View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Alienz
06-07-2004, 12:22 AM
Originally posted by orca_sea
tink still lack a potential winger leh..for either side to cover up if any injuries in tat position occur
ronaldo can cover both wing........
guoquanyap
06-07-2004, 12:28 AM
we still lack a left-winger to understudy giggs...after we miss out robben...now the norway guy is our target...but i think we wont get him this season....
wheres for ronaldo...he will be the most effective on the right wing....
greycat87
06-07-2004, 12:30 AM
tink still lack a potential winger leh..for either side to cover up if any injuries in tat position occur
seriously, with your avatar like that i really cant figure out if u support man utd or not
Thinker
06-07-2004, 08:14 AM
fletcher on right, ronaldo on left. So hard meh?
pickupball
06-07-2004, 08:30 AM
:D
galant22
06-07-2004, 09:05 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
we still lack a left-winger to understudy giggs...after we miss out robben...now the norway guy is our target...but i think we wont get him this season....
wheres for ronaldo...he will be the most effective on the right wing....
u mean erik nevland?
didnt we sold him sometime bacK?
galant22
06-07-2004, 09:07 AM
forlanz departure is a long-awaited one by utd fans
he's a waste of $$
cannot score goals nvm,
balloon shots somemore!!
REAL MADRID became the latest club yesterday to declare an interest in signing Wayne Rooney, but Manchester United remain confident that they will be the only serious bidders for the 18-year-old if he opts to leave Everton this summer.
Although David Gill, the United chief executive, said on Sunday that his club “cannot afford £45 million or £50 million on one player”, there is a growing belief at Old Trafford that Rooney could be lured from Everton for a fee closer to £30 million. They are also optimistic that, for personal reasons, Rooney would prefer to stay in the North West and join United than sign for Chelsea or an overseas club.
It is almost inconceivable that Rooney’s advisers would pursue a move abroad at such a young age, but Real might, in theory, hold an interest. Arturo Baldasano, one of the contenders in the club’s forthcoming president elections, said: “We can find the money to sign Rooney. If (José Antonio) Camacho (the coach) wants him, I don’t expect any kind of problems to try to negotiate to sign him.”
Rooney and his advisers share the belief that moving abroad at this early stage of his career would be detrimental to his development, but they do not necessarily feel that he would benefit from another season at Everton. The Merseyside club are prepared to triple the young forward’s wages to about £2 million a year in the hope of persuading him to stay at Goodison Park, but an agreement is by no means certain.
United would have to sell players to raise about half of the £30 million they would need to sign Rooney. Nicky Butt, the midfield player, is expected to join Newcastle United this week for £4 million, while fringe players such as Ricardo, Kléberson, Diego Forlán and even Ole Gunnar Solskjaer are open to offers. Michael Stewart, the young midfield player, is to undergo a trial with Rangers.
Sir Alex Ferguson hopes to secure another deal this week, though, with Giuseppe Rossi, a 16-year-old midfield player, expected to arrive from Parma. Another graduate of the Parma youth team, Arturo Lipolo, is considering a move to Arsenal. In each case, the Italian club would hope to receive compensation.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,27-1169446,00.html
wao liao, 30m for an over-rated player just becos he got a good Euro tournament, siao pay the same amount as Rio. I rather keep Ole too. :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
06-07-2004, 12:02 PM
Originally posted by galant22
u mean erik nevland?
didnt we sold him sometime bacK?
no lah....is Morten Gamst Pedersen
cutter
06-07-2004, 01:17 PM
Originally posted by greycat87
seriously, with your avatar like that i really cant figure out if u support man utd or not
hehe dun u kno that RvN is a top penalty winner as well as taker?:D
cutter
06-07-2004, 01:24 PM
ya lor... need another left winger.. Cristiano can play both wings and is also a useful centre-forward (his header damn power :D ) and right side is backed up by OGS, Fletcher and Forlan.
Left side besides Giggs... P Neville, O-Shea and Silvestre, who all operate more like defensive wingbacks at best. Fortune can also operate there but dunno how he is like after so many injuries.
cutter
06-07-2004, 01:32 PM
Dunno what is the interest in Rooney... Man Utd need to shore up the defence and the wings (new players will remain unproven until after the first few games of the season).. unless there are still question marks over RvN's future or SAF sees Saha and Smith as only backup quality. Also need a new playmaker, with Scholes not getting any younger. (Cristiano can also fill that role but we can't depend so much on him leh :D )
orca_sea
06-07-2004, 02:02 PM
Originally posted by galant22
forlanz departure is a long-awaited one by utd fans
he's a waste of $$
cannot score goals nvm,
balloon shots somemore!!
But still must respect bcos he scored 2 goals against Liverpool the other time.. but realli feel sad tat he cnt mk it big in Man Utd..haiz..:(
orca_sea
06-07-2004, 02:06 PM
Originally posted by Thinker
fletcher on right, ronaldo on left. So hard meh?
Fletcher iz nt realli a gd winger bcos he dun dribble well n somemore his crosses r nt realli gd too.. he himself admits tat he would prefer a centre midfielder role rather than a winger lor...:rolleyes:
whats the big problem, play Ronaldo and Giggs on both wings, I know Giggs getting old but he still got 2 or 3 years left in him.
Manchester United are unlikely to make any more big-name signings this summer after ruling themselves out of an imminent bid for Wayne Rooney.
Having spent £14million on Alan Smith and Gabriel Heinze, in addition to the £12million it took to capture Louis Saha from Fulham in January, plus the Bosman signing of Irish international Liam Miller, Ferguson is ready to close his cheque-book and start bringing in some funds through player sales.
Diego Forlan and Nicky Butt remain the most likely departures, although speculation that a £3.75million fee has already been agreed with Newcastle for the England midfielder appears wide of the mark, even if the figure is roughly what United are expecting to recoup.
It certainly seems unlikely Butt will be heading to the United States on the Red Devils' three-match pre-season tour.
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/07/06/manual_061829.html&TEAMHD=soccer
wadeva_lah
06-07-2004, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by RVN
wao liao, 30m for an over-rated player just becos he got a good Euro tournament, siao pay the same amount as Rio. I rather keep Ole too. :rolleyes: i dun think rooney is over rated.
18 yr old 4 goals @ euro has gotta be worth some thing.
also, ole is getting old. i rather keep ole AND bring in rooney.
ole is rather versatile so can play him @ right flank.
Yueming
06-07-2004, 10:26 PM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
i dun think rooney is over rated.
18 yr old 4 goals @ euro has gotta be worth some thing.
also, ole is getting old. i rather keep ole AND bring in rooney.
ole is rather versatile so can play him @ right flank.
should let him stay at everton for one more year before buying....see whether he is really good.....
some times its a "tan hua yi xian" situation.....
if die dies want to spend 30 million....i rather vote for fernando torres.....knn if he's going to chelsea....might as well make him a devil....
torres maybe 22-25 million only...still got 5 million to play around with.....
Ronaldo7
06-07-2004, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by Yueming
should let him stay at everton for one more year before buying....see whether he is really good.....
if die dies want to spend 30 million....i rather vote for fernando torres.....knn if he's going to chelsea....might as well make him a devil....
torres won't be cheap . we got a bid of around 25m rejected not long ago :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
06-07-2004, 11:26 PM
ya should let him stay at everton 1more season without signing any exention.....then his value will drop man....:cool:
RuMmYtUb
06-07-2004, 11:33 PM
I rather get Rooney than Torres..
Rooney got what it takes to mature into a true star...
Strength, Technique, ability to take on players, ability to score from anywhere... most importantly, AGREESION.
guoquanyap
06-07-2004, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
I rather get Rooney than Torres..
Rooney got what it takes to mature into a true star...
Strength, Technique, ability to take on players, ability to score from anywhere... most importantly, AGREESION.
rooney...hmmm...how much will he really cost...
guoquanyap
07-07-2004, 12:17 AM
Manchester United is delighted to announce the arrival of forward Giuseppe Rossi from Parma.
Rossi, who was born in New Jersey, America, and played for Parma's Under-19 side, also plays for the Italian Under-19 international team.
another promising youngster signed after pique....but only 16yr old...how long will we hav to wait before b4 seeing him in action....at least for another 3yr when he is 19....
guoquanyap
07-07-2004, 12:18 AM
Manchester United is delighted to announce the arrival of forward Giuseppe Rossi from Parma.
Rossi, who was born in New Jersey, America, and played for Parma's Under-19 side, also plays for the Italian Under-19 international team.
another promising youngster signed after pique....but only 16yr old...how long will we hav to wait before b4 seeing him in action....at least for another 3yr when he is 19....
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=79192&itype=466&icategoryid=123
http://united.no/data/images//gettyimages/2004-2005/stock/rossi_g.jpg
We now have Rossi and Pique as an additional youngsters.Not to mention Dong-Fangzhou,K.richardson,Fletcher,Miller,Djemba, Kleberson, Ronaldo.........................the list goes on and on.
Bright future ahead. :D
RuMmYtUb
07-07-2004, 02:47 AM
:laugh:
Really got american face
guoquanyap
07-07-2004, 02:49 AM
wow so handsome....:o
Jass_02
07-07-2004, 02:57 AM
wow so handsome....:o
gay arhz :alien: :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
07-07-2004, 03:01 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02
:alien: :alien:
vivre
07-07-2004, 11:04 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Ronaldo7
07-07-2004, 01:00 PM
Rio Set For Liverpool Comeback
6/7/04 9:00 AM
Rio Ferdinand is all set to make his return from suspension in front of a television audience of millions - against Liverpool at Old Trafford.
The comeback, which is highly reminiscent of Eric Cantona's return from suspension in 1995 against the same opposition, has transpired in the latest batch of 2004/05 fixture switches.
United were originally scheduled to face Liverpool on September 18, but the game has been moved back 48 hours to September 20, the date when Ferdinand's ban expires.
Meanwhile, games at Old Trafford against Everton and Middlesbrough as well as United's visit to Anfield have all seen their dates and/or kick-off times altered.
:evil:
goaheadbingostan
07-07-2004, 02:07 PM
any latest news on rio? thank you. :)
GOAL.com caught up with young Spanish rising-star Gerard Pique for an exclusive interview. The former Barca prospect, now a Manchester United player, had harsh words for his former club. This is the first time Pique has addressed the media regarding his controversial departure from Nou Camp.
Goal: Your defection from Barcelona to Manchester United has caused quite a stir in the media as of late. After spending ten years with Barcelona, was leaving them a difficult decision for you to make?
Pique: Yes, clearly it was. I started playing in the Barcelona youth teams at the age of seven. However, I don’t regret my decision to leave and I am very happy to be at Manchester United.
Goal: What made you leave Barcelona?
Pique: The directors at Barcelona. This year they treated me very poorly. When they found out that I had been in contact with Manchester United and Arsenal regarding my future, they benched me for two months. I wanted to stay at
Barca but they were offering me a seven-year deal and I only wanted five, so we clearly did not see eye-to-eye on a number of issues.
Goal: If the club was treating you so badly, why did they all of a sudden want to sign you so badly in March?
Pique: I don’t know why. But to tell you the truth, I don’t think they wanted me that badly otherwise they would have offered me a new contract several months ago. But only they know the real answer to that question.
Goal: What do you think about some of the other talented Barca youngsters? Like Leonel Messi for example.
Pique: He is a great player, with a great future but perhaps not with Barcelona. He plays in the same area of the park as Ronaldinho and Iniesta and now with the purchase of Deco, Messi’s future at the club is looking a little uncertain. I just hope they don’t treat him as badly as they treated me. As things stand right now, I don’t think he can make it in Barca’s first team.
Goal: Now that you are a Manchester player, how does it feel?
Pique: It feels great. I am very excited at the prospect of this new challenge.
Goal: What did Alex Ferguson say to you upon your arrival at the club?
Pique: He came across as a very nice man. We took photos together for the media and he treated me with respect. He told me not to worry about anything and to work hard and that he is counting on me to become a part of the clubs’ future. He said that if I work hard, in a few years I’ll be in the first team.
Goal: Have you left the door open for a possible return to Barca?
Pique: In this sport, anything is possible. I have a contract with Manchester for five years and I plan to honour this contract. But under Barca’s current management, I would never return. But as of right now, I am focused on Manchester United and performing to the best of my ability for this club.
http://www.goal.com/NewsDetail.aspx?idNews=8570
uRiZEn
07-07-2004, 04:41 PM
that guy in the pic is Rossi?
man man i cant wait for the next CM.:D
Gonna groom a kickass team.
Dong FangZhou is more of a merchanise buy i feel to have the China population feel for Man U.
But who knows maybe this kiddo can be the Dong FangBuBai for Man U.:laugh:
Alienz
07-07-2004, 04:55 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
that guy in the pic is Rossi?
man man i cant wait for the next CM.:D
Gonna groom a kickass team.
Dong FangZhou is more of a merchanise buy i feel to have the China population feel for Man U.
But who knows maybe this kiddo can be the Dong FangBuBai for Man U.:laugh:
lolx..... think he had one of the skills in Shaolin Soccer ;)
RuMmYtUb
07-07-2004, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by Alienz
lolx..... think he had one of the skills in Shaolin Soccer ;)
:laugh: :laugh:
Little is known in England about United's £7million signing from Paris Saint Germain, Gabriel Heinze.
Desperate to find out more, ManUtd.com fired some questions at PSG fan Julien Dao Duc. His answers make for mouth-watering reading...
What are Gabriel Heinze's best attributes?
He is tough. He's a real hard guy who isn't afraid of tackling hard, however he's not often carded. He was sent off twice during his first year at PSG but in the two years that followed he was never sent off. He's almost unbeatable in one-on-one situations and he's got good aerial ability. But I think his best attribute is his desire to win and willingness to fight for victory until the game is over. He never gives up!
I remember a game this year, PSG against Troyes, where we were entering the extra time of the second half, and nobody believed we could win this game except him. He scored a Platini-like free-kick from 30 metres, and PSG finally won 3-2. He has what the Argentinians call "grinta". He's a rock in defence. He wasn't really involved in the offensive play last year, but in the first year at PSG, he used to play as a left midfielder, and he made some damn good crosses! I can only see him becoming a fans' favourite at Manchester United.
So Gabriel's a free-kick taker then. Should we expect a few goals from him?
He never really had the chance to take free-kicks regularly, with Ronaldinho being in the team. But at the end of the third season, he started to take some free-kicks, and I have to say that some of them were great shots. He doesn't score many goals, as he isn't really involved in offensive play, but the goals that he scores are very important. I mentioned the Troyes game, and in the second season PSG were trailing at home to their rivals Marseille 1-0. He scored the equaliser and then PSG won the game.
Where do you expect him to fit in to the United team, and at whose expense?
I think that Heinze has been recruited to be in the starting 11. Although he's left-sided, he always claimed a slot in central defence, so I would see a central defence of Ferdinand and Heinze, with Silvestre on the left.
"We all regret the loss of Heinze more than the loss of Ronaldinho. Heinze became the idol of many Parisiens and was a legend at PSG. He has always been loyal to the club, and nobody blames him for leaving. We're all happy that he could go to Manchester United, because he deserves to play for one of the three best clubs in the world."
PSG fan Julien Dao Duc on Gabriel Heinze
Is Heinze similar to any other players we know?
The only players that I can compare Heinze with are Davids (Holland) and Gattuso (Italy). They all play very aggressively. Furthermore both Gattuso and Heinze have "l'amour du maillot", which means "the love of the shirt." They will die for their colours.
What do PSG fans think about losing Heinze?
We all regret the loss of Heinze more than the loss of Ronaldinho. Ronaldinho left Paris with an image of a mercenary. Heinze will be remembered as a warrior, maybe the one who fought the most for the club during the last 3 years. He was the most beloved player of the squad, more than Pauleta or Ronaldinho. He was the real Prince of the Parc des Princes.
He has been cast as a difficult character for managers to deal with. Is this fair?
Not really. In fact those stories came out because PSG wouldn't let him leave at the beginning of the season, so he was a little bit upset. But he's very loyal to the team he's playing for and I can't see him making trouble at United.
Is Heinze the man to improve United's defence?
It was a very good idea to recruit Gabriel Heinze. He will make the United defence a lot stronger, and I hardly imagine United letting in many goals with Ferdinand and Heinze. While United could have bought players like Samuel and Bouma, Heinze is less famous but just as talented. He is a true jewel.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=78936&itype=466&icategoryid=156
uRiZEn
07-07-2004, 11:36 PM
If that is really true then its gd news.
But i just cant keep my mind off his tackle on ronaldo in the recent WC Qualifiers which Brazil won 3-1?or was it 3-0?
Anyway the one with 3pk awarded to brazil.
guoquanyap
08-07-2004, 12:29 AM
If that is really true then its gd news.
But i just cant keep my mind off his tackle on ronaldo in the recent WC Qualifiers which Brazil won 3-1?or was it 3-0?
Anyway the one with 3pk awarded to brazil.
3-0 and heniz was blamed for all the 3 goals in one way or another....maybe gonna watch him in action later this morning....and see wat he is abt....
it was 3-1, Sorin score a consolation goal for Argentina. Well a tad unfair to judge him on 1 match alone.
later at 8.35am watch him, then we see. ;)
orca_sea
08-07-2004, 01:09 AM
Heard tat Kleberson kenna injury during training.. would b available for Brazil for the 1st match against Chile...
Alienz
08-07-2004, 01:14 AM
Heard tat Kleberson kenna injury during training.. would b available for Brazil for the 1st match against Chile...
ya he kena injury during his training
Source (http://sg.sports.yahoo.com/040707/3/3lj4c.html)
know already, thankfully I heard it isn't too serious.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=79224&itype=466&icategoryid=120
I made a new signature of our new signings. :D
http://img30.photobucket.com/albums/v91/soccerbest/Signature3.jpg
Ronaldo7
08-07-2004, 08:03 AM
Originally posted by RVN
but in the first year at PSG, he used to play as a left midfielder, and he made some damn good crosses! I can only see him becoming a fans' favourite at Manchester United.
giggs better watch out :laugh: i think Fergie is most likely to play him on the left side of defence & not in the centre :rolleyes:
RVN : nice sig :)
wadeva_lah
08-07-2004, 12:02 PM
is forlan gonna go or wad?
nobody confident enuf to sign him? hmm...
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
is forlan gonna go or wad?
nobody confident enuf to sign him? hmm...
He can't be sold yet cos he is playing in Copa America. But it be hard to find a buyer that want him cos he is ****. :rolleyes:
Neville: United can bounce back (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,855188,00.html)
Kleberson bemoans injuries that disrupt him (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=79517&itype=466&icategoryid=120)
United tracking a youth goalkeeper (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1142097,00.html)
Originally posted by RVN
I made a new signature of our new signings. :D
http://img30.photobucket.com/albums/v91/soccerbest/Signature3.jpg
nice!!! :)
RuMmYtUb
08-07-2004, 08:12 PM
Nice, but abit too reddy.. :D
guoquanyap
08-07-2004, 11:01 PM
damn impress w heniz arieal abitily.....he can jump damn high man....will help us greatly since we conceed so many headers last season.....
guoquanyap
09-07-2004, 12:13 AM
New signing Liam Miller is delighted to finally be a Manchester United player. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=79776&itype=466&icategoryid=120)
hope u will be the nx keano....;)
orca_sea
09-07-2004, 02:54 AM
New signing Liam Miller is delighted to finally be a Manchester United player. (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=79776&itype=466&icategoryid=120)
hope u will be the nx keano....;)
Yah veri true..hope his talent will blossom in time to take over Keano when he retires fr top flight football
cutter
09-07-2004, 07:16 AM
nb... when i first read about Utd's surprise signing of an Italy and Parma youth striker I thought what.... :bounce: Gilardino sign.... ho seh liao...
....then saw some unknown name :confused: ....cheh... another FT for the Man Utd academy to educate...not ready for action yet... =p
Ronaldo7
09-07-2004, 09:36 AM
Our new training kit (http://www.kitbag.com/stores/manutd/products/product_browse.aspx?cid=2282&brf=mutlmb-us)
kinda similar to the kit for the US tour ? :rolleyes:
and btw , have we sign rooney ? knn . can't find the news anywhere :mad:
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
Our new training kit (http://www.kitbag.com/stores/manutd/products/product_browse.aspx?cid=2282&brf=mutlmb-us)
Cos we haven't signed him nor have we make any move for him contrary to what windowsXP is saying. :rolleyes:
Natas7
09-07-2004, 12:21 PM
According to reports, is that ManU haven't made any offer yet.
RuMmYtUb
09-07-2004, 03:57 PM
Eeyer, reminds me of Barca's away jersey 2 seasons ago
:mad: :mad: :mad: :(
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has conceded the club are lightweights in the transfer market compared to Chelsea.
Thanks to Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich, the Londoners have money to burn in a bid to take the Premiership title.
United, however, have boosted their squad this summer with the arrivals of Gabriel Heinze, Alan Smith and Liam Miller.
There is also speculation they may yet move for 18-year-old striker Wayne Rooney.
Gill knows though that when push comes to shove Chelsea have the larger financial muscle.
'Manchester United over the years has always been a club with the ability to spend large amounts of money in the transfer market, on players like Ruud van Nistelrooy and Rio Ferdinand,' he told the Manchester Evening News.
'We do have the power and the financial muscle to compete effectively in the transfer market.
'But let's be honest, if we're up against Chelsea and they desperately want a player, they will probably outbid us.'
Gill added: 'They can't get every player. In a straight fight with them, we may lose out.
'That's why our (scouting) network needs to be good so we can identify the other player. If they (Chelsea) have got their number one priority, we can go for the other guy.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=304791&cc=4716
greycat87
09-07-2004, 08:26 PM
it is the kit for the us tour
UNITED could have a player personnel crisis on their hands for their pre-season tour to America.
Upwards of 14 recognised first team squad members may miss the three-match trip to Chicago, Philadelphia and New York.
The Reds fly out to the States on July 21, and will meet Bayern Munich in Chicago on July 25 and Celtic in Philadelphia on July 28, before concluding the Champions World Series trip against AC Milan in New York on July 31.
But Sir Alex Ferguson has a selection headache on his hands over international commitments and injuries for more than half of his squad this summer.
All the Euro 2004 participants may struggle to fit in the month-long break Fergie wants them to have before returning for training with the Reds if they have to go to America.
Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo went all the way to the Lisbon final on July 4, which would give him just 16 days holiday before United jet to the USA. So the winger is set to miss the tour.
Ruud van Nistelrooy made the semi-finals with Holland and went home just five days before Ronaldo, and he, too, is likely to have to forego the American adventure this time.
Time out
The Reds' England contingent of Paul Scholes, Gary Neville, Phil Neville and Nicky Butt - subject to a possible move to Newcastle - were knocked out in the quarter- finals on June 24, and will be short of a four-week summer breather if they travel across the pond.
Similarly, United's French duo of Mikael Silvestre and Louis Saha were on duty just 24 hours longer before being KO'd in the last eight.
Meanwhile, Fergie has three of his South American seniors currently doing battle in Peru in the Copa America.
New £7m signing Gabriel Heinze is away with Argentina; Kleberson missed Brazil's Copa America opener with Chile yesterday because of injury but remains in Peru; and Diego Forlan is with Uruguay in the tournament.
All three will have group matches until the middle of next week at least, and if they progress could be on duty in South America until July 25 - the date of the final, when the Reds will open their tour in Chicago.
John O'Shea has had a knee operation during the summer and is a major doubt for the tour, and Eric Djemba Djemba was injured during a World Cup qualifier for Cameroon against the Ivory Coast this week and may also be sidelined.
With Rio Ferdinand serving his suspension and banned from playing in America, it leaves potentially 14 players unavailable for United's opening pre-season preparations.
Tim Howard, Roy Carroll, Quinton Fortune, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, David Bellion, Darren Fletcher and Wes Brown - plus new signings Alan Smith and Liam Miller - appear to be the only first teamers definitely clear to go.
The four-match tour last July was a huge success for United, and manager Sir Alex Ferguson rated the pre-season preparations in America the best-ever, with training facilities first class.
It saw United get off to a flier in the Premiership. But this summer Fergie's plans look to be in turmoil.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/123/123575_uniteds_us_crisis.html
Damm. sia liao, going to play reserves players. :( :mad:
guoquanyap
09-07-2004, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by RVN
York on July 31.
lskjaer, Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, David Bellion, Darren Fletcher and Wes Brown - plus new signings Alan Smith and Liam Miller - appear to be the only first teamers definitely clear to go.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/123/123575_uniteds_us_crisis.html
Damm. sia liao, going to play reserves players. :( :mad:
on the other hand it's gd as we got to rest our first team and let the newcomer and 2nd string to show wat they can do....
Ya, they need break or else they be worn out, they only be going over there for the publicity anyway. :D
guoquanyap
09-07-2004, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ya, they need break or else they be worn out, theyd only be going over there for the publicity anyway. :D
but u will tear up ur tix to the match or bang ur head if u know most of the stars are not even present ( applied to non-hardcore fans ).....:D
most of the match will be in the morning singapore time rite? anyone know whether chn 5 or scv going to boardcast? i already applied leave liao....:D
Ch3tah_39
09-07-2004, 10:55 PM
on the other hand it's gd as we got to rest our first team and let the newcomer and 2nd string to show wat they can do....
YA.. agree..
furthermore, euro had just finsihed not long ago..:)
Ronaldo7
09-07-2004, 11:04 PM
can't wait to see smith in action :evil:
RuMmYtUb
10-07-2004, 12:40 AM
Wah sian, no more wonderkids coming in :(
guoquanyap
10-07-2004, 12:43 AM
Wah sian, no more wonderkids coming in :(
:confused: :confused:
Pic of our new home kit and GK kit unveiled. :D
http://img50.photobucket.com/albums/v154/kizinho/homekit.jpg
RuMmYtUb
10-07-2004, 06:48 AM
Wah not nice ler.... i thought ours was the one with armour plate like ?
Thought the ones similar to Portugal and Holland ??
beckz11
10-07-2004, 08:19 AM
Wah not nice ler.... i thought ours was the one with armour plate like ?
Thought the ones similar to Portugal and Holland ??
it is..
but only tt it is not outlined by white colour...
Ronaldo7
10-07-2004, 03:16 PM
Man Utd cool on Rooney
Manchester United will not be making a move for Everton striker Wayne Rooney, according to Sir Bobby Charlton.
Rooney has been repeatedly linked with a £35m move following his superb performances for England at Euro 2004.
"I think he's quite happy at Everton and I don't see any reason why he shouldn't stay there," said Charlton.
"At the moment Alex (Ferguson) has not come to us demanding: 'Let's have Wayne Rooney'. We are quite satisfied with what we've got."
Charlton, a director at Old Trafford, backed comments from the club's chief executive David Gill that they have to be prudent in the transfer market.
"Wayne Rooney is a great player, but he's not our player," Charlton told MUTV.
"David Gill has already said that Wayne is not for us. We have long-term plans and we are a bit careful, we don't just throw money away."
Man Utd cool on Rooney
Manchester United will not be making a move for Everton striker Wayne Rooney, according to Sir Bobby Charlton.
Rooney has been repeatedly linked with a £35m move following his superb performances for England at Euro 2004.
"I think he's quite happy at Everton and I don't see any reason why he shouldn't stay there," said Charlton.
"At the moment Alex (Ferguson) has not come to us demanding: 'Let's have Wayne Rooney'. We are quite satisfied with what we've got."
Charlton, a director at Old Trafford, backed comments from the club's chief executive David Gill that they have to be prudent in the transfer market.
"Wayne Rooney is a great player, but he's not our player," Charlton told MUTV.
"David Gill has already said that Wayne is not for us. We have long-term plans and we are a bit careful, we don't just throw money away."
Not suprise, we never needed him, definately not for £35m quoted. :alien: :rolleyes:
Saha, Smith, Solskjaer, Ruud, thats enough for me. :)
greycat87
10-07-2004, 07:00 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Pic of our new home kit and GK kit unveiled. :D
http://img50.photobucket.com/albums/v154/kizinho/homekit.jpg
cant wait to buy the new home kit :D
orca_sea
10-07-2004, 07:06 PM
cant wait to buy the new home kit :D
Haiz dun like the new kit leh.. seems quite ugly wif such big nike sign at the side... haiz..:(
guoquanyap
11-07-2004, 12:32 AM
Haiz dun like the new kit leh.. seems quite ugly wif such big nike sign at the side... haiz..:(
ok lah...not bad mah....nike paid us millions of dollar leh...wat u expect...:alien:
LiquidSilver
11-07-2004, 12:45 AM
Ruud just got married
Wedding (http://editorial.gettyimages.com/source/cfw/FrameSet.aspx?s=EventImagesSearchState|1|15|1|51039276|0|0|0|0||0|0&p=7&pk=4)
uRiZEn
11-07-2004, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by LiquidSilver
Ruud just got married
Wedding (http://editorial.gettyimages.com/source/cfw/FrameSet.aspx?s=EventImagesSearchState|1|15|1|51039276|0|0|0|0||0|0&p=7&pk=4)
WOLS
Ch3tah_39
11-07-2004, 07:07 AM
new kit looks nice worr..
Ch3tah_39
11-07-2004, 07:49 AM
WOOT FORLAN JUST SCORED THE FIRST GOAL IN COPA AMERICA!!
WAT A NICE GOAL!!:D
Congratalation to Ruud. :D
That goal by Forlan was awesome, a 25-yard cracker. :bounce:
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1176849.jpg
Manchester United star Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is ready to repay Sir Alex Ferguson's faith in him next season, despite the increased competition for places at Old Trafford.
Injuries decimated the Norwegian star's last campaign, but he was delighted with the patience that his club showed - and is keen to prove his worth in the coming campaign.
"It meant a lot for me that Sir Alex Ferguson showed me trust and gave me time to come back," Solskjaer told Dagbladet.
"I never made unrealistic targets for myself. We have 25 great players at United, so there was no need to rush it.
"I really want to come back better than ever when it goes bad. I want to prove that I can be better.
"Everyone must handle things going against them, it's then you get to see what people are made of.
"I want to play an important role for United this season. It's up for me to get in good shape. If I play well, I also play many games. I like that all is up to me."
Solksjaer is pleased with the arrival of Alan Smith - although it makes competition for places a little harder.
"I'm glad that he plays for us and not against us. Do I need to say more?" he added.
"Of course the players are hungry to win back the title. It was sore for us when Arsenal won the Premiership.
"Football needs mental strength and concentration. We fell a bit down and that was enough. It's minor things that divide the best from the second best and we need to be 100 percent."
http://msn.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1142538,00.html
Ronaldo7
11-07-2004, 11:14 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Congratalation to Ruud. :D
That goal by Forlan was awesome, a 25-yard cracker. :bounce:
he usually plays better for his country than for us thou :(
greycat87
11-07-2004, 11:22 AM
i feel that its much more nicer than the old one leh
beckz11
11-07-2004, 01:44 PM
i feel that its much more nicer than the old one leh
same sentiments :D
RuMmYtUb
11-07-2004, 01:59 PM
Agreed..
he's crap for us :(
orca_sea
11-07-2004, 02:09 PM
Yah true.. mayb he feels more confident in playing for his country than for us.. he always fumble n machiam like kan cheong spider like tat.. haiz.. :(
Ronaldo7
11-07-2004, 07:29 PM
rooney autograph on united kit :eek:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=27289&item=5107683668&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW
EMRE FOR MAN U
By Martin Rogers
Inter Milan midfielder Emre is set to join Manchester United in a £8.75million deal next week after the Italian giants signed Dutch midfielder Edgar Davids.
Emre supported United as a youngster, while his wife's family live in the area.
Only last week the Inter midfielder revealed he was poised to commit to a new four-year deal at the San Siro. But last night Inter president Giachinto Facchetti said he would not stand in Emre's way.
The 26-year-old Turkish international only cost Inter just over £2million three years ago and they feel it could be better to cash in rather than lose the player on a Bosman free transfer in 12 months' time.
The high wages handed to new arrivals Edgar Davids and Juan Sebastian Veron annoyed Emre, who felt he should command just as much. Inter offered him around £55,000 a week.
Facchetti said: "I don't want to lose Emre, but everybody has their price.".
vivre
11-07-2004, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN
EMRE FOR MAN U
Which website did U get this from?
Seals
11-07-2004, 08:50 PM
nsnt
uRiZEn
11-07-2004, 09:18 PM
Where's the source?!?!??!
I have no idea, saw it in this site.
http://195.8.171.32/vb_forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=119019
orca_sea
11-07-2004, 10:10 PM
Originally posted by RVN
EMRE FOR MAN U
By Martin Rogers
Inter Milan midfielder Emre is set to join Manchester United in a £8.75million deal next week after the Italian giants signed Dutch midfielder Edgar Davids.
Emre supported United as a youngster, while his wife's family live in the area.
Only last week the Inter midfielder revealed he was poised to commit to a new four-year deal at the San Siro. But last night Inter president Giachinto Facchetti said he would not stand in Emre's way.
The 26-year-old Turkish international only cost Inter just over £2million three years ago and they feel it could be better to cash in rather than lose the player on a Bosman free transfer in 12 months' time.
The high wages handed to new arrivals Edgar Davids and Juan Sebastian Veron annoyed Emre, who felt he should command just as much. Inter offered him around £55,000 a week.
Facchetti said: "I don't want to lose Emre, but everybody has their price.".
I tink Emre will b veri gd :D
RuMmYtUb
11-07-2004, 10:47 PM
Yes! that's what we need, a creative central midfielder... added bonus, his AGRESSION!
orca_sea
12-07-2004, 01:10 PM
Yes! that's what we need, a creative central midfielder... added bonus, his AGRESSION!
I believe he machiam like WWE wrestler Chris Benoit..hahaha both hav alot of aggression :mad: hahahaha :laugh:
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
RuMmYtUb
12-07-2004, 04:21 PM
I love violent players in our squad like Keano and now got Smith... w00t
hope can secure Emre... EPL is ALL ABOUT AGRESSION!!! :D
beckz11
12-07-2004, 04:44 PM
after keano retire den get gattuso!! :D
Alan Smith and Liam Miller joined up with some of their new team-mates on Monday as Manchester United checked in for pre-season training.
However, many of United's senior squad were missing due to international duty and late summer holidays but Roy Carroll, Quinton Fortune, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, David Bellion, Darren Fletcher, Wes Brown and Rio Ferdinand were there to greet the newcomers.
greycat87
12-07-2004, 06:51 PM
Originally posted by beckz11
after keano retire den get gattuso!! :D
then after we get him then he also going to retire soon... if only gerrard will come... give him no. 4 :D
Ronaldo7
12-07-2004, 07:57 PM
is channel 5 showing the US tour ? :confused:
jujube
12-07-2004, 10:32 PM
Gattuso isnt that old right??
guoquanyap
12-07-2004, 10:51 PM
hopefully they do....
orca_sea
13-07-2004, 01:33 AM
Tatz wat the Devil's rage iz all abt.. hahaha:mad: :laugh: :laugh:
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has warned the Red Devils they must maintain their title drive right to the end of the new campaign.
The bulk of United’s squad returned to the club’s Carrington training ground for the start of pre-season training still burning with indignation at the abject surrender of their championship to Arsenal.
For the first time since the Premiership era began 11 years ago, United’s title aspirations were realistically over with two months of the season remaining following a horror run that saw them win just twice in eight games from the middle of January and also dumped them out of the Champions League.
Although Sir Alex Ferguson’s men managed to salvage some pride by clinching the FA Cup at Millwall’s expense in May, the trophy rates as a poor third to the major prizes and even if United were not to wrest the title back from Arsenal this term, Gill expects them to put up far more of a fight.
“You might not win the league every season but when we’ve lost it before, it’s been towards the end of the season,” Gill told www.manutd.com
“We need to be up there challenging into March, April and May. Then if you don’t win it, at least you’ve made a great race of it.
“We’ve got to get back to that. Winning the FA Cup was a great end to the season but what happened in the league was disappointing.
“We need to come out all guns blazing next season, so we get up there in the league and we reach the latter stages of the European Cup.”
Recent summer talk around Old Trafford has been dominated by the prospect of Wayne Rooney’s arrival from Everton.
Gill has already stated publicly the Red Devils do not have the money to seal such a huge transfer and that the arrivals of Alan Smith and Gabriel Heinze represent the end of incoming moves.
Heinze was not around to meet his new team-mates today as he is on international duty with Argentina in Copa America. It is Diego Forlan who has made the most stunning contribution in Peru though.
The Uruguayan’s thunderous strike against Ecuador may not be enough to salvage his United future, but it should guarantee some interest in the striker before the curtain opens on the new season.
With all the Euro 2004 contingent given extra time off and goalkeeper Tim Howard appearing for the United States last night in their 1-1 draw with Poland, Smith and fellow new recruit Liam Miller met only half their new team-mates as they went through their paces today.
There was also the return of an old face, with Carlos Queiroz back in the role of Ferguson’s assistant after his ill-fated year with Real Madrid.
Banned central defender Rio Ferdinand was also present, even though he will not be free from suspension until September 20.
The loss of Ferdinand for eight months following his failure to take a drugs test at Carrington last year has been cited in many quarters as one of the major reasons for the club’s stunning demise.
Gill does not disagree with the assertion, although he insisted the debacle could not have been handled much differently, even if there were plenty of lessons to be learned on all sides from the whole sorry saga.
“Losing Rio was a big blow,” he said.
“You don’t lose a £30million defender – one of the top defenders in European football and one of the best at the 2002 World Cup – without it hurting you. It would be stupid to say it didn’t.
“If you looked at our form before Rio was suspended, we had the best defence. We were sitting at the top of the league in very good shape and then the wheels fell off.
“I think Rio, the club and the FA would agree there are lessons to be learned.
“We clearly felt aggrieved at the way it came into the public domain much sooner than in any other case and clearly, if you look at some of the precedents on punishment, they were a lot less than the eight month ban Rio ended up with.
“But it’s important to note that the FA, both at the original hearing and at the appeal, were pushing for a 12 month sentence. So I think it’s difficult to know what the situation would have been (if Rio had admitted culpability).
“I do think the procedures that the FA are bringing in for discipline next season will be a great improvement and now we just have to put the matter behind us.
“Obviously we desperately want Rio back on September 20 as the world-class defender he is and to get on with our lives.”
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/07/12/story156723.html
Ronaldo7
13-07-2004, 07:41 AM
we must get back our title from arsenal :evil:
leo_llw
13-07-2004, 09:56 AM
we must get back our title from arsenal :evil:
hahahahaha... good luck den :D
Players in new training session for our new kit. :D
http://manutd.nease.net/album/new_kit_training_session.html
http://redsky99.spymac.net/misc/new_kit_training_session/11.jpg
ignoramus
13-07-2004, 02:00 PM
So far these players have joined us. what are everyone opinion on them. Star or Dud?
Alan Smith
Gabriel Heinze
Liam Miller
Giuseppe Rossi
Gerald Pique
Spock
13-07-2004, 03:31 PM
I Remember they did telecast last year
Alienz
13-07-2004, 04:35 PM
Originally posted by Spock
I Remember they did telecast last year
yah.... hope this year they will show it again....
Manchester United have hired top fitness coach Valter di Salvo to join Alex Ferguson’s Old Trafford backroom team.
The 40-year-old Italian, who worked with returning Red Devils assistant boss Carlos Queiroz at Real Madrid last season, was criticised by David Beckham for the England skipper’s lack of fitness during Euro 2004.
Beckham though appears to be in a minority when assessing di Salvo’s skills.
Di Salvo likes to use high-tech methods to measure fitness and will produce individual computerised programmes for every player.
The newcomer was at United’s Carrington training ground today and completes Ferguson’s coaching team for the new campaign, with Queiroz back alongside the long-serving Scot following his ill-fated year at the Bernabeu.
Meanwhile, Ferguson has confirmed he will provide a team to play in Stan Ternent’s testimonial on August 17.
The United boss revealed during the summer that he had agreed to supply the opposition for the benefit match his old friend was awarded by Burnley when he stood down as manager at Turf Moor at the end of the season.
However, the Red Devils side will be shorn of a number of key players because of international commitments during that week.
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/07/13/story156788.html
guoquanyap
13-07-2004, 05:35 PM
finally we prise someone away fr real marid....:D hope he will do wonder to all the fitness of our players....:D
guoquanyap
13-07-2004, 05:37 PM
Originally posted by ignoramus
So far these players have joined us. what are everyone opinion on them. Star or Dud?
Alan Smith
Gabriel Heinze
Liam Miller
Giuseppe Rossi
Gerald Pique
stars in making...milner henize and smith will contriube greatly to the side in term of attacking an defending....well balance i should say...
MatrixFanatic
13-07-2004, 06:34 PM
Alan Smith
Gabriel Heinze
Liam Miller
Giuseppe Rossi
Gerald Pique
All stars!=p
Oh **** Heinze could be in the olympic as well, no Heinze and Ronaldo for the start of the season. :mad:
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1142959,00.html
Ch3tah_39
13-07-2004, 10:34 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Oh **** Heinze could be in the olympic as well, no Heinze and Ronaldo for the start of the season. :mad:
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1142959,00.html
witout ronaldo is not really gd..
but witout heinze is okie.. man utd hav back rio lerr.... wes is also there, so not much problem..
Ronaldo7
13-07-2004, 11:07 PM
rio will only return in sept :(
Alienz
13-07-2004, 11:07 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
witout ronaldo is not really gd..
but witout heinze is okie.. man utd hav back rio lerr.... wes is also there, so not much problem..
agree.... we need Ronaldo badly :mad:
Sep 20 to be exact. :(
still got G Neville, Brown, Silvestre and O'Shea.
but still it very disrupting for us if we lose Ronaldo and Heinze for the month of August due to that crappy olympic tournament. :mad:
guoquanyap
13-07-2004, 11:41 PM
confirm ronaldo going olymipic meh?
pickupball
14-07-2004, 03:26 AM
:mad:
ignoramus
14-07-2004, 09:23 AM
confirm ronaldo going olymipic meh?
i guess so due to his age....he probably be damn tired when return to us....after the league, euro04 then olympic, then EPL again...
He get burn-out at this rate, damm it. :mad:
guoquanyap
14-07-2004, 09:55 AM
in that case most likely he will be during mid sept.....after rest, can only start during late october or even NOv....:mad: :o
Ronaldo7
14-07-2004, 01:46 PM
Brown aims to steer clear of injury
Manchester United defender Wes Brown is desperately hoping for an injury-free run that would give him a chance to realise his true talent.
Brown found himself in the firing line last term as the Red Devils' critics looked for the reasons behind the club's dramatic Premiership fade out.
Following a serious knee injury, Brown struggled in place of the banned Rio Ferdinand before coming good as United won the FA Cup.
Brown returned for pre-season training on Monday, eager to build on that highlight but facing a fresh battle for his first team place following the £8m arrival of Argentinian defender Gabriel Heinze.
But with Ferdinand not due to return to action until 20 September, Brown has a golden opportunity to cement a position in Alex Ferguson's first choice defence.
And he is confident that if his body stands up to the strain, he will be able to fight off all the challengers.
"My injuries have always stopped me achieving something," he told Manchester United magazine.
"It's always halted my progress for six or eight months at a time.
"But you just have to keep your head up and believe in yourself and keep working."
Ch3tah_39
14-07-2004, 04:58 PM
oic... not that bad..
Alienz
14-07-2004, 05:01 PM
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has confirmed no player will leave Old Trafford without the agreement of Sir Alex Ferguson.
There has been widespread speculation that there could be a cull of the Red Devils squad in order to fund a possible bid for Everton's teenage superstar Wayne Rooney.
The futures of Nicky Butt, Diego Forlan, Kleberson, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and David Bellion have all be questioned, even if the rabid speculation surrounding Ruud van Nistelrooy's future has now subsided.
United have consistently denied they are in the market for the 18-year-old England international and Gill has reiterated his statement that the club do not have a limitless budget with which to launch a bid for Rooney.
But Gill did confirm that if anyone leaves Old Trafford this summer, for whatever reason, Ferguson's agreement will be required.
"Sir Alex and his scouts identify the players and then it is a matter of saying what is the best use of our funds," Gill told MUTV.
"Unlike some other clubs, we do not have a limitless budget. We have a limit on our funds as any sensible business has.
"It is a balancing act but ultimately no player comes or leaves without the manager's approval."
Alienz
14-07-2004, 05:09 PM
Manchester United may be without new defender Gabriel Heinze for the start of the season because the Argentine could be playing in the Olympics.
Heinze, 25, has been named in his country's provisional squad for Athens.
And should he be selected for the final 18, he would miss the Community Shield, the first four Premiership games and the Champions League qualifier.
That would give United a defensive crisis with Rio Ferdinand banned until September and John O'Shea injured.
O'Shea has already been ruled out of the club's tour of the United States, which begins next week.
Heinze, who signed from Paris St Germain for £6.9m last month, is currently playing for Argentina in the Copa America.
It was expected he would be overlooked for the Olympics as the rules state only three players in each side can be over 23-years-old.
Now United boss Sir Alex Ferguson faces a nervous wait to see if Argentina boss Marcelo Bielsa chooses Heinze as one of his over-age contingent.
United have already lost Portuguese winger Cristiano Ronaldo to the Olympics and the absence of Heinze would be a major blow.
Alienz
14-07-2004, 07:42 PM
GABRIEL WILL BE AN ANGEL
MANCHESTER United’s £6.9m new defender Gabriel Heinze has hit back at the ‘bad boy’ slurs from his former club and assured Sir Alex Ferguson he’ll be an angel. Paris St Germain coach Luis Hernandez has claimed the Argentinian was a disruptive influence in the dressing at the French club and only trained on his own terms. But the 26-year-old, who has been called into Argentina’s Olympic Squad for the Athens Games in August and September and is currently on Copa America duty, said: “People have said many things about me in the past.
“They say that I am a player who makes things difficult for the manager." “But this is a dream for me and when I go to Manchester I will use my energy in the right way for the football club." “I still cannot believe I am a Manchester United player. It’s every footballer’s dream.“
Originally posted by Alienz
The futures of Nicky Butt, Diego Forlan, Kleberson, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and David Bellion have all be questioned, even if the rabid speculation surrounding Ruud van Nistelrooy's future has now subsided.
I'm getting sick and tired of journalists mentioning Solskjaer, Bellion and Kleb as possible transfers out of OT. I'd bet, if you asked the journalists, why exactly they've done so, you'd get a piss-poor answer, like 'they haven't succeeded', or 'they'll never get into the team/they're frinqe squad players' :mad:
guoquanyap
14-07-2004, 11:22 PM
hmmm...so far no one has leave yet which a gd sign to keep everyone together and keep the morale high.....
MANCHESTER United have found themselves in the transfer frame over speculation linking Javier Saviola with a switch to the Premiership.
Reports in Spain say that an unnamed English club are in talks with Barcelona about a possible move for the Argentine hitman.
And United are firm favourites, according to the Spanish press, to be the club currently targeting the striker.
Although a favourite son of the Nou Camp, Saviola's bumper £2.5m a year pay packet is proving a burden on the financially troubled giant, and they are looking to either move him on or have him take a pay cut.
The 22-year-old is highly regarded as one of the best strikers in Europe, although whether or not he is a United target or just the subject of paper talk by the Spanish press will remain to be seen.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/123/123962_saviola_linked_with_reds_switch.html
doubt it as we have loads of striker.
RuMmYtUb
15-07-2004, 12:02 AM
We need midfielder man.. but gotta offload players b4 anymore additional players..
We don't need anymore striker, We do need a winger cos we are short in that department especially Ronaldo going to the olympics. :mad:
orca_sea
15-07-2004, 12:24 AM
Originally posted by RVN
We don't need anymore striker, We do need a winger cos we are short in that department especially Ronaldo going to the olympics. :mad:
tink French player Jerome Rothen of PSG can be a worthy candidate :D
guoquanyap
15-07-2004, 01:35 AM
tink French player Jerome Rothen of PSG can be a worthy candidate :D
he already rejected us by going to psg....:rolleyes:
guoquanyap
15-07-2004, 02:09 AM
read this
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=80676&itype=466&icategoryid=156
orca_sea
15-07-2004, 04:07 AM
he already rejected us by going to psg....:rolleyes:
Sori bro didnt know tat.. thx for info.. dun know y he choose PSG instead of us leh.. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :confused:
ignoramus
15-07-2004, 08:51 AM
which player will leave? forlan? butt? dun wan butt to leave though:(
Sori bro didnt know tat.. thx for info.. dun know y he choose PSG instead of us leh.. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :confused:
He say he is a PSG fan. :rolleyes:
PeterPan
15-07-2004, 12:54 PM
confirm first 11 lah thats why......at MU he got to wait behind giggs.....most prob be a bench warmer only.
Now Everton after Butt
Everton's failure to lure Robbie Savage from Birmingham could see the Goodison Park side renew their interest in out-of-favour Manchester United midfielder Nicky Butt.
Butt was expected to join Newcastle last week after indicating he had finally decided to bring his time at Old Trafford to an end.
However, the Tynesiders are seemingly unwilling to commit to United's £5million asking price and Butt's estimated £2million-a-year salary.
Everton may also baulk at the asking price but manager David Moyes is under pressure to prove to star striker Wayne Rooney that he can match the England star's huge ambition and, as Old Trafford legend Denis Irwin observed, Butt may need to move on to boost his flagging career.
"It's time for Nicky to consider where he is going," Irwin told MUTV.
"He might have gone in January but he obviously felt he needed more time."
The one problem for Everton is that any inquiry for Butt is bound to raise the prospect of the 29-year-old becoming a makeweight in a Rooney switch to Old Trafford, which remains an outside possibility even though United insiders insist they do not have the cash to complete such a huge deal.
orca_sea
15-07-2004, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN
He say he is a PSG fan. :rolleyes:
Haiz then tatz too bad.. goin to a club tat dun hav much prospect in Europe..mi 2cts thgt.. hope he will consider it again after 1 season hahaha :laugh: :laugh:
Alienz
15-07-2004, 07:09 PM
Lynch joins Sunderland
Sunderland have snapped up Manchester United full back Mark Lynch on a
three-year contract.
The young defender will unfortunately be best remembered by many Old
Trafford fans for scoring an own goal in the UEFA Champions League
against Deportivo La Coruna.
The 22-year-old, who had a loan stint at St Johnstone during his United
career, has decided the time is right to leave the FA Cup winners
although it was understandably difficult to leave his hometown club.
Sir Alex Ferguson has allowed the right back, a regular in the reserve
team last term, to head to the North East.
"It's always a wrench to leave a club like United but I thought the time
was right and the gaffer said it was okay for me to move on," Lynch told
Sunderland's official website.
"There was other interest but I wanted to sign for Sunderland.
Transfers/Loans In 2004/05
Carlos Queiroz(Assistant Manager) (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=66221&itype=466&icategoryid=123) from Real Madrid - Free
Valter di Salvo(Fitness Coach) (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=81194&itype=466&icategoryid=120) from Real Madrid - Free
Alan Smith (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=64749&itype=466&icategoryid=123) from Leeds United - £7,000,000
Gabriel Heinze (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=69912&itype=466&icategoryid=123) from Paris Saint-Germain - £6,900,000
Gerard Piqué Bernabéu (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=77749&itype=466&icategoryid=123) from FC Barcelona - Undisclosed
Giuseppe Rossi (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=79192&itype=466&icategoryid=123) from AC Parma - Undisclosed
Liam Miller (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsID=51090&itype=&iCategoryID=) from Glasgow Celtic - Free
Transfers/Loans Out 2004/05
Mark Lynch (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=81546&itype=466&icategoryid=120) - Free
Walter Smith(Assistant Manager) (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=64758&itype=466&icategoryid=0) - Free
Michael Stewart (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=78914&itype=466&icategoryid=120) to Glasgow Rangers - Free
Ben Williams (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/crewe_alexandra/3779341.stm) to Crewe Alexandra - Free
Neil Wood (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/coventry_city/3878201.stm) to Coventry City - Free
James Jowsey (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/rushden_and_diamonds/3860023.stm) to Rushden & Diamonds - Free
Daniel Pugh (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsID=65422&itype=&iCategoryID=0) to Leeds United - Exchange
Eddie Johnson (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/coventry_city/3890825.stm) to Coventry City - Loan
Dong Fangzhou (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsID=51367&itype=&iCategoryID=) to Royal Antwerp - Loan
Arthur Gomez (xxx) to Royal Antwerp - Loan
Ronaldo7
15-07-2004, 08:02 PM
read this
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=80676&itype=466&icategoryid=156
maybe we will get to see him in action in the league cup
guoquanyap
15-07-2004, 11:47 PM
arghh...still dun know whether scv or chn5 will boardcast manu US tour or not....
Latest photo's from Carrington, also has Alan Smith in a Manchester United jersey. :D
Link (http://tinyurl.com/3vb9a)
Alienz
16-07-2004, 05:35 AM
O'SHEA STILL HOPEFUL OF TOUR PLACE
John O'Shea is hoping to be fit for Manchester United's pre-season tour of the United States even though he has not started full training yet.
The Irish defender required a knee operation earlier in the summer and seemed likely to miss the Red Devils' three-match programme, which includes games against Bayern Munich, Celtic and AC Milan.
O'Shea must still be regarded as an outside bet as he has been unable to get too involved in United's pre-season work which began on Monday.
With United not due to head out to their Philadelphia training base until next Wednesday, a final decision does not need to be made until early next week.
But even though the odds seem stacked against him, O'Shea remains optimistic of being on the flight.
"I haven't started back full training yet," he said.
"I am still recovering from the small operation I had and hopefully I'll join back in with the rest of the squad early next week.
"With a bit of luck, I will make the American tour but I'm not sure just yet."
O'Shea is eager to get on the trip and show manager Sir Alex Ferguson he is worthy of a place in his first-choice starting line-up next season.
The arrival of Argentinian hard man Gabriel Heinze from Paris St Germain provides more competition for his place, but with the new boy unlikely to join up with his new team-mates because of his current Copa America commitments and Rio Ferdinand still suspended, the trans-Atlantic trip represents a excellent early chance for O'Shea to stake his claim.
Either way, the Waterford-born star is confident United will meet the demand of chief executive David Gill and put up more of a fight in the Barclays Premiership title race this term.
By the end of the season, it appeared a vast gulf had opened between Ferguson's side and champions Arsenal, and with Chelsea also adding to their squad under new coach Jose Mourinho, some bookmakers have installed United as third favourites for the first time in over a decade.
The odds do not bother O'Shea though. He believes the two Premiership draws and an FA Cup semi-final win over Arsenal offer enough proof that the gap between the two sides is not as great as last season's league table seemed to indicate.
"What makes me confident is that we got good results and performed well against teams like Arsenal but let it slip against the so-called weaker teams," he said.
"We also let ourselves down in home games against sides in the middle of the table.
"If you look at our games against Arsenal last season, I don't think anyone could say there is that much between the teams.
"We should have beaten them at home but missed a penalty in injury-time, the league match at Highbury was fairly even and then we beat them in the semi at Villa Park, so although the gap was quite big at the end of the season, there is very little in it."
If O'Shea does not make the trip, United boss Sir Alex Ferguson could find himself short of options for the early stages of the tour as the members of his squad who took part in Euro 2004 have not returned for pre-season training either yet.
The departure of defender Mark Lynch to Sunderland reduces his squad still further, which means the likes of Paul Scholes, the Neville brothers and Nicky Butt - whose future at Old Trafford remains open to question - could yet find themselves making the journey, part of a hectic pre-season campaign which also includes the Vodafone Cup and the Community Shield clash with Arsenal on August 8, just four days before a vital Champions League qualifier.
MANCHESTER UNITED are ready to farm out £4million-rated Nicky Butt on loan — because no one wants to buy him.
The England midfielder has been told by boss Alex Ferguson he has no first-team future at Old Trafford.
Prospective moves to Birmingham, Newcastle and Middlesbrough have all fallen through and United are now prepared to sanction a season-long loan deal in a bid to open up the market for the player.
Ferguson has been against the idea of loaning his former youth-team starlet to a Premiership rival.
With hopes of cashing in on Butt dwindling, though,the United chief is now resigned to ditching the player on a temporary basis.
Bolton boss Sam Allardyce made a tentative enquiry, only to be scared off by Butt’s £35,000-a-week pay packet.
But Everton, Blackburn and Aston Villa are likely to enter the race if they can land the tough-tackling player on a basis that suits them.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004322160,00.html
Yueming
16-07-2004, 07:20 PM
Saviola for 10+ million damn good deal.......
Ronaldo7
16-07-2004, 11:54 PM
Saviola for 10+ million damn good deal.......
i think we got enough strikers already . Solskjaer , Smith , Saha , Forlan fighting for that one spot to partner Ruud :rolleyes: Don't think we need him at the moment IMO
guoquanyap
17-07-2004, 12:02 PM
cant wait to see those youngsters in action and prove wat they can do.....
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305147&cc=4716
jacqles
17-07-2004, 12:07 PM
And while the absence of so many established stars will make the games against Bayern Munich, Celtic and AC Milan so much tougher, Ferguson knows it also provides a golden opportunity for some of his younger players to stake a claim for a first-team shirt.
'Last season Darren Fletcher came through on the US tour and hopefully one or two will do the same this year,' Ferguson told MUTV.
If its gonna be of the same standard, I'd cry. :sad:
cant wait to see those youngsters in action and prove wat they can do.....
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305147&cc=4716
the 2 Nevilles, Scholes, Ronaldo and Ruud are all left out. :(
Seem like Silvestre and Saha might be going though. Good to give Spector and Bardsley a chance. :D
Ronaldo7
17-07-2004, 05:15 PM
yeah , hope we can keep up the good record for the us tour :D
guoquanyap
18-07-2004, 12:36 AM
quick...anyone know whether the usa tour will be boardcast or not?
Cobh Ramblers - 1
Robert Brosnan 41
Manchester United Reserves - 2
Mads Timm 20
Kenny Cooper 90
Roy Keane was given a hero’s reception at Turner’s Cross by a capacity 8000 strong crowd as he returned to his home town of Cork.
The former Republic of Ireland captain played his first game in the city in over a decade when leading a Manchester United reserve team into action against local side Cobh Ramblers, Keane’s former club.
The game, a fixture designed to raise funds for the Eircom League First Division outfit, was sold out weeks in advance and glorious sunshine in the south of Ireland created a carnival atmosphere at the ground.
Keane remains hugely popular with the people of Cork, a fact borne out by the sight of so many United and Republic of Ireland jerseys with his name and trademark number 16 adorning the back.
Keane was given a standing ovation as he led United onto the pitch and although his performance was subdued prior to his substitution just before the hour there was no doubting the crowd’s adoration for him.
At the final whistle a large swathe of the attendance converged upon Keane, causing scenes of hysteria as he met his hometown fans.
Manchester United won the game in the 90th minute through Kenny Cooper’s strike but they were given a run for their money by a Cobh side driven on by the sight of their illustrious opponents.
Mads Timm had given United a first-half lead which was equalised by Robert Brosnan four minutes before the break.
Cobh did their best in the second half but, even allowing for Cooper’s last minute winner, there was no doubt the night belonged to Keane.
Link (http://sport.scotsman.com/latest.cfm?id=3220395)
Ronaldo7
18-07-2004, 11:56 AM
quick...anyone know whether the usa tour will be boardcast or not?
nothing on channel 5 website yet . knn :mad:
cutter
18-07-2004, 12:27 PM
Well... there is the regular Man Utd skills programme on CH5 right now... watching Roy Keane teaching some tricks to youth players
guoquanyap
18-07-2004, 01:07 PM
Originally posted by cutter
Well... there is the regular Man Utd skills programme on CH5 right now... watching Roy Keane teaching some tricks to youth players
their kids are so skillful....:o
Ronaldo7
18-07-2004, 03:27 PM
UNITED OFFER NEW DEAL TO WINGER
Manchester United have offered Bojan Djordjic a new contract but the winger is unsure whether to sign the deal.
The Sweden Under-21 international has yet to make the breakthrough at Old Trafford and spent a loan spell at Crvena Zvezda last season.
After accruing first team experience, Djordjic has been offered a 12-month deal to stay with The Red Devils.
But the young wide man has also attracted interest from elsewhere and he is uncertain about if he should remain with Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
"I am surprised and happy but at the same time it is not likely that I will get to play for the first team here and there are also other offers to consider," Djordjic told FotbollDirekt.com.
"I have to think this through carefully and talk to the people close to me.
"I was actually caught off guard when Ferguson made this proposal."
Djordjic is thought to be courted by other Premiership clubs, as well as teams in The Championship, as he mulls over his future.
still remember him ?
:rolleyes:
Anyone remember this guy as well, well he is back at OT again. :rolleyes:
Goalkeeper Ricardo is back with Manchester United and ready to battle for a place in the side.
Signed from Real Valladolid in August 2002, the Spaniard was brought in as cover for Fabian Barthez, but made just three starts and two appearances from the bench before being edged out by Northern Ireland's Roy Carroll in the 2003 championship winning side.
With American Tim Howard coming on the scene last season both Ricardo and Barthez were allowed to move out on loan - Barthez eventually tying up a permanent move to Marseille.
Ricardo spent the season playing for Racing Santander who finished fourth from bottom in Spain's La Liga, but remained a United player and has returned to Old Trafford pledging: "I will do my best to get back my place in the side. I want to do well for the manager the team and all the fans."
The keeper who was in the Spanish squad for the 2002 World Cup had his first taste of football with United when Barthez was injured during a Champions League win over Maccabi Haifa a month after his arrival.
He was on the winning side that night and again when he kept a clean sheet against Bayer Leverkusen two months later but was not so fortunate in his other appearances.
He conceded three goals on his full debut against Maccabi in Cyprus and two against Deportivo La Coruna with his only Premiership showing coming in a 3-1 win over Blackburn in April 2003 when he came on as a second half substitute.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,858644,00.html
Ronaldo7
18-07-2004, 07:15 PM
prefer carroll as no2 than ricardo :rolleyes:
orca_sea
18-07-2004, 07:53 PM
prefer carroll as no2 than ricardo :rolleyes:
Same here ;)
orca_sea
18-07-2004, 07:55 PM
UNITED OFFER NEW DEAL TO WINGER
Manchester United have offered Bojan Djordjic a new contract but the winger is unsure whether to sign the deal.
The Sweden Under-21 international has yet to make the breakthrough at Old Trafford and spent a loan spell at Crvena Zvezda last season.
After accruing first team experience, Djordjic has been offered a 12-month deal to stay with The Red Devils.
But the young wide man has also attracted interest from elsewhere and he is uncertain about if he should remain with Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
"I am surprised and happy but at the same time it is not likely that I will get to play for the first team here and there are also other offers to consider," Djordjic told FotbollDirekt.com.
"I have to think this through carefully and talk to the people close to me.
"I was actually caught off guard when Ferguson made this proposal."
Djordjic is thought to be courted by other Premiership clubs, as well as teams in The Championship, as he mulls over his future.
still remember him ?
:rolleyes:
Yup.. hope he got more chance to break thru the 1st team.. He's nt bad IMO.. hope he will stay ;)
RuMmYtUb
18-07-2004, 08:28 PM
Bojan's gd, he's a hot prospect.
Yueming
18-07-2004, 08:35 PM
forlan? competing to be beside ruud?
i rather saha solskjaer and saviola battle to be beside ruud....
and if ruud is in anycase injured we got enuff firepower to carry on.
we need somebody else near to ruud's calibre to be in the team.....else once he's injured we dead meat.....saviola is a good buy.....
uRiZEn
18-07-2004, 09:27 PM
we need somebody else near to ruud's calibre to be in the team.....else once he's injured we dead meat.....saviola is a good buy.....
Too many strikers already.
cannot lah, too over-crowded. What about Smith, he is a striker too, and Bellion??? :rolleyes:
Yueming
18-07-2004, 10:19 PM
Too many strikers already.
exit forlan......and if need be exit solskjaer....he aint young anymore....
Yueming
18-07-2004, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by RVN
cannot lah, too over-crowded. What about Smith, he is a striker too, and Bellion??? :rolleyes:
where got overcrowded?
tell me seriously, if ruud is injured, who can fill the gap? none.......
MatrixFanatic
18-07-2004, 10:38 PM
Fergie lands Wayne
Sir Alex Ferguson has pulled off a top secret move to sign Wayne Rooney on the cheap…and Everton are furious. Rooney is on his way to Manchester United and the timing of the move is highly significant. Sir Alex is playing a shrewd waiting game to ensure the prices comes down and then he will pounce, even if he has to wait for a year to get England’s boy wonder.
Harry Harris and Paul Hetherington, Daily Express
Rooney rejects Everton
Wayne Rooney will formally reject Everton's offer of a new contract this week - and plunge the club even further into crisis. Goodison boss David Moyes was last night locked in emergency talks with supremo Bill Kenwright about his own future. And both men were facing the bombshell announcement from Rooney that he will not be signing a fresh five-year deal worth £50,000 a week - and will spark a £40m transfer scramble for his services between Manchester United, Chelsea, Real Madrid and Inter Milan.
Graham Johnson and Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror
Villa nip in for Fergie’s Forlan star
Aston Villa are trying to sign Diego Forlan from Manchester United in a shock one-year loan deal. Chairman Doug Ellis has opened talks with opposite number David Gill about the ambitious swoop for the unpredictable Uruguayan striker. Ellis wants explosive Forlan to stay at Villa for the whole campaign, covering for injured Juan Pablo Angel before possibly partnering the Columbian in a South American front line pairing. Forlan will be allowed to leave by United, who wanted him to be sold but may now consider the loan option in the last year of his stay.
Alan Nixon, The People
Boro in Butt bid
Middlesbrough have revived their interest in Nicky Butt after failing to land any of their top midfield targets. Boss Steve McClaren wanted the Manchester United ace in January but lost out after Birmingham bid £5.5million. That deal fell through and he now wants Butt on loan.
Staff reporter, News of the World
Vieira in Man U deal
Patrick Vieira sensationally ‘signed’ for Manchester United three years ago in a secret agreement. The Arsenal skipper’s former agent Marc Roger completed top secret negotiations on the player’s personal terms with the Old Trafford giants in 2001. United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was convinced that he had landed the French midfielder but the Arsenal board refused point-blank to do business.
Harry Harris, Daily Star Sunday
Source from http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=81542&itype=466&icategoryid=365
orca_sea
18-07-2004, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic
Vieira in Man U deal
Patrick Vieira sensationally ‘signed’ for Manchester United three years ago in a secret agreement. The Arsenal skipper’s former agent Marc Roger completed top secret negotiations on the player’s personal terms with the Old Trafford giants in 2001. United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was convinced that he had landed the French midfielder but the Arsenal board refused point-blank to do business.
Harry Harris, Daily Star Sunday
Source from http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=81542&itype=466&icategoryid=365
Woah! Iz it true???? :confused: :rolleyes:
MatrixFanatic
18-07-2004, 11:08 PM
Even if though it isn't from the Sun, I still don't believe it.
Thinker
18-07-2004, 11:09 PM
where got overcrowded?
tell me seriously, if ruud is injured, who can fill the gap? none.......
You seem to be confusing yourself.
"and if ruud is in anycase injured we got enuff firepower to carry on.
we need somebody else near to ruud's calibre to be in the team.....else once he's injured we dead meat.....saviola is a good buy....."
so can or cannot? make up your mind lah
Yueming
18-07-2004, 11:14 PM
you have a perception problem. :)
I said we should have saviola in the team so that when ruud is down, we still have enough firepower upfront....
orca_sea
18-07-2004, 11:41 PM
you have a perception problem. :)
I said we should have saviola in the team so that when ruud is down, we still have enough firepower upfront....
I believe we hav enough firepower when ruud iz down even w/o saviola coming.. i believe our problem will come when either 1 of our wingers goes down..:( thus we need another quality winger for backup..
Yueming
18-07-2004, 11:55 PM
I believe we hav enough firepower when ruud iz down even w/o saviola coming.. i believe our problem will come when either 1 of our wingers goes down..:( thus we need another quality winger for backup..
we need both.....
trax06
18-07-2004, 11:55 PM
am i WOLS or what abt Saviola.
enlighten me
Yueming
19-07-2004, 12:11 AM
Originally posted by trax06
am i WOLS or what abt Saviola.
enlighten me
"MANCHESTER United have found themselves in the transfer frame over speculation linking Javier Saviola with a switch to the Premiership.
Reports in Spain say that an unnamed English club are in talks with Barcelona about a possible move for the Argentine hitman.
And United are firm favourites, according to the Spanish press, to be the club currently targeting the striker.
Although a favourite son of the Nou Camp, Saviola's bumper £2.5m a year pay packet is proving a burden on the financially troubled giant, and they are looking to either move him on or have him take a pay cut.
The 22-year-old is highly regarded as one of the best strikers in Europe, although whether or not he is a United target or just the subject of paper talk by the Spanish press will remain to be seen."
guoquanyap
19-07-2004, 12:17 AM
i believe saviola are jus papertalks....if ruud injured...we got smith and saha meh...alternative we can draft forlan in...he do score impt goals for us mind you....
Yueming
19-07-2004, 12:21 AM
i believe saviola are jus papertalks....if ruud injured...we got smith and saha meh...alternative we can draft forlan in...he do score impt goals for us mind you....
but the cold hard fact is smith and saha are no where near ruud in terms of quality.....
i feel safer with ruud saviola smith saha...........goof for EPL, good for CL......
Yueming
19-07-2004, 12:21 AM
but the cold hard fact is smith and saha are no where near ruud in terms of quality.....
i feel safer with ruud saviola smith saha...........good for EPL, good for CL......
guoquanyap
19-07-2004, 12:25 AM
i feel safer with ruud saviola smith saha...........good for EPL, good for CL......
i prefer ruud ronney smith and saha...:cool:
saha and smith are still young...i believe both of them will develop into world class player....
Yueming
19-07-2004, 12:28 AM
i prefer ruud ronney smith and saha...:cool:
saha and smith are still young...i believe both of them will develop into world class player....
rooney also not a bad idea.....but expensive la....
saviola different woh...if really 10+ million man utd should swoop....
guoquanyap
19-07-2004, 12:30 AM
rooney also not a bad idea.....but expensive la....
saviola different woh...if really 10+ million man utd should swoop....
saviola is quick but lack the strength though and like wat i say...it's jus papertalks...
RuMmYtUb
19-07-2004, 12:34 AM
Stop thinkin about Saviola lar... doubt SAF will sign him..
He's more keen in developing the potentials of Smith and Saha rather than getting a player not tasted EPL action.
guoquanyap
19-07-2004, 12:35 AM
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,859555,00.html
We don't need to spend any big sums on another striker, I believe Smith and Saha will provide good cover upfront for Ruud. Solskjaer may be getting old but still worth keeping as he can play on the wings too.
Saviola is too light-weight, I feel epl defender will easily shackle him.
Thinker
19-07-2004, 09:57 AM
You confusing leh
one time condemn saha and smith, then all of a sudden put them in the same wavelength as ruud.
you know what you talking about anot? You still playing cm4 issit?
Alienz
19-07-2004, 04:18 PM
Keane warning for Gunners
Roy Keane says Arsenal can expect a much tougher time of it in the league this season.
The Gunners romped to their third Premiership title last campaign - going unbeaten to finish a mammoth 15 points ahead of the Red Devils.
United salvaged their season by clinching a one-sided FA Cup final against Millwall, but with the league their primary domestic concern, that was hardly good enough for Keane.
Now the 32-year-old has warned the north Londoners to ready themselves for a battle royal when the season kicks off in less than a month.
"It is impossible to win the league every year, but the disappointing factor for us is that we faded away and didn't give Arsenal a run for their money," he told MUTV.
"I am sure it won't happen again this year because the memory of that disappointment will spur us on. The evidence is that this club bounces back from disappointments and I believe we will do that this year."
United jet off to the United States on Wednesday for a preseason tour that will include friendlies against the likes of Bayern Munich, Celtic and AC Milan.
Yueming
19-07-2004, 07:14 PM
Originally posted by Thinker
You confusing leh
one time condemn saha and smith, then all of a sudden put them in the same wavelength as ruud.
you know what you talking about anot? You still playing cm4 issit?
i never put saha smith on same wavelength as ruud.....
i mean ruud and saviola as main, saha and smith backup. Just take it I feel safer with saviola around and indifferent to whether saha or smith is in the squad or not.
jacqles
19-07-2004, 07:36 PM
We NEVER had problems with scoring goals. If Ruud is injured or suspended, Smith and Saha can still do the same job. Scholes is one of the highest scoring midfielders I've ever seen.
We have goals coming in from almost anywhere so I don't see that as a problem.
This squad is good enough.
Yueming, stfu
Yueming
19-07-2004, 07:49 PM
Originally posted by jacqles
We NEVER had problems with scoring goals. If Ruud is injured or suspended, Smith and Saha can still do the same job. Scholes is one of the highest scoring midfielders I've ever seen.
We have goals coming in from almost anywhere so I don't see that as a problem.
This squad is good enough.
Yueming, stfu
you are entitled to your opinion and me to mine.
Last season we only scored 64.....that's low compared to previous seasons. Yes we have no problems scoring, but are we scoring enough? That's the main issue we have.
I'm not saying we need only a striker, we need a striker, and a top-notch one for that matter, plus a winger and an attacking midfielder.
If ya can't discuss issues, kindly go back to school kid.
jacqles
19-07-2004, 07:58 PM
you are entitled to your opinion and me to mine.
Last season we only scored 64.....that's low compared to previous seasons. Yes we have no problems scoring, but are we scoring enough? That's the main issue we have.
I'm not saying we need only a striker, we need a striker, and a top-notch one for that matter, plus a winger and an attacking midfielder.
If ya can't discuss issues, kindly go back to school kid.
punk, you are one who needs to go back to school.
your one-sided view is that we need a top-notch striker (particularly Saviola) and despite people offering alternative views, you are sticking by your view.
wanna discuss? i'm on, anytime.
jacqles
19-07-2004, 07:58 PM
people like you need harsh words to shut you up.
Ronaldo7
19-07-2004, 08:07 PM
cool down guys :)
MatrixFanatic
19-07-2004, 08:08 PM
PEACE!:angel:
Ronaldo7
19-07-2004, 08:09 PM
Manchester United target Javier Saviola has been told his future belongs at Barcelona when the Argentina striker returns from the Copa America.
The diminutive forward, who has been linked with a switch to Old Trafford, has had his future debated in the Spanish press while he concentrates on international duty, and a number of clubs including Monaco are said to have expressed an interest.
Saviola might well have returned to Spain feeling that Barcelona wanted rid of him, had president Joan Laporta not now intervened to verify the 22-year-old's status.
"He should rejoin the club as soon as possible," said Laporta, who confirmed that firm bids had been made for the youngster.
"There have been offers for him but that will not be an obstacle for him staying at Barca."
Argentina have reached the semi-finals of the Copa America by beating hosts Peru 1-0, and Saviola is not likely to return to Barcelona until next weekend at the earliest.
Should the Argentinians overcome defending champions Colombia and reach the final, which takes place next Sunday (25 July), then Saviola would not be expected back for several further days.
He could then infuriate Barcelona officials such as Laporta by pressing for his right to play for Argentina at the Athens Olympics, which would consume almost all of August.
Saviola is determined to feature at the Games, and Barca would rather have him for their opening matches of the Primera Liga season.
Yueming
19-07-2004, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by jacqles
punk, you are one who needs to go back to school.
your one-sided view is that we need a top-notch striker (particularly Saviola) and despite people offering alternative views, you are sticking by your view.
wanna discuss? i'm on, anytime.
my view is that 10 million plus for Saviola is a good buy. Read the thread again dude. I said if Saviola is available at 10 million +, we should buy him.
Of cos I'm sticking to my view, why should I change to your view if you aren't a successful manager in the first place?
pffft, and if that is wrong, then everyone is wrong to since they aren't accepting my view that we need a top notch striker?
get it into your skull that none of us are managers of United, we are just fans, we can only voice our opinions, there will never be a wrong or right. And I never ask anyone to take my viewpoint either.
And harsh words doesn't shut anybody up, it just shows how childish you are to think that posting harsh comments on a forum or violent behaviour for any matter can actually solve things.
You are no different from the terrorists in Iraq. And its people like you that condemn this world to neverending chaos.
Heinze worry for Ferguson (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,859777,00.html)
I be pissed off if he get called up to the olympics. :mad:
Spector and Bardsley out to impress at the US tour (http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1143733,00.html)
Upcoming Fixtures 2004/05
July 25 (Soldier Field, Chicago) v Bayern Munich
July 28 (Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia) v Celtic
July 31 (Giants Stadium, New York) v AC Milan
August 3 (Old Trafford) v PSV Eindhoven
August 5 (Old Trafford) v Urawa Red Diamonds
August 8 (Community Shield) v Arsenal
guoquanyap
19-07-2004, 11:02 PM
hmmm...dun know whether scv will boardcast vodafone cup or not...:D
my view is that 10 million plus for Saviola is a good buy. Read the thread again dude. I said if Saviola is available at 10 million +, we should buy him.
Of cos I'm sticking to my view, why should I change to your view if you aren't a successful manager in the first place?
pffft, and if that is wrong, then everyone is wrong to since they aren't accepting my view that we need a top notch striker?
get it into your skull that none of us are managers of United, we are just fans, we can only voice our opinions, there will never be a wrong or right. And I never ask anyone to take my viewpoint either.
And harsh words doesn't shut anybody up, it just shows how childish you are to think that posting harsh comments on a forum or violent behaviour for any matter can actually solve things.
You are no different from the terrorists in Iraq. And its people like you that condemn this world to neverending chaos.
think we need wingers more den striker :rolleyes:
Thinker
20-07-2004, 08:14 AM
so a harmless, nerdy comment from an insignificant INTERNET forum is no different from terrorist acts?
Okay, sure.
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1228145.jpg
Kleberson insists his future is at Manchester United as he wants to emulate fellow Brazilian Edu's achievements in England.
The South American midfielder, on Copa America duty with his country, was hugely disappointed in his first Premiership season, clearly failing to adjust to the pace and intensity of one of the world's best leagues.
A couple of injury setbacks did not aid Kleberson's cause but he has a major task ahead of him in proving his World Cup-winning pedigree next term.
"My immediate future is at Manchester United and I don't think of anything else," he stressed.
"Everything is ahead of me.
"The worst that could possibly have happened has already happened.
"The settling in time is over and now I am looking forward to the future.
"I think I've adapted well to a new life. I took advantage of my injuries to learn about the English culture and lifestyle."
Kleberson hopes to follow in Edu's footsteps after the Arsenal man also struggled in the early days of his Premiership career before cementing a regular place in the champions' line-up.
"I know Edu's problems," he added. "He has told me about his struggle.
"It was similar to mine in the way he arrived in a new country and then got injured.
"But now I look at Edu and he's one of the big stars in the Arsenal team. His story is my inspiration."
Meanwhile, one United midfielder definitely on his way out at Old Trafford is Michael Stewart.
The 23-year-old is negotiating a pay-off from The Red Devils, reportedly around £400,000, to secure a move to Rangers.
"I'm just waiting for final confirmation from Manchester United," Stewart told The Daily Record.
"We've been talking over the course of the day and we're pretty close to agreeing a settlement figure.
"I've made it clear all along I'd be willing to make a big sacrifice to get this move to Rangers, just not too big."
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1143884,00.html
orca_sea
20-07-2004, 04:43 PM
cool down guys :)
Same here man.. Cool n Peace :angel:
orca_sea
20-07-2004, 04:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Meanwhile, one United midfielder definitely on his way out at Old Trafford is Michael Stewart.
The 23-year-old is negotiating a pay-off from The Red Devils, reportedly around £400,000, to secure a move to Rangers.
"I'm just waiting for final confirmation from Manchester United," Stewart told The Daily Record.
"We've been talking over the course of the day and we're pretty close to agreeing a settlement figure.
"I've made it clear all along I'd be willing to make a big sacrifice to get this move to Rangers, just not too big."
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1143884,00.html
Haiz thgt Micheal Steward iz nt bad n might got a chance to break thru the 1st team in the future..too bad he's goin liao..
Look like Butt going to newcastle? :(
The Magpies have wasted little time in lining up a couple of deals with Nicky Butt expected to join Kluivert in the next few days.
Newcastle had baulked at Butt's £5 million asking price, but Manchester United look to have relented in their stance and will allow the England midfielder to move on - perhaps even on loan.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1143895,00.html
RuMmYtUb
20-07-2004, 06:20 PM
With Butt and Kluivert, the Magpies would be strong..
Youth and experience can be the key to more success for Manchester United this season, according to Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane.
Keane and Giggs reckon Sir Alex Ferguson has got it right again following his forays in the summer transfer market with the signings of Alan Smith, Liam Miller and Gabriel Heinze.
After 13 years in the first team one-time wonder boy Giggs is now one of Old Trafford's senior players and says Ferguson has shown in the past that the inclusion of young blood can pay dividends.
"The players the manager has added have followed that theme over the past couple of seasons and I think he has done that again this year so we have again got a good balance of the players who have been here for some time and have the experience together with the younger lads," said Giggs.
Skipper Keane agrees and feels the arrival of Republic of Ireland star Miller will bolster United's midfield.
"A lot of United fans don't know much about him but the bits I have seen of him, when he was at Celtic and the week we have had training have shown he is a nice, tidy, box-to-box player who knows where the goal is, but like any new player who comes to the club I think he will need time to settle in and we will see how he is," said Keane.
Keane has joined Ferguson in playing down claims Miller could "be the new Roy Keane" by saying there is little comparison between their styles of play.
"Maybe when I was in my Nottingham Forest days. Liam is a player who plays from box to box but he is his own player and we shouldn't be comparing him to other players," he added.
Giggs has spent the past week training alongside Smith and Miller and is convinced they will do well with their new club.
"Obviously I have seen a lot of Alan Smith and have played against him plenty of times and he has got great qualities. I hadn't seen so much of Liam Miller but I had heard great things from the likes of John Hartson who has played with him at Celtic.
"They are fitting in well. There is always a good team spirit at United and players who come in fit in really well so I think they have done that," he added.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,860161,00.html
Everton is braced to sell Wayne Rooney to Manchester United when the teenage striker returns from his Caribbean holiday this week.
Goodison Park director Paul Gregg admitted it was "incredibly sad" that the club had to even think about offloading their 18-year-old superstar.
"I wish we could persuade him to stay. It's sad other forces make decisions for us," Gregg told BBC Radio.
"This is home-bred talent who has not had the chance to mature. We've not had the full benefit of his talent yet."
Gregg added: "He's a big ambassador for Everton Football Club, so of course we'd like to see him stay.
"I sincerely hope he will still be here when the season kicks off but unfortunately it may be other forces which make the decision for us."
Everton owner Bill Kenwright admitted the sale of Rooney would "revitalise" the club's finances.
Manchester United, Chelsea and Real Madrid have all been linked with the striker, who scored four goals for England at Euro 2004.
But Chelsea's STG24 million pound ($A61.47 million) signing of Ivory Coast striker Didier Drogba from French side Marseille rules them out.
And reports said Manchester had a secret agreement with Rooney's management team and the player would refuse Everton's STG50,000 pound-a-week ($A129,000) offer to stay a further five years at the club which is STG40 million pounds ($A102.45 million) in debt.
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/07/20/1090089152227.html?oneclick=true
RuMmYtUb
20-07-2004, 08:00 PM
Rooney.. :love:
Ronaldo7
20-07-2004, 11:11 PM
http://www2.afa.uolsinectis.com.ar/Seleccion_Nacional/Sub-23/Jugadores/Home.htm?Op=102
Heinze is NOT going to the olympics :evil:
hope ronaldo can stay with us too :)
guoquanyap
20-07-2004, 11:14 PM
alamak...why in the vodafone cup we didnt play borca...really wasted leh....
Ronaldo7
20-07-2004, 11:15 PM
why leh :confused:
Manchester United Press Conference To Unveil Alan Smith And Liam Miller (http://editorial.gettyimages.com/source/cfw/FrameSet.aspx?s=EventImagesSearchState|1|15|1|51082031|0|0|0|0||0|0&p=2&pk=4)
Nicky Butt is expected to board a flight to America with Manchester United tomorrow despite renewed speculation linking him with a move to Newcastle.
Gary Speed’s impending transfer from St James’ Park to Bolton is thought to have paved the way for Butt to complete his own switch to the north-east following an unhappy 12 months at Old Trafford.
However, as yet, United have received no firm offer from the 29-year-old England midfielder and unless the situation changes dramatically overnight, Butt will be part of the squad that embarks on the Red Devils’ 10-day, three-match tour.
“Nicky will be travelling with us tomorrow,” confirmed United boss Alex Ferguson.
The United manager also confirmed that Gary and Phil Neville will link up with their team-mates on Saturday after being given an extended rest following Euro 2004.
France striker Louis Saha will also make the journey either tomorrow or Saturday depending on the results of a series of fitness tests.
However, new signing Liam Miller and fellow midfielders Darren Fletcher and Quinton Fortune will not travel due to injury.
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/07/20/story157898.html
Seem like he is staying for the moment. we all know what happen to veron last season after the us tour. :(
Ronaldo7
21-07-2004, 12:45 PM
FERGIE HAILS 'FINISHED ARTICLE'
Sir Alex Ferguson believes he has signed close to the finished article after luring Alan Smith to Manchester United.
England international Smith completed a controversial cross-Pennines move in May after quitting relegated Leeds United to join the club's fierce rivals.
Smith received a barrage of criticism for swapping allegiances but United boss Ferguson has no qualms about the striker's character to withstand the abuse.
Ferguson is full of praise for Smith and feels the combative forward's experience, despite his relative youth, will be a major asset in the coming season.
“In the case of Alan Smith, we have a centre forward who has five years' experience in the Premier Division and also in European competition,” commented Ferguson.
“Yet he is still only 23 and when I met him, I couldn't have been more impressed with his character.
“He just said: 'I want to get here, I want to prove myself and I can't look forward to something more'.
“When you get that kind of enthusiasm, you know you're getting something of real substance.
“They (Smith and Liam Miller) are both good acquisitions but in the case of Alan, he is a tremendous player already while Liam has not got that experience of the Premier Division.
“He'll gain that but Alan is the finished article.”
Smith is champing at the bit to commence his United career and admits Old Trafford was the only place he wanted to move to when he knew he had to leave Elland Road.
“As a football club, and for a young player who wants to achieve things, there is no better place to come,” said Smith.
“If you take all the circumstances away at Leeds, I did everything I could and I gave everything I could.
“Once I decided I had to leave, there was only one place I wanted to come and it was here.”
Ch3tah_39
21-07-2004, 03:59 PM
http://www2.afa.uolsinectis.com.ar/Seleccion_Nacional/Sub-23/Jugadores/Home.htm?Op=102
that is gd news:)
Manchester United's squad are due to arrive in Philapdelphia at 14:30 BST after setting off from Manchester Airport at 9:30BST on Wednesday morning.
The 18-man travelling party are without the likes of Ruud van Nistelrooy, Paul Scholes, Ronaldo and Louis Saha, but will be joined by Tim Howard.
Gabriel Heinze, Diego Forlan and Kleberson, who have all been on Copa America duty this month, will join up with the squad midway through the tour. It will be Gabriel Heinze's first opportunity to meet his new United team-mates.
Gary and Phil Neville are scheduled to join the rest of the team this Saturday in Chicago.
USA Tour Squad
Goalkeepers
Tim Howard, Roy Carroll, Ricardo.
Defenders
Wes Brown, Jonathon Spector, Phil Bardsley, Rio Ferdinand, John O'Shea, Paul McShane.
Midfielders
Roy Keane, Chris Eagles, Kieran Richardson, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Nicky Butt, Luke Chadwick, Bojan Djordjic.
Forwards
Alan Smith, Ryan Giggs, David Bellion.
Players joining the squad in Chicago: Phil Neville, Gary Neville.
Players joining the squad in New York: Gabriel Heinze, Kleberson, Diego Forlan.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=83336&itype=466&icategoryid=120
padixiong
21-07-2004, 06:38 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United's squad are due to arrive in Philapdelphia at 14:30 BST after setting off from Manchester Airport at 9:30BST on Wednesday morning.
The 18-man travelling party are without the likes of Ruud van Nistelrooy, Paul Scholes, Ronaldo and Louis Saha, but will be joined by Tim Howard.
Gabriel Heinze, Diego Forlan and Kleberson, who have all been on Copa America duty this month, will join up with the squad midway through the tour. It will be Gabriel Heinze's first opportunity to meet his new United team-mates.
Gary and Phil Neville are scheduled to join the rest of the team this Saturday in Chicago.
USA Tour Squad
Goalkeepers
Defenders
Wes Brown, Jonathon Spector, Phil Bardsley, Rio Ferdinand, John O'Shea, Paul McShane.
Midfielders
Roy Keane, Chris Eagles, Kieran Richardson, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Nicky Butt, Luke Chadwick, Bojan Djordjic.
Forwards
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=83336&itype=466&icategoryid=120
wad date did the whole tour start arx ! ?
Originally posted by padixiong
wad date did the whole tour start arx ! ?
24th of July.
http://www.championsworld.com
Ronaldo7
21-07-2004, 08:07 PM
hmmm , so rio is playing ? :confused:
Cannot lah, he is banned from playing football until 20th of September.
He is there just for training to build up his fitness.
Ronaldo7
21-07-2004, 08:16 PM
ic. quite funny to see his name included in the squad :angel:
I don't like the forward line for us at the US tour, Smith is the only recognized striker for us.
Solskjaer's injury plus Saha and Ruud rested make our front-line depleted. :(
Manchester United midfielder Cristiano Ronaldo will miss the start of the Premiership season after being selected for Portugal's Olympic team.
The 19-year-old was named in the 22-man squad to play at the Athens Games during August.
Ronaldo was the undoubted star of Portugal's full international side at Euro 2004.
The Olympics in contrast is an Under-23 tournament, with sides allowed to bring three players over that age category.
He will be joined in the squad by Tiago, who sealed his move to Chelsea from Benfica on Wednesday.
Portugal's overage players are Stuttgart defender Fernando Meira, Fulham's Luis Boa Morte and Boavista's Nuno Frechaut.
They face Iraq, Morocco and Costa Rica in their group.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3913767.stm
Damm it. :mad:
beckz11
21-07-2004, 09:17 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Manchester United midfielder Cristiano Ronaldo will miss the start of the Premiership season after being selected for Portugal's Olympic team.
The 19-year-old was named in the 22-man squad to play at the Athens Games during August.
Ronaldo was the undoubted star of Portugal's full international side at Euro 2004.
The Olympics in contrast is an Under-23 tournament, with sides allowed to bring three players over that age category.
He will be joined in the squad by Tiago, who sealed his move to Chelsea from Benfica on Wednesday.
Portugal's overage players are Stuttgart defender Fernando Meira, Fulham's Luis Boa Morte and Boavista's Nuno Frechaut.
They face Iraq, Morocco and Costa Rica in their group.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3913767.stm
Damm it. :mad:
:mad: :mad: he will miss a champion league qualifier, FOUR epl matches and the US TOUr....nt forgetting the CHARITY SHIELD TOO !!
Out for the first four games of the season for what is supposed to be a amateur competition, **** the portugese fa. :mad: :mad: :mad:
OKK77
21-07-2004, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Out for the first four games of the season for what is supposed to be a amateur competition, **** the portugese fa. :mad: :mad: :mad:
And the first game is at Stamford Bridge. Whiskey-Tango-Foxtrot.
guoquanyap
21-07-2004, 09:50 PM
miss so many games are still secondary.....jus worry that he will burn him out and he will not keep his feet on the ground...
padixiong
21-07-2004, 09:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I don't like the forward line for us at the US tour, Smith is the only recognized striker for us.
Solskjaer's injury plus Saha and Ruud rested make our front-line depleted. :(
sol injured again !! ?
guoquanyap
21-07-2004, 09:58 PM
USA Tour Squad
Goalkeepers
Defenders
Midfielders
Forwards
abit lightweight leh....:rolleyes: chadwick is gng...surprise....
Originally posted by padixiong
sol injured again !! ?
Injured his knee again. He is seeing a knee specialist to try and resolve it. :(
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1144093,00.html
guoquanyap
21-07-2004, 10:05 PM
:mad: :mad: he will miss a champion league qualifier, FOUR epl matches and the US TOUr....nt forgetting the CHARITY SHIELD TOO !!
not to mention that fergie will rest him alot after his comeback, maybe give him a 2-4wk break....that will mean miss more matches for us....
worst we got to see him in action for us only until december....
not to mention that fergie will rest him alot after his comeback, maybe give him a 2-4wk break....that will mean miss more matches for us....
worst we got to see him in action for us only until december....
December, not that long. I hope not. :rolleyes:
He be out for the whole of August. He feature somewhere in late September or early October I reckon if Fergie give him 2-to 4 weeks you estimated.
guoquanyap
21-07-2004, 10:21 PM
i always still feel chadwick is a gd player, w pace and gd crossing....but cmi into the squad becos of his looks....hopefully after his jaw operation...he will grow more confidence and fergie giving him more chances....
guoquanyap
21-07-2004, 11:02 PM
miller is injured right...wat a pity cant see him in action during US tour
beckz11
21-07-2004, 11:04 PM
i always still feel chadwick is a gd player, w pace and gd crossing....but cmi into the squad becos of his looks....hopefully after his jaw operation...he will grow more confidence and fergie giving him more chances....
not coz of his looks la
coz he is way too skinny !!
gets shoved easily !!
Ruud van Nistelrooy has put his complete faith in Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson to bring the glory days back to Old Trafford.
And he claims there will never be a need to send a SOS to former United favourite David Beckham to rescue United's flagging fortunes.
The 28-year-old Dutch striker's confidence derives from the fact that Ferguson is rebuilding a team not only for domestic success, but also European glory.
'The manager has unfolded his plans to me,' van Nistelrooy said. 'He explained to me what he wants to achieve in the end.
'We are building a team which can win the Champions League again. I really want to be part of that team.'
Those words will come as huge comfort to United fans who feared van Nistelrooy would head for Real Madrid this summer.
'Arsenal and Chelsea have bigger squads and more star players,' van Nistelrooy told ITV.
'The manager here, though, has started to rebuild the team. He has chosen to do that with players who are young and talented instead of superstars.
'I am absolutely convinced that we will have a fantastic team next season. There will be a few changes, but Sir Alex has enormous experience. He knows exactly what to do in this situation.
'When I arrived here three years ago, we won nothing. Twelve months later there was a winning team. I have every confidence in the manager. I only have to look at his past and all the things he has won.'
Those plans will not include the return of England skipper Beckham from Real Madrid, though, according to the Holland star.
'David Beckham is a very proud boy,' he added. 'I think he does not want to return to Manchester.
'Real Madrid have had a poor season. For him that will be a reason to stay in Madrid. He wants to be a huge success and does not want to leave Madrid as a loser.
'For United, it's not disastrous if he does not come back here. Bryan Robson left, Eric Cantona left. Other players have filled their boots.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305336&cc=4716
greycat87
21-07-2004, 11:20 PM
not coz of his looks la
coz he is way too skinny !!
gets shoved easily !!
everyone gets judged by their face
beckz11
21-07-2004, 11:23 PM
everyone gets judged by their face
den ronaldinho wun be famous...
or maybe the whole brazil squad can go byebye
RuMmYtUb
21-07-2004, 11:42 PM
SCV got show the USA tour like last year bo ??
First match against Bayern..
guoquanyap
22-07-2004, 12:51 AM
SCV got show the USA tour like last year bo ??
First match against Bayern..
yup...check out starhub webby
They are both going, your source was wrong. :mad:
Man Utd lose Heinze
Source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/3913767.stm
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40408000/jpg/_40408381_gab203.jpg
New Manchester United signing Gabriel Heinze has been included in Argentina's squad for the Olympic Games.
The news will be a bitter blow to Sir Alex Ferguson, who will also be without Portuguese winger Cristiano Ronaldo because of Athens commitments.
Both players could miss four Barclays Premiership games as well as a Champions League qualifier.
Centre-half Heinze is one of the three over-age players on dury for Argentina in the Under-23 tournament.
The others are Valencia defender Roberto Ayala and Inter Milan winger Kily Gonzalez.
Argentina have been included in Group C and will face Serbia & Montenegro, Tunisia and Australia.
Portugal face Iraq, Morocco and Costa Rica in their group.
:mad:
chyehock
22-07-2004, 12:33 PM
no leh, seems like they do not show as it was not stated.
yup...check out starhub webby
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.