PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

Ch3tah_39
13-06-2004, 01:20 PM
deafeat muz blame on portugal defence and striker.. midfield still okie okie

chyehock
13-06-2004, 02:18 PM
Agree when i saw the replay on channel 5. The striker & defend is at fault. See how easily the Greece player dribble past the defend.

Originally posted by RVN
ronaldo did ok imo really trying hard and consistantly beating his marker making some good and some bad crosses......but have to ask why no portugal players at the far post to attack the abll. missed a header but a couple of good blocks stopped him scoring earlier. :(

The headline is going to blame him for Portugal defeat when generally the whole team were playing crap. :mad:

Thinker
13-06-2004, 02:58 PM
How come no love for the Greece team? They did pretty well with their defence.

Ronaldo7
13-06-2004, 03:46 PM
Originally posted by Thinker
How come no love for the Greece team? They did pretty well with their defence.

esp Dellas :eek:

feel for Ronaldo , but that's football :angel:

LiquidSilver
13-06-2004, 05:22 PM
the ferreira looks lousy, think porto enjoying good fortune getting rid of players at super inflated amount. the fullbacks look non existant too

uRiZEn
13-06-2004, 07:09 PM
I hope Fergie gets Torres man.
He's damn lively.

MatrixFanatic
13-06-2004, 07:12 PM
Footballchannel reported that Gerrad feels he's ready to quit Anfield!!! Most likely destination is Chelsea.:o

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=53938&seg=EPL&teamid=

guoquanyap
13-06-2004, 09:05 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
He's damn lively.

almost impossible....even maybe roman cant do that....

Ronaldo7
13-06-2004, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic
Footballchannel reported that Gerrad feels he's ready to quit Anfield!!! Most likely destination is Chelsea.:o

http://www.footballchannel.com/article.asp?articleid=53938&seg=EPL&teamid=

don't think it's true

guoquanyap
13-06-2004, 09:47 PM
how i wish fergie can get vincente....he gd!

RVN
13-06-2004, 10:11 PM
He's damn lively.

He would cost a bomb, we have enough strikers already. No need to waste money for another one. :rolleyes:

I dearly love us to get Vicente though. :D

uRiZEn
13-06-2004, 10:36 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He would cost a bomb, we have enough strikers already. No need to waste money for another one. :rolleyes:

I dearly love us to get Vicente though. :D

Yea Vicente is a gd one too.
Maybe sell Saha and get Torres haha.

RuMmYtUb
14-06-2004, 05:54 PM

Saha gd what.... Sell Forlan, get Torres, not Saha... :)

RVN
14-06-2004, 07:08 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

Saha gd what.... Sell Forlan, get Torres, not Saha... :)

what liao, so much hype about Torres or Rooney joining us. :rolleyes:

Get creative midfielder better for us. ;)

beckz11
14-06-2004, 09:07 PM

waaa
saha average about a goal a game for us and u wanna sell him..
wanna sell also sell forlan la
torres gd meh..last min miss tt strike made alot of people win half only..

Ronaldo7
14-06-2004, 09:41 PM
Betis' Forlan interest opens door for fresh Man Utd Joaquin bid
tribalfootball.com - June 14, 2004

Real Betis are chasing Manchester United striker Diego Forlan.
Betis president Manuel Ruiz de Lopera has already registered his interest in the Uruguayan, who has been sought out by intermediaries while on international duty in South America.

Betis' interest for Forlan could open the door for United to try again for winger Joaquin.

Lopera has told new coach Lorenz Serra Ferrer not to expect Joaquin to be part of his squad next season and is now willing to listen to offers starting at £17 million for the Spanish wing wizard.

:rolleyes:

guoquanyap
14-06-2004, 10:33 PM
joaquin....haiz....not really possible....

pickupball
15-06-2004, 06:12 AM
:laugh: forlan got people want ah?!!!

RVN
15-06-2004, 01:11 PM
Originally posted by pickupball

why not, since some spanish club seem to rate him. :laugh:

on a sad note, scholes and butt got injured. Butt I heard is more serious and could be out of the tournament. :(

Ch3tah_39
15-06-2004, 02:17 PM
Originally posted by pickupball

alamak...he is a gd player okie..:mad:

Alienz
15-06-2004, 02:37 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

alamak...he is a gd player okie..:mad:
he is good for his country....

RuMmYtUb
15-06-2004, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by beckz11

waaa
saha average about a goal a game for us and u wanna sell him..
wanna sell also sell forlan la
torres gd meh..last min miss tt strike made alot of people win half only..

Torres is gd if u watch him regularly.. very active player with skills..

Hope Joaquin joins us :D

RVN
15-06-2004, 02:48 PM
Man Utd offer Auxerre £8M for Mexes
tribalfootball.com - June 15, 2004

Manchester United have made an £8 million bid to Auxerre for defender Philippe Mexes.
Mexes is currently in advanced talks with AS Roma, which cannot match the Premiership club's spending power.

Along with the bid, United have also tabled the 22 year-old defender a four-year contract offer worth £30,000-a-week.

RuMmYtUb
15-06-2004, 03:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Manchester United have made an £8 million bid to Auxerre for defender Philippe Mexes.
Mexes is currently in advanced talks with AS Roma, which cannot match the Premiership club's spending power.

Along with the bid, United have also tabled the 22 year-old defender a four-year contract offer worth £30,000-a-week.

Link ?

Ch3tah_39
15-06-2004, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by RVN

i tot he snub us liao.. he wanted to go roma ma?

RVN
15-06-2004, 08:30 PM
Butt out of Euro 2004 (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=72010&itype=466&icategoryid=120)

bad luck for him, he should return to england soon and find a new club then.

Auxerre claim United bid £10m for Mexes (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1139483,00.html)

why would we need another defender when we just bought Heinze, think we are well-covered there. We should go and buy a creative winger instead. :)

Ronaldo7
15-06-2004, 09:07 PM

i tot he snub us liao.. he wanted to go roma ma?

Roma is still his first choice :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
15-06-2004, 10:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Butt out of Euro 2004 (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=72010&itype=466&icategoryid=120)

why would we need another defender when we just bought Heinze, think we are well-covered there. We should go and buy a creative winger instead. :)

well if we can get him at jus 10million pound...it will be great!! no harm at all....he will be a great defender in yrs to come....get him now! but his first choice will be roma...:( and dun forget chelsea....:mad:

RVN
15-06-2004, 10:12 PM
Originally posted by guoquanyap

well if we can get him at jus 10million pound...it will be great!! no harm at all....he will be a great defender in yrs to come....get him now! but his first choice will be roma...:( and dun forget chelsea....:mad:

**** chelsea :mad: knn they can't buy everyone lah, I think the reason he chose Roma becos he fear being a squad player with us, where as at Roma, he be a certain starter and a replacement for Samuel.

guoquanyap
15-06-2004, 11:48 PM
mexes pls come....:(

PeterPan
16-06-2004, 04:25 AM

think he won't go to chelski coz......u wants a first 11 place....thats y he snubbed us b4.....he didn't want to sit on the bench and play second fiddle......but I hope this time he changes his mind and joins us.....

if Joaquin joins if would be even better.......

uRiZEn
16-06-2004, 05:07 AM
Fergie shnt have got tat baked beans brand guy in the first case.Mexes is a good purchase hope he will come.

RVN
16-06-2004, 10:23 AM
Like I say earlier, he wants first-team football. :(

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004180700,00.jpg
MEXES ... afraid to join

PHILIPPE MEXES has rejected a £15million move to Manchester United because Alex Ferguson cannot guarantee him a first-team place.

The Old Trafford boss wants to follow the arrival of Gabriel Heinze by making Mexes, 22, his next signing.

But the hard-tackling Auxerre defender, also being chased by Roma, refuses to put pen to paper.

Auxerre boss Guy Roux said: “The player’s agent, who recently went to Manchester, refused it on his behalf.

“It seems he was afraid Philippe would not play there.”

It is claimed Fergie has been after Mexes for years and that he was sent a United shirt with his name and No 5 on the back when just 17.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004272281,00.html

guoquanyap
16-06-2004, 11:08 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Like I say earlier, he wants first-team football. :(

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004272281,00.html

then give it to him!!....:mad:

Yellowfin
16-06-2004, 12:19 PM

then give it to him!!....:mad:

How can give guarantee first team place to one player?

If like this, every star player want a guarantee first team place, and come time for training they don't give a damm about since their place is guarantee.

I believe all first team place must be earn. Just my 2 peso.

leslie_lai
16-06-2004, 12:21 PM
Come on .. promise him first team football!

Mexes is really a gem. Get him plus Vicente and we'll have a good squad to last for a couple of seasons at least .. sign them lahhhhhhh

Seals
16-06-2004, 12:37 PM
just like veron.
his contract states that he must play every game or at least 1 season must play how many games.

Originally posted by Yellowfin

How can give guarantee first team place to one player?

If like this, every star player want a guarantee first team place, and come time for training they don't give a damm about since their place is guarantee.

I believe all first team place must be earn. Just my 2 peso.

RVN
16-06-2004, 01:04 PM
Great goal from Ruud against Germany. :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40276000/jpg/_40276941_ruud_connects.jpg http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v33/chivas/holanda/ruu2.jpg
http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v33/chivas/holanda/ruu3.jpg

Ronaldo7
16-06-2004, 01:37 PM
Originally posted by leslie_lai
Come on .. promise him first team football!

Mexes is really a gem. Get him plus Vicente and we'll have a good squad to last for a couple of seasons at least .. sign them lahhhhhhh

Unhappy Vicente blasts Valencia (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=208847&cpid=23)

leslie_lai
16-06-2004, 01:45 PM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7

Unhappy Vicente blasts Valencia (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=208847&cpid=23)

Good news .. heh.

Superb goal from RVN by the way

RuMmYtUb
16-06-2004, 08:54 PM
Mexes gd ler.. he's one of those players who could keep Henry quiet...

remember last season's Auxurre vs Arsenal ?

uRiZEn
16-06-2004, 10:18 PM
If really get Vicente and Mexes shiok liao.I go MAN U superstore buy Vicente jersey.:P

guoquanyap
16-06-2004, 11:03 PM
now is a very gd chance to get players as chelsea coach got into trouble....go get vincente...he can take over giggs....vincente on left and ronaldo on right.....:o

guoquanyap
16-06-2004, 11:05 PM
**** that mexes agent.....we can play mexes and rio in center....heniz at left back and brown and neville roatate....

newbie_rulz
17-06-2004, 01:16 AM
Hey, don't be so upset about the Mexes bid. Remember what Ronaldinho did? Say wanted to come ManYoo, but in the end, club sold him to Barca caused we couldn't outbid them. Hope that Mexes would do the same thing too.

Joaquin and Vicente coming to Manchester would be terrific, although it sounds like CM. :D Haiya, when it appears in www.manutd.com, then i damn happy ..

Ronaldo7
17-06-2004, 02:08 AM
**** that mexes agent.....we can play mexes and rio in center....heniz at left back and brown and neville roatate....

we still got silvestre & oshea . don't think we need another defender IMO :rolleyes:

RVN
17-06-2004, 12:46 PM
knn, no need to get pissed for not getting mexes. beside 15m is way too over-priced for him :rolleyes:

It not as if we are short of defenders, get a ****ing winger instead.

Seals
17-06-2004, 12:54 PM
gary old liao... need to be replaced..
sometimes the nevilles bros tend to be hot headed and screw up...

we still got silvestre & oshea . don't think we need another defender IMO :rolleyes:

cutter
17-06-2004, 02:28 PM
Defenders got longer shelf life and tend to be at their best in their late 20s to early 30s. Should be looking for an attacking midfielder to fill the role Veron was supposed to fill and since vacated...Scholes got little backup and Utd lacks midfield penetration whenever he kana injury or suspension. Kleberson, Djemba, Butt, Keane, Miller, Fortune, P Neville all can play central midfield but are not of the playmaker-attacking type.

Also need another winger... Silvestre, Fortune, O Shea, P Neville can play wingback in a 5-3-2 or even 3-5-2... only Cristiano can play both left and right winger, Giggs is lousy as right winger.... OGS and Forlan are not good on the left side and when they play right wing, tend to cut into the centre as is their nature. Smith is also best utilised as a combatative forward (like Sparky was) to draw defenders away from more clinical strike partners like RvN or Saha.

RVN
17-06-2004, 03:00 PM
Silvestre
Rio
Brown
Heinze
O'Shea

they are all in the 20s and have still have long years ahead of them. No need to waste money on another one.

We can save the money and buy a midfielder. :rolleyes:

RVN
17-06-2004, 08:58 PM
Liverpool boss to rival Man Utd for Valencia's Vicente
tribalfootball.com - June 17, 2004

Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez is ready to test former club Valencia's resolve over winger Vicente.

The Spanish international, 23, turned down a new contract offer this week, though his current deal still keeps him at the Mestalla until 2007.

Manchester United made an enquiry last season after Vicente and was quoted a £15 million transfer fee.

Benitez is expected to soon approach Valencia for the winger and if the Spanish Liga club indicate they're prepared to sell, United will also be back in for Vicente.

**** we must get him before pool does. :mad:

Ronaldo7
17-06-2004, 09:33 PM
Pool got slight advantage because of Benitez :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
17-06-2004, 11:03 PM
dun think we can get vincente....hard very hard....again yesterday joaqiun show why so many clubs are after him....

MatrixFanatic
17-06-2004, 11:34 PM
We don't need any more right-midfielder liao. We need a left one! Not vicente... then who else?

RuMmYtUb
18-06-2004, 02:46 AM
Vicente and Joaquin... Would be damn happy if one of them came :D

RVN
18-06-2004, 06:48 AM
Wtf Silvestre had a shocking start to Euro 2004, conceded 2 penalties in 2 games. :mad:

I don't remember him doing that for United thankfully. :rolleyes:

PeterPan
18-06-2004, 07:42 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Wtf Silvestre had a shocking start to Euro 2004, conceded 2 penalties in 2 games. :mad:

if he did that.....think fergie will give him the hairdryer treatment and off to the reserves for a couple of weeks:laugh:

Ronaldo7
18-06-2004, 08:52 PM
http://www.ruudswedding.com/EN/

:eek:

RuMmYtUb
19-06-2004, 12:26 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Ya heng sia :D

uRiZEn
19-06-2004, 01:27 AM
Mexes agreed on switch to Roma liao.
Stupid dolt.

guoquanyap
19-06-2004, 02:56 AM
Vicente and Joaquin... Would be damn happy if one of them came :D

both come better still....:D

cutter
19-06-2004, 02:33 PM
Mexes agreed on switch to Roma liao.
Stupid dolt.

maybe he thinks that the defensive nature of Serie A will make him look better... the faster, physical EPL may expose shortcomings that he himself may be aware of.

Ronaldo7
19-06-2004, 02:36 PM
Nicky Butt says he hasn't given up hope of appearing in Euro 2004, but admits that a knee injury is almost certain to derail his ambitions.
The United midfielder injured knee ligaments in training with England last Monday, but will remain in Portugal with the rest of the squad.

Butt told Sky Sports: "It's one of those things, I felt a tweak in my knee. Unfortunately it's shown damage in the ligament although it's nothing too serious.

"The good news is it's not too serious but the bad news is that it could be two to three weeks out.

"I've not given up hope because you don't know how quickly it will heal but realistically I've been told it will be two or three weeks and if that's the case then my tournament is over."

RVN
19-06-2004, 08:12 PM
Rio wants to repay Fergie

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1185564.jpg

Manchester United's Rio Ferdinand is keen to repay manager Sir Alex Ferguson for standing by him over his drugs ban and wants to stay at Old Trafford.
The former Leeds United and West Ham stopper is currently on the sidelines for missing a drugs test, but will not forget the club's support for him quickly.

Ferdinand's absence allowed The Premiership crown slip through United's fingers to Arsenal and the 25-year-old is keen to make up for lost time.

"There's definitely a debt of honour to the boss - and I intend to repay him by putting in top-class performances," explained Ferdinand.

The England international has been linked with a summer move to big-spending Chelsea, however Ferdinand is not looking to leave United.

"People come up and ask 'Are you going to Chelsea?' but I am not going anywhere," he added.

"I love it at United and I've so much more I want to achieve here."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,49-1139945,00.html

beckz11
20-06-2004, 05:27 PM
http://img27.photobucket.com/albums/v81/beckz11/manutd.jpg

man utd new jersey !!
can't wait to get it

Ronaldo7
20-06-2004, 06:16 PM
i think man utd will chance their away kit also right ?

guoquanyap
20-06-2004, 11:55 PM

ya we change every season.....anyway.....nice jersery!!

beckz11
21-06-2004, 02:53 AM

erm i dun think so coz its only out for 1 yr..
if i am nt wrong there is a law where u cannot change ur jersey ithin 2 yrs of the release

Yueming
21-06-2004, 03:46 AM
We need a world class team....silvestre is nowhere near world class.....yes he may perform on occasions....but we need world class players who can perform for majority of the season....not on-off thru out the games...

i'm sure everyone have witnessed how silvestre can be super cock defender....and its not the rare occasion...its frequently thru out the season....

gary and phil are nowhere near world class too. Yes they may be internationals but that doesnt put them anywhere near world class....

Ronaldo7
21-06-2004, 04:55 AM

erm i dun think so coz its only out for 1 yr..
if i am nt wrong there is a law where u cannot change ur jersey ithin 2 yrs of the release

http://www.weston.com.sg/mercantor.acv?cat=English+Premier+League&subcat=Manchester+United&rtvuser=858291503

i think guoquanyap is right . cause both the black and white kit is only for 1 season :rolleyes:

beckz11
21-06-2004, 04:55 AM
Originally posted by Yueming
We need a world class team....silvestre is nowhere near world class.....yes he may perform on occasions....but we need world class players who can perform for majority of the season....not on-off thru out the games...

i'm sure everyone have witnessed how silvestre can be super cock defender....and its not the rare occasion...its frequently thru out the season....

gary and phil are nowhere near world class too. Yes they may be internationals but that doesnt put them anywhere near world class....

wa so wat if the whole team is class players ??
look wat happen to real madrid, holland, spain and italian teams like inter ???
i am sure kolo toure, lehmann, and many arsenal players are not world class but they still get thru the season unbeaten...

Yueming
21-06-2004, 07:11 AM

wa so wat if the whole team is class players ??
look wat happen to real madrid, holland, spain and italian teams like inter ???
i am sure kolo toure, lehmann, and many arsenal players are not world class but they still get thru the season unbeaten...

and it makes sense too that arsenal didnt really challenge at all for the champions league?

YES world class players don't guarantee 100 percent success but at least they do a better job than fringe players.

if ya just want to be on par with arsenal, then keep on comparing that way.

Thinker
21-06-2004, 09:56 AM

you tell me leh, which team in the world has a WHOLE squad of world-class players? Real? Look at their defence. The so-called world-class players there at most are Zidane, Ronaldo, Figo and Carlos, and they couldn't put consistent top-draw performances.

It takes more than world class players to win a match. Man U won the treble with a virtually unknown norwegian striker, and an ageing English striker, and Porto won it with players you probably haven't heard before, except maybe Deco.

wah lan eh, stop playing CM leh. You think world-class players grow on trees meh? It's people like you who would've never spotted Henry as a world-class footballer.

Ronaldo7
21-06-2004, 10:59 AM
Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy wants Wayne Rooney to team up with him at Old Trafford.

Van Nistelrooy is leading Holland's attack at Euro 2004 in Portugal, where Rooney has played a starring role for England.

Manchester United and Chelsea have been linked with big-money moves for Everton striker Rooney, and van Nistelrooy is a big fan of the 18-year-old.

"He is a phenomenal talent and the prospect of him pulling on a United shirt is frightening,'' van Nistelrooy told the Sunday Mirror.

"I don't know many clubs that wouldn't want him in their side. He is an incredible player.

"And if he does become available, Manchester United should do everything in their power to sign him.

"It certainly excites me to think he could be playing at United next season.

"Anyone who has seen him play knows what a talent he is. Nothing seems to worry him

:eek: :rolleyes:

newbie_rulz
21-06-2004, 01:38 PM
I wonder what will Alan Smith, Saha and Co. will feel when they hear RVN wants to partner wif somebody else, but not them ..

RuMmYtUb
21-06-2004, 04:22 PM
wah ** gerrard go chelski for 31m + scott parker..:mad: :mad:

RVN
21-06-2004, 07:04 PM
wah ** gerrard go chelski for 31m + scott parker..:mad: :mad:

omg is there a need to get pissed off, we never stood a chance of getting him in the first place. :rolleyes:

lets not forget where alot of our squad came from e.g's Brown, Scholes, O Shea, Giggs, Butt..player scomign up through our youth system.

guoquanyap
21-06-2004, 08:00 PM
ya...there is no chance gerrard going to come manu...he jus dun hav the courage of rio and smith....;)

RVN
21-06-2004, 08:04 PM
Cristiano Ronaldo is delighted that host nation Portugal are through to the quarter finals of Euro 2004.
The United youngster is indifferent to who his side face in their next game, even though he may end up facing United team-mates if England avoid defeat against Croatia.

Ronaldo said: "We are just glad we are through.

"I don't really know if I would prefer to play Croatia or England, but I do know that whoever we play we will have to produce another big performance like we did against Spain to win.

The 19-year-old impressed as a substitute against Greece and Russia, and continued his fine form against Spain in his first start of the tournament.

"I feel I have had two good performances as a substitute, and I was very happy to have the faith and confidence of the coach to start the game," he said.

"It was a great victory against a powerful side and hopefully we can now go far in this tournament."

Meanwhile, Portugal defender Jorge Andrade has heaped praise on the United youngster.

Andrade said: "I have to congratulate Cristiano Ronaldo on how he played against Spain. He did very well. He is like our Wayne Rooney, young and very talented."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=73896&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ronaldo take on Gary Neville would be nice. :laugh: :D

uRiZEn
21-06-2004, 08:41 PM
G Neville is so going to be humiliated.

Alienz
21-06-2004, 08:47 PM
Originally posted by newbie_rulz
I wonder what will Alan Smith, Saha and Co. will feel when they hear RVN wants to partner wif somebody else, but not them ..
I think they are more worry about their first 11 if he come to united.....

greycat87
21-06-2004, 08:48 PM

He already humiliated O'Shea when Man Utd played Sporting Lisbon that time :laugh:

Ronaldo7
22-06-2004, 04:59 AM
a goal for scholes for england at last :D

and england is going to face portugal this friday :eek:

RVN
22-06-2004, 05:20 AM
A goal for Scholes for England after 3 long years, he could have score more too. :) :D

Thinker
22-06-2004, 07:37 AM

As if countless training matches don't matter...

RuMmYtUb
22-06-2004, 04:53 PM
I certainly hope Fiery Rooney joins us one day :D

RVN
22-06-2004, 05:01 PM
I certainly hope Fiery Rooney joins us one day :D

He and Scholes combined well for england first 2 goals, would certainly love both of them playing in the same team too. :D

but Roman was in the crowd too waiting to bid for him. :mad:

RVN
22-06-2004, 08:13 PM
GARY Neville and Cristiano Ronaldo regularly go head to head on the training pitch at Carrington - and now the two Manchester United men do it for real in the Euro 2004 quarter-finals on Thursday night.

Both men are tipped to be in the tournament's All Star team as things stand, and their duel could be decisive when England play Portugal at the Estadio da Luz.

The last time the two met in a match situation was almost a year ago, a mile down the road from the Luz at Sporting Lisbon's ground when United played Sporting Lisbon in a friendly to mark the opening of the stadium.

That night, Ronaldo tormented Neville and the rest of the Reds' defence - and on the plane on the way home they pleaded with manager Sir Alex Ferguson to buy the boy with quicksilver feet.

Neville knows he will face either clubmate Ronaldo or Real Madrid ace Luis Figo, with those two Portuguese stars able to switch flanks. But as one of the stars of England's tournament so far, Neville is relishing the challenge. "I know that Cristiano Ronaldo isn't going to give me a minute's rest on Thursday night," says Neville.

"I wouldn't normally talk about an opponent, but I know him at first-hand through United, and he has surprised me since Christmas.

Danger

"Before that there were glimpses of brilliance, but afterwards he has shown everyone at United that he will be a world-class player. He looks a danger in the air, a danger in the ground and a danger in all positions."

Some in football, including Ronaldo's own national team boss "Big Phil" Scolari, have poured scorn on the United man. Scolari called him a "doi-doi" player before the tournament started, a Portuguese phrase that approximates to "fancy dan" - and after two good displays as a sub, the manager was finally forced to put him in the starting line-up in the historic victory over Spain on Sunday.

Neville dismisses the notion that Ronaldo is some kind of circus act. "He is the real thing - he is no show pony. When I say he is courageous, I mean he is a player who never stops wanting the football. If he gets tackled nine times on the bounce, he will still want it the tenth time, still want to go past you, and still believe he can go past you.

Fantastic

"He has surprised everyone in this tournament with his aerial threat so far. He is a fantastic player but I have played against him every day in training so far this season and will face him again on Thursday, either him or Figo - and myself and Ashley Cole are going to have to be at our very best.

"We are going to have to be tight, and be prepared for them to get past you at any time. That is what happens - these players can beat you at any given moment, but we have to make sure we do our job defensively as best we can, and that we have cover, like we did against France."

Ronaldo's bewildering feet took Neville by surprise when they met at club level, but this time he is prepared for the tricks. "It is simple basic defending, trying to watch the ball as much as you can," says Neville.

"It's not so much the step-over - the worry for me is when a player can go either way. This player has a strong left foot and a strong right foot, and can go either way. In fact, Portugal will have two wide players who can go either way."

Heart-breaking

Neville has strong first-hand experience of Portugal, who boast six players from European champions Porto in their 23-man squad - players who figured against United in the heart-breaking last-16 meeting of the teams over two legs.

Says Neville: "In this tournament, it has taken Portugal two games to get Ronaldo into the team. Also the Porto players Ricardo Carvalho, Nuno Valente and Deco have come in and that has made them more enthusiastic and vibrant going forward. But they will have difficulties as well because we have forwards they have to deal with.

"In every game, you have to deal with different things. It was the aerial threat against Croatia, but on Thursday it will be Portugal's slick passing, their defending one-on-one, their movement, the through-passing of Deco.

"We have to be at our best, but we are playing in the best competition in European football and we expect to have to play the best at some point - we did so nine days ago in Henry and Zidane.

"On Thursday, it will be different opposition - Figo, Deco, Ronaldo - but they are great players and we will have to defend well against them.

Unbelievable

"I watched Portugal play Spain and Figo is an unbelievable player, one of the world's best, and we have to pay him the respect he deserves. We were watching the game on an English channel and there were some pundits at half time saying he was finished and past it, and shouldn't even be in the team, which shows a complete lack of respect towards a great player. People sitting in studios shouldn't talk about a player like him with such disrespect.

"We know a lot of these players well. The Porto players have carried a lot of confidence into the tournament with them - Carvalho and Valente have really strengthened their defence.

"They have got great players, but we have as well. We can talk about comparing the players and coaches, but they won't have enjoyed seeing what they saw from us against Croatia last night - they will have seen a high-energy game, power, pace, counter-attacking at speed and good tactics.

"We just hope we can produce that kind of performance on Thursday. I always believe that you need a little bit of luck - sometimes your name is on the game before it starts and, on Thursday, I hope the major moments, the major decisions, go our way."

The game will be played at the Luz, the third time England have played there in the tournament, in front of a 65,000 crowd. "There is pressure on them," says Neville.

"Normally, the pressure would be on the hosts, because of the home crowd, but I am not sure they will have a home crowd on Thursday.

"We seemed to have 45,000 fans there last night, and I am sure it will be half and half on Thursday. Even if we don't, and only get 20,000, they will make enough noise to make up for it.

"No doubt at home in England people were dancing in the streets last night, and thinking England are the best team in the world. Let's hope we can get them dancing again on Thursday night!"

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/euro2004/s/121/121879_neville_relishing_ronaldo_challenge_.html

newbie_rulz
22-06-2004, 08:15 PM
No matter how good the player is, if he does not have the heart to join the ranks of the Red Devils, it would not be as good as those players with the heart at Old Trafford. I hope Rooney does see the trap of Abrahamovic. Buy player like using Tissue Paper.

guoquanyap
22-06-2004, 09:59 PM
hard for ronney to come over....at least cost 40million pound.....maybe fergie friendship w moyes will path the way.....:D

RVN
22-06-2004, 10:15 PM
BIG-SPENDING Manchester United could open an Old Trafford swap shop to finance a record-breaking move for Wayne Rooney.

The England striker is rated by Everton at a whopping £50m and United have already bought in £27m worth of new talent in 2004 beginning with the £12.8m January capture of French striker Louis Saha.

Celtic's midfielder Liam Miller was also buttoned down in mid-season for a free transfer switch this summer.

It left Sir Alex Ferguson presenting Old Trafford chief executive David Gill with a list of two transfer priorities and Leeds' forward Alan Smith and Paris St Germain defender Gabriel Heinz have been added to the FA Cup winners' squad to the tune of £14m.

However, Gill confirmed that the cheque book has not officially been shut for the summer.

"We have done a lot of our spending now," said the Old Trafford chief executive.

"We have spoken with Alex and we have a large squad now and there will potentially be some trimming of that.

"But, if you look at the competition in all areas now, we have a very strong team about the 24-mark, which is a number we are very comfortable with.

"Alex is comfortable, so it is there or thereabouts.

Never say never

"Will there be more incoming transfers? You can never say never, but in terms of what we sat down with Alex before he went away and talked about transfer targets we have achieved the two key targets he wanted.

"We do set a budget and targets. We have a transfer budget and we also have a wages target. We have gone on record to say that our wages will be roughly 50 per cent of our turnover and therefore we need to achieve that target for the long-term financial stability and viability of the club.

"But we have a great complement in our team now. We have a varying age category and experience. We have brought the average wage down and the age down. You have seen an evolution in the squad.

"We are comfortable with the composition of the squad in each category. However, there will be some movement out during the course of the summer."

Future

With a five-strong senior strikers department now, including Saha, Smith, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ole Solskjaer and Diego Forlan, clearly there is a departure on the cards.

Uruguayan Forlan is the most likely to exit and his future will be decided after the Copa America in July.

But, van Nistelrooy apart, any of United's strikers could be used as bait to persuade Everton to let Rooney go for a player plus substantial cash deal.

It is not even beyond the realms of possibility that Alan Smith, who signed from Leeds for £7m last month and hasn't pulled on a United shirt yet, could be a stunning makeweight in the ruthless transfer world.

Everton were keen on the Yorkshireman when he left the relegated Elland Road outfit. The Merseysiders have also been admirers of United midfielder Nicky Butt.

The 29-year-old, whose medial knee ligament injury sustained in Euro 2004 training is improving, is set to make a decision on his United future after the tournament.

Trade

United could offer Butt and a surplus striker, plus a huge cash incentive to persuade Everton to let go of their prized asset.

However, for the moment, Gill is delighted with United's imports.

"We identified two key targets and we believe we have got good value," he added.

"I think Alan Smith will be a great addition to the team and the manager is very happy with him. I think he has shown a great attitude to come here and he will be exactly what we need up front.

"Similarly with Gabriel Heinze, he is a very experienced Argentinian defender. He is very strong by all accounts and very tough. He has the versatility to play either left back or centre back so I think we have shown, with those two acquisitions, two great signings.

"With Smith we felt a value of around £6m plus add-ons was very good value for a 23-year-old English player with a great career ahead of him. That was excellent.

"With Heinze, he has come at £6m and we are comfortable with that, and I think he will prove good value over five years.

"Liam Miller will be a great acquisition as well."

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/121/121905_reds_may_break_bank_for_rooney_.html

according to this article, we may offer Butt + any united striker (Smith, Forlan or Ole) and 20m to get Rooney. Of course it baseless speculation at the moment. :rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
23-06-2004, 01:13 AM
IMO i really think that united dun need Rooney..
why spend so much on him??

RuMmYtUb
23-06-2004, 02:35 AM
I'd rather they break the bank for Joaquin, Vicente and van der Vaart

Klose
23-06-2004, 03:18 AM
rooney..... i rather have Joaquin and mexes..... and some other wonderkid who isnt a hooligan....

Ronaldo7
23-06-2004, 04:55 AM
IMO i really think that united dun need Rooney..
why spend so much on him??

true . sell before we buy . we got enough strikers already

Alienz
23-06-2004, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by Klose
rooney..... i rather have Joaquin and mexes..... and some other wonderkid who isnt a hooligan....
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif

RVN
23-06-2004, 08:32 PM
United watching Perdersen

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1140269,00.html

Italian media claim united bid €25m for Gilardino. :eek: :rolleyes:

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1140264,00.html

jujube
23-06-2004, 11:04 PM
we dun need a pudgy kid

uRiZEn
23-06-2004, 11:58 PM
I cant stand it anymore.Everyone is treating Looney like some upcoming Maradonna.He aint won anything yet!!!
Wait till he inspire England to win this Euro then talk.
50million for him i rather buy Schevchenko or Kaka.

stks311
24-06-2004, 12:19 AM
totally agreed. 50 million can buy at least 7 high quality young players.

anyway, this might be a distraction for Peter "The Traitor" Kenyon and his owner Roman, they will all out to grab any stars on United shopping list.
So Rooney might not be our real target.
:D

Ch3tah_39
24-06-2004, 12:33 AM
i rather united buy Alberto Gilardino den rooney:)

stam
24-06-2004, 01:19 AM
Alberto Gilardino!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

guoquanyap
24-06-2004, 03:36 AM
go Ruud GO....go score a hattrick!! or even more...:D

RVN
24-06-2004, 05:36 AM
Ruud got 2 :D, joint top-scorer with Rooney, he could have score more, that latvia keeper sei bei good. :rolleyes:

LastDance
24-06-2004, 11:22 AM
when will saha get a chance to perform...

RVN
24-06-2004, 02:17 PM
Originally posted by LastDance
when will saha get a chance to perform...

He only got 1 sub appearences against switzerland in the last 20 minutes, set up henry for his goal, but not enough time, well it clear Henry and Trezeguet are the first-choice French strike-force. :(

beckz11
24-06-2004, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ruud got 2 :D, joint top-scorer with Rooney, he could have score more, that latvia keeper sei bei good. :rolleyes:

haha we will see more of him next season at crystal palace..

RVN
24-06-2004, 06:23 PM
wow, face chelsea on the opening day day of the season. :eek:
Hope we beat them. :evil:

Full United fixture list 2004/05 season
August
14 Chelsea (A)
21 Norwich ( H)
25 Everton ( H)
28 Blackburn (A)

September
11 Bolton (A)
18 Liverpool ( H)
25 Tottenham (A)

October
2 Middlesbrough ( H)
16 Birmingham (A)
23 Arsenal ( H)
30 Portsmouth (A)

November
6 Man City ( H)
13 Newcastle (A)
20 Charlton ( H)
27 West Brom (A)

December
4 Southampton ( H)
11 Fulham (A)
18 Crystal Palace ( H)
26 Bolton ( H)
28 Aston Villa (A)

January
1 Middlesbrough (A)
3 Tottenham ( H)
15 Liverpool (A)
22 Aston Villa ( H)

February
1 Arsenal (A)
5 Birmingham ( H)
12 Man City (A)
26 Portsmouth ( H)

March
5 Crystal Palace (A)
19 Fulham ( H)

April
2 Blackburn ( H)
9 Norwich (A)
16 Chelsea ( H)
20 Everton (A)
23 Newcastle ( H)
30 Charlton (A)

May
7 West Brom ( H)
14 Southampton (A)

greycat87
24-06-2004, 07:10 PM
Rooney In Man Utd Colours :evil:

http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/8223/RooneyDevil.jpg

Ronaldo7
24-06-2004, 09:00 PM
what a match to kick off our season :eek:

guoquanyap
24-06-2004, 09:51 PM
Originally posted by RVN

He only got 1 sub appearences against switzerland in the last 20 minutes, set up henry for his goal, but not enough time, well it clear Henry and Trezeguet are the first-choice French strike-force. :(

read report saying that santini going to drop trezeguet in favour of saha for tml match....that the time for saha to brust into international scene.....

Ch3tah_39
24-06-2004, 11:01 PM
Originally posted by greycat87
Rooney In Man Utd Colours :evil:

http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/8223/RooneyDevil.jpg

yuckz

RuMmYtUb
25-06-2004, 12:10 AM

read report saying that santini going to drop trezeguet in favour of saha for tml match....that the time for saha to brust into international scene.....

**** trezeguet, Saha's the man!

guoquanyap
25-06-2004, 12:49 AM
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=210527&cpid=21

guoquanyap
25-06-2004, 05:53 AM
lucky ronaldo nv miss......w ronney out...look like ruud got chance to be top scorer liao....

Ronaldo7
25-06-2004, 06:02 AM
another good game for Ronaldo :)

cracker
25-06-2004, 06:06 AM
SAF must be happy with Ruud and Ronaldo's performance so far.....and might be indifference when the famous no. 7 miss his second penalty in the tournament.

RVN
25-06-2004, 06:12 AM
Ronaldo had a quiet game IMO, ashley cole deal with him very well the whole match, at least he converted one of the penalty that send Portugal through. :D

stks311
25-06-2004, 07:39 AM
yeah, Ronaldo was outplayed by Ashley Cole. He must learn from this, so that he can improve when United vs Gooners.

Thankfully , he was cool enough to squeeze in a perfect penalty.
It will be interesting if Portugal vs Holland in semi.

RVN
25-06-2004, 08:05 AM
He is still young got lots of things to learn, I thought Ronaldo had better joy taking on the 2 Nevilles, in fact both of them were booked for fouling him. :laugh:

Seals
25-06-2004, 08:40 AM
**** that bitch...

he must be thinking... heng i sold him off if not sia suay liao...

Originally posted by cracker
SAF must be happy with Ruud and Ronaldo's performance so far.....and might be indifference when the famous no. 7 miss his second penalty in the tournament.

guoquanyap
25-06-2004, 08:51 AM
Originally posted by Seals
**** that bitch...

he must be thinking... heng i sold him off if not sia suay liao...

:laugh: :laugh:

kengbeng
25-06-2004, 11:05 AM
I thought Ronaldo did pretty well, keeping Cole on his toes for the whole 120 minutes.

stks311
25-06-2004, 02:03 PM
you got the point.
in fact, Both (Ronaldo and A. Cole) are young and good. They neutralized each other in this match.

Ashley Cole also failed to advance in attack like what he did in the previous two matches.

Ronaldo must learn from his senior teammates like Rui Costa and Figo, especially Figo, maybe he is aging, but his dribbling still powerful and intelligent.

kengbeng
25-06-2004, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by stks311
you got the point.
in fact, Both (Ronaldo and A. Cole) are young and good. They neutralized each other in this match.

Ashley Cole also failed to advance in attack like what he did in the previous two matches.

Ronaldo must learn from his senior teammates like Rui Costa and Figo, especially Figo, maybe he is aging, but his dribbling still powerful and intelligent.
Yup. He has good mentors in the Portugal squad. Hope they don't retire from international scene too soon. They could help groom Ronaldo into a star player.

RuMmYtUb
25-06-2004, 06:44 PM
lucky ronaldo nv miss......w ronney out...look like ruud got chance to be top scorer liao....

Yea! RvN all the way !

:evil:

RVN
26-06-2004, 02:44 PM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004290273,00.jpg
WAYNE'S WHIRL ... Rooney will get a £90,000-a-week offer

By NEIL CUSTIS

MANCHESTER UNITED are ready to begin the bidding for Wayne Rooney with a £22million offer.

And Alex Ferguson is convinced he will get the 18-year-old England sensation, whose Euro 2004 campaign ended in injury heartbreak on Thursday night.

High-level talks have taken place at Old Trafford, with the green light given to a move, and United have already made contact with Everton.

Rooney will not sign a new contract at Goodison and make the switch. He has only two years left on his current deal and wants to stay in the North West so he will reject any overtures from Chelsea, whatever their offer.

It leaves United boss Fergie’s bid as Everton’s only option to cash in on the whizkid.

Goodison supremo Bill Kenwright is desperate to keep Rooney at least until the transfer window in January.

He wants to show he is doing everything to keep the player but knows he would have to do a deal with only 18 months left on Rooney’s contract.

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004290972,00.jpgOFF ROO GO ... injured Wayne Rooney is substituted

The United board were reluctant to stump up for another big-money signing after spending £130m in the last three years but they know there is a big gap between themselves and Arsenal and Chelsea.

Rooney will also find out today how long he will spend on the sidelines after his Euro 2004 foot injury.

The hitman fractured a metatarsal and will be sent straight to a specialist amid fears of a six-week lay-off.

Everton physio Mick Rathbone revealed he had been in touch with the FA’s medical team throughout the night.

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004290973,00.jpgANKLE RANKLE ... Rooney's foot is twisted in challenge

He said: “We were in constant contact with them as soon as Wayne was injured. He was taken to a Lisbon hospital and his right foot is currently immobilised.

“We’ll take him to our own consultant as soon as possible but it is too early to say how long he will be out.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004291853,00.html

beckz11
26-06-2004, 04:58 PM
wow if rooney comes..i got strong feeling fergie will sell our RVN !!
very strong feeling!!

RVN
26-06-2004, 05:43 PM
wow if rooney comes..i got strong feeling fergie will sell our RVN !!
very strong feeling!!

No way, Ole, Forlan, Bellion to go before Ruud. :rolleyes:

Why not Ruud with Rooney upfront, that be great IMO. :D

beckz11
26-06-2004, 05:44 PM
Originally posted by RVN

No way, Ole, Forlan, Bellion to go before Ruud. :rolleyes:

lets be real
impossible to ask saha rooney or smith to sit bench right
coz 1 time can only contain 2 strikers
tt means saha n smith will be on bench sia
so if rooney comes 1 big name will make way..

RVN
26-06-2004, 05:54 PM

lets be real
impossible to ask saha rooney or smith to sit bench right
coz 1 time can only contain 2 strikers
tt means saha n smith will be on bench sia
so if rooney comes 1 big name will make way..

Thats your own personal opinion, why shall SAF sell RVN when he said repeatedly he stay. :rolleyes:

SAF can accomodate all 4 strikers. However it still speculation regarding Rooney, oh and he is injured as well and that could scupper the transfer.

beckz11
26-06-2004, 05:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Thats your own personal opinion, why shall SAF sell RVN when he said repeatedly he stay. :rolleyes:

SAF can accomodate all 4 strikers. However it still specualtion at then moment

i believe in this days watever they say is crap
beckham said he wasn't leaving..gei gou how ?
rvn wif saha will make the cut
no need rooney when we got smith
22million i rather fergie buy a left mid to cover giggs

beckz11
26-06-2004, 05:58 PM
get damian duff !!!

greycat87
26-06-2004, 06:42 PM
New United Kits! :love:

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/9189/unitedkit.jpg

Ronaldo7
26-06-2004, 07:41 PM
if rooney really joins us , don't think fergie will put him in the first 11 straightaway . he is still young and i think fergie will treat him the same way as ronaldo . maybe fergie will play smith on the right side of midfield :rolleyes:

Seals
26-06-2004, 08:34 PM
ronald gf is alan smith former gf rite

uRiZEn
26-06-2004, 11:31 PM

Who is the slut in question?=p

Well if Fergie must get Looney then he better make sure either Forlan or Bellion goes the other way.
I dun like it tat he's paying too much for Looney rather that he buy Vicente or Duff..

guoquanyap
27-06-2004, 12:43 AM

why bother....:rolleyes: :alien:

guoquanyap
27-06-2004, 12:45 AM
if holland get through tonite....it's more or less certain ruud get the Euro golden boot....*woot*~~ cant wait...:D

Yueming
27-06-2004, 05:13 AM
rooney rvn smith saha....

ole old le, can sell as makeweight in rooney deal

bellion....not really proven....develop or sell....

2 top strikers plus 2 almost top strikers is just right

since we need to challenge on so many fronts.....

now we still need a young creative mid....prefably on the left side...

RVN
27-06-2004, 05:39 AM
if holland get through tonite....it's more or less certain ruud get the Euro golden boot....*woot*~~ cant wait...:D

Holland are through on penalties, ruud have quite a numbers of chances to score but fail to convert it. :(

Ronaldo v Ruud now on Wednesday. :D

Seals
27-06-2004, 01:57 PM
4get roodney and get duff... last season..was hoping he come to man utd..

Who is the slut in question?=p

Well if Fergie must get Looney then he better make sure either Forlan or Bellion goes the other way.
I dun like it tat he's paying too much for Looney rather that he buy Vicente or Duff..

RuMmYtUb
27-06-2004, 05:04 PM
Why all want Duff to come ?
Chelsea letting him go meh ?

beckz11
27-06-2004, 05:17 PM
dunno leh heard rumours saying chelsea wanna sell parker n duff

RVN
27-06-2004, 06:23 PM
dunno leh heard rumours saying chelsea wanna sell parker n duff

chelsea stated on their website a few days ago saying Parker and Duff are still part of their squad members for next season. :rolleyes:

beckz11
27-06-2004, 07:19 PM
well..u will never know..
chelsea is crazy man get robben n duff
knn%^$&*^%$(
robben damn good for holland
how i wished he signed for us...

guoquanyap
27-06-2004, 09:45 PM
wow all the major papers are saying that ronney wan to come manu man...dunno how true izzit....:cool:

RVN
27-06-2004, 09:53 PM
wow all the major papers are saying that ronney wan to come manu man...dunno how true izzit....:cool:

One paper, The Sunday People are saying Ruud to be sold to make way for Rooney, I hope not. :mad:

http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14370595%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=real%2dto%2dget%2d%2d33m%2dvan-name_page.html

beckz11
27-06-2004, 10:09 PM
Originally posted by RVN

One paper, The Sunday People are saying Ruud to be sold to make way for Rooney, I hope not. :mad:

http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14370595%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=real%2dto%2dget%2d%2d33m%2dvan-name_page.html

wow just as is predicted..
so lets better hope rooney dun come
btw..miller is joining us in 3 days time !!
woohoo
july 1st Liam Miller will be a Manchester United player !!

RVN
27-06-2004, 10:19 PM

wow just as is predicted..
so lets better hope rooney dun come
btw..miller is joining us in 3 days time !!
woohoo
july 1st Liam Miller will be a Manchester United player !!

Don't buy Rooney, rather keep Ruud, can't sell our best player at the club. We should be strengthening, not selling one of our key assets. :alien:

Btw Queiroz is also joining the same day as Miller. :D

uRiZEn
27-06-2004, 10:53 PM
Robben is darn effective.Wish he signed for us instead.Fergie screwed up man.Want to cheapskate on him.Now breaking the bank to buy Looney.:mad:

beckz11
27-06-2004, 11:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN

Don't buy Rooney, rather keep Ruud, can't sell our best player at the club. We should be strengthening, not selling one of our key assets. :alien:

Btw Queiroz is also joining the same day as Miller. :D

wow this calls for a double celebration !!!

guoquanyap
28-06-2004, 12:03 AM
Robben is darn effective.Wish he signed for us instead.Fergie screwed up man.Want to cheapskate on him.Now breaking the bank to buy Looney.:mad:

u think fergie so stingy meh....not his $$...it's becos of the stingy board and the Gills lah....wan cheap deal on robben....s.h.i.t lah....

Yellowfin
28-06-2004, 12:26 AM

u think fergie so stingy meh....not his $$...it's becos of the stingy board and the Gills lah....wan cheap deal on robben....s.h.i.t lah....

Yes, don't blame the manager. It is the CEO and the board that decide on the amount Man U willing to pay for a player.

RuMmYtUb
28-06-2004, 01:27 AM
If we dun have those board **** and all the retarded PLC crap, we could've our own galatico already.

uRiZEn
28-06-2004, 03:52 AM
If we dun have those board **** and all the retarded PLC crap, we could've our own galatico already.

I rather not.Want to see the next bunch of kids coming on the team.Like Eagles.He's good in CM

beckz11
28-06-2004, 04:56 AM

I rather not.Want to see the next bunch of kids coming on the team.Like Eagles.He's good in CM

yar..i also prefer man utd to nurture young talent like fletcher
hope can bring back some of the golden batch of scholes becks giggs etc..

RVN
28-06-2004, 04:05 PM
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has once more insisted that talk of selling Ruud van Nistelrooy to finance a move for Everton's superstar Wayne Rooney is rubbish.
Gill has insisted on several occasions that the Old Trafford outfit will not look to sell off Dutch striker van Nistlerooy - with the player himself also reiterating his desire to stay.

”The level of reported interest shown by other clubs in Ruud shows what a great player he is and what an asset he is to us,” said Gill.

”The continued speculation is frustrating but the key people - Alex Ferguson, Ruud and he board of directors, know that he will be with us next season.”

Van Nistelrooy, currently spearheading Holland in Euro 2004, was equally adamant that he is going nowhere.

”I'm sick of saying it,” said the Dutch striker. “But I will say it again.

”I'm happy at United and I will be there next season and beyond.”

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1140773,00.html

Ronaldo7
28-06-2004, 05:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN

”I'm sick of saying it,” said the Dutch striker. “But I will say it again.

”I'm happy at United and I will be there next season and beyond.”

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1140773,00.html

but a certain club just don't seems to be able to understand that :mad:

pyu
28-06-2004, 05:43 PM
I admire Rooney, but personally, I think paying so much for him is... well, simply too much.

Besides, we have Saha, Solskjaer, Smith, Forlan, Bellion as the other strikers. Not a star studded line up but hell, who are you going to sell to accomodate Rooney?

Of course, there is no point talking about how many young European prospects the club has failed to sign. Just look at Robben and Man Utd fans must be cursing the fact that the stingy board failed to sign him.

RVN
28-06-2004, 06:31 PM
We don't need Rooney,we certianly won't sell Ruud just to buy him, what rubbish by the papers to suggest that. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
28-06-2004, 06:49 PM

Won't it be better to have world class players alongside home grown talent ? :D

RVN
28-06-2004, 07:45 PM
MANCHESTER United are holding most of the aces in the chase for England star Wayne Rooney but will resist cashing in on Ruud van Nistelrooy to land the star.

Chelsea still have the major card up their sleeve in the form of an unlimited supply of Roman Abramovich's cash to soften the blow for reluctant sellers Everton.

But United today told M.E.N. Sport that selling Ruud van Nistelrooy to rake in cash to fund the purchase of the £50m 18-year-old hitman is out of the question.

The club said that stories claiming the Dutchman would be sacrificed in a £30m deal to Real Madrid were "absolute rubbish."

Funding a swoop for Rooney is likely to be United's big stumbling block.

The Reds know that as things stand Old Trafford is 18-year-old Rooney's first choice destination.

Minefields

The home-loving Liverpudlian isn't keen on uprooting as a teenager to the capital and all the potential minefields London would lay.

Remaining in the North West with his family would suit the Euro 2004 hit.

United also have their former temporary number two Walter Smith batting on their behalf.

The former Everton boss, who helped out Sir Alex Ferguson in the last two months of the season, was a key figure in Rooney's early development at Goodison.

He left the club before Rooney made the first team but his handling of his progress earned him great respect from the striker and his family, and he will have informed them that Old Trafford is the place to be.

While it is understood that there is foreign interest in Rooney, the fight comes down to a straight one between United and Chelsea.

Price tag

Everton's chairman Bill Kenwright has stuck that £50m price tag on his head and it is that kind of world record transfer fee that favours Chelsea.

United just do not have the readies in the kitty to make a swift plunge for the four-goal England success story, who is currently recovering from the broken foot he suffered in Portugal.

United are currently appraising a stadium development project and the board are expected to approve the work and then put in planning permission to fill in two corners of Old Trafford to take the capacity up to 75,000.

They will have to commit £40m cash over two years to the work which would leave little available surplus money in the bank to put up for Rooney.

United would consider breaking their own transfer record of £30m for Rio Ferdinand in 2001 to land the Evertonian but Fergie would certainly have to sell off some of his squad to help finance a deal for Rooney.

Everton are only thought to have designs on midfielder Nicky Butt but that would only raise around £6m of the fee.

Everton want to start new contract talks with their jewel but it is believed they know they are facing a virtually impossible task to keep him at Goodison.

The striker currently earns £13,000 a year at the club but his Goodison wages are said to be dwarfed by his sponsorship income.

Successful

Significantly Rooney has a 10-year £5m boot and clothing deal with giants Nike who are United's biggest sponsors.

The Reds struck a massive 13-year deal with the global brand and are enjoying a successful relationship with the company helped further by United's tour of the USA last summer.

A Champions League profile for Rooney with the Reds would be a lucrative welcome link-up for the company.

Chelsea's bottomless pit of money remains the major negative as far as United are concerned and a further fly in the ointment could come if the London outfit land Steven Gerrard.

The Liverpool and England midfielder is a big mate of fellow scouser Rooney and if the elder of the two moves to Stamford Bridge it could ease the teenager's concerns about settling down in the south.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/122/122440_reds_wont_sell_ruud_to_land_rooney.html

kengbeng
28-06-2004, 07:48 PM
Originally posted by pyu
I admire Rooney, but personally, I think paying so much for him is... well, simply too much.

Besides, we have Saha, Solskjaer, Smith, Forlan, Bellion as the other strikers. Not a star studded line up but hell, who are you going to sell to accomodate Rooney?

Of course, there is no point talking about how many young European prospects the club has failed to sign. Just look at Robben and Man Utd fans must be cursing the fact that the stingy board failed to sign him.
Yeah I agree that Robben is one prized catch that got away from our nets.

The PLC and fans alike must be cursing how he slipped away from our hands.

samwise
28-06-2004, 09:58 PM
when sir fergie watches the czechs play, is he regretting selling karel porbosky?

pu-bor-ji-kee play better without long hair hor? maybe can call hor-lan to cut hair also....:D

RVN
28-06-2004, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by samwise
when sir fergie watches the czechs play, is he regretting selling karel porbosky?

pu-bor-ji-kee play better without long hair hor? maybe can call hor-lan to cut hair also....:D

porborsky was sold becos there was a certain becks at that time. :rolleyes:

samwise
28-06-2004, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN

porborsky was sold becos there was a certain becks at that time. :rolleyes:

sigh... its amazing how fickle is the wheel of fortune... wonder is hor-lan will be a superstar elsewhere...

genesis113
28-06-2004, 11:53 PM
it is regret to see a giggs-like player Robben play for our rival.

guoquanyap
29-06-2004, 02:00 AM
http://www.football365.com/teams/manchester_united/story_117134.shtml

I hate the situation, because the fans don't need to worry like that. There is nothing going on and I was very much aware of what I was doing when I signed a new contract with United until the summer of 2008. I am very happy with that contract, the club is very happy too. Give me one good reason why I should leave

RVN
29-06-2004, 02:47 AM
John O'Shea could miss the start of United's pre-season tour due to a knee problem.

Club press officer Di Law told ManUtd.com on Monday, "John has undergone arthroscopy on his left knee and will be out for three to four weeks."

United's first match on their USA Tour is against Bayern Munich on Sunday 25 July.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=76838&itype=466&icategoryid=120

cutter
29-06-2004, 09:44 AM
PSV preferred to sell Robben to Chelsea anyway, after the 'tapping up' problems during the Stam and RvN transfers.

On another note...:D

http://www.soccercommercials.com/movies/giggs5.zip

RVN
29-06-2004, 01:08 PM
Get over it. :rolleyes:

derrace
29-06-2004, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by cutter
PSV preferred to sell Robben to Chelsea anyway, after the 'tapping up' problems during the Stam and RvN transfers.

On another note...:D

http://www.soccercommercials.com/movies/giggs5.zip

oh well...
:(

Ronaldo7
29-06-2004, 08:32 PM
Unsettled Manchester United midfielder Nicky Butt is set to join Newcastle within the next week, according to strong reports on Tyneside.

The England star has returned injured from Euro 2004, but is being tipped to recover from

medial knee ligament damage to link up with the Magpies for the start of pre-season training next Monday.

Butt has been linked with several Premiership clubs since making it clear midway through last season that he was unhappy with life on the bench at Old Trafford.

And now Newcastle appear to head a queue for his services which also includes Middlesbrough and Birmingham.

With Gary Speed turning 35 in September, the Magpies are looking for a midfield enforcer to succeed the Welsh international skipper.

At 29, Butt very much fits the bill, although Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson has previously denied any interest in the England star.

There is no word on the size of fee Manchester United will demand for a player who has spent his entire career with them.

:sad: :angel:

guoquanyap
01-07-2004, 01:52 AM
transfer open today, 1july !! maybe smith and co will be unveil today....:bounce: :bounce:

kengbeng
01-07-2004, 03:25 AM
Our Ronaldo scored against Holland :D but got booked for taking off the shirt in celebration :alien:.

Alienz
01-07-2004, 03:34 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Our Ronaldo scored against Holland :D but got booked for taking off the shirt in celebration :alien:.
He been scoring goals with his head......

RVN
01-07-2004, 05:16 AM
Originally posted by Alienz

He been scoring goals with his head......

hahaha, he is deadly from headers. :D :bounce:

Cristiano Ronaldo's last 3 goals have come from headers.

FA Cup Final
Greece
Netherlands.

he also assisted Maniche. ;)

derrace
01-07-2004, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by RVN

FA Cup Final
Greece
Netherlands.

he headers quite swee, but I seen fiercer ones.
maybe all the defenders think he can only dribble and cross, so never pay much attention when the crosses come in. carry on..
hahaha
=p

beckz11
01-07-2004, 06:27 PM
Manchester United are to complete the signing of Gerard Pique from Barcelona, as previously reported on skysports.com.

The talented young defender has agreed a five-year contract with Sir Alex Ferguson's side after meeting with the United manager this week.

Although it was a difficult decision to leave Camp Nou, the gigantic centre back is excited by the prospect of continuing his development at Old Trafford.

"There have been seven years of my life where I have learned and enjoyed my football with Barca and I would not change that for anything in the world," he told El Mundo Deportivo.

"But a new phase of my life begins now.

"It took a lot to make the decision to leave Barca. I was very happy here and had never thought about changing club but, after looking at the options, speaking with my parents and my grandfather, who has also helped me a lot, it was a suitable time for me."

Pique believes first team opportunities may be more forthcoming in England, but harbours a desire to return to Barcelona one day.

"I hope the doors will always be open (to a return)," he stated. "It would please me to return to wear the Azulgrana shirt.

"In England, the age does not matter so much while here in Spain there is a structure and there are very few chances to break through."

His grandfather, Amador Bernabeu, a famous figure in Barca's history, was sad to see the teenager leave but gave his full backing to the switch.

"My dream has always been that Gerard succeeded at Barcelona," he complained. "After 20 years as an executive I was looking for the continuity of the family in Barca, but you must accept what life brings you.

"His move is an enormous displeasure because he is not able to continue at Barcelona and it's a great shame the way things have gone."

United beat off competition from Arsenal to land the highly-rated prospect, who adds to the number of promising centre backs in the ranks of the FA Cup winners.

American prodigy Jonathan Spector is not far away from the first team squad and Wicklow-born Paul McShane is another being tipped for the top by Red Devils insiders.

beckz11
01-07-2004, 06:28 PM
source from http://skysports.planetfootball.com/transfernews.asp?type=article&id=211547

RuMmYtUb
01-07-2004, 06:28 PM
Can't find him in CM03/04..
wonder how gd is he

RVN
01-07-2004, 08:05 PM
Manchester United is pleased to announce the arrival of centre back Gerard Piqué from Barcelona.

Gerard who was born in Barcelona and plays for the Spanish Under 17 International side has also been nominated as Catalonia Player of the Year.

Communications Department,
Old Trafford, 1 July 2004

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=77749&itype=466&icategoryid=123

:D

Ronaldo7
01-07-2004, 08:38 PM
another young talent :evil: :D

trax06
01-07-2004, 09:09 PM
hes got height...

RVN
01-07-2004, 09:16 PM
Pique, Miller, Smith, Heinze in, lets get a big-name next. :D

Butt look like off to Newcastle. :(

guoquanyap
01-07-2004, 10:08 PM
finally we got one over arsenal and chelsea in t he transfer market....*pwew*

newbie_rulz
01-07-2004, 10:14 PM
RVN, the pic you post scare the hell out of me. I tot the guy in red was Pique.. :laugh:

guoquanyap
01-07-2004, 10:16 PM
RVN, the pic you post scare the hell out of me. I tot the guy in red was Pique.. :laugh:

dunz...fergie u oso dun know meh....:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

vivre
01-07-2004, 11:29 PM
From BBC Sport (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3856789.stm)

Man Utd Sign Barca Defender

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40334000/jpg/_40334841_pique_get_203.jpg

Manchester United have signed young Barcelona defender Gerard Pique.

The 17-year-old centre back has agreed a five-year contract with United after meeting Alex Ferguson this week.

Pique, who is a Spain Under-17 international and can also play at left-back, rejected the offer of a new contract at the Nou Camp.

No fee has been disclosed yet but Pique - whose full name is Gerard Pique Bernabeu - is reported to have signed a five-year deal.

RVN
02-07-2004, 01:20 AM

Its fergie lah, although strange to see him wear the red jersey. :laugh:

padixiong
02-07-2004, 09:43 AM
100% impossible to see Pique in the first team action nex season ..

lolx ..

Ronaldo7
02-07-2004, 09:44 AM
maybe he will play some part in the league cup ;)

padixiong
02-07-2004, 09:45 AM
maybe he will play some part in the league cup ;)

hope so ..
he is freaking too young ..

Ronaldo7
02-07-2004, 12:46 PM
Pique Lured By United Learning Curve

Gerard Pique says Sir Alex Ferguson's record of giving youngsters a chance is one of the reasons he joined United.

The Spanish Under-17 international told El Mundo Deportivo, "In England, age does not matter so much, but in Spain there is a structure and there are very few chances to break through."

Nevertheless, Pique admits it was still a tough decision to leave Barcelona.

"There have been seven years of my life where I have learned and enjoyed my football with Barca and I would not change that for anything in the world. It took a lot to make the decision to leave Barca. I was very happy there and had never thought about leaving.

"But after looking at the options and speaking with my parents and my grandfather - who have also helped me a lot - it was a suitable time for me. A new phase of my life begins now."

Pique is expected to spend much of his first season at United in the Academy.

Report by Gemma Thomps

orca_sea
02-07-2004, 02:12 PM
Originally posted by RVN

FA Cup Final
Greece
Netherlands.

Haha mayb tatz a sign to tell SAF to buy 2 wingers liao.. both left n right.. since C.Ronaldo iz so gd wif header..:laugh: :laugh:

RVN
02-07-2004, 02:27 PM
MANCHESTER UNITED are set for a bust-up with the Portuguese over teenage sensation Cristiano Ronaldo.

Portugal want Ronaldo to play in the Olympic Games next month which would mean him missing the start of the season.

The football tournament kicks off on August 11 and runs until the 29th.

During that time United face a two-leg pre-qualifier for the Champions League and a massive Premiership opener against Chelsea.

Ronaldo could be away for three weeks and United are ready to go to war over his release.

However, FIFA will have the final say and, if Portugal insist on Ronaldo’s selection, manager Alex Ferguson will have no choice but to let him go.

Olympic rules state that teams must be made up of players aged 20 or under and may include up to three who are over age. Ronaldo is only 19.

Portugal who contest the Euro 2004 final in Lisbon on Sunday have not made an official announcement about Ronaldo.

However, a Portuguese source said: “The mood is to take Ronaldo.

“He played in the matches which got the team to the Olympics and the feeling is we want to field our best available team.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004301845,00.html

Damm it, take someone else rather than Ronaldo. :mad:

orca_sea
02-07-2004, 02:34 PM
Originally posted by RVN
MANCHESTER UNITED are set for a bust-up with the Portuguese over teenage sensation Cristiano Ronaldo.

Portugal want Ronaldo to play in the Olympic Games next month which would mean him missing the start of the season.

The football tournament kicks off on August 11 and runs until the 29th.

During that time United face a two-leg pre-qualifier for the Champions League and a massive Premiership opener against Chelsea.

Ronaldo could be away for three weeks and United are ready to go to war over his release.

However, FIFA will have the final say and, if Portugal insist on Ronaldo’s selection, manager Alex Ferguson will have no choice but to let him go.

Olympic rules state that teams must be made up of players aged 20 or under and may include up to three who are over age. Ronaldo is only 19.

Portugal who contest the Euro 2004 final in Lisbon on Sunday have not made an official announcement about Ronaldo.

However, a Portuguese source said: “The mood is to take Ronaldo.

“He played in the matches which got the team to the Olympics and the feeling is we want to field our best available team.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004301845,00.html

Damm it, take someone else rather than Ronaldo. :mad:

i tink depend on situation lor.. if Portugal wins the Euro then i tink itz rite for Portugal to call someone else rather than Ronaldo lor..since they oreadi won such a big competition liao

guoquanyap
02-07-2004, 06:10 PM
pair ruud w rooney.....:o

guoquanyap
02-07-2004, 06:12 PM
it's jus stupid and insensible to take ronaldo after a long season at manu and playing in all but one of the matches in euro2004.....ask portugal officals to use their brain.....

he's still so young...gonna burn him out....

newbie_rulz
02-07-2004, 10:24 PM
I think it would be good for The Reds if new fuel was injected into the team and the old guards are being cleared, it would do ManYoo good for the near future.

RVN
02-07-2004, 10:29 PM
Laporta a whiner. :rolleyes:

Barcelona are to report Manchester United to FIFA after the premier league side said it had signed teenage defender Gerard Pique, the Primera Liga club said on Friday.

Barcelona say United, who announced their new signing on Thursday, have breached the Primera Liga club's rights over the 17-year-old, a product of their youth academy.

Soccer's world governing body FIFA have said clubs that train up young players have the right to compensation payments if they move to other teams.

"We have sent a request to the Spanish Football Federation to ask them to put our case to FIFA and the English Football Association," Barcelona president Joan Laporta told the club's website.

He told Barcelona-based daily El Mundo Deportivo: "Manchester have acted in a belligerent manner in this case and have failed to respect the effort that some clubs are making in bringing on young players.

"We are going to see this case through right to the end."

Manchester United said they had done nothing wrong.

"We have done everything in the correct manner and realise there is always compensation to pay and we will deal with it when it happens," a spokeswoman said.

United and their manager Alex Ferguson have been criticised in the past for the way they court potential signings.

PSV Eindhoven chairman Harry van Raaij was angered by their conduct in the transfers of Ruud van Nistelrooy and Jaap Stam along with the failed bid to recruit winger Arjen Robben, who joined Chelsea.

Fulham manager Chris Coleman also labelled Ferguson a "bully" over his successful pursuit of French striker Louis Saha in January.

But United said the signing of Pique was an entirely different matter as he was a youth player and was free to sign for any team.

Pique, a Spanish under-17 international and grandson of former Barcelona director Amador Bernabeu, also said he was free to join United.

"You can see that Barca don't want to negotiate," El Mundo Deportivo quoted him as saying to Radio Catalunya.

"They say I belong to them, but I'm not a slave. If they don't want to negotiate then FIFA will have to decide what United have to pay."

newbie_rulz
02-07-2004, 10:38 PM
Haiya.. sore loser.. lose talent like that sia.. humji sia..

guoquanyap
02-07-2004, 10:44 PM
when arsenal sign one of his youth they oso nv kpkb....when england blast the ref....uefa oso nv kpkb.....when other fail their drug test....oso kana ban.....wao lau.....:mad:

RVN
02-07-2004, 10:48 PM
its crap, barca are just pissed cos a promising player chose utd over them.

sore loser complain to fifa. :mad:

Alienz
02-07-2004, 11:40 PM
United is too rich so there trying to get some from them :D

RVN
03-07-2004, 12:36 AM
United is too rich so there trying to get some from them :D

doesn't mean we have to pay whatever they want. :mad:

Alienz
03-07-2004, 12:38 AM
Van Nistelrooy handed ban (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/euro_2004/holland/3844475.stm)

Uefa has handed Holland striker Ruud van Nistelrooy a two-match ban for insulting behaviour towards referee Anders Frisk.

The 28-year-old was unhappy at Frisk's performance during Holland's semi-final defeat to Portugal on Wednesday.

Van Nistelrooy accused Frisk of ruling "everything in favour of Portugal" and of being a "home whistler".

The Dutchman has until Monday to appeal against the ban, which could rule him out of two 2006 World Cup qualifiers.

Unless he is successful, Van Nistelrooy will miss Holland's home game against the Czech Republic on 8 September and FYR Macedonia away on 9 October.

RVN
03-07-2004, 12:42 AM
on the bright side, Ruud can play for us and have much needed-rest instead of international duty. :D

beckz11
03-07-2004, 04:45 AM
i hv juz come over this brillant forums based in england

http://www.soccer24-7.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33

do visit as they provide really fast n reliable news!!

Ronaldo7
03-07-2004, 11:08 AM
when arsenal sign one of his youth they oso nv kpkb....when england blast the ref....uefa oso nv kpkb.....when other fail their drug test....oso kana ban.....wao lau.....:mad:

they never kp arsenal because it got something to do with the Van Bronckhorst deal :rolleyes:

RVN
03-07-2004, 07:47 PM
Ronaldo ready to be marked man

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1222773.jpg

Cristiano Ronaldo is ready to take the extra pressure Premiership defences will put on him now he is a marked man after his Euro 2004 displays.
The 19-year-old has been a major success for Portugal and is one of the stars of the tournament - something which will not go unnoticed next season in England.

Ronaldo admits he will be a marked man next term and is prepared for Premiership defences making a special effort to contain him.

"On the one hand, it's a good thing if a rival team thinks you're a major threat ,as it means you must be doing something right," said Ronaldo.

"But on the other hand, it's not so great as you're going to get marked a lot more and players will try to block you, so you can't perform.

"I hope that doesn't happen, but if it does, I will just try to raise my game to combat the new tactics from opponents and prove my value."

Portugal face Greece in Sunday's final and Ronaldo says that he would desperate love to crown a great season by being crowned kings of Europe.

"Euro 2004 has been a fantastic experience for me. The only thing left for us is to go and win the title. That would be unbelievable.

"My first season with (Manchester) United went better that I could have imagined, winning the FA Cup and scoring the first goal in the final.

"But to win Euro 2004 would be hard to take in."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1141479,00.html

vivre
03-07-2004, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo ready to be marked man

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1222773.jpg

I thought he was already a marked man a few games into last season..... :rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
04-07-2004, 10:08 AM
Manchester United are ready to use Alan Smith as shock bait in a massive £30m deal to land Wayne Rooney. Fergie plans to sacrifice Smith - signed six weeks ago for £7m - after Everton snubbed part-exchange deals involving Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Diego Forlan and David Bellion.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1253627,00.html

wtf :mad:

MatrixFanatic
04-07-2004, 10:49 AM
Neh neh la haven't even seen Smith in action gone liao!

padixiong
04-07-2004, 10:53 AM
very man utd fans here ..

use the same sig as me ..

lolx...

Ronaldo7
04-07-2004, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by padixiong
very man utd fans here ..

use the same sig as me ..

lolx...

too long liao :slant:

RVN
04-07-2004, 01:21 PM

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1253627,00.html

wtf :mad:

utter bollocks. :mad:

How can we get rid a player when he hasn't even play for us. :(
beside Gill just said we can't afford Rooney.

newbie_rulz
04-07-2004, 03:43 PM
Why get someone so expensive when we can get bargains like Old Gunnar Solksjaer and Arsenal buying Henry at a cheap price? Somemore, if player does not perform, Club and Manager gets the blame. Waste of time onli.

Yueming
04-07-2004, 04:03 PM
40 mil....i rather go for the likes of pablo aimar....

RVN
04-07-2004, 04:42 PM
40 mil....i rather go for the likes of pablo aimar....

Nah, don't want another veron.

RVN
04-07-2004, 05:02 PM
RUUD VAN NISTELROOY has slammed new claims that he's poised for a £30million move to Real Madrid.

The Dutch striker says he would rather quit football than leave Manchester United.

The latest rumour claimed the sale would raise the cash for a £25m United bid for Everton's Wayne Rooney. But Van Nistelrooy said: "I have tired of these stories, they are total garbage.

"I am not leaving United, why should I? I'd rather retire than be sold to Real Madrid. Is that emphatic enough?

"I don't know what else I can do other than say I'm a Manchester United player - end of story."

The latest claims have not only evoked the fury of the striker but Sir Alex Ferguson as well. Van Nistelrooy was stunned last week when Fergie rang him in Portugal to reassure him he had no intention of selling him to Madrid - or any other club.

The striker was devastated by Holland's failure to win Euro 2004, coming off the back of a disappointing campaign at United where victory in the FA Cup Final barely salvaged a season of underachievement.

He added: "People go on about this record and that record but unless we are winning trophies the goals don't mean anything to me."

The 28-year-old has barely four years before he brings his career to a close, vowing to walk away when his contract comes to an end at just 32.

He said: "Of course you can win a lot in four years. I have a title and FA Cup winners' medal with Manchester United but I'm hungrier for far more.

"I desperately want to win the Champions League and more titles with United, while I hope Holland have a successful 2006 World Cup.

"Being hungry is a good thing. I'm not complacent, never have been. But at the same time I'm not frightened to say I can do better."

By his own admission it has not been a year to remember for the Dutchman. He added: "I'm not saying the season has been a disaster, but it's fair to say it's been disappointing.

"With a bit of luck it could have been totally different but things conspired to undermine Manchester United's campaign last season.

"We never recovered from the loss of Rio Ferdinand. We had injuries and the luck you normally get seemed to elude us on a number of occasions.

"But I'm growing in optimism that the new campaign will see United back challenging for the major honours."

One man Van Nistelrooy is tipping to be a far more influential figure in the new campaign is Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo.

He said: "Ronaldo is a hugely talented individual and he is only going to get better. I see what he's capable of every day in training. I think he accepts that he needs to be more effective in his play. But there were encouraging signs towards the end of last season that he is beginning to understand the way the coaches want him to play.

"I think people will see a different player next season."

The happiest day of Van Nistelrooy's life awaits him in six days when he will marry long-term girlfriend Leontien in his hometown village Geffen.

He added: "I guess it would have been easier to fly off to Las Vegas and get married in secret. But nothing will spoil our big day. I'm really excited - and a bit nervous!"

Van Nistelrooy's final words on Euro 2004 reiterated his claim - exclusively revealed by the Sunday Mirror - that Fergie should sign Rooney.

The Dutch ace said: "Sir Alex Ferguson is going to build his third top team and I want to be a part of that - and of course Rooney would be a great buy.

"Would it be a great partnership? Of course!"

http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14391415%26method=full%26siteid=106694%26headline=ruud%2dstays-name_page.html

greycat87
04-07-2004, 06:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN

The Dutch striker says he would rather quit football than leave Manchester United.

WE LOVE RUUD WE LOVE RUUD WE LOVE RUUD :bounce:

beckz11
04-07-2004, 06:21 PM
hmmm going to buy the new man utd jersey
any suggestions who to print ?

Alienz
04-07-2004, 06:21 PM
it show that how loyalty Ruud to United....

Alienz
04-07-2004, 06:22 PM
hmmm going to buy the new man utd jersey
any suggestions who to print ?
C.Ronaldo?

beckz11
04-07-2004, 06:24 PM

C.Ronaldo?

ya i hav the black 1 print ronaldo already..
****.should hav wait for this 1
hehe

RVN
04-07-2004, 06:53 PM
Gill say we are not buying any more players and are only concentrate on the exits, probably Butt and Forlan etc. :(

Pique look like our last signing, no new winger or creative midfielder. :mad:

Ronaldo7
04-07-2004, 07:25 PM

hehe

when will it be available in sg ? :confused:

greycat87
04-07-2004, 09:15 PM

hehe

u go where and print one arh? whats the price like?

beckz11
04-07-2004, 10:01 PM

when will it be available in sg ? :confused:

it will be released on 15th july
but dunno when will reach sg

beckz11
04-07-2004, 10:05 PM

u go where and print one arh? whats the price like?

kk it is 2 dollars per letter n 9 dollars per number at weston

Ch3tah_39
04-07-2004, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Gill say we are not buying any more players and are only concentrate on the exits, probably Butt and Forlan etc. :(

cnnt buy mid liao lor..
we overcrowding in mid..

our midfield last season was also stable..
now got ferdinand and new buyings.. shld be okie lerr

greycat87
04-07-2004, 11:13 PM

kk it is 2 dollars per letter n 9 dollars per number at weston

hey thanks... do they print nike numbers? or just premiership numbers?

guoquanyap
04-07-2004, 11:17 PM

that depend on fergie man management oso....to hav such a player so loyal to manu and fergie....

guoquanyap
04-07-2004, 11:18 PM

that depend on fergie man management oso....to hav such a player so loyal to manu and fergie....

remember...ruud signed a new contract HOURS after fergie signed his.....;)

guoquanyap
04-07-2004, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by RVN

somehow i feel its not over yet....something is going behind the scene.....hope i am right...

RVN
04-07-2004, 11:36 PM
I can't believe our signing is finished yet, we need at least 2 more players, hopefully a left-winger, and a long-term Keane replacement ... but yet again the PLC are being stingy. only 14m spend so far, surely there room for at least a left-winger. Someone to give competition to Giggs.

RuMmYtUb
04-07-2004, 11:39 PM
WTF man, no more signings, how to win title...

chelski damn strong with Robben.. :mad:

guoquanyap
04-07-2004, 11:45 PM
WTF man, no more signings, how to win title...

chelski damn strong with Robben.. :mad:

robben is gd but how he develop under chelsea manager is still a ??.....he show he can be flop w his last match against portugal....

RVN
04-07-2004, 11:49 PM
This is what Gill said. :mad:

The door has been firmly slammed shut on Wayne Rooney's 'dream' move to Manchester United for 12 months at least - and not even the likely departures of Nicky Butt and Diego Forlan will resurrect it.

Rather than warn Sir Alex Ferguson that sales will be required to fund a pre-season move for England's Euro 2004 striking sensation, Old Trafford chief executive David Gill views his recent comments on the teenager as putting an end to a process United had not started.

While Ferguson is understandably a huge admirer of the 18-year-old Evertonian, at no stage has he, or anyone else from the United camp, claimed a formal bid was about to be lodged.

And, having splashed out £26million on new players - including striking duo Louis Saha and Alan Smith - in the last six months alone, Gill clearly believes United have met Ferguson's transfer demands and spent enough.

"At the end of last season we identified the need to sign a striker - that was Alan Smith from Leeds," Gill told the Daily Star on Sunday.

"We also identified a left-back - that was Gabriel Heinze. We've completed the task with those two signings.

"One of the reasons we run a successful operation is because we operate within strict financial parameters. We cannot afford to spend £45million or £50million on one player.

"Our priority now is to concentrate on exits - then that's it."

It had been widely thought that Ferguson would be given the green light to pursue Rooney should he be able to raise significant sums from player sales.

This option has now been ruled out and in any case, the Old Trafford hierarchy are aware that the fees they could receive for Butt and Forlan will not come anywhere near the £30million they believe Rooney may eventually be allowed to leave Goodison Park for.

United know Butt will command a decent sum from Newcastle or any of the other suitors who have enquired about the England midfielder, but probably nowhere near the £6million that has been suggested in some quarters, while it may require a 'Fabien Barthez-style' pay-off to get rid of Forlan.

After two-and-a-half years of persevering with the Uruguayan, it appears Ferguson has now accepted that his £7million signing from Independiente is not going to reach the levels required of a Red Devil and buyers are now actively being sought.

The problem for United is that Forlan's relatively large salary is likely to put off potential suitors if they also have to pay a transfer fee, so, even if the 17-goal forward excels for his country in this month's Copa America, the club will have to be flexible in handling his potential departure.

With two years of his present deal still to run, Forlan could earn the best part of £3.5million by remaining at Old Trafford, a situation which could force the club into the kind of pay-off that saw Barthez net a staggering £2.4million before the eccentric French keeper would agree a free transfer to Marseille.

That financial juggling act will mean nothing to Rooney, or Everton for that matter, who now find themselves in an unenviable situation.

Should Rooney spurn a switch to Chelsea - the only club who have the ready cash available to tie up the deal - the Toffeemen will hope their teenage star signs an extension to his current contract, which now only has two years to run.

However, should the teenager think a move to Old Trafford is still a possibility next summer, he could easily stall on a deal, which could dramatically reduce his value 12 months from now.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/07/04/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Rooney.html&TEAMHD=soccer

Ch3tah_39
05-07-2004, 12:00 AM
hiya.. forlan going lorz:(
if stop buying liao, it is pretty alrite..
man utd squad looks gd now:)

beckz11
05-07-2004, 05:14 AM

hey thanks... do they print nike numbers? or just premiership numbers?

ya
they print premiership nos

guoquanyap
05-07-2004, 05:35 AM
really feel for ronaldo..see he cry until so jialet....haiz....but he really missed a really gd chance....

RVN
05-07-2004, 01:08 PM
sign, he was very upset about the loss considering his first final at senior level for Portugal. :(

genesis113
05-07-2004, 01:53 PM
maybe this is a very precious experience for him to grow, to become greater in the upcoming major tournaments like world cup 2006.

For exmaple, Maradona recovered so well from failure in 1982 world cup, when he was first time playing at senior level with high expectations, as 4 years later, he became the king of the world.

Originally posted by RVN
sign, he was very upset about the loss considering his first final at senior level for Portugal. :(

greycat87
05-07-2004, 03:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN

i think it was 2 precious chances... if only he scored... then i wont lose $40...

RVN
05-07-2004, 09:16 PM
Several United players to miss US tour, Ruud and Ronaldo among the big-names to miss out. :(

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=212254

Another youth player set to join United. :D

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1141657,00.html

guoquanyap
06-07-2004, 12:05 AM
Originally posted by genesis113
maybe this is a very precious experience for him to grow, to become greater in the upcoming major tournaments like world cup 2006.

For exmaple, Maradona recovered so well from failure in 1982 world cup, when he was first time playing at senior level with high expectations, as 4 years later, he became the king of the world.

i believe ronaldo will recover and has the world under his feet....;)

orca_sea
06-07-2004, 12:19 AM
hiya.. forlan going lorz:(
if stop buying liao, it is pretty alrite..
man utd squad looks gd now:)

tink still lack a potential winger leh..for either side to cover up if any injuries in tat position occur