laugh:

stam
24-05-2004, 12:00 AM

We need TWO defenders.

play him on left, who play the right?

leslie_lai
24-05-2004, 12:04 AM

play him on left, who play the right?

Our trusty loyal servant, Ole Gunnar :)

guoquanyap
24-05-2004, 12:51 AM

Our trusty loyal servant, Ole Gunnar :)

ole not a natural wide player, yes he played well there last season but i dun think that will be his best position....

he is a finisher he can onli play forward and score goals....

cal127
24-05-2004, 02:37 AM
What MANU need is a real playmaker. Me thinks SAF should use his budget to get back ronaldino, all of it if necessary, and stop buying unproven players. Just by looking what he has done for Barca makes you wonder what it could have been for us. What a major loss. :mad:

___jeff
24-05-2004, 02:43 AM
is ballack considered a playmaker ?

pale
24-05-2004, 10:14 AM
Guys..I'm abit hazy on the rules. Maybe someone can enlighten me.

1. Man Utd needs to play Champions League starting from third round to Qualify for group stages.Correct?

2. Teams like Real Madrid...(FInished 4th in La Liga). Inter (FInished 4th in Serie A) are also consider seeded like Man Utd by UEFA. Correct?

3. SO that means Seeded Teams will not meet each other in until Group stages. Correct?

What I'm trying to say is...We will not get to see something like Man Utd vs Real Madrid or Inter vs Deportivo in 3rd round qualifying. Correct?

Anyone knows???:D

jujube
24-05-2004, 10:41 AM
it will be really funny if Man Utd meets Real Madrid in the qualifying round :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
24-05-2004, 12:17 PM
pale, since teams like Real and Inter also finished 4th, it means that we have a chance of meeting them during the qualifying rounds, simple as that.. :(

RVN
24-05-2004, 12:17 PM
Guys..I'm abit hazy on the rules. Maybe someone can enlighten me.

1. Man Utd needs to play Champions League starting from third round to Qualify for group stages.Correct?

2. Teams like Real Madrid...(FInished 4th in La Liga). Inter (FInished 4th in Serie A) are also consider seeded like Man Utd by UEFA. Correct?

3. SO that means Seeded Teams will not meet each other in until Group stages. Correct?

What I'm trying to say is...We will not get to see something like Man Utd vs Real Madrid or Inter vs Deportivo in 3rd round qualifying. Correct?

Anyone knows???:D

No becos Real and United are seeded team hes won't meet. Just hope we don't get a difficult draw.

leo_llw
24-05-2004, 02:14 PM
Banana skins are everywhere in the qualifying...even for a club like ManU or RM, it's no walkover. ;)

RVN
24-05-2004, 02:36 PM
CRISTIANO RONALDO knew he had done his job when Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson hailed the Portuguese wonderkid’s FA Cup heroics.

Ronaldo, who only turned 19 earlier this month, was instrumental in helping the Red Devils beat Millwall 3-0 in Cardiff on Saturday.

And the winger revealed the sense of pride he felt as he walked towards Ferguson after being substituted with six minutes to go.

Ronaldo, a £12.2million signing from Sporting Lisbon last summer, said: “I was saluted by Alex Ferguson when I was subbed and that made me very happy.

“It is a big compliment that my manager and team-mates say so many good things about me.

“And I hope to repay them by playing more good games and helping the team to achieve our goals.”

Fergie rarely singles out individuals, preferring his men to focus on their duty of playing as a team unit.

However, the Old Trafford boss allowed his enthusiasm for Ronaldo to spill over. The Scot said: “At first it took Cristiano time to get used to British football.

“But with every passing week, he’s got better and better.

“Everyone has their idea of what Cristiano’s potential is but there’s no question that his potential is better than anything else in Europe. What we have to do is realise that potential. You take the components — he’s got the perfect physique, balance, pace and two feet.

“He’s got a fantastic personality, a great strength of mind and a sense of purpose. Those things will help him more than anything and take him really far in the game.”

Ronaldo, who headed United in front on Saturday, thanked Ferguson for guiding him through his first season in English football.

He said: “Alex Ferguson has protected me so I do not go too far too quickly.

“He does that not only in terms of my work but my private life too. I know I can learn so much from him. This is the only club in Britain I would want to be at.”

Ronaldo arrived at one of the biggest clubs in the world with a massive price-tag around his neck.

An explosive debut on the opening day against Bolton increased the hype — and the pressure.

Suddenly the buzz was this could be the boy to follow in the footsteps of United legends like George Best, Bryan Robson and David Beckham.

Ronaldo had taken over the No 7 shirt and the expectation that went with it has not been easy to handle — the transition to life at Old Trafford was made harder by the club’s struggle to keep pace with Arsenal in the Premiership.

But Ronaldo, who scored six goals in 23 starts, insisted: “It has been a positive year even though things didn’t go quite as well as we hoped from a personal and a group aspect.

“I have managed to improve and have always been positive about my football.”

United’s old guard were also full of praise for new kid on the block Ronaldo and his silky skills.

Ryan Giggs was talked about in a similar way 13 years ago.

And the Welshman, 30, said: “He may be only young but he already has an influence on everyone in the team. He not only excites the crowd but the other players as well.

“When we first saw him in that pre-season friendly playing against us for Sporting Lisbon we saw what an outstanding player he could be.

“He has taken the next step without any problems and he can be something really special for the club.”

Hitman Van Nistelrooy, who netted United’s two other strikes including a penalty, said: “Ronaldo is a fantastic player.

“He basically won the game for us with his goal before half time. He is already so much better than when he first joined us a year ago.

“His end product is there and he’s scoring goals now too.”

Captain Roy Keane, 32, added: “We want him to be consistent for the team. He is already showing lots of confidence.

“But if he gets carried away, he will be brought back down to earth very quickly.

“He could have stayed in Portugal for an extra year and then joined up with us.

“But he wanted to come straight away and test himself against the best and that’s exactly what he is doing.”

Ronaldo7
24-05-2004, 02:43 PM
pale, since teams like Real and Inter also finished 4th, it means that we have a chance of meeting them during the qualifying rounds, simple as that.. :(

nope . we won't meet them so early

currently: seeded > 31.2 , unseeded < 29.8

Seeded teams coef.
------------------------ --- -------
Real Madrid Esp 146.351
Manchester United Eng 119.510
Deportivo La Coruña Esp 104.351
Liverpool Eng 90.510
Juventus Ita 84.531
Internazionale Ita 82.531
PSV Eindhoven Ned 65.246
Bayer Leverkusen Ger 62.331
Sparta Praha ** Cze 54.915
Anderlecht Bel 49.529
AS Monaco Fra >51.947
Club Brugge ** Bel 43.529
Glasgow Rangers Sco 42.601
Rosenborg BK ** Nor 42.227
PAOK Thessaloniki Gre 41.467

Unknown seeding coef.
Wisla Kraków ** Pol 31.177
Benfica Por >29.805
CL1 Ukr 17.301 - 41.301

Unseeded teams coef.
FC Basel Sui 25.384
Red Star Belgrade ** Srb 21.654
Grazer AK Aut 19.971
Maccabi Haifa Isr 19.012
Fenerbahçe Tur 16.656
CL ** Den 15.758 - 21.758
CL2 ** Ukr 14.301 - 17.301
Maccabi Tel-Aviv ** Isr 14.012
CL ** Rom 12.880 - 17.880
Hajduk Split ** Cro 11.734
Trabzonspor ** Tur 11.656
Baník Ostrava Cze 10.915
CSKA Moscow ** Rus 8.572
Djurgårdens IF ** Swe 8.516
winner QR2 ** 7.384 - 16.

Ch3tah_39
24-05-2004, 05:52 PM
Originally posted by cal127
What MANU need is a real playmaker. Me thinks SAF should use his budget to get back ronaldino, all of it if necessary, and stop buying unproven players. Just by looking what he has done for Barca makes you wonder what it could have been for us. What a major loss. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
24-05-2004, 06:11 PM
Monday, May 24, 2004

Ryan Giggs has admitted the dynamic performance of fellow Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo inspired him to greater efforts at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

Cristiano Ronaldo: Match winning performance in FA Cup final (AlexLivesey/GettyImages)
Giggs placed a 14th major medal into his bulging trophy cabinet after the 3-0 FA Cup final romp against Millwall.

Although Ronaldo stole the show with his dazzling array of skills, Giggs also played a significant role late on, getting chopped down by David Livermore for the penalty which Ruud van Nistelrooy rammed home, then dancing into the area to set up the Dutch striker for United's third goal.

The Welshman freely admits his form has not been particularly good during a generally disappointing second half of the season for the Red Devils. But Ronaldo's inspired performances in recent weeks seem to have sparked Giggs back into life.

'When Cristiano plays like that, he has an influence on everyone,' said the 30-year-old wide man.

'He does not just excite the crowd, he excites his team-mates as well and on Saturday we got the full array of his talents.

'For someone of that age to play so well in a cup final was absolutely outstanding.

'He put Millwall on the back foot every time he got the ball and scored a goal as well. You can't do much better than that.'

For a man so used to the big occasion, Giggs revealed he hardly slept on Friday night because he was so nervous.

With so many family members present to witness his first FA Cup final in his home city of Cardiff, Giggs admitted he felt the weight of pressure, especially as a hugely embarrassing defeat would have seen United finish the season empty-handed and place major question marks over the future of many of their players.

'The disappointments this season have been well documented and there was extra expectation because we were such overwhelming favourites,' he said.

'But we approached the game properly, passed the ball well and also produced an end product.

'We were able to use most of the things we had been working on in training and in the end it was a thoroughly professional job.'

As ever though, manager Sir Alex Ferguson will not be spending the summer resting on his laurels.

The £6million arrival of Alan Smith from Leeds is expected within days and significant interest in Paris St Germain's Argentine defender Gabriel Heinze is not expected to take long to bear fruit.

While those signings would raise more doubts over the short-term futures of Ruud van Nistelrooy and Rio Ferdinand, they clearly indicate that despite Saturday's success, Ferguson is determined to bring about a major improvement in United's Premiership and Champions League challenges.

The sight of FC Porto in Wednesday's European Cup final is a swift reminder of what might have been for United given the Portuguese champions only ejected them from the tournament with a last-minute goal which would have been irrelevant anyway had Paul Scholes' legitimate first-half effort not been ruled out for offside.

Giggs has already expressed his belief that Smith would be a useful addition to the United camp and maintains his more questionable observation that the Old Trafford side are not inferior to Arsenal despite the vast points gap that appeared between them this season.

'We don't believe we are finished,' he said. 'We never have done.

'The spirit within the squad is still good and though we have had our disappointments this season, we ended up with a trophy, which is a cause for celebration.'

Smith's move imminent ? (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301466&cc=4716)

RVN
24-05-2004, 06:22 PM
Leeds have dismissed reports that Alan Smith is about to complete an £8m move to Manchester United.
The Yorkshire club insisted that Manchester United had yet to meet their valuation of the England striker.

"Alan has still not been sold whatever anyone else has said," Leeds chairman Gerald Krasner told the club's website.

Leeds are due to hold further talks with United in the next few days to try to reach an agreement over the fee for the 23-year-old.

greycat87
24-05-2004, 08:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Leeds have dismissed reports that Alan Smith is about to complete an £8m move to Manchester United.
The Yorkshire club insisted that Manchester United had yet to meet their valuation of the England striker.

"Alan has still not been sold whatever anyone else has said," Leeds chairman Gerald Krasner told the club's website.

Leeds are due to hold further talks with United in the next few days to try to reach an agreement over the fee for the 23-year-old.

:(

RVN
24-05-2004, 08:42 PM
They want 10m rip-off, stop the bid. :mad:

guoquanyap
25-05-2004, 12:10 AM
Originally posted by RVN

come on!!! :mad:

guoquanyap
25-05-2004, 12:55 AM
- Former star, Peter Schmeichel criticised Manchester United's poor season despite winning the FA Cup saying it's never been a priority at Old Trafford.

However much pleasure Alex Ferguson can take from lifting football's oldest trophy for the fifth time, the reality remains that this has been a disappointing season for United.

"There can be no getting away from it. It's nice to win the FA Cup, but it's never been a priority at Old Trafford," said Peter Schmeichel yesterday.

Schmeichel, who signed off his own United career five years ago by winning the European Cup, spelt out what it was that made Ferguson's face turn a slightly darker shade of purple as he met the media in the bowels of the Millennium Stadium.

"United finished 15 points behind Arsenal in the Premiership and there's no disguising that. There's no disguising their Champions League failure against Porto and being beaten nine times in the Premiership."

Compared to Arsenal's perfect zero, it should be noted. When asked about Arsenal, Ferguson said testily. "I wouldn't worry about my summer. I know we will be back."

guoquanyap
25-05-2004, 01:02 AM
Alan Smith will complete one of football's most controversial transfers within 48 hours when he joins Manchester United from arch-rivals Leeds United in a £7million deal.

Old Trafford has so far refused to comment but it is expected that England's stand-by striker for Euro 2004 will sign after undertaking a medical on Wednesday.

The FA Cup winners have had two bids of £3.5million and £5.5million rejected, but it is understood that a package, which will see left-back Danny Pugh move to the Yorkshire club, has now been agreed.

Although there was interest from Middlesbrough, Birmingham, Newcastle, Liverpool and Everton, Smith made it clear he wanted to move across the Pennines to join Leeds' bitter rivals.

Leeds fans, though, will be incensed at Smith's decision to join United, particularly after he was feted in the club's final home game of the season just over two weeks ago.

Their ire is such, it is certain Smith will not be invited to collect his supporters' player-of-the-year award early next season after becoming the first to win it two years in succession.

A similar situation unfolded two years ago when centre-back Rio Ferdinand picked up the honour, only to then defect to Manchester United for £28.1million, which resulted in his invitation being subsequently revoked.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301515&cc=5739

cutter
25-05-2004, 10:49 AM
MU left-back...Leeds striker... sorta reminds me of the Irwin-Cantona episode :D
6-7 mil pounds... at least Smith will cost less than Forlan did (who is probably the one being replaced)

RuMmYtUb
25-05-2004, 11:24 AM
MU left-back...Leeds striker... sorta reminds me of the Irwin-Cantona episode :D
6-7 mil pounds... at least Smith will cost less than Forlan did (who is probably the one being replaced)

Hate to say this but i think it's time Forlan leaves.. with Smith, he's surplus to requirements..

RVN
25-05-2004, 11:36 AM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004240815,00.html

Wenger is so Ruud
By SHAUN CUSTIS

RUUD VAN NISTELROOY insists Alex Ferguson is a class above Arsene Wenger.

Manchester United strike ace Van Nistelrooy is still seething after Arsenal boss Wenger failed to applaud Fergie and Co on their title success last year.

The Dutch star, 27, said: “Our manager Sir Alex

did well to congratulate Arsenal on their championship win this year.

“That’s the way you should do things. But it’s not what Arsene Wenger did.

"I was disappointed with him when we won the championship.

“Wenger said that the best team in England had not won it. That is nonsense, absolute bull****.

“A real top coach would always congratulate their opponents on their success.”

-------------------------------------

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004240818,00.html

You're a show-off, Ron

A LOAD OF PONY ... Ronaldo holds FA Cup with Van Nistelrooy but has come under fire from team-mate

By SHAUN CUSTIS

RUUD VAN NISTELROOY has launched a stunning attack on FA Cup-winning team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo by claiming he is too much of a show-pony.

The Manchester United striker says Ronaldo, 19, has not learned when to deliver his crosses.

And he claims the Portuguese star spends too much time on fancy tricks.

Van Nistelrooy, who netted twice against Millwall on Saturday in Cardiff after Ronaldo had opened the scoring, said: “Cristiano is a really big talent. I see that every day in training.

“But in the game he is not effective. He is getting better — but there is too much show in his playing.

“He wants to play nice football but you can’t always play that way.

“Often his crosses come too late for me because I’m marked by then — but we are working hard on that.”

Having cut one youngster down to size, Van Nistelrooy then delivered a warning to Arsenal newboy Robin van Persie, a colleague in the Holland camp.

Van Persie, 20, has just joined the Gunners for £3.5million from Feyenoord and comes with a brash reputation.

Van Nistelrooy said: “Robin is a tremendous player and the biggest around in Holland.

“But he has to have respect for the Arsenal players because that was his problem at Feyenoord.

“He thought he was the best, which he was. But you have to show that every week on the pitch — and he did not do that.

“It meant he was not in the Feyenoord team on a regular basis — I hope it is a different story at Arsenal.

“But he is going to a team that is playing so well, so that should make it easier for him.”

Van Nistelrooy’s United team-mate GARY NEVILLE has slammed Arsene Wenger for describing his Arsenal team as “immortal”.

The Gunners boss gave his side the ultimate accolade as they finished as Premiership champions without losing.

But England defender Neville said: “What they have achieved is amazing. But immortal?

“Are we immortal because we have won the Premiership by the biggest-ever margin four years ago?

“Are we immortal because we won the Treble in 1999, the first time it has ever been done? No.”

And Neveille added: “It puts Arsenal up there but there have been other great achievements in the past 10 years.

“Winning the championship, FA Cup and European Cup — there is nothing better than that. I wouldn’t start throwing words like immortality around.

“We could have done that after the Treble, but you just don’t.”

Neville believes Arsenal have simply enjoyed a “freak” season and that there will be nothing between themselves and United in the next campaign.

Ronaldo7
25-05-2004, 12:09 PM
wah seh . just 1 week after the end of the season and the mind game has already started for next season liao :laugh::evil:

Thinker
25-05-2004, 12:44 PM
RVN has a point there. Ronaldo has a lot of talent, but there is a danger that he might end up a McManaman, rather than a Figo.

pale
25-05-2004, 04:13 PM
Article from the SUN I always read with a pinch of salt.:D

jujube
25-05-2004, 06:36 PM
i never take THE SUN's article seriously. no one does. just read it for a laugh heh

Yellowfin
25-05-2004, 08:10 PM
So far no news on any transfer for Man U beside the 2 player mention.

Anyway, the best team in England had not won the EPL title this year. :D

RuMmYtUb
25-05-2004, 08:35 PM
May 25 - Troubles continued to grow at Leeds today as the relegated club turned their search for a new manager into a farce and striker Alan Smith closed in on a move to arch-rivals Manchester United.

Smith will join Manchester United for £7 million tomorrow in a controversial transfer.

Less than three weeks after he was carried shoulder high around Elland Road by Leeds fans who hailed him a hero, the 23-year-old England international will become the first new face in what is likely to be a summer of change at Old Trafford.

Official confirmation of Smith's move, which is expected to see young United full-back Danny Pugh head in the opposite direction, will not be made to the Stock Exchange until the player has completed his medical.

Kevin Blackwell had been expected to be confirmed as Leeds boss on a two-year contract, but the board have now had to backtrack because Steve Parkin's proposed takeover of the club advanced during the weekend.

Blackwell, however, was called into a meeting with director Simon Morris and informed he would have to wait until the end of the week - at the earliest and if at all - to be installed.

Danny Pugh out, Alan Smith in.. (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=52941&seg=EPL&teamid=)

MatrixFanatic
25-05-2004, 09:19 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

Yeah the best team in England didn't win the EPL this year. We only started to falter after Rio was banned.

*CoughwengerCough*

pale
25-05-2004, 09:47 PM
Come on guys..give credit where credit is due. Arsenal won the EPL and was unbeaten. Congrats to them and let's move on.

No point making excuses. Say what also useless. Season over liao.. Come August..we will start the battle again:D

RVN
25-05-2004, 10:02 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1197823.jpg

Manchester United striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is not worried about his future at Old Trafford despite the possible arrival of Alan Smith from Leeds.
The arrival of Smith would increase competition for places at United and possibly push Solskjaer down the pecking order at the FA Cup winners.

Celtic have been linked with the Norwegian international, but the prolific hit-man insists he is going nowhere.

Solskjaer remains unconcerned at the possible additions to the squad and has been reassured he is part of Sir Alex Ferguson's long-term plans.

"I'm wanted by the boss so I will not change club," Solskaer told Dagbladet. "He has not quit in believing in me.

"Rumours about players leaving the club can affect the fans. But the players know what is going on."

Solskjaer missed the majority of the season with a knee injury and it was feared he may need to go under the knife again, but he is confident the summer break will help him regain fitness.

"Now I am in great shape, at my best if I only get to play games," added Solskjaer.

"The time when you could take six weeks' rest just to get a tan in the sun is over. We have got an important Champions League game at the start of August. We must use our days off well."

Solskjaer also vowed that United will bounce back next season after a largely disappointing campaign despite their FA Cup success.

"We will be back as soon as possible. We have come back before, twice we have won the title the season after. We must hope and do all we can to ensure that we do it again."

Meanwhile, United are set to no longer use the Elite Sports Agency following a review of the club's transfer policy.

The club launched a review after criticisms by shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus about alleged conflicts of interest in some transfer deals and although the study showed the club had complied with all official regulations they have decided to sever ties with the company.

United recognised concerns over Elite's connection with manager Ferguson as his son Jason is a director at Elite.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1136803,00.html

guoquanyap
25-05-2004, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin

i share ur joke :laugh: but we should not be so low-class as that person during last seaon......

the best team this season won the title....we should congrat them....;)

RuMmYtUb
25-05-2004, 10:48 PM

i share ur joke :laugh: but we should not be so low-class as that person during last seaon......

the best team this season won the title....we should congrat them....;)

Who's that person ? :laugh:

guoquanyap
25-05-2004, 10:49 PM
Come on guys..give credit where credit is due. Arsenal won the EPL and was unbeaten. Congrats to them and let's move on.

No point making excuses. Say what also useless. Season over liao.. Come August..we will start the battle again:D

cool...it's jus a harmless dig.....;)

RVN
25-05-2004, 10:53 PM

Who's that person ? :laugh:

The person that say the best team lost the title. :laugh:

guoquanyap
25-05-2004, 10:58 PM
cool it guys....'wall got ears' ;)

let's await our first signing for the summer tml.....:D

goaheadbingostan
26-05-2004, 12:13 AM
come august, we will challenge for the honours again!

RVN
26-05-2004, 12:47 PM
Ruud slam Robben for joining chelski rather than us.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004241053,00.html

Ruud to see out his career at United but to quit football in 4 years time. :eek: :(

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004241050,00.html

leslie_lai
26-05-2004, 01:06 PM
:(

Ronaldo7
26-05-2004, 01:31 PM
it's from the sun :angel:

RuMmYtUb
26-05-2004, 01:59 PM
why Man Utd hasn't unveil Smith !?

RVN
26-05-2004, 02:09 PM

move haven't been completed yet mah. :rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
26-05-2004, 02:15 PM
hope utd can seal the deal by tonight

guoquanyap
26-05-2004, 04:00 PM

relaxed dude....:cool:

uRiZEn
26-05-2004, 04:04 PM
Hope he wun come.

Ronaldo7
26-05-2004, 04:47 PM
Smith Tips United Backlash

Walter Smith has left Old Trafford, and warned United's rivals that the Reds will bounce back stronger than ever next season.
United have reclaimed the Premiership title in each subsequent year of finishing off the top spot, and Smith has tipped them to repeat the feat next year.

He told the BBC: "If you look at Manchester United's record over the last 12 or 13 years it is fantastic.

"And the one thing that is clear is that if they have ever lost a championship, they always bounce back and win it the next season.

"Their past record would indicate that they are at their most dangerous the season after having, for them, the disappointment of losing out on the championship this season."

"Disappointments are hard to take, but it is how you react that is important, but their reaction has always been a positive one and one the other teams in the Premiership can look forward to."

Smith left United after a three-month spell as Sir Alex Ferguson's number two, and he admits that it was an enjoyable stint back in football.

He said: "It was a nice taster and I enjoyed my time there. Everybody was terrific and it was nice to end with an FA Cup success against Millwall.

"Going to Manchester United was a great opportunity, albeit for a short while.

"I've been around one or two clubs, but it was good to go back into it and be on the training ground again and I was fortunate to work at club with the high standards of Manchester United."

Report by Steve Bartram.

:evil:

RVN
26-05-2004, 07:06 PM
New Leeds United boss Kevin Blackwell expects Alan Smith to join Manchester United in the next few days, but believes the club can be great again without him.
Their homegrown star is expected to sign for their arch-rivals in the next few days, in a move which has greatly angered the Elland Road faithful.

Smith's defection to Old Trafford will not go down well with the fans, but Blackwell has backed his move to The Red Devils, saying it is a brave choice to make.

Blackwell expects the deal to be done in the next couple of days, as he is reportedly having a medical on Wednesday.

"I haven't spoken to anyone about that, but I anticipate that he won't be a Leeds United player after tomorrow," Blackwell told Sky Sports News after his appointment as the new Leeds boss.

"There's no love lost between Man United and Leeds, that's for sure.

"It would have been harder to swallow if we'd been in the same division as them, but we're not.

"On a footballing level, I admire his decision. If he wants to go and win things, he would have a great chance there."

Blackwell believes that the West Yorkshire side can bounce back from their massive slump in fortunes, and can do it without Smith.

He says that they must concentrate on bringing the younger players through and is confident more young homegrown stars can be found.

"Alan hasn't always been here and it's always been a great club," Blackwell added.

"We have to develop another Alan Smith."

Blackwell was also quick to point out that Smith remains a staunch Leeds fan and has been constantly checking on the management situation.

"Alan's rang me a few times wanting to know what is going on with the club he loves so much."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1137051,00.html

tianwei
26-05-2004, 11:58 PM
maybe Queiroz on his way back as SAF's number 2??:D

trax06
27-05-2004, 12:22 AM
^^ thats what i want to happen...

guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 12:34 AM
Originally posted by tianwei
maybe Queiroz on his way back as SAF's number 2??:D

cant seeing that happen....when u been a manager at such a big club.....will u still come back and be a assistant manager and play second fidle to the manager?

guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 12:37 AM
Man Utd sign Smith

Manchester United have confirmed the signing of England striker Alan Smith from Leeds for £7m.

Smith passed a medical on Wednesday and then put pen to paper on a five-year contract at Old Trafford.

The 21-year-old defender Danny Pugh will be moving in the opposite direction as part of the deal.

Smith, 23, made it clear he preferred Manchester United as soon as Leeds' relegation from the Premiership was confirmed earlier this month.

Left-back Pugh has made seven senior appearances in his two seasons at Old Trafford.

He played the full 90 minutes of United's 2-0 Carling Cup fourth-round defeat at West Brom last season, and was an 89th minute sub in the FA Cup fourth-round win at Northampton.

goaheadbingostan
27-05-2004, 12:38 AM
Alan Smith signs for United - 7m... source (Sky Sports news)

guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 12:41 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301671&cc=5739

guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 12:42 AM
so excited!! first signing into the summer.....more to come pls!! :happy: :happy:

guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 12:45 AM
Manchester United is delighted to announce that it has finalised an agreement with Leeds United for the transfer of Alan Smith.

The total consideration for this transfer is £7.05 million (£6.0 million payable to Leeds, £0.3m levy payable to the FA Premier League and £0.75m fees payable to the agent) From Leeds United’s perspective the package totals £7 million with the player agreeing to waive his signing on fee and other associated considerations. The player has signed a 5 year contract that will see him at the club until 30th June 2009.

Alan Smith said “I have grown up at Leeds and spent some wonderful years there and I would like to thank everyone associated with the club. Now I feel it’s the right time to move on and there could be no better club than Manchester United. To be joining one of the best clubs in the world is fantastic and I am looking forward to the new challenges that face me.”

Sir Alex Ferguson said: “I have never been more impressed with a young player, his desire to play for Manchester United is fantastic. Certain young people come along with a special determination, and after speaking to him I expect that from Alan Smith. That desire will take him a long way.”

David Gill, Chief Executive of Manchester United PLC, said “Alan is a very young, committed and determined player. On the pitch he is fearless and this attitude will be a terrific asset to Manchester United.”

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=64749&itype=466&icategoryid=123

ericsoon72
27-05-2004, 01:01 AM
Alan Smith's record at Leeds United suggests he is not an out-and-out goalscorer.

The England international picked up more yellow cards than goals in The Premiership during his stay at Elland Road.

Add to that another five red cards and it is clear to see that the forward needs to improve his disciplinary record.

The 2002-03 campaign was a particular poor one in terms of goals for Smith as he managed only three although it must be remembered that he did spend much of that season playing in a more withdrawn midfield role.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1137062,00.html

:eek: :eek:

realli wonder whether he can score more goals than pick up yellow/red card at MU

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2004, 01:06 AM
Yes!! :D
Smith unveiled liao... w00t..

hope more signings are coming in, hopefully i can see a creative midfield playmaker in the mould of Tomas Rosicsky from Dortumund.. :D

RVN
27-05-2004, 01:12 AM
Siao loao, now we got 6 strikers

Ruud
Saha
Solskjaer
Smith
Forlan
Bellion

genesis113
27-05-2004, 01:43 AM
with Scholes, Ronaldo and Giggs in the team, Smith might hv more chances to score goals.
I believe SAF and Keane will hv better authority in controlling Smith's behaviour on the field.

we need a deep and large squad to handle various competitions, we don't want to be the same like Real Madrid who depends on their six stars only.

I hope Smith will deliver more compared to Forlan.

Originally posted by ericsoon72

realli wonder whether he can score more goals than pick up yellow/red card at MU [/B]

cutter
27-05-2004, 01:45 AM
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_111410.shtml

Fletcher handed Scotland honour
Wednesday May 26 2004

Darren Fletcher was told he is to be handed the Scotland captaincy at the tender age of 20.

The decision to give the Manchester United midfielder the armband for the friendly in Estonia means he is almost certainly Scotland's youngest ever captain - and definitely the most youthful in living memory.

Scotland manager Berti Vogts decided to pick Fletcher ahead of Steven Pressley, who is captain at Hearts, in the absence of Barry Ferguson, the first choice skipper and Christian Dailly, his deputy.

Vogts said: "Darren Fletcher is a guy in a key position in my team and a key player for the World Cup qualifiers.

"He is the future of Scotland and also the future Scotland captain - and I think he is the future captain of Manchester United."

wah... 20 years old earmarked as Scotland captain liao

RVN
27-05-2004, 01:54 AM
Yup good news for him and us, the added responsibility can only aid his development as a man and a player. :D

guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 01:58 AM
Originally posted by genesis113
with Scholes, Ronaldo and Giggs in the team, Smith might hv more chances to score goals.
I believe SAF and Keane will hv better authority in controlling Smith's behaviour on the field.

we need a deep and large squad to handle various competitions, we don't want to be the same like Real Madrid who depends on their six stars only.

I hope Smith will deliver more compared to Forlan.

i believe fergie will be able tame smith....furthermore i find smith temper is not that bad....it's jus that he has a desire to win games and win back the ball so sometimes will make some rash challenages.....abit like scholes....

smith is young and talented....already a key member of the squad i should say....

derrace
27-05-2004, 02:17 AM
ok, who's next to come?

SG_Jimmy
27-05-2004, 02:27 AM
1 more defender pls :)

RVN
27-05-2004, 02:28 AM
Originally posted by SG_Jimmy
1 more defender pls :)

Plus a creative midfielder. ;)

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2004, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Siao loao, now we got 6 strikers

Ruud
Saha
Solskjaer
Smith
Forlan
Bellion

In terms of ability it's:

RvN
Saha
Smith
Ole
Bellion
Forlan

Our squad can do w/o Poorlan, hope SAF sells him away and recoup some cash back..

leo_llw
27-05-2004, 03:40 AM
Smith b4 Ole? Wat u thinking?

Smith got no technical ability, so-so passing, absymal scoring record(for a striker), suspect temperament. :laugh:

Ronaldo7
27-05-2004, 03:41 AM
smith :evil:

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2004, 04:54 AM
Originally posted by leo_llw
Smith b4 Ole? Wat u thinking?

Smith got no technical ability, so-so passing, absymal scoring record(for a striker), suspect temperament. :laugh:

Pls watch carefully, Smith got gd technical ability... excellent shielding and holding up balls... i don't understand why so many pple don't see the gd in Smith... he plays in a club whereby he gotta do all the **** work himself last season after Kewell left... he's creator cum goalscorer...

i suppose ur comments are better off kept in the assenal thread..

leo_llw
27-05-2004, 04:58 AM
well this is a free forum....u mean only those that agree to your views can post? :rolleyes:

talk abt shielding and holding up balls, they dun come better than Sparky or Shearer. Smith? :rolleyes:

creator cum goalscorer? u must be toking about Henry :laugh:

leo_llw
27-05-2004, 05:16 AM
Smith vows to win over doubters
Wednesday May 26 2004

Alan Smith has vowed he is ready to win the doubters over after completing his "brave" £7million journey from Leeds to Manchester United.

After passing his medical with the Red Devils, Smith signed a five-year contract at Old Trafford that has succeeded in alienating him from supporters of both clubs.

Leeds fans are seething that the home-town boy they hailed a hero during a disastrous last 12 months has so actively sought a transfer to their bitterest rivals.

United supporters are not much happier given Smith's badge-kissing antics after scoring during the last league match between the sides at Old Trafford in February and also fear the Yorkshireman's arrival could trigger the departure of Ruud van Nistelrooy.

Smith has so far met any criticism directed at him with a firm shrug of the shoulders and insisted he has the right to join any club he wants.

However, the 23-year-old has accepted the move has generated plenty of ill feeling and knows there will be plenty of sceptics waiting to condemn him when he runs out in a United shirt for the first time in August.

"Not a lot of people would have been brave enough to make this step," he told MUTV. "But I am prepared for what comes with that and I am looking forward to the challenge of playing for Manchester United.

"I can't wait to get started. I want to prove myself here and win the fans over with my performances on the field."

http://www.football365.com/news/story_111423.shtml

Ronaldo7
27-05-2004, 09:41 AM
JOINED MAN UTD FROM LEEDS

2004: Alan Smith
2002: Rio Ferdinand
1992: Eric Cantona
1978: Joe Jordan
1978: Gordon McQueen

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2004, 11:37 AM
:laugh:
I'll be happy with Smith next season and hopefully he can let critics like u eat ur words.. :D

At least he's much better than kanu and wiltord combined..:eek: :laugh:

RVN
27-05-2004, 12:28 PM
JOINED MAN UTD FROM LEEDS

2004: Alan Smith
2002: Rio Ferdinand
1992: Eric Cantona
1978: Joe Jordan
1978: Gordon McQueen

Leeds are our feeder club. :laugh:

Hope he contribute more goals for us than Forlan fail to do this season.

RVN
27-05-2004, 03:02 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1217704.jpg

Manchester United's new recruit Alan Smith is champing at the bit to play alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy at Old Trafford and has made a major impact on Sir Alex Ferguson.
Smith completed his £7 million switch from arch-rivals Leeds United on Wednesday and is already dreaming of lining up for The Red Devils next season.

His fiery determination and will to win has already drawn special praise from his new manager Ferguson, who was delighted with the acquisition.

The Scot admits Smith has impressed him like no other young footballer and is confident the striker will make a major impact with the club.

Ferguson said: "I have never been more impressed with a young player, his desire to play for Manchester United is fantastic.

"Certain young people come along with a special determination and, after speaking to him, I expect that from Alan Smith. That desire will take him a long way."

The England international's arrival will boost United's firepower, with also having Louis Saha at his disposal in addition to the prolific van Nistelrooy.

But Smith has no designs on playing second fiddle to that pairing and wants to immediately cement himself a place in the starting line-up alongside the Dutch hit-man.

"Obviously when you come to a club you want to make an impression straight away and I'm no different," Smith told The Sun.

"I believe in my own ability and that I am good enough to play in this team and, hopefully, that will be proved right.

"I can't wait to play alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy.

"I'm really looking forward to the start of a new season and a new challenge for myself and a good challenge at Manchester United.

"I'll be playing with world-class players week in, week out and training with them day in and day out, so coming here can only improve me as a player."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1137175,00.html

wow, smithy sei bei hungry for success with us. :D

leslie_lai
27-05-2004, 03:31 PM
I like that attitude!

United should really adopt a 3 striker formation next season .. its gonna blow all the other teams off. All our 3 top strikers are quite different in terms of playing style .. and the best way to harness the best out of them, its to play them together.

RVN
27-05-2004, 04:17 PM
http://www.bigtoesports.com/images/p75897.GIF

no collar. :mad:

here are shorts

White
http://www.bigtoesports.com/images/p75920.GIF

Black
http://www.bigtoesports.com/images/p75924.GIF

leslie_lai
27-05-2004, 04:23 PM
New **** from Nike again :yawn:

Ch3tah_39
27-05-2004, 04:32 PM
Originally posted by RVN
http://www.bigtoesports.com/images/p75897.GIF

no collar. :mad:

here are shorts

White
http://www.bigtoesports.com/images/p75920.GIF

Black
http://www.bigtoesports.com/images/p75924.GIF

look nice...:D

cutter
27-05-2004, 06:04 PM
aiya...go orchard shop looksee touch-touch then decide whether nice or not... picture only give certain impressions :D ... if like then can decide to purchase and give regular Bunga Emas tribute to our Evil Empire to finance more player transfers :laugh: :evil: :D

leo_llw
27-05-2004, 06:15 PM

I'll be happy with Smith next season and hopefully he can let critics like u eat ur words..
At least he's much better than kanu and wiltord combined..:eek: :laugh:

kanu used to be very good. Now :(

As for Wiltord, I am on your side though. Even if he is a decent player, but at 13mil :mad:

U better hope Smith comes good, next season we have a behemoth in Chelsea and Mourinho has shown wat he can do with a mediocre club in 2.5 years. :(

derrace
27-05-2004, 06:43 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw
well this is a free forum....u mean only those that agree to your views can post? :rolleyes:

talk abt shielding and holding up balls, they dun come better than Sparky or Shearer. Smith? :rolleyes:

creator cum goalscorer? u must be toking about Henry :laugh:

erm, who's Sparky?
Have to agree that Henry is darn good.