View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Sparky refer to Mark Hughes. Thats his nickname during his time with us. ;)
Smith and Miller already join us, wonder who next?:D
RuMmYtUb
27-05-2004, 08:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Gabriel Heinze ??
greycat87
27-05-2004, 09:20 PM
pardon my ignorance but who's miller?
Seals
27-05-2004, 09:28 PM
miller.. brand of beer... actually he is fm celtic
saha scored against man u..and he is in man u.. smith too..
dunno who will buy next...
indra???
Originally posted by Seals
miller.. brand of beer... actually he is fm celtic
saha scored against man u..and he is in man u.. smith too..
dunno who will buy next...
indra???
We won't buy anymore striker, Solskjaer, Saha, Ruud, Smith, more than enough. ;)
A creative midfielder is next. :D
jujube
27-05-2004, 10:42 PM
i didnt really want Smith at the Club at first.
but he been so determined to come. not afraid of Leeds fans and even better... not afraid of his new club's fans! its reallly heartening to see a player as determined as him.
His aggression on field and determination.. he could well be the replacement for the ailing Roy Keane tho not in terms of positon but importance to the team.
goaheadbingostan
27-05-2004, 11:29 PM
sign agu casmir.
guoquanyap
27-05-2004, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by jujube
i didnt really want Smith at the Club at first.
but he been so determined to come. not afraid of Leeds fans and even better... not afraid of his new club's fans! its reallly heartening to see a player as determined as him.
His aggression on field and determination.. he could well be the replacement for the ailing Roy Keane tho not in terms of positon but importance to the team.
hopefully he will show the same determintation and passion when he was at leeds....if he does that...i am sure in no time he will be a hits w the fans.....
guoquanyap
28-05-2004, 01:11 AM
wonder wat jersey number will smith get....hmmm...
RuMmYtUb
28-05-2004, 01:19 AM
Originally posted by RVN
We won't buy anymore striker, Solskjaer, Saha, Ruud, Smith, more than enough. ;)
A creative midfielder is next. :D
pls surprise me by bringing in van der Vaart or Rosicsky..
trax06
28-05-2004, 01:30 AM
yeah rosicky would do gd...but i think van der vaart is better.
Ronaldo7
28-05-2004, 06:56 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
wonder wat jersey number will smith get....hmmm...
17 ? since that's was his number at leeds and that number belongs to Ricardo :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
28-05-2004, 07:21 AM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
17 ? since that's was his number at leeds and that number belongs to Ricardo :rolleyes:
well maybe....congrat to keano return to international scene and flechter won as a captain of scotland......
oh ya...Miller was named MoM yesterday for ireland....:eek:
Roy Keane made a successful return to the Republic of Ireland side as Brian Kerr's men overcame Romania 1-0 at Lansdowne Road.
The Cork midfielder added a touch of class to the Republic, as Matt Holland's 84th minute strike ensured an impressive win.
United new-boy Liam Miller, who excelled alongside Keane in midfield, said: "It was great to play with Roy Keane. He is a world class player and one we need in the side."
Meanwhile, boss Brian Kerr said: "I thought Roy played very well. He set the tone with his tackling and the accuracy of his passing."
"He showed why we wanted him back in the team. Roy deserved a good reception. People have not forgotten the great contribution he has made to Irish football."
Matchwinner Holland was also full of praise for Keane, and was eager to look forward to the upcoming World Cup 2006 qualifiers.
He said: "With Roy in the side we have a better chance of qualifying for the next World Cup and we want to play in the big tournaments."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=65493&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Darren Fletcher skippered Scotland to victory in Estonia, and then admitted that he had enjoyed his spell as captain.
The Tartan Army bagged their first away win since 2002 through James McFadden's late second-half strike.
A typically level-headed Fletcher admitted, though, that the captaincy is not his to keep just yet, saying: "I've relished every minute of this week, but I know that experienced players like Christian Dailly and Barry Ferguson will come back in."
"It was a great night. Everybody was magnificent and we played good stuff.
"We'd been working in training on passing and moving and we knew that if we got it going, they wouldn't be able to live with us.
"I think if the goal had come earlier, the flood-gates might have opened and it could have been three or four, but we're just happy to get the result."
Ever the modest professional, Darren was showered with deserved acclaim by others.
Scotland coach Berti Vogts said: "In Darren Fletcher we have one of the biggest talents in the UK."
Meanwhile, Scots debutant Nigel Quashie said of the squad: "Some of the young players in the squad are different class, particularly Darren Fletcher who is really top drawer."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=65490&itype=466&icategoryid=120
RuMmYtUb
28-05-2004, 01:30 PM
Ricardo might leave and the number is available to Smith :(
Our future look bright
Howard, Carroll, Miller, Brown, O'Shea, Rio, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Smith, Saha,
All good young players.. with bright futures ahead of them. :D
derrace
28-05-2004, 02:52 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Icic, I only started watching soccer during the Man U/Blackburn seasons when Shearer was still at Blackburn.
Feint memory of Huges, andrei (that russian winger duno how to spell), Lee Sharpe.
Only remember Steve, Palister, Ince, Cantona and Peter.
Guess I was busy playing my NES then..
:angel::angel::angel:
leslie_lai
28-05-2004, 03:15 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Ricardo might leave and the number is available to Smith :(
Its best for Ricardo to leave. He's too good to be our No.3 if he were to return.
Gabriel Heinze ??
you could be right. :eek:
Manchester United are on the verge of completing the £6million transfer of Argentine defender Gabriel Heinze.
Sir Alex Ferguson has had an offer for the 26-year-old accepted by French club Paris St-Germain and United have only to settle personal terms.
If the deal goes through as expected in the next two weeks, it will mean Ferguson has spent around £13m already this summer to reinforce his squad as he attempts to win the Premiership back from Arsenal.
Earlier this week, United spent £7m on Alan Smith in a controversial move from Leeds. But it was in defence that United were found wanting last season following the suspension of Rio Ferdinand after he received an eight-month ban for missing a drugs test.
Heinze, one of the most impressive defenders in the French League, was signed from Real Valladolid three years ago and was linked with Chelsea last season.
http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/sport/football/articles/11032095?source=Evening
MatrixFanatic
28-05-2004, 04:56 PM
Originally posted by derrace
Icic, I only started watching soccer during the Man U/Blackburn seasons when Shearer was still at Blackburn.
Feint memory of Huges, andrei (that russian winger duno how to spell), Lee Sharpe.
Only remember Steve, Palister, Ince, Cantona and Peter.
Guess I was busy playing my NES then..
:angel::angel::angel:
I only started watching soccer when I was in Sec 1!:laugh:
vivre
28-05-2004, 05:34 PM
Originally posted by leslie_lai
Its best for Ricardo to leave. He's too good to be our No.3 if he were to return.
THere may be a number '8' available next season.... :happy:
RuMmYtUb
28-05-2004, 08:44 PM
May 28 - Manchester United are on the verge of completing the £6million transfer of Argentine defender Gabriel Heinze.
Alex Ferguson has had an offer for the 26-year-old accepted by French club Paris St-Germain and United have only to settle personal terms.
If the deal goes through as expected in the next two weeks, it will mean Ferguson has spent around £13m already this summer to reinforce his squad as he attempts to win the Premiership back from Arsenal.
Earlier this week, United spent £7m on Alan Smith in a controversial move from Leeds.
But it was in defence that United were found wanting last season following the suspension of Rio Ferdinand after his failure to take a drugs test lead to his eight-month ban.
Heinze, one of the most impressive defenders in the French League, was signed from Real Valladolid three years ago and was linked with Chelsea last season.
Closing in on Heinze.. (http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=53102)
Paris Saint-Germain president Francis Graille believes Gabriel Heinze will soon complete a £6m move to Manchester United.
Heinze, currently on international duty with Argentina, was one of the most impressive defenders in the French League last season.
United have never disguised their interest in the 26-year-old, who is due to face Brazil on Wednesday and now a deal could be moving closer.
Graille said: "We are keeping in touch with Manchester United's chief executive [David Gill].
"I am confident but we will see what happens in the coming days."
United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has been looking to strengthen his defensive options with Rio Ferdinand receiving an eight-month ban for missing a drugs test.
If Heinze arrives at Old Trafford it will mean Ferguson will have spent around £13m already this summer to reinforce his squad.
United splashed out £7m to bring in striker Alan Smith from Leeds earlier this week.
Heinze was signed by PSG from Real Valladolid three years ago and was linked with Chelsea last season.
PSG, runners-up in the league, face Second Division Chateauroux in the French Cup final on Saturday.
But Heinze will be absent as he is preparing for the World Cup qualifier against Brazil next week.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,836642,00.html
a few more signings to enhance the squad! comon!! :)
Miller, Smith and nearly Heinze at Man Utd already. Now we need to buy a brilliant and attacking midfielder. :D
derrace
28-05-2004, 11:42 PM
glad to see MU taking action after a horrible season.
so far all deals coming in. Ruud/Keane/Solsk rumours all died down. anyone else going out as in approached by other clubs?
Btw, when does the xfer window end?
Ronaldo7
29-05-2004, 12:53 AM
should be a few weeks after the start of the new season if i am not wrong :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
29-05-2004, 12:56 AM
glad to see MU taking action after a horrible season.
so far all deals coming in. Ruud/Keane/Solsk rumours all died down. anyone else going out as in approached by other clubs?
Btw, when does the xfer window end?
end of augest.....
not much big names coming in yet...smith, milner and Heinze.....hmmm....but it's a gd sign that we start our recurit early compare to last summer.....
more to come pls....:D
end of augest.....
not much big names coming in yet...smith, milner and Heinze.....hmmm....but it's a gd sign that we start our recurit early compare to last summer.....
I think with euro 2004 in mind, we want to get the new players early. :D
guoquanyap
29-05-2004, 01:25 AM
*woot*~~ saha scored for france....:bounce: :bounce:
trax06
29-05-2004, 01:31 AM
is the France game on tv ??
I dun have it almost over liao, 4-0 to France over Andorra.
Saha 2nd international goal for France in 2 games. :D
RuMmYtUb
29-05-2004, 02:40 AM
Yes!
Saha is gonna be world class.. :D
Ch3tah_39
29-05-2004, 10:08 AM
end of augest.....
ya.. hope more signing to come...:)
genesis113
29-05-2004, 01:31 PM
Liam Miller
http://www.uefa.com/ml/ImagesContent/Competition/Players/129X194/43467.jpg
guoquanyap
29-05-2004, 02:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I havnt seen Miller play yet....What is his style of play? Midfield general , tackeling everyone & bossing it? or fast attacking midfield?? ;)
he is in a mould of keano and scholes w a gd vision and reading of the game....think of keano but w more pace and agailty....
guoquanyap
29-05-2004, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by genesis113
Liam Miller
http://www.uefa.com/ml/ImagesContent/Competition/Players/129X194/43467.jpg
look abit like gary neville....:o
Manchester United are about to sign the Argentinian centre-half Gabriel Heinze for £6m after he successfully came through a medical yesterday.
The transfer has been rushed through by the United chief executive, David Gill, after he agreed a fee for Heinze with Paris St-Germain. The 26-year-old said farewell to his PSG team-mates and flew to Manchester for his medical before heading off to play for Argentina against Brazil in next Wednesday's World Cup qualifier.
Heinze's personal terms had already been agreed at an earlier meeting between Gill and the player's agent, Robert Rodriguez. The defender has already been ruled out of today's French Cup final against Chateauroux because he is on international duty but it is doubtful whether he would have played for PSG in case he picked up an injury before joining United.
The Argentinian was signed by PSG from Real Valladolid three years ago and was linked with Chelsea last season. PSG have accepted that Heinze will be moving on and have already spent some of the money from the sale in recruiting Sylvain Armand from Nantes.
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=525982
RuMmYtUb
29-05-2004, 03:28 PM
look abit like gary neville....:o
Liam more handsome.. :D
......................Howard..................
G.Neville...Ferdinand...Heinze...Silvestre
Ronaldo.......Keane.....Scholes.......Giggs
...................RVN...Saha..................
Got much better depth I feel. :D
Bench: Carroll, Brown, O'Shea, P.Neville, Fletcher, Miller, Smith, Solskjaer
I assume Butt and Forlan will be sold.
I hope we sign an attacking midfielder, hope for van der vaart
RuMmYtUb
29-05-2004, 07:03 PM
We really need a creative playmaker !!!!
Scholes getting old liao.... :mad:
Thats exactly why I want us to buy van der vaart, but I ain't sure if we can get him, we really do need someone to take over from Scholes, maybe Miller can do that judging by the article below.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/118/118206_miller_faces_midfield_melee.html
RuMmYtUb
29-05-2004, 07:23 PM
Here's a preview of Gabriel Heinze:
http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/RuMmYtUb/heinze.jpg
:D
Full interview of Smith in www.manutd.com if anyone hasn't saw it yet. ;)
Interview: Alan Smith
Alan Smith has made the controversial switch from Elland Road to Old Trafford with the move causing divisions in thought on both sides of the Pennines.
Smith says the move has come at the right time in his career; for footballing reasons he is making a step up on the ladder, regardless of place of birth or allegiance.
And to any sceptical Reds, he says he aims to win them over with hard work and goals. Whatever your stance on this highly emotive transfer, this interview with MUTV shows Smith is adamant he has made the right move, and determined to prove himself right...
What are your first thoughts on joining Manchester United?
"I'm very excited to have signed for United. It's a massive club with massive credentials and a great history and I'm really looking forward to being a part of that."
There were a few other clubs that wanted to sign you; what was it that made you decide to come to Old Trafford?
"I'm at a stage in my career where I feel I'm ready to come to a massive club. I've played at a big club like Leeds for the first few years of my career and I've moved to Manchester United for me. Hopefully it'll be the start of something massive for myself."
How hard a decision was it to make the move across the Pennines from Leeds to Manchester?
"Obviously it's been a difficult one because of the cross-Pennine divide and the hostility between the two sets of fans. But from a personal point of view, and purely for football reasons, Manchester United was the club I wanted to come to. I feel they can offer everything I want as a footballer and hopefully help me develop and win trophies along the way."
How do you hope to win the United fans over?
"By scoring goals and through my performances on the pitch. Coming to a massive club is a huge step in my career and I've also grown up a lot over the last few years. Leeds United as a team and as a club have helped me to do that, and hopefully I can continue my learning period at United and win the fans over through my performances on the field."
How much are you looking forward to working with the United players?
"Playing and training with world class players week in, week out can only help to improve you as a player. A lot's been made of my departure from Leeds to Manchester United, but coming here can only help me improve as a person as well. Not a lot of people would have been brave enough to make that step. But I'm prepared for what comes with it and I'm looking forward to the challenge of playing for Manchester United."
What about playing alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha?
"I can't wait to play with the likes of Ruud and Louis. I know when I see the fixture list for the start of the season, it'll give me a big buzz and I can't wait to get going in pre-season. I'm looking forward to a new challenge for myself and also a new challenge at Manchester United."
What words of encouragement has Sir Alex Ferguson offered to you?
"I've had a few words with the manager and I know he's looking forward to having me here and I'm looking forward to working with him. I can't wait for the season to get under way now."
Given the competition for places at the club particularly upfront, are you prepared to spend some time on the bench?
"No not really. When you come to a new club you want to make an impression straight away and I'm no different. I believe in my own ability and that I'm good enough to play in this team and hopefully I'll be proved right. If you're going to be successful as a team you've got to have a good squad. There's no doubt we've got that here and competition for places is very good."
Most players come to Old Trafford wanting to win trophies, presumably you're no different...
"That's the main reason why I came to United. As a club they can offer you the chance to play in every major tournament around and I want to win everything I can. They're a club that always wants to be the best and as a person growing up, I've always wanted to do the best I can and be a winner. I think coming into a team like this, which needs winners in it, is great and hopefully I can be a winner as well."
Alan Smith was speaking to MUTV.
cutter
29-05-2004, 07:54 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I think with euro 2004 in mind, we want to get the new players early. :D
works both ways lah... buy early maybe can get cheaper... but buy after Euro or WC, can assess who are the big game players and also safer, avoid injuries from players who try too hard for their country in the Euro finals...
sacully kokup like Houllier when he wasted over 10mil of Liverpool's $$$ on the crap Diouf just before WC2002... end up only 1 goal in WC and looking very average in WC... later in Premiership turn from 10mil star to benchwarming s-hit :laugh: :eek:
again... Porbosky had a great Euro 96 and SAF bought him on that basis...never settled and only regained his form after leaving OT :(
guoquanyap
30-05-2004, 12:48 AM
Here's a preview of Gabriel Heinze:
http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/RuMmYtUb/heinze.jpg
:angel: :angel:
SIR ALEX FERGUSON last night revealed his secret blueprint for the future of Manchester United.
The Old Trafford boss opened his heart on the rebuilding he must undertake to win back the Premiership title from Arsenal and become kings of Europe once again.
ADMITS United will never again produce a crop of kids like Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, David Beckham, Nicky Butt and the Neville brothers;
DEFENDS big-money flops Eric Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson and reveals how the Cameroon star's mother has been in a coma;
CONFESSES he has already planned for skipper Roy Keane's retirement;
INSISTS FA Cup hero Cristiano Ronaldo (left) will become the new George Best.
Fergie said: "It's unthinkable these days to have a team in which all the players were born close to Old Trafford.
"A generation like that of the Nevilles, Butt, Scholes and Giggs is exceptional but it might only happen once in a lifetime. That's why we had to cast our net out wider. To continue feeding the first team, we had to go down that road."
Despite United's worst-ever Premiership season — finishing a staggering 15 points behind unbeaten champions Arsenal — Ferguson insists he has already laid the foundations for a new era of United domination.
He maintains the £26million he splashed on a new crop of youngsters last summer will form the backbone of United's future teams.
Ferguson paid £12.25m for 19-year-old Portuguese winger Ronaldo, £6m for 24-year-old Brazilian Kleberson, £3.5m for midfielder Eric Djemba-Djemba, £2.3m for American keeper Tim Howard and £2m for Sunderland striker David Bellion, 21.
On top of that French striker Louis Saha, 25, arrived in a £12.8m January transfer window move from Fulham, while last week Leeds striker Alan Smith, 23, was added for £7m.
Ferguson added: "The future of the club is a preoccupation and that's why I'm always on the look-out for certain signs.
"When I see, for example, that Roy Keane had an operation on his hip and will be 33 in August, that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has been injured for most of the season and will be 32 next year, then I can't allow myself to wait for them to take their retirement.
"So I am always having to try to make sure the reconstruction process is an evolutionary one.
"That's why we bought lots of young players last summer. Some of them have done well, some have yet to prove themselves — and I say yet." Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson have failed to set the world alight — but the manager insists they WILL come good.
Fergie revealed: "Kleberson got married, had a baby and was injured for eight months.
"It's unfair to judge him. What I do know is that this lad won the World Cup with Brazil in 2002 and he has a marvellous technique.
"Djemba-Djemba's mother was in a coma and we had to take her from Cameroon to France.
"He had to join the national team for qualification matches for the Olympic Games and then the African Nations Cup.
"We hardly saw him for four months but he's only 23 and he will continue to progress. Rio Ferdinand is 25 and Wes Brown 24. John O'Shea is 22 and Darren Fletcher only 19.
"We have EIGHT players under 25 who in the next three or four years will form the heart and the backbone of a good Manchester United team.
"With these players we can get back on track — and that starts next season."
Ferguson believes Ronaldo can follow in the legendary footsteps of George Best, Bobby Charlton and Eric Cantona and become the new king of Old Trafford. Ronaldo was the star of United's 3-0 FA Cup Final triumph over First Division Millwall, which secured the club some consolation from an otherwise poor season.
Ferguson insisted: "Ronaldo has been a huge success. This club has always been able to reserve a special place for exceptional talents and Ronaldo is going to be another.
"It's down to me to let him express himself and he can follow Charlton and Best.
"The same was said about Eric Cantona — that he would never have become the great player he was if I hadn't encouraged him to develop his talent.
"I believe we were the perfect club for Eric, a club where he could puff out his chest and say: ‘I'm the boss here, I'm the king.'
"That was because he had that aura, that presence and that belief in himself — and it's the same with Ronaldo."
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/story_pages/sport/sport4.shtml
Ronaldo7
30-05-2004, 02:22 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Fergie revealed: "Kleberson got married, had a baby and was injured for eight months.
"It's unfair to judge him. What I do know is that this lad won the World Cup with Brazil in 2002 and he has a marvellous technique.
"Djemba-Djemba's mother was in a coma and we had to take her from Cameroon to France.
"He had to join the national team for qualification matches for the Olympic Games and then the African Nations Cup.
give them another season :)
RuMmYtUb
30-05-2004, 02:41 PM
I have faith in SAF.. :)
our new strikers beds a ger :laugh:
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/story_pages/news/news1.shtml
http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=53140&seg=EPL&teamid=
But their FA Cup semi-final defeat by United not only ruined their hopes of emulating Fergie s unique treble of the title and FA and European Cup triumphs of five years ago, but also proved they were far from invincible.
Can someone please let the Arsenal fans know that!
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
"I think you would be silly not to look to the future," he said. "Lads like the Nevilles, Scholes, Butt, Giggs and even Roy Keane are not going to be around for ever."
Yeah, we have to find replacement for them soon. ;)
Ronaldo7
30-05-2004, 07:02 PM
FERGIE'S BABES WANT TO BE BOSSES
May 30 2004
UNITED STARS LOOK TO THE FUTURE
Exclusive By Simon Mullock
THE influence of Sir Alex Ferguson will remain in football long after the Scot finally decides to retire.
No fewer than five of his Manchester United players are planning to follow their boss into management.
Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Gary Neville, Nicky Butt and Phil Neville are all already preparing for life on the touchline when they are forced to hang their boots up on their glittering playing careers.
Keane's ambition to go into management is well known - and when the Irish international is granted his full UEFA licence this summer he will be qualified to manage in the Premiership.
But now Wales star Giggs has revealed that Keane is not the only player at Old Trafford harbouring an ambition to follow in Ferguson's footsteps.
The Old Trafford winger said: "There are a few of us at United doing coaching courses at the moment, so management is in our minds.
"It's myself, Keaney, the two Nevilles and Nicky Butt. We've been doing it over the last year or so - and it has certainly been interesting to see the other side of things.
"The PFA have been good enough to do it with us over the year. They are encouraging some of the top players to do courses while they are still in the game."
Giggs admits that the influx of foreign coaches in the game has been a factor in so many United players taking up the challenge.
He added: "With the experiences I've had, it would be a shame not to put something back into the game.
"I believe that, while the foreign coaches have brought a lot to our game, it's important that we keep the young British managers coming through."
Quieroz set for Man Utd return
CARLOS QUIEROZ is on the brink of a return to the Premiership with Manchester United after his disastrous one season stint as Real Madrid boss.
And in a dramatic double move that signals Sir Alex Ferguson's desire to shake-up his squad and reclaim the Premiership title from Arsenal, I can reveal that Lazio and England fitness coach Ivan Carminati may also be heading to United.
Portuguese coach Quieroz has held a secret meeting with Old Trafford chief Ferguson and was given a persuasive argument why he should return to United.
In his only season as Ferguson's number two, Quieroz helped United to the title a year ago when Fergie's stars sensationally overhauled an eight-point Arsenal lead to snatch the crown on the run-in.
Quieroz was then lured to Madrid as replacement for sacked Spaniard Vincente del Bosque - but the one-time South African national coach suffered a torrid season at the Bernabeu and was axed 10 days ago.
Despite working with Madrid new-boy David Beckham and superstars like Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Raul and Roberto Carlos, Quieroz failed to win one major prize - and paid the price with his job.
Ferguson, who has always maintained contact with Quieroz during his time at Madrid, quickly offered his former assistant a return to Old Trafford and the pair are thought to have met in secret last week.
Although the formalities have yet to be completed, high-placed sources at Old Trafford last night suggested that Fergie has convinced Quieroz to return.It is believed Fergie tempted Quieroz by offering him more responsibility in preparing the team for matches and handing him the task of improving young stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Louis Saha, Alan Smith, Darren Fletcher and Liam Miller.
Likewise, Carminati - highly respected throughout Europe - has been offered an important role working with United's first team.
Carminati is Lazio's fitness guru but is currently on release to England as part of Sven Goran Eriksson's backroom staff as they prepare for Euro 2004.
Eriksson, who employed Carminati when he was in charge at Lazio, rates the Italian as one of the best fitness coaches in the game and I understand the United stars in England's squad all speak highly of him.
As Ferguson plots another revolution on and off the pitch, there will be more new arrivals before the season gets under way.
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14289183%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=fergie%2din%2dre%2dcarl-name_page.html
greycat87
30-05-2004, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by stam
our new strikers beds a ger :laugh:
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/story_pages/news/news1.shtml
:mad: i dont like this kind of players :mad:
RuMmYtUb
30-05-2004, 08:28 PM
I hope Quieroz returns to be SAF's no. 2
goaheadbingostan
30-05-2004, 09:34 PM
I hope Quieroz returns to be SAF's no. 2
crossed fingers.
Thinker
30-05-2004, 09:42 PM
Originally posted by greycat87
:mad: i dont like this kind of players :mad:
Football players leading normal lives by having sex!!! SHOCKING!
guoquanyap
30-05-2004, 10:40 PM
think we gonna complete the transfer of Gabriel Heinze by nx wk....going to catch him in action for argentina vs brazil in the coming wk.....
hopefully he will make the starting line-up.....
Fletcher scores for Scotland. :bounce:
what a shame he still can't do it for United. :(
guoquanyap
30-05-2004, 10:42 PM
flecther scored his second goal for scotland....:o
guoquanyap
30-05-2004, 10:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Fletcher scores for Scotland. :bounce:
what a shame he still can't do it for United. :(
he still got lots of time on his side...no worries....:)
tianwei
31-05-2004, 12:12 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Quieroz set for Man Utd return
CARLOS QUIEROZ is on the brink of a return to the Premiership with Manchester United after his disastrous one season stint as Real Madrid boss.
And in a dramatic double move that signals Sir Alex Ferguson's desire to shake-up his squad and reclaim the Premiership title from Arsenal, I can reveal that Lazio and England fitness coach Ivan Carminati may also be heading to United.
Portuguese coach Quieroz has held a secret meeting with Old Trafford chief Ferguson and was given a persuasive argument why he should return to United.
In his only season as Ferguson's number two, Quieroz helped United to the title a year ago when Fergie's stars sensationally overhauled an eight-point Arsenal lead to snatch the crown on the run-in.
Quieroz was then lured to Madrid as replacement for sacked Spaniard Vincente del Bosque - but the one-time South African national coach suffered a torrid season at the Bernabeu and was axed 10 days ago.
Despite working with Madrid new-boy David Beckham and superstars like Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Raul and Roberto Carlos, Quieroz failed to win one major prize - and paid the price with his job.
Ferguson, who has always maintained contact with Quieroz during his time at Madrid, quickly offered his former assistant a return to Old Trafford and the pair are thought to have met in secret last week.
Although the formalities have yet to be completed, high-placed sources at Old Trafford last night suggested that Fergie has convinced Quieroz to return.It is believed Fergie tempted Quieroz by offering him more responsibility in preparing the team for matches and handing him the task of improving young stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Louis Saha, Alan Smith, Darren Fletcher and Liam Miller.
Likewise, Carminati - highly respected throughout Europe - has been offered an important role working with United's first team.
Carminati is Lazio's fitness guru but is currently on release to England as part of Sven Goran Eriksson's backroom staff as they prepare for Euro 2004.
Eriksson, who employed Carminati when he was in charge at Lazio, rates the Italian as one of the best fitness coaches in the game and I understand the United stars in England's squad all speak highly of him.
As Ferguson plots another revolution on and off the pitch, there will be more new arrivals before the season gets under way.
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14289183%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=fergie%2din%2dre%2dcarl-name_page.html
hiak hiak.....my prediction in a few posts back is coming true!!!:D
I think he has to go now for the sake of his career, but he is a great servent to the club. :)
Manchester United midfielder Nicky Butt has revealed he will reconsider his Old Trafford future after the Euro 2004 finals.
Butt put in a transfer request earlier this season after finding himself on the sidelines but the right move never materialised as he was not interested in a £5m switch to Birmingham City.
After rebuilding bridges with Sir Alex Ferguson, he started playing more often and soon insisted he was happy at his U-turn, saying: "It's the club I've grown up with and I definitely see my future here.''
But he still failed to hold down a regular starting place and was left on the bench for the FA Cup final.
Indeed, he now has a better chance of playing for England at the Euro 2004 finals than he does of starting in the United team next season.
No wonder, therefore, that the 29-year-old midfielder looks to be undecided once again about his long-term future as he contemplates the next Premiership campaign.
"It's something that I've spoken to the manager about and, in all honesty, I don't really want to start thinking about that again until after the European Championships,'' he insisted.
"This is far more important to me than anything that might happen next season.
"It's difficult, though. I haven't been playing regularly and I don't want to be in the same boat next season, especially now we have these transfer windows.
"You can find yourself stuck for months and then, when it gets to January, making a move to another club is not something you particularly want to rush into.
"It's something I need to sit down and think about. I need to talk to my family. I've got a wife and children to consider.
"Obviously I also need to talk to the manager at Old Trafford. It's something I need to think about seriously and I don't think now is the time."
Ronaldo7
31-05-2004, 04:23 PM
with the arrival of miller , think his time at old trafford is up :(
MatrixFanatic
31-05-2004, 05:30 PM
flecther scored his second goal for scotland....:o
Not only that, he also created all the other goals scotland scored.:o
guoquanyap
31-05-2004, 07:41 PM
dun really wan to see butt go...keano is not going to play every matches anymore and the chances of him getting injured are very high....eric and milner are not really ready to step into the anchor holding role.....
butt should stay....but that is up to fergie to convince him that he is has a impt role to play nx season.....
guoquanyap
31-05-2004, 07:51 PM
Paris St Germain have told Manchester United they face competition over the signing of defender Gabriel Heinze.
The 26-year-old left-sided central defender is thought to be close to agreeing a move to United, who look set to pay £6m for his services.
Graille said: "Nothing is done but if Manchester United pay what we ask, yes, we are on the right way.
"However, United's officials had better hurry up because we have other contacts with Spanish clubs."
Heinze's capture would take United's summer spending to £13m following the arrival of £7m striker Alan Smith.
I am confident but we will see what happens in the coming days
PSG president Francis Graille
Graille earlier admitted: "We are keeping in touch with Manchester United's chief executive David Gill.
"I am confident but we will see what happens in the coming days."
Argentina have called Heinze into their squad for the World Cup qualifiers next month.
Before joining PSG, Heinze played for Valladolid in Spain and Sporting Lisbon in Portugal.
United would have no problems gaining a work permit for Heinze as he holds a German passport.
Heinze could be an ideal partner for Rio Ferdinand when the England defender returns from suspension, allowing Mikael Silvestre to return to left-back.
Chelsea reportedly made a £7m bid for the player in January, but Graille said at the time Heinze would not be allowed to leave until the end of the season.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3735065.stm
WTF...abt $$ again.... :mad: :mad:
Ronaldo7
31-05-2004, 08:13 PM
i don't want it to end up like the ronaldinho deal :mad: :mad:
Graille that cunt. :mad:
Seriously we better hurry up and seal the deal. :mad:
cutter
31-05-2004, 08:41 PM
Michael Carrick of West Ham can be an excellent young midfielder who is available... West Ham failed to win promotion back to the Premiership so they can't hang on to him any more (they sold Lampard and Joe Cole but hung on to Carrick to keep some quality and when he was willing to stay and fight in Div 1... like Leeds are hanging on to James Milner but willing to give up Smith etc)... seems to be a great bargain at only 2.5mil... he's been compared to Lampard and Gerrard as a young English all-action central midfielder.
btw...lotsa free transfer bargains around, though it'll be more interesting to the mid-sized clubs:
players:
Larsson
Kluivert
Overmars
Cocu
Ziege
Anderton
Rivaldo
Reizeger
Wiltord (flop at the Ar-se but still a good quality player)
also a number of available experienced bosses for the likes of Spurs to headhunt...
coaches:
Hitzfeld
Ranieri
Quieroz
Houllier
Sammer
___jeff
01-06-2004, 02:06 AM
Originally posted by cutter
Michael Carrick of West Ham can be an excellent young midfielder who is available... West Ham failed to win promotion back to the Premiership so they can't hang on to him any more (they sold Lampard and Joe Cole but hung on to Carrick to keep some quality and when he was willing to stay and fight in Div 1... like Leeds are hanging on to James Milner but willing to give up Smith etc)... seems to be a great bargain at only 2.5mil... he's been compared to Lampard and Gerrard as a young English all-action central midfielder.
btw...lotsa free transfer bargains around, though it'll be more interesting to the mid-sized clubs:
players:
Larsson
Kluivert
Overmars
Cocu
Ziege
Anderton
Rivaldo
Reizeger
Wiltord (flop at the Ar-se but still a good quality player)
also a number of available experienced bosses for the likes of Spurs to headhunt...
coaches:
Hitzfeld
Ranieri
Quieroz
Houllier
Sammer
wiltord isnt a flop for your so called ar-se.
i dont think your knowledge is limited.
tianwei
01-06-2004, 02:29 AM
Originally posted by ___jeff
wiltord isnt a flop for your so called ar-se.
u don't think his knowledge is limited means he's knowledgable lah...:rolleyes: Wiltord not a flop??even deathblade from your Arsenal thread condemns him...rarely see he playing for Arsenal too...
leo_llw
01-06-2004, 05:59 AM
Ranieri wun be accepted at Spurs. Note Graham.
Sammer will be the new boss of Sttugart.
___jeff
01-06-2004, 07:14 AM
how the hell did he became a flop and show me the evidence about we condemn him ?
greycat87
01-06-2004, 08:25 AM
go back to your own forum lah
cutter
01-06-2004, 09:40 AM
aiya....Wiltord cost arsenal $$$$$ as their record signing but now on a free transfer...that is a flop in anyone's book (ok except to one or two people;) )... Veron, Porbosky, Rush, Jardel, Gazza, Edmundo, Henry, Viera, etc.... so many super players have flopped at big clubs during their careers...doesn't make them lousy players.
London cross-town rivalries are always there, but the North London one between Gooner Graham's Arsenal and Spurs is especially toxic...like Man Utd vs Man City...Liverpool vs Everton... Graham has his patio still in the Arsenal crest...you think any Spurs fan would expect full loyalty from such a die-hard Arsenal man ah? For overseas fans like you and me, a bit hard to understand... but for those who grow up in the neighbourhood where two clubs are competing for the same local fanbase..it is like a chicken rice war between two hawkers next to each other :D
Ranieri is a widely liked man and a foreigner...none of the fans in the Premiership will curently have any problems with him (unless he kokups their club) Spurs fans have Ranieri as a preferred choice to someone without experience in the Premiership...they have suffered long enough with managerial flops and the Gooner Graham/Sugar years.
ya sammer moved to stuttgart liao, larsson maybe at villareal, rivaldo probably at bolton.
RuMmYtUb
01-06-2004, 09:53 AM
___jeff, go take some english lessons b4 u come in here and make fool outta urself..:sarcastic
tianwei
01-06-2004, 12:12 PM
how the hell did he became a flop and show me the evidence about we condemn him ?
starting from the very first post of your Arsenal thread...go read it...too many pages in the thread...but here and there also got condemn Wiltord...never update urself do you??:rolleyes:
Alan Smith will bring the best out of Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha, according to Leeds director Peter Lorimer.
Lorimer says United chief Sir Alex Ferguson has landed himself a winner after persuading Leeds to part with one of their most popular players.
Lorimer said: "Sir Alex has bought a terrific competitor. Alan is a bit of an old-fashioned type player in his attitude. He is consistently competitive, every week you get the same from him, he only knows one way to play the game and he goes out and does that.
"That is why the fans at Leeds took to him. He chases everything, battles for everything and never gives up. He is also a player who never seems to get injured and is always available.
"To be fair Alan has been messed about a bit at Leeds. They have had him playing wide and in midfield, because he can play in other positions, but for me his best is up there alongside a striker where he is a great foil.
"He drags people all over the place and harries and rushes them and lots of things come from his efforts. He is at his best in the opposition penalty area, upsetting people and chasing down balls.
"I personally think he will be able to play alongside either van Nistelrooy or Saha. From what I have seen of them I don't think those two have been a great match when they have played together.
"Both are similar types of players whereas Smithy is totally different.
"Ferguson could play all three together. Two up front and one just behind. It certainly gives him a good chance of changing the style and the one thing about Smithy is, if the game isn't going for you, he is someone you can bring on and he can change things around with his fire and his attitude.
"That is why I am surprised England haven't taken him to Portugal with them for Euro 2004."
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,837757,00.html
derrace
01-06-2004, 01:06 PM
___jeff, go take some english lessons b4 u come in here and make fool outta urself..:sarcastic
I second that! No wait, then again, let him continue to make a fool of himself.
Remember, he doesn't think our knowledge is limited.
:laugh: :laugh:
Seals
01-06-2004, 01:52 PM
if last season got duff or kewell..good liao...
remember duff wanted man u if they wans him cos he is a man u fan
Originally posted by Seals
if last season got duff or kewell..good liao...
remember duff wanted man u if they wans him cos he is a man u fan
Kewell doesn't want to join us,. he opt for pool, A bit regret about Duff cos our board wasn't willing to pay 17m for him. :mad:
But we got Ronaldo instead. :D
___jeff
01-06-2004, 03:04 PM
=p u wont be able to spoil my day this way boy
rethel
01-06-2004, 03:15 PM
this is so funny.
look into the mirror man.
rethel
01-06-2004, 03:16 PM
seriously , shame on you.
chelsea ow3s j00
tianwei
01-06-2004, 03:31 PM
=p u wont be able to spoil my day this way boy
who's spoiling your day boy??u are just making a fool out of urself...:rolleyes:
___jeff
01-06-2004, 03:36 PM
i dont see fool but a clown out of u
Ronaldo7
01-06-2004, 03:42 PM
time to put an end to this lah . peace :angel:
http://members.lycos.co.uk/mufcdevil/net/bear1.jpg
Now Jeff, go back to your own arsenal forum. :rolleyes:
___jeff
01-06-2004, 04:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Now Jeff, go back to your own arsenal forum. :rolleyes:
=|
tianwei
01-06-2004, 05:05 PM
nice one there RVN...
to ___jeff, here's one for you...
http://www.emotioneric.com/condescendingsmile.jpg
think your command of english and your knowledge is better...yah rite...:rolleyes:
MatrixFanatic
01-06-2004, 06:59 PM
Wah seh. All because of one bloody wiltord.:rolleyes:
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/21774.jpg
Carlos Queiroz - who walked away from Manchester United last summer - is on the verge of making a return to the club.
United are said to be close to offering Queiroz the opportunity of becoming assistant manager for a second time, and many experts are forecasting that if he accepts the post, the former Real Madrid coach will be groomed to replace Sir Alex Ferguson.
Ferguson has no immediate plans to stand down, but will celebrate his 63rd birthday this year and the club wants to avoid a repeat of the situation it found itself in when the manager made his original retirement announcement three years ago.
Queiroz is also being linked to the vacant managerial post at Tottenham Hotspur but is ready to reject Spurs if United make him a firm offer of a return to his old post.
A popular figure with the United players, Queiroz helped guide them to the Premiership title in 2003 but at the end of that campaign left to take charge of Madrid where he did not have the same success.
After a season which saw the Spanish giants trophy-less and finishing a lowly fourth in La Liga, Queiroz was sacked.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,838295,00.html
trax06
01-06-2004, 07:19 PM
looks like gd news..
derrace
01-06-2004, 07:34 PM
i dont see fool but a clown out of u
I just got back and here's another dose of "Mind your language" Singlish version.
:laugh:
derrace
01-06-2004, 07:38 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson maintains Manchester United will not 'run away' from the challenge of regaining the Premiership title.
United finished third last season as Arsenal completed a remarkable unbeaten league campaign to lift the championship trophy, while Chelsea secured second place following Roman Abramovich's massive investment in new players.
It is set to be another competitive campaign next season, with both London clubs ready to contest for the Premiership crown again.
The 2004 FA Cup winners are, though, by no means a spent force in English football and Ferguson insists United will be ready for the challenges ahead.
'Winning the title has never been easy, but it's getting even more difficult,' Ferguson told the Mail on Sunday.
'There was always a challenge from somewhere and we had to prove our mettle to cope with it.
'Now people are saying we have to cope with Arsenal, Chelsea and the rest - well we at United have never run away from a challenge and we are not going to start now. We are as ready to meet it as we ever have been.'
Jose Mourinho is reported to be in line to take over from Claudio Ranieri at Stamford Bridge next week as Abramovich seeks a return on his investment from the man who took Porto to Champions League glory.
Ferguson concedes Chelsea will be something of an unknown factor under a new manager, but still expects them to be title contenders.
'Nobody knows what is going to happen at Chelsea,' said the Scot. 'But without doubt their target has to be the title at the very least.
'There has never been a situation like this before where a new coach looks like coming in with so much money at his disposal.
'They could be another 10 players added to the squad this year. We will have to wait to see what happens and then deal with it.'
A new appointment to the coaching staff at Old Trafford would also seem on the cards during the close season, with Carlos Queiroz believed to be in line for a return to Old Trafford as Ferguson's number two.
The Portuguese coach quit his role with United a year ago to take charge of Real Madrid, but was dismissed following his failure to bring success to the Bernabeu both in the Champions League and domestically.
Former Everton manager Walter Smith filled the vacancy at Old Trafford on a temporary basis until the end of the season, and Ferguson is expected to make a decision on a permanent appointment when he returns from vacation.
The United manager, meanwhile, feels next season could see more young talent at Old Trafford being given a taster of life in the first-team squad.
'I think you would be silly not to look to the future,' said Ferguson.
'Lads like the Nevilles, Scholes, Butt, Giggs or even Roy Keane are not going to be around forever.
'You have to start preparing to replace them, but that will not be for a few years yet.
'Hopefully by then the young players will have learned the game and will know what Manchester United is all about.
'We are still a young side and those players will be here for quite a while.'
Soccernet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301948&cc=3436)
I just cant wait for the season to start!!! Time for the BACKLASH!:bounce:
derrace
01-06-2004, 07:46 PM
time to put an end to this lah . peace :angel:
What to do? This is a free forum and fans from other clubs like to come in here to post. This thread very popular mah, easy for non-MU fans to get our attention.
If that's what they want, that's what they are going to get. Jolly well trying to flame in other fan club's thread.
guoquanyap
01-06-2004, 11:52 PM
come on quick finish the heinze deal b4 some other club come in w a better offer!! :mad: :mad:
David Gill....:mad:
goaheadbingostan
02-06-2004, 12:59 AM
is the "heinze" deal on or off? is PSG back to their old ways again?
Ch3tah_39
02-06-2004, 01:14 AM
come on quick finish the heinze deal b4 some other club come in w a better offer!! :mad: :mad:
David Gill....:mad:
lac manz...
Is he really that gd?? dun really know alot abt this player..
guoquanyap
02-06-2004, 01:41 AM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
lac manz...
Is he really that gd?? dun really know alot abt this player..
not very sure oso...but say to be the best defender in french league last season....and PSG finished second in french league, helping his side qualify for next season's Champions League and win the Coupe de France.
if he really that gd.....6million pound will be a steal....
watch him play against brazil this thurday 9.00am......mi cant watch...got to work....:mad:
RuMmYtUb
02-06-2004, 02:59 AM
I don't have much high hopes on Heinze until he puts in gd performances...
Didn't they say Forlan was also one of the best in the South American league b4 he came ? :(
guoquanyap
02-06-2004, 03:00 AM
haiz...butt did not start....:(
leo_llw
02-06-2004, 06:05 AM
Didn't they say Forlan was also one of the best in the South American league b4 he came ? :(
Erhhh...he was incidentally.
when boro and manu fighting for him, i seen some footage of him, quite impressive. dunno why now :alien:
leo_llw
02-06-2004, 06:07 AM
not very sure oso...but say to be the best defender in french league last season....and PSG finished second in french league, helping his side qualify for next season's Champions League and win the Coupe de France.
btw, Pascal Buaygan also French defender of the year when Arsenal bought him.
but I must say Heinz looks more handsome than Buaygan :D
guoquanyap
02-06-2004, 06:43 AM
Originally posted by leo_llw
btw, Pascal Buaygan also French defender of the year when Arsenal bought him.
but I must say Heinz looks more handsome than Buaygan :D
oh ya...but cyacal play better this season....he is gd lah or else AW sell him away liao lor....
Ronaldo7
02-06-2004, 09:28 AM
Queiroz to sign 2 year deal (http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1229529,00.html)
he's back
guoquanyap
02-06-2004, 11:42 AM
Queiroz to sign 2 year deal (http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1229529,00.html)
he's back
whether he will hav the same effective effect still wait to be seen....
Forlan score for Uruguay in their 3-1 loss to peru. :rolleyes:
Ch3tah_39
02-06-2004, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by RVN
he score arhh.. gd gd...:cool:
padixiong
02-06-2004, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN
he like can only score for country ..
EVERYONE!! look at my sig , any comments ?? did i missed out any honours ??
chyehock
02-06-2004, 05:16 PM
I like your signature.
Originally posted by padixiong
tianwei
02-06-2004, 05:37 PM
like it!!better than that ____jeff's one....but hmm....will it be too long..as in got to scroll down alot...
padixiong
02-06-2004, 05:58 PM
Originally posted by tianwei
like it!!better than that ____jeff's one....but hmm....will it be too long..as in got to scroll down alot...
i see his sig i use my to counter his ..
it is also good that mine is longer cos man united have more honours than arsenal . ____jeff wan write long also cannot ..
lolx ..
my sig indirectly suaning arsenal . can u all see ??
Kyubi
02-06-2004, 06:18 PM
i see his sig i use my to counter his ..
it is also good that mine is longer cos man united have more honours than arsenal . ____jeff wan write long also cannot ..
lolx ..
my sig indirectly suaning arsenal . can u all see ?? very irritating leh .. too long ..
goaheadbingostan
02-06-2004, 06:34 PM
if he really that gd.....6million pound will be a steal....
watch him play against brazil this thurday 9.00am......mi cant watch...got to work....:mad:
which channel? is it 22? can ask friend to record or something!
Manchester United are ready to up the pressure to land Paris Saint-Germain defender Gabriel Heinze.
With PSG holding out for at least £6m for their highly-rated player United are eager not to let Heinze slip through their fingers in a repeat of last summer's efforts to deal with the French club.
Last year Brazilian ace Ronaldinho was Sir Alex Ferguson's principal target but he joined Barcelona as PSG president Francis Graille accused United of "arrogance" in the way they handled their approach.
This time Ferguson wants no mistakes and talks with United's financial negotiators are expected to be rekindled before weekend even though the player is back in Argentina.
With Heinze topping their priority list, United seem unlikely to make a move for Manchester City star Daniel van Buyten who was ready to swap Eastlands for Old Trafford.
Van Buyten is currently on loan to City from Marseille but Kevin Keegan is having difficulty meeting the French club's £4m price tag and Blackburn are moving in as United show little interest.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,838959,00.html
leslie_lai
02-06-2004, 07:18 PM
Its not called the English Premier League (or premiership) before 1992. Make the necessary corrections.
padixiong
02-06-2004, 07:22 PM
Originally posted by Kyubi
very irritating leh .. too long ..
bu than ..
how to make it short when man u hav really too much honorS! ?
too long lah, very disturbing, shorten it please, just write the number of trophies we won will do. Don't have to write which years we won it.
This is for your information if you like to know.
http://www.manutdzone.com/records/alltime.htm
Kyubi
02-06-2004, 07:32 PM
Originally posted by RVN
too long lah, very disturbing, shorten it please, just write the number of trophies we won will do. Don't have to write which years we won it.
http://www.manutdzone.com/records/alltime.htm yeap .. too long oready .. shorten it la .. one post of urs take 2 screens ..
leslie_lai
02-06-2004, 07:35 PM
Manchester United F.C
English Division One Champion : 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967
English Premier League Champion : 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003
FA Cup Winner : 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004
League Cup Winners : 1992
UEFA Champions League Winner : 1968, 1999
European Super League Winner : 1992
Inter-Continental Cup Winner: 1999
cutter
02-06-2004, 08:10 PM
hehe... most of those trophies are won during Sir Alex's stewardship :D
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has held new secret talks with American sports tycoon Malcolm Glazer.
Gill met Glazer in America at the weekend and the news will prompt fresh speculation about a possible takeover of United.
The 75-year-old Glazer owns 18.25 per cent of the Premier League outfit but has considered buying up the shares of Irish millionaires John Magnier and JP McManus to take over the club.
The owner of the American football team the Tampa Bay Buccaneers first bought up 3.2 per cent of shares in United last year and in March he told the Stock Exchange that he had "no current intentions to make an offer".
Glazer and his sons, Joel, Bryan and Edward, believe that they have the merchandising expertise to exploit United's global fanbase and met with Gill to discuss future plans for the club.
Gill has promised there will be finances for summer spending. United have already spent £7million on Leeds striker Alan Smith and are in talks with PSG over defender Gabriel Heinze.
http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/sport/football/articles/11090868?source=Evening
guoquanyap
03-06-2004, 12:40 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Gill has promised there will be finances for summer spending. United have already spent £7million on Leeds striker Alan Smith and are in talks with PSG over defender Gabriel Heinze.
http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/sport/football/articles/11090868?source=Evening
better be true abt this.....
Ronaldo7
03-06-2004, 09:43 AM
Liverpool admit to Gerrard 'concern'
Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry has revealed there is nothing his club could do to prevent Steven Gerrard from joining Manchester United.
United have been strongly linked with the Anfield favourite since the start of this year after Sir Alex Ferguson revealed that the midfield powerhouse is the type of player he would like to have at Old Trafford.
The England international returned the compliment, making it apparent he would not object to such a switch - and Parry told his club's website "that the club could do little if their most influential player wanted a transfer".
He added: "It has to be a concern Stevie would be tempted to move away. You have to be concerned about losing players when you're not successful - and finishing fourth, for Liverpool, is not successful.
"While we're not successful you'd be mad to think we don't have issues with our top players.
"We can't stop Stevie joining Manchester United or whomever if he really wants to go.
"That's not to say we wouldn't fight tooth and nail to keep him. We would, and I've no doubt his greatest desire is to win trophies here. But ultimately winning trophies - wherever - is what players want."
:rolleyes:
Wednesday, June 2, 2004 (soccernet.com)
Glazer set for Man United red carpet
Manchester United will lay out the welcome mat for major shareholder Malcolm Glazier when they tour America this summer.
The owner of Tampa Bay Buccaneers has steadily increased his stake in the Old Trafford club to 18.25%.
Chief executive David Gill is hoping to link up with Glazier again next month following a recent meeting in Florida.
'He will hopefully tie up with us when we are on tour there in the summer,' Gill told BBC GMR.
'I am sure he and some of his family will come to a game and we will be delighted to see them there.'
Gill is adamant there was nothing mysterious about his meeting with Glazier, who could yet launch a takeover bid.
'It was just a normal investment meeting which happened to take place in Florida, ' he said.
'I was there to discuss the club and discuss our results for the previous six months.
'It is the first time I have seen them since then and we discussed what is happening in the club on the commercial side etc.'
Carlos Queiroz looks certain to return to Old Trafford as manager Sir Alex Ferguson's assistant.
Queiroz, who was dismissed by Real Madrid, is set to replace Walter Smith after his short-term contract expired.
Gill said: 'Carlos was with us for a season when we won the Premier League.
'He had an excellent working relationship with Sir Alex and was well respected throughout the club and football.
'There is nothing specific yet. If anything happens we will make an announcement at the appropriate time.'
Queiroz left United for Madrid a year ago but during his time in charge the club had a poor season and failed to win a trophy.
leo_llw
03-06-2004, 10:05 AM
IMHO, I believe even if ManU made a bid for Gerrard, he will not go to OT if a good manager is appointed at Anfield :D
Well..finally saw Gabriel Heinze play in the Brazil vs Argentina match. Gave away a penalty:mad:
Overall..like not very impressive leh.
Originally posted by pale
Well..finally saw Gabriel Heinze play in the Brazil vs Argentina match. Gave away a penalty:mad:
Perhaps should switch on to other targets. :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
03-06-2004, 05:32 PM
Originally posted by pale
watching the repeat.....wat a stupid that was fr heinze....i really hav my doubt man....
He look a bit clumsy with the tackle on Ronaldo, hope this is just a one-off game, but I also have my doubt on him. I am much better comfortable with O'Shea in our back-line than him. But latest from sky sport is we are going to buy him. :rolleyes:
Queiroz confirm return to OT :D
Carlos Queiroz has confirmed he is returning to Manchester United to work under Sir Alex Ferguson again.
The Portuguese boss had an unhappy stint in Spain with Real Madrid but has managed to move back into his old job as Old Trafford number two as Walter Smith was only a temporary appointment by Ferguson.
Even though Tottenham were believed to be interested in acquiring Queiroz, he has opted to accept Ferguson's invitation to head for Manchester.
"I come back with the same functions and responsibilities that I had the first time I was in Manchester," he told O Jogo.
The former South Africa boss was not interested in discussing the possibility of eventually taking over from United's long-standing Scottish manager.
"That is not the important thing," he stressed. "What interests me at the moment is the project and the ideas that we have for the club.
"My mission is to work alongside Alex Ferguson with the intention of making Manchester United the strongest club in the world."
Meanwhile, United are close to sealing the signing of Paris Saint Germain defender Gabriel Heinze.
The Argentina international is understood to have already agreed terms with the FA Cup winners and United have finally upped their offer to around €8.5 million, which is around PSG's asking price for the South American.
The French capital outfit are looking to spend the money on Nantes duo Sylvain Armand and Mario Yepes with four-year contracts awaiting the pair at Parc des Princes.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=206728
guoquanyap
03-06-2004, 06:17 PM
Cristiano Ronaldo has been voted Manchester United's Player of the Year by the club's supporters.
The 19-year-old Portugal international won the majority of the votes in a special poll run by MUTV, beating American 'keeper Tim Howard into second place.
Ronaldo has just ended an impressive first season at Old Trafford having caught the eye with a series of scintillating displays.
Things reached a peak with a match-winning performance against Millwall in the FA Cup Final but the teenager feels there will be more to come.
"I want to be one of the best players around in two or three years time. I would be very proud one day to be held in the same esteem as Best or Beckham. It's what I'm working hard towards.
"I'm learning from, and listening to the opinions of those who have been there and done it, won leagues and cups.
"Next season will be even better and over the years I hope I can improve and become more important to the team," he said.
Ronaldo, featured in 40 of United's first team games in all competitions during his first season has the chance to capture more headlines this summer as his country stages Euro 2004.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,839515,00.html
Jus 19 already voted Manchester United's Player of the Year by the club's supporters....*woot*
guoquanyap
03-06-2004, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
[B]He look a bit clumsy with the tackle on Ronaldo, hope this is just a one-off game, but I also have my doubt on him. I am much better comfortable with O'Shea in our back-line than him. But latest from sky sport is we are going to buy him. :rolleyes:
read that his temperature is suspected....somemore fergie oso so hot-temper surely crash wan.....hopefully he will speack english man....or else to to communicate w the back-four....
guoquanyap
03-06-2004, 07:02 PM
jus finished watching the brazil match....all the three goals, Heinze was involed in giving the penalty away....
cmi this match....
Ronaldo7
03-06-2004, 07:41 PM
United to win Pique race
Manchester United have won the race to sign Barcelona youngster Gerard Pique, according to sources in Spain.
The stylish young centre back with the famous surname, his full name is Gerard Pique Bernabeu, has been deliberating over his future with Arsenal and Chelsea also determined to find a new home for one of Spain's brightest defensive prospects.
The teenager is also comfortable in a left back position and could be a star of the future at Old Trafford.
His grandfather Amador Bernabeu was keen to see the Under-17 international make his mark at Camp Nou but negotiations did not progress well over a new contract and United have taken advantage.
No fee has been mentioned but it is understood that Pique is to sign a five-year contract with Sir Alex Ferguson's men.
Arsenal had been alerted to his availability by their own Spanish starlet, Cesc Fabregas, while Chelsea reportedly attempted to hijack the deal at a late stage
another one for the future
leslie_lai
03-06-2004, 08:17 PM
Welcome back, Carlos! I've been waiting for this \o/
United to win Pique race
Manchester United have won the race to sign Barcelona youngster Gerard Pique, according to sources in Spain.
The stylish young centre back with the famous surname, his full name is Gerard Pique Bernabeu, has been deliberating over his future with Arsenal and Chelsea also determined to find a new home for one of Spain's brightest defensive prospects.
The teenager is also comfortable in a left back position and could be a star of the future at Old Trafford.
His grandfather Amador Bernabeu was keen to see the Under-17 international make his mark at Camp Nou but negotiations did not progress well over a new contract and United have taken advantage.
No fee has been mentioned but it is understood that Pique is to sign a five-year contract with Sir Alex Ferguson's men.
Arsenal had been alerted to his availability by their own Spanish starlet, Cesc Fabregas, while Chelsea reportedly attempted to hijack the deal at a late stage
another one for the future
Hmm, Sources in Spain, think I'll wait for the news to appear on Manutd.com before I believe the claims. :rolleyes:
Oliver Kahn's father has claimed that Manchester United are courting the Bayern Munich goalkeeper.
Rolf Kahn told the Munich-based newspaper AZ that the Premiership giants are interested in taking his son to Old Trafford this summer.
German international Kahn prompted a wave of speculation at the weekend when he declared a desire to move abroad, and United have been among a host of clubs linked to the 34-year-old, with Barcelona also suggested as his possible destination.
Rolf Kahn said: "Oliver has had offers from Manchester United in the past, but the contact has certainly intensified over the past few weeks.''
The goalkeeper is eager for a new challenge, and his announcement came at the end of a season which Bayern finished empty-handed.
Bayern were initially angered by his interview, which was given to the German FA's official website, but they are now reportedly seeking a replacement.
Even Bayern goalkeeper coach Sepp Maier, the German legend, recognises that Kahn is serious about wanting to leave the Olympiastadion.
Maier told the Tz newspaper: "He's deadly serious.
"He wants to move and the English league is calling him. He's already achieved everything with FC Bayern and that's why he's now looking for a new challenge.''
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,839598,00.html
An oldie Kahn for a young up and coming Howard? Doesn't make much sense. :eek: :rolleyes:
LiquidSilver
03-06-2004, 11:09 PM
why man u not interested in van buytan already?
genesis113
04-06-2004, 03:17 AM
yeah, I also doubt him.
Quite funny, when I played Winning Eleven 7 pc game with Heinze as centreback along wf Rio, his performance oso poor, then I angrily replaced him wf O'shea and switched Silves back to centre, and solid again Utd defence.
I hope this is only in game, not reality, hoping Fergie must justify the deal carefully.
Why we give up Andrade who is more solid? He played well wf Deportivo. Even Klinsmann selected him in champions league XI this year.
Now Barca wants him as well.
watching the repeat.....wat a stupid that was fr heinze....i really hav my doubt man....
pct328
04-06-2004, 06:45 AM
Cristiano Ronaldo has been voted Manchester United's Player of the Year by the club's supporters.
The 19-year-old Portugal international won the majority of the votes in a special poll run by MUTV, beating American 'keeper Tim Howard into second place.
Ronaldo has just ended an impressive first season at Old Trafford having caught the eye with a series of scintillating displays.
Things reached a peak with a match-winning performance against Millwall in the FA Cup Final but the teenager feels there will be more to come.
"I want to be one of the best players around in two or three years time. I would be very proud one day to be held in the same esteem as Best or Beckham. It's what I'm working hard towards.
"I'm learning from, and listening to the opinions of those who have been there and done it, won leagues and cups.
"Next season will be even better and over the years I hope I can improve and become more important to the team," he said.
Ronaldo, featured in 40 of United's first team games in all competitions during his first season has the chance to capture more headlines this summer as his country stages Euro 2004.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,839515,00.html
Jus 19 already voted Manchester United's Player of the Year by the club's supporters....*woot*
what is the difference between this "player of the year" and "sir matt busby player of the year" which u can find in manutd website??
so young get this award, wait head become too big:rolleyes:
MatrixFanatic
04-06-2004, 07:32 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Hmm, Sources in Spain, think I'll wait for the news to appear on Manutd.com before I believe the claims. :rolleyes:
Waaaahhh if Chelsea hijack again I want to kill people liao
MatrixFanatic
04-06-2004, 07:49 AM
Way to go David Gill!:D
Jun 4 - David Gill won his powerbroker battle with Chelsea's Peter Kenyon when Premiership clubs yesterday voted at their summer meeting for Manchester United's chief executive to be one of their four representatives on the FA Council.
He joins Arsenal's David Dein, Rupert Lowe of Southampton and Bolton's Phil Gartside.
As expected 80-year-old Doug Ellis and Kenyon were the two candidates to miss out.
Surprisingly, on the other vote for a Premier League representative on the FA executive board, newcomer Gartside replaced Blackburn's Robert Coar, whose FA seat is elected by the regions.
Jun 4 - Carlos Queiroz last night confirmed that he is about to return to Manchester United and made the astonishing prediction that he will succeed Alex Ferguson as manager at Old Trafford.
Queiroz is talking to United about coming back to the club as Ferguson's assistant, just a year after leaving the post to become coach of Real Madrid.
Sacked last month by the deposed Spanish champions, the 51-year-old has agreed to team up with Ferguson again and should sign a three-year contract by the start of next week.
But it would appear that Queiroz has his heart set on a much more glamorous job and sees his return to Old Trafford as perfect preparation for taking over from Ferguson when the Scot eventually decides to stand down.
Queiroz said last night: "It's practically a done deal. There are just some legal details to sort out. Manchester United's offer is not one to turn down. It's a long-term contract which puts me as favourite to become club manager."
Sources at United last night laughed at Queiroz's confidence as he has not been given any assurances about what the future may hold for him at Old Trafford.
Though he is seen as a valuable part of Ferguson's coaching set-up, and a man who was undoubtedly missed during the disappointments of last season, United will seek a higher profile coach when the current manager decides to walk away.
Queiroz's season at the Bernabeu has probably done little to enhance his reputation as a top-level manager after he ended the season without a trophy.
But he argues that he was let down by the club when it came to transfer funds and that, because of this, he should have quit when the situation became clear at the turn of the year.
He said: "My biggest mistake was deciding not to leave when we were first in the league and still in the Copa del Rey and the Champions League."
"If I had taken that decision, perhaps it would have helped Madrid to avoid finishing the season as they did. I realise that by not doing so I didn't help Madrid and certainly not myself. Madrid haven't been successful, and I have lost a lot."
The return of Queiroz to Old Trafford will lift United's players, who enjoyed working with him during the successful 2002-03 season.
Ferguson spent much of last season trying to find a replacement, but eventually opted for former Rangers manager Walter Smith as a short-term fix. Smith has since left the club.
All sources from Footballchannel.
Originally posted by pct328
what is the difference between this "player of the year" and "sir matt busby player of the year" which u can find in manutd website??
so young get this award, wait head become too big:rolleyes:
Becos he deserved it, well I don't think he let his head grow big, he be well-protected by Fergie. ;)
RuMmYtUb
04-06-2004, 12:38 PM
w00t, Ronaldo player of the year, not surprising.... hopes SAF continue to protect him like he did with Becks and Giggs.. :)
goaheadbingostan
04-06-2004, 03:53 PM
agree.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40203000/jpg/_40203575_queiroz203.jpg
Former Real Madrid coach Carlos Queiroz will return to Manchester United as assistant manager next season.
Queiroz, 51, has agreed a three-year deal to become Sir Alex Ferguson's number two from 1 July.
He left Manchester United for the Bernabeu last summer on a two-year deal to become Real head coach, but was sacked after a disappointing season.
Queiroz said: "It is an honour for me to share the dreams and expectations of all Manchester United fans."
He added: "I feel proud and happy with my decision. It is a commitment to Manchester United where football achievements and ambitions fulfil my personal professional goals.
"I would like to express my respect and gratitude to the board and Sir Alex Ferguson for the trust and confidence they have given me with this amazing and renewed opportunity.
Ferguson said: "I am delighted to have Carlos back, I was sad to see him leave last year leave but understood his reasons for doing so.
"Now he has experienced new challenges and he can bring those new experiences with him.
"He is a terrific coach and made a marvellous contribution the year we won the league. The players and staff respected him and will be pleased to see his return."
United chief executive David Gill added: "It is fantastic to welcome Carlos back to Manchester United.
"Carlos is a committed, experienced and innovative coach who built up some great relationships with the coaches and players, as well as being an integral part in the 2002-2003 Premiership-winning campaign.
"We all look forward to seeing him back as we continue to prepare the club for the challenges ahead."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3753613.stm
RuMmYtUb
04-06-2004, 07:02 PM
Yea man, help SAF and the title will be ours again.. :D
MatrixFanatic
04-06-2004, 07:24 PM
From Manutd website... Just for laughs.
Jose Mourinho took over at Chelsea this week in, sigh, 'football's worst kept secret' and immediately made a lasting impression in front of the assembled Press.
The Portuguese Champions League winner was quick to give a managerial masterclass to anybody who cared to listen...
Modesty is paramount
"I am the European champion. I think I am a special one."
"We have top players and, sorry if I'm arrogant, but we now have a top manager."
"I don't want to sound arrogant, but I think I am a special manager because I have won the Champions League."
Maintain Professionalism
"I am a great defender of team spirit and teamwork. The first thing I have to promise to my players is that I will look at them with the same eyes - I do not want special relations with one of them."
Be Ambitious
"The biggest ambition I have is to win the first Premiership match on 14 August. The second ambition is to win the second Premiership match on 21 August and we will keep going like this."
Use All Your Senses
"Abramovich had moments where he could smell success, and I know that taste very well."
Don't Let Criticism Bother You
"I suggest if one of you is Mr Ranieri's friend or has his number you should call him and explain to him that for a team to win the European Cup it has to beat many teams from many countries. I did not win the cup playing against 20 Portuguese teams."
Use Fruity Analogies
"If you have a big box of oranges and one is sick, one month later you have 10 oranges to throw in the garbage."
Let Love Into Your Life
"I cannot say I love this player, but generally I love the players who love to win. Not only the ones that love to win in 90 minutes but love to win every day, in every training session and in all of their lives
kengbeng
04-06-2004, 09:47 PM
Anyone watched The Day After Tomorrow?
"To England."
"To Mankind."
"To Manchester United!"
:laugh: :D
OKK77
04-06-2004, 10:10 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
"To England."
"To Mankind."
"To Manchester United!"
Haha. I couldn't help grinning and laughing away for a few minutes.
kengbeng
04-06-2004, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
Haha. I couldn't help grinning and laughing away for a few minutes.
Indeed. I was expecting something more serious and the quote took me completely by surprise. That was really hilarious stuff. :D
leo_llw
04-06-2004, 10:20 PM
Yea man, help SAF and the title will be ours again.. :D
erhhh...far from it.
We are seeing one of the tightest league in the years to come.
With Benitez, Santini and Mourinho jumping into the fray, you can bet the EPL title run is going to be :eek:
guoquanyap
04-06-2004, 11:51 PM
erhhh...far from it.
With Benitez, Santini and Mourinho jumping into the fray, you can bet the EPL title run is going to be :eek:
100% on the spot...it will one of the closest title nx season....
LiquidSilver
05-06-2004, 12:28 AM
yeah ronaldo deserves the player of the year but dont u find it disheartening that the top 2 are new signings being ronaldo n howard. what would the championship winning side of united be without these 2 signings? what happen to all the lao jiao!
PeterPan
05-06-2004, 03:07 AM
but right now man u needs is another roy keane.......and 1 or 2 more defenders pls.........
Originally posted by PeterPan
but right now man u needs is another roy keane.......and 1 or 2 more defenders pls.........
Defence need 1 or 2 cover but not that urgent with O'Shea, Rio, Silvestre, Brown and G.Neville there.
A replacement for keane is hard to find, would have thought Butt would be a natural replacement for Keane, but shame he could be leaving. Don't think Fletcher or Djemba Djemba can do that. :(
Ronaldo7
05-06-2004, 07:44 AM
lets see what Miller is capable of next season :)
MatrixFanatic
05-06-2004, 08:41 AM
"To England."
"To Mankind."
"To Manchester United!"
Yeah.. especially the way the bloke said it.. and his accent.. WAHAHA real funny man.
orca_sea
05-06-2004, 02:27 PM
"To England."
"To Mankind."
"To Manchester United!"
Yeah!!! :D hahaha :laugh: :laugh:
RuMmYtUb
05-06-2004, 05:13 PM
erhhh...far from it.
Haha gd mah... like that EPL won't be 2 horse race... opps 3 i mean...:D
erhhh...far from it.
So you are saying spurs will be title challenges just becos Santini join them. :eek: :rolleyes:
Butt and Forlan to stay then, errrr. :rolleyes:
ALEX FERGUSON believes football in the Premiership has become secondary to regional rivalry.
And in a swipe at Arsenal and Chelsea, who shoved Manchester United into third place this season, Fergie branded them the “bragging Londoners”.
Boss Fergie, whose only trophy last season with United was the FA Cup, said: “The Premiership has become about tribalism.
“It is not just about football, it is about the bragging rights of the Londoners and the Scousers and the Geordies.
“There is such an intense rivalry that it is superseding everything, almost even the European Cup.
“I’ve tried to separate myself from this because we have got to have the overall vision to win the European Cup.
“It’s a very, very important trophy to us.
“It’s been a very unusual season for us, the first season we have not contested the league in 13 seasons.
“It’s had a big impact on the players and the staff. I think we have all felt that disappointment.
“But in the sense of the actual nucleus of the club, I don’t see there is a big problem.
“We are going to have to recover from the blow of losing the league and I have confidence we will recover.
“Rio Ferdinand will be back in September, no one will be leaving the club — irrespective of all the rumours — and we don’t have an old team.
“Roy Keane and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer are in their 30s but I am sure that we will get good service out of the two of them still.
“So hopefully next year we will be ready to go.
“Last summer we bought young players like Bellion, Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson and Tim Howard.
“Howard has absolutely exceeded my expectations.
“His elevation from American football to the English game has been meteoric.
“I can’t think of a player that has risen so quickly.”
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004260047,00.html
RuMmYtUb
05-06-2004, 06:43 PM
FORLAN staying !!!!
:mad: GY
Ronaldo7
05-06-2004, 07:07 PM
ruud , forlan , saha , smith , solskjaer :evil:
no more ferreira :angel:
ruud , forlan , saha , smith , solskjaer :evil:
no more ferreira :angel:
Bellion as well, we got 6 strikers. :eek:
guoquanyap
05-06-2004, 09:37 PM
it's going to be tough nx season......hmmm till now still now news of heniz....coming??
Hope he dosen't come after watching his display against brazil which was dodgy. :alien:
LKY156
06-06-2004, 09:09 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Bellion as well, we got 6 strikers. :eek:
Bellion runs with the ball ..... a bit like Thierry Henry.
Dribbles and all.
Hope he slowly matures into something great.
Needs more strength and better shooting.
goaheadbingostan
06-06-2004, 01:00 PM
someone ask me if i think that the current squad can win the CL. i replied that we can do it with a few more good signings.
guoquanyap
06-06-2004, 04:04 PM
Ruud had not scored in the last 3 holland friendly.....hopefully he will do better when the real one start....
RuMmYtUb
06-06-2004, 04:32 PM
Ruud had not scored in the last holland friendly.....hopefully he will do better when the real one start....
Ruud will light up Euro.. :evil:
Interesting piece in the Sunday Mirror today. You can't ask for a more emphatic denial from Ruud. :)
The Dutch striker, who is preparing for Euro 2004, took time out to launch a scathing attack on the people who suggested he was on his way to Real Madrid this summer. Although Van Nistelrooy, the club and manager Sir Alex Ferguson have tired of vehemently denying the rumours he will be sold this summer, the striker claims he cannot allay the fears of the club's supporters who have been poisoned by the lies about him.
Van Nistelrooy said: "I'm absolutely furious that so many lies have been written about me going to Madrid that the Manchester United fans are genuinely concerned I'm going. "I don't know where the rumours began to manifest themselves but I suspect they came from Spain. When the fans start to believe it, that worries me. "Where do people get off with this rubbish? There is absolutely no foundation to the story. There isn't a grain of truth in it. "I tried to allay the fears of the fans by holding a public press conference but when the pizza man makes a delivery to my house and writes a note inside the box pleading with me to stay, it's gone too far. "And I want to make it clear once and for all that the Manchester United fans have nothing to worry about. I'm going nowhere, end of story."
Van Nistelrooy has also been quick to defend Ferguson following widespread criticism this season. And he couldn't resist taking a pop at Arsene Wenger, who he accused of being ungracious after Arsenal lost the title last season. Van Nistelrooy said: "I am convinced that we will be back to our best next season. I have every faith in the manager because he has the experience and ability to turn things round. "When I arrived we won nothing in my first season and everyone said it was a crisis. The following season we were winners again and the critics were quickly silenced. "The manager is not looking for success in the short-term. He is going to build a team capable of winning the League and the Champions League for some time. "It's laughable that people criticise the manager. Most of them haven't got a clue what they are talking about. He's a fantastic manager and no manager can win the title every season, you have to let someone else enjoy the moment. "But at least he is gracious in defeat. Arsenal went the whole season unbeaten and they deserved to win the title. The manager was the first to congratulate Arsene Wenger and his team. "But what did he do when we won the title? He said the best team didn't win it. What a load of crap. What a complete load of nonsense. "You should have the decency and the respect to pay tribute to a good team."
Football may be a big part of Van Nistelrooy's life at the moment but he claims the moment his contract expires at Manchester United on his 32nd birthday, he will walk away from the sport and never look back.
"When I retire that's it. You won't find me hanging around in football. I get lots of pleasure from training and playing but once my contract is up I'm off. "I did consider going back to Holland and playing for PSV Eindhoven. But the Dutch fans lack respect and they will expect miracles from me. "No, that's it. When I walk away I won't look back on football. There is life outside the game, it's not the be all and end all."
For the moment though Van Nistelrooy's sole focus is on Euro 2004. "I am like a kid in a sweet shop. I'm excited about the European Championship in Portugal and I believe we have a great chance of success. "For some reason our entire team seem to have earned themselves a bad image and I don't really understand that. "What do the Dutch people want? Of course we are not a bunch of choirboys, who are? You shouldn't judge players on the way they look but the way they perform. "Because a player wears a baseball cap and sunglasses doesn't mean he's arrogant and looking for trouble. "I know we have to be realistic in this tournament because it will be tough to beat the favourites France and Portugal. "But we are no weaker than England, Spain or Germany."
Meanwhile, fellow Dutch striker Patrick Kluivert has told coach Dick Advocaat: "I dare you to play me up front alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy." Former Rangers boss Advocaat caused huge controversy last year when he said the two legendary strikers wouldn't work as a partnership. But Barcelona hitman Kluivert said: "If we're both physically fit and mentally sharp we can be a very potent attacking force - I have a feeling we'll both start in the first match against Germany." "The Dutch press have been ridiculously negative about us for a while but they don't realise the spirit we've got in our camp."
http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14306919%26method=full%26siteid=106694%26headline=football%2d%2deuro%2d2004%2d%2druud%2dblast%2dat%2dwenger-name_page.html
Yueming
07-06-2004, 04:00 AM
i'm a MU fan but I'm a hard critic
IMHO, fergie has always been trying to do the "pay less for unknown, train him to be big" trick all the time.
Look at the all signings....smith, miller etc etc.....
all not big names.....yes they may be young but they are not big names.
Young big names are people like rooney, Javier Saviola etc....these are the people who i feel are more qualified to be in the MU squad.
Currently the players worth mentioning in the squad are : RVN, giggs, scholes, keane, ronaldo.
That's all seriously.....the rest are all like none big names
those worth taking a longer look : Fletcher, o Shea, wes brown and possibly miller and gerard of barca...
we need more....
personally i think no players in the current MU squad are worth to be paired alongside RVN. he's the 20m type of player......we need another player....who's skillful, can score, and create. kind of like Henry.....
we need more creative sparks in midfield....cos the old guard are phasing out soon......
we need better defenders......
And most importantly we need a top-draw keeper!!! stop messing around with unknowns...cos it takes too long to develop a peter schmeichel
these are the players i think they really qualify to be in MU squad
Javier Saviola
Fernando Torres
Helder Postiga
Rafael Van der Vaart
Tomas Rosicky
Vicente
Pablo aimar
Kim KallStrom
Gabri
Arjen Robben
Joe Cole
Frank Lampard
Steven Gerrard
Xavi
Mark Van Bommel
Chivu
Gianluigi Buffon
big names.....expensive.....but all real quality.....the ones that we should be looking at instead ofwaiting for unknowns to perform...
leo_llw
07-06-2004, 05:25 AM
Originally posted by RVN
So you are saying spurs will be title challenges just becos Santini join them. :eek: :rolleyes:
nope...I dun mean tat.
just tat in previous seasons if ManU play Spurs, 90% 3 points. Now with a better coach in charged, the outcome might be more "exciting". tat applies to Arsenal and Chelsea as well.
so the league might be tighter, unlike this season where the top 3 makes a mockery of the rest. :D
cutter
07-06-2004, 06:59 AM
Originally posted by Yueming
IMHO, fergie has always been trying to do the "pay less for unknown, train him to be big" trick all the time.
Young big names are people like rooney, Javier Saviola etc....these are the people who i feel are more qualified to be in the MU squad.
Currently the players worth mentioning in the squad are : RVN, giggs, scholes, keane, ronaldo.
those worth taking a longer look : Fletcher, o Shea, wes brown and possibly miller and gerard of barca...
we need more....
personally i think no players in the current MU squad are worth to be paired alongside RVN. he's the 20m type of player......we need another player....who's skillful, can score, and create. kind of like Henry.....
we need more creative sparks in midfield....cos the old guard are phasing out soon......
And most importantly we need a top-draw keeper!!! stop messing around with unknowns...cos it takes too long to develop a peter schmeichel
Javier Saviola
Fernando Torres
Helder Postiga
Rafael Van der Vaart
Tomas Rosicky
Vicente
Pablo aimar
Kim KallStrom
Gabri
Arjen Robben
Joe Cole
Frank Lampard
Steven Gerrard
Xavi
Mark Van Bommel
Chivu
Gianluigi Buffon
big names.....expensive.....but all real quality.....the ones that we should be looking at instead ofwaiting for unknowns to perform...
alamak... who is kim kallstrom??...and postiga?? the spurs flop?? joe cole...the overrated 'English Veron'? hope CM stats is not an influence here ;)
generally valid opinions, which I partly disagree with... Saha is a quality striker, Smith seems to be more of a combatative Sparky- type. Rio is a high quality world-class defender who has reduced his lapses in concentration...the biggest of which has cost us an 8 month suspension and the 2003/2004 title.
Howard impresses me more than Barthez ever did, and the latter is still very good in my book. Carroll is a far better backup than Ricardo ever was, but is in his final year of contract and may want to move on. Silvestre is still a top-class defender who is safer at LB than at the centre, but who can be solid in the centre alongside Rio.
Robben, Lampard etc are not realistic targets....might as well target Ronaldinho, Raul, Shevchenko, Joaquin, Drogba, Henry... :D
Yueming
07-06-2004, 07:16 AM
Robben, Lampard etc are not realistic targets....might as well target Ronaldinho, Raul, Shevchenko, Joaquin, Drogba, Henry... :D
if these are realistic targets for Chelsea.....and our top players are realistic targets for the likes of real madrid etc......then those players have to be realistic for man utd too. we are bred for to be champions....not player developers.
cracker
07-06-2004, 07:35 AM
it is not a question who will be bought ,,,,,BUT can the "star" players click with the others ...and can the manager get the best from these "star" players......Chelsea and Real Madrid were the best examples from last season.
cutter
07-06-2004, 12:09 PM
if these are realistic targets for Chelsea.....and our top players are realistic targets for the likes of real madrid etc......then those players have to be realistic for man utd too. we are bred for to be champions....not player developers.
aiya.... both Robben and Lampard are Chelski players alredi mah... Robben has only just joined them after snubbing Man Utd a couple months back. Lampard is one of the few success buys from last season for Chelski. They are not available.
You may state your fantasy team as is your right.... but much of the discussion here is on the real situation and transfer talk on realistic targets (as read from the latest transfer news/gossip) For online news, there are a number of news/football websites from where you can keep up with the latest transfer talk, including the official www.manutd.com :D
leo_llw
07-06-2004, 04:45 PM
alamak... who is kim kallstrom??...and postiga?? the spurs flop?? joe cole...the overrated 'English Veron'? hope CM stats is not an influence here ;)
wah piang....u dunno kim kallstrom? checkout the Euro04 this month for this Swede. Attacking midfielder... talented...onli 22. Play for the national for a few years already.
Xavi might be a realistic choice, since Sociedad is listening to offers to solve their debt prob.
United keep transfer option open (http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/119/119091_reds_keep_transfer_options_open.html)
United still in lead to land Heinze (http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/119/119088_reds_still_in_lead_to_land_heinze.html)
Thinker
07-06-2004, 08:38 PM
we need more....
Javier Saviola
Fernando Torres
Helder Postiga
Rafael Van der Vaart
Tomas Rosicky
Vicente
Pablo aimar
Kim KallStrom
Gabri
Arjen Robben
Joe Cole
Frank Lampard
Steven Gerrard
Xavi
Mark Van Bommel
Chivu
Gianluigi Buffon
Wow, you never learnt from what happened to Real Madrid? So much talent, but failed to develop their understudies resulted in them crashing in the league.
The current Man U squad will develop over time. You can take shortcuts, but what's the point if you have potential world-class talent in your backyard and dramatically cutting off their poitential just for the sake of adding "glamour" players? We would have never seen Fergie's Fledglings develop if they followed your myopic mindset.
Look at the top squads like Valencia and Depor who've done extremely well with so-called "unknown" players. No need galacticos when your players play just as well.
Thinker
07-06-2004, 08:44 PM
And champions breed champions. You seem to think that players come out of some football factory in the North Pole.
vivre
07-06-2004, 09:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN
United keep transfer option open (http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/119/119091_reds_keep_transfer_options_open.html)
17-year-old Barcelona starlet Gerard Pique, captain of his national youth team, coming to Man Utd? :D :eek: :D
Good news, Ronaldo available for the start of new season, that means he can play in the Community Shield (Charity is so much better) versus the Gooners. :D
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3784909.stm
Heinze fee agreed. ;)
Club sources told the Monday's Le Parisien that a 9 million euro (6 million pound) transfer fee has been agreed with United for Heinze.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040607/3/49d9.html
RuMmYtUb
08-06-2004, 05:30 AM
Yueming, as much as all Utd fans over the world wanna see world class players, it's not as easy as you say u want who, u get who...
I guess u play too much CM
Ronaldo7
08-06-2004, 09:32 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Good news, Ronaldo available for the start of new season, that means he can play in the Community Shield (Charity is so much better) versus the Gooners. :D
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3784909.stm
Heinze fee agreed. ;)
Club sources told the Monday's Le Parisien that a 9 million euro (6 million pound) transfer fee has been agreed with United for Heinze.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040607/3/49d9.html
waiting for an attacking mid to arrive now :D
goaheadbingostan
08-06-2004, 08:41 PM
Eurosport News reported that heinze has signed a 5 yr deal with united.
source: redcafe
orca_sea
08-06-2004, 11:37 PM
wah piang....u dunno kim kallstrom? checkout the Euro04 this month for this Swede. Attacking midfielder... talented...onli 22. Play for the national for a few years already.
Xavi might be a realistic choice, since Sociedad is listening to offers to solve their debt prob.
Kim Kallstrom iz gd.. if i'm nt wrong u used to play for Hacken FC..now at Djurgardens FC after the latter relegated.. It iz known tat quite a no. of big teams r observing him for a while
guoquanyap
08-06-2004, 11:45 PM
so far no much news of us linking w any players....think hav to wait until after euro2004 to expect anymore new sigining....
ALEX FERGUSON has been warned to expect some Argie Bargy from his latest signing, defender Gabriel Heinze.
The highly-rated Argentine full-back jetted into England last night to complete a £6million switch from Paris St Germain to Manchester United.
And Heinze, 26, arrives at Old Trafford with a reputation as a nutter after being voted the roughest defender in French football last season.
That dubious honour was bestowed upon him after a newspaper in France conducted a poll among fans to name the top clogger in their domestic game.
Heinze, who began his career in his homeland with Newell’s Old Boys before switching to Spanish side Valladolid, came out on top by a mile.
Even his boss at PSG, Vahid Halilhodzic, admitted Heinze was a handful.
He said: “Gabby made life especially difficult for my coaches.
“But I had no other players of the same quality so I had to accept certain behaviour from him so my side would not be weakened.
“Even at training he would not conform.
“If I asked him to shoot with his right foot, he would shoot with his left just to be awkward.”
Heinze has agreed a four-year contract with United, who will pay PSG a further £2m linked to appearances and trophy successes.
That represents a good deal for the French outfit, who forked out just £3m when they signed Heinze three years ago.
Ferguson intends to play Heinze at left back, even though the player prefers central defence.
But Heinze — who was also a target for Real Madrid and newly-crowned Spanish champs Valencia — said he is happy to play wherever Fergie puts him.
He said: “I am very proud of what is happening in my career now.
“I took a gamble by leaving Argentina to come to Europe but that decision has paid off.”
Heinze is Ferguson’s second major summer signing after he captured £7m England striker Alan Smith from Leeds last month.
www.thesun.co.uk
Ronaldo7
09-06-2004, 02:46 PM
playing him at left back ? :rolleyes:
derrace
09-06-2004, 03:06 PM
less chance of giving away a penalty.
goaheadbingostan
09-06-2004, 04:51 PM
heard that he is tough and "rough". hope he can play football than "footbrawl".
beckz11
09-06-2004, 05:09 PM
when is liam miller coming ?
Originally posted by beckz11
when is liam miller coming ?
July 1st, same as Quieroz.
RuMmYtUb
09-06-2004, 08:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
July 1st, same as Quieroz.
w00t :bounce:
derrace
09-06-2004, 09:42 PM
playing him at left back ? :rolleyes:
but I thought our left side packed liao??
Got mah, only O'Shea there. :rolleyes:
There is a need to bring extra cover to our back-line.
Ronaldo7
09-06-2004, 11:21 PM
Fortune and Silvestre can also play there if needed :)
goaheadbingostan
09-06-2004, 11:24 PM
not easy to find a creative midfielder.
guoquanyap
09-06-2004, 11:25 PM
Originally posted by goaheadbingostan
heard that he is tough and "rough". hope he can play football than "footbrawl".
ya hopefully he will be tough and rough to th opposition....and not to his own teammates....
duno why....but bad feeling that he is joining....
guoquanyap
09-06-2004, 11:31 PM
MANCHESTER United will confirm the signing of talented Spanish youngster Pique in the next few days, according to reports.
The Reds are thought to have beaten off interest from Arsenal and Chelsea to snap-up the 17-year-old defender on a five-year deal.
The youngster had been tipped for great things at Barcelona, but having fallen out with the club and been demoted to the 'C' team he has seemingly resolved to try his luck elsewhere.
Though normally a centre back, Pique can also play at left back and would bring extra versatility to United's defence.
He would be unlikely to feature in the first team next season, needing at least another year before he's ready to tackle the physical demands of the Premiership, but he is seen as a player who undoubtedly has the talent to be a future star at Old Trafford.
If sign...finally we win in a trasfer race against chelsea and arsenal....
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/119/119322_united_to_pick_up_pique.html
goaheadbingostan
10-06-2004, 12:17 AM
ya hopefully he will be tough and rough to th opposition....and not to his own teammates....
duno why....but bad feeling that he is joining....
maybe its the performance against brazil that let us doubt him.
you're fast. i've just got the news on pique!
maybe its the performance against brazil that let us doubt him.
you're fast. i've just got the news on pique!
here the news on pique. :D
MANCHESTER United will confirm the signing of talented Spanish youngster Pique in the next few days, according to reports.
The Reds are thought to have beaten off interest from Arsenal and Chelsea to snap-up the 17-year-old defender on a five-year deal.
The youngster had been tipped for great things at Barcelona, but having fallen out with the club and been demoted to the 'C' team he has seemingly resolved to try his luck elsewhere.
Though normally a centre back, Pique can also play at left back and would bring extra versatility to United's defence.
He would be unlikely to feature in the first team next season, needing at least another year before he's ready to tackle the physical demands of the Premiership, but he is seen as a player who undoubtedly has the talent to be a future star at Old Trafford.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/119/119322_united_to_pick_up_pique.html
Ronaldo7
10-06-2004, 03:47 PM
Man Utd play down interest for Bayern Munich No1 Kahn
By Ian Ferris - June 10, 2004
Manchester United are playing down speculation they are about to sign Germany goalkeeper Oliver Kahn.
Kahn's father recently claimed that United had asked about his son.
But a United spokesman said: "Sir Alex Ferguson already has two top-line keepers at his disposal in American Tim Howard and Northern Ireland international Roy Carroll, who he rates very highly.
"He said it was the hardest decision of his career leaving one of them out of the FA Cup Final and bringing in someone like Oliver Kahn would only muddy the waters further."
:angel:
Thanks **** for that we have tim and carroll. Two young players who are still learning there trade and have more years ahead of them than Kahn. ;)
Ch3tah_39
10-06-2004, 06:50 PM
haha.. i am back..
woot..alot of gd news wor.. haha:)
The Heinze deal is already done, but due to stock exchange closes, it only be officially annouced on Friday.:)
http://www.manutd.com/splashPages/blue.sps?itype=5785&icustompageid=8397
wadeva_lah
11-06-2004, 03:49 AM
good to sign heinze.
next season's brawl with arseholes at OT got one more bouncer. :D
Ronaldo7
11-06-2004, 09:31 AM
hope it won't happen again :angel:
HEINZE SIGNS - WITHOUT FERGIE TALKS
Link (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1139169,00.html) :D
ROUX: MEXES SNUBBING UNITED
Link (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1139170,00.html) Damm it. :mad: :(
Ronaldo7
11-06-2004, 08:20 PM
we got more than enough cover in defence already
Rio
Silvestre
O'Shea
Gary Neville
Brown
Heinze
Phil Neville
Fortune
U are right, personally I think we're fine defensively now, we need to look to midfield and get a left winger/'link' man next.
orca_sea
11-06-2004, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Rio
Silvestre
O'Shea
Gary Neville
Brown
Heinze
Phil Neville
Fortune
U are right, personally I think we're fine defensively now, we need to look to midfield and get a left winger/'link' man next.
Yeah...although i realli hope Lucio can oso join us... i bet he n rio partnership will fourish veri well
RuMmYtUb
11-06-2004, 08:48 PM
We need a creative playmaker in the central and hopefully another left winger wizard..
Giggs and Scholes aren't getting any younger...:(
Thinker
11-06-2004, 08:58 PM
We need a creative playmaker in the central and hopefully another left winger wizard..
Giggs and Scholes aren't getting any younger...:(
Left winger? I suppose Ronaldo is playing there as a goalkeeper?
Originally posted by Thinker
I hope you are joking and trying to be scarsam with that statement. :rolleyes:
Ronaldo play on the right wing, Giggs is usual one playing on the left.
Originally posted by orca_sea
Yeah...although i realli hope Lucio can oso join us... i bet he n rio partnership will fourish veri well
Lucio has join Bayern Munich. :o
goaheadbingostan
11-06-2004, 09:06 PM
i am rooting for joaquin. but it seems that he is not leaving for anywhere else.
orca_sea
11-06-2004, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Lucio has join Bayern Munich. :o
Yeah i know..:(
RuMmYtUb
11-06-2004, 10:10 PM
Thinker, get ur facts right...
I suppose you watch soccer with ur @$$ ?
Thinker
11-06-2004, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Stuff about Ronaldo
Ron usually switches between wings during play or whichever side requires a permanent position for the match so it's fair to say that he's a left winger.
With Fletcher starting out on the wings, I don't see why Ron can't play on the left. Even if Fletcher eventually switches to the middle, O'Shea will eventually graduate to a left wingback(hopefully).
Thinker
11-06-2004, 10:19 PM
Thinker, get ur facts right...
I suppose you watch soccer with ur @$$ ?
Yeah, while I give your mum a rimjob.
Ronaldo7
11-06-2004, 11:29 PM
i am rooting for joaquin. but it seems that he is not leaving for anywhere else.
van der vaart is another target . i think Ajax is willing to let him go if the price is right :rolleyes:
greycat87
11-06-2004, 11:55 PM
not a man utd fan then **** off lah
orca_sea
11-06-2004, 11:59 PM
van der vaart is another target . i think Ajax is willing to let him go if the price is right :rolleyes:
I wonder how much iz the right price :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Official now. :D
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=69912&itype=466
Heinze Signs In £6.9million Deal
Manchester United is pleased to announce that it has agreed terms with Paris St Germain for the transfer of Argentine Defender, Gabriel Heinze.
The total consideration for this transfer is £6.9 million. The player has signed a five-year contract that will see him at the club until 30th June 2009.
Gabriel Heinze said: "I am extremely proud to sign for such a great Club. It is a very important step in my football career to join Manchester United and I have faith and great belief that I can meet the high expectations required".
Sir Alex Ferguson said: "We have been monitoring Gabriel for a long time and he demonstrates all the qualities of the top Argentinian defenders – strength, speed and excellent technical ability. He can play either as a central defender or left back and this flexibility means that he is a great acquisition for the Club."
David Gill, Chief Executive of Manchester United PLC, said "This is a great signing for Manchester United. We are always looking to strengthen our squad and the qualities that Gabriel will bring will be a tremendous asset as we prepare for the challenges of the new season ahead."
Communications Department,
Old Trafford, 11 July 2004
New Signing: Gabriel Heinze
Gabriel Heinze arrives at Old Trafford with a reputation of being a hard man, and says his main aim is to put his efforts into claiming the Premiership title back from Arsenal's grasp.
Regarded as a feisty centre-back, who can also play at left-back, Heinze believes making the move to United will bring out the best in him.
The Argentina international is unconcerned that South American players have, in general, failed to make a big impact on the Premiership, insisting he will give his all for his new club...
How does it feel to have signed for United?
”My first impression is that I am delighted to have signed for Manchester United. I hope that things turn out well not just for me but for the club as well.”
South American players have found it notoriously difficult to settle in England. How do you think you will cope?
”It’s not something I am unduly worried about. Obviously I am going to try to settle in as quickly as possible. That will be a positive thing for me and the club. But, the main thing is that I settle as quickly as I can.”
Are you looking forward to helping United try and win the title back from Arsenal?
”Words cannot describe how keen I am to help win the title back. When you come to a club like Manchester United, you know the demands and the expectations are very very. And that makes your desire even higher.”
You’re going to be playing alongside the likes of van Nistelrooy, Giggs, Scholes and Keane. How does it feel to know you’ll be playing with those players?
”To turn out with the players you have just mentioned is something I am very proud of. Let’s hope that brings out the best in my game, and also that I can participate in some way myself in taking Manchester United closer to the top.”
What made you decide to join United?
”I think lots of different factors helped. The most important one is that it is a massive club. But, certainly lots of different factors helped.”
What can United fans expect of you during your time here?
”It’s maybe not for me to say. All I can promise is that I will be doing my utmost, trying my best and working hard and in doing that I will leave it up to the fans to make their own opinions of me.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=70511&itype=&icategoryid=357
RuMmYtUb
12-06-2004, 01:04 AM
But his desired destination is Barcelona.. :(
Means nothing, we have to put in a bid and see first, just like Robben once said he prefer us and yet still join chelsea. :mad:
Playgirl
12-06-2004, 01:15 AM
think again
Perhaps u can give us the meaning of the word "rimjob"?
Thinker
12-06-2004, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by Playgirl
think again
Read my response again, and again if you can't grasp it.
Perhaps u can give us the meaning of the word "rimjob"?
Google.com
Reports in Italy claim that Manchester United are trailing Parma starlet Guiseppe Rossi.
The 17-year-old is a regular for the Italy Under-17 side but is unlikely to be offered a professional contract at the Ennio Tardini stadium because of the club's crippling financial problems.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson (pictured) is reported to be so impressed with the youth star he has instructed United to open negotiations to land the youngster.
As the player is currently without a contract he could leave for a foreign club as a free agent, although Parma are likely to ask for some compensation.
It is thought that Rossi would jump at the chance of securing a switch to Old Trafford.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1139275,00.html
leslie_lai
12-06-2004, 02:47 PM
I have alot of admiration for Italian players but the last to have played for us was a clown :(
Ronaldo7
12-06-2004, 03:08 PM
the goal he let in against southampton :mad:
cutter
12-06-2004, 04:22 PM
the goal he let in against southampton :mad:
One of Matt Le Tissier's easiest goals.... chicken lay egg :D :eek: :confused: :mad:
RuMmYtUb
12-06-2004, 04:42 PM
Originally posted by leslie_lai
I have alot of admiration for Italian players but the last to have played for us was a clown :(
guoquanyap
12-06-2004, 09:39 PM
great!! heniz, smith and milner in the squad.....okie who next? :D
guoquanyap
12-06-2004, 09:57 PM
i think most likely waiting for offer fr Real....not possible to come manu.....
great!! heniz, smith and milner in the squad.....okie who next? :D
Its Miller, not Milner lah. :rolleyes:
don't forget Quieroz too, make that 4. :D
guoquanyap
12-06-2004, 10:43 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Its Miller, not Milner lah. :rolleyes:
don't forget Quieroz too, make that 4. :D
*opps* i though james milner....hehe....
guoquanyap
13-06-2004, 01:58 AM
ronaldo conceed 1 penatly but scored 1 w his head....penalty quite harsh though.....
RuMmYtUb
13-06-2004, 02:01 AM
ronaldo conceed 1 penatly but scored 1 w his head....penalty quite harsh though.....
Yea :(
feel sorry for ronaldo's . too bad he conceded the penalty but it was due to his drive to get the ball he lost. Defending is not his game though. :(
I thought his defletched shot could have got in, just inches wide, score a good header goal though.
Ch3tah_39
13-06-2004, 11:41 AM
that situation.. is 50-50...
that greece player is free, one on one wit keeper lerr...
if ronaldo dun conceed that penalty, it might end up to be a goal also...
Spock
13-06-2004, 11:54 AM
Deco and ronaldo brought much life into the team when they came on..Its was really unlucky for the penalty...IF not i'm sure portugal would have overturn the deficit and won instead.
cutter
13-06-2004, 12:28 PM
deco played the whole match leh. ronaldo IMO had a bad match... first lob-pass was good, but everything went downhill after that... the team kept feeding him on the left flank but the greece defence kept putting 2 fellas around him... can't remember him completing a single cross, and most of his passes-to-centre also failed to get past a Greek player. Tried his best but not his day. the goal was a reflection of his constant effort as well as the Greeks relaxing a little too soon in injury time.
Deco had most of the shots on goal but had another off-day, as he is prone to. Figo had flashes of skill but also failed to impose his influence on the match. Rui Costa dunno disappear where...dunno if he is starting the next match after this f-type performance.
Greece demonstrated German organisation, teamwork and tactical awareness... a triumph for their manager.
Ch3tah_39
13-06-2004, 12:49 PM
deco played the whole match leh. ronaldo IMO had a bad match... first lob-pass was good, but everything went downhill after that... the team kept feeding him on the left flank but the greece defence kept putting 2 fellas around him... can't remember him completing a single cross, and most of his passes-to-centre also failed to get past a Greek player. Tried his best but not his day. the goal was a reflection of his constant effort as well as the Greeks relaxing a little too soon in injury time.
Deco had most of the shots on goal but had another off-day, as he is prone to. Figo had flashes of skill but also failed to impose his influence on the match. Rui Costa dunno disappear where...dunno if he is starting the next match after this f-type performance.
Greece demonstrated German organisation, teamwork and tactical awareness... a triumph for their manager.
are u dreaming?? deco came on only at second half..
two to three player marked ronaldo.. but ronaldo pass them.. and further he made quite a number of crosses.. only striker did not connect:)
rui costa second half starting was sub of liao...
cutter
13-06-2004, 01:10 PM
ya you are right, deco and ronaldo came on for rui costa and simao.... still got hangover from too many drinks last night :D :rolleyes: :confused: :D ... other than that, still think that all the portugal stars flopped badly yesterday. had a bad feeling so fortunately spent the money on drinks instead of backing portugal... my fren idiot plonk $$$ and now so pissed off...:eek:
ronaldo did ok imo really trying hard and consistantly beating his marker making some good and some bad crosses......but have to ask why no portugal players at the far post to attack the abll. missed a header but a couple of good blocks stopped him scoring earlier. :(
The headline is going to blame him for Portugal defeat when generally the whole team were playing crap. :mad:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.